appendicesr — Utilities Commission v. Tampa Electric Co.

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

la

APPENDIX A

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Nos. SC95444; SC95445; SC95446

TAMPA ELECTRIC CO.; FLORIDA POWER CORP.;

and FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT Co.,

Appellants,

vs.

Jor GARCIA, et al., as the FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION; UTILITIES COMMISSION, CiTy OF NEW

SMYRNA BEACH; and DUKE ENERGY NEW SMYRNA BEACH

POWER Co., LTD., LLP.,

Appellees.

[April 20, 2000]

[Rehearing Denied September 28, 2000]

REVISED OPINION

PER CURIAM.

These consolidated cases are before the Court on appeal

from an order of the Public Service Commission (PSC or—

Commission). We have jurisdiction. Art. V, § 3(b)(2), Fia.

Const. The issue presented concerns the statutory authority of

the PSC to grant a determination of need under the Florida

Electrical Power Plant Siting Act (Siting Act)' and the

Florida Energy Efficiency & Conservation Act (FEECA) * for

an electric power company’s proposal to build and operate a

' § 403.501-.518, Fla. Stat. (1997).

2 88 366.80-.85, 403.519, Fla. Stat. (1997).

2a

merchant plant in Volusia County.’ We reverse the order of

the PSC for the reasons stated herein.

The construction of any new electrical power generating

plant as defined by section 403.503(12), Florida Statutes, that

is not otherwise exempted by Florida law, is required to be

certified in accord with the various requirements of the Siting

Act in chapter 403, Florida Statutes.* As part of the process,

an applicant seeks a determination of need from the PSC for a

proposed power plant. See § 403.519, Fla. Stat. (1997).° The

PSC’s granting of a determination of need for a proposed.

power plant creates a presumption of public need. See

§ 403.519, Fla. Stat. (1997). This determination serves as the

> The PSC defines “merchant plant” as a power plant with no rate base

and no captive retail customers.

* Section 403.506, Florida Statutes (1997), provides in relevant part:

(1) The provisions of this act shall apply to any electrical power

plant as defined herein, except that provisions of this act shall not

apply to any electrical power plant or steam generating plant of less

than 75 megawatts in capacity or to any substation to be constructed

as part of an associated transmission line unless the applicant has

elected to apply for certification of such plant or substation under

this act.

* Section 403.519, Florida Statutes (1997), provides in relevant part:

On request by an applicant or on its own motion, the commission

shall begin a proceeding to determine the need for an electrical

power plant subject to the Florida Electrical Power Plant Siting Act.

. .. The commission shall be the sole forum for the determination of

this matter, which accordingly shall not be raised in any other forum

or in the review of proceedings in such other forum. In making its _

electric system reliability and integrity, the need for adequate

electricity at a reasonable cost, and whether the proposed plant is

the most cost-effective alternative available. The commission shall

also expressly consider the conservation measures taken by or

reasonably available to the applicant or its members which might

mitigate the need for the proposed plant and other matters within its

jurisd*ction which it deems relevant.

3a

PSC’s report required by section 403.507(2)(a)2, Florida

Statutes (1997), as part of the permitting procedure.

On August 19, 1998, the Utilities Commission of the City

of New Smyrna Beach (New Smyma), and Duke Energy New

______Smyrna-_Beach Power Co., Ltd. (Duke) filed in the PSC a

joint petition for determination of need for the New Smyma

Beach Power Project, a proposed natural gas fired combined

cycle generating plant with 514 megawatts of net capacity to

be built and operated by Duke in-New Smyma Beach. Duke

is not presently subject to PSC regulation as a public utility

authorized to generate and sell electric power at retail rates to

Florida customers. Duke is a subsidiary of an investor-owned

utility based in North Carolina. As a company offering

electrical power for sale at wholesale rates, Duke is subject to

the regulatory jurisdiction of the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission (FERC) and is classified as an exempt wholesale

generator (EWG).° New Smyma is a Florida municipal

electric utility that directly serves retail customers.’ In the

present petition for determination of need, Duke proposed to

build a 514-megawatt plant, with thirty megawatts of that

Capacity and associated energy committed to be sold to New

Smyma and the remaining megawatts uncommitted and

intended to be made available for sale at competitive

wholesale rates to utilities that directly serve retail customers.

Prior to filing the present joint petition, Duke and New-

Smyrna entered into an agreement requiring Duke to finance,

design, build, own, and operate the plant and to sell to New

Smyma thirty megawatts of Duke's proposed plant's capacity

at a discount wholesale rate. New Smyma agreed to provide

the site for the plant, a wastewater treatment facility, water, F

and .ax reductions. New Smyma intends to sell to its retail

® See 15 U.S.C. § 792-5a (1994).

’ New Smyrna is regulated by the PSC pursuant to section 366.04(2),

Florida Statutes (1997).

4a

customers the energy it has committed to purchase from

Duke. The agreement also provides that Duke will make

available for sale the remaining 484 megawatts of power in

the competitive wholesale electrical power market primarily,

but not exclusively, for ultimate use in Florida.

The seven intervenors as to the petition included present

appellants Tampa Electric Co. (Tampa Electric), Florida

Power Corp. (FPC), and Florida Power & Light Co. (FP&L).

After a hearing in December 1998, three members of the

Commission voted to deny motions to dismiss by FPC and

FP&L and voted to grant the joint petition. /n re Joint

Petition for Determination of Need, No. PSC-99-0535-FOF-

EM (March 22, 1999) (Order). Commissioner Clark

dissented, concluding that Duke was_not a proper applicant.

Commissioner Jacobs concurred and dissented, stating that he

believed Duke was a proper applicant but that Duke had not

proven its proposed plant to be the most cost-effective option.

In this appeal, appellants are public utilities that are

regulated and authorized by the PSC to generate and sell

electrical power to users of the power in Florida. Appellants

designate themselves as Florida retail utilities. Appellants

contend that section 403.519, Florida Statutes, from its initial

adoption in 1980 through subsequent legislative changes and

up to the present date, does not authorize the PSC to grant a

determination of need to an entity other than a Florida retail

utility regulated by the PSC whose petition is based upon a

specified demonstrated need of Florida retail utilities for

serving Florida power customers.

Appellants point out that the recent national movement

toward the construction of power plants intended to generate

power to be sold in competitive wholesale markets stems

from recent federal legislative initiatives. This movement

began with the Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act of

5a

1978 (PURPA).*® Subsequent relevant federal legislation

includes the Energy Policy Act of 1992,’ which exempts

certain wholesale generators from some _ regulatory

requirements, Another milestone is a FERC order issued in

1996 which affects power distribution.'° Appellants note that

these federal initiatives occurred subsequent to the

Legislature’s enactment of the Siting Act of 1973. Appellants

also emphasize that the Legislature has not amended section

403.519 to authorize the PSC to grant a determination of need

for a power plant in Florida that would generate power

intended to be sold in the competitive wholesale market

which is developing as a result of these federal legislative and

regulatory changes.

Appellants contend that Duke is not an authorized

applicant under section 403.519 because Duke is not a Florida

retail utility. Appellants contend that joining with New

Smyrna, which is a proper applicant, does not cure-the fact

that Duke is not a proper applicant in view of the

commitment to New Smyrna of just thirty megawatts of the

514-megawatt capacity of the plant.'’ Appellants contend that

* Pub. L. No. 95-617, 92 Stat. 3117 (1978) (codified as amended at 16

U.S.C. §§ 2601-2645 (1994)). See also Jeffrey D. Watkiss & Douglas W.

Smith, The Energy Policy Act of 1992-A Watershed for Competition in

the Wholesale Power Market, 10 Yale J. on Reg. 447 (1993).

” Pub. L. 102-486, 106 Stat. 2776 (1992) (amending the Federal Power

Act, codified at 16 U.S.C. §§ 791a-825u (1994)).

'° Promoting Wholesale Competition Through Open Access Non-

Discriminatory Transmission Services by Public Utilities; Recovery of

Stranded Costs by Public Utilities and Transmitting Utilities, Order No.

888, 61 Fed. Reg. 21,540 (1996), [Regs. Preambles Jan. 1991-June 1996]

F.E.R.C. Stats. and Regs. 31,036, clarified, 76 F.E.R.C. 61,009 & 76

F.E.R.C. 61,347 (1996) (known as Order 888).

'' New Smyrna’s committed power purchase could be satisfied by a

power plant that is exempt from obtaining a determination of need

because a plant with a capacity of less than seventy-five megawatts is

6a

the proposed plant is not authorized by section 403.519

because all but the thirty megawatts that New Smyma has

agreed to buy is uncommitted. Therefore, there is no

demonstrated specific need committed to Florida customers

who are intended to be served by this proposed plant.

In support of their position, appellants cite PSC orders in

proceedings that led to this Court’s decisions in Nassau

Power Corp. v. Beard, 601 So. 2d 1175 (Fla. 1992) (Nassau

I), and Nassau Power Corp. v. Deason, 641 So. 2d 396 (Fila.

1994) (Nassau IT) (collectively, the Nassau cases).

In the proceedings below, the five members of the PSC

were divided in their conclusions as to the decision to grant

the determination of need. The three-member maijority’s

rationale is presented by the PSC as an appellee in this Court.

In the PSC order at issue here, the PSC majority finds that

Duke and New Smyma are proper applicants pursuant to the

Siting Act, FEECA, and the Florida Administrative Code.

Order at 18-29. The majority construes section 403.519 as

requiring, pursuant to section 403.503(4), Florida Statutes

(1997), that an applicant may be any “electric utility.” /d. at

19. Utilities are defined in section 403.503(13), Florida

Statutes (1997), as “regulated electric companies.” /d. The

majority finds that Duke is a regulated electric company

pursuant to federal regulatory statutes because the statutes do

not expressly provide that “regulated electric companies” are

to be state-regulated. /d. at 20. The majority finds that even

though Duke is not a Florida retail utility, it is a regulated

electric company subject to federal regulation and certain

other Florida regulation. /d. at 19, 22-24. The majority also

finds that a determination of need properly could be based

upon the projected needs of utilities throughout peninsular

Florida rather than committed megawatt needs of specific

retail utilities. Jd. at 53-54. The majority finds the Nassau

exempt from the need determination requirement. § 403.506, Fla. Stat.

(1997).

Ta

Cases not to be on point here because those cases concerned a

wholly different issue. Jd. at 29-32. In the Nassau cases, the

PSC was asked to determine the need and standing of

qualified facilities under PURPA, the federal law regulating

cogenerators. The PSC points out that it specifically limited

its decision to the facts of those qualified-facilities cases. Id.

at 32.

In her dissenting opinion, Commissioner Clark construes

the Siting Act and FEECA to mean that a proper applicant

under section 403.519 is defined for purposes of FEECA, of

which section 403.519_is a part, as “any person or entity of

whatever form which provides electricity or natural gas at

retail to the public.” Order at 58 (quoting Ch. 80-65, § 5 at

214, Laws of Fla.) (alteration in original). She concludes that

a utility’s sale of electrical power must be a retail sale in

order for that utility to be subject to PSC regulatory authority.

Id. at 66. She notes that “wholesale sales are a matter within

the sphere of federal regulation.” Jd. Commissioner Clark

cites this Court’s Nassau cases in support of her interpretation

of the term “applicant” in section 403.519. /d. at 68. She finds

those cases to be relevant in that this Court’s rationale

focused on the types of entities enumerated in section

403.503, Florida Statutes, and “concluded that the common

denominator present in each was an obligation to serve

customers.” /d. at 68. Thus, “the need to be examined under

section 403.519, Florida Statutes, was a need resulting from

the duty to serve those customers.” Jd. Commissioner Clark

concludes her dissenting opinion by stating:

Our task in this case was to decide what the law is, not

what it ought to be. In my view, the law is clear that

Duke New Smyma is not a proper applicant under

section 403.519, Florida Statutes, and the petition must

be dismissed. We should, however, move forward with

our workshop so that we can make recommendations to

the Legislature as to what the law ought to be.

8a

Order at 71. In his dissenting opinion, Commissioner Jacobs

agrees with the majority that Duke is a proper applicant but

finds that Duke and New Smyma “failed to provide the

weight of evidence required to depart from the Commission’s

long-standing policy of relying on its own cost effectiveness

analysis of a proposed plant.” Order at 74.

In this Court, Duke and New Smyrna, who are joint

appellees with the PSC, argue that a need determination as

part of the permitting process for the proposed Duke plant

does fall within the parameters of section 403.519. They

argue that the primary determinant as to Duke’s applicant

status is whether Duke is a regulated utility. The appellees

maintain that Duke qualifies as a regulated utility because it is

regulated under federal regulatory procedures, and if Duke

receives permits to operate its proposed plant in Florida, the

plant’s operation will be regulated in part by the PSC. Duke

and New Smyma maintain that the Nassau cases were

decided in the context of need for power demonstrated by

cogenerators and that those cases do not apply here. The

appellees also rely upon the fact that Duke has filed a ees

application with New Smyma. v0

New Smyrna additionally presents two constitutional

arguments and argues that prohibiting Duke from applying

directly for a need determination would violate the dormant

Commerce Clause of the United States Constitution because

such action would unconstitutionally discriminate against out-

of-state commerce and burden interstate commerce. New

Smyrna also argues that any state requirement that Duke first

obtain a contract with a retail utility to build the project is

preempted by the federal Energy Policy Act of 1992, which

mandates a robust competitive wholesale market.

We conclude that this case is resolved on the threshold

legal issue of whether the PSC exceeded its statutory

authority in granting the present determination of need. As we

9a

stated in United Telephone Co. of Florida v. Public Service

Commission, 496 So. 2d 116 (Fla. 1986):

We note preliminarily that ‘orders of the Commission

come before this Court clothed with the statutory

presumption that they have been made within the

Commission's jurisdiction and powers, and that they are

reasonable and just and such as ought to have been

made.’ General Telephone Co. v. Carter, 115 So. 2d

554, 556 (Fla.1959) (footnote omitted). See also Citizens

v. Public Service Commission, 448 So. 2d 1024, 1026

(Fla. 1984).

Such deference, however, cannot be accorded when

the commission exceeds its authority. At the threshold,

we must establish the grant of legislative authority to act

since the commission derives its power solely from the

legislature. See Florida Bridge Co. v. Bevis, 363 So. 2d

799, 802 (Fla. 1978). As we said in Radio Telephone

Communications, Inc. v. Southeastern Telephone Co.,

170 So.2d 577, 582 (Fla.1964): ;

[O]f course, the orders of the Florida

Commission come to this court with a presumption

of regularity, Sec. 364.20, Fla. Stat., F.S.A. But we

cannot apply such presumption to support the

exercise of jurisdiction where none has been

granted by the Legislature. If there is a reasonable

doubt as to the lawful existence of a particular

power that is being exercised, the further exercise

of the power should be arrested.

496 So.2d at 118.

The precise question we consider here is:

Does section 403.519, Florida Statutes, authorize the

granting of a determination of need upon an application

for a proposed power plant for which the owner and

10a

operator is not a Florida retail utility regulated by the

PSC and for which only thirty megawatts of the plant’s

514-megawatt capacity have been committed by contract

to be sold to a Florida retail utility regulated by the PSC?

While we recognize that the PSC is correct in pointing out

that the Nassau cases were decided upon different facts and

were intended to resolve different issues, we conclude that

our analysis of the Siting Act, articulated in those decisions,

is applicable to the present case. In Nassau II, we stated:

In Nassau Power Corp. v. Beard, 691 So. 2d 1175,

1176-77 (Fla.1992), we recently explained:

The Siting Act was passed by the legislature in

1973 for the purpose of minimizing the adverse

impact of power plants on the environment. See §

403.502, Fla. Stat. (1989). That Act establishes a

site certification process that requires the PSC to

determine the need for any proposed power plants,

including cogenerators, based on the criteria set

forth in section 403.519, Florida Statutes (1989).

Section 403.519 requires the PSC to make specific

findings for each electric generating facility

proposed in Florida, as to (1) eléctric system

reliability and integrity, (2) the need to provide

adequate electricity at a reasonable cost; (3)

whether the proposed facility is the most cost-

effective alternative available for supplying

electricity; and (4) conservation measures

reasonably available to mitigate the need for the

plant.

(Footnote omitted)... .

Only an “applicant” can request a determination of

need under section 403.519. Section 403.503(4), Florida

'S lla

Statutes (1991), defines the term “applicant” as “any

electric utility which applies for certification pursuant to

the provisions of this act.” An “electric utility,” as used

in the Act,

means cities and towns, counties, public utility

districts, regulated electric companies, electric

cooperatives, and joint operating agencies, or

combinations thereof, engaged in, or authorized to

engage in, the business of generating, transmitting,

or distributing electric energy.

Sec. 403.503(13), Fla. Stat. (1991). The Commission

determined that because non-utility generators are not

included in this definition, Nassau is not a proper

applicant under section 403.519. The Commission

reasoned that a need determination proceeding is

designed to examine the need resulting from an electric

utility's duty to serve customers. Non-utility generators,

such as Nassau, have no similar need because they are

not required to serve customers.

The Commission's interpretation of section 403.519

also comports with this Court's decision in Nassau

Power Corp. v. Beard. In that decision, we rejected

Nassau's argument that “the Siting Act does not require

the PSC to determine need on a utility-specific basis.”

601 So. 2d at 1178 n.9. Rather, we agreed with the

Commission that the need to be determined under

section 403.519 is “the need of the entity ultimately

consuming the power,” in this case FPL. Jd.

641 So. 2d at 397, 398-99 (footnote omitted). Based upon our

Nassau analysis of the Siting Act, we conclude that the

granting of the determination of need on the basis of the

present application does exceed the PSC’s present authority.

A determination of need is presently available only to an

applicant that has demonstrated that a utility or utilities

12a

serving retail customers has specific committed need for all

of the electrical power to be generated at a proposed plant.

Our decision is founded upon our continuing recognition

that the regulation of the generation and sale of power in

Florida resides in the legislative branch of government.' ? The

PSC, successor to the Florida Railroad and Public Utilities

Commission, is an arm of the legislative branch in that the

Commission obtains all of its authority from legislation.'*

Originally, the Legislature did not include among the PSC’s

responsibilities the authority to approve the siting of new

power plants but left such authority to local government

entities. In 1973, the Legislature enacted the Florida

Electrical Power Plant Siting Act,'* to preempt local

government action and to consolidate approval of most state

agencies into a single license. Within that law was a

requirement that each utility submit a ten-year site plan

estimating the utility’s power generating needs and the

general location of its power plants.'* In enacting the Siting

Act, the Legislature recognized a need for statewide

perspective in selecting sites for power plants because of the

“significant impact upon the welfare of the population, the

location and growth of industry and the use of the natural

resources of the state.” See Ch. 73-33, § 1 at 73, Laws of Fla.

At that time, the role of the PSC was to prepare a “report and

recommendation as to the present and future needs for

electrical generating capacity in the area to be served by the

proposed site.” Jd. at 77.

'? We find the historical context offered by Commissioner Clark in her

dissenting opinion to be helpful. Order at 64-71. The record also contains

a relevant discussion by FPC counsel Gary L. Sasso before the PSC in

proceedings below. Record on Appeal, Vol. I of Hearing Transcript at 21-

50.

'3 § 350.001, Fla. Stat. (1997).

Ch. 73-33, § 1 at 73, Laws of Fla.

'S Ch.73-33, § 1 at 76 (codified at § 403.505, Fla. Stat. (Supp. 1974)).

— 13a

In 1980, as part of the Florida Energy Efficiency and

Conservation Act (FEECA), the Legislature changed the

PSC’s requirement of a “report and recommendation” to “a

proceeding to determine the need for an electrical power plant

subject to the Florida Electrical Power Plant Siting Act.” Ch.

80-65, § 5, at 214, Laws of Fla. (codified at section 366.86,

Fla. Stat. (1981)). By this statutory revision, the PSC was

directed to review the regulated utilities’ proposed new

plants, taking into account the need for system reliability and

integrity, th ‘eed for adequate reasonable-cost electricity and

whether a proposed plant was the most cost-effective

alternative available. See Ch. 80-65, § 5 at 217, Laws of Fla.

The need determination provision at issue in this case was

originally codified at section 366.86, Florida Statutes (1981),

which was part of FEECA. The same provision is now at

section 403.519 but continues to be listed within FEECA,

even though it is codified immediately following the Siting

Act.

The term “utility” was expressly defined for purposes of

FEECA, including section 403.519, as “any person or entity

of whatever form which provides electricity or natural gas at

retail to the public.” Ch. 80-65, § 5 at 214, Laws of Fla.

Section 366.82(1), Florida Statutes (1997), provides: “For the

purposesof §§ 366.80-366.85 [FEECA], and 403.519, ‘utility’

means any person or entity of whatever form which provides

electricity or natural gas at retail to the public.” In 1990,

statutory revisions included an amendment that changed the

term “utility” to “applicant” in the first sentence of section

403.519."°

Our reading of this statutory history leads us to continue to

conclude that the present statutory scheme was intended to

place the PSC’s determination of need within the regulatory

framework allowing Florida regulated utilities to propose new

16 § Ch 90-331, § 24, at 2598, Laws of Fla

~ l4a

power plants to provide electrical service to their Florida

customers at retail rates. This need determination, pursuant to

section 403.519, contemplates the PSC’s express con-

sideration of the statutory factors based upon demonstrated

specified needs of these Florida customers. The need

determination is part of the process that the Legislature

intended by its plain language to balance “the pressing need

for increased power generation facilities” with the necessity

that the state

ensure through available and reasonable methods that

the location and operation of electrical power plants will

produce minimal adverse effects on human health, the

environment, the ecology of the land and its wildlife,

and the ecology of state waters and their aquatic life.

§ 403.502, Fla. Stat. (1997).

Accordingly, we find that the statutory scheme embodied

in the Siting Act and FEECA was not intended to authorize

the determination of need for a proposed power plant output

that is not fully committed to use by Florida customers who

purchase electrical power at retail rates. Rather, we find that

the Legislature must enact express statutory criteria if it

intends such authority for the PSC. Pursuant only to such

legislative action will the PSC be authorized to consider the

advent of the competitive market in wholesale power

promoted by recent federal initiatives. Such statutory criteria

are necessary if the Florida regulatory procedures are

intended {0 cover this evolution in the electric power

industry.'’ The projected need of unspecified utilities

throughout peninsular Florida is not among the authorized

'7Qur conclusion is consistent with the conclusion of the North

Carolina Utilities Commission, which dismissed a similar petition by an

independent power producer that proposed a merchant plant in North

Carolina that was opposed by Duke Power Company. The Commission’s

order was affirmed. Empire Power Co. v. Duke Power Co., 112 N.C. App.

643, 437 S.E. 2d 540 (Ct. App. 1993).

15a

statutory criteria for determining whether to grant a

determination of need pursuant to section 403.519, Florida

Statutes. Moreover, we agree with appellants that the fact of

Duke’s joining with New Smyma in this arrangement for a

thirty-megawatt commitment does not transform the

application into one that complies with the Siting Act and

FEECA. |

We find no merit in the constitutional arguments advanced

by New Smyrna. As to any alleged preemption or interference

with interstate commerce, we find that power-plant siting and

need determination are areas that Congress has expressly left

to the states. '®

Accordingly, we reverse the order of the PSC on the basis

that the granting of the determination of need exceeds the

PSC’s authority pursuant to section 403.519, Florida Statutes

(1997).

It is so ordered.

HARDING, C.J., and SHAW, WELLS, PARIENTE, LEWIS

and QUINCE, JJ., concur.

ANSTEAD, J., dissents with an opinion.

ANSTEAD, J., dissenting.

I cannot concur in the majority’s conclusion that the

Florida Legislature has clearly prohibited the proposed action

of the Commission. Indeed, it appears to me that the

prohibition is based upon a strained and artificial construction

'§ The Energy Policy Act of 1992, Pub. L. 102-486, Title VIII, Subtitle

C, State and Local Authorities, section 731, provides:

Nothing in this title or in any amendment made by this title shall

be construed as affecting or intending to affect, or in any way to

interfere with, the authority of any State or local government

relating to environmental protection or the siting of facilities.

16a

of various provisions of the legislative scheme that have little

bearing on the issue before us today. In fact, even under the

strained construction of the majority the issue would be not

whether the petitioning utilities were proper applicants, but

whether the capacity required should be permitted.

I am especially concerned with the majority’s conclusion

that it will not find Commission authority to act absent

“express statutory criteria” for the specific circumstances

presented here. Clearly, the Commission was created to

regulate utilities secking to operate in Florida. In my view

that is precisely what the Commission is doing here.

17a

APPENDIX B

SUPREME COURT OF FLORIDA

Nos. SC95444; SC95445; SC95446

TAMPA ELECTRIC CO.; FLORIDA POWER CORP.;

and FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT Co.,

Appellants,

vs.

JOE GARCIA, ef al., as the FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION; UTILITIES COMMISSION, CITY OF NEW

SMYRNA BEACH; and DUKE ENERGY NEW SMYRNA BEACH

POWER Co., LTD., LLP.,

Appellees.

[September 28, 2000]

In light of the revised opinion, the Motions for Rehearing

filed by Appellees Florida Public Service Commission, Duke

Energy New Smyrna Beach Power Co., Ltd., L.L.P., the

Utilities Commission, City of New Smyrna Beach, and Legal

Environmental Assistance Foundation, are hereby denied.

SHAW, HARDING, PARIENTE, LEWIS AND QUINCE,

JJ., concur.

ANSTEAD, J., dissents.

WELLS C.J., recused as of the date of the filing of the

Motion for Leave to Appear as Amicus Curiae on Rehearing

and Incorporated Motion for Rehearing by Enron North

America (“Enron”), and did not participate in the Motion for

Rehearing.

18a

The Motion for Leave to Appear as Amicus Curiae on

Rehearing filed by Enron North America (“Enron”) is hearby

granted.

HARDING, ANSTEAD, PARIENTE and LEWIS, JJ., concur

SHAW and QUINCE JJ., dissent.

WELLS C.J., recused as of the date of the filing of the

Motion for Leave to Appear as Amicus Curiae on Rehearing

and Incorporated Motion for Rehearing by Enron North

America (“Enron”), and did not participate in the Motion for

Rehearing. =

The Motion for Rehearing filed by Amicus Curiae, Enron

North America (“Enron”), is hearby denied in light of the

revised opinion.

SHAW, HARDING, LEWIS and QUINCE, JJ., concur.

ANSTEAD and PARIENTE, JJ., dissent.

WELLS, C.J., recused as of the date of the filing of the

Motion for Leave to Appear as Amicus Curiae on Rehearing

and Incorporated Motion for Rehearing by Enron North

America (“Enron”), and did not participate in the Motion for

Rehearing.

A True Copy

Test:

/s/ Thomas D. Hall

THOMAS D. HALL [SEAL] —

Clerk, Supreme Court

19a

Served:

Richard C. Bellak

Stephen H. Grimes

D. Bruce May

Karen D. Walker

Susan L. Kelsey

Brent C. Bailey

Robert Scheffel Wright

John T. LaVia, I

Alan C, Sundberg

Steven G. Gey

Gail Kamaras

Alvin B. Davis

John T. Butler

Gabriel E. Nieto

Matthew M. Crilds

Charles A. Guyton

Robert Pass

Joseph H. Lang, Jr.

James A. McGee

Jeff Froeschle

Thomas R. Julin

Bill L. Bryant

Katherine E. Giddings

Harry W. Long, Jr.

Lee L. Willis

James D. Beasley

Mark Seidenfeld

Bruce May

Susan L. Kelsey

Daniel S. Pearson

John C. Moyle, Jr.

Robert J. Sniffen

Leslie J. Paugh

Grace A. Jaye

David J. White

William B. Willingham

Michelle Hershel

Terry L. Kammer

Donaid F. Santa, Jr.

Edward M. Mullins

Sandra K. Wolkov

Sylvia H. Walbolt

Gary L. Sasso

20a

APPENDIX C

BEFORE THE FLORIDA PUBLIC SERVICE

COMMISSION

DOCKET NO, 981042-EM

ORDER NO. PSC-99-0535-FOF-EM

ISSUED: March 22, 1999

IN RE: JOINT PETITION FOR DETERMINATION OF NEED FOR AN

ELECTRICAL POWER PLANT IN VOLUSIA COUNTY BY THE

UTILITIES COMMISSION, CITY OF NEW SMYRNA BBACH,

FLORIDA, AND DUKE ENERGY NEW SMYRNA BEACH POWER

COMPANY LTp., L.L.P.

The Following Commissioners participated in the disposition

of this matter:

Jo—E GARCIA, CHAIRMAN, J. TERRY DEASON, SUSAN F.

CLARK, JULIA L. JOHNSON, E. LEON JACOBS, JR.

ORDER GRANTING DETERMINATION OF NEED

BY THE COMMISSION:

ABBREVIATIONS/ACRONYMS

City - The Utilities Commission, City of New Smyrna Beach,

Florida

Commission - Florida Public Service Commission

DEP - Florida Department of Environmental Protection

—DSM - Demand Side Management

Duke New Smyma - Duke Energy New Smyma Beach Power

Company Ltd., L.L.P.

Enron - Enron Power Marketing

21a

EWG - Exempt Wholesale Generator

FEECA - Florida Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act

FERC - Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

FGT - Florida Gas Transmission Company

FMPA - Florida Municipal Power Agency

FPC - Florida Power Corporation

FPL - Florida Power and Light Company

FRCC - Florida Reliability Coordinating Council

IOU - Investor-Owned Utility e

IPP - Independent Power Producer

JEA - Jacksonville Electric Authority

Joint Petitioners - The Utilities Commission, City of New

Smyrna Beach, Florida and Duke Energy

New Smyrma Beach Power Company

Ltd., L.L.P.

LEAF - Legal Environmental Assistance Foundation, Inc.

MW - Megawatt

MWH - Megawatt-hour

OUC - Orlando Utilities Commission

PPSA - Florida Electrical Power Plant Siting Act

Project - New Smyrna Beach Power Project

QF - Qualifying Facility

TECO - Tampa Electric Company : |

UCNSB - The Utilities Commission, City of New Smyma |

Beach, Florida |

22a

CASE BACKGROUND

On August 19, 1998, the Utilities Commission, City of

New Smyma Beach, Florida, and Duke Energy New Smyma

Beach Power Company Lid., L.L.P. filed a Joint Petition For

Determination Of Need For An Electrical Power Plant

pursuant to Section 403.519, Florida Statutes. The proposed -

plant is a 514 megawatt natural gas fired, combined cycle

plant together with a natural gas lateral pipeline and

associated transmission facilities to be located in Volusia

County, Florida, adjacent to Interstate 95. The Utilities

Commission, City of New Smyrna Beach, a municipal

electric utility within the meaning of Section 366.02(2),

Florida Statutes, has an entitlement to 30 megawatts of the

proposed plant’s capacity and energy associated with the

capacity. The City will use the capacity and ciergy to serve

its retail customers. Duke New Smyrna will build, own, ana

operate the plant and will market the balance of the capacity

and energy (approximately 484 MW) on the wholesale power

market. As such, except for the 30 megawatts entitlement

provided to the City, the proposed plant will be a merchant

plant. The term “merchant plant” as used in this order is a

power plant with no rate base and no captive retail customers.

There are seven intervenors and one amicus curiae in this —

docket. The intervenors are: Florida Power & Light Com-

pany; Florida Power Corporation; Tampa Electric Company;

Florida Electric Cooperatives Association, Inc.; Legal

Environmental Assistance Foundation, Inc.; U.S. Generating

Company; and System Council U-4, International

Brotherhood of Electrical Workers. The amicus curiae is

Louisville Gas & Electric Energy Corporation. A hearing

was held on December 2-4 and December 11 and 18, 1998.

On December 2, we heard oral argument on Motions To

Dismiss filed by FPL and FPC and Responses in Opposition

of Joint Petitioners and LG&E Energy. We then heard

testimony of 11 witnesses during the remaining four days of

ieiicas

23a

the hearing. Oral argument on the Motions To Dismiss was

continued to January 28, 1998, following submission of post-

hearing briefs by the parties.

There are a broad range of legal, policy and factual issues

in this docket. The Motions To Dismiss will be addressed

first in this order because they represent threshold issues. A

Motion For Reconsideration and a Motion To Strike are

addressed following the discussion of the Motions To

Dismiss. Next, the order addresses factual issues relating to

whether the proposed plant meets the criteria of Section

403.519, Florida Statutes, the adequacy of the ancillary

facilities associated with the plant, and the nature of the

participation agreement between the Joint Petitioners.

MOTIONS TO DISMISS

I. BACKGROUND AND SUMMARY OF HOLDING

On September 8, 1998, Florida Power & Light Company

filed a Motion To Dismiss Joint Petition, Request For Oral

Argument, and Memorandum Of Law Supporting Motion To

Dismiss (FPL Sept. Memorandum). Also on September 8,

1998, Florida Power Corporation filed a Motion To Dismiss

Proceeding (FPC Motion) and Request For Oral Argument.

On September 15, 1998, Joint Petitioners filed a

Memorandum Of Law In Oppositien To Florida Power &

Light Company’s Motion To Dismiss Joint Petition (Joint

Pet. FPL Memorandum). On September 21, 1998, Joint

Petitioners filed a Memorandum Of Law In Opposition To

Florida Power Corporation’s Motion To Dismiss Proceeding

(Joint Pet. FPC Memorandum). On November 23, 1998,

LG&G Energy Corporation filed an Amicus Curiae

Memorandum Of Law in opposition to the Motions To

Dismiss (LG&G Memorandum). Oral argument was heard at

24a

the commencement of the hearing on December 2, 1998, and

again on January 28, 1999, subsequent to the filing of briefs

by the parties. This section of the order addresses the

Motions To Dismiss. This section of the order is divided into

three broad subject-matter categories: statutory and rule

analysis; decisional law analysis; and constitutional law

analysis.

As set forth in detail below, we deny the Motions To

Dismiss because Joint Petitioners have stated a cause of

action upon which relief can be granted. Joint Petitioners

have adequately alleged all of the applicable elements

required for a need determination pursuant to Section

403.519, Florida Statutes. They have also demonstrated that

they are “electric utilities” pursuant to the Power Plant Siting

Act; that Duke New Smyma is an “investor-owned electric

company” pursuant to Chapter 366; and, that the Project is a

“joint electric power supply project” pursuant to Chapter 361,

Florida Statutes. Furthermore, decisional law does not

require dismissal of the petition. Finally, it is not necessary

for us to address on the constitutional issues in order to

adjudicate the Motions To Dismiss.

Il. STATUTORY AND RULE BASES FOR NEED

DETEP.MINATION PROCEEDINGS

Need determination proceedings in Florida are governed by

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, Exclusive Forum For

Determination Of Need. in order to analyze the extensive

legal arguments made by the parties in conjunction with the

Motions To Dismiss, it is instructive to summarize the terms

contained in the statute relative to entities which may initiate

need proceedings.

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, provides in pertinent

part:

25a

On request by an applicant or on its own motion, the

commission shall begin a proceeding to determine the

need for an electrical power plant subject to the Florida

Electrical Power Plant Siting Act . . . . The commission

shall be the sole forum for the determination of this

matter... . In making its determination, the commission

shall take into account the need for electric system

reliability and integrity, the need for adequate electricity

at a reasonable cost, and whether the proposed plant is

the most cost-effective alternative available. The

commission shall also expressly consider the conser-

vation measures taken by or reasonably available to the

applicant or its members which might mitigate the need

for the proposed plant and other matters within its

jurisdiction which it deems relevant. The commission’s

determination of need for an electrical power plant shall

create a presumption of public need and necessity. . . .

Section 403.503(4), Florida Statutes, defines an “applicant”

as:

any electric utility which applies for certification

pursuant to the provisions of this act.

“Electric utility” is defined in Section 403.503(13), Florida

Statutes, as follows:

cities and towns, counties, public utility districts,

regulated electric companies, electric cooperatives, and

joint operating agencies, or combinations thereof,

engaged in, or authorized to engage in, the business of

generating, transmitting, or distributing electric energy.

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, was enacted in 1980,

Chapter 80-65, Laws of Florida, and amended in 1990,

Chapter 90-331, Laws of Florida. The Florida Electrical

Power Plant Siting Act, was enacted in 1973, Chapter 73-33,

Laws of Florida, and amended in 1976, Chapter 76-76, Laws

of Florida, and in 1990, Chapter 90-331, Laws of Florida,

26a

Sections 403.501-403.518, Florida Statutes. Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes, is not part of the PPSA.

Need determination proceedings in Florida are also

governed by Rule 25-22.081, Florida Administrative Code.

The Rule provides in pertinent part:

Petitions submitted to commence a proceeding to

determine the need for a proposed electrical power plant

. . Shall contain the following information:

(1) A general description of the utility or utilities

primarily affected. .. .

(2) A general description of the proposed electrical

power plant. . .

(3) A statement of the _ specific conditions,

_ contingencies or other factors which indicate a need

for the proposed electrical power plant.... Ifa

determination is sought on some basis in addition to

or in lieu of capacity needs, such as oil backout,

then detailed analysis and supporting documen-

tation of the costs and benefits is required.

(4) A summary discussion of the major available

generating alternatives. .. .

(5) A discussion of viable nongenerating alternatives.

(6) -An evaluation of the adverse consequences which

will result if the proposed electrical power plant is

not added. ...

(7) If the generation addition is the result of a

purchased power agreement between an investor-

owned utility and a nonutility generator, the petition

shall include a discussion of the potential for

increases or decreases in the utility’s cost of capital.

27a

Il. SUMMARY OF ARGUMENTS OF THE

PARTIES

A. WHETHER DUKE NEW SMYRNA AND THE

CITY ARE PROPER APPLICANTS PUR-

SUANT TO FLORIDA STATUTES AND

FLORIDA ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

1. FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY

FPL argues that the Joint Petition does not meet the

requirements of Florida Statutes or Florida Administrative

Code and therefore, must be dismissed. With respect to

Florida Statutes, FPL states that the Joint Petition fails to

allege with specificity the manner in which it meets the

statutory criteria. With respect to the rule requirements, FPL

argues that the Joint Petition fails to satisfy the criteria of

Rule 25-22.081, Florida Administrative Code.

2. FLORIDA POWER CORPORATION

By contrast to FPL’s criteria-specific attack on the Joint

Petition, FPC’s arguments for dismissal are based on its

global construction of the statutory framework of generation

siting and planning. FPC’s first argument is that the Florida

Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act’s limitation to retail

utilities, likewise limits Section 403.519 to only retail

utilities. Therefore, only retail utilities may be applicants for

a need determination. FPC’s second statutory argument for

dismissal relates to the 1973 enactment of the Power Plant

Siting Act” which included the Ten Year Site Plan (TYSP)

requirements.

' Sections 366.80-366.85 and 403.519, Florida Statutes; Chapter 80-65,

Section 5, Laws of Florida.

? Sections 403.501-403.518, Florida Statutes, Chapter 73-33, Laws of

Florida.

es eee Le or eee

‘ ; ‘ 4 ey SSP RN aE SP, RNS MR et ey i Soe eo

ate RD. PADRE Petes hE ARS Roc oa gy Pe PY ioe ties Ck Satay ¢ Pa Tu We has

INSEE eae I EP ae Coma, Pee Gm EN fv Ros Ns Gale ss a Be r .

28a

3. DUKE NEW SMYRNA/THE CITY

Joint Petitioners advance three argumexts in support of

their position that they are proper applicarits pursuant to

Florida Statutes. First, they maintain that both the City and

Duke New Smyma are proper applicants under Section

403.519, Florida Statutes. Only “electric utilities” may be

“applicants” for a need determination. The City is an

“electric utility” because it is a municipality serving retail

customers. Duke New Smyrna is an “electric utility” because

it is a “regulated electric company”, regulated by the Federal

Energy Regulatory Commission. Joint Petitioners’ second

argument is that they are “electric utilities” pursuant to

Section 366.02(2), Florida Statutes and therefore subject to

the Commission’s Grid Bil? and TYSP jurisdiction. Third,

Joint Petitioners argue that they have standing to pursue the

requested need determination because the project is a “joint

electric power supply project” under Chapter 361, Florida

Statutes. In addition to the statutory arguments, Joint

Petitioners rebut FPL’s and FPC’s assertions that the Joint

Petition does not meet the pleading requirements of Florida

Statutes and Florida Administrative Code.

B. WHETHER DUKE NEW SMYRNA/THE

CITY ARE PROPER APPLICANTS PUR-

SUANT TO DECISIONAL LAW

1. FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY

The foundation of FPL’s argument for dismissal of the

Joint Petition is its assertion that Duke New Smyrna is not a

proper applicant pursuant to decisional law. As authority for

its position, FPL cites In Re: Petition of Nassau Power

Corporation To Determine Need For Electrical Power Plant

>The provisions of Chapter 366, Florida Statutes, referred to as the

Grid Bill consist of Sections 366.04(2), 366.04(5), 366.05(7), and

366.05(8); Chapter 74-96, Laws of Florida.

_—.

29a

(Okeechobee County Cogeneration Facility), Docket Nos.

920769-EQ , 920761-EQ, 920762-E and 920783-EQ, Order

No. PSC-92-1210-FOF-EQ, issued October 26, 1992 (Ark

and Nassau) and Nassau Power Corporation v. Beard, 601

So.2d 1175 (Fla. 1992) (Nassau I). Under FPL’s interpre-

tation of the decisions, no non-utility generator may seek a

need determination without first obtaining a contract with a

state-regulated utility with an obligation to serve. The Ark_

and Nassau decision was appealed by Nassau and upheld by

the Florida Supreme Court. Nassau Power Corporation v.

Deason, 641 So.2d 396 (Fla. 1994). (Nassau IN) According to

FPL, a non-utility generator without a contract with a state-

regulated electric utility is not a proper applicant under the

Siting Act.

2. FLORIDA POWER CORPORATION

Like FPL, FPC argues that the Nassau - decisions

conclusively determine that a need proceeding under Section

403.519 may only be brought by a retail utility or an entity

with a contract with a retail utility. In addition, FPC

acknowledges that controlled overbuilding may be. prudent

because of economies of scale, but that does not negate the

necessity of demonstrating utility specific need for the

reasonably foreseeable future.

3. DUKE NEW SMYRNA/THE CITY

Joint Petitioners distinguish the Nassau cases and state that

the cases do not constitute precedent in this proceeding

because they arose on different facts. The difference is

Captive ratepayers. According to Joint Petitioners, Nassau I

and // represent the law of non-utility generators seeking to

bind retail utilities, and thus captive ratepayers, to long term

power contracts. The Nassau cases addressed need and

30a

standing of qualifying facilities.* The instant petition is

distinguishable according to the Joint Petitioners because

Duke New Smyrna is not seeking to force retail utilities to

purchase the Project’s merchant output.

C. DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE AND

FEDERAL PREEMPTION

1. FLORIDA POWER & LIGHT COMPANY

FPL contests Joint Petitioners’ constitutional arguments in

three ways. First, FPL asserts that the Joint Petitioners are

improperly attempting to have the Commission decide

constitutional issues more properly reserved to the courts.

Second, relying on Commonwealth Edison Co. v. State of

Montana, 453 U.S. 609 (1981), FPL argues that general

Congressional policy statements regarding wholesale

competition do not demonstrate preemption of all state

legislation on that subject. Third, relying on General Motors

Corp. v. Tracy, 519 U.S. 278 (1997), FPL asserts that the

dormant Commerce Clause does not create an absolute

restriction on a state’s ability to regulate. Instead, there is a

traditional recognition of state’s dominion over health and

safety issues.

2. FLORIDA POWER CORPORATION

FPC advances three arguments in rebuttal to Duke’s

assertion that application of the Nassau decisions to the

instant petition is preempted by the Energy Policy Act of

1992 under the Supremacy Clause of the United States

Constitution. First, FPC argues that the Legislature’s

reenactment of Section 403.519 and the PPSA subsequent to

the Nassau decisions’ definitive interpretation thereof cannot

“A qualifying facility is defined as a small power producer or

cogenerator that meets the threshold efficiency standards set forth by the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission pursuant to PURPA, 18 C.F.R.

Sec. 292.201-.211 (1991).

3la

be overturned. Second, FPC argues that an administrative

agency cannot declare a state statute unconstitutional. Third,

FPC argues that federal law does not preempt states’ control

over siting new generation. With respect to the dormant

Commerce Clause, FPC argues that generation siting and

need determination are not areas Congress intended to

regulate. Instead, they have been left to the states. In the

alternative, FPC argues that even if Congress did intend to

regulate need determinations, Florida’s scheme would

withstand constitutional scrutiny.

3. DUKE NEW SMYRNA/THE CITY

Joint Petitioners advance two constitutional law arguments

in support of their position that a contract with a retail utility

is not required to invest them with standing to bring this need

determination proceeding. The first constitutional law

argument is that prohibiting Duke New Smyma from

applying directly for a need determination would violate the

dormant Commerce Clause because such action would

unconstitutionally discriminate against out-of-state commerce

and would unconstitutionally burden interstate commerce.

Relying on Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978)

and Pike v. Bruce Church, 397 U.S. 137 (1970) Duke New

Smyma argues that regulations giving local economic

interests a competitive advantage are uncon-

stitutional. Duke New Smyrna’s second constitutional law

argument is that requiring it to first obtain a contract with a

retail utility to build the project is preempted by federal utility

law which mandates a robust competitive wholesale market.

Relying on Pacific Gas & Electric Co. v. State Energy

Resources Conservation & Dev. Comm., 461 U.S. 190

(1983), Duke New Smyrna maintains that FPL’s and FPC’s

interpretations of “applicant” stand as an obstacle to the

accomplishment of federal purposes.

32a

IV. ANALYSIS

A. STANDARD OF REVIEW

A motion to dismiss raises as a question of law, whether

the petition alleges sufficient facts to state a cause of action.

Varnes v. Dawkins, 624 So.2d 349, 350 (Fla. Ist DCA 1993);

In re: Petition By Tampa Electric Company For Approval Of

Cost Recovery For A New Environmental Program, The Big

Bend Units 1 & 2 Flue Gas Desulfurization System, Docket

No. 980693-EI, Order No. PSC-98-1260-PCO-EI, issued

September 22, 1998, pg. 6. The standard for disposing of

motions to dismiss is whether, with all allegations in the

petition assumed to be true, the petition states a cause of

action upon which relief may be granted. Jd. When making

this determination, the tribunal must consider only the

petition. All reasonable inferences drawn from the petition

must be made in favor of the petitioner. Id.

In order to determine whether the petition states a cause of

action upon which relief may be granted, it is necessary to

examine the elements needed to be alleged under the

substantive law on the matter. All of the elements of a cause

of action must be properly alleged in a pleading that seeks

affirmative relief. If they are not, the pleading should be

dismissed. Kislak v. Kredian, 95 So.2d 510, (Fla. 1957)

The substantive law governing this docket is Section

403.519, Florida Statutes. The Joint Petition For Determi-

nation Of Need For An Electrical Power Plant states a cause

of action upon which relief can be granted because it alleges

all of the required elements. The Joint Petition directly

addresses the five criteria of Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes: 1) the need for electric system reliability and

integrity; 2) the need for adequate electricity at a reasonable

cost; 3) whether the Project is the most cost-effective

alternative available; 4) conservation measures; and 5) other

matters within our jurisdiction. In addition, the Joint Petition

33a

meets all applicable requirements of Rule 25-22.081, Florida

Administrative Code.

In sum, on its face, the Joint Petition withstands the

challenges of the Motions To Dismiss. —It is not necessary for

the Joint Petitioners to have anticipated all conceivable

defenses and allege facts which would be sufficient to negate

or avoid them. 7.B. Fletcher v. Williams, 153 So.2d 759, 764

(Fla. Ist DCA 1963). Taking all the well-pleaded allegations

of the Joint Petition as true, a cause of action has been

adequately alleged to justify denial of the Motions. Jd.

In addition to the foregoing analysis, we also deny the

Motions To Dismiss on the specific arguments of the parties.

At issue in this docket is whether an Exempt Wholesale

Generator can be -an “applicant” for a need determination.

Distilled to their essence, the parties’ positions are as follows:

Joint Petitioners allege that they are proper applicants,

individually and collectively, under the plain language of the

governing statutes. FPL and FPC argue that, as to the

merchant portion of the Project’s output, Duke New Smyrna

must have a contract with a retail utility before it can seek a

need determination. This is a case of first impression. We

disagree with the interpretations of statutes and precedent

presented by the movants and agree that the ordinary meaning

of the statutes encompass an EWG applying for a need

determination.

B. DUKE NEW SMYRNA AND THE CITY ARE

PROPER APPLICANTS PURSUANT TO

FLORIDA STATUTES AND FLORIDA

ADMINISTRATIVE CODE

1. Florida Statutes

Joint Petitioners’ arguments supporting their status as

applicants are compelling. Joint Petitioners argue that,

individually and collectively, they are proper applicants

within the broader regulatory framework as well as the

Sa PN PO eM ET) OP re ps ee ae nee Fee Petes TO eee ;'

RELA Cae eV eee

34a

specific provisions of Section 403.519, Florida Statutes. Joint

Petitioners also effectively rebut FPL and FPC’s arguments to

the contrary.

a. Section 403.519, Florida Statutes And the

Power Plant Siting Act

.Jt.icauncontowerted that the Citv is a,prgner applicant for a

need determination. The City is a retail-serving municipal

electric utility and thus, one of the seven enumerated entities

within Section 403.503(13). The City has an entitlement to

30 megawatts of the Project’s capacity and has the con-

tractual right to purchase energy associated with that

capacity. The City will use the capacity and energy to serve

the needs of its retail customers.

Duke New Smyma is also a proper applicant for a need

determination. Duke New Smyma maintains that it is a

proper applicant for a need determination both as a joint

applicant with the City, and individually as a “regulated

electric company”. Duke New Smyrna argues that it is an

“applicant” in its own right based on the plain meaning of the

definitions contained in the PPSA and the Grid Bill. In

addition, Duke New Smyma alleges that the Project is a Joint

Electrical Power Supply Project within the meaning of

Chapter 361, Florida Statutes.

As set forth above, Section 403.503(13), Florida Statutes,

defines “applicant” as any “electric utility” which, in turn, is

defined, among other things, as “regulated electric

companies”. Thus, a regulated electric company is a proper

applicant pursuant to the plain language of the statute.

Duke New Smyma is both “regulated” and an “electric

~~ company” and therefore clearly meets the statutory definition

of applicant. Duke New Smyma is a public utility pursuant to

the Federal Power Act, 16 U.S.C. Sec 824(b)(1) (FPA) and an

EWG pursuant to the Public Utility Holding Company Act of

1935, 15 U.S.C. Secs. 79z-5a. As a public utility and an

35a

EWG, Duke New Smyma is regulated by the Federal Energy

Regulatory Commission.

Ir. addition to being a regulated electric company, Duke

New Smyrna will be engaged in at least one of the qualifying

activities listed in Section 403.503(13). The definition is

phrased in the disjunctive. An “electric utility” is one of the

enumerated enuties which must be engaged in the business of

generating, transmitting, or distributing electric energy. “In

its elementary sense, the word ‘or,’ as used in a statute, is a

disjunctive article indicating an alternative.” TEDC/Shell

City, Inc. v. Robbins, 690 So.2d 1323, 1325 FN4 (Fla. 3rd

DCA 1997) quoting 49 Fla. Jur2d Statutes § 137, at

179(1984). Clearly, the Legislature intended the Power Plant

Siting Act to govern electric utilities performing one or more

of those functions. Duke New Smyrna proposes to engage in

generation, and to a limited extent, transmission, of elec-

tricity. It therefore complies with the functional requirement

of the statute.

FPL’s and FPC’s arguments that Duke New Smyma should

not be granted applicant status require us to add limiting

language to the PPSA statutory definitions. FPL’s argument

is that “regulated electric company” means “state regulated

electric company”. FPC’s argument is that “electric utility”

means “retail electric utility”. In combination, FPL and FPC

would require that in order to build a power plant in the State

of Florida, it is necessary to be a vertically-integrated utility,

serving retail customers, subject to traditional rate regulation

of the Commission. We find that the argument is not

supported by the facts or the law. FPL’s interpretation is

based primarily on its analysis of decisional law and is

addressed in a different section of this order. FPC’s argument

is discussed below.

Section 403,503(13), Florida Statutes, does not use the

word “retail” before the phrase “electric utility”. Yet, FPC

argues that the word “retail” should be read into the statute.

36a

To reach its conclusion, FPC analyzes the enactment of

Florida Energy Efficiency and Conservation Act and submits

an “interchangeable definition” argument. Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes, was enacted in 1980 as part of FEECA.

According to FPC, because Section 366.82, Florida Statutes,

limits the definition of “utility” to a retail provider, that same

limitation applies to the definition of “applicant” as that term

is used Section 403.519, Florida Statutes. “The most --

reasonable construction of these terms is that the Legislature

used the words “electric utility,” “utility,” and “applicant”

interchangeably for purposes of electric industry need

proceedings. . . .”. FPC’s conclusion is that Duke lacks

standing to bring the instant proceeding because it is a

wholesale and not a retail power producer.

FPC’s analysis is incorrect. First, while Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes, is not part of the PPSA, its definitions are

governed by the PPSA, not FEECA. Section 403.519-Florida—

Statutes, states, in part: “On request by an applicant . . . the

commission shall begin a proceeding to determine the need

for an electrical power plant subject to the Power Plant Siting

Act... .” (emphasis added) The PPSA defines and governs

“applicants”. By contrast, FEECA defines and governs

“utilities”. Neither the PPSA nor Section 403.519 Florida

Statutes, use the word “utility” as a defining entity and, thus,

are not governed by the FEECA definition.

Second, FPC’s assertion that “applicants” are the same as

FEECA “retail utilities” utterly disregards the law relative to

entities required to file need determinations under the PPSA.

Section 366.82 of FEECA exempts small electric coop-

eratives and municipalities with sales of less than 2,000

gigawatt hours. The cities of Tallahassee, Lakeland and

Kissimmee, and Seminole Electric Cooperative are all exempt

from FEECA. Notwithstanding that, all four entities must file

for need determinations with this Commission. The City of

Lakeland currently has a petition for need determination

37a

pending before us. (Docket No. 990023-EM) The City of

Kissimmee was granted a need determination in late 1998.

(Docket No. 980802-EM, Order No. PSC-98-1301-FOF-EM,

issued October 7, 1998) The City of Tallahassee was granted

a need determination in the summer of 1997. (Docket No.

961512-EM, Order No. PSC-97-0659-FOF-EM, issued June

9, 1997) Seminole Electric Cooperative was granted a need

determination in 1994, (Docket No. 931212-EC, Order No.

PSC-94-0761-FOF-EC, issued June 21, 1994) Under FPC’s

construction of FEECA, none of these entities would have to

file petitions for need determination. Clearly FPC’s analysis

is inconsistent with the requirements of the PPSA.

Third, the FPC’s interchangeable deiinition argument

ignores two fundamental tenets of statutory construction.

When a definition of a word or phrase is provided in a statute,

that. meaning must be ascribed to the word or phrase

whenever it is repeated in the statute unless contrary intent

clearly appears. Vocelle v. Knight Brothers Paper Company,

Inc., 118 So.2d 664, (Fla. Ist DCA 1960) In addition, when

different definitions are provided for different sections, the

distinctions must be presumed to be intentional. Florida

State Racing Commission v. Bourquardez, 42 So.2d 87 (Fila.

1949)(The presence of a provision in one portion of a statute

and its absence from another are an argument against reading

it as implied by the section from which it is omitted). The

greater weight of authority is clearly in favor of refraining

from amending the statute by administrative decision as

advocated by FPC. Thus, we hold that it is not necessary to be

a retail electricity provider to be an applicant under the PPSA.

b. Chapters 366 and 186, Florida Statutes;

The Grid Bill And TYSP

Duke New Smyrna has not come to this proceeding

seeking to build a power plant while at the same time

exempting itself from ongoing regulatory jurisdiction of the

38a

Commission. On the contrary, Duke New Smyrna agrees that

it is subject to the Commission’s Grid Bill and TYSP

regulatory requirements. We agree. This fact effectively

negates FPL’s and FPC’s arguments for dismissal that Duke

New Smyrna cannot be an applicant under the PPSA because

it is not subject to the broader regulatory framework. — ay

Duke New Smyma is an “electric utility” pursuant to

Chapter 366 and is, therefore, subject to our Grid Bill

authority. Section 366.02(2) defines “electric utility” as:

any municipal electric utility, investor-owned electric

company, or rural electric cooperative which owns,

maintains, or operates an electric generation, trans-

mission or distribution system within the state.

This statute is also worded in the disjunctive. Owning one

of the three electricity functions is sufficient to bring an

investor-owned electric company within its express terms.

Duke New Smyrna is an “investor-owned electric company”

in that it is owned by its partners, Duke Energy Power

Services Mulberry GP, Inc. and Duke Energy Global Asset

Development, Inc. In addition, the Project will be generating

electricity thus meeting the functional requirements.

An important nuance of this argument is that FPL’s and

FPC’s restrictive interpretations have the effect of dimin-

ishing our grid responsibility. Duke New Smyrna interprets

our Grid Bill jurisdiction more broadly:

The Opponents’ argument that one power plant does not

constitute a “system” is spurious and would irrationally

deprive the Commission of jurisdiction over such power

plants. For example, if an existing power plant in

Florida was sold to an EWG that then operated the plant ~

as a merchant facility, the Opponents’ rationale would

leave the Commission without authority or jurisdiction

39a

to fulfill its Grid Bill responsibilities with respect to such

plant. ;

(Joint Pet. Brief, pg. 18)

We agree with Duke New Smyrna’s interpretation of Section

366.02(2), Florida Statutes. That analysis gives efficacy to

the plain meaning of the whole statute. “When the words of a

statute are plain and unambiguous the courts must give to

them their plain meaning. . .. A statute should be so

construed as to give a meaning to every word and phrase in it

and, if possible, so as to avoid the necessity of going outside

the statute for aids to construction.” Vocelle, at 667.

Like its interchangeable definition argument, FPC’s

statutory analysis relating to the 1973 enactment of the Power

Plant Siting Act is also problematic. The enactment of the

PPSA included the Ten Year Site Plan (TYSP) requirements

now codified at Section 186.801, Florida Statutes. FPC’s

hypothesis is that because the TYSP provisions require each

electric utility to submit plans estimating its generation needs,

TYSP submissions are therefore impliedly limited to retail

utilities because “only a retail utility can have “its” own

power generating needs because only a retail utility is

obligated to sell power to the public.” (FPC Brief pg. 12)

FPC’s logic is that because the PPSA was enacted at the same

time as the TYSP provisions, and the TYSP provisions are by

implication limited to retail utilities, the PPSA is likewise

limited to retail utilities. Thus, notwithstanding the fact that

the PPSA does not use the term “retail” in any of its

provisions, FPC urges us to insert the word into the PPSA.

FPC’s argument fails in two ways. First, as stated above,

Section 403.503(13), Florida Statutes, is worded in the

disjunctive. If the Legislature had intended the PPSA to be

limited to vertically-integrated retail utilities, it would have

used the conjunctive “and” or it would have specified “retail”

utilities. Elsewhere in the statutory regulatory framework, the

40a

limitation to retail is express.” In the absence of ambiguity, it

is inappropriate for us to look outside the four corners of the

statute for guidance as to its application. Armstrong v. City of

Edgewater, 157 So.2d 422 (Fla. 1963) Second, an electric

utility that is engaged only in generation is necessarily a

wholesale power producer. It is logical that the Legislature

intended to address the broader spectrum of power producers

in order to fully effectuate its purposes of environmental

protection. This position is supported by the fact that the

Legislature has recognized specific exemptions to the

PPSA—steam or solar electrical generating facilities of less

than 75 megawatts in capacity. Section 403.503(12), Florida

Statutes. Obviously, the Legislature was aware of the

different types of generation which may seek to be permitted

under the PPSA. It is inappropriate for us to amend the

statute, as advocated by FPC, by administrative decision in

the absence of ambiguity.

c. Joint Electrical Power Supply Projects

Pursuant To Chapter 361, Part II, Florida _

Statutes

In addition to its arguments that it is an applicant pursuant

to Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, Duke New Smyma

argues that the Project is a Joint Electrical Power Supply

Project pursuant to Chapter 361, Part II, Florida Statutes.

Joint operating agencies are one of the enumerated applicants

under the PPSA. Section 361.12, Florida Statutes provides

that an “electric utility” is authorized to join with a “foreign

public utility’ for the purpose of “jointly financing

constructing, managing, operating, or owning any project or

projects.” “Electric utility” is defined as: ~

* Section 366.82;-Florida Statutes, defines “utility” as an entity that

provides electricity “at retail to the public”.

4la

any municipality, authority, commission, or other public

body, . . . which owns or operates an electrical energy

generation, transmission, or distribution system within

the state on June 25, 1975.

Section 366.11(12), Florida Statutes.

“Foreign public utility” is defined as:

any person, as defined in subsection (3), the principal

location or principal place of business of which is not

located within this state, which owns, maintains, or

operates facilities for the generation, transmission, or

distribution of electrical energy and which supplies

electricity to retail or wholesale customers, or both, on a

continuous, reliable, and dependable basis; or any

affiliate or subsidiary of such person, the business of

which is limited to the generation or transmission, or

both, of electrical energy and activities reasonably

incidental thereto.

Section 361.11(4), Florida Statutes.

Finally, “project” is described as:

a joint electric power supply project and any and all

facilities, including all equipment, structures, machinery,

and tangible and intangible property, real and personal,

for the joint generation or transmission of electrical

energy, or both including any fuel supply or source

useful for such a project.

Joint Petitioners fit squarely within the definitions

contained in Chapter 361. The City is clearly an entity within

the definition of “electric utility”. And, Duke New Smyma is

a “foreign public utility”. This is so because Duke New

Smyrma is an affiliate of Duke Bridgeport Exergy, L.L.C., a

person (i.e. corporation) with a principal place of business

outside the state which currently owns, maintains and

42a

operates facilities for the generation of electrical energy and

which supplies electricity to wholesale customers on a

continuous, reliable and dependable basis. In sum, the City,

an “electric utility”, has exercised its authority under Section

361.12, Florida Statutes, to join with Duke New Smyma, a

“foreign public utility” for the purpose of jointly financing

and acquiring a “project”, the proposed plant. As such, the

City and Duke New Smyrna are a “joint operating agency”

and are thus proper applicants for a need determination

pursuant to Section 403.519.

FPL contests the application of Chapter 361 to Joint

Petitioners. FPL’s first argument is that the limiting language

of Chapter 361 to the effect that the statute does not limit or

alter any provisions of any other law, also applies to the

caselaw interpreting the Siting Act, specifically, the Nassau

decisions. FPL’s second argument is that the Joint Power Act

does not apply to Joint Petitioners because they do not

currently own, maintain or operate facilities. (FPL Sept.

Memorandum, pg. 30)

FPL’s arguments are not persuasive. First, the Nassau

decisions were rendered well after the Joint Power Act was

enacted; therefore, the Joint Power Act limiting language

cannot be read to have incorporated those holdings. Second,

FPL’s argument ignores the fact that Duke New Smyrna is an

affiliate of a foreign electric utility, Duke Bridgeport Energy,

L.L.C., which currently owns, maintains and operates

facilities outside the state. Section 361.11(4), Florida Statutes,

specifically provides that a “foreign electric utility” is “a

person . . . or any affiliate or subsidiary of such person, the

business of which is limited to the generation or transmission,

or both, of electrical energy ....” Clearly, Duke New

Smyrna falls within the unambiguous meaning of the

statutory definition.

43a

2. Florida Administrative Code

One of FPL’s arguments for dismissal of the Joint Petition

construes the provisions of Rule 25-22.081, Florida

Administrative Code, as they relate to, 21d allegedly are not

satisfied by, the Joint Petition. First, FPL alleges, there is no

description of the specific utility or utilities primarily affected

by the proposed plant. Second, according to FPL, the Joint

Petition fails to identify the utility specific conditions or

contingencies, such as forecasted summer and winter peaks,

the number of customers, net energy for load and load factors,

which indicate a need for the proposed power plant required

by subsection (3) of the Rule. According to FPL, the

Petitioners’ statements of peninsular Florida’s conditions and

contingencies are insufficient because “peninsular Florida” is

merely a planning convention, not a utility. Third, FPL

opines that the Joint Petition “abysmally fails” to adequately

address the subsection (5) requirement of an analysis of

viable nongenerating alternatives. Finally, FPL asserts that

the Joint Petition fails to meet the subsection (7) requirements

of the Rule of an economic impact statement.

FPL’s arguments regarding rule requirements are disin-

genuous. First, the Joint Petition does identify “primarily

affected utilities”. They are the City and Duke New Smyma.

That the Joint Petition does not specifically. identify

secondarily affected utilities in peninsular Florida is a

function of the fact that the purchase of power from the

Project is voluntary. No retail utility can or will be required

to contract for the Project’s output.

Second, FF'.’s complaint that the Joint Petition does not

allege need but rather “attempts to finesse” the need

allegation by stating that the Project is “consistent with” the

need for electric system reliability and integrity is neither

s by the rule nor Commission precedent. The Rule _

states:

44a

. . . If a determination is sought on some basis in

addition to or in lieu of capacity needs, such as oil

backout, then detailed analysis and supporting

documentation of the costs and benefits is required.

Rule 25-22.081(3), Florida Administrative Code (emphasis

added)

Thus, the Rule specifically allows a need determination

proceeding to be brought on a basis other than megawatt

need. That is precisely what the Joint Petitioners have

proposed with respect to the Project’s merchant capacity, and

their Petition is supported by the rule as well as precedent.

We have previously approved need based on peninsular

Florida needs for peak demand. For example, in approving

Jacksonville Electric Authority and FPL’s petition for need

determination for the St. John’s River Power Park, we stated:

We construe the “need for power” issue to encompass

several aspects of need .... Should the Commission’s

FEECA goals governing the growth of seasonal kilowatt

demand be achieved, and we are of the opinion that they

can reasonably be achieved, additional generating

capacity for the purpose of insuring adequate supplies of

power and energy to peninsular Florida electric

consumers does not appear to be required until 1991.

Similarly, JEA and FPL do not appear to require

additional generating capacity for reliability purposes

until 1991 and 1989 respectively. . ..

In re: JEAIFPL’s Application Of Need For St. John’s River

Power Park Units 1 and 2 And Related Facilities, Order No.

10108, Docket No. 810045-EU, issued June 26, 1981. See

also In re: Petition For Certification Of Need For Orlando

Utilities Commission, Curtis H. Stanton Energy Center Unit

1, And Related Facilities, Order No. 10320, Docket No.

810180-EU, issued September 2, 1981.

f 45a

In short, we have a long history of approving need

determination petitions based on economic need rather than

strict and immediate capacity requirements.

FPL’s argument that the Joint Petition must be dismissed

because it fails to allege, among other things, the cost of

capital increases pursuant to subsection (7) of the Rule is

misplaced. By its terms, subsection (7) applies only to

investor-owned utilities which propose to contract with non-

utility generators. The Project is not the result of a purchased

power agreement of this type and thus the rule does not apply.

And, contrary to FPL’s allegations, it does not appear that

Duke New Smyrna is attempting to avoid this mandatory rule

requirement by omitting to enter into contracts with retail

utilities. The omission arises from the fact that retail utilities’

purchase of power from the Project is purely discretionary.

C. DUKE NEW SMYRNA/THE CITY ARE

PROPER APPLICANTS PURSUANT TO

DECISIONAL LAW

FPL dedicates a substantial portion of its legal arguments

for dismissal to its thesis that, pursuant to decisional law,

Joint Petitioners are not proper applicants as to the plant’s

merchant capacity—the 484 MW not committed to the City.

According to FPL, Duke New Smyma is not a proper appli-

cant because it has no obligation to serve and no contract with

a state regulated utility for its capacity. As authority for its

position, FPL cites Ark and Nassau, Nassau I and Nassau II.

FPL relies primarily on the Commission’s Ark and Nassau

decision. According to FPL, the decision stands for the

following three propositions. First, need determination

proceedings may only be initiated by “applicants” under

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes. Second, it is the need

arising from the obligation to serve customers that a need

determination proceeding is designed to examine. Third,

without a contract with the utility with an obligation to serve,

46a

the non-utility generators had no need of their own. The

requirement of a contract with a utility was intended to

recognize the utility’s planning process. According to FPL,

the Ark and Nassau decision is dispositive in the instant case

and Duke New Smyrna is not an applicant because it does not

have an obligation to serve customers or a contract with a

utility to sell its output. The Ark and Nassau decision was

appealed by Nassau and upheld by the Florida Supreme

Court. Nassau Power Corporation v. Deason, 641 So.2d 396

(Fla. 1994). FPL states that the Court’s “complete affirmation

of the Commission’s construction of the Siting Act in the Ark

and Nassau decision should leave no doubt as to the proper

disposition of this need determination petition.”

FPC also relies on the Nassau decisions as support for its

Motion To Dismiss. According to FPC the cases represent

the following three holdings: (1) need is utility and unit

specific and therefore cannot be determined on a statewide

basis; (2) only entities with an obligation to serve customers

can demonstrate need; (3) if an entity does not have a duty to

serve, it must have a contract with an entity that does have a

duty to serve. FPC declares that the Nassau decisions

conclusively determine that a need proceeding under Section

403.519 may only be brought by a retail utility.

_ We acknowledge that, divorced from the facts giving rise

to the litigation, the holdings in the Nassau cases could

appear to be persuasive in the instant docket. However those

decisions must be considered on their facts and the facts are

quite different. The differences are captive ratepayers and the

specter of a retail utility being required to purchase unneeded

electricity. The Nassau cases addressed need and standing of

QFs under the cogeneration regulations.

Under the cogeneration regulations, Florida utilities are

required to purchase cogenerated power based on the

utilities’ “avoided costs”—that is, the costs that the

utilities would incur to produce the same amount of

47a

electricity if they did not instead purchase the

cogenerated power from a qualifying facility.... Pre-

suming need under the Siting Act by way of the

cogeneration regulations, however, presented the

awkward possibility that individual utilities would be

required to purchase electricity that xeither they nor

their customers actually needed.

Nassau I, 601 So.2d at 1177. (emphasis added)

In Nassau I, the Supreme Court affirmed our decision in

Order No. 22341, Docket No. 890004-EU, issued Dec. 26,

1989. In that order, we reversed the practice of presuming

that a particular cogenerator’s power was needed. Instead of

presuming need, we held that when a QF, which by law was

seeking to require a utility to purchase its output, filed a need

determination, it must prove need based on the requirements

of the targeted purchasing utility.

That Nassau I is limited to the law of QF cogeneration

cannot seriously be disputed: “At issue is the relationship, if

any, between the requirements of the Siting Act and the

requirements of the PSC’s regulations governing small power

producers and cogenerators.” (footnotes omitted) 601 So.2d

at 1175. Nassau I does not apply to a non-utility generator

that does not seek to force any retail utility to purchase its

Capacity.

Likewise, Ark and Nassau is about cogenerators seeking to

force a retail utility to purchase power. The language of Ark

Energy’s Petition for need determination is telling. Ark

Energy petitioned the Commission to:

[R]eview and approve the attached firm capacity and

energy contract between Florida Power & Light

Company . . . and Pahokee Power Partners II, Limited

Partnership, . . . and find that this Contract is reasonable

and prudent and in the best interest of FPL’s customers;

48a

require FPL to enter into this contract with Pahokee

Power Partners II... .

(emphasis added)

In Re: Petition of Ark Energy, Inc. And CSW Development-I,

Inc. for Approval Of Contract For The Sale Of Capacity And

Energy To Florida Power & Light Company, Docket No.

920762-EQ, Document No. 08299-92, filed July 27, 1992 at

pg. |.

Neither Ark nor Nassau had a contract with FPL prior to

commencing the proceeding yet they sought to require FPL to

purchase their output and bind the retail ratepayers. We ruled

that if a utility has to buy the power, that utility’s needs must

first be evaluated. However, we expressly limited our

decision to its facts. “Jt is also our intent that this Order be

narrowly construed and limited to proceedings wherein non-

utility generators seek determinations of need based on a

utility’s need.” Order No. PSC-92-1210-FOF-EQ, Docket

No. 920783-EQ, issued October 26, 1992 at page 4

(Emphasis added).

Thus, the language quoted by FPL and FPC regarding non-

utility generators and utility-specific need is not applicable in

this docket. There are no captive ratepayers being required to

pay for the merchant portion of the Project because Duke

New Smyma is not seeking to require retail utilities to

purchase the proposed plant’s merchant output. On the con-

trary, if retail utilities purchase the merchant output of the

Project, those purchases will be strictly voluntary and they

will only be made if it is economic to do so. This is a case of

first impression arising on facts clearly distinguishable from

the cogeneration precedent. As such, we are not overruling

prior precedent with respect to need. determination

crocbediada iavebviag it

49a

C. DORMANT COMMERCE CLAUSE AND

FEDERAL PREEMPTION

Joint Petitioners and Amicus Curiae raise two con-

stitutional law arguments with respect to the issue of whether

a contract with a retail utility is required in order to invest

Duke New Smyma with standing to bring this need

determination as advocated by FPL and FPC. FPL raises a

threshold challenge to the constitutional analysis by stating

that we lack authority under the Separation of Powers

provision of Article II, Section 3 of the Florida Constitution

to undertake such an analysis. As authority for its position

FPL cites, inter alia, Palm Harbor Special Fire Control

District v. Kelly, 316 So.2d 249 (Fla. 1987).

We disagree with FPL’s conclusion regarding admin-

istrative adjudication of constitutional issues. This issue was

thoroughly addressed in the recent First District Court of

Appeals case Communications Workers of America, Local

3170 v. City of Gainesville, 697 So.2d 167 (1st DCA 1997).

The Communications Workers court recognized that

administrative agencies lack jurisdiction to invalidate statutes,

but that it is not uncommon for administrative agencies to be

called upon to construe the application of statutes they are

charged with enforcing and interpreting. “The notion that the

constitution stops at the boundary of an administrative

agency’s jurisdiction does not bear scrutiny.” Jd. at 170

citing Patsy v. Board of Regents of Florida, 457 U.S. 496

(1982). In the instant case, Duke New Smyrna is not

challenging the constitutional validity of Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes. Rather, it is challenging the constitutionality

of interpreting the statute to require an EWG to contract with

a retail utility as a condition precedent to applying for a need

determination. This decision clearly falls squarely within our

administrative expertise.

The negative or dormant Commerce Clause prohibits state

regulation that discriminates against, or unduly burdens

50a

interstate commerce thereby impeding free private trade in

the national marketplace. General Motors Corporation v.

Tracy, 519 U.S. 278 (1997) The crucial inquiry is

determining whether a protectionist measure can fairly be

viewed as protecting legitimate local concerns, with effects

on interstate commerce that are only incidental. But, “where

simple economic protectionism is effected by state

legislation, a virtually per se rule of invalidity has been

erected.” City of Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617,

624 (1978) The dormant Commerce Clause restriction on

state regulatory authority evolves from the Constitution and,

therefore, applies even in the absence of any federal statute

preempting a particular state regulation. Aflantic Coast

Demolition & Recycling, Inc. v. Board of Chosen Freeholders

of Atlantic County, 48 F.2d 701, 710 (3rd Cir. 1995)

The parties argue animatedly either for or against

application of the dormant Commerce Clause and federal

preemption on the issue of whether an EWG can be required

to enter into a contract with a retail utility before applying for

a need determination. A contract requirement, opine Joint

Petitioners, makes the regulated utilities the gatekeepers of

the wholesale power market in Florida. Joint Petitioners and

Amicus cite numerous United States Supreme Court cases in

support of their position that such an application of state

regulation is economic protectionism and per se invalid. FPL

and FPC counter with a series of United States Supreme

Court cases they allege validates their construction.

Having considered the well-reasoned arguments of counsel

and authority cited by them, we find that while it is

incumbent upon us to remain cognizant of Commerce Clause

analysis, is not appropriate for us to reach a decision on the

issue because there is insufficient evidence in the record to

fully adjudicate it. Likewise, to arrive at a decision on the

Motions To Dismiss, it is not necessary for us to reach a

definitive conclusion on federal preemption. The decision as

S5la

to whether Joint Petitioners are applicants for a need

determination in the absence of a contract with a retail utility

can be made by construing Florida’s existing statutory,

regulatory framework for retail and wholesale generation

being mindful of, but without resort to, a finding of federal

preemption.

In sum, we hold that FPL’s and FPC’s Motions To Dismiss

the Joint Petition For Determination Of Need are denied. The

Joint Petitioners have standing to bring this need

determination. In addition, the Joint Petition satisfies all of

the elements for a need determination proceedings pursuant to

. Florida Statutes and Florida Administrative Code. This

decision does not overrule, limit or alter the Nassau decisions

because this case must be distinguished on its facts.

FLORIDA WILDLIFE FEDERATION’S PETITION FOR

RECONSIDERATION

Florida Wildlife Federation (FWF) filed a Petition to

Intervene on November 13, 1998. No parties opposed FWF’s

petition. FWF’s petition was denied by the Prehearing

Officer in Order No. PSC-98-1598-PCO-EM, issued

December 1, 1998. FWF filed a Petition for Reconsideration

of Hearing Officer’s Order Denying Intervention on

December 11, 1998. FWF’s petition for reconsideration was

timely, and it met the pleading requirements of Chapter 120,

Florida Statutes, and Rules 25-22.0376 and 25-22.039,

Florida Administrative Code. We address FWF’s motion

below.

I. STANDARD FOR MOTIONS FOR RECONSID-

ERATION

It is well settled that an agency may reconsider its final

Order if the Order is found to-have been based on mistake,

inadvertence or a specific finding based on adequate proof of

changed conditions or other circumstances not present in the

52a

proceedings which led to the Order being modified. People’s

Gas System, Inc. v. Mason, 187 So.2d 335 (Fla. 1966). The

purpose of a reconsideration proceeding is to bring to the

attention of the agency some matter which-it overlooked or

faiied to consider when it rendered its Order. Diamond Cab

Co. v. King, 146 So.2d 889 (Fla. 1962). The mere fact that a

party disagrees with the Order is not a basis for rearguing the

case. Id. Nor is reweighing the evidence a sufficient basis for

reconsideration. State v. Green, 104 So.2d 817 (Fla. ist DCA

1958).

FWF has not demonstrated mistake of fact or law or

inadvertence. We believe that we properly applied the law of

standing to FWF in denying FWF intervention by Order No.

PSC-98-1598-PCO-EM, issued December 1, 1998.

A. FWF’S SUBSTANTIAL INTERESTS ARE

NOT WITHIN THE ZONE OF INTERESTS

TO BE PROTECTED BY SECTION 403.519,

FLORIDA STATUTES

FWF alleged in both its Petition to Intervene and its

Petition for Reconsideration of Hearing Officer’s Order

Denying Intervention that its substantial interests will be

affected by the Commission’s decision in this docket. FWF

alleges that its substantial interests are as follows:

FLORIDA WILDLIFE FEDERATION (FWF) is a non-

profit Florida corporation with over 13,000 members

who reside .vithin the state and whose main purpose is to

protect, manage and conserve Florida’s wildlife, for the

benefit of the people of the State of Florida, the wildlife,

FWF and its members. Numerous members of the

organization hunt, fish, observe, study and photograph

wildlife throughout the state. Approval of the Joint

Petition would result in injury or harm to Florida’s

wildlife population, causing them to decline and not be

available for the benefits of FWF and its members as

—_—

stated further below. FWF and its members are

substantially affected by the issues to be determined in

these proceedings. FWF Petition to Intervene at 2).

FWF’s statement of substantial interest alleges interests

which lie outside the purview of Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes. FWF’s substantial interests are asserted to be the

conservation of wildlife and wetlands for its members to

enjoy. These environmental concerns are beyond the scope

of Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, and outside the area of

our expertise.

1. STANDING

~ Following Florida standing law as it was expressed in

Agrico Chem. Co. v. Dept. of Envt’l. Regulation, 406 So. 2d

478 (Fla. 2d DCA 1981), petitioners to intervene in a docket

must have standing. In order to have standing, petitioners

must have a substantial interest in the outcome of the

proceeding. To have substantial interest in the outcome of

the proceeding, the petitioner must show:

1) that he will suffer injury in fact which is of sufficient

immediacy to entitle him to a section 120.57 hearing,

and 2) that his substantial injury is of a type or nature

which the proceeding is designed to protect. The first

aspect of the test deals with the degree of injury. The

second deals with the nature of the injury. (at 482)

Standing is further defined and clarified in Florida Soc. of

Ophthalmology v. State Bd. of Optometry, 532 So. 2d 1279

(Fla. Ist DCA 1988). In that case, the court elaborated on

both the reasons for and the history of standing:

The concept of standing is nothing more than a selective

method for restricting access to the adjudicative process,

whether it be administrative or purely judicial, by

limiting the proceeding to actual disputes between

persons whose rights and interests subject to protection

54a

by the statutes involved are immediately and

substantially affected. Thus it has been stated, the

‘purpose of the law of standing is to protect against

improper plaintiffs.’ citing 59 Am.Jur.2d, parties Sec. 30

(1987) (at 1284)

It is beyond dispute that the present petition presents rights

which will be determined through the power plant siting

process under Chapter 403, Florida Statutes. However, the

putative intervenor has not shown that its rights will be

determined under Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, which is

the authority under which we conduct the need determination

portion of the multiagency power plant siting process. FWF’s

interests may be determined during the proceedings before

the Department of Environmental Protection. The court in

Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology used a three part definition for

“party” to the litigation:

The basic definition of party in section 120.52(12)

includes three categories of persons. Reduced to a

simplistic statement, persons entitled to standing as a

party are those who (1) are denominated as such by the

constitution, a statute, or a rule (regulation); or, (2) have

a substantial interest that is directly affected by proposed

agency action; or, (3) in the exercise of the agency’s

discretion, are accorded the right to become a party by

intervention in an existing proceeding .... Although

one-need not have his rights determined to become a

party to a licensing proceeding, party status will be

accorded only to those persons who will suffer an injury

to their substantial interests in a manner sought to be

prevented by the statutory scheme. (at 1284)

In the Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology case, the court

approved a denial of-standing to challenge a licensing

procedure because the intervenors alleged economic injury

and that their interests would be adversely affected in a

manner different from the general public. As such, in that

55a

case, the intervenors did not satisfy the immediacy

requirement. The court further held that they did not show “a

zone of interest personal to them that would be invaded by

the certification process.” (Id. at 1285)

In the present petition, FWF has not alleged any injury to

itseif or its members that is any different from that which

could be suffered by the public generally. As the court in

Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology stated, the “petition contains

no allegations of any facts personal to any particular

applicant, petitioner, or patient that show that any certified

optometrist’s exercise of this new privilege would~—be_

medically deficient and cause anyone injury.” (at 1286)

FWF alleges a potential harm to the wildlife of Florida

arising from our decision in this docket. FWF alleges this

would, in turn, harm its members and the citizens of Florida

who would no longer be able to enjoy the wildlife for

recreational and educational purposes. Not only is this harm

one that is not peculiar to FWF or its members, this allegation

of harm is also so remote and speculative as to fail to meet

the immediacy requirement. FWF has produced no evidence

to support the claim that one 514 MW electric power plant on

approximately 30 acres of land would decimate the wildlife

population of the entire state. FWF’s arguments about the

“floodgate” effect of siting numerous merchant plants and the

negative impact they might have on the wildlife population of

Florida are also too remote and speculative to provide an

adequate basis for standing. 7

Il. STANDARD FOR ASSOCIATION STANDING

Florida Homebuilders Ass'n. v. Dept. of Labor and

Employment Security, 412 So. 2d 351 (Fla. 1982), held that

an association’s standing to bring a rule challenge under

Section 120.56(1), Florida Statutes, requires a person to show

that it was “substantially affected” by the challenged rule.

This test for association standing was extended in

56a

Farmworker Rights Org. v. Dept. of Health, 417 So. 2d 753

(Fla. Ist DCA 1982). The Farmworker case established that

there is no difference between 4 rule challenge and a Section

120.57, Florida Statutes, hearing for the purposes of

determining standing.

Subsequently, the First District Court of Appeal recognized

that, in the context of standing, there can be a difference

between the concepts of “substantially affected” persons and

persons whose “substantial interests” are affected by an

agency’s action. The court suggested that Farmworker is not

applicable to every case in which an association seeks to

institute a Section 120.57 proceeding. Florida Soc. of

Ophthalmology supra. Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology

appears aimed at the first prong of the Florida Homebuilders

Ass’n. test which provides that an association must

demonstrate that a substantial number of its inembers are

substantially affected by the agency’s action. The Court does

not address the applicability of the second and third prongs of

Florida Homebuilders, relating to the requirement that the

subject matter of the proceeding be within the association’s

general scope of interest and activity; and, that the relief

requested is of the type appropriate for an association to

receive on behalf of its members.

Florida Homebuilders Ass’n. and Florida Soc. of

Ophthalmology, when read together, suggest that the

appropriate test for association standing in this case is

whether the FWF’s petition, has demonstrated: (1) that a

substantial number of its members have substantial interests

which are affected by the present action; (2) that the subject

matter of the proceeding is within the association’s general

scope of interest and activity; and (3) that the relief requested

is of the type appropriate for an association to receive on

behalf of its members.

Under the first prong of the Florida Homebuilders Ass'n.

test associations must meet the Agrico test outlined above.

S7a

When the FWF’s petition is read under Agrico, the Florida

Homebuilders Ass'n. and Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology

cases, it fails to meet the tests of Agrico, the Florida

Homebuilders Ass'n. and Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology

because the petitioners have not shown: (1) “a zone of interest

personal to them that would be invaded” by this proceeding

under Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, which would rise to

the substantial interest test; and (2) that the need

determination to be decided under Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes, is within the association’s general scope of interest

and activity. The third prong of the Florida Homebuilders

Ass'n. and Florida Soc. of Ophthalmology test for association

standing, determining that the relief requested is of the type

appropriate for an association to receive on behalf of its

members, could arguably be met here if all other prongs had

been met. This determination is not dispositive of the

question of whether FWF is entitled to intervene in this

instance however, because the association does not meet the

first two prongs of the test for association standing.

A. FWF ASSERTS THAT ITS SUBSTANTIAL

INTERESTS ARE CONSISTENT WITH

LEAF’S

FWF asserts that its “statement of substantial interest was

consistent with that contained in LEAF’s petition and,

therefore, that the Prehearing Officer’s decision to grant

LEAF intervention and deny FWF intervention was arbitrary

and capricious. The decision of the Prehearing Officer to

allow LEAF to intervene and deny FWF intervention is not

“arbitrary and capricious” as alleged by FWF. LEAF’s state-

ment of substantial interests alleged that:

LEAF has a substantial interest in the Commission’s

determination of need and in securing the environmental

and health benefits of increased efficiency in the

58a

delivery of energy services and increased use of cleaner

energy resources to meet energy service needs.

(Petition at 1)

We find that there is no “consistency” between LEAF’s

statement of substantial interests affected and that provided

by FWF which reads as follows:

FLORIDA WILDLIFE FEDERATION (FWF) is a non-

profit Florida corporation with over 13,000 members

who reside within the state and whose main purpose is to

protect, manage and conserve Florida’s wildlife, for the

benefit of the people of the State of Florida, the wildlife,

FWF and its members. Numerous members of the

organization hunt, fish, observe, study and photograph

wildlife throughout the state. Approval of the Joint

Petition would result in injury or harm to Florida’s

wildlife population, causing them to decline and not be

available for the benefits of FWF and its members as

stated further below. FWF and its members are

substantially affected by the issues to be determined in

these proceedings.

(Petition at 2)

LEAF asserted that its interest in how energy is generated and

delivered in Florida would be determined by this proceeding.

LEAF’s members asserted that they had a substantial interest

not only in how electric power is provided and what energy

resources are relied upon, but specifically in the possibility of

renewable energy. LEAF’s concerns are within the purview

of Section 403.519, Florida Statutes.

Counsel for FWF asserted in the petition for re-

consideration that the mention of conservation measures in

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, requires us to determine

whether or not siting a power plant would have a deleterious

effect upon wildlife and wetlands. Not only would the

59a

exercise of such authority be outside of our jurisdiction and

expertise, it misconstrues th€ statute. Contrary to FWF’s

arguments, this section has nothing to do with protecting

wildlife or wetlands. The conservation discussed in Section

403.519, Florida Statutes, is meant to encourage utility

“avoided units,” or units which may not have to be built by a

utility because that utility implemented demand side

management (DSM) or other programs to reward consumers

for installing energy-saving equipment or using ‘oad

management to reduce the consumption of electricity.

Il. CONCLUSION

In sum, FWF has not shown that we based our decision to

deny FWF intervenor status on a mistake of law or fact or

upon inadvertence. FWF has not shown any changed

circumstances which would require a reconsideration of the

Order Denying Intervention. FFWF has not shown that it

meets the test for standing to be allowed to intervene in this

proceeding. It has alleged an interest that is remote and

speculative. It has not demonstrated that it or its members

will suffer immediate injury in fact sufficient to entitle it to a

Section 120.57, Florida Statutes, hearing. Further, it has not

shown that the injury it alleges that it will suffer is of the

nature or type which these proceedings are designed to

protect. As an association, FWF has not shown that its

members have a zone of interest personal to them that would

be invaded and rise to the substantial interest test, or that the

need determination decided in this case is within the

association’s general scope of activities.

We do not believe that FWF has shown that its substantial

interests are consistent with LEAF’s. As discussed herein,

we find that it was not arbitrary and capricious for us to deny

intervention to FWF and to grant it to LEAF when LEAF

specifically alleged that both it and its members had a

substantial interest in how energy is generated, and delivered

60a

and whether renewable energy sources are advocated. FWF

alleged no interest in the generation of electric energy, only

an interest in protecting wildlife for the benefit of its

members and Florida’s citizens. This interest is not

determined in this docket, but before DEP in a further

proceeding on the need determination.

Therefore, Florida Wildlife Federation’s Petition for

Reconsideration of Hearing Officer’s Order Denying

Intervention is hereby denied.

MOTION TO STRIKE ADDITIONAL AUTHORITY

On February 5, 1999, Florida Power & Light Company

filed a Motion To Strike “Additional Authority” Letter and

Attachments filed by Joint Petitioners in this docket. As

grounds for its motion, FPL stated that the letter, which was

filed in response to staff counsel’s question posed at oral

argument in this docket on January 28, 1999, is an improper

rebuttal or reply brief not authorized by the procedural rules

or the procedural orders of this case. As authority, FPL cites

Rule 28-106.215, Florida Administrative Code. FPL also

states that the letter and attachments are improper ex parte

communication to the staff that is not cured by providing

notice and a copy of it to the parties.

On February 12, 1999, the Joint Petitioners filed a

Response In Opposition To FPL’s Motion to Strike. Pursuant

to Rule 1.140(f), Florida Rules of Civil Procedure, the Joint

Petitioners alleged that the motion was inappropriate and that

it was not an improper ex parte communication.

Upon consideration, FPL’s Motion To Strike Additional

Authority is granted. Rule 1.140(f), Florida Rules of Civil

Procedure is not applicable in this instance. The Order

Establishing Procedure, Order No. 98-1183-PCO-EM, issued

September 4, 1998, as amended ore tenus during a

continuance of the proceeding, governs the posthearing

6la

procedures and posthearing filing dates. | The Order is

controlled by Rule 28-106.215, Florida Administrative Code

and does not provide for filings out of time. The deadline for

filing posthearing submissions was January 19, 1999. Thus,

the additional authority letter and attachments are untimely

and shall be stricken from the record of this proceeding.

NEED FOR THE PROPOSED POWER PLANT is

I. INTRODUCTION

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, enacted in 1980 as part

of FEECA, established this Commission as the exclusive

forum for determining the need for an electrical power plant

subject to the PPSA. The statute requires us to take into

account the following criteria in making a determination of

need as part of the plant siting process:

1) The need for electric system reliability and

integrity;

2) The need for adequate electricity at

reasonable cost;

3) Whether the proposed plant is the most cost-

effective alternative available;

4) Conservation measures taken by or

reasonably available to the applicant or its

members which might mitigate the need for

the proposed plant; and

5) Other matters within its jurisdiction which it

deems relevant.

In evaluating a need determination petition, we must take

into account all of the above listed criteria. We may base our

determination of need for an electrical power plant on a single

criterion or any combination of the above criteria. As set

forth in Section VI, A below, many times in the past, we have

62a

approved need determination petitions on bases other than

Strict reliability need.

Our underlying policy in deciding need determination

petitions is to protect electric utility ratepayers from

unnecessary expenditures and ensure a safe reliable grid. In

approving the proposed plant, we are effectuating our

longstanding policy. Duke New Smyrma, as proposed, would

be a wholesale provider of electricity. Retail utilities, with

the obligation to serve, may purchase from Duke New

Smyrna, if it is economic to do so. The Project provides a

choice to retail utilities in meeting the needs of their

customers. If a retail utility purchases from Duke New

Smyrna, those retail customers would realize economic

benefits due to the existence of the Duke New Smyma

project.

Furthermore, there is sufficient record evidence before us

to determine that the statutory criteria required “y Section

403.519, Florida Statutes, have been met. This Project is the

most cost-effective alternative available to meet both Duke

New Smyra’s and the City’s need. We find that we have

sufficient information to assess the need for the proposed

power plant under the criteria set forth in Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes. We address each of the five statutory

criteria.

Il. THE NEED FOR ELECTRIC SYSTEM RELI-

ABILITY AND INTEGRITY

Both the City and Duke New Smyma presented extensive

testimony pertaining to the need for electric system reliability

and integrity as required by the statute.

A. THE CITY

The City’s 1998 summer peak demand was 78 MWs. By

the year 2008, the City’s peak summer demand is expected to

grow to 98 MWs. The City’s generating resources currently

63a

consist of 31.5 MWs of City owned generating capacity (19

MWs diesel, 7.1 MWs of St. Lucie #2 nuclear, and 5.4 MWs

of Crystal River Unit 3 nuclear), and 83 MWs of purchase

power for a total of 114.5 MWs. The City’s 83 MWs of

purchased power is obtained through contracts with FPC,

TECO, and Enron. These contracts are to expire between

September 1999 and 2004. Without these contracts, the

City’s resources (31.5 MWs) are less than half of its current

retail demand (78 MWs).

The City has a well-defined need for energy and capacity

to serve its native retail load. The City must acquire

additional resources in order to provide adequate service to its

retail customers. The record reflects the 30 MW entitlement

_is necessary for the City to continue to serve its native retail

load in an efficient and cost-effective manner. We find that

the participation agreement is a legally binding agreement

between Duke New Smyrna and the City which identifies a

megawatt entitlement of the proposed plant, and a price per

megawatt-hour at which the City will pay for the energy from

the proposed plant. Even with the 30 MW entitlement from

Duke New Smyma, however, the City must continue to plan

for additional capacity on its system.

The Participation Agreement with Duke New Smyma

entitles the City to 30 MWs of capacity to replace part of the

City’s need for capacity beginning in November 2001. The

Participation Agreement is the result of a business

arrangement between Duke New Smyma and the City.

Pursuant to the contract, the City agreed to:

1) Furnish the site to Duke New Smyrna;

2) Furnish an interconnection point for the

Project to the City’s Smyma substation; and

3) Provide reuse water from its wastewater

treatment plant, and other water

requirements.

64a

For these considerations, Duke New Smyma agreed to:

1) Finance, design, construct, own and operate

the Project; fl

2) Grant a 30 MW entitlement of the Project’s

capacity to the City; and

3) Price energy to the City from its 30 MW

entitlement at $18.50/MWH.

B. DUKE NEW SMYRNA AND PENINSULAR

FLORIDA

The FRCC approved a 15 percent reserve margin as

suitable for Peninsular Florida reliability. We are currently

reviewing this level of reserve margin in Docket No. 981890-

EU. The utility intervenors argued that because Peninsular

Florida reserve margins are forecasted to be at or above the

FRCC’s threshold, the Project is not needed for peninsula

reliability. Based on the testimony of Witness L’Engle,

however, past peninsula reserve margins of between 20 and

25 percent did not prevent the loss of firm load. In Order No.

22708, issued March 20, 1990, in Docket No. 900071-EG, we

determined that during the Christmas freeze of 1989,

sustained low temperatures combined with unit outages,

resulted in the loss of firm load in certain areas of the State.

Witness L’Engle characterized the currently planned reserves

of Peninsular Florida as being “on the edge” and suggested

that additional capacity would be beneficial to Florida, but

that existing utilities are unwilling to make the investment

due to cost and competitive pressures.

The Project will provide benefits to Peninsular Florida’s

operating reliability. Joint Petitioners’ Witnesses Vaden,

Green and Nesbitt addressed projected peninsular reserve

margins, and the opportunity for wholesale sales in Florida.

Currently, Florida utilities must maintain, on an hour-by-hour

basis, reserves to replace the state’s largest unit,

65a

approximately 900 MW. The addition of the Project is likely

to improve the state’s ability to meet its operating reserves.

The capacity should be considered for hourly and short term

Operating reserves, but not for long term planning reserve

margins, unless contracted for. Duke New Smyrma and its

shareholders will finance and own the Project, as well as

carry the risk of that investment. Duke New Smyma will,

therefore, have an economic incentive to be available as much

as necessary in order to remain economically viable. This

economic incentive is greater during peak periods or times of

emergency because utility incremental fuel costs tend to be

higher during these periods.

Utility intervenors argued that there are no assurances that

Duke New Smyrma would not sell all or a portion of its

merchant capacity out-of-state. Joint Petitioners’ Witness

Green did acknowledge that under certain circumstances,

power sales to the north could occur. Record evidence

establishes, however, that a significant amount of the power

from the Project will be sold to Peninsular Florida utilities.

Generation costs are lower in the Southern Company region

compared to Florida. As such, the probability of sales to

Georgia is reduced. As a long term business strategy, we

believe that it makes no sense for Duke New Smyrna to sell

power out-of-state because those sales would have to

overcome the costs of natural gas transportation to the site

and wheeling costs for transmission out-of-state.

Whether Duke New Smyma makes in-state or out-of-state

sales, those sales would be at market based rates. A Florida

retail IOU, on the other hand, would have to charge cost

based rates for in-state sales. We plan to address this

disparity whereby some utilities are allowed to charge

wholesale market prices while other utilities cannot in an

upcoming workshop, as discussed in the last section of this

Order.

66a

Based on the record, we believe that the capacity from the

Project is needed by the City to continue to serve its retail

customer loads._ Without the entitlement, we believe that the

City would either have to purchase or build capacity at a

much greater cost to its ratepayers, or seriously compromise

its reliability. Further, the entitlement promotes the integrity

of the City’s system by allowing for adequate electricity to

meet retail demand at a reasonable cost. We believe that the

Participation Agreement as well as the testimony and exhibits

of Witness Vaden sufficiently demonstrate the need for the 30

MW entitlement. We are persuaded that the entire 514 MWs

are what make the 30 MWs entitlement cost-effective, and the

entire project is, therefore needed for New Smyrma Beach’s

system reliability.

Il. THE NEED FOR ADEQUATE ELECTRICITY

AT A REASONABLE COST

The reliability and integrity of the City’s system will be

greatly enhanced by the proposed Project. The Project will,

by providing needed reliability, also give the City adequate

electricity at a reasonable cost. The 514 MWs are what

makes the 30 MWs cost effective. In other words, the low-

cost power provided to the City is contingent upon the entire

Project being constructed. As such, if the Project is not

constructed, the City will have to construct or contract for

higher cost capacity and energy.

A. THE CITY

Witness Vaden testified that Duke New Smyrna’s price of

$18.50 per MWH is much lower than other purchase power

contracts. For example, the City’s existing contract for base

load capacity with TECO isat $25 per MWH. The City’s

cost-benefit analysis provided by Witness Vaden showed a

savings of approximately $3.1 million per year net present

value for the first ten years, and approximately $7.75 million

net present value for the following ten years, for a total

67a

estimated savings of approximately $39 million net present

value.

The record supports the conclusion that the purchase of

energy from the Project will be the most cost-effective

alternative for the City to meet its needs for energy and

capacity. The 30 MW entitlement to the City is contingent

upon the entire 514 MW Project being constructed. Thus, the

Joint Petitioners have shown a need based upon economics.

As such, if the Project is not constructed, the City will have to

construct or contract for higher cost capacity and energy at a

greater cost to its retail ratepayers. No party to this

proceeding challenged the validity of this evidence.

B. DUKE NEW SMYRNA AND PENINSULAR

FLORIDA

Duke New Smyrna, which is an EWG and not a QF, does

not have the legal right to require utilities to purchase its plant

output. No utilities and no ratepayers will be obligated to

purchase from the Project. No purchase power agreement for

long-term firm sales, therefore, is necessary for us to consider

in order to approve Duke New Smyma’s Project. The

“bidding rule,” Rule 25-22.082, Florida Administrative Code,

requires that an investor-owned utility evaluate supply-side

alternatives in order to determine that a proposed unit, subject

to the PPSA, is the most cost-effective alternative available.

If Duke New Smyrna were to construct the Project, it could

propose to meet a utility’s need pursuant to the bidding rule,

but the IOU would have the final decision on how it would

meet its needs. An IOU, or any other utility in Florida should

prudently seek out the most cost-effective means of meeting

its needs. The Duke New Smyrna project simply presents

another generation supply alternative for existing retail

utilities. Florida ratepayers will not be at risk for the costs of

the facility, unless it is proven to be the lowest cost

alternative at the time a contract is entered. Retail ratepayers

68a

will only be obligated for the term of any contract, and not

the full economic life of the facility.

Duke New Smyrna, as an EWG, can contract with utilities

on a long term basis (equal to or greater than one year), or on

a short term or on an hourly, as-available basis. All IOU

purchases will be subject to our approval in our ongoing

purchased power cost recovery docket. If Duke New Smyrna

were to sign an as-available contract, the utility would be

expected to pay no more than its avoided energy cost. In

other words, Duke New Smyrna will be compensated no

more than the utility’s cost of producing the next increment of

electricity, essentially fuel and variable operating and

maintenance costs. The utility’s ratepayers would be

indifferent to a transaction which was priced at incremental

cost because it would be cost neutral and, therefore, there

would be no adverse consequences to the utility’s retail

customers. Retail customers would realize benefits if the

negotiated price was less than the utility’s incremental cost.

This analysis also applies if Duke New Smyrma were not

proposing to commit any of the Project’s capacity to a utility.

We approve the Project because Duke New Smyma has

shown an economic need for the Project. Retail customers

are not at risk, and we do not have to determine and assess the

avoided costs of a proposed unit over several decades where

changes in the world economy, changes in generation

efficiencies, and changes in the cost of fuel can render

decisions uneconomic in the future which were projected to

be economic when made. In this case, the market will

determine whether or not Duke New Smyma’s decision to

use natural gas continues to be economic over the next

several decades with all of the risk borne by Duke New

Smyrna and its shareholders. We find this Project to be a

benefit to the ratepayers of this state.

Duke New Smyrna, as proposed, would be a wholesale

provider of electricity. Retail utilities, with the obligation to

- 69a

serve, may purchase from Duke New Smyrna, if it is

economic to do so. The Project provides a choice to retail

utilities in meeting the needs of their customers. If a retail

utility purchases from Duke New Smyrna, those retail

customers would realize economic benefits due to the

existence of the Duke New Smyrna project. Ratepayers will

continue to be protected against uneconomic utility decisions

by our ongoing audits and review of purchased power

contracts of retail-serving investor-owned Florida utilities.

The fact that the proposed plant is completely financed by

Duke New Smyma at no cost to retail ratepayers, leads us to

believe that the Project is good for the City’s retail ratepayers

and that it is also economically good for the state as a whole.

Duke has demonstrated that its plant may lower wholesale

electric prices paid by retail-serving utilities. This does not

mean that subsequent merchant plants will be able to

demonsirate that they will do the same. Merchant plant

applicants do not have a right to build merchant plants in

Florida. Each applicant must demonstrate that its project

conveys a benefit to Florida ratepayers, given the existence of

‘he prior power plant additions. We recognize that there may

be certain applications in the future, which may fail to

demonstrate an economic need, despite the fact that the retail

ratepayers are not at risk. This demonstration may involve

the inability of the applicant to demonstrate that it will

dispatch within the Florida grid. We also recognize that there

may be certain times when a proposed plant could adversely

effect the reliability of the Florida grid. This could involve a

plant, by its proposed location within the Florida grid, which

degrades the transmission system within Florida. The record

in this case, however, is devoid of such concerns.

70a

IV. PROPOSED PLANT IS THE MOST COST-

EFFECTIVE ALTERNATIVE AVAILABLE

Based on the evidence adduced at hearing, we find that the

Project is the most cost-effective alternative to the City for its

30 MW entitlement, and to Duke New Smyma in making

wholesale sales to Peninsular Florida. The utility intervenors

argued that, absent a power sales agreement to meet a utility

specific kilowatt need, no comparison can be made to

determine whether the Project is the most cost-effective

alternative. We disagree.

The record shows that the City evaluated numerous

alternatives in choosing Duke New Smyrna. Duke New

Smyrna was shown to be the most cost-effective option for

the City. If the plant is not constructed, the City will have to

find more expensive power either by contract or construction.

This will adversely impact the City’s ratepayers.

Need may be shown by a petitioner based either on

economics or reliability. In this case, the Joint Petitioners

have demonstrated need based largely on economics. They

have demonstrated in the record that by participating in the

entitlement, the City will save $39 million over the life of the

entitlement when the cost of purchased power from Duke

New Smyma is compared to the cost of purchased power at

the rates the City is currently paying. No party to this

proceeding challenged the cost-effectiveness of this plant.

A. THE CITY

Evidence was presented that the price for the associated

energy from the Project will be $18.50/MWH subject to

adjustments detailed in the Participation Agreement. The

City compared this price with its existing contracts to show

the Duke New Smyma purchase to be cost-effective.

In its analysis of the projected savings from the

Participation Agreement, Witness Vaden testified that the

Tila

City used an escalation rate of 3.4%. This escalation rate was

based on FPC’s rate, as well as the City’s past increases.

Witness Vaden characterized the escalation rate as

“extremely conservative.” In addition, the City calculated

the net present value of the annual savings of the project

using a discount rate of 6% for the years 2002 to 2021, to

arrive at the net present value savings. This discount rate is

consistent with the most recent interest rates reflected in the

Federal Reserve Statistical Release.

The financial and economic assumptions underlying the

project were not challenged by other witnesses. Accordingly,

based upon the representations and analyses provided by

witness Vaden, the project’s financial and economic

assumptions appear reasonable for planning purposes.

The City also considered other alternatives to its 30 MW

entitlement of the Project. In 1993, General Electric

performed an analysis of future self-build power supply

options for the City. As a result of that analysis, an

approximately 40 MW gas-fired unit was recommended. The

City relied on this study in determining that the 30 MW Duke

New Smyrna purchase was the most Cost-effective

alternative. The City also considered purchasing from the

FMPA, but determined it not to be economical compared with

the Duke New Smyrna purchase.

The City is not required, nor did it elect to issue a request

for proposals to solicit supply-side alternatives. Witness

Vaden, however, offered that once Duke New Smyrna offered

its price to the City, the $18.50 per MWH offered price was

so much lower than other purchase power contracts,

specifically its contract for base load capacity with TECO at

$25 per MWH, we believe that the decision to choose Duke

New Smyrna’s offer was clearly the most economical.

72a

B. DUKE NEW SMYRNA

Duke New Smyrna, and entities acting on its behalf,

evaluated alternative generating technologies before selecting

the natural gas-fired combined cycle unit for the Project.

Duke New Smyrna stated that the direct construction cost of

the Project will be $160 million, but did not provide specific

cost breakdowns for proprietary reasons. Duke New Smyrna

is willing to invest $160 million of its shareholders’ money

on the belief that it can generate and sell its power below

current wholesale prices. This contrasts with other need

determinations where long-term forecasts of generation and

fuel were made. Florida retail customers will not be

obligated through their retail-serving utilities to pay for the

$160 million plant through their rates. In addition to lower

cost electricity for the ratepayers of the City, other benefits

include approximately twenty jobs when the plant is

operational and property taxes.

C. PENINSULAR FLORIDA

As noted above, relying on the Nassau decisions, the utility

intervenors argued that because there is no power purchase

agreement for the merchant capacity, no utility specific

kilowatt need can be met, and, we cannot determine whether

the Project is the most cost-effective alternative. The

distinctions between Duke New Smyrna and QFs make the

need for a power purchase agreement in this case moot. A

power purchase agreement with a utility assumes a

commitment on the part of the utility’s ratepayers which

binds them to supporting all or a portion of the costs of

generation. Duke New Smyrna, however, will internally

finance the costs of the Project. No utilities.and no ratepayers

will be obligated to purchase from the Project.

Rule 25-22.082, Florida Administrative Code, the “bidding

rule,” requires an IOU to evaluate supply-side alternatives in

order to determine that a proposed unit, subject to the PPSA,

73a

is the most cost-effective alternative available. Duke New

Smyma Could propose to meet an IOU’s need pursuant to the

bidding rule, but the IOU would have the final decision on

how it would meet its needs. An IOU, or any other utility

subject to Commission cost-recovery in Florida should

prudently seek out the most cost-effective means of meeting

its needs. The Duke New Smyrna project presents another

alternative for existing utilities, without putting Florida

ratepayers at risk for the costs of the facility as is done for the

costs for rate based power plants.

As stated above, the Project will be economic for other

Florida retail customers, because Duke New Smyma will

operate the plant as a merchant plant. Merchant plants

increase wholesale competition thereby in theory lowering

wholesale electric prices from what they otherwise may be.

Merchant power plants do not sell to retail customers in

Florida. No Florida retail customers are obligated to bear the

costs of this project in rate base.

We believe that the criteria to be considered pursuant to the

PPSA give us the flexibility to approve power plants based on

reasons other than simple kilowatt need. As previously

discussed, we believe that the 30 MWs entitled to the City are

needed and are cost-effective to the City only because of the

remaining 484 MWs of the Project. We heard extensive

testimony at the hearing concerning the cost-effectiveness of

this Project. We also heard testimony concerning when and

how the Project’s capacity and energy will be dispatched, i.e.

sold within the Florida grid. The evidence in the record

shows this plant, because of its efficiencies, will be

dispatched a great deal of the time. However, because of its

merchant nature, it will only be dispatched when it is

economical to do so. As a result, we believe that it will exert

a downward pressure on electricity pricing in the wholesale

power market in Florida. This, in turn, will flow through to

retail IOU customers in retail rates through the fuel

74a

adjustment clause. Therefore, we believe that the record

evidence shows other Peninsular Florida utility ratepayers

will benefit from the 484 MWs which will add to grid

reliability, and displace higher cost fuels.

V. CONSERVATION MEASURES TAKEN OR

REASONABLY AVAILABLE

With respect to conservation measures, Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes states:

The commission shall also expressly consider the

conservation measures taken by or reasonably available

to the applicant or its members which might mitigate the

need for the proposed plant... .

A. THE CITY

Witness Vaden stated in his direct testimony that the City

plans to construct a 150 kW solar photovoltaic generating

station on a site adjacent to the Duke New Smyrna Project in

2001 or 2002. The City plans to offer a “green pricing”

program once the facility comes into service. City customers

would be given the option of having their electric rates based

on the power generated by the solar photovoltaic facility.

The record is unclear whether approval of the Duke New

Smyma Project is a condition precedent to construction of the

City’s 150 kW solar photovoltaic facility. If the facility is

constructed, however, it will advance the state’s policy goals

of encouraging the development of renewable energy

resources, as required by Section 366.81, Florida Statutes.

Solar photovoltaics are not the City’s only option for

conservation. According to the record in this proceeding, the

City currently offers load management and energy audits to

customers. Peak demands can be reduced by approximately

ten percent.

75a

B. DUKE NEW SMYRNA AND PENINSULAR

FLORIDA

With respect to Duke New Smyrna, we believe, as does

LEAF, that the wholesale nature of the merchant portion of

the Project limits its conservation obligations. The PPSA

contains five criteria for us to consider. As discussed

previously in this order, we have granted need determinations

on other than kilowatt need, as evidenced in the oil-backout

cases of the 1980s.

VI. OTHER MATTERS WITHIN OUR JURISDICTION

WHICH WE DEEM RELEVANT

We agree that this case is not as straightforward as a

conventional need determination involving a_ vertically

integrated monopolistic electric utility seeking to provide

additional generation resources to meet its native retail

kilowatt need within its retail service territory. Nevertheless,

it is not so unusual as to be unique within the twenty-six year

history of Commission need determination proceedings under

the Florida Power Plant Siting Act. We have historically

analyzed and quantified a wide range of reliability, economic,

and socio-economic factors affecting the need for power in

the State of Florida. The Nassau cases, on which the utility

intervenors focused, were but two of many cases in which we

dealt with unique and challenging issues affecting need. We

believe that our approach and findings in each of these cases

has a bearing on how “need for power” should be assessed in

this case.

The PPSA, enacted in 1973, and amended many times

since, requires electric generating facilities with steam cycles

of 75 MW or greater to be certified by the Governor and

Cabinet. The PPSA does not apply to facilities with steam

cycles less than 75 MW, combustion turbines, or repowerings

where there is no increase in steam capacity. The record

evidence is that, except for new steam-cycle 75 MW and

76a

above, merchant power plants can and are being built in

Florida. Some of these power plants are not as efficient as

combined cycle power plants such as Duke New Smyma.

Evidently, these less efficient merchant power plants are

being built without a steam cycle in order to avoid the PPSA.

Approving Duke New Smyrna sends a signal that Florida

wants efficient and clean power plants. It also allows us to

require all power plants to be subject to the Grid Bill. This is

important so that we can require coordination through the

FRCC in matters such as relaying, transmission use, spinning_

reserve, and capacity and fuel use reporting. Otherwise, it is

unclear whether we can require non-PPSA covered merchant

power plants to belong to and participate in the FRCC.

A. NEED DETERMINATION ON OTHER

THAN KILOWATT NEED AND RELI-

ABILITY

The following excerpts from some of our Orders highlight

the fact that we have previously approved power plants based

on other than kilowatt need:

In granting JEA/FPL’s application of need for St. John’s

River Power Park Units | and 2, we stated:

We construe the “need for power” issue to encompass

several aspects of need. In our evaluation of the need

for SJRPP Units 1 and 2 and related facilities, we have

considered the principal areas of the electrical need for

additional capacity to insure an adequate supply of bulk

electrical power and energy to electric consumers and

the economic need of providing this bulk power and

energy at the lowest possible cost. In addition, the

socio-economic need of reducing the consumption of

imported oil in the State of Florida has been considered.

Each of these aspects of need for SJRPP 1 and 2 was

evaluated with respect to the electrical consumers of

JEA, FPL, and peninsular Florida as a whole. (Order

T7a

No. 10108, June 26, 1981, Docket No. 810045-EU, p. 2)

(emphasis added)

We further stated:

Should the Commission’s FEECA goals governing the

growth of seasonal kilowatt demand be achieved, and we

are of the opinion that they can reasonably be achieved,

additional generating capacity for the purpose of

insuring adequate supplies of power and energy to

peninsular Florida electric consumers does not appear

to be required until 1991. Similarly, JEA and FPL do

not appear to require additional generating capacity for

reliability purposes until 1991 and 1989 respectively,

should they achieve their respective FEECA seasonal

kilowatt demand goals. Thus, the salient issue is the

determination of the need for SIRPP Units 1 and 2 with

in-service dates of December, 1985, and May 1987,

respectively is whether the construction of these units in

the time frame proposed represents the lowest cost

alternative available to the continued use of expensive

oil-fired generation in Peninsular Florida, and in the

areas served by JEA and FPL. (Order No. 10108, June

26, 1981, Docket No. 810045-EU, p. 2) (emphasis

added)

In granting OUC’s petition for certification for Stanton

Unit 1, we stated:

The FCG study concluded -that while the proposed

Stanton Unit will undoubtedly enhance the adequacy and

reliability of the Bulk Power Supply System, the facility

does not appear to be needed for peninsular-wide

reliability purposes during the 1980's. (Order No.

10320, October 2, 1981, Docket No. 810180-EU, p. 3)

(emphasis added)

78a

We further stated:

Even though the Stanton Center is not required in the

1980's to meet the peninsula’s capacity needs, the

project will provide significant economic benefits for

peninsular Florida in terms of supplying an alternative

to oil-fired capacity generation. (Order No. 10320,

October 2, 1981, Docket No. 810180-EU, p. 3)

(emphasis added)

In approving Metropolitan Dade County’s petition for an

expansion of its existing solid waste facility, we stated:

In determining the need for a solid waste facility, the

Commission also considers Section 377.709, Florida

Statutes, which provides that: “...the combustion of

refuse by solid waste facilities to supplement the

electricity supply not only represents an effective

conservation effort but also represents an

environmentally preferred alternative to conventional

solid waste disposal in this state.” (Order-No..PSC-93-

1715-FOF-EQ, November 30, 1993, Docket No.

930196-EQ, p. 2) (emphasis added)

We further stated:

Energy generated by Dade County's expanded facility

will meet two needs: displace fossil fuels and reduce the

amount of garbage through combustion of solid waste.

The new boiler is expected to provide an additional 140

gigawatt-hours (GWh) per year assuming an 80%

capacity factor. Since the facility is located in Florida

Power and Light Company's service territory, Dade

County will likely sell the energy to FPL. Since there is

no contract to sell firm capacity, the Dade County

facility will likely seli energy on an as-available basis to

FPL; this energy will displace fossil fuels in Florida.

We find that the state has a need for the additional

energy to be generated from Dade County's expanded

79a

solid waste facility. (Order No. PSC-93-1715-FOF-EQ, a

November 30, 1993, Docket No. 930196-EQ, p. 3) :

(emphasis added) a

In approving Florida Crushed Stone Company’s petition a

for determination of need, we stated: .

However, significantly different issues are raised when a

private entity, such as FCS, proposes to build a

cogeneration facility . . . Thus it has been governmental

policy to encourage cogeneration both because it makes

more efficient use of energy resources and because it

may lessen the need for public utilities to build

additional generating facilities . . . we have decided that

additional criteria relating to fuel efficiency should be

used to evaluate the application of FCS.

. We find that the addition of 125 MW of generating

capacity will enhance system reliability and integrity

simply because it will increase the diversity of

generating sources; however, this benefit cannot be

quantified, and we view it as a minor, but desirable,

result of constructing the proposed plant.

. Thus, if FCS receives full avoided costs for the

energy it produces, it will have no impact on the cost of

electricity to FPC’s ratepayers.

. the need for additional capacity is irrelevant to a

determination of need such as this...

. our finding that the proposed plant will have

essentially no impact on the need for an adequate supply

of electricity at a reasonable cost is expressly based on

the premise that neither the FERC nor the Commission's

Rules would require a utility to compensate a QF for any

cost associated with either energy or capacity when no

energy is purchased or capacity costs are avoided by the

utility. se

‘s 80a

Based on this record, we find that the proposed

cogeneration facility can be expected to achieve a

desirable level of fuel efficiency both because it will use

energy that otherwise would be wasted either in the

power production or cement manufacture processes and

because it will produce electricity at a fuel efficiency

level that compares favorably tuo the fuel efficiencies

achieved by public utilities. (Order No. 11611, February

14, 1983, Docket No. 820460-EU, pp. 2-5) (emphasis

added)

The utility intervenors argued that building 514 MWs when

only 30 MWs are needed was a sham transaction. We

disagree. As previously discussed, for cost-effective oil-

backout purposes with zero kilowatt need, approximately

2000 MWs were approved. The recommended 514 MWs

with 30 MWs of kilowatt need comports with our oil-backout

decisions.

B. THE POLICY ISSUES IN THE NASSAU

CASES

The utility intervenors cited the Nassau I and I/ orders as

their primary argument in opposition to the Project. The legal

aspects of this argument are discussed in Section I above,

however, here we will discuss the underlying policy of these

decisions. Nassau was a qualifying facility under PURPA.

QFs have deen given a special status by PURPA which.

requires a utility to purchase QF plant output at the utility’s

avoided cost.

The question presented in the Nassau cases is different

from the questions presented in this proceeding. In this

docket, we have not been asked to determine the need for a

QF that seeks to bind a utility’s ratepayers for the cost of an

avoided unit over several decades. That was the issue in the

Nassau cases. Here, we are determining the need for a

merchant plant which does not seek to bind utility ratepayers

-~Sla

to bear the cost of an avoided unit. We believe that because

of this distinction between the present case and the Nassau

cases, the Nassau cases are inapplicable.

Nassau had a standard offer contract based on a statewide

avoided unit, and petitioned for a determination of need. __

Consistent with our underlying policy of protecting utility

ratepayers from unnecessary expenditures, we compared the

costs of the statewide contract to the avoided costs of FPL,

which was the proposed purchasing utility. We found that the

project was not the most cost-effective alternative to FPL, and

the need was denied.

In Nassau II, Nassau petitioned for a determination of need

for a project without a signed power sales agreement.

Utilities would have been required to purchase the capacity

and energy from Nassau’s proposed project, because Nassau

was a QF. Consistent with our underlying policy of

protecting utility ratepayers from unnecessary expenditures,

we thought it wise to know the purchase power costs prior to

obligating utility ratepayers for these costs over a long term.

Nassau’s petition was dismissed for lack of a purchase power

agreement. In summary, we believe that Nassau I and II

apply to QFs only and do not require utility specific kilowatt

need for this Project.

As outlined above, the Joint Petitioners have presented all

of the information required by Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes, and Rule 25-22.081, Florida Administrative Code.

The Joint Petitioners have shown that there is a reliability

need for 30 MW of the proposed plant’s capacity for the City

and an economic need for the remaining 484 MW. Even if

Duke New Smyrna had come in for a need determination on

its own without the City, we believe that it is a proper

applicant and could have shown an economic need for the

proposed plant. Accordingly, granting the determination of

need requested by the joint petitioners is consistent with the

public interest and the best interests of electric customers in

82a

Florida. All of the statutory criteria have been met by the

Joint Petitioners. Therefore, we grant the Joint Petition for a

determination of need.

FURTHER PROCEEDINGS CONSISTENT WITH THIS

DECISION

In granting this petition, we understand that questions will

arise about the number of merchant plants needed in Florida.

We will hold a workshop subsequent to the closure of this

docket in order to discuss issues related to the selection and

siting process for future merchant plants choosing to locate in

Florida. We note that the question of reserve margins is

scheduled to be addressed in Docket No. 981890-EU, with

hearings scheduled for September 22-23, 1999. Witness

L’Engle testified, as a daily electric utility dispatcher, the

FRCC’s 15 percent planned reserve margin is “on the edge.”

He stated he would be more comfortable with a 20 percent

reserve margin, but suggested that utilities are unwilling to

increase reserves due to cost and competitive pressures. This

suggests that a controlling reserve margin cap could be used

as a guide to merchant plant entrance into the Florida

wholesale power market. This issue will be evaluated as part

of the workshop or rule-development proceedings.

Based on the foregoing, it is

ORDERED by the Florida Public Service Commission that

the Florida Power & Light Company’s Motion to Dismiss

Joint Petition and Florida Power Corporation’s Motion to

Dismiss Proceeding are denied. It is further

ORDERED that the Florida Wildlife Federation’s Petition

for Reconsideration of Hearing Officer’s Order PSC-98-

1598-PCO-EM Denying Intervention is denied. It is further

83a

ORDERED that Florida Power & Light Company’s

Motion to Strike “Additional Authority” Letter is granted and

the Additional Authority Letter filed by the Joint Petitioners

is stricken from the record. It is further

ORDERED that the Joint Petition for Determination of

Need for an Electrical Power Plant in Volusia County by the

Utilities Commission, City of New Smyrna Beach, Florida,

and Duke Energy New Smyrna Beach Power Company Lid.,

L.L.P., is granted. It is further

ORDERED that this docket shall be closed after the time

for the filing of an appeal has run.

By ORDER of the Florida Public Service Commission this

22nd day of March, 1999.

/s/ Blanca S. Bayé

BLANCA S. BAYO, Director

Division of Records and

Reporting

This is a facsimile copy. A

signed copy of the order may be

obtained by calling 1-850-413-

6770.

(SEAL)

LJP/GAJ Ee a

DISSENTS

COMMISSIONER CLARK:

I dissent from the majority’s decision to deny the Motions

to Dismiss filed by Florida Power and Light Company (FPL)

and Florida Power Corporation (FPC). Neither the legislative

history of the Power Plant Siting Act, nor the logic and legal

analysis of the majority’s decision convinces me that Duke

New Smyrna is a proper applicant for a determination of

need. The Motions to Dismiss should be granted because

84a

Duke New Smyma is not a proper applicant under Section

403.519, Florida Statutes.

The majority concludes that Duke New Smyma is a

“regulated electric company” and is therefore included in the

definition of “applicant” in Section 403.503(13), Florida

Statutes, which in turn applies to Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes.° Close inspection of legislative history and case law

refutes this conclusion.

The Power Plant Siting Act was first enacted in 1973. The

legislative intent for the Act recognized the need for a

statewide perspective on the selection and utilization of sites

for generating facilities given the “significant impact upon the

welfare of the population, the location and growth of industry

and the use of the natural resources of the state.” 1973 Fla.

Laws Section 1, Chapter 73-33. Initially, the Commission’s

role was simply to prepare a “report and recommendation as

to the present and future needs for electrical generating

capacity in the area to be served by the proposed site . . .”

1973 Fla. Laws Section 1, Chapter 73-33.

Then, in 1980, as part of the Florida Energy Efficiency and

Conservation Act (FEECA), the Legislature changed the

requirement of a “report and recommendation” to a

proceeding resulting in a determination of need. Because of

the rapid rise in the cost of electric power production

resulting from the dual impact of inflation and effects of the

Arab Oil Embargo, the Legislature found it in the public

interest to vigorously pursue energy efficiency and

conservation measures. The Legislature gave the Com-

*1 do agree with the majority’s conclusion that in order for a

determination of need to issue for this project, Duke New Smyrna must, in

its own right, be an applicant under Section 403.519, Florida Statues. The

30 MW earmarked for the City of New Smyma, an entity that does fall

within the definition of applicant, is insufficient to justify applicant status

for the entire 514 MW project.

85a

mission the responsibility of requiring utilities to pursue

energy efficiency and conservation to reduce growth rates of

consumption. As part of the responsibility to encourage

energy efficiency and conservation, the Legislature required

the Commission to increase its scrutiny of the need for

prospective power plants. The Commission was directed to

review proposed new plants to ensure that they were needed

for system reliability and integrity, that their cost was

reasonable and cost effective, and that the utility had

undertaken all conservation measures that could reasonably

be employed to mitigate the need for the new plant. 1980 Fla.

Laws Section 5, Chapter 80-65.

The provision in FEECA that identified the Commission as

the exclusive forum for a determination of need used the term

“utility” and “applicant” interchangeably.

366.86 Exclusive forum for determination of need.—

(1) On request by a utility or on its own motion, the

Commission shall begin a proceeding to determine the

need for an electrical power plant subject to the Florida

Electrical Power Plant Siting Act. The Commission shall

be the sole forum for the determination of this matter,

which accordingly shall not be raised in any other forum or

in the review of proceedings in such other forum. In

making its determination, the Commission shall take into

account the need for electric system reliability and

integrity, the need for adequate reasonable cost electricity

and whether the proposed plant is the most cost effective

alternative available. The Commission shall also expressly

consider the conservation measures taken by or reasonably

available to the applicant or its members which might

mitigate the need for the proposed plant and other matters

within its jurisdiction which it deems relevant. The

Commission’s determination of need for an electrical

power plant shall create a presumption of public need and

86a

necessity and shall serve as the Commission’s report

required by s. 403.507(1)(b).’

The term “utility” was expressly defined for purposes of

FEECA, including this section, as “[a]ny person or entity of

whatever form which provides electricity or natural gas at

retail to the public, specifically including municipalities or

instrumentalities thereof and cooperatives under the Rural

Electrical Cooperative Law; . . . “ 1980 Fla. Laws Section 5,

Chapter 80-65 (emphasis supplied).

The fact that the term “utility”, which is specifically

defined in FEECA, is used interchangeably with “applicant”

suggests that the two terms mean the same thing. The

definition of utility in FEECA encompassed the same entities

as the definition of “applicant” in the Power Plant Siting Act.

An “applicant” is a “utility” that has applied for a

determination of need. One cannot be an applicant under the

Power Plant Siting Act without a determination of need from

the Commission, and only a utility providing power at retail

may apply to the Commission for such a determination.

The conclusion is inescapable. The two definitions mean

the same thing. In order for an electric utility to come under

Commission regulatory authority (that is, to be a “regulated

electric utility”), the sale must be a sale at retail. Wholesale

sales are a matter within the sphere of federal regulation.

In 1990, the Legislature enacted numerous revisions to the

Power Plant Siting Act, the Transmission Line Siting Act, —-

and other laws affecting environmental regulation. 1990 Fla.

Laws Section 24, Chapter 90-33, amended Section 403.519,

Florida Statutes, to change the term “utility” in the first

’ This statute was originally numbered as Section 366.86, Florida

Statutes, when it was created by Section 5 of Chapter 80-65, Laws of

Florida. When it was published in the Florida Statutes, it was renumbered

as Section 403.519, Florida Statutes. It remains part of FEECA, however,

subject to FEECA definitions.

87a

sentence to “applicant.” It also required the publication of

notice of a request for a determination of need, and provided

that the Commission’s determination of need constitutes final

agency action. There is no indication in either the title of the

act, or in the legislative staff analyses, that the amendment

was designed to broaden the entities authorized to request a

need determination beyond persons or entities providing

electricity at retail.

Decisions of the Commission and the Florida Supreme

Court subsequent to the enactment of 1990 Fla. Laws Section

24, Chapter 90-331, support the notion that the change to

Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, did not mean a broadening

of the term “applicant,” but rather was further confirmation

that an applicant must be an entity obligated to serve retail

load. In 1992, Ark Energy Inc. (Ark) and Nassau Power

Corporation (Nassau) each filed a petition for a determination

of need. In Order No. PSC-92-1210-FOF-EQ, issued October

26, 1996, in Docket Nos. 920769-EQ, 920761-EQ, 920762-

EQ, and 920783-EQ, the Commission dismissed the petitions

of Ark and Nassau because they were not proper applicants

for a need determination under Section 403.519, Florida

Statutes. The order points out that the definition of

“applicant” in Section 403.503, Florida Statutes, encompasses

only entities that may be obligated to serve customers:

Section 403.503, Florida Statutes, defines “applicant”

as an electric utility, and in turn defined “electric utility”

as:

cities and towns, counties, public utility districts,

regulated electric companies, electric cooperatives,

and joint operating agencies, or combinations

thereof, engaged in, or authorized to engage in, the

business of generating, transmitting, or distributing

electric energy.

88a

Ark and Nassau do not qualify as applicants. Neither

Ark nor Nassau is a city, town, or county. Nor is either a

public utility district, regulated electric company,

electric cooperative or joint operating agency.

Significantly, each of the entities listed under the

statutory definition may be obligated to serve customers.

It is this need, resulting from a duty to serve customers,

which the need determination proceeding is designed to

examine. Non-utility generators such as Nassau and Ark

have no such need since they are not required to serve

customers. The Supreme Court recently upheld this

interpretation of the Siting Act. Dismissal of these need

determination petitions is in accord with that decision.

See Nassau Power Corporation v. Beard, 601 So.2d

1175 (Fla. 1992).

Order No. PSC-92-1210-FOF-EQ, issued October 26,

1992, in Docket Nos. 920769-EQ, 920761-EQ, 920762-

EQ, and 920783-EQ, pp. 2-3.

The Florida Supreme Court affirmed the Commission’s

order dismissing the petitions. Nassau Power Corporation v.

Deason, 641 So.2d 396 (Fla. 1994). . The Court found

“construction of the term applicant as used in section 403.519

is consistent with the plain language of the pertinent

provisions for the Act and this Court’s 1992 decision in

Nassau Power Corp. v. Beard’. (641 So.2d at 398).

The Court also cited favorably the Commission’s reasoning

that a “need determination proceeding is designed to examine

the need resulting from an electric utility’s duty to serve

customers.” (641 So.2d at 398).

The majority distinguishes the present case from Nassau

Power Corp. v. Deason on the basis that the case involved

qualifying facilities (QFs) that were seeking to “require FPL

89a

to purchase their output and bind the retail ratepayer.” * Staff

recommendation at p. 32. The rationale of the Nassau case

propounded by both the Commission and the Court does not

support such a distinction. The rationale focused on the types

of entities enumerated in Section 403.503, Florida Statutes,

and concluded that the common denominator present in each

was an obligation to serve customers. The need to be

examined under Section 403.519, Florida Statutes, was a need

resulting from the duty to serve those customers.’

By seizing on the term “regulated” as including regulation

by the FERC (and presumably regulation by any other

governmental authority), the Commission is relying on a

federal act, not the laws of Florida, for its authority. It is

unlikely that the legislature delegated to the federal

government the authority to determine who might come

within the definition of applicant, but that is precisely the

effect of the majority’s decision. Duke New Smyma is an

Exempt Wholesale Generator (EWG), a category of electric

generators that was created by the Energy Policy Act of

1992.'° Clearly, this category of generators was not in

® Need determinations do not bind the retail ratepayers, and an order

determining a need is not a guarantee of cost recovery from retail

ratepayers. If, when, and to what extent cost recovery is authorized is a

matter to be resolved when the utility seeks to recover the costs of their

investment through a ratemaking proceeding, or secks approval of costs

incurred for a power purchase contract in a capacity cost recovery

proceeding. The Power Plant Siting Act specifically acknowledges that

the siting and cost recovery are distinct processes. Section 403.511(4),

Florida Statutes, provides that: “The Act shall not affect in any way the

ratemaking powers of the Public Service Commission under Chapter

* A review of the transcripts from the Agenda Conference where the

Ark and Nassau petitions were discussed likewise does not support the

distinction. The focus of the debate was that in order to be an applicant,

the entity had to have an obligation to serve retail customers.

° A generator desiring status as an EWG must apply to the FERC for

Alias: Sih hou

90a

existence when the Power Plant Siting Act was created in

1973. Nonetheless, the majority concludes it is within the

definition of applicant because the federal government has

subsequently decided to authorize this category of generators.

This Commission has previously tried to rely on federal

acts to broaden its authority, and the Florida Supreme Court

overturned that decision. In Florida Power and Light

Company v. Florida Public Service Commission, 5 FALR

227-J (4/4/83), 471 So. 2d 526 (Fla. 1985), the court reversed

a decision adopting rules on the purchase of power from

cogenerators and small power producers. The adoption of

rules was precipitated by the Public Utilities Regulatory

Policy Act enacted by Congress in 1978. The act directed

FERC to adopt rules encouraging cogeneration but gave the

states the task of implementing that policy particularly by

setting the price to be paid by utilities for cogenerated energy.

The court found the Commission lacked state statutory

authority to implement the directives of PURPA."

The need for the Commission to give careful consideration

to legislative authority is even more important today given

the 1996 amendments to the Administrative Procedures Act.

The majority has acknowledged the need to further develop

policy with respect to merchant plants. To codify that policy

into rules will require specific authority. It will not be enough

that the rules are reasonably related to enabling legislation or

founded on an expressivn of legislative intent.

that designation and sales from the facility are limited te-wholesale sales.

"' The opinion noted the fa

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.