Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Wightman

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

» Stupreme Orpen

Q) FILg _

B98 950 De 6199

No: ——®erICe OF THE cuERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

¢

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Administratrix of the Estate

of Michelle L. Wightman, Deceased; MICHELLE

WIGHTMAN CHARITABLE FOUNDATION,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Ohio

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

iS

vv

CarTeR G. PHILLIPS ArtIN M. Apams*

SipLcey & AUSTIN RatPpH G. WELLINGTON

1722 Eye Street, N.W. Nancy WINKELMAN

Washington, D.C. 20006 STEPHANIE I.R. FIDLER

(202) 736-8711 Bruce P. MERENSTEIN

SCHNADER HARRISON SEGAL &

Lewis LLP

1600 Market Street,

Suite 3600

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 751-2000

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

4 de Ho

a ee ee ee

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment is violated where a state

imposes a $15,000,000 punitive damages award

after a process that was fundamentally flawed

because: (a) there existed a substantial possibility

of judicial bias by the state’s highest court that

went unaddressed by that court when it affirmed

the punitive damages award; and (b) the trial

court prevented defendant from presenting its

evidence with respect to defendant’s reprehen-

sibility and the circumstances of the accident,

allowed the jury to hear only plaintiff’s version

of the case, and thereby deprived defendant of a

full and fair opportunity to present its defense.

2. Whether, in determining if a punitive award is

constitutionally proportional, the proper compar-

ison is to the compensatory damages awarded for

the cause of action for which the state makes

punitive damages available, as the majority of

lower courts have held, which in this case means

that the punitive award is 6,250 times greater

than the compensatory award, in clear violation

of BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

(1996).

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND

DESIGNATION OF CORPORATE RELATIONSHIPS

All of the parties to the proceeding are named in the

caption. The parent companies of Consolidated Rail Cor-

poration are Conrail, Inc., which is the 100% owner of

Consolidated Rail Corporation; Green Acquisition Cor-

poration, which is the 100% owner of Conrail, Inc.; and

CRR Holdings LLC, which is the 100% owner of Green

Acquisition Corporation. Norfolk Southern Corporation

and CSX Corporation each own 50% of the stock of CRR

Holdings LLC. The non-wholly owned subsidiaries of

Consolidated Rail Corporation are LMS Partnership

(50%) and Indiana Harbor Belt R.R. Company (51%).

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GPR eePe Me? EP MOIW NED ooo cece ccc recccccencnscne i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING AND DESIGNA-

TION OF CORPORATE RELATIONSHIPS........ ii

pot OS Gs spe: 8 5 6: BRN pee na para area vi

iE ao Keine un alu np 4+. 0 ocd-a pas 6 «0c 2

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION................... 3

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED....... 3

RMUEEOES AO WER CANOE eso es eke eee... 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 9

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

CLARIFY THE PROCESS THAT IS DUE BEFORE

A STATE MAY IMPOSE A SUBSTANTIAL PUNI-

EE Sa ee PUNEIRIT 6 kc oo knic con cage cacee 9

A. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio

Is Inconsistent with this Court’s Decisions in

Lavoie and Oberg Because it Allows Ohio To

Impose a Substantial Punitive Damages

Award Without Full and Fair Appellate

MUU SR ei eS ates 008s See NS eae oes 10

B. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio

Is Inconsistent with this Court’s Decisions in

Haslip and Oberg, as Petitioner Has Been

Deprived of Substantial Property Without

the Basic Due Process Right of Being Permit-

ted to Introduce Significant Relevant Evi-

dence in its Own Defense................. 16

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Il. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE LOWER

COURTS REGARDING THE PROPER PROPOR-

TIONALITY ANALYSIS WHEN REVIEWING A

PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD................ 20

A. There Is a Conflict among the Lower Courts

Regarding the Proper Foundation for Mea-

suring the Proportionality of a Punitive

ERG PTI ian kovbacecdt idkeacenss 21

B. A Punitive Damages Award That Is 6,250

Times Greater than the Compensatory

Award 'on Which it Is Based Is Grossly

Excessive and Violative of the Due Process

Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment ..... 24

COCA IIe io bok boa haba ka ee he a ee 26

APPENDIX

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio, dated

September 15, 1999, 715 N.E.2d 546 (Ohio 1999) .... 1a

Opinion and Judgment Entry of the Court of

Appeals of Erie County, Ohio, dated September

30, 1997, No. E-97-001, 1997 Ohio App. LEXIS

4576 COS CE PA BRR ai na i ds Re eee ss 34a

Opinion and Order of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated December 5, 1996, No.

89-CV-416, 1996 Ohio Misc. LEXIS 84 (C.P. Ct.

en Merry Pee poe Pron rer on tn op rere 50a

Judgment Entry of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated October 31, 1995....... 72a

Judgment Entry of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated November 10, 1992 .... 74a

| mee nent G ener Ree ar mre nen nme rene r nr neree cn

Vv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Motion of Consolidated Rail Corporation to the

Supreme Court of Ohio to Recuse Justice

Francis E. Sweeney and Justice Paul E. Pfeifer

and Memorandum in Support Thereof (Filed

Under Seal), dated January 7, 1999 .............. 75a

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Lavoie,

75. WS. BES CROSS oa ces eae tecpes 1-2; ep 38, 14

Atlantic Coast Line R.R. v. Bennett, 251 F.2d 934

(Qty Cit. BODE) ois vncsccicnvicns se tebeences eabaanas 19

Atlas Food Sys. & Servs., Inc. v. Crane Nat'l Vendors,

Inc., 99 F.3d SO7 (Gite: Cie. 2956p. once Sti cees.s 18

BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

(1996) oie knd odie Peeves anes 1, 17, 20, 21, 23-25

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284 (1973)....... 16, 17

Creative Demos, Inc. v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 955

F. Supp. 1032 (S.D. Ind. 1997), aff'd in relevant

part, 142 B.3d 367 (7th Cis. 1908). .6.. vicsevcavcans 22

Fury Imports, Inc. v. Shakespeare Co., 554 F.2d 1376

(Sth. Che: 2978) cna oo wanciccan eae mae ek eee 19

Gasoline Prods. Co. v. Champlin Ref. Co.,

283 US. GOR CSSD 6 ics sch asin kaddddotennnaes 16

Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95 (1979)

(sree CUMBRIA) io aca ain Leen 5 Si pe wees SSR pide 8S 16, 18

Grynberg v. Citation Oil & Gas Corp.,

S73. NWi2k OOS: CBD TORT i hs Cenc is vine Cena 22

Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415 (1994)... passim

Iannone v. Frederic R. Harris, Inc., 941 F. Supp. 403

(S.DINY., SOBG) sich s is} sa ten Coie Sin ean eats 23

In re Mason, 916 F.2d 384 (7th Cir. 1990) ............ 11

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133 (1955).............. iz, is

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Jeppesen v. Rust, 8 F.3d 1235 (7th Cir. 1993).......... 22

Marshall v. Jerrico, Inc., 446 U.S. 238 (1980).......... 12

Neibel v. Trans World Assurance Co., 108 F.3d 1123

SPUR ane MN Pe ais oko reeks Os eh eSGNE ES baduck cabs 22

Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip,

SO Ge BD RAPPER See eh eke Faas os dh 9, 14, 18, 21

Rubeck v. Huffman, 374 N.E.2d 411 (Ohio 1978) ....4, 22

Schimizzi v. Illinois Farmers Ins. Co.,

928 F. Supp. 760 (N.D. Ind. 1996)................. 22

Smyth Sales, Inc. v. Petroleum Heat & Power Co.,

RGR Die Oe Geile Se ks a bcp avkson Vann cceeas 16

Stretton v. Disciplinary Bd. of the Sup. Ct.,

Pe ee Se ON Er BED a do oc cok nada cncecass 11

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510 (1927) ............... 12, 14

TXO Prod. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp.,

OP Sie Od LNUMOE i hahaa cides ee deihied s cdeavesin 21

United Air Lines, Inc. v. Wiener, 286 F.2d 302

Pe Se Er bark nkce bwin ate cdhenss tonne 19

Walston v. Monumental Life Ins. Co., 923 P.2d 456

. I a eS earl es 23

Ward v. Village of Monroeville, 409 U.S. 57 (1972)..... 12

Wightman v. Consolidated Rail Corp.,

640 N.E.2d 1160 (Ohio Ct. App. 1994).............. 5

Wightman v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 715 N.E.2d 546

Rien ect SEES PET SO ens Rep 2

Zoppo v. Homestead Ins. Co., 644 N.E.2d 397

I I ind el eae era 4 oy es oo ok Sos 5

Vili r

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Statutes & CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

SB UGG: © Uae oo oe es isk BE IS aS 3

US. Comme; aceul: XIV, © Bs as Cs A AR 3

Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02(B) (Anderson

NOD sb 8 6nd 0 068 4 ReRV ARUN Os ons REO 4, 22

OrHer AUTHORITIES

Mark Grannis, Note, Safeguarding the Litigant’s

Constitutional Right to a Fair and Impartial Forum,

ee e.g ee rere r re 12

Jason Levien & Stacie L. Fatka, Cleaning Up Judi-

cial Elections, 2 Mich. L. & Pol’y Rev. 71 (1997) .... 12

Model Code of Judicial Conduct Canon 3E(1)(e)

CUO BOUT 6 dave Ges cc sees £55 4s ce oan ea a 14

Roy A. Schotland, Elective Judges’ Campaign

Financing, 2:3. 1: Me Fem. SF (ARGO): 03 <o:0h0 ss cent Xs 12

Harold See, Judicial Selection and Decisional Inde-

pendence, 61 Law & Contemp. Probs. 141 (1998) .... 11

Gerald Uelmen, Disqualification of Judges for Cam-

paign Support or Opposition, 3 Geo. J. Legal

EE Ee CT a Shas bees oa banc s4 eRe esos 14

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The history of this case begins with a trial in which a

$25,000,000 punitive damages award based on a $2,400

compensatory damages award was imposed in a vacuum.

There a jury - specially empaneled for the sole purpose of

deciding the amount of punitive damages - was prohib-

ited from hearing defendant's evidence about the circum-

stances of the accident, evidence that had led a prior jury

to determine that the victim was 40% responsible for the

accident and a prior judge to conclude that no punitive

damages were warranted. The history ends with a state

supreme court affirming an exorbitant punitive damages

award, adding post-judgment interest to it, and declining

to address defendant’s motion to recuse two of that

court’s justices (one the author of the majority opinion)

who had received substantial campaign contributions

from plaintiff’s lawyer and the lawyer’s relatives while

the appeal was pending before the court.

If there is one principle that is clear from this Court's

punitive damages jurisprudence, it is this: whatever the

result, the process leading to the imposition of punitive

damages must be fundamentally fair or it violates the

Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth Amendment. This

petition requests review of the due process issues left

open by this Court’s decisions in BMW of North America,

Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559 (1996), Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg,

512 U.S. 415 (1994), and Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie,

475 U.S. 813 (1986), namely, whether a state violates a

litigant’s rights under the Due Process Clause when it

compels the litigant to pay $15,000,000 in punitive dam-

ages, plus post-judgment interest on that award, despite:

(1) the existence of a serious question of partiality in the

state supreme court and that court’s refusal even to

address a motion to recuse two of its members on that

basis; (2) the state courts’ exclusion of defendant’s evi-

dence about the entirety of the circumstances leading up

to the accident; and (3) a foundation of only $2,400 in

compensatory damages for a punitive damages award of

$15,000,000.

The important issues of this case will continue to

perplex both state and federal courts, and will subject

litigants to deprivations of property without due process

of law, until this Court clarifies the pivotal holdings of

Gore, Oberg, and Lavoie. Accordingly, certiorari is war-

ranted in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio is

reported at 715 N.E.2d 546 (Ohio 1999), and appears in

the Appendix at pages la-33a. The opinion of the Ohio

Court of Appeals of Erie County, Ohio, which was

affirmed in part and reversed in part by the Supreme

Court of Ohio, is unpublished. App. 34a-49a. The Opinion

and Order of the Common Pleas Court of Erie County,

Ohio, granting in part Consolidated Rail Corporation’s

motion for a remittitur and denying its motion for a new

trial, is unpublished. App. 50a-71a.

The Supreme Court of Ohio never ruled on peti-

tioner’s motion to recuse two of the justices of that court,

who had received substantial campaign contributions

from plaintiff’s lawyer and the lawyer’s relatives while

this case was pending before them.

®

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Supreme Court of Ohio entered judgment on

September 15, 1999. The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

¢

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Section 1 of the Fourteenth Amendment to the United

States Constitution provides, in relevant part:

No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of

citizens of the United States; nor shall any State

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor deny to any

person within its jurisdiction the equal protec-

tion of the laws.

U.S. Const. amend. XIV, § 1.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case arises out of a February 1989 collision

between a car driven by Michelle Wightman and a Con-

solidated Rail Corporation (“Conrail”) train. A Conrail

train lost pressure in its brake system and automatically

came to a stop, approximately 200 feet east of a grade

crossing in Sandusky, Ohio. The train was sufficiently

close to the grade crossing that it automatically activated

the crossing’s flashing lights and gate.

A number of vehicles, when confronted with the

activated gate and flashing lights, turned back, but others

proceeded through the crossing. Michelle Wightman, a

16-year old, inexperienced driver, who had consumed

several alcoholic beverages on the night in question,

chose to go past the flashing lights and maneuver around

the gates. Before her vehicle cleared the crossing, another

Conrail train, proceeding on an adjacent track, within the

speed limit and with its whistle blowing and its head-

lights on, entered the crossing and struck the vehicle.

Michelle Wightman died instantly and the car was

destroyed.

Darlene Wightman (“Wightman”), Michelle Wight-

man’s mother and the administratrix of her estate, sued

Conrail in the Erie County Court of Common Pleas,

asserting two claims: a wrongful death claim seeking

compensatory damages, and a property damage claim

seeking compensatory and punitive damages for the

$2,400 in property damage to her car. Only compensatory

damages are available for wrongful death under Ohio

law; punitive damages are specifically prohibited for

wrongful death claims. See Rubeck v. Huffman, 374 N.E.2d

411, 413 (Ohio 1978); see also Ohio Rev. Code Ann.

§ 2125.02(B) (Anderson 1998).

At trial, Conrail introduced evidence that Michelle

Wightman had been drinking alcohol (supplied by her

mother) prior to operating her mother’s car. The jury

found both Michelle Wightman and Conrail negligent,

apportioning 60% of the liability to Conrail and 40% to

Michelle Wightman, and awarding Wightman $1,000,000

in compensatory damages on the wrongful death claim.

App. 5la. The jury also determined that Conrail had

acted with a conscious disregard for the safety of others,

thereby giving rise to the possibility of punitive damages

for the property damage claim. App. 52a.

At the time of the first trial, Ohio law required the

judge to determine the amount of punitive damages upon

a jury finding that the conduct met the standard for the

imposition of a punitive award. On the basis of all of the

evidence, including the evidence of Michelle Wightman’s

contributory fault, the trial judge determined that the

proper amount of punitive damages was $0. App. 74a.

On cross-appeals, the Ohio Court of Appeals

affirmed the compensatory damages award, reversed the

trial court’s decision to award no punitive damages on

the property damage claim, and remanded the case for a

determination as to the amount of punitive damages to be

awarded on that claim. Wightman v. Consolidated Rail

Corp., 640 N.E.2d 1160 (Ohio Ct. App.), appeal not allowed,

638 N.E.2d 1044 (Ohio 1994). Shortly before the trial

judge reconsidered the issue of punitive damages on

remand, the Ohio Supreme Court held in an unrelated

case, Zoppo v. Homestead Ins. Co., 644 N.E.2d 397, 401

(Ohio 1994), that the state constitution required that

where a jury decides that defendant’s conduct meets the

standard for the imposition of punitive damages, the jury,

not the trial judge, should decide the amount of punitive

damages. Accordingly, a new jury was empaneled to

determine the amount of punitive damages to be

imposed.

In view of the procedural posture of the case, the

second trial court then considered (in the context of

motions in limine) what evidence it would allow the par-

ties to present to the second jury. The trial court excluded

Conrail’s evidence regarding the circumstances of the

accident — evidence that had led the first jury to find that

Michelle Wightman was 40% contributorily negligent and

the first judge to conclude that no punitive damages were

warranted. App. 5a, 69a-70a. The trial judge also

excluded Conrail’s expert testimony that Michelle Wight-

man’s age, driving inexperience, and use of alcohol

increased the risk of the accident by 500%. Wightman, on

the other hand, was permitted to put on her entire case

against Conrail, as well as her expert testimony regarding

the cause of the accident and Conrail’s alleged miscon-

duct.

As a result of this one-sided presentation, the jury

awarded Wightman $25,000,000 in punitive damages tied

exclusively to the $2,400 property damage claim. App. 5a.

Conrail moved for a remittitur or a new trial, on the

ground that the punitive damages award was impermissi-

bly excessive and violated due process under both state

law and the United States Constitution. App. 50a. The

trial court granted Conrail’s motion, in part, remitting the

award to $15,000,000 and modified the judgment to

exclude the running of post-judgment interest on the

punitive damages award. Wightman consented to the

remittitur, which included both the amount and the elim-

ination of interest.

Conrail appealed, arguing, inter alia, that the trial

court’s evidentiary rulings and the amount of the puni-

tive damages award, even as remitted, violated its rights

under state law, as well as under the Due Process Clause

of the Fourteenth Amendment. App. 39a-40a. Wightman

filed a cross-appeal, arguing, inter alia, that the trial court

erred in disallowing post-judgment interest on the puni-

tive damages award. The Ohio Court of Appeals affirmed

the trial court’s rulings in all respects. App. 49a.

Both parties sought review in the Supreme Court of

Ohio. Conrail again raised the issues of the excessiveness

of the punitive damages award and the impropriety of

excluding Conrail’s evidence concerning the cause of the

accident under both state law and the United States Con-

stitution. App. 8a, 12a. The Ohio Supreme Court granted

review.

After the oral argument, Conrail obtained the final

post-election campaign finance reports of two justices of

the Ohio Supreme Court, Justice Francis E. Sweeney and

Justice Paul E. Pfeifer, both of whom had been reelected

just prior to the November 1998 argument. These reports

stated that Wightman’s counsel (who had the case on a

33'/3% contingency fee basis), his spouse, siblings, and

their spouses and children, many of whom were lawyers

at the same law firm, had collectively made $25,000 in

campaign contributions to each Justice Sweeney and Jus-

tice Pfeifer in early 1998, at the time the case was pending

before the court on petitions for discretionary review.

App. 105a-106a. The amount contributed by plaintiff's

lawyer and his relatives represented 4.4 percent of the

total financial contribution to Justice Pfeifer’s campaign

during that period and 4.7 percent of the total contribu-

tion to Justice Sweeney’s campaign during that period.

Immediately upon learning this information and

before any decision had been rendered by the Ohio Supreme

Court, Conrail filed a motion to recuse Justices Sweeney

and Pfeifer due to the appearance of impropriety created

by these substantial contributions made by plaintiff’s

lawyer and the lawyer’s relatives during the pendency of

the appeal. App. 75a-77a. The Ohio Supreme Court never

ruled on the recusal motion.?!

Instead, on September 15, 1999, the Ohio Supreme

Court issued its opinion without even mentioning the

recusal motion. App. 1a-33a. The court affirmed both the

$15,000,000 punitive damages award and the rulings

excluding Conrail’s evidence, as comporting both with

Ohio law and the Due Process Clause. App. 9a, 19a. It

also made new law in Ohio by reversing the court of

appeals’ affirmance of the trial court’s disallowance of

post-judgment interest on the punitive damages award,

thereby increasing Conrail’s punishment by over $5 mil-

lion. App. 25a. Both Justices Sweeney and Pfeifer partici-

pated in the decision and voted to affirm the punitive

damages award, as well as to add the interest. Indeed,

Justice Pfeifer authored the majority opinion.

Sf

1 Conrail filed its recusal motion under seal. However, no

order ever was entered sealing the motion.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO CLAR-

IFY THE PROCESS THAT IS DUE BEFORE A

STATE MAY IMPOSE A SUBSTANTIAL PUNITIVE

DAMAGES AWARD.

This Court has made clear that the Due Process

Clause applies in full force in the context of punitive

damages. “A decision to punish a tortfeasor by means of

an exaction of exemplary damages is an exercise of state

power that must comply with the Due Process Clause of

the Fourteenth Amendment.” Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg,

512 U.S. 415, 434-35 (1994). Specificaliy, in the punitive

damages context, the Due Process Clause prevents state

juries from imposing punitive damages awards without

“adequate guidance from the court” and without full and

fair appellate review to ensure that such awards are

“reasonable” in relation to the goals of retribution and

deterrence. Pacific Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1,

18-21 (1991); see also Oberg, 512 U.S. at 430 (“When the

absent procedures would have provided protection

against arbitrary and inaccurate adjudication, this Court

has not hesitated to find the proceedings violative of due

process.”).

This petition presents two important issues that have

not been resolved by this Court regarding the process

that is due before a state may impose a substantial puni-

tive damages award. The first issue involves the require-

ment of full and fair appellate review, and specifically

poses the question whether such review is afforded when

a state supreme court affirms a massive punitive damages

award in the face of —- and without ever addressing —- a

10

motion to recuse two of the court’s justices based on

those justices having received substantial campaign con-

tributions from plaintiff’s lawyer and his relatives while

the case was pending before the court.

The second issue involves the requirement of a jury’s

full consideration of the evidence, and specifically poses

the question whether such consideration is afforded

when the trial court excludes defendant’s evidence with

respect to the circumstances of the accident — evidence

that had led a prior jury to determine that the victim was

40% contributorily negligent, and a prior judge to deter-

mine that no punitive damages should be awarded -

leaving the jury to hear only plaintiff’s version of the

facts.

This case presents an opportunity for the Court to

clarify its due process cases, and to provide much-needed

guidance to state courts struggling with the required

process and substance of punitive damages determina-

tions and appellate review, in light of the Fourteenth

Amendment's proscription against the deprivation of

property without due process of law.

A. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio Is

Inconsistent with this Court’s Decisions in

Lavoie and Oberg Because it Allows Ohio To

Impose a Substantial Punitive Damages Award

Without Full and Fair Appellate Review.

The appearance of judicial partiality is grounds for

vacating a punitive damages award under the Due Pro-

cess Clause. In Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S.

813 (1986), this Court overturned a substantial punitive

11

damages award that had been affirmed by the Alabama

Supreme Court because a justice of that court was a

litigant in an unrelated, but similar, case at the time he

participated in the case at hand. The Court held that the

justice’s participation violated the defendant’s due pro-

cess right to a fair and impartial appellate tribunal, even

though there was no evidence that the justice actually

had been influenced by his stake in the other case. See id.

at 825.

The incongruity between the due process require-

ment of an impartial judge and the appearance of impro-

priety created by lawyer contributions to judicial

candidates has been of utmost concern to jurists and

commentators alike. See, e.g., Stretton v. Disciplinary Bd. of

the Sup. Ct., 944 F.2d 137, 145 (3d Cir. 1991) (“There is no

aspect of the electoral system of choosing judges that has

drawn more vehement and justifiable criticism than the

raising of campaign funds, particularly from lawyers and

litigants likely to appear before the court.”); In re Mason,

916 F.2d 384, 387 (7th Cir. 1990) (noting the “difficult

case” that would be presented if an “attorney gave signif-

icant financial support to the judge’s campaign commit-

tee” while the judge was deciding a case in which the

attorney was involved).

Commentators also have noted the serious ethical

and due process problems created when attorneys con-

tribute significant amounts to judicial campaigns and

then try cases or argue appeals before the jurists they

supported. See, e.g., Harold See, Judicial Selection and Deci-

sional Independence, 61 Law & Contemp. Probs. 141, 142

(1998) (“To the extent the courts are not just another

policymaking branch of government, but are performing

12

the function of assuring the rule of law, there may be a

due process interest in protecting the judges’ decisional

independence from the immediate influence of various

interest groups.”); Roy A. Schotland, Elective Judges’ Cam-

paign Financing, 2 J. L. & Pol. 57, 90 (1985) (noting that

judicial campaign funding “undermines respect for judi-

cial integrity and impartiality”); Mark Grannis, Note,

Safeguarding the Litigant’s Constitutional Right to a Fair and

Impartial Forum, 86 Mich. L. Rev. 382, 418 (1987) (arguing

that significant campaign contributions can erode the

impartiality that “is the very heart of due process”). In

fact, in Ohio itself, a Citizens’ Committee on Judicial

Elections report issued in 1995 reported that 89% of

Ohioans believe that judicial decisions are influenced at

least some of the time by campaign contributions, while

only 7% believe that they are never so influenced. See

Jason Levien & Stacie L. Fatka, Cleaning Up Judicial Elec-

tions, 2 Mich. L. & Pol’y Rev. 71, 78 (1997); see also App.

9la n.8.

The principle at the heart of Lavoie is that a “fair trial

in a fair tribunal is a basic requirement of due process.”

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133, 136 (1955). Even when

actual bias is not shown, “our system of law has always

endeavored to prevent even the probability of unfair-

ness.” Id. This Court frequently has reaffirmed this “basic

requirement of due process,” see, e.g., Marshall v. Jerrico,

Inc., 446 U.S. 238, 242-43 (1980); Ward v. Village of Mon-

roeville, 409 U.S. 57, 60 (1972); Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510,

532 (1927), which provides a critical limitation on states’

otherwise substantial discretion in ordering their judicial

systems. In the context of judicial elections, large finan-

cial contributions to a judge from a lawyer with a case

13

pending before that judge certainly create the appearance

of a quid pro quo, which violates the “basic requirement of

due process” that a litigant be afforded a “fair trial in a

fair tribunal.” Murchison, 349 U.S. at 136. This constitu-

tional concern is even more acute when the contributing

lawyer has millions of dollars in fees at stake in the

outcome of a pending appeal.

Despite the clear rulings of this Court emphasizing

the fundamental role of due process to ensure impar-

tiality, this Court has yet to address whether a state may

impose a substantial punitive damages award in the face

of, and without addressing, serious allegations of judicial

partiality. The failure of the Ohio Supreme Court to

address Conrail’s substantial contentions regarding two

of that court’s members is equivalent to the denial of

judicial review that this Court in Oberg held violated due

process. Further, the substance of the allegations in Con-

rail’s motion to recuse raises significant questions regard-

ing the “probability of unfairness,” Murchison, 349 U.S. at

136, in the Ohio Supreme Court’s adjudication of Con-

rail’s appeal.

Given the broad use of judicial elections and thus the

recurring risk of questionable contributions by the agents

of parties with matters before judges seeking reelection,

the Court should grant this petition in order to clarify the

contours of the Due Process Clause in such situations in

which the integrity of a state’s appellate process has been

called into question.

At least three factors elevate the ethical questions

underlying the campaign contributions to Justices Pfeifer

and Sweeney to the level of a due process violation. First,

14

the Supreme Court of Ohio failed to address the claim of

potential bias and Conrail’s request for recusal. The fail-

ure to act on this issue, intertwined with Conrail’s sub-

stantive challenge to the $15,000,000 punitive damages

award, constituted a lack of “meaningful and adequate”

review of that award. Haslip, 499 U.S. at 20; see Oberg, 512

U.S. at 434-35. When raised in the context of a huge

punitive damages award, where this Court has stated that

due process requires the most exacting fairness in pro-

cedure, the appearance of judicial bias must be carefully

scrutinized and fully addressed, not ignored, as here.

In addition, the level of the contributions in this case

~ $25,000 to each of the two justices in question at the

very time these justices were considering this appeal -

creates a significant danger of unfairness that raises not

only ethical, but also due process, concerns. Indeed,

recent amendments to the ABA’s Model Code of Judicial

Conduct provide for the disqualification of a judge from a

proceeding in which an attorney has “made aggregate

contributions to the judge’s campaign in an amount that

is greater” than the jurisdiction’s statutory limit, includ-

ing “contributions made indirectly.” Model Code of Judicial

Conduct Canon 3E(1)(e) (amended 1999). The combined

contributions from plaintiff's lawyer and his family to

Justices Sweeney and Pfeifer are far in excess of Ohio’s

statutory limit for individual contributions, and warrant

disqualification not only under basic rules of judicial

ethics, but also under due process principles established

in a long line of caSes from Tumey to Lavoie. See Gerald

Uelmen, Disqualification of Judges for Campaign Support or

Opposition, 3 Geo. J. Legal Ethics 419 (1990).

15

Moreover, at the time of these contributions, in Janu-

ary and early February 1998, the parties were seeking the

state supreme court’s discretionary review of the inter-

mediate court’s rulings. At stake for the law firm was its

one-third share of a punitive damages award of as much

as $25,000,000, plus interest, based on its contingency fee

agreement. The discretionary appeal was allowed in late

February 1998, shortly after the contributions were made;

briefs were submitted in April through July 1998, during

the election campaign; and oral argument was held just

after the two justices were reelected, in November 1998.

The appeal then was decided against Conrail: the puni-

tive damages award was affirmed and the court for the

first time ruled that post-judgment interest could run on

punitive damages, thereby increasing the already exces-

sive penalty by approximately one-third, or by more than

$5,000,000.

Coupled with the amount of the contributions, the

fact that they were made while the appeal was pending

created a significant issue of impropriety that, rather than

being addressed by the Ohio Supreme Court, was utterly

ignored. In sum, this Court should grant the petition in

order to clarify the requirements of the Due Process

Clause in this context that implicates the fundamental

fairness of Ohio’s and other states’ systems of electing

judges and financing their campaigns.

16

B. The Decision of the Supreme Court of Ohio Is

Inconsistent with this Court’s Decisions in

Haslip and Oberg, as Petitioner Has Been

Deprived of Substantial Property Without the

Basic Due Process Right of Being Permitted to

Introduce Significant Relevant Evidence in its

Own Defense.

In addition to the due process requirement of a fair

and impartial judge, as well as the appearance thereof, a

well-established component of due process is the right to

present a defense, including all relevant evidence in sup-

port of one’s defense, before a state may impose punish-

ment. See, e.g., Green v. Georgia, 442 U.S. 95, 97 (1979) (per

curiam); Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 294 (1973).

This axiom also applies in the punitive damages context.

See Honda Motor Co. v. Oberg, 512 U.S. 415 (1994).

Conrail’s due process right to a fair trial was violated

when the state jury was allowed to impose a Substantial

punishment without hearing all of the evidence bearing

on the wrongfulness of Conrail’s conduct. Specifically,

the trial court, in a decision later ratified by the state’s

appellate courts, excluded all of Conrail’s evidence that

would have provided a complete and fair picture of the

cause of the accident and of the factors outside of Con-

rail’s contro] that increased the likelihood of the accident

occurring. App. 69a-70a. This violated Conrail’s right to a

fair trial. Cf. Gasoline Prods. Co. v. Champlin Ref. Co., 283

U.S. 494, 500 (1931) (holding that a retrial of less than all

of the issues in a case may only be had when the issues

are “distinct and separable”); Smyth Sales, Inc. v. Petro-

leum Heat & Power Co., 141 F.2d 41, 45 (3d Cir. 1944)

17

(“[T]he determination of the amount of punitive dam-

ages, if any, to be awarded . . . cannot appropriately take

place except in connection with the consideration by the

jury of the whole question of the defendant's liability and

of all the circumstances which it is asserted give rise to that

liability.” (emphasis added)).?

This Court’s emphasis in the criminal context on the

importance of a full and fair presentation of a party’s

defense is instructive here. For example, in Chambers, a

state criminal defendant claimed that his due process

rights were violated by state procedural rules and state

court rulings that rendered him “only partially suc-

cessful . . . in his efforts to bring before the jury the

testimony supporting [his] defense.” 410 U.S. at 289. The

Court noted that a criminal defendant's right to due

process is essentially “the right to a fair opportunity to

defend against the State’s accusations.” Id. at 294. When a

civil defendant faces a punitive damages award of as

much as $25,000,000, and when the state’s imposition of

that award “is an exercise of state power that must com-

ply with the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment,” Oberg, 512 U.S. at 435, this principle from

Chambers is fully logical. The exclusion of Conrail’s “criti-

cal evidence,” see Chambers, 410 U.S. at 302, denied it the

right to a fair opportunity to defend against the punitive

damages claim, and led to a trial that was not “in accord

2 In addition, the court admitted plaintiff’s expert

testimony on 1,000 similar accidents that not only occurred

outside of Ohio, but that did not even involve Conrail, leading

to the possibility that the state imposed a punishment on a party

for actions committed by unrelated (and unidentified) parties.

Cf. BMW of N. Am. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 573-74 (1996).

18

with traditional and fundamental standards of due pro-

cess.” Id.; see also Green, 442 U.S. at 97 (holding that

exclusion of testimony in a criminal trial that “was highly

relevant to a critical issue in the punishment phase of the

trial” denied the defendant a fair trial).

The unfairness caused by the exclusion of evidence in

the second trial is made crystal-clear by a simple compar-

ison of the result of that trial (a $25,000,000 punitive

damages award) with the result of the first trial at which

all the evidence was allowed (a 40% contributory negli-

gence finding and a $0 punitive damages award). Clearly,

the exclusion of the evidence of circumstances outside of

Conrail’s control that had led the first jury to find

Michelle Wightman 40% responsible for the accident -

including her age, alcohol consumption, and inexperience

behind the wheel - as well as Conrail’s expert testimony

that would have established that the combination of those

circumstances increased the likelihood of the accident by

500%, deprived Conrail of the opportunity to present

circumstances in mitigation of an award that otherwise is

virtually limitless. The jury did not even know that Con-

rail previously had paid $1,000,000 in compensatory dam-

ages on the wrongful death claim. If due process requires

full and fair jury instructions before punitive damages

can be imposed, see Haslip, 499 U.S. at 18-20, then, a

fortiori, it requires a full and fair presentation of the

evidence to the jury in the first place.

The one-sided presentation of the evidence led to a

jury verdict that bore no relationship to the reprehens-

ibility of Conrail’s actions, to the actual damages to the

plaintiff, or to the civil and criminal penalties that could

have been imposed for Conrail’s conduct. See, e¢.g., Atlas

19

Food Sys. & Servs., Inc. v. Crane Nat'l Vendors, Inc., 99 F.3d

587, 600 (4th Cir. 1996) (noting that a jury considering

only punitive damages was properly told about the first

jury’s findings on liability and compensatory dainages, as

these “provided the jury with important background

information”); Fury Imports, Inc. v. Shakespeare Co., 554

F.2d 1376, 1389 (5th Cir. 1977) (“[A]n award of punitive

damages should rest on the jury’s assessment of all the

evidence in the case.”); United Air Lines, Inc. v. Wiener, 286

F.2d 302, 306 (9th Cir. 1961) (holding that, when punitive

damages are at issue, “the defendant is entitled to show

all of the facts surrounding the collision”); Atlantic Coast

Line R.R. v. Bennett, 251 F.2d 934, 939 (4th Cir. 1958)

(“[W]e are unable to say that the new trial can be

restricted to the single issue [of punitive damages] with-

out injustice to the defendant, since the evidence relating

to wilful misconduct is so inextricably tied up with that

relating to primary negligence that a fair trial upon either

issue requires a trial of both issues together.”).

In short, this petition presents significant constitu-

tional questions with respect to the due process require-

ment of full and fair jury consideration, and specifically

whether the evidence surrounding the incident in ques-

tion must be presented to the jury before it can reach a

rational determination of how much damages are appro-

priate to punish and deter the defendant. That issue

warrants review by this Court.

20

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE GRANTED TO

RESOLVE A CONFLICT AMONG THE LOWER

COURTS REGARDING THE PROPER PROPOR-

TIONALITY ANALYSIS WHEN REVIEWING A

PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD.

In BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S, 559

(1996), this Court held that imposition of a punitive dam-

ages award that was 500 times the amount of the actual

harm to the plaintiff violated the defendant's due process

rights. The Court focused on three “guideposts” in con-

cluding that the defendant “did not receive adequate

notice of the magnitude of the sanction that Alabama

might impose” for its wrongdoing, leading the Court to

conclude that the punitive damages award was “grossly

excessive.” 517 U.S. at 574-75. These guideposts included

“the degree of reprehensibility” of defendant's actions,

“the disparity between the harm or potential harm suf-

fered by [plaintiff] and his punitive damages award,” and

“the difference between this remedy and the civil penal-

ties authorized or imposed in comparable cases.” Id. at

575.3

The lower courts are in conflict on how to apply

Gore’s second guidepost. In ascertaining whether a puni-

tive damages award is proportionate to the compensatory

damages, some courts have looked broadly at all of the

defendant’s acts in the case, and all of the causes of

3 In Part 1.B supra, Conrail explained why its due process

right to present all of the evidence bearing on the first of these

factors ~ the degree of its reprehensibility ~ was violated by the

state court’s exclusion of its evidence at the punitive damages

trial. See supra at 16-19.

21

action, whether or not those acts and causes of action

gave rise to a punitive damages award. On the other

hand, other courts have focused — appropriately, in Con-

rail’s view — only on the particular cause or causes of

action that gave rise to the punitive damages award. The

Court should grant the petition in order to provide clear

guidance to the state and federal courts that must resolve

these issues on a daily basis.

A. There Is a Conflict among the Lower Courts

Regarding the Proper Foundation for Measur-

ing the Proportionality of a Punitive Damages

Award.

This Court in Gore reiterated its holdings in Haslip

and TXO Production Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509

U.S. 443 (1993), “that a comparison between the compen-

satory award and the punitive award is significant.” Gore,

517 U.S. at 581. In Haslip, a ratio of punitive to compensa-

tory damages of four to one was found to be “close to the

line,” but still constitutionally permissible. Haslip, 499

U.S. at 23-24. In TXO, where this Court described defen-

dant’s conduct as consisting of “fraud, trickery and

deceit,” the ratio of punitive damages to “potential harm”

(which took into account not the actual pecuniary loss,

but the potential loss to plaintiffs) was ten to one, a ratio

that was found not to be “grossly excessive.” TXO, 509

U.S. at 462. In Gore, the Court held that a ratio of 500 to 1

was “breathtaking,” and “must surely ‘raise a suspicious

judicial eyebrow.’ ” Gore, 517 U.S. at 583 (quoting TXO,

509 U.S. at 481 (O’Connor, J., dissenting)).

22

The ratio here is 6,250 to 1. Compensatory damages

for the only claim under Ohio law that carried with it the

possibility of punitive damages (i.e., the property damage

claim) were $2,400.4 On this foundation stands a “breath-

taking” punitive damages award of $15,000,000. The Ohio

Supreme Court justified this proportion by focusing on

Conrail’s conduct in its entirety, rather than focusing

solely on the property damage claim that gave rise to the

punitive damages award, thereby, in essence, punishing

Conrail for the wrongful death claim on which no puni-

tive damages were (or could have been) awarded.

It is this difficulty that has confounded the lower

courts, which have split over whether the “egregious act”

encompasses all of plaintiff's claims or simply those

claims on which punitive damages may properly be

awarded. Many courts, both before and since the Gore

decision, have held that the proportionality of punitive

damages awards may be analyzed in relation only to

those compensatory claims that carry with them the pos-

sibility of punitive damages. See, e.g., Neibel v. Trans World

Assurance Co., 108 F.3d 1123, 1132 (9th Cir. 1997); Jeppesen

v. Rust, 8 F.3d 1235, 1239 (7th Cir. 1993); Creative Demos,

Inc. v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 955 F. Supp. 1032, 1043 (S.D.

Ind. 1997), aff'd in relevant part, 142 F.3d 367, 371 (7th Cir.

1998); Schimizzi v. Illinois Farmers Ins. Co., 928 F. Supp.

760, 786 (N.D. Ind. 1996); Grynberg v. Citation Oil & Gas

* Under Ohio law, punitive damages may not be assessed in

a wrongful death action. See Rubeck v. Huffman, 374 N.E.2d 411,

413 (Ohio 1978); see also Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 2125.02(B)

(Anderson 1998). Therefore, the punitive damages of

$15,000,000 in this case were based entirely on the $2,400 of

property damage.

23

Corp., 573 N.W.2d 493, 501 n.4, 504 (S.D. 1997). Other

courts, however, have evaluated punitive damages

awards by considering all of the damages awarded to a

plaintiff, including amounts awarded for claims that

would not themselves be subject to punitive damages.

See, e.g., lannone v. Frederic R. Harris, Inc., 941 F. Supp. 403,

415 (S.D.N.Y. 1996); Walston v. Monumental Life Ins. Co.,

923 P.2d 456, 468 (Idaho 1996).

The former approach not only is appropriate, but also

is constitutionally required. Otherwise, the very process

designed to protect a defendant’s constitutional rights

when punitive damages are imposed would yield the

anomalous result of sanctioning a punitive damages

award based in part on conduct that the state already has

determined does not warrant the imposition of such dam-

ages. In view of this Court’s recognition that a state

imposes punitive damages to serve state interests, Gore,

517 U.S. at 568-69, a punitive damages award that takes

into account conduct that a state already has determined

it has no interest in punishing violates due process. At a

minimum, this creates a serious question of the adequacy

of notice that is a fundamental component of due process.

This Court should resolve the conflict among the

lower courts by granting this petition and holding that, in

undertaking the constitutionally-required proportionality

analysis, courts should use as the foundation for deter-

mining the punitive-to-compensatory ratio only the com-

pensatory damages arising from those claims actually

subject to punitive damages and on which punitive dam-

ages actually were awarded. Although Conrail believes

24

that a punitive damages award of $15,000,000 is constitu-

tionally excessive even if it could be compared to a com-

pensatory damages award of $1,000,000 (the amount

awarded for the wrongful death claim in this case), this

case presents a stark opportunity for the Court to resolve

the lower-court split concerning proportionately because

there can be no doubt that the proper foundation for the

punitive damages award in this case - the $2,400 of

property damage to Darlene Wightman’s car - was far too

small to support a punitive award of $15,000,000.

B. A Punitive Damages Award That Is 6,250 Times

Greater than the Compensatory Award on

Which it Is Based Is Grossly Excessive and Vio-

lative of the Due Process Clause of the Four-

teenth Amendment.

Once the proper foundation is established for the

proportionality analysis, the punitive damages award in

this case cannot stand, as a ratio of 6,250 to 1 is drastically

greater than the ratio found constitutionally deficient in

Gore. The Ohio Supreme Court dismissed this Court’s

direction in Gore that the Constitution requires a reason-

able ratio between punitive and compensatory damages.

See App. 17a. (“We see the ratio between the compensa-

tory and punitive damages as less relevant here because

of the egregiousness of the act.”). However, as this Court

made clear in Gore, the proportionality factor is separate

and distinct from the reprehensibility factor; state courts

are not free to disregard the proportionality factor and

allow a 6,250 to 1 ratio based on their own assessment of

the “egregiousness of the act.”

25

To be sure, this Court has eschewed simple mathe-

matical formulae for determining when a ratio is consti-

tutionally excessive. See Gore, 517 U.S. at 582. However,

the extremely high ratio in this case, coupled with the

state courts’ denial of Conrail’s due process right to pre-

sent all of the relevant evidence bearing on the reprehen-

sibility of its conduct and the much higher punitive

sanction imposed in this case as compared to similar

penalties under state and federal law, lead to the inevita-

ble conclusion that the punitive damages award violates

the Due Process Clause.

+ + *

At the end of the day, the punitive award in this case

is the product of a deeply-flawed process that excluded

Conrail’s ability to demonstrate that mitigating circum-

stances existed. Punitive damages carry no inherent lim-

itations, which makes the defendant's ability to put ona

complete case absolutely critical to ensure that the award

is the product of a fair process. The trial error was com-

pounded by the failure of the state to ensure an impartial

appellate tribunal to review the propriety of the underly-

ing award under both state and federal law. The conse-

quence of those procedural missteps is a final punitive

award run amok, one that bears no rational relationship

to the compensatory award upon which it is based.

e

26

CONCLUSION

The Court should grant the petition for a writ of

certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Carter G. PHILurs Ar.tIN M. Apams*

Siptey & AUSTIN RatpH G. WELLINGTON

1722 Eye Street, N.W. Nancy WINKELMAN

Washington, D.C. 20006 STEPHANIE I.R. Fipcer

(202) 736-8711 Bruce P. MERENSTEIN

SCHNADER HARRISON SEGAL &

Lewis LLP

1600 Market Street,

Suite 3600

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 751-2000

Counsel for Petitioner

* Counsel of Record

Dated: December 3, 1999.

¢

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

Vv.

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Administratrix of the

Estate of Michelle L. Wightman, Deceased;

Michelle Wightman Charitable Foundation,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of Ohio

+

APPENDIX TO PETITION FOR A

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

i

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Opinion of the Supreme Court of Ohio, dated

September 15, 1999, 715 N.E.2d 546 (Ohio 1999) .... 1a

Opinion and Judgment Entry of the Court of

Appeals of Erie County, Ohio, dated September

30, 1997, No. E-97-001, 1997 Ohio App. LEXIS

S570. (OO: Ct Ba FONT oi oink hv Soak cic cccccess 34a

Opinion and Order of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated December 5, 1996, No.

89-CV-416, 1996 Ohio Misc. LEXIS 84 (C.P. Ct.

ny, eet EEE TORS TEE ae 50a

Judgment Entry of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated October 31, 1995....... 72a

Judgment Entry of the Common Pleas Court of

Erie County, Ohio, dated November 10, 1992..... 74a

Motion of Consolidated Rail Corporation to the

Supreme Court of Ohio to Recuse Justice

Francis E. Sweeney and Justice Paul E. Pfeifer

and Memorandum in Support Thereof (Filed

Under Seal), dated January 7, 1999.............. 75a

la

WIGHTMAN et al., Appellants

and Cross-Appelees,

v.

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION,

Appellee and Cross-Appellant.

No. 97-2342.

Supreme Court of Ohio

Submitted Nov. 10, 1998.

Decided Sept. 15, 1999.

Syllabus by the Court

A plaintiff who accepts a remittitur may appeal the

trial court’s determination of the damage issue if the

opposing party appeals any issue. If the reviewing court

finds no error as to the determination of damages, the

plaintiff’s prior acceptance of judgment for the reduced

amount will be affirmed unless the result of the principal

appeal requires otherwise.

On February 18, 1989, a Consolidated Rail Corpora-

tion (“Conrail”) freight train collided with a car driven by

Michelle Wightman, killing her and her passenger, Karrie

Wieber. Michelle’s mother, Darlene M. Wightman, owned

the car. Darlene Wightman sued Conrail as administrator

of her daughter’s estate for wrongful death and on her

own behalf for the destruction of her automobile.

The collision occurred as Michelle Wightman

attempted to negotiate a railroad crossing on Remington

Avenue in Sandusky. A Conrail train, SEEL-7, had experi-

enced mechanical difficulty and sat stopped on the track

approximately two-hundred eight feet from the grade

crossing at Remington Avenue. Due to its position when

2a

it stopped, SEEL-7 activated the crossing’s flashing lights

and gates.

Witnesses differed on how long SEEL-7 was stopped

prior to the crash. One witness estimated that he first

observed the stopped train at about 10:30 p.m., about

ninety minutes prior to the crash. The train’s crew esti-

mated that the train had stopped somewhere between

11:00 p.m. and 11:30 p.m. SEEL-7’s conductor, Terry

Warner, and its head brakeman, Leroy Powell, saw that

the gate arms were down at the crossing and that traffic

was nonetheless proceeding. They recognized that a dan-

gerous situation existed at the crossing. However, they

decided not to post a flagman at the crossing, and instead

the two walked the length of the train to find and repair

the mechanical problem. Warner described their decision

as “our only option.”

The engineer in SEEL-7’s lead engine also saw the

heavy Saturday evening traffic moving over the crossing.

He saw no one attempting to turn around and avoid the

crossing. While SEEL-7 was stopped, another train,

TVLA, went over the crossing without incident, traveling

at about seventy miles per hour. Radio communications

alerted the SEEL-7 crew that another train, TV-9, was

approaching the crossing. TV-9 would ultimately smash

into the car driven by Michelle Wightman.

About twenty minutes prior to the crash, a Sandusky

police officer, Lonnie Newell, came upon the scene. Offi-

cer Newell saw that SEEL-7 created a dangerous obstruc-

tion and requested his dispatcher to advise Conrail of the

situation. Satisfied that Conrail had been notified, Officer

Newell left the crossing to undertake a traffic stop and

a TT

3a

issue a verbal warning to a driver who had driven around

the gates.

Shortly after Officer Newell left the scene, sixteen-

year-old Michelle Wightman approached the crossing.

Several cars in front of the Wightman car successfully

proceeded over the crossing. Michelle Wightman slowly

followed. But, as one witness said, “They didn’t have a

chance * * * .” Before the Wightman car cleared the

crossing, the TV-9 train emerged at a speed of almost

sixty miles per hour and struck the car broadside,

instantly killing both occupants.

On October 30, 1990, a jury awarded the estate of

Michelle Wightman $1,000,000 in compensatory damages,

allocating sixty percent of the causal negligence to Con-

rail and forty percent to Michelle Wightman. The jury

also found Conrail liable for the damage to Darlene

Wightman’s property and determined that Conrail should

pay punitive damages on Darlene Wightman’s claim.

At the time of the trial, former R.C. 2315.21(C){2)

provided for bench proceedings to determine the amount

of punitive damages. The trial judge held that no punitive

damages should be awarded.

The Sixth District Court of Appeals upheld the com-

pensatory award to the estate, but reversed the trial

court's failure to award punitive damages on Darlene

Wightman’s claim. The appellate court found “that there

was clear and convincing evidence to support the jury’s

finding of actual malice on the part of appellant [Con-

railj.” 94 Ohio App.3d 389, 408, 640 N.E.2d 1160, 1173.

The appellate court remanded the matter to the trial court

“for determination as to the amount of punitive damages

4a

to which appellee, Darlene Wightman, is entitled in

accordance with this opinion.” Id. at 409, 640 N.E.2d at

1173. On September 14, 1994, this court declined to hear

Conrail’s appeal. 70 Ohio St.3d 1442, 638 N.E.2d 1044.

After the case was remanded to the trial court, but

before the trial court entered an amount of punitive dam-

ages, this court declared R.C. 2315.21(C)(2) unconstitu-

tional as a violation of the right to trial by jury. Zoppo v.

Homestead Ins. Co. (1994), 71 Ohio St.3d 552, 644 N.E.2d

397, paragraph two of the syllabus. Therefore, the amount

of punitive damages to assess against Conrail became a

jury issue.

A second jury was convened to determine that issue,

and that trial began on May 20, 1996. On that same date,

the trial court granted the motion to intervene of the

Michelle Wightman Charitable Foundation, to which Dar-

lene Wightman had apparently assigned not less than

one-half of any punitive damages award. The foundation

was not permitted to participate in the trial, however.

At the trial, the plaintiffs presented evidence of the

events surrounding the collision, and that evidence gen-

erally mirrored the evidence that had been presented in

the first trial. The jury heard testimony from plaintiffs’

expert, Dr. William D. Berg, a civil engineer with special

interest in grade-crossing safety. According to Dr. Berg,

the railroad industry has known for decades that when

gates at a crossing are allowed to remain down for an

unusual length of time, drivers will proceed over the

crossing. He testified that the danger of a crash is partic-

ularly great when there is an obstruction on the track. Dr.

Berg testified that a large number of the collisions that

5a

occur every year at grade crossings happen under condi-

tions “substantially similar” to those which existed at

Remington Avenue.

Dr. Berg testified that Conrail could have easily pre-

vented the collision by placing a flagman at the crossing

to stop traffic when a train was approaching, slowing the

speed of the TV-9, or blocking the crossing with the

SEEL-7 engine when a train was approaching.

The trial court prohibited Conrail from introducing

evidence it had introduced at the first trial regarding

certain circumstances surrounding the accident, which

focused for the most part on the contributory negligence

of Michelle Wightman. The court granted plaintiffs’

motions in limine regarding evidence of Michelle Wight-

man’s .039 percent blood-alcohol level at the time of the

accident, and evidence that her mother may have pro-

vided her with some alcohol. The court also granted

plaintiffs’ motion in limine regarding the testimony from a

Conrail expert regarding the effect that alcohol and a

driver’s age might have in a railroad-crossing collision.

The court found that the negligence of Michelle Wight-

man was not a part of the punitive damages case.

The court also granted plaintiffs’ motions in limine

regarding the first trial judge’s decision to award no

punitive damages and to references that the first jury had

found Michelle forty percent contributorily negligent.

The court also prohibited references to the fact that Con-

rail had paid $1,000,000 in compensatory damages for the

wrongful death of Michelle Wightman.

On May 23, 1996, the jury awarded Darlene Wight-

man $25,000,000 in punitive damages against Conrail. On

6a

June 7, 1996, Conrail filed a motion for remittitur or, in

the alternative, for a new trial. The railroad’s motion also

sought relief from post-judgment interest on the punitive

damages award.

The court granted a remittitur of $10,000,000, finding

that a $15,000,000 punitive damages award would “suffi-

ciently punish Conrail and create a positive inducement

to change its practices, rather than continue to challenge

the findings of the earlier jury and the Court of Appeals.”

The trial court also granted Conrail relief from post-

judgment interest, despite finding “no conclusive author-

ity in support of Conrail’s request.” The trial court rea-

soned that since punitive damages are not compensatory,

interest on the amount to compensate for delay in pay-

ment may not be necessary.

Darlene Wightman consented to the remittitur, but

both parties appealed aspects of the tria! court’s ruling.

Conrail appealed the jury award as grossly excessive, and

also appealed the trial court’s aforementioned evidenti-

ary rulings. Conrail also claimed that the trial court erred

in admitting Dr. Berg’s testimony.

Darlene Wightman cross-appealed, challenging the

remittitur. Darlene Wightman also appealed the trial

court’s grant of relief from post-judgment interest on the

punitive damages award.

The court of appeals affirmed the trial court in all

regards. The court found the remittitur not appealable

pursuant to this court’s decision in Scioto Mem. Hosp.

Assn. v. Price Waterhouse (1996), 74 Ohio St.3d 474, 479,

659 N.E.2d 1268, 1273. Plaintiffs had urged the court to

PS

7a

adopt the “Wisconsin rule” regarding the appealability of

remittiturs, whereby a plaintiff may appeal a remittitur to

which it consents if the defendant first initiates an appeal.

The appellate court declined to adopt the Wisconsin rule.

Both parties have appealed to this court.

The cause is before this court upon the allowance of a a

discretionary appeal and cross-appeal.

Murray & Murray Co., L.P.A., Thomas J. Murrary and

Mary O'Neill, Sandusky, for appellant and cross-appellee

Darlene M. Wightman.

Cavitch, Familo, Durkin & Frutkin, Harvey L. Frutkin

and Kerin Lyn Kaminski, Cleveland, for appellant and

cross-appellee Michelle Wightman Charitable Founda-

tion.

Ralph G. Wellington, pro hac vice, Nancy Winkle-

man, pro hac vice, and Arlin M. Adams, pro hac vice;

Vogelgesang, Howes, Lindamood & Brunn, Philip E.

Howes and Thomas R. Himmelspach, Canton, for appel-

lee and cross-appellant Consolidated Rail Corporation.

David E. Neumeister, pro hac vice, James K. Horst-

man, Richard Hodyl and Lloyd E. Williams, Jr., urging

reversal on cross-appeal for amici curiae, National Asso-

ciation of Independent Insurers and Alliance of American

Insurers.

Stanton G. Darling II, Columbus, urging reversal on

cross-appeal for amici curiae, Product Liability Advisory

Counsel and National Association of Manufacturers.

Buckingham, Doolittle & Burroughs, L.L.P., and Scott

A. Richardson, Canton, urging reversal on cross-appeal

8a

for amicus curiae, Ohio Association of Civil Trial Attor-

neys.

Allen Schulman & Assocs. Co., L.P.A., and Allen

Schulman, Jr., Columbus; Clark, Perdue, Roberts & Scott

Co., L.P.A., and Paul O. Scott, Columbus, urging reversal

on appeal for amicus curiae, Ohio Academy of Trial Law-

yers.

Squire, Sanders & Dempsey and Charles F. Clarke,

Cleveland, urging reversal on cross-appeal for amicus

curiae, Association of American Railroads.

PFEIFER, J.

We affirm the lower court decisions on evidentiary

matters in this case. We find that the punitive damages

award with remittitur is not excessive and is constitu-

tional. We reverse the lower court on the issue of appeal-

ability of a remittitur and adopt the “Wisconsin rule” on

that issue. We find that the trial court did not abuse its

discretion in ordering a remittitur. Finally, we reverse the

lower court on the issue of relief from post-judgment

interest on a punitive damages award.

Evidentiary Issues

We find that the trial court acted within its discretion

in granting the motions in limine that plaintiffs sought.

Despite its claims to the contrary, Conrail was not pre-

cluded from mounting a defense.

The purpose of the latest incarnation of this case was

to determine how much Conrail should pay in punitive

damages. Liability and actual malice on the part of Con-

rail had already been determined at an earlier trial. This

9a

court held in Schellhouse v. Norfolk & W. Ry. Co. (1991), 61

Ohio St.3d 520, 524-525, 575 N.E.2d 453, 456, that “[a]cts

committed with actual malice constitute behavior quali-

tatively different from that which may be characterized as

merely negligent” and, therefore contributory negligence

is not available as a defense where conduct in conscious

disregard has been established. Thus, since contributory

negligence was not a part of this case, the trial court

properly prevented the introduction of evidence that

Michelle Wightman had consumed a small amount of

alcohol prior to the collision, and that the alcohol may

have been provided to her by her mother. The testimony

of Dr. Herbert Moskowitz was based on the effects Mic-

helle Wightman’s youth and drinking might have on the

accident, and was also properly excluded.

Conrail also sought to have introduced to the jury

certain findings from the first trial, including the compen-

satory damages paid to the estate and the trial judge’s

decision to award no punitive damages. We find that the

trial court properly granted plaintiffs’ motions in limine

on those issues. The amount of compensatory damages

awarded in the first trial to the estate is irrelevant to the

punitive damages claim of Mrs. Wightman. Finally, the

fact that the first trial judge abused his discretion and

failed to award punitive damages is also irrelevant to the

later punitive damages trial.

Conrail also contends that the trial court erred in

admitting certain testimony of plaintiff’s expert, Dr. Wil-

liam Berg. Conrail objects to Dr. Berg’s statement that,

based on the statistics he has maintained for over twenty

years, there are “in the order of 1,000 vehicle train colli-

sions that were of magnitude that occurred at crossings

10a

that didn’t have automatic warning devices, including

gates per year.” Dr. Berg also testified that “a large

number of these collisions are occurring in situations that

are substantially similar. And when I say substantially

similar, what I’m saying is where you have got a loss of

credibility because the signals are operative for an

extended period of time and when you’ve got the

obstructions.”

Conrail argues that Dr. Berg’s testimony failed to

meet the requirements of Evid.R. 703 and 705. Evid.R. 703

provides as follows:

“The facts or data in the particular case upon which

an expert bases an opinion or inference may be those

perceived by him or admitted in evidence at the hearing.”

Evid.R. 705 states:

“The expert may testify in terms of opinion or infer-

ence and give his reasons therefor after disclosure of the

underlying facts or data. The disclosure may be in

response to a hypothetical question or otherwise.”

Conrail asserts that Dr. Berg’s testimony violated

Evid.R. 703 because he had no personal knowledge of the

statistics he cited, and the statistics had not been intro-

duced into evidence. With respect to Evid.R. 705, Conrail

asserts that Dr. Berg did not identify the person or orga-

nization that maintains those statistics and did not dis-

close where the statistics are published.

The decision of whether or not to admit evidence

rests in the sound discretion of the court and will not be

disturbed absent an abuse of that discretion. Peters v. Ohio

lla

State Lottery Comm. (1992), 63 Ohio St.3d 296, 299, 587

N.E.2d 290, 292.

We find that the trial court did not err in allowing Dr.

Berg’s testimony. There are certain things that an expert,

by reason of his expertise, knows. Conrail does not claim

that Dr. Berg did not qualify as an expert under Evid. R.

702. When providing background information, and not

opining as to causation, we cannot expect an expert to

footnote every statement with a recitation of his direct

observation of the phenomenon, or a bibliography

explaining how he knows his statement to be true.

Dr. Berg was merely testifying as to facts in his area

of expertise. A distinction can be made between back-

ground information and an opinion about causation. A

doctor testifying in a medical malpractice case regarding

a failed heart surgery, for instance, need not set forth the

underlying facts regarding his knowledge of the basic

makeup of the thoracic cavity. He does, however, have to

set forth the facts underlying his opinion as to what

caused the procedure to fail.

Dr. Berg was setting forth background information so

that the jury could draw its own conclusion. When testi-

fying as to broad patterns rather than specific opinions,

the same level of foundation is not required.

Dr. Berg was open to aggressive cross-examination if

Conrail thought his statistics were skewed or inaccurate.

He was also open to rebuttal from Conrail witnesses. The

trial court acted within its discretion in allowing the

testimony of Dr. Berg.

12a

We therefore affirm the court of appeals on all of the

evidentiary issues.

Excessiveness of Punitive Damages Award

Conrail argues that the punitive damages award of

$15,000,000 was grossly excessive and violated both Ohio

law and the Due Process Clause of the United States

Constitution. Conrail bases much of its argument regard-

ing Ohio law on the ratio between the compensatory

damage award and the punitive damages award. Mrs.

Wightman’s property loss was $2,400, and upon that loss

was based the $15,000,000 punitive damages award, an

amount 6,250 times greater than the compensatory

award.

In its brief, Conrail provides a survey of Ohio cases

from October 1, 1986 to “the beginning of 1997” in which

punitive damages were awarded, concluding that the

greatest disparity between punitive and compensatory

damages was 600 to |. (Conrail conveniently ends its

survey in “the beginning of 1997” before the award of a

$6,000,000 punitive damages award on a $100 property

damage claim, a 60,000 to 1 ratio, in Garrett v. Consolidated

Rail Corp. [1997], 120 Ohio App.3d 378, 697 N.E.2d 1109,

discretionary appeals not allowed in 80 Ohio St.3d 1444,

686 N.E.2d 273.) Conrail thus seems to indicate that if

Michelle Wightman had been driving a car worth $25,000,

a 600 to 1 ratio, the punitive damages award in this case

would have been acceptable. Conrail’s attempted use of

ratios exemplifies why the determination of punitive

damages is not a mathematical process.

13a

This court has stated that simply a large disparity

between actual and punitive damages is not enough to set

aside a jury’s punitive damages award:

“Low compensatory damages and high punitive

damages assessed by a jury are not in and of themselves

cause to reverse the judgment or to grant a remittitur,

since it is the function of the jury to assess the damages

and, generally, it is not for the trial or appellate court to

substitute its judgment for that of the trier of fact. A large

disparity, standing alone, is insufficient to justify a

court’s interference with the province of the jury.” Villella

v. Waikem Motors, Inc. (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d 36, 40, 543

N.E.2d 464, 469.

A large disparity is allowable because a punitive

damages award is more about a defendant’s behavior

than the plaintiff’s loss. “The purpose of punitive dam-

ages is not to compensate a plaintiff, but to punish and

deter certain conduct.” Moskovitz v. Mt. Sinai Med. Ctr.

(1994), 69 Ohio St.3d 638, 651, 635 N.E.2d 331, 343. The

value of the car Michelle Wightman was driving has little

to do with how a jury might effectively and fairly punish

and deter Conrail’s conduct regarding the operation of its

crossings. Tellingly, Conrail makes no argument that the

punitive damages award was disproportionate as to its

own income or net worth, but only that it was dispropor-

tionate to the value of the Wightman car.

The trial judge in this case did an in-depth analysis of

the appropriateness of the jury’s award. He found an

award of $15,000,000 to be appropriate. We have held that

“the trial judge is in the best position to determine

whether an award is so excessive as to be deemed a

14a

product of passion or prejudice.” Villella, 45 Ohio St.3d at

40, 543 N.E.2d at 469. The trial judge believed a deterrent

effect was necessary for Conrail because it was unwilling

to accept responsibility for the collision. The trial judge

found that Conrail’s trial strategy “reflects a corporate

attitude which clearly fails to recognize that the

extremely dangerous practice which produced this cata-

strophic collision needs to be changed.”

_ A substantial harm, a continuing risk, a deterrent

effect, and an economically viable company are factors

that make a significant punitive damages award appro-

priate in this case. We find that the punitive damages

award was not excessive and did not violate Conrail’s

rights under Ohio law.

Conrail also claims that the punitive damages award

violates Conrail’s due process rights under the United

States Constitution. The United States Supreme Court has

held that an award violates due process when it can be

categorized as “grossly excessive” in relation to the

state’s legitimate interests in punishing unlawful conduct

and deterring its repetition. TXO Production Corp. v. Alli-

ance Resources Corp. (1993), 509 U.S. 443, 456, 113 S.Ct.

2711, 2719, 125 L.Ed.2d 366, 378.

In BMW of N. Am, Inc. v. Gore (1996), 517 U.S. 559, 116

S.Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2d 809, the court held that elemental

notions of fairness “dictate that a person receive fair

notice not only of the conduct that will subject him to

punishment but also of the severity of the penalty that a

State may impose.” 517 U.S. 574, 116 S.Ct. at 1598, 134

L.Ed.2d at 826. The court discussed three guideposts that

indicate whether a defendant has received adequate

15a

notice of the possible sanction. A lack of fair notice may

render a sanction “grossly excessive.”

The guideposts set forth in BMW include the degree

of reprehensibility of the defendant’s conduct, the dis-

parity between the harm suffered by the plaintiff and the

amount of the punitive damages award, and the differ-

ence between the punitive damages award and civil or

criminal penalties authorized or imposed in similar cases.

517 U.S. at 574-575, 116 S.Ct. at 1598-1599, 134 L.Ed.2d at

826. In BMW, the defendant sold a car to the plaintiff

without disclosing that it had been damaged during ship-

ping and had been repainted. Defendant, the national

distributor of BMW automobiles, had a company policy

of repainting cars that suffered minor, predelivery dam-

age. The defendant notified neither its dealers nor its

customers of the damage. The policy affected about one

thousand automobiles. The trial jury awarded plaintiff

$4,000 in compensatory damages and $4,000,000 in puni-

tive damages. On appeal the Alabama Supreme Court

ordered a remittitur in the amount of $2,000,000.

The court in BMW described the degree of reprehen-

sibility of the defendant’s conduct as “[plerhaps the most

important indicium of the reasonableness of a punitive

damages award.” 517 U.S. at 575, 116 S.Ct. at 1599, 134

L.Ed.2d at 826. In overturning the punitive damages

award in BMW, the court made a special note that the

harm inflicted on the plaintiff was purely economic in

nature. The court stated that “BMWs conduct evinced no

indifference to or reckless disregard for the health and

safety of others.” 517 U.S. at 576, 116 S.Ct. at 1599, 134

L.Ed.2d at 827.

:

16a

It is with this guidepost, the most important one, that

this case distinguishes itself the most from BMW. Ineffec-

tive gates at a railroad crossing are of a completely differ-

ent character than a painted-over scratch on a luxury

automobile. Literally and figuratively, we are dealing

with the difference between a scratch and a cataclysm -

the difference between a practice that might affect the

value of an automobile by ten percent, and a practice that

could result in massive property damage, physical inju-

ries, and untold psychological pain. Conrail evinced a

disregard of the danger it posed to the health and safety

of motorists.

In this case, Conrail employees did nothing to warn

drivers of oncoming trains, despite the fact that they saw

vehicles crossing the track by driving around the gates.

Even after a phone call from police, Conrail did not take

preventative measures to avert an accident. According to

the trial judge, this tragic case has done little to persuade

Conrail to change, citing Conrail’s “corporate attitude

which clearly fails to recognize that the extremely dan-

gerous practice which produced the catastrophic collision

needs to be changed.”

We find that Conrail’s conduct reaches the level of

reprehensibility sufficient to warrant the substantial

punitive damages award the jury imposed in this case.

The “second * * * indicium of an unreasonable or

excessive punitive damages award is its ratio to the

actual harm inflicted on the plaintiff.” 517 U.S. at 580, 116

S.Ct. at 1601, 134 L.Ed.2d at 829. The Supreme Court has

stated that the harm can include the harm likely to result

from the defendant’s conduct as well as the harm that

17a

actually has occurred. 517 U.S. at 581, 116 S.Ct. at 1602,

134 L.Ed.2d at 830. But the court, like this court, has

consistently rejected the notion of a bright-line mathe-

matical formula for the computation of the reasonable-

ness of punitive damages awards. The court recognizes

that “low awards of compensatory damages may prop-

erly support a higher ratio than high compensatory

awards, if, for example, a particularly egregious act has

resulted in only a small amount of economic damages.”

517 U.S. at 582, 116 S.Ct. at 1602, 134 L.Ed.2d at 831.

We see the ratio between the compensatory and puni-

tive damages as less relevant here because of the

egregiousness of the act. The injury here was catastrophic

and could have been financially more so. We are not

persuaded that if Michelle Wightman had been driving a

$40,000 BMW that would make a more acceptable ratio.

An expensive car does not make the award more legiti-

mate. The award stands on its own. This case offers one

of those particular instances where a particularly

egregious act has resulted in a small amount of economic

damages.

The third guidepost set forth in the BMW «case is

comparing the punitive damages award and the civil or

criminal penalties that could be imposed for comparable

misconduct. In BMW, the court looked to the plaintiff’s

home state’s Deceptive Trade Practices Act, which had a

maximum penalty of $2,000. The court reasoned that the

amount would not provide an out-of-state distributor

with fair notice that a violation might subject an offender

to a multimillion-dollar penalty. Id. at 584, 116 S.Ct. at

1603, 134 L.Ed.2d at 832.

18a

Conrail claims to have violated no Ohio statutes on

the night of the accident. Conrail argues that even if it

had not fully complied with all laws, the maximum fed-

eral penalty for the willful failure to comply with an

order to remedy a violation of signal-system safety regu-

lations that creates an imminent danger of death or injury

is $22,000 per violation. Section 209.409, Title 49, C.F.R.

But the BMW case and its civil penalties are a world

away from this case. BMW requires that the penalties

imposed be for comparable misconduct. In BMW, the

$2,000 fine actually applied to the specific conduct of the

defendant that was at issue. The $22,000 fine Conrail

refers to does not apply to the specific conduct involved

in this case. The $22,000 fine applies to the failure to

comply with an order to remedy a violation of signal-

system safety regulations. An order has to have been

made and disregarded by the railroad company for the

fine to be imposed. It is not a fine for causing a death.

The far more relevant civil “penalty” in cases like

these is the potential civil damage award in a lawsuit. We

agree with the trial court that Conrail could expect

extraordinary civil damages from collisions it causes.

Multiple passenger accidents where severe injuries occur

could yield civil damage awards in the millions of dol-

lars. Conrail could see this coming.

There are no comparable statutory fines in this case

to compare how the state deals with similar malfeasance.

The trial court felt that criminal sanctions may have been

in order in this case. The judge opined that “had the

appropriate prosecuting authorities been made aware of

all the facts and circumstances surrounding this tragic

19a

and unnecessary collision, those authorities would have

been compelled to consider criminal prosecution, possi-

bly for involuntary manslaughter.”

Thus, we conclude that the applicable criminal and

civil penalties available were comparable to the punitive

damages award.

In considering the three guideposts set forth by the

court in BMW, we find that Conrail had fair notice of the

conduct that would subject it to punishment as well as

the severity of the possible punishment. The award in

this case was not grossly excessive and did not violate

Conrail’s due process rights.

We therefore affirm the lower court on this issue.

Appealability of Remittitur by Plaintiffs

Plaintiffs sought appellate review of the trial court’s

remittitur, arguing that since the court failed to find that

the jury’s award was excessive, remittitur was unavail-

able. Plaintiffs’ first hurdle in that regard is the issue of

the apppealability of a remittitur. In Scioto Mem. Hosp.

Assn. v. Price Waterhouse (1996), 74 Ohio St.3d 474, 479,

659 N.E.2d 1268, 1273, this court stated that “where a

party voluntarily chooses to accept a remittitur, rather

than a new trial, it cannot challenge that remittitur on

appeal. Iron RR. Co. v. Mowery (1881), 36 Ohio St. 418,

paragraph three of the syllabus.” This court found the

rule against appeal of remittiturs to be “fundamentally

fair, as it simply binds a party to its election.” Id.

The different circumstances that this case presents

have caused us to reconsider our endorsement in Scioto of

Iron RR. There are issues of fairness and judicial economy

20a

surrounding this remittitur that were not a part of the

case in Scioto. And certainly now judicial economy plays

a more important role in our justice system than in did

when Iron RR was decided in 1881.

Here, the trial court ordered the remittitur; in Scioto,

it was the appellate court. The benefits to judicial econ-

omy are greater with a trial-level remittitur. Secondly, in

this case the appropriateness of the punitive damages

award was at the center of defendant’s appeal. We ques-

tion the fairness of allowing one party to challenge the

award without also allowing the other party to voice her

own argument.

This case has given us an opportunity to consider the

value of remittitur and to contemplate the policy that best

and most fairly supports its purposes.

Overall, this case presents a compelling example of

the worth of remittitur. The trial court’s rationale in

ordering remittitur was well intentioned. The court wrote

in its opinion:

“This Court is concerned that if it simply overrules

Conrail’s motion lengthy appeals will ensure with poten-

tially grave consequences for the safety of motorists

using Conrail grade crossings. The Court, therefore, feels

compelled, as a matter of public safety, to do everything

in its power to [e]nsure that the purpose of punitive

damages is promptly effectuated and that Conrail

promptly changes the practice which produced this

unnecessary tragedy. After much reflection, this Court

has concluded that the most effective way to deter Con-

rail from continuing this practice is to remit the jury’s

verdict to an amount which would sufficiently punish

2la

Conrail and create a positive inducement to change its

practices, rather than to challenge the findings of the

earlier jury and the Court of Appeals.”

Remittitur plays an important role in judicial econ-

omy by encouraging an end to litigation rather than a

new trial. The trial court sets forth persuasively the great

value of a conclusion. There are times when an end has

its own value, with justice delivered, and not further

delayed. A final judgment brings closure, certainty, and

possibly a commitment to changed future behavior. These

are societal benefits as well as benefits to the parties.

Wrongs are righted through judgments. Our justice sys-

tem does not work without finality. Until then, the sys-

tem’s great value is in limbo. We take little from it, but we

continually feed it with our energies, intellect, and emo-

tions.

The judge and both parties play a role in ending

litigation. The law surrounding remittitur should reflect

that. Under Scioto, defendants seek remittitur and benefit

from it, but then can extend the litigation risk-free by

appealing the remitted judgment. While remittitur is an

effective tool at bringing about closure, it loses its vitality

when it fails that important role. The plaintiff should not

have to bear the brunt of its failure.

Thus, for reasons of fairness and judicial economy,

we adopt what has become known as the “Wisconsin

tule.” Pursuant to the Wisconsin rule, first enunciated in

Plesko v. Milwaukee (1963), 19 Wis.2d 210, 220-221, 120

N.W.2d 130, 135, a plaintiff who accepts a remittitur may

appeal the trial court’s determination of the damage issue

if the opposing party appeals any issue. If the reviewing

a a

22a

court finds no error as to the determination of damages,

the plaintiff's prior acceptance of judgment for the

reduced amount will be affirmed unless the result of the

principal appeal requires otherwise.

The court’s reasoning in Plesko mirrors our own con-

cerns about fairness and judiciai economy. The court

wrote:

“The objective underlying the recommended pro-

cedure for granting an option to accept judgment for a

reduced amount of damages in lieu of having a new trial,

where the damages awarded by the jury are determined

by the trial court to be excessive, is to avoid the delay and

expense of an appeal or a new trial. In most situations, it

is likely that the party will accept judgment for such

reduced damages rather than undergo the expense, delay

and uncertainty of result of an appeal or new trial. Nev-

ertheless, if a party found liable to pay damages appeals

the judgment resulting from the other party’s accepting

such reduced damages, this objective has been negatived.

When plaintiff is forced to undergo an appeal by the

action of an opposing party, after plaintiff has accepted

judgment for such reduced damages, it seems unfair to

prevent his having a review of the trial court’s determina-

tion leading to the reduction in damages, especially if the

plaintiff has accepted same only to avoid the delay and

expense attending an appeal. Furthermore, the new rule

herein announced may to some extent discourage appeals

by the party held liable because of the possibility that the

party who has accepted judgment for the reduced dam-

ages may prevail on his motion for review and have the

jury’s verdict reinstated.” 19 Wis.2d at 221, 120 N.W.2d at

135.

23a

Remittitur works best where no appeal follows. A

plaintiff accepts remittitur in lieu of a new trial. An

appeal reopens the possibility of new trial, leaving the

plaintiff with a reduced award that she cannot appeal.

Defendants, as in this case, are able to attack that jury

award on appeal. The goal of judicial economy is

thwarted, and a defendant receives an unfair advantage

as to what is appealable.

We do not know whether the threat of appealability

of the remittitur will persuade defendants not to appeal

cases. However, if remittitur’s benefit to judicial economy

is thwarted by an appeal, the system operates more fairly

under the Wisconsin rule.

We therefore reverse the court of appeals on this

issue,

The Remittitur in this Case

A court has the inherent authority to remit an exces-

sive award, assuming it is not tainted with passion or

prejudice, to an amount supported by the weight of the

evidence. In Chester Park v. Schulte (1929), 120 Ohio St. 273,

166 N.E. 186, paragraph three of the syllabus, this court set

forth the specific criteria that must be met before a court

may grant a remittitur: (1) unliquidated damages are

assessed by a jury, (2) the verdict is not influenced by

Passion or prejudice, (3) the award is excessive, and (4) the

plaintiff agrees to the reduction in damages.

The trial court in this case did state at one point in its

opinion on remittitur that it was “not prepared to say that

a verdict of $25,000,000 is excessive under Ohio law.”

24a

The trial court was obviously not concerned with

“magic words.” But the court throughout its opinion did

keep in mind the twin goals of punitive damages — pun-

ishment and deterrence. The court found that the award

as remitted will “sufficiently punish Conrail and create a

positive inducement to change its practices.” The court

reduced the award to an amount sufficient to promptly

effectuate the purpose of punitive damages. Damages

allowed beyond that sufficiency would have been exces-

sive.

We find that the trial court did not abuse its discre-

tion in concluding that a $15 million punitive damages

award was sufficient to achieve the purpose of punish-

ment and deterrence.

Post-Judgment Interest Relief

The trial court granted Conrail relief from paying

post-judgment interest on the punitive damages award.

The court of appeals affirmed the trial court’s wccision.

We find that the trial court’s decision to relieve Conrail

from paying interest on the punitive damages award was

contrary to law.

R.C. 1343.03(B), Ohio’s interest statute, provides in

relevant part:

“[I]nterest on a judgment, decree, or order for the

payment of money rendered in a civil action based on

tortious conduct shall be computed from the date the

judgment, decree, or order is rendered to the date on

which the money is paid.”

25a

The statute is direct and mandatory. The $15 million

punitive damages award was a “judgment * * * for the

payment of money rendered in a civil action based on

tortious conduct.” As such, the interest “shall be” com-

puted from the date the judgment is rendered.

The statute provides no wiggle room, and renders

pointless any discussion about the Philosophical under-

pinnings of punitive damages. The statute applies to

judgments. This was a judgment. The statute applies and

the interest clock ran from the date of the judgment.

We therefore reverse the court of appeals on this

issue.

Accordingly, the judgment of the court of appeals is

affirmed in part and reversed in part.

Judgment affirmed in part and reversed in part.

DOUGLAS, RESNICK and FRANCIS E. SWEENEY,

JJ., concur.

MOYER, C.J., COOK and LUNDBERG STRATTON,

JJ., concur in part and dissent in part.

MOYER, CJ., concurring in part and dissenting in

part.

I concur with the judgment of the majority and with

the reasoning in the majority opinion, except on the

remittitur issue (Issue IV). I write separately because we

are not required to reach the issue of whether a remittitur

is generally appealable by the plaintiff. Therefore, this is

an inappropriate case for defining a new standard of law

for Ohio.

26a

I would hold that where, as in the case before us, a

trial court deems a jury award not to be excessive, the

trial court lacks authority to offer a remittitur, and that it

is an abuse of discretion to grant a new trial or offer a

remittitur to reduce damages.

Because the trial court here expressly determined

that the jury did not award excessive punitive damages

under Ohio law in returning a verdict of $25,000,000, the

trial court had no authority to remit the jury award to

$15,000,000. It therefore becomes necessary to reevaluate

the appropriateness of the punitive damages award.

The majority correctly states that, in lieu of ordering

a new trial, a court has the inherent authority to remit an

excessive award not tainted by passion or prejudice, if the

plaintiff agrees to the remittitur. See, e.g., Larrissey v.

Norwalk Truck Lines, Inc. (1951) 155 Ohio St. 207, 44 O.O.

238, 98 N.E.2d 419, paragraph five of the syllabus; Pen-

dleton Street R.R. Co. v. Rahmann (1872), 22 Ohio St. 446.

However, “[i]t is the function of the jury to assess the

damages, and generally, it is not for a trial or appellate

court to substitute its judgment for that of the trier of

fact.” Villella v. Waikem Motors, Inc. (1989), 45 Ohio St.3d

36, 40, 543 N.E.2d 464, 469. The trial court has only

limited authority to offer remittitur. The concept of remit-

titur was developed to provide the trial court with an

alternate remedy, in the interest of judicial economy, by

which it could correct an award that was legally exces-

sive, thereby avoiding another trial.

In Chester Park Co. v. Schulte (1929), 120 Ohio St. 273,

166 N.E. 186, paragraph three of the syllabus, this court

27a

set forth the specific criteria that control the determina-

tion of a trial court to grant remittitur. One of these

criteria is that the original jury award is found to be

excessive. The majority cites this criterion, admits that the

trial court did not meet it, and yet, accepts the trial

court’s order of remittitur.

I have found no support for allowing a trial court to

offer remittitur absent a finding that a jury’s verdict of

damages was excessive. To allow a court to offer remit-

titur simply because the trial court, as in this case,

believes that a lesser award might help the defendant

accept the verdict without challenge, would be to infringe

improperly upon the plaintiff's right to a jury determina-

tion and could be viewed as encouraging defendants to

threaten appeals and delay payment of verdicts.

The trial court, in this case, originally filed a judg-

ment entry ordering the defendant to pay the plaintiff the

entire $25,000,000 in punitive damages that had been

awarded by the jury. Following this judgment entry, the

defendant moved for remittitur to an amount less than

$1,200,000 on the grounds that the verdict was excessive

and in violation of due process, or in the alternative, for a

new trial on the grounds that the verdict was tainted with

passion and prejudice. The court granted the motion for

remittitur and denied the motion for a new trial. In doing

so, the trial court cited Chester Park, including the crite-

rion that the trial court find the damages award to be

excessive. The trial court then specifically found that the

damages awarded by the jury were not excessive under

Ohio law and unconditionally denied the motion for a

new trial. It nonetheless asked the plaintiff to agree to a

remittitur.

“

28a

It is true that we must defer to the trial court’s

discretion, absent an abuse of discretion, when it deter-

mines a verdict to be legally excessive. See Thompson v.

Titus (1959), 169 Ohio St. 203, 8 O.0.2d 166, 158 N.E.2d

357; Larrissey at 219-220, 44 O.O. at 243-244, 98 N.E.2d at

426. However, we cannot defer to a judgment that the

trial court had no authority pursuant to statutory or

common law to make.

- I would remand this case to the court of appeals to

determine whether the trial court erred in concluding

that the punitive damages award was not excessive.

LUNDBERG STRATTON, J., concurs in the foregoing

opinion.

COOK, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part.

I concur in the decision to affirm the judgment of the

court of appeals on the issues raised by Conrail on cross-

appeal.

I dissent, however, from the decision of the majority

to depart from the precedent ratified just three years ago

in Scioto Mem. Hosp. Assn. v. Price Waterhouse (1996), 74

Ohio St.3d 474, 479, 659 N.E.2d 1268, 1273, that binds a

party to its acceptance of a remittitur. The majority deci-

sion to overrule this recent case rests on “[t]he different

circumstances that this case presents,” and to me that

reasoning departs from the precept that a court’s “judg-

ment should be a declaration of legal principles rather

than a determination of facts and circumstances.” Lamb v.

Lehmann (1924), 110 Ohio St. 59, 80, 143 N.E. 276, 282.

Certainly a court should be vigilant in reviewing prior

holdings for error and should retreat from erroneously

29a

decided precedent when justified. But “different circum-

stances” is not a reason that comports with the goals of

neutrality and predictability.

Because I would not overrule Scioto, I would affirm

the court of appeals’ decision that the remittitur is not

appealable. I also would affirm the related determination

of the court of appeals that because the remittitur judg-

ment denied post-judgment interest, plaintiff may not

appeal that aspect of the remittitur either.

LUNDBERG STRATTON, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part.

I concur with the majority on the third (Appealability

of Remittitur by Plaintiffs) and fifth issues (Post-Judg-

ment Interest Relief), but respectfully dissent on the first

(Evidentiary Issues), second (Excessiveness of Punitive

Damages Award), and fourth issues (The Remittitur in

this Case).

Excessiveness of Punitive Damages

and

The Remittitur in this Case

I believe that the damages award in this case is, in

essence, an award based on a wrongful death -— the fact

that Michelle Wightman was killed in this accident.

Under Ohio law, punitive damages are not permitted in

wrongful death cases. See Rubeck v. Huffman (1978), 54

Ohio St.2d 20, 23, 8 O0.0.3d 11, 13, 374 N.E.2d 411, 413;

Schaefer v. D & J Produce, Inc. (1978), 62 Ohio App.2d 53,

57, 16 O.0.3d 108, 111, 403 N.E.2d 1015, 1018-1019. The

majority avoids addressing this issue, carefully referring

30a

only to the property damage of $2,400 as the point of

comparison. Yet, the majority frequently refers to the

“harm” created by the accident, such as referring to Con-

rail’s actions as “a practice that could result in massive

property damages, physical injuries, and untold psycho-

logical pain.” By distinguishing this case from BMW of N.

Am. Inc. v. Gore (1996), 517 U.S. 559, 116 S.Ct. 1589, 134

L.Ed.2d 809, on the basis of health and safety issues, the

majority implicitly sanctions the punitive damages award

for the wrongful death, not the comparatively minor

property loss.

By affirming an award of punitive damages that is

6,250 times the property damage award (even after remit-

titur), this court may encourage plaintiffs in wrongful

death cases to include a property damage claim, no mat-

ter its value, to use as a basis to recover exorbitant

punitive damages. The result is, in essence, a judicially

endorsed negation of Ohio’s wrongful death statute. This

court has now implicitly sanctioned punitive damages for

wrongful death, despite the fact that a wrongful death

claim exists only by statute and does not provide for

punitive damages.

Since the majority does not directly address this

issue, presumably, the principle of law still stands that

punitive damages cannot be awarded in a wrongful death

claim. To the extent that the majority intended otherwise,

I dissent.

Evidentiary Issues

I believe that Conrail was wrongfully denied due

process when it was not allowed to present a full defense

OO”Q_LDD __—eGeGS<O

3la

in the remand trial. The Ohio Constitution mandates that

due process be afforded to all litigants. “The fundamental

requisite of due process of law is the opportunity to be

heard.” Grannis v. Ordean (1914), 234 U.S. 385, 394, 34S.Ct

779, 783, 58 L.Ed. 1363, 1369. See, also, Matthews v.

Eldridge (1976), 424 U.S. 319, 333, 96 S.Ct. 893, 902, 47

L.Ed.2d 18, 32 (“The fundamental requirement of due

process is the opportunity to be heard ‘at a meaningful

time and in a meaningful manner.’ "); Brock v. Roadway

Express, Inc. (1987), 481 U.S. 252, 261, 107 S.Ct. 1740, 1747,

95 L.Ed.2d 239, 250. |

For over a century, the law in Ohio has been that

when awarding punitive damages, a jury should consider

all evidence, both aggravating and mitigating. Schneider v.

Hosier (1871), 21 Ohio St. 98, 113-114. Due process and

fundamental fairness require that the jury be informed of

all of the circumstances in order to fully evaluate the

defendant’s conduct. Yet Conrail was prevented from

presenting an effective defense because the trial judge in

the retrial on the punitive damages issues excluded much

of the testimony from the original trial. The second jury,

in essence, heard only plaintiff’s version of the events.

I agree that to some degree an award of punitive

damages may have been Proper in the case. The majority

clearly set forth the shortcomings of Conrail in this mat-

ter. But Michelle Wightman was not without fault. There

was testimony in the original case that had Wightman

exercised caution, she could have avoided this accident.

Yet this jury heard none of this evidence.

In fact, the original jury found that Wightman was

forty percent responsible for the accident. That jury heard

32a

evidence that Wightman was a young, inexperienced

driver, having had her license for only six months. That

jury heard how she had drunk two cans of beer and three

wine coolers, supplied by her mother, before the accident.

They also heard from another expert, Dr. Herbert

Moskowitz, that this combination of factors increased

Wightman’s risk of accident by five hundred percent.

That jury also had a vehicle dynamics event analysis from

expert Deane H. Ellsworth that an unimpaired driver

proceeding at her speed would have had time to see and

avoid the oncoming train. The jury on remand was enti-

tled to know that another jury had earlier found Wight-

man to be forty percent contributorily negligent.

We do not know if the jury on remand, had it heard

all of this evidence on remand, would have awarded the

same amount of punitive damages. But we do know that

the first trial judge, who did hear this evidence, refused

to award any punitive damages at all — a sharp contrast to

the second verdict of $25 million. That alone creates a

very strong presumption of prejudice. By hearing Dr.

William Berg’s testimony only and no contradicting opin-

ion on whether the accident was avoidable, the jury had

no opportunity to judge the credibility of that testimony.

Only by hearing all of the testimony could the jury on

remand have effectively evaluated (1) whether to award

any punitive damages, and (2) if so, how reprehensible

Conrail’s conduct was in light of the evidence adduced at

the original trial that Wightman could have avoided the

accident. Evidence of Wightman’s contributory negli-

gence was not sufficient to excuse Conrail from compen-

satory liability, but it may well have been sufficient to

excuse Conrail from a punitive damages award. This

33a

grossly one-sided presentation denied Conrail any due

process or fundamental fairness in this trial.

For the reasons above, I believe that the verdict was

sorely tainted. I would reverse and remand on the evi-

dentiary and excessiveness issues for a full and fair

retrial.

34a

Darlene M. Wightman Adm«x. of the Estate of Michelle

L. Wightman, Deceased, et al., Appellees/Cross-

Appellants v. Consolidated Rail Corporation, et al.,

Appellants/Cross-Appellees

Court of Appeals No. E-97-001

COURT OF APPEALS OF OHIO,

SIXTH APPELLATE DISTRICT, ERIE COUNTY

September 30, 1997, Decided

OPINION AND JUDGMENT ENTRY

SHERCK, J. This appeal and cross-appeal comes to us

from an award of $15,000,000 in punitive damages against |

a railroad found culpable of “actual malice”, following a

train/automobile collision. Because we conclude that the

trial court’s evidentiary rulings were correct and the

damages awarded not excessive, we affirm its decision.

We similarly affirm the trial court on the issues raised by

appellees /cross-appellants.

Shortly before midnight on February 18, 1989, a west-

bound freight train (designated SEEL 7) owned by appel-

lant/cross-appellee (“appellant”) Consolidated Rail

Corporation, lost pressure in its air brakes near

Remington Avenue, Sandusky, Ohio. This equipment fail-

ure caused the train to stop approximately two hundred

feet east of the Remington Avenue road crossing. The

presence of the train so near the crossing triggered the

warning lights and gates at the crossing.

SEEL 7 was manned by a three-man crew - an engi-

neer, conductor and brakeman. The engineer remained in

the locomotive cab and communicated the train’s prob-

lem by radio to a Toledo dispatcher. The conductor and

35a

brakeman began to “walk” the mile-long train for the

purpose of finding and repairing the air leak. In the

meantime, traffic on Remington Avenue began to maneu-

ver around the gates and over the two sets of tracks.

Shortly before midnight, a Sandusky police officer came

upon the scene. The officer requested his dispatcher to

advise the railroad of the situation. He also issued warn-

ings to two or three drivers he observed go around the

gates. The officer then left the scene to stop another

motorist.

At 12:05 a.m., sixteen-year-old Michelle Wightman,

driving her mother’s 1985 Ford, came upon the crossing

and attempted to maneuver around the gate and cross the

tracks. As she inched across the tracks, Michelle’s car was

struck by an eastbound fast freight train on the parallel

track. Michelle and her passenger, sixteen-year-old Karrie

Wieber, were killed.

Appellee/cross-appellant (“appellee”), Darlene M.

Wightman, Michelle’s mother, instituted a suit on behalf

of herself and as the administrator of Michelle’s estate.

The suit contained two causes of action: a wrongful death

claim and appellee’s personal property claim arising from

the destruction of her car. Both claims were premised on

appellant’s negligence which appellee alleged constituted

intentional, wanton and reckless misconduct. The suit

sought compensatory and punitive damages.

_ In October 1990, the matter proceeded to jury trial.

At trial, appellee’s presentation focused on the factors

contributing to the collision. Railroad safety expert Dr.

William Berg testified that the cause of the accident was

the combination of restricted visibility (due to SEEL 7’s

36a

close proximity to the crossing) and the loss of “cred-

ibility” (due to the inordinately long activation of the

railroad gates and flashing lights without the arrival of a

train). Appellee argued that the railroad had near certain

knowledge that under these circumstances someone

would cross the tracks. At the same time, railroad

employees knew that a fast freight was coming on the

obscured track. With this knowledge, appellee contended,

the railroad could have instituted any number of simple,

cost free measures which would have prevented the colli-

sion and the resulting death of two people. According to

appellee, the railroad’s failure to take any measure to

prevent the collision constituted actual malice — a con-

scious disregard for the safety of persons in circum-

stances in which a great probability of substantial harm

existed. Appellant took the position that Michelle Wight-

man was herself negligent per se for violating a state law

prohibiting crossing railroad tracks when warning signals

are activated.

The jury returned a verdict for the plaintiff. In

response to a series of interrogatories, the jury set dam-

ages on the wrongful death claim at $1,000,000, appor-

tioned comparative negligence at sixty percent for

appellant and forty percent for Michelle Wightman, but

concluded that appellant was guilty of actual malice

which was a proximate cause of the collision. The jury

also found that appellant should be liable for punitive

damages.

Following the verdict, the trial court, in conformity

with former R.C. 2315.21(C)(2), began bench proceedings

on the punitive damages issue. However, in mid-Novem-

ber 1990, appellant filed an affidavit of prejudice against

37a

the trial judge which it followed with several motions

seeking to set aside the verdict. The Supreme Court of

Ohio rejected appellant’s attempt to disqualify the trial

judge. Nonetheless, it was not until late summer 1991 that

the damages hearing was completed. More motions fol-

lowed. Finally, the trial court rejected appellant's further

attempts to set aside the jury’s decision and, on February

11, 1992, entered judgment on the verdict. The court

awarded the compensatory damages, but refused to grant

any punitive damages. The court did not rule on appel-

lee’s motion for post-verdict interest on the compensatory

damages or her motion for attorney fees.

Pursuant to a trial court's certification that there was

no just reason for delay, the February 11 judgment was

appealed to us. We affirmed the jury’s verdict, but on

appellee’s cross-appeal concluded that the trial court

erred when it failed to award any punitive damages. We

rejected on cross-appeal appellee’s constitutional chal-

lenge to that portion of R.C. 2315.21, which reserved to

the trial judge the consideration of the amount of puni-

tive damages. The matter was then remanded to the trial

court for consideration of punitive damages. Wightman v.

Consolidated Rail Corp. (1994), 94 Ohio App. 3d 389, 640

N.E.2d 1160.

After remand, the Supreme Court declared R.C.

2315.21(C)(2), which reserved consideration of punitive

damages to the trial judge, unconstitutional. Zoppo v.

Homestead Ins. Co. (1994), 71 Ohio St.3d 552, 644 N.E.2d

397, syllabus. The result of that decision sets the unique

procedural posture for the present appeal.

38a

The combination of the Supreme Court’s nullification

of R.C. 2315.21(C)(2) and our remand to the trial court to

set punitive damages meant the original jury would need

to be reassembled or a new jury empaneled to determine

the amount of punitive damages. Because of the extended

period between the original trial and the remand, the

second option was chosen.

_ Prior to trial, the court granted appellee’s motions in

limine barring reference to the prior trial judge’s refusal

to award punitive damages, the award of compensatory

damages in the first trial, application of a federal railway

administrative rule enacted after the accident and evi-

dence of Michelle Wightman’s alcohol consumption or

allegations that appellee furnished alcoholic beverages to

her daughter. The trial court also granted appellant’s

motion to exclude any reference to the fact that a portion

of the award might go to a charitable foundation.! The

court also limited discussion of other railroad crossing

accidents unless such were “substantially similar” to the

one at issue.

1 In the period between the remand and the punitive

damages trial, the estate pledged a portion of any punitive

damages received to appellee/cross-appellant Michelle

Wightman Charitable Foundation. The foundation was

permitted to join the proceeding as a party but the trial court

granted a motion in limine denying any mention to the jury of

the foundation or any assignment of proceeds. The foundation

is an appellee/cross-appellant in this appeal. For purposes of

this appeal we shall reserve the appellation “appellee” to

Darlene Wightman unless making specific reference to the

foundation.

39a

The matter was then retried before a second jury.

Testimony at the second trial, to a great extent, mirrored

that in the first. Dr. Berg again testified that the position

of SEEL 7 near the crossing blocked the line of sight for

any motorist looking for westbound trains and triggered

traffic control devices which became ineffective as time

passed. Berg testified that of the thousands of railroad

crossing accidents which he had studied, a large number

occurred in circumstances substantially similar to these.

He also testified that it would have been relatively simple

and cost free for the railroad to remedy this dangerous

situation. According to Berg, the railroad could have

insisted that the train crew flag the crossing, slowed the

fast moving freight, or moved the engine of the stopped

train across the crossing when it was known a fast freight

train was due.

On submission, the jury returned a verdict awarding

appellee $25,000,000 in punitive damages. Subsequent to

the verdict, the trial court granted appellant a remittitur.

Although specifically refusing to find the $25,000,000

award excessive, the court reduced the amount to

$15,000,000; appellee accepted this reduction. The trial

court also denied appellee’s motion for attorney fees and

post verdict interest on the compensatory damages

award; the court further granted appellant relief from

interest on the punitive award.

Appellant now brings this appeal setting forth the

following three assignments of error:

“I. The trial court violated Conrail’s Due

Process rights by prohibiting Conrail from intro-

ducing its evidence regarding the circumstances

eT nn re

40a

of the accident and allowing only plaintiff to

introduce such evidence.

“II. The trial court erred in admitting

plaintiff’s expert testimony because the expert

did not base his opinions on personal knowl-

edge or on the evidence admitted at trial and

did not disclose the facts that supported his

opinions, in violation of Rules 703 and 705 of the

Ohio Rules of Evidence.

“III. The trial court violated Conrail’s

rights under Ohio common law and the Due

Process Clause of the United States Constitution

by refusing to overturn or further remit the

punitive damages award because that award,

even after remittitur, is grossly excessive in light

of Conrail’s conduct and is 6,250 times greater

than the compensatory damages award.”

Appellee Darlene Wightman cross-appeals raising

the following four assignments of error:

“I. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED BY NOT

MAKING ITS REMITTITUR EXPRESSLY CON-

DITIONAL ON ACCEPTANCE BY BOTH PAR-

TIES AS AUTHORIZED BY THE SO-CALLED

‘WISCONSIN RULE,’ WHICH THIS COURT

FOR THE PUBLIC GOOD SHOULD ADOPT AS

THE LAW OF OHIO.

“Il. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED BY

GRANTING CONRAIL’S REQUEST FOR

RELIEF FROM INTEREST ON THE PUNITIVE

AWARD.

“Til. IT WAS ERROR FOR THE TRIAL

COURT TO DENY INTEREST ON THE COM-

PENSATORY AWARD TO THE WIGHTMAN

4la

ESTATE, COMPUTED FROM THE DATE OF

THE LIABILITY VERDICT.

“IV. THE TRIAL COURT ERRED IN

DENYING PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR ATTOR-

NEY FEES.”

Appellee Michelle Wightman Charitable Foundation

has filed a brief in support of Darlene Wightman’s appeal

and an independent cross-appeal in which it raises the

following single assignment of error:

“The Trial Court erred by remitting the jury’s puni-

tive damage award because the Trial Court specifically

found that the jury award was not excessive.”

I.

In its first assignment of error, appellant maintains

that the trial court's decision to bar reference to certain

matters rendered it defenseless. The court granted plain-

tiff’s motion in limine to block reference to the fact that

the first trial had resulted in a wrongful death award, but

no punitive damages. The court also prevented the intro-

duction of evidence that appellee’s decedent had con-

sumed a small quantity of alcohol prior to the collision

and expert testimony concerning the effects such alcohol

might have had on a driver.

Relevant evidence is generally admissible, irrelevant

evidence is not. Evid.R. 402. Relevant evidence is defined

as that evidence having a tendency to make the deter-

mination of a fact of consequence more or less probable

than it would be without the evidence. Evid.R. 401. Even

evidence which is relevant is inadmissible if its probative

value is substantially outweighed by the danger of unfair

42a

prejudice, confusion of the issues or misleading the jury.

Evid.R. 403(A). The decision of whether or not to admit

evidence rests in the sound discretion of the court and

will not be disturbed absent an abuse of that discretion.

Huffman v. Hair Surgeon, Inc. (1985), 19 Ohio St. 3d 83, 87,

482 N.E.2d 1248. An “abuse of discretion” is more than an

error of law or of judgment, the term connotes an attitude

that is unreasonable, arbitrary or unconscionable. Berk v.

Matthews (1990), 53 Ohio St. 3d 161, 168-169, 559 N.E.2d

1301.

When we initially reviewed this case, we affirmed the

first jury’s verdict in its entirety, including its conclusion

that appellant’s disregard for the safety of others consti-

tuted “actual malice.” Wightman v. Consolidated Rail Corp.

(1994), at 408. We also noted that a finding of actual

malice negates any role that comparative or contributory

negligence plays in reducing or defeating the recovery of

damages. Id. at 407. The only issue to be decided on

remand was the amount of punitive damages to which

appellee would be entitled. Id. at 409. Consequently, the

amount of compensatory damages awarded in the first

trial and the fact that the first trial judge failed to award

punitive damages were absolutely irrelevant to any issue

of consequence in the punitive damages trial.

The presence of a smali quantity of alcohol in the

teenage driver’s blood may have had some probative

value in a comparative or contributory negligence setting.

However, those issues were settled in the first trial. Even

assuming blood alcohol evidence was in any way rele-

vant to the punitive damages issue, it was certainly not

an abuse of discretion for the trial court to exclude such

testimony pursuant to Evid.R. 403(A).

43a

Accordingly, appellant's first assignment of error i:

found not well-taken.

II.

In its second assignment of error, appellant contends

that the trial court erred in admitting the testimony of

plaintiffs’ expert, Dr. Berg. Specifically, appellant objects

to Berg’s statement that of the approximately one thou-

sand vehicle-train collisions annually, a large number

occurred in situations substantially similar to this one.

Again, decisions as to the admission of or exclusion

of evidence are within the sound discretion of the court.

Appellant's position is that Evid.R. 703 and Evid.R. 705

prohibit any expert opinion unless based on the expert’s

own specific observations or evidence admitted at trial.

This position is specious in two respects. First, Dr. Berg’s

credentials reveal that he has a Ph.D. in civil engineering

and has spent decades studying, among other things, rail

crossing collisions. In addition, Berg testified that he

personally investigated numerous vehicle-train collisions.

If appellant needed more specifics than this, it was free to

inquire on cross-examination. Second, Evid.R. 703 pro-

hibits expert testimony based on unadmitted hearsay or

unobserved data only with respect to the specific issues

in the case at bar. According to Professor Giannelli,

“In one sense, * * * most expert witness

testimony is based, in part, on hearsay. The

- extrajudicial statements of colleagues, textwri-

ters, and teachers are all used by experts in

forming opinions. See 2 Wigmore. Evidence

§ 665b (Chadbourn rev 1979). Rule 703 does not

prohibit this use of hearsay information. This

44a

use of texts and lectures contributes to the

expert’s qualifications. Rule 703 is concerned

only with the ‘facts and data in the particular

case.’ Those facts must be admitted in evidence.

According to the court in Bluebird Baking Co. v.

McCarthy, 3 Ohio Op. 490, 19 Ohio L. Abs. 466,

470, 36 N.E.2d 801 (App, Franklin 1935), an

expert’s qualifications and knowledge ‘may be

based on personal experience or upon reading

from standard works. It generally is based upon

both. * * * ” Giannelli, Ohio Evidence Manual

(1991), § 703.05 at 117.

For Dr. Berg to testify to the specific reasons Michelle

Wightman’s car was struck by a train, the circumstances

surrounding that collision must be admitted into evi-

dence. However, for Dr. Berg to testify to a broad general

pattern of collisions, many of which were substantially

similar to the Wightman crash, no such foundation is

required. Again, if appellant was not pleased with the

expert's testimony it was free to cross-examine or present

contrary opinion from its own experts. Accordingly,

appellant’s second assignment of error is found not well-

taken.

Il.

Appellant's remaining assignment of error concerns

the amount of punitive damages awarded which appel-

lant characterizes as being “grossly excessive.” Noting

that a wrongful death cannot form the basis for punitive

damages, see, Rubeck v. Huffman (1978), 54 Ohio St. 2d 20,

374 N.E.2d 411, appellant argues that the only foundation

45a

for the $15,000,000 award was the $2,400 value of appel-

lee’s car. This, appellant computes, is a ratio of six thou-

sand two hundred fifty to one, substantially greater than

the average ratio of punitives to damages in Ohio cases

and even greater than the five hundred to one ratio found

constitutionally offensive in BMW of North America, Inc. v.

Gore (1996), 571 U.S. __, 134 L. Ed. 2d 809, 116 S. Ct.

1589.

The trial court’s detailed and perceptive analysis of

this issue is contained in its order of December 5, 1996, in

which it granted appellee’s motion for remittitur.

(Attached as Appendix A.) Although we reserve discus-

sion of the trial court’s ultimate decision to grant the

remittitur until our consideration of appellee’s cross-

appeal, we otherwise approve and adopt the decision of

the trial court (pages 8 through 19) on this issue as our

own.

Accordingly, appellant's third assignment of error is

not well-taken.

IV.

Appellee Darlene Wightman’s first cross-assignment

of error and appellee Wightman Foundation’s sole assign-

ment of error contest the trial court's grant of appellant’s

motion for remittitur, contending it could not have prop-

erly granted such a motion absent a finding that the

award was excessive. Both of these Parties agreed to

accept the remittitur. It has long been held that a judg-

ment based on an agreement of the parties renders imma-

terial erroneous rulings of the court. Jackson v. Jackson

(1865), 16 Ohio St. 163; Sanitary Commercial Services, Inc. v.

46a

Shank (1991), 57 Ohio St. 3d 178, 181, 566 N.E.2d 1215.

More specifically, Ohio common law provides that a party

who accepts a remittitur cannot change the remittitur

even if the opposing party institutes an appeal. See Scioto

Memorial Hosp. Assoc. v. Price Waterhouse (1996), 74 Ohio

St. 3d 474, 478, 659 N.E.2d 1268, Iron Railroad Co. v.

Mowery (1881), 36 Ohio St. 418, paragraph three of the

syllabus.

Nevertheless, appellee urges us to adopt the “Wis-

consin rule” which states that a defendant, who benefits

from a remittitur and appeals, faces the risk of having the

original verdict reinstated. Plesko v. Milwaukee (1963), 19

Wis. 2d 210, 220-221, 120 N.W.2d 130. While we may

concur with appellee’s reasoning on this issue, we are

bound to follow the rule of law set down by the Supreme

Court of Ohio. Kruse v. State (1972), 31 Ohio St. 2d 132,

148, 285 N.E.2d 736, Corrigan, J. concurring, overruled on

other grounds (1981), 67 Ohio St. 2d 31, 426 N.E.2d 784.

Therefore, appellee’s arguments are best directed to that

court. Accordingly, appellee Wightman’s first cross-

assignment of error and appellee Wightman Foundation

sole assignment of error are not well-taken.

V.

Appellee Darlene Wightman’s remaining assign-

ments of error concern the trial court’s refusal to grant

post-judgment interest on the punitive damage award,

impose prejudgment interest on the wrongful death

award for the nearly two year period between the verdict

and the judgment on the verdict, and grant appellee

reasonable attorney fees.

47a

With respect to the denial of post-judgment interest

on the punitive damages, the trial court’s decision on this

issue came as part of the calculations it employed in

determining the remittitur. As discussed above, appellee

accepted this remittitur and cannot now be heard to

complain of its terms. Accordingly, appellee Darlene Wig-

htman’s second cross-assignment of error is found not

well-taken.

In her third cross-assignment of error, appellee Dar-

lene Wightman seeks to meld common law prejudgment

interest with the statute allowing for prejudgment inter-

est when there is bad faith. As noted in Moskovitz v. Mt.

Sinai Md. Ctr. (1994), 69 Ohio St. 3d 638, 656-657, 635

N.E.2d 331, at common law the factfinder was permitted

to include in its tort award an amount sufficient to com-

pensate a victim for interest on damages actually sus-

tained in order to make the plaintiff whole. Id. citing

Hogg v. Zanesville Canal & Mfg. Co. (1832), 5 Ohio 410, 424.

Moreover,

““** * if reparation for the injury is delayed for

a long time by the wrong-doer, the injured party

can not be made whole unless the damages

awarded include compensation, in the nature of

interest, for withholding the reparation which

ought to have been promptly made.’ ” Id. quot-

ing Lawrence Railroad Co. v. Cobb (1878), 35 Ohio

St. 94, 98-99,

Statutory prejudgment interest is authorized by R.C.

1343.03(C) which permits interest to be awarded from the

date a cause of action accrued if, following a post-verdict

hearing, the court determines that a party against whom

a verdict is returned failed to make a good faith effort to

48a

settle the case. The determination of whether there was a

lack of good faith by a party is vested in the sound

discretion of the court. Moskovitz at 658.

The question of whether common law prejudgment

interest should be awarded appears to be an issue for

submission to and resolution by the finder of fact. See

Moskovitz at 656-657 and cases cited therein. No request

for such a submission to either Wightman jury was made;

therefore, no such consideration was undertaken. Appel-

lee is consequently precluded from common law prejudg-

ment interest.

Assuming for the sake of argument that the phrase

“** * good faith effort to settle the case * * * ” used in

R.C. 1343.03(C) may be construed to apply to dilatory

tactics employed by a party between a verdict and the

issuance of a judgment, this does not alter the fact that

the trial court refused to find bad faith. Viewing the

totality of the circumstances, we cannot at this stage

conclude that the trial court’s determination was an

abuse of discretion.

Concerning attorney fees, this again is an issue which

rests in the sound discretion of the court. Digital and

Analog Corp. v. Norton Supply Co. (1992), 63 Ohio St.3d

657, 664, 590 N.E.2d 737.

“Although the general rule is that reasonable

attorney fees may be awarded in an action where

punitive damages have also been awarded, a trial

court may decline to award any amount of attor-

ney fees if the defendant upon whom such fees

will be imposed successfully rebuts the presump-

tion that reasonable fees should be awarded.

Thus, a trial court may consider whether the

punitive damages awarded are adequate both to

compensate the plaintiff for his attorney fees and

49a

to fulfill the punitive and deterrent urpose of

the exemplary damages awarded. if the court

concludes that the punitive damages are suffi-

cient to fulfill those purposes without the imposi-

tion of attorney fees, the court may decline to

award such fees, even if a jury has determined

that such fees should be awarded.” Id. at 664-665

(Citations omitted.)

A determination by the trial court that a $15,000,000

punitive award provided a sufficient Punitive and deter-

rent purpose would be within the court’s discretion.

Accordingly, appellee Darlene Wightman’s third and

fourth cross-assignments of error are found not well-taken.

On consideration whereof, the court finds substantial

justice has been done the parties complaining, and the

judgment of the Erie County Court of Common Pleas is

affirmed. It is ordered that appellant and appellee share

equally the court costs of this appeal.2

JUDGMENT AFFIRMED.

A certified copy of this entry shall constitute the

mandate pursuant to App.R. 27. See, also, 6th

Dist.Loc.App.R. 4, amended 7/ 1/92.

Peter M. Handwork, J.

George M. Glasser, J.

James R. Sherck, J.

CONCUR.

? The parties have file numerous motions following oral

argument, all of which are, hereby, overruled.

Ste SAU he ee

REE: “Gasper at cee

Bs

4

is

%

3

z

:

a

2

é

<

a

g

4

tet

ex]

¢;

Pe

4

BA

“4

i

o

*

a

2%

ay

|

:

eo

2

“

a

Sy

<4

Bd

&

*

¥

2 “

s

pS

i

i

é

50a

DARLENE M. WIGHTMAN, Admx. of the Estate of

Michelle L. Wightman, Deceased, et al., Plaintiffs,

-vs- CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

CASE NO. 89-CV-416

STATE OF OHIO, COURT OF COMMON PLEAS,

ERIE COUNTY

December 5, 1996, Filed

ORDER

On May 23, 1996, a jury returned a verdict in favor of

the plaintiff, Darlene M. Wightman, against defendant,

Consolidated Rail Corporation (“Conrail”), in the amount

of $25,002,400.1 On May 24, 1996, the Court entered judg-

ment for that amount “with interest and costs taxed

against the defendant.”

Defendant moves for remittitur “in an amount less

than (sic) $1,200,000.00” on the grounds that the verdict is

excessive and in violation of due process under the crite-

ria announced in BMW v. Gore, 517 U.S. __, 134 L. Ed. 2d

809, 116 S. Ct. 1589 (1996). In the alternative, defendant

seeks a new trial on the grounds that the verdict is

tainted with passion or prejudice and, additionally, that it

was denied a fair trial due to evidentiary errors. Defen-

dant also asks the Court to amend the judgment entry to

“delete the provision for interest on the basis that the

award violates the Excessive Fines Clauses of the United

States Constitution and the Ohio Constitution.”

1 The parties stipulated that Darlene Wightman had

suffered $2,400 in property damage.

5la

The Court has reviewed the extensive written sub-

missions of both parties and has carefully considered the

oral arguments of counsel presented on July 18, 1996. For

the reasons that follow, the Court grants defendant’s

motion for remittitur; denies defendant's motion for a

new trial; and grants defendant’s motion to amend the

judgment of May 24, 1996 to delete the provision requir-

ing defendant to pay interest on the judgment.

On the evening of February 18, 1989, a Conrail train,

SEEL-7, came to a Stop near Remington Avenue in the

City of Sandusky, Ohio, because of a broken air hose.

Before stopping, the train activated the gates and lights at

the crossing. Shortly after midnight, while SEEL-7

remained standing approximately 200 feet from the cross-

ing, another westbound train, TV9, traveling approxi-

mately 60 mph on the adjacent mainline track, struck a

passenger car owned by Darlene Wightman and operated

by her teen-age daughter, Michelle Wightman. Michelle

and her friend, Karrie Wieber, were killed instantly in the

crash. Witnesses estimate that SEEL-7 was stopped

between 40 minutes to an hour prior to the collision.

Darlene Wightman, as Administratrix of her daugh-

ter’s estate and individually as the owner of the car, sued

Conrail for compensatory and punitive damages. On

October 30, 1990, a jury found Conrail to be 60% at fault

and awarded compensatory damages to the Estate of

Michelle Wightman in the amount of $1,000,000. The jury

also returned the following verdicts in response to inter-

rogatories:

a

52a

Interrogatory No. 7

Do you find by clear and convincing evi-

dence, that defendant, Conrail, authorized, par-

ticipated in, or ratified actions or omissions of

an agent or servant that demonstrated ‘malice’,

and, if so, that such malice was, by clear and

convincing evidence a proximate cause of the

accident?

Answer: Yes

Interrogatory No. 8

Do you find, by clear and convincing evidence,

that defendant, Conrail, should be liable for

punitive damages?

Answer: Yes

At the time of the trial in 1990, Ohio Rev. Code Ann.

§ 2315.21 (Page’s 1995) provided that juries were to

decide the right to punitive damages and that the amount

of punitive damages was to be determined by the Court

in a separate hearing. The punitive damages hearing to

the Court in this case was held on August 9, 1991.

Both parties filed numerous post-trial motions. On

November 10, 1992, the trial court entered judgment in

favor of the Estate of Michelle Wightman for $1,000,000

on the basis of Schellhouse v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co.

(1991), 61 Ohio St. 3d 520, 575 N.E.2d 453. The Court

awarded no punitive damages and did not rule on plain-

tiffs’ motions for attorneys fees and prejudgment interest.

Conrail appealed the compensatory award to the Wight-

man estate and the Wightmans cross-appealed the trial

court’s failure to award punitive damages, attorneys fees

and pre-judgment interest.

53a

The Court of Appeals affirmed the compensatory

award, reversed the trial court's failure to award punitive

damages, and remanded the case “to the trial court for

determination as to the amount of punitive damages to

which appellee, Darlene Wightman, is entitled in accor-

dance with this opinion... . ” The Court also remanded

the matter to the trial court for rulings on plaintiffs’

motions for attorneys fees and pre-judgment interest.

Wightman at 409.

On September 14, 1994, the Supreme Court of Ohio

declined jurisdiction to hear the case.

While the unresolved issues were pending in this

Court, the Supreme Court of Ohio held that Ohio Rev.

Code Ann. § 2315.21 (C)(2) violates the right to trial by

jury under Section V, Article | of the Ohio Constitution.

Zoppo v. Homestead Ins. Co. (1994), 71 Ohio St. 3d 552, 644

N.E.2d 397. Based on Zoppo, plaintiffs requested the

Court to set the matter for jury trial on the issue of

punitive damages only.

On October 31, 1995, the Court ruled that the plain-

tiffs were not entitled to attorneys fees or pre-judgment

interest.

Before addressing defendant's arguments in support

of remittitur, a brief review of Ohio law governing this

Process is in order.

I. THE LAW GOVERNING REMITTITUR

Although Civil Rule 59 does not explicitly authorize

courts to remit part of a damage award, remittitur has

long been recognized in Ohio jurisprudence and derives

54a

from the fact that the authority to order a new trial in the

interest of justice is within the court’s inherent power.

Chester Park Co. v. Schulte (1929), 120 Ohio St. 273, 278,

285, 166 N. E. 186; Redman v. Price Bros. Co., 27 Ohio N.P.

(N.S.) 287. The principles governing remittitur were first

clarified by the Ohio Supreme Court in Chester Park, supra

as follows:

The subject of reduction of verdicts and

judgments in actions for liquidated damages is

coming before courts of review with ever-

increasing frequency. It is therefore time, and

high time, that this court should lay down some

principles and declare some policies for future

guidance. ..:

1. In an action for unliquidated damages,

neither the trial court nor any reviewing court

has the power to reduce the verdict of a jury or

to render judgment for a lesser amount without

the consent to such reduction of the party in

whose favor the verdict was rendered.

2. If a trial court in an action for unliqui-

dated damages finds that the verdict is exces-

sive, and that it was rendered under the

influence of passion or prejudice, it has no alter-

native except to set it aside and grant a new

trial.

3. Ifa verdict in an action for unliquidated

damages is in the opinion of the trial court

excessive, but not appearing to be influenced by

passion or prejudice, the court may with the

assent of the plaintiff reduce the verdict by

remittitur to any amount supported by the evi-

dence... .

Id. at 289-90 (Emphasis added).

55a

Under Chester Park, a trial court, when presented

with a motion to remit, must consider: (1) whether the

jury’s award was tainted with Passion or prejudice, and

(2) whether the verdict, as it stands or as reduced by

remittitur, is supported by the evidence. Using this

framework, the Court will first consider whether this

jury’s verdict was tainted with passion or prejudice.

II. CRITERIA GOVERNING THE DETERMINATION

OF “PASSION OR PREJUDICE”

Where a trial court determines that a jury verdict is

the product of Passion or prejudice, the verdict is null

and void and the Court is required to order a new trial.

90 Ohio Jur. 3d, Trial, § 643. This is true whether the

award is excessive or inadequate. Although some author-

ities hold that the size of a verdict may furnish a “suspi-

cion” of passion or Prejudice, size alone is not conclusive

Proof of passion or prejudice. Arkansas Valley Land &

Cattle Co. v. Mann, 130 U.S. 69, 9S. Ct. 458, 32 L. Ed. 854;

Fromson & Davis Co. v. Reider (1934), 127 Ohio St. 564, 189

N.E. 851; Pearson v, Cleveland Acceptance Corp. (1969), 17

Ohio App. 2d 239, 246 N.E.2d 602; Gates v. Strong (1966),

14 Ohio App. 2d 121, 237 N.E.2d 161. Only where the size

of the verdict has been held to be so out of Proportion to

the damage done as to “shock all sense of proportion” or

“shock all reasonable sensibilities,” have courts found

that the size of the verdict justifies setting it aside. Spicer

v. Armco Steel Corp. (1974), 68 Ohio Op. 2d 314, 322 N.E.2d

279; Duren v. Suburban Community Hosp., 24 Ohio Misc. 2d

25, 482 N.E.2d 1358 (Ohio Com. PI. 1985).

PWD 0%, 0 stats tess wa... 1. i

meatiinin kee ALE LSA Mee BEL He ETI a 0 0

56a

Defendant argues that the size of the jury’s award

suggests that it “was influenced by the fact that Conrail is

a very large, out of state corporation” and by the fact that

plaintiffs’ counsel argued that the jury should consider

Conrail’s financial resources in determining the damages

to be assessed. The Court finds this argument to be

without merit.

As noted by the Court of Appeals, one of the factors

to be properly considered in determining the amount of

punitive damages under Ohio law is the financial condi-

tion of the defendant. Wightman at 408. Since the manifest

purpose in allowing a jury to consider defendant's finan-

cial worth is to assist the jury in determining the amount

necessary to punish and deter the offending conduct,

there is nothing improper, per se, in suggesting that a jury

should consider a defendant’s financial condition in

determining the amount of money necessary to effectuate

the purposes of this remedy. The Court, therefore, finds

that the argument of plaintiffs’ counsel in this case was

proper and that the jury’s verdict was not the result of

passion or prejudice engendered either by the evidence of

defendant’s financial condition or by the manner in

which plaintiffs’ counsel incorporated evidence of defen-

dant’s financial condition into his final argument.

Accordingly, defendant’s motion for a new trial on this

ground is denied.

Having decided that the punitive damage verdict is

not the product of passion or prejudice, the Court must

now turn to the second issue required by Chester Park,

namely, whether the damages awarded are excessive in

the opinion of the trial court.

57a

III. STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING EXCESSIVE-

NESS

Defendant contends that the punitive award is

“grossly excessive” and asks this Court to remit the ver-

dict to an amount less than $1,200,000. Defendant argues

that, since the actual damages here are $2,400 and since

the Court in Gore found a ratio of punitive to actual

damages of 500 to 1 to be excessive, this Court should

“order a remittitur to an amount under $1,200,000 mil-

lion, consistent with the decision in Gore.” This conten-

tion will be considered, firstly, under the standards for

excessiveness embodied in Ohio law governing punitive

damages. Thereafter, the Court will consider whether the

verdict is excessive in light of the United States Supreme

Court’s constitutional analysis in Gore.

a. Excessiveness under Ohio law

Where a trial court determines that the size of a

verdict is not warranted by the evidence, it may, with the

consent of the plaintiff, reduce the verdict to an amount

justified by the evidence. Larrissey v. Norwalk Truck Lines

(1951), 155 Ohio St. 207, 219; 98 N.E.2d 419, 426; Shoe-

maker v. Crawford (1991), 78 Ohio App. 3d 53, 65, 603

N.E.2d 1114. There is no simple mathematical formula to

be applied in determining when remittitur is proper. The

court's essential role is to determine whether a verdict is

supported by the weight of the evidence.

In deciding whether a verdict is supported by the

evidence, trial courts are given substantial deference and

wide latitude. Unlike the standard for determining

58a

whether or not to direct a verdict, trial courts are permit-

ted in this context to assess the credibility of witnesses

and to weigh the evidence. In performing this function,

however, trial courts do not evaluate testimony and evi-

dence as if they are sitting as a trier-of-fact. Rather, a trial

court must ascertain whether the verdict, as rendered, is

contrary to the “manifest weight of the evidence” result-

ing in “manifest injustice.” Rohde v. Farmer (1970), 23 Ohio

St. 2d 82, 92-93, 262 N.E.2d 685.

In discussing the factors to be considered in assessing

punitive damages, the Court of Appeals stated in Wight-

man at 409 as follows:

Although the General Assembly has not set

forth the factors to be considered, our review of

cases dealing with awards of punitive damages

compels us to conclude that the amount of the

actual damages sustained should not be the sole

factor in determining the appropriate award of

punitive damages. Rather, a number of factors

must be considered by a trial court in making its

determination, while keeping in mind that the

purpose behind an award of punitive damages

is punishment of the guilty party and the deter-

rence of similar conduct in the future. See, gen-

erally, Villella v. Waiken Motors, Inc. (1989) 45

Ohio St. 3d 36, 543 N.E.2d 464; Calmes v. Good-

year Tire & Rubber Co., (1991), 61 Ohio St. 3d 470,

473, 575 N.E.2d 416, 419. These factors would

necessarily include, but are not limited to, the

nature of the conduct that resulted in the injury,

the financial condition of the defendant, the

amount necessary to deter future similar con-

duct, and prior or similar acts by the defendant,

as well as the amount of actual or compensatory

damages. Villella, supra; Spadafore v Blue Shield

59a

(1985), 21 Ohio App. 3d 201, 21 Ohio B. Rep.

215, 486 N.E.2d 1201; Estate of Morad v. Task

(Mar. 10, 1994), 1994 Ohio App. LEXIS 921,

Cuyahoga App. No. 64787, unreported, 1994 WL

78157.

Defendant’s motion requires this Court to apply these

criteria to the testimony and evidence before the Court.

At the outset, this Court feels compelled to say that

the record before it clearly justifies an award of substan-

tial punitive damages. As far as the nature of Conrail’s

conduct is concerned, this case may be without prece-

dent. When the SEEL-7 train came to a stop about 200 feet

from the Remington crossing, the crew members recog-

nized immediately that a dangerous condition existed.

They knew that other westbound trains traveling at

speeds up to 70 mph were due at the crossing. They could

see that the stopped train, standing on the northernmost

mainline track, severely obstructed the ability of south-

bound motorists to observe the presence of a westbound

train. They knew that the lights would continue to flash

and the gate arms would remain down so long as their

train remained stopped near the crossing. They also knew

that, because their train had activated the signal system

as it “was approaching Remington Avenue, there was no

way another train could cause the red lights to begin

flashing and the gate arms to come down so as to advise

motorists of an approaching train in hazardous proximity

to the crossing. They knew that, if they left the train to

find and repair the problem which had brought SEEL-7 to

a stop, their train might remain stopped for an hour or

longer before the problem could be corrected.

60a

The SEEL-7 crew also knew from experience that,

under these conditions, most motorists will proceed over

the crossing. According to one witness with 43 years of

railroad experience, 99% of all drivers are likely to pro-

ceed over the crossing in circumstances where the gate

arms have been activated for an unusual period of time.

The evidence showed that the conditions at Remington

Avenue created special dangers for motorists because of

the physical characteristics of the crossing.

Remington Avenue is a relatively narrow two-lane

street, with a sharp grade up to the tracks. On the north-

ern approach to the tracks, there is a steep ernbankment

immediately at the edge of the pavement. This makes it

difficult, even dangerous, for motorists to turn their vehi-

cles around once they reach close proximity to the cross-

ing. In this instance, it was Saturday night and the traffic

was heavy. Consequently, any motorist who actually

stopped short of the gates would complicate the driving

task of other motorists trying to proceed southwardly on

Remington Avenue. These conditions were plainly visible

to SEEL-7’s crew.

The evidence established that the position of SEEL-7

to the east of the crossing made it impossible for a driver

of a southbound car to observe the headlights of a west-

bound train on the adjacent track until the southbound

car was already at a point where it would probably be

struck by a fast moving train. It was entirely foreseeable,

therefore, that a motorist might get in a position where

there was not sufficient time to react and avoid a collision

once the approaching train became visible. This

extremely dangerous situation was recognized imme-

diately by Sandusky Police officer, Lonnie Newell, who

6la

happened on the scene about 20 minutes prior to the

collision. Officer Newell immediately reported the dan-

ger he observed to his dispatcher and, a few minutes

later, the dispatcher notified Newell that Conrail had

been advised of the danger at the crossing. After receiv-

ing this notification, Officer Newell left the crossing. Con-

rail introduced no evidence showing that it did anything

in response to the notification of danger by the Sandusky

Police Department. About 15 minutes later the Wightman

car was struck by a westbound train.

There was extensive testimony regarding measures

which Conrail could have used to guard against a cata-

strophic collision while gate arms are down while an

obstructing train remains stopped near a crossing. A flag-

man can be sent to the crossing to stop traffic when a

train is approaching. One or more of the engines of the

stopped train can be detached from the remainder of the

train and moved forward to block the crossing while

another train is approaching. Because there was continu-

ing radio communications between Conrail’s dispatcher

at Toledo and other trains, SEEL-7 could have notified the

dispatcher about the conditions at the crossing and the

dispatcher could have radioed approaching trains to slow

down their speed to accommodate existing conditions.

None of these measures was taken. Instead, a 60 mph

train, TV9, was allowed to approach the crossing without

any slackening of its speed and a collision occurred

which took the lives of two teen-age girls.

The record shows that SEEL-7’s conductor and head

brakeman, after recognizing and acknowledging the dan-

ger at the crossing, left the head end of the train to find

the problem which had caused SEEL-7 to come to a stop.

62a

Conrail argued in the second trial on punitive damages in

1996 that, in doing so, its crew was not following the

rules and, therefore, it did not actually ratify the acts of

its employees. This contention, firstly, ignores the finding

of the first jury in 1990 that “Conrail authorized, partici-

pated in, or ratified actions or omissions of an agent or

servant that demonstrated ‘malice’ ... (and) ... that

defendant, Conrail, should be liable for punitive damages

”

Secondly, Conrail’s position regarding ratification

ignores the fact that the decision of the original jury was

appealed and the Court of Appeals, after carefully con-

sidering Conrail’s argument that there was insufficient

evidence to justify an award of punitive damages, stated

as follows:

This court has thoroughly reviewed the argu-

ments of the parties concerning the jury charge,

the entire transcript of the proceedings before

the trial court and the applicable law . . . . Upon

consideration of the entire record of proceedings

in the trial court, we find that there was clear

and convincing evidence to support the jury’s

finding of actual malice on the part of appellant

CRC. 94 Ohio App. 3d at 400, 408.

Conrail’s contention, therefore, that there was no ratifica-

tion essentially constitutes an attempt to repudiate the

earlier decisions of the jury and the appellate court.

Thirdly, the testimony of Conrail’s own employees

does not support its argument. According to the conduc-

tor of SEEL-7, Conrail’s rules required him and the head

brakeman to find and correct the problem rather than be

ae

4

3

s

%

63a

concerned about having a flagman at the crossing. In the

1996 trial, the conductor testified as follows:

Q: So you then felt that under your training

and the rules, you were supposed to go back

and find and fix the leak, rather than go up and

protect the crossing?

A: That was our only option.

Furthermore, according to Mr. Kevin Dailey, who is

the manager of Conrail’s operating rules for the Dearborn

division, Conrail’s operating rules dealing with the situa-

tion which existed at Remington have not changed since

the date of the collision. Dailey testified as follows:

Q: So what you’re really saying then, that in

this precise situation as far as your operating

rules on Conrail are concerned the rules were

the same in 1989 as they are today?

A: That’s correct.

This Court finds it troubling that Conrail, in the 1996

trial, essentially asked the jury to disregard the findings

of the earlier jury and the decision of the Court of

Appeals. This reflects a corporate attitude which clearly

fails to recognize that the extremely dangerous practice

which produced this catastrophic collision needs to be

changed. This Court is of the opinion, therefore, that an

award of substantial punitive damages is both warranted

by the evidence and necessary to accomplish the funda-

mental purpose of punitive damages, namely, to deter

future similar conduct. On the basis of this record, there-

fore, the Court is not prepared to say that a verdict of

$25,000,000 is excessive under Ohio law. This Court, how-

ever, does not believe that its responsibilities end there.

64a

The Court is concerned that if it simply overrules Con-

rail’s motion lengthy appeals will ensue with potentially

grave consequences for the safety of motorists using Con-

rail grade crossings. The Court, therefore, feels com-

pelled, as a matter of public safety, to do everything in its

power to insure that the purpose of punitive damages is

promptly effectuated and that Conrail promptly changes

the practice which produced this unnecessary tragedy.

After much reflection, the Court has concluded that the

most effective way to deter Conrail from continuing this

practice is to remit the jury’s verdict to an amount which

will sufficiently punish Conrail and create a positive

inducement to change its practices, rather than continue

to challenge the findings of the earlier jury and the Court

of Appeals. The Court is prepared, therefore, to enter an

order denying Conrail’s motion for a new trial on the

condition that plaintiffs consent in writing within ten

days of this order to a remittitur in the amount of

$10,000,000.

b. Excessiveness under the Due Process Clause

Having determined that a remittitur of $10,000,000 is

appropriate, the Court will now consider whether the

verdict, as remitted, violates due process under the prin-

ciples announced by the United States Supreme Court in

BMW v. Gore. The first step in this constitutional analysis

is to identify the state interests that a punitive award is

designed to serve.

2 Darlene Wightman has assigned a substantial part of her

punitive award to a charitable foundation which, on motion,

65a

(i) The state’s interest in punishing the conduct

States are accorded substantial flexibility in establish-

ing the amount of punitive damages necessary to vindi-

cate a state’s interest in punishing misconduct and

deterring its repetition. Nonetheless, an award of puni-

tive damages violates due Process when it is “grossly

excessive” in relation to that interest. In the instant case,

the specific state interest advanced by the award of puni-

tive damages is the protection of public safety at railroad

grade crossings. This is a legitimate state goal and is

different both in kind and degree from the economic

interests at stake in Gore.

The prevention of unnecessary deaths at railroad

grade crossings is clearly a state interest of supreme

importance. This Court, therefore, concludes that an

award of $15,000,000 in punitive damages under the facts

of this case supports and promotes the state’s legitimate

interest in punishing and deterring behavior that creates

a grave danger to public safety. Having identified this

interest, the Court must now consider whether the size of

the punitive award is “grossly excessive” according to the

three guideposts prescribed by the Supreme Court.

(ii) The reprehensibility of the conduct.

The first and most important of the three Gore criteria

is the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s con-

duct. It has long been accepted that the gravity of the

was permitted to intervene as a party in interest, but not to

Participate in the punitive damages trial.

66a

offense and the aggravating factors associated with the

conduct may properly be considered in determining the

size of a punitive award. Critical to the Gore court’s find-

ing of unconstitutional excessiveness was the fact that

“none of the aggravating factors associated with partic-

ularly reprehensible conduct is present.” The Court noted,

for example, that the BMW’s conduct “evinced no disre-

gard for the health and safety of others.” Gore at 4340.

By contrast with the defendant’s conduct in Gore,

Conrail’s conduct here evinces a conscious disregard for

public safety. The evidence supports the conclusion that

Conrail’s failure to take corrective action at railroad

grade crossings, when the warning devices are inopera-

tive or ineffectual, creates the likelihood of sudden, vio-

lent injury or death to passing motorists. Moreover, the

evidence shows that it is a long-standing Conrail practice.

Additionally, there was no evidence that BMW per-

sisted in its conduct after a court had adjudged that

conduct unlawful. By comparison, the jury here could

have concluded that Conrail has not substantially altered

its operating rules and procedures since the Wightman

collision. |

On these facts, therefore, a punitive award of

$15,000,000 is supported by the reprehensibility of Con-

rail’s wrongful conduct alone.

(iii) The ratio of the punitive award to the

actual injury.

The second guidepost considered in BMW v. Gore is

“whether there is a reasonable relationship between the

67a

punitive damages award and the harm likely to result from

the defendant's conduct as well as the harm that actually

has occurred.” Gore at 4341, quoting Pacific Mutual Life

Ins. v. Haslip, 499 U.S. 1, 21, 113 L. Ed. 2d 1, 1115. Ct. 1032

(1991). (Emphasis in original.) The Court makes it clear

that the proper analysis is to compare the size of the

award with the potential harm, not just the actual harm.

Where, as in the present case, the potential for grave

harm is great, “even low compensatory damages may

support a higher ratio than high compensatory damages.”

Gore at 4342.

As noted earlier, the differences between the poten-

tial for harm in Gore and the potential for harm associated

with Conrail’s conduct represents a difference in kind,

not just in degree. In Gore, the harm engendered by the

conduct was self-contained and apparent at the time the

conduct was executed; that is to say, the injury resulting

from the wrongful repainting of automobiles is limited to

the decrease in economic value. As the Supreme Court

observed, “there is no suggestion that Gore or any other

BMW purchaser was threatened with additional potential

harm.” Gore at 4342. In contrast, Conrail’s long-standing

Operating practice made it highly probable that serious

injury or death would occur and cause substantial harm.

Gore also rejects the notion “that the constitutional

line is marked by a simple mathematical formula, even

one that compares actual and potential damages to the

punitive award.” Gore at 4342, citing TXO Production

Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp., 509 U.S. 443, 448, 125 L.

Ed. 2d 366, 113 S. Ct. 2 711 (1993). (Emphasis in Original.)

Conrail’s argument fails to recognize that Gore itself

68a

emphatically rejected the use of such a calculation, partic-

ularly when the wrongful conduct consciously disregards

public safety. It follows, therefore, that the Court must

reject Conrail’s suggestion that the Court apply a simple

mathematical formula to determine whether the verdict

in Wightman is unconstitutionally excessive.

(iv) Sanctions for comparable misconduct.

The final indicium of excessiveness described in Gore

is whether there is a wide disparity between the punitive

award and the civil and criminal sanctions the state

imposes on similar misconduct. If such a disparity exists,

a defendant would not be given fair notice of the poten-

tial punishment associated with the particular act of mis-

conduct and thus the punitive award could be

unconstitutionally excessive. The Court, however, finds

no such infirmity here.

Since it is apparent that the conduct at issue — the

failure to provide motorists with adequate warning of

approaching trains at multiple track crossings when gates

are down for an abnormal length of time while motorists’

ability to see approaching trains is obscured — could have

generated a civil damage award of several million dol-

lars. This might have been the outcome, for example, had

Michelle Wightman and Karrie Wieber, instead of being

instantly killed, been severely injured in the collision.

Therefore, this award does not violate this Gore criterion.

Furthermore, this Court believes that had the appro-

priate prosecuting authorities been made aware of all the

facts and circumstances surrounding this tragic and

unnecessary collision, those authorities would have been

69a

compelled to consider criminal prosecution, possibly for

involuntary manslaughter.

Finally, as noted by the Supreme Court in Gore, even

in cases where there is a disparity between punishments

for comparable conduct, a higher punitive award is justi-

fied where the defendant has a history of noncompliance,

since experience has Proved that the lower amount is

ineffectual as a deterrent. In this case, the plaintiff sub-

mitted sufficient credible evidence to show that the

defendant's operating procedures had been in place for

years prior to the Wightman collision, despite the fact

that Conrail has known for many years that these pro-

cedures create great danger that a catastrophic train/car

collision will occur.

The Court, therefore, concludes that a verdict of

$15,000,000 is not grossly excessive in light of the due

process analysis set

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.