Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Johnson v. Tele-Cash, Inc.

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, U.8 :

PILED

00-846 NOV 27 a9

No.

QERICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

TERRY JOHNSON,

Petitioner,

WEST SUBURBAN BANK,

COUNTY BANK OF REHOBOTH BEACH,

DELAWARE, TELE-CASH, INC., ,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Third Circuit

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Danie. A. EDELMAN

Counsel of Record

CATHLEEN M. Comes

James O. LATTURNER

JOHN M. Broperick

EDELMAN, Comss, & LATTURNER

120 S. LaSalle Street

18th Floor

Chicago, IL 60603

(312) 739-4200

Attorneys for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

IZ0 PP

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is there an inherent conflict between compelling arbi-

tration pursuant to 9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq. and the Truth in

Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq. the Electronic Fund

Transfer Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1693 et seq., and other consumer

protection statutes because these statutes specifically pro-

vide for class action relief as a method of enforcement

and class actions cannot be brought in arbitration?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

This petition involves an appeal from the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit in Johnson v.

West Suburban Bank, 99-cv-00104. The following is a list of

all parties to the proceeding whose judgment is sought to

be reviewed:

Terry Johnson, Plaintiff-Petitioner

West Suburban Bank, Defendant-Respondent

County Bank of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware, Defendant-

Respondent

Tele-Cash, Inc., Defendant-Respondent

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS. ................. ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......ccccscccccccccccee v

a jy 8) Be. | 0 Seer reer rrr 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION.................+-- 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............. 2

EEE GO BE Giiec cccscescccccscesessss 2

A, DEATEGIINE OF BACT... cccccccccccccccces 2

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW ...........-.-.-----. 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ....... 5

I. THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT BUT

UNRESOLVED QUESTION OF LAW........... 5

A. THE PAYDAY LOAN INDUSTRY .......... 7

B. THE PERVASIVENESS OF ARBITRATION

I Tine cua qésacebobsseshesenes 7

C. JOHNSON IS AN AMICUS IN GREEN TREE

a cc cea iecdedus deveendduxess 8

Il. THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

Ee acca ce boiNnesh esq anaperccers 9

A. IF COMPELLING ARBITRATION CREATES

AN “INHERENT CONFLICT” WITH

ANOTHER STATUTE, THE STATUTORY

CLAIM SHOULD NOT BE ARBITRATED.. 9

B. THE PURPOSE OF THE CLASS ACTION IN

CONSUMER PROTECTION LAWS......... 14

1. THE PURPOSE OF TILA............... 15

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. TILA’S PRIVATE ATTORNEY GENERALS.... 24

D. EFTA INCLUDES SIMILAR STATUTORY

LANGUAGE ENCOURAGING CLASS

PRE MUE nt S55 eis eade as se bard habs eAdaabo tn 27

CEI 665 6S enn cenecivantdadhiacnecsdenenun 29

Appendix A Third Circuit Opinion................. Al

Appendix B_ District Court Opinion................ Bl

Appendix C Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. 1

et seq., Truth in Lending Act, 15

U.S.C. § 1610(a), and the Electronic

Fund Transfer Act, 15 U.S.C.

Appendix D Sample Arbitration Clauses in

ee FOR LOGIE cos icesccessccas D1

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASEs:

Baltimore & Ohio Chicago Terminal R. Co. v. Wiscon-

sin Central Ltd., 154 F.3d 404 (7th Cir. 1998)

cknaddcaweceknstseeunas $akeaneaheaee ae 11, 14, 20, 21

Bantolina v. Aloha Motors, Inc., 419 F. Supp. 1116

(D. Haw. 1976) oo cscccvccocasscecessstace 15, 16, 18

Bizier v. Globe Fin. Services, Inc., 654 F.2d 1 (1st Cir.

Brooklyn Savings Bank v. O'Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945) .... 22

Broughton v. Cigna Healthplans of California, 21 Cal.

4th 1066 (Cal. 1999) .....cccccccccscscesssccess 23, 23

Buford v. American Finance Co., 333 F. Supp. 1243

CPETRGGR. WITT) oc vciciciecn tun svcasnnesvscasaavsuas es 22

Cole v. Burns Int'l Security Services, 105 F.3d 1465

CDS. Cit, WON i cid cn cccs conntavnanssnasebacess 12, 13

Champ v. Siegel Trading Co., 55 F.3d 269 (7th Cir.

SODOD. ccvcnddccatawsd svete cd ceasdedussadencages 11, 19

Crawford v. Equifax Payment Services, 201 F.3d 877

t, As Sy Serer mer Pree Tern rt 20

Davis v. Werne, 673 F.2d 866 (5th Cir. 1982) ......... 27

FDA v. Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 2000 U.S.

LEXIS 2195, No. 98-1152, 2000 WL 289576

(Dagchs 21, DOOD) 25 cc cess ncdccscccsncssvcscssssces 9

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20

og | ie Poe ee ee eee oimt Serer ey ey ert Cor passim

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co., 43 F.3d 1244

(Sth Cir. 1994)........ ccc cece cccnccwsccsccscovcces 13

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

Healthcare v. Watson Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 2000 U.S.

App. LEXIS 6200 (2d Cir. April 4, 2000) ........... 9

Hooters of America, Inc. v. Phillips, 39 F. Supp. 2d

SES GABA. TOGGD cc cccccccccscccccsesceustasdes 11, 22

In re General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel Tank

Products Liability Litigation, 55 F.3d 768 (3d Cir.

RODE). cccccccccscnccescescssssscnasssssassdebaseud 20

In re Johnson, 787 F.2d 1179 (7th Cir. 1986)........... 9

James v. Home Construction Co., 689 F.2d 1357 (11th

Fr ee ee 25

Mace v. Van Ru Credit Corp., 109 F.3d 338 (7th Cir.

ROGT). ccnccccvccecsesedecsevesvcsessenatensnaaeens 20

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth,

Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) .............. 5, 9, 12, 15, 23

Moseley v. Electronic & Missile Facilities, Inc., 374

US. 167 (ROG) oa cccccccccccccccnciccecensanseteses 3

Mourning v. Family Publications Service, Inc., 411

OS. TES CRIED oc ccvcscecncesccsctacuaneceneseueves 26

Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technologies, Inc., 134

RS 2656 (REG Chk, BORE oc cccccccccecccesscsecss 10

Parker v. DeKalb Chrysler Plymouth, 673 F.2d 1178

(RR Cie, TEs cc cccsccedccsctdsbtaveubens 21, 22, 24

Postow v. OBA Federal S. & L. Ass'n., 627 F.2d 1370

COL. Cle. BIGGER. co cccccccnvecvecccscsnvaccncbacaees 27

Powertel, Inc. v. Bexley, 743 So.2d 570 (Fla. App. Ct.

RODD). wc cvcccesccecccsecessuancsssnuscesnecaeasues 20

Pritzker v. Merrill Lynch, 7 F.3d 1110 (3d Cir. 1993). .18, 23

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

Randolph v, Green Tree Financial Corp., 178 F.3d

1149 (11th Cir. 1999), cert. granted, Green Tree

Financial Corp. v. Randolph, _. U.S. __, 120

S. Ct. 1952 (2000). .....ccccrccccccccccccccccccsces 10

Ratner v. Chemical Bank of New York Trust Co., 54

F.R.D. 412 (S.D.N.Y. 1972) .......---2eeeeee 16, 24, 25

Riggs v. Government Employees Financial Corp., 623

F.2d 68 (9th Cir. 1980)...........2 2c cece cece ee eeee 27

Rodash v. AIB Mortgage Co., 16 F.3d 1142 (11th Cir.

BOTs cnccencoccecbcascasceosensccsscsboasedens 22, 27

Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Management of Colorado,

Inc., 163 F.3d 1230 (10th Cir. 1999)............-.--- 10

Shearson/American Express v. McMahon, 482 U.S.

TAD CBGEI) 0 oc cccccccccccccccccoccscesecces 5, 9, 14, 15

Sosa v. Fite, 498 F.2d 114 (Sth, Cle. 1974).....cccccees 25

Sues v. John Nuveen & Co., Inc., 146 F.3d 175 (3d

Ge, FRED cic cncacdicccccevetccnccontsgecvetes< 19, 21

Sunshine Health Systems v. Bowen, 842 F.2d 1097

is GRE: BIG ic ccccccescccccccccccccccvenssccecses 9

Thomas v. Myers-Dickson Furniture Co., 479 F.2d 740

Cs Ge, FIGs occ cnccccceccccéccctccnessasecesces 25

Tran v. Tran, 54 F.3d 115 (2d Cir. 1995).............. 22

Watkins v. Simmons & Clark, 618 F.2d 398 (6th Cir.

GR cc vccccescsscascctnancesscecess 15, 16, 17, 18, 27

STATUTES:

DAE. B Bio cccvccicnccccccccccdcnsccesepecsceedun 2, 3

IN OE os cu dcscsncarssnssoeasan 3, 4

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page(s)

SP Win te EE he odie acid eeceticsekbocdabieeccudsoe 4

Se a ED 0. b.cnt is naansecsibaesesvd batacnad 26

Se es OE I odin sdb ede nesdacccdneds heads dasetie 3

Be ese do) 68660 db0dccncdsedevesssinbaessecel 3

Se Ses Te ND 563 do 5p cadenkdnceuessanibedniean 27

Be as Te ED bane cnadeccecddessacunasaneouian 26

OP as Ae I ca ddeedadcectwabass sanccecesas 26

Be ae sr badeseresectdkcsedaccabaaces 11, 15, 16

Sp es A EE Sa Sicbnnsbis ase cdencusasensceees 2, 27

Se Giese IIE wb cscccnssncdccodnenduane 20

Be Se BF Dn 6 oc ccccncsccnesccessnascsoeeel 21

Be ie Be ad oo wanes ubcadssscvkevacesenean 4, 27

ee Ss Oe he ke kbs Keoecnscacsddndensecneseeuees 3

Be es Oe NS ccc acdicndescscndwenncncsan 2, 11, 27

ee ane ED wkd bw cdedcdsncdsannadehacepbsbaaed 2

Se as Oe au dcccnnsedsacsecdnes deahsasbeteaats 11

RULEs:

Sep. CR: Ble BOG sic cdasevevsand seins ssiadivcesnes 5

We SU Se aS ck eae a balk Ste cacnaesi sdanen 11

REGULATIONS:

Se ee Ue Th dbn bed cdbcnscdabunctsdivisigeudnses 3

Se See te ys cicodensbaudbedbussanekcuues 26

12 C.ER. § 226.18. .........-. 2 eecceeceeeceecceees 3, 26

————-™~™”~—~S-~—S~-—Sh htt

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

MISCELLANEOUS:

Report to the 101st General Assembly on the

Deferred Presentment Services Act Department

of Financial Institutions for the State of Tennes-

Report of the Committee on Banking, Housing &

Urban Affairs, United States Senate Report No.

TPAEIOs cnvnccetunvcsenevassciksssabgeesibncess’s passim

“Show Me the Money” Consumer Federation of

PEROUIGR, POREUIEY BAGO vi cent ccnscncccesevcsadcces 7

Truth In Lending Simplification And Reform Act,

Report Of The Committee On Banking, Housing

And Urban Affairs, United States Senate,

PUOPOEE INNO. DG-73 on ccc cc ccscccccecccscrescvcesses 26

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner, Terry Johnson, respectfully petitions this

Court for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit.

a

PREVIOUS OPINIONS

The citations of the official and unofficial reports of

the opinions and orders entered in these cases are as

follows:

The United States Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit reversed and remanded the deci-

sion of the United States District Court for the

District of Delaware. Johnson v. West Suburban

Bank, 225 F.3d 366, 00-5047 (3rd Cir. Aug. 29,

2000) (attached as Appendix A).

The United States District Court for the District

of Delaware denied defendants’ motion to com-

pel arbitration. Johnson v. West Suburban Bank, 82

F. Supp. 2d 264 (D. Del. 1999) (attached as

Appendix B).

.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Third Circuit reversed and remanded the deci-

sion of the District Court for the District of Delaware

denying the motion to compel arbitration of respondents

in Johnson v. West Suburban Bank, 99-cv-00104. Johnson v.

West Suburban Bank, 225 F.3d 366, 00-5047 (3rd Cir. Aug.

29, 2000). Petitioners now timely seek a writ of certiorari

with regard to the decision of the Third Circuit. This

Court has jurisdiction to review this case pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

@

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The following statutes are set forth in Appendix C to

this Petition: Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq.,

Truth in Lending Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a), and the Elec-

tronic Fund Transfer Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1693m.

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Statement of Facts.

On July 10, 1998, Johnson applied for and received a

short-term loan in the amount of $250 from the County

Bank of Rehoboth Beach. The one-page loan agreement

set forth an annual percentage rate of 917.71% and a

finance charge of $88. As a result, Johnson was required

to repay his $250 loan by making one payment of $338 on

July 24, 1998 - two weeks after he submitted his loan

application and received the $250.

In addition, the loan agreement provided a “boiler

plate” arbitration clause which, in relevant part, reads:

ARBITRATION: You and we agree that any

claim, dispute, or controversy between

us ... and any claim arising from or relating to

this Note, no matter by whom or against

whom ..., including the validity of this Note

and of this agreement to arbitrate disputes as

well as claims alleging fraud or misrepresenta-

tion shall be resolved by binding arbitration. . . .

This arbitration agreement is made pursuant to

a transaction involving interstate commerce and

shall be governed by the Federal Arbitration

Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16. Judgment upon the award

may be entered by any party in any court hav-

ing jurisdiction.

* * »

NOTICE: YOU AND WE WOULD HAVE HAD

A RIGHT OR OPPORTUNITY TO LITIGATE

DISPUTES THROUGH A COURT BUT HAVE

AGREED INSTEAD TO RESOLVE DISPUTES

THROUGH BINDING ARBITRATION.

By signing and sealing below, you agree to all of

the terms of this Note, including the agreement

to arbitrate disputes.

In connection with the transaction at issue, plaintiff

received and/or signed standard printed forms, includ-

ing a combination note, TILA disclosure statement and

Loan Payment Instruction Form. By using such docu-

ments, defendants conditioned the extension of credit on

its repayment by means of an electronic funds transfer.

The loans would be repeatedly rolled over and only

payments for interest are wired. Compulsory repayment

by electronic funds transfer is essential to making this

long-distance loan. The EFTA prohibits such require-

ments. 15 U.S.C. § 1693k. Thus, defendant’s entire

method of doing business is inherently unlawful. See

Moseley v. Electronic & Missile Facilities, Inc., 374 U.S.167

(1963).

In addition, these standard form documents fail to

comply with the requirements of TILA, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1632

& 1630 and 12 C.E.R. §§ 226.17 and 226.18 because the

annual percentage rate and finance charge are not more

conspicuous than any other terms. Plaintiff further

alleges that defendants’ loan transactions are unconscion-

able.

B. Proceedings Below.

Petitioner Terry Johnson filed this suit as a class

action against respondents Tele-Cash, Inc. (“Tele-Cash”),

and County Bank of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware (“County

Bank”) under the Electronic Fund Transfer Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 1693 et seq. (“EFTA”), and the Truth in Lending Act, 15

U.S.C. § 1601 et seq. (“TILA”). The parties voluntarily

dismissed defendant West Suburban Bank.

Respondents Tele-Cash and County Bank moved to

stay the proceedings and to compel arbitration pursuant

to the above quoted arbitration clause. The District Court

for the District of Delaware denied respondents’ motion

concluding that there was an “inherent conflict” between

compelling arbitration and the TILA and EFTA statutes.

The respondents appealed this order to the Third Circuit

Court of Appeals pursuant to 9 U.S.C. § 16(a).

As the Third Circuit stated, no-other federal appellate

court has squarely addressed whether a court can compel

arbitration of TILA and EFTA claims when the parties’

loan agreement contains an arbitration clause but the

plaintiff seeks to bring his claims as a class action. Peti-

tioner’s argument focused on the ability of a class action

award to act as a penalty against lenders who violate the

TILA. The Third Circuit acknowledged that “[t]his focus

is logical.” 225 F.3d at 373. Although the court recognized

that this argument, and the argument that Congress

5

meant to encourage private attorneys general to enforce

compliance through the use of class actions carry force

and are supported by the legislative history of the stat-

utes, the Third Circuit held that compelling arbitration

would not conflict with the TILA or EFTA, even though

petitioner’s claims could not be brought as a class action

and certain substantive remedies would not be available

in arbitration.

_ This Court granted Johnson leave to file an amicus

curiae brief in Green Tree v. Randolph, 99-1235.

&

v

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

I.

THIS CASE PRESENTS AN IMPORTANT, UNRE-

SOLVED QUESTION OF LAW

Supreme Court Rule 10(c) provides that a factor

favoring certiorari is that “a United States court of

appeals has decided an important question of federal law

that has not been, but should be, settled by this Court, or

has decided an important federal question in a way that

conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.”

The Johnson decision involves questions of excep-

tional importance in that the Third Circuit has held in

effect that a creditor may avoid TILA and EFTA statutory

penalties in class action suits by means of an arbitration

clause. The District Court held, pursuant to the analysis

set forth in Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plym-

outh, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) and Shearson/American

Express v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987), that this outcome

presents an inherent conflict between the TILA and EFTA

and arbitration and denied arbitration. The Third Circuit

reversed.

This Court granted certiorari and has heard argu-

ment in Green Tree v. Randolph, 99-1235, which also pre-

sents an issue regarding TILA and arbitration. This

demonstrates that the Court already views this to be an

important issue. However, should the Court not reach the

merits in Green Tree, or the issue of class actions and

arbitration, the Court should grant certiorari here.

Also, the lower courts (including the Third Circuit)

have been applying this Court’s holding in Gilmer v.

Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 28 (1991) to

mean that class actions are not a bar to arbitration. How-

ever, in Gilmer, the plaintiff was not paying for the arbi-

tration. Here, consumers are being asked to pay

arbitration costs and give up their right to proceed as a

class action, which is a mechanism that allows costs to be

spread over numerous borrowers’ cases. Without clari-

fication, the lower courts will continue to apply Gilmer

erroneously.

Finally, the proliferation of short term loans with

extremely high interest rates in this country gives rise to

concerns about low-income consumers having their rights

violated without an effective remedy. TILA and EFTA

specifically provide for civil fines in class actions not

exceeding the lesser of $500,000 or 1% of the net worth of

the defendant. This remedy is unavailable in arbitration.

A. The Paydzy Loan Industry.

The last decade has seen the rise of the short term

loan industry. These lenders specialize in lending rela-

tively small amounts of money for extremely high inter-

est rates to low income borrowers. The loans are

generally made for two-week periods, i.e. until the bor-

rowers next payday, hence they are popularly known as

“payday loans.”

Studies by the Departments of Financial Institutions

for Illinois and Indiana show that most of these loans are

repeatedly rolled-over (i.e. extended or renewed past the

original two-week due date) - more than 90% of the time

~ and that there is a high default rate. See also Report to

the 101st General Assembly on the Deferred Presentment

Services Act, Department of Financial Institutions for the

State of Tennessee (“a customer might end up paying

$500.00 to pay off a $100.00 loan”).

A survey of the payday loan industry published by

the Consumer Federation of America shows that the most

common APR is over 350%. See “Show Me the Money,”

Consumer Federation of America, February 2000. The

loans usually contain additional fees, such as “bounced

check fees” and the borrower becomes mired in perpetual

debt. The study also cites the use of abusive collection

activities on the part of lenders.

B. The Pervasiveness of Arbitration Clauses.

The inclusion of arbitration clauses, commonly uti-

lized (and designed for) employment disputes or

commercial disputes, has become more common in trans-

actions involving consumers. They are now frequently

used in payday loan agreements (examples of arbitration

clauses in other short-term, high-interest loans are

included in Appendix D). It is paradoxical to expect a

person who is borrowing an amount of money under

$500 at an interest rate of over 500% APR to rationally

agree to forego their right to utilize the courts, a forum

funded by the public, in exchange for using a forum such

as arbitration which is partially funded by the debtor. The

use of arbitration clauses insulates these lenders from

liability in class actions (1% of their net worth up to

$500,000) under TILA, EFTA and other consumer protec-

tion statutes.

C. Johnson Is an Amicus in Green Tree v. Ran-

dolph.

It should be noted that this Court granted Johnson

leave to file an amicus curiae brief in Green Tree v. Ran-

dolph, 99-1235. Green Tree also presented the Court with

the problems caused by arbitrating a consumer claim,

however, that case focused on the costs involved. The

Court has not addressed the issue presented here as to

whether there is an “inherent conflict” between arbitrat-

ing a statutory claim, which would prevent bringing the

claim as a class action, where the statute encourages the

use of class actions to vindicate its purpose and policies.

ONE eS

~~ ae eee

Il.

THE DECISION OF THE COURT OF APPEALS IS

ERRONEOUS

A. If Compelling Arbitration Creates an “Inherent

Conflict” With Another Statute, The Statutory

Claim Should Not Be Arbitrated.

This Court’s opinions in Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v.

Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985) and

Shearson/American Express v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 227

(1987) held that when dealing with statutes that evince a

contrary congressional mandate, “deducible from text or

legislative history,” arbitration is precluded on those

claims. Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 628 (emphasis added). This

intent is “deducible from . . . an inherent conflict between

arbitration and the statute’s underlying purposes.”

McMahon, 482 U.S. at 227.1

In Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., this Court

held that “So long as the prospective litigant effectively

may vindicate [his or her] statutory cause of action in an

arbitral forum, the statute will continue to serve both its

remedial and deterrent function.” Gilmer v. Interstate/John-

son Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 28 (1991) (quoting Mitsubishi

1 This is consistent with the long-standing principle of

statutory construction that the implications of one statute may

be altered by the implications of a later statute. See, e.g., FDA v.

Brown & Williamson Tobacco Corp., 2000 U.S. LEXIS 2195, No.

98-1152, 2000 WL 289576, at *13 (Mar. 21, 2000); Healthcare v.

Watson Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 6200, *20 n.3

(2d Cir. April 4, 2000); Sunshine Health Systems v. Bowen, 842 F.2d

1097, 1101 (9th Cir. 1988); In re Johnson, 787 F.2d 1179, 1182 (7th

Cir. 1986). Of course, this is not the same as arguing that a prior

Statute was repealed by implication by a later statute.

10

Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614

(1985) (quotations omitted).

Where the arbitration clause would be a barrier to a

litigant’s exercise of his or her statutory rights, the arbi-

tration clause is unenforceable. Randolph v. Green Tree

Financial Corp., 178 F.3d 1149, 1157 (11th Cir. 1999) cert.

granted, Green Tree Financial Corp. v. Randolph, ___ U.S. ___

120 S. Ct. 1552 (2000); Paladino v. Avnet Computer Technolo-

gies, Inc., 134 F.3d 1054,1062 (11th Cir. 1998) (“When an

arbitration clause has provisions that defeat the remedial

purpose of [a] statute, . . . the arbitration clause is not

enforceable”).

“[AJ]rbitration of statutory claims works because

potential litigants have an adequate forum in which to

resolve their statutory claims and because the broader

social purposes behind the statute are adhered to. This

supposition[ ] falls apart, however, if the terms of an

arbitration agreement actually prevent an individual

from effectively vindicating his or her statutory rights.

Accordingly, an arbitration agreement that prohibits use

of the judicial forum as a means of resolving statutory

claims must also provide for an effective and accessible

alternative forum.” Shankle v. B-G Maintenance Manage-

ment of Colorado, Inc., 163 F.3d 1230, 1234 (10th Cir. 1999).

As noted previously, the lower courts (including the

Third Circuit) have applied the holding in Gilmer v. Inter-

state/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 28 (1991) to mean

that the inability to bring class actions in arbitration is

not a bar to arbitration. However, in Gilmer, the plaintiff

was not paying for the arbitration. In this case, the con-

sumer is required to pay arbitration costs and give up

11

their right to proceed as a class action which is a mecha-

nism that helps defray the cost of litigation. Without

clarification, the lower courts will continue to apply

Gilmer erroneously.

Gilmer is further distinguishable because it involved

different statutory language in the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act, 29 U.S.C. § 621 (“ADEA”). That statute

did not provide for a civil fine obtainable through class

actions like TILA and EFTA. The EEOC, the agency

charged with enforcement of the statute, was authorized

to bring class actions. Finally, the ADEA does not evince

a strong policy favoring class actions, whereas TILA does,

in that the ADEA does not authorize a Fed. R. Civ. P. 23

class action, but only allows for an opt-in class action.

Since the ADEA does not manifest a strong policy in

favor of class actions, there was no “inherent conflict” in

arbitrating statutory claims under ADEA. As discussed

below, TILA does have a strong policy in favor of class

actions and so there is an “inherent conflict.”

Congress specifically provided for class action relief

when enacting TILA, 15 U.S.C. § 1640, and EFTA, 15

U.S.C. § 1693m. Class relief is beyond the power of an

arbitrator. Champ v. Siegel Trading Co., 55 F.3d 269 (7th Cir.

1995). If an arbitrator cannot grant the relief specified in

TILA, the TILA claim cannot be subject to arbitration. See

Baltimore & Ohio Chicago Terminal R. Co. v. Wisconsin Cen-

tral Ltd., 154 F.3d 404 (7th Cir. 1998). Even where the

claim is of a type which can normally be arbitrated, if the

arbitrators are deprived of the ability to afford complete

relief, the particular arbitration clause cannot be

enforced. Hooters of America, Inc. v. Phillips, 39 F. Supp. 2d

582 (D.S.C. 1998).

12

In Cole v. Burns Int’l Security Services, 105 F.3d 1465,

1481-82 (D.C. Cir. 1997), the court emphasized that an

arbitration clause cannot be used to deprive persons pro-

tected by the law of their substantive rights:

The starting point of our analysis is the Supreme

Court’s decision in Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson

Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991). In that case, the

Court held that an employee’s agreement to

arbitrate employment-related disputes may

require him to arbitrate statutory claims under

the ADEA because “by agreeing to arbitrate a

statutory claim, [an employee] does not forgo

the substantive rights afforded by the statute;

[he] only submits to their resolution in an arbi-

tral, rather than a judicial, forum.” Gilmer, 500

U.S. at 26 (quoting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 628)

(first alteration in original). As noted above, the

Court emphasized that “so long as the prospec-

tive litigant effectively may vindicate [his or

her] statutory cause of action in the arbitral

forum, the statute will continue to serve both its

remedial and deterrent function.” Id. at 28 (quo-

ting Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 637) (alteration in

original). .. .

Obviously, Gilmer cannot be read as holding that

an arbitration agreement is enforceable no mat-

ter what rights it waives or what burdens it

imposes. See Gorman, 1995 U. ILL. L. REV. at 644

(“The Supreme Court in the Gilmer case did not

hold that any sort of arbitration procedure

before any manner of arbitrator would be satis-

factory in the adjudication of public rights.”).

Such a holding would be fundamentally at odds

with our understanding of the rights accorded

to persons protected by public statutes like the

ADEA and Title VII. The beneficiaries of public

13

statutes are entitled to the rights and protections

provided by the law. Clearly, it would be unlaw-

ful for an employer to condition employment on

an employee’s agreement to give up the right to

be free from racial or gender discrimination.

[citation] Any such condition of employment

would violate Title VII, regardless of whether or

not the agreement was viewed as a contract of

adhesion. Thus, in a subsequent suit by the

employee raising a viable claim of racial dis-

crimination or sexual harassment, it would be

no defense that the employee had signed a con-

tract giving up her right to be free from discrim-

ination.

Similarly, an employee cannot be required as a

condition of employment to waive access to a

neutral forum in which statutory employment

discrimination claims may be heard. ... At a

minimum, statutory rights include both a sub-

stantive protection and access to a neutral forum

in which to enforce those protections. See

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co., 43 F.3d

1244, 1246-48 (9th Cir. 1994) (arbitration clause

that purported to waive remedies provided by

federal statute and to shorten statute of limita-

tions for filing such claims violated statute and

was unenforceable); JEROLD S. AUERBACH,

JUSTICE WITHOUT LAW? 144-45 (1983) (pre-

servation of “individual rights requires an

accessible legal system for their protection” and

enforcement). .. .

Cole further held that “[t]he premise of the [Supreme]

Court’s rulings . . . is that arbitration entails only a

waiver of a procedural right to a judicial forum rather

than a waiver of any substantive right accorded by the

Statute. Id., at 1483, quoting S. Estreicher, Arbitration of

14

Employment Disputes Without Unions, 66 CHI.-KENT L.

REV. 753, 791 (1990).

The inconsistency between the substantive statute

and arbitration need not be express. As the Seventh Cir-

cuit held in Baltimore & Ohio Chicago Terminal R. Co. v.

Wisconsin Central Ltd., supra, 154 F.3d at 410-11, “No

provision of the Interstate Commerce Act expressly for-

bids the arbitration of claims under the Act. But the cases

we have cited hold that the statutory prohibition need not

be express to be effective; as in other cases of preemption,

it is enough if allowing arbitration would disrupt the

statutory scheme.” See also McMahon, 482 U.S. at 227

(whether there is an “inherent conflict” is “deducible”

between arbitration and the statute’s underlying pur-

poses).

B. ‘rhe Purpose Of The Class Action in Consumer

Protection Laws.

Congress has had genuine concerns about the lack of

nationwide compliance with TILA and other consumer

protection laws. The purpose of the class action remedy

was to ensure such compliance. See S. Rep. 93-278 at 14-15

(“The Committee believes a maximum class action lia-

bility of $100,000? is sufficient to deter potential viola-

tions and achieve widespread compliance.”). Without this

class remedy, the penalty imposed by Congress would be

evaded and the consumer protection statutes would lose

their sting.

2 Later this section was amended upward to $500,000.

15

1. The Purpose of TILA.

It is evident that Congress, in enacting the 1974

amendments to TILA, intended to create a private attor-

ney general class action right for the express purpose of

“insur[ing] nationwide adherence to uniform disclosures”

and providing a vehicle by which courts can “assess a

meaningful penalty upon a creditor to induce compliance

with” TILA’s requirements. S. Rep. 93-278, 14-15.

A substantial amount of legislative history is avail-

able which demonstrates Congress thoroughly evaluated

its options for enforcement and purposefully incorpo-

rated class actions into its scheme for enforcement by

“private attorney generals.” In 1974, Congress amended

§ 1640 to provide a cap on liability for class actions

brought under TILA. Watkins v. Simmons & Clark, 618 F.2d

398, 400 (6th Cir. 1980); Bantolina v. Aloha Motors, Inc., 419

F. Supp. 1116, 1119-20 & n.10 (D.Haw. 1976).

This amendment was in direct response to courts’

reluctance to certify classes under TILA. One can draw a

historical comparison here to the passing of the FAA,

which was intended by Congress to address the reluc-

tance of the courts to enforce arbitration clauses. Clearly,

the statutes create a conflict as to what the courts are

directed to do because to enforce the arbitration clause is

to forego the class action remedy. Under the analysis in

Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473

U.S. 614 (1985) and Shearson/American Express v.

McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987), arbitration creates an

“inherent conflict” with TILA and the arbitration must

not be enforced.

16

Prior to the 1974 amendment, a plaintiff was entitled

to a minimum award of $100 under the statute. See 15

U.S.C. § 1640 (1970). Without the cap, if a class action

lawsuit involved millions of consumers, a defendant

creditor would be liable for “an astronomical damage

figure.” For this reason, numerous courts found class

actions not to be a superior method of adjudication

because of the extreme penalty. The courts found this to

be “inconsistent” with the “remedy Congress prescribed

as the means of private enforcement.” See Ratner v. Chemi-

cal Bank of New York Trust Co., 54 F.R.D. 412, 414 (S.D.N.Y.

1972).

-In response to these decisions, Congress amended the

statute to provide a limit on the maximum recovery avail-

able under the TILA. This amendment was intended to

encourage the federal courts to begin certifying class

actions in Truth in Lending lawsuits. S. Rep. 93-278, at

14-15 (1973); Watkins, 618 F.2d at 400 n.6; Bantolina, 419

F. Supp. 1116, 1119-20 & n. 11.

It was Congress’s express intent to encourage the use

of class actions as an enforcement mechanism. See Wat-

kins, 618 F.2d at 401 & n.7 (citing S. Rep. 94-590, reprinted

in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 431, 438).

While the amendment limited the exposure of creditors to

the lessor of $500,000 or 1 per centum of their net worth,

it provided “a workable structure for private enforce-

ment.” Id. Congress concluded the cap to be a sufficient

deterrent against a creditor of any size.

Congress decided that the statute would be enforced

privately, and with class actions, not by a federal agency,

such as the FTC. “The purpose of the civil penalties

17

under [the] Truth in Lending [Act] was to provide credi-

tors with a meaningful incentive to comply with the law

without relying on an extensive new bureaucracy.” S.

Rep. 93-278, at 14. In this case, an agency is not effectively

structured to do so, which Congress recognized and

instead opted to encourage individuals to bring class

actions. See Watkins v. Simmons & Clark, Inc., 618 F.3d 398,

400 (6th Cir. 1980) (holding that the intended purpose of

the TILA was to encourage class actions in the truth-in-

lending context because of the apparent inadequacy of

the Federal Trade Commission’s enforcement resources)

(citing S. Rep. 93-278, at 14-15). —

It is important to note that Congress intended TILA

remedies to be punitive in nature, rather than compensa-

tory. Class actions under a statute such as the ADEA

involved in Gilmer are accumulating individual claims,

whereas TILA class actions seek to impose statutory dam-

ages determined in the same manner as a criminal fine.

Congress characterized the statutory damages provision

as “the civil penalties section.” S. Rep. 93-278, at 14.

Section 1640 provides that “In determining the

amount of award [of statutory damages] in any class

action, the court shall consider, among other relevant

factors, the amount of any actual damages awarded, the

frequency and persistence of failures of compliance by

the creditor, the resources of the creditor, the number of

Persons adversely affected, and the extent to which the

creditor’s failure of compliance was intentional.” The

damages are thus assessed in the same manner as a fine or

punitive damages, and the classwide Statutory damages are

18

not merely a convenient means of enforcing the individ-

ual rights of numerous class members. Because this pen-

alty is similar to a fine, defendant should not be allowed

to escape its effects by contract.

The purpose of the cap was to provide a meaningful

incentive to effectuate compliance with the law and yet

make the penalty reasonable. S. Rep. 93-278 at 14. Con-

gress, concurring with the Federal Reserve Board, found

that potential class action liability was an important

encouragement to the voluntary compliance which was

sO necessary to ensure nation-wide adherence to uniform

disclosure since most Truth in Lending violations do not

involve actual damages and . . . some meaningful penalty

provisions are therefore needed to ensure compliance. S.

Rep. 93-278, at 15. This is why it has been held that class-

action exposure is “essential to the prophylactic intent” of

TILA. Bantolina, 419 F. Supp. at 1120. This is what gives

the statute its “sting.” Id.

Thus there is ample evidence of Congressional intent

to conclude that “Congress did intend . . . to encourage

class actions and to use the threat of class action recov-

eries to force compliance with the Act.” See Appendix

(District Court Opinion) at 31-32 (quoting Watkins, 618

F.2d at 402). The legislative history for TILA is more

developed and expansive than a “general statement of

legislative purpose.” See Pritzker v. Merrill Lynch, 7 F.3d

1110, 1119 (3d Cir. 1993).

The legislative history for TILA and EFTA is quite

specific. Congress repeatedly modified the statute for the

express purpose of “encouraging class actions.” The Sen-

ate Report reveals that Congress engaged in a thorough

19

investigation and analysis in order to counter judicial

hostility to TILA class actions and effectuate the goal of

national uniform compliance. This is the same sort of

legislative history that was relied on in Sues v. John

Nuveen & Co., Inc., where it was held that Congress had

expressed its intent to “encourage” arbitration in the

context of the Civil Rights Act of 1991. Sues v. John Nuveen

& Co., Inc., 146 F.3d 175, 182 n.1 (3d Cir. 1998). Therefore,

defendants’ argument that the legislative history is insub-

stantial must be rejected.

7 ig Rt esa nas

PE WEe Pets sel

Compelling arbitration precludes the class relief

included in TILA and EFTA. Champ v. Siegel Trading Co.,

55 F.3d 269 (7th Cir. 1995). This would Strip the federal

Statute of its “sting” and reduce it to nothing more than

its mere nuisance value. Creditors will not be provided

with a “meaningful incentive for compliance” since they

would not be facing a “meaningful penalty provision.” S.

Rep. 93-278 at 14, 15. Congress determined this to be an

effective and desirable means of vindicating the statute’s

cause of action and that class actions served a meaningful

remedial and deterrent function.

While the statute does not provide an automatic right

to $500,000 worth of class relief (for obvious due process

concerns), it cannot be ignored that Congress intended

for class relief to be part of its Statutory scheme. “By

enforcing the boiler plate arbitration clause which is con-

tained in this (and every other) one-page loan agreement

unilaterally drafted by the defendants, the court would

be allowing them to effectively insulate themselves

against the very statutory penalties which Congress

deemed necessary to ‘provide creditors with a meaning-

ful incentive to comply with the law.’” See Appendix

20

Johnson, 82 F. Supp. 2d at 271 (Appendix B) (quoting S.

Rep. 93-278, at 14); see also Powertel, Inc. v. Bexley, 743

So.2d 570, 576 (Fla. App. Ct. 1999) (“The arbitration

clause also effectively removes Powertel’s exposure to

any remedy that could be pursued on behalf of a class of

consumers . . . Class litigation provides the most econom-

ically feasible remedy for the kind of claim asserted here.

The potential claims are too small to litigate individu-

ally . . . The prospect of class litigation ordinarily has

some deterrent effect on a manufacturer or service pro-

vider, but that is absent here . . . ”). Congress recognized

the special efficacy of class actions, which has also been

recognized by the courts. Crawford v. Equifax Payment

Services, 201 F.3d 877, 880 (7th Cir. 2000) (small-stakes

consumer claims are best filed as class actions); Mace v.

Van Ru Credit Corp., 109 F.3d 338, 344 (7th Cir. 1997); In re

General Motors Corp. Pick-Up Truck Fuel Tank Products Lia-

bility Litigation, 55 F.3d 768, 809 (3d Cir. 1995).

For example, Johnson could only recover a maximum

of $1,000 statutory damages, see 15 U.S.C.

§§ 1640(a)(1)(2)(A), whereas, as a representative of a

class, he could obtain 500 times that amount. Enforcing

the arbitration clause raises doubts as to whether TILA

could serve both its remedial and deterrent functions. S.

Rep. 93-278, at 14.

Congress need not discuss and reject all other options

of enforcement. “[T]he cases we have cited hold that the

statutory prohibition need not be express to be effective;

as in other cases of preemption, it is enough if allowing

arbitration would disrupt the statutory scheme.” Baltimore &

Ohio Chicago Terminal, 154 F.3d 404, 410 (7th Cir. 1998).

TILA provides for class actions and judicial enforcement

21

for exactly the same reasons that the Interstate Commerce

Act at issue in Baltimore & Ohio confided certain tariff

issues to the Surface Transportation Board - nationwide

compliance and uniformity are essential. The statutory

scheme here is to allow suit by “private attorney gen-

erals” and create liability of up to $500,000 or 1% of net

worth for noncompliance.

In fact, because Congress has expressly “encouraged”

arbitration of other statutory causes of action, principles

of statutory interpretation support the argument that if

Congress intended to encourage arbitration of statutory

rights it could do so. See Sues v. John Nuveen & Co., Inc.,

146 F.3d 175, 182 (3d Cir. 1998) (discussing Section 118 of

the Civil Rights Act of 1991).

To conclude that arbitration precludes Johnson’s pur-

suit of his class action claim is to say he waived this

remedy under TILA. This is precisely what Congress

intended to prevent by providing that it is unlawful to

discriminate against the exercise of any right under the

Consumer Credit Protection Act. 15 U.S.C. § 1691(a)(3).

In Parker v. DeKalb Chrysler Plymouth, supra, 673 F.2d

1178, 1182 (11th Cir. 1982), the court held that a general

release did not apply to TILA claims. In so holding, it

stressed that TILA is imbued with a public purpose with

individuals and their attorneys serving as private attor-

neys-general. The specific grant of the right to bring class

action litigation is part of enforcing that public purpose.

If, as in this case, defendants were allowed to bypass the

class action device through the use of arbitration clauses,

congressional attempt would be stymied.

22

“Before Gilmer, courts had unanimously found that

any waiver, including a knowing waiver, of statutory

rights was precluded. In Gilmer, the Court established the

baseline test that ‘so long as the prospective litigant effec-

tively may vindicate [his or her] statutory cause of action

in the arbitral forum, the statute will continue to serve

both its remedial and deterrent functions.’ ” Hooters of

America, 39 F.Supp. 2d 582, 616 (D.S.C. 1998), quoting

Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 28. Recognizing this concept, the Court

of Appeals in Tran v. Tran, 54 F.3d 115 (2d Cir. 1995), held

that statutory rights under the Fair Labor Standards Act

could not be made the subject of binding arbitration. This

decision affirms the validity of Brooklyn Savings Bank v.

O’Neil, 324 U.S. 697 (1945), which the court relied upon in

Parker v. DeKalb Chrysler-Plymouth, 673 F.2d 1178 (11th

Cir. 1982), to hold that TILA rights were not the subject of

a general release. Further, even the individual suit under

Truth-in-Lending has public dimensions. See Buford v.

American Finance Co., 333 F. Supp. 1243, 1248 (N.D.Ga.

1971).

Additional public-related benefits are provided by

the stare decisis effect successful litigation may have

entitling others to statutorily provided relief. Id.; Accord,

Rodash v. AIB Mortgage Co., 16 F.3d 1142 (11th Cir. 1994)

(“Congress intended the statute to create a system of

private attorneys general to aid its enforcement; thus, to

further its remedial purpose”). Reported decisions are

important to the stated purpose of having standardized

disclosures on a nationwide basis. No matter where you

are in the country, you should get the same form dis-

closures. This requires reported decisions with reasons

spelled out and subject to appellate review. The Court

23

found reported decisions expendable under ERISA, see

Pritzker, 7 F.3d at 1119, but under ERISA every plan can

be different. The purpose of TILA requires uniform dis-

closures which necessitates reported, precedential law

which is not available under private arbitration.

In Broughton v. Cigna Healthplans of California, 21 Cal.

4th 1066, 988 P.2d 67 (Cal. 1999), the court would not

enforce an arbitration clause because it impeded the abil-

ity of plaintiff to “[play] in the role of a bona fide private

attorney general” as intended by the California legisla-

ture in the California Legal Remedies Act (CRLA).

Broughton, 988 P.2d at 76-77. Similarly, here, arbitration

would impede the public benefit Congress intended by

encouraging plaintiffs to bring class action Suits as pri-

vate attorney generals to enforce uniform compliance

with TILA. The court in Broughton distinguished its hold-

ing from the outcome in Mitsubishi Motors, which held

that the Sherman Act’s treble damages provision only

had an “incidental” public benefit. In Broughton, the

intent to create “private attorney generals” and ability to

obtain injunctive relief had a more tangible public benefit

and was clear expression of legislative intent that suits

brought under the CRLA were to have a public benefit

rather than only compensate the plaintiff individually.

Similarly here, by encouraging plaintiffs to bring

class actions for Statutory damages, Congress intended

for TILA to have a more tangible public benefit rather

than merely compensate the individual. Given this legis-

lative intent, putting Johnson’s claim in a forum that

Prevents the bringing of a class action defeats the legisla-

ture’s intent. The conflict between the FAA and TILA

24

need not be express but can be, and is, deducible from the

text and legislative history.

C. TILA’s Private Attorney Generals.

Certainly, class actions are part of TILA’s statutory

scheme of enforcement by “private attorney generals.”

Compelling a claim alleged as a class to be arbitrated as

an individual claim is disruptive with that scheme.

TILA’s statutory mandate of disclosure of material

terms is intended to benefit all consumers and compliant

creditors, not just the individual claimant. Parker v.

DeKalb Chrysler Plymouth, 673 F.2d 1178, 1180 (11th Cir.

1982). The general statutory scheme envisions individual

consumers acting as “private attorneys general.” Parker,

673 F.2d at 1181. Congress intended to create a private

attorney general class action right for the express purpose

of “insur[ing] nationwide adherence to uniform dis-

closures” and providing a vehicle by which courts can

“assess a meaningful penalty upon a creditor to induce

compliance with” TILA’s requirements. S. Rep. 93-278,

14-15.

This congressional purpose has been recognized by

every court to have considered the history of the act. An

early case stating the purpose of TILA was Ratner v.

Chemical Bank, 329 F. Supp. 270 (S.D.N.Y. 1971) where the

Court held that “The scheme of the statute, as both sides

agree (emphasis added), is to create a species of ‘private

attorney general’ to participate prominently in enforce-

ment . . . Congress made clear its broader scheme, and

25

broader system of reimbursement, for private enforce-

ment. It invited people like the present plaintiff, whether

they were themselves deceived or not, to sue in the public

interest. Following familiar precedents, it encouraged

such actions by Providing, in addition to the incentive of

public service, costs and a reasonable attorney’s fee

above the minimum recovery of $100.” Id.

In James v. Home Construction Co., 689 F.2d 1357 (11th

Cir. 1982), the Court agreed with Ratner, and stated that

“One of the congressional goals underlying TILA was the

creation of a system of private attorneys general who

could effectively enforce the Act without government

intervention. Sosa v. Fite, 498 F.2d 114, 121 (5th Cir. 1974);

Bizier v. Globe Fin. Services, Inc., 654 F.2d 1, 2 (1st Cir.

1981); Thomas v. Myers-Dickson Furniture Co., 479 F.2d 740,

748 (Sth Cir. 1973).

In Thomas v. Myers-Dickson Furniture Co., 479 F.2d 740

(Sth Cir. 1973) the Court Stated that “Section 1640 is

intended to allow aggrieved consumers to Participate in

policing the Act. The domain of consumer credit with its

allied commercial practices is no longer in the laissez

faire era of caveat emptor. That doctrine is increasingly

relegated to its Proper place as a historical relic without

modern application. The regulatory scheme forcefully

expounds an emerging ethic of ‘caveat vendor,’ and we

will not strain to avoid giving effect to the Federal Con-

sumer Credit Protection Act.” Id.; see also Broughton v.

Cigna Healthplans of California, supra at 18.

The stated purpose of TILA is “to assure a meaning-

ful disclosure of credit terms so that the consumer will be

able to compare more readily the various credit terms

26

available to him and avoid the uninformed use of credit.”

15 U.S.C. § 1601(a). As this Court noted, TILA “reflects a

transition in congressional policy from a philosophy of

‘Let the buyer beware’ to one of ‘Let the seller disclose.’ ”

Mourning v. Family Publications Service, Inc., 411 U.S. 356,

377 (1973). Since one of the major problems TILA sought

to correct was the lack of uniformity in credit disclosure

practices, it requires creditors to disclose all key informa-

tion in a uniform manner.*

To effectuate its purposes, TILA and Regulation Z

mandate the disclosure of, among other things, the

finance charge, annual percentage rate (“APR”), and

amount financed in every consumer credit transaction. 15

U.S.C. § 1638(a); 12 C.F.R. § 226.18. To promote unifor-

mity, TILA and Regulation Z regulate the timing, form

and placement of the mandated disclosures by requiring

the disclosures to be “made before the credit is extended”

and “grouped together” and “conspicuously segregated”

from other information. 15 U.S.C. § 1638(b)(1); 12 C.F.R.

§ 226.17(a)(1). The “conspicuously segregated” require-

ment is normally satisfied by the use of a “federal box” —

a heavy border surrounding the federal disclosures that

separates them from other extraneous information.* The

federal box allows the consumer to look to one place in

the document so that he can easily compare the costs of

credit. For information deemed extremely important (i.e.

APR and finance charge), TILA requires that they be

3 S. Rep. No. 73, supra, at 17, reprinted in 1980 U.S.C.C.A.N.

at 280.

4 The use of the “federal box” is illustrated by the model

forms accompanying Regulation Z. See e.g., Appendix O.

a I a =

27

disclosed “more conspicuously” than other required dis-

closures. 15 U.S.C. § 1632(a).

The legislative history of TILA indicates that “the

enforcement of [TILA] would be accomplished largely

through the institution of civil actions... ” Riggs v.

Government Employees Financial Corp., 623 F.2d 68, 72 (9th

Cir. 1980); see also, Rodash v. AIB Mortgage Co., 16 F.3d

1142, 1144 (11th Cir. 1994); Davis v. Werne, 673 F.2d 866,

869 (Sth Cir. 1982). However, Congress knew that actual

damages for disclosure violations were likely to be non-

existent or difficult to ascertain.5 See Watkins v. Simmons

and Clark, Inc., 618 F.2d 398, 400, n.6 (quoting S. Rep. No.

93-278, supra, at 14); Postow v. OBA Federal S. & L. Ass'n.,

627 F.2d 1370, 1384 (D.C. Cir. 1980). Therefore, § 1640(a)

provides for the recovery of Statutory damages as a basic

enforcement and deterrent mechanism. Riggs, 623 F.2d at

rae

D. EFTA Includes Similar Statutory Language

Encouraging Class Actions.

The Electronic Funds Transfer Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1693 et

seq. (“EFTA”) contains the same statutory cap on liability

as TILA. Compare 15 U.S.C. § 1693m (1994) with 15 U.S.C.

§ 1640(a) (1994). As discussed previously, this statutory

language balances Congress’s desires for nationwide uni-

form compliance with desires for encouraging certifica-

tion of class actions under TILA, and so Congress used

the same language in EFTA to accomplish the same goals.

5 See S. Rep. No. 93-278, 93rd Cong., 1st Sess., 14 (1973).

28

This intent is confirmed by the Report of the Com-

mittee on Banking, Finance and Urban Affairs on the

EFTA bill. The committee specifically recommended the

inclusion of a provision regarding class actions to encour-

age them. The recommendation was not just for purposes

of efficient disposition of potentially small claims, but

because of the “symbolic” as well as practical effects on

the industry. Including the provision sends a signal that

Congress is “serious” about enforcement of this statute.

“Yet the potential threat of class-action suits

has been and remains important in persuading

creditors and debt collectors to comply, who

might otherwise be inclined to violate these

laws with impunity. So, also would the threat of

class-action suits in EFT persuade financial

institutions and others subject to this legislation

to comply with the spirit and letter of the law.

Without a class action suit an institution could

violate the title with respect to thousands of

consumers without their knowledge, if its finan-

cial impact was small enough or hard to dis-

cover. Class-action suits for damages are an

essential part of enforcement of the bill because,

all too often, although many consumers have

been harmed, the actual damages in contrast to

the legal costs to individuals are not enough to

encourage a consumer to sue. . . . many individ-

ual losses could quickly add up to thousands of

dollars. The opposite could result, for without

the class-action option courts might get

besieged with iaw suits...

“The potential of class actions is symbolically as

well as practically important to consumers and

to industry. Both groups will assess the serious-

ness of Congressional purpose on whether or

29

not class-action suits are provided for in this a

EFT legislation. Included, no one can doubt con- a

gressional intent that institutions provide EFT

services only in a beneficial, responsible man-

ner. Excluded, the opposite might assumed.”

Committee on Banking, Finance and Urban

Affairs, H.R. 95-1315 (June 21, 1978).

¢

CONCLUSION

For the reasons above, petitioner Terry Johnson

respectfully requests that this Court grant his petition for

a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit.

Respectfully submitted,

Donte. A. EDELMAN

Counsel of Record

CATHLEEN M. Comas

James O. LatrurNER

JoHN M. Broperick

EDELMAN, Comps & LATTURNER

120 South LaSalle Street,

18th Floor

Chicago, IL 60603

(312) 739-4200

(312) 419-0379 (FAX)

Counsel for Petitioner

Se CMe ah SE aR DO kL Eee te ee ee ee ee eee ve fete Sa eee ‘he > ¢ ~ MR EER) MO ly OH ET

Al

APPENDIX A

TERRY JOHNSON v. WEST SUBURBAN BANK;

TELE-CASH INC.; COUNTY BANK OF REHOBOTH

BEACH, DELAWARE; Tele-Cash Inc.; County Bank

of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware,

Appellants

NO. 00-5047

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

225 F.3d 366; 2000 U.S. App. LEXIS 22151

July 17, 2000, Argued

August 29, 2000, Filed

PRIOR HISTORY:

On Appeal From the United States District Court For

the District of Delaware. (D.C. Civ. No. 99-cv-00104).

District Judge: Honorable Gregory M. Sleet.

DISPOSITION:

Order of the District Court denying the motion to

Stay proceedings and compel arbitration reversed and the

case remanded for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

COUNSEL:

WALTER WEIR, JR., ESQUIRE, SUSAN VERBONITZ,

ESQUIRE (ARGUED), Weir and Partners, LLP, Phila-

delphia, PA. JAMES D. GRIFFIN, ESQUIRE, Griffin &

Hackett, Georgetown, DE, Counsel for Appellants.

A2

CATHLEEN M. COMBS, ESQUIRE (ARGUED),

JOHN M. BRODERICK, ESQUIRE, Edelman, Combs &

Latturner, Chicago, IL. WILLIAM L. O’DAY, JR.,

ESQUIRE, Law Office of William L. O’Day, Jr., Wilm-

ington, DE, Counsel for Appellee.

CHRISTOPHER R. LIPSETT, ESQUIRE, ERIC J.

MONGILNICKI, ESQUIRE, MICHAEL D. LEFFEL,

ESQUIRE, Wilmer, Cutler & Pickering, Washington, DC,

Counsel for Amici Curiae —- The Delaware Retail Council;

The New Jersey Retail Merchants Association; The Penn-

sylvania Retailers Association.

RICHARD P. ECKMAN, ESQUIRE, STEPHEN G.

HARVEY, ESQUIRE, JEFFREY K. TECHENTIN,

ESQUIRE, Pepper Hamilton, LLP, Philadelphia, PA,

Counsel for Amici Curiae —- American Bankers Associa-

tion, American Financial Services Association, Consumer

Bankers Association, and Delaware Bankers Association.

JUDGES:

Before: BECKER, Chief Judge, SLOVITER and

NYGAARD, Circuit Judges.

OPINION:

OPINION OF THE COURT

BECKER, Chief Judge.

This appeal arises under the Truth in Lending Act

(“TILA”), 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq., and the Electronic

Fund Transfer Act (“EFTA”), 15 U.S.C. § 1693 et seq.

A3

Plaintiff Terry Johnson, who entered into a short-term

loan agreement with County Bank of Rehoboth Beach,

Delaware (“Bank”), contends that the terms of the loan

violated both the TILA-and the EFTA. He seeks to bring a

class action suit against both the Bank and Tele-Cash,

Inc., which acted as the Bank’s agent for the loan transac-

tion. The Defendants respond that the dispute belongs in

an arbitral forum, as the loan agreement signed by John-

son contains an arbitration clause. This appeal presents

the question, one of first impression in the Courts of

Appeals, whether claims under the TILA and the EFTA

can be referred to arbitration under an arbitration clause

when a plaintiff seeks to bring a claim on behalf of

multiple claimants.

Johnson submits that compelling arbitration is pre-

cluded by an “irreconcilable conflict” between the arbi-

tration clause and the Purposes of the TILA and the

EFTA. He argues that Congress consciously inserted lan-

guage into the statutes with the intent of encouraging

district court judges to certify class actions under Fed. R.

Civ. P. 23. He further maintains that in the legislative

history of amendments to the TILA, Congress communi-

cated that class action remedies play a central role in the

TILA and EFTA enforcement schemes. Rather than simply

provide restitution, Johnson asserts, such litigation is

meant to serve public policy goals through plaintiffs who

act as private attorneys general, for the class action

device is necessary to ensure meaningful deterrence to

creditors who might violate the acts.

The District Court agreed with Johnson that there

was an “inherent conflict” between compelling

arbitration and the TILA and the EFTA and denied the

A4

Defendants’ motion to compel arbitration under the

agreement. We will reverse. Though there may be some

tension between the purposes of the debtor-protection

statutes and arbitration, we are not persuaded that the

two are so at odds as to preclude arbitration in this

context. The Supreme Court has made clear that the

presumption in favor of arbitration established by the

Federal Arbitration Act (“FAA”), 9 U.S.C. § 1 et seq., is a

powerful one. Because neither the TILA nor the EFTA

explicitly precludes the selection of arbitration instead of

litigation, a party who agrees to arbitrate, but then asserts

that his or her statutory claim cannot be vindicated in an

arbitral forum, faces a heavy burden. That burden has not

been met here.

i

As a predicate to this conclusion, we note our belief

that the public interest purposes behind the civil penalty

provisions of the statutes are not in conflict with arbitra-

tion, even if arbitration clauses may prevent the bringing

of class actions. To the extent that class actions serve

public interest goals, those goals are also met by other

provisions of the laws, which allow for enforcement of

the statutes by federal agencies that possess sufficient

sanctioning power to provide a meaningful deterrent to

creditors who violate the terms of either act. Moreover,

neither act grants potential plaintiffs any substantive

right that cannot be vindicated in an arbitral forum.

While it may be true that the benefits of proceeding as a

class are unavailable in arbitration, neither statute confers

upon plaintiffs the right to proceed as a class. Instead, the

right is merely a procedural one, arising under Fed. R.

A5

Civ. P. 23, that may be waived by agreeing to an arbitra-

tion clause. In sum, because we can discern no congres-

sional intent to preclude the enforcement of arbitration

clauses in either statute’s text, legislative history, or pur-

pose, we hold that such clauses are effective even though

they may render class actions to pursue statutory claims

under the TILA or the EFTA unavailable.

I.

Johnson applied for and received a short-term loan

for $ 250 from the Bank on July 10, 1998. The loan

agreement disclosed an annual percentage rate of 917%,

stemming from finance charges of $ 88 for the two-week

loan. Thus, under the agreement, Johnson had to repay

the loan by making one payment of $ 338 two weeks after

receiving his $ 250. The loan agreement also contained

the following arbitration clause:

You and we agree that any claim, dispute, or

controversy between us... and any claim aris-

ing from or relating to this Note, no matter by

whom or against whom . . . including the val-

idity of this Note and of this agreement to arbi-

trate disputes as well as claims alleging fraud or

misrepresentation shall be resolved by binding

arbitration by and under the Code of Procedure

of the National Arbitration Forum. . . . This

arbitration agreement is made pursuant to a

transaction involving interstate commerce and

shall be governed by the Federal Arbitration

Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16.

App. 20. The loan agreement further provided:

A6é

NOTICE: YOU AND WE WOULD HAVE HAD

A RIGHT OR OPPORTUNITY TO LITIGATE

DISPUTES ‘THROUGH A COURT BUT HAVE

AGREED INSTEAD TO RESOLVE DISPUTES

THROUGH BINDING ARBITRATION.

By signing and sealing below, you agree to all of

the terms of this Note, including the agreement

to arbitrate disputes.

Id. at 20.

Johnson filed suit on behalf of a putative class in the

District Court for the District of Delaware, alleging that

the Bank and Tele-Cash, Inc., the bank’s agent for the

loan transaction, violated both the TILA and the EFTA by

failing to properly disclose the high rate of interest, and

by requiring loan applicants to open accounts from which

they were required to irrevocably preauthorize electronic

fund transfers to pay the loan.

The Defendants moved to stay the proceedings and

compel arbitration. Concluding that arbitration was at

odds with the purposes of the TILA and the EFTA, the

District Court denied a motion to compel arbitration and

stay the proceedings or dismiss the case. The District

Court did, however, dismiss Johnson’s claim that the

arbitration clause was unconscionable. The Defendants

timely appealed. The District Court had jurisdiction to

hear Johnson's action under 28 U.S.C. § 1331. Though the

District Court’s refusal to compel arbitration was inter-

locutory, such refusals are immediately appealable under

the FAA. See 9 U.S.C. § 16(a) (“An appeal may be taken

from...an order... refusing a stay of any action under

section 3 of this title [or] denying a petition under section

4 of this title to order arbitration to proceed.”). The

A7

question whether the TILA and the EFTA preclude arbi-

tration when the plaintiff seeks to assert claims on behalf

of a class presents a question of law over which our

review is plenary.

Il.

Whether a court can compel arbitration of TILA

claims when the parties’ loan agreement contains an arbi-

tration clause but the plaintiff seeks to bring claims on

behalf of multiple claimants is a question of first impres-

sion for this court. No other federal appellate court has

squarely addressed the issue either. A number of district

courts have ruled on the subject. Most of these rulings

favor the view that the TILA does not preclude the pre-

dispute selection by the parties of an arbitral forum

should any controversy arise. Compare Thompson v. IIli-

nois Title Loans, Inc., 2000 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 232, No. 99-

C-3952, 2000 WL 45493 (N.D. III. Jan. 11, 2000); Sagal v.

First USA Bank, N.A., 69 F. Supp. 2d 627 (D. Del. 1999);

Stout v. Byrider, 50 F. Supp. 2d 733 (N.D. Ohio 1999);

Randolph v. Green Tree Fin. Corp., 991 F. Supp. 1410 (M.D.

Ala. 1997), rev’d on other grounds, 178 F.3d 1149 (11th

Cir. 1999), cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 1552 (2000); Lopez v.

Plaza Fin. Co., 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 5566, No. 95-C-7567,

1996 WL 210073 (N.D. III. April 25, 1996); Meyers v. Uni-

vest Home Loan, Inc., 1993 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11335 No.

C-93-1783 MHP, 1993 WL 307747 (N.D. Cal. Aug. 4, #993),

with Lozada v. Dale Baker Oldsmobile, Inc., 91 F. Supp. 2d

1087 (W.D. Mich. 2000).

In general, nothing prevents contracting parties from

including a provision in their agreements that refers

A8

statutory claims arising under the contract to arbitration.

See Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 26,

114 L. Ed. 2d 26, 111 S. Ct. 1647 (1991). Arbitration of

statutory claims will not be precluded absent congres-

sional direction. “Having made the bargain to arbitrate,

the party should be held to it unless Congress itself has

evinced an intention to preclude a waiver of judicial

remedies for the statutory rights at issue.” Mitsubishi

Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614,

628, 87 L. Ed. 2d 444, 105 S. Ct. 3346 (1985). The burden of

establishing that Congress meant to preclude arbitration

for a statutory claim rests with the party who seeks to

avoid arbitration. See Gilmer, 500 U.S. at 26. Such inten-

tion may be found in the text, legislative history, or in an

“inherent conflict” between arbitration and the statute’s

underlying purposes. Id. (citing Shearson/American

Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 227, 96 L. Ed. 2d

185, 107 S. Ct. 2332 (1987)). “Throughout such an inquiry,

it should be kept in mind that ‘questions of arbitrability

must be addressed with a healthy regard for the federal

policy favoring arbitration.’ ” Id. (quoting Moses H. Cone

Mem'l Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24, 74

L. Ed. 2d 765, 103 S. Ct. 927 (1983)).

It is the third category, inherent conflict, on which the

District Court based its opinion. The Court concluded

that an inherent conflict existed because “without the

possibility of class action liability looming on a creditor’s

horizon, there is a very real possibility that these entities

will not voluntarily comply with the Truth-in-Lending

regulations.” Johnson v. Tele-Cash, Inc., 82 F. Supp. 2d 264,

271 (D. Del. 1999). We agree that if Johnson is to prevail, it

KS

Ag

must be on the basis of demonstrating an inherent con-

flict. There is nothing in either the text or the legislative

history of the TILA to indicate that Congress intended to

allow plaintiffs to avoid binding arbitration clauses. Both

the statute and the legislative history, however, offer

insight into the question whether an “inherent conflict” is

to be found between the statute and arbitration.

A. Statutory Language

The TILA provides for civil liability for lenders who

fail to give the disclosures required by the statute. See 15

U.S.C. § 1640. An aggrieved party is entitled to recover

actual as well as statutory damages. Statutory damages

can be twice the amount of any finance charge, but, for

most transactions, they may not exceed $ 1,000 or fall

short of $ 100. See id. §§ 1640(a)(1), (2). The statute speci-

fically addresses the damages available in a class action,

limiting the maximum potential recovery. Plaintiffs can

recover

in the case of a class action, such amount as the

court may allow, except that as to each member

of the class no minimum recovery shall be appli-

cable, and the total recovery under this subpara-

graph in any class action or series of class

actions arising out of the same failure to comply

by the same creditor shall not be more than the

lesser of $ 500,000 or 1 per centum of the net

worth of the creditor.

Id. § 1640(a)(1)(B). The statute further directs that

in determining the amount of award in any class

action, the court shall consider, among other

Al10

relevant factors, the amount of any actual dam-

ages awarded, the frequency and persistence of

failures of compliance by the creditor, the

resources of the creditor, the number of persons

adversely affected, and the extent to which the

creditor’s failure of compliance was intentional.

Id. § 1640(a).

Though the statute clearly contemplates class actions,

there are no provisions within the law that create a right

to bring them, or evince an intent by Congress that claims

initiated as class actions be exempt from binding arbitra-

tion clauses. The “right” to proceed to a class action,

insofar as the TILA is concerned, is a procedural one that

arises from the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. See Fed.

R. Civ. P. 23.

B. Legislative History

Johnson relies heavily on the legislative history

behind several amendments to the TILA. After the law

was first enacted, some courts were reluctant to certify

class actions, in part due to the concern that large class

awards could overwhelm lending institutions. See gener-

ally Ratner v. Chemical Bank New York Trust Co., 54 F.R.D.

412, 414 (S.D.N.Y. 1972) (refusing to certify class of TILA

plaintiffs when “the allowance of thousands of minimum

recoveries like plaintiff's would carry to an absurd and

stultifying extreme the specific and essentially inconsis-

tent remedy Congress prescribed as the means of private

enforcement”). In 1974 Congress responded by enacting

the limitations on class action recovery discussed above.

In so doing, it created some legislative history that

bespeaks the potential role that class actions are meant to

All

play in the enforcement of the TILA’s substantive require-

ments. Johnson contends that this history demonstrates

Congress’s intent to preserve a statutory class action rem-

edy under the TILA.

Most of the language favorable to Johnson is found in

a report of the Senate Committee on Banking, Housing

and Urban Affairs pertaining to the 1974 amendments.

We quote from it at length.

A problem has arisen in applying these mini-

mum liability provisions in class action suits

involving millions of consumers. If each mem-

ber of the class is entitled to a minimum award

of $ 100, a creditor’s liability can be enormous.

For example, if a large national department

store chain with 10 million customers fails to

include a required item of information on its

monthly billing statement, it can be subject to a

minimum liability of $ 1 billion in a class action

suit

-... The purpose of the civil penalties section

under Truth in Lending was to provide creditors

with a meaningful incentive to comply with the

law without relying upon an extensive new

bureaucracy. However, the Committee feels this

objective can be achieved without subjecting

creditors to enormous penalties for violations

which do not involve actual damages and may

be of a technical nature. Putting a reasonable

limit on a creditor’s maximum class action lia-

bility would seem to be in the best interest of

both creditors and consumers.

-..+ The Committee believes the present ambi-

guities and uncertainties with respect to class

action suits under Truth in Lending should be

Al12

clarified. Moreover, the Committee agrees with

the Federal Reserve Board that “potential class

action liability is an important encouragement

to the voluntary compliance which is so neces-

sary to insure nationwide adherence to uniform

disclosure” and that such remedies should not

be restricted to actual damages. As the Commit-

tee pointed out in its report on similar legisla-

tion last year, “Most Truth in Lending violations

do not involve actual damages and . . . some

meaningful penalty provisions are therefore

needed to insure compliance.”

Accordingly, the Committee again decided to

place an aggregate limitation on a creditor’s

class action liability for violations not involving

actual damages.

S. Rep. No. 93-278, at 14-15 (1973). The conference

report for the final legislation is far less expansive, not

discussing the purposes of the caps in any great detail,

but stating that “the limitation on class action suits was

further limited to the lesser of $ 100,000 or 1 percent of

the net worth of the creditor to protect small business

firms from catastrophic judgments.” H.R. Conf. Rep. No.

93-1429 (1974), reprinted in 1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 6148, 6153.

Several years later, the cap on class action awards

was raised from $ 100,000 to $ 500,000. At the time, the

Senate report, prepared by the Banking, Housing and

Urban Affairs Committ’ | noted:

The chief enforcement tool will continue to be

private actions for actual damages and civil pen-

alties. . . . The risk of any ceiling on class action

recoveries is that, if it is too low, it acts as a

positive disincentive to the bringing of such

Al3

actions and thus frustrates the enforcement pol-

icy for which class actions are recognized... .

The Committee wishes to avoid any implication

that the ceiling on class action recovery is meant

to discourage use of the class action device. The

recommended $ 500,000 limit, coupled with the

1% formula, provides, we believe, a workable

structure for private enforcement. Small busi-

nesses are protected by the 1% measure, while a

potential half million dollar recovery ought to

act as a significant deterrent to even the largest

creditor.

S. Rep. No. 94-590, at 8 (1976), reprinted in 1976

U.S.C.C.A.N. 431, 438.

Though Congress did not address the role of arbitra-

tion in the legislative history, Johnson urges that the

history recited above demonstrates the centrality of class

actions to the TILA’s effective enforcement.! Accordingly,

we turn to consider whether an arbitration clause that

precludes bringing a class action Suit under the TILA

irreconcilably conflicts with the statute.

C. Statutory Purposes

Because nothing in the legislative history or the stat-

utory text of the TILA clearly expresses congressional

intent to preclude the ability of parties to engage in

1 Insofar as the committee did endorse class actions, it

should be noted that the endorsement was not unequivocal. The

committee said it would be considering alternatives to class

actions in the future, adding “we are hopeful that there may be

workable and effective substitutes for the class action as a

consumer enforcement device... . ” Id.

Al4

arbitration, Johnson must demonstrate that arbitration

irreconcilably conflicts with the purposes of the TILA.

While Johnson may be correct in arguing that Congress

contemplated class actions as a part of the TILA enforce-

ment scheme, and even that class actions were self-con-

sciously promoted by Congress in amending the statute,

he falls short of demonstrating irreconcilable conflict

between arbitration and the TILA.

1. TILA’s public policy goals

Johnson focuses on the ability of a class action award

to act as a penalty against lenders who violate the TILA.

This focus is logical. The prospect of a class action award

will doubtless deter TILA violations more effectively than

the prospect that debtors will pursue individual actions,

either in court or in arbitration, because the damages

available to individuals are generally limited. See 15

U.S.C. § 1640. In this manner, argues Johnson, class

actions are central to TILA’s purposes, because the stat-

ute’s civil damages provisions are not remedial, but

rather, given the frequent absence of actual damages, are

designed to deter unfair credit practices. Phrased another

way, the TILA, in Johnson’s submission, is meant to

encourage private attorneys general, and the statute as a

whole is intended for public purposes rather than private

grievances. While these arguments carry force, they are

ultimately unpersuasive, for they do not translate into a

conclusion that class actions are necessary to provide

deterrence or fulfill any of the other goals of the Act.

Al5

a. The effects of arbitration on private litigation

First, even if plaintiffs who sign valid arbitration

agreements lack the procedural right to proceed as part of

a class, they retain the full range of rights created by the

TILA. These rights remain available in individual arbitra-

tion proceedings. The Supreme Court has made clear that

when arbitration will Preserve a plaintiff’s substantive

rights, compelling arbitration in accordance with an arbi-

tration clause will not impede a statute’s deterrent func-

tion. “So long as the Prospective litigant effectively may

vindicate [his or her] Statutory cause of action in the

arbitral forum, the statute will continue to serve both its

remedial and deterrent function.” Mitsubishi Motors Corp.

v. Soler Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 637, 87

L. Ed. 2d 444, 105 S. Ct. 3346 (1985). Johnson does not

argue that the arbitral forum selected in his agreement is

somehow inadequate to vindicate any of his rights under

the TILA or that arbitrators would be unable to afford

him any relief that he could individually obtain in a court

Proceeding, including injunctive relief or attorney’s fees.

Cf. Randolph v. Green Tree Fin. Corp., 178 F.3d 1149, 1158

(11th Cir. 1999), cert. granted, 120 S. Ct. 1552 (2000)

(reversing order compelling arbitration in a TILA case

because the clause at issue “raises serious concerns with

respect to filing fees, arbitrators’ costs and other arbitra-

tion expenses that may curtail or bar a plaintiff’s access

to the arbitral forum”); Baron v. Best Buy Co., Inc., 75

F. Supp. 2d 1368, 1370 (S.D. Fla. 1999) (appeal pending)

(refusing to compel arbitration in a TILA case when arbi-

tration agreement required parties to bear own expense

for attorneys’ costs in contravention of TILA provisions

that provide for recovery of attorneys’ fees).

Al6

Under the prevailing jurisprudence, when the right

made available by a statute is capable of vindication in

the arbitral forum, the public policy goals of that statute

do not justify refusing to arbitrate. The notion that there

is a meaningful distinction between vindicating a stat-

ute’s social purposes and adjudicating private grievances

for purposes of determining whether a statute precludes

compelling arbitration under a valid arbitration clause

was rejected by the Supreme Court in Gilmer v. Interstate/

Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 114 L. Ed. 2d 26, 111 S. Ct.

1647 (1991). That case concerned whether claims under

the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (“ADEA”)

must be available in a judicial forum. The Court con-

cluded otherwise, despite arguments based on the

ADEA’s important social policy goals. “As Gilmer con-

tends, the ADEA is designed not only to address individ-

ual grievances, but also to further important social

policies. We do not perceive any inherent inconsistency

between those policies, however, and enforcing agree-

ments to arbitrate age discrimination claims.” Id. at 27

(citation omitted). Class actions could be similarly effec-

tive in promoting the ADEA’s social policies, and, as

discussed below, that statute lends itself more easily to

being construed as creating a substantive right to a class

action. Gilmer therefore appears to foreclose much of

Johnson’s argument.

We also note that while arbitrating claims that might

have been pursued as part of class actions potentially

reduces the number of plaintiffs seeking to enforce the

TILA against creditors, arbitration does not eliminate

plaintiff incentives to assert rights under the Act. The

sums available in recovery to individual plaintiffs are not

Al17

automatically increased by use of the class forum. Indeed,

individual plaintiff recoveries available in a class action

may be lower than those possible in individual suits

because the recovery available under TILA’s statutory

cap on class recoveries is spread over the entire class. Nor

will arbitration necessarily choke off the supply of law-

yers willing to pursue claims on behalf of debtors. Attor-

neys’ fees are recoverable under the TILA, see 15 U.S.C.

§ 1640(a)(3), and would therefore appear to be recover-

able in arbitration, as arbitrators possess the power to

fashion the same relief as courts.2 In sum, though pursu-

ing individual claims in arbitration may well be less

attractive than pursuing a class action in the courts, we

do not agree that compelling arbitration of the claim of a

prospective class action plaintiff irreconcilably conflicts

with TILA’s goal of encouraging private actions to deter

violations of the Act. Whatever the benefits of class

actions, the FAA” requires piecemeal resolution when

necessary to give effect to an arbitration agreement.”

Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Co., 460 U.S.

1, 20, 74 L. Ed. 2d 765, 103 S. Ct. 927 (1985) (emphasis in

the original).

2 There does not appear to be a problem with securing the

full range of remedies available under the TILA in this case

because Rule 20(d) of the National Arbitration Forum, the

arbitrators selected in the parties’ contract, currently authorizes

arbitrators to “grant any remedy or relief allowed by applicable

substantive law and based on a Claim, Response, or Request

Properly submitted by a Party under this Code.” Of course if the

arbitral rules in question precluded the substantive relief made

available by the statute, or the forum otherwise presented

barriers to a plaintiff’s assertion of his or her rights, we would

have a different case.

A18

b. The availability of administrative enforcement

mechanisms

Our conclusion that there is no irreconcilable conflict

between the TILA’s social policy goals and arbitration of

claims that could have been heard as part of a class action

is bolstered by the statute’s administrative enforcement

provisions. These provisions offer meaningful deterrents

to violators of the TILA if private enforcement actions

should fail to fulfill that role. The statute gives general

enforcement power to the Federal Trade Commission as

the “overall enforcing agency,” and permits it to employ

its powers under the Federal Trade Commission Act, see

15 U.S.C. § 1607(c), such as the issuing of cease and desist

orders, see 15 U.S.C. § 45. The TILA also grants enforce-

ment authority to the variety of federal agencies that

have jurisdiction over various lending institutions,

including the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency,

the Federal Reserve Board, and the FDIC. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 1607(a). In addition to allowing these federal agencies

to order the adjustment of inaccurately disclosed finance

charges, see id. § 1607(e), the TILA cross references section

8 of the Federal Deposit Insurance Act, 12 U.S.C. § 1818,

to set forth other enforcement powers, see 15 U.S.C.

§ 1607(a). Therefore the agencies may, for example,

impose monetary penalties of up to $ 5,000 per day (or of

$ 25,000 per day if the violations are part of a pattern of

misconduct), see 12 U.S:C. § 1818(i), or in some instances

order the suspension and removal of institution directors

or officers, see 12 U.S.C. § 1818(e).

Al9

Johnson responds by invoking the portion of the

legislative history that speaks to the need to avoid “rely-

ing upon an extensive new bureaucracy.” S. Rep. No.

93-278, at 14 (1973). This reference is of limited useful-

ness, for this snippet of legislative history does not indi-

cate congressional intent that arbitration be precluded, or

that individual actions are inadequate to serve the func-

tion of deterring violations of the TILA. It may be true

that Congress saw value in maintaining the availability of

class actions, but that does not translate to the conclusion

that it intended to preclude private parties from contract-

ing around their availability. Under the framework estab-

lished by the Supreme Court, legislative history may be

used to demonstrate congressional intent to preclude

arbitration. See Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500

U.S. 20, 26, 114 L. Ed. 2d 26, 111 S. Ct. 1647 (1991). When

that history is used, as here, merely to demonstrate that

the judicial remedies provided for or contemplated by a

Statute are important, it is of noticeably reduced value.

The importance of Statutory judicial remedies are always

evident from their mere existence -— Congress obviously

enacted them for a reason. Were they not the object of a

congressional goal, they would not have been enacted. It

is therefore hard to see how the legislative history relied

upon by Johnson could possibly be dispositive.3

* Moreover, even if legislative history were dispositive,

there is similar history accompanying the original version of the

TILA that indicates the importance of administrative

enforcement in securing the rights of most consumers. The

House Report, prepared by the Committee on Banking and

Currency, explained that enforcement on the administrative

level was essential to the legislative purpose of the Act. See H.R.

‘

A20

Insofar as Congress’s intent, broadly contemplated, is

concerned, we must give equal consideration to Con-

gress’s policy goals in enacting the FAA. The statute was

intended to overcome judicial hostility to agreements to

arbitrate, see Dean Witter Reynolds Inc. v. Byrd, 470 U.S.

213, 219-21 & n.6, 84 L. Ed. 2d 158, 105 S. Ct. 1238 (1985),

and it reflects “a liberal federal policy favoring arbitra-

tion agreements,” see Moses H. Cone Mem'l Hosp. v. Mer-

cury Constr. Co., 460 U.S. 1, 24, 74 L. Ed. 2d 765, 103 S. Ct.

927 (1983). See also H.R. Rep. No. 68-96, at 1 (1924)

(“Arbitration agreements are purely matters of contract,

and the effect of this bill is simply to make the contract-

ing party live up to his agreement.”). Indeed, a Senate

Judiciary Committee Report supporting the legislation

explained that arbitration provides benefits to both con-

sumers and businesses in speed and lower costs. “The

desire to avoid the delay and expense of litigation per-

sists. The desire grows with time and as delays and

expense increase. The settlement of disputes by arbitra-

tion appeals to big business and little business alike, to

corporate interests as well as to individuals.” S. Rep. No.

68-536, at 3 (1924).

Rep. No. 90-1040 (1968), reprinted in 1968 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1962,

1975. “For the relatively unsophisticated consumer, particularly

those of modest means, administrative enforcement will

provide their only protection against unscrupulous merchants

or lenders.” Id. The report also characterizes the civil remedies

as secondary to the administrative ones. “While primary

enforcement of the bill would be accomplished under the

administrative enforcement section discussed above, further

provision is made for the institution of civil action by an

aggrieved debtor.” Id. at 1976.

A21

Similarly, the committee found that there was general

Satisfaction among participants with arbitration. See id.

A 1982 House of Representatives report reached similar

conclusions, stating that “the advantages of arbitration

are many: it is usually cheaper and faster than litigation;

it can have simpler procedural and evidentiary rules;

it normally minimizes hostility and is less disruptive

of ongoing and future business dealings among the par-

ties; [and] it is often more flexible in regard to schedul-

ing. ...” H.R. Rep. No. 97-542, at 13 (1982). These

benefits have been similarly recognized by the Supreme

Court as being part of Congress's intent in passing the

FAA. See Allied-Bruce Terminix Co. v. Dobson, 513 U.S. 265,

280, 130 L. Ed. 2d 753, 115 S. Ct. 834 (1995) (citing the

1924 Senate Report and the 1982 House Report). We

therefore cannot consider the legislative history relied

upon by Johnson without giving equal heed to the clear

congressional policy behind the FAA.

In short, Johnson’s reliance on the legislative history

summarized in Part II.B is fundamentally flawed. He uses

it not to show that Congress intended that parties could

avoid a valid arbitration clauses [sic] if they wished to

litigate a TILA claim, but rather, and in a more attenuated

manner, to show that class actions have important pur-

poses under the statute. But nothing in the cited passages

demonstrates that parties cannot choose to waive judicial

remedies in favor of arbitration. In any case, the loss of

the availability of a class action does not mean the loss of

meaningful deterrence to TILA violations, insofar as the

public remedies discussed above remain. It may be true

A22

that the unavailability of class actions removes an incen-

tive for lenders to comply with the statute, but it is far

from the only incentive to do so.

We similarly do not view the fact that Congress

seems to have self-consciously encouraged class actions

as particularly telling. In acting to ease the certification of

classes, see supra Part II.B, Congress did nothing to pre-

serve the right to a class action over arbitration or pre-

clude opting for arbitration. Rather, it only altered the

factors that judges consider in determining whether to

allow the procedural right of a class action to be exer-

cised. Notably, Congress did not add language compel-

ling judges to recognize prospective classes under any

circumstances. One can therefore look at the 1974 and

1976 amendments as efforts by Congress to place class

actions on the same footing as any other lawsuit, no more

or less subject to arbitration than a cause of action arising

under any other statute.

‘

2. Substantive Rights

Johnson also argues that the TILA does effectively

create an unwaivable right to bring a class action. The

strongest statement of this argument is as follows. Con-

gress enacted a scheme in which the court hearing a class

action could set a damage figure up to a certain amount

for certain patterns of conduct. This judicial flexibility in

imposing damages up to $ 500,000 only exists if a class

action is allowed, as individual plaintiff claims are gener-

ally capped at $ 1,000. Therefore, a right of classes to a

judicially crafted punitive remedy is lost if this court

orders arbitration of Johnson’s claims. Similarly, if class

Pa

A23

actions are precluded, arbitrators acting in lieu of courts

would not have a basis for considering, in connection

with a class remedy, the frequency and persistence of

compliance failures by the creditors, the number of per-

sons adversely affected, or the creditors’ intent. See 15

U.S.C. § 1640(a).4

This argument is unavailing in light of Gilmer pv.

Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 114 L. Ed. 2d 26,

111 S. Ct. 1647 (1991). The ADEA, at issue in Gilmer,

presented far more powerful textual support than the

TILA for concluding that there is a right to proceed

collectively despite the existence of an arbitration clause.

The ADEA actually Provides for collective litigation. See

29 U.S.C. § 626(b) (referencing the remedies in 29 U.S.C.

§ 216). “An action... may be maintained against any

employer (including a public agency) in any Federal or

State court of competent jurisdiction by any one or more

employees for and in behalf of himself or themselves and

other employees similarly situated.” 29 U.S.C. § 216(b)

(emphasis added). In short, the Statute creates a right to

sue collectively, which is not similarly created by the

TILA. Yet the Supreme Court stil] ruled that the ADEA

* This court has never addressed the question whether class

actions can be pursued in arbitral forums, though it appears

indicated that the rules of the National Arbitration Forum,

which govern the arbitration agreement here, preclude the

joinder of actions unless all Parties affirmatively consent. We

therefore assume, for Purposes of this appeal, that Johnson’s

effort to pursue his claims as a representative of a class would

be precluded by enforcement of the arbitration clause.

A24

did not preclude arbitration notwithstanding the

unavailability of the class action remedy there (and also

notwithstanding all of the public interests vindicated by

the statute as discussed above in Part II.C.1). See Gilmer,

500 U.S. at 32.

Johnson argues that Gilmer is taken out of context

vis-a-vis the provision for class actions because the

Supreme Court noted that the EEOC, in enforcing the

ADEA, could still seek class-wide relief, while the FTC is

not similarly capable. We do not believe that this argu-

ment carries any force. As discussed above, powerful

punitive enforcement mechanisms remain available to

administrative bodies under the Act even if these tools

are not in the form of class actions.

Furthermore, simply because judicial remedies are a

part of a law does not mean that Congress meant to

preclude parties from bargaining around their availabil-

ity. This is manifest in the Supreme Court’s treatment of

the availability of class actions in Gilmer. “But ‘even if the

arbitration could not go forward as a class action or class

relief could not be granted by the arbitrator, the fact that

the [ADEA] provides for the possibility of bringing a

collective action does not mean that individual attempts

at conciliation were intended to be barred.’ ” Gilmer, 500

U.S. 20 at 32 (quoting Nicholson v. CPC Int'l Inc., 877 F.2d

221, 241 (3d Cir. 1989) (Becker, J., dissenting)) (alteration

in the original). The same holds true for the TILA. Even if

we were to conclude that the statute implies a right to

proceed as a member of a class, Gilmer indicates that

rights of this nature are waivable so long as the rights the

statute was designed to protect may be vindicated by

other means. We do not think this unfair. Only those who

A25

consent to credit agreements with binding arbitration

clauses are forced to abandon this procedural avenue;

those who do not consent to arbitration in their contracts

have the full selection of forums.5

° Of course even when arbitration clauses are included in

agreements, they may be set aside if they are fraudulently

induced or are in some way unconscionable. As noted above,

Johnson did allege that his arbitration clause was

unconscionable, but the District Court found no basis for the

conclusion that the clause was in any way oppressive, in large

part because the clause did not create an arbitration procedure

that favors one party over another. See Johnson v. Tele-Cash, Inc.,

82 F. Supp. 2d 264, 279 (D. Del. 1999). Though Johnson

complains on appeal that the arbitration clause was a contract of

adhesion, he does not make any argument to contradict the

District Court’s conclusion that the arbitration clause is not

unconscionable.

Johnson also claims that waiver of judicial remedies

through a contract of adhesion violates the Equal Credit

Opportunity Act (“ECOA”), which prohibits discrimination

against any credit applicant who exercised a right created unde

the chapter of the U.S. Code that includes the TILA. See 15

U.S.C. § 1691. But Johnson does not properly allege that there

has been any discrimination, or that he exercised any right

under any act. Johnson’s Purported authority for the

Proposition that the ECOA is applicable is Owens v. Magee Fin.

Serv., 476 F. Supp. 758 (E.D. La. 1979), and Bryson v. Bank of New

York, 584 F. Supp. 1306 (S.D.N.Y. 1984). Both cases, however,

presented strikingly different facts from those at issue here, as

they involved oppressive conduct against individuals who

actively sought to assert rights under the TILA. In Owens, a

creditor defendant, already being sued for a TILA violation by

the debtor, made additional credit contingent on the debtor’s

signing a settlement document of her active lawsuit. See Owens,

476 F. Supp. at 768. Bryson involved a denial of a loan

application simply because an applicant inquired about the

ability to obtain a loan without taking credit insurance. This was

A26

In sum, Johnson’s arguments that the TILA precludes

arbitration are unpersuasive. “If Congress intended the

substantive protection afforded by a given statute to

include protection against waiver of the right to a judicial

forum, that intention will be deducible from text or legis-

lative history.” Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler Chrysler-

Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 628, 87 L. Ed. 2d 444, 105

S. Ct. 3346 (1985). No such intent is deducible here.

Il.

The District Court further held that compelling arbi-

tration of claims arising under the EFTA irreconcilably

conflicts with that statute as well. This ruling was based

on the fact that the EFTA contains limitations on class

action recovery that mirror those contained in the TILA.

Compare 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a), with 15 U.S.C. § 1693m(a).

The District Court inferred that Congress’s use of identi-

cal language bespoke identical goals, and that Congress

was seeking to encourage the certification of class actions

under the EFTA as it had under the TILA. Because the

Court had concluded that this goal created an inherent

conflict with arbitration in the TILA context, it followed

that the same conflict was manifest when EFTA claims

a violation because TILA provides consumers with the right to

refuse to purchase such insurance unless the premium is

included in the statement of the finance charge of the loan. See

Bryson, 584 F. Supp. at 1318.

These differences aside, Johnson plainly cannot claim that

Defendants’ conduct violated the ECOA or its implementing

regulation because, as we discuss in the text, we hold today that

the arbitration clause contained in the loan agreement did not

serve to deprive Johnson of any rights held under the TILA.

A27

were arbitrated. See Johnson v. Tele-Cash, Inc., 82

F. Supp. 2d 264, 272 (D. Del. 1999). While we agree that

resolution of the arbitration issue with respect to TILA

claims would also apply to the EFTA, cur disagreement

with the District Court about whether the TILA precludes

compelling arbitration commands a similarly contrary

conclusion about the EFTA issue. The EFTA’s class action

language was drafted in 1978, after the identical language

was placed in the TILA by the 1974 and 1976 amend-

ments. See Electronic Fund Transfer Act, Pub. L. No.

95-630, § 915, 92 Stat. 3737 (1978) (codified at 15 U.S.C.

§ 1693m(a)). We do not believe that Congress would have

different intended meanings for identical Statutory lan-

guage contained in similar statutes. Because there is no

irreconcilable conflict between arbitration and the goals

of the TILA, we similarly hold that claims arising under

the EFTA may also be subject to arbitration notwithstand-

ing the desire of a plaintiff who Previously consented to

arbitration to bring his or her claims as Part of a class.

The order of the District Court denying the motion to

Stay proceedings and compel arbitration will be reversed

and the case remanded for further Proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

Bl

APPENDIX B

TERRY JOHNSON, Plaintiff, v. TELE-CASH, INC.,

and COUNTY BANK OF REHOBOTH BEACH,

DELAWARE, Defendants.

Civil Action No. 99-104-GMS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

DISTRICT OF DELAWARE

82 F. Supp. 2d 264; 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 20632

December 29, 1999, Decided

December 29, 1999, Filed

DISPOSITION:

Motion to Stay Proceedings and Compel Arbitration

(D.I. 7) filed by Defendants Tele-Cash, Inc. and County

Bank of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware DENIED; Motion to

Dismiss (D.I. 7) filed by Defendants Tele-Cash, Inc. and

County Bank of Rehoboth Beach, Delaware GRANTED IN

PART and DENIED IN PART; Claim seeking a declaratory

judgment that the arbitration clause contained within the

loan agreement signed by Plaintiff Terry Johnson uncon-

scionable DISMISSED.

COUNSEL:

William L. O’Day, Jr., Esquire, Law Offices of William

L. O’Day, Jr., Wilmington, Delaware, for Plaintiff.

Daniel A. Edelman, Esquire, Kathleen M. Combs,

Esquire, James O. Latturner, Esquire, Sheila A.

O’Laughlin, Esquire, and Heather C. Sullivan, Esquire, Of

counsel, EDELMAN & COMBS, Chicago, Illinois, for

Plaintiff.

nN

B2

James D. Griffin, Esquire and David R. Hackett,

Esquire, GRIFFIN & HACKETT, P.A., Georgetown, Dela-

ware, for Defendants.

Walter Weir, Esquire,

NERS, LLP, Philadelphia,

JUDGEs:

Of counsel, WEIR & PART-

Pennsylvania, for Defendants.

Gregory M. Sleet, UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE.

OPINION By:

Gregory M. Sleet

OPINION:

December 29, 1999.

Wilmington, Delaware.

Gregory M. Sleet

District Judge.

I. INTRODUCTION.

On February 25, 1999, Terry Johnson filed a class

action lawsuit with this court. In it, he alleges that Tele-

Cash, Inc. and the County Bank of Rehoboth Beach, Dela-

ware (the “defendants”)! have violated both the Truth In

Lending Act (“TILA”), 15 U.S.C. § 1601 et seq. (1994), and

the Electronic Funds Transfer Act (“EFTA”), 15 U.S.C.

§ 1693 et seq (1994), by failing to Properly disclose the

excessively high rates of interest which they charge for

? On May 20, 1999, the Parties agreed to voluntarily dismiss

the claims against a third defendant - West Suburban Bank.

B3

their short-term loans and by requiring borrowers to

consent to a complicated electronic fund transfer scheme

in order to obtain these loans.?

On May 5, 1999, the defendants moved to stay these

proceedings pending the outcome of arbitration.? In their

motion, the defendants point out that Johnson’s loan

application contains an arbitration clause which prohibits

him from filing suit and, instead, requires him to vindi-

cate any claim that he may have against the defendants

through binding arbitration. In opposition to the motion,

Johnson claims that the arbitration clause is unenforce-

able as unconscionable since it would effectively evisce-

rate the purpose of the TILA by eliminating the

possibility of class relief.

The court agrees. The intended purpose of the TILA

was “to encourage class actions in the truth-in-lending

2 On this point, Johnson alleges that, in order to obtain a

loan, applicants must first open a checking account into which

their wages are directly deposited. However, according to

Johnson, the defendants immediately transfer these deposits

out of these checking accounts into another account without

providing the required notice to the borrowers. Johnson claims

that, in order to obtain a loan, he had to irrevocably agree to this

system of electronic transfers. Otherwise, the defendants would

not extend him a line of credit. Put differently, he claims that

terms were part of the loan agreement which the defendants

drafted unilaterally.

3 In the alternative, the defendants moved to dismiss

Johnson’s complaint on the grounds that the terms of the loan

were adequately disclosed and, thus, no violation of the TILA

occurred. In addition, the defendants contend that, given the

factual allegations of the complaint, all of Johnson’s remaining

claims fail as a matter of law.

B4

context because of the apparent inadequacy of the Fed-

eral Trade Commission’s enforcement resources and

because of a continuing problem of minimum compliance

with the Act on the part of creditors.” See Watkins v.

Simmons & Clark, Inc., 618 F.2d 398, 400 (9th Cir. 1980)

(citing Sen. Rept. No. 93-278, at 14-15 (1973)). As a result,

a ruling which compels arbitration seems contrary to the

underlying purpose of the TILA. The court reaches the

same conclusion with respect to Johnson’s EFTA claims.

For these reasons, the court will deny the defendants’

motion to compel arbitration. It will also deny the defen-

dants’ motion to dismiss as it relates to Johnson’s claims

under the TILA, the EFTA, and for a declaratory judg-

ment that the rate of interest charged by the defendants

was unconscionable. The following sections explain the

court’s reasoning more thoroughly.

II. BACKGROUND

On July 10, 1998, Johnson applied for and received a

short-term loan in the amount of $250 from the County

Bank of Rehoboth Beach. The one-page loan agreement

set forth an annual percentage rate of 917 percent and a

finance charge of $88. As a result, Johnson was required

to repay his $250 loan by making one payment of $338 on

July 24, 1998 - two weeks after he submitted his loan

application and received the $250.

These terms were disclosed in a table located at the

top of the loan agreement which looks something like

this:

SC i i a arn ater

B5

sanjsued pes spunsai yuousAedaid pus ‘2)8p

Prnpayrs 243 21079q |jNy w} UauLLed pasmnbaa Lue 4}ngjap QuawXeduou ynogy uoysuLs0;u1 BONPPE 4103 m0(2q 225

aBa8y2 s.usUYy ay} JO pIE JO PuNjas B 0) PapNud aq JOU

qs nok ‘aousape at avo] snot fed nok jy juawAedasg

asBp aap 24}

jo Lep of orques pied jou 3) wBo'T snoK }1 quaw fed 338]

dq) JO &.6 JO 2Bs8yD 338) w Led ysnut NOX SadsEYD 2187

paansasun 8) uvo'] 24], 3s9ua}Uy AjLin2ag

“SeruL-

ud “SCE $0 uawAd auo axe ysNW NO,

eupeysy pusuteg

Scr panpayos sv syuauAed js spew aany

nok 4248 pred savy fim nod yunows Jy],

$ SINSWAYd JO TVLOL

: * geqeq anok

00°0S7 wo nok 6} pap!aosd prpas2 jo yunowe 34],

$ (TADNVNLAINNOWV

BB nok ys02 jue pau9 a4 JUNOw SHOP ML

$ FTOUVHD DIONVNI

IL°LI6 3782 dyeak 8 SB 31P922 INOA JO 9509 WY],

% WLVY ADV LNAI Ud ‘1VONNY

B6

While this table is not an exact representation of the

information since the margins of the original are slightly

different, it is in all other respects a fairly accurate por-

trayal of the information available to Johnson at the time

that he entered into the loan agreement.

In addition, at the bottom, right above the signature

line, the loan agreement provided a “boiler plate” arbitra-

tion clause which, in relevant part, reads:

ARBITRATION: You and we agree that any

claim, dispute, or controversy between

us .. . and any claim arising from or relating to

this Note, no matter by whom or against

whom ... , including the validity of this Note

and of this agreement to arbitrate disputes as

well as claims alleging fraud or misrepresenta-

tion shall be resolved by binding arbitration. . . .

This arbitration agreement is made pursuant to

a transaction invelving interstate commerce and

shall be governed by the Federal Arbitration

Act, 9 U.S.C. [§§ ] 1-16. Judgment upon the

award may be entered by any party in any court

having jurisdiction.

(emphasis added).

Below this paragraph, the loan agreement provides

two others which state:

NOTICE: YOU AND WE WOULD HAVE HAD a

RIGHT OR OPPORTUNITY TO LITIGATE UIS-

PUTES THROUGH a COURT BUT HAVE

AGREED INSTEAD TO RESOLVE DISPUTES

THROUGH BINDING ARBITRATION.

By signing and sealing below, you agree to all of

the terms of this Note, including the agreement

to arbitrate disputes.

B7

With these facts in mind, this memorandum turns to a

discussion of the relevant law.

III. DISCUSSION.

Given the clear and explicit language of the loan

agreement, compelling arbitration seems to be a logical

ruling, especially in light of the “congressional declara-

tion of a liberal federal policy favoring arbitration agree-

ments.” See Moses H. Cone Mem‘! Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.

Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24, 74 L. Ed. 2d 765, 103 S. Ct. 927 (1983).

However, this ruling would contravene the express con-

gressional intent to “encourage the use of class actions as

an important tool for enforcing Truth in Lending.” See

Bantolina v. Aloha Motors, Inc., 419 F. Supp. 1116, 1120 (D.

Haw. 1976). For this reason the court will deny the defen-

dants’ motion.

A. The Origin And Evolution Of The FAA.

Originally enacted in 1925, the FAA was adopted in

an attempt to place arbitration agreements on the same

level as other contracts and, thus, reverse the “longstand-

ing judicial hostility” to these agreements that American

courts had inherited from their English ancestors. See

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 24, 114

L. Ed. 2d 26, 111 S. Ct. 1647 (1991); see also Harris v. Green

Tree Fin. Corp., 183 F.3d 173, 178 (3d Cir. 1999) (citing

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220,

225-26, 96 L. Ed. 2d 185, 107 S. Ct. 2332 (1987)). In light of

the purpose of the FAA, it should come as no surprise to

B8

learn that federal law presumptively favors the enforce-

ment of arbitration agreements. See In re Prudential Inc.

Co. of Am. Sales Practice Litig., 133 F.3d 225, 231 (3d Cir.

1998) (cited in Harris). For this reason, the FAA autho-

rizes a district court to compel the arbitration of any issue

covered by a valid and enforceable arbitration agreement

when a party to that agreement commences a legal action

without first attempting to arbitrate the dispute. See 9

U.S.C. §§ 3 - 4 (1994); see also Southland Corp. v. Keating,

465 U.S. 1, 11-12, 79 L. Ed. 2d 1, 104 S. Ct. 852 (1984) (also

cited in Harris).

Here, Johnson does not (and probably cannot) argue

that his dispute falls outside the scope of the arbitration

agreement. In fact, given the breadth of the contractual

Provision,‘ it is impossible to see how Johnson could

claim otherwise. As a result, he effectively concedes the

point. Thus, the court is left with only one question -

namely, is the arbitration clause enforceable?

B. The Enforceability Of The Arbitration Clause With

Respect To Johnson’s TILA Claims.

On this point, Johnson contends that the arbitration

clause is not enforceable because (1) Congress expressly

intended to preclude the arbitration of claims arising

* As mentioned earlier, the arbitration clause states, in

relevant part, that “any claim, dispute, or controversy between

[Johnson and the defendants] . . . and any claim arising from or

relating to this Note, no matter by whom or against whom... ,

including the validity of this Note and of this agreement to

arbitrate disputes as well as claims alleging fraud or

misrepresentation shall be resolved by binding arbitration... . ”

SPE NT

ee oe a.

B9

under the TILA by explicitly allowing for the possibility

of class relief under the statute and (2) the arbitration

agreement itself is unconscionable. Because the court

agrees with Johnson’s first argument, it need not address

the second.

Citing to 15 U.S.C. § 1640 (1994), Johnson argues that

Congress expressed a clear intent to guarantee class relief

under the TILA by allowing individuals to bring a class

action under the statute. Since an arbitrator cannot award

this type of class-wide relief, Johnson contends that this

court cannot compel the arbitration of this matter.

The most convincing rejection of this argument was

expressed in Lopez v. Plaza Fin. Co., 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

5566, No. 95-C-7567, 1996 WL 210073, at *2-3 (N.D. Ill.

Apr. 26, 1996). There, the district court stated that:

It is true that compelling arbitration . . . will

eliminate [the] plaintiff's ability to arbitrate his

claims on behalf of a class. Nonetheless, this

result is required because Congress has not cre-

ated a statutory right to bring class actions

under [the] TILA. . . . Section 1640, cited by [the]

plaintiff in support of the proposition that a

statutory right exists, does not establish a right

per se; it only sets forth a limit on liability under

class actions. . . . Where an enforceable arbitra-

tion clause allows only for individual arbitra-

tion, a class will not be certified. Therefore, [the]

plaintiff's inability to bring class claims under

[the] TILA is of no legal consequence.

Id. at *3 (citing Champ v. Siegel Trading Co., 55 F.3d

269, 276-77 (7th Cir. 1995); see also Sagal v. First USA Bank,

N.A., 69 F. Supp. 2d 627, 1999 WL 803851, at *4 (D. Del.

Aug. 30, 1999) (citing Lopez).

B10

In addition to concluding that the plaintiff had no

statutory right to maintain a class action under the TILA,

the Lopez court also found that Congress never intended

to preclude the arbitration of TILA claims because the

“plaintiff had provided no compelling legal authority to

support this proposition. ...” Id. As the Lopez court

stated, “without such authority, [the] plaintiff’s argument

must fail.” Id. While it is not clear what authority (if any)

the Lopez plaintiff cited, the legislative history of Section

1640 suggests that Congress was trying to encourage the

use of class actions as a means for enforcing the TILA. As

a result, the court believes that a strong argument can be

made that TILA claims should not be arbitrated since this

forum cannot provide the class-wide relief available in

the courts.

In 1974, Congress amended Section 1640 to provide a

cap on liability for class actions brought under the TILA.

See Watkins v. Simmons & Clark, 618 F.2d 398, 400 (9th Cir.

1980); Bantolina v. Aloha Motors, Inc., 419 F. Supp. 1116,

1119-20 & n. 10 (D. Haw. 1976). Prior to the amendment,

upon a showing of injury, each individual plaintiff was

entitled to a minimum award of $100 under the statute.

See 15 U.S.C. § 1640 (1970). However, in class action

lawsuits which involved millions or tens of millions of

consumers, granting this minimum amount of recovery to

each individual plaintiff would result in an astronomical

damage figure. For this very reason, numerous federal

courts refused to certify class actions under the TILA

since the “allowance of thousands of minimum recov-

eries . . . would carry to an absurd and stultifying

extreme the specific and essentially inconsistent remedy

B11

Congress prescribed as the means of private enforce-

ment.” See Ratner v. Chemical Bank of New York Trust Co.,

54 FR.D. 412, 414 (S.D.N.Y. 1972). In response to these

decisions, Congress amended the statute to provide a

limit on the maximum recovery available under the TILA.

This amendment was intended to encourage the federal

courts to begin certifying class actions in Truth in Lend-

ing lawsuits. See Watkins, 618 F.2d at 400 n.6 (citing Sen.

Rept. No. 93-278, at 14-15 (1973)); see also Bantolina, 419

F. Supp. 1116, 1119-20 & n. 11 (citing same).

In capping the maximum amount of recovery in class

action lawsuits under the TILA at “the lesser of $500,000

or 1 per centum of the net worth of the creditor,” 15

U.S.C. § 1640 (1994). Congress expressly stated that it

“wished to avoid any implication that the ceiling on class

action recovery was meant to discourage use of the class

action device.” See Watkins, 618 F.2d at 401 & n.7 (citing

Sen. Rept. No. 94-590, reprinted in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. &

Admin. News, at 431, 438). Instead, this amount was

“meant to limit the exposure of creditors to vast judg-

ments whose size would depend on the number of mem-

bers who happened to fall within the class” while, at the

same time, “providing . . . a workable Structure for pri-

vate enforcement.” See id. (citing same). As the Congress

noted, “small businesses were protected by the 1 [per-

cent] measure, while a potential half-million dollar recov-

ery ought to act as a significant deterrent to even the

largest creditor.” See id. (citing same).

In adopting these amendments, Congress explained

that “the purpose of the civil penalties under [the] Truth

in Lending [Act] was to provide creditors with a mean-

ingful incentive to comply with the law without relying

i NON ge eS

B12

on an extensive new bureaucracy.” Sen. Rept. No. 93-278,

at 14. However, because “this objective could be achieved

without subjecting creditors to enormous penalties for

violations which did not involve actual damages and may

be technical in nature,” the Congress decided to “put[] a

reasonable limit on a creditor’s maximum class action

liability” since it “seemed to be in the best interests of

both creditors and consumers.” Id. In so doing, Congress

concurred with an earlier conclusion by the Federal

Reserve Board that “potential class action liability was an

important encouragement to the voluntary compliance

which was so necessary to ensure nation-wide adherence

to uniform disclosure” since “most Truth in Lending vio-

lations do not involve actual damages and . . . some

meaningful penalty provisions are therefore needed to

ensure compliance.” Id. at 15 (citations omitted).

In light of this language, one district court has con-

cluded that:

The possibility of class-action exposure is essen-

tial to the prophylactic intent of the Act and is

necessary to elevate truth-in-lending lawsuits

“from the ineffective ‘nuisance’ category to the

type of suit which has enough sting to insure

that management will strive with diligence to

achieve compliance.”

See Bantolina, 419 F. Supp. at 1120 (quoting sen. Rep.

No. 93-278, at 36-37) (emphasis added).

In Watkins, the Ninth Circuit reached the same con-

clusion, stating that the “legislative history surrounding

these amendments [to the TILA] convinces us that Con-

gress did intend, by them, to encourage class actions and

B13

to use the threat of class action recoveries to force compli-

ance with the Act.” 618 F.2d at 402.

Here, if the court compelled arbitration, Johnson

would be prevented from seeking and, therefore, obtain-

ing this type of relief. As a result, the federal statute

would be effectively stripped of its “sting” and reduced

to nothing more than its mere “nuisance” value. Cf. Ban-

tolina, 419 F. Supp. at 1120. Consequently, there would be

no way to “provide creditors with a meaningful incentive

to comply with the law” since they would no longer be

facing the “meaningful penalty provisions [which were]

needed to ensure compliance.” See Sen. Rept. No. 93-278,

at 14, 15. In other words, without a guarantee that John-

son may “effectively . . . vindicate his statutory cause of

action in the arbitral forum,” it is questionable that the

“statute will continue to serve both its remedial and

deterrent function.” Cf. Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler

Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 637, 87 L. Ed. 2d 444,

105 S. Ct. 3346 (1985). In light of this “inherent conflict”

between compelling arbitration and the underlying pur-

poses of the TILA, the court will deny the defendants’

motion. See id.

In Mitsubishi, the Supreme Court did state that “We

must assume that if Congress intended the substantive

protection afforded by a given statute to include protec-

tion against waiver of the right to a judicial forum, that

intention will be deducible from text or legislative his-

tory.” 473 U.S. at 628. As the Supreme Court has later

clarified, this intent is also “deducible from . . . an inher-

ent conflict between arbitration and the statute’s underly-

ing purposes.” See McMahon, 482 U.S. at 227 (citing

Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 632-37).

B14

1. The Mitsubishi decision.

The central issue in Mitsubishi revolved around

whether the plaintiff would be able to recover treble

damages for the defendant's anti-competitive behavior

under the Sherman Act. Id. at 635-36. According to the

plaintiff, if the dispute proceeded to arbitration, there

was a risk that the arbitrator might apply Swiss law and,

as a result, deny the plaintiff the Opportunity to recover

treble damages for activities which clearly occurred in the

United States. Id.

In compelling arbitration, the Supreme Court noted

that both of the parties agreed that U.S. law applied to

the dispute. Id. at 636-37 & n.19. As a result, the Court

was not concerned that the arbitration clause might be

interpreted as a waiver of the plaintiff’s statutory right to

recover treble damages. Id. In fact, as the Supreme Court

made clear when it compelled arbitration, if the “choice-

of-forum and choice-of-law clauses operated in tandem as

a prospective waiver of [the plaintiff's] right to pursue

Statutory remedies for anti-trust violations, we would

have little hesitation in condemning the agreement as

against public policy.” Id. at 637 n.19. Thus, because the

plaintiff could “effectively . . . vindicate its statutory

cause of action in the arbitral forum,” the Court was

willing to compel arbitration since there was no question

that the Sherman Act “would continue to serve both its

remedial and deterrent function.” Id. at 637.

B15

2. The Mitsubishi decision as it

applies to Johnson’s case.

Admittedly, the TILA does not confer a statutory

_ right to “the lesser of $500,000 or 1 per centum of the net

worth of the creditor.” 15 U.S.C. § 1640. Instead, the Act

only states that, “in the case of a class action,” the plain-

tiff may recover this amount. Id. In this respect, the Lopez

court was entirely correct. “Congress has not created a

statutory right to bring class actions under [the] TILA.”

1996 WL 210073 at *3. However, Congress did adopt this

cap in an attempt to “encourage class actions and to use

the threat of class action recoveries to force compliance

with the Act.” See Watkins, 618 F.2d at 402 (emphasis

added); see also Bantolina, 419 F. Supp. at 1120 (recogniz-

ing the class action device as “an important tool [for]

enforcing Truth in Lending”). Thus, without the possi-

bility of class action liability looming on a creditor’s

horizon, there is a very real possibility that these entities

will not voluntarily comply with the Truth-in-Lending

regulations.

For example, under Section 1640, Johnson as an indi-

vidual can only recover a maximum of $1,000 from the

defendants. 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a)(1)(2)(a). However, as a

representative of a class, he could obtain as much as 500

times that amount. See id. at § 1640(a)(1)(2)(B) (capping

the maximum allowable recovery at $500,000). Obviously,

the latter penalty ensures greater compliance with the

TILA. However, by enforcing the boiler plate arbitration

clause which is contained in this (and every other) one-

page loan agreement unilaterally drafted by the defen-

dants, the court would be allowing them to effectively

insulate themselves against the very statutory penaities

B16

which Congress deemed necessary to “provide creditors

with a meaningful incentive to comply with the law.” See

Sen. Rept. No. 93-278, at 14. For this reason, this court

doubts whether the TILA could “continue to serve both its

remedial and deterrent function[s]” if the arbitration

clause was enforced. See Mitsubishi, 473 U.S. at 637

(emphasis added). Thus, after considering the facts of this

case in light of the teachings of the Mitsubishi decision,

this court finds that there is “inherent conflict” between

compelling arbitration and the underlying purposes of

the TILA. The court will, therefore, deny the defendants’

motion to compel the arbitration of Johnson’s TILA

claims.

Delaware law allows a court to rescind a contract on

the grounds of unconscionability. See Del. Code Ann. tit.

6, § 2-302 (1998). However, the Delaware Supreme Court

has held that “mere disparity between the bargaining

power of parties to a contract will not support a finding

of unconscionability.” See Graham v. State Farm Mut. Auto.

Ins. Co., 565 A.2d 908, 912 (Del. 1989). Instead, in order

for a court to find unconscionability, “the party with the

superior bargaining power [must have] used it to take

advantage of his weaker counterpart” by drafting terms

that are “so one-sided as to be oppressive.” Id. (citing

Tulowitzki v. Atlantic Richfield Co., 396 A.2d 956, 960 (Del.

1978)).

> Because the court has resolved the defendants’ motion on

these grounds, it need not reach Johnson’s argument that the

arbitration clause is itself unconscionable. However, because

Johnson has also asked for a declaration that the clause in

unconscionable, the court feels obligated to briefly address this

argument.

B17

In Graham, the Delaware Supreme Court compelled

arbitration in the face of a clause which was virtually

identical to the one contained in Johnson’s loan agree-

ment. The clause at issue in Grahum obligated the parties

to enter into binding arbitration and, like the one here,

was Offered on a “take-it or leave-it” basis. 565 A.2d at

912-13. However, because the clause did not create &

procedure which favored one party over another, the

Graham court found it to be fair. Id. at 913. Thus, while

inarguably a contract of adhesion, there can be little

doubt that, under Delaware law, the arbitration clause

which was contained within Johnson’s loan agreement

was not so unfair as to be unconscionable.

C. The Enforceability Of The Arbitration Clause With

Respect To Johnson’s Claims Under The EFTA.

Unfortunately, the parties only address Johnson’s

EFTA claims in passing. As a result, the court is left with

little guidance on whether it should compel the arbitra-

tion of these claims.

In their opening brief, the defendants issue a blanket

statement that “nothing contained in the TILA or EFTA

expresses a congressional intent to preclude arbitration as

a forum for litigating consumer claims brought under

those statutes.”

However, after reviewing the text of the EFTA, the

court notes that the statute contains a provision entitled

“civil liability” which sets forth a cap on class action

damages that is virtually identical to the one provided

under the TILA. Compare 15 U.S.C. § 1693m (1994) (“In

the case of a class action, . . . the total recovery under this

B18

subparagraph in any class action or series of class actions

arising out of the same failure to comply to the same

person shall not be more than the lesser of $500,000 or 1

per centum of the net worth of the defendant.”) with 15

U.S.C. § 1640(a) (1994) “In the case of a class

action, . . . the total recovery under this subparagraph in

any class action or series of class actions rising out of the

same failure to comply by the same creditor shall not be

more than the lesser of $500,000 or 1 per centum of the

net worth of the creditor.”). Thus, even though there is no

legislative history which explains why Congress adopted

the same ceiling on class action liability under the EFTA,

the court presumes that Congress was trying to encour-

age courts to certify class action under this statute as

well. Given this “inherent conflict” between compelling

arbitration and the underlying purpose of the EFTA, the

court will deny the defendants’ motion to compel arbitra-

tion as it relates to Johnson’s EFTA claims. Cf. Mitsubishi,

473 U.S. at 637.

D. The Enforceability Of The Arbitration Clause With

Respect To Johnson’s Claims For A Declaratory Judg-

ment.

In their submissions, the parties failed to address

whether Johnson’s requests for a declaratory judgment

Should be heard by an arbitrator instead of this court.

However, requiring the parties to arbitrate a minor por-

tion of their dispute while they are simultaneously litigat-

ing the major issues before a court of law would be

highly inefficient. For this reason, the court will not com-

pel the arbitration of Johnson’s claims seeking a declara-

tory judgment.

RO ae rer eo ne eT ae

B19

E. The Court Will Deny The Defendants’ Motion To

Dismiss In Part.

In their motion to dismiss, the defendants essentially

advance two arguments. First, they contend that John-

son’s TILA claims fail as a matter of law since (1) any

arguable violation they committed is, at best, a mere

technicality and (2) in any event, Johnson has failed to

allege that he has suffered any actual injuries as a result

of this alleged violation. Second, the defendants argue

that Johnson’s claims under the EFTA are like wise inade-

quately plead and, consequently, also fail as a matter of

law.

The court disagrees. Because the law prohibits even

“technical” violations of the TILA and because Johnson’s

allegations are sufficiently pled to state a cause of action

under both the TILA and EFTA, the court will deny the

defendants, motion to dismiss as it relates to these claims.

Nevertheless, the court will grant the motion to dismiss

with respect to Johnson’s request for a declaratory judg-

ment that the arbitration clause is unconscionable since

the terms of this agreement were not so one-sided as to

be oppressive.

1. Johnson’s TILA claims.

Under 15 U.S.C. § 1632,

The terms “annual percentage rate” and

“finance charge” shall be disclosed more conspic-

uously than other terms, data, or information

provided in connection with a transaction,

except information relating to the identify of the

creditor.

B20

15 U.S.C. § 1632(a) (1994) (emphasis added); see also

12 C.F.R. 226.17(a)(2) (1998) (Regulation Z).

Here, the one-page loan agreement signed by John-

son contained the followed table which set forth, inter

alia, the annual percentage rate of the loan and the

finance charge.

B21

serjeued pus spunzas yuomAedaud puy ‘ep

Petposs 24) 240}94 [ny Ut wwouLded poumbau Luv ‘yneyop “usmAedwou jnoqs voreuo;u YORIPPE 205 Mop 295

aBrTqP auTUY 34) Jo ja¥d jo Punjal 8 0) pjj1NWUs aq JOU

IAs NGA “OUBApE wy UNO] Ano Ked nod 3) JuawAedasg

| JEP np 343

Jo Awp OT wna pred jou 1 us07y amok js jusuAed 28]

2 30 %F JO Wswyo ey v Aed ysnw nox saZiey> 298]

Pasnzasun sf UBOT ayy ys223}UT AQLINDZG

B24) a

uo "BEE $ J0 awed auo sv ysnw nox

JIN PIYyrG yudutey

See Pe|Mpoyss SB spesmAud |e spew aAcq

nod Jaye pred aavg tm NOs punoure ayy

$ . SINAWAVd AO IVLOL

‘ a sTeypq nok

00°0SZ wo neX 03 papysoud yipau3 Jo junows ayy

§ GZONVYNLA LNNONV

88 nok s500 ma spedo om nmowe sepep ou

$ 3DUVHD SONNE

IL°L16 apes Aswad & 58 ypesd anod Jo ys09 oq],

% DLVY JOVINAIUAY TVANNY

B22

Thus, while it seems Safe to say that the table “con-

spicuously disclosed” both the annual percentage rate

and finance, it also seems fair to say that this information

was not disclosed “more conspicuously” than the sur-

rounding information, see 15 U.S.C. § 1632(a), since the

“annual percentage rate” and the “finance charge”

appear in the same-sized font with the same emphasis as

the loans terms concerning the “amount financed” and

the “total of payments.”

As another district court Stated in a strikingly similar

context,

While the terms “annual percentage rate” and

“finance charge” are the most conspicuous

terms on the page, [the terms] “amount

financed” and “total of payments” are also

prominently displayed. As a result, the four

terms are identically presented and the defen-

dants have failed to disclose the “annual per-

centage rate” and “finance charge” more

conspicuously than the other terms . . . While this

court acknowledges that this amounts to a tech-

nical violation, . . . the Plaintiffs’ claims survives

the motion to dismiss because [the] TILA

requires strict compliance with its terms.

See Brown v. C.LL., Inc., 1996 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 4053,

No. 94-C-1479, 1996 WL 164294, at *7 (N.D. Ill. Apr. 1,

1996) (emphasis added). In fact, the disclosure statement

in Brown was virtually identical to the one at issue in this

litigation. As the district court described,

The top third of this box is subdivided into a

horizontal row of four one-inch boxes. The first

two boxes (reading from left to right) contain

the terms “Annual Percentage Rate” and

B23

“Finance Charge” in bold capital letters, along

with the appropriate values. The second two

boxes contain the terms “Amount Financed”

and “Total of Payments,” also in bold capital

letters.

Id. (citing U.S. Mag. Rept. & Rec., at 36).

In response, the defendants contend that, in 1980,

Congress amended the TILA to “eliminate lawsuits, like

[this one], based on hyper-technical violations of the

TILA.” Quoting In re Russell, the defendants claim,

In 1980, Congress . . . softened the bite of the

TILA somewhat by enacting the Truth-In-Lend-

ing Simplification and Reform Act... . At that

point, Congress became convinced that one of

the consequences of the TILA was a large vol-

ume of lawsuits based upon hyper-technicalities

which no longer worked in the best interests of

our society.”

72 B.R. 855, 862 (Bankr. E.D. Pa. 1987) (citing Pub. L. No.

92-221, Title VI (1980)); see also Laws v. PayDay Loan Corp.

of Illinois, 1999 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 16225, No. 98-C-5562,

1999 WL 966964, at *2-3 (N.D. Ill. Oct. 1, 1999).

The court is not persuaded by this argument.

a. The legislative history does not support this

argument.

In 1980, Congress did amend the TILA but just not in

the manner that the defendants claim. As Congress

explained in adopting the amendments to the TILA, it

hoped to “provide the consumer with clearer credit infor-

mation” and to “make creditor compliance easier.” See

B24

Sen. Rept. No. 96-73, at 2 (reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, at 280). Under the prior law, the

creditor only needed to disclose information “clearly and

conspicuously” and in a “meaningful sequence.” See

Lamar v. American Fin. Sys. of Fulton County, Inc., 577 F.2d

953, 954 (Sth Cir. 1978) (citing 15 U.S.C. § 1631(a) (1974);

12 C.F.R. § 226.6(a) (1974)). Given this fairly ambiguous

language, disclosures were often “lengthy and difficult to

understand.” See Sen. Rept. No. 96-73, at 2. In fact, as

Congress observed when it amended the TILA,

The typical disclosure statement . . . is not an

effective communication device. Most disclosure

statement are lengthy, written in legalistic fine

print, and have essential truth in lending dis-

closures scattered among various contractual

terms. The result in a piece of paper which

appears to be “just another legal document

Instead of the simple, concise disclosure form

Congress intended.

Id. at 3.

Not surprisingly, consumers were often confused

about the terms of these agreements, and creditors, who

had “sincerely tried to comply with the Act,” often

“found themselves in violation and subject to litigation”

because they were unable to “keep[ ] current with [the]

steady stream of administrative interpretations and

amendments, as well as highly technical judicial deci-

sions,” concerning the Act. Id. at 2. For this reason, Con-

gress sought to “simplify the typical truth in lending

statement” by amending the TILA’s disclosure require-

ments.

B25

For starters, Congress replaced the “clearly and con-

spicuously” standard with the following requirement:

The terms “annual percentage rate” and

“finance charge” shall be disclosed more con-

spicuously than terms, date, or information pro-

vided in connection with a transaction, except >

information relating, to the identity of the credi-

tor.

See The Truth In Lending Simplification and Reform

Act, Pub. L. No. 96-221, § 122(a), 94 Stat. 168, 175 (1980)

(codified as amended at 15 U.S.C. § 1631(a) (1994)). Given

this change, it is highly doubtful that Congress would

consider the failure to follow the explicit requirements of

the new law as a “technical violation.” Cf. Shroder v.

Suburban Coastal Corp., 729 F.2d 1371, 1379-80 (11th Cir.

1984) (“The applicable standard is strict compliance with

the technical requirements of the Act. . . . Where the

terms ‘annual percentage rate’ and ‘finance charge’ are

nut printed more conspicuously than other terminology

in the . . . disclosure statement, the violation is a serious

one which entities the plaintiffs to recovery.”) (citing

Dixey v. Idaho First Nat’l Bank, 677 F.2d 749, 751 (9th Cir.

1982)).

Moreover, to provide creditors with some guidance

on how to comply with the new regulations, Congress

included a “simplified statement prepared by the Federal

Reserve Board” which “illustrated what a disclosure

statement prepared in accordance with this bill’s provi-

sions would resemble.” Id. at 3, 4. The first portion of this

statement looked something like this:

4s

B26

‘assur Aunsos 8 Says 20f 295 $ © Opnyoty Jou sop 1]

hited tet eee ee EEE ee (ROA ys09 JEM yIPOID ay yUMOUR IENOP an) qADUVHD WFONVNIA

cece eeees (e702 Apsead w se pessardxa pars sn0K yo ju0 1) ALYY TOV.LINANId TVANNY

B27

As this illustration makes clear, the sample form

which Congress provided as an example to creditors dis-

closed “more conspicuously” the “annual percentage

rate” and “finance charge” for the loan. Consequently, the

defendants’ argument that Congress amended the TILA

to “eliminate lawsuits, like [this one], based on hyper-

technical violations of the TILA” misses the mark since,

in 1980, Congress amended the TILA to discourage credi-

tors from providing the very type of disclosures which

are contained in the one-page loan agreement at issue in

this case. While this decision may seem “hyper-techni-

cal,” as the Seventhh [sic] Circuit has observed in a

similar context, “hyper-technicality reigns” in TILA law-

suits. See Cowen v. Bank United of Texas, FSB, 70 F.3d 937,

941 (7th Cir. 1995).

b. Johnson’s ability to recover statutory damages

for violations of the TILA.

The defendants also contend that Johnson’s TILA

claims fails as a matter of law because he has failed to

allege that he suffered any actual damages as a result of

the defendants’ apparent violation of the Act’s the dis-

closure requirements. However, as countless circuit

courts have noted, the

TILA is a prophylactic measure that creates a

system of “private attorneys general” to aid its

enforcement. In order to penalize non-comply-

ing creditors and to deter future violations, the

private attorneys general may recover the statu-

tory penalties even if they have not sustained

any actual damages or even if the creditors are

guilty of only minute deviations from the

B28

requirements of [the] TILA and implementing

Regulation Z.

See, e.g., Davis v. Werne, 673 F.2d 866, 869 (Sth Cir.

1982); see also Gambardella v. G. Fox & Co., 716 F.2d 104,

108 n.4 (7th Cir. 1983) (“It is well settled . . . that proof of

actual deception or damages is unnecessary to a recovery

of statutory damages under 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a).”); Dryden

v. Lou Budke’s Arrow Fin. Co., 630 F.2d 641, 647 (8th Cir.

1980) (“TILA plaintiffs . . . need not show that they have

sustained actual damages stemming from the TILA viola-

tions . . . before they can recover... Statutory dam-

eae.

While the defendants claim that Congress effectively

overruled these decisions when it amended the statute to

limit a creditor’s exposure to the Statutory damages pro-

vision relating to certain disclosure violations, the court

disagrees.

i. The express language of the statute.

In 1980, when it was reforming the TILA to simplify

its disclosure requirements, Congress also adopted an

amendment which was “Intended to restrict the scope of

creditor civil liability for statutory penalties to only those

disclosures which are of material importance in credit

Shopping.” See Sen. Rept. No. 96-73, at 17 (reprinted in

1980 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News, at 280, 294).

According to Congress, it “believed that this [measure]

would culminate litigation based on purely technical vio-

lations of the Act.” Id. In relevant part, this amendment

provided that:

B29

In connection with the disclosures referred

to in [Section 1638 of this Title], a creditor shall

have liability determined under paragraph (2)

[the statutory damages provision] only for fail-

ing to comply with the requirements . . . of

paragraph (2) (insofar as it requires disclosure

of the “amount financed”), (3), (4), (5), (6), or (9)

of [Section 1638(a)]... .

See The Truth In Lending Simplification and Reform

Act, Pub. L. No. 96-221, § 615(b), 94 Stat. 168, 181 (1980)

(codified as amended at 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a) (1994)).

The specific paragraphs of Section 1638 listed in the

amendment require a creditor to make the following dis-

closures:

(2) The “amount financed,” using that term,

which shall be the amount of credit of which the

consumer has actual use... .

(3) The “finance charge,” not itemized, using

that term.

(4) The finance charge expressed as an “annual

—percentage rate,” using that term... .

(5) The sum of the amount financed and the

finance charge, which shall be termed the “total

of payments.”

(6) The number, amount, and due dates or

periods of payments scheduled to repay the

total of payments. . . . [and]

(9) Where the credit is secured, a statement

that a security interest has been taken in (A) the

property which is purchased as part of the

credit transaction or (B) property not purchased

B30

as part of the credit transaction identified by

item or type.

See 15 U.S.C. § 1638(a)(2)(A), (3)-(6), (9).

Noting that Section 1638 expressly “refer[s] to” the

disclosure of the “annual percentage rate” and the

“finance charge,” the defendants claim that Section 1640

therefore limits their liability to only those damages

which Johnson actually suffered. See 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a).

However, Section 1638 only requires a creditor to set

forth these specific terms along with explanations which

describe them, 15 U.S.C. § 1638(a). Nowhere does Section

1638 require these terms to be “disclosed more conspicu-

ously than other terms, data, or information provided in

connection with a transaction.” See 15 U.S.C. § 1632(a).

Instead, this disclosure requirement is found in Section

1632. Thus, it does not appear that the specific violation

alleged by Johnson is “in connection with the disclosures

referred to in Section 1638” as required by Section 1640.

See 15 U.S.C. § 1640(a). As previously stated, this viola-

tion instead appears to be in connection with the dis-

closures referred to in Section 1632. As a result, the

defendants seem to fall outside the express exception

which Congress provided.

Furthermore, even if the disclosures at issue fell

solely within the scope of Section 1638 because Johnson

was engaging in a transaction “other than an open end

credit plan,” see 15 U.S.C. § 1638, the court notes that the

disclosure requirements set forth in Section 1632

expressly state that “the terms ‘annual percentage rate’

and ‘finance charge’ shall be disclosed more conspicu-

ously than other terms, data, or information provided in

a

B31

connection with a transaction. ...” 15 U.S.C. § 1632(a).

Since Section 1632 precedes Section 1638, the court pre-

sumes that Congress intended a violation of Section

1632(a) to be treated as a violation of Section 1638(a)(3)

and 1638(a)(4). But see Laws, 1999 WL 966964, at *3 n.2.

This conclusion is supported by the legislative history.

ii. The statute’s legislative history.

In 1980, Congress enacted Sections 1632 and 1640

simultaneously. As previously explained, Section 1632

replaced the previous “clearly and conspicuously” stan-

dard, which had led to lengthy and confusing disclosure

statements, with the “more conspicuously” standard in

an effort to “provide the consumer with clearer credit

information” and to “make creditor compliance easier.”

See Sen. Rept. No. 96-73, at 2 (reprinted in 1980 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News, at 280). As a result, it would seem

odd to conclude that this disclosure was not “of material

importance in credit shopping.” See Sen. Rept. No. 96-73

at 17. In fact, as the Eleventh Circuit has noted,

The terms “finance charge” and “annual per-

centage rate” are among the material terms

affecting credit shopping and are protected by

civil liability. Where these terms . . . are not

printed more conspicuously than other termi-

nology on the Truth-In-Lending disclosure state-

ment, the violation is a serious one which entitles

the plaintiffs to recovery.

See Shroder, 729 F.2d at 1380 (emphasis added) (citing

Dixey, 677 F.2d at 752).

B32

Thus, while Congress did intend to “eliminate litiga-

tion based on purely technical violations of the Act”

when it enacted Section 1640, the court would be hard

pressed to conclude that the violations alleged by John-

son fall into this category.

Consequently, in the event that Johnson establishes a

violation of the disclosure requirements, his recovery is

limited only by provisions of subsections (2)(A) and

(2)(B) which respectively cap individual and class action

awards at “twice the amount of any finance charge in

connection with the transaction” or “not... more that the

lesser of $500,000 or 1 per centum of the net worth of the

creditor” taking into account the “amount of any actual

damages awarded, the frequency and persistence of fail-

ures of compliance by the creditor, the resources of the

creditor, the number of persons adversely affected, and

the extent to which the creditor’s failure of compliance

was intentional.” See 15 U.S.C. §§ 1640(a)(2)(A),

1640(a)(2)(B), 1640(a).

2. Johnson’s EFTA claims.

In their motion to dismiss, the defendants contend

that Johnson has not adequately plead his EFTA allega-

tions. Moreover, they claim that, given the facts of this

case, he cannot possibly plead a cause of action under the

EFTA. As a result, they argue, Johnson’s claims fail as a

matter of law. Again, the court disagrees.

B33

a. Johnson’s allegations and their factual basis.

In his complaint, Johnson alleges that, as a condition

for obtaining the loan, he was required to sign a waiver

of his right to stop payment of any “pre-authorized elec-

tronic fund transfers” out of an account created for him

by the defendants. In response to these allegations, the

defendants contend that the loan to Johnson “did not

involve a pre-authorized electronic fund transfer” as

defined by the EFTA. Noting that the Act defines these

transfers as ones that are “authorized in advance to recur

at substantially regular intervals,” see 15 U.S.C. § 1693a

(1994), the defendants distinguish the transfer arrange-

ment at issue here since the loan only authorized the

defendants to “effect a debit entry” of “one payment”

from Johnson’s account. As a result, the defendants con-

tend, this transfer cannot “recur at substantially regular

intervals.”

Johnson responds by pointing out that his loan is

very likely to “roll over” and, thus, “it is completely

possible, and even likely, that a pre-authorized debt in

this case would ‘recur at substantially regular intervals.’ ”

However, the defendants point out that even if Johnson

re-financed his old loan through a new roll over, he

would have to enter into a new loan agreement. Thus,

even though this new agreement (like the old one) would

authorize the defendants to “effect a debit entry” of “one

payment” from Johnson’s account, the defendants would

still “make only one electronic funds transfer per note”

and thus remain in technical compliance with the EFTA

since the transfers, while possibly “recurring at substan-

tially regular intervals,” would occur on different notes.

B34

b. This literal interpretation of the statute would

offend the law’s primary purpose.

Were the court to adopt the defendant's literal inter-

pretation of the term “pre-authorized electronic fund

transfer,” the EFTA’s “primary objective,” which “is the

Provision of individual consumer rights,” would be

undermined. See 15 U.S.C. § 1693(b) (1994). Thus, while

Johnson literally only authorizes the defendants to “effect

a debit entry” of “one payment” from his account every

time he rolls over his loan, the “pre-authorized electronic

fund transfer” arguably “recur[s] at substantially regular

intervals” as a direct result. Therefore, the court will deny

the defendants’ motion to dismiss as it relates to john-

son’s claims under the EFTA.

3. Johnson’s claims for a declaratory judgment.

Finally, in his complaint, Johnson asks this court to

declare that both the rate of interest on his loan and the

arbitration clause contained within the loan agreement

are unconscionable. The defendants have sought the dis-

missal of these claims as well.

a. The rate of interest.

With respect to the first claim, the defendants argue

that because unconscionability is a defense to a contract

action, there is no actual controversy before the court in

which to issue a declaratory judgment since Johnson has

failed to allege that anyone has attempted enforce the

loan agreement. See 28 U.S.C. § 2201 (1994) (requiring the

existence of an “actual controversy before the court can

B35

exercise jurisdiction). There is little merit to this argu-

ment since, as the Tenth Circuit has observed, “a party to

a contract is not compelled to wait until he has committed

an act which the other party asserts will constitute breach

but may [instead] seek relief by declaratory judgment and

have the controversy adjudicated in order . . . [to] avoid

the risk of damage or other untoward consequence[s].”

See Keener Oil & Gas Co. v. Consolidated Gas Util. Corp., 190

F.2d 985, 989 (10th Cir. 1951). In other words, the court

should not require Johnson to breach his loan agreement

in order to become the subject of a lawsuit so that he can

then raise the defense of unconscionability.

Perhaps in anticipation of this conclusion, the defen-

dants argue in the alternative that the annual percentage

rate paid by Johnson is not unconscionable since it is

“entirely legal.” On this point, the defendants note that

(1) the rate was disclosed to Johnson, (2) he was aware of

it when he signed the agreement, and (3) he had the

opportunity to reject the terms of the loan but did not.

Given this opportunity to “take it or leave it,” the defen-

dants claim that the terms of the loan agreement are not

“so one-sided as to be oppressive.” See Graham, 565 A.2d

at 912. This argument completely misinterprets the

Graham decision.

In Graham, the Delaware Supreme Court specifically

stated that “[a] contract of adhesion [like the loan agree-

ment here] may be declared unenforceable, in whole or in

part, if its terms are unconscionable within the meaning

of . . . [Section] 2-302” of Title 6 of the Delaware Code. Id.

As the Graham court explained, while “mere disparity

between the bargaining power of parties to a contract will

not support a finding of unconscionability,” when a

B36

“party with superior bargaining power use[s] it to take

unfair advantage of his weaker counterpart” by provid-

ing terms that were “so one-sided as to be oppressive,”

then a finding of unconscionability is warranted Id.

Thus, even though the State of Delaware does not

place a limit on the amount of interest or other charges a

bank may charge, see Del. Code Ann. tit. 5, § 962 (1998),

the court cannot conclude (given the present record) that

(1) the defendants did not abuse their superior bargain-

ing power by (2) drafting terms which were “so one-

sided as to be oppressive” since Johnson has alleged that

he was charged a rather exorbitant rate of interest —

specifically, 917 percent per annum.

b. The arbitration clause.

As far as Johnson’s second claim for a declaratory

judgment is concerned, the arbitration clause contained

within the loan agreement was not “so one-sided” as to

be unconscionable. As the Graham court stated,

while it is true that the [agreement] was pre-

sented to the [plaintiffs] on a ‘take-it or leave-it’

basis, we do not believe that the inclusion of an

arbitration clause unfairly favored [the defen-

dant]. If the arbitration mechanism established

by the policy had been unfairly structured, a

finding of unconscionability might be appropri-

ate. However, since both parties have equal

input into the selection of the arbitrators and

since both parties are bound by the result, we

find no inherent unfairness in the clause.

Id. at 912-13.

©

i

i

a

#

u

i

B37

The court reaches the same conclusion here. While

the arbitration clause might be unenforceable with

respect to Johnson’s TILA claims, the clause itself is not

in any way oppressive. It does not unfairly structure the

arbitration process by affording the defendants any pro-

cedural advantages in the arbitral forum. See Note 5 infra.

Because this claim fails as a matter of law, the court will

dismiss it.

IV. CONCLUSION.

Because compelling arbitration would effectively

strip both the TILA and EFTA of their sting, the court will

deny the defendants’ motion to compel in order to ensure

that creditors have a “meaningful incentive to comply”

with the disclosure requirements of these Acts. In addi-

tion, the court will deny the defendants’ motion to dis-

miss as it relates to Johnson’s claims under the TILA and

EFTA as well as for a declaratory judgment on whether

the rate of interest on his loan was unconscionable. How-

ever, the court will grant the motion to dismiss as it

relates to Johnson’s claim that the arbitration clause is

unconscionable since the terms of this agreement were

not so one-sided as to be oppressive. The court will issue

an order to this effect in conjunction with this opinion.

ORDER

For the reasons stated in its Opinion of this date. IT

IS HEREBY ORDERED that:

1. The Motion to Stay Proceeding and Compel

Arbitration (D.I. 7) filed by Defendants Tele-

B38

Cash, Inc. and County Bank of Rehoboth Beach,

Delaware is DENIED; ;

2. The Motion to Dismiss (D.I. 7) filed by

Defendants Tele-Cash, Inc. and County Bank of

Rehoboth Beach, Delaware is GRANTED IN

PART and DENIED IN PART:

3. The claim seeking a declaratory judgment

that the arbitration clause contained within the

loan agreement signed by Plaintiff Terry John-

son is unconscionable is DISMISSED.

Date: 12/29/99

Gregory M. Sleet

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Cl

APPENDIX C

TITLE 9. ARBITRATION

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

9 USCS § § 1 (2000)

§§1. “Maritime transactions” and “commerce” defined;

exceptions to operation of title

“Maritime transactions”; as herein defined, means charter

parties, bills of lading of water carriers, agreements relat-

ing to wharfage, supplies furnished vessels or repairs to

vessels, collisions, or any other matters in foreign com-

merce which, if the subject of controversy, would be

embraced within admiralty jurisdiction; “commerce”, as

herein defined, means commerce among the several

States or with foreign nations, or in any Territory of the

United States or in the District of Columbia, or between

any such Territory and another, or between any such

Territory and any State or foreign nation, or between the

District of Columbia and any State or Territory or foreign

nation, but nothing herein contained shall apply to con-

tracts of employment of seamen, railroad employees, or

any other class of workers engaged in foreign or inter-

state commerce.

C2

TITLE 9. ARBITRATION

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

9 USCS § § 2 (2000)

§ § 2. Validity, irrevocability, and enforcement of agree-

ments to arbitrate

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a

contract evidencing a transaction involving commerce to

settle by arbitration a controversy thereafter arising out

of such contract or transaction, or the refusal to perform

the whole or any part thereof, or an agreement in writing

to submit to arbitration an existing controversy arising

out of such a contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be

valid, irrevocable, and enforceable, save upon such

grounds as exist at law or in equity for the revocation of

any contract.

TITLE 9. ARBITRATION

CHAPTER 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

9 USCS § § 3 (2000)

§ § 3. Stay of proceedings where issue therein referable

to arbitration

If any suit or proceeding be brought in any of the courts

of the United States upon any issue referable to arbitra-

tion under an agreement in writing for such arbitration,

the court in which such suit is pending, upon being

Satisfied that the issue involved in such suit or proceed-

ing is referable to arbitration under such an agreement,

~

C3

shall on application of one of the parties stay the trial of

the action until such arbitration has been had in accor-

dance with the terms of the agreement, providing the

applicant for the stay is not in default in proceeding with

such arbitration.

[sec]§ 1640. Civil liability [TILA § 130]

(a) Individual or class action for damages; amount of

award; factors determining amount of award

Except as otherwise provided in this section, any creditor

who fails to comply with any requirement imposed under

this part, including any requirement under section 1635

of this title, or part D or E of this subchapter with respect

to any person is liable to such person in an amount equal

to the sum of -

(1) any actual damage sustained by such per-

son as a result of the failure;

(2)(A)(i) in the case of an individual action

twice the amount of any finance charge in con-

nection with the transaction, (ii) in the case of an

individual action relating to a consumer lease

under part E of this subchapter, 25 per centum

of the total amount of monthly payments under

the lease, except that the liability under this

subparagraph shall not be less than $100 nor

greater than $1,000 or (iii) in the case of an

individual action relating to a credit transaction

not under an open end credit plan that is~

C4

secured by real property or a dwelling, not less i

than $200 or greater than $2,000;

(B) in the case of a class action, such

amount as the court may allow, except that

as to each member of the class no minimum

recovery shall be applicable, and the total

recovery under this subparagraph in any

class action or series of class actions arising

out of the same failure to comply by the

same creditor shall not be more than the

lesser of $500,000 or 1 per centum of the net

worth of the creditor;

(3) in the case of any successful action to

enforce the foregoing liability or in any action in

which a person is determined to have a right of

rescission under section 1635 of this title, the

costs of the action, together with a reasonable

attorney’s fee as determined by the court; and

(4) in the case of a failure to comply with any

requirement under section 1639 of this title, an

amount equal to the sum of all finance charges

and fees paid by the consumer, unless the credi-

tor demonstrates that the failure to comply is

not material.

In determining the amount of award in any class action,

the court shall consider, among other relevant factors, the

amount of any actual damages awarded, the frequency

and persistence of failures of compliance by the creditor,

the resources of the creditor, the number of persons

adversely affected, and the extent to which the creditor’s

failure of compliance was intentional. In connection with

the disclosures referred to in subsections (a) and (b) of

section 1637 of this title, a creditor shall have a liability

C5

determined under paragraph (2) only for failing to com-

ply with the requirements of section 1635 of this title,

section 1637(a) of this title, or of paragraph (4), (5), (6),

(7), (8), (9), or (10) of section 1637(b) of this title or for

failing to comply with disclosure requirements under

State law for any term or item which the Board has

determined to be substantially the same in meaning

under section 1610(a)(2) of this title as any of the terms or

items referred to in section 1637(a

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.