Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Shiplett v. National Railroad Passenger Corp.

Supreme Court brief2000

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

rinse @

N°. @9 735 NOvV1i WF

OGFRRCE OF THE CLERK

Jn The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

+

KURT D. SHIPLETT

Petitioner,

Ve

NATIONAL RAILROAD PASSENGER

CORPORATION D/B/A AMTRAK,

Respondent.

é

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court of

Appeals For The Sixth Circuit

+

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

with Appendix

+

* Jaimie R. Goodman

LAW OFFICES OF JAIMIE R. GOODMAN

615 Griswold, Suite 1805

Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 965-5123

Attorney for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

October, 1999

LEGAL ADVANTAGE * 432 Walnut Street * Cincinnati, OH 45202

(800) 581-2252

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

|. Whether, under the direct threat provisions

in Title | of the Americans With Disabilities Act (ADA), 42

U.S.C. §12111(3), an employer can impose requirements

excluding individuals who take prescribed medication from

employment in safety sensitive jobs without conducting an

individualized assessment to determine whether the individual

poses a direct threat to the safety of others?

2. Whether the U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit's decision in this case conflicts with this Court's

decision in Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998), where

the Sixth Circuit, in deciding that the petitioner-employee

posed a direct threat to the safety of others under the ADA,

deferred to the judgment of respondent-employer's medical

professional without assessing the objective reasonableness of

the judgment?

3. When an employee with a disability under

the ADA requests an accommodation of reassignment to

another position but does not identify any vacant positions,

should courts then shift the burden of proof to the employer

to show that it made a reasonable effort to assist the employee

in ascertaining whether there were vacant positions for which

the employee was qualified?

4. Whether, in a negligence action under the

Federal Employer's Liability Act, 45 U.S.C. §51, a common

carrier by railroad can be held liable to an employee for

physical and emotional injury damages caused by the railroad's

negligently dangerous employment action where the employee

suffered physical injuries but did not sustain any actual or

threatened impact by a physical object?

i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

All parties are listed in the caption

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Description Page

Questions Presented for Review ....-.-.-+-+-+5> i

Parties to The Proceedings .........----++++e55 il

TS a a a a eee ill

ee I ng ke 6 hole 6 aw 8A V1

SS ES a Sara ae er a a a ee |

Te a ae ae ae ear a a a ee l

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

eee TE A cals sk ele ee ee ew |

Graveney OF THE CASE ..... 2.226 eee es enes 2

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT:

I. THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION THAT

PETITIONER POSED A DiRECT THREAT TO

THe SAFETY OF OTHERS UNDER THE ADA DIRECTLY

CONFLICTS WITH.THIS COURT'S DECISION IN

BRAGDON V. ABBOTT THAT COURTS CANNOT DEFER

To THE JUDGMENTS OF HEALTH CARE PROFES-

SIONALS WITHOUT ASSESSING THE OBJECTIVE

REASONABLENESS OF THE JUDGMENTS ......--- 9

eee

If.

A. This Court's Decision in Bragdon

Requires Lower Courts to Assess

The Objective Reasonableness Of

Health Care Professionals’

Judgments Without Deferring To

Their Individual Judgments .............. 9

B. The Sixth Circuit's Decision

In The Case At Bar Directly

Conflicts With This Court's

ence CN A wk ee ct haat 11

THE ADA PROHIBITS EMPLOYERS FROM

IMPOSING REQUIREMENTS OF ITS OWN

DEVISING EXCLUDING INDIVIDUALS

FROM EMPLOYMENT IN SAFETY SENSITIVE

POSITIONS SOLELY BECAUSE THEY TAKE

CERTAIN PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION,

WITHOUT CONDUCTING AN INDIVIDUALIZED

ASSESSMENT ON WHETHER THE INDIVIDUAL

Poses A DIRECT THREAT TO THE SAFETY

Ea RPP ie wa ty oa eae ee ee 14

1V

IT.

Page

THERE IS CONFLICT AND CONFUSION

IN THE LOWER COURTS REGARDING AN

EMPLOYEE'S BURDEN OF PROOF AND AN

EMPLOYER'S AFFIRMATIVE DUTY UNDER

THE REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION

PROVISIONS OF THE ADA .... 2-2-0252 055 18

THERE IS CONFUSION ON WHETHER

THis CoURT’S OPINION IN GOTTSHALL

PRECLUDES ALL NEGLIGENCE CLAIMS

UNDER FELA For PHYSICAL AND

EMOTIONAL INJURIES UNLESS THE

EMPLOYEE SUSTAINS A PHYSICAL

uv

IMPACT BY A PHYSICAL OBJECT ...---++--- 23

COMIC AIG on eS ee eee eee 26

APPENDIX

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Table of Cases Page(s)

Baertv. huchd Beverage, 1 td,

149 F 3d 626 (7th Cir L998) 20

Barnett. US.) Aur. Ine.

1S7 b 3d 744 (9th Cir 1998) 21

Bloom Consolidated Karl ( ‘OF POPALION,

tL Jd Ol) (3rd Cir 1994) 25

Bragdon vo Abbott,

S24 US 624 (1998) 0-13.15

(‘omsolidated Rail ¢ OFp. Vv Crottshall,

SI2US $32 (1994) 73-75

lyellestad vo Pizza Hut of America, Inc.,

I82 b 3d 609 (8th Cir 1999) 20

Hendricks-Rohinson v bxcel Corp.,

154 F 3d 685 (7th Cir, 1998) 20

Vlarschand vo Norfolk and Western Railroad Co.

SI b 3d 714 (7th Cir 1996) 25

Viengine vo Runyon.

b1db 3d 415 (3rd Cir 1997) 20

Vi

Table of Cases Page(s)

Miller v. [linow Department

of Corrections,

107 F 3d 483 (7th Cir 1997) 20

Monette v. belectrome Data Systems Corp.,

90 F 3d 1173 (6th Cir 1996) 19

Moses v. American Nonwovens, [ne.,

97 F 3d 446 (11th Cir 1996) 19

Mustafa vo Clark County School District,

1S7 b 3d 1169 (9th Cir 1998) 21

School Board of Nassau County v. Arline,

480 US 273 (1987) 1S

Smith vo Ameritech,

129 F 3d 8587 (6th Cir, 1997) 19

~ Smith vo Midland Brakes,

180 F 3d 1154 (10th Cir, 1999) 19-20

Stone v. City of Mount Vernon,

118 F 3d 92 (2nd Cir 1997) 21

Lable of Cases Page(s)

Sutton v. United Airlines, Lrw.,

US 19S Ct. 2139 (1999) 16-17

Szymanski vo Columbia lransportation Co.,

154 F 3d 591 (6th Cir, 1998) 23-25

lavlor v. Phoenixville School District,

174 F 3d 142 (3rd Cir, 1999) 20

lavlor v. Principal binancial Group,

93 F 3d 155 (Sth Cir, 1996) 19

(rie vy. Lhompson,

337 US. 163 41949) 24

White v. York International Corporation,

45 F 3d 357 (10th Cir, 1995) 19

Willis v. Conopeo, Inc.,

108 F.3d 282 (11th Cir, 1997) 19

Statutes And Regulations Page(s)

28 U.S.C. §1254(1)

42 U.S.C. §12102(2)(C) 11S

42U SC. §1211103) 1,9, 15-16,22

Vill

Statutes And Regulations Page(s)

42 U.S.C. §12111(8) 1,15

42 U.S.C. §12111(9)(B) 121

42 U S.C. §12113 (a)-(b) 1,9,16,22

42 USC. §12112(b)( SA) 1,21

45U SC. 851 1,23

29 CFR. §1630.2(0)(3) 422

29 CFR. §1630.2(r) 2.16

Publications:

Guidula, The Threat To Safety Defense

Standard And The Use Of Psychotropic

Medication Under Title | Of The ADA,

144 U. Pa. L. Rev. 1149, 1181 (1996) 18

Legislative Material:

H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 (II), 10 1st Cong

2nd Sess. 65-67 (1990), reprinted in

1990 US.C.C.AN. pp. 348-349 22

H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 (IID), 10 1st

Cong. 2d Sess. 45-46 (1990) reprinted in

1990 US C.C.AN., pp. 468-469 16

1X

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Kurt D. Shiplett respectfully prays that a

Writ of Certiorari issue to review a final judgment and order

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit vacating a judgment on jury verdict in favor of the

petitioner was filed on June 17, 1999 and was _ not

recommended for publication. (Appendix A). The Sixth

Circuit's order denying petitioner's petition for rehearing was

filed on August 2, 1999. (Appendix B). The trial court's

judgment on jury verdict was filed on September 24, 1997.

(Appendix C). The trial court's order denying respondent's

motion for judgment as a matter of law or in the alternative,

a new trial was filed on September 24, 1997. (Appendix D).

JURISDICTION

Petitioner seeks review of the judgment and order of

the Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, that was entered on

June 17, 1999. (App. A). The Sixth Circuit's order denying

the petition for rehearing was dated August 2, 1999. (App.

B). This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND REGULATIONS

The pertinent federal statutes are 42 USC.

§§12102(2), 12111(3), (8)-(9), 12112(a),(b)(1) & (S)(A),

12113(a)-(b) of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)

and 45 U.S.C. §51 of the Federal Employer's Liability Act

(FELA) The statute which confers jurisdiction in this court

is28USC §1254(1) The pertinent federal regulations are

29 CFR. §§$1630 2(0)(3), 1630 2(r) The pertinent federal

statutes and regulations cited above are reproduced in

Appendices Fl - F9. There are no constitutional provisions,

treaties, state statutes or ordinances at issue

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This employment action brought by Petitioner Kurt

Shiplett in United States District Court against his employer

Respondent National Railroad Passenger Corporation

("Amtrak") raises federal law claims under the Americans with

Disabilities Act (ADA) and the Federal Employer's Liability

Act(FELA). Shiplett was a locomotive engineer employed by

Amtrak Federal jurisdiction of this action was based on 28

USC $1331 This case was tried before a jury in federal

court. The jury found in favor of Shiplett and awarded him

damaves against Amtrak in the amount of $500,000 00

Ina nutshell, this case arose because Amtrak regarded

Shiplett as having a disability, stereotyping him as a "drug

abuser" and "mentally unstable" all because he was taking the

prescription medication Xanax — Shiplett took Xanax as

prescribed by his physician before bedtime at least eight hours

before reporting to work at Amtrak as a locomotive engineer

Without conducting any individualized assessment on whether

Shiplett’s taking prescription medication adversely affected his

ability to sately perform his job, Amtrak mandated on its own

that Shiplett was not allowed to return to work as a

locomotive engineer if he was taking Xanax Amtrak not only

refused to return Shiplett to work, but refused to reasonably

accommodate him by reassigning him to another position

Instead. Amtrak directed Shiplett to stop taking Xanax

immediately if he wanted to return to work. This was a

dangerously negligent instruction which caused Shiplett

physical injuries and placed him in fear of physical harm

Shiplett began his employment with Amtrak on

September 22, 1986. He held positions with Amtrak as an

assistant conductor, conductor and assistant locomotive

engineer In 1990, he was promoted to locomotive engineer

and remained in that position until September 15, 1994. By all

accounts, Shiplett was a safety conscious locomotive engineer,

having received safety awards from Amtrak during his tenure

as locomotive engineer. (App. E, p. 8-9)

Shiplett had been taking the prescription medication

Xanax to help him sleep at bedtime. From 1992 until

September 15, 1994, Shiplett regularly took Xanax only

before bedtime, at least eight to ten hours before he reported

to work as a locomotive engineer He never took Xanax

while working or when he was subject to duty. He only took

one milligram of Xanax as prescribed by his physician

Shiplett's physician advised him that he could take this dosage

of Xanax and safely work as a locomotive engineer, (App. E,

p 7-8)

Shiplett informed Amtrak management in 1992 and

1993 that he was taking Xanax. Amtrak advised him that he

could take Xanax and work as a locomotive engineer "as long

as it had been prescribed by a doctor" (App. A, p. 5)

Shiplett experienced no adverse side effects from taking

Xanax His ability to safely operate a locomotive was

unimpaired) (App. E, p. 8) Xanax has no side effects on

certain individuals. (App. A, p. 3). Prior to September 15,

1994, Amtrak's employment records reflected that Shiplett's

overall job and safety performance was above average while

he was taking Xanax.

On September 15, 1994, Shiplett overshot a passenger

platform while operating the locomotive. Asa result, Shiplett

was given a drug and alcohol screen by Amtrak. He tested

positive for benzodiazepine, a class of drugs which includes

Xanax. At that point, Amtrak's medical officer, Dr. Robert

McLean became involved. Amtrak's Dr. McLean removed

Shiplett from service as a locomotive engineer because he was

taking Xanax. Dr. McLean told Shiplett that he had to stop

taking Xanax immediately if he wanted to return to work.

(App. A, p. 4)

On September 27, 1994, Dr. Gallant was contracted

out by Amtrak, to conduct a physical examination of Shiplett.

Dr Gallant advised Shiplett that he was "mentally and

physically fit" to return to work and to try to get off the Xanax

slowly. Dr. Gallant told Shiplett that taking Xanax at bedtime

and working the next day as a locomotive engineer would not

be a "safety factor" (App. E, p. 9).

Amtrak still refused to return Shiplett to work unless

he stopped taking Xanax. Amtrak's Dr. McLean felt that

Xanax "might" have contributed to Shiplett's overshooting the

platform on September |Sth. (App. A, p. 6). Dr. McLean did

not know whether the use of Xanax adversely affected

Shiplett's alertness or coordination (App. E, p. 16). This

could only be adduced by direct examination. Dr. McLean

never tested, examined or even met Shiplett. Dr. McLean

never reviewed Shiplett's medical history or performance

records. (App. E, p. 13-14, 16, 18).

It was undisputed that Xanax can have no side effects

on some individuals. (App. A, p. 3, App. E, p. 19). Yet,

Amtrak's Dr. McLean imposed a blanket exclusion of

employees who take Xanax from working as locomotive

engineers. It did not matter to Amtrak that Shiplett was only

taking one milligram of Xanax before bedtime at least 8 to 10

hours before he would work. (App. E, p. 11-13, 19).

There were no governmental regulations prohibiting

locomotive engineers from operating a locomotive if they took

Xanax as prescribed by a physician. This prohibition was

imposed by Amtrak's medical officer Dr. McLean and not by

any governmental agency. (App. E, p. 20).

Once Amtrak refused to return Shiplett to work as a

locomotive engineer, he requested an accommodation to

return to work in another position. Shiplett asked Dr.

McLean in the end of September, 1994 that he be allowed to

return to work in another position. Amtrak's Dr. McLean did

_not deny that such an accommodation request was made,

stating he had no recollection as to whether such a request for

accommodation was made. Amtrak made no attempt to try to

'The Sixth Circuit made no contrary finding. The Sixth

Circuit found that two public safety agencies - the National

Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) and the Federal Railroad

Administration(FRA) - supported Dr. McLean's decision affer

the fact. (App. A, p. 9-10). In point of fact, there was no

proof of this, other than Dr. McLean's testimony on the views

of the NTSB and a letter from the FRA which did not even

mention Xanax.

reassign Shiplett to a vacant position” (App. A, p. 9, 20-21,

App. E, p. 20-21)

Instead, Amtrak's Dr McLean instructed Shiplett to

stop taking Xanax immediately, if he wanted to return to

work = Shiplett: followed Dr McLean's instruction and

suffered physical injuries - headaches, shakiness, insomnia and

nausea - as aresult. (App. A, p. 4, 26) Amtrak's instruction

was dangerously negligent and put Shiplett at risk of further

physical injuries such as seizures. (App. E, p. 4-5)

Shiplett's treating physician Dr. Viken Matossian, a

board certified psychiatrist who specialized in the effects of

psychotropic medication such as Xanax, contacted Amtrak's

Dr McLean Dr Matossian advised Dr McLean that

Shiplett's taking Xanax as prescribed would not impair his

ability to safely perform his job. (App. E, p 2-4). Dr

McLean admitted Dr. Matossian advised him that Shiplett was

able to safely perform his job as a locomotive engineer while

taking Xanax before bedtime. (App. E, p. 17). Dr. McLean

did not specialize in the area of psychiatry and had no special

training on the effects of psychotropic medication such as

Xanax. (App. E. p. 14-15)

‘More than six months after Shiplett made his

accommodation request and only after he was totally disabled

from returning to work in any capacity, Amtrak sent Shiplett

a letter dated April 6, 1995, explaining the process of

requesting a reasonable accommodation. Shiplett was unable

at that point to return to work or respond to that letter. (App

A. p 8-9)

Dr. McLean still refused to reinstate Shiplett to his

position of locomotive engineer unless he stopped taking

Xanax. After Shiplett requested reassignment to a conductor

or assistant conductor position, Dr. McLean accused Shiplett

of being a drug abuser, "mentally unstable" and recommended

that he speak with a drug counselor. (App. A, p. 6, 17).

Because of Amtrak's discriminatory conduct, Shiplett has been

unable to return to work from December 23, 1994 forward

Shiplett filed this lawsuit in U.S. District Court seeking

remedy from Amtrak's discriminatory and negligent conduct.

Shiplett maintained, in pertinent part, claims against Amtrak

of handicap discrimination under Title | ofthe Americans With

Disabilities Act (ADA), 42 U.S.C. §12102, ef seg. and

negligence under the Federal Employer's Liability Act (FELA),

45 U.S.C. §51. Shiplett maintained that Amtrak discriminated

against him by refusing to return him to work and rejecting his

request for reasonable accommodation on the basis of a

perceived disability in violation of the ADA. Shiplett

maintained under FELA that Amtrak negligently instructed

him to stop taking Xanax immediately, thereby causing him

physical and emotional injuries

After an eight day trial, the jury returned a general

verdict of $500,000.00 in favor of Shiplett. The district court

denied Amtrak's motion for judgment as a matter of law or in

the alternative a new trial. In a peremptory fashion, the Sixth

Circuit vacated the judgment on jury verdict, reversed the

district court's order denying Amtrak's motion for judgment as

a matter of law and entered judgment in favor of Amtrak on

each of Shiplett's claims

While the Sixth Circuit found that Amtrak regarded

Shiplett as having a disability under the ADA, it deferred to

Amtrak's judgment that Shiplett posed a direct threat to the

safety of others because he took Xanax and was thus

unqualified to perform the job of locomotive engineer. The

Sixth Circuit did not review the objective reasonableness of

Amtrak's judgment or address Amtrak's failure to make an

individualized assessment before deciding that Shiplett posed

a direct threat to the safety of others. Instead, the appellate

court stated that it would defer to Amtrak's judgment and the

views of public safety agencies because "courts have little

expertise on this issue" (App. A, p. 20)

The appellate court was dismissive of Shiplett's request

for a reasonable accommodation of reassignment to another

position. The Sixth Circuit ruled that Shiplett did not meet his

burden of showing the existence of any vacant positions for

which he was qualified) There was no consideration given as

to whether Amtrak made any efforts to assist Shiplett on his

reasonable accommodation request. (App. A, p. 21-22). The

court also rejected the FELA claim, holding that Shiplett's

complained of physical injuries did not involve "traditional

common law concepts of physical impact." (App. A, p. 26-

27)

Shiplett then filed a petition for rehearing and

suggestion for rehearing en banc. The Sixth Circuit denied the

petition for rehearing (App. B) Thus, this petition has now

been filed

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE SIXTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION THAT

PETITIONER POSED A DIRECT THREAT TO THE

SAFETY OF OTHERS UNDER THE ADA DIRECTLY

CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S DECISION IN

BRAGDON v. ABBOTT THAT COURTS CANNOT

DEFER TO THE JUDGMENTS OF HEALTH CARE

PROFESSIONALS WITHOUT ASSESSING THE

OBJECTIVE REASONABLENESS OF THE

JUDGMENTS

A.

This Court's Decision in Bragdon Requires Lower

Courts to Assess The Objective Reasonableness Of Health

Care Professionals’ Judgments Without Deferring To

Their Individual Judgments.

This Court in Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 U.S. 624 (1998)

set forth specific requirements for the lower courts to follow

in assessing whether an individual with a disability under the

ADA poses a direct threat to the safety of others.’ The

plaintiff in Bragdon was a dental patient infected with human

immunodeficiency virus (HIV) who brought an ADA action

‘While Bragdon addressed the direct threat provision under

Title Hl of the ADA, this Court held that "[p]arallel provisions

appear in the employment provisions of Title | of the ADA, 42

USC. §§12111(3), 12113(b)." Bragdon, supra at 648-649

ayvainst her dentist Dr Bragdon for refusing to treat her in his

dental office /d at 629. Dr. Bragdon claimed that in his

judgment, treating the plaintiff in his office posed a direct

threat to the health and safety of others. The lower courts

found that Bragdon raised no genuine issue of material fact to

support the judgment that plaintiff's HIV infection posed a

direct threat under the ADA_ The trial court granted and the

appellate court affirmed summary judgment in favor of the

plaintiff /d. at 629-630

In reviewing what evidence supports a direct threat to

the health or safety of others standard under the ADA, this

Court first found the ADA requires that "a significant risk to

the health or safety of others" must be shown. /d. at 648-649

This Court's decision in Bragdon established the following

standard of review

"The existence, or non-existence, of a

significant risk must be determined from the

standpoint of the person who refuses the

treatment or accommodation, and the risk

assessment must be based on medical or other

objective evidence" /d. at 649

"As a health care professional, [Bragdon| had

the duty to assess the risk of infection based

on the objective scientific information available

to him and others in his profession. His belief

that a significant risk existed, even if

maintained in good faith, would not relieve

him from liability "| /d.

10

The Bragdon opinion specifies that Dr. Bragdon

"receives no special deference simply because he is a health

care professional." /d. This Court concluded that:

“courts should assess the objective

reasonableness of the views of health care

professionals without deferring to their

individual judgments." /d. at 650.

The Bragdon decision also sets forth explicit

guidelines for the lower courts to follow in assessing the

reasonableness of a health care professional's judgment on the

issue of direct threat under the ADA. First, the views of

public health authorities, while of special weight, are not

conclusive. /d. at 650. Second, the lower court's assessment

of the "available objective evidence" must only be based on

evidence that existed at the time the defendant refused to treat

the plaintiff /d. at 650-65]

B.

The Sixth Circuit's Decision In The Case At Bar

Directly Conflicts With This Court's Decision In Bragdon.

In the case at bar, the Sixth Circuit, after finding that

Shiplett was regarded by Amtrak as having a disability

covered by the ADA, committed palpable error in deferring to

Amtrak's defense that Shiplett posed a direct threat to the

safety of others. The Sixth Circuit held, in direct contradiction

with Bragdon, as follows

"Given that the courts have little expertise on

this issue, we conclude that the only

11

reasonable course is to defer to the

determination made by Amtrak and federal

agencies charged with transportation safety

that Shiplett's use of Xanax posed a significant

risk to the safety of others." (App. A, p. 20).

The Sixth Circuit did not assess the available objective

evidence, as required by Bragdon. The appellate court

deferred to the medical views of Amtrak's medical officer, Dr.

McLean. This Court's opinion in Bragdon, expressly

precludes the lower court from engaging in such deference.

The Sixth Circuit was required to assess the objective

reasonableness of the medical evidence available at the time

Dr McLean decided that Shiplett's taking of Xanax posed a

threat to the safety of others See Bragdon, supra at 650.

The Sixth Circuit's decision to defer to the views of

federal agencies also conflicts with this Court's holding in

Bragdon that views of public health authorities are "not

conclusive".* /d. at 650. The Sixth Circuit also violated the

holding of this Court in Bragdon by relying on the views of

federal agencies that were not available at the time Amtrak's

Dr McLean made the decision that Shiplett's use of Xanax

posed a direct threat to the safety of others.

‘Four Justices of this Court give even less weight to views

of public agencies in litigation between private parties. The

dissent in Bragdon observed there is "no provision of law or

judicial practice" that would permit courts to give scientific

views more credence than others simply because they have

been endorsed by a "politically appointed public health

authority." Bragdon, 524 U.S. at 663 (REHNQUIST, C.J.,

concurring and dissenting in part).

12

aie

The Bragdon opinion states that lower courts can only

assess and place reliance on the available objective evidence at

the time the complained of decision was made. Id. at 650-

651, 653. In the case at bar, that would be the decision by

Amtrak's Dr. McLean in September, 1994 to refuse to allow

Shiplett to return to work so long as he was taking Xanax

(App. A, p. 4-6).

The views of the Federal Railroad Administration

(FRA), which the Sixth Circuit relied upon, were not made

known until December 30, 1994. (App. A., p. 9). This was

well after Amtrak made its decision that Shiplett was a direct

threat to the safety of others because of his use of Xanax

Similarly, the National Transportation Safety Board did not

contact Amtrak about Shiplett's use of Xanax until January

1995. well after Amtrak made its decision.

Accordingly and consistent with Bragdon, any views

by these public agencies cannot be relied upon by the lower

court in the case at bar. Most significantly, Bragdon

preempted the Sixth Circuit from according any "special

deference" to Dr. McLean's judgments. There were no federal

regulations or published directives from any federal agency

that required Amtrak to exclude Shiplett or any person from

employment as a locomotive engineer solely because he was

taking Xanax. Amtrak made this decision on its own. (App

E, p. 20).

The Sixth Circuit's decision is in irreconcilable conflict

with Bragdon. The legitimacy of our federal judicial system

is predicated on lower courts following decisions of this

Court. To allow otherwise would invite chaos and cause ruin

to the very fibre of our judicial system. This Court's

13

intervention is now urgently needed to protect the integrity of

federal jurisprudence.

THE ADA PROHIBITS EMPLOYERS FROM

IMPOSING REQUIREMENTS OF ITS OWN

DEVISING EXCLUDING INDIVIDUALS FROM

EMPLOYMENT IN SAFETY SENSITIVE POSITIONS

SOLELY BECAUSE THEY TAKE CERTAIN

PRESCRIPTION MEDICATION, WITHOUT

CONDUCTING AN INDIVIDUALIZED ASSESSMENT

ON WHETHER THE INDIVIDUAL POSES A DIRECT

THREAT TO THE SAFETY OF OTHERS

Amtrak refused Kurt Shiplett reemployment as a

locomotive engineer solely because he was taking the

prescription medication Xanax. Amtrak claims it excluded all

individuals who take Xanax under any circumstances from

employment as locomotive engineers or any other safety

sensitive positions, because Xanax "might" cause adverse side

effects such as impairment of alertness or coordination.

It was undisputed Xanax affects individuals differently

and Xanax can have no side effects on certain individuals.

(App. E, p. 19). Amtrak did not know if Shiplett's use of

Xanax impaired his alertness or coordination. Amtrak never

individually assessed whether Shiplett's use of Xanax actually

caused him any side effects which would pose a direct threat

to the safety of others in the performance of his job as

14

locomotive engineer. (App. E, p. 12-14, 16-18).°

Amtrak cannot demonstrate that Shiplett posed a

direct threat to the safety of others without conducting an

individualized assessment of Shiplett's ability to safely perform

the job function of locomotive engineer. This Court held in

School Board of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 287

(1987), that an "individualized inquiry" is necessary as to

whether an employee posed a direct threat to the safety of

others, in order to prevent handicap discrimination based on

prejudice, stereotypes and generalized fears. This Court in

Arline found that:

"the fact that some persons who have

contagious diseases may pose a serious health

threat to others under certain circumstances

does not justify excluding from the coverage

of the Act a// persons with actual or perceived

contagious diseases." /d. at 285.

While the Ar/ine opinion addressed provisions of the

Rehabilitation Act, Congress relied on the same statutory

language in enacting the ADA. The ADA's direct threat

provision codifies Arline. See Bragdon v. Abbott, 524 US.

624, 649 (1998). The employment provision of Title I of the

ADA define a direct threat to mean a significant risk to the

health and safety of others that cannot be eliminated by

*Shiplett was regarded by Amtrak as having a disability

under the ADA. (App. A, p. 15). Shiplett was therefore a

"qualified individual with a disability" unless Amtrak proved

its defense that Shiplett's taking Xanax posed a direct threat.

See, 42 U.S.C. §§12102 (2)(c), §12111(8).

15

reasonable accommodation. 42 U.S.C. §12111(3). An

employer can raise as a defense to a charge of handicap

discrimination that an employee poses a direct threat to the

safety of others. 42 U.S.C. §12113(a)(b).

The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

(EEOC) regulations implementing the provisions of the ADA,

set forth that:

"The determination that an individual poses a

‘direct’ threat' shall be based on = an

individualized assessment of the individual's

present ability to safely perform the essential

functions of the job." 29 C_F.R. §1630.2(r)

The legislative history to the ADA also supports the

conclusion that there must be an individualized assessment.

Congress stated in its Committee Report that decisions as to

whether an individual poses a direct threat cannot be based on

generalizations but must be based on "the facts of an

individual case." The "direct threat" determination must be

based on “actual proof of significant risk to others" and on

“Objective evidence about the individual involved." Congress

noted that an employer may not refuse to hire an individual

simply because he or she "sought treatment for a mental

disorder." H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 (III), 101st. Cong. 2d

Sess. 45-46 (1990) reprinted in 1990 U.S.C.C_AN., pp. 468-

469

Just recently, this Court in Sutton v. United Airlines,

Inc., . US. ., 119 S.Ct. 2139, 2147 (1999)

emphasized, in the context of holding that a disability is

determined with reference to corrective measures, that the

16

ADA mandated an "individualized inquiry". This Court in

Sutton criticized the EEOC's directive that persons be judged

in their uncorrected state, holding that:

"[t]he agency approach would often require

courts and employers to speculate about a

person's condition and would, in many cases,

force them to make a disability determination

based on general information about how an

uncorrected impairment usually affects

individuals, rather than on the individual's

actual condition." /d. at 2147.

This Court held that an interpretation of the ADA which does

not treat persons as "individuals" runs "contrary to both the

letter and spirit of the ADA." /d.

This Court's analysis in Sutton applies with equal force

to the “direct threat" standard of the ADA. There is no

credible reason to require an "individualized inquiry" for

determining whether an individual has a "disability" under the

ADA yet not utilize the same standard in assessing whether an

individual poses a direct threat to the safety of others.

Amtrak imposed a blanket exclusion not required by

federal or state law which prohibited Shiplett and other

individuals from employment opportunities in safety sensitive

positions. This blanket exclusion runs directly contrary to the

individualized analysis so central to the ADA.

The Sixth Circuit held that Shiplett was unqualified for

safety sensitive positions solely based on his taking Xanax.

(App. A, p. 19-20). The Sixth Circuit endorsed Amtrak's

xe

blanket exclusion, devoid of any individualized inquiry.

Amtrak's medical officer made it clear that irrespective of an

individual's medical history, job performance, Xanax dosage

or actual effect Xanax has on a particular individual, Amtrak

excluded all individuals taking Xanax from working as

locomotive engineers. (App. E, p. 12-13, 18-19).

To achieve the goals of the ADA, the law must

recognize and accommodate the widespread and successful

use of psychotropic medication in today's society. See

Guiduli, The Threat To Safety Defense Standard And The Use

Of Psychotropic Medication Under Title | Of The ADA, 144

U. Pa L. Rev. 1149, 1181 (1996). The courts should not

permit employers to utilize the direct threat provision of the

ADA as a bulletproof shield to exclude all individuals taking

prescription medication from employment opportunities in

safety sensitive positions. Undoubtedly, this is a sensitive

matter that needs to be put to rest by this Court

THERE IS CONFLICT AND CONFUSION IN THE

LOWER COURTS REGARDING AN EMPLOYEE'S

BURDEN OF PROOF AND AN’ EMPLOYER'S

AFFIRMATIVE DUTY UNDER THE REASONABLE

ACCOMMODATION PROVISIONS OF THE ADA

There is a clear conflict among the Circuit Courts of

Appeals regarding the employee's initial burden of proof on

reasonable accommodation under the ADA and when that

burden shifts to the employer to show that a reasonable effort

to accommodate was made. In the case at bar, the Sixth

Circuit imposed an unduly restrictive standard, requiring an

18

employee requesting reassignment to another position to

establish as part of the initial burden of proof that there was a

vacant position for which he or she was qualified. (App. A, p.

21-22). The Sixth Circuit's opinion followed its published

precedent setting forth this standard. /d. See, Monette v.

Llectronic Data Systems Corp., 90 F.3d 1173, 1183 (6th Cir.

1996); Smith v. Ameritech, 129 F.3d 857, 867 (6th Cir. 1997)

The Sixth Circuit is not without company in imposing

this restrictive standard. The Sth, 10th and | 1th Circuits have

held that an employee has the initial burden of identifying a

vacant position for which he or she is qualified. Employers

facing litigation in these circuits have no duty under the ADA

to engage in an interactive process to assist an employee in

identifying any vacant positions unless an employee first

identifies a vacancy. See, Willis v. Conopco, Inc., 108 F.3d

282, 285-286 (11th Cir. 1997); Moses v. American

Nonwovens, Inc., 97 F.3d 446, 448 (11th Cir. 1996); /aylor

v. Principal Financial Group, 93 F.3d 155, 165 (Sth Cir.

1996), White v. York International Corporation, 45 F.3d 357,

362-363 (10th Cir. 1995).°

The 3rd, 7th and 8th Circuits have held that an

employee requesting an accommodation of reassignment is not

required to identify a vacant position as part of the initial

burden of proof. These Circuit Courts have found that once

an employee makes a request for reassignment, an employer

°The 10th Circuit in a recent en banc decision has now

noted that an interactive process is frequently an essential

component of the statutory obligation to offer a reasonable

accommodation. See, Smith v. Midland Brake, Inc., 180 F.3d

1154, 1172, fn. 10 (10th Cir, 1999).

19

has the burden of showing that it engaged in an interactive

process and made reasonable efforts to assist in the search for

appropriate reasonable accommodations. Hendricks-

Robinson v. Excel Corp., 154 F.3d 685, 694-695 (7th Cir.

1998), Baert v. Luclid Beverage, Lid., 149 F.3d 626, 632-634

(7th Cir. 1998): /jellestad v. Pizza Hut of America, Inc., 182

F 3d 609, 617 (8th Cir. 1999); Zaylor v. Phoenixville School

District, 174 F.3d 142, 157 (3rd Cir. 1999); Mengine v.

Runyon, 114 F.3d 415, 420 (3rd Cir. 1997).

A request as straight forward as asking for continued

employment is a sufficient request for accommodation to

trigger the employer's duty under the ADA to engage in an

interactive process. The ADA then places a duty on the

employer to ascertain whether there is some job that the

employee might be able to fill. Hendricks-Robinson, supra,

Miller v. Illinois Department of Corrections, 107 F.3d 483,

486-487 (7th Cir. 1997)

In many cases, an employee will not have the ability or

resources to identify a vacant position absent participation by

the employer. Mengine, 114 F.3d at 420. The 10th Circuit in

a recent en banc decision similarly found that once an

employee asked the employer to return to work in some

Capacity, a genuine issue of material fact may be raised as to

whether the employer engaged in reasonable accommodation

under the ADA. See, Smith v. Midland Brakes, 180 F.3d

1154, 1173 (10th Cir. 1999) The 10th Circuit in Smith made

the following observation

“The employer is in the best position to know

which jobs are vacant or will become vacant

within a reasonable period of time." /d.

20

The 9th Circuit has issued seemingly conflicting

opinions on the issue of reasonable accommodation. In

Barnett v. U.S. Air, Inc., 157 F.3d 744, 749-750 (9th Cir.

1998), the Circuit Court followed the 6th and 1 1th Circuit line

of cases that an ADA plaintiff has the initial burden of

showing the existence of a vacant position that he or she could

perform. Only then does the burden shift to the employer to

make a reasonable effort at accommodation. /d. at 752-753.

Yet only two weeks earlier, the 9th Circuit held that once an

employee suggests an accommodation, the employer has a

duty to make a reasonable effort to identify an

accommodation. See, Mustafa v. Clark County School

District, 157 F.3d 1169, 1176-1177 (9th Cir. 1998).

The 2nd Circuit has employed a slightly different

standard in balancing the employee's initial burden of proof

and the employer's duty to make a reasonable effort to identify

an accommodation. The 2nd Circuit requires that the plaintiff

must merely "suggest the existence of a particular plausible

accommodation" which the defendant must then show is

unreasonable. Stone v. City of Mount Vernon, 118 F.3d 92.

98 (2nd Cir. 1997).

The letter and spirit of the ADA strongly militate in

favor of the approach taken by the 3rd, 7th and 8th Circuits.

The ADA provides that no employer shall discriminate against

a qualified individual with a disability by not making

reasonable accommodations unless the employer can

demonstrate the accommodation would impose an undue

hardship. 42 U.S.C. §12112(b)(5)(A). The ADA defines

"reasonable accommodation" to include reassignment to a

vacant position for which the employee is qualified. 42 U.S.C.

§12111(9)(B). An employer asserting the "direct threat"

21

defense of the ADA must show that the direct threat "cannot

be eliminated by reasonable accommodation." 42 U.S.C.

§§12111(3), 12113(b).

The legislative history to the ADA reflects Congress'

intent that the employer and employee shall interact with one

another to assess the availability of a reasonable

accommodation. H.R. Rep. No. 101-485 (II), 101st Cong.

2nd Sess. 65-67 (1990), reprinted 1990 U.S.C.C.A.N. pp.

348-349. The EEOC regulations similarly recognize the need

for the employer to initiate an informal interactive process

with the employee to assess the availability of a reasonable

accommodation. 29 C.F.R. §1630.2(0)(3).

There nevertheless is a deep split among the Circuit

Courts of Appeals on an employee's initial burden of showing

a reasonable accommodation and the employer's

corresponding duty to show it made reasonable efforts to

identify a reasonable accommodation. This tension is

especially pronounced where the ADA plaintiff requests an

accommodation of reassignment to another position, but is

unable to identify a specific vacancy.

In the case at bar, the Sixtn Circuit rejected Shiplett's

claim of reasonable accommodation because he did not

identify any vacant positions for which he was qualified. Even

though Shiplett had requested to return to work in another

position, the court did not place any burden on the employer

to make reasonable efforts to assess the availability of a vacant

position. The Sixth Circuit places an overly onerous burden

on ADA plaintiffs, which is in tension with decisions of other

Circuit Courts of Appeals.

22

This issue has been fully developed before the Circuit

Courts of Appeals. The conflict among the circuits is

confusing and chaotic for both employers and employees alike.

Employees and employers in different regions of the country

are subject to divergent protection and duties under the ADA.

This Court's guidance in this area is urgently needed.

IV

THERE IS CONFUSION ON WHETHER THIS

COURT'S OPINION IN GOTTSHALL PRECLUDES

ALL NEGLIGENCE CLAIMS UNDER FELA FOR

PHYSICAL AND EMOTIONAL INJURIES UNLESS

THE EMPLOYEE SUSTAINS A PHYSICAL IMPACT

BY A PHYSICAL OBJECT

Shiplett brought a claim under the Federal Employer's

Liability Act (FELA), 45 US.C. §5] alleging that Amtrak

negligently caused him physical and emotional injuries. At

trial, Shiplett presented evidence that Amtrak negligently

instructed him to Stop taking Xanax immediately and he

suffered physical injuries as a result. The physical impact,

however, was not caused by any physical object.

The Sixth Circuit concluded that the physical injuries

complained of by Shiplett did not constitute actionable injuries

under FELA. The Sixth Circuit held, relying on its en banc

decision in Szymanski v. Columbia /ransportation Co., 154

F.3d 591, 593 (6th Cir. 1998), that this Court's decision in

Consolidated Rail ( orp. v. Gottshall, §12 U.S. 532 (1994)

did not permit a FELA recovery for Shiplett's physical injuries.

The appellate court recited its position in Szymanski that

-

Gottshall should be interpreted as “encompassing traditional

23

common law concepts of physical impact." (App. A, p. 26-

27). This interpretation of Gottshall requires that an

employee must show "actual impact by a physical object or

being in the zone of danger for such an impact." Szymanski,

154 F.3d at 594.

The Gottshall opinion cannot be read that narrowly.

This Court in Gottshall was concerned that recognition of a

FELA cause of action for emotional injury, when not related

to any physical trauma, may inundate judicial resources with

a flood of trivial claims. Gottshall, 512 U.S. at 545. The

(;ottshall decision limited recovery for emotional injuries

arising in the ordinary course of employment ("too much

work") as distinguished from a situation in which a plaintiff

was given "too dangerous" work. /d. at 558.

There is no mention in Gottshall that recovery for

emotional distress caused by a railroad carrier's negligence is

limited to instances where employees suffered physical impact

by a physical object. Quite the contrary, this Court in

Gottshall cited its prior decision rejecting the argument that

FELA only covers injuries caused by accidents. /d. at 543,

cing Urie v. Thompson, 337 U.S. 163, 181 (1949).

The Sixth Circuit has grossly misinterpreted this

Court's decision in Gottshall, thereby severely and unduly

restricting a railroad employee's rights to seek a remedy for

negligent conduct in the workplace. This impacts an entire

class of railroad workers as well as workers at sea. See

Szymanski, 154 F.3d at 592 (applying the Gottshall decision

to negligence claims under the Jones Act).

There was a sharp division in the Sixth Circuit

24

regarding the application and interpretation of Gottshall. The

dissenting opinion to the en banc ruling in Szymanski correctly

stated that Gottshall did not limit recovery for negligent

infliction of physical injuries and only foreclosed negligent

infliction of emotional distress claims "for too much work as

opposed to too dangerous work." /d. at 598-599.

Other Circuit Courts have expressed uncertainty

regarding the scope of this Court's opinion in Gottshall. The

3rd and 7th Circuits were unclear over whether Gottshall

required a showing of a risk of physical harm or risk of

physical impact in the absence of actual physical impact.

Bloom v. Consolidated Rail Corporation, 4\ F.3d 911, 914-

91S (3rd Cir. 1994): Marschand v. Norfolk and Western

Railroad Co., 81 F.3d 714, 715 n.1 (7th Cir. 1996). The

Third Circuit in B/oom expressed its hope that this Court will

clarify these issues in its next FELA emotional distress case

Id. at 915

In the case at bar, Shiplett suffered a physical impact -

headaches, shakiness, insomnia and nausea- as a result of

Amtrak's negligence. Shiplett also was in fear of physical

harm-risk of seizures-as a result of Amtrak's negligent

instruction to stop taking Xanax immediately. The negligent

conduct Amtrak subjected Shiplett to falls within the rubric of

"too dangerous" work.

The time is now ripe for this Court to review and clear

up any confusion in the Circuit Courts surrounding its opinion

in Gottshall. This petition presents the appropriate vehicle to

resolve any such misconceptions. This Court's guidance is

critical to preserve the humanitarian purpose of FELA

tempered by the recognition that an employer should not be

25

made the insurer of every imagined trivial claim

CONCLUSION

There are compelling reasons raised herein for this

Court to exercise its jurisdiction and review the questions

presented in this petition. These Federal law questions

address important, real life employment concerns faced by

employees and employers alike across the nation. This

Court's guidance on these issues is critically needed. For all

the foregoing reasons, Petitioner Kurt D. Shiplett respectfully

prays that Certiorari be granted

Respectfully submitted.

Jaimie R. Goodman

Law Offices of Jaimie R. Goodman

Counsel for Petitioner

See reiantiae

Table of Appendix Contents

6TH CIRCUIT FILINGS:

Final Opinion,

snornpusiec tekusics-t CU REE Oe Oe Ta A1l-A27

Order Denying Peitition for Rehearing,

sci asd cig Oe B1-B]

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN FILINGS:

Judgment on Jury Verdict,

sn ic si using dE RP a C1-C2

Order Denying Defendant’s Motion

For Judgment As A Matter of Law

or In The Alternative, A New Trial.

oe ovo ee cn ck occ wx, D1-D2

Excerpts of Trial Proceedings:

bscs Mh . Msrinie csi dhe ee ae E1-ES

‘ica ke. Kiksinca Ae re £6-E9

Niet Rak «i E10-E21

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS:

Title 28, U.S.C. §1331, §1254 ......00 0 FI-F]

Title 42, U.S.C §12102(2)(c) .... 0.00 F2-F2

Title 42, U.S.C. §12111(3),(8)&(9) ... 00 F3-F4

Title 42, U.S.C. §12112(a),(by\(1)(5)(A) 2... F5-F5

Title 42, U.S.C. §12113(a)-(b) ............. F6-F6

Tae 5, USCS... .. F7-F7

29 CFR, §1630.2 (0)(r) ................. F8-F9

dy OO

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 24

N°. 97-2056

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

KURT D. SHIPLETT, :

Plaintiff-Appellant, | ON APPEAL from the

United States District

Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK, -

Defendants-Appellees:.

Before: KENNEDY, DAUGHTREY, and CLAY:

Circuit Judge:

MARTHA C. DAUGHTREY, Circuit Judge.

After an eight-day trial, a jury returned a

general verdict of $500,000 in favor of the plaintiff, Kurt

Shipiett, based on his claims brought under the Americans

with Disabilities Act, the Rehabilitation Act of 1973. the

Michigan Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act, and the Federal

Employer's Liability Act (FELA). The defendant, National

Railroad Passenger Corporation (Amtrak), appeals the

district court’s denial of its motion for judgment as a matter

Apdx. A - |

of law (or. in the alternative. a new trial) and the court’s

entry of judgment on the jury verdict. For the reasons

which follow, we conclude that the district court erred in

denying Amtrak’s motion, and we therefore vacate the

judgment entered below and enter judgment in favor of

defendant Amtrak.

PROCEDURAL AND FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Kurt Shiplett began his employment with

Amtrak in September 1986. In 1990, he was promoted to

the position of locomotive engineer. On September 15,

1994, while working as the locomotive engineer on a

passenger train, he overshot the stopping point on the

passenver platforms at three different stations. The first two

times, he missed the platform by one to one and one-half

car lengths, which the plaintiff and other Amtrak employees

attributed to mechanical problems. Shortly after noon,

however, Shiplett overran the third stop, in Jackson,

Michigan, by the entire length of the train, which consisted

of seven cars plus the locomotive. Although the plaintiff

continued to operate the train without incident to its

destination, his supervisor was later disciplined for allowing

him to continue after the Jackson incident. The supervisor

later testified that Shiplett said that he was tired and had

made a mistake in judgment. At the time of this incident,

the plaintiff was working as an “extra-board engineer,"

which meant that he was on-call for duty, and therefore

subject to federal regulations and collective bargaining

Apdx. A - 2

i ee Se a i

ee

EE’”-~ Ol

agreement requirements regarding the amount of time an

engineer must e given to rest between assignments.

Accordingly, Shiplett had been off duty at least 24 hours

before his shift began on September 15.

In Overshooting the Passenger platform,

Shiplett violated Amtrak’s operating rules, and was

therefore required to submit to a "reasonable Suspicion"

drug and alcohol screen, in accordance with Amtrak policy.

He tested positive for benzodiazepine, a class of drugs that

includes Xanax, a drug that Shiplett had been taking

ostensibly to alleviate a sleep disorder. However, Xanax is

a highly addictive drug, usually Prescribed for the treatment

Of anxiety and panic attacks, which. as it turned out.

Shiplett was also experiencing. Its potential side effects

include drowsiness, memory impairment. light-headedness.

and impaired coordination. Dr. Robert McLean, Amtrak’s

medical advisor, testified that the average duration of side

effects from Xanax is approximately 11.5 hours. but that the

effects can last for up to 26 hours after ingestion.

However, Dr. McLean also admitted that Xanax can have

no side effects on some individuals.

Shiplett maintained that he had been

Prescribed Xanax in 1992, at a dosage of .25 milligram at

bedtime. He had reported this Prescription on a 1992

employee form that his supervisor Saw, but which was not

sent to Dr. McLean’s office. Another medical report

resulting from an Amtrak physical examination indicated

that he was taking Xanax as carly as 199] and had been

Apdx. A - 3

advised by a Dr. Massan at that time that he was "not

allowed to operate motorized vehicle" while taking Xanax.

By 1994, he had nevertheless increased his daily dosage

from .25 to 1.0 milligram of Xanax, a four-fold increase.

Shiplett was removed from service the same

day as the overshooting incidents, which were reported the

following day to Dr. McLean. McLean was required to

determine whether the Xanax was in Shiplett’s system

"legitimately" and also to determine whether the drug might

have c’Aused Shiplett to miss three station stops on

September 15. He testified that when he spoke with

Shiplett on September 19, Shiplett told him that he had felt

extremely drowsy on September 15 and that he did not

recall overshooting the train stations. During that

conversation, Shiplett also informed Dr. McLean that during

his last physical examination, conducted on September 23,

1992, he had indicated that he was taking Xanax on

Amtrak’s medical examination form and had so advised the

Amtrak physician. Shiplett testified that Dr. McLean told

him, around September 20, that if he wanted to return to

work, he had to stop taking Xanax immediately. He further

testified that he followed that advice and suffered

headaches, shakiness, insomnia, and nausea as a result. Dr.

McLean disputed this version of events at trial, testifying

that he advised Shiplett to contact his personal physician

immediately so that he could be supervised in withdrawing

slowly from the drug over a two to three week period.

Apdx. A - 4

Shiplett. maintained at trial that an

unidentified Amtrak physician had told him that he could

take Xanax at bedtime without impairing his work as a

locomotive engineer the following day. He also testified

that he had verbally informed one or more of his

supervisors that he was taking Xanax and that they

authorized him to continue taking the medication, "as long

as it had been prescribed by a doctor." However, Dr.

Gallant, a physician who saw the plaintiff on September 27,

less than two weeks after the overshoot incident. advised

Shiplett "that he [should] refrain from ever taking this

medication" and told Shiplett that he should "talk to Dr.

McLean about getting off the Xanax slowly rather than

suddenly stopping using it."

McLean testified that the medical director’ s

office did not have copies of any of Shiplett’s physical

examinations at the time of the incidents that led to

Shiplett’s suspension, that he was unaware that Shiplett

Was taking Xanax, and that he would not have authorized

him to use the drug.

After telephoning the plaintiff's personal

physician, Dr. May, to confirm that he had prescribed

Xanax to Shiplett, Dr. McLean determined that the Xanax

found in Shiplett’s system was there ‘legitimately" and

therefore treated the September 15 drug test as a negative

result. As a result, Shiplett was not required to give a clean

urine sample within 30 days or to enter an employee

assistance program, as usually required under company

Apdx. A - 5

policy after a negative drug test result. However, Dr.

McLean concluded that the Xanax might have contributed

to Shiplett’s "significant operational error" and, on

September 22, 1994, he temporarily disqualified the

plaintiff from working as a locomotive engineer until he

discontinued the use of Xanax.

After receiving Dr. Gallant's report on his

September 27 fitness-for-duty examination of Shiplett, Dr.

McLean formally reinstated the plaintiff to his position as

locomotive engineer on the condition that he not take Xanax

or medication with similar side effects and that he report to

his supervisor whenever he felt too drowsy to work.

Shiplett testified, however, that when he spoke with Dr.

McLean after Dr. Gallant's examination to clarify whether

he should gradually discontinue the Xanax and to ask

whether he could work as a conductor or an assistant

conductor, Dr. McLean accused him of being a drug abuser

and recommended that he speak with a drug counselor.

McLean denied that this conversation ever took place.

On November 11, 1994, Shiplett’s

psychiatrist, Dr. Matossian, provided a written report to Dr.

McLean stating that he was treating the plaintiff for panic

attacks and depression and indicating the medications the

plaintiff was taking. which did not include Xanax. The

letter further stated that the plaintiff was fit to resume all of

his previous work activities. In response, Dr. McLean

determined that Shiplett could return to work without

restrictions. On November 23, 1994, the plaintiff submitted

Apdx. A - 6

ver

MC 2

as 2 ee ee ee

to a return-to-work physical in accordance with the terms of

the governing collective bargaining agreement between

Amtrak and the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers.

Shiplett’s urine tested positive for Xanax. His explanation

was that he had forgotten his new medications while on

vacation and therefore. three days before the test, had taken

some Xanax that he had with him.

Because the drug test was positive, under

Amtrak’s policy and the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement, Shiplett was required to meet one of two

requirements before returning to work: (1) provide a

negative urine sample within 30 days of the positive result:

or (2) enter Amtrak’s Employee Assistance Program within

30 days. Amtrak informed the plaintiff of these options by

letter dated November 29, 1994. Dr. McLean also called

Dr. Matossian in early December to discuss the plaintiff's

options. Shiplett did not respond to the drug notification

letter.

On December 23, 1994, Dr. Matossian sent

Amtrak a letter Stating that Shiplett would be "off work

indefinitely." On January 5, 1995, Amtrak sent the plaintiff

a formal notice that it had begun an investigation and had

scheduled a hearing regarding his violation of Amtrak rules

in failing to respond to the November 29 drug notification

letter, in accordance with the company’s labor agreements.

At some point in January, the plaintiff was hospitalized for

eight days for mental health reasons. On January 26, 1995.

Dr. McLean sent the plaintiff and Dr. Matossian a letter

Apdx. A - 7

informing them that the hearing would be indefinitely

postponed and that he had arranged for a waiver of

Amtrak’s drug policy to allow Shiplett to obtain treatment

from Dr. Matossian instead of being treated in the

company’s Employee Assistance Program. Shiplett did not

take any action in response or compliance with the

suggestions of that letter.

In early 1995, Shiplett’s wife completed an

application on his behalf for disability benefits from the

Railroad Retirement Board. The application, which was

signed by the plaintiff's father on his behalf and submitted

along with a report from Dr. Matossian, represented that

between May 1991 and September 1994, the plaintiff had

suffered from "fatigue, confused [sic], insomnia, fear of

losing control of oneself/crazy, lack of concentration, panic

attacks." The application acknowledged that Amtrak had

not medically disqualified Shiplett from working, but stated

that he had been unable to work since September 15, 1994,

because of his condition. The Railroad Retirement Board

awarded him monthly benefits, and Amtrak transferred him

to a disability retirement status, both effective as of

September 15, 1994.

On April 6, 1995, Amtrak sent Shiplett a

letter explaining the process of requesting a reasonable

accommodation, specifically detailing the necessity for

documentation of his disability prepared by his physician

along with specifications regarding restrictions or limitations

on his activities. Shiplett did not respond to that letter and

Apdx. A - 8

NE

later testified that he was unable at that point to return to

Work or respond to the letter. Dr. McLean spoke to the

: plaintiff again on July 11, 1995, at which time the plaintiff

i Stated that he was only interested in the position of

locomotive engineer and that he would "drop his

discrimination charges against Amtrak if it would drop the

charges against him." Shiplett claimed that he orally asked

Dr. McLean towards the end of the September 1994

Whether he tould work as a conductor or assistant

conductor. Dr. McLean had no recollection of that

conversation.

Two federal agencies were also involved in

Shiplett’s situation. Dr. McLean had Previously testified

before the National Transportation Safety Board, after a

serious accident in late 1992, that Amtrak did not allow

engineers to operate trains while taking Xanax. The Board

later made a specific recommendation that Amtrak develop

programs to ensure that engineers would not take drugs

such as benzodiazepines and barbiturates. Upon being

contacted by Shiplett, who was asking about the

permissibility of using Xanax, the senior toxicologist at the

Board called Dr. McLean to reiterate the Board’s position

that Amtrak should not permit engineers to use Xanax

because the side effects could last 10-14 hours. The

Federal Railway Administration also investigated the

Shiplett matter in response to a Congressional request. On

December 30, 1994. the Administration issued a letter

concluding that Dr. McLean’s actions were consistent with

Apdx. A - 9

49 C.F.R. Part 219.103, which “requires medical officers to

ensure that medications used by employees are consistent

with the safe performance of the employee's duties."

On February 20, 1995, the plaintiff filed a

claim of disability discrimination with the EEOC. When

the f:OC found no reasonable basis to support it and

issued a right-to-sue letter, Shiplett then field this action

avainst Amtrak, alleging that Amtrak had discriminated

avainst him on the basis of a disability or perceived

disability. in violation of the Americans with Disabilities

Act. 42 U.S.C. &$ 12101 etseg.. the Rehabilitation Act of

1973. 29 U.S.C. §§& 794, et_seg.. and the Michigan

Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act. Mich. Comp. Laws Ann.

37.1101. et_seg.” He also alleged that Amtrak had

discriminated ayainst him tn retaliation for his allegations of

discrimination, in violation of § 602(a) of the Michigan

Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act. His third claim alleged

that Amtrak negligently caused him physical and emotional

injuries. thereby violating the FELA, 45 U.S.C. §§ 51 et

seq.

In addition to the evidence discussed above,

Shiplett also presented evidence that he sustained losses of

$60.000 ner year in lost wages, which totaled $180,000 at

the time of trial. He calculated future lost wages at $1.5

In 1998. after the plaintiff filed this action, the

Michigan state legislature changed the name of this statute

to "Persons with Disabilities Civil Rights Act.”

Apdx. A - 10

ee

million and lost benefits as $166,000. Amtrak did not

present evidence on economic damages. At the close of the

plaintiff's case, Amtrak moved for judgment as a matter of

law on all claims. The district court denied that motion.

Following a charge conference that was not transcribed, the

trial judge instructed the jury. In doing so, he declined to

vive five instructions requested by Amtrak and also declined

to use special verdict forms that had been submitted both

parties. relying instead on 4 general verdict form that did

not separately reference the plaintiff's individual claims.

The jury returned a general verdict in favor of the plaintiff

and awarded damages of $500.QQ0. Amtrak made a timely

post-trial motion on judgment as a matter of law. or in the

alternative, a new trial. Which the district court denied.

This appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

Disability Discrimfination Claim

Amtrak contends that the district court erred

in denying its motion for judgment as a matter of law on

the plaintiff's disability discrimination claims. retaliation

claim, and FELA claim. We review de novo the disposition

ee Mtn

Such a judgment may be rendered only when no reasonable

Apdx. A - II

.

weigh the evidence, evaluate the credibility of the witnesses,

or substitute our judgment for that of the jury. See K&T

Enters. Inc. vs. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d 171, 175-76 (6th

Cir. 1996). Instead, we are required to view the evidence

in the light most favorable to the non-moving party and

give that party the benefit of all reasonable inferences. See

id. at 176. We will reverse a district court’s denial of such

a motion only if reasonable minds could not come to a

conclusion other than one in favor of the movant. See id.

The plaintiff's disability discrimination claim

is brought under the Americans with Disabilities Act, 42

U.S.C. §§ 12101, et_seg., the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

29 U.S.C. §§ 794, et_seg., and the statute then known as

the Michigan Handicappers’ Civil Rights Act, Mich. Comp.

Laws Ann. §§ 37.1101, et_seg. By statute, the standards

governing ADA cases also apply to Rehabilitation Act cases

alleging employment discrimination. See McPherson _v.

Michigan High Sch. Athletic Ass’n., Inc., 119 F.3d 453,

460 (6th Cir. 1997) (en banc)(explaining that principle

distinction between the two statutes is that coverage under

the Rehabilitation Act is limited to entities receiving federal

financial assistance, while ADA’s reach extends to purely

private entities); Burns v. City of Columbus, 91 F.3d 836,

842 (6th Cir. 1996)(citing 29 U.S.C. § 794(d)). Similarly,

resolution of the federal disability claims generally will also

resolve claims raised under the Michigan statute, which

essentially tracks federal law. See Cassidy v. Detroit

Edison Company, 138 F.3d 629, 634 n.3 (6th Cir.

Apdx. A - 12

a

Hao SE ha aa a i

1998)(citing Monette v. Electronic Data Sys. Corp.. 90 F.3d

1173, 1178 n.3 (6th Cir. 1996), and Ashworth v. Jefferson

Screw Products, Inc.. 440 N.W.2d 101, 104-05 (Mich. Ct.

App. 1989)).

The ADA mandates in relevant part that:

No covered entity s hall discriminate against a

qualified individual with a disability because of the

disability of such individual in regard to job

application procedures. the hiring, advancement, or

discharge of employees, employee compensation, job

training, and other terms. conditions, and privileges

of employment.

4Z UBC. § 12112(a)(1994). Under the ADA and the

Rehabilitation Act, a plaintiff may prove that he was

discriminated against based upon his disability either

through direct evidence or indirect evidence. See Monette.

90 F.3d at 1178. The latter method involves the burden-

shifting approach first articulated in McDonnel Douglas

Corp. v. Green, 41] U.S. 792, 802-03 (1973). Because

Shiplett has presented no direct evidence that he was

discriminated against because of a disability or a perceived

disability, he can rely only on indirect evidence.

To recover on a claim of discrimination

brought under the ADA or the Rehabilitation Act using

indirect evidence, an employee must first make out a prima

facie case of discrimination by establishing that (1) he was

Or was perceived to be handicapped within the definitions

Apdx. A - 13

of each of the acts; (2) he was otherwise qualified to

perform the essential functions of the job, with or without

reasonable accommodation: (3) he suffered an adverse

employment decision; (4) the employer knew or had reason

to know of the plaintiff's disability; and (5) the employer

replaced him. See Monette, 90 F.3d at 1186. Under the

Rehabilitation Act, the plaintiff must also show that Amtrak

receives federal funds. See id. at 1178 n.4.

If the plaintiff successfully establishes a

prima facie case, that creates a mandatory presumption of

discrimination and the burden shifts to the employer to

proffer a legitimate, non-discriminatory reason for

discharging the employee. See Smith v. Chrysler Corp.,

155 F.3d 7799, 805 (6th Cir. 1998). If the defendant shows

a non-discriminatory reason, the mandatory presumption

becomes a permissive inference, and the burden shifts back

to the plaintiff to show by a preponderance of the evidence

that the employer's proffered reason for discharge was

actually a pretext intended to hide unlawful discrimination.

See id.

On appeal. Amtrak disputes that Shiplett has

met his burden with respect to the first two elements of his

prima facie case. In order to recover on his disability

discrimination claim, Shiplett must first establish as part of

his prima facie case that he was or was perceived to be

handicapped within the definitions of each of the acts, at the

time of Amtrak’s allegedly discriminatory act. An

employee can prove he has a disability by showing he has

Apdx. A - 14

+ ee

a physical or mental impairment that substantially limits one

or more major life activities, that he had a record of such

an impairment, or that he was perceived as having such an

impairment. 42 U.S.C. § 12102(2).

Shiplett’s complaint alleged that Amtrak

discriminated against him because the company regarded

him as having a disability or because he had a disability.

However, at trial Shiplett maintained that he was not

disabled from September 15, 1994. through mid-December

1994, but that Amtrak regarded him as having a disability

during that time.

The applicable regulations provide three ways

in which a plaintiff can show that he is "regarded" as

having a disability:

(1) The individual may have an impairment which

is not substantially limiting but is perceived by the

employer ... as constituting a substantially limiting

impairment;

(2) the individual may have an impairment which

is only substantially limiting because of the attitudes

of others toward the impairment: or

(3) the individual may have no impairment at all

but is regarded by the employer ... as having a

substantially limiting impairment.

29 C.F.R. App. § 1630.2(1). As we have previously

explained, to prevail on a "regarded as" disabled

discrimination claim, a "plaintiff must show that the

perceived impairment is a substantial limitation on a major

Apdx. A - 15

life activity.” Kocsis v. Multi-Care Management, Inc., 97

F.3d 876, 885 (6th Cir. 1996). The term "substantially

limits’ means an inability to perform or a significant

restriction on the ability to perform as compared to the

average person in the general population." Cassidy v.

Detroit Edison Co.. 138 F.3d 629, 633 (6th Cir.

1998)(citing 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2G)(1)). "Major life

activities’ include “functions such as caring for oneself,

performing manual tasks. walking, seeing. hearing,

speaking, breathing, learning, and working.” Id. (quoting

29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(1)).

Shiplett argues that the evidence was

sufficient for a reasonable jury to find that the defendant

regarded or "perceived" him as having a_ substantially

limiting disability -- specifically drug addiction and mental

illness. The ADA provides protection for employees who

are erroneously regarded as being current illegal drug users.

See 42 USC. § 12114(b)(3)(excluding — erroneous

perception of illegal drug use from being disallowed as a

disability under § 12114(a)): Buckley v. Consol. Edison Co.

of New York, Inc.. 127 F.3d 270, 273 (2d Cir.

1997\(stating that committee reports in the ADA’s

legislative history make clear that ""[i]n removing protection

for persons who currently use illegal drugs, the Committee

does not intend to afiect coverage for individuals who have

a past drug problem or are erroneously perceived as having

a current drug problem’")(quoting H.R. Rep. No. 101-

485(11), at 77 (1990)), vacated en banc on other grounds,

Apdx. A - 16

———————————————————

135 F.3d 150 (2d Cir. 1998): Collings v. Longview Fibre

Co., 63 F.3d 828, 831-32 (9th Cir. 1995)(stating that the

ADA protects "individuals who are erroneously regarded as

using drugs when in fact they are not")(citing § 121 14(b)).

Although Shiplett presented evidence at trial that Dr.

McLean made statements indicating his perception that

Shiplett was "mentally unstable" and addicted to the

prescription drug Xanax, he was also required to show that

Amtrak believed that the perceived mental instability and

drug addiction were severe enough to substantially limit one

or more of his major life activities. Shiplett has not

explicitly stated what major life activities Amtrak regarded

as substantially limited by these perceived impairments,

although his contention seems to be that Amtrak regarded

his ability to perform his duties as an engineer, and perhaps

a conductor, a position that he testified that he requested as

an accommodation, as being substantially limited.

Several circuits have held that "an employer

does not necessarily regard an employee as handicapped

simply by finding the employee to be incapable of

satisfying the singular demands of a particular job." Byrne

\. Board of Education. 979 F.2d 560. 567 (7th Cir.

1992\(quoting Forrisi v. Bowen. 794 F.2d 931, 934 (4th

Cir. 1986)), cited with approval in Kocsis. 97 F.3d at 885.

Indeed. the applicable regulations provide that "[t]he

inability to perform a single, particular job does not

constitute a substantial limitation in the major activity of

working.” 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)(i); see also Sutton v.

Apdx. A - 17

United Air Lines, Inc., 130 F.3d 893, 904 (10th Cir.

1997)(citing 29 C.F.R. § 1630.2(j)(3)G)), cert. granted, 119

S.Ct. 790 (1999). Rather, in order to establish a disability

under the "regarded as" prong of the ADA with respect to

the major life activity of working, the plaintiff must show

that his employer regarded him as having an impairment

that creates a "significant|] restrict{ion] in the ability to

perform either a class of jobs or a broad range of jobs in

various classes as compared to the average person having

comparable training, skills and abilities." 29 C.FLR. §

1630.2())(3)Q); see also Sutton, 130 F.3d at 904 (quoting 29

C.b.R. § 1630.(2)G)(3)G)); Bolton v. Scrivner, Inc., 36 F.3d

939, 942 (10th Cir. 1994)(same). A "class of jobs" is

defined as "[t]he job from which the individual has been

disqualified because of an impairment, and the number and

types of jobs utilizing similar training, knowledge, skills or

abilities, within that geographical area, from which the

individual is also disqualified because of the impairment."

29 CLELR. § 1630.2(j)(3)(1)(B); see also Sutton, 130 F.3d at

904 (quoting 29 C.FLR. § 1630.24)(3)0i)(B)). Applying

this law to Shiplett's case and drawing all reasonable

inferences in his favor, we conclude that he has established

that Amtrak regarded him as having a disability that

substanually limited the major life activity of work, because

the evidence suggests that McLean thought he was

substantially limited in his ability to perform any of a broad

range of safety-sensitive jobs.

Apdx. A - 18

ee

Thus, we must consider whether Shiplett

established that he was "otherwise qualified" to perform the

essential functions of the locomotive engineering job, in

satisfaction of the second element of his prima facie case.

A “qualified individual with a disability" within the

meaning of §12112(a) is defined as "an individual with a

disability who, with or without reasonable accommodation,

can perform the essential functions of the employment

position that such individual holds or desires." 42 U.S.C.

§ 12111(8). "A disabled individual, however. is not

‘qualified’ for a specific employment position if he or she

poses a ‘direct threat’ to the health or safety of others

Which cannot be © eliminated by a reasonable

accommodation." Mauro v. Borgess Medical Center. 137

"3d 398, 402 (6th Cir. 1998)(citing 42 U.S.C. § 12111(3)

and Doe v. University of Maryland Medical System Corp..,

50 F.3d 1261, 1265 (4th Cir. 1995)). Furthermore. the

“direct threat" standard applied in the Americans With

Disabilities Act is based on the same standard as ‘significant

risk” applied by the Rehabilitation Act." Id. (citing HLR.

Rep.No. 101-485, pt. 3 at 45 (1990). reprinted in 1990

U.S.C.C.A.N. 445, 468; University of Md., 50 F.3d at 1265

N.9: and Doe v. District of Columbia, 796 F.Supp. 559, 567

n. 11 (D.D.C. 1992)).

Therefore, the analysis under each statute

requires consideration of whether Shiplett’s working as a

locomotive engineer while regularly using Xanax created a

direct threat or significant risk to the health or safely of

Apdx. A - 19

others. Dr. Mclean, the National Transportation Safety

Board. and the Federal Railway Administration all believe

that the potential side effects caused by the use of Xanax

pose too significant of a risk to the safety of the operation

of a train to justify its use. Given that the courts have little

expertise on this issue, we conclude that the only reasonable

course is to defer to the determination made by Amtrak and

federal agencies charged with transportation safety that

Shiplett’s use of Xanax posed a significant risk to the safety

of others.

It follows that the plaintiff, as a non-qualified

individual, could not perform an essential function of his

job. namely, operating a train — safely, without

accommodation. But it also appears that his employer

could not "reasonably accommodate" the plaintiff to enable

him to perform “the essential functions” of the job in

question. School Bd. of Nassau County v. Arline, 480 U.S.

287-88 n. 17 (1987p(quoting 45 C.F.R. § 84.3(k)(1985)):

accord Doe v. DeKalb County School District, 145 F.3d

1441. 1446 (11th Cir. 1998). Shiplett has not suggested,

nor can we think of, any reasonable accommodation could

be made that would qualify him to perform his duties as a

locomotive engineer in spite of the possibility of drowsiness

and other potential adverse side effects that accompany the

1 errr eneereertreeenee ere nee ecererreenmane

use of Xanax. He merely argues that it was unreasonable

for Amtrak to refuse to allow him to work while taking

Xanax. His only suggested accommodation was to request

placement as a conductor. Although Amtrak does not recall

Apdx. A - 20

or have record of that request, it argues now it would have

precluded Shiplett from that position as well, because it was

also a safety-sensitive position. Shiplett himself testified

that the job of conductor required supervision over the

coaches, including, in the case of an emergency, evacuating

the passengers. Accordingly, we conclude that the plaintiff

cannot prevail on his discrimination claim as a matter of

law, because he failed to show that he can perform the

essential functions of his job with or without

accommodation.

Furthermore, Shiplett bears the initial burden

of establishing that the accommodation he sought was

"objectively reasonable," which includes showing that there

was an open conductor position. Monette v. Electronic

Data Systems Corp., 90 F.3d 1173. 1183 (6th Cir. 1996):

see also Smith v. Ameritech, 129 F.3d 857. 867 (6th Cir.

1997). "In some cases, reasonable accommodation under

the ADA may include ’job restructuring’ or “reassignment

to a vacant position."". Smith, 129 F.3d at 867 (citing 42

U.S.C. § 12111(9)(b) and 29 C.F.R. §1630.2(0)(2)(ii)).

Nonetheless, "the ADA does not require an employer to

reassign an employee to a position that is not vacant." Id.

(citing White v. York Int’l Corp., 45 F.3d 357. 362 (10th

Cir. 1995)). Nor does the ADA require that an employer

restructure the company to create a position for an

employee "in a manner which would usurp the legitimate

rights of other employees in a collective bargaining

agreement." Jasany v. United States Postal Service. 755

Apdx. A - 2]

F.2d 1244, 1251-52 (6th Cir. 1985). Shiplett did not

present evidence on any of theSe issues. Thus, without

evidence that there was an opening for a conductor, the

plaintiff's requested accommodation, if it could be proven,

would not be objectively reasonable. See Smith, 129 F3d

at 867.

In sum, Amtrak’s only condition upon

Shiplett’s working as a locomotive engineer was that he not

use Xanax. Shiplett told the company that he would

comply with the directive and obtained prescriptions with a

different drug to treat his sleeping problems, yet tested

positive for Xanax on his return-to-work drug test. After

that. he could have returned to work simply by providing a

urine sample that tested negative for Xanax, but he did not

do so. Indeed, at no time did Shiplett present a urine

sample showing that he was_not using Xanax. Accordingly,

he was not “otherwise qualified" for the locomotive

engineering position which he had previously held.’

Furthermore, Shiplett did not meet his burden of showing

that his suggested accommodation of being placed as a

conductor was objectively reasonable. We _ therefore

"Even if we were to conclude that Shiplett was

“otherwise qualified" for the position at issue despite his use

of Xanax, his continued use of the drug constitutes a

legitimate non-discriminatory reason for Amtrak’s decision

to temporarily preclude him from working in this position.

There is no evidence that this proffered reason is pretextual.

Apdx. A - 22

conclude that Shiplett was not otherwise qualified for the

position at issue.

B. Retaliation Claim

Shiplett’s recaliatory discrimination claim is

brought under § 602(a) of the Michigan Handicappers’ Civil

Rights Act, Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. §§ 37.1101 et seq.

(West 1985). Section 602(a) provides as follows: "A

person or 2 or more persons shall not: (a) Retaliate or

discriminate against a person because the person has

opposed a violation of this act, or because the person had

made a charge, filed a complaint, testified, assisted. or

participated in an investigation, proceeding, or hearing

under this act.". Mich. Comp. Laws Ann. § 37.1602(a)

(West 1985). This language tracks the language used in the

ADA. Thus, cases discussing the standards for an ADA

retaliation claim are also applicable to a retaliation claim

under the Michigan statute. See Monette, 90 F.3d at 1178

n.3.

A plaintiff makes a prima facie case of

retaliation under the ADA and, thus, the parallel Michigan

Act, by showing that: (1) he engaged in protected activity:

(2) the exercise of his civil rights was known by the

defendant; (3) that defendant thereafter took adverse

employment action; and (4) a causal connection exists

between the protected activity and the adverse employment

action. See Walborn v._ Erie County Care Facility. 150

“3d 584, 588-89 (6th Cir. 1998).

Apdx. A - 23

Amtrak contends, correctly we conclude, that

Shiplett has not shown that he was subjected to any adverse

employment action. Shiplett testified that he first made

complaints of discrimination against Amtrak around late

November or early December of 1994. Dr. McLean had

cleared the plaintiff to return to his position as locomotive

engineer in mid-November 1994, and Shiplett was merely

required to submit to a return-to-work physical, which was

required by the terms of the governing collective bargaining

agreement between Amtrak and the Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers, in order to return to work. On

November 23, 1994, the plaintiff was given such a physical

and again tested positive for Xanax. He was therefore not

allowed to return to work. Shiplett needed only to submit

a clean urine sample within 30 days of that positive drug

test to regain his position as locomotive engineer. He failed

to do so. From the time of the September 15 overshooting

incidents, Amtrak’s only condition on Shiplett’s return to

work was that he discontinue using Xanax for safety

reasons. This was merely a condition for working in that

safety-sensitive position, and not an adverse employment

action.

Despite the fact that the result of Amtrak’s

condition was that the plaintiff did not work for an

extended period of time and, accordingly, did not receive

wages, that outcome was the result of his own behavior.

Employers in a variety of industries that involve safety-

sensitive positions require, implicitly or explicitly, that

Apdx. A - 24

workers arrive for work every day unimpaired by any

substances that may affect their ability to perform their jobs

safely. This requirement does not constitute an adverse

employment action.

It follows that the plaintiff's retaliation claim

also fails sa a matter of law.

C. FELA Claim

Shiplett also brings a negligence claim under

the FELA, alleging that Amtrak negligently caused him

physical and emotional injuries. The Supreme Court

recently clarified the standard for recovering for negligent

infliction of emotional distress under the FELA in

Consolidated Rail Corp. v. Gottshall, 512 U.S. 532 (1994),

In Gottshall, the Court considered two claims for negligent

infliction of emotional distress. First, it considered the

claim of Carlisle, a plaintiff who had worked for the

railroad as a train dispatcher for several years before

suffering a nervous breakdown and other injuries due to

overwork. See id. at 539-40. Second, the Court considered

Gottshall’s claim that the railroad was responsible for the

major depression and post-traumatic stress disorder he

suffered after witnessing a co-worker have a heart attack

and die while working. See id. at 536-37. As we have

previously noted, "the Gottshall Court adopted the common

law ‘zone of danger’ test to determine who may recover for

negligent infliction of emotional distress under the FELA.

Apdx. A - 25

The zone of danger test limits recovery for emotional injury

to those plaintiffs who sustain physical impact as a result of

a defendant’s negligent conduct or who are placed in

io

immediate risk of physical harm by that conduct. Id."

Szymanski v. Columbia Transportation Co., 154 F.3d 591,

593 (6th Cir. 1998)(en banc)(citation to Gottshall, 512 U.S.

at 554-57, omitted). In Metro-North Commuter R.R. Co. v.

Buckley, 521 U.S. 424 (1997), "the Supreme Court

emphasized its adherence to the Gottshall holding in

reiterating the reasons ‘common law courts have restricted

recovery for emotional harm to cases falling within rather

narrowly defined categories....". Szymanski, 154 F.3d at

594 (quoting Metro-North, 521 U.S. at 433).

The plaintiff argues in his appellate brief that

he introduced the following evidence at trial supporting

several grounds of liability under the FELA: (1) he

followed Dr. McLean's instructions to stop taking Xanax

immediately, and suffered physical injuries as a result; and

(2) Amtrak refused to return Shiplett to work without

examining him to see whether Xanax impaired his ability to

perform his job responsibilities, which caused him physical

injuries. During trial, the plaintiff also argued that

Amtrak’s negligence was responsible for his emotional

breakdown. In Metro-North. the Supreme Court listed

examples of cases cited in Gottshall in support of its narrow

"zone of danger" test. See Metro-North, 521 U.S. at 430-

31. It is clear that those cases all envision an actual.

immediate "physical impact," such as a car accident. In

Apdx. A - 26

Szymanski, we reviewed cases in which courts rejected

claims under the FELA for work-induced physical injuries

such as depression, headaches, and weight loss, as well as

intangible workplace physical threats such as carcinogenic

substances, and concluded that a work-induced heart attack

did not create liability under the FELA. Szymanski. 154

F.3d at 594-95. The Szymanski court took the position that

those cases reinforced its interpretation of Gottshall as

encompassing traditional common law concepts of physical

impact. See id. In light of the governing case law, we can

only conclude that the injuries of which Shiplett complains

do not constitute actionable injuries under the FELA.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the

district court’s order denying defendant’s motion for

judgment as a matter of law and. accordingly, enter

judgment for Amtrak on each of the plaintiff's claims.

tl

a |

Apdx. A -

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK,

Defendant-Appellant.

KURT D. SHIPLETT, )

Plaintiff-Appellee, ) =

yye

v. ) Tsk ad

NATIONAL RAILROAD ) | g2"lae

)

)

BEFORE: KENNEDY, DAUGHTREY, and CLAY,

Circuit 'edaes

The court having received a petition for rehearing en

banc, and the petition having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of this

court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote on the

suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for rehearing has

been referred to the original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the case.

Accordingly, the petition is denied

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

/s/_ Leonard Green,

Leonard Green, Clerk

Apdx. B - |

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISIGN

KURT D. SHIPLETT,

Plaintiff, Case No. 96-71467

v. Hon.: Horace W.

Gilmore

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK,

Defendant.

a /

JAIMIE R. GOODMAN (P34769)

\ttorney for Plaintiff

the Ford Building

615 Griswold, Suite 1805

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 965-5123

Cathleen Giannetta, Esq.

\ttorney for Defendant

National Railroad Passenger

Corporation ("Amtrak")

233 Broadway, 34th Floor

New York, N.Y. 10279

JUDGMENT ON JURY VERDICT

At a session of said Court held

in the U.S. Courthouse in Detroit.

Michigan on September 24, 1997

Present: Honorable Horace W. Gilmore

District Court Judge

Apdx. C - |

This action came on for trial before the Court upon a jury

trial, the issues having been duly tried and the jury having duly

rendered its verdict on July 23, 1997:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, that

Judgment ts hereby entered in favor of Plaintiff Kurt D. Shiplett

and Plaintiff shall recover from Defendant, the sum of Five

Hundred Thousand Dollars ($500,000.00) along with interest

thereon and taxable costs as allowed by law.

Horace W. Gilmore

District Court Judge

Apdx. C - 2

iaoeeeererereeerrreneeeimreeeiimeieeninemainiiliil

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

KURT D. SHIPLETT,

Plaintiff, Case No. 96-71467

v. Hon.: Horace W.

Gilmore

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK,

Defendant.

/

JAIMIE R. GOODMAN (P34769)

Attorney for Plaintiff

The Ford Building

615 Griswold, Suite 1805

Detroit, Michigan 48226

(313) 965-5123

Cathleen Giannetta, Esq.

Attorney for Defendant

National Railroad Passenger

Corporation ("Amtrak")

233 Broadway, 34th Floor

New York, N.Y. 10279

ORD"™R DENYING DEFENDANT’S MOTION FOR

JULGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW OR IN THE

ALTERNATIVE. \ NEW TRIAL

At a session of said Court held

in the U.S. Courthouse in Detroit.

Michigan on September 24, 1997

Present: Honorable Horace W. Gilmore

District Court Judge

Apdx. D - |

[he matter having come on for hearing on September 24,

1997 on Detendant’'s Motion for Judgment As a Matter of Law

Or In the Alternative. A New Trial. the Court have considered

the briefs, heard oral argument and being otherwise fully advised

in the premises:

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED, for the reasons set forth on

the record, that Detendant s Motion for Judgment As a Matter of

Law is DENIED and that Defendant's Motien for a New Trial is

DENIED

Horace W. Gilmore

District Court Judge

Apdx. D - 2

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

KURT D. SHIPLETT,

Plaintiff-Appellee, Case No. 96-71467

¥. Hon.: Horace W.

Gilmore

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK,

Defendant-Appellant.

VOLUME 3

TRIAL

Proceedings had and testimony taken in the above-

entitled matter before HONORABLE HORACE W. GILMORE.

District Judge, United States District Court, Detroit, Michigan, on

Thursday, July 10th, 1997,

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIFF: Jaimie R. Goodman, Esq.

FOR THE DEFENDANT: Cathleen Giannetta, Esq.

COURT REPORTER: Joan L. Morgan, CSR

Official Court Reporter

Apdx. E - |

[I:xcerpted p. 50, line 4-25; p.S1, line 1-19]

VIKEN MATOSSIAN, M.D.

having been duly sworn, testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. GOODMAN:

@)

Good morning.

Good morning.

Doctor, would you state your full name for the record

please?

Viken Matossian.

And would you tell the jury your occupation?

I'm a psychiatrist

Are you an M.D.?

Medical doctor.

\nd where is your practice located?

In Howell, Michigan.

And you specialize in psychiatry, then?

Yes

\nd do you specialize in a specific area of psychiatry?

| have several board certificates in adult psychiatry and

child-adolescent psychiatry. And I would say that in the

past five years | have concentrated) primarily tn

psychotropic medication and their effects

When you say your have concentrated on psychotropic

medication?

Yes.

What do you mean by that?

Apdx. k - 2

()

().

().

A very large part of my day is spent: examining

individuals for medication effects, and supervising

psychotherapy combined with medications.

Okay. And is that what a large part of your practice

consists of today?

Yes

Where do you practice?

In Howell, Michigan.

And so you are licensed in the state of Michigan to

practice medicine?

Yes.

Where did you graduate from medical school?

Washington University in St. Louis.

[Excerpted p. 54, line 3-12]

Did you assist Mr. Shiplett in any way with his

communications with Amtrak in trying to return to work?

| believe | spoke to Dr. McLean on two occasions who,

as T understood it, was a physician responsible for

overseeing the medical health of the locomotive

Operators.

Was it your understanding that Mr. McLean was

Amtrak's medical officer?

Yes, sir.

[Excerpted p.54, line 21-23; |

Did you ever indicate to Dr. Mclean your thoughts as to

Whether Mr. Shiplett should be allowed to work while

taking Xanax?

Q.

[Excerpted p.55, line 1-25]

It is my opinion that there was no basis for taking him

off of work, simply due to the status of being treated

with Xanax and the way he had been.

Okay. It that why you indicated to Dr. McLean?

Yes, it was.

Why is that your opinion?

There can be variable responses to medication, but

statistically, there’s a small chance of impairment with

Xanax. In Kurt's case, in particularly, | could detect and

Kurt had no complaints of any kind of impairment in

sedation or memory, or tension when he was taking the

Xanax.

Additionally | would like to comment, Mr. Shiplett was

on a constant dose of one milligram to take it at night.

Daily doses of Xanax, under one milligram have been

studied carefully, and repeatedly, for effects on working

memory, attention, and sedation. None of those studies

found any significant impairment in a dosage with

chronic use of Xanax.

[Excerpted p.62, line 6-22

In terms of fully relating the significant events, did Mr.

Shiplett ever indicate to you, Doctor, whether Amtrak's

medical doctor, Mr. McLean, told him to stop taking

Xanax cold turkey?

Yes, he did say that.

If. in tact. Dr. McLean told Kurt Shiplett to stop taking

Xanax cold turkey. do you believe that was responsible

Apdx. E - 4

or irresponsible on the part of Dr. McLean?

| was shocked to the point that I actually didn’t give it

absolutely any credence. It seemed so unpredicted. It

was hard for me to ignore that a physician would make

such a recommendation. Stopping Xanax abruptly after

a long-term administration runs the risk of severe

complications including seizures and possibly even death.

Apdx. E - 5

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT |

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

KURT D. SHIPLETT,

Plaintiff-Appellee, Case No. 96-71467

v. Hon.: Horace W.

Gilmore

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

D/B/A AMTRAK,

Defendant-Appellant.

VOLUME 4

TRIAL

Proceedings had and testimony taken in the above-

entitled matter before HONORABLE HORACE W. GILMORE,

District Judge, United States District Court, Detroit, Michigan, on

Phursday, July 14th, 1997.

APPEARANCES:

FOR THE PLAINTIFF: Jaimie R. Goodman, Esq.

FOR THE DEFENDANT: Cathleen Giannetta, Esq.

COURT REPORTER: Joan L. Morgan, CSR

Official Court Reporter

Apdx. E - 6

[Excerpted p. 3, line 21-25]

KURT D. SHIPLETT

having been called as a witness herein, and after having been first

duly sworn to tell the truth, the whole truth, and nothing but the

truth, was examined and testified as follows:

Q.

[excerpted p. 33, line 2-8]

Mr. Shiplett, did you continue to take Xanax from the

time it was prescribed to you in 1992, until September

15, 1994?

That is correct.

Okay. And did you always take it as the doctors

prescribed it to you?

Yes, sir.

[Excerpted p. 34, line 7-25; p. 35, line 1-25]

But at least up until September 15, 1994, you were

regularly taking Xanax at one milligram?

[hat is correct.

Did you ever take more than one milligram of Xanax any

time between June of 1993 and September 15, 1994?

No, sir.

Did you ever take Xanax while on the job?

No.

Did you ever take Xanax two or three hours before

reporting to work?

No, sir.

Did you ever take Xanax when you were subject to duty?

No, Sir.

Apdx. E - 7

Q.

Q.

().

And when you would get off work, how many hours do

you understand before you would have to veport to work

again?

A minimum of eight to ten hours, depending on how

many hours | had worked.

And how many hours of sleep would you try to get

before reporting to work?

As many as | could, at least to eight as possible. Like |

said, it depended -- a lot depended on the scheduling, but

| always took the Xanax immediately going off duty to

make sure | was rested prior to going back on duty.

Was it your practice to take Xanax at least eight hours

before you had to return to work?

That is correct.

From the time you took Xanax to help you sleep in June

of 1992, up to September 15, 1994, how did the Xanax

make you feel? Did it affect you in any way?

It just helped me sleep. Other than that, no.

Did it make vou drowsy the next day when you woke

up?

No.

Did it impair your coordination in any way?

No.

In your judgment, Mr. Shiplett, did it affect your ability

in any way to safely navigate a locomotive engine?

It helped my ability because | got a good night's sleep.

[Excerpted p. 41, line 3-15]

Now, during the time that you were taking the Xanax,

Were you performing your job responsibilities as a

locomotive engineer safely?

That is correct.

Apdx. E - 8

Q,

Q.

Q.

While you were taking Xanax as prescribed to you at

bedtime, did you receive any feedback from Amtrak as

to your safety performance on the Xanax?

Prior to 1994?

Yes.

Yes, | did.

Okay. Do you recall Winning any safety awards, Mr.

Shiplett?

Yes, I do.

[Excerpted p. 81. line 2-15]

Did Dr. Gallant specifically indicate to you that it was no

problem for you to use Xanax at bedtime. and then work

as a locomotive engineer the next day?

Yes, because that’s what | was explaining to him that’s

What I was doing. And again, he said it would not have

been maybe his number one choice of medication, but

certainly he didn’t see it as a safety factor.

Did Dr. Gallant upon his conclusions of his examination

indicate to you his opinion as to whether you Were

mentally and physically fit for returning to work as a

locomotive engineer?

Yes, that’s what he indicated.

Apdx. E - 9

UNTEPED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

KURT D. SHIPLETT,

Plaintiff-Appellee, Case No. 96-71467

‘. Hlon.: Horace W.

Gilmore

NATIONAL RAILROAD

PASSENGER CORPORATION,

DBA AMPRAR,

Defendant-Appellant.

VOLUME 7

TRIAL

Proceedings had and testimony taken in the above

entitled matter before HONORABLE HORACE W. GIEMORE,

District Judge, United States Distrret Court, Detron, Michigan, on

Phursday. July 17th, 190°

APPEARANCES

FOR THE PLAINTIEE Jammie R. Goodman, bsq

POR THE DEFENDANT Cathleen Giannetta, bsq

COURT REPORTER Joan L. Morgan, CSR

Otficial Court Reporter

\pdx. b - 10

Q.

Q.

[Excerpted p. 13, line 3-25; p. 14, line 1-16]

Q.

[Excerpted p. 11, line 3-13]

Okay. Isn°t it true, Dr. McLean,

"that side effects of Xanax, if

they occur, are generally

observed at the beginning of

therapy and usually disappear

upon continued medication?

They may, but they may also

come back during the use.

hat statement that I just read to

you, sir, isn’t that) statement

right out of the "Physicians’

Desk Reference"?

Yes, sir, it is.

All right. And you also

determined, did you not, that

prescription, at least according

to the documentation received

by vou from Dr. May, indicated

that a prescription was written

for Xanax, one milligram, as a

sleeping pill to be taken at

bedtime for patient, Kurt

Shiplett.

That's correct.

And you understood then at the

time that Mr. Shiplett was taking

the Xanax at that time to help

him sleep.

Apdx. E - 11

Q,

That's correct.

And notwithstanding all that,

you decided that he could not

perform his responsibilities as a

locomotive engineer, is that

correct?

As | testified yesterday, not only

Mr. Shiplett, but all locomotive

engineers working for Amtrak.

That's what I want to get to

right now. So, in other words,

just so | understand you cor-

rectly, it doesn’t matter who the

locomotive engineer ts, it

doesn't matter what the dosage,

it doesn't matter when they take

it, the bottom line is, it's your

policy on behalf of Amtrak that

a locomotive engineer cannot

operate a locomotive engine or

perform his job while taking

Xanax.

That is correct, sir.

So, in other words, Amtrak has

a blanket policy prohibiting any

locomotive engineer — from

operating a locomotive engine

While taking Xanax.

That's correct, sir.

All right. So, the fact that Mr.

Shiplett may have been only

taking one milligram of Xanax,

Apdx. E - 12

Q.

=<

Q.

Q.

QO.

as Opposed to four milligrams of

Xanax, was of no consequence

to you?

That’s correct.

And the fact that Mr. Shiplett

Was taking Xanax at bedtime

and was taking it eight hours

before he would report to work

is of no consequence to you; is

that correct?

That's essentially correct, sir.

[Excerpted p. 16, line 7-25]

You never examined = Mr.

Shiplett; did you, ever?

The answer is, as Corporate

Medical Director of — the

corporation, | examined no

patients.

Is your answer "no?"

The answer is "no," sir.

Okay. You never conducted any

tests of any kind on = Mr,

Shiplett; did you?

Mr. Shiplett was examined for

the corporation by Dr. Gallant.

| understand what you testified

to. I’m asking you, did you

conduct any tests on Mr.

Shiplett, yes or no?

The answer is "no." There’s no

reason | should.

Apdx. E - 13

Q.

Q.

Q.

And just so I'm clear, you make

a determination that Mr. Shiplett

cannot perform his job without

testing or examining him

personally. Is that a true

statement?

It's a true statement, but I'd like

to expand on it if | could.

[Excerpted p. 30. line 4-16]

Now, Dr. McLean, let me just

go over a little bit regarding

your background, if we could.

Yes, sir.

You are not Board Certified in

Psychiatry: are you?

That is correct.

Okay. In fact, would it be fair

to say that psychiatry is not an

area of your specialty? It’s not

an area you specialize in.

For the direct treatment of

patients, no.

Have you ever -- during the

time that you worked at Amtrak,

did you ever treat patients from

a psychiatric standpoint?

| previously testified | did not

treat patients.

Apdx. E - 14

[Excerpted p. 31, line 3-7]

Q. And you've never prescribed

medication to anyone for

purposes of any emotional

disorders during the time that

you worked at Amtrak; did you?

A I did not prescribe medication

because I do not treat patients.

[Excerpted p. 32, line 14-25; p. 33, line 1-1 1]

Q. Now, are you familiar with the

term, "psychopharmacology?"

A. Certainly.

Q. Do you have any — special

training in that area?

A. Not as a trained psychiatrist.

Q. Okay. Were you aware of -- do

you know an individual by the

name of Dr. Viken Matossian?

A. | spoke with Dr. Matossian on

the telephone and I have,

indeed, checked his credentials.

Q. And, in fact, his credentials, as :

they relate to the area of

psychopharmacology, were

impressive: were they not?

A. They are.

Q. In fact, he had more

qualifications in that area than

you do; correct?

A. Yes.

Apdx. E - 15

Q.

[Excerpted p. 35, line 18-25: p. 36, line 1-4]

Q.

And he had more qualifications

in the area of psychiatry than

you do.

That ts correct.

In tact, | believe Dr. Matossian,

and you made reference to this

in your notes, was a Diplomat of

the American Board of

Psychiatry; correct?

That is correct.

Okay. You would agree with

me that you would have to

physically observe someone in

order to determine whether they

are alert or not, correct?

That's correct.

So, in terms of whether Mr.

Shiplett's use of the Xanax

affected his alertness, you would

have not know; correct?

That's correct.

And in terms of whether the

Xanax affected Mr. Shiplett’s

coordination, you would not

know without physically

observing him: correct?

That ts correct. at the time.

Apdx. E - 16

Q.

A.

Q.

Q.

Q.

[Excerpted p. 37, line 6-16]

Now, prior to making the

decision to prohibit Mr. Shiplett

from using Xanax, did you ever

review any of Mr. Shiplett’s

medical records that were kept

by his treating physicians?

The only treating physician that

| knew that Mr. Shiplett had was

Dr.. May and | was in direct

discussion with Dr. May.

You never reviewed any of Dr.

May's records: did you?

No, sir.

[Excerpted p. 40, line 10-20]

And it was your understanding -

-I believe you said you and Dr.

Matossian had "philosophical

differences" regarding whether

Mr. Shiplett should be able to

use the Xanax; correct?

That's correct, sir.

And it was clear to you based

on your discussions with Dr.

Matossian, that Dr. Matossian

believed that Mr. Shiplett would

be able to safely perform § his

responsibilities by using Xanax

at bedtime: correct?

That was what was expressed to

me.

Apdx. E - 17

Q.

().

Q.

{Excerpted p. 42. line 6-23]

So, in fact as | understand it,

Mr. Shiplett’s performance,

whether it was excellent, above

average, or whatever it was, had

no impact on your decision as to

whether he was able to use

Xanax at bedtime.

As I testified, he can certainly

use Xanax at bedtime. He may

not operate a locomotive engine

under the influence of Xanax.

So, even if all his performance

records indicate that he was

safely performing his job re-

sponsibilities, and operating as

an above-average engineer while

using Xanax at bedtime, that

would have meant nothing to

you.

As lve testified, the answer ts

we will not permit him to

operate with Xanax as a loco-

motive engineer.

And that’s a uniform policy

across the board for any

locomotive engineers.

Through the time that I was at

Amtrak, yes.

Apdx. E - 18

Q.

Q.

Q.

A.

[Excerpted p. 60, line 13-22

And you've’ reviewed _ the

"Physicians’ Desk Reference";

have you not?

That's correct.

Isn’t it true, sir, that these

figures in terms of the per-

centage of people who may

effect drowsiness and dizziness,

and all this other stuff that you

cited, involves studies where

individuals are taking up to four

milligrams of Xanax over a ten-

week period; isn’t that true?

Sir, | can’t say whether that’s

true or not.

[Excerpted p. 64, line 2-9]

Okay. Now, you would agree

with the proposition, would you

not, Dr. McLean, that Xanax

affects different individuals

differently.

That's correct.

Okay. So, Xanax potentially

could have no affect on a

particular person depending on

who that particular person is:

correct?

That’s correct.

Apdx. E - 19

Q.

Q.

Q.

Q.

Q.

[Excerpted p. 70, line 7-25]

And the Federal — Railroad

Administration leaves it in the

Medical Review Officer’s hands

to determine what prescription

medication locomotive engineers

can use; correct?

Phat’s correct.

There are no Federal Railroad

Regulations which specifically

state that a locomotive engineer

cannot operate a locomotive

While using Xanax; are there?

Phat is correct.

So, in fact, the Federal Railroad

Administration doesn't direct

you to tell locomotive engineers

they can’t use Xanax. You

make that decision on your own.

Phat is made in the name of the

corporation, yes.

By vou.

By me.

Okay. Not the FRA.

Not the FRA.

(Excerpted p. 97, line 4-11]

All right. Now, isn’t it) true,

though, that back in 1994, Mr.

Shiplett) requested that = you

accommodate him by allowing

him to work in another position?

Apdx. E - 20

Q.

As | said, sir, | do not recall

that.

So, you don’t recall that either

way, one way or the other:

correct?

That's correct.

Title 28

Judiciary and Judical Proceedure

§1254. Cow» of appeals; certiorari; certified questions

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed by the

Supreme Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon the petition of any

party to any civil or criminal case, before or after rendition of

judgment or decree:

§1331. Federal question

Che district courts shall have original jurisdiction of all

civil actions arising under the Constitution, laws, or treaties of

the United States.

Apdx. F - |

Title 42 [Excerpted]

Americans With Disabilities Act

$12102. Definitions

As used in this chapter: . . .

(2) Disability

The term = "disability" means, with respect to an

individual--

(A) a physical or mental impairment. that

substantially limits one or more of the major life

activities of such individuals:

(B) a record of such an impairment: or

(C) being regarded as having such an

impairment

Apdx. F - 2

Title 42 [Excerpted]

Americans With Disabilities Act

§12111. Definitions

As used in this chapter:

(3) Direct threat

The term "direct threat" means a Significant risk

to the health or safety of others that cannot be

eliminated by reasonable accommodation.

(8) Qualified individual with a disability

The term "qualified individual with a disability"

means an individual with a disability who, with

or without reasonable accommodation, can

perform the essential functions of the

employment position that such individual holds

or desires. For the purposes of this subchapter,

consideration shall be given to the employer's

judgment as to what functions of a job are

essential, and if an employer has prepared a

Written description before advertising — or

interviewing applicants for the job, this

description shall be considered evidence of the

essential functions of the job.

Apdx. F - 3

(9) Reasonable accommodation

The term "reasonable accommodation" may

include--

(A) making existing facilities used by

employees readily accessible to and

usable by individuals with disabilities;

and

(B) job restructuring, part-time or

modified work schedules, reassignment

to a vacant position, acquisition or

modification of equipment or devices.

appropriate adjustment or modifications

of examinations, training materials or

policies, the provision of qualified

readers or interpreters, and other similar

accommodations for individuals with

disabilities.

Apdx. F - 4

er

§12112.

(a)

(b)

Title 42 [Excerpted]

>

Definitions

General rule

No covered entity shall discriminate against a qualified

individual with a disability because of the disability of

such individual in regard to job application procedures,

the hiring, advancement, or discharge of employees,

employee compensation, job training, and other terms,

conditions, and privileges of employment.

Construction

As used in subsection (a) of this section. the term

"discriminate" includes--

(1) Limiting, segregating, or classifying a job

applicant or employee in a way that adversely

affects the opportunities or status of such

applicant or employee because of the disability

of such applicant or employee;

(5)(A) not making reasonable accommodations

to the known pbysical or mental limitations of an

otherwise qualified individual with a disability

who is an applicant or employee, unless such

covered entity can demonstrate that the

accommodation would impose an undue hardship

on the operation of the business of such covered

entity; or

Apdx. F - 5

Title 42 [Excerpted]

Americans With Disabilities Act

§$12113. Defenses

(a) In general

It may be a defense to a charge of discrimination under

this chapter that an alleged application of qualification

standards, tests, or selection criteria that screen out or

tend to screen out or otherwise deny a job or benefit to

an individual with a disability has been shown to be job-

related and consistent with business necessity, and such

performance cannot be accomplished by reasonable

accommodation, as required under this subchapter.

(b) Qualification standards

The term "qualification standards" may include a

requirement that an individual shall not pose a direct

threat to the health or safety of other individuals in the

workplace.

Apdx. F - 6

Title 45 [Excerpted]

Federal Employer’s Liability Act

a

v

§51. Liability of common carriers by railroad, in interstate

or foreign commerce, for injuries to employees from

negligence; employee defined

Every common carrier by railroad while engaging in

commerce between any of the several States or Territories, or

between any of the States and Territories, or between the District

of Columbia and any of the States or Territories, or between the

District of Columbia or any of the States or Territories any

foreign nation or nations. shall be liable in damages to any

person suffering injury while he is employed by such carrier in

such commerce, or, in case of the death of such employee. to his

or her personal representative, for the benefit of the surviving

widow or husband and children of such employee; and, if none,

then of such employee's parents, and. if none, then of the next

of kin dependent upon such employee, for such injury or death

resulting in whole or in part from the negligence of any of the

officers, agents, or employees of such carrier, or by reason of any

defect or insufficiency, due to its negligence, in its cars, engines,

appliances, machinery, track. roadbed, works, boats, wharves, or

other equipment.

Any employee of a carrier, any part of whose duties as

such employee shall be the furtherance of interstate or foreign

commerce; or shall, in any way directly or closely and

substantially, affect such commerce as above set forth shall, for

the purposes of this chapter, be considered as being employed by

such carrier in such commerce and shall be considered as entitled

to the benefits of this chapter.

Apdx. F - 7

29 CFR Ch. XIV [Excerpted]

+

Part 1630--REGULATIONS TO IMPLEMENT THE EQUAL

EMPLOYMENT PROVISIONS OF THE AMERICANS

WITH DISABILITIES ACT

§1630.2. Definitions

(0) Reasonable accommodation.

(1) The term reasonable accommodation means:

(1). Modifications or adjustments to a job

application process that enable a

qualified applicant with a disability to be

considered for the position such

qualified applicant desires: or

(11) Modifications or adjustments that

enable a covered entity's employee with

a disability to enjoy equal benefits and

privileges of employment as are enjoyed

by its other similarly situated employees

without disabilities.

(2) Reasonable accommodation may include but

is not limited to:

(11) Job restructuring; part-time or

modified work schedules; reassignment

to a vacant position: acquisition or

modifications of equipment or devices;

appropriate adjustment or modifications

of examinations, training materials, or

policies; the provision of qualified

readers or interpreters; and other similar

Apdx. F - 8

accommodations for individuals with

disabilities.

(3) To determine the appropriate reasonable

accommodation it may be necessary for the

covered entity to initiate an informal, interactive

process with the qualified individual with a

disability in need of the accommodation. This

process should identify the precise limitations

resulting from the disability and potential

reasonable accommodations that could overcome

those limitations.

(r) Direct Threat means a significant risk of substantial

harm to the health or safety of the individual or others

that cannot be eliminated or reduced by reasonable

accommodation. The determination that an individual

poses a "direct threat" shall be based on an individualized

assessment of the individual’s present ability to safely

perform the essential functions of the job. ‘This

assessment shall be based on a reasonable medical

judgment that relies on the most current medical

knowledge and/or on the best available objective

evidence. In determining whether an individual would

pose a direct threat, the factors to be considered include:

(1) The duration of the risk;

(2) The nature and severity of the potential

harm;

(3) The likelihood that the potential harm will

occur; and

(4) The imminence of the potential harm.

*

Apdx. F - 9

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.