Opposition Brief — Terhune v. Shuaibe

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Supreme

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

MOTION TO FILE IN FORMA PAUPERIS AND DECLARATION THEREOF

Catherine J. Swysen

SANGER & SWYSEN

233 E. Carrillo Street, Ste C

Santa Barbara, California 93101

Telephone: (805) 962-4887

Fax: (805) 963-7311

Counsel for Respondent

51 PY

Ap

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

The Petitioner, Shomari Naaem Shuaibe, respectfully requests

leave to proceed in forma pauperis. Petitioner is an inmate

incarcerated at California State Prison-Los Angeles County (CSP-

LAC) and serving a sentence of life without possibility of

parole. On May 22, 1995, Petitioner was granted leave to

proceed in forma pauperis by the United States District Court for

the Central District of California.

Dated: July 23, 2000 Respectfully submitted,

Catherine J. Swysen

SANGER & SWYSEN

233 E. Carrillo Street,Ste C

Santa Barbara, California 93101

(805) 962-4887

Counsel for Respondent

Fe ee Te Te TR Te none SE

x

DECLARATION OF COUNSEL

I, Catherine J. Swysen, declare:

1. I am the attorney of record for Respondent herein.

2. I am informed and believe that Respondent qualifies to

proceed in forma pauperis.

3. I am aware of the Rule 39.1 requirement that the party’s

notarized affidavit or declaration in the form prescribed by the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure, Form 4 including a statement

certified by the appropriate institutional officer showing all

receipts, expenditures and balances during the last six months in

the inmate's institutional sceount be filed in cotitancien with a

motion to proceed in forma pauperis.

4. I have sent the required declaration to Respondent on June

22, 2000 but have not received it back yet. I am informed and

believe that Respondent has not been able to obtain yet the

statement showing the activity in his trust account for the past

sixth months. The declaration will be filed as soon as it is

received. In the meantime, Respondent respectfully requests that

the Court allow him to proceed in forma pauperis for the purpose of

filing this opposition.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is true

and correct. Executed on July 23, 2000.

Catherine J. Swysen

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Supreme

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Catherine J. Swysen

SANGER & SWYSEN

233 E. Carrillo Street, Ste C

Santa Barbara, California 93101

Telephone: (805) 962-4887

Fax: (805) 963-7311

Counsel for Respondent

r

jane. ee

INTRODUCTION ..... a ae ae eee eee re ee eas oe 1

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ......... 8 aaa es a ae eee 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .cikcccnsccccscs oot ae vw ae ae 4

COMPELLING REASONS DO NOT EXIST

TO GRANT A WRIT OF CERTIORARI .......cceccees ec cccccce 7

The District Court Followed the

Appropriate Analysis Set Forth by

this Court in Harlow V. Fitzgerald

in Determining Petitioner’s Claim

of Qualified Immunity and Properly

Denied Qualified Immunity on the

Basis That Material Facts Are in

DAOPUCO. sen rvicivcdesvetcesess ten eenwveun we 7

y Contrary to Petitioners’ Contention,

There Is No Conflict among the Circuits

on the Issue of Qualified Immunity,

Therefore, the Petition must Be Denied. .... 9

A. No Circuit Has Ever Held That

Public Employees Required

as a Condition of Employment

to Follow Written Policy Which

They Did Not Make, May Not Modify

and Cannot Ignore Are Entitled to

Qualified Immunity as a Matter

of Law Even If a Court Later

Finds Their Employer’s Policy

CO BO if ESTOS. ss aveccvccsess éveteveues 9

B. There Is No Conflict Between the

CASORSGE, “si uecaars idniéveeeveanese ee >

ae The Question of Whether Prisons must

Change or Reorganize Their Record

Keeping Practices to Accommodate

Inmates’ Legal Name Changes (Question 2)

Is Not Properly Before this Court. ......... 12

4. The Question of Whether the Ninth

Circuit’s Alleged Misapplication

-iii-

of Turner Affects the Precedential

Value of its Opinions on Inmates’

Legal Religious Name Changes

and Calls into Question

Their Continued Validity (Question 3) .... 14

Is Not Properly Before this Court.

CONCLUSION ....ccccccces COO eee H HER REESE D EROS ERS 14

-iv-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987) ......... 10

Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299 (1996) ....... can 2

Gorra v. Hanson, 880 F.2d 95 (8% Cir. 1989) ......... 36, 41

Harlow v. Fitagerald, 457 U.S. 396 (190Z) seccaccases 4,5, 7,8, 40

12

Johnson v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304 (1995) ....ssceccecevece 2

L3G, itd. wv. Sttob; 260 Fi 28 2686 cc dwibnd noe ane ane 12

(9° Cir. 2000)

Malik v. Brown, 16 F.3d 330

(9%° Cir. 1994) (Malik I), mandate

recalled and opinion supplemented,

6S £.34 148 (9° Cie. 2508) CAER 22) occ is kdsan<s 5,6,8,14

Malik v. Brown, 71 F.3d 724

(O™ Gis. 1905) Ueiae BFE) ccd 60846 0ko eae 5,8

Moorman v. Thalacker, 83 F.3d 970

[SO Cis; LOGE 1eaddwksn ches 646483004 eee $, ii

rurner V. Safiey, 462 U.8. TE (CA9GT) scccctcsecsasecis 2

Woifai ¥. Morris, Sta Fuk TES si we cpenrsdctevaceswse 10

(67 Cir. 1992)

Rules .

Rule 10 of the Rules of the

Supreme Court of the United States ..........6... 4

United States Constitution

First Amendment .........eseeee. Peer rer err rr TT err Tee <a

-V-

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Defendants-Appellants’ Brief to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

CECCULC cccccc WeTTTTTirirr itt rr Trrrer ,

Excerpts of Defendants’ Notice of Motion

And Motion for Summary Judgment; Memorandum

of Points and Authorities in Support Thereof

15-36

i.

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

INTRODUCTION

Respondent, a state prisoner, was convicted of murder and

sentenced to state prison under the name of Felton Lee Guillory

(the “committed name”.) In March 1992, Respondent legally changed

his name to Shomari Naeem Shuaibe (the “religious name.)

Respondent has been a prisoner at the California State Prison

at Lancaster since September 27, 1993. Since then he has been

prevented from conducting his daily affairs in both his religious

name and committed name. Respondent filed an Inmate Appeal on

March 10, 1994 requesting that he be issued a privilege card and an

identification card reflecting his religious name. He also

requested that his religious name be reflected in the central file

and in the prison computer. His administrative appeals were denied

at all levels. The last administrative appeal was denied on

ES

November 18, 1994. On March 21, 1995, Respondent filed a complaint

in the United States District Court for the Central District of

California alleging a violation of his civil rights under the First

Amendment and the California Constitution.

Both Petitioners and Respondent filed motions for summary

judgment in the district court which were granted in part and

denied in part.

Petitioners took an interlocutory appeal to the Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals from the denial of qualified immunity on the

narrow ground that they were entitled to qualified immunity because

they relied ona ueikten Oxia policy. The Ninth Circuit aftixesd

the district court decision and denied the Petitioners’ petition

for rehearing en banc.

The case is currently pending in the district court. A pre-

trial conference is scheduled on October 2, 2000.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

First, this Court lacks jurisdiction to hear’ this

interlocutory appeal from the denial of qualified immunity because

the district court denied immunity on the basis that material facts

are in dispute. Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299 (1996); Johnson

v. Jones, 515 U.S. 304 (1995).

Secondly, Petitioners raise in their Petition questions which

were not raised below and, therefore, have been waived.

In their interlocutory appeal to the Ninth Circuit,

aie

Petitioners raised only a narrow issue related to their claim of

qualified immunity asking the Ninth Circuit to “hold that state

employees relying on published regulations, policies and procedures

which they are unable to ignore, change, modify or rescind are

entitled to qualified immunity in section 1983 action charging them

with violation of federal rights because of their reliance of these

regulations, policies and procedures” (Resp. Appendix, 33):

“This case presents a question of first

impression in this circuit regarding the

defense of qualified immunity ffor state -

employees who are required to follow and do

follow published regulations, policies and

- procedures. In the case at bench, the state

employee defendants followed published

regulations in reviewing and deciding whether

to grant or deny an inmate grievance. The

issue presented is whether the state employee

defendants are entitled to summary judgment on

the grounds of qualified immunity in an inmate

Civil rights action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §

1983 when the inmate grievance was denied on

the basis of published regulations, policies

and procedures which they are unable to

ignore, amend, change, modify, or rescind

and/or upon which they reasonably relied.”

Resp. Appendix, 19-20. [emphasis added. ]

Petitioners failed to raise before the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeal the issue of whether Turner V. Safley, 482 U.S. 78 (1987)

requires prison officials to change or replace record-keeping

practices (question 2) and the issue of whether the Ninth Circuit’s

alleged misapplication of Turner affects the precedential value of

its opinions on inmates’ legal religious name changes and calls

into question their continued validity (question 3).

‘ ak

Accordingly, these issues have been waived by petitioners.

Thirdly, Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States provides that this Court may grant a petition for

writ of certiorari only for compelling reasons. Petitioners

attempt to satisfy Rule 10 by contending that there is an inter-

circuit conflict on the issue of qualified immunity. There is no

such conflict. The district court in this case, as well as the

courts in the cases cited by Petitioners in support of their

contention, followed this Court’s precedents in analyzing

Petitioners’ claim of qualified immunity.

fourthiy, Rule 10 also oronides that “[a] getitias for writ of

certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of

erroneous factual findings or a misapplication of a properly stated

rule of law.” The district court in this case properly analyzed

Petitioners’ claim of qualified immunity pursuant to the standard

set forth by this Court and found that there was a material issue

of fact preventing the entry of summary judgment on that issue. The

Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed.

There is no compelling reasons for this Court to grant the

petition for writ of certiorari.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In their motion for summary judgment, Petitioners argued that

they should be entitled to qualified immunity under the rule set

forth in Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 396 (1982). They argued

-5-

that Respondent wanted to use his religious name exclusively on all

prison documents and records as well as correspondence and that

there was no clearly established right to do so under Malik I,

Malik II, and Malik III.?

They argued also that assuming that Respondent was requesting

that he be allowed to use both names, they would still be entitled

to qualified immunity because the right to do so was not clearly

established enough to alert a reasonable official to its parameters

and a reasonable officer, following the prison regulation, would

have believed that the particular conduct at issue to be lawful.

‘ess. Appendix 37-43. . |

The district court following the rule set forth in Harlow v.

Fitzgerald found that the law was “‘clearly established, in 1994

when the alleged events in this action occurred, that prison

officials could not constitutionally deny an inmate the right to

use his religious, legal name, in addition to his committed name,

in order to obtain prison services or benefits.” Pet. Appendix,

38a. It also found that it would have been unreasonable for

Petitioners to deny him the right to obtain services and privileges

in both names. Pet. Appendix, 37a. Finally, the district court

held that the existence of a genuine issue of fact as to the nature

"Malik v. Brown, 16 F.3d 330 (9 Cir. 1994) (Malik I),

mandate recalled and opinion supplemented, 65 F.3d 148 (9* Cir.

1995) (Malik II), and Malik v. Brown, 71 F.3d 724 (9™ Cir. 1995)

(Malik III)

«fe

of Respondent’s claim precluded the application of the doctrine of

qualified immunity. Pet. Appendix, 36a.

In their interlocutory appeal to the Ninth Circuit,

Petitioners did not challenge the holding by the district court

that the law was clearly established in 1994 that an inmate had a

constitutional right to use both his religious name and his

committed name in conducting his daily affairs. They did not

challenge the holding in Malik. They argued only that they were

entitled to qualified immunity as a matter of law solely because

they relied on a written prison policy.

‘Petitioners had cqnoeed Respondent’ s owen for injunctive

relief on the ground, among others, that Respondent had not

demonstrated that his constitutional rights had been violated.

The district court held that Respondent was entitled to the

prospective relief of using his legal, religious name in addition

to his committed name. The district court did not decide the

appropriate scope of a permanent injunction since this issue had

not been raised or briefed. The appropriate scope of a permanent

injunction was left for a subsequent motion.* Pet. Appendix, 38a

and 43a.

Petitioners did not challenge this holding.

In its ruling, the district court found that Petitioners had

not offered “evidence of any legitimate penological reason why the

*This motion has not been filed yet.

m,

plaintiff should not be allowed to use his religious name as well

as his committed name”, nor any evidence that “changing their

records to reflect the plaintiff’s legal, religious name would

‘wreak havoc’. . .” since that contention was “based upon a one-

page ‘fact sheet’ ... which is inadmissible ...”. Pet. Appendix

39a-40a.

Petitioners sought to introduce new facts on that issue in

their objections to the Report and Recommendation through, inter

alia, the declaration of Larry Wagner which is attached to their

Petition. Pet. Appendix 8a-16a. These facts are restated on pages

12-14 of their Petition.

COMPELLING REASONS DO NOT EXIST

TO GRANT A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

1. The District Court Followed the Appropriate Analysis Set Forth

by this Court in Harlow V. Fitzgerald® in Determining

Petitioner’s Claim of Qualified Immunity and Properly Denied

Qualified Immunity on the Basis That Material Facts Are in

Dispute.

This Court has set the standard to analyze and determine

claims of qualified immunity in civil rights case in Harlow v.

3457 U.S. 396 (1982)

Fitzgerald’:

“We ... hold that government officials

performing discretionary functions are

generally shielded from liability for civil

damages insofar as their conduct does not

violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable

person would have know. .. . On summary

judgment, the judge appropriately may

determine, not only the currently applicable

law, but whether that law was clearly

established at the time an action occurred.

If the law at that time was not clearly

established, an official could not reasonably

be expected to anticipate subsequent legal

developments, nor could he fairly be said to

‘know’ that the law forbade conduct not

previously identified as unlawful. Until this

threshold immunity question is_ resolved,

discovery should not be allowed. If the law

was clearly established, the immunity defense

ordinarily should fail, since a reasonably

competent public official should know the law

governing his conduct. Nevertheless, if the

official pleading the defense claims

extraordinary circumstances and can prove that

he neither knew or should have known the

relevant legal standard, the defense should be

sustained. But again, the defense would turn

primarily on objective factors.” Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 818-819 (1982).

This is the standard that the district court followed in

analyzing Petitioners’ claim of qualified immunity. The district

court held that an inmate constitutional right to use both his

religious name and committed name in his daily affairs was clearly

established in 1994 in light of Malik v. Brown, 16 F.3d 330 (9

Cir. 1994) (Malik I) which held that an inmate has a right to use

f ‘457 U.S. 800 (1982)

js -9-

both his committed name and religious name “in his daily affairs”

and Malik v. Brown, 71 F.3d 724 (9% Cir. 1995) (Malik III) which

held that an inmate First Amendment right to use his religious name

in conjunction with his committed name was clearly established in

1990. The district court also held that it would have been

unreasonable for the Petitioners to deny Respondent the right to

obtain services in both names. Finally, the District court denied

qualified immunity because there was a genuine issue of fact as to

the nature of Respondent’s claim precluded the application of the™

doctrine of qualified immunity.

2. Contrary to Petitioners’ Contention, There Is No Conflict

among the Circuits on the Issue of Qualified Immunity,

Therefore, the Petition must Be Denied.

A. No Circuit Has Ever Held That Public Employees Required

as a Condition of Employment to Follow Written Policy

Which They Did Not Make, May Not Modify and Cannot Ignore

Are Entitled to Qualified Immunity as a Matter of Law

Even If a Court Later Finds Their Employer’s Policy to Be

in Error.

No authorities cited by Petitioners stand for the proposition

that public employees required as a condition of employment to

follow written policy which they did not make, may not modify and

cannot ignore are entitled to qualified immunity as a matter of law

even if a court later finds their employer’s policy to be in error.

-10-

_Wolfel v. Morris does not stand for the proposition that

prison officials relying on published regulations are entitled to

qualified immunity as a matter of law but rather stand for the

proposition that a prison official relying on a facially valid

regulation will be entitled to qualified immunity unless he knows

or should have known that the regulation violates a clearly

established constitutional right. The plaintiffs inmates in Wolfel

“were punished by prison officials for circulating a petition aimed

at redressing their grievances against the conditions at the

Southern Ohio Correctional Facility.” The court ruled that the

peinon regulation used to pendsh the inmates — enduaattintdonsziy

vague. Following the standard set forth in Harlow v. Fitzgerald,

457 U.S. 800 (1982) and Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635 (1987),

the court held that the defendant were entitled to qualified

immunity because a reasonable officer, relying on the regulation,

could have believed that the conduct was lawful since they relied

on a regulation which had not been found unconstitutional yet and

the court could not “. . . say that no reasonable official, even

knowing the general requirements of notice and specificity, could

have thought that the regulation provided sufficient notice that

the prisoners’ actions were punishable.” Wolfel v. Morris, 972

F.2d at 719-720.

Gorra v. Hanson, 880 F.2d 95 (8 Cir. 1989) also follows the

standard set forth in Harlow to determine the claim of qualified

Se Osa rae el obs LIS oot OO Aor

fis

immunity. The plaintiff in Gorra sued troopers alleging that they

had arrested him without probable cause for a violation of a

statute prohibiting intentionally preventing the apprehension of

another. Analyzing the reasonableness of the troopers’ conduct in

light of the law that was clearly established at the time of the

arrest, the court granted qualified immunity bien at the time of

the arrest the courts had not yet construed the law and because the

troopers’ interpretation of the statute was not unreasonable. Gorra

v. Hanson, 880 F.2d at 98.

Following a similar analysis, the court in Moorman v.

*helecker, 83 F.3d 970 (6 Cir. 1996), held that the defendants

were entitled to qualified immunity stating that “[w]Jhere there is

no clearly established interpretation to the contrary, we defer to

prison officials’ interpretation of their rules to the facts so

long as that interpretation and application is not objectively

unreasonable.” Moorman v. Thalacker, 83 F.3d at 974.

In the present case, the district court followed also the

Harlow standard. The court found that it would have been

unreasonable for Petitioners to believe that their conduct -

preventing Petitioner from conducting his daily affairs in both his

committed name and religious name - was lawful in light of the

fact that the law was clearly established in the Ninth Circuit that

he had the right to do so.

of2-

B. There Is No Conflict Between the Circuits.

Petitioners have not shown any sand ick between the circuits

on the issue of qualified immunity. The Ninth Circuit as well as

the Sixth and Eighth Circuits all analyze claims of qualified

immunity pursuant to the standard set forth by this Court in Harlow

v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982). :

The decision of LSO, Ltd. v. Stroh, 205 F.3d 1146 (7 Cis.

2000) is not in conflict with cases cited by Petitioners. In

Stroh, the court analyzed the claim of qualified immunity pursuant

to Harlow. The court held that the law was clearly established in

light of a Parry from this eee that liquor Cdeeitakions could

not be used to impose restrictions on speech that would otherwise

be prohibited under the First Amendment. The court also held that

no reasonable official could have believed the conduct was lawful

based on that precedent. LSO, Ltd. v. Stroh, 205 F.3d at 1157-

1160.

a The Question of Whether Prisons must Change or Reorganize

Their Record Keeping Practices to Accommodate Inmates’ Legal

Name Changes (Question 2) Is Not Properly Before this Court.

First, this issue was not raised by Petitioners in their

interlocutory appeal. Accordingly this question is waived.

Secondly, it is premature for this Court to consider this

question based on the record.

The district court held that Respondent is entitled to the

af}.

prospective injunctive relief of using his legal, religious name in

addition to his committed name. However, the district declined to

determine the appropriate scope of injunctive relief since it has

neither been briefed or raised. Pet. Appendix, 43a. The scope of

injunctive relief still need to be determined by the trial court

after both parties have had an opportunity to submit evidence.

Petitioners did not appeal this ruling.

Respondent had requested that the court issue an order

directing Petitioners to allow him to use identification and

privilege cards bearing both his committed and religious names, to

fdeweeey him in aiinen computer sanane and central tive we his

committed name and also his religious name whether by “ACA”

designation or otherwise and to receive prison services and

benefits in his religious and committed names. The district

court noted that Petitioner did not claim that the CDC files should

be altered so as to reflect his religious name as his principal

name rather than an “ACA” and did not meena that his committed

name be eliminated. Pet. Appendix, 39a-40a. In fact, in this

case, the prison regulations themselves requires that a prisoner’s

legal name change be reflected as an “ACA.” Pet. Appendix, 40a.

Since no order has been issued yet requiring Petitioners to

change or re-organize their record keeping practices and the record

sien Cait support that contention, it is premature for this Court to

consider this question.

-14-

4. The Question of Whether the Ninth Circuit’s Alleged

Misapplication of Turner Affects the Precedential Value of its

Opinions on Inmates’ Legal Religious Name Changes and Calls

into Question Their Continued Validity (Question 3) Is Not

Properly Before this Court.

Petitioners are asking this Court to review the Ninth Circuit

decision in Malik v. Brown, 16 F.3d 330 (9° Cir. 1994) (Malik I),

mandate recalled and opinion supplemented, 65 F.3d 148 (9% Cir.

1995) (Malik II). This is beyond the scope of this interlocutory

appeal. Furthermore, Petitioners waived that issue by failing to

raise it below in the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner’s petition for writ of certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine J. Swysen

SANGER & SWYSEN

233 E. Carrillo Street, Ste C

Santa Barbara, California 93101

(805) 962-4887

-15-

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

APPENDIX A

-16-

UNITED STATES COURT. OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

‘

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka‘ Felton

Lee Guillory, Mya

Sy he

NO. 99-55049

3 No. CV 96-3395 RAP

Plaintiff/Appellee, |

)

)

)

) (Mc) -

’ ) CENTRAL DISTRICT OF

v. ) CALIFORNIA

: )

_. JAMES GOMEZ, et al., )

= ‘ )

Defendants/Appellants. )

)

)

\ DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS' BRIEF —— 7

BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General

of the State of California ..

DAVID DRULINER, Chief Assistant

Attorney General .

MORRIS LENK, Acting Senior Assistant

Attorney General

DARRELL LEPKOWSKY, Supervising

Deputy Attorney General

JANE CATHERINE MALICH

Deputy Attorney General

me 3 State Bar No. 101012

300 South Spring Street

Los Angeles, CA 90013

Telephone: (213) 897-2256

Attorneys for Defendants-Appellants

-17-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ISSUES PRESENTED 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 2

A. JURISDICTION 2

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW a

C. CUSTODY AND BAIL STATUS 6

D. STANDARD OF REVIEW 6

STATEMENT OF FACTS 6

ARGUMENT . : : : 10

I QUALIFIED IMMUNITY 10

CONCLUSION - : 14

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES 15

STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE WITH CIRCUIT RULE 16

——OIAEeeooOoworeoreeeeeeeeeee

-18-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Pages

Bagdadio v. Nazar

84 F.3d 1194 (9th Cir. 1996) 6

Baker v. Racansky

887 F.2d 183 (9th Cir. 1989) 3, 6

Bartlett v. Fisher

972 F.2d 911 (8th Cir. 1992) 12

Butz v. Economou

438 U.S. 478

968 S&S. Ct. 2894

57 L. Ed. 2d 895 (1978) 13

City of Boerne v. Flores

521 U.S.

Li? .@,.- Cl. dg227

138 L. Ed. 2d 624 (1997) 9

Depugh v. Penning

888 F. Supp. 959 (N.D. Iowa 1995) 11

Gona v. Hanson

880 F.2d 95 (8th Cir. 1989) p li

Harlow v. Fitzgerald

457 U.S. 800

i024 G&G. Ct.. 27a?

73 L. Ed. 2d 396 (1982) | - ta, i2

Jaeger v. Dubuque Couty

880 F. Supp. 640 (N.D. Iowa 1995) 11

Kurtz and Rose v. Denniston and Doe

872 F. Supp. 631 (N.D. Iowa 1994) se 4

ii

-19-

Mallory v. Briggs

475 U.S. 335

106 S. Ct. 1092

89 L. Ed. 2d 271 (1986)

Moorman v. Thalacker

83 F.3d-970 (8th Cir. 1990)

Premier Communications Network v. Fuentes

880 F.2d 1096 (9th Cir. 1989)

United States v. Wallace & Tiernan Co.

336 U.S. 793

69 S. Ct. 824

93 L. Ed. 1042 (1949)

Wolfel v. Morris

972 F.24°712 (6th Cir. 1992)° *

Statutes

28 U.S.C. § 1291

42 U.S.C. § 1983

Cal. Penal Code §279.5(b)

Court Rules

USDC Local Rule 7.16(a) and (c)

iii

12

12

- 44

-20-

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka Felton

Lee Guillory, No. 99-55049 ©

Plaintiff/Appellee, No. CV 96-3395 RAP

(Mc)

Wi CENTRAL DISTRICT OF

CALIFORNIA

JAMES GOMEZ, et al.,

Defendants/Appellants

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS' BRIEF

ISSUES PRESENTED

(1) This case presents a question of first impression in

this Circuit regarding the affirmative defense of qualified

immunity for state employees who are required to follow and do

follow published regulations, policies and procedures. In the

case at bench, the state employee defendants followed published

regulations in reviewing and deciding whether to grant or deny an

inmate grievance. The issue presented is whether the state

‘ |

Si.

employee defendants ane sahatied co summary judgment on the

grounds of qualified temuntty in an inmate civil rights action

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1983 when the inmate grievance was dented

on the basis of published regulations, policies and procedures

which they were unable to ignore, amend, change, modify, or

rescind and/or upon which they reasonably relied.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. JURISDICTION

This interlocutory appeal is from the October 16, 1998 order

ne United States asian Court Judge Richard .. Paez of the

‘ United States District Court for the Central District of

California denying defendants-appellants' motion for

reconsideration of the September 4, 1998 order by then United

States District Court Judge Kim McLane Wardlaw partially granting

and partially denying summary adjudication and denying the

parties’ cross-motions for summary judgment.

Jurisdiction of the district court arose under 42 U.S.C.

1983 and 28 U.S.C. 1291.

This court has jurisdiction over interlocutory appeals

regarding qualified immunity pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1291. United

22

States v. Wallace & Tiernan Co., 336 U.S. 793, 794-5, 69 S. Ct.

824, 825-26, fn. 1, 93 L. Ed. 1042 (1949); Baker v. Racansky, 887

F. 2d 183, 185 (9th Cir. 1989).

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The initial complaint was filed on March 21, 1995. (D.C.

oe ee On March 31, 1995, the United States Marshal was

ordered to serve all eight defendants in their individual and

official capacity. (D.C. Dk. 4.) On December 10, 1996,

defendants filed a motion for summary judgment. (D.C. Dk. 50.)

Plaintite also nied « wei for summary judgment which was

filed January 16, 1997. (D.C. Dk. 51). The. district court

initially took plaintiff's motion off-calendar as untimely filed

(D.C. Dk. 57) and denied nis eaktun 6 have it placed back on the

court's calendar. (D.C. Dk. 59.) However, defendants filed a

statement of non-opposition to plaintiff's second ex parte motion

to have his motion for summary judgment placed back on the

court's calendar. (D.C. Dks. 63, 60.) The court's docket does

not contain a docket entry numbered 66; presumably ies: hei

entry is the court's order placing plaintiff's motion for summary

\

judgment back on calendar.

G..

On July 24, 1998, the Magistrate Judge issued a report and

recommendation partially granting and partially denying summary

adjudication for plaintiff and for defendants and otherwise

denying their motions for summary judgment. (D.C. Dk. 67.) On

August 8, 1998, ee ae filed objections to the report and

recommendation. (D.C. Dk. 69.) On September 4, 1998, following

a de novo review, the court issued an order granting and denying

partial summary adjudication and denying the parties' motions for

summary judgment. (D.C. Dk. 73 and 74.)

In its order entered September 8, 1998, the court’ granted

partial summary adjudication in favor of plaintiff on the grounds

that it was without substantial controversy that, inter alia,

defendants have violated and are violating plaintiff's right to

free exercise of his religion to the extent that they have denied

him the right to be identified by his legal religious name and

his committed name in prison computer records and his central

prison file, to use identification and privilege cards

identifying him by both names and denying him the right to

receive mail, visitation, medical care, canteen services,

otherwise appropriate deliveries of money or other items from

-24-

non-prisohers, and all other services and benefits to which he

would otherwise be entitled in his legal, religious name and his

committed name. (D.C. Dk. 73, pp. 1-2.)

The court granted partial summary adjudication in favor of

defendants on the grounds that it was without substantial

controversy that, inter alia, plaintiff cannot sue defendants for

damages in their official capacities and former linac Gomez is

not liable for damages in his individual capacity. (D.C. Dk. 73,

eS. 2.3

| On September 11, 1998 the case was transferred from the

calendar of then United States District Judge Wardlaw to the

calendar of United States District Judge Paez. (D.C. Dk. 16.)

On September 17, 1998, defendants filed a motion for

reconsideration. (D.C. Dk. 74.) Defendants' motion was based on

two grounds. One ground was that the court's manifest failure to

consider the material fact of their good faith reliance on

facially valid departmental regulations. The second ground was

that, due to the lengthy delay of more than a year from the

briefing to the issuance of the order, recent developments in

applicable case law presented a material difference in law. Cf.,

-25-

Local Rule 7.16 (a) and (c) of the United States District Court

for the Central District of California. (D.C. Dk. 75.)

On October 16, 1998, the motion for reconsideration was

denied. (D.C. Dk. 82.)

Proceedings in the District Court have been stayed pending

this interlocutory appeal. (D.C. Dk. 93.)

C. CUSTODY AND BAIL STATUS

Plaintiff-appellee is presently confined by the California

Department of Corrections at California State Prison - Los

‘Angeles County in Lancaster, California. He is serving a

sentence of life imprisonment without the possibility of parole.

D. STANDARD OF REVIEW

/

Cases presenting purely or predominately legal issues are

reviewed de novo. Premier Communications Network v. Fuentes,

880 F.2d 1096, 1102 (9th Cir. 1989). Grants of summary judgment

are reviewed de novo. Baqdadio v. Nazar, 84 F. 3d 1194, 1197

(9th Cir. 1996). Denials of qualified immunity are reviewed de

novo. Baker v. Racansky, 887 F. 2d 183, 185 (9th Cir. 1989).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Plaintiff was convicted, sentenced, and committed to the

-26-

California Department of Corrections (CDC) under the name Felton

Lee Guillory on November 21, 1984. (D.C. Dk. 1, Exh. A, p. 1.)

In April, 1992, plaintiff legally changed his name to

Shomari Naeem Shuaibe. (D.C. Dk. 1, Exh. B.) Plaintiff's legal

name change occurred prior to the enactment of California Penal

Code section 1279.5(b), which provides that, effective January i,

1995, inmates incarcerated in CDC must secure the prior approval

of the Director of Corrections before petitioning the state

superior court for a name change.

viaiacite filed an inmate sscibiabai regarding his name

change on March 10, 1994; it was denied at the third and final

(Director's) level on November 18, 1994. ('2.c. te. 3, Bex 8.3

In his complaint, plaintiff alleged that James Gomez, then

Director, California Department of Corrections, violated his

rights under the Religious Freedom Restoration Act, the First

Amendment of the United States Constitution and California law.

(D.C. Dk. 1, p. 6(c), last sentence.)

Plaintiff alleged that the other seven defendants violated

~his rights under the First Amendment and California law. (D.C.

Dk. 1.) Plaintiff names three correctional counselors (Whyte,

RT

Lorenzen and Felix), an associate warden (Yarborough), an acting

warden (Ratelle), an appeals examiner (Bluestein), and the Chief

of the Inmate Appeals (Garibay) in addition to the director.

(Id.)

Plaintiff seeks declaratory and injunctive relief. (Id., p.

8.). He also seeks "prospective damage" ranging from $2 million

from Director Gomez to $500,000 each from the three correctional

counselors, "compensatory damage" of $50,000 from each defendant,

"special damages" of $50,000 from each defendant, and $1 million

for een harm" — both peters and Ratelle. (Id.) |

The California Department of Corrections Departmental

Operations Manual (DOM) contains a provision directing

Departmental staff to use an inmate's commitment name to identify

that inmate throughout his term. (D.C. Dk. 50, pp. 3, 4, 74.)

The manual contains provisions indicating that an inmate's other

names, including legal name changes, are to be recorded as ACA's

("also committed as") or AKA's ("also known as"). On March 16,

1995, the applicable DOM section was modified to specifically

provide that an inmate's legal name change would be recorded as

an ACA for visiting and mail purposes. (D.C. Dk. 50, p. 42.)

-28-

Neither the earlier version nor the revision permitted

substitution of an inmate's new legal name for his commitment

name. (D.C. Dk. 50, p. 41.) This rule was uniform irrespective

of whether the name change was religious or other personal

reasons.

The Regulation and Policy Management Branch and the Legal

Affairs Division of the Department are responsible for monitoring

developments in the law and for incorporating them when

appropriate into revisions of the Departmental Operations Manual

(DOM) . Bendvtaentat staff are to follow the DOM. (D.C. Dk. 50,

pp. 4, 32, 37, 45 and 46.)

The discovery cut-off date was October 31, 1996. (D.C. Dk.

42.) The motion cut-off date was December 10, 1996. (D.C. Dk.

42.) The Religious Freedom Restoration Act was held

unconstitutional on June 25, 1997. City of Boerne v. Flores,

521 U.S. , 117 S. Ct. 2157, 2172, 138 L. Ed. 2nd 624 (1997).

On September 4, 1998, the District Court issued an order

partially granting and partially denying summary adjudication.

(D.C. Dk. 67.)

Defendants filed objections, pointing out, inter alia, that

-29-

information regarding plaintiff's religious name is, and was at

all times relevant herein, contained in his inmate central file

and visiting file. His religious name is listed in the Also

Committed As alias tracking information in the California

Department of Corrections' Offender Based Information System

(OBIS). (D.C. Dk. 69, Declaration of Cruz.) There are other

Department of Corrections' information management systems, most

of which do not have the capacity to accept aliases. Defendants

wish to advise this court that the Correctional Management

Information System referenced in paragraph 3 of Wagner's

declaration was not implemented and the contract was not renewed.

ARGUMENT

I

QUALIFIED IMMUNITY

Defendants are entitled to qualified immunity because they

acted in good faith and relied upon existing published

departmental regulations which were objectively reasonable on

their face in their review of plaintiff's inmate grievance.

While they had the discretion necessary to review, hear,

grant or deny plaintiff's inmate appeal, defendants Whyte,

10

-30-

Lorenzen, Felix, Yarhoxoudh, Ratelle, Bluestein, and Garibay did

not have discretion to change the Departmental policy which was

being grieved. All defendants, including former Director Cui,

reasonably assumed, and were entitled to assume, that the

Departmental Operations Manual and other published regulations,

policies and procedures were being revised, amended or updated as

necessary to comply with applicsble changes in the law.

While this Circuit appears not to have explicitly addressed

the issue, the Sixth Circuit has held that officials relying on

published regulations were entitled to qualified immunity.

Wolfel v. Morris, 972 F. 2d 712, 719-20 (6th Cir. 1992). The

Sixth Cirenit held that even though courts reviewing the

official's action subsequently found that their interpretation of

the regulation was in error, these officials were entitled to

qualified immunity. Id. This rule has found acceptance in

district courts who have recognized that qualified immunity

extends to prison officials who rely on a facially valid

regulation. See, e.g., Depugh v. Penning, 888 F. Supp. 959, 998

(N.D. Iowa 1995); Jaeger v. Dubuque County, 880 F. Supp. 640

(N.D. Iowa 1995); and Kurtz and Ross v. Denniston and Doe, 872 F.

11

it.

Supp. 631 (N.D. Iowa 1994).

The view that reliance on published regulations entitles

state employees and officials to qualified immunity finds support

in the United States Supreme Court's opinions in Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U. S. 800, 102 S. Ct. 2727, 73 L. Ed. 2d 396

(1982) and Mallory v. Briggs, 475 U.S. 335, 106 S. Ct. 1092, 89

L. Ed. 2d 271 (1986). The "objective reasonableness" standard

set forth in Harlow was specifically designed to "avoid excessive

disruption of government and permit the resolution of many

insubstantial claims on summary judgment." Harlow, 457 U.S. at

815 - 16, 102 S. Ct. at 2736 - 37. In Mallory, the Supreme Court

recognized if officers of reasonable competence could disagree on

an issue, immunity should be recognized. Thus, the doctrine of

qualified immunity also protects officials from liability for

their reasonable efforts even if their conclusions and actions

are arguably wrong. See, e.g., Moorman v. Thalacker, 83 F. 3d

970, 974 (8th Cir. 1990); Bartlett v. Fisher, 972 F. 2d 911, 914

(8th Cir. 1992); Gona v. Hanson, 880 F. 2d 95, 97-98 (8th Cir.

1989).

Here, plaintiff is a California prisoner who represented

-32-

\

himself in pro per during the initial years of this litigation.

In the case at bench, seven defendants*/ have been required to.

enter appearances, respond to discovery and file siiaidihieiiy If

they are not granted qualified immunity, these state employees

will be forced to stand trial in an action alleging that a policy

they did not institute and could not change is, in plaintiff's

eyes, unconstitutional. Plaintiff's naming of every person who

was involved in the review of his inmate appeal has caused

unnecessary disruption to governmental operations and created an

unnecessary expense to eke and federal taxpayers as well as an

undue burden on the court. The Harlow reasonableness standard

was designed and adopted so that insubstantial claims could be

resolved on summary judgment and that these disruptions, expenses

and burdens could be avoided. See, generally, Butz v. Economou,

438 U.S. 478, 98 S. Ct. 2894, 57 L. Ed. 2d 895 (1978), cited with

approval in Harlow, 475 U.S. at 815-16, 102 S. Ct. at 2736-37.

Defendants submit they are entitled to qualified immunity and

that the court erred in denying their motion for summary

judgment.

A suggestion of death on the record has been filed

for Victor Bluestein.

13

-33-

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Circuit should expressly

hold that state employees relying on published coguistdens,’

policies and procedures which they are unable to ignore, change,

modify or rescind are entitled to qualified immunity in section

1983 actions charging them with violations ss federal rights

because of their reliance on these regulation, policies and

procedures. The district court's order denying defendants-

appellants' motion for reconsideration should be reversed and the

matter remanded to the district court for further proceedings in

accordance with this court's order granting defendants qualified

immunity.

DATED:

BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General

of the State of California

DAVID DRULINER, Acting Chief

Assistant Attorney General

MORRIS LENK, Acting Senior Assistant

Attorney General

DARRELL LEPKOWSKY, Supervising

Deputy Attoryey Genera

Tg ane

By

JANE CATHERINE MALICH

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Defendants/Appellants

14

This is to certify that the undersigned deputy does not know

of any related cases pending before this court within the meaning

-34-

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES

of Rule 28-26, Rules of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals.

DATED:

BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General

of the State of California

DAVID DRULINER, Acting Chief

Assistant Attorney General

MORRIS LENK, Acting Senior Assistant

Attorney General

DARRELL LEPKOWSKY, Supervising

Deputy Attorhey General

me Ay oop

JANE CATHERINE MALICH/

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Defendants/Appellants

15

-35-

STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE WITH CIRCUIT RULE 32-1

Pursuant to Ninth Circuit Rule 32-1, I certify that the

opening brief is monospaced, has 10.5 or less characters our inch

and contains 2,536 words or 342 lines or 342 lines of text.

DATED:

BILL LOCKYER, Attorney General

of the State of California

DAVID DRULINER, Acting Chief

Assistant Attorney General

MORRIS LENK, Acting Senior Assistant

Attorney General

DARRELL LEPKOWSKY, Supervising

‘Deputy Attorney General

: Vw ‘ 4

By 4e

JANE CATHERINE MALICH

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Defendants/Appellants

16

-36- -

DECLARATION OF SERVICE

Case Name: SHUAIBE, aka GUILLORY v. GOMEZ, et al.

Case No.: CV 95-1764 RAP (Mc)

I declare:

I am employed in the Office of the Attorney General, which is the office of a member of the Bar

of this Court at which member's direction this service is made. I am 18 years of age or older and

not a party to the within entitled cause; I am familiar with the business practice at the Office of

the Attorney General for collection and processing of correspondence for mailing with the United

States Postal Service. In accordance with that practice, correspondence placed in the internal

mail collection system at the Office of the Attorney General is deposited with the United States

Postal Service that same day in the ordinary course of business.

On March 3, 1999, I placed the attached

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS’ BRIEF -

in the internal mail collection system at the Office of the Attorney General, 300 S. Spring Street,

Los Angeles, California, 90013, for deposit in the United States Postal Service that same day in

the ordinary course of business, in a sealed envelope, postage thereon fully prepaid, addressed as

follows: |

Catherine Swysen

Sanger & Swysen

233 East Carrillo Street, Suite C

Santa Barbara, CA 93101

I declare under penalty of perjury the foregoing is true and correct and that this declaration was

executed on March 3, 1999 at Los Angeles, California.

Declarant GIL CARREON

-37~

No. 99-1896

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

C.A. TERHUNE, et al., Petitioners

? Vv.

SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka FELTON LEE GUILLORY, Respondent.

APPENDIX B

‘SHOMARI NAEEM SHUAIBE, aka

-38-

DANIEL E. LUNGREN, Attorney General

of the State of California

GEORGE WILLIAMSON, Chief Assistant

Attorney General

DARRELL L. LEPKOWSKY, Supervising

Deputy Attorney General

JANE CATHERINE MALICH, State Bar # 101012

Deputy Attorney General

300 South Spring Street, Fifth Floor

Los Angeles, California 90013

Telephone: (213) 897-2256

Attorneys for Defendants James Gomez, G. Bonnie Garibay, Vv.

Bluestein, John M. Ratelle, Mike Yarborough, D. Felix, D.

Lorenzen, and D. Whyte

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA - WESTERN DIVISION

Case No.: CV 95-1764 AWT

FELTON LEE GUILLORY, (Mc)

NOTICE OF MOTION AND

MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT; MEMORANDUM OF

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES IN

SUPPORT THEREOF;

DECLARATIONS AND EXHIBITS

Plaintiff,

Vv.

JAMES GOMEZ, Director of

Corrections; et al.,

Defendants.

DATE: JANUARY 21, 1997

TIME: 9:30 AM

PLACE: COURTROOM OF

MAGISTRATE JUDGE McMAHON

me me eee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

(Defendants’‘ receipt of the signed original declarations of

Yarborough and Garibay has been delayed due to illness and a delay

in overnight mail. Defendants will file the signed originals upon

receipt. They are submitting the facsimile signature of Yarborough

and, as an exhibit to the Malich Declaration, the approved

declaration of Garibay.)

-39-

assets. See, Complaint, Exhibit D.

: Vit

DEFENDANTS CANNOT BE LIABLE UNDER RESPONDEAT SUPERIOR

Supervisory personnel are not generally liable under the

Civil Rights Act for the actions of their subordinates under a

theory of respondeat superior and, therefore, when a named

defendant holds a supervisorial position, the causal link between

them and the claimed constitutional violation must be specifically

alleged. See, Fayle v. Strapley, 607 F.2d 858 at 862 (9th Cir.

1979); Padway v. Palches, 665 F.2d 965, 968 (9th Cir. 1982).

Director Gomez and the other defendants cannot be held

liable for the acts of their subordinates under a theory of

respondeat superior. Milton v. Nelson, 527 F.2d 1158, 1159 (9th

Cir. 1975). The failure to establish a nexus with any alleged

impropriety set forth in Plaintiff's complaint compels a summary

judgment for defendants.

VIII

DEFENDANTS ARE ENTITLED TO QUALIFIED IMMUNITY

Defendants submit that assuming arguendo any violation of

plaintiff's rights occurred whatsoever, they are entitled to

qualified immunity.

Under the rule set forth in Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457

7.8. @60, 638, i102 6. Ct. 2727, 73 bb. BG. 24 396 (1902), «&

governmental official performing discretionary functions is

shielded from liability for civil damages insofar as his or her

conduct does not violate clearly established statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person would have

known. Ibid. The purpose of the rule is to permit such officials

ii

23.

-40-

to undertake their responsibilities without fear that they will be

held liable in damages for actions that appear reasonable at the

time but are later held to violate statutory or constitutional

rights. Id., at 819; Kraus v. County of Pierce, 793 F.2d 1105,

1108 (9th Cir. 1986).

The Harlow test is an objective one. Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. at 818; Lowe v. City of Monrovia, 775 F.2d

998, 1011 (9th Cir. 1985). The reasonableness of an official’s

conduct is measured by reference to clearly established law at the

time of the acts at issue. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. at 818;

Lowe v. City of Monrovia, 775 F.2d at 1011. In determining whether

the applicable law was clearly established, the court looks to

decisions of the United States Supreme Court first and then to

decisions within the circuit where the case arose. See Capoeman v.

Reed, 754 F.2d 1512, 1514 (9th Cir. 1985). In the absence of

binding precedent, the court looks to whatever decisional law is

available. Ibid. If the official's action was reasonable, even if

mistaken, then Harlow immunity applies, and an action for damages

must be dismissed. Guerra v. Sutton, 783 F.2d 1371, 1374 (9th Cir.

1986). s

Further, the contours of the "clearly established" right

"must be sufficiently clear that a reasonable official would

understand that what he is doing violates that right." Anderson v.

Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 640, 97 L. Ed. 2d 523, 107 S. Ct. 3034

(1987). A reasonable person standard adheres at all times. Ward

v. County of San Diego, 791 F.2d 1329, 1332 (9th Cir. 1986).

The qualified immunity test requires the court engage in

the following steps. First, the specific right or rights allegedly

24.

-41-

violated must be identified. Second, a determination of whether

that right was so clearly established as to alert a reasonable

officer to its constitutional parameters. Third, the ultimate

determination of whether a reasonable officer could have believed

lawful the particular conduct at issue. Romero v. Kitsap County,

931 F. 2d 624, 627 (9th Cir. 1991).

In this case, plaintiff wants to use his new religious

name exclusively on all prison documents and records, as well as

correspondence. There is no clearly established right to do so

I, and III. Defendants submit that the Malik

under Malik I,

triology can be read to permitted the use of a religious name on

outgoing correspondence in addition to the inmate’s committed name

but that a more extensive reading of these cases ‘e sine supported.

Because plaintiff wanted relief which was not mandated by the

Constitution, defendants are entitled to qualified immunity.

Assuming arguendo that plaintiff's complaint can be

construed as asserting a right to use both names, defendants assert

that they are still entitled to qualified immunity under the second

and third prongs of the Romero test.

Respecting the second prong, defendants assert that the

right was not clearly established enough to alert a reasonable

officer or administrator to its parameters. While the Ninth

Circuit denied Nashington state officials qualified immunity in

Malik II on the grounds that the law was clearly established that

an inmate had the right to use his committed and new legal

religious name on outgoing mail, defendants submit that the law was

not clearly established and there was, in fact, a division between

the circuits, particularly in light of Malik I’s overbreadth and

2s. [

-42-

1 | dicta that inmate entitled to use his name on “correspondence and

2 | other documents." See, e.g., Akbar V. Canney, 634 F.2d 339 (6th

3 | Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 1002 (1981) (holding that prison

jo ree 5 Sowell

4 |} officials do not have to change all their records to reflect the

5 }|newly adopted name of a prisoner who has converted to Islam;

NS RIN phates OBR nal

6 | prisoners do not have a constitutional right to dictate how prison

7 | officials keep their prison records); Azeez v. Fairman, 795 F.2d

8 #1296 (7th Cir. 1986) (law not clearly established); Muhammad v.

9 ||Wainwright, 839 F. 2d 1422 (11th Cir. 1987) (prisoner who legally

10 |} changed his name for religious reason could be disciplined for

11 | refusing to respond to his committed name during roll call);

12 | Salahuddin v. Coughlin, 591 F. Supp. 353 (S.D.N.Y. 1984) (prison

13 | officials not required to recognize informal adoption of religious

14 | mames), rev’d on other grounds, 782 F.2d 1127 (2d Cir. 1986);

15 || Rahman v. Stephenson, 626 F. Supp. 886 (W.D. Tenn. 1986) (same).

16 The third factor considered under Romero is whether a

17 || reasonable officer could have believed lawful the particular

18 |} conduct at issue. Defendants maintain that a reasonable person

19 |} would have believed that following DOM did not violate plaintiff's

20 | clearly established rights. Plaintiff did not cite United States

21 || Supreme Court or Ninth Circuit authority supporting his claim that

22 | he was entitled to have his religious name substituted for his

23 || commitment name everywhere it could possibly be used in prison.

24 || Defendants submit that a reasonable officer or administrator would

25 || have believed that following DOM was lawful. Qualified immunity

26 ||extends to a prison official who relies on a facially valid

27 ||} regulation. Kurtz and Ross v. Denniston and Doe, 872 F. Supp. 631

28 | (N.D. Iowa 1994), citing Wolfel v. Morris, 972 F. 2d 712, 719 - 20

26.

Se a ee re ae er ET ©

-43-

(6th Cir. 1992) (holding at 719 that officials relying on published

regulation were entitled to qualified immunity even though courts

reviewing their action subsequently found that their interpretation

of the regulation was in error). Qualified immunity also protects

officials from liability for their reasonable efforts even if their

conclusions and actions are arguably wrong. Mallory v. Briggs, 475

U.S. 335, 106 S. Ct. 1092, 89 L. Ed. 2d 27 (1986); Moorman v.

Thalacker, 83 F. 3d 970, 974 (8th Cir. 1990); Bartlett v. Fisher,

972 F. 2d 911, 914 (8th Cir. 1992); Gona_v. Hanson, 880 F. 2d-95,

97-98 (8th Cir. 1989).

Moreover, government officials are not required to

predict the future course of constitutional law. Lumv. Jensen, 76

F.2d 1385, 1388 (9th Cir. 1989) (citing cases).

For these reasons, defendants submit that they are

entitled to qualified immunity.

VI

SINCE NONE OF PLAINTIFF’S FEDERAL CLAIMS

SURVIVE THE INSTANT MOTION, THIS COURT SHOULD

DECLINE TO EXERCISE ITs SUPPLEMENTAL

JURISDICTION OVER PLAINTIFF’S STATE CLAIMS

Plaintiff alleges that defendants have violated his

rights under Article 1, section 1 and Article 1, section 4 of the

Constitution of the State of California.

Defendants are once again hampered by the conclusory

nature of plaintiff’s pleading from being certain which of the

various inalienable rights guaranteed under Article 1, Section 1 of

the California Constitution plaintiff~ believes was violated.®

8. Article 1, section 4 of the California Constitution

guarantees free exercise of religion, among other provisions.

27.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.