Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. v. Franklin

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

SUpreme Com, U.

FILED -

(971430 my 2 1998

No. SFFICE OF THE CiEpy

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

fy.

October Term, 1997

SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC.,

Petitioner,

VS.

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARK E. ZELEK THOMAS H. BARNARD

MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKIUS Counsel of Record

5300 Southeast Financial Center BARTON A. BIXENSTINE

200 South Biscayne Boulevard ULMER & BERNE LLP

Miami, Florida 33131-2339 Bond Court Building

(305) 579-0300 1300 East 9th Street, Suite 900

Cleveland, Ohio 44114-1583

(216) 621-8400

Attorneys for Petitioner

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859 LK late

A DIVISION OF COUNSEL PRESS ervices, inc.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether an attorney fees award of $169,000 by the District

Court is unreasonable under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of

1964 when Respondent obtained relief on only one minor claim

in the amount of $12,229.65?

(1) Whether it is unreasonable to award attorney fees for

any services after rejection of a settlement offer,

tendered early in the litigation, that was substantially

greater than the final judgment, when the offer was

rejected because it did not satisfy the fees demanded

by the plaintiff’s counsel?

(2) Whether attorney fees should be substantially reduced

where the primary claims and demands were rejected

and success was limited to a discriminatory demotion

claim with a back pay award that was one-twelfth of

what the plaintiff demanded at the conclusion of trial,

$12,229.65 vs. $146,000?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Petitioner represented in this Brief is Scandinavian Health

Spa, Inc. who is the only defendant remaining in this action.

Proceedings against four other defendants, Bally Manufacturing

Corporation (Scandinavian’s parent) and three Scandinavian

employees, Michael Palumbo, Gene Palumbo, and Mark

Seaman, were dismissed by the District Court and not challenged

on appeal by Respondent. Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. has

no nonwholly owned subsidiaries.

Plaintiff-Respondent Andrea Franklin is a former employee

of Petitioner.

iil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Nee ae aii aa i

eer Pre ee ae are ii

EE CN 5G ni Cao's ao KOC ER OE OTE Duh iil

Ee EERE UE RT LTUL ERT ORT ET eee iV

ee oes cl eeu a bins gcc v vce l

SII OE PUUMNOUIONN oc ince cccccdceeencves l

Statutes and Rules Involved .................c000: l

NS I PE oo er sepa Ake s bao seeks 2

Ps eee MERION cc ce ccc cc cccs 3

i I PO, Sen cc decisbsndwcde ound 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................... 6

I. The Court Of Appeals’ Unexplained Affirmance

Of Respondent’s Award Of Attorney Fees

Undermines Title VII By Subsidizing Plaintiff’s

Who Reject Settlement Offers To Pursue Long-

I sec rhc o Vu chy so vl eis < 1]

A. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Rewards

Respondent for the Failure of Her Primary

CT GRR Saeco or ee eT Le 1]

iv

Contents

1. Respondent’s Primary and Secondary

Claims Were Not Interrelated For

Purposes of An Attorneys’ Fees Award.

2. Even if Respondent’s Primary and

Secondary Claims Were Interrelated, the

Court of Appeals’ Decision Undermines

Title VIi by Rewarding Respondent’s

Counsel for Failure of Their Primary

waren ee ET Pe ena

B. By Rewarding Respondent’s Counsel for

Rejecting Settlement Offers for More Than

the Value of Their Only Viable (But

Secondary) Claim to Pursue a Long Shot,

the Court of Appeals’ Decision undermines

Farrer and Promotes Vexatious Litigation.

sdiiecnn eC ET er eee ee a

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Adams v. Wolff, 110 E.R.D. 291 (D. Nev. 1986) .....

Alexander vy. Gardne --Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36 (1974)

oat Ee Oe CDE RSM BMI i ed me wee as Sekt os f

Page

13

20

18

Contents

Page

Chesny v. Marek, 547 F. Supp. 542 (N.D. Ill. 1982) .. 18, 19

City of Riverside v. Rivera, 477 U.S. 561 (1986) ...7, 8, 9, 10

Corder v. Brown, 25 F.3d 833 (9th Cir. 1994) ....... 15

Crossman v. Marcoccio, 806 F.2d 329 (1st Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1029 (1987) ............. 18

Culpepper v. Reynold Metals Co., 421 F.2d 888 (Sth Cir.

SN A ck Rees ba Pao iL hee a i as 9

Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S. 346 (1981) . 18

Denny v. Hinton, 131 F.R.D. 659 (M.D. N.C. 1990), aff’d

mam. 937 €.20 GO2 (40; Cis. 1991) oo csc cicba, 18

Donaldson v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 759 F.2d 535

ee Gals BET A Giese hawk ca creen noo ke 8

Farrar v. Hobby, 506 U.S. 103 (1992) .......... ae Se. Ne ke

Hetzel v. County of Prince William, 89 F.3d 169 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 584 (1996) ... 15

Lawrence v. Western Pipe Service, 146 F.R.D. 195 (N.D.

Ala. 1993), aff’d mem., 19 F.3d 1445 (11th Cir. 1994)

vi

Contents

Page

Marek vy, Chesny, 473 U.S. 1 [EMR ce ibvweeucre ua 8, 19

Maker v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122 NES Saccet voce: 19

McKenzie v. Cooper, Levins & Pastko, Inc., 990 F.2d 1183

FEUER 5d cov va kaeey eee 6

Myree v. Local 41, IBEW. aff'd mem., 29 F.3d 620 (2d

Sah, TION). 's inv we dewurednonsteid Leen eae, 15

O'Brien v. City of Greers Ferry, 873 F.2d 1115 (8th Cir.

Danial REET OLE RT er cies eo ET 18

Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 576 F.2d 1157

(Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1115 (1979)

18 9Ss0 eC we ONT Teh ERS VR CeENE UV RRA PET OUE 8, 9

Popham v. City of Kennesaw, 820 F.2d 1570 (11th Cir.

dened) MEER rere Ne eg ETE 15

Sheppard v. Riverview Nursing Center, Inc., 88 F.3d 1332

(4th Cir.), cert. denied, _ U.S. aus 417 S. Ce. 483

ERIS) no esineesneteeat beutee TRO Re Ss 9, 16

Simpson v. Sheahan, 104 F.3d 998 (7th Cir. 1997)... 17

Waters v. Heublein, Inc., 485 F. Supp. 110 (N.D. Cal.

SPIO) 9 vkasVnn sway ciddevore ee ee 18

Statutes Cited:

satharanies ah Boag) RECEP Ee a PLES l

vil

Contents

Page

RN SEE: a Se SUAS RCo bee pu ee dbewinksee l

ee Pas a RE whkisla Wena ava bat ees bb ovanwal anne l

Se a Ee 56 ow ek Re ORR TR res eke eh ees l

Ses OS OO, Cabo tapdeuce’odbuaeceawe Pe

Rule Cited:

ee ae MEE CU ods 6 bb eeu thd comes ok ee aee ce 8, 18

Other Authorities Cited:

Comment, Grossly Excessive Attorney's Fee Requests

under the Civil Rights Attorney’s Fee Awards Act:

Should the Entire Fee Request be Denied?, 24 U.

MEARS Se NG BO TEUNEE Shes avec skbexenacers 6

Dobbs, Awarding Attorney Fees Against Adversaries:

Introducing the Problem, 1986 DUKE L. J. 435 (1986)

PT Pe ET ne eet rie tree a eam 6

Note & Comment, For a Few Dollars Less: Equity Rides

Again in the Denial of Section 1988 Attorney's Fees

to a Prevailing Plaintiff in Farrar v. Hobby, 5

TEMPLE POL. & CIV. RTS. L. REV. 219 (1996)

PEMD ES COTES Ad MEASURE KS DK aLdee week 6

Report of the Federal Courts Study Committee 104 (April

BN Pe tok ii bs 5 ee Roa wad be eae on Sk eee 6

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit is produced at pps. la-3a of the Appendix.

The decision of the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Florida regarding Petitioner’s liability is reproduced

at pp. 17a-57a of the Appendix (and is cited hereafter as

“Liability Decision”). The decision of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Florida regarding

Respondent’s Application for Attorney Fees is reproduced at

pp. 4a-6a of the Appendix (and is cited hereinafter as “Attorney

Fee Decision”). The report and recommendation of the

Magistrate regarding Respondent’s Application for Attorney

Fees is reproduced at pps. 7a-16a of the Appendix (and is cited

hereafter as “Magistrate’s Report”).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Eleventh Circuit was entered on

October 6, 1997, and rehearing was denied on December 1,

1997. The Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

Jurisdiction of the Eleventh Circuit was proper pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1291, and jurisdiction of the District Court was proper

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1343.

STATUTES AND RULES INVOLVED

This case involves Section 706(k) of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-5(k), which provides

that:

In any action or proceeding under this subchapter

the court, in its discretion, may allow the prevailing

party, other than the Commission or the United

States, a reasonable attorney's fees (including expert

2

fees) as part of the costs, and the Commission and

the United States shall be liable for costs the same

as a private person.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The fundamental question is whether $169,000.000 are

“reasonable” attorneys’ fees, pursuant to the attorney fee

provision of Title VII of the Civil Rigits Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-5(k), to Respondent Andrea Franklin (“Respondent”)

who: (1) failed to obtain any equitable or injunctive relief; and

(2) received a mere $12,229.65 damage award after (3) rejecting

a settlement offer that was greater than the judgment to generate

more than two-thirds of their legal fees pursuing their primary

claim, which they lost and as to which they did not appeal.

Following judgment for Respondent in her lawsuit against

Petitioner Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. (“Scandinavian”),

Respondent was awarded $168,978.50 in attorneys’ fees

Petitioner appealed the award of attorneys’ fees, along with the

merits of the case.

The Court of Appeals affirmed, without explanation, the

District Court’s award of attorneys’ fees and costs. Again,

Respondent moved for an award of $33,750 for attorneys’ fees

incurred on appeal. The Cour of Appeals held that Respondent

is entitled to attorneys’ fees for the appeal, and it has remanded

to the District Court to determine the appropriate amount.

Scandinavian now appeals the award of attorneys’ fees at both

the trial and appellate level on the grounds that the award

undermines the attorneys’ fees provisions of Title VII in a

commonly repeated scenario — where a plaintiff raises

potentially meritorious claims of small value (here, Respondent’s

sexual harassment and discriminatory demotion claims) along

with long-shot claims for much larger damages (here,

Respondent’s constructive discharge claim).

;

A. Procedural Background.

On January 22, 1992, Respondent sued Bally

Manufacturing Corp. (“Bally”), Scandinavian, and three

Scandinavian employees, alleging sexual harassment,

discriminatory demotion, constructive discharge, and intentional

infliction of emotional distress. Respondent dropped her

emotional distress claim well before trial, and her back pay

demand at the conclusion of trial was $146,000. (Plaintiff’s

Back Pay Proposal).' More than 90% of this amount arose from

her unsuccessfui constructive discharge claim.

The District Court found Scandinavian liable for sexual

harassment’ and for discriminately demoting Respondent from

one division manager position to another. The District Court,

however: (1) rejected Respondent’s constructive discharge claim;

(2) granted no equitable or injunctive relief; (3) dismissed Bally

because it was not Respondent’s “employer”; and (4) limited

Respondent’s damages to only $12,229.65, plus interest.

Liability Decision, App. at 37-42, 52-56.

In moving for $182,212.49 in attorney fees and costs,

Respondent’s counsel asserted that the request was limited to

reasonable expenses in pursuing Respondent’s successful claims.

1. Respondent demanded $114,377.57 through the end of 1994,

plus $769.23 per week (annualized to $40,000) during 1995.

Respondent’s back pay demand for 1995, when the District Court

issued its Liability Decision on October 16, 1995, was $31,666.64.

2. Although the District Court found there was a sexually

hostile work environment at the Kendall II Health Club, it did not

grant any equitable or injunctive relief because: (1) Respondent had

not been subjected to sexual harassment after she was demoted; and

(2) she voluntarily had left her employment. Liability Decision, App.

at 37-42.

4

They stated that they had excluded expenditures devoted to

Respondent’s tort claim, claims against individual defendants,

the claim that Bally was Respondent’s employer, or to the crux

of Respondent’s case — her constructive discharge claim.

(Plaintiff’s Motion for an Award of Attorney’s Fees and

Reimbursement of Costs and Litigation Expenses at 4). These

exclusions totaled only 100 hours, or ten percent of the fees

incurred.

Respondent’s counsel did not file a cross-appeal of the

denial of Respondent's primary claim, her constructive discharge

claim. Instead, without seeking to increase the relief afforded

Respondent, Respondent’s counsel expended $33,750

defending Respondent’s $12,229.65 judgment.

Respondent’s counsel are demanding over $243,000 in

attorneys’ fees, costs, and interest to recover and defend a

$12,229.65 damage award with no equitable relief, along with

$28,112.66 in post-judgment interest.

B. The Avoidable Legal Fees.

Defendants sought to resolve the case before expending

time, fees and costs to go to trial. On November 11, 1993,

Defendants offered Respondent $17,500 to settle the lawsuit,

over $5,000 more than Respondent ultimately recovered.

To that point, Respondent’s counsel had conducted almost

all of their discovery — more than enough to make an intelligent

assessment of the merits of odds against recovery on her primary

claim for constructive discharge. They had: prepared

interrogatories and requests for the production of documents;

3. This amount was not specified either to include or exclude

attorneys’ fees.

Pairs a eS tor Maas oer od

5

reviewed Defendants’ discovery responses; defended

Respondent’s deposition; and taken the depositions of the

primary witnesses — Mark Seaman, Ron Wilcox, Stuart Dansby

and Rhonda Smith. Yet, Respondent’s counsel had only

expended $47,705 in legal fees — one-quarter of the amount

of fees requested and awarded.‘

Respondent’s attorneys refused the offer. Before the District

Court, Respondent’s counsel offered in explanation that if they

had accepted the settlement offer, Respondent “would have

effectively received nothing” as the settlement offer did not

account for the amount of fees expended in the case. (Plaintiff’s

Reply Memorandum to Defendant’s Memorandum in

Opposition to Plaintiff’s Motion for an Award of Attorney’s

Fees and Costs at 4).°

If Respondent’s counsel had accepted the settlement offer,

Respondent would have received more relief that the judgment,

and the unreasonable fees expended could have been avoided.

Instead, Respondent’s counsel refused to accept the settlement

offer, and changed this lawsuit into a lawsuit over attorneys’

fees.

Again, during the January 19, 1994 mediation conference,

Respondent’s counsel refused an offer for an amount greater

4. Robert E. Weisberg had expended $13,287.50 in fees (53.15

hours x $250 per hour), Martha Chapman $6,300 (42 x $150) and Scott

Jontiff $28,117.50 (187.45 x $ 150). Respondent’s counsel were

exaggerating their fees even at that early stage. In a letter sent on

November 10, 1993, they estimated their fees at that point to be

approximately $60,000. Respondent’s counsel were asked to verify in

writing the time they had expended to that point; they never did.

5. Respondent’s counsel indicated that her back pay as of

November 1993 was only $64,000, compared to the evidence

Respondent submitted after trial that her back pay should be $146,000.

6

than the final judgment. Defendants offered $24,000. Yet

Respondent’s counsel, more concerned with recouping its fees,

rejected the offer. As of the mediation conference, Respondent’s

counsel had nearly completed discovery, yet they had not

expended one-third of the attorneys’ fees requested and awarded.

Between November 11, 1993 and January 19, 1994,

Respondent’s counsel had: reviewed discovery responses and

requests; conducted witness investigations; taken and defended

the depositions of ten (10) secondary witnesses. The fees

expended to that point were $63,772.50.°

Had Respondent’s counsel worked to obtain the best result

for their client, nearly two-thirds of the fees received could have

been eliminated. Other than taking the depositions of two minor

witnesses, the remaining fees were expended on trial preparation.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

This case exemplifies a growing trend in which civil rights

litigation is converted into “lawsuits over attorney fees” in which

the only “winners” are the attorneys, while plaintiffs, defendants,

and the court all are losers.” Other courts have recognized and

6. Weisberg had incurred fees of $18,725 (74.90 x $250 per hour);

Chapman, $7,350 (49 x $150 per hour), and Jontiff $40,297.50 (268.65

x $150 per hour).

7. See McKenzie vy. Cooper, Levins & Pastko, Inc., 990 F.2d 1183,

1184 (11th Cir. 1993) (“Increasingly, Title VII litigation is fees litigation,

not civil rights litigation.”); see also Report of the Federal Courts Study

Committee 104 (April 2, 1990); Dobbs, Awarding Attorney Fees Against

Adversaries: Introducing the Problem, 1986 DUKE L. J. 435 (1985);

Note & Comment, For a Few Dollars Less: Equity Rides Again in the

Denial of Section 1988 Attorney's Fees to a Prevailing Plaintiff in Farrar

v. Hobby, 5S TEMPLE POL. & CIV. RTS. L. REV. 219 (1996); Comment,

Grossly Excessive Attorney's Fee Requests under the Civil Rights

Attorney's Fee Awards Act: Should the Entire Fee Request be Denied?,

24 U. BALT. L. REV. 149 (1994).

7

attempted to address this problem. The Eleventh Circuit’s

response, however, sanctions such a departure by the District

Court as to call for an exercise of this Court’s supervisory power.

The factual scenario here — where the plaintiff uses financially

‘small claims to subsidize failed litigation of long-shot claims

for higher stakes — is often repeated, and cries out for this

Court’s attention.

To start, this Court recognized more than a decade ago that

statutory fee awards reflect a balancing of interests. “Congress

intended that statutory fee awards be adequate to attract

competent counsel, but not produce windfalls to attorneys.”

City of Riverside v. Rivera, 477 U.S. 561, 579 (1986) (citation,

quotes, and editing omitted.) See also Farrar v. Hobby, 506

U.S. 103, 115-116 (1992); Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424,

434-36 (1983).

The lower courts’ complete refusal to reduce the fee award

in the face of Respondent’s success on only a secondary claim,

her failure to obtain the equitable relief she demanded, and her

receipt of only a small portion of the monetary damages she

demanded under the pretense that her unsuccessful long-shot

claims were intertwined with her lone successful claim violates

both the letter and spirit of this Court’s ruling in Hensiey. Left

untouched, this result represents an open invitation to plaintiffs’

attorneys to “piggy-back” weak claims with high stakes onto a

minor claim with some reasonable merit, prevail on that one

claim, and then argue that a full fee award is justified because

the claims are interwoven. Defense attorneys, by contrast, are

faced with a Hobson’s choice: either accept settlement demands

that are far out of proportion to the substantive merits, or

continue to litigate with the prospect of losing a minor claim

and paying an exorbitant attorney fee award. Defendants should

not be forced to make such a choice, and plaintiffs should not

be permitted to “hold all of the cards.”

. |

|

‘4

+

2

8

Vacating the attorney fee award under the circumstances

present in this case is a critical “next step” in alleviating the

abuses that pervade attorney fee controversies in civil rights

cases. This Court already has held that the extent of a plaintiff's

success is a crucial factor in determining the proper amount of

a fee award, and even a prevailing plaintiff may be denied fees

if “special circumstances would render the award unjust.”

Hensley, 461 U.S. at 429, 434-36 (citations omitted). This Court

also has directed that the amount of damages recovered is

relevant to the amount of attorney fees awarded, and that

when the recovery of damages is the purpose of a

civil rights litigation, a district court, in fixing fees,

is obligated to give primary consideration to the

amount of damages awarded as compared to the

amount sought.

City of Riverside, 477 U.S. at 574; Id. at 586 (Powell, J.

concurring). This Court then pronounced that the most critical

factor in determining a fee award’s reasonableness is the degree

of success obtained, and that plaintiffs who recover only nominal

damages and fail to obtain any equitable relief usually are not

entitled to a fee award. Farrar, 506 U.S. at 112-16. Finally,

this Court has relieved a civil rights defendant of attorney fees

incurred after a Rule 68 offer of judgment where the judgment

recovered by the plaintiff is less than the offer. Marek v. Chesny,

473 U.S. 1 (1985).

Second, courts, including this Court, long have recognized

that voluntary settlement is the preferential means for resolving

Title VII cases and eliminating employment discrimination. See,

e.g., Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36, 44 (1974):

Donaldson v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 759 F.2d 535, 538

(6th Cir. 1985); Pettway v. American Cast Iron Pipe Co., 576

F.2d 1157, 1214 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1115

R.A an a

Da AR MCs had eae eS Welk a ati hes! 2A I eee

9

(1979); Culpepper v. Reynold Metals Co., 421 F.2d 888, 891

(Sth Cir. 1970). Such efforts by employers should be rewarded.

The lower courts’ decisions in this case, however, force

parties in the opposite direction. Two reasonable settlement offers

were rejected, and the only explanation given to date for the

rejection is that Respondent’s counsel believed that they would

not be paid enough. Consequently, significant judicial resources

were wasted as the lawsuit now has lasted more than four years

longer than it should have just so Respondent’s counsel can be

rewarded for the failure of their primary claim, the constructive

discharge claim. “[R]efusing a reasonable offer of settlement

promotes few public interests when the plaintiff ultimately

receives a less favorable recovery after trial.” Sheppard v.

Riverview Nursing Center, Inc., 88 F.3d 1332, 1337 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 483 (1996).

Vacating this fee award, however, will encourage early

settlements of civil rights cases. Faced with the risk of a

downside effect if they act only in their own interests, plaintiffs’

counsel will be compelled to weigh a reasonable settlement offer

that benefits their client against the possibility that they will be

penalized if they get greedy pursuing long-shot claims. Such a

choice should and will increase the likelihood that reasonable

offers will be accepted.

Upholding this fee award, which now totals nearly one-

quarter of a million dollars, clearly would turn every attorney

fee statute “into a relief Act for lawyers.” City of Riverside, 477

U.S. at 558 (Rehnquist, J., dissenting). From the moment

Respondent’s counsel rejected the November 1993 settlement

offer because its fees were allegedly not adequately addressed,

this case became a lawsuit over attorney fees. In fact, the failure

of Respondent’s counsel even to appeal the adverse ruling on

her discharge claim converted the appellate proceeding into little

10

more than a defense of the fee award. Such a result “wil)

unfortunately on!v add fuel to the fires of public indignation

over the cost of litigation.” Jd. (Burger, C.J., dissenting). Indeed,

“it would be difficult to find a better example of legal nonsense

than the fixing of attorney fees by a judge at” $169,000 (not to

mention the additional $74,000 in costs, appellate fees and post-

judgment interest) for a recovery of $12,229.65 in damages.

Id. at 587 (Burger, C.J., dissenting).

The result reached by the lower courts stands the attorney

fees statutes on their head. By rejecting two reasonable

settlement offers because it would not be paid enough and then

obtaining a resuit for their client that was less than what was

offered, Respondent’s counsel is “rewarded” with a fee award

that has nearly quadrupled since the first settlement offer was

made. By contrast, for its efforts in tendering two reasonable

settlement offers and achieving a result that is better than what

it had offered, Scandinavian is “rewarded” with a double

punishment. It has to Pay its own attorneys with no hope of

reimbursement because it is not a prevailing party, and it has to

pay Respondent’s attorney fees despite failing on their primary

claim.

It is a sad irony that the only “winners” in this protracted

proceeding are the attorneys. Respondent was not successful;

she received a final judgment that was thousands of dollars less

than what Scandinavian was ready to pay more than four years

ago. Scandinavian was not successful. By presenting a defense

that resulted in a final judgment that was less than what it had

offered, Scandinavian is forced to pay a fee award as if it had

suffered an unqualified loss. Most importantly, the District

Court’s limited resources were wasted by a legal proceeding

that could have ceased long before it did.

It stands to reason that: (1) a fee award should be reduced

dramatically where the plaintiff prevails on only a secondary

1]

claim fails to obtain any equitable relief, and receives a monetary

judgment that is a fraction of what is demanded, to reflect this

nearly complete lack of success; and/or (2) a defendant should

not be liable for attorney fees incurred after a good faith

settlement offer, made early in the litigation, is rejected where

the plaintiff’s eventual judgment is less than the offer due to

the complete failure of a plaintiff’s major claim.

I.

THE COURT OF APPEALS’ UNEXPLAINED

AFFIRMANCE OF RESPONDENT’S AWARD OF

ATTORNEY FEES UNDERMINES TITLE VII BY

SUBSIDIZING PLAINTIFFS WHO REJECT

SETTLEMENT OFFERS TO PURSUE LONG-SHOT

CLAIMS.

A. The Court of Appeals’ Decision Rewards Respondent

for the Failure of Her Primary Claim.

“(T]he extent of a plaintiff’s success is a crucial factor in

determining the proper amount of an award of attorney’s

fees... .” Hensley, 461 U.S. at 440. Only when a court rejects

“alternative legal grounds for a desired outcome” may a fee

reduction be avoided. /d. at 435.

Although the District Court acknowledged this obligation,

it paid only “lip service” to it by failing to reduce by one cent

Respondent’s requested fee award.* Such a refusal in light of

8. The District Court’s was unwilling to reduce Respondent's

requested fee award due to limited success because Respondent

already had made such a reduction, but its view is refuted by the

facts. The elimination of time for one attorney who attended, but

did nothing during the trial (which accounted for one-third of the

(Cont'd)

12

Respondent’s dramatically limited success is an unreasonable

application of Title VII.

1. Respondent's Primary and Secondary Claims Were Not

Interrelated For Purposes of An Attorneys’ Fees Award.

As Hensley teaches:

Where the plaintiff has failed to prevail on a claim

that is distinct in all respects from his successful

claims, the hours spent on the unsuccessful claim

should be excluded in considering the amount of a

reasonable fee.

Hensley, 461 U.S. at 440. “[W]Jork done on an unsuccessful

claim cannot be deemed to have been expended in pursuit of

the ultimate result achieved.” /d. at 435 (quote omitted).

The District Court’s conclusion that Respondent’s demotion

and constructive discharge claims were interrelated ignores

several critical facts found by the District Court. To start, the

District Court held that Respondent did not experience any

sexual harassment or other discriminatory treatment after her

demotion. Liability Decision, App. at 37. Moreover,

Respondent then voluntarily transferred to another work site

that was not supervised by any of the persons who harassed or

discriminated against her. Jd. Nor was she harassed or

discriminated against by anyone else at the new site. Jd. at 37-

38. It was from that work site that she terminated her employment

(Cont'd)

total voluntary reduction) obviously was for duplication of effort.

Overall, Respondent's voluntary reduction for limited success was

less than ten percent. The District Court's inaction, therefore, resulted

in no meaningful reduction for limited success despite Hensley’'s

directive to the contrary.

:

{

y

4

4

é

4

q

13

with Scandinavian, despite being urged to stay, to work for a

competitor at a higher rate of pay. Jd. at 38. The working

conditions at her last two work sites, therefore, were separate

and distinct from those at the work site from which she was

involuntarily transferred.

Because Respondent’s demotion and constructive discharge

claims are not “alternative legal grounds for a desired outcome,”

do not “involve a common core of facts,” and are not “based on

related legal theories,” id. at 435, her failure to prevail on her

constructive discharge claim mandated a substantial reduction

in her requested fee award. A good Starting point are the

examples indicated above of specific activities that were related

exclusively or primarily to her discharge claim. The District

Court should have excluded those services from a fee award.

Such a reduction should not have stopped there. Respondent’s

counsel should bear the consequences if it is difficult to identify

other such services because they “should maintain billing

records in a manner that will enable a reviewing court to identify

distinct claims.” /d. at 437. Failing that, the District Court should

have taken the initiative and reduced the fee award.

2. Even if Respondent's Primary and Secondary Claims

Were Interrelated, the Court of Appeals’ Decision

Undermines Title VII by Rewarding Respondent's

Counsel for Failure of Their Primary Claim.

Even

[w]here a lawsuit consists of related claims .. . where

the plaintiff achieved only limited success, the district

court should award only that amount of fees that is

reasonable in relation to the results obtained.

Hensley, 461 U.S. at 439. “[T]he district court should focus on

the significance of the overall relief obtained by the plaintiff in

14

relation to the hours reasonably expended on the litigation.”

Id. at 435.

Ifa... plaintiff has achieved only partial or limited

success, the product of hours reasonably expended

on the litigation as a whole times a reasonable hourly

rate may be an excessive amount.

Id. at 436. In such instances, “[t]he district court may attempt

to identify specific hours that should be eliminated, or it may

simply reduce the award to account for the limited success.” /d.

at 436-37.

Characterizing claims as interrelated, therefore, does not

shield against a fee reduction when the plaintiff’s success on

those claims is limited. A trial court’s discretion on how to reduce

the award (specific hours vs. across the board), however, “must

be exercised in light of the considerations . . . identified” in

Hensley. Id. at 437. It cannot abandon those responsibilities

simply because the successful and unsuccessful claims are

related.

But that is precisely what the District Court did.

Respondent’s success unquestionably was limited. She claims

she was discharged; she lost. She wanted her old job back; she

did not get it. She wanted $146,000 in back pay and $40,000

per year in front pay; she received less than $13,000. She wanted

recovery against five defendants; she recovered only from one.

Yet the District Court awarded her fees as if she had prevailed

in full on all of her claims.

Instead, the District Court should have acted the same as

courts have done in countless other instances and reduced

substantially the requested fee award. See, e.g., Carroll v.

Blinken, 105 F.3d 79 (2d Cir. 1997) (fee award reduced by

%

A

a

4

bo

*

a

‘2

*

‘

a

4

3

i

RY

4

15

95% because plaintiffs prevailed on minor issue and failed on

more significant claim); Hetzel v. County of Prince William, 89

F.3d 169 (4th Cir.) (plaintiff “entitled to only a fraction of her

attorney’s fees” due to failure on most consequential claims),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 117 S. Ct. 584 (1996); Corder v.

Brown, 25 F.3d 833, 836 (9th Cir. 1994) (district court award

of full fees vacated when plaintiffs received $24,000 damage

award after demanding $2-million because plaintiffs obtained

“only a small fraction of what they originally sought”); Popham

v. City of Kennesaw, 820 F.2d 1570, 1578-82 (11th Cir. 1987)

(fee award reduced by two-thirds when plaintiff received

damages of $30,000 after demanding $2-million); Myree v. Local

41, IBEW, 847 F. Supp. 1059 (W.D. N.Y.) (plaintiff received

$25,000 damage award after seeking more than $200,000 in

back pay; court reduced by 75% all time attributable to issue of

damages), aff'd mem., 29 F.3d 620 (2d Cir. 1994); Lawrence

v. Western Pipe Service, 146 F.R.D. 195 (N.D. Ala. 1993) (fee

award reduced by 90% when plaintiff received $350 judgment

instead of more than $30,000 demanded), aff’d mem., 19 F.3d

1445 (11th Cir. 1994). Its failure to do so in defiance of this

Court’s directives constitutes an abuse of discretion and is clearly

not “reasonable” within the meaning of § 706(k) of Title VII.

Respondent’s counsel has already acted as if such a

reduction were warranted. They made a reduction, albeit

inadequate, for time spent on the post-trial Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law even though work performed on

unsuccessful claims was interrelated with the successful ones.

By the same logic Respondent’s should have extended those

reductions to the vast amount of time devoted to discovery,

trial preparation, the drafting of pre-trial Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law, the trial, and closing arguments.

16

B. By Rewarding Respondent’s Counsel for Rejecting

Settlement Offers for More Than the Value of Their Only

Viable (But Secondary) Claim to Pursue a Long Shot, the

Court of Appeals’ Decision Undermines Farrar and

Promotes Vexatious Litigation.

When a plaintiff rejects a settlement offer that exceeds the

value of her only viable (but small value) claim to pursue a

long-shot claim that fails, it offends Title VII and this Court’s

precedent for plaintiff’s counsel to be rewarded when the result

is a judgment that is less than the offer. Under Farrar, supra,

the plaintiff does not qualify as a “prevailing party” for all

purposes relevant to attorneys’ fees awards under Title VII. The

final judgment did not “modify the defendant’s behavior,” as is

required for a prevailing plaintiff, see Farrar, 506 U.S. at 111-

12, because Scandinavian already was willing to pay Respondent

a sum that was greater than the judgment.

It offends the principles espoused by this Court in Farrar

that Respondent’s counsel was rewarded fees for any services

performed after the offer was rejected. “Farrar was designed to

prevent a situation in which a client receives a pyrrhic victory

and the lawyers take a pot of gold.” Sheppard, 88 F.3d at 1339.

Even though Respondent was a prevailing party on her

secondary claims, Farrar teaches that “the ‘technical’ nature of

a... judgment. . . does not bear on the propriety of fees

awarded. ...” Jd. at 114. A court “may lawfully award fees or

no fees without reciting the twelve factors bearing on

reasonableness, or multiplying the number of hours expended

by a reasonable hourly rate.” Jd. at 115 (citations and quotes

omitted). A complete denial is appropriate where

the relevant indicia of success — the extent of relief,

the significance of the legal issue on which the

;

=

}

;

a

;

§

&

17

plaintiff prevailed, and the public purpose served

— all point to a single conclusion: ... only a de

minimis victory.

Id. at 122 (O’Connor, J., concurring). To be specific: (1) “A

substantial difference between the judgment received and the

recovery sought suggests that the victory is in fact purely

technical”; (2) “If recovering one dollar from the least culpable

defendant and nothing from the rest legitimately can be labeled

a victory . . . surely it is a hollow one”; and (3) “Success might

be considered material if it also accomplished some public goal

other than occupying the time and energy of counsel, court,

and client.” Jd. at 121-22 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

Once Respondent rejected the November 1993 settlement

offer, she was no different than the plaintiff in Farrar. She

“asked for a bundle and got [less than] a pittance.” Jd. at 120

(O’Connor, J., concurring). Her discharge claim failed because

her departure was voluntary; consequently, her demand for

equitable relief (i.e., reinstatement) was denied. She demanded

tens of thousand of dollars more than what Scandinavian had

offered, and she received thousands less, and from only one of

the five defendants she sued. Indeed, given that the $17,500

settlement offer more than covered the demotion claim, the

remainder of the case fairly can be characterized as a failure to

prevail on the discharge claim that would have netted a larger

judgment. Finally, any public purpose served by the judgment

because the award was less than the settlement offer, was of less

consequence than had Respondent accepted the settlement offer.

See Simpson v. Sheahan, 104 F.3d 998, 1002 (7th Cir. 1997).

Thus, Respondent should be treated the same as the plaintiff in

Farrar from November 1993 onward.

Nor should this just result by affected simply because

Scandinavian’s settlement offer was not couched as a Rule 68

18

offer of judgment, as Respondent undoubtedly will maintain.

This requirement, articulated in Chesny, should be revisited for

several reasons.

Rule 68 does not require an offer of judgment to reduce a

plaintiff’s attorney fees. Rule 68 actually requires a plaintiff to

pay the defendant’s costs, a far more harsh penalty. The language

does not provide for the milder penalty of a reduction of the

plaintiff’s fees. Given the harshness of the articulated result to

the plaintiff, the defendant should correspondingly be required

to offer to take an adverse judgment before obtaining that

sanction.

A civil rights defendant, however, does not receive such

benefits when an offer of judgment is made. Lower courts

repeatedly have denied fees to civil rights defendants if the

plaintiff’s judgment is less than the offer,’ and this Court has

held that the Rule 68 sanctions are not applicable if the

defendant prevails. Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. August, 450 U.S.

346 (1981). A civil rights defendant, however, still must suffer

a judgement against it to reduce the plaintiff’s fees, a judgment

that could be used against it in other proceedings. A civil rights

defendant should not have to choose between offering to take a

judgment just to limit the plaintiff’s fees or pay those fees in

full even when the eventual judgment is less than the offer.

In addition, the focus upon Rule 68 in Marek was misplaced.

The defendant had raised two contentions before the lower

9. O’Brien v. City of Greers Ferry, 873 F.2d 1115, 1120 (8th

Cir. 1989); Crossman v. Marcoccio, 806 F.2d 329, 333-34 (ist Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 481 U.S. 1029 (1987); Denny v. Hinton, 131

F.R.D. 659, 665 (M.D. N.C. 1990), aff'd mem., 937 F.2d 602 (4th Cir.

1991); Adams v. Wolff, 110 E.R.D. 291, 293-94 (D. Nev. 1986): Chesny

v. Marek, 547 F. Supp. 542, 547-48 (N.D. Ill. 1982); Waters vy.

Heublein, Inc., 485 F. Supp. 110, 117 (N.D. Cal. 197% .

rl

3

2

+5 io a

‘ached: ohana haa acti haa,

tee Eye) St

ba", ita Ee, ee Or * ~ ra ae .

Le EN eae Paneer RRP ES eae RT ee ET

19

courts: the reduction of the plaintiff’s fees and a recovery of its

own fees. The lower courts denied both claims, but the defendant

did not appeal the denial of its own fees. The significance and

necessity of an offer of judgment should have ceased once the

defendant relinquished its own fee demand.

Finally, whether the defendant makes a settlement offer or

an offer of judgment is a difference without a distinction. The

goal cited in Chesny to encourage settlements is just as applicable

when, as here, a settlement offer, rather than an offer of judgment

is made.

Respondent’s counsel easily could have remedied its

concern that Scandinavian’s settlement offer did not cover its

attorney fees. They either could have proposed that the fee issue

be left open for the District Court to decide whether Respondent

was the prevailing party. See Maher v. Gagne, 448 U.S. 122,

129-30 (1980). They declined, and their silence has been

rewarded.

This Court’s prior rulings provide the basis, and the present

case provides the opportunity, to address the abuses in civil

rights litigation where lawsuits are generated by a fight over

attorney fees. Respondent should be denied recovery of attorney

fees after she rejected Scandinavian’s November 1993 or January

1994 settlement offers.

20

CONCLUSION

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

THOMAS H. BARNARD

Counsel of Record

BARTON A. BIXENSTINE

ULMER & BERNE LLP

Bond Court Building

1300 E. 9th Street

Suite 900

Cleveland, Ohio 44114-1583

(216) 621-8400

MARK E. ZELEK

MORGAN, LEWIS & BOCKIUS

5300 Southeast Financial Center

200 South Biscayne Boulevard

Miami, Florida 33131-2339

(305) 579-0300

Attorneys for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH

CIRCUIT FILED OCTOBER 6, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-5228

D.C. Docket No. 92-1702-CIV-MARCUS

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION, a Delaware

Corporation, SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC., an Ohio

Corporation,

Defendants-Appellants,

MARK SEAMAN, MICHAEL PALUMBO, EUGENE

PALUMBO, ETC.,

Defendants.

No. 96-5367

D.C. Docket No. 92-1702-CIV-SM

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

2a

Appendix A

versus

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION, a Delaware

Corporation, SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC., an Ohio

Corporation,

Defendants-Appellants.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida

(October 6, 1997)

Before CARNES, Circuit Judge, KRAVITCH and REAVLEY’,

Senior Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

None of appellant’s contentions warrant discussion, except

one. Pointing to paragraphs nos. 21-22 of the district court's

findings of fact and conclusions of law, appellant contends that

the district court erred in considering as evidence of a hostile

sexual environment statements and conduct about which

appellee had no knowledge. Faragher v. City of Boca Raton,

76 F.3d 1155, 1162. (11th Cir. 1996), aff’d, 111 F.3d 1530

(1977) (en banc) (without relevant discussion), held that “an

employee’s conditions of employment cannot be altered by

conduct of which she is unaware,” and “cannot contribute to

her subjective view of the work environment as hostile.” We

did hold, however, that such evidence “may be relevant to the

extent that it corroborates her allegations.” 76 F.3d at 1162 n.5.

* Honorable Thomas M. Reavley, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for

the Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

Rake

nn tat ae ER Ds he 5 au S

One ne ee Bee

3a

Appendix A

Of course, the district court did not have the benefit of

Faragher when it decided this case. However, even assuming

that the district court considered evidence of conduct and

statements of which appellee was unaware as substantive

evidence instead of merely as corroboration of appellee’s own

testimony, any such error was harmless in view of all the other

evidence. As we held in Faragher, 76 F.3d at 1162, “[w]e have

no doubt that the district court would have found that [the

plaintiff's] work environment was abusive, both objectively and

subjectively, based solely on conduct of which [she] was aware.”

AFFIRMED.

4a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF FLORIDA FILED OCTOBER 9, 1996

UNITED STATE DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-1702-CIV-MARCUS

Magistrate Judge Bandstra

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff

v.

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORP., et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

THIS CAUSE comes before the Court upon Plaintiff’s

Motion for an Award of Attorney’s Fees and Reimbursement of

Costs and Litigation Expenses, initially filed September 26,

1995. Plaintiff also filed supporting memorandum, affidavits

and appendices, the Defendants filed a detailed Memorandum

in Opposition on October 25, 1995, and Plaintiff replied.

This Court referred the Motion to Magistrate Judge

Bandstra, who filed a Report and Recommendation in support

of Plaintiff’s Motion on February 21, 1996, specifically

recommending: (1) that Plaintiff’s request for attorney’s fees be

granted in the amount of $168,978.50; (2) that Plaintiff’s request

for reimbursement of costs and expenses be granted in the

OS ee a ee ee ee

phot Rk hie

Sa

Appendix B

amount of $11,373.99; and (3) that Plaintiff be awarded post-

judgment interest, at the prevailing rate, from August 30, 1995,

on any attorney’s fees and costs ultimately awarded in the case.

Thereafter, Defendants filed written objections to the Report

and Recommendation and the Plaintiff responded. Having

presided over the trial and having considered all of the relevant

pleadings, documents, and affidavits, de novo, and being

otherwise fully advised in the premises, this Court concludes

that the Magistrate Judge’s Report and Recommendation should

be adopted and the Plaintiff's Motion GRANTED.

The central contention raised by Defendants is that the

“lodestar” figure should be adjusted downward because Plaintiff

succeeded only on certain claims and was awarded only a

portion of her requested damages. As the Magistrate Judge noted,

and, indeed, as this Court observed in the course of the bench

trial, operative facts relevant to several of the claims were plainly

intertwined and overlapping. Defendants’ suggestion that the

Court should attempt to dissect the interlocking pieces of

evidence is unavailing here. We are satisfied that the fee calculus

has excluded the excessive, redundant and otherwise

unnecessary. Plaintiff’s claims were based on a central core of

facts. She successfully litigated whether a sexually hostile work

environment existed and she successfully proved that she was

discriminately demoted. Under the particular facts and

circumstances of this case, we are convinced that this “lodestar”

fee is both fair and reasonable. The labor of Plaintiff’s counsel

ultimately resulted in successfully proving much of the core

facts of the case, secured a personal damage award, and

vindicated a clear congressional policy against discriminatory

work practices. Accordingly, it is

6a

Appendix B

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that

1) Plaintiff’s request for attorney’s fees is GRANTED in

the amount of $168,978.50;

2) Plaintiff's request for reimbursement of costs and

expenses is GRANTED in the amount of $11,373.99: and

3) Plaintiff is awarded post-judgment interest, at the

prevailing rate, from August 30, 1995, on attorney’s fees and

costs awarded in the case.

DONE AND ORDERED at Miami, Florida, this 9th day

of October, 1996.

s/ Stanley Marcus

STANLEY MARCUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

cc: Magistrate Judge Bandstra

Mark Zelek, Esq.

Thomas H. Barnard, Esq.

Scott J. Jontif, Esq.

Robert E. Weisberg, Esq.

Ta

APPENDIX C — REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

. OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

DATED FEBRUARY 21, 1996

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-1702-CIV-MARCUS

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff,

VS.

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

THIS CAUSE is before the Court on Plaintiff’s Motion for

an Award of Attorney’s Fees and Reimbursement of Costs and

Litigation Expenses filed on September 26, 1995. On January

18, 1996, this motion was referred to the undersigned by the

Honorable Stanley Marcus for a Report and Recommendation

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b). Upon review of this motion,

defendants’ opposition thereto, the Court file and applicable

law, the undersigned recommends that plaintiff’s motion be

GRANTED as provided below.

es ne ee a ee

8a

Appendix C

INTRODUCTION

On July 22, 1992, plaintiff, Andrew Franklin, filed this

action against defendants, Bally Manufacturing Corporation and

Scandinavian Health Spas, Inc., alleging discrimination on the

basis of sex, sexual harrassment, and constructive discharge in

violation of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e et seg., and the Florida Human Rights Act, Fla. Stat.

§ § 760.10 et seq. Plaintiff also named certain individuals as

additional defendants in her complaint and asserted various state

law claims. The individual defendants and state law claims were

voluntarily dismissed by plaintiff early on in the litigation.

Following a period of discovery, the case proceeded to a

bench trial, between February 13, 1995 and February 17, 1995,

resulting in the issuance of Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law, dated August 30, 1995, in which the Court found

Scandinavian Health Spas liable for sexual harrassment and for

discriminatorily demoting plaintiff from one position to another.

The Court further found that Bally Manufacturing did not

constructively discharge plaintiff and, therefore, limited

plaintiff’s damages to $ 12,229.65.

On September 26, 1995, plaintiff filed the instant motion

for attorney’s fees, costs and litigation expenses. In this motion,

plaintiff seeks $170,838.50 in attorney’s fees, including those

incurred in conjunction with this motion, and $11,375.39 in

costs and expenses. In support thereof, plaintiff summits the

affidavits of her attorneys attesting to the accuracy of their

detailed billing records, the affidavit and billing records of a

paralegal who worked on the case, and a summary of costs and

litigation expenses incurred in the case.

-

a

a

a

é

.

3

;

:

;

9a

Appendix C

Defendants object to plaintiff’s motion arguing, in

summary, that the hours expended by plaintiff’s legal staff were

excessive, redundant and unreasonable. In addition, defendants

argue that the hourly rates charged by plaintiff’s attorneys are

excessive and unsupported. Defendants particularly complain

about plaintiff’s request for attorney’s fees in an amount in

excess of $180,000 when plaintiff recovered just over $12,000

in the case. Defendants also object to plaintiff’s attempt to recover

fees for attorney hours expended on unsuccessful claims

including plaintiff’s constructive discharge claim. Consequently,

iefendants request that this Court dismiss plaintiff's fee request

in toto or, in the alternative, award fees reduced to a reasonable

level.

ANALYSIS

A. Attorney's Fees

Pursuant to the Court’s Findings of Fact and Conclusions

of Law, plaintiff, as the prevailing party in this Title VII action,

is entitled to recover reasonable attorney’s fees pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 2000e-5(b). In this circuit, the determination of a

reasonable attorney's fee begins by determining the “lodestar,”

a number calculated by multiplying hours reasonably expended

by counsel by a reasonable hourly rate. Norman v. Housing

Authority of City of Montgomery, 836 F.2d 1292, 1299 (11th

Cir. 1988) (citing Hensley v. Eckerhart, 421 U.S. 424, 433

(1983)). Generally, a district court has “great latitude in

formulating attorney’s fee awards” subject only to the necessity

of explaining its reasoning to allow for appellate review.

McKenzie v. Cooper, Levins & Pastko, Inc., 990 F.2d 1183,

1184 (11th Cir. 1993) (quoting Gilmere v. City of Atlanta, 931

F.2d 811, 814 (11th Cir. 1991)).

10a

Appendix C

Here, plaintiff calculates a suggested loadstar of

$170,838.50' by multiplying the hours expended by her four

attorneys working on the case by their hourly billing rates

ranging from $150.00 to $250.00. Plaintiff supports her loadstar

calculation with the detailed billing records of each attorney

which provide a brief description of the work performed by

each attorney and the time expended on the various tasks on

particular dates. Plaintiff also seeks paralegal expenses, in the

amount of $8,911.11 (included in her loadstar calculation),

which are also supported by the affidavit and billing records of

the paralegal working on the case.

Defendants raise several objections to the suggested loadstar

challenging both the reasonableness of the hours expended by

plaintiff’s legal staff and their hourly billing rates. Defendants

begin their challenge noting plaintiff’s “limited success” at trial

on only certain claims in her complaint and her recovery of

“only” $12,229.65 in damages. Defendants argue that plaintiff

cannot possibly justify as reasonable her request for attorney’s

fee in an amount over $180,000 when she succeeded on only

some of her claims and not on her claim for constructive

discharge. From this premise, defendants argue that the hours

plaintiff's legal staff claim to have expended on successful claims

1. Plaintiff's suggested loadstar includes $6,050.00 sought for

attorney's fees incurred in conjunction with litigating the attorney's

fees issue. Plaintiff notes the general rule recognized in this circuit

that time expended litigating attorney's fees is fully compensable.

See e.g. Martin v. University of South Alabama, 911 F.2d 604, 610

(11th Cir. 1990); Johnson v. University College of University of

Alabama in Birmingham, 706 F.2d 1205, 1207 (11th Cir. 1983).

Defendants make no specific objection to plaintiff’s request for

attorneys fees resulting from this particular motion except as

addressed above.

he, RON all OMAR OL EG SA a

j

4

lla

Appendix C

are excessive, redundant and unreasonable, citing numerous

examples of excessive fees from the billing records of plaintiff's

attorneys.

The first issue raised by defendants is whether the loadstar

figure should be adjusted downward because plaintiff succeeded

on only certain claims and was awarded only a portion of her

requested damages. This issue has been repeatedly addressed

by the Supreme Court and the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

in recent years. In the landmark case of Hensley v. Eckerhart,

supra, the Supreme Court announced the following result

oriented standard:

We hold that the extent of a plaintiff's success is a

crucial factor in determining the proper amount of

an award of attorney’s fees under 42 U.S.C. § 1988.

Where the plaintiff has failed to prevail on a claim

that is distinct in all respects from his successful

claims, the hours spent on the unsuccessful claim

should be excluded in considering the amount of a

reasonable fee. Where a lawsuit consists of related

claims, a plaintiff who has won substantial relief

should not have his attorney’s fee reduced simply

because the district court did not adopt each

contention raised.

Hensley, 461 U.S. at 440.

Hensley teaches that a critical factor in determining

appropriate attorney’s fees is the degree of success obtained in

the case. William v. Roberts, 904 F.2d 634, 640 (11th Cir. 1990).

Thus, the district court, when reviewing an attorney’s fees

motion, should consider the relationship of the claims that

12a

Appendix C

resulted in the judgment with the claims that were rejected and

the contribution, if any, made to plaintiff’s success of the

investigation and prosecution of the entire case. /d. Importantly,

where operative facts relevant to the several claims are

overlapping and intertwined, the court need not attempt to dissect

the interlocking evidence and consider it in isolation as

supporting only one claim or the other. /d. Finally, the court

need not lower an attorney’s fee award simply because a

successful Title VII plaintiff did not receive the full amount of

damages sought in the case. Id. (citing City of Riverside v.

Rivera, 477 U.S. 561, 106 S. Ct. 2686 (1986) (as a rule,

attorney’s fees in civil rights cases should not be lowered to a

porportion of the damages awarded).

Reviewing plaintiff’s billing records and the court file, the

undersigned finds that plaintiff has made a reasonable and good

faith attempt to seek attorney’s fees for only those hours

expended by her attorneys on her successful claims of sexual

harrassment and discriminatory transfer/demotion while

attempting to exclude those hours directed solely to unsuccessful

claims. Defendants estimate that plaintiff excludes only about

100 attorney hours (of approximately 980 expended by

plaintiff’s legal staff), and plaintiff does not challenge this

estimate. While a 10% reduction of time may seem insignificant

to defendants, the undersigned does not find it “inconceivable”

that only 10% of plaintiff’s attorney time was expended solely

on unsuccessful claims. Stated otherwise, the undersigned finds

no reason to question plaintiff’s estimate that 90% of her

attorney’s time was spent developing facts that were overlapping

and interwined with both successful and unsuccessful claims.

Finding no reason to reduce the requested lodestar based

on plaintiff's “limited” success at trial, the undersigned next

13a

Appendix C

examines plaintiff’s billing records to determine whether any

hours expended by plaintiff’s legal staff were excessive,

redundant, or unreasonable. To a large extent, defendants argue

for such a finding based on the fact that plaintiff’s law firm had

four attorneys working on the case, sharing certain

responsibilities, and carrying pretrial discovery and trial

responsibilities at different times in the case. The undersigned

finds no inherent problem in plaintiff staffing her case in this

manner. As noted above, each attorney working on the case

submitted his or her own affidavit and billing records which

document the work responsibilities of each attorney and the

time spent on particular tasks. The undersigned does not find

that any of the tasks performed were unnecessary to the

preparation or trial of this case or that plaintiff’s attorneys merely

duplicated each other’s work resulting in excessive fees. Thus,

the undersigned rejects defendants’ contention that plaintiff’s

attorneys “milked” the case to increase their fees.

Defendants also note several “examples” of “inappropriate

charges” in support of their position. Reviewing those examples,

the undersigned finds no obvious instances of excessive billing

associated with the depositions, written discovery, or any other

work in the case. While the requested fee appears high, it does

not seem excessive due to the numerous depositions completed

prior to trial, the numerous issues which went to trial, and the

degree to which defendants defended the case. Plaintiffs, in

their reply memorandum agree to delete 12.4 hours of attorney

time as hours inadvertently included in the fee request. Apart

from those hours, the undersigned finds no reason to

recommend a further reduction of the requested lodestar due to

any excessive or unreasonable billing by plaintiff’s attorneys.

Finally, the undersigned finds that the hourly billing rates

charged by plaintiff’s attorneys are reasonable for attorneys of

l4a

Appendix C

their skill and experience in this type of litigation. Three of

plaintiff’s four attorneys billed at the hourly rate of $150.00.

Only Robert E. Weisbergk, Esquire, billed at $250.00 per hour.

Based on this Court’s experience and knowledge of attorney

rates typically charged for this type of litigation by attorneys of

similar experience and skill, the undersigned finds these rates

are reasonable for this particular case.

B. Costs and Expenses

Plaintiff also seeks to recover $11,373.99 in costs and

expenses incurred in the case. Reviewing plaintiff's summary

of such expenses, it appears that the largest expense, was for

court reporter costs for transcripts and attendance fees

($5,942.55) with the remainder of the expenses composed

mostly of photocopying, mailing, and other recoverable

expenses. Defendants raise no objection whatsoever to any of

the requested costs or expenses. Accordingly, the undersigned

recommends a reimbursement of costs and expenses in the

requested amount of $11,373.99.

C. Post-Judgment Interest

Finally, plaintiff seeks post-judgment interest on attorney's

fees and costs ultimately awarded in the case from August 30,

1995, the date of the Court’s issuance of it’s Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law. Plaintiff cites authority in support of

its request for interest on fees although not from this circuit.

- See e.g. Copper Liquor, Inc. v. Adolph Coors Co., 701 F.2d

542 (Sth Cir. 1988) (interest awarded on fees from date of

original judgment); Finkelstein v. Bergna, 804 F. Supp. 1235,

1240 (N.D. Cal. 1992). Once again, defendants raise no

objection to this aspect of plaintiff’s motion.

15a

Appendix C

Accordingly, the undersigned recommends that the Court

award post-judgment interest, at the prevailing rate, on any

attorney's fees and costs ultimately awarded by the Court from

August 30, 1995.

SUMMARY

For all of the foregoing reasons, the undersigned

recommends:

(a) that plaintiff's request for attorney’s fees be GRANTED

in the amount of $168,978.50;

(b) that plaintiff’s request for reimbursement of costs and

expenses be GRANTED in the amount of $11,373.99; and

(c) that plaintiff be awarded post-judgment interest, at the

prevailing rate, from August 30, 1995, on any attorney’s fees

and costs ultimately awarded in the case.

The parties may serve and file written objections to this

Report and Recommendation with the Honorable Stanley

Marcus, United States District Judge, within ten (10) days of

the receipt. See 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(1)(C); United States v.

Warren, 687 F.2d 347 (11th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 460 U.S.

1087 (1983); Hardin v. Wainwright, 678 F.2d 589 (Sth Cir.

Unit B 1982); see also Thomas v. Arn., 474 U.S. 140 (1985).

seta iii

l6a

Appendix C

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED at Miami, Florida this

21st day of February, 1996.

s/ Ted E. Bandstra

Ted E. Bandstra

United States Magistrate Judge

Copies furnished to:

Hon. Stanley Marcus

All counsel of record

17a

APPENDIX D — FINAL JUDGMENT OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF FLORIDA FILED OCTOBER 16, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO.: 92-1702-CIV-MARCUS

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff,

vs.

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION, a Delaware

corporation, and SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC., an

Ohio corp.,

Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT

THIS ACTION came for trial before the Court, Honorable

Stanley Marcus, District Judge, presiding and the issues having

been duly tried and the Court having entered its Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is hereby

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, that judgment is hereby

entered in favor of Defendant, BALLY MANUFACTURING

CORP., and against Plaintiff, ANDREA FRANKLIN, with

respect to her claims against BALLY MANUFACTURING

CORP. If is further

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED, that the Plaintiff,

ANDREA FRANKLIN, recover from Defendant,

18a

Appendix D

SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC., the sum of fourteen

thousand eight hundred forty six dollars and twenty one cents

($14,846.21) which includes damages in the amount of twelve

thousand two hundred twenty nine dollars and sixty five cents

($12,229.65) and prejudgment interest in the amount of two

thousand six hundred sixteen dollars and fifty six cents

($2,616.56). Plaintiff shall also recover post judgment interest

at the rate allowed by law. It is further,

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED that Plaintiff, ANDREA

FRANKLIN, as a prevailing party in a Title VII action, is also

entitled to recover reasonable attorneys’ fees pursuant to 42

U.S.C. §2000e-5(k), as well as her costs. The Court will enter a

separate Order on Plaintiff's attorneys’ fees and costs.

DONE AND ORDERED in Chambers in Miami, Dade

County, Florida this 16th day of October, 1995.

s/ Stanley Marcus

STANLEY MARCUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

cc: Counsel of Record

F; ae

ce Rit Seer

EE. ee oot

19a

APPENDIX E — FINDINGS OF FACT AND

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF FLORIDA FILED AUGUST 30, 1995

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

CASE NO. 92-1702-CIV-MARCUS

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff,

V.

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION,

a Delaware corporation licensed to do business in Florida,

and SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC., an Ohio

Corporation licensed to do business in Florida,

Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

THIS CAUSE was tried without a jury before the Court on

February 13-15, 1995, and closing arguments were heard on

May 16, 1995. In this action, Plaintiff Andrea Franklin sues

her former employer for violations of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 2000¢e et seq.,

and Florida Statutes Chapter 760. Specifically, Count I of the

Plaintiff’s complaint alleges that she was discriminated against

when she was demoted and constructively discharged on the

basis of her gender, in violation of Title VII. In Count H, Plaintiff

claims that she was subjected to a sexually hostile and offensive

20a

Appendix E

work environment, also in violation of Title VII. Count III,

claiming intentional infliction of emotional distress, was

voluntarily dismissed by the Plaintiff on February 23, 1993.

Count IV alleges that the same discriminatory conduct against

the Plaintiff was in violation of Chapter 760 of the Florida

Statutes.

Jurisdiction is vested in this Court by 42 U.S.C. § 2000e

5(f) (3) and 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1367, and pursuant to Fed.

R. Civ. P. 52(a), the Court makes the following Findings of

Fact and Conclusions of Law.

I. FINDINGS OF FACT

1. The parties have stipulated that:

A. Plaintiff was an employee of Defendant

Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. (“Scandinavian”).

B. Defendant Scandinavian owns and operates eleven

clubs in Dade, Broward and Palm Beach Counties, among others

in other states in the United States.

C. Defendant Scandinavian is a wholly-owned

subsidiary of Defendant Bally Manufacturing Corp. (“Bally”).

D. Defendants Scandinavian and Bally are employers

under Title VII who are engaged in interstate commerce and

each of them employs twenty or more employees.

2. The Plaintiff filed an administrative charge of

discrimination with the Equal Employment Opportunity

Commission (“EEOC”) (EEOC Charge No. 150-91-2900) on

ee Me

2la

Appendix E

or about August 8, 1991. The EEOC issued a Notice of Right

to Sue, which was received by the Plaintiff within ninety days

before July 22, 1992. The Plaintiff has met all conditions

precedent to the filing of this action.

3. The eleven health clubs operated by Scandinavian in

South Florida were known as: Davie, Courtrooms, Waterways,

Kendall I, Kendall II, North Miami, Pompano, Coral Gables,

Boca Raton, West Palm, and Palm Beach. The Kendall I,

Pompano, and North Miami locations were known as “non-

executive” clubs, while the remaining eight were classified as

“executive” clubs. The distinctions between executive and non-

executive clubs were the size of the facility and the amenities.

The executive clubs were larger and held amenities not offered

by the non-executive clubs, which included, for example, one

or more of the following: tennis courts, racquetball courts, a

larger swimming pool, more exercise classes, a tanning room,

and a running track.

4. Membership sales were the primary revenue source for

Scandinavian’s South Florida clubs. Employees sold

memberships in different packages and for different lengths of

time. At all relevant times, however, the majority of membership

options in the South Florida clubs permitted the member to use

any of Scandinavian’s clubs, whether executive or non-

executive. Salespeople in non-executive clubs could sell both

the same membership packages as sold in executive clubs, as

well as being able to offer less expensive memberships when

the sale was made at a non-executive club.

5. Before March 11, 1991, all eleven South Florida clubs

had the same sales and management structure. Each club had

two sales teams, known as divisions. The divisions were

22a

Appendix E

comprised of an equal number of Program Directors — the

entry level sales position at Scandinavian. The division might

also include one or two Staff Managers, also known as Future

Managers. The entire division was run by the Division Manager

(or “DM”), and the two Division Managers reported to a single

club General Manager (or “GM”).

6. Program Directors were responsible primarily for selling

club memberships, and their compensation was based on sales

commissions. Staff Managers, like Program Directors, were

primarily concerned with selling memberships, but they also

oversaw the sales efforts of a few Program Directors as well.

Division Managers were responsible for generating both their

own personal sales and for coordinating and maximizing the

sales efforts of the Program Directors and Staff Managers on

their teams. The DMs assisted with sales efforts, helped close

deals, and coached and pressured Program Directors to ensure

high levels of sales. Division Managers’ compensation was

primarily based on their own sales results, but they were also

able to earn “overrides” depending on how well their team

performed relative to the team’s sales quota.

7. The monthly sales quotas for the South Florida clubs

were set by Scandinavian according to the sales expectations

for the club. Non-executive clubs generally had smaller sales

quotas and smaller sales staffs than executive clubs. Each

salesperson had an individual sales quota, computed as some

portion of the club’s overall sales quota. Each Divisional

Manager also had a sales quota for his or her staff that equalled

half of the club’s overall sales quota.

8. Selling memberships at a non-executive club was more

difficult than at an executive club because the smaller size and

H

t

4A

4

3

3

23a

Appendix E

fewer amenities drew less traffic into the club, resulted in a

smaller member base, and made selling a membership more

difficult. A Divisional Manager at a non-executive club could

genera'ly be expected to earn less than a Divisional Manager at

an executive club because of the lower overall membership sales

rate at those facilities. This difference was offset to some degree,

however, because non-executive clubs had lower sales quotas,

making it easier to obtain override compensation. In a few

instances, an individual DM at a non-executive club did earn

more in a single month than an individual DM at an executive

club.

9. Prior to March of 1991, each club had a single General

Manager, the highest management position at any one facility.

The GM was responsible for the day-to-day operation of the

club, as well as its overall sales performance. The GM was not

rersonally responsible for selling memberships, and the GM’s

compensation was based entirely on salary and overrides.

10. As nearly every present and former Scandinavian

salesperson or manager to testify made clear, Scandinavian

employees worked in a potentially lucrative, but high pressure,

competitive sales environment. Employees were consistently

expected to sell large numbers of memberships and were always

in competition with one another for promotional opportunities

and even for maintenance of their own positions. Salespeople

and managers were commonly transferred from one position to

another, either within or among clubs. These transfers often

involved demotions and promotions between levels of

management and sales positions, as well as lateral transfers to

more or less desirable clubs. Nearly every former or present

Scandinavian employee having achieved a position beyond

Program Director who testified at trial had a work history replete

24a

Appendix E

with transfers, promotions, and demotions. Both male and

female employees experienced this shuffling of positions.

11. During 1990, the eleven South Florida Scandinavian

clubs were under the direction of Jeff Stockstill. In addition, in

December of 1989, Mark Seaman was promoted to a position

called Area Manager. In that capacity, Seaman supervised first

three, and later four clubs, and reported to Jeff Stockstill, who

supervised the remaining South Florida clubs directly. The clubs

under Seaman’s management were Kendall I, Kendall II, and

Coral Gables. The Davie club was later added as a fourth facility

under Seaman’s direction.

12. Andrea Franklin was introduced to the Scandinavian

clubs in late 1988 or early 1989, when she was an employee of

another club owned by Bally in St. Louis, Missouri. During a

vacation in South Florida, Franklin went to the Waterways club

to exercise. As a manager of another club owned by Bally, she

was permitted to use any of the Bally-owned facilities in the

country. Mark Seaman was the manager at the Waterways club

at that time. Seaman discussed the earnings potential at the South

Florida Scandinavian clubs with Franklin, and encouraged her

to come to work for him. Seaman explained, however, that

Franklin would have to start at the bottom and work her way

up. Seaman then gave the Plaintiff the name of one of the

Divisional Managers at Waterways, Joe Picone, and told Franklin

to contact Picone if she were interested in pursuing a position.

Franklin did contact Picone, made arrangements to move to

Florida, and began workin? atthe Waterways club in May of

1989 as a Program Director.

13. Shortly before the Plaintiff joined the sales team at

Waterways, Seaman also hired Dave Widstrand, who had

previously been a manager of other health clubs in the Chicago

25a

Appendix E

area, as a Future Manager/Staff Manager in the Waterways club.

In August of 1989, Franklin was promoted to the Staff Manager

position.

14. In September of 1989, Franklin was promoted to the

position of Divisional Manager at the Kendall II facility, under

then General Manager Ron Wilcox. Franklin took over this

position in October of 1989. The other Divisional Manager

position at Kendall II remained unoccupied until mid-December

of 1989.

15. Stuart Dansby replaced Wilcox as General Manager at

Kendall II in early December of 1989. Also in December of

1989, Seaman was promoted to the position of Area Manager,

with direct supervision of the Kendall I, Kendall II, and Coral

Gables clubs. At about the same time, Jeff Stockstill became

the Area Director for all eleven South Florida Scandinavian

clubs.

17. Seaman’s office during this time was located in the

Coral Gables club, and he spent the majority of his time at that

facility. His contact with the Kendall II club included calling

the club daily and visiting the club approximately once a week.

18. Also in December of 1989, Jim Willin was moved from

his position as General Manager at the Kendall I club to the

open Divisional Manager position at Kendall II, opposite

Franklin. Franklin worked the “A team” which covered Monday,

Wednesday, Friday, and alternating Sundays. Willin’s “B team”

worked Tuesday, Thursday, Saturday, and alternating Sundays.

19. A typical work day on Franklin’s Monday-Wednesday-

Friday and alternating Sunday schedule ran from 10 or 11 in

the morning until 10 or 11 at night. In addition, on Tuesday,

26a

Appendix E

Thursday, and Saturday, the “off days,” salespeople were

expected to report for “phone night.” On phone night, the

employee worked between two and four hours in the afternoon

or early evening, setting up appointments for the next work

day. Thus, in a typical month, Franklin and the other salespeople

could expect to have two days entirely off from work.

20. The Kendall II club was performing poorly at this time.

In September of 1989, for example, the club fulfilled only 65

percent of its $325,000.00 sales quota for the month. By January

of 1990, however, the club reached 115 percent of its then

$375,000.00 sales quota. The monthly sales performances of

Franklin and Willin and their respective staffs for January

through August of 1990 at Kendall II were as follows:'

—STAFF RESULTS— —PERSONAL RESULTS—

Month/DM Quota/Sales % Quota/Sales %

January $187,500 $50,000

Franklin $225,138 120 $55,990 112

Willin $205,658 110 $63,578 127

February $187,500 $50,000

Franklin $183,059 98 $64,324 129

Willin $143,319 76 $68,108 136

March $187,500 $50,000

Franklin $216,563 116 $63,438 127

Willin $196,432 105 $62,811 126

April $187,500 $50,000/

$42,000?

Franklin $194,011 103 $61,629 123

Willin $193,597 103 $47,303 113

1. Defs.” Exh. 3, Composite Staff Results for the South Florida

Clubs for 1990.

2. In April of 1990, Willin’s personal quota was $42,000, while

Franklin’s was $50,000.

27a

Appendix E

May $187,500 $60,000

Franklin $210,150 112 $61,703 103

Willin $213,762 114 $66,813 111

June $187,500 $60,000

Franklin $215,231 115 $59,705 100

Willin $214,442 114 $70,314 117

July $187,500 $50,000

Franklin $242,110 129 $56,689 113

Willin $234,558 125 $65,031 130

August $187,500 $50,000

Franklin $252,331 135 $58,211 116

Willin $260,733 139 $58,694 117

Thus, the two Divisional Managers at the Kendall II club

performed comparably for the period between January and

August of 1990.

A. Claim of Sexual Discrimination Based upon a Sexually

Hostile and Offensive Work Environment

21. Despite the Plaintiff's accomplishments in her tenure

with the Scandinavian clubs, Mark Seaman and Stuart Dansby

subjected the Plaintiff to a continuous pattern of harassment

based upon her gender. The oppressive working conditions and

acts of sexual discrimination and harassment she suffered while

working at Kendall II between January and October of 1990

included:

a. At periodic group meetings and in the club, Plaintiff

Franklin was referred to in a sexually derogatory and degrading

manner. Both Dansby and Seaman regularly referred to Franklin

as the “DM with tits.” This epithet was applied to Franklin both

when Dansby and Seaman addressed her directly and as a means

28a

Appendix E

of referring to her with others. Seaman and Dansby used the

phrase “DM with tits” during conversations in front of club

members, as well as the staff. Dansby admits having referred to

Franklin in this manner. In addition, a number of former

Scandinavian employees testified as to these derogatory

comments. Gina Reyes testified that she heard both Dansby

and Seaman call Franklin “DM with tits;” Ana Remond testified

to having overheard Dansby on the telephone with Seaman on

two separate occasions in which he referred to Franklin as a

“DM with tits;” Cindy Watson testified to having heard Seaman

use the term “DM with tits” in reference to the Plaintiff; and

Ron Wilcox testified that Seaman used the phrase “DM with

tits” on “a couple of occasions.” (Wilcox Depos. at 53). Wilcox

recalled in particular that at a meeting regarding Franklin's

demotion to North Miami, Seaman stated that he was “sick and

tired of DMs with tits.” Plainly, the repeated use of this

derogatory phrase undermined Plaintiff's authority with both

her staff and club members and humiliated her.

22. Mark Seaman and Stuart Dansby subjected the Plaintiff

to a series of derogatory remarks and an oppressive work

environment. Cindy Watson’ testified credibly that Dansby stated

at a meeting at the Kendall II club that “you could fly a small

jet engine into Andrea Franklin’s crotch and not hit the sides.”

Watson also testified that Seaman had referred to Watson as a

“dumb fucking cunt,” that she must be a “great lay” to have

attained her position with Scandinavian, and that the only reason

she made as much money as she did was because she was “good

on her back.” In addition, Watson further recalled Seaman

making certain generally derogatory comments about women

3. Watson was the General Manager of the Coral Gables club,

where Seaman had his office during 1990 and spent the majority of

his time.

29a

Appendix E

employees on a regular basis in 1990, including: that women

don’t have the “warrior mentality” that it takes to succeed, that

a woman's place was at home, that women were not strong

enough for promotion, and that women employees asked for

too much time off.

Ron Wilcox testified that Seaman regularly expressed a

dislike for women and that he often conveyed the idea that “on

a management level, that women were not good enough to be

general managers... .” Wilcox Depos. at 57. Wilcox also

recalled Seaman “alluding to the fact that he preferred to have

men as general managers, that they were more reliable, that

they were more dependable, that he didn’t have to worry about

them, whether they’re going to have their periods or not,

whether they’re going to be sick, whether they'd make it into

work that day or not, whether they'd have complaints.” /d. at

58-59.

Gina Reyes, a staff manager on Andrea Franklin’s team at

Kendall II, added that Dansby often made sexually derogatory

comments about the women members of his staff at team

meetings. In particular, Reyes recalled Dansby telling her to go

out into the club with her “lead boxes” and get some leads,

referring to her large breasts. These comments were made in

Franklin’s presence.

Ana Remond testified that while she was a Divisional

Manager at the Coral Gables club, Mark Seaman made numerous

derogatory comments about women generally. Seaman stated

that women don’t make good managers because they don’t have

the “warrior mentality,” and that women should stay at home

and cook. Remond also recalled having heard Seaman call

Cindy Watson a “fucking dumb bitch” and telling Remond not

to listen to Watson.

30a

Appendix E

Finally, Plaintiff Franklin testified credibly that Seaman

was often present when Dansby would call her the “DM with

tits” but that he never reprimanded Dansby. Instead, Seaman

laughed. Franklin complained to Dansby about both his own

behavior and that of Seaman, but Dansby did nothing to correct

the problem.

23. Seaman and Dansby treated Franklin differently from

her male counterpart, Jim Willin, despite their nearly identical

records of sales, both personally and for their staffs. Dansby

and Seaman often screamed and yelled at Franklin, while Willin

was spared this kind of treatment. In addition, Franklin received

written warnings for conduct that Willin was never reprimanded

for. Finally, after Willin had been out of the club for nearly a

month for personal reasons, Franklin was not permitted to take

even a one-week vacation. The increasing pressure that was

heaped upon Franklin by Dansby, and at Seaman's direction,

culminated in her demotion in October of 1990.

B. Claim of Sexual Discrimination in Demotion from

Kendall II to North Miami Club

24. In September of 1990, Willin was absent for the

majority of the month, first on bereavement leave, and later for

medical reasons. While Willin was out of the club, the Plaintiff

was required to cover Willin’s responsibilities. Franklin worked

every day in September without a single day off. Despite Willin’s

absence, and with Franklin’s considerable efforts, the Kendall

II club achieved 101 percent of its $400,000.00 quota in

September of 1990. Defs.’ Exh. 4 at 002682. The A-team sold

111 percent of its $200,000.00 quota, and the B-team 95 percent

of its $200,000.00 quota. The Plaintiff herself reached sales of

116 percent of her personal quota in September, while Willin

sold only 38 percent of his quota.

“i an aioe a

3la

Appendix E

25. Stuart Dansby testified that it was Mark Seaman’s

decision that Franklin would have to make up for Willin’s

absence during the September period. Dansby specifically

acknowledged that requiring her to take over Willin’s staff in

addition to her own was a lot to ask. However, Dansby did not

relate these concerns to Seaman and instead continued to apply

the pressure to Franklin at Seaman’s direction.

26. The Plaintiff received six employee warning reports

while she was a Divisional Manager at Kendall II. First, on

June 20, 1990, Plaintiff was warned for not meeting

requirements of $5000 of personal gross sales in a working

day, having fifteen appointments scheduled for a working day,

staying until the last sale is made and the last salesperson goes

off duty, and staying until 8:30 p.m. on phone night. Next, on

September 20, 1990, the Plaintiff was given three written

warnings charging, respectively, that Plaintiff: (1) wrote a

“phony turn back the hands of time contract;” (2) forged Stuart

Dansby’s signature on a contract; and (3) called in $4,000.00

of “non-existent gross.” On October 17, 1990, Plaintiff was

given two warnings, both for coming to work without fifteen

appointments. The Plaintiff did not disagree in writing with

any of these write-ups, despite there being a space on the form

for the employee to respond to the charge. However, we credit

Franklin’s testimony that Dansby instructed her not to disagree

if she wanted to keep her job. Jim Willin also testified that on

one occasion when he was warned for an incident in 1989 which

he did not believe was his fault, he was instructed not to disagree.

27. Other similarly situated employees generally were not

given written warnings for the kinds of problems identified in

the warnings given to the Plaintiff. Gina Reyes, a member of

the A team, testified that she often worked out in the Kendall II

32a

Appendix E

club on her phone nights after completing her work. Therefore,

she was often present at the end of the B team’s sales day. Reyes

stated that Jim Willin did not always stay until the last salesperson

on his team left for the night, but that his Staff Manager would

sometimes stay and call in the daily numbers instead. Although

Willin testified that he never left before the last salesperson, we

find Reyes’s testimony on this point credible, as she has no

apparent bias and clearly recalled the circumstances surrounding

these nights.

Dave Widstrand, formerly a Divisional Manager, General

Manager, and Area Manager for Scandinavian, testified that

salespeople were permitted to sell “turn back the hands of time”

contracts* even when the promotion was not being run and

even if no existing member came in with the new member.’

4. The “turn back the hands of time” contract was a promotion

in which a prospective member could join at the rate at which an

existing club member had joined, even if the club member had joined

many years ago at a rate no longer available for memberships. The

promotion was a way of getting existing members to bring in their

friends as members of the club.

5. Defendants objected to Widstrand’s testimony with respect

to this subject on the grounds of relevancy, foundation, and hearsay.

Widstrand’s testimony is relevant to the issue of whether it was

acceptable practice for Scandinavian employees to use the turn back

the hands of time promotion at times when the promotion was not

officially being run. If this practice were allowed, then the fact that

Plaintiff was written up for doing so would be an indication that the

warning was undeserved. With respect to the claim of hearsay,

Widstrand testified as to matters within his own knowledge. To the

extent that Widstrand testified as to what Jeff Stockstill told

managers about the acceptability of this practice, the testimony is

not hearsay because it was not offered for the truth of its contents,

but for the fact that it was stated. If Stockstill told managers that

(Cont'd)

33a

Appendix E

Widstrand further stated that he himself sold such contracts and

was never disciplined for doing so. Widstrand also testified that

calling in “non-existent gross”* was commonplace among

Divisional Managers, including himself, but that he never

received any written warnings for doing so.

The Divisional Managers at Kendall II during this time

could not have been expected to sell $5000 per day in

memberships. Each DM would generally sell on fifteen days of

each month. At sales of $5000 per day, a DM would be expected

to sell $75,000.00 in memberships in a month. Neither Willin

nor Franklin ever achieved this level of sales in any month at

Kendall II. Thus, the “requirement” that Franklin reach $5000

in sales each work day could not have been applied generally

to the Divisional Managers at Kendall II in 1990.

28. Mark Seaman instructed Stuart Dansby to give Franklin

written warnings during September and October of 1990.

Dansby Depos. at 330.

(Cont'd)

they could use the hands of time promotion in this way, then

managers would think that this practice was allowed, even if it were

not in truth permitted. Defendants have not specified their foundation

requirement with enough specificity for this Court to determine what

portion of the six pages of testimony to which the objection was

raised lacks foundation. We see no such infirmity in Widstrand’s

testimony on this point.

6. At the end of the work-day, the Divisional Managers were

required to call in their teams’ sales for the day. Calling in non-

existent gross would mean that the Divisional Manager had called

in a number for the day that was greater than the amount of sales

actually made that day.

34a

Appendix E

29. Despite these warnings, Dansby testified that he was

satisfied with the Plaintiff’s performance during that time. He

stated that she had done all that could be expected of her with

the burden of both staffs on her shoulders in September.

30. After this difficult month, Franklin requested a vacation

in October. This request was granted, in writing, by both

Seaman and Dansby. Pltff.’s Exh. 29 at 000017. The vacation

was scheduled for October 13th through 21st.

31. In the first ten days of October, Franklin’s personal

sales totalled $8321.47. With a sales quota of $50,000.00 for

October, Plaintiff's sales were less than what would be expected

for the first third of the month (i.e. less than one-third of her

quota) if Plaintiff were to meet her quota for the month.

However, in several other months during 1990, Franklin’s early

sales figures were less than one-third of quota, and she obtained

her personal quota in each of those months.’

32. Approximately two days before Franklin’s vacation

was to begin, Seaman and Dansby insisted that she cancel the

vacation and increase her sales production over the next ten

days or she would be demoted. Dansby testified that cancelling

7. The following table shows four months in which Plaintiff's

initial sales were low but in which she eventually reached her quota:

Month 10-day sales Times Three Quota % Quota

Reached

March $14,377.48 $43,132.44 $50,000.00 127

April $16,116.00 $48,348.00 $50,000.00 123

May $13,573.00 $40,719.00 $60,000.00 103

June $17,051.25 $51,153.75 $60,000.00 100

Data from Pitff.’s Exh. 4, Sales Detail Audits.

35a

Appendix E

Franklin's vacation was Seaman’s idea. Dansby disagreed with

this move because he felt Franklin had done a good job in

September and would not have cancelled her vacation.

Nonetheless, he went along with Seaman’s decision. Franklin

was then given an ultimatum — to get her numbers up in the

next ten days or she would be demoted. However, no specific

number was set for Plaintiff to achieve during that time, and it

was unclear what was then expected of her.

33. Despite having already purchased plane tickets and

made other reservations for her vacation, Plaintiff cancelled her

trip and remained at work. The sales detail audit report for

Plaintiff's October sales shows that from October 11th throv zh

October 19th, Franklin’s sales totalled $13,581.97. Before tne

end of this ten-day trial period, however, Franklin was told that

she was being demoted. Plaintiff was then given the choice of

being a Program Director — the entry-level sales position — at

Kendall II, or becoming a Divisional Manager at the North

Miami club, a non-executive facility. Seaman had no

supervisory role over the North Miami club at that time. Franklin

chose the North Miami club alternative.

34. Although Defendants suggested that Franklin herself

requested the move to North Miami, we find that no such request

was ever made until Plaintiff was given the above-mentioned

choice. In particular, we credit the testimony of Stuart Dansby

regarding the Plaintiff's demotion. Dansby first testified that

Seaman initiated the issue of demoting Franklin when he insisted

that she be told to either get her numbers up or be demoted.

Dansby Depos. at 203. Dansby further stated directly that

Franklin did not request the transfer. Jd. at 156-57. Ultimately,

Dansby testified that Seaman decided to demote Franklin, and

he went along with the decision despite his own reservations.

36a

Appendix E

In fact, Dansby said that he felt the decision was made too

quickly and that Franklin’s performance was not deserving of a

demotion. /d. at 271, 297. In addition, the Plaintiff herself

testified credibly that she did not choose to transfer to North

Miami, but only asked for that position after being given the

demotion alternatives.

35. The Plaintiff's transfer from Kendall II to North Miami

at the Divisional Manager's position was a demotion, not a

lateral transfer. Selling memberships at a non-executive club

was more difficult than at an executive club because the smaller

size and fewer amenities drew less traffic into the club, resulted

in a smaller member base, and made selling a membership more

difficult. A Divisional Manager at a non-executive club was

generally expected to earn less than a Divisional Manager at an

executive club because of the lower overall membership sales

rate at those facilities. This difference was offset to some degree,

however, because non-executive clubs had lower sales quotas,

making it easier to obtain override compensation. Nonetheless,

the earnings potential of a Divisional Manager at a non-executive

club was widely viewed as less than that for a Divisional

Manager at an executive club. Every present and former

Scandinavian employee to testify at trial or in deposition, with

the singular exception of Mark Seaman, agreed that a transfer

from a Divisional Manager position at an executive club to a

Divisional Manager position at a non-executive club was a

demotion. With respect to the Plaintiff in particular, Stuart

Dansby testified repeatedly about her “demotion” to North

Miami. In addition, where Plaintiff was given the choice

between taking an entry-level position at the Kendall II club or

the DM position at North Miami, the transfer can only be seen

as a demotion for the Plaintiff. Indeed, if the transfer were not a

demotion, then offering Plaintiff the choice of a demotion to

37a

Appendix E

the Program Director position as an alternative would have made

no sense whatsoever.

B. Claim of Constructive Discharge

36. Franklin remained at the North Miami club for three

months. During that time, there is no evidence that Franklin

experienced any sexual harassment or other discriminatory

treatment. In fact, the Plaintiff offered no evidence that she even

encountered Seaman or Dansby in any way during this time.

However, she testified that she was unhappy at North Miami

because the membership was primarily black, while she was

white, and that there was a lot of racial tension in the club.

Franklin also stated that she was afraid to be the last one at the

club in North Miami and have to physically check the facilities

and lock the doors alone. As a result of this fear and the racial

tension at North Miami, Franklin requested a transfer out of the

North Miami club in January of 1991. Area Manager Jeff

Stockstill informed the Plaintiff that no Divisional Manager

positions were available at that time, and Franklin requested a

transfer to a Program Director position at the Waterways club.

At that time, Mark Seaman had no supervisory role with respect

to the Waterways club.

37. Rhonda Smith was the General Manager of the

Waterways club in early 1991. Franklin was placed on the “A”

team, under Divisional Manager Joe Picone. Likewise, there is

no evidence that the Plaintiff suffered any discriminatory

treatment while at the Waterways club or encountered even a

single instance of sexual harassment there.

38. In February of 1991, Scandinavian announced a drastic

reorganization of the South Florida market in response to the

38a

Appendix E

overall poor fiscal performance of the South Florida area during

1990. The reorganization wholly restructured the management

scheme of the South Florida clubs, eliminating the General

Manager/two Divisional Manager staffing of each facility. The

Program Directors at all eleven South Florida clubs would now

come under the supervision of two co-managers, with equal

responsibility for the administration of each club. These co-

managers, in turn, reported to one of four area supervisors. The

reorganization also drastically reduced the sales commission

system in the South Florida clubs. Salespeople and managers ai

all South Florida facilities suffered approximately a 60 percent

reduction in pay.

39. The Scandinavian reorganization took effect in March

of 1991. The change in compensation and management structure

prompted a mass exodus of both male and female employees

from the South Florida Scandinavian clubs. Both Ron Wilcox

and Rhonda Smith urged Franklin to stay with Scandinavian.

However, Franklin quit her job with Scandinavian to join Spa

Lady, a direct competitor of Scandinavian, effective March 1,

1991.

40. Also in February of 1991, Mark Seaman became the

Area Manager for the entire South Florida region. There is no

evidence that Seaman and Franklin came into contact during

the approximately two weeks in which he was Area Manager

and Franklin was still at the Waterways club. Although Franklin

testified that she left the employ of Scandinavian as a result of

her past problems with Seaman and his new management role,

we find that Franklin was one of a number of employees who

found their earnings potential within the Scandinavian system

drastically reduced and chose to leave the company for that

reason.

39a

Appendix E

II. CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

|. Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e, et seq., provides, in pertinent part:

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for

an employer-—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to his compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because

of such individual's race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin... .

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2.

2. For sexual harassment to be actionable under Title VII,

however, the harassing actor must be an “employer,” as defined

by 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(b), i.e., an individual or firm that is

“engaged in an industry affecting commerce who has fifteen or

more employees for each working day in each of twenty or

more calendar weeks in the current or preceding calendar year,

and any agent of such a person. ...” Jd. Defendants here

concede that they are “employers” within the meaning of Title

VII. Joint Pre-trial Stipulation J V.10. Defendant Bally, however,

contends that it is not Plaintiff's employer. The Plaintiff,

conversely, argues that Defendants Scandinavian and Bally are

sufficiently integrated to be considered a single “employer”

within the meaning of Title VII.

3. A grouping of employers may be considered as one

“employer” if they are highly integrated with respect to

40a

Appendix E

ownership and operations. See Armbruster v. Quinn, 711 F.2d

1332 (6th Cir. 1983) (parent and subsidiary constituted single

“employer”); Baker v. Stuart Broadcasting Co., 560 F.2d 389

(8th Cir. 1977) (commonly owned and managed radio station

and management company constituted single “employer”).

Courts considering whether nominally separate entities should

be treated as an integrated enterprise for the purposes of Title

VII generally have employed the standards promulgated by the

National Labor Relations Board:

a. The degree of interrelation between the operations.

b. The degree to which the entities share common

management.

c. The centralized control of labor relations, and

d. The degree of common ownership or financial

control over the entities.

Armbruster, 711 F.2d at 1337; Stuart Broadcasting, 560 F.2d

at 392.

a. In the instant case, there is scant evidence of

interrelation of operations. The Plaintiff has attempted to show

interrelation of operations through proof that: (1) two

individuals, Michael and Eugene Palumbo, held positions both

with Scandinavian and another of Bally’s wholly-owned

subsidiaries, Health and Tennis Corporation of America

(“HTCA”); (2) HTCA held a series of sexual harassment

seminars which were attended by Scandinavian employees; (3)

Mark Seaman and two employees of HTCA answered

interrogatories for both Defendants in this case; (4) the Monthly

4la

Appendix E

Marketing Guide book issued by HTCA was used by numerous

Bally subsidiaries, including Scandinavian: (5) certain

advertisements run in The Miami Herald used the names “Bally’s

Scandinavian,” “Bally’s Health & Tennis Corporation of

America,” and noted at the bottom, “Bally’s Health & Tennis

Corporation. Over 300 Locations Across the Country;” and (6)

Ed Haggerty, Director of Internal Affairs for Bally, went to the

Waterways club in April of 1990 to investigate a potential

problem in the club. The vast majority of this evidence, however,

relates only to a potential interrelationship between

Scandinavian and HTCA or other Bally subsidiaries, not a

relationship between Bally and Scandinavian. The fact that

advertisements were run using the name “Bally’s Scandinavian”

and that one Bally employee came to the Waterways club on a

single occasion in April of 1990 provides little evidence of

interrelation of operations.

b. There is no evidence whatsoever of any sharing of

common management by Scandinavian and Bally.

c. There is similarly no evidence of a centralized control

of labor relations between Bally and Scandinavian.*

d. The final factor — degree of common ownership or

control over the entities — has been admitted by the Defendants.

Scandinavian is 100 percent owned by HTCA, which is in turn

100 percent owned by Bally’s Health and Tennis corporation,

which is 100 percent owned by Bally.

8. Plaintiff points to certain documents in the Plaintiff’s

personnel file which show the names of other Bally subsidiaries,

including HTCA, in addressing changes in the Plaintiff’s employment

status. Again, these records do not associate Bally with Scandinavian,

and Plaintiff has not attempted to include these other entities in this

lawsuit.

42a

Appendix E

4. The degree of interrelationship between Bally and

Scandinavian, however, is insufficient to support a finding that

Bally and Scandinavian constitute a single employer under Title

VII. Thus, Plaintiff was employed by Scandinavian and not

Bally, and Bally cannot be held liable as the Plaintiff’s

“employer” under Title VII.

5. The Florida Human Rights Act, Fla. Stat. § 760.10,

states, in relevant part:

(1) It is an unlawful employment practice for an

employer:

(a) To discharge or fail or refuse to hire any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against any

individual with respect to compensation, terms,

conditions, or privileges of employment, because

of such individual’s race, color, religion, sex, national

origin, age, handicap, or marital status.

Fla. Stat. § 760.10. Federal caselaw under Title VII is applicable

to the construction and application of the Florida Human Rights

Act, which was patterned after Title VII. Florida Dept.

Community Affairs v. Bryant, 586 So. 2d 1205 (Flat Ist DCA

1991). The Plaintiff’s claim under the Florida Human Rights

Act is coextensive with her Title VII claim and need not be

addressed separately.

6. A plaintiff may establish a violation of Title VII by

proving that discrimination based on sex has created a hostile

or abusive work environment, even if no tangible job detriment

has occurred. Harris v. Forklift Sys., Inc., _. U.S. __, 114 S.

Ct. 367, 370 (1993); Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S.

57, 67 (1986).

43a

Appendix E

7. In order to prove a hostile environment sexual

harassment case, a plaintiff must demonstrate:

a. that she belongs to a protected group, i.e., that

she is a woman;

b. that she was subject to unwelcome sexual

harassment;

c, that the harassment complained of was based upon

sex, i.e., that the actor did not similarly harass male

employees; and

d. that the harassment involved affected a “term,

condition or privilege” of employment.

Henson v. City of Dundee, 682 F.2d 897, 903-04 (11th Cir.

1982). Unwelcomeness means that the employee did not solicit

or invite the alleged behavior. /d. at 903.

8. As to the first factor, there is no question that Plaintiff

belongs to a protected class. See, e.g., Moylan v. Maries County,

792 F.2d 746, 749 (8th Cir. 1986).

9. Franklin has also clearly established the second factor,

namely, that the harassment occurred because of her gender.

She proved this by, among other things, showing that “but for

the fact of her sex, she would not have been the object of

harassment.” Henson, 682 F.2d at 904. Plainly the epithet “DM

with tits,” would not have been applied to male employees and

is patently offensive to any reasonable female “who seeks to

deal with her fellow employees and clients with professional

dignity and without the barrier of sexual differentiation and

44a

Appendix E

abuse.” Bennett v. Corroon & Black Corp., 845 F.2d 104, 106

(Sth air. 1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1020 (1989). Similarly,

the references to Gina Reyes’ breasts as “lead boxes” was

denigrating to women, as were Seaman’s repeated statements

about women’s abilities as managers. The repeated use of

derogatory epithets and comments about women employees were

sexually harassing conduct that occurred because Andrea

Franklin was a woman.

10. Third, we find that the sexual harassment of Andrea

Franklin was not welcomed by her. Franklin complained to

Stuart Dansby about his and Seaman’s comments, but Dansby’s

behavior did not change. In addition, the pervasiveness of

offensive references to and treatment of women at the workplace

by her immediate and indirect superior left her little choice but

to attempt to fit in if she wanted to keep her job. Bundy vy.

Jackson, 641 F.2d 934, 945-46 (D.C. Cir. 1981) (“If the

employer demands no response to his verbal or physical gestures

other than good-natured tolerance, the woman has no means of

communicating her rejection. She neither accepts nor rejects

the advances; she simply endures them. She might be able to

contrive proof of rejection by objecting to the employer’s

advances in some very visible and dramatic way, but she would

do so only at the risk of making her life on the job even more

miserable.”).’ The Plaintiff's failure to complain to Seaman’s

9. We note in this regard that the Defendants have attempted

to defeat the Plaintiff's claim of unwelcomeness by showing that

the Plaintiff does not harbor hard feelings towards Stuart Dansby.

We find that the Plaintiff, having asked Dansby to cease his

harassment, was under no obligation to alienate her direct boss by

publicly objecting to his running commentary. The fact that Franklin

may not have felt or expressed any ill will towards Dansby cannot

be taken as an indication that his offensive comments were welcomed

by her.

45a

Appendix E

superiors alone will not defeat a claim of unwelcomeness. In

no event were Dansby and Seaman's derogatory remarks and

treatment welcome.

11. To prove the fourth element, namely, that the sexual

harassment affected a “term, condition, or privilege” of

employment within the meaning of Title VII, the harassment

“must be sufficiently severe or pervasive ‘to alter the conditions

of [the victim’s] employment and create an abusive working

environment.’ ” Vinson, 477 U.S. at 67 (quoting Henson 682

F.2d at 904). The hostile work environment complained of need

not result in psychological injury to the plaintiff to be actionable

under Title VII. Harris, 114 S. Ct. at 370-71. “So long as the

environment would reasonably be perceived, and is perceived,

as hostile or abusive, there is no need for it also to be

psychologically injurious.” Jd. at 371 (citation omitted). Thus,

this element of the hostile environment claim is evaluated both

on a subjective and an objective basis. The factors to be

considered when evaluating this element of a hostile work

environment claim include: “the frequency of the discriminatory

conduct, the severity of the discriminatory conduct, whether

the conduct is threatening or humiliating, and whether the

conduct unreasonably interfered with the plaintiff’s performance

at work.” Edwards v. Wallace Community College, 49 F.3d 1517,

1521-22 11th Cir. 1995) (citing Harris, 114 S. Ct. at 372).

The pervasive sexual hostility at the Kendall II club was

such that a reasonable woman would perceive the environment

as sexually abusive, and Plaintiff did perceive the workplace as

hostile and abusive. Applying the factors set out by the Eleventh

Circuit, we first find that the discriminatory conduct in this

case was frequent. The epithet “DM with tits” was a frequent

means of reference to the Plaintiff to her face, in front of

46a

Appendix E

Franklin’s staff and in the presence of club members, between

Dansby and Seaman, and by Seaman when speaking to other

managers. In addition, Seaman’s use of highly offensive name-

calling and open denigration of the value of female employees

in numerous settings left the general impression among

Scandinavian employees that Seaman disliked women in the

workplace and women managers particularly. It is highly

offensive that a manager would use a derogatory term like “DM

with tits” repeatedly and in nearly the same manner as one might

use an employee’s name. While the conduct directed at Franklin

herself was not “severe” in the sense that there was no physical

contact or intimidation, its repetition was so pervasive that it

was commonplace. Seaman’s comments were repeated with such

regularity that his dislike for women was commonly known

among his co-workers and subordinates. The continuous use

of derogatory epithets to describe women and the pattern of

statements denigrating female employees’ abilities as workers

and managers, “create[d] a barrier to the progress of women in

the workplace because it convey[ed] the message that they do

not belong, that they are welcome in the workplace only if they

will subvert their identities to the sexual stereotypes prevalent

in that environment.” Robinson v. Jacksonville Shipyard, Inc.,

760 F. Supp. 1486, 1523 (M.D. Fla. 1991). Third, there is no

question that Seaman and Dansby’s comments humiliated

Franklin both in front of the staff she was expected to manage

and in front of club members. With respect to the final factor,

the gender hostility suffered by Franklin undermined her ability

to effectively manage her team by demeaning her in front of

them. A reasonable person in Franklin’s position would feel

denigrated, humiliated and devalued by her direct and indirect

supervisors, and the pervasive use of sexually derogatory

remarks would affect any woman’s ability to effectively manage

a staff and stay motivated to sell in the highly pressured sales

47a

Appendix E

environment at Scandinavian, and the Plaintiff herself was

negatively affected by the abusiveness of this treatment.

12. Corporate liability for sexual harassment by corporate

employees under a hostile work environment theory is based

on the doctrine of repondeat superior, and the plaintiff must

show that the corporate defendant “knew or should have known

of the harassment and failed to take prompt remedial action

against the supervisor.” Steele v. Offshore Shipbuilding, Inc.,

867 F.2d 1311, 1316 (distinguishing between quid pro quo

and hostile environment sexual harassment and applying

respondent superior standard to hostile environment case), reh’g

denied, 874 F.2d 821 11th Cir. 1989).

We find that Scandinavian either actually knew or should

have known of the sexually hostile treatment being heaped upon

Plaintiff and other females by Seaman in particular. First,

Seaman’s derogatory view of women employees was widespread

and well-known by Scandinavian employees, both male and

female. Seaman was a supervisor of numerous individuals at

this time, and his conduct would have been apparent to his

supervisors, who held relatively high-level positions with

Scandinavian. Scandinavian should have known that a sexually

hostile work environment was present in Seaman’s clubs. We

reach this conclusion based upon the testimony of Cindy

Watson, Ana Remond, Rhonda Smith, Gina Reyes, Ron Wilcox,

and Plaintiff herself that Seaman’s attitude towards female

employees was blatantly hostile and readily communicated to

others. In addition, Wilcox testified that Seaman made

derogatory comments about women managers and employees

at a meeting regarding Andrea Franklin’s demotion at which

Jeff Stockstill was present. Wilcox recalled Seaman making

“really off-color remarks... something really derogatory .. .

48a

Appendix E

alluding to her anatomy,” and that Seaman went on to state that

all women in the company were problems and that he wished

there were no female Divisional Managers. Wilcox Depos. at

50-52. Wilcox recalled Seaman having stated that he was “sick

and tired of DMs with tits.” Jd. at 52-53. Jeff Stockstill, as

Seaman’s manager, should have, at the very least, taken action

at that point in time. Stockstill himself testified that he should

have been more aware of the circumstances surrounding

Franklin’s demotion because of Rhonda Smith’s May 1990

allegations regarding sexual harassment. Stockstill Depos. at

27-28.'° Nonetheless, Stockstill took no action, and in fact then

10. Stockstill testified as follows:

Q. [D]o you know why Andrea Franklin was — or did

move from the Kendall II club to the North Miami club?

A. I should know that, but I do not. The reason I say I

should know it is because it was a very volatile time

and that was an interesting situation enough for me to

have remembered it, but, no, I do not.

Q. Why do you say it was a volatile time, what do you

mean by that?

A. Everyone was very sensitive towards lawsuits or

potential misdealings at that time.

Q. Who’s everyone?

A. I shouldn’t speak for everyone. I was.

Q. Why was that?

A. Because of the Rhonda Smith case. (Cont'd)

49a

Appendix E

permitted Franklin’s demotion from Kendall II to North Miami

at Seaman’s recommendation. Thus, Scandinavian is liable for

the sexual harassment in this case.

13. Plaintiff has also brought a claim of disparate treatment,

alteging intentional discrimination on the basis of gender in

violation of Title VII in this case, based upon her demotion

from Kendall II to North Miami. In disparate treatment cases, if

the plaintiff’s case is based solely on circumstantial evidence,

then the burdens of proof are allocated pursuant to McDonnell

Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973). Bell v.

Birmingham Linen Service, 715 F.2d 1552, 1556 (11th Cir.

1983), cert. denied, 467 U.S. 1204 (1984). Where the plaintiff

has produced direct evidence of discrimination, however, then

the McDonnell Douglas framework does not apply. EEOC vy.

Beverage Canners. Inc., 897 F.2d 1067, 1071 (11th Cir. 1990).

14. Direct evidence of discrimination is evidence which,

if believed by the Court, would “prove the existence of

[discrimination] without inference or presumption.” Carter v.

City of Miami, 870 F.2d 578, 581-82 (11th Cir. 1989).

[Njot every comment concerning a person’s [sex]

presents direct evidence of discrimination. Young [v.

General Foods Corp.}, 840 F.2d [825,]

829. ...[C]ourts have found only the most blatant

remarks, whose intent could be nothing other than

to discriminate on the basis of [sex], to constitute

direct evidence of discrimination.

(Cont'd)

Stockstill Depos. at 27, line 17-28, line 6. Rhonda Smith

testified on cross-examination that she threatened to bring a lawsuit

in May of 1990, which included sexual harassment claims.

~~ #

50a

Appendix E

Id. at 582. Where the decision-maker in an adverse employment

action utters a discriminatory comment in the course of the

decision-making process, then direct evidence of discrimination

is present. Wilson v. City of Aliceville, 779 F.2d 631, 634 (11th

Cir. 1986) (citing Miles v. M.N.C. Corp., 750 F.2d 867, 873-

76 (1ith Cir. 1985) ). And if the plaintiff has proven that the

work environment was sexually hostile, and that the decision-

makers were responsible for the sexual hostility, then the

evidence of sexual hostility “constitutes direct evidence of

discriminatory intent in management decisions,” even if the

statements made are unrelated to the employment action at issue.

EEOC v. Beverage Canners, Inc., 897 F.2d 1067, 1071-72 &

n.9 (11th Cir. 1990) (race discrimination).

The Plaintiff has proven her case by direct evidence of

discrimination. Seaman was the decision-maker with respect to

the demotion of Andrea Franklin. He repeatedly made statements

that women were not good employees. Specifically in the context

of the decision to demote the Plaintiff, Seaman stated that he

__ wished there were no female Divisional Managers at

- Scandinavian, that he “was sick and tired of DMs with tits,”

and that all women Divisional Managers were a problem for

him. Seaman made these statements at a meeting with Jeff

Stockstill, Ron Wilcox, and Stuart Dansby that was held

specifically to address the demotion and transfer of Andrea

Franklin. Standing alone, these statements constitute direct

evidence that the decision to demote Franklin was substantially

motivated by gender bias. When combined with the sexually

hostile work environment at Scandinavian, the Plaintiff has

plainly shown direct evidence of discrimination. See Beverage

Canners, Inc., 897 F.2d at 1071 (“Th{e] overwhelming evidence

of racial hostility constitutes direct evidence of discriminatory

intent in management decisions.”).

Sla

Appendix E

15. In direct evidence cases, if the Court credits the

plaintiff’s direct evidence of discrimination, then the burden

shifts to the defendant to prove by a preponderance of the

evidence that “the same decision would have been reached even

without the discriminatory factor.” Jd. at 1071; Mt. Healthy

City School District vy. Doyle, 429 U.S. 274 (1977); Wall v.

Trust Co., 946 F.2d 805, 809 (11th Cir. 1991); Wilson v.

Aliceville, 779 F.2d 631, 634 (11th Cir. 1986).

The Defendants have not carried this burden of persuasion.

There is no question that the Plaintiff received a number of

disciplinary warnings around the time of her demotion.

However, these warnings for the most part were made regarding

matters for which other similarly situated male employees were

not warned. See Thompkins v. Morris Brown College, 752 F.2d

558, 564 n.16 (1 1th Cir. 1985) (unequal application of objective

non-discriminatory criteria constitutes pretext for

discrimination). Of these warnings, only the charge that Plaintiff

forged Stuart Dansby’s signature on a contract was of the nature

for which any other employee would be disciplined. These

warnings are also highly suspect in that Plaintiff was given

three such written admonitions on the same day at a time when

Seaman was putting great pressure on Stuart Dansby to push

Franklin to work harder even though she had been covering

both the A and B teams for twenty days at that time. In fact,

Dansby testified that Seaman himself told Dansby to issue

written warnings to Franklin. Dansby Depos. at 332. There

was also evidence that the Plaintiff’s sales were low for the first

ten days of October. Based on all the evidence, however, her

October sales were not so low that she could not have recovered

and reached her quota for the month.

These elements would be insufficient cause for demotion,

and we find that the Plaintiff would not have been demoted on

52a

Appendix E

these grounds had she not been a woman. Stuart Dansby

testified that he did not believe Franklin’s performance —

including both the warnings and the low production in October

— warranted a demotion. Dansby’s testimony on this point is

particularly valuable in that he was Franklin’s direct manager,

and he earned money based on how his employees performed.

If the Plaintiff or her staff were not selling memberships at an

acceptable rate, then Dansby’s own income would suffer. The

fact that Dansby did not consider Plaintiff’s performance below

expectations for that time is a strong indication that her demotion

was unwarranted. We find that the Plaintiff would not have

been demoted but for her gender.

16. “[A]n employer is strictly liable for sexual

discrimination by supervisors that causes tangible job detriment.”

Henson, 682 F.2d at 909 (citing Willingham v. Macon Telegraph

Publishing Co., 507 F.2d 1084, 1091 5th Cir. 1975) (en

banc) )."' Scandinavian is responsible for the Plaintiff’s

discriminatory demotion.

17. Plaintiff also asserts a claim for constructive discharge.

“A claim for constructive discharge requires the employee to

demonstrate that the work environment and conditions of

employment were so unbearable that a reasonable person in

that person’s position would be compelled to resign.” Virgo v.

Riviera Beach Assoc., Ltd., 30 F.3d 1350, 1363 (11th Cir.

1994); Steele, 867 F.2d at 1317; Huddleston v. Roger Dean

Chevrolet, 845 F.2d 900, 905 (11th Cir. 1988); Wardwell v.

School Board, 786 F.2d 1554 (11th Cir. 1986).

11. In Bonner v. Prichard, 661 F.2d 1206, 1209 (11th Cir. 1981)

(en banc), the Eleventh Circuit adopted as binding precedent all

decisions of the former Fifth Circuit handed down prior to October

1, 1981.

53a

Appendix E

We find that a reasonable person in the Plaintiff’s position

would not have felt compelled to resign and that, in fact, the

reason for the Plaintiff’s resignation was the change in corporate

structure at the Scandinavian clubs announced in February of

1991. While Mark Seaman was promoted to Area Manager at

nearly the same time, giving him a supervisory role over the

Plaintiff, the level of contact between the Plaintiff, then a

Program Director at the Waterways club, and the Area Manager,

would have been minimal at most. Seaman, with responsibility

for all eleven South Florida clubs, then managed through four

Area Directors, each of whom had responsibility for between

two and four facilities. Each club was then run by two Co-

Managers who reported to the Area Directors. The Plaintiff’s

position at that time was three levels removed from Mark

Seaman, and she had no regular contact with Stuart Dansby.

She was no longer subjected to any sexual harassment at that

time. Although the Plaintiff testified that she left Scandinavian

because she wanted a management position and that her

opportunities for advancement were hampered by Seaman’s new

supervisory role, she offered no evidence of even a single

incident of harassment after she left the Kendall II club. Indeed,

the Plaintiff offered no evidence of having even encountered

either Seaman or Dansby while working at either the North

Miami or the Waterways club. The speculation of some future

unspecified failure to promote for discriminatory reasons is not

in itself sufficient to make a reasonable person resign. See

Wardwell v. School Board, 786 F.2d 1554, 1557-58 (11th Cir.

1986) (reversing District Court’s finding of constructive

discharge because discriminatory refusal to promote, while

relevant to the issue of constructive discharge, is not alone

sufficient to constitute constructive discharge); Brusque v. Powell

Elec. Mfgr. Co., 617 F.2d 61, 65 (5th Cir. 1980) (“We have no

question that her resignation resulted directly from her

S4a

Appendix E

disappointment in not receiving the raise she had expected. We

cannot fault her for her disappointment. Nevertheless, we cannot

accept that under the circumstances presented here a reasonable

employee would have felt compelled to resign. Moreover, we

believe that discrimination manifesting itself in the form of

unequal pay cannot, alone, be sufficient to support a finding of

constructive discharge.”); see also Steele v. Offshore

Shipbuilding, Inc., 867 F.2d 1311, 1317-18 (11th Cir. 1989)

(affirming District Court’s finding of no constructive discharge

where only one incident of harassment reported in the two weeks

prior to time of plaintiff’s resignation). While the Plaintiff was

plainly disappointed that her opportunities for advancement

would be hampered by Seaman’s promotion, her conditions of

employment were far from intolerable at that time, and a

reasonable person would not have felt the need to resign for

this reason. Bourque, 617 F.2d at 65 (plaintiff’s disappointment

in not receiving promotion denied on discriminatory basis was

understandable but insufficient to make a reasonable person

resign); Wardwell, 786 F.2d at 1557 (plaintiff’s embarrassment

upon discriminatory refusal to promote was not intolerable such

that a reasonable person would be compelled to resign).

In addition, and significantly, several present and former

Scandinavian employees testified as to the drastic change in

pay structure that was announced in February and took effect

in March of 1991. Numerous employees, both male and female,

left the Scandinavian health clubs at that time because their

earnings potential had been reduced by approximately 60

percent. We are convinced and find specifically that the Plaintiff

left Scandinavian for Spa Lady because of this drastic reduction

in earning potential. See Huddleston v. Roger Dean Chevrolet,

845 F. 2d 900, 905-06 (11th Cir. 1988) (affirming District

Court’s holding that no constructive discharge occurred, despite

55a

Appendix E

finding of pattern of sexual harassment, where another plausible

explanation supported by record evidence was found to be the

cause of the plaintiff’s resignation). Thus, we can find no

constructive discharge in this case.

18. Plaintiff Andrea Franklin is entitled to backpay from

the date of her demotion from the Divisional Manager position

at the Kendall II facility (11/01/90)'? until the date of her

voluntary resignation (03/01/91). The Plaintiff is not entitled

to backpay for the period after she voluntarily left Scandinavian:

nor is she entitled to front-pay or reinstatement. See Bourque v.

Powell Electrical Mfgr. Co., 617 F.2d 61, 66 n.8 (Sth Cir. 1980);

Morrison v. Genuine Parts Co., 828 F.2d 708, 710 n.1 (11th

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1065 (1988); Campbell v.

Kansas State Univ., 780 F. Supp. 755, 766 (D. Kan. 1991).

Plaintiff’s backpay shall be computed based on the salary of

Jim Willin,’* her male counterpart at Kendall II, for the period

in question, subtracting the amount she actually earned during

12. Although Franklin was informed of the decision to demote

her on October 18, 1990, the transfer was effective November l,

1990. Plaintiff’s backpay proposal reflects a request for backpay

beginning with the first full pay period in November of 1990.

13. Defendants oppose this calculation for the period beginning

in January of 1991, arguing that the Plaintiff did not earn as much

as Jim Willin while both he and Franklin were Divisional Managers

at Kendall II. Defendants instead propose that if backpay is awarded

for that period, that the Plaintiff be compensated on the basis of the

average earnings of the two Divisional Managers at Kendall II during

that time — Ruy Tamayo and Jim Willin. We find, however, that the

great disparity in earnings between Willin and Tamayo for this period

would result in underpaying the Plaintiff. Her earnings while at

Kendall II were very close to those of Jim Willin. Thus, we find that

Jim ... [text missing from original]

56a

Appendix E

this time. Plaintiff is entitled to an award of $12,229.65 in

backpay, plus pre-judgment and post-judgment interest at IRS

prime rates calculated in accordance with 28 U.S.C. § 1961.

EEOC v. Guardian Pools, Inc., 828 F.2d 1507 (11th Cir. 1987).

Therefore, based on the evidence and arguments presented,

it is hereby

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that judgment is hereby

entered in favor of Defendant Bally Manufacturing Corp., and

against Plaintiff Andrea Franklin, with respect to her claims

against Bally Manufacturing Corp. It is further

ORDERED and ADJUDGED that Plaintiff, Andrea

Franklin, shall recover from the Defendant Scandinavian Health

Spa, Inc., judgment for damages in the aggregate amount of

$12,229.65, plus prejudgment and post-judgment interest, for

violation of Title VII and Florida Statutes Chapter 760. Plaintiff,

as a prevailing party in a Title VII action, is also entitled to

recover reasonable attorney’s fees pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

14. The actual earnings of both the Plaintiff and Jim Willin are

taken from the Payroll History Register for 1990 and 1991. Four

fourteenths (4/14) of the earnings for pay period 03/10/91 are

included in the calculation as an estimation of the pay for both

Franklin and Willin for the last four days of February. Although the

monies received by Franklin in the period after March 1, 1991,

plainly were earned while she was working at Scandinavian, we find

that the inclusion of these later amounts in her salary for the period

in question would result in double-counting of her earnings.

Plaintiff’s earnings for November, for example, would include some

commissions earned in October but not credited until the November

time-frame. Thus, to also include these later-credited amounts for

Franklin, but not for Willin, would result in underpayment to the

Plaintiff.

57a

Appendix E

§ 2000e-5(k), as well as her costs. A proposed Order of Final

Judgment, as well as Plaintiff’s claim for attorneys’ fees and

costs, shall be submitted by Plaintiff within ten (10) days of

this Order.

DONE AND ORDERED in Miami, this 30th day of

August, 1995.

s/ Stanley Marcus

STANLEY MARCUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

copies to:

counsel of record

58a

APPENDIX F — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

FILED DECEMBER 1, 1997

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 95-5228; 96-5367

ANDREA FRANKLIN,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

versus

BALLY MANUFACTURING CORPORATION, a Delaware

Corporation; SCANDINAVIAN HEALTH SPA, INC.; an Ohio

Corporation,

Defendants-Appellants,

MARK SEAMAN; MICHAEL PALUMBO; EUGENE

PALUMBO, etc.,

Defendants.

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Florida

BEFORE: CARNES, Circuit Judge, KRAVITCH and

REAVLEY*, Senior Circuit Judges.

* Honorable Thomas M. Reavley, Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for

the Fifth Circuit, sitting by designation.

59a

Appendix F

PER CURIAM:

The petition(s) for rehearing filed by the Appellant,

Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ E. Carnes

UNITED STATES CIRCUIT JUDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Scandinavian Health Spa, Inc. v. Franklin · 523 U.S. 1107 | Frix