Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Buckwalter v. County of Clark

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a Supreme Court, 0.8

(i) FILED

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

te aR a

BRIANT BUCKWALTER, JOHN R. REESE and TOWER ENTERPRISES,

Petitioners,

omens, ome

COUNTY OF CLARK, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THE STATE OF

NEVADA, on relation of LAS VEGAS CONVENTION AND VISITORS

AUTHORITY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LAURA WIGHTMAN FITZSIMMONS

Counsel of Record

704 South 9th Street

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 733-8877

Counsel for Petitioners

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process

Clause can permit a decision of a State Supreme Court to

stand when a justice of that Court had prejudged the sole

basis upon which a nine million dollar condemnation judg-

ment was reversed by advising informally members of the

legislature that the Supreme Court would “not have a prob-

lem” with a statutory amendment designed to “overrule” the

court’s prior judicial definition of fair market value in emi-

nent domain cases and thereafter authored an opinion holding,

as a matter of first impression in the court, that it was not a

violation of the separation of powers doctrine for the legis-

lature to re-define the judicial definition of fair market value

to the detriment of landowners in state eminent domain

actions.

2. Whether the nationwide system of justice governed by

the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due Process Clause can permit

a State Supreme Court to vacate a nine million dollar judg-

ment upon jury verdict in an eminent domain action when two

of the four members of the court, particularly the author of

the opinion, have manifested, »ublicly and repeatedly, expres-

sions of extreme bias against counsel who represent the

landowners on a contingent fee basis, including untruthful

accusations that counsel unlawfully supported their opponents

in hotly contested judicial races, had “stalked” the Justice

who authored the opinion, and had provided the press with

information revealing the author of the opinion to have been

under criminal investigation for obstruction of justice fol-

lowing police interceptions of conversations which he held

with targets of a drug investigation.

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties before the Nevada Supreme Court, whose judg-

ment is sought to be reviewed, were Briant Buckwalter, John

R. Reese, Tower Enterprises, a Nevada partnership comprised

of Briant Buckwalter, Ray Buckwalter and John R. Reese,

Clark County, Nevada, a political subdivision of the State of

Nevada and the Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority,

a political subdivision of the State of Nevada.

Originally, other parties who held trust deeds on the

property were named by the County as defendants in the

condemnation case. Those parties were California Federal

Savings and Loan Corporation, a California corporation,

profit sharing plan of Roy R. Valentine, D.D.S., K.W. Houn-

sell, K.W. Hounsell, Inc. a profit sharing trust, profit sharing

plan of Edgar F. Muncsh, D.D.S., Ralph Engh and Christine

Engh. Prior to trial all defendants holding trust deeds in the

property were dismissed.

Rule 29.1 Listing

California Federal Savings and Loan Corporation, a defen-

dant dismissed in the trial court and not a party on appeal,

became California Federal Bank in 1989 whose parent com-

pany was Cal Fed Bancorp, a publicly traded company which

sold to First Nationwide Bank in 1997. None of these cor-

porations was a party before the Court whose judgment is

sought to be reviewed.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PUES A IINGD FREES AED sock ccicvecscscevessecceecss

SEE MT SUC UMEDE (05-20 gh cd Zante Wy seers ous CES CERT CERT

tn Bam ie a6 55 0) Paes s% divs in ved ebadcnewsvess

Pcs SE TAGs EPEAT 5 sab 8 oda eve Ue cdeeedaan

os 8 SS EA ee nee eye oer

ee Sr ee ene oer Prey oer

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED.......

PRA IEE © WOE BERS GAR iirc ccna cewece’e dp sceacees

REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE.......

A.

The Determination Below was Made in

Violation of the Rights of the Petitioners

to an Impartial Tribunal Because the Justice

who Authored the Opinion had Prejudged

the Determining Issue and had an Interest

in the Outcome of the Case..................

Two of the Members of the Four Judge

Tribunal Below, Particularly the Author of

the Opinion, Harbored Extreme and

Repeatedly Articulated Prejudice Stemming

from an Extrajudicial Political Source

Against Counsel for Petitioners Which

Denied Petitioners Their Right to an

Adjudication Before an Unbiased Court.....

Eo tidak ice kuyovvduecoseesasViroredanes’

nN

10

APPENDIX

Opinion Below From Which Review Is Sought,

Rose, C.J., Young, J., Shearing, J.; with Maupin,

J., concurring, filed April 9, 1999................ la

Order Denying Petition For Rehearing,

Rose, C.J., Maupin, J., Shearing, J.; with Young,

J., concurring, filed October 1, 1999............. 15a

Opinion Denying Motion To Disqualify Justice Rose,

Young, J., Shearing, C.J., and Sullivan, D.J.;

with Springer, J., and Maupin, J., dissenting,

SEDGE RO Wa RUE boc bis dacccckuccnsaiastbades 20a

Order Denying Motion To Disqualify Justice Young,

Shearing, C.J., Rose, J., Maupin, J., filed

FORE As RIE ahh kas AA ca teed eetaaipearwenecuas 4la

Affidavit Of Richard Edward Flamm, dated

PAGE TP TOOT. 5 vincdvas ta dibiscaecirkchei ek 44a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

Bf ME EE SPOT POG PEER hae wee IN aa 10, 15

Ainsworth v. Combined Ins. Co. of America, 105

Nev. 237, 774 P.2d 1003 (1989) cert denied

Ma PO I odo a WG Rapa ORR oaks 16

Board of Directors v. Morledge, 332 S.W. 2d 822,

BAF Sa Osa Ss des Paeh bck vole eo cdncecnk 13

City of Elko v. Zillich, 100 Nev. 366, 370, 683

FMS UE MO os cvhocagnceck ce ery Ca 3

City of Las Vegas v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 632, 940

PM DAT CASPER ik caha tec decke cele 8, 16

City of Las Vegas v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 644, 940 P.2d

BLS p23 NR Do iy Whe Detain are 8, 16, 17

Ceounty of Clark v. Buckwalter, 115 Nev. ___, 974

Wo TAR NOUOR Foi xi benuek cob catibacd ce

Del Papa v. Board of Regents, 114 Nev. 388, 956

Wie FAURE Sock cci dese ecko arith 17

Hogan v. Warden, 112 Nev. 553, 916 P.2d 805 (1996)

cert denied 519 U.S. 944 (1996).................. 16

In Re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136 (1955) ........ 9,10, 14

Liteky v. United States, 510 U.S. 540 (1994) .......... 19

Martin v. Beck, 112 Nev. 595, 915 P.2d 898 (1996) ... 16

Matter of Dunleavy, 104 Nev. 784, 769 P.2d 1271

CS WON caid sh axadavieicyar caeleccekeik shone 16

Milchem Inc. v. District Court, 84 Nev. 541, 445

Pee BOG CA ek. dbkbeecas¥edikaeeidinnriicas 13

Monogahela Navigation Co. v. United States, 148

Ce SEM CRE Fob 40k ceniees ceehdeusircisis sues 4

Nevius v. Warden, 114 Nev. 664, 960 P.2d 805 (1998)

cert denied 119 S.Ct. 878, 142 L.Ed 778

C1999) 6 icciieivedsic NEA een ee tis 16,17

O’Brien v. State Bar of Nevada, 114 Nev. 71, 952

Pd OS2 (AO iis dooi nko hhtns eins en es 17, 18

People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (PETA)

v. Berosini, 111 Nev. 431, 894 P.2d 337

CSUDD) vics cbunsh inaakenrersi eee aan 15, 16, 17, 19

Preston v. Rappold, 178 N.E. 2d 787 (Oh. 1961)...... 13

Seaboard Air Line Ry. Co. v. United States, 261

CF B.. FOP CRD ik kane ckcces checscesive tomas 12

Snyder v. Viani, 112 Nev. 568, 916 P.2d 170 (1996)

cert denied 519 U.S. 963 (1996).................. 16

State Dept of Transp. v. Barsy, 113 Nev. 709, 941

P28 SOP CIS B I is kocbshvicatcvuc een 16

State of Nevada v. Campbell, 80 Nev. 23,32, 388

P26 TSS, TH 1° Fae ee kicks ¢ednkgsdkid ceaiteens 13

Taylor v. Hayes, 418 U.S. 488 (1974).................. 18

Tumey v. State of Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 532 (1927)..... 9

Ungar v. Sarafite, 376 U.S. 575 (1964)................ 19

Valladares v. Second Judicial Dist. Ct., 112 Nev.

79, FEO PZE Bre air ccc kccbinknec chakesaSeuas 16

Virginia & Truckee R.R. Co. v. Henry, 8 Nev. 165,

Bec gt ts 2, FARA nr® Sey mney hare ah gy ae eres 13

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57, 60

CEP Cad ctv chves crsar shin cieksk ios ine aR 11

Wheeler v. State Dep’t of Transportation, 105 Nev.

457, 238, 773 B28 728 (ISOM) oven 6 3; 2

Whitacre Inv. Co. v. State Dept. of Transportation,

113 Nev. 1101, 946 P.2d 191 (1997).............. ‘7

Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35, 47 (1975) ............ 14,18

Constitutional Provisions, Statutes and Rules

Pe aA nk diva Lo died Bhcer cok iak ohou sadiknve 2

es LAR erg pep Aab TS ap fk HER 2 ata aa ree 5,8

PRN UMEID: 66505 Searwse va ak de bc 0hneh es vwUN ded ce 17

POE PN 650 bond 555.5 505 v3 iis be oe ch is bai cbanhciccess 14

PURO MAE ak bshs fi wdc 5 6054 vad ca bsSRk Mews da tke cs 14

ee haem eel Arg PRE Pe Bah SI gtr Aine ety ral a SI De 12

RS May I ID og do bo ire ds s Geto e ds hadcacedi cons 10

OF am MS GU as SOR Soy, a eae ke passim

Sa 5

Other Authorities

Ayres and Bulow, The Donation Booth: Mandating

Donor Anonymity to Disrupt the Market for

Political Influence, 50 Stan. L. Rev. 653 (1998) . 9

Vill

PAGE

Banner, Disqualifying Elected Judges from Cases

Involving Campaign Contributions, 40 Stan.

Fg Mahe MN ERIE 62s cb vd oho hank Rend kee baruen es 9

Flamm. Richard E., Judicial Disqualification:

Recusal and Disqualification of Judges, 1996... 7,8

Goldwater, Disqualification cf Justices of the

Supreme Court of Nevada, 6 Apr. Nevada

eo ee BES. Rene Ne eee ARE Cerone Pape erly 16

Levien and Fatka, Cleaning up Judicial Elections:

Examining the First Amendment Limitations

on Judicial Campaign Regulation, 2 Mich L.

re, ee Ae eee sd ey per yeeiye rpm 9

Note, Attorney Contributions to Judicial Campaigns,

20 otetes &: ROS BE (Ae av cocenkekike dances 9

Note, Judicial Elections Have No Winners, 20

Sesto 1. RAV SOF CAG) ovis ks nkcsaikccviavesses 9

Note, Popular Justice: State Judicial Elections and

Procedural Due Process, 31 Harv. C.R.C.L. L.

Raw. SEL CRIS) oo kien eisai hess 9

Note, Safeguarding the Litigant’s Constitutional

Right to a Fair and Impartial Forum: a Due

Process Approach to Improprieties Arising

from Campaign Contributions from Lawyers,

BG Riek: 4... OV. Sas CUO csccias scree 10

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1999

No. 99-

<< <p

BRIANT BUCKWALTER, JOHN R. REESE

and TOWER ENTERPRISES,

Petitioners,

a |

COUNTY OF CLARK, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THE

STATE OF NEVADA, on relation of LAS VEGAS CONVENTION

AND VISITORS AUTHORITY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA

o> >

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners Briant Buckwalter, John Reese and Tower

Enterprises respectfully petition for a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment of the Nevada Supreme Court in this

case.

I. OPINIONS BELOW

The Nevada Supreme Court’s order denying the motion to

disqualify Justice Young is unpublished. Appendix (App.)

4la. The Nevada Supreme Court’s decision denying the

motion to disqualify Justice Rose is reported as Whitacre Inv.

Co. v. State Dept. of Transportation, 113 Nev. 1101, 946 P.2d

191 (1997). App. 21a. The opinion of the Nevada Supreme

Court reversing the judgment upon jury verdict in favor of

petitioners is reported as County of Clark v. Buckwalter, 115

Nev. , 974 P.2d 1162 (1999). App. la. The order of the

Nevada Supreme Court denying the petition for rehearing is

unpublished. App. 15a.

II. JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257. The Nevada Supreme Court filed its initial opinion on

April 9, 1999. App. la. The order denying the timely filed

petition for rehearing was entered on October 1, 1999.

App.I5a.

Ili. CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion provides, in pertinent part:

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall

abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of

the United States; nor shall any State deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law.

U.S. Const. am. XIV.

IV. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Las Vegas Convention and Visitors Authority, through

Clark County, Nevada, filed a complaint in eminent domain to

take extremely valuable land owned by petitioners for expan-

sion of the Las Vegas Convention Center. After a trial before

a jury, a judgment was entered requiring the County to pay

petitioners nine million dollars for the property taken from

them. The judgment was paid to the petitioners and part of the

judgment proceeds were received by counsel for the peti-

tioners pursuant to a contingent fee contract.

The County appealed. The primary contention on appeal

was a Challenge to a determination made by the trial judge,

upon separation of powers grounds, to instruct the jury that

the fair market value of the property for which petitioners

were entitled to compensation was the “highest price” for

which the property would sell in an open market transaction.

The instruction given by the trial court was taken directly

from prior decisions by the Nevada Supreme Court in City of

Elko v. Zillich, 100 Nev. 366, 370, 683 P.2d 5 (1984)

and Wheeler v. State Dep't of Transportation, 105 Nev. eit

218, 773 P.2d 728 (1989) (the definition of ‘highest price’ “is

the standard to be used in Nevada and every appraiser testi-

fying in these cases should use this standard in valuing real

property”).

After the court decided Wheeler, various government agen-

cies supported a bill in the state legislature to modify the def-

inition of fair market value by “reversing” the decision of the

Nevada Supreme Court in Wheeler, supra. Under the bill.

landowners would no longer be entitled to compensation for

their property at the judicially defined “highest” fair market

value, but would instead be entitled to compensation at the

“most probable” market value. The condemnors who testified

in favor of the bill believed the legislative modification of the

fair market definition would save the government acquisition

costs in the condemnation of private property.

In the course of the hearings on the bill, members of the

Senate Judiciary Committee expressed concern as to whether

it was a proper function of the legislature to “diminish the

constitutional meaning of ‘just compensation’ which had been

defined by the Nevada Supreme Court over the years.” In

On page 385 of the record on appeal before the Nevada Supreme

Court, which contains the minutes of A.B. 80 before the Senate Judiciary

Committee on April 23, 1993, the following is found:

(footnote continued)

response two members of the committee stated they had con-

ferred with Chief Justice Rose on that point, and Chief Justice

Rose had informed them that the Nevada Supreme Court “did

not have a problem” with the legislature changing the court’s

definition of fair market value. Chief Justice Rose “assured”

the senators informally that they should “feel free” to change

the judicial definition of fair market value if they believed

the change would result in “a better definition in the opinion

of the legislature.” After the assurances of Chief Justice Rose

were communicated by the two individual senators to the

whole committee, concerns expressed earlier about the sep-

aration of powers issue were muted and the bill passed.

Prior to trial, the petitioners filed a motion requesting the

trial judge to employ the judicial, rather than the iegislative

definition of fair market value. The petitioners argued that the

determination of compensation in condemnation proceedings

is a judicial, not a legislative function. The landowners relied

upon Monogahela Navigation Co. v. United States, 148 U.S.

312 (1893), in which this Court held that under the Consti-

tution, the determination of the rules and measure by which

Senator James advised “just compensation” has been defined

by the Courts over the years. He was concerned that a change

from “highest price” to “most probable price” would diminish

the meaning of “just compensation.” Senator James quoted from

Mr. Gezelin’s memoranda,, a passage taken from an 1800s Nevada

Supreme Court case: No legislature can diminish by one jot

the rotund expression of the constitution of just compensation.

Senator Adler stated he had conferred with Chief Justice Rose

regarding this question, and that Justice Rose stated the Supreme

Court does not have a problem with adding or changing the defi-

nition. The Court likes to keep their opinions intact, but the justices

stated the legislature should feel free to implement something

believed to be better. Senator Adler further advised the court was

not adverse to changing or adding to the definition of market value,

as long as it was a better definition in the opinion of the legislature.

Senator Smith advised that Chief Justice Rose had similarly assured

him.

compeusation for property taken by government is made does

not rest with the public which takes the property through the

legislature, but with the judiciary. Clark County’s opposition

to the landowners’ request referred to the assurances provided

by Chief Justice Rose to the legislature on this point and

requested the trial judge “show deference to the Nevada State

Legislature as did Chief Justice Rose.” Nonetheless, the trial

judge determined the judicial definition of fair market value

would apply to the proceedings. Accordingly, appraisers for

both sides testified using the “highest price” standard and the

jury instruction defined “fair market value” as it had been

defined judicially by the Nevada Supreme Court.

The jury returned a verdict of nine million dollars. The

landowners were paid by the County, and in turn paid their

counsel pursuant to a contingent fee agreement. The County

appealed the judgment to the Nevada Supreme Court, pro-

viding the court with its first opportunity to decide formally

whether the legislative definition of fair market value would

supercede the court's own definition. At the initial stages of

the appeal, and in compliance with the applicable rule con-

cerning motions to disqualify justices of the supreme court,

NRAP 35, the landowners filed separate motions to disqual-

ify Justice Rose? and Justice Young. Both motions were pred-

icated expressly upon the guarantee of due process contained

in the Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion.

Petitioners sought to disqualify Justice Rose from partici-

pating in the appeal because he had prejudged the main issue

on appeal by assuring members of the legislature that the

court would “not have a problem” if the legislature changed

the definition of fair market value and advised the legislature

that its members should “feel free” to come up with a defi-

nition they felt was “better.”

‘ Court members rotate terms as Chief Justice. Nev. Const. art. VI

§ 3. Justice Rose served as Chief Justice from January, 1992 to Jan-

uary,1994 and has served as Chief Justice since January of this year.

The disqualification of Justice Rose was also sought

because he held a strong personal bias against counsel for the

landowners’. The record below contains many public expres-

sions which manifest this bias, including accusations made by

Justice Rose to the press that counsel for the petitioners was

part of an “orchestrated effort” to “soften him up for his re-

election” by providing to the press information that Las Vegas

police had intercepted conversations between Justice Rose

and third parties involved in drug offenses. The following

year, Justice Rose told the press he had “a fear of being

stalked the rest of his life” by three people, including coun-

sel for the petitioners.

Following his re-election in a very difficult and expensive

campaign in which his ownership of a bar and casino became

an issue, Justice Rose accused counsel for the petitioners of

having disclosed a letter written by the manager his bar solic-

iting campaign contributions from other bar owners.‘

Clark County did not file an opposition to petitioners’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose. Justice Rose filed a 38

page opposition, including an affidavit in which Justice Rose

set forth information he had received from undisclosed

sources in support of his public accusations against counsel.

The opposition by Justice Rose contained a detailed account

of various acts which he believed counsel for petitioners had

committed against him politically. Justice Rose complained,

in detail, about counsel’s support for his opponent in his

recent bid for re-election and described counsel’s significant

3

Counsel of record in this Court represented petitioners at trial

and on appeal. Kermitt Waters was co-counsel in the state court pro-

ceedings. Both counsel received substantial fees from the judgment

which was vacated by Chief Justice Rose under a contingent fee contract

with petitioners. This fee arrangement was a matter of record in the state

proceedings.

4

Each of these accusations by Justice Rose against counsel, and

many others, are contained in press accounts, press releases and other

written statements by Justice Rose which were attached to petitioners’

motion to disqualify him.

eee ee AS ee ee

Pe ee eee ee, ee eee ae

financial support for the opponent of Justice Young in a later

election as being part of a larger effort by political foes of

both Justice Young and Justice Rose to unseat them.

Thereafter, Justice Rose filed a supplemental opposition to

the motion to disqualify him, in which he referred to himself

and counsel for petitioners as the “real parties in interest”. In

response, counsel lodged with the court a reply which included

an affidavit supporting the disqualification of Justice Rose

from Richard E. Flamm, an expert on judicial ethics who

authored Judicial Disqualification: Recusal and Disqualifi-

cation of Judges, 1996. App. 44a.

By separate motion, the petitioners sought the disqualifi-

cation of Justice Young from the consideration of their appeal

because counsel of record for petitioners in this Court, as well

as her co-counsel in petitioners’ the state court proceedings,

had provided substantial campaign contributions to his oppo-

nent in his 1996 re-election campaign. The motion set forth

that during an election function, a supporter of Justice Young

asked his opponent whether, if he were elected, he would

disqualify himself from this case on appeal because of the

contributions he received from counsel for these petitioners.

Justice Young followed up on the question by commenting

that it “appeared” that counsel below had exceeded the legal

limit on campaign contributions to his opponent. Clark County

did not oppose the motion to disqualify Justice Young, and

Justice Young filed no response.

In an unpublished order, three justices, including Justice

Rose, denied petitioners’ motion to disqualify Justice Young.

App. 42a. In a published opinion, authored by Justice Young,

with dissents by two justices, the court denied petitioners’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose. App. 21a. Whitacre Inv.

Co. v. State Dept. of Transportation, 113 Nev. 1101, 946 P.2d

191 (1997)°. The court thereafter reversed the judgment in

Petitioners’ reply to Justice Rose’s supplemental response to the

motion to disqualify was lodged with the court, but found by the court to

IEEE EE

favor of petitioners in an opinion authored by Justice Rose.

App. la. County of Clark v. Buckwalter, 115 Nev. ___, 974

P.2d 1162 (1999).

V. REASONS WHY THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE

Petitioners recognize that the facts of this case and the

effects of political contributions and other unfortunate com-

ponents of state judicial elections are unseemly both generally

be procedurally improper under NRAP 35, and ordered returned unfiled.

App. 23a-24a. As was noted in the dissent, petitioners sought to file their

reply after the court permitted Justice Rose to file his supplemental

response to the motion in which Justice Rose characterized counsel for

the petitioners as also being a “real party in interest” in the case. This

characterization was indeed accurate, because both petitioners and their

counsel had a substantial financial interest in the proceedings. App. 28a.

The dissent to the denial of the motion to disqualify Justice Rose relied

in part upon the contents of the reply which was lodged, but ordered

returned unfiled. That reply included an affidavit by Richard E. Flamm,

an expert on judicial ethics who authored the treatise Judicial Disqual-

ification: Recusal and Disqualification of Judges. Mr. Flamm noted that

the Court had relied upon parts of his book in denying motion to dis-

qualify Justices Rose and Young in an eminent domain case in which

counsel represented former United States Senator Hecht. City of Las

Vegas v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 632, 940 P.2d 127 (1997); City of Las Vegas v.

Hecht, 113 Nev. 644, 940 P.2d 134 (1977). Prior to writing his affidavit,

Mr. Flamm reviewed the motion, the opposition and supplement filed by

Justice Rose, and relevant Nevada cases. Based upon his review of the

specific documents filed in this case, Mr. Flamm concluded that Justice

Rose’s expressed animus towards counsel mandated his disqualification

from this case. App. 45a. One basis for this conclusion was the fact that

counsel had a substantial pecuniary interest in the outcome of the case

sufficient to implicate due process. App. 46a-47a. Another was that the

series of statements made by Justice Rose “show quite conclusively that

Justice Rose believes Ms. FitzSimmons was part of a conspiracy to

destroy his career.” App. 50a.

Mr. Flamm noted that in the Hecht case, counsel had sought an evi-

dentiary hearing to dispute allegations against her made by Justice Rose.

The court summarily denied the request and adopted assertions made by

Justice Rose, and contested by counsel, in denying the motion to dis-

qualify. App. 48a-49a.

FO eee ee eer

;

3

4

L

q

i

~

9

and particularly to the members of this Court. Yet this is an

area in which this Court’s intervention is uniquely appropri-

ate and its protections are necessary. In states such as Nevada

where all judges, including members of the State’s supreme

court, must seek and hold office in contested elections, it is

not surprising to find a reluctance on the part of the courts to

determine that judges are subject to disqualification because

of political relationships—either favorable or hostile—with

parties and counsel who appear before them. This Court is the

forum in which the nationwide guarantee of due process can

and should be invoked to remedy the problem and determine

the constitutional limitations defining circumstances evident

in state judicial politics which would “offer a possible temp-

tation to the average man as a judge. . . not to hold the bal-

ance nice, clear and true. . .” Tumey v. State of Ohio, 273

U.S. 510, 532 (1927).

This Court has stated “our System of justice has always

endeavored to prevent even the probability of unfairness”.

In Re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136 (1955). Yet none of its

opinions concerning the disqualification of judges under the

due process clause has considered the effects of hard fought

judicial campaigns, including campaign contributions and

support for unsuccessful judicial challengers, on litigant’s due

process rights to unbiased adjudicators in State courts.°®

The importance of this issue is demonstrated by the extent to

which commentators have increasingly drawn attention to the due process

concerns and apparent impropriety arising from monetary and political

Support given by lawyers to the campaigns of judges before whom they

appear. Ayres and Bulow, The Donation Booth: Mandating Donor

Anonymity to Disrupt the Market for Political Influence, 50 Stan. L. Rev.

653 (1998); Levien and Fatka, Cleaning up Judicial Elections: Exam-

ining the First Amendment Limitations on Judicial Campaign Regulation.

2 Mich L. & Pol’y Rev. 81 (1997); Note, Popular Justice: State Judicial

Elections and Procedural Due Process, 31 Harv. C.R.C.L. L. Rev. 187

(1996); Note, Attorney Contributions to Judicial Campaigns, 20 Hofstra

L. Rev. 217 (1991); Note, Judicial Elections Have No Winners, 20 Stet-

son L. Rev. 309 (1990); Banner, Disqualifying Elected Judges from Cases

Involving Campaign Contributions, 40 Stan. L. Rev. 449 (1988); Note,

10

This Court should grant a writ of certiorari to review the

decision of the Nevada Supreme Court on the issue of dis-

qualification because it presents an important question of fed-

eral law. This case provides a timely and fitting opportunity

for this Court to provide guidance to state courts in their

determinations of mounting challenges to the participation of

judges in proceedings in which their impartiality is objec-

tively suspect. The decision below was a product of a biased

tribunal and due process requires it to be vacated. Sup. Ct.

Rule 10(b,c).

A. The Determination Below was Made in Violation of

the Rights of the Petitioners to an Impartial Tribunai

Because the Justice who Authored the Opinion had

Prejudged the Determining Issue and had an Interest

in the Outcome of the Case.

This Court has recognized that the most basic protection of

due process is an impartial tribunal. Jn re Murchison, 349

U.S. 133, 136 (1955).

In Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813 (1986),

this Court vacated a civil judgment by the Alabama Supreme

Court because the justice who authored the court’s opin-

ion should have been disqualified from the case. This

Court began by noting most matters relating to judicial

disqualification do not rise to a constitutional level and are

best left to legislative discretion, and that general allegations

of judicial bias and prejudice will often be insufficient to

require disqualification on constitutional grounds. Due pro-

cess becomes implicated, and disqualification is then man-

dated, only when specific facts indicating bias are presented

“which would offer a possible temptation to the average. . .

judge to. . . lead him not to hold the balance nice, clear and

true.” Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813, 822

Safeguarding the Litigant’s Constitutional Right to a Fair and Impartial

Forum: a Due Process Approach to Improprieties Arising from Campaign

Contributions from Lawyers, 86 Mich. L. Rev. 382 (1987).

iceman iil

1]

(1986), quoting Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57,

60 (1972).

Justice Rose should have been disqualified from this case

because he clearly prejudged the dispositive issue before he

authored the opinion vacating petitioners’ judgment. In its

order denying the motion to disqualify, the majority quoted

from the minutes of the committee considering the legislative

re-definition of ‘fair market value’ in condemnation cases and

then from Justice Rose’s rendition of the events. According to

Justice Rose, he was called by several state legislators who

informed him the legislature would hold hearings to “see if a

better definition of ‘fair market value’ could be achieved.”

Justice Rose acknowledged informing the legislators that they

had the power to redefine the term, and he did not think any-

one would be offended. According to Justice Rose he “gave

no advice to the legislators and did not defer to them, other

than to acknowledge that they had the power to redefine ‘fair

market value.’ ” App. 25a.

In denying petitioners’ motion to disqualify Justice Rose,

the majority held that the conversations between Justice Rose

and the legislators did not constitute an advisory opinion

(prohibited by the state constitution) and did not indicate the

prejudgment of any issue in this case: “Justice Rose simply

indicated that the legislature had the power to redefine the

definition of ‘value’ and he did not think the court would be

offended.” App. 25a. Whether the legislature had the power

to act as Justice Rose had opined it could was the primary

issue on appeal. Nonetheless, Justice Rose was permitted to

Participate in the appeal below and author the opinion which

reversed petitioners’ judgment of nine million dollars. In that

opinion, Justice Rose held that:

The county argues that the district court committed

reversible error by giving the jury an erroneous instruc-

tion on the definition of fair market value. Specifically,

the county contends that jury instruction no 12 was erro-

neous because the “highest price” standard, which the

12

district court adopted from Wheeler v. State, Department

of Transp., 105 Nev. 217, 773 P.2d 728 (1989), had been

specifically disapproved by the legislature in 1993 when

it amended NRS 37.009. We agree. Moreover, to the

extent that NRS 37.009(6) contradicts Wheeler, we

explicitly overrule Wheeler on this issue.

In 1993, the legislature amended NRS 37.009 man-

dating that the “most probable price” standard be used to

define fair market value in condemnation actions. . . .

This amendment was intended to supersede this court's

decision in Wheeler and prohibit the use of the “highest

price” standard to define fair market value in condem-

nation actions. See id.

In the case at bar, the district court blatantly ignored

this legislative directive be adopting the “highest price”

definition in Wheeler because it found that the 1993

amendment to NRS 37.009 was an unconstitutional exer-

cise of the legislature’s authority. The district court erred

in making this finding.

NRS 37.009 is constitutional. App. S5a-6a.

Thus, the opinion which Justice Rose authored was con-

sistent with his earlier statements to the legislators acknowl-

edging their power to change the judicial standard under

which compensation to landowners had been set judicially.

Justice Rose’s opinion in both instances was not supported in

law.’ In any event, it is clear that prior to rendering his deci-

' The County admitted on appeal that “[i]t does indeed appear to

be the law that the determination of the amount of compensation to which

the landowner is entitled is exclusively a judicial function”. Appellant's

Reply Brief, page 7. This admission by the County was in direct conflict

with the opinion expressed by Justice Rose to the legislators as well as

his opinion in this case, but was necessary under the clear uniform body

of law holding the ascertainment of the amount of compensation is a judi-

cial function which cannot be abridged by the legislature. Seaboard Air

Line Ry. Co. v. United States, 261 U.S. 299 (1923). The amount of com-

pensation to which a landowner is entitled in a condemnation action had

been held by the Nevada Supreme Court, in all prior opinions, to be an

13

sion in this case Justice Rose was firmly committed to a posi-

tion on this issue. Having assured members of the legislature

that they should “feel free” to redefine “fair market value”

exclusively judicial function and one which “no legislature can diminish

by one jot”. State of Nevada v. Campbell, 80 Nev. 23,32, 388 P.2d 733,

737-738 (1964); Virginia & Truckee R.R. Co. v. Henry, 8 Nev. 165, 171-

172 (1873).

In Milchem Inc. V. District Court, 84 Nev. 541, 445 P.2d 148 (1968),

the court considered state statutes permitting the private condemnation

of unimproved land for mining purposes. The statutes provided for the

payment to the landowner of the value of the land, exclusive of the value

of the minerals. The court determined the act of the State legislature to

be unconstitutional. In so doing, the court relied upon Board of Directors

v. Morledge, 332 S.W. 2d 822, 829 (Ark.1960). There, the court held

invalid a legislative act which diminished the compensation to which

landowners are entitled in condemnation cases from the compensation

previously set by the judiciary.

Another court that cited Morledge, supra. was the Supreme Court of

Ohio. In Preston v. Rappold, 178 N.E. 2d 787 (Oh. 1961), that court con-

sidered a statute that required juries in condemnation actions to find and

ASSESS Separate verdicts upon each claim for compensation and damages.

The court declined to invalidate the statute because it was merely pro-

cedural in nature. In so doing the court stated:

It is universally conceded that the amount of compensation to be

paid an owner for the land which has been taken from him by exer-

cise of the power of eminent domain is a judicial question and can-

not be decided by the legislature.

While the legislature has been held to possess a limited right to

provide for certain criteria to be used in the determination of the

compensation, it has become settled that the ultimate power to

determine such question lies with the judiciary. 178 N.E. 2d 790.

The legislative history of the amendment confirms that the sole pur-

pose of the bill was to decrease the amount of just compensation awarded

to landowners in jury trials. In his opinion below, Justice Rose acknowl-

edged that motive and further acknowledged that petitioners and other

landowners will receive lesser compensation under the “most probable

price” definition. The result is then logically and legally inescapable. The

amendment of the definition of “fair market value” by the legislature did

not concern procedure or any other matter properly within the legislative

realm in condemnation cases. Instead, the sole purpose and effect of the

amendment went right to the core of the judicial function in condemna-

tion cases—the determination of the amount of just compensation.

14

and that the court “does not have a problem” with their doing

so, it would have been extremely difficult for Justice Rose to

not follow through with his assurances on behalf of the court

on this issue and hold as he did below. This Court has held

that the consideration of whether due process requires the

disqualification of a judge depends upon circumstances and

relationships between the judge and the facts of the case. /n

Re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955). There, this Court held if

a judge has a personal interest (including a non-pecuniary

interest) in the outcome of a case because he has previously

committed himself to a position, due process requires

disqualification.*

An analysis of the issue must consider each particular sit-

uation “under a realistic appraisal of psychological tendencies

and human weakness” to determine whether there is “such a

risk of actual bias or prejudgment” that the participation of

the adjudicator “must be forbidden if the guarantee of due

process is to be adequately implemented.” Withrow v. Larkin,

421 U.S.35, 47 (1975).

B. Two of the Members of the Four Judge Tribunal

Below, Particularly the Author of the Opinion, Har-

bored Extreme and Repeatedly Articulated Prejudice

Stemming from an Extrajudicial Political Source

Against Counsel for Petitioners Which Denied Peti-

tioners Their Right to an Adjudication Before an

Unbiased Court.

The Nevada Supreme Court’s denial of petitioners’ dis-

qualification motions, as well as all of its recent decisions on

disqualification issues, is in direct conflict with the principles

which underlie this Court’s decisions holding that due process

requires an impartial tribunal.

8

The salaries and pensions of the Justices of the Supreme Court

are determined by the legislature. NRS 2.050, NRS 2.060.

Ne eee te ec a et GEES Skate, Tee eh TT eee ee TOR eee Se ee ree

15

In only one case has the Nevada Supreme Court disquali-

fied a participant in one of its proceedings. In People for the

Ethical Treatment of Animals vy. Berosini, 111 Nev. 431, 894

P.2d 337 (1995), a judgment against an anime; rights orga-

nization was reversed on appeal. Following that decision the

respondent moved for reconsideration alleging that a district

court judge who sat on the appeal by designation and partic-

ipated in the decision should have been disqualified because

the judge sat on the advisory board of an animal foundation

devoted to pet care and sterilization.

The court granted reconsideration and disqualified the

judge from the case. The Court held that the Nevada Code of

Judicial Conduct provides substantive grounds for disquali-

fication. Significantly, the court also held that the test as to

whether a judge’s impartiality might reasonably be questioned

is an impartial one, and ignores the judge’s own view of his

impartiality. In determining whether a judge can objectively

be deemed impartial, “this court will exercise its independent

judgment of the undisputed facts.” P.E.T.A.. 11] Nev. at, 894

P.2d at 435-436. Under that standard, the Court held:

Nonetheless, we conclude that we must grant the

motion to disqualify Judge Lehman to avoid even the

appearance of impropriety and to promote public confi-

dence in the integrity of the judicial process. We con-

clude that a reasonable person, knowing all the facts,

would harbor reasonable doubts about Judge Lehman’s

impartiality. . .

Having concluded we must grant the motion to dis-

qualify Judge Lehman, we further conclude that we must

grant rehearing and withdraw our prior opinion in this

matter. Although Judge Lehman’s vote in this case could

be considered mere surplusage because three other jus-

tices of this court signed the opinion, we conclude that

the role that collegiality plays in appellate decisions

mandates full reconsideration of this matter. See Aetna

Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813. 829-31, 831-

16

33 (1986) (Brennan, J., concurring, and Blackmun and

Marshall, JJ. concurring) Further it would be inconsis-

tent with the goals of the NCJC to require certain stan-

dards of behavior from the judiciary in the interest of

avoiding the appearance of impropriety but then allow a

judge’s ruling to stand when those standards have been

violated.

P.E.T.A., 111 Nev. at 437, 894 P.2d at 438.

In one isolated instance the court adopted the objective

standard of review and disqualified a judge because of his

non-judicial membership in a charity which was sympathetic

to domestic animals to avoid the appearance of impropriety

and to promote public confidence in the judiciary. P.E.T.A.,

supra. Otherwise the court has consistently failed to protect

the rights of litigants—both civil and criminal—to an impar-

tial tribunal. The court has refused in all instances to dis-

qualify judges either because they are politically beholden to

a party or lawyer or because they believe a party or lawyer to

be antagonistic to their political careers.°

In each case in which litigants before the Nevada Supreme Court

have claimed bias from judicial election activity, the court has refused

disqualification. Nevius v. Warden, 114 Nev. 664, 960 P.2d 805 (1998)

cert denied 119 S.Ct. 878, 142 L.Ed 778 (1999); State Dept of Transp. v.

Barsy, 113 Nev. 709, 941 P.2d 969 (1997); City of Las Vegas v. Hecht,

113 Nev. 632, 940 P.2d 127 (1997); City of Las Vegas v. Hecht, 113 Nev.

644, 940 P.2d 134 (1997); Hogan v. Warden, 112 Nev. 553, 916 P.2d 805

(1996) cert denied 519 U.S. 944 (1996) (O’Connor and Ginsburg JJ., dis-

senting); Martin v. Beck, 112 Nev. 595, 915 P.2d 898 (1996); Snyder v.

Viani, 112 Nev. 568, 916 P.2d 170 (1996) cert denied 519 U.S. 963

(1996); Valladares v. Second Judicial Dist. Ct., 112 Nev. 79, 910 P.2d 256

(1996); Ainsworth v. Combined Ins. Co. of America, 105 Nev. 237, 774

P.2d 1003 (1989) cert denied 493 U.S. 958 (1989); Matter of Dunleavy,

104 Nev. 784, 769 P.2d 1271 (1988). The lengths to which the Nevada

Supreme Court has gone in denying disqualification of its members were

described by a Nevada federal bankruptcy judge in an article in the

state’s bar journal. Goldwater, Disqualification of Justices of the Supreme

Court of Nevada, 6 Apr. Nevada Lawyer 26 (1998).

17

In denying petitioners motion to disqualify Justice Rose,

the majority ignored its holding in P.-E.T.A., supra. Rather

than employing an objective standard on undisputed facts, the

court adopted Justice Rose’s allegations and rejected those of

counsel.'® The court did so by simply adopting its holding in

its prior decision in City of Las Vegas v. Hecht, 113 Nev 644,

940 P.2d 134 (1997), in which the court’s statement of facts

adopted many of Justice Rose’s allegations against counsel

which she had denied and upon which she had unsuccessfully

sought an evidentiary hearing. App. 22a. In petitioners’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose, counsel again unsuccess-

fully asserted a due Process entitlement to a hearing before

unchallenged justices, as provided by state statute. NRS

1.225(4).

It is clear in this case that Justice Rose believed counsel for

the petitioners to be a political threat, both to himself and to

Justice Young. The record reveals the challenged justices’

preoccupation concerning the funding of both their own and

their opponent’s judicial campaigns. Repeated references to

counsel’s campaign contributions to Justice Young’s opponent

have been made by Justice Rose in reported cases in which

counsel was not a party. Nevius v. Warden, 114 Nev. 664, 960

P.2d 805 (1998), cert. denied 119 S. Ct. 878, 142 L.Ed 2d 778

(1999); Del Papa v. Board of Regents, 114 Ney. 388, 956 P.2d

770 (1998).

Justices Rose and Young focused upon counsel’s donations

to Justice Young’s Opponent in their dissent in O’Brien vy.

State Bar of Nevada, 114 Nev. 71, 952 P.2d 952 (1998).

There, an unsuccessful applicant for a State Bar appointment

to the Nevada Judicial Selection Commission petitioned the

court to vacate the appointment of counsel of record for the

petitioners here to the Commission. One of the members of

the Board of Governors of the State Bar was Justice Young’s

'0 It was clear to Justice Maupin, who dissented from the denial of

Petitioners’ motion to disqualify Justice Rose, “from [his] own review of

the record” that Justice Rose should be disqualified. App. 39a-4(a.

18

opponent to whom counsel had given the campaign contri-

butions which were the subject of the petitioners’ motion to

disqualify Justice Young from this case. The majority held

that the campaign contribution did not preclude the donee

from participating in a non-judicial appointment of counsel.

In their dissent, Justices Young and Rose stated that the donee

board member had received contributions from counsel for the

petitioners which were so large that they created an appear-

ance of impropriety. They concluded that Justice Young’s for-

mer opponent should have been disqualified from voting on

counsel's appointment. The justices noted that raising money

for judicial campaigns is an integral part of the election pro-

cess and judicial candidates “are thankful for all contributions

made by lawyers, large or small. However, there does come a

point when the amount of money contributed creates an

appearance of impropriety, especially when the judge is rul-

ing or voting on an issue critical to the lawyer contributor.”

O’Brien v. State Bar, 114 Nev 71, 79, 952 P.2d 952, 957-958

(1998).

Both Justices Rose and Young recognized that substantial

contributions to judicial campaigns can warrant disqualifi-

cation when the beneficiary of the contributions was an oppo-

nent of Justice Young’s and when the result would be

disadvantageous to counsel of record in this case. Yet in peti-

tioners case there was no acknowledgment by the majority

that substantial contributions to a judge’s opponent give rise

to a due process violation when the judge determines a case

in which the contributor to the opponent has a substantial

financial interest. The temptation for a judge to punish a per-

ceived political adversary is equally as probable as is the

temptation to reward a political supporter. '' Both give rise to

1 See; Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35, 47 (1975) (probability of

actual bias too high to be constitutionally permissible if adjudicator has

been target of personal criticism by party). In the context of contempt

proceedings, this Court has placed due process limitations upon a judge's

power to punish contemptuous behavior to which the adjudicator has

been subjected. Taylor v. Hayes, 418 U.S. 488 (1974); Mayberry v. Penn-

EEE

19

legitimate concerns of bias and prejudice which are objec-

tively predictable and both stem from an extra-judicial source.

Liteky v. United States, 510 U.S. 540 (1994) (in a statutory

disqualification case, most common basis for disqualification

for favorable or unfavorable Predisposition will be found if

source of opinion is extrajudicial source).

The common issue in both disqualification motions filed by

petitioners was that their counsel had provided substantial

assistance to each justice’s political adversaries. Petitioners’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose contained additional facts

establishing extreme animus of extrajudicial origin. In his

Opposition to the disqualification motion, Justice Rose

repeated allegations, including allegations from unrevealed

sources, against counsel which were untrue, and were adopted

by the court without a hearing. Having previously recognized

“the role that collegiality plays in appellate decisions”

P.E.T.A., 111 Nev. at 437, 894 P2q at 438, the majority

aligned itself with Justice Rose and against petitioners, both

in denying their motion to disqualify him and in joining in his

opinion vacating the substantial judgment they had obtained

from a jury. A consideration of the facts and circumstances

Sylvania, 400 U.S. 455 (1971); Ungar v. Sarafite, 376 U.S. 575 (1964).

To the extent that the contempt Cases may be relevant to the issue here.

it should be noted Justice Rose’s accusations against counsel to the press

and in his opposition to the motion to disqualify him in this case were in

large part directly refuted by counsel for the petitioners in her sworn affi-

davit. Rather than holding an evidentiary hearing to resolve the conflicts

between Justice Rose’s claims and those of counsel, the majority adopted

the assertions of Justice Rose. All events claimed by Justice Rose which

evidenced his belief he had been personally abused and criticized by

counsel were in a political, not a judicial, forum. This distinction was

acknowledged by Justice Rose in his affidavit below in which he stated

“I have always considered Laura FitzSimmons an excellent attorney and

advocate before the Nevada Supreme Court. Despite the fact that she has

actively sought to find and support people to defeat me and has engaged

in other personal attacks on me, I have never let her actions bias or prej-

udice my adjudication of the merits of any case in which she has par-

ticipated.”

20

present here, and the direct, personal involvement of Justice

Rose in the events below, mandates a conclusion that peti-

tioners’ rights to due process were violated. Jn Re Murchison,

supra.

VI. CONCLUSION

While this case may present a situation in which judicial

animus against perceived political enemies is extreme, the

effect of state judicial politics upon the due process rights of

parties who appear before judges is a growing problem the

nature of which inhibits the ability of state courts to respond

in a manner which “must satisfy the appearance of justice”.

Offut v. United States, 328 U.S. 11, 14 (1954). This Court

should grant the petition and take this opportunity to define

the constitutional standards applicable nationwide under

which litigants will be more likely to obtain fair decisions

from unbiased courts.

Respectfully submitted,

LAURA WIGHTMAN FITZSIMMONS

Counsel of Record

704 South 9th Street

Las Vegas, Nevada 89101

(702) 733-8877

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX

la

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA

No. 29477

April 9, 1999

Rehearing Denied Oct. 1, 1999

COUNTY OF CLARK, A Political Subdivision of the State of

Nevada, On Relation of Las Vegas Convention and Visitors

Authority,

Appellant,

—_vV.—

Briant BUCKWALTER; John R. Reese; California Federal Sav-

ings and Loan Association A California Corporation; Tower

Enterprises, A Partnership; Profit Sharing Plan of Roy R.

Valentine, D.D.S., A Professional Corporation; K.W. Houn-

sell; K.W. Hounsell, Inc., A Profit Sharing Trust; Profit

Sharing Plan of Edgar F. Muncsh, D.D.S., A Professional

Corporation; Ralph W. Engh and Christine J. Engh, Husband

and Wife,

Respondents.

In a condemnation action, the District Court, Clark County,

Don P. Chairez, J., entered judgment on jury’s award of

$9,090,000 to landowners. County appealed. The Supreme

Court, Rose, C.J., held that the trial court’s error was not

harmless in instructing jury to apply “highest price” standard

2a

rather than “most probable price” standard when determining

fair market value of condemned property.

Reversed and remanded for new trial.

Maupin, J., concurred in the result and filed an opinion.

DICKERSON, DICKERSON, CONSUL & POCKER

and LUKE PUSCHNIG, Las Vegas; Stewart

L. Bell, District Attorney, and Dale E.

Haley, Deputy District Attorney, Clark

County, for appellant.

LAW OFFICES OF KERMIT L. WATERS, AND

LAURA WIGHTMAN FITZSIMMONS, Las

Vegas, for respondents.

OPINION

ROSE, C.J.

Appellant Clark County (the “county”), acting on behalf of

the Las Vegas Convention Authority, filed a condemnation

action seeking two parcels of property located across from the

Las Vegas Convention Center (the “property”). The property

was owned by Briant Buckwalter, John R. Reese, and several

others (the “landowners’”’).

Prior to trial, the landowners filed a motion to define fair

market value as the “highest price” the property would bring

on the open market. The district court granted this motion,

instructing the jury to award the “highest price,” despite the

fact that the legislature in amending NRS 37.009 had defined

fair market value as the “most probable” price.

After an eight-day trial, a jury found that just compensation

for the property was $9,000,000.00. The county appeals, in

; Se gs tiem ana ata iat ads

PP ee Le gS aren: LE ee 2 a Oe PED ste le

3a

Part, because it alleges that the district court committed

reversible error by giving the jury the “highest price” instruc-

tion. We agree, and for the reasons set forth below, we reverse

the district court’s judgment and order and remand for a new

trial.

FACTS

In the early 1980's, the landowners formed a partnership

and purchased the property, which consisted of two parcels

near the Las Vegas Convention Center. Although the property

housed apartment buildings, it was zoned for commercial use,

to include retail, food and beverage, or gaming facilities.

In September 1993, the county adopted a resolution of

“need and necessity” announcing its intention to condemn the

property for expansion of the Las Vegas Convention Center.

After a period of unsuccessful negotiations concerning the

fair market value of the property, in April 1994, the county

filed a condemnation action against the landowners in Clark

County district court. Approximately one month later, the

county gained the right of immediate occupancy of the pron-

erty. After rejecting the landowners’ offer of judgment of

$4,850,000.00, the parties prepared for trial.

Prior to trial, the district court held several hearings on the

parties’ motions in limine, including the landowners’ motion

to define fair market value. In this motion, the landowners

argued that the fair market value of the property should be

defined as the “highest price” the property would bring on the

open market. The landowners further argued that the legis-

lature’s enactment of NRS 37.009, defining fair market value

as the “most probable price,” was unconstitutional as a vio-

lation of the separation of powers because the legislature had

no authority to deflate just compensation. In contrast, the

county argued that fair market value should be defined as the

“most probable price” the Property would bring on an open

market pursuant to NRS 37.009. The district court granted the

4a

landowners’ motion, adopting the “highest price” definition

of fair market value.

On April 8, 1996, the matter proceeded to trial. Each party

presented experts who testified on the market value of

the property. The landowners’ experts testified that the “high-

est price” of the property was between $9,017,000.00 and

$9,769,000.00, while the county’s expert testified that the

“most probable price” of the property was $4,560,000.000.

After an eight-day trial, the jury determined by special ver-

dict that the just compensation for the property was

$9,000,000.00 as of April 26, 1994, and $9,769,00.00 as of

April 8, 1996. The district court then concluded that April 26,

1994, was the appropriate valuation date and awarded the

landowners $9,000,000.00.

On May 13, 1996, the county filed a motion for a new trial.

In a post-trial hearing following the denial of the county’s

motion for a new trial, the district court stated that the “high-

est price” definition of fair market value was “the one legal

issue that we [the county] really ha[d] in arguing before. . .

the Nevada Supreme Court.” Thereafter, the county filed this

timely appeal.

DISCUSSION

The county argues that the district court committed

reversible error by giving the jury an erroneous instruction on

the definition of fair market value.' Specifically, the county

The county further argues that reversal is warranted because the

district court erroneously: (1) required testimony on two different val-

uation dates; (2) admitted into evidence the landowners’ “highest and

best use” of the property;(3) permitted the landowners to reopen their

case-in-chief; (4) excluded evidence regarding the landowners’ opinions

of the property’s value; (5) excluded evidence regarding the 1984 and

1988 purchase prices of the property; and (6) refused to allow the county

to present rebuttal evidence. Having reviewed the record and having had

the benefit of oral argument of counsel, we conclude that the county’s

arguments lack merit because although errors were committed by the dis-

trict court, these errors were harmless as they did not affect the sub-

stantial rights of the parties. See NRCP 61.

eae err ve ere ra

Sa

contends that jury instruction no. 122 was erroneous because

the “highest price” standard, which the district court adopted

from Wheeler v. State, Department of Transp., 105 Nev. 217,

773 P.2d 728 (1989), had been specifically disapproved by the

legislature in 1993 when it amended NRS 37.009. We agree.

Moreover, to the extent that NRS 37.009(6) contradicts

Wheeler, we explicitly overrule Wheeler on this issue.

In 1993, the legislature amended NRS 37.009 mandating

that the “most probable price” standard* be used to define

fair market value in condemnation actions. See NRS

37.009(6); Hearing on A.B. 80 Before the Assembly Comm.

on Judiciary, 67th Leg. (Nev., Mar. 29, 1993). This amend-

ment was intended to supersede this court’s decision in

Wheeler and prohibit the use of the “highest price” standard

to define fair market value in condemnation actions. See id.

In the case at bar, the district court blatantly ignored this

legislative directive by adopting the “highest price” definition

>

. The district court gave the following jury instruction defining

market value:

The fair market value of property is the highest price on the date

of valuation that would be agreed to by a seller who is willing to

sell, but who is under no Particular or urgent necessity for so

doing, and who is not obligated to sell, and a buyer who is

ready, willing, and able to buy, but who is under no particular

necessity for so doing, each dealing with the other with full

knowledge of all the uses and purposes for which the property

is reasonably adaptable and available.

(emphasis added).

. NRS 37.009(6) provides, in relevant part, that:

“Value” means the most probable price which a property would

bring in a competitive and open market under the conditions of

a fair sale, without the price being affected by undue stimulus.

whereby the sale is consummated on a specified date and the

litle to the property is passed from the seller to the buyer. ...

(emphasis added).

The “most probable price” standard was adopted from the fed-

eral definition of fair market value in condemnation actions. See 12

C.F.R. § 34.42 (1998).

6a

in Wheeler because it found that the 1993 amendment to NRS

37.009 was an unconstitutional exercise of the legislature’s

authority. The district court erred in making this finding.

NRS 37.009 is constitutional.

This court has held that the right to just compensation for

private property is a right guaranteed by the United States and

Nevada Constitutions that cannot be impaired by statute.

Alper v. Clark County, 93 Nev. 569, 571 P.2d 810 (1977).

Moreover, this court has held that the determination of just

compensation is exclusively a judicial function. Clark County

v. Alper, 100 Nev. 382, 394, 685 P.2d 943, 951 (1984). These

holdings, however, de not support the proposition that the

legislature lacks authority to make laws in the area of eminent

domain. Indeed, the legislature, as the law- making body of

the state of Nevada, has such authority provided it acts within

constitutional limits. See Galloway v. Truesdell, 83 Nev. 13,

422 P.2d 237 (1967). We see nothing unconstitutional in

requiring that landowners receive the “most probable price”

as just compensation for their land. Accordingly, we conclude

that NRS 37.009 is a constitutional exercise of the legisla-

ture’s authority, and that the district court erred in concluding

otherwise.

The district court’s error was not harmless.

The landowners argue the district court’s erroneous instruc-

tion was harmless error because the “highest price” as set

forth in Wheeler and the “most probable” price pursuant to

NRS 37.009 are synonymous. We disagree. We conclude that

these two terms have different meanings, and that the district

court committed reversible error by giving the “highest price”

instruction because it likely affected the jury’s verdict. See

Horvath v. Burt, 98 Nev. 186, 643 P.2d 1229 (1982) (reversal

is warranted where a different result might have been

obtained in the absence of the erroneous instruction).

First, there is a clear distinction in the plain meaning of the

terms “most probable” and “highest” price. “Probable” price

is defined as the price “likely to occur or be; that can reason-

ably but not certainly be expected.” Webster’s New World

Ta

Dictionary 1072 (3d ed.1988). The “highest” price is defined

as “greater in size, amount, degree, power or intensity etc.

than usual.” Id. at 636. These definitions are far from syn-

onymous. A hypothetical exemplifies this difference: one per-

SOn appraises a piece of land at $1000.00, while five others

value the land at $800.00. Based on these appraisals, the high-

est price of the land is not the same as the most probable price

because the highest appraisal is $200.00 more than the “most

probable” or likely appraisal value of $800.00. Thus, the plain

meaning of “most probable” and “highest” supports the

Proposition that these terms are different.

Second, even if this difference were somehow ambiguous,

this court has held that it will presume a substantial change in

the law when a statute is amended to change a definition

previously used. See Clark County v. State, Equal Rights

Comm’n, 107 Nev. 489, 491, 813 P.2d 1006, 1007 (1991),

With regard to NRS 37.009, the legislature amended this

Statute to change the definition of fair market value from

“highest price” to the “most probable price.” Because a

Statute was amended to change a definition previously used,

this court will presume a substantial change. Accordingly, the

“most probable” price is a substantia] change from the “high-

est price,” and thus the terms are not synonymous.

Third, in the case at bar, there was a manifest practical dif-

ference between the “most probable” price and “highest

price” because the incorporation of the “highest price” stan-

dard resulted in a vast $5,000,000.00 disparity in the value

of the property. The landowners’ experts testified that the

“highest price” of the land was between $9,017,000.00 and

$9,769,000.00, based in part on their evaluation of the “high-

est and best use” of the land as a hotel casino. In contrast, the

county’s expert testified that the “most probable price” of the

land was $4,560,000.00, based in part on his evaluation of the

land’s “most probable” use as a retail/restaurant facility.

Moreover, the county’s expert testified that it was not prob-

able that a casino would be built on the land based on the

small size of the parcel and an economic feasibility analysis

8a

that suggested the parcel was ill-suited for a casino. Using the

“highest price” instruction probably cost the taxpayers more

than $5,000,000.00 in this case because the landowners’ val-

uation was based on a casino being built on the property, a

scenario that was not probable. Thus, because of the

$5,000,000.00 disparity in valuation of the property resulting,

in part, from the use of the “highest price” instead of the

“most probable price” standard, we conclude that the terms

are not synonymous.

Fourth, the district court itself noted a manifest practical

difference between the “highest price” and “most probable

price” when it stated on the record that the “highest price”

jury instruction affected the jury’s verdict. Moreover, the dis-

trict court noted its own error when it stated on the record that

the county had a valid issue to argue before this court, and if

the district court had this case to try again, it would have

allowed the “most probable price” instruction in a split ver-

dict format. Thus, even the district court recognized a dis-

tinction between the two instructions and the fact that the

terms were not synonymous.

Finally, the legislative history of NRS 37.009 supports our

conclusion that the “highest price” and the “most probable

price” are not synonymous. The legislature’s rationale for

eradicating the use of the “highest price” standard was to

prevent misuse and abuse that occurred when:

attorneys for condemnees, and their specially selected

expert witnesses, . . . used the phrase ‘highest price’ to

encourage jurors to speculate in terms of the highest

price conceivable, however improbable. The resultant

findings of value [by speculating juries were] out of

touch with the existing market and reality.

Hearing on A.B. 80 Before the Assembly Comm. on Judi-

ciary, 67th Leg. at Ex. E (Nev., Jan. 29, 1993) (emphasis

added).

In the case at bar, the landowners misused and abused

the “highest price” instruction in their closing argument to

9a

justify the five million-dollar difference in value when they

argued:

Ladies and gentlemen, what I’d like to talk to you about,

if I could for a second, is when you look at Mr. Morse’s

appraisal [Clark County’s expert] you are going to find,

among other things, that he didn’t use this highest price

definition as the court has told you. And I told you in the

opening statement that it would be the highest price. He

used the most probable price.

Now, ladies and gentlemen, you don’t need to be a rocket

Scientist to know that those two words have a different

meaning, most probable and highest. And he says, “Oh,

they’re the same thing to me.” Do you believe that? I

don’t believe that.

It’s more probable that somebody would have $100 to

pay for a piece of property than it would be for some-

body for [sic] have $1,000.00. There would be more peo-

ple that could do that. And so that’s their way [Appellant

Clark County] of coming down to this $5 million. That’s

one of their ways of doing it by using the term “most

probable.”

(emphasis added). In other words, the landowners used the

distinction in meaning between the “highest price” and the

“most probable price” standard to justify the $5,000,000.00

difference in the appraisals of the land and advocate for the

higher price.° Ironically, the landowners’ closing argument

exemplifies the exact type of misuse and abuse of the Wheeler

instruction that the legislature was trying to eradicate by

changing the law.

’ We note that at the district court level the landowners argued

that the two standards, “highest price” and “most probable price,” were

very different. On appeal, however, the landowners argue that the two

Standards are synonymous. This court, however, has often said that a

party cannot change positions from that asserted before the district court.

See Powers v. Powers, 105 Nev. 514, 516, 779 P.2d 91, 92 (1989)

Tupper v. Kroc, 88 Nev. 146, 151, 494 P.2d 1275, 1278 (1972).

10a

In sum, we conclude that the county was entitled to have

the jury properly instructed on NRS 37.009—that the fair

market value of the property was the “most probable price.”

See Beattie v. Thomas, 99 Nev. 579, 583, 668 P.2d 268, 271

(1983) (a party is entitled to have the jury instructed on the

law applicable to each claim). Therefore, the district court

erred in giving the “highest price” instruction to the jury

because this instruction was contrary to NRS 37.009. The dis-

trict court’s error warrants reversal because the erroneous

instruction likely yielded a different, inflated verdict that

would likely not have been awarded had the most probable

price instruction been used.

Accordingly, we reverse the district court’s judgment and

order and remand this case for a new trial where the “most

probable price” instruction is given, as required by law.°

YOUNG and SHEARING, JJ., concur.

MAUPIN, J., concurring.

I concur in the majority’s result, albeit for alternate reasons.

Respondent’s contention that NRS 37.009 is unconstitu-

tional lacks merit. The state legislature is within its authority

to enact legislation and to amend or repeal its statutory law

unless the legislative action is specifically precluded by con-

stitutional limitations. Moreover, “statutes are to be construed

in favor of the legislative power.” Galloway v. Truesdell, 83

Nev. 13, 20, 422 P.2d 237, 242 (1967) (citing In the Matter of

Platz, 60 Nev. 296, 108 P.2d 858 (1940)). As the Nevada Con-

stitution does not preclude this legislation, the presumption of

legislative authority prevails. Here, the legislation simply

provides a reasonable definition of the scope of recovery in

* This matter was submitted for decision prior to expansion of the

court from five to seven justices on January 4, 1999; only those justices

remaining on the court who previously heard this matter participated in

the decision.

a ge ake ae a Rae SB ei

a ee a ee Te

lla

condemnation actions. Although it may be argued that the leg-

islature’s statement of public policy on these issues should be

revisited, that policy is rationally based for the purposes of

constitutional analysis. Any contention with this legislative

policy should be addressed to the legislature.

Thus, I agree with the majority that the trial court was

wrong in its conclusion that NRS 37.009 is unconstitutional.

I depart from the majority in its conclusion that NRS 37.009

effects a legislative repealer of Wheeler v. State, Department

of Transportation, 105 Nev. 2] 7, 773 P.2d 728 (1989).

Although the enactment of NRS 37.009 was intended to do

just that, the language chosen by the legislature does not

effect this purpose. The statute mimics the Wheeler holding,

only changing the term “highest price” to “most probable

price.” Contrary to the majority, I conclude that the terms are

synonymous.’ Thus, the jury should have been given two

Appellant’s own expert witness/appraiser testified that the value

of the property would be the same under either the “most probable price”

standard or the “highest price” standard. During trial, the following

exchange occurred between the County’s lawyer, Dale Haley (“Haley”),

and the County’s appraiser, Tim Morse (“Morse”’):

HALEY: Could you also give your definition of fair market

value. . .?

MORSE: Yes. Market value definition. . . . That is—it’s the

most probable price which a Property would bring in an open

and competitive market under all conditions to a fair sale with-

out the price being affected by undue stimulus whereby the sale

is consummated on a specific date and the title to the property

is passed from the seller to buyer under the following condi-

tions: That the buyer and seller are acting prudently and know!1-

edgeably, that the buyer and seller are typically motivated, that

the buyer and seller are wel] informed.

Also, that there’s a reasonable period of time to allow the prop-

erty for exposure to the open market, and that payment is made

in U.S. Dollars in cash. Or other precisely related terms similar

to cash, and that the sale price represented the normal consid-

eration for the property and there are no special or creative type

financing or other concessions that would be granted in the

price.

(footnote continued)

12a

instructions on fair market value, one containing the statutory

language, and a second defining most probable price as the

“highest price” on the date of valuation that would be agreed

to by a willing seller and a motivated buyer under normal

market conditions. Here, the instruction given by the trial

court would have, in my view, been appropriate if accompa-

nied by the statutory language.

I take this position because the industry, that is persons in

the business of appraising real estate, do not seem to regard

the terms “highest price” and “most probable price” as com-

prising anything other than a distinction without a difference.

See note 1. This was certainly the case with regard to the

appraiser’s testimony in Wheeler, and with regard to the

county’s appraiser below.

The problem at trial was created by the failure to instruct

on the statute and, later, the forensic approach taken during

closing argument with regard to the instruction’s definition of

fair market value by counsel for the landowners. Counsel did

argue that it would not take a “rocket scientist” to tell the

manifest difference between the terms used in the statute and

the terms used in the instruction. Given the trial court’s

incomplete definition of fair market value, counsel’s rhetoric

comparing that definition with the testimony of the county’s

expert was not improper. Had the jury been properly

instructed, the argument would have been in conflict with the

legal doctrine presented to the jury.

HALEY: Have you ever heard the term highest price used in

relation to fair market value definition? Have you ever heard of

that being used?

MORSE: Yes.

HALEY: Does it make any difference whether you use most

probable price or highest price in your analysis?

MORSE: No. It makes no differences in my opinion.

HALEY: Does the most probable price result in the highest

price?

MORSE: Yes, it does.

HALEY: That's how the market operates; is that correct?

MORSE: Yes, it does.

Sell ha tangcteinaielst See pcan eke ee acd Comms oe ct ce Ree oem

13a

Here, the landowners successfully fought for an instruction

defining fair market value that did not include the Statutory

language and then attempted to draw a distinction between

“highest price” and “most probable price.” This Strategy,

which is at odds with the views stated in this separate opin-

used the statutory language in forming his opinion, although

being of the further opinion that the two terms were synony-

mous.

The trial court’s adoption of the landowners’ position with

regard to fair market value enabled the landowners to empioy

the above Strategy. However, the “rocket Scientist” argument

improperly expanded upon the “highest price” instruction that

was given. Had the landowners’ closing argument been

premised on the assumption that the terms “highest” and

“most probable” were Synonymous, the failure to instruct on

the statute would arguably have been harmless error. Thus, it

was the instruction and the arguments made in connection

with the instruction that form the need for a second trial

below.

While counsel’s final argument demonstrates an attempt to

draw a distinction between the “highest price” and “most

probable price” in this context, the appraisal industry does not

draw such a distinction. If juries are instructed as I suggest,

and if jury arguments are kept consistent with the instructions,

just compensation to all Parties will be realized. For example,

on re-trial, the county will certainly be free to argue that the

most probable price for the Subject property based upon its

highest and best use should not include speculative casino

development.’

l4a

The trial court’s ruling on this issue, which facilitated the

tactical approach of counsel during closing argument, com-

pels reversal. See Horvath v. Burt, 98 Nev. 186, 643 P.2d

1229 (1982) (reversal is warranted where different result

might have been obtained in the absence of the erroneous

instruction).’

3

With regard to the other assignment of errors mentioned in note

1 of the majority opinion, I do have some individual comments. First,

under no circumstances should the jury have been required to find

two sets of damage figures based upon two different valuation dates.

This case went to trial within the two-year period provided under NRS

37.120. While the trial court clearly erred in this regard, this error was

harmless. Second, while exclusion of the evidence of the original pur-

chase price paid by the landowners may have been within the court’s dis-

cretion, this was certainly a close call under these circumstances. Its

probative value as to a current valuation would easily have been dealt

with on cross-examination of the experts. Third, the exclusion of the

landowners’ views on valuation stated in correspondence between

counsel was certainly proper because the letters were part and parcel of

settlement negotiations.

15a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA

No. 29477

Filed October 1, 1999

COUNTY OF CLARK, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THE

STATE OF NEVADA, ON RELATION OF LAS VEGAS CONVEN-

TION AND VISITORS AUTHORITY,

Appellant,

—vs.—

BRIANT BUCKWALTER: JOHN R. REESE; CALIFORNIA FED-

ERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION, A CALIFORNIA

CORPORATION: TOWER ENTERPRISES, A PARTNERSHIP:

PROFIT SHARING PLAN OF ROY R. VALENTINE, D.D.S.,

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION: K.W. HOUNSELL; K.W.

HOUNSELL, INC., A PROFIT SHARING TRUST: PROFIT

SHARING PLAN OF EDGAR F. MUNCSH, D.D.S., A PROFEs-

SIONAL CORPORATION; RALPH W. ENGH AND CHRISTINE J.

ENGH, HUSBAND AND WIFE,

Respondents.

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

We reject respondents’ contention that the Court enacted a

standard of compensation based upon “most probable” use. It

is perfectly permissible for any party to a condemnation

action to argue probability of use of the parcel being taken

through eminent domain. The jury was properly instructed in

l6a

that regard below and that the “highest and best” use must be

reasonable, probable, legal and financially feasible. However,

valuations must reflect “the most probable price” based upon

factors affecting market value including the taken parcel’s

“highest and best” use. Issues concerning highest and best use

and the most probable price are fact based and, thus, are to be

left for determination by a jury or a court sitting without a

jury.

In our opinion in this case, we did not intend to imply that

the landowner’s evidence at trial was insufficient as a matter

of law to support a valuation based upon casino development.

The use to which the real property can be put is relevant if it

addresses the factors set forth in the definition of “highest and

best use.” These evidentiary determinations should be made

by the district court,

The Petition is DENIED.

ROSE Py et

Rose

MAUPIN eet

Maupin

SHEARING Reet *

Shearing

cc: Hon. Mark R. Denton, District Judge

Clark County District Attorney

Dickerson, Dickerson, Consul & Pocker

Law Office of Kermitt L. Waters

Clark County Clerk

17a

YOUNG, J., concurring:

I agree that a rehearing of the appeal is not warranted. |

write separately, however, to comment upon petitioners’ fla-

grant disregard of NRAP 40.

NRAP 40(c)(1) provides that “[mJatters presented in the

briefs and oral arguments may not be reargued in the petition

for rehearing... .” Despite this explicit mandate, peti-

tioners raise numerous contentions in the petition for rehear-

ing that have already been briefed, Orally argued, and

carefully considered by this court.

Specifically, petitioners reargue the issues of whether the

legislature had authority to amend NRS 37.009 and whether

Chief Justice Rose should have been disqualified because

he had allegedly prejudged the key issue in this case. In

requesting that this court revisit issues already decided. peti-

tioners cause the expenditure of valuable and limited judicial

resources without justification. This waste of the taxpayers’

dollars is unacceptable. I refuse to sit idly by without com-

ment while petitioners violate NRAP 40 in such blatant dis-

regard of this court’s underlying policy of judicial economy.

NRAP 40(c)(1) further provides that rehearing is warranted

when this court has misapprehended a material issue of law or

fact. Petitioners ignore the materiality requirement set forth

in this subsection. The petition for rehearing is riddled with

bare-boned assertions that this court misapprehended law and

fact, without reference to how these misapprehensions are

material. With reckless accusations and an irresponsible

bandying about of disparaging terms, petitioners’ arguments

lack the substance necessary to establish their case.

This fact is revealed through several examples. First, peti-

tioners allege that one of their €xpert’s valuation of the land

was $8,265,895.00, rather than $9,000,000.00. Second, peti-

tioners imply that 12 C.ER. § 34.42 is not used in federal con-

demnation actions. Third, petitioners assert that this court’s

Citation to Galloway v. Truesdell, 83 Ney. 13, 422 P.2d 237

(1967), was “far too cavalier.”

18a

In alleging these misapprehensions of fact and law without

reference to their materiality, petitioners again disregard

NRAP 40(c). Moreover, these allegations of misapprehension

of facts and law are unfounded, as our review of the record

revealed expert testimony that the land’s value was over

$9,000,000.00, based in part on its use as a casino.

Likewise, petitioners’ intimation that 12 C.F.R. § 34.42 isa

federal lending statute not used in condemnation cases is false.

In point of fact, the majority of federal courts use the “most

probable” price standard in condemnation actions, as set forth

in 12 C.F.R. § 34.42. See Hearing on A.B. 80 Before the

Assembly Comm. on Judiciary, 67th Leg. (Nev., Mar. 29,

1993). Counsel for petitioners should be aware of this practice,

as she works extensively in the area of condemnation law.

Finally, our use of Galloway was not cavalier. it has not

been overruled and stands for the proposition for which it was

cited; to wit, that the legislature can make laws provided they

are constitutional.

Furthermore, it is improper to misrepresent relevant facts

or law to this court in a petition for rehearing, or any court

document for that matter, even if the misrepresentation is

inadvertent. I believe petitioners have made misrepresenta-

tions by distorting the record. The petition is replete with

such distortions. For example, petitioners deem Chief Justice

Rose a “consultant to the legislature” and accuses him of

“prejudg[ing] the main issue” when, in fact, this court has

already concluded to the contrary—that Chief Justice Rose

held no bias in this case. See Whitacre Inv. Co. v. State, Dep’t

Transp., 113 Nev. 1101, 946 P.2d 191 (1997).

Petitioners conclude by claiming that this court created “an

issue that was non-existent” by referencing whether the

casino use was probable. Petitioners cite the county’s brief in

support of this argument. Indeed, it is true that the county

argued in its brief that the land’s use was not in dispute. How-

ever, petitioners’ counsel conspicuously neglects to acknowl-

edge that she herself raised this “non-existent” issue in her

brief and orally argued that

19a

the hot issue at trial [was] whether or not this—And this

is a major point of contention—the property could have

been developed into a small casino. The State consis-

tently said 3.5 acres was too small.

In light of these remarks, it baffles this writer how petition-

ers’ counsel, with candor and a Straight face, could venture to

argue that Chief Justice Rose “mysteriously created an issue

that was non-existent.”

In sum, I note that it is improper to use a petition for

rehearing as a vehicle to personally attack the court or any of

its members. In bringing forth this petition, I believe peti-

tioners violated NRAP 40 at the taxpayers’ expense. I would

deny rehearing on this basis alone, and thus, I concur in this

court’s decision to deny rehearing.

YOUNG ak?

Young

OO

20a

SUPREME COURT OF NEVADA

Nos. 29401, 29477, 29549

October 1, 1997

WHITACRE INVESTMENT COMPANY,

a General Partnership,

Appellant,

—_—V—

The STATE of Nevada, on Relation of

Its DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondent.

COUNTY OF CLARK, a Political Subdivision of the State

of Nevada, on relation of LAS VEGAS CONVENTION AND

VISITORS AUTHORITY,

Appellant,

—_—_V—

Briant BUCKWALTER; John R. Reese; California Federal Sav-

ings and Loan Association, a California Corporation; Tower

Enterprises, a partnership; Profit Sharing Plan of Roy R.

Valentine, D.D.S., a professional corporation; K.W. Hounsell;

K.W. Hounsell, Inc., a Profit Sharing Trust; Profit Sharing

Plan of Edgar F. Muncsh, D.D.S., a professional corporation;

Ralph W. Engh and Christine J. Engh, husband and wife,

Respondents.

a + iste atte ne iia ” at

” o Caprte, “ a es a a nad i ta ew sh % is

PSII LP eT i St a ot a

2la

C.B.M., Ltp., A Nevada limited partnership,

Appellant,

—_—V—

The STATE of Nevada, on relation of

its DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondent.

In appeals of condemnation cases, party filed motions to

disqualify Supreme Court Justice. The Supreme Court, Young,

J., held that: (1) arguments and charges in serial documents

expanding on claim that Justice should be disqualified

because of alleged animus toward movants’ attorney were

procedurally improper and would not be entertained, and

(2) Justice’s conversations with state legislators concerning

Statutory definition of term “value” to be used in condemna-

tion cases did not constitute advisory opinion or prejudgment

of any issue so as to require his disqualification.

Motions to disqualify denied.

Springer, J., filed a dissenting opinion.

Maupin, J., filed a dissenting opinion.

LAW OFFICES OF KERMITT L. WATERS, Las

Vegas; Laura Wightman FitzSimmons, Las

Vegas, for Whitacre Investment Company,

Buckwalter, Reese, California Federal Sav-

ings and Loan Association, Tower Enter-

prises, Profit Sharing Plan of Valentine,

Hounsell, K.W. Hounsell, Inc., Profit Shar-

ing Plan of Munsch, Engh, and C.B.M..,

Ltd.

ee

22a

FRANKIE SUE DEL PAPA, Attorney General, and

John E. Lambert and Leslie A. Nielsen,

Deputy Attorneys General, Carson City,

for State of Nevada, Department of Trans-

portation.

STEWART L. BELL, District Attorney, and Dale E.

Haley, Deputy District Attorney, Clark

County; Dickerson, Dickerson, Consul &

Pocker and Luke Puschnig, Las Vegas, for

County of Clark, Las Vegas Convention

and Visitors Authority.

OPINION

YOUNG, Justice:

The issue of whether Justice Robert Rose is disqualified

because of animus toward Laura FitzSimmons, a party's attor-

ney, was presented and decided in the recent case of Las

Vegas Downtown Redev. Agency v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 644, 940

P.2d 134 (1997). Laura FitzSimmons is one of the attorneys

for appellant Whitacre Investment Company, respondents

Buckwalter, et al., and appellant C.B.M., Ltd. (collectively

“movants”), and they again assert that Justice Rose is dis-

qualified because of animus toward their attorney. We elect to

follow our holding in Hecht, and reject the motion to dis-

qualify based on animus toward movants’ attorney.

On July 17, 1997, movants filed identical motions in each

of these appeals seeking leave to file supplements in support

of their motions to disqualify Justice Rose. On August 22,

1997, the clerk of this court received, but did not file, iden-

tical supplementary documents entitled: “Real Party Laura

FitzSimmons’ Reply to Justice Rose’s Supplemental Response

to the Motion to Disqualify Him.” The additional arguments

and charges presented in these documents expand upon the

23a

claim that Justice Rose is disqualified because of animus

toward movants’ attorney.

NRAP 35(d) provides that a challenged justice may tender

a response in writing to a motion for disqualification. The

rule, however, does not permit the filing of a reply to the

response tendered by a challenged justice. To the contrary,

NRAP 35(d) specifically directs that “[sJerial motions or

charges, whether entitled as Separate challenges, or as sup-

plements, or entitled in any other way, must not be filed, and

will not be entertained.” (Emphasis added.) The rationale

behind NRAP 35(d) was stated in Ainsworth v. Combined Ins.

Co., 105 Nev. 237, 242-43 n. 2, 774 P.2d 1003, 1008 n. 2.

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 958, 110 S.Ct. 376, 107 L.Ed.2d 36]

(1989), where this court observed:

[SJound judicial policy underlies the absence of any pro-

visions in our rules permitting the filing of replies to

Oppositions to motions and petitions without express

leave of the court. See NRAP 27; NRAP 40. No litigant

has an unqualified right to inundate a court with motions,

supplements, errata, responses, exhibits and replies

belatedly asserting arguments that it previously failed to

raise. Nor do litigants have unfettered license to utilize

such methods to manipulate judicial proceedings and

unreasonably delay a final resolution of litigation.

We hold that the arguments and charges in the serial doc-

uments of July 17, 1997, and August 22, 1997, are procedu-

rally improper and “will not be entertained.” NRAP 35(d).

Moreover, we conclude that these documents constitute

belated and procedurally improper attempts: (1) to challenge

this court’s decision in Las Vegas Downtown Redev. Agency

v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 644, 940 P.2d 134 (1997); (2) to assert

arguments that movants Previously failed to raise: (3) to

abuse the appellate processes of this court; (4) to obfuscate

the issues; and (5) to delay the final resolution of these mat-

ters. This court simply cannot afford to further dissipate its

limited resources on these disqualification matters. Accord-

24a

ingly, we deny the motions of July 17, 1997, and we decline

to entertain the arguments in that document and the document

received by the clerk of this court on August 22, 1997. The

clerk of this court shall return the documents unfiled.

The second ground cited by the movants is that Justice

Rose should be disqualified because in 1993 he allegedly

gave an advisory opinion to legislators when they were con-

sidering an amendment to NRS 37.009, the section that

defines the term “value” to be used in eminent domain cases.

We consider that issue in this opinion.

FACTS

Movants assert that Justice Rose is disqualified from par-

ticipating in these condemnation cases because of conversa-

tions he had with two legislators during the 1993 legislative

session concerning the definition of the term “value” as con-

tained in NRS 37.009. This definition is used to determine the

compensation to be paid to the person or entities whose prop-

erty is taken through eminent domain proceedings. One state

senator indicated that he had talked to then Chief Justice Rose

about redefining the term “fair market value.”

Senator Adler stated he had conferred with Chief Justice

Rose regarding this question, and that Justice Rose stated

the Supreme Court does not have a problem with adding

to or changing the definition. The court likes to keep

their opinions intact, but the justices stated the legisla-

ture should feel free to implement something believed to

be better. Senator Adler further advised the court was not

adverse to changing or adding to the definition of mar-

ket value, as long as it was a better definition in the

opinion of the legislature.

Senator Smith advised that Chief Justice Rose had

similarly assured him.

25a

Justice Rose has explained these telephone conversations in

his response filed in Opposition to the motions to disqualify

him.

In the winter-spring of 1993, several State legislators

called to tell me that the Legislature would be holding

hearings to see if a better definition to the term “fair

market value” could be achieved. They hoped the Court

would not be offended since we had approved the defi-

nition in an opinion. I told the legislators that they had

the power to redefine the term, and I did not think any-

one would be offended. I recall no conversation of what

the new definition would be. | did state that the Court

may well be called upon to review the legal sufficiency

of any new definition. It appeared that the lawyer-

legislators who called were merely extending a courtesy

to the Court and its then Chief Justice. I gave no advice

to the legislators and did not defer to them, other than to

acknowledge that they had the power to redefine “ fair

market value.”

DISCUSSION

Movants allege that Justice Rose prejudged an issue before

the court and gave an advisory opinion concerning NRS

37.009, the definition of the term “value” to be used in con-

demnation cases. Even if we assume that NRS 37.009 plays a

role in these cases, we find nothing in the records to support

this allegation of disqualification made by movants. Justice

Rose simply acknowledged that the legislature had the power

to redefine the definition of “value,” and he did not think the

court would be offended. Justice Rose gave no indication

about what he thought the definition of “value” should be and

also stated that the court may well be called upon to review

the legal sufficiency of any new definition. While advisory

opinions by this court are prohibited by the Nevada Consti-

tution, this was neither an advisory opinion nor the prejudg-

26a

ing of any issue in these cases. See Nev. Const. art. 6, § 4;

City of No. Las Vegas v. Cluff, 85 Nev. 200, 452 P.2d 461

(1969). We see nothing more in these two conversations than

what Justice Rose has stated, that the lawyer-legislators were

merely extending a courtesy to the court and its then Chief

Justice and that he responded in an appropriate, non-

committal manner.

CONCLUSION

The issue of Justice Rose’s disqualification because of ani-

mus toward attorney Laura FitzSimmons was decided against

the movants’ position in our recent Hecht decision, and this

prior ruling disposes of the first ground urged for Justice

Rose’s disqualification in these cases. We also conclude that

Justice Rose did not give an advisory opinion or prejudge an

issue in these cases when he discussed the general subject of

redefining the statutory definition of value. Accordingly, the

movants’ motions to disqualify Justice Rose are denied.’

SHEARING, C.J., and Papez, D.J., concur.”

In reaching this result, we have not considered the assertion of

Justice Rose that Justice Charles Springer should not participate in decid-

ing this motion to disqualify.

The Honorable Dan L. Papez, Judge of the Seventh Judicial Dis-

trict Court, was designated by the Governor to sit in place of the Hon-

orable Robert E. Rose, Justice. Nev. Const. art. 6, § 4.

27a

SPRINGER, Justice, dissenting':

Condemnees have presented to the court documents which,

if given due credit, would not under any circumstances allow

for Justice Rose’s continued Participation in deciding these

consolidated cases. Refusing to deal with the merits of the

documents themselves, the court has simply “returned” the

documents “unfiled” to condemnees’ counsel.

There is no valid excuse for the court’s actions, but the

excuse offered by the court for returning the documents is that

the documents are “serial” and thus contrary to NRAP 35(d).

“Serial” simply means appearing in successive parts; so that

if the condemnees had offered a new, “successive” motion,

such a new motion might be described as being serial. This is

not the case however. The documents returned as being

“serial” merely respond to charges that became a part of these

present proceedings by virtue of Justice Rose’s actions,

namely, Justice Rose’s filing of his “Supplemental Response”

to condemnees’ motion to disqualify him. Condemnees

cannot be expected to sit by and let Justice Rose’s “supple-

mental” response stand unchallenged. If Justice Rose’s “sup-

plemental” response is not successive or serial, then certainly

condemnees’ reply to Justice Rose is not successive or serial.

Plainly and simply, it is not fair for the court to consider

Justice Rose’s supplemental document and to return the

' Movants’ counsel claim that this motion has become moot by

reason of the Governor’s designations of Judge Dan L. Papez, issued on

June 5, 1997. The Governor’s designations (on file in all three of the cap-

tioned cases) recite that “Justice Robert E. Rose has voluntarily dis-

qualified himself to sit as a Justice of the Supreme Court of Nevada” in

these cases and that Judge Papez was designated to sit in Justice Rose’s

place. On the face of this document, it would appear that the motion to

disqualify is moot; however, given that the court’s request to the Gov-

ernor was for a designation only “to assist the court in deciding the dis-

qualification motions,” it is clear that Justice Rose disqualified himself

only from matters relating to the disqualification motions and, notwith-

Standing the language in the Governor’s designation, has not disqualified

himself in these cases.

28a

condemnees’ reply to that document to the condemnees,

“unfiled.”

Justice Rose is clearly disqualified to sit in these condem-

nation actions by reason of his admitted and openly-expressed

bias against Laura FitzSimmons, who is not only one of the

lawyers for the condemnees but is herself a financially inter-

ested party.

Justice Rose has filed a Response and a Supplemental

Response in which he maintains that his bias is against

Ms. FitzSimmons alone and not against any of the named con-

demnees. Ms. FitzSimmons has lodged with the court a Reply

to the Rose documents in which she establishes her position

as an interested party in this lawsuit, thus having the right as

a party, to have Justice Rose removed from these cases. Ms.

FitzSimmons’ position is firmly documented and supported by

authorities; and there is absolutely no question that Ms.

FitzSimmons’ financial interest in the outcome of these cases

entitles her to have Justice Rose removed from the cases. The

only way in which Chief Justice Shearing, Justice Young and

Judge Papez could possibly rule in favor of Justice Rose

under these circumstances would be for them to accept Justice

Rose’s opposition documents and at the same time refuse to

file Ms. FitzSimmons’ Reply. Incredibly, the three mentioned

jurists have done just this and have taken the position that

although Justice Rose has the right to “ tender a response

in writing to [the] motion for disqualification,” they will

not “permit the filing of a reply to the response tendered by

a challenged justice.” in other words, they will listen to

what Justice Rose has to say, but they will not listen to what

Ms. FitzSimmons has to say. Even though they realize that the

FitzSimmons document dictates the granting of condemnees’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose, they “decline to entertain

the arguments in that document.”

Chief Justice Shearing, Justice Young and Judge Papez,

after carefully considering the documents presented by Justice

Rose, rule that Ms. FitzSimmons’ opposing arguments “obfus-

cate the issues” and “delay the final resolution of these mat-

29a

ters” —insufficient reason, I think, for refusing to consider

materials which they know would require them to grant the

motion to disqualify rather than to deny it. Rather than give

formal recognition to facts that they are already aware of

informally, the three jurists of the majority have ordered the

clerk to “return the [FitzSimmons’] documents unfiled.”

Chief Justice Shearing, Justice Young and Judge Papez are

all on notice of the thrust of Ms. FitzSimmons’ position

(namely, that she is a party and that the law requires that

Justice Rose be disqualified by reason of his expressed

bias against her) and know that if the documents were not

returned unfiled they would be compelled to grant the

motions to disqualify Justice Rose. The only way that these

three could avoid the clear necessity for disqualifying Justice

Rose was to do what they did and to “return the documents

unfiled.”

I will argue in this dissent that even though the mentioned

majority of the court has decided not to consider the dispos-

itive arguments offered by Ms. FitzSimmons, the moving

documents that the court is willing to consider still demand

the disqualification of Justice Rose because Justice Rose’s

expressed bias toward Ms. FitzSimmons, as an attorney, is

“extreme” and because Justice Rose has made impermissible

public comments on the fundamental issue that is before the

court in these condemnation proceedings. The arguments

which I present in this dissent do not, however, have nearly

the persuasive value as do the lengths to which Justice Young

(who himself was subject to removal proceedings in these

cases, only to be ruled qualified by his colleague, Justice

Rose) and Justice Rose have gone to in order to keep Justice

Rose in these cases. This speaks for itself. That the majority

justices would go so far as to refuse to consider the con-

demnees’ absolute refutation of the arguments made by Jus-

tice Rose in his Supplemental Response should convince any

reader that there is something amiss in this whole proceeding.

The cloud of Justice Rose’s continuing to act as a judge in

these cases should not be allowed to contaminate these cases

and to create questions about the integrity of this court.

30a

The majority’s excuse for sending the condemnees’ papers

back to them is that they are required to do so by NRAP

35(d). This, to my mind, is pretense; but even if their reliance

on NRAP 35(d) could be seen as being supportable, basic

fairness would require that the condemnees in these cases

be heard and that the court not rely entirely upon the

unanswered documents of Justice Rose. Issues of funda-

mental fairness aside, it is clear that NRAP 35(d) does not

justify their actions. As pointed out in the majority opinion,

NRAP 35(d) prohibits the filing of “serial motions or

charges.” Ms. FitzSimmons presents no serial “motions or

charges” in these cases. All Ms. FitzSimmons was trying to

do was to respond to Justice Rose’s arguments. Justice Rose

presented to the court two laborious Responses, arguing that

his bias against Ms. FitzSirmmons, as an attorney, was not so

“extreme” as to require his disqualification. The documents

now returned to Ms. FitzSimmons merely point out that

Justice Rose’s bias does not have to be “extreme” if in

addition to being an attorney she is a principal and finan-

cially interested in the outcome. There is nothing “serial”

about Ms. FitzSimmons’ natural response to Justice Rose’s

arguments; and I can see no conceivable reason for the .. 1: s

present decision to silence Ms. FitzSimmons and to return her

papers unfiled.

Having stated as my primary disagreement with the order

denying condemnees’ motion to disqualify Justice Rose the

arbitrary decision by Chief Justice Shearing, Justice Young

and Judge Papez to silence the condemnees’ attempts to

oppose the arguments that Justice Rose makes on his own

behalf, I will proceed now to discuss the issues that were con-

sidered by the majority, namely, the effect of Justice Rose’s

making public comments on the ultimate issue to be decided

in these cases and Justice Rose’s “extreme” bias against

Ms. FitzSimmons.

3la

JUSTICE ROSE’S PUBLIC COMMENT

ON PENDING CASES

AS appears in the majority opinion, Justice Rose discussed

the ultimate issue in these appeals, namely, that of “redefin-

ing the term ‘fair market val ue.’ ” He discussed this subject

in some manner with “several” legislators. The majority tells

us of at least two, Senator Adler and Senator Smith. Canon

3B(9) of the Nevada Code of Judicial Conduct prohibits

judges from making public comments on pending or impend-

ing proceedings. As stated in the majority opinion, certain

legislators “conferred with Chief Justice Rose regarding

this question.” I do not believe that such conferences are

permitted by Canon 3B(9).

There are two versions of Justice Rose’s conference with

legislators. As appears from the majority opinion, the

condemnees claim that “Justice Rose prejudged an issue

before the court and Save an advisory opinion concerning

. . . the definition of the term ‘value’ to be used in con-

demnation cases.” Justice Rose, on the other hand, tells us

that the mentioned conference was comprised of a series of

telephone calls from various legislators who were merely

“extending a courtesy” to Justice Rose as chief justice and

discussing forthcoming plans of the legislature “to see if a

better definition to the term ‘fair market value’ could be

achieved.” Justice Rose does not “recall” a specific “con-

versatior of what the new definition would be.”

The conflict in positions between the challenged justice and

the condemnees is precisely the type of conflict that Canon

3B(9) was designed to prevent. The Canon tells judges not to

“make any public” comment that might be expected to impair

the fairness of the pending case. (My emphasis.) If Justice

Rose had declined to make any comment on matters that he

knew were pending before this court, he would not have faced

this controversy. The majority resolves the controversy sim-

ply by accepting the position of their colleague, Justice Rose,

and by rejecting the position of the condemnees. This is not

fe

32a

a fair way to treat litigants—deciding controversies of this

kind in favor of one of their fellow court-members without

any further exploration of the condemnees’ position. Further,

it does not matter to me whether Justice Rose’s conference

with legislators took place in the manner that he describes it

or whether it took the form claimed by the condemnees—in

either event, Justice Rose is guilty of making public com-

ments on pending litigation. To my way of thinking, such a

conference impairs the fairness, or at least the appearance of

fairness, in these cases. Justice Rose should disqualify him-

self. Based on the application of Canon 3B(9), I dissent to the

order denying the motion to disqualify Justice Rose.

JUSTICE ROSE’S BIAS TOWARD

ATTORNEY FITZSIMMONS

Condemnees’ motion to disqualify Justice Rose is also

based on Justice Rose’s biased attitude toward one of their

attorneys, Laura FitzSimmons The majority states that it will

“elect to follow our holding in Las Vegas Downtown Redev.

Agency v. Hecht, 113 Nev. 632, 940 P.2d 127 (1997)”.

In Hecht, a motion similar to the one in these cases was

filed, in which the bias of Justice Rose against attorney

FitzSimmons was raised. It is not claimed by the majority that

the Hecht case is res judicata or that the condemnees in these

cases, different parties entirely from those in the Hecht case,

are precluded from raising the issue here. It is my belief that

the circumstances surrounding Justice Rose’s statements and

treatment of Ms. FitzSimmons undeniably call for Justice

Rose’s removal from these cases.

My dissent is based in large part upon the documents

filed by Justice Rose in Whitacre on February 4, 1997, and

in Buckwalter and C.B.M. on February 7, 1997, entitled

“Response of Justice Rose to Motion to Disqualify Him and

Request that Justice Springer Not Participate in Deciding the

Motion to Disqualify.” In the mentioned Response, Justice

Rose accuses condemnees’ counsel, Laura FitzSimmons, of

33a

being part of an ongoing conspiracy against Justice Rose,

Which he calls a “Gunderson/Whitehead/Springer/Steffen

coalition.” The Rose Response is comprised of a long bill of

personal complaints by Justice Rose against Ms. FitzSimmons

and against the mentioned conspiratorial coalition, including

charges that Ms. FitzSimmons was part of a plan to make

public sealed criminal charges that had been issued by a

Las Vegas Metropolitan Police officer against Justice Rose.

and that, had it not been for Ms. FitzSimmons and her co-

conspirators, these charges would have been kept from the

public eye and remained “sealed” by order of the district

court in Las Vegas.

Ms. FitzSimmons denies that she is part of any such con-

spiracy; but it is obvious from Justice Rose’s document that

he earnestly believes that Ms. FitzSimmons is conspiring to

destroy him. In my judgment, these beliefs and the other

charges which Justice Rose makes against Ms. FitzSimmons

create a strong appearance of bias on the part of Justice Rose

and lead to the almost inescapable inference that it is impos-

sible for Justice Rose to sit in impartial judgment in these

cases while Ms. FitzSimmons is acting as counsel.

Justice Rose resists his disqualification by Claiming that

although, under Canon 3E of the Code of Judicial Conduct,

“a judge can be disqualified for animus toward an attorney,”

Justice Rose does not consider his “animus” to be suffi-

ciently virulent and “extreme” to warrant his disqualifica-

tion. Any reader of Justice Rose’s Response will come to

the unhesitating conclusion that Justice Rose’s bias against

Ms. FitzSimmons is indeed extreme and that there is virtually

no possibility that a judge who feels the way that Justice Rose

feels about Ms. FitzSimmons could possibly sit in fair

judgment in these cases.

In the mentioned Response, Justice Rose makes two argu-

ments. The first is that deference should be given to his own

“opinion as to bias” and that although his past “remarks”

about Ms. FitzSimmons may have been derogatory and hate-

ful, he has an excuse, namely, “Justice Rose’s remarks were

34a

made in response to statements or actions of Laura Fitz-

Simmons” and were, for this reason, “not evidence of any

disqualifying bias.”

With regard to Justice Rose’s argument that retaliatory

remarks made “in response” to attorney FitzSimmons’

“attacks” on him do not count, I must say that I have never

heard such an argument before. Justice Rose tells us that

because the things he has said about Ms. FitzSimmons? were

in retaliation for and “in response” to the bad things that he

claims Ms. FitzSimmons had done and said about him, his

“remarks” cannot be admitted as “evidence of any disquali-

fying bias.” Although this is a very interesting position for

Justice Rose to take, I fail to see any merit to his claim that he

was merely acting in retaliation for past grievances. Frankly,

I cannot understand his claim that his acting “in response” to

perceived indignities does not constitute “evidence of any dis-

qualifying bias.” As I see it, Justice Rose’s claim that his

retaliatory “remarks” do not count because he was provoked

into making them is just more evidence that he is truly and

“extremely”? biased against Ms. FitzSimmons.

Attorney FitzSimmons’ response to the charges made by

Justice Rose in his Response is put this way: “Since Justice

Rose continues to express his opinion that I am part of

a ‘coalition’* that is intent upon harming him politically, a

>

. In the motions to disqualify Justice Rose, Ms. FitzSimmons sets

out an array of derogatory statements that Justice Rose has made in pub-

lic against her over the past several years. I find no need in this opinion

to catalogue these statements and merely note that Justice Rose does not

deny making these remarks. His position is one of confession and avoid-

ance—‘“Justice Rose’s remarks were in response to the statements or

actions of Laura FitzSimmons” and, therefore, “are not evidence of dis-

qualifying bias.”

: See Richard E. Flamm, Judicial Disqualification 124 (1966).

’ According to Justice Rose’s Response there is a “coalition” com-

prised of movants’ attorney, Laura FitzSimmons, former Chief Justice

E.M. Gunderson, former Chief Justice Thomas Steffen, former Judge

Jerry Whitehead and, the undersigned, Justice Charles Springer. Accord-

ing to Justice Rose, “based on what [he] considered reliable information,”

35a

reasonable person would certainly question whether Justice

Rose would hold the balance nice, clear and true.”

It is worthwhile to examine some of the public charges that

Justice Rose has levied against Ms. FitzSimmons. | might

understand Justice Rose’s position better if Ms. FitzSimmons

had, as Justice Rose claims, actually slandered Justice Rose

or had intentionally provoked him or taunted him. It would

then be much easier to understand Justice Rose’s extravagant

attack and the statements that he has made about her. For

example, in his Response, Justice Rose itemizes a number of

“legal and political actions taken by FitzSimmons against Jus-

tice Rose,” including an “independent civil action by FitzSim-

mons” against Justice Rose. Still, among the many “actions”

by Ms. FitzSimmons complained of by Justice Rose I find no

untoward or unfair conduct of any kind on the part of Ms.

FitzSimmons; nevertheless, it is understandable, to a limited

degree, why Justice Rose (if he believed all of the “reliable

sources” referred to in his Response) got so angry at attorney

FitzSimmons and why, as he puts it, he “has not appreciated

these attacks or her conduct.”

the members of the named conspiracy have been conspiring against him

in the form of “legal and political action.”

, While admitting that he has not “appreciated” all of the things

that he claims have been done to him by Ms. FitzSimmons and despite

the tone of ire and displeasure that runs throughout his Response, Justice

Rose writes in his Response that he “had always considered {him]self to

be a good friend of Laura FitzSimmons.” Ms. FitzSimmons’ sworn

response to this is as follows:

I do know that I have never considered Justice Rose to be a

friend. Indeed the only conversation of a personal nature that

I recall having with Justice Rose was a fund raiser that I hosted

for him in Carson City during his first campaign. The guests

left, and Justice Rose and I were sitting outside. He was com-

plaining about how strenuous the campaign had been. I told him

that I thought it would be hard to campaign for a judgeship, and

later resist the temptation, as a judge, to reward friends and pun-

ish enemies. Justice Rose looked me in the eye and replied that

he was not one to resist temptation, and he was looking forward

to pay backs. I was uncomfortable with that Statement at the

36a

I believe the key to judging Justice Rose’s bias or lack of it

in these cases is his assertion that his “responsive statements”

were “precipitated” (provoked) by “attacks against him”

that became known to him based upon undisclosed “reliable

information made available to him.” The information avail-

able which Justice Rose claims to have gotten from unnamed

sources might have disclosed to Justice Rose some con-

duct which he deemed to be inappropriate on the part of

Ms. FitzSimmons; but there is certainly nothing in the record

that would support such a conclusion.

It is apparent from Justice Rose’s Response that the

perceived “attacks” by Ms. FitzSimmons that “precipitated”

Justice Rose’s “responsive statements” against Ms. Fitz-

Simmons are centered on what Justice Rose describes as

Ms. FitzSimmons’ filing of a “civil complaint to require

the Eighth Judicial District Court in Clark County to make

public certain wiretapped conversations of Justice Rose sur-

rounding the criminal investigation of Michael and Rhonda

Mushkin” and Justice Rose. Justice Rose attaches to his

Response a copy of Ms. FitzSimmons’ “civil complaint,”

which is a “Petition to Unseal Wiretap Information.” This

document discloses that a district judge had, in a secret pro-

ceeding entitled “DR# 92-0919-1101,” ordered that certain

police files relating to Justice Rose, Michael Mushkin and

Rhonda Mushkin be sealed and withdrawn from public view.

I will not speculate about what political forces might have

been exerted to bring about the unheard-of action of a district

judge’s ordering that certain police files be “sealed,” nor

will I speculate on why the district court did not grant

Ms. FitzSimmons’ motion to “unseal” these public records;

but I will say that there does not appear to be anything unto-

ward or provocative about Ms. FitzSimmons’ motion to

unseal, which, she advises the court, was made for the pur-

pose of “preparing various documents for filing” and was

based on the Nevada Public Records Act (NRS 239.010).

time it was made, and later events have only increased my

concern.

37a

What is untoward and what should provoke any citizen is the

fact that Ms. FitzSimmons’ request for inspection of public

documents was not granted, especially when the Las Vegas

Metropolitan Police and the district attorney of Clark County

consented to the “unsealing” of these public documents.

In her Reply, Ms. FitzSimmons explains that the purpose

for her filing the mentioned Petition was to obtain documents

in support of a complaint to the Nevada Commission on Judi-

cial Discipline, pursuant to what she believed to be her ethi-

cal obligation, and not, as Justice Rose has asserted, to “make

public those conversations.” Attorney FitzSimmons tells us

that the discipline complaint was held by the Commission, the

executive director of which Justice Rose has described as one

of his “closest friends,” until] this court decided Hogan vy.

Warden, 112 Nev. 553, 916 P.2d 805 (1996). Thereafter, the

complaint was dismissed by the Commission, which justified

the dismissal entirely upon that Opinion, in which Justice

Rose sat in judgment of issues relating to his own alleged

misconduct. .

Part of the information contained in the sealed documents

referred to above became public despite the court order seal-

ing it; and the source of Justice Rose’s displeasure with Ms.

FitzSimmons appears to be that he blames her for trying to

make public documents public, documents described by Jus-

tice Rose in his Response as being wiretapped conversations

in which “I [Rose] was a party concerning the criminal inves-

tigation into the activities of Michael and Rhonda Mushkin.

Michael Mushkin was indicted after a lengthy investigation,

and I had one or more conversations with Rhonda that were

intercepted by wiretapped surveillance. These wiretaps were

transcribed for the state’s Prosecution of Michael Mushkin but

were subsequently sealed by the Court.”

It is understandable that Justice Rose would have been con-

cerned about these wiretaps’ becoming public knowledge and

especially concerned when, for the first time, it appeared in

the newspapers that Justice Rose was the subject of a sworn

criminal complaint charging him with obstruction of public

38a

justice and seeking his arrest. Even though the district attor-

ney refused to prosecute the criminal complaint and Attorney

General Del Papa also “declined to prosecute” the criminal

complaint, if Justice Rose believed that this embarrassing

public disclosure was brought about by the “intentional

actions” of Ms. FitzSimmons and her “coalition,” then it does

explain why he feels the way that he does about her and

explains why he was moved to make “responsive statements”

about Ms. FitzSimmons. What it does not explain, however,

is how, given the kind of “animus” against Ms. FitzSimmons

that is demonstrated by Justice Rose in his Response, he can

be expected to act fairly and impartially in these cases.

Justice Rose’s public comments on the dispositive issue in

these cases and his “extreme” animus toward counsel demand

that he be disqualified from sitting in these cases.

CONCLUSION

The decision to deny the motion to disqualify Justice Rose

is additionally clouded by the fact that the deciding vote is

cast by Justice Young, who, himself, was challenged for bias

in these cases. The way that the challenges against Justice

Young and Justice Rose have been resolved in these cases is

simply that Justice Rose casts the deciding vote that Justice

Young is not biased; and now Justice Young casts the decid-

ing vote ruling that Justice Rose is not biased. This procedure

is tainted and unfair on its face, remindful of the time when

Justice Young and Justice Rose decided a case in which they

had been previously disqualified. Whitehead v. Comm’n on

Jud. Discipline, 920 P.2d 491 (1996).°®

¥ In arguing at such length that Justice Rose’s bias against Ms.

FitzSimmons, as an attorney, is “extreme” and therefore sufficient to

disqualify him, I do not want to leave the impression that I believe that

“extreme” bias is necessary in these cases. Ms. FitzSimmons is an inter-

ested party in these cases and, as such, it is not necessary to establish

“extreme” bias against her. As I have argued above, if this court were to

39a

MAUPIN, Justice, dissenting:

I agree that the conversation between members of the legis-

lature and Justice Rose do not provide sufficient grounds for

have given due consideration to the supplemental motion and support-

ing documents, as it properly should, the court would have been hard

pressed, in good conscience, to deny the motion to disqualify Justice

Rose and thereby permit Justice Rose to continue to sit in these cases.

By failing to consider the condemnees’ supplemental motion, the

majority is ignoring a dispositive point raised by the condemnees,

namely, that Ms. FitzSimmons is not only attorney for condemnees, she

is, herself, indisputably, a real party in interest.

In Hecht and in these cases, the court rules in favor of Justice Rose

(who calls himself a “real party in interest”) on the ground that Justice

Rose’s frequently-expressed bias and ill-will toward Ms. FitzSimmons

was not So excessive as to be extreme bias. The rule of “extreme bias,”

has, of course, no application to Ms. FitzSimmons as a real party in inter-

est, and one who is subject to losing large sums of money if Justice

Rose’s admitted bias against her is allowed to come into play. (Justice

Rose states in his “Supplemental Response” that “[a]s a practical matter,

the real parties in interest are Justice Rose and attorney Laura FitzSim-

mons. . . .”) This being the case, the majority in these cases acted mis-

takenly in holding that disqualification was not mandated except where

the bias could be shown to have been “extreme.”

It is not fair for this court to have decided the present motion without

considering the matters which were called to the court’s attention in the

suppiemental motion that it has refused to consider and returned to the

movants. In addition to calling attention to the fact of Ms. FitzSimmons’

being, like Justice Rose, a real party in interest, the supplemental motion

raised a number of other critical matters that should have been considered

by the court. For example, contained in the moving papers is an opinion,

in affivevit form, expressed by Richard Edward Flamm, the leading

authority on judicial disqualifications. an opinion which “mandate[s]”

Justice Rose’s disqualification. Mr. Flamm is the author of Judicial Dis-

qualification: Recusal and Disqualification of Judges, a nationwide trea-

tise published by Little, Brown and Company in 1996. The treatise

examines in detail the Principles which have been espoused by the

nation’s courts in deciding judicial disqualification motions and appeals.

This court relied (incorrectly) on two sections of Mr. Flamm’s treatise in

its Opinion denying the motion to disqualify Justice Rose in Hecht.

After a careful review of Hecht and of all the pertinent documents in

the present case, “as well as a host of cases on point,” Mr. Flamm

expressed, under oath, the following professional opinions:

(footnote continued)

40a

his disqualification. However, in most other respects, I can-

not subscribe to either the majority or the dissent in these

matters. Based upon my own review of the record, and with-

out conceding that PETA v. Berosini, 110 Nev. 78, 867 P.2d

1121 (1994), is a correct application of the doctrine sur-

rounding disqualification of judicial officers, I would grant

the instant disqualification motion.

I have formed the opinion that Justice Rose’s expressed animus

towards Ms. FitzSimmons does indeed mandate his disqualification from

this case. . . . I do not believe that this general proposition (that a

judges’s bias against an attorney must be “extreme”) justifies Justice

Rose continuing to sit in cases in which Ms. FitzSimmons represents a

party on a contingent fee basis. . . . In her moving papers Ms. FitzSim-

mons attested (and Justice Rose did not deny) that she has a pecuniary

interest in the outcome of these proceedings, . . . In my opinion, a real

party who possesses a substantial interest in the outcome of a proceed-

ing has a due process right not to have that case decided by a court whose

membership includes a judge whose impartiality might reasonably be

questioned. For this court to decide this matter without having considered

the vital matters presented in the supplemental motion is completely

without justification.

4la

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA

Filed July i5, 1997

No. 24976

LIA ARNOLD ROBERTS REVOCABLE FAMILY TRUST,

AURELLIA ARNOLD ROBERTS, TRUSTEE,

Appellant,

—vs.—

COUNTY OF CLARK, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION

OF THE STATE OF NEVADA,

Respondent.

No. 29401

WHITACRE INVESTMENT COMPANY,

A GENERAL PARTNERSHIP,

Appellant,

—vVsS.—

THE STATE OF NEVADA, ON RELATION OF

ITS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondent,

42a

No. 29477

COUNTY OF CLARK, A POLITICAL SUBDIVISION OF THE

STATE OF NEVADA, ON RELATION OF LAS VEGAS CONVEN-

TION AND VISITORS AUTHORITY,

Appellant,

of nee

BRIANT BUCKWALTER; JOHN R. REESE; CALIFORNIA FED-

ERAL SAVINGS AND LOAN ASSOCIATION, A CALIFORNIA

CORPORATION; TOWER ENTERPRISES, A PARTNERSHIP;

PROFIT SHARING PLAN OF ROY R. VALENTINE, D.D.S.,

A PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION; K.W. HOUNSELL;

K.W. HOUNSELL, INC., A PROFIT SHARING TRUST; PROFIT

SHARING PLAN OF EDGAR F. MUNCSH, D.D.S., A PROFES-

SIONAL CORPORATION; RALPH W. ENGH AND CHRISTINE J.

ENGH, HUSBAND AND WIFE,

Respondents.

No. 29549

C.B.M., Ltp., A NEVADA LIMITED PARTNERSHIP,

Appellant,

V5

THE STATE OF NEVADA, ON RELATION OF

ITS DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION,

Respondent.

43a

ORDER DENYING MOTIONS

TO DISQUALIFY JUSTICE YOUNG

Appellant Roberts Revocable Family Trust; appellant

Whitacre Investment Company; respondents Buckwalter, et

al.; and appellant C.B.M.., Ltd. (collectively “movants”) assert

that Justice Young has shown express or implied bias against

Kermitt Waters because: (1) Waters donated heavily to Justice

Young’s opponent in Justice Young’s 1996 re-election cam-

paign and comments Justice Young made about Waters’ dona-

tions, and (2) the Attorney’s office represents the State in

these cases and the Attorney General endorsed and publicly

supported Justice Young in the previous election. These same

arguments were made and rejected in Las Vegas Downtown

Redev. Agency v. Hecht, 113 Nev. dtm (ey Op.

No. 70, June 3, 1997), and State, Dep’t of Transp. v. Barsy,

Lis Nev... . B94 — (Adv. Op. No. 76, June 17, 1997),

and those decisions are dispositive of these grounds for dis-

qualification.

Accordingly, the motions to disqualify Justice Young filed

in these cases are hereby denied.

It is so ORDERED. !

SHEARING ee oe f

Shearing

ROSE me

Rose

MAUPIN ee 3

Maupin

? The Honorable Cliff Young, Justice, did nol participate in the

decision of these motions

44a

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF NEVADA

Case No. 29447

COUNTY OF CLARK, et al.,

Appellants,

ae V'§

BRIAN BUCKWALTER, et al.,

Respondent.

AFFIDAVIT OF RICHARD EDWARD FLAMM

Richard Edward Flamm, being first duly sworn, swears

under penalty of perjury as follows:

1. I am an attorney-at-law duly licensed to practice before

the state courts of New Jersey, New York and California.

I have also been admitted to practice before the D.N.J.,

S.D.N.Y., N.D. Cal., and C.D. Cal.; as well as the Fifth, Sixth,

Ninth and Federal Circuit Courts of Appeal. I am not a party

to this matter and have no interest in its outcome.

2. In my private practice I concentrate exclusively on mat-

ters of judicial and legal ethics. | frequently lecture on these

topics and have authored a number of articles on judicial dis-

qualification, attorney disqualification, and related topics.

“

3. I am also the author of Judicial Disqualification:

Recusal and Disqualification of Judges, a nationwide treatise

45a

which was published by Little, Brown and Company of

Boston in 1996. That treatise examines in detail the principles

which have been espoused by the nation’s courts in deciding

judicial disqualification motions and appeals. This Court

relied on two sections of my book in denying the motion to

disqualify Justice Rose in the Hecht Case.

4. I have filed briefs or expert certifications in dozens of

attorney and judicial disqualification proceedings. I have both

sought and opposed motions for disqualification. Because of

my legal and academic work in this field, I am very interested

and concerned about the development of the law of judicial

disqualification.

5. Laura Wightman FitzSimmons has requested that I pro-

vide the Court with my opinion as to whether Justice Rose’s

disqualification is warranted in this case because of his ani-

mus toward her. In order to be in a position to form an opin-

ion on this question, I have reviewed a number of documents,

including the motion to disqualify Justice Rose filed by Ms.

FitzSimmons in the Hecht case, the response of Justice Rose

to that motion, Ms. FitzSimmons’ response to that of Justice

Rose, the order of this Court denying Ms. FitzSimmons’

motion to disqualify Justice Rose in Hecht, and the Supple-

mental Response of Justice Rose to the motion to disqualify

him in this case. I have also reviewed relevant Nevada cases

and provisions of the Nevada Code of Judicial Conduct.

6. After reviewing the above-referenced materials, as well

as a host of cases on point, I have formed the opinion that

Justice Rose’s expressed animus towards Ms. FitzSimmons

does indeed mandate his disqualification from this case.

7. The Hecht opinion cited my treatise for the proposition

that “[t]o warrant judicial disqualification—much less other.

more drastic sanctions—the judge’s bias toward the attorney

ordinarily must be extreme. . .”. This is an accurate quota-

tion; however, I do not believe this general proposition

justifies Justice Rose continuing to sit in cases in which

“Ms. FitzSimmons represents a party on a contingent fee basis.

46a

8. The primary reason why courts do not routinely dis-

qualify judges on the basis of their expressions of ill-feelings

towards attorneys is that such animus does not necessarily

translate into bias for or against a party that would result in an

unfair trial. Because bias against an attorney does not nec-

essarily imply bias against a party, many courts have held or

implied that, for a judge’s animus towards an attorney to war-

rant disqualification, the bias must be “extreme” enough for

the Court to believe that it is likely to be transferred to a party

that attorney represents.

9. The holdings in most (if not all) of these cases presume,

however, that the attorney who is the subject of the judge’s

alleged animus is not also a party—1i.e., that he or she has no

personal or pecuniary stake in the outcome of the case (other

than reputational interest which all attorneys have in pre-

vailing). In such cases, there is usually little reason to believe

that a judge, even if biased against the attorney, would reach

a decision adverse to the interests of the attorney’s client.

Consequently the judge’s animus, even if conceded, does not

provide a compelling ground for disqualification.

10. Where, however, the involved attorney is not only an

attorney, by also a party or real party in interest in the case,

the usual reasons for declining to order disqualification on the

basis of a judge’s bias against an attorney do not apply.

Indeed, in situations where the attorney for the moving party

has a substantial pecuniary interest in the case, there would

appear to be no reason—in logic or law—for a court to treat

a judge’s demonstrated animus towards that attorney any dif-

ferently than it would his animus towards any other party.

11. In her moving papers Ms. FitzSimmons attested (and

Justice Rose did not deny) that she has a pecuniary interest in

the outcome of these proceedings, in the form of a substantial

contingent fee. Indeed, in his recently filed supplemental

response in this case, Justice Rose has deemed Ms. FitzSim-

mons to be a real party in interest to these proceedings.

12. In my opinion, a real party who possesses a substantial

interest in the outcome of a proceeding has a due process

47a

right not to have that case decided by a court whose mem-

bership includes a judge whose impartiality might reasonably

be questioned.

13. Hecht also cites my treatise for the proposition that

“[s]ituations in which judges have manifested such extreme

bias toward an attorney [as to warrant disqualification] are

exceedingly rare.”

14. It is true that disqualification motions based on animus

toward counsel have been granted only sparingly. However,

this may well be explained by the fact that most of the

reported disqualification motions of this type were based

upon the challenged judge’s intra judicial comments about an

attorney’s in-court conduct.

15. In most of the reported cases dealing with disqualifi-

cation motions of this type, the motions were based upon a

judge’s expression of irritation or frustration with the moving

attorney’s litigation tactics or in-court conduct; or his ques-

tioning of whether the attorney was providing the client with

adequate representation. They were not cases like this, in

which the motion for disqualification was based upon com-

ments a judge made in an extrajudicial forum, in which he

speculated about an attorney’s extrajudicial conduct.

16. The fact that Justice Rose’s animus towards Ms.

FitzSimmons had both an extrajudicial source and extraju-

dicial expression distinguishes this motion from the vast

majority of cases in which disqualification motions based on

a judge’s animus towards an attorney were denied on the

grounds that the animus alleged was not sufficiently

“extreme”. In fact, I cannot recall having ever reviewed a

case in which a motion based on analogous extrajudicial com-

ments was denied on the grounds that the judge’s animus

towards the attorney was not “extreme”.

17. The Hecht order also cited my treatise for the propo-

sition that “a party or his attorney should not be permitted to

cause the disqualification of a judge by virtue of his or her

own intentional actions.” Like the Hecht court’s other Cita-

48a

tions to my book, this proposition is correct as a general prin-

ciple. However, its invocation in the context of the facts of

this case, and indeed in Hecht, is not only misplaced, but

inexplicable.

18. According to the moving papers, Justice Rose has

accused Ms. FitzSimmons of (1) being part of an “orches-

trated effort” to leak confidential wiretaps about his alleged

criminal misconduct; (2) being one of a group of people who

had “promised” potential opponents of Justice Rose’s “up to

$100,000.00 in campaign contributions” and “all the deroga-

tory information they could get about me;” and (3) being

somehow responsible for a motion to disqualify him filed in

a case in which Ms. FitzSimmons swears she had no role.

19. It is true that, if Ms. FitzSimmons had done these

things, Justice Rose might be able to defend against the dis-

qualification motion by invoking the rule that “a party or his

attorney should not be permitted to cause the disqualification

of a judge by virtue of his or her own intentional actions.”

20. As I read the relevant papers, however, while Justice

Rose alleged that Ms. FitzSimmons induced him to make the

comments which manifest his animus towards her, there has

been no evidentiary showing to that effect. Ms. FitzSimmons

has denied each of the allegations of Justice Rose under oath,

as well as the assertion that she did anything to entrap Justice

Rose into uttering disqualifying statements.

21. A claim that an attorney has manufactured the grounds

for the judge’s disqualification is in the nature of an affir-

mative defense to an otherwise valid disqualification motion.

In order to prevail upon such a “defense”, it must either be

obvious that the attorney created the basis for the disqualli-

fication motion, or competent proof that such is the case must

be adduced.

22. Here there is no proof that Ms FitzSimmons took the

actions Justice Rose has accused her of. Moreover, the Hecht

court ignered Ms. FitzSimmons’ request for an evidentiary

hearing on this matter.

49a

23. In my opinion, in light of Ms. FitzSimmons’ sworn

statement and the absence of any competent evidence to the

contrary, there is simply no basis upon which the Hecht court

could have properly concluded that she “created” the grounds

for Justice Rose’s disqualification. Therefore, while a party

should not be permitted to cause the disqualification of a

judge by virtue of her own intentional actions, there has been

no showing that this is what has happened here.

24. I note, parenthetically, that many jurisdictions do not

permit judges who have been challenged by a disqualification

motion to controvert the facts alleged in support of the

motion. The fact that the Hecht majority appears to have

given more weight to Justice Rose’s allegations, based upon

information he claimed to have obtained from undisclosed

informants, than to the sworn statements of Ms. FitzSimmons,

based upon her personal knowledge may go a long way to

explaining why this is so.

25. The Hecht majority correctly noted that “[i]n a state

with a relatively small number of attorneys disqualifying

judges because an attorney before them had participated in

the process of or had opposed a judge or justice would subject

many judges and justices to disqualification.” However, the

majority appears to have leaped from this accurate premise to

the conclusion that Justice Rose’s comments did not warrant

disqualification in that case because he “was in a difficult

campaign for re-election” at the time he made those com-

ments and Ms. FitzSimmons “was actively opposing him.”

26. The majority is right that the fact that an attorney has

actively opposed a judge’s election, standing alone, has tra-

ditionally been deemed to provide an insufficient factual pred-

icate for judicial disqualification. However, the reason this is

So is that it is generally presumed that the mere fact that an

attorney has opposed a judge’s election will not cause the

judge to harbor such ill-feelings against the attorney as to

affect his ability to be impartial in cases in which that attor-

ney subsequently appears.

50a

27. Where the allegation of judicial bias is not based upon

mere speculation that the judge might harbor animus towards

the attorney who supported his adversary, but upon comments

made by the judge which manifest that he does indeed

mistrust and resent the attorney, such a presumption must

give way.

28. In Hecht, as well as here, the motion to disqualify

Justice Rose was not based upon the mere fact that Ms.

FitzSimmons opposed his election, nor upon her unsupported

speculation that Justice Rose might have become biased

against her as a result. The motion was based, rather, on a

series of comments Justice Rose made which show quite con-

clusively that Justice Rose believes Ms. FitzSimmons was

part of a conspiracy to destroy his career.

29. In denying the disqualification motion in Hecht, the

majority expressly relied on Justice Rose's stated belief that

he can be fair towards Ms. FitzSimmons'’ clients, regardless

of his feelings towards her. By deferring to Justice Rose's

subjective opinion of his ability to be unbiased, the Hechr

court applied an incorrect standard for determining whether

his impartiality “might reasonably be questioned.”

30. Like other similar provisions, Canon 3(E) of the

Nevada Code of Judicial Conduct does not specify the stand-

point from which the question of whether a “judge's impar-

tiality might reasonably be questioned” is to be determined

(i.e., from that of the litigant, the judge or a reasonable

observer).

31. However, the great weight of case law interpreting the

Code and an analogous federal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 455(a),

makes it clear that the question of whether the judge's

“impartiality might reasonably be questioned” is not to be

determined from the subjective perspective of the challenged

judge himself. In fact, because a judge may be convinced of

his own impartiality, yet still act in a manner which would

cause a reasonable person to question his impartiality, it is

generally agreed that the judge's subjective view as to his

ability to be impartial is irrelevant.

ee

Sla

32. The Hecht order stated that Justice Rose’s subjective

Perception of his ability to be fair was “reinforced” by the

fact that Ms. FitzSimmons’ clients won most of the cases in

which Justice Rose “sat as a justice since her allegations of

bias.” However, most of the cases in which Justice Rose voted

in favor of Ms. FitzSimmons clients were criminal cases, and,

I am informed, none of the cases in which Justice Rose voted

in favor of Ms. FitzSimmons’ clients were cases in which she

Was to receive a contingency fee. Thus, in none of those cases

did Ms. FitzSimmons have a substantial pecuniary interest.

Because that is so, Justice Rose’s voting record on prior cases

involving Ms. FitzSimmons’ other clients would not provide

a reasonable person with an accurate barometer of whether he

will be able to be impartial in this case Or in other cases in

which she has an interest.

33. The Hecht order also denied the motion on “implied

waiver” grounds. Once again the Court erred. As I noted in

my treatise, the “primary purpose of the implied waiver rule

. ts to nullify the rewards of ‘sand-bagging’ through

employment of dilatory tactics, and to prevent parties from

disqualifying judges after first determining their views as to

the merits.” These types of concerns are not present in situ-

ations where, as here, the disqualification motion was made

in a timely fashion, and before the challenged judge’s views

on the merits could be gleaned.!

34. The fact is, moreover, that shortly after Justice Rose

made one of his offending comments, Ms. FitzSimmons wrote

him a letter in which she requested (Justice Rose says

“demanded”) that he step down from all cases involving her

clients. That letter shows that Ms FitzSimmons was not

I understand that an additional basis for the disqualification of

Justice Rose—that he has expressed to the legislature his views on the mer-

its Of one of the issues present in this appeal—is present here. Since that

basis was not present in Hecht, and since this affidavit is being supplied in

Support of a document filed in response to Justice Rose’s recent supplement

arguing that Heche controls the disposition of the disqualification motion in

this case, the scope of this affidavit is being limited to the disqualification

issues Common to this case and Hechr.

52a

attempting to “sandbag” the Court through the “employment

of dilatory tactics,” nor to wait and see how Justice Rose

would rule on this case before seeking relief.

35. There are a number of practical reasons why an attor-

ney might file a disqualification motion in one case but not do

so in another.

36. For one thing, the right to seek judicial disqualification

typically belongs to the client, not the attorney; and while one

client may be willing to risk incurring the wrath of the chal-

lenged judge by seeking this type of relief, another may not.

Because this is so, for this Court to hold that an attorney's

decision not to seek disqualification for one client in one case

automatically waives a different client’s right to seek dis-

qualification in another case would deprive the second of a

right that many courts have held to be “fundamental.”

37. Likewise, an attorney may conclude that a judge’s

disqualification is necessary to protect the client’s interests

in one case, but not in another. For example, because

Ms. FitzSimmons neither could nor would have any pecuniary

interest in the outcome of a divorce case, she would have no

reason to believe that Justice Rose’s animus towards her

would manifest in an adverse decision against one of her

divorce clients.

38. The Hecht order conceded that, in finding that

Ms. FitzSimmons impliedly waived her client’s right to

seek disqualification in that case, it relied on two cases which

were distinguishable on the grounds that they concerned

untimely motions to disqualify judges in particular cases,

rather than counsel’s putative failure to seek to disqualify the

judge in prior cases in which she represented other clients.

Nevertheless, the majority opined that “the reasoning of those

cases appears equally applicable to FitzSimmons’ attempt to

disqualify Justice Rose in only some of the cases where she

has appeared as counsel for a party.”

39. I beg to differ. In the process of compiling Judicial

Disqualification 1 reviewed over 3,000 state and federal

53a

disqualification cases. I do not recall ever having come across

a single case in which any other Court ever held that a client's

right to seek a judge’s disqualification in one case could be

impliedly waived by its attorney's decision not to seek such

relief for a different party in a prior case.

40. In researching my second treatise (on conflicts of inter-

est and attorney disqualification) I did come across one case

in which an attorney sought to resist disqualification on the

grounds that the moving party had not moved to disqualify

him in a prior case involving that party in which the attorney

had appeared. Ullrich vy. Hearst Corp., 809 F. Supp. 229

(S.D.N.Y. 1992). In Ullrich, however, the Court summarily

disposed of the attorney's implied waiver argument.

41. In my opinion, the reasons for rejecting an “implied

waiver” defense in this case are much more compelling than

they were in Ullrich. For one thing, while an attorney is

rarely disqualified by a court sua sponte, the Code of Judicial

Conduct is self-enforcing on the part of the judge.

42. The Code exists, moreover, not merely to vindicate the

interests of a party or an attorney, but to preserve the public's

confidence in the integrity of the judicial system. Because this

is so, I am of the opinion that an attorney can neither confer

upon a judge the right to violate a Canon of the Code of Judi-

cial Conduct, nor agree to waive such a violation.

43. The Hecht majority’s final reason for not disqualify-

ing Justice Rose on the basis of his animus towards Ms.

FitzSimmons was that, if it permitted her to seek Justice

Rose's disqualification every time she represented a party

before this Court or “associated to represent a party,” she

“would have a potent weapon that would permit [her] to dis-

qualify one justice of the court in any case.”

44. This argument has some superficial appeal. However, in

my opinion, it does not hold up under analysis. For one thing,

the possibility that Justice Rose might have to disqualify

himself from participating in multiple cases involving Ms.

Fitzsimmons’ clients is hardly novel. Judges routinely recuse

54a

themselves from cases involvifiz else felatives, former part

ners and others with whom they ae imimaely aequainied

45. Since judges routinely Misqualify themeelves from

cases involving those with whi) (hey are perceived ty have

a close relationship, there wo] Appeal 18 he ne HOunA Pennnn

for holding that judges are iHune 10 Aisqualifieation when

the opposite is perceived.

46. It is true that, when 4 judge indicates that he will

recuse himself from all case4 in whieh a particular attorney

appears as counsel of record, the theoretical possibility exists

that the attorney could be retained asa stratagem in order to

force the ouster of an unwahted judge, However, it would

appear that few courts have declined to disqualify themselves

on this basis.

47. One reason why this i$ 0 iS that, in situations where a

court is truly concerned abot the possibility that an attorney

or firm has been retained as @ Ploy for the purpose of effect-

ing the disqualification of ¢ J¥éZ¢, the court may solve the

problem by disqualifying the A“9Fmey —# need not disqualify

the judge.

RICHARD EDWED FL AMM

ICM AKI FAW AKI FL AMM

SUBSCRIBED and SWORN tc

before me this 19th day of Adige, 1997

STACEY SILVERBERG.

NOTARY PUBLIC

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.