Opposition Brief — Washington v. Summerville
Supreme Court brief1998
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
fi LeDYD |
No. 97-1324 MAR 16 1998
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997
GEORGE WASHINGTON,
. Petitioner,
JOHN SUMMERVILLE, et ai..,
Respondents.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
BRIAN L. CROWE
Corporation Counsel
of the City of Chicago
LAWRENCE ROSENTHAL *
Deputy Corporation Counsel
BENNA RUTH SOLOMON
Chief Assistant
Corporation Counsel
TIMOTHY W. JORANKO
Assistant Corporation Counsel
City Hall, Room 610
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 744-5337
Attorneys for Respondents
* Counsel of Record
WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001
QUESTION PRESENTED
Whether a cause of action alleging an unreasonable
seizure accrues at the time the seizure occurs, or only
when criminal proceedings arising out of that seizure
terminate
(i)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
QUESTION PRESIENTED nn. sc.cccecusecccssseseesceseeees-.-- i
py Se, | ee iv
RIE a kane ne 1
EAN. TTS A 1
CES AE ee ee ee 6
ESE aL ae ee gO 17
(iii)
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases: Page
Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994) ............... 10, 12-13
Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) ..................... 15
Alvarez-Machain v. United States, 96 F.3d 1246
(9th Cir. 1996) : a See IR 13
Booker v. Ward, 94 F.3d 1052 (7th Cir. 1996),
cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 952 (1997) ....................... passim
Brooks v. City of Winston-Salem, 85 F.3d 178 (4th
Ts. ID iccienstccccias i dcngahi aascantipnectilaenenciaamrniatbieliaashea 10, 12
Calero-Colon v. Betancort-Lebron, 68 F.3d 1 (lst
RR a en RR EE CIE 12
Chardon v. Fernandez, 454 U.S. 6 (1981) (per
I siiceiccriaiclicnisaheiasiissnbiiasda idaceibelihiclbindDdaasdlitibemmsmanianasiatias 7
Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S. 250
EI sticcceneenissnschehicsiasssldainddiespaeani dia taameiiialnabdagieansans 7
Edwards v. Balisok, 117 S. Ct. 1584 (1997)............ 8
Farrell v. McDonough, 966 F.2d 279 (7th Cir.
1992), cert. denied, 506 U.S. 1084 (1993).............. 7
Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975) ..................... 9
Gonzalez v. Entress, 133 F.3d 551 (7th Cir. 1998).. 14, 15
Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 806 (1988).................... ~,10
Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994) ................. passim
Helmet Law Defense League v. California High-
way Patrol, 1997 WL 547956 (9th Cir. 1997)... 13
Hudson v. Hughes, 98 F.3d 868 (5th Cir. 1996)...... 14
Jackson v. Vannoy, 49 F.3d 175 (5th Cir.) (per
curiam), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 148 (1995)........ 13
Kalimara v. Illinois Department of Corrections,
879 F.2d 276 (7th Cir. 1989) ..........00000002 7
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S.
I Oe stat a es 15
Kyles v. Whitley, 115 S. Ct. 1555 (1995) -......000000... 16
Mackey v. Dickson, 47 F.3d 744 (5th Cir. 1995)
Be I rh etic elateinrecseesveedtinicontacied ilencintebtiominietciarcec 13-14
Newman v. Jensen, 1997 WL 665701 (9th Cir.
jj ENN One S Iie Cen RESORT EMD FT Ce ee 13
Reed v. City of Chicago, 77 F.3d 1049 (7th Cir.
RED ciiicucsstahecsciaihicen ee dablstapaideeicsdeidndbaseiahia di binsanaaiebeien 10
Schilling v. White, 58 F.3d 1001 (6th Cir. 1995)... 14
eee
Vv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Simmons v. O’Brien, 77 F.3d 1093 (8th Cir. 1996) 12
Smith v. Hultz, 87 F.3d 108 (3d Cir.), cert. denied,
fof Re 8 eR) | Satan eee vee enen 8
Smithart v. Towery, 79 F.3d 951 (9th Cir. 1996)
CE I sicricscacicrcalessccestepaiincsavepeainipatesincesieathidievsirink 11
United States v. Crews, 445 U.S. 463 (1980) ........... 9
Wells v. Bonner, 45 F.3d 90 (5th Cir. 1995)............ 12
Whiting v. Traylor, 85 F.3d 581 (11th Cir. 1996) .. 12
Valencia v. Wiggins, 981 F.2d 1440 (5th Cir.),
cert. denied, 509 U.S. 905 (1998).........00000000. 10
Woods v. Candela, 47 F.3d 545 (2d Cir.) (per
curiam), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 54 (1995)........ 14
Constitution and Statutes:
8 Ge 8, RRR ie ener rere passim
7 SW ee 12
Rn i itrenieeentnnioninctsiidiornnnisnmnianinatctinataianael passim
RN NT
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1997
No. 97-1324
GEORGE WASHINGTON,
+. Petitioner,
JOHN SUMMERVILLE, et al.,
Respondents.
On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the
United States Court of Appeals
for the Seventh Circuit
BRIEF FOR RESPONDENTS IN OPPOSITION
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for
the Seventh Circuit (Pet. App. la-21a) is reported at 127
F.3d 552 (7th Cir. 1997). The opinion of the United
States District Court for the Northern District of Illinois
(Pet. App. 22a-37a) is unreported.
STATEMENT
On March 9, 1991, two detectives of the Chicago
Police Department, including respondent John Summer-
ville, stopped an automobile near the intersection of Cer-
mak Road and Fairfield Street in the City of Chicago.
R. 12 at 9.5. See also R. 1 at 5. They arrested petitioner
George Washington, who was a passenger in the automo-
bile. R. 1 at 5; R. 12 at 95. Petitioner alleges that,
during the arrest, Detective Summerville hit petitioner’s
2
head against the trunk of the car. R. 12 at 47. Peti-
tioner was then taken to the Area IV headquarters of the
Chicago Police Department. R. 12 at q 8.
Upon their arrival at Area IV headquarters, the de-
tectives took petitioner to an interrogation room. R. 12
at § 9. Petitioner contends that the detectives then hit his
head against a wall of the interrogation room, knocking
him unconscious. R. 12 at 48. Petitioner alleges that
sometime later, he was handcuffed to the interrogation
room wall. R. 12 at 9. According to petitioner, Detec-
tive Summerville then struck him in the throat and de-
manded that he make a statement. R. 12 at 4 10. Peti-
tioner stated that he “did not know what Summerville
was talking about,” and Detective Summerville left the
room. R. 12 at ¥ 10.
According to petitioner, respondent Patrick Foley, an-
other detective, then entered the interrogation room. R. 12
at 411. Petitioner alleges that Detective Foley told him
that his treatment would become worse if he did not
cooperate. R. 2 at 911. Petitioner claims that he told
Detective Foley that he did not know what he was talking
about, and Detective Foley hit him in the face. R. 12 at
411. Detective Summerville reentered the room. R. 12
at ¥ 12.
Petitioner further alleges that Detective Summerville
next told him to make a statement to the state’s attorney.
R. 12 at ¢ 12. When petitioner told Detective Summer-
ville that he did not know what he was talking about,
Detective Summerville allegedly kicked petitioner in the
groin. R. 12 at ¢ 14. According to petitioner, Detective
Summerville left and, after some time, returned, again
requesting a statement. R. 12 at 413. When petitioner
refused, Detective Summerville left the interrogation room.
R. 12 at § 14. According to petitioner, Detective Summer-
ville reurned with a “big flashlight.” R. 12 at 414. Peti-
tioner alleges that when he again refused to make a state-
ment, he was hit in the ribs with the flashlight. R. 12 at
3
qq 14, 15. After Detective Summerville left the interroga-
tion room, respondent James Capesius, another Chicago
police detective, entered. R. 12 at § 15. Petitioner con-
tends that Detective Capesius told him that his treatment
would become worse if he continued to refuse to coop-
erate. R. 12 at 415. Petitioner was told that he should
give a statement, repeating what Detective Summerville
told him to say. R. 12 at 417. Petitioner alleges that
Detective Summerville hit him in the ribs when he refused
todo so. R. 12 at ¥ 17.
Petitioner then allegedly agreed to give a statement. R.
12 at ¢ 17. Detective Summerville returned to the inter-
rogation room with the assistant state’s attorney. R. 12
at ¢ 18. Petitioner then made statements to the assistant
Sstate’s attorney. R. 12 at ¥ 18.
On April 5, 1991, Washington was indicted on charges |
of murder. R. 12 at 421. See also R. Loose Pleadings |
(vol. 3) at Exh. 2. Petitioner filed a motion to suppress
the statements that he made to the assistant state’s attor-
ney. R. 12 at ¢22. The state court denied petitioner’s
motion after extensive testimony. R. 32 at 2. See also
R. Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. F. The state court
determined that petitioner’s account of what occurred
during the arrest and questioning was not credible. R.
Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. F. Petitioner moved
for reconsideration of the court’s decision on or about
September 16, 1993 and September 22, 1993. See R.
Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. G. The state court
denied both motions. R. 32 at 2-3.
On October 12, 1993, at the prompting of the court,
Washington filed a third motion for reconsideration, based
on newspaper reports that Detective Summerville was re-
ceiving treatment for substance abuse. R. 32 at 3. R.
Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. H. See also R. Loose
Pleadings (vol. 3) at Exh. 6. On March 4, 1994, the
court held a hearing on the motion. See R. Loose Plead-
ings (vol. 2) at Exh. I. After examining records related
4
to Detective Summerville’s substance abuse problems, the
court ordered that petitioner's motion to reconsider be
reopened. R. Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. I. The
court went on to consider petitioner’s motion to suppress.
The court noted that, according to counsel for Detective
Summerville, the detective would assert his Fifth Amend-
ment privilege against compelled self-incrimination in re-
sponse to any questions pertaining to his substance abuse.
R. 32 at 3. See R. Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. I.
Given the information before it, the court determined that
“there is relevant inquiry that the Defendant in this case
is entitled to inquire into and . . . the witness refuses to
testify pursuant to his constitutional rights.” R. Loose
Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. I at 7. The court then granted
petitioner’s motion to suppress his statements to the assist-
ant state’s attorney. R. 12 at 423; R. 32 at 3. See R.
Loose Pleadings (vol. 2) at Exh. I. Then, on May 23,
1994, the state court granted the prosecution’s motion
for a nolle prosequi, dropping the charges against peti-
tioner. R. 32 at 3.
On January 7, 1994, petitionci filed a federal civil
rights action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. § 1983, naming as
defendants the State’s Attorney for Cook County, Illinois,
Jack O’Malley, Assistant State’s Attorney Michael Cawley,
and Detectives Summerville, Foley, and Capesius. R. 1.
On April 29, 1994, the district court ordered petitioner
to show cause why his action was not untimely under
the appropriate statute of limitations. R. 5. When no
response was received, the district court dismissed the ac-
tion on June 9, 1994. R. 6, 7. Nine months later, counsel
for petitioner moved for relief from that judgment. R. 9,
11. The court granted petitioner's motion in an order
dated March 8, 1995. R. 10.
On March 9, 1995, petitioner filed an amended com-
plaint, again under Section 1983, asserting federal civil
rights and state-law claims against Detectives Summerville,
Foley, and Capesius, and the City of Chicago. R. 12.
In count I, petitioner alleged that the detectives arrested
5
him without probable cause in violation of the Fourth
Amendment. R. 12 at 99 26, 27. Petitioner alleged in
count II that the detectives used or failed to prevent the
use of excessive force against him during his arrest, also
in violation of the Fourth Amendment. R. 12 at 4 28-
29. In count III, petitioner alleged that he was wrongly
confined and prosecuted in violation of his Fourth and
Fourteenth Amendment rights. R. 12 at 4430-31. In
count IV, petitioner claimed that the detectives conspired
to deprive him of his rights under the Fourth and Four-
teenth Amendments. R. 12 at 4432-35. Petitioner’s re-
maining claims were brought under state law for inten-
tional infliction of emotional distress, malicious prosecu-
tion, and for imposition of vicarious liability on the City
as the detectives’ employer. R. 12 at 44 36-45.
On April 3, 1996, the district court entered judgment
| against petitioner. The district court concluded that peti-
tioner had filed his claims for unlawful arrest (count I)
and use of excessive force (count II) after the expiration
of the two-year statute of limitations applicable to Section
1983 claims in Illinois. Pet. App. 26a-28a. The district
court also ruled that petitioner’s federal malicious prose-
cution claim (count III) alleged no constitutional viola-
tion other than the time-barred Fourth Amendment claims,
and, accordingly, dismissed it on limitations grounds as
well. Pet. App. 28a-3la. Moreover, since the allegations
underlying petitioner’s conspiracy claim were not timely,
the conspiracy claim was also dismissed. Pet. App. 34a-
35a. The district court added as well that petitioner had
failed to establish that his prosecution in state court had
been terminated in a manner inconsistent with his inno-
cence, a defense to both the federal and state-law mali-
cious prosecution claims. Pet. App. 3la-34a. The dis-
trict court also dismissed petitioner’s remaining state-law
claims on limitations and other grounds. Pet. App. 35a-
36a. Petitioner appealed.
On September 17, 1997, the court of appeals affirmed.
Following its prior opinion in Booker v. Ward, 94 F.3d
ee
6
1052 (7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 952
(1997), the court concluded that Fourth Amendment
claims alleging an arrest without probable cause or the
use of excessive force accrue when those constitutional
violations occur, and not when a related state-court prose-
cution ultimately terminates, since Fourth Amendment
claims are not necessarily inconsistent with the validity of
a pending charge against the federal plaintiff. Pet. App.
5a-9a. The court also held that petitioner’s federal mali-
cious prosecution claim alleged no constitutional violation
other than the time-barred Fourth Amendment claim, and
for that reason encountered the same limitations bar. Pet.
App. 12a-16a. The court added that petitioner’s state-law
malicious prosecution claim was insufficient because he
could not establish that his prosecution had been termi-
nated in a manner indicative of his innocence. Pet. App.
10a-12a. Judge Rovner concurred in part and dissented
in part. She agreed that petitioner's unlawful arrest and
excessive force claims were time-barred (Pet. App. 16a),
but concluded that petitioner’s federal and state-law mali-
cious prosecution claims were meritorious. Pet. App. 16a-
21a.
ARGUMENT
Although petitioner claims that he was arrested without
probable cause and subjected to the use of excessive force
during the course of that arrest and the interrogation
following it, all in violation of the Fourth Amendment,
he failed to bring suit for nearly three years after his
arrest and interrogation. This was beyond the two-year
limitations period for Section 1983 actions in Illinois.
Petitioner’s sole complaint about the Seventh Circuit's de-
cision holding these claims to be time-barred rests on the
happenstance that he was prosecuted in state court as a
consequence of his arrest. Thus, he claims that he was
unable to bring suit for the violations of the Fourth
Amendment he has alleged until the charges against him
were dismissed. For this, he relies on this Court’s decision
in Heck v. Humphrey, 512 U.S. 477 (1994), holding
7
that a Section 1983 claim often cannot be brought if it nec-
essarily contests the validity of a state court’s judgment.
The court of appeals sensibly rejected that submission on
the straightforward basis that petitioner’s ability to recover
for a constitutionally unreasonable arrest does not turn on
whether he was later convicted on any charges brought
against him stemming from that arrest. The guilty and
innocent alike are entitled to recover if they are arrested
without probable cause or subjected to excessive force
within the course of that arrest. It is for that reason that
petitioner’s claims, even if ultimately successful, would not
be inherently inconsistent with the validity of the charges
against him or even an ensuing conviction, and thus, that
they accrued when the constitutional violations occurred.
1. The general rule is that a cause of action accrues
and the limitations period begins running when the plain-
tiff learns of an illegal act, and not when its consequences
are felt. See Chardon v. Fernandez, 454 U.S. 6, 8 (1981)
(per cusiam); Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449 U.S.
250, 258 (1980). Here, the alleged violations of the
Fourth Amendment occurred at the time of petitioner’s
arrest or March 9, 1991. Petitioner, however, did not sue
the detectives who participated in his allegedly unconstitu-
tional amest and interrogation until January 7, 1994. The
statute of limitations for Section 1983 claims arising in
Illinois is two years. See, e.g., Farrell v. McDonough,
966 F.2d 279, 282 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 506
U.S. 1084 (1993); Kalimara v. Illinois Department of
Correctons, 879 F.2d 276, 277 (7th Cir. 1989). Since
petition did not sue Detectives Summerville, Foley, and
Capesiu; within two years of their allegedly unconstitu-
tional arrest and interrogation of him, and since petitioner
plainly «new of their involvement in that arrest and in-
terrogaton and hence was able to bring suit within the
limitatims period, the court of appeals quite naturally
conclud:d here that petitioner’s claims against them under
the Fouth Amendment were time-barred.
Petitioner nevertheless argues that he overcame this
limitations problem because, under his reading of Heck
v. Humphrey, his Fourth Amendment claims did not
accrue until the criminal case against him was dismissed.
See Pet. 6-8. In Heck, this Court held that Section 1983
claims that would have the effect of rendering the plain-
tiff’s conviction or sentence invalid do not accrue until
the conviction or sentence has been vacated. See 512
U.S. at 489-90. The Court reasoned that when the plain-
tiff, in order to prevail on his Section 1983 claim, would
have to “negate an element of the offense of which he has
been convicted,” a Section 1983 claim goes to the validity
of the criminal conviction and cannot properly be raised
while the judgment of conviction remains outstanding.
See id. at 486 n.6. Accordingly, “the district court must
consider whether a judgment in favor of the plaintiff
would necessarily imply the invalidity of his conviction or
sentence.” Jd. at 487. The Court made clear, however,
that its holding did not bar all Section 1983 claims by
those who remain in custody as the result of criminal
charges: “If the district court determines that the plain-
tiffs action, even if successful, will mot demonstrate the
invalidity of any outstanding criminal judgment against
the plaintiff, the action should . . . proceed. .. .” Id.
(emphasis in original).
Heck accordingly bars only claims that necessarily
impugn the validity of a conviction. See Edwards v.
Balisok, 117 S. Ct. 1584, 1587-88 (1997). Petitioner
was of course never convicted, but the court of appeals
agreed with him that the holding of Heck applies to
pending charges no less than outstanding convictions. Fol-
lowing Smith v. Holtz, 87 F.3d 108 (3d Cir.), cert. de-
nied, 117 S. Ct. 611 (1996), the court reasoned that
petitioner’s cause of action would not accrue under Heck
while charges were pending against him if his Section
1983 claims “would necessarily imply the invalidity of a
potential conviction on the murder charge against him.”
9
Pet. App. 8a. But the court of appeals concluded that
petitioner’s claims of an allegedly unconstitutional arrest
and interrogation accrued when those violations occurred,
and not later, because these Fourth Amendment claims
are not necessarily inconsistent with the validity of a pend-
ing charge. See Pet. App. at 8a-9a; see also Booker v.
Ward, 94 F.3d at 1056-57.
This holding was correct. The fact that a case against
an arrestee was initiated by an unreasonable search or
seizure does not necessarily mean that any charges brought
against the person searched and seized—or a subsequent
conviction—are invalid. If the prosecution can adduce
sufficient evidence not tainted by the Fourth Amendment
violation, it can sustain both the charges and an ensuing
conviction. In Gerstein v. Pugh, 420 U.S. 103 (1975),
the Court made the point quite clearly. “[T]he estab-
lished rule [is] that an illegal arrest or detention does not
void a subsequent conviction.” Jd. at 119. The Court
reiterated in United States v. Crews, 445 U.S. 463
(1980), that “[a]n illegal arrest, without more, has never
been viewed . . . as a defense to a valid conviction.” Z/d.
at 474. In Haring v. Prosise, 462 U.S. 306 (1983), the
Court held that a prisoner’s action to recover for an illegal
search and seizure was not barred by his plea of guilty to
possessing items found in the search because the validity
of the conviction “is simply irrelevant to the legality of the
search under the Fourth Amendment or Prosise’s right to
compensation from state officials under § 1983.” Jd. at
316. And in Heck itself, the Court offered as an example
of the type of claim that would not impugn the validity
of a conviction “a suit for damages attributable to an
allegedly unreasonable search . . . even if the challenged
search produced evidence that was introduced in a state
criminal trial... .” 512 U.S. at 187 n.7. As the Court
explained, “[bJecause of doctrines like independent source
and inevitable discovery, and especially harmless error,
such a § 1983 action, even if successful, would not neces-
10
sarily imply that the plaintiff's conviction was unlawful.”
Id. (emphasis in original) (citations omitted).
Indeed, the notion that persons accused of crimes can
recover for violations of their Fourth Amendment rights
only if and when they are ultimately acquitted is a radical
and indefensible interpretation of that Amendment. The
Fourth Amendment provides, without qualification, that
“(t]he right of the people to be secure in their persons,
houses, papers and effects, against unreasonable searches
and seizures shall not be violated” (U.S. Const. amend.
IV). This text makes insupportable any claim that only
persons found innocent of any wrongdoing are protected
from unreasonable searches and seizures. Indeed, cases
such as Haring v. Prosise make clear that even those who
admit their guilt can recover from violations of their
Fourth Amendment rights. Those rights exist wholly apart
from the disposition of criminal proceedings against the
person aggrieved by an unreasonable search and seizure,
and hence such a person need not wait for criminal pro-
ceedings to conclude before his cause of action accrues.’
Petitioner nevertheless argues that under Heck “there
must be an individualized inquiry in each case to deter-
mine whether a holding in favor of the plaintiff in the
civil case would be necessarily inconsistent with the plain-
tiffs conviction.” Pet. 6. But Heck requires that a Sec-
tion 1983 claim “necessarily imply” the invalidity of a
1In Albright v. Oliver, 510 U.S. 266 (1994), Justice Ginsburg
expressed the view that an individual arrested without probable
cause is subjected to a “continuing seizure” that does not end until
the prosecution terminates, and that only then does the limitations
period begin to run. See id. at 277-80 (concurring opinion). Peti-
tioner has never advanced a “continuing seizure” theory during this
litigation. Moreover, this theory has never been embraced by a
majority of the Court, and has been rejected by a number of cir-
cuits. See, e.g., Brooks v. City of Winston-Salem, 85 F.3d 178, 184
(4th Cir. 1996); Reed v. City of Chicago, 77 F.3d 1049, 1052 n.3
(7th Cir. 1996) ; Valencia v. Wiggins, 981 F.2d 1440, 1443-45 (5th
Cir.), cert. denied, 509 U.S. 905 (1993).
11
charge or conviction for its accrual to be delayed, and
here, petitioner’s argument is not based on any necessary
relationship between the alleged Fourth Amendment viola-
tions and the validity of the charge against him; as we
explain above, the charge against him was valid regardless
whether the prosecution intended to introduce evidence
against him at trial that might be the fruit of a Fourth
Amendment violation. Nor is the validity of a charge
undermined by any decision a judge may later make to
suppress some of the prosecution’s evidence, or even by a
prosecutor’s subsequent decision to dismiss a charge vol-
untarily. Because a claim that evidence the prosecution
intends to use at trial is the product of an unconstitutional
search or seizure does not require the dismissal of a pend-
ing charge, such a claim is not necessarily inconsistent
with that charge and hence has accrued under Heck.’
2. Petitioner claims that the Seventh Circuit’s holding
in this case is contrary to the law of no fewer than seven
other circuits. See Pet. 8-9. Most of the cases that peti-
tioner cites, however, are readily reconciled with the hold-
ing below.
For example, the decision in Smithart v. Towery, 79
F.3d 951 (9th Cir. 1996) (per curiam), actually em-
braces the reasoning of the Seventh Circuit here. Smithart
claimed that he had been subjected to excessive force
during the course of an arrest that resulted in his criminal
conviction. Although the court observed that Heck bars
his claims “[t]o the extent that Smithart seeks to invalidate
his assault conviction” (id. at 952). It went on to observe
| that his claim of excessive force had in fact accrued be-
cause “a successful section 1983 action for excessive force
would not necessarily imply the invalidity of Smithart’s
arrest or conviction” (ibid.). Similarly, although peti-
2 While petitioner correctly observes that Heck himself made
some Fourth Amendment claims (see Pet. 6), the Court was careful
to note in Heck that the only question before it “was whether money
damages premised on an unlawful conviction could be pursued
under § 1983.” 512 U.S. at 480 n.2.
————_ <_< $$ _______—
12
tioner does not mention the decision, in Brooks v. City of
Winston-Salem, 85 F.3d 178 (4th Cir. 1996), the court
also took the approach of the Seventh Circuit, reasoning
that a claim of arrest without probable cause is not inher-
ently inconsistent with the validity of a conviction even if
evidence derived from the arrest is utilized to obtain that
conviction. See id. at 182-83. See also Wells v. Bonner,
45 F.3d 90, 95 (5th Cir. 1995) (assuming that an exces-
sive force claim did not go to the validity of a conviction
and hence accrues when misconduct occurs). Cf. Simmons
v. O’Brien, 77 F.3d 1093, 1094-97 (8th Cir. 1996) (Fifth
Amendment claim of coerced confession accrued at the
time confession was obtained).
Two of the other cases petitioner cites are about so-
called malicious prosecution claims, and not claims alleg-
ing arrest without probable cause or the use of excessive
force during an arrest. In Calero-Colon v. Betancort-
Lebron, 68 F.3d 1 (1st Cir. 1995), the plaintiffs sued for
malicious prosecution and each claimed that he “did not
know the true nature and extent of the scheme that led to
arrest until after he had been acquitted.” Jd. at 2. Under
those circumstances, the court held that their cause of
action did not accrue until acquittal. See id. at 3-4. In
Whiting v. Traylor, 85 F.3d 581 (11th Cir. 1996), the
plaintiff also brought a Section 1983 action for “malicious
prosecution,” and the court concluded that because mali-
cious prosecution actions depend on the outcome of the
state court proceedings, such a cause of action does not
accrue until state proceedings terminate. See id. at 585-86.
Assuming that there is a cause of action for a “malicious
prosecution” under Section 1983, whether or not these
cases correctly apply accrual principles to such actions
does not matter here, since petitioner has not pressed his
malicious prosecution theory in this Court. Hence these
cases have little bearing on the question that petitioner
does press.*
8 Whether a Section 1983 cause of action exists for malicious
prosecution is very much an open question. See Albright v. Oliver,
13
Jackson v. Vannoy, 49 F.3d 175 (Sth Cir.) (per
curiam), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 148 (1995), is also
quite different from this case. There, the plaintiff's parole
had been revoked solely on the basis of his arrest, and
hence a claim that he had been illegally arrested would
necessarily have impugned the validity of his parole revo-
cation. See id. at 176-77. In Alvarez-Machain v. United
States, 96 F.2d 1246 (9th Cir. 1996), the plaintiff's
claims also depended on the validity of his arrest. There,
the plaintiff challenged his abduction in a foreign country
by federal agents who brought him to the United States
to face charges, claiming that they had done so in viola-
tion of an extradition treaty. That claim quite plainly
went to the validity of the charges brought against him.
See id. at 1250-51. Here, as we explain above, the uncon-
Stitutionality of petitioner’s arrest or interrogation would
not have been a defense in the criminal case against him.
Hence, cases in which the plaintiff's attack on his arrest,
if sustained, would necessarily require his release from
custody have no bearing on this case.
Three of the other cases on which petitioner relies pro-
vide no basis to believe that there is a conflict between
the law in the circuits that decided them and the law in
the Seventh Circuit. Two of these decisions are unpub-
lished, nonprecedential opinions of the Ninth Circuit,
which contain little analysis or reasoning and even lack
helpful descriptions of the plaintiffs’ claims. See Newman v.
Jensen, 1997 WL 665701 (9th Cir. 1997); Helmet Law
Defense League v. California Highway Patrol, 1997 WL
547956 (9th Cir. 1997). Similarly, in Mackey v. Dickson,
47 F.3d 744 (Sth Cir. 1995) (per curiam), the pro se
complaint was “confusing.” Jd. at 746. The court re-
510 U.S. at 275 (plurality opinion). In this case, the court of
appeals rejected petitioner’s malicious prosecution theory by con-
cluding that he had alleged no violation of federal law other than
his time-barred claims for arrest without probable cause and the
use of excessive force. See Pet. App. 13a, 16a. Petitioner does not
quarrel with that holding in this Court.
4
manded the case to the district court because it could not
tell if Mackey’s claims necessarily impugned the validity
of his conviction. Ibid.
As for petitioner’s three remaining cases, we acknowl-
edge that these decisions are inconsistent with the holding
below. In each case, the court concluded that allegations
that an unreasonable seizure produced evidence that was
important to the prior criminal case against the plaintiff
stated a cause of action that would not accrue until the
plaintiff's conviction were vacated. See Hudson v. Hughes,
98 F.3d 868, 871-72 (Sth Cir. 1996); Schilling v. White,
58 F.3d 1081, 1085-85 (6th Cir. 1995); Woods v.
Candela, 47 F.3d 545, 546 (2d Cir.) (per curiam), cert.
denied, 116 S. Ct. 54 (1995). With respect, we think
these decisions misapprehend the Court’s reasoning in
Heck as well as the teaching from other of the Court’s
cases that allegations of an unreasonable search or seizure
do not invalidate a subsequent charge or conviction and,
thus, that these allegations are not necessarily inconsistent
with an outstanding judgment under which an individual
remains in custody.
What is more, the rationale for the view that claims of
false arrest and excessive force accrue when the constitu- _
tional violation occurs and not when subsequent criminal
proceedings are terminated has yet to be reexamined by
these other circuits in light of the forceful explication of
its position by the Seventh Circuit in a trio of its recent
opinions, Booker v. Ward, the decision below, and the
even more recent decision in Gonzalez v. Entress, 133
F.3d 551 (7th Cir. 1998), in which the court addressed
at some length the Sixth Circuit’s reasoning in Schilling,
explaining:
Part of Schilling’s rationale—that Heck applies to per-
sons detained pending trial, as well as to those who
have already been convicted—is unexceptional. But
to say that Heck “applies” is not to say that it re-
quires dismissal of a suit seeking damages for the
15
arrest or search, as opposed to damages for wrongful
conviction. Wrongful invasions of privacy are action-
able in trespass, and wrongful detentions actionable
under statc law and the fourteenth amendment, no
matter what happens to a criminal prosecution. Sup-
pose a person says something like “I was arrested
without probable cause and spent a night in jail until
my wife came up with bail money.” That injury is
compensable whether or not the person is later con-
victed—indeed, whether or not he is later prosecuted.
Id. at 553 (citation omitted). Accordingly, other circuits
may reconsider their view in light of the Seventh Circuit’s
recent and cogent explanations in support of its rule.
3. Petitioner advances only one policy argument in
support of his position, suggesting that the rule embraced
below can lead to inconsistent results or otherwise inter-
fere with ongoing state proceedings if a state criminal
proceeding addresses the merits of the defendant’s Fourth
Amendment claim at the same time that that individual is
forced to prosecute the same claim in a Section 1983
action in order to satisfy the limitations period. See Pet.
7-8. The likelihood that the state and federal courts will
reach truly inconsistent results is overstated at best, since
a federal court is obligated to give a state court’s findings
and judgment the same preclusive effect as they would
receive in the courts of the rendering state. See, e.g.,
Kremer v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S. 461
(1982); Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980). And
the Court anticipated parallel proceedings in Heck, and
explained that when a Section 1983 action is brought
while a related state prosecution is pending, the federal
action can be stayed if it would interfere with ongoing
state proceedings. See 512 U.S. at 487 n.8.
Indeed, it is petitioner’s position that leads to imprudent
results. On petition’s view, a Section 1983 plaintiff can
wait for many years before bringing his claims relating to
his arrest and interrogation, since it may well take many
years before the state courts vacate a conviction resting
16
on evidence obtained in violation of the Fourth Amend-
ment.* The problems that inhere in litigating such stale
claims, when memories have faded and records have been
lost or destroyed, should be obvious. Such a delay is
unavoidable in cases like Heck where the invalidity of a
conviction is an element of the constitutional violation,
such as cases in which the plaintiff contends that his con-
viction rests on the suppression of exculpatory evidence
and accordingly must show not only that exculpatory evi-
dence was suppressed but that it materially contributed
to his conviction. See, e.g., Kyles v. Whitley, 115 S. Ct.
1555, 1565-68 (1995). But such a result is surely un-
warranted here. When a plaintiff claims that he has
been arrested without probable cause or subjected to ex-
cessive force during the course of that arrest, all the evi-
dence necessary to litigate the constitutionality of the
police conduct is available as soon as that conduct occurs.
There is accordingly no justification for delaying litigation
about such conduct for many years, a consequence of the
rule petitioner urges.
Moreover, petitioner’s insistence on a case-by-case in-
quiry into whether unconstitutionally obtained evidence is
necessary to the prosecution is especially difficult to apply
if the plaintiff chooses to bring suit while charges against
him are still pending: in such cases it will be impossible
to know what evidence will be admitted at trial and how
central any tainted evidence may be to the prosecution’s
case. Thus there is no basis under petitioner’s test to
determine if such a claim is barred by Heck. This practi-
cal problem also argues against petitioner’s reading of
Heck as requiring case-by-case analysis of whether tainted
evidence is necessary to support a charge or conviction.
When the accused has not been tried or convicted, it sim-
4 For example, in Booker v. Ward the plaintiff brought suit within
two years of the date that his conviction was vacated, but more
than seven years after his allegedly unconstitutional seizure. Sce
94 F.3d at 1056.
17
ply cannot be said that an alleged Fourth Amendment
violation would necessarily taint the charge or a subse-
quent conviction. Petitioner’s eagerness to revise stale
claims thus overlooks Heck’s primary purpose of barring
claims that are inconsistent with an outstanding state-
court judgment. Under petitioner’s approach, there will
be no way to determine which claims of accused persons
facing trial have accrued, and which must await a favor-
able disposition in state court.
CONCLUSION
The petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Respectfully submitted,
BRIAN L. CROWE
Corporation Counsel
of the City of Chicago
LAWRENCE ROSENTHAL *
Deputy Corporation Counsel
BENNA RUTH SOLOMON
Chief Assistant
Corporation Counsel
TIMOTHY W. JORANKO
Assistant Corporation Counsel
City Hall, Room 610
Chicago, IL 60602
(312) 744-5337
Attorneys for Respondents
* Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.