Opposition Brief — International Precious Metals Corp. v. Waters

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

? APR 2 4 2000

No. 99-1560

; CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

INTERNATIONAL PRECIOUS METALS CORPORATION,

MULTIVEST, INC., JAMES GROSFELD, individually and

as Trustee of the JASON GROSFELD TRUST, MULTIVEST

REAL ESTATE, INC., S.S. MELBOURNE, INC.

and THE CYPRESS GROUP, INC.,

Petitioners,

v.

WILLIAM WATERS and LINDA BARTHOLOMEW,

individually and on behalf of all those similarly situated,

Respondents.

On PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Saeed

- rose.

Eric G. LIPorF C. BRANDON WISOFF

RARING & LIPOFF Counsel of Record

3070 Bristol, Suite 650 NEIL A. GOTEINER

Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3072 FARELLA BRAUN & MARTEL LLP

(714) 429-2970 235 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, CA 94104

(415) 954-4400

Attorneys for Respondents

159213 @) Counsel Press LLC

(800) 274-3321 + (860) 359-6859

I

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the district court abused its discretion in

following Supreme Court and Eleventh Circuit precedent

permitting class counsel’s fee award to be based on the gross

amount of the settlement fund, where doing so resulted in a fee

award representing a multiplier of only 1.05 on class counsel’s

actual lodestar investment in this seven-year litigation; where

the district court found that defendants’ tactics had prolonged

the litigation and thereby helped reduce the number of claims

filed against the fund; where class counsel conferred a

substantial benefit on the class and would suffer a multimillion

dollar loss if defendants’ approach to fees were taken; where

no class member objected to the fee award; where defendants,

not class members, stand to receive 90% of the proposed

reduction in the fee; where defendants expressly stipulated they

had no objection to the fee award and advocated its

reasonableness to the district court prior to dismissal of the jury;

and where the district court conducted a thorough and

independent fee determination and found the fee to be fair and

reasonable?

2. Whether defendants should be permitted to appeal from

that portion of their settlement agreement in which they

expressly stipulated, in return for class counsel capping its fee

request, that they would not object to a fee award up to the

amount of the cap, where defendants expressly told the district

court that the fee award requested was “well within the range

of reasonable” and where defendants seek to keep all the benefits

of their settlement agreement while simultaneously rejecting

all its burdens? [Note: this question would. become relevant

only if the Court grants review of question No. 1, since the

Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s fee award on the

merits without determining whether defendants should be

precluded from appealing their own settlement. ]

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Puaseneee 6.6 5 dsacnc neers 1

Table OF Comtemt .s.ccstctntuss Caner ete aees il

Table Of Cited Antiparities .. .. 66. ccc scenes: iV

Table Of AppemGieee:i:i:0:<25s50 44449 ere enous Vili

Statement Of Jurisdiction ..................... l

Statutes beweGvel ..ossdc ks cae eee l

Statement OF TRG QUOD: 6 sin cen vedere cue eeens 2

A. Introduction and Summary .............. 2

B. ‘The Sete 6 iiscs0ereeeevneaeas ee 8

C. Preliminary Approval of the Settlement and

Desmtosal OF Che BURY 3 << ah. 86.5555n0sncens 10

D. Defendants’ Breaches and the District

Court’s Fairness Hearings .............. 12

E. Defendamte’ AGU ios sac kdkscnveeusess 16

Reasons Why The Writ Should Be Denied ....... 17

1. The Propriety Of A Particular Fee Award Is

A Fact-Bound Decision, Determined On A

Case-By-Case Basis And Reviewed Only For

An Abuse OF Dascsetion. ... ic cc cusses. 17

il

Contents

Page

Il. There Is No Conflict Among The Circuit

Courts Regarding This Court’s Boeing

SEP PCCP CTE OTE TCU Le ae 22

III. This Case Presents No Important Issue Of

oe er rere err ere eee 26

IV. Given The Facts At Bar, This Is A Singularly

Inappropriate Case For Review. .........-. 28

SS SEPP CPOE ET EP ETT ETT TCL Le 30

iv

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Association of Community Organizers for Reform

Now (ACORN) v. Edgar, 99 F.3d 261 (7th Cir.

ea re wr r er ery she TP i l

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980) ..

C£R GEARS ESR ERE LEA Lee 22, 23, 24, 25, 26

Brooks v. Georgia State Bd. of Elections, 59 F.3d

pee. Le | rr er renee l

Camden I Condominium Ass'n, Inc. v. Dunkle,

946 F.26 768 (11th Cir. 1991) ............ 17, 18, 23

Cohen v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 722 F. Supp. 24 (S.D.N.Y. 1989) ........ 27

Donovon vy. Penn Shipping Co., 429 U.S. 648 (1977)

Punk Mean A a ea ee eek a ete ee l

Evans v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717 (1986) ........... 28, 29

Hattaway v. McMillian, 903 F.2d 1440 (11th Cir.

i, TCT ORT PEE TOO eee het Ete l

In re Copley Pharmaceutical, Inc. ‘‘Albuterol”’ Prod.

Liab. Litig., 1 F. Supp.2d 1407 (D. Wyo. 1998)

Cited Authorities

Page

In re Crazy Eddie Secs. Litig., 824 F. Supp. 320

(Ath, © Oe). |) wwewerrerr er rs 18

ITT Rayonier, Inc. v. United States, 651 F.2d 343

(Sth Cie. PORE) occ cade cu wesnaeenned senses !

Lake Coal Co. v. Roberts & Schaeffer Co., 474 U.S.

P20 (IOSD) 2... ck koe venseiyessi eee l

Malchman vy. Davis, 761 F.2d 893 (2d Cir. 1985). 29

Meghig v. KFC Western, Inc., 516 U.S. 479 (1996)

POOP oe rere re re ee 27

Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Ry. Co. v. United

States, 113 U.S. 261 (1885) .........--.026.- ]

Prandini v. National Tea Co., 557 F.2d 1015

(36 Cis. 1977) 05 ccenvanasiwnatanuseeesans 29

Shores v. Sklar, 885 F.2d 760 (11th Cir. 1989) ... 1

Six Mexican Workers v. Arizona Citrus Growers,

904 F.2d 1301 (9th Cir. 1990) ............--- 19, 25

Skelton v. General Motors Corp., 860 F.2d 250

(7th Cie. 1968) o. .0 ckcndsnscacaeeaneeees 18, 23, 28

Sprague v. Ticonic Nat'l Bank, 307 U.S. 161 (1939)

VI

Cited Authorities

Page

Strong v. Bell South Telecomm., Inc., 137 F.3d 844

(Sih 4. BSE oc cd bee peace eee eee 25

Swift & Co. v. United States, 276 U.S. 311 (1928)

Ceees tes ab eee ae be ene eee |

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 553 F.2d 812 (2d Cir.

SOT T) cvuanscncaesss4aneee oe 18, 19

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 573 F.2d 733 (2d Cir.

1978), rev'd en banc, Van Gemert v. Boeing Co.,

590 F.2d 433 (2d Cir. 1978), aff'd, Boeing Co. v.

Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980) ............24, 25

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 590 F.2d 433 (2d Cir.

1978), aff'd, 444 U.S. 472 (1980) ............24, 25

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 739 F.2d 730 (2d Cir.

ISS) once vvens desea bee 18, 24

Walsh v. Ford Motor Co., 945 F.2d 1188 (D.C. Cir.

IOP) .nciv cadences leeks eee l

Williams v. MGM-Pathe Communications Co.,

129 F.3d 1026 (9th Cir. 1997) ............24, 25, 28

vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes:

Ril Vom & | |") peewee wre 26

eit foe) rere rre terre a 27

PUBC, 0 TD ca cvs coca cacense anes veget ses 27

15 U.S.C. § 77z-1(ay(O) 6. eet 2, 26, 27

Other Authorities:

2 H. Newberg and A. Conte, Newberg on Class

Actions (3d ed. 1992) 2.0.0... . eee ee eee 18, 19, 21

3 H. Newberg and A. Conte, Newberg on Class

Actions (3d ed. 1992) 2... . ee eee reer eneee 22

The Nature and Extent of Telemarketing Fraud and

Federal and State Law Enforcement Efforts to

Combat It: Hearings Before the Commerce,

Consumer and Monetary Affairs Subcommittee of

the Committee on Government Operations, House

of Representatives, 10\1st Congress, 2d Session,

July 11 and 12, 1990 ........-20--eeceeeeces 3

National Futures Ass'n Manual, Vol. 6, No. 2 (as of

January 1, 2000) at 4 9021, Compliance Rule 2-9

POO EPPO TT OEP Te Le a 2

vill

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit Denying

Motion Of Appellants For Stay Of Issuance Of

Mandate Pending Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

Dated And Filed January 24, 2000 ...........

Appendix B — Excerpts From Volume 52 Of

Transcript Of Trial Proceedings Of The United

States District Court For The Southern District

Of Florida Dated January 27,1997 ...........

Appendix C — Volume 55 Of Transcript Of Trial

Proceedings Of The United States District Court

For The Southern District Of Florida Dated

I ag BOE ek eke a en Ee bk

Appendix D — Excerpts From Transcript Of

Fairness Hearing Of The United States District

Court For The Southern District Of Florida Dated

| 8, ree eee ere ren reer ear ere ee

Appendix E — Excerpts From Transcript Of Status

Conference Of The United States District Court

For The Southern District Of Florida Dated April

ey NOPE Ste ree co baa ean ORs eee ae

Page

la

2a

8a

ix

Appendices

Appendix F — Sealed Amended Findings Of Fact,

Conclusions Of Law And Order Of The United

States District Court For The Southern District

Of Florida Denying Preliminary Injunction Under

Fraudulent Transfer Claim Dated July 10, 1995,

Nunc Pro Tunc For February 21,1995 .......-.

Appendix G —- Declaration Of Stephen Senderowitz

Regarding Application For Final Approval Of

Class Counsel’s Attorney’s Fees And Costs Dated

February 20, 1997 .........-e eee eee eeeee

Appendix H — Declaration Of Neil A. Goteiner In

Response To The April 24, 1997 Declarations Of

Martin Kaminsky And Paul Dodyk Dated May 5,

1997 And Filed May 6, 1997 .........---++--

Appendix I — Declaration Of John L. Cooper In

Response To April 24, 1997 Declaration Of Paul

M. Dodyk Dated May 5, 1997 And Filed May 6,

| OT ENE Pere er Te eT TTT ero

Appendix J — Administrative Order Of The United

States District Court For The Southern District

Of Florida Closing Case Dated And Filed May 8,

NE a acne Meade AAR CARN ee ARSED

Appendix K — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit Re Motions

Dated And Filed November 4, 1998 ..........

Page

10Sa

126a

14la

156a

Xx

Appendices

Appendix L — Brief Amicus Curiae Of The

American Association Of Retired Persons In

Support Of Appellees Dated November 4, 1998

Appendix M — Brief For Plaintiffs-Appellees Dated

October 20, 1998, Corrected November 2, 1998

oS O'S. 2 ASS S O-4O oR eA OE OOS O44 EA SO 6 E- B'S BOS OO 6 6S ESS

Appendix N — Motion Of Plaintiffs-Appellees For

Leave To File Supplemental Brief To Address

One Mistatement In Defendants-Appellants’

Reply Brief Dated November 30, 1998 ........

Appendix O — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit Denying

Appellees’ Motion To File A Supplemental Brief

Dated And Filed December 22, 1998 .........

Appendix P — Order Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Eleventh Circuit Denying

Petition For Writ Of Mandamus Dated And Filed

Pe een re er

Appendix Q — Excerpt From The National Futures

Association Manual, Volume Six, Number Two

poe fg ee er ara

Page

168a

200a

294a

303a

304a

— a Ta ee ee ee

l

RESPONSE TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI

Respondents and plaintiffs below (hereinafter “plaintiffs”’)

respectfully request that the Court deny the petition for writ of

certiorari filed on behalf of petitioners and defendants below

(hereinafter “‘defendants’’).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Although the Eleventh Circuit affirmed the district court’s

fee award on the merits, neither the Eleventh Circuit nor this

Court has jurisdiction to hear this appeal by defendants from

their own stipulation of settlement. Settlement of an action

renders the cause moot. Lake Coal Co. v. Roberts & Schaeffer

Co., 474 U.S. 120 (1985); [TT Rayonier, Inc. v. United States,

651 F.2d 343, 345 (Sth Cir. 1981). “[MJootness is a threshold

jurisdictional inquiry.” Brooks v. Georgia State Bd. of Elections,

59 F.3d 1114, 1121 (11th Cir. 1995). Thus, an appeal of a case

which has been settled must be dismissed without consideration

of the merits. Swift & Co. v. United States, 276 U.S. 311, 324

(1928), quoting, Nashville, Chattanooga & St. Louis Ry. Co. v.

United States, 113 U.S. 261, 266 (1885) (“ ‘a decree, which

appears by the record to have rendered by consent, is always

affirmed, without considering the merits of the cause’ ”’). Where,

as here, a party stipulates to a comprehensive settlement, without

explicitly preserving a right to appeal a particular issue, there is

no right of appeal. See, e.g., Association of Community

Organizers for Reform Now (“ACORN”) v. Edgar, 99 F.3d 261,

262 (7th Cir. 1996); Walsh v. Ford Motor Co., 945 F.2d 1188,

1192 (D.C. Cir. 1991) (Ginsberg, J.); Shores v. Sklar, 885 F.2d

760, 762 (11th Cir. 1989). A party cannot stipulate to a judgment,

even under protest, and preserve the right of appeal. Donovon

v. Penn Shipping Co., 429 U.S. 648, 650 (1977); Hattaway v.

McMillian, 903 F.2d 1440, 1451 (11th Cir. 1990).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The issues raised by the petition implicate neither any

federal statute nor statutory policies. As noted in the Eleventh

Circuit opinion below, The Private Securities Litigation Reform

,

Act of 1995 (“PSLRA”) is inapplicable to this case which was

brought under the Commodity Exchange Act (“CEA”), involved

no securities and was filed long before enactment of the PSLRA.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction and Summary

This class action arose from the fraudulent sales activities

of a South Florida telemarketing boiler room called Multi Vest

Options, Inc. (“MOT”). MOI, and its parent, Internationa!

Precious Metals Corporation (“IPMC”’), had a long-standing

history of serious problems with regulatory authorities,

including the Commodity Futures Trading Commission

(“CFTC”), the governmental agency charged with regulating

commodity sales, and the National Futures Association

(“NFA”), the industry’s self-regulatory body that works in

conjunction with the CFTC. In January 1990, the CFTC sued

MOI for company-wide, management supervised fraud in the

sale of Exchange — Traded Options (“ETOs’), causing the

company to stipulate to a permanent injunction and to go out of

business. (RA at | 10a-1 1 la, 225a-226a)' NFA rules still require

any commodity firm employing former salespersons of MOI to

adopt “stringent supervision procedures . . . in order to ensure

that the improper training [these salespersons] have previously

received does not taint their sales efforts on behalf [of their

firm].” National Futures Ass'n Manual, Vol. 6, No. 2 (as of

January 1, 2000) at ¢ 9021, Compliance Rule 2-9, Supervision

of Telemarketing Activity. (RA at Q)

James Grosfeld, through a holding company called

MultiVest, Inc. (““MVI") owned and controlled 100% of both

IPMC and MOI. Numerous documents found in Grosfeld’s files

document his awareness of, and participation in, the fraudulent

practices of his companies. (RA at 225a-233a) Upon filing of

the CFTC complaint, Grosfeld fraudulently transferred millions

of dollars in assets of the holding company MVI to himself and

1. Citations to documents included in Petitioners’ Appendix are

cited as “PA at ___.” Citations to documents included in Respondents’

Appendix are cited as “RA at ___.”

3

his minor son without consideration. (/d. at 227a) As with most

boiler room operations closed by the CFTC, MOI was largely a

bankrupt shell having almost no assets to pay customer claims.

At the end of the day, MOI lost its customers over $120 million,

$100 million of which went to MOI as commissions.

(Id. at 236a-237a)’

This class action was commenced in April 1990 to recover

investor losses from Grosfeld. The very day plaintiffs filed their

complaint, Grosfeld began transferring over $30 million (later,

over $50 million) — without consideration — into a tenancy

by the entirety with his wife, an effort which the district court

found to be motivated by Grosfeld’s “actual intent” to defraud

the plaintiff class by leaving them with nothing more than a

“paper judgment.” (RA at 108a, 114a)

Defendants’ assertions that the district court improperly

certified a “churning” case, while irrelevant to this fee dispute,

are contrary to the record evidence. The problems at Grosfeld’s

companies were not due to a few salespersons “churning”

accounts; they were the result of a management-supervised

program of training salespersons to cheat customers.

(RA at 22a-36a) Indeed, a unanimous panel of the Eleventh

Circuit, after requesting a response from plaintiffs, denied

defendants’ earlier writ petition seeking to decertify the class

as being improperly based on a “churning” claim. (/d. at P)

Defendants’ assertions, that it is “without contradiction”

that plaintiffs precluded early resolution of the case by assuming

unreasonable settlement positions, are also belied by the record.

2. Telemarketing boiler room fraud — where small investors are

typically left with worthless claims against a defunct, bankrupt corporate

shell — is one of Congress’ concerns under the CEA. By the time the

CFTC finally shut down MOI, the problem had become so acute that

Congress convened hearings on the matter. The Nature and Extent of

Telemarketing Fraud and Federal and State Law Enforcement Efforts

to Combat It: Hearings Before the Commerce, Consumer and Monetary

Affairs Subcommittee of the Committee on Government Operations,

House of Representatives, 101st Congress, 2d Session, July 11 and 12,

1990.

4°

(RA at H, I) Indeed, the district court specifically found that it

was “Defendants [who] engaged in litigation tactics that

substantially prolonged the case.” (PA at S-6)

After seven years of contentious litigation, and on the eve of

closing arguments after a five-month jury trial, defendants and

plaintiffs agreed to settle. A $40 million fund was created to pay

the claims of class members, with unclaimed amounts reverting to

Grosfeld. Because attorneys’ fees are the single largest claim against

a class action settlkement fund, and because the lodestar

amounts for both sides were enormous given the length and

intensity of the litigation, Grosfeld wanted class counsel to cap

their fee request so as to give him more certainty regarding his

likely payout. Conversely, class counsel wanted the settlement to

end all disputes between the parties including Gsputes and

related appeals over the fee and expense award. The parties

expressly agreed, therefore, that class counsel would limit their fee

request to a third of the total fund plus expenses, and that in

return defendants would not object either “directly or indirectly”

to a request in that amount. (PA at G-36) Both sides advocated

approval of the settlement to the district court: defendants expressly

told the district court that the settlement, after deduction of the fee

and expense request, would provide an “exceptional” recovery to

the class and that a fee request of one-third of the gross settlement

fund would be “well within the range of reasonable.” (PA at A-10

n.9; PA at S-3 n.3 & S-4; RA at 44a, 50a-5 la)

After obtaining preliminary approval of the settlement and

dismissal of the jury, defendants began reneging on their

stipulations in order to create a larger reversion for Grosfeld.

First, defendants objected to plaintiffs’ request that the

settlement administrator use an outside service to update stale

addresses for class members who would be entitled to file

claims. Second, defendants objected to, and then appealed from,

the district court’s award of fees and expenses to class counsel.

Third, defendants sought to erect barriers to class members

receiving their shares of the settlement, leading to two separate

appeals currently pending in the Eleventh Circuit.

“

3

:

x

‘s

5

bY

}

*

‘

3

5

In short, defendants engineered a premeditated breach of

their own settlement in order to derail an imminent jury verdict

and obtain the benefits of their settlement including their

negotiated cap on class counsel’s fees, the reversion they now

enjoy and dismissal of all claims. Their downside thus protected,

defendants now seek this Court’s assistance in rescinding their

agreement on fees so as to create a larger reversion for

themselves (90 cents of every dollar) and a multimillion loss

for class counsel. Both the district court and the Eleventh Circuit

rejected this unfair result, noting that the $13.3 million fee award

represented a modest multiplier of only 1.05 on class counsel's

actual lodestar investment in this case of over $12.6 million

(PA at A-13) — this, after class counsel assumed the enormous

risk of funding this matter through seven years of litigation, a

five-month jury trial, and now three years of fighting defendants’

frivolous appeals from their own settlement.

Against this background, defendants’ assertion that it is

plaintiffs’ counsel who have “manipulated” the settlement

process is transparently not credible, as both the district court

and the Eleventh Circuit determined. In its final order rejecting

defendants’ efforts, the district court found that defendants’

arguments were “frivolous,” that defense counsel’s testimony

regarding comparative fees in other cases was based entirely

on hearsay and was “not credible” and that defense counsel’s

statements concerning the unprecedented nature of the fee award

directly “conflict{ed]” with his earlier statements in seeking

the court’s approval of the settlement. (PA at S-1, 3 n.3, 4)

Similarly, a unanimous panel of the Eleventh Circuit found that

“defense counsel’s arguments about the ‘exorbitant and

unprecedented fee award,’ . . . are in conflict with their earlier

assertions to the district court” and that defense counsel's

claimed interest in protecting the class “strains credulity” given

that defendants are in reality seeking return to themselves of

approximately 90% of any reduction in class counsel’s fee.

(PA at A-10 n.9, 13)

6

Further undermining the credibility of defendants’ position

is the fact that the American Association of Retired Persons

(“AARP”), the largest consumer lobby group in the United

States, filed a brief in the Eleventh Circuit supporting plaintiffs’

fee award and rejecting each of defendants’ arguments as

undermining the economic incentives that would motivate class

counsel to bring these types of cases against the operators of

telemarketing boiler rooms. (RA at L) Indeed, if the Court

adopted the rigid rule advocated by defendants — that district

courts must always limit fees to a portion of the fund actually

claimed by class members — telemarketing firms could cheat

consumers without fear of civil liability so long as they stole

relatively small amounts from each customer so as to minimize

the likelihood of claims. That is precisely what Grosfeld did

here; he then engaged in time consuming scorched earth

litigation tactics. Only after class counsel had been forced to

spend millions of dollars and only on the eve of an adverse

verdict, did he agree to settle. No reasonable class counsel would

undertake this type of risk and expense if fees were wholly based

on the number of claimants who may come forward (years after

the fraudulent transactions in question) to claim their shares of

any settlement.

Despite resounding rejection of their position by the district

court, by the largest consumer lobby group, by a unanimous

panel of the Eleventh Circuit and by the failure of a single sitting

Eleventh Circuit judge to vote for rehearing en banc, defendants

continue their calculated charade in this Court where — yet

again — they grossly distort the factual and procedural history

of the case, make factual assertions nowhere supported in the

record, make arguments directly contrary to arguments made

below and cite to declarations stricken from the record by the

Eleventh Circuit as having been improperly filed for the first

time on appeal. It is defendants’ tactics, not this fee award, which

give lawyers and the legal profession a bad reputation.

Defendants urge this Court to accept unsupported and

internally contradictory assertions as bases for eliminating a

7

district court’s discretionary authority to consider all relevant

factors in making fee determinations. There is no reason for

this Court either to change the well-developed rules in this area

or to review the instant fact-bound individualized fee

determination. All precedents, including Supreme Court

precedents, teach that district courts have broad discretion in

setting an appropriate fee award and that courts are permitted

to base the award on the total benefit achieved for the class, not

just that portion of the benefit actually claimed by the class —

a factor over which class counsel has no control.

There is no conflict in the circuits over this issue.

Notwithstanding defendants’ repeated reference to “coupon”

settlements, this was not a “coupon” settlement; every class member

who filed a timely claim has received approximately 20% of his or

her out-of-pocket loss in cash and fully-secured, interest bearing

promissory notes, with the average recovery being $1,200 and with

some class members receiving in excess of $20,000. There is no

important issue of federal law for this Court to decide in this case;

the decision below was based on a long-standing and demonstrably

sound “abuse of discretion” standard. Where, as here, the fee award

barely covered class counsel’s actual lodestar invested in the case,

through seven years of litigation and five months of trial, there can

be no abuse of discretion. Nor is any federal statute implicated.

Defendants’ citation to the PSLRA is disingenuous as this case

involved no securities, but was brought under the Commodity

i Exchange Act (“CEA”), which has exclusive jurisdiction over the

regulation of ETOs. Eliminating telemarketing fraud has been one

of Congress’ primary concerns under the CEA.

Moreover, as noted by the Eleventh Circuit, it would be

singularly inappropriate for a court “to renegotiate on [defendants’ }

behalf the terms of an agreement concluded after arms-length

i negotiations.” (PA at A-17) Defendants’ continuing efforts to

increase the monetary reversion to a boiler room operator by

reneging on their agreements and disavowing representations they

made to the district court to obtain approval of the settlement —

all under the sanctimonious guise of championing the interests of

the very class members they defrauded — should not be rewarded.

B. The Settlement

At or about the time the trial began in September 1996,

defendants and plaintiffs discussed a settlement. It was during

these lengthy and ongoing discussions that defendants — not

plaintiffs — insisted on a reversionary settlement. (RA at 161a-

162a)

The settlement stipulation provided that Grosfeld would

create a settlement fund against which claims could be filed by

class members and from which the fees and expenses of

plaintiffs’ class counsel and the settlement administrator would

be paid. (PA at G-11, 12, 29-31) Of this amount 25% was to be

paid in cash. (/d. at G-12) The remaining 75% was to be paid in

the form of an interest-bearing master promissory note secured

by an irrevocable letter of credit from a prominent national bank.

Id. The settlement provided for a plan of allocation among class

members who timely filed claims with a third-party settlement

administrator in relation to each class member’s recognized loss

as a percentage of the settlement fund as a whole. (/d. at G-29)

Any amounts not claimed by class members or used to pay the

fees and expenses of counsel and the settlement administrator

were to revert to Grosfeld. (/d. at G-27, 28)

Defendants expressly agreed not to object to a fee of up to

one third of the gross settlement fund amount, plus expenses,

in return for plaintiffs’ agreement not to request a larger fee:

Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel of Record shall apply for

fees in an amount not to exceed 33-1/3% of the

Settlement Fund plus their costs and expenses. . . .

Defendants will not directly or indirectly oppose

Plaintiffs’ Class Counsel of Record’s application for

fees and expenses or compensation of the

Representative Plaintiffs.” (PA at G-36) (emphasis

added)

The stipulation also stated that it was a “final and complete

resolution of all disputes,” (Jd. at G-41), reached “voluntarily”

(/d.) and that defendants “shall not attack this Stipulation in the

settlement approval process.” (/d. at G-21).

BOPP Se SOBA APPA

$d ph a AMINA TE ANSI EF

iia tse cna aaa al Be ate AEN FETE IOP EINE ES Si tt ID Dik

9

The parties also drafted and stipulated to a form of class

notice that expressly told class members that counsel would be

requesting a fee and expense award of one-third of the gross

settlement fund amount, plus expenses, that class members

would receive no more than 20% of their recognized losses if

the fee request were approved, that any unclaimed amounts

would be returned to defendants and that defendants would not

be objecting to the requested fee. (PA at H-8, 16, 17, 1-2)°

3. Defendants’ accusations that the co-drafted class notice was

misleading rests on the absurd notion that the notice should have

anticipated the number of claims that would be filed and then compare

the value of those claims to the fee request. Defendants argued in the

Eleventh Circuit that plaintiffs’ counsel had prior notice of a letter from

the settlement administrator estimating a claims rate. Plaintiffs’ counsel

demonstrated below that this accusation was false and that the letter to

which defense counsel referred was a letter that only defense counsel

had received in ex parte communications with the settlement

administrator. Indeed, plaintiffs demonstrated that it was defense counsel

who withheld that letter from both plaintiffs’ counsel and the district

court until after obtaining preliminary approval of the settlement and

dismissal of the jury. When confronted with these facts by the district

court, defense counsel had to admit on the record that the letter had

been sent solely to him prior to finalization of the settlement.

(RA at 247a). Defendants similarly argued below that plaintiffs’ counsel

knew from the experience of claims filed in MOI’s CFTC receivership

proceedings that few class members would file claims against the

settlement fund. Plaintiffs’ counsel demonstrated below that this

assertion is also false. The CFTC receiver had few if any funds to

distribute and still received thousands of claims even though the

receivers’ notice cited statute of limitation defenses and strongly

discouraged claims from all customers others than those trading ETOs

during the last two years of MOI’s 5-year existence. (RA at 154a).

Here, by contrast, a $40 million fund was created and every class

member filing a claim was assured of receiving approximately 20% of

his or her out-of-pocket losses. With an average recovery of $1200,

there was every reason to believe class members would have incentive

to file claims. And, of course, defendants never told the district court

they believed few class members would file claims; they instead urged

approval of the Settlement as being fair and reasonable to the class.

| '

10

The parties also drafted a proposed claim form that class

members would use to submit claims against the settlement fund. |

In these negotiations, plaintiffs demanded and received a provision

which prohibited the settlement administrator from rejecting any

incomplete or inaccurate claim so long as the claim form could be

corrected by the settlement administrator with information available

from plaintiffs’ counsel or MOI’s records. (PA at G-33, 34)*

Additionally, plaintiffs demanded and obtained a provision

establishing a toll-free line to the settlement administrator so that

class members could call the settkement administrator for

instructions on how to complete the claim form. (RA at 20a)

Although the parties successfully negotiated a complete :

set of settlement documents, they had difficulty agreeing upon ;

an amount for the settlement fund. On the eve of closing

arguments defendants finally offered to fund the settlement with

$40 million. Defendants’ prior offers had been below that

amount by in excess of $10 million. (RA at 152a)

C. Preliminary Approval of the Settlement and Dismissal

of the Jury

When the district court learned of the settlement, it

specifically asked whether the amount of attorneys’ fees that

would be requested had been “worked out” by the parties.

(RA at 5a-6a) The district court was told that the parties had

agreed that plaintiffs’ counsel could — without objection —

request a fee amount of up to 33-1/3% of the $40 million

settlement fund plus costs. (/d.)

For several days, the district court conducted a series of

hearings and conferences to review the details of the settlement.

While some of these conferences took place in chambers off

4. In fact, one of the related appeals that defendants are currently

pressing in the Eleventh Circuit challenges the district court’s order

instructing the settlement administrator to allow those claims of class

members who filed incomplete claim forms capable of correction. This

is all part of defendants’ overarching strategy to renege on every part of

their settlement agreement requiring payments to class members and

class counsel.

1]

the record or by telephone, the court later recited on the record

various statements which defendants now deny making,

although defendants did not dispute them at the time they were

put on the record. At no time during these discussions did

defendants indicate they believed only a small portion of the

class would file claims or that any part of the settlement

agreement, notice or claim form was misleading or unfair.

Defendants did not then tell the court they were forced into a

“clear-sailing” agreement. To the contrary, defendants’

settlement counsel vociferously argued that even after deduction

of the proposed fee the settlement would produce “an

exceptional benefit to the class members.” (PA at A-10 n.9:

RA at 44a) Indeed, the Parties jointly presented the district court

with a study done by the National Economic Research

Association (“NERA”) as Supporting the fairness of the

settlement and reasonableness of the fee request. (PA at A-8

n.7; S-3-4 & n.3) Defendants’ counsel, when asked about the

fee, assured the district court that “a fee of one-third the gross

amount of the settlement fund would be well within the range

of reasonable.” (PA at A-8 n.7, 10n.9; RA at 50a-5 1a)

After several days of exhaustive review, discussion and

modification of the settlement, the district court held a hearing

in Open court, at which time plaintiffs’ settlement counsel, set

forth the basic terms of the settlement and summarized some of

the in-chambers discussions. When the district court asked

defendants if they had anything to add, defense counsel affirmed

that Plaintiffs’ counsel had correctly outlined the settlement and

that he had nothing further to add. (RA at 22a)

The district court then entered the stipulated preliminary

approval order and told the parties it was dismissing the jury.

(/d. at 36a-38a) That order again expressly states that defendants

are not objecting to the fee and expense request. (PA at B-8)

12

D. Defendants’ Breaches and the District Court’s Fairness

Hearings

Having locked class counsel into their negotiated fee cap

through entry of the preliminary approval order and dismissal

of the jury, defendants then began to undermine and renege on

their agreements. First, they attempted to minimize the number

of claims filed by class members by objecting to the settlement

administrator’s use of an address locator service — requiring

the district court’s intervention. (RA at 246a-247a) Then,

defendants urged the district court to wait to see how many

claims were actually filed against the settlement fund and only

award plaintiffs’ class counsel a percentage of the amount

actually claimed, as opposed to a third of the fund created as

they had stipulated. (/d.)

Out of aclass of approximately 20,000 individuals, the court

received only one objection to the settlement. (PA at A-10 n.9;

RA at 249a) That objector told the district court she did not

object to class counsel’s fee and expense request. (/d.)

Furthermore, no class member intervened or appealed the district

court’s final approval order.

At the March 31, 1997 fairness hearing, the district court

reviewed the history of the case, including the in-chambers,

off-the-record discussions, noting that even defendants had

agreed that the settlement, after deduction of fees and costs,

would “produce an exceptional benefit to the class members.”

(RA at 44a) The district court went on to note that defendants

had — prior to the jury’s dismissal — expressly supported the

reasonableness of the fee:

“Now, I do want to note that the settlement’s

stipulation that the — excuse me, that the fee request

of one-third of the settlement fund is the maximum

amount of fees that the parties agreed — the parties,

that’s both sides — agreed could be sought pursuant

to the settlement stipulation that the Court approved

at the end of January, after being assured by both

sides that a fee of one-third of the gross amount of

2 eel

13

the settlement fund would be well within the range

of reasonable.” (Id. at 50a-5la (emphasis added))

Defendants’ counsel took no issue whatsoever with the

district court’s summary of what they had previously said during

the in-chambers, off-the-record preliminary approval

discussions. In fact, moments later when asked whether

defendants wanted to comment on any of the matters being

covered, defendants’ counsel said they had only one comment

concerning the request of the lone objector for an extension of

time in which class members could make Claims. (Id. at 60a)

Defendants’ assertions that the district court never made

such a statement until two months later in its May 8, 1997 order,

and that the court fabricated its statements in that order are

deplorable falsehoods rejected by the Eleventh Circuit.5

5. Defendants tell this Court that the district court was “mistaken”

in its attribution of these statements to defendants’ counsel. Petition at

29. By contrast, defendants told the Eleventh Circuit that the district

court had “purposefully” erred in making these statements. (PA at U-3)

In any event, the district court did not merely put these statements in its

May 8, 1997 order; as noted above, it put them on the record — without

objection from defendants — at the March 31, 1997 fairness hearing.

In the fall of 1998 when the case was on appeal, defendants’ counsel

submitted the three declarations which they now cite to in which they

claim they never made these statements. (PA at T-11-20) The Eleventh

Circuit struck those declarations from the record as being an improper

attempt to introduce evidence for the first time on appéal. (PA at V)

Defendants nevertheless refer this Court to those declarations without

noting that those declarations were filed only as part of their appeal.

Petition at 29 n.32. When confronted with their failure to object to the

district court’s statements at the March 31, 1997 fairness hearing,

defendants told the Eleventh Circuit that they had, in fact, objected to

those statements in connection with their April 21, 1997 motion to alter

or amend the judgment. (PA at X-26) Defendants, however, misleadingly

cited the Eleventh Circuit not to the declaration filed on Apmil 24 (which,

in fact, said nothing about the district court’s March 31] statements)

(PA at O), but to declarations which they filed with the district court

only after the district court entered and faxed its May 8, 1997 order

(Cont'd)

14

The district court noted that defendants sought to back out

of their obligations under the agreement, while obtaining all

the benefits and imposing a multimillion dollar loss on class

counsel. (RA at 9la-92a) Contrary to defendants’ assertion that

the district court was misled, the court expressly understood

that a significant portion of the settlement fund might not be

claimed. (/d. at 99a) (The Eleventh Circuit flatly rejected this

linchpin of defendants’ entire argument. (PA at A-7-8 & n.7))

The district court also noted that even fewer class members

would have been able to claim but for plaintiffs’ counsel’s efforts

to obtain an order requiring the settlement administrator to use

a locator service to resend claims packets to persons whose

addresses had been stale. (RA at 96a-101a)

The district court addressed each of defendants’ objections

and methodically went through the relevant fee determination

factors, noting that most resulted in an upward adjustment of

the norma! fee benchmark. (PA at A-6-7; RA at 96a-101a)

The district court had before it not only the NERA study of

nationwide fee awards, but the declaration of an expert in

complex commodities litigation. (RA at G) The declaration

noted the difficult groundbreaking nature of this class action

suit against the upstream operators of a defunct commodity

telemarketing firm and demonstrated how favorably the results

in this action compared to other private commodities litigations

and CFTC restitution programs. (/d.) The district court awarded

plaintiffs’ counsel a fee award of one-third of the $40 million

settlement fund or $13.3 million, with $5 million of this amount

to be payable in cash and the remainder to be payable as a

deferred obligation.

(Cont'd)

and officially closed the case file. (PA at P, Q, R; RA at J, N) In short,

defendants never disputed the district court’s March 31, 1997 statements

until after the case was closed in May, and the Eleventh Circuit agreed

that defendants’ representations on appeal are “in conflict with their

earlier assertions to the district court.” (PA at A-10 n.9).

15

On April 25, 1997, the district court held a hearing to resolve

plaintiffs’ counsel’s expense requests. Three days before that

hearing, and long after the March 17, 1997 stipulated deadline

for filing objections had expired, defendants filed a motion

requesting the district court to alter or amend its prior fee award.

(PA at L) Notwithstanding that defendants and plaintiffs had

jointly provided the district court with the NERA study when

asking the court to approve the settlement, defendants now attacked

the district court’s reliance on that study, claiming to have done a

telephone survey of unidentified counsel supposedly involved in

the cases included in that study, and concluding from their own

“hearsay” survey that the fee and expense award was “excessive.”

(PA at M, O-7) At the end of this hearing, the district court again

expressed displeasure that defendants were now taking positions

contrary to those taken in chambers: “the NERA study was offered

by both sides . . . as authoritative; . . . it was represented to me that

the fee award sought was well within the range of common practice

in these types of cases... .” (emphasis added) (RA at 104a)

Again, defendants did not dispute they had made these statements

in seeking the court’s preliminary approval of the settlement.

In its May 8, 1997 final order denying defendants’

motion to alter or amend the fee award, the court found that

the motion was “frivolous.” (PA at S-1) The court also noted

that defendants’ evidence in support of the motion (namely

their continuing unsupported claim that the award is 400%

greater, relative to class distributions, than any prior case)

was based entirely on hearsay, that it was inconsistent with

defendants’ counsel’s prior representations, and that it was

defendants’ counsel who previously had advocated the NERA

Study as supporting the proposed fee: “in those discussions,

counsel for both sides assured the Court that their experience

and the findings contained in the NERA Study would support

an attorneys’ fee award in [the amount of $13,333,333].”

(Id. at S-3 & n.3, 4) The district court even noted that it had

personally telephoned the author of the NERA study who

contradicted the representations that defense counsel

16

was making about the information contained in the report.

(Id. at S-4, 5) The district court therefore rejected defense

counsel’s testimony as being “not credible.” (/d. at S-4)°

The district court also noted that a fee award based solely

on the number of claims actually received would reward

defendants for having unnecessarily prolonged the litigation

knowing that the claim rate decreases with the passage of time.

(Id. at S-6) The district court also noted that it would be “highly

inequitable” under the circumstances of this lengthy and

expensive case to adopt defendants’ position. The court noted

that its analysis at the March 31, 1997 fairness hearing required

an upward adjustment to the fee benchmark. (/d. at S-6-7)

E. Defendants’ Appeal

Defendants then appealed from their settlement agreement,

claiming that they had been “coerced” into their agreements by

overreaching class counsel and a “contumacious” district court.

Recognizing that the record undermined their arguments,

defendants attempted to create a new record on appeal first by

filing declarations in the district court after the case was closed

(PA at P, Q, R) and then by submitting declarations in the

Eleventh Circuit purporting to take back the statements which

they had made to the district court in seeking preliminary

settlement approval and which the district court had then put

on the record without objection. (PA at T-11-20) The Eleventh

Circuit ordered the declarations filed for the first time on appeal

stricken from the record and ordered defendants to submit a

new brief deleting those references. (/d. at V) Defendants again

made reference to the declarations in their revised brief and

6. Defendants now — for the first time — complain that the district

court made ex parte contact with the author of the NERA study.

Defendants’ complaint is disingenuous given that defendants’ counsel,

who submitted the declaration regarding the settlements in the NERA

study, failed to show up at the hearing for questioning or cross-

examination. This incident only highlights that the district court

vigorously exercised its duty to conduct an independent investigation

of the reasonabieness of the fee request.

17

again the Eleventh Circuit ordered their brief stricken.

(RA at K) A unanimous panel of the Eleventh Circuit affirmed

the district court’s fee award. (PA at A) When defendants

requested a rehearing, with a suggestion of rehearing en banc,

not one judge of the Eleventh Circuit voted to hear the case.

(Id. at F) The Eleventh Circuit also denied defendants’ request

for a stay of mandate pending their petition to this Court for a

writ of certiorari. (RA at A)

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

I. The Propriety Of A Particular Fee Award Is A Fact-

Bound Decision, Determined On A Case-By-Case Basis

And Reviewed Only For An Abuse Of Discretion.

The Court would be ill advised to adopt the rigid, formulaic

Standard which defendants propose should govern fee awards.

It is Hornbook law that district courts have “broad discretion”

in determining an appropriate fee award ona case-by-case basis.

“[I]ndividualization in the exercise of a discretionary power [for

fee awards] will alone retain equity as a living system and save

it from sterility.” Sprague v. Ticonic Nat’l Bank, 307 U.S. 161,

167 (1939); Camden I Condominium Ass ’n, Inc. v. Dunkle, 946

F.2d 768, 774 (11th Cir. 1991).

Defendants’ latest theme — raised for the first time in their

petition to this Court — is that “reversionary” settlements are

part of a “scandalous” “scheme plaguing the federal courts” for

the purpose of “enriching” class counsel. Petition at 3, 26, 28.

By contrast, defendants argued to the Eleventh Circuit that

reversionary settlements are “very rare.” (PA at W-30) Both here

and in the Eleventh Circuit, defendants have argued that class

counsel manipulated the settlement in order to generate an

“exorbitant” fee at the class’ expense. But in the district court,

of course, defendants urged approval of the settlement as being

fair and reasonable to the class.

Defendants’ ever-changing situational arguments have one

thing in common: they are all totally lacking in any evidence

suggesting collusion, manipulation or other unfair practices

designed to harm the interests of class members. Both the district

18

court and the Eleventh Circuit concluded that the settlement

was the result of vigorous arms-length negotiations. (PA at A-5

n. 4, 17) Similarly, the AARP, as spokesperson for millions of

older American consumers, is not in the habit of filing amicus

briefs supporting fee awards to class counsel who have engaged

in “schemes” to enrich themselves at the expense of their

consumer Clients.

There is absolutely no basis to conclude that reversionary

settlements are part of a “scheme” or are generally unfair. As noted

by Professor Newberg, reversionary settlements are one of several

commonly accepted methods for dealing with unclaimed funds.

2 H. Newberg and A. Conte, Newberg on Class Actions (3d ed.

1992) (hereinafter “Newberg’’) § 10.15 at 10-38, § 10.17 at 10-40

& n.124 (collecting cases). Indeed, many of the leading cases

discussing class action fee awards involved reversionary

settlements. Camden, 946 F.2d at 771 n.2; Skelton v. General Motors

Corp., 860 F.2d 250, 254 n.1 (7th Cir. 1988); In re Crazy Eddie

Secs. Litig., 824 F. Supp. 320, 323, 326 (E.D.N.Y. 1993)

(reversionary settlement where the court awarded $14.2 million in

fees representing 33.8% of the gross amount of the $42 million

settlement fund, plus $2 million in expenses, in a case where

there was no trial). There is authority that even where the

defendant’s liability to the class has been proven, any unclaimed

portion of the judgment amount should revert to the defendant

and should not be distributed pro rata to class members who

did file claims. See, e.g., Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 739 F.2d

730, 736-37 (2d Cir. 1984); Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 553 F.2d

812, 815-816 (2d Cir. 1977); see also 2 Newberg § 10.20 at 10-52.

These cases reason that the equitable interest in the unclaimed

funds belongs to the class members who have not claimed,

and that class members who have claimed are no more entitled

to those funds than is the defendant.

Indeed, defendants’ underlying assumption — that all funds

are automatically distributed to class members in the absence

of a reversionary settlement — is plain wrong. “Most class

actions result in some unclaimed funds,” the disposition of which

19

is left in the district court’s discretion. See, e.g., Six Mexican

Workers v. Arizona Citrus Growers, 904 F.2d 1301, 1307

(9th Cir. 1990) (discussing the various alternatives used by courts

for distributing such funds). Some courts permit the shares of

non-claiming class members to be distributed pro rata to class

members who have claimed their shares. Jd. at 1307 n.4. Other

courts, however, find there is no just reason to give claiming

class members a windfall by allowing them to capture the shares

of nonclaiming members as well. See Van Gemert, 553 F.2d at

815 (rejecting this approach as an improper “fluid class”

recovery). Courts have reached various solutions — including

cy pres distribution to a next best class, reversion of unclaimed

balances to the defendant and escheatment of unclaimed

balances to the government. Six Mexican Workers, 904 F.2d at

1307-08. See also 2 Newberg §§ 10.15, 10.16, 10.17, 10.19,

10.20.

In other words, district courts are often called upon to

exercise their equitable discretion in allocating unclaimed

balances. Class counsel are never penalized by having to return

a portion of their fee award when unclaimed balances remain at

the end of the claims process and the district court determines

that those funds should revert to the defendant, escheat to the

government or be distributed under the cy pres doctrine. There

is no reason why a different result should obtain here, where

the district court at the time of final settlement approval made a

determination that it would be fair, in the context of this

settlement, for unclaimed balances to revert to the defendant.

Moreover, defendants’ credibility is undermined by the very

affidavit on which they rely to argue that the fee award at bar

was 400% greater than the highest fee award ever made in the

Eleventh Circuit. Defendants’ counsel submitted an affidavit in

the district court representing that defense counsel had made

an ex parte telephone survey of the various lawyers involved in

the twenty-nine settlements from the Eleventh Circuit contained

in the NERA study. (PA at M) Counsel claimed that although

thirteen (i.e., 45%) of those twenty-nine settlements were

20)

“reversionary,’ no unclaimed funds were left in any of those

reversionary settlements. Defendants’ counsel concluded,

therefore, that the NERA study was, in fact, based on actual

distributions, rather than the size of the fund created. But if —

as defendants claim in their petition — class counsel knew, or

should have known, that only a small percentage of the class

would file claims, how is it that there were no unclaimed funds

in any of the thirteen reversionary settlements contained in the

NERA study? Either defendants are wrong about the claims

history of the settlements in the NERA study or they are wrong

in their assertion that only a small fraction of class members

typically file claims. The district court rejected defense counsel’s

affidavit as being “not credible.” (PA at S-4) We know, because

the district court personally called the author of the NERA study,

that the fee awards in those twenty-nine cases were based on

the entire settlement fund created, without regard to whether

the amounts were actually later distributed. Indeed, most fee

awards occur at the time of final settlement approval, whereas

the claims process often goes on for months or even years later.

Thus, it would be unusual for a district court to know the final

results of the claims process at the time fees are awarded.

Defendants’ efforts to “chart” the disparate fee awards they

claim result from reversionary as compared to pro rata

settlements further demonstrates the absurdity of the rigid,

formulaic rule they would have this Court adopt. It is not true

that class counsel who creates a $40 million reversionary

settlement fund will always receive the same fee as class counsel

who creates a $40 million pro rata settlement fund. Where, as

here, class counsel litigated a difficult and contentious case

through seven years of litigation and a five ath jury trial,

incurring an actual lodestar of over $12.6 mill. vn, a $13.3 million

fee award (representing one-third of the $40 million settlement

fund, which in turn represents one-third of the actual out-of-

pocket losses of $120 million) was entirely reasonable. Every

class member who submits a claim is entitled under this

settlement, after deduction of fees and expenses, to receive 20%

” ere

21

of his or her out-of-pocket losses.’ On the other hand, class

counsel who obtains a $40 million pro rata settlement (based

on out-of-pocket losses of $700 million) after only a few months

discovery and little invested in the case, would be entitled to a

much smaller fee. In other words, whether the settlement is

reversionary or pro rata is only one of many factors that the

district court, and a reviewing court, must take into consideration

in setting an appropriate fee award under all the circumstances

of the particular case.

In this case, the average pay-out to class members filing a

claim ($1,200) seemed sufficiently large to prowide filing

incentive. Indeed, it was a far larger average recovery than

individuals typically receive in a class action. (RA at 136a, 154a)

As Professor Newberg has noted, this factor typically results in

a higher than average claim rate. See 2 Newberg § 11.18 at 11-

24. Defendants — while downplaying the benefit created by

class counsel — have admitted that class members typically

receive only “2% to 10%” of their out-of-pocket losses from

class settlements, even where the settlement agreement provides

‘for a pro rata distribution. (PA at W-37). Here, by contrast,

every class member who filed a claim has received

approximately 20% of his or her out-of-pocket loss from this

reversionary settlement. Individual class members do not care

about the total amount claimed by the class as a whole; they

care about the amount of their individual share. A recovery of

20% of out-of-pocket losses significantly exceeds the national

norm. Notwithstanding defendants’ repeated references and

citations to “coupon” settlements, this settlement was not a

“coupon” settlement; class members received cash and fully-

secured, interest-bearing promissory notes, with some class

members receiving in excess of $20,000 and numerous others

receiving several thousands of dollars. Furthermore, provisions

providing a formula for the distribution of the net settlement

fund, after the payment of counsel fees and expenses, according

to class members’ recognized losses, as well as the filing of

7. Defendants admit this fact. (PA at Q-3, 8)

22

proofs of claim, are standard and accepted procedures in aclass

action settlement. 3 Newberg § 12.35 at 12-90.

II. There Is No Conflict Among The Circuit Courts

Regarding This Court’s Boeing Decision.

Struggling to create some issue worthy of this Court’s

review, defendants wrongly tell the Court that there is a split

among the circuits on how to apply this Court’s decision in

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980). Each circuit

gives district courts broad discretion in determining fee awards

and reviews fee determinations under an “abuse of discretion”

standard. Whether a settlement is “reversionary” or “pro rata”

is only one of many factors that district courts are permitted to

consider in setting an appropriate fee.

In Boeing, this Court held that class counsel’s fee award

may be measured by the size of the common fund established

for the benefit of the class and not merely by the value of the

claims eventually asserted against the fund:

“(Class members’] right to share the harvest of the

lawsuit upon proof of their identity, whether or not

they exercise it, is a benefit in the fund created by

the efforts of the class representatives and their

counsel. Unless absentees contribute to the payment

of attorneys’ fees incurred on their behalves, they

will pay nothing for the creation of the fund and

their representatives may bear additional costs.”

Id. at 480 (emphasis added).

Moreover, the Court noted that the result is the same

notwithstanding that defendant may have a reversionary and

“latent” interest in the funds, if unclaimed. Jd. at 481-482. Once

the fund was established for the benefit of class members, all

class members held equitable interests in their respective shares

of the fund. Jd. In assessing fees, it was therefore proper for the

district court to look at the entirety of the fund created for the

benefit the class. See also 3 Newberg § 14.03 at 14-14.

a ——————————— A NN _

23

Defendants’ argument — that Boeing decided only

whether it would be impermissible “fee-shifting” to base

class counsel’s fee on the entirety of the fund, and not whether

fees must be based on the entirety of the settlement fund —

proves too much. Of course, Boeing does not say fees “must”

be based oi the entirety of the fund, but the Court Clearly

held that it was “permissible” to base fees on the entirety of

the fund. It is not impermissible “fee-shifting” to base a fee

award on the entire fund because class members, whether

they claim their shares or not, have “benefited” and hold an

equitable interest in the fund that has been created through

the efforts of class counsel.

Defendants’ reliance on footnote 5 of this Court’s Boeing

decision, to distinguish between the judgment fund in Boeing

and the settlement fund at bar, is misplaced. The defendants’

liability in Boeing (where they had to pay the judgment fund

into court subject to receiving a portion of it back in the

event it was not all claimed) is logically no different than

Grosfeld’s liability here (to pay the full settlement amount

to the settlement administrator with no right to return of any

funds unless and until class members fail to claim their

Shares). Indeed, almost ten years ago, the Eleventh Circuit

rejected this notion in the very decision in which it adopted

the “percentage of the fund” method for calculating fees in a

common fund case. Camden, 946 F.2d at 771 n.2. There, the

court flatly rejected as having “no merit” the argument that

basing counsel fees on the entirety of a reversionary

settlement fund would constitute impermissible “fee

shifting”: “The settlement clearly created a common fund

for the satisfaction of the County’s liabilities.” Jd.; accord

Skelton, 860 F.2d at 254 n.1 (rejecting the argument that

defendant’s right of reversion in a class settlement changed

the “common fund” analysis). Whether or not defendants

have a reversion, each class member has “an undisputed and

24

mathematically ascertainable claim” against the fund created

on his behalf. Boeing, 444 U.S. at 479.8

Moreover, defendants’ argument — concerning

overreaching counsel and disproportionate fee awards — is the

same misguided “public relations” argument which was initially

adopted by the lower court in Boeing and then rejected by an en

banc hearing of the court of appeal and later by this Court. See

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 573 F.2d 733, 735-36 (2d Cir. 1978)

(criticizing large fee awards and holding that only the claimed

portion of the fund could support a fee award), rev’d en banc,

Van Gemert v. Boeing Co., 590 F.2d 433 (2d Cir. 1978), aff'd,

Boeing Co. v. Van Gemert, 444 U.S. 472 (1980). The Second

Circuit en banc decision which this Court affirmed in Boeing

provides an even more detailed discussion of why defendants’

position is untenable. The en banc panel noted that a contrary

rule would unduly penalize either claiming class members or

class counsel. Van Gemert, 590 F.2d at 440-41. To award class

counsel a reasonable fee bearing some proportion to their effort,

courts would be forced to reduce disproportionately the share

of claiming class members in order to cover a fee that could be

taxed only against those claimants’ shares. /d. On the other hand,

protecting claiming class members by limiting class counsel to

a fixed percentage of the fund actually claimed would make the

resulting fee entirely dependent on the number of plaintiffs who

8. Indeed, the lack of impermissible “fee-shifting” is even more

obvious in the context of a settkement where the defendant agrees that

the fee may — without objection — be based on the entirety of the

settlement fund. There has never been any legal principle precluding

the assessment of fees against a defendant’s latent interest where, as

here, the defendant has agreed to that procedure. See, e.g., Williams v.

MGM.-Pathe Communications Co., 129 F.3d 1026, 1027 (9th Cir. 1997)

Defendants’ other assertion — that the Boeing Court made clear that

defendants’ liability was “not subject to a reversion” (Petition at 21) —

is obviously false. The Court expressly recognized this possibility,

444 U.S. at 477, 482, but expressed no opinion on the ultimate outcome.

Id. at 482 n.8. In fact, all unclaimed funds in Boeing did revert to the

defendant. Van Gemert, 739 F.2d at 733.

25

came forward — notwithstanding the difficulty of the case, the

quality of representation or the hours spent by class counsel.

Id. at 441. The panel also noted that because the number of

plaintiffs who will come forward to claim their shares is

unpredictable, class counsel would be discouraged from

pursuing class suits, regardless of the merits of the case.

Id. at 435, 441.

The decision of the Eleventh Circuit below is entirely

consistent with Boeing. It held that class counsel’s fee award

may be, but need not be, based on the entirety of the settlement

fund created for the benefit of the class. The court noted that

district courts must look at the entire panoply of factors relevant

to determining a proper fee under all the circumstances of the

particular case. The court also noted that class counsel’s fee in

this case was only a “modest lodestar multiplier of 1.05%” over

Class counsel’s actual lodestar of $12,663,897.

Contrary to defendants’ assertion, the Ninth Circuit did not

hold in Williams v. MGM-Pathe Communications Co., 129 F.3d

1026 (9th Cir. 1997), that a district court must — as a matter of

law — base a fee award on the total amount of a reversionary

settlement fund. The Ninth Circuit held that under Boeing a

district court “may” base the fee on the entire fund, id. at 1027,

and that the district court had “abused its discretion” in that

case, id, by limiting class counsel to a fee based only on the

actual amounts claimed. The Ninth Circuit held that the district

court should have based the fee either on the amount of the

settlement fund created or on the actual lodestar. Accord, Six

Mexican Workers, 904 F.2d at 1311 (noting that fees may be

“assessed against every class members’ share, not just the

claiming members” and that the lodestar method should

otherwise be used if “the percentage recovery would be either

too small or too large in light of the hours devoted to the case or

other relevant factors’’).

Defendants’ assertion that the Fifth Circuit in Strong v. Bell

South Telecomm., Inc., 137 F.3d 844 (Sth Cir. 1998), held that

only actual payouts should be considered is again wrong. Since

26

the Fifth Circuit bases fee awards on a lodestar, rather than a

percentage of the fund method, the court found that this Court’s

decision in Boeing was inapplicable to the case. Moreover,

unlike here, the court found that no common fund had been

established on which to base a fee award. Instead, class members

were to continue in a plan or receive credits for future telephone

usage. Moreover, the court awarded plaintiff’s counsel an

amount “which exceeded the lodestar figure plus costs.”

Id. at 851.

There also is no confusion in the lower courts as defendants

suggest. As the Eleventh Circuit noted in its opinion below,

“no case has held that a district court must consider only the

actual payout in determining attorneys’ fees.” (PA at A-9)

The lower court cases cited by defendants were distinguished

below as cases involving “coupon” settlements incapable of

precise valuation, settlements involving no “common fund”

because they were subject to further alternative dispute

resolution procedures, or suits that were settled with little effort

by plaintiffs’ counsel and little benefit to class members.

Moreover, each of those cases awarded class counsel an amount

equaling or exceeding class counsel’s actual lodestar.

(RA at 275a-278a) The Eleventh Circuit agreed that the cases

cited by defendants all “emphasize that attorneys’ fee awards

are in the discretion of the district court and... illustrate that

whether a district court judge considers the total fund or the

actual payment will vary according to the circumstances of each

case.” (PA at A-9 n.8)

III. This Case Presents No Important Issue Of Federal Law.

Defendants improperly invite this Court to create a “federal

law” issue by rewriting the Private Securities Litigation Reform

Act (“PSLRA”) to cover futures contracts and commodities

boiler rooms. This case, however, involves no securities, falls

outside the jurisdiction of the PSLRA and under the exclusive

jurisdiction of the CEA. 7 U.S.C. § 2(a)(ii) (CFTC has exclusive

jurisdiction over commodity futures and options). The federal

courts have repeatedly recognized that Congress did not intend

isan Bes ois. vee

Wee SHB PS ug

1 Pi aise A Ngati: Cena panes eS 3S

27

to apply the federal securities laws to commodity trading

accounts. See, e.g., Cohen v. Merrill, Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc.,722 F. Supp. 24, 26-27 (S.D.N.Y. 1989) (collecting

cases). Defendants neither dispute the CEA’s exclusive

jurisdiction, nor that this action was commenced years before

the 1995 PSLRA.

The PSLRA is only relevant to demonstrate that Congress

knows how to take legislative action in the area of fee awards if

it deems such action appropriate, and that it chose not take such

action with respect to the CEA.” To the contrary, Congress has

created broad remedies under the CEA, not available under the

securities laws, including express private rights of action

for civil aider and abettor liability. 7 U.S.C. § 25(a). It has

also made telemarketing fraud in the solicitation of

commodity option customers one of the CFTC’s highest

priorities. 7 U.S.C. § 9(b).

Unable to address these fundamental principles establishing

that the PSLRA is irrelevant to this case, defendants ask that

the Court adopt their “policy” view that Congress intended the

PSLRA to address “scandalous” “manipulation of reversionary

settlements.” (Petition at 24, 26) Of course there is no evidence

of any such policy or of defendants’ heretical subtext that

Congress’ intent was to apply this PSLRA provision to boiler

room commodities class actions. To the contrary, this action

raises none of the concerns that motivated Congress to enact

the PSLRA — precluding securities strike suits that ultimately

harm the interests of the very class members they purport to

champion (i.e., shareholders), by hoiding corporate treasuries

ransom to class counsel based on innocent declines in stock

prices. In a securities suit, class counsel may actually harm their

own clients (i.e., the shareholders of the company they are suing)

9. Cf Meghig v. KFC Western, Inc.. 516 U.S. 479, 484-85 (1996)

(the inclusion by Congress of a remedy provision in one statute

demonstrates that Congress knows how to draft such a provision and

that it could have provided for such a remedy in an earlier enacted

Statute, if it wished to do so).

28

if they receive a fee from the corporate treasury that is greater

than the amount of money they put into shareholders’ pockets.

That is not true with respect to consumer claims, including

CEA claims, brought against the operators of telemarketing

boiler rooms. Class counsel in this case has not taken its fee

from the corporate treasury in which any shareholder clients

hold ownership interests. To the contrary, class counsel has

generated a fund in which class members had no prior interest

and which would not have existed but for counsel’s assumption

of the risk and effort needed to create the fund.

IV. Given The Facts At Bar, This Is A Singularly

Inappropriate Case For Review.

Moreover, the factual background of this case makes it a

singularly inappropriate vehicle for deciding the issues.

Defendants’ ever-changing arguments, their attacks on the

integrity of the district court, their distortion of the factual record,

their disavowal of representations made to the district court to

obtain approval of the settlement and their reliance in this Cour

on declarations which have been stricken from the record, should

not be rewarded.

No legal principle permits a party to modify or reform his

or her stipulation of settlement so as to leave the settlement in

place, but to rescind the fee agreement provision. See, e.g., Evans

v. Jeff D., 475 U.S. 717, 726-28, 741 (1986) (reversing a court

of appeals decision which had invalidated a negotiated fee

provision while allowing the remainder of the class settlement

to stand); Williams, 129 F.3d at 1027 (holding that fee award

should be based on the total amount of the settlement fund and

noting that defendants had no cause to object since they had

agreed to that process in the settlement agreement); Skelton v.

General Motors Corp., 860 F.2d 250, 260 (7th Cir. 1988) (noting

that a party cannot keep the benefits of his settlement, while

appealing from an agreed-upon fee provision); /n re Copley

Pharmaceutical, Inc. “Albuterol” Prod. Liab. Litig.,

1 F. Supp.2d 1407, 1416 (D. Wyo. 1998) (basing class counsel’s

fee on the gross amount of the settlement fund, noting that

29

“defendant cannot complain now that class counsel seek to do

what the settlement agreement explicitly contemplates”).

Defendants’ argument regarding the so-called “clear

sailing” agreement is of no consequence to this petition. The

Eleventh Circuit permitted defendants’ appeal from their own

settlement agreement and affirmed the district court’s ruling on

the merits. Moreover, nothing in the cases cited by defendants

permits a party to appeal from his own agreement under the

guise of protecting the class. Those cases merely hold that a

private fee agreement between the parties to a class action

settlement does not obviate a district court’s independent

responsibility to review the reasonableness of a fee request. The

Eleventh Circuit found that the district court properly performed

this duty.

Additionally, in Malchman vy. Davis, 761 F.2d 893 (2d Cir.

1985), the lead opinion of Judge Oakes was actually critical of

the analysis of “clear Sailing” agreements which defendants cite

to in Judge Newman’s concurring opinion, noting it was based

on an unrealistic view of the settlement process:

“[W]here, as here, the amount of the fees is important

to the party paying them, as well as to the attorney

recipient, it seems to the author of this opinion that

an agreement “not to oppose” an application for fees

up to a point is essential to completion of the

settlement, because the defendants want to know

their total maximum exposure and the plaintiffs do

not want to be sandbagged. It is difficult to see how

this could be left entirely to the court for

determination after the settlement.” Jd. at 905 n.5

(emphasis added).

Defendants also cite Prandini v. National Tea Co., 557 F.2d

1015 (3d Cir. 1977) for the proposition that it is improper

simultaneously to negotiate a class action settlement and an

agreement on class counsel’s fee award. This Court rejected

this notion in Evans vy, Jeff D., 475 U.S. at 733-38, noting as did

Judge Oakes in Malchman, that it is essential to the completion

30

of a settlement for a defendant to know the maximum exposure

under the settlement. This, of course, is why defendants

negotiated for the cap on class counsel's fees here. The Eleventh

Circuit specifically noted — contrary to defendants’ assertion

that “clear sailing” agreements are pushed by class counsel

solely to silence defendants — that the purpose of these

agreements is “so that defendants have a more definite idea of

their total exposure.” (PA at A-3 n.3) Thus, defendants’ assertion

that they were “concerned” about discussing fee issues in the

context of the settlement (Petition at 11) is nonsense.

In sum, the settlement fund achieved in this hard-fought

case bestowed a benefit to the class that otherwise would have

been unavailable. That not all class members claimed against

the fund was — as the district court specifically found —

partially of defendants’ creation (due to delaying tactics and

efforts to prevent the remailing of class notices) and partly due

to the district court's crowded docket (over which plaintiffs had

no control). (PA at S-6) The district court specifically found

that it would be “highly inequitable” under the circumstances

of this case to saddle class counsel with a multimillion loss for

circumstances over which they had little or no control. (/d.)

CONCLUSION

The Court should deny the writ.

Respectfully submitted,

C. BRANDON WISOFF

Counsel of Record

NEIL A. GOTEINER

FARELLA BRAUN & MARTEL LLP

235 Montgomery Street

San Francisco, CA 94104

(415) 954-4400

Eric G. Lirorr

RARING & LIPOFF

3070 Bristol, Suite 650

Costa Mesa, CA 92626-3072

(714) 429-2970

Attorneys for Respondents

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH

CIRCUIT DENYING MOTION OF APPELLANTS

FOR STAY OF ISSUANCE OF MANDATE PENDING

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI DATED

AND FILED JANUARY 24, 2000

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 97-5074

WILLIAM WATERS, LINDA BARTHOLOMEW,

individually, and on behalf of all others

similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

versus

INTERNATIONAL PRECIOUS METALS

CORPORATION, MULTIVEST,

INCORPORATED, et al.,

Defendants- Appellants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida

ORDER:

(X) The motion of Appellants for (x) stay . . . of the issuance

of the mandate pending petition for writ of certiorari is

DENIED.

* * *

/s) STANLEY F. BIRCH, JR.

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT

JUDGE

2a

APPENDIX B — EXCERPTS FROM VOLUME 52 OF

TRANSCRIPT OF TRIAL PROCEEDINGS OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

DATED JANUARY 27, 1997

[commencing at page 8256]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 90-6863-Civ-UNGARO-BENAGES

WILLIAM WATERS and LINDA BARTHOLOMEW,

Plaintiffs,

INTERNATIONAL PRECIOUS METALS CORPORATION,

MULTIVEST, INC., JAMES GROSFELD, MULTIVEST

REAL ESTATE, INC., S.S. MELBOURNE, INC.,

and THE CYPRESS GROUP, INC.,

Defendants.

Miami, Florida

January 27, 1997

9:07 a.m.

VOLUME 52

TRANSCRIPT OF TRIAL PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE URSULA

UNGARO-BENAGES

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE, and a jury

* * *

,

;

.

|

3a

Appendix B

[8257] * * *

(Call to order of the Court)

THE COURT: Okay. Good morning.

Do you need appearances, Bill?

THE REPORTER: No.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, Mr. Goteiner called the

chambers this morning and said you all had reached a

settlement. Of course, this is a 23(b)(3) class action and

reaching a settlement isn’t all that easy. So, I mean, I’m

willing to listen, but my inclination is to say SOITY, guys, too

late.

I’m willing to work with you possibly and possibly take

a sealed verdict and let you try on getting the papers done

after closing arguments while the jury is deliberating. But

then, of course, that would have to be disclosed in the notice

to the class as part of the disclosures so that they could make

an informed decision as to whether or not they [8258] wanted

to object.

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, if I may.

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. GOTEINER: While the papers have been drafted,

except the motion for preliminary approval, what’s been

happening is since the trial began the parties have engaged

4a

Appendix B

in the long settlement process, and it just so happened that

last night late a resolution was reached.

A couple of things. One is we’d like your Honor to

consider the settlement, and we would also like your Honor

to agree not to sua sponte recuse yourself by hearing the

settlement.

THE COURT: Well, if that’s the joint request by

everybody, of course, that’s okay with me.

Is that a joint request or not?

MR. KAMINSKY: Yes.

MR. BONNER: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: That’s a joint request. Okay.

MR. GOTEINER: What we would recommend to the

Court is that since the papers are drafted and signed, we could

submit them to the Court and allow the Court to consider

them for as long as the Court needs. We obviously don’t

want to lose the jury from plaintiffs’ point of view.

THE COURT: Needless to say, yes.

MR. GOTEINER: So, we would ask the Court to review

[8259] the papers, suspend closing argument for a couple of

days to see if the Court would grant preliminary approval,

and if not, we would proceed with closing argument.

Sa

Appendix B

It doesn’t seem to make sense to the parties to require

the jury to sit here if the case can be settled.

We appreciate it’s late in the day. That’s sometimes the

nature of these sorts of settlements. It’s unusual.

MR. ANDERSON: If] may add something, your Honor,

just because we knew that the Court’s reaction would be

exactly what it was, because we know of your concern about

the jury.

This is a lengthy document. The devil is in the details.

Every sentence of the document has been negotiated. We

have not been working on it, those of us from San F rancisco.

We have people in San Francisco that have been doing it

and the defendants have had Cravath, Swaine & Moore

working on it. So it is a finely-honed document, but there

are a lot of subtleties and intricacies.

THE COURT: Have the attorneys’ fees all been worked

out?

MR. ANDERSON: The language — well, the Court

decides only if attorneys’ fees —

THE COURT: Right. But do we know what the amount

is that’s being requested, what percentage of the total

recovery that would represent?

MR. ANDERSON: Yes, your Honor. Not more than a

[8260] percentage.

6a

Appendix B

THE COURT: Yeah. Well, what is the percentage?

MR. ANDERSON: 33 percent.

THE COURT: Out of $40 million?

MR. ANDERSON: Yeah.

MR. GOTEINER: Plus costs.

THE COURT: Yeah. How much are the costs?

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, right now we’d rather

not disclose that information, obviously, because we don’t

have a settlement.

THE COURT: Well, you must have disclosed it to

Cravath, Swaine & Moore.

MR. GOTEINER: I don’t think we have actually, your

Honor.

MR. KAMINSKY: Yes, you have.

MR. GOTEINER: Did we? I wasn’t at all involved in

talking with Cravath, Swaine & Moore.

MR. ANDERSON: We have people in San Francisco

and New York involved in it.

MR. KAMINSKY: I heard a number but I wouldn’t

want to say that’s the number because I heard secondhand

from my cocounsel in New York at Cravath.

LSE ee DORR SHAS =

AR EYE PEE OS BES RES I NE AE Be

7a

Appendix B

MR. ANDERSON: We looked into the kind of fees that

could be awarded, your Honor, but the Court can grant as

much as it chooses. But where we have done as much as we

have, not [8261] more than 33 percent is well —

THE COURT: I just want to get an idea of what the

round numbers are and what the percentages look like. Yes,

33 percent is not an unusual percent in class actions generally,

but, you know, it has to be looked at in relationship to what

the class recovery was, what the exposure was in the case,

the likelihood of recovering, et cetera, et cetera, et cetera.

MR. GOTEINER: Wecan briefly go through the terms,

if your Honor wishes.

THE COURT: Well, | have to tell you, you know, it

remains my — I think that probably this is the best we can

do today, because — well, if you all were not involved in

negotiating the settlement, you all can disclose. This was

not a distraction to you.

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, we can do closing

argument if the Court wishes. But we think in terms of

judicial time, economy and also focusing on settlement, it

would make sense to suspend argument for a day or two

until the Court just reviews it — and the Court will need

time to review the papers — and if the Court disapproves it,

then we could proceed later this week.

* * * *

8a

APPENDIX C — VOLUME 55 OF TRANSCRIPT OF

TRIAL PROCEEDINGS OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF FLORIDA DATED JANUARY 31, 1997

[commencing at page 8321]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 90-6863-Civ-UNGARO-BENAGES

WILLIAM WATERS and LINDA BARTHOLOMEW,

Plaintiffs,

aed

INTERNATIONAL PRECIOUS METALS CORPORATION,

MULTIVEST, INC., JAMES GROSFELD, MULTIVEST

REAL ESTATE, INC., S.S. MELBOURNE, INC.,

and THE CYPRESS GROUP, INC.,

Defendants.

Miami, Florida _

January 31, 1997

9:30 a.m.

VOLUME 55

TRANSCRIPT OF TRIAL PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE URSULA

UNGARO-BENAGES

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE, and a jury

* * *

9a

Appendix C

[8322] + *

(Call to order of the Court)

THE COURT: Okay. Good morning. I thin!: we better

get appearances this morning. Who is here for the plaintiffs?

MR. COOPER: John Cooper of the firm of Farella,

Braun & Martel. ;

MR. GOTEINER: Neil Goteiner of Farella, Braun &

Martel.

MR. WISOFF: Brandon Wisoff of Farella, Braun &

Martel.

MR. NEWMAN: Jeff Newman of Farella, Braun &

Martel.

THE COURT: Okay, fine. And for the defense.

MR. DODYK: Paul Dodyk of Cravath, Swaine &

Moore.

MR. KAMINSKY: Martin Kaminsky of Pollack &

Kaminsky.

MR. BONNER: Larry Bonner of Homer & Bonner.

THE COURT: Fine. You can all have a seat. Now, the

reason we are all here is for the Court to take up the [8323]

stipulations of settlement that’s pending before the Court

for preliminary approval.

10a

Appendix C

Let me first say that I’ve been over everything, including

all of the changes that were made this week. | think |

understand the transaction. I would like the plaintiffs,

however, to go through it with me one more time and talk a

little bit about the thinking that has gone into all of this.

MR. COOPER: Thank you, your Honor. My name is

John Cooper with Farella, Braun & Martel. I’m appearing

as settlement class counsel on behalf of the class.

In about September, when this matter was starting trial,

Mr. Dodyk and I started conversations to explore the

possibility of settling this matter, and over the course of the

months since then, we have reached agreement on all of the

documents that are necessary to settle a Rule 23(b) class

action, which includes the stipulations of settlement and the

amendments that your Honor mentioned, the notice, the

orders for preliminary approval, the summary notice.

In addition to that, your Honor, we negotiated the amount

of the consideration, and we have agreed to a settlement in

the amount of $40 million, which is made up of $10 million

cash, which has been paid this morning, or will be paid after

your Honor indicates approval, plus $30 million in

promissory notes that would go to the class members that

would bear the rate of interest that’s offered by the National

Bank of Detroit [8324] on certificates of deposit up to

$100,000.

Mr. Dodyk and I addressed this issue, the issue of the

interest rates, in chambers this morning with your Honor;

and by telephone communication with the bank, it was

”_e ee ee _

lla

Appendix C

resolved that rate is 5.37, which yields 5.50 annual rate of

interest.

I would like to preface my comments by saying that we

have signed documents for the stipulations of settlement and

two amendments to the stipulations of settlement. So, nothing

that I say here is intended to alter any of the contents of the

signed documents, including the business documents that

support that promissory note and the other security items.

In addition to the $10 million plus the $30 million in

promissory notes, the defendants and settlement class counsel

have agreed to cooperate to obtain payment of any remaining

funds held by the receiver to be paid into the settlement fund,

but that will not in any way reduce the obligation to pay the

$40 million, your Honor. 7

There were a lot of consideration that went into these

lengthy negotiations.

THE COURT: Before you get into that, perhaps you

could review for me the security for the $30 million in

promissory notes.

MR. COOPER: Yes, I will turn to that immediately,

your Honor.

For the $30 million, the initial note is a master [8325]

promissory note for $30 million that will be held by the

settlement administrator, which is an obligation of Defendant

James Grosfeld, and it is secured by marketable securities

that will be posted this morning by Mr. Grosfeld in the

amount of $47,700,000 as a minimum, your Honor.

12a

Appendix C

It’s our understanding that will be posted in the form of

Pulte Corporation stock. If there is any default in the

obligations under the stipulations of settlement, the

settlement administrator is authorized to liquidate that

security to the extent necessary to pay down the promissory

notes; and if there is a default, the promissory notes will

immediately become due and payable, to be paid out of that

source.

The stipulations of settlement provides that within 30

days of the day of preliminary approval, an irrevocable letter

of credit on the National Bank of Detroit will be issued to

secure the $30 million obligation, which is first the $30

million obligation on the master promissory note, but as the

claims procedure — which I will explain — is carried through

to identify the authorized amount for the various class

members, then the promissory notes will be issued to the

individual class members which will bear the same rates and

terms as the master promissory note, which 1s the interest

rate that I referred to above.

Those promissory notes are irrevocable and will [8326]

receive the interest paid annually on December 15th. They

will receive checks for that interest on December 15th of

each year. With the payment of the fourth interest payment,

the class members will be notified that by giving notice no

longer than a year and no less than 15 days prior to the

anniversary, the fifth anniversary of the issuance of notes,

they can ask for those notes to be paid on the fifth anniversary

with the interest up to that date.

If the class members do not make that request, your

Honor, the notes will renew at the same interest rates for

13a

Appendix C

another five-year period and will be paid without further

notice at the end of the next five-year period, for a total of

ten years.

In the event that there is a default under the stipulations

of settlement or under the promissory notes, the class

members who are holding these notes will be able to draw

on the letter of credit issued by the National Bank of Detroit.

That letter of credit will be in the form of continuing one-

year letters of credit that must be renewed 60 days prior to

the time that they are to expire.

If they are not renewed within that period of time, then

the notes will become due and payable and the class members

can draw on the letter of credit during that period of time to

receive payment on the promissory note.

So, we believe, your Honor, that that is ample [8327]

security for these promissory notes. These are, in effect, as

we have discussed earlier, certificates of deposit that bear

rates, interest rates, at the same rate as a certificate of deposit

of the National Bank of Detroit.

The claims procedure process is that notice which has

been approved and included in the settlement package will

be mailed to the class members. They will be given 60 days

from the date of mailing in order to file their claim. The

claim form is included in the package of materials and has

been agreed to.

The claim form provides that the information to be

inserted in the claim form will be taken from the monthly

l4a

Appendix C

statements of the class members, the claimants, from

MultiVest, Incorporated, or IPMC. If the class members do

not have their monthly statements, they can either call the

settlement administrator on the 800 number which is set forth

on the claim form or they can write to the claim administrator

and receive copies of their monthly statements.

If a class member requests the assistance of having his

monthly statements copied and sent to him, there will be a

$50 charge for the administration service.

The settlement administrator will review the claim forms

as submitted to confirm that the information conforms to

the information that is contained in the monthly statements.

If the claim form is erroneous but can be conformed and can

be [8328] corrected to reflect the correct information that’s

contained in the monthly statements, the settlement

administrator will make those corrections.

The settlement administrator will not reject any claim

form that is capable of being corrected to conform to the

information that’s set forth in the monthly statements. In

the event that the settlement administrator concludes that

the information set forth in the claim form does not conform

to the requirements of the claim form, then the settlement

administrator will notify the class member and provide the

class member with a statement as to why the settlement

administrator believes that the claim does not conform and

will provide the claimant 20 days in which to respond and

correct it.

In the event it is not corrected within that period of time,

then it can become a disputed claim and can be presented to

15a

Appendix C

the Court in the settlement administrator’s report to the Court.

So, there will be then an opportunity for the Court to review

any of those claims in the event that there are disputes over

that.

I should clarify, your Honor, that the $50 charge for

obtaining monthly statements will be deducted from the class

members’ recovery. It will not be a charge in addition to the

class member. There will not be a charge, a specific charge,

to the class member. It will merely be a deduction from what

[8329] the class member recovers.

Your Honor, there were a lot of considerations, a lot of

analysis that went into our evaluation of this settlement and

into our recommendation, as settlement class counsel, to

recommend to your Honor that you approve the settlement

on behalf of the class.

One of those considerations is the fact that this is an

action against, in effect, an individual: Mr. James Grosfeld.

Mr. Grosfeld testified under oath in this court that his net

worth is approximately $100 million. Since that time, your

Honor, he has filed, pursuant to your Honor’s request, a

financial statement Stating that his total net worth is

approximately $101 million. That was one of the events that

has occurred in communication with your Honor since

Monday.

This settlement of $40 million is a significant portion of

that total net worth of Mr. Grosfeld. That was a consideration

here. There is no insurance, as we understand it, for these

claims. The sole source of recovery for any judgment would

16a

Appendix C

be Mr. Grosfeld’s assets. The personal net worth of Mr.

Grosfeld of approximately $101 million was a consideration,

given the fact that the total claims in this matter were $119

million, with a possibility of trebling a portion of those

damages, plus prejudgment interest, which could have been

an enormous amount of money.

We took into consideration the source of recovery [8330]

from the potential sources of recovery of any judgment taken

in this matter. Your Honor, the amount of the recovery here,

$40 million, is approximately one-third of the total damages

presented in court of $119 million. We believe that after the

deduction of attorneys’ fees, expenses and administration

expenses that the payment to the claimants will be

approximately 20 percent of their out-of-pocket losses.

Your Honor, we have studied and we tendered to your

Honor the NERA Report, and we would like to make that a

part of the record in this matter. It is a study of recoveries in

class actions in the United States.

The 1996 NERA Report — and I’m speaking from

memory now — shows some recoveries, and the average

and the median recovery is in the range of approximately

9 to 10 percent of the total losses.

This settlement, your Honor, is a third — a third — of

the out-of-pocket losses and 20 percent recovery to the class

of their out-of-pocket losses after deduction of the attorneys’

fees, which we will request, and have requested, of one-third

of the recovery plus expenses.

I will address that in a minute.

17a

Appendix C

This is a very significant recovery, your Honor, we

believe, considering the source of funds to pay a judgment.

This is a very significant recovery, your Honor, considering

other class actions that are settled in the United States.

[8331] I would like to review a few things.

When this matter was first presented on Monday, it was

discussed on the record by Mr. Goteiner and Mr. Anderson.

Since that time, Mr. Dodyk and | arrived in Miami and met

with you on Tuesday. We spent a substantial amount of time

reviewing this with your Honor off the record in chambers;

and as a result of our discussions with your Honor and

responding to many of the concerns that you had, you will

see that there are two amendments to the stipulations of

settlement, one of which addressed the first round of concerns

that your Honor addressed to us, and the second, which was

executed yesterday, addresses a second round of concerns

that your Honor had.

I have executed those amendments on behalf of the

settlement class, and I will represent to your Honor that Mr.

Lipoff and the Zuckerman firm-have authorized me to inform

you that we will provide you with executed signature pages

on their behalf shortly.

One of the concerns that your Honor had related to the

collateral and the security. In response to that, the

arrangement was made to provide for the marketable

securities in the form of common stock to be 150 percent of

the outstanding debt of $30 million plus interest thereon.

That has been done, and your Honor will see when we speak

18a

Appendix C

with the settlement administrator this morning that he will

confirm the amount of money or amount of stock that is being

transferred to [8332] secure this, which reflects your Honor’s

concerns.

Your Honor was also concerned about the period of time

when the letter of credit would come into place. Initially,

what we had negotiated was for the letter of credit to come

into place 120 days after preliminary approval, and in

response to concerns of your Honor, we have agreed with

defendants that the letter of credit would be put into place

30 days of the preliminary approval.

An additional item, your Honor, is that plaintiffs’

settlement counsel and plaintiffs’ counsel of record have

waived their right to appeal. Timing and the form of our

fees, as opposed to the amount, we are granting your Honor.

Obviously we are waiving our appeal and leaving that

flexibility in your Honor’s very good hands, we believe.

Your Honor was concerned about additional elements

that related to the finality of the setthement. You will see

those are, likewise, reflected in the amendment documents

that are Amendments | and 2 to the settlement agreement.

Your Honor addressed several issues where you were

concerned about insolvency and potential bankruptcy as that

might affect the quality of the security, and those concerns

are also reflected in the amendment to the stipulations.

THE COURT: Perhaps either you or Mr. Newman could

just review, very briefly, how you saw the potential

insolvency issue with respect to the letter of credit.

19a

Appendix C

[8333] MR. COOPER: I will call on Mr. Newman to

do that, your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. NEWMAN: My name is Jeff Newman.

Your Honor, we did, in both negotiating the settlement

and also in following up on concerns raised by your Honor,

look at issues related to the letter of credit and the potential

for insolvency on that. We concluded as follows: One, we

obtained, through the assistance of your Honor,

representations from Mr. Grosfeld, not only as to his net

worth, but also to the effect that he has no outstanding other

obligations other than potential tax liabilities, and, therefore,

we concluded that there was very little risk of insolvency.

Moreover, we concluded that once the preference period

had elapsed and we had our initial security in place, and

notwithstanding whatever collateral was posted, that would

not constitute any kind of voidable transfer and, therefore,

we felt on behalf of the class that they would be adequately

protected against these insolvency risks, and we thank your

Honor for being so concerned about it.

THE COURT: Thank you.

MR. NEWMAN: Maybe I could add one more thing.

We understand that notwithstanding what Mr. Cooper said

about the minimum amount of collateral, that we will fj

actually that [8334] Mr. Grosfeld has actually pledged

1,700,000 shares of Pulte stock, which we will find the value

20a

Appendix C

of today, but is considerably in excess of 47,700,000, which

he agreed to provide. So there is quite adequate collateral

that has been posted in the interim.

MR. COOPER: Your Honor, just a couple of additional

items I would like to draw to your Honor’s attention with

regard to the settlement. One relates to the claim form. We

believe that the fact that the class members can pick up the

phone and make a toll-free 800 call to the settlement

administrator to answer their questions and to obtain

assistance and to obtain monthly statements is a tremendous

benefit in terms of resolving this.

Your Honor expressed interest and reviewed the claim

form in chambers when we reviewed this, and we all agreed

that the 800 number would provide some benefits to the class

members. Also, I drew to your Honor’s attention in chambers,

-and | believe we would like to place on the record, the fact

that the agreements, the stipulations, provide that exchange-

traded option positions that were opened at the end of the

class period, which was October 31, 1989, the value of those

positions still open on that date will be deducted from the

claimant’s claim in the settlement.

Now, I draw that to your Honor’s attention because that

is different than an order that your Honor has entered in

[8335] the trial, but for settlement purposes, the defendants

and the plaintiffs and the class counsel have agreed to that,

and I just wanted to underscore that on the record.

Sections 2 and 3 of the claim form are where this

information is set out. Section | is just basically where you

21a

Appendix C

get the information, name and address, et cetera. Section 2

is a cash-in/cash-out calculation. What did you pay into MOI

or IPMC and what did you get back, and then the difference

is totaled out in Section 2.

In section 3, open positions at the end of the class period,

and transfers out, value transferred out, will be addressed

and then that is totaled.

Your Honor, the last item is, we have agreed to some

dates with regard to this procedure, that is that the settlement

administrator has indicated to us — and has assured us,

indeed — that he will be able to mail out all of the class

notices within two weeks, and that’s two weeks from today,

which is February 14th, and we have agreed that objections

to the settlement and the objections to our fee request of

one-third of the settlement, plus expenses, will be filed 30

days from the mailing date, which we are assuming to be

February 14th, which will be March 17th.

We have requested your Honor to set a hearing 45 days

from the February 14th assumed mailing date, of March 31st,

and the deadline for having the claims postmarked will be

60 days [8336] after mailing, which will be April 30th; and,

your Honor, we are going to try to mail that out as soon as

possible, but we need a date. So we have assumed the April

14th.

With regard to attorneys’ fees, your Honor, I have

already addressed the fact that we have filed this morning a

Waiver of right to appeal with regard to the form of the

attorneys’ fees, but I should also state on the record that we

22a

Appendix C

will request that your Honor award us attorneys’ fees in the

cash portion of the settlement so that we would be paid in

cash to the extent possible. However, we believe that any

award of attorneys’ fees will contain a significant portion of

an obligation by the settlement administrator to us. So, we

will share, under any circumstances, we believe, very

substantially with the class in the time-extended payment

that I’ve already described to your Honor.

If your Honor has any questions, I would be happy to

respond to those.

THE COURT: Well, first, let me turn to Mr. Dodyk and

the other defense counsel and see if there is anything in

particular that they wish to add.

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, I think Mr. Cooper has

accurately described the settlement procedures. We have

nothing to add except for the fact that I believe that under

the stipulations, the proof of claims were to be filed within

60 days after the mailing, which is, by my calculation, April

[8337] 14th.

THE COURT: I believe it’s — well, we can look. |

thought it was 45 days of mailing. In fact, we had discussed

that specifically in chambers.

MR. COOPER: My calculation was it was 45 days for

the hearing.

THE COURT: You are right.

23a

Appendix C

MR. COOPER: Then 60 days from the mailing for —

THE COURT: Let’s go back and look. Which exhibit

is that?

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, I think the relevant entry

shows date blanks, but we had agreed to a 60-day period

between mailing and the submission of the claims. So I think

that works out to April 14th, if I’m not mistaken.

THE COURT: Right.

MR. COOPER: Yes, your Honor, my calendar tells me

that April 14th is the 45th day of the year. So, 60 days to

there would be the 105th day, which my calendar tells me is

April 15th.

THE COURT: The mailing of the notice, it is agreed ©

upon it will be in two weeks, is that right, but the notice will

be mailed by F ebruary 14th?

MR. DODYK: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: The objections will be filed in 30 days

after the mailing of the notice, which is March 17th; is that

[8338] right?

MR. COOPER: Yes.

THE COURT: The postmark date of the cutoff of claims

will be?

24a

Appendix C

MR. DODYK: I think we now have narrowed it down

to April 15.

THE COURT: April 15.

MR. COOPER: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: And the hearing for approval?

MR. DODYK: We had requested for March 31.

THE COURT: March 31.

MR. DODYK: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything else you want to talk

about, Mr. Dodyk?

MR. DODYK: No, your Honor.

THE COURT: Mr. Cooper, you didn’t talk about this.

Maybe Mr. Goteiner would like to speak to this, but I do

think this is a relevant consideration that we all ought to get

out on the table, which is what this litigation would look

like if it were .o continue and how that fit into the settlement.

MR. GOTEINER: Well, I think defendants would make

a representation as to what would happen under certain

scenarios. I can assure your Honor, we are plaintiffs to win

a jury verdict for the full amount of the losses. There would

be a host of appellate issues that defendants would be taking

up [8339] to the Eleventh Circuit, and if they could, to the

United States Supreme Court.

a

25a"

Appendix C

THE COURT: In fact, I had committed to the defendants

that before we went any further in this proceeding and before

judgment was entered and before the bifurcated issues were

resolved and provided there was a verdict for the plaintiffs

and Mr. Grosfeld Save me assurances as to not transferring

his assets, | would permit an appeal to the Eleventh Circuit

because of all of the novel issues in the case.

MR. GOTEINER: | wasn’t trying to speak for the Court,

but the Court has indeed told us that in writing, something

quite close to that, previously. So, we could have expected

at least a full, from my recollection, two years Just to resolve

many of these issues, and then, of course, the interesting

questions as to what would be happening under the CEA

claim, depending what happened to the boiler room Claim,

and that would have led the Court to consider and decide

upon a whole litany of novel ideas of how you deal with a

case like this where you have to rebut the reliance

presumption, and there’s been much discussion in this case

about the Knapp case being one procedure.

The Court never decided one way or the other whether

it Was going to adopt that procedure.

I should also point out by way of background, looming

[8340] over this entire case has been the novelty that the

Court has mentioned. Mr. Kaminsky, on behalf of defendants,

has pointed out to the Court the changing law in this area,

and I’m sure he could cite chapter and versus Third Circuit

cases and various other cases that have come down on

certification issues.

26a

Appendix C

I should also say there is a sharp distinction in this case,

a fraud-in-the-market case, by contrast, to a class

certification, which are a cakewalk. So, there was a host of

these issues that the Court has been struggling with for some

years, and the Eleventh Circuit would still be struggling with.

So, in consideration of all of those issues and the promise

of a lengthy appellate process, from plaintiffs’ point of view,

at least, this was a terrific arrangement, and given what Mr.

Cooper has already said on the record, getting back for this

class that has an average of $6000 loss per class member 20

percent, were the Court to grant the administration fees and

costs that plaintiffs requested, and I think that covers the

essentials of plaintiffs’ view on what the future would hold

for this case as opposed to the certainty that would occur

were the case resolved now.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, unless there is anything you

want to add on that subject, Mr. Kaminsky, or Mr. Bonner

MR. BONNER: No.

THE COURT: Let me make a few comments. As we

all [8341] know, we came in here Monday morning — I came

in here Monday morning thinking we were going to have

closing arguments. I got in very early to make a few little

changes to the jury instructions. The phone was ringing off

the hook. I didn’t want to take the time to answer it.

Finally, one of my law clerks got in about 8:30 and

answered it, and it was Mr. Goteiner on the phone saying

27a

Appendix C

the parties have reached a settlement. My law clerk can speak

to the fact that I threw my pen down on my desk and I was

enraged.

After five months of trial, to think that it would be sO

casy to settle a case like this was a little disorienting for me,

but of course everyone did recognize that settling a 23(b)

class action is not a simple matter, and it requires notice to

the class members, it requires a fairness hearing and it

requires all kinds of proceedings that we needed to address.

Now, on Monday, court convened and litigation counsel

attempted to outline for me what the terms and conditions

of the settlement were; but unbeknownst to me, Cravath had

Stepped in for Mr. Grosfeld and had been negotiating,

unbeknownst to me, with Mr. Copper, who I had never heard

of until Monday, and it seemed as though what was going to

be necessary was for the lawyers who had actually negotiated

the settlement to fly in to meet with me and discuss it in

more detail.

[8342] I made some comments on Monday after hearing

what the terms of the Stipulations were without having read

it, which I now regret having had the Opportunity to read it

in detail and having had an Opportunity to meet with the

lawyers and to reflect on the agreement and hopefully to

improve it somewhat. So, I apologize for my comments

concerning cutting and running.

The other side of that is, the lawyers had something ofa

challenge in convincing me that the economics of the

settlement were as good as they were representing them to

28a

Appendix C

me to be, but both sides did a very good job of presenting

me with their experience and the national experience in the

resolution of class actions such that really | would be very

hard-pressed to take the position this was not certainly within

the range of reasonableness.

$40 million does represent a very substantial percentage

of Mr. Grosfeld’s net worth, and even if you want to look at

it in terms of total losses with prejudgment interest, it still

represents a very substantial percentage of recovery.

Of course, an aspect of the settlement involves the

timing. The terms of the settlement at a very basic level

involve the payment of $10 million in cash and with the $30

million payable over time. It would have been nice to be

able to send the class members all of their money up front,

but I think that the compromise that has been struck here is

a [8343] practical and realistic solution, given the fact that

what we are dealing with here is a situation where there is

no insurance and we are dealing with an individual’s net

worth.

Now, because of the time aspect, though, I was, as Mr.

Cooper said, extremely concerned about the security. We

worked very hard all week to try and improve the agreement

to tighten up that aspect of it in every respect, and I am

satisfied that we have done as good a job of it as we can and

that the risk to the class members is very minimal.

I know that the plaintiffs intend to seek their fees out of

the cash portion of the settlement, but I have expressed to

Mr. Cooper, and Mr. Cooper understands, that the attorneys

29a

Appendix C

will have to share some of the risk with the class members,

and in all likelihood, although I don’t want to take an absolute

position on this at this time, a very substantial portion of the

attorneys’ fees and costs will end up being deferred over the

same period of time as the class members’ payments will be

deferred.

Now, of course, one of the very significant reasons why

| am persuaded that the settlement is a good settlement,

assuming that conditions that are contained in the agreement

are complied with this morning, is that the securities are

deposited and that the securities and cash have been deposited

and the fact that this litigation would probably have gone on

another three to four years, at least.

[8344] As I said earlier, the case raised a number of novel

issues in a lot of ways. It was like trying to hammer a Square

peg into a round hole. Regardless of who would have

prevailed in this particular proceedings, I believe that there

would have been appeals. Those appeals would have taken

to the Eleventh Circuit numerous novel issues.

I don’t think I have ever seen a case that had so many

novel issues in it, and it undoubtedly would have taken at

least one, if not more, certified questions to the Florida

Supreme Court. So, the lawyers would have had to litigate

the appeal both in the Eleventh Circuit and in the Florida

Supreme Court, and who knows how long that would have

taken, especially on a record of this size. The record is very

substantial after all this time in trial.

One of the reasons | didn’t allow the 1292(b) appeal

before was because I felt that in order for the Eleventh Circuit

30a

Appendix C

to really understand this case, they needed a full factual

development of what the plaintiffs’ position was.

So, litigating an appeal on a record of this size is an

extremely time-consuming exercise. | doubt very much there

would have been a resolution of that appeal for 18 months

to two years; and then if there had been a plaintiffs’ recovery

and that wouid be affirmed, we would had to go on and deal

with this problem of the bifurcated issues, which undoubtedly

would have ended up in another appeal.

[8345] So, | think we were looking at least to three or

four years of more litigation, if not more, and with the

outcome, at every step ofthe way, tremendously uncertain.

So for all of those reasons, and provided that the securities

and the cash are in place, I am prepared to give preliminary

approval.

The only other thing — there is one other thing that |

want to say, and that is that — and I’m not exactly sure how

this fits in with the preliminary approval this morning, but |

must say that I have never been exposed to a case, not in my

practice and not as a judge, that was more contentious than

this case. Not necessarily contentious in a nasty way, but

there was not an issue in the case that was not contested.

It has been extremely time-consuming for everyone to

litigate this case. So, at this point, unless there is something

someone feels that I’ve left out that I haven’t addressed, |

think that what we ought to do is make the call to the — |

guess it’s to the settlement administrator, or is it to Cravath?

3la

Appendix C

MR. DODYK: To Cravath, your Honor.

THE COURT: To make sure that the Cash and the

securities have been delivered.

MR. COOPER: I have one housekeeping matter.

THE COURT: Sure.

MR. COOPER: That is to confirm that we do have a

hearing date on March 31st if that’s available.

[8346] THE COURT: Let me get Catherine in here. How

much time do we think we need to set aside? Should we set

aside the whole day just in case?

MR. COOPER: | don’t believe, and my experience

would indicate, your Honor, that it would not take the whole

day. I would believe the morning would be adequate.

THE COURT: We will set aside a half a day.

MR. COOPER: Also, your Honor, with regard to

briefing on our attorneys’ fees petition, how would you like

| us to do that and dates?

THE COURT: Let’s see. First of all, March 31st is

totally open. So, we will set this for the morning of March

31st for the hearing on the final approval of the settlement.

MR. COOPER: At?

32a

Appendix C

THE COURT: At9 o'clock. Actually, let’s make it 9:30.

How long do you believe it will take to put together your fee

and cost petitions and the briefing that would go with it?

MR. GOTEINER: Three weeks, your Honor.

THE COURT: Three weeks. So, that would be, say,

February 21st?

MR. GOTEINER: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: Is that okay?

MR. GOTEINER: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: Then I guess you all can respond, if you

[8347] want to respond, within the time provided by the local

rules, and hopefully we can avoid a reply because it will

take us up pretty close to the hearing date, okay?

MR. GOTEINER: That’s fine, your Honor.

MR. COOPER: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay. All right. Now, the arrangement

is, I take it — maybe I should have paid a little more attention

to this, Mr. Dodyk. The cash and the securities are being

delivered to Cravath in escrow, to be delivered to the

settlement administrator?

MR. DODYK: They are in the possession of Cravath at

the present time, in the person of an associate by the name

33a

Appendix C

of Scott Yut. The settlement administrator is in the office

with him. I have given the clerk the telephone number.

THE COURT: Hello, Mr. Yut. This is Judge Ungaro-

Benages in Miami. Can you hear me?

MR. YUT: Yes, | can.

THE COURT: Okay. We are all in open court, as is your

voice.

MR. YUT: Okay.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. YUT: I can hear you.

THE COURT: I am simply calling to confirm that you

have delivered to the settlement administrator $10 million

in cash, and you tell me how much in Pulte securities.

[8348] MR. YUT: ] have delivered a million $55,000

shares of Pulte Corporation which, based on yesterday’s

closing price, is worth $50,762,500.

THE COURT: Could you say that again? You were kind

of — your voice is breaking up a little bit on the speaker.

MR. YUT: All right. A million 555,000 shares of Pulte

Corporation, which is currently valued at 50,762,500, and

another 150,000 shares of Pulte Homes Corporation for

which this morning we were unable to obtain an exact quote,

but it’s not widely traded.

34a

Appendix C

THE COURT: Mr. Dodyk, are you able to repeat that

back to see whether we got that correctly or not?

MR. DODYK: May I approach?

THE COURT: Please.

MR. DODYK: Scott, could you state as clearly as

possible the value of the Pulte stock?

MR. YUT: 50,762,500.

THE COURT: Fine. Yes, Mr. Newman?

MR. NEWMAN: Mr. Yut, could you tell us the name

on the stock certificates for the other stock certificates,

please?

MR. YUT: Yes. Just a moment.

MR. BUCHBAND: This is Peter Buchband, your

Honor.

THE COURT: Fine.

MR. BUCHBAND: The other company is identified as

[8349] Pulte Homes Corporation, and if you like, I can give

you the number that identifies the security.

MR. NEWMAN: My understanding from Mr. Ormsbee,

who is at Cravath, is that actually the Pulte Homes

Corporation is actually just the former name of Pulte

35a

Appendix C

Corporation and, in fact, what you hold is really 1,700,000

shares of Pulte Corporation stock. From the certificates, you

can’t tell that, but I understand that’s in fact what you hold.

MR. BUCHBAND: Okay, I was not aware of that.

MR. NEWMAN: That’s Okay.

MR. DODYK: Scott, what is the total number of shares

that you have of the two companies?

MR. YUT: 1,700,000.

MR. DODYK: If you were to multiple that times the

stock price for Pulte currently on the market, what is the

total value?

MR. YUT: We will do that right now.

MR. DODYK: We are waiting for you.

MR. YUT: 55,675,000.

MR. DODYK: Thank you:

THE COURT: Okay. All right. Well, Iam satisfied that

the conditions that are contained in the agreement have been

complied with.

Do you agree, Mr. Cooper and Mr. Newman?

MR. NEWMAN: We do, although I would like to have

one [8350] thing confirmed.

36a

Appendix C

Mr. Yut, you are prepared, as immediately as the Court

has approved this order, to wire transfer to Garden City the

$10 million you hold in your trust account; is that correct?

MR. YUT: That’s correct.

MR. NEWMAN: And you will do so now?

MR. YUT: That’s correct.

MR. NEWMAN: Thank you, very much.

THE COURT: Okay. Are we all set, Mr. Newman and

. Cooper?

MR. COOPER: We are.

MR. NEWMAN: We are.

THE COURT: Fine. Thank you very much, Mr. Yut.

MR. YUT: Thank you.

THE COURT: Okay. All right. Well, 1 am now going

then to give preliminary approval to the settlement. I think

the only order I have is the order that’s in this book. Did

someone have a loose order by any chance? Otherwise we

will make a copy.

MR. COOPER: No, we don’t, your Honor, but we

believe the blanks in that order can be filled in now with the

dates that your Honor has granted us.

37a

Appendix C

THE COURT: Okay. Just a second.

MR. KAMINSKY: Your Honor, we will be happy to

take [8351] one out for you.

THE COURT: Thank you very much. The first date

appears on Page 9, and it says the Proof of Claims. This is

the date for the proof of claims. So that should be April 15th,

right?

MR. DODYK: Yes, your Honor. Page 12 I think is the

next.

THE COURT: Right. At 9:30 a.m., on March 31st, will

be the hearing for final approval.

MR. DODYK: Then Page 13, your Honor.

THE COURT: Right, is the cut-off date again.

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, that is the date for filing

objections, and that is March 17, I believe.

THE COURT: Right. March 17th.

MR. DODYK: Then there is, of course, the date on the

last page, which is today.

THE COURT: Right. Okay, and I am signing the order

for preliminary approval at this time.

Okay, so that concludes this except for me to say that I

appreciate very much the efforts that were made to resolve

38a

Appendix C

the matter and very much the cooperation that | received

this week in responding to my questions and dealing with

my objections. .

Yes, Mr. Goteiner.

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, | hate to have the last

[8352] word, but on behalf of plaintiffs, I feel we must.

From the plaintiffs’ side, and I think I speak for the

defendants as well, we appreciate the incredible burden that

this case over the years, as well as over the past six months,

has put on the Court, the Court’s staff, and it was a Herculean

task for all concerned, but particularly for the Court. Far

less people than we have, and we appreciate it.

THE COURT: You are welcome, but we all learned a

lot. Thank you very much.

| feel compelled to point this out. Bill has given me a

little crystal hourglass to sit up here forever and remind me

of this case.

Okay. Now, do we have all of our jurors or not? We are

missing two. Okay, well, I don’t know that it’s necessary,

really — what do you all think? I don’t know that it’s

necessary for you to be here when I discharge the jury. | am

going to go and have a few words with them privately and

personally to explain to them what has happened.

What’s the consensus here? What’s the feeling?

39a

Appendix C

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, we have no objection

at all to the Court doing that in any way the Court wishes.

MR. DODYK: For defendants, we have no objection.

THE COURT: Youall are excused, and I will deai with

the jury. They will probably become a little irritated, but |

think I can live through that.

[8353] MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, could you let the

jury know, at least from plaintiffs’ point of view, we would,

if anyone wants to chat with us, talk with them, but obviously

the Court would advise them they don’t have to talk with

any of us.

THE COURT: I’m going to let them know they are free

to talk about the case if they want, and they are free to talk

to the lawyers about it, and they are also free to keep to

themselves.

MR. KAMINSKY: Your Honor, may we keep this to

the lawyers rather than press and other people?

THE COURT: Yes. Although I can’t order them.

MR. GOTEINER: Weare asking the Court convey that

the plaintiffs’ attorneys would like very much to thank them.

THE COURT: I will thank them for all of you, okay?

MR. GOTEINER: And would like to speak with them

as well. That's all.

40a

Appendix C

THE COURT: Okay. Let me handle it.

MR. BONNER: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. GOTEINER: Thank you, your Honor.

THE COURT: If you will wait outside, we will get you

conformed copies of the order. Thank you.

(Adjourned at 10:30 a.m.)

* * * *

ee Rey ae. eee ee ee

4la

APPENDIX D — EXCERPTS FROM TRANSCRIPT OF

FAIRNESS HEARING OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF FLORIDA DATED MARCH 31, 1997

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

Case No. 90-6863-Civ-UNGARO-BENAGES

WILLIAM WATERS and LINDA BARTHOLOMEW,

Plaintiffs,

—-V—

INTERNATIONAL PRECIOUS METALS CORPORATION,

MULTIVEST, INC., JAMES GROSFELD, MULTIVEST

REAL ESTATE, INC., S.S. MELBOURNE, INC.,

and THE CYPRESS GROUP, INC

i

Defendants.

Miami, Florida

March 31, 1997

9:45 a.m.

TRANSCRIPT OF FAIRNESS HEARING

BEFORE THE HONORABLE URSULA

UNGARO-BENAGES

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

* * *

42a

Appendix D

[33] THE COURT: All right. So we'll go ahead and

we'll proceed subject to the Court’s review of that agreement.

Now, before we proceed further, | want to take a little

time to review some of the relevant procedural history that’s

brought us to this juncture before we hear from the parties

and the other individuals who are present who wish to be

heard.

I gave preliminary approval to the settlement of the class

action by my order dated January 31, 1997, and I want to

note that that preliminary approval followed upon a week of

intensive review and renegotiation of the terms of the

proposed settlement between the Court, the parties’ trial

counsel and the parties’ settlement counsel.

| also want to note that the proposed settlement as

originally conceived was first presented to me on the morning

of closing arguments after nearly five months of trial.

As I’m sure the attorneys for both sides recall, 1 wasn’t

very enthusiastic about the timing of their decision to resolve

the case. After all, we had presumed upon the jury for many

months and the jury was present and ready and willing to

listen to the closing arguments and render a decision once

and for all in the case as to whether or not there had been a

scheme to defraud; whether or not MOI was a boiler room

within the meaning of the law; and whether Mr. Grosfeld

was responsible for it.

[34] I also was not very happy with the terms of the

proposed settlement to the extent that trial counsel was able

to outline those terms to me.

43a

Appendix D

For example, I didn’t like the idea that the class members

would be compensated solely in the form of individual

promissory notes that would not be payable any sooner than

five years in the future, while most of the class counsel’s

fees and costs would be paid from the cash portion of the

settlement fund.

I was also unhappy with the amount of security for the

deferred obligation during the time preceding the delivery

of the irrevocable letter of credit, and with the parties’

apparent agreement at the time that a fee award of one-third

of the $40 million settlement fund, which everyone at the

time clearly understood to be approximately $13 million,

was reasonable under the circumstances.

I distinctly recall, for example, the attorneys for both

sides estimating that the net settlement fund which would

be available for distribution to the class members after the

fees and expenses were deducted and the administration

expenses were deducted would be in the neighborhood of

$24 million.

Now, as I have already noted, several days of discussions

followed to deal with my concerns. During that time period

the jury was not discharged because I was at all times

prepared to go to verdict if a Satisfactory agreement [35]

could not be reached. However, by the end of that week

sufficient changes had been made to the agreements to allay

most of my concerns.

Additionally, the parties assured me that the terms of

the agreement were sufficiently flexible to permit the deferral

44a

Appendix D

of the attorneys fee and expense obligations in whatever

amount I deemed appropriate.

As further assurance that I would be free to defer all or

a portion of the fee and expense award, class counsel agreed

to waive their right to appeal those aspects of the fee and

expense award relating to the timing or method of payment.

I want to emphasize that in these discussions both sides

went to some lengths to convince me that a settlement fund

consisting of $40 million, albeit comprised of $10 million

in cash and the balance in notes, less a fee award of one-

third of the gross amount of the settlement fund and

reimbursement of counsel’s expenses, would produce an

exceptional benefit to the class members.

Now, I’m not taking a position right now on whether or

not I think it was an exceptional benefit or not, but that was

certainly the position taken by both sides during that week

of discussions.

These efforts on both sides to persuade me at least

preliminarily of the significance of the result obtained in the

- case if the settlement were approved included comparative

[36] analyses of settlements in other class actions alleging

improprieties in the offer and sale of securities and other

matters alleging fraud in the marketing of investments, and

I directed that those analyses be placed in the court file and

otherwise made a part of the public record, and I invite any

interested person to review those documents which were

supplied by both Mr. Dodyk for the defense and by class

counsel.

4Sa

Appendix D

Having received, reviewed and considered these

materials and having engaged in extensive discussions with

the parties concerning the terms of the proposed settlement,

and in the end having been persuaded by both sides that there

was nothing in the proposed settlement that was outside the

range of reasonable and adequate, but reserving to myself

the ultimate decision as to the fairness of the settlement and

the amount of fees and expenses to be awarded to class

counsel, I gave preliminary approval to the settlement by

the order dated January 31, 1997.

On February 21st, 1997, following entry of the order,

the settlement administrator, the Garden City Group,

apparently mailed the court-approved form of notice to all

class members who could be identified or, more specifically,

20,591 individuals at their addresses as then known to class

counsel and as updated by the Postal Service’s national

change of address database reflecting all changes of address

submitted in the last three years.

[37] In addition, the settlement administrator has

reported to the Court that the Court-approved summary notice

was published in the New York Times, the Wall Street

Journal and USA Today.

I acknowledge that the settlement administrator has

reported that approximately 7,000 of the claim packets, which

included notice of today’s hearing, were returned as

undeliverable. That is, of course, not surprising in light of

the fact that this litigation has been ongoing for some six

years and the average individual claim in the case is between

$6,000 and $7,000.

46a

Appendix D

In any event, the Court is satisfied that the notice given,

including the notices published in the newspapers of national

circulation, was the most reasonable and practical under the

circumstances and was also customary in the administration

of class action settlements.

I also note, however, that efforts are, according to the

settlement administrator, ongoing to mail claim packets to

the class members whose packets were returned as

undeliverable.

That came about not because of the efforts initiated —

not because of efforts initiated by the settlement

administrator, as I understand it, but because pursuant to the

request of class counsel the Court ended up ordering the

settlement administrator to contract with another vendor to

obtain updated addresses.

[38] Since then the settlement administrator has advised

the Court that that vendor has supplied 4,743 updated

addresses to which claim packets were recently mailed, and

that additional updated addresses are expected shortly.

Now, having found that the best notice that was

reasonable, practical and customary in the circumstances has

been given, this matter is now ripe for final approval of the

settlement and the other matters that I outlined at the

commencement of this hearing.

To set the stage for how I wish this hearing to be

conducted, I next wish to review the terms of the notice which

govern the participation of class members at this hearing.

47a

Appendix D

The notice specifically required that any class member

opposing the settlement, including class counsel’s request

for fees and expenses, to have notified the Court and the

parties of his or her opposition by March 17th, 1997 by, first,

filing with the clerk of the Court a notice of such person’s

intention to appear together with a statement indicating the

basis for his or her opposition along with any supporting

documentation; and, second, by serving copies of such notice,

Statement, documentation and related papers or briefs upon

plaintiffs’ settlement counsel and defendants’ counsel,

Martin Kaminsky. .

Now, until this morning I was aware of only one

communication which had been received in response to the

notice [39] which stated any Opposition to the proposed

settlement, and that communication was in the form of a

pleading submitted by Carol Orkin, who I understand is

present here in court.

Maybe Ms. Orkin can stand so I know who she is. You’re

Ms. Orkin. Okay. Fine. Thank you. You can have a seat.

Now, Ms. Orkin set forth several — well, three grounds

on which she was objecting to the terms of the settlement. I

don’t know that she’s objecting to the settlement in its

entirety, but she was objecting to certain terms of the

settlement, and she, true to her word, is here today to make

her feelings known, and at an appropriate time I’m going

call on Ms. Orkin to come forward so that she can state what

her position is with respect to the settlement.

48a

Appendix D

Now, this morning it was brought to my attention that

there is present here in court an individual named Christopher

Madden. Where is Mr. Madden?

(Raises hand).

Okay. And Mr. Madden contends that on March — I

guess — he provided me with certain documents and | think

copies have been provided to counsel. The letter states that

he provided to me that’s directed to the clerk of the Court:

“I plan to attend the settlement hearing on March 31 to learn

more about my standing in the class action suit against

MultiVest to verify that I have been given proper priority

[40] within the class and find out more details about the class,

the distribution and the plan of allocation. I plan to present

evidence of a previous settlement signed by the vice president

of MultiVest Options.” And he enclosed a release that he

had executed as a result of a reparations proceeding, | take

it, that he was involved in with MultiVest Options.

Now, what is the position of the — I must tell you, Mr.

Madden, that I suspect that you are — I did not have a chance

to really get into this because I only received this this

morning, for some reason. But in looking at your release, |

suspect that you are excluded from the class.

But, what is the plaintiffs’ position on this?

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, we’d have to go back

to the ruling. But I do provisionally believe that the language

in the release may mean he’s excluded. I think this is the

magistrate’s — the Special Master’s ruling, which was

affirmed, but I’m not sure.

SAE eT ee CEE Se Se

49a

Appendix D

MR. NEWMAN: Your Honor, if I might speak. I don’t

know that we actually represent Mr. Madden, but Mr.

Madden told me he never received the $1,900 referred to in

his letter. So it may or may not be that he was released. We

just don’t know the facts.

THE COURT: Okay. So, what is the plaintiffs’ position

on whether or not — well, let me ask Mr. Madden.

Mr. Madden, do you wish to be heard today or are you

[41] simply hear to listen and to find out?

MR. MADDEN: Well, I'd like to be heard, but I’m not

sure what I’m going to say.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, that’s fine. Have a seat.

Well, what do you all think? Should we at an appropriate

time let Mr. Madden speak or not?

MR. GOTEINER: Why not, Your Honor?

THE COURT: And what do the defendants say?

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, I don’t have any objection

to that.

It occurs to me that this may be a nonclass problem in

that it sounds like Mr. Madden has an unsatisfied claim

against the receiver for $1,900, which is outside the class.

But the receiver may have a view on that.

50a

Appendix D

THE COURT: Okay. So maybe we need for the receiver

to — when the receiver returns, we’ll revisit Mr. Madden’s

situation. :

Okay. Now, the only other communication apparently

which the attorneys received that was not in the nature of an

opposition but more in the nature of an inquiry, which was

from Mr. and Mr. Dorsey in Chicago, Illinois, who I take it

are not here. Are the Dorseys here? The Dorseys are not

present.

And they apparently had an account with MOI that

straddled the end of the class period, and inquired whether

they could recover for money lost in transactions after [42]

10-31-89.

So, although the Dorseys aren’t here, I would hope that

class counsel would explain during their presentation the

rationale for the exclusions of the transactions subsequent

to 10-31-89.

Now, let me also note before we proceed further that

class counsel have now submitted their fee and expense

petitions. Counsel is requesting one-third of the settlement

fund as their fee and also $2,665,000 in expenses.

Now, I do want to note that the settlement’s stipulation

that the — excuse me, that the fee request of one-third of the

settlement fund is the maximum amount of fees that the

parties agreed — the parties, that’s both sides — agreed could

be sought pursuant to the settlement stipulation that the Court

approved at the end of January, after being assured by both

Sla

Appendix D

sides that a fee of one-third of the gross amount of the

settlement fund would be well within the range of reasonable.

Moreover, as part of the stipulation — and it’s also in

the order giving preliminary approval to the settlement —

defense counsel agreed not to oppose the fee and expense

application so long as the application did not exceed a request

for a one-third fee — that’s one-third of the settlement fund

— plus expenses.

Now, I also want to note that I am far from committed

[43] to paying — to the payment of the fees and expenses

with 25 percent in cash and 75 percent as a deferred

obligation that the plaintiffs’ counsel has more recently

proposed.

My preliminary view, although, again, I want to hear

from everyone today, is that the portion allocated to cash

Should be in a sum certain in order to avoid uncertainty

concerning the amount and timing of the cash distribution,

to avoid unnecessary administration expenses and to decrease

the counts for conflict.

Now, as I think you all can see, I also am fairly intent

on resolving the receivership issues today because I would

like to have some understanding of the extent to which the

contribution of the receivership to the settlement fund will

have in covering the expenses of the administration of the

settlement.

Now, let’s turn to the main reason we’re here today,

which is to determine whether the proposed settlement is

52a

Appendix D

fair, reasonable and adequate, and it seems to me that we

should first hear from Ms. Orkin and then perhaps we’ Il give

Mr. Madden a chance to say whatever he wants, and then

we’ ll let both sides say whatever they would like with respect

to the settlement.

Yes.

MR. COOPER: Your Honor, my name is John Cooper.

I believe that there’s one item I’d like to correct [44] for

the record, and that is I thought that I heard the Court say

that the notice was mailed on February 21st. I believe that it

was mailed on February 14th.

MR. GOTEINER: That’s correct, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay. Fine. Thank you.

Okay. So, Ms. Orkin, do you wish to come forward and

say anything other than what’s contained in your written

objections?

MS. ORKIN: I do object to the original plan of

allocation, although I do understand from my own experience

with class action litigations that 20 percent is not an

unreasonable sum to obtain back from a class action.

I would also like to see the filing deadline in this case

extended because of the fact that so many of the addresses

were outdated. This case is anywhere between eight and 11

years old as far as the addresses are concerned, and you’ve

53a

Appendix D

had more than 7,000 returned, as you reported, and many of

those people are Only just now getting their claims. I don’t

think there’s sufficient time for them to both request their

monthly Statements, get them back, then complete a claim

form.

This is income tax time. People are filing their tax returns

for April 15th. I do not think it would be unreasonable to

extend the filing deadline and give people an additional

Opportunity to file claim forms.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything else?

[45] MS. ORKIN: It’s just my contention. I would like

to see as much of this settlement go to all of the members of

the class and nothing back to the defendants.

I know that this is a reversionary settlement, but I would

like to see as much of this money go to all of the plaintiffs.

Thank you.

THE COURT: Okay. Thanks.

And now, Mr. Madden, what do you want to tell us?

MR. MADDEN: I’ll be very brief, and I don’t have any

objection to the settlement. I just don’t know where I stand,

if at all, in that settlement class.

Let’s see. Brief background.

S4a

Appendix D

THE COURT: Sure.

MR. MADDEN: Ten years ago I opened an account with

MultiVest, lost $3,000 due to what I believe was fraud and

negligence, et cetera.

And a year before this class action was filed, I filed a

notice that I intended to file an action against MultiVest,

which I did do. I filed a complaint with the CFTC, and I was

approached by MultiVest shortly after that via this letter,

which you have a copy of, stating that they wish to settle for

the amount of $1,900, which I agreed to and accepted and

signed, and this letter and accompanying document was

signed by officers of James McTevia and Associates on

behalf of [46] MultiVest, and subsequently received nothing

and was told after I called them that they would not be

honoring their letter. ;

So, basically what I’m wondering 1s if —

THE COURT: Did they give you any explanation as to

why they weren’t going to honor the letter?

MR. MADDEN: No.

THE COURT: Okay. So, how did the release end up

going back to the receiver? You signed the release and sent

it back anticipating you would get the $1,900?

MR. MADDEN: That’s right.

THE COURT: Is that what happened?

Sa al

NE ee Oe aE Fe ee ye ee ao fee ee

55a

Appendix D

MR. MADDEN: They said after you return the signed

originals of the enclosed documents to me — this is James

Robash of McTevia and Associates — [| will send you

MultiVest Options’ check in the amount of $1,900. After |

send you the check, I will file the notice of satisfaction with

the CFTC,

So I sent —

THE COURT: And, again, what did they tell you as to

why they weren’t sending you your $1900?

MR. MADDEN: This was SO Many years ago, I don’t

exactly remember. But I think they just basically said we’re

not going to honor the agreement.

THE COURT: As you see, the receiver is here today.

So, I think when the receiver comes back into the room, at

some appropriate time we’]] try to take it up with the receiver

and [47] try and understand what happened here.

MR. MADDEN: That will be good.

Obviously, I’m ignorant of all the legal complexities of

all this, but I just learned from Statements made a couple

seconds ago that may or may not exclude me from the class.

I don’t know if that’s good or bad for me. And I also knew

nothing about this class action suit until a couple weeks ago

when I read about it in the Paper.

THE COURT: So you saw the notice in the Paper.

56a

Appendix D

MR. MADDEN: That’s right. Actually it wasn’t the

notice. Since I live in Boynton Beach it was just a local news

item because it’s a company, or was.

Also, if 1 am in the class, if there’s a hierarchy within

the class and if this moves me higher or lower, close to

the —

THE COURT: There are no priorities among the class

members. Everybody’s the same.

MR. MADDEN: Okay.

And basically, it would be really nice to know why

something that I was able to accomplish, you know, seven

years ago without paying lawyer’s fees and all the other

receiver’s fees, now, if I do receive anything from this, |

would have to pay all that, you know, additional monies on

top of that; in other words, that comes out of the settlement,

my part of the settlement.

[48] That’s about all I have to say.

THE COURT: All right. Thank you.

MR. MADDEN: Thank you.

THE COURT: So who from the plaintiffs is going to

speak concerning the fairness, adequacy and reasonableness

of the settlement and perhaps address, hopefully address,

Ms. Orkin’s and Mr. Madden’s concerns?

57a

Appendix D

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, we have filed

documents — Neil Goteiner on behalf of the plaintiffs.

We have filed pleadings, particularly the one on F ebruary

21, where we’ve set forth in some detail why we think the

settlement is fair and reasonable, and I don’t want to burden

the Court with more discussion on that. It is a fair and

reasonable settlement.

THE COURT: If you want fo rest on your papers, that’s

Okay with me.

Do you want to respond to some of the issues that Ms.

Orkin raised?

MR. GOTEINER: Absolutely.

Well, Ms. Orkin raised, I think, three issues in her Papers.

One has to do with the reversion, and, of course, that was

part and parcel of the settlement Process and it enabled us to

have a bigger settlement pot for those people who do come

and claim. So — in fact, I’ve explained this to Ms. Orkin

Over the phone some time ago.

[49] So we think this was a fair and reasonable part of

the settlement and made a lot of sense because it did create a

bigger pot.

With respect to the $50 charge, which Ms. Orkin raised,

that was going to be paying for the expenses that the receiver

was going to undergo. There has been some issues, as you

know, raised in the correspondence about that.

58a

Appendix D

But the $50 was to come out of any award to a particular

class member. It would not be paid up front. And at the time

that was reasonable, it seemed to us. But there has been, as |

say, some correspondence on this point which the Court

might want to address after Mr. Buchband gets his letter on

file.

The other objection that I recall Ms. Orkin made had to

do with the fees. She didn’t raise it orally, but, you know,

the Court might want to discount a little bit what I have to

say on this. We disagree with Ms. Orkin’s written challenge

to our fee. I did offer Ms. Orkin to send her the materials so

she could make a more informed evaluation of that, and asked

her not to — asked her to be gentle with us on this point. So,

in any event, she declined to take a look at those documents.

THE COURT: Okay. What do you think about Ms.

Orkin’s comments concerning whether or not the bar date

for filing claims should be pushed back?

[50] MR. GOTEINER: I was going to address that as

well. :

We agree. Obviously, plaintiffs think it should be pushed

back. I] should report to you that Mr. Buchband told me that

when he was looking at the success rate, he was coming up

with a 93 percent success rate on identifying these addresses.

Curiously, by pure serendipity, Ms. Orkin told us prior

to the hearing that in fact she works with the Garden City

Group and she has some knowledge of this as well, and they

are doing a good job now of finding these addresses.

59a

Appendix D

The Court should also know on this score that Mr.

Buchband further agreed that, to the extent these people

aren't located, that he’s going to go the next route, which is

a $16, $15 charge, which is paid only if you get a hit, that is,

only if you find the address.

So we think these people should get an additional time

to file a claim.

THE COURT: How far back do you think the bar date

Should be pushed?

MR. GOTEINER: Well, it would seem fair to me that

the people who are receiving the notices now should get the |

same amount of time to file their claims with the account

Statements as the rest of the Class got.

THE COURT: Well, I think we need ultimately a cutoff

date. I mean, I don’t think it can be a fluid date. I think the

date has to be fixed.

[51] MR. GOTEINER: Well, that’s fine.

THE COURT: So, what do you Suggest? May 15th?

MR. GOTEINER: Subject to Ms. Orkin agreeing, of

course, May 15 would seem to be a fair enough date.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything else you want to say?

MR: GOTEINER: No.

60a

Appendix D

THE COURT: Okay. Fine.

Okay. What do the defendants wish to say?

MR. DODYK: If Your Honor please, I only have one

comment to make, and that is with respect to what Ms. Orkin

states with respect to the current mailing.

And I would simply note for Your Honor that this is a

problem which arises customarily in the administration of

class actions, and the solution which is normally adopted by

the courts is not to postpone the date by which the claims

must be submitted, because typically, I think once the claims

come in, then the parties simply stipulate that certain late

claims, in occasions in which the late mailing is caused by

some problem in the administrative process, such as, for

example, in this case the decision to use the alternative source

for the obtaining of the addresses, is accepted by both parties

as a reason why with respect to those late-filed claims they

will still be admitted.

So I would encourage Your Honor simply to see what

happens, and I would be encouraged to think —

[52] THE COURT: Well, you know, in most cases I

would be willing to do that. But in this case I’m not.

Is there an agreement that late-filed claims filed up

through May 31st will be recognized?

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, I can’t state that at this

point. But I can certainly say that defendants would consent

se Ds cot i a

6la

Appendix D

to any mailing — any claim which came in late in which the

lateness was due to some administrative problem, and I would

hope that we would be able to resolve those without any

further litigation. I can’t —

THE COURT: Mr. Dodyk, I mean, really at this point I

think you must understand that there is very little hope of

resolving anything in this case wi thout additional litigation.

MR. DODYK: | don’t believe that’s true, Your Honor.

I really don’t believe that’s true.

THE COURT: I see. Well, what do you think that the

impediments are to my just pushing the bar date back?

MR. DODYK: I’m not sure that’s possible. I’ve never

seen a Case in which that’s been done.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. DODYK: And the bar date is a part of the

stipulation; and while the Court has powers, obviously,

procedurally over —

THE COURT: I’m notsure. I ’m trying to recall whether

the bar date was specifically part of the stipulation [53] or

whether it was contained in the order.

MR. DODYK: The stipulation says that the bar date is

60 days after the mailing date, and then we put in the order

April 15 because it was 60 days after the February 14th

mailing date.

62a

Appendix D

THE COURT: Well, actually I think that’s sufficiently

flexible to deal with the problem. Sixty days after the mailing

date, whatever the mailing date might be.

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, that might be an appropriate

solution with respect to this class of claimants. I’m not

contesting that. All I Your Honor to do is, rather than

attempting to resolve it in this fashion, why don’t we what

happens, because that’s the way it normally works out.

THE COURT: Well, because seeing what happens in

this case doesn’t work out very well.

MR. DODYK: Well, Your Honor —

THE COURT: Okay. So, if your representation to me

is that that’s the language in the Settlement Agreement, then

I think that that pretty well does it. Sixty days from the date

of mailing.

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, I would just add to it

that I think what would be appropriate is for Mr. Buchband

— we’ll get anew notice for those people who get late notices

because they have to be told that, because right now it says

April 15th. So those people — Mr. Buchband knows exactly

who [54] those are; that there will have to be another notice

sent to those people extending that date.

THE COURT: Well, okay. So you all are in favor of

waiting and seeing what happens also.

MR. WISOFF: No, Your Honor.

63a

Appendix D

Just to clarify it, the notices that Mr. Buchband is mailing

out is the court-approved form of notice which has the April

1Sth date.

THE COURT: Right.

MR. WISOFF: We don’t want people who have received

this and it’s after April 15th to refrain from filing because of

that. So, what we Suggest is that there be an amendment

included in the remailed notices to let them know they have

60 days from the date of mailing, so that they won’t be

discouraged from filing a claim during that 60-day period.

THE COURT: So, what are you Proposing? Let’s be

concrete here. Are you Proposing that Mr. Buchband simply

inclose some kind of brief statement?

MR. GOTEINER: Some of them have already been sent

out, Your Honor. So, with Tespect to some that have already

gone out, there’s going to have to be a little one-page

document that Says the Court has extended your time to

answer it until this date. Al] right.

And with respect to the ones that are going out now or

haven’t gone out yet, something can be included within that

[55] notice that Clarifies it.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, I see the defendants

thumbing madly through the settlement stipulation trying to

see what is provided.

MR. DODYK: Your Honor, the research isn’t providing

any change from what I stated originally. | again would

64a

Appendix D

encourage the Court to think in terms of seeing what happens

when it comes in. | understand Your Honor’s view on that,

but that would be my recommendation.

THE COURT: Okay. Well, let me just say this in the

hope of avoiding further litigation on the point, which is

that if the agreement provides 60 days from the date of

mailing, then Mr. Buchband needs to keep records as to when

the mailings are occurring. Let’s start there.

If there is aneed for Mr. Buchband to notify the people

who received the notice late — as I understand it, there have

been two mailings so far, is that right?

MR. GOTEINER: Your Honor, there could have been

more than two. What’s happening is | instructed — well, in

fact, Mr. Dodyk didn’t oppose it — I told Mr. Buchband to

get those notices out as soon as he got the addresses.

THE COURT: Yes, but —

MR. GOTEINER: So there could have been a

rolling —

THE COURT: — the affidavit I received from the

Garden City Group on March 27th conveys to me that there

have [56] been two mailings. At least that’s the way I

understand it.

MR. GOTEINER: I think he means, Your Honor — I

can’t speak for the man — but what he told me was that it is

ongoing. As he gets the batch of the addresses back from

CO,

65a

Appendix D

Mr. Miller at this credit bureau, he sends out additional

notices.

We do know that the first mailing was on F ebruary 14th.

That’s what we do know.

THE COURT: And do you know when the second

mailing was?

MR. GOTEINER: Ms. Orkin, I understand, can confirm

for the Court that what I’ve told you is correct.

THE COURT: But Ms. Orkin, I take it. doesn’t have

the dates of the mailings.

MS. ORKIN: No, I don’t have that on me. But it is ona

rolling basis. As they come in, everything will go out.

THE COURT: Okay.

And that’s really, I think, all I have to say on it. I say it

by way of guidance in the hopes that we can avoid [57]

further litigation on this subject.

Yes, Mr. Newman.

ee

66a

Appendix D

MR. NEWMAN: Is the Court so ordering those so that

we can represent that to Mr. Buchband?

THE COURT: Yes, I am ordering that.

MR. NEWMAN: Thank you.

THE COURT: Okay. Now, I would like to know — I

would like some kind of report or something filed with me

when the mailing has been concluded, so I know. Okay?

MR. GOTEINER: Yes, Your Honor. I think Mr. |

Buchband will submit that to the Court.

THE COURT: Okay. All right.

So, I did review what the plaintiffs provided with respect

to their position on the fairness and adequacy and

reasonableness of the proposed settlement. I am generally

in agreement with their analysis of the situation. I do want :

to make a few additional observations or amplify some of |

the observations that the plaintiffs’ lawyers have already

made.

First of all, I believe that the plaintiffs have applied the

correct lega! analysis to the issue of whether or not the

settlement is fair, adequate or reasonable by assessing the

proposed settlement in terms of its relationship to investor

losses, in relationship to the difficulties which were incurrent

in the case, in relationship to the complexity, duration and

expense of the litigation, in relation to the [58] substance

and amount of the opposition to the settlement, in relationship

et i i i ie Bin me

67a

Appendix D

to the stage of the Proceedings at which the settlement was

achieved, and in relation to the plan of allocation.

Now, more specifically, with respect to each of those

factors, | want to make the following observations:

In relationship to the amount of investor losses, the

settlement fund consists of $10 million in cash plus

approximately $185,000 to be transferred from the CFTC

receivership and $30 million in the fully secured master

Notwithstanding that a significant Portion of the class

members’ recovery will be deferred, I am convinced that

the settlement represents a substantia] recovery in the

To put the Significance of the recovery in numerical]

terms, $40 million represents approximately one-third of the

investor losses of approximately $120 million, and even

68a

Appendix D

allowing for the delay in payment by factoring in

prejudgment interes

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — International Precious Metals Corp. v. Waters · 530 U.S. 1223 | Frix