Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Swift v. United States

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, UG

(/) FILED

001015 De 222008

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

StaFF SERGEANT JOHN B. SwIFT,

Petitioner,

v.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Armed Forces

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KYLE R. JACOBSON

CAPTAIN, UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

APPELLATE DEFENSE COUNSEL

Counsel of Record

STEPHEN P. KELLY

MaJsor, UNITED STATES AIR FORCE

Appellate Defense Counsel

Counsel for Petitioner

AIR Force LEGAL SERVICES AGENCY

APPELLATE DEFENSE DIVISION

112 LUKE AVENUE, SUITE 343

BOLLING AFB,

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 20332

(202) 767-1562

—

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I.

Whether petitioner’s act of producing an incriminating

document in response to a direct order by a military superior

had a compelled testimonial aspect to which his Fifth

Amendment privilege against self-incrimination applied

where the act of production itself served as the basis for his

false statement conviction, proof of which required an intent

to deceive.

Il.

Whether the “required records” exception to the Fifth

Amendment extends to records not specifically required by

regulation to be produced nor required by regulation to be

maintained.

IIT.

Whether the United States Court of Appeals for the Armed

Forces exceeded its authority under Article 67(c), U.C.MJ.,

10 U.S.C. § 867(c), by assessing the appropriateness of

petitioner’s sentence after setting aside his conviction in part.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

APPENDIX A

(Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces)

APPENDIX B

(Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces denying petitioner’s

Petition for Reconsideration)

APPENDIX C

{Opinion of the United States Air Force Court

of Criminal Appeals)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Constitutional Provisions:

yp OF PE OTTT Por TT re eee 1,10

Supreme Court Cases:

Baltimore City Department of Social Services v.

Bouknight, 493 U.S. 549 (1990) ............ 15, 16

Doe v. United States, 487 U.S. 201 (1988) ........ 12

Fisher v. United States, 425 U.S. 391 (1976) ... 10,11

United States v. Hubbell, 530 U.S. 27, 120

hs Ss SE sia ot een can 10, 11, 12-44

United States v. Shapiro, 335 U.S. 1 (1948) ...... 13

Federal Circuit Cases:

In re Dr. John Doe, 711 F.2d 1187

CREE DD. cs ovcckudes@ulte ete Menaben 13, 14

United States v. Pimienta-Redondo, 874 F.2d

9 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 890 (1989) ... 17

Military Cases:

United States v. Christopher, 32

CREE Be CHU vnc acdewscdenoccdbacsat 16, 17

United States v. Dukes, 5 M.J. 71

Rs TUE ex ed dccmeaaadeebanedennwiien 17

United States v. Swift, 53 M.J. 439 (2000) .... passim

Federal Statutes:

Article 31, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 831 ....... passim

Article 32, U.C.MJ., 10 U.S.C. § 832 ........... 9

Article 38, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 838 ........... 10

Article 66, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 866 ........... 17

Article 67, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 867.......... 1, 16

Article 91, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 891 ........... 11

Article 107, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 907......... 2, 12

Article 134, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 984 .......... 2

SB CW IRAG. FEE. 90k 6 bn a Feceesdndessadeeess 14

Vv

Federal Statutes:—Continued

28 U.S.C. § 1259(3)

Federal Regulations:

IRS Income Tax Records Rule,

26 C.F.R. 1.6001-1 (1982)

Section 14, Maximum Price Regulation 426,

8 Fed. Reg. 9546 (1943)

Air Force Instruction (AFI) 36-3001, Issuing

and Controlling Identification (ID) Cards,

01 Jan 96

The petitioner, Staff Sergeant John B. Swift,

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the

order and judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Armed Forces entered in his case on August 31, 2000,

rendered final by that court’s denial of his petition for

reconsideration on September 28, 2000.

OPINIONS BELOW

The order and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces, reported at United States v.

Swift, 53 M.J. 439 (2000), is located at Appendix A. The order

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Force

denying petitioner's petition for reconsideration is located at

Appendix B. The unpublished opinion of the United States

Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals (No. ACM 32447,

December 4, 1997) is located at Appendix C.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces was entered on August 31, 2000, and

petitioner’s petition for reconsideration was denied on

September 28, 2000. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked

under 28 U.S.C. § 1259(8) and 10 U.S.C. § 867(a)(3).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution of the United

States provides, in relevant part, “[nJo person . . . shall be

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against himself —

Article 67(c), U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 867(c), provides that

“(t]he Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces shall take

action only with respect to matters of law.”

:

'

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Procedural History:

On September 17 and 18, 1996, the petitioner was tried

by a general court-martial consisting of officer members

convened at Shaw Air Force Base, South Carolina. Contrary

to his pleas, the petitioner was found guilty of two

specifications of making false official statements

(Specifications 1 and 2 of Charge I) in violation of Article 107,

Uniform Code of Military Justice [hereinafter cited as

U.C.M.J.], 10 U.S.C. § 907, as well as two specifications of

uttering worthless checks by dishonorably failing to maintain

sufficient funds, one specification of bigamy, and one

specification of obstruction of justice, all in violation of

Article 134, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 934. Consistent with his

plea, he was also found guilty of an additional specification of

making a false official statement (Specification 3 of Charge I),

in violation of Article 107, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 907. He was

sentenced to be discharged with a bad conduct discharge and

to be reduced to the pay grade of E-1 (airman basic).

The convening authority approved the sentence as

adjudged on November 20, 1996. On December 4, 1997, the

Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals affirmed both the

findings and sentence and thereby denied relief sought by the

petitioner. (Appendix C).

On September 30, 1998, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces granted review on the

following issue:

WHETHER THE MILITARY JUDGE ERRED IN

FAILING TO SUPPRESS STATEMENTS THE

APPELLANT MADE TO HIS FIRST SERGEANT

AFTER HAVING BEEN SUBJECTED TO

REPEATED AND PERSISTENT QUESTIONING

BY HIS FIRST SERGEANT WITHOUT HAVING

BEEN FIRST ADVISED OF HIS RIGHTS

UNDER ARTICLE 31, UCMJ.

This issue was argued before the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces on March 9, 1999. The court

3

issued its decision on August 31, 2000, reversing the decision

of the Air Force Court of Criminal Appeals as to

Specification 1 of Charge I but affirming the decision as to

Specification 2 of Charge I, thus denying relief to petitioner

as to his conviction under Specification 2. United States v.

Swift, 53 M.J. 489 (2000). The United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces affirmed the sentence without

remanding the case for further proceedings. The first two

questions presented in this petition are based on the issue

granted by the United States Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces. The last question presented springs from the

action of the United States Court of Appeals for the Armed

Forces in assessing the appropriateness of the sentence in

the case.

Statement of Facts:

- At the time of the offenses, Staff Sergeant (SSgt) John

B. Swift was a jet engine mechanic assigned to the 20th

Component Repair Squadron at Shaw Air Force Base (AFB),

South Carolina. (Prosecution Ex. 16). His first sergeant,

Master Sergeant (MSgt) George Vernoski, had served on

active duty for twenty-two years and had been a first

sergeant (a senior enlisted command representative) for the

last seven of those years (R. at 28).

On Friday, March 8, 1996, MSgt Vernoski learned that a

Jacqueline Swift had called the squadron relating that earlier

that morning a woman who identified herself as “Suzanne

Swift” called her. (R. at 10). The gist of the conversation was

that “Suzanne” told Jacqueline she was married to SSgt

Swift and that Jacqueline was not. (R. at 10, 121). Jacqueline

Swift related that Suzanne told her that she (Jacqueline) had

been divorced since 1993 and that Suzanne had.

documentation to that effect from Pike County, Kentucky.

Appellate Ex. II.

To the best of her knowledge Jacqueline Swift believed

she was still married to SSgt Swift and had not been

divorced. (R. at 10). Among other things, MSgt Vernoski

learned that Jacqueline Swift had called the Pike County

courthouse, learning that there was no record of a divorce on

+

file, (R. at 19, 22), and that Jacqueline Swift wanted to press

charges for bigamy if SSgt Swift had in fact married a second

wife. (R. at 18).

MSgt Vernoski retrieved SSgt Swift’s unit mobility

folder and examined his emergency data card, on which

Jacqueline Swift was listed as his wife. (R. at 10). MSgt

Vernoski also went to the Military Personnel Flight (MPF) to

examine SSgt Swift’s personnel records to see whom he

claimed as his wife on his Defense Enrollment Eligibility

Reporting System (DEERS)' enrollment form. (R. at 10, 19).

He learned that a “Suzanne” Swift was listed as his wife in

DEERS and that Jacqueline Swift had been disenrolled. (R.

at 10-11). The MPF clerk told them that a military member

could change this information by presenting a copy of a

divorce decree. (R. at 11). Air Force Instruction (AFI) 36-

3001, Issuing and Controlling Identification (ID) Cards, 01

Jan 96 (Petition for Reconsideration, Appendix), in force at

the time of SSgt Swift’s offenses, required an Air Force

member (or “sponsor”) to provide “the documentation

necessary to terminate DEERS for dependents no longer

eligible for benefits and privileges.” Jd. at para. 2.4.4.

However, at trial, a Staff Sergeant (SSgt) Issac, testified that

the documentation a “technician that works in the DEERS

system would have to see, with no exceptions” to disenroll a

former spouse would be a copy of the divorce decree. (R. at

137). Under AFI 36-3001, the only specific documentation

required to be produced (but not maintained) to enroll a new

spouse was a marriage certificate. AFI 36-3001, Table A5.1,

Rule 12. a

MSgt Vernoski also spoke with Major Davis, a judge

advocate assigned to the Shaw AFB legal office. (R. at 19-

21). Major Davis was the chief of military justice and the

deputy staff judge advocate; he was the primary attorney for

military justice matters. (R. at 21); Appellate Ex. I. MSgt

'‘DEERS is the computer system that the Department of Defense uses to

track persons who are eligible for military benefits. See AFI 36-3001,

Attachment 1 (Glossary), at 36.

5

Vernoski’s duties as first sergeant necessarily involved

speaking with Major Davis. The purpose of these discussions

was to keep Major Davis abreast of potential crimes in the

squadron. (R. at 20). MSgt Vernoski explained SSgt Swift’s

situation to Major Davis. (R. at 20). He told Major Davis

what he had discovered on SSgt Swift’s DEERS enrollment

(i.e., that Jacqueline Swift, the woman claiming to still be his

wife, had been disenrolled and a “Suzanne” Swift. substituted

in her place). (R. at 21). MSgt Vernoski spoke to Major

Davis about the matter “because it was unusual.” (R. at 32).

He had “never seen or come across a bigamy case.” (R. at 32)

(emphasis added); see also (R. at 36). Major Davis, in

referring to the events of Friday, March 8, 1996, wrote: “Capt

Beth Myatt and MSgt Vernoski had previously mentioned

the troop and his potential bigamy to me.” Appellate Ex. I

(emphasis added).

Based on the information available to MSgt Vernoski

and Capt Myatt, the squadron’s section commander, these

two command representatives made a decision to confront

SSgt Swift. (R. at 11). They decided to wait until Monday.

(R. at 11). MSgt Vernoski had previously counseled SSgt

Swift in fall of 1995 for failing to support his wife, Jacqueline.

(R. at 27) At that time MSgt Vernoski was under the

impression that SSgt Swift and Jacqueline were still married.

(R. at 27-28, 124). Until Jacqueline Swift’s phone call on

Friday, March 8, 1996, he had not received any other

information that would change his belief that they remained

married. (R. at 28).

On Monday morning, March 11, 1996, Jacqueline Swift .

called the squadron and spoke with MSgt Vernoski directly.

(R. at 11, 22). She told him about calling the Pike County

courthouse (where “Suzanne” had claimed the divorce order

originated) and about speaking to a clerk by the name of

Montrina who was unable to locate a divorce filed on behalf of

SSgt Swift. (R. at 23, 33). She gave MSgt Vernoski the

clerk’s telephone number in the event he wanted to speak to

the clerk himself. (R. at 23). After concluding his

conversation with Jacqueline Swift, MSgt Vernoski called

6

SSgt Swift into his office. (R. at 18). He wanted to “hear his

side of the story.” (R. at 34, 124). He did not advise SSgt

Swift of his rights under Article 31’; however, before

speaking with him, MSgt Vernoski researched the applicable

Manual for Courts-Martial provisions concerning the offense

of bigamy. (R. at 31). He considered bigamy a serious

offense. (R. at 44).

SSet Swift was told of the “allegations” J acqueline Swift

was making (R. at 12, 31). SSgt Swift denied them. (R. at

12). He stated that he divorced Jacqueline in September

1994, (R. at 31), but this conflicted with what MSgt Vernoski

recalled from having counseled SSgt Swift for not supporting

his wife as recently as fall 1995. (R. at 124). SSgt Swift

offered by way of explanation that Jacqueline Swift “may be

trying to get him in trouble.” (R. at 12).

Upon hearing SSgt Swift mention the word “trouble,” it

occurred to MSgt Vernoski to inform SSgt Swift of the

maximum punishment for the offense of bigamy. (R. at 12). He

did this by reading from the Manual for Courts-Martial, which

he “just happened”-to have out. (R. at 12, 24). MSgt Vernoski

“had the book out” because he was “curious;” he “never had a

case like this before.” (R. at 12) (emphasis added). At no time

did he advise SSgt Swift of his Article 31 rights. Id.

According to MSgt Vernoski, the conversation about the

maximum punishment for bigamy came about after SSgt

2Article 31, U.C.MJ., 10 U.S.C. § 831. As noted in Swift:

The primary source of the rights’ warning requirements in military

law is a statutory enactment, not constitutional adjudication. Con-

gress has provided members of the armed forces with a rights’

warning requirement that is broader than the warnings required in a

civilian setting as a matter of constitutional law under Miranda. Arti-

cle 31(b) mandates rights’ warnings for anyone “suspected of an

offense,” whereas Miranda warnings are required only in circum-

stances amounting to “custodial interrogation.”

53 M.J. at 445. In 1967, the United States Court of Military Appeals held

that the warnings required by Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966),

apply to custodial interrogations in the armed forces. United States v. Tem-

pia, 16 U.S.C.M.A. 629, 37 C.M.R. 249 (1967).

7

Swift told him that Jacqueline may be trying to get him into

trouble, “big trouble.” (R. at 39). MSgt Vernoski responded,

“Yeah, well she can get you in trouble, she can get you...[two

years in jail].” (R. at 39). On cross-examination, the

following exchange took place between trial defense counsel

and MSgt Vernoski:

Q: Okay. You go back to your office and before you

talked to Sergeant Swift, before you called him into

your office, you pull out a copy of the Manual for

Courts-Martial, correct?

A: Yes, sir.

Q: And you look up bigamy?

A: I did.

Q: Why did you look up bigamy if you didn’t consider

him a suspect?

A: Because I’ve never had an incident like this in the

years I’ve been a first sergeant, and J was just

curious on what the elements were and—

(R. at 24) (emphasis added).

The conversation continued without SSgt Swift being

advised of his Article 31 rights. MSgt Vernoski reminded

SSgt Swift about a conversation they had in October 1995 at

which time SSgt Swift stated he was still married. (R. at 12).

SSgt Swift said he didn’t remember making that statement.

(R. at 12). MSgt Vernoski requested that SSgt Swift provide

him a copy of the divorce decree. (R. at 12). He responded

that on the advice of his attorney he did not want Jacqueline

to have a copy of the divorce paperwork because it would

give her an advantage in a child custody matter. (R. at 12,

124-5). SSgt Swift told MSgt Vernoski he’d provide a copy of

the divorce decree first thing the next morning. (R. at 12).

MSgt Vernoski directed SSgt Swift to meet with him “first

thing in the morning.” (R. at 12-13).

After this conversation, MSgt Vernoski again went to

the Shaw AFB legal office. (R. at 24). His purpose was to

keep the legal office informed about the case: “I told Major

8

Davis about this case because I normally keep him in the loop

regarding ‘potential crimes’ in the squadron.” Appellate Ex.

III. He told Major Davis about the conversation he had just

had with SSgt Swift. (R. at 24).

The next morning, Tuesday, March 12, SSgt Swift did

not appear at 0730 hours as directed, and MSgt Vernoski

called SSgt Swift’s duty section to inquire into his

whereabouts. (R. at 13). Around 0800 hours, SSgt Swift

arrived at MSgt Vernoski’s office without the paperwork he

had told MSgt Vernoski he would bring. (R. at 13). Again,

MSgt Vernoski did not advise SSgt Swift of his Article 31

rights. SSgt Swift told MSgt Vernoski that his attorney

would probably fax his divorce decree to the squadron by

0900 hours, but definitely no later than lunchtime. (R. at 13).

Later Tuesday afternoon, SSgt Swift again met with

MSgt Vernoski. (R. at 13). Once again, MSgt Vernoski did

not advise SSgt Swift of his Article 31 rights. SSgt Swift

presented MSgt Vernoski with documents that appeared to

MSgt Vernoski to be child custody paperwork. Jd. He told

SSgt Swift, “[t]his is not a divorce decree,” and told SSgt

Swift that he needed to see a divorce decree. Id. SSgt Swift

said he should have a copy by first thing in the morning. /d.

SSgt Swift was supposed to return to MSgt Vernoski’s office

at 0730 hours the next morning. /d.

__ The next morning, Wednesday, March 13th, SSgt Swift

again failed to report at 0730 hours. (K. at 13). Around 0830

hours, MSgt Vernoski called SSgt Swift and told him to come

to his office. Jd. SSgt Swift was not advised of his Article 31

rights. Once again, he arrived without the paperwork he

promised he’d bring. Jd. He told MSgt Vernoski his attorney

didn’t start work until 0900 and he couldn’t reach him until

then. Jd. MSgt Vernoski then told SSgt Swift he “was tired

ef him not coming at the designated time” and that he was

tired of “having. . . to go get him all the tire.” (R. at 14). He

told SSgt Swift he “wanted hourly updates. . . whether he

knew something or not, just so he could be in contact. . . and

keep his appointments.” Jd. (emphasis added).

9

Later that morning, MSgt Vernoski again met with SSgt

Swift, and again, he did not advise SSgt Swift of his Article

31 rights. (R. at 14). SSgt Swift told him he had tried to

contact his attorney, but he was in court and could not be

reached. MSgt Vernoski asked SSgt Swift why he couldn’t go

to his attorney’s office. SSgt Swift told him that the

paralegal there could not release the document without his

attorney’s consent. (R. at 14). The colloquy between MSgt

Vernoski and trial counsel reveals what happened next:

Q: So what did the two of you agree on at that point?

A: Okay, at that point, he was going to go down to the

attorney’s office, whether or not he heard back from

the attorney, whether or not he had answered his

page, and see about getting a copy.

: Okay, so what happened next?

: Okay, around ten o’clock, I believe it was, he said he

had contacted the attorney, the attorney had

answered the page and had authorized the clerk to

give him a copy of the divorce paperwork. And I told

him at that time, “Well, great, but don’t hurry

because I’m going to be out of the office for a while.

Just drop the paperwork off around a quarter to two

or so, right before our two o’clock staff meeting.”

Q: And did you see him later that afternoon?

A: Yes, he showed up at a quarter to two with a divorce

decree.

(R. at 14-15) (emphasis added).

SSgt Swift produced paperwork that he told MSgt

Vernoski was his divorce decree. (R. at 16). At trial the

“decree” was admitted against SSgt Swift. Prosecution Ex.

3. At no time during the seven-day period beginning Friday,

March 8, 1996, and ending Thursday, March 14, 1996, did

MSgt Vernoski ever advise SSgt Swift of his rights under

Article 31. At the investigatory hearing held pursuant to

Article 32, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 832, and again at trial, MSgt

Vernoski maintained that he never suspected SSgt Swift of

10

an offense. (R. at 17). In his seven years as a first sergeant,

he estimated he’s read members their rights hundreds of

times. (R. at 28).

At trial, SSgt Swift’s defense counsel moved to suppress

all statements made to MSgt Vernoski, and all evidence

derived therefrom, including Prosecution Exhibit 3, on the

grounds that the statements were taken in violation of SSgt

Swift’s rights under Article 31, U.C.MJ. (R. at 8); Appellate

Ex. I. The military judge denied the motion. (R. at 52-54).

Trial defense counsel again raised this issue to the convening

authority in a brief filed under Article 38(c), U.C.M.J., 10

U.S.C. § 838(c).

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I.

__ The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution protects a

person from being “compelled in any criminal case to be a

witness against himself.” U.S. Const. Amend. V. This Court

has held that this protection is limited to “compelled

incriminating communications . . . that are testimonial in

nature.” United States v. Hubbell, 580 U.S. 27, __, 120 S.Ct.

2037, 2042 (2000). However, this Court in Hubbell did not

reach the issue of whether this limitation was correctly

decided in Fisher v. United States, 425 U.S. 391 (1976). See

Hubbell, 120 S.Ct. at 2053-54 (Thomas, J., concurring) (noting

that Fisher departed from the historical and constitutional

context surrounding the Fifth Ameridment). Justice Thomas

in his concurrence noted that this limitation to

communications that are testimonial in nature requires “a

difficult parsing of the act of responding to a subpoena duces

tecum.” Id., 120 S.Ct. at 2054.

Likewise, this limitation also requires “a difficult

parsing of the act of responding” to an order of a military

superior. For SSgt Swift, he was faced with a dilemma:

provide the fake divorce decree and thereby make a false

official statement (his ultimate path) or not provide the

divorce decree and thereby fail to obey the order of a

1]

superior noncommissioned officer, an offense punishable by

confinement for one year. Article 91(2), U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C.

§ 891(2); see also Swift, 53 M.J. at 445. Moreover, he was not

in the more enviable position of a person responding to a

subpoena duces tecum because he could not ask a court to

quash MSgt Vernoski’s order.

In its opinion in this case, the United States Court of

Appeals for the Armed Forces held that because MSgt

Vernoski was acting in a disciplinary capacity, he was

required to advise SSgt Swift of his rights under Article 31,

U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 831, and the Court also held that there

is no exception to the requirements of Article 31 for false

statement prosecutions under Article 107, U.C.M.J., 10

U.S.C. § 907. Swift, 53 M.J. 439 (2000). However, the court

declined to apply this privilege to the production of the

divorce decree, reasoning that the “appellant could not have

objected to producing the divorce decree solely on the basis

that the fraudulent contents were incriminating because

MSgt Vernoski’s request was based on facts indicating the

document, the divorce decree, had been created prior to the

order to produce it,” citing Fisher v. United States, 425 U.S.

391 (1976), as authority. Jd. at 453. This holding appears to

based on an earlier discussion of the law in the opinion, when

the court noted that

The contents of documents voluntarily prepared

before the compelled production are not protected

by the Fifth Amendment or Article 31(a) because

the documents “could not be ‘said to contain

compelled testimonial evidence.”

53 M.J. at 453 (citations omitted). In other words, because

the contents of the divorce decree were voluntarily produced

earlier, the court concluded that the subsequent, compelled

act of production by SSgt Swift had no testimonial aspect.

However, this Court’s opinion in Hubbell makes it clear

that the analysis does not end there; an act of production of

previously prepared documents may still be testimonial in

nature. 120 S.Ct. at 2047. This is particularly true in a case

such as this where the act of production was used as the basis

12

for a conviction. Using the analysis in Fisher would be

appropriate in analyzing the effect of the decree on the

bigamy prosecution because any testimonial significance

would relate to a crime that had already occurred. Here the

crime was in progress or really had yet to occur, and the act

of production itself was the only incriminating evidence.

Because Article 107, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 907, requires that

a statement be made with the intent to deceive, id., it then

requires a testimonial aspect because one can only deceive

via an act of production by making some sort of false factual

assertion along with the act of production.

Because SSgt Swift’s act of production carried with it an

intent to deceive, then that act of production would

communicate a factual assertion (i.e., this false divorce decree

is a legitimate divorce decree), and as a result it would be -

privileged under the Fifth Amendment and under Article 31.

Hubbell, 120 S.Ct. at 2043-44; see also Doe v. United States,

487 U.S. 201, 210 (1988) (for a communication to be testimonial,

it “must itself, explicitly or implicitly, relate a factual assertion

or disclose information.”). Finally, should this Honorable

Court not agree that his act of production is testimonial under

Fisher and Hubbell, SSgt Swift asks that this Honorable

Court overrule Fisher to the extent that it holds that the Fifth

Amendment does not protect him from being compelled to

produce private papers in his personal possession.

Il.

In making its decision, should this Honorable Court now

conclude SSgt Swift’s act of production was indeed

testimonial in nature, SSgt Swift respectfully contends that

United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces has

misapprehended the scope of the required records exception

to the Fifth Amendment and has expanded it beyond its

traditional bounds. In its opinion, the court below decided

that SSgt Swift’s production fell within the required-records

exception to the Fifth Amendment and to Article 31(a). Swift,

53 M.J. at 454.e The court explained the test for the ee

records exception as follows: -

13

To constitute “required records,” the documents

must satisfy the following test: (1) the requirement

that they be kept “must be essentially regulatory”;

(2) the records must be the “kind which the

regulated party has customarily kept”; and (3) the

records themselves must be either public

documents or “have assumed ‘public aspects’ which

render them at least analogous to public

documents.”

Id. at 453 (citing Grosso v. United States, 390 U.S. 62, 67-68

(1968) and In re Dr John Doe, 711 F. 2d 1187 (2d Cir. 1983)).

In addition to Grosso and In re Dr. John Doe, the opinion

also cited United States v. Shapiro, 335 U.S. 1 (1948), in

examining whether SSgt Swift’s act of production fell within

the required records exception. Shapiro dealt with the

production of records that were required to be maintained by

Section 14 of Maximum Price Regulation 426, 8 Fed.Reg. 9546

(1943), which required that “[e]very person subject to this

regulation shall . . . preserve for examination” their records.

Shapiro, 335 U.S. at 5 n.8. Contrast that regulatory scheme

where records must be preserved for examination with the

regulatory scheme that did not require SSgt Swift to maintain

a personal copy of a-divorce decree. He had no requirement

to maintain any document once it was presented to personnel

officials to change his spousal enrollment in DEERS; he could

have thrown the divorce decree away had he wanted. AF 36-

3001 required a sponsor to provide “the documentation

necessary to terminate DEERS for dependents no longer

eligible for benefits and privileges.” Jd. at para. 2.4.4. At trial,

Staff Sergeant (SSgt) Issac testified that the documentation a

“technician that works in the DEERS system would have to

see, with no exceptions” to disenroll a former spouse would

be a copy of the divorce decree. (R. at 137). The only specific

documentation required to be produced (not maintained) to

enroll a new spouse was a marriage certificate. AFI 36-3001,

Table A5.1, Rule 12.

The language of AFI 36-3001 makes it clear that the

divorce decree was never required to be specifically produced

“a

14

~ nor was any documentation whatsoever required to be

maintained. The regulation only requires the production of

“documentation” in a generic sense. Any production of the

divorce decree to a DEERS technician was merely the result

of a usual or local practice that was not specifically mandated

in the regulation. There was no regulatory requirement that

SSgt Swift keep or even produce the divorce decree. This is

not an instance where the “incriminating evidence [is] the

byproduct of obedience to a regulatory requirement, such as

... maintaining required records” causing it to be devoid

of any testimonial privilege. Hubbell, 120 S.Ct. at 2043 (citing

Shapiro v. United States, 335 U.S. 1 (1948)) (emphasis added).

Counsel for petitioner is unaware of any other federal

courts which have squarely addressed the question of

whether the required-records exception applies not only to

records required to be maintained but also to those required

to have been produced in the past. Jn re Dr. John Doe, 711

F.2d 1187 (2d Cir. 1983), is a case where the facts hint at the

presence of the issue but contains no discussion of it.

However, the documents at issue in In re Dr. John Doe were

tax records, specifically W-2 forms. Even if the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit did not

specifitally note so in its opinion, tax records are more

thoroughly regulated and were indeed required to be kept in

that case. See 26 U.S.C. § 6001 and IRS Income Tax Records

Rule, 26 C.F.R. 1.6001-1 (1982). Moreover, In re Dr. John Doe

involved a regulatory requirement for a specific kind of

documentation, the W-2 form, 711 F.2d at 1191, specificity

that is lacking in this case.

Even if In re Dr. John Doe does stand for the

proposition that the required-records exception applies to

records required to be produced at any moment of time, even

a moment of time in the past, then the Jn re Dr. John Doe and

Swift courts stand alone in this unwarranted expansion of the

required-records exception, and those courts have decided an

important federal question in a way that conflicts with

decisions of this Honorable Court. This Honorable Court

discussed the nature of the required-records exception at

15

length in Baltimore City Dept. of Social Services v.

Bouknight, 493 U.S. 549 (1990):

In Shapiro v. United States, the Court considered an

application of the Emergency Price Control Act and a

regulation issued thereunder which required licensed

businesses to maintain records and make them

available for inspection by administrators.

The Court indicated that no Fifth Amendment

protection attached to production of the “required

records,” which the “ ‘defendant was required to keep,

not for his private uses, but for the benefit of the public,

and for public inspection.”” The Court’s discussion of

the constitutional implications of the scheme focused

upon the relation between the Government’s regulatory

objectives and the Government’s interest in gaining

access to the records in Shapiro’s possession:

It may be assumed at the outset that there are

limits which the Government cannot

constitutionally exceed in requiring the

keeping of records which may be inspected by

an administrative agency and may be used in

prosecuting statutory violations committed by

the recordkeeper himself.

But no serious misgiving that those bounds

have been overstepped would appear to be

evoked when there is a sufficient relation

between the activity sought to be regulated

and the public concern so that the Government

can constitutionally regulate or forbid the

basic activity concerned, and can

constitutionally require the keeping of

particular records, subject to inspection by

the Administrator.”

In Wilson v. United States, the Court surveyed a range

of cases involving the custody of public documents and

records required by law to be kept because they related

16

to “the appropriate subjects of governmental regulation

and the enforcement of restrictions validly established.”

Id.. at 556-558 (citations omitted) (emphases added). Thus,

it is clear that when this Honorable Court has applied the

required-records exception, it has only been in the context

of a regulatory requirement to maintain records.

Moreover, SSgt Swift’s situation is unlike the situation

in Bouknight where Bouknight “ha[d] accepted the incident

obligation to permit inspection” of her son and his condition

when she agreed to extensive conditions of a court-

approved protective supervision order allowing her to

continue custody of her previously-abused son. /d. at 559.

The extent of the Air Force’s regulatory scheme was to

require SSgt Swift to produce at a given instant in time (in

this case in the past) necessary, yet unspecified,

documentation. It did not require the keeping of the record

or the production for inspection of the record that would

permit the application of the required-records exception.

A divorce decree then was not a record required by

regulation or statute to be maintained or “kept” by SSgt

Swift, and the required-records exception to the Fifth

Amendment and to Article 31(a), U.C.M.J., thus does not

apply to his act of producing it.

III.

Article 67(c), UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 867(c), limits the

ability of the United States Court of Appeals for the

‘Armed Forces to “take action only with respect to matters

of law.” Id. The Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces

sub silentio assessed the appropriateness of the sentence in

this case after setting aside the conviction in part: “In light

of the remaining offenses and the evidence in this case, we

are convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that the error

with respect to the dismissed offense was not prejudicial as

to sentence.” Swift, 58 M.J. at 455. However, just such a

practice was condemned in United States v. Christopher, 32

C.M.R. 231 (1962):

17

We hasten to emphasize that we should not be

considered as arrogating to ourselves, under the

guise of a legal label, the power to determine or

pass on factual questions of sentence

appropriateness. Such is not our intention. Quite

clearly, and not inadvisedly, Congress denied this

Court such authority under the Uniform Code of

Military Justice.

Id. at 236; see also, e.g., United States v. Dukes, 5 MJ.

71, 72-73 (C.M.A. 1978). Such a determination is a fact-

based decision that must remain vested in the discretion of

a trial court or of a court of appeals with fact-finding

powers such as those provided to the service courts of

criminal appeals under Article 66, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C.

§ 866. Cf. United States v. Pimienta-Redondo, 874 F.2d 9,

14 (1st Cir.) (en banc) (“After an appellate court unwraps

the package and removes one or more charges from its

confines, the sentencing judge, herself, is in the best

position to assess the effect of the withdrawal and to

redefine the package’s size and shape (if, indeed,

redefinition seems appropriate)”), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 890

(1989). Petitioner, therefore, asks this Honorable Court to

exercise its supervisory authority to correct this act which

exceeded the authority of the Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces.

CONCLUSION

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces represents a significant departure from

this Honorable Court’s Fifth Amendment jurisprudence.

Moreover, the United States Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces has so far departed from the accepted and -

usual course of judicial proceedings by assessing

petitioner’s sentence as to call for an exercise of this

Honorable Court’s supervisory power. Therefore, the

petitioner respectfully requests that this Honorable Court

grant certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces.

18

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

December 2000

Respectfully submitted,

KYLE R. JACOBSON

Captain, United States Air Force

Appellate Defense Counsel

Counsel of Record

STEPHEN P. KELLY

Major, United States Air Force

Appellate Defense Counsel

Counsel of Record

Air Force Legal Services Agency

Appellate Defense Division

112 Luke Avenue, Suite 343

Bolling AFB, DC 20332-8000

(202) 767-1562 ~-

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES, Appellee,

v.

John B. SWIFT, Staff Sergeant,

U.S. Air Force, Appellant

No. 98-5012

Crim. App. No. 32447

United States Court of Appeals for

the Armed Forces

Argued March 9, 1999.*

Decided August 31, 2000.

EFFRON, J., delivered the opinion of the Court, in which

CRAWFORD, C. J., GIERKE, J., and COX, S.J., joined.

SULLIVAN, J., filed an opinion CORSETSINg in part and

dissenting in part.

_ For Appellant: Captain Michael J. Apol (argued); Colonel

Douglas H. Kohrt (on brief); Liewtenant Colonel Kim L.

Sheffield.

For Appellee: Captain Steven D. Dubriske (argued);

Colonel Anthony P. Dattilo and Major Ronald A. Rodgers (on

brief); Lieutenant Colonel Michael J. Breslin. ss

Judge EFFRON delivered the opinion of the Court.

A general court-martial composed of officer members

convicted appellant, pursuant to mixed pleas, of making a false

official statement (3 specifications), writing bad checks (2

specifications), bigamy, and impeding an investigation, in

violation of Articles 107 and 134, Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 10 USC §§ 907 and 934, respectively. Appellant was

sentenced to a bad-conduct discharge and reduction to the

grade of E-1. The convening authority approved the sentence

*This case was argued at the United States Air Force Academy, Colorado

Springs, Colorado, as part of Project Outreach. See United States v. Martinez,

52 MJ 22, 23 n. * (1999).

2a

as adjudged. In an unpublished opinion, the Court of Criminal

Appeals affirmed the findings and sentence but ordered that

appellant receive administrative relief from the improper

execution of the adjudged reduction in grade.

On appellant’s cross-petition, we granted review of the

following issue: :

WHETHER THE MILITARY JUDGE ERRED IN

FAILING TO SUPPRESS STATEMENTS

APPELLANT MADE TO HIS FIRST SERGEANT

AFTER HAVING BEEN SUBJECTED TO

REPEATED AND PERSISTENT QUESTIONING

BY HIS FIRST SERGEANT WITHOUT HAVING

BEEN FIRST ADVISED OF HIS RIGHTS

UNDER ARTICLE 31, UCMJ.’

We hold that the military judge erred in admitting the verbal

statements at issue in the absence of rights’ warnings under

Article 31(b), UCMJ, 10 USC § 831(b), but did not err in

admitting the divorce decree into evidence. The error was

prejudicial as to one specification on findings, but harmless as

to the sentence. See Art. 59(a), UCMJ, 10 USC § 859(a).

I. FACTS

A. Questions Concerning Appellant’s Marital Status

On Friday, March 8, 1996, appellant’s commander, Captain

' (Capt) Myatt, received a telephone call from a woman who

identified herself as appellant’s wife, JS (hereafter referred to

as “the first Mrs. Swift”). The first Mrs. Swift stated that she

had received a telephone call that morning from a woman who

had identified herself as SS (hereafter referred to as “the

second Mrs. Swift”). According to the first Mrs. Swift, the

second Mrs. Swift had made the following points during their

telephone conversation: (1) the second Mrs. Swift currently

was married to appellant; (2) the first Mrs. Swift no longer was

'The initial filing in our Court, which concerned an unrelated issue certified

by the Judge Advocate General under Article 67(a)(2), UCMJ, 10 USC

§ 867(a)(2)(1989), was disposed of by order on September 30, 1998. 50 MJ 351.

3a

married to appellant; (3) appellant had divorced the first Mrs.

Swift in 1994; (4) the divorce took place in Pike County,

Kentucky; and (5) the divorce papers were in the possession of

the second Mrs. Swift.

The first Mrs. Swift told Capt Myatt that she had no

previous knowledge of either the second Mrs. Swift or a

divorce. The first Mrs. Swift added that to the best of her

knowledge, she was still married to appellant and had not been

divorced. She told Capt Myatt that after her telephone

conversation with the second Mrs. Swift, she contacted the

Pike County courthouse, and a clerk had told her there was no

record of such a divorce on file in that county.

The first Mrs. Swift and appellant had been living apart

for some time. She told Capt Myatt that she did not believe she

was divorced since she had not received any notice that

appellant was seeking a divorce and had not signed any

paperwork. She asked Capt Myatt for assistance in

determining whether there had been a divorce and whether

she remained eligible for military medical care. The first Mrs.

Swift concluded her conversation with Capt Myatt by telling

her that, if appellant had married the second Mrs. Swift

without first obtaining a divorce, she wanted to press charges

for the offense of bigamy.

Capt Myatt related this information to appellant’s first

sergeant, Master Sergeant (MSgt) Vernoski. MSgt Vernoski

was familiar with appellant’s marriage to the first Mrs. Swift

because, in the fall of 1995, MSgt Vernoski had counseled

appellant for failing to support his wife, the first Mrs. Swift. At

that time, MSgt Vernoski assisted appellant in setting up an

allotment for the first Mrs. Swift. Until learning of the phone

call to Capt Myatt, MSgt Vernoski was under the impression

that the first Mrs. Swift and appellant remained married.

Capt Myatt and MSgt Vernoski reviewed appellant’s

emergency data card in the unit mobility folder, which still listed

the first Mrs. Swift as appellant’s wife. Capt Myatt and MSgt

Vernoski then went to the personnel office to check appellant’s

records. Appellant’s file included several copies of DD Form 1172,

the form used to enroll or disenroll military members and

oo nai nn a Spa aad

4a

dependents from the Defense Eligibility Enrollment Reporting

System (DEERS) for purposes of health care eligibility.

According to these records, appellant had disenrolled the first

Mrs. Swift and had enrolled the second Mrs. Swift as his spouse.

The form indicated that the first Mrs. Swift became ineligible for

benefits on September 14, 1994. An official at the personnel office

advised Myatt and Vernoski that a spouse could be disenrolled

only if the servicemember provided a copy of a divorce decree.

The personnel official noted that appellant’s emergency data card

in the personnel office still listed the first Mrs. Swift as

appellant’s spouse, but she also recalled that appellant was in the

process of revising that card.

Shortly thereafter, Capt Myatt and MSgt Vernoski visited

the base legal office, where they discussed several military

justice matters with the chief of military justice. During this visit,

MSgt Vernoski described the phone call from the first Mrs. Swift

and related what they had learned at the personnel office. MSgt

Vernoski later testified that he had brought this matter to the

attention of the chief of military justice “because it was unusual”

and he had “never seen or come across a bigamy case.” The chief

of military justice recalled that MSgt Vernoski and Capt Myatt

mentioned, during this meeting, “the troop and his potential

bigamy to me.” Later in the day, Capt Myatt and MSgt Vernoski

decided that they would confront appellant Monday morning.

On Monday, March 11, before they confronted appellant,

MSgt Vernoski received a call from the first Mrs. Swift. She

reiterated what she previously had told Capt Myatt and gave

MSgt Vernoski the name and telephone number of the clerk in

the Pike County courthouse with whom she had spoken.

According to the first Mrs. Swift, she told MSgt Vernoski that

she did not “think there was a divorce” and added that she “didn’t

think it was legal.” MSgt Vernoski testified that he had never

heard of anyone being divorced without that person’s knowledge,

but thought that it could be possible. After the phone call from

the first Mrs. Swift and prior to meeting with appellant, MSgt

Vernoski opened the Manual for Courts-Martial and reviewed the

Manual’s provisions concerning the offense of bigamy, including

the elements and the maximum punishment. According to MSgt

5a

Vernoski, he looked at the Manual because he was “curious,” as

he had never had a “case like this before.”

MSgt Vernoski, who subsequently testified that he had

called appellant into his office to “hear his side of the story,” did

_not advise appellant of the right to remain silent or the other

self-incrimination rights under Article 31(b). He told appellant

of the “accusations” made by the first Mrs. Swift. Appellant

responded that he had divorced the first Mrs. Swift in

September 1994. Immediately upon hearing appellant state

that he had been divorced in 1994, MSgt Vernoski reminde2

appellant that in the fall of 1995, just a few months earlier,

appellant had stated that he still was married to the first Mrs.

Swift. Appellant responded by claiming that he had not made

such a statement.

Appellant then provided MSgt Vernoski with the name of an

attorney who, according to appellant, had represented him in the

divorce proceeding. Appellant also suggested that the first Mrs.

Swift might be trying to get him into trouble. MSgt Vernoski

responded by telling appellant that “she can get you in trouble”

and showed him the maximum punishment for bigamy from the

Manual for Courts-Martial.

At the conclusion of the conversation, MSgt Vernoski

directed appellant to provide him with a copy of his divorce

decree. Appellant said that he would bring a copy the next

morning. Later that day, MSgt Vernoski visited the chief of

military justice at the base legal office and told him about his ;

conversation with appellant. He later noted that he had visited

the chief of military justice on this matter “because I normally

keep him in the loop regarding ‘potential crimes’ in the

squadron.”

PRE a a ee - ees, i Saas RM Pre ee eT ek ees

Sapte Satan sit Trccrer gaa aa : “ " : cviighe :

B. Production of the Divorce Decree

When appellant failed to appear with the divorce decree

on Tuesday morning, MSgt Vernoski summoned him. Appellant

arrived without the paperwork, explaining that his attorney,

who was in court that morning, would fax a copy of the decree

to the squadron later in the day.

6a

On Tuesday afternoon, appellant delivered certain

documents to MSgt Vernoski, who determined that the

documents were not responsive because they pertained to child

custody rather than divorce. He told appellant that he needed

to see a divorce decree to verify his divorce, and appellant

promised to deliver the divorce decree at 0730 hours the

following morning.

The next day, appellant again failed to report to MSgt

Vernoski’s office. When summoned, appellant arrived without

the paperwork, explaining that his attorney did not open his

office until 9:00 a.m. MSgt Vernoski directed appellant to

report to him every hour until he produced the divorce papers.

Just before 2:00 p.m., Wednesday, March 13, 1996, appellant

delivered a document to MSgt Vernoski that he described as

his divorce decree. A cover letter and a page of the document

were missing from the document, and appellant promised to

deliver the missing items the next morning. After this meeting,

MSgt Vernoski did not discuss the matter again with appellant.

Appellant never produced the missing papers.

The document appeared to be unusual to MSgt Vernoski,

so he took it to the chief of military justice because “[he] wasn’t

sure if it was legal” and wanted “to have it checked out.”

Together, MSgt Vernoski and the chief of military justice

examined the document. The first thing that struck them as

unusual was that the first Mrs. Swift had not signed the

document. After further review, they also noticed several

misspellings and typographical errors. The document was

purportedly signed by a Circuit Court Judge in Pike County

and filed at the Pike County Courthouse. The document

indicated that it had been filed on September 14, 1994, the same

date listed on the DEERS form. With MSgt Vernoski in the

office, the chief of military justice called the civilian attorney

identified by appellant as his attorney in the divorce

proceedings. The attorney responded that, although he had

represented appellant in a child-custody case, he had not

represented him in a divorce action.

The following morning, the chief of military justice called

the Pike County Courthouse to verify whether the divorce

Ta

decree had been filed at the court. The Deputy Clerk of the

Court informed him that the document had not been filed with

that court or signed by anyone sitting as a Circuit Court Judge |

in Pike County. That same day, the second Mrs. Swift brought

MSgt Vernoski a copy of what she believed was appellant's

divorce decree from the first Mrs. Swift. The document was

identical to what appellant had provided him the previous day.

Soon thereafter, appellant was charged with a number of

offenses, including: (1) that he made false official statements

between March 11 and 13, 1996, when he said that he was

divorced and that the named civilian attorney represented him

in that action; (2) that he made a false official statement when

he presented a false divorce decree to MSgt Vernoski on

Wednesday, March 13, 1996; (3) that he committed obstruction

of justice by impeding MSgt Vernoski’s investigation by

presenting a false divorce decree to MSgt Vernoski; and (4)

that he committed bigamy.

C. The Motion to Suppress

At trial, appellant moved to suppress all statements he

had made to MSgt Vernoski and all evidence derived

therefrom, including the purported divorce papers that

appellant had given to MSgt Vernoski. The motion alleged a

failure to give warnings under Article 31(b). Defense counsel

indicated that the motion, if granted, would require dismissal of

the two false official statement specifications and the bigamy

charge. The defense did not tie the motion to the obstruction of

justice charge and has not done so on appeal.

The military judge denied the motion to suppress. He

concluded that “there were insufficient circumstances that

caused or reasonably should have caused Sergeant Vernoski to

suspect the accused of the criminal offense of bigamy.” With

respect to the false official statement charges, he also concluded

that “there was no evidence made known to Sergeant Vernoski

that reasonably should have caused him to suspect that the

accused was possibly going to commit other offenses under the

UCM in the course of producing the divorce decree.”

8a

D. The Charge of Impeding MSgt Vernoski’s Investigation

The Government charged appellant with obstruction of

justice for wrongfully endeavoring to impede an investigation

into his marital status by giving MSgt Vernoski a document

purporting to be a divorce decree from the first Mrs. Swift,

which he knew to be false. At trial, the Government’s theory

was that appellant’s “submi[ssion of] this phony divorce decree

[was] just part and parcel of the impeding an investigation

charge. ... He provided it in the hopes that Vernoski would be

satisfied with it, and nothing further would happen to him.”

Trial counsel maintained that “[appellant] did all these series of

lies in hopes of misleading Vernoski, in misdirecting him so that

it would take the pressure off of him, so that he wouldn’t get in

any trouble.” Trial counsel further argued that appellant’s

conduct was “prejudicial to good order and discipline” because

of the “way the military justice system works, and the way our

disciplinary system works in the military, and the role and duty

of the first sergeant. When he lies to his first sergeant, that has

a direct impact on good order and discipline in a unit.”

With regard to the obstruction of justice charge, the

military judge instructed the members that they must find that

appellant presented a false document to MSgt Vernoski, in a

case against himself, against whom he had reason to believe

that there were or would be criminal proceedings pending,

with the intent to impede the due administration of justice. The

military judge also informed the members that the charged

misconduct must be prejudicial to good order and discipline in

the armed forces.

II. DISCUSSION

A. General Principles Concerning the Rights’ Warning

Requirement

Article 31(a) of the Uniform Code of Military Justice

provides that a person subject to the Code may not “compel

any person to incriminate himself or to answer any question

the answer to which may tend to incriminate him.” Article

9a

31(b) implements the privilege against self-incrimination

through a rights’ warning requirement, providing that no

person subject to the Code may

interrogate, or request any statement from an

accused or a person suspected of an offense without

first informing him of the nature of the accusation

and advising him that he does not have to make any

statement regarding the offense of which he is

accused or suspected and that any statement made

by him may be used as evidence against him in a trial

by court-martial. -

Congress established this statutory warning requirement in

the aftermath of World War II, long before the Supreme

Court’s decision in Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966),

mandated rights’ warnings in civilian society. Miranda

specifically cited Article 31 as a precedent for requiring

warning persons of the privilege against self-incrimination. Jd.

at 489, 86 S.Ct. 1602.

The rights’ warning requirements under Miranda

represent judicially created, constitutionally based guidelines :

designed to protect the privilege against self-incrimination. See

Dickerson v. United States, ___ U.S. __, ___, 120 S.Ct. 2326,

2334 (2000). As the product of constitutional adjudication, these

guidelines are not “immutable,” but are subject to such

modifications and exceptions as the judiciary may deem

necessary or appropriate in the course of litigation. See id. at

2335.

The primary source of the rights’ warning requirements in

military law is a statutory enactment, not constitutional

adjudication. Congress has provided members of the armed

forces with a rights’ warning requirement that is broader than

the warnings required in a civilian setting as a matter of

constitutional law under Miranda. Article 31(b) mandates

rights’ warnings for anyone “suspected of an offense,” whereas

Miranda warnings are required only in circumstances

amounting to “custodial interrogation.” Compare 10 USC

§ 831(b) with 384 U.S. at 498. In addition, Congress has

expressly provided in Article 31(d) that “[n]o statement

10a

obtained from any person in violation of this article ... may be

received in evidence against him in a trial by court-martial.”

See Part IID, infra. The broad application of the warning

requirement under Article 31 to all suspects, not just those

who are in custody, and the statutory restriction on

admissibility of unwarned statements reflect a decision by the

post-World War II Congress—which included many veterans

familiar with the military justice system and its relationship to

military missions and operational requirements—that the

unique circumstances of military service required specific

statutory protections for members of the armed forces. See

Pub. L. No. 81-506, Ch. 169, § 1 (Art. 31), 64 Stat. 118 (1950); ef.

Hearings on H.R. 2498 Before a Subcomm. of the House Armed

Services Comm., 81st Cong., Ist Sess. 984 (1949).

In the armed forces, a person learns from the outset of

recruit training to respond promptly to the direct orders and

the indirect expectations of superiors and others, such as

military police, who are authorized to obtain official

information. Failure to respond to direct orders can result in

criminal offenses unknown in civilian life, see, e.g., Arts. 90 and

91, UCMJ, 10 USC §§ 890 and 891, respectively. Failure to

respond to the expectations of military life can lead to charges

of dereliction of duty, see, e.g., Art. 92, UCMJ, 10 USC § 892, as

well as serious administrative consequences, seé, @.g.,

Department of Defense (DoD) Directive 1332.14 Enlisted

Administrative Separations (1993).

In such an environment, a question from‘a superior or an

investigator is likely to trigger a direct response without any

consideration of the privilege against self-incrimination. The

Article 31(b) warning requirement provides members of the

armed forces with statutory assurance that the standard

military requirement for a full and complete response to a

superior’s inquiry does not apply in a situation when the

privilege against self-incrimination may be invoked. See

United States v. Gibson, 3 USCMA 746, 752, 14 CMR 164, 170

(1954).

Another special feature of military life is the blending of

both administrative and law enforcement roles in the

lla

performance of official duties. Officers, and non-commissioned

officers (NCOs) in particular, have broad responsibility not

only for the accomplishment of specific missions, but also for

the health, welfare, morale, good order, and discipline of their

subordinates. As a result, a servicemember may perceive that

a question from an officer or NCO is being asked for

administrative purposes, although the purpose actually may be

to acquire information for use in disciplinary proceedings. As

one commentator has noted:

[Mlilitary suspects may know in a general sense that

they have a right to remain silent, and they may

know the consequences of waiving that right, but

they may not be aware that they face

adversarial situations where they may want to

exercise that right. For example, a suspect may

believe that a platoon sergeant is inquiring about

personal finances to help the suspect balance a

bank account. The suspect does not realize that the

sergeant is asking the questions in a law enforcement

capacity, to get evidence against the soldier for later

use at a court-martial.

Supervielle, Article 31(b): Who Should Be Required to Give

Warnings?, 123 Mil. L. Rev. 151, 187 (1989).

Our case law has interpreted Article 31 in a manner that

recognizes the difference between questioning focused on the

accomplishment of a military mission, including an

administrative function, and questioning to elicit information

for use in disciplinary proceedings. See, e.g., United States v.

Brown, 40 MJ 152, 154 (CMA 1994); United States v. Shepard,

38 MJ 408 (CMA 1993). In some circumstances, there is likely

to be a mixed purpose, and the matter must be resolved on a

case-by-case basis. .

In general, we have held that Article 31(b) requires rights’

warnings if: (1) the person being interrogated is a suspect at

the time of the questioning, and (2) the person conducting the

questioning is participating in an official law enforcement or

disciplinary investigation or inquiry. See United States v.

Moses, 45 MJ 132, 134 (1996). Whether a person is a suspect is

12a

an objective question that “is answered by considering all the

facts and circumstances at the time of the interview to

determine whether the military questioner believed or

reasonably should have believed that the servicemember

committed an offense.” United States v. Good, 32 MJ 105, 108

(CMA 1991). Whether the questioning was part of a law

enforcement or disciplinary investigation “is determined by

assessing all the facts and circumstances at the time of the

interview to determine whether the military questioner was

acting or could reasonably be considered to be acting in an

official law-enforcement or disciplinary capacity.” Id.; accord

United States v. Davis, 36 MJ 337, 340 (CMA 1993), aff’d on

other grounds, 512 U.S. 452, 114 S.Ct. 2350 (1994). Questioning

by a military superior in the immediate chain of command “will

normally be presumed to be for disciplinary purposes.” Good,

32 MJ at 108; see also United States v. Loukas, 29 MJ 385, 389

n.* (CMA 1990). The presumption is not conclusive. See United

States v. Pittman, 36 MJ 404, 407 n.7 (CMA 1993). When there

is a motion to suppress a statement on the ground that rights’

warnings were not given, we review the military judge’s

findings of fact on a clearly-erroneous standard, and we review

conclusions of law de novo. United States v. Ayala, 43 MJ 296,

298 (1995); Moses, supra at 135.

B. Appellant’s Status As A Suspect

Military pay and benefits are closely tied to marital status

and the status of dependents. See, e.g., 10 USC §§ 1076, 1077,

and 1079; 37 USC §§ 401, 403, 406, and 407. officers and NCOs

have a legitimate administrative need to ensure that such

benefits are provided to those who are entitled to them and

that they are not provided to those whose eligibility status may

have changed. The role of a first sergeant is multifaceted, and

as such, MSgt Vernoski’s duties included addressing questions

about dependent entitlements. See para. 1.2, Air Force

Instruction 36-2113, The First Sergeant (1 August 1996).

Given the plethora of diverse benefit programs

administered by a host of different DoD organizations,

members of the armed forces are well aware of the significant

13a

potential for errors in the collection, processing, and storage of

personnel information. in this context, information coming to

the attention of 2 military official that raises questions about

the eligibility status of a servicemember’s spouse or

dependents does not, in itself, establish a basis for designating

that member as a suspect for purposes of Article 31, even if the

official has a “hunch” that further inquiries may disclose a

crime. Cf. United States v. Meeks, 41 MJ 150, 161 (CMA 1994)

In the present case, however, the command had much

more than a hunch that appellant had committed an offense.

MSgt Vernoski brought appellant’s situation to the attention of

the chief of military justice on Friday afternoon because he

regarded it as “unusual” and he had “never seen or come across

a bigamy case.” The chief of military justice described the

conversation as addressing a “potential bigamy case in their

unit.” These circumstances underscore that this was more than

simply visiting the legal office to discuss an administrative

matter. MSgt Vernoski and Capt Myatt had good reason to

suspect appellant of bigamy at that time, based upon the

following information: (1) the first Mrs. Swift had been called

by the second Mrs. Swift, a person claiming to be appellant's

wife, and the second Mrs. Swift had asserted there was a

divorce in Pike County, Kentucky; (2) the first Mrs. Swift had

never signed a divorce decree and had not been provided any

notice that her husband was seeking a divorce; (3) to the best of

the first Mrs. Swift’s knowledge, she was still married to

appellant; (4) the first Mrs. Swift had determined there was no

record of such a divorce in Pike County; (5) if there had been no

divorce, the first Mrs. Swift wanted appellant prosecuted for

bigamy; (6) as recently as the fall of the previous year, MSgt

Vernoski had counseled appellant about matters related to

appellant’s marriage to the first Mrs. Swift, during which

appellant told him that he was still married to her, yet the

second Mrs. Swift asserted that a divorce had taken place more

than 2 years ago—a divorce which, according to the first Mrs.

Swift, was not recorded in the county referred to by the second

Mrs. Swift; (7) several current military records still listed the

first Mrs. Swift as appellant’s wife; and (8) the first M:s. Swift

14a

had been disenrolled as a beneficiary under DEERS, and the

second Mrs. Swift had been enrolled as appellant’s spouse

under DEERS.

On Monday morning, prior to confronting appellant, MSgt

Vernoski’s concerns about the case led him to review the

provisions of the Manual for Courts-Martial concerning the

offense of bigamy. His review of the Manual was not simply

preparation for a worst case scenario. The grounds for suspecting

appellant of bigamy were reinforced by a call he received from

the first Mrs. Swift prior to his meeting with appellant, in which

she reiterated that she did not think the divorce “was legal” and

provided him with the name and phone number of the clerk with

whom she had spoken at the Pike County Courthouse. When

appellant reported, as ordered, MSgt Vernoski began the

interrogation by setting forth the “accusations” made by the first

Mrs. Swift and asking appellant to respond.

Under the objective test, we conclude as a matter of law

that these circumstances demonstrate that MSgt Vernoski

“reasonably should have believed” that appellant was a suspect

with respect to the offense of bigamy prior to this interrogation.

See Good, supra at 108. The fact that MSgt Vernoski was hopeful

that appellant would be able to clarify his marital status, just as

he had been able to clarify prior problems with his wife’s

allotment, does not lead to a different result. In light of the

relatively low quantum of evidence required to treat an

individual as a suspect, MSgt Vernoski’s hope that events would

exonerate appellant was not incompatible with his responsibility

to treat appellant as a suspect based upon the amount of

information about the possibility of bigamy that he had acquired

before confronting appellant. It is not unusual for a superior to be

hopeful that circumstances will vindicate a subordinate,

particularly when that subordinate has proved trustworthy in

the past. Such a feeling, no matter how well motivated, does not

deprive a member of the armed forces of the right to be warned

under Article 31(b) when the objective facts point to the

subordinate as a suspect. Under the circumstances of this case,

we find that a reasonable person would have considered appellant

a suspect, requiring a rights’ warning advisement. See United

15a

States v. Muirhead, 51 MJ 94 (1999)(military judge erred when he

relied upon the subjective opinions of the agents as to whether

Article 31(b) warnings were required where facts supported

finding that reasonable person would have suspected accused of

an offense.)

C. Questioning By A Military Superior: Application of the

Disciplinary Presumption

Under our case law, we also consider whether MSgt

Vernoski was acting in a law enforcement or disciplinary

capacity in light of the “strong presumption” that questioning

by a military superior in the “chain of command” is part of a

“disciplinary” investigation. Good, supra at 108. As discussed

in Part IIB, supra, although MSgt Vernoski had appropriate

administrative concerns about appellant’s marital status, the

circumstances of this case led to significant disciplinary

considerations in the conduct of the investigation.

From the initial telephone call from the first Mrs. Swift to

the first confrontation with appellant, the nature of the actions

taken by MSgt Vernoski and Capt Myatt underscore the

priority they placed on military justice implications—including

their joint visit to the personnel office and the base legal office,

their consultation with the chief of military justice concerning a

“potential bigamy case,” MSgt Vernoski’s study of the bigamy

provisions in the Manual for Courts-Martial, and MSgt

Vernocki’s ordering of appellant to report to his office to

respond to the “accusations” made by the first Mrs. Swift.

Based on the foregoing considerations, in the context of

the information provided by the first Mrs. Swift and the

information developed through their own inquiries, we

conclude as a matter of law that the Government failed to rebut

the strong presumption that MSgt Vernoski’s interrogation

was part of an investigation that included disciplinary

purposes. Under the circumstances, he should have provided

appellant with the statutorily required rights’ warnings,

including the warning that he did not have to “make any

statement regarding the offense” of which he was suspected.

16a

Art. 31(b). Accordingly, we hold that the military judge erred

when he determined that rights’ warnings were not required

under Article 31(b).

D. Admissibility of Unwarned Statements

We next examine whether the verbal statements,

although unwarned, were nonetheless admissible. Congress, in

Article 31(d), provided a strict enforcement mechanism to

implement the rights’ warning requirements in Article 31(b):

No statement obtained from any person in violation of

this article, or through the use of coercion, unlawful

influence, or unlawful inducement may be received in

evidence against him in a trial by court-martial.

This provision, like Article 31(b), was established by

Congress in the aftermath of World War II. Since then,

Congress has not exempted any of the substantive offenses

under the UCMJ from the coverage of Article 31(d), no matter

how serious. Article 31(d) applies to all substantive crimes,

including offenses that have a critical impact on good order,

discipline, and national security, such as murder, rape, robbery,

aiding the enemy, mutiny, espionage, spying, and making false

official statements. See United States v. Price, 7 USCMA 590,

23 CMR 54 (1957) (invalidating, as inconsistent with Article 31,

a provision of the Manual for Courts-Martial that permitted

use of a statement obtained in violation of Article 31(b) to

prove a charge of making a false official statement).

More than 40 years have passed since we observed in Price

that the express language of Article 31 did not permit a false

official statement prosecution to be based upon an unwarned

statement. Congress has amended the UCMJ numerous times

since Price was decided in 1957, but none of the amendments has

modified the clear limitations in Article 31(d).’

‘During the same period, by contrast, Congress endeavored to circumscribe

the exclusionary rule under Miranda, see 18 USC §3501. The Supreme Court

recently determined that the legislation was unconstitutional, relying in part on

the doctrine of stare decisis. Dickerson v. United States, ___. U.S. __, __, 120

S.Ct. 2326, 2336, 147 L.Ed.2d 405 (2000).

17a

After Price, the Army issued the following guidance with

respect to the impact of that case on the Manual for Courts-

Martial:

Notwithstanding provisions of par. 140a, MCM,

to the contrary, a prosecution for making a false

official statement is not exempt from restrictions

of Art. 31 regarding pretrial statements of an

accused or suspected person. Accordingly, when a

statement is obtained from an accused who has not

been warned of his right against self-incrimination

and the circumstances are such that the warning is

required by Art. 31, the statement is inadmissible

even though the case in which it is offered is a

prosecution for making a false official statement.

U.S. Army, 1959 Cumulative Pocket Part to the Manual for

Courts-Martial, United States, 1951, at 71 (emphasis in

original). The President, in a subsequent revision of the

Manual, expressly provided that “in a case in which a

_ statement of the accused so obtained [in violation of applicable

warning requirements] is charged as being false, it cannot be

received in evidence to show that he made it.” Para. 140a(6),

Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1969 (Revised

edition); see Analysis of Contents, Manual for Courts-Martial,

United States, 1969, Revised Edition at 27-11 (Dep’t of the

Army Pamphlet 27-2 (1970)) (citing. Price).

The 1951 Manual, in a separate provision regarding

impeachment of witnesses, provided that an accused who

testified as a witness could not be cross-examined on the basis

of a statement obtained in violation of applicable rights’

warning requirements, para. 1536(2)(c), and this provision was

retained with minor modifications in the 1969 Manual.

Subsequently, in United States v. Jordan, 20 USCMA 614, 44

CMR 44 (1971); we considered the impact of the Manual’s rule

in a situation where the member received rights’ warnings

under Article 31 but did not receive the right-to-counsel

warnings required by United States v. Tempia, 16 USCMA 629,

37 CMR 249 (1967) (holding that the warnings required by

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 486 (1966), apply to custodial

18a

interrogations in the armed forces). Although we concluded in

Jordan that the statement could not be used for impeachment

based on the Manual’s restrictions, we noted that the President

was not precluded from amending the Manual to permit

impeachment of a testifying accused through use of a

statement obtained without provision of such warnings. Jordan

was based on the premise that the “shield” provided by the

rights’ warning requirements “cannot be perverted [by a

testifying defendant] into a license to use perjury by way of a

defense, free from the risk of confrontation with prior

utterances.” 20 USCMA at 617, 44 CMR at 47 (quoting Harris

v. New York, 401 U.S. 222, 226 (1971)).

Despite the invitation for change set forth in Jordan, the

two significant revisions of the Manual for Courts-Martial

adopted in the 1970s did not address the impeachment issue.

See Exec. Order No. 11835, 40 Fed. Reg. 4247 (1975); Exec.

Order No. 12018, 42 Fed. Reg. 57943 (1977). The Manual

continued to preclude impeachment by an unwarned statement

until the evidentiary material in the Manual, which included

extensive guidance and examples, was replaced entirely by the

Military Rules of Evidence in 1980. Chapter XXVII, Manual

For Courts-Martial, United States, 1969 (Revised edition); see

Exec. Order No. 12198, 45 Fed. Reg. 169382 (effective Sept. 1,

1980).

Reflecting the fact that Jordan involved a situation in

which there had been compliance with the rights’ warning

requirement under Article 31 but noncompliance with the

constitutionally-based, Miranda-Tempia counsel warning

requirements, the 1980 amendments permitted impeachment of

a testifying accused by an unwarned statement, but limited the

provision to statements obtained in violation of the Miranda-

Tempia, counsel warning requirements. Under the new rule,

Mil.R.Evid. 304(b), a statement obtained after failure to

provide the Miranda-Tempia warning concerning the right to

consult with counsel could be used “to impeach by contradiction

the in-court testimony of the accused or the use of such

statement in a later prosecution against the accused for

perjury, false swearing, or the making of a false official

19a

statement.” The Drafters’ Analysis noted that this provision

“adopts Harris v. New York, 401 U.S. 222 (1971) insofar as it

would allow use for impeachment or at a later trial for perjury,

false swearing, or the making of a false official statement, or

statements taken in violation of the counsel warnings required

under Rule 305(d)-(e).” The Analysis emphasized the limited

scope of the new rule by adding: “A statement obtained in

violation of Article 31(b), however, remains inadmissible for all

purposes... .” 1969 Manual, supra at A18-19.

In 1990, the Rule was amended further to permit limited

use of a statement obtained in violation of the warning

requirements of Article 31(b) and the related Military Rules of

Evidence “to impeach by contradiction the in-court testimony

of the accused or the use of such statement in a later

prosecution against the accused for perjury, false swearing, or

the making of a false official statement.” The Drafters’

Analysis cited Harris and our decision in United States v.

Williams, 23 MJ 362 (1987). Furthermore, the Analysis,

reflecting Harris, stated that “[a]n accused cannot pervert the

procedural safeguards of Article 31(b) into a license to testify

perjuriously in reliance on the Government’s disability to

challenge credibility utilizing the traditional truth-testing

devices of the adversary process.” The Analysis also noted that

when there is a violation of the rules requiring cessation of

questioning, “the deterrent effect of excluding the unlawfully

obtained evidence is fully vindicated by preventing its use in

the Government’s case-in-chief, but permitting its collateral

use to impeach an accused who testifies inconsistently or

perjuriously.” Manual for Courts-Martial, United States (1998

ed.) at A22-10.

The underlying theory of the 1990 change was that the

accused is the gatekeeper as to admission of the unwarned

statement and that only an inconsistent or perjurious

statement by an accused who testifies at trial opens the gate.

The accused, in deciding whether to testify, must consider

whether he or she will thereby risk impeachment by

contradiction or a “later prosecution.” Mil. R. Evid. 304(b).

The rule is based on the premise that Article 31(d) provides a

20a

shield when the prosecution seeks to use an unwarned

statement as a sword against the accused, but does not shield

an accused from cross-examination or a later prosecution

when it is the accused, not the Government, who opens the

door to questioning the veracity of his or her testimony at

trial.* Cf. Williams, supra at 367-68 (precluding use of an

unwarned statement to rebut evidence presented on behalf of

an accused who has not opened the door through his or her in-

court testimony).

Although in-court testimony is not at issue in the present

case, we note that when an accused has opened the door to

consideration of an unwarned statement through such

testimony, reliance on Mil.R.Evid. 304(b) in a “later

prosecution” may be viewed as consistent with our

precedents regarding impact of actions by an accused in a

judicial setting that affect the member’s statutory rights. See,

e.g., United States v. Gammons, 51 MJ 169, 183 (1999)

(although the accused is the gatekeeper as to admissibility of

records of prior non-judicial punishment for the same

offenses, the Government may rely on such evidence if the

accused has opened the door); cf. United States v. Dowty, 48

MJ 102, 110 (1998) (if the accused invokes a judicial

proceeding under the Right to Financial Privacy Act, which

has the effect of delaying military justice proceedings, the

Government can rely on the provisions of that Act tolling

“any applicable statute of limitations”).

Because appellant did not testify in the present case, the

unwarned statements were not used for purposes of

impeachment or otherwise to prove that he testified falsely at

*Cf. United States v. Lewis, 12 MJ 205, 208 (CMA 1982) (noting in dicta that

a person who chooses to testify falsely rather than asserting the privilege

against self-incrimination can be prosecuted for perjury regardless of

whether the statement would be admissible with respect to another offense).

The dicta in Lewis was confined to the example of an accused whe opened the

door by testifying. The actual holding in Lewis, which involved a charge of dis-

respect to a superior commissioned officer, is limited to permitting use of an

unwarned statement to show the disrespect. The Court emphasized that the

use with respect to that offense was “not in any way related to the truth, fal-

sity, or reliability of its meaning.” Id. at 208.

2la

trial. The Government, however, asks us to apply Mil.R.Evid.

304(b) in a manner that would permit unwarned statements

made during an investigation and obtained in violation of

Article 31(b) to be introduced by the prosecution to prove

essential elements of false official statements in its case-in-

chief.

We decline to interpret the Rule as applying to

circumstances in which the accused has not opened the door

to consideration of the unwarned statement by his or her in-

court testimony. Applying the rule to a non-testifying

accused, as urged by the Government, would place the Rule in

direct conflict with Article 31(d). See United States-v. Price,

supra. In any such conflict, the Manual provision must yield

to the statute. Article 36(a), UCMJ, 10 USC § 836(a) (the

rules of evidence in the Manual for Courts-Martial may not be

“contrary to or inconsistent with” the Code); United States v.

Lopez, 35 MJ 35, 39 (CMA 1992) (under the “hierarchical

sources of rights” applicable to the military justice system,

federal statutes prevail over provisions of the Manual for

Courts-Martial unless the Manual provision provides the

servicemember with greater rights than the statute).

These considerations are particularly important in the

absence of congressional action to overturn a precedent of

this Court that is based upon the plain meaning of a statute

and that is consistent with the context in which the statute

was enacted. See Connecticut National Bank v. Germain, 503

U.S. 249, 253-54, 112 S.Ct. 1146, 1149, 117 L.Ed.2d 391,393

(1992)(“[I]n interpreting a statute a court should always turn

first to one, cardinal canon before all others. We have stated

time and again that courts must presume that a legislature

says in a statute what it means and means in a statute what it

says there.”)

We are well aware of the corrosive impact of false

statements on military effectiveness, and we have

forthrightly rejected precedents from the civilian sector that

would diminish the effectiveness of Article 107. See United

States v. Solis, 46 MJ 31 (1997) (rejecting the so-called

“exculpatory no” defense to false-statement prosecutions

i

i

£

:

|

t

{

;

;

22a

under Article 107).‘ In declining to apply civilian analogies to

Article 107, Solis reflected our deference to the paramount

role of Congress in shaping the military justice system. We

emphasized that Congress, which created the military’s false

official statement statute embodied in Article 107, did not

include an “exculpatory no” defense in Article 107 and that

the responsibility for evaluating the desirability of including

such a provision was within the province of the Legislative

Branch, not this Court. Jd. at 36.

The same considerations apply to the present case. The

requirement to provide specific rights’ warnings in Article

31(b) and the restriction on use of statements obtained in

violation of those rights in Article 31(d) represent decisions

made by Congress, not this Court. In the more than 40 years

since Price was decided — including many years in which the

Manual for Courts-Martial expressly prohibited use of

unwarned statements in false statement prosecutions —

Congress took no action to create an exception to Article 31(d)

for false statement cases arising under Article 107.

Congressional inaction, in such circumstances, must be given

great weight “because the primary responsibility for

overruling decisions on statutory construction is with

Congress.” United States v. Gibson, 43 MJ 343, 346 (1995). The

decision as to whether it is necessary to reexamine the

relationship between Article 31(d) and Article 107 to determine

whether unwarned statements should be admissible in the

case-in-chief against a non-testifying servicemember for

making a false official statement rests with Congress, not this

Court. Cf. 18 USC § 6002 (proscribing use of certain immunized

testimony “in any criminal case, except a prosecution for

perjury, giving a false statement, or otherwise failing to comply

with the order” to provide immunized testimony).

‘We reached this decision notwithstanding the fact that a majority of the

federal appellate courts that had addressed the issue at the time of our deci-

sion had endorsed the exculpatory-no doctrine with respect to a similar

civilian offense). See 46 MJ at 34 & n.9. Subsequently, the Supreme Court dis-

approved use of the excuplatory-no defense in federal, civilian criminal trials.

Brogan v. United States, 522 U.S. 398, 118 S.Ct. 805, 139 L.Ed.2 830 (1998).

23a

The dissent suggests that we should rely on analogies

__from civilian life to exempt Article 107 offenses from the

coverage of Article 31(d). In some instances, consideration of

criminal law developments in the civilian sector may be helpful

when addressing aspects of the military justice system.

However, when this Court assesses legislation created by

Congress under its constitutional authority to “raise and

support” the armed forces and “make Rules for the

Government and Regulation” of those forces, we must be

guided by the highest degree of deference to congressional

action. U.S. Const., art. I, § 8, cl. 12-14; Rostker v. Goldberg, 453

U.S. 57 (1981). So long as Congress does not act in disregard of

the Constitution, we are obligated to respect congressional

judgments as to the rights and obligations of members of the

armed forces. Id. at 67. Judicial deference to the balance drawn

by Congress applies not only when Congress has provided

servicemembers with rights less protective than those

available to their civilian counterparts, but also when Congress

has provided greater rights.

The dissent is based primarily upon cases from the civilian

sector, none of which involve the factual predicate we have in

this case—the prosecution for a false statement, made in the

absence of required self-incrimination warnings, and admitted

during the prosecution’s case-in-chief. Instead, many of the

cases cited in the dissent involve circumstances in which a

person held a grant of immunity, testified, and then was

prosecuted on the grounds that the testimony was false. Those

cases are based on the premise that a person who knows that

he or she has the protection against self-incrimination

embodied in a grant of immunity cannot choose to abuse the

privilege through false testimony. This is in stark contrast to

the present case, which involves a non-testifying person who

was not provided with a statutorily required warning about

self-incrimination protections. Most of the remaining cases

cited in the dissent involve situations in which rights’ warnings

were not required as a matter of law, which mooted the

question whether an illegally obtained statement could be used

against the individual.

24a

The dissent agrees that rights’ warnings were required

under Article 31(b), but declines to apply the statutorily

mandated procedure for enforcing that requirement under

Article 31(d), based on civilian precedent. Although we should

give appropriate consideration to criminal law precedents,

when we interpret the statutory provisions embodied in the

Uniform Code of Military Justice, we must be particularly

cautious in applying analogies from the civilian sector that

involve judicial modifications of judicially-crafted doctrines, see

Dickerson, 120 S.Ct. at 2335, or that involve interpretation of

statutes that do not reflect the unique circumstances of

military service. It is not our province to use such analogies to

vitiate otherwise constitutional judgments by Congress about

the rights and obligations of members of the armed forces.

E. The Production Of The Divorce Decree

The production of the divorce decree, however, raises a

separate issue—whether appellant had a Fifth Amendment or

Art. 31(a) privilege as to the production of the divorce

decree—which is distinct from the requirement to give the

rights’ advisement under Article 31(b). It is well “settled .. .

that a person may be required to produce specific documents

even though they contain incriminating assertions of fact or

belief because the creation of those documents was not

‘compelled’ within the meaning of the privilege.” United States

v. Hubbell, __ U.S. ___, ___, 120 S.Ct. 2037, 2043 (2000). That

proposition rests upon the legal distinction between the

contents of the document and the testimonial significance of

producing the documents. Jd. The contents of documents

voluntarily prepared before the compelled production are not

protected by the Fifth Amendment or Article 31(a) because

the documents “could not be ‘said to contain compelled

testimonial evidence.” Id. at 2043 (quoting Fisher v. United

States, 425 U.S. 391, 409-10 (1976)).

In this case, the record indicates that appellant

voluntarily created a purported divorce decree before MSgt

Vernoski requested its production. Appellant’s personnel

records reflected the fact that he had produced a divorce

25a

decree for purposes of changing spousal enroliment under

DEERS well before MSgt Vernoski initiated his investigation.

The DEERS form stated that appellant was divorced on

September 14, 1994, the same date as listed on the purported

divorce decree later provided to MSgt Vernoski. Additionally,

the second Mrs. Swift told the first Mrs. Swift that she had the

divorce decree in her possession during their first phone

conversation, the day before MSgt Vernoski initiated his

investigation. He also knew that the second Mrs. Swift told the

first Mrs. Swift that the divorce decree indicated that she and

appellant were divorced in September of 1994 and that the

decree was filed in Pike County.’ It is apparent that MSgt

Vernoski’s request for a divorce decree was made in the

context of his understanding that appellant had provided a

document purporting to be a divorce decree to the personnel

office a month earlier.

In short, MSgt Veroski did not simply ask appellant to

provide information about his marital status, but instead

requested appellant to provide a document which appellant

previously had produced at the personnel office to change

appellant’s DEERS form. Under these circumstances, appellant

could not have objected to producing the divorce decree solely on

the basis that the fraudulent contents were incriminating

because MSgt Vernoski’s request was based on facts indicating

that the document, a divorce decree, had been created prior to

the order to produce it. See Fisher v. United States, supra.

The Supreme Court also has stated “that the act of

producing documents in response to a subpoena may have a

compelled testimonial aspect” if “‘the act of production’ . . .

implicitly communicate{s] ‘statements of fact.”” Hubbell, ___U'S.

at __, 120 S.Ct. at 2043; see also United States v. Oxfort, 44 MJ

337, 338 (1995) (citations omitted). Even if appellant’s act of

‘*Although not necessary to our decision on this issue, we note that this was

the same date and location indicated in the divorce decree later provided by

“appellant to MSgt Vernoski. The record also indicates that the second Mrs. Swift

provided a copy of what she believed was appellant's divorce decree to MSgt

Vernoski the day after appellant gave the document in question. Upon compari-

son of the two documents, MSgt Vernoski concluded that they were identical.

26a

producing the divorce decree had testimonial aspects which

arguably were incriminating, the production would fall within the

“required records” exception to the Fifth Amendment and

Article 31(a). See United States v. Shapiro, 335 U.S. 1 (1948); see

also Grosso v. United States, 390 U.S. 62, (1968); Oafort, 44 MJ at

339 (1996). If the Government requires documents to be kept for

a legitimate administrative purpose, neither the content nor the

act of production of these documents are protected by the Fifth

Amendment. See Shapiro, 335 U.S. 1; see also United States v.

Sullivan, 274 U.S. 259 (1927) (rejecting Fifth Amendment

objection to requirement to file income tax return).

To constitute “required records,” the documents must

satisfy the following test: (1) the requirement that they be kept

“must be essentially regulatory”; (2) the records must be the

“kind which the regulated party has customarily kept”; and (3)

the records themselves must be either public documents or

“have assumed ‘public aspects’ which render them at least

analogous to public documents.” 390 U.S. at 67-68; see also In

re Dr John Doe, 711 F. 2d 1187 (2d Cir. 1983).

The requirement-to produce a divorce decree in order to

establish and update military records supporting spousal

eligibility for government benefits is regulatory; the divorce

decree is the type of record customarily kept by a party; and it

is a public record. The personnel office’s requirement for the

servicemember to produce a copy of his divorce decree served

a legitimate administrative purpose—to determine spousal

eligibility for government benefits. Under these circumstances,

the divorce decree was a “required record,” the production of

which falls within the exception to the Fifth Amendment and

Article 31(a). See United States v. Oxfort, supra. Under the

facts and circumstances of this case, even if MSgt Vernoski had

provided the required Article 31(b) warnings, appellant could

not have objected to an order to produce the divorce decree

that he had previously provided to the personnel office.

Because appellant had no Fifth Amendment or Article 31(a)

privilege in either the content or the act of production of the

divorce decree, we conclude that the military judge did not err

in admitting the divorce decree into evidence.

27a

F. Impact Of The Inadmissible Evidence

The question remaining is whether the error in admitting

the verbal statements obtained in violation of Article 31 had a

prejudicial impact. Three aspects of the case potentially were

affected by the illegally obtained statements: the bigamy

conviction, two of the false official statement convictions, and

the sentence.

1. The Bigamy Conviction

In support of the bigamy specification, the prosecution

produced evidence of two marriage certificates— one to the

first Mrs. Swift dated August 28, 1990, and the other to the

second Mrs. Swift dated January 1, 1996—and the fraudulent

divorce decree. Additionally, the prosecution offered the

testimony of the first Mrs. Swift, who testified that she knew of

no divorce action by appellant.

The first Mrs. Swift also testified that she and appellant

specifically decided not to obtain a divorce at the time of their

separation because she would lose her military medical benefits

and dependent identification card. She testified further that

appellant, during a telephone conversation, had told her that he

had a serious interest in another woman, and she asked him

whether he wanted a divorce. She testified that he had

responded that they would just maintain the status quo and not

obtain a divorce. This conversation took place in January 1996

—after, unbeknownst to her, he already had married the second

Mrs. Swift. In light of the significant evidence that was not

derived from the unwarned statements, we are satisfied

beyond a reasonable doubt that appellant was not prejudiced as

to the bigamy conviction.

2. The False Statement Convictions

In the first false statement specification, appellant was

charged with making a false official statement when, in

response to a question from MSgt Vernoski, he said that he was

divorced from the first Mrs. Swift and that a named civilian

28a

attorney had represented him in the divorce proceeding. This

specification was based upon appellant’s verbal response to an

unwarned inquiry. Without that evidence, there is no proof of

an offense, and the specification must be dismissed.

In the second specification at issue, appellant was charged

with making a false official statement when he presented to MSgt

Vernoski “an official statement, to wit: a purported divorce

decree, which document was totally false . ig

Unlike the first specification, the second false official statement

specification was based upon evidence properly admitted against

appellant. In addition to the document itself, the Government

offered evidence that the divorce decree had never been filed at

the Pike County Courthouse nor signed by an active Circuit

Court Judge, as it purported. In light of the Government's

evidence on this specification, we are satisfied that there was

sufficient evidence to find appellant guilty of this specification

without reliance upon any of appellant’s unwarned statements.

3. The Sentence

Even without the first false official statement offense,

appellant remains convicted of making two separate false

official statements; two specifications of writing bad checks;

bigamy; and impeding an investigation. Appellant’s sentence

included a bad-conduct discharge and reduction to the lowest

enlisted grade, but did not include either confinement or

forfeitures. In light of the remaining offenses and the evidence

in this case, we are convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that

the error with respect to the dismissed offense was not

prejudicial as to the sentence.

III. DECISION

The decision of the United States Air Force Court of

Criminal Appeals is reversed as to specification 1 of Charge I.

The finding of guilty as to that specification is set aside, and

that specification is dismissed. In all other respects, the

decision below is affirmed.

29a

SULLIVAN, Judge (concurring in part and dissenting in

part):

Appellant was a soldier with two wives, one of whom was

bombarding his command with complaints about his

suspected bigamy. His first sergeant (Ist Sgt) had good reason

to suspect these complaints were true when he called

appellant into his office to hear “his side of the story.”

Unfortunately, he did not advise appellant of his rights under

Article 31 with respect to this suspected criminal offense.

This failure to warn was wrong as both the majority and I

agree. See generally United States v. Good, 32 MJ 105, 108

(CMA_1991) (and case cited therein).'

Nevertheless, the IST Sgt (in pursuing his duties to clear

up the inconsistencies in appellant’s administrative records

and in response to the complaints of appellant’s first wife)

proceeded to get appellant to explain his true marital status.

The Army had a right to know since housing, medical, and

other administrative benefits are dependent on the correct

marital status of a servicemember. The record shows that

appellant (in response to requests from the IST Sgt) told the

IST Sgt that he was divorced from his first wife and gave the

IST Sgt a false divorce decree. There was no evidence that

appellant was coerced to lie to his IST Sgt or to give a false

divorce decree to him. These acts form the basis for the two

charges of giving false official statements.

Today, the majority sets aside appellant’s conviction on

one of these charges. In the process, it effectively provides

military suspects an unparalleled right to lie in their official

statements to their military superiors or other government

authorities. In my view, such a holding directly contradicts

existing precedent from our Court, an applicable Manual

provision, and analogous Supreme Court, Court of Appeals and

state court decisions. I dissent and would affirm appellant’s

‘The lead opinion in United States v. Good, 32 MJ 105, 108 (CMA 1991), has

been repeatedly recognized as the law of this Court. See United States v.

Muirhead, 51 MJ 94, 96 (1999); United States v. Meeks, 41 MJ 150, 161 (1994);

United States v. Davis, 36 MJ 337, 340 (1993), aff'd, 512 U.S. 452, 114 S.Ct.

2350, 129 L.Ed.2d 362 (1994).

: 23. Res

gate BSE cal ot Us ae pie giee 4 Goce Sends

30a

convictions for making false official statements in violation of _

Article 107, Uniform Code of Military Justice, 10 USC § 907.

When one looks at this case from a distance, one could say

that there is agreement by all the members of this Court on the

requirement for warnings against self-incrimination. The

different outcomes of the majority and my dissent are caused

by the two different approaches to application of the

exclusionary rule to the facts of this case. The majority takes a

broad view of the exclusionary rule which allows appellant to

escape any prosecution for the two false-official-statement

charges. But cf. United States v. Wong, 431 U.S. 174 (1977)

(conviction for perjurious testimony sustained on basis of

evidentiary use of unadvised but false statements); United

States v. Knox, 396 U.S. 77 (1969) (conviction for making false

official statement sustained regardless of validity of

Government’s request for information). My dissent applies a

narrow, more conservative view of the exclusionary rule which

would affirm his convictions for the two false-official-statement

~charges. See Glickstein v. United States, 222 U.S. 139 (1911)

(holding that similarly worded exclusionary-rule statute should

not be interpreted to permit the giving of false testimony with

impunity).

In my view, appellant had the right to be warned not to

incriminate himself, but he had no right to lie in an official

statement or to give a false divorce decree to his superiors in

the U.S. Army. See generally 8 Wigmore, Evidence

§§ 2270(2)(b) n.7 and 2282(1)(c) (McNaughton rev. 1961).

Neither the Constitution nor the Code gives him such a right to

lie or deceive. See Brogan v. United States, 522 U.S. 398, 404

(1998). (“neither the text nor the spirit of the Fifth Amendment

confers a privilege to lie”); United States v. Lewis, 12 MJ 205,

208 (CMA 1982) (following United States v. Madujano, 425

U.S. 564 (1976), and Glickstein v. United States, supra, in

applying Article 31(d)). Moreover, I will not judicially create

such a right of immunity.

The thrust of the majority’s opinion is that the broad

wording of Article 31(d) expresses the careful judgment of

Congress that the servicemember should have an exclusionary

3la

rule affording greater protection than that afforded his civilian

counterpart. 53 MJ at 445. The legislative history of this

provision does not support such speculation by the majority.

Cf. United States v. Apfelbawm, 445 U.S. 115, 121-123 (1980)

(no speculation as to Congress’ intent where it is inescapably

supported by language and legislative history). Moreover, the

majority’s construction of Article 31(d) flouts “constitutional

hornbook” law, well-settled by 1950, that prosecutions for

perjury are permissible even if no perjury exception is

provided in an immunity statute. United States v. Housand,

550 F.2d 818, 822 (2d Cir. 1977) citing United States v. Bryan,

339 U.S. 323(1950); and Heike v. United States, 227 US. 131,

141 (1913) (Holmes, J., noting statutory proviso for perjury

prosecution “added only from superfluous caution”).

—Instead, I adhere to the past decisions of this Court

recognizing that Congress intended our exclusionary-rule

remedy to be commensurate with the Fifth Amendment

exclusionary rule, as traditionally delineated by the Supreme

Court, unless expanded by the President in the Manual for

Courts-Martial. See United States v. Williams, 23 MJ 362, 368

(CMA 1987); United States v. Jordan, 20 USCMA 614, 617, 44

CMR 44, 47 (1971); United States v. Caiola, 18 USCMA 336,

340-41, 40 CMR 48 (1969) (Darden, J., lead meat ane This

Court’s decision in United States v. Lewis, supra, recognized

this point and expressly permitted admission of evidence of

unadvised statements to prove a subsequent disrespect

offense. Moreover, the Supreme Court in Harris v. New York,

401 U.S. 222 (1971), did not suggest that unwarned statements

of a suspect could not be used in the prosecution’s case-in-chief

for any subsequent crimes. See United States v. Wong, supra (a

post-Harris case refusing to apply Fifth Amendment

exclusionary rule to case-in-chief evidence showing perjury

before grand jury).

*In United States v. Lewis, 12 MJ 205, 208 (CMA 1982), a unanimous Court

stated: “Under these circumstances, we hold that failure to give an Article 31

advisement does not bar admission into evidence of the accused’s statement

which, by its substance and context, constitutes a separate and distinct viola-

tion of the Uniform Code.”

> utt ee hg Maes eS Ps

32a

In my view, Harris v. New York, supra, does not support

the broad “case-in-chief”’ exclusionary rule espoused by the

majority in this case. In Harris, the precise question was

whether an accused’s pretrial statement, inadmissible under

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966), in the prosecution's

case-in-chief to prove the sale of heroin, could nonetheless be

used in rebuttal to impeach an accused’s trial testimony as to

that drug offense. The Supreme Court approved an

impeachment exception to the federal exclusionary rule as a

part of the Miranda decision. 401 U.S. at 224-25. However, it

did not purport to limit exceptions to the Miranda

exclusionary rule to the impeachment situation. In fact, it cited

as authority, United States v. Knox, 396 U.S. 77 (1969), a case

which recognized the traditional false-official-statement

exception to the Fifth Amendment exclusionary rule.

Furthermore, in United States v. Madujano, 425 U.S. 564

(1976), the Supreme Court subsequently approved the

admission of similarly unwarned statements in the

prosecution’s case-in-chief for the offense of making a false

statement to a grand jury. There, it approved its earlier

decision in Bryson v. United States, 396 U.S. 64, 72 (1969)

(prosecution for providing a false affidavit) and stated

“similarly our cases have consistently—indeed without

exception—allowed sanctions for false statements or perjury;

they have done so even in instances where the perjurer

complained that Government exceeded its constitutional

powers in making the inquiry.” 425 U.S. at 577 (emphasis

added); see also United States v, Knox, supra. Federal practice

in this regard seems clear to me. See United States v. Raftery,

534 F.2d 854, 857 (9th Cir. 1976), cited with approval in United

States v. Lopez-Martinez, 725 F.2d 471, 476 (9th Cir. 1984).

The majority broadly dismisses as inapplicable these

Supreme Court cases (Brogan, Wong, Knox, Bryson,

Mandujano, and Glickstein) as well as a decision of one of our

fellow U.S. Courts of Appeals, United States v. Veal, 153 F.3d

1233, 1241 (11th Cir. 1998) (holds that Supreme Court has not

excluded from criminal liability false statements made to

government agents or agencies in violation of the Fifth

33a

Amendment, whether made under oath), cert. denied, 119 S.Ct.

2024 (1999).) In my view, however, although there may be some

differences in terms of the nature of the Fifth Amendment

violation in these cases, that does not alter applicability of their

truthfulness rationale to our particular Article 81(d) question.

The bottom line is that stated long ago in Glickstein v. United

States, 222 U.S. at 142: “[I]mmunity afforded by the

constitutional guaranty relates to the past and does not endow

the person who testifies with a license to commit perjury.”

(Emphasis added.) | |

In my view, Congress was aware of this bedrock judicial

principle of self-incrimination law when it enacted Article 31(d)

and intended it to apply to servicemembers as well. See

generally Brogan v. United States, supra at 406-07 (citing

cases where “background interpretive principles of general

application” considered in construing criminal statute); see

Hearings on H.R, 2498 Before a Subcomm. of the House

Armed Services Comm., 81st Cong., 1st Sess. 984 (1949)

(Article 31 structured to generally conform with “the privilege

against self-incrimination”), and United States v. Aronson, 8

USCMA 525, 529-30, 25 CMR 29, 33-34 (1957).

The majority further suggests that Mil. R. Evid. 304(b)(1)

has been improperly urged by the Government in this case to

permit use of the unadvised statements in a prosecution for

making a false official statement. It notes language in the 1980

Drafters’ Analysis suggesting that “a statement obtained in

violation of article 31(b), however, remains inadmissible for all

purpoves” as supporting its view, I disagree.

Mil. R. Evid. 304(b)(1) (1990) states the contrary. It says:

(b) Baceptions. !

(1) Where the statement is involuntary only in

terms of noncompliance with the requirements of Mil.

R. Evid. 305(c) or 305(f), or the requirements

concerning counsel under Mil. R. Evid 305(d), 305(e),

and 305(g), this rule does not prohibit use of the

statement to impeach by contradiction the in-court

testimony of the accused or the use of such statement

34a

in a later prosecution against the accused for

perjury, false swearing, or the making of a false

official statement.

(Emphasis added.)

This language responded to this Court’s previous decision

in United States v. Jordan, supra at 617, 44 CMR at 47, which

noted that the Manual exclusionary rule was broader than

federal practice. The amended rule permits use of unadvised

statements in the Government’s case-in-chief in a false-official-

statement prosecution as consistent with federal-exclusionary-

rule practice. See United States v. Wong and United States v.

Knox, both supra. Coincidentally, the Drafters’ Analysis for

this new rule no longer contains the Article 31(b) language

touted by the majority.

In sum, there is a basic difference between the majority's

view and my view of this case. It centers on one of the core

aspects of the Federal Exclusionary Rule. I believe Article 31

(like the Fifth Amendment) only applies to past crimes, 1.¢.,

those committed before the interrogation where there were no

self-incrimination warnings. The majority wants to ignore our

Court’s and federal civilian courts’ case law to say that, if there

were no warnings of self-incrimination, any soldier can then lie

under oath in an interrogation (i.e., commit a present crime). I

don’t think that the post-World War II Congress was ignorant

of this distinction between “past” and “present” crimes when

they passed Article 31. In my view, the majority is clearly

wrong in believing that Congress gives immunity for any crime

committed in an unwarned interrogation.

The majority apparently* returns to the out-dated,

absolutist view of Article 31(d) espoused by this Court prior to

"The majority attempts to have it both ways. On the one hand, it asserts

that there are no express exceptions to Article 31(d);in the Uniform Code of

Military Justice, which permit use of this evidence in a false-official-statement

prosecution. On the other hand, it asserts that evidence of unadvised state-

ments may be used as impeachment evidence or to prosecute for perjury if an

accused subsequently testifies falsely at a court-martial. Clearly, the major-

ity’s “gatekeeper” creation is not contained in the language of Article 31(d).

35a

the decision of the Supreme Court in Harris v. New York,

supra. See United States v. Price, 7 USCMA 590, 598, 23 CMR

54, 57 (1957). In doing so, it overrules, sub silentio, our

subsequent decisions which have recognized. Harris v. New

York, supra, and earlier Supreme Court Fifth Amendment

exclusionary-rule cases as the guiding force for our Article

31(d) case law. United States v, Lewis and United States v.

Jordan, both supra. It also breaks ranks with mainstream

jurisprudence in state and lower federal courts. See United

States v. Veal, supra (federal cases cited therein); People v.

Thomasello, 234 N.E. 2d 190 (N.Y. 1967); Butterfield v. State,

992 S.W, 2d 448 (Tex. Crim. App. 1999); McGee v. State, 782

P.2d 1829, 1331-33 (Nev. 1989).

Finally, in my view, the majority essentially holds that

Mil. R. Evid, 304(b)(1) is legally invalid because of Article

31(d). “Applying the rule to a non-testifying accused, as urged

by the Government, would place the Rule in direct conflict with

Article 31(d). In any such conflict the Manual provision must

yield to the statute.” 53 MJ at 451 (citation omitted). Supreme

Court review of the propriety of such a holding would be most

appropriate. See United States v. Scheffer, 523 U.S. 303 (1998)

(Supreme Court overturns decision of this Court that Mil. R.

Evid..707 prohibiting admission of polygraph evidence was

unconstitutional).

36a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES, Appellee,

v.

John B. SWIFT, (806-78-6763), Appellant

USCA Misc. Dkt. No. 98-5012/AF

Crim. App. Dkt. No. 32447

ORDER

On further consideration of appellant’s petition for

reconsideration of this Court’s decision, 58 MJ 439 (2000), it is,

by the Court, this, 28th day of September, 2000,

ORDERED:

That said petition for reconsideration is hereby denied.

For the Court,

/s/ Thomas F. Granahan

Clerk of the Court

cc: The Judge Advocate General of the Air Force

Counsel for Appellant (JACOBSON)

Counsel for Appellee (WHEELER)

37a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES

v.

Staff Sergeant John B. SWIFT, FR3806-78-6763

United States Air Force

ACM 82447

4 December 1997

Sentence adjudged 18 September 1996 by GCM

convened at Shaw Air Force Base, South Carolina.

Military Judge: Keith L. Roberts.

Approved sentence: Bad-conduct discharge and

reduction to E-1.

Appellate Counsel for habphtnass Lieutenant Colonel

Kim L. Sheffield.

Appellate Counsel for the United States: Colonel

Brenda J. Hollis, Lieutenant Colonel Michael J.

Breslin, and Captain Steven D. Dubriske.

Before

PEARSON, MORGAN, and SPISAK

Appellate Military Judges

OPINION OF THE COURT

MORGAN, Judge:

Appellant was convicted consistent with his pleas of

presenting a false official statement. Contrary to his pleas,

officer court members found him guilty of bigamy, impeding an

investigation, two false official statements, and writing bad

_¢checks. The members sentenced him to a bad-conduct

discharge and reduction to E-1. Appellant contends that the

military judge erred by failing to suppress certain statements

he made to his first sergeant without rights warnings, that

using the same act as the basis for one of the false statement

specifications and the impeding an investigation charge

38a

constituted an unreasonable multiplication of charges, and that

Article 57(a), UCMJ, violates the Ex Post Facto Clause of the

Constitution with respect to his case. Although we find merit

in the ex post facto claim, we affirm the findings and sentence.

Factual Background

Appellant’s wife, JS, contacted his section commander,

Captain Myatt, on Friday, March 8, 1996. JS told Captain Myatt

that a woman named SS had called to tell her that appellant had

divorced JS and was now married to SS. JS told Captain Myatt

that she wanted to know if she was still married to appellant and

entitled to dependent benefits. JS and appellant had been

separated for several years. JS was living in Michigan with their

child while appellant was living at Shaw Air Force Base, South

Carolina. JS told Captain Myatt that she thought it was possible

they were divorced since they had been discussing it for some

time, but she wasn’t aware of any divorce action and wanted to

be sure. She also said she wanted to get a copy of the divorce

decree if one existed, and that she wanted to press bigamy

charges against appellant if he hadn’t actually divorced her.

Captain Myatt told the first sergeant, Master Sergeant (MSgt)

Vernoski, about the call and asked him to look into the matter.

MSgt Vernoski first checked the unit’s emergency data

cards and found that JS was still listed as appellant’s wife. He

then went to the Military Personnel Flight (MPF) to check

appellant’s records. He discovered that appellant had recently

changed the information in the Defense Eligibility Enrollment

Reporting System (DEERS) to reflect SS as his wife. MPF

personnel informed MSgt Vernoski that, to make this change,

appellant would have been required to produce a copy of the

divorce decree. MSgt Vernoski also learned that appellant had

not yet changed his emergency data card at the MPF to reflect

SS as his wife, but that appellant was in the process of doing so.

Following his visit to the MPF, MSgt Vernoski went by the legal

office to discuss some other pending disciplinary actions with

Major Davis, the Chief of Military Justice. While there, he briefly

mentioned appellant’s possible bigamy case to Major Davis.

—_—_—

39a

MSgt Vernoski arranged to have appellant come to his office

the following Monday morning. Before appellant arrived, JS

called the squadron again and spoke to MSgt Vernoski directly.

She repeated what she had told Captain Myatt. She also told him

that she had called the courthouse in Pike County, Kentucky, and

that the clerk was unable to locate a record of appellant’s clairned

divorcee. She provided MSgt Vernoski with the clerk’s name and

phone number. Out of “curiosity,” MSgt Vernoski used his office

copy of the Manual for Courts-Martial (MCM) to review the

elements of the offense of bigamy. When appellant arrived, MSgt

Vernoski told him about the call from JS and asked if he was

divorced. Appellant told him that he had been divorced from JS

since September 14, 1994, and that she was probably just trying

to cause him trouble. MSgt Vernoski mentioned to appellant that

she could cause him trouble if he was not divorced and pointed

out that the maximum punishment for bigamy in the MCM

included two years confinement.

Appellant agreed to bring MSgt Vernoski a copy of the

divorce decree the next morning. However, appellant said he

didn’t want a copy of the divorce decree provided to JS, because

his attorney had told him that, if she got a copy of the decree, it

thought this was an odd comment. MSgt Vernoski remembered

_ counselling appellant in late 1995 about a complaint from JS that

she was not receiving proper support from appellant. He

reminded appellant that, at that time, appellant told him he was

still married to JS. Appellant told MSgt Vernoski that he didn’t

recall saying that. During that earlier counselling session,

appellant told MSgt Vernoski that he had arranged through

finance for a support allotment to go to JS. When MSgt Vernoski

checked this out, he discovered that appellant was telling the

truth, but that finance had mishandled the paperwork.

Over the next two days, appellant told MSgt Vernoski

several times that he could not produce a copy of the divorce

decree because his attorney was unavailable to provide it to

him. At one point appellant did produce some legal papers that

dealt with child custody, but MSgt Vernoski told him he needed

to see the actual divorce decree. On Wednesday afternoon,

40a

appellant finally provided a document entitled “Petition for

Divorce” to MSgt Vernoski. MSgt Vernoski thought the

document looked suspicious because it wasn’t signed by JS, had

numerous misspellings, and lacked legal terminology. He took

it to the legal office for Major Davis to review. He had been

keeping Major Davis informed of the progress of his inquiry

into appellant’s marital status. After turning the paperwork

over to the legal office, MSgt Vernoski had no further

involvement in the investigation. Major Davis discovered that -

the attorney appellant said represented him in the divorce had

only represented him in a child custody matter. He also

learned from the Circuit Court in Pike County, Kentucky, that

there was no record of appellant’s divorce and that the person

shown-asthe judge on the purported divorce decree was not a

judge on that court. The Air Force Office of Special

Investigations then took over the case.

MSgt Vernoski did not warn appellant of his Article 31,

UCM, rights at any time during their various discussions

about his marital status. MSgt Vernoski testified that he was

trying to help JS clarify her dependent status, and he never

actually suspected appellant was not divorced and might be

lying to him until appellant produced the questionable divorce

decree. At that point, he turned the matter over to the legal

office and never questioned appellant further. Appellant's oral

statement that he was divorced was the basis for one of the

false official statement specifications. The act of providing the

fake divorce decree to MSgt Vernoski was the basis for another

false official statement specification and the impeding an

investigation specification. The false official statement charge

to which appellant pled guilty dealt with bank errors related to

the bad checks he had written.

Failure to Suppress Appellant’s Statements

We review the military judge’s ruling on a motion to

suppress to determine if he abused his discretion. While we

review the judge’s findings of fact under a clearly erroneous

standard, we review his conclusions of law de novo. United

States v. Ayala, 43 M.J. 296, 298 (1995). A servicemember is

ea ne Le eh, Oe ng Pe eT ee De ad, Ee ae DORE ARE Ue Pca Wy cS Oa eeeah ae. eNO eh ee gt te eee ee td

c . DNs, iad DEA Cae 2 i.

4la

entitled to rights advisement under Article 31(b), UCMJ, “only

if he is a suspect at the time of the questioning and the

questioning itself is part of an official law-enforcement

investigation or disciplinary inquiry.” United States v. Good, 32

M.J. 105, 108 (C.M.A. 1991). “The test to determine if a person

is a suspect is whether, considering all facts and circumstances

at the time of the interview, the government interrogater—

believed or reasonably should have believed that the one

interrogated committed an offense.” United States v. Kendig,

36 M.J. 291, 294 (C.M.A. 1998). :

The military judge found that, under the circumstances of

appellant’s case, MSgt Vernoski was not acting in either a law

enforcement or disciplinary capacity. The judge found that

MSgt Vernoski was trying to help JS clarify her dependent

status and that he did not suspect appellant of the offense of

bigamy. He further found “that there were insufficient

circumstances that caused or reasonably should have caused

Sergeant Vernoski to suspect the accused of the criminal

offense of bigamy.” These findings are supported by the record

and the judge’s explanation of his findings. See United States v. alt

Pownall, 42 M.J. 682, 687 (Army Ct. Crim. App. 1995), pet.

denied, 43 M.J. 229 (1995).

JS was not sure of her current marital status when she

contacted the unit. She admitted that she might be divorced,

but she wanted to know for sure. She based her concerns on a

call from appellant’s purported new wife. MSgt Vernoski was

aware that appellant and JS had been living apart for some

time. Even though he thought he remembered appellant

telling him in the fall of 1995 that he was still married to JS,

appellant had been truthful with him during the counselling

about dependent support only a few months earlier.

Appellant’s initial representation that he was divorced was

supported by the DEERS records showing SS as appellant’s

current wife and by the fact that MPF personnel told MSgt

Vernoski that appellant would have needed a divorce decree to

make that change. Appellant’s excuses to MSgt Vernoski that

his attorney was in court and unavailable to provide a copy of

the divorce decree were not suspicious on their face or unusual

pecan ENO COED CORLL AO COLD ~

42a

from the standpoint of MSgt Vernoski’s experience. Although

it may be a close call, we, like the military judge, are convinced

that MSgt Vernoski neither believed appellant was a suspect

nor reasonably should have believed him to be a suspect at any

of the times he questioned him. As soon as he saw the fake

divorce papers and became suspicious, he immediately turned

them and any further inquiry over to the legal office. The

military judge’s factual findings were not clearly erroneous and

his conclusions of law were correct. The judge did not err by

failing to suppress appellant’s statements to MS * Vernoski.

We note that, even if MSgt Vernoski had been required to

provide appellant with Article 31(b) rights warnings as to the

offense of bigamy, appellant made no incriminating statements

to him concerning bigamy. See United States v. Schake, 30 MJ.

314, 320 (C.M.A. 1990); Pownall, 42 M.J. at 688. Further,

appellant’s false oral and written statements to MSgt Vernoski

that he was divorced could permissibly be used as the basis for

false official statement charges. R.C.M. 304(b)(1). His written

statement (the fake divorce decree) could also be used as the

basis for the offense of impeding an investigation, a crime

totally separate and distinct from bigamy. See United States v.

Lewis, 43 M.J. 886, 888 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1995), aff'd, 46 MJ.

19 (1997).

Unreasonable Multiplication of Charges

Appellant moved at trial to have the false official

statement and impeding an investigation specifications, which

were both based on appellant’s act of providing a fake divorce

decree to MSgt Vernoski, found multiplicious for findings and

sentencing. The judge denied the motion. The government

contends, citing our. decision in United States v. Erby, 46 MJ.

649 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1997), that appellant has waived the

issue of unreasonable multiplication of charges by failing to

raise it at trial. See also United States v. Earle, 46 MJ. 823,

825 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1997). They contend that the military

judge could not have erred in reviewing the command’s

exercise of charging discretion since he was never asked to

review it.

43a

At the time of trial, our decisions in Erby and Earle had

not been rendered. Although the defense did not specifically

use the terminology “unreasonable multiplication of charges”

or refer to either R.C.M. 307(c)(4) (Discussion) or R.C.M.

1003(¢)(1)(C) (Discussion), trial defense counsel did argue that

the two offenses arose out of the exact same act, and, in

fairness, they should not be separately punished. The ‘military

judge did have available the guidance from our superior court

that “military judges must still exercise sound judgement to

ensure that imaginative prosecutors do not needlessly ‘pile on’

charges against a military accused.” See United States v.

Morrison, 41 M.J. 482, 484 n. 3 (1995); United States v. Foster,

40 M.J. 140, 144 n. 4 (C.M.A. 1994). Under these

circumstances, appellant adequately raised the issue at trial.

However, the judge was specifically relying on our

guidance that “the concept of multiplicity for sentencing does

not exist any more under our current law” and that “[ilf

offenses are separate for finding purposes, they are also

separate for sentencing purposes.” United States v. Lloyd, 48

MJ. 886, 888 (A.F. Ct. Crim. App. 1995), aff'd, 46 M.J. 19 (1997).

We reiterated this position a month after the completion of

appellant’s trial when we stated “if offenses are separate for

findings, they are separate for sentencing. The converse is also

true; if offenses merge for sentencing, they also merge for

findings.” We were telling trial judges that granting only

sentencing multiplicity relief was no longer a correct path to

follow when the defense raised a constitutional multiplicity

issue. United States v. Dolbow, 44 M.J. 814, 815 (A.F. Ct. Crim.

App. 1996), pet. denied, 46 M.J, 424 (1997). It was not until six

months after appellant’s trial that we first encouraged military

judges to exercise their equitable power to adjust the

maximum sentence in cases where they found there had been

an unreasonable multiplication of charges or “piling on” during

the charging process but no multiplicity in the constitutional

_ sense. Erby, 46 M.J. 652. Since the military judge in

appellant’s case was following the legal guidance available to

him, we would not have expected him to grant appellant any

relief, and. he did not abuse his discretion by failing to do so.

i

|

|

|

44a

Further, we are convinced that, even if the military judge

had adjusted appellant’s maximum sentence downward using

his equitable power or based on the old multiplicity for

sentencing approach, it would not have affected the members’

sentence. Treating the two offenses in question as one for

sentencing would have reduced the maximum confinement

period from 28 to 23 years. Appellant received no confinement

from the members, and, based on his offenses, we are

convinced he would still have received a bad-conduct discharge .

and reduction to E-1. We are also convinced appellant’s

sentence was appropriate for his offenses. Article 66(c),

UCM.

Ex Post Facto Nature of Article 57(a)

Finally, appellant contends that the amendment to Article

57(a), UCMJ, which became effective on April 1, 1996, violates

the Ex Post Facto Clause of the United States Constitution with

respect to his case. For appellant, these amendments made his

reduction in rank effective 14 days after the sentence was

adjudged rather than at the later time of the convening

authority’s action in his case. Appellant’s ex post facto arguments

were resolved by the United States Court of Appeals for the

Armed Forces in United States v. Gorski, ___ MJ. _____ No. 97-

0034 (Nov. 18, 1997). Accordingly, “[cJollection of any y forfeitures,

and execution of the reduction in grade prior to the date of the

convening authority’s action are hereby declared to be illegal.

Any [such illegal] forfeitures already collected from appellant and

any pay and allowances withheld because of [an] illegal reduction

in grade will be restored. . The record of trial is returned to The

Judge Advocate General . . . for appropriate action.” Id., slip op.

at 11. This case need not be returned to this Court following

administrative correction unless further appellate review is

required.

Other Issues

Although not raised by appellant, we noted one other

issue in this case which merits brief discussion. During his

45a

instructions to the members on the Article 123a, UCMJ, bad

check offense, the military judge curiously stated several times

that this offense is “commonly referred to as larceny by check.”

We would not find that to be a correct characterization since

larceny by the use of a check can be, and frequently is, charged

as larceny under Article 121, UCMJ. In fact, Article 123a does

not necessarily require a permanent intent to deprive the

owner of the funds, a temporary deprivation will do, while

Article 121 larceny clearly does require a permanent intent to

deprive. We point this out only for technical accuracy and not.

because this mischaracterization of the offense was an error

requiring corrective action. However, when instructing the

members on the lesser included offense of the Article 123a

offense, the military judge misstated the elements. Concerning

the lesser included offense of dishonorably failing to maintain

sufficient funds, in violation of Article 134, UCMJ, he

incorrectly informed them that the second element required

“the check was made and uttered with the intent to defraud.”

(Emphasis added.) While intent to defraud was required for

the Article 123a offense, it is not part of the elements for the

Article 134 offense. Since the members, nonetheless, found

appellant guilty of only the lesser included Article 134 offense

with its lesser maximum punishment, we find no prejudice to

appellant from this instructional error. ~~

The approved findings of guilty and the sentence are

correct in law and fact and, on the basis of.the entire record,

are

AFFIRMED.

Senior Judge PEARSON and Judge SPISAK concur. =~

OFFICIAL

LAURA L. GREEN

Clerk of Court

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.