Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kline v. City of Kansas City

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

(>) Supreme Court, U.S

FILED

D9 91 2 nov 29 1999

No. 99- QARCE OF IHG GLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

KATHLEEN KLINE, ANNE WEDOW, ERMA MORGAN

and BETTY TAYLOR,

Petitioners,

v.

THE CITY OF KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KAREN K. HowarD

Counsel of Record

THE Law OFFICES OF

KAREN K. Howarp, P.C.

Attorneys for Petitioners

851 N.W. 45th Street, Suite 306

Kansas City, Missouri 64116

(816) 453-3119

156267 @ Counsel Press LLC

FORMERLY LUTZ APPELLATE SERVICES

(800) 274-3321 + (800) 359-6859

II.

III.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

WHETHER THE “CONTINUING VIOLATION

THEORY” IN DISCRIMINATION CASES

PRECLUDES CONSIDERATION OF EVENTS

OUTSIDE THE LIMITATIONS PERIOD FOR

PURPOSES OF ESTABLISHING LIABILITY AND

DAMAGES?

WHETHER A WOMAN MAY CLAIM AS PART OF

HER “HOSTILE ENVIRONMENT” ACTS DIRECTED

AT OTHER WOMEN, OR WOMEN IN GENERAL,

OF WHICH SHE IS AWARE, BUT WHICH WERE

NOT DIRECTED AT HER PERSONALLY, OR

ALTERNATIVELY, MAY SHE USE SUCH

EVIDENCE TO ESTABLISH INTENT AND MOTIVE

ON THE PART OF THE EMPLOYER TO

DISCRIMINATE?

WHETHER EVIDENCE THAT A PLAINTIFF IS

TREATED MORE HARSHLY FOR LESS SERIOUS

EVENTS IS SUFFICIENT TO ESTABLISH

DISPARATE TREATMENT OR WHETHER IT IS

NECESSARY THE PERSONS TO WHICH A

PLAINTIFF COMPARES HERSELF FOR PURPOSES

OF ESTABLISHING DISPARATE TREATMENT

ARE TREATED LESS HARSHLY FOR THE

IDENTICAL OFFENSE?

IV.

il

WHETHER IF PLAINTIFF IS UNABLE TO

PROFFER “SIMILARLY SITUATED PERSONS” IN

THE NONPROTECTED CLASS WHO WERE

TREATED MORE FAVORABLY, PLAINTIFF CAN

PROVE DISPARATE TREATMENT BY REBUTTING

THE PROFFERED BUSINESS REASON

AND SHOWING OTHER EVIDENCE OF

DISCRIMINATION TOWARDS THE PROTECTED

CLASS?

WHETHER CHAPTER 213 OF THE MISSOURI

STATUTES PERMITS THE SUBMISSION OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES AGAINST A STATE

ENTITY?

LPN Pe Noah sabe ot spectiod

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SII SS a ae Se.

I iD 8 eS ae

Ree INE eer i eee

I irik OS sd Ona Ws ea cole

Statement of Jurisdiction .....................

mus en a es ee ee eee

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................

I.

Il.

Whether The “Continuing Violation Theory”

In Discrimination Cases Precludes

Consideration Of Events Outside The

Limitations Period For Purposes Of

Establishing Liability And Damages? .....

Whether A Woman May Claim As Part Of

Her “Hostile Environment” Acts Directed At

Other Women, Or Women In General, Of

Which She Is Aware, But Which Were

Not Directed At Her Personally, Or

Alternatively, May She Use Such Evidence

To Establish Intent And Motive On The Part

Of The Employer To Discriminate? .......

10

10

15

iil.

IV.

iv

Contents

Whether Evidence That A Plaintiff Is Treated

More Harshly For Less Serious Events Is

Sufficient To Establish Disparate Treatment

Or Whether It Is Necessary The Persons To

Which A Plaintiff Compares Herself For

Purposes Of Establishing Disparate

Treatment Are Treated Less Harshly For The

Sdanlicds (QMET 25 6a 6 is aia

Whether If Plaintiff Is Unable To Proffer

“Similarly Situated Persons” In The

Nonprotected Class Who Were Treated More

Favorably, Plaintiff Can Prove Disparate

Treatment By Rebutting The Proffered

Business Reason And Showing Other

Evidence Of Discrimination Towards The

Protected CT os oi. 35 accuws 1s a eens

V. Whether Chapter 213 Of The Missouri

Statutes Permits The Submission Of Punitive

Damages Against A State Entity? ........

COMCIMRIOR oc. kn o:s cs ts weak ones ae aes

Page

22

25

28

30

dicated oe

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Ashley v. Boyle’s Famous Corned Beef Co., 66 F.3d

109 (eee ts 10, 11, 13

Badaracco v. C.I.R., 464 U.S. 3865, 104 S. Ct. 756,

18 be Es SEP EIPOND ix cleksc cs... 28

Baty v. Willamette Industries, Inc., 172 F.3d 1232

(UG ENO ue es et et eee 18

Bazemore v. Friday, 478 U.S. 385, 106 S. Ct. 3000,

Fakes te SEO CEI ecg ccs a eet. 13

Beavers v. American Cast Iron Pipe Company, 975

Ec Fm LEU Ns GRO s oso ee sc hoe 12

Bell v. Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Company, 929

Fede AO A, SOME oo oc a ea RL, 12

Berry v. The Board of Supervisors of L.S.U., 715

ome FEE COU POE ici ek hak bck wowace 12

Boner v. Board of Commissioners, 674 F.2d 693 (8th

RG CEE ee Ta reece ln Chea ee 23, 24

Breeding v. Arthur J. Galagher & Company, 164

Poe FESS Ue CAE, BD oa sos kc cl; 17

vi

Cited Authorities

Brinkley-OBU v. Hughes Training, Incorporated, 36

F356 356 CG Cin, TSP) ks en se Ca

Carter v. Chrysler Corporation, 17? F.3d 693 (8th

Cir, 390 66 cso S ea eee

Chappell v. City of Springfield, 423 S.W.2d 810 (Mo.

EDGES: css ci ee Meeoenieea ee eeeea es

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509

U.S. 579, i13 S. Ct. 2786, 125 L. Ed. 2d 469

(1993? covivcidine ear cee

Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 101

S. Ct. 498, 66 L. Ed. 2d 431 (1980) ...........

Delph v. Dr. Pepper Bottling Co. of Paragould, Inc.,

130 F.3d 349 (Sth Cir. 1997) ..5:0. bs sieeve

DeNovellis v. Shalala, 124 F.3d 298 (1st Cir.

19DT) cues eee Seeks oe eee ee

Draper v. Coeur Rochester, Inc., 147 F.3d 1104 (9th

Cit 1998). ivccciviccpivewssaaioeeeeenk

Farragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 118

S. Ct. 2275, 141 L. Ed. 2d 662 (1998) ...... ss

Gustafson v. Alloyd Co., Inc., 513 U.S. 561, 115 S.

Ct. 1061, 131 L. Ed. 2d 1, on remand, 53 F.3d

53d CIORS) oo kas i vcsk ack iene ee

Page

12

17

29

14

13

14

12

12

vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Hall v. Gus Constr. Co., 842 F.2d 1010 (8th Cir.

BOOED aaa hs eed os a wan sb ea 17, 19

Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 114

S. Ct. 367, 126 L. Ed. 2d 295 (1993) ......... 13, 20

Harvey v. Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 38 F.3d 968 (8th

Cee SOs i ei ks 23

Hawkins v. Hennepin Technical Center, 900 F.2d

BOS 40 Ge OR oii a a BES 17

Heyne v. Caruso, 69 F.3d 1475 (9th Cir. 1995) ... 18

Howard v. Burn Brothers, Inc., 149 F.3d 835 (8th

Rie MEE aS oe icey co aint we Le betes. 17

Hurley v. Atlantic City Police Department, 174 F.3d

Be Ee I sik oko he Fs es kk hak a 18

Jenson v. Eveleth Taconite Co., 130 F.3d 1287 (8th

Cir. 1997), Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing en banc denied (1998) ............ 14

Kimzey v. Walmart Stores, Inc., 107 F.3d 568 (8th

GU EPP ie eae cd ca deusicks iid. 17

King v. St. Vincent's Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 112 S.

Ct. 570, 116 L. Ed. 2d 578, on remand, 971 F.2d

OT CE ay ie ean ER EAR 28

vill

Cited Authorities

Page

Kolstad v. American Dental Association, U.S. __,

Bee Reo! oA. 2 een eye e oe 17, 21

Kopp v. Samaritan Health Systems Inc., 13 F.3d 264

CBC 1995) se bs a eS EA 17

Kumko Tire Company, Ltd. v. Carmichael, 526 U.S.

137, 119 S. Ct. 1167, 143 L. Ed. 2d 238 (1999)

6b wea DEC RTORdD RRR a ta 14

Leibovitz v. New York City Transit, 4 F. Supp. 2d

EOE CALIF IGG e ow Cakes kee ce eee 18, 19

Lynn v. Deaconess Medical Center-West Campus,

160 F.3d 484 (8th Cir. 1998) ................ 24

Martin v. Nannie and Newborns, Inc., 3 F.3d 1410

CSO CS es Fs a a es 12

McAlester v. United Air Lines, Inc., 851 F.2d 1249

CEO Cae FR 6 i TA es 24

McDonald v. Santa Fe Trail Transportation Co., 427

U.S. 263, 96 S. Ct. 2564, 49 L. Ed. 2d 493

C197 Ss Sk eae cea eee eed eos 23, 24

McDonnell-Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792,

93 S. Ct. 1817, 36 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1973) ....... 25

Meritor Sav. Bank. FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 106

S. Ct. 2399, 91 L. Ed. 2d 48 (1986) ........... 13

ix

Cited Authorities

Page

Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Servs. Inc., 523 U.S.

75, 118 S. Ct. 998, 140 L. Ed. 2d 201 (1998)

HPs Bh > eee BS IREe CaP Pegs RDI aay ea ER 20

Perry v. Ethan Allen, Inc., 115 F.3d 143 (2nd Cir.

ROPES 5 El i ig doa, ce a ees ees SS 12,18

Pollock v. Wetterau Food Distribution Group, 1999

WL 619345 (Mo. App. E.D.) ....:5.......... 12

Ricks v. Riverwood International Corp., 38 F.3d

RrSU AG BPO risks 6 Ohi ee 23

Rorie v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 141 F.3d 757

EG BR se ee 14

Ryther v. KARE II, 108 F.3d 832 (8th Cir.), cert.

denied, _U.S. _, 117S. Ct. 2510, 138 L. Ed.

Be EN 5 ak no a ee eo eo vb as 25, 26

Selan v. Kiley, 969 F.2d 560 (7th Cir. 1992) ...... 12

Smith v. Monsanto Chemical Co., 770 F.2d 719 (8th

Oe errs Saeed ye min Cac AG. 23

St. Mary’s Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 113

S. Ct. 2742, 125 L. Ed. 2d 407 (1993) ........ 25

Texas Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450

U.S. 248, 101 S. Ct. 1089, 67 L. Ed. 2d 207

GPM ets ote Noe Str Sires PLES IK os Se Boks 25

x

Cited Authorities

United Airlines v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 97

S. Ct, 1965, 352-L. Ba. 26 SFT CGT ee

Vance v. Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph

Company, 863 F.2d 1503 (11th Cir. 1989)

Vinson v. Taylor, 753 F.2d 141 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ..

Ward v. Procter & Gamble Paper Products

Company, 111 F.3d 558 (8th Cir. 1997) .......

West v. Philadelphia Electric Company, 45 F.3d 744

(Sal Ge TOS eh PPE AAS

Statutes:

SPUD TR er Sees

G2 USA. | Tome a ees

Rule:

5 ea eas es ee

Page

13

18

19

23

12

21

xi

TABLE OF APPENDICES

Appendix A — Opinion Of The United States Court

Of Appeals For The Eighth Circuit Dated And

PAU WN Re A oi5 oo ie woe eo re ee i

Appendix B — Amended Judgment Of The United

States District Court For The Western District Of

Missouri Dated And Filed February 17, 1998

Appendix C — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Regarding Plaintiffs’ Motion

For Equitable Relief Dated And Filed February

SPER clk ss rt eae A a aha EGU cata

Appendix D — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Regarding Post-trial Motions

Dated And Filed February 17,1998 ..........

Appendix E — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Granting In Part And Denying

In Part Defendant’s Motion In Limine Dated And

Fine Coe 27, 1987 see ee

Appendix F — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Granting In Part And Denying

In Part Defendant’s Motion For Summary

Judgment With Respect To Anne Wedow Dated

And Filed September 29, 1997 ..............

Page

la

20a

22a

44a

64a

xi

Cited Authorities

Page

Appendix G — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Granting In Part And Denying

In Part Defendant’s Motion For Summary

Judgment With Respect To Erma Morgan Dated

And Filed September 29, 1997 .............. 83a

Appendix H — Order Of The United States District

Court For The Western District Of Missouri,

Western Division Granting In Part And Denying

In Part Defendant’s Motion For Summary

Judgment With Respect To Kathleen Kline Dated

And Filed September 29, 1997 .............. 94a

Appendix I — Order Of The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Eighth Circuit Denying Petition

For Rehearing Dated June 30,1999 .......... 107a

Appendix J — Constitutional And Statutory

PUOUOR TONING So i ai asinkdad add Kees 108a

]

OPINIONS BELOW

The Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit is reported at 175 F.3d 660 (8th Cir. 1999).

A copy of the Opinion is included in the Appendix at

Appendix A at la. The Order of the Eighth Circuit denying

Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing en banc

is included in the Appendix at Appendix I at 107a. The

Judgment of the District Court for the Western District of

Missouri is included in the Appendix at Appendix B at 20a.

The Opinion of the District Court on posttrial motions, other

than equitable relief, is included in Appendix D at 44a. The

Opinion of the District Court on equitable relief is included

in Appendix C at 22a. The Opinion of the District Court on

Motions in Limine is included in Appendix E at 64a. The

Opinion of the District Court on the Respondent’s Motion

for Summary Judgment directed at Kathleen Kline is included

in Appendix H at 94a. The Opinion of the District Court on

the Respondent’s Motion for Summary Judgment directed

at Anne Wedow is included in Appendix F at 75a. The

Opinion of the District Court on the Respondent’s Motion

for Summary Judgment directed at Erma Morgan is included

in Appendix G at 83a. The Order entered September 8, 1999

by the United States Supreme Court extending the time to

file Petition for Writ of Certiorari to November 27, 1999.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

issued its Opinion on May 5, 1999. On May 19, 1999

Petitioners filed a Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc which the United States Court of Appeals

denied on June 30, 1999. App. I at 107a.' A Request for

1. Citations to “App.” are to the appendix filed with this

Petition for Writ of Certiorari pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 14(i).

2

Extension of Time to File Petition for Writ of Certiorari was

directed to Justice Thomas on September 2, 1999. An Order

was entered by the United States Supreme Court on

September 8, 1999 extending the time for the filing of the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to November 27, 1999.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The four Petitioners worked for the Kansas City,

Missouri Fire Department (KCMOFD); Kline and Wedow

worked in Fire Suppression — the fire fighting division of

the KCMOFD, while Morgan and Taylor worked in

Administration. At the time of trial, Kline, Wedow and

Morgan were still working for the KCMOFD while Taylor

had been fired. Petitioners were hired into the KCMOFD in

the late 1970’s and 1980’s. Kline and Wedow were among

the very first women hired in Fire Suppression in the

KCMOFD.

The KCMOFD during the 1970’s through the time of

trial comprised about 800 employees in several different

locations within the city limits — City Hall for top level

administration, Communications in a second building, and

the various station houses which were assigned to

“battalions” throughout the City. Kline and Wedow worked

in numerous different station houses throughout their time

in the KCMOFD and also came to City Hall and the

Communications Department for various work-related

reasons. Morgan and Taylor worked exclusively at City

Hall and occasionally had work related visits to the

Communications Department. Fire Suppression personnel

rotated among the Fire Stations, Communications and City

Hall at various times in their careers.

7 At yl eee

3

In 1993 Kline, Wedow and Morgan filed charges of

discrimination with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (EEOC)’, which was followed by a charge of

discrimination in 1994 for Taylor. Each of the charges made

allegations of sex discrimination, sexual harassment and

retaliation under both Title VII and the Missouri Human

Rights statute’. The charges alleged a “continuing violation”

as well as a “pattern and practice” of discrimination for each

of the women, in the areas of promotions, raises, awards,

sexual harassment, racially hostile atmosphere for Morgan,

and retaliation, including discipline and termination of

Taylor. The retaliation claim included claims for filing

Petitioners’ charges as well as for opposing practices of the

KCMOFD based upon sex, race and retaliation and

supporting other women in their claims of discrimination

against the KCMOFD.

In 1994 “right to sue” letters were obtained from both

the Justice Department and the MCHR. Suit was filed in the

United States District Court for the Western District of

Missouri.* The Second Amended Complaint, upon which trial

proceeded, included claims for sexual discrimination, sexual

harassment and retaliation for each of the women and also

for racial harassment for Morgan under both federal and state

laws.

2. Aconcurrent filing was made with the Missouri Commission

on Human Rights (MCHR).

3. See statutory sections set forth in Appendix J, p. 108a.

4. A First and Second Amended Complaints were subsequently

filed for procedural reasons. A fifth plaintiff, who worked in

Communications, subsequently voluntarily dismissed her claims with

prejudice and is not a Petitioner before this Court.

4

The claims alleged in the Second Amended Complaint

were broader than those alleged in the charges of

discrimination. For example, in the sex discrimination claims

pled under federal and state law, Kline and Wedow alleged

that women in Fire Suppression had ill-fitting clothing and

equipment made for men, not women, and almost no facilities

for sleeping, showering, or female hygiene whereas men had

clothes tailored for men as well as adequate facilities for

privacy in sleeping, showering and dressing. These issues

were also part of their sexual harassment/hostile environment

claims. These issues were not specifically raised in their

charges, but the Eighth Circuit ultimately determined they

were in fact “similarly related” to their other claims.°

Additionally, all Plaintiffs claimed their “hostile

environment” consisted not only of what happened to

themselves, but what happened to other women in their

presence as well as what happened to other women of

which they were aware or became aware through

discussions with other women, including the other Plaintiffs

in the case. Plaintiffs also sought recovery for the entire

time period they were in the KCMOFD as they claimed the

disparate treatment, hostile environment based upon sex (or

race) and retaliation permeated every aspect of their work

environment from the commencement of their employ.

During discovery Petitioners itemized in great detail

every instance of disparate treatment, harassment (sexual or

racial), and retaliation which occurred to them from the

commencement of their employment until June 1, 1997, the

cutoff for discovery. They also obtained discovery from each

5. The Eighth Circuit, however, found that it was “harmless

error” for the District Court to exclude these claims. App. A,

pp. lla-15a.

a

5

of the other approximately 22 women in the KCMOFD in

Fire Suppression and many of the women in Administration

with regard to their issues of disparate treatment as well as

sexual harassment or harassment based upon sex. Discovery

was directed at issues of disparate treatment and hostile

environment for all women in the KCMOFD, including

issues of disparate treatment in promotions, awards, pay,

opportunities to work out of class at a higher grade, physical

and verbal harassment with either sexual overtones or done

because they were women, shunning, ill-fitting clothing and

equipment and lack of adequate changing-showering-

sleeping facilities for the women. Discovery was also

directed at the lack of training on sex discrimination issues

resulting in inadequate procedures to report and investigate

acts of discrimination as well as retaliation for those who

complained or opposed the practices. An in-depth review

was made of most of the KCMOFD’s personnel files to assist

in establishing disparate treatment in promotions, awards and

discipline — the latter particularly with regard to establishing

disparate treatment of Taylor.

Respondent filed Rule 56 Motions against each of the

Petitioners. Among Respondent’s issues were: that events

more than 300 days® prior to the filing of the charge of

discrimination could not be the subject of relief under Eighth

Circuit and Missouri state law; that events not directed at

Petitioners personally could not be considered as part of the

Petitioners’ “hostile work environments” whether based on

race or sex even if they were aware of the events; that events

not specifically alleged in their charges of discrimination

(such as the clothing and facility issues) could not be

actionable as they were not administratively exhausted; and

6. And 180 days for the MCHR claims.

6

that because this type of evidence, that is, evidence of other

women’s issues, clothing, facilities, and items outside the

180/300 day time period, was not “actionable” Petitioners

failed to allege sufficient facts to constitute a “hostile

environment” based upon sex and/or race to go to the jury.

The District Court in three separate rulings’ issued

September 29, 1997 agreed with many of Respondent’s

positions for Kline, Wedow and Morgan. These rulings and

subsequent rulings by both the District and Appellate Courts

disregarded the doctrine of “continuing violation” as

developed by the Circuits. As a result Petitioner Wedow and

Morgan’s “hostile environment” claims based upon race and

sex were dismissed prior to trial for failure to state sufficient

facts within the time period to constitute an actionable cause.

The remaining claims that were permitted to go to the jury

precluded the jury from considering any evidence outside

the 180/300 day time period for purposes of awarding

damages. Although some evidence between 1989 and the

commencement of the statutory time period was permitted

to be heard by the jury as “relevant background evidence”,

no evidence of any kind that predated 1989 was permitted to

be heard or considered by the jury for any purpose. The

rulings also excluded testimony of what happened to other

women of which Petitioners were aware to establish the

Petitioners’ own hostile environments.

These Rule 56 rulings limiting Petitioners’ claims were

reinforced by rulings in Respondent’s favor on Respondent’s

7. Kline at App. H, pp. 94a-106a; Wedow at App. F, pp. 25a-

82a; Morgan at App. G, pp. 83a-93a. These were not issues that

significantly affected Taylor and were not raised on appeal for her.

7

Motions in Limine* made October 17, 1997 which excluded

other women’s testimony regarding discriminatory events

directed at them, clothing and facility issues not only on the

merits of Petitioners’ claims, but even to show “knowledge”

of the KCMOFD of the discriminatory conduct through

“pervasiveness”, or to establish “intent to discriminate” or

“punitive damages”. App. E, pp. 65a-70a. Only two limited

pieces of evidence were permitted regarding “other women”

— one an incident in 1993 where KCMOFD males allegedly

yelled obscenities at KCMOFD women cadets; and excerpts

from the City’s Human Resource studies in 1992 and 1994

given to the City Council showing high levels of complaints

in the KCMOFD about discrimination, harassment, and

retaliation. Finally, these same rulings were incorporated into

jury instructions which limited Petitioners’ recovery to

events that occurred within the 180/300 day time period

and which excluded events occurring to other women outside

Petitioners’ presence, or issues regarding clothing and

facilities, or events that occurred outside the 180/300 day

time period.

The jury returned verdicts in Kline’s favor on her

disparate treatment claim for failure to promote her, her

sexual harassment claim and her retaliation claim and on

Taylor’s disparate treatment claim for termination. The jury

returned verdicts in Respondent’s favor on other of Kline’s

disparate treatment claims, on all of Wedow’s disparate

treatment and retaliation claims, on Morgan’s retaliation

claims and on Taylor’s disparate treatment claims for

8. At the commencement of trial Petitioners’ counsel renewed

the issues raised in the Motions in Limine and the District Court

reaffirmed its prior ruling on the Respondent’s Motions in Limine.

The Eighth Circuit found Petitioners had sufficiently preserved their

objections.

8

assignment of light duty and in disciplining her, as well as

on her hostile environment and retaliation claims. The jury

awarded Kline backpay and compensatory damages on her

failure to promote claim in the amount of $47,134 and

$150,000 in punitive damages; $1.00 nominal damages on

her compensatory damage claim for sexual harassment and

$100,000 in punitive damages; and $1.00 nominal damages

on her retaliation claim and $50,000 in punitive damages.

The jury awarded Taylor $48,098.00 in backpay and a like

sum for compensatory damages, as well as $100,000 in

punitive damages for her termination disparate treatment

claim.

The District Court then held a multiple-day “equitable

relief” hearing for both Kline and Taylor. At this hearing,

the District Court, without a jury, heard evidence from most

of the other women in the KCMOFD about their disparate

treatment and “hostile environment” while employed in the

KCMOFD.

Thereafter, the parties filed their posttrial Motions.

Among the issues raised by Respondent were the availability

of punitive damages under Missouri law. On February 17,

1998 the District Court entered two separate orders — one

on the parties’ posttrial motions, App. D, pp. 44a-63a, and

one for equitable relief for Kline and Taylor, App. C,

pp. 22a-43a. In the first of these Orders the District Court

struck the punitive damages awarded Petitioners Kline and

Taylor agreeing with Respondent that they were not

permitted under Missouri law, although neither the Missouri

Appellate or Supreme Courts had specifically ruled to this

effect on this statute. App. D, pp. 53a-58a. The District Court

affirmed the verdicts in favor of Kline and Taylor, App. D,

p. 63a, and in favor of Respondent for Wedow and Morgan.

9

In a separate order, the District Court imposed further

equitable relief for both prevailing Petitioners.

App. C, pp. 22a-43a. This equitable relief included placing

Kline in a Battalion Chief position retroactively, ordering

changes in the manner in which the City handled

discrimination claims and maintained records on complaints

of discrimination, setting up a committee composed of

KCMOFD personnel, including one of the Plaintiffs to agree

on training issues, and ordering extensive training for all of

the KCMOFD personnel as well as new cadets.

The parties both thereafter filed timely separate appeals

from the posttrial order on the parties’ Posttrial Motions.

Neither party filed an appeal from the equitable relief order.

The separate appeals were consolidated and one opinion was

issued on both appeals May 5, 1999.

On the Respondent’s appeal of Taylor’s verdict, the

Eighth Circuit found in Respondent’s favor claiming the

persons with which Taylor sought to compare herself were

not “similarly situated” to her because Taylor was discharged

for “performance” issues and the males to whom she had

compared herself were disciplined for “conduct” issues.

Taylor had argued to the Eighth Circuit that her verdict

should stand for several reasons. First, the jury could have

found the reasons given by the KCMOFD for her termination

lacked credence and were therefore “pretext” as the District

Court found in its Posttrial ruling. App. D, pp. 49a-53a.

Second, Taylor argued that the discipline resulting in

termination of her was substantially less severe than the

discipline given men in Administration for far more serious

“conduct” issues. Third, Taylor argued that there was no one

“similarly situated to her”. Finally, Taylor argued that the

jury heard the evidence on Kline, Wedow and Morgan’s

10

claims without any limiting instructions offered by

Respondent or given by the District Court and that the jury

had the right to consider that evidence in determining whether

“sex was the motivating factor” in her discharge. The Eighth

Circuit’s decision to reverse Taylor’s verdict was a clear

refutation of all these arguments.

On Petitioners’ appeal, the Eighth Circuit specifically

rejected Petitioners’ contention that Ashley v. Boyle’s

Famous Corned Beef Co., 66 F.3d 164, 167-68 (8th Cir.

1995) en banc interpretation of the “continuing violation”

doctrine was erroneous. The Eighth Circuit also found that

evidence regarding “‘other women’s claims of discrimination”

should not be permitted as it was prejudicial. Although

exclusion of some of the remaining evidence (such as

clothing, equipment and facilities) was found to be erroneous,

overall, the Circuit found it was “harmless”. The Eighth

Circuit then affirmed the District Court’s rulings on

Summary Judgment, Motions in Limine and Posttrial

motions. App. A, pp. 3a-1 1a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

WHETHER THE “CONTINUING VIOLATION

THEORY” IN DISCRIMINATION CASES PRECLUDES

CONSIDERATION OF EVENTS OUTSIDE THE

LIMITATIONS PERIOD FOR PURPOSES OF

ESTABLISHING LIABILITY AND DAMAGES?

The Eighth Circuit’s decision in Kline, applying Ashley

v. Boyle’s Famous Corned Beef Co., 66 F.3d 164, 167-68

(8th Cir. 1995) en banc, voids the “continuing violation”

theory in the Eighth Circuit leaving this Circuit alone among

11

the Circuits in its application of the doctrine to discrimination

claims under Federal law. The Eighth Circuit by its

application of the “continuing violation” theory as set forth

in Ashley restricted Petitioners’ ability to present evidence

to the jury on the “totality of the circumstances” surrounding

their claims of disparate treatment, sexual harassment and

retaliation. This resulted in Petitioners being limited almost

exclusively to events within the 180/300 day time period.

Petitioners contend this limitation of the evidence

substantially’ contributed to Wedow and Morgan losing

entirely, and Kline and Taylor’s losing their remaining

claims. Even with the claims that Kline and Taylor did prevail

upon, Petitioners contend the awards of damages would have

been greater had this “other evidence” been presented to the

jury.!°

This truncated version of the “continuing violation”

theory is contra to findings in other Circuits addressing the

issue as well as to the one Missouri Appellate Court

addressing the issue since the Eighth Circuit’s ruling.

Although the Eighth Circuit claims that Ashley does not

eviscerate the “continuing violation” doctrine, the Eighth

Circuit by permitting the District Court to set arbitrary time

limits on “relevant background evidence” predating the

9. Petitioners contend exclusion of the evidence regarding

clothing, facilities, and what Petitioners knew had happened to other

women and African-Americans in the KCMOFD also seriously

impacted the ultimate verdicts. The “cumulative” effect of the

exclusion of evidence cannot be underestimated as having

substantially impacted Petitioners’ claims as a whole.

10. The Eighth Circuit concluded they did not believe

the exclusion of the evidence would have impacted the jury’s

ultimate verdicts, even those in favor of Kline and Taylor.

App. A, pp. 10a-1 1a.

12

statutory time periods and by precluding recovery for events

which occur outside the 180/300 day time period has

essentially rejected the theory of “continuing violation” in

all but explicit language. See DeNovellis v. Shalala, 124 F.3d

298, 307-309 (1st Cir. 1997); Perry v. Ethan Allen, Inc.,

115 F.3d 143 (2nd Cir. 1997); West v. Philadelphia Electric

Company, 45 F.3d 744, 754-56 (3rd Cir. 1995); Brinkley-

OBU v. Hughes Training, Incorporated, 36 F.3d 336,

347-349 (4th Cir. 1994); Berry v. The Board of Supervisors

of L.S.U., 715 F.2d 971, 979-981 (Sth Cir. 1983); Bell v.

Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Company, 929 F.2d 220

(6th Cir. 1991); Selan v. Kiley, 969 F.2d 560, 564-566

(7th Cir. 1992); Draper v. Coeur Rochester, Inc., 147 F.3d

1104, 1108-1110 (9th Cir 1998); Martin v. Nannie and

Newborns, Inc., 3 F.3d 1410, 1414-1416 (10th Cir. 1993);

Beavers v. American Cast Iron Pipe Company, 975 F.2d 792,

796-798 (11th Cir. 1992) and Pollock v. Wetterau Food

Distribution Group, 1999 WL 619345 (Mo. App. E.D.)

adopting Draper as the standard for Missouri state

discrimination claims.

Berry, supra, referred to by many Circuits as the seminal

Circuit Court case on “continuing violation” outlining the

theory of “continuing violation”, stated (/d. at 979-80):

The theory may also be relevant to a plaintiff's

remedy, for it has been stated that once having

shown discrimination continuing into the actional

period, ... the plaintiffs may also recover for

portions of the persistent process of illegal

discrimination that antedated the limitations

period.

(internal quotations eliminated, emphasis added).

13

Although the Supreme Court has not directly decided

the issue, it has inferred that damages for the entire time

period are to be considered when there is a “continuing

violation” of a sexually hostile environment. See Harris v.

Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 114 S. Ct. 367, 126

L. Ed. 2d 295 (1993) (considering acts of harassment

spanning two and one half years) and Meritor Sav. Bank.

FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 106 S. Ct. 2399, 91 L. Ed. 2d 48

(1986) (considering acts of harassment spanning a four year

period.) Other Supreme Court cases addressing “continuing

violation” seem to presume recovery for the entire liability

period. See United Airlines v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 97

S. Ct. 1885, 52 L. Ed. 2d 571 (1977); Bazemore v. Friday,

478 U.S. 385, 106 S. Ct. 3000, 92 L. Ed. 2d 315 (1986) and

Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250, 101 S. Ct.

498, 66 L. Ed. 2d 431 (1980). This for the reason that

damages generally flow from the period of liability covered,

and artificial barriers on damages, unless statutorily imposed,

have not heretofore been recognized to limit liability once

liability is imposed.

The Ashley limitation on damages results in two

problems: first, the jury may not assess damages for the

“relevant background information” which it hears during the

course of the trial;'' and second, for that period of time for

which they may assess damages, they must somehow

segregate out the noncompensable damages affect on the

compensable damages. This leaves the jury to speculate as

to what sum is appropriate for those limited damages. Placed

in that position, and following the trial court’s directions

not to “speculate”, the jury is left with but one conclusion

11. The jury was not told until the instructions were given that

these events could not be compensated.

14

— nominal damages, as they did for Kline in this cases on

her sexual harassment retaliation claims, or “no damages”

— as they did for Wedow and Morgan — as to award

otherwise might be “speculative” in violation of the District

Court’s jury instruction not to speculate. A logical extension

would place a psychologist or psychiatrist testifying for a

plaintiff in a hostile environment case in the almost

impossible position of attempting to sever plaintiff's

diagnosable emotional distress between “pre” and “within”

180/300 day events. A trial court could strike such expert

testimony in a Kumko/Daubert hearing because of the

speculative nature of attempting to “divide up” the emotional

distress impact. See Daubert v. Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579, 113 S. Ct. 2786, 125

L. Ed. 2d 469 (1993) and Kumko Tire Company, Ltd. v.

Carmichael, 526 U.S. 137, 119 S. Ct. 1167, 143 L. Ed. 2d

238 (1999).

While Panels of the Eighth Circuit have held “a totality

of the circumstances” must be considered in determining

whether there is a hostile environment, see Jenson v. Eveleth

Taconite Co., 130 F.3d 1287 (8th Cir. 1997), Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing en banc denied (1998) and Rorie

v. United Parcel Service, Inc., 141 F.3d 757, 761 (8th Cir.

1998), and that evidence supporting a hostile environment

should not be “compartmentalized”, see Delph v. Dr. Pepper

Bottling Co. of Paragould, Inc., 130 F.3d 349, 355

(8th Cir. 1997), in effect Petitioners’ claims have been

“compartmentalized” by this distorted application of the

“continuing violation” doctrine which arbitrarily cuts off the

evidence a plaintiff may present to establish her

discrimination claims.

15

Il.

WHETHER A WOMAN MAY CLAIM AS PART OF

HER “HOSTILE ENVIRONMENT” ACTS DIRECTED

AT OTHER WOMEN, OR WOMEN IN GENERAL, OF

WHICH SHE IS AWARE, BUT WHICH WERE

NOT DIRECTED AT HER PERSONALLY, OR

ALTERNATIVELY, MAY SHE USE SUCH EVIDENCE

TO ESTABLISH INTENT AND MOTIVE ON THE

PART OF THE EMPLOYER TO DISCRIMINATE?

The Eighth Circuit’s creation of an artificial “judicial

environment” by arbitrarily cutting off Petitioners’ claims

by its limited interpretation of the “continuing violation”

doctrine is augmented by its rulings precluding evidence of

what happened to other women of which Petitioners were

aware." The result of this erroneous preclusion of evidence

12. The Eighth Circuit states that “other women’s” experiences

were considered. App. A at 11a. However, this is incorrect. Only

one incident of dozens was ruled admissible and then for the limited

purpose of demonstrating “knowledge by the city” of the atmosphere.

Other women in the KCMOFD were permitted to testify only in the

equitable relief hearing after the jury trial. Almost every women in

the department testified about their own “hostile environments” and

disparate treatment during their work experience in the KCMOFD.

This led the trial court to enter an equitable relief order. (App. C at

32a-33a) which stated:

The Court finds that there have been blatant and

inexcusable incidents of improper activity; improper

because they are prohibited by Title VII and improper

because they should not be engaged in by public

employees. In fact, the Court finds that some of the

activities violate societal standards of decency in any

(Cont'd)

16

also substantially contributed to the dismissal on Summary

Judgment of Wedow’s hostile environment claim based upon

sex and Morgan’s hostile environment claim based upon race.

Likewise, Petitioners claim that the exclusion of the evidence

at trial for all the Petitioners resulted in jury verdicts for

Respondent on the remaining of Wedow and Morgan’s ©

claims, as well as those claims not prevailed upon by Kline

and Taylor. Why? Because, quite simply, the jury heard about

an environment truncated by exclusionary rulings which left

the remaining events to be viewed in a vacuum without the

benefit of the context of what was happening to all women

in the KCMOFD.

By precluding Petitioners from testifying about what

they knew happened to “other women” in the KCMOFD the

Eighth Circuit precluded the jury from understanding how

Petitioners viewed alleged discriminatory acts directed at

them. It precluded the jury from understanding whether

(Cont'd)

work environment, public or private. For instance, the

Court finds that strippers and prostitutes have been

brought to fire stations; female employees have had their

breasts grabbed; male fire fighters watch X-rated videos

(either on VCR’s or on pay-per-view) on communal

televisions in fire stations while on duty; (FN 4 omitted)

copies of magazines depicting nude women are kept in

fire stations; sexual slurs are used to refer to women,

sexually suggestive jokes, pranks and comments occur

on a frequent basis. These things violate Title VII. These

are also things that public employees ought not be doing

while on duty. (FN 5 omitted) These are things no

employee ought to be doing in the workplace. Equitable

relief is required to prevent these violations from

occurring in the future and to protect Kline from further

sexual harassment.

17

Petitioners’ claims were anomalies, or part of a more

pervasive atmosphere of sex discrimination in all its forms.

Clearly, a woman’s view of her workplace environment is

made up of not only what happens to her personally, but

what happens to other [women] of which she becomes aware.

To suggest that this evidence should not be considered part

of the “totality of the circumstances” is just a further

“compartmentalization” of a plaintiff’s environment,

severely limiting the ability of that plaintiff to explain how

she felt personally and thus establish derivative damages

from liability. Just as importantly, precluding such evidence

on the grounds it is “prejudicial”, precludes a plaintiff from

submitting what may be, as in this case, a large body of

evidence which may tend to demonstrate the defendant’s

discriminatory animus, or establish “pervasiveness” such as

to show “knowledge” on the part of management, or punitive

damages under Kolstad v. American Dental Association, _

U.S. __, 119 S. Ct. 2118 (1999).

The Eighth Circuit’s ruling on this issue is in

contravention of numerous other Eighth Circuit Panel

decisions which find this evidence relevant to such issues

as: knowledge by the defendant of the conduct complained

about; discriminatory-animus; and corroboration of the

plaintiff's subjective view of her environment as “hostile”.

See Hall v. Gus Constr. Co., 842 F.2d 1010, 1014-15

(8th Cir. 1988); Hawkins v. Hennepin Technical Center, 900

F.2d 153, 155 (8th Cir. 1990); Kopp v. Samaritan Health

Systems Inc., 13 F.3d 264 (8th Cir. 1993); Kimzey v. Walmart

Stores, Inc., 107 F.3d 568, 573-74 (8th Cir. 1997); Howard

v. Burn Brothers, Inc., 149 F.3d 835, 838 (8th Cir. 1998).

Carter v. Chrysler Corporation, 173 F.3d 693, 701 n.7

(8th Cir. 1999); Breeding v. Arthur J. Galagher & Company,

164 F.3d 1151 (8th Cir. 1999).

18

The Eighth Circuit’s rulings on this matter are, like its

rulings on the “continuing violation” doctrine, in

contradistinction to rulings in other Circuits. Illustrative of

other Circuit’s decisions is the recent case of Hurley v.

Atlantic City Police Department, 174 F.3d 95, 108-09

(3rd Cir. 1999). The District Court permitted four women

who had been associated with the police department to testify

regarding pervasive harassment of women within the

department even though the plaintiff did not witness any of

these incidents nor become aware of the alleged harassment

until after she commenced suit. The Third Circuit reasoned

that such evidence was admissible because:

It gave them [the jury] the opportunity to

evaluate the adequacy of management’s response

to Hurley’s complaints during the statutory

period. It provided the jury with a sense of

whether the events that took place during the

statutory period were anomalous or accidental, or

instead were part of a pervasive and severe

pattern.

See also Perry v. Ethan Allen, Inc., supra at 151; Heyne v.

Caruso, 69 F.3d 1475, 1480 (9th Cir. 1995); Baty v.

Willamette Industries, Inc., 172 F.3d 1232, 1245 (10th Cir.

1999); and Vance v. Southern Bell Telephone & Telegraph

Company, 863 F.2d 1503, 1511 (11th Cir. 1989). The District

Court in Leibovitz v. New York City Transit, 4 F. Supp. 2d

144, 149-50 (E.D.N.Y. 1998) in permitting the claim of a

women who had never personally suffered harassment but

viewed it happening to others stated:

Personal harassment is not the gravamen of a

hostile work environment claim. To assume that

19

a cause of action for hostile work environment

excludes claims where the environment is hostile

but the person complaining about the environment

has not been personally attacked would make quid

pro quo and hostile work environment virtually

identical while unnecessarily restricting the

layman’s definition of “environment”. Congress

gave no indication that Title VII was designed to

be so conflated. See e.g., Rogers v. EEOC, 454

F.2d 234, 238 (Sth Cir. 1971) (citing cases) “An

aggrieved person obviously is any person

aggrieved by any of the forbidden practices.”

Hackett v. McGuire Bros., 455 F.2d 442, 446 (3rd

Cir. 1979) i:

(emphasis added).

The Court in Leibovitz, id. at 151 cites to the Appellate

decision in Vinson v. Taylor, 753 F.2d 141, 146 (D.C. Cir.

1985) wherein the court stated:

Even a woman who was never herself the

object of harassment might have a Title VII claim

if she were forced to work in an atmosphere where

such harassment was pervasive.

And even cites to language from the Eighth Circuit case of

Hall, supra at 1014-15:

Congress evinced an intention to define

discrimination in the broadest possible terms, and

evidence of sexual harassment directed at

employees other than the plaintiff is relevant to

show a hostile work environment.

20

Finally, the Eighth Circuit’s rulings in this regard are

clearly in direct contravention of dicta in several decisions

of this Court. In Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Servs. Inc.,

523 U.S. 75, 118 S. Ct. 998, 1003, 140 L. Ed. 2d 201 (1998)

this Court in determining what sorts of workplace behavior

constitute discriminatory action stated:

... careful consideration of the social context in

which particular behavior occurs and is

experienced by its target. . . [and it] often depends

on a constellation of surrounding circumstances, |

expectations, and relationships which are not fully |

captured by a simple recitation of the words used

or the physical acts performed. :

* * *

[such evidence] is probative of whether

conduct is severe or pervasive enough to create |

an objectively hostile or abusive work |

environment — an environment that a reasonable :

person would find hostile or abusive.

(quoting Harris at 510 U.S. 21, and Meritor at 477 U.S. at

67). And, in Farragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775,

118 S. Ct. 2275, 141 L. Ed. 2d 662 (1998) this Court

recounted the evidence that “other female lifeguards” had

“informal” talks with a supervisor about the misbehavior of

Terry and Silverman.

Farragher suggests another reason why the evidence of

what happens to “other women” is relevant in the context of

these cases. After Farragher, if the defendant raises the

affirmative defenses recited in Farragher, a plaintiff must

Le

21

demonstrate that the complaint procedure was either

inadequate or she had reason not to utilize it. Petitioners

suggest that one of the ways to rebut the affirmative defense

is to show either that other women who had complaints such

as the plaintiff found the procedures to be inadequate or failed

to use the procedure because it would prove fruitless to do

so based upon their own experiences. Clearly, if this type of

“other women” evidence is to come in to rebut defendant’s

affirmative defenses, there is no reason it should not come

in to support defendant’s knowledge of the environment,

defendant’s discriminatory animus, plaintiffs subjective

view of her environment, the pervasiveness of the

environment, and perhaps most importantly, that plaintiffs

view of the environment was that of a reasonable women

based upon the “totality of the circumstances”.

Clearly, Kolstad gives yet another reason why evidence

of discrimination directed at other women should be

admissible. In Kolstad this Court interpreted 42 U.S.C.

§ 1981a(a)(1) and 1981a(b)(1) regarding the degree of proof

necessary to establish punitive damages in Title VII actions.

This Court found that the terms “malice” and “reckless” in

the statute defining “punitive damages” went to the issue of

the “actor’s state of mind” and “pertain to the employer’s

knowledge that it may be acting in violation of federal law,

not its awareness that it is engaging im discrimination.” Jd.

at 2124. It is clear from Kolstad that evidence supporting

punitive damages should be based on a modified concept of

common law principals of “agency” which do not penalize

the defendant for its good faith efforts to prevent

discrimination. Jd. at 2127-28. However, clearly this Court

has left this issue for further development by the District

and Appellate Courts. One of the ways to show, however,

the requisite mental state of the employer, is the pattern of

22

discrimination against a wide number of persons other than

the plaintiff bringing the claim. Hence, evidence of what

occurred to “other women” is clearly relevant to this issue.

Although the Eighth Circuit found that the addition of

events happening to other women serves only to create

“confusion” and “prejudices the defendant”, App. A,

pp. 1 1la-12a, it is the jury who ends up being confused and

the plaintiff who ends up being prejudiced by the exclusion

of this evidence. The jury is hampered in determining

whether the events of which plaintiff claims are “isolated”

or part of the defendant’s overall intent to discriminate

against women in the workplace. The plaintiff is prejudiced

by being precluded from presenting evidence of

discrimination directed towards other members of the

protected class which might lend support to a finding of

systemic discrimination. As for the argument of “prejudice”

to the defendant, if the defendant is a violator of Title VII

anything tending to show it violated Title VII or may be

subject to punitive damages will be prejudicial and such

evidence should not be precluded for that reason.

iil.

WHETHER EVIDENCE THAT A PLAINTIFF IS

TREATED MORE HARSHLY FOR LESS SERIOUS

EVENTS IS SUFFICIENT TO ESTABLISH DISPARATE

TREATMENT OR WHETHER IT IS NECESSARY THE

PERSONS TO WHICH A PLAINTIFF COMPARES

HERSELF FOR PURPOSES OF ESTABLISHING

DISPARATE TREATMENT ARE TREATED LESS

HARSHLY FOR THE IDENTICAL OFFENSE?

The Eighth Circuit’s sole reason for reversing the verdict

in Taylor’s favor on her disparate treatment claim was that

23

the men to whom she compared herself in Administration’

were “disciplined” for “conduct” issues while she was

disciplined for “performance” issues, and therefore, she

proffered no person in the nonprotected class who was

“similarly situated” to her and treated more favorably. The

Eighth Circuit cites Boner v. Board of Commissioners, 674

F.2d 693, 697 (8th Cir. 1982) as support for the proposition

that “performance” and “misconduct” are not “similarly

situated” instances that can be compared. This is a

continuation of a line of cases in the Eighth Circuit which

essentially have devolved the “similarly situated” method

of proof in disparate treatment cases to mean that unless a

plaintiff can demonstrate that the person with whom she is

comparing herself in the nonprotected class is almost

identical in all respects to herself in terms of job and the

type of conduct for which she is treated less favorably, she

cannot sustain her burden of proof. See Smith v. Monsanto

Chemical Co., 770 F.2d 719, 723 (8th Cir. 1985); Harvey v.

Anheuser-Busch, Inc., 38 F.3d 968, 972 (8th Cir. 1994); Ricks

v. Riverwood International Corp., 38 F.3d 1016, 1018

(8th Cir. 1994); Ward v. Procter & Gamble Paper Products

Company, 111 F.3d 558, 560 (8th Cir. 1997).

Boner, as well as this line of cases, cites to McDonald v.

Santa Fe Trail Transportation Co., 427 U.S. 263, 280-85,

96 S. Ct. 2564, 2578-81, 49 L. Ed. 2d 493 (1976) for this

alleged proposition. McDonald, however, does not support

this peculiar reading; rather McDonald states employees who

have engaged in acts of “similar seriousness” may be

compared. Boner extended that to state that “performance”

13. The District Court excluded dozens of files with examples

of Fire Suppression personnel who were kept on the job for far more

serious offenses both on and off the job.

24

and “misconduct” can never be considered as evidence for

“similarly situated” employees. A very recent decision of

the Eighth Circuit revisits the language of McDonald, while

disregarding the language quoted by the Eighth Circuit in

its opinion from Boner. See Lynn v. Deaconess Medical

Center-West Campus, 160 F.3d 484 (8th Cir. 1998). In Lynn,

the Eighth Circuit found that a plaintiff need only establish

that he or she was treated differently than other employees

whose violations were of “comparable seriousness” (citing

to Ricks, supra at 1019 and McAlester v. United Air Lines,

Inc., 851 F.2d 1249, 1261 (10th Cir 1988)). These cases are

a correct recitation of the law.

To rule, as the Eighth Circuit has in Boner and in this

case, is to preclude a plaintiff from making a disparate

treatment case when there is no one “similarly situated” to

her. For example, in the case at bar, no one performed the

same tasks as Taylor performed for the Fire Marshall’s office.

The only men in the Fire Marshall’s office were inspectors

and supervisors while the women were relegated to various

clerical tasks. While the men were sometimes “counseled”

for conduct issues, such as sexual harassment'* and other

violations of KCMOFD regulations, they were rarely if ever

disciplined for failing to do their job properly despite the

fact there were problems with the way they did their jobs.

Even when disciplined for so called “conduct” issues, the

“discipline” was rarely if ever probation and firing as in

14. The City offered into evidence Taylor’s entire personnel

file which contained documents showing that men in the Fire

Administration where she worked had been accused of sexual

harassment but no disciplinary action had been taken by Taylor’s

supervisor against these men who also supervised these other men.

This is additional evidence of sex discrimination which supports

Taylor’s verdict.

25

Taylor’s case, but merely verbal counseling. Taylor,

however, was harshly criticized for performance issues and

ultimately terminated for them even though she had a

14-year prior history of satisfactory performance.

By denying Taylor the right to prove her disparate

treatment case by showing that men were treated more

favorably for more serious issues while she was treated less

favorably for less serious issues, the Eighth Circuit

effectively precluded Taylor from making a submissible case.

This is not the law of disparate treatment. It is a barrier too

high to overcome.

IV.

WHETHER IF PLAINTIFF IS UNABLE TO PROFFER

“SIMILARLY SITUATED PERSONS” IN THE

NONPROTECTED CLASS WHO WERE TREATED

MORE FAVORABLY, PLAINTIFF CAN PROVE

DISPARATE TREATMENT BY REBUTTING THE

PROFFERED BUSINESS REASON AND SHOWING

OTHER EVIDENCE OF DISCRIMINATION

TOWARDS THE PROTECTED CLASS?

The Eighth Circuit’s decision to reverse the verdict in

Taylor’s favor in less than a page solely on the grounds the

men to whom she had compared herself were not “similarly

situated” denied Taylor her right to prove her case by other

means as provided by McDonnell-Douglas Corp. v. Green,

411 U.S. 792, 93 S. Ct. 1817, 36 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1973); Texas

Dept. of Community Affairs v. Burdine, 450 U.S. 248,

254-46, 101 S. Ct. 1089, 1094-95, 67 L. Ed. 2d 207 (1981);

Si. Mary’s Honor Ctr. v. Hicks, 509 U.S. 502, 506-08, 113

S. Ct. 2742, 125 L. Ed. 2d 407 (1993) and Ryther v. KARE II,

26

108 F.3d 832 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, _ U.S. __, 117

S. Ct. 2510, 138 L. Ed. 2d 1013 (1997). The Eighth Circuit’s

brief opinion on Taylor’s claims stopped its analysis of

Taylor’s verdict after finding that under no circumstances

could a plaintiff compare issues of “performance” to issues

of “conduct” for purposes of establishing “disparate

treatment” based upon “similarly situated” persons. App. A,

pp. 16a-19a.

The Eighth Circuit failed to consider entirely whether

the jury might not have believed the reasons given for

Taylor’s dismissal given other evidence that they heard of

Taylor’s treatment as well as the “hostile environment” for

all women in the department given the evidence they heard

for Kline, Morgan and Wedow. None of this evidence about

other women in the department and what had occurred to

them was limited to their cases by any limiting instruction.

The Eighth Circuit essentially ignored the District Court’s

finding that the jury could have believed that Taylor was an

adequate secretary, did not have performance problems and

that her equipment problems were technical as she claimed,

and not performance based as Respondent claimed and that

men who had performance issues were not terminated. App.

D, pp. 49a-53a. The jury heard evidence that Taylor’s

supervisor had come from Fire Suppression where there was

rampant sex discrimination as evidenced by the information

received on the claims of Kline and Wedow. The City did

not proffer instructions during trial limiting the jury’s

consideration of this evidence to Wedow and Kline’s claims.

Consequently, the jury was free to use all the evidence they

heard to support an inference that Taylor’s supervisor was

motivated by Taylor’s sex in reaching his decision to

terminate her.

27

By terminating its analysis after finding the men to whom

Taylor compared herself were not “similarly situated”, the

Eighth Circuit went beyond merely eviscerating Taylor’s

verdict which required the jury find that “sex was a

motivating factor” in her termination.'> It rejected the

direction of McDonnell Douglas Corp., Burdine, Hicks and

even its own decision in Ryther. Clearly, given the totality

of the evidence the Eighth Circuit should not have reversed

Taylor’s verdict.

15. The verdict director submitted stated in part:

First, defendant treated plaintiff Betty Taylor

differently than similarly situated males in the Fire

Department on any one or more the following issues at

any time between June 20, 1993 and July 1, 1997:

* * *

c. Termination of Employment, and

Second, defendant’s treatment of plaintiff Betty

Taylor on one or more of the above issues was adverse

to plaintiff Betty Taylor, and

Third, plaintiffs’ sex, female, was a motivating

factor in defendant’s decisions.

An additional instruction that immediately followed the verdict

director read:

If you find in favor of plaintiff Betty Taylor under

Instruction 65, then you must answer the following

question on the verdict form with respect to those items

(a) through (c) listed in Instruction 65 that you found to

(Cont'd)

28

Vv.

WHETHER CHAPTER 213 OF THE MISSOURI

STATUTES PERMITS THE SUBMISSION OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES AGAINST A STATE ENTITY?

The Eighth Circuit while agreeing with Petitioners that

it must be guided by the Missouri statute’s language on

punitive damages, refuses to read the statute as a whole

claiming to do so “cobbles together” many different

provisions of the statute. App. A at pp. 15a-16a. However,

statutes are read as a whole, and not as discrete parts. King

v. St. Vincent’s Hosp., 502 U.S. 215, 112 S. Ct. 570, 116

L. Ed. 2d 578, on remand, 971 F.2d 641 (1991). Identical

words used in different parts of the same act are intended to

have the same meaning. Gustafson v. Alloyd Co., Inc., 513

U.S. 561, 115 S. Ct. 1061, 131 L. Ed. 2d 1, on remand, 53

F.3d 333 (1995). Courts are not authorized to rewrite a statute

because they might deem its effect susceptible of

improvement. Badaracco v. C.1.R., 464 U.S. 3865, 104 S.

Ct. 756, 78 L. Ed. 2d. 549 (1984).

When read as a whole, the statute is quite clear that an

“employer” is included in the definition of who a plaintiff

may claim punitive damages against. Based upon the Eighth

Circuit’s analysis, no statute should be read as a whole, but

should be read in small increments. This is not the manner

in which statutes have been read in the past and should not

(Cont’d)

exist: Has it been proved by the greater weight of the

evidence that defendant would have treated plaintiff

Betty Taylor differently than similarly situated males

in the Fire Department with respect to these issues,

regardless of her sex?

29

be so read now so as to deny Petitioners their punitive

damages.

The relevant portions of Chapter 213 are set forth in the

App. J, pp. 109a-112a. When the definition of “employer”

at 213.010 is read in conjunction with “relief available” under

213.111, it is clear that punitive damages are permissible

against the City.

Although the District and Appellate Courts found

language in Chappell v. City of Springfield, 423 S.W.2d 810

(Mo. 1968) is controlling, Chappell was decided on a policy

basis, not upon a strict construction of the Missouri statute.

It is not appropriate for the Missouri Court of Appeals,

District Court or the Eighth Circuit to “improve upon” the

Missouri statute as written. For this reason, punitive damages

should be reinstated.

30

CONCLUSION

For the above and foregoing reasons Petitioners request

this Court remand the case to the trial court for a new trial of

Kline’s, Wedow and Morgan’s claims, order the trial court

to reconsider the dismissed hostile environment claims of

Wedow and Morgan and if a hostile environment is found

order a new trial on those claims all consistent with a proper

definition and instruction regarding the continuing violation

and hostile environment; Order the reinstatement of the

punitive damage awards; and Order the reinstatement of the

vercict in Betty Taylor’s favor, together with appropriate

attorney fees.

Respectfully submitted,

KAREN K. HOWARD

Counsel of Record

THE LAw OFFICES OF

KAREN K. Howarp, P.C.

Attorneys for Petitioners

851 N.W. 45th Street, Suite 306

Kansas City, Missouri 64116

(816) 453-3119

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

DATED AND FILED MAY 5, 1999

Kathleen KLINE, Anne Wedow,

and Erma Morgan,

Appellants,

and

Betty Taylor,

Appellant/Cross-Appellee,

v.

CITY OF KANSAS CITY, Missouri,

FIRE DEPARTMENT,

Appellee/Cross-Appellant.

Nos. 98-1593, 98-1846.

United States Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit.

Submitted Jan. 14, 1999.

Filed May 5, 1999.

* * x

Before: LOKEN, HANSEN, and MORRIS SHEPPARD

ARNOLD, Circuit Judges.

2a

Appendix A

MORRIS SHEPPARD ARNOLD, Circuit Judge.

Kathleen Kline, Anne Wedow, Erma Morgan, and Betty

Taylor, each of whom was an employee of the Kansas City,

Missouri, Fire Department, sued the department under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, see 42 U.S.C. §§ 2000e

through 2000e-17, and the Missouri Human Rights Act

(MHRA), see Mo.Rev.Stat. §§ 213.010-213.139. (Although

the named defendant is the Fire Department, we refer to the

city as the defendant in this opinion for purposes of

simplicity.) All four women claimed that they were

disparately treated based on their sex, that they were

subjected to a hostile work environment based either on their

sex or their race, and that they were retaliated against for

filing charges against the city and for opposing Fire

Department practices.

The trial court excluded much of the plaintiffs’ evidence

in limine: No evidence was admitted of acts that occurred

prior to 1989, of the experiences of other women employees

of the Fire Department, or of alleged discrimination with

respect to clothes and facilities. The trial court also granted

partial summary judgment against Ms. Wedow and Ms.

Morgan, dismissing their disparate treatment and hostile

work environment claims.

At trial, Ms. Kline prevailed on part of her disparate

- treatment claim and on her hostile work environment claim

and her retaliation claim. The jury awarded her approximately

$47,000 in compensatory damages and $150,000 in punitive

damages on her disparate treatment claim, $1 in nominal

damages and $100,000 in punitive damages on her hostile

MYT LPI 8 Sc eid I OR A UNTO

3a

Appendix A

work environment claim, and $1 in nominal damages and

$50,000 in punitive damages on her retaliation claim. Ms.

Taylor prevailed on part of her disparate treatment claim,

and the jury awarded her approximately $96,000 in

compensatory damages and $100,000 in punitive damages.

The jury found for the city on the remaining claims of Ms.

Kline and Ms. Taylor, and on the retaliation claims of Ms.

Wedow and Ms. Morgan. The trial court subsequently

granted the city’s motion to vacate the punitive damages

awarded to Ms. Kline and Ms. Taylor.

The plaintiffs appeal the evidentiary exclusions noted

above, the jury instructions given in light of those exclusions,

the summary judgment rulings against Ms. Wedow and Ms.

Morgan, and the order vacating the award of punitive

damages. The city cross-appeals, claiming that there was

insufficient evidence to support the judgment in favor of Ms.

Taylor. We affirm the trial court with respect to the plaintiffs’

appeal but reverse the judgment in favor of Ms. Taylor’s

disparate treatment claim. We remand the case for the entry

of appropriate orders.

I,

Employment discrimination claims of the kind involved

here are barred if a plaintiff fails to file a timely charge with

the appropriate federal or state administrative agency.

Evidence of discrimination is ordinarily admissible only with

respect to acts within the statutory limitations period

preceding the filing of the charges. The plaintiffs in this case,

however, sought to admit evidence of events predating the

4a

Appendix A

limitations period, maintaining that they could do so because

they were complaining of continuing violations.

We have long recognized that a claim may be timely if

it is based on an ongoing violation that began before the

limitations period began but continued into it, see Ashley v.

Boyle’s Famous Corned Beef Co., 66 F.3d 164, 167-68 (8th

Cir.1995) (en banc), and that evidence of events “occurring

outside the limitations period may . . . be admissible. . . when

the incidents are part of a continuing violation,” Kimzey v.

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 107 F.3d 568, 572 (8th Cir.1997). A

violation is continuing if it consists of “ ‘an ongoing pattern

or practice of discrimination,’ ” rather than an amalgamation

of discrete, isolated instances. Rorie v. United Parcel Service,

Inc. 151 F.3d 757, 761 (8th Cir.1998), quoting Jenson v.

Eveleth Taconite Co., 130 F.3d 1287, 1303 (8th Cir.1997),

cert. denied, U.S. __,118 S.Ct. 2370, 141 L.Ed.2d 738

(1998) (emphasis omitted).

We have held, moreover, that “[e]ven if a plaintiff is

unable to show a continuing violation, ... instances of

harassment occurring outside the [limitations] period may

be admissible to provide relevant background to later

discriminatory acts.” Rorie, 151 F.3d at 761. Damages,

however, may be recovered only with respect to events that

occurred within the limitations period. Ashley, 66 F.3d at

168 (“[rJelief back to the beginning of the limitations period

strikes a reasonable balance between permitting redress of

an ongoing wrong and imposing liability for conduct long

past”); see also Kimzey, 107 F.3d at 572-73.

Rese ER eT OORT ERD SAC nt og aA NRT PRIMES ECR RO UP MRA TRG NT 7

a PREIS RPE UNE VEU AE Se NS ER IT I

5a

Appendix A

Various of the plaintiffs contend that the trial court

misapplied the principles applicable to continuing-violation

cases in several ways. We turn first to the trial court’s

exclusion of evidence about any events that occurred before

January 1, 1989 (more than four years before the limitations

period began). The trial court’s order excluding that evidence

explicitly declined to do so with respect to Ms. Wedow, Ms.

Morgan, and Ms. Taylor, and thus on appeal we consider

this issue only with respect to Ms. Kline. See Fed.R.App.P.

10(2), Fed.R.App.P. 28(e). Ms. Kline asserts that the trial

court’s cutoff date of January 1, 1989, for evidence on her

disparate treatment and hostile work environment claims was

arbitrary and that for those claims the trial court should have

admitted all evidence concerning her work since she was

first hired at the Fire Department.

The city contends that Ms. Kline’s offer of proof was

insufficient. “An offer of proof serves dual purposes: (1) to

inform the [trial] court and opposing counsel of the substance

of the excluded evidence, enabling them to take appropriate

action; and (2) to provide an appellate court with a record

allowing it to determine whether the exclusion was erroneous

and whether [the] appellant was prejudiced by the exclusion.”

Thomas v. Wyrick, 687 F.2d 235, 239 (8th Cir.1982), cert.

denied, 459 U.S. 1175, 103 S.Ct. 824, 74 L.Ed.2d 1020

(1983). Having reviewed the offer of proof that Ms. Kline

submitted to the trial court on this issue, we believe that it

was adequate to serve both of these purposes. We have not

considered the depositions that were cited in the offer of

proof at trial but not provided to this court on appeal.

6a

Appendix A

We believe, furthermore, that the trial court properly

concluded that no pre-1989 events could be considered part

of a continuing violation relevant to Ms. Kline’s disparate

treatment claim. Two of those events involved discipline that

Ms. Kline received in 1977, but because of the time lapse

between 1977 and 1989, the trial court quite correctly found

that the 1977 events involved isolated acts that were not part

of a continuing violation. The remaining incident occurred

in 1986 and concerned an injury that Ms. Kline was told to

ignore. We agree with the trial court that that incident was

also merely an isolated act. Even if the trial court erroneously

excluded the 1986 event, moreover, the error is harmless.

Because Ms. Kline could recover only for incidents that

occurred within the limitations period, the 1986 event could

have been used only as background evidence and, in our

view, is highly unlikely to have affected the verdict of the

jury on Ms. Kline’s disparate treatment claim.

As for Ms. Kline’s hostile work environment claim,

however, we believe that the trial court should have allowed

evidence of pre-1989 events. In her offer of proof on this

issue, Ms. Kline provided evidence of a consistent chain of

discriminatory acts and working conditions that were

sufficient to constitute a continuing violation that began prior

to 1989. The trial court should therefore have admitted that

evidence as “relevant background,” Kimzey, 107 F.3d at 573,

at the very least. Ms. Kline prevailed on the issue of liability

on this claim, however, so the only harm she could have

suffered from the exclusion of this evidence would be with

respect to damages. In this circuit, though, damages may

not be predicated on events that occur prior to the limitations

period. See id. at 572-73; Gipson v. KAS Snacktime Co.,

Ta

Appendix A

83 F.3d 225, 230 (8th Cir.1996); and Ashley, 66 F.3d at 168.

The error was therefore harmless.

Ms. Wedow and Ms. Morgan assert that the trial court

improperly failed to consider events occurring outside the

statutory limitations period when it granted summary

judgment to the city on their hostile work environment

claims. It is clear from the face of the trial court’s orders

granting summary judgment, however, that it did in fact

consider such evidence, along with events that occurred

within the statutory period. The trial court determined that

the events in question involved isolated acts rather than parts

of a continuing violation. We believe that the trial court was

correct in its conclusion.

Ms. Wedow’s hostile work environment claim was based

on a series of events that ended in 1986 and on individual

incidents that occurred in 1989 and 1993. The trial court

determined that these were isolated incidents that did not

amount to a continuing violation. Given the length of time

that transpired between these three acts, we affirm this ruling.

Ms. Morgan’s hostile work environment claim was based

on a series of acts that ended in 1981, subsequent acts that

caused her to accept a voluntary demotion in 1987, and acts

that occurred several years later. The trial court found that

all these acts were isolated rather than parts of a continuing

violation. We agree.

Ms. Wedow and Ms. Morgan further contend that all of

this evidence should have been considered “relevant

background,” Kimzey, 107 F.3d at 573, quite apart from any

role as evidence of a continuing violation. We disagree. The

— a i

8a

Appendix A

evidence in question involved isolated acts that occurred

several years before the limitations period began; those acts

thus had little or no probative value but did present a

substantial risk of confusion of the issues and unfair

prejudice. See Fed.R.Evid. 402, Fed.R.Evid. 403. In our

view, if that evidence had been admitted, an appreciable risk

would have existed that the jury would award damages

because of acts for which the statute of limitations had run,

or that the jury would confuse the relevant acts with

continuing violations.

In a related vein, Ms. Kline, Ms. Wedow, and Ms.

Morgan contend that the trial court erred in instructing the

jury that liability and damages on any claim could be

predicated only on acts that took place within the limitations

period. As noted above, our cases are clear that a plaintiff

may be compensated only for such acts. See Kimzey, 107

F.3d at 572-73; Gipson, 83 F.3d at 230; and Ashley, 66 F.3d

at 168. The plaintiffs argue, nonetheless, that Ashley and

the cases applying its principles have recently been

contradicted by Jenson, 130 F.3d at 1287, because, according

to the plaintiffs’ brief on appeal, “in Ashley it is clear that

the plaintiff was limited to recovering to the beginning of

the limitation period while in Jenson it is clear that relief is

predicated on acts that predated the statute of limitations

period.”

The plaintiffs have misread the cases. The Jenson

opinion held only that the decision about liability (whether

or not a plaintiff will recover) could be based partially on

9a

Appendix A

time-barred events, not that a plaintiff could actually recover

damages for those events. See Jenson, 130 F.3d at 1302-03.

Damages are not thus “predicated on” time-barred events as

the plaintiffs contend. The cases are not, therefore, in conflict,

and the instructions limiting the recovery of damages to

events that happened within the limitations period were

therefore correct. See Gipson v. KAS Snacktime Co., 171

F.3d 574, 575-76, 576 n. 3 (8th Cir.1999),

Ms. Kline, Ms. Wedow, and Ms. Morgan challenge the

jury instructions on the disparate treatment and retaliation

claims. The plaintiffs maintain that the instructions

improperly directed the jury to find for the plaintiffs only if

disparate treatment or retaliation took place during the

statutory limitations period.

The disparate treatment claims were pleaded as

continuing violations but relied on discrete acts of

discrimination within the limitations period. Evidence from

outside that period was therefore admissible as “relevant

background,” Kimzey, 107 F.3d at 573, but could not be the

basis for liability on the disparate treatment claims unless

the disparate treatment occurred during the limitations

period. That is what the instructions in question required.

The benefit of a continuing-violation theory in suits that rely

on discrete acts is that a plaintiff may “challenge ongoing

discriminatory acts even if similar illegal acts could have

been challenged earlier and are thus time-bazred,” Ashley,

66 F.3d at 168, not that defendants may be held liable for

acts outside the limitations period. The challenged

instructions were thus not erroneous.

eR ELE ORE A SE Oe

10a

Appendix A

With respect to the retaliation claims, no continuing

violation was pleaded. Those claims thus had to have been

based on discrete acts within the limitations period. The

relevant instructions could not therefore have been infirm

on account of any consideration related to a continuing-

violation theory, and, accordingly, the trial court properly

instructed the jury that liability for retaliation could be based

only on acts that occurred during the limitations period.

An instruction relevant to the defendant’s liability on

Ms. Kline’s hostile work environment claim was, however,

erroneous. That instruction directed the jury to find for Ms.

Kline if conduct occurring within the limitations period met

the criteria for a hostile work environment. But when, as

here, some of the unlawful acts could establish a continuing

violation, a jury need not find that conduct only within the

limitations period established the defendant’s liability on a

hostile work environment claim. Instead, the jury may base

part of its determination that a hostile environment existed

on evidence of events outside the limitations period, as long

as the violation continued into that period and included at

least one unlawful act during that period. See Jenson, 130

F.3d at 1303. The trial court therefore erred in instructing

the jury on Ms. Kline’s hostile work environment claim.

We believe nevertheless that the error was harmless.

Because the trial court granted summary judgment to the

city on the hostile work environment claims of Ms. Wedow

and Ms. Morgan, the offending instruction applied only to

the hostile work environment claims of Ms. Kline and Ms.

Taylor. Ms. Kline prevailed on her hostile work environment

claim, and Ms. Taylor does not argue that this instruction

lla

Appendix A

was erroneous. Furthermore, although Ms. Kline also

contends that the instruction prejudiced her with respect to

damages, we disagree, because even in a continuing

violation, damages may not be awarded for acts that are

time-barred.

Ill.

The plaintiffs also contend that the trial court should

have admitted evidence of discrimination that other women

suffered at the Fire Department. We note initially that the

trial court did in fact admit evidence tending to show that

the city employees who allegedly discriminated against the

plaintiffs also discriminated against other women. The trial

court admitted that evidence under Fed.R.Evid. 404(b)

because it was relevant with respect to the defendant’s

knowledge of unlawful conduct toward the plaintiffs and its

refusal to remedy it. With respect to other employees of the

Fire Department, however, we fail to see how evidence of

any discrimination by them against women other than the

plaintiffs would tend to prove that the plaintiffs were

discriminated against. See Fed.R.Evid. 402. Any probative

value of this evidence, moreover, would be substantially

outweighed by the threat of confusion of the issues and unfair

prejudice. See Fed.R.Evid. 403; see also Callanan v. Runyun,

75 F.3d 1293, 1298 (8th Cir.1996) (upholding a similar

exclusion).

Ms. Kline, Ms. Wedow, and Ms. Morgan assert that

evidence about employees other than those who allegedly

discriminated against them should have been admitted as

relevant to motive, opportunity, intent, or knowledge on the

12a

Appendix A

part of the city. See Fed.R.Evid. 404(b). We agree with the

trial court that the acts of people who did not supervise or

allegedly discriminate against the plaintiffs (and who in most

cases did not even work in the same area as the plaintiffs)

are not probative of the city’s motive, opportunity, intent,

or knowledge. What little probative value such evidence

might have, in any case, would be substantially outweighed

by the threat of confusion of the issues and unfair prejudice.

See Fed.R.Evid. 403.

IV.

Finally, Ms. Kline, Ms. Wedow, and Ms. Taylor contend

that the trial court should have admitted evidence of

discrimination with respect to clothing and facilities as

relevant to their hostile work environment claims. We agree.

The EEOC complaint did allege a hostile work

environment, and although it did not specifically recite the

excluded evidence in support of that claim, the law does not

restrict a plaintiff at trial to the evidence recited in an EEOC

complaint. “In a hostile work environment claim, evidence

concerning all circumstances of the complainant’s

employment must be considered.” Kimzey, 107 F.3d at 573.

The treatment of the plaintiffs with respect to clothing and

facilities was a part of their work environment and therefore

should have been considered in evaluating their hostile work

environment claims.

We believe, however, that the error was harmless. With

regard to Ms. Kline, we observe first that she prevailed on

the issue of liability with respect to her hostile work

13a

Appendix A

environment claim. The only harm that she could have

suffered from the exclusion of the clothing and facilities

evidence, therefore, would have been relevant to damages.

Pursuant to a jury instruction that directed the jury to award

Ms. Kline nominal damages if it found in her favor on

liability but decided that her injuries had no monetary value,

the jury awarded her only nominal damages ($1). The acts

that led to this award included numerous unwanted sexual

advances and insults. The evidence that Ms. Kline contends

should have been admitted concerned the poorly fitting

clothing, the failure of supervisors to respond to requests to

buy firefighting clothing designed for women, unequal

bathroom facilities, and the lack of privacy in the bathrooms.

Those alleged conditions were manifestly less severe and

pervasive than the ones for which Ms. Kline prevailed on

liability, and we thus believe that the jury would have

declined to award any additional damages for them. The only

potential harm to Ms. Kline, therefore, would be in the

calculation of punitive damages. Since the trial court vacated

the award of punitive damages, however (a ruling that we

affirm below), any error here was harmless.

The trial court correctly found in its summary judgment

order that Ms. Wedow’s hostile work environment claim was

based on only one act but that there was no evidence from

which a jury could conclude that Ms. Wedow’s supervisors

were aware of that act. Only the clothing and facilities

evidence would have remained, therefore, even if considered,

to defeat summary judgment on Ms. Wedow’s hostile work

environment claim. That evidence concerned the poorly

fitting clothing, the lack of firefighting clothing designed

for women, deficient bathroom facilities for women (there

l4a

Appendix A

was no shower), and the lack of privacy in the bathrooms

and the bunk area. Ms. Wedow’s claim could have survived

summary judgment only if these conditions were

“sufficiently severe or pervasive ‘to alter the conditions of

[the plaintiff's] employment and create an abusive working

environment.’ ” Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S.

57, 67, 106 S.Ct. 2399, 91 L.Ed.2d 49 (1986), quoting

Henson v. City of Dundee, 682 F.2d 897, 904 (11th

Cir.1982).

We do not believe that the evidence on clothing and

facilities was sufficient to carry that burden. It does not tend

to prove the level of severity that we have previously found

necessary to sustain claims of this sort. For example, in Rorie,

151 F.3d at 762, we found that the facts that the plaintiff

alleged were “on the borderline of those sufficient to support

a claim,” where those facts consisted of the plaintiff's

supervisor frequently brushing up against her, telling her that

she smelled good, and patting her on the back. We think that

those allegations were more serious than the general

discomfort that Ms. Wedow alleged with respect to clothing

and facilities, and we therefore believe that even if the

evidence on clothing and facilities had been considered, Ms.

Wedow’s hostile work environment claim could not have

survived summary judgment. Any error in excluding that

evidence was therefore harmless.

It is unclear to us whether Ms. Taylor appeals on this

issue. We doubt, however, that the admission of the clothing

and facilities evidence would have bolstered her claim in

any event. Unlike Ms. Kline and Ms. Wedow, who were

firefighters and often had to wear firefighting clothing, and

15a

Appendix A

spend nights and take showers at the fire station, Ms. Taylor

was a Clerical worker. The conditions of which Ms. Kline

and Ms. Wedow complain in their hostile work environment

claims were altogether irrelevant to Ms. Taylor’s work

environment (in fact, there is no evidence that she was even

subject to these conditions). Any error in this regard was

therefore harmless with respect to her as well.

V.

Ms. Kline and Ms. Taylor also contest the trial court’s

order vacating the jury’s award of punitive damages under

the MHRA. They maintain that the city failed to raise and

properly preserve this issue at trial because the city made no

motion for judgment as a matter of law with respect to

punitive damages. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(a)(1). That rule,

however, governs motions for judgment as a matter of law

based on insufficient evidence and is therefore irrelevant in

this context. The city objected to punitive damages at trial

on the ground that the statute does not authorize them (not

that insufficient evidence existed to support such an award)

and objected to the jury instruction on punitive damages,

see Fed.R.Civ.P. 51, and therefore raised and properly

preserved the issue.

We believe that the trial court was correct in vacating

the punitive damages awards. Because the burden of a

punitive damages award against a municipality ultimately

falls on the taxpayers, and thus will fail to deter future

harmful activity by the municipality itself, punitive damages

are not usually recoverable against a municipality in

Missouri. See Chappell v. City of Springfield, 423 S.W.2d

l6a

Appendix A

810, 814-15 (Mo.1968), and Angelo v. City of Hazelwood,

810 S.W.2d 706, 707 (Mo.Ct.App.1991). A municipality in

Missouri is subject to punitive damages only if a statute

specifically provides that it is. See, e.g., Chappell, 423

S.W.2d at 813-14.

Ms. Kline and Ms. Taylor argue that the MHRA does in

fact specifically provide for punitive damages against

municipalities, because the act’s definition of “employer”

“includes the state, or any political or civil subdivision

thereof,” see Mo.Rev.Stat. § 213.010(7), and because another

section of the act provides that a court may award punitive

damages to a prevailing party, see Mo.Rev.Stat. § 213.111.2.

But the MHRA is a voluminous statute with many provisions

and definitions. See Mo.Rev.Stat. §§ 213.010- 213.139. We

believe that a result cobbled together from different sections

of the statute is insufficiently explicit under the Missouri

cases to overcome the presumption against punitive damages

when a municipality is a defendant that has been found liable.

We therefore reject the plaintiffs’ contentions in this respect.

VI.

The city cross-appeals the judgment entered in favor of

Ms. Taylor on her disparate treatment claim, arguing that

there was insufficient evidence of intentional discrimination.

Ms. Taylor responds that the city failed to preserve this issue

for appeal because the city did not renew the motion for

judgment as a matter of law, see Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(b), that it

made at the close of the plaintiffs’ evidence, see Fed.R.Civ.P.

50(a). She cites Pulla v. Amoco Oil Co., 72 F.3d 648 (8th

Cir.1995), for the proposition that a party that fails to move

17a

Appendix A

for judgment as a matter of law at the close of all of the

evidence is barred by Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(b) from arguing the

sufficiency of the evidence post-trial or on appeal.

That case is inapplicable here. First of all, in Pulla, 72

F.3d at 655-56, the appellant failed to make any motion for

judgment as a matter of law prior to submission of the case

to the jury. It is not even contended that that is the case here.

Instead, it is the form of the motion that Ms. Taylor contests.

She asserts that, although the city made both oral and written

motions for judgment as a matter of law at the close of the

plaintiffs’ evidence, it “merely renewed them” at the close

of its own evidence and again at the close of all of the

evidence.

Ms. Taylor argues that these renewals did not satisfy

the rule’s requirement that motions specify the grounds on

which the moving party is relying. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(a)(2).

We disagree. Once a sufficient motion for judgment as a

matter of law has been made, nothing in the law requires the

movant continually to make arguments or to file written

motions repeating the details of the original over and over

again. We believe that it is sufficient for the movant, as the

city did here, simply to renew the motion generically.

The city’s substantive argument is that its motion for

judgment as a matter of law should have been granted

because Ms. Taylor failed to present sufficient evidence of

intentional discrimination. Ms. Taylor’s theory of the case

throughout the trial was that she was treated differently from

similarly situated men. The city contends that she did not

18a

Appendix A

prove disparate treatment because the males to whom she

compared herself were not, in fact, similarly situated to her.

Ms. Taylor bore the burden of proving that she and the

male employees to whom she compared herself at trial were

“ ‘similarly situated in all relevant respects,’ Smith v.

Monsanto Chemical Co., 770 F.2d 719, 723 (8th Cir.1985),

cert. denied, 475 U.S. 1050, 106 S.Ct. 1273, 89 L.Ed.2d 581

(1986), quoting Meyers v. Ford Motor Co., 659 F.2d 91, 93

(8th Cir.1981). Ms. Taylor, a clerical employee, was accused

of poor job performance. The three men to whom she claims

she was similarly situated were J.W.S. (a fire inspector), P.C.

(a firefighter), and L.G. (a fire dispatcher), each of whom

was accused of specific rule violations. We have held that

employees accused of poor job performance are not similarly

situated to employees accused of misconduct. Boner v. Board

of Commissioners, 674 F.2d 693, 697 (8th Cir.1982)

(plaintiff's poor job performance not similar to misconduct

in the form of embezzlement).

J.W.S. was verbally abusive to an employee of the city

Finance Department while on duty, and was involved in an

altercation with a security guard (for which he was charged

with assault) while in uniform and off duty. His supervisor

charged him with violations of the personnel rules and of

the Fire Department Rules and suspended him until the

assault case was decided. After the suspension, J.W.S. was

told that he could either resign or face charges for verbal

abuse. P.C. was charged with sleeping on the job and

violating the fire code by bringing his vehicle inside a

building when acting as a fire guard at an event. His

supervisor removed his overtime card from the fire guard

Te nee

19a

Appendix A

box (the card was later returned because it had not been made

clear that bringing a vehicle inside the building was a

violation). L.G., who served under a different supervisor and

in a different facility from Ms. Taylor, had his pay docked

for reading another worker’s e-mail.

The performance-related matters for which Ms. Taylor

was terminated (inadequate typing skills, mistakes in

correspondence, and poor time management, among others)

are not similar to the specific instances of misconduct

described above. Ms. Taylor offered no evidence to

demonstrate that she was treated differently from these men,

or any other men, with respect to job performance. She was

not, therefore, similarly situated to these men in all relevant

respects, and the verdict in her favor cannot stand.

Vil.

For the reasons stated, we affirm the judgment of the

trial court in all respects on the plaintiffs’ appeal but reverse

the judgment in favor of Ms. Taylor’s disparate treatment

claim. We remand the case for the entry of appropriate orders.

20a

APPENDIX B — AMENDED JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI DATED AND

FILED FEBRUARY 17, 1998

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

CASE NUMBER: 94-0723-cV-W-3

KATHLEEN KLINE, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

CITY OF KANSAS CITY MISSOURI,

Defendant.

AMENDED JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Jury Verdict. This action came before the Court for a trial

by jury. The issues have been tried and the jury has rendered

its verdict.

Decision by Court. This action came to trial or hearing

before the Court. The issues have been considered and a

decision has been rendered.

IT IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED Counts I and IV —

in favor of Kathleen Kline and awarded $47,134 in actual

damages; Counts II and V — in favor of Kathleen Kline and

awarded $1.00 in actual damages; Counts II] and VI — in

aaa

21a

Appendix B

favor of Kathleen Kline and awarded $1.00 in actual

damages; Counts VII and X — in favor of Defendant; Counts

IX and XII — in favor of Defendant; Counts XV and XVIII

— in favor of Defendant; Counts XXIII and XXVI — in

favor of Betty Taylor and awarded $96,196 in actual

damages; Counts XXIV and XXVII — in favor of Defendant:

Counts XXV and XXVIII — in favor of Defendant.

Order dated February 17, 1998 denies in part and grants in

part equitable relief as summarized in the Order.

February 17, 1998 R.F. Connor

Clerk

s/ [illegible]

(By) Deputy Clerk

22a

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI, WESTERN DIVISION REGARDING

PLAINTIFFS’ MOTION FOR EQUITABLE RELIEF

DATED AND FILED FEBRUARY 17, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. 94-0723-CV-W-3

KATHLEEN KLINE, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI,

Defendant.

ORDER

Pending is Plaintiffs’ Motion for Equitable Relief. After

reviewing the arguments presented by the parties and by the

International Association of Fire Fighters Local Union No.

42 (the “Union”) appearing as an amicus, the Court grants

Plaintiffs’ Motion in part and denies it in part.

To put the Motion in context, it is important to keep in

mind that the jury in this case found in favor of Plaintiff

Kathleen Kline on her claim of disparate treatment in the

awarding of overtime, opportunities to work out of class

23a

Appendix C

(“WOC”), promotion to Battalion Chief, sexual harassment,

and retaliation. The jury also found in favor of Plaintiff Betty

Taylor on her claim that she was discharged because she

was a woman. The jury awarded these Plaintiffs monetary

damages to compensate them through the date of the verdict

(which was November 21, 1997).

I. LEGAL STANDARDS

When a Plaintiff prevails under Title VII, “the court may

enjoin the respondent from engaging in such unlawful

employment practice, and order such affirmative action as

may be appropriate, which may include, but is not limited

to, reinstatement or hiring of employees ... or any other

equitable relief as the court deems appropriate.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(g)(1). “Title VII has vested broad equitable powers

in the federal courts to fashion a decree which will, so far as

possible, eliminate the discriminatory effects of the past as

well as bar like discrimination in the future. Additionally,

. victims of discrimination are entitled to the most

complete relief possible, including placement in positions

comparable to ones that they were denied, and determination

of seniority and other rights as of the date that their rights

were violated.” Gilbert v. City of Little Rock, 799 F.2d 1210,

1215 (8th Cir. 1986) (quotations omitted). With these general

principles in mind, the primary areas of relief requested by

Plaintiffs are addressed below.

II. RELIEF SPECIFIC TO PLAINTIFF

KATHLEEN KLINE

The relief principally requested by Kline relates to a

promotion to Battalion Chief. The jury determined that Kline

24a

Appendix C

was denied this promotion because of her gender, and Title

VII generally favors equitable relief in the form of a

promotion in these circumstances. E.g., Ingram v. Missouri

Pacific R.R., 897 F.2d 1450, 1456-57 (8th Cir. 1990); Gilbert,

799 F.2d at 1215; Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n

v. Rath Packing Co., 787 F.2d 318, 334-35 (8th Cir. 1986);

Equal Employment Opportunity Comm'n vy. M.D.

Pneumatics, Inc., 779 F.2d 21, 23 (8th Cir. 1985). Defendant

contends that Kline is not qualified for the position of

Battalion Chief and for that reason argues that a court-ordered

promotion is inappropriate. Defendant’s argument is

foreclosed by the jury’s determination that Kline’s gender,

and not her lack of qualifications, was the reason she was

not promoted. Moreover, the Court has independently

determined that Kline is qualified for the position of Battalion

Chief and that there are no special circumstances of the sort

described in Rath Packing that indicate a promotion is

inappropriate. Consequently, Kline must be awarded a

promotion to Battalion Chief in order to accord her complete

relief under Title VII.

The record demonstrates that the first promotion to

Battalion Chief after Kline reached the top of the promotion

list (and the discarding of that promotion list) occurred on

February 20, 1994. With that in mind, the Court orders

that:

1. Kline shall be immediately promoted to the rank of

Battalion Chief, with seniority rights (including, but

not limited to, bidding rights) as if she had been

promoted on February 20, 1994.

OO E_OUEOO=— — _—<— SSS eR Seg ee ee

25a

Appendix C

2. Kline’s salary, effective November 21, 1997, shall

be the salary of the individual who was first promoted

to the rank of Battalion Chief after Kline’s promotion

list was discarded. (This individual’s identity will not

be revealed in this Order for privacy reasons, but the

Court is confident the parties are able to identify the

individual in question).

3. As a Captain, Kline has been eligible for and

has received overtime for which she has been

compensated with money. Instead of overtime,

Battalion Chiefs receive “Adjustment Time”

(commonly referred to as “A” time), which is

measured (as the name suggests) in time. To make

her whole, Kline is entitled to a credit to her “A”

time account, but this credit must be discounted by

the amount of overtime pay she received between

February 20, 1994 and November 21 , 1997. Because

overtime is measured in money and “A” time is

measured in time, calculation is required in order to

determine the amount of time to be credited to Kline’s

account. The calculation will be based upon the pay

and “A” time awarded to the individual who was first

promoted to Battalion Chief after Kline’s promotion

list was discarded. The calculation is to be performed

as follows:

a. Upon promotion, the individual was paid $4,043

a month, which equals $48,516 per year. When

this figure is divided by 2080 (the number of hours

worked a year, assuming a forty hour work week

and fifty-two weeks a year), the hourly pay for

that individual was $23.33 per hour.

26a

Appendix C

b. Defendant is to calculate the amount of “A” time

that individual was credited between the date of

his promotion and November 21, 1997. The value

of that time will then be calculated by multiplying

that time by the hourly wage of $23.33.

c. Next, the amount of overtime Kline earned

between February 20, 1994 and November 21,

1997 will be deducted from that figure. Finally,

to convert the resulting dollar figure back into

time, the resulting figure will be divided by

$23.33. The quotient will be the amount of time

that is to be credited to Kline’s “A” time account.

In no event shall the amount of “A” time to be

credited be less than zero.

The Court acknowledges that using the initial pay

figure of $23.33 is imprecise because it fails to

account for pay raises awarded to that individual.

However, it is the most accurate figure in the record

that can be used to calculate the amount of “A” time.

The inability to incorporate wage increases in this

calculation inures to Kline’s detriment; however, as

this is her request for equitable relief, it was her

obligation to provide evidence to support more

precise and fair calculations.

. Defendant shall expunge all references to the fact that

Kline was not promoted from the discarded list from

all of Defendant’s records, including but not limited

to Kline’s personnel record, wherever those records

are kept.

27a

Appendix C

5. In order to compensate Kline for the true cost of

monetary damages, Defendant shall pay Kline

prejudgment (simple) interest at the rate of 5.46%

per annum, for a total prejudgment interest award of

$4825.35.!

III. RELIEF SPECIFIC TO PLAINTIFF

BETTY TAYLOR

The jury determined that Taylor was terminated based

on her gender. Full and complete relief for this transgression

requires that she be returned to her position if possible.

Although Taylor’s return to a position in the Fire Department

may not be desirable, it must be remembered that the

defendant in this case is the City of Kansas City, Missouri

and not the Fire Department. Inasmuch as the City of Kansas

employs clerical workers in departments and offices outside

the Fire Department, and in light of the lack of evidence

demonstrating that the relationship between Defendant and

Taylor is unusually hostile or antagonistic. Defendant can

(and must) find a suitable job for Taylor.

Defendant contends that Taylor is not entitied to

reinstatement (or the customary alternative of front pay)

1. This figure was calculated by multiplying the damage award

for Count 1 ($23,567.00) by the interest rate of 5.46%, resulting in

a figure of $1,286.76. Then, since the jury’s verdict was rendered

approximately three years and nine months after the first promotion

following the discardation of the promotion list, this figure was

multiplied by 3.75, resulting in prejudgment interest of $4,825.35.

The Court is purposely not awarding prejudgment interest on Kline’s

nominal damage awards.

28a

Appendix C

because she failed to request front pay in her jury instructions.

Defendant’s argument fails because prospective relief such

as reinstatement or front pay is to be awarded by the Court

and not the jury. Newhouse v. McCormick & Co., 110 F.3d

635, 643 (8th Cir. 1997) (“We agree with the Second

Circuit’s cogent analysis and now expressly hold that front

pay, including the determination of how much front pay to

award, is an equitable issue for the court. The district court

erred in this case by submitting the front pay determination

to the jury.”).

Defendant also contends that Taylor is not entitled to

further relief because she is disabled and incapable of

working. The Court disagrees. There is no doubt that Taylor

suffers from certain limitations due to her health — however,

she operated under these limitations while she worked for

Defendant until she was terminated because of her gender.

If she could work for Defendant before, she can work for

Defendant now; there was simply no evidence that her

medical condition is substantially different now than it was

when she was terminated.’

2. Defendant makes much of the fact that Taylor has filed a

claim for social security benefits. It must also be remembered,

however, that Taylor has also (while under oath) requested

reinstatement. The fact that she has filed for social security benefits

is a factor in assessing Taylor’s credibility, but it does not

automatically foreclose reinstatement. After considering all of the

evidence and observing Taylor during the trial and during her

testimony, the Court finds that her testimony that she desires to return

to work and believes herself capable of returning to work is credible.

The Court further finds that Taylor’s dire financial and personal

straits (brought on in no small part by her unlawful termination)

(Cont'd)

29a

Appendix C

In light of the above, and with the purpose of providing

Taylor complete relief for her unlawful termination, it is

ordered that:

1. Defendant shall offer Taylor a job at the same grade

and level she held at the time she was terminated on

July 6, 1994. This job shall not be in the Fire

Department. The job offer shall occur within fifteen

days of this Order.

2. Defendant shall credit Taylor with seniority as if she

had not been terminated.

3. Defendant shall credit Taylor with sick leave and

annual leave as if she had not been terminated.

4. Taylor’s salary effective November 21, 1997, shall

be the salary she was receiving on July 6, 1994 plus

any cost of living adjustments awarded by Defendant

to all employees between July 6, 1994 and November

21, 1997.

5. Defendant shall expunge all references to Taylor’s

termination from all of Defendant’s records, including

but not limited to Taylor’s personnel record, wherever

these records are kept.

(Cont'd)

prompted her application for social security benefits. Finally, even

if Taylor has a genuine subjective Suspicion that she may qualify

for disability benefits, there has been no adjudication that she is, in

fact, disabled. The Court takes her at her word and finds that she is

ready, willing and able to work.

30a

Appendix C

6. In order to compensate Taylor for the true cost of

monetary damages, Defendant shall pay Taylor

prejudgment (simple) interest at the rate of 5.46%

per annum, for a total prejudgment interest award of

$9,848.07.?

III. OVERTIME POLICY

Plaintiffs request that the Court alter Defendant’s policy

and procedures for the awarding of overtime. Plaintiffs’

request is denied.

Of the four Plaintiffs, only Kline prevailed on a claim

involving the discriminatory awarding of overtime. She has

received complete relief in the form of an award of monetary

damages. Further equitable relief “should not be considered

unless the record shows a real threat of a future violation of

the law or contemporary violation of a nature likely to

continue or recur.” Webb v. Missouri Pacific R. Co., 98 F.3d

1067, 1068 (8th Cir. 1996) (quotations omitted); see also

Roe v. Cheyenne Mountain Conference Resort, Inc., 124 F.3d

1221, 1230 (10th Cir. 1997) (quoting United States v. W.T.

Grant Co., 345 US. 629, 633 (1953)). There was no credible

evidence that discriminatory awarding of overtime is a

common problem. In fact, there was no credible evidence

that anyone other than Kline experienced this problem. The

3. This figure was calculated by multiplying Taylor’s damage

award ($48,098.00) by the interest rate of 5.46%, resulting in a figure

of $2,626.15. Then, since the jury’s verdict was rendered

approximately three years and three and one half months after the

Taylor was discharged, this figure was multiplied by 3.292, resulting

in prejudgment interest of $8,645.29.

3la

Appendix C

Court also notes that the awarding of overtime is to be

determined in accordance with facially nondiscriminatory

procedures set forth in the Memorandum of Understanding

(“MOU”) between Defendant and the Union. This does not

automatically bar this Court from imposing injunctive relief,

but this fact — combined with the paucity of evidence that a

recurring problem exists — persuades the Court that there is

little threat of future discrimination in the awarding of

overtime. Consequently, there is no justification for the Court

to alter Defendant’s current overtime practices.

IV. WORKING OUT OF CLASS

Plaintiffs also requests that the Court alter Defendant’s

policies for permitting Fire Department employees to work

out of class (““WOC”). Although the MOU provides no

guidance for the awarding of WOC opportunities, the Court

is not persuaded that injunctive relief is warranted. The

awarding of WOC opportunities requires consideration, in

part, of factors related to firefighting that are beyond the

ability of this Court to evaluate sufficiently so that a policy

can be crafted. The Court is reluctant to impose standards

for the awarding of WOC opportunities at the risk of public

safety. Although this decision appears to leave intact a system

that permits those who wish to discriminate to Carry out their

desires, the Court is not persuaded that the risk justifies the

relief sought by Plaintiffs. There was scant evidence that

other women are denied WOC opportunities based on their

gender, so the Court finds that the risk of future violations

necessary to justify injunctive relief is not present.

32a

Appendix C

V. PROMOTIONS

Plaintiffs ask this Court to adopt an entirely new system

for awarding promotions. As with the previous requests for

injunctive relief, the Court finds injunctive relief of this sort

unjustified. First, as with WOC opportunities, the Court is

unwilling to establish standards governing promotions at the

risk of public safety. Second, promotions are governed by a

facially non-discriminatory policy that helps safeguard

against those who wish to discriminate. Finally, and most

importantly, the Court is not persuaded that there is a risk of

future discrimination in the awarding of promotions.

VI. SEXUAL HARASSMENT

Plaintiffs seek a variety of forms of injunctive relief

based on Kline’s success on her claim for sexual harassment.

The Court agrees that some further equitable relief is

warranted, but not to the extent Plaintiffs request.

Unlike the situation involving overtime, WOC or

promotions, the Court finds that there is more than a threat

that sexual harassment will continue; the Court is certain

that sexual harassment will continue unless steps are taken

to prevent it. The Court finds that there have been blatant

and inexcusable incidents of improper activity; improper

because they are prohibited by Title VII and improper

because they should not be engaged in by public employees.

In fact, the Court finds that some of the activities violate

societal standards of decency in any work environment,

public or private. For instance, the Court finds that strippers

and prostitutes have been brought to fire stations; female

33a

Appendix C

employees have had their breasts “grabbed”; male firefighters

watch X-rated videos (either on VCRs or on pay-per-view)

on communal televisions in fire stations while on duty;*

copies of magazines depicting nude women are kept in fire

stations; sexual slurs are used to refer to women; sexually

suggestive jokes, pranks and comments occur on a frequent

basis. These things violate Title VII. These are also things

that public employees ought not be doing while on duty.’

These are things no employee ought to be doing in the

workplace. Equitable relief is required to prevent these

violations from occurring in the future and to protect Kline

from further sexual harassment.

Defendant has adopted two sexual harassment policies,

but they have obviously failed to change employee behavior.

The latest policy was circulated on November 20, 1997 —

the day before the jury returned its verdict and well before

the hearing on equitable relief. Already, there are indications

that the new policy is not being taken seriously.

4. With respect to this finding, the Court notes that a Title Vil

violation is not cured when, as was the case in one fire station, the

male employees purchase a Separate televisicn for one female

firefighter so she can be exiled to the bunk area to watch TV while

the men watch dirty movies in the common area. The notion of

“separate but equal” facilities is not credited in the law. Cf. Brown

v. Board of Ed. of Topeka, 347 U.S. 483, 493-95 (1954).

5. The Court also finds that these things occur so often and so

openly that it is implausible that they have not been observed by

Captains, Acting Captains, and Battalion Chiefs, yet there is little

indication that management level employees have ever stepped in

and reported or addressed these situations — despite

acknowledgment that this is their obligation under Defendant’s

policies.

34a

Appendix C

The reasons for Defendant’s past failures are clear. The

Court finds that dissemination of the policies has been

haphazard at best. Furthermore, there has been little serious

discussion about the policies and the conduct that they are

designed to prevent. (In the case of the latest policy, efficacy

may also have been hampered because the timing of its

circulation strongly suggests its primary purpose was to

forestall an order of equitable relief from this Court rather

than to effect any meaningful change in behavior.).

Consequently, even when employees read the policy, they

do not comprehend the effect the policy should have on their

behavior. Training has occurred only occasionally and often

has not been taken seriously by those in attendance, further

preventing any understanding of the difference between

permissible and impermissible behavior. Although the need

for training has been acknowledged by the Fire Director,

there is no present plan of implementation.

The Court has reviewed Defendant’s current sexual

harassment policy (the “Policy”) and concludes that there is

no need to re-write it. While a more perfect” policy might

be crafted, the Court believes this one is adequate. The

problem is, as it always has been, in communicating its terms

and meaning to employees of the Fire Department.

Consequently, the Court will not impose wholesale changes

in Defendant’s policy.° However, some minor changes in

Defendant’s policy must be made.

6. The Court is tempted to enjoin Defendant and its employees

from bringing prostitutes to fire stations, watching X-rated videos

in fire stations, grabbing female employees’ breasts, or engaging in

any of the other conduct described in this Order. On the other hand,

it is disheartening to think that such an Order is necessary.

(Cont'd)

35a

Appendix C

Currently, those wishing to complain about sexual

harassment or discrimination can complain to either (1) the

immediate supervisor or first level supervisor who is not

involved in the complaint, (2) the City Affirmative Action/

EEO Officer (“EEO Officer”), or (3) the Director of Labor

& Employee Relations in the Human Resources Department.

Specifically, the Court is concerned about that provision of

the Policy permitting Fire Department employees to report

to the EEO Officer. Among the EEO Officer's duties is the

responsibility to respond to charges of discrimination filed

with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(“EEOC”) and the Missouri Human Rights Commission

(“MHRC”). This creates (despite Defendant’s protestations

to the contrary) a clear conflict of interest: is the EEO Officer

supposed to be investigating and trying to resolve complaints

on behalf of the complainant, or is the EEO Officer

investigating complaints and developing the City’s defense

against the complainant’s charges? This conflict of interest

is more egregious because employees are not aware that the

EEO Officer has the responsibility to defend the Defendant

before the EEOC and MHRC. Consequently, Defendant is

ordered to alter the Policy so that none of the people to

whom employees are directed to report complaints are also

charged with the duty of responding to the EEOC or MHRC

or defending Defendant before those agencies.’

(Cont'd)

Ultimately, the Court concludes that this conduct is clearly prohibited

not only by Title VII but also by Defendant’s sexual harassment

policy. The Court will therefore not “list” examples of prohibited

conduct (which, in any event, could never be exhaustive).

7. Defendant can comply with this directive by altering the

EEO Officer's job description so that he or she does not have the

(Cont'd)

36a

Appendix C

The Court also concludes that efforts to eliminate sexual

harassment are hampered by Defendant's failure to maintain

a central record of complaints and actions taken on those

complaints. Accordingly, Defendant shall maintain, in the

Fire Director's office, a file for each cadet and employee in

the Fire Department. Each file will contain the following:

l.

Forms signed by the cadet/employee acknowledging

receipt of the sexual harassment policy (and any

addendums or amendments) and that the policy and/

or addendum has been read by the individual.

. Records demonstrating that the cadet/employee has

attended training as required by this Order.

. Records of complaints filed by that cadet/employee

against any cadet/employee regarding alleged

violations of the sexual harassment policy, together

with any other documents pertaining to that specific

complaint.

. Records of complaints filed against that cadet/

employee regarding alleged violations of the sexual

harassment policy, together with any other documents

pertaining to that specific complaint.

. Documentation of any investigation, report and/or

assessment of discipline (if any) arising from the

(Cont'd)

responsibility to respond to the EEOC or MHRC or defend the City

against formal administrative charges. Whether it chooses this

solution over any other viable alternative is up to the Defendant.

37a

Appendix C

complaint made by that cadet/employee or made

against that cadet/employee.

6. These files shall not be destroyed until five years after

the cadet/employee resigns or otherwise leaves

Defendant’s employ.

In order to facilitate the creation of this centralized file,

all complaints (whether oral or written) of sexual harassment

involving Fire Department employees — regardless of who

receives the initial complaint — must forward copies or

reports of the complaint to the Fire Director. Additionally,

copies of all other items listed above are to be forwarded to

the Fire Director. These files can be examined by the Fire

Director and/or his designee responsible for administering

discipline. Further, and employee may examine his or her

own file. Beyond this, the files are to remain confidential

except as otherwise authorized by law (including court

order).

Finally, although the Court declines to institute all of

the policy changes and workplace rules suggested by

Plaintiffs, the Court (despite the sentiments expressed in

footnote 6, supra) is chagrined to conclude that one policy

change is required. Current facilities occasionally require

men to be in women’s restrooms (and vice versa). In some

fire stations, this is because there are only unisex restrooms.

In other cases, space constraints require storage of male

firefighters’ equipment in women’s restrooms. This, as mi ght

be expected, creates situations in which men intrude upon

women who are showering or otherwise using the facilities.

Defendant’s failure to take simple steps to address this

38a

Appendix C

problem have created, strangely, the need for a Court Order

requiring as follows: Defendant is ordered to install locks

on all restroom doors.

With these changes in mind, it is necessary to address

the issues of dissemination and training. To address these

problems, it is ordered that

1. Within six months of this Order, Defendant shall have

required a// Fire Department employees to attend a

minimum of four hours of training/education

regarding the requirements and prohibitions of Title

VII and the sexual harassment policy. This training

will also become a permanent part of the training

offered at the Fire Academy, thereby insuring that

future recruits receive this training. Defendant shall

also take steps to insure that civilian employees (and

other new employees who do not attend the Academy)

receive this training within three months of their

employment.

2. Management employees shall receive a minimum of

two additional hours of training/education regarding

their responsibilities under Title VII and the sexual

harassment policy. Defendant shall also take steps to

insure that all employees promoted to management

(or hired into such positions from outside the Fire

Department) receive this training within three months

of their promotion/employment.

3. Defendant shall provide a minimum of one hour of

additional training/education to all employees of the

39a

Appendix C

Fire Department every two years. The requirements

of this paragraph will end in the year 2005 (although

the Court hopes by that time Defendant recognizes

the wisdom of this continuing education).

. The curriculum for this education/training, as well

as details regarding its implementation (e.g., who will

conduct the training, length of sessions, class size,

etc.) will be established by a seven person committee.

John R. Phillips of the law firm of Blackwell Sanders

Matheny Weary & Lombardi, LLP is hereby

appointed as Special Master pursuant to Rule 53 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. The Special

Master’s duties will consist of chairing and advising

the committee and reporting the committee’s progress

and decisions to the Court at the end of each month

of the Committee’s existence. All decisions of the

committee shall be subject to approval by the Court.

The Special Master’s other powers shall be those

enumerated in Rule 53(c).

. The Fire Director will also serve on the committee.

The committee’s remaining members will be selected,

subject to this Court’s approval, by the Fire Director

as follows:

a) The composition of the remaining five members

must consist of one female Battalion Chief, one

female Captain, one female firefighter or fire

apparatus operator, one male Captain, and one

male firefighter or fire apparatus operator.

b) Within ten days from the date of this Order, the

Fire Director shall forward to the Court a list of

40a

Appendix C

his selections for the committee. The list should

be accompanied by a biographical sketch no more

than one page in length. In considering the Fire

Director’s selections, the Court will focus

primarily on indications that those nominated are

well-respected by their peers (and superiors and

subordinates, as is applicable).

5. Within five days of the Court’s approval of the

committee’s composition, the Special Master and the

Fire Director shall communicate with each other in

order to schedule the committee’s first meeting.

6. The committee will dissolve once the first training/

education session has been completed. Within sixty

days of the committee’s dissolution, the Special

Master shall file a statement documenting his fees

and costs.

7. Once approved by the Court, the Special Master’s

fees and costs will be assessed against the Defendant.

Vil. ATTORNEY FEES

The Court has previously ordered Plaintiffs’ counsel to

file a Motion for Attorney Fees within thirty days of the

ruling on Plaintiffs’ Motion for Equitable Relief. Defendant

shall have thirty days after the Motion for Fees is filed to

respond to the Motion. During that time, counsel for both

sides should meet to determine to what extent, if any, they

can reach agreement on issues related to the awarding of

fees (e.g., time expended, hourly rates, discounting for degree

4la

Appendix C

of success, etc.). Any agreements that can be reached should

be separately filed as a joint stipulation.

Plaintiffs shall have fifteen days to file a reply to

Defendant’s response.

VIII. CONCLUSION

The relief granted by this Order accomplishes the two

principal goals of Title VII. First, it affords the prevailing

plaintiffs complete relief for the discrimination and

harassment they have suffered. Second, it addresses the

conditions that have heretofore prevented Defendant from

remedying the sexual harassment that has been — and if

unchecked will continue to be — commonplace in the Fire

Department.*®

Defendant is further advised that the Court intends for

its Order to be acted upon immediately so that the deadlines

established by this Order will be met. The Court will be

reluctant to extend the deadlines established in this Order.

Moreover, the Court announces that it is unlikely that a stay

will be granted; although Defendant may request a stay and

attempt to persuade the Court that a stay should be entered,

Defendant should not expect a favorable response.

Consequently, Defendant should not delay implementation

of this Order anticipating that the Court will grant a stay.

8. The Court has not addressed all of the requests for relief

made by Plaintiff. In some instances, the Court has crafted obvious

replacements. To the extent that some requested relief is not

specifically addressed, it should be deemed denied.

42a

Appendix C

The Court also hopes Defendant takes to heart the lesson

taught in this case. If Defendant wants to avoid similar

complaints, then it must take an active role in preventing

sexual harassment in the Fire Department. If it does not make

a serious and successful effort to educate Fire Department

employees about proper and improper behavior, Defendant

will find itself defending a similar suit in the immediate

future. Saddest of all is that the transgressions found by the

Court are not minor or technical violations of Title VII. They

are major violations. Not only do they violate federal law,

but they exceed the bounds of good taste, common decency,

and ordinary manners. To date, Defendant has taken a passive

role in trying to prevent sexual harassment. It is hoped that

this Order will guide Defendant in the right direction.’

9. The Court has this final observation. When elementary

school children are asked what they want to be when they grow up,

invariably “a firefighter” is among the most frequent answers. It is

easy to blame the present situation in the Fire Department on a few

miscreants who have yet to escape adolescence. However, they will

not hear this sermon. Problems of this nature can be solved only

through leadership, And, whether these problems are resolved will

depend upon leadership. That Fire Director Brisbin was named to

hand-pick most of the members of the training committee is a

deliberate choice. The Court believes that Chief Brisbin genuinely

wants the Fire Department to have a diverse composition where

minorities and women are accepted as equals. If the Court is

mistaken, then being a firefighter in Kansas City will cease being a

noble calling. If the Court is right, children will continue to announce

that their life’s ambition is to be a firefighter. For the sake of these

women and for the sake of the public, which firefighters serve and

protect, the Court hopes its trust is not misplaced.

43a

Appendix C

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/ Ortrie D. Smith

ORTRIE D. SMITH, JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

DATE 2/17/98

44a

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF MISSOURI, WESTERN DIVISION REGARDING

POST-TRIAL MOTIONS DATED AND

FILED FEBRUARY 17, 1998

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. 94-0723-CV-W-3

KATHLEEN KLINE, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

v.

CITY OF KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI,

Defendant.

ORDER

Pending are numerous post-trial motions; this Order is

intended to rule on all post-trial motions except Plaintiffs’

Motion for Equitable Relief.

1). Plaintiffs’ Motion for Setting of Bond (Doc. # 407) is

denied. The Motion is premature because Defendant has not

yet appealed the judgment in this case, let alone filed a

request for stay pursuant to lk ederal Rule of Civil Procedure

62(d). In any event, even if a request for bond were proper

at this juncture, the Court would not set a bond in the amount

45a

Appendix D

requested by Plaintiffs because that sum (1.5 times the jury’s

verdict) is excessive. If the Court were to grant a stay and

institute a bond (an issue that need not be decided at this

time), the bond would likely be for a nominal amount.

2). Plaintiff Kathleen Kline’s Motion to Amend Judgment

Entry of November 24, 1997 (Doc. # 41 8) is granted. Kline

correctly points out that during the trial the Court granted

her motion to reconsider the grant of summary judgment on

her claim of sexual harassment under the Missouri Human

Rights Act (“MHRA”). The Clerk’s Judgment reflects the

original grant of summary judgment and does not incorporate

the Court’s reinstatement of this claim.

3). Plaintiff Anne Wedow’s Motion for Reconsideration of

the Court’s Grant of Summary Judgment (Doc. # 419) is

denied. Specifically, she seeks reconsideration of the Court’s

grant of summary judgment with respect to her claims of

sexual harassment based exclusively on her testimony during

the equitable portion of this case. To put matters in context,

this case was filed on August 3, 1994 and discovery closed

approximately three years later. In opposing Defendant’s

Motion for Summary Judgment on this claim, Wedow did

not mention these facts or provide record cites for many of

the incidents she testified to during the equitable portion of

his trial.’ She how asks the Court to revisit settled issues

1. For instance, although the record contained evidence that

prostitutes and/or strippers were brought into certain fire stations,

there was never any indication that Wedow witnessed such events —

at least, not until she testified at the equitable portion of the trial.

Similarly, evidence that male firefighters grabbed her breasts was

not brought to the Court’s attention when the summary judgment

motion was pending.

46a

Appendix D

based upon her own failure to properly substantiate the

existence of a disputed issue of material fact when the

summary judgment motions were being considered.

The Court will not grant the relief requested. Wedow’s

failed to present evidence about these incidents in opposing

Defendant’s summary judgment motion. The evidence cannot

now be considered to reverse this Court’s decision made

months ago and based on evidence before it at that time.

This conclusion is buttressed by the fact that the belatedly

offered evidence came from Wedow;; the failure to present

this evidence at the proper time cannot be corrected in this

manner.”

4). All Plaintiffs have filed a Motion for New Trial. For the

most part, the Motion (Doc. # 454) raises issues that were

discussed and ruled prior to or during the trial. The Court

sees no need to elaborate further on these decisions at this

time. The challenges raised in the Motion are rejected for

the same reasons previous!y stated.

One issue unique to the Motion for New Trial is Plaintiff

Kline’s request for additur on her awards for sexual

harassment and retaliation. She speculates that “[t]he jury

obviously found it difficult to assess amounts for this claim

even though they [sic] found by clear and convincing

2. Wedow also presents an arguments based on the Eighth

Circuit’s recent decision in Jenson v. Eveleth Taconite Co., 130 F.3d

1287 (8" Cir. 1997). The same argument is also raised in Plaintiffs’

Motion for New Trial. For ease of discussion, Jenson will be

discussed later in this Order when the Motion for New Trial is

addressed.

47a

Appendix D

evidence that the city had violated the plaintiff Kline’s [sic]

rights on these two claims. Perhaps the jury, because of lack

of experience, felt incapable of making such an award.” She

ignores, however, the equally plausible possibility that the

jury awarded precisely the amount of damages it deemed

appropriate. The Court sees nothing in the record to justify

additur.

The final argument unique to the Motion for New Trial

is based upon the Eighth Circuit’s recent decision in Jenson

v. Eveleth Taconite Co., 130 F.3d 1287 (8th Cir. 1997).

Plaintiffs contend that Jenson requires a new trial because it

permits an award of damages for conduct that occurred

outside the time limits for filing an administrative claim

under Title VII.

The relationship between the continuing violation theory

and the proper measure of damages has been discussed

several times by the Eighth Circuit. In an en banc decision,

the Court concluded its discussion of this issue by declaring

that “[rJelief back to the beginning of the limitations period

strikes a reasonable balance between permitting redress of

an ongoing wrong and imposing liability for conduct long

past.” Ashley v. Boyle’s Famous Corned Beef Co., 66 F.3d

164, 168 (8th Cir. 1995). Relying on Ashley, the Eighth

Circuit later rejected an appellant’s argument “that, if he

proves a pattern of racial harassment constituting a hostile

work environment, he may recover damages for the entire

period that this violation occurred, including any portion that

occurred more than 180 days before he filed his Charge of

Discrimination, or more than two years before he filed this

lawsuit.” Gipson v. KAS Snacktime Co., 83 F.3d 225, 230

48a

Appendix D

(8th Cir. 1996). Then, a mere nine months before Jenson

was decided, the Eighth Circuit relied on both Ashley and

Gipson to support the proposition that “[a] sex discrimination

complainant may recover for any discriminatory act for

which the statute of limitations has not expired.” Kimzey v.

Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 107 F.3d 568, 572 (8th Cir. 1997).

In Jenson, the continuing violation theory is discussed

only with respect to the district court’s dismissal of Diane

Hodge’s complaint. Although most of Jenson discusses

issues related to damages, this portion of the opinion does

not and Plaintiffs’ characterization of Jenson as a “damages

case” does not necessarily and automatically render the entire

opinion applicable to damages. The Court of Appeals held

that Hodge had “established that she was subjected to it least

one incident of harassing behavior during the statutory period

{and so] we find that her claim is part of a continuing

violation and is not time barred.” Jenson, 130 F.3d at 1303.

Jenson’s discussion of the continuing violation theory does

not mention the Eighth Circuit’s prior decisions in Ashley,

Gipson or Kimzey, nor does it even discuss the measure of

damages Hodge would be entitled to. Even if the Jenson panel

could overrule the three prior appellate decisions, a fair

reading of the opinion demonstrates that this was not the

court’s intent. This Court therefore conciudes that Jenson

has no application to the issue of damages in a continuing

violation situation and does not require a new trial in this

case.‘

3. The time limits identified in this quote relate to the time

limits under the MHRA.

4. Wedow also argues that Jenson requires vacation of the

summary judgment on her harassment claims because “[t}his court

(Cont'd)

49a

Appendix D

5). Defendant has filed a Motion for Judgment as a Matter

of Law or for New Trial with respect to Plaintiff Kline (Doc.

# 410) and two Motions for New Trial with respect to

Plaintiff Taylor (Doc. # 411 and Doc. # 415). For ease of

discussion, these motions will be discussed collectively.°

These motions are denied to the extent that they

challenge the sufficiency of the evidence for those claims

on which these plaintiffs prevailed. Although the Court

expressed concern about the sufficiency of the evidence with

respect to some of the claims presented to the jury, the counts

with which the Court was primarily concerned were ruled in

favor of Defendant. With respect to those verdicts in favor

of the Plaintiffs, the Court concludes that there was sufficient

(Cont’d)

admitted that the final event occurred in Reeo ak st". This

mischaracterizes the Court’s holding: the Court’s Order granting

summary judgment on this claim identified one incident that occurred

in 1993, but held that it did not constitute sexual harassment. The

Court also held that the 1993 incident was too disconnected in time

from the prior incidents to qualify as the end point in a continuing

violation. Finally, io the extent that Wedow now asserts other

incidents should be considered, the argument is foreclosed because

(as discussed earlier) they were not pointed out to the Court in

Wedow’s response to the summary judgment motion.

5. The Court rejects Plaintiffs’ arguments that Defendant

waived these arguments by failing to make appropriate Rule 50

motions during the trial. First, except as specifically mentioned in

the discussion, the Court believes that these issues were properly

raised at the appropriate times. Moreover, Plaintiffs have waived

the right to make this objection, based on counsel’s statements to

that effect on the record.

50a

Appendix D

evidence to support them. Specifically with respect to Betty

Taylor, there was sufficient evidence to permit the jury to

conclude that Taylor did a satisfactory job as a secretary,

that any performance problems she had were properly

attributed to equipment problems and that her superiors knew

about those equipment problems. The jury could also have

concluded that other individuals who had performance

problems were not terminated.® With respect to Kathleen

Kline, the jury reviewed the evidence regarding the awarding

of overtime and, based on that evidence, could have

concluded that Kline had less opportunities than similarly

situated male firefighters. The jury could have rejected

Defendant’s proffered explanations for discarding the

promotion list and concluded that the decision was based on

a desire to prevent a woman from becoming a Battalion Chief.

There was also ample evidence to support the jury’s verdict

on Kline’s sexual harassment claim. The Court cannot say

that the jury’s verdicts were so contrary to the weight of the

evidence that a miscarriage of justice occurred or that, as a

matter of law, a verdict in favor of Defendant was mandated.

These motions are also denied to the extent that they

allege errors in the jury instructions. Specifically, Defendant

contends that Instruction No. 65 incorrectly stated the law

when it included, as an element in Taylor’s disparate

treatment claim, a directive that the jury consider whether

“plaintiff’s sex, female, was a motivating factor in

defendant’s decision.” Defendant contends that this was

improper because it was “obvious” that the jury could only

6. Defendant’s arguments regarding a comparison of Taylor

to individuals who received light duty are irrelevant because the

jury did not find that Taylor was discriminatorily denied light duty.

Sla

Appendix D

answer “yes” to this inquiry. Interestingly, this argument is

limited to Taylor’s disparate treatment claim and was not

raised with respect to Kline’s disparate treatment claim even

though identical language appears in Instruction No. 22.

More importantly, the language criticized by Defendant

appears virtually verbatim in Model Instruction 5.01.

Defendant also argues that Instruction No. 66 (the “same

decision” instruction) was improper. What has been said with

respect to Instruction No. 65 can be repeated here. In addition

to the fact that Defendant did not raise a similar objection

with respect to Instruction No. 23 (the “same decision”

instruction given for Kline’s disparate treatment claim),

the instruction actually given closely tracks the model

instruction.

Finally, it must be pointed out that the instructions given

by the Court are nearly identical to those proposed by

Defendant in its third set of proposed instructions. The key

portion of Instruction No. 65 (the verdict director) sets forth

the following elements:

First, defendant treated plaintiff Betty Taylor

differently than similarly situated males in the Fire

Department on any one or more of the following

issues at any time between June 20, 1993 and J uly

1, 1997:

a. Discipline, and/or

b. Light Duty, and/or

c. Termination of Employment, and

52a

Appendix D

Second, defendant’s treatment of plaintiff Betty

Taylor on one or more of the above issues was

adverse to plaintiff Betty Taylor, and

Third, plaintiff's sex, female, was a motivating

factor in defendant’s decisions.

Defendant’s proposed verdict director contained the

following elements:

First, defendant

denied plaintiff opportunities to work light duty;

or

disciplined plaintiff; or

terminated plaintiff; and

Second, plaintiff's sex was a motivating factor in

defendant’s decisions.

There is no discernible difference between the elements in

the Court’s verdict director and those proposed by Defendant.

Similarly, Instruction No. 66 is virtually identical to

Defendant’s proposed “same decision” instruction.

Instruction No. 66 says:

If you find in favor of plaintiff Betty Taylor under

Instruction 65, then you must answer the

following question on the verdict form with

respect to those items (a) through (c) listed in

53a

Appendix D

Instruction 65 that you found to exist: Has it been

proved by the greater weight of the evidence that

defendant would have treated plaintiff Betty

Taylor differently than similarly situated males

in the Fire Department with respect to these

issues, regardless of her sex?

Defendant proposed the following:

If you find in favor of plaintiff under Instruction

No. __, then you must answer the following

question in the verdict form: Has it been proven

by the greater weight of the evidence that

defendant would have denied plaintiff

opportunities to work light duty; or disciplined

plaintiff; or terminated plaintiff regardless of her

sex?

Once again, the Court sees no real difference between the

two instructions. Although Defendant’s proposal is different

because it specifies the three areas of purported

discrimination (light duty, discipline and termination),

Instruction No. 66 accomplishes the same task by referring

the jury to items (a) through (c) in Instruction No. 65.

Next, Defendant contends that the award of punitive

damages is improper under Missouri law.’ Despite some

7. Punitive damages are not available under Title VII because

Defendant is “a government, government agency or political

subdivision.” 42 § 1981a(b)( 1). If punitive damages are available

in this case, it can only be because the MHRA permits such an award.

54a

Appendix D

concerns with the manner in which this issue has been raised,*

the Court concludes not only that the issue is properly before

the Court but that Defendant’s arguments are meritorious.

The MHRA permits an employee to file suit against his or

her employer, which is defined to include “the state, or any

political or civil subdivision thereof, ....” Mo. Rev. Stat.

§ 213.010(6). The MHRA also permits an award of punitive

damages in appropriate cases. Jd. § 213.111.2. Read in

combination, these provisions permits employees to recover

punitive damages in suits against their employers, and

includes municipalities in the definition of “employers.”

8. Defendant did not file a Motion to Strike, nor did it file a

Motion to Dismiss. Defendant filed four separate motions for

summary judgment — one for each Plaintiff — but none of them

raised this issue. Defendant resisted certain depositions by asserting,

among other arguments, that it was not subject to punitive damages,

but Defendant did not provide any legal support for this argument

and the Court specifically refrained from addressing this issue

pending development of the Defendant’s legal argument. See Order

dated March 11, 1997. Defendant objected to Plaintiffs’ proposed

jury instructions on punitive damages but said nothing more than

the fact that Defendant objected to the instruction; Defendant

provided no legal support for its objection. See Doc. # 338. The

first, and prior to trial the only, time that Defendant provided legal

support for its position appears in Defendant’s Trial Brief (Doc.

# 339), which was filed at 5:00 p.m. on October 29, 1997. This

occurred a mere two working days before the trial commenced and

represented the first time the Court became aware of any possible

legal support for Defendant’s argument.

Ideally, this issue should have been raised in some sort of

dispositive motion long before the case went to trial. Nonetheless,

the Court concludes that Defendants have raised this issue and that

a ruling at this time is warranted.

55a

Appendix D

However, the MHRA does not specifically declare that

municipalities are subject to liability for punitive damages.

The MHRA’s failure to take this extra step makes the award

of punitive damages in this case improper.

In Chappell v. City of Springfield, 423 S.W.2d 810 (Mo.

1968), the Missouri Supreme Court considered a case in

which the plaintiffs, inter alia, sought punitive damages from

the City of Springfield for willfully and maliciously failing

to abate a nuisance, l.e., the city’s Sewage disposal plant.

The Court noted “the general rule that in the absence of a

Statute specifically authorizing such recovery, punitive or

exemplary damages are not recoverable against a municipal

corporation.” 423 S.W.2d at 813. The Court relied heavily

upon an 1877 case (Hunt v. City of Booneville, 65 Mo. 620

(1877)) that discussed a suit against the city based ona statute

prohibiting trespass. In Hunt, the Missouri Supreme Court

held that held that although a municipality could be sued

under the trespass statute, it was not subject to the trespass

Statute’s provision for treble damages. Chappell

acknowledged that there was hardly any case law on the

subject since Hunt was decided but concluded that it was

still good law.

In deciding that punitive damage awards against

municipalities contravenes public policy, the Chappell Court

rejected a variety of policy-based arguments in favor of

permitting punitive damages against municipalities. 423

S.W.2d at 814. The Court ultimately held that punitive

damages were not available, regardless of the egregiousness

of the city’s conduct in operating its sewage disposal plant

because there was “no statute authorizing the recovery of

56a

Appendix D

punitive damages against the municipality” under this cause

of action. This conclusion was not altered by the fact that

the city could be held liable for actual damages, or the fact

that non-municipal defendants were subject to punitive

damages.

A similar result was reached in Angelo v. City of

Hazelwood, 810 S.W.2d 706 (Mo. Ct. App. 1991), which

involved claim against a municipality for violating Mo. Rev.

Stat. § 537.330. This statute permits suits against a

municipality and permits a victorious plaintiff to recover

treble damages. However, the statute does not clearly declare

that a municipality was subject to the treble damage

provision. Consequently, the Missouri Court of Appeals held

that, based on Chappell and Hunt, “in the absence ofa statute

specifically authorizing such recovery, punitive damages are

not recoverable against the municipal corporation.” 810

S.W.2d at 707.

Despite the sparse law on the subject, the few cases that

do exist cause this Court to conclude that a municipality is

not subject to an award of punitive damages absent a specific

statutory declaration to that effect. It is not enough for a

statute to impose liability for compensatory or actual

damages even if the statute generally permits an award of

punitive damages; there must be a specific declaration that

the municipality can be held liable for punitive damages.

E.g., Chappell, 423 S.W.2d at 813-14; Angelo, 810 S.W.2d

at 707; see also Euge v. Trantina, 422 F.2d 1070, 1074 (8th

Cir. 1970) (dicta). These cases also demonstrate that the

MHRA lacks the specificity required to sustain the award

punitive damages in this case. Just like the statutes involved

57a

Appendix D

in the cases discussed above, the MHRA generally permits

an award of punitive damages and permits suits against

municipal corporations. However, also like the statutes

involved in the cases discussed above, the MHRA does not

specifically permit an award of punitive damages against

municipal corporations. Consequently, the Court concludes

that an award of punitive damages is not available against

the Defendant under the MHRA, and the jury’s award of

punitive damages cannot stand.

Plaintiffs counter with a variety of policy-based

arguments to justify awarding punitive damages in this case.

These arguments are persuasive, but they have already been

considered and rejected in Chappell. The Missouri Supreme

Court is the final authority on the interpretation of Missouri

law, and it would be improper for this Court to credit

arguments about the proper meaning of Missouri law when

those arguments have already been specifically rejected by

the state’s highest court.

Plaintiff's reliance on Kizer vy. Curators of University

of Missouri, 816 F. Supp. 548 (E.D. Mo. 1993) is also

misplaced. It is not even clear that Chappell applied in

that case because Chappell discussed the liability of

municipalities and the University of Missouri is not a

municipality. Furthermore, it is not clear that the district court

in Kizer permitted an award of punitive damages against the

university. In Kizer, there were three defendants; in addition

to the university, the plaintiff had sued the dean and the

chairperson of her department. Read in context, it appears

that the motion before the court was a motion to dismiss

filed by the two individual defendants and not by the

58a

Appendix D

university. Although the court’s discussion of punitive

damages does not clearly indicate which party or parties

requested dismissal of that claim, other portions of the

opinion indicate that the motion was filed just by the dean

and the chairperson. In any event, Kizer cannot be understood

as holding that an award of punitive damages against a

municipality is proper under the MHRA.

In conclusion, the Court holds that the MHRA does not

specifically permit an award of punitive damages against a

municipality, and for that reason such an award is improper

under Missouri law. The jury’s award of punitive damages

must be vacated.

Defendant’s final two arguments are related:’ both

involve claims that documents that were not admitted into

evidence were sent to the jury room while the jury

deliberated. Specifically, Defendant contends that an

incompletely redacted Exhibit 225 was permitted to go to

the jury room and that Exhibit 510M was permitted to go to

the jury room when it was not even admitted during the trial.

The Court concludes that Defendant has failed to fulfill its

obligation to demonstrate that it is entitled to relief on these

claims.

Defendant’s arguments appear in two different

documents: its argument with respect to Exhibit 225 appears

in an amended motion for new trial on Betty Taylor’s claims,

and its arguments with respect to Exhibit 510M appears in a

9. Defendant also raised some arguments based on evidentiary

rulings. These arguments are rejected for the same reasons provided

during the trial; further elaboration is not required.

Sen eT nS ee er ee ee

59a

Appendix D

separate motion requesting a new trial on Plaintiff Kline’s

claims. Between these two documents, Defendant has

directed the court to only one case — Mangan v. Broderick

& Bascom Rope Co., 351 F.2d 24 (7th Cir. 1965), cert.

denied, 383 U.S. 926 (1966) — and this case does not even

involve a claim of unadmitted documents being sent to the

jury room. Instead, this case discusses the specific situation

when evidence of worker compensation benefits are

discussed in the jury’s presence during the trial on a suit for

personal injury. In Mangan, the improper information was

presented to the jury in open court; citing Mangan provides

no guidance when, as here, a party claims improper material

was made available to the jury while it deliberated.

Clearly, Defendant’s argument can succeed only if

evidence that was not admitted during the trial went to the

jury room. The only way to prove this happened is to ask the

jurors themselves. Although generally jurors “may not testify

as to any matter or statement occurring during the course of

the jury’s deliberations or to the effect of anything upon that

or any other juror’s mind or emotions as influencing the juror

to assent to or dissent from the verdict . . . or concerning the

juror’s mental processes in connection therewith,” Fed. R.

Evid. 606(b), jurors can be asked to testify about extrinsic

or extraneous influences, including matters considered by

the jury but not admitted into evidence. E. g., United States

v. Rodriguez, 116 F.3d 1225, 1227 (8th Cir. 1997). This does

not mean, however, that Defendant’s bare assertion that

improper evidence was considered justifies recalling the

jurors so that they can testify at a hearing to determine what

information was considered by them. “[P]ost-verdict

inquiries may lead to evil consequences: subjecting juries to

60a

Appendix D

harassment, inhibiting juryroom [sic] deliberation, burdening

courts with meritless applications, increasing temptation for

jury tampering and creating uncertainty in jury verdicts.”

United States v. Ianniello, 866 F.2d 540, 543 (2d Cir. 1989);

see also United States v. Estrada, 45 F.3d 1215, 1228 (8th

Cir.), vacated on other grounds 116 S. Ct. 664 (1995)

(“Courts should not subject jurors to undue impositions.”’).

There are no cases in this circuit that discuss when a

district court must hold a hearing to consider a party’s claim

that the jury considered extraneous evidence. The issue has

been discussed in other circuits, however, and those circuits

have reached similar conclusions as to the appropriate

standard for determining when a hearing must be held. “To

justify a post-trial hearing involving the trial’s jurors, the

defendant must do more than speculate; he must show clear,

strong, substantial and incontrovertible evidence that a

specific, nonspeculative impropriety has occurred.” United

States v. Cuthel, 903 F.2d 1381, 1383 (11th Cir. 1990)

(quotation omitted); see also Hard v. Burlington N. R.R. Co.,

870 F.2d 1454, 1461 (9th Cir. 1989); Janniello, 866 F.2d at

543. Recently, the Eighth Circuit issued an opinion that

seems to endorse these views. See United States v.

Cunningham, No. 97-1720, slip op. at 9 (8th Cir. Jan. 13,

1998).'°

Defendant has failed to justify requiring the jurors to

come to court to testify about what material was set to them

10. Although most of these cases are criminal cases, the Court’s

independent research has failed to uncover any indication that the

law is different in the civil context. Obviously, Rule 606(b) applies

equally to civil and criminal cases.

ee a ae

6la

Appendix D

during the deliberation process. With respect to Exhibit 225,

Defendant contends that an incompletely redacted version

of this exhibit was sent to the jury. Defendant arrives at this

conclusion because when Plaintiffs’ counsel was asked after

the trial to provide a copy of this exhibit, the copy received

failed to redact two of the paragraphs that the Court ordered

to be redacted. From this fact, the Court is asked to speculate

that the improperly redacted exhibit was sent to the jury

room. The Court is not inclined to engage in this leap of

logic, particularly when Defendant has failed to substantiate

its claim (as is usually done when a claim of this sort it is

raised) by obtaining an affidavit or other swom statement

from one of the jurors attesting to the fact that they saw the

improper exhibit.'' An affidavit of this sort not only could

be considered, e.g., United States v. Hall, 85 F.3d 367, 370

(8th Cir. 1996), but it is the best (if not the only) way for a

party to justify a hearing on the matter. Defendant’s mere

speculation that an unredacted exhibit went to the jury is

insufficient to justify a hearing. !?

11. Plaintiffs deny that the incompletely redacted version of

Exhibit 225 went to the jury and contend that the wrong copy was

mistakenly supplied to the Defendant.

12. Defendant also asserts (in a footnote) that “Exhibits 313P

and 313Q were also apparently sent to the jury by the Plaintiffs

although Defendant has no record that these Exhibits were properly

introduced at trial.” The record demonstrates that both of these

exhibits were admitted into evidence over Defendant’s objection.

Even if this were not the case, the Defendant’s bare claim that these

items “apparently” went to the jury room is insufficient to justify a

hearing to find out if this actually happened.

62a

Appendix D

Exhibit 510M was an exhibit related to Kline’s damages.

Defendant contends that a version of Exhibit 510M with a

damage figure of $23,567.00 improperly went to the jury

room. Defendant reaches this conclusion in two ways: first,

it argues that “apparently” it went to the jury room “because

the verdict amount is the same figure shown on the

re-calculated Exhibit 510M.” This speculative reasoning is

no better than the similar reasoning offered with respect to

Exhibit 225, and does not justify conducting an inquiry of

the jurors to find out if this exhibit was available to them.”

Defendant also contends that two jurors “were contacted

and they indicated that they had a document showing

$23,567.00 in damages for Kline and this document was used

during deliberations.” First of all, this declaration constitutes

unsworn hearsay; it is a far cry from the sort of affidavit

required to justify recalling the jurors to elicit their testimony.

Moreover, taken on its face, the statement does not

demonstrate that an improper document was sent to the jury

room. Just because two jurors recall seeing a document with

this figure does not mean that they saw this particular

document. In short, Defendant has failed to make a clear,

strong, nonspeculative and substantial showing that

extraneous matters were presented to the jury during its

deliberative process, so further inquiry into this matter is

not warranted.

13. It must be remembered that, although a juror could

conceivably be asked whether improper information was in the jury

room and whether it was discussed, a juror could not be asked what

role it played in the jury’s deliberation. Hall, 85 F.3d at 370-71.

63a

Appendix D

Finally, with respect to both Exhibit 225 and 510M, the

Court points out that it instructed the parties to review all of

the exhibits to make sure that only admitted documents were

sent to the jury room. The Court’s intent was obvious: it

wanted the parties, those with the greatest interest and the

greatest familiarity with the evidence, to insure that nothing

went to the jury room that was not supposed to be sent there.

The Court can only assume that Defendant either knew of

these problems at a time when they could be prevented — in

which case its complaint is untimely — or that Defendant

failed to properly police the process and protect its interests

— in which case Defendant shares the blame for this mishap

(if, in fact, a mishap occurred). Either way, this adds an

additional, independent reason to deny Defendant the relief

it seeks.

In conclusion, the award of punitive damages will be

vacated and the judgment will be amended to reflect that

Kathleen Kline prevailed on her claim of sexual harassment

under the MHRA. In all other respects, the parties’ post-trial

motions (excepting the Motion for Equitable Relief) are

denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

s/ Ortrie D. Smith

ORTRIE D. SMITH, JUDGE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

DATE 2/17/98

64a

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF

MISSOURI, WESTERN DIVISION GRANTING IN PART

AND DENYING IN PART DEFENDANT’S MOTION IN

LIMINE DATED AND FILED OCTOBER 17, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COUPT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. 94-0723-CV-W-3

KATHLEEN KLINE, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

V.

CITY OF KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI,

Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING IN PART AND DENYING IN PART

DEFENDANT’S MOTION IN LIMINE

Following a pretrial conference held on October 14,

1997, and after considering the materials filed by the parties,

the following rulings are made with respect to the issues

raised in Defendant’s Motion in Limine (Doc. # 259):

1. Defendant seeks to bar evidence that was not “disclosed”

prior to the discovery cutoff date of June 1, 1997. Keeping

in mind that evidence can be “disclosed” in a variety of ways

(including deposition answers, interrogatory answers,

65a

Appendix E

Plaintiffs’ Amended Complaint and documents provided by

Plaintiffs), this request is granted.

The Court understands that this will bar evidence of

discriminatory events that took place after the discovery

cutoff date. However, as there has been no formal discovery

with respect to these events, the Court is reluctant to include

them in these proceedings. The Court also notes that the time

has not expired for Plaintiffs to file an EEOC Complaint

with respect to these events, meaning that thi

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.