Opposition Brief — MindGames, Inc. v. Western Publishing Co.

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 00-825

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

3

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Petitioner,

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court Of Appeals For The Seventh Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

*

Rosert E. SHapiro*

WENp! E. SLOANE

RicHARD A. SALDINGER

HEATHER J. MACKLIN

BARACK FERRAZZANO KIRSCHBAUM

PERLMAN & NAGELBERG

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60606

Tel: 312/984-3100

Fax: 312/984-3220

*Counsel of Record for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Did the Seventh Circuit improperly deprive

MindGames of the opportunity to present evidence that

its lost profits claim was not unduly speculative by

affirming the dismissal of that lost profits claim on a

ground raised before the district court but not relied

upon by the district court?

2. In affirming the district court’s decision, did the

Seventh Circuit improperly rely on reasonable inferences

it made in Western’s, rather than MindGames’, favor?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

TABLE OF CONTENTS «<< .vacécds cdeceesenvsasess ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .......cccccccssccsceccess iv

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... 2. cccscsecsiccnccses 1

A. Nature of the Case and Course of Proceedings

Below ......issss00ekeseageeeee see sen eee ween en 1

B. Statement of Fact. «i .ccsvanciciceucdteesesatss 3

1. Preliminary Statement... ......ccccscccesecs 3

2. The Development Of Clever Endeavor...... 4

3. The Parties Enter Into A License Agreement.. 5

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT...............500ee ees 6

ARGUMENT. ........csccccscccsseseecsssessescseece 9

I. In Its Partial Summary Judgment Motion, West-

ern Raised Both The New Business Rule And

MindGames’ Inability To Prove Lost Profits With

Reasonable Certainty ...ccisccccsecsstscsccenss 9

A. Western Specifically Raised The “Reasonable

Certainty” Standard In Its Opening Brief In

Support Of Its Partial Summary Judgment

MOOR. .. 053: cencgecaaeeeeeseeuseeunaetuan 9

1. No history of past profits.............. 10

2. The uncertainty of the entertainment

ENGINES. is oa.cu scckebens Cenweteeecdenes 10

3. The requirement of proving damages

with reasonable certainty .............. 11

B. MindGames Attempted To Refute Western’s

Non-New Business Rule Arguments........ 12

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Il. MindGames’ Other Arguments In Support of Its

Peres MUON PIE on ooo snensceccacsdencdn 14

A. The Opinion Does Not Conflict With Celotex

os J. ari 15

B. It Is Irrelevant That The Basis For The Opin-

ion Was Not An “Issue” Presented By Either

MENT RE Cd eiiucciueiesscedeaiietainidews 20

C. MindGames Misapprehends The Opinion,

Western’s Burden And The Responsibilities

ie Wee SRINCD IIE oa ov kino noc nccece. 21

D. This Court Must Only Draw Reasonable

Inferences In MindGames’ Favor.......... 24

Ill. The Seventh Circuit correctly found that Mind-

Games cannot pass the “reasonable certainty”

TEEN OER UUR AG Gwin dG ua su bs Wo Vo 46s hob uno ks cn 27

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CAsES

AGF, Inc. v. Great Lakes Heat Treating Co., 555

8 & ge ee er orrr rrr err TT rr ore. 25

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986) ..... 3

Barnes v. Arden Mayfair, Inc., 759 F.2d 676 (9th Cir.

3 TOTP ONe POT PITT EPEC TCT oP Ove TT Cron The 26, 27

Beem @. Becom, G57 US. TO CUO boc dsacisasveesas 16

Box v. A&P Tea Co., 772 F.2d 1372 (7th Cir. 1985)

Pe Mr ean ae MP emt dle mya i OEE GT 17, 18, 19, 20

Boxhorn’s Big Muskego Gun Club, Inc. v. Electrical

Workers Local 494, 798 F.2d 1016 (7th Cir. 1986) .... 25

Catrett v. Johns-Manville Sales Corporation, et al.,

Tome ae TR Re Bee oe ccecsannss 15, 16, 17

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) ..15, 16, 22, 23

Eastman Kodak Company v. Image Technical Services,

ee., OG, SIR TIA GER CIs wo rh as sks cansccacs 27

First Indiana Bank v. Baker, 957 F.2d 506 (7th Cir.

Cs pe ree ee re te Oe hy pe ape eer 3

Flynn v. Sandahl, 58 F.3d 283 (7th Cir. 1995)...... 15, 72

Gentry v. Little Rock Road Machinery Co., 339

Dee Wk. GT FOE onda ond eckcasasbsccarssvecs 25

Hillside Enterprises v. Carlisle Corp., 69 F.3d 1410

Ce Kas i ene vewiinccionn cers i, 32 3 2

Information Communication Corporation v. Unisys

Corporation, 181 F.3d 629 (5th Cir. 1999)........... 29

Insolia v. Phillip Morris Incorporated, 216 F.3d 596

ee ge Le SAPS corer er rre ts free y oe ee ee 23

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Jenkins v. Heintz, 124 F.3d 824 (7th Cir. 1997). 2.6205: 26

K & R, Inc. v. Crete Storage Corp., 231 N.W.2d 110

OD. BOT eis ch 51554. 25

_Kenford Co. v. County of Erie, 67 N.Y.2d 257, 493 :

NS.a0 208 (000)... Le 10, 12

Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 259

tte, Rin he sc, PETE TTT IOC MRT a sie 2

Miranda v. Wisconsin Power & Light Co., 91 F.3d

wank TOON SO TI eccciicdinacic ee 20

Noreuil v. Peabody Coal Co., 96 F.3d 254 (7th Cir. |

ae EE CREPE Fe pene PIS na alan 15

Proteus Books, Ltd. v. Cherry Lane Music Co., 873

Pia ee ee OC I i 10, 12

Schacht v. Wisconsin Dept. of Corrections, et al., 175

wae Gir. CC, TO a 26

Schweiker v. Hogan, 457 U.S. 569 Co, : ePmR eee ar aicoets 16

Shank, et al. v. Hague, Inc., 192 F.3d 675 (7th Cir.

ss PERCE eT ee Pee Ce er tie: a 26

Texas Instruments, Inc. v. Telestron Energy Manage-

ment, Inc., 877 S.W.2d 276 (Tex. cg | PEN Serna 29

Western Publishing Company, Inc. v. MindGames,

Inc., 944 F.Supp. 754 (E.D. Wis. SPEER dace ae 2

STATUTES AND RULES

United States Supreme Court Rule 10............... 21

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure,

BIE (IDOE 66 iceccusescccresccnsvcccnnaesrateas 16

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Nature of the Case and Course of Proceedings

Below.

This appeal arises from a dispute between Mind-

Games, Inc. (“MindGames”), the inventor of a new adult

board game called “Clever Endeavor,” and Western Pub-

lishing Company, Inc. (“Western”), the company given

the exclusive license to manufacture and market the game

(the “License”). MindGames claims it lost over $40 mil-

lion in future profits because of Western’s alleged

breaches of the License.

In its first partial summary judgment motion, West-

ern sought to dismiss MindGames’ $40 million lost profits

claim. Western first argued that Arkansas law, which

controlled the License, adheres to the “New Business

Rule,” which erects a per se ban precluding an

unestablished business from recovering lost profits and

precluding an established business from recovering lost

profits from a new product or venture. Western also

argued that, notwithstanding the New Business Rule,

MindGames’ lost profits claim should be dismissed

because, with no history of past profits, “MindGames

lacked a reasonable basis to demonstrate its alleged lost

profits with reasonable certainty.” (R. App. 20.)!

1 Western’s Memorandum in Support of its Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment, without exhibits, is submitted here

as part of Respondent’s Appendix (“R. App.”) at 1-17. Other

relevant documents and pleadings cited in this brief are also

included in the Respondent’s Appendix.

On October 11, 1996, the district court granted West-

ern’s motion and dismissed MindGames’ lost profits

claim. Relying on the Arkansas Supreme Court's decision

in Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 162 Ark.

467, 259 S.W. 741 (1924), Judge Warren held that Arkansas _

adheres to the New Business Rule as a “per se measure to

completely prevent the recovery of any profits.” Western

Publishing Company, Inc. v. MindGames, Inc., 944 F.Supp.

754, 757 (E.D. Wis. 1996). The district court found that the

undisputed facts demonstrated that MindGames was a

new business and Clever Endeavor was a new product. Id.

at 759-760. The district court did not address Western’s

alternative basis for dismissing MindGames’ lost profits

claim. Judge Warren subsequently denied MindGames’

Motion for Reconsideration.

In its second partial summary judgment motion,

Western sought to dismiss MindGames’ claim that West-

ern owed it approximately $1.2 million in unpaid renewal

fees to extend the License past its original term, which

expired on January 31, 1993. On February 25, 1998, Judge

Adelman granted Western’s second motion for partial

summary judgment.

MindGames appealed both the district court’s Octo-

ber 11, 1996 and February 25, 1998 decisions. On June 22,

2000, in a decision written by Chief Judge Posner, the

Seventh Circuit affirmed both the October 11, 1996 and

February 5, 1998 district court decisions (the “Opinion”).

(R. App. 21.) On July 6, 2000, MindGames filed a Petition

for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc, challenging only

that portion of the Opinion affirming the dismissal of its

lost profits claim (i.e., the October 11, 1996 decision). In

its Petition for Rehearing, MindGames argued that the

Seventh Circuit misapprehended the record before the

district court and “overlooked” Western’s alleged failure

to raise the “reasonable certainty” argument upon which

the Seventh Circuit relied when it affirmed the district

court. (R. App. 45.) After expressly requesting Western to

respond to MindGames’ Petition for Rehearing, the Sev-

enth Circuit denied that petition. (R. App. 62.)

B. Statement of Facts.

1. Preliminary Statement.

MindGames’ presentation of the “facts” to this Court

is irrelevant, incomplete, and without a single record

citation. Although MindGames fails to cite to the source

of its “facts,” its statement derives almost exclusively

from the same self-serving affidavits of its president,

Larry Blackwell, that MindGames presented to the dis-

trict court and the Seventh Circuit. (MindGames’ App.

89-98; R. App. 63-98.) Although much of the Blackwell

affidavits is contradicted by documents in the record or

his sworn deposition testimony, Western need not detail

these inaccuracies. Most are irrelevant. “Only disputes

over the facts that might affect the outcome of the suit

under governing law will properly preclude the entry of

summary judgment.” Anderson v, Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 248, 106 S.Ct. 2505 (1986); accord First Indiana

Bank v. Baker, 957 F.2d 506, 508 (7th Cir. 1992) (“Factual

disputes that are irrelevant or unnecessary will not be

counted.”).

The Seventh Circuit based its decision on an uncon-

troverted record created by the documents and sworn

deposition testimony. Western will set forth below these

undisputed material facts, which were presented to both

the district court and the Seventh Circuit.

2. The Development Of Clever Endeavor.

In March 1988, Blackwell formed MindGames to

develop and sell a new adult board game he invented

called “Clever Endeavor.” (R. App. 100.) Clever Endeavor

was MindGames’ first and only product. (R. App. 101.)

When he formed MindGames, Blackwell had no prior

experience in the game industry or the adult game mar-

ket. (R. App. 102, 107.) Blackwell believed that Clever

Endeavor would appeal to the same market and achieve

the same success as two other adult board games, Piction-

ary and Trivial Pursuit. (R. App. 103-105.) Blackwell had

no discussions with anyone in the game industry regard-

ing what features made Trivial Pursuit and Pictionary suc-

cessful games. (R. App. 106.)

—

In the spring of 1989, Blackwell decided to publish

Clever Endeavor. (R. App. 107.) From the spring of 1989

through the end of the year, MindGames marketed the

game itself, promoting it at certain events, advertising on

the radio and participating in cooperative advertising

with retailers. (R. App. 110-111.) During 1989, Mind-

Games sold approximately 30,000 games, but failed to

achieve a profit. (R. App. 109, 114-115.)

3. The Parties Enter Into A License Agree-

ment.

In December 1989, Blackwell met with two represen-

tatives from a game company called Games Gang, Inc.

(“Games Gang”), the current distributor of Pictionary. (R.

App. 112-113.) These discussions culminated in an exclu-

sive license agreement dated March 30, 1990 between

MindGames, as Licensor, and Western and Games Gang,

as Licensees, for the manufacture, marketing, promotion,

sale and distribution of Clever Endeavor (the “License”).

The License provides that it is governed in all respects by

Arkansas law. The License, among other things, required

Western and Games Gang to pay MindGames royalties

based on the number of games sold and to provide a

minimum amount of advertising support to Clever

Endeavor.

The initial term of the original license extended

through January 31, 1993. The License provided that it

would continue for an additional year (through January

31, 1994), only if the Licensees were not in breach and if

the Licensees paid MindGames a “Renewal Amount” of

$1.5 million (whether earned or unearned in royalties

during the initial term of the License) prior to January 31,

1993.

Although Clever Endeavor earned only approximately

$600,000 in royalties during the initial term of the License

(R. App. 75; see also Petition at 5.)? and Western did not

pay MindGames the balance of the Renewal Amount,

2 Citations to MindGames’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari

will appear as “Petition at ___.”

Western continued to act as the exclusive licensee of

Clever Endeavor from February 1993 through January 31,

1994, pursuant to an agreement the parties reached at the

February 1993 Toy Fair. (R. App. 117.) At the conclusion

of meetings held at the February 1994 Toy Fair, the parties

failed to agree on a future licensing arrangement. (R.

App. 120-122.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Like most creators of a new product, Blackwell hoped

he had the next smash hit when he developed Clever

Endeavor and created MindGames to manufacture and

market it. After he negotiated an exclusive license agree-

ment with Western, he dreamed of millions of dollars in

royalties from future sales, and a long and profitable

license arrangement. When commercial success of Clever

Endeavor fell short of these fantasies, MindGames looked

for a scapegoat, attempting to achieve through litigation

what it could not achieve through business. Four times

MindGames has attempted to persuade the courts that it

is entitled to pursue a claim for $40 million in lost profits.

And four times, the courts have rejected its arguments.

Now, MindGames comes to the highest court in the land

and, incredibly, asks this Court to resuscitate its “pie-in-

the-sky” $40 million lost profits claim.

Confronted with no legitimate basis to challenge

Judge Posner’s decision, MindGames presents as the

basis for its Petition for Writ of Certiorari (the “Petition”)

an argument that is directly contradicted by the record

below. The heart of MindGames’ challenge to the Seventh

Circuit decision is its contention that the Seventh Circuit

affirmed the dismissal of the lost profits claim on a

zround never raised in the district court. MindGames

claims that Western never argued to the district court

that, notwithstanding the New Business Rule, Mind-

sames’ lost profits claims should be dismissed because

MindGames could not prove its alleged lost royalties

with any reasonable certainty. (Petition at 8-9.) Instead,

MindGames asserts that Western’s “sole attack on Mind-

sames’ claim for lost royalties was the New Business

Rule.” (Petition at 10.)

The premise of MindGames’ argument, however, is

simply unfounded. Western expressly raised, as an alter-

native argument, the very grounds upon which the Sev-

nth Circuit relied. What is most telling, and what

MindGames painstakingly avoids mentioning, is that the

arguments presented in its Petition are the very argu-

ments MindGames raised to the Seventh Circuit as the

grounds for Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc - the very

arguments the Seventh Circuit considered and rejected.

As Western previously demonstrated to the Seventh

circuit's satisfaction, in its Motion for Partial Summary

judgment, Western not only specifically raised the “rea-

sonable certainty” test as an alternative basis to dismiss

MindGames’ lost profits claim, but MindGames even

responded to this argument, offering two affidavits of its

principal in an effort to meet the reasonable certainty

standard.

Ultimately, the district court based its decision on a

strict application of the New Business Rule, and it was

from this ruling that MindGames appealed. The parties

therefore directed their briefing before the Seventh Cir-

cuit to the issue of whether under Arkansas law there is a

per se ban on allowing lost profits to a new business.

Nevertheless, Western again argued to the Seventh Cir-

cuit that “[e]ven if [the Seventh Circuit Court] were to

reject a strict application of the New Business Rule, [the

Seventh Circuit] should affirm the dismissal of Mind-

Games’ lost profits claim” because MindGames could not

prove damages with reasonabie certainty. (R. App.

124-126.) MindGames never responded to this argument,

as the Seventh Circuit recognized. (R. App. 36.)

Although rejecting the argument that Arkansas

would apply the New Business Rule, the Seventh Circuit

nevertheless upheld the dismissal of MindGames’ claims,

holding that under the “reasonable certainty” test, Mind-

Games failed to demonstrate that it could calculate its

alleged lost royalties to “even a rough approximation.”

(Id.)

Because MindGames’ only real objection to the Opin-

ion is that the basis for the Seventh Circuit’s ruling was

not encompassed within the record below - an objection

that Western previously demonstrated, and will again

demonstrate, to be untrue - MindGames’ Petition should

be denied.

ARGUMENT

I. In Its Partial Summary Judgment Motion, Western

Raised Both The New Business Rule And Mind-

Games’ Inability To Prove Lost Profits With Reason-

able Certainty.

Although rejecting the district court’s per se applica-

tion of the New Business Rule, the Seventh Circuit nev-

ertheless affirmed the dismissal of MindGames’ lost

profits claim, holding that no “rational trier of fact could

conclude on this record that some specific quantity, or for

that matter some broad but bounded range of alternative

estimates, of copies of Clever Endeavor would have been

sold had Western honored the contract.” (R. App. 35.)

MindGames complains that it was never “called on to file

evidence from which a jury could reasonably determine

sales Clever Endeavor would have achieved” because

Western never argued uncertainty of lost sales before the

district court, and for this reason, it is entitled to this

Court’s review. (Petition at 9.) This is untrue.

A. Western Specifically Raised The “Reasonable

Certainty” Standard In Its Opening Brief In

Support Of Its Partial Summary Judgment

Motion.

From its initial brief in support of its motion for

partial summary judgment, Western put MindGames on

notice that Western believed MindGames’ claim for lost

profits failed even if the district court rejected a per se

application of the New Business Rule. Western raised a

number of challenges to MindGames’ lost profits claim

that were not dependent on the New Business Rule.

10

1, No history of past profits. In its opening

brief, Western expressly argued that “even if the [district

court] were to reject a strict application of the New Busi-

ness Rule, this [district court] should still grant Western’s

motion for summary judgment because MindGames has

no history of past profits.” (R. App. 19.) Western argued

that “MindGames lacked a reasonable basis to demon-

strate its alleged lost profits with any reasonable

certainty.” (R. App. 20.) Western cited to specific undis-

puted facts in the record, including MindGames’ failure

to earn any profit. (R. App. 2-6.) Western cited case law

where courts in jurisdictions rejecting the New Business

Rule nevertheless dismissed claims for lost profits where

the plaintiff had no history of lost profits. (R. App. 13-20.)

2. The uncertainty of the entertainment indus-

try. Western also argued to the district cour that, not-

withstanding the New Business Rule, MindGames’ claim

for lost profits fails because success of an entertainment

product, such as Clever Endeavor, is inherently uncertain,

remote and speculative. (Id.) In support of this argument,

Western cited to decisions arising in the entertainment

field where the courts did not strictly apply the New

Business Rule, but nevertheless found that the evidence

introduced by the plaintiffs was insufficient to support

any recovery for lost profits. (R. App. 14, citing Proteus

Books, Ltd. v. Cherry Lane Music Co., 873 F.2d 502 (2nd Cir.

1989) (affirming district court’s decision to vacate jury’s

damages award because, inter alia, inherent uncertainties

of predicting profits in the entertainment industry made

prospective sales of book publisher difficult, if not impos-

sible to calculate) and Kenford Co. v. County of Erie, 67

N.Y.2d 257, 493 N.E.2d 234 (1986) (court found plaintiff’s

11

evidence of prospective profits of new stadium insuffi-

cient to support any recovery for lost profits); see also R.

App. 18-19, fn. 3.)

3. The requirement of proving damages with

reasonable certainty. In its opening brief, Western dis-

cussed at length the Eighth Circuit’s decision in Hillside

Enterprises v. Carlisle Corp., 69 F.3d 1410 (8th Cir. 1995), a

case also relied upon by the Seventh Circuit in its deci-

sion. (R. App. 17-18.) In Hillside, the Eighth Circuit, while

not adopting a per se bar to the admission of evidence

regarding lost profits by a new business, affirmed the

district court’s decision to exclude the plaintiff’s evidence

of its alleged future sales because the evidence plaintiff

wanted to introduce was too speculative. 69 F.3d at 1414.

In further support of its assertion that MindGames

could not meet the “reasonable certainty” standard, West-

ern argued that numerous factors other than Western’s

alleged breaches could have affected Clever Endeavor’s

sales, such as the play value of the game, the number of

similar adult board games in a competitive market and

the decision by Clever Endeavor’s inventor, Mr. Blackwell,

to reject television advertising in favor of radio advertis-

ing. (R. App. 14-16.) Western further demonstrated that

Mr. Blackwell himself conceded that the game industry is

especially susceptible to the unique tastes of the average

consumer and also admitted the inherent difficulties of

marketing a successful game. (R. App. 14.) Western prof-

fered these arguments to illustrate that whether by a

strict application of the New Business Rule or by the

inherent uncertainty of future sales by Clever Endeavor,

the only reasonable conclusion that could be drawn by

12

the district court is that MindGames’ lost profits claim

fails. :

B. MindGames Attempted To Refute Western’s

Non-New Business Rule Arguments.

Contrary to what MindGames would have the Court

believe today, MindGames knew from the beginning that

Western had challenged MindGames’ ability to demon-

strate its alleged lost royalties with any certainty. In its

brief filed in opposition to Western’s partial summary

judgment motion, MindGames conceded, “Western

argues, in effect, that no matter how badly it botched the

handling of Clever Endeavor, no matter how egregious its

failures under the contract, MindGames cannot claim

damages for lost royalties because ‘entertainment prod-

ucts’ are too speculative.” (R. App. 144.)

Having acknowledged that Western challenged its

right to lost profits on this alternative basis, MindGames

then raised both legal and factual arguments in response.

Although it made no attempt to challenge the Hillside

Enterprises decision, MindGames did attempt to distin-

guish the Proteus Books, Ltd. and Kenford Co. cases. (R.

App. 144.) Although it did not and could not challenge

the impact of its unprofitable track record, MindGames

challenged Western’s suggestion that factors other than

Western’s alleged breaches caused the less than stellar

sales of Clever Endeavor, and asserted that the fact that

Clever Endeavor “made it to the shelf” and “lasted more

than two years” somehow brings the success of Clever

Endeavor “out of the realm of speculation.” (R. App. 146.)

13

MindGames also attempted to introduce evidence to

support its claim that its damages could be proved with

reasonable certainty. MindGames submitted not one, but

two, affidavits from Mr. Blackwell, comprising forty-one

pages of Mr. Blackwell’s alleged personal knowledge of

facts relating to Clever Endeavor. (R. App. 63-98.) In these

affidavits, Mr. Blackwell, among other topics, described

the alleged contract breaches by Western and the alleged

damages suffered by MindGames as a result of those

breaches. (R. App. 72-77.) Mr. Blackwell even proffered a

basis by which the district court could estimate Mind-

Games’ alleged lost profits. (R. App. 77, 35.)

Having specifically responded to this argument at

the district court level, it is nothing short of astounding

that MindGames seeks the extraordinary relief of a hear-

ing before this Court by claiming that “MindGames was

never called on to file evidence from which a jury could

reasonably determine sales Clever Endeavor would likely

have achieved had Western performed.” (Petition at 9.)

3 The inherently speculative nature of MindGames’ lost

profits claim becomes even more evident in light of its repeated

assertion that it seeks approximately $40 million in lost profits —

an assertion that was raised even at the district court level. (R.

App. 7, 149-150.) If MindGames actually employed a

methodology to arrive at this astronomical number, one has to

assume that this methodology would have been included in the

voluminous affidavits submitted by Mr. Blackwell. However,

MindGames provided no such methodology. The only logical

inference is that its $40 million claim is based not in fact but in

its own pie-in-the-sky optimism that its game would have

enjoyed the same success as Trivial Pursuit and Pictionary — the

only exceptionally successful adult board games to emerge in

recent history from the plethora of games introduced each year.

14

While the district court ultimately granted Western's

motion for partial summary judgment based on a per se

application of the New Business Rule, it did so on a

record that contained Western’s alternative argument -

that MindGames’ lost profits claim was too speculative to

survive a motion for summary judgment even if Arkansas

did not adhere to the New Business Ruie. This record was

included in the record on appeal, on which the Seventh

Circuit based its decision. Because the basis for the Opin-

ion was expressly raised before the cistrict court, Mind-

Games’ Petition is without merit and should be

summarily dismissed.

I. MindGames’ Other Arguments In Support Of Its

Petition Similarly Fail.

Based on the demonstrably false assertion that West-

ern never raised the “speculation” issue before the dis-

trict court, MindGames argues: (1) the Opinion conflicts

with authority from this Court; (2) the Opinion is some-

how improper because the basis for the Seventh Circuit's

affirmance was not an “issue” presented by either party;

(3) MindGames’ due process rights have been violated;

and (4) the Seventh Circuit improperly drew controlling

inferences against MindGames. These arguments fare no

better than MindGames’ primary one, and further dem-

onstrate that MindGames’ Petition is wholly without

merit. y

15

A. The Opinion Does Not Conflict With Celotex

Or Its Progeny.

MindGames concedes, as it must, that the Seventh

Circuit has the power to affirm a district court’s decision

on alternative grounds as long as those alternative

grounds are supported by the record. (Petition at 16.) See

Flynn v. Sandahl, 58 F.3d 283, 289 (7th Cir. 1995). Nor does

MindGames dispute that the Seventh Circuit exercises

plenary review over a district court’s grant of summary

judgment, drawing its own conclusions of law and fact

from the record before it. Noreuil v. Peabody Coal Co., 96

F.3d 254, 257-258 (7th Cir. 1996).

While not challenging these standards, MindGames

argues that the Seventh Circuit’s decision conflicts with

this Court’s decision in Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S.

317 (1986), and for this reason the Court should grant the

Petition. MindGames argues that “while the Celotex court

ruled an evidentiary record is not always required of the

movant in order to call upon the nonmovant to present a

record demonstrating a material issue of fact, the court

held notice must at least be given of all issues on which

the nonmovant is being required to make an evidentiary

record.” (emphasis in original) (Petition at 16.) Relying on

this passage from Celotex, as well as Judge Bork’s dissent-

ing opinion in Catrett v. Johns-Manville Sales Corporation, et

al., 756 F.2d 181 (D.C. Cir. 1985), MindGames leaps to the

conclusion that it failed to receive sufficient notice of

Western’s “reasonable certainty” argument. (Petition at

17-18.)

16

First, MindGames’ summary of the Celotex ruling is

misleading at best. As aptly pointed out by one of the

leading treatises in this area, the Celotex court:

implicitly recognized [that] the power of the

[district] court to render summary judgment sua

sponte supports the conclusion that the moving

party on a summary judgment motion need not

produce evidence, but simply can argue that

there is an absence of evidence by which the

nonmovant can prove his case.

Wright & Miller, Federal Practice and Procedure, § 2720,

p- 345 (1998); 477 U.S. at 325-326. Thus, contrary to Mind-

Games’ bald summation, Celotex does not require that the

non-movant must receive “fair notice” of the evidentiary

record it is being called upon to meet.+

Second, Judge Bork’s dissenting opinion in Catrett has

no bearing on these proceedings, other than to confirm

that Western did not have the burden “to produce evi-

dence showing the absence of a genuine issue of material

fact.” 477 U.S. at 325. Neither the Court in Celotex nor

Judge Bork® in his dissent in the Catrett opinion,

4 Nor did the Court in Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132 (1982) or

Schweiker v. Hogan, 457 U.S. 569 (1982) address this issue or even

use the term “fair notice,” as MindGames would have the Court

believe. (Petition at 16.)

> Not surprisingly, Judge Bork’s dissenting opinion, which

MindGames relies upon so heavily, lends support to Western's

position. In his dissent, Judge Bork supported the district

court’s decision to grant summary judgment and emphasized

that a party’s failure to recognize that it was being called upon

to produce admissible evidence that would create a factual

dispute or seek more time to obtain such evidence does not

17

addressed, much less discussed, the issue here —- the

standard for determining whether the ground upon

which the appellate court relied was adequately pre-

sented to the district court so as to put the non-movant

on “notice” that it had to, if it could, submit evidence to

contest that ground. Indeed, the references to “notice” by

this Court and Judge Bork were given in the context of a

district court granting summary judgment sua sponte and,

therefore, are irrelevant to the issues raised in Mind-

Games’ Petition.

Third, as MindGames is well aware, Western has met

the applicable “notice” standard, which has been articu-

lated in Box v. A&P Tea Co., 772 F.2d 1372 (7th Cir. 1985).

In its Petition for Rehearing, MindGames argued that the

Opinion conflicted with the Seventh Circuit’s prior deci-

sion in Box. MindGames claimed that, under Box, the

appellate court cannot affirm a district court ruling unless

the grounds for that ruling were adequately presented in

the district court so that the non-movant had an oppor-

tunity to submit contrary evidence. (R. App. 50.) Relying

on Box, MindGames argued that the Opinion created a

conflict in the Seventh Circuit because the majority had

affirmed the district court on a ground not “adequately

presented” to the district court. (R. App. 50-51.)

preclude the court from granting summary judgment against

that party. Catrett, 756 F.2d at 191. Because, as discussed supra,

Western argued that MindGames could not demonstrate its lost

profits with reasonable certainty, Judge Bork would likely agree

with the Seventh Circuit’s decision and avoid “the judicial

impulse to save [MindGames’] case from what may have been

careless preparation.” Id.

18

It is not surprising that MindGames now abandons

- its reliance on Box. As Western pointed out in its response

to MindGames’ Petition for Rehearing, not only is Box

broader than MindGames suggested, but the Seventh Cir-

cuit Opinion here easily complies with the standard artic-

ulated in Box.

The Seventh Circuit in Box held that

“(this Court] can affirm a summary judgment on

any ground that finds support in the record, but

the ground must have been adequately pre-

sented in the trial court so that the non-moving

party had an opportunity to submit affidavits or

other evidence and contest the issue. Analo-

gously, we may affirm a summary judgment on

a ground not raised in the trial court if the

grounds asserted in the trial court necessarily

encompass the ground asserted on appeal.”

(emphasis added) Box, 772 F.2d at 1376.

_The record before the district court in Box provided

far less notice of the arguments upon which the appellate

court ultimately affirmed the dismissal of the plaintiff’s

claims. There, a former employee brought a sex discrimi-

nation action against her employer. The employer moved

for summary judgment on the grounds that (1) the

employee failed to raise a claim of sex discrimination in

her complaint to the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (“EEOC”) and (2) that all persons who

received the jobs the employee claimed she was denied

were female. The district court granted the employer’s

motion for summary judgment for both reasons, and the

employee appealed.

19

On appeal, the Seventh Circuit found that neither

ground relied upon by the district court justified sum-

mary judgment for the employer. The Seventh Circuit

found that the second ground was not well founded

because the employee had made the additional argument

to the district court that the employer discriminated

against her by not training her or promoting her to an

assistant manager position. Nevertheless, the Box court

affirmed the district court’s decision because, as pointed

out by the employer on appeal, the plaintiff never offered

any evidence that she had ever applied for the assistant

manager position, and, therefore, the employee could not

demonstrate a prima facie case of sex discrimination.

The employee contended that the Seventh Circuit

should not consider the merits of the argument that she

failed to apply for the assistant manager position because

the employer never made that argument before the dis-

trict court. The Box court disagreed. The Seventh Circuit

found that in the employer’s initial memorandum the

employer argued, in general, that the employee could not

show a prima facie case of sex discrimination. Id. Although

the argument relied upon by the court in Box was not

argued by the employer before the district court “as

elaborately” as the two arguments relied on by the dis-

trict court, the Seventh Circuit found that the argument

was encompassed in the record and could be considered on

appeal. Id.

Here, the ground relied upon by the Seventh Circuit

to affirm the district court’s decision, i.e., the “reasonably

certainty” argument or “speculation” issue, was certainly

encompassed within the record before the district court, in

much greater detail than the ground relied upon by the

Seventh Circuit in Box. Western expressly raised this

20

argument and challenged MindGames to put forth evi-

dence by which it could demonstrate its alleged lost

profits with reasonable certainty. As the Seventh Circuit

recognized, MindGames failed to submit such evidence.

Therefore, the Seventh Circuit’s decision is consistent

with the applicable standards for “notice” to a nonmov-

ing party set forth in Box and its progeny.

B. It Is Irrelevant That The Basis For The Opinion

Was Not An “Issue” Presented By Either Party.

MindGames also argues, with no legal support, that

because the issues presented for review to the Seventh

Circuit did not include the ground relied upon by the

Seventh Circuit, the “reasonable certainty” argument

could not have been raised below. (Petition at 13-14.) The

lack of authority for this proposition is not surprising

because such a rule would make no logical sense. Because

the district court relied on a per se application of the New

Business Rule, the statement of issues presented for

review necessarily related to the grounds relied upon by

the district court in its decision.

There is no rule mandating, or even suggesting, that

all possible grounds for affirming or reversing a district

court’s decision must be included within the statement of

issues presented to the Seventh Circuit. Nor could such a

rule exist. In reviewing a grant of summary judgment, the

appellate courts are to conduct a de novo review of the

proceedings and the record below. Miranda v. Wisconsin

Power & Light. Co., 91 F.3d 1011, 1014 (7th Cir. 1996).

Limiting the grounds upon which the appellate court

could affirm a summary judgment ruling to those stated

in the “Issues Presented” section of the briefs would

21

essentially preclude the appellate court from making a de

novo review of the record. |

MindGames, moreover, mistakenly claims that “the

majority then referred to an argument Western presented

to the court of appeals - not to the district court - and

concluded the ‘argument was brief but not so brief as to

fail to put MindGames on notice of a possible alternative

ground for upholding the district court’s judgment.’ ”

(Petition at 14.) As explained above, MindGames’ claim is

simply untrue.

_

C. MindGames Misapprehends The Opinion,

Western’s Burden And The Responsibilities Of

The District Court.

In a thinly-veiled attempt to satisfy the strict stan-

dards of Supreme Court Rule 10, MindGames expands

the Opinion beyond its limited holding and argues that

its due process rights have somehow been violated - all

in the hope that it will convince the Court that its case is

worthy of being heard. MindGames then proceeds to

impose burdens on both the district court and Western

that have no support whatsoever in the law.

MindGames would have this Court believe that the

ruling of the Seventh Circuit “puts summary judgment

nonmovants in an almost impossible position and forces

them to prove every element of their cases at the sum-

mary judgment stage lest the court of appeals dismiss for

lack of evidence on a ground not raised by the movant,

not ruled on by the district court and without the

responding party having been notified of the need to

produce evidence.” (Petition at 8.) MindGames’ assertion

is pure fiction.

as in IA A A. yen mm im

22

First, let there be no doubt, Western raised the “rea-

sonable certainty” argument in its initial motion for par-

tial summary judgment. Moreover, coritrary to the self-

serving excerpts MindGames quotes from its prior

response brief (Petition at 20), MindGames recognized

that Western was making this argument. (R. App. 144.) If

MindGames chose to “assume [that] defeating application

of the ‘new business’ rule defeated [Western’s motion for]

summary judgment,” it did so at its own risk. (Petition at

20.) Such an improper assumption on the part of Mind-

Games does not change the fact that Western raised the

“reasonable certainty” argument before the district court.

(Petition at 20.)

Second, the fact that the district court did not address

Western’s “reasonable certainty” argument is irrelevant.

It is well-settled that the Seventh Circuit can affirm a

district court’s decision on alternative grounds, not ruled

upon by the district court, as long as those alternative

grounds are supported by the record. Flynn, supra, 58 F.3d

at 289. Nothing in the Opinion is inconsistent with that

legal proposition.

Third, contrary to MindGames’ apparent belief, nei-

ther the district court nor Western had the burden of

“notifying” MindGames that it needed to produce evi-

dence to avert summary judgment on its lost profits

claim. (Petition at 8, 12, 19.) Indeed, Western’s only bur-

den, which it satisfied, was to identify through “plead-

ings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any,”

the absence of a genuine issue of materia) fact. Celotex,

477 U.S. at 323. Western was under no obligation to

“challenge MindGames to come forward with evidence of

\

23

lost future sales.” (Petition at 12.) Because the district

court did not bring this summary judgment motion sua

sponte, it also had no duty to notify MindGames that it

had to come forward with evidence of its alleged lost

profits damages. Celotex, 477 U.S. at 326. Rather, Mind-

Games had the burden of recognizing the arguments

raised by Western and submitting evidence, if possible,

sufficient to create an issue of fact. Insolia v. Philip Morris

Incorporated, 216 F.3d 596, 598-599 (7th Cir. 2000). Again,

nothing in the Opinion contradicts this well established

law or forces nonmovants to “prove” their case at the

summary judgment stage, as MindGames would have

this Court believe. (Petition at 8.)

Finally, MindGames cries that it was deprived of due

process and never got its day in court because it did not

have “fair notice that it was required to prove its lost

profits damages . . . at the summary judgment stage.”

(Petition at 19.) This argument fails because (1) Western’s

“reasonable certainty” argument was encompassed

within its motion for partial summary judgment and (2)

under no circumstances did MindGames have to prove its

damages. Rather, it had the burden of creating a genuine

issue of fact that it could demonstrate its lost profits with

reasonable certainty. MindGames conveniently ignores its

own burden and the fact that a party is not entitled to

their “day in court,” but must earn that day by demon-

strating the existence of a genuine issue of fact or law.

The Seventh Circuit correctly found that MindGames did

not satisfy its own burden and, therefore, was not entitled

to its “day in court” as a matter of law.

24

D. This Court Must Only Draw Reasonable Infer-

ences In MindGames’ Favor.

MindGames also argues, as it did in its Petition for

Rehearing, that the Seventh Circuit made unwarranted

inferences against it and overlooked evidence in the

record of Western’s wrongful conduct. (Petition at 10-11.)

MindGames’ arguments are factually and legally defi-

cient.

In arguing that the Seventh Circuit failed to draw

inferences in its favor, MindGames, again, improperly

takes liberties with the Opinion. MindGames argues that

the Seventh Circuit based its decision on two inferences it

made in favor of Western: (1) that Western did not market

Clever Endeavor more vigorously because it correctly

sensed that demand had “dried up” (Petition at 22); and

(2) MindGames’ failure to terminate the License after the

alleged breaches occurred and to seek distribution of the

game by other means is evidence of a lack of commercial

promise unrelated to Western’s conduct. (Petition at 24.)

MindGames’ argument is demonstrably untrue.

A fair reading of the Opinion demonstrates that the

Seventh Circuit based its ruling on undisputed facts,

including the fact that MindGames had no history of past

profits.

What is important is that Blackwell had no track

record when he created “Clever Endeavor.” He

could not point to other games that he had

invented and that had sold well. He was not in

the position of the bestselling author who can

prove from his past success that his new book,

which the defendant failed to promote, would

have been likely - not certain, of course - to

25

have enjoyed a success comparable to that of the

average of his previous books if only it had been

promoted as promised. That would be like a

case of a new business launched by an entrepre-

neur with a proven track record. (R. App. 33-34.)

The remaining portion of the Opinion is nothing

more than dicta. Indeed, immediately after speculating

that Western correctly sensed that the demand for Clever

Endeavor had “dried up,” the Seventh Circuit stated:

Even if that alternative is rejected, we do not see

how the number of copies that would have been

sold but for the alleged breach could be deter-

mined given the evidence presented in the sum-

mary judgment proceedings (a potentially

important qualification, of course); and so

MindGames’ proof of damages is indeed exces-

sively speculative. See, e.g., Gentry v. Little Rock

Road Machinery Co., 339 $.W.2d 101, 104 (Ark.

1960); Hillside Enterprises v. Carlisle Corp., 69 F.3d

1410, 1414 (8th Cir. 1995); K & R, Inc. v. Crete

Storage Corp., 231 N.W.2d 110, 115 (Neb. 1975);

see also AGF, Inc. v. Great Lakes Heat Treating Co.,

supra, 555 N.E.2d at 640. Those proceedings

were completed with no evidence having been

presented from which a rational trier of fact

could conclude on this record that some specific

quantity, or for that matter some broad but

bounded range of alternative estimates, of

copies of “Clever Endeavor” would have been

sold had Western honored the contract. Mind-

Games obtained $600,000 in royalties on sales of

165,000 copies of the game, implying that West-

ern would have had to sell more than 10 million

copies to generate the $40 million in lost roy-

alties that MindGames seeks to recover. Cf. Box-

horn’s Big Muskego Gun Club, Inc. v. Electrical

26

Workers Local 494, 798 F.2d 1016, 1023 (7th Cir.

1986). (R. App. 34-35.)

Moreover, even if the Seventh Circuit had based its

ruling, in part, on these inferences, MindGames’ argu-

ment still fails. Although the Seventh Circuit had to

“draw inferences in a light most favorable to the non-

moving party,” it was “not required to draw every con-

ceivable inference from the record — only those inferences

that are reasonable.” (emphasis added) Shank, et al. v.

Hague, Inc., 192 F.3d 675, 683 (7th Cir. 1999). A reasonable

inference “cannot be supported by only threadbare con-

clusory statements instead of significant probative evi-

dence.” Barnes v. Arden Mayfair, Inc., 759 F.2d 676, 680-81

(9th Cir. 1985).

In its initial brief before the district court, Western

challenged MindGames’ ability to prove it lost millions in

royalties as a result of Western’s conduct. The burden

_then shifted to MindGames to “move beyond the plead-

ings and to set forth specific facts from which it might be

reasonably inferred” that MindGames could satisfy this

burden of proof. See Jenkins v. Heintz, 124 F.3d 824, 831

(7th Cir. 1997) (affirming summary judgment in favor of

attorney and law firm where plaintiff failed to put forth

evidence from which one could reasonably infer that

defendants knew and intentionally made false represen-

tations). As the Seventh Circuit stated in Schacht v. Wis-

consin Dept. of Corrections, et al., 175 F.3d 497 (7th Cir.

1999), “[summary judgment] is the ‘put up or shut up’

moment in a lawsuit, when a party must show what

evidence it)has that would convince a trier of fact to

accept its version of events.” 175 F.2d at 504. As the

.

Seventh Circuit recognized, MindGames did not satisfy

its burden.

In its Petition, MindGames continues to refuse to

acknowledge its burden as a non-movant to submit evi-

dence from which a reasonable trier of fact could estimate

the lost royalties MindGames allegedly incurred as a

result of Western’s conduct. It asks the Court to find that

the district court and the Seventh Circuit had to draw

every conceivable inference in its favor, whether reason-

able or not, so that MindGames can someday get its case

in front of a jury. The law, however, prevents MindGames

from getting in front of a jury if it cannot submit evidence

that would bring its claim for $40 million out of the realm

of mere “speculation, conjecture or fantasy.” Barnes, 759

F.2d at 681.6

III. The Seventh Circuit correctly found that Mind-

Games cannot pass the “reasonable certainty” test.

MindGames would have this Court believe that if the

New Business Rule is no longer the law in Arkansas, it

€ MindGames’ citation to Eastman Kodak Company v. Image

Technical Services, Inc., et. al., 504 U.S. 451 (1992) does not change

the end result here. The Court’s holding in Eastman did not in

any way restrict the district court’s or Seventh Circuit's

discretion to draw only reasonable inferences in favor of the

non-moving party. Moreover, MindGames again miscites an

opinion from this Court. Nothing in Eastman indicates that

MindGames can pass the “reasonable certainty” test simply by

demonstrating that its claims are not “economically senseless.”

Indeed, MindGames has previously argued that the “reasonable

certainty” test is the applicable standard. (R. App. 152.)

28

necessarily gets a shot with a jury. That is not the case. As

Chief Judge Posner wrote on behalf of the Seventh Cir-

cuit, “abrogation of the ‘new business rule’ does not

produce a free-for all.” (R. App. 33.) The New Business

_ Rule is a formalization of a rule designed to ensure that

when the undisputed facts fall into a certain category, i.e.,

a new business with no history of past success, a party

cannot recover its lost profits regardless of the alleged

breaches. The “reasonable certainty” test, adopted by the

majority of states and by the Seventh Circuit here, stands

for essentially the same proposition of law. As the Sev-

enth Circuit recognized, there are certain situations

where a trier of fact cannot award any damages because

such an award would be too remote and speculative

based on the undisputed facts. Such a situation is present

here, and MindGames knows it.

The key facts are undisputed. Mr. Blackwell had no

track record in the adult board game industry when he

invented Clever Endeavor. MindGames failed to achieve a

profit prior to Western’s alleged breaches of the license

agreement. And, the consuming public, as Justice Posner

aptly stated, is “fickle.” (R. App. 34.) Both the Seventh

Circuit and the district court were presented with these

undisputed facts, as well as others. Both courts recog-

nized that, based on these undisputed facts, any estimate

of lost profits would be inherently speculative. In reach-

ing its decision, the district court relied on a strict appli-

cation of the New Business Rule. The Seventh Circuit,

while not adopting the New Business Rule, achieved the

same end result by finding that no evidence existed in the

29

record from which a reasonable trier of fact could esti-

mate the number of copies of Clever Endeavor that would

have been sold but for Western’s alleged breaches.

MindGames’ continued reliance on the success of

Trivial Pursuit and Pictionary illustrates the Seventh Cir-

cuit’s point. The fact that Western had marketed these

highly successful adult board games does not mean that

Western has the “Midas Touch” and every game it mar-

kets will turn to “gold.” If such an inference was reason-

able, as MindGames would have the Court believe, MGM

would be sued every time a film it produced did not

achieve the same success as “The Wizard Of Oz.” Mind-

Games’ and Mr. Blackwell’s history of success, or lack

thereof, in the adult board game industry are the key

considerations. Western's prior success with other games

is irrelevant. The Seventh Circuit’s decision recognized,

like other courts have in the past, that the undisputed

facts of record demonstrate that MindGames could never

pass the “reasonable certainty” test. See, ¢.g., Hillside

Enterprises, supra; Information Communication Corporation

v. Unisys Corporation, 181 F.3d 629 (5th Cir. 1999) (affirm-

ing district court’s decision to overturn jury's award of

lost profits where plaintiff was a new and improved

business, had no track record of successfully creating and

marketing new products and had no history of prof-

itability); Texas Instruments, Inc. v. Telestron Energy Man-

agement, Inc., 877 S.W.2d 276 (Tex. 1994) (plaintiff did not

pass “reasonable certainty” test and could not recover

lost profits where new and unique product at issue had

never been sold before and plaintiff never operated at a

profit.) ‘

ay

30

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, this Court should deny

MindGames’ Petition in its entirety.

Dated: December 22, 2000

Respectfully submitted,

Rosert E. SHAPIRO*

WEND! E. SLOANE

—_—— RICHARD A. SALDINGER

HEATHER J. MACKLIN

BARACK FERRAZZANO KIRSCHBAUM

PERLMAN & NAGELBERG

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60606

Tel: 312/984-3100

Fax: 312/984-3220

*Counsel of Record for Respondent

No. 00-825 |

4

Vv

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Petitioner,

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.,

Respondent.

+

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Court Of Appeals

For The Seventh Circuit

¢

RESPONDENT’S APPENDIX TO BRIEF IN

OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF -

CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

¢

Rosert E. SHAPIRO*

WEND! E. SLOANE

RicHARD A. SALDINGER

HEATHER J. MACKLIN

BARACK FERRAZZANO KIRSCHBAUM

PERLMAN & NAGELBERG

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60606

Tel: 312/984-3100

Fax: 312/984-3220 oid

*Counsel of Record for Respondent

EE oe ew oe — ae ers eee ee hhc eC lS eee ee le

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Western Publishing Company, Inc.’s Memoran-

dum in Support of its Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment, file stamped May 20,

| OP ee Tey Trey ee rere ey re ee R. App. 1

June 22, 2000 Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit....... R. App. 21

MindGames, Inc.’s Petition for Rehearing and

Rehearing En Banc, dated July 6, 2000...R. App. 40

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit denying Petition for Rehear-

ing and Rehearing En Banc, dated August 22,

PE REN ECAR NASA RHEE ASS he CR ES UE WAS Os R. App. 62

Affidavit of G. Lawrence Blackwell, III in Opposi-

tion to the Summary Judgment Motion of West-

ern Publishing Company, Inc., dated July 8,

FFE Sesh e gens deed h nee enn ddan sedeewans R. App. 63

Supplemental Affidavit of G. Lawrence Blackwell,

III, in Opposition to (1) New Issues Raised in

Western’s Summary Judgment Reply Brief, (2)

Western’s Responses to MindGames’ Proposed

Findings of Fact and (3) Western’s Motion to

Strike Summary Judgment Affidavit, dated Sep-

SO SUN tab nea havkwdndcipancis css R. App. 82

Excerpted pages from the Deposition of George

Lawrence Blackwell, III taken at the instance of

Western Publishing Company, Inc. on August

Bee ie bias cos hax dian ds Aen ad ew sania R. App. 99

1989 Income Statement of MindGames, Inc. .. R. App. 114

Excerpted pages from the Deposition of George

Lawrence Blackwell, III (resumed), taken on

RE Wy SOME cannes nccsasnkiecyatas: R. App. 116

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Excerpted pages from the Deposition of George

Lawrence Blackwell, III taken on October 16,

ie OE eee Tee Te Pr rer kee R. App. 119

Excerpted pages from the Brief of Appellee West-

ern Publishing Company, Inc. to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,

Gated Fepreery Zi, TPF soos ccc eesscias R. App. 123

Memorandum of MindGames, Inc. In Opposition

to Motion for Summary Judgment of Western

Publishing Company, Inc., dated July 5,

WOOD siscctisesiascaienenea eee R. App. 127

Letter from E. Campion Kersten to Wendi Sloane

Weitman and Richard A. Saldinger, dated April

Bs TOR va. 0 cc ens nas eae eee R. App. 149

Excerpted pages from the Brief and Short Appen-

dix of Appellant MindGames, Inc. to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit,

GOOOd FORUATY 22, T9GF nics cirsesaniancs R. App. 151

R. App. 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

WESTERN PUBLISHING

COMPANY, INC.,

CIVIL NO. 94 C 0552

Plaintiff, Hon. Robert E. Warren

V.

MINDGAMES, INC., CIVIL NO. 94 C 0998

Defendant.

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

(Filed May 20, 1996)

Vv.

WESTERN PUBLISHING

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

COMPANY, INC., )

Defendant. ‘

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.’S

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF ITS MOTION

FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

I. INTRODUCTION

The driving force behind this dispute between Mind-

Games, Inc. (“MindGames”) and Western Publishing

Company, Inc. (“Western”) is MindGames’ belief that

Western's alleged breach of the parties’ license agreement

prevented MindGames’ new adult board game called

“Clever Endeavor” from achieving the same success as two

of the most successful adult board games of all time,

Pictionary and Trivial Pursuit. Rather than attributing

Clever Endeavor’s iimited success to the erratic whims of

R. App. 2

the consumer and the game’s own shortcomings, Mind-

Games is determined to place the blame on Western — the

exclusive licensee of Clever Endeavor for almost its entire

shelf life. In so doing, MindGames seeks over $40 million

dollars in damages for profits it allegedly lost due to

Western’s breach of the license agreement. However,

MindGames cannot, as a matter of law, recover its alleged

lost profits because Arkansas still applies the “New Busi-

ness Rule,” which prevents the recovery of any lost profits

for a new product, such as Clever Endeavor. The inherent

difficulties of predicting the success of a product in the

entertainment and leisure industry further dictate the

strict application of the New Business Rule.

Moreover, MindGames’ failure to show any history of

profitability before its license agreement with Western,

provides a second reason that MindGames is legally pre-

cluded from recovering any anticipated lost profits. Con-

sequently, Western respectfully requests that this Court

grant it partial summary judgment on the portion of

MindGames’ claim which seeks damages for its alleged

lost profits.

II. WESTERN’S PROPOSED FINDINGS OF FACT

A. The Parties.

1. Western Publishing Company, Inc. (“Western”) is

a corporation organized and existing under the laws of

the State of Wisconsin, with its principal place of business

located at 1220 Mound Avenue, Racine, Wisconsin.

2. MindGames, Inc. (“MindGames”) is a corporation

organized and existing under the laws of the State of

R. App. 3

Arkansas, with its principal place of business located at

2720 West 28th Street, Pine Bluff, Arkansas.

B. Jurisdiction and Venue.

3. Western and MindGames are citizens of different

states and the matter in controversy involves a sum in

excess of $50,000, exclusive of interest and costs. Accord-

ingly, this Court has jurisdiction over this action pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1332(a).

4. Western has its principal place of business in the

Eastern District of Wisconsin, and the causes of action

asserted in this lawsuit arose in this District. Venue is

therefore proper in this District pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1391(a).

C. The Development of Clever Endeavor.

5. In March 1988, Larry Blackwell (“Blackwell”)

formed MindGames for the sole purpose of manufactur-

ing, marketing and selling a new adult board game he

invented called “Clever Endeavor.” (See p. 24 of the Depo-

sition of Larry Blackwell (“Blackwell Dep.”). Copies of

the relevant pages of Mr. Blackwell’s deposition tran-

script are attached hereto as Group Exhibit A). Clever

Endeavor was MindGames’ first and only product. (Black-

well Dep. p. 34).

6. At the time Blackwell formed MindGames, he

had no prior experience in the game industry or the adult

game market in particular. (Blackwell Dep. pp. 46, 84).

Nevertheless, Blackwell believed that Clever Endeavor

R. App. 4

would appeal to the same market and achieve the same

success as the two most successful adult board games of

their time, Pictionary and Trivial Pursuit. (Blackwell Dep.

pp. 79-81). Blackwell formed this belief without having

any discussions with anyone in the game industry

regarding what features made Trivial Pursuit and Piction-

ary successful games. (Blackwell Dep. p. 82).

7. Prior to its initial distribution of the game in

September 1989, MindGames conducted some minimal

test marketing of Clever Endeavor, such as playing the

prototype of Clever Endeavor with focus play groups out

of Blackwell’s parents’ and friends’ homes. (Blackwell

Dep. pp. 160-165).

8. In the spring of 1989, Blackwell decided to pub-

lish Clever Endeavor. (Blackwell Dep. p. 107). From the

spring of 1989 through the end of the year, MindGames

marketed the game itself by promoting it at certain events

and through radio advertising and cooperative advertis-

ing with retailers. (Blackwell Dep. p. 172). MindGames,

however, did not use any type of television advertising to

promote Clever Endeavor because Blackwell did not

believe that the cost for such advertising justified the

expense. (Blackwell Dep. pp. 174-175).

9. During 1989, MindGames sold approximately

30,000 games, but failed to achieve a profit for that year.

(Blackwell Dep. pp. 169; See, the 1989 Income Statement

for MindGames, a copy of which is attached hereto as

Exhibit B).

R. App. 5

D. The License Agreement.

10. In December 1989, Blackwell met with two rep-

resentatives from a game company called Games Gang,

Inc. (“Games Gang”), which was the current distributor

of Pictionary. (Blackwell Dep. pp. 192-193). These discus-

sions culminated on March 30, 1990 when MindGames, as

Licensor, entered into an exclusive license agreement

with Western and Games Gang, as Licensees, for the

manufacture, marketing, promotion, sale and distribution

_of the Clever Endeavor game (the “License”). (A copy of

the License is attached hereto as Exhibit C).

11. The License is governed in all respects by the

laws of the State of Arkansas. (Exhibit C at { 20).

12. The License, among other things, required West-

ern and Games Gang to pay MindGames royalties based

on the number of games sold and to provide a minimum

amount of advertising support to Clever Endeavor.

(Exhibit C at {{ 4, 6).

13. The term of the original License extended

through January 31, 1993. (Exhibit C at { 2). The License

provided that, if the Licensees were not in breach, the

License would continue until January 31, 1994 in the

event that the Licensees paid MindGames at $1.5 million

(whether earned or unearned in royalties during the term

of the License) prior to January 31, 1993. (Exhibit C at

{ 2). For any renewal term beginning on or after January

31, 1994, the Licensees were required to pay MindGames

$300,000, less royalties earned between January 31, 1993

and January 31, 1994. (Exhibit C at { 2).

R. App. 6

14. On March 13, 1991, the parties amended the

License by allowing the Licensees to reduce the percent-

age of gross sales to be utilized for advertising and pro-

motion in order to “keep the cost of the game down.” A

copy of the March 13, 1991 letter agreement amending the

License (the “1991 Amendment”) is attached hereto as

Exhibit D.

15. With the written consent of MindGames, West-

ern assumed the duties and obligations of the other

licensee, Games Gang, under the License, pursuant to a

sublicense agreement dated February 3, 1992. Western

served as the exclusive licensee of Clever Endeavor

through January 31, 1994.

16. The net sales of Clever Endeavor during the

original term of the License were as follows:

Clever Endeavor

Fiscal Year Units Sold

FY 1990 165,000

FY 1991 58,113

FY 1992 26,394

FY 1993 7,438

III. NATURE OF THE DISPUTE

MindGames alleges that Clever Endeavor was not suc-

cessful because Western breached the License by, inter

alia, 1) failing to pay MindGames the minimum royalties

necessary to renew the License, 2) failing to properly

manufacture and distribute Clever Endeavor, 3) failing to

“diligently and actively promote and make every reason-

able effort to market and sell Clever Endeavor” and 4)

R. App. 7

failing to provide the minimum amount of advertising

support required under the License. (See, MindGames’

Complaint, a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit

E). As a result of the alleged breach of the License by

Western, MindGames seeks damages against Western in

excess of $40 million dollars. (See, the April 25, 1995 letter

from MindGames’ attorney, a copy of which is attached

hereto as Exhibit F). MindGames bases almost the entire

amount of its damage claim on the profits it allegedly lost

due to Western’s alleged breach of the License.’

IV. ARGUMENT

A. The Standard For Granting Summary Judg-

ment.

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

deems summary judgment appropriate “if the pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions

on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show that

there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law.” Kendrick v. East Delavan Baptist Church, 886 F. Supp.

1465, 1471 (E.D. Wisc. 1995) (Warren, J.) citing Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510

(1986); see, Donovan v. City of Milwaukee, 845 F. Supp. 1312,

1313 (E.D. Wisc. 1992) (Reynolds, J.). The presence of a

genuine issue of material fact is to be determined by the

1 MindGames also seeks $1.2 million for royalties allegedly

owed to renew the License for the period of February 1, 1993

through January 31, 1994 and for the period of February 1, 1994

through January 31, 1995.

R. App. 8

substantive law controlling that case or issue. Kendrick,

886 F. Supp. at 1471. Although some facts may be in

dispute, entry of summary judgment is in order if the

movant either establishes uncontroverted facts entitling it

to summary judgment or demonstrates that the non-mov-

ing party has failed to make a sufficient showing on an

essential element of its case with respect to which it will

bear the burden of proof at trial. Donovan, 845 F. Supp. at

1314.

The application of Arkansas law to the undisputed

facts of this case establishes that MindGames cannot, as a

matter of law, recover its lost profits. Therefore, Western

respectfully requests that this Court grant it partial sum-

mary judgment, and find that MindGames is precluded

from seeking darnages for its alleged lost profits.

B. The “New Business Rule” Prevents MindGames

From Recovering Any Lost Profits.

Western emphatically denies that it breached any of

the terms of the License. However, even assuming

arguendo that MindGames could demonstrate that West-

ern or Games Gang breached any provision of the

License, MindGames is legally precluded from recovering

its lost profits.

1. Arkansas follows the “New Business Rule.”

As a new business, MindGames is barred under

Arkansas law from introducing any evidence regarding

its lost profits. Arkansas follows the “New Business

Rule,” which holds that a new or unestablished business

R. App. 9

is precluded, as a matter of law, from recovering lost

profits. Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 162

Ark. 467, 259 S.W. 741 (1924). The Arkansas Supreme

Court reasoned that “[t]he anticipated profits of a new

business are too remote, speculative and uncertain to

support a judgment for their loss.” 259 S.W. at 741. Accord

Central Coal & Coke Co. v. Hartman, 111 F. 96, 98 (8th Cir.

1901).

Although the Supreme Court of Arkansas has not

addressed this issue since it decided Marvell Light in 1924,

there is no reason to believe that the Arkansas Supreme

court’s [sic] has changed its position on the recovery of

lost profits by a new business. Despite exhaustive

research, Western has failed to discover a single Arkansas

case considering evidence of lost products for a new

business after the Marvell Light decision. This dearth of

authority supports the proposition that Arkansas courts

continue to adhere firmly to Marvell Light.

Nor is there any reason to believe that the Arkansas

courts would deviate from the Marvel Light decision now.

The rationale supporting the Arkansas Supreme Court's

ruling continues to remain as persuasive today as it did

in 1924. As the Fourth Circuit explained in Coastland Corp.

v. Third National Mortgage Co., 611 F.2d 969 (4th Cir. 1979),

the New Business Rule provides a “safegiard” against an

unsubstantiated award of damages for lost profits:

“If an established business, with an established

earning capacity, is interrupted and there is no

other practical way to estimate the damages

thereby caused, evidence of the prior and subse-

quent record of the business is admissible to

permit an intelligent and probable estimate of

R. App. 10

damages . . . But where a new business or enter-

prise is involved, the rule is not applicable for

the reason that such a business is a speculative

venture, the successful operating of which

depends upon future bargains, the status of the

market, and too many other contingencies to

furnish a safeguard in fixing the measure of

damages.”

(Emphasis added). Coastland Corp., 611 F.2d at 977. In fact,

the New Business Rule actually serves to encourage new

businesses. Fear of exposure to a damages claim arising

from an inventor’s own expectation of his product's

potential for success would chill companies like Western

from seeking to promote new products.

It is therefore not surprising that a number of courts

have recently reaffirmed the New Business Rule, and

refused to consider evidence of lost profits for a new

business. See, e.g. Stuart Park Associates Limited Partnership

v. Ameritech Pension Trust, 51 F.3d 1319, 1328 (7th Cir.

1995) (Illinois law); Hillside Enterprises v. Carlisle Corp., 69

F.3d 1410, 1413-1415 (8th Cir. 1995) (Oklahoma law);

Springwill Dispensers, Inc. v. Hall China Company, 204 Ga.

App. 245, 419 S.E.2d 112 (1992) (Georgia law); Center

Ridge Ganley, Inc. v. Stinn, 71 Ohio App. 3d 514, 594

N.E.2d 1064, 1070 (1991) (Ohio law); International Minerals

and Resources, Inc. v. Pappas, 761 F. Supp. 1069, 1079

(S.D.N.Y. 1991) (New York law); Murray, etc., et al. v.

Hadid, et al., 238 Va. 722, 385 S.E.2d 898, 905 (1989) (Vir-

ginia Law); In re Phoenix Restoration Specialists, Inc., 14

B.R. 115, 123-24 (Bkrptcy. Mass. 1981) (Massachusetts

law)

R. App. 11

2. Clever Endeavor was a new venture or a new

business.

Although MindGames incorporated in March 1988,

MindGames was clearly a new business in March of 1990

when it executed the License and joined forces with West-

ern and Games Gang. Consequently, MindGames, as a

“new business,” is subject to the repercussions of the

New Business Rule.

Blackwell asserts that he envisioned Clever Endeavor

when he incorporated MindGames in March 1988; how-

ever, MindGames did not decide to even market Clever

Endeavor until the spring of 1989, and it did not manufac-

ture and distribute the first wave of Clever Endeavor

games until September 1989. (See, Blackwell Dep. pp. 24,

107, 168-169). Four months after MindGames began to

distribute Clever Endeavor, Blackwell met with representa-

tives of Games Gang to discuss a joint venture. (See,

Blackwell Dep. pp. 192-193). These discussions culmi-

nated in the execution of the License in March 1990. In

total, MindGames marketed and sold Clever Endeavor

itself for less than a year before it joined forces with

Western and Games Gang, and it failed to achieve any

profit during that period of time. (See, Exhibit B; see also

MindGames’ 1988 income statement, a copy of which is

attached hereto as Exhibit G).

Under these circumstances, MindGames is clearly a

“new” business as a matter of law. See, e.g. McBraver v.

Teckla. Inc., 496 F2d 122 (5th Cir. 1974) (plaintiff not

entitled to lost profits in his breach of contract claim

because he was only in operation for 9 and a half months

prior to the contract and failed to achieve a profit during

R. App. 12

that time); Delhanty, et al. v. First Pennsylvania Bank, N.A.,

318 Pa. Super. 90, 464 A.2d 1243 (1983) (court held that

plaintiff company’s anticipated profits were too specula-

tive to sustain an award of damages because plaintiff had

only been in operation for seven months and had no

record of profitability).

MindGames may argue that it was an “established”

business at the time it executed the License, and, there-

fore, it is not subject to the New Business Rule. However,

such an assertion would be in vain.

MindGames had barely introduced Clever Endeavor to

the public before it executed the License and permitted

Western and Games Gang to exclusively manufacture,

market, sell and distribute Clever Endeavor. Moreover,

MindGames operated only at a loss prior to joining forces

with Western and Games Gang. (See, Exhibits B and G).

These traits are not characteristic of an “established”

business.

“An established business should be one that is

in actual operation long enough to give it per-

manency and recognition. It should be one that

has earned a profit which can reasonably be

ascertained and approximated . . . Proof of an

operation of a business at a loss fails to meet

this test.”

McBrayer, 496 F.2d at 128, quoting Atomic Fuel Extraction

Corporation v. Slick, 386 S.W.2d 180, 189 (Tex. Ct. Civ. App.

1964).

Additionally, Blackwell’s own admissions contradict

any claim that MindGames, whose sole product was

R. App. 13

Clever Endeavor, was not a “new” business. In his Septem-

ber 12, 1990 letter to Games Gang, Blackwell relayed his

concerns about the proposed television advertising cam-

paign for Clever Endeavor. Significantly, one of the reasons

he rejected the proposed commercial had to do with his

classification of Clever Endeavor as a new product:

“Furthermore, new products don’t benefit from

short duration commercials in the same way as

older, more established products do. New prod-

ucts need longer duration commercials in order

to gain the same consumer response.”

(Emphasis added) (A copy of Blackwell’s September 12,

1990 letter to Games Gang is attached hereto as Exhibit

H). Clearly, Blackwell himself still considered Clever

Endeavor to be a new product six months after the parties

executed the License. Consequently, MindGames will not

be able to avoid the New Business Rule’s preclusive effect

on its attempt to recover its alleged lost profits.

3. The success of a new product in the enter-

tainment industry is especially difficult to

predict.

Even if the Court were to question whether the

Arkansas Supreme Court would retreat from its across

the board application of the New Business Rule, there can

be no doubt that such a retreat would not be warranted

here. It is particularly appropriate to apply this rule in

the entertainment/consumer product industry where the

chances of success are next to impossible tu predict

because an entertainment product, such as an adult board

game is subject to the most subjective and unpredictable

R. App. 14

critic — the public. See, Proteus Books Ltd. v. Cherry Lane

Music Co, 873 F.2d 502, 510 (2nd Cir. 1989) (affirming

district court’s decision to vacate jury’s damages award

because, inter alia, inherent uncertainties of predicting

profits in the entertainment industry made prospective

sales of book publisher difficult, if not impossible, to

calculate); Kenford Co. v. County of Erie, 67 N.Y.2d 257, 493

N.E.2d 234, 236 (1986) (court found plaintiff’s evidence of

prospective profits of new stadium insufficient to support

any recovery for lost profits).

Among numerous other factors, the success of a

product in the entertainment industry is contingent on

many subjective factors including:

e the play value or enjoyment one obtains from

the product;

e the economy at the time the product is intro-

duced to the market;

e the number of similar products in the mar-

ket; and

e the cost of the product itself.

Mr. Blackwell himself has conceded that the game

industry is especially susceptible to the unique tastes of

the average consumer and unanticipated oscillations in

the marketplace. In his October 18, 1990 letter to Greta

Perry of the Gazette Newspapers in New York, Blackwell

attached Ms. Perry’s recent article on the game industry

and praised Ms. Perry’s “keen analysis” of what makes a

game successful. (A copy of Blackwell’s October 18, 1990

letter and the attached article by Ms. Perry is attached

hereto as Exhibit I). In Ms. Perry’s article, one industry

commentato: noted: “for every 1000 games that get

R. App. 15

invented, five make it to the shelf and maybe one of two

get a second year.” (Emphasis added) (See, Exhibit I).

Later, in his application to Harvard Business School in

1994, Blackwell himself acknowledged the difficulty of

marketing a successful game in the entertainment indus-

try when he admitted that:

“[building a successful game company and

licensing their first product] is a popular and

powerful dream, but unfortunately, too few

actually succeed. When one recalls the more

publicized failures of product introductions by

established corporations, I [Blackwell] believe

[MindGames’] accomplishment becomes more

substantial. The experience proved my [Black-

well’s] business and leadership skills in a hostile

and unforgiving market.” (See, p. 7 of Mr. Black-

well’s application to Harvard Business School, a

copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit J.)

Despite these long odds, Blackwell thought that

Clever Endeavor would be the “next Trivial Pursuit or

Pictionary,” (See, Exhibit F), and he was apparently disap-

pointed that Clever Endeavor fell short of his lofty expecta-

tions.2 However, Clever Endeavor’s limited success can be

2 Mr. Blackwell’s credibility on the issue of Clever

Endeavor’s purported lack of success is questionable at best.

Contrary to the allegations in MindGames’ complaint, Mr.

Blackwell repeatedly touted the “success” of Clever Endeavor.

For example, in his applications to Harvard and Stanford

business schools, Blackwell claims that Clever Endeavor was the

“most successful, independently published game in the [adult

game] industry for the four years following its introduction”

and the “most successful game introduced by an independent

game publisher in the past five years.” (see, Exhibit J at p. 7; see

also Mr. Blackwell’s application to Stanford Business School, a

R. App. 16

attributed to many factors independent of the alleged

manufacturing or advertising problems, including the fol-

lowing potential causes:

1. Clever Endeavor was one of the more expen-

sive adult games in the market (Blackwell

Dep. p. 98);

2. There were other similar adult board games q

on the market, including Anybody’s Guess, :

which were similar to Clever Endeavor

(Blackwell Dep. pp. 423-433);

3. Despite Western’s advice, Blackwell rejected

television advertising in favor of radio

advertising (Blackwell Dep. pp. 361, 369-370,

378, 386-392; see also Blackwell’s September

12, 1990 letter to Dave Gillies at Games

Gang regarding the effectiveness of radio

advertising, a copy of which was previously

attached hereto as Exhibit H);

4. Clever Endeavor’s first full year in the mar-

ketplace, 1990, was a “rotten” year for the 4

game industry as a whole (See, Blackwell’s .

January 9, 1991 letter to Mary Mellor at

Games Gang, a copy of which is attached §

hereto as Exhibit N); and

ony ban

copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit K, and Mr.

Blackwell’s June 6, 1994 letter to the Harvard Business School, a

copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit L.) Moreover, in his

September 7, 1990 letter to Games Gang, Blackwell states:

“Thanks for your terrific support. You’re the reason for Clever

Endeavor’s cuccess.” (Emphasis added) (A copy of the September

7, 1990 letter is attached hereto as Exhibit M.)

R. App. 17

5. The play value of the game itself, which may

not have appealed to consumers to the

degree Mr. Blackwell hoped.

The aforementioned facts are just a few of the many

reasons that Clever Endeavor did not become the next

Trivial Pursuit or Pictionary. It is the nature of the enter-

tainment industry itself, as well as common sense, which

necessarily dictate that one cannot point to a single factor

which caused Clever Endeavor to fail to achieve. the suc-

cess MindGames now claims it expected.

The Eight Circuit Court’s opinion in Hillside Enter-

prises illustrates the rationale and application of the New

Business Rule in the entertainment/consumer product

industry. In Hillside Enterprises, a wine marketer (“Hill-

side”) sued a disposable wine manufacturer (“Carlisle”)

for breach of contract after the manufacturer failed to

properly manufacture and ship the required number of

Hillside’s new product — disposable plastic wine glasses

with fliptop lids Hillside alleged that it could not fill its

first, and only, large order for 30,000 glasses, and that its

“wine-in-a-glass” venture lost substantial profits and

ceased operations as a result of Carlisle’s failure to ade-

quately manufacture the new product.

At trial, Hillside attempted to introduce evidence of

its future sales from wine glasses which had not yet been

ordered. The district court, however, refused to admit this

evidence because it was too speculative, and Hillside

appealed. On appeal, the Eight Circuit court affirmed the

district court’s ruling, and expressly noted that lost

profits are highly speculative and are generally not

allowed as damages where a new business or product are

at issue. Hillside Enterprises, 69 F.3d at 1414. Moreover, the

R. App. 18

court found that Hillside’s product could have failed for

reasons independent of the problems with the glasses,

such as the cost of the product or consumers’ failure to

find the convenience of packaged wine more important

than the price and quality of the wine. Id. For these

reasons, the appellate court upheld the district court's

decision to only allow evidence of lost profits from Hill-

side’s one confirmed order for 30,000 glasses, which Hill-

side was unable to fulfill because of Carlisle’s breach. Id.

Unlike the plaintiff in Hillside Enterprises, Mind-

Games does not even allege that it lost profits as a result

of Western’s failure to fulfill a specific sales order or that

Western otherwise failed to pay MindGames its royalties

for Clever Endeavor games previously sold by Western.

Rather, MindGames only seeks profits from the uncertain

or future sales of Clever Endeavor which it allegedly lost

due to Western’s breach of the License. Without being

able to determine the “cause,” MindGames cannot possi-

bly be able to demonstrate the “effect” (i.e., lost profits)

with any reasonable certainty. Consequently, this court

should strictly apply the New Business Rule, as the

Supreme Court of Arkansas did in Marvell Light & Ice Co.,

and prohibit MindGames’ recovery of all its alleged lost

profits as a matter of law.

3 As a result of the unpredictable nature of the

entertainment industry, it is not surprising that other parties

similarly situated to MindGames have also been unable to

recover the alleged lost profits of their new businesses. See, e.g.,

Proteus Books Ltd. v. Cherry Lane Music Co., supra; National

Controls v. National Semiconductor, 833 F.2d 491 (3rd Cir. 1987)

(buyer of microprocessor units failed to sustain burden of

proving under Pennsylvania law that seller’s breaches were

Sepethanaiidlahencea ade Pek —

R. App. 19

4. MinaGames has no history of past profits.

Even if the court were to reject a strict application of

the New Business Rule, this court should still grant West-

ern’s motion for partial summary judgment because

MindGames has no history of past profits.

In addition to the inherent difficulties of predicting

the success of a new entertainment product, MindGames

faces the additional burden of demonstrating its alleged

lost profits without any prior history of profitability. It is

undisputed that MindGames will not be able to introduce

evidence of its profits prior to the alleged breach of the

License committed by Western because MindGames

failed to achieve any profit in 1988 or 1989. (See, Exhibits

B and G). Without any evidence of past profits, antici-

pated profits often cannot be recovered regardless of

whether the damaged party was a new business. See, Rich

v. Eastman Kodak Company, 583 F.2d 435, 437 (8th Cir.

1978) (plaintiff company unable to recover its anticipated

profits because it was not making a profit before prob-

lems developed with the product); Empire Shoe Company v.

proximate cause of buyer’s alleged loss of profits on sale of

telephones to third party, and, therefore, buyer not entitled to

damages for lost profits); Handi Caddy, Inc. v. American Home

Products Corp., 557 F.2d 136 (8th Cir. 1977) (8th Circuit Court

reduced jury’s damages award for lost profits because evidence

in action to recover for breach of contract to advertise new

product on pizza packages failed to support recovery of lost

profits awarded by jury.); Murray, etc. et. al v. Hadid, et. al., supra

(affirming trial court’s decision to set aside jury’s award of lost

profits because evidence of new enterprise’s lost profits

depended upon too many contingencies to safeguard an

estimate of damages); Kenford Co., Inc. v. County of Erie, supra.

R. App. 20

Nico Industries, Inc., 197 Ga. App. 411, 414, 398 S.E.2d 440, ~

443 (1990) (granting defendant summary judgment on the

issue of lost profits because plaintiff could not produce

any evidence regarding past net profits); see also Keener v.

Sizzler Family Steak Houses, 597 F.2d 453, 459 (Sth Cir. 1979).

Consequently, without such evidence of past profits,

MindGames will lack a reliable basis to demonstrate its

alleged lost profits with any reasonable certainty.

V. CONCLUSION

For all the aforementioned reason, Western respect-

fully requests that this Court grant its motion for partial

summary judgment and find that MindGames cannot

recover its alleged lost profits as a matter of law.

Dated: May 17, 1996

/s/ Richard Saldinger

On Of The Attorneys For

Western Publishing Company, Inc.

Of Counsel:

Wendi Sloane Weitman

Richard A. Saldinger

BARACK, FERRAZZANO, KIRSCHBAUM & PERLMAN

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2700

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 984-3100

Andrew O. Riteris

MICHAEL, BEST & FRIEDRICH

100 East Wisconsin Avenue

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53202

(414) 271-6560

R. App. 21

United States Court of Appeals

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

JUDGMENT - WITH ORAL ARGUMENT

Date: June 22, 2000

BEFORE: Honorable RICHARD A. POSNER,

Chief Judge

Honorable THOMAS E. FAIRCHILD,

Circuit Judge

Honorable DIANE P. WOOD, Circuit Judge

No. 98-1879

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INCORPORATED,

Plaintiff-Appellee

V.

MINDGAMES, INCORPORATED,

Defendant-Appellant

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Wisconsin

No. 94 C 552, Lynn Adelman, Judge

The judgment of the District Court is AFFIRMED,

with costs, in accordance with the decision of this court

entered on this date.

(1061-110393)

R. App. 22

In the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

No. 98-1879

MinpGames, INc.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

WESTERN PusBLISHING CompPANy, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Wisconsin.

Nos. 94-C-552, 94-C-998 - Lynn S. Adelman, Judge.

Arcuep Aprit 17, 2000 -— Decipep June 22, 2000

Before Posner, Chief Judge, and Faircuttp and Diane P.

Woop, Circuit Judges.

Posner, Chief Judge. This is a diversity suit for breach

of contract, governed by Arkansas law because of a

choice of law provision in the contract. The plaintiff,

MindGames, was formed in March of 1988 by Larry

Blackwell to manufacture and sell an adult board game,

“Clever Endeavor,” that he had invented. The first games

were shipped in the fall of 1989 and by the end of the

year, 75 days later, 30,000 had been sold. In March of

1990, MindGames licensed the game to the defendant,

R. App. 23

Western, a major marketer of games. Western had mar-

keted the very successful adult board games “Trivial Pur-

suit” and “Pictionary” and thought “Clever Endeavor”

might be as successful. The license contract, on which this

suit is premised, required Western to pay MindGames a

15 percent royalty on all games sold. The contract was by

its terms to remain in effect until the end of January of

1993, or for another year if before then Western paid

MindGames at least $1.5 million in the form of royalties

due under the contract or otherwise, and for subsequent

years as well if Western paid an annual renewal fee of

$300,000.

During the first year of the contract, Western sold

165,000 copies of “Clever Endeavor” and paid Mind-

Games $600,000 in royalties. After that, sales fell precipi-

tously ‘(though we're not told by how much) but the

parties continued under the contract through January 31,

1994, though Western did not pay the $900,000 ($1.5

million minus $600,000) that the contract would have

required it to pay in order to be entitled to extend the

contract for a year after its expiration. In February of 1994

the parties finally parted. Later that year MindGames

brought this suit, which seeks $900,000, plus lost royalties

of some $40 million that MindGames claims it would

have earned had not Western failed to carry out the

promotional obligations that the contract imposed on it,

plus $300,000 on the theory that Western renewed the

contract for a third year, beginning in February of 1994;

Western sold off its remaining inventory of “Clever

Endeavor” in that year.

The district court granted summary judgment for

Western, holding that the contract did not entitle

R. App. 24

MindGames to a renewal fee and that Arkansas’s “new

business” rule barred any recovery of lost profits. 944

F.Supp. 754 (E.D.Wis.1996); 995 F.Supp. 949

(E.D.Wis.1998). Although the victim of a breach of con-

tract is entitled to nominal damages, Mason v. Russen-

berger, 542 S.W.2d 745 (Ark. 1976); Movitz v. First Nat.

Bank of Chicago, 148 F.3d 760, 765 (7th Cir. 1998); E. Allan

Farnsworth, Contracts § 12.8, p. 784 (3d ed.1999), Mind-

Games does not seek them; and so if it is not entitled to

either type of substantial damages that it seeks, judgment

was correctly entered for Western. By not seeking nomi-

nal damages, incidentally, MindGames may have lost a

chance to obtain significant attorneys’ fees, to which

Arkansas law entitles a prevailing party in a breach of

contract case. See Dawson v. Temps Plus, Inc., 987 S.W.2d

722, 729 (Ark. 1999).

The rejection of MindGames’ claim to the renewal fee

for the second year (and a fortiori the third) was clearly

correct. The contract conditioned Western’s right to

renew the contract for a second year on its paying a

renewal fee of $1.5 million (minus royalties already paid);

it was silent on the terms of a renewal adopted by a new

agreement of the parties rather than by the exercise of an

option granted by the original contract. If MindGames

hadn’t wanted to renew the contract and Western had

insisted, then Western would have had to pay the fee. But

if Western did not invoke a contractual right to renew, if

instead the parties entered into a new agreement to

renew the contract, then MindGames had no right to the

renewal fee fixed in the contract; that right was condi-

tional on Western’s exercising its contractual right to

renew. A conditional right in a contract does not become

R. App. 25

an enforceable right until the condition occurs, Restate-

ment (Second) of Contracts § 225(1) (1981), unless noncom-

pliance with the condition is excused by agreement, Uebe

v. Bowman, 420 S.W.2d 889 (Ark. 1967); Normand v. Orkin

Exterminating Co., 193 F.3d 908, 912 (7th Cir. 1999), or by

operation of law, Farnsworth, supra § 8.3, p. 526, as where

the other party to the contract wrongfully prevents the

condition from occurring, id., § 8.6, pp. 544-45; Restate-

ment, supra, § 225, comment b, which is not alleged, for

Western had no duty to exercise its right of renewal. The

condition that would have entitled MindGames to

demand a renewal fee thus did not occur here; Western

did not invoke its contractual right to extend the contract;

after January 31, 1993, the parties were operating under a

new contract.

The more difficult issue is MindGames’ right to

recover lost profits for Western’s alleged breach of its

duty to promote “Clever Endeavor.” A minority of states

have or purport to have a rule barring a new business, as

distinct from an established one, from obtaining damages

for lost profits as a result of a tort or a breach of contract.

E.g., Lockheed Information Management Systems Co. v. Max-

imus, Inc., 524 S.E.2d 420, 429-30 (Va. 2000); Bell Atlantic

Network Services, Inc. v. P.M. Video Corp., 730 A.2d 406,

419-20 (N.J. Super. 1999); Interstate Development Services of

Lake Park, Georgia, Inc. v. Patel, 463 S.E.2d 516 (Ga. App.

1995); Stuart Park Associates Limited Partnership v. Ameri-

tech Pension Trust, 51 F.3d 1319, 1328 (7th Cir. 1995) (Illi-

nois law); Bernadette J. Bollas, Note, “The New Business

Rule and the Denial of Lost Profits,” 48 Ohio St. L.J. 855,

859 & n. 32 (1987). The rule of Hadley v. Baxendale, 9 Ex.

341, 156 Eng. Rep. 145 (1854), often prevents the victim of

f oer.

fees

hh Pe a eae

A EN CE ES RS TG LO AA LAS APE E SEIN ET WS S * .

ORR A LEI: ee ET Bite ei tS

Pe OEE YBN tO a OREN! RAT nie?

R. App. 26 ‘

a breach of contract from obtaining lost profits, but that

rule is not invoked here. Neither the “new business” rule

nor the rule of Hadley v. Baxendale stands for the general

proposition that lost profits are never a recoverable item

of damages in a tort or breach of contract case.

Arkansas is said to be one of the “new business” rule

states on the strength of a case decided by the state’s

supreme court many years ago. The appellants in Marvell

Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 259 S.W. 741 (Ark.

1924), sought to recover the profits that they claimed to

have lost as a result of a five and a half month delay in

the delivery of icemaking machinery; the delay, the

appellants claimed, had forced them to delay putting

their ice factory into operation. The court concluded,

however, that because there was no indication “that the

manufacture and sale of ice by appellants was an estab-

lished business so that proof of the amount lost on

account of the delay . . . might be made with reasonable

certainty,” “the anticipated profits of the new business

are too remote, speculative, and uncertain to support a

judgment for their loss.” It quoted an earlier decision in

which another court had said that “he who is prevented

from embarking in [sic - must mean ‘on’] a new business

can recover no profits, because there are no provable data

of past business from which the fact that anticipated

profits would have been realized can be legally

deduced.” Central Coal & Coke Co. v. Hartman, 111 Fed. 96,

99 (8th Cir. 1901). That quotation is taken to have made

Arkansas a “new business” state, although the rest of the

Marvell opinion indicates that the court was concerned

that the anticipated profits of the particular new business

at issue, rather than of every new business, were too

R. App. 27

speculative to support an award of damages. On its facts,

moreover, Marvell was a classic Hadley v. Baxendale type of

case — in fact virtually a rerun of Hadley, except that the

appellants alleged that they had notified the seller of the

icemaking machinery of the damages that they would

suffer if delivery was delayed, and the seller had agreed

to be liable for those damages. The decision is puzzling in

light of that allegation; it is doubly puzzling because,

assuming that by the time of the trial the ice factory was

up and running, it should not have been difficult to

compute the damages that the appellants had lost by

virtue of the five and a half month delay in placing the

factory in operation. Presumably it would have had five

and a half months of additional profits.

Marvell has never been overruled; and federal courts

ordinarily take a nonoverruled decision of the highest

court of the state whose law governs a controversy by

virtue of the applicable choice of law rule to be conclu-

sive on the law of the state. E.g., Milwaukee Metropolitan

Sewerage District v. Fidelity & Deposit Co., 56 F.3d 821, 823

(7th Cir. 1995); C_& B Sales & Service, Inc. v. McDonald, 111

F.3d 27, 29 n. 1 (5th Cir. 1997); New York Life Ins. Co. v. KN

Energy, Inc., 80 F.3d 405, 409 (10th Cir. 1996). But this is a

matter of practice or presumption, not of rule. The rule is

that in a case in federal court in which state law provides

the rule of decision, the federal court must predict how

the state’s highest court would decide the case, and

decide it the same way. Treco, Inc. v. Land of Lincoln

Savings & Loan, 749 F.2d 374, 377 (7th Cir. 1984); New

Hampshire Ins. Co. v. Vieira, 930 F.2d 696, 701 (9th Cir.

1991); 19 Charles Alan Wright, Arthur R. Miller &

Edward H. Cooper, Federal Practice and Procedure § 4507,

R. App. 28

pp. 126-50 (2d ed.1996). Law, Holmes said, in a controver-

sial definition that is, however, a pretty good summary of

how courts apply the law of other jurisdictions, is just a

prediction of what the courts of that jurisdiction would

do with the case if they got their hands on it. Oliver

Wendell Holmes, “The Path of the Law,” 10 Harv. L.Rev.

457, 461 (1897). Since state courts like federal courts do

occasionally overrule their decisions, there will be occa-

sional, though rare, instances in which the best prediction

of what the state’s highest court will do is that it will not

follow its previous decision. See, e.g., Burgess v. Lowery,

201 F.3d 942, 948 (7th Cir. 2000); Treco, Inc. v. Land of

Lincoln Savings & Loan, supra, 749 F.2d at 377; Lightning

Lube, Inc. v. Witco Corp., 4 F.3d 1153, 1176 (3d Cir. 1993);

19 Wright, Miller & Cooper, supra, § 4507, pp. 141-49.

That is the best prediction in this case. Marvell was

decided more than three quarters of a century ago, and

the “new business” rule which it has been thought to

have announced has not been mentioned in a published

Arkansas case since. The opinion doesn’t make a lot of

sense on its facts, as we have seen, and the Eighth Circuit

case on which it relied has long been superseded in that

circuit. See, e.g., Central Telecommunications, Inc. v. TCI

Cablevision, Inc., 800 F.2d 711, 727-28 (8th Cir. 1986). The

Arkansas cases decided since Marvell that deal with dam-

ages issues exhibit a liberal approach to the estimation of

damages that is inconsistent with a flat rule denying

damages for lost profits to all businesses that are not well

established. Jim Halsey Co. v. Bonar, 683 S.W.2d 898, 902-03

(Ark. 1985); Tremco, Inc. v. Valley Aluminum Products Corp.,

831 S.W.2d 156, 158 (Ark. App. 1992); Ozark Gas Transmis-

sion Systems v. Barclay, 662 S.W.2d 188, 192 (Ark. App.

R. App. 29

1983); J.W. Looney, “The ‘New Business Rule’ and Breach

of Contract Claims for Lost Profits: Playing MindGames

with Arkansas Law,” 1997 Ark. L. Notes 43, 46-47. The

Ozark decision, for example, allowed an orchard farmer

to recover for the damages to a new orchard. The “new

business” rule has, moreover, been abandoned in most

states that once followed it, e.g., Beverly Hills Concepts,

Inc. v. Schatz & Schatz, Ribicoff & Kotkin, 717 A.2d 724,

733-35 (Conn. 1998); AGF, Inc. v. Great Lakes Heat Treating

Co., 555 N.E.2d 634, 637-39 (Ohio 1990); No Ka Oi Corp. v.

National 60 Minute Tune, Inc., 863 P.2d 79, 81-82 (Wash.

App. 1993); Orchid Software, Inc. v. Prentice-Hall, Inc., 804

S.W.2d 208, 210-11 (Tex.App.1991); Beck v. Clarkson, 387

S.E.2d 681, 683-84 (S.C.App.1989); see also McNamara v.

Wilmington Mall Realty Corp, 466 S.E.2d 324, 330

(N.C.App.1996); International Telepassport Corp. v. USFI,

Inc., 89 F.3d 82, 85-86 (2d Cir. 1996) (per curiam) (New

York law); Restatement, supra, § 352, comment b, and it

seems to retain little vitality even in states like Virginia,

which purport to employ the hard-core per se approach.

See Commercial Business Systems, Inc. v. Bellsouth Services,

Inc., 453 S.E.2d 261, 268-69 (Va. 1995); see generally Eljer

Mfg., Inc. v. Kowin Development Corp., 14 F.3d 1250, 1256

(7th Cir. 1994).

Western tries to distinguish Ozark by pointing to the

fact that the plaintiff there was an established orchard

farmer, albeit the particular orchard represented a new

venture for him. This effort to distinguish that case brings

into view the primary objection to the “new business”

rule, an objection of such force as to explain its decline

and make it unlikely that Arkansas would follow it if the

eeillindinieanieeientiem antinori

R. App. 30

occasion for its supreme court to choose arose. The objec-

tion has to do with the difference between rule and stan-

dard as methods of legal governance. A rule singles out

one or a few facts and makes it or them conclusive of

legal liability; a standard permits consideration of all or

at least most facts that are relevant to the standard’s

rationale. A speed limit is a rule; negligence is a standard.

Rules have the advantage of being definite and of limit-

ing factual inquiry but the disadvantage of being inflex-

ible, even arbitrary, and thus overinclusive, or of being

underinclusive and thus opening up loopholes (or of

being both over- and underinclusive!). Standards are flex-

ible, but vague and open-ended; they make business

planning difficult, invite the sometimes unpredictable

exercise of judicial discretion, and are more costly to

adjudicate - and yet when based on lay intuition they

may actually be more intelligible, and thus in a sense

clearer and more precise, to the persons whose behavior

they seek to guide than rules would be. No sensible

person supposes that rules are always superior to stan-

dards, or vice versa, though some judges are drawn to the

definiteness of rules and others to the flexibility of stan-

dards. But that is psychology; the important point is that

some activities are better governed by rules, others by

standards. States that have rejected the “new business”

rule are content to control the award of damages for lost

profits by means of a standard - damages may not be

awarded on the basis of wild conjecture, they must be

proved to a reasonable certainty, e.g., Beverly Hills Con-

cepts, Inc. v. Schatz & Schatz, Ribicoff & Kotkin, supra, 717

A.2d at 733-34; AGF, Inc. v. Great Lakes Heat Treating Co.,

supra, 555 N.E.2d at 638-39 — that is applicable to proof of

R. App. 31

damages generally. See, e.g., Jones Motor Co. v. Holtkamp,

Liese, Beckemeier & Childress, P.C., 197 F.3d 1190, 1194-95

(7th Cir. 1999), and cases cited there; Ashland Management

Inc. v. Janien, 624 N.E.2d 1007, 1010 (N.Y.1993); Restate-

ment, supra, § 352. The “new business” rule is an attempt

now widely regarded as failed to control the award of

such damages by means of a rule.

The rule doesn’t work because it manages to be at

once vague and arbitrary. One reason is that the facts that

it makes determinative, “new,” “business,” and “profits,”

are not facts, but rather are the conclusions of a reasoning

process that is based on the rationale for the rule and that

as a result turns the rule into an implicit standard. What,

for example, is a “new” business? What, for that matter,

is a “business”? And are royalties what the rule means by

“profits”? MindGames was formed more than a year

before it signed the license agreement with Western, and

it sold 30,000 games in the six months between the first

sales and the signing of the contract. MindGames’ only

“business,” moreover, was the licensing of intellectual

property. An author who signs a contract with a pub-

lisher for the publication of his book would not ordinarily

be regarded as being engaged in a “business,” or his

royalties or advance described as “profits.” He would be

surprised to learn that if he sued for unpaid royalties he

could not get them because his was a “new business.”

Suppose a first-time author sued a publisher for an

accounting, and the only issue was how many copies the

publisher had sold. Under the “new business” rule as

construed by Western, the author could not recover his

lost royalties even though there was no uncertainty about

what he had lost. So construed and applied, the rule

R. App. 32

would have no relation to its rationale, which is to pre-

vent the award of speculative damages.

Western goes even further, arguing that even if it,

Western, a well-established firm, were the plaintiff, it

could not recover its lost profits because the sale of

“Clever Endeavor” was a new business. On this construal

of the rule, “business” does not mean the enterprise; it

means any business activity. So Western’s sale of a new

game is a new business, yet we know from the Ozark

decision that an orchard farmer’s operation of a new

orchard is an old business.

The rule could be made sensible by appropriate defi-

nition of its terms, but we find it hard to see what would

be gained, given the existence of the serviceable and

familiar standard of excessive speculativeness. The rule

may have made sense at one time; the reduction in deci-

sion costs and uncertainty brought about by avoiding a

speculative mire may have swamped the increased social

costs resulting from the systematically inadequate dam-

ages that a “new business” rule decrees. But today the

courts have become sufficiently sophisticated in analyz-

ing lost-earnings claims, and have accumulated sufficient

precedent on the standard of undue speculativeness in

damages awards, to make the balance of costs and bene-

fits tip against the rule. In any event we are far in this

case, in logic as well as time, from the ice factory whose

opening was delayed by the General Electric Company.

We greatly doubt that there is a “new business” rule in

the common law of Arkansas today, but if there is it

surely does not extend so far beyond the facts of the only

case in which the rule was ever invoked to justify its

R. App. 33

invocation here. There is no authority for, and no com-

mon sense appeal to, such an extension.

But that leaves us with the question of undue spec-

ulation in estimating damages. Abrogation of the “new

business” rule does not produce a free-for-all. What

makes MindGames’ claim of lost royalties indeed dubious

is not any “new business” rule but the fact that the

success of a board game, like that of a book or movie, is

so uncertain. Here newness enters into judicial consider-

ation of the damages claim not as a rule but as a factor in

applying the standard. Just as a start-up company should

not be permitted to obtain pie-in-the-sky damages upon

allegations that it was snuffed out before it could begin to

operate (untike the ice factory in Marvell, which did begin

production, albeit a little later than planned), capitalizing

fantasized earnings into a huge present value sought as

damages, so a novice writer should not be permitted to

obtain damages from his publisher on the premise that

but for the latter’s laxity he would have had a bestseller,

when only a tiny fraction of new books achieve that

success. Damages must be proved, and not just dreamed,

though “some degree of speculation is permissible in

computing damages, because reasonable doubts as to

remedy ought to be resolved against the wrongdoer.”

Jones Motor Co. v. Holtkamp, Liese, Beckemeier & Childress,

P.C., supra, 197 F.3d at 1194; see Restatement, supra, § 352,

comment a. .

This is not to suggest that damages for lost earnings

on intellectual property can never be recovered; that

“entertainment damages” are not recoverable in breach of

contract cases. That would just be a variant of the dis-

credited “new business” rule. What is important is that

SE ADO ORIN testis nM ae

R. App. 34

Blackwell had no track record when he created “Clever

Endeavor.” He could not point to other games that he had

invented and that had sold well. He was not in the

position of the bestselling author who can prove from his

past success that his new book, which the defendant

failed to promote, would have been likely - not certain, of

course — to have enjoyed a success comparable to that of

the average of his previous books if only it had been

promoted as promised. That would be like a case of a

new business launched by an entrepreneur with a proven

track record.

In the precontract sales period and the first year of

the contract a total of 195,000 copies of “Clever

Endeavor” were sold; then sales fizzled. The public is

fickle. It is possible that if Western had marketed the

game more vigorously, more would have been sold, but

an equally if not more plausible possibility is that the

reason that Western didn’t market the game more vigor-

ously was that it correctly sensed that demand had dried

up.

Even if that alternative is rejected, we do not see how

the number of copies that would have been sold but for

the alleged breach could be determined given the evi-

dence presented in the summary judgment proceedings

(a potentially important qualification, of course); and so

MindGames’ proof of damages is indeed excessively

speculative. See, e.g., Gentry v. Little Rock Road Machinery

Co., 339 S.W.2d 101, 104 (Ark. 1960); Hillside Enterprises v.

Carlisle Corp., 69 F.3d 1410, 1414 (8th Cir. 1995); K & R,

Inc. v. Crete Storage Corp., 231 N.W.2d 110, 115 (Neb.

1975); see also AGF, Inc. v. Great Lakes Heat Treating Co.,

R. App. 35

supra, 555 N.E.2d at 640. Those proceedings were com-

pleted with no evidence having been presented from

which a rational trier of fact could conclude on this record

that some specific quantity, or for that matter some broad

but bounded range of alternative estimates, of copies of

“Clever Endeavor” would have been sold had Western

honored the contract. MindGames obtained $600,000 in

royalties on sales of 165,000 copies of the game, implying

that Western would have had to sell more than 10 million

copies to generate the $40 million in lost royalties that

MindGames seeks to recover. Cf. Boxhorn’s Big Muskego

Gun Club, Inc. v. Electrical Workers Local 494, 798 F.2d 1016,

1023 (7th Cir. 1986).

When the breach occurred, MindGames should have

terminated the contract and sought distribution by other

means. See Farnsworth, supra, § 12.12, pp. 806-08. The fact

that it did not do so - that so far as appears it has made

no effort to market “Clever Endeavor” since the market

for the game collapsed in 1991 — is telling evidence of a

lack of commercial promise unrelated to Western’s con-

duct.

Although Western in its brief in this court spent most

of its time misguidedly defending the “new business”

tule, clinging to Marvell for dear life (a case seemingly on

point, however vulnerable, is a security blanket that no

lawyer feels comfortable without), it did argue that in

any event MindGames’ claim for lost royalties was too

speculative to ground an award of damages for that loss.

The argument was brief but not so brief as to fail to put

MindGames on notice of a possible alternative ground for

upholding the district court’s judgment; we may of

course affirm an award of summary judgment on any

ABER SRNR OA hae oe

R. App. 36

ground that has not been forfeited or waived in the

district court. United States v. Jackson, 207 F.3d 910, 917

(7th Cir. 2000). MindGames did not respond to the argu-

ment in its reply brief. It pointed to no evidence from

which lost royalties could be calculated to even a rough

approximation. We find its silence eloquent and West-

ern’s argument compelling, and so the judgment in favor

of Western is

AFFIRMED.

FairRcHILD, Circuit Judge, dissenting in part.

I agree that (1) MindGames’ claim for a renewal fee

for the year following the initial term of the Licensing

Agreement was properly dismissed, and (2) we are not

bound by Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 259

S.W. 741 (Ark. 1924) to affirm the dismissal of M:nd-

Games’ claim for loss of royalties caused by breach of

contract. I do, however, respectfully disagree with the

conclusion that, as a matter of law, that claim is too

speculative to support an award of damages.

This was never a claim in which MindGames sought

to recover lost profits from the operation of a business.

The damages sought would be measured by the royalties

which Western would have been obliged to pay on sales

which did not occur because of Western’s alleged failure

to perform its contract. Western’s obligation to pay roy-

alties arose from the sales of games manufactured, pro-

moted and sold by it, and whether MindGames showed a

profit, as well as MindGames’ lack of history, was wholly

R. App. 37

irrelevant. The ultimate questions would be whether

there was a breach by Western and whether the breach

caused a loss of sales.

Sales did not meet expectations. In the period from

March 30, 1990 to January 31, 1991, 165,000 games were

sold; in the year ending January 31, 1992, 58,113; in the

year ending January 31, 1993, 26,394; and in the year after

the initial term, 7,438. The sales in the initial term totaled

approximately $4,000,000 and royalties $600,000. Soon

after January 31, 1993, Western was sufficiently interested

in continuing as licensee to agree to pay a minimum

royalty of $27,500 for the coming year. MindGames’ com-

plaint alleged that a substantial number of games pro-

duced by Western failed to meet quality standards;

Western failed to promote and make reasonable efforts to

sell; and its efforts did not meet standards under the

agreement or those recognized in the industry. It is Mind-

Games’ position that these failures caused loss of sales.

Western’s motion for partial summary judgment was

premised on the new business rule which Western per-

ceived as announced in Marvell, and the district court

granted the motion on that basis. If, as we all agree,

Marvell does not control this case, then the applicable

Arkansas doctrine is that MindGames is entitled to

recover any royalties on sales which MindGames can

prove to a reasonable certainty would have been made

had Western carried out the contract. The rule that dam-

ages which are uncertain cannot be recovered does not

apply to uncertainty as to the value of the benefits to be

derived, but to uncertainty as to whether any benefit

would be derived at all. Jim Halsey Co., Inc. v. Bonar, 284

|

ON ne omen nN URAC oa wer marnent s vee

R. App. 38

Ark. 461, 467-68 (Ark. 1985); Crow v. Russell, 226 Ark. 121,

123 (Ark. 1956).

In my opinion we cannot say on this record, as a

matter of law, that MindGames can not [sic] prove to a

reasonable certainty that Western’s failures to perform, if

proved, caused a loss of sales.

I would not hold that MindGames has waived or

forfeited its opportunity to produce evidence of damages.

It is true that in responding to Western’s motion for

partial summary judgment MindGames did not provide

evidentiary material tending to show the breaches by

Western nor that such breaches caused a loss of sales.

This should not be deemed a waiver or forfeiture of an

opportunity to do so because of Western’s complete

reliance in its motion on the new business rule and Mar-

vell, which, if applied, would prevent proof of breach and

causation of loss. Western’s motion did not reach the

issue of breach, and establishing damages would require

MindGames to prove that the breach occurred and caused

loss of sales. Although Western, in its memorandum in

support of its motion did include a section making the

point that the success of a new product in the entertain-

ment industry is especially difficult to predict, it used

that point to support an argument that the new business

rule was particularly appropriate in this case, and that

the Arkansas Supreme Court would be unlikely to retreat

from the new business rule under circumstances like

these. Western did not squarely assert, as an alternative

ground, that MindGames could not prove to a reasonable

certainty that any breach by Western caused loss of sales.

Rather, Western urged that the district court should

strictly apply the new business rule.

R. App. 39

In this court, Western again relied on Marvell and the

new business rule, also arguing, as it had in the district

court, that this type of case, involving a new product in

the entertainment industry, is not one where the

Arkansas Supreme Court would retreat from its applica-

tion of the new business rule. Although at pages 30-32 of

its brief it asserted the inherently speculative nature of a

claim for lost profits in the entertainment industry, and

cited cases, it failed squarely to assert, as an alternative

ground, that its alleged failures to perform, if proved,

could not have been proved to a reasonable certainty to

have caused lost sales. On page 5 of its reply brief,

MindGames referred to pages 29-32 of Western’s brief,

and challenged as contrary to Arkansas law “non-

Arkansas cases [cited by Western] in arguing that busi-

nesses in the entertainment industry are barred per se

from. claiming lost profits.” Again I do not think it is

appropriate to rely on waiver or forfeiture.

I would remand for further proceedings on this part

of MindGames’ complaint.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States

Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit

R. App. 40

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

Appeal No. 98-1879

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellee-Respondent,

v. No. 94-C-552

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellant-Petitioner

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant-Petitioner,

V. No. 94-C-998

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.,

Deferidant-Appellee-Respondent.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Wisconsin,

The Honorable Robert W. Warren, followed by

The Honorable Lynn S. Adelman, Presiding

PETITION FOR REHEARING AND REHEARING

EN BANC AND SUPPORTING APPENDIX

E. Campion Kersten

Matthew T. Fricker

Attorneys for the Appellant

R. App. 41

KERSTON & McKINNON, S.C.

231 West Wisconsin Avenue, Suite 1200

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Telephone: (414) 271-0054

Fax: (414) 271-7131

Appeal No. 98-1879

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Short Caption: MindGames, Inc.

v. Western Publishing Co., Inc.

The undersigned, counsel of record for the appellant,

MindGames, Inc., furnishes the following information in

compliance with Fed. R. App. P. 26.1.

1. The full name of the appellant: MindGames,

Inc.

2. Parent Corporation: None

3. Subsidiaries and Affiliates: None

4. The names of all law firms appearing for the

appelant in this action:

Kersten & McKinnon, S.C.

231 West Wisconsin Avenue

Suite 1200

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Dated: July 6, 2000

/s/ E. Campion Kersten

E. Campion Kersten

KERSTEN & McKINNON, S.C.

231 West Wisconsin Avenue

Suite 1200

Milwaukee, Wisconsin 53203

Telephone: (414) 271-0054

Fax: (414) 271-7131

R. App. 42

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTOR vikc cc tkkccosuscckceee ii

eo TEL Se er Dumee re teat ry Ter Sy. 1

Ape ....g oe ee eee 1

I. The Majority Misapprehended the District

Court Record When it Assumed Western

Argued MindGames Would Be Unable to Rea-

sonably Estimate Sales of Clever Endeavor Lost

Due to Western’s Breach .........cscccccceees 1

II. The Majority Decision Conflicts with Authority

From This Court Prohibiting Affirming Sum-

mary Judgment on a Ground Not Raised in the

Dinithct Cognit. ccc dveciesnexnpeeeramenees 5

III. MindGames Did Not Waive Its Right to Prove

Lows Of Fated PO ccc occu cincedesndnaenten 6

IV. The Majority Opinion Conflicts with Supreme

Court Summary Judgment Precedent by Improp-

erly Drawing Controlling Inferences Against

i errrrrrorra TTT or Tere or re 8

V. The Majority Opinion Wrongly Deprived Mind-

Games of the Chance to Recover Even Nominal

Damages and the Attorney Fees Recoverable

under Arkansas Law and by Contract Based on

a Misapprehension of MindGames’ Complaint

and Applicable Procedural Rules ............. 11

CRTC RATS 5 6.056 bs da vkadapeedns boca nelensanee 13

INDEX TO THE APPENDIX OF THE PETITIONER,

MINDGAMES, INC.

R. App. 43

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. Chrysler Corp.,

ee EO OOD oo oc acescccecccse cs. 5

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

es des bbvscscceces. 1, 9-11

Bombard v. Fort Wayne Newspapers, Inc.,

Rg | ee 9

Box v. A & P Tea Co.,

i De ee.) a 3

Celotex Corp. v. Catrell,

06 55k 5's aii'e'b » deiuow- c's wie ee 11

Dawson v. Temps Plus, Inc.,

i 12

Door Systems, Inc. v. Pro-Line Door Systems, Inc.,

co 9

English v. Cowell,

ve 13

Hannon v. Turnage,

892 F.2d 653 (7th Cir. 1990),

cert. den., 498 U.S. 821 (1990) .................0005. 4

Marsh & McLennan of Arkansas v. Herget,

Paw ave.ats 199 (ASK. 1995) .. 2.2... ccs c cece cen cse 12

Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co.,

a a 4

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

ee Ss civ dss seas cecessce 10, 11

Medcom Holding Company v. Baxter Travenol Labora-

tories, Inc.,

es 8

R. App. 44

Meredith v. Allsteel, Inc.,

11 F.3d 1354 (7th Cir. 1994),

overruled on other grounds, Ahng v. Allsteel, Inc.,

96 FSG 20353 (Ur Cie. BG0G) oo oes cc cicsecccccetecwes 5

Tacket v. Delco Remy Div. of General Motors Corp.,

S37 P26 TAO (7G GM. TPE) ceca seenssssncsins 12

United States v. Jackson, :

Mae ES SRG C7 COE BND inc knees oe idee Fin daee

Wallace v. SMC Pneumatics, Inc.,

IGS PSG TIPE (7G CO, BGT) oc oc ccc sewasecasen 9

Western Publishing Co., Inc. v. MindGames, Inc.,

944 FSupp. 754 (6.0). Wis. 1996) ... 2... cacesecsn 3, 4

Statutes

OS. Cope, OU, WEE ack dad cssaccsacéedateindeaa 9

Pad. H. Asie. Fi CO) <i n e's acon ccs cases asacnanaeusan 6

Pen. E. Amie Fe Fes cies cds ncsksavecknccussanmapass a

Ped. BR. AGO. F. SP. cas cavieievseccsksscesssnenasawe’s 1

Ae Be SS Peer errr Tree eer er ere er errs 9

BAD. Wak. SCR Te SCRA? ov anno cb cdvcccvasces 3

Ark. Code Ann. § 16-22-308 (Repl. 1994)............ 12

&

Other Authorities -

James W. Moore, ET AL., Moore’s FEDERAL PRACTICE

© SO.Be Ot SO-Gis CO OM. FOr s obs da iecdntadinesnas 9

R. App. 45

PETITIONS

MindGames, Inc., petitions for rehearing pursuant to

Fed.R.App.P. 40 because the panel misapprehended the

record below and overlooked the failure of Western Pub-

lishing Company, Inc., to raise below the issue on which

the panel relied when it affirmed the district court’s grant

of summary judgment.

Alternatively, MindGames petitions for rehearing en

banc pursuant to Fed.R.App.P. 35 because the panel deci-

sion conflicts with this court’s decision in Box v. A & P Tea

Co., 772 F.2d 1372 (7th Cir. 1985), and its progeny, and the

Supreme Court’s decision in Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986), and its progeny, and consider-

ation by the full court is necessary to secure and maintain

uniformity of the court’s decisions.

These petitions address two aspects of the panel deci-

sion: first, affirmance of the district court on a ground not

raised in or considered by that court (that, on the record

presented, the lost future sales claimed by MindGames

are too speculative); second, that MindGames cannot

recover attorney fees allowed by Arkansas law in breach

of contract cases even when damages are limited to nomi-

nal damages because it did not expressly seek “nominal”

damages.

R. App. 46

ARGUMENT

1. The Majority Misapprehended the District Court

Record When it Assumed Western Argued Mind-

Games Would Be Unable to Reasonably Estimate

Sales of Clever Endeavor Lost Due to Western’s

Breach. -

The panel unanimously held the New Business Rule,

if still valid in Arkansas, would not apply to MindGames’

claims for lost royalties, rejecting Western’s invitation to

follow Marvell Light & Ice Co. v. General Electric Co., 259

S.W. 741 (Ark. 1924). Slip Op. at 10; Dissent, Slip Op. at

13.

Having rejected Western’s only attack on Mind-

Games’ claim for lost royalties, the majority nevertheless

affirmed dismissal of the claim on a ground not within

either party’s statement of issues here and never raised or

considered below: namely, that MindGames failed to

prove how many copies of Clever Endeavor Western would

have sold (on which MindGames, as licensor, would earn

royalties), absent breach.

[W]e do not see how the number of copies that

would have been sold but for the alleged breach

could be determined given the evidence pre-

sented in the summary judgment proceedings (a

potentially important qualification, of course);

and so MindGames’ proof of damages is inceed

excessively speculative. Those proceedings were

completed with no evidence having been pre-

sented from which a rational trier of fact could

conclude on this record that some specific quan-

tity, or for that matter some broad but bounded

range of alternative estimates, of copies of

R. App. 47

“Clever Endeavor” would have been sold had

Western honored the contract.

Slip Op. at 12 (emphasis in original; citations omitted).

This assumes Western raised below the issue whether

MindGames had evidence from which a jury could rea-

sonably estimate the quantity of games that would have

been sold had Western performed.

That assumption fundamentally misapprehends the

proceedings below. Western never argued uncertainty of

lost sales before the district court. Consequently, Mind-

Games was never called on to file evidence from which a

jury could reasonably determine sales Clever Endeavor

would likely have achieved had Western performed.

Western’s sole attack on MindGames’ claim for lost

royalties was the New Business Rule. The district court

saw that as the only issue before it: “Western claims that

the ‘New Business Rule,’ which prevents new and

unestablished business ventures from collecting lost

profits as damages in breach of contract or tort cases,

guides this case as a matter of law, and mandates partial

summary judgment in Western’s favor.” Western Publish-

ing Co., Inc. v. MindGames, Inc., 944 F. Supp. 754, 755 (E.D.

Wis. 1996).

Western’s summary judgment brief below contained

a single substantive argument: “The ‘New Business Rule’

Prevents MindGames From Recovering Any Lost Profits.”

P.App. at 7.1 Its proposed findings of fact, required by

1 Western’s Memorandum in Support of Its Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment, without exhibits, Dist. Ct. Docket

No. 48, is submitted here as Petitioner’s Appendix (“P.App.”)

Oe EA OE Ns Na a pum

R. App. 48

Local Rule § 6.05(a)(1), did not address whether lost

future sales were reasonably provable. Western’s only

proposed findings related to Clever Endeavor sales were

{ 9 (sales in the year before the license) and { 16 (sales

during the four years of the license), P.App. at 4, 6,

showing Clever Endeavor sales jumped from 30,000 in 1989

(the last pre-contract year) to 165,000 in 1990 (the first

contract year), reasonably implying that sales were trend-

ing up prior to Western’s breach. If Western had argued

that lost future sales could not be proved beyond specula-

tion, it then had the burden to propose “undisputed”

facts rebutting that inference.

The record made by MindGames below did include

evidence of specific contract breaches by Western from

which damages could readily be inferred, as well as a

variety of damage claims arising from the breaches.

Blackwell Summ.Judg.Aff. {YJ 26-27 and 31-35, App.

17-19, 20-22.2 But the lost sales record was never devel-

oped because the “speculation” issue was not raised.

Indeed, the district court brushed aside as “irrelevant” all

matters not directly relating to the single, legal issue

raised by Western — whether the New Business Rule

barred per se any attempt to establish lost profits. 944 F.

Supp. at 755, n.1.

Western’s reply brief below also dealt only with the

New Business Rule, P.App. 20, 21, 26 and 31, and its

1-17. Other documents filed in the district court and cited in this

brief are also included in the Petitioner’s Appendix.

2 Portions of the district court record previously submitted

to this court in the appellant’s appendix are cited as “App.”

i

R. App. 49

response to MindGames’ proposed findings of fact con-

firmed the motion was limited to the New Business Rule.

MindGames had proposed a finding relating to royalties

exceeding $30 million on Pictionary, a comparable adult

board game for which Western had served as licensee.

P.App. at 36. Western responded such a finding was

. irrelevant to Western’s motion for partial

summary judgment, which seeks a determina-

tion that MindGames cannot introduce evidence

of the profits it allegedly lost as a result of

Western’s alleged breach of the license agree-

ment. The alleged royalties that the licensor of

Pictoinary received are not relevant to the legal

issues raised in Western’s motion for partial

summary judgment.

P.App. at 37. If Western had argued to the district court

MindGames would be unable to prove lost sales and

resulting royalties absent a New Business Rule, certainly

the royalties of a comparable adult game would be rele-

vant. It was Western’s burden to make a prima facie case

for summary judgment on that issue but it did not

attempt to do so or even raise the issue. Hannon v. Turn-

age, 892 F.2d 653, 656 (7th Cir. 1990), cert. den., 498 U.S.

821 (1990).

The majority overlooked the limited scope of the

issue Western presented below. The single ground West-

ern asserted — the effect of the New Business Rule - did

not require MindGames to develop evidence on the issues

of breach and the volume of lost sales. Thus, the issue of

whether MindGames could present evidence from which

lost royalties could be estimated without excessive spec-

ulation was never presented to the court below.

R. App. 50

Il. The Majority Decision Conflicts with Authority

From This Court Prohibiting Affirming Summary

Judgment on a Ground Not Raised in the District

Court.

The majority stated, “[WJe may of course affirm an

award of summary judgment on any ground that has not

been forfeited or waived in the district court.” Slip op. at

13, citing United States v. Jackson, 207 F.3d 910, 917 (7th

Cir. 2000).

Such an affirmance is improper, however, where the

ground on which it relies was not raised in the district

court. Box v. A & P Tea Co., 772 F.2d 1372 (7th Cir. 1985):

“(WJe may affirm a summary judgment on any ground

that finds support in the record, but the ground must have

been adequately presented in the trial court so that the non-

moving party had an opportunity to submit affidavits or other

evidence and contest the issue.” 772 F.2d at 1376 (emphasis

supplied; citations omitted).

Western had the burden of demonstrating that it

presented the argument to the district court. It made no

attempt to do so. In Meredith v. Allsteel, Inc., 11 F.3d 1354

(7th Cir. 1994), overruled on other grounds, Ahng v. Allsteel,

Inc., 96 F.3d 1033 (7th Cir. 1996), the court explained that

a non-movant’s duty to respond is prescribed by the

issues raised by the movant: “ . if Allsteel never

asserted this ground before the trial court, we are unable

to grant summary judgment on the alternative basis.” Id.

at 1359, citing Box. “Because Allsteel did not make this

argument, the employees had no duty to respond to it by

building a factual record.” Id. See also, Andersen v. Chrysler

Corp., 99 F.3d 846, 855 n.5 (7th Cir. 1996).

R. App. 51

The majority opinion here directly conflicts with this

settled law by allowing this court to consider an alterna-

tive ground for affirmance regardless of whether it was

properly raised in the district court. The full court must

rehear this appeal to resolve the conflict the panel has

created.

III. MindGames Did No Waive Its Right to Prove Loss

of Future Profits.

As required by Fed.R.App.P. 28(b)(2), MindGames set

forth the issues presented for review in its main brief. The

releva:t issue was stated as follows:

Did the district court err in holding that, under

Arkansas law, the New Business Rule barred

MindGames’ claim for lost profits where the

profits consisted of royalties generated by its

experienced licensees and were determined by

sales, not profits?

OE SS SOI

MindGames’ appeal brief at 1. Western’s counter-state-

ment contained only one issue relevant to the proof of

lost profits:

Did the District Court err in holding that under

Arkansas law, the New Business Rule precluded

a licensor from recovering future profits it

allegedly lost as a result of the licersee’s alleged

breaches of a license agreement to manufacture

and distribute a new adult board game? i

Western’s appeal brief at 1. Thus, the basis for the major- )

ity’s affirmance was not given by either party as an issue

presented to this court. As shown above, that issue could

ON a we mie =

R. App. 52

not have been presented to this court because it had not

been raised below. ~

Apparently assuming (incorrectly) that Western had

raised the “speculation” issue below, the majority treated

it as fair game on appeal, emphasizing the absence of

evidence “from which a rational trier of fact could con-

clude on this record that some specific quantity, or for that

matter, some broad but bounded range of alternative

estimates, of copies of ‘Clever Endeavor’ ” would have

been sold. Slip Op. at 12 (emphasis in original). The

majority referred to an argument Western presented to

this Court - not the district court - and concluded the

“argument was brief but not so brief as to fail to put

MindGames on notice of a possible alternative ground for

upholding the district court’s judgment.” Id. at 13. The

majority then faulted MindGames because, in its reply

brief, it “pointed to no evidence from which lost royalties

could be calculated to even a rough approximation.” Id.

MindGames, however, had never been called upon to

develop and file such evidence below and limited its

filings to the Blackwell affidavits because the issue uf uncer-

tain lost sales had not been raised. The dissent recognized

this.

It is true that in responding to Western’s motion

for partial summary judgment MindGames did

not provide evidentiary material tending to

show the breaches by Western nor that such

breaches caused a loss of sales. This should not

be deemed a waiver or forfeiture of an oppor-

tunity to do so because of Western’s complete

reliance in its motion on the new business rule

R. App. 53

and Marvell, which, if applied, would prevent

proof of breach and causation of loss.

Dissent, Slip Op. at 15.

Western’s appeal brief did not squarely present the

issue, except obliquely in a factually unsupported refer-

ence to supposed difficulty of proving lost profits on

entertainment products, as a reason for not retreating

from the New Business Rule. See Western’s appeal brief at

30. MindGames did respond in its reply brief (at 5 and

15-16) to the point of Western’s references (an aspect of

its New Business Rule argument), and the bulk of Mind-

Games’ reply brief was, of course, addressed to the New

Business Rule argument generally. :

But it is manifestly unfair to hold, as the majority

did, that the en passant references to speculation in West-

ern’s appeal brief (a) in fact constituted an argument on

an issue Western had not even included in its statement

to this court of the issues presented, (b) should have been

read by MindGames as raising a separate issue Western

was precluded from raising because not presented below,

and (c) required MindGames to cite proof it had never

been called upon to file below.3

3 New Business Rule aside, the majority disregarded

Arkansas’s liberal damage rule permitting lost profit damages

in entertainment cases even where the claimant is

inexperienced. Finley v. North River Records, Inc., 148 F.3d 913,

918-19 (8th Cir. 1998) (allowing a fledgling music concert

promoter to recover lost future profits under Arkansas law

despite the absence of prior successes). The uncertainty

preventing recover of lost profits relates to the fact of damages,

not the amount. Jim Halsey Co. v. Bonar, 683 S.W.2d 898, 903 (Ark.

1985) (concert promoter could claim lost profits on future

RAS BME CR TAA IIE SE NAN ES SS

R. App. 54

The MindGames’ constitutional right to a jury trial

must not be rendered so fragile and evanescent as to be

taken away on such attenuated grounds. Waiver ordi-

narily means the conscious relinquishment of a known

right. Medcom Holding Company v. Baxter Travenol Laborato-

ries, Inc., 106 F.3d 1388, 1396 (7th Cir. 1997). On this

record, there was no waiver by MindGames. If any wav-

ier occurred here it was by Western, which for purposes

of the present appeal waived the issue of whether Mind-

Games had evidence from which a factfinder could make

a reasonable estimate of lost royalties, by not raising that

issue in the district court. On remand Western may be

permitted to raise that issue in a new summary judgment

motion; what controls here is that it was not raised in the

motion that is the subject of this appeal.

concerns despite no evidence of successful earlier promotions).

For purposes of the instant summary judgment motion the

“fact” of damage was not questioned and must be presumed.

Under such precedents, MindGames is entitled to file

evidence such as market studies and statistical analysis by

experts in game marketing, comparisons of sales results in

geographical »reas where appropriate promotions and

advertising 0: s were not used versus those where they were

used, projections of sales patterns established prior to the

breach, utilizing sales forecasts generated by Western, sales

performance by comparable products and correlation of sales to

advertising expenditures that were made and that should have

been made.

R. App. 55

IV. The Majority Opinion Conflicts with Supreme

Court Summary Judgment Precedent by Improp-

erly Drawing Controlling Inferences Against

MindGames.

The panel unanimously rejected the district court's

ground for granting summary judgment. In concluding it

could nevertheless affirm summary judgment the major-

ity drew inferences against MindGames, the nonmoving

party, and thus violated guidelines set by the Supreme

Court and reiterated by this court.

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., mandates that “at the

summary judgment stage the judge’s function is not him-

self to weigh the evidence and determine the truth of the

matter but to determine whether there is a genuine issue

for trial,” 477 U.S. at 249, and that “evidence of the

nonmovant is to be believed, and all justifiable inferences

are to be drawn in his favor.” Id. at 255. Decisions from

this court reiterate that point, e.g. Bombard v. Fort Wayne

Newspapers, Inc., 92 F.3d 560, 562 (7th Cir. 1996).

Overuse 0. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56 is recognized by this court

as infringing upon Seventh Amendment rights and caus-

ing meritorious cases to be dismissed without benefit of

the record being developed at trial. This Court said in

Wallace v. SMC Pneumatics, Inc., 103 F.3d 1394, 1397 (7th

Cir. 1997):

The expanding federal caseload has contributed

to a drift in many areas of federal litigation

toward substituting summary judgment for

trial. The drift is understandable, given caseload

pressures that . . . sometimes make it difficult to

find time for civil trials in the busier federal

districts. but it must be resisted... . ”

'

SS PE NES a eT Se

eet

R. App. 56

(Citations omitted.) See also Door Systems, Inc. v. Pro-Line

Door Systems, Inc., 83 F.3d 169, 172 (7th Cir. 1996), and

James W. Moore, ET AL., Moore’s FEDERAL Practice § 56.50

at 56-313, -314 (3d ed. 1997).

The majority’s decision disregards such concerns. It

concluded without a trial, on a record limited to the New

Business Rule issue, that MindGames would not be able

to prove the volume of lost sales. In so doing, the major-

ity not only disregarded the limitations on the record

made below, but also indulged in at least two critical anti-

MindGames inferences.

First, after acknowledging more games possibly

could have been sold if properly marketed by Western,

the majority found “an equally if not more plausible

possibility is that the reason Western didn’t market the

game more vigorously was that it correctly (sic!) sensed

that demand had dried up.” Slip Op. at 11-12.

Anderson, 477 U.S. at 255, forbids preferring the nega-

tive inference over the one favoring MindGames. The

majority also begs the question of why demand “dried

up,” if that happened. A jury could infer either that

demand could aot be met and/or fell because of the

nature of the breaches described in {J 26 and 27 of the

Blackwell summary judgment affidavit (App. 17-19): con-

fusion and dissatisfaction among retailers and consumers

stemming from poorly printed and wrongly colored box

wraps, defective board pieces, missing components

(game rules, board pieces, venture cards), incorrectly cut

and duplicated clue cards, failure to deliver promised TV

R. App. 57

ads, an unauthorized price increase, late TV ad cam-

paigns, wrongly targeted radio ad campaigns, under-

spending on ads and other breaches. The majority also

overlooked that Western gave promotion and sale prefer-

ence to other games, very likely because they required it

to pay much lower royalties. App. 19 ({ 27j); App. 96

({ 5(u)). Western itself did not believe demand for Clever

Endeavor had dried up. Its 1991 annual report to stock-

holders stated that “Clever Endeavor . . . should enjoy

significant sales in the coming year.” See Blackwell Aff.

{ 20, App. 15.

The majority’s second unwarranted inference is that

MindGames’ failure to terminate its contract with West-

ern and seek distribution of “Clever Endeavor” by other

means” . . . is telling evidence of a lack of commercial

promise unrelated to Western’s conduct.” Slip. Op. at 12.

The majority overlooked evidence that Western destroyed

MindGames’ opportunity to seek other licensees by ille-

gally dumping many thousands of copies of the game at

less than 25% of its contractual wholesale price. See Black-

well Aff. ¥ 32 (App. 20-21) and Blackwell Supp. Aff.

{ 5(1) (App. 84).

Such oversights illustrate the hazard for the court

and the potential for injustice for the appellant when the

court goes outside the issues developed below and in the

appeal briefing to affirm.

Whether in the granting of summary judgment by a

district court or the affirming of summary judgment by

the court of appeals, judicial fact-finding and denying the

nonmovant the benefit of permissible inferences conflicts

with settled precedent from the Supreme Court and this

re ea ae

R. App. 58

court. The full court should grant review to preserve the

petitioner’s right to a jury trial and to remind lower

courts that the decisions in Celotex Corp. v. Catrell, 477

U.S. 317 (1986); Anderson, 477 U.S. at 242, and Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986),

should not be read as weakening the prohibition against

judicial factfinding.

V. The Majority Opinion Wrongly Deprived Mind-

Games of the Chance to Recover Even Nominal

Damages and the Attorney Fees Recoverable under

Arkansas Law and by Contract Based on a Misap-

prehension of MindGames’ Complaint and Applica-

ble Procedural Rules.

The majority erroneously denied MindGames’ statu-

tory opportunity for and contractual right to atforney

fees on the mistaken ground that “MindGames does not

seek [nominal damages]” and thereby “may have lost_a

chance to obtain significant attorney fees.” Slip Op. at 3.

Even if limited to nominal damages, were Mind-

Games to prevail in its breach of contract action it could

apply for an award of reasonable attorney fees pursuant

to Ark. Code Ann. § 16-22-308 (Repl. 1994) and Dawson v.

Temps Plus, Inc., 987 S.W.2d 722, 729 (Ark. 1999). Mind-

Games also has a right to recover all costs and reasonable

attorney fees upon proving breach by Western pursuant

to J 21 of the License Agreement. App. 64.

MindGames’ complaint seeks damages of $5 million

or as proved at trial, together with “attorney fees and all

R. App. 59

other proper relief.” PApp. at 43.4 Nominal damages

need not be specially pleaded. Tacket v. Delco Remy Div. of

General Motors Corp., 937 F.2d 1201, 1205 (7th Cir. 1991).

An inquiry as to nominal damages and attorney fees

would not even have begun until MindGames prevailed

at trial on the issue of breach. Marsh & McLennan v.

Herget, 900 S.W.2d 195, 197 (Ark. 1995). Such issues are

raised as supplemental collateral matters only after the

party seeking fees has “prevailed” in the main action. The

breaches of contract outlined in FI 26 and 27 of the

Blackwell summary judgment affidavit (App. 17-19) were

not reached below.

The court’s ruling also needlessly casts a res judicata

cloud over MindGames’ right to claim attorney fees and

other costs for work done on the lost royalties claim in

the context of prosecuting its breach of contract damage

claims other than those that were the subject of the two

motions for partial summary judgment. These other

claims were dismissed without prejudice to enable this

appeal to go forward (P.App. 46, { F) and may be recom-

menced within sixty days after this court’s decision pur-

suant to a tolling agreement.

* MindGames originally filed its complaint in the Eastern

District of Arkansas as Civil Action No. 94 290 and it was

transferred to the Eastern District of Wisconsin as Case No. 94-

CV-998. The complaint is a part of Docket No. 1 in Case No. 94-

CV-998.

° These claims are described in the Blackwell summary

judgment Aff. {] 31-34. App. 20-21.

R. App. 60

Western did not argue either here or below that

MindGames had waived or was disqualified from. claim-

ing nominal damages or attorney fees. This court's gratu-

itous ruling was based upon a misapprehension of

MindGames’ complaint, which pleaded the predicates for

nominal damages and specifically sought attorney fees,

and overlooked the fact that an application for nominal

damages and/or attorney fees would have been prema-

ture. The court’s language regarding nominal damages

and attorney fees should be withdrawn or changed and,

if not for any of the other reasons advanced in this

petition, the case should be remanded to the district court

for further proceedings regarding these issues.

CONCLUSION

We are aware of the odds against obtaining a rehear-

ing, especially en banc. We request them nevertheless in

reliance on this court’s “deeply embedded . . . concept of

fair play and substantial justice.” English v. Cowell, 10 F.3d

434, 437 (7th Cir. 1993). The right to a jury trial is seri-

ously compromised if a case like this can be thrown out

on grounds not properly raised below or here and with-

out giving MindGames a fair chance to develop and offer

proof of its damage claim.

Petitioner requests that the parts of the panel’s deci-

sion (a) affirming the judgment and holding that Mind-

Games’ claim for lost royalties is too speculative (Slip Op.

10-13) and (b) finding that MindGames has waived the

opportunity to obtain nominal damage and attorney fees

R. App. 61

(Slip Op. 2-3) be vacated and that this case be remanded

to the district court for further proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ E. Campion Kersten

E. Campion Kersten

Matthew T. Fricker

Attorneys for the Petitioner,

MindGames, Inc.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that on July 6, 2000, two copies of the forego-

ing petition for rehearing en banc and petitioner’s appen-

dix were served by overnight delivery upon Richard E.

Saldinger and Wendi Sloane, attorneys for Western Pub-

lishing Company, Inc., at their address of record.

/s/ E. Campion Kersten

E. Campion Kersten

KERSTEN & McKINNON, S.C.

231 West Wisconsin Avenue

Suite 1200 x

Milwaukee, WI 53203

Telephone: 414/271-0054

Fax: 414/271-7131

A caenrpen

Pe I I 2.7 Cte At TaN

ae a

R. App. 62

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

August 22, 2000

Before

Hon. Thomas E. Fairchild, Circuit Judge

Hon. Richard A. Posner, Circuit Judge

Hon. Diane P. Wood, Circuit Judge

No. 98-1879

MinpGanes, INc., Appeal from the United

States District Court for the

Eastern District of Wisconsin.

° Nos. 94-C-552 & 94-C-998

WESTERN PUBLISHING

ComPANy, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Lynn Adelman, Judge.

Defendant-Appellee.

ORDER

On July 6, 2000, plaintiff-appellant filed a petition for

rehearing and petition for rehearing en banc and on

August 8, 2000 defendant-appellee filed an answer with

appendix. A majority of the judges on the original panel

have voted to deny the petition. None of the active judges

has requested a vote on the petition for rehearing en banc.

The petition is therefore DENIED.

* Hon. Thomas E. Fairchild voted to grant the petition for

rehearing.

R. App. 63

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF WISCONSIN

WESTERN PUBLISHING

COMPANY

Plaintiff,

vy. Case No. 94-C-552

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Defendant.

MINDGAMES, INC.,

Plaintiff,

v.

WESTERN PUBLISHING

COMPANY, INC.

Defendant.

Case No. 94-C-998

AFFIDAVIT OF G. LAWRENCE BLACKWELL, III

IN OPPOSITION TO THE SUMMARY

JUDGMENT MOTION OF WESTERN

PUBLISHING COMPANY, INC.

STATE OF CALIFORNIA _)

) SS.

SAN MATEO COUNTY )

G. Lawrence Blackwell, III, being first duly sworn on

oath deposes and says:

R. App. 64

1. I am the President and principal stockholder of

MindGames, Inc. I make this affidavit of my own knowl-

edge in opposition to the motion of Western Publishing

Company, Inc., for partial summary judgment.

2. My background and professional experience are

as follows. I have an undergraduate degree in business

management and recently received an MBA from the

Stanford Graduate School of Business. I have evaluated

marketing programs for a Wall Street firm for companies

seeking financing in the $2 million to $20 million range. I

have acquired substantial knowledge of the game busi-

ness through my own experience with Clever Endeavor

and other games in the United States and in certain

foreign markets. I have kept up with trade publications

related to games and game products and attended many

toy trade shows in the United States and abroad. I have

consulted and exchanged information with many people

involved in the game industry, including inventors, man-

ufacturers and marketers. I have licensed game products

nationally and internationally. For four years I have been

a speaker at the Game Inventors of America Conference. I

also conducted workshops at that conference for several

years.

3. I am the inventor of an adult board game called

Clever Endeavor. A patent was issued to me for the game

on March 12, 1991, Patent No. 4,998,735. A copy of the

patent is included in the appendix to this affidavit at

page 1 (“App. 1”). All documents in the appendix are

incorporated by reference in this affidavit.

R. App. 65

4. The patent application was filed on December 18,

1989 at the same time I assigned the patent rights to

MindGames, Inc. |

5. I obtained a trademark for Clever Endeavor in the

United States in 1990 and thereafter registered it in eleven

foreign countries. :

6. Pursuant to the assignment referred to above,

MindGames owns the rights to Clever Endeavor. All rights

of Western and/or Games Gang to the game under the

license agreement and the extensions of the license agree-

ment have expired. They claim no further rights in the

game.

MINDGAMES’ PRELICENSE SUCCESS-—

WITH CLEVER ENDEAVOR

7. MindGames was established to manufacture and

market Clever Endeavor and other games. MindGames did

in fact market Clever Endeavor from its introduction in

February 1989 until it signed the license agreement with

Western and Games Gang in March 1990. At the time the

license agreement was entered into, Clever Endeavor was

not a new and unproven product. It had been introduced

during the February 1989 American International Toy

Fair in New York, the largest and most important toy

trade show in North America and Asia. All major toy

buyers and thousands of smaller buyers saw the game at

both the 1989 and February 1990 Toy Fairs before it was

licensed.

8. MindGames began shipping Clever Endeavor in

September 1989. In its first 75 days on the market, Mind-

Games sold about 30,000 copies of Clever Endeavor,

R. App. 66

through more than 400 retailers, coast-to-coast. Western

and Games Gang were so interested in Clever Endeavor

that they handled the sales and exhibition of Clever

Endeavor at the February 1990 Toy Fair, more than a

month before entering into the license agreement. They

also sold and marketed the game themselves for more

than a month before the license agreement and directly

received orders for the game during that time. Western

and Games Gang had firsthand information and experi-

ence with the game at the time they entered into the

license agreement based on the foregoing and their own

due diligence investigation.

9. From the time of its introduction Clever Endeavor

obviously had tremendous appeal to retailers and con-

sumers. Prior to the license the press praised Clever

Endeavor and the game won most of the available awards,

including a Parents’ Choice Gold Award, an Addy

Award, an award from Mensa and inclusion in numerous

“top five” and “top ten” games lists in 1989. Among those

who wrote MindGames to say how much they appreci-

ated or enjoyed Clever Endeavor were O.J. Simpson (at a

less troubled time in his life), the movie actress Sally

Fields, the business magnate and former cowboy star

Gene Autry and President Bush. Western was made

aware of these matters during license negotiations.

10. Hundreds of Clever Endeavor game players

mailed in survey cards and provided positive feedback

on the game. Western was aware of these cards.

11. During the 1989 Christmas season many

retailers sold out of Clever Endeavor and reported to

R. App. 67

MindGames that the game was selling quicker than any

they had ever handled, including Trivial Pursuit.

THE ESTABLISHED SUCCESS OF WESTERN

PUBLISHING COMPANY AND THE GAMES

GANG, LTD., IN THE GAME BUSINESS

12. Iam familiar with the Annual Report issued by

Western Publishing Group, Inc., for the year ending Janu-

ary 28, 1989. On page 6 Western acknowledges that it is

printer, co-licensee and joint marketer (with Games Gang,

Ltd.) of Pictionary, “America’s best-selling board game for

the second consecutive year,” and had shipped over

7,000,000 copies of Pictionary. See, App. 10. .

13. On page 7 of the same report Western describes

itself as “the second largest game company in the United

States.” See App. 11.

14. On pages 16 and 17 of the same document West-

ern reports $551,358,000 in total sales. It further indicates

assets of $311,191,000 and liabilities of $138,426,000, pro-

ducing a net worth of $172,765,000. See, App. 12, 13.

15. During the negotiations for the March 1990

license agreement I was aware of Games Gang’s reputa-

tion as an experienced, highly successful marketer of

games. I knew, for example, that its sales people (operat-

ing under a different name at the time) had sold Trivial

Pursuit and that Western had printed it. I was also aware

that Games Gang and Western were the co-licensees for

Pictionary. The Games Gang people I negotiated with and

Games Gang sales personnel I spoke with at the 1990 Toy

Fair in New York confirmed Games Gang’s extensive and

successful background in marketing these and other

R. App. 68

games. I licensed Clever Endeavor to Games Gang and

Western because of their experience and success in the

game business and their extensive manufacturing and

sales capabilities.

16. I am familiar with the Form 10-K for the fiscal

year ending February 3, 1990 that Western filed with the

Securities and Exchange Commission. On page 4 Western

states, “Royalty rates paid by Western Publishing Com-

pany, Inc., generally range from 6% to 10% of the

invoiced price of the merchandise. .. . ” See, App. 14.

Western agreed to a 15% royalty for Clever Endeavor.

17. Attached hereto as App. 15, 16, 17 are pages 113,

114 and 145 of the deposition of Mark E. Hartelius, which

I attended. Mr. Hartelius was a senior director of game

and puzzle development at Western and became its vice

president for all product development (except publish-

ing). Mr. Hartelius negotiated approximately forty roy-

alty contracts while at Western. All. of them were at

royalty percentages below 8%.

WESTERN PUBLISHING COMPANY’S AND

GAMES GANG’S FORECASTS OF SUCCESS

FOR CLEVER ENDEAVOR

18. By the time of the license agreement negotia-

tions in late 1989 and early 1990 it was common knowl-

edge in the game industry that Trivial Pursuit had made

more than $75 million in royalties for its inventors and

that Pictionary had earned upwards of $30 million in

royalties. Representatives of Games Gang represented to

me at the 1990 Toy Fair in New York that based upon

their knowledge of the game and the market response to

R. App. 69

it as that time, they regarded Clever Endeavor as the “next

Pictionary” and “next Trivial Pursuit.”

19. The representatives of Western and Games Gang

with whom I negotiated the license agreement repeatedly

expressed their awareness of the fact that Clever Endeavor

was a game of proven appeal and destined for great

success. This is also reflected in the fact that the licease

agreement provides for royalty payments of 15% of sales.

The only other games I know of for which Western paid a

15% were Pictionary and Balderdash, both of which were

very successful, producing world-wide royalties in excess

of $10 million for Balderdash and $50 million for Piction-

ary. Most of Western’s license agreements with game

inventors call for royalty rates of 3% to 7%, according to

Western’s published data, see, {{ 16 and 17 above.

20. Page 18 of the appendix is from Western’s 1991

Annual Report. It acknowledges the decline in the

national economy but nevertheless states:

We also continued to improve our position in

the proprietary game segment with the success-

ful launch of several new juvenile and adult

board games .

... We are the printer, co-licensee and joint

ma

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.