Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Campbell v. Clinton

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i\) FILED

991 848 MAY 1 8 2000

ae aa eee a SR

No. 99-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

TOM CAMPBELL,

Member, U.S. House of Representatives, et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

WILLIAM JEFFERSON CLINTON,

President of the United States,

Respondent.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS,

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES KLIMASKI JULES LOBEL

KLIMASKI & MILLER, P.C. Counsel of Record

1899 L Street, N.W. MICHAEL RATNER

Suite 1250 FRANKLIN SIEGEL

Washington, DC 20036 WILLIAM GOODMAN

(202) 296-5600 JENNIFER GREEN

CENTER FOR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

H. Lee HALTERMAN 666 Broadway, Seventh Floor

405 14" Street New York, NY 10012-2317

Suite 907 (412) 648-1375

Oakland, CA 94612 (212) 614-6464

(510) 663-0936

JoEL E. STARR

2442 Rayburn House

Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-2631

Counsel for Petitioners

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i Whether Members of Congress Can Ever Have

Standing to Challenge Executive Nullification of Their

Votes.

2. Whether the War Powers Resolution Limitation of

Executive Authority to Engage U.S. Armed Forces in

Hostilities Without Congressional Approval For More Than

60 Days is Constitutional.

3. Whether the President Can Constitutionally Initiate

a Substantial and Sustained Military Operation Using U.S.

Troops Against a Foreign Country Without First Obtaining

the Authorization of Congress.

4. Whether the Prior Two Questions Raise Non-

Justiciable Political Questions.

5. Whether the Dispute Presented Here is Capable of

Repetition Yet Will Typically Evade Review.

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioners are 31 Members of the U.S. House of

Representatives, both Republicans and Democrats:

Congressman Tom Campbell

Congressman Dennis Kucinich

Congressman Richard Baker

Congressman Bob Barr

Congressman Roscoe Bartlett

Congressman Dan Burton

Congressman Chris Cannon

Congressman John Cooksey

Congressman Phillip Crane

Congresswoman Pat Danner

Congressman John Doolittle

Congressman John Duncan

Congressman Terry Everett

Congressman Greg Ganske

Congressman Rick Hill

Congressman Van Hilleary

Congressman Walter Jones

Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur

Congressman Donald Manzullo

Congressman Jack Metcalf

Congressman Charlie Norwood

Congressman Ron Paul

Congressman Tom Petri

Congressman Dana Rohrabacher

Congressman Marshall Sanford

Congressman Joe Scarborough

Congressman Bob Schaffer

Congressman James Sensenbrenner

SRO ARE D6 RRR se Ohio = UN Sirs SI ace SAM a

ill

Congressman Pete Stark

Congressman Thomas Tancredo

Congressman Curt Weldon

Respondent is the President of the United States, William

Jefferson Clinton.

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

See I ee eee Vo eas cw ee so i

Pestses 0 Che PIOGOOGING <n icc ccc beacuse ll

We GN oe hs ee Fe a sk Le IV

FOO OF Cee AMIE onc ccc icdecs vi

Dane OF FI ica ES a ik ee hs asic ee aiees Xli

CI bio ace i area eng a l

Statement Of FUPIGICNOR nw occ sea seen ces l

Constitutional and Statutory Provisions Involved . l

imtaenemt OF UNG CIGD ok kicks cece wen deine cies 2

A. The U.S. Military Action Against Yugoslavia

ip mated a bate becca akan aan Ge Wee 2

DB. COMI PAGED. (in 5 occ she ok ss 3

C.F kn bo hk vn ce bec 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ ................. 8

I. The Court Of Appeals Decision Is In Conflict

With Raines v. Byrd And With The Circuit’s

Decision In Chenoweth v. Clinton And Raises

Contents

Page

Important Questions Of Whether Members

Of Congress Ever Have Standing To Assert

Institutional Injuries .........cscceceees 8

II. The Merits Of This Case Raise Important

Questions Of Constitutional Law That This

Court Ought To Decide Now ............ 13

III. The Court Of Appeals Concurrences Raise

Important Issues Of Constitutional Law And

Conflict With The Decisions Of This And

Pile CR i io a has ee 21

a eR rey or ery 21

SP Ca oss bee ada nns 25

Ca 8 ee a oe a keke Ee eS 26

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Ange v. Bush, 752 F. Supp. 509 (D.D.C. 1990) ...

(crab vende kobe CRN. bead eee 14, 19, 25

Bender v. Williamsport Area School, 475 U.S. 534

CSSD hic.b00s Ss aceednsseeass eee 10

Berk v. Laird, 429 F.2d 302 (2d Cir. 1970) ....... 25

Burlington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood

of Maintenance of Way Employees, 481 U.S. 429

CRORES 0 6000 Knseieaysesaueeww ee pees eee 22

Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112 (D.C. Cir. 1999)

os caw 4b Chane ee eed ee eee eee 6, 8, 12

Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939) .........

ase heen ee eee cesand ae he Dees ee

Conyers v. Reagan, 765 F.2d 1124 (D.C. Cir. 1985)

Crockett v. Reagan, 558 F. Supp. 893 (D.D.C. 1982),

aff'd, 720 F.2d 1355 (D.C. Cir. 1983),

cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1251 (1984) ...........

vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Doe v. Sullivan, 938 F.2d 1370 (D.C. Cir. 1991)

SEP re Pee eee oe is Pee ye POT Poy 20, 22, 24

Globe Newspaper Company v. Superior Court for

the County of Norfolk, 457 U.S. 596 (1982) .... 22

Goldwater v. Carter, 444 U.S. 997 (1979) Leneens 18

Hinckley v. United States, 163 F.3d 647 (D.C. Cir. ‘

oo IRE ear eee Prem pa wer araten ry ame wea 22, 23

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305 (1988) ............. 23, 24

In re Reporters Committee for Freedom of the Press,

ee R Bhs oo ee, || ee or rrr 22, 23

INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983) ......... ree

Japan Whaling Assn. v. American Cetacean Soc.,

i, gtk Re S| Pras ore 26

Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C. Cir. 1974)

Lowry v. Reagan, 676 F. Supp. 333 (D.D.C. 1987),

aff'd, No. 87-5426 (D.C. Cir. 1988) ..........

Vili

Cited Authorities

Page

Mitchell v. Laird, 488 F.2d 611 (D.C. Cir. 1973) .. 25

Myers v. United States, 272 U.S. 52 (1927) ...... 16

Orlando v. Laird, 443 F.2d 1039, cert. denied,

oo 2 RR esrane rir eer pees 25

Press Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 478 U.S. 1

Benen DEAE Malis pri ooatge Ok Ung go ear rawr et ae Ba pee 22

Prize Cases, 67 U.S. (2 Black 635 (1863)) ....... 16

Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811 (1997) ........... passim

Sanchez-Espinoza v. Reagan, 568 F. Supp. 596,

aff'd, 770 F.2d 202 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ....... 14,17, 19

Spencer v. Kemna, 523 U.S. 1 (1998) ........... 23

Super Tire Engineering Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U.S.

SEP Gere x oaks Sa veces f cheese ade 23

United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995) ..... 16

United States Parole Commission v. Geraghty,

pk ae tL er ner erp u re 24

Washington Post v. Robinson, 935 F.2d 282

A Re Pe a EEE Oa ro nee eee aa, 22

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes:

PM REE 00 555 WR hi xk koa ]

er SPs RE ir ond oe 4 ee °

RP ae 9 0s eh cea +

Be as OE es od nce hee ei +

yg ERS a | eae Ie ee 4

Pe is I so i oy a ok haces 4

Ba Se ee ee re eee 1,4

| WP Se NEE is nc 6 sk kh Cow ws Fi eax. 3,8

PE OE i da 0 i aw ks hee backs 3

SS te eo eee eee reeeyereeen 3

United States Constitution:

ET i ra oa ok ea hee hk da wake 18

Article I, Section 8, Clause 11 ................. l

Cited Authorities

Other Authorities:

1999 Emergency Supplemental Appropriation Act,

Pub. LOW. (06-31, ELST. SF 6 vcvcica een es

Departments of Commerce, Justice and State, The

Judiciary Related Agencies Appropriations for

Fiscal Year 1985 Before Subcomm. of the

Committee of Appropriations, 98th Cong.,

din NE, TO FACTO is 6A a ds C0 ie eas

John Hart Ely, War & Responsibility 56-57 (1993)

Foreign Relations and National Security Law

591-598 (Thomas M. Franck & Michael J.

CSO OUR. DE OG. TOPS) on ccc ceca eeecsanss

Sara Fritz, Pressure Grows for Overhaul of War

Powers Act, L.A. Times, Oct. 26, 1987 ........

Bernard Gwertzman, War Powers Test By Supreme

Court Weighed in Senate, N.Y. TIMES, Mar. 29,

DR ar ns a eRe R a he a

H. Con. Res. 82, 106th Cong. (1999) ...........

Hearing on Kosovo, Senate Armed Services Comm..,

106th Cong., April 5, 1999, 1999 WL 221637 ..

Page

16

19

14

17

2

xi

Cited Authorities

H.J. Res. 44, 106th Cong. (1999) ...............

House Report No. 93-287, reprinted in [1973] U.S.

Code Cong. & Ad. News 2346 ...............

Letter to Congressional Leaders Reporting on Airstrikes

Against Serbian Targets in the Federal Republic of

Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro), 35 Weekly

Comp. Pres. Doc. 528 (March 26, 1999) .......

President’s Message to the House of Representatives

Returning H.J. Res. 542 Without His Approval.

RI ce ea ee ea eh ea ek.

President’s: Remarks Announcing Airstrikes, |

35 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 513 (March 24,

EE th heads cede wok ae Ae Race ees

William H. Rehnquist, A// the Laws But One 221

So ERC Pre rr On ree ee ee eee

Statement by William H. Rehnquist, Assistant

Attorney General, Office of Legal Counsel, On

the President’s Constitutional Authority to Order

the Attack on the Cambodian Sanctuaries, quoted

in Report of the Senate Foreign Relations

Committee on the War Powers Act, S. Rep.

No. 220, 93rd Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) .........

S. Con. Res. 21, 106th Cong. :(1999) ............

Laurence H. Tribe, Justice Stewart: A Tale of Two

Portraits, 95 Yale L.J. 1328 (1986) ..........

20

xil

~ TABLE OF APPENDICES

Page

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The District Of Columbia Circuit

Dated And Decided February 18, 2000 ........ la

Appendix B — Opinion Of The United States

District Court For The District Of Columbia Dated

BE is EY io a rade Kae knoe ec ee ees 55a

Appendix C — Constitutional And Statutory

so Er rrr rer er nro 80a

1]

Congressman Tom Campbell and 30 petitioners, who are

also Members of the U.S. House of Representatives and

parties to the action below, respectfully petition for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia in this

case.

‘OPINIONS BELOW

The District of Columbia Circuit of the Court of Appeals

affirmed the judgment of the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia granting defendant’s motion to

dismiss. The District of Columbia Circuit’s opinion

(App. A) is reported at Campbell v. Clinton, 203 F.3d 19

(D.C. Cir. 2000). The district court opinion (App. B) is

reported at Campbell v. Clinton, 52 F. Supp. 2d 34 (D.D.C.

1999).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Petitioners invoke the jurisdiction of this Court to review

the judgment of the court of appeals under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

The opinion of the court of appeals from which

petitioners seek review was filed on February 18, 2000. This

petition for a writ of certiorari is timely filed.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The text of Article I, Section 8, Clause 11, the War Power

Clause of the United States Constitution, is set forth in the

Appendix. The text of the War Powers Resolution, 50 U.S.C.

§ 1541, et seq., is set forth in the Appendix.

2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The U.S. Military Action Against Yugoslavia

The facts of this case are undisputed. On March 24, 1999,

President Clinton announced that U.S. Armed Forces, along

with military forces from the North Atlantic Treaty

Organization nations (hereinafter “NATO”), had begun air

strikes against Serbian military targets in the former

Yugoslavia.' On March 26, the President submitted a report

to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the

President pro tempore of the Senate stating that “... on

March 24 U.S. military forces . . . began a series of air strikes

in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.”

Thereafter, NATO engaged in daily air operations against

Serb targets in Kosovo and Serbia, involving more than 800

U.S. airplanes flying more than 20,000 sorties and causing

thousands of enemy casualties.* On April 5, 1999, Secretary

of Defense William Cohen told the Senate Armed Services

Committee Hearing on Kosovo that: “We’re certainly

engaged in hostilities, we’re engaged in combat.”

1. President’s Remarks Announcing Airstrikes, 35 Weekly

Comp. Pres. Doc. 513 (March 24, 1999).

2. Letter to Congressional Leaders Reporting on Airstrikes

Against Serbian Targets in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia (Serbia

and Montenegro), 35 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 528 (March 26,

1999).

3. Campbell v. Clinton, 203 F.3d 19, 40 (D.C. Cir. 2000) (Tatel,

J., concurring).

4. Hearing on Kosovo, Senate Armed Services Comm., 106th

Cong., April 5, 1999, 1999 WL 221637 (testimony of William Cohen,

Secretary of Defense).

3

As of May 25, the United States Armed Forces had been

engaged in hostilities for 60 days after President Clinton

submitted his March 26 report. The War Powers Resolution

requires that the President withdraw United States Armed

Forces from hostilities within 60 days after the filing of the

report unless Congress has declared war or specifically

authorized such use of United States Armed Forces. 50 U.S.C.

§ 1544(b). The House of Representatives had on April 28th

defeated a declaration of war and by a tie vote of 213 to 213

defeated the specific authorization required by the

Resolution. Nonetheless, the President continued those

hostilities until June 10, when the United States and its NATO

allies suspended the air attacks against Yugoslavia after the

Yugoslav government agreed to withdraw its armed forces

from Kosovo. On June 20, NATO and the United States

officially terminated the air war against Yugoslavia.

B. Congressional Action

Congress acted upon several pieces of legislation in

connection with the Kosovo conflict. Pursuant to the priority

procedures of the War Powers Resolution, 50 U.S.C. §§ 1545-

46, the House of Representatives expedited consideration of

resolutions to declare war, H.J. Res. 44, and to withdraw

troops, H. Con. Res. 82. The Senate passed a resolution

authorizing the President to conduct military air operations

and missile strikes in cooperation with NATO against the

Federal Republic of Yugoslavia on March 23, 1999, but the

House of Representatives rejected that authorization by a

213-213 tie vote on April 28, 1999.5 On April 28, the House

also defeated a measure declaring a state of war between the

United States and the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia,® and

a measure directing the President to remove U.S. Armed

5. S. Con. Res. 21, 106th Cong. (1999).

6. H.J. Res. 44, 106th Cong. (1999).

4

Forces from operations against the Federal Republic of

Yugoslavia.’ Both Houses of Congress also subsequently

agreed to an emergency supplemental appropriation.®

C. Decisions Below

Petitioners filed this action seeking a declaration that

President Clinton violated the War Powers Clause of the

Constitution and the War Powers Resolution, 50 U.S.C.

§ 1541, et seq. by engaging United States Armed Forces in

an offensive military attack against the Federal Republic of

Yugoslavia without obtaining a declaration of war or other

explicit authorization from Congress. Federal jurisdiction in

the district court was based on 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1361,

1651, 2201-2202.

The District Court ruled that petitioners did not have

standing to maintain this action. The Court recognized that

the question this case presented was whether petitioners’

votes in refusing to authorize the U.S. military action against

Yugoslavia had been “nullified” by the President as that term

was used in Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939) and

Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811 (1997). District Judge Paul L.

Friedman held that “the circumstances of this case obviously

are more similar to those of Coleman than were the

circumstances in Raines.” 52 F. Supp. 2d 34 at 42.

Nevertheless, the Court denied petitioners standing because

it believed that Congress sent conflicting messages in its

votes taken on April 28, 1999. While the House of

Representatives on that day defeated the measures declaring

war against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia and providing

the President with authorization to conduct air strikes, it also

7. H. Con. Res. 82, 106th Cong. (1999).

8. 1999 Emergency Supplemental Saini dena Act, Pub. Law.

106-31, 113 Stat. 57.

5

defeated a resolution that would have directed the President

to remove United States Armed Forces from their positions

in connection with the present operation against the Federal

Republic of Yugoslavia. The Court recognized that neither

the defeat of the resolution to remove the troops, nor the

subsequent passage of a supplemental appropriations bill

constituted authorization within the meaning of the War

Powers Resolution, but held that the congressional action

on those measures defeated petitioners’ legislative standing.’

The Court of Appeals affirmed the district’ court. No

Circuit Judge, however, adopted the district court’s reasoning.

The majority denied petitioners’ standing based primarily

on its conclusion that members of Congress “continued, after

the votes, to enjoy ample legislative power to have stopped

prosecution of the ‘war.’ ” 203 F.3d 19 at 23. The majority

believed that this Court viewed Coleman as “an unusual

Situation” in which the Kansas Senate was completely

powerless to do anything to reverse the governor’s action in

deeming the constitutional amendment ratified. Jd. at 22.

Where Congress has political remedies available to it to

remedy a President’s nullification of legislators’ votes, the

majority would deny legislative standing. It read this Court’s

_ response to members of Congress who sought standing in

Raines to be “if at first you don’t succeed, try and try again”;

id. at 24, meaning that if a vote denying the President

authority is treated as a nullity, then Congress can “try again”

and cut off funds, and if that fails then Congress can “try

again” and impeach the President.!° Since Congress can

9. 52 F. Supp. at 43-44. Petitioners believe that the District

Court erred in applying these various votes to its standing analysis.

While those votes may have been relevant in determining the nature

of the relief a court should order, they do not diminish the discrete

injury caused by the President’s actions nullifying petitioners’ votes.

10. This is exactly the requirement Congress rejected by

enacting the War Powers Resolution.

6

always cut off funds for a war or impeach a President who

disregards congressional authority, the court concluded that

members of Congress have no standing to challenge alleged

violations of the War Powers Resolution or the War Powers

Clause of the Constitution.

Judge Randolph concurred in the decision, but disagreed

with the majority’s analysis of standing. He argued that “the

majority’s decision is tantamount to a decision abolishing

legislative standing.” Jd. at 32. That is because “as long as

Congress and the Constitution exist, Members will always

be able to vote for legislation.”'' Jd. Judge Randolph believed

that the majority had “confused the right to vote in the future

with the nullification of a vote in the past, a distinction Raines

clearly made.” Jd.

Judge Randolph viewed the majority’s decision as

conflicting with the Court’s decision in Raines, arguing that:

“if we are going to get rid of legislative standing altogether,

we ought to do so openly and not under the cover of an

interpretation, or rather misinterpretation, of a phrase in

Raines.” Id. Judge Randolph also believed that the majority’s

opinion conflicted with the Circuit’s recent decision in

Chenoweth vy. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112 (D.C. Cir. 1999).'?

11. Similarly District Court Judge Friedman also rejected the

President’s argument that was adopted by the Court of Appeals majority:

“The mere availability of a legislative alternative is not sufficient to

defeat standing; if it were, a legislator would never have standing since

Congress always has the option of impeaching and removing the

President.” 52 F. Supp. at 45 n.11 (emphasis in original).

12. Judge Randolph viewed Chenoweth as concluding that the

pocket veto case, Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (1974), was “still

good law.” Jd. at 32. But since Congress could always respond to a

pocket veto by passing the law again, or impeaching the President,

Randolph argued that Chenoweth and the majority opinion were in

conflict.

7

Judge Randolph held that the petitioners had no standing

to assert their constitutional claim because their vote against

declaring war did in fact deprive the President of powers he

would have under various statutes in time of declared war,

and therefore was not “completely nullified.” He did not,

however, decide whether petitioners had standing to assert

their War Powers Resolution claim. He held that claim, as

well as the constitutional claim, to be moot. Judge Randolph

concluded that petitioners had not met “the evading review

yet capable of repetition exception” to mootness because:

(a) Executive initiated military action is not inherently so

short in duration as to avoid review; and (b) such military

actions are likely to be over in less than 60 days, so that

petitioners’ War Powers Resolution claims did not meet the

capable of repetition prong of the test.

Judge Silberman and Judge Tatel also wrote separate

concurring decisions in which they disagreed over whether

the substantive issues involved in this case could ever be

justiciable. Judge Silberman argued that petitioners’ claims

were not justiciable because of the lack of judicially

discoverable and manageable standards for addressing them,

and because the War Powers Clause claim implicates the

political question doctrine. Judge Tatel disagreed, arguing

that the judiciary was fully capable of making the

determination of what constitutes “war” for purposes of the

War Powers Clause, and what constitutes hostilities under

the War Powers Resolution. Indeed, Judge Tatel wrote that

the “undisputed facts of this case” are “compelling with

respect” to both the War Powers Resolution and the

“plaintiffs’ constitutional claim.” 203 F.3d at 40.

8

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION IS IN

CONFLICT WITH RAINES v. BYRD AND WITH THE

CIRCUIT’S DECISION IN CHENOWETH v. CLINTON

AND RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS OF

WHETHER MEMBERS OF CONGRESS EVER HAVE

STANDING TO ASSERT INSTITUTIONAL INJURIES

The Court of Appeals majority held that members of

Congress do not have standing to challenge a President’s

nullification of a congressional vote when those legislators

have political remedies available to them. Judge Randolph’s

concurrence correctly observed that this holding is

“tantamount to a decision abolishing legislative standing”

and was in conflict with this Court’s decision in Raines v.

Byrd.

Congress enacted the War Powers Resolution in 1973,

over President Nixon’s veto, in order to enforce its assertion

of constitutional authority that U.S. Armed Forces be

committed to (or maintained in) hostilities only with the

approval of Congress. The critical legal mechanism chosen

by Congress to enforce its constitutional powers was the

provision of the War Powers Resolution requiring the

President to withdraw United States armed forces from

hostilities within 60 days of filing the report required by the

Statute, unless Congress affirmatively authorized the use of

such forces.'® 50 U.S.C. § 1544(b). In this case, Congress

13. President Nixon cited this as one of the bases for his veto

of the resolution. “One of its provisions would automatically cut off

certain [claimed presidential] authorities after sixty days.” The

President’s Message to the House of Representatives Returning H.J.

Res. 542 Without His Approval. October 24, 1973; appended to

Judge Randolph’s concurring opinion in Campbell v. Clinton, at 35.

ree pte eee ae ees

9

not only never provided authority, but explicitly voted to deny

the affirmative authority mandated by the War Powers

Resolution. Yet the President continued the war beyond the

statutory cut off.

On April 28, 1999, the House of Representatives, acting

pursuant to the priority procedures set forth in the War Powers

Resolution, voted 427 to 2 against declaring war, and by 213

to 213 against authorizing the President to conduct military

air operations and missile strikes against the Federal Republic

of Yugoslavia. 203 F.3d at 20. Those votes were sufficient to

defeat the legislative enactment of authorization which the

Constitution and War Powers Resolution required for the

President to continue the war against Yugoslavia.

Where Congress: (a) enacts a statute defining the

boundary between Congress’ and the Executive’s

constitutional authority; (b) sets forth a specific procedure

to enforce its constitutional authority that requires Congress’

affirmative consent to continue hostilities; and

(c) subsequently employs that procedure to defeat the specific

Statutory authorization required; those legislators who

successfully voted down a declaration of war (H.J. Res. 44)

and the statutory authorization to allow the air war to continue

(S. Con. Res. 21) suffer a concrete and particularized injury

sufficient to maintain standing to sue when the Executive

nonetheless ignores their action. That is the import of this

Court’s decision in Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433 (1939),

which the Court distinguished and did not overrule in Raines

v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 823-824 (1997). Coleman stands [at

most] for the “proposition that legislators whose votes would

have been sufficient to defeat (or enact) a specific legislative

act have standing to sue if that legislative action goes into

effect (or does not go into effect), on the ground that their

10

votes have been completely nullified.” 521 U.S. at 823.4

That is precisely what occurred in the instant case.

In Raines, this Court was unwilling to recognize an

institutional injury sufficient to confer standing suffered by

legislators whose votes had been given “full effect” in the

legislative process but had “simply lost” the vote. Jd. at 824.

In that case, the plaintiffs injury was really caused by the

actions of their own colleagues, and not by the President as

is the case here. Raines, at 829-830 n.11. Here, by contrast,

petitioners won the relevant congressional votes taken

pursuant to the War Powers Resolution’s procedures and the

Constitution on whether to authorize or declare war against

Yugoslavia. Moreover, petitioners do not complain merely

that the President has failed to comply with the relevant law,

in this case the War Powers Resolution. Rather, they claim

that the President treated a specific vote that each of them

took pursuant to the War Powers Resolution as a legal nullity,

as having no legal effect, despite their having prevailed in

the legislative process. This is the opposite of the position

of the plaintiffs in Raines. In the language used by this Court

in Raines, the President “completely nullified” their votes.

14. The Raines court also cited Bender v. Williamsport Area

School, 475 U.S. 534, 544-545 n.7 (1986), to support the Coleman

proposition. /d. at 823 n.6. In Bender the court hypothesized that a

school board member would have standing to sue if state law

authorized a school board to take action only by unanimous consent,

if a school board member voted against a particular action, and if

the board nonetheless took the action. /d. That hypothetical is

analogous to this case: the Constitution and War Powers Resolution

require legislative authorization for war, and the legislators whose

votes were sufficient to defeat such authorization sue because the

President has nonetheless continued the war, thus completely

nullifying their vote. Petitioners therefore have standing to sue on

both their constitutional and War Powers Resolution claims.

il

The Court of Appeals majority nonetheless held that

petitioners did not have standing under the Coleman exception

articulated in Raines because “they continued, after the votes,

to enjoy ample legislative power to have stopped prosecution

of the ‘war.’” The majority acknowledged that it was ‘“‘not

readily apparent what the Supreme Court meant” by the word

nullified. 203 F.3d at 22. It held that legislators’ votes are not

completely nullified where Congress has political remedies —

such as cutting off funding for a war or impeaching the President

— available to it to remedy a President’s nullification of a

congressional vote. The majority erroneously read Raines as

telling members of Congress, “if at first you don’t succeed, try

and try again”; meaning that if a vote denying the President

authority to wage war is treated as a nullity, then Congress can

“try again” and cut off funds, and if that fails then Congress

can “try again” and impeach the President. This is to confuse

possibility with requirement and to turn the Raines test on its

head. If Raines stands for the proposition that having failed in

the legislative arena, a legislator must turn to that arena for relief,

the corollary must be that if one has prevailed, the courts must

vindicate the validity of the members’ votes, as the Court did in

Coleman and refused to overrule in Raines.

Judge Randolph correctly viewed the majority’s decision

as conflicting with this Court’s decision in Raines. Raines

explicitly left open the possibility of a narrow Coleman

exception where Congress defeats a specific legislative action

which the President nullifies, an exception the circuit court

now closes. Judge Randolph argued that “the majority’s

decision is tantamount to a decision abolishing legislative

Standing,” an outcome also articulated by District Judge

Friedman.'* 203 F.3d at 32. That is because “as long as

15. “The mere availability of a legislative alternative is not

sufficient to defeat standing; if it were, a legislator would never have

standing since Congress always has the option of impeaching and

removing the President.” 52 F. Supp. at 45.

12

Congress and the Constitution exist, Members will always

be able to vote for legislation.” Jd. Judge Randolph believed

that the majority had “confused the right to vote in the future

with the nullification of a vote in the past, a distinction Raines

clearly made.” Jd.

Judge Randolph also accurately viewed the majority’s

opinion as conflicting with the Circuit’s recent decision in

Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112 (D.C. Cir. 1999). That

is because the Chenoweth Court clearly treated the pocket

veto case, Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C. Cir.

1974), as consistent with the narrow Coleman exception left

open in Raines. But since Congress could always respond to

a pocket veto by passing the law again, or impeaching the

President, Randolph argued that Chenoweth and the majority

were in conflict.

This Court should resolve the conflict between the

majority below and this Court’s opinion in Raines v. Byrd

and the Circuit’s decision in Chenoweth v. Clinton. The issue

of whether members of Congress ever have standing to assert

institutional injuries is an important issue explicitly left

unresolved by this Court in Raines. Petitioners in this case

fall within the Coleman exception articulated by this Court

in Raines,'® and this case, therefore, requires this Court to

16. While the majority relied centrally on its view that

nullification could not occur where the legislators had political

remedies available, it also held that this case was different from

Coleman because “the President here did not claim to be acting

pursuant to the defeated declaration of war or a statutory

authorization, but instead ‘pursuant to [his] constitutional

authority’. . .” Jd. at 22. This distinction is illogical, since it accords

significance to the reasons the Executive provides for nullifying a

congressional vote, and not the fact of that nullification. There can

be no argument that the President treated the April 28 tie vote as a

legal nullity. It ought to make no difference whether he stated that

(Cont'd)

PAG i cl cic

13

decide whether that exception applies to injured federal

legislators in a context where a private party is unlikely to

sue. The majority’s determination that the Coleman exception

does not apply whenever legislators have potential political

remedies to rectify an executive nullification contradicts this

Court’s rationale in Raines v. Byrd and should be reviewed.

Il.

THE MERITS OF THIS CASE RAISE IMPORTANT

QUESTIONS OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW THAT

THIS COURT OUGHT TO DECIDE NOW

At the core of this case are two purely legal questions of

the Constitution’s allocation of power between the political

branches that can only be resolved by this Court. The first is

whether the War Powers Resolution limitation of Executive

authority to deploy U.S. troops in combat without congressional

approval for more than 60 days is constitutional. The second is

whether the President can initiate a substantial and sustained

military operation using U.S. troops against a foreign country

without first obtaining the authorization of Congress.

In the wake of the constitutional and political trauma

caused by the Vietnam War, Congress enacted the War Powers

Resolution over a Presidential veto in order to “reaffirm the

(Cont'd)

he believed a tie vote constituted authorization or whether he stated

that he believed he had the constitutional authority to wage war despite

Congress’ vote. Indeed, legislative standing is more compelling in the

later case than the former, for the Court is asked to resolve a

constitutional confrontation and not merely a question about the

significance of a tie vote. The Coleman legislators should still have had

standing had the governor in that case asserted that he was acting under

his constitutional authority to ratify amendments on his own, despite

the legislators’ tie vote. The weakness of this attempted distinction of

Coleman led the majority to rely on the availability of political remedies

to distinguish this case and Coleman.

constitutional given authority of Congress to declare war.”

House Report No. 93-287, reprinted in [1973] U.S. Code

Cong. & Ad. News 2346. Nevertheless every President since

President Nixon has refused to comply with the War Powers

Resolution’s strictures,'’ and this Court and lower federal

courts have declined to adjudicate various challenges to

Executive action allegedly violating the statute."*

Persistent Executive disregard of a statute enacted by

Congress to give effect to the Constitution’s allocation of

governmental authority strikes at the heart of a constitutional

democracy. The Executive’s refusal to follow the law

undermines the rule of law. While our Constitution

recognizes and accepts the inevitable friction produced by

its separation of powers, persistent executive law breaking

cannot be a healthy by-product of separation of powers. Nor

is it desirable for constitutional law or United States foreign

policy to continue the pattern of Executive military action

abroad followed inevitably by congressional claims of

constitutional usurpation and statutory violation.'®

17. President Nixon believed the War Powers Resolution to be

unconstitutional and vetoed the bill, a veto that Congress overrode.

Subsequent presidents have filed reports of military action “taking note”

of the War Powers Resolution or “consistent with” the Resolution, but

never pursuant to the Resolution. See reports reprinted in Foreign

Relations and National Security Law 591-598 (Thomas M. Franck &

Michael J. Glennon eds., 2d ed. 1993).

18. Crockett v. Reagan, 558 F. Supp. 893 (D.D.C. 1982), aff'd,

720 F.2d 1355 (D.C. Cir. 1983) (per curiam), cert. denied, 467 U.S.

1251 (1984); Sanchez-Espinoza v. Reagan, 568 F. Supp. 596, aff'd,

770 F.2d 202 (D.C. Cir. 1985); Lowry v. Reagan, 676 F. Supp. 333

(D.D.C. 1987), aff'd, No. 87-5426 (D.C. Cir. 1988); Ange v. Bush, 752

F. Supp. 509 (D.D.C. 1990).

19. The solution to this problem is not impeachment, particularly

where the alleged violation is not the result of specific Executive

misconduct, but rather arises from a serious and sustained dispute

between the branches over their respective constitutional powers.

15

This lengthy and persistent struggle between the

branches over the constitutionality of the War Powers

Resolution has proven impervious to political resolution, in

somewhat the same manner as the constitutional

controversies over the President’s power to remove Executive

officials and the legislative veto could not be resolved

politically. Judicial resolution of the issue is the only method

to resolve this intractable dispute between the political

branches over their respective constitutional authorities

before it erupts again in the context of another constitutional

crisis of the order presented by the Vietnam War. Judicial

resolution could prevent the inevitable repetition of the

traumatic constitutional experience the country and the

government experienced during that war” — an experience

from which the Congress sought to protect the Nation by

enacting the War Powers Resolution. The cost of judicial

abstention now is likely to be paid by future generations.

The determination of whether a statute is constitutional

is quintessentially for the judiciary to make and ought not

be left to the political branches. As this Court stated in

INS v. Chadha, no policy underlying judicial abstention

“suggests that Congress or the Executive, or both acting in

concert and in compliance with Article I, can decide the

constitutionality of a statute; that is a decision for the courts.”

462 U.S. 919, 942 (1983). That the issue involves war powers

does not warrant complete judicial abstention, for as then

Assistant Attorney General William Rehnquist pointed out

30 years ago, the constitutional allocation of power in this

area “has been left to nearly two hundred years of

interpretation by each of the three coordinate branches of

20. This Court refused to grapple with the constitutional

implications of the Vietnam War, a refusal that Justice Stewart

believed constituted the court’s- greatest single failure during his

tenure as a justice. Laurence H. Tribe, Justice Stewart: A Tale of

Two Portraits, 95 Yale L.J. 1328, 1331 (1986).

16

the National Government ...”’?! (Emphasis added.) Thus,

throughout the 19th century, this Court and lower federal courts

decided issues of the proper boundary between Executive and

congressional powers over initiating and continuing warfare.

See, e.g., The Prize Cases, 67 U.S. (2 Black 635 (1863)).

This Court has attempted to define more precisely the

constitutional limits of the co-ordinate branches’ powers set by

federalism after many years of deferring to the political process,

United States v. Lopez, 514 U.S. 549 (1995); it is equally

important that the Court decide what limits exist to Executive

and congressional power imposed by the Constitution’s

separation of powers clauses pertaining to war.

In enacting the War Powers Resolution, Congress attempted

to clarify the line between Executive and congressional

authority. This case provides this Court with the best possible

case to undertake its role as one of the coordinate branches to

determine whether the line Congress has drawn is constitutional.

At some point, at some time, in some case, this Court must

decide that question: as the Court noted in Myers v. United States

it will “be inevitably presented.” 272 U.S. 52, 173 (1927).

Congressional leaders and Executive officials have in the

past explored mechanisms to obtain judicial resolution of the

persistent and protracted constitutional conflict over the War

Powers Resolution,” only to be stymied by the difficulty of

21. Statement by William H. Rehnquist, Assistant Attorney

General, Office of Legal Counsel, On the President’s Constitutional

Authority to Order the Attack on the Cambodian Sanctuaries, quoted

in Report of the Senate Foreign Relations Committee on the War

Powers Act, S. Rep. No. 220, 93rd Cong., Ist Sess. (1973) at p. 9.

22.. See Departments of Commerce, Justice and State, The

Judiciary Related Agencies Appropriations for Fiscal Year 1985

Before Subcomm. of the Committee of Appropriations, 98th Cong.,

2d Sess. 708-710 (1984) (colloquy between Senator Specter and

(Cont’d)

17

obtaining such review in a context that did not challenge a

specific military operation. This case presents a concrete case

and controversy for review by this Court in a context

particularly suited for a decision by this Court. Four reasons

make this case uniquely appropriate for judicial review.

First, this case starkly and clearly presents the question

of whether the War Powers Resolution’s 60 day limitation

on the President’s authority to use troops in combat without

obtaining congressional assent is constitutional. This case

is-shorn of the factual thickets and legal ambiguities that

have made courts reluctant to intervene in prior congressional

tests of the War Powers Resolution. Compare Crockett v.

Reagan, supra; Sanchez-Espinoza v. Reagan, supra; Lowry

v. Reagan, supra. The facts here are uncontested. The United

States and NATO air war against Yugoslavia that commenced

on March 24, 1999, constituted “hostilities” under any

conceivable definition of the word in Section 4(a) of the War

Powers Resolution. Executive officials such as the Secretary

of Defense stated that the United States Armed Forces were

engaged in hostilities against Yugoslavia. Under Section 5(b)

of the Resolution, President Clinton could not continue those

hostilities for more than 60 days without explicit

congressional approval. There can be no dispute that the

House of Representatives failed to approve such explicit

authorization as defined and required by the statute. Thus,

the President’s only possible defense to the merits of this

(Cont’d)

Secretary of State George P. Shultz on discussions between Senate

leadership and some top officials at the White House about a test

case which would go to the Supreme Court on constitutionality of

War Powers Resolution). See also Bernard Gwertzman, War Powers

Test By Supreme Court Weighed in Senate, N.Y. Times, Mar. 29, 1984,

at Al; Sara Fritz, Pressure Grows for Overhaul of War Powers Act,

L.A. Times, Oct. 26, 1987, at 1 (Senate Minority Leader Bob Dole

seeks Supreme Court test of the constitutionality of War Powers

Resolution).

18

action is that Section 5(b) of the War Powers Resolution is

an unconstitutional infringement on Executive authority. That

purely legal question is for this Court and not the political

branches to decide.”

Second, unlike prior cases in which Congress remained

silent in the face of an alleged violation of the War Powers

Resolution and Constitution, here Congress did affirmatively

invoke the War Powers Resolution and denied the President

authority required by that Act to continue the Yugoslav war.

Compare Crockett v. Reagan, supra, Lowry v. Reagan, supra.

The teachings of this Court’s decision in Raines v. Byrd, as

well as Justice Powell’s decision in Goldwater v. Carter, 444

U.S. 997 (1979) (Powell, J., concurring) are that the courts

should not decide claims brought by members of Congress

unless and until Congress itself takes action that the

Executive treats as a legal nullity. See also Dellums v. Bush,

752 F. Supp. 1141 (D.D.C. 1990). In the present case,

members of Congress invoked the War Powers Resolution

and took a series of votes pursuant to that statute. For

purposes of Section 5(b) of the War Powers Resolution, the

relevant votes Congress took were to defeat resolutions to

authorize the air war against Yugoslavia and to declare war

against Yugoslavia. Congress therefore acted and the

President disregarded that action. Petitioners won the relevant

votes in the political process, yet their votes were nonetheless

ignored by the President. This Court therefore ought to decide

whether Congress’ action had the legal significance that

petitioners assert, or whether the President was

constitutionally free to nullify those votes and disregard the

statutory and constitutional framework pursuant to which

they were undertaken.

23. Similarly, petitioners’ constitutional Article I, § 8 claim

presents a clear, defined legal issue.

19

Third, petitioners here are the most appropriate parties to

test this issue in court. For Justices Souter and Ginsburg, the

“certainty” of a private party being able to bring suit was a

“good reason to resolve doubts about standing against the

plaintiff invoking an official interest.” Raines v. Byrd, 512 U.S.

811, 835 (Souter & Ginsburg, J.J., concurring) (emphasis

added). Here, by contrast, there are powerful disincentives for

members of the armed forces to bring such a lawsuit: career

officers would risk sacrificing their careers, while enlisted

personnel would be challenging authority in ways that are

fundamentally inconsistent with the values and ethos instilled

by military training and discipline.“ John Hart Ely, War &

Responsibility 56-57 (1993). It is thus no accident that virtually

all of the challenges to executive action under the War Powers

Resolution have been brought by members of Congress, not by

private parties.”° While it is possible that a member of the armed

services might bring such an action in the future, it is neither

likely nor certain. Moreover, this Court’s standing doctrine ought

not create a condition that invites disruption within the military.

The most appropriate party to test the constitutionality of the

War Powers Resolution claim that the President has exceeded

his or her authority in the face of congressional action that

statutorily requires the President to cease military operations is

therefore a member of Congress who votes successfully against

authorizing a specific military action, and not soldiers who must

sue their Commander-in-Chief as they are ordered into battle.

24. As a practical matter, service personnel who might

challenge an illegal presidential war will be given the excruciating

choice of following what they believe to be an illegal order, perhaps

for months or years, or defying the order and facing court-martial,

in an effort to press their claim with the courts. Failure by either

count can lead to serious retribution or to imprisonment, facts which

will continue to deter private lawsuits by service members.

25. Crockett v. Reagan, supra; Sanchez-Espinoza v. Reagan,

supra, Lowry v. Reagan, supra; Campbell v. Clinton. The one

exception is Ange v. Bush, supra.

20

Finally, this is the ideal time to litigate this issue. The

hostilities against Yugoslavia have ended, although the Executive

practice that petitioners’ challenge is likely to continue. For this

Court to decide the constitutionality of the War Powers

Resolution in the context of an ongoing military crisis in which

a soldier sues his or her Commander-in-Chief, or Congress

challenges the President, would be, as then Judge Ginsburg

noted, “hardly a prime time for dispassionate adjudication.”

Doe v. Sullivan, 938 F.2d 1370, 1379 (D.C. Cir. 1991).

See also William H. Rehnquist, All the Laws But One 221 (1998)

(noting “the reluctance of courts to decide a case against the

government on an issue of national security during war’). As

the Court noted in Doe, the kind of issues raised here can be

considered “most calmly and effectively after the battle fire is

extinguished and before it is rekindled.” Jd.”

Moreover, this case is ripe for resolution in another sense.

This Court has given the political branches over a quarter century

to resolve the constitutional dispute that divides them. It may

have been appropriate for the Court to avoid deciding the

constitutionality of the War Powers Resolution fairly soon after

its enactment, so that Congress and the President could resolve

the constitutional dispute politically as the statute’s operational

contours became clearer. That political resolution has not

happened, and is unlikely to occur given the entrenched

institutional positions of each branch. Now is the time for this

Court to act. “It is emphatically the province and duty of the

judicial department to say what the law is.” Marbury v. Madison,

5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137, 177 (1803).

26. Indeed, this is analogous to the Congress’ requirement in

the War Powers Resolution of a specific authorization, and a statutory

disclaimer concerning appropriations and other measures as sources

of that authority. The Congress recognized what the courts have and

what the Framers feared: Once the nation is unconstitutionally called

to arms, it may feel compelled to persist despite the severity of the

misgivings that would have prevented such a conflict in the first

place had the constitutional order been preserved.

BC ee ee ee ee ee ee ee oe er ee ae

aS Se ee eee ee

21

III.

THE COURT OF APPEALS CONCURRENCES RAISE

IMPORTANT ISSUES OF CONSTITUTIONAL LAW

AND CONFLICT WITH THE DECISIONS OF THIS

AND PRIOR COURTS

1. Mootness

Judge Randolph decided that petitioners’ claims were

moot. All parties agree that the United States and its NATO

allies officially terminated the air campaign against

Yugoslavia on June 20, 1999. Petitioners claim, however, that

this case is not moot because: (a) the dispute between the

parties is “capable of repetition yet evading review”; and

(b) petitioners challenge an ongoing policy and practice of

the Executive Branch to initiate and continue offensive

military actions against foreign states without obtaining

congressional authorization.

Judge Randolph held that petitioners had not satisfied

the capable of repetition yet evading review test. He believed

that he was bound by Conyers v. Reagan, 765 F.2d 1124,

1128 (D.C. Cir. 1985) to decide that offensive wars initiated

without congressional approval are not “inherently” of short

duration, and that therefore petitioners’ claims will not evade

review. He also doubted that the capable of repetition prong

of the test was met with respect to petitioners’ War Powers

Resolution claims because “most military actions in the

future . . . will be over before the 60-day limit” contained in

the War Powers Resolution is reached. 203 F.3d at 34

(emphasis added). Those conclusions seem both mutually

inconsistent and at odds with both this Court and the Circuit’s

precedent. :

Wer emg

22

Judge Randolph, following Judge Tamm in Conyers v.

Reagan, apparently believed that inherently of short duration

means that the challenged activity has to be, by its very nature

always short in duration, such as election campaigns or

pregnancies. But the test articulated by this Court is whether

the actions complained of are “typically of short duration.”

Globe Newspaper Company v. Superior Court for the County

of Norfolk, 457 U.S. 596, 603 (1982) (emphasis added);

Burlington Northern Railroad Co. v. Brotherhood of

Maintenance of Way Employees, 481 U.S. 429, 436 n.4 (1987)

(“because such disputes typically are resolved quickly” it

evades review); Press Enterprise Co. v. Superior Court, 478

U.S. 1, 6 (1986) (“because criminal proceedings are typically

of short duration” the order will evade review). The Circuit

has also held, subsequent to Judge Tamm’s decision in

Conyers, that the “possibility that the issue presented in this

case will not always evade review” does not render a case

moot where the issue typically or often will evade review.

Washington Post v. Robinson, 935 F.2d 282, 287 (D.C. Cir.

1991). See also In re Reporters Committee for Freedom of

the Press, 773 F.2d 1325, 1329 (D.C. Cir. 1985) (issue evades

review when “the interval of time that typically elapses”

during the controversy is less than two years) (emphasis in

original). Doe v. Sullivan, 938 F.2d 1370, 1376 n.10

(D.C. Cir. 1991) (citing Washington Post). Hinckley v. United

States, 163 F.3d 647, 651 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (issue may evade

review even when no assurance that time constraints will

always preclude review) (emphasis in original).

In a variety of situations this Court and the Circuit have

applied the “evading review” exception even though the

action complained of could continue long enough to allow

for full appellate review. Thus, the Circuit found that the

time between the beginning of discovery and the completion

of trial in a civil case “is hard to measure,” and typically was

less than two years, although it is common knowledge that

23

many civil cases take considerably longer to complete. Reporters

Committee, supra at 1329. Similarly, the Circuit recognized that

a criminal investigation “might continue for a much longer time”

than a criminal proceeding but nonetheless held that it evaded

review because it “may often” evade review. Washington Post

at 287. This Court has applied the exception when an adolescent

student, improperly disciplined, “will often” be finished with

school by the time final appellate review would be available.

Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 322-23 (1988) (emphasis added).

The Court has also found that economic strikes “are of

comparatively short duration,” although “[t]here are exceptions

of course.” Super Tire Engineering Co. v. McCorkle, 416 U.S.

115, 126 (1974). They evade review “[b]ecause the great

majority of economic strikes do not last long enough for

complete judicial review of the controversies they engendered.”

Id. (emphasis added).

More recently in Spencer v. Kemna, 523 U.S. 1 (1998),

Justice Scalia perhaps created some confusion about the

applicable test when he rejected the application of the capable

of repetition yet evading review doctrine because petitioner had

not shown “that the time between parole revocation and

expiration of sentence is always so short as to evade review.”

523 U.S. 1 at 18. Justice Scalia’s one paragraph rejection of the

capable of repetition exception did not purport to address the

question of whether a challenged action must typically, or rather

in every instance, be of short duration, and his use of the word

“always” contradicts his own earlier reliance (as a Circuit Judge)

on the more lenient standard of “typically” rather than always.

In re Reporters Committee, 773 F.2d at 1329.” That is the

important question this case raises.

27. After Spencer, the Circuit had occasion to re-visit the

“capable of repetition yet evading review” doctrine in Hinckley, and

used a standard of whether cases of a certain duration “ordinarily

evade review,” and specifically rejected an “always” standard.

163 F.3d at 651.

24

Judge Randolph agreed that contemporary U.S. military

actions are of relatively short duration and “most” are likely

to be over in 60 days. That finding renders Judge Randolph’s

opinion that petitioners’ claims do not evade review, at odds

with this Court’s decisions that would require merely that

such military action typically end quickly. Judge Randolph’s

mootness analysis thus raises the important question of

whether the “evading review” test requires the activity to

“always” be so short as to evade review or to “typically” be

of short duration. This Court should reaffirm its prior

decisions.

Similarly, Judge Randolph’s conclusion that petitioners’

War Powers Resolution claims do not meet the capable of

repetition prong of the test since “most” U.S. military actions

are likely to be less than 60 days, runs afoul of this Court’s

mootness decisions. In Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 318-19

n.6 (1988) the Court noted that the reasonable expectation

requirement does not mean “demonstrably probable.” The

Court stated that the question was “whether the controversy

was capable of repetition and not, as the dissent seems to

insist, whether the claimant had demonstrated that a

recurrence of the dispute was more probable than not.” Jd.

(emphasis in original). See also Doe v. Sullivan, 938 F.2d

1370, 1378-79 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (question is whether “litigant

‘faces some likelihood of becoming involved in the same

controversy in the future’ ” (citing United States Parole

Commission v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388, 400 (1980)). Here,

there is clearly some likelihood that a President will again

order U.S. troops into hostilities in the next decade without

obtaining congressional approval, and that those hostilities

will last for more than 60 days.** This Court should decide

petitioners’ claims.

28. It is much less probable, however, that future hostilities

involving U.S. Armed Forces would last more than the two years

necessary to obtain full appellate review.

25

2. Political Question

Judges Silberman’s and Tatel’s concurrences with respect

to the justiciability of the issues raised by this case reflect

an ongoing division within the lower courts. Contrast

Dellums v. Bush, 752 F. Supp. 1141, 1145 (D.D.C. 1990)

with Ange v. Bush, 752 F. Supp. 509 (D.D.C. 1990). Judge

Silberman’s concurrence conflicts with the Second Circuit’s

position in Orlando v. Laird, 443 F.2d 1039, cert. denied,

440 U.S. 869 (1971) and Berk v. Laird, 429 F.2d 302 (2d

Cir. 1970) which held that the issue of whether the President

needed congressional authorization to wage the war in

Vietnam was a justiciable question. It is also at odds with

the D.C. Circuit’s position in Mitchell v. Laird, 488 F.2d 611,

614 (D.C. Cir. 1973) that saw no difficulty “in a court facing

up to the question as to whether because of the war’s duration

and magnitude the President is or was without power to

continue the war without congressional approval.” This Court

should resolve the disagreement between Judges Silberman

and Tatel as to whether the issues presented in this case are

justiciable.

Judge Silberman’s position that the constitutionality of

the War Powers Resolution can never be tested in Court is

particularly disturbing. He argued that the question of

whether the War Powers Resolution was triggered because

United States forces were engaged in hostilities with

Yugoslavia is a question unsuited to judicial resolution. That

conclusion ignores the undisputed facts that American forces

were Clearly involved in hostilities with Yugoslavia and that

Congress itself invoked the War Powers Resolution. Secretary

of Defense Cohen recognized that “We’re certainly engaged

in hostilities, we’re engaged in combat.” 203 F.3d at 40. Judge

Silberman’s conclusion is contrary to the opinions of other

courts that have considered War Powers Resolution claims

and have noted that courts could decide a case in which

26

American forces were clearly engaged in hostilities and thus

“the. constitutionality of the War Powers Resolution” was

“squarely presented.” Lowry v. Reagan, 676 F. Supp. 333,

340-41 (D.D.C. 1987); see also Crockett v. Reagan, 558

F. Supp. 893, 899 (D.D.C. 1982), aff’d, 720 F.2d 1355

(D.D.C. 1983). Judge Silberman’s concurrence is contrary

to the teachings of this Court that interpreting congressional

legislation and deciding the constitutionality of a statute are

tasks for the judiciary. Japan Whaling Assn. v. American

Cetacean Soc., 478 U.S. 221, 230 (1986); INS v. Chadha,

462 U.S. 919, 942-43 (1983).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JULES LOBEL

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL RATNER ~

FRANKLIN SIEGEL

WILLIAM GOODMAN

JENNIFER GREEN

CENTER FOR CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS

666 Broadway, Seventh Floor

New York, NY 10012-2317

(412) 648-1375

(212) 614-6464

JoEL E. STARR

2442 Rayburn House Office Building

Washington, DC 20515

(202) 225-2631

27

JAMES KLIMASKI

KLIMASKI & MILLER, P.C.

1899 L Street, N.W.

Suite 1250

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 296-5600

H. LEE HALTERMAN

405 14" Street

Suite 907

Oakland, CA 94612

(510) 663-0936

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE DISTRICT OF

COLUMBIA CIRCUIT DATED AND

DECIDED FEBRUARY 18, 2000

Tom CAMPBELL, Member, U.S. House of

Representatives, et al.,

Appellants,

v.

William Jefferson CLINTON, President of the

United States,

Appellee.

No. 99-5214.

United States Court of Appeals,

District of Columbia Circuit.

Argued Oct. 22, 1999.

Decided Feb. 18, 2000.

* * *

Before: SILBERMAN, RANDOLPH, and TATEL,

Circuit Judges.

Opinion for the Court filed by Circuit Judge

SILBERMAN.

2a

Appendix A

Separate concurring opinion filed by Circuit Judge

SILBERMAN.

Separate opinion concurring in the judgment filed by

Circuit Judge RANDOLPH.

Separate concurring opinion filed by Circuit Judge

TATEL.

SILBERMAN, Circuit Judge:

A number of congressmen, led by Tom Campbell of

California, filed suit claiming that the President violated the

War Powers Resolution and the War Powers Clause of the

Constitution by directing U.S. forces’ participation in the

recent NATO campaign in Yugoslavia. The district court

dismissed for lack of standing. We agree with the district

court and therefore affirm.

3

On March 24, 1999, President Clinton announced the

commencement of NATO air and cruise missile attacks on

Yugoslav targets. Two days later he submitted to Congress

a report, “consistent with the War Powers Resolution,”

detailing the circumstances necessitating the use of armed

forces, the deployment’s scope and expected duration, and

asserting that he had “taken these actions pursuant to [his]

authority . . .as Commander in Chief and Chief Executive.”

On April 28, Congress voted on four resolutions related to

the Yugoslav conflict: It voted down a declaration of war

427 to 2 and an “authorization” of the air strikes 213 to 213,

3a

Appendix A

but it also voted against requiring the President to

immediately end U.S. participation in the NATO operation

and voted to fund that involvement. The conflict between

NATO and Yugoslavia continued for 79 days, ending on June

10 with Yugoslavia’s agreement to withdraw its forces from

Kosovo and allow deployment of a NATO-led peacekeeping

force.’ Throughout this period Pentagon, State Department,

and NATO spokesmen informed the public on a frequent

basis of developments in the fighting.

Appellants, 31 congressmen opposed to U:S.

involvement in the Kosovo intervention, filed suit prior to

termination of that conflict seeking a declaratory judgment

that the President’s use of American forces against

Yugoslavia was unlawful under both the War Powers Clause

of the Constitution and the War Powers Resolution (“the

WPR”). See 50 U.S.C. § 1541 et seq. The WPR requires the

President to submit a report within 48 hours “in any case in

which United States Armed Forces are introduced .. . into

hostilities or into situations where imminent involvement in

hostilities is clearly indicated by the circumstances,” and to

“terminate any use of United States Armed Forces with

respect to which a report was submitted (or required to be

submitted), unless the Congress . . . has declared war or has

enacted a specific authorization for such use of United States

Armed Forces” within 60 days. Appellants claim that the

President did submit a report sufficient to trigger the WPR

on March 26, or in any event was required to submit a report

by that date, but nonetheless failed to end U.S. involvement

1. U.S. forces are currently stationed in Kosovo, which remains

part of Yugoslavia, as part of the peacekeeping operation, but

appellants do not claim that this deployment is relevant to their case.

4a

Appendix A

in the hostilities after 60 days. The district court granted the

President’s motion to dismiss, see Campbell v. Clinton, 52

F.Supp.2d 34 (D.D.C.1999), and this appeal followed.

Il.

The government does not respond to appellants’ claim

on the merits. Instead the government challenges the

jurisdiction of the federal courts to adjudicate this claim on

three separate grounds: the case is moot; appellants lack

standing, as the district court concluded; and the case is

nonjusticiable. Since we agree with the district court that

the congressmen lack standing it is not necessary to decide

whether there are other jurisdictional defects.

The question whether congressmen have standing in

federal court to challenge the lawfulness of actions of the

executive was answered, at léast in large part, in the Supreme

Court’s recent decision in Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811,

117 S.Ct. 2312, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997). Raines involved a

constitutional challenge to the President’s authority under

the short-lived Line Item Veto Act. Individual congressmen

claimed that under that Act a President could veto

(unconstitutionally) only part of a law and thereby diminish

the institutional power of Congress. Observing it had never

held that congressmen have standing to assert an institutional

injury as against the executive, see id. at 821, 117 S.Ct. 2312,’

2. The Court noted that it had found standing for a congressman

in Powell v. McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 89 S.Ct. 1944, 23 L.Ed.2d

491 (1969), where he was unconstitutionally excluded from

Congress, thus depriving him of a salary and the House seat he was

(Cont’d)

Sa

Appendix A

the Court held that petitioners in the case lacked “legislative

Standing” to challenge the Act. The Court noted that

petitioners already possessed an adequate political remedy,

since they could vote to have the Line Item Veto Act

repealed, or to provide individual spending bills with a

statutory exemption. See id. at 829, 117 S.Ct. 2312.

Thereafter in Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112, 115

(D.C.Cir.1999), emphasizing the separation-of-powers

problems inherent in legislative standing, we held that

congressmen had no standing to challenge the President’s

introduction of a program through executive order rather than

Statute. As in Raines, appellants contended that the

President’s action inflicted an institutional injury upon

Congress, in this case by circumventing its legislative

authority, but, we said,

It is uncontested that the Congress could terminate

the [contested program] were a sufficient number

in each House so inclined. Because the parties’

dispute is therefore fully susceptible to political

resolution, we would [under circuit precedent]

dismiss the complaint to avoid “meddl[ing] in the

internal affairs of the legislative branch.”

(Cont’d)

constitutionally due, both personal injuries. The Court did not decide

whether congressmen would have standing to challenge actions of

Congress which diminished their institutional role. Cf. Michel v.

Anderson, 14 F.3d 623 (D.C.Cir.1994) (congressmen had standing

to challenge House rule which diluted their vote in Committee of

the Whole).

6a

Appendix A

Applying Raines, we would reach the same

conclusion.

Id. at 116 (citation omitted).

There remains, however, a soft spot in the legal barrier

against congressional legal challenges to executive action,

and it is a soft spot that appellants sought to penetrate. In

1939 the Supreme Court in Coleman v. Miller voted 5-4 to

recognize the standing of Kansas State legislators in the

Supreme Court to challenge the actions of the Kansas

Secretary of State and the Secretary of the State Senate. See

307 U.S. 433, 59 S.Ct. 972, 83 L.Ed. 1385 (1939). That case

arose out of a State Senate vote on the ratification of a

constitutional amendment, the Child Labor Amendment,

proposed by Congress in 1924. The State Senate split 20 to

20, and the Lieutenant Governor, the presiding officer of

the Senate, then cast a deciding vote in favor. The State

House subsequently also passed a ratification resolution.

Thereupon the twenty State Senators who voted against

ratification plus one more (who presumably had voted for

the resolution) brought a mandamus action in the State

Supreme Court challenging the Lieutenant Governor’s right

to vote. They sought an order compelling the Secretary of

3. The government also challenges the congressmen’s standing

on the basis that they do not constitute a majority of the Congress.

In Raines the Supreme Court did “attach some importance to the

fact that appellees have not been authorized to represent their

respective Houses of Congress in this action,” but it declined to say

how much importance. Raines, 521 U.S. at 829-30, 117 S.Ct. 2312.

Because we find that appellants lack standing for another reason,

we need not discuss that issue.

Ta

Appendix A

the Senate to erase the endorsement on the resolution and

restraining the Secretary of State from authenticating the

resolution and passing it on to the Governor. The Supreme

Court of Kansas entertained the action but ruled against the

plaintiffs on the merits. Granting certiorari, the United States

Supreme Court determined that “at least the twenty senators

whose votes, if their contention were sustained, would have

been sufficient to defeat the resolution . . . have an interest

... Sufficient to give the Court jurisdiction,” id. 2¢ 446, 59

S.Ct. 972, because they have a legal interest “in maintaining

the effectiveness of their votes.” Id. at 438, 59 S.C’. 972.

In Raines the plaintiff congressmen had relied on

Coleman to argue that they had standing because the

presidential veto had undermined the “effectiveness of their

votes.” The Supreme Court noted that Coleman might be

distinguished on grounds that the federal constitutional

separation of powers concerns that underlay its decision in

Raines (and which we emphasized in Chenoweth) were not

present, or that if the Court in Coleman had not taken the

case a question of federal law — the ratification vel non by

the Kansas Legislature — would remain as decided by the

Kansas Court. But cf. Coleman, 307 U.S. at 465-66, 59 S.Ct.

972 (opinion of Frankfurter, J.). But the Court thought it

unnecessary to cabin Coleman on those grounds. See Raines,

521 U.S. at 824 n. 8, 117 S.Ct. 2312. Instead, the Court

emphasized that the congressmen were not asserting that their

votes had been “completely nullified”:

They have not alleged that they voted for a

specific bill, that there were sufficient votes to

pass the bill, and that the bill was nonetheless

deemed defeated... .

8a

Appendix A

Nor can they allege that the Act will nullify their

votes in the future in the same way that the votes

of the Coleman legislators had been nullified . . .

In addition, a majority of Senators and

Congressmen can vote to repeal the Act, or to

exempt a given appropriations bill... .

Id. at 824, 117 S.Ct. 2312.

Here the plaintiff congressmen, by specifically defeating

the War Powers Resolution authorization by a tie vote and

by defeating a declaration of war, sought to fit within the

Coleman exception to the Raines rule. This parliamentary

tactic led to an extensive argument before us as to exactly

what the Supreme Court meant by a claim that a legislator’s

vote was completely “nullified.”

It is, to be sure, not readily apparent what the Supreme

Court meant by that word. It would seem the Court used

nullify to mean treating a vote that did not pass as if it had,

or vice versa. The “nullification” alleged in this case therefore

differs from Coleman in a significant respect. In that case

state officials endorsed a defeated ratification, treating it as

approved, while the President here did not claim to be acting

pursuant to the defeated declaration of war or a statutory

authorization, but instead “pursuant to [his] constitutional

authority to conduct U.S. foreign relations and as

Commander-in-Chief and Chief Executive.” See Letter to

Congressional Leaders Reporting on Airstrikes Against

Serbian Targets in the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

(Serbia and Montenegro), 35 Weekly Comp. Pres. Doc. 528

9a

Appendix A

(March 26, 1999). The Court did not Suggest in Raines that

the President “nullifies” a congressional] vote and thus

legislators have standing whenever the government does

something Congress voted against, still less that congressmen

would have standing anytime a President allegedly acts in

excess of statutory authority. As the government correctly

observes, appellants’ Statutory argument, although cast in

terms of the nullification of a recent vote, essentially is that

the President violated the quarter-century old War Powers

Resolution. Similarly, their constitutional argument is that

the President has acted illegally — in excess of his authority

— because he waged war in the constitutional sense without

a congressional delegation. Neither claim is analogous to a

Coleman nullification.

We think the key to understanding the Court’s treatment

of Coleman and its use of the word nullification is its implicit

recognition that a ratification vote on a constitutional

amendment is an unusual situation. It is not at all clear

whether once the amendment was “deemed ratified,” see

Raines, 521 U.S. at 822, 117 S.Ct. 2312, the Kansas Senate

could have done anything to reverse that position.4 We think

that must be what the Supreme Court implied when it said

the Raines plaintiffs could not allege that the “[Line Item

Veto Act] would nullify their votes in the future,” and that,

after all, a majority of senators and congressmen could

always repeal the Line Item Veto Act. Id. at 824, 117 S.Ct.

2312 (emphasis added). The Coleman senators, by contrast,

4. See Coleman, 307 U.S. at 450, 59 S.Ct. 972 (“[T]he question

of the efficacy of ratifications of state legislatures, in the light of

- attempted withdrawal, should be regarded as a political

question. .. .”).

10a

Appendix A

may well have been powerless to rescind a ratification of a

constitutional amendment that they claimed had been

defeated. In other words, they had no legislative remedy.

Under that reading — which we think explains the very

narrow possible Coleman exception to Raines — appellants

fail because they continued, after the votes, to enjoy ample

legislative power to have stopped prosecution of the “war.”

In this case, Congress certainly could have passed a law

forbidding the use of U.S. forces in the Yugoslav campaign;

indeed, there was a measure — albeit only a concurrent

resolution — introduced to require the President to withdraw

U.S. troops. Unfortunately, however, for those congressmen

who, like appellants, desired an end to U.S. involvement in

Yugoslavia, this measure was defeated by a 139 to 290 vote.

Of course, Congress always retains appropriations authority

and could have cut off funds for the American role in the

conflict. Again there was an effort to do so but it failed;

appropriations were authorized. And there always remains

the possibility of impeachment should a President act in

disregard of Congress’ authority on these matters.

* * *

Appellants’ constitutional claim stands on no firmer

footing. Appellants argue that the War Powers Clause of the

Constitution proscribes a President from using military force

except as is necessary to repel a sudden attack. But they also

argue that the WPR “implements” or channels congressional

authority under the Constitution. It may well be then that

since we have determined that appellants lack standing to

enforce the WPR there is nothing left of their constitutional

lla

Appendix A

claim. Assuming, however, that appellants’ constitutional

claim should be considered separately, the same logic dictates

they do not have standing to bring such a challenge. That is

to say Congress has a broad range of legislative authority it

can use to stop a President’s war making, see generally John

C. Yoo, The Continuation of Politics by Other Means: The

Original Understanding of War Powers, 84 CAL. L. REV.

167 (1996), and therefore under Raines congressmen may

not challenge the President’s war-making powers in federal

court.

Judge Randolph asserts that appellants lack standing

because they do not claim that the President violated various

Statutes that depend on the existence of a war or the

imminence of war. But that position sidesteps appellants’

basic claim that the President unconstitutionally conducted

a war without authority, and the logic of Judge Randolph’s

reasoning (“There is no suggestion that despite the vote,

President Clinton invaded Yugoslavia by land or took some

other action authorized only during a declared war.”) is that

if there had been a “war” appellants would have had standing.

See infra at 22 (Randolph, J., concurring).° He therefore

presents as an alternate reason for denying standing that the

President did not “nullify” the vote against the declaration

of war because he did not take any actions that constitute

“war” in the constitutional sense. See id. at 20-22. That

analysis, however, conflates standing with the merits. At the

standing stage we must take as correct appellants’ claim that

5. It is certainly not logically necessary for appellants to assert

a violation of the statutes (three of which do not even depend on a

declaration of war) relied upon by the concurrence in order to make

their constitutional claim.

12a

Appendix A

the President violated the Constitution simply by ordering

U.S. forces to attack Yugoslavia.

In our view Judge Randolph’s criticism of our analysis

does not give sufficient attention to Raines’ focus on the

political self-help available to congressmen. See infra at 23

(Randolph, J., concurring). Even though the congressmen

in Raines sought review before the Court of what was soon

after determined in Clinton v. City of New York, 524 U.S.

417, 118 S.Ct. 2091, 141 L.Ed.2d 393 (1998), to be an

unconstitutional statute, the Court denied them standing as

congressmen because they possessed political tools with

which to remedy their purported injury. Our colleague notes

a distinction drawn by Raines between “the right to vote in

the future [and] the nullification of a vote in the past,” see

infra at 23 (Randolph, J., concurring), and asserts that the

former does not remedy the latter. But Raines rejected this

argument, which is why the congressmen in Raines lacked

standing whereas petitioners in New York were allowed to

contest the President’s “nullification” of particular

appropriations line items. Indeed, Raines explicitly rejected

Judge Randolph’s argument that legislators should not be

required to turn to politics instead of the courts for their

remedy. Although the plaintiff legislators in Raines had

already failed to stop passage of the Line Item Veto Act, the

Court’s response was the equivalent of “if at first you don’t

succeed, try and try again” — either work for repeal of the

Act, or seek to have individual spending bills made exempt.

See Raines, 521 U.S. at 824-25, 825 n. 9, 830. Judge

Randolph overlooks this key portion of Raines when he

disagrees with our conclusion that plaintiffs lack standing

asagiscie la

13a

Appendix A

because they may “fight again tomorrow.” Infra at 23

(Randolph, J., concurring).°

* * *

Accordingly, the district court is affirmed; appellants

lack standing.

6. Judge Randolph also contends that our opinion is in conflict

with Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181 F.3d 112, 116-17 (D.C.Cir.1999),

But as we have already described that opinion, see supra at 21, it

too focused on the political options available to congressmen when

denying them standing. Chenoweth did not hold, as Judge Randolph

would have it, that Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430

(D.C.Cir.1974), survived Raines. Instead, we stressed the increased

emphasis placed by such post-Kennedy cases as Raines on separation

of powers concerns. See Chenoweth, 181 F.3d at 113-15. Although

appellants’ injury in Chenoweth was “precisely the harm we held in

... Kennedy to be cognizable under Article III,” it was also

“identical to the injury the Court in Raines deprecated as ‘widely

dispersed’ and ‘abstract,’ ” and therefore we affirmed the district

court’s dismissal for lack of Standing. Id. We only suggested

tentatively that “Kennedy may remain good law ... as a peculiar

application of the narrow rule announced in” Coleman. See id. at

116 (emphasis added). Indeed, Judge Tatel understandably read our

opinion to “essentially overrule ] the theory of legislative standing

recognized in Kennedy. . . .” See id. at 117 (Tatel, J., concurring).

In any event, Chenoweth’s discussion of Kennedy’s fate after Raines

was dicta, and we need not decide for purposes of this case if

Kennedy, which involved the special question of a pocket veto,

survived Raines.

l4a

Appendix A

SILBERMAN, Circuit Judge, concurring:

Appellants argued that we should consider in our

standing analysis that if congressmen lack standing only

military personnel might be able to challenge a President’s

arguably unlawful use of force, and it would be undesirable

to put the armed forces in such a position. Although that is

not a consideration that bears on standing, see Schlesinger

v. Reservists Comm. to Stop the War, 418 U.S. 208, 227, 94

S.Ct. 2925, 41 L.Ed.2d 706 (1974), that argument leads me

to observe that, in my view, no one is able to bring this

challenge because the two claims are not justiciable. We lack

“judicially discoverable and manageable standards” for

addressing them, and the War Powers Clause claim

implicates the political question doctrine. See Baker v. Carr,

369 U.S. 186, 217, 82 S.Ct. 691, 7 L.Ed.2d 663 (1962).

Prior litigation under the WPR has turned on the

threshold test whether U.S. forces are engaged in hostilities

or are in imminent danger of hostilities. But the question

posed by appellants — whether the President’s refusal to

discontinue American activities in Yugoslavia violates the

WPR — necessarily depends on the statute having been

triggered in the first place. It has been held that the statutory

threshold standard is not precise enough and too obviously

calls for a political judgment to be one suitable for judicial

determinations. See, e.g., Sanchez-Espinoza v. Reagan, 770

F.2d 202, 209 (D.C.Cir.1985) (aid to Contras); Crockett v.

Reagan, 720 F.2d 1355, 1356- 57 (D.C.Cir.1983) (U.S.

advisors in El Salvador); see also Ange v. Bush, 752 F.Supp.

509, 514 (D.D.C.1990) (pre-Gulf War buildup); Lowry v.

Reagan, 676 F.Supp. 333, 340 n. 53 (D.D.C.1987) (reflagging

15a

Appendix A

operations in the Persian Gulf). I think that is correct.

Appellants point to a House Report suggesting that hostilities

for purposes of the WPR include all situations “where there

is a reasonable expectation that American military personnel

will be subject to hostile fire.” See H.R. REP. NO. 287, 93rd

Cong., Ist Sess. 7 (1973). That elaboration hardly helps. It

could reasonably be thought that anytime American soldiers

are confronted by armed or potentially armed forces of a

non-ally there is a reasonable expectation that they will be

subject to hostile fire. Certainly any competent military

leader will assume that to be so.

Appellants argue that here there is no real problem of

definition because this air war was so overwhelming and

indisputable. It is asserted that the President implicitly

conceded the applicability of the WPR by sending the report

to Congress. In truth, the President only said the report was

“consistent” with the WPR. In any event, I do not think it

matters how clear it is in any particular case that “hostilities”

were initiated if the statutory standard is one generally

unsuited to judicial resolution.

Nor is the constitutional claim justiciable. Appellants

contend this case is governed by Mitchell v. Laird, 488 F.2d

611, 614 (D.C.Cir.1973), where we said that “[t]here would

be no insuperable difficulty in a court determining whether”

the Vietnam conflict constituted a war in the Constitutional

sense. See also Dellums v. Bush, 752 F.Supp. 1141, 1146

(D.D.C.1990) (“[T]he Court has no hesitation in concluding

that an offensive entry into Iraq by several hundred thousand

United States servicemen . . . could be described as a ‘war’

within the meaning . . . of the Constitution.”). But a careful

16a

Appendix A

reading of both cases reveals that the language upon which

appellants rely is only dicta. (In Laird the Court ultimately

held that the resolution of the issues was a political question.

See 488 F.2d at 616.)'

Appellants cannot point to any constitutional test for

what is war. See, e.g., Holtzman v. Schlesinger, 414 U.S.

1316, 94 S.Ct. 8, 38 L.Ed.2d 28 (1973) (Justice Douglas, in

chambers, vacating order of Court of Appeals granting stay

of district court’s injunction against bombing of Cambodia),

414 US. at 1321, 94 S.Ct. 8 (1973) (Justice Marshall, in

chambers, granting stay the same day with the concurrence

of the other Justices); Holtzman v. Schlesinger, 484 F.2d

1307 (2d Cir.1973) (holding legality of Cambodia bombing

nonjusticiable because courts lack expertise to determine

import of various military actions). Instead, appellants offer

a rough definition of war provided in 1994 by an Assistant

Attorney General to four Senators with respect to a planned

intervention in Haiti, as well as a number of law review

articles each containing its own definition of war. I do not

1. The additional cases upon which Judge Tatel relies with

respect to this point were also held to present political questions.

See Massachusetts v. Laird, 451 F.2d 26, 34 (1st Cir.1971) (“All

we hold here is that in a situation of prolonged but undeclared

hostilities, where the executive continues to act not only in the

absence of any conflicting congressional claim of authority but with

steady congressional support, the Constitution has not been

breached.”); Orlando v. Laird, 443 F.2d 1039, 1043 (2d Cir.1971)

(whether Vietnam conflict required a declaration of war was a

political question); Berk v. Laird, 429 F.2d 302 (2d Cir.1970)

(denying a preliminary injunction against dispatch of soldier to

Vietnam because whether Congress had authorized conflict was a

political question).

17a

Appendix A

think any of these sources, however, offers a coherent test

for judges to apply to the question what constitutes war, a

point only accentuated by the variances, for instance, between

the numerous law review articles. For that reason, I disagree

with Judge Tatel’s assertion that we can decide appellants’

constitutional claim because it is somehow obvious in this

case that our country fought a war. See infra at 22 (Tatel, J.,

concurring). Baker v. Carr speaks of a case involving “a lack

of judicially discoverable and manageable standards for

resolving” the issue presented, see 369 U.S. at 217, 82 S.Ct.

691, not just a case the facts of which are obscure; the focus

is on the standards. Even if this court knows all there is to

know about the Kosovo conflict, we still do not know what

standards to apply to those facts.

Judge Tatel points to numerous cases in which a court

has determined that our nation was at war, but none of these

cases involved the question whether the President had

“declared war” in violation of the Constitution. For instance,

in Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 1 L.Ed. 731 (1800), the

question whether there was a “war” was only relevant to

determining whether France was an “enemy” within the

meaning of a prize statute. See id. at 37 (“[T]he argument

turned, principally, upon two inquiries: 1st. Whether the Act

of March 1799, applied only to the event of a future general

war? 2d. Whether France was an enemy of the United States,

within the meaning of the law?”). Indeed, Justice

Washington’s opinion in that case, upon which Judge Tatel

principally relies, suggests that whether there was a war in

the constitutional sense was irrelevant. See id. at 42

(“Besides, it may be asked, why should the rate of salvage

be different in such a war as the present, from the salvage in

18a

Appendix A

a war more solemn [i.e. a declared war] or general?’’). It is

similarly irrelevant that courts have determined the existence

of a war in cases involving insurance policies and other

contracts, the Federal Tort Claims Act, and provisions of

the military criminal code applicable in “time of war.” See

infra at 20-21 (Tatel, J., concurring). None of these cases

asked whether there was a war as the Constitution uses that

word, but only whether a particular statutory or contractual

provision was triggered by some instance of fighting.

Comparing Bas v. Tingy’s lengthy discussion whether our

quarrel with France constituted a solemn or imperfect,

general or limited war, see 4 U.S. at 40-41, with today’s

propensity to label any widespread conflict an

undifferentiated war, it would not be surprising if an

insurance contract’s “war” provisions, or even a statute’s

for that matter, were triggered before the Constitution’s.

Even assuming a court could determine what “war” is,

it is important to remember that the Constitution grants

Congress the power to declare war, which is not necessarily

the same as the power to determine whether U:S. forces will

fight in a war. This distinction was drawn in the Prize Cases,

67 U.S. (2 Black) 635, 17 L.Ed. 459 (1862). There,

petitioners challenged the authority of the President to

impose a blockade on the secessionist States, an act of war,

where Congress had not declared war against the

Confederacy. The Court, while recognizing that the President

“has no power to initiate or declare a war,” observed that

“war may exist without a declaration on either side.” Id. at

668. In instances where war is declared against the United

States by the actions of another country, the President “does

not initiate the war, but is bound to accept the challenge

Fe ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee Eee ee je

19a

Appendix A

without waiting for any special legislative authority.” Id.

Importantly, the Court made clear that it would not dispute

the President on measures necessary to repel foreign

aggression. The President alone

must determine what degree of force the crisis

demands. The proclamation of blockade is itself

official and conclusive evidence to the Court that

a state of war existed which demanded and

authorized a recourse to such a measure, under

the circumstances peculiar to the case.

Id. at 670.? And, to confirm the independent authority of the

President to meet foreign aggression, the Court noted that

while Congress had authorized the war, it may not have been

required to: “If it were necessary to the technical existence

2. Judge Tatel’s reliance on the Prize Cases as an example of

the Court concluding a war exists is misplaced because the Court

itself did not label the Civil War such, but instead deferred to the

President’s determination that the country was at war. See 67 U.S.

(2 Black) at 670 (“Whether the President in fulfilling his duties, as

Commander-in-chief . . . has met with such armed hostile resistance

-- as will compel him to accord to them the character of belligerents,

is a question to be decided by him, and this Court must be governed

by the decisions and acts of the political department of the

Government to which this power was entrusted”) (emphasis in

original). Therefore, the Court’s assertion that “it is bound to notice

and to know” the war, see id. at 667, provides no support for the

proposition that a court itself may decide when in fact there is one.

The Prize Cases thus refute the Suggestion in Talbot v. Seeman, 5

U.S. (1 Cranch) 1, 28, 2 L.Ed. 15 (1801), that only acts of Congress

are evidence of the existence of a war. See infra at 20 (Tatel, J.,

concurring).

20a

Appendix A

of a war, that it should have a legislative sanction, we find

it... .” Id. (emphasis added).

I read the Prize Cases to stand for the proposition that

the President has independent authority to repel aggressive

acts by third parties even without specific congressional

authorization, and courts may not review the level of force

selected. See Geoffrey Corn, Presidential War Power: Do

the Courts Offer Any Answers?, 157 MIL. L. REV. 180,

214 (1998); J. Gregory Sidak, To Declare War, 41 DUKE

L.J. 27, 54 (1991); Cyrus R. Vance, Striking the Balance:

Congress and the President Under the War Powers

Resolution, 133 U. PA. L. REV. 79, 85 (1984). Therefore, I

assume, arguendo, that appellants are correct and only

Congress has authority to initiate “war.” If the President may

direct U.S. forces in response to third-party initiated war,

then the question any plaintiff who challenges the

constitutionality of a war must answer is, who started it?

The question of who is responsible for a conflict is, as history

reveals, rather difficult to answer, and we lack judicial

standards for resolving it. See, e.g., Greenham Women

Against Cruise Missiles v. Reagan, 591 F.Supp. 1332,

1337-38 (S.D.N.Y.1984) (court lacked judicially manageable

standards to decide if placement of U.S. cruise missiles in

England was a war-like, “aggressive” act). Then there is the

problem of actually discovering the necessary information

to answer the question, when such information may be

unavailable to the U:S. or its allies, or unavailable to courts

due to its sensitivity. See id. at 1338. Perhaps Yugoslavia

did pose a threat to a much wider region of Europe and to

U.S. civilian and military interests and personnel there.

2la

Appendix A

Judge Tatel does not take into account the Prize Cases

when he concludes that the President was not exercising his

independent authority to respond to foreign aggression

because “in fact, the Kosovo issue had been festering for

years.” See infra at 22 (Tatel, J., concurring). As quoted

above the President alone “must determine what degree of

force the crisis demands.” See 67 U.S. at 670. Judge Tatel

would substitute our judgment for the President’s as to the

point at which an intervention for reasons of national security

is justified, after which point — when the crisis is no longer

acute — the President must obtain a declaration of war. One

Should bear in mind that Kosovo’s tensions antedate the

creation of this republic.

In most cases this will also be an issue of the greatest

sensitivity for our foreign relations. Here, the President

claimed on national television that our country needed to

respond to Yugoslav aggression to protect our trading

interests in Europe, and to prevent a replay of World War I.

A pronouncement by another branch of the U.S. government

that U.S. participation in Kosovo was “unjustified” would

no doubt cause strains within NATO. Cf. United States v.

New, 50 M.J. 729, 739-40 (Army Ct.Crim.App.1999)

(lawfulness of U.N. peacekeeping operation in Macedonia

was a political question).

In sum, there are no standards to determine either the

statutory or constitutional questions raised in this case, and

the question of whether the President has intruded on the

war-declaring authority of Congress fits squarely within the

political question doctrine. We therefore have another basis

for our affirming the district court’s dismissal of appellants’

case.

22a

~ Appendix A

RANDOLPH, Circuit Judge, concurring in the judgment:

The majority opinion does not, I believe, correctly

analyze plaintiffs’ standing to sue. It misconceives the

holding of Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 117 S.Ct. 2312,

138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997), and conflicts with the law of this

circuit. I believe plaintiffs lack standing, at least to litigate

their constitutional claim, but for reasons the majority

opinion neglects. I also believe that the case is moot, an

optional disposition of the appeal.' The serious questions

about the constitutionality of the War Powers Resolution?

must therefore be put off for still another day.

1. While we may be required to decide jurisdictional issues

before disposing of a case on the merits, we are not required to

decide jurisdictional questions in any particular order. See Arizonans

for Official English v. Arizona, 520 U.S. 43, 66-67, 117 S.Ct. 1055,

137 L.Ed.2d 170 (1997); Galvan v. Federal Prison Indus., Inc., 199

F.3d 461 (D.C.Cir.1999) (citing Steel Co. v. Citizens for a Better

Environment, 523 U.S. 83, 94-95, 118 S.Ct. 1003, 140 L.Ed.2d 210

(1998); Ruhrgas A.G. v. Marathon Oil Co., 526 U.S. 574, 119 S.Ct.

1563, 143 L.Ed.2d 760 (1999)). Specifically, we may assume

standing when dismissing a case as moot. See Friends of the Earth,

Inc. v. Laidlaw Envtl. Servs., U.S. _, at __, 120 S.Ct. 693,

703-04, 145 L.Ed.2d 610 (2000) (citing Arizonans, 520 U.S. at

66-67, 117 S.Ct. 1055).

2. Il include as an Addendum to this opinion President Nixon’s

1973 message to the House of Representatives explaining why he

vetoed the War Powers Resolution on the grounds of its

unconstitutionality.

23a

Appendix A

I. Standing

The Constitution reserves the power to declare “war”

to Congress and delegates the power to conduct war to the

President. Compare U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 11, with id.

art. II, § 2. When President Clinton committed armed forces

to the attack on the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, he did

so without a declaration of war from Congress. On April 28,

1999, after air operations and missile strikes were underway,

the House of Representatives voted 427 to 2 against a

declaration of war. See H.R.J. Res. 44, 106th Cong. (1999);

126 Cong. Rec. H2440-41 (daily ed. Apr. 28, 1999).

The War Powers Resolution, passed over President

Nixon’s veto in 1973, implements Congress’s power to

3. War may be defined [as] the exercise of violence

under sovereign command against withstanders: force,

authority and resistance being the essential parts

thereof. Violence, limited by authority, is sufficiently

distinguished from robbery, and like outrages; yet

consisting in relation towards others, it necessarily

requires a supposition of resistance, whereby the force

of war becomes different from the violence inflicted

upon slaves or yielding malefactors.

SAMUEL JOHNSON, A DICTIONARY OF THE ENGLISH

LANGUAGE (facsimile ed., Times Books, Ltd., London 1978)

(1755). See United States v. Bajakajian, 524 U.S. 321, 335, 118

S.Ct. 2028, 141 L.Ed.2d 314 (1998) (citing Johnson); Nixon v.

United States, 506 U.S. 224, 229-30, 113 S.Ct. 732, 122 L.Ed.2d 1

(1993) (same); see also Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 1 L.Ed.

731 (1800) (relying on Blackstone and other commentators to

distinguish between perfect and imperfect wars).

24a

Appendix A

declare war under the Constitution. See 50 U.S.C.

§ 1541(a)-(b). It commands the President to “terminate any

use of United States Armed Forces” within sixty days “unless

the Congress (1) has declared war or has enacted a specific

authorization for such use of United States Armed Forces,

(2) has extended by law such sixty-day period, or (3) is

physically unable to meet as a result of an armed attack upon

the United States.” 50 U.S.C. § 1544(b). The Senate, on

March 23, 1999, passed a concurrent resolution providing

that “the President of the United States is authorized to

conduct military air operations and missile strikes in

cooperation with our NATO allies against the Federal

Republic of Yugoslavia.” S. Con. Res. 21, 106th Cong.

(1999); 145 CONG. REC. $3118 (daily ed. Mar. 23, 1999).

The House rejected that measure by a tie vote on April 28,

1999. See 126 CONG. REC. H2451-52 (daily ed. Apr. 28,

1999).

The Members of Congress appearing as plaintiffs

contend that President Clinton violated the Constitution and

the War Powers Resolution and that they are entitled to a

judicial declaration so stating. They have standing, they say,

because President Clinton’s prosecution of the war

“completely nullified” their votes against declaring war and

against authorizing a continuation of the hostilities. See

Amended Complaint 4 18; Brief for Plaintiffs-Appellants at

8, 16.

A.

The quoted phrase — “completely nullified” — is from

Raines v. Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 823, 117 S.Ct. 2312, 138

25a

Appendix A

L.Ed.2d 849 (1997), giving the Court’s appraisal of the rule

in Coleman v. Miller, 307 U.S. 433, 59 S.Ct. 972, 83 L.Ed.

1385 (1939). The majority opinion in our case seems to

assume that the only thing left of legislative standing is

whatever Raines preserves. I will not quarrel with the

assumption, at least for cases in which a legislator is claiming

that his vote has been illegally nullified.* The heart of the

Raines decision is this: “legislators whose votes would have

been sufficient to defeat (or enact) a specific legislative act

have standing to sue if that legislative action goes into effect

(or does not go into effect), on the ground that their votes

have been completely nullified.” 521 U.S. at 823, 117 S.Ct.

2312."

Here, plaintiffs had the votes “sufficient to defeat” “a

specific legislative action” — they defeated a declaration of

war (their constitutional claim) and they blocked a resolution

4. The Court has “recognized that state legislators have

standing to contest a decision holding a state statute unconstitutional

if state law authorizes legislators to represent the State’s interests,”

Arizonans, 520 U.S. at 65, 117 S.Ct. 1055 (citing Karcher v. May,

484 U.S. 72, 82, 108 S.Ct. 388, 98 L.Ed.2d 327 (1987)). Compare

INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919, 930 n. 5, 939-40, 103 S.Ct. 2764, 77

L.Ed.2d 317 (1983), in which the “Court held Congress to be a proper

party to defend [a] measure’s validity where both Houses, by

resolution, had authorized intervention in the lawsuit,” and the

executive branch refused to defend the one-House veto provision.

520 U.S. at 65 n. 20, 117 S.Ct. 1055.

5. A vote is “completely nullified” when it is “deprived of all

validity,” Raines, 521 U.S. at 822, 117 S.Ct. 2312, “overridden and

Virtually held for naught,” id. at 822-23, 117 S.Ct. 2312, or “stripped

of its validity,” id. at 824 n. 7, 117 S.Ct. 2312.

26a

Appendix A

approving the President’s continuation of the war (their

statutory claim). To follow precisely the formulation in

Raines, they would have standing only if the legislative

actions they defeated went “into effect.” Obviously, this did

not happen: war was not declared, and the President never

maintained that he was prosecuting the war with the House’s

approval.

Plaintiffs’ reply is that the President’s military action

against Yugoslavia without congressional authorization had

the effect of completely nullifying their votes, of making

their votes worthless. With respect to their vote against

declaring war, that clearly is not true. A congressional

declaration of war carries with it profound consequences.°

The United States Code is thick with laws expanding

executive power “in time of war.” See OFFICE OF THE

JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL, UNITED STATES AIR

FORCE, DIGEST OF WAR AND EMERGENCY

6. Although the United States has committed its armed forces

into combat more than a hundred times, Congress has declared war

only five times: the War of 1812, the Mexican-American War of

1848, the Spanish-American War of 1898, World War I, and World

War II. See CONGRESSIONAL RESEARCH SERVICE,

INSTANCES OF USE OF UNITED STATES ARMED FORCES

ABROAD, 1789-1989 (Ellen C. Collier ed., 1989), reprinted in

THOMAS M. FRANCK & MICHAEL J. GLENNON, FOREIGN

RELATIONS AND NATIONAL SECURITY LAW 650 (2d

ed.1993); OFFICE OF THE LEGAL ADVISER, U.S.

DEPARTMENT OF STATE, THE LEGALITY OF UNITED

STATES PARTICIPATION IN THE DEFENSE OF VIETNAM

(1966), reprinted in 1 THE VIETNAM WAR AND

INTERNATIONAL LAW 583, 597 (Richard A. Falk ed., 1968)

(listing 125 incidents prior to the Vietnam Conflict).

27a

Appendix A

LEGISLATION AFFECTING THE DEPARTMENT OF

DEFENSE 171-84 (1996) (listing statutes “effective in time

of war”); cf. id. at 185-91 (listing statutes “effective in time

of national emergency declared by the President”); id. at

192-98 (listing statutes “effective in time of national

emergency declared by Congress’’).’ Under these laws, the

President’s authority over industries, the use of land, and

the terms and conditions of military employment is greatly

enhanced.* A declaration of war may also have the effect of

7. Inthe early days of the Republic, the power of the executive

in time of war was constrained by an absence of legislation. For

example, in Brown v. United States, 12 U.S. (8 Cranch) 110, 3 L.Ed.

504 (1814), the Court rejected the argument that the President had

the authority to confiscate enemy property found within the United

States without explicit statutory authority even during a declared

war. See id. at 129. The same reasoning was applied to the taking of

ships on the high seas in Little v. Barreme, 6 U.S. (2 Cranch) 170,

2 L.Ed. 243 (1804). Even in the wake of World War II, after

Congress passed a large number of war-related measures, the Court

strictly construed the President’s authority. The most notable

example, of course, is Youngstown Sheet & Tube Co. v. Sawyer,

343 U.S. 579, 585, 72 S.Ct. 863, 96 L.Ed. 1153 (1952) (“The

President’s power, if any, to issue the order must stem either from

an act of Congress or from the Constitution itself.”); cf. also Dames

& Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654, 101 S.Ct. 2972, 69 L.Ed.2d 918

(1981).

8. See, e.g., 10 U.S.C. § 2538 (authorizing the President to

“take immediate possession of any plant that is equipped to

manufacture, or that . . . is capable of manufacturing” war material

“in time of war or when war is imminent”); 10 U.S.C. § 2644 (“In

time of war, the President, through the Secretary of Defense, may

take possession and assume control of all or part of any system of

(Cont’d)

28a

Appendix A

decreasing commercial choices and curtailing civil liberties.’

See WILLIAM H. REHNQUIST, ALL THE LAWS BUT

ONE: CIVIL LIBERTIES IN WARTIME 218-19 (1998)

(“Without question the government’s authority to engage in

conduct that infringes civil liberty is greatest in time of

declared war — the Schenck and Hirabayashi opinions make

this clear... . [BJut from the point of view of governmental

authority under the Constitution, it is clear that the President

may do many things in carrying out a congressional directive

that he may not be able to do on his own.”).

(Cont'd)

transportation to transport troops, war material, and equipment, or

for other purposes related to the emergency.”); 10 U.S.C. § 2663(b)

(“In time of war or when war is imminent, the United States may,

immediately upon the filing of a petition for condemnation under

subsection (a), take and use the land to the extent of the interest

sought to be acquired.”’); 50 U.S.C. § 1829 (“Notwithstanding any

other provision of law, the President, through the Attorney General,

may authorize physical searches without a court order. . . to acquire

foreign intelligence information for a period not to exceed 15

calendar days following a declaration of war by the Congress.”).

9. See, e.g., 18 U.S.C. § 2388(a) (“Whoever, when the United

States is at war, willfully causes or attempts to cause insubordination,

disloyalty, mutiny, or refusal of duty, in the military or naval forces

of the United States, or willfully obstructs the recruiting or enlistment

service of the United States, to the injury of the service or the United

States, or attempts to do so — Shall be fined under this title or

imprisoned not more than twenty years, or both.”); 18 U.S.C. § 3287

(tolling statute of limitations for any offense involving fraud against

the property of the United States until three years after the

termination of hostilities).

29a

Appendix A

The vote of the House on April 28, 1999, deprived

President Clinton of these powers. The vote against declaring

war followed immediately upon the vote not to require

immediate withdrawal. Those who voted against a

declaration of war did so to deprive the President of the

authority to expand hostilities beyond the bombing campaign

and, specifically, to deprive him of the authority to introduce

ground troops into the conflict. See 145 CONG. REC.

H2427-41 (daily ed. Apr. 28, 1999). There is no suggestion

that despite the vote, President Clinton invaded Yugoslavia

by land or took some other action authorized only during a

declared war. It follows that plaintiffs’ votes against

declaring war were not for naught. For that reason, plaintiffs

do not have standing to sue on their constitutional claim.

As to their claim under the War Powers Resolution, the

beauty of this measure, or one of its defects (see the

Addendum to this opinion), is in its automatic operation:

unless a majority of both Houses declares war, or approves

continuation of hostilities beyond 60 days, or Congress is

“physically unable to meet as a result of an armed attack

upon the United States,” the Resolution requires the President

to withdraw the troops. 50 U.S.C. § 1544(b). The President

has nothing to veto. Congress may allow the time to run

without taking any vote, or it may — as the House did here

— take a vote and fail to muster a majority in favor of

continuing the hostilities.

To put the matter in terms of Raines once again, plaintiffs

had the votes “sufficient to defeat” “‘a specific legislative

action” — they blocked a resolution authorizing the

President’s continuation of the war with Yugoslavia — but

30a

Appendix A

it is not true, in the language of Raines, that this “legislative

action” nevertheless went “into effect.” Congressional

authorization simply did not occur. The President may have

acted as if he had Congress’s approval, or he may have acted

as if he did not need it. Either way, plaintiffs’ real complaint

is not that the President ignored their votes; it is that he

ignored the War Powers Resolution, and hence the votes of

an earlier Congress, which enacted the law over President

Nixon’s veto. It is hard for me to see that this amounts to

anything more than saying: “We, the members of Congress,

have standing because the President violated one of our

laws.” To hold that Members of Congress may litigate on

such a basis strikes me as highly problematic, not only

because the principle is unconfined but also because it raises

very serious separation-of-powers concerns. See Raines, 521

U.S. at 825 n. 8, 117 S.Ct. 2312; Barnes v. Kline, 759 F.2d

21,41 (D.C.Cir.1985) (Bork, J., dissenting), vacated as moot,

479 U.S. 361, 107 S.Ct. 734, 93 L.Ed.2d 732 (1987). But

because the case is moot, | need say no more.

B.

The majority opinion analyzes standing rather differently

than | do. It says plaintiffs lack standing to pursue their

statutory claim because “they continued, after the votes, to

enjoy ample legislative power to have stopped prosecution

of the ‘war.’ ” Maj. op. at 23. For specifics, the opinion points

out that Congress defeated House Concurrent Resolution 82,

a resolution requiring immediate disengagement from the

conflict in Yugoslavia; that “Congress always retains

appropriations authority and could have cut off funds for

31a

Appendix A

the American role in the conflict”;'® and that “there always

remains the possibility of impeachment.” Id.'' The same

reason — the possibility of future legislative action — is

used to defeat plaintiffs’ standing with respect to their

constitutional claim. Id. at 23.

10. The majority attaches some importance to Congress’s

decision to authorize funding for Operation Allied Force and argues

that Congress could have denied funding if it wished to end the

war. However, in Mitchell v. Laird, 488 F.2d 611, 616

(D.C.Cir.1973), we held that, as “every schoolboy knows,” Congress

may pass such legislation, not because it is in favor of continuing

the hostilities, but because it does not want to endanger soldiers in

the field. The War Powers Resolution itself makes the same point:

“Authority to introduce United States Armed Forces into hostilities

or into situations wherein involvement in hostilities is clearly

indicated by the circumstances shall not be inferred ... from any

provision of law (whether or not in effect before November 7, 1973),

including any provision contained in any appropriation Act, unless

such provision specifically authorizes the introduction of United

States Armed Forces into hostilities or into such situations and states

that it is intended to constitute specific statutory authorization within

the meaning of this chapter.” 50 U.S.C. § 1547(a)(1) (emphasis added).

Those portions of the Emergency Supplemental Appropriations Act,

Pub.L. No. 106-31, 113 Stat. 57, relating to the attacks on Yugoslavia

specified the limited purpose for the emergency appropriations, but

contained no language even roughly approximating that required by

the War Powers Resolution. See id., ch. 3, 113 Stat. 76-83.

11. These are not the only possibilities. “It has been thought

that Congress could constitutionally cut the President’s salary in

half and auction off the White House, reduce the President’s staff

to one secretary, and limit her or him to answering personal

correspondence.” A. Raymond Randolph, Introduction —

Disciplining Congress: The Boundaries of Legislative Power, 13

J.L. & POL. 585, 586 (1997).

32a

Appendix A

The majority has, I believe, confused the right to vote in

the future with the nullification of a vote in the past, a

distinction Raines clearly made. See 521 U.S. at 824, 117

S.Ct. 2312. To say that your vote was not nullified because

you can vote for other legislation in the future is like saying

you did not lose yesterday’s battle because you can fight

again tomorrow. The Supreme Court did not engage in such

illogic. When the Court in Raines mentioned the possibility

of future legislation, it was addressing the argument that “the

[Line Item Veto] Act will nullify the [Congressmen’s] votes

in the future. .. .” Id. This part of the Court’s opinion, which

the majority adopts here, is quite beside the point to our case.

No one is claiming that their votes on future legislation will

be impaired or nullified or rendered ineffective.

Besides, as long as Congress and the Constitution exist,

Members will always be able to vote for legislation. And so

the majority’s decision is tantamount to a decision abolishing

legislative standing. I have two problems with this. First, if

we are going to get rid of legislative standing altogether, we

ought to do so openly and not under the cover of an

interpretation, or rather misinterpretation, of a phrase in

Raines. If the Supreme Court had meant to do away with

legislative standing, it would have said so and it would have

given reasons for taking that step.

My second problem Is just as serious, perhaps more so:

the majority’s decision conflicts with this court’s latest

legislative standing decision. In Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181

F.3d 112, 116-17 (D.C.Cir.1999), we interpreted Raines

consistently with my analysis in this case and concluded that

a previous legislative standing decision of this court —

33a

Appendix A

Kennedy v. Sampson, 511 F.2d 430 (D.C.Cir.1974) —

upholding legislative standing to challenge the legality of a

pocket veto was still good law. The plaintiff in Kennedy

had standing under the proper interpretation of Raines, we

held, because the “pocket veto challenged in that case had

made ineffective a bill that both houses of the Congress had

approved. Because it was the President’s veto — not a lack

of legislative support — that prevented the bill from

becoming law (either directly or by the Congress voting to

override the President’s veto), those in the majority could

plausibly describe the President’s action as a complete

nullification of their votes.” 181 F.3d at 116-17. If

Chenoweth is correct, the majority opinion in this case must

be wrong. If Chenoweth is correct, it is no answer to say —

as the majority says in this case — that standing is lacking

because, despite the pocket veto, Congress could pass the

Same law again, or it could retaliate by cutting off

appropriations for the White House or it could impeach the

President.

c.

My position, the majority complains, “sidesteps”

plaintiffs’ merits “claim that the President unconstitutionally

conducted a war without authority,” Maj. op. at 23. This is

meant to be criticism? A properly-conducted standing

analysis almost always avoids — sidesteps — a decision on

the merits.'? In the next breath, the majority turns around

12. The majority drops this footnote: “It is certainly not

logically necessary for appellants to assert a violation of the statutes

- relied upon by the concurrence in order to make their

(Cont'd)

34a

Appendix A

and contradicts itself, proclaiming that my analysis “conflates

standing with the merits.” Id. | am familiar with what I have

written. I do not recall having rendered a judgment about

whether the President violated the Constitution. The careful

reader will, I think, agree with me. Nor do I present “as an

alternative reason for denying standing that the President

did not. . . take any actions constituting war in the constitutional

sense.” Id. The majority’s sentence is doubly misleading. Here

is my alternative reason for denying standing, pure and simple:

regardless whether President Clinton waged a “war,” plaintiffs

never claimed that he exercised statutory authority reserved

to him only when Congress has declared a war; and so their

votes against declaring war cannot be considered a nullity.

Thus, one, I have taken no position on whether the President

engaged in a “war,” and two, I say only that plaintiffs never

alleged that the President utilized these statutory powers.

Too often a strategy in legal argumentation is to pretend to

answer an argument by misstating it.'* My argument remains

unanswered. All the majority has done is to misstate it almost

as badly as it has misread Raines.

(Cont'd)

constitutional claim.” Maj. op. at 23 n.5. How strange a statement. I

refer to the statutes not in the context of plaintiffs’ making their

constitutional claim, but in regard to their standing to litigate that

claim. It is as if the majority had made this brow-furrowing

statement: “in order to make out their constitutional claim, it 1s not

logically necessary for plaintiffs to assert that their votes were

nullified within the meaning of Raines.”

13. See also the sentence attributing to me the “argument that

legislators should not be required to turn to politics instead of the

courts for their remedy.” Maj. op. at 24. There are other examples

not worth mentioning.

35a

Appendix A

Il. Mootness

The amended complaint, filed on May 19, 1999, sought

a declaratory judgment “that no later than May 25, 1999, the

President must terminate the involvement of the United

States Armed Forces in such hostilities unless Congress

declares war, or enacts other explicit authorization, or has

extended the sixty day period.” Amended Complaint at 12;

see 50 U.S.C. § 1544(b)(1)-(2). All agree that the “hostilities”

ended by June 21, 1999, after NATO’s Secretary General

announced the official termination of the air campaign and

Secretary of Defense Cohen announced the redeployment of

more than 300 US. aircraft back to their home bases.

To save their case from mootness, plaintiffs therefore

invoke the rule regarding issues “capable of repetition, yet

evading review.” Southern Pacific Terminal Co. v. ICC, 219

U.S. 498, 515, 31 S.Ct. 279, 55 L.Ed. 310 (1911); Christian

Knights of the Ku Klux Klan v. District of Columbia, 972

F.2d 365, 369-71 (D.C.Cir. 1992). Plaintiffs must, but cannot,

satisfy both elements to prevail. Their constitutional and

statutory claims are at cross purposes.

The “evading review” part of the formulation is

temporal. How quickly must an activity begin and end to

evade judicial review? This depends on which court does

the reviewing. The Supreme Court has treated the matter in

terms of itself. Hence evading review means evading

Supreme Court review, see Christian Knights, 972 F.2d at

369, which can be (though usually is not) swift review. See,

e.g., New York Times Co. v. United States, 403 U.S. 713,

91 S.Ct. 2140, 29 L.Ed.2d 822 (1971); Buckley v. Valeo,

36a

Appendix A

424 US. 1, 96 S.Ct. 612, 46 L.Ed.2d 659 (1976). Some

undeclared wars, or in the euphemism of the day,

“hostilities,” are over quickly; others, like the Korean War

and the war in Vietnam, last for years. Circuit precedent

requires us to determine whether the activity challenged is

“inherently” of a sort that evades review; circuit precedent

also holds that “offensive wars initiated without

congressional approval” are not in that category. Conyers v.

Reagan, 765 F.2d 1124, 1128 (D.C.Cir.1985). That holding,

which remains the law of the circuit, means that we must

treat plaintiffs’ claims as moot.

Plaintiffs’ statutory claim — that President Clinton

continued the war for more than 60 days without

congressional authorization, in violation of the War Powers

Resolution — also may not satisfy the “capable of repetition”

element. There is an aspect of probability involved here. “By

‘capable of repetition’ the Supreme Court means ‘a

reasonable expectation that the same complaining party

would be subject to the same action again.’ ” Christian

Knights, 972 F.2d at 370 (quoting Weinstein v. Bradford,

423 U.S. 147, 149, 96 S.Ct. 347, 46 L.Ed.2d 350 (1975) (per

curiam)).'* This introduces some complications. Who should

14. The Supreme Court recently stated that “a defendant

claiming that its voluntary compliance moots a case bears the

formidable burden of showing that it is absolutely clear the allegedly

wrongful behavior could not reasonably be expected to recur.”

Friends of the Earth, U.S. at___, 120 S.Ct. at 709 (citing United

States v. Concentrated Phosphate Export Ass’n, 393 U.S. 199, 203,

89 S.Ct. 361, 21 L.Ed.2d 344 (1968)). The President’s cessation of

the attack on Yugoslavia was not “voluntary” within the Court’s

meaning; the war ended because the United States won, not because

the President sought to avoid litigation.

37a

Appendix A

be considered the “same complaining parties”? And what is

the “same action again”?

The same “complaining parties” must refer to the

individual Members of Congress who brought this suit. They

have sued in their official capacity and, as in Karcher v. May,

484 U.S. 72, 79-81, 108 S.Ct. 388, 98 L.Ed.2d 327 (1987),

the injury they allege relates to their conduct as legislators.

Thus, in assessing the likelihood of a recurrence of “the same

action,” the inquiry must be restricted only to the period in

which these Congressmen would likely remain in office. As

to the “same action,” this refers to President Clinton’s alleged

violation of the War Powers Resolution by continuing

hostilities for more than 60 days without Congress’s

affirmative approval. How likely is that to recur? Not very,

if history is any guide. The War Powers Resolution has been

in effect for a quarter of a century. Yet President Clinton is

the first President who arguably violated the 60-day

provision. In order to show why their claims will “evade

review,” plaintiffs tell us that, in modern times, United States

attacks on foreign nations will be over quickly, by which

they mean less than 60 days.'® Accepting that prediction as

accurate dooms their case. It means that the likelihood of

this President, or some other, violating the 60-day provision

of the War Powers Resolution is remote, not only because

we can expect other Presidents to obtain congressional

15. “The 1998 air attack against Afghanistan and Sudan, the

December 1998 air attacks against Iraq, the 1995 air assault against

the Bosnian Serbs, the 1994 Haitian invasion, the 1991 Persian Gulf

War, the 1989 Panama invasion, the 1986 air attack against Libya,

the 1983 Grenada attack were all completed in less than 60 days.”

Reply Brief for Plaintiffs-Appellants at 5-6.

38a

Appendix A

approval for wars lasting more than 60 days, but also because

most military actions in the future (as plaintiffs agree) will

be over before the 60-day limit for undeclared or

unauthorized wars has been exceeded.

39a

Appendix A

ADDENDUM

Veto of War Powers Resolution

The President’s Message to the House of

Representatives Returning H.J. Res. 542 Without

His Approval. October 24, 1973

To the House of Representatives:

I hereby return without my approval House Joint

Resolution 542 — the War Powers Resolution. While I am

in accord with the desire of the Congress to assert its proper

role in the conduct of our foreign affairs, the restrictions

which this resolution would impose upon the authority of

the President are both unconstitutional and dangerous to the

best interests of our Nation.

The proper roles of the Congress and the Executive in

the conduct of foreign affairs have been debated since the

founding of our country. Only recently, however, has there

been a serious challenge to the wisdom of the Founding

Fathers in choosing not to draw a precise and detailed line

of demarcation between the foreign policy powers of the two

branches.

The Founding Fathers understood the impossibility of

foreseeing every contingency that might arise in this complex

area. They acknowledged the need for flexibility in

responding to changing circumstances. They recognized that

foreign policy decisions must be made through close

cooperation between the two branches and not through rigidly

codified procedures.

40a

Appendix A

These principles remain as valid today as they were when

our Constitution was written. Yet House Joint Resolution

542 would violate those principles by defining the President's

powers in ways which would strictly limit his constitutional

authority.

Clearly Unconstitutional

House Joint Resolution 542 would attempt to take away,

by a mere legislative act, authorities which the President has

properly exercised under the Constitution for almost 200

years. One of its provisions would automatically cut off

certain authorities after sixty days unless the Congress

extended them. Another would allow the Congress to

eliminate certain authorities merely by the passage of a

concurrent resolution — an action which does not normally

have the force of law, since it denies the President his

constitutional role in approving legislation.

I believe that both these provisions are unconstitutional.

The only way in which the constitutional powers of a branch

of the Government can be altered is by amending the

Constitution — and any attempt to make such alterations by

legislation alone is clearly without force.

Undermining Our Foreign Policy

While I firmly believe that a veto of House Joint

Resolution 542 is warranted solely on constitutional grounds,

I am also deeply disturbed by the practical consequences of

this resolution. For it would seriously undermine this

Nation’s ability to act decisively and convincingly in times

4la

Appendix A

of international crisis. As a result, the confidence of our allies

in our ability to assist them could be diminished and the

respect of our adversaries for our deterrent posture could

decline. A permanent and substantial element of

unpredictability would be injected into the world’s

assessment of American behavior, further increasing the

likelihood of miscalculation and war.

If this resolution had been in operation, America’s

effective response to a variety of challenges in recent years

would have been vastly complicated or even made

impossible. We may well have been unable to respond in

the way we did during the Berlin crisis of 1961, the Cuban

missile crisis of 1962, the Congo rescue operation in 1964,

and the Jordanian crisis of 1970 — to mention just a few

examples. In addition, our recent actions to bring about a

peaceful settlement of the hostilities in the Middle East would

have been seriously impaired if this resolution had been in

force.

While all the specific consequences of House Joint

Resolution 542 cannot yet be »redicted, it is clear that it

would undercut the ability of the United States to act as an

effective influence for peace. For example, the provision

automatically cutting off certain authorities after 60 days

unless they are extended by the Congress could work to

prolong or intensify a crisis. Until the Congress suspended

the deadline, there would be at least a chance of United States

withdrawal and an adversary would be tempted therefore to

postpone serious negotiations until the 60 days were up. Only

after the Congress acted would there be a strong incentive

for an adversary to negotiate. In addition, the very existence

42a

Appendix A

of a deadline could lead to an escalation of hostilities in order

to achieve certain objectives before the 60 days expired.

The measure would jeopardize our role as a force for

peace in other ways as well. It would, for example, strike

from the President’s hand a wide range of important

peace-keeping tools by eliminating his ability to exercise

quiet diplomacy backed by subtle shifts in our military

deployments. It would also cast into doubt authorities which

Presidents have used to undertake certain humanitarian relief

missions in conflict areas, to protect fishing boats from

seizure, to deal with ship or aircraft hijackings, and to

respond to threats of attack. Not the least of the adverse

consequences of this resolution would be the prohibition

contained in section 8 against fulfilling our obligations under

the NATO treaty as ratified by the Senate. Finally, since the

bill is somewhat vague as to when the 60 day rule would

apply, it could lead to extreme confusion and dangerous

disagreements concerning the prerogatives of the two

branches, seriously damaging our ability to respond to

international crises.

Failure to Require Positive Congressional Action

I am particularly disturbed by the fact that certain of the

President’s constitutional powers as Commander in Chief

of the Armed Forces would terminate automatically under

this resolution 60 days after they were invoked. No overt

Congressional action would be required to cut off these

powers — they would disappear automatically unless the

Congress extended them. In effect, the Congress is here

attempting to increase its policy-making role through a

43a

Appendix A

provision which requires it to take absolutely no action at

all.

In my view, the proper way for the Congress to make

known its will on such foreign policy questions is through a

positive action, with full debate on the merits of the issue

and with each member taking the responsibility of Casting a

yes or no vote after considering those merits. The

authorization and appropriations process represents one of

the ways in which such influence can be exercised. I do not,

however, believe that the Congress can responsibly

contribute its considered, collective judgment on such grave

questions without full debate and without a yes or no vote.

Yet this is precisely what the joint resolution would allow.

It would give every future Congress the ability to handcuff

every future President merely by doing nothing and sitting

still. In my view, one cannot become a responsible partner

unless one is prepared to take responsible action.

Strengthening Cooperation Between the Congress and

the Executive Branches

The responsible and effective exercise of the war powers

requires the fullest cooperation between the Congress and

the Executive and the prudent fulfillment by each branch of

its constitutional responsibilities. House joint Resolution 542

includes certain constructive measures which would foster

this process by enhancing the flow of information from the

executive branch to the Congress. Section 3, for example,

calls for consultations with the Congress before and during

the involvement of the United States forces in hostilities

abroad. This provision is consistent with the desire of this

44a

Appendix A

Administration for regularized consultations with the

Congress in an even wider range of circumstances.

| believe that full and cooperative participation in foreign

policy matters by both the executive and the legislative

branches could be enlhanced by a careful and dispassionate

study of their constituttional roles. Helpful proposals for such

a study have already been made in the Congress. I would

welcome the establismment of a non-partisan commission on

the constitutional roles of the Congress and the President in

the conduct of foreigm affairs. This commission could make

a thorough review off the principal constitutional issues in

Executive-Congressional relations, including the war powers,

the international agreement powers, and the question of

Executive privilege, and then submit its recommendations

to the President and the Congress. The members of such a

commission could be drawn from both parties — and could

represent many perspectives including those of the Congress,

the executive branch,, the legal profession, and the academic

community.

This Administration is dedicated to strengthening

cooperation betweem the Congress and the President in the

conduct of foreign affairs and to preserving the constitutional

prerogatives of both branches of our Government. I know

that the Congress shares that goal. A commission on the

constitutional roles of the Congress and the President would

provide a useful opportunity for both branches to work

together toward thatt common objective.

RICHARD NIXON

The White House,

October 24, 1973.

45a

Appendix A

TATEL, Circuit Judge, concurring:

Although I agree with Judge Silberman that Raines v.

Byrd, 521 U.S. 811, 117S.Ct. 2312, 138 L.Ed.2d 849 (1997),

as interpreted by this court in Chenoweth v. Clinton, 181

F.3d 112 (D.C.Cir.1999), deprives plaintiffs of standing to

bring this action, I do not share his view that the case poses

a nonjusticiable political question. See supra (Silberman, J.,

concurring). In my view, were this case brought by plaintiffs

with standing, we could determine whether the President, in

undertaking the air campaign in Yugoslavia, exceeded his

authority under the Constitution or the War Powers

Resolution.

To begin with, I do not agree that courts lack judicially

discoverable and manageable standards for “determining the

existence of a ‘war.’ ” Brief of Appellee at 36. See also supra

at 24-25 (Silberman, J., concurring). Whether the military

activity in Yugoslavia amounted to “war” within the meaning

of the Declare War Clause, U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 11, is

no more standardless than any other question regarding the

constitutionality of government action. Precisely what police

conduct violates the Fourth Amendment guarantee “against

unreasonable searches and seizures?” When does government

action amount to “an establishment of religion” prohibited

by the First Amendment? When is an election district so

bizarrely shaped as to violate the Fourteenth Amendment

guarantee of “equal protection of the laws?” Because such

constitutional terms are not self-defining, standards for

answering these questions have evolved, as legal standards

always do, through years of judicial decisionmaking. Courts

have proven no less capable of developing standards to

resolve war powers challenges.

46a

Appendix A

Since the earliest years of the nation, courts have not

hesitated to determine when military action constitutes

“war.” In Bas v. Tingy, 4 U.S. (4 Dall.) 37, 1 L.Ed. 731

(1800), the Supreme Court had to decide whether hostilities

between France and the United States amounted to a state of

war in order to resolve disputes over captured ships. Because

outright war had not been declared, the justices examined

both the facts of the conflict (“the scene of bloodshed,

depredation and confiscation, which has unhappily

occurred,” id. at 39) and/ the acts of Congress that had

authorized limited military action:

In March 1799, congress had raised an army;

stopped all intercourse with France; dissolved our

treaty; built and equipt ships of war; and

commissioned private armed ships; enjoining the

former, and authorising the latter, to defend

themselves against the armed ships of France, to

attack them on the high seas, to subdue and take

them as prize, and to re-capture armed vessels

found in their possession.

Id. at 41. Given these events, Justice Bushrod Washington

concluded that France and the United States were at war both

“ijn fact and in law.” Id. at 42. “If they were not our

enemies,” he said, “I know not what constitutes an enemy.”

Id. at 41. One year later, Chief Justice Marshall, focusing on

the same conflict with France, said: “The whole powers of

war being, by the constitution of the United States, vested

in congress, the acts of that body can alone be resorted to as

our guides in this enquiry. . . . To determine the real situation

of America in regard to France, the acts of congress are to

47a

Appendix A

be inspected.” Talbot v. Seeman, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 1, 28, 2

L.Ed. 15 (1801).

Half a century later, in The Prize Cases, 67 U.S. (2 Black)

635, 666, 17 L.Ed. 459 (1862), the Court had to determine

whether a state of war, though undeclared, existed “de facto”

between the United States and the confederacy, and if so,

whether it justified the U.S. naval blockade of confederate

ports. “As a civil war is never publicly proclaimed, .. . its

actual existence is a fact in our domestic history which the

Court is bound to notice and to know.” Id. at 667. There was

no formal declaration of war, the Court explained, because

the Constitution does not permit Congress to “declare war

against a State, or any number of States.” Id. at 668. Yet the

Court, guided by the definition of war as “[{t]hat state in which

a nation prosecutes its right by force,” id. at 666, determined

that a state of war actually existed.

A civil war is never solemnly declared; it becomes

such by its accidents — the number, power, and

organization of the persons who originate and

carry it on. When the party in rebellion occupy

and hold in a hostile manner a certain portion of

territory; have declared their independence; have

cast off their allegiance; have organized armies;

have commenced hostilities against their former

sovereign, the world acknowledges them as

belligerents, and the contest a war.

Id. at 666-67. In making this determination, the Court looked

to the facts of the conflict, id., to the acts of foreign

governments recognizing the war and declaring their

48a

Appendix A

neutrality, id. at 669, and to congressional action authorizing

the President’s use of force, id. at 670-71. Given these facts,

the Court refused “to affect a technical ignorance of the

existence of a war, which all the world acknowledges to be

the greatest civil war known in the history of the human race.”

Id. at 669.

More recent cases have also recognized the competence

of courts to determine whether a state of war exists.

Responding to a challenge to the constitutionality of the

Vietnam War, this circuit confronted “the critical question

. whether the hostilities in Indo-China constitute in the

Constitutional sense a ‘war,’ both within and beyond the

meaning of that term in Article I, Section 8, Clause 11.”

Mitchell v. Laird, 488 F.2d 611, 614 (D.C.Cir.1973)

(emphasis added). The court found “no insuperable difficulty

in a court determining whether,” given the extent of the

hostilities, “there has been a war in Indo-China.” Id. Once

the war was recognized as such, the court saw no problem in

“facing up to the question as to whether because of the war’s

duration and magnitude the President is or was without power

to continue the war without Congressional approval,” or

“whether Congress has given, in a Constitutionally

satisfactory form, the approval requisite for a war of

considerable duration and magnitude.” Id. Nor did the court

hesitate to determine that once the Gulf of Tonkin resolution

had been repealed, later congressional actions appropriating

funds for the war and extending the draft were insufficient

to “serve as a valid assent to the Vietnam war.” Id. at 615.

Given this absence of congressional approval for the war’s

continuation, the President had a duty to try “in good faith

and to the best of his ability, to bring the war to an end as

49a

Appendix A

promptly as was consistent with the safety of those fighting

and with a profound concern for the durable interests of the

nation — its defense, its honor, its morality.” Id. at 616.

Although the court ultimately declined to answer the question

whether President Nixon was in fact fulfilling his duty to

end the Vietnam War, see id., it nonetheless made clear that

courts are competent to adjudge the existence of war and the

allocation of war powers between the President and

Congress. Regardless of whether this language is dicta, see

supra at 25 (Silberman, J., concurring), Mitchell supports

my view that this court could resolve the war powers claims

presented here. See also, e.g., Massachusetts v. Laird, 451

F.2d 26, 34 (1st Cir.1971) (“The war in Vietnam is a product

of the jointly supportive actions of the two branches to whom

the congeries of the war powers have been committed.

Because the branches are not in opposition, there is no

necessity of determining boundaries. Should either branch

be opposed to the continuance of hostilities, however, and

present the issue in clear terms, a court might well take a

different view.”); Orlando v. Laird, 443 F.2d 1039, 1042

(2d Cir.1971) (“[T]he constitutional delegation of the war-

declaring power to the Congress contains a discoverable and

manageable standard imposing on the Congress a duty of

mutual participation in the prosecution of war. Judicial

scrutiny of that duty, therefore, is not foreclosed by the

political question doctrine.”); Berk v. Laird, 429 F.2d 302,

305 (2d Cir.1970) (“History makes clear that the

congressional power ‘to declare War’ conferred by Article

I, section 8, of the Constitution was intended as an explicit

restriction upon the power of the Executive to initiate war

on his own prerogative which was enjoyed by the British

sovereign. ... [E]xecutive officers are under a threshold

50a

Appendix A

constitutional duty which can be judicially identified and its

breach judicially determined.”) (internal quotation marks and

brackets omitted).

Without undue difficulty, courts have also determined

whether hostilities amount to “war” in other contexts. These

have included insurance policies and other contracts, see,

e.g., Western Reserve Life Ins. Co. v. Meadows, 152 Tex.

559, 567, 261 S.W.2d 554, 559 (1953) (“We are unwilling

in deciding this case to shut our eyes to what everyone knows,

that there has been . . . actually and in reality a war in Korea

in which the United States has been seriously engaged.”’);

Pan Am. World Airways, Inc. v. Aetna Casualty & Sur. Co.,

505 F.2d 989, 1012-15 (2d Cir.1974); Navios Corp. v. The

Ulysses II, 161 F.Supp. 932 (D.Md.1958), aff'd, 260 F.2d

959 (4th Cir.1958), the Federal Tort Claims Act, see, e.g.,

Koohi v. United States, 976 F.2d 1328 (9th Cir.1992) (noting

that even absent a formal declaration, “no one can doubt that

a state of war existed when our armed forces marched first

into Kuwait and then into Iraq”); Rotko v. Abrams, 338

F.Supp. 46, 47-48 (D.Conn.1971), aff'd, 455 F.2d 992 (2d

Cir.1972), and provisions of military criminal law applicable

“in time of war,” see, e.g., United States v. Anderson, 17

U.S.C.M.A. 588, 1968 WL 5425 (1968); United States v.

Ayers, 4 U.S.C.M.A. 220, 1954 WL 2280 (1954).

Although courts have thus determined the existence of

war as defined by the Constitution, statutes, and contracts,

in this case plaintiffs’ War Powers Resolution claim would

not even require that we do so. We would need to ask only

whether, and at what time, “United States Armed Forces

[were] introduced into hostilities or into situations where

Sla

Appendix A

imminent involvement in hostilities [was] clearly indicated

by the circumstances.” 50 U.S.C. § 1543(a)(1). On this

question, the record is clear. In his report to the Speaker of

the House and the President pro tempore of the Senate,

transmitted “consistent with the War Powers Resolution,”

President Clinton stated: “on March 24, 1999, U.S. military

forces, at my direction. . . began a series of air strikes in the

Federal Republic of Yugoslavia. .. .” 35 Weekly Comp. Pres.

Doc. 527 (March 26, 1999), available at 1999 WL 12654381.

Pursuant to the priority procedures of the War Powers

Resolution, 50 U.S.C. §§ 1545-46, both houses of Congress

responded by expediting consideration of resolutions to

declare war, H.J. Res 44, to authorize airstrikes, S.J. Res.

20, and to withdraw troops, H. Con. Res. 82. Defense

Secretary William Cohen told the Senate Armed Services

Committee: “We’re certainly engaged in hostilities, we’re

engaged in combat.” Hearing on Kosovo, Senate Armed

Services Comm., 106th Cong., April 15, 1999, 1999 WL

221637 (testimony of William Cohen, Secretary of Defense).

President Clinton issued an Executive Order designating the

region a U.S. combat zone and March 24 as “the date of the

commencement of combatant activities in such zone.” Exec.

Order No. 13,119, 64 Fed.Reg. 18797 (Apr. 13, 1999).

The undisputed facts of this case are equally compelling

with respect to plaintiffs’ constitutional claim. If in 1799

the Supreme Court could recognize that sporadic battles

between American and French vessels amounted to a state

of war, and if in 1862 it could examine the record of

hostilities and conclude that a state of war existed with the

confederacy, then surely we, looking to similar evidence,

could determine whether months of daily airstrikes involving

52a

Appendix A

800 U.S. aircraft flying more than 20,000 sorties and causing

thousands of enemy casualties amounted to “war” within the

meaning of Article I, section 8, clause 11.

Determining whether a state of war exists would

certainly be more difficult in situations involving more

limited military force over a shorter period of time. But just

as we never shrink from deciding a First Amendment case

simply because we can imagine a more difficult one, the fact

that a challenge to a different military action might present

a closer question would not justify abdicating our

responsibility to construe the law and apply it to the facts of

this case.

Nor is the question nonjusticiable because the President,

as Commander in Chief, possesses emergency authority to

use military force to defend the nation from attack without

obtaining prior congressional approval. Judge Silberman’s

suggestion notwithstanding, see supra at 27-28 (Silberman,

J., concurring), President Clinton does not claim that the air

campaign was necessary to protect the nation from imminent

attack. In his report to Congress, the President explained that

the military action was “in response to the FRY government’s

continued campaign of violence and repression against the

ethnic Albanian population in Kosovo.” 35 Weekly Comp.

Pres. Doc. 527 (Mar. 26, 1999), available at 1999 WL

12654381. Although the President also said that military

action would prevent an expanded war in Europe, see Radio

Address of the President to the Nation, March 27, 1999,

available at 1999 WL 170552, he never claimed that an.

emergency required him to act without congressional

authorization; in fact, the Kosovo issue had been festering

53a

Appendix A:

for years. See Declaration of Thomas Pickering,

Undersecretary of State for Political Affairs, JA at 21.

The government also claims that this case is

nonjusticiable because it “requires a political, not a judicial,

judgment.” The government has it backwards. Resolving the

issue in this case would require us to decide not whether the

air Campaign was wise — a “policy choice[ ] and value

determination [ ] constitutionally committed for resolution

to the halls of Congress or the confines of the Executive

Branch,” Japan Whaling Ass’n v. American Cetacean Soc’y,

478 U.S. 221, 230, 106 S.Ct. 2860, 92 L.Ed.2d 166 (1986)

— but whether the President possessed legal authority to

conduct the military operation. Did the President exceed his

constitutional authority as Commander in Chief? Did he

intrude on Congress’s power to declare war? Did he vio!ate

the War Powers Resolution? Presenting purely legal issues,

these questions call on us to perform one of the most

important functions of Article III courts: determining the

proper constitutional allocation of power among the branches

of government. Although our answer could well have

political implications, “the presence of constitutional issues

with significant political overtones does not automatically

invoke the political question doctrine. Resolution of litigation

challenging the constitutional authority of one of the three

branches cannot be evaded by courts because the issues have

political implications. .. .” INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919,

942-43, 103 S.Ct. 2764, 77 L.Ed.2d 317 (1983). See also

Baker v. Carr, 369 U.S. 186, 217, 82 S.Ct. 691, 7 L.Ed.2d

663 (1962) (“The doctrine . . . is one of ‘political questions,’

not one of ‘political cases.’ The courts cannot reject as ‘no

law suit’ a bona fide controversy as to whether some action

S4a

Appendix A

denominated ‘political’ exceeds constitutional authority.”’).

This is so even where, as here (and as in the other cases

discussed above), the issue relates to foreign policy. See

Baker, 369 U.S. at 211, 82 S.Ct. 691 (“[I]t is error to suppose

that every case or controversy which touches foreign relations

lies beyond judicial cognizance’”’). If “we-cannot shirk [our]

responsibility” to decide whether an Act of Congress requires

the President to impose economic sanctions on a foreign

nation for diminishing the effectiveness of an international

treaty, a question rife with “political overtones,” Japan

Whaling Ass’n, 478 U.S. at 230, 106 S.Ct. 2860, then surely

we cannot shirk our responsibility to decide whether the

President exceeded his constitutional or statutory authority

by conducting the air campaign in Yugoslavia.

The Government’s final argument — that entertaining a

war powers challenge risks the government speaking with

“multifarious voices” on a delicate issue of foreign policy

— fails for similar reasons. Because courts are the final

arbiters of the constitutionality of the President’s actions,

“there is no possibility of ‘multifarious pronouncements’ on

this question.” Chadha, 462 U.S. at 942, 103 S.Ct. 2764.

Any short-term confusion that judicial action might instill

in the mind of an authoritarian enemy, or even an ally, is but

a small price to pay for preserving the constitutional

separation of powers and protecting the bedrock

constitutional principle that “[i]t is emphatically the province

and duty of the judicial department to say what the law is.”

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch), 137, 177, 2 L.Ed.

60 (1803).

55a

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF

COLUMBIA DATED JUNE 8, 1999

Tom CAMPBELL, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs

William Jefferson CLINTON, President of the

United States,

Defendant.

No. Civ.A. 99-1072 PLF.

United States District Court,

District of Columbia.

June 8, 1999.

* * *

OPINION

PAUL L. FRIEDMAN, District Judge.

Since March 24, 1999, the United States has been

participating in an air offensive launched by the North

Atlantic Treaty Organization against the Federal Republic

of Yugoslavia. Plaintiffs, twenty-six members of the United

States House of Representatives, seek a declaration that the

President has violated the War Powers Clause of the

56a

Appendix B

Constitution and the War Powers Resolution, 50 U.S.C.

§ 1541, et seq., by involving the United States in the air

offensive without congressional authorization. The defendant

is the President of the United States, who has filed a motion

to dismiss this action. Upon full consideration of the

defendant’s motion, plaintiffs’ opposition, the defendant’s

reply and the arguments presented by counsel at the hearing

held on June 3, 1999, and for the reasons stated below, the

Court concludes that plaintiffs do not have standing to raise

these claims. The motion to dismiss therefore will be granted.

I. BACKGROUND

A. Constitutional and Statutory Framework

The War Powers Clause of the United States Constitution

provides Congress with the power to “declare War... .” U.S.

Constitution, Art. I, § 8, cl. 11. Congress’ power to declare

war works in conjunction with the authority granted to the

President under the Constitution to act as “Commander in

Chief of the Army and Navy of the United States, and of the

Militia of the several States, when called into the actual

Service of the United States.” U.S. Constitution, Art. II, § 2,

cl. 1. The Constitution does not further delineate the precise

scope of the powers granted to the executive and legislative

branches, but clearly the Framers intended to give each of

the two branches a role in the conduct of foreign affairs.

Essentially, Congress would declare war and raise and

financially maintain armies, while the President would

conduct wars.

In 1973, over President Richard Nixon’s veto, Congress

passed the War Powers Resolution, 50 U.S.C. § 1541,

57a

Appendix B

et. seq., in order to “fulfill the intent of the framers of the

Constitution of the United States and insure that the

collective judgment of both the Congress and the Presideni

will apply to the introduction of United States Armed Forces

into hostilities, or into Situations where imminent

involvement in hostilities is clearly indicated by the

circumstances, and to the continued use of such forces in

hostilities or in such situations.” 50 U.S.C. § 1541(a). The

purpose of the resolution was to ensure that the

“constitutional powers of the President as Commander-in-

Chief to introduce United States Armed Forces into

hostilities, or into situations where imminent involvement

in hostilities is clearly indicated by the circumstances, are

exercised only pursuant to (1) a declaration of war, (2)

specific statutory authorization, or (3) a national emergency

created by attack upon the United States, its territories or

possessions, or its armed forces.” 50 U.S.C. § 1541(c).

The War Powers Resolution provides, inter alia, that

“[i]n the absence of a declaration of war, in any case in which

United States Armed Forces are introduced (1) into hostilities

or into situations where imminent involvement in hostilities

is clearly indicated by the circumstances; (2) into the

territory, airspace or waters of a foreign nation while

equipped for combat, except for deployments which relate

solely to supply, replacement, repair, or training of such

forces; or (3) in numbers which substantially enlarge United

States Armed Forces equipped for combat already located

in a foreign nation; the President shall submit within 48

hours” to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and

to the President pro tempore of the Senate a written report

setting forth the circumstances necessitating the introduction

58a

Appendix B

of forces, the constitutional and legislative authority to

- introduce the forces and the estimated scope and duration of

the hostilities or involvement. 50 U.S.C. § 1543(a). The

President also is required to submit periodic reports, at least

every six months, for as long as the forces remain engaged

in hostilities. 50 U.S.C. § 1543(c).

Within sixty calendar days after the President either

submits a report pursuant to Section 1543(a) or is required

to have submitted a report, the President must terminate the

use of the United States Armed Forces described in Section

1543 unless Congress (1) has declared war or has provided

specific authorization for the use of such forces, (2) has

extended by law the sixty-day time period, or (3) is physically

unable to meet as a result of an armed attack on the United

States. 50 U.S.C. § 1544(b). The President may extend the

sixty day period an additional thirty days if he determines

and certifies in writing to the Congress that the continued

use of forces for the additional time is necessary to safely

remove the United States Armed Forces. Id. The War Powers

Resolution also sets forth a mechanism so that both houses

of Congress are required to give priority consideration to

any resolution or bill that would provide the President with

the authorization described above. See 50 U.S.C. §§ 1545,

1546, 1546a.

Finally, the War Powers Resolution explicitly provides

that authority to introduce forces into hostilities shall not be

inferred “from any provision of law ... including any

provision contained in any appropriations Act, unless such

provision specifically authorizes the introduction of United

States Armed Forces into hostilities or into such situations

59a

Appendix B

and states that it is intended to constitute specific statutory

authorization within the meaning of [the War Powers

Resolution],” or “from any treaty ... unless such treaty is

implemented by legislation specifically authorizing the

introduction of United States Armed Forces into hostilities

or into such situations and stating that it is intended to

constitute specific statutory authorization within the meaning

of [the War Powers Resolution].” 50 U.S.C. § 1547(a)

(emphasis added).

B. Conflict with Federal Republic of Yugoslavia

Kosovo, a region of Serbia, historically has been

inhabited both by ethnic Albanians and by ethnic Serbs. See

Def’s Motion to Hold in Abeyance, Att. A (Declaration of

Under Secretary of State for Political Affairs Thomas R.

Pickering) at ¥ 3. The region gained a considerable degree

of autonomy through the 1970’s, and by the late 1980’s ethnic

Albanians constituted an “overwhelming majority of the

population in Kosovo.” Id. at § 4. When Slobodan Milosevic

came to power in Serbia in the late 1980’s, he abolished the

autonomous status of the province, and Kosovo’s ethnic

Albanians began taking various non-violent measures to

resist Milosevic and the authoritarian rule of Serbia. Id. at

5. In early 1998, Serbia launched a crackdown in Kosovo,

killing dozens of ethnic Albanians and Causing thousands to

flee the Kosovo region. Id. at § 8.

Throughout 1998 and into the beginning of 1999, the

United States in partnership with NATO member countries

and other allies sought a diplomatic resolution to the conflict

between the ethnic Albanians in Kosovo and Milosevic’s

60a

Appendix B

government, and it imposed various economic sanctions

against the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in an effort to

force a resolution. See Pickering Declaration at 4 11-14.

After the massacre of forty-five ethnic Albanian civilians in

January 1999, diplomatic efforts intensified, and the Kosovo

Albanians and representatives of the Serbian government

participated in peace negotiations in Rambouillet, France in

February 1999. Id. at JJ 14, 15. On March 15, 1999, the.

Kosovo Albanian delegation signed the interim agreement

that had been proposed in Rambouillet, but three days later

negotiations were suspended because the Serbian delegation

refused to accept the interim agreement. Id. at | 17. By March

19, 1999, the tempo of the repressive offensive by

Milosevic’s armed units had intensified. Id. at § 18.

Milosevic’s forces drove thousands of ethnic Albanians from

their homes and villages, summarily executed some,

displaced others and burned many of their villages. Id.

On March

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.