Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Allison v. United States, 122 S. Ct. 12 (2001) (No. 00-1659)

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Suprewe Oowst, U.S, :

© FILED

00165 9 ur 1-200

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

In the Supreme Court

of the United States

RONALD J. ALLISON & MARTHA J. ALLISON,

Petitioners,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, et al.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

For the Petitioners:

RONALD J. ALLISON, Pro Se

MARTHA J. ALLISON, Pro Se

390 North 10» Avenue

P.O. Box 661

Forsyth, MT 59327

1-406-356-2904

Soa ane .

i.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The Petitioners, RONALD J. ALLISON &

MARTHA J. ALLISON, hereby present the following

four questions for the review of the decisions of the

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, below, by the United

States Supreme Court:

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

CONDUCT OF THE RESPONDENTS, IS CONTRARY TO

AND IN THE DIRECT VIOLATION OF THE RIGHTS

AND PROTECTIONS GRANTED THE PETITIONERS BY

THE 47, 5TH, 7TH AND 10TH ARTICLES IN

AMENDMENT TO THE ORIGINAL ORGANIC

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES OF

AMERICA, (U.S.C.A. Constitutional Amendments 4,5,

7 and 10).

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

CONDUCT OF THE RESPONDENTS IS CONTRARY TO

AND IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH RELEVANT

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, OTHER DECISIONS OF -

THE NINTH CIRCUIT, AND OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS

OF APPEALS DECISIONS.

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

UNIQUE STATUS OF THE PETITIONERS, IS

CONTRARY TO AND IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH

RELEVANT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, OTHER

DECISIONS OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT COURT, AND

OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS DECISIONS.

li.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

CONTINUED...

WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS IS ERRONEOUS WITH

REGARD TO THE CONDUCT OF THE U.S. IRS, THE

U.S. DISTRICT COURT, AND THE MONTANA U.S.

BANKRUPTCY COURT BELOW, AS TO VIOLATIONS

OF STATUTORY LAW AND RELEVANT RULES AND

REGULATIONS.

ili.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

This case was originally initiated by the

Debtors, RONALD J. ALLISON & MARTHA J. ALLISON,

in the United States Bankruptcy Court for the District

of Montana, as Cause No. 97-12264-7. Asa result of

actions taken by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service and

the Boilermaker-Blacksmith National Pension Trust,

after the dismissal of the Bankruptcy Proceeding, the

Allisons were allowed to reopen their Bankruptcy

Proceeding and were allowed to file a Bankruptcy

Adversarial Proceeding, Case No. 98-00102. The

parties to the action as identified then, and which

remain parties to the action, now, are:

-RONALD J. ALLISON & MARTHA J. ALLISON ;

Plaintiffs,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, U.S. INTERNAL

REVENUE SERVICE, AND THE BOILERMAKER-

BLACKSMITH NATIONAL PENSION TRUST,

Defendants.

iv.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SECTION: PAGES

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR i,

REVIEW:

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING: iil.

TABLE OF CONTENTS: iv.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES: Vv. — Xil.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS,

STATUTES, RULES AND

REGULATIONS INVOLVED: Xill. — XV

OPINIONS BELOW: 1,2

JURISDICTION: 2,3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE: 3-10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE

WRIT: 10-30

CONCLUSION: 30

APPENDIX: (Separate Document).

Vv.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

CASE LAW: PAGES:

Beverly Hills Bankcorp v.

Commercial Paper Holders,

753 F.2d 1334 20

Bevins v. Six Unknown Federal

Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 338 19

Boethke v. Fluor Engineers and

Constructors, Inc., 713 F.2d 1405 19

Bradley v. Fisher, 13 Wall. 335 27

Brushaber v. Union Pacific

Railway, 240 U.S. 1 16, 19, 26

Bullock v. Latham, 306 F.2d 45 20

Butz v. Economou, 438 U.S. 478 20

Camara v. Municipal Court,

387 U.S. 523 21

CMS Industries v. L.P.S.

International, 643 F.2d 289 20

Cohens v. Virginia, 19 U.S.

(6 Wheat 264) 19

Commissioner v. Shapiro, 424

U.S. 614 19

Economy Plumbing & Heating Co.

v. United States, 470 F.2d 585

19

vi.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW: PAGES:

Edwards v. Cuba RR., 45 S.Ct. 614 29

Eisner v. MaComber, 252 U.S.

189 16, 19

Ellas V. Connett, 908 F.2d 521 20

Enochs v. Williams Packing &

Navigation Co., 370 U.S. 1 21

Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220

U.S. 107 26

Flores v. United States, 551

F.2d 1169 21

Fontenot v. Upjohn Co., 780

F.2d 1190 20

Foster & Co. v. Graham, 154

Tenn. 412 26

Fnednash v. Commissioner,

209 F.2d 601 20

Garner v. United States, 424

U.S. 648 19

Garrett v. City & County of

San Francisco, 818 F.2d 1515 20

General Motors Leasing Corp.

v. United States, 429 U.S. 338 19, 21

ee

TABLE OF

CASE LAW: PAGES:

Goodwin v. United States,

935 F.2d 1061 20

Hall v. Hawaii, 791 F.2d 759 21

Hancock v. Montgomery Ward

LTDT, 787 F.2d 1302 20

Horne v. Moody, 146 SW2d S505 18

Idaho Gold Dredging Co. v.

Balderston, 58 ID 692 26

In Re Gerwig, 461 F.Supp. 449 21

In Re Price, 42 F.3d 1068 20

Jack Cole Co. v. McFarland, 27

337 SW2d 453

James v. Gable, 732 F.2d 49 20

Jensen v. IRS, 835 F.2d 196 20

LaFollette v. United States,

176 F.Supp. 192 20

Laing v. United States, 423

U.S. 184 19

Lassoff v. Gray, 266 F.2d 745 20

vill.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW: PAGES:

Liljeberg v. Health Services

Acquisition Corp., 108 S.Ct. 2194 19

L.O.C. Industries, Inc. v. United

States, 42 F.Supp. 265 20

Long v. Rasmussen, 281 F.2d 236 29, 25

Marbury v. Madison, (1803) 15

McPartin v. Commissioner,

653 F.2d 1185 20

Miller v. Standard Nut & Margarine

Co., 284 U.S. 498 16, 19

Neff v. George, 4¢ NE2d 388 18

Patty Precision v. Browne & Sharpe

Mfg., 742 F.2d 1260 20

Peck v. Lowe, 247 U.S. 165 26, 19

People ex rel. Attorney General v.

Naglee, 1 Cal 232 26

Pollock v. Farmers Loan & Trust

Co., 157 U.S. 429 16, 19, 26

Raffaele v. Granger, 196 F.2d 620 22

Reece v. Scoggins, 506 F.2d 967 20

ix.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW: PAGES:

Redfield v. Fisher, 292 OR 814 27

Rodriguez v. United States, 629 r

F.Supp. 333 20 -4

Schering Corp. v. Home Insurance

Co., 717 F.2d 4 20

See v. City of Seattle, 382 U.S. 541 19

Stanton v. Baltic Mining Co., 240

U.S. 103 16, 19

State v. Mellenberger, 95 P.2d 709 18

Thatcher v. Powell, 6 Wheat. 119 19

U.S. v. Bonagur, 294 F. Supp 750 20

U.S. v. Bosurgi, 530 F.2d 1105 20

U.S. v. Condo, 782 F.2d 1502 20, 21, 30

U.S. v. Heffner, 420 F.2d 809 20

U.S. v. Sullivan, 274 U.S. 259 19

U.S. ex. rel. Accardi v. Shaughnessy,

347 U.S. 260 19

U.S. ex. rel. Brooks v. Clifford, 490

F.2d 706 20

™

X.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW: PAGES:

White v. Commissioner of IRS,

157 F.Supp. 679 . 20

Yannacelli v. Nash, 354 F.Supp. 143 20

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:

Article I, Section 8, Clause 1 12

Article I, Section 9, Clause 4 12, 16

Article III, Sections 1 and 2 17

Article VI, Clause 2 12

Article in Amendment 4 ne. ki, §3, 34,

Article in Amendment 5 4 11, 13, 14,

27, 28

Article in Amendment 7 10, 13, 14, 28

Article in Amendment 10 10, 13, 14, 28

Amendment 14 14

Amendment 16 14, 15, 16

STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

5 U.S.C. 556(d) 23

18 U.S.C. 1001 28

xi.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW:

PAGES:

STATUTORY PROVISIONS CONTINTUED...

26 U.S.C. 6331

26 U.S.C. 7701(a)(1), (14) and (30)

28 U.S.C. 158(a)

28 U.S.C. 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. 1746 ss

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS:

26 CFR 301.6331-1a(ii) and (iii)

26 CFR 601.106

27 CFR 70

27 CFR 70.163

MISCELLANEOUS RULES:

Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure

Rule 40, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure

Rule 4007, Federal Bankruptcy

Rules

24

Xil.

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES CONTINUED...

CASE LAW:

PAGES:

MISCELLANEOUS RULES CONTINUED...

Rule 35, Ninth Circuit Rules

Rule 40, Ninth Circuit Rules

OTHER:

Congressional Record-Senate

p. 1568, April 28, 1909

(SUR 25)

pp. 3344-3345, June 16,

1909, Pres. Taft’s Address

to Congress

p. 3377, June 17, 1909

(SJR 39)

p. 3900, June 28, 1909

(SJR 40)

Black’s Law Dictionary, (5'" Edition)

a9

2,9

16

16

16

16

18

1 eS NRO OORT PRO

~ ae AN NR Rr mennennmn:

ay

CON NAL PR

R AND NS INV

Article I, Section 8, Clause 1,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

Article I, Section 9, Clause 4

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

Article III, Sections 1 & 2,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

Article VI, Clause 2,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

Article in Amendment 4,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4)

Article in Amendment 5,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 5)

Article in Amendment 7,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 7)

xiv.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

RULES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

CONTINUED...

Article in Amendment 10,

Of the Original Organic Constitution

Of the United States of America

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 10)

Amendment 14 to the Constitution

Of the United States

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 14)

Amendment 16 to the Constitution

Of the United States

(U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 16)

STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

5 U.S.C. 556(d)

18 U.S.C. 1001

26 U.S.C. 6331

26 U.S.C. 7701(a)(1), (14) and (30)

28 U.S.C. 158(a)

28 U.S.C. 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. 1746

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS:

26 CFR 301.6331-1a(ii) and (iii)

XV.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

RULES AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

CONTINUED...

CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS CONTINUED...

' 26 CFR 601.106

27 CFR 70

27 CFR 70.163

MISCELLANEOUS RULES:

Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure

Rule 40, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure

Rule 4007, Federal Bankruptcy Rules

Rule 35, Ninth Circuit Rules

Rule 40, Ninth Circuit Rules

1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioners, RONALD J. ALLISON & MARTHA J.

ALLISON, both appearing Pro Se, in the above-entitled

cause of action, respectfully pray that a WRIT OF

CERTIORARI issue from the United States Supreme

Court, to review the MEMORANDUM of the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals, issued by the three judge

panel of Justices Wallace, Fernandez and McKeown,

dated September 26, 2000, as well as the ORDER of

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals, three judge panel

of Justices Wallace, Fernandez and McKeown, dated

January 2, 2001, in Ninth Circuit Court Case No. 99-

35949.

OPINIONS BELOW

MEMORANDUM, dated September 26, 2000,

and ORDER, dated January 2, 2001, both issued by

the three judge panel of Justices Wallace, Fernandez

and McKeown, of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals,

were both issued as unpublished opinions of the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals. Both MEMORANDUM and

ORDER appear in the APPENDIX to this PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Also included in the APPENDIX are ORDERS of

the United States District Court for the District of

Montana, Judge Shanstrom presiding, in the under-

lying cause of action, No. CV-98-181-BLG-JDS, issued

respectively, on April 16, 1999, July 20, 1999, and

February 21, 2001. That case resulted from an appeal

from the United States Bankruptcy Court for the

District of Montana, Judge Peterson presiding, in

Bankruptcy Case No. 97-12264-7 /Adversarial

2

Proceeding Case No. 98-00102. The Bankruptcy

Court’s ORDER AND JUDGMENT, issued on December

4, 1998, also appears in the APPENDIX to this

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

In addition, as there is a question of the

timeliness of the appeal from the Bankruptcy Court to

the United States District Court for the District of

Montana, the NOTICE OF REFERRAL OF APPEAL

issued by the Clerk, U.S. Bankruptcy Court for the

District of Montana in Case No. 97-12264-7/

Adversarial Proceeding No. 98-00102, issued on

December 16, 1998, is included in the APPENDIX.

Also included in the APPENDIX to the PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI is a Letter from the Clerk

of the United States Supreme Court, which extending

the time to file PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

until May 2, 2001. Said letter is dated April 4, 2001.

JURISDICTION

The unpublished MEMORANDUM of the three

judge panel of Justices Wallace, Fernandez and

McKeown, of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals was

entered September 26, 2000. A timely Petition for

Rehearing, by the three judge panel, was filed,

pursuant to Rule 40, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, October 19, 2000. The Petition for

Rehearing by the Panel was denied January 2, 2001.

Allisons, the Petitioners, filed a Notice of Intent

to Petition for Rehearing, En Banc, January 16, 2001,

pursuant to Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure and Ninth Circuit Rule 35. On January 30,

2001, the Petition for Rehearing, En Banc, pursuant to

Rule 35 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

and Ninth Circuit Rule 35, was filed. No response to

3

this Petition for Rehearing, En Banc, has ever been

received from the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

Subsequently, Allisons, made application to

Justice O’Connor of the United States Supreme Court

for an extension of time to file their Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, pursuant to Supreme Court Rules. That

application was made on March 21, 2001.

On April 4, 2001, the Clerk of the United States

Supreme Court issued a letter extending the time in

which to file a Petition for Writ of Certiorari, until May

2, 2001. This PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

was filed prior to the May 2, 2001, the deadline given

in the Clerk’s letter.

The jurisdiction of the United States Supreme

Court is now invoked under Section 28 U.S.C. 1254(1).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

From a factual standpoint, this case effectively

began with the wrongful and illegal search for and

seizure of Allisons’ real and personal properties by the

United States IRS on March 6, 1997. That day, armed

IRS and ATF agents searched Martha Allison’s solely-

owned real property for personal and business

property of Ronald J. Allison. Upon conclusion of their

search, they seized not only Ronald J. Allison’s

business and personal property, including tools,

equipment, inventory and supplies of his muffler

repair and installation business, but also the

building and land owned solely by Martha J. Allison.

Allisons maintained, from the outset, and

throughout the progression of these nroceedings, that

the actions of IRS against them, personally, and

against their properties, both real and personal in

4

nature, were both wrongful and illegal, including the

fact that the IRS search and seizure was conducted

without a valid Search Warrant or any Court

Summons. Only a Writ of Entry was obtained by the

U.S. Attorney for Montana from U.S. District Judge

Jack Shanstrom.

For several years, IRS had asserted various

claims against only Ronald J. Allison (never Martha J.

Allison), for allegedly delinquent federal income taxes.

On several occasions prior to the illegal search and

seizure on March 6, 1997, Ronald J. Allison had

directly challenged any valid legal authority,

jurisdiction, and venue of IRS over him and his

properties. When Allison did so challenge that

authority, he never received a response. The only IRS

response was to obtain the “Writ of Entry” from Judge

Shanstrom.

Under the alleged authority of the “Writ of

Entry”, and under “color of law’, IRS then searched

real property in Forsyth, Rosebud County, Montana,

which belonged solely to Martha J. Allison, (the

innocent spouse), allegedly looking for any personal

property belonging to Ronald J. Allison. While IRS had

no valid claims or controversies against Martha J.

Allison (and they still do not), they seized not only

personal property of Mr. Allison, but the solely owned

and held real property of Mrs. Allison.

That seizure was allegedly made under an “alter

ego” or “nominee” status designation made by a lone

IRS Agent, Bouldin, the same IRS Agent with whom

Mr. Allison had previously challenged IRS’s legal

authority, jurisdiction, and venue. Mrs.- Allison’s

“status” determination was made directly as the result

of and in retribution for Mr. Allison’s challenges.

i

5

Upon completion of the search, IRS seized Mrs.

Allison’s solely-owned real property and the building

located thereon. IRS also seized Mr. Allison’s muffler

shop equipment, tools, machinery, and inventory. The

total value of the seizure was placed between

$50,000.00 and $100,000.00 by Allisons.

Several months later, IRS, using a substantially

undervalued (and disputed) appraisal process, the real

and personal properties were wrongfully and illegally

sold. IRS used an out-of-county (Yellowstone County,

Montana) sealed bid sale to sell Rosebud County

property. That sale was conducted in violation of IRS

statutory authority and without valid delegation

orders. Later, through Court action, Allisons learned

that the “Notices of Sale” documents issued,

published, and posted were fraudulent and falsified by

IRS Group Manager Yurt. The real property involved

was sold to the City of Forsyth, Montana, for the

minimum bid price. The personal and business

property seized was sold to a Larry Burns also at the

minimum bid price. Those sales do constitute an

illegal conversion of Allisons’ properties.

Due to the illegal actions of IRS during the

search, seizure and sale, Allisons had no alternative

but to seek the protection of the Bankruptcy Court. On

August 26, 1997, Allisons filed a Voluntary Petition for

Bankruptcy with the United States Bankruptcy Court

for the District of Montana, which became Cause No.

97-12264-7 in that Court (See BR-1, Excerpts of

Record, filed in the Ninth Circuit Appeals case).

Allisons notified IRS of their action and sought to have

IRS file claims to determine tax liability. (See BR-5

and BR-8). Allisons again challenged the authority,

jurisdiction, and venue of IRS. (See BR-6). The Court

denied the demand as being improper at that time.

6

(See BR-7) Allisons then did demand the production of

IRS documents (See BR-8) with no response.

On December 16, 1997, the Bankruptcy Court

discharged the joint debtors, Allisons. (See BR-9). It

also, on December 22, 1997, denied the demands for

IRS records. (See BR-10). Allisons sought to require

the Bankruptcy Trustee to take action to deal with IRS

claims. (See BR-11). No action was taken, but a Final

Decree was issued in No. 97-12264-7 on January 26,

1998.

In June of 1998, the Boilermaker-Blacksmith -

National Pension Trust (Trust) notified Allison that

IRS had issued a “Notice of Levy” to them and that

they were withholding his pension checks to satisfy

IRS. Allison responded, providing documentation of

the Court action in the bankruptcy case. (See BR-13).

When the Trust began withholding Mr. Allison’s

monthly pension checks, he sought to reopen the

bankruptcy action (BR-14) which was granted.

Allisons also possessed the Release of Levy, dated

September 3, 1997, sent to the Boilermakers. Case

reopened July 29, 1998.

Next, Allisons filed their Adversarial Proceeding,

Case No. 98-00102, in which they sought damages

and temporary restraining orders and permanent

injunctions for the United States of America, the U.S.

IRS, and the Trust preventing the Trust from with-

holding any further monthly trust payments from Mr.

Allison. That Complaint was filed August 31, 1998.

(See ADVP-1). TROs and Permanent Injunctions were

sought (See ADVP-4), and Allisons sought to proceed

with discovery (See ADVP-7). Allisons also now

possessed another Form 668-D Release of Levy/

Release of Property from Levy, dated September 4,

1998, sent to the Trust, as well as more “Final Notices”

7

from IRS. The Court denied the TROs and set the only

hearing ever held in this matter. (See ADVP-5).

On November 9, 1998, the Bankruptcy Court

held the only formal hearing held in this case. (See

Transcript at ADVP-11). Only Allison testified. Deputy ,

U.S. Attorney Francis appeared, as did Karl Englund

for the Trust. Only two exhibits were admitted

regarding the Social Security system. (ADVP-11). IRS

submitted a post-hearing brief, wherein Allisons

discovered the Delegation Orders and Sealed Bid Sale

notices of IRS had been fraudulently prepared and

were falsified before submission. (See ADVP-13). IRS

Group Manager Yurt did not have delegation authority

and had not approved the out of county sale. Due to

the newly discovered fraudulent “Notices of Sale” and

Delegation Orders, Allisons provided the Court a

Supplemental Memorandum (See ADVP-14) and a

Reply to the U.S. IRS post-hearing brief, including

copies of the Orginal Sealed Bid Sale documents for

the Court to examine. (See ADVP-15).

On December 4, 1998, Bankruptcy Judge

Peterson issued his 23 page Order and Judgment.

That decision was appealed by Allisons. (See ADVP-

16, 17 and Appendix A-7).

On December 11, 1998, Allisons filed their

Notice of Appeal under 28. U.S.C. 158(a), and made

their election to have the appeal heard by the Montana °

U.S. District Court rather than by the Bankruptcy

Appellate Panel Service. (See ADVP-18 and Appendix

A-8). An examination of the Appendix will show the

Appeal was timely and within the 10 day time limit.

The Appeal to the U.S. District Court for

Montana became Case No. CV-98-181-BLG.

8

Unfortunately for Allisons, the judge assigned to hear

this matter was the very same Judge Shanstrom who,

in the first instance, granted IRS its “Writ of Entry”

used to search and seize Allisons’ properties, which

_ forced Allisons to seek the relief of the Bankruptcy

Court. Allisons immediately sought to have

Shanstrom either recuse himself, or to have him

disqualified. (See DCA-1). Shanstrom refused to

recuse himself, and the disqualification motion as

never dealt with. The entire record, on appeal, from

the Bankruptcy Court was not provided to the District

Court on appeal. (See DCA-7). The Docket Sheet

indicates the entire record below, and the exhibits

were not before the District Judge, on appeal. No Oral

Argument was allowed, and the Court had an

incomplete record.

On April 16, 1999, Shanstrom, sitting as an

appeals judge, in this appeal from Bankruptcy Court,

issued his initial Order, which included an Order for

Allison to pay attorney’s fees to the Trust for the

bankruptcy case. (See DCA-10 and Appendix A-4).

Allisons opposed costs sought by the Boiler-makers,

and the District Court Order. On July 20, 1999,

Shanstrom issued another Order and partially

addressed the issue of the costs and attorney’s fees

originally granted to the Trust. (See DCA-12 and

Appendix A-5). The issue of the timeliness of the

appeal from Bankruptcy Court to the U.S. District

Court was never challenged by any party during the

District Court appeal. The record reflects the appeal

was timely. (Appendix A-9 and A-10).

Given the results of the District Court appeal,

where Shanstrom sat in appellate judgment on

matters he previously decided at the trial court level,

Allisons were forced to appeal to the Ninth Circuit.

Allisons filed a timely initial joint expanded opening

. 9

appeals brief in April 2000, and after the United

States/U.S. IRS filed a Response Brief, they filed a

timely joint reply brief on July 21, 2000.

In their Response, IRS raised, for the first time,

the issue of timeliness of appeal from the Bankruptcy

Court to the U.S. District Court. They maintained the

appeal was not perfected in the ten day time limit.

Allisons responded to that argument, with the

documents to prove otherwise. (See ADVP-16, 17, 18

and Appendices A-7 through A-10).

On September 26, 2000, the Ninth Circuit three

judge panel issued their unpublished MEMORANDUM

in Case No. 99-35949. In that MEMORANDUM, the

panel bought the timeliness argument of IRS and

found that Bankruptcy Appeal to the U.S. District

Court not timely, effectively getting Shanstrom off the

hook. (See Appendix A-1).

Allisons first sought a rehearing, by the panel,

addressing timeliness of appeal from Bankruptcy

Court to the U.S. District Court. A timely petition for

rehearing, by the three judge panel was filed, by

Allisons, pursuant to Rule 40 of the Federal] Rules of

Appellate Procedure, on October 19, 2000. Petition for

a panel rehearing was denied on January 2, 2001.

(See Appendix A-2). .

Allisons then sought an En Banc Rehearing,

filing a Notice of Intent to Petition for Rehearing En

Banc on January 16, 2001. On January 30, 2001,

Allisons filed a Petition for Rehearing En Banc

pursuant to Rule 35, Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure. As of the date of the filing of this Petition

for Writ of Certiorari, no response to the Petition for a

Rehearing En Banc has ever been received from the

Ninth Circuit by Allisons.

10

To protect their right of appeal, Allisons made

application to Justice O’Connor, of the Supreme

Court, for an extension of time to file a Petition for Writ

of Certiorari, pursuant to Rules of the United States

Supreme Court, on March 21, 2001.

- Qn April 4, 2001, the Clerk of the United States

Supreme Court issued a letter notifying Allisons that

Justice O’Connor extended the filing time of a Petition

for Writ of Certiorari until and including May 2, 2001.

This PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI was filed

prior to the May 2, 2001, deadline given in the Clerk’s

letter. (See Appendix A-3).

As a result of the above actions by the three

judge panel, Allisons have now filed this timely and

appropriate PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI well

within the May 2, 2001, deadline given by Justice

O’Connor, in the Supreme Court.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The Petitioners, RONALD J. ALLISON &

MARTHA J. ALLISON, have formulated the following

four reasons as to why the United States Supreme

Court should grant them a WRIT OF CERTIORARI to

review the decisions of the Ninth Circuit three judge

panel in this case. Those are:

(A) WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

CONDUCT OF THE RESPONDENTS, IS CONTRARY

TO AND IN DIRECT VIOLATION OF THE RIGHTS

AND PROTECTIONS GRANTED THE PETITIONERS

BY THE 47H, 5°, 7TH AND 10TH ARTICLES IN

AMENDMENT TO THE ORIGINAL ORGANIC

CONSTITUTION OF THE UNITED STATES OF

11

AMERICA, (U.S.C.A. Constitutional Amendments 4, 5,

7 and 10).

(B) WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

CONDUCT OF THE RESPONDENTS IS CONTRARY

TO AND IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH RELEVANT

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, OTHER DECISIONS

OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT, AND OTHER CIRCUIT

COURTS OF APPEALS DECISIONS.

(C) WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS, REGARDING THE

UNIQUE STATUS OF THE PETITIONERS, IS

CONTRARY TO AND IN DIRECT CONFLICT WITH

RELEVANT DECISIONS OF THIS COURT, OTHER

DECISIONS OF THE NINTH CIRCUIT COURT, AND

OTHER CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS

DECISIONS.

(D) WHETHER THE DECISION OF THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS IS ERRONEOUS

WITH REGARD TO THE CONDUCT OF THE U.S.

IRS, THE U.S. DISTRICT COURT, AND THE

MONTANA U.S. BANKRUPTCY COURT BELOW, AS

TO VIOLATIONS OF STATUTORY LAW AND

RELEVANT RULES AND REGULATIONS.

(A) CONSTITUTIONAL VIOLATIONS

Allisons have alleged that conduct of the

Respondents, in particular the United States and its

federal agency, the IRS, have violated the protections

and rights granted Allisons by several Articles in

Amendment to the Original Organic Constitution of the

_— ee

12

United States of America. (U.S.C.A. Const.

Amendments).

Thus, it is imperative for this Court, on

Certiorari review of the Ninth Circuit Court panel’s

MEMORANDUM, to return to and revisit the

foundation and basis for our entire legal system, the

Original Organic Constitution of the United States of

America, and to those Articles in Amendment to that

Constitution (as opposed to the provisions of the

federal [United States] constitution). Our Original

Organic Constitution is the basis for statutory and

case law. All laws passed must ultimately pass

Constitutional muster if they are to survive judicial

scrutiny. Allisons have alleged violations of specific

Constitutional sections, including: Article I, Section 8,

Clause 1; Article I, Section 9, Clause 4; and, Article

VI, Clause 2; of the Original Organic Constitution of

the United States of America.

Article I, Section 8, Clause 1, states in pertinent

part: “Section 8. The Congress shall have Power to

lay and collect Taxes, Duties, Imposts, and Excises, to

pay the Debts and provide for the common defence

and general Welfare of the United States; but all

Duties, Imposts, and Excises shall be uniform

throughout the United States;”

Article i, Section 9, Clause 4, states in pertinent

part: “Section 9. . .No Capitation, or other direct, Tax

shall be laid, unless in Proportion to the Census or

enumeration herein before directed to be taken.”

Furthermore, Article VI, Clause 2, states in

pertinent part:

“This Constitution, and all Laws of the United

States which shall be made in Pursuance

13

thereof; all treaties made, or which shall be

made, under the Authority of the United States,

shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the

Judges in every State shall be bound thereby,

any thing in the Constitution or Laws of any

State to the Contrary notwithstanding.”

Also, Allisons maintain that conduct of the

federal government’s IRS violated their rights under

the 4th, 5th, 7 and 10* Articles in Amendment to the

Original Organic Constitution of the United States of

America (U.S.C.A. Const. Amend. 4, 5, 7 and 10), part

of the “Bill of Rights” ratified in 1791.

Article in Amendment IV, states as follows:

“The night of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not

be violated, and no Warrant shall issue, but

upon probable cause, supported by oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the

place to be searched, and the persons or things

to be seized.” (See also U.S.C.A. Constitutional

Amendment 4).

Article in Amendment \V, states in its entirety as

follows:

“No person shall be held to answer for a capital,

or otherwise infamous crime, unless on a

presentment or indictment of a Grand Jury,

except in cases arising in the land or naval

forces, or in the Militia, when in actual service

in time of War or public danger; nor shall any

person be subject for the same offence to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb, nor shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

14

against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law; nor

shall private property be taken for public use

without just compensation.” (See also U.S.C.A.

Constitutional Amendment 5).

Article in Amendment VII, dealing with the right

to a trial by a jury of one’s peers states in its entirety:

“In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the

right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no

fact tried by a jury shall be otherwise

reexamined in any Court of the United States,

than according to the rules of common law.”

(See also U.S.C.A. Constitutional Amendment

7).

Article in Amendment X, also a part of the “Bill

of Rights” states in its entirety, as follows: “The

powers not delegated to the United States by the

Constitution nor prohibited by it to the States, are

reserved to the States respectively, cr to the people.”

(See also U.S.C.A. Constitutional Amendment 10).

Allisons maintain conduct of the United States

(federal government) and IRS violated protections and

rights granted to Allisons and specifically the 4th, 5th,

7» and 10‘ Articles in Amendment to the Original

Organic Constitution of the United States of America,

as well as provisions of the 14'n and 16th Amendments

to the United States Constitution. Those Consti-

tutional provisions are the supreme law of the land

and cannot be overridden by any laws passed by

Congress [statutory law] or any law feat astn by

any Court [case law].

15

All statutes and case law must first be squared

with the Constitution itself and with the Articles in

Amendment to that Constitution. Any laws found to

be unconstitutional or in violation of the Constitution,

are then, in effect, deemed “null and void”. The case of

Marbury v. Madison, (1803), first stated that principle

when the Supreme Court held that:

“It is also not entirely unworthy of observation

that in declaring what shall be the supreme law

of the land, the Constitution itself is first

mentioned, and not the laws of the United

States, generally, but those only which shall be

made in pursuance of the Constitution have

that rank. Thus, the particular phraseology of

the Constitution of the United States confirms

and strengthens the principle, supposed to be

essential to all written constitutions, that a law

repugnant to the Constitution is void and that

the courts, as well as other departments, are

bound by that instrument.”

The decision of the Ninth Circuit panel, in its

MEMORANDUM, does not pass Constitutional muster.

It remains an incontrovertible fact that the 16"

Amendment to the Constitution, by virtue of its

language, is an “excise tax”. A comprehensive

examination of the legislative history and intent

indicates clearly that the 16t* Amendment was enacted

by Congress to tax corporations and other artificial

entities, which are creations of government and

subject to the rules, and regulations of the government

for their existence. The 16‘ Amendment is being

fraudulently applied to individuals, like Allisons, when

it is, in reality, a corporation excise tax.

16

To truly understand the 16% Amendment, one

, must examine Congressional Record-Senate, p. 1568,

April 28, 1909, regarding Senate Joint Resolution 25;

p. 3377, June 17, 1909, regarding Senate Joint

Resolution 39; pp. 3344-3345, June 16, 1909,

regarding President Taft’s address to Congress

(outlining the requirements for passing the 16”

Amendment); and, p. 3900, June 28, 1909, regarcing

the language of Senate Joint Resolution 40, which

became the 16t* Amendment. That language follows:

wa. Rieter,

“Article XVI. The Congress shall have the power

to lay and collect taxes on incomes, from

whatever source derived, without apportion-

ment among the several States, and without

regard to any census or enumeration.”

Yet, the federal government wants us to believe

the 16" Amendment somehow negated the powerof ”

Article I, Section 9, Clause 4, of the Original Organic

Constitution of the United States of America. It did

not. The passage of the 16t» Amendment did not

extend the taxing powers of the federal government to

new or excepted subjects. See Stanton v. Baltic

Mining Co., 240 U.S. 103; Peck v. Lowe, 247 U.S. 165,

Eisner v. MaComber, 252 U.S. 189, and Brushaber

v. Union Pacific Railway Co., 240 U.S. 1. Allison, a

natural born, sovereign citizen and resident of the

state of Montana, and a non-taxpayer, cannot have the

federal government’s 16'" Amendment corporate excise

tax legally applied to him. He does not qualify. Such

application is fraudulent and unconstitutional as to

him, given his unique status. See Pollock v. Farmers

Loan & Trust Co., 157 U.S. 429, and Miller v.

Standard Nut & Margarine Co., 284 U.S. 498.

It should be abundantly clear, from the

standard set in G.M. Leasing v. United States, 429

17

U.S. 338, that the warrantless search and seizure of

Allisons’ properties was in direct violation of Articles in

Amendment 4 and 5. By dismissing this action

without a trial, both the Bankruptcy Court and the

U.S. District Courts below denied Allisons their 7‘

Article in Amendment right to trial by jury. Jury trial

was demanded by Allisons in their Complaint. Yet, this

case was decided solely on the briefs and one short

motions hearing. No trial was held at the trial level in

the Adversarial Proceeding in the U.S. Bankruptcy

Court, even though that Court is an Article III Court

with such powers and jurisdiction. Article III of the

Constitution states, in pertinent part, as follows:

“Section 1. The judicial Power of the United

States, shall be vested in one Supreme Court,

and in such inferior Courts as the Congress

may from time to time ordain and establish...

Section 2. The judicial Power shall extend to all

Cases, in Law and Equity, arising under this

Constitution, the Laws of the United States, and

Treaties made, or which shall be made, under

their Authority;--...to Controversies to which the

United States shall be a Party;”

Bankruptcy Court was an Article III Court, which did

have jurisdiction and full authority to decide and

adjudicate all the issues before it.

Finally, Allisons contend Constitutional powers

not given the federal government remain the purview

of the States, or the people themselves. The federal

government’s fraudulent application of federal income

tax to individuals like Allison is violation of the 10t

Article in Amendment, in that the constitution never

granted that authority to the federal government or

IRS.

18

(B) CONFLICT OF LAWS, STARE DECISIS:

Allisons maintain that both material points of

fact and relevant legal decisions were overlooked by

the Court below, in its MEMORANDUM. Further, they

maintain the decision of the three judge panel does

conflict with decisions of this Court, and other

published decisions of the Ninth Circuit Court and the

other circuit courts.

If the concept of “stare decisis”, which literally

means, “to abide by, or adhere to, decided cases”,

remains a valid legal principle, then this case, as

addressed by the Ninth Circuit’s panel clearly deserves

a Certiorari review by the Supreme Court.

Black’s Law Dictionary, (Fifth Edition) defines

“stare decisis” as indicating that it is the “policy of

courts to stand by precedent and not disturb a settled

point”. In Neff v. George, 4 NE 2d 388, 391, that court

defined “stare decisis” as a doctrine that: “When a

court has once laid down a principle of law as

applicable to a certain state of facts, it will adhere to

that principle, and apply it to all future cases, where

facts are substantially the same; regardless of whether

the parties and property are the same.” Horne v.

Woody, 146 SW2d 505.

One Ninth Circuit case also addresses the

principle of “stare decisis”. In State v. Mellenberger,

95 P.2d 709, they held:

“Under doctrine [stare decisis], a deliberate or

solemn decision of the court made after

argument on a question of law fairly arising in

the case, and necessary to its determination, is

an authority, or binding precedent in the same

court, or in courts of equal or lower rank in

19

subsequent cases where the pount is again in

controversy.”

Allisons are adamant that the principles of

“stare decisis” and “precedent” are not being adhered

to by the courts below.

Allisons are seeking, through this Petition for

Certiorari review to have the Supreme Court determine

if the MEMORANDUM is in conflict with and contrary

to other relevant cases. The cases presented below

have previously been presented in the courts below.

Specific cases the Allisons maintain are in conflict with

the panel decision below include: Bevins v. Six

Unknown Federal Narcotics Agents, 403 U.S. 338;

Boethke v. Fluor Engineers & Constructors, Inc., 713

F.2d 1405 (9* Cir. 1983); Economy Plumbing &

Heating Co. v. United States, 470 F.2d 585 (1982);

General Motors Leasing Corp. v. United States, 429

U.S. 338; and Long v. Rasmussen, 281 F.2d 236, (a

case originating in the Montana U.S. District Court,

but still good law.) Others include: Brushaber v.

Union Pacific Railway, 240 U.S. 1; Eisner v.

MaComber, 252 U.S. 189; Liljeberg v. Health Services

Acquisition Corp., 108 S.Ct. 2194; Miller v. Standard

Nut & Margarine Co., 284 U.S. 498; Peck v. Lowe, 247

U.S. 165; Pollock v. Farmers Loan & Trust Co., 157

U.S. 429; See v. City of Seattle, 382 U.S. 541; Stanton

v. Baltic Mining Co., 240 U.S. 103; and Thatcher v.

Powell, 6 Wheat 119. Others include Cohens v.

Virginia, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat 264); Commissioner v.

Shapiro, 424 U.S. 614; Edwards v. Cuba RR, 45 S.Ct.

614; Garner v. United States, 424 U.S. 648; Laing v.

United States, 423 U.S. 184; United States v. Sullivan,

274 U.S. 259; and U.S. ex. rel. Accardi v.

Shaughnessy, 347 U.S. 260. These U.S. Supreme

Court cases, are authoritative case law. They ’

20

are precedent, and “stare decisis” should require their

application to the case at bar by the Ninth Circuit.

In addition, there are numerous Circuit Court

cases previously cited by Allison in the courts below,

but which have not been considered. Those cases

include: United States v. Bosurgi, 530 F.2d 1105;

Schering Corp. v. Home Insurance Co., 717F.2d 4;

SMS Industries, Inc: v. -P.S. International,

643 F.2d

289; Reece v. Scoggins, 506 F.2d 967;

Bancorp v. Commercial Paper Holders, 753 F.2d 1334;

Elias v. Connett, 908 F.2d 521; Fontenot v. Upjohn

Co., 780 F.2d 1190; Friednash v. Commissioner, 209

F.2d 601; Garrett v. City & County of San Francisco,

818 F.2d 1515; Goodwin v. United States, 935 F.2d

1061; Hall v. Hawaii, 791 F.2d 759; Hancokk.y,

Montgomery Ward LTDT, 787 F.2d 1302; James v.

Gable, 732 F.2d 49; McPartin v. prams oom 653

F.2d 1185; and Patty Precision v. Browne & Sharpe

Manufacturing, 742 F.2d 1260. Others would include:

Bullock v. Latham, 306 F.2d 45; Butz v. Economou,

438 U.S. 478; In Re Price, 42 F3d 1068; Jensen v. IRS,

835 F.2d 196; LaFollette v. U.S., 176 F.Supp. 192;

Lassoff v. Gray, 266 F.2d 745; L.O.C. Industries, Inc.

v. United States, 423 F.Supp. 265; Rodriguez v. United

States, 629 F.Supp. 333; U.S. v. Bonaguro, 294

F.Supp. 750; White v. Commissioner, 537 F.Sup. 679;

U.S. ex. Rel. Brooks v. Clifford, 490 F.2d 706; U.S. v.

Heffner, 420 F.2d 809; and Yannacelli v. Nash, 354

F.Supp. 143.

“Stare decisis” mandates these cases be

considered by the courts below. Both Allisons and the

United States have focused on the Condo case. (See

United States v. Condo, 782 F.2d 1502). The courts

below have also invoked Condo. Allisons

21

maintain that Condo supports their propositions and

arguments made in this case. Condo raises

precedents and invokes stare decisis, as it is based

upon court rulings in Flores v. United States, 551 F.2d

1169; General Motors Leasing v. United States, 429

U.S. 338; Camara v. Municipal Court, 387 U.S. 523; In

Re Gerwig, 461 F.Supp. 449; and Enochs v. Williams

Packing & Navigation Co., 370 U.S. 1. These are all

cases Allisons have raised in the courts below, to no

avail. Condo and its precedents support the

contentions of Allisons, and conflict with the court

decisions below.

Other than Condo, the above-identified cases

have not been challenged or distinguished apart from

the propositions raised by Allisons in the court

decisions below.

(C) UNIQUE STATUS OF PETITIONERS:

Allison maintains that he has a unique status

which makes the federal income tax inapplicable to

himself. He consistently challenged on many occasions

the validity and legality of the jurisdiction, authority,

and venue of IRS, without receiving a direct response.

In this case, specifically, Mr. Allison did directly

challenge the authority, jurisdiction, and venue of IRS,

with Agent Bouldin. Instead of responding to these

fundamental challenges, Agent Bouldin instituted

actions which resulted in wrongful and illegal search

and seizure of Allisons’ real and personal properties,

and ultimately wrongful and illegal sale of those

properties. IRS not only seized and sold Mr. Allison’s

properties, against whom they made alleged claims,

but seized and sold the solely-owned property of

Martha J. Allison, against whom IRS admits it has no

22

claims or controversies. Allisons have challenged the

authority, jurisdiction, and venue of IRS, both in the

original Bankruptcy action and in the Adversarial

Proceeding, but the courts below refused to address

those challenges.

| It was wrong for IRS to seize and sell Martha J.

Allison’s solely-owned real property, in an attempt to

satisfy the alleged federal income tax deficiencies of

her spouse, Ronald J. Allison. In Raffaele v. Grange er,

196 F.2d 620 (1952), that court held:

“The United States cannot take property from

an innocent spouse to satisfy the tax obligation

of a delinquent spouse”,

and, further, that

“A statute prohibiting suit to restrain collection

of taxes does not prevent judicial interposition

to prevent the collector of internal revenue from

taking the property of one person to satisfy the

tax obligations of another.”

In addition to the challenges in the Bankruptcy

case and the Adversarial action, Allison has challenged

IRS authority, jurisdiction, and venue as follows,

including:

(a) Demand for Proof of Authority,

Jurisdiction, & Venue, in Personam & In

Rem, dated November 6, 1996, and

served on IRS Agent Bouldin, by certified

mail.

(b) Affidavit of Facts Establishing Status of

Citizenship, dated March 31, 1992, and

filed with the Clerk & Recorder for

Rosebud County, Montana.

(c) Affidavit & Notice of Ronald J. Allison,

Affidavit of Declaration of Title as Holder

23

of Quiet Title to One’s Self, and Social

Security Revocation of Ronald J. Allison,

all dated July 4, 1984, and which were

all served upon IRS, the Social Security .

Administration, U.S. Attorney General,

Health & Human Services, Treasury, the

Governor & Treasurer of the State of

Montana, Montana Revenue Department,

and Mr. Allison’s employer then, Bechtel

Construction, all by certified mail.

As of the date of this PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI, IRS and no one else in the federal

government has addressed those challenges. Neither

have they established valid, legal authority, juris-

diction and venue over Allison or his real and personal

properties. Once jurisdiction is challenged, it is a valid

legal maxim that the party attempting to prove it has

jurisdiction must come forward with the evidence. “The

proponent of a rule or order has the burden of proof.”

(See 5 U.S.C. 556(d)).

As for IRS’s claims against Mr. Allison, that

burden has not been met.

Furthermore, Mr. Allison has maintained from

the outset, and IRS has not contradicted him, that the

sections of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), which IRS

is attempting to apply to him constitute a fraudulent

and unconstitutional application, given his status.

Sections of 26 U.S.C. that IRS claim apply to Mr.

Allison have implementing rules and regulations in 27

C.F.R. 70, which apply to the sale, manufacture, and

distribution of alcohol, tobacco, and firearms. Allisons

are not engaged in such business, and are not subject

to these types of excise taxes. Allison is a natural born,

sovereign citizen and resident of the United States of

24

America, but he is not a citizen or resident of the

federal government [United States]. Under 28 U.S.C.

1746, Allisons are “without” the United States, and its

jurisdiction, authority, and venue. Allison is a “non- :

resident” to the state of the forum of the United States

[federal] IRS. He is not a resident of the District of :

Columbia, or any federal reservation, enclave, or

instrumentality, nor a federal military reservation, nor

is he within any class of persons upon whom the

federal IRS has authority to impose a bk eek

federal income tax.

Mr. Allison is not within the classes of persons

subject to the levy and distraint authority of IRS.

Under Section 26 U.S.C. 6331, IRS has “limited levy

and distraint authority”. That section states as

follows: “Levy may be made upon the accrued salary

or wages of any officer, employee, or elected official of

the United States, the District of Columbia, or any

agency or instrumentality of the United States or the

District of Columbia...

The Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) expands upon

that, in pertinent part, as follows:

26 CFR 301.6331-1lafii) and (iii):

“Salaries, wages, and other compensation of any

officer, employee, or elected or appointed of a

state or territory, or of any subdivision thereof,

are also subject to the levy to enforce collection

of any federal tax; .. .”

and

“Wages of Seamen, apprentice seamen, or

fishermen employed on fishing vessels are

subject to levy.”

25

As IRS had no levy and distraint authority, they

also did not have legal authority for the seizure and

sale of Allison’s property.

Furthermore, Allison is not a taxpayer. He isa

“nontaxpayer” so far as the federal income tax

definitions. In making their “nontaxpayer” status

claim, Allisons rely on the ruling in Long v.

Rasmussen, a Montana federal court case, which held:

“...they [the revenue laws] relate to taxpayers,

and not to nontaxpayers. The later are without

their scope. No procedure is prescribed for

nontaxpayers, and no attempt is made to annul

any of their rights and remedies in due course

of law.” (See Long v. Rasmussen, 281 F236,

238 (D.Ct. Montana, 1922).

The fact remains that Allison is a natural born,

sovereign, unenfranchised nontaxpayer with regard to

IRS. Allison has revoked his participation in the

fraudulent federal Social Security scheme and, as

such, had divested himself of any and all contractual

ties to the federal government and its revenue raising

arm, IRS.

Allison does not meet definitions of a “taxpayer”

or a “United States person” as those terms are defined

in federal law at 26 U.S.C. 7701(a)(1), (1)(14) and

(1)(30). Furthermore, he is not “within the United

States’, but is “without the United States”, as those

terms are defined at 28 U.S.C. 1746.

The Supreme Court has previously ruled that

an “income tax” is an “excise tax”, which is synon-

ymous with a “privilege tax”. Mr. Allison is not

asserting any privilege, but only his rights, as

guaranteed by the Constitution. As he is not

a

26

exercising any “privilege” there cannot be imposed on

him ‘% any “privilege” or “income tax”. Conclusion

reached by this Court in Pollock v. Farmer’s Loan &

Trust Co., 158 U.S. 601 (1895), held that “taxation on

income was, in its nature, an excise tax” that remains

good law today. See also Brushaber v. Union Pacific

Railway Co., 240 U.S. 1, and Foster & Co., v. Graham,

154 Tenn. 412. In Idaho Gold Dredging Co. v.

Balderston, at 58 ID 692, that Idaho court held that:

“There can be only two kinds of taxes in the

United States. A tax must be either a direct tax,

in which it is subject to the rules of

apportionment, or a privilege tax. A privilege

tax can never be imposed upon an exercise of a

right under the constitution. The obligation to

pay an excise tax is based upon the voluntary

action of the person being taxed in performing

the act, or enjoying the privilege, or engaging in

the occupation which is the subject of the

excise, and the element of absolute and

unavoidable demand is lacking.”

“If you don’t want to pay the tax, simply don’t

exercise the privilege.” People ex. Rel. Attorney

General v. Naglee, 1 Cal 232. Income tax is not a tax

on income, but a tax imposed upon a privilege,

measured in income. In Flint v. Stone Tracy Co., 220

U.S. 107 (1911) this court held:

“Excises are taxes laid upon the manufacture

sale or consumption of commodities within a

country, upon licenses to pursue certain

regulated occupations, and upon corporate

privileges; the requirement to pay such taxes

involves the exercise of the privilege...”

Allison, a human being, unlike a corporation,

cannot be taxed for the mere privilege of existing and

27

exercising his constitutional nights. An individual’s

right to live and own property are natural rights, for

the enjoyment of which an excise tax cannot be

imposed. (See Redfield v. Fisher, 292 OR 814). The

legislature cannot name something to be a taxable

privilege unless it is first a privilege. “The right to

receive income or earnings is a right belonging to every

person and realization and receipt of income is

therefore not a privilege that can be taxed.” Jack Cole

Co. v. McFarland, 337 SW2d 453.

IRS actions against Allisons are not authorized

by law. IRS did not just exceed their aan and

authority; they have none.

“A distinction must be here observed between

excess of jurisdiction and the clear absence of all

jurisdiction over the subject matter. Any authority

exercised is usurped authority, and for the exercise of

such authority when the want of jurisdiction is known

to the judge, no excuse is permissible.” Bradley v.

Fisher, 13 Wall. 335. Section 26 CFR 601.106 states:

“An exaction by the U.S. government, which is not

based in law, statutory or otherwise, is a taking of

property without due process of law, in violation of the

Fifth Amendment to the Constitution...” The rights of

Allisons to be protected against fraudulently imposed

and unconstitutionally applied federal liens, levies and

seizures, prior to any due process of law, is recognized

in the Original Organic Constitution and its Articles of

Amendment. The unique status of Allisons must be

taken into consideration in this matter.

(D) VIOLATIONS OF STATUTES, RULES AND

REGULATIONS

Allisons have demonstrated that conduct of IRS

and of the courts below violated their rights

28

guaranteed under the 4+, 5th, 7th and 10th Articles in

Amendment to the Original Organic Constitution of the

United States of America. Allisons also maintain both

IRS and the courts below violated statutory law and

applicable implementing rules and regulations. With

regard to IRS, this Court needs only to examine the

fraud perpetrated upon the courts below through their

submission of the falsified and fraudulent “Notices of

Sale’ and “Delegation Orders” which the U.S. Attorney

submitted as evidence in this case. Both 18 U.S.C.

1001 and 26 U.S.C. 7214 were violated by government

in the preparation and submission of the fraudulent

documents below. The warrantless search and

seizure, conducted under “color of law’, violated law.

The out-of-county Sealed Bid Sale of the seized

property violated rules. The Doctrine of “unclean

hands’ must be applied to IRS.

Allisons raised in their Complaint in the

Bankruptcy Adversarial action, some thirteen specific

statutory, rule or regulation violations by IRS, even

before the search and seizure. None of these violations

have been addressed.

The Courts below are just as culpable as IRS.

The Bankruptcy Court refused to force IRS into court

to raise and defend alleged claims against Allison.

Bankruptcy Rule 4007 sets forth procedure for

determination of dischargeability of debt and requires

filing of a complaint by the creditor. Yet, the

Bankruptcy Court would not bring IRS in until an

adversarial action was filed. Then, it would not allow

meaningful discovery to occur and when, post-hearing,

Allisons discovered fraudulent sales documents and

delegation orders, the court chose not to examine that

fraud. As to the Trust, the Bankruptcy Court refused

to apply 27 CFR 70.163, which states: “Any person

who mistakenly surrenders to the United States any

29

property or rights to property not properly subject to

levy is not relieved from liability to a third party who

owns the property.”

Allisons completed timely appeal and election to

be heard by District Court rather than the BAPS. (See

Appendices A-7 through A-10). At the District Court,

on appeal, that issue was not raised. (28 USC 158(a).

At District Court, Judge Shanstrom, the same judge

who initially issued the “Writ of Entry” used by IRS to

search and seize Allisons’ properties, continued to

improperly sit as an Appellate Judge, reviewing his

own prior judicial actions. Allisons requested he

recuse himself. He refused. They requested he be

disqualified. No action was taken. Judge Shanstrom

should have required a warrant and probable cause.

He then should have removed himself from the case at

the point of the appeal. Instead, without even having

the record on appeal, or exhibits, he decided to uphold

the Bankruptcy Court’s decision. To cover himself, he

stayed on the case and denied Allisons’ causes of

action by denying their preliminary pre-trial motions.

Shanstrom also improperly granted costs and fees.

Shanstrom’s decision was then appealed to the

Ninth Circuit. For the first time, issue of timeliness of

appeal from Bankruptcy Court to U.S. District Court

was raised to further cover Shanstrom’s errors. Even

when the panel was presented the actual documenta-

tion showing a timely appeal was filed, (See Appendix

A-7 through A-10), they disregard the evidence. When

timely Petition for Rehearing by the panel was rejected,

Allisons sought a Rehearing En Banc. Ninth Circuit

never responded. To protect themselves, Allisons made

application to Justice O’Connor for an extension of

time to file this PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI,

which was granted and is now before this Court.

30

IRS’s actions against Allisons were a direct

result of their challenging authority, jurisdiction, and

venue of IRS. IRS's actions were vindictive in nature

and constitute actual malice toward Allisons, who were

only attempting to assert their Constitutional rights

and protections. IRS violated those Constitutional

rights, violated Due Process, and violated agency

statutes and implementing rules and regulations.

The Court’s actions below were just as

reprehensible in that those courts condoned the illegal

actions of IRS, refused to examine facts and legal

precedents presented them, violated their own for

operational rules as federal Article III Courts.

There is a very compelling case for review of the

Ninth Circuit’s MEMORANDUM, by the United States

Supreme Court, pursuant to this PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI, and such review should be granted.

CONCLUSION

For reasons presented hereinabove, a WRIT OF

CERTIORARI should issue from the United States

Supreme Court to review MEMORANDUM issued by

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals dated September 26,

2000, as well as review ORDER issued by Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals dated January 2, 2001.

Respectfully submitted of

RONALD J. ALKISON, Pro Se, for

Ronald J. Allison, Petitioner &

Martha J. Allison, Petitioner

390 N. 10» Ave., P.O. Box 661

Forsyth, MT 5932

1-406-356-2904

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.