Reply Brief — Legal Services Corp. v. Velazquez
Supreme Court brief2000
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
i
eupreme Court 17
IN THE AUG 17 2000
reme Court of the Ani Stites:
— the Anite eietes
LEGAL SERVICES CORPORATION,
Petitioner,
ne | Jeno
CARMEN VELAZQUEZ, et al.,
Respondents.
SALE <p>.
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
|
CARMEN VELAZQUEZ, et al.,
Respondents.
ON WRITS OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES
COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
REPLY BRIEF FOR PETITIONER
LEGAL SERVICES CORPORATION
ALAN LEVINE
Counsel of Record
STEPHEN L. ASCHER
STEPHEN A. WIEDER
KRONISH LIEB WEINER
& HELLMAN LLP
1114 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
(212) 479-6000
Counsel for Petitioner
Legal Services Corporation
TABLE OF CONTENTS
| PAGE
| We Oy I eos ocicdcie Adee cicie sk iii
: Preliminary Statement ........................... ]
cian, uci ECT OET EOP TE 3
l
A. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation
} Does Not Exclude Welfare Claimants
from a Public Forum Based on their
PO co dares ceeds 3
1. The LSC Program Is Not a Public
oo Re eee ae 3
2. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation
Does Not Discriminate Against
Any Particular Viewpoint.......... 5
3. Respondents Do Not Identify a
Coherent Speaker for Purposes
of the First Amendment............ 7
B. The Suit-For-Benefits Limitation
Does Not Violate the Associational
Rights of Welfare Claimants and LSC
chee tt ce aek foe 8
C. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation
Does Not Prevent Welfare Claimants
from Challenging the Welfare Laws.... 13
D. LSC’s Program Integrity Regulations
Do Not Violate LSC Grantees’ First .
A mpemGmneet TAGS oie 6 ics sev sancasceewn 16
CONCLUSION ..sccancccessaeninuses anes 20
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases PAGE
Arkansas Education Television Com’n v.
Forbes, 523 U.S. 666 (1998) .............05. 4
Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132 (1982)............. 6, 10
Califano v. Westcott, 443 U.S. 76 (1979)........ 10
City of Ladue v. Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994) ..... 16
City of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing
Ee ae | Oe 16
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970).......... 10, 13
King v. Smith, 392 U.S. 309 (1968).............. 6, 11
McCoy v. Department of Health & Welfare,
er oe 8 UD CEGOMO 1993S) 2.00.6 cece cccsesss 6, 11
NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S. 415 (1963).......... 9
National Endowment for the Arts v. Finely,
ek Re Ek | ee 3-4, 5
Niemotko v. State of Maryland, 340 U.S. 268
Se es a SC iy pias a eh vs 17
Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973) ......... 13-14
Regan v. Taxation with Representation,
Pcie PE COD oo it diene cevsscvedanseees 17
Reno v. ACLU, 521 U.S. 844 (1997) ............. 16
Rist v. Missouri State Division of Family
Services, 595 S.W.2d 783 (Mo. Ct. App.
ETS a aR Ce 11
Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of the
University of Virginia, 515 U.S. 819
to | Peepereres PPT ere er Tre er er or a ee
Rust v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) ........... passim
Schneider v. State of New Jersey, 308 U.S. 147
CUE Cacacadneaedan buceeeskiee ci savenn chee 17
Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618 (1969)....... 10-11
Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, Ala., |
FO Wises PE CR ab skids sce ndaucasabnais 17
Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521 (1990) ......... 6, 10
Walters v. National Association of Radiation
Survivors, 473 U.S. 305 (1985)........... 5, 14, 18
Webster v. Reproductive Health Services,
a i Oe. pre ete re err rrEe 14
Statutes, Regulations and Legislative History
42 U.3.0. § GUUS) (AGB.1GGG) on cidcccccscsacssas 18
BD 6 Be BU CAGED oko ck cn cicntndectasua 17
ee ee Ee. 2 2 ee ree eer ee 1]
SS CP. FICSF RO) CIFPT) oo once cacsviccasckees 1]
oe MO, OD. PORTIS COP O conc vc ceed ceasnuae neds 19
PAGE
Other Authorities
ABA Comm. On Ethics and Professional
Responsibility, Formal Op. 96-399
(PWNS costdekivaccdsvseean ieee 8, 11, 12-13
Legal Services Corporation, 1996 Facts......... 10
Legal Services Corporation, 1997 Annual
ONOER, 5 occ ic beuececcadesiaes eee eee 10
Legal Services Corporation, 1998 Fact Book
and Program Information.................... 10
Legal Services Corporation, Serving the
Civil Legal Needs of Low-Income
Americans, A Special Report to
COU G0GES CAETE Dik a chad kkes corseusas 10
National Center on Poverty Law Website,
<http://www.povertylaw.org/aboutncls/
WHAWOEE ROD «5.5: sixiakascobacd cee 15
Preliminary Statement!
Respondents face a heavy task on their facial chal-
lenge to the suit-for-benefits limitation: establishing that
the government’s decision not to subsidize lawsuits chal-
lenging existing welfare law violates welfare claimants’
constitutional rights, in all instances and under any
circumstances. To carry this burden, Respondents char-
acterize the suit-for-benefits limitation as “totalitarian,”
supposedly “the most egregious violation of viewpoint
neutrality to have come before the Court in recent
years.” Resp. Br. at 14, 32.
Respondents are simply wrong, however, when they
brand the limitation a “self-interested” attempt by “the
government” to insulate its own laws from constitutional
challenge. The welfare laws are not the work of a mono-
lithic “government.” Although the suit-for-benefits lim-
itation was enacted by Congress, the limitation removes
funding from challenges to federal, state and local reg-
ulations, and state statutes, as well as Congress’s own
handiwork. Thus, the suit-for-benefits limitation does
not protect Congress’s viewpoint; it removes funding
from cases that allege contradictions between laws pro-
mulgated by different political bodies. Congress has
validly decided not to subsidize this discrete category of
controversial, politicized, and, presumably, expensive
cases.
In reply, Respondents insist that LSC lawyers cannot
determine, at the outset of a case, whether to assert
claims challenging existing law. Based on this assump-
tion, Respondents hypothesize a series of ethical dilem-
mas that face LSC lawyers who discover a challenge to
. We cite Respondents’ brief as “Resp. Br.,” and the briefs filed
on behalf of the various amici curiae as “NYSBA Br.,” “ACLU | gs
and “AJS Br.” All case and record citations are as in LSC’s initia]
brief (“LSC Br.”).
2
existing law in the midst of an ongoing suit for benefits.
.-Respondents thus contend that the limitation does not
divert cases from the LSC program, but instead dictates
the arguments LSC lawyers can make within cases,
thereby disrupting lawyer-client relationships and muz-
zling speech in the courtroom.
This parade of horribles is disproven by a single fact:
Since enactment of the suit-for-benefits limitation, LSC
lawyers have handled thousands of benefits matters. Not
one of these lawyers is before the Court alleging that a
challenge to a welfare law materialized during a lawsuit,
leaving the lawyer in an ethical quandary. This is not
surprising; although the nature of a factual claim will
often evolve during the litigation process, it should ordi-
narily be clear at the outset of a litigation whether to
contend that the text of one law violates the provisions
of some higher law.
At bottom, Respondents are contending that since no
other lawyers are available to test the validity of welfare
reform laws, the suit-for-benefits limitation effectively
prevents any challengés to those laws. This contention is
legally irrelevant; the government has no obligation to
subsidize the exercise of a right, even if individuals
would be unable to exercise that right without the gov-
ernment’s assistance. This contention is also untenable;
much of the cutting edge welfare litigation excluded
from the LSC program will likely be handled by non-
LSC legal aid organizations, private lawyers, and bar
associations.
Granted, some welfare claimants may be unable to find
a lawyer to assert challenges to the welfare laws. But
other types of litigation for the indigent are also under-
funded. Allocating the federal subsidy between these
different types of cases is the prerogative of Congress,
not of the lawyers whose work Congress subsidizes.
For these reasons, the court of appeals’ invalidation of
the suit-for-benefits limitation should be reversed.
ARGUMENT
A. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation Does Not
Exclude Welfare Claimants from a Public Forum
Based on their Viewpoint
Although Respondents try to defend the court of
appeals’ analogy to Rosenberger v. Rector & Visitors of
the University of Virginia, 515 U.S. 819 (1995), Respon-
dents’ reply papers suffer from the same three flaws as
the court of appeals’ opinion.
1. The LSC Program Is Not a Public Forum
Rather than satisfy the crucial “public forum” element
of Rosenberger, Respondents downplay it, contending
that the government must be viewpoint-neutral whenever
it subsidizes a private speaker’s speech, rather than the
government’s own speech.” From this starting point,
respondents claim that since LSC lawyers are indepen-
dent of the government (and often adverse to it), they are
private speakers whose speech must be subsidized
regardless of viewpoint. Resp. Br. at 19-21; ACLU Br.
at 9-22.
The touchstone in Rosenberger was not, however, the
identity of the speaker (governmental or not), but the
nature of the program created by the subsidy (public
forum or not). See National Endowment for the Arts v.
Finley, 524 U.S. 569, 586 (1998) (explaining Rosenberger:
2
Respondents also try to side-step the public forum element by
contending that speakers cannot be excluded even from non-public
fora on the basis of viewpoint. Resp. Br. at 28 n.27. The cited cases
are not applicable to a selective subsidy, however; they involved
direct restrictions on speech.
4
“by subsidizing the Student Activities Fund, the Uni-
versity had created a limited public forum, from which
it impermissibly excluded all publications with religious
editorial viewpoints”) and 598-99 (“Rosenberger. . .
found the viewpoint discrimination unconstitutional, not
because ‘private’ speech was involved, but because the
government had established a limited public forum. . . .”)
(Scalia, J., concurring). Moreover, the Rosenberger
Court explicitly noted that although the doctors in Rust
v. Sullivan, 500 U.S. 173 (1991) were “private speak-
ers,” the government could regulate their conduct within
its services program. Rosenberger, 515 U.S. at 833 (dis-
tinguishing Rust by noting that “the government did not
create a program to encourage private speech but instead
used private speakers to transmit specific information
pertaining to its own program”).
Similarly, although LSC lawyers are private speakers,
the services they perform are part of a federal program.
Since that program is not designed to promote expres-
sion, let alone the free expression of the public at large,
it is not a public forum governed by the principle of
viewpoint neutrality. In fact, the LSC program is “not a
forum at all.” See Arkansas Educ. Television Com’n v.
Forbes, 523 U.S. 666, 678-679 (1998).
Yet Respondents challenge the very notion of a gov-
ernmental services program, contending that the dis-
tinction between a program for the promotion of speech
and a program to deliver services is mere semantics.
Resp. Br. at 22-23 and n.19. Although Respondents are
correct that expression can come in many different
forms, there is an obvious difference between a program
to promote free and open expression and a program io
deliver specific services to eligible individuals: If the
government refuses, on the basis of viewpoint, to pro-
vide a speaker with a speech subsidy that is generally
available to other speakers in a public forum, then the
— wr eee
government’s action may have the effect of suppressing
speech. If, however, the government merely limits the
services offered in a defined program, the government is
simply promoting one policy without also supporting a
competing policy.
Even Respondents agree that the government is free .o
take a particular viewpoint when it promotes policy
through expression per se (e.g., when the FDA warns
about the dangers of smoking (Finley, 524 U.S. at 610-
611(Souter, J., dissenting))). Resp. Br. at 19 n.17. The
government must have the same power to promote a par-
ticular policy through non-expressive means, including
by subsidizing a program to provide services. In this
context, the First Amendment simply has no relevance.’
2. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation Does Not
Discriminate Against Any Particular View-
point
Even if the LSC program were somehow a public
forum, Respondents have not shown that anyone is
excluded from it based on viewpoint. In our initial brief,
we explained the deficiencies in the court of appeals’
holding that the suit-for-benefits limitation is biased in
favor of the status quo. In reply, Respondents recharac-
> Alternatively, Respondents try to defend the court of appeals’
holding that litigation is a public forum by analogizing litigation to a
university. Resp. Br. at 27-30; ACLU Br. at 17-21. But Respondents
do not address (let alone rebut) our point that the LSC program, not
the litigation process, is the proper subject of the forum analysis. LSC
Br. at 27-28. The analogy is, in any event, absurd; the courtroom is
not part of a “tradition of thought and experiment that is at the cen-
ter of our intellectual and philosophic tradition.” Rosenberger, 515
U.S. at 835. Thus, litigants’ First Amendment rights are not compa-
rable to those of a university, its professors, or its students. Cf. Wal-
ters v. National Ass'n of Radiation Survivors, 473 U.S. 305, 335 n.13
(1985) (litigants’ First Amendment rights different from individuals’
rights of political expression).
ee a
6
terize the limitation, claiming it operates in a “self-inter-
ested manner designed to insulate the government's own
viewpoint about the validity of its laws from effective
challenge by the subsidized speaker.” Resp. Br. at 12-14.
But the “welfare laws” are a mosaic of federal, state
and local law. They reflect the “viewpoints” of legisla-
tures, judiciaries, and administrative agencies in all
these political systems. See NYSBA Br. at 8-9. While
Respondents focus on “challenges to existing law” alleg-
ing the unconstitutionality of a federal statute, these law-
suits more often contend that the federal statute which
created a given welfare program trumps an inconsistent
state or local law (or federal regulation) designed to
implement that program. In such a case, the welfare
claimant is not challenging Congress's viewpoint, but
trying to enforce it.*
Thus, the suit-for-benefits limitation does not insulate
Congress's viewpoint from challenge; it removes fund-
ing from a certain category of cases regardless of view-
point: expensive, politicized “test cases” that could
require a court to resolve alleged contradictions between
laws promulgated by different jurisdictions. This cate-
gorical restriction is consistent with all the other restric-
tions in the LSC statute that are designed to steer the
program clear of politics—none of which is viewpoint-
based. Pet. App. at 20a-23a.
* Carmen Velazquez's claim—that she was precluded from
arguing that New York State law violated federal law (C.A.J.A. 278-
79)—illustrates this point. So do many of the cases cited by Respon-
dents. E.g., Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521 (1990) (HHS regulation
violated federal statute); Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132 (1982) (New
York statute violated federal regulation); King v. Smith, 392 U.S. 309
(1968) (Alabama regulation violated Social Security Act); McCoy v.
Department of Health & Welfare, 907 P.2d 110 (Idaho 1995) (Idaho
regulation violated Title X).
7
3. Respondents Do Not Identify a Coherent
Speaker for Purposes of the First Amend-
ment
Finally, in response to LSC’s argument that the court
of appeals misidentified LSC lawyers as the relevant
“speakers,” Respondents concede that “the primary
speaker in this case. . . is the indigent client for whom
the lawyer is acting as a speech-proxy. . . .” Resp. Br.
at 27.
Yet Respondents’ brief repeatedly invokes the rights
of LSC lawyers. For example, the brief includes a
lengthy challenge to LSC’s program integrity regula-
tions. Resp. Br. at 33-44. Since these rules are designed
to permit adequate alternative channels for grantees’
affiliates to conduct prohibited unsubsidized activities,
this challenge implicitly advocates the rights of lawyers,
not clients. Respondents also suggest there is no con-
Stitutional distinction between regulating the speech of
a lawyer in Court and “prevent[ing] the subsidized
lawyer from entering the courtroom in the first place.”
Resp. Br. at 31. This rhetorical flourish contradicts
Respondents’ concession that the client is the one with
the First Amendment rights, because the client is cer-
tainly not “prevented from entering the courtroom.”
Respondents’ inability to identify a coherent speaker
further illustrates the inapplicability of free speech anal-
ysis to this case. The analogy to Rosenberger should be
rejected.°
> Respondents also ask the Court to reconsider its holding in
Rust. Resp. Br. at 19 n.17. As we explained in our initial brief, how-
ever, the central issue in Rust was a restriction on the speech between
the doctor and patient. LSC Br. at 17-18 and 23. Reconsidering that
issue would have no bearing on the Court’s resolution of the issue
here, namely, the validity of a restriction purely on the services the
lawyer can render. Thus, it would be inappropriate to reconsider Rust
im this case.
8
B. The Suit-For-Benefits Limitation Does Not
Violate the Associational Rights of Welfare
Claimants and LSC Lawyers
In addition to their free speech claim, Respondents
contend that the suit-for-benefits limitation violates wel-
fare claimants’ freedom to associate with competent
LSC counsel, because the limitation manipulates “the
representational judgments made by a government-
funded lawyer.” Resp. Br. at 17. Respondents’ primary
allegation is that challenges to existing law will become
apparent only after an LSC lawyer has initiated a bene-
fits claim, putting the LSC lawyer in an ethical dilemma:
either withdraw from an ongoing case, thereby preju-
dicing the subsidized claim, or forego the challenge to
existing law, thereby precluding the unsubsidized claim.
NYSBA Br. at 6-17.
Respondents’ argument depends entirely on dictum in
Rust, where this Court suggested that an “all encom-
passing” doctor-patient relationship might enjoy First
Amendment protection from “significant impingement”
by the government, even if the government subsidized
that relationship. 500 U.S. at 200. While Respondents put
great weight on these words, this Court rejected the claim,
for reasons that are equally applicable to the claim at hand.
First, as the court of appeals held, “the lawyer-client
relationships funded by LSC are no more ‘all-encom-
passing than the doctor-patient relationships. . . con-
sidered in Rust.” Pet. App. (99- 603) at 14a. The LSC
Act has always prohibited LSC lawyers from engaging
in political activities or from handling certain categories
of politicized cases within the LSC program. LSC Br. at
2-5. And LSC lawyers have an obligation to explain
these restrictions to their potential clients at the outset of
any representation. ABA Comm. On Ethics and Profes-
sional Responsibility, Formal Op. 96-399 (1996) (“ABA
9
Op.”). Thus, LSC clients cannot possibly believe they
are hiring lawyers who are in a position to express all of
their views, rather than render them specific services. As
a consequence, LSC lawyers and clients do not have the
kind of “expressive associational relationship” that was
crucial to the holdings in NAACP v. Button, 371 U.S.
415 (1963), and its progeny. See Resp. Br. at 14-17.
Even if the relationship between an LSC lawyer and
client were “all-encompassing,” the suit-for-benefits
limitation does not “significantly impinge” upon it. Cer-
tainly the suit-for-benefits limitation is nothing like the
criminal and ethical sanctions considered in Button and
its progeny, all of which prohibited relationships
between clients and the unsubsidized private counsel of
their choice. Moreover, in Rust, this Court held that for-
bidding a doctor to recommend abortion or to refer a
patient to an abortion-provider did not significantly
impinge upon the doctor-patient relationship. Rust, 500
U.S. at 192-95. Since the suit-for-benefits limitation
does not include comparable restrictions on advice and
referrals, it has even less impact on the lawyer-client
relationship. In fact, the limitation does not affect ongo-
ing relationships at all; it simply excludes certain cases
from the federal program.
To overcome this crucial distinction from Rust,
Respondents insist that “challenges to existing law” will
generally not be apparent at the outset of representa-
tions, but will arise midstream, leaving LSC lawyers
unable to raise certain arguments in lawsuits. While this
contention may be superficially plausible, it cannot with-
stand scrutiny, particularly on this facial challenge.°®
6 Respondents suggest that LSC has conceded that “the so-
called deflection to another lawyer will often take place long into the
case. . . .” Resp. Br. at 31 n.30 (citing LSC Br. at 7 n.4). LSC makes
no such concession; Respondents are misreading our initial brief.
10
Since the suit-for-benefits limitations went into effect
in August 1996, LSC-funded lawyers have handled more
than 150,000 benefits claims, six thousand of which
involved litigation.’ Of these cases, Respondents have
not identified a single LSC lawyer who learned, in the
middle of a case, that she ought to amend a complaint to
add a challenge to existing law.* LSC lawyers have obvi-
ously determined that thousands of cases could be han-
dled ethically and competently under the limitation.
To overcome this single dispositive fact, Respondents
manufacture a series of unsupportable claims:
* That challenges to existing law will arise as a
result of new facts learned during discovery.
Resp. Br. at 24-26; NYSBA Br. at 7-8. In fact,
the claims excluded by the suit-for-benefits lim-
itation are not fact-intensive, but turn on an
argument that the text of a regulation or statute
violates the text of some higher law.? Such
LSC lawyers have handled more than 500,000 “Income Main-
tenance” matters since August 1996. LSC has determined that about
150,000 of these matters involved welfare benefits of the sort covered
by the suit-for-benefits limitation. See Legal Services Corporation,
1996 Facts at 12-13; Legal Services Corporation, 1997 Annual Report
at 4; Legal Services Corporation, 1998 Fact Book and Program Infor-
mation, at 12-13; Legal Services Corporation, Serving the Civil Legal
Needs of Low-Income Americans, A Special Report to Congress
(April 2000) at 7. Of those matters, 6,039 were litigated to decision
or settled during litigation.
* The lead Respondent, Carmen Velazquez, initiated her case
before enactment of the suit-for-benefits limitation. C.A.J.A. 276-79.
% The cases cited by amicus NYSBA Br. at 26 n.11 illustrate
this point. E.g. Sullivan v. Zebley, 493 U.S. 521 (1990) (HHS regu-
lation violated federal statute); Blum v. Bacon, 457 U.S. 132 (1982)
(New York statute violated federal regulation); Califano v. Westcott,
443 U.S. 76 (1979) (federal statute violated due process clause);
Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970) (New York City regulations
violated due process clause); Shapiro v. Thompson, 394 U.S. 618
1]
claims can be identified by an experienced ben-
efits practitioner at the outset of the represen-
tation—as evidenced by the thousands of
representations so far. Although that process
may require some investigation prior to taking a
case, lawyers must frequently gather certain
facts to determine whether they can handle a
potential new matter. This task does not violate
either the First Amendment or lawyers’ ethical
duties. See ABA Op. (“Before accepting a new
client a Legal Services Lawyer subject to LSC
funding restrictions must inform the client about
all of the restrictions . . . and must carefully
screen the client to ensure that the representation
will not endanger funding.”).
* To bolster their contention that LSC lawyers
cannot identify “challenges to existing law” at
the outset of a representation, Respondents argue
that the term “existing law” is too vague for con-
sistent application. Resp. Br. at 24-27. But
LSC’s regulations explicitly define this term. See
45 C.F.R. § 1639.2 (1997 ). Respondents repeat-
edly fail to reckon with this definition.!°
(1969) (state and D.C. statutes violated due process clause); King v.
Smith, 392 U.S. 309 (1968) (Alabama regulation violated Social Secu-
rity Act); McCoy v. Department of Health & Welfare, 907 P.2d 110
(Idaho 1995) (Idaho regulation violated Title X).
'0 Respondents argue that because the Constitution itself is
“existing law,” it is meaningless to allow suits under “existing law” but
to prohibit constitutional challenges to “existing law.” Resp. Br. at 24.
But the definition of “existing law” excludes constitutional law. See 45
C.F.R. § 1639.2(b) (1997). Similarly, although Respondents cite Rist
v. Missouri State Division of Family Services, 595 S.W.2d 783, 785-86
(Mo. Ct. App. 1980), for the proposition that it is often impossible to
determine whether an adverse welfare determination is based on “exist-
ing law” or mere “policy,” the unpublished state policy in Rist clearly
was not “existing law.” See 45 C.F.R. § 1639.2(b) (1997).
12
e Finally, Respondents contend that claims chal-
lenging the fairness of an agency determination
will not become apparent until after the LSC
lawyer has already begun representing the client
before the agency. NYSBA Br. at 8. If LSC
lawyers determine that they must terminate the
representation at this discrete point—after an
agency decision but before any litigation has
begun—the lawyer’s withdrawal does not
threaten the client with claim preclusion; it
merely requires the client to find a new lawyer
for the next phase of the representation. This is
not a significant impingement of the lawyer-
client relationship.
Even if these contentions were correct, however, and
LSC lawyers sometimes discover challenges to existing
law in the middle of cases, they will not be faced with
the impossible dilemma posited by Respondents. There
is no reason to believe that other legal aid organizations
or pro bono lawyers will not handle these cases. See
infra. at p. 15. LSC grantees can even create their own
affiliates to litigate these matters. See infra at pp. 18-19.
This court should not presume “prejudice” on this facial
challenge.
In sum, Respondents have not established a “sub-
stantial probability” that the suit-for-benefits limitation
will disrupt ongoing attorney-client relationships, or that
any such disruption will work a “significant impinge-
ment” on the attorney-client relationship. Thus, LSC
rejects Respondents’ absurd allegation that it is inten-
tionally requiring its lawyers “to act in tension with, if
not in direct contravention of, ‘the high standards of the
profession.’ ” Resp. Br. at 48-50. There is nothing uneth-
ical about declining to accept a matter that is outside the
LSC program. See ABA Op. (“A Legal Services Lawyer
13
is not obligated to find alternative counsel for a potential
client who has been turned away.”). Respondents’ free
association claim should be rejected.
C. The Suit-for-Benefits Limitation Does Not Pre-
vent Welfare Claimants from Challenging the
Welfare Laws
Respondents also contend that LSC grantees are often
the only lawyers available to challenge welfare reform
laws, and that the suit-for-benefits restriction therefore
“prevents an indigent client from addressing legitimate
arguments . . . through counsel.” Resp. Br. at 27; see
also NYSBA Br. at 18-27. While Respondents press this
point repeatedly, it is unclear whether they are trying to
resurrect their Fifth Amendment “access to the courts”
claims (Resp. Br. at 32 n.31)—which the district court
rejected as “rather casual,” Pet. App. (99-603) at 82a-
83a, and Respondents abandoned on appeal—or make a
First Amendment argument. Either way, the argument
should be rejected.
In Ortwein v. Schwab, 410 U.S. 656 (1973), recipients
of welfare benefits challenged a filing fee that effec-
tively prevented them from bringing lawsuits to review
agency decisions that reduced their benefits. This Court
dismissed their due process claim, holding that since
they had received all the pre-reduction process required
by Goldberg v. Kelly, 397 U.S. 254 (1970), they were
not entitled to “an appellate system” to challenge the
agency determinations in court. Ortwein, 410 U.S. at 659-
60. This Court also dismissed the equal protection claim,
holding that the filing fee satisfied the rational basis test
applicable to a rule that does not include a “suspect clas-
sification.” Jd. at 660-61. Last, the Court summarily con-
cluded that re-characterizing the claim under the First
Amendment added nothing. Jd. at 660 n.5 (“Our dis-
cussion of the Due Process Clause . . . demonstrates
14
that appellants’ rights under the First Amendment have
been fully satisfied.”).
Similarly, in Walters v. National Ass'n of Radiation
Survivors, 473 U.S. 305, 316, 330 (1985), veterans chal-
lenged a statutory $10 maximum fee that could be paid
to an attorney who represented a veteran seeking bene-
fits for service-connected death or disability. This Court
reversed a nationwide preliminary injunction against
enforcement of the limitation, holding that plaintiffs’
facial challenge did not make the “extraordinarily strong
showing” necessary to prove they had been denied
meaningful access to the courts in violation of the Due
Process Clause. The Court also rejected the First Amend-
ment claim, holding it had no “independent signifi-
cance.” Jd. at 335. In fact, the Court questioned whether
the First Amendment claim was appropriate at all, not-
ing that “the constitutional analysis of a regulation that
restricts core political speech. . . will differ from the
constitutional analysis of a restriction on the available
resources of a claimant in Government benefit pro-
ceedings. .. .” Id. at 335 n.13.
The suit-for-benefits limitation is far less burdensome
than the provisions considered in Ortwein and Walters.'!
While those provisions actually created obstacles to the
assertion of benefits claims, Respondents in this case
allege that welfare claimants could not challenge the
welfare laws with or without the suit-for-benefits limi-
tation. Thus, if Congress had not created the LSC pro-
gram in the first place, indigent welfare claimants would
“have the same choices as if [the government] had cho-
sen not to” create the program at all. Webster v. Repro-
ductive Health Services, 492 U.S. 490, 509 (1989). This
11
Although Walters involved veterans’ benefits rather than wel-
fare benefits, Walters is nevertheless instructive in that the Court
denied a facial challenge to a limitation on claimants’ ability to obtain
lawyers to contest government benefits determinations.
15
is not a constitutional violation. Rust, 500 U.S. at 203
(“Petitioners contend. . . that most Title X clients are
effectively precluded by indigency and poverty from
seeing a health-care provider who will provide abortion-
related services. But. . . these Title X clients are in no
worse position than if Congress had never enacted Title
A.”
Finally, Respondents have not made the “extraordi-
narily strong showing” necessary to justify an injunction
against enforcement of a federal statute. Amicus NYSBA
contends that in 22 states, LSC funds constitute more
than 50% of the total funding available for civil legal
services for low-income individuals. NYSBA Br. at 20.
Here the NYSBA essentially ignores pro bono service;
law firms, bar associations, and private lawyers acting
individually may well be interested in lawsuits that
could vindicate the rights of thousands of welfare
claimants. Other non-LSC organizations, such as the
National Center on Poverty Law, are also filling the gap
created by the congressional restrictions by hiring for-
mer LSC lawyers to engage in welfare-related “class
action and individual cases with broad policy implica-
tions.” See National Center on Poverty Law website,
<http://www.povertylaw.org/about ncls/whatwedo.htm>.
In fact, the NYSBA cites a handful of recent cases in
which non-LSC lawyers successfully challenged welfare
laws. Id. at 26-27. These cases are vivid proof that wel-
fare reform litigation can and does take place notwith-
standing the suit-for-benefits limitation.
From all the NYSBA’s facts and figures, one stands
out: No matter how this Court resolves the present case,
the legal services available to meet the needs of the poor
will be greatly insufficient. NYSBA Br. at 19. Invali-
dating the suit-for-benefits limitation will not alleviate
that shortage. It will transfer control of the LSC program
16
from Congress, which decided to fund an apolitical ben-
efits program, to LSC lawyers, some of whom want to
participate in the contentious debate on welfare reform
through their subsidized employment. But ultimately
Congress has the power to define—or eliminate—the
LSC program.'”
D. LSC’s Program Integrity Regulations Do Not
Violate LSC Grantees’ First Amendment Rights
Finally, Respondents challenge LSC’s program
integrity regulations, claiming that overturning this lim-
itation on the use of non-federal funds would provide a
“less intrusive ground on which to affirm the decision
below.” Resp. Br. at 33 n.32. In fact, the challenge to the
program integrity regulations is far more intrusive,
because it would invalidate LSC’s enforcement of a cru-
cial element of all the provisions in the 1996 Act. Thus,
the Court should reject Respondents’ attempt to justify
review of the program integrity regulations; this Court
granted certiorari to review the court of appeals’ inval-
idation of the suit-for-benefits limitation, not its
approval of the program integrity regulations.
If the Court decides to hear this challenge, the pro-
gram integrity regulations should be upheld. Although
Respondents allege that the regulations cannot survive
“strict scrutiny,” the strict scrutiny cases cited by
Respondents involved direct restrictions on First
Amendment activity;'? insofar as we are aware, this
12 Respondents’ separation of powers argument is ironic when
one considers that the lawyer-Respondents are trying to arrogate
Congress's spending power to themselves.
13 See, e.g., Reno v. ACLU, 521 U.S. 844 (1997) (prohibition on
transmission of obscene/indecent communications); City of Ladue v.
Gilleo, 512 U.S. 43 (1994) (city ordinance banning certain signs); City
of Lakewood v. Plain Dealer Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750 (1988)
(statute giving mayor unbridled discretion to prohibit news racks);
17
Court has never applied strict scrutiny in a selective sub-
sidy case. See, Regan v. Taxation with Representation,
461 U.S. 540, 548-49 (1983) (“We have held in several
contexts that a legislature’s decision not to subsidize the
exercise of a fundamental right . . . is not subject to
Strict scrutiny.”) (citations omitted).
Once the correct rational basis standard is applied, it
is clear that the program integrity regulations serve two
proper purposes. First, they prevent indirect subsidiza-
tion of activities Congress chose not to subsidize
directly. Respondents claim the district court held that a
physically separate facility was not necessary to prevent
indirect subsidization. Resp. Br. at 42. But the regula-
tions do not require complete physical separation
between LSC and non-LSC programs; they provide only
that “the degree of separation” is a factor for LSC to
consider when reviewing a grantee’s relationship with an
affiliate. 45 C.F.R. § 1610.8(a) (1997). Under these cir-
cumstances, LSC reasonably determined that “mere
book-keeping separation” could allow federal funds to
“cross-subsidize” restricted activities.
The second valid purpose of the program integrity reg-
ulations is preventing public confusion over whether the
government is endorsing the activities of LSC lawyers.
Pet. Cert. (99-603) at 77a-80a. Respondents claim this
justification is inapplicable to the LSC program because
“there is no risk at all that the public will confuse fed-
eral government funding of litigation against itself with
federal endorsement.” Resp. Br. at 42-43. But the federal
government will not be the defendant in lawsuits seek-
ing welfare benefits from state and local agencies; in
Shuttlesworth v. City of Birmingham, Ala., 394 U.S. 147 (1969)
(restriction on participation in parades); Niemotko v. State of Mary-
land, 340 U.S. 268 (1951) (prosecution for Bible talks); Schneider v.
State of New Jersey, 308 U.S. 147 (1939) (prohibition on distribution
of handbills).
18
those cases, the federal government will appear to be
subsidizing suits against the states. Congress’s decision
not to subsidize these suits is valid, particularly in light
of Congress’s virtually simultaneous decision “to
increase the flexibility of States” to administer certain
welfare laws. 42 U.S.C. § 601(a) (Aug. 1996). Congress
legitimately decided that it cannot fairly delegate admin-
istration of the welfare laws to the states while simul-
taneously funding lawsuits alleging that the states are.
administering those laws improperly.
On this facial challenge, Respondents cannot prove
that the program integrity regulations do not rationally
serve these two legitimate purposes. As the court of
appeals concluded, Respondents have not established
“that no set of circumstances exists under which the Act
would be valid.” Pet. Cert. (99-903) at 20a (citing Rust,
500 U.S. at 183). Thus, the Court should reject Respon-
dents’ suggestion that the regulations are so burdensome
and wasteful that no grantee can create an affiliate under
them.'* '
The few facts before the Court dispell this contention.
At least two grantees have established affiliates in com-
pliance with the program integrity regulations. Resp. Br.
at 39. No Respondent alleges that LSC has questioned its
certification of program integrity with respect to an affil-
14 Contrary to Respondents’ suggestion (Resp. Br. at 44-45 n.45),
they have brought a facial challenge because they are seeking relief
that would invalidate the 1996 Act and/or the program integrity reg-
ulations with respect to any LSC lawyer, donor or client, regardless
of their circumstances; Respondents are not seeking relief only for
themselves, based on how statutes or regulations have been applied to
their own individual circumstances. Walters, 473 U.S. at 316 and 336-
39 (O’Connor, J., concurring) (1985). It is particularly obvious that
Respondents’ challenge to the program integrity regulations is facial;
none of the Respondents is an LSC grantee who alleges that it tried to
set up an unsubsidized affiliate, but was unable to do so.
19
iate. In fact, LSC has notified only one grantee that its
attempt to create an affiliate did not meet the regula-
tions. That incident proves nothing, however, because
the grantee did not make a good faith effort to comply
with the regulations, but instead simply created two sep--
arate corporations that shared all personnel, office space,
office equipment, and library facilities. CAJA 538-44.
There is no reason to conclude that the program integrity
regulations are facially unconstitutional.
Finally, Respondents contend that LSC did not have
the statutory authority to issue the program integrity
regulations, citing a portion of the section-by-section
analysis of a 1996 Senate bill. Resp. Br. at 34-35. The
language Respondents cite was a comment to a section
of similarly worded bill (S. Rep. No. 104-392 at 61-62
(1996)) that was deleted from the 1996 Act as enacted.
Thus, if anything can be gleaned from the legislative his-
tory of the 1996 Act, it is that Congress deliberately
decided not to prohibit affiliate corporations. As the
court of appeals correctly recognized, “LSC enjoys ‘the
full measure of interpretive authority under the [LSC
Act]’ to promulgate” the program integrity regulations.
Pet. App. (99-603) at lla. The program integrity regu-
lations should be upheld.
20
CONCLUSION
For the reasons stated above and in our opening brief,
the judgment of the court of appeals, insofar as it inval-
idated the suit-for-benefits limitation, should be reversed.
Dated: New York, New York
August 17, 2000
Respectfully submitted,
ALAN LEVINE
Counsel of Record
STEPHEN L. ASCHER
STEPHEN A. WIEDER
KRONISH LIEB WEINER
& HELLMAN LLP
1114 Avenue of the Americas
New York, New York 10036
(212) 479-6000
Counsel for Petitioner
Legal Services Corporation
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.