Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Martini v. Boeing Co.

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\) Samra Cot,

001221 JAN 292008

No. een

urrt

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

LUC MARTINI,

Petitioner,

THE BOEING COMPANY,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

=

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

JOHN P. SHERIDAN Louts A. CLARK

Of Counsel Counsel of Record

1402 Third Ave. 1612 K Street, N.W.

Suite 1215 Suite 400

Seattle, WA 98101 Washington, DC 20006

206-292-2850 202-408-0034

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether an employer violates the Americans With

Disabilities Act when it refuses to consider a disabled

applicant for employment who is seeking a trial work

period under social security regulations?

Whether the court of appeals violated principles of

comity by refusing to certify to the Washington State

Supreme Court this issue under state law, especially in

light of that court’s express departure from federal prece-

dent in analyzing state law disability discrimination

claims?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner is Mr. Luc Martini, who was plaintiff in the

district court and appellant in the court of appeals.

Respondent is The Boeing Company, which was defen-

dant in the district court and appellee in the court of

appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ey eB sys | sr i

PARIIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS...............;. ii

pe Be A NG 8) | vi

EE EPO ois ce ccdccececessscvscceaveseues 1

Treas Gu vets seehacstcheceeeeenesets 1

NEY UO WEE WIERD bccn cc ciccccccscsccseccecacs 1

ES rere ee 1

A. Mr. Martini’s Employment With Boeing........ l

B. ee iho edadhe6ssecécensdaees 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION FOR A

ES oo wba cus ccsiccccaesacos 7

I. The Court Should Grant Certiorari Because This

Is An Important Issue Involving Interpretation

Ae ce aeecks 7

A. A Central Purpose Of The ADA And The

Social Security Act Is To Put Disabled Per-

ia ce nee s'é'e's ecu saeea 7

1. To Encourage Persons On Social Security

Disability To Go Back To Work, The SSA

Provides For A Trial Work Period

Whereby Persons Who Are Totally Dis-

abled Can Test Whether They Can

i Ewes es As sb es ebucseccnc sas 7

N

To Encourage Disabled Persons To Keep

Working, The ADA Requires Accom-

teach aden aves sous esweas 8

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

B. Cleveland v. Policy Management Does Not

Adequately Address An Employer’s Burden

When A Person On Disability Applies For

Work Pursuant To Social Security Regula-

ROMD onc can consccncccesansantosssasdseacsns 12

C. The Court Of Appeals In Affirming Sum-

mary Judgment Misapplied Cleveland By

Wrongly Focusing On Irrelevant Representa-

tions Made After The Discriminatory Failure

To Hire And Failed To Address The Trial

WHE WU I so ccawectehaseeecavaeses 14

1. The Court Of Appeals Misapplied Cleve-

DE du bawauccsensecassowes essa bres Vdawe 14

2. The Court Of Appeals Failed To Address

The Trial Work Period Issue ........... 17

II. The Issue Of Whether The Court of Appeals

Should Have Granted State Certification On The

State Law Discrimination Issue Is An Important

Be. PPE rere ee rere eT Tey Tee 18

aN es | SE err roe rere eres rey ry 20

Figg 8 | PSP rer: Tey err err TP Pry err ry Pere la

APPENDIX A Memorandum (Affirming District

eo Be” a re la

APPENDIX B_ Minutes of Preliminary Pre-Trial

SD us seb dxravebseatee ceed exe's 6a

APPENDIX C_ Order Re Partial Stay Of Discov-

OE sibceneveeeuwsbuennseessenceusesi 8a

APPENDIX D_ Order Denying Stay, Striking Fil-

ings, And Setting Oral Argument

On Motions For Summary Judg-

DEE EewachcdiacecavlewaesNecenseas 10a

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

E

F_

Order Granting Leave To File

Amended Complaint.............

Report And Recommendation On

Motion For Judgment On Plead-

ings

Order On Motion For Judgment

Ch ND oink cn neta ne Kees

Report And Recommendation On

Motions For Summary Judgment .

Supplement To Report And Rec-

ommendation Of April 21, 1998....

Order On Motion For Summary

GING yx du dakebnasdiakeesees

Order (To Consider Additional

Authority And Certify Question

To State Court)

Order (Denying Rehearing and

Denying Hearing En Banc).......

NE. Pao n'e a oes Woolas ed aan een

Declaration Of Robert Miller,

Letter To John C. Montoya, EEOC ...

Letter To John C. Montoya, EEOC...

ee ee

eneGeeoaseeneeeneneea ev ies

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

FEDERAL CASES

Clay v. Sun Ins. Office, Ltd., 363 U.S. 207 (1960) ..... 18

Cleveland v. Policy a Systems, 526 US.

79S (UDP) . wc nccccc. WYrrTe Tae 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16

Geib v. Amoco Oil Co., 29 F.3d 1050 (6th Cir. 1994) .... 18

Johnson v. State of Oregon, 141 F.3d 1361 (9th Cir.

POPENG nbs ksrnadtoncacsianebauwesnsbeeneeuaees 6, 11, 16

Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th Cir.

| SPPPVTPTTREP TIT ETT TTT Tee rere? og ee

Lehman Bros. v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386 (1974) .......... 18

Martini v. Boeing, No. 98-35642, 2000 U.S. App.

LEXIS 23902 (9th Cir. Sept. 21, 2000)............... ]

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792

SED coccdctuaveuendeessctecaseauiunseRnepeEeucs: 19

United Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., v. Metropolitan

Human Relations Comm., 24 F.3d 1008 (7th Cir.

Pech asevces :é5605deanaee baeeeeee aad Reena 18

STATE CASES

Dean v. Municipality of Metropolitan Seattle-Metro,

104 Wash. 2d 627, 708 P.2d 393 (1985) ............ 19

Martini v. Boeing, 137 Wash. 2d 357, 996 P.2d 582

CR an a idh 6 nd bi a ee ee Ie ee 19

Pulcino v. Federal Express, 141 Wash. 2d 629, 9 P.3d

Pt ME cake be ncn c bckckenekaeaaebdees hanes sew hn 19

Vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Americans With Disabilities Act of 1990,

Thais Es a ood ede cthenddssckenncedanndces 1, 4

42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(1) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

SL, SED vadneedsedcddedadedene tdneecesasseuel 8

42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(2) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

rr re mr ne 8

42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(8) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

I, SE no bana adv dadnncenvedsianinuaten temas )

42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(9) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

Pe nn . cannes SAdaeiekh bane eedaeeeeeeas 9

42 U.S.C. § 12101(b)(1) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

SE ce cunahacceckeeeeeene bekaesieceessens 4

42 U.S.C. § 12111 (LEXIS through P.L. No.

DE GE hn dskdésd0osenveseceeeeveenee ss? ere *

42 U.S.C. § 12111(8) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

PP SEE 9640066460 56060 eb bheeeheeeeeesteKans 10

42 U.S.C. § 12112 (LEXIS through P.L. No.

DP ME nccine sé deesGeeensubeees bb50 eee eunes 17

42 U.S.C. § 12112(a) (as amended, 1991) (LEXIS

through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000).................... 9

42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(1) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) ............ “

42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(3) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) ............ 4

42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(5)(A) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) ........... 10

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(5)(B) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) .......

42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(6) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) .......

42 U.S.C. § 12112(d)(2)(A) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) .......

42 U.S.C. § 12112(d)(2)(B) (as amended, 1991)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) .......

Equal Employment Opportunity Act of 1972

(Title VII),

tO et oot So

Social Security Act,

42 U.S.C. § 422(a) (repealed 1999, effective 2001)

(LEXIS through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000) .......

42 U.S.C. § 422(c) (LEXIS through P.L. No.

SE bint 00.0 bat none eee s440eds.ckes | ey

42 U.S.C. § 423 (as amended 1999) (LEXIS

through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000)...............

Ticket To Work and Work Incentives Improvement

Act of 1999, 42 U.S.C. § 1320b-19 note (LEXIS

through P.L. No. 106-504, 2000), Pub. L. No.

106-170, § 2, 113 Stat. 1860, 1862-63 (1999)....

ee Ss RD Ch a hod baondrensscrceens

Trial Work Period,

ee Gdn Oe OE CEUs 0 eas vecnenesténcssee

WASH. REV. CODE §§ 49.60.010-180 (LEXIS

through Chapter 1 of the 2000 Special Session,

BOD nce videstsiasicesneevncesantnseecéeena 4, 18, 19

12, 17

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, 1a)

appears as the unpublished case of Martini v. Boeing, No.

98-35642, 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 23902 (9th Cir. Sept. 21,

2000). The opinions of the district court (App., infra) are

unreported.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on September

21, 2000. A judgment denying a petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing en banc was entered on October

31, 2000. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The issues raised in this petition pertain to the inter-

action between the Americans with Disabilities Act of

1990 (ADA), 42 U.S.C. § 12101, and the provisions of the

‘Social Security Act (SSA) and its implementing regula-

tions providing for trial work periods. 42 U.S.C. § 422(c),

42 U.S.C. § 423, and 20 C.F.R. § 404.1592 (1998).

¢

STATEMENT

A. Mr. Martini’s Employment With Boeing

The Boeing Company hired Mr. Martini as an engi-

neer in 1978. He later worked for Boeing as a training

2

instructor. In that capacity, he developed curricula,

methods, and procedures for Boeing customers using

AWACS military aircraft. He also taught classes and pro-

vided training for these customers. During his employ-

ment with Boeing, Mr. Martini developed depression and

sleep apnea.

Mr. Martini ended his employment with Boeing on

August 21, 1990. After leaving Boeing, Mr. Martini tried

to find work. He was unsuccessful.

In 1991, Mr. Martini applied for social security dis-

ability benefits. Mr. Martini’s application was initially

denied, but he was ultimately granted disability benefits

on July 6, 1991, retroactive to his last day of work at

Boeing.

In 1995, Mr. Martini obtained a judgment against

Boeing for disability discrimination under state law,

which was appealed by Boeing and not resolved until

1999.

In February 1996, while still receiving social security

disability benefits, Mr. Martini sought employment with

Boeing on a trial work basis. Mr. Martini responded to an

advertisement in “Aviation Week & Space Technology”

for an Instructional Course Designer (F-22 AWACS). In

his application, Mr. Martini indicated an interest in four

open positions, and noted that his “background in the

Instructional Systems/Support (CBT) area is without

equal. . . . [He] personally developed the only existing

AWACS Radar Computer Based Training (CBT) data base

in existence. ...” Three months after he sent his letter of

application, he called the Boeing Employment Hotline

and discovered that the same job was still being adver-

tised. After receiving no response to his job applications,

Mr. Martini filed a disability discrimination claim with

the EEOC on April 18, 1996.

Prior to applying for the Boeing jobs in 1996, Mr.

Martini consistently represented that he could work with

accommodation. He made such representations in 1991 in

his application for SSDI (Social Security Disability Insur-

ance) benefits. Additionally, doctors hired by Boeing in

connection with a worker’s compensation claim who

examined him in 1995 made findings that he could work.

Before and after the February 1996 job applications were

made, Dr. Robert Miller, Mr. Martini’s treating psycholo-

gist, made annual representations to Boeing’s insurance

administrator that Mr. Martini was a viable candidate for

job retraining. In October 1995, Dr. Miller also opined

that Mr. Martini was capable of gainful employment with

an employer who was willing to exercise a degree of

flexibility with him owing to his illness. In a declaration

submitted to the trial court, Dr. Miller reiterated this

opinion. App., infra, 59a-62a.

Six months after his Boeing application for employ-

ment was submitted and four months after his EEOC

complaint was filed, in connection with a separate

worker’s compensation hearing involving Boeing, Mr.

Martini testified for the first time that a shoulder injury

he received during his employment affected his depres-

sion and pushed him over the edge from being employed

successfully to being totally disabled.

Boeing never considered Mr. Martini for employment

expressly because Mr. Martini was receiving social

security disability benefits. In an attorney letter to the

EEOC that came months after Boeing’s failure to hire Mr.

Martini, Boeing claimed there was no duty to consider

Mr. Martini for employment owing to his receipt of social

security disability benefits. Boeing claimed its position

was supported by Mr. Martini’s statement of total disabil-

ity made during his testimony in August 1996, months

after Boeing’s discriminatory failure to hire him in Febru-

ary 1996.1 App., infra, 63a, 71a.

B. Proceedings Below

This matter was originally filed pro se in King

County Superior Court in Washington State on March 18,

1997, and was removed to the United States District

Court for the Western District of Washington and

assigned to Judge William L. Dwyer. In his complaint, Pro

Se Plaintiff Martini alleged violations of Title VII (42

U.S.C. § 2000e), the Americans with Disabilities Act of

1990 (ADA) (42 U.S.C. § 12101), WASH. REV. CODE

1 Owing to pretrial orders limiting discovery in this

litigation, the record is incomplete as to detailed facts regarding

the essential elements of the jobs applied for, and as to the

comparative qualifications of others hired for the jobs. In July

1997, Magistrate Judge Weinberg stayed all discovery by Mr.

Martini and limited Boeing to discovery pertaining to “the

existence and extent of plaintiff’s disability at the time of, and

after, his 1996 employment application at Boeing... . ”

(emphasis added) App., infra, 7a, 8a. In an October 1997 order,

Magistrate Judge Weinberg also denied Mr. Martini’s efforts to

obtain discovery pertaining to qualifications of persons hired to

those jobs and information on Boeing’s procedures for ADA

compliance. App., infra, 11a. These omissions will not prevent a

meaningful review of the case on appeal.

uO

§ 49.60, retaliation, age discrimination, and other claims

associated with Boeing’s failure to consider him for

vacant positions in February 1996.

On May 1, 1997, by order, Judge Dwyer referred all

pretrial matters to Magistrate Judge John L. Weinberg.

On June 11, 1997, Magistrate Judge Weinberg stayed

discovery pending the filing and determination of Boe-

ing’s motion for summary judgment. App., infra, 6a.

On July 17, 1997, Magistrate Judge Weinberg contin-

ued the stay of discovery, but permitted Boeing to con-

duct discovery limited to the issue of the existence and

extent of plaintiff’s disability at the time of, and after, his

1996 employment application, including plaintiff's repre-

sentations and any determinations as to that disability.

Magistrate Judge Weinberg further ordered that discov-

ery by Pro Se Plaintiff Martini would remain stayed,

“{bjut if plaintiff demonstrates that, to defend the sum-

mary judgment motion, he needs to do discovery on the

issue described above, he may apply for leave to do so.”

App., infra, 8a-9a.

On August 11, 1997, Boeing filed a motion for sum-

mary judgment claiming that the case should be dis-

missed under Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th

Cir. 1996), because Pro Se Plaintiff Martini was not quali-

fied to work owing to his receipt of social security dis-

ability benefits at the time of his job application.

On October 27, 1997, Magistrate Judge Weinberg

denied Pro Se Plaintiff Martini’s request to obtain discov-

ery pertaining to the qualifications of persons hired into

the jobs to which he had applied and information regard-

ing Boeing’s procedures for ADA compliance. App., infra,

11a.

On November 12, 1997, Mr. Martini obtained counsel.

On April 21, 1998, Magistrate Judge Weinberg issued

a recommendation that this case be dismissed pursuant to

Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th Cir. 1996).

App., infra, 23a.

On May 4, 1998, Magistrate Judge Weinberg issued a

supplemental recommendation that this case be dis-

missed pursuant to Johnson v. State of Oregon, 141 F.3d

1361 (9th Cir. 1998). App., infra, 30a.

On May 6, 1998, Mr. Martini filed numbered objec-

tions to the recommendations. Objection Number One

asserted that Magistrate Judge Weinberg erred by failing

to consider the Social Security Administration’s trial

work period in his recommendation.

On June 3, 1998, Judge Dwyer granted Defendant's

motion for summary judgment and entered judgment in

favor of Boeing. App., infra, 32a.

On July 2, 1998, Mr. Martini filed a timely notice of

appeal.

On or about December 1, 1998, Mr. Martini filed an

opening brief which argued that the laudable goals of the

trial work period, which is designed to permit a disabled

person to test their ability to work, would be subverted if

companies like Boeing were permitted to place barriers of

presumptive disability between disabled persons and

vacant positions.

On September 21, 2000, the court of appeals affirmed

the judgment of the trial court without mentioning the

impact of the trial work period on their analysis. App.,

infra, la.

On October 31, 2000, the court of appeals denied Mr.

Martini’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing en banc. App., infra, 35a.

*

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. The Court Should Grant Certiorari Because This Is

An Important Issue Involving Interpretation Of Fed-

eral Statutes

A. A Central Purpose Of The ADA And The Social

Security Act Is To Put Disabled Persons Back To

Work

1. To Encourage Persons On Social Security

Disability To Go Back To Work, The SSA

Provides For A Trial Work Period Whereby

Persons Who Are Totally Disabled Can Test

Whether They Can Return To Work

Congress has declared it a policy that persons receiv-

ing social security disability benefits find and maintain

employment, both to assist individuals with disabilities

and to promote savings to the Social Security Trust Fund;

to further this end, Congress provides incentives includ-

ing a trial work period of up to nine months in which

they may work without affecting their disability status.

422 U.S.C. § 422(c); 422 U.S.C. § 422(a) (repealed 1999);

Ticket to Work and Work Incentives Improvement Act of

1999, 42 U.S.C. § 1320b-19. Regulations have been pro-

mulgated to explain this provision. In the regulations, a

trial work period is defined as follows:

The trial work period is a period during which

you may test your ability to work and still be

considered disabled. It begins and ends as

described in paragraph (e) of this section. Dur-

ing this period, you may perform services (see

paragraph (b) of this section) in as many as 9

months, but these months do not have to be

consecutive. We will not consider those services

as showing that your disability has ended until

you have performed services in at least 9

months.

20 C.ER. § 404.1592.

In February 1996, Mr. Martini attempted to utilize

these provisions by applying for several jobs at Boeing

for the purpose of testing whether he could become

employable.

2. To Encourage Disabled Persons To Keep

Working, The ADA Requires Accommoda-

tion

Congress has found that some “43,000,000 Americans

have one or more physical or mental disabilities, and this

number is increasing as the population as a whole is

growing older.” 42 U.S.C. § 12101(a)(1). “[SJociety has

tended to isolate and segregate individuals with disabil-

ities,”

crimination against individuals with disabilities continue

and Congress recognizes that “such forms of dis-

to be a oe and pervasive social problem.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 12101(a)(2). “[T]he Nation’s proper goals regarding

individuals with disabilities are to assure equality of

opportunity, full participation, independent living, and

economic self-sufficiency for such individuals.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 12101(a)(8). Moreover, failure to do so “costs the United

States billions of dollars in unnecessary expenses result-

ing from dependency and nonproductivity.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 12101(a)(9).

Congress has declared that the purpose of the Ameri-

cans with Disabilities Act is “to provide a clear and

comprehensive national mandate for the elimination of

discrimination against individuals with disabilities.” 42

U.S.C. § 12101(b)(1). To achieve that goal and to reduce

the cost of the dependency and nonproductivity of dis-

ability discrimination, the ADA prohibits discrimination

“against a qualified individual with a disability because

of the disability of such individual in regard to job appli-

cation procedures [and] hiring... . ” 42 U.S.C. § 12112(a).

The ADA defines discrimination to include:

Limiting, segregating, or classifying a job appli-

cant or employee in a way that adversely affects

the opportunities or status of such applicant or

employee because of the disability of such appli-

cant or employee (42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(1));

Utilizing standards, criteria, or methods of

administration (A) that have the effect of dis-

crimination on the basis of disability; or (B) that

perpetuate the discrimination of others who are

subject to common administrative control (42

U.S.C. § 12112(b)(3));

10

Not making reasonable accommodations to the

known physical or mental limitations of an oth-

erwise qualified individual with a disability

who is an applicant (42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(5)(A));

Denying employment opportunities to a job

applicant or employee who is an otherwise qual-

ified individual with a disability, if such denial

is based on the need of such covered entity to

make reasonable accommodation to the physical

or mental impairments of the employee or appli-

cant (42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(5)(B));

Using qualification standards, employment tests

or other selection criteria that screen out or tend

to screen out an individual with a disability or a

class of individuals with disabilities unless the

standard, test or other selection criteria, as used

by the covered entity, is shown to be job-related

for the position in question and is consistent

with business necessity (42 U.S.C. § 12112(b)(6)).

Boeing's failure to consider Mr. Martini’s job applica-

tion because he was receiving SSDI payments, without

regard to whether he could do the job, falls within each of

the statutory definitions of disability discrimination listed

above. The question for this Court is whether the Con-

gressional goals of keeping disabled persons at work and

removing disabled persons from the social security rolls

can be achieved if employers are permitted to avoid the

application of the ADA simply by utilizing knowledge

that an applicant is receiving SSDI as a defense, without

further inquiry as to whether the applicant can in fact

perform the essential functions of the job. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 12111(8).

11

Of additional concern is that Boeing’s use of its

knowledge that Mr. Martini was receiving SSDI, and

therefore was an individual with a disability, as its basis

for failing to consider him for employment, seems to be

the exact conduct Congress intended to prohibit by disal-

lowing pre-employment medical examinations that are

designed to determine whether an applicant “is an indi-

vidual with a disability or . . . the nature or severity of

such disability.” 42 U.S.C. § 12112(d)(2)(A). In contrast,

Congress does permit an employer to “make preemploy-

ment inquiries into the ability of an applicant to perform

job-related functions.” 42 U.S.C. § 12112(d)(2)(B). In

effect, Boeing’s use of its knowledge that Mr. Martini was

receiving SSDI benefits to screen him out as a candidate

for employment equates with the prohibited preemploy-

ment medical examination that screens out persons sim-

ply because of their disabilities, while Boeing failed to

conduct the proper parallel inquiry into whether Mr.

Martini could perform job-related functions.

Boeing has thus far escaped liability for its actions by

hiding behind legal precedent pertaining to the effect of

prior conflicting representations of an employee’s ability

to work made in social security applications by current

employees during periods of illness or injury. See Cleve-

land v. Policy Management, 526 U.S. 795 (1999); Johnson v.

State of Oregon, 141 F.3d 1361 -(9th Cir. 1998); Kennedy v.

Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th Cir. 1996). However, the

reasoning supporting those decisions is irrelevant to the

facts set forth here.

This Court has an opportunity in reviewing this case

to determine whether employers such as Boeing are cir-

cumventing the intent of Congress by misconstruing

12

Supreme Court precedent, which does not address the

relationship between the related purposes of the ADA and

the SSA to return disabled persons to work. Given that the

SSA itself allows disability insurance recipients to attempt

to work without loss of benefits, allowing employers to

presume total disability for ADA purposes during receipt

of SSDI benefits is inconsistent with the Congressional

intent of both Acts.

B. Cleveland v. Policy Management Does Not Ade-

quately Address An Employer’s Burden When

A Person On Disability Applies For Work Pur-

suant To Social Security Regulations

Cleveland v. Policy Management does not adequately

address an employer’s burden when a person on disabil-

ity applies for work pursuant to social security regula-

tions. In Cleveland v. Policy Management Systems, 526 U.S.

795 (1999), the Plaintiff suffered a stroke after being

employed for about one year. Id. at 798. During a three-

month period of convalescence, while still employed, she

applied for SSDI. Id.

Upon her return to work, she sought accommodation

for resulting physical and mental limitations and was

terminated approximately three months later. Id. at 799.

During the period of her return to work, her SSDI appli-

cation was denied, but after various administrative

appeals, it was ultimately granted. Id. This Court

analyzed the seeming contradictions between her repre-

sentations to the Social Security Administration and to

her employer and held that “an ADA plaintiff cannot

simply ignore the apparent contradiction that arises out

13

of the earlier SSDI total disability claim. Rather, she must

proffer a sufficient explanation.” Id. at 806. Applying that

holding, this Court found that her representations were

not inconsistent.

While the Court’s analysis in Cleveland may provide

guidance where an employee seeks accommodation from

her current employer during a period between applica-

tion for SSDI and requests for accommodation, it does

nothing to assist in analyzing the situation raised in this

case, where Mr. Martini, who was unemployed and

receiving SSDI for several years, sought to test whether

he was capable of reentering the workforce.

Mr. Martini worked for Boeing for twelve years

before becoming disabled. After leaving employment

with Boeing and receiving disability benefits for more

than five years, he attempted to reenter the workforce at

Boeing on a trial basis. He was rejected by Boeing out of

hand because he was on disability. Dr. Miller,* his treat-

ing psychologist, stated in an affidavit submitted to the

court that Mr. Martini would have benefited from

employment during the time period of his Boeing job

application (with accommodation) and would probably

have succeeded at work. App., infra, 61a, { 13. Yet Boeing

never consulted Mr. Martini or his doctor and never

sought to determine whether Mr. Martini could perform

the essential functions of the available jobs.

Plaintiff respectfully suggests that both employers

and employees need guidante from this Court as to the

2 Dr. Miller is incorrectly identified in the Ninth Circuit

opinion as Dr. Martin. App., infra, 5a.

14

interaction between the ADA and the trial work period

envisioned in SSA regulations. Such guidance is neces-

sary to harmonize their common goals of putting persons

with disabilities back into the workforce with the Court's

earlier opinion in Cleveland, which was construed by the

trial court and the Ninth Circuit as supporting a complete

bar to employment for persons wishing to leave disabil-

ity.

C. The Court Of Appeals In Affirming Summary

Judgment Misapplied Cleveland By Wrongly

Focusing On Irrelevant Representations Made

After The Discriminatory Failure To Hire And

Failed To Address The Trial Work Period Issue

1. The Court Of Appeals Misapplied Cleve-

land

When Mr. Martini initially applied for SSDI benefits

in 1991, he made statements in his application reflecting

his belief that he could continue to work with accom-

modation. After receiving disability for more than five

years, Mr. Martini sought to reenter the workforce and

applied for a position with Boeing doing work similar to

the work he had done prior to receiving disability.

Citing Cleveland, the court of appeals dismissed the

relevance of Mr. Martini’s 1991 representations that he

could work with accommodation and stated that, “[t]he

value of this explanation would be considerably bolstered

by evidence that Martini was actually employed with the

stated accommodations sometime between 1991 and 1996,

and the absence of such employment suggests that the

statements are not completely credible.” App., infra, 2a.

15

The court of appeals also dismissed as irrelevant the

testimony of the doctors who examined Mr. Martini

between 1990 and 1996, App., infra, 3a, as well as the

detailed affidavit of Dr. Miller which contained his opin-

ion that Mr. Martini would have succeeded at employ-

ment with Boeing in February 1996. App., infra, 60a, { 6;

6la, ¥ 13.

The most important evidence of Mr. Martini’s repre-

sentation as to his ability to work at the time of his job

application to Boeing, which was completely ignored by

the court of appeals, was the evidence of the job applica-

tion itself, which strongly asserted both a desire to work

and the qualifications to work at the particular jobs.

Whereas the plaintiffs in Cleveland and its predecessor

line of cases were already employed and making repre-

sentations in the hope of obtaining SSDI benefits, thus

necessitating this Court’s inquiry in Cleveland into prior

inconsistent representations made in efforts to obtain

those benefits; here, Mr. Martini was already receiving

benefits, and was trying to return to work and leave the

social security rolls. Thus, for such applicants, there is no

need to examine whether their motives are pure. The fact

of the job application is all that should be needed to

trigger ADA protections. The court of appeals completely

ignored this significant distinction.

The only evidence found to be relevant by the court

of appeals was testimony by Mr. Martini six months after

his application for employment with Boeing, wherein he

stated he was totally disabled after his shoulder injury.

3 It should be noted that Boeing does not contend that it

relied upon the August 1996 testimony as a contemporaneous’

factor in its failure to consider Mr. Martini for employment.

16

The court found, “It is hard to imagine a stronger and

more definitive representation of total disability than

Martini’s testimony [in August 1996] that he was totally

disabled for a six year period which included the date of

his Boeing application.” App. at 4a. This approach cannot

withstand scrutiny even if Cleveland, Johnson, and Kennedy

were found to be applicable. In each of those cases, the

focus was on representations made before, not after, the

alleged discriminatory conduct. See Cleveland, 526 U.S. at

806 (plaintiff cannot simply ignore the apparent contra-

diction that arises out of the earlier SSDI total disability

claim); Johnson, 141 F.3d at 1369 (a plaintiff's prior repre-

sentations may be so strong and definitive that they will

defeat a plaintiff’s prima facie case on traditional sum-

mary judgment grounds); Kennedy, 90 F.3d at 1481 (depo-

sition testimony flatly contradicts both her prior sworn

statements and the medical evidence).

In Cleveland, this Court recognized that “the nature of

an individual’s disability may change over time, so that a

statement about that disability at the time of an individ-

ual’s application for SSDI benefits may not reflect an

individual’s capacities at the time of the relevant employ-

ment decision.” Cleveland, 526 U.S. at 805. Thus, it is

plausible, and indeed likely, that when Mr. Martini

applied for work at Boeing in February 1996, he felt able

to work despite his depression and sleep apnea (as con-

firmed by Dr. Miller), but when testifying six months

later after being discriminated against in hiring by Boe-

ing, he may have lost all hope of ever working or of ever

having been able to work while on disability.

More importantly, there is nothing inconsistent in

saying, “I want to try to work under the trial work period

17

guidelines of the Social Security Act,” and at the same

time saying, “I am totally disabled.” The SSA expressly

allows such “inconsistency” to encourage disability

insurance recipients to attempt to return to the workplace

without subjecting them to financial vulnerability

through a premature suspension of their disabled status.

42 U.S.C. § 422(c). Again, the petition must be granted to

directly address this important distinction between the

facts in Cleveland and the facts here.

2. The Court Of Appeals Failed To Address

The Trial Work Period Issue

Despite Mr. Martini’s consistent efforts to raise the

importance of the trial work period in this case to the

trial court and the court of appeals, the Ninth Circuit

decision totally ignored the need to address and harmo-

nize the trial work period provisions of 42 U.S.C. § 422(c)

with the obligations to accommodate qualified individ-

uals with disabilities under the ADA. See 42 U.S.C.

§§ 12111, 12112.

Mr. Martini suggests that in granting his petition, this

Court will have the opportunity to provide needed guid-

ance and consider whether the job application itself is

enough to trigger an employer’s duty to consider a dis-

abled applicant for employment. If the Court finds this to

be the law, then employers will be required to consider

such disabled applicants for employment unless they are

determined not to be qualified individuals after proper

pre-employment inquiries into the ability of the applicant

to perform job-related functions. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 12112(d)(2)(B).

18

Il. The Issue Of Whether The Ninth Circuit Should

Have Granted State Certification On The State Law

Discrimination Issue Is An Important Issue Of

Comity

The United States Supreme Court encourages certi-

fication of state law issues. Lehman Bros. v. Schein, 416 U.S.

386 (1974). Certification advances interests of comity and

federalism and “the problem of authoritatively determin-

ing unresolved state law involved in federal litigation.”

Ciay v. Sun Ins. Office, Ltd., 363 U.S. 207, 212 (1960). The

federal court has discretion to grant or deny certification.

United Farm Bureau Mut. Ins. Co., v. Metropolitan Human

Relations Comm., 24 F.3d 1008, 1015, n.10 (7th Cir. 1994).

The issues proposed by Mr. Martini for certification are

issues of first impression that involve a question that is

likely to recur because of the common interplay between

persons applying for disability benefits under the SSA

and the recognized discrimination persons with disabil-

ities face in their attempts to seek employment that the

ADA and state anti-discrimination laws seek to remedy.

See Geib v. Amoco Oil Co., 29 F.3d 1050, 1060-61 (6th Cir.

1994).

Mr. Martini proposed the following questions for

state certification:

1. Does receipt of social security disability

benefits by a disabled applicant for employment

permit an employer to presume that the appli-

cant is unqualified for the position and discharge

the employer from any further responsibility

PLLA Liat I ay UIE ne obit

19

under Washington’s Law Against Discrimina-

tion (WASH. REV. CODE § 49.60)?4

2. Does receipt of social security disability

benefits by a disabled applicant for employment

in any way modify the responsibilities of the

employer under Washington’s Law Against Dis-

crimination (WASH. REV. CODE § 49.60) once

notice that the applicant is disabled has been

communicated to the employer? If so, how?

The Washington Supreme Court precedent in disabil-

ity discrimination cases has departed substantially from

federal precedent pertaining to the ADA and Title VII.

See Pulcino v. Federal Express, 141 Wash. 2d 629, 641 n.3, 9

P.3d 787, 794 n.3 (2000) (Washington law provides protec-

tion for temporary disabilities contrary to ADA); Martini

v. Boeing, 137 Wash. 2d 357, 364, 971 P2d 45, 49 (1999)

(Washington law provides greater remedies than Title VII

and ADA); Dean v. Municipality of Metropolitan Seattle-

Metro, 104 Wash. 2d 627, 708 P.2d 393 (1985) (rejects

McDonnell Douglas elements for a prima facie case of

employment discrimination in disability discrimination

cases). Not only is certification appropriate to address

these issues of first impression with likely recurrence,

certification to the Washington State Supreme Court to

consider this issue now will also support comity and

permit resolution of the state law issues without this

Court speculating as to the degree to which the State

* RCW 49.60.180 makes it an unfair Practice for an

employer to “refuse to hire any person because of age, sex,

marital status, race, creed, color, national origin, or the presence

of any sensory, mental, or physical disability... . ”

° McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802 (1973).

hl

Supreme Court will continue to depart from federal pre-

cedent. Certification will clarify this issue and eliminate

the risk that the Ninth Circuit has improperly predicted

the decision of the Washington State Supreme Court.

* ————

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN P. SHERIDAN Louis A. CLARK

Of Counsel Counsel of Record

1402 Third Ave., Suite 1215 1612 K Street, N.W.

Seattle, WA 98101 Suite 400

206-292-2850 Washington, DC 20006

202-408-0034

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX

APPENDIX K

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

Page

Memorandum (Affirming District

Court Decision)..................... la

Minutes of Preliminary Pre-Trial

I Shh dub obedercueecesiica'as 6a

Order Re Partial Stay Of Discov-

i SULT Le ETT Ty oe CET Cry eer eee 8a

Order Denying Stay, Striking Fil-

ings, And Setting Oral Argument

On Motions For Summary Judg-

vs cn NL PLERT ETT ETE E Tere e reer y 10a

Order Granting Leave To File

Amended Complaint............... 15a

Report And Recommendation On

Motion For Judgment On Plead-

Ee ASi iu ceeal Wares tele San tee hss 17a

Order On Motion For Judgment

Ae POD ooo i ewiashnkveiucwes 21a

Report And Recommendation On

Motions For Summary Judgment ... 23a

Supplement To Report And Rec-

ommendation Of April 21, 1998.... 30a

Order On Motion For Summary

tie, cxsmatp ETE TO Tee 32a

Order (To Consider Additional

Authority And Certify Question

fo State Court) .................... 34a

Order (Denying Rehearing and

Denying Hearing En Banc).........

lia

APPENDIX - Continued

Page

APPENDIX Me Sembtee. i ood esa cke eee 37a

APPENDIX N’ Declaration Of Robert Miller,

ig Bt eer Mike eA Bo. 59a

APPENDIX O Letter To John C. Montoya, EEOC ... 63a

APPENDIX P Letter To John C. Montoya, EEOC ... 71a

la

APPENDIX A

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LUC J.R. MARTINI, NO. 98-35642

Plaintiff-Appellant, D.C. No.

" CV-97-00671-WLD

MEMORANDUM*

THE BOEING COMPANY,

a Washington corporation, (Filed Sep. 21, 2000)

Defendant-Appellee.

Nm me ee eee ee ee eee”

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Western District of Washington

William L. Dwyer, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted July 17, 2000

Seattle, Washington

Before: REAVLEY,** HALL and O’SCANNLAIN, Circuit

Judges.

Luc Martini appeals the summary judgment in favor

of the Boeing Company on his various claims of employ-

ment discrimination. Martini fails to sufficiently explain

the inconsistency between his assertions of total disability

* This disposition is not appropriate for publication and

may not be cited to or by the courts of this circuit except as

provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

** The Honorable Thomas M. Reavley, Senior United

States Circuit Judge for the United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

_

2a

and his discrimination claim to require submission to a

jury, therefore we affirm.

Martini’s testimony in August, 1996 is particularly

troubling and we find no explanation in the record to

resolve the obvious inconsistency between this testimony

and the claim that six months earlier Boeing was under a

duty to accommodate Martini. Martini testified under

oath that he had not worked, and that he had been

incapable of work, for the past six years due to being

totally disabled. This testimony is unqualified and obvi-

ously conflicts with the claim of employment discrimina-

tion.

In 1991 Martini qualified his SSDI application with

statements that he believed that he could be employed

with various accommodations. Such an explanation might

suffice for the requirements of Cleveland v. Policy Manage-

ment Systems Corp., 119 S. Ct. 1597 (1999) if the only

inconsistency existed between Martini’s statements in

1991 and a contemporaneous claim of failure to accom-

modate. The value of this explanation would be consid-

erably bolstered by evidence that Martini was actually

employed with the stated accommodations sometime

between 1991 and 1996, and the absence of such employ-

ment suggests that the statements are not completely

credible. Furthermore, the sufficiency of this explanation

evaporates in light of the 1996 testimony that Martini had

been totally disabled and unable to work for the entire six

years after he resigned from Boeing. The qualifying state-

ments made in 1991 do nothing to explain how, in Febru-

ary 1996, Martini can assert Boeing was obligated to

accommodate him despite his assertions, both before and

after, of total disability.

———————————————— eee

LE ee

3a

Martini also suggests that the testimony of medical

experts creates a question of fact regarding whether he

was capable of employment. Dr. Conway’s testimony,

which is not contained in the record, was based upon his

treatment of Martini in 1990 and 1991, and therefore does

nothing to resolve the inconsistencies with regard to Mar-

tini’s testimony in 1996. Dr. Cohen and Dr. Chinn testi-

fied that they found no psychiatric impediments to

Martini’s ability to obtain employment, although Dr.

Cohen testified that Martini’s psychiatric condition

would create significant problems maintaining employ-

ment if Martini obtained a job. Martini’s claims of total

disability include sleep apnea, obesity, heart disease,

shoulder injury as well as major depression, therefore

these medical opinions at best address a small fraction of

Martini’s claims of disability. In addition, they do not

explain why, “assuming the truth of, or [Martini’s] good

faith belief in, the earlier statement, [Martini] could none-

theless ‘perform the essential functions’ of [his] job, with

or without a ‘reasonable accommodation.’ ” Cleveland, 119

S. Ct. at 1604.

Comparison with Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d

1477 (9th Cir. 1996) and Johnson v. State of Oregon, 141 F.3d

161 (9th Cir. 1998) further supports our conclusion that

Martini fails to establish a jury question. We agree with

the magistrate that the distinctions between Martini and

the Kennedy plaintiff mitigate in favor of summary judg-

ment because Martini actually received a total disability

rating for SSDI, and testified that his total disability

covered a period of six years, including the date of his

application to Boeing. The plaintiff in Johnson did not

4a

make unqualified statements of total disability, but con-

sistently maintained in her disability applications that

she was capable of working. Martini cannot reasonably

contend that his case more closely resembles Johnson than

Kennedy. We previously held that “a plaintiff's prior rep-

resentations may be so strong and definitive that they

will defeat a plaintiff's prima facie case on traditional

summary judgment grounds.” Johnson, 141 F.3d at 1369. It

is hard to imagine a stronger and more definitive repre-

sentation of total disability than Martini’s testimony that

he was totally disabled for a six year period which

included the date of his Boeing application.

Martini’s [sic] argues that under Washington state

law, Boeing was under an affirmative duty to determine

the extent of his disability and take positive steps to

accommodate him. See Goodman v. Boeing Co., 899 P.2d

1265, 1269 (Wash. 1995). Boeing was entitled to reason-

ably conclude that Martini was totally disabled because

of Martini’s repeated assertions of total disability. To

require Boeing to engage in additional research on Mar-

tini’s condition under such circumstances is nonsensical.

Washington law also requires the plaintiff to make a

prima facie case before shifting the burden to the

employer to produce a nondiscriminatory reason. Fell v.

Spokane Transit Authority, 911 P.2d 1319, 1327 (Wash.

1996). One of the prima facie elements for the plaintiff's

case is that the plaintiff was qualified to fill the position.

Martini v. Boeing Co., 945 P.2d 248, 253 (Wash. App. 1997).

Because we conclude that Martini fails to establish a jury

question on his prima facie case, summary judgment is

proper with regard to his state law discrimination claim.

Martini also contends that the district court should

have granted an extension of time to permit Martini to

obtain the testimony of his psychologist. Dr. Martin’s [sic]

affidavit reveals his opinion that gainful employment

would be beneficial to Martini, but this Opinion is not

relevant to resolve Martini’s testimony that he was totally

disabled at the time he applied to Boeing.

AFFIRMED

6a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

Filed June 11, 1997

HON. JOHN L. WEINBERG, U.S. MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Deputy Clerk: Judith A. Nothern

Tape: A-327

Date: June 11, 1997

MINUTES of PRELIMINARY PRE-TRIAL CONFERENCE

In re: LUC MARTINI v. THE Case #:

BOEING COMPANY C97-671WD

Plaintiff's Attorney: (Pro Se)

Defense Attorney: Orna Edgar

Held in open court. Court calls case and describes this

court’s role in the pre-trial process. Mr. Martini reviews

for the court what his role was as an employee at Boeing

and summarizes the issues before the court in this case.

Court hears from Ms. Edgar as to her client’s position.

Mr. Martini requests up to one year for completion of

discovery. Ms. Edgar requests the deadline be set at the

end of this year.

Court discusses discovery procedure and how to resolve

any disputes that may arise. Counsel are directed to

contact Judy Nothern at 206-553-7416 to schedule a con-

ference with the Judge if parties are not able to resolve a

dispute amongst themselves.

os OE

7a

Court sets pre-trial schedule. Scheduling order to follow

according to Local Rule 16, 16.1.

Court not designated for 39.1 mediation at this time. If

parties at a later point agree that this would be a helpful

tool in settling this case, they may request designation at

that time.

Ms. Edgar requests that the Court set a deadline for

Boeing to file a motion for summary judgment, and to

have all discovery matters stayed pending the ruling of

that motion, (with specific exceptions). Court sets August

11, 1997 as deadline for Boeing to file a motion for sum-

mary judgment. Discovery to be stayed until this motion

is ruled upon. If this causes hardship for Plaintiff, objec-

tions to be filed with the court.

8a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI, | CASE NO.

Plaintiff, | C97-671 WD

V | ORDER RE PARTIAL

! STAY OF DISCOVERY

THE BOEING COMPANY, | (Filed July 17, 1997)

Defendant. |

|

At the preliminary pretrial conference June 11, 1997,

the court partially stayed discovery in this case, in light

of the representation by defendant that it would file a

motion for summary judgment within 60 days. It now

appears that the parties would benefit from a written

clarification of the court’s stay of discovery.

It is therefore ORDERED:

(1) Defendant may conduct discovery limited to the

issue of the existence and extent of plaintiff’s disability at

the time of, and after, his 1996 employment application,

including plaintiff’s representations and any determina-

tions as to that disability. This may include a deposition

of plaintiff. Discovery by defendant in all other respects

is STAYED.

(2) All discovery by plaintiff is STAYED, pending

ruling by the court upon the summary judgment motion.

But if plaintiff demonstrates that, to defend the summary

ey

te P ee a ee be

9a

judgment motion, he needs to do discovery on the issue

described above, he may apply for leave to do so.

The Clerk shall direct copies of this order to plaintiff,

to counsel for defendant, and to the Hon. William L.

Dwyer.

DATED this 17 day of July, 1997.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States Magistrate Judge

10a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI,

CASE NO. C97-671 WD

|

Plaintiff, |

V. | ORDER DENYING STAY,

| STRIKING FILINGS, AND

THE BOEING | SETTING ORAL ARGUMENT

COMPANY, | ON MOTIONS FOR

oo | SUMMARY JUDGMENT

|

Defendant has moved for summary judgment (docket

no. 31, filed August 11, 1997). Plaintiff has moved for

summary judgment on defendant’s affirmative defenses

(docket #44, filed September 4, 1997). This order does not

address the merits of those motions, but does rule upon

some related procedural motions.

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR STAY

Plaintiff moves to stay, until June of 1998, defendant’s

motion for summary judgment. Invoking Fed. Rule Civ.

Proc. 56(f), he asserts that he needs to engage in extensive

discovery before he can respond to the motion.

Defendant’s summary judgment motion deals pri-

marily, if not exclusively, with one narrow issue: the

existence and extent of plaintiff’s disability at the time of,

and after, his 1996 employment application at Boeing,

eee

lla

including plaintiff’s representations and any determina-

tions as to that disability. The court’s “Order re Partial

Stay of Discovery,” docket no. 23, entered July 17, 1997,

identified that issue, included the following provision:

“All discovery by plaintiff is STAYED, pending ruling by

the court upon the summary judgment motion. But if

plaintiff demonstrates that, to defend the summary judg-

ment motion, he needs to do discovery on the issue

described above, he may apply for leave to do so.”

Plaintiff’s motion for stay, and accompanying discov-

ery plan, propose discovery which bears little or no rela-

tion to that issue. To the extent he is specific as to the

discovery he proposes to do, plaintiff indicates he wishes

to secure evidence as to the qualifications of persons who

were in fact hired by defendant, and as to defendant’s

procedures for compliance with the Americans with Dis-

abilities Act. Such discovery is not reasonably directed to

the issue raised by defendant’s summary judgment

motion.

Plaintiff’s motion for stay of the summary judgment

motion is therefore DENIED.

DEFENDANT’S MOTIONS TO STRIKE

CERTAIN OF PLAINTIFF’S PLEADINGS

Defendant has filed two motions to strike plaintiff’s

improperly filed pleadings. These motions allege that

plaintiff has filed untimely pleadings relating to defen-

dant’s motion for summary judgment, in violation of the

local rules of this court.

Plaintiff has responded to the first motion. The sec-

ond motion was filed October 17, 1997, and is noted for

12a

November 14, 1997. Plaintiff has not yet specifically

_responded to this motion. But the issues as to this motion

appear to be identical to those relating to the prior

motion, to which plaintiff has fully responded. Further-

more, delaying a ruling on the second motion to strike

until November 14, 1997, would unduly delay the hearing

on the parties’ motions for summary judgment. The court

will therefore address the merits of both motions to

strike.

A review of the relevant record indicates that plain-

tiff, in opposition to defendant’s summary judgment

motion, has filed a stream of documents, some of which

purport to amend prior filings. Some of plaintiff’s filings

were in fact after the noting date of the summary judg-

ment motion.

Defendant filed its summary judgment motion on

August 11, 1997, and properly noted the motion for Sep-

tember 5. Under Local Rule CR 7(b)(2), plaintiff's

response was due September 1. Because that was a holi-

day, the response was due September 2. Plaintiff did file

various documents in response to the motion on Septem-

ber 2 (docket nos. 38, 39 and 40). Those documents are

not challenged by defendant.

Defendant’s reply documents (docket nos. 48, 49 and

50) were filed September 4, in compliance with the local

rule. But plaintiff filed amended versions of his prior

filings (docket nos. 46 and 47) on September 4, which is

not permitted by the local rules. Because defendant has

not challenged these filings, however, they will be consid-

ered by the court.

13a

Plaintiff then filed two additional documents (docket

nos. 51 and 52) on September 8, which was after the

noting date of the motion and a week after plaintiff’s

responses were due. Those documents were titled, “Plain-

’ tiff’s Response in Opposition to Boeing’s Entry of Addi-

tional Evidence in Boeing’s Motion for Summary

Judgment,” and “Supplemental Declaration of Luc Mar-

tini in Plaintiff’s Answer to Boeing’s Motion for Summary

Judgment Entry of Additional Evidence.” Plaintiff’s pro-

testations that he is a pro se litigant, and his other justi-

fications for late filing, are not persuasive. Those

documents are STRICKEN, and will not be considered by

the court in connection with defendant’s summary judg-

ment motion.

Plaintiff continued to file documents responsive to

the summary judgment motion. On September 15 he filed

his “Amended (in Form and Conclusion) Plaintiff’s

Response in Opposition to Boeing’s Entry of Additional

Evidence in Boeing’s Motion for Summary Judgment”

(docket no. 55). On October 7, over a month after the

noting date of defendant’s motion, he filed “Response in

; Opposition to Boeing’s Reply in Plaintiff’s Motion for

| Summary Judgment” (docket no. 58). These documents

are likewise STRICKEN, and will not be considered by

the court in connection with defendant’s summary judg-

ment motion.

The local rules contemplate a sequenced, and orderly,

submission of documents relating to a motion. The mov-

ing party submits its motion papers and sets a noting

date; the responding party submits his papers on the

Monday before the noting date; and the moving party has

an opportunity to file a reply the day before the noting

14a

date. The parties are not entitled to continue to submit

papers to the court thereafter.

ORAL ARGUMENT ON SUMMARY

JUDGMENT MOTIONS

Plaintiff’s request for oral argument is GRANTED as

to defendant’s motion for summary judgment (docket

#31) and as to plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment

on defendant’s affirmative defenses (docket #44). The

Clerk will contact the parties to arrange a date and time

for the argument. No additional filings will be considered

in-connection with those motions. The parties will be

limited to 20 minutes per side. They may present oral

argument based upon the record before the court, but

may not submit further evidence at that hearing.

The Clerk shall direct copies of this order to plaintiff,

to counsel for defendant, and to the Hon. William L.

Dwyer.

DATED this 27 day of October, 1997.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States Magistrate Judge

ee —_— se ee

Pid eed

15a

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI,

CASE NO. C97-671 WD

|

Plaintiff, |

Vv ! ORDER GRANTING LEAVE

! TO FILE AMENDED

THE BOEING COMPLAINT

COMPANY, |

Defendant. |

|

In response to defendant’s motion for judgment on

the pleadings, plaintiff lodged a document titled “(Draft)

Amended Complaint and Jury Demand.” This document

is attached to plaintiff’s “Answer to Defendant’s

Motion,” docket #12.

The Amended Complaint responds, in part, to defen-

dant’s challenges to the original complaint. It eliminates

certain claims previously made by plaintiff, and attempts

to address some of the defendant's criticisms of plaintiff’s

pro se pleading of his causes of action.

Defendant urges the court not to accept the Amended

Complaint, because it purports to state several causes of

action which are subject to dismissal under Fed. Rule Civ.

Proc. 12(c). If so, the court can dismiss any such claims.

The “(Draft) Amended Complaint” should be

accepted for filing.

16a

Defendant also challenges plaintiff’s jury demand in

the amended complaint, arguing that plaintiff is barred

from demanding a jury by his prior failures to make a

timely demand. Defendant’s argument in this respect is

well taken. Plaintiff failed to demand a jury trial when he

filed his complaint in Superior Court; and- failed to

demand a jury within ten days after the case was

removed to this court. Under Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 81(c),

he therefore waived his right to a jury trial. The filing of

an amended complaint which does not raise a new issue,

but merely changes the theory of the case, does not revive

a jury trial right which has been waived by a failure to

demand in connection with the original pleading. Wright

and Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure: Civil 2d, §2320,

at 154. The jury demand in plaintiff's Amended Com-

plaint is therefore STRICKEN.

The Clerk is therefore directed: (1) to file and docket

plaintiff's “(Draft) Amended Complaint) [sic],” which

currently is appended to docket #12; (2) to disregard

plaintiff’s purported Jury Demand and to maintain this

case on the docket as a court trial; and (3) to direct copies

of this order to plaintiff, to counsel for defendant, and to

the Hon. William L. Dwyer.

DATED this 27 day of October, 1997.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States Magistrate Judge

i Cal es

At idea ie

Gg A ENED IY 55 LANE A i aA De ell

17a

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI,

CASE NO. C97-671 WD

|

Plaintiff, ,

Vv. | REPORT AND

| RECOMMENDATION ON

THE BOEING | MOTION FOR JUDGMENT

COMPANY, | ON PLEADINGS

Defendant. |

|

Defendant has moved for judgment on the pleadings,

under Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 12(c). The motion was directed

to plaintiff’s original complaint, which was filed in Supe-

rior Court prior to the removal of the case to this court.

As part of his response to the motion, plaintiff lodged

a “(Draft) Amended Complaint.” That document appears

as an attachment to docket #12. By separate order, the

court has directed the Clerk to file and docket that docu-

ment as an Amended Complaint. In drafting that docu-

ment, plaintiff eliminated some of the causes of action

challenged by defendant’s motion, and provided addi-

tional factual allegations in support of others. This Report

and Recommendation therefore addresses only the por-

tions remaining in dispute. Claims presented in the origi-

nal complaint, but deleted from the Amended Complaint,

need not be addressed by the court.

18a

In considering a motion for judgment on the plead-

ings, the allegations of the non-moving party (plaintiff)

must be accepted as true, while the allegations of the

moving party (defendant) which have been denied are

assumed to be false. Judgment on the pleadings is proper

when the moving party clearly establishes on the face of

the pleadings that no material issue of fact remains to be

resolved and that it is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law. Hal Roach Studios v. Richard Feiner & Co., 896 F.2d

1542, 1550 (9th Cir. 1990).

1. Vietnam Era Veterans Readjustment Assistance

Act (“VRA”), 38 U.S.C. §4212. Plaintiff acknowledges

that this statute creates no private right of action. His

arguments for retaining them as part of this case are

unpersuasive. Defendant’s motion should be GRANTED

as to plaintiff’s claims under this statute.

2. §503 of the Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. §793.

Again, plaintiff acknowledges that this statute creates no

private right of action, and his arguments for retaining

them as part of this case are unpersuasive. Defendant's

motion should be GRANTED as to plaintiff’s claims

under this statute.

3. Title 41, C.F.R., Parts 60-250, 60-741 and 60-742.

Once again, plaintiff acknowledges that there is no pri-

vate right of action under these provisions of the federal

regulations. He contends, however, that his claims are

subsumed within his claims under 38 U.S.C. §4212 and 29

U.S.C. §793. I have previously recommended that those

claims be dismissed; and there is no basis for any claim

by plaintiff under these sections of Title 41 of the Code of

nln seal

Oe ee en ee er ee ey

ote Sanat quate ny Ve

19a

Federal Regulations. Defendant’s motion for judgment on

the pleadings as to these claims should be granted.

4. RCW ch. 49.44. Plaintiff purports to assert var-

ious claims under RCW ch. 49.44. These statutes prescribe

criminal penalties for various labor practices. Plaintiff has

provided no authority indicating that these statutes enti-

tle a worker to bring a civil action based upon their

violation. Defendant’s motion for judgment on the plead-

ings should be granted as to all of plaintiff’s claims under

this chapter.

5. Title VII. Plaintiff also asserts claims under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000 et seq.

Defendant's challenge to these claims is that plaintiff has

not plead sufficient details to provide a full explanation

of his claims. Given the fact that plaintiff is proceeding

pro se, the court cannot measure his pleadings by the

same standards as pleadings prepared by counsel. In any

event, the court should conclude that his Amended Com-

plaint provides defendant sufficient notice as to the

nature and factual background of his claims. If necessary,

defendant can obtain further information though [sic]

discovery. Defendant’s motion for judgment on the plead-

ings as to plaintiff’s Title VII claim should be denied.

6. ADA and WLAD. Defendant acknowledges that

plaintiff is entitled to pursue his claims under the Ameri-

cans with Disabilities Act (42 U.S.C. §12101) and the

Washington Law Against Discrimination (“WLAD,” RCW

49.60.010). Defendant’s motion should be denied as to

these claims.

A proposed order accompanies this Report and Rec-

ommendation.

20a

DATED this 27 day of October, 1997.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States Magistrate Judge

Py Ae ro

CAIN, sleet wate bie

21a

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI,

Plaintiff, CASE NO. C97-671WD

ORDER ON MOTION

FOR JUDGMENT ON

PLEADINGS

(Filed Dec. 3, 1997)

THE BOEING COMPANY,

Defendant.

|

|

Vv. |

|

|

!

|

|

The Court has reviewed defendant’s Motion for Judg-

ment on the Pleadings, the parties filings relating to that

motion, the Report and Recommendation on Motion for

Judgment on Pleadings prepared by U.S. Magistrate

Judge John L. Weinberg, and the balance of the record. It

is therefore ORDERED:

(1) Defendant’s motion is GRANTED as to

plaintiff’s claims under the Vietnam Era

Veterans Readjustment Assistance Act

(“VRA”), 38 U.S.C. §4212; under §503 of the

Rehabilitation Act, 29 U.S.C. §793; Title 41,

C.F.R., Parts 60-250, 60-741 and 60-742; and

RCW ch. 49.44. As to all of the foregoing

claims, the court [will /s/ WLD] will enter

[a /s/ WLD] judgment on the pleadings for

defendant, pursuant to Fed. Rule Civ. Proc.

12(c) [, when the case is completed. /s/

WLD]

22a

(2) Defendant’s motion is DENIED as to plain-

tiff’s claims under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e et seq.;

under the Americans with Disabilities Act

(42 U.S.C. §12101); and under the Washing-

ton Law Against Discrimination (“WLAD,”

RCW 49.60.010).

(3) The Clerk shall direct copies of this order

to plaintiff, to counsel for defendant, and to

Judge Weinberg.

DATED this 28th day of Nov., 1997.

/s/ William L. Dwyer

William L. Dwyer

United States

District Judge

— Pe ret Sere Sa en)

lth bins

a BAe OR

23a

APPENDIX H

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI,

CASE NO. C97-671WD

|

Plaintiff, |

_ | REPORT AND

| | RECOMMENDATION

THE BOEING COMPANY, | ON MOTIONS FOR

Defendant. | SUMMARY JUDGMENT

|

The Court granted Judgment on the Pleadings in

favor of defendant The Boeing Company (“Boeing”) on a

number of plaintiff’s claims by order of November 28,

1997. Boeing now moves for summary judgment on all of

plaintiff’s remaining claims. Plaintiff moves for summary

judgment on various of Boeing’s affirmative defenses.

Plaintiff was originally proceeding pro se, but now has

counsel. The parties have submitted extensive materials

relating to these motions, and have presented oral argu-

ment.

For the reasons set forth below, the court should

conclude that this case is controlled by the decision of the

U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Kennedy v.

Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th Cir. 1996). The court

should therefore grant Boeing’s motion, should deny

24a

plaintiff’s motion, and enter final judgment in favor of

Boeing on all claims.

Plaintiff, an engineer, was employed by Boeing until

1990. He suffered from major depressive disorder and a

number of physical impairments, which were present at

least as early as the summer of 1990. Boeing alleges

plaintiff resigned from his position; plaintiff claims he

was forced to resign because he was constructively dis-

charged. This court need not resolve that issue, as it has

been the subject of extensive litigation in state court,

resulting in an award of damages to plaintiff.

In three separate applications for benefits, plaintiff

has asserted since 1991 that he is totally disabled. He has

received, and continues to receive, disability benefits

from two of those sources.

This case relates to a new application for employ-

ment, submitted by plaintiff to Boeing in 1996. Boeing did

not hire plaintiff - in fact, Boeing apparently did not

respond to the application. Remaining in this case are

plaintiff’s claims that, in failing to hire him in 1996,

Boeing incurred liability under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e et. seq.; under the

Americans with Disabilities Act, 42 U.S.C. §12101 et seq.;

and under the Washington Law Against Discrimination,

RCW 49.60.010.

In this case, as in Kennedy, plaintiff’s claims are fore-

closed because there is no genuine issue of fact as to

whether plaintiff was totally disabled when he applied to

Boeing for employment in February of 1996.

25a

The first of plaintiff’s three disability applications

was for Social Security disability insurance benefits. To be

entitled to receive such benefits, plaintiff must establish

that he is unable to engage in any substantial gainful

employment. Plaintiff so alleged when he applied for

these benefits in December of 1990. His application was

granted in 1991, and he has received monthly benefits

ever since.

A person receiving Social Security disability benefits

is required by law to notify the Social Security Adminis-

tration when and if he recovers sufficiently that he is able

to work. In his application for benefits, plaintiff acknowl-

edged this obligation, and promised that he would do so.

In fact, if a recipient is not longer disabled, it is a federal

criminal offense to fail to disclose that fact, with fraudu-

lent intent. 42 U.S.C. §408. There is no evidence that

plaintiff has ever given such notification to the Social

Security Administration. It is apparent that he has never

done so, as he continues to receive benefits.

Plaintiff also applied in 1991 for disability benefits

under a private policy for the benefit of Boeing

employees. He was granted these benefits, and continues

to receive them through the present. To be entitled to

these benefits, plaintiff was obliged to demonstrate that

he was unable to work at any reasonable occupation.

While this bears some significance in this case, it is not as

cogent as plaintiff’s continued receipt of Social Security

disability benefits, because there is no evidence that

plaintiff had a continuing duty to inform the private

disability insurer of any improvement in his condition.

26a

Plaintiff’s third relevant application for benefits was

from the Washington State Department of Labor and

Industries. In a hearing relating to this application, plain-

tiff testified in August of 1996 that he had not been able

to work since 1990 (Day Decl., docket 34, ex. 2, at 41).

This is significant because plaintiff’s testimony was six

months after his 1996 application for employment with

Boeing.

Kennedy was a claim under the Americans with Dis-

abilities Act. Plaintiff claimed that her employer had ter-

minated her, without accommodating her disability. The

court noted that plaintiff had the burden of proving that

she was a disabled person who, with or without accom-

modation, could perform the job she held or desired. 42

U.S.C. §12111(8), and 29 C.F.R. §1630.2(m). Plaintiff had

applied for Social Security disability insurance benefits.

In her application, plaintiff had stated that she was dis-

abled from all work. In support of the application, she

had also offered the deposition testimony of her doctor to

the same effect. The Court of Appeals affirmed the deter-

mination of the District Court that there was therefore no

issue of material fact as to whether plaintiff could work,

with or without accommodation by her employer.

The facts in Kennedy are distinguishable from the

facts in this case in at least three respects. But each

distinction only strengthens the conclusion that Boeing is

entitled to summary judgment. The first distinction is

that, in Kennedy, the Social Security Administration denied

the plaintiff’s application for disability benefits. The

court held that, despite this fact, plaintiff’s representa-

tions as to her inability to work were determinative in her

ADA action. In Mr. Martini’s case, the Social Security

Sisal At at RR aa ee i ert FOR eer lel RAL NCS IOS act AL en * ww

27a

Administration granted his application, and continues to

pay benefits.

The second distinction is that the plaintiff in Kennedy

presented her own deposition testimony that she was not

totally disabled. The Court of Appeals rejected that testi-

mony as uncorroborated and self-serving, and flatly con-

tradictory of her prior sworn statements and the medical

evidence. The court therefore held that, despite plaintiff’s

deposition testimony, there was no genuine issue of mate-

rial fact as to plaintiff’s inability to work. In the present

case, there is no such testimony by Mr. Martini. This is

not surprising, in light of his obligation to notify Social

Security if he becomes able to work, and the criminal

penalties for continued receipt of disability insurance

benefits under false pretenses.

The third distinction between the cases is plaintiff’s

testimony in his Labor & Industries hearing that he had

not been able to work from 1990 at least through August

of 1996 - a period which encompassed his application for

employment at Boeing. There was no similar evidence in

Kennedy.

In sum, this case presents even more compelling

reasons for granting summary judgment for defendant.

Plaintiff places principal reliance upon Swanks v.

WMATA, 116 F.3d 582 (D.C. Cir. 1997). The court in that

case held that an employee’s receipt of Social Security

disability insurance benefits did not necessarily preclude

him from claiming that his employer discharged him in

violation [sic] the ADA. The court’s reasoning was that

the determination of “disability” for purposes of Social

Security benefits did not take into the account the need

28a

for, or possibility, of accommodating an employee's dis-

ability.

To the extent Swanks, a D.C. Circuit case, is inconsis-

tent with Kennedy, the latter case must control here, as it

is binding Ninth Circuit authority. But it is worthy of note

that the court in Swanks perceived no inconsistency

between the cases. In fact, the Swanks court cited Kennedy

as authority for its conclusion, characterizing the Kennedy

decision as, “ .. . relying on entire evidentiary record, not

just appellant’s statements on state and Social Security

benefit forms, to conclude that appellant failed to raise

genuine issue of material fact.” Swanks, 116 F.3d at 586.

In Mr. Martini’s case, as in Kennedy, the entire record

raises no genuine issue of material fact as to whether he

could work, even with accommodation from his

employer.

Boeing also argues that plaintiff.is foreclosed by judi-

cial estoppel from asserting that he was able to work in

February of 1996, and is therefore not entitled to pursue

his claims arising from Boeing’s failure to hire him. Plain-

tiff responds, in part, that it is Boeing which is judicially

estopped, as it has challenged plaintiff’s assertions of

disability in the state Labor & Industries proceeding.

Because the case can be resolved on the basis of the

absence of a genuine issue of material fact, as in Kennedy,

this court need not address the parties’ respective argu-

ments of judicial estoppel.

Be er ee See ea

Pehl ll hk al AIP RE AOD AES ORAS DEAD N 458008 AOL

29a

CONCLUSION

The record establishes that, when plaintiff applied in

February of 1996 for re-employment with Boeing, plain-

tiff was totally disabled. This precludes, as a matter of

law, the possibility of any recovery by plaintiff on any of

his remaining theories in this case: disability discrimina-

tion under state or federal statutes; or retaliation or any

other discrimination under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1984. The court should therefore GRANT Boeing’s

motion for summary judgment on all remaining claims;

DENY plaintiff’s motion for summary judgment on Boe-

ing’s affirmative defenses; and enter judgment in favor of

Boeing on all claims.

A proposed form of order accompanies this Report

and Recommendation.

DATED this 21 day of April, 1998.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States

Magistrate Judge

30a

APPENDIX I

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI, ) CASE NO. C97-671WD

Plaintiff, ) SUPPLEMENT TO

; ) REPORT AND

) RECOMMENDATION OF

THE BOEING ) APRIL 21, 1998

COMPANY,

Defendant. )

)

The Court and the parties should be aware of a very

recent decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in Johnson v. State of Oregon, __ F.3d __, (No.

96-36191), decided April 20, 1998. A copy of the decision

is attached to this Supplement.

The court found that pursuit or receipt of disability

payments does not per se judicially estop an employee

from asserting a claim under the Americans with Disabil-

ities Act. However, the Court also recognized the holding

in Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (9th Cir. 1996),

that a plaintiff’s prior representations may be so strong

and definitive that they will defeat the plaintiff’s prima

facie case on traditional summary judgment grounds.

The Report and Recommendation filed April 21,

1998, in this case recommends that the court grant sum-

mary judgment for defendant, applying the rule in Ken-

nedy. The Report & Recommendation expressly does not

3la

reach the parties’ contentions on the issue of judicial

estoppel (Report & Recommendation, at 5). For that rea-

son, it is submitted that the recent decision in Johnson is

consistent with the Report & Recommendation.

DATED this 4 day of May, 1998.

/s/ John L. Weinberg

John L. Weinberg

United States Magistrate

Judge

32a

APPENDIX J

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J.R. MARTINI ) CASE NO. C97-671WD

Plaintiff, ) ORDER ON MOTIONS

; FOR SUMMARY

| } JUDGMENT

plethora ) (Filed Jun. 3, 1998)

)

Defendant. )

)

The Court, having reviewed the Motions for Sum-

mary Judgment filed by the parties in the case, the

responses thereto, the Report and Recommendation of the

Hon. John L. Weinberg, United States Magistrate Judge,

and the remaining record, does hereby find and Order:

(1) The Court adopts the Report and Recommenda-

tion;

(2) The Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

(docket 31) is GRANTED and Plaintiff’s Motion

for Summary Judgment (docket 44) is DENIED;

and

(3) The Clerk is directed to send copies of this

Order to counsel for both parties, and to the

Hon. John L. Weinberg.

33a

DATED this 2nd day of June, 1998.

/s/ William L. Dwyer

William L. Dwyer

United States District Judge

34a

APPENDIX K

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

LUC J. R. MARTINI, No. 98-35642

DC# CV-97-671-WLD

Western Washington

(Seattle)

ORDER

(Filed Jul. 26, 1999)

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

THE BOEING COMPANY,

a Washington corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

Ol i

Before: HAWKINS and GRABER, Circuit Judges

Appellant’s motion to consider additional authority

and to certify question to state court is referred to the

panel assigned to hear the merits of this appeal.

This case is ready for calendaring.

,

;

}

3

£

+

:

a

:

3

gz

z

-

35a

APPENDIX L

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Washington corporation,

Defendant-Appellee.

LUC J.R. MARTINI, ) No. 98-35642

Plaintiff-Appellant, ) D.C. No. CV-97-00671-

) WLD

V. )

THE BOEING ) ORDER

COMPANY, a 7 (Filed Oct. 31, 2000)

)

)

)

Before: REAVLEY,} HALL and O’SCANNLAIN, Circuit

Judges.

Appellant’s motion to correct word count is

GRANTED. Appellant’s motion to file appendix with

brief is DENIED.

The panel has voted unanimously to deny the appel-

lant’s petition for rehearing. Judges Hall and O’Scannlain

have voted to deny the appellant’s petition for rehearing

en banc. Judge Reavley recommended that the petition

for rehearing en banc be denied.

The full court has been advised of the petition for

rehearing en banc and no active judge has requested a

1 The Honorable Thomas M. Reavley, Senior United States

Circuit Judge for the United States Court of Appeals, Fifth

Circuit, sitting by designation.

36a

vote on whether to rehear the matter en banc. Fed. R.

App. P. 35. The petition for rehearing and the petition for

rehearing en banc are DENIED.

CEA

iteiatetar

37a

APPENDIX M

42 U.S.C. § 422

(a) Referral for rehabilitation services. It is declared

to be the policy of the Congress that disabled individuals

applying for a determination of disability, and disabled

individuals who are entitled to child’s insurance benefits,

widow’s insurance benefits, or widower’s insurance ben-

efits, shall be promptly referred to the State agency or

agencies administering or supervising the administration

of the State plan approved under title I of the Rehabilita-

tion Act of 1973 [29 USCS §§ 720 et seq.] for necessary

vocational rehabilitation services, to the end that the

maximum number of such individuals may be rehabili-

tated into productive activity.

(c) “Period of trial work” defined. (1) The term

“period of trial work,” with respect to an individual

entitled to benefits under section 223, 202(d), 202(e) or

202(f) [42 USCS § 423, 402(d), (e), or (f)], means a period

of months beginning and ending as provided in para-

graphs (3) and (4). (2) For purposes of sections 216(i) and

223 [42 USCS §§ 416(i), 423], any services rendered by an

individual during a period of trial work shall be deemed

not to have been rendered by such individual in deter-

mining whether his disability has ceased in a month

during such period. For purposes of this subsection the

term “services” means activity (whether legal or illegal)

which is performed for remuneration or gain or is deter-

mined by the Commissioner of Social Security to be of a

type normally performed for remuneration or gain. (3) A

38a

period of trial work for any individual shall begin with

the month in which he becomes entitled to disability

insurance benefits, or, in the case of an individual entitled

to benefits under section 202(d) [42 USCS § 402(d)] who

has attained the age of eighteen, with the month in which

he becomes entitled to such benefits or the month in

which he attains the age of eighteen, whichever is later,

or, in the case of an individual entitled to widow’s or

widower’s insurance benefits under section 202(e) or (f)

[42 USCS § 402(e), or (f)] who became entitled to such

benefits prior to attaining age 60, with the month in

which such individual becomes so entitled. Notwith-

standing the preceding sentence, no period of trial work

may begin for any individual prior to the beginning of

the month following the month in which this paragraph

is enacted [enacted Sept. 1960]; and no such period may

begin for an individual in a period of disability of such

individual in which he had a previous period of trial

work. (4) A period of trial work for any individual shall

end with the close of whichever of the following months

is the earlier: (A) the ninth month, in any period of 60

consecutive months, in which the individual renders ser-

vices (whether or not such nine months are consecutive);

or (B) the month in which his disability (as defined in

section 223(d) [42 USCS § 423(d)]) ceases (as determined

after application of paragraph (2) of this subsection).

42 U.S.C. § 423

(e) Engaging in substantial gainful activity. (1) No

benefit shall be payable under subsection (d)(1)(B)(ii),

i Re Bi th Beate Da eA en Wa ee SON Re Sh ae

rh Nabe Bo MI LEA LAE DW RE ARRON NAB et, da 0. i

39a

(d)(6)(A)(ii), (d)(6)(B), (e)(1)(B)(ii), or (f)(1)(B)(ii) of sec-

tion 202 [42 USCS § 402(d)(1)(B)(ii), (d)(6)(A)(ii), (d)(6)(B),

(e)(1)(B)(ii), or (f)(1)(B)(ii)] or under subsection (a)(1) of

this section to an individual for any month, after the third

month, in which he engages in substantial gainful activity

during the 36-month period following the end of his trial

work period determined by application of section

222(c)(4)(A) [42 USCS § 422(c)(4)(A)]. (2) No benefit shall

be payable under section 202 [42 USCS § 402] on the basis

of the wages and self-employment income of an individ-

ual entitled to a benefit under subsection (a)(1) of this

section for any month for which the benefit of such

individual under subsection (a)(1) is not payable under

paragraph (1).

20 CFR § 404.1592 (1998)

The trial work period.

(a) Definition of the trial work period. The trial

work period is a period during which you may test your

ability to work and still be considered disabled. It begins

and ends as described in paragraph (e) of this section.

During this period, you may perform services (see para-

graph (b) of this section) in as many as 9 months, but

these months do not have to be consecutive. We will not

consider those services as showing that your disability

has ended until you have performed services in at least 9

months. However, after the trial work period has ended

we will consider the work you did during the trial work

40a

period in determining whether your disability ended at

any time after the trial work period.

(b) What we mean by services. When used in this

section, services means any activity (whether legal or

illegal), even though it is not substantial gainful activity,

which is done in employment or self-employment for pay

or profit, or is the kind normally done for pay or profit.

We generally do not consider work done without remu-

neration to be services if it is done merely as therapy or

training or if it is work usually done in a daily routine

around the house or in self-care. We will not consider

work you have done as a volunteer in the federal pro-

grams described in section 404.1574(d) in determining

whether you have performed services in the trial work

period.

(1) If you are an employee. We will consider your

work as an employee to be services if:

(i) Before January 1, 2002, your earnings in a month

were more than the amount(s) indicated in Table 1 for the

year(s) in which you worked.

(ii) Beginning January 1, 2002, your earnings in a

month are more than an amount determined for each

calendar year to be the larger of:

(A) Such amount for the previous year, or

(B) An amount adjusted for national wage growth,

calculated by multiplying $ 530 by the ratio of the

national average wage index for the year 2 calendar years

before the year for which the amount is being calculated

to the national average wage index for 1999. We will then

round the resulting amount to the next higher multiple of

Sa CUE DARD AL BE hed Sl eS REA.

TIN 4 AT EGER Salt eo eit, + gall eSB D,

4la

$ 10 where such amount is a multiple of $ 5 but not of

$ 10 and to the nearest multiple of $ 10 in any other case.

(2) If you are self-employed. We will consider your

activities as a self-employed person to be services if:

(i) Before January 1, 2002, your net earnings in a

month were more than the amount(s) indicated in Table 2

of this section for the year(s) in which you worked, or the

hours you worked in the business in a month are more

than the number of hours per month indicated in Table 2

for the years in which you worked.

(ii) Beginning January 1, 2002, you work more than

80 hours a month in the business, or your net earnings in

a month are more than an amount determined for each

calendar year to be the larger of:

(A) Such amount for the previous year, or

(B) An amount adjusted for national wage growth,

calculated by multiplying $ 539 by the ratio of the

national average wage index for the year 2 calendar years

before the year for which the amount is being calculated

to the national average wage index for 1999. We will then

round the resulting amount to the next higher multiple of

$ 10 where such amount is a multiple of $ 5 but not of

$ 10 and to the nearest multiple of $ 10 in any other case.

TABLE 1. - FOR EMPLOYEES

For months You earn more than

In calendar years before 1979 $ 50

In calendar years 1979-1989 $ 75

In calendar years 1990-2000 $200

In calendar year 2001 $530

42a

TABLE 2. - FOR THE SELF-EMPLOYED

Your net Or you work in the

For months earnings are business more than

In calendar years

before 1979 $50 15 hours

In calendar years

1979-1989 $75 15 hours.

In calendar years

1990-2000 $200 40 hours

In calendar year

2001 $530 80 hours

(c) Limitations on the number of trial work periods.

You may have only one trial work period during a period

of entitlement to cash benefits.

(d) Who is and is not entitled to a trial work period.

(1) You are generally entitled to a trial work period if you

are entitled to disability insurance benefits, child’s bene-

fits based on disability, or widow’s or widower’s or sur-

viving divorced spouse’s benefits based on disability.

(2) You are not entitled to a trial work period -

(i) If you are entitled to a period of disability but

not to disability insurance benefits, and you are not enti-

tled to any other type of disability benefit under title II of

the Social Security Act (i.e., child’s benefits based on

disability, or widow’s or widower’s benefits or surviving

divorced spouse’s benefits based on disability);

(ii) If you perform work demonstrating the ability

to engage in substantial gainful activity during any

required waiting period for benefits;

43a

(iii) If you perform work demonstrating the ability

to engage in substantial gainful activity within 12 months

of the onset of the impairment(s) that prevented you from

performing substantial gainful activity and before the

date of any notice of determination or decision finding

that you are disabled; or

(iv) For any month prior to the month of your

application for disability benefits (see paragraph (e) of

this section).

(e) When the trial work period begins and ends.

The trial work period begins with the month in which

you become entitled to disability insurance benefits, to

child’s benefits based on disability or to widow’s, wid-

ower’s, or surviving divorced spouse’s benefits based on

disability. It cannot begin before the month in which you

file your application for benefits, and for widows, wid-

owers, and surviving divorced spouses, it cannot begin

before December 1, 1980. It ends with the close of which-

ever of the following calendar months is the earliest:

(1) The 9th month (whether or not the months have

been consecutive) in which you have performed services

if that 9th month is prior to January 1992;

(2) The 9th month (whether or not the months have

been consecutive and whether or not the previous 8

months of services were prior to January 1992) in which

you have performed services withir. a period of 60 con-

secutive months if that 9th month is after December 1991;

or

(3) The month in which new evidence, other than

evidence relating to any work you did during the trial

44a

work period, shows that you are not disabled, even

though you have not worked a full 9 months. We may

find that your disability has ended at any time during the

trial work period if the medical or other evidence shows

that you are no longer disabled. See § 404.1594 for infor-

mation on how we decide whether your disability con-

tinues or ends.

§ 12101. Congressional findings and purposes

(a) Findings. The Congress finds that -

(1) some 43,000,000 Americans have one or more physi-

cal or mental disabilities, and this number is increasing as

the population as a whole is growing older;

(2) historically, society has tended to isolate and segre-

gate individuals with disabilities, and, despite some

improvements, such forms of discrimination against indi-

viduals with disabilities continue to be a serious and

pervasive social problem;

(3) discrimination against individuals with disabilities

persists in such critical areas as employment, housing,

public accommodations, education, transportation, com-

munication, recreation, institutionalization, health ser-

vices, voting, and access to public services;

(4) unlike individuals who have experienced discrimi-

nation on the basis of race, color, sex, national origin,

religion, or age, individuals who have experienced dis-

crimination on the basis of disability have often had no

legal recourse to redress such discrimination;

“ De Were | betel nls etstaare

Toes

RR i aN ie ita ba Mer ee eR PT SER a IED AAD NE Ie BALA as BOI V AGI. D

45a

(5) individuals with disabilities continually encounter

various forms of discrimination, including outright inten-

tional exclusion, the discriminatory effects of architec-

tural, transportation, and communication barriers,

overprotective rules and policies, failure to make mod-

ifications to existing facilities and practices, exclusionary

qualification standards and criteria, segregation, and

relegation to lesser services, programs, activities, bene-

fits, jobs, or other opportunities;

(6) census data, national polls, and other studies have

documented that people with disabilities, as a group,

occupy an inferior status in our society, and are severely

disadvantaged socially, vocationally, economically, and

educationally;

(7) individuals with disabilities are a discrete and insu-

lar minority who have been faced with restrictions and

limitations, subjected to a history of purposeful unequal

treatment, and relegated to a position of political pow-

erlessness in our society, based on characteristics that are

beyond the control of such individuals and resulting from

stereotypic assumptions not truly indicative of the indi-

vidual ability of such individuals to participate in, and

contribute to, society;

(8) the Nation’s proper goals regarding individuals with

disabilities are to assure equality of opportunity, full par-

ticipation, independent living, and economic self-suffi-

ciency for such individuals; and

(9) the continuing existence of unfair and unnecessary

discrimination and prejudice denies people with disabil-

ities the opportunity to compete on an equal basis and to

pursue those opportunities for which our free society is

46a

justifiably famous, and costs the United States billions of

dollars in unnecessary expenses resulting from depen-

dency and nonproductivity.

(b) Purpose. It is the purpose of this Act -

(1) to provide a clear and comprehensive national man-

date for the elimination of discrimination against individ-

uals with disabilities;

(2) to provide clear, strong, consistent, enforceable stan-

dards addressing discrimination against individuals with

disabilities;

(3) to ensure that the Federal Government plays a cen-

tral role in enforcing the standards established in this Act

on behalf of individuals with disabilities; and

(4) to invoke the sweep of congressional authority,

including the power to enforce the fourteenth amend-

ment and to regulate commerce, in order to address the

major areas of discrimination faced day-to-day by people

with disabilities.

§ 12102. Definitions

As used in this Act:

(1) Auxiliary aids and services. The term “auxiliary aids

and services” includes -

(A) qualified interpreters or other effective methods of

making aurally delivered materials available to individ-

uals with hearing impairments;

ere a eee

il ewe Ne Ne lt AN el se: al ie

ate et ee ee

47a

(B) qualified readers, taped texts, or other effective

methods of making visually delivered materials available

to individuals with visual impairments;

(C) acquisition or modification of equipment or devices;

and

(D) other similar services and actions.

(2) Disability. The term “disability” means, with respect

to an individual -

(A) a physical or mental impairment that substantially

limits one or more of the major life activities of such

individual;

(B) a record of such an impairment; or

(C) being regarded as having such an impairment.

(3) State. The term “State” means each of the several

States, the District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of

Puerto Rico, Guam, American Samoa, the Virgin Islands,

the Trust Territory of the Pacific Islands, and the Com-

monwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands.

§ 12111. Definitions

As used in this title:

Ths

(1) Commission. The term “Commission” means the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission established

by section 705 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (42 U.S.C.

2000e-4).

48a

(2) Covered entity. The term “covered entity” means an

employer, employment agency, labor organization, or

joint labor-management committee.

(3) Direct threat. The term “direct threat” means a sig-

nificant risk to the health or safety of others that cannot

be eliminated by reasonable accommodation.

(4) Employee. The term “employee” means an individ-

ual employed by an employer. With respect to employ-

ment in a foreign country, such term includes an

individual who is a citizen of the United States.

(5) Employer.

(A) In general. The term “employer” means a person

engaged in an industry affecting commerce who has 15 or

more employees for each working day in each of 20 or

more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar

year, and any agent of such person, except that, for two

years following the effective date of this title, an

employer means a person engaged in an industry affect-

ing commerce who has 25 or more employees for each

working day in each of 20 or more calendar weeks in the

current or preceding year, and any agent of such person.

(B) Exceptions. The term “employer” does not include -

(i) the United States, a corporation wholly owned by the

government of the United States, or an Indian tribe; or

(ii) a bona fide private membership club (other than a

labor organization) that is exempt from taxation under

section 501(c) of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

(6) Illegal use of drugs. (A) In general. The term “illegal

use of drugs” means the use of drugs, the possession or

distribution of which is unlawful under the Controlled

See A) ARLE A AN by AOMORI LIES EIN LN RN de

49a

Substances Act (21 U.S.C. 812). Such term does not

include the use of a drug taken under supervision by a

licensed health care professional, or other uses autho-

rized by the Controlled Substances Act or other provi-

sions of Federal law. (B) Drugs. The term “drug” means a

controlied substance, as defined in schedules I through V

of section 202 of the Controlled Substances Act [21 USCS

§ 812].

(7) Person, etc. The terms “person”, “labor organiza-

tion”, “employment agency”, “commerce”, and “industry

affecting commerce”, shall have the same meaning given

such terms in section 701 of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

(42 U.S.C. 2000e).

(8) Qualified individual with a disability. The term

“qualified individual with a disability” means an individ-

ual with a disability who, with or without reasonable

accommodation, can perform the essential functions of

the employment position that such individual holds or

desires. For the purposes of this title, consideration shall

be given to the employer’s judgment as to what functions

of a job are essential, and if an employer has prepared a

written description before advertising or interviewing

applicants for the job, this description shall be considered

evidence of the essential functions of the job.

(9) Reasonable accommodation. The term “reasonable

accommodation” may include -

(A) making existing facilities used by employees readily

accessible to and usable by individuals with disabilities;

and (B) job restructuring, part-time or modified work

schedules, reassignment to a vacant position, acquisition

or modification of equipment or devices, appropriate

50a

adjustment or modifications of examinations, training

materials or policies, the provision of qualified readers or

interpreters, and other similar accommodations for indi-

viduals with disabilities.

(10) Undue hardship.

(A) In general. The term “undue hardship” means an

action requiring significant difficulty or expense, when

considered in light of the factors set forth in subpara-

graph (B).

(B) Factors to be considered. In determining whether an

accommodation would impose an undue hardship on a

covered entity, factors to be considered include - (i) the

nature and cost of the accommodation needed under this

Act; (ii) the overall financial resources of the facility or

facilities involved in the provision of the reasonable

accommodation; the number of persons employed at such

facility; the effect on expenses and resources, or the

impact otherwise of such accommodation upon the oper-

ation of the facility; (iii) the overall financial resources of

the covered entity; the overall size of the business of a

covered entity with respect to the number of its

employees; the number, type, and location of its facilities;

and (iv) the type of operation or operations of the cov-

ered entity, including the composition, structure, and

functions of the workforce of such entity; the geographic

separateness, administrative, or fiscal relationship of the

facility or facilities in question to the covered entity.

a eS ee ee

5la

§ 12112. Discrimination

(a) General rule. No covered entity shall discrimi-

nate against a qualified individual with a disability

because of the disability of such individual in regard to

job application procedures, the hiring, advancement, or

discharge of employees, employee compensation, job

training, and other terms, conditions, and privileges of

employment.

(b) Construction. As used in subsection (a), the term

“discriminate” includes —

(1) limiting, segregating, or classifying a job applicant

or employee in a way that adversely affects the oppor-

tunities or status of such applicant or employee because

of the disability of such applicant or employee;

(2) participating in a contractual or other arrangement

or relationship that has the effect of subjecting a covered

entity's qualified applicant or employee with a disability

to the discrimination prohibited by this title (such rela-

tionship includes a relationship with an employment or

referral agency, labor union, an organization providing

fringe benefits to an employee of the covered entity, or an

organization providing training and apprenticeship pro-

grams);

(3) utilizing standards, criteria, or methods of adminis-

tration - (A) that have the effect of discrimination on the

basis of disability; or (B) that perpetuate the discrimina-

tion of others who are subject to common administrative

control;

52a

(4) excluding or otherwise denying equal jobs or bene-

fits to a qualified individual because of the known dis-

ability of an individual with whom the qualified

individual is known to have a relationship or association;

(5)(A) not making reasonable accommodations to the

known physical or mental limitations of an otherwise

qualified individual with a disability who is an applicant

or employee, unless such covered entity can demonstrate

that the accommodation would impose an undue hard-

ship on the operation of the business of such covered

entity; or (B) denying employment opportunities to a job

applicant or employee who is an otherwise qualified indi-

vidual with a disability, if such denial is based on the

need of such covered entity to make reasonable accom-

modation to the physical or mental impairments of the

employee or applicant;

(6) using qualification standards, employment tests or

other selection criteria that screen out or tend to screen

out an individual with a disability or a class of individ-

uals with disabilities unless the standard, test or other

selection criteria, as used by the covered entity, is shown

to be job-related for the position in question and is con-

sistent with business necessity; and

(7) failing to select and administer tests concerning

employment in the most effective manner to ensure that,

when such test is administered to a job applicant or

employee who has a disability that impairs sensory, man-

ual, or speaking skills, such test results accurately reflect

the skills, aptitude, or whatever other factor of such

applicant or employee that such test purports to measure,

rather than reflecting the impaired sensory, manual, or

ae CAM ibsi cnn

53a

speaking skills of such employee or applicant (except

where such skills are the factors that the test purports to

measure).

(c) Covered entities in foreign countries.

(1) In general. It shall not be unlawful under this section

for a covered entity to take any action that constitutes

discrimination under this section with respect to an

employee in a workplace in a foreign country if compli-

ance with this section would cause such covered entity to

violate the law of the foreign country in which such

workplace is located.

(2) Control of corporation. (A) Presumption. If an

employer controls a corporation whose place of incor-

poration is a foreign country, any practice that constitutes

discrimination under this section and is engaged in by

such corporation shall be presumed to be engaged in by

such employer. (B) Exception. This section shall not apply

with respect to the foreign operations of an employer that

is a foreign person not controlled by an American

employer. (C) Determination. For purposes of this para-

graph, the determination of whether an employer con-

trols a corporation shall be based on - (i) the interrelation

of operations; (ii) the common management; (iii) the cen-

tralized control of labor relations; and (iv) the common

ownership or financial control, of the employer and the

corporation.

(d) Medical examinations and inquiries.

(1) In general. The prohibition against discrimination as

referred to in subsection (a) shall include medical exam-

inations and inquiries.

54a

(2) Preemployment.

(A) Prohibited examination or inquiry. Except as pro-

vided in paragraph (3), a covered entity shall not conduct

a medical examination or make inquiries of a job appli-

cant as to whether such applicant is an individual with a

disability or as to the nature or severity of such disability.

(B) Acceptable inquiry. A covered entity may make pre-

employment inquiries into the ability of an applicant to

perform job-related functions.

(3) Employment entrance examination. A covered entity

may require a medical examination after an offer of

employment has been made to a job applicant and prior

to the commencement of the employment duties of such

applicant, and may condition an offer of employment on

the results of such examination, if -

(A) all entering employees are subjected to such an

examination regardless of disability; (B) information

obtained regarding the medical condition or history of

the applicant is collected and maintained on separate

forms and in separate medical files and is treated as a

confidential medical record, except that - (i) supervisors

and managers may be informed regarding necessary

restrictions on the work or duties of the employee and

necessary accommodations; (ii) first aid and safety per-

sonnel may be informed, when appropriate, if the disabil-

ity might require emergency treatment; and (iii)

government officials investigating compliance with this

Act shall be provided relevant information on request;

and (C) the results of such examination are used only in

accordance with this title.

55a

(4) Examination and inquiry. (A) Prohibited examina-

tions and inquiries. A covered entity shall not require a

medical examination and shall not make inquiries of an

employee as to whether such employee is an individual

with a disability or as to the nature or severity of the

disability, unless such examination or inquiry is shown to

be job-related and consistent with business necessity.

(B) Acceptable examinations and inquiries. A covered

entity may conduct voluntary medical examinations,

including voluntary medical histories, which are part of

an employee health program available to employees at

that work site. A covered entity may make inquiries into

the ability of an employee to perform job-related func-

tions. (C) Requirement. Information obtained under sub-

paragraph (B) regarding the medical condition or history

of any employee are subject to the requirements of sub-

paragraphs (B) and (C) of paragraph (3).

42 U.S.C. § 1320b-19 note, P.L. No. 106-170, S a, 133 Stat.

1860, 1862-63 (1999)

Sec. 2. FINDINGS AND PURPOSES,

(a) Findings. - The Congress makes the following

findings:

(1) It is the policy of the United States to provide

assistance to individuals with disabilities to lead produc-

tive work lives.

(2) Health care is important to all Americans.

(3) Health care is particularly important to individ-

uals with disabilities and special health care needs who

56a

often cannot afford the insurance available to them

through the private market, are uninsurable by the plans

available in the private sector, and are at great risk of

incurring very high and economically devastating health

care costs.

(4) Americans with significant disabilities often are

unable to obtain health care insurance that provides cov-

erage of the services and supports that enable them to

live independently and enter or rejoin the workforce.

Personal assistance services (such as attendant services,

personal assistance with transportation to and from

work, reader services, job coaches, and related assistance)

remove many of the barriers between significant disabil-

ity and work. Coverage for such services, as well as for

prescription drugs, durable medical equipment, and basic

health care are powerful and proven tools for individuals

with significant disabilities to obtain and retain employ-

ment.

(5) For individuals with disabilities, the fear of los-

ing health care and related services is one of the greatest

barriers keeping the individuals from maximizing their

employment, earning potential, and independence.

(6) Social Security Disability Insurance and Supple-

mental Security Income beneficiaries risk losing medicare

or medicaid coverage that is linked to their cash benefits,

a risk that is an equal, or greater, work disincentive than

the loss of cash benefits associated with working.

(7) Individuals with disabilities have greater oppor-

tunities for employment than ever before, aided by

important public policy initiatives such as the Americans

with Disabilities Act of 1990 (42 U.S.C. 12101 et seq.),

57a

advancements in public understanding of disability, and

innovations in assistive technology, medical treatment,

and rehabilitation.

(8) Despite such historic opportunities and the

desire of millions of disability recipients to work and

support themselves, fewer than one-half of one percent of

Social Security Disability Insurance and Supplemental

Security Income beneficiaries leave the disability rolls

and return to work.

(9) In addition to the fear of loss of health care

coverage, beneficiaries cite financial disincentives to

work and earn income and lack of adequate employment

training and placement services as barriers to employ-

ment.

(10) Eliminating such barriers to work by creating

financial incentives to work and by providing individuals

with disabilities real choice in obtaining the services and

technology they need to find, enter, and maintain

employment can greatly improve their short and long-

term financial independence and personal well-being.

(11) In addition to the enormous advantages such

changes promise for individuals with disabilities,

redesigning government programs to help individuals

with disabilities return to work may result in significant

savings and extend the life of the Social Security Disabil-

ity Insurance Trust Fund.

(12) If only an additional one-half of one percent of

the current Social Security Disability Insurance and Sup-

plemental Security Income recipients were to cease

receiving benefits as a result of employment, the savings

58a

to the Social Security Trust Funds and to the Treasury in

cash assistance would total $3,500,000,000 over the work-

life of such individuals, far exceeding the cost of provid-

ing incentives and services needed to assist them in

entering work and achieving financial independence to

the best of their abilities.

(b) Purposes. - The purposes of this Act are as

follows:

(1) To provide health care and employment prepa-

ration and placement services to individuals with disabil-

ities that will enable those individuals to reduce their

dependency on cash benefit programs.

(2) To encourage States to adopt the option of

allowing individuals with disabilities to purchase medi-

caid coverage that is necessary to enable such individuals

to maintain employment.

(3) To provide individuals with disabilities the

option of maintaining medicare coverage while working.

(4) To establish a return to work ticket program that

will allow individuals with disabilities to seek the ser-

vices necessary to obtain and retain employment and

reduce their dependency on cash benefit programs.

59a

APPENDIX N

U. S. MAGISTRATE JUDGE JOHN L. WEINBERG

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF WASHINGTON

AT SEATTLE

LUC J. R. MARTINI, org

Plaintiff, C97-671WD

THE BOEING COMPANY, ROBERT MILLER, PH.D.

|

|

|

VS. | DECLARATION OF

|

Defendant. 7

I, Robert Miller, Ph.D., make the following statement

based upon personal knowledge.

1. I Know [sic] Luc Martini. I have been Mr. Martini’s

treating psychologist since 1991.

2. I have seen Mr. Martini in my capacity as his psy-

chologist at least (on average) on a monthly basis

since 1991.

3. Mr. Martini has suffered from major depression in

typical up and down course since he has been under

my care.

4. It is my opinion, based upon medical history from

prior to 1991, and his course since he has been under

my care, that there are many significant factors in

the causation and aggravation of his major depres-

sive illness, but the most significant factor has been

his interactions with the Boeing Company.

60a

It is my opinion that Mr. Martini, at times when his

illness was improving, would have substantially

benefited from being employed on a provisional

basis.

It is my opinion that Mr. Martini would reasonably

have been able to overcome his illness sufficiently to

return to gainful employment.

It is my opinion that provisional employment would

be on a trial basis and under medical supervision.

It is my opinion that such provisional employment

should incorporate the following medical consider-

ations:

@ Trial employment should not be of a trivial

nature; Mr. Martini has an active mind and psy-

chological need to expand his learning - chal-

lenge his mind;

@ Trial employment should substantially involve

employment related to his career history and fall

within the scope of his existing expertise; trial

employment is to be therapeutic, and not add

additional stressors that would likely have

pejorative medical or psychological conse-

quences;

@ Trial employment should accommodate his con-

siderable medical problems, notably: sleep apnea

syndrome; cardiovascular problems; morbid

obesity problems;

@ Trial employment should not require significant

life-changes such as relocation to another city or

state that would require he leave his home; Mr.

Martini remains at risk from significant stressors

which significant life stressors engender;

@ Trial employment should not add significant

stressors such as real or perceived financial risk

ew

10.

11.

iz.

13.

6la

leading to possible destitution; loss of medical

care; increased potential of sudden death from

further aggravation of his serious medical condi-

tions and other factors which would tend to

significantly increase anxiety;

It is my opinion, based on Mr. Martini’s medical and

work history that the only likely place where he

could obtain employment which would be least

likely to be pejorative to his medical and psychologi-

cal well-being would be at his former employer, the

Boeing Company.

Many times over the years, I offered Mr. Martini

professional advise that he would benefit from pro-

visional employment, discussed the medical and

psychological considerations thereto, and urged him

to seek such employment opportunities.

It is my opinion that Mr. Martini’s major depressive

illness continues to be aggravated by the burdens of

litigation in which Mr. Martini has been involved

against the Boeing Company in an attempt to redress

past and present discrimination against him in his

efforts to obtain employment and accommodation.

I have since 1991, submitted at least yearly reports to

AETNA Disability Insurance Co., at their request, on

Mr. Martini’s medical status, as it existed at the time

of such reports, including medical recommendations

that Mr. Martini would benefit from provisional

employment.

It is my opinion that in February 1996, Mr. Martini

was in an improved medical status following his

legal victory over Boeing, and at that time, he would

have been most likely able to benefit from and suc-

ceed in provisional employment, and subsequently

return to full gainful employment.

62a

14. I have given prior testimony before the King County

Superior Court in Mr. Martini’s disability discrimi-

nation case against Boeing, and in his Board of

Industrial Insurance Appeals in his Labor and

Industries claim of aggravation of preexisting medi-

cal conditions from industrial injury, substantially

offering the same opinions as here.

I declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of

the United States and the State of Washington that the

foregoing is true and correct.

Dated this 6th day of May, 1998, in Tacoma, WA.

/s/ Robert Miller

ROBERT MILLER

63a

APPENDIX O

PERKINS COIE

[Addresses Omitted In Printing]

Russett L. PerisHo

(206) 583-8494

CONFIDENTIAL--SUBMITTED

IN RESPONSE TO A REQUEST

FOR INFORMATION FROM THE

EEOC

September 16, 1996

BY HAND DELIVERY

John C. Montoya

Deputy Director

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

909 First Avenue, Suite 400

Seattle, WA 98104-1061

Re: Luc J. Martini and The Boeing Company,

EEOC Charge No. 380960837

Dear Mr. Montoya:

This letter responds to the charge of discrimination

filed by Luc Martini against The Boeing Company. The

Notice of Charge of Discrimination was received by Boe-

ing on June 6, 1996, and it contains a charge of discrimi-

nation filed by Martini on May 26, 1996.

Martini’s charge alleges discrimination based on dis-

ability and unlawful retaliation in connection with a let-

ter Martini wrote to Boeing dated February 28, 1996. The

charge has no merit, and Boeing absolutely denies that it

acted unlawfully with respect to Martini.

64a

Martini’s charge must be rejected for the following

reasons:

1. Martini is not qualified for any position of

employment. He currently collects social security disabil-

ity benefits, which were awarded in 1991 after Martini

certified he was totally disabled. He also currently

receives monthly long-term disability insurance pay-

ments for being totally disabled. Indeed, Martini testified

under oath at a workers’ compensation hearing in July

1996 that he has been unable to work since 1990. Because

of this, Martini cannot establish a prima facie case of

discrimination or retaliation. He is not “qualified” to hold

employment.

2. Martini engaged in misconduct which disqual-

ified him from employment at Boeing. Specifically, if

Martini states that he is not now totally disabled, he has

misrepresented the facts to government agencies and an

insurance company. He did misrepresent facts in 1991 in

his application for disability benefits submitted under

oath to the Social Security Administration. Also, he mis-

represented his experience at Boeing in his February 28,

1996 letter to Boeing. This misconduct excuses Boeing

from any duty to consider Martini for employment.

3. Finally, Martini has not suffered any unlawful

discrimination or retaliation. He cannot establish that he

has the necessary qualifications to fill open jobs in the

areas identified in his February 28, 1996 letter.

Boeing’s detailed response is set out below.

BI oleate ga Ab ein CAMA es NN ha ae

65a

Factual Background

* * *

In a letter dated February 28, 1996, Lue Martini asked

that Boeing consider his resume in connection with four

skill areas at Boeing. Martini was not hired.

Martini’s Sworn Statements That He Cannot Work Bar

Consideration of the Charge of Discrimination

Martini applied for social security disability benefits

in December 1990, certifying that he was unable to work

and totally disabled. Benefits were awarded in 1991, and

the determination was made that Martini was totally

disabled beginning July 16, 1990. As far as Boeing knows,

Martini continues to receive social security disability ben-

efits every month. In doing so, Martini is certifying that

he continues to be totally disabled.

Martini also applied for and received long-term dis-

ability benefits pursuant to his representation that he was

totally disabled and unable to work. He continues to

collect these monthly benefits.

Just two months ago, in July 1996, Martini testified

under oath in a workers’ compensation proceeding that

he has not worked since July 1990, and that he has been

unable to work since that date.

As a threshold matter, Boeing has no legal obligation

to consider Martini’s application for employment in these

circumstances.

a

66a

If Martini is totally disabled and unable to work, he

cannot be “qualified” for an employment position at Boe-

ing. To establish a prima facie case of either discrimina-

tion or retaliation, Martini needs to show he was

qualified to fill employment positions for which he was

not hired. This he cannot do.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals just issued a

decision which clearly requires dismissal of Martini’s

charge. In Kennedy v. Applause, Inc., 90 F.3d 1477 (1996)

(attached), a sales representative with chronic fatigue ~

syndrome was fired by her employer the day after she

applied for state disability benefits. She later also applied

for social security disability benefit, certifying that she

- was completely disabled for work-related purposes.

On those facts, the Ninth Circuit upheld the dis-

missal of the employee’s ADA claim of discrimination,

stating:

Because she was totally disabled, there was no

genuine issue that she could have performed

her job with the proposed or any other, accom-

modation.

This is more than just not being qualified for employ-

ment. Numerous courts have enforced the fundamental

proposition that individuals cannot certify to one agency

that they are unable to work and then certify to a differ-

ent agency that they are qualified to work. Courts have

been unwilling to countenance this kind of overt manipu-

lation of facts in order to obtain benefits or compensation.

67a

In McNemar v. The Disney Store, 91 F.3d 610 (3d Cir.

1996) (attached), the court applied the doctrine of “judi-

cial estoppel” to protect the integrity of the judicial pro-

cess where a plaintiff alleged job discrimination at the

same time he made sworn statements to government

agencies that he was totally disabled and unable to work.

In McNemar, both ADA and state law discrimination

claims were dismissed when the individual certified to

the Social Security Administration that he was totally

disabled.

In Reigel v. Kaiser Health Plan of N.C., 859 F. Supp. 963

(E.D.N.C. 1994) (attached), a court granted summary

judgment against an employee who had obtained disabil-

ity benefits by submitting numerous statements to differ-

ent governmental entities that she was unable to work.

The court held that, given these statements, no rational

finder of fact could conclude that the plaintiff was a

“qualified individual with a disability.” The Court stated

that “ .. . plaintiff cannot speak out of both sides of her

mouth with equal vigor and credibility before this court.

Plaintiff now seeks money damages from [her employer]

on her assertion that she was physically willing and able

to work during the same period that she was regularly

collecting disability payments on her assertion that she

was unable to work.” The Court rejected the notion that

plaintiff could create a cause of action when she was

certifying that she was totally disabled.

In Miller v. U.S. BanCorp, 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 7068

(D. Or. 1996) (attached), a former employee received ben-

efits under an employer’s long-term disability plan as

well as social security benefits. Both the long-term dis-

ability plan and the statute required as a prerequisite to

68a

obtaining benefits a finding of inability to work in any

gainful employment. The Court found that plaintiff’s

statements on these applications, as well as her receipt of

benefits with knowledge of the standards for eligibility,

barred her from pursuing a claim under either the ADA

or Oregon’s law against discrimination.

The following courts have relied on representations

that an individual was totally and permanently disabled

to reject discrimination claims: Harden v. Delta Air Lines,

Inc., 4 A.D. Cas. (BNA) (S.D. Ga. 1995); Pegues v. Emerson

Electric Co., 913 F. Supp. 976 (N.D. Miss. 1996); Nguyen v.

IBP, Inc., 905 F. Supp. 1471 (D. Kan. 1995); Nguyen v. IBP,

‘Inc., 905 F. Supp. 1471 (D. Kan. 1995) [sic]; Nguyen v. IBP,

Inc., 905 F. Supp. 1471 (D. Kan. 1995) [sic]; Smith v.

Midland Brake Inc., 911 F. Supp. 1351 (D. Kan. 1995); Miller

v. U.S. Bancorp, 1996 WL 277768 (D. Or. 1996); Beauford v.

Father Flanagan’s Boys’ Home, 831 F.2d 768 (8th Cir. 1987);

Parker v. Metropolitan Life Insurance Co., 875 F. Supp. 1321,

1323 (W.D. Tenn. 1995); Reiff v. Interim Personnel, Inc. [sic]

906 F. Supp. 1280 (D. Minn. 1995); Garcia-Paz v. Swift

Textiles, 873 F. Supp. 547, 554 (D. Kan. 1995); Cline v.

Western Horseman, Inc., 5 A.D. Cas. (BNA) 714 (D. Colo.

1990); Hatfield v. Quantum Chemical Corp., 920 F. Supp. 108

(S.D. Tex. 1996), Ricks v. Xerox Corp., 1995 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

12955 (D. Kan. 1995); Lewis v. Zilog, Inc., 4 A.D. Cas.

(BNA) 1787 (N.D. Ga. 1995); Farror v. Bell-Atlantic—PA., 5

A.D. Cas. (BNA) 793 (W.D. Pa. 1996); Bennett v. United

Parcel Service, 5 A.D. Cas. (BNA) 260 (S.D. Tex. 1995).

69a

Martini’s Misconduct Disqualified Him From Employ-

ment With Boeing

* * *

Martini Cannot Establish That He Is Qualified to Fill

Open Positions Related to the Skill Specialty Areas

Identified in His February 28, 1996 Letter

Martini expressed interest in four “positions” in his

February 28, 1996 letter: (1) Manager, NATO Retrofit; (2)

Research/ Program Support-Radar/Signal Processing /

Sensor Fusion; (3) AWACS Instructional Systems /Sup-

port; and (4) F-22 Instructional Systems/ Support.

At the outset, it should be noted that what were

identified by Martini as “positions” were actually “skill

specialty areas.” An advertisement appearing in Aviation

Week and Space Technology in January 29, 1996 referenced

opportunities in skill specialty areas including instruc-

tional course designers in the F-22 and AWACS program.

As stated earlier, Martini cannot establish that he was

qualified to be considered for any employment at Boeing

because he states he is unable to work. Even setting this

aside, Martini cannot establish that he was qualified to

fill open jobs related to the areas identified in his Febru-

ary 28, 1996 letter. He does not have the skills and experi-

ence to make him a viable candidate.

+ + *

In sum, the charge must be dismissed. One, Martini’s

Sworn statements that he is totally disabled bar his

charge of discrimination. Two, Martini has engaged in

misconduct which disqualifies him from employment at

Boeing. Three, in any event, Martini cannot establish that

70a

he is qualified to fill open jobs in the areas identified in

his February 28, 1996 letter.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Russell L. Perisho

Russell L. Perisho

RLP:kmd

Attachments

|

7la

APPENDIX P

Perkins Core

[Addresses Omitted In Printing]

Russet. L. PerisHo

(206) 583-8494

CONFIDENTIAL—SUBMITTED

IN RESPONSE TO A REQUEST

FOR INFORMATION FROM

THE EEOC

October 11, 1996

John C. Montoya

Deputy Director

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

909 First Avenue, Suite 400

Seattle, WA 98104-1061

Re: Luc J. Martini and The Boeing Company,

EEOC Charge No. 380960837

Dear Mr. Montoya:

On September 16, 1996, Boeing responded to the

charge of discrimination filed by Luc Martini in the

above-captioned matter. In the response, Boeing urged

the EEOC to dismiss the charge on the grounds, for one

thing, that Martini had sworn under oath that he is

unable to work and is totally disabled. Numerous court

cases have held that employees cannot claim in discrimi-

nation cases that they should have been hired for a job

when, at the same time, they are certifying to other

government agencies that they are unable to work.

Following our submission, we received the transcript

of Mr. Martini’s testimony on August 20, 1996 in a hear-

ing on his workers compensation claim against Boeing.

At pages 40-41 of the transcript (attached), the following

72a

exchange occurs:

Q:

Or OD

Did you ever return to work for Boeing

after-well, what was your last date of

employment with Boeing?

The last day of work was the 16th. My last

day of employment was August 21st, or

something like that, of 1990.

Of 1990?

Right. ‘

Did you ever return to work for them after

that date?

No, I did not.

Have you ever worked at all after that date?

No, I have not.

Have you been able to work at all after that

date?

No, I have not.

Is that inability due at least in part to the

psychiatric condition?

Yes it is.

Did the shoulder injury have an effect on

the psychiatric condition or did it manifest

it?

Yes, it was the causative thing that pushed

me over the edge from being employed suc-

cessfully to being totally disabled.

Transcript (attached), pp. 40-41 (emphasis added).

Ae Ae hea Nl, Rehr peeeeca).

73a

Please contact the undersigned if you have any fur-

ther questions.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Russell L. Perisho

Russell L. Perisho

RLP:kmd

Attachment

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.