Amicus Curiae Brief — Legal Services Corp. v. Velazquez

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

a

fo ae { Bs

er Le

yt ieweane Cate US.

Nos. 99-603, 99-960 J a

oni ieee mere~-—-—elr: PVT

f {

Supreme Court of the Gniten sift,’ a0

October Term, 2000

CLERK

LEGAL SERVICES CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

and

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CARMEN VELAZQUEZ ET AL.,

Respondents.

ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

EEE — eee

BRIEF FOR THE AMERICAN JUDICATURE SOCIETY AS

AMICUS CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF RESPONDENTS

——————— eee

FREDERICK A. O. SCHWARZ, JR.

Counsel of Record

JEAN REED HAYNES ALEXANDRA S. WALD

PRESIDENT CRAVATH, SWAINE & MOORE

AMERICAN JUDICATURE Worldwide Plaza

SOCIETY 825 Eighth Avenue

180 North Michigan Avenue New York, New York 10019

Suite 600 (212) 474-1000

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 558-6900 Attorneys for Amicus Curiae

July 17, 2000

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

TABLE OF AUTEOORITIES 2.0... ccccccccnccces iii

STATEMENT OF INTEREST ................4.. l

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............002. 2

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT .................. 2

EE 6504 6s Lawes chee stake Gekada non 6

I. AS CONSTRUED BY THE GOVERNMENT,

THE CONSTRAINTS PLACED ON THE

ADVERSARIAL PROCESS IN WELFARE

CASES RESULT IN AN

UNCONSTITUTIONAL INTRUSION ON THE

SEPARATE POWERS OF THE JUDICIAL

ET ES eee re TTT Tere Tee eee 6

A. The Constitution Prohibits the Political

Departments from Acting to Prevent, or to

Inhibit, Article III Courts from Exercising

Their Province and Duty to Say What the

DOE ehicaddeweskUekbeeaneanseacea 6

B. The Rider Would Distort and Prevent the

Effective Functioning of the Adversary

System and Undermine the Ability of Courts

to Exercise Their Province and Duty to Say

WINE 4.54 0h 040k windceweuess 9

1. By Skewing the Adversary Process and

Forcing Courts to Decide Cases with a

Hamstrung Advocate on One Side,

Congress Violates the Separation of

EE Suck wae ee bbs heeS ook 0K 64:0 11

Page

2. Interpreting the Appropriations Rider to

Preclude or Inhibit Argument of

Constitutional and Statutory Issues

Prevents Courts from Performing Their

Actin TE UE, 6 akg bh oss ce des 15

0. APPLICATION OF THE GOVERNMENT’S

CONSTRUCTION TO CASES IN THE STATE

COURTS WOULD ALSO VIOLATE

PRINCIPLES OF FEDERALISM ........... 18

fl. THE APPROPRIATIONS RIDER SHOULD

NOT BE INTERPRETED TO BAR LEGAL

SERVICES LAWYERS FROM CLAIMING--

OR EVEN ARGUING--THAT A

PARTICULAR WELFARE RULE,

REGULATION, OR PROVISION IN A

WELFARE STATUTE IS

UNCONSTITUTIONAL OR CONTRARY TO

STATUEGGAS GHEE 65:6 eA ceo ener vb dee ces 19

A. The Government’s Interpretation Is Wrong. . 20

B. Under the Principles Set Forth by This Court

in Ashwander and Related Cases, the

Interpretation Given to the Appropriations

Rider by the Government Should Be

Pe re er ere eee 26

CUINCTARBUIN 00 0 céskcadunsienuse vaseveenees 29

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300 U.S.

ire kis oo o'x wien ow Eo bx acd a>

Alden v. Maine, 119 S. Ct. 2240 (1999) ...

American Trucking Assocs., Inc. v. EPA, 195

eo Se

Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 288 (1936)

Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817 (1977) .....

Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v. Virginia,

oo Gee ae ee

CFTC v. Schor, 478 U.S. 833 (1986) ......

Chevron v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837

RES TA ier er

Chandler v. Judicial Council of the Tenth

Circuit, 398 U.S. 74 (1970) ...........

City of Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507

ee ee a gait eer Uy iy b 4k. o 6.8

Rae ae

Commerce Bank of Kansas City, N.A. v.

Missouri Div. of Finance, 762 S.W.2d 431

a ba Wik oh ba 680 os

Commonwealth of Pennsylvania v. Brown,

260 F. Supp. 323 (E.D. Pa. 1966) ......

Crowell v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22 (1932) ....

Dickerson v. United States, No. 99-5525,

2000 WL 807223 (S.Ct., June 26, 2000) .

Page(s)

passim

iv

Page(s)

Flast v. Cohen, 392 U.S. 83 (1968) ....... 14

Gomez v. United States, 490 U.S. 858

Lape RST ae at re ere en ee 26

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991) .. 19

Gutierrez de Martinez v. Lamagno, 515 U.S.

ETN 56 ode SOR RS a 16

INS v. Chadha, 462 U.S. 919 (1983) ..... 7

Janklow v. Planned Parenthood, 517 U.S.

REPRE vi S45 haa ta ee Reka en 11

Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S. 589

TREE Tha ke cass eek OREO 12

Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S. 364 (1993) . 18

Loving v. United States, 517 U.S. 748 |

Se seh canta uke aun cies keadsne an 16, 17

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch)

og | a ee ee er ee ee passim

Muskrat v. United States, 219 U.S. 346

DNGE ce k ek Pics Ae ak ak 14

NEA v. Finley, 524 U.S. 569 (1998) ...... 10

O’Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488 (1974) .. 9,14

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405

A SEE 6 SHAS aha eea 17

Pittston Coal Group v. Sebben, 488 U.S. 105

PE cv Guanes akee ee eceke wees Kae 25

Planned Parenthood of Southeastern

Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833

Ree ane ere eee, re ter 10, 17

Plaut v. Spendthrift Farm, Inc., 514 U.S.

DOU CE 6h b4k 4s ee deere

Rose v. Mitchell, 443 U.S. 545 (1979) .....

Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) .....

Sanzone v. Board of Police, 592 A.24 912

CRM, ED 6 anc Nk 4 eeu ce oe eases

Schlesinger v. Reservists Comm. to Stop

the War, 418 U.S. 208 (1974) .........

Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S. 513 (1958) ...

State ex rel. Browne v. Hechler, 476 N.E. 2d

EEO: COE % 0c ba KKK Ra

Steffel v. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452 (1974) ..

United States v. Johnson, 319 U.S. 302

SEE sc. a Wat wkeuee ok cece

TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153 (1978) ........

United States v. Klein, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.)

SP CUTER 555540405 Cl Aaa e ees

United States v. National Treasury

Employees Union, 513 U.S. 454 (1995) ..

United States v. New York Tel. Co., 434 U.S.

Rae COPED 4.64404 408 nea

United States v. Sioux Nation, 448 U.S. 371

Ge 0:2 ck dae aba eee eee

Velazquez v. Legal Servs. Corp., 164 F.3d

Fat ee i ED kha Ede kom vckakes

Vimar Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A. v. M.V Sky

Reefer, 515 U.S. 528 (1995) ..........

Page(s)

6, 7,8

Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S. 259 (1981) ......

Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S. 592 (1988) .....

Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749 (1975) ..

Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414

i: rr i era heres

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

US. OO, AME via scek tees

Ve CE, FR BE a nk oe esas cerns

US. GE A dines ia

US, CE: PR Fe ook as ch eeeeeeseeans

Ce. Se SOE. Bas ee ccs conse

STATUTES

Omnibus Consolidated Rescissions and

Appropriations Act of 1996, Pub. L. No.

166-194, 1 SE TSSS vk kid cid nes cces

Omnibus Consolidated Rescissions and

Appropriations Act of 1996, Pub. L.

No. 104-134, § 503(3)(b), 110 Stat. 1321,

Laeee ik coe eae ee eee

Omnibus Consolid ted Rescissions and

Appropriations Act of 1996, Pub. L.

No. 104-134, § 504(a)(16), 110 Stat. 1321,

TIRING 60 6k kee ie ee ee a

Legal Services Corporation Act of 1974, 42

USL. Saree kkk ee aes

2

passim

18

4, 6, 27, 29

20

25

passim

}

|

|

42 U.S.C. §2996f(a)\(1) ...... 00.0 e cee 5

42 USC, §29090G) ..........000005%. 5

62 Fed. Reg. 30765-67 (June 5, 1997)

(codified at 45 C.F.R. Pt. 1639) ........ 3

OTHER AUTHORITIES

73 Am. Jur. 2d Statutes § 318 (1974) .....

The Federalist Papers (Clinton Rossiter

es SUE Suk eee eee es

Henry M. Hart, “The Power of Congress to

Limit the Jurisdiction of Federal Courts:

An Exercise in Dialectic”, 66 Harv. L.

AL, | a ee

Oliver Wendell Holmes, The Common Law

(Mark DeWolfe Howe ed., 1963).......

James S. Liebman & William R. Ryan,

“Some Effectual Power’: the Quantity

and Quality of Decisionmaking Required

of Article III Courts”, 98 Colum. L.

eg | Pere errr errr tree

Martin H. Redish, “Federal Judicial

Independence: Constitutional and Political

Perspectives”, 46 Mercer L. Rev. 697

COU a6 ead whee a eR KOS

i) eee errs Se re re

1 Charles Warren, The Supreme Court in

United States History (H. Johnston rev.

2 Pre ee re rt re

Transcript of President Clinton's Address to a

Joint Session of Congress, New York

Times, Feb. 18, 1993, at A20 ..........

21

6, 7, 17, 18

8, 16

12

15, 16, 18

21

13

STATEMENT OF INTEREST ,

Amicus curiae the American Judicature Society submits

this brief in support of Respondents.

Founded in 1913, the American Judicature Society is a

national, non-profit organization with members who are

judges, lawyers, and lay people dedicated to improving the

administration of justice. It is funded through members’ dues,

contributions, and grant funds for special projects. For 86

years, the Society has been the foremost national organization

speaking with a credible and independent voice on

administration of justice issues.

The Society’s mission includes promoting improvements

in the operation of the courts and building knowledge through

empirical research. The Society develops and sponsors

educational programs on the justice system for law students,

journalists, teachers, recent immigrants, jurors, and other

citizens. It publishes Judicature, a bi-monthly refereed journal

that contains articles on a wide range of court system issues,

including recent examinations of jury reform; social science,

the courts, and the law; judicial performance evaluations; and

the growing impact of the new genetics on the courts. Through

awards, such as the Herbert Harley Award, the Justice Award,

and the Toni House Award, the Society recognizes individuals

and groups for contributions to the justice system and

increasing public understanding of the administration of

justice.

The Society’s Center for Judicial Conduct Organizations

promotes the development of judicial discipline that is fair but

does not compromise judicial independence. The Elmo B.

Hunter Citizens Center for Judicial Selection promotes judicial

selection reform to ensure a bench of the highest quality.

The Society’s Center for Judicial Independence promotes

a judiciary that is free to issue fair and just rulings without

bowing to popular and political pressures. The Center focuses

2

attention on the proper role of the judiciary in relation to the

legislative and executive branches of government and responds

to the negative effects of misleading or politically motivated

attacks on the judiciary. The Center also conducts research and

produces publications that further the understanding of the

threats to, and opportunities for strengthening, the

independence of the judiciary. The Center develops

educational programs and materials to emphasize the

importance of an independent judiciary and sponsors various

public education and outreach programs.

Because of its historical and continuing commitment to

judicial independence and the effective administration of

justice, the Society respectfully asks this Court to consider the

following arguments: (1) that the restrictions placed on

arguments Legal Services Corporation attorneys can raise in

welfare cases are unconstitutional based on Separation of

Powers and federalism concerns; or (2) alternatively, that

Section 504(a)(16) of the Omnibus Consolidated Rescissions

and Appropriations Act of 1996 (“OCRAA”)' should be

construed to avoid the serious constitutional questions that

result from the Government’s proposed interpretation.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Amicus curiae relies on Respondents’ Statement.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

It is the unique “province and duty” of the judicial branch

to say “what the law is”. Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1

Cranch) 137, 177 (1803). The Separation of Powers between

the political branches acting under Articles I and II and the

judicial branch acting under Article II] is designed, among

other things, to preserve this prerogative. Congress may not

limit, or curb, the arguments--most importantly constitutional

' Pub. L. 104-134 § 504(a)(16), 110 Stat. 1321, 1321-55-56 (1996).

arguments--that courts may consider in deciding cases within

their jurisdiction.

This case involves Section 504(a)(16) of the OCRAA

(“the Appropriations Rider”). The Government interprets the

Rider to mean Legal Services lawyers are forbidden to claim--

or even to argue--that a particular welfare rule, regulation or

provision in a statute is either unconstitutional or contrary to

statutory law, including the governing welfare statute itself.

If the Rider means what the Government says it does (but see

Point III showing it does not), it would be an unconstitutional

violation of the Separation of Powers. (Point I.)

The Separation of Powers, and the protection it entails of

the judicial branch’s prerogative to “say what the law is”, has

* been a key part of our Constitution from inception. The

Government’s construction of the Appropriations Rider is

entirely antithetical to the role of the judicial branch in the

? In its brief, the LSC claims that the Rider prohibits “a lawyer’s

argument to a court [that] a welfare reform law is unconstitutional or

illegal”. Br. of LSC at 18. The United States similarly says the Rider

would forbid representation that would involve challenges to a welfare

statute on “meritorious constitutional grounds” or “statutory challenges”.

Br. of United States at 28, 30.

The LSC’s “final rule” on Section 504(a)(16) construed the Rider’s

ban on litigation involving “an effort to reform a federal or state welfare

system” to preclude litigation with respect to “rules or regulations enacted

as part of a reform of a welfare system”. 62 Fed. Reg. 30765-77 (June 5,

1997) (codified at 45 C.F.R. Pt. 1639). The LSC interpreted the ban on

suits for relief that would “amend or otherwise challenge” “existing law”

in the Rider’s proviso as relating to federal, state or local laws enacted “as

an effort to reform a welfare system”, or regulations promulgated

thereunder pursuant to notice and comment procedures. Jd at 30766.

(The LSC takes the position that agency policies may be challenged,

however. Id. at 30766 (Preamble to Final Rule); Br. of LSC at 7.)

For ease of reference, the interpretations above are referred to as the

“Government’s interpretation” or “Government’s construction”.

Separation of Powers. It skews the adversary system and

forces courts to decide cases with a hamstrung advocate on one

side. Under the Separation of Powers, Congress cannot make

a law that inhibits courts from carrying out their duty to

evaluate statutes in light of the Constitution, which is the

supreme law of the land. Nor can they hamper courts in

determining whether statutes comport with one another.

(Point I.)

The Government’s construction of the Appropriations

Rider as applied to the state courts also contravenes settled

principles of federalism. (Point II.)

The constitutional questions can be avoided. The

Government’s construction of the Appropriations Rider is

wrong or, at the least, so dubious that it should be rejected so

as to avoid the resulting “serious doubt of constitutionality” on

First Amendment, Separation of Powers and federalism

grounds. Ashwander v. TVA, 297 U.S. 288, 345-356 (1936)

(Brandeis, J., concurring). (Point III.)

The Appropriations Rider prohibits a Legal Services

lawyer from engaging in “litigation, lobbying, or rulemaking”

that involves an “effort to reform” a Federal or State welfare

“system”. Pub. L. 104-134, 504(a)(16), 110 Stat 1321-55-56.

The plain meaning of this basic prohibition against “effort[s]

to reform” a welfare “system” does not prohibit attempts to

assure compliance with law, including the Constitution under

Marbury.

The Rider’s basic prohibition against “effort[s] to reform”

a welfare “system” is followed by a proviso stating that the

prohibition does not preclude a lawyer funded by the Legal

Services Corporation (the “LSC”) under the Legal Services

Corporation Act’ (“LSC Act”) from “seeking” “specific relief”

from a welfare agency, if “such relief’does not involve:

“an effort to amend or otherwise challenge existing

es

The Rider thus prohibits “effort[s] to reform” a welfare

“system”. It expressly allows suits for “specific relief’ where

such relief would not “amend or otherwise challenge” existing

law. Properly understood, these restrictions limit only legal

action that would have the effect of systemwide change.

Nothing in the Rider, therefore, should be understood to

prohibit any particular arguments in support of claims that do

not attempt to “reform” a welfare “system”. This

understanding of the Rider not only obeys its language, but

would also be faithful to the language and intent of the Legal

Services Corporation Act itself. The LSC’s interpretation of

the Rider (i.e. that it bans constitutional and statutory

arguments), therefore, is wrong. (Point IIIA.)

An additional defect plagues the Government’s extension

of its reading to preclude contentions that a welfare rule,

regulation or provision in a statute is unconstitutional. Under

our system, when courts Consider constitutional claims, they

are ensuring compliance with law--not “reforming” or

“challenging” it. Congress should not be assumed to have

perversely singled out constitutional contentions as beyond the

pale unless it spoke with clarity. Cf Webster v. Doe, 486 U.S.

> 42 U.S.C. § 2996 et. seq (1974).

* As set forth at greater length in Part I of the brief of amici curiae

New York State Bar Association et al., the LSC Act mandates that Legal

Services lawyers should perform their duties according to the “highest”

quality of professional standards, 42 U.S.C. § 2996f(a)(1), with “full

freedom to protect the best interests of their clients in keeping with the

Code of Professional Responsibility, the Canons of Ethics, and the. . .

standards of the legal profession”, id. § 2996(6), and that the LSC should

“Insure” “protection of the . . . adversary process from any impairment in

furnishing legal assistance to eligible clients”. Id. § 2996f(a)(1).

592, 603 (1988); Weinberger v. Salfi, 422 U.S. 749, 765

(1975). This it surely did not do.

However, even if the Rider could be seen as ambiguous,

under Ashwander, in order to avoid serious problems under the

Separation of Powers (this brief), and the First Amendment

(Respondents’ brief), as well as conflicts with the LSC Act’s

provisions on ethics (amicus brief of New York State Bar

Association et al.), the Rider should not be construed to

prohibit claims--and certainly not arguments--by Legai

Services lawyers that are intended to assure compliance with

the Constitution and other governing law. (Point III B.)

ARGUMENT

I. AS CONSTRUED BY THE GOVERNMENT, THE

CONSTRAINTS PLACED ON THE ADVERSARIAL

PROCESS IN WELFARE CASES RESULT IN AN

UNCONSTITUTIONAL INTRUSION ON THE

SEPARATE POWERS OF THE JUDICIAL

BRANCH.

A. The Constitution Prohibits the Political

Departments from Acting to Prevent, or to Inhibit,

Article II Courts from Exercising Their Province

and Duty to Say What the Law Is.

During colonial times and the era of the Articles of

Confederation, legislatures commonly usurped the powers and

ability of courts to decide cases. See Plaut v. Spendthrift

Farm, Inc., 514 U.S. 211, 219 (1995). See also The Federalist

No. 48, at 311 (James Madison) (Clinton Rossiter ed., 1961)

(discussing the need for Separation of Powers because some

colonial legislatures had “decided rights which should have

been left to judiciary controversy”). The distinctions between

legislative, executive and judicial power were blurred--and the

separate and distinct powers of courts were often plucked away

by legislatures. Thus,

“[t]he Framers of our Constitution lived among the ruins

of a system of intermingled legislative and judicial

powers, which had been prevalent in the colonies long

before the Revolution, and which after the Revolution had

produced factional strife and partisan oppression”. Plaut,

514 US. at 219.

A sense of “sharp necessity to separate the legislative from the

judicial power” “triumphed among the Framers of the New

Federal Constitution”. /d. at221. See also INS v. Chadha, 462

U.S. 919, 961 (1983) (Powell, J., concurring).

As explained in the Federalist Papers, the Judicial Branch

was, “from the nature of its functions”, “least dangerous to the

political rights of the Constitution”. See Plaut, 514 U.S. at 223

(quoting The Federalist No. 78, at 465 (Alexander Hamilton)).

The judicial branch, “beyond comparison the weakest .. .

department”, with “no influence over either the sword or the

purse”, was recognized as uniquely vulnerable to incursions

from the other two departments. Hence, “all possible care”

should be taken to guard the judiciary against “attacks” by its

coordinate branches. The Federalist No. 78 at 465-66.

Fundamental to the Separation of Powers is that Congress

cannot require Article III courts to consider and enforce laws

without being able to evaluate the constitutional validity of

those laws. If Marbury means anything, it is that in deciding

cases, courts cannot be compelled to “close their eyes to the

Constitution”. Marbury, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) at 178.

Time and again, this Court has resisted the notion that

Congress can recognize jurisdiction, yet at the same time limit

the arguments courts can hear, especially when the forbidden

arguments are constitutional ones. See Marbury, supra; see

also infra pp. 15-18. After United States v. Klein, 80 U.S. (13

Wall.) 128, 146-47 (1871), it is a Separation of Powers truism

that Congress may not interfere with the decision making

process of the courts by dispensing with judicial review when

the Constitution is at stake. See also Plaut, 514 U.S. at 218,

225; Chandler v. Judicial Council of the Tenth Circuit, 398

U.S. 74, 84 (1970) (acknowledging “the imperative need for

total and absolute independence of judges in deciding cases or

in any phase of the decisional function”); see also Henry M.

Hart, Jr., “The Power of Congress to Limit the Jurisdiction of

Federal Courts: An Exercise in Dialectic”, 66 Harv. L. Rev.

1362, 1373 (1953) (Article II prevents Congress from telling

courts how to decide); Martin H. Redish, “Federal Judicial

Independence: Constitutional and Political Perspectives”, 46

Mercer L. Rev. 697, 707 (1995) (“[D]ecisional independence

is the sine qua non of the federal judiciary’s operation”’).

This Court applied the decisional independence principle

in Klein, invalidating an attempt by Congress to limit this

Court’s ability to apply the Constitution according to its own

interpretation. Yakus v. United States, 321 U.S. 414 (1944), is

to like effect. There, this Court upheld a statutory scheme that

limited the arguments courts could hear in criminal cases. But

judicial acceptance of that limitation turned on the Court’s

confidence that those important constitutional claims would

ultimately be heard by a court competent to decide them.

See Hart, 66 Harv. L. Rev. at 1380. Here, there is no such

alternative, uncompromised forum.

Similarly, Congress violates the Separation of Powers

when it legislates in a way that immunizes its legislation from

judicial review, or puts a thumb on its side of the scale in

litigation.* Congress’ job is to enact laws consistent with the

Constitution. It unconstitutionally aggrandizes its own power

* See Klein, 80 U.S. (13 Wall.) at 147-48 (Congress cannot weight

decision toward itself in cases where it is a party). Cf United States v.

Sioux Nation of Indians, 448 U.S. 371 (1980) (no Separation of Powers

problem where Congress exposed itself to liability).

Fe ee ee

9

when it passes laws and at the same time seeks to limit

constitutional review of those laws.

Congress could not forbid courts to consider constitutional

or statutory arguments when a Legal Services lawyer

represents a plaintiff in a welfare case over which the courts

have jurisdiction. Likewise, interference by Congress with the

adversary system so as to alter the judicial process and

substantially increase the likelihood that constitutional ‘and

statutory issues will be purged from welfare cases (see Point B

below) violates the Separation of Powers.

If the Government’s construction of the Appropriations

Rider is correct, it would drive a wedge between court and

counsel in a manner that degrades the courts’ ability to perform

their constitutional function. Just as Congress cannot require

courts to turn a blind eye to the Constitution or to governing

Statutes, so it cannot render courts deaf to constitutional or

Statutory arguments by choking off a lawyer’s voice to

articulate them.

B. The Rider Would Distort and Prevent the

Effective Functioning of the Adversary System

and Undermine the Ability of Courts to Exercise

Their Province and Duty to Say What the Law Is.

The Government’s construction of the Rider wreaks havoc

with the adversary system on which the effective exercise of

the judicial power “largely depends”.® This undermines and

distorts the courts’ province and duty of finding and saying

what the law is.

In the mid-1990s, welfare “as we have known it” was

pronounced dead.’ In Congress, and in the states--some on

* O'Shea v. Littleton, 414 U.S. 488, 494 (1974) (internal quotation

omitted).

” Transcript of President Clinton’s Address to a Joint Session of

Congress, New York Times, Feb. 18, 1993, at A20.

10

their own initiative and then all in response to the mandates of

Congress--complex new welfare rules and regulations were

enacted.

When it passed the Appropriations Rider, Congress

reaffirmed its commitment to federal funding of legal services

and recognized federally-funded lawyers would be necessary

to help indigent persons cope with the complex new

regulations and assure consistent enforcement. Accordingly,

Congress authorized Legal Services lawyers to help implement

the new rules by representing indigent litigants in court to seek

payment under the new laws and regulations. However,

according to the Government’s interpretation, Congress, at the

same time, forbade Legal Services lawyers to contend to a

court that a rule, regulation, or provision in a statute is

inconsistent with a state constitution, a statutory provision, or

the United States Constitution.®

8 Given that this is the Government’s own construction, see Br. of

United States at 26-30, it is perplexing that petitioner United States

characterizes the Rider’s constitutional defects as somehow “hypothetical”

and resistant to facial challenge. Jd at 28 n.12. As framed by the

Government, every instance of Legal Services representation will require

a continuing search for constitutional or statutory issues, followed by a

possible denial or termination of representation if they arise, and then an

(often fruitless) search for substitute counsel. Indeed, the Legal Services

attorney for respondent Carmen Velazquez experienced firsthand the

ethical bite of the Government’s interpretation of the Rider in being forced

to resign from ongoing representation and leave a client to languish

without benefits. Br. of Respondents at 3. Ms. Velazquez’s inability to

find substitute counsel is no less concrete, id, nor is the dearth of

alternatives to Legal Services representation nationwide.

This is a far cry from NEA v. Finley, 524 U.S. 569, 583-84 (1998),

cited by the United States, where the facial challenge depended on the

remote possibility that an agency might, in the future, manipulate

subjective criteria in a viewpoint-discriminatory fashion. In contrast, the

Government’s interpretation places a “substantial obstacle” in the way of

a “large fraction” of cases, Planned Parenthood of Southeastern

Pennsylvania v. Casey, 505 U.S. 833, 895 (1992); therefore, a facial

challenge is entirely appropriate. See also City of Chicago v. Morales, 527

11

1. By Skewing the Adversary Process and

Forcing Courts to Decide Cases with a

Hamstrung Advocate on One Side, Congress

Violates the Separation of Powers.

The vast majority of welfare cases will be brought by

Legal Services lawyers. (The blithe assumption of the dissent

below and the Government’s brief that other counsel can

readily be found is wrong’.) It is the most basic litigation

reality that, operating under the Government’s rule, courts will

not be able to perform their constitutional function because

they will have to do so without the uncompromised assistance

of lawyers upon which our adversary system of justice

depends. The Government and the dissent say this will not be

the case. But lawyers who litigate cases, and judges, who

regularly hear them, understand how litigation operates and

why the Government’s imaginary world cannot be.

As any practicing lawyer, or judge, would attest based

upon life experience, the potential issues in cases do not appear

in sharp focus, or in many instances at all, when the client first

seeks legal assistance; indeed, issues sometimes surface for the

first time long after a case begins, even when the case comes

before this Court. Indigent clients retain Legal Services

lawyers to bring welfare cases seeking money or other welfare

benefits because they are sick, hungry, homeless, jobless, or in

need of childcare--not because they wish to raise some

~ ~ULS. 41, 55 n.22 (1999) (stating that facial challenge does not require

proof that no set of circumstances exists under which statute would be

valid); Janklow v. Planned Parenthood, 517 U.S. 1174, 1175 (1996)

(Stevens, J., in support of denial of certiorari) (same).

* As Part Il of the brief of amici curiae New York State Bar

Association et al. demonstrates, it is pure fantasy to imagine that lawyers

will materialize to take up the cause of welfare claimants seeking benefits

(under statutes recognized by the Government itself to be complex) if

Legal Services lawyers cannot represent them. For millions of poor

Americans, the “choice” of a welfare representative is brutally simple: a

Legal Services lawyer, or no lawyer at all.

12

landmark legal issue. Again, the blithe assumption of the

dissent below and the Government’s briefs that all

constitutional and statutory issues will be spotted at the outset

is inconsistent with experience--and “the life of the law . . . has

> 10

been experience”.

Even if the possibility of a prohibited issue is spotted at

the outset, the Legal Services lawyer and the client will often

be pressed to forego the prohibited contention and proceed

without it, to the detriment of both court and client. This is so

because, as shown in the accompanying amicus brief of New

York State Bar Association ef al., other counsel will often not

be available, and lawyer and client will realize the client will

be better served with a skilled lawyer than by the client pro se

--albeit at the cost of a valuable issue.'! Thus, in a situation

where the lawyer sees a contention that the Government says

can be raised, and a constitutional or statutory contention that

the Government says is barred, the lawyer would be under

pressure to press the first contention and abandon the second.

That would permit the Government to dictate its opponent’s

litigation strategy and destroy the “genuine” adversity that

justiciability requires. Cf United States v. Johnson, 319 U.S.

302, 304-05 (1943) (for one party to “dominate” a dispute

destroys the “‘honest and actual antagonistic assertion of

rights’” “essential to the integrity of the judicial process”)

(citations omitted).

© Oliver Wendell Holmes, Jr., The Common Law 5 (Mark DeWolfe

Howe ed. 1963).

'! Moreover, unless the Government’s construction is rejected, those

at risk of being sanctioned and losing the funding that keeps their

organizations in existence will “steer far wider of the unlawful zone” and

thereby further silence valuable speech about legitimate constitutional and

statutory issues. Keyishian v. Board of Regents of the Univ. of the State

of N.Y., 385 U.S. 589, 604 (1967) (quoting Speiser v. Randall, 357 U.S.

513, 526 (1958)).

‘

i

;

;

'

}

1

13

The supposed Congressional ukase, subjecting the courts

to a hamstrung lawyer on the plaintiff's side, forces courts into

positions irreconcilable with their constitutionally recognized

role and corrodes their Article III powers. A court may itself

neglect or miss the possible constitutional and statutory issues

because they are not raised. Or a court may assume (at the

peril of constitutional government) that since a Legal Services

lawyer has appeared, any statutory or constitutional issues have

been conceded.!?

Another possibility is that the court, knowing the Legal

Services lawyer before it is hamstrung, will raise the prohibited

Statutory or constitutional issues with the parties sua sponte

(with only one side able to comment), or consider the issues on

its own. But courts cannot be forced by Congress to address

important, complicated, and often previously unexamined

issues without the benefit of full briefing--or with one-sided

briefing. See Bounds v. Smith, 430 U.S. 817, 826 (1977)

(“Even the most dedicated trial judges are bound to overlook

meritorious cases without the benefit of an adversary

presentation”.); Schlesinger v. Reservists Comm. to Stop the

War, 418 U.S. 208, 221 (1974) (“[A] court must rely on the

parties’ treatment of the facts and claims before it to develop

its rules of law”.). Rulings produced from this skewed process

are more likely to be wrong; and such a process is utterly

inconsistent with the jurisprudential safeguards stemming from

the case or controversy requirement.!*

'2 Ofcourse this would be wrong because, as shown above, the issue

might not have been recognized yet or it might have been sacrificed by a

calculus that, if forced to choose, it is preferable to press the non-

prohibited issue and abandon the issue the Government has taken off the

table.

'? From its earliest days, this Court has required adversaries on both

sides in Article III courts. The Constitution itself requires that there be a

“case” or “controversy” before the “judicial power” can be invoked. One

of this Court’s first acts was the unanimous denial of a request for an

advisory opinion. See 1 Charles Warren, The Supreme Court in United

14

Still another unrealistic assumption is that it is only the

Legal Services lawyer who will initially conceive of a

constitutional or statutory issue, either when first discussing the

matter with the client or in the midst of the litigation.

The government defendant may place statutory questions

squarely at issue in defense to whatever the welfare client is

arguing. Under the Government’s interpretation, the Legal

Services lawyer would then have to delay the progress being

made toward vindication of the client’s rights, interrupt the

case, and cast about for another lawyer who would be free to

counter the government’s argument. Or, if unsuccessful in

this, just turn to the court and say: “You figure it out”.

Similarly, the court may raise statutory or constitutional

questions as it considers other points the parties have raised.

‘What is a Legal Services lawyer to do if, during an argument,

a judge at trial, or on appeal, asks whether the government’s

position violates the Constitution or is inconsistent with a

statute, including the governing welfare statute? Should the

lawyer say: “I decline to answer on the ground it may cost my

employer its LSC funding”? Or: “Please interrupt the

States History 486-89 (H. Johnston rev. ed. 1926).

The term “case” “implies the existence of present or possible adverse

parties, whose contentions are submitted to the court for adjudication”.

Muskrat v. United States, 219 U.S. 346, 357 (1911). See also Flast v.

Cohen, 392 U.S. 83, 94-101 (1968); Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Haworth, 300

U.S. 227, 242 (1937) (stating case is justiciable where there is “a dispute

between parties who face each other in an adversary proceeding”).

It is understood that both the effective operations of courts and

fairness to litigants (particularly litigants whose special needs are

recognized by the Legal Services Corporation Act) require lawyers fully

armed with all potential arguments. Lawyers sharpen the “presentation of

issues upon which the court so largely depends for illumination of difficult

... questions”. O’Shea, 414 U.S. at 494 (internal quotation omitted). For

“fljaymen cannot be expected to know how to protect their nghts when

dealing with practiced and carefully counseled adversaries”. Brotherhood

of R.R. Trainmen v. Virginia, 377 U.S. 1, 7 (1964).

15

proceedings--and thereby delay vindication of my client’s

rights on the matters already being litigated--so that somebody

can try--often fruitlessly--to come up with another lawyer who

will appear to answer your question”?

If the Government’s interpretation stands, courts will be

confronted with a fully armed Government lawyer on one side

of welfare cases, and a Legal Services lawyer with one arm

tied behind his or her back on the other. There is decided

impropriety in Congress subjecting courts to a contest between

half a lawyer and a fully equipped lawyer--indeed a lawyer

representing powerful governments whose own rules and

regulations are before the court. There may be times when

playing by Marquis of Queensberry rules is unnecessary, but

litigation in which constitutional issues are at stake is not on

of them. |

2. Interpreting the Appropriations Rider to

Preclude or Inhibit Argument of

Constitutional and Statutory Issues Prevents

Courts from Performing Their Article I

Function.

A fundamental tenet of our constitutional system is that

Congress cannot prevent courts outright from deciding

constitutional issues in cases within their jurisdiction. See,

e.g., Marbury, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) at 176-78; James S.

Liebman & William R. Ryan, “‘Some Effectual Power’: the

Quantity and Quality of Decisionmaking Required of Article III

Courts”, 98 Colum. L. Rev. 696, 829 (1998). Within the

tripartite division of constitutional powers,

“i]t is one thing for Congress to withhold jurisdiction. It

is entirely another to confer it and direct that it must be

exercised in a manner inconsistent with constitutional

requirements or, what in some instances may be the same

16

thing, without regard to them”. Yakus, 321 U.S. at 468

(Rutledge, J., dissenting) (emphasis added).'*

Logic dictates the same reasoning must bar the legislature from

polluting the judicial process by subjecting courts to half-

arguments that ignore the supreme law.

The Government’s construction of the Appropriations

Rider forces courts to decide cases where the lawyer for an

indigent plaintiff has one arm tied behind his or her back.

Because lawyers are the primary vehicle for adversary

development of issues before the court, the Government’s

interpretation eviscerates judicial consideration of

constitutional issues in cases brought by Legal Services

lawyers. For Congress to hamper the judiciary’s functioning

in precisely the cases and controversies that are its “province”

and “duty” to decide violates the Separation of Powers.

Congress cannot constitutionally ask the courts to pass over--or

even attempt to guarantee that they overlook--legislative

enactments that are contrary to law. See Marbury, 5 U.S. (1

Cranch) at 177-78; Dickerson v. United States, No. 99-5525,

2000 WL 807223, at *6, (S.Ct., June 26, 2000) (citing City of

Boerne v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507, 517-521 (1997)). Assuming

Congress can bar Legal Services lawyers from bringing certain

kinds of cases, what it cannot do is put Legal Services lawyers

into cases and then (if the Government’s interpretation is

accepted) bar them from making claims--or even arguments--

based upon the Constitution or statutory law.

Separation of Powers requires one branch not undermine

or impair the performance of another. See CFTC v. Schor, 478

U.S. 833, 851 (1986); Loving v. United States, 517 U.S. 748,

757 (1996) (“Even when a branch does not arrogate power to

'* Though Justice Rutledge wrote in dissent, “[this] Court, the

canonical literature, and Congress have treated Rutledge’s statement as

authoritative”. Liebman, 98 Colum. L. Rev. at 829. See, e.g., Sioux

Nation, 448 U.S. at 392; Hart, 66 Harv. L. Rev. at 1373; see also Gutierrez

de Martinez v. Lamagno, 515 U.S. 417, 430 (1995).

ia at

17

itself, moreover, the separation-of-powers doctrine requires

that a branch not impair another in the performance of its

constitutional duties”) (citations omitted). Given that Loving

announced the non-impairment principle in the context of a

conflict between the executive and legislative branches, it

follows a fortiori that the rule applies with even greater force

in an interbranch collision involving the judicial branch, which

is “beyond comparison the weakest” department, Federalist

No. 78 at 465-66, and thus requires, if possible, still more

vigilance against encroachments by its coordinate branches.

When Congress skews the adversary process in its own

favor, or sets up court proceedings where a fully equipped

government lawyer is to do battle with a hamstrung lawyer, the

legitimacy of the courts--of the “judicial power” itself--is at

stake. Courts must “take care to speak and act in ways that

allow people to accept” their decisions. Casey, 505 U.S. at 865

(1992). They must guard against perceptions they have

presided over unjust proceedings, a perception that “destroys

the appearance of justice and thereby casts doubt on the

integrity of the judicial process”. Rose v. Mitchell, 443 US.

545, 556 (1979). “[{T]he rule of law implies equality and

justice in its application”. Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville,

405 U.S. 156, 171 (1972). If courts are forced to decide cases

where Congress has altered the balance between contending

parties and placed a thumb on the scales of justice in favor of

government-including the Federal government itself--a

perception of injustice is inevitable.

* * * *

All the erroneous assumptions about the conduct of

litigation inherent in the Government’s interpretation, as well

as all the harm to the courts and perversions of the adversary

system it entails, would be avoided if we are correct that the

Government’s interpretation of the Appropriations Rider is

wrong. (See Point II.)

18

But if the Government is right that the Rider broadly bars

all contentions regarding welfare rules, regulations, or statutory

provisions, and, indeed that Legal Services lawyers cannot

even make constitutional or statutory arguments in support of

a client’s request for the “specific relief’ of money or other

welfare benefits, then the Appropriations Rider is an

unconstitutional incursion on the Separate Powers of the

Judicial Branch.

fl. APPLICATION OF THE GOVERNMENT’S

CONSTRUCTION TO CASES IN THE STATE

COURTS WOULD ALSO VIOLATE PRIN‘ ‘PLES

OF FEDERALISM.

State courts, like federal courts, are bound to uphold the

Constitution of the United States and laws made in pursuance

thereof. U.S. Const. Art. VI (“This Constitution . . . shall be

the Supreme law of the land . . . and the Judges in every state

shall be bound thereby”). See Lockhart v. Fretwell, 506 U.S.

364, 375-76 (1993) (Thomas, J., concurring); Steffel v.

Thompson, 415 U.S. 452, 482, n.3 (1974) (Rehnquist, J.,

concurring); Liebman, 98 Colum. L. Rev. at 701. State courts

obviously also are vital to defining and upholding state

constitutions, laws, and regulations.

Under the Government’s interpretation of the Rider, even

if a sovereign state believes the contours of its welfare system

are best defined through full and free litigation in its state

courts--even if the state legislature so decrees and state

Governor so announces--Legal Services lawyers in those state

courts still cannot make the arguments deemed appropriate by

the entire mechanism of state government. Given the

“inviolable sovereignty” of the states,'* this Court should not

presume Congress intended to work such an interference with

state courts unless that intention is “unmistakably clear”. See

'S E.g., Alden v. Maine, 119 S.Ct. 2240, 2247 (1999) (quoting The

Federalist No. 39, at 245 (James Madison)).

19

Gregory v. Ashcroft, 501 U.S. 452, 460-62 (1991). Obviously,

the Rider fails for lack of such clarity.

If. THE APPROPRIATIONS RIDER SHOULD NOT BE

INTERPRETED TO BAR LEGAL SERVICES

LAWYERS FROM CLAIMING--OR EVEN

ARGUING--THAT A PARTICULAR WELFARE

RULE, REGULATION, OR PROVISION IN A

WELFARE STATUTE IS UNCONSTITUTIONAL

OR CONTRARY TO STATUTORY LAW.

The Government’s interpretation is wrong. It is

inconsistent with the language of the Appropriations Rider

itself. It would cause ludicrous and anomalous results in the

courts.

Careful examination of the Rider as a whole reveals that--

at most--it can be read to prohibit seeking certain broad-

ranging structural, or policy-based remedies--not contentions

that an individual welfare rule, regulation or provision in a

statute is either unconstitutional or contrary to statutory law,

including the governing welfare act itself. Moreover, the

proviso on which the Government relies limits only the type of

relief that may be sought. If the “specific relief” is for money

or other welfare benefits, there is no bar on making

constitutional or statutory arguments in support of that relief.

Thus, the proper reading of the Rider is one that allows all

claims that are not “‘effort[s] to reform” a welfare “system”,

and indeed authorizes all necessary and proper arguments on

behalf of individual clients in suits for specific relief.

The error of the Government’s interpretation is made even

clearer by two bedrock legal principles of this Court’s

constitutional jurisprudence: first, statutes should, if possible,

be construed to avoid constitutional questions, as well as

conflicts with other statutes; second, Congress should not be

assumed to have legislated to hamper courts’ ability to decide

cases within their jurisdiction, unless Congress’ intent to do so

is “clear”. No such clear intent is manifested here.

20

A. The Government’s Interpretation Is Wrong.

Public Law 104-134, passed by the 104th Congress in

April 1996 as an “Appropriations Act”, was said to be an Act

“making appropriations for the Departments of Commerce,

Justice and State, the Judiciary, and related agencies for the

fiscal year ending September 30, 1996, and for other

purposes”. Pub. L. No. 104-134, 110 Stat. 1321 (1996). The

Legal Services Corporation (the “LSC’’) is among the mynad

(89) departments, agencies, commissions, administrations,

offices, divisions, councils, institutes, programs, funds and

services for whom funds were appropriated by the Act.

Section 504 of the Appropriations Act placed substantive

limitations on the kinds of legal activities that can be

undertaken by persons or entities that receive LSC funds.

Subsection (a)(16) of Section 504 forbids any LSC funds

to be provided to an entity or person that:

“initiates legal representation or participates in any other

way, in litigation, lobbying, or rulemaking, involving an

effort to reform a Federal or State welfare system, except

that this paragraph shall not be construed to preclude a

recipient from representing an individual eligible client

who is seeking specific relief from a welfare agency if

such relief does not involve an effort to amend or

otherwise challenge existing law in effect on the date of

the initiation of the representation”.

In what follows, we refer to the language through “effort to

reform a Federal or State welfare system” as the basic

prohibition. The remainder is referred to as the proviso and its

exception.

The Rider’s basic prohibition is against an “effort to

reform a Federal or State welfare system” by means of

“litigation, lobbying, or rulemaking”. Whatever these words

mean, they certainly do not prevent a Legal Services lawyer

21

from contending that an individual rule, regulation or provision

of a welfare statute is either:

(1) inconsistent with the governing welfare statute or

another statute, or

(2) inconsistent with the Constitution.

Such arguments with regard to individual rules,

regulations, or statutory provisions are (1) not directed toward

“a welfare system”, and (2) are not “effort[s] to reform”. To

the contrary, they are efforts to assure compliance with the law.

Whatever is barred must be an “effort to reform” a Federal or

State welfare “system”. As the LSC’s brief recognizes, this

means “‘broad-ranging litigation”. Br. of LSC at 2.'° Thus,

the basic prohibition does not forbid a claim on behalf of an

individual client that a particular rule, regulation, or statutory

provision is illegal or unconstitutional. Indeed, it could never

be “reform” to require that a law conform to the Constitution;

that is simply the basic prerequisite for all laws under the

Supremacy Clause and Marbury.

Because the Rider is so limited to broad “effort[s] to

reform” a welfare “system”, the Government’s interpretation

is not saved by the proviso and exception to the proviso that

follow the basic prohibition.

As a matter both of logic and conventions in the

interpretation of statutes and other writings, the

proviso/exception cannot pump substance into the basic

provision that is not in the basic provision in the first place.

See 2A Sutherland Stat. Const. § 47.08 (Sth ed. 1991) (stating

that the purpose of provisos is to restrict the effect of the

existing statutory language to Jess than what its scope of

operation would be otherwise); 73 Am. Jur. 2d Statutes § 318

'* That the word “litigation” in the basic provision is linked with

“lobbying” and “rulemaking” further supports the conclusion that the basic

prohibition is directed at policy-oriented changes that attempt to “reform”

the welfare “system”.

22

(1974) (“The natural and appropriate office of a proviso is to

create a condition precedent; to except something from the

enacting clause; to limit, restrict, or qualify the statute in whole

or in part; or to exclude from the scope of the statute that

which otherwise would be within its terms”); Commonwealth

of Pennsylvania v. Brown, 260 F. Supp. 323, 350 (E.D. Pa.

1966) (provisos are “qualifiers, not nullifiers”); State ex rel.

Browne v. Hechler, 476 N.E. 2d 559, 561 (W.Va. 1996) (same

as Sutherland); Sanzone v. Board of Police, 592 A.2d 912,918

(Conn. 1991) (provisos “restrict” scope of a statute);

Commerce Bank of Kansas City, N.A. v. Missouri Div. of

Finance, 762 S.W.2d 431, 436-37 (Mo. App. 1988) (same as

Sutherland).

The basic prohibition forbids only “effort[s] to reform” a

welfare “system”; the rules of construction above demonstrate

that no proviso or exception can add conduct--such as making

non-systemic arguments--that would not “otherwise be within

its terms”. These points alone should trump the Government’s

interpretation.’”

In any event, though (as shown above) the Rider read as a

whole cannot mean what the Government says it does, it is also

true that the words of the proviso/exception looked at alone do

not support the Government’s interpretation. The language of

the proviso/exception, looked at alone, shows that, whatever

'7 The United States refers to the proviso and its exception as a “rule

of construction”. Br. of United States at 26. We agree to the extent that

the proviso and exception should be read as inseparable from--and having

no power to alter what is contained within—the basic prohibition against

“effort[s] to reform” a welfare “system”. Where we differ from the

Government is that we do not agree that a lawyer’s claim that a welfare

rule, regulation or provision in a statute is unconstitutional or illegal is an

“effort to reform” a welfare “system”. We also differ on the meaning of

the proviso/exception (when looked at alone). The Government says

constitutional and statutory arguments never can be made; we say that

such arguments can be made where the “specific relief” sought is for

money or other welfare benefits.

23

might be barred, it is not making particular arguments; rather,

what it may bar is seeking certain broad-ranging types of relief.

Thus, a Legal Services lawyer whose requested relief is for

money or other welfare benefits for the welfare client, is just

as free as any other lawyer to argue that the client is entitled to

that relief based upon some statutory or constitutional point.

The proviso/exception is, at most, barring the seeking of

relief, other than specific welfare benefits such as cash

benefits, job training or child care vouchers, for a client--for

example, contending that a state’s “welfare system” is so

flawed that a court should supervise a welfare department, or

seeking system-wide injunctive relief even without class

certification, or arguing that a state constitution’s social —

welfare provisions supersede welfare legislation entirely.'*

The words “amend or -otherwise challenge” in the

proviso/exception support the conclusion--drawn from the

words of the basic prohibition--that the Appropriations Rider

is not designed to prevent a claim on behalf of an individual

eligible client seeking to enforce governing law by showing a

particular welfare rule, regulation or provision in a statute

would be unconstitutional or illegal if it was construed to deny

benefits. Consistent with the basic prohibition against wide-

ranging, systemic reform, the proviso clarifies that what

remains prohibited--even under the exception for specific

relief--are challenges so broad-based to be tantamount to

“amend[ing]” existing law.

Another point based upon the words of the

proviso/exception arises from analyzing the Government’s

interpretation as applied separately to (i) statutory arguments,

and (ii) constitutional arguments.

As to statutory arguments, whatever the words “amend or

otherwise challenge” mean, they clearly should not prohibit a

'8 Of course, this understanding accords with the meaning of the

basic prohibition against “effort[s] to reform” a welfare “system”.

24

contention that a challenged rule, regulation or statutory

provision is inconsistent with the governing welfare statute or

with another statute. Indeed, such arguments would be “an

effort” to enforce (not to “amend or otherwise challenge’)

“existing law”.

If one accepts (based on the clear language of the Rider)

that arguments brought under the existing statutory law are

permissible, can the Government still contend that a Legal

Services lawyer is barred from claiming that the rule,

regulation or provision in a statute relied upon by the welfare

agency is inconsistent with the Constitution? This position

would be wrong for all the reasons set forth above and much

more. :

First, as we show in Part B below, Congress’ intent to

achieve such a strange prohibition, singling out constitutional

arguments as beyond the pale, must be “clear’’; it certainly is

not.

Second, the Government’s interpretation would produce

ludicrous and anomalous results in litigation. When faced with

a potentially unconstitutional rule or regulation, a traditional

argument to a court is that an adversary’s position should be

rejected so as to avoid a constitutional problem. Does the

Rider permit such constitutional avoidance arguments? The

Government has never said it does--and Legal Services lawyers

cannot risk the funding of their organizations by gainsaying the

Government’s desire to limit criticism.'? Such an interpretation

by the Government would be just an extreme example of its

error: arguments that by their very nature are intended to

assure compliance with the Constitution itself are banned as

“effort[s] to reform”.

'9 If, however, the Government announces that constitutional

avoidance arguments are permitted, even though a contention that a

challenged provision is in fact unconstitutional is barred, it would further

illustrate the illogical and inappropriate contortions caused by the

Government’s interpretation of the Rider.

25.

As shown above, the Government’s construction is

contrary to the language of the Rider.” The Government’s

erroneous construction is not saved by the LSC’s final rule

(supra note 2) for three reasons.

First, Congress did not expressly instruct the LSC to

promulgate regulations pursuant to Section 504(a), and the

regulations therefore are entitled to less. deference under

Chevron v. NRDC, Inc., 467 U.S. 837, 843 (1984), than

regulations promulgated pursuant to such express instructions

as appear elsewhere in the Rider. E.g., Sec. 503(3)(b)

(directing the agency to promulgate regulations to implement

a competitive selection process).

Second, the agency’s interpretation is not “reasonable”, as

required under Chevron, because its reading would be an

“affront to common English usage.” Jd. at 860. The words

“effort to reform a... system” do not connote in any way a

claim that a particular provision is unconstitutional or illegal.

Moreover, if Congress intended to depart so far from ordinary

usage and use “litigation . . . involving an effort” to denote

only government efforts, Congress could have so specified. Cf.

Pittston Coal Group. v. Sebben, 488 U.S. 105, 112-115 (1988)

(refusing to narrow term “criteria” in a statute to mean only

specific criteria).

But that is not what Congress did. Instead, the Rider

precludes lawyers from commencing litigation involving “an

effort” to reform a welfare system, which clearly refers to

efforts by the lawyer him-or-herself. Moreover, the

20 In evaluating the speech implications of the Government’s

construction, however, the decision below apparently accepted the

Government’s interpretation of the Rider. E.g., Velazquez v. Legal Servs.

Corp., 164 F.3d 757, 769 (2d Cir. 1999). The proper construction of the

Rider thus is squarely before the Court. (Indeed, it would be even if the

decision below had not reached this question, under, e.g., United States v.

New York Tel. Co., 434 U.S. 159, 166 n.8 (1977) (“[Tyhe prevailing party

may defend a judgment on any ground”)).

26

Government’s interpretation would not be harmonious with the

language of the proviso, which permits constitutional and

statutory arguments in suits for specific relief such as money

or welfare benefits.

Third--and most fundamentally--independent of the

problems that the agency’s interpretation creates under

Chevron itself, Chevron cannot save an _ otherwise

unconstitutional statutory construction. Even if two

interpretations were equally possible under Chevron, which is

not the case, Ashwander's principle of constitutional avoidance

nevertheless would direct this Court to choose the one free of

constitutional defects. See Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173, 191

(1991) (subjecting agency regulations to constitutional -

avoidance analysis); American Trucking Assocs., Inc. v. EPA,

195 F.3d 4, 14 (D.C. Cir. 1999) (Silberman, J., dissenting) (“In

other words, [after Rust], the constitutional avoidance canon

trumps Chevron deference”).

B. Under the Principles Set Forth by This Court in

Ashwander and Related Cases, the Interpretation

Given to the Appropriations Rider by the

Government Should Be Rejected.

As we have shown above, the Government’s interpretation

of the Appropriations Rider is wrong; it conflicts with the

language of the Rider itself. Nonetheless, should the Court

determine a question of statutory construction exists, under

Ashwander the statute should be construed, if possible, to avoid

the numerous constitutional problems identified by this brief

and the briefs of Respondents and other amici. For, “when the

validity of an act of Congress is drawn in question, and even if

a serious doubt of constitutionality is raised, it is a cardinal

principle that this Court will first ascertain whether a

construction of the statute is fairly possible by which the

question may be avoided”. 297 U.S. at 348 (quoting Crowell

v. Benson, 285 U.S. 22, 62 n.8 (1932)). See also Gomez v.

United States, 490 U.S. 858, 864 (1989); United States v.

- severest

27

National Treasury Employees Union, 513 U.S. 454, 478

(1995).

It undoubtedly is “possible” (indeed, correct, as we have

shown above) for the Court to construe the statute so as to

avoid the “serious constitutional issues” presented by the

Rider’s violation of the Separation of Powers, the First

Amendment, and principles of federalism. For that reason

alone, this Court should reject the Government’s interpretation

and read the statute to avoid the serious constitutional problems

that stem from the Government’s construction.”!

If Ashwander were not sufficient to doom the

Government’s interpretation (though it clearly is), the

Government’s construction would still be constitutionally

suspect based on the Rider’s lack of clarity in (as the

Government would have it) singling out constitutional claims

for suppression. Just as, “where Congress intends to preclude

judicial review of constitutional claims its intent to do so must

be clear”, Webster, 486 U.S. at 603; see also Weinberger, 422

U.S. at 765, Congress should not lightly be assumed to have

removed constitutional claims from judicial scrutiny by

silencing--for all practical purposes--the lawyers who can bring

them. The principle that a “serious constitutional question”

arises in the absence of a judicial forum for “colorable”

constitutional claims indicates that clear intent is required--as

it should be--before Congress will be taken to have intruded

upon the “province and duty” of the “weakest department”. Cf

Webster, 486 U.S. at 603-04 (limiting the. elimination of

21 In addition, the Court should reject the Government’s construction

of the Rider because it would cause conflicts with the ethical provisions

of the LSC Act, as set out in the accompanying amicus brief of New York

State Bar Association et al. and Brief of Respondents at 48-50. See Vimar

Seguros y Reaseguros, S.A. v. M/V Sky Reefer, 515 U.S. 528, 533 (1995)

(court should avoid conflict between statutes); Watt v. Alaska, 451 U.S.

259, 267 (1981) (same). This principle “applies with even greater force

when the claimed repeal rests [as here] solely on an Appropriations Act”.

TVA v. Hill, 437 U.S. 153, 190 (1978).

28

review only to those claims specifically listed in the statute and

narrowly tailored to its text); Weinberger, 422 U.S. at 762

(looking at “plain language” of statute for prohibition of

claims).

29

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, the Court should hold either (1) that

the Appropriations Rider is unconstitutional on Separation of

Powers and federalism grounds, as well as under the First

Amendment; or (2) that the Rider does not prohibit Legal

Services lawyers from making claims, or arguments, that a

particular welfare rule, regulation or statutory provision

violates the Constitution or statutory law.

Respectfully submitted,

Pd aa 4. a a 7

FREDERICK A. O. SCHWARZ, JR.

Counsel of Record

ALEXANDRA S. WALD

CRAVATH, SWAINE & MOORE”

Worldwide Plaza

825 Eighth Avenue

New York, New York 10019

(212) 474-1000

Attorneys for Amicus Curiae**

ty Kad Magna

JEAN REED HAYNES

PRESIDENT

AMERICAN JUDICATURE SOCIETY

180 North Michigan Avenue

Suite 600

Chicago, Illinois 60601

(312) 558-6900

* MariaSole Palma, a second year law student working at Cravath,

assisted in preparation of this brief.

** As required by Sup. Ct. R 37(6), we state that this brief was not

authored by counsel for any party. -

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Amicus Curiae Brief — Legal Services Corp. v. Velazquez · 529 U.S. 1052 | Frix