Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Celpage, Inc. v. Federal Communications Commission

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ Supremé Court, U.S.

a, FILED

09107 2 DEC 231999

: sini

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

CELPAGE, INC., et al.;

Petitioners,

Vv.

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION;

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

_ Frederick M. Joyce

JOYCE & JACOBS, Attys. at

Law, L.L.P.

1019 19th Street, N.W., PH-2

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 457-0100

December 23, 1999 Counsel for Celpage, Inc.

ait

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

The historic concept of "Universal Service" was derived

from the Communications Act of 1934's mandate to "make

available, so far as possible, to all the people of the United

States a rapid, efficient, Nation-wide, and world-wide wire and

radio communication service with adequate facilities at

reasonable charges." Prior to the adoption of the

Telecommunications Act of 1996 ("Telecom Act"), "Universal

Service" meant the availability of basic exchange telephone

service to all parts of the nation at affordable, relatively

comparable rates.

The Telecom Act revised the Universal Service regime

in several important respects. In the final days preceding

enactment of the Telecom Act, a few Senators sponsored an

amendment to that bill to create a new federal program whose

purpose was to make discounted telecommunications, and any

other "special services" the FCC might designate, available to _

"elementary schools, secondary schools and libraries for

educational purposes..." That amendment also required

telecommunications carriers, in response to any "bona fide

request" for services specified by the FCC, to provide those

services to schools and libraries at discounted rates. This

amendment was approved by the Senate, and became part of

the Telecom Act. Congress did not authorize or appropriate any

funds for this program; rather, it was to be funded by what the

Statute termed "contributions" from "all providers of

telecommunications services." The Universal Service -

provisions of the Telecom Act thus present these important

questions, all of which qualify for a grant of certiorari under

Rule 10(c) of this Court's Rules:

1. Whether the Fifth Circuit erred in upholding

certain Universal Service statutory provisions in that the U.S.

Congress has improperly delegated, in violation of the Taxing

- lii-

Clause and the Origination Clause, its revenue and legislative

authority to a regulatory agency, the FCC, allowing the FCC to

adopt and impose Universal Service tax payment obligations on

telecommunications carriers and non-carriers for an unlimited

range of federal programs?

2. Whether the Fifth Circuit erred in upholding the

Universal Service statute in that it is so vague as to give the

FCC virtual carte blanche as to how to define the supported

services, how to pay for them, and how to punish parties who.

refuse to "contribute" a percentage of their annual revenues to

these programs? .

3. Whether the Fifth Circuit erred in upholding the

FCC's interpretation of Section 332 of the Act, thereby

improperly allowing the states to impose Universal Service tax

payment obligations on Commercial Mobile Radio Service

("CMRS") carriers?

-iv-

The parties to the proceedings in the Fifth Circuit are

listed in the caption of the decision below, see Appendix at

Appendix 1.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 29.6, petitioner

Celpage states that is has no parent company. Pam Am

Wireless, Inc. is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Celpage.

-Ve

TABLE OF CONTENTS .

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED. 03650 OAS: ii

LIST OF PARTIES AND AFFILIATES. .'............ iv

TAREE OE Bas Ae sc kcibcnacsks inks denen Vii

CTR MIRE a nso oa os ck we wha ede exes ona ees l

TFG I i aS eae oka Re er

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED............. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CARE. 6600 cess iu cencseenanc ]

.. Universal Service Regulatory History ........... 1.

a The U.S. Senate's Creation of New "Universal

SOGVNE FIONN is ce ccbaccbicceeses ces 3

3. The FCC's Universal Service Rulemaking

PII is 0 bia he dae CERO ea 5

4, The Fifth Circuit Decision. ...............00: 10

3: Petitioner's Interest in These Proceedings. ....... 11

REASONS FOR ISSUING THE WRIT. ......... eae 12

I. THE FCC'S NEW UNIVERSAL SERVICE

REGIME IS AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL TAX. . 12

II. THE STATUTORY PROGRAM IS VOID FOR

VARIES 85 ok BN ea wees ca ran Beas 21

Il. THE FCC'S DETERMINATION THAT STATES

MAY IMPOSE UNIVERSAL SERVICE

OBLIGATIONS ON CMRS PROVIDERS WAS

CLEARLY ERRONEOUS. .......00s0cceese's 26

CONCTATISION: .5 605s Sivas veasdeeacee baaeees 30

- Vi -

Page

APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit ................ Appendix 1

Fifth Circuit Denial of Rehearing ... Appendix 111

1 UBL, OEM Appendix 113

Wi ARE IGE os oe ssa. Appendix 123

d

Cost Estimate (July 19, 1995) ...... Appendix 134

U.S. General Accounting Office,

Letter to Senator Ted Stevens,

February 10, 1998 (B-278820) ...... Appendix 148

- Vii -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS Page

US. Const. ast. £, $5 7,8. osc. tice 14, 19, 21

CASES

A.L.A. Schechter Poultry Corp. v. United States,

yy ie Ee: ) See rrp panes 14

A.B. Small Co. v. American Sugar Ref. Co.,

267 US. S53 CURRIN ooe ha tis 3S Aes 22

American Trucking Ass'ns, et al. v.

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency,

175 F.3d 1027 (D.C. Cir. 1999). ............ 9, 15

Cellular Telecommunications Indus. Ass'n v. FCC,

168 F.3d 1332 (D.C. Cir. 1999). ..... sha te aatewt 26

Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources Defense Council,

Inc., 467 U.S. 837 (1984). ............26.- 10, 27

Connally v. General Constr. Co., 3

268 US. SUS (IDI: 6 0s 6A ERE 22

Coates v. Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611 (1971). ............ 23

Dane v. Jackson, 256 U.S. 589 (1921). ............... 21

Department of Revenue v. ACF Indust.,

SIG US. Soar ka oie oe

- Viii -

Page

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 SINOOR his eis. 25

Loving v. United States, 517 U.S. 748 eC) rere 13, 14

Marshall Field & Co. v. Clark, 143 U.S. 649 (1892). .... 15

Morton Salt Co. v. City of South Hutchinson,

159 F.2d 897 (ie Ce 19S) ew ec. 21

Mountain States Tel. & Te!. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa Ana,

GPE NA PTE, oor ks oo oe 28

National Cable TV Ass'n v. United States,

One wa SOULE, ix, 18, 19, 21

Pace v. Burgess, 92 U.S. 372 SUMMER cc ics cc ee 16

Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, 514 U.S. 211 CRON Kikie 6 i ce 14

Reid v. Rolling Fork Pub. Util. Dist.,

979 F.2d 1084 (5th Cir. 1992). es 6

Rural Tel. Coalition. v. FCC, <=

838 F.2d 1307 (D.C. Cir. ee 20

Smith v. Illinois Bell, 282 U.S. 133 CIS 6 sb 5s Soke 2

Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566 GRR 5 be 24,25

Texas Office of Pub. Util. Counsel v. FCC.

183 F.3d 393 (Sth Cir. 1999). ............ passim

Twin City Bank v. Nebeker, 167 U.S. 196 (eee. 5 16

Page

United States v. City of Huntington, WV,

999 F.2d 71 (4th Cir. 1993). .............2.0. 21

United States v. Munoz-Flores,

MS Ris SEO hv cS aknncda vase beues 18, 19

United States v. United States Shoe Corp.,

5239 US. SOO Ce Fn EA AOS 18, 19

United States v. Maryland,

471 F.Supp. 1030 (D.Md. 1979). .............. 20

William Thomas v. Network Solutions, et al., — -

176 F.3d S00 (DC. Car. 1998). os ie ee 18, 19

Whisenhunt v. Spradlin, 464 U.S. 965 (1983). ......... 22

STATUTES AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

Telecommunications Act of 1996,

Pub. L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 (1996). ........ 4

OT USE OB aa is 4

SVU SLL. SPM 5 55s OEE 4

GT AISI BOE ve ba ise hae aS oes di ees 29

47 ULB. © SI ins os i ea so sk aS 4

OT UAE Ss oss cba ive ek Ai ae ee 4, 25

47-O SS. 9 ZOD. EIA 13, 23

mg?

SIUSC. 4D os 2S IAS. 5, 25

By Page

PR BON 6 ob a oe cieiin iwc. cae: 5

WE CDAD Bae 5 5598's Fh hos ch Sc 5

PUA. F TI oa vk evn ance cccaccc: 4,5

OF RR BAPE wos ce hac ea eas ats. 4

OPED GIMME. 6 8ot58 be ads aks ob ic Sk, 11

MF AR BOM 6 6 iF ea Kise, passim

WE Ge No 108-711 (0003), 28

Joint Explanatory Statement of the Comm. of Conference,

H.R. Rep. No. 104-458 (1996). ............. 4, 28

Os MO PNG IETS ANS) ois oN vedo 28

FEDERAL AGENCY DECISIONS

" Amendment of Part 67 (New Part 36) of the Commission's

Rules and Establishment of a Federal-State Joint Bd., Report

and Order,

2 FCC Red. 2639, { 17 (1987), recon. granted in part,

3 FCC Red. 5518 (1988) .......... eee ck cee 2

Changes to the Bd. of Dirs. of the Nat'l Exch. Carrier Ass n,

Inc.; Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service,

12 FCC Red. 18, 400 (1997). .................. y

-Xi-.

Page

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Report and

Order,

bi PX, Ce, Free iwc dasa cccasaeesas l

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Recommended

Decision,

ba Ws Ss OE CS VG a hi eo heed eee 5

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Report and

Order,

Le eu Oe, Or Pe CO a ls oe hee ean cen passim

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Third Order on

Reconsideration,

B22 FRA, OE, Zoe CASTE. 6 views 6660944580. 8, 24

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Fourth Order on

Reconsideration,

ee ke Mek Te, tt reer passim

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Twelfth Order on

Reconsideration,

64 FR 30440 (May 28, 1999). ......... 8,9, 17, 24

MTS & WATS Market Structure, Third Report and Order,

ptt ee FE. +s ree ye

MTS & WATS Market Structure and Amendment of Part 67 of

the Commission's Rules and Establishment of a Joint Bd.,

Decision and Order,

Si Fed. Ree. 1371 Gam. 13, 1966). ..42 5. cee. 3

- Xii -

Page

MTS & WATS Market Structure and Amendment of Part 67 of

the Commission's Rules, Report and Order,

2 FCC Red. 2953 (1987), recon. 3 FCC Red. 4543

(PMC O Ue ESE sean saes oh et 3

National Exch. Carrier Ass'n, Inc.,

5 FCC Red. 173, (Com. Car. Bur. SN Ad sce 3

Order In the Matter of Request for Review of the Decision of

the Universal Service Administrator by Wathena Unified Sch.

Dist., Wathena, Kansas, DA 99-2493 (Released November 9,

casing SEE CO EE Ea aes Cee aay Eee 9

Order In the Matter of Request for Review of the Decision of

the Universal Service Administrator by Greenfield Sch. Dist.,

Greenfield, Wisconsin, DA 99-2614 (Released November 22,

cing UPSET ET Cote U PIC Or Op een ented ane 9

Proposed First Quarter Universal Service Contribution

Factors, Public Notice, DA 97-2392 (released Nov. 13, 1997).

a cane reas oeeueliene RanlG 7

FEDERAL REGULATIONS

PETRA MAGE. oo oon ck... ore DAK 12

a Yn ene a ae 12

47 CER, § 54. 10ii8), @). ..........-......... 23

We BN ee ree or ne 23

EPRI 2. os ee 23

- X11 -

Page

47 CER. § S4.601(C). 0. ccc ccc ccc ccc ceccceccece 23

PCPR ASI. oi ke

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Congressional Budget Office Cost Esuumate (July 19, 1995)

pela Se a Wn afelale ea ees Adie ola oa a na ee 16

Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, Report to

Congress in Response to Senate Bill 1768 and Conference

Report on H.R. 3579, FCC 98-85 (rel. May 8, 1998). .... 14

U.S. General Accounting Office, Letter to Senator Ted Stevens,

February 10, 1998 (B-278820)...................... 17

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Fifth Circuit reviewing the FCC's

Universal Service Order is reported at 183 F.3d 393. It is

reproduced in the Appendix beginning at Appendix 1.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Fifth Circuit was entered on July

30, 1999. A tmely petition for rehearing en banc was denied

on September 28, 1999. See Appendix 111. This Court has

jurisdiction over these consolidated cases pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254 (1). See also S. Ct. R. 12.4.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The statutory provisions involved in this case are

Sections 254 and 332 of the Communications Act, 47 U.S.C.

$§ 254, 332. These provisions are reprinted in the Appendix at

Appendix 113 through Appendix 133.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

1. Universal Service Regulatory History. The

historic concept of "Universal Service" was derived from the

Act's mandate to "make available, so far as possible, to all the

people of the United States a rapid, efficient, Nation-wide, and

world-wide wire and radio communication service with

adequate facilities at reasonable charges." 47 U.S.C. § 151.

Until adoption of the Telecom Act, "universal service” meant

the availability of basic exchange telephone service to all parts

of the nation at affordable, relatively comparable rates. See,

€.g., Federal-State Joint Bd. on Universal Service, 11 FCC Red.

7920 (1996). It is more costly to serve some areas than others:

consequently, keeping rates "affordable" for consumers in high

cost areas has meant averaging those costs with the costs of

serving Consumers in the lower cost areas, or shifting them to

interexchange customers. In the days of the Bell System

ty

monopoly, this assignment of exchange plant costs to the

interstate jurisdiction was accomplished through a division of

revenues process. See MTS & WATS Market Structure, Third

Report and Order, 93 FCC 2d 241, | 11 (1983) ("Access

Charge Order").

In 1983, the FCC instituted a program of "access

charges" which, as the name implied, imposed flat rate charges

for access to the public switched telephone network ("PSTN").

End users were thereafter required to pay a "subscriber line

charge" to the particular local exchange carrier ("LEC") from

which they received local telephone service, and interexchange

carriers ("[IXC") were required to pay “carner Common line"

("CCL") charges and usage-based charges to the LECs. See

Access Charge Order at 44 138-150.

Because much of the same LEC plant is used for both

intrastate and interstate traffic, the costs of that plant must be

allocated to either the state jurisdiction (recovered in the rates

for local exchange service), or the interstate jurisdiction

(recovered through the SLC and the charges to long distance

carniers). See, e.g., Access Charge Order at ¥ 59 quoting Smith

v. Illinois Bell, 282 U.S. 133 (1930). To accomplish this task,

the FCC, on the recommendations from State-Federal Joint

Boards, adopted a revised Jurisdictional Separations Manual to

determine the allocation of costs between the state and

interstate jurisdictions. See Amendment of Part 67 (New Part

36) of the Commission's Rules and Establishment of a Federal-

State Joint Board, Report and Order, 2 FCC Red. 2639, ¥ 17

(1987), recon. granted in part, 3 FCC Red. 5518 (1988).

Post-divestiture Universal Service "high cost

assistance" relied upon the access charge and jurisdictional

separations processes to lower basic telephone rates in high-

3

cost areas by allowing LECs with high local "loop"! costs to

allocate more of those costs to the interstate jurisdiction. See,

e.g., National Exchange Carrier Ass'n, Inc., 5 FCC Red. 173,4

2 (Com. Car. Bur. 1989). The "Lifeline" program and the

subsequently-adopted "Link-Up America" program, aimed at

assisting low income consumers, also relied upon this complex

regime of cost-shifting. "Lifeline" involved a waiver of the

federal subscriber line charge for qualifying consumers in

participating states. See MTS & WATS Market Structure and

Amendment of Part 67_of the Commission's Rules and

Establishment of a Joint Board, Decision and Order, 51 Fed.

Reg. 1371 (Jan. 13, 1986). "Link Up" allowed LECs that

waived service initiation fees for such consumers to assign the

amount of those fees to the interstate jurisdiction. See MTS &

WATS Market Structure and Amendment of Part 67 of the

Commission's Rules, Report_and Order, 2 FCC Red. 2953

(1987), recon. 3 FCC Red. 4543 (1988),

In short, the Universal Service program, then and now,

shifts the costs of local exchange service from some consumers

to others. Until the enactment of the Telecom Act, this shifting

of costs Occurred only among providers of what consumers

think of as "telephone service,” that is, local and long distance

telecommunications carriers.

a The U.S. Senate's Creation of New

"Universal Service" Programs. On February 8, 1996, the

"A "loop" is a "pair of wires, or its equivalent, between a customer's stauion

and the central office from which the station is served." See 47 C_F.R. Part

36, Appendix-Glossary. The "central office" is a “switching unit... having

the necessary equipment and operations arrangements for terminating and

interconnecting subscriber lines and trunks or trunks only." Id.

4

Telecom Act* was signed into law. The Telecom Act added a

new Section 254 to the Communications Act of 1934? ("the

Act"), which required that a Federal State Joint-Board

recommend, and the Commission adopt, rules to revise the

then-extant system of Universal Service subsidies, including

defining the services to be supported by the new system and

adopting explicit support mechanisms. See 47 U.S.C. § 254(a),

(b).

Section 254 created a new federal program to make

discounted telecommunications, and any other "special

services” the FCC might designate, available to "elementary

schools, secondary schools and libraries for educational

purposes ...." 47 U.S.C. § 254(h)(1)(B); see Con. Rep. 104-

458, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1996), at CR19-20. That law also

required telecommunications carmiers, in response to any "bona

fide request" for services specified by the FCC, to provide

those services to schools and libraries at discounted rates. See

id. This statutory amendment was approved by the Senate, and

became part of the Telecom Act. Congress did not authorize or

appropriate any funds for this program; rather, it was to be

funded by "contributions" from "all providers of

telecommunications services." 47 U.S.C. §254(b)(4).

The “universal service" provisions of the Telecom Act

thus established a program for subsidization of supported

telecommunications services provided by eligible carriers in

high-cost areas, 47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(3)(G), left in place the

"Lifeline" and "Link-Up” programs for low income consumers,

47 USC. § 254), and created the new, discounted

telecommunications and information services program for

> Pub. L. No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 (Feb. 8, 1996) (codified in scattered

sections of 47 U.S.C.).

* 47 U.S.C. §§ 151-714 (k)(3).

5

qualified schools and libraries, and discounted

telecommunications services for rural health care providers. 47

U.S.C. § 254(h)(1)(A), (B).

To pay for all these programs, the new statute redefined

and greatly expanded the range of parties required to support

Universal Service. Whereas the basic telephone services

previously covered under "universal service” were supported

only by LECs and IXCs, the new statute imposed Universal

Service payment obligations upon: "[e]very

telecommunications carrier that provides interstate

telecommunications services ... [and,] [aJny other provider of

interstate telecommunications may be required to contribute to

the preservation and advancement of universal service if the

public interest so requires." 47 U.S.C. § 254(d).

The statute further states that "only an eligible

telecommunications carrier designated under Section 2 14(e).

. . Shall be eligible to receive specific Federal universal service

support... ." 47 U.S.C. § 254(e). A carrier receiving "such

support shall use that support only for the provision,

maintenance, and upgrading of facilities and services for which

the support is intended." Id.

x The FCC's Universal Service Rulemaking

Proceedings. On November 8, 1996, the Federal-State Joint

Board (the "Joint Board”) in CC Docket No. 96-45 released its

recommendations to implement the provisions of new Section

254. Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service,

Recommended Decision, 12 FCC Red. 87 (1996). The FCC

generally adopted the Joint Board's recommendations,

including those recommendations as to the services to be

Supported as part of "Universal Service": the eligibility of

carriers to receive Support from the Universal Service Fund

6

("USF"),* including the funds for schools and libraries and rural

health care providers; the carriers required to contribute to the

USF; and the basis for assessing carriers’ contributions. See

Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, Report and

Order, 12 FCC Red. 8776 at ¥ 56-107, 127-325, 424-749 (May

8, 1997) (the "R&O").

The FCC determined that only carriers providing

specified services would be eligible for Universal Service

support: single party service,” voice-grade access to the public

switched network, Dual Tone Multifrequency signaling or its

functional equivalent,° access to emergency service, access to

operator services, access to interexchange service, access to

directory assistance, and toll limitation services for qualifying

low-income customers. See id. at ¥ 56. To be eligible for USF

support from the high-cost area and low-income consumer

funds, a carrier was required to provide all of the services

covered by the definition of Universal Service. See id. at {J 56,

89, 90. The FCC also held that non-telecommunications

service providers were eligible for USF payments from the

schools and libraries fund, although for now they have no USF

payment obligations. See id. at ¥ 32.

The Commission's rules for support of schools and

libraries thus require telecommunications companies, including

paging companies such as Celpage, to subsidize non-

* The USF is actually four funds: the high-cost fund; the low-income fund;

the schools and libraries fund; and the rural health care fund. See R&O at

q 18.

* "Single party service” means "only one customer will be served by each

subscriber loop or access line" (for example, not party-line service). See

R&O at J 62.

* DTMF facilitates the transportation of signaling through the network,

shortening call set-up time. See R&O n. 68.

7

telecommunications carriers. See R&O, JJ 425, -428.

Moreover, unlike all other affected parties, paging carriers may

not recoup their contributions to the USF in the form of support

payments. The FCC has defined "Universal Service" to include

only services which paging carriers cannot provide over their

allocated narrowband 25 kHz channels.

- Despite these facts, which Celpage formally raised in

the FCC's rulemaking proceeding, the FCC declined to exempt

any Class of carriers from USF contribution requirements, and

decided that all carriers should contribute to the USF at the

same rate, whether or not they would be eligible for USF

subsidies. See id. at JJ 39,777. The FCC further determined

that “contributions” would be based upon a Carrier's gross end-

user revenues (interstate revenues only for the high-cost area

and low-income consumer funds; both interstate and intrastate

revenues for the schools and libraries and rural health care

funds) without any deductions, even for uncollectibles. See id.

at {7 40, 772. Additionally, the FCC agreed with the Joint

Board that Section 332(c)(3)(A) of the Act did not prevent the

States from requiring CMRS carriers to contribute to intrastate

Universal Service programs. See id. at JJ 397, 791.

On July 18, 1997, the FCC ordered the National

Exchange Carrier Association, Inc. ("NECA") to establish an

independent, not-for-profit subsidiary, namely the Universal

Service Administrative Company ("USAC"), to administer

certain aspects of the USF. Changes to the Board of Directors

of the National Exchange Carrier Ass'n, Inc.: Federal-State

Joint Board on Universal Service, 12 FCC Rcd. 18, 400

(released July 18, 1997) ("NECA Order").

NECA estimated that the amount required to fund and

administer the USF would be $968.3 million for the first

quarter of 1998 alone. See Proposed First Quarter Universal

Service Contribution Factors, Public Notice, DA 97-2392

8

(released Nov. 13, 1997) (the "First Quarter Contribution

Notice").’ Based upon NECA's estimated costs for the high-

cost program ($432.3 million) and low-income program ($136

million) in the -First Quarter Contribution Notice, the new

maximum total cost of the USF for the first three months of

1998 was $905.8 million.

That figure was predicted to grow in subsequent

quarters.* And grow it did. By 1999, the FCC had doubled the

size of the schools and libraries fund to the $2.25 billion cap.”

See Twelfth Order on Reconsideration, 64 FR 30440 7 1

("Twelfth Recon. Order").

In its Fourth Recon. Order, the FCC largely denied the

petitions for reconsideration of the R&O. The FCC specifically

rejected arguments of paging carriers that application of the full

USF burden to them was inequitable and contrary to the

express language of Section 254. Fourth Recon. Order at J

256-266. The FCC also upheld its ruling that the states may

impose intrastate Universal Service requirements on CMRS

providers. Id. ¥§ 262-266. The FCC also rejected several

petitioners’ contentions that the Universal Service program was

” The FCC subsequently directed USAC to collect no more than $25 million

per quarter for the first and second quarters of 1998 to support the rural

health care program, and no more than $625 million for the first half of 1998

to support the schools and libraries program. See Federal-State Joint Board

on Universal Service, Third Order on Reconsideration, FCC 97-411, 12

FCC Red. 22801 (released Dec. 16, 1997) (the "Third Recon. Order").

* See Report to Congress on Universal Service, Separate Statement of

Chairman William E. Kennard, Report No. CC 98-9, FCC 98-67 (April 10,

1998)

(<http://www .fcc.gov/Bureaus/Common_Carrier/Reports/fcc98067 .html>).

* In addition to the remaining requirements of the Schools and Libraries

rural health care funds, proceedings are ongoing to adopt cost proxies for

the requirements of the high-cost fund for rural LECs.

9

an unconstitutional tax. Id. J 262.

To say that the FCC's universal service program has

generated controversy would be an enormous understatement.

As the cost and size of the program has grown exponentially in

its brief -tenure, so, too, has dissension among the FCC

Commissioners, state public utility Commissions, and on

Capitol Hill with regard to the Scope and legality of this

enormous regulatory program. '°

Even the recipients of these funds have joined the fray.

On a daily basis, the FCC's Common Carrier Bureau

adjudicates complaints from schools and libraries who have

been denied their requests for universal service funding.''

Nevertheless, the FCC's current Chairman evidently favors this

program; indeed, he has repeatedly expressed a desire to

expand its scope beyond its already vast borders. !”

10

See Twelfth Recon. Order, Dissenting Staiement of Commissioner

Furchtgott-Roth (May : i 1999)

(http://www.fec. gov/Speeches/Furchtgott_Roth/Statements/sthfr923.html );

See also Twelfth Recon. Order, Statement of Commissioner Michael K.

Powell Concurring in Part and Dissenting in Part (May 27, 1999)

(http://www.fcc.gov/Speeches/Powell/Statements/stmkp9 15.html); see also

Memorandum to Honorable George W. Gekas, Chairman, Subcommittee on

Commercial and Administrative Law, House Judiciary Committee, re:

Impact of American Trucking Ass'n v. EPA on FCC Rulemaking Under

Section 254 of the Telecommunications Act of 1996 (September 16, 1999)

(http://www. fcc. gov/Speeches/Furchtgott_Roth/Statements/sthfr946. html).

'' See, e.g., Order In the Matter of Request for Review of the Decision of

the Universal Service Administrator by Wathena Unified School District

Wathena, Kansas, DA 99-2493 (Released Nov. 9, 1999): Order In the

Matter of Request for Review of the Decision of the Universal Service

Administrator by Greenfield School District, Greenfield, Wisconsin, DA 99-

2614 (Released Nov. 22, 1999).

'? See Twelfth Recon. Order, Statement of Chairman Kennard (May 27,

1999) (http://www.fcc.gov/Speeches/Kennard/Statements/stwek936.html).

10

4. The Fifth Circuit Decision. Several incumbent

LECs, satellite service providers, state utility commissions, and

petitioner Celpage filed petitions for review of the FCC's R&O,

which were consolidated in the Fifth Circuit. Following

briefing and argument, the Fifth Circuit concluded for the most

part that the R&O does not violate statutory requirements or the

Constitution."

In addressing Celpage's arguments, the Fifth Circuit

rejected Celpage's contention that the universal service program

is an unconstitutional tax under the Taxing Clause and the

Origination Clause. Id. at 426-28. While the Fifth Circuit

noted that it was a "close question" as to whether the FCC's

interpretation of the statute raises "serious constitutional

doubts," it nonetheless deferred under the Chevron standard of

review, and found that the FCC had jurisdiction to fund non-

telecommunications and Internet services through the universal

service program. Id. at nn.93, 95.'*

The Fifth Circuit also denied Celpage'’s equal protection

'* Texas Office of Pub. Util. Counsel v. FCC, 183 F.3d 393 (Sth Cir. 1999)

("Texas OPUC"). While upholding most of the FCC's R&O, the Fifth

Circuit did reverse and remand portions of the R&O that do not directly bear

on Celpage's arguments, including: the FCC's decision to assess

contributions based on international and interstate revenues; the requirement

that ILECs recover their contributions from access charges; the blanket

prohibition on additional state eligibility requirements for carriers receiving

high-cost support; and the-rule prohibiting local telephone service providers

from disconnecting low-income subscribers. The Fifth Circuit concluded

that the FCC exceeded its jurisdictional authority when it assessed

contributions for the schools and libraries and high-cost support programs

based on the combined intrastate and interstate revenues of interstate

telecommunications providers.

'* Furthermore, it inexplicably acknowledged that the FCC could order

funds to be used to pay for the janitorial services in the school's computer

rooms. Id. at n.93.

and unlawful taking challenges. Id. at 428-29. In response to

Celpage's equal protection argument, the Fifth Circuit

concluded that the FCC's explanation that paging carriers

benefit from a larger and more universal public network system

Satisfied the "debatably rational” test articulated by the Fifth

Circuit in Reid v. Rolling Fork Public Utilities District, 979

F.2d 1084, 1087 (Sth Cir. 1992). Id. at 428.

Celpage's unlawful takings claim was dispensed of as

not being ripe for review, because, the Fifth Circuit concluded,

“a takings claims is not ripe until a claimant has unsuccessfully

sought compensation from the state." Id. at 428-29.

Similarly, and despite acknowledging fairly obvious

loopholes or vagaries in the statute and in the FCC's

interpretation thereof, the Fifth Circuit did not address

Celpage's vagueness argument, finding that the vagueness

challenge was not ripe for review because the FCC had made

a "tentative decision” regarding the calculations to be made to

assess wireless carriers’ revenues. Id. at 430.

Finally, while acknowledging that Celpage raised a

“convincing challenge” to the FCC's determination that Section

332 was not a bar to state-imposed universal service payments

by CMRS carriers, the Fifth Circuit nevertheless upheld the

FCC's decision, finding that "the FCC's reading reflects

Congress's unambiguous intent as expressed in the plain

language of the statute and takes into account Congress's

instruction that § 254 be constructed in ways that do not

conflict with other federal laws." Id. at 433.

9 Petitioner's Interest in These Proceedings.

Petitioner Celpage is a CMRS telecommunications

camer. See 47 U.S.C. §332(c)(1). Celpage provides one-way

Paging services throughout Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin

{slands. Telecommunications carriers such as Celpage, which

provide only one-way messaging services, are required to

12

“contribute” a percentage of their revenues each year to these

new universal service funds, to pay for a variety of computer

and other non-telecommunications programs in schools and

libraries, and to subsidize telephone services that are provided

by monopoly LECs and oligopoly IXCs. Yet, Celpage is

ineligible to receive universal service subsidies because it is not

technically capable of providing the services the FCC deemed

necessary to become an "eligible telecommunications carrier."

See 47 C.F.R §§ 54.101, 54.201.

REASONS FOR ISSUING THE WRIT

This Petition presents the Court with profound,

fundamental questions concerning separations of power. This

Petition raises the important question of whether Congress,

under the guise of adopting a vast, enormously expensive, and

completely unfunded Federal program, may shirk its

appropriation and taxation duties under the Constitution.

Also, the FCC's interpretation of Section 332, allowing

for state imposition of Universal Service obligations on CMRS

carriers, simply cannot be reconciled with the plain language of

the Act or long-standing principles of statutory construction.

That interpretation, which the Fifth Circuit affirmed, should be

reversed.

I. THE FCC'S NEW UNIVERSAL SERVICE

REGIME IS AN UNCONSTITUTIONAL TAX.

The U.S. Congress has improperly delegated its revenue

and legislative authority to a regulatory agency, the FCC, in

violation of the Taxing Clause.'° The U.S. Supreme Court

'S Although the 5th Circuit suggested that Celpage did not raise a "Taxing

Clause" objection to the FCC's program until its Reply Brief, Texas OPUC,

183 F.3d at 427 and n.52., it then proceeded to address that argument;

hence, this issue is properly raised in this Petition.

13

recently restated the fundamental maxim that "[e]ven before the

birth of this country, separation of powers was known to be a

defense against tyranny." Loving v. United States, 517 U.S.

748 (1996) (citing Motesquieu, The Spirit of the Laws, 151-52:

1 W. Blackstone, Commentaries 146-47, 269-70). The FCC's

universal service program is a form of regulatory tyranny..

Under this newly expanded program, the FCC may

adopt any universal service tax rate it chooses, and impose this

tax upon anyone, be they a telecommunications carrier or not.

See R&O at JJ 425, 428.

Under similar circumstances, this Court has stated that

"Congress cannot delegate legislative power to the President to

exercise an unfettered discretion to make whatever laws he

thinks may be needed or advisable for the rehabilitation and

expansion of trade or industry.". A.L.A. Schechter Poultry

Corp. v. United States, 295 U.S. 495, 537-38 (1935) (citations

omitted). The universal service program is similarly flawed.

Congress has delegated unlimited authority to an executive

agency to raise revenues and pass whatever regulations that

agency deems necessary to promote a federal welfare program

under the rubric of "universal service."

Although the FCC presumably believes it is acting in

the public's best interests in implementing this enormously

expensive and complicated program, the statute provides the

agency virtually "no standards, aside from the statement of the

general aims" of the universal service program. A.L.A.

Schechter Poultry Corp., 295 U.S. at 541-42.

Even the "general aims" of Section 254 are opaque.

Congress has defined "universal service" only as "an evolving

level of telecommunications services... ." 47 U.S.C. §

254(c)(1). The enormous revenue and legislative power that

Congress has delegated to the FCC "is not canalized within

banks that keep it from overflowing. It is unconfined and

14

vagrant." A.L.A. Schechter Poultry Corp., 295 U.S. at 551

(Cardozo, J., concurring).

However well-intentioned this program may be, it

bluntly violates the core Constitutional requirement that only

elected Members of Congress have authority to levy and collect

taxes, and promulgate general welfare programs. See U.S.

Const. art. I, §§ 7, 8.'° “By allocating specific powers and

responsibilities to a branch fitted to the task, the Framers

created a national government that is both effective and

accountable.” Loving, 517 U.S. at 757 (emphasis added); see

also Plaut v. Spendthnft Farm, 514 U.S. 211 (1995). The FCC

is not a “branch fitted to the-task" of defining and funding a

multi-billion dollar general welfare program.

Section 254 breaches the walls between the branches of

government, creating an enormous revenue and general welfare

program, under the FCC's exclusive aegis, that is neither

effective nor accountable to Congress. To date, this program

has siphoned hundreds of millions of dollars from

telecommunications companies, while leaving the nation no

closer toward achieving "Universal Service," as the term has

'* See also Millard, Nicole L., Universal Service, Section 254 of the

Telecommunicauons Act of 1996: A Hidden Tax?, 50 Federal

Communications Law Journal 255 (1997).

'’ Annual percentages of households with telephone service “available”

have changed little since the passage of the Telecom Act. In 1994, the

percentage was 95.4; in 1995, it was 95.2; in 1996, it was 95.0; in 1997, it

was 95.0; in 1998, it was 95.2; and through March of 1999, it was 94.9.

Federal-State Joint Board, Monitoring Report, CC Docket No. 98-202,

Report No. CC 99-27 (Released July 12, 1999) ("1999 Monitoring Report”)

(<http://www.fcc.gov/Bureaus/Common_Carrier/Reports/FCC-State_Lin

k/monitor.html>).

eo

15

historically been understood."

The statute's broad delegation to the FCC of revenue

and legislative powers is fundamentally unconstitutional.

Congress is not accountable for the billions of dollars flowing

into this universal service program. Indeed, many Members of

Congress have blamed the FCC for excesses in this revenue

program.'°

The statute does not merely ask the FCC to "execute"

Congress's intentions, it unconstitutionally confers upon this

small agency the "power to make the law" and "discretion as to

what it shall be... .". Marshall Field & Co. v. Clark, 143 U.S.

649, 693 (1892) (citations omitted). That delegation of

Congressional legislative power is unconstitutional.

The constitutional infirmities of the FCC's expanded

universal service program are comparable to those found by the

D.C. Circuit in American Trucking Associations, et al. v. U.S.

Environmental Protection Agency, 175 F.3d 1027 (D.C. Cir.

1999). There, the D.C. Circuit ruled that the EPA had

construed certain provisions of the Clean Air Act "so loosely as

to render them unconstitutional delegations of legislative

power.” Id. at 1034.

* See, ¢.g., Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, Report to

PB CC Docket No. 96-45, FCC 98-67 ("First Report to Congress"),

Dissenting Statement of Commissioner Harold Furchtgott-Roth (rel. Apr.

10, 1998); Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, Report to

Songtess in Response 10 Senate Bill 1768 and Conference Report on H.R.

3579, FCC 98-85 ("Second Report to Congress”), Dissenting Statement of

Commissioner Harold Furchtgott-Roth (rel. May 8, 1998).

" See, ¢.g., Sen. Conrad Burns, GAO Says FCC Overstepped Bounds, Press

Release, <http://www.senate.gov/~burns/p980212d.htm> (rel. Feb. 12,

1998). McCain Speech to U.S. Telephone Association, Press Release, (rel.

Mar. 5, 1998) <http://www.senate.gov/~mccain/telespch.htm>.

16

The FCC spent all of one paragraph in its appellate brief

addressing Celpage's claim that the Universal Service program

is an unconstitutional tax. See FCC Br. at 141. The FCC

argued that the program is not a tax because "universal service

contributions are not commingled with government revenues

raised through taxes ... ." Id... As a matter of fact, the FCC is

mistaken.

The fact is that Universal Service "coniributions" have

been designated by Congress as general revenues. Indeed,

Senators who sponsored the universal service amendments to

the Telecom Act admit that universal service revenues will

“appear on [the federal budget] as governmental receipts and

direct spending ... ." Senate amici Br. at 13. Likewise, the

Congressional Budget Office projects that the universal service

program will add between $4.3 billion to $7.3 billion per year

to the federal budget between 1996 and the year 2000. See

Congressional Budget Office "Cost Estimate” at 4 (July 19,

1995) at Appendix 134. And, the Office of Management and

Budget has determined that USF contributions should be

treated as federal revenues. See U.S. General Accounting

Office, Letter to Senator Ted Stevens, February 10, 1998

(B-278820) at n.16, at Appendix 148.

In determining whether the universal service program

is a tax, as opposed to something else (the FCC never explained

what these USF "contributions" are, if they are not taxes), this

Court must "regard things rather than names." Pace v. Burgess,

92 US. 372, 376 (1876). Under Constitutional standards, this

program must be deemed a tax. "[RJevenue bills are those that

levy taxes in the strict sense of the word, and are not bills for

other purposes which may incidentally create revenue." Twin

City Bank v. Nebeker, 167 U.S. 196, 202 (1897) (citations

omitted).

In the case of the universal service program, the main

were

17

task that the FCC has accomplished to date is to raise money,

and lots of it. Cf. Second Report to Congress, supra n.14,

Attachment B (indicating that for the Schools and Libraries

Fund alone, collections for the first quarter of 1998 exceeded

$298 million; collections for the first half of 1998 were

expected to reach approximately $619 million). The programs

that the FCC has funded to date are largely not

telecommunications services; and, most of them were

previously funded by — and local governments, or through

other federal programs.”

The FCC has not even attempted to argue that there is

any correlation between the USF fees paid by

telecommunications carriers, and the "value" of this program to

\

* See, e.g., USAC, Federal Universal Service Programs: Fund Size

Projections and Contribution Base for the First Quarter 2000 (filed

November 2, 1999) (“USAC 102000 Report”), available at

<http://www.fcc.gov/ccb/universal_service/quarter.html> at 21-22 (USAC

has committed $1,714,700,000 in Schools and Libraries Fund support for

“Year 1," (January 1, 1998 through June 30, 1999) and as of October 29,

1999 has paid more than $1.1 billion; demand for “Year 2” (July 1, 1999

through June 30, 2000) is estimated at $2.35 billion, of which more than

$1.46 billion is for internal connections); Appendix 11B (as of October 20,

1999, USAC has disbursed $13,026,686.48 for Year 2 requests). See also,

Twelfth Recon. Order, Dissenting Statement of Commissioner Harold

Furchtgott-Roth, supra note 10 (noting large percentage of requested funds

for internal connections and availability of $10 billion for infrastructure

from 40 other federal programs); Federal State Board on Universal Service,

Fifth Order on Reconsideration and Fourth Report and Order, 13 F.C.C.R.

14915, Dissenting Statement of Commissioner Furchtgott-Roth at 5 (1998)

(noting DOE report that 80% of schools and libraries were connected to the

Internet prior to the USF). The commitments for the Schools and Libraries

Fund exceed those for either of the “core” universal service programs: the

Low Income and High Cost Funds, the latter of which is operating largely

under the pre-Telecom Act system until January 1, 2000. See, e.g., 1999

Monitoring Report, supra n. 12, at 2-4; Table 2.2 ($463,935,302 paid for

Lifeline and Link-Up support in 1998); Table 3.5 (projected high cost 1998

fund size, less administrative expenses, is $1,696,400,000).

18

them. Rather, this program "provides revenue for the

government, for use on projects that do not directly benefit the

payee ...", consequently, this is an unlawful tax program. See

National Cable TV Ass'n v. U.S., 415 U.S. 336, 341- 43 (1974)

(FCC's 1.5% “regulatory fee" on cable TV operators reversed

since it would require cable operators to pay "not only for

benefits they received but for the protective services rendered

the public by the Commission."). See also William Thomas v.

Network Solutions, et al., 176 F.3d 500 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (an

Internet domain name registration fee which covered more than

the registration costs, but was used in part to pay for Internet

infrastructure, was an unconstitutional and unauthorized tax).

Surely, if it is unconstitutional to charge Internet users $30.00

to help pay for “Internet infrastructure," then a federal program

that assesses a flat assessment on telecommunications carrier

revenues to help pay for computer systems in schools and

libraries is most certainly an unconstitutional tax.

These new USF funds are not incidental to some

existing regulatory program. Even the Fifth Circuit

acknowledged that these funds will be used to pay for non-

telecommunications services, and services that are not subject

to FCC jurisdiction. Texas OPUC, 183 F.3d at nn. 93, 95.

Consequently, the new universal service program cannot be

found constitutional on the grounds that the revenues to be

raised are merely incidental to some specific government

program. Cf. United States v. Munoz-Flores, 495 U.S. 385

(1990).

The unconstitutional aspects of the new universal

service program are no different in kind than those of the

Harbor Maintenance Tax ("HMT") program, which this Court

recently struck down. See United States v. United States Shoe

Corp., 118 S. Ct. 1290 (1998). Although that tax was found

unconstitutional under the Export Clause, the analogies to the

universal service program are compelling.

19

In U.S. Shoe, as in this case, the federal government

claimed that the tax in question was a "use fee" assessed on

commercial users of the Nation's ports. Id. at 1291. This

Court disagreed, finding that the export fees bore "the indicia

of a tax." Id. This Court found that for the HMT to be a "usage

fee," there must be a clearer "connection between a service the

Government renders and the compensation it receives for that

service ...." Id. at 1292. It found no such connection since

the tax was imposed on the value of the cargo, rather tnan in

proportion to usage of federal harbor services. Id.

Similarly, with the universal service program there is no

correlation between the tax imposed (a flat, combined rate of

almost 5% assessed against all telecommunications revenues),

and a carrier's use of the PSTN (which is not, in any event, a

"government-supplied service, facility or benefit" that might

warrant a usage fee). For paging carriers such as Celpage, for

instance, the universal service tax is based on revenues earned

from their own proprietary radio networks, not the PSTN. The

PSTN is not owned, maintained, or even financially supported

in whole or part by the federal government; there simply is no

“connection between a service the Government renders” and the

universal service fees paid. Id. at9. Moreover, if mere use of

the telephone network was sufficient to support this as a

regulatory fee, then every business in the U.S. that uses a

telephone could be subject to this FCC "fee."

Since this universal service program is not a valid "use

fee" program, but is in reality a general revenue program, the

Constitution requires that the program originate in the U.S.

House of Representatives and be approved by Congress. See

Const. art I, §§ 7, 8. Cf. National Cable TV Ass'n v. U.S., 415

U.S. 336; William Thomas v. Network Solutions, 176 F.3d 500.

The consequences for a violation of the Origination Clause

cannot be disputed: the courts must strike down any law that

violates the Constitution. United States v. Munoz-Flores, 495

20

U.S. 385, 396-97: Marbury v. Madison, | Cranch 137, 176-80

(1803).

Despite the FCC's protestations to the contrary, see

R&O, Ff 39, 268-269, 787; it is clear that the Universal Service

regime adopted by the FCC has at its core the purpose of

raising revenue for matters that are in the general “public

good.” In contrast, the prior interstate access charge regime

was upheld against a tax challenge, because those rules merely

provided an apportionment of costs between interstate and

intrastate telephone services, to equalize costs to consumers of

using the largely inseparable telephone network among those

who comprise that network. See Rural Tel. Coalition. v. FCC,

838 F.2d 1307, 1314 (D.C. Cir. 1988).

In contrast to the old regime, the new FCC scheme

creates a broad and comprehensive federal aid program for

rural areas, the poor, educational institutions, and certain health

care services, substantially different in scope and nature from

the regulatory regime it purportedly supplants. As worthy as

those goals may be, such a broad relief mission renders the

Universal Service scheme indistinguishable from any other tax

used to subsidize programs for support of the common good.

A tax is “taking money from the taxpayer for public purposes.”

United States v. Maryland, 471 F.Supp. 1030, 1036 (D.Md.

1979). Tellingly, the CBO and the OMB have determined that

USF contributions should be treated as federal revenues, and

USF payments as federal outlays; indeed, portions of the USF

have been included in the federal budget. See Congressional

Budget Office "Cost Estimate” at Appendix 134; see also U.S.

General Accounting Office, Letter to Senator Ted Stevens,

February 10, 1998 (B-278820) at n.16, at Appendix 148.

The fact that this tax is limited to supporting only

certain activities (albeit, an enormous array of services) does

not make it any less a tax for the benefit of the common

21

welfare. The government cannot turn a "tax" into a "fee"

simply by assessing separate amounts for each government

service to be supported. See United States v. City of

Huntington, WV, 999 F.2d 71, 73-74 (4th Cir. 1993).

In contrast to a tax, a "fee" usually indicates that the

payor has received some privilege not available to the public at

large; “a ‘fee’ connotes a ‘benefit."” National Cable Television

Ass'n. v. United States, 415 U.S. at 341. Although the FCC

and the Fifth Circuit attempt to point to some special "benefit"

that paging carriers will receive from the PSTN, that "benefit"

is no different than that of any business that uses the telephone

network. See R&O at J 805, Fourth Recon. Order at q 262. Cf.

National Cable Televisions Ass'n., 415 U.S. ‘at 340-4].

CMRS carriers have used the PSTN for decades prior

to the adoption of the R&O; but, so too has nearly 95% of the

U.S. population. The imposition of a tax burden on a select

group, wholly unrelated to any benefit received by the group so

burdened, is simply unconstitutional. See, e.g., Dane v.

Jackson, 256 U.S. 589, 599 (1921); Morton Salt Co. v. City of

South Hutchinson, 159 F.2d 897, 90] (10th Cir. 1947).

In addition to violating the Taxing Clause, the FCC's

Universal Service program violates the Origination Clause. ~

See Celpage Reply Br. at 15. All bills for raising revenue must

originate in the House of Representatives. U.S. Const. art. I,

§ 7, cl. 1. The Telecom Act, including the Universal Service

provisions of Section 254, Originated in the Senate.?!

Consequently, since the Universal Service program is a tax, it

is also unconstitutional under the Origination Clause.

II. THE STATUTORY PROGRAM IS VOID FOR

VAGUENESS.

*! See Senate Bill S. 652.

22

A "void for vagueness" challenge to a statute turns on

whether the statute provides "fair warning" to allow one to

know what standards apply. As this Court has held, the

requirement of fair warning prohibits "exaction of obedience to

2 rule or standard which [is] so vague and indefinite as really to

be no rule or standard at all." Whisenhunt v. Spradlin, 464 U.S.

965, 970 (1983) (quoting A.B. Small Co. v. American Sugar

Refining Co., 267 U.S. 233 (1925)). Furthermore, "a statute

which either forbids or requires the doing of an act in terms so

vague that men of common intelligence must necessarily guess

at its meaning and differ as to its application, violates the first

essential of due process of law." Connally v. General

Construction Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391, 46 S.Ct. 126, 127, 70

L.Ed. 322 (1925). The universal service statute and the FCC's

rules cannot meet these constitutional standards.

The FCC claims that "economic regulations are

afforded considerable deference in the vagueness analysis . . .

FCC Br. at 147. But, this program contains numerous

Criminal sanctions and provisions. For example, Section

54.711 of the universal service rules states that "inaccurate or

untruthful information contained in the Universal Service

Worksheet may lead to prosecution under the criminal

provisions of Title 18 of the United States Code." 47 C.F.R. §

54.711(a). And, "[contributors failing to file the Universal

Service Worksheet or paying contributions in a timely fashion

may be subject to the enforcement provisions of the

Communications Act and any other applicable law.

Under any vagueness standard of review, the universal

service Statute cannot pass constitutional muster. The statute

provides no guidance as to who must pay these universal

service assessments, or the amount owed. This statute is

therefore vague "not in the sense that it requires a person to

conform his conduct to an imprecise but comprehensible

normative standard, but rather in the sense that no standard of

23

conduct is specified at all." Coates v. Cincinnati, 402 U.S. 611,

614 (1971). Indeed, the statute does not even define "universal

Service" in a manner that would be comprehensible to most

people. The only faint attempt at defining "universal service”

in the statute is this: "Universal service is an evolving level of

telecommunications service that the Commission shall establish

periodically under this section, taking into account advances in

telecommunications and_ information technologies and

services." 47 U.S.C. § 254(c)(1).

As the Fifth Circuit acknowledged, the FCC has been

given virtual carte blanche to define "universal service" as it

sees fit, which may include access to Internet services, cellular

telephone service, paging services, satellite and cable TV-based

"communications" services, Internet for children, inside wiring,

and other yet to be imagined telecommunications and non-

telecommunications services. Texas OPUC, 183 F.3d at 442,

n.93. The FCC concedes that it can impose payment

obligations to support even the janitorial services attendant to

some of these school and library programs. Id. at n. 93. All of

these services, with the exception of paging, are covered in one

form or another by the FCC's universal service rules. See 47

C.F.R. § 54.101(a), (b); 47 CFR. §§ 54.503, 54.517(b)

(support for Internet access, and installation and maintenance

of internal connections for schools and libraries); 47 C.F.R. §

54.601(c) (rural health care Support available for

telecommunications services of bandwidths up to and including

1.544 Mbps and toll free Internet access).

By contrast, the historic use of the term "universal

Service,” that is, "plain old telephone service” in every

household, would be entirely unrecognizable to even the most

sophisticated reader of the FCC's universal service rules. See,

€.g., MTS and WATS Market Structure (Part 1 of 2), 93

F.C.C.2d 241, JJ 82-83 (1983); Amendment of Part 36 of the

Commission's Rules and Establishment of a Joint Board, 6

24

F.C.C.R. 2936, | 1 (1991).

No "reasonable person" of "common intelligence” could

know or surmise from the previous universal service program,

that the FCC would adopt such a new and expansive definition

of "universal service" as it has. See Smith v. Gogeon, 415 U.S.

566, 572 n.8 (1974) (a law is void for vagueness if persons of

common intelligence must guess at its meaning); and Celpage

Br. at 25-27. Indeed, many Members of Congress and FCC

Commissioners have expressed dismay at the FCC's overly

expansive interpretation of this vague statute. Proposed Fourth

Quarter 1999 Universal Service Factors, DA 99-1857,

Dissenting Statement of Harold Furchtgott-Roth (rel. Sept. 10,

1999).”

The statute does not tell the FCC how much money it

must raise;or when it has met the program's objectives. The

statute does not tell the FCC what tax rates to charge; the FCC

can pick any it chooses. In fact, the FCC twice dramatically

modified the USF rates in only the first year of the program.

Federal-State Joint Board on Universal Service, Third Order

on Reconsideration, FCC 97-411, 12 F.C.C.R. 22801 (rel. Dec.

16, 1997) ("Third Recon. Order"). Once, in apparent response

to Congressional outrage, the agency cut the contribution target

by nearly 50%, with little explanation. Id. Since then, the FCC

has nearly doubled the rate. See Twelfth Recon. Order,

Statement of Commr. Harold Furchtgott-Roth (stating that the

Order raised the e-rate contribution factor from .57% to .99%).

The statute provides virtually no guidance to the FCC;

the meaning of "universal service" was left open to speculation,

* See also FCC Raises “Gore Tax" $900 Million, Press Release of Senator

Conrad Burns, <http://www.senate.gov/~burns/p990527c.htm> (May 27,

1999); Statement of Congressman John D. Dingell on FCC’s E-Rate Funding

Proposal, <http://www.house.gov/commerce_democrats/press/106nr2.htum>

(May 5, 1999).

25

or to the whims and preferences of five FCC Commissioners.

The statute therefore violates "the requirement that a legislature

establish minimal guidelines to govern law enforcement.”

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352, 358 (1983).23

There is nothing in the statute to restrain this agency

from assessing universal service taxes against anyone it

chooses; indeed, the FCC has iinposed payment obligations on

non-telecommunications carriers. Fourth Recon. Order at 4]

276-77. If Congress had intended the program to be limited

only to telecommunications “carriers,” it presumably would

have used that term, which it employed in Section 254(d) of the

Act. Compare 47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(4), with 47 U.S.C. §254(d).

Instead, section 254(b)(4) broadly states that "[a]ll providers of

telecommunications services should make an equitable and

nondiscriminatory contribution to the preservation and

advancement of universal service." 47 U.S.C. § 254(b)(4)

(emphasis added). That language covers virtually every

business in the United States.

The fact is that the FCC has already extended Universal

Service obligations to non-common carrier, private networks.

Although it has decided "not [to] exercise [its] permissive

authority to require systems integrators, broadcasters and non-

project schools, libraries and rural health care providers to

contribute to universal service," Fourth Recon. Order at FJ 276-

77, the FCC could assess these taxes against an even broader

* A penal law is void for vagueness if it fails to "define the criminal offense

with sufficient definiteness that Ordinary people can understand what

conduct is prohibited” or fails to establish guidelines to prevent "arbitrary

and discriminatory enforcement” of the law. Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S.

at 357. Of these, "the more important aspect of vagueness doctrine ‘is ... the

requirement that a legislature establish minimal guidelines to govern law

enforcement.’ " Id., at 358 (quoting Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. at 574-575).

>

26

array of non-telecommunications entities.’ The FCC

obviously believes that it could extend universal service

obligations to non-telecommunications carriers; and, the statute

does not clearly prohibit such an expansive interpretation.

Consequently, the entire statutory program is unconstitutionally

vague.

Ill. THE FCC'S DETERMINATION THAT STATES

MAY IMPOSE UNIVERSAL SERVICE

OBLIGATIONS ON CMRS PROVIDERS WAS

CLEARLY ERRONEOUS.

The FCC determined that, in adopting their own

Universal Service programs, the states may impose fifty or

more disparate contribution requirements on CMRS carriers.

R&O, J 791; Fourth Recon. Order at { 303. That interpretation

of the statute was upheld by the D.C. Circuit in Cellular

Telecommunications Industry Association v. FCC, 168 F.3d

1332 (D.C.Cir. 1999). The Fifth Circuit, despite

acknowledging Celpage's "compelling argument,” came to the

same conclusions. Texas OPUC, 183 F.3d at 430-31. These

findings flatly contradict the express language of Section 332:

of the Act.

Section 332(c)(3) of the Act provides, in pertinent part,

the following:

24

Statement __of _Comm'r. __Furchtgott-Roth Regarding the

Clarification/Reiteration of "Services" Eligible for Discounts to the Schools

and Libraries _ Fund, at 3 (rel. June 38 1998)

(<http://www.fcc.gov/Speeches/Furchtgott_Roth/Statements/sthfr832.html>)

("One final note of caution to the network equipment manufacturing

industry. As with any instance of corporate welfare, the beneficiaries - -

here the hardware and software providers in that industry - - are on a

slippery slope. ... Network equipment manufacturers should beware, as

many have already argued that it is unfair to allow an industry to take from

a public fund without having the corresponding obligation to contribute to

it.").

27

Notwithstanding [47 U.S.C.] sections 2(b) and

221(b), no State or local government shall have

authority to regulate the entry of or the rates

charged by any commercial mobile service or

any private mobile service, except that this

paragraph shall not prohibit a State from

regulating the other terms and conditions of

commercial mobile services. Nothing in this

subparagraph shall exempt providers of

commercial mobile services (where such

services are a substitute for land line telephone

exchange service for a substantial portion of

the communications within such State) from

requirements imposed by a State commission

on all providers of telecommunications services

necessary to ensure the universal availability of

telecommunications service at affordable rates.

47 U.S.C. § 332(c)(3) (emphasis added).

The quoted language of Section 332(c)(3) could not be

more clear: CMRS providers are subject to state-imposed

Universal Service requirements only "where" the CMRS

services to be subjected to those requirements "are a substitute”

for traditional, local exchange services "for a substantial

portion of the communications within" the state seeking to

impose those requirements. Unless the statutory conditions are

met, a state may not impose upon CMRS providers any

requirements "necessary to ensure" Universal Service. That

quoted language remains in the Act, and was not amended by

the Universal Service provisions of the Telecom Act. See 47

U.S.C. § 254.

The FCC's strained interpretation reads Section

332(c)(3)'s clear language entirely out of the Act, which the

FCC may not do. See, e.g., Chevron, U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural

Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 842-43 (1984)

28

("If the intent of Congress is clear, that is the end of the matter;

for . . . the agency, must give effect to the unambiguously

expressed intent of Congress”). See also Mountain States Tel.

& Tel. Co. v. Pueblo of Santa Ana, 472 U.S. 237, 249 (1985)

(It is an “elementary canon of construction that a statute should

be interpreted so as to not render one part inoperative.").

The FCC ignored the broad preemptive scope and plain

terms of Section 332(c)(3). That provision divested the states

of intrastate jurisdiction over the most fundamental aspects of

the CMRS business, namely prices and market entry, which the

states had traditionally wielded under Sections 2(b) and 221(b)

of the Act. In adopting that provision, Congress expressed its

view that land mobile services are inherently interstate in

nature. See H.R. Rep. No. 103-711, 103rd Cong., Ist Sess.

(1993), at 260.

In contrast to the broad preemptive intent underlying

Section 332(c)(3), the legislative history of Section 254(f) does

not evince a Congressional intent to expand State jurisdiction

over CMRS carriers with regard to universal service. Rather,

the limited discussion of this provision in the legislative history

indicates a Congressional concern only that existing State

authority with regard to universal service be “preserved.” See

Con. Rep. 104-458, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1996), at 132

("State authority with respect to Universal Service is

specifically preserved under new Section 254(f)"); see also

Senate Rep. No. 104-23, 104th Cong., Ist Sess. (1995), at 11.

This conclusion is reinforced by Section 601(c) of the Telecom

Act, which forbids construing the 1996 Act to modify existing

law unless expressly so provided.

The FCC determined that "a state is not required to

demonstrate that CMRS is a substitute for land line service”

when imposing Universal Service mechanisms pursuant to

Section 254(f). Fourth Recon. Order at | 301, quoting

29

Pittencrieff Communications, Inc., Memorandum Opinion and

Order, File No. WTB/POL 96-2, FCC 97-343 (rel. October 2,

1997). This strained reading of the language of Section 332 is

a wholly unreasonable interpretation and this Court owes it no

deference.

If Congress had believed that Universal Service

contributions were more accurately characterized as "other

terms and conditions” of CMRS services, rather than a form of

preempted rate regulation, there would have been no need for

Congress to have added the second sentence of Section

332(c)(3). It would make little sense to state in the second

sentence of Section 332(c)(3) that "nothing in this

subparagraph" prevented the states from imposing an obligation

of the kind that they are allowed to impose under the first

sentence of the same subparagraph. Moreover, there would

have been no logical reason to add the qualifying phrase,

"where such services are a substitute for land line telephone

exchange service for a_ substantial portion of the

communications within such State," if the states had the

unqualified power to impose Universal Service obligations as

“other terms and conditions" under the first sentence of Section

332(c)(3). The FCC's interpretation renders the second

sentence of Section 332(c)(3) inoperative, contrary to basic

tules of statutory construction. Department of Revenue v. ACF

Indust., 510 U.S. 332, 340-41 (1994).

The FCC's tortured reading of Sections 332(c)(3) and

254(b) is not necessary to reconcile those two provisions.

Section 254(f) permits a state to impose Universal Service

obligations upon any telecommunications carrier subject to that

State's jurisdiction; CMRS carriers simply are not within that

group of carriers. The power granted by Section 254(f) is

hardly a_ nullity: it extends to the majority of

telecommunications carriers, including LECs, IXCs, and fixed-

Service radio common carriers (for example, microwave)

30

providing intrastate services, as well as to resellers of those

services. Section 254(f) clarifies that the federal Universal

Service scheme does not impinge on the states’ authority over

the carriers they regulate under Section 2(b), as long as the

Universal Service obligations imposed by the states pursuant to

that authority are equitable, non-discriminatory, and do not

contravene federal law.

Consequently, the FCC's determination that the states

may impose intrastate Universal Service obligations upon

CMRS providers cannot be reconciled with the language of

Sections 332(c)(3), and 2(b), nor with the legislative history of

the Telecom Act. That determination must be reversed.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

Frederick M. Joyce

Joyce & Jacobs, Attys. at Law, L.L.P.

1019 19th Street, N.W.

Fourteenth Floor - PH2

Washington, DC 20036

(202) 457-0100

Counsel for Celpage, Inc.

December 23, 1999

Appendix |

183 F.3d 393

TEXAS OFFICE OF PUBLIC UTILITY COUNSEL;

Celpage, Inc.; Southwestern Bell Telephone Company; GTE

Midwest, Inc.; Louisiana Public Service Commission, an

Executive Branch Department of the State of Louisiana;

COMSAT Corporation; People of the State of California:

Public Utilities Commission of the State of California; Iowa

Utilities Board; South Dakota Public Utilities Commission;

Pennsylvania Public Utility Commission; Bell Atlantic

Telephone Companies; Vermont Department of Public

Service; GTE Service Corporation; GTE Alaska

Incorporated; GTE Arkansas Incorporated; GTE California

Incorporated; .-GTE Florida Incorporated; GTE South

Incorporated; GTE Southwest Incorporated; GTE North

Incorporated; GTE Northwest Incorporated; GTE Hawaiian

Telephone Company Incorporated; GTE West Coast

Incorporated; Contel of California, Inc.; Contel of

Minnesota, Inc.; Contel of the South, Inc.; Public Service

Commission of Nevada: Cincinnati Bell Telephone

Company; Florida Public Service Commission; People of

the State of New York; Public Service Commission of the

State of New York; and The State Corporation Commission

of the State of Kansas, Petitioners,

Ve

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS COMMISSION and

United States of America, Respondents.

No. 97-60421.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

July 30, 1999.

Appendix 2

Petitions for Review of a Final Order of the Federal

Communications Commission.

Before SMITH, DUHE and EMILIO M. GARZA, Circuit

Judges.

. JERRY E. SMITH, Circuit Judge:

This is a consolidated challenge to the most recent attempt of

the Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") to

implement provisions of the landmark 1996

Telecommunications Act (the "Act"). [FN1] Petitioners,

joined by numerous intervenors, challenge several aspects of

the FCC's Universal Service Order (the "Order")

implementing the provisions of the Act codified at 47 U.S.C.

§ 254. We grant the petition for review in part, deny it in

part, affirm in part, reverse in part, and remand in part.

FN1. Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub.L. No.

104-104, 110 Stat. 56 (to be codified as amended in

scattered sections of title 47, United States Code).

1. BACKGROUND.

A. THE 1996 ACT AND THE UNIVERSAL SERVICE

ORDER.

Beginning with the passage of the Communications Act of

1934 (the "1934 Act"), Congress has made universal service a

basic goal of telecommunications regulation. As Section |

of the 1934 Act stated, the FCC was created

[f]or the purpose of regulating interstate and foreign

commerce in communication by wire and radio so as to

make available, so far as possible, to all the people of the

United States, without discrimination on the basis of race,

color, religion, national origin, or sex, a rapid, efficient,

Appendix 3

Nation- wide, and world-wide wire and radio

communication service with adequate*406 facilities at

reasonable charges...

47 U.S.C. § 151 (as amended).

Armed with this statutory mandate, the FCC historically has

focused on increasing the availability of reasonably priced, .

basic telephone service via the landline telecommunications

network. [FN2] Rather than relying on market forces alone,

the agency has used a combination of implicit and explicit

Subsidies to achieve its goal of greater telephone

“subscribership. Explicit subsidies provide carriers or

individuals with specific grants that can be used to pay for or

reduce the charges for telephone service. This form of

subsidy includes using revenues from line charges on end-

users to subsidize high-cost service directly and to support

the Lifeline Assistance program for low-income subscribers.

FN2. In economic terms, universal service programs

are justified as a way to address a "market failure.”

While the carriers have little incentive to expand the

telecommunications infrastructure into areas of low

population density or geographic isolation, each

individual user of the network benefits from the

greatest possible number of users. See Eli M. Noam,

Will Universal Service and Common Carriage

Survive the Telecommunications Act of 1996?, 97

COLUM. L.REV. 955, 958-59 (1997).

Implicit subsidies are more complicated and involve the

manipulation of rates for some customers to subsidize more

affordable rates for others. For example, the regulators may

require the carrier to charge "above-cost” rates to low-cost,

profitable urban customers to offer the "below-cost" rates to

expensive, unprofitable rural customers.

Appendix 4

For obvious reasons, this system of implicit subsidies can

work well only under regulated conditions. In a competitive

environment, a carrier that tries to subsidize below-cost rates

to rural customers with above-cost rates to urban customers is

vulnerable to a competitor that offers at-cost rates to urban

customers. Because opening local telephone markets to

competition is a principal objective of the Act, Congress

recognized that the universal service system of implicit

subsidies would have to be re-examined.

To attain the goal of local competition while preserving

universal service, Congress directed the FCC to replace the

patchwork of explicit and implicit subsidies with "specific,

predictable and sufficient Federal and State mechanisms to

preserve and advance universal service." 47 U.S.C. §

254(b)(5). Congress also specified new universal service

support for schools, libraries, and rural health care providers.

See 47 U.S.C. § 254(h). It then directed the FCC to define

such a system and to establish a timetable for implementation

within fifteen months of the passage of the Act.

The Federal-State Joint Board (the "Joint Board"), created by

the Act to coordinate federal and state regulatory interests,

issued two recommendations on how to implement the

universal service provisions. [FN3] The FCC met the

statutory deadline when it issued the Order on May 8, 1997.

[FN4] Since that time, the agency has issued seven

reconsideration orders (the last one on May 28, 1999) and has

made *407 two reports to Congress regarding the Order.

FN3. The first Recommended Decision was issued on

November 8, 1996 (12 FCC Rcd 87 (1996)), the

second Recommended Decision on November 25,

1998 (13 FCC Rcd 24744 (1998)).

Appendix 5

FN4. Congress also directed that the FCC establish

rules to achieve the local competition goals of the Act

within six months of the Act's enactment. The

agency met this deadline when it issued the Local

Competition Order on August 8, 1996. Almost all

parts of this order were affirmed by the Supreme

Court. See AT & T v. Iowa Utils. Bd., 525 U.S. 366,

119 S.Ct. 721, 142 L.Ed.2d 835 (1999).

On the same day it issued the Order, the FCC released

the Access Charge Order. Access charges are the

charges assessed between local exchange companies

(LEC's) and interexchange companies (IXC’'s) for the

use of one network by callers from the other network.

Challenges to this order were also consolidated

before the Eighth Circuit. See Southwestern Bell

Tel. Co. v. FCC, 153 F.3d 523 (8th Cir. 1998).

The FCC designated a set of core services eligible for

universal service support, proposed a mechanism for

supporting those services, and established a timetable for

implementation. See Order ¥¥ 21-42. Pursuant to the Act,

the agency developed rules for modifying the existing system

of support for high- cost service areas and created new

Support programs for schools, libraries, and health care

facilities.

1. HIGH-COST SUPPORT.

The FCC's plans for changing the high-cost support system -

required it to resolve a number of complicated issues,

including (1) what methodology to use for calculating high-

cost support; (2) how to allocate costs between the states and

the federal government; (3) which carriers should be required

to contribute to the support system; and (4) when to

implement the high-cost Support program. The agency

Appendix 6

resolved the question of how to calculate the proper amount

of high-cost support by accepting the Joint Board's second

recommendation to identify areas where the forward-looking

cost of service exceeds a cost-based benchmark and to

provide extra support to any state that cannot maintain

reasonable comparability. [FN5] See Second Recommended

Decision J 19; Seventh Report and Order J 61 n.157.

FN5. This methodology is a departure from the

revenue-based national benchmark proposed in the

Order. The revenue-based benchmark was

challenged for including discretionary revenues in its

calculation and for

its nationwide scope. Because of the

revisions proposed by the Joint Board's

Second Recommended Decision, we now

consider those challenges to the prior revenue-

based methodology moot. See infra part

I.A.1.b.

Most importantly, the FCC decided to use the "forward-

looking" costs to calculate the relevant costs of a carrier

serving a given geographical area. In other words, to

encourage carriers to act efficiently, the agency would base its

calculation on the costs an efficient carrier would incur

(rather than the costs the incumbent carriers historically have

incurred). [FN6]

FN6. The agency made a decision to provide only

25% of the funds for high- cost support, leaving the

State commissions ("the states") to provide the rest of

the funds. According to the FCC, the states

traditionally have provided a majority of universal

service support, and if the agency were to fund all the

high-cost support, it would overcompensate carriers.

Appendix 7

Moreover, the FCC claims that the 25% figure

approximates the costs that historically have been

assigned to the interstate jurisdiction. See Order |

201.

The Joint Board, however, recommended that the

FCC scrap the 25%/75% division of responsibility in

favor of a more flexible plan of allocation. See

Second Recommended Decision {i 4-5, 41-46. The

rFcec accepted the Joint

Board's recommendation and eliminated the

25/75 rule on May 27, 1999, thereby mooting

the issue for this court. See infra part

Iil.A.1.c. See also Seventh Report and Order q

3 ("We explicitly reconsider and repudiate any

Suggestion in the First Report and Order that

federal support should be limited to 25 percent

of the difference between the benchmark and

forward-looking cost estimates....").

The FCC developed rules for determining which carriers

Should be required to contribute to the interstate universal

Service support system and how their contributions should be

calculated. It decided to require all telecommunications

carriers and certain non-telecommunications carriers to

contribute in proportion to their share of end-user

telecommunications revenues. See Order Yi 39-42. The

agency determined that to reduce the burden on individual

carriers’ prices, the carriers’ contribution base should be as

broad as possible. See Order { 783. Therefore, the agency

required contributing carriers to include their international

telecommunications revenues in their contribution base and

rejected claims by certain carriers, [FN7] which do not

receive direct subsidies from *408 the support program,

seeking an exemption from making any contributions. See

Order J 805.

Appendix 8

FN7. These carriers include wireless service providers

o f paging and

commercial mobile radio service ("“CMRS").

The FCC also rejected a claim by CMRS

providers seeking an exemption from making

contributions to state support funds.

Finally, the FCC adopted a timetable for implementing its

high-cost support plan. Because it has not yet developed an

accurate assessment of forward-looking costs, it delayed

implementation of its support program for non-rural carriers

until January 1, 2000. [FN8] Additionally, because the

agency believes it will take even longer to develop accurate

forward-looking cost models for rural carriers, it delayed the

implementation of its new support plan for rural carriers to

“no sooner than January 1, 2001." See Order { 204.

FN8. In the original order, the FCC had planned

implementation by January 1, 1999. This date was

delayed until July 1, 1999, and again to January 1,

2000. See Seventh Report and Order { 5.

During this delay in implementation, the FCC decided that

carriers will continue to receive support at the levels

generated by existing universal support programs.

According to the agency, this gradual, phased-in plan for

implementing its new high-cost support system meets the

Act's requirement of a “specific timetable for completion.”

See 47 U.S.C. § 254(a)(2).

2. SCHOOLS AND LIBRARIES.

Pursuant to § 254(h), the FCC adopted rules implementing

new programs for schools, libraries, and health care facilities,

in particular by providing universal service support for

Appendix 9

internet access and internal connections in schools and

libraries. See Order J 436. The agency decided that any

entity, including non-telecommunications carriers, that

provides internet access or internal connections to schools

and libraries will receive universal service support. See

Order ¥ 594.

To fund the new § 254(h) programs, the FCC accepted the

Joint Board's recommendation to assess the interstate and

intrastate revenues of providers of _ interstate

telecommunications service. See Order J 808. Because

many states do not already have similar support programs for

schools and libraries, the agency justified its inclusion of

intrastate revenues as necessary to ensure adequate funding

for § 254(h) programs.

B. CHALLENGES TO THE ORDER.

On September 5, 1997, petitioner Celpage Inc. filed a motion

in this court to stay the Order. We denied that motion on

October 16, 1997, and rejected a similar motion by various

rural telephone companies on December 31, 1997. Their

petitions, along with challenges to the Order by other

petitioners, were consolidated in this court.

There are two sets of challenges to the Order. The first

regards the FCC's plan for replacing the current mixture of

explicit and implicit subsidies with an explicit universal

service support system for high-cost areas. On both statutory

and constitutional grounds, petitioners attack (1) the

methodology for calculating support under the plan; (2) the

allocation of funding responsibilities between the FCC and

the states; and (3) the agency's restrictions on how carriers

can recover universal service costs.

_ Appendix 10

Other petitioners attack the FCC's high-cost support plan as

an encroachment on_ state authority over intrastate

telecommunications regulation because it restricts state

eligibility requirements and imposes a "no disconnect" rule

for low-income telephone subscribers. Petitioners also

challenge, for lack of specificity and for failing to delay

implementation of the plan for some rural carriers, the FCC's

timetable for implementing the new universal service plan.

Additionally, petitioners challenge the FCC's system for

assessing contributions, arguing that it improperly includes

CMRS providers and unfairly assesses carriers on the basis of

their international and interstate revenues.

The second set of challenges regards the FCC's proposal for

implementing § 254(h) *409 programs supporting schools,

libraries, and health care providers. Petitioners claim that the

FCC impermissibly expanded the scope of § 254(h) support

to include the provision of internet access and internal

connections. Moreover, they attack the FCC's statutory

authority to provide such support to non-telecommunications

providers.

Additionally, petitioners charge that the agency encroached

on state authority to implement state support programs for

schools and libraries and failed to designate which

telecommunications services will receive § 254(h) support.

They also argue that the FCC exceeded its statutory authority

by requiring subsidies for toll-free telephone calls to internet

service providers by non- rural health care providers.

Finally, they attack the FCC's § 254(h) contribution system

because it assesses both the intrastate and interstate revenues

of carriers. [FN9]

FN9. The FCC also determined that it could require

Carriers to contribute, based on both interstate and

Appendix 11

intrastate revenues, to high-cost Support as well as §

254(h) support. But for policy reasons, it decided to

assess contributions on both interstate and intrastate

revenues for support of § 254(h) programs only. It

maintains, however, that it may impose similar

assessments for high-cost support as well. See

Seventh Report and Order 4] 87-90.

We review the states’ challenge to the FCC's claim of

jurisdictional authority over intrastate rates in the

context of its actions regarding support of the §

254(h) programs, but we also discuss its implications

for FCC jurisdictional authority for support of high-

cost programs. See

infra, part III.B.6.

We affirm most of the FCC's decisions regarding its

implementation of the high-cost support system, concluding,

for the most part, that the Order violates neither the statutory

requirements nor the Constitution. We remand for further

consideration, however, as to the FCC's decision to assess

contributions from carriers based on both international and

interstate revenues. We also reverse (1) the requirement that

ILEC's recover their contributions from access charges and

(2) the blanket prohibition on additional state eligibility

requirements for carriers receiving high-cost support.

On jurisdictional grounds, we reverse the rule prohibiting

local telephone service providers from disconnecting low-

income subscribers. We also conclude that the agency

exceeded its jurisdictional authority when it assessed

contributions for § 254(h) "schools and libraries" programs

based on the combined intrastate and interstate revenues of

interstate telecommunications providers and when it asserted

its jurisdictional authority to do the same on behalf of high-

cost support.

Appendix 12

fl. STANDARD OF REVIEW.

[1] When deciding whether the FCC has the statutory

authority to adopt the rules included in the Order, we review

the agency's interpretation under Chevron U.S.A., Inc. v.

Natural Resources Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 104

S.Ct. 2778, 81 L.Ed.2d 694 (1984), by first deciding whether

“Congress has directly spoken to the precise question at

issue,” id. at 842, 104 S.Ct. 2778. If so, we "give effect to

the unambiguously expressed intent of Congress.” Id. at 842-

43, 104 S.Ct. 2778. In this situation, we reverse an agency's

interpretation if it does not conform to the plain meaning of

the statute. This level of review is often called "Chevron

step-one” review.

[2][3] Where the statute is silent or ambiguous, however,

“the question for the court is whether the agency's answer is

based on a permissible construction of the statute." Id. at

843, 104 S.Ct. 2778. We may reverse the agency's

construction of an ambiguous or silent provision only if we

find it “arbitrary, capricious or manifestly contrary to the

statute.” Id. at 844, 104 S.Ct. 2778. That is to say, we will

sustain an agency interpretation of an ambiguous statute if the

interpretation “is based on a permissible construction of the

statute.” *410 Id. at 843, 104 S.Ct. 2778. We refer to this

more deferential level of review as "Chevron step-two"

review.

[4] The Administrative Procedure Act ("APA") also

authorizes us to reverse an agency's action if it acted

arbitrarily or capriciously in adopting its interpretation by

failing to give a reasonable explanation for how it reached its

decision. See 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A) (1994); see also Harris

v. United States, 19 F.3d 1090 (Sth Cir.1994). “Arbitrary and

capricious” review under the APA differs from Chevron step-

ee,

Appendix 13

two review, because it focuses on the reasonability of the

agency's decision-making processes rather than on the

reasonability of its interpretation. [FN 10]

FN10. See Arent v. Shalala, 70 F.3d 610, 614-16

(D.C.Cir.1995); see also Gary Lawson, Outcome,

Procedure and Process: Agency Duties of

Explanation for Legal Conclusions, 48 RUTGERS

L.REV. 313 (1996). We recognize the difference

between Chevron Step-two review and the APA's

. arbitrary and capricious review is not always obvious.

Indeed, the different standards of review overlap,

because both require a reviewing court to decide

whether the agency action is “manifestly contrary to

the statute" (Chevron ) or "otherwise not in

accordance with law." (APA). See Arent, 70 F.3d at

615 & n. 6.

[5] Finally, we do not give the FCC's actions the usual

deference when reviewing a potential violation of a

constitutional right. "The intent of Congress in 5 U.S.C. §

706(2)(B) was that courts Should make an independent

assessment of a citizen's claim of constitutional right when

reviewing agency decision-making." Porter v. Califano, 592

F.2d 770, 780 (Sth Cir.1979 ).

Il. ANALYSIS.

A. HIGH-COST SUPPORT.

1. METHODOLOGY FOR CALCULATING SUPPORT

FOR HIGH-COST AREAS.

a. FORWARD-LOOKING COST-OF-SER VICE

METHODOLOGY.

[6][7] GTE and Southwestern Bell (collectively "GTE") and

the FCC engage ina fairly complex economic debate over the

Appendix 14

merits of calculating costs using the forward-looking cost

models based on the “least cost, most efficient" carrier.

[FN11] Because *411 incumbent local exchange carriers

("ILEC's") such as GTE will receive their subsidies, under the

new system, based on the difference between the costs of

providing service to a high-cost region and the revenue that

could be derived from that service, GTE fears that using the

costs of a hypothetical most-efficient carrier will significantly

reduce the amount of universal service support it receives.

FN11. As an initial matter, the FCC asks us to dismiss

all challenges to its methodology for calculating high-

cost support, claiming that such challenges are not

ripe in light of the Joint Board's Second

Recommended Decision. The Joint Board advised

the agency to make substantial revisions in the high-

cost support methodology, including the elimination

of the 25%/75% division between federal and state

contributions and the modification of the revenue

benchmark used to calculate high-cost support. The

FCC accepted these recommendations, and we

dismiss challenges to those issues as moot. See infra

parts III.A.1.b and c.

But the FCC did not modify other portions of the

Order, including its use

of forward-looking cost models. See

Seventh Report and Order § 48. We agree

with GTE that the mere existence of a Joint

Board recommendation does not permit the

FCC to block all judicial review of its high-

cost methodology, especially after the agency

has issued its order implementing these

recommendations.

The Supreme Court has consistently endorsed judicial

review of final agency actions. “Although ... the FCC

Appendix 15 __

regulation could properly be characterized as a

statement only of intentions, the Court held that 'such

regulations have the force of law before their

sanctions are invoked as well as after. When, as here,

they are promulgated by order of the Commission and

the expected conformity to them causes injury

cognizable by a court of equity, they are appropriately

the subject of attack....'"" Abbott Lab. v. Gardner, 387

U.S. 136, 150, 87 S.Ct. 1507, 18 L.Ed.2d 681 (1967)

(quoting Columbia Broadcasting Sys. v. United

States, 316 U.S. 407, 418-19, 62 S.Ct. 1194, 86 L.Ed.

1563 (1942)).

Additionally, we consider four factors when

evaluating a claim of lack of ripeness in the

administrative context: (1) whether the issues are

purely legal; (2) whether the issues are based on a

final agency action; (3) whether the controversy has a

direct and immediate impact on the plaintiff: and ( 4)

whether the litigation will expedite, rather than delay

or impede, effective enforcement by the agency. Se

Dresser Indus. a,

United States, 596 F.2d 1231. 1235 (Sth

Cir.1979). To find a case ripe, we require the

party bringing the challenge (here, GTE) to

establish all four factors in seeking judicial

review. See Merchants Fast Motor Lines, Inc.

v. Interstate Commerce Comm'n. 5 F.3d 911,

920 (Sth Cir. 1993).

The FCC does not claim that the issues presented are

not purely legal, and we have already explained why,

under Abbott Laboratories, the Order remains a final

agency action. There is no indication that the

petitioners are currently unaffected by the legal force

of the Order. Finally, we agree with GTE that because

the FCC has had ample time (three years) and

4

Appendix 16

opportunity to implement the Order, judicial guidance

on the legality of the Order will not delay or impede

the agency's ability to carry out its statutory duties.

i. STATUTORY INTERPRETATION.

The question, of course, is not whether it is good policy for

the FCC to use such cost models, [FN12] but whether the

decision to adopt this methodology conforms to the plain

language of the statute. If the language is ambiguous, we

must then ask whether the use of forward-looking cost

models is reasonable given the terms of the statute and the

deference the FCC must be afforded under Chevron.

Additionally, we must consider whether the agency's actions

in reaching its decision are “arbitrary and capricious” under

the APA. See 5 U.S.C. § 706(2)(A).

FN12. GTE refers us to Justice Brandeis's dissent

(joined by Justice Holmes) in Missouri ex rel.

Southwestern Bell Tel. Co. v. Public Serv. Comm'n,

262 U.S. 276, 43 S.Ct. 544, 67 L.Ed. 981 (1923), :

criticizing use of “fair value" (another v n of ;

forward-looking cost models) in ratemaking. GTE 3

notes that Justice Breyer has endorsed Justice

Brandeis’s criticisms. Even in his separate opinion in

Iowa Uulities, however, Justice Breyer did not

advocate that the Court prohibit the FCC from

adopting forward-looking cost models. See lowa

Utilities, 119 S.Ct. at 752 (Breyer, J., concurring in

part and dissenting in part) (“These examples do not

Show that the FCC's rules are’ themselves

unreasonable”).

Most importantly, the Brandeis criticism of "fair

value” has never reflected the view of a majority of

the Court, which on several occasions has declined to

Appendix 17

adopt Justice Brandeis's views on this question. See

Federal Power Comm'n v. Texaco Inc., 417 U.S. 380,

94 S.Ct. 2315, 41 L.Ed.2d 14] (1974); Federal Power

Comm'n v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591, 64

S.Ct. 281, 88 L.Ed. 333 (1944). Instead, the Court

consistently has refused to "designat[e][ ] a single

theory of ratemaking [that] would unnecessarily

foreclose alternatives which could benefit both

consumers and investors." Duquesne Light Co. v.

Barasch, 488 im 2 v9,

316, 109 S.Ct. 609, 102 L.Ed.2d 646 (1989).

In fact, the Court has explicitly sustained similar cost

models not based on historical costs. See Mobil Oil

Exploration & Producing Southeast Inc. v. United

Distrib. Cos., 498 U.S. 211, 224-25 n. 5, 111 S.Ct.

615, 112 L.Ed.2d 636 (1991) (indicating that similar

non-historical based cost model was not arbitrary,

Capricious, or manifestly contrary to the statute at

issue. ).

We conclude that the plain language is ambiguous as to

whether the FCC's cost models are permitted. We then

decide that under Chevron Step-two, the FCC's forward-

looking cost models are authorized under their reasonable

interpretations of the statutory language. Finally, we do not

conclude that the FCC acted in a “arbitrary and capricious”

manner in reaching its decision to adopt forward-looking cost

models.

[8] GTE argues that the methodology violates the “equitable

and nondiscriminatory" language in § 254(b)(4). We

disagree with GTE's claim that the plain language of §

254(b)(4) prohibits the FCC from adopting its methodology.

The section of the statute that GTE relies on represents one

Appendix 18

of seven principles identified by the statute as the basis for

the agency's universal service policies. Rather than setting

up specific conditions or requirements, § 254(b) reflects a

Congressional intent to delegate these difficult policy choices

to agency discretion: "The Joint Board and the Commission

shall base policies for the preservation and advancement of

universal service on the following pninciples....". (Emphasis

added.) 47 U.S.C. § 254(b).

*412 Moreover, the FCC has offered reasonable

explanations for how its use of the forward-looking cost

models cannot be characterized as inequitable and

discriminatory. For instance, the FCC points out that all

carriers, including interexchange carriers ("IXC's") such as

AT & T and MCI, are subject to the same cost methodology

and must move toward the same efficient cost level to

maximize the benefits of universal service support.

[9] The term "sufficient" appears in § 254(e), and the plain

language of § 254(e) makes sufficiency of universal service

support a direct statutory command rather than a statement of

one of several principles. Stil, we do not find that the use of

the single word “sufficient,” even in the language of

command, demonstrates Congress's unambiguous intent

regarding the forward- looking cost models. We therefore

review under Chevron step-two and conclude that the agency

has offered reasonable justifications for its adoption of the

"most efficient" methodology.

[10] The FCC points to cases in which agencies have

adopted similar methodologies to encourage competition.

[FN13] It also argues that nothing in the statute defines

"sufficient" to mean that universal service support must equal

the actual costs incurred by ILEC's. These reasons suffice to

survive the reasonableness requirement of Chevron step-two.

Appendix 19

FN13. See, e.g., West Tex. Util. Co. v. Burlington

N.R.R., Docket No. 41191 (Surface Transp. Bd. May

3, 1996), affd sub nom. Burlington N.R.R. v. Surface

Transp. Bd., 114 F.3d 206, 213 (D.C.Cir.1997)

(sustaining, as reasonable, agency application of

“stand alone cost constraints” based on rates that a

hypothetical carrier would have to charge to earn a

reasonable return).

To be sure, the FCC's reason for adopting this methodology

is not just to preserve universal service. Rather, it is also

trying to encourage local competition by setting the cost

models at the "most efficient" level so that carriers will have

the incentive to improve Operations. As long as it can

reasonably argue that the methodology will provide sufficient

support for universal service, however, it is free, under the

deference we afford it under Chevron step-two, to adopt a

methodology that serves its other goal of encouraging local

competition.

il. "ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS."

(11][12] Arguing that the FCC has departed from its own

Stated methodology, GTE charges the agency with “arbitrary

and capricious" actions under the APA. See 5 U.S.C. §

706(2)(A). The APA's “arbitrary and capricious" standard of

review is narrow and requires only a finding that the agency

“articulate[d] a rational relationship between the facts found

and the choice made." Harris v. United States. 19 F.3d 1090,

1096 (Sth Cir.1994).

GTE points out that while the agency has wedded itself to

the "most efficient" carrier cost methodology, it used current

depreciation schedules to develop its models for projecting

forward-looking costs. These schedules are not based on the

Appendix 20

actual costs of the current regulated system, but, GTE

contends, have been artificially deflated by state regulators so

that local carriers recover less than they would in a real,

competitive market. Using these artificially-deflated

schedules in the cost models disadvantages the ILEC's,

because they will not be able to recover their capital costs as

they would if free from regulation.

Actually, the FCC has departed from its general "most

efficient" methodology by making a number of adjustments

to its cost model. For instance, instead of assuming the

"most efficient" wire center locations in its cost models, the

agency simply made calculations based on whatever wire

centers already exist. See Order J 251(1). This allowance

actually benefits the ILEC’s.

While GTE argues that the FCC's failure to adhere tightly to

its "most efficient" *413 methodology fails the "arbitrary and

capricious" test, that test, properly understood, is far less

onerous. If the FCC's departures from its methodology

"articulate a rational relationship,” we will not apply the

"arbitrary and capricious” remedy.

[13] The FCC seeks to mitigate the effect of the "most

efficient" methodology by accounting for wire centers that

already exist. Additionally, and contrary to GTE's assertions,

the agency is prescribing a range within which the

depreciation schedules must fall, rather than simply adopting

the schedules that already exist. For the time being, the FCC

will rely on the actual depreciation schedules, because it does

not see a prospect of significant competition in the near future

in the high-cost markets. See Order ¥ 250(5). Moreover,

the agency has committed itself to re-prescribe the range for

these schedules every three years. See id. { 250(5) n. 662.

These reasons establish enough of a "rational relationship"

Appendix 21

with facts presented for the forward-looking cost

methodology to pass the APA's arbitrary and capricious test.

[FN 14]

FN14. GTE claims that implementing the forward-

looking cost methodology will force ILEC’s to operate

at a loss, and this constitutes an unconstitutional

taking under Brooks-Scanlon. GTE's claim has no

merit; it has not shown that a taking has occurred or

that any taking will be permanent or would be sO

Serious as to be considered “confiscatory."

See Duquesne, 488 U.S. at 314, i109 S.Ct.

609. ("[A]n otherwise reasonable rate is not

subject to constitutional attack by questioning

the theoretical consistency of the method that

produced it.").

Unlike the situation in Brooks-Scanlon, the

circumstance here is that the regulatory entity setting

the rules, the FCC, is not requiring the ILEC's to

remain open or to charge low rates, thereby forcing

them to operate at a permanent loss. See Continental

Air Lines v. Dole, 784 F.2d 1245, 1251 (Sth Cir.1986)

(distinguishing Brooks-Scanlon where agency

required loss-making operation for a limited time

only).

b. METHODOLOGY FOR CALCULATING THE

REVENUE BENCHMARK.

{14][15] GTE challenged the inclusion of revenues from

"discretionary" services in the revenue benchmark used to

compare costs and revenues for the purposes of universal

Service support. The Joint Board, however, recently

proposed eliminating the entire revenue benchmark in favor

of a single national cost benchmark. See Second

Appendix 22

Recommended Decision 4] 41-50. The FCC accepted this

recommendation.See Seventh Report and Order 4 61 ("[W]Je

reconsider and reject the determination in the First Report

and Order that federal support for rate comparability should

be determined using a revenue-based benchmark.”). [FN15]

This decision moots GTE’s challenge to the inclusion of

discretionary revenues, because no revenues will be used in

the calculation of the benchmark. [FN16]

FN15. Vermont has filed a petition for review of the

Seventh Report and Order in the District of Columbia

Circuit. See No. 99-1243 (D.C.Cir.). Pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2349(a), it thereby has vested that court with

exclusive jurisdiction to review the Seventh Report

and Order. Unless the District of Columbia Circuit

transfers the petition to this court pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2112(a), we lack jurisdiction to consider the

order on its merits.

We still retain jurisdiction to the extent that the new

order changes or affects the Order that is the subject

of this consolidated proceeding. As we explain

below, the FCC's repudiation of its revenue

benchmarks and the 25% allocation moot the

petitioners’ chalienges for purposes of this appeal.

Petitioners, however, are not precluded, by our

dismissal in this proceeding, from filing appeals of

the new cost-based benchmark and the new allocation

methodology in another proceeding.

FN 16. Mootness goes to the heart of our jurisdiction

under Article III of the Constitution. Therefore, we

must consider mootness even if the parties do not

raise it, because “resolution of this question is

essential if federal courts are to function within their

constitutional spheres of

Appendix 23

authority." North Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S.

244, 245, 92 S.Ct. 402, 30 LEd2d 413

(1971),

[16][17][18] A case becomes moot if (1) there is no

reasonable expectation that the alleged violation will recur

and (2) interim relief or events have completely and

irrevocably *414 eradicated the effects of the alleged

violation. County of Los Angeles v. Davis, 440 U.S. 625,

631, 99 S.Ct. 1379, 59 L.Ed.2d 642 (1979). [FN17] The

FCC's new approach eradicates any possible effect of

discretionary revenues on the levels of the petitioners’

universal service support. [FN 18] We therefore dismiss, as

moot, GTE's challenge to the use of discretionary revenues in

the high-cost support benchmark.

FN17. Even if these conditions are met, there are at

least three exceptions to the mootness doctrine. First,

courts may assert jurisdiction if the official action

being challenged is capable of "Tepetition, yet evading

review." See Nader v. Volpe, 475 F.2d 916, 917

(D.C.Cir. 1973). Second, courts also have

adjudicated otherwise moot issues if the defendant

has voluntarily ceased the challenged activity to avoid

judicial resolution and there is a reasonable possibility

that the challenged conduct will resume. See Gluth

v. Kangas, 951 F.2d 1504,

1507-08 (9th Cir.1991) (refusing to hold

voluntary cessation of prison library

restrictions moot in light of long history of

policy). Finally, courts have avoided

mootness where the mooted issue still has

collateral or future consequences. See Super

Tire Eng'g Co. v. McCorkle, 416 USS. 115,

122, 94 S.Ct. 1694, 40 L.Ed.2d | (1974)

Appendix 24

(refusing to moot employer's challenge to state

benefits for strikers even though strike had

ended, because issue would affect employer's

future relations with union).

Only the first and second exceptions are arguably

applicable to the FCC's new order, and we do not

think either exception applies. The "repetition"

exception will not apply unless there is a reasonable

expectation that the same litigant will again be

subjected to the same action. See DeFunis v.

Odegaard, 416 U.S. 312, 315-17, 94 S.Ct. 1704, 40

L.Ed.2d 164 (1974) (mooting student's lawsuit

because he will graduate regardless of outcome of

litigation). The second exception requires a showing

that the challenged conduct will resume. There is

little basis for suggesting that the FCC, after a long

and torturous process involving a recommendation

from the Joint Board and months of deliberation, will

reverse itself on the question of revenue benchmarks.

FN18. Reconsideration of agency actions by the

implementing agency can moot issues otherwise

subject to judicial review because the reviewing

court can no longer grant effective relief.

See, e.g., Center for Science in the Pub.

Interest v. Regan, 727 F.2d 1161, 1164

(D.C.Cir.1984) (holding that a change in

position of Department of Treasury regarding

labeling of alcoholic beverages mooted federal

appeal); see also 15 JAMES W. MOORE,

MOORE'S FEDERAL PRACTICE § 101.96,

at 101-179 (3d ed. 1998) ("[A] parallel

proceeding in another forum and [ ] resolution

of that controversy in that forum will moot the

issues presented in the federal action ....

— ee ee ee ee ee

—

Appendix 25

regardless of whether or not that parallel

forum is an administrative proceeding.").

GTE also challenged the FCC's use of a national benchmark

for purposes of revenue calculations. Because GTE's

challenge focused on the problems of a national revenue

benchmark, the FCC's elimination of the revenue benchmark

also moots its challenge to the national benchmark.

GTE's basic attack on the national revenue benchmark is that

ILEC's operating in states with below-average revenues will

be systematically undercompensated by a universal service

support system based on a national revenue benchmark. But

none of these arguments necessarily applies to a cost-based

national benchmark. [FN 19] Indeed, the FCC adopted the

cost-based national benchmark because it agreed that

"revenues may not accurately reflect the level of need for

support to enable reasonably comparable rates because states

have varying rate-setting methods and goals." Seventh

Report and Order { 62.

FN19. Accord Center for Science in the Pub. Interest,

727 F.2d at 1164 ("Most of the issues presented in

these appeals are not necessarily pertinent to

examination of the second {administrative action] and

may well prove irrelevant in that context.").

Because the subject matter of GTE's appeal--a national

revenue benchmark--no longer has any legal force, "[a]ny

further judicial pronouncements -- Would be purely

advisory." See Center for Science in the Public Interest, 727

F.2d at 1164. "We cannot assume jurisdiction to decide a

case on the ground that it is the same case as one presented to

us, when it is admitted that it is not and when it presents

different issues." Id. at 1166 n. 6 (emphasis added).

a ee ae

Appendix 26

Therefore, we also dismiss, as moot, the *415 challenges to

the FCC's national revenue benchmark. [FN20]

FN20. Our conclusion regarding mootness does not

conflict with Natural Resources Defense Council v.

EPA, 489 F.2d 390 (Sth Cir.1974), in which we

refused to moot a challenge to the EPA's approval of

Georgia's Clean Air Act implementation plan despite

the EPA's later decision to withdraw its approval.

Because the EPA's reasons for withdrawing approval

s h o wied : mR @ 48

it still fundamentally disagreed with the

petitioners’ interpretation of the Clean Air

Act's requirements, we asserted jurisdiction.

In this case, the FCC's new order not only alters, but

explicitly repudiates, the reasoning behind its use of

revenues in calculating the benchmark. All of the

petitioners’ challenges to the benchmark calculations

focused on the unreliability or unfairness of such

revenue- based calculations. By eliminating the use

of revenues, the petitioners and the FCC no longer

fundamentally disagree on the problems that revenues

cause in calculating the benchmark for high-cost

Support.

Thus, Natural Resources Defense Council does not

conflict with the reasoning of Center for Science in

the Public Interest, 727 F.2d at 1166, in which the

court mooted a challenge after the Treasury had

implemented a new, superseding — regulation

containing different reasoning and _ substantive

provisions different from the challenged regulation.

In both cases, the courts analyzed whether the

intervening agency action represented a substantive

shift in an agency's interpretation of its statutory

duties. i

ee a ee

ee eee ae eee oo

— iN

Appendix 27

c. LIMITING THE FEDERAL MECHANISM TO

TWENTY-FIVE PERCENT OF UNIVERSAL

SERVICE COSTS.

[19] The third step in the FCC's methodology for calculating

support to high-cost, non-rural areas allocates 25% of the

funding responsibility to the agency, leaving 75% to be

provided by the states. In other words, onlv 25% of the

overall funds for the explicit universal support program for

high-cost areas will be provided from the funds collected

from interstate telephone calls; the rest must be provided by

the states, usually through charges on intrastate service.

Certain states, [FN21] GTE, and Kansas and Vermont

[FN22] challenged this allocation on Statutory grounds.

Specifically, they question the 25% rule for failing to provide

“sufficient” support under § 254(e). Kansas and Vermont also

challenged the FCC's 25% allocation decision for lack of

notice and for failing to ensure reasonable comparability

between rural and urban rates.

FN21. Nine state commissions--from Texas,

California, Florida, Iowa, Louisiana, New York,

Nevada, Pennsylvania, and South Dakota--have

presented a joint appeal, and we refer to them as "the

States."

FN22. The state commissions of Kansas and Vermont

filed a separate appeal. Although both Kansas and

Vermont challenge the 25% allocation, only Vermont

maintains its challenge to the FCC's transitional

Support rules for rural carriers. See infra part

If].A.6.c.i.

As in the case of arguments against the revenue benchmark,

Appendix 28

we do not consider these challenges, because the FCC has

accepted the Joint Board's recommendation to scrap the

25%/75% rule. [FN23] The Seventh Report and Order

proposes a new methodology that places "no artificial limits

on the amount of federal support that is available" when a

State cannot by itself maintain reasonable comparability.

Seventh Report and Order J 34. This new framework is "a

different regulation, containing on its face reasoning not

previously articulated by the agency as its policy." Center for

Science in the Pub. Interest, 727 F.2d at 1166. Therefore, we

dismiss the challenges by al! of the petitioners as moot.

[FN24]

FN23. See Seventh Report and Order § 3 ("We

explicitly reconsider and repudiate any suggestion in

the First Report and Order that federal support should

be limited to 25 percent of the difference between the

benchmark and_ the forward-looking cost

estimates....").

FN24->Vermont invites us to review the Seventh

Report and. Order 's interpretation of reasonable

comparability in the context of that recent order's

revised approach 10 allocating costs between the

different states and between the state and federal

funds. To the extent. that Vermont's “reasonable

comparability" arguments: were based on a challenge

t Oo t h e 2 5 &

allocation, we dismiss its arguments as moot.

To the extent its arguments focused on the

alleged failure of the FCC to articulate a

definition of “reasonable comparability,” we

would have to examine the merits of the

Seventh Report and Order. As we explained,

supra n. 16, we cannot review the merits of

Appendix 29

that order, because we lack jurisdiction over

the merits of the new allocation methodology

untii it is transferred to this court by the

District of Columbia Circuit.

*416 d. PROPERLY CONSULTING WITH THE JOINT

BOARD BEFORE AMENDING

JURISDICTIONAL SEPARATIONS RULES.

[20] GTE raises an administrative procedural objection to the

FCC's adoption of new jurisdictional separations rules

[FN25] that propose to end existing high-cost fund support

for non-rural carriers on January 1, 1999. [FN26] Instead of

arguing that the new rule is arbitrary and capricious, GTE

claims that the agency failed properly to refer the matter to

the Joint Board, in violation of 47 U.S.C. § 410(c), which

States that "[t]he Commission shall refer any proceeding

regarding the jurisdictional separation of common carrier

property and expenses between interstate and intrastate

Operations ... to a Federal-State Joint Board.”

FN25. "Beginning January 1, 1999, non-rural carriers

$82 61 n o longer

receive support pursuant to this [program].”

47 CF.R. § 36.601(c).

FN26. This implementation date has now been

delayed until January 1, 2000. See Seventh Report

and Order 5.

The FCC responds that it did make a general referral to the

Joint Board in March 1996 and that the Joint Board

Subsequently recommended that the agency replace the

existing support mechanisms for non-rural carriers with a

new universal service system. The plan to replace the

Appendix 30

existing support mechanism, the FCC argues, requires a

change in the method of jurisdictional separation, and by

recommending the plan, the Joint Board had already

considered the jurisdictional effects. [FN27]

FN27. Jurisdictional separations rules are part of a

process whereby it "may be determined what portion

of an asset is employed to produce or deliver

interstate as opposed to intrastate service.” Louisiana

Pub. Serv. Comm'n v. FCC, 476 U.S. 355, 356, 106

S.Ct. 1890, 90 L.Ed.2d 369 (1986). Section 410(c)

requires the FCC to consult the Joint Board, but it

does not "dictate how costs must be recovered...."

See National Ass'n of Regulatory Uul. Comm'rs v.

FCC, 737 F.2d 1095, 1112 n. 19 (D.C.Cir. 1984).

GTE and the FCC disagree on the level of specificity needed

to fulfill the Joint Board consultation requirement of §

410(c). GTE argues that simply identifying the broad subject

of universal service reform did not raise the issue of altering

the system that is used to shift costs in many high-cost areas

to the interstate jumsdiction. In particular, GTE contends

that the Joint Board failed to consider the amounts of the fund

allocation between the interstate and intrastate jurisdictions

when it considered the plan to implement a new support

mechanism.

Although the FCC does not have to raise every possible

detail in its referral to the Joint Board, it must show that the

Joint Board was aware of the effects on the jurisdictional

separations rules of replacing the existing high-cost support

system. The plain language of the statute shows that any

shift in the allocation of jurisdictional responsibility lies at

the heart of § 410(c)'s consultation requirement.

LNT GE ee ee ee,

Appendix 31

The Joint Board was aware that replacing the existing high-

cost support system will affect the jurisdictional separations

rules. This is shown by the fact, for instance, that the Joint

Board made a detailed discussion of the current jurisdictional

separations rules, acknowledging that they "currently assign

25 percent of each LEC's loop costs to the interstate

jurisdiction." See First Recommended Decision q 188.

In discussing the comments submitted by affected parties,

the Joint Board recognized that the jurisdictional separations

rules are part of the old regime of "embedded" or "historical"

costs. See id. J 207. Thus, the Joint Board does seem to

recognize that the jurisdictional separations mules are part of

the old “embedded cost" *417 system and were developed in

the context of allocating the actual costs of developing the

local and long- distance networks. By recommending

replacing the historical cost system with a forward-looking

“most efficient" cost model, the Joint Board must have

considered that the jurisdictional separations rules no longer

would apply in the same way. Although no detailed

discussion appears in the First Recommended Decision, the

Joint Board's recognition that the Jurisdictional separations

rules would be affected by adopting a new cost model fulfills

§ 410(c)'s consultation requirement. [FN28]

FN28. The FCC did not arbitrarily and capriciously

fail to explain the reason for its amendment of rule

36.601(c). It stated that the new universal service

mechanism will replace the old high-cost fund

Subsidies and that the change will occur on January 1,

1999 (later extended to July 1, 1999 and then to

January 1, 2000). The agency's general explanations

of the effect of the new support mechanism provide

enough of a reason to survive GTE's attack.

Appendix 32

2. ELIGIBILITY REQUIREMENTS FOR CARRIERS

SEEKING UNIVERSAL SERVICE SUPPORT.

The states and intervenor Southwestern Bell ("SBC")

challenge the FCC's reading of the Act's provisions governing

eligibility requirements for carriers seeking universal service

support. In general, they question the agency's interpretation

of § 214(e) as too narrow and restrictive of the ability of state

commissions to set their own criteria and exercise their own

discretion over a carrier's eligibility.

a. LIMITING THE CRITERIA THAT STATE

COMMISSIONS MAY CONSIDER WHEN ASSESSING A

CARRIER'S ELIGIBILITY.

[21] Section 214(e) governs the designation of carriers

eligible to receive federal universal service support. Section

214(e)(1)(A) and (B) set out the eligibility requirements, and

§ 214(e)(2) [FN29] governs the designation of eligible

carriers by state commissions.

FN29. The subsection reads:

A State commission shall upon its own motion or

upon request designate a common carrier that meets

the requirements of paragraph (1) as an eligible

telecommunications carrier for a _ service area

designated by the State commission. Upon request

and consistent with the public interest, convenience,

and necessity, the State commission may, in the case

ofan area served by a rural telephone company, and

shall, in the case of all other areas, designate

more than one common carrier as an eligible

telecommunications carrier for a service area

designated by a State commission, so long as

each additional requesting carrier meets the

Appendix 33

requirements of paragraph (1). Before

designating an additional eligible

telecommunications carrier for an area served

by a rural telephone company, the State

commission shall find that the designation is

in the public interest.

In the Order, the FCC interpreted § 214(e)(2) in this way.

With limited exceptions for rural areas, a state commission

has no discretion when assessing a carrier's eligibility for

federal support. If a carrier Satisfies the terms of § 214(e)(1),

a state commission must designate it as eligible. Thus, the

FCC ruled that a state commission may not impose additional

eligibility requirements on a carrier seeking universal service

Support in non-rural service areas. See Order J 135. The

agency does permit the states to impose service quality

obligations on local carriers if those obligations are unrelated

to a carmier's eligibility to receive federal universal service

support. According to the FCC, this interpretation "gives

effect to the unambiguously expressed intent of Congress."

See Chevron, 467 U.S. at 842- 43, 104 S.Ct. 2778.

The states and SBC offer two lines of attack. First, they

argue that the plain language of § 214(e)(2) does not support

the FCC's blanket prohibition on additional state eligibility

requirements. Second, they say that the FCC exceeded its

jurisdictional authority, in violation of 47 U.S.C. § 152(b), by

purporting to interfere with the states’ regulation of intrastate

service. Because we conclude that the agency *418 erred in

prohibiting the states from imposing additional eligibility

requirements, we do not reach the states’ jurisdictional

challenges.

On the plain language front, the states argue that § 214(e)(2)

does not unambiguously prohibit them from regulating

Appendix 34

carriers receiving federal universal support. Specifically,

they contend that Congress did not mean to prohibit the states

from imposing service quality standards on eligible carriers.

According to the states, the language on which the FCC

relies--"[a] State Commission shall upon its own motion or

upon request designate a common carrier that meets the

requirements of paragraph (1) as an_ eligible

telecommunications carrier"--does not expressly circumscribe

State authority to add additional eligibility requirements.

The agency's best hope for express authority for its action

rests on the statute's use of the word "Shall" in § 214(e)(2).

Generally speaking, courts have read "shall" as a more direct

statutory command than words such as "should" and "may."

[FN30] Though we agree that the use of the word "shall"

indicates a congressional command, nothing in the statute

indicates that this command prohibits states from imposing

their own eligibility requirements. Instead, we read §

214(e)(2) as addressing how many carriers a state may

designate for a given service area, and not how much

discretion a state commission retains to impose eligibility

standards.

FN30. See MCI Telecomm. Corp. v. FCC, 765 F.2d

1186, 1191 (D.C.Cir.1985) (holding that "shall" is

"the language of command").

The first sentence requires state commissions to designate at

least one common carrier as eligible, but that carrier must still

meet the eligibility requirements in § 214(e)(!1). The second

sentence then confers discretion on the states to designate

more than one carrier in rural areas, while requiring them to

designate eligible carriers in non-rural areas consistent with

the "public interest" requirement. Nothing in the statute,

under this reading of the plain language, speaks at all to

ges Oe ee ee eee ee ee eee ee ee

Appendix 35

whether the FCC may prevent state commissions from

imposing additional criteria on eligible carriers. [FN31]

FN31. To be sure, if a state commission imposed such

onerous eligibility requirements that no otherwise

eligible carrier could receive designation,

that state commission would probably run

afoul of § 214(e)(2)'s mandate to “designate” a

carrier or "designate more than one carrier.”

Thus, the FCC erred in prohibiting the states from imposing

additional eligibility requirements on carriers otherwise

eligible to receive federal universal service Support. The

plain language of the statute speaks to the question of how

many Carriers a state commission may designate, but nothing

in the subsection prohibits the states from imposing their own

eligibility requirernents. [FN32] This reading makes sense in

light of the states’ historical role in ensuring service quality

standards for local service. Therefore, we reverse that portion

of the Order prohibiting the states from imposing any

additional requirements when designating carriers as eligible

for federal universal service support.

FN32. Additionally, § 152(b) of Act instructs us to

construe the Act to avoid giving the FCC jurisdiction

Over "charges, classifications, practices, services,

facilities, or regulations for and in connection with

intrastate communications services..." 47 U.S.C. §

152(b). See Louisiana Pub. Serv. Comm'n v. FCC,

476 U.S. 355, 376 n. 5, 106 S.Ct. 1890, 90 L.Ed.2d

369 (1986) ("[Section] 152(b) not only imposes

jurisdictional limits on the power of a federal agency,

bout also, b oy

Stating that nothing in the Act shall be

construed to extend FCC jurisdiction to

Appendix 36

intrastate service, provides its own rule of

Statutory construction.”); see also discussion

of “no disconnect” rule, infra part [I1.A.3.

b. The Terms of Section 214(e)(5) Governing the

Definition of Service

Areas.

In their initial brief, the states argued that the FCC had

impermissibly encroached on their exclusive authority to

*419 designate service areas for universal service support.

The FCC, however, pointed out that 4 185 of the Order had

only encouraged the states to make certain decisions [FN33]

when designating service areas. The agency explicitly denies

that the paragraph requires the states to follow its

“encouragements.” Thus, it appears that the states

misinterpreted the FCC's intentions in ¥ 185 and that there is

no issue left for us to address.

FN33. In order to promote competition, the FCC

encourages states to adopt the existing study areas of

ILECs as service areas for non-rural areas because it

would create a significant barrier to entry. The FCC

further encourages states to consider designating

service areas that the ILECs have not traditionally

served, this limiting the [LEC advantage over new

entrants.

Order 7 185.

[22] The states, however, continue to contest one aspect of

the Order regarding the definition of service areas. The FCC

maintains that it may establish a different definition of

service areas for rural carners, with the agreement of the

States, without having to submit such a new definition first to

the Joint Board. The states argue that the plain language of §

Appendix 37

214(e)(5) allows the agency to act only “after taking into

account recommendations of [the Joint Board]...."

The FCC has two procedural responses and one substantive

defense. Because we agree with the FCC that the States have

no standing, we do not reach the FCC's other defenses.

The agency argues that the states have no Standing to

challenge its ruling, because the states have failed to show

any harm. [FN34] After all, as the FCC points out, it must

sull garner the approval of each respective state before a rural

Service area can be re defined. The states argue that they are

harmed because the state members of the Joint Board are

denied a chance to participate in the decisionmaking process,

So the states are less able to coordinate with each other.

They further contend that bypassing the Joint Board denied

the states any meaningful Participation in revising service

area definitions for rural territories.

FN34. We review the FCC's standing defense, like all

constitutional questions, under a de novo standard of

review. See 5 U.S.C. § 706 (Stating that "a reviewing

court shall decide all relevant questions of law [and]

interpret constitutional and Statutory provisions").

This claim is weak, because the states’ independent ability to

velo particular service areas seems to provide them with a

substantial amount of "meaningful Participation." This is

unlike the situation in the cases the states rely on, in that the

states here are not challenging a federal preemption order that

threatens their sovereign authority. See California v. FCC,

75 F.3d 1350, 1361 (9th Cir. 1996). Therefore, the states lack

Standing to challenge this portion of the Order.

¢. DECLINING TO REQUIRE ELIGIBLE CARRIERS TO

Appendix 38

OFFER SUPPORTED SERVICES ON AN

UNBUNDLED BASIS.

[23] GTE argues that the FCC's failure to require carriers to

"unbundle” their offerings when receiving universal service

support violates the congressional intent expressed in §

214(e)(1) under Chevron step-one. "Bundling" refers to a

carrier's practice of offering different services together as one

package. For instance, a carrier might offer basic phone

service as part of a package that includes call-waiting and

voicemail.

GTE fears that a new carrier could "cherry pick" high-profit

customers by offering only bundled local telephone service

packages. Because the intended beneficiaries of universal

service are, by definition, less able to afford even basic

service, offering expensive bundled packages will allow new

Carriers to steal wealthier, low-cost customers while leaving

ILEC's such as GTE to provide service to everyone else.

GTE reasons that Congress, by requiring carriers receiving

federal universal service support to advertise the availability

of its *420 supported services, intended to require new

Carriers tO participate in universal service--an intent that

would be thwarted by allowing the new carriers to offer

bundled services.

The FCC responds that the plain language of the statute is

satisfied as long as a carrier offers “services that are

supported by Federal universal service mechanisms." 47

U.S.C. 214(e)(1 (A). Except for the advertising requirement,

the statute makes no mention of "bundling" or other

eligibility criteria. In fact, the FCC argues that because of

the exclusive grant of eligibility authority conferred on the

states by § 214(e)(2), it cannot impose additional eligibility

criteria. Because the statute is silent on the question of

Appendix 39

bundling, and because the statute seems to prohibit further

eligibility criteria, the agency asks us to give deference to its

interpretation of § 214(e) under Chevron step-two.

We agree that the statute's plain language does not reveal

Congress's unambiguous intent. It is not evident, however,

that the FCC's interpretation of the Statute meets even the

minimum level of reasonability required in step- two review.

Section 214(e)(1) plainly requires carriers receiving

universal service support to offer such Supported services to

as many Customers as possible. Thus, an eligible carrier must

offer such services “throughout the service area” and

“advertise the availability of such services.” This

requirement makes sense in light of the new universal service

program's goal of maintaining affordable service in a

competitive local market. Allowing bundling, however,

would completely undermine the goal of the first two

requirements, because a carrier could qualify for universal

service support by simply Offering and then advertising

expensive, bundled services to low-income customers who

cannot afford it.

The FCC suggests that GTE's problems stem not from

bundling but from state- imposed “carrier of last resort”

("COLR") requirements, which prohibit ILEC’s such as GTE

trom disconnecting low-profit consumers and leave ILEC's

vulnerable to outside competition. But the elimination of

COLR requirements would only further undermine the goal

of making basic services available to low income consumers

and those in "rural, insular, and high cost areas." See 47

U.S.C. § 254(b)(3). This again would violate the express

intent of the universal service program. Without a better

explanation for its unreasonable interpretation, we would be

inclined to find the FCC's implementation “arbitrary and

Appendix 40

capncious and manifestly contrary to the statute.” See

Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844, 104 S.Ct. 2778.

Fortunately, the agency also has explained that "only an

eligible carner that succeeds tn attracting and/or maintaining

a customer base to whom it provides universal service will

receive universal service support.” Order ¥ 138. Therefore, it

reasons that if offering only bundled services would price

low- income customers out of the market, the carner offering

bundled services would eventually lose universal service

support. Thus, the FCC can avoid the problem of providing

universal service support to carriers that do not serve high-

cost customers for which the support is intended. = This

explanation supports the FCC's claim that its decision to

allow bundling ts reasonable under Chevron step-two review.

Though the decision is a close one, we conclude that the

FCC's retusal to require eligible carriers to provide unbundled

services ts neither “arbitrary, capricious,” nor “manifestly

contrary to the statute.” See Chevron, 467 U.S. at 844, 104

S.Ct. 2778. Because the agency will prevent companies

from using bundling to receive federal support while avoiding

high- cost customers, we do not find its interpretation "so

implausible that wt could not be ascribed to a difference in

view or the product of agency expertise.” Motor Vehicle

Mirs- Ass'n v. State Farin Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. *421

29, 43, 103 S.Ct. 2856, 77 L.Ed.2d 443 (1983).

3) AUTHORITY TO PROHIBIT CARRIERS FROM

DISCONNECTING LOCAL SERVICE TO LOW-

INCOME CONSUMERS WHO FAIL TO PAY TOLL

CHARGES...

[24] Bell Atlanuc and the states challenge the FCC's

adoption of a regulation [FN35] prohibiting carriers receiving

Appendix 41

universal service support from disconnecting Lifeline

services [FN36] from low-income consumers who have failed

to pay toll charges. See Order J 390. The petitioners charge

that the “no disconnect" rule exceeds the agency's

jurisdictional authority under § 2(b) of the 1934 Act, [FN37]

which prohibits FCC regulation of intrastate

telecommunications service. Because the plain language of

the statute expresses Congress's unambiguous intent, we

review the agency's interpretation under Chevron step-one.

FN35. 47 C.F.R. § 54.401(b).

FN36. The Lifeline program refers to the 3 ©

efforts to expand telephone services to qualifying

low-income subscribers. The agency defines Lifeline

services to include single-party service, voice-grade

access to the public switched telephone network,

BTMF or its functional digital equivalent, access to

directory assistance, and toll-limitation Services.

See Order ¥ 390.

FN37. "[NJothing in this subchapter shall be

construed to apply or to give the Commission

jurisdiction with respect to (1) charges,

Classifications, practices, services. facilities, or

regulations for or in connection with intrastate

communication service by wire or radio of any

carrier..." 47 U.S.C. § 152(b) (as amended).

The agency has three responses. First. it argues that § 2(b)

does not apply where Congress has given the FCC an

“unambiguous or straightforward" grant of authority. See

Louisiana Pub. Serv. Comm'n, 476 U.S. at 377, 106 S.Ct.

1890. The agency argues that Congress granted such express

authority in § 254(b)(3), which directs the FCC to base its

Appendix 42

policies on the principle that "low-income consumers and

those in rural, insular, and high cost areas, should have access

to telecommunications and information services...."

As we have discussed, § 254(b) identifies seven principles

the FCC should consider in developing its policies; it hardly

constitutes a series of specific statutory commands. Indeed,

we have avoided relying on the aspirational language in §

254(b) to bind the FCC to adopt certain cost methodologies

for calculating universal service support. [FN38]

FN38. See supra part III.A. 1.a.1.

[25] Just as we declined to read § 254(b) as an inexorable

statutory command against the FCC, we decline to read it as a

grant of plenary power overriding other portions of the Act.

The agency has no “unambiguous or straightforward" grant of

authority to override the limits set by § 2(b), and, accordingly,

it has no jurisdiction to adopt the "no disconnect" rule on the

basis of the vague, general language of § 254(b)(3). [FN39]

FN39. The SBC intervenors challenge a related FCC

rule prohibiting the practice of requiring deposits

from customers initiating service with toll- blocking

for interstate service. Unfortunately for SBC, none

of the petitioners on this issue (the states and Bell

Atlantic) raised a challenge to this similar but separate

rule in the FCC proceeding. Therefore, we cannot

consider it on appeal. See United Gas Pipe Line Co.

v. FERC, 824 F.2d 417, 437 (Sth Cir.1987).

[26] Second, the FCC contends that the petitioners’

jurisdictional challenge is inapposite because the "no

disconnect" rule does not purport to regulate intrastate

service, but merely prevents the disconnection of interstate

ee eS ee ee, eee

Appendix 43

Service (and, as a consequence, of intrastate service) for

failure to pay toll charges. [FN40] As Bell Atlantic *422

rightly responds, however, the "no disconnect" rule is a

“regulation,” because it dictates the circumstances under

which local service must be maintained. Therefore, the

FCC, by issuing the rule, has acted “with respect to” and "in

connection with" intrastate service within the meaning of §

2(b).

FN40. Bell Atlantic argues that the FCC has waived

this argument on appeal. We do not agree. The

FCC's brief states that the "no disconnect" rule "does

not purport to regulate intrastate service ... but merely

to prevent the disconnection of service (including

interstate access service) to customers who have

failed to pay toll charges." Though weak, this

statement preserves the FCC's attempt to exceed its

jurisdictional boundaries on the ground that it cannot

regulate an interstate matter without also regulating an

intrastate matter.

The FCC points out that even if the "no disconnect" rule is a

“regulation” within the meaning of § 2(b), courts have

Sustained agency jurisdiction over similar rules under the

“Impossibility” exception. In North Carolina Uuls. Comm'n

Vv. FCC, 552 F.2d 1036 (4th Cir.1977), the court upheld FCC

regulations permitting local subscribers to connect their

telephones to the local loop to make interstate calls. North

Carolina previously had required subscribers to use leased

telephones and argued that § 2(b) prevented FCC intervention

because the vast majority of these calls were intrastate. The

court rejected this argument, holding that "the FCC has

jurisdiction to prescribe the conditions under which terminal

equipment may be interconnected with the interstate

telephone line network." Id. at 1048.

Appendix 44

Essentially, the FCC asks us to find that the “no disconnect”

rule, aimed at regulating interstate service, is impossible to

separate from intrastate service. In similar cases, the District

of Columbia Circuit has permitted the FCC to intervene in

relatively localized service issues [FN41] and has developed

a useful framework for analyzing what the petitioners refer to

as the "impossibility" exception to § 2(b). See Public Serv.

Comm'n v. FCC ("Maryland PSC"), 909 F.2d 1510, 1515

(D.C.Cir. 1990).

FN41. See, e.g., Public Uul. Comm'n v. FCC, 886

F.2d 1325 (D.C.Cir.1989); Illinois Bell Tel. Co. v.

FCC, 883 F.2d 104 (D.C.Cir.1989); National Ass'n of

Regulatory Utl. Comm'rs v. FCC, 880 F.2d 422

(D.C.Cir.1989).

To permit the FCC to preempt state regulation of whether to

cut off low-income subscribers, that circuit requires the

agency to show that "(1) the matter to be regulated has both

interstate and intrastate aspects; (2) FCC preemption is

necessary to protect a valid federal regulatory objective; and

(3) state regulation would negate the exercise by the FCC of

its own lawful authority because regulation of the interstate

aspects of the matter cannot be unbundled from regulation of

intrastate aspects." Maryland PSC, 909 F.2d at 1515 (internal

quotations and citations omitted). This framework creates a

properly narrow exception to § 2(b) that allows the FCC to

preempt state regulation only when it has shown it cannot

carry out its authorized federal objectives without

encroaching on state autonomy.

Applying this framework to the "no disconnect” rule, we

agree with Bell Atlantic that the FCC has failed to show why

allowing the states to control disconnections trom local

service would “negate the exercise of the FCC's lawful

Appendix 45

authority....". As Bell Atlantic points out, the agency offered

only a bnef explanation of what lawfully authorized federal

objectives are being served by the "no disconnect” mule and

why it is necessary to preempt local authority to achieve these

objectives.

In the Order, the FCC simply states that the "no disconnect"

rule advances its goal of increasing subscribership and that it

will improve the competitiveness of the market for billing

and collection of toll charges. See Order 1 390- 391. But

the agency has not adequately explained, in either its brief or

its Order, why these goals would be "negated" by allowing

the states to control disconnection of local subscribers. In

contrast to what occurred in Maryland PSC. where the court

allowed the FCC to assert juris diction to prevent ILEC's

from shifting local costs to interstate consumers, the FCC has

offered no similar explanation of how protecting interstate

service requires imposition of a “no disconnect" rule.

Therefore, we decline *423 to allow the agency to assert

jurisdiction over the disconnection of local service based on

the impossibility exception.

Finally, the FCC argues that in the wake of lowa Utilities, it

has jurisdiction over all areas. including intrastate matters. to

which the Act applies. In lowa Uulities, the Court rejected

jurisdictional challenges to the portions of the FCC's Local

Competition Order implementing §§ 251 and 252 of the Act,

which govern the interconnection of new local service

camers with the ILEC's and establish procedures for

negouating, arbitrating, and approving any interconnection

agreements. As in the instant case, petitioners Challenged the

FCC's jurisdiction to implement the Act, arguing that much

of the authority to enforce the provisions ($§ 251 and 252)

remain with the state commissions by virtue of § 2(b).

Specifically, they contended that the Act gives the FCC

Appendix 46

jurisdiction Over intrastate matters only when the statute

explicitly applies to intrastate services and specifically

confers agency jurisdiction over intrastate services.

The Court brushed aside these attempts to raise the § 2(b)

jurisdictional fence and squarely held that " § 201(b) [FN42]

explicitly gives the FCC jurisdiction to make rules governing

matters to which the 1996 Act applies.” lowa Utilities, 119

S.Ct. at 730. Though § 2(b)'s language stating that "nothing

in this Act shall be construed to apply or to give the

Commission jurisdiction” implies that FCC jurisdiction does

not always follow where the Act applies, the Court held that

"the term ‘apply’ limits the substantive reach of the statute ...

and the phrase ‘or Commission jurisdiction’ limits ... the

FCC's ancillary jurisdiction." Id. at 731. Relying on this

holding, the FCC argues that because § 254 applies to

intrastate as well as interstate matters, § 201(b) confers the

necessary jurisdiction to implement the "no disconnect" rule.

FN42. "The Commission may prescribe such rules

and regulations as may be necessary in the public

interest to Carry out the provisions of this Act." 47

U.S.C. § 201(b).

[27] Though the Court's broad language seems to support the

FCC's position, Beli Atlantic finds comfort in the Court's

preservation of Louisiana PSC. In reconciling its holding with

Louisiana PSC, the Court held that the FCC must show that

the meaning of a statutory provision applies to intrastate

matters in an “unambiguous and straightforward" manner as

"to override the command of § 2(b)." Iowa Utilities, 119

S.Ct. at 731 (quoting Louisiana PSC, 476 U.S. at 377, 106

S.Ct. 1890). If the agency fails in this initial task, it cannot

use its normally broad regulatory authority to assert what is

now only ancillary jurisdiction because of the still-intact

Appendix 47

jurisdictional fence created by § 2(by. See id. Therefore,

after lowa Utilities, § 2(b) still serves as (1) a rule of statutory

construction [FN43] requiring the FCC to find unambiguous

Statutory authority applying to intrastate matters and (2) a

jurisdictionalbarrier restricting the agency from using its

plenary authority to assert ancillary jurisdiction by “taking

intrastate action solely because it further[s] an interstate

goal." See Iowa Utilities, 119 S.Ct. at 73] (citing Louisiana

PSC, 476 U.S. at 374, 106 S.Ct. 1890).

FN43. Accord Louisiana PSC, 476 US. at 376 n. 5,

106 S.Ct. 1890 ("[Section] 152(b) not Only imposes

jurisdictional limits on the power of a federal agency,

but also, by stating that nothing in the Act shall be

construed to extend FCC jurisdiction to intrastate

Service, provides its own rule of statutory

construction.")

The question is whether § 254 does indeed “apply” to

intrastate matters in a sufficiently "unambiguous" manner.

Without such a finding, Iowa Utilities flatly holds that the

FCC cannot use its plenary authority to assert ancillary

jurisdiction.

Unfortunately, Iowa Utilities provides little guidance for

resolving the question whether § 254 applies to intrastate

services. For the Supreme Court, "the question ... is not

Whether the Federal Government *424 has taken the

regulation of local telecommunications competition away

from the States. With regard to the matters addressed by the

1996 Act, it unquestionably has." Iowa Utilities, 119 S.Ct. at

730 n. 6. The Court did not further explain why it felt §§ 25]

and 252 "unquestionably" applied to intrastate matters.

The FCC bases its contention that § 254 plainly applies to

ee |

Appendix 48

intrastate as well as interstate matters on § 254(b)(3),(c), and

(j). According to the agency, § 254(b)(3) applies to intrastate

service by stating that "low income consumers ... should have

access to telecommunications and information services,

including interexchange services and advanced

telecommunications and information services."

The use of the word "including," fhe FCC argues, indicates

that the object of § 254 is to provide access to more than just

interexchange services. Furthermore, § 254(c) instructs the

agency to consider, in the process of establishing what

constitutes universal service, whether such services "have ...

been subscribed to by a substantial majority of residential

customers." Finally, § 254(j) specifically preserves the

Lifeline Assistance program, which has always provided

subsidies for both intrastate and interstate services.

We have already discussed our reluctance to rely on the

aspirational language of § 254(b). [FN44] Moreover, the

phrase "including interexchange carriers" cannot be said

unambiguously to mean that § 254 applies to local services,

and § 254(c)'s mention of a “majority of residential

customers” is far from straightforward. Neither is there

much guidance from § 254(j), which specifically protects the

Lifeline Assistance program from being affected by any other

part of § 254 but does not in any way clarify to what degree §

254 applies to intrastate universal service.

FN44. See supra part [.A.3.

Instead, there is substantial support in the statute for a dual

regulatory structure in the administration of the universal

service program. Section 254(d) specifically instructs

interstate carriers to contribute to the FCC's universal service

mechanisms, while § 254(f) instructs intrastate carriers to

Appendix 49

contribute to the states’ individual universal service

mechanisms. This section contains the only discussion of

intrastate universal service mechanisms and directs intrastate

carriers to report to the states rather than to the FCC.

In light of Iowa Utilities and Louisiana PSC, therefore, we

conclude that, "while it is, no doubt, possible to find some

support in the broad language of the section for [the FCC's]

position, we do not find the meaning of the section so

unambiguous or straightforward as to override the command

of § 152(b)." Louisiana PSC, 476 U.S. at 377, 106 S.Ct.

1890. Unlike §§ 251 and 252, which were solely concerned

with intrastate issues (i.e., interconnection of new entrants

into the local telephone market), § 254 applies to both

interstate and intrastate services. It does so, however, only to

the extent that-it gives exclusive authority over intrastate

contributions to the state commissions. We find it

incongruous to use this explicit limitation on FCC authority

as the hook to provide it with jurisdiction.

Therefore, the FCC exceeded its jurisdiction when it

imposed the "no disconnect" rule. Because there is no

express grant of statutory authority, a proper showing of

“impossibility,” or a persuasive explanation of how § 254

applies to intrastate service, we reverse, for want of agency

jurisdiction, those portions of the Order implementing the "no

disconnect" rule.

4. RECOVERY OF _ UNIVERSAL SERVICE

CONTRIBUTIONS.

a. REQUIRING INCUMBENTS TO RECOVER

CONTRIBUTIONS THROUGH ACCESS CHARGES.

[28] GTE and the FCC again wrangle over the meaning of

"explicit" in their *425 dispute regarding the rule requiring

Appendix 50

most ILEC's to recover their universal service contributions

through access charges. GTE contends that the rule violates

§ 254(e)'s command that any support for universal service be

"explicit," because recovering contributions through

increased access charges is a form of implicit subsidy.

GTE argues that the rule unfairly disadvantages ILEC's

because, unlike their potential new competitors, they cannot

recover their universal service contributions through explicit

charges on their end-users, but, instead, are required by the

FCC to increase their access charges on long-distance service

providers. Though they do not necessarily lose out in terms

of amounts recovered, GTE fears that this recovery method

will put them at a competitive disadvantage because, instead

of than seeing the costs of universal service on his bill as an

explicit surcharge, an ILEC consumer will pay for the costs

of universal service through higher rates.

The FCC advances a different understanding of "explicit."

"Regardless of how carriers recover their contributions, the

FCC's universal service system ‘satisfies the statutory

requirement that support be explicit’ by requiring each.carrier

to contribute a specific percentage of its end user revenues"

(quoting Order J 854). As long as carriers know exactly how

much they are contributing to the support mechanisms, the

subsidies are explicit.

The statute provides little guidance on whether "explicit"

means “explicit to the consumer" (as urged by GTE) or

“explicit to the carrier" (as urged by the FCC). The statute

does state, how ever, that all universal service support should

be "explicit." We read "explicit" to mean the opposite of

"implicit." See § 254(e).

By forcing GTE to recover its universal service contributions

Appendix 51

from its access charges, the FCC's interpretation maintains an

implicit subsidy for ILEC’s such as GTE. In fact, requiring

carriers to recover their contributions from access charges on

interstate calls shifts the costs of intrastate universal service

to the interstate jurisdiction. These are precisely the sorts of

implicit subsidies currently used by the FCC in its DAM

weighting program. See Order ¥ 212 (discussing rules that

permit small LEC's to recover costs for intrastate services

from interstate access charges).

We are convinced that the plain language of § 254(e) does

not permit the FCC to maintain any implicit subsidies for

universal service support. Therefore, we will not afford the

FCC any Chevron step-two deference in light of this

unambiguous Congressional intent. Because the agency

continues to require implicit subsidies for ILEC's in violation

of a plain, direct statutory command, we reverse its decision

to require ILEC's to recover universal service contributions

from their interstate access charges.

b. REQUIRING INTERSTATE CARRIERS TO REDUCE

INTERSTATE ACCESS CHARGES BY THE

AMOUNT OF FEDERAL HIGH-COST SUPPORT THEY

RECEIVE UNDER THE NEW UNIVERSAL

SERVICE SYSTEM.

[29] The states contest an aspect of the Order's effect on

interstate access charges, arguing that the requirement that

carriers reduce their interstate access charges by the amount

of direct federal high-cost support they receive will leave

insufficient funds for intrastate universal service. The states

make two unconvincing plain-language arguments. _ First,

they point to § 254(b)(5)'s language about "specific,

predictable and sufficient" mechanisms to "preserve and

advance universal service." As we have observed, § 254(b)

Appendix 52

identifies a set of principles and does not lay out any specific

- commands for the FCC. Even § 254(e), which is framed as a

direct, statutory command, is ambiguous as to what

constitutes "sufficient" support. Therefore, we do not

consider the language an expression of Congress's

"unambiguous intent" allowing Chevron step-one *426

review, and we review its interpretation for reasonability

under Chevron step-two.

The states argue that § 254(e) does not permit the application

of federal universal service funds for the interstate

jurisdiction. In essence, they seek to preserve state universal

service support by reading the statute ‘to require all high-cost

support to remain intrastate. Though this might make

compelling policy, nothing in the plain language of § 254(e)

[FN45] unequivocally establishes the states’ right to all of the

federal universal support funds. The statutory language is at

best ambiguous as to Congress's intent, which, under

Chevron step-two, leaves it to the FCC's reasonable

interpretation.

FN45. "A carrier that receives such support shall use

ta as support only

for the provision, maintenance, and upgrading

of facilities and services for which the support

is intended."

The FCC has offered good reason to believe that its new

explicit support through direct subsidies will replace the

amounts lost through the reduction of access charges. See

Report to Congress { 230. To be sure, the states and

intervenor NASUCA [FN46] make a plausible argument that

ILEC's will receive less under the new plan than they did

through implicit subsidies. As we have determined,

however, because the FCC has offered reasonable

Appendix 53

explanations of why it thinks the funds will still be

"sufficient" to support high-cost areas, we defer to the

agency's judgment of what is "sufficient."

FN46. National Association of State Utility Consumer

Advocates.

Under the agency's new universal service plan, it is possible

that the states will receive less support for intrastate universal

service costs than they did under the old plan. While this

may seem unfair as a matter of policy, the states have failed

to show that the FCC's interpretation, which may possibly

result in a reduction of their level of support, is “arbitrary,

capricious, or manifestly contrary to the statute." Chevron,

467 U.S. at 844, 104 S.Ct. 2778. ,

5. CONTRIBUTIONS.

a. REQUIRING CMRS CARRIERS TO CONTRIBUTE TO

THE FEDERAL UNIVERSAL SERVICE

FUND. [FN47]

FN47. Intervenor American Cable Television

Association challenges the FCC for failing to meet the

requirements of the Regulatory Flexibility Act before

promulgating the Order. None of the petitioners

raises this argument, nor does the FCC respond to it,

and therefore we do not consider it. See discussion

of MCT's intervenor argument, infra part IIL.A.6.b.

Celpage Inc., a paging carrier, and intervenors representing a

number of wireless telecommunications companies (referred

to in general as commercial mobile radio service or "CMRS"

providers), challenge the FCC's decision to subject them to

the universal service support scheme. Celpage raises a

number of constitutional and statutory Challenges to the

Appendix 54

decision to require their contributions to the universal service

fund. Specifically, Celpage attacks the agency's universal

service contribution requirement as an unconstitutional tax, a

violation of equal protection, and an uncompensated taking.

Additionally, Celpage charges that the FCC's action violates §

254's plain language, is arbitrary and capricious, and does not

meet the agency's own principle of competitive neutrality.

i. CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGES.

(a). UNCONSTITUTIONAL TAX.

There are two ways in which the universal service

contribution requirement for paging carriers could constitute

an unconstitutional tax. First, the FCC's application of the

universal service requirement to paging carriers such as

Celpage might be an unconstitutional delegation of

Congress's exclusive taxing power under the Taxing Clause.

[FN48] Alternatively, because *427 the Act originated in the

Senate, [FN49] its requirement of universal service

contributions from paging carriers might violate the

Origination Clause's requirement that all "[b]ills for raising

[r]evenue originate in the House of Representatives" [FN50]

FN48. U.S. CONST., art. I, § 8, cl. 1 ("The

Congress shall have Power to lay and collect

Taxes....").

FN49. See Telecommunications Act of 1996, Pub.L.

No. 104-104, 110 Stat. 56 (1996) (enacting S. 652).

FNSO. U.S. CONST., art. I, § 7, cl. 1 ("All Bills for

Raising Revenue shall originate in the House of

Representatives.")

[30][31] Despite their similarities, the Taxing Clause and

Appendix 55

Origination Clause challenges to the universal service

contribution system represent separate lines of analysis.

[FN51] In its initial brief, however, Celpage raises only the

Origination Clause challenge and does not raise a Taxing

Clause claim until its reply brief. Therefore, we will not

consider it, [FN52] and we focus our efforts on Celpage's

claim that the universal service contribution requirement, as

applied to paging carriers, is a violation of the Origination

Clause. [FN53]

FN51. The Taxing Clause a

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.