Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wenc v. Cable News Network, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1999

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

7 Supreme Court, U.$

CY FILED

29 Z5S NVI

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

:

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Petitioner

¥.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK,

INC./HEADLINE NEWS C/O Turner

Broadcasting Inc.; AMERICAN

BROADCASTING COMPANY, INC.(ABC

INC.); KVOA COMMUNICATIONS, INC.:

KGUN INC.: KOLD INC.: KNST INC::

JOHN DCE Defendants,”

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION POR WRIT GF CERTIORARI

Anthony S. Wene

Pro Se

249 S. Garden Ave. #1

Sierra Vista, AZ 85635

(S20)458-3693

LP a e. Sa a RE I PE nl. es Re oT,

LEGAL QUESTIONS FOR REVIEW

1) Is warrantless satellite surveillance a violation to

the 4th Amendment of the Constitution of the United States,

Federal Wiretap Statutes (18 U.S.C. § 2510 et. seq.) and

Article II § 8 of the Constitution of Arizona for which there

can be civil remedy against either private or state

perpetrators of satellite surveillance and/or other

surreptitious electronic eavesdropping and surveillance?

2) Is peering into the window of a private residence

by a law enforcement agent without a warrant a violation to

the 4th Amendment’s “search and seizure” clause?

3) Satellite surveillance is conducted remotely and

secretly, and in most cases unknown to the subject,

inherently making it difficult to obtain evidence to prove

being victim to such surveillance. Does a civil complainant

have a right to discovery and a right to present evidence to a

court in order to be able to prove an allegation of satellite

surveillance?

4) Does 42 U.S.C. § 1985(1) provide legal protection

for state employed school teachers, who are employed under

the requirements to have taken an “oath of office” to uphold

the Constitution of the United States; or other state

sanctioned persons such as a Precinct Committeeman?

5) Does the intent of the language of 42 U.S.C. §

1985(2) provide that the act of “attending” court include

filing a lawsuit; and does eavesdropping on telephone calls

to legal counsel constitute obstruction of justice under this

statute?

6) Does 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3) provide protection from

a conspiracy against a person due to his/her political and

religious affiliations when such a conspiracy violates 4th

amendment rights due to satellite surveillance and/or other

surreptitious electronic eavesdropping and surveillance? Are

nublic school teachers a protected class within the meaning

of §1985(3)?

7) Are television broadcasters and/or cable operators

“common carriers” subject to private liability under 47

U.S.C. § 206 for derived regulations of the United States

Code of Federal Regulations as authorized by the Federal

Communications Act?

8) Are media broadcasters and its employees “state

actors” in violation of 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and/or a Bivens

claim if assuming true that an act of satellite surveillance has

been perpetrated against a person by a state official (either

state or federal) in conjunction with a media broadcaster?

9) Does satellite surveillance constitute torts of

common law trespass, laws of unfair competition (right of

publicity), and invasion of privacy?

ie W

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CITATION OF OFFICIAL ORDERS. .............

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION ..................... 2

LEGAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED IN THE CASE... 2

SUACmrensss Ge bese CASE... ww. cece eee 3

ARGUMENT FOR RELIANCE ON WRIT... ....... 5

a 5

ei ef De ws bp ba a eae ewe 9

Ie 8 oe De si

Ce OS 5 a re 14

ae 16

Federal Communications Act........ ........ 20

sg og sda vb oo ee bee ckevsws 21

a ee a 24

ee ek oy cay Veal wm 4 Za

Report And Recommendation ................ ZF

TS a a 63

Judgment To Be Reviewed ............. 72

Se SE ieee ca we ee 74

Statutes And Legal Provisions ............... 75

Plaintiff's Statement Of Facts................ 101

gk 115

le Sg ask here kA ase wien oe ws 118

Plaintiff's Motion To Compel................ 122

Defendant Affidavits ...................... 130

Plaintiffs Loyalty of Oath Affidavit .. .

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co.,

Fee She, BOO 6k ced deaeenneeyes 22

Balisteri v. Pacifica Police Dept.

Oe Ts Ss eink a ea ke ann 2s dees 12

Berger v. Hanlon,

yaw oT, Ce M.D reer 22

Bivens v. Six Unknown Named Agents of Fed.

Bureau of Narcotics,

ee Ss FO COT LEs kon techs atee ee ecen awe 21

Dow Chemical v. U.S.,

PEG Bet CURE. SCRA ea ened ee ee

First National Bank Of Arizona v. Cities Service Co.

SO Rie Bae CER aa nk ode eee aed ess 10

Haines v. Kerner,

tte te tk | et | ee a weer a Ge 12

Warrantless Satellite Surveillance: Will

Our 4th Amendment Privacy Rights Be

Lost in Space?,

John Marshall Journal

of Computer & Informational Law.

Summer 1995, Vol XIII N. 4

Katz v. United States,

Se Ge ee COE cov as bak ae he mane 26

Keating v. Carey,

row eee ee lO. | Pere men 16

Kimble v. Duffy,

6468 F.2d 340 (2d Cur, 1981)... 2... een cuss 15

Kush v. Rutledge,

GEESE, FADER ob ines eR 15

Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting Company

DRG AS WOR hee hh os eS 10

Restatement of Law, (Third), Unfair Competition

© OB, Oh Day ER is. bib ink Fe haat cet daca

Stanford Journal of International Law

(Fall 1988) Newsgathering by Satellites ......... 5

United Brotherhood of ¢ arpenters & Joiners v. Scott,

TOS SAAR, SO CEPI ea oss eo cd eee 17

CITATION OF OFFICIAL ORDERS IN THE

DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

ORDER by Magistrate Judge Nancy Fiora (9/15/1997)

Denying Plaintiff's (Wenc) Motion to Seal.

MINUTE ORDER: — (11/26/1997) KOLD’s hearing for

Motion to Dismiss vacated pending resolution of Plaintiff's

request for extension of time and request for special

instructions.

ORDER by Magistrate Judge Nancy Fiora (12/01/1997)

Granting Plaintiffs request for extension of time and

granting Plaintiff to file his statement of facts under seal.

ORDER by Magistrate Judge Nancy Fiora (3/09/1998)

Vacating KGUN’s hearing regarding its Motion to Dismiss.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION by Magistrate

Judge Nancy Fiora (7/17/1998) District Court should:

dismiss Plaintiff's Complaint for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction; deny Plaintiff's moticn to compel discovery and

to join additional defendants; grant all of defendants

motions to dismiss and/or motions for summary judgment;

and grant defendants’ motion to unseal.

ORDER by Magistrate Nancy Fiora (8/11/1998)

Clarification that Report and Recommendation should

include dismissal of claims against all defendants, including

KVOA.

ORDER: by Judge William D. Browning (9/25/1998)

Granting adoption of Report and Recommendation of

7/17/1998.

JUDGMENT: by William D. Browning (9/25/1998) All

defendants’ motions to dismiss and/or motions for summary

judgment are granted and this case is dismissed with

prejudice.

ORDER: by Judge William D. Browning (10/27/1998)

Denying Plaintiff's Motion to Reconsider and vacate the

9/25/1998 Order.

CITATION OF OFFICIAL ORDERS IN THE NINTH

CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

MEMORANDUM: before Reinhardt, Trott, and Mckeown.

Circuit Judges (5/14/1999) Affirmed District Court’s Order

of 9/25/1998 which adopted the 7/17/1998 Report and

Recommendation.

ORDER: Before Reinhardt, Trott, and Mckeown, Circuit

Judges (8/02/1999) Denying appellant’s(Wenc) Petition for

Rehearing En Banc.

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The United States Supreme Court has appellate

jurisdiction from the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit from that court’s Memorandum of May 14,

1999, which affirmed the District Court of Arizona’s Order

of September 25, 1998 adopting in full the Magistrate’s July

17, 1998 Report and Recommendation. In addition, the

Ninth Circuit’s Order of August 2, 1999, denied Petitioner’s

Motion for Rehearing. The statutory provision believed to

confer jurisdiction for writ of certiorari to this Court is 28

U.S.C § 1254.

LEGAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED IN THE CASE

(See appendix for text)

4" Amendment to the Constitution of the United States

Article II § 8 to the Constitution of the State of Arizona

18 U.S.C. §§ 2510-2520

42 U.S.C. § 1983

42 U.S.C. § 1985(1)

42 U.S.C. § 1985(2)

42 U.S.C. § 1985(3)

42 U.S.C. § 1986

47 U.S.C. § 206

47 U.S.C. § 208

47 U.S.C. § 225(a)

47 U.S.C. § 558

47 C.F.R. §15.9

47 C.F.R. §2.701

A.R.S. 13 § 504(A)(2)

A.R.S. 13 § 507

A.R.S. 13 § 3005

A.R.S. 13 § 3008

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 652B, (p.378, 1977)

Restatement _of Law (Third), Unfair Competition § 46 (p.

528, 1995)

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The basis for federal jurisdiction in the District Court

of Arizona is diversity jurisdiction and federal question. The

nature of this case is centered on the Petitioner Wenc’s

(Plaintiff) allegations of a conspiracy among the Defendant’

broadcasters CNN/TBS, ABC, KOLD, KVOA, KGUN and

KNST consisting of high-tech satellite surveillance and/or

other technologies including lasers and/or microwaves to

surreptutiously surveillance the Petitioner in the privacy of

his home both visually and of his oral and telephonic

communications. Such surveillance is believed to have

begun approximately in April 1995 and ended approximately

in June 1996. The Petitioner has alleged that the surveillance

was conducted by Cable News Network, Inc. (CNN),

‘Cable News Network, Inc. owned by Turner Broadcasting System, Inc of

Georgia (now both owned by Time Warmer, Inc.); American

Broadcasting Co., Inc, of New York; KOLD-TV 13 of Elcom of

Arizona, Inc. and apparently also known as Raycom Media, Inc.; KVOA

-TV 4, of KVOA Communications, Inc., an Arizona Corporation.;

KGUN-9 TV, a division of Lee Enterprises, Inc., a Delaware

corporation.; and KNST-AM 790, owned by SFX Broadcasting, Inc. of

Arizona/Delaware, (now owned by Capstar, Inc.)

3

American Broadcasting Co., Inc. (ABC) and likely at least

one third party government agency working in collaboration

with one another and then disseminating the interceptions to

the smaller local affiliate TV and radio broadcast stations of

KGUN, KOLD, KVOA and KNST who broadcast from

Tucson, Arizona; of which such broadcasts can be viewed or

listened to throughout South East Arizona via normal

antennae or in cable programming from various television

cable companies in the region. Additional direct government

involvment includes the unusual “ploy” visit to Petitioner’s

residence by two law enforcement officers, one a deputy

from the Pima County Sheriff's Department and the other a

Special Agent of the Treasury Department, the latter who

also attempted a search by peering through a window of

Petitioner’s residence upon approaching the residence.

The Petitioner maintains this satellite surveillance

was conducted against him due to his Catholic and

Republican religious and political beliefs and associations as

well as due to his occupation as a public high school teacher.

Petitioner Wenc was employed full time by the Sierra Vista

Public Schools as a World History teacher from September

1994 through May 1995. Concurrently as a teacher, Wenc

was an active member of local Republican political activities

as he was both a member of the Cochise County Young

Republican Club and an elected Precinct Committeeman

beginning in September of 1994 through November of 1996.

Consequently, due to Petitioner’s local public status and

affiliations, the defendant broadcasters took part in a

conspiracy consisting of surreptitious tortious eavesdropping

and surveillance to pry into his private and public life, a

common practice by media agencies in today’s world of

digging and reporting gossip and innuendo as sources for

“news” stories.

ARGUMENT FOR RELIANCE ON WRIT

SATELLITE SURVEILLANCE

The crux of the facts alleged by _ the

Petitioner(Plaintiff) are premised upon satellite surveillance,

a legal issue unprecedented before any courts in the United

States. In fact, one of the few legal authorities on the issue

states “the courts have not yet had the opportunity to

examine this area of surveillance.” Additionally, a highlight

of a few of the most important acknowledgments made in

Warrantless Satellite Surveillance’ are:

1) “. .. there may be a cost; the potential

exists for unknown sources to scrutinize

another’s activities without his knowledge or

consent.” (p. 731)

2) “Now, a silent, invisible intruder from

space possesses the capabilities to peep into

our businesses, backyards, and even through

physical structures into our homes.” (p. 732)

3) “The potential for the misuse of such

increased clandestine viewing capabilities is

staggering.” (p. 732)

In addition, the only previous reference to the issue by this

Court was in 1986 in Dow Chemical v. U.S". 476 U.S. 227.

Finally, the Stanford Journal of International Law (Fall

> Warrantless Satellite Surveillance: Will Our 4th Amendment Privacy Rights Be

Lost in Space?, John Marshall Journal of Computer & Informational Law.

Summer 1995, Vol XIII N. 4, p. 739

‘ The passage is as follows: “[i]t may well be, as the Government concedes, that

surveillance of private property by using highly sophisticated surveillance

equipment not generally available to the public, such has satellite technology,

might be constitutionally proscribed absent a warrant.”

1988) discussess Newsgathering by Satellites, and the

potential legal disputes likely to arise from the increased

usage of such “newsgathering” tactics.

Clearly, the phrase “satellite surveillance” conveys

connotations of hi-tech, eavesdropping, spying, secret,

clandestine, invisible and any other similar adjectives. Due

to this issue being both unprecendented and out of the

ordinary, the Petitioner feels the District Court departed from

a just judicial proceeding and thus the Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit sanctioned such an injustice to an important

Fourth Amendment issue. Notwithstanding any judicial

proceedings, the unprecedented nature of this case alone

makes it ripe for this Court’s judicial discretion so as to not

allow the legal system to fall further behind to rapid

technological advances that will continue to crush

constitutional rights.

Just as the legal issue itself is unprecedented, so too

then will any facts accociated with satellite surveillance. In

this case, some of the Petitioner’s facts alleged may at first

glance appear extreme, impossible or perhaps unbelievable.

However, the very nature of satellite surveillance is extreme,

and at a past time was indeed impossible, though is now

becoming increasingly used by government agencies and

private entities.

For the average citizen, the mere existence, usage and

capabilities of such surveillance are probably never even

contemplated in ordinary life. This is the critical issue in this

case. It would seem reasonable to assume that in many cases

of satellite surveillance a person may never be aware of such

surveillance and suffer no known harm should no negative

external consequences become upon them, with the

exception of his/her privacy being invaded, which too would

perhaps not be realized by the person since he would be

unaware of the monitoring. Thus, it is only when a person

suffers external negative harms, realizes or witnesses other

external negative factors regarding one’s life, that one could

6

reasonably conclude he was under some sort of surveillance.

In this case, the Plaintiff has provided the several negative

external consequences as well as witnessing of the “in

disguise” remarks to logically conclude he was _ being

surveillanced. It is at this point then, that this Court must

determine if such is sufficient for a person to witness no

matter how bizarre a particular fact may appear with regards

to one determining he is under surveillance. Obviously, a

person must witness or experience something in his life in

order to even have the slightest notion that “something is

going on” out of the ordinary. Generally and simply put, if

one is to be in a car accident, then some sort of collision with

at least one automobile must occur, which a person would

obviously notice. To detect surveillance, one traditionally

might find an electronic “bug” on the premises or perhaps

actually view a person down the street aiming a laser

eavesdropping device or a parabolic microphone into his

property. In this case, neither a physical “bug” nor a person’

was found conducting surveillance but rather the Plaintiff

had to detect and deduce, or “put two and two together,” to

conclude a more sophisticated eavesdropping and

surveillance device was being used. Here, the Plaintiff's

observed the “in disguise” remarks on various Defendants’

broadcasts, and unusual occurrences tn his life, including the

questionable visit by law enforcement officers to Plaintiffs

residence. Looking back, would the Plaintiff have been better

off to not list any instances of surveillance? Perhaps the

lower courts may have viewed this issue differently, but the

Defendants, however, would have been sure to claim the

Plaintiff had no facts to support a claim of surveillance. This

indeed occurred in this case as Plaintiff's initial Complaint

did not list the underlying details as later found in his PSOF.

In fact, without waiting to hear all the facts, KOLD hastily

‘ Excluding the federal agent who peered through one of the Plaintiffs

windows

5

/

“move[d] for summary judgment because there are no facts

that support Plaintiffs claim against KOLD.”. (KOLD

Motion to Dismiss p. 1) So, as this Court can see, the

Plaintiff was, in a way, in a no win position as it turned out

in explaining his Complaint. The truth and reality is,

however, completely opposite as the Plaintiff has witnessed

probably more than anyone might ever witness if one were

the subject of surreptitious satellite surveillance. The

Plaintiff was able to easily deduce “something was up” due

to the reckless disseminations and what in several instances

was almost notification to the Plaintiff that the broadcasters

wanted his attention, or at least were comfortable in emitting

subtle, almost beckoning, yet revealing remarks and actions.

(#47 PSOF See Appendix). While some of the Plaintiff's

facts may sound unusual, they can be validated by the

Court’s own viewing of the video tapes of the broadcasts the

Plaintiff has cited. At a minimum, Your Honors would view

the videos and likely think something along the lines “that

sure was peculiar for the broadcaster to do or say.”

In summary, this Court must determine what a

person can witness and present as facts in an allegation that

can be perpetrated in virtual, if not entirely, in secrecy. |

offer to this Court, that the only way such a claim can be

validated is if the Court consider other circumstantial

“suspicious” facts that may not be pure examples of

“interception and disclosure of oral communications” or

“electronic surveillance.” For without this latitude, a party

might never be able to defeat a defendant’s summary

judgment motion pertaining to surreptitious _ satellite

surveillance, as there is no way to see a _ satellite,

microwaves, or laser beams. To affirm the lower courts on

this claim would crumple the 4th Amendment to the U.S.

Constitution and negate the Congress’ deliberate intention in

the language of the Federal Wiretap Statutes. Congress

intentionally used broad language such as “. . .any electronic,

mechanical, or other device . . . for the purpose of the

surreptitious interception of wire, oral, or electronic

communications. ” when prohibiting eavesdropping

devices in 18 U.S.C. § 2512 as they recognized the numerous

devices already in existence and the likelihood of new

eavesdropping devices being created in this modern

technological world. To affirm the lower courts would

virtually be saying that there is never an instance in which a

person could successfully bring forth a surreptitious satellite

surveillance case. Furthermore, to affirm the lower courts

would in essence be rubberstamping both the mass media’s

and government’s ability to conduct blanket search warrants

via satellite surveillance without the issuance of a court

approved search warrant (assuming an approved search were

constitutional).

Thus, the primary issue appears to be the factual basis

one can successfully allege a satellite surveillance

conspiracy in order to be granted discovery by the Court.

The Plaintiff believes he has witnessed sufficient events and

has presented those facts.

RIGHT TO DISCOVERY

It should go without saying that unauthorized

eavesdropping on any aural communication whether via a

simple hidden tape recorder or a complex space-orbiting

satellite 1s a violation to the Federal Wiretap Statutes. Thus,

the fundamental issue this Court should delve into

extensively is what is a just standard of summary judgment

in a case alleging unprecedented legal and factual issues. In

the instant case, the District Court of Arizona completely

neglected to surmise the scope of satellite surveillance both

legally and factually as the opinions of that court were absent

of any substantive analysis of this powerful technology.

Instead, the District Court merely relied on simple and basic

denials made in affidavits submitted by defendants KVOA,

KOLD, KGUN and KNST thus making it easy for any

9

defendant to simply deny any violation to surreptitious

eavesdropping and surveillance. Additionally, defendants

CNN/TBS and ABC offered no affidavits in their defense.

The acceptance by the District Court in taking the

defendants’ affidavits as true can best be compared to the

psychological “line experiment” by Solomon Asch which

measured the effects of group pressure and conformity. In

this experiment, one person was convinced by eight others to

accept as true that the length of one line was comparable in

length to one of three other lines presented despite it clearly

being unequal. Similarly, the District Court has denied the

truth in this case and has accepted the distortions and

untruths presented by the defendants and their attorneys.

Furthermore, the Supreme Court recognizes the potential

injustices of affidavits as it has held that:

It is only when the witnesses are present and

subject to cross-examination that _ their

credibility and the weight to be given their

testimony can be appraised. Trial affidavit is

no substitute for trial by jury which so long

has been the hallmark of "even handed

justice."

(quoting Poller v. Columbia Broadcasting Company, bold

added 368 U.S. 464, 82 S. Ct. 486, 7 L. Ed. 2d 458) 1962.

Finally, and most significantly, the Supreme Court has

stated:

[i]t is probably true that in the ordinary conspiracy case a

plaintiff would be entitled to obtain discovery against all

the alleged conspirators instead of being obligated to

proceed against them seriatim. First National Bank Of

‘ Educational Psychology, p. 495, (1990) Sprinthall and Sprinthall.

McGraw Hill citing Asch, S.E. (1952). Social Psychology. Englewood

Cliffs. NJ. Prentice-Hall.

10

Arizona v. Cities Service Co. 391 U.S. 253, 88 S. Ct.

1575, 20 L. Ed. 2d (1968).

This case is rooted in allegation of conspiracy. The

very definition of a conspiracy, and the redress Congress

intended under 42 U.S.C. § 1985 and the surreptitious

electronic surveillance statutes, inherently suggests that

once an allegation of conspiracy is made, discovery is a

fundamental right of the aggrieved to prove his case.

While unjustly accepting the defendant affidavits as

true, the District Court ignored or accepted as “implausible”

factual events witnessed by the Petitioner as evidence of

surveillance. Clearly, this standard of summary judgment

did not allow for all favorable inferences of the facts be taken

as true in favor of the Plaintiff. Moreover, the District Court

never allowed the Plaintiff a right to present evidence to the

court despite repeated pleadings to do so. The clandestine

operations of surveillance in this case are unprecedented, and

thus require a degree of liberal interpretation to events

witnessed by the Plaintiff in order for the Court to advance a

fair standard of review and justice. Thus, the District Court’s

findings of law were based on what really is an undeveloped

record as additional facts, testimony, and_ technological

revelations in surreptitious surveillance need yet to be

entered in this case.

It seems a travesty of justice that the courts in this

case could make rulings without viewing any evidence. For

example, below are listed five instances of primary pieces of

evidence the court has ignored:

1) The Oprah Winfrey Show broadcast

regarding the Petitioner. (PSOF #45, 47

See Appendix.)

2) The rebroadcast by defendant KVOA of

Petitioner’s employment interview. (PSOF #

55 See Appendix)

3) The broadcast in 1990 by defendant

KVOA regarding the Petitioner. (PSOF #

14 See Appendix.)

4) The broadcast of the show Crossfire by

defendant CNN on either May 24, or 25,

1995. (PSOF #52, See Appendix.)

5) The broadcast of the show The Legal

Hotline by defendant KNST in April 1995 or

of the other show aired in February 1996.

( PSOF #51,57 See Appendix.)

Even if there were no allegation of electronic eavesdropping,

the rebroadcast of Plaintiff's employment interview displays

minimally an invasion of privacy that should have been

suffient for the lower court to have doubts regarding

submitted affidavits and ordered production of such video

broadcasts as Petitioner requested in his Motion to Compel.

It was clearly unjust for the District Court to prohibit the

Plaintiff from presenting evidence before the court in a

hearing. Similarly, the Supreme Court has held that

Prisoner's pro se complaint seeking to recover

damages for claimed physical injuries and

deprivation of rights in imposing disciplinary

confinement should not have been dismissed

without affording him the opportunity to

present evidence on his claims. //aines v.

Kerner (1972), 404 U.S. 519, 92 S. Ct. 594,

30 L. Ed. 2d 652 ( bold added)

Though the Plaintiff is obviously not a prisoner, he is pro se,

and pro se or not, he should be afforded a hearing. The Ninth

Circuit itself has held that “pro se pleadings are liberally

construed, particularly where civil mghts claims are

involved.” Balisteri v. Pacifica Police Dept. (901 F.2d 696,

1990). This it the most important aspect in this case, that the

Petitioner’s facts be taken as true as it pertains to allegations

of satellite surveillance; especially since such an issue 1s

unprecedented in the courts. Moreover, 1t would also seem.

that the final judge of such facts should be done by a jury as

jurors should be able to make the final conclusions as to

whether all evidence and expert testimony presented satisfies

the allegations.

In summary, satellite surveillance poses great threats

to 4th Amendment and privacy rights, and is unprecedented

before the courts. Thus, this issue alone makes Petitioner’s

case ripe for granting certiorari.

42 U.S.C. § 1985(1)

The Petitioner’s primary argument to this claim 1s

that this Court expand the reach of § 1985(1) to more than

the traditionally protected “federal officer.” Plaintiff

believes that under the circumstances surrounding the

surveillance conspiracy, that his roles as a secondary public

school teacher and Precinct Committeeman should be

included within the reach of the meaning of “federal

officers” under § 1985(1).

The Plaintiff's position as a teacher is an office of

“trust, or place of confidence under the United States” as he

was sworn to “support the Constitution of the United States

and Laws of the state of Arizona. . .” as stipulated by his

Loyalty Oath of Office required to be signed upon

employment with the school district. (See appendix) School

districts have now historically and increasingly come under

the jurisdiction of federal policy for which teachers have

come to inherently enforce. For example, the federal courts

have come to impose desegregation programs upon public

schools in enforcing the “equal protection clause” of the 14th

amendment to the U.S. Constitution. Additionally, public

schools receive federal funding, and the school district the

Plaintiff was teaching in is no exception. Finally, without

listing a plethora of cases, schools are subject to compliance

of Titke IX. Likewise, duties related to Plaintiff being a

Precinct Committeeman also require the performance of

13

federal duties. Such duties are related to the fundamental

right to vote, registering voters, and confidential meetings

and phone calls related to the obvious political associations

related to being a Precinct Committeeman.

18 U.S.C. §1985(2)

The legal issue to be resolved with Plaintiff's 1985(2)

claim rests on this Court determination if “attending” court

includes the filing of a Complaint in a federal court. The

applicable clause of 1985(2) is as follows:

If two or more persons in any State or

Territory conspire to deter, by force,

intimidation, or threat, any party or witness in

any court of the United States from attending

such Court,

The Plaintiff alleges that the Defendants’ tortious

eavesdropping conspiracy deterred and intimidated the

Plaintiff in filing suit against an additional party, Harpo

Productions, Inc., (or others) as it pertains to Plaintiff

seeking redress (by Joining such defendants to the current

suit) to the broadcast of a show about the Plaintiff as

explained in PSOF number 45 and 47. Those libels against

the Plaintiff are not ordinary as they concern what has

become in society the center of hate, preyudgment and

controversy. The Plaintiff offered to the District Court two

AP reports describing what can happen to a person when

falsely accused of such behavior and then such allegations

are made widespread. Regrettably, the Digstrict Court

neglected and failed to see the severe harm and intimidation

that occurs to a person under such circumstances. Moreover,

in the Plaintiff's case, this issue is derived from a time when

the Plaintiff was a minor child which makes it that much

more complex

The Plaintiff argued for the lower courts to adopt the

premise that “attending” Court includes the act of filing a

lawsuit. Even though the Plaintiff has demonstrated

protected class based motive behind the conspiracy as

explained fully in §1985(3), a claim under §1985(2) does not

require such standing. Kush v. Rutledge, 460 U.S. 719, 103

S.Ct. 1483, 74 L.Ed. 2d 413, (1983). Furthermore, under the

circumstances as already explained, the Defendants’

conspiracy activities obstructed Plaintiff's desire and attempt

to file suit against other parties as already stated; in addition

to other interferences with justice, such as alleged

eavesdropping on legal telephone calls to attorneys and to the

Clerk of the Court for the District of Arizona’s office.

The actual question of whether attending court

includes filing a suit in federal court has not been fully

adjudicated. Although, the United States Supreme Court has

noted that “the Fifth Circuit’s narrow [11-10] en banc

majority in Aimble v. Duffy, [648 F.2d 340, (bold

added)(1981)] did not include a conspiracy to deter a party

from filing a suit in federal court.” The Kimble Court

reasoned as follows:

Congress enacted the first part of Section

1985(2) in order to protect the sanctity of

federal court proceedings and __ prevent

miscarriages of justice. The justice provided

by our judicial system, however, does not

start on the day of trial. The process of

obtaining justice in the court system begins

long before a case is called to trial it is

initiated at the moment a Dy files a

complaint. Congress undoubtedly intended to

ahve the whole course of justice, not just

one segment of the system, the trial apd

Thus, or the purposes of Section 1985(2) an

individual is deemed to have "attended" a

court of the United States from the moment

that the person files a complaint.

_ aii

(quoting /d. n. SO (italics added)) Significantly, that

decision in Kimble was actually a reversal of the panel’s

previously holding that filing a complaint was indeed

“attending.” Congress’ intention to protect “the whole

course of justice” in this case includes all those actions in

which the Defendants conspiratorial activities violated legal

confidentiality actions of Plaintiff. In addition , the High

Court went on to offer guidance to this issue and has

“note[ed] more generally that the scope of

§1985(2) is unsettled and that on remand the

district court, in its discretion, may require the

plaintiff to amend his complaint to state the

grounds of the §1985(2) claims with greater

specificity.” We must leave it to the district

court to decide what sorts of threatening or

coercive acts the plaintiff may prove. .. .”

(quoting Keating v. Carey, 706 F. 2d 377 at footnote 13, bold

added (1983).) Defendants in this case prevented even filing

of the Complaint, or attending court. In the late 20th

century, the mob-like threatening and intimidation caused

through the undue, and further undue and excessive media

exposure, which is common practice by broadcasters, in

addition to the actual intimidation eavesdropping imposes on

a person, are the facts in this case for the Jjury’s

consideration. This excessive publicity, and improper

dissemination in this case, is the modern day equivalent to

the mob violence for which this Federal Civil Rights law was

enacted as supported through the facts and other supporting

documentation. Finally, even if the question of “attending”

Court was not an issue in this case, other actions related to

justice were interrupted-the eavesdropping on legal counsel

calls.

42 U.S.C. § 1985(3)

16

It is well established case law that both religious and

political memberships are protected classes under § 1985(3).

As Republican Senator Edmunds stated in the Senate floor

debate, § 1985(3) would apply to conspiracies aimed against

a person “‘because he was a Democrat, if you please, or

because he was a Catholic, or because he was a Methodist, or

because he was a Vermonter,... then this section could reach

it.” (quoting United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners v.

Scott’, 103 S.Ct. 3352, n. 6, 463 U.S. 825, 77 L. Ed. 1049,

(1983)). The Second Circuit has stated “Congress did not

seek to protect only Republicans, but to prohibit political

discrimination in general.” Keating v. Carey, remanded, 706

F.2d 377 (2d Cir. 1983). The Plaintiff was an above average

active member of the Republican Party during the time

period the Defendants carried out the tortious eavesdropping

conspiracy against him. He was both a Precinct

Committeeman and an original member of the then fledgling

but now dissolved Cochise County Young Republican Club.

A limited number of persons can be a Precinct

Committeeman as stipulated by law and thus it is not as if

the Plaintiff is just saying because he was a registered

Republican he has a claim under § 1985(3). Similarly, a

limited number of people go to the extent to become active

in an organization officially sponsored and affiliated with the

Republican Party. Such political activity and association by

the Plaintiff more than satisfies an allegation that the

Defendants conspired against him because he was a

Republican. One need not be an expert to know that the

media prey upon anything that smells of scandal or could

otherwise make for a story as it pertains to those involved in

the political process. In addition, remarks concerning

Plaintiff's religion were also made which inevitably are

° For fear of creating a broad tort law, the courts have adopted the

membership in protected classes theory, though the language of §1985(3)

distinguishes between “...anyv person or class of persons....” (italics and

bold added).

reasons for the Defendants’ surveillance conspiracy against

the Plaintiff as his religion is a part of him.

While never stated explicitly, it appears the District

Court is holding that any fundamental rights regarding

"unreasonable searches" violating the Fourth Amendment are

not protected fundamental rights under § 1985(3). This

Court should abandon such a premise as it is clear that since

politically based conspiracies are protected, then it is also

clear that rights other than those associated with the

Thirteenth Amendment are protected. For instance, it would

seem reasonable to conclude that a Republican would not be

subject to involuntary servitude, but rather other deprived

rights. Specifically, in Keating, the court held that "Keating

[would] be entitled to a trial on his §1985(3) claim to

determine his tenure rights under New York law and the

terms and conditions of his employment." (Keating, supra.)

As'seen, then, the Second Circuit applied protection to rights

other than those the DC cited as limitations, which in

Keating were state law rights and not even federal.

Moreover, even if it were ultimately held that

absolutely no Fourth Amendment rights are protected from

private infringement under § 1985(3), there still exist factual

allegations of "state action" (42 U.S.C. §1983) which would

then satisfy a § 1985(3) allegation sufficient to survive a

motion to dismiss. It was simply bad judgment for the

District Court to have stated that the "Plaintiff has not

pointed to any evidence supporting his contention that

Defendants and the state or federal government conspired to

deprive him of a fundamental right." (R & R_ p. 21) Quite

frankly, if there was no evidence supporting such

contentions, it was because the District Court never allowed

the Plaintiff any opportunity with discovery and presentation

of evidence. This again underscores the notion that the lower

courts departed “from the accepted and usual course of

judicial proceeding,” especially given the unique

circumstances of the case.

While public teachers have not yet been listed as a

protected class under § 1985(3), this Court should include

them as well. Even though the Plaintiff has alleged

membership in two already protected groups for which they

conspired against him, it is clear that the Plaintiffs

occupation as a teacher was, in part, a motive behind the

Defendants’ actions as evidenced in particular with fact

number 55 concerning the broadcast of the Plaintiff's

interview. In Arizona, the legislature saw the need to

provide statutory protections to teachers in A.R.S. 15-507’.

Perhaps they recognized the historical discriminations

teachers have encountered. For example, teachers in the

United States were held to discriminatory standards of

“accepted moral conduct” and in Ancient Greece teachers

were actually part of the slave class. Even if this Court does

not hold teachers are a specific class under the statute, the

rights the Plaintiff possessed due to that occupation were

deprived. As pointed out in PSOF, the Plainuff was

performing duties to being a teacher at home while under

surveillance, and more generally in the classroom where he

was interrupted due to the extreme and unusual discussion of

the Plaintiff by colleagues and students caused by the

obvious dissemination leaks of the — surveillance.

Furthermore, rights of freedom of political association in

private were impaired.

In simple terms, it is clear that all a person can do is

state Why a conspiracy was directed against him and then

claim protection under § 1985(3). Even should this Court

not include teachers as a protected class, the Plaintiff meets

criteria already held protected under the statute. The

Plaintiff has done this and thus the factual basis meets the

protected classes intent of the section. Just as the Second

" A.R.S.15-507: Abuse of teacher or school employee in school;

classifcation- A person who knowingly abuses a teacher or other schoo!

employee on school grounds or while the teacher is engaged in the

performance of his duties ts guilty of a class 3 misdemeanor

19

es eae

———— St

ee

Circuit . .fheld] that Keating’s allegations that the

defendants conspired against him because he was a

Republican satisfies the Griffin requirement under § 1985(3)

of class-based discriminatory animus|,]” so too has the

Plaintiff in this case. (Keating, supra.)

FEDERAL COMMUNICATIONS ACT CLAIMS

As television broadcasting became mainstream, the

question as to whether television broadcasters are “common

carriers” has never been answered by the Congress in simple

or forthright terminology, thus leaving for the Judiciary to

incorporate expanded definitions to the FCA of 1934.

Interpreting 47 U.S.C. § 153(h) to include television

broadcasters on an equal footing with the specified exclusion

of radio stations in the section is a reach of judicial

interpretation that should be reversed. Congress intended to

only to exempt radio stations from the definition of

“common carriers” in §153(h), for if the Congress meant to

include television broadcasters it would have made that

exemption explicitly in §153(h) as well. Congress could

have amended the section to exempt television broadcasters

as well, but it did not. In fact, Congress alluded more to the

idea that television broadcasters were indeed “common

carriers” as explained below.

The definition of § 153(a) notes that wire

communication “means the transmission of . . . signals,

pictures, and sounds... .” Section 225(a) defines “common

carriers” under Title 47 as those who engage in § 153(a)’s

definition of “wire communication.” This would appear to

make it clear that an entity who transmits pictures is indeed a

“common carrier,” as_ clearly only television broadcasters

could be engaged in the transmission of pictures at the time

of passage of § 153(a) and thus were intended to he

20

———

“common carriers” under the FCA. Additionally, the

determination to whether or not Defendants CNN/TBS,

ABC, KGUN, KOLD and KVOA are “common carriers”

under § 206 may rest on distinct differences or similarities

in the nature of broadcasting the particular television

broadcaster is engaged in. In other words, does the broadcast

programming of a television station fall into the meaning of

“cable programming?” Title 47 U.S.C. § 558 offers

guidance to this issue as it discusses criminal and civil

liability of cable communications:

Nothing in this subchapter shall be deemed to

affect the criminal or civil liability of cable

programmers or cable operators pursuant to

Federal, State, or local law of libel, slander,

obscenity, incitement, invasions of privacy,

false or misleading advertising, or other

similar laws. . . .[italics added]

Defendant Cable News Network, Inc. by virtue of its own

names reveals it is a cable programmer.

Clearly, current definitions as to who is a “common

carrier” within the scope of § 206 is an area for this Court’s

discretion.

42 U.S.C. § 1983

The primary assertion for a “state action” claim in

this case 1s based on the suspicious law enforcement visit to

the Plaintiff's home that ts linked directly to a completely out

of the ordinary “in disguise” remark on CNN’s Crossfire on

either May 22 or 23, 1995, including the peering into one of

the Plaintiff's windows by a federal law enforcement officer

upon approaching the door. Furthermore, as pointed out to

the District Court, Defendants CNN and KNST routinely

have state officials on their programs as guests which

proposes the possibility of their knowledge of surveillance

and partaking in the conspiracy and/or their neglect to

prevent it. Lastly, the potential for the satellite surveillance

equipment to have been conducted by a government agency

such as the Central Intelligence Agency or the National

Reconnaissance Office can not be ignored. Thus, the

Plaintiff's “state action” claim would be based on both §

1983 and a Bivens claim due to the presence of both a state

and federal law enforcement officer.

The Petitioner maintains it was premature for the

District Court to rule on any of his claims until after

discovery and an amended complaint. It was particularly

premature to rule on this “state action” by applying a

standard of review to a normally complex issue, much less

doing so in this case without additional fact finding. The

standard of review applied by the District Court was as

follows:

lo determine whether the conduct of private

parties amounts to governmental action, the

Ninth Circuit applies the following four tests,

(1) the governmental nexus test, (2) the public

function test, (3) the state compulsion test,

and (4) the joint action test. Berger v.

Hanlon, 129 F.3d 505, 513 (9th Cir. 1997), [R

Nonetheless, in addition to the absence of additional fact

finding. it was error to dismiss the § 1983 claim as the

allegation of law enforcement officers alone on Plaintiff's

property is sufficient to survive a motion to dismiss as the

Supreme Court has held in Adickes the

[rjespondent did not carry out its burden, as

the party moving for summary judgment, of

showing the absence of a genuine issue as to

any materia! fact, as it did not foreclose the

possibility that there was a policeman in the

store while the petitioner was awaiting service

(from which the jury could infer an

understanding between the officer and an

employee of respondent that petitioner not be

7?

served), and its failure to meet that burden

requires reversal. Pp. 153-159.

Because respondent failed to meet its initial

burden as the party moving for summary

judgment, petitioner was not required to come

forward with suitable opposing affidavits

under Fed. Rule Civ. Proc. 56 (e). Pp. 159-

161.

‘The involvement of a state official in such a

conspiracy plainly provides the state action

essential to show a direct violation of

petitioner's Fourteenth Amendment equal

protection rights, whether or not the actions of

the police were officially authorized, or

lawful; Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961);

see United States v. Classic, 31 U.S. 299, 326

(1941); Screws v. United States, 325 U.S. 91,

107-111 (1945); Williams v. United States,

341 U.S. 97, 99-100 (1951). Moreover, a

private party involved in such a conspiracy,

even though not an official of the State, can

be liable under §1983. ‘Private persons,

a engaged with state officials in the

hay ited action, are acting ‘under color’ of

aw for purposes of the statute. To act ‘under

color’ of law does not require that the accused

be an officer of the State. It is enough that he

is a willful participant in joint activity with

the State or its agents,”” United States v.

Price, 383 U.S. 787, 794 (1966)

(quoting Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co, 398 U.S. 144 (at N.

14, 15, 34), 90 S. Ct. 1598, 26 L. Ed. 2d 142, 1970). Now

just as the High Court held in Adickes that a jury could infer

an understanding by the police officer, so too should this

Court hold that the presence and questionable visit by law

enforcement on the Plaintiff's property be sufficient to defeat

a motion to dismiss and a motion for summary judgment.

More recently, this Court held that the media agents (CNN)

Were “state actors” when accompanying law enforcement to

execute a search warrant. In Berger, the media went so far as

23

ee

to make a business contract with the government agents,

though did not make that known to the Magistrate when the

warrant was sought and issued, which culminated in civil

right violations. (Berger, supra.)

This Court should allow for greater latitude in

applying any of the four “state action” tests as enumerated in

Berger, if applying any of them at all at this point due to the

unprecedented nature of satellite surveillance and the

incomplete record due to denying Petitioner discovery.

COMMON LAW TORTS

In determing whether satellite suveillance supports

tort claims of common law trespass, laws of unfair

competition: night to publicity, and invasion of privacy, the

Court may need to examine the following.

In the present case, it is alleged Defendants utilized a

laser or some other device to enter and produce visual and

aural surveillance inside Plaintiffs residential structure.

While no physical entrance by other persons occurred, the

laser beam or whatever means that entered into Plaintiff's

residential structure, produced visual images, as well as aural

interceptions, thus trespass has occurred as this ts equivalent

to a traditional physical search. “The ‘trespass doctrine’ of

Olmstead v. United States, 277 U.S. 438, and Goldman v.

United States, 316 U.S. 129, is no longer controlling. Pp.

351, 353.” (quoting trom Aatz v. United States 389 U.S. 347

(1967). It appears to be common ground that a private home

is [a constitutionally protected] area Weeks v. United States,

232 U.S. 383” [/d. Footnote 8]. Finally, as the Supreme

Court alluded, “[iJt may well be, as the Government

concedes, that surveillance of private property by using

highly sophisticated surveillance equipment not generally

available to the public, such as satellite technology, might be

constitutionally proscribed absent a warrant.” (quoting Dow

supra. from Warrantless Satellite Surveillance, supra.)

24

The tort of “right of publicity” 1s relatively recent

(1995) and perhaps such a claim should only be adjudged by

a jury evaluating all the facts and circumstances.

Nonetheless, the Petitioner offers the following for

consideration.

Eavesdropping in the vast manner Defendants

engaged in obviously encompasses many aspects of a

person’s life: 1) current as it happens; 2) past as it might be

discussed in conversation; and 3) future aspects as that might

occur. In effect, then, eavesdropping amounts to the

procuring of a person’s biographical data without consent or

compensation, even if it ts not printed in a book or other

traditional biography. Defendants, and any others have

become privy to Plaintiff's life while under surveillance from

dissemination by Defendants’ employees or others present at

Defendants’ premises. In other words, Defendants ears have

no right to entertain themselves for free of Plaintiff's persona

and private life. In theory, if Plaintiff had written an

autobiography, or any similar works, Defendants’ employees

would not be entitled to a free copy because they were

employed by media broadcasters. Compare this to the fact

that these Defendants’ business comes precisely in this

manner, viewers watching or listening to their broadcast

programming: news and entertainment shows; assuming

there ts a distinction between the former and the latter. With

regards to KNST particularly, non-employees utilize the

broadcast premises and equipment and thus an aspect of the

public at large became privy to Plaintiff's private life.

Further, Plaintiff's ideas are his own and is entitled to

compensation from others for listening to his ideas or

persona, just as persons are entitled to compensation for

speaker fees or other consultation or counsel or intellectual

property. Inevitably, Plaintiff's ideas were incorporated into

use, Whatever that use may have been. Apparently

Defendants were so interested in Plaintiff that they utilized

sophisticated technological resources to monitor Plaintiff.

5

oct cio satecraneainallll

Mie Gok

Finally, “proof of deception or consumer confusion is not

required for the imposition of liability under [§ 46]”

(Restatement (Third) § 46, p. 530, 1995). In addition, a

plaintiff is not required to prove that the defendants intended

to identify the plaintiff. [Id. 532]. Defendants possess no

right to Plaintiff's private life nor do they possess the right to

exposes a person to “media judgment” for their commercial

enterprises.

Clearly, it goes without saying that satellite

surveillance is an invasion of one’s privacy, thus there is no

need for a detailed argument.

CONCLUSION

In summary, Petitioner’s core issue of satellite

surveillance is unprecedented. The secretness and ease to

conduct such surveillance clearly exhibits the need for basic

discovery in order to uncover tangible evidence. Granting

Petitioner certiorari or quick remand will bring the legal

system one step closer in keeping in step with technologies

that threaten precious Fourth Amendment rights.

SUBMITTED this day of October 1999.

Anthony S. Wenc, Petitioner

26

APPENDIX

ORDERS & OPINIONS

ey

a

CaivED COPY

{—— ‘ Move

_—_—_—

| 17 190g

~

|

|

1 Scott

{ CE oh, at COU AT

| ey Viste it OF ARIZONA

iE DEPUTY |

Some RI St ge ae

——— |

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff,

VS.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

No. CIV 97-528-TUC-NF (WDB)

REPORT & RECOMMENDATION

27

APPENDIX

Pending before the Court are the following motions

filed by Defendants:' (1) KOLD's Motion to Dismiss and

Motion for Summary Judgment, (2) KGUN's Motion to

Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment, (3) Cable News

Network's ("CNN") and Turner Broadcasting's ("TBS")

Motion to Dismiss and Motion for a More Definite

Statement, (4) American Broadcast Corporation's ("ABC")

Motion to Dismiss, (5) SFX Broadcasting'’s ("KNST")

Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment. Also

pending are: Plaintiff's Motion to Compel, Plaintiff's Motion

to Stay, KOLD's Motion to Unseal and Plaintiff's Request for

Special Instructions. Additionally, all Defendants have

joined one another's motions and responses. For the

following reasons, the Magistrate Judge recommends that the

District Court, after its independent review, grant

Defendants’ motions to dismiss and for summary judgment,

deny Plaintiffs motions to compel and to stay, grant

Defendants’ motion to lift the seal and deny Plainutt’s

Request for Special Instructions.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Plaintiff filed the instant pro se action alleging that

Defendants, who are media agencies, “have been

eavesdropping on the Plaintiff, and his family, and any

acquaintances... .in- the privacy of my residence...this

surveillance has also been carried out in such a manner that

the media’s actions have also produced ‘visual surveillance

eavesdropping” by the means of aural satellite, microwave

technology, a laser device, or other prohibited radio

! , . ‘ sia

Defendants are Cable News Network, Turner Broadcasting, Inc.,

American Broadcasting Co., KVOA Communications, Inc., Lee Enteronses, Inc

of which KGUN is a division, Elcom of Arizona, Inc., dba KOLD, Inc., ROLD

and SEX Broadcasting, Inc., dba KNST, Ine

APPENDIX

eavesdropping devices. (Complaint, p.2) According to

Plaintiff Defendants violated his constitutional rights and

also criminally conspired against him in violation of federal

and state statutes and regulations. (Id. at p.3) Specifically,

Plaintiff alleges that:

defendants engaged in conduct in violation of

the following sections of the United States

Code: 18 U.S.C. 241, 18 U.S.C. 25/1], 18

U.S.C, 2512,42 U.S.C. 1983,42 U.S.C. 1985,

42 U.S.C. 1986; the following sections of the

Code of Federal Regulations: 47 CFR /5.9

and 47 CFR 2.701; and the following Arizona

Revised Statutes: 13-107, 13-1003, 13-3004,

13-3005 and Article II, section 8 of the

Constitution of the State of Arizona thus

resulting in a criminal conspiracy against the

Plaintiff, consisting primarily of tortious

surreptitious eavesdropping and_ electronic

surveillance, using this information for their

own commercial gain. . .As a result of the

aforementioned conspiracy, Plaintiff has

suffered severe emotional distress: anxiety,

stress, depression; unwanted invasion of

privacy, trespass, violation of Plaintiff's civil

rights, loss of teacher contract being offered

and inability to find suitable employment and

undeterminable future earnings loss as a

consequence.

(Id. at p.3) Read liberally, Plaintiff's Complaint may also

advance allegations of state law, including _ trespass,

interference with economic damage, common law invasion

of privacy, and intentional infliction of emotional distress.

WY

pa ek —

APPENDIX

Plaintiff's claims are based upon the allegation that

“fu]known persons, who may or may not be employees of

the defendants or may be employees of a government entity,

operated a highly technological eavesdropping and visual

surveillance device, likely a satellite, to servile [sic] Plaintiff

Anthony Wenc.’(Plaintiff's Statement of Facts (“PSOF”) {

15) Plaintiff has

deduced that. . . Interceptions occur from the

source, me, via the eavesdropping device,

then are relayed back to the broadcaster’s

studio into broadcasting equipment operated

by employees who likely are divulged the

interceptions, and then they in turn culminate

the process by disseminating it to the ‘anchor’

broadcaster into the ‘talking ear’ device worn

in a ‘live’ program, who can then report

instantly the original eavesdropped

interceptions.

(Plaintiffs Affidavit #2, §26) Plaintiff states that he

"believe [s] the surveillance activities were conducted by

CNN and/or ABC. or an unknown party, who then

knowingly disseminated the information to knowing and

willing recipient affiliates KVOA, KGUN, KOLD, KNST

and perhaps other unknown affiliates." (Id. at 44) According

to Plaintiff, national and local anchorpersons appearing on

Defendants' broadcasts "were recipients [of such

transmissions] or have knowledge of eavesdropping

interceptions and visual surveillance of [Plaintiff]." (Id. at

“4 27-34) In his affidavit and statement of facts in support of

his opposition to Defendants' motions, Plaintiff identifies

A sampling of the anchorpersons whom Plaintiff lists includes

Kathleen Kennedy. Barbara Walters, Sam Donaldson, Cokie Roberts, David

Brinkley, Patth Weiss. Guv Atchlev and Alan Kath. (Plainuff's Affidavit #2, 027

30

APPENDIX

several instances that he argues support his contentions. For

example, Plaintiff states that on May 22, or 23, 1995, while

he was watching the show Crossfire that is aired live on

CNN a sheriff's deputy and a federal special agent, both

undercover, visited his home and after identifying

themselves, stayed for approximately 5-/0 minutes to ask

Plaintiff questions.’ (Id. at $5, 9b) Soon after the officers

left, "Michael Kinsley, said the following out of the ordinary

‘in disguise’ remark: 'he is cooperating with federal agents."

(Id. at 9b) Soon thereafter, Plaintiff was watching

Newsnight, a live broadcast on CNN, when between stories,

host Kathleen Kennedy said "we're going to clear you.'

(Clear me of the rumors circulating I presume.) While saying

this, she tilted her head towards her shoulder, to me [sic]

signal she was referring to me, as this was how my head was

positioned while I was relaxing on the couch watching. It is

this action that led me to aghastly realize some sort of

visual/video surveillance was taking place." (Id. at 4c)

Additionally, in late 1995 or early 1996, CNN Capital Gang

host Robert Novak "made the out of the ordinary and ‘in

disguise’ remark: ‘he wants a trial.' | was watching the show."

(Id. at Ye)

According to Plaintiff, various broadcasters have also

made "in disguise" comments directed at him unrelated to the

Officers’ visit to his home. For example, during a live weather

report that aired on KOLD in early 1996, the broadcaster

"made a subtle ‘in disguise’ remark directed at Plainutt

saying ‘you have a lot to live for,' referring to my thoughts of

depression and suicide." (Id. at 991) Also in 1996, Chuck

Roberts of CNN's Headline News "made the following subtle

‘in disguise’ remark apparently to get my attention: 'He got

j a seal ; . = . ,

Plaintiff does not describe the purpose of the officers’ visit or the

subject of their questions.

* Plaintiff lists Kinsley as a CNN employee. (Plamutt's Attidavit, #2, 927)

APPENDIX

up late today.’ This was said in between story segments...

had just gotten up a few minutes earlier and put the TV on."

(Id. at 9m) Further according to Plaintiff KVOA broadcast

portions of his employment evaluation on May 25, 1995. (Id.

at 49d) Plaintiff states that various anchorpersons working

for all Defendants have made "in disguise" comments

directed at him to get his attention. (Id. at 9[9-a-c,e, f, h-m)

Moreover, Plaintiff asserts that Defendants maintain archives

pertaining to their surveillance of him. (Id. at 413)

Between June and September 1995, Plaintiff was shot

at by someone with a BB gun while Plaintiff was in his

apartment. (Id. at 420) The shot came through his window

and came directly to where Plaintiff was sitting. (Id.)

According to Plaintiff, "I believe this shooting was promoted

due to the excessive surveillance conducted by those named

in this Civil Action and dissemination of that information

being conducted on me. Furthermore, | believe that if any

further dissemination ‘leaks’ regarding any of the libels

mentioned in this affidavit, or any excessive publicity could

again lead to potential life threatening physical harm. Due to

this, | feared filing any type of lawsuit related to this Civil

Action until I believed the surveillance being conducted on

me ceased for I feared a public 'media circus,’ as Oprah

Wintrey is a very famous person which is certainly a story

the media would like to 'feed off to enhance ratings, which is

in part, their reasons tor surveillance." (Id.) Plaintiff also

feared that the publicity would result in "possible physical

harm as violent hate crimes often occur against innocent

people. There are a lot of ‘nuts,’ for lack of a better term,

living in this world." (PSOF, 477)

Plainutf states that in July 1990, Oprah Wintrey aired a libelous show

regarding him and some of the guests were Plainutfs childhood

acquaintances. (Plainutfs Affidavit #2, 412)

APPENDIX

Also in the Spring of 1995, Plaintiff heard students in

his classes remark that the government was using Plaintiff

for experiments, that Plaintiff "is the talk of the whole town,"

and that Plaintiff was gay or a child molester. (Plaintiff's

Affidavit #2, 6-8) Plaintiff states that he never committed a

sex crime and has never been charged with same. (Id. at 48)

During this same time, hosts of The Legal Hotline Show

airing live on KNST discussed the statute of limitations in

civil cases regarding minors that included civil actions about

child molestation cases. (Id. at 49a) Near the end of the

discussion, "one of the hosts made the comforting remark

‘OK, Tony.’ Given this comment, ~t would obviously appear

these hosts and thus KNST, knew that I was listening to the

show." (Id.)

According to Plaintiff, broadcasters are not the only people

speaking about him but strangers at the Cochise County

Young Republican Club, the Elks Lodge, the Tucson Mall,

and the University of Arizona Law Library have talked about

him or have repeated phrases from conversations Plaintiff

had earlier in the privacy of his home. (Id. at 22-25; PSOF,

40-43) For example, at the Elks Lodge, Plaintiff overheard

other attendees remark that "He's on unemployment...they

are both on unemployment (The ‘they' referring to me and

my sister who also ate lunch there that day. She was also on

unemployment at that time.) Another remark was ‘satellite’ as

he directed towards my table." (Plaintiff's Affidavit #2, 4/25)

In June 1995, while attending a dinner meeting for the

Cochise County Young Republican Club, Plaintiff overheard

someone remark that "he was on CNN' as she directed

towards Plaintiff's table." (PSOF, 441) Plaintiffs colleagues

have also told him that they know that he isn't gay.

(Plaintiff's Affidavit #2, 921) Plaintiff's colleagues have also

stated that "he's Roman Catholic’ and that "he's a good

Catholic." (Id.) Therefore, Plaintiff contends that "students,

colleagues, and supervisory personnel had knowledge or

ele

APPENDIX

awareness that Plaintiff was under some sort of

eavesdropping and monitoring surveillance." (PSOF, 439)

On April 16, 1996, Plaintiff canceled expanded cable

service to eliminate CNN and Headline News. (Plaintiff's

Affidavit #2 at 410) However, on June 1, 1996, the local

cable company rearranged the channels and placed Headline

News on a channel which would allow Plaintiff to view the

program despite his earlier cancellation. (Id.)

In October 1996, Plaintiff filed a complaint with the

Federal Communications Commission ("FCC") related to

claims in the instant action. (Id. at 918) The FCC informed

him that his complaint did not fall within the FCC's

jurisdiction and was instead a criminal matter within the

FBI's jurisdiction. (Id.) On March 25, 1997, Plaintiff filed a

complaint with the local FBI office in Sierra Vista, Arizona.

(Id. at 419)

Plaintiff states that Defendants conducted — the

eavesdropping and monitoring activities "for newsgathering'

[sic] or other purposes due to his occupation as a teacher,

membership in the Republican Party, membership as a

Roman Catholic, and, in part, due to previous media

attention of him in 1990." (PSOF, 429) In his affidavit,

Plaintiff avows that he is a member of the Republican Party

and that he served as precinct Committeeman for the Sierra

Vista Thunderbird precinct between 1994 and 1996.

(Plainutfs Affidavit #1, 4/1) Plaintiff was also a member of

the now dissolved Cochise County Young Republican Club.

(Id.) Plaintiff also avows that he has been a practicing

Roman Catholic all of his life. (Id. at 42)

In support of their motions, Defendants filed the

following affidavits. Defendant KOLD filed an affidavit by

Jeff Sales, the vice president and general manager of KOLD.

(Sales Affidavit, 41 attached to KOLD's SOF) Therein, Sales

States that he is aware of the activities of KOLD employees

and to the best of his knowledge KOLD and its employees

have not conducted any visual surveillance eavesdropping or

34

APPENDIX

any type of eavesdropping of Plaintiff at any time. (Id. at 42)

Nor to the best of Sales' knowledge has KOLD and its

employees conducted any type of surveillance’ or

eavesdropping involving Plaintiff utilizing “aural satellite

and/or microwave technology and/or a laser device or other

prohibited radio eavesdropping devices." (Id. at 43) Sales

also avows that KOLD does not own or possess any satellite

surveillance equipment, microwave surveillance equipment

or laser surveillance devices, (Id. at 44) Further, to the best of

Sale's knowledge, KOLD has not received transmissions,

images, data, recordings or any other information from any

other media source involving visual or aural surveillance of

or eavesdropping on Plaintiff. (Id. at 495) Additionally,

KOLD archives do not contain any data, information, images

or recordings of Plaintiff that were or could have been

acquired through any sort of visual or aural surveillance or

eavesdropping (Id. at 46)

Debbie Wagner, Vice President and general manager

of KNST-FM and SFX Broadcasting filed an affidavit setting

forth statements similar to those contained in the Sales

affidavit. (Wagner Affidavit attached to KNST's Joinder) Jon

Ruby, who is President and general manager of KVOA filed

an affidavit with similar statements as those made by Sales

(Ruby Affidavit attached to KVOA's Statement of Fact) In a

supplemental affidavit, Ruby states that in light of Plaintiff's

assertion that KVOA aired his employment evaluation on

May25, 1995, Ruby reviewed the scripts for the four news

shows airing on that date and that "[t]here is no mention of

Mr. Wenc, or any broadcast of the interview referenced in his

Affidavit in the Day Break, 5:00 pm. or 10:00 p.m. shows;

there is no script for the 6:00 p.m. show since it was a live

show which dealt exclusively with the CAP Town Hall."

(Ruby Supplemental Affidavit, 43) Karen Rice, the general

manager of KGUN also filed an affidavit with statements

similar to those made by Sales. (Rice Affidavit attached to

KGUN's Statement of Facts) Additionally, Rice avowed that

35

APPENDIX

KGUN is not affiliated or associated with any federal or state

agency or political subdivision. (Rice Affidavit, 43)

DEFENDANTS' MOTIONS TO DISMISS AND FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Because resolution of Defendants’ motions requires

consideration of matters outside the pleadings, the Court

informed the parties that the motions would be treated as

motions for summary judgment as required by Federal Rule

of Civil Procedure 12(b). (December 1997 Order)

Defendants primarily argue that the Court lacks jurisdiction

over Plaintiff's federal claims and that Plaintiff fails to state a

claim for any of the alleged violations of state law. The

arguments advanced by the parties will be discussed below in

relation to each claim alleged in Plaintiff's Complaint.

Standard for Summarv Judgement

Summary judgment is appropriate only when "the

pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and

admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that

the moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of

law.” Fed. R. Civ. P.56(c).

The initial burden rests on the moving party to point

out the absence of any genuine issue of material fact. Celorea

Corp. V. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,323 (1986). Although

reference is made to the movant's "burden," Rule 56 places

no evidentiary burden on the moving party beyond that

which is required to prevail at trial. Therefore, while the

adverse party must offer evidence sufficient to raise a

genuine issue of fact on an issue for which that party has the

burden of proof, the moving party need provide nothing

more than a reference to those materials on file in the case

that support the movant's belief that there is an absence of

YZ

IO

APPENDIX

any genuine issue of material fact. Musick V Burke, 913 F.2d

1390, 1394 (9th Cir. 1990). Once satisfied, the burden shifts

to the opponent to demonstrate through production of

probative evidence that an issue of fact remains to be tried.

Celotex, 477 U.S. at 324. Indeed, a party opposing summary

judgment may not rest on its pleading. Fed. R. Civ. P.56(e).

When judging the evidence at the summary judgment

stage, a district court is not to make _ credibility

determinations or weigh conflicting evidence but the court is

required to view all inferences in the light most favorable to

the non-moving party. Musick 913 F.2d at 1394. The

ultimate question is whether the evidence "presents a

sufficient disagreement to require submission to a jury or

whether it is so one-sided that one party must prevail as a

matter of law." Anderson V. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 251-52 (1986). The mere existence of a scintilla of

evidence supporting the non-movant's position will be

insufficient; there must be evidence from which the jury

could reasonably find for the non-movant. Anderson, 477

U.S. at 252. If the factual context makes the non-movant's

claim implausible, that party must come forward with more

persuasive evidence to support its claim than would

otherwise be necessary. Matsushita Elec. Jndus. Co. V.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986).

Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 241

Plaintiff alleges that Defendants violated 18 U.S.C.

§241. Section 241 provides "for criminal liability against

persons who conspire to ‘injure, oppress, threaten, or

intimidate’ any citizen in the free exercise of any right

secured by the Constitution." Larsen V. Larsen, 671 F.Supp.

718, 719 (D.Utah 1987), aff'd 871 F.2d 1095 (jgth Cir.

1989). The federal courts including the Ninth Circuit have

held that 18 U.S.C. §241 which ts a criminal provision does

not provide a private right of action for civil liability. A/dahe

37

Ii acca aruaccaaest

APPENDIX

V. Aldabe, 616 F.2d 1089, 1092 (oth Cir. 1980); Cox v.

Cosentino, 876 F.2d 1, 2 (,st Cir. 1989)("Only the United

States as prosecutor can bring a complaint under 18 U.S.C.

§§241-242"); Del Elmer V. Metzger, 967 F.Supp. 398, 403

(S.D.Cal. 1997); Powers V. Karen, 768 F.Supp. 46, 51

(E.D.N.Y. 1991), aff'd 963 F.2d 1522 (9nd Cir. 1992);

Larsen, 671 F.Supp. at 719; Lundt v. Hodges, 627 F.Supp.

373,375 (N.D.lowa /985);Pawelek v. Paramount Studios

Corp., 571 F.Supp. 1082, 1083 .D.IIIl. 1983). Indeed,

Plaintiff concedes that he cited section 241 in his Complaint

merely for the premise that Defendants’ alleged “tortious

conduct was indeed criminal." (Plaintiff's Response, p.11)

Therefore, Plaintiffs’ claim pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §24]

should be dismissed.

Plaintiff's claims pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §§ 2511-2512

18 U.S.C. §$§2511-2512 are part of the statutory

scheme addressing interception of oral, wire, and electronic

communications. See 18 U.S.C. §§2510-2520 ("the Federal

Wiretap Statutes").. Generally, section 2511 provides for

criminal liability in cases of prohibited interception, use and

disclosure of wire, oral or electronic communications except

in certain circumstances. 18 U.S.C. §2511. Generally, section

2512 provides for criminal liability in cases of prohibited

manufacture, distribution, possession or advertising of wire,

oral and electronic communication devices except in certain

circumstances. 18 U.S.C. §2512. While sections 2511 and

2512 are criminal statutes which do not provide a private

cause of action for civil liability, 1&8 U.S.C. section 2520

authorizes a civil cause of action for any person "Whose wire,

oral, or electronic communication is intercepted, disclosed,

or intentionally used in violation of,’ the Federal Wiretap

Siatutes against any "person or entity which engaged tn that

violation." 18 U.S.C. §2520; Boddie V. American Broad. Co

APPENDIX

731 F.2d 333, 336 (6th Cir. 1984). Because the provisions of

the Federal Wiretap Statutes cited by Plaintiff address only

criminal liability, Defendants argue that Plaintiff does not

have a private cause of action for civil liability pursuant to

the sections cited in the Complaint. Additionally, Defendants

argue that Plaintiff would fare no better under section 2520°

in light of the affidavit testimony from KGUN, KVOA,

KOLD and KNST that they have not intercepted, used or

disclosed any wire or oral or electronic communications

involving Plaintiff and that they do not possess or advertise

wire, oral and electronic communication intercepting

devices. (KGUN/Rice§ Affidavit, 994-7; KOLD/Sales

Affidavit, 92-5; KVOA/Ruby~ Affidavit, 93-6;

KNST/Wagner Affidavit, 942-5)

In response, Plaintiff states that he "is not trying to

prosecute alleged violation of these federal criminal

statutes."’ (Response, p.11, n.16 quoting KOLD's Motion-to

Dismiss, p.2). Instead, Plaintiff asserts that the Federal

Wiretap Statutes are relevant to the Complaint "as they

attribute as a matter of law...that the tortious conduct was

indeed criminal." (Id. at p.11) Regardless of whether Plaintiff

intended to state a claim pursuant to sections 2511 and 25/2,

Defendants are correct that these sections alone do not

provide a private cause of action. See Boddie, 731 F.2d at

336. Therefore, to the extent that Plaintiff's Complaint may

be construed as alleging criminal lability pursuant to 18

U.S.C. §§251 1 and 2512, the claims should be dismissed.

Moreover, it is clear on the record that Plaintiff is

unable to establish a claim pursuant to section 2520 which

provides for civil liability for violation of the Federal

Wiretap Statues. To establish a prima facie case under

section 2520, Plaintiff must allege that (1) Defendants

Plaintitt does not allege a claim pursuant to 18 U.S.C. §2520 in his

Complaint

39

ate Dp eed:

a a

APPENDIX

intercepted, disclosed or used his oral communication, (2)

that Plaintiff had an expectation that the communications

were not subject to interception, and (3) that Plaintiff's

expectation of privacy was justified under the circumstances.

Cross V. State of Ala., 49 F.3d 1490, 1508-09 (1 jth Cir.

1995). Plaintiff's affidavits fail to point to specific instances

tending to show that Defendant intercepted, disclosed, or

used any of Plaintiff's oral communications. Instead Plaintiff

describes how media commentators made "in disguise"

comments that he inferred were directed at him because of

the position of Plaintiff's head while he was watching the

program, because Plaintiff had "thoughts of depression,"

because Plaintiff connected the remarks to his own desires

such as the fact that he wanted a trial, or because Plaintiff

connected the remarks to events that were transpiring in his

life. (PSOF, 9953,61,56) However, Plaintiff has failed to

establish a question of material fact that these "In disguise"

remarks were linked to any oral communication that he

made. Further, Plaintiff's assertions that people made

comments about him at work, the Elks Club, the opera, the

law library, and other public places does not support his

contentions that the comments he overheard resulted from

any purported violation of the Federal Wiretap Statutes by

the instant Defendants or any other person or entity. If the

factual context makes the non-movant's claim implausible,

that party must come forward with more persuasive evidence

to support his claim than would otherwise be necessary.

"The one instance where Plaintiff alleges that his oral assertions may have been

intercepted concern his employment evaluation which he contends was broadcast

on KVOA. However, KVOA has submitted affidavit testimony that KVOA's

records indicate that evaluation was not shown.

A

Indeed, Plaintiff admits as much when he states that "unknown persons who

may or may not be employees of Defendants or may be employees of a

government entity" are conducting the surveillance. (Plainuff's Affidavit #2,.6 33)

40

APPENDIX

Matsushita Elec. Jndus. Co., 475 U.S. at 587. Here, Plaintiff

has provided no factual basis for the assertions in his

Complaint or affidavits to support a claim that Defendants

are subject to civil liability under 18 U.S.C. $2520.

Therefore, even construing Plaintiff's claims pursuant to

section 2520 is of no assistance to Plaintiff in establishing a

question of material fact as to this Court's jurisdiction over

his action and therefore Defendants' motions which the

Magistrate Judge has construed as motions for summary

judgment should be granted as to Plaintiff's claim pursuant to

the Federal Wiretap Statutes and the claim should be

dismissed.

Plaintiff's claims pursuant to 47 CFR $/5.9 and 47

CER §2.701°

Title 47 of the Code of Federal Regulations governs

telecommunication matters. The FCC promulgated these

regulations under authority of the Federal Communications

Act of 1934 ("FAA"). 47 U.S.C. § I51 et. seg. Federal

courts, including the United States Supreme Court, have

recognized that the purpose of the FAA ts regulation in the

” 47 CFR 15.9 provides: "Prohibition against eavesdropping. Except tor the

operations of law enforcement officers conducted under lawful authority, no

person shall use, either directly or indirectly, a device operated pursuant to the

provisions of this part for the purpose of overhearing or recording the private

conversations of others unless such use is authorized by all of the parties engaging

in the conversation." 47 CFR 2.701 provides: "Prohibition against use of a radio

device for eavesdropping. (a) No person shall use, either directly or indirectly, a

device required to be licensed by section 301 of the Communications Act of 1934,

as amended, for the purpose of overhearing or recording the private conversations

of others unless such use is authorized by all of the parties engaging in the

conversation. (b) Paragraph (a) of this section shall not apply to operations of any

law enforcement officers conducted under lawful authority.

Section 15.11 1s the predecessor to section /5.9. See 54 FR. 17714 (April 25,

1989).

4]

4

Pe

a

:

3

4

APPENDIX

public interest and not the creation of private rights. Scripps

vs. Howard Radio Inc., V. Federal Communication Comm.,

316 U.S. 4 (1942); Daly V. Columbia Broad. Sys., Jnc., 309

F.2d 83 (7th Cir. 1962); Central NY Right to Life Federation

V. Radio Station WIBX., 479 F.Supp. 8 (N.D.N.Y. 1979).

Additionally, vindication of the important public interest

served by the FCA is vested with the FCC where an

aggrieved person may, in the proper circumstances, obtain

relief from the FCC. Central N Y,479 F.Supp. at 10. See also

Boddie, 731 F.2d at 339 (district court dismissed plaintiff's

claim under FCC regulations including §§2.701 and 15.11"°

prohibiting eavesdropping because "primary jurisdiction for

the enforcement of the regulations was vested in the [FCC]"

and the appellate court held that plaintiffs allegations of

violation of these regulations was properly excluded from

trial on charges filed pursuant to the Federal Wiretap

Statutes). Therefore, Defendants argue that the regulations

cited by Plaintiff do not create a private right of action.

In response, Plaintiff cites to the provision in the

FCA governing carriers’ liability for damages which provides

that, in certain instances, a "common carrier shall be liable

to the person... injured." 47 U.S.C. §206.

Plaintiffs reference to section 206 does little to

support his position because Plaintiff did not plead a

violation of section 206. Moreover, section 206 is

inapplicable to the instant action because radio and television

broadcasters are not common carriers under the FCA. United

“Common carrier or carrier means any person engaged as a common carrier for

hire, in interstate or foreign communication by wire or radio or in interstate or

foreign radio transmission of energy, except where reference is made to common

carriers not subject to this chapter; but a person engaged in radio broadcasting

shall not, insofar as such person is engaged, be deemed a common carrier.” 47

USC. $i S3(h).

APPENDIX

States V. Radio Corporation, 358 U.S. 334, 348-49 (1959).

Additionally, Plaintiffs citation to section 206 merely

emphasizes that Congress expressly created a private cause

of action when such a right was intended under the FCA.

Because Plaintiff has failed to establish that a private cause

of action is available under 47 C.F.R. $$/5.9 and 2.701, his

claims pursuant to these regulations should be dismissed. See

Boddie, 731] F.2d at 339.

- Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983

The Supreme Court has recognized that "to state a

claim under section 1983, a plaintiff must allege the violation

of a right secured by the Constitution and the laws of the

United States, and must show that the alleged deprivation

was committed by a person acting under color of state law."

West v. Catkins, 487 U.S. 42, 48 (1988). Defendants argue

that the Court lacks jurisdiction over Plaintiff's section 1983

claim because Plaintiff cannot satisfy' the requirement that

Defendants have acted under color of state law in conducting

the alleged surveillance. It is unclear from Plaintiff's

Complaint and Response whether he is asserting that

Defendants are governmental actors under state or federal

authority. Section 1983 only applies to state action. Where

only federal action is alleged, the claim is to be brought

under Bevies V. Six Unknown Named Agents of the Fed. Bur.

of Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388(1971), instead of section 1983.

Morse V. North Coast Opportunities, Inc., 118 F.3d 1338,

1340 (gth Cir. 1997). However, whether Plaintiff's action is

filed pursuant to section 1983 or Bivens need not be resolved

at this time because the standard for determining the

existence of government action is the same in both cases. /D.

at 1340, 1343. Therefore, even though the parties and the

Court refer to state action under section 1983, the references

43

——— aaa

5

ce

a

4

*

2

?

F

APPENDIX

are interchangeable with federal action necessary for a

Bivens claim for purposes of this discussion.

The Ninth Circuit has stated that "[a] fundamental

requi-rement of section 1983 is that the challenged action

must have been taken ‘under color of state law" Canlis V.

San Joaquin Sheriff's Posse, 641 F.2d 711, 716 (9TH Cir.

1981)(footnote setting out text of section 1983 omitted).

Indeed, "[s]tate action is an essential jurisdictional predicate

under section 1983, and accordingly, if state action is not

alleged and is found lacking, the complaint must be

dismissed." Sampson V. Village Discount Outlet, Inc., 832

F.Supp. 1163, 1167 D.Ill. 1993), aff'd. 43 F.3d 1474 (7th

Cir. 1994)(citing National Collegiate Athletic Assoc. V.

Tarkanian, 488 U.S. 179 (1988); Gomez V. Toledo, 446 U.S.

635 (1980)).

To determine whether the conduct of private parties

amounts to governmental action, the Ninth Circuit applies

the following four tests, (1) the governmental nexus test, (2)

the public function test, (3) the state compulsion test, and (4)

the joint action test. Berger V. Hanlon, 129 F.3d 505, 514

(gth/Cir. 1997), petition for cert. filed, 66 USLW 3783 (U.S.

May 1998)(No. 97-1927).

Without stating which test applies, Plaintiff argues

that "[m]edia broadcasters, generally are state actors" despite

Defendants’ assertion to the contrary. (Response, p.8)

Plaintiff further argues that Defendants are state actors in

their normal course of business when they work "in direct

concert with law enforcement" to notify the community

regarding the release of sexual offenders, when they

broadcast shows such as Cops, America's Most Wanted,

Judge Judy, and The People's Court, when they provide

public assistance through the Emergency Broadcast System,

and when they broadcast the state lottery results. (Id. and

1997 Letter from Arizona State Lottery attached to PSOF)

APPENDIX

Other examples of Defendants’ purported governmental

action cited by Plaintiff include state Attorney General Grant

Woods’ regular radio broadcast on a Phoenix station that is

not a party to this suit and the recent showing of the CIA's

video reenactment of TWA Flight 800. (1d. at p.9) Plaintiff

further stresses that’ state officials were present on

Defendants’ premises for interviews or other broadcasts. (Id.

at p.10) Additionally, Plaintiff argues that the presence of

law enforcement officers on his property and at his work site

also suggests that Defendants were acting in concert with

state officials. (Id. at pp. 9-10)

Plaintiff also cites to Berger where the Ninth Circuit

held that CNN was a government actor for purposes of a

Bivens action where CNN and federal agents entered into a

written contract for CNN reporters to accompany agents

during the execution of a search warrant. Berger, 129 F.3d

SOS. the Berger plaintitt also alleged that the government

shared confidential information with CNN = and that the

record suggested that the federal officers "planned and

executed the search in a manner designed to enhance its

entertainment, rather than its law enforcement value, by

cnyaying in, for example, conversations with [the plaintiff]

for the purpose of providing interesting sound bites, and to

portray themselves as tough, yet caring investigators, rather

than to further their investigation.” Jd. at 575.

lo defeat summary judgment, Plaintiff must establish

a question of fact as to whether Defendants are government

actors under one of the four tests discussed above. Under the

governmental nexus test, courts must consider whether there

is a sufficiently close nexus between the state and the

challenged action of the regulated entity so that the action of

the latter may be fairly treated as that of the government

itself. 7D. at S14. Moreover, "an action taken by a private

corporation ts not necessarily or automatically ‘state action’

merely because the corporation is chartered by the state, o1

because the corporation has a state conterred monopoly, ot

45

APPENDIX

because the activities of the corporation are strictly regulated

by the state, or because the functions performed by the

MAPS M OM STVE the pitti convenience and necessity.”

Briscoe V. Bock 540 F.2d 392, 395 (8th Cir. 1976)(emphasis

added). Indeed, the licensing of an otherwise private entity

under the FCA does not, of itself, require a finding of state

action. Kuczo V. Western Conn. Broad., 566 F.2d 384 (2d

Cir. 1977); Bloum V. Loyola Univ., 506 F.2d 20, 22 (5th Cir.

1975). See also Canlis, 641 F.2d at 716 ("The mere filing of

a Charter... without more, does not constitute a ‘sufficient

nexus."'). In the instant case, there is nothing to indicate that

there is any connection between the alleged surveillance

activities and Defendants’ regulation by government entities,

the presence of government officials on Defendants’ premises

at various times, Defendants’ broadcasts regarding the release

of sexual offenders, broadcasts of shows mentioned by

Plaintutt such as 7he People's Court, or broadcasts of the

state lottery results, Woods' show or the CIA video

reenactment. Therefore, Plaintiff has failed to establish that

Defendants’ alleged surveillance activities constitute state

action under the governmental nexus test.

Under the public function test, state action is present

when a private entity exercises functions traditionally and

exclusively reserved to the state. Berger, 129 F.3d at S14. An

entity may be a state actor for some purposes but not for

others." George Vo Paczfic-CSC) Work Furlough, 91 k.3d

1227, 1230 (gth Cir. 1996). See also Robison Ve Canterbury

Village, Inc., 848 F.2d 424, 429 (3d Cir. 1988)("The logical

determinant must be whether the actions challenged as

unconstitutional are performed in the exercise of the actor's

governmental or public functions, rather than in the actor's

private capacity.") Plaintiff provides no allegations to

support the conclusion that Defendants are government

actors under the public function test. Indeed, radio and

television broadcasts are not "traditionally the exclusive

Te

APPENDIX

prerogative of the government" and Plaintiff has pointed to

no authority to the contrary. Morse, 118 F.3d at 1343.

Accordingly, Plaintiff has failed to demonstrate a genuine

issue Of material fact regarding whether Defendants' alleged

surveillance constitutes state action under the public function

test.

The state compulsion test requires a showing that the

state is responsible for the decision of the private entity

because the state exercised coercive power or provided such

significant encouragement, either overt or covert, that the

decision must in law be deemed to be that of the state.

Berger, 129 F.3d at 514. See also Morse, 118 F.3d at 1342-

43 (collecting Ninth Circuit decisions holding that without

governmental encouragement or coercion, actions taken by

private corporations pursuant to federal law do not transmute

into government action and holding that actions of private

entity were not governmental action where no_ state

regulation or policy compelled the offensive action.) In the

instant case, Plaintiff has neither alleged facts nor pointed to

evidence tending to show that the state or federal government

somehow compelled, forced or coerced Defendants into

conducting the alleged surveillance. Accordingly, Plaintiff

fails to defeat Defendants' motions regarding this issue.

Under the joint action test, private actors can be

considered government actors if they are willful participants

in joint action with the government or its agents. Berger, 129

F.3d at 514. Therefore, the Ninth Circuit has recognized that

the joint action test requires a_ substantial degree of

cooperative action between the government and the private

party. Jd. at 515 (citing Collins V. Womancare, 878 F.2d

1145, 1154 (gth Cir. 1989)). Plaintiff misplaces reliance on

the Berger case to show that Defendants are governmental

actors under the joint action test. In Berger, the plaintiffs

defeated summary judgment by presenting evidence tending

to show that the media not only arrived with the federal

47

FO acy

OE RAI BESET LICE PEE AES Bev Sa 5

‘

we Pon Et VES,

APPENDIX

agents who executed the search, but that the government

shared confidential information with the media, the

government planned and executed the search in a manner

designed to enhance its entertainment value, and that the

government entered into a written contract with the media

station. JCL at 5/5. The court held that "the inextricable’

involvement of the media with both the planning and

execution of this search, the government's active

involvement with the media's news gathering activities, and

the mutually-derived benefits, is more than enough to make

the media government actors." /d. In so holding, the Berger

court distinguished cases where private parties including the

media were not found to be joint government actors because,

unlike CNN in Berger, those parties did not collaborate with

the government to conduct a search for their own benefit. Jd

See e.g. Parker v. Boyer, 93 F.3d 445, 448 (gth Cir. 1996),

cert. den., 117 S.Ct. 1081 (1997)(media videotaping police

search and seizure did not constitute action under state law

because neither the media station "nor the police assisted the

other in the performance of their separate and respective

tasks.") In the instant case, Plaintiff neither alleges in his

Complaint nor does he point to any probative evidence

Whatsoever establishing a material question of fact as to

Whether Defendants and the state or federal government

cooperated or were inextricably involved in conducting the

alleged surveillance. Indeed, Plaintiff has identified no

specific activities that Defendants conducted in connection

with state or federal authority. Instead, Plaintiff points to on-

air statements that he interprets to be personally directed at

him. Because Plaintiff has failed to establish a genuine issue

of material fact regarding whether Defendants are

governmental actors under any of the four tests applied in the

Ninth Circuit, Plaintiffs section 1983 claim should be

dismissed.

48

APPENDIX

Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1985

Section 1985 sets forth three subsections under which

an action may be brought. Plaintiff's Complaint does not

indicate which subsection applies. However, in his Response,

Plaintiff argues that he has a claim under each subsection.

Therefore, the viability of Plaintiff's action pursuant to each

subsection of section /985 is discussed below. ;

Section 1985(1)

Section 1985(1) provides:

Preventing officer from performing duties. If

two or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire to prevent, by force, intimidation, or

threat, any person from accepting or holding

any office, trust, or place of confidence under

the United States, or from discharging any

duties thereof, or to induce by like means any

officer of the United States to leave any State,

district, or place, where his duties as an

officer are required to be performed, or to

injure him in his person or property on

account of his lawful discharge of the duties

of his office, or while engaged in the lawful

discharge thereof, or to injure his property so

as to molest, interrupt, hinder, or impede him

in the discharge of his official duties.

42 U.S.C. $1985(1).

Plaintiff argues that he has a claim under section 1985(1) in

light of his "status as an officer of the State of Arizona as

both a secondary teacher in a public school and as a Precinct

Committeeman." (Response, p.2)(See also Plaintiff's

49

APPENDIX

Bachelor of Arts Degree in Education attached to Plaintiff's

Affidavit #2; 1994 certificate of election as Precinct

Committeeman of the Republican Party for the Sierra Vista

Thunderbird Precinct of Cochise County, Arizona attached to

PSOF)

The Ninth Circuit has stated that the "clear import of

[section /985(1)] is that the statute's protections extend

exclusively to the benefit of federal officers." Canlis, 641

F.2d at 717, 718 (emphasis added)(dismissing section

{985(1) claim for lack of jurisdiction where plaintiff was a

county, not federal, official). See also Robison, 848 F.2d at

430, m5 (Section 1985(1) "governs interference with the

duties of federal officers only.") Plaintiff's status as a teacher

and as a precinct committeeman do not establish his status as

a federal officer under section 1985(1). Moreover, Plaintiff

has offered no probative evidence suggesting _ that

Detendants' alleged conduct interfered with Plaintiff's duties

as a teacher or a precinct committeeman. Accordingly,

Plaintuit!'s claim pursuant to section /985(/) must fail.

Section 1985({2)

Section 1985(2) provides:

Obstructing justice; intimidating _ party,

witness, or juror. If two or more persons in

any State or Territory conspire to deter, by

force, intimidation, or threat, any party or

witness in any court of the United States from

attending such court, or from testifying to any

matter pending therein, freely, fully, and

truthfully, or to injure such party or witness in

his person or property on account of his

having so attended or testified, or to influence

the verdict, presentment, or indictment of any

vrand or petit juror in any such court, or to

50

APPENDIX

injure such juror in his person or property on

account of any verdict, presentment, or

indictment lawfully assented to by him, or of

his being or having been such juror; or if two

or more persons conspire for the purpose of

impeding, hindering, obstructing, — or

defeating, in any manner, the due course of

justice in any State or Territory, with intent to

deny to any citizen the equal protection of the

laws, or to injure him or his property for

lawfully enforcing, or attempting to enforce,

the right of any person, or class of persons, to

the equal protection of the laws.

42 U.S.C. §1985(2). Section 1985(2) can be divided into two

parts. Sampson, 832 F.Supp. at 1168. "[T]he first. part

pertains to the administration of justice in the federal

judicial system, and the second part relating to conspiracies

to obstruct the course of justice in state courts." /d. (omitting

internal quotations)

To establish a claim for relief under the first clause of

section /985(2), Plaintiff must show (1) a conspiracy

between two or more persons, (2) to deter a party or witness

by force, inumidation or threat from attending federal court

or testifving freely in a matter pending tn federal court,

Which (3) causes injury to Plaintitl. Aferrera v. Scully, 815

b.Supp. 713, 726 (S.D.N.Y. 1993). See also Sampson, 832

F.Supp. at | 168("plaintiff must allege a nexus between an

alleged conspiracy and a federal court proceeding.") The

Ninth Circuit has recognized a split among the circuits

regarding whether "attending" federal court refers to one's

physical presence while attending or testifying, or whether

one is deemed to have attended court from the moment that

the person files a complaint. Portman vo. County of Santa

S|

SIRES chet ale Ea see a a Rn a

APPENDIX

Clara, 995 F.2d 898, 910 (gth Cir. 1993). The Portman court

declined to address the issue. /d.

In his Response, Plaintiff states that Defendants

eavesdropped on his calls to legal counsel and to the Clerk of

the Court. However, Plaintiff makes no statements in either

of his affidavits to this effect, nor does he offer any evidence

tending to show that such eavesdropping occurred. Plaintiff

further asserts that "[d]ue to the circumstances and sensitive

facts...the fear of outright widespread publicity and any

implications associated with that effectively hindered

Plaintiff from filing that action. The matter is complicated..

facts pertain to Plaintiff as a minor, coupled with potential

physical bodily harm to Plaintiff caused from a 'media

circus."' (Response, p.3) In his affidavit, Plaintiff relates that

sometime between June and September 1995, prior to

commencement of the instant action, he was shot at with a

BB gun. (Plainutt's Attidavit #2, 420). According to Plaintitt

the incident placed him in fear of filing suit. (Id.)

Even taking Plaintiffs statements as true and

undisputed, such statements do not establish a cause of

action pursuant to the first clause of section 1985(2) under

either interpretation discussed in Portman. Plaintiff states

that Defendants’ purported conduct kept him from initialls

filing suit, not that they interfered with the action once suit

was filed. Moreover, Plaintiff does not allege or establish

that Defendants conspired to keep him from attending federal

court proceedings. Such asseruions fail to state a claim undet

section 1985(2). See Herrera, 815 F.Supp. at 726. Indeed,

Plaintiff cites no other federal court proceeding than the

instant action, and there have been no proceedings requiring

Plaintitf's physical attendance in this action nor has Plaintiff

alleged or shown that Defendants kept him from pursuing the

instant action once it was filed. Additionally, Plaintiff has

suiled to allege or to provide facts suggesting the meeting of

«

the minds necessary to establish his conspiracy claim. See

APPENDIX

Sampson, 832 F.Supp. at 1168 (plaintiff "is required to show

that there was a single plan, the essential nature and general

scope of which was known to each person who is to be held

responsible for its consequences."(omitting — internal

quotations)); Morast V. Lance, 631 F.Supp. 474 ~.D.Ga.

1987). affd. 807 F.2d 926 (,4th Cir. 1986)(conclusory

assertions that the defendants conspired to deter the plaintiff

as Witness by force, intimidation or threat are insufficient to

support a claim). Accordingly, because Plaintiff has failed to

establish any genuine issue of material fact regarding

whether Defendants conspired to injure Plaintiff or any

Witness for having attended or testified in any federal court,

this Court does not have jurisdiction over Plaintiff's action

pursuant to the first clause of section 1985(2).

The second clause of section /985(2) relates to

conspiracies to obstruct the course of justice in state court

with the intent to deny any citizen the equal protection of the

laws. Sampson, 832 F.Supp. at 1168. Thus, the second clause

of subsection two "prescribes conspiracies to deny or

interfere with equal protection nghts.,' /D.

Plaintiff neither alleges nor provides evidence that

Defendants conspired for the purpose of obstructing justice

in state court with the intent to deny Plainuff or anyone else

equal protection of the laws. Additionally, as with his claim

under the first clause of /985/(2), Plaintiff has failed to

establish any factual basts to support a conspiracy in

violauon oof section = /983(2) among — Defendants.

Accordingly, the Court does not have jurisdiction under the

second clause of section /‘ 5/2) to entertain Plaintiff's

claims

Section 1985(3)

Section 1985(3) provides:

Sh

Ge

APPENDIX

Depriving persons of rights or privileges. If

{wo or more persons in any State or Territory

conspire, or go in disguise on the highway or

on the premises of another, for the purpose of

depriving, either directly or indirectly, any

person or class of persons of the equal

protection of the laws, or of equal privileges

and immunities under the laws; or for the

purpose of preventing or hindering the

constituted authorities of any State or

Territory from giving or securing to all

persons within such State or Territory the

equal protection of the laws; or if two or more

persons conspire to prevent by force,

intimidation, or threat, any citizen who is

lawfully entitled to vote, from giving his

support or advocacy in a legal manner, toward

or in favor of the election of any lawfully

qualified person as an elector for President or

Vice President, or as a Member of Congress

of the United States; or to injure any citizen in

person or property on account of such support

or advocacy; in any case of conspiracy. set

forth in this section, if one or More persons

engaged therein do, or cause to be done, any

act in furtherance of the object of such

conspiracy, Whereby another is injured in his

person or property, or deprived of having and

exercising any right or privilege of a citizen of

the United States, the party so injured or

deprived may have an action for the recovery

of damages, occasioned by such injury or

deprivation, against any one or more of the

conspirators

APPENDIX

42 US.C. $/985(3). To prevail under section 1985(3),

Plaintiff must allege and prove (1) a conspiracy, (2) for the

purpose of depriving, either directly or indirectly, any person

or class of persons of the equal protection of the laws, or of

equal privileges or immunities under the laws, and (3) an act

or furtherance of conspiracy, (4) whereby a person is-either

injured in his property or person or deprived of any right or

privilege of a citizen of the United States. Griffen V.

Breckenridge, 403 U.S. 88, 102-103 (1971). To be actionable

under section 1985(3), the alleged conspiracy must be

motivated by "some racial, or perhaps otherwise class-based,

invidiously discriminatory animus." JD. at 102."

Additionally, the Supreme Court has recognized that "[a]

section 1985(3) private conspiracy ‘for the purpose of

depriving... any person or class of persons of the equal

protection of the laws, or of equal privileges and immunities

under the laws,’ requires an intent to deprive persons of a

right guaranteed against private impairment." Bray,

Alexandria Women's Health Clinic, 506 U.S. 263, 274

(1993)(quoting 42 U.S.C. §1985(3)). The Bray Court further

stated that "[a] conspiracy is not 'for the purpose’ of denying

equal protection simply because it has an effect upon a

protected right. The right must be ‘aimed at,’...1ts impairment

must be a conscious objective of the enterprise.. the

defendant [must] do more than merely be aware of a

deprivation of right that he causes, and more than merely

accept it; he must act at least in part for the very purpose of

producing it." /D. at 275-76 (footnote omitted).

Plaintiff's Complaint contains no allegations that he is

a member of a protected class sufficient to satisfy section

1985(3), nor does he allege facts to support a conspiracy

among Defendants. In his Response, Plaintiff argues that his

The Griffen Court declined to decide whether a conspiracy motivated by

invidiously discriminatory intent other than racial basis would be actionable under

section 198S(3). Griffen, 403 U.S. at 102, n.9

55

ee Sa

APPENDIX

status as a teacher, a Roman Catholic and a Republican

satisfies the requirement that he be the target of some class-

based animus. Plaintiff cites cases suggesting that section

1985(3) may apply to conspiracies aimed against a person

because of his political or religious affiliation. (Response,

p.5) However, even if a claim of politically-motivated

animus or religiously-motivated animus stated a violation

under section 1985(3) it would do so only "when it states an

interference with some fundamental right such as the right to

vote." California Republican Party V. Mercier, 652 F Supp.

928, 937 (C.D.Cal. 1986).

In the instant case, Plaintiff has not to pointed to any

evidence supporting his contention that Defendants and the

State or federal government conspired to deprive him of any

fundamental right. Additionally, Plaintiff has not pointed to

any evidence supporting his contention that Defendants

formed a private conspiracy among themselves to deprive

Plaintiff of a protected right. Indeed, if Plaintiff were

alleging a private conspiracy, he would also need to establish

that the right Defendants conspired against was a right

guaranteed against private impairment. The Supreme Court

has recognized that section 1985(3) does not apply to private

conspiracies that are aimed at a right that is by definition a

right against only state interference. Bray, 506 U.S. at 278. In

fact, the Supreme Court has observed that there are few

rights protected against private as well as official

encroachment. /D.” The Court has thus far only recognized

the Thirteenth Amendment right to be free from involuntary

servitude and the Thirteenth Amendment right of interstate

travel as rights protected against public and_ private

encroachment. /D. See also Tilton V. Richardson, 6 F.3d

683, 686 (10 Cir. | 993)(recognizing that the rights secured

In dicta, the Bray Court recognized that riehts secured under the Fourth

Amendment are not protected against private infringement. 506 U.S. at 278

APPENDIX

under the First) Amendment, Fifth Amendment and

Fourteenth Amendment are not protected against private

encroachment).

Although Plaintiff submitted evidence showing that

he has a degree in education, that he is a Republican, and that

he is a Roman Catholic, this evidence does little to support

his claim that Defendants conspired against him for these

reasons. None of the statements or actions which Plaintiff

attributes to Defendants suggest that Defendants’ alleged

conduct was aimed at Plaintiff because he is a teacher, a

Republican, or a Catholic. Nor does Plaintiff show facts

suggesting a meeting of the minds among Defendants to

single Plaintiff out for these reasons in order to deprive him

of any right protected from private encroachment. Because

Plaintiff has not alleged and cannot show that he was denied

equal protection of the laws because of a class to which he

belongs, Plaintiff's section 1985(3) should be dismissed.

Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. $1986

Section 1986 creates a further cause of action for

those persons who have brought claims under section 1985.

Morast, 631 F.Supp. at 479. Therefore, the law 1s well-

settled that "a claim can be stated under section 1986 only if

the complaint contains a valid claim under section 1985."

McCalden NV. California Library Assoc., 955 F.2d 1214,

1223 (gth Cir. 1992). Because Plaintiff's claim under section

1985 fails, so too must Plaintiff's section 1986 claim.

Accordingly, Plaintiffs section 1986 claim should be

dismissed.

Plaintiff's claims pursuant to state law

Because the Court lacks subject matter jurisdiction

over Plaintitf’s claims brought pursuant to federal law, the

a

&

d

2

APPENDIX

only remaining claims are the state law claims. Whether to

retain jurisdiction over the state law claims is a matter within

the Court's discretion. 28 U.S.C. 1367(c)(3); Cook, Perkiss

and Liehe, Jnc. V. Northern Cal. Collection Serv., Inc., 911

F.2d 242, 247 (9th Cir. 1990). When federal claims are

dismissed before trial, the Ninth Circuit has held that "the

proper exercise of discretion is to dismiss the pendent state

claims as well." Cook 911 F.2d at 247. See also Macro V.

King County, 126 F.3d 1125, 1129-30 (gth Cir. 1997), cert

den. 118 S.Ct. 1178 (1988), ("a district court may decline to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction if it has dismissed all

claims over which it had original jurisdiction.")

Because the Court lacks subject matter jurisdiction

over all of the federal causes of action advanced by Plaintiff

the District Court should decline to exercise jurisdiction over

the remaining state claims. See Canlis, 641 F.2d at 721

(affirming district court's dismissal of pendant state claims

where section 1983 and. section 1985 claims were

dismissed); Morse, 118 F.3d at 1340 (same where section

1983 claim was dismissed).

PLAINTIFF'S MOTION TO COMPEL AND

PLAINTIFE'S MOTION TO STAY

Plaintiff moves the Court to compel Defendants to

respond to his outstanding discovery requests. Plaintiff

argues that he cannot properly respond to Defendants’

dispositive motions without the requested discovery.

Additionally, Plaintiff requests the Court to stay ruling on

the dispositive motions until after resolution of his requests.

Defendants respond that Plaintiff's discovery requests

were served prematurely before the conference required by

Fed.R.Civ.P. 26. Additionally, Defendants state that

Plaintiff's discovery requests were over broad, sought

voluminous information unrelated to the allegations, and

S8

APPENDIX

sought the names and addresses of Defendants’ employees.

According to Defendants, none of the requests are relevant or

calculated to lead to admissible evidence. Defendants also

assert that a stay is unwarranted where the evidence sought is

almost certainly nonexistent, or is the object of pure

speculation. Defendants further assert Plaintiff has not

explained how the discovery sought will prevent summary

judgment.

The Magistrate Judge construes Plaintiff's Motion to

Compel and Motion to Stay as a Motion pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(/)."“ Rule 56(f) provides that when a party

opposing summary judgment cannot present facts "essential

to justify the party's opposition, the court may refuse the

application for judgment or may order a continuance to

permit affidavits to be obtained or depositions to be taken or

discovery to be had or may make such other order as is just."

Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(). Whether to grant or deny a Rule 56(/)

motion is within the Court's discretion. Terrell V. Brewer,

935 F.2d 1015, 1017 (oth Cir. 1991); Garrett V. City and

County of San Francisco, 818 F.2d 1515, 1518 (gth Cir.

1987). Plaintiff bears the burden of showing that the facts he

hopes to discover will raise a material issue of fact and that

the evidence sought exists. Terre//, 935 F.2d at 1018. Indeed

the Ninth Circuit has held that "[dJenial of a Rule 56(/)

application is proper where tt is clear that the evidence

sought is almost certainly nonexistent or ts the object of pure

speculation." /d.

In support of his Motion, Plaintiff cites the Ninth

Circuit's decision in Garrett, 818 F.2d at 1518. In Garrett,

the Ninth Circuit held that the trial court should have granted

a Rule 56(f) motion where the movant made clear the

information sought, did not seek broad additional discovery,

i4 = ) ; res

Indeed, Plaintiff cites case law applying Rule 56(/ in support of his Motion to

Stay

59

APPENDIX

and indicated the purpose for which the information was

sought. /d. at 1518-19.

Plaintiff's discovery requests are the antithesis of

those submitted by the Garrett plaintiff. Plaintiff seeks

broad, voluminous discovery and he has not shown how the

evidence sought will raise a genuine issue of material fact.

Even if Defendants disclosed the information sought such as,

for example, the identity of employees working — for

Defendants during April 1, 1995 to April 1, 1996, the

identity of all guests appearing on various programs during

April 1, 1995 to April 1, 1996, and the description of the

technological processes regarding the talking ear device

worn during live broadcasts and the altitudinal range of the

satellites used, this information will not serve to raise a

genuine issue of material fact regarding the existence of

federal jurisdiction. Additionally, in light of the affidavits

submitted by KGUN, KVOA, KOLD and KNST, the record

supports the conclusion that it is speculative that any

evidence exists that would enable Plaintiff to establish a

genuine issue of material fact necessary to defeat Defendants’

motions. Such a conclusion is further supported by Plaintiff's

inability to allege anything but conclusory facts suggesting a

link between Defendants’ alleged surveillance and state

action because the existence of evidence tending to support

such a theory is pure speculation. For these reasons.

Plaintiff's Motion to Compel and Motion to Stay should be

denied.

DEFENDANTS' MOTION TO UNSEAL _ AND

PLAINTIFE'S REQUEST FOR FURTHER

INSTRUCTIONS

With his Complaint, Plaintiff filed a Motion to Seal

Court Record. On September 15, 1997, the Magistrate Judge

denied Plaintiff's motion because the motion was "devoid of

[the] factual support" necessary to justify sealing the record.

60

APPENDIX

(September 15, 1997 Order, p.4)} Subsequently, Plaintiff

requested permission to submit his response to Defendants'

dispositive motions only to the Court. Although the

Magistrate Judge denied Plaintiff's request, the Magistrate

Judge permitted Plaintiff to file his response and supporting

documentation under seal because of Plaintiff's contention

that release of the documents would likely result in his

physical harm. (December 1, 1997 Order, p.4)

Now that the contents of Plaintiffs response are

available for review, Defendants request that the Court lift

the seal. "At the time the Court entered its Order, it

understandably relied on [P]laintiff's assertion that he could

suffer physical harm if the materials were made public. A

review of the materials leaves no doubt that [Plaintiff's

assertion is frivolous." (CNN's & TBS' Motion to Unseal,

p.3) In response, Plaintiff stresses that statements contained

in his statement of facts in opposition to Defendants’

dispositive motions support the sealing of those papers as

well as the sealing of documents filed by Plaintiff in the

future. In fact, in his Request for Special Instructions,

Plaintiff requests the Court to order that all future filings be

made under seal. He contends that his physical safety is a

compelling reason to deny Defendants’ motion to lift the seal.

The September 15, 1997 Order advised the parties of

the strong presumption in favor of the public's right to access

judicial records. (September 15, 1997 Order, p.2 citing

Hagestad V. Tragesser, 49 F.3d 1430, 1434 (gth Cir. 1995))

The Order also stated that in the Ninth Circuit the

presumption in favor of access may be overcome only "on

the basis of articulable facts known to the court, not on the

basis of unsupported hypothesis or conjecture."' (Id. quoting

Hagestad 49 F.3d at 1434). The Order stressed that the

decision to seal must be based upon a compelling reason as

opposed to hypothesis and conjecture. (Id. at pp.3-4) In light

of Plaintiff's responses to Defendants’ dispositive motions

6]

4

4

*

%

APPENDIX

and motion to unseal, it is now clear on the record that

Plaintiff is unable to articulate factual support for his

assertion that public access to the record will result in his

physical harm. Instead, Plaintiff offers hypothesis and

conjecture. To permit the seal to remain in the instant case

would be contrary to Ninth Circuit precedent cited in the

September 15, 1997 Order. Accordingly, Defendants’ motion

is well taken and the seal should be lifted.

In his Request for Special Instructions, Plaintiff also

requests permission to amend the Complaint to state claims

based on "tolling theories" against unidentified parties who

are not presently named. Although leave to amend under

Fed.R.Civ.P. /5(a) should be freely given, "it may be denied

if the proposed amendment either lacks merit or would not

serve any purpose because to grant it would be futile in

saving the plaintiff's suit." Universal Mort. Co. V. Prudential

Ins. Co., 799 F.2d 458, 459 (9~ Cir. 1986). Because the

viability of Plaintiff's claims eves not rest on whether tolling

applies, allowing Plaintiff to «mend his complaint to state

claims based on "tolling theories" against additional parties

would be futile. Therefore, Plaintiff's Request for Special

Instructions as it pertains to amendment should be denied.

RECOMMENDATION

For the reasons stated above, Defendants are entitled

to summary judgment because Plaintiff has failed to establish

a genuine issue of material fact regarding the Court's

jurisdiction. Because the Court lacks jurisdiction over

Plaintiff's federal claims, Plaintiff's pendant state claims are

also subject to dismissal. Additionally, Plaintiff's motion to

compel and motion to stay fail to satisfy Rule 56(f). Further,

Defendants' motion to lift the seal is well taken. Therefore.

the District Court, after its independent review, should

dismiss Plaintiffs Complaint for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction and thereby grant KOLD's Motion to Dismiss

62

APPENDIX

and Motion for Summary Judgment (#9), KGUN”S Motion

to Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment (#22), CNN's

and TBS' Motion to Dismiss (#25), ABC's Motion to

Dismiss (#27) and KNST's Motion to Disrniss and For

Summary Judgment (#29). The District Court should also

deny Plaintiff's Motion to Compel (#46), Plaintiff's Motion

to Stay (#48) and Plaintiff's Request for Special Instructions

(#49). The District Court should grant Defendants’ Motion to

Unseal. (#55)

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §636(B), any party may serve

and file written objections within ten days after being served

with a copy of this Report and Recommendation.

The Clerk is directed to mail a copy of this Report

and Recommendation to the parties and/or their counsel.

Dated this 17TH day of July 1998.

“s/Nancy Fiora”

NANCY FIORA

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

_V~_rnep

RECEIVED

LOOGED

copy

SEP 2 5 698

CLERK U S DISTRICT COURT

COUR DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

BY DEPUTY

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

63

APPENDIX

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff,

V.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., et al..

Defendants.

No. CIV 97-528-TUC-WDB

ORDER

Pending before the Court are the following motions

filed by Defendants:’ (1) KOLD's Motion to Dismiss and

Motion for Summary Judgment,’ (2) KGUN's Motion to

Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment,’ (3) Cable

News Neiwork's ("CNN")and Turner Broadcasting's ("TBS")

Motion to Dismiss and Motion for a More Definite

Statement, (4) American Broadcast Corporation's ("ABC")

Motion to Dismiss, (5) SFX Broadcasting's ("KNST")

Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment. Also

Defendants are Cable News Network, Turner Broadcasting Inc.,

American Broadcasting Co., KVOA Communications, Inc., Lee

Enterprises, Inc. of which KGUN is a division, Elcom of Arizona, Inc..

dba KOLD, Inc., KOLD and SFX Broadcasting, Inc,, dba KNST, Inc.

On October 6, 1997, KVOA filed a joinder in this Motion for Summary

sudgment.

~ On November 7, 1997, KVOA filed a joinder in this Motion to Dismiss

64

APPENDIX

pending are: Plaintiffs Motion to Compel, Plaintiffs Motion

to Stay, KOLD's Motion to Unseal and Plaintiffs Request for

Special Instructions. Additionally, all Defendants have

joined one another's motions and responses. On July 17,

1998, the Honorable Nancy Fiora, United States Magistrate

Judge, filed her Report and Recommendation,

recommending that the Court grant Defendants’ motions to

dismiss and for summary judgment, deny Plaintiffs motion to

compel and to stay, grant

Defendants’ motion to lift the seal and deny Plaintiff's

request for special instructions. On July 31,1998, Plaintiff

filed his Objection to the Magistrate's Report and

Recommendation. On August 17, 1998, Defendants ABC,

CNN, and TBS filed oppositions to Plaintiff's objections.

After a thorough and de novo review of the record, the Court

will adopt the recommendation of the Magistrate Judge.

However, it is necessary to briefly address several points

raised by Plaintiffs Objection.

Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983

Plaintiff alleges in his Objection that there was a

sufficient nexus between the broadcasters and the law

enforcement officers because shortly after two law

enforcement officers left his home Plaintiff was watching

Crossfire on CNN and the commentator said," he is

cooperating with federal agents." The Court finds that in the

instant case Plaintiff has not presented any probative

evidence establishing a material question of fact as to

whether Defendants and the state or federal government

cooperated or were inextricably involved in conducting the

alleged surveillance. The alleged arrival of law enforcement

officers at Plaintiff's residence and the simultaneous on-air

statements that Plaintiff interpreted to be directed at him are

insufficient to establish a genuine issue of material fact

regarding whether Defendants are government actors under

65

APPENDIX

any of the four tests used to determine whether the conduct

of private parties amounts to governmental action. See

Berger V. Hanlon, 129 F.3d 505, 514 (gth Cir. 1997),

petition for cert. filed, 66 USLW 3783 (U.S. May 1998)(No.

97-1927). Thus, the Court will dismiss Plaintiff's claim

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983.

Plaintiff's claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. $1985

As clearly explained in the Magistrate Judge's Report

and Recommendation, the Ninth Circuit has stated that

section 1985(1)is designed to exclusively protects federal

officers. Canlis V. San Joaquin Sheriff's Posse, 644 F.2d

711, 716 (oth Cir. 1981). Plaintiff alleges that" his position

as teacher is an office of ‘trust, or place of confidence under

the United States' and thus he should be protected as a

federal officer. The Court will deny Plaintiff requests to

expand the reach of this section. Additionally, Plaintiff has

failed to present any facts to support his allegation of

conspiracy or that he is a member of a protected class as

required by the statute. Thus, the Court will deny Plaintiff's

claims under 42 U.S.C. §1985.

f's claims pursuant to 47 C.F.R. §_ 15.9 and 47

REE A =o! KK: §

Title 47 of the Code of Federal/ Regulations governs

telecommunication matters. jhe FCC promulgated these

regulations under the authority of the Federal

Communications Act of 1934 ("FCA). The purpose of the

FCA is regulation in the public interest, not the creation of

private rights. See. Scripps-Howard Radio Inc., V. Federal/

Communication Comm'n., 316 U.S. 4 (1942). Plaintiff cites

lo the provision of the FCA governing carriers’ liability, 47

U.S.C. § 206, as providing a private right of action. As stated

66

APPENDIX

in the Magistrate Judge's Report and Recommendation 47

U.S.C. § 206 is inapplicabie to the instant action because

radio and television broadcasters are not common carriers

under the FCA. United States V Radio Corp., 358 U.S. 334,

348-49 (1959). In his Objection, Plaintiff alleges that CNN

and TBS are cable programmers and are thus subject to the

FCA's definition of common carrier. Under section 206

Congress created a private right of action when such a right

was intended under the FCA. Plaintiff has failed to establish

that a private right of action is available under 47 C.F.R.

$$15.9 and §2.701, and thus, these claims will be dismissed.

Plaintitf's Motion to Compel and Motion to Stay

Plaintiffs discovery requests are broad and

voluminous, and Plaintiff has not shown how the evidence

sought will raise a genuine issue of material fact regarding

the claims in this action. The Court will not allow Plaintiff

such broad and burdensome discovery. Thus, the Court will

deny Plaintiff's Motion to Compel and Motion to Stay.

The Magistrate Judge's Report and Recommendation is

extremely thorough, addresses in detail the defects in

Plaintiffs claims and provides Plaintiff with — clear

explanation of every ruling. Thus, the Court will adopt the

Report and Recommendation with no further explanation.

Accordingly, IT IS ORDERED that the Report and

Recommendation is adopted as the opinion of the Court.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that:

KOLD’s Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary

Judgment [Doc. #9);

KGUN's Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary

Judgment | Doc. #22]

67

a

APPENDIX

CNN's and TBS's Motion to Dismiss [Doc.#25];

ABC's Motion to Dismiss [Doc.#27];

KNST's Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary

Judgment [Doc. #29]; Defendants! Motion to Unseal [Doc.

#55);

are GRANTED.

lt is FURTHER ORDERED that Plaintiff's Motion to

Compel [Doc. #46], Plaintiff's Motion to Stay [Doc. #48],

and Plaintiff's Request for Special Instructions [Doc. 49] are

DENIED. IT IS FURTHER ORDERED tliat this case is

DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE and all pending motions

are denied as moot.

Dated this 24 day of September, 1998.

“s/ William D. Browning”

WILLIAM D. BROWNING

Senior United States District Judge

“ LOOGED

D —_—_————>

/ FILE ri

COE ARECEIVED and

SEP 2 5 098

CLERK US DISTRICT COURT

IZONA

ey ad . DEPUTY,

BY —

6S

APPENDIX

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff,

V.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC., et al.

Defendants.

JUDGMENT IN A CIVIL CASE

Case No. CIV-97-858-T-WDB

DECISION BY COURT. This action came under

consideration before the Court. The issues have been

considered and a decision has been rendered.

It IS ORDERED AND ADJUDGED - that Defendant

KOLD's Motion to Dismiss and Motion for Summary

Judgment is GRANTED; Defendant KGUN's Motion to

Dismiss and Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED;

Defendant CNN's and TBS's Motion to Dismiss is

GRANTED; Defendant ABC's Motion to Dismiss | is

GRANTED; Defendant KNST’s Motion to Dismiss and

Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED.

69

APPENDIX

If IS FURTHER ORDERED that this case is

DISMISSED WITH PREJUDICE.

September 25 1998 RICHARD H. WEARE

Date CLERK

“s/ Cathy Schwader”

By) Cathy Schwader, Deputy Clerk

Copies to: WDB, OB, Wenc, Bodney, Johnsen, Wezelman,

Krauja, Urman

yA

\Z FILED

RECEIVED

LOOGE®D

COPY

OCT 27 998

CLERK U S DISTRICT COURT

JURT ~ pistRict OF ARIZONA

___. DEPUTY

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF ARIZONA

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff,

70

APPENDIX

V.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC.,et al.,

Defendants.

No. CIV 97-528-TUC-WDB

ORDER

Pending before the Court is Plaintiff's October 8, 1998

Motion to Reconsider. Rule 60(b) "provides for

reconsideration only upon a showing of (1) mistake, surprise,

or excusable neglect; (2) newly discovered evidence; (3)

fraud; (4) a void judgment; (5) a satisfied or discharged

judgment; or (6) ‘extraordinary circumstances. which would

Justify relief." School Dist. No. 1J Multnomah County V.

ACandS. Inc., 5 F.3d 1255, 1263 (9th Cir. 1993) (quoting

Fuller V. M.G. jewelry, 950 F.2d 1437, 1441(9th Cir. 1991)).

Applying these standards to the Plaintiff's motion, the Court

discovers no persuasive evidence to reconsider its Order.

IT IS ORDERED that Plaintiffs October 8, 1998

Motion for Reconsideration is DENIED.

Dated this 27 day of October, 1998.

“s/ William D. Browning”

WILLIAM D. BROWNING

Senior United States District Judge

71

“a cial

APPENDIX

FILED

MAY 1 41999

CATHY A. CATTERSON

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

NOT FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK. INC., c/o

Turner Broadcasting Inc.; HEADLINE

NEWS, CIO Turner Broadcasting Inc.;

AMERICAN BROADCASTING CO., INC.

ABC Inc.; KVOA COMMUNICATIONS.

INC.; KGUN, INC.: KOLD, INC.; KNST,

INC.; JOHN DOE,

’

Defendants-Appellees.

APPENDIX

No. 98-17327

D.C. No. CV-97-005280-WDB

MEMORANDUM’

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of Arizona

William D. Browning, District Judge, Presiding

Submitted May 10, 1999°

Before: REINHARDT, TROTT, and McKEOWN, Circuit

Judges.

Anthony S. Wenc appeals pro se the district court's judgment

against him in his complaint alleging that various members

of the broadcast media have been eavesdropping on him, his

family, and his acquaintances by use of satellite, laser, and

microwave technology, and have improperly used and

disseminated the illegally obtained information.

We affirm the district court's judgment dismissing the

complaint with prejudice for the reasons stated in_ the

magistrate judge's thorough and well-reasoned Report and

Recommendation filed July 17, 1998, and in the district

judge's Order filed September 25, 1998.

This disposition is not appropriate for publication and may not be cited to

or by the courts of this circuit except as may be provided by 9th Cir. R. 36-3.

The panel unanimously finds this case suitable for decision without oral

argument. See Fed. R. App. P. 34(a)(2).

73

APPENDIX

Wenc's motions to supplement the Record On Appeal, to join

additional defendants, and to file certain portions of the

opening brief and excerpts of record under seal are denied.

AFFIRMED.

FILED

AUG - 2 1993

CATHY A. CATTERSON, CLERK

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ANTHONY S. WENC,

Plaintiff-Appellaii,

V.

CABLE NEWS NETWORK, INC.. c/o

Turner Broadcasting Inc.; HEADLINE

NEWS, c/o Turner Broadcasting Inc.;

AMERICAN BROADCASTING CO.. INC.,

ABC Inc.; KVOA COMMUNICATIONS,

INC.; KGUN, INC.; KOLD, INC.: KNST,

INC.; JOHN DOE,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 98-17327

74

APPENDIX

DC# CV-97-005280-WDB

Arizona (Phoenix)

ORDER

Before: REINHARDT, TROTT and

MCKEOWN, Circuit Judges

The panel has voted to deny appellant's petition for panel

rehearing and petition for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the petition for rehearing

en banc and no judge has requested a vote on whether to

rehear the matter en banc. See Fed. R. App. P.35.

The petition for panel rehearing and the petition for rehearing

en banc are denied.

LEGAL PROVISIONS

4'" AMENDMENT TO THE CONSTITUTION OF THE

UNITED STATES

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches

and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be

searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

18 U.S.C.§ 2510. Definitions

75

APPENDIX

As used in this chapter

(1) “wire communication" means any aural transfer made in

whole or in part through the use of facilities for the

transmission of communications by the aid of wire, cable, or

other like connection between the point of origin and the

point of reception (including the use of such connection in a

switching station) furnished or operated by any person

engaged in providing or Operating such facilities for the

transmission of interstate or foreign communications or

communications affecting interstate or foreign commerce

and such term includes any electronic storage of such

communication, but such term does not include the radio

portion of a cordless telephone communication that is

transmitted between the cordless telephone handset and the

base unit;

(2) “oral communication" means any oral communication

uttered by a person exhibiting an expectation that such

communication is not subject to interception under

circumstances justifying such expectation, but such term

does not include any electronic communication;

(3) "State" means any State of the United States, the District

of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, and any

territory or possession of the United States;

(4) "intercept" means the aural or other acquisition of the

contents of any wire, electronic, or oral communication

through the use of any electronic, mechanical, or other

device.

(5) "electronic, mechanical, or other device" means any

device or apparatus which can be used to intercept a wire,

oval or electronic communication other than -

(a, any telephone or telegraph instrument, equipment or

facility, or any component thereof, (i) furnished to the

subscriber or user by a provider of wire or electronic

communication service in the ordinary course of its business

and being used by the subscriber or user in the ordinary

76

APPENDIX

course of its business or furnished by such subscriber or user

for connection to the facilities of such service and used in the

ordinary course of its business; or (ii) being used by a

provider of wire or electronic communication service in the

ordinary course of its business, or by an investigative or law

enforcement officer in the ordinary course of his duties;

(b) a hearing aid or similar device being used to correct

subnormal hearing to not better than normal;

(6) "person" means any employee, or agent of the United

States or any State or political subdivision thereof, and any

individual, partnership, association, joint stock company,

trust, or corporation;

(7) “Investigative or law enforcement officer" means any

officer of the United States or of a State or political

subdivision thereof, who is empowered by law to conduct

investigation of or to make arrests for offenses enumerated in

this chapter, and any attomey authorized by law to prosecute

or participate in the prosecution of such offenses;

(8) “contents”, when used with respect to any wire, oral, or

electronic communication, includes any information

concerning the substance, purport, or meaning of that

communication;

(9) "Judge of competent jurisdiction” means -

(a) a judge of a United States district court or a United

States court of appeals; and

(b) a judge of any court of general criminal jurisdiction of

a State who ts authorized by a statute of that State to enter

orders authorizing interceptions of wire, oral, or electronic

communications;

(10) “communication common carrier" shall have the same

meaning which is given the term “common carrier” by

section 153(h) of title 47 of the United States Code;

(11) “aggrieved person" means a person who was a party to

any intercepted wire, oral, or electronic communication or a

person against whom the interception was directed;

APPENDIX

(12) “electronic communication" means any transfer or signs,

signals, writing, images, sounds, data, or intelligence of any

nature transmitted in whole or in part by a wire, radio,

electromagnetic, photoelectronic or photooptical system that

affects interstate or foreign commerce, but does not include

(A) the radio portion of a cordless telephone communication

that is transmitted between the cordless telephone handset

and the base unit:

(B) any wire or oral communication;

(C) any communication made through a tone-only paging

device; or

(D) any communicatien from a tracking device (as defined

in section 3117 of this title);

(13) “user" means any person or entity who -

(A) uses an electronic communication service; and

(B) is duly authorized by the provider of such service to

engave in such use;

(14) “elec.ronic communications system" means any wire,

radio, electromagnetic, photooptical or photoelectronic

facilities for the transmission of electronic communications,

and any computer facilities or related electronic equipment

for the electronic storage of such communications:

(15) “electronic communication service" means any service

which provides to users

thereof the ability to send or receive wire or electronic

communications;

(16) “readily accessible to the general public" means, with

respect to a radio communication, that such communication

IS not -

(A) scrambled or encrypted:

(B) transmitted using modulation techniques whose

essential parameters have been withheld from the public with

the intention of preserving the privacy of such

communication:

(C) carried on a subcarrier or other signal subsidiary to a

rade transmission:

APPENDIX

(D) transmitted over a communication system provided

by a common carrier, unless the communication is a tone

only paging system communication; or

(E) transmitted on frequencies allocated under part 25,

subpart D, E, or F of part 74, or part 94 of the Rules of the

Federal Communications Commission, unless, in the case of

a communication transmitted on a frequency allocated under

part 74 that is not exclusively allocated to broadcast auxiliary

services, the communication is a two-way voice

communication by radio;

(17) "electronic storage" means -

(A) any temporary, intermediate storage of a wire or

electronic communication incidental to the electronic

transmission thereof; and

(B) any storage of such communication by an electronic

communication service for purposes of backup protection of

such communication; and

(18) “aural transfer" means a transfer containing the human

voice at any point between and including the point of origin

and the point of reception.

18 U.S.C. § 2511. Interception and disclosure of wire,

oral, or electronic communications prohibited

(1) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter

any person who -

(a) intentionally intercepts, endeavors to intercept, or

procures any other person to intercept or endeavor to

intercept, any wire, oral, or electronic communication;

(b) intentionally uses, endeavors to use, or procures any

other person to use or endeavor to use any electronic,

mechanical, or other device to intercept any oral

communication when -

(i) such device 1s affixed to, or otherwise transmits a

signal through, a wire,cable, or other like connection used in

wire communication; or

79

APPENDIX

(11) such device transmits communications by radio, or

interferes with the transmission of such communication; or

(111) such person knows, or has reason to know, that such

device or any component thereof has been sent through the

mail or transported in interstate or foreign commerce; or

(iv) such use or endeavor to use (A) takes place on the

premises of any business or other commercial establishment

the operations of which affect interstate or foreign

commerce; or (B) obtains or is for the purpose of obtaining

information relating to the operations of any business or

other commercial establishment the operations of which

affect interstate or foreign commerce: or

(v) such person acts in the District of Columbia, the

Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, or any territory or

possession of the United States;

(c) intentionally discioses, or endeavors to disclose, to any

other person the contents of any wire, oral, or electronic

communication, knowing or having reason to know that the

information was obtained through the interception of a wire.

oral, or electronic communication in violation of this

subsection; or

(d) intentionally uses, or endeavors to use, the contents of

any wire, oral. or electronic communication. knowing or

having reason to know that the information was obtained

through the interception of a wire, oral, or electronic

communication in violation of this subsection; shall be

punished as provided in subsection (4) or shall be subject to

Suit as provided in subsection (5).

(2)

(a)

(1) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter for an

operator of a switchboard, or an officer, employee, or agent

of a provider of wire or electronic communication service,

Whose facilities are used in the transmission of a wire

communication, to intercept, disclose. or use that

COMMUNICATION mn the normal COUTTS? of his emplovment

SO

APPENDIX

while engaged in any activity which is a necessary incident

to the rendition of his service or to the protection of the

rights or property of the provider of that service, except that

a provider of wire communication service to the public shall

not utilize service observing or random monitoring except

for mechanical or service quality control checks.

(ii) Notwithstanding any other law, providers of wire or

electronic communication service, their officers, employees,

and agents, landlords, custodians, or other persons, are

authorized to provide information, facilities, or technical

assistance to persons authorized by law to intercept wire,

oral, or electronic communications or to conduct electronic

surveillance, as defined in section 101 of the Foreign

Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978, if such provider, its

officers, employees, or agents, landlord, custodian, or other

specified person, has been provided with -

(A) a court order directing such assistance signed by the

authorizing judge,

(B) a certification in writing by a person specified in

section 2518(7) of this title or the Attorney General of the

United States that no warrant or Court order is required by

law, that all statutory requirements have been met, and

that the specified assistance is required, setting forth the

period of ime during which the provision of the information,

facilities, or technical assistance is authorized and specifying

the information, facilities, or technical assistance required.

No provider of wire or electronic Communication service,

officer, employee, or agent thereof, or landlord, custodian, or

other specified person shall disclose the existence of any

interception or surveillance or the device used to accomplish

the interception or surveillance with respect to which the

person has been furnished a court order or certification under

this chapter, except as may otherwise be required by legal

process and then only after prior notification to the Attorney

General or to the principal prosecuting attorney of a State or

my political subdivision of a State. as may be appropriate.

S]

APPENDIX

Any such disclosure, shall render such person liable for the

civil damages provided for in section 2520. No cause of

action shall lie in any court against any provider of wire or

electronic communication service, its officers, employees, or

agents, landlord, custodian, or other specified person for

providing information, facilities, or assistance in accordance

with the terms of a court order or certification under this

chapter.

(b) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter for an

officer, employee, or agent of the Federal Communications

Commission, in the normal course of his employment and in

discharge of the monitoring responsibilities exercised by the

Commission in the enforcement of chapter 5 of title 47 of the

United States Code, to intercept a wire or electronic

communication, or oral communication transmitted by radio,

or to disclose or use the information thereby obtained.

(c) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter for a person

acting under color of law to intercept a wire, oral, or

electronic communication, where such person is a party to

the communication or one of the parties to the

communication has given prior consent to such interception.

(d) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter for a person

not acting under color of law to intercept a wire, oral, or

electronic communication where such person Is a party to the

communication or where one of the parties to the

communication has given prior consent to such interception

unless such communication is intercepted for the purpose of

committing any criminal or tortious act in violation of the

Constitution or laws of the United States or of any State.

(e) Notwithstanding any other provision of this title or

section 705 or 706 of the Communications Act of 1934, it

shall not be unlawful for an officer, employee, or agent of the

United States in the normal course of his official duty to

conduct electronic surveillance, as defined in section 10] of

the Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act. of 1978, as

authorized by that Act.

APPENDIX

(f) Nothing contained in this chapter or chapter 121, or

section 705 of the Communications Act of 1934, shall be

deemed to affect the acquisition by the United

States Government of foreign intelligence information from

international or foreign communications, or foreign

intelligence activities conducted in accordance’ with

otherwise applicable Federal law involving a_ foreign

electronic communications system, utilizing a means other

than electronic surveillance as defined in section 101 of the

Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978, and

procedures in this chapter or chapter 121 and the Foreign

Intelligence Surveillance Act of 1978 shall be the exclusive

means by which electronic surveillance, as defined in section

101 of such Act, and the interception of domestic wire and

oral communications may be conducted.

(g) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter or chapter

121 of this title for any person -

(1) to intercept or access an electronic communication

made through an electronic communication system that is

configured so that such electronic communication is

readily accessible to the general public;

(11) to intercept any radio communication which its

transmitted -

(1) by any station for the use of the general public,

or that relates to ships, aircraft, vehicles, or persons in

distress; .

(Il) by any governmental, law enforcement, civil

defense, private land mobile, or public — safety

communications system, including police and fire, readily

accessible to the general public;

(Il) by a station operating on an authorized

frequency within the bands allocated to the amateur, citizens

band, or general mobile radio services; or

(IV) by any marine or aeronautical communications

system;

(i111) to engage in any conduct which -

&3

as. aces

APPENDIX

(I) is prohibited by section 633 of the

Communications Act of 1934; or

(II) is excepted from the application of section

705(a) of the Communications Act of 1934 by section 705(b)

of that Act;

(iv) to intercept any wire or electronic communication

the transmission of which is causing harmful interference to

any lawfully operating station or consumer electronic

equipment, to the extent necessary to identify the source of

such interference: or

(v) for other users of the same frequency to intercept

any radio communication made through a system that utilizes

frequencies monitored by individuals engaged in the

provision or the use of such System, if such communication

is not scrambled or encrypted.

(h) It shall not be unlawful under this chapter -

(1) to use a pen register or a trap and trace device (as

those terms are defined for the purposes of chapter 206

(relating to pen registers and trap and trace devices) of this

title); or

(ii) fora provider of electronic communication service

to record the fact that a wire or electronic communication

Was Initiated or completed in order to protect such provider,

another provider furnishing service toward the completion of

the wire or electronic communication, or a user of. that

service, trom fraudulent, unlawful or abusive use of such

Service.

(3)

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection,

a person or entity providing an electronic communication

service to the public shall not intentionally divulge the

contents of any communication (other than one to such

Person or entity, or an agent thereof) while in transmission

on that service to any person or entity other

than an addressee or intended recipient of communication or

an agent of such addressee or intended recipient

S4

APPENDIX

(b) A person or entity providing electronic communication

service to the public may divulge the contents of any such

communication -

(i) as otherwise authorized in section 251 1(2)(a) or 2517

of this title;

(ii) with the lawful consent of the originator or any

addressee or intended recipient of such communication;

(iii) to a person employed or authorized, or whose

facilities are used, to forward such communication to its

destination; or

(iv) which were inadvertently obtained by the service

provider and which appear to pertain to the commission of a

crime, if such divulgence is made to a law enforcement

agency.

(4)

(a) Except as provided in paragraph (b) of this subsection

or in subsection (5), whoever violates subsection (1) of this

section shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not more

than five years, or both.

(b) If the offense is a first offense under paragraph (a) of

this subsection and is not for a tortious or illegal purpose or

for purposes of direct or indirect commercial

advantage or private commercial gain, and the wire or

electronic communication with respect to which the offense

under paragraph (a) is a radio communication that is not

scrambled or encrypted, then -

(1) if the communication is not the radio portion of a

cellular telephone communication, a public land mobile radio

service communication or a paging service communication,

and the conduct is not that described in subsection (5), the

offender shall be fined under this title or imprisoned not

more than one year, or both; and

(ii) if the communication is the radio portion of a

cellular telephone communication, a public land mobile radio

service communication or a paging

APPENDIX

service communication, the offender shall be fined not more

than $500.

(c) Conduct otherwise an offense under this subsection

that consists of or relates to the interception of a satellite

transmission that is not encrypted or scrambled and that is

transmitted -

(i) to a broadcasting station for purposes of

retransmission to the general public; or

(i) as an audio subcarrier intended for redistribution

to facilities open to the public, but not including data

transmissions or telephone calls. is not an offense under this

subsection unless the conduct is for the purposes of direct or

indirect commercial advantage or private financial gain.

(5)

(a)

(i) If the communication is -

(A) a private satellite video communication that is

not scrambled or encrypted and the conduct in violation of

this chapter is the private viewing of that communication and

is not for a tortious or illegal purpose or for purposes of

direct or indirect commercial advantage or private

commercial gain; or

(B) a radio communication that is transmitted on

frequencies allocated under subpart D of part 74 of the rules

of the Federal Communications Commission that is not

scrambled or encrypted and the conduct in violation of this

chapter is not for a tortious or illegal purpose or for purposes

of direct or indirect commercial advantage or private

commercial gain, then the person who engages in such

conduct shall be subject to suit by the Federal Government in

a court of competent jurisdiction.

(ii) In an action under this subsection -

(A) if the violation of this chapter is a first offense

for the person under paragraph (a) of subsection (4) and such

Person has not been found liable in a civil action under

S6

APPENDIX

section 2520 of this title, the Federal Government shall be

entitled to appropriate injunctive relief; and

(B) if the violation of this chapter is a second or

subsequent offense under paragraph (a) of subsection (4) or

such person has been found liable in any prior civil action

under section 2520, the person shall be subject to a

mandatory $500 civil fine.

(b) The court may use any means within its authority to

enforce an injunction issued under paragraph (ii)(A), and

shall impose a civil fine of not less than $500 for each

violation of such an injunction.

18 U.S.C. § 2512. Manufacture, distribution, possession,

and advertising of wire, oral, or electronic

communication intercepting devices prohibited

(1) Except as otherwise specifically provided in this chapter,

any person who intentionally-

(a) sends through the mail, or sends or carries in interstate

or foreign commerce, any electronic, mechanical, or other

device, knowing or having reason to know that the design of

such device renders it primarily useful for the purpose of the

surreptitious interception of wire, oral, or electronic

communications;

(b) manufactures, assembles, possesses, or sells any

electronic, mechanical, or other device, knowing or having

reason to know that the design of such device renders it

primarily useful for the purpose of the surreptitious

interception of wire, oral, or electronic communications, and

that such device or any component thereof has been or will

be sent through the mail or transported in interstate or

foreign commerce; or

(c) places in any newspaper, magazine, handbill, or other

publication any advertisement of -

(1) any electronic, mechanical, or other device knowing

or having reason to know that the design of such device

87

APPENDIX

renders it primarily useful for the purpose of the surreptitious

interception of wire, oral, or electronic communications; or

(ii) any other electronic, mechanical, or other device,

where such advertisement promotes the use of such device

for the purpose of the surreptitious interception of wire, oral,

or electronic communications, knowing or having reason to

know that such advertisement will be sent through the mail

or transported in interstate or foreign commerce, shall be

fined not more than $10,000 or imprisoned not more than

five years, or both.

(2) It shall not be unlawful under this section for -

(a) a provider of wire or electronic communication service

or an officer, agent, or employee of, or a person under

contract with, such a provider, in the normal course of the

business of providing that wire or electronic communication

service, or

(b) an officer, agent, or employee of, or a person under

contract with, the United States, a State, or a_ political

subdivision thereof, in the normal course of the activities of

the United States, a State, or a political subdivision thereof,

to send through the mail, send or carry in interstate or foreign

commerce, or manufacture, assemble. possess, or sell any

electronic, mechanical, or other device knowing or having

reason to know that the design of such device renders it

primarily useful for the purpose of the surreptitious

interception of wire, oral, or electronic communications.

18 U.S.C. § 2520. Recovery of civil damages authorized

(a) In General. - Except as provided in section 25] 1(2)(a)(ii),

any person whose wire, oral, or electronic communication is

intercepted, disclosed, or intentionally used in violation of

this chapter may in a civil action recover from the person or

entity which engaged in that violation such relief as may be

appropriate.

88

APPENDIX

(b) Relief. - In an action under this section, appropriate relief

includes -

(1) such preliminary and other equitable or declaratory

relief as may be appropriate;

(2) damages under subsection (c) and punitive damages in

appropriate cases; and

(3) a reasonable attorney's fee and other litigation costs

reasonably incurred.

(c) Computation of Damages. - (1) In an action under this

section, if the conduct in violation of this chapter is the

private viewing of a private satellite video communication

that is not scrambled or encrypted or if the communication is

a radio communication that is transmitted on frequencies

allocated uncer subpart D of part 74 of the rules of the

Federal Communications Commission that is not scrambled

or encrypted and the conduct is not for a tortious or illegal

purpose or for purposes of direct or indirect commercial

advantage or private commercial gain, then the court shall

assess damages as follows:

(A) If the person who engaged in that conduct has not

previously been enjoined under section 2511(5) and has not

been found liable in a prior civil action under this section, the

court shall assess the greater of the sum of actual damages

suffered by the plaintiff, or statutory damages of not less than

$50 and not more than $500.

(B) If, on one prior occasion, the person who engaged in

that conduct has been enjoined under section 2511(5) or has

been found liable in a civil action under this section, the

court shall assess the greater of the sum of actual damages

suffered by the plaintiff, or statutory damages of not less than

$100 and not more than $1000.

(2) In any other action under this section, the court may

assess as damages whichever is the greater of -

(A) the sum of the actual damages suffered by the plaintiff

and any profits made by the violator as a result of the

violation; or

89

APPENDIX

(B) statutory damages of whichever is the greater of $100

a day for each day of* i-xtion or $10,000.

(d) Defense. - A gotd iaitti reliance on -

(1) a court warren’ ~© order, a grand jur

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Wenc v. Cable News Network, Inc. · 528 U.S. 1063 | Frix