Opposition Brief — Sublett v. Swoopes

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

li

EDITOR'S NOTE

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WERE POOR HARD COPY

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. IF AND WHEN A

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

kg

Supzerne Cotrt, U.S.

FILED

APR 8 2000

No. 99-1470

CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

SAM SUBLETT; JANET NAPOLITANO, Attorney General,

Petitioners,

-VS.-

SAMUEL W. SWOOPES,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FREDRIC F. KAY

Federal Public Defender

District of Arizona

Javier Chon-Lopez

Assistant Federal Public Defender

Counsel of Record

Brian I. Rademacher

Office of the Federal Public Defender

97 E. Congress, Suite 130

Tucson, Arizona 85701-1716

Attorneys for Respondent

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838, 119 S.Ct. 1728 (1999) require Arizona

defendants to petition the Arizona Supreme Court for discretionary review to exhaust

state remedies for federal habeas purposes when the Supreme Court of Arizona has

expressly stated (1) it does not consider discretionary review petitions as an ordinary

part of appellate review procedure under Arizona law, and (2) once a defendant has

exercised his right to direct appeal, further review in the Arizona Supreme Court

should not be sought as a matter of course?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ......... 0. . cece ccc cece eee eee teen eee n ee eennes j

oe OR a Zee ye: i err Terr rrr errr rer Try errr rere rr rer ere ii

rp, Fi lye. oo oy) > re rer errr rrr rrr rrr eT rer rer rrr rr iV

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............. ]

Po ee ok 8 8. rr rr rer reer er eer er ere reer 2

ye ett. J. -¢! By Le Seer ror rrr rrr rer er yr Teer ere ere cere 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .. 0... ccc cc ccc cccccccccccrccccscssscnes 5

moa EN gs PS eo i rere ee re rr re rrr reco. foes 5

A. THE ARIZONA SUPREME CourT HAS EXPRESSLY AND REPEATEDLY STATED

THAT ARIZONA’S DISCRETIONARY REVIEW PROCEDURE IS OUTSIDE OF THE

ORDINARY APPELLATE REVIEW PROCESS AND HAS DIRECTED THAT SUCH

REVIEW TO THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT SHOULD NOT BE SOUGHT AS A

A ol Fg packed see dbaab ak canbe ches eens sn kwne &

1. Arizona and Illinois have different appellate review procedures ............. 9

2. The Arizona Supreme Court has expressly held defendants in Arizona need .

not seek review before it to properly exhaust state remedies for federal hapeas

rrr rer rr errr rrr rrr rrr rrr rr rr re ere 12

3. Swoopes is correctly decided and comity mandates Arizona should be

allowed to administer its discretionary appellate review system free from federal

PERCE PEC OP EPEC CT CTC COUT CPOE ree CELL ee 19

3) nr rere rer rrr rere rrr ee cere ry re tee 24

il

APPENDIX A

State of Arizona’s Respondents- Appellees’ Supplemental Brief on Remand From the

United States Supreme Court, Swoopes v. Sublett, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

No. 94-16033, dated 7/8/99, pp.1-8

APPENDIX B

State v. Stephens, Arizona Court of Appeals No. 1 CA-CR 97-0458, Orders and

Pleadings

B.1- Order, dated Aug.2, 1999, pp.1-3

B.2 - Motion for Publication, dated Aug.4, 1999

B.3 - Order, dated Feb.14, 2000 (denying motion for publication)

B.4 - Motion for Reconsideration, pp.1-3, dated July 9, 1999

APPENDIX C

State of Arizona’s Respondents-Appellees’ Answering Brief, Moreno _v.

Gonzalez/Binford v. Rhode, Arizona Supreme Court No. CV-97-0268-CQ, pp.20-

22, dated 11/4/97

APPENDIX D

State of Arizona's Kes

v. Rhode, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals No. 96-15189, pp.1-7, dated 11/27/98

APPENDIX E

Defendant Binford’s Supplemental Reply Brief of Petitioner/Appellant, Binford v.

Rhode, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals No. 96-15189, pp.1-9,22-23, dated 12/28/98

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Barry v. Arizona Dep’t of Economic Security,

| POPPE ETT CTE RETO CCET eT eT eee eee 16

Binford v. Rhode, -

116 F.3d 396 (9" Cir. 1997),

aff'd in part, vacated in part sub nom.,

Ameen v. Rhode, 176 F.3d 481 (9" Cir. 1999)(Table) ................. 6, 10, 14, 15

Bishop v. Wood,

ee ae eae eg aa ead CAE SAE EERE ER 18

Coley v. Gonzales

see Pe og ek a eee RS ee RA a Ae Re CHAS 13

Francis v. Arizona Dep’t of Transportation. MVD,

ee ee On, I 6 nas Sc da eo Gd Eos hea N eke eae 16

Gatlin v. M.K. Madding,

ge 3 gg E.R a en a nae PD 5,18

Harmon v. Ryan

re os ak ag dg we ob OR 11, 13, 17

Jennison v. Goldsmith

er lo ha aoa en ek kb ORS AA OE A 6, 13,17

McMillan v. Monroe County, Alabama,,

ee ee ee ED so kw ak a xo bd od we ee ee Sek ee 5,18

Moreno v. Gonzales,

ee ee hk we a bd oda hae Re eed ee debs baudeewenn 10, 14, 15, 18, 22

O’Sullivan v. Boerckel,

~ SIR Be, eke py 7h). ) 4,5, 7, 8, 9, 11, 13, 17, 18, 19, 21

People v. Quigley,

ee ts oe gi ead seo eae AOE a AEA 9

iv

Page

People v. Williams,

pop oe fF Rs PP POePeETPTReTT Tere Teor ee eee Te eee 9,11

Slayton v. Shumway,

ee Cre Per eT TEU eTTTeUCNT TUTTE ELT ee eer ee 17

South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe, Inc.,

a a kk a ee a ke Oe eee eee 18

State ex rel. Napolitano v. Brown,

ee ee es a a ees nk oa Se BK See ees Phd eee RAK eS 17

State ex rel. Arizona Dep’t of Revenue v. Havasue Dunes Timeshare Ass’n,

pe ge PPC RET Ver TT TET TTS TTT Te rere Tee Tee 4, 15

State v. Poli,

got ogg | eee ree eT rere Te eT Terre rere Tr rere 16

State v. Sandon,

Fee EE a dao ahaa RS RRs Ka eOR ER 54, Ez, 33, $4, 15, 17, 19, 22

State v. Shattuck

ee Se es BE 6 ok ge cicc wae bees dweew nd cena weuns 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 17

State v. Smith,

pe ee Fe | Peer reece rey eT re Tre Tere Terr OTe rer Tes 16

Swoopes v. Sublett,

te Beg Sr 1, 8, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 23

Thomas v. Goldsmith,

re Rr ee a a ewan ea wae ie Rae 13

United States ex rel. Burks v. Washington,

1995 WL 642822 *5 (D.Ill. 1995),

aff'd, Burks v. Nelson, 103 F.3d 133 (7" Cir. 1996)(Table) ................ 9,10, 11

Younger v. Harris,

I a eo een Cake ye cu el ee mea waa aie’ Mla tate oe 23

Page

STATUTES

Arizona Revised Statutes § 12-109(A) ........ 5. cece cece ete eee n ete eee ettenees 17

Arizona Revised Statutes § 12-120.21(A)(1) 0.2... cece eee eee tte ete tte ees 10

Arizona Revised Statutes § 12-120.24 ..... 0... cece cece ee eee tenet een e teenies 10

Arizona Revised Statutes § 13-4031 .......... sate ensneeccnsneceaasssesasssaassens 10

United States Code § 28-2254 ...... 2c cece ccc cece ener cess sec ernssncecccssssaaces 21

RULES

Arizona Rules of Appellate Procedure, Rule 28 ......... 00025 e eee teen reer eeeeees 2, 16

Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 31.19 ........---- esse eee ee eeees 10, 12, 20, 23

Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 31.19,

Comment to 1983 amendment .............-5:- eee eee e etter eees 2. 12, 13, 2, 22

Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, Rule 32.1(f) ........-.-0-e este ee eee eee eeces 10, 14

Illinois Supreme Court Rules, Rule 315... 26... 20. e eee eee eee erent ert e eens: 9

United States Supreme Court, Ruie iG 2.22... eee eee eee eee tee eee eeee 7, 4&

CONSTITUTIONS

Arizona Constitution, Article VI, §5.......... 2... cece eee ee eee teen eee erences aa7

Arizona Constitution, Article eo en eer re oer eer ere TTC rete reer errr irre

OTHER

JAMES S. LIEBMAN & RANDY HERTZ,

Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure c ge | | : nee 22, 23

Vi

No. 99-1470

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

SAM SUBLETT; JANET NAPOLITANO, Attorney General,

Petitioners,

-vs.-

SAMUEL W. SWOOPES,

Respondent.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Respondent, Samuel W. Swoopes, through counsel, respectfully requests that this Court

deny the petition for writ of certiorari and refuse to issue a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

and opinion of the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals entered in this proceeding on November 2, 1999,

in Swoopes v. Sublett, 196 F.3d 1008 (9" Cir. 1999).

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Arizona Constitution, Article VI, § 5 provides, in pertinent part:

Section 5. The Supreme Court shall have:

* * %* *

5. Power to make rules relative to all procedural matters in any court.

Rule 31.19 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, Comment to 1983 amendment, provides,

in pertinent part:

The 1983 amendments to Rule 31.9 contemplate that review will not be

sought as a matter of course (emphasis added). Review procedure is intended for

those cases in which there is a tenable claim involving substantial issued of law or

procedure or in which serious injustice is claimed to have occurred.

Rule 28, Arizona Rules of Appellate Procedure, provides in pertinent part:

(a) Opinion; Memorandum Decision; Order; Publication.

(1) An opinion is written disposition of a matter which is intended for publication

under subdivision (4) below.

(2) A memorandum decision is a written disposition of a matter not intended for

publication.

(3) An order is any disposition of a matter before the court other than by opinion or

memorandum decisions.

(4) Publication is the distribution of opinions for reporting by publishing companies

in compliance with the provisions of A.R.S. § 12-107, § 12-108 and § 12-120.07.

* * * *

(c) Disposition as Precedent. Memorandum decisions shall not be regarded as

precedent nor cited in any court except for (1) the purpose of establishing the defense

of res judicata, collateral estoppel, or the law of the case or (2) informing the

appellate court of other memorandum decisions so that the court can decide whether

to publish an opinion, grant a motion for reconsideration, or grant a petition for

review. Any party citing a memorandum decision must attach a copy of it to the

motion or petition in which such decision is cited.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Mr. Swoopes was convicted of burglary, armed robbery, kidnaping and sexual assault based

mostly on the identification testimony of the three victims of the crimes. On the day of the crimes,

none of the victims gave a good description of their assailants and none of the victims aensioned

the assailant had any facial scars. The victims, who are Caucasian, did describe their assailant(s) as

being African-American, which Mr. Swoopes is. One of the victims told police in an interview

hours after the robbery, "J hate to say it, but they all look the same to me for the most part and when

they’re sticking guns in your face, recollection just wasn’t there." Furthermore, about one month

after the robbery, police showed all three victims a photographic lineup containing Mr. Swoopes’

picture. All three of the victims failed to identify Mr. Swoopes as the gunman.

Not until sixteen months after the crimes was Mr. Swoopes first identified as being one of

the assailants. This occurred when he was in court awaiting trial on an unrelated burglary. At that

time, two of the victims had come to these court proceedings after reading in a newspaper article

about this unrelated burglary that had occurred on the same night and in the same neighborhood as

the robbery of the victims in this case. The victims were told by police beforehand that Mr.

Swooupes was a suspect in their case. Upon seeing Mr. Swoopes scuicd at the defense table, the twu

victims formed the opinion he was the assailant in their case. Mr. Swoopes was the only African-

American man in the court room.

The third victim was not in court when Mr. Swoopes was first identified by the other two

victims during court proceedings against Mr. Swoopes in the unrelated case. However, this third

victim (a female) was married to one of the two victims who came to the opinion Mr. Swoopes was

the assailant only after having seen him on trial in court and having been told he was a suspect. At

a police line-up conducted subsequently, one month after her husband identified Mr. Swoopes

(which was now some seventeen months after the crime), she too decided Mr. Swoopes was the

assailant. In making her identification, this victim relied on a facial scar to idenufy Mr. Swoopes,

even though none of the victims had ever previously mentioned the existence of a facial scar.

Mr. Swoopes had counsel for his trial, his direct appeal, and his petition for post-conviction

relief in the trial court. Mr. Swoopes’ post-conviction relief counsel petitioned the Arizona Court

of Appeals for review of the trial court’s decision, but refused to file a petition for review by the

Supreme Court of Arizona for discretionary review.

Mr. Swoopes proceeded pro se in federal district court. After the district court denied relief,

Mr. Swoopes file a pro se opening brief with the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. After the State of

Arizona filed its answering brief, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals ordered counsel be appointed

for Mr. Swoopes and set a new briefing schedule. The Federal Public Defender’s Office, through

undersigned counsel, represented Mr. Swoopes in the Ninth Circuit, then before this Court on a

petition for writ of certiorari when the Ninth Circuit affirmed Mr. Swoopes’ conviction, and again

before the Ninth Circuit when this Court remanded for consideration of its decision in O’ Sullivan

v. Bverckei, 526 U.S. 838, 115 S.Ct. 1728 (4999).

REASONS WHY THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

This Court should deny the petition for writ of certiorari because the Petitioners are merely

asking this Court to micro-manage the implementation of the Court’s decision in O’Sullivan v.

Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838, 199 S. Ct. 1728, 1733 (1999). However, the underlying opinion of the

Ninth Circuit in this case correctly states the rule this Court announced in O’Sullivan v. Boerckel

and then correctly follows that rule by analyzing whether, under Arizona law, a petition for review

to the state supreme court is an available part of Arizona’s ordinary appellate review procedure.

A review of other recent cases from the Ninth Circuit shows that court knows and applies this

Court’s rule. See e.g. Gatlin v. M.K. Madding, 189 F.3d 882, 887-88 (9" Cir. 1999). In the Gatlin

case, the Ninth Circuit concluded that California law required presentation of a discretionary review

petition to the California Supreme Court because it was part of "California’s ‘established, normal

[two-tiered] appellate review procedure ...." Id. at 888 (quoting O’ Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S.

at-, 119S.Ct. at 1732-33). In Mr. Swoopes’ case on the other hand, the Ninth Circuit found that

Arizona law did not require presentation of a discretionary review petition to the Arizona’s Supreme

Coun. The Ninth Cireust’o ruling in Mr. Swoopes’ case is based upe. its familiarity with aud

analysis of fifteen years of Arizona case Jaw in numerous cases before the Ninth Circuit.

Wwe

As the State of Arizona itself recognizes, this Court "*generally accord[s] great deference to

on

the interpretation and application of state law by the courts of appeals." State of Arizona’s

Respondents-Appellees’ Supplemental Brief on Remand From the United States Supreme Court, p.8

(quoting McMillan v. Monroe County, Alabama, - U.S. -, 117 S. Ct. 1734, 1737 (1997)(further

quotation omitted)(attached in Appendix A). Particularly in this case, the interpretation of Arizona

law by the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals should be followed, because that court has a long history

of dealing with the very point of law at issue in this case. The Ninth Circuit has delved into this

issue and rendered opinions on this point of law for almost a decade, beginning with Jennison v.

Goldsmith, 940 F.2d 1308 (9" Cir. 1991), and continuing through Binford v. Rhode, 116 F.3d 396

(9" Cir. 1997), aff'd in part, vacated in part sub nom., Ameen v. Rhode, 176 F.3d 481 (9" Cir.

1999)(Table).

In turn, the Ninth Circuit’s decision is based upon fifteen years of Arizona law that

unequivocally establishes the validity of the Ninth Circuit’s conclusion. Based upon the Arizona

Supreme Court’s comments underlying the rule and its case law between 1983 and 1998, there is no

doubt Arizona considers discretionary petitions for review to the state supreme court as not being

an ordinary part of Arizona’s appellate review process. The Arizona Supreme Court has specifically

advised counsel and defendants not to bring such reviews to the supreme court as a matter of course,

but to do so only under the extraordinary circumstances set forth in its rules - where there is a

substantial issue of law concerning matters of importance to the State of Arizona. The Arizona

Supreme Court has be» n aware of the Ninth Circuit’s interpretation of Arizona’s rule on this issue

since ihe $991 decision in Jennison, but in aii these years the Arizona Supreic Cour hes neve:

repudiated that interpretation and has never taken action to change its rule.

Petitioners have not been able to cite any Arizona precedent to the contrary of the Ninth

Circuit’s interpretation, nor could Petitioners, because there is none. The one case Petitioners have

presented to this Court concerns an unpublished order, by a single judge, which Petitioners’ counsel

knows full well to have no precedential value. Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p.5 & Appendix D

(citing and providing State v. Stephens, Arizona Court of Appeals No. 1 CA-CV 97-0458-PR,

Order, dated August 2, 1999). Indeed, Petitioners’ counsel has concealed from this Court that he

was counsel of record in that case, that he requested the Arizona Court of Appeals to publish that

order, that the court of appeals denied that request for publication, and that Arizona law (Rule 28(c),

Ariz.R.Civ.App.) thus provides the order has no precedential value. (Order, dated Aug.2, 1999, p.3

(showing Eric J. Olsson as counsel); Motion for Publication, dated Aug.4, 1999, by Eric J. Olsson);

Order, dated Feb. 14, 2000 (denying motion for publication)(attached in Appendices B.], B2, B.3.).

Citing authority that has no precedential value has been labeled by the Arizona courts as being “of

questionable propriety." State ex rel. Arizona *Lof Revenue v.

Ass'n, 958 P.2d 447, 452 n.1 (Ariz.App. 1998)(court says party’s “use” in its legal analysis of “an

unpublished decision without precedential value" is “of questionable propriety").

In short, the underlying Ninth Circuit decision in this case appropriately follows the analysis

and rule set forth by this Court in O’Sullivan v. Boerckel. In doing so, the Ninth Circuit concluded

that presentation of discretionary petitions for review to the Arizona Supreme Court is not part of

the ordinary appellate review process in Arizona and, thus, is not necessary in order for Arizona

defendants to exhaust state remedies for purposes of federal habeas corpus petitions. This Court

shuuld not engage in micro-manage ment of every coun OF apprals decision cuncemiug cach of the

fifty states’ appellate review processes where, as here, the court of appeals correctly states and

follows the rule and then arrives at a particular conclusion based upon unequivocal state law. The

Court should deny the petition for writ of certiorari because Petitioners have presented no grounds

warranting review. See Rule 10, Rules of the United States Supreme Court ("A petition for writ of

certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted error consists of erroneous factual findings or the

misapplication of a properly stated rule.")

ARGUMENT

A. THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT HAS EXPRESSLY AND REPEATEDLY STATED

THAT ARIZONA’S DISCRETIONARY REVIEW PROCEDURE IS OUTSIDE OF THE

ORDINARY APPELLATE REVIEW PROCESS AND HAS DIRECTED THAT SUCH

REVIEW TO THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT SHOULD NOT BE SOUGHT AS A

MATTER OF COURSE.

In O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, 526 U.S. 838, 199 S. Ct. 1728 (1999), this Court "announce[d]"

a rule “requiring state prisoners to file petitions for discretionary review [in their state Supreme

Court} when that review is part of the ordinary appellate review procedure in the State." Id. at 1733.

O’Sullivan requires a state prisoner to “give the state courts one full opportunity to resolve any

constitutiona! issues by invoking one complete round of the State’s established appellate review

process.” Id. at 1732.

In Swoopes v. Sublett, 196 F. 3d 1008 (9" Cir. 1999), the Ninth Circuit followed the rule

this Court announced in O'Sullivan, noting "the Supreme Court held that, in order to satisfy the

exhaustion requirement for federal habeas relief, state prisoners must file for discretionary review

in a state supreme court when that review is part of ordinary appellate review.” Id. at 1009.

Examining fifteen years of Arizona case law, the Ninth Circuit concluded that post-conviction

petition for review tothe Arizona Supreme Court is a icanedy wiich js “unavailable” withinthe ---

meaning of O’Sullivan. As the Ninth Circuit found, Arizona has declared that a “complete round"

of its ordinary appellate review process does not include discretionary review before the Arizona

Supreme Court. Id. at 1010. This reasoning and holding of the Ninth Circuit’s Swoopes decision

has been misconstrued by Petitioners in their petition for writ of certiorari. The Ninth Circuit

decision is correct.

A Ni . ,

1. Arizona and Illinois have different appellate review procedures.

Petitioners allege the Ninth Circuit is wrong because of their view that no meaningful

distinctions exist between the two-tiered appellate procedures of I]linois (the appellate procedures

involved in O’Sullivan) and of Arizona. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 6. A cursory review of

both appellate procedures might lead one to such conclusion. But closer analysis of the discretionary

rules of procedure and interpretive case law reveals two crucial distinctions between the rules and

case law of Illinois and Arizona. A review of the rules and case law establish that, in I]linois,

discretionary leave to appeal to the Illinois Supreme Court is part of a defendant’s right to appeal,

and so is an ordinary appellate procedure. In Arizona, however, a petition for review in the Arizona

Supreme Court is separate from (not part of) a defendant’s right to appeal and, thus, is outside of

the ordinary appellate review procedure.

First, Rule 315 of the I’linois Supreme Court Rules is titled "Leave to Appeal From the

Appellate Court to the Supreme Court." The Rule states in pertinent part, ". . . a petition for leave

to appeal to the Supreme Court from the Appellate Court may be filed by any party, including the

State, in any case not appealable from the Appellate Court as a matter of right." Illinois considers

necessary one at that. See e.g. People v. Quigley, 697 N.E.2d 735, 741 (Ill. 1998)(calling review

before the Illinois Supreme Court on such a petition for leave an "appeal" and "consider[ing] the

scope of review on appeal"); People v. Williams, 282 N.E.2d 503, 505 (Ill.App. 1972)(a defendant

waives his right to bring an issue in post-conviction proceedings if he fails to raise that issue in the

trial court, on direct appeal, or in a petition for leave to appeal to I]linois Supreme Court); United

States ex rel. Burks v. Washington, 1995 WL 642822 *5 (D.IIll. 1995), aff'd, Burks v. Nelson, 103

F.3d 133(7" Cir. 1996)(Table)(noting defendant was required under Illinois law to petition for leave

to appeal to the Ilinois Supreme Court). To Respondent’s knowledge, Illinois has never held that

a petition for discretionary review is not an appeal or that it is unnecessary for preservation of issues

for further review.

Rule 31.19 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal procedure is titled "Petition for Review." This

is in direct contrast to IIlinois’s title of "Leave to Appeal From the Appellate Court to the Supreme

Court." As the different names of these titles indicate, there is a significant, substantive distinction

between the rules of Arizona and those of Illinois. In Arizona, a petition for review to the Arizona

Supreme Court is not a part of an Arizona defendant’s right to direct appeal to the Court of Appeals

under the Arizona Constitution and Arizona statutory law. ARIZ. CONST., Art. 2, § 24; A.R.S. §§ 12-

120.21 (A)(1);12-120.24; 13-4031. See also Rule 31, Ariz.R.Crim.P. The right to direct appeal to

the Arizona Court of Appeals is the only ordinary appellate review procedure that Arizona

defendants have available. The Arizona Supreme Court has expressly indicated petitions for review

are discretionary and not an appeal within the meaning of the right to appeal under Rule 31. Moreno

v. Gonzales, 926 P.2d 205, 207 (Ariz. 1998). The Arizona Supreme Court has also directed that

[u}nce a defendant has cxercised his right to direct appeal, furthers eview inthis Couli should “not

be sought as a matter of course." 1d. at 208 (emphasis added). The Arizona Supreme Court further

noted "we would not have encouraged discretionary filings, by including a petition for review within

Rule 32.1(f)." Id.'

' The Arizona Supreme Court, answering a question certified by the Ninth Circuit in Binford

v. Rhode, 116 F.3d at 400, held that a petition for review to the Arizona Court of Appeals from

denial of a post conviction petition in the trial court is not an "appeal" within the meaning of Rule

32.1(f), Ariz.R.Crim.P. Rule 32.1(f) states post conviction relief is available where failure to appeal

from the judgment, sentence, or both within the prescribed time was without fault of defendant.

10

Second, the case Jaw concerning these procedures is similarly contrasting: In Arizona, the

state supreme court has consistently and clearly maintained for fifteen years, from the inception of

the 1983 amendment to the rule and continuing through a recent 1998 opinion, that an Arizona

defendant exhausts his state remedies by appealing his case to the Arizona court of appeals and that

he need not, and should not, seek review in the state supreme court because that is not part of the

ordinary appellate review procedure. See Argument A.2, infra. In sharp contrast, however, there

7 is "no such Illinois Supreme Court decision" that indicates an Illinois defendant need not seek review

via a petition for leave to appeal to the state supreme court. United States ex rel. Burks v.

Washington, 1995 WL 642822 *5. In fact, the Illinois federal district court in Washington

specifically compared the “clear and unambiguous” statements of the Arizona Supreme Court in

Shattuck and Sandon, as discussed by the Ninth Circuit in United State v. Harmon, to the opposite

situation in Illinois, and found no similar decision or decisions. Id, at *4-*5. Moreover, as noted

above, other Illinois decisions indicate an Illinois defendant commits procedural default for state

purposes if he fails to seek such review from the state supreme court. See e.g. People v. Williams,

282 N.E.2d at 505.

In suamary, Ilinois-considers*distre‘ionary Feview to its appenate courts as pat of a

defendant’s right to appeal. Arizona, on the other hand, considers discretionary review to its

appellate courts, not an appeal. This distinction, for federal habeas exhaustion purposes, makes

discretionary review available as part of the ordinary appellate review process in Illinois but

unavailable as part of the ordinary appellate review process in Arizona, within the context of

O’Sullivan.

1]

2. The Arizona Supreme Court has expressly held defendants in Arizona need

not seek review before it to properly exhaust state remedies for federal habeas

purposes.

Petitioner alleges the Ninth Circuit and this Court have misread State v. Sandon, 777 P.2d

220 (1989). The Ninth Circuit, however, did not base its decision about Arizona Jaw only on the

Sandon case, but rather upon the comments and cases of the Arizona Supreme Court over a fifteen

year period, from 1983 to 1998. Petitioners ignore this substantial history in Arizona, as well as the

fact that the Arizona Supreme Court has been fully aware of the Ninth Circuit interpretation of its

law but has never repudiated that interpretation or taken steps to change the rule as interpreted.

Moreover, Petitioners are wrong about the plain import of Sandon.

In Sandon, the Arizona Supreme Court expressly held a defendant exhausts state remedies

once the Court of Appeals decides the issues presented to it, even though the defendant never

subsequently presents those issues to the Arizona Supreme Court via a discretionary petition for

review. It is Petitioners who misread Sandon by believing its holding concerns only successive

petitions for discretionary review. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 7-8. Petitioners err by ignoring

the fact Sandon relied upon and adopted the blanket holding of State v. Shattuck, 684 P.2d 154

(Ariz. 1984), a cuse thai dealt with a first petition fo: discretionary icvicw fullowing a Zireet appeai

to the state court of appeals.

In Shattuck, the Arizona Supreme Court issued an express and broad holding that, except in

cases carrying a life sentence or the death penalty, a decision by the court of appeals exhausts a

defendant’s right to appeal in Arizona. Id. at 157. The Arizona Supreme Court based its broad

holding in part on the commentary to Rule 31.19 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, which

was added when the rule was amended in 1983. That commentary contemplated that discretionary

12

review to the state supreme court "will not be sought as a matter of course." Id. (emphasis added).

As the Arizona Supreme Court later stated in Sandon:

While Shattuck involved a discussion of the role of counsel in cases appealed

according to Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738, 87 S. Ct. 1396, 18 L.Ed. 2d 493

(1967), the considerations are the same when discretionary review is sought in this

Court pursuant to Rule 31.19. “Once the defendant has been given the appeal to

which he has a right, state remedies have been exhausted." Shattuck, 140 Ariz. at

585, 684 P. 2d at 157. Not only is this Court not "required to accept petitions for

review in Anders type of cases," id., we are not required to accept them in any case.

Id. at 584, 684 P. 2d at 156.

Sandon, 777. P.2d at 221 (emphasis added).

Contrary to Petitioners’ reading, Sandon does not conclude that state remedies are exhausted

because a successive petition for review is involved. The words "procedural default" do not appear

anywhere in the opinion. This indicates the Arizona Supreme Court did not limit its holding to

successive petitions for review, as Petitioners claim. Indeed, had the state supreme court intended

its statement only to apply to successive petitions as Petitioner alleges, the Court would have clearly

said so. Petitioner cites no case which supports its reading of Sandon. All cases in the Ninth Circuit,

and this Court in O’Sullivan, read Sandon as the Arizona Supreme Court’s express statement that

Arizona defendants are not required to (and should not) file discretionary petitions for review in the

Arizona Supreme Court to complete the Arizona appellate review process and to exhaust state

remedies for federal habeas purposes.”

? This Court cited Sandon as an example of a state court which expressly stated it does not

wish to have an opportunity to review constitutional claims before those claims are presented to a

federal habeas court. O’Sullivan, 119 S. Ct. at 1733-34. Every Ninth Circuit case interpreting

Sandon and Shattuck agrees with this reading. Swoopes v. Sublett, 196 F. 3d 1008 (9" Cir. 1999)

(Sandon holds that once a defendant has been given the appeal to which he has a right, state remedies

have been exhausted); Coley v. Gonzales, 55 F. 3d 1385, 1388 (9" Cir. 1995)(same); Thomas vy.

Goldsmith, 979 F.2d 746 (9" Cir. 1992)(same); Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F. 2d 1457, 1459 (9 Cir.

1992)(same); Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F. 2d 1308, 1309-10 (9" Cir. 1991)(same).

13

Pena

Petitioners also ignore the Arizona Supreme Court’s recent decision in Moreno v. Gonzales,

926 P. 2d 205 (Ariz. 1998). That decision decided questions the Ninth Circuit had certified to the

state supreme court in two cases, Binford v. Rhode, 116 F.3d at 39, and Moreno v. Gonzalez, 116

F.3d 409, 411 (9" Cir. 1997), concerning exhaustion issues within the meaning of Rule 32.1 (f).”

In its decision, the Arizona Supreme Court expressly held petitions for discretionary review are not

appeals. 962 P.2d at 207. The state supreme court’s opinion also confirms that Shattuck and Sandon

"squarely define the nature and scope of discretionary review by petition for review" in the Arizona

Supreme Court. Id. The Arizona Supreme Court reaffirmed that once a defendant has exercised

his right to direct appeal, discretionary review to that court should not be sought as a matter of

course. Id. at 208. In other words, discretionary petitions for review in Arizona are not part of the

ordinary appellate review procedure."

‘Rule 32.1(f) provides a petition for post conviction relief is available where: "The

defendant’s failure to appeal from the judgement, sentence, or both within the prescribed time was

without fault on the defendant’s part."

* The Arizona Attorney General, which was also counsel for the State of Arizona in Binford

and Moreno, both in the Ninth Circuit and the Arizona Supreme Court, never argued to the Arizona

Supreme Court that its rule about exhaustion was being misinterpreted by the Ninth Circuit and

never requested that the state supreme court straighten out this alleged error. Siaie oF Arizona’s

Respondents-Appellees’ Answering Brief, Arizona Supreme Court No. CV-97-0268-CQ, pp.20-21,

dated 11/4/97 (attached in Appendix C). Afterward, in supplemental briefs filed in the Ninth Circuit

in the Binford case, the Arizona Attorney General conceded Binford’s habeas petition was not

precluded concerning the voluntariness of his plea and effectiveness of his counsel because of the

Arizona Supreme Court decisions in Shattuck and Sandon. State of Arizona’s Respondents-

Appellees’ Supplemental Answering Brief, Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals No. 96-15189, pp.5,7,

dated 11/27/98 (attached in Appendix D). See also State of Arizona’s Brief in Opposition, Swoopes

v. Sublett, Supreme Court of the United States No. 98-7357, p.17 & n.4 ("Arizona prisoners were

justifiably confused" by these decisions to believe they need not seek review to that court to exhaust

state remedies). Attorneys for Binford, arguing the state court of appeals had actually decided those

two issues, asked that the district court’s order finding "no exhaustion" and "preclusion" on these

two issues be reversed and vacated. Supplemental Reply Brief of Petitioner/Appellant, Ninth Circuit

Court of Appeals No. 96-15189, pp.1-9,22-23, dated 12/28/98 (attached in Appendix E). The Ninth

14

This trilogy of Shattuck, Sandon, and Moreno make it abundantly clear that in Arizona,

petitions for discretionary review in the Arizona Supreme Court are not "a matter of course" but

rather are extraordinary, that is, outside the ordinary appellate review procedure. Additionally, these

cases also express the Arizona Supreme Court’s clear statement that it does not want the opportunity

to review constitutional issues once the Arizona Court of Appeals has ruled on them because of its

view the Arizona appellate review procedure is complete at that time. The Arizona Supreme Court

has maintained this position consistently since 1983, when the rule was enacted, and has never

disavowed that rule or repudiated the Ninth Circuit’s interpretation of that rule.

Petitioners are unable to provide any contrary authority. Instead, Petitioners improperly cite

an unpublished order from the Arizona Court of Appeals as support for its proposition that this Court

and the Ninth Circuit have mischaracterized Arizona law. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 5 (citing

August 2, 1999 order in State v. Stephens, attached in Petitioners’ Appendix D) . This Court should

ignore this unpublished order and strike its reference from the brief and the copy of it from the

appendix.

Petitioners engage in conduct of "questionable propriety" in citing that unpublished order to

the Court, not only because Petitionc.:s Know. Arizona regards the order as barcie sc preccdcntial

value, but also because Petitioners conceal from this Court that their counsel was attorney of record

in that case, that their counsel sought to have the order published so it could be cited as precedent,

and that the Arizona Court of Appeals denied the request to publish the order. State ex rel. Arizona

Dep’t of Revenue v. Havasue Dunes Timeshare Ass’n, 958 P.2d 447, 452 n.1 (Ariz.App. 1998)

Circuit subsequently reversed and vacated the district court’s decisicn in part, in an unpublished

opinion. Ameen v. Rhode, 176 F.3d 481 (9" Cir. 1999)(Table).

15

’ "

(party’s "use" of " unpublished decision without precedential value" is "of questionable propriety"):

Appendices B.1 - B.3 (Order, dated Aug.2, 1999, p.3, showing Eric J. Olsson as counsel: Motion for

Publication, dated Aug.4, 1999, by Eric J. Olsson; Order, dated Feb.14, 2000, denying motion).

Arizona clearly regards an unpublished order as something that has no precedential value.

Rule 28 of the Arizona Rules of Civil Appellate Procedure establishes orders as having lesser

significance than written opinions, noting that such orders are a “disposition of a matter before the

court other than by opinion or memorandum decision.” Rule 28(a)(3). The rule further establishes

that even unpublished memorandum decisions (which are issued by three judge panels) "shall not

be regarded as precedent nor cited in any court" except for limited purposes not at issue here. Rule

28(c). Had the Arizona appellate court wished unpublished orders (particularly those by a single

judge) to be cited for any reason, it would have included them in Rule 28(c). Instead, the rule does

not expressly allow citation of unpublished orders for any purpose. The rule is clarified by Arizona

case law, which holds that publication of a court decision or order is the key to whether the decision

or order has any precedential value and may be cited as authority of the courts. See Francis v.

Arizona Dep’t of Transportation, MVD, 963 P.2d 1092, 1094 (Ariz. App. 1998)(a decision of the

appellate coui becomes "binding precedent when ii [is} piivlisued”); State v. Smith, O1¢ P24 228.

231 (Ariz.App. 1991)("unpublished memorandum decision" of appellate court "has no precedential

value"); State v. Poli, 776 P.2d 1077, 1078 (Ariz.App. 1989)(the appellate court issues published

opinions, which have precedential value, when necessary "for the benefit of the bench, the bar, and

the public;" otherwise, the court will issue unpublished orders); Barry v. Arizona Dep’t of Economic

Security, 542 P.2d 1138 (Ariz.App. 1984)(the court issues a "published opinion,” as opposed to "an

unpublished order," when necessary "to declare the proper rule and avoid confusion"). Therefore,

16

Petitioners’ improper citation to this Court of an unpublished order by a single judge, which

Petitioners know has no precedential value, should be resoundingly rejected in consideration of the

petition for writ of certiorari.”

The Arizona Supreme Court is undoubtedly aware of the Ninth Circuit’s Swoopes decision.

If Swoopes is incorrectly decided and the Arizona Supreme Court consider petitions for discretionary

review as part of the ordinary appellate review process, it can correct the Ninth Circuit error by court

rule, order, or opinion. Under its rule making authority, the Arizona Supreme Court can change

procedure in any Arizona Court. ARIZ.CONST. art. VI, § 5 (The Supreme Court shall have...

[p]ower to make rules relative to all procedural matters in any court); A.R.S. § 12-109(A); State ex

rel. Napolitano v. Brown, 982 P.2d 815, 817 (Ariz. 1999)("constitutionally vested, exclusive

rulemaking authority" resides with the Arizona Supreme Court); Slayton v. Shumway, 800 P.2d

590, 592 (Ariz. 1990)(such rulemaking authority is "broad" and exists "in all cases, criminal and

civil"). However, as noted above, the Arizona Supreme Court has been aware of the Ninth Circuit’s

interpretation of the Arizona appellate review process since at least 1991 (the Jennison and Harmon

cases) but has taken no action to disavow that interpretation or to change the rule, and instead has

> Thi. unpublished court of appeals order is unreliable as an indicator of Arizona law, not

just because it was issued by a single judge, nor because the judge refused to publish it as precedent,

nor even because the order appears to have been issued without briefing by a party opponent (the

defendant in the Stephens case), but also because it lacks analysis, such as that conducted by the

Ninth Circuit in Swoopes, of Arizona case law. As earlier stated, the trilogy of Shattuck, Sandon,

and Moreno, expressly place petitions for discretionary review outside the standard appellate review

process in Arizona. Moreover, the unpublished order seems to be based upon a misperception that

the Ninth Circuit, in its 1991 Jennison case, nullified Arizona’s procedural rule and that Arizona

would thus have to take some action subsequent to this Court’s O’Sullivan decision in order to

reverse Jennison.

17

reaffirmed that interpretation in its own recent opinion in Moreno v. Gonzales. The Arizona

Supreme Court remains silent because Swoopes is correctly decided, as was Harmon.

In conclusion, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals understands and correctly applied the rule

this Court announced in O’Sullivan v. Boerckel. In the instant Swoopes case, the Ninth Circuit

concluded that discretionary review to Arizona’s state supreme court is not necessary to exhaust state

remedies for federal habeas purposes because of its finding that such review is not part of Arizona’s

ordinary appellate review process. In Gatlin v. Madding, the Ninth Circuit concluded otherwise with

respect to California’s discretionary review to that state’s supreme court, because of its finding that

such review is part of California’s ordinary appellate review process. The Ninth Circuit, and all

other circuit courts of appeal, will continue to decide this question for each of the remaining states.

Pursuant to this Court’s rules and practice, however, this Court will not grant petitions for writ of

certiorari to undertake review of each circuit court of appeals decision of each of the fifty states

appellate review procedures, particularly because -- as Petitioners agree -- those courts "generally

[are] accord[ed] great deference to the interpretation and application of state law by the courts of

appeals.’" State of Arizona’s Respondents-Appellees’ Supplemental Brief on Remand From the

- United States supreme Coun, p.8 (yuciing McMilian v. Monroe Couniy, Alzbama, - 1.6. -, 147

S.Ct. 1734, 1737 (1997)(attached in Appendix A). Accord South Carolina v. Catawba Indian Tribe,

Inc., 476 U.S. 498, 511 (1986)("the Court of Appeals is in a better position to evaluate such an issue

of state law than we are"); Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 346 n.10 (1976)(reviewing Supreme

Court practice to defer to and uphold judgments of courts of appeal! on issues of state law unless their

conclusions are "unreasonable"). This Court leaves implementation and application of its decisions

to the federal district and circuit courts. Rule 10, Rules of the Supreme Court.

18

3. Swoopes is correctly decided and comity mandates Arizona should be

allowed to administer its discretionary appellate review system free from federal

interference.

This Court has noted comity interests drive the exhaustion rule. O’Sullivan, 119 S. Ct. at

1733. The Arizona Supreme Court has expressly held state remedies are exhausted, that is outside

the ordinary review procedure and unavailable under O’Sullivan, once a defendant’s exercises his

right to direct appeal. This Court should not, and has stated it will not, "ignore a state law" which

expressly provides that discretionary review, whether in Arizona’s Supreme Court or Court of

Appeals, is not available and not part of the ordinary appellate review procedure. Id. at 1734. To

ignore Arizona’s Clear statement of its rules and its wishes that Arizona defendants not seek review

in the state supreme court is to disserve comity.

Swoopes is correctly decided. Nevertheless, Petitioners speculate Swoopes will deprive the

Arizona Supreme Court of its jurisdiction in innumerable cases, dramatically increase the number

of claims that federal habeas courts must address on the merits, offend comity and retroactively

apply to all cases since Sandon was published in 1989. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 8. None

of these assertions 1s supported by facts or law.

As noteu it) O’ Sullivan, since 1990 South Carolina iias made it piain thet c deieadant ueced

not seek discretionary review in the Supreme Court after an adverse decision in the state court of

appeals in order to exhaust state remedies. O’Sullivan, 119 S.Ct. at 1733-1735. South Carolina has

not changed this rule and its supreme court is doing what it is supposed to be doing - accepting

review only on issues of broad significance for South Carolina. "Claims of violations of well-

established constitutional rules, important as they may be to individual litigants, do not ordinarily

present such issues." Id. at 1739. Moreover, pro se defendants and attorneys who have issues of

19

broad significance for Arizona will still present those claims for discretionary review. A

discretionary petition canst hurt and will only potentially help their litigation. Petitioners’ contrary

argument, that the Arizona Supreme Court will somehow lose its jurisdictional base and ability to

control Arizona law is perplexing and unfounded. Not only will defendants continue to bring issues

to the state supreme court if those issues might possibly result in review (i.e., an "important" or

"substantial" issue of state law in which a "serious injustice” has occurred, Rule 31.19 & 1983

Comment, Ariz.R.Crim.P.), but so will the State of Arizona whenever it feels a decision of the court

of appeals is in error. It is through these encouraged petitions that the Arizona Supreme Court (as

does the South Carolina Supreme Court) obtains jurisdiction in issues of broad state significance.

Therefore, the Arizona Supreme Court will still continue to control Arizona law as it always had

done, including through publication of its own opinions or depublication of court of appeals

opinions.

Petitioner’s claim that, because of Swoopes federal courts will have to decide many more

claims on the merits, does not speak to comity but rather to Petitioner’s convenience. Pro se

defendants, because of Swoopes, have a simple exhaustion rule which benefits not only Arizona

couns, bui also unsophisticated pro se defriudants whowwill not ve tae last vicui OF comple acec

procedural default rules. This case illustrates the point. Mr. Swoopes had no counsel during his

litigation in federal district court. He sailed the complex sea of procedural default alone. The Ninth

Circuit appointed counsel on appeal after the State of Arizona and Mr. Swoopes filed their opening

briefs. Procedural default has been raised by Petitioner at every step of the litigation. The district

court reached the merits of only one of six claims. Federal courts have the duty to decide federal

20

|

constitutional claims so Jong as they are first presented to the state courts. Swoopes only requires

federal courts to exercise their duty in these cases as required by 28 U.S.C. § 2254.

Petitioners also allege Swoopes will be retroactively applied to all cases since Sandon was

decided in 1989, thereby inundating the Ninth Circuit with "thousands of § 2254 habeas cases.”

Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 3, 8. First, the issue of retroactivity is not relevant to the question

of whether Swoopes was correctly decided by the Ninth Circuit or to whether the petition for writ

of certiorari should be granted. Indeed, the question of retroactivity is not presented to the Supreme

Court in Petitioners’ petition and its resolution must await another day. Second, Petitioners present

no analysis to support their assertion and, in fact, Petitioners know and have already argued in the

Arizona case cited to this Court that the O’Sullivan rule could only be applied prospectively, to

future cases or possibly pending cases that are not yet final. See Motion for Reconsideration, p.3,

dated July 9, 1999, State v. Stephens, Arizona Court of Appeals No. 1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

(Petitioners’ counsel stating that "[t}he rule [announced in O'Sullivan v. Boerckel] applies to all

prospective § 2254 habeas litigants .. . .")(emphasis added)(attached in Appendix B.4). Moreover,

as a practical matter, in a great many if not most of those cases no litigation would likely be possible

because they have been iully comtiuded ana sentences fuliy served. . —e

Petitioners additionally claim that Swoopes somehow offends comity because it will decrease

the number of discretionary review petitions filed in the Arizona Supreme Court. Petition for Writ

of Certiorari at 4, 6, 8. Petitioners’ argument is based upon its clearly mistaken view that the

Arizona Supreme Court has "never ... discouraged or prohibited timely petitions for discretionary

review of meritorious claims.” Id, at 4 (calling a contrary belief "imagined"). However, as already

discussed above, the Arizona Supreme Court has unequivocally stated since the 1983 amendment

21

to the discretionary review rule that such review should "not be sought as a matter of course.” Rule

31.19, Ariz.R.Crim.P., Comment [to 1983 amendment]; Moreno v. Gonzalez, 962 P.2d at 208

(Arizona Supreme Court reiterating in 1998 that "[o]nce a defendant has exercised his right to direct

appeal, further review in this court should ‘not be sought as a matter of course’" and, further, that

it “would not have encouraged discretionary filings") (citing the 1983 Comment). Without doubt,

the Arizona Supreme Court has not only "discouraged" discretionary review (except for issues of

“substantial issues" of state wide importance that involve "serious injustice, Rule 31.19, Comment),

but it has repeatedly and explicitly stated that such review is not part of the ordinary appellate review

procedure in criminal cases. Therefore, contrary to Petitioners’ claims, Swoopes serves comity

because it is entirely consistent with the clear statements and desires of the Arizona Supreme Court.

Finally, Petitioners mistakenly claim that the Swoopes decision will cause "chaotic parallel

state and federal litigation," because the decision will permit defendants to proceed to federal court

on habeas petitions while at the same time seeking discretionary review in the Arizona Supreme

Court. Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 9. Petitioners’ assertions are wrong because simultaneous

litigation in federal district court on habeas petitions and in other courts (whether state or even the

Supreme Court) auready is something that occurs und is easily dealt with by tie cuuris. See JAMES

S. LIEBMAN & RANDY HERTZ, Federal Habeas Corpus Practice and Procedure, §§ 5.1a, 5.2, 5.3, pp.

216-17, 249-51, 251-52 (3° Ed. 1998). Simultaneous litigation already can and does occur because

of the strict time limitations and tolling rules of the Antiterrorism and Effective Death Penalty Act

of 1996 (AEDPA), or because of the need to seek relief in the federal courts during pretrial criminal

proceedings in state courts (e.g., for illegal custody or untimely hearing issues) or in death penalty

case where immediate relief is necessary to avoid irreparable harm. Id. Any potential "trouble" that

22

might arise from such simultaneous litigation is easily remedied by the federal court either abstaining

from deciding the case under — v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), or granting a stay of or

deferring adjudication (i.e., holding it in abeyance) of the habeas proceedings until the proceedings

in the other court are concluded. LIEBMAN at pp.216, 251 & n.10, 252. The potential trouble

Petitioners assert from the Swoopes decision is even more easily averted, because a defendant has

only 30 days under Rule 21.19(a), Ariz.R.Crim.P., from the decision of the court of appeals to file

a petition seeking discretionary review. By the time a defendant brings a habeas petition in federal

court, Petitioners will know if defendant has such review pending or decided and will alert the

district court and seek a stay or deferral. Therefore, contrary to Petitioners’ claims, the Swoopes

decision clearly will cause no troublesome simultaneous, wasteful, or conflicting litigation.

23

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, this Court should deny the petition for writ of certiorari.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED: April 5, 2000

FREDRIC F. KAY

Federal Public Defender

District of Arizona

\ i len bey

Javigf Chon-Lopez

se Federal Public Defender

Counsel of Record

(Sec A Aes or om

Brian I. Rademacher

Office of the Federal Public Defender

97 E. Congress, Suite 130

Tucson, Arizona 85701-1716

Attorney for Respondent

24

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 94-16033

SAMUEL W. SWOOPES,

PETITIONER-APPELLANT,

-vs-

TERRY L. STEWART, et al.,

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA,

No. CIV-93-00471-JMR

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES’ SUPPLEMENTAL BRIEF ON

REMAND FROM THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

ERIC J. OLSSON

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

400 W. CONGRESS, BLDG. S-315

TUCSON, ARIZONA 85701-1367

TELEPHONE: (520) 628-6504

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

en A es EE 8 a ee Re eh ii

SEAT te OF FUP ke WER a eh Reha Re ES iv

QUESTIONS PREGENTEO FOR REVIED 655k cic cc bane eieads V

Dee Gee SO SU ea eee kD OA OES OES RR DOSS 1

SAE SOW PI 60k 6 ha ed a eee a ee ee 1

Po) ne re er a ee ema ee ee a ar ee ee a eee 2

I

PETITIONS FOR DISCRETIONARY ARIZONA SUPREME COURT REVIEW OF

THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS’ DISPOSITION OF CRIMINAL

APPEALS AND OF PETITIONS FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF WERE

“PART OF THE ORDINARY APPELLATE REVIEW PROCEDURE IN THE

STATE” IN THE YEARS 1986 THROUGH 1991, AND THE PROCEDURE WAS

AVAILABLE DURING THAT TIME TO SAMUEL SWOOPES, THE SAME AS

TO “ANY PARTY” AS PROVIDED BY RULE 31.19, ARIZONA RULES OF

CRIMINAL PROCEDURE; THEREFORE, SWOOPES PROCEDURALLY

DEFAULTED ALL CLAIMS FOR WHICH HE DID NOT TIMELY SEEK THAT

oo a ae ar ae ae a are oar er ee peer ae ee ae ere ee ee eee 3

I]

BECAUSE PETITIONS FOR DISCRETIONARY ARIZONA SUPREME COURT

REVIEW OF THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS’ DISPOSITION OF

CRIMINAL APPEALS AND OF PETITIONS FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF

ARE “PART OF THE ORDINARY APPELLATE REVIEW PROCEDURE IN

THE STATE,” THIS COURT MUST MAKE CLEAR THAT ARIZONA STATE

-PRISONERS WHO WISH TO EXHAUST CLAIMS PRESENTED TO THE

ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS MUST SEEK DISCRETIONARY REVIEW BY

THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT BEFORE RAISING THOSE CLAIMS IN A

PETITION FOR WRIT OF FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS... .............. 7

CREE 6.9 4h le ak 4 ae Oe eee A ee oe oe KS 17

‘way we yy Ce Bo >» ee aa er a Ce ee 18

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE ....... 2c c eee sce cree ces enrecces 19

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES .......- 2s se eeesesssscccereaes 20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 96 5S. Ce. D074 CIBTE) 0. wee eines 8

a © Pees ee eee ee CO ROED kG ae eeecawwa eee eeae

ee err ne 12

Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457 (Sth Cir. 1992) ...........0c0000- 5-6, 11-13, 17

Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F2d 1308 (9th Cir. 1991) ....... eee e eee 1, 4-6, 10-13

Lehman Brothers v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386, 94 S. Ct. 1741 (1974) ..........0.0.. 16

Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 113 S. Ct. 838 (1993) .................0.4. 8

McMillian v. Monroe County, Alabama, __—saU«.S. ___, 117 S. Ct. 1734 (1977)... .... 8

Moreno v, Gonzalez, 192 Ariz. 131, 962 P.2d 205 (1998)................... 16

O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 119 S$. Ct. 1728 (1999) 2... ww cee cee 1-8, 12-15, 17

Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 106 S. Ct. 1292 (1986) ................. 8

State v. Sandon, 161 Ariz. 157, 777 P.2d 220 (1989) ................. 4, 6-8, 10-14

State v. Shattuck, 140 Ariz. 582, 684 P.2d 154 (1984) ..................2.5. 15

State v. Swoopes, 155 Ariz. 432, 747 P.2d 593 (App. 1987) ........00000-000. 1

UNITED STATES CODE

22° Peer re Ser eee eee. eee See ee ee ee ao ee ee iil

ee eer ee ee ee eee eee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee ili

Yo oe ere er re ee ae a ee ee ee oe ee eee iil

RULES

ee 2a ees Se ee GI ee eS ack A ee Ae Oe eens 5, 9-10, 14-15

Se Bees Ce ie I a Oe a oe OS OR eae eae 5

ill

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

These proceedings derive from a petition for writ of habeas corpus pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 2254. This Court has appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§

1291 and 2253. Swoopes remains imprisoned within the Arizona Department of

Corrections system.

iv

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Were petitions for discretionary Arizona Supreme Court review of the

Arizona Court of Appeals’ disposition of criminal appeals and of petitions for post-

conviction relief “part of the ordinary appellate review procedure in the state” in

the years 1986 through 1991, i.e., was the procedure available during that time to

Samuel Swoopes the same as to “any party” as provided by Rule 31.19, Arizona

Rules of Criminal Procedure?

2. Are petitions for discretionary Arizona Supreme Court review of the

Arizona Court of Appeals” disposition of criminal appeals and of petitions for post-

conviction relief “part of the ordinary appellate review procedure in the state”

today, and must Arizona state prisoners who wish to exhaust claims presented to

the Arizona Court of Appeals seek discretionary review by the Arizona Supreme

Court before raising those claims in a petition for writ of federal habeas corpus?

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts and procedural history of this case are summarized in State v.

Swoopes, 155 Ariz. 432, 432-33, 747 P.2d 593, 593-94 (App. 1987), and in the

district court’s order and memorandum opinion (CR 11), and they are set forth in

detail in Respondents’ second Answering Brief, dated December 15, 1997. There

appears to be no need to repeat them here.

On appeal, this Court affirmed the district court’s denial of habeas relief,

holding all but one of Swoopes’ claims precluded due to unexcused procedural

defaults. Swoopes v. Sublett, No. 94-16033 at 2-3 (mem. decision, May 8,

1998). From that judgment Swoopes sought a writ of certiorari in the United

States Supreme Court. The Supreme Court vacated this Court’s memorandum

opinion and remanded the matter for reconsideration in light of O’Sullivan v.

Boerckel, 119 S. Ct. 1728 (1999). This Court in turn ordered supplemental

briefing on what should be the appropriate disposition of Swoopes’ case in light

of Boerckel. (Order, filed June 22, 1999.)

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENTS

O'Sullivan v. Boerckel changes nothing in Swoopes’ case. It merely reiterates

the rule announced by this Court almost a decade ago in Jennison v. Goldsmith,

940 F2d 1308, 1310-11 and n.4 (9th Cir. 1991), that to exhaust state remedies for

purposes of federal habeas corpus, state prisoners must seek discretionary review

by the state’s highest court if that remedy is available and a part of ordinary

appellate procedure. Thus, because that common remedy was available to

Swoopes, he procedurally defaulted all claims for which he failed to seek that

remedy. This Court reached the correct result before in Swoopes’ case, and

Boerckel does not change that outcome.

However, because erroneous dictum in Boerckel about Arizona law portends

massive confusion for courts and litigants alike, this Court must make absolutely

clear to Arizona state prisoners that, despite any suggestion to the contrary in

Boerckel, they must petition for discretionary review in the Arizona Supreme

Court in order to exhaust claims that were presented to the Arizona Court of

Appeals, and that they must include in the petition for review all such claims that

they wish to preserve for federal habeas review.

ARGUMENTS

I

PETITIONS FOR DISCRETIONARY ARIZONA SUPREME COURT

REVIEW OF THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS’ DISPOSITION

OF CRIMINAL APPEALS AND OF PETITIONS FOR POST-

CONVICTION RELIEF WERE “PART OF THE ORDINARY

APPELLATE REVIEW PROCEDURE IN THE STATE” IN THE

YEARS 1986 THROUGH 1991, AND THE PROCEDURE WAS

AVAILABLE DURING THAT TIME TO SAMUEL SWOOPES, THE

SAME AS TO “ANY PARTY” AS PROVIDED BY RULE 31.19,

ARIZONA RULES OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE; THEREFORE,

SWOOPES PROCEDURALLY DEFAULTED ALL CLAIMS FOR

WHICH HE DID NOT TIMELY SEEK THAT REMEDY.

O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 119 S. Ct. 1728 (1999), announced the following

rule: to exhaust state remedies for federal habeas purposes, “state prisoners [must]

file petitions for discretionary review when that review is part of the ordinary

appellate review procedure in the State.” 119 S. Ct. at 1733. The remedy of

discretionary review was available in 1987, and Swoopes timely sought such

review of his direct appeal but failed to include all his claims in the petition for

review. Discretionary review aisoO was aVaiiabdie in i9¢1, but Swoopes futied to

file a timely petition for Arizona Supreme Court review of the Court of Appeals’

affrmance of the denial of his petition for post-conviction relief—even after the

Court of Appeals granted him an extension of the filing deadline.’ Therefore,

under the rule announced in Boerckel, Swoopes defaulted all but one of his habeas

1. The procedural history of Swoopes’ claims is described in detail in

Respondents’ second Answering Brief, dated December 15, 1997, at pages 7-12.

3

claims by failing to seek the available state-court remedy of discretionary review.

See Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F2d 1308, 1310-11 and n.4 (9th Cir. 1991)

(“Although review under Rule 31.19 is discretionary, it is nevertheless a state

remedy that remains available”). This Court correctly held those claims

precluded. a

Dictum in the Boerckel opinion, however, erroneously cites State v. Sandon,

161 Ariz. 157, 777 P.2d 220 (1989), as an example of a state court that “do[es]

not wish to have the opportunity to review constitutional claims before those

claims are presented to a federal habeas court.” 119 S. Ct. at 1734. According

to that dictum, Sandon means that petitions for discretionary review by the Arizona

Supreme Court are “unwelcome,” at minimum, or that the remedy might even be

“unavailable,” if the Arizona Supreme Court has declared it so. Jd. Apparently,

that misperception of the meaning of Sandon is what motivated the United States

Supreme Court to order reconsideration in Swoopes’ case.

Boerckel’s reference to Sandon. is merely dictum because the Boerckel

decision turned on Illinois procedural law, not Arizona law, and Boercket held

only, as this Court did in Jennison, that state prisoners must seek discretionary

review if it is available as part of ordinary appellate procedures. 119 S. Ct. at

1734. While speculating that discretionary review might be unavailable or at least

“discouraged” in Arizona, the Boerckel Court did not actually decide that question

—properly so, because the court had received no briefing from any source

knowledgeable about Arizona’s procedures. Thus, not having decided the issue

of availability in Arizona, Boerckel at most merely requires this Court to make a

determin tior of the availability of the remedy with respect to Swoopes.

Roerckel’s broad rule, that discretionary review must be exhausted if

available, supports this Court’s previous findings of procedural preclusion because

“merely reiterates what this Court held in 1991 with respect to Arizona’s

procedures—that federal law dictates federal exhaustion requirements, and that

site prisoners must exhaust all available state remedies with respect to each claim,

ucluding discretionary review, if discretionary review is available. Jennison, 940

12d at 1310-11 and n.4; Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457, 1461 (9th Cir. 1992).

Roerckel’s dictum, on the other hand, is utterly wrong about Arizona Jaw.

In Arizona, discretionary review of a decision by the Court of Appeals in a

criminal case is available to “any party,” under Rule 31.19, Arizona Rules of

Criminal Procedure (promulgated by the Arizona Supreme Court), and it was

available to “any party” in 1987 and 1991, under the same rule, when Swoopes

defaulted his claims. The statistics reported by the Arizona Supreme Court make

clear that petitions for discretionary review are very much a part of ordinary

appellate procedure in Arizona—many hundreds of petitions are filed and

processed each year. See n.3, infra, and accompanying text. “Any party” may

timely file a petition for review by the Arizona Supreme Court. Rule 31.19(a),

Ariz. R. Crim. P. That is how the Arizona Supreme Court obtains jurisdiction

over all non-capital criminal appeals—by granting discretionary review. Boerckel’s

5

icterence to Sandon, suggesting that the Arizona Supreme Court does not “wish”

lo exercise that jurisdiction, is patently wrong.

Under the broad rule articulated in Boerckel and Jennison, Swoopes was

required to seek discretionary review in the Arizona Supreme Court because it was

an available state remedy—a feature of ordinary appellate procedure. Swoopes

did, in fact, petition for discretionary review after his direct appeal, demonstrating

the remedy’s availability, but he did not do so with respect to all his habeas

claims. This Court correctly held, in denying Swoopes’ appeal, that he had

defaulted all but his due process claim concerning the identification testimony.

Boerckel, like Jennison, supports this Court’s findings of procedural preclusion.’

2. Swoopes committed additional procedural defaults, of course, in the

district court, on those same defaulted claims, as this Court correctly held in its

now-vacated memorandum opinion. He waived the cause and prejudice issues

altogether by failing to offer the district court any explanation for his procedural

defaults. Swoopes v. Sublett, No. 94-16033 at 2-3 (mem. decision, May 8,

1998). Swoopes also waived the Harmon v. Ryan presumption of informed

-onfusion by failing to allege it or any other explanation for his procedural defaults

‘hen specifically admonished to do so by the federal district court.

6

II

WIECAUSE PETITIONS FOR DISCRETIONARY ARIZONA

SUPREME COURT REVIEW OF THE ARIZONA COURT OF

APPEALS’ DISPOSITION OF CRIMINAL APPEALS AND OF

Pl T1TIONS FOR POST-CONVICTION RELIEF ARE “PART OF

lili: ORDINARY APPELLATE REVIEW PROCEDURE IN THE

STATE,” THIS COURT MUST MAKE CLEAR THAT ARIZONA

STATE PRISONERS WHO WISH TO EXHAUST CLAIMS

PRESENTED TO THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS MUST

SEEK DISCRETIONARY REVIEW BY THE ARIZONA SUPREME

COURT BEFORE RAISING THOSE CLAIMS IN A PETITION FOR

WRIT OF FEDERAL HABEAS CORPUS.

Merely to answer the narrow “Boerckel” question of the historical availability

of discretionary review with respect to Swoopes is not sufficient under the

circumstances. While this Court must resolve the issues with regard to Swoopes

in particular, this Court should also make clear that, despite any suggestion to the

contrary in Boerckel, state prisoners today must petition for discretionary review

in the Arizona Supreme Court in order to exhaust claims that were presented to the

Arizona Court of Appeals, and that they must include in the petition for review all

such claims that they wish to preserve for federal liaveas corpus review

This Court, in response to the United States Supreme Court’s remand, should

decisively refute Boerckel’s dictum on Sandon because Boerckel is utterly wrong

about Arizona law and threatens to engender massive confusion in this Circuit

concerning what state prisoners must do to exhaust state remedies in Arizona.

Such correction of the Boerckel Court’s dictum about Arizona law is not only

permissible but probably would be welcomed by that Court. The Court has

decisively rejected any notion that habeas petitioners have any enforceable interest

i courts making errors in their favor. Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364, 113

S(t. 838 (1993). Moreover, the Court “generally accord[s] great deference to

the umtcrpretation and application of state law by the courts of appeals.” McMillian

1. Monroe County, Alabama, __ US. __, 117 S. Ct. 1734, 1737 (1977),

quoting Pembaur v. Cincinnati, 475 U.S. 469, 484 n.13, 106 S. Ct. 1292, 1301

n.13 (1986). Indeed, the United States Supreme Court “has accepted the

interpretation of state law in which the District Court and the Court of Appeals

lave concurred even if an examination of the state-law issue without such guidance

nught have justified a different conclusion.” Bishop v. Wood, 426 U.S. 341, 346,

96 S. Ct. 2074, 2078 (1976) (emphasis added).

The Boerckel opinion cites Sandon for the patently erroneous proposition that

the Arizona Supreme Court “dofes] not wish to have the opportunity to review

constitutional claims before those claims are presented to a federal habeas court.”

119 S. Ct. at 1734. Sandon says nothing of the sort, nor is that true. It is crucial

that this Court clear up as soon as possible the potential contusion created by

Boerckel.

A. WHAT WAS THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT’S HOLDING IN SANDON?

State prisoner Mark Sandon, like many whose criminal convictions are

affirmed on direct appeal in the intermediate Arizona Court of Appeals, filed

through counsel a petition for discretionary review of the Court of Appeals’

decision. 161 Ariz. at 157, 777 P.2d at 220. The Arizona Supreme Court

eee =O SE

.

APPENDIX B.1

&

%

§

RECEr |

; pug 3 1999

| — DIVISION '

aol = APPEALS

207B . ooh Be ff STATE ae FRY tee

999

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

STATE OF ARIZONA

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF ARIZONA,

1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

Respondent,

DEPARTMENT D

v.

MARICOPA County

Superior Court

SCOTT ALAN STEPHENS,

No. CR 87-01066

Petitioner.

ORDER

The court has considered respondent's motion for

reconsideration of this court's order dated June 25, 1999. Relying

on O'Sullivan v. Boerckel, ____ ~+U.S. ____, 119 S. Ct. 1728 (1999),

this court entered an order denying petitioner's motion to file a

delayed petition for review to the Arizona Supreme Court as

unnecessary. Respondent has filed a motion for reconsideration and

pointed out that certain language in the O'Sullivan opinion may be

misleading. Since Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F.2d 1308 (9th Cir.

1991), the law has been that a defendant must exhaust all state

court remedies, including discretionary review by the Arizona

Supreme Court, to avoid a procedural bar to federal habeas

proceedings. While the Arizona Supreme Court may accept

Boerckel's, invitation to declare its discretionary review

procedure as outside the standard review process, it has not yet

done so. For these reasons and the reasons stated in the motion

for reconsideration,

1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

(Page 2)

IT IS ORDERED granting the motion for reconsideration and

vacating this court's order dated June 25, 1999.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED granting petitioner's motion to file a

delayed petition for review to the Arizona Supreme Court. Any

petition shall be filed on or before September 10, 1999.

DATED this _2nq day of August, 1999.

Zé,

K felibic—

RUDOLPH J. GERBER

PRESIDING JUDGE

Page 3

1 CA-CR 97-0458 PR

August 2, 1999

MARICOPA COUNTY

SUPERIOR COURT

CR 87-01066

A true ccpy of the foregoing

order was mailed

August 2, 1999 to:

Mr. Eric J. Olsson

Assistant Attorney General

402 West Congress

Room 315

Tucson, AZ 85701

Attorney for Respondent

Ms. Harriette Levitt

Law Office of

Harriette P. Levitt

485 South Main Street

Tucson, AZ 85701

Attorney for Petitioner

Mr. Scott Alan Stephens

ADOC 37436

ASPC - Winslow

2100 South Hwy 87

Winslow, BZ 86947

Petitioner

Honorable John Foreman, Judge

MARICOPA COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

Suite 811

101 West Jefferson Street

Phoenix, AZ 85003

Glen D. Clark , Clerk

By

. a

Députy Cletk

APPENDIX B.2

i —) S ) r - o° |

|

a2 & Nn —-& ©

—

oy

16

IRE: VED

i

AUR oo SY |

maa ohn

ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF ARIZONA,

1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

RESPONDENT,

MARICOPA COUNTY

-VvSs- SUPERIOR COURT

No. CR-87-01066

SCOTT ALAN STEPHENS,

MOTION FOR PUBLICATION

PETITIONER.

Pursuant to Rule 111(A)(3) and (b)(1) and (b)(4) the Rules of the Arizona Supreme Court, the

State of Arizona respectfully requests publication of this Court’s Order, filed August 2, 1999, granting

reconsideration and explaining that Arizona prisoners must seek discretionary Arizona Supreme Court

review in order to avoid a procedural bar to federal habeas proceedings.

Not only does the Order merit publication pursuant to Rule 111 (6)(1) because it clarifies state law

on an issue of first impression that arose upon the issuance of O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 119 S. Ct. 1728

(1999); the Order also addresses a matter of substantial importance to judges and litigants alike—what,

in liglu of Poerckel, state prisoners in Arizona must do to preserve claims for federal habeas review,

Rule 111(b)(4), R. Sup. Ct. Although state courts have no jurisdiction to announce federal exhaustion

requirements, the Order succinctly and unequivocally clears up the potential confusion, created by

dictum in Boerckel, about Arizona law, by stating that the Arizona Supreme Court "may accept

Boerckel’s invitation to declare its discretionary review procedure as as outside the standard review

process [but] has not yet done so."

If published, this Court’s Order would put an end to the ambiguity created by the erroneous

Boerckel dictum on Arizona law and would provide the State of Arizona with concrete authority with

//

//

which to rebut the inevitable future "Boerckel" claims of confusion about Arizona’s appellate

procedures. For these reasons, Respondents respectfully request publication.

DATED this 4th day of August, 1999.

Respectfully submitted,

JANET NAPOLITANO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

(FIRM STATE BAR No. 14000)

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPBALS SEENON

ERIC J. OLSSON

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

400 W. CONGRESS, S-315

TUCSON, ARIZONA 85701-1367

TELEPHONE: (520) 628-6504

(STATE BAR NUMBER 010085)

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

COPIES of the foregoing were deposited

for mailing this 4th day of August, 1999, to:

SCOTT ALAN STEPHENS

ADOC 37436

ASPc - WLNSLOW

2100 S. Hwy 87

Winslow, AZ 86047

PETITIONER

HARRIETTE LEVITT

485 S. Main Street

Tucson, AZ 85701

Attorney for PETITIONER

HON. RUDOLPH J. GERBER

Presiding Judge

Arizona Court of Appeals, Division One

1501 W. Washington

Phoenix, AZ 85007-3329

ARTHUR HAZELTON

Deputy County Attorney

100 W. Washington Street, Ste. 2100

Phoenix, AZ 85003

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

Chief Counsel

Criminal Appeals Section

Office of the Attorney General

1275 W. Washington

Phoenix, AZ 85007-2997

HON. JOHN FOREMAN, Judge

Maricopa County Superior Court

Suite 811

101 W. Jefferson St.

Phoenix, AZ 85003

CRM95~-1125

951125d1.mpb

APPENDIX B.3

we

COURT OF APPEAL

STATE OF ARIZONA

FILED FEB 1 4 2000

DIVISION 1

STATE OF ARIZONA

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS ate

GLEN 0. bhaB, CLERK

STATE OF ARIZONA,

Respondent,

Vv.

SCOTT ALAN STEPHENS,

Petitioner.

DIVISION ONE

-

1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

DEPARTMENT A

MARICOPA County

Superior Court ‘

No. CR 87-01066

eee ees ae es ee

ORDER

The court has considered respondent's motion for publication.

IT IS ORDERED denying the motion.

DATED this 14th day of February, 2000.

{2

A pdeth

nmrecrniell GERBER

PRESIDING JUDGE

Page 2

1 CA-CR 97-0458 PR

February 14, 2000

MARICOPA COUNTY

SUPERIOR COURT

CR 87-01066

A true copy of the foregoing

order was mailed

February 14, 2000 to:

Mr. Arthur Hazelton

Deputy County Attorney

Suite 2000

100 West Washington Street

Phoenix, AZ 85003

and

Mr. Eric J. Olsson

Assistant Attorney General

402 West Congress

Room 315

Tucson, AZ 85701

Attorneys for Respondent

Ms. Harriette Levitt

Law Office of

Warrceite BP. Levitt

485 South Main Street

Tucson, AZ 85701

Attorney fox Petitioner

Honorable John Foreman, Judge

MARICOPA COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

Suite 811

101 West Jefferson Street

Phoenix, AZ 85003

Mr. Michael K. Jeanes, Clerk

MARICOPA COUNTY SUPERIOR COURT

Central Court Building

201 West Jefferson Street

Phoenix, AZ 85003

Glen D. Clark , Clerk /

By an

Me Ss

Deputy Clerk {,

APPENDIX B.4

Ow wo ww A wh &o DD WN

— mek i"

Yo noe = S&S

14}|

Ww WN

RECEI ED

: JUL 4 ~ 999

BY: si

ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS

DIVISION ONE

STATE OF ARIZONA,

1 CA-CR 97-0458-PR

RESPONDENT,

MARICOPA COUNTY

-VvSs- SUPERIOR COURT

No. CR-87-01066

SCOTT ALAN STEPHENS,

MOTION FOR RECONSIDERATION

PETITIONER.

Pursuant to Rule 31.18 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, and at the request of the

Maricopa County Attorney, the State of Arizona moves for reconsideration of this Court’s Order, filed

June 25, 1999, denying Petitioner Stephens permission to file a delayed petition for review by the

Arizona Supreme Court. This Motion for Reconsideration is supported by the attached Memorandum

of Points and Authorities.

DATED this 9th day of July, 1999.

Respectfully submitted,

JANET NAPOMNITANO

ATTORNEY GENERAL

(FIRM STATE BAR No. 1400v)

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPEALS i ION

4 ( WA —

of & S

ASSIST TTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

400 W. ConGREss, S-315

TUCSON, ARIZONA 85701-1367

TELEPHONE: (520) 628-6504

(STATE BAR NUMBER 010085)

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENT

MEMORANDUM OF POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

Relying on the United States Supreme Court’s recent decision in O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 119 S.

Ct. 1728 (1999), Petitioner Stephens asked this Court for permission to file a delayed petition for

discretionary review so that he could present federal constitutional claims to the Arizona Supreme Court

before advancing those claims in a federal habeas corpus petition. This Court, also relying on Boerckel

and citing State v. Sandon, 161 Ariz. 157, 158, 777 P.2d 220, 221 (1989), denied Stephens’ motion

as "unnecessary," asserting that "Arizona has made it clear that ‘once the defendant has been given the

appeal to which he has a right, state remedies have been exhausted.’" (Order, dated June 25, 1999.)

B. SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT. .

This Court erred as a matter of law in denying Stephens’ motion on the ground that it was

“unnecessary.” For reasons explained fully below, this Court’s statement about what is required to

exhaust state remedies for purposes of federal habeas corpus was not only erroneous but without

jurisdiction. Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F.2d 1308, 1310-11 and n.4 (9th Cir. 1991) (state courts lack

authority to define federal exhaustion requirements); Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457, 1460 (9th Cir.

1992) ("the exhaustion requirements of 28 U.S.C. § 2254 are a matter of federal law").

Stephens’ reliance on Boerckel was correct, and this Court’s reliance on Sandon was misplaced,

because discretionary review by the Arizona Supreme Court is "part of the ordinary appellate review

procedure in the State." 119 S. Ct. at 1733. When discretionary review by a state’s highest court fits

that description, Boerckel “requir[es] state prisoners to file petitions for discretionary review" in order

to preserve any claims they wish to present for federal habeas corpus review. Id. The question under

Boerckel is simply whether discretionary review by the state’s highest court is available as a part of the

State’s ordinary appellate review procedure. Jd. If it is, state prisoners must seek discretionary review

of any claims they wish to preserve for federal habeas proceedings. Jd. In Arizona, a timely petition

for discretionary review is an option available to "any party" under Rule 31.19(a), Arizona Rules of

Criminal Procedure, a rule promulgated by the Arizona Supreme Court.

The confusion created by erroneous dictum in Boerckel concerning State vy. Sandon is

understandable, but this Court must refrain from perpetuating the error. For all the reasons fully

2

n Wn &

ex

di

explained below, this Court should grant reconsideration, vacate the Order filed on June 25, 1999, and

dispose of Stephens’ motion on its merits.

C. ARGUMENT.

O’Sullivan v. Boerckel, 119 S. Ct. 1728 (1999), announced the following rule: to exhaust state

remedies for federal habeas purposes, "state prisoners [must] file petitions for discretionary review when

that review is part of the ordinary appellate review procedure in the State." 119 S. Ct. at 1733. The

rule applies to all prospective § 2254 habeas litigants except in those states where discretionary review

is unavailable. Jd.

Because discretionary review is available in Arizona, state prisoners here must seek it in order to

preserve claims for federal habeas litigation. Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F2d at 1310-11 and n.4

("Although review under Rule 31.19 [Ariz. R. Crm. P.] is discretionary, it is nevertheless a state

remedy that remains available"). The Ninth Circuit announced the Jennison rule almost a decade ago.

The Jennison rule has been in effect in the District of Arizona ever since, and Boerckel’s majority

holding merely reiterates it with respect to all federal circuits. See Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457,

1461 (9th Cir. 1992) (petition for discretionary review in Arizona Supreme Court is prerequisite to

federal habeas review); Coley v. Gonzales, 55 F.3d 1385, 1388 (9th Cir. 1995) (same).

Dictum in the Boerckel opinion, however, erroneously cites State v. Sandon, 161 Ariz. 157, 777

P 24 229 (1989), as an example of a state court that "do[es] not with to have the opportunity to review

constitutional claims before those claims are presented to a federal habeas court." 119 S. Ct. at 1734.

According to that dictum, Sandon means that petitions for discretionary review by the Arizona Supreme

Court are "unwelcome," at minimum, or that the remedy might even be “unavailable.” if the Arizona

Supreme Court has declared it so. Jd. Apparently, that misperception of the meaning of Sandon is what

motivated this Court to declare Petitioner Stephens’ request "unnecessary."

Boerckel’s reference to Sandon is merely dictum because the Boerckel decision turned on IIlinois

procedural law, not Arizona law, and Boerckel held only, as the Ninth Circuit did in Jennison, that state

prisoners must seek discretionary review if it is available as part of ordinary appellate procedures. 119

S. Ct. at 1734. While speculating that discretionary review might be unavailable or at least

“discouraged” in Arizona, the Boerckel Court did not actually decide that question—properly so, because

3

APPENDIX C

ARIZONA SUPREME COURT

GILBERT ARVIZO MORENO. SUPREME COURT

: PETITIONER-APPELLANT, No. CV-97-0268-CQ

-VS- UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DAVE GONZALEZ. Deputy Warden: No. 95-15063

GRANT WOODS, Attorney General,

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES. UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

No. CV-93-00081-JET

DOUB BINFORD. SUPREME COURT

PETITIONER-APPELLANT, No. CV-97-0271-CQ

-VS- UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT ‘

WILLIAM RHODE; GRANT No. 96-15189

WOODS. Attorney General,

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES. UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

No. CV-95-01357-EHC

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES’ ANSWERING BRIEF

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

1275 WEST WASHINGTON

PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007-2997

TELEPHONE: (602) 542-4686

(STATE BAR NUMBER 010386)

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Sagee OF AUTHONTIOS .......ici.aciss4e-2e eee ii

SEATEMENT OF THE CAGE ... 5 6c 60 sic Abe l

ARGUMENTS

1. A State may exclude the presentation of constitutional claims if the

rule that precludes such consideration is “firmly established and

SOUNNTY TOMOWEE.” oes ck neues ¥eeeeee eee ee 8

tv

The statutory provisions of Article 29 of Title 13 contro] the

outcome of the two questions presented. ...............-- 10

3. Petitioners may not raise their claims pursuant to A.R.S.

§ 13-4231(6) or Rule 32.1(f), by alleging that their failure to file a

timely petition for review or Rule 32 petition was without fault on

GRE PME. oceans saanesbaanne eat cee 14

4. A.R.S. § 13-4232(B) is a mandatory rule of state law prohibiting

defendants from raising their present claims. .............. 20

5. The policy considerations for imposing mandatory state rules of

preclusion counsel this Court to strictly enforce the state’s

rr rrr ee 20

EAPGMAIEION cece acess bees taneeeeeeekadewaee +

QO

4. A.R.S. § 13-4232(B) is a mandatory rule of state law prohibiting

defendants from raising their present claims.

The second question presented is whether there exists a mandatory rule of

state law that would bar the defendants from raising their claims at this date.

A.R.S. § 13-4232(B) provides in pertinent part:

If a claim under § 13-4231. paragraph 4. 5, 6 or 7 is to be raised ina

successive or untimely petition. the notice shall set forth the substance of

the claim and the reasons for not raising the claim in the previous petition

or in a timely manner. If the notice does not state meritorious reasons

substantiating the claim and why the claim was not stated in the previous

petition or in a timely manner. the proceeding shal] be summarily

dismissed.

If either defendant attempted to raise their issues today, they would have to do so

by an untimely or successive petition. The Ninth Circuit opinions recognize that

the claims do not fit within paragraphs 4. 5. or 7. Therefore. unless defendants fit

within paragraph 6. there is no available procedure for these defendants to litigate

their claims. For the reasons discussed above, the defendants do not fit within

paragraph 6, and their petitions now would be summarily dismissed.

5. The policy considerations for imposing mandatory state rules of

preclusion counsel this Court to strictly enforce the state’s

procedural rules.

The policy ramifications for enforcing the state’s procedural rules are

illustrated in this Court’s opinion of Stare v. Sandon, 161 Ariz. 157, 777 P.2d 220

(1989). In Sandon. this Court addressed a question similar to the one it faces in

this case. Before Sandon was decided. this Court was inundated with motions

requesting the filing of delayed petitions for review. Federal law mandates that

every issue presented in a federal habeas petition must be fairly presented to the

state’s highest court. Castille v. Peoples. 489 U.S. 346, 351, 109 S. Ct. 1065

(1989). The fact that this Court has discretionary review does not alleviate a state

prisoner from at least attempting to present the claim to the Court in the -

20

“a

appropriate manner. Jd. Based on this requirement, if a defendant has failed to

present a claim to the state’s highest court. he must return to state court and

present the claim in the appropriate manner. Because there was no opinion from

this Court stating that it would not accept motions for delayed petitions for review.

defendant's were required to present the Court with such a motion. this Court

would then deny the motion, and the defendant would return to federal cour. This

Court became tired of the practice, and stated in Sandon that they would no longer

accept such motions. /d., 161 Ariz. at 158, 777 P.2d at 221 (claims not properly

raised from the court of appeals “are no longer open to substantive review in this

Court. or in any other court in Arizona”). Once the mandatory language was in

place. this Court was no longer deluged with such motions.

If this Court rules that defendants may file delayed petitions for review of

post-conviction relief petitions under Pope, it does not matter how circumscribed

this Court would attempt to limit the right, it would mean that all defendants would

then have to attempt to do so in order to exhaust their state remedies. Also. it

would not matter if the trial court granted or denied the request. because then the

defendant would have to seek review of the decision all the way to this Court. In

essence it would be Sandon revisited.” The same, or worse, can be said of filing

delayed petitions for post-conviction relief. Every defendant would attempt to

circumvent the rules by claiming he was not at fault, and each case would have to

ultimately be reviewed by this Court. A better result is to hold that the rules are

mandatory, which will mean that the federal courts will decide the cases without

7. According to the Federal District Court's Clerk's Office, there were 261 state habeas cases

in 1996. So far in 1997, there have been 267 filings. While not all of these cases would have to

be sent back, many would if there is no maridatory state law prohibiting their litigation.

21

ities,

Sad

returning them to state court, a result that is preferable to the victims of crime. and

the Arizona criminal justice system.

CONCLUSION

Based on the foregoing authorities and arguments. Respondents- Appellees

respectfully request that this Court hold that the inmates have no further remedies

in Arizona.

Respectfully submitted.

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL i

\ /

/ : si Sac gta ‘1 }

‘ beni ! V/

ar j ee eee a —

Le ar ;

PAUL]. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS-

APPELLEES

22

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-15189

DOUB BINFORD,

PETITIONER-APPELLANT,

-VS-

WILLIAM RHODE; GRANT WOODS,

Attorney General,

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA,

No. CIV-95-01357-EHC

RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES’ SUPPLEMENTAL ANSWERING BRIEF

GRANT WOODS

ATTORNEY GENERAL

PAUL J. MCMURDIE

CHIEF COUNSEL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

SUSANNA C. PINEDA

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

CRIMINAL APPEALS SECTION

1275 WEST WASHINGTON

PHOENIX, ARIZONA 85007-2997

TELEPHONE: (602) 542-4686

ATTORNEYS FOR RESPONDENTS-APPELLEES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Pl a a a a a ee ee ee a a eer aera ar iii

ee cs Seek hee kee RSD RAS DOSES ERO ON vi

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .... 0.20 c ccc cc cc sctsovcssee Vii

DUE GPP BUMP bce te ee cee eee emcees aebesasnnnen 1

TRTREREAEE Gr FUT oi rece eee ws ims esseeneiccasas 4

ARGUMENTS

I

AS THIS COURT HAS PREVIOUSLY HELD, FUNDAMENTAL ERROR

REVIEW BY THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS ON DIRECT APPEAL

DOES NOT PRESERVE ANY CLAIMS FOR PURPOSES OF FEDERAL

PE +heed seek Okeke RADE NOOR N EER EO OO Oe eo 8 e 8 O88 5

II

PETITIONER CANNOT BOOTSTRAP HIS POST-CONVICTION RELIEF

CLAIMS TO HIS DIRECT APPEAL ON RESENTENCING. .............. 8

Ii]

THE ARIZONA SUPREME COURT’S DENIAL OF PETITIONER’S WRIT OF

HABEAS CORPUS FOR PETITIONER’S FAILURE TO STATE A CLAIM UPON

WHICH RELIEF COULD BE GRANTED DID NOT RESULT IN A REVIEW OF

Tite BEER ie OF PETIRIOINER © CLAIBED. on nc ccc esc escsnne 17

IV

THERE ARE NO STATE COURT REMEDIES AVAILABLE TO PETITIONER

TO EXHAUST HIS UNEXHAUSTED AND THUS, PROCEDURALLY —

Deere men, CLAAEIED OF ER. ccc cece ee ea ssanen 21

Vv

PETITIONER FAILS TO DEMONSTRATE CAUSE AND PREJUDICE THAT

WOULD EXCUSE HIS PROCEDURAL DEFAULT. .................. 24

eg dk va ee ew ca 26

er 27

CERTIFICATE OF COMPLIANCE ........ 0.2... .0 ccc cceceeceeuees 28

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES ............0 ccc ececeececeeees 29

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738, 87 S.Ct. 1396 (1967) ........ 4,6, 11

Binford v. Rhode, No. CV-97-0271-CQ (Ariz. July, 1998) ............ 3

Castille v. Peoples, 489 U.S. 346, 109 S.Ct. 1065 (1989) ............ 19

Coleman v. Thompson, 501 U.S. 722, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991) ......... 23

Griswold v. Gomes, 111 Ariz. 59, 523 P.2d 490 (1974) ............. 19

Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457 (9th Cir. 1992) ............... m7

Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255, 109 S. Ct. 1038 (1989) .............. 13

Hayes v. Lockhart, 766 F.2d 1247 (6th Cit. 1985) 2. wc tee 7

Hopkinson v. Shillinger, 954 F.2d 609 (10th Cir. ere ee 16

Hughes v. Idaho State Board of Corrections

mee Be Be a ee ee a ere 16

Jenison v. Goldsmith, 940 F.2d 1308 (1991) .. 2.0.0.0... eee eee. 5

Julius v. Johnson, 840 F.2d 1533 (11th Cir. 1988) ............... ae

Martinez-Villareal v. Lewis, 80 F.3d 1301 (9th Cir. 1996) ............ 8

Moreno v. Gonzalez, __—sAriz.__—, 962 P.2d 205 (1998) ..... Lh, By Bde oo

Murray v. Carrier, 47/ U.S. 478, 106 S.Ct. 2639 (1986) ..........16, 24

Ortiz v. Stewart, 149 F.3d 923 (9th Cir. 1998) ................ 21-23

~ Ortiz v. Stewart, 1998 WL 349467 at 4-5 (9th Cir. July 1, 1998) ........ 3

Poland v. Stewart, it? P.26 WS OG Ce: FOUR) nn. ok i eae un 7,8

Fuse v. Vane, G2 Foe FiSs Cit Coe. WRT) gg ioc vs ks ce ec 7

Reiger v. Christensen, 789 F.2d 1425 (9th Cir. 1986) .............. 16

Roettgen v. Copeland, 33 F.3d 36 (9th Cir.1994) ............... 19-21

State v. Court of Appeals, Division Two

Ml Agta. IGG, 456 Piae Doe CI 6 nek ee ceeen sh bussanwes 19

iii

State v. Curtis, 185 Ariz. 112, 912 P.2d 1341 (App. 1995) ........... 23

State v. Gause, 112 Ariz. 296, 541 P.2d 396 (1975) 2.1... cc eee ene 15

State v. Ikirt, 160 Ariz. 113, 770 P.2d 1159 (I9BJ) ww ce eee 13

State v. Leon, 104 Ariz. 297, 451 P.2d 878 (1969) .............. 6, 11

State v. Manning, 143 Ariz. 139, 692 P.2d 318 (App. 1984) ........ 19, 21

State v. McCall, 139 Ariz. 147, 677 P.2d 920 (1983) .............. 13

State v. Pope, 130 Ariz. 253, 635 P.2d 846,(1981) .............-.-. 13

State v. Sandon, 161 Ariz. 157, 777 P26 220 (ISSR) ww cc eee 18

State v. Wynn, 114 Ariz. 561, 562 P.2d 734 (Ct. App. 1977) ......... 14

Tacho v. Martinez, 862 F.2d 1376 (9th Cir. 1988) ..............4.. 16

Thomas v. Goldsmith, 979 F.2d 746 (9th Cir. 1992) ............. » ae

Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288, 109 S. Ct. 1060 Sr aren eee 16, 24

Whiee v. Lewis, 74 F.2d She GU Ce, TOG) nnn ce recess 24

Ylst v. Nunnemaker, 501 U.S. 797, 111 S. Ct. 2590 (1991) .......... 21

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

ee OG ee a ae eS eS ee vi

ee ee, i ae ck a ee a oe ek ke vi

ee Se I ks en Se Ok Oe ee Vi

STATUTES

Oe DR ee eee eee ees eR COTTER CEC RTT COLE 6

Re ee ek Oe eR a eS A eR ee 17

iV

RULES

& & Re Se Re Serre yee re ee ae ee ee ee ee 14

Ep er re are te a 2, 18

fo ae ee ae FS eee ee ee ee eee eee eS 2, 4, 12, 14, 15 18, 21

oe RE er eer eae ar ar ae i9

fh * Peer ere eee eT eee Gr Mee ah kok 4 6-4 48 23

8 RO ee eee ear ee ee ee t, 24, 4, a

re ee er a ek ek ee a ee ee 8 88 8 23

Rule 32.2(c), Ariz. R. Crim. P. ..... Creer esc? (ty te eee eee 20

ee gh a oe eee 22, 23

Rule 32.9, Artz. R. Crim. PF... ccc cece cee nesses 13, 14, 15

fk ye RS) Peeerrererrry a Teer Terre eS 8, 15

re ee, ee Oe, a a sk a ek Re ee a eee 13

rr rn er, Se Oe as Cee Ge ae Se ek ee ke vi

I I OR cn a ne Pe ae he ce vi

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The district court had subject-matter jurisdiction over the petition for weit of

habeas corpus under 28 U.S.C. § 2254. On January 3, 1996, the district court

entered its order denying the petition, which was a final order under Rules 54(a)

and 58 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. On January 19, 1996, Petitioner

filed a notice of appeal that was timely under Rule 4(a) of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure. On ase 26, 1996, the district court granted a certificate

of appealability. This Court has appellate jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1291

and 2253.

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

4

1. Did the Arizona Court of Appeals’ fundamental review of the record in

Petitioner’s direct appeal constitute a review on the merits of Petitioner’s

“unintelligent plea” claim and his ineffective assistance of counsel claim, and

thereby, excuse Petitioner’s procedural default?

2. Did the district court err in finding that Petitioner did not exhaust his

claims in his direct appeal from his 1993 resentencing?

3. Did the district court err in finding that Petitioner’s state habeas petition

to the Arizona Supreme Court did not serve to exhaust his claims of error?

Vii

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

For purposes of this supplemental brief, Respondents will not repeat the

statement of the case previously presented in its original answering brief.

Respondents will, however, supplement the original statement of the case with the

procedural history of the case since briefing was completed in this matter, and

when necessary to assist this Court, will provide pertinent facts in each argument.

On June 19, 1997, following briefing on Petitioner’s direct appeal, this Court

issued an order certifying the following questions to the Supreme Court of

Arizona:

1. May Binford raise his ineffective assistance of trial counsel

and unintelligent plea claims by alleging, pursuant to

Rule 32.1(f), that the failure to file a timely petition for

review was without fault on his part?

2. Does any mandatory rule of state law bar Binford from raising

his ineffective assistance of trial counsel and unintelligent plea

claims at this date?

Because these questions mirrored those certified to the Arizona Supreme Court by

this Court in Moreno v. Gonzales, No. 95-15063, the Arizona Supreme Court

consolidated both matters and accepted the questions posed. On July 17, 1998, the

Arizona Supreme Court issued its opinion addressing the questions presented as

follows:

Question One:

Under Rule 32.1(f), the term “appeal” means direct appeal under

Rule 31 of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, and thus, a petition

for review to the Arizona Supreme Court following direct appeal, and

a petition for review following denial of post-conviction relief in the trial

court, are not “appeals” within the meaning of Rule 32.1(f) of the

Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure. As a result, the Arizona Supreme

Court held that Petitioner may not, under Rule 32.1(f), file a delayed

petition for review raising his ineffective assistance of trial counsel and

unintelligent plea claims to the state appellate courts.

Question Two:

Due to the broad nature of this certified question, whether any

mandatory rule of state law bars Petitioner’s claim, the Arizona Supreme

Court chose not to answer this question categorically, but to share

insight into the rules that govern Arizona’s post-conviction relief

remedies. Noting the 1992 amendments to Rule 32 of the Arizona Rules

of Criminal Procedure which require that in noncapital cases the notice

of post-conviction relief be filed within 90 days of the entry of judgment

and sentence or within 30 days of the order and mandate affirming the

judgment and sentence on direct appeal, whichever is later, and noting

that the only exception to these time limits, 171 Ariz. XLIV (1992), is

inapplicable to Petitioner, the Court held that Petitioner cannot now file

a first petition for post-conviction relief.

Moreno v. Gonzalez, ___ Ariz. », _._» 962 P.2d 205, 208-09 (1998).

Petitioner moved the Arizona Supreme Court to reconsider its decision, which the

Arizona Supreme Court denied. (Petitioner’s Excerpt 31.) The Arizona Supreme

Court issued its mandate on October 7, 1998. (Petitioner’s Excerpt 32.)

On August 3, 1998, this Court ordered supplemental briefing as follows:

The parties shall address, inter alia, Binford v. Rhode, No. CV-97-

0271-CQ (Ariz. July, 1998) and Ortiz v. Stewart, 1998 WL 349467 at

4-5 (9th Cir. July 1, 1998).

On November 9, 1998, Petitioner served Respondents with a copy of their

supplemental opening brief pursuant to that order.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

The Arizona Court of Appeals’ fundamental error review of Petitioner’s direct

appeal, filed pursuant to Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738, 87 S.Ct. 1396

(1967), did not serve to preserve Petitioner’s claims for federal review. Nor did

Petitioner’s attempt to bootstrap his post-conviction relief claims to his direct

appeal following resentencing exhaust his claims. The Arizona Court of Appeals

clearly stated that it would not address the claims, noting that the only issue

properly befnne it was the validity of the sentence imposed on Count II following

resentencing. |

Petitioner’s futile attempt to present his abandoned post-conviction claims to

the Arizona Supreme Court in a state habeas corpus proceeding also failed.

Finally, the Arizona Supreme Court’s recent ruling finding that Petitioner can

not file a delayed petition for review from his first post-conviction relief

proceedings under Rule 32.1(f) of the Arizona Rules of Criminal Procedure, and

its holding that Petitioner can not file a “first” petition for post-conviction relief

under Rule 32, precludes Petitioner from now trying to present his claims to the

State’s highest court in a procedurally appropriate manner. As a result, the district

court did not err in finding that Petitioner had procedurally defaulted on his

claims, an

petition.

AS *

ERR’

DIRE

PURI

Petiti

Court of .

not intelli

argues tha

provided b

to present

cisims for

the Harm

review of

not result

A. 1989 #

Bs

Goldsmit}

is, and that his failure to show cause and prejudice required dismissal of his

on.

ARGUMENT

I

AS THIS COURT HAS PREVIOUSLY HELD, FUNDAMENTAL

ERROR REVIEW BY THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS ON

DIRECT APPEAL- DOES NOT PRESERVE ANY CLAIMS FOR

PURPOSES OF FEDERAL REVIEW.

Petitioner contends that, by virtue of his 1989 direct appeal, the Arizona

t of Appeals necessarily reviewed the merits of his claims that his plea was

ntelligently entered and that trial counsel was ineffective. Petitioner further

*s that, because his direct appeal took place during the window of opportunity

ded by Harmon v. Ryan, 959 F.2d 1457 (9th Cir. 1992),’ he was not required

esent these claims to the Arizona Supreme Court, and thus, has exhausted his

is for federal review. Although Petitioner’s direct appeal admittedly fell within

Jarmon window, his claim must fail because the Arizona appellate court’s

w of the record for fundamental error, contrary to Petitioner’s contention, did

esult in his current claims being “fairly presented” to the state appellate court.

989 APPEAL.

1. See Jennison v. Goldsmith, 940 F.2d 1308, 1311 (1991); Thomas y.

smith, 979 F.2d 746, 750 (9th Cir. 1992).

5

After entering his change of plea and being sentenced to prison, Petitioner

filed a timely notice of appeal. Appointed counsel, in compliance with Anders v.

California, 386 U.S. 738, 87 S. Ct. 1396 (1967), and State v. Leon, 104 Ariz.

297, 451 P.2d 878 (1969), filed an opening brief stating that he had reviewed the

record and found no arguable issues. (Respondents’ Excerpt A.) Although the

Arizona Court of Appeals gave Petitioner an opportunity to file a supplemental

brief, he did not. (Petitioner’s Excerpt 14.) On February 21, 1989, the Arizona

Court of Appeals issued its memorandum decision affirming Petitioner’s

conviction. (/d.) Contrary to Petitioner’s contention, although the Arizona Court

of Appeals noted that the rial court had found Petitioner’s plea “was made

knowingly, intelligently, and voluntarily; was not the result of force, threats, or

promises; and was factually supported,” the appellate court made no such

independent finding. (/d. at 3.) Instead, the court merely held that, “pursuant to

A.R.S. § 13-4035, [it had] fully reviewed the record and {found} the appeal io be

hen merit.” (/d.) The court also advised appellate counsel of his duty to inform

Petitioner of the status of his appeal and Petitioner’s future options, including the

option of filing a pro per motion for reconsideration or petition for review. (Id.)

The case became final on March 28, 1989, when the court of appeals issued its

mandate following Petitioner’s failure to file either a motion for reconsideration

or a petition for review. (Respondents’ Excerpt B.)

B. THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS, BY VIRTUE OF ITS FUNDAMENTAL

ERROR REVIEW, DID NOT ADDRESS THE MERITS OF PETITIONER’S CLAIMS.

Although a Petitioner’s failure to take his direct appeal to the state’s highest

court may have been excused under this Court’s opinion in Harmon v. Ryan,

because Petitioner did not raise any claims in his direct appeal, he cannot be said

to have exhausted his state remedies with respect to any of his current claims of

error.

The Arizona Court of Appeals review for fundamental error in no way

constitutes review on the merits of all claims Petitioner could have presented but

chose not to. This Court, the First, Eighth, and Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals,

have rejected the claim that an appellate court’s generalized review of an appellate

record for error constitutes “implicit consideration” of all claims not raised and

that such a review is sufficient to satisfy the fair presentation requirement. Poland

v. Stewart, 117 F.3d 1094, 1105 (9th Cir. 1996); Julius v. Johnson, 840 F.2d

1533, 1546 (11th Cir. 1988); Puleio v. Vose, 830 F.2d 1197, 1200 (Ist Cir.

1987); Hayes v. Lockhart, 766 F.2d 1247, 1252 (8th Cir. 1985). This Court has

specifically held that the duty of the Arizona appellate courts to review the record

in a case for “fundamental error,” a duty imposed by a now-repealed statute, does

7

APPENDIX E

No. 96-15189

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

DOUB BINFORD, ‘

Petitioner-Appellant

Vv.

WILLIAM RHODE; GRANT WOODS,

Attorney General,

Respondents-Appellees

SUPPLEMENTAL REPLY BRIEF OF PETITIONER/APPELLANT

FREDRIC F. KAY

FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER

Denise I. Young

Assistant Federal Public Defender

Arizona State Bar No. 007146

97 E. Congress, Suite 130

Tucson, AZ 85701

(520) 620-7048

Attorneys for Petitioner-Appellant

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

xs RESPONDENTS CONCEDE THAT ISSUES CONSIDERED BY

THE ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS IN PETITIONER’S

DIRECT APPEAL ARE EXHAUSTED

II. PETITIONER’S MISLABELED PRO SE PETITION FOR

REVIEW EXHAUSTED HIS CLAIMS

III.PETITIONER’S CLAIMS WERE EXHAUSTED IN HIS STATE

HABEAS PETITION

IV. NO MANDATORY BAR PREVENTS PETITIONER FROM

RETURNING TO STATE COURT TO EXHAUST HIS CLAIMS

¥. CAUSE AND PREJUDICE EXIST TO OVERCOME THE

ALLEGED PROCEDURAL DEFAULTS

CONCLUSION

ii

ae

14

17

19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

Anders v. California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967) a

Binford v. Rhode, 116 F.3d 396 (9th Cir. 1997) .. 13

Calde Vv - Moe! , 144 F.3d 618 (9th Cir.

1998) ee etn eee ee ee ek oy gs ig 13

Ceja v. Stewart, 97 F.3d 1246 (9th Cir. 1996) re ee

Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991) age

Colson v. Smith, 438 F.2d 1075 (5th Cir. 1971) ... 9

Harris v. Reed, 489 U.S. 255 (1989) ree ee | eee

irre vy Ceeeias, 477 U.8. 476 (1906) . . « ss 14

Ortiz v. Stewart, 149 F.3d 923 (9th Cir. 1998) .. 12

Poland v. Stewart, 117 F.3d 1094 (9th Cir. 1996) .. 7

chlup v. , 115 S. Ct. 851 (1995) wae. te |, See

Stringer v.-Black, 503 U.S. 222 (1992) ..... 8, 12

v. N m , 501 U.S. 797 (1991) ee es

STATE CASES

Brooks v. State, 130 Ariz. 418, 636 P.2d 1200 (1981) 10

Bustamonte v. Ryan, 175 Ariz. 327, 856 P.2d 1205 (App.

1993) ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee eee ee 10

ii

Busy Bee Buffet, Inc, v. Ferrell, 82 Ariz. 192, 310

P.2d 817 (1957) ee ee ee ee ee ee eee ey

Floyd v. Superior Court, 134 Ariz. 472, 657 P.2d 885

(App. 1982) ieee Kk a OR OR Se ear 2a Os 10

Graham v. Salazar, 135 Ariz. 334, 661 P.2d 184 (1983) 10

Moreno v. Gonzales, Binford v. Rhode, 192 Ariz. 131,

962 P.2d 205 (1998) ie a ak ie eee ee ie, gO ee

State v. Barnes, 167 Ariz. 186, 805 P.2d 1007 (1991) 4

State v. Brewer, 170 Ariz. 486, 826 P.2d 783 (1992) 5

State v. Church, 109 Ariz. 39, 504 P.2d 940 (1973) . 5

State v. Cuffle, 171 Ariz. 49, 828P.2d 773 (1992). . 4

State v. Davis, 148 Ariz. 62, 712 P.2d 975 (App. 1985)11

State v. Dawson, 164 Ariz. 278, 792 P.2d 741 (1990) 3

State v. Leon, 104 Ariz. 297, 451 P.2d 878 (1969) ~ 2

State v. Lopez, 153 Ariz. 285, 736 P.2d 369 (1987) 2, 4

State v. Mauro, 159 Ariz. 186, 766 P.2d 59 (1988) ee

State v. Nevel], 165 Ariz. 362, 798 P.2d 1371 (App.

1990) Cee ea eo Se & ST Re aE en SS a eS ee

State v. Noleen, 142 Ariz. 101, 688 P.2d 993 (1984) 6, 7

State v. Robinson, 24 Ariz. App. 372, 539 P.2d 176

(App. 1975) a ae "de We nt be a ae ee ee ee ee 3, 4

iii

State v. Smith,

State v. Smith,

State v. Thomas,

1990)

n

(App.

A.

A.

ms

R.

S

Si.

v. Wi

V

1978)

§ 13-4035

§13-4233

136: Ariz. 273, 665 P.2d 995 (1983)

5

171 Ariz. 501, 831 P.2da 877 (App. 1992)

’

165 Ariz. 573, 799 P.2d 914 (App.

102 Ariz. 271, 428 P.2a 423 (1967)

W

, 121 Ariz. 230,

ARIZONA STATUTES

589 P.2d 473

a

2

10

I. RESPONDENTS CONCEDE THAT ISSUES CONSIDERED BY THE

ARIZONA COURT OF APPEALS IN PETITIONER’S DIRECT

APPEAL ARE EXHAUSTED.

Respondents concede that the claims considered and

rejected by the Arizona Court of Appeals in

Petitioner’s 1988 direct appeal from his guilty plea

and sentence are exhausted. Supp.Ans.Brf. at 5, 7.

Respondents argue, however, that although the Arizona

Court of howeaie issued a decision and affirmed

Petitioner’s guilty plea conviction and sentence, the

appellate did not consider any claims.* Id. at 8. The

facts and law show otherwise.

*Later, however, Respondents admit that the

appellate court did consider and reject Petitioner’s

Claims of ineffective counsel and uninteliigent pica in

the 1988 appeal: “[Flinding that the claims Petitioner

-oryre’ 1 errr s

disposed of in petitioner’s 1988 appeal, and in

Petitioner’s postconviction relief proceedings, the

Arizona Court of Appeals refused to address

Petitioner’s supplemental claims of error.”

Supp.Ans.Brf. at 11 (emphasis added). Obviously these

claims could not have been “argued and disposed of” in

the 1988 appeal without the appellate court reviewing

and rejecting them.

In its decision affirming Petitioner’s guilty plea

conviction and sentence, the Court of Appeals

specifically discussed the facts surrounding the guilty

plea Petitioner entered and his motion to withdraw it.

It stated that shortly after entering the plea,

Petitioner “moved to withdraw” it because “he did not

understand the terms, conditions and consequences,” and

that “the trial court denied the motion.” ER 14 at 1.

The appellate court stated that the trial “court

determined that [Petitioner’s] change of plea was made

knowingly, intelligently, and voluntarily” and “was not

the result of force, threats, or promises; and was

factually supported.” Id. at 3.

The appellate ccurt then cxrlained that “pvrsuant

to A.R.S. § 13-4035,” it had “fully reviewed the

record” and found “the appeal to be without merit.” It

then “affirmed” the “judgment of conviction and the

sentence imposed.” Id. at 4.

This review necessarily included the claims

2

eee

Petitioner raised below that his guilty plea was

unintelligent and his counsel ineffective because “he

did not understand the terms, conditions and

consequences of his plea.” ER 14 at 1. The appellate

court’s duties under A.R.S. § 13-4035, and Anders v,

California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967),? required the court to

conduct “[a]Jn exhaustive search of the record” for

fundamental and “prejudicial error.” State v. Leon,

104 Ariz. 297, 300, 451 P.2d 878, 881 (1969); see also

State v. Lopez, 153 Ariz. 285, 736 P.2d 369 (1987). As

the Arizona courts have explained, the “scope of

review” in “a criminal defendant’s appeal from either a

conviction or sentence” “necessarily includes a review

=

es

of Lait

Vaiidity of the conviction,* State >. Srith, i71

(i)

Ariz. 501, 504, 831 P.2d 877, 880 (App. 1992), and “the

entire record” “regardless of the grounds urged in that

“Counsel appointed by the court to represent

Petitioner in his direct appeal from his guilty plea

and sentence filed a brief pursuant to Anders v.

California, 386 U.S. 738 (1967).

3

appeal.” State v. Dawson, 164 Ariz. 278, 283, 792 P.2d

741, 746 (1990). The appellate court “will search the

record and correct ‘fundamental error’... even if not

raised in the trial court or on appeal.” Id.

(citations omitted). See also State v. Mauro, 159

Ariz. 186, 193, 766 P.2d 59, 66 (1988) (Arizona

appellate courts have “a duty to search the record for

fundamental error whether a defendant specifies exactly

where it is located or not.”).

When a conviction results from the entry of a

guilty plea, the appellate court necessarily reviews

whether the plea was constitutional, including whether

it was entered knowingly, intelligently and

voluntarily. For example, in State v_Rohinson, 74

Ariz. App. 372, 539 P.2d 176 (App. 1975), appellate

counsel filed an Anders brief in the consolidated

appeal of the defendant’s three guilty plea

convictions. Although counsel raised no issues as to

the pleas the defendant entered, the appellate court

o

nonetheless reviewed the record to determine the

constitutionality of the pleas. After that review, it

concluded that the guilty plea entered in one case was

unconstitutional, but that the pleas in the other two

cases were “knowingty, intelligently and voluntarily

entered.” Id., 24 Ariz.App. at 373-374, 539 P.2d at

177-178. See also State v. Cuffle, 171 Ariz. 49, 50,

828 P.2da 773, 774 (1992) (counsel filed Anders brief on

appeal; court remanded for hearing “to determine if, at

the time of the pleas of no contest, the defendant

knew, Or was advised by counsel before the pleas, of

the nature of the offenses to which he was pleading no

contest”); State v. Barnes, 167 Ariz. 186, 805 P.2d

1007 (19°91) ‘counsel filed Anders brief in court of

appeals; “[u]pon reviewing the record, the court [of

appeals] concluded that... [trial court] had failed to

inform her of the rights she waived....”)?; State v,

>The Arizona Supreme Court, however, disagreed with

the lower appellate court’s conclusion concerning the

5

Lopez, 153 Ariz. at 286, 736 P.2d at 370 (although no

issue raised as to constitutionality of plea, appellate

court “pursuant to A.R.S. § 13-4035 and Anders v.

California, [citation omitted], reviewed the entire

record in this case” and concluded that the “facts and

circumstances justified the acceptance of the plea of

guilty” and the “record also reflects that the

defendant knowingly, voluntarily and intelligently

entered into the plea agreement ....”); State v.

Thomas, 165 Ariz. 573, 574, 799 P.2d 914, 915 (App.

1990) (counsel filed Anders brief; court “searched

record for fundamental error” and “found none”; “change

of plea and sentencing hearings” were proper); State

s. Neyell 16۩ Ariz 362, 264, 798 P.2?da 1371. 1373

(App. 1990) (counsel filed Anders brief; court

determined trial court erred in sentencing defendant

validity of the defendant’s plea, and affirmed the

defendant’s conviction and sentence. Id., 167 Ariz. At

191, 805 P.2d at 1011.

pursuant to plea agreement) ; State v, Church, 109 Ariz.

39, 41, 504 P.2d 940, 942 (1973) (“Although not raised

by appellant, in searching the record for fundamental

error in compliance with A.R.S. § 13-1715, subsec. B,*

we have found that the record does not affirmatively

show that defendant was aware of one of the

consequences of his plea....”); State v. Willard, 102

Ariz. 271, 272, 428 P.2d 423, 424 (1967) (“we have

searched the entire record for fundamental error as

required in §13-1715 A.R.S. The record discloses

that defendant’s plea of guilty was voluntarily

given.” )

In addition, the Arizona courts’ review for

fundamental error includes a search for ineffective

assistance of counsel:

Once a defendant files an appeal ..., we are

expressly required by statute to review issues

‘This statute was renumbered in 1977 as § 13-4035,

and repealed in 1995. Ariz.Laws 1995, Ch. 198, § 1;

Ariz. Laws 1977, Ch. 142, § 161.

7

affecting both judgment and sentencing in our

search for fundamental error. See, e.g,., State

v. Smith, 136 Ariz. 273, 279, 665 P.2d 995,

1001 (1983) (finding of ineffective assistance

; - ' nia Ft]

«BS m : view).

Vv rewer, 170 Ariz. 486, 493, 826 P.2d 783, 790

(1992) (emphasis added). See also State v. Noleen, 142

Ariz. 101, 104, 688 P.2d 993, 995 (1984) (pursuant to

A.R.S. § 13-4035, court considers ineffective counsel

claims based on “the entire record on appeal.”) Based

on Petitioner’s allegations contained in the record

before the appellate court, that petitioner did not

understand the plea he entered, and his trial counsel’s

failure to provide additional detail to the court

concerning this issue when asked to do so, ER 12 at p.

22, the appellate eeeses fundamental error review

included this claim.

Thus, there is no question that the appellate court

reviewed Petitioner’s claims of ineffective counsel and

unintelligent plea in the 1988 appeal. First, as we

have shown, the appellate court said it “fully reviewed

the record.” It specifically discussed the guilty plea

and the fact that Petitioner attempted to withdraw from

it because he did not understand it, but was not

permitted to do so. After stating that the trial court

determined the “change of plea was knowingly,

intelligently, and voluntarily” made, the appellate

court affirmed the conviction and sentence. ER 14 at

3.

Second, the appellate court later explained that it

had reviewed and rejected Petitioner’s claims of

ineffective counsel and improper plea in his 1988

appeal. In its decision following Petitioner’s

resentencing and postconviction proceedings, the

appellate court found:

Both [ineff :, € }

; = ; ;

i i di tot in 3 1] 5

previous appeal and his petition for post-

conviction relief.

ER 25 at 2-3. This statement is plain: the appellate

4 -

Petitioner has shown cause for his alleged

defaults, and the resulting prejudice: he entered a

plea of guilt which he did not understand.

Alternatively, Petitioner asks this Court to remand

this matter to the District Court for a hearing at

which additional facts establishing cause and

prejudice, and miscarriage of justice can be

investigated and presented.

CONCLUSION

For all these reasons, Petitioner has fairly

presented his claims to the state courts and the

District Court’s order should be reversed and the case

remanded for review of them. Alternatively, because

cnece 18 no mandatory bar preventing Petitioner from

returning to state court, this Court should hold these

proceedings in abeyance pending exhaustion of those

22

claims it finds were not fairly presented to the state

courts.

A

7)

Dated this day of December, 1998.

FREDRIC F. KAY |

FEDERAL PUBLIC DEFENDER

Denise I. Young

Assistant Federal -Public Defender

Attorneys for Petitioner/Appellant

23

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.