Opposition Brief — Condit v. Hamilton County

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Pt Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

JAN 7 1998

No. 97-961

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1997

JAMES CONDIT, JR., et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO, et al.,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Or CERTIORARI

To Tue Hamitton County Court OF AppEALs

First Appreciate District Or OnI0

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS HAMILTON

COUNTY, OHIO; BOARD OF COUNTY

COMMISSIONERS OF HAMILTON

COUNTY, OHIO; LINCOLN STOKES;

SIMON L. LEIS, JR.; DANIEL WOLFANGEL;

AND DANIEL LOSITO IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE HAMILTON COUNTY COURT OF

APPEALS, FIRST APPELLATE DISTRICT

OF OHIO

(COUNSEL ON INSIDE COVER)

BECKER GALLAGHER LEGAL PUBLISHING, INC., CINCINNATI, OHIO 800-890-5001

OpposinG COUNSEL:

THomas W. ConpItT

9403 KENwoop Roap

SutrTE C-208

CINCINNATI, OHIO 45242

(513) 985-9333

JOSEPH T. DETERS

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

HAMILTON County, OHIO

PHILIP L. ZORN, JR.

ASSISTANT PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO

COUNSEL OF RECORD

230 E. NINTH STREET, SurrE 7000

CINCINNATI, OHIO 45202-2151

(513) 946-3059, rax (513) 946-3018

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS

HAMILTON County, Ou10; BoarRD oF COUNTY

COMMISSIONERS OF HAMILTON COUNTY, OHio;

SIMON L. LEIs, JR.; LINCOLN STOKES; DANIEL

WOLFANGEL; AND DANIEL LosITo

COUNSEL OF RECORD FOR PETITIONERS

OTHER COUNSEL:

Fay D. Dupuis

Crry SOLICITOR

CINCINNATI, OHIO

Juuie F. BIssINGER

Ass'T. Crry SOLICITOR

CINCINNATI, OHIO

COUNSEL OF RECORD

City. oF CINCINNATI, OHIO

214 Crry HALL

801 PLum STREET

CINCINNATI, OHIO 45202

(513) 352-3332

FAX (513) 352-1515

COUNSEL FOR RESPONDENTS

City oF CINCINNATI, LAWRENCE E. WHALEN,

DONALD HuDSON AND DANIEL CAIN

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

DOES THIS COURT HAVE JURISDICTION

TO GRANT THE WITHIN PETITION FOR

A WRIT OF CERTIORARI?

ARE COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT

OFFICERS WHO EXECUTE THE VALID

ORDER OF A STATE COURT JUDGE,

AND ARE THEREAFTER SUED IN THEIR

OFFICIAL CAPACITIES PURSUANT TO 42

U.S.C. §1983 FOR SO DOING, AND THE

COUNTY WHICH EMPLOYS THOSE

OFFICERS, ENTITLED TO ABSOLUTE

QUASI-JUDICIAL IMMUNITY FROM

SUIT?

ARE COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT

OFFICERS WHO EXECUTE THE VALID

ORDER OF A STATE COURT JUDGE,

AND ARE THEREAFTER SUED IN THEIR

INDIVIDUAL CAPACITIES PURSUANT

TO 42 U.S.C. §1983 FOR SO DOING,

ENTITLED TO ABSOLUTE QUASI-

JUDICIAL IMMUNITY FROM SUIT?

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

Plaintiffs-Appellants: JAMES J. CONDIT, JR., KATHY

CONDIT, ROSEMARY CALLAHAN, DAVID

CALLAHAN, MICHAEL O'BRIEN, NANCY O'BRIEN,

WARREN SMITH, PAMELA SMITH, ANTHONY

TIDWELL, SHEILA TIDWELL, MICHAEL MEYER,

SARA MEYER, THOMAS SINGLETON, JASON MILLER,

CYNTHIA CONKLIN, DAVID CONKLIN, TERRI

CONKLIN, ROGER SPRY, DON JOHNSON, JOSEPH

EDWARD MARTIN, JOHN PARKER, TERRY PARKER,

JOANNE ENGEL, DANIEL ENGEL, and KATHLEEN

ENGEL, a minor by Joanne Engel.

Defendants-Appellees: HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO;

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS OF HAMILTON

COUNTY, OHIO; SIMON L. LEIS, JR.; LINCOLN

STOKES; DANIEL WOLFANGEL; DANIEL LOSITO;

CITY OF CINCINNATI, OHIO; LAWRENCE E.

WHALEN; DONALD HUDSON; AND DANIEL CAIN.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PIRGGUE ED 6 eee ewe. i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING BELOW ....... ii

peo Re ee a iii

pe as tee: ot ee Vv

NTS 9g Sigal es itis onic OSE aS + ees 1

STATEMENT OF THECASE ................ 1

A. Pen I i eee ce. 1

B. Facts Material to the Consideration of

the Questions Presented ........... 5

RU istic akan Whee A S45 a 12

Issue # 1. The Court Does Not Have

Jurisdiction to Grant the Within Petition for a

[ll ae 12

Issue # 2. County Law _ Enforcement

Officers Who Enforce the Valid Order of a -

State Court Judge, and Are Thereafter Sued in

Their Official Capacities Pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1983 for so Doing, and the County

Which Employs Those Officers, Are Entitled

to Absolute Quasi-Judicial Immunity From

WR. ee ae Re ee ces Vane ence wee 15

Issue # 3. County Law Enforcement

Officers Who Execute the Valid Order of a

State Court Judge, and Are Thereafter Sued in

Their Individual Capacities Pursuant to 42

U.S.C. § 1983 for So Doing, Are Entitled To

Absolute Quasi-Judicial Immunity From Suit. . 23

UR rca ty mney eee ee eee 26

APPENDIX

Appendix A

Order from Association for Children for

Enforcement of Support, Inc.. et al v. Ronald

Panioto, et al., No. C-1-85-1219,

United States District Court, Southern District

of Ohio, J. Spiegel, Dec. 18, 1986

ee Os ae a eR Ee es Al

Appendix B

Order From Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton

County, Ohio, et al., No. 90-3725

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit, April 30, 1991 (unreported) ...... Al3

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

) ‘ation for Children f

Enforcement of Support, Inc.. et al.

y. Ronald Panioto, et al.,

No. C-1-85-1219 (S.D. Ohio Dec. 18,

1986, J. Spiegel; unreported) .........

No. 90-3725 (6th Cir. April 30, 1991;

a Se a nS an

Baker v. McCollan,

EE Foy, ra

Doe v. McFaul,

599 F.Supp. 1421 (N.D. Ohio 1984)

Echols v, Parker,

us F260 t90 (Gs Cir. 1990) 2... 2...

Graham v. O’Connor,

a

Hill v. California.

os 0) Irae are

Johnson v. Granholm,

662 F.2d 449 (6th Cir. 1981), cert. denied,

OT Wie Iv vere eae ve Wes

: "aay a aay Be

Kelly v. Whiting (1985),

17 Ohio St.3d 91, U.S. cert, denied,

105 GR Sa reek EE 20, 21

Kings Powder Co. v, Thrasher,

20 ONP NS 401, 28 O.Dec. 356;

23 O.Jur.3d, Courts and Judges §515 ............ 13

Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics

intelli | Coordination Unit.

SOT UEP Xba S owes we cee 16, 17, 18, 19

Linkensdorfer v. Wenizel,

BC BS i ines os ince w eee 13 -

ee pc ca was wee eee 3

So EE ere se ee eee me 18, 22

Monroe vy. Pape,

Ps os os os ose RO mats 17, 18

Owens v, City of Independence,

ee i ns yn winnie o's 17, 18

PI rt: ey ¢ Cincinnati. I

y. Project Jericho (1990),

ee ee ae ee ee 2, 5, 20

vi

Pugh v. Parrish of St. Tammany,

oe 21

Pusey v. City of Youngstown,

11 F.3d 652 (6th Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

i ae Sp. a 4

Scarso v. Cuyahoga County Dept. of

Human Services,

747 F.Supp. 381 (N.D. Ohio 1989) ............. 21

Scott v. O’Grady,

975 F.2d 366 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,

pee SN ee i.) 4

Stump v. Sparkman,

Ge eee ETD. kc we eee cee cess 19, 20, 21, 25

Wholesale Electric Supply v. Robusky (1970),

EE ee 21

Will v. Michigan Dep't. of State Police.

ee cee eee en 3

Statutes

te ew hese ies 2, 4, 15, 16,

SAR OREN rene heer Ft Pee A 19, 22, 23, 25

ee eC awe ecceeeen 2

ee TS ee ee 3

ey Be 10

Vii

Other

Ohio Constitution, ArticleIV§3 ............... 13

Rule 10 of Rules of Supreme Court of

ee ee ee ss 6 hie Se rece ke Sek Liab.

Vill

ti Si a mene a cata tl lit lt tt ION te carting te

JURISDICTION

Judge Thomas Crush of the Hamilton County (Ohio)

Court of Common Pleas entered his decision on the parties’

cross-motions for summary judgment on January 16, 1996

(see Appendix E to petitioners’ within petition for a writ of

certiorari, hereinafter the "petition"), and his final judgment

on January 25, 1996. The Hamilton County Court of

Appeals, First Appellate District of Ohio, affirmed the

judgment on February 26, 1997 (see Appendix D to the

petition). The Supreme Court of Ohio declined to exercise

jurisdiction of petitioners’ appeal and denied review of the

judgment of the court of appeals on June 18, 1997 (see

Appendix C to the petition), and denied petitioners’ motion

for reconsideration on September 3, 1997 (see Appendix B to

the petition).

The considerations governing this Court’s jurisdiction

on a writ of certiorari are enumerated in Rule 10 of the Rules

of the Supreme Court of the United States. That rule clearly

states, in relevant part, "A petition for a writ of certiorari will

only be granted for compelling reasons." In light of the

considerations enumerated in Rule 10, this Court does not

have jurisdiction to grant the within petition, and thus the

. petition must be denied. In addition, respondents state that

there is no compelling reason for the petition to be granted.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. PROCEDURAL POSTURE.

Petitioners herein (plaintiffs below) filed their

complaint in the underlying case (James J. Condit, Jr., et al

y. Planned Parenthood Association of Cincinnati, et al.) on

June 26, 1987, in the Hamilton County (Ohio) Court of

]

Common Pleas. The case was assigned to Common Pleas

Court Judge Thomas Crush. As a matter of law, judges of a

Court of Common Pleas in Ohio are, for 42 U.S.C. §1983

purposes, considered to be state, not county, officials.

Petitioners' complaint was later amended twice.

Defendants below included:

i Hamilton County, Ohio; the Board of County

Commissioners of Hamilton County, Ohio (Hon. Guy C.

Guckenberger, Hon. John Dowlin and Hon. Robert

Bedinghaus); Hon. Simon L. Leis, Jr., the Hamilton County

Sheriff; deputy sheriff Col. Wolfangel; deputy sheriff Daniel

Losito (the "County defendants", and respondents herein);

a. City of Cincinnati, Lawrence E. Whalen,

Donald Hudson and Daniel Cain (the "City defendants", and

respondents herein); and

3. Planned Parenthood Association of Cincinnati,

Inc., Ann Mitchell, Robert Hatfield, Lynn Estomin, Robert

Laufman, Timothy Black and Phil Bonham (the "Planned

Parenthood defendants").

The action was filed pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §§1983 and 1985,

and state tort law. The gist of the second amended complaint

was that respondents violated petitioners’ civil and other legal

rights when, pursuant to a direct order issued to respondent

Sheriff by Judge Crush in another case (Planned Parenthood

vy. Project Jericho) to enforce his injunction in that case

regulating abortion protests, respondents arrested petitioners

on June 28, 1986, for protesting in violation of the injunction.

All defendants filed respective motions to consolidate

the two cases, which Judge Crush granted. Shortly thereafter,

2

petitioners filed a motion for Judge Crush to recuse himself

from the cases, which motion was denied.

Subsequently, all the defendants in the cases filed

motions to dismiss under Civ. R. 12(b)(6). The trial court did

not dismiss the case as to all claims, but it did grant the

dismissal as to certain plaintiffs in regard to certain claims, to-

wit: Rosemary and David Callahan, Michael and Nancy

O'Brien, Michael and Sara Meyer, Joanne and Daniel Engel

and John and Terry Parker, with regard to Causes of Action

nos. 1, 2, 3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 12, 13 and 14.

Ultimately, cross-motions for summary judgment were

filed, and the parties jointly filed certain stipulations.

Respondents' motion for summary judgment was based on

five (5) separate grounds: 1) absolute quasi-judicial immunity

on all claims; 2) Eleventh Amendment immunity on the

federal claims; 3) qualified immunity on the federal claims; 4)

lack of an actionable county policy or custom on the federal

claims; and 5) statutory immunity on the state law claims. '

' The second ground for the motion, the Eleventh

Amendment immunity argument, was withdrawn by the County

defendants on appeal as inapplicable in a state court proceeding.

Will v. Michigan Dep't. of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 63-64

(1989), quoting Maine v. Thiboutot, 448 U.S. 1, 9, n. 7 (1980).

In its place, respondents attempted to argue what they should

have argued in the first place; namely, that, in executing the

order of a state court judge, the county law enforcement officers

were acting as agents of the state, and not of the county;

therefore, as a matter of law, plaintiffs’ official capacity §1983

suit against them must be treated as a suit against the State of

Ohio, and not as a suit against Hamilton County; however, a

State is not a "person" within the meaning of that term as it is

used in 42 U.S.C. §1983; and thus, since §1983 only operates to

3

On January 16, 1996, Judge Crush issued his decision

in the case denying the petitioners' motion for partial

summary judgment and granting the respondents' motions for

summary judgment. Judge Crush apparently granted the

respondents’ motions for summary judgment solely on the

ground of absolute quasi-judicial immunity from suit on all

claims. See the trial court's decision, appended to petitioner's

within petition as Appendix E. On January 25, 1996, Judge

Crush entered final judgment in the matter. On February 23,

1996, petitioners appealed to the Hamilton County Court of

Appeals, First Appellate District of Ohio, which affirmed the

judgment of the trial court on February 26, 1997. Again,

despite respondents arguing all of their other grounds for

summary judgment to the court of appeals, the court of

appeals appeared to affirm solely on the ground of absolute

quasi-judicial immunity from suit on all claims. See the court

of appeals' decision, appended to the petition as Appendix D.

On April 14, 1997, petitioners appealed to the Supreme Court

of Ohio, which declined jurisdiction on June 18, 1997. See

redress the actionable conduct of a "person", plaintiffs’ federal

claims against Hamilton County, and against the other County

defendants in their official capacities, brought pursuant to §1983

(i.e., plaintiffs’ §1983 claims against the state), cannot be

maintained. Will, supra; ee eer 11

F.3d 652 (6th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, _ , 114 S.Ct.

2742 (1994); Scott v. O'Grady, 975 F.2d oH (7th Cir. 1992),

cert. denied _ U.S. _, 113 S.Ct. 2421 (1993); Echols v.

Parker, 909 F.2d 795 (Sth Cir. 1990); Association for Children

for Enforcement of Support, Inc., et al. v. Ronald Panioto, et

al., No. C-1-85-1219 (S.D. Ohio Dec. 18, 1986, J. Spiegel;

unreported; copy of case located at Appendix A of this brief);

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al., No. 90-3725 (6th

Cir. April 30, 1991; unreported; copy of case located at

Appendix B of this brief).

the Supreme Court of Ohio's entry, appended to the petition

as Appendix C. On June 28, 1997, petitioners filed a request

for reconsideration, which the Supreme Court of Ohio denied

on September 3, 1977. See the Supreme Court of Ohio's

reconsideration entry, appended to the petition as

Appendix B.

Petitioners filed their within petition for a writ of

certiorari on December 2, 1997, and it was placed on the

docket on December 10, 1997.

B. FACTS MATERIAL TO THE CONSIDERATION

OF THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED.

The following facts were in the record before all of the

lower courts.

In January of 1986, Planned Parenthood Association

of Cincinnati, Inc. ("Planned Parenthood") moved The

Margaret Sanger Center, a clinic where abortions and other

medical services were provided, to 3332 Vine Street in

Cincinnati, Ohio. Shortly thereafter, the number of protestors

picketing against abortion each week increased significantly.

On March 26, 1986, Planned Parenthood filed a

complaint in the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas

against Americans Against Abortion, Right to Life of Greater

Cincinnati, Inc., Jericho Project, Tracy Antczak, Jonathan

Brockhoeft, Raymond Loebker, and petitioner James Condit,

Jr. (Planned Parenthood vy. Project Jericho). The lawsuit

was assigned to Hamilton County Common Pleas Court Judge

Thomas Crush, and it sought injunctive relief, alleging that

the named defendants and other unnamed persons had engaged

in a variety of tortious acts. The parties to this case were all

private parties, and there were no Hamilton County agencies,

5

boards, officials, employees, agents or other representatives

who were parties. Hearings on Planned Parenthood's request

for an injunction were held in March and April, 1986, during

which time Planned Parenthood filed an amended complaint

with class action allegations and a motion to certify a

defendant class.

On June 20, 1986, Judge Crush granted Planned

Parenthood's second motion to amend the complaint and the

motion to certify a defendant class. Judge Crush issued a six-

page preliminary injunction (hereinafter "the injunction")

defining the class and setting out the prohibitions for

defendant class members. A true and accurate copy of the

injunction is appended to petitioners’ within petition as

Appendix F.

Respondent Daniel Wolfangel ("Wolfangel") is a duly

appointed, qualified and acting deputy sheriff of Hamilton

County, Ohio, and has held that position continuously since

prior to 1986.

In June of 1986, Wolfangel held the rank of colonel in

the Hamilton County Sheriff's Office, and was serving as the

commander of the Sheriff's Court Services Division. Service

and enforcement of court orders were functions of his

division.

On the morning of Friday, June 27, 1986, Wolfangel

was present at a hearing that Judge Crush held in the case

wherein the judge stated, among other things, that he intended

to issue an order to the Sheriff concerning enforcement of the

injunction on Saturday, June 28, 1986. Judge Crush stated

further that he was going to require all of the following things

to occur before an individual could be arrested by the Sheriff

for violation of the injunction: service of the injunction by

6

the Sheriff on the individual; videotaping by Planned

Parenthood of the individual’s subsequent violation(s); and an

affidavit, to be "signed on the spot by someone who knows

the facts", and delivered to the Sheriff, charging the

individual with the violation(s).

Later that day, Judge Crush issued an "Order To The

Sheriff" in the case ("the order"), which ordered the Hamilton

County Sheriff to be present at the vicinity of 3332 Vine

Street Cincinnati, Ohio (the vicinity of the Margaret Sanger

Center) the next day, Saturday, June 28, 1986, between the

hours of 8:00 A.M. and 1:00 P.M., and during those hours to

enforce the injunction by service of it and arrest of violators,

if any, upon whom it had at any time been served. The order

further authorized such enforcement at any appropriate time

on any day. A true and accurate copy of the order is

appended to petitioners’ within petition as Appendix G.

As commander of the Sheriff's Court Services

Division, it was Wolfangel's responsibility to plan, coordinate

and oversee compliance with the order and enforcement of the

injunction, subject to the superior authority of the Chief

Deputy Sheriff and/or the Sheriff.

At no time between the issuance of the order on

Friday, June 27, 1986, and 8:00 A.M. on Saturday, June 28,

1986, did the attorneys for the defendants in the case ever

attempt to contact Wolfangel or any other representative of

the Sheriff's Office to discuss the order, the Sheriff's intended

manner of compliance with it, enforcement of the injunction,

or any other matter.

At some point on Friday, June 27, 1986, after Judge

Crush had issued the order, plaintiff's (i.e., Planned

Parenthood's) attorneys came to Wolfangel's office to discuss

7

and coordinate compliance with the order and enforcement of

the injunction. It was felt that the only way to properly

comply with the order and to enforce the injunction would be

to follow Judge Crush's verbal requirements stated in open

court earlier that day (and as set forth hereinabove) as closely

as possible, to wit: for the deputies on site to attempt to serve

all persons in the area with a copy of the injunction as they

arrived; thereafter, for Planned Parenthood staff to determine

who of those served, if anyone, was violating the injunction,

and to videotape those violations(s); thereafter, for the

Planned Parenthood staffer who observed and determined the

violation(s) to execute an affidavit charging the violator with

the violation(s), and to deliver the affidavit to a representative

of the Sheriff's Office; thereafter, for the Sheriff or a deputy

to effect the arrest of the violator so charged on the basis of

the Planned Parenthood staffer's affidavit. Wolfangel's

understanding of Judge Crush's verbal requirements and

written order was that the Sheriff's sole responsibilities

thereunder were: 1) to serve the injunction; and 2) to arrest

violators of it, if any, upon whom the injunction had been

served. Wolfangel further understood Planned Parenthood's

responsibilities to be: 1) to determine and videotape any

violations; 2) to execute an appropriate affidavit charging an

individual with any violations(s) committed; and 3) to deliver

such affidavit to the Sheriff as the basis for the arrest of the

violator(s). Planned Parenthood's attorneys brought with

them for Wolfangel numerous photocopies of the injunction

to be used for service the next day, and a copy of the

preprinted form "Affidavit Charging Contempt" which they

intended to use, and did in fact use, on June 28, 1986. The

form affidavit appeared to Wolfangel to conform to what

Judge Crush required of such an affidavit.

At no time during this meeting was either observance

or violation of injunction violators’ civil rights discussed.

8

This was due to the fact that it was Wolfangel's sincere and

educated belief then, as it still is today, that the plan discussed

above for compliance with the order and enforcement of the

injunction was completely legal, in conformity with what

Judge Crush ordered, appropriate, and not in any way in

violation of anyone's, including petitioners', constitutional,

civil or otner legal rights. He can only assume, and he

therefore does assume, that this belief was shared by Planned

Parenthood's attorneys.

At no time did Wolfangel feel any legal, civil,

political, religious or other animosity toward those who were

protesting against abortion at the Margaret Sanger Center,

including any of the within petitioners. At no time did he

have any desire or intention whatsoever to infringe upon, limit

or otherwise violate any of their constitutional, civil or other

legal rights; to cause, facilitate, or ratify such violations by

others; or to participate with others in any way in such

violations. At no time did he feel that his conduct or that of

any of the other respondents infringed upon, limited or

otherwise violated any of the injunction violators’

constitutional, civil or other legal rights. Thus, at no time did

Wolfangel ever discuss, plan, conspire or otherwise

collaborate with anyone else regarding commission of such

violations.

Wolfangel's only desire at any time relevant to

petitioners’ within complaints was to fully, faithfully and

properly do his job for the Sheriff by fully, faithfully and

properly complying with the trial court's order to the Sheriff

for enforcement of the injunction.

On Saturday, June 28, 1986, respondent Sheriff

Stokes, Chief Deputy Sheriff Victor Carrelli, Wolfangel and

several other deputy sheriffs, including respondent Losito,

9

were on site at the vicinity of 3332 Vine Street as ordered by

Judge Crush. All Sheriff's personnel on site had been fully

trained as Ohio Peace Officers, and had been certified as such

by the Ohio Peace Officers' Training Council pursuant to

Ohio Revised Code ("RC") §109.77.

All Sheriff's deputies on site were instructed that

compliance with the order and enforcement of the injunction

would follow the procedure outlined hereinabove, and all

were ordered to follow that procedure. All deputies were

reminded of their duty to comply with the existing Sheriff's

Office policy that only the minimum amount of force

necessary was to be used in making an arrest (i.e., only such

force as was necessary and reasonable to effect the arrest, and

no more).

Thereafter, deputies were instructed first to serve

copies of the injunction on all who arrived on site, and

thereafter to arrest only those who had been served, and

against whom a Planned Parenthood staffer had executed an

"Affidavit Charging Contempt".

Well over 100 abortion protestors arrived at the

vicinity of 3332 Vine Street between the hours of 8:00 A.M.

and 10:00 A.M. Service upon all was attempted and,

Wolfangel believes, accomplished. The protestors were very

verbal and noisy, and the atmosphere they created was very

hostile, confrontational and tense. Based upon their behavior,

Wolfangel believed violence on their part was probable, as did

the other deputies on site. Planned Parenthood staffers

videotaped the protest activity.

Shortly after 10:00 A.M., several speeches were

delivered by certain of the protestors to the rest of the crowd

on the west side of Vine Street, across the street from the

10

Margaret Sanger Center. After these speeches, several people,

including the petitioners herein, crossed Vine street to spots

directly in front of the Sanger Center. During the next hour

or so, Planned Parenthood staffers continued to videotape the

protestors’ activity, and a Planned Parenthood staffer executed

affidavits charging certain individuals, including petitioners

herein, with contempt for violation of the injunction. These

affidavits were then delivered to Sheriff's personnel by

Planned Parenthood personnel, and all violators, including all

petitioners herein, were then arrested on the basis of the

Planned Parenthood staffer's sworn affidavits.

To the best of Wolfangel's knowledge at that time, all

who were arrested on June 28, 1986, had first been served

with a copy of the injunction and had their violation(s)

videotaped, and were thereafter arrested pursuant to an

" Affidavit Charging Contempt", which affidavit was executed

by a Planned Parenthood staffer. Indeed, the typed portion of

the affidavit was identical for all of the petitioners herein, and

clearly stated that the violator had first been served with a

copy of the injunction, and that he or she had thereafter

violated the injunction. Those arrested were thereafter

transported to the Hamilton County Justice Center or the

Hamilton County Youth Detention Center, and were held

therein until the conditions for their release, set by Judge

Crush, had been met.

The Sheriff’s Office had every desire, and made every

attempt, to faithfully and properly comply with Judge Crush’s

"Order To The Sheriff", and to enforce the injunction in a

legal and proper manner. To the best of Wolfangel’s

knowledge at that time, this was accomplished. However, it

later was determined that service of the injunction on

petitioners Tidwell, Miller, Taylor, Spry, C. Conklin,

D. Conklin and Engel was not videotaped, and thus could not

11

—

be verified at their contempt hearings, and that petitioners

Davis and Johnson were arrested pursuant to signed affidavits

which charged that they had committed a violation or

violations of the injunction, but which did not specify the

exact nature of the violation(s) they had committed.

as

Ultimately, Judge Crush dismissed the contempt

charges against all petitioners.

ARGUMENT

ISSUE #1. THIS COURT DOES NOT HAVE

JURISDICTION TO GRANT THE WITHIN PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI.

Rule 10 of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States provides, in relevant part, that "A petition for

a writ of certiorari will be granted only for compelling

reasons." Rule 10 goes on to enumerate the considerations

governing review on certiorari, the only ones relevant to this

proceeding being when:

(b) a state court of last resort has decided an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with a decision

of another state court of last resort or of a United

States Court of Appeals; [or]

(c) a state court or United States Court of Appeals has

decided an important question of federal law that has

not been, but should be, settled by this Court, or has

decided an important federal question in a way that

conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.

In this case, the "state court of last resort" in Ohio,

i.e., the Ohio Supreme Court, did not accept jurisdiction of

12

petitioners’ appeal, and thus did not decide anything. Even if

this Court construes the term "court of last resort" to include

the Hamilton County Court of Appeals, First Appellate

District of Ohio, that court did not decide "an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with the decision of

another state court of last resort or of a United States Court of

Appeals". Accordingly, this Court would not have

jurisdiction over the within petition under consideration (b) of

Rule 10.

Furthermore, the highest Ohio state court that has

decided this case, i.e., the Hamilton County Court of

Appeals, First Appellate District of Ohio, has neither

"decided an important question of federal law that has not

been, but should be, settled by this Court", nor has it

"decided an important federal question in a way that conflicts

with relevant decisions of this Court". Thus, no jurisdiction

would lie under consideration (c) of Rule 10.”

Additionally, there are no compelling reasons to grant

the petition in this case. This case merely involves: 1) the

arrest of petitioners by respondents, pursuant to an express

court order to respondents, issued by a state court judge, to

enforce his injunction by arresting anyone who violated the

injunction after first having been served with a copy of it, and

2) the resulting grant of absolute quasi-judicial immunity to

the respondents for their compliance with the order. Judge

2 The First Appellate District of Ohio is comprised

solely of Hamilton County, Ohio. Thus, decisions of the

Hamilton County Court of Appeals, First Appellate District of

Ohio, are binding only in Hamilton County, Ohio. Ohio

Constitution, Article IV, §3; Linkensdorfer v. Wentzel, 4 ONP

94, 6 O.Dec. 6; Kings Powder Co. v. Thrasher, 20 ONP NS

401, 28 O.Dec. 356; 23 O.Jur.3d, Courts and Judges, §515.

13

Crush required that the arrests be based upon the sworn

affidavit of someone at the scene with personal knowledge of

the service of the injunction on the arrestee, and of the

arrestee's subsequent violation of it. The respondents’ arrest

conduct in response to Judge Crush's order was evaluated by

the lower courts and found to be in full compliance with the

order (see Appendix E to the petition, at page 13a of the

appendix, the trial court's decision on summary judgment:

"...First and foremost, each of the arrests in question were

carried out, by each of the arresting persons, according to the

orders of this Court; and, therefore, the arresting persons

benefit from the immunity of this Court...")

The trial court went on to correctly identify

petitioners’ real complaint in the action:

"...The real complaint, if any, that plaintiffs

have is that the perscns who signed the

affidavits, which proviced probable cause for

the arrests, signed them erroneously or falsely.

Whether this is true or not will never be

litigated since plaintiffs have settled with these

persons and dismissed them from these

actions. Plaintiffs, having voluntarily removed

from litigation the only persons who may have

wronged them, cannot now be permitted to

proceed against persons who acted under the

orders of the Court, in the manner established

by the Court, and upon probable cause..."

Id., at 13-14.

On appeal, the court of appeals reviewed and upheld

the trial court's factual findings regarding the respondents’

compliance with the trial court's order:

14

"In this case, the propriety of extending

immunity is enhanced by the fact that the order

at issue has been held to be valid. We also

note that appellants have not presented

sufficient evidence that the appellees acted

beyond the judge's order..."

(See Appendix D to the petition, at page 10a of the appendix,

the court of appeals decision.)

Rule 10 of this Court's rules concludes by stating that

"..A petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when

the asserted error consists of erroneous factual findings or the

misapplication of a properly stated rule of law..." And, the

within petition, in effect, if not in so many words, asserts

both.

Accordingly, respondents respectfully submit that this

Court has no jurisdiction to grant the petition, and thus that

the petition must be denied.

ISSUE #2. COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT

OFFICERS WHO ENFORCE THE VALID ORDER OF

A STATE COURT JUDGE, AND ARE THEREAFTER

SUED IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITIES PURSUANT

TO 42 U.S.C. §1983 FOR SO DOING, AND THE

COUNTY WHICH EMPLOYS THOSE OFFICERS, ARE

ENTITLED TO ABSOLUTE QUASI-JUDICIAL

IMMUNITY FROM SUIT.

On page 12 of their within petition, petitioners state

that counties and cities whose policy makers enforce valid

state court orders are not entitled to absolute quasi-judicial

immunity from suit pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983 for so

doing, but then immediately concede that "...[this Court] has

15

never addressed (as an actual holding of a case) the

availability of absolute quasi-judicial immunity to cities and

counties whose agents enforce a court order..."

Nevertheless, appellants rely heavily on the case of

Leath T t County N tics Intelli ;

Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163 (1993), as authority that

Hamilton County is not entitled to absolute quasi-judicial

immunity from suit herein. However, as scrutiny of the

Leatherman decision reveals, the case conclusively

determines only one thing: i.e., that a federal court may not

apply a "heightened pleading standard" - one more stringent

than the usual pleading requirements of Rule 8(a) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure - in civil rights cases

alleging municipal liability under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. This is

the entire holding of the case. Leatherman, 507 U.S., at

164. Thus, Leatherman is completely inapposite to the

instant case.

As this Court noted in Leatherman, at 507 U.S., at

166, the respondents in that case claimed:

"...that municipalities’ freedom from

respondeat superior liability...necessarily

includes immunity from suit. In this sense,

respondents assert, municipalities are no

different from state of local officials sued in

their individual capacity..." (Emphasis

added.)

Simply put, the respondents have never taken either of these

positions in the instant case, and thus Leatherman is factually

inapposite to the instant case.

Furthermore, the instant case is not one in which the

16

respondents, in their official capacities, have attempted to

claim qualified immunity. They are well aware that county

officials, in their official capacities (and thus counties

themselves) are not entitled to the defense of qualified

immunity.’

Thus, the vast majority of the dicta from Leatherman

has absolutely no application to the instant case. In this dicta,

this Court merely noted that when it last revisited the question

of whether municipalities are entitled to some form of

"limited" immunity (i.e., in the case of Owens v. City of

Independence, 445 U.S. 622 (1980)), it did so solely in the

context of having to decide whether municipalities were

entitled to qualified immunity:

"...in Owens...we rejected a claim that

municipalities should be afforded qualified

immunity, much like that afforded individual

officers, based on the good faith of their

agents..." Leatherman, 507 U.S., at 166.

Since the instant case has never involved a claim of

qualified immunity for the appellees in their official

Capacities, or for Hamilton County itself, this dicta has no

relevance herein whatever.

Yet, in fairness, the dicta quoted by petitioners on

pages 13 and 14 of their petition, does go on to say:

"...These decisions (Owens, supra, Monroe

> The respondents did, of course, assert below

qualified immunity from suit in their individual, personal

Capacities, but not in their official capacities.

17

y. Pape, 365 U.S. 167, 81 S.Ct. 473, 5

L.Ed.2d 492 (1961), and Monell v. New York

City Dept. of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658,

98 S.Ct. 2018, 56 L.Ed.2d 611 (1978)] make

it quite clear that...municipalities do not enjoy

immunity from suit - either absolute or

qualified -under § 1983..." In short, a

municipality can be sued under §1983, but it

cannot be held liable unless a municipal policy

or custom caused the constitutional injury..."

Id.

However, this dicta is neither controlling nor persuasive.

Monroe was a very early decision which had baldly held that

municipalities were, as the Supreme Court phrased it in

Leatherman (507 U.S. at 166), "wholly immune" from suit

under § 1983. In overruling Monroe by holding that

municipalities could be sued under § 1983, the Monel} Court

was not confronted, and thus did not deal, with the either the

concept or the issue of absolute quasi-judicial immunity. To

be more specific, neither Monroe, Monell nor Owens

involved the issue which is present in the instant case: i.e.,

whether a municipality is entitled to absolute quasi-judicial

immunity when its officers are sued in their official capacities

for doing nothing more than obeying the facially valid order

of a state court judge.* Thus, those three cases, and

.

An Ohio Common Pleas Court Judge is a state not a

county official for purposes of liability under 42 U.S.C. §1983.

Association for Children for Enforcement of Support, Inc. v.

Panioto, Case No. C-1-85-1219, United States District Court,

Southern District of Ohio, J. Spiegel, Dec. 18, 1986

(unreported; copy appended hereto as Appendix A); Bachelier,

et al. v. Hamilton County, et al,, Case No. 90-3725, United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, April 30, 1991, p.

18

Leatherman itself, are all clearly inapposite to the case at

bar.

Most importantly, "...[A] judge will not be deprived

of immunity because the action he took was in error, was

done maliciously, or was in excess of his authority...”,

Stump v. Sparkman (1978), 435 U.S. 349, 356-357. And,

"{Ijt is well settled that judicial immunity which has

historically protected judges acting in their official capacity ...

also attaches to public officials who perform quasi-judicial

duties." Johnson vy. Granholm, 662 F.2d 449 (6th Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 457 U.S. 1120 (1982). Furthermore, as

previously noted, the lower courts herein have specifically

found that respondents complied faithfully with the

enforcement procedure specifically set forth by Judge Crush

in open court, and in his "Order to the Sheriff".

Thus, even if this Court were to find Judge Crush's

order to be unconstitutional, the respondents would still be

entitled to and protected by absolute quasi-judicial immunity.

See Mireles v. Waco (1991), 502 U.S. 9 (absolute quasi-

judicial immunity granted to al] defendants despite the police

officer defendants faithfully obeying a state court judge's

explicit order to "forcibly and with excessive force seize and

bring [the attorney/plaintiff] into this courtroom"; emphasis

added). In Doe vy, McFaul, 599 F.Supp. 1421 (N_D. Ohio

1984), Doe, the United States District Court applied the

doctrine of quasi-judicial immunity to facts analogous to the

case at bar. There, plaintiffs filed an action under 42 U.S.C.

§1983 against Cuyahoga County (Ohio) and the Cuyahoga

County sheriff, alleging that defendants followed and enforced

an unconstitutional court order. Specifically, defendants in

6 (unreported; copy appended hereto as Appendix B, citing

Panioto).

19

Doe followed a court order requiring the incarceration of a

minor in a regular correctional facility designed for adults.

Although the court held that the judge had made a mistake and

the order was unconstitutional, it held that both the sheriff and

Cuyahoga county were immune pursuant to the doctrine of

absolute quasi-judicial immunity. Jg., 1430-32. As stated in

Doe, individual corrections officers, who implemented a

judge's illegal and unconstitutional but clearly "judicial"

order, shared in his absolute immunity from damages under

the doctrine of quasi-judicial immunity. 599 F.Supp at 1430.

Furthermore, if any errors were made with regard to

the affidavits themselves, or with regard to the people against

whom the affidavits were filed, such errors were clearly the

fault of the Planned Parenthood employee who was charged

with the responsibility of executing the affidavits (and whom

petitioners have released from this litigation), not the fault of

any respondent. And, it must be remembered that errors in

the enforcement of a court order do not negate the absolute

quasi-judicial immunity of the person directed to carry out

the order, which immunity, of course, derives from and is

equal to the immunity of the judge who issued the order.

Stump, Johnson, Mireles, and Doe, supra.

That the trial court had both subject matter and

personal jurisdiction below, and that both Judge Crush's

injunction and his "Order to the Sheriff" issued in that case

were legally valid, are matters no longer open to question.

See Planned Parenthood Assn. of Cincinnati, Inc. v.

Project Jericho (1990), 52 Ohio St.3d 56. Thus, Judge

Crush was and is entitled to absolute judicial immunity for his

issuance of both the injunction and the order. Stump v.

Sparkman, supra, 435 U.S. at 356-357; see also Kelly v.

Whiting (1985), 17 Ohio St.3d 91, U.S. cert. denied, 106

S.Ct.532.

20

That the order is facially valid is readily apparent, and

petitioners do not argue to the contrary. That the respondents

appeared on site on June 28, 1986 and thereafter, and

enforced the injunction on that date and thereafter, solely

because of and in obedience to that order, is beyond rational

argument.

Both federal and Ohio law are well-settled that all who

act pursuant to a facially valid court order share in the issuing

judge's absolute judicial immunity therefor. Accordingly,

under the facts of this case, respondents, including Hamilton

County itself, are entitled to absolute quasi-judicial immunity

herein from all of petitioners’ within claims, both federal and

state. Stump, Johnson, Mireles, Doe, and Kelly, supra.

"{T]he Sixth Circuit has repeatedly extended the absolute

immunity accorded to ) Judges to other individuals involved in

the judicial process." Doe,_at 1431. See also Wholesale

ee oo alge 22 Ohio St.2d 181;

te: ahog2 an Services, 747

F. jem 381 (N.D. Ohio 1989): and Pugh v. Parrish of St,

Tammany, 875 F.2d 436 (Sth Cir. 1989) (absolute

prosecutorial immunity granted to a Louisiana parish, which

is the equivalent of an Ohio county).

Respondents submit that virtually all of the legal and

public policy reasons enumerated in the various authorities

cited hereinabove, for according absolute quasi-judicial

immunity to those who comply with court orders, fully

support the lower courts’ grant of absolute quasi-judicial

immunity from suit to respondents herein, including to

respondent Hamilton County, Ohio. Furthermore, and

perhaps even more importantly, the instant case presents

another compelling reason why the grant of absolute quasi-

judicial immunity to respondent Hamilton County must be left

undisturbed: to the degree that petitioners were aggrieved by

21

their arrests, they were aggrieved solely by the injunction and

order issued by Judge Crush, a state official for § 1983

purposes and nothing else. Thus, it simply would be neither

fair nor just to penalize the citizens of one Ohio county (i.e.,

Hamilton County) for actions taken in accordance with a court

order issued by a state, not a county, judge.°

Petitioners do not even pretend that the dicta they cite

in support of their position is binding, and this Court and all

parties know that it is not binding. Respondents submit that

this dicta is both inapposite and unpersuasive, as well.

Accordingly, the lower courts’ decisions herein need not be

and must not be disturbed.

Based upon all of the foregoing, it is readily appar» ®t

that the respondents were acting solely pursuant to and in

conformity with a valid order of a state court judge when they

arrested petitioners, and thus that all respondents, in all

* In addition to their absolute quasi-judicial immunity

from suit, respondents wish to reiterate and to stress that, since

they acted as officers of the state and not of Hamilton County

when complying with the state court judge’s order to the Sheriff,

they cannot be sued in their official capacities pursuant to §1983,

since the state is not a "person" who can be sued under §1983 -

see footnote 1 hereinabove; and that there was no actionable

county policy or custom that was the "moving force" behind

petitioners’ claimed constitutional violations (see Monell v. New

York City Dept. of Social Services, 436 U.S. 658, 694 (1978);

and Bachelier, supra, at 6: "...{H]ere it is clear that Judge

Crush’s injunction, not any policy of appellees, was the moving

force behind the alleged violation of appellants’ constitutional

rights..."). These are perhaps respondents’ strongest two

arguments, but, unfortunately, they were not addressed by any of

the lower courts.

22

Capacities sued, Hamilton County included, are entitled to

absolute quasi-judicial immunity from suit, on all claims

brought by petitioners.

ISSUE #3. COUNTY LAW ENFORCEMENT

OFFICERS WHO EXECUTE THE VALID ORDER OF

A STATE COURT JUDGE, AND ARE THEREAFTER

SUED IN THEIR INDIVIDUAL CAPACITIES

PURSUANT TO 42 U.S.C. §1983 FOR SO DOING, ARE

ENTITLED TO ABSOLUTE QUASI-JUDICIAL

IMMUNITY FROM SUIT.

Petitioners’ second question presented (i.e., "Are law

enforcement officials entitled to absolute quasi-judicial

immunity from claims brought under 42 U.S.C. §1983 when

their manner of enforcing a court order violated the order

itself and resulted in constitutional violations?") is a red

herring, because, as previously noted herein, both lower

courts specifically found from the facts in the record before

them that respondents did not violate Judge Crush’s "Order to

the Sheriff".

The order itself reads, in relevant part:

The Sheriff of Hamilton County is hereby

ordered to be present at the vicinity cf 3332

Vine Street on Saturday, June 28, 1986,

between the hours of 8:00 A.M. and 1:00

P.M. and during those hours to enforce the

injunction filed herein on June 20, 1986. Said

enforcement shall be by service of the order

and arrest of violators, if any, upon whom the

order has at any time been served.

As noted in the record before the lower courts, when

23

Judge Crush issued his order, he stated on the record, in open

Court, inter alia,

I do request orally that no arrests be made

unless the service has been photographed, the

violation has been photographed and an

affidavit signed on the spot by someone who

knows the facts. (Emphasis added.)

As the record below also reflects, on the date of the

incident in question, respondents attempted to serve, and

believed (and still believe) they had served, all persons in the

area, including all petitioners, with a copy of the injunction

prior to any arrests for violations of the injunction. Planned

Parenthood representatives videotaped the entire protest scene

continuously, and the only people arrested for contempt by

respondents were those against whom an "Affidavit Charging

Contempt” had been signed by a Planned Parenthood Staffer.

Furthermore, each "Affidavit Charging Contempt" was

captioned "State of Ohio, Plaintiff vs.

Defendant", stated that it was related to the underlying

Common Pleas Court Case and gave that case number, and

contained at least the following language:

Before me, a Notary Public, personally came

Robert Hatfield [an employee of Planned

Parenthood] who, being duly sworn, according

to law, states that on or about June 28, 1986,

at Cincinnati, Ohio, [name of appellant] did

violate the order of this Court filed and

docketed June 20, 1986, and served upon said

Defendant before the violation of the order.

Thus, it is clear that the Judge Crush's order was faithfully

followed and obeyed by respondents to the best of their

24

knowledge and ability.

Contempt is sui generis, and is neither strictly criminal

nor civil. There is in Ohio no set arrest procedure for

contempt of court which either Judge Crush's order, or

respondents' execution of the order, violated. The facts that

service of the injunction on certain of the petitioners was

apparently not videotaped and thus could not be verified later

on at trial, or that certain of the contempt affidavits were

later, after the heat of the moment, found to be incorrect or

incomplete, and thus that petitioners were acquitted of

‘. contempt or had their contempt charges dismissed, do nothing

to invalidate either the Judge Crush's ordered arrest procedure

or respondents’ faithful compliance with it. As this Court has

noted in the past, even in a criminal case (which the instant

case is not), "... The Constitution does not guarantee that only

the guilty will be arrested. If it did, § 1983 would provide a

cause of action for every defendant acquitted - indeed, for

every suspect released..." Baker vy. McCollan, 443 U.S.

137, 145 (1979). See also Graham vy. O'Connor, 490 U.S.

386, 396 (1989) ("...The Fourth Amendment is not violated

by an arrest based on probable cause, even though the wrong

person is arrested, Hill v. California, 401 U-S.

797...(1971)...).

As noted previously herein, respondents derive their

absolute quasi-judicial immunity from Judge Crush who

ordered them to enforce his injunction. Thus respondents,

like Judge Crush, do not lose their absolute quasi-judicial

immunity simply because there may have been minor

unintentional and unknown deviations from the strict letter of

the order. Stump, Johnson, Mireles, and Doe, supra.

Surely, if absolute quasi-judicial immunity was accorded to

the police officer defendants in Mireles, supra, it must also

be accorded to the respondents under the circumstances of this

25

case.

CONCLUSION

Based upon all of the foregoing, respondents pray that

petitioners within petition for a writ of certiorari be denied, in

its entirety, at petitioners’ cost and expense.

Respectfully submitted,

JOSEPH T. DETERS

PROSECUTING ATTORNEY

HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO

/s/

Philip L. Zorn, Jr.,

Assistant Prosecuting Attorney

Hamilton County, Ohio

(COUNSEL OF RECORD)

230 E. Ninth Street, Suite 7000

Cincinnati, OH 45202-2151

(513) 946-3059

FAX (513) 946-3018

Counsel for Respondents

Hamilton County, Ohio;

Board of County Commissioners of

Hamilton County, Ohio;

Lincoln Stokes; Simon L. Leis, Jr.;

Daniel Wolfangei; and Daniel Losito

26

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO WESTERN DIVISION

No. C-1-85-1219

FILED

December 18, 1986

ASSOCIATION FOR CHILDREN FOR ENFORCEMENT

OF SUPPORT, INC., et al.,

Plaintiffs,

¥.

RONALD PANIOTO, et al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

This matter came on for consideration of the motion to

dismiss of defendant Hamilton County, Ohio (Doc. 38) and

plaintiffs' memorandum in opposition (Doc. 41) to which

defendant has replied (Doc. 42); defendant Ronald Panioto's

motion for summary judgment (Doc. 32) and plaintiffs’

memorandum in opposition (Doc. 34), to which defendant has

replied (Doc. 35); and plaintiffs' motion for partial summary

judgment (Doc. 43), to which defendant has responded (Doc.

47) and plaintiff has replied (Doc. 49).

Al

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

Since we previously set forth the facts giving rise to

this litigation in our order denying injunctive relief (Doc. 27),

we will outline the facts very briefly.

Plaintiffs’ complaint was filed on August 20, 1985,

instituting this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C. §1983,

challenging defendants’ policy of excluding members of the

general public from proceedings of the Domestic Relations

Division of the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas,

and plaintiffs requested this Court to render injunctive relief

requiring defendants to open the proceedings to the public,

declaratory relief, damages, costs, and attorney fees. By

amendment on May 14, 1986 (Doc. 86), plaintiffs request a

substantial amount of damages against defendant Hamilton

County.

Defendant Panioto, in his capacity as Senior judge of

the Domestic Relations Division of the Hamilton County

Court of Common Pleas, moves for summary judgment in his

favor on the basis that this case no longer presents a case or

controversy and this action is now moot. At the time this

Court ruled on plaintiffs’ initial motion for injunctive relief,

there was pending in the Hamilton County Municipal Court,

a criminal action based on criminal trespass and disorderly

conduct charges brought against Geraldine A. Jensen, one of

the plaintiffs herein, who was arrested on June 27, 1985 when

she attempted to attend and monitor child support

proceedings.

On September 3, 1985, a hearing was held before the

Honorable Deidra L. Hair, Judge of the Hamilton County

Municipal Court, in the case of State of Ohio v. Geraldine A.

A2

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

Jenson. On September 5, 1985, Judge Hair issued an opinion,

finding that the blanket exclusion of observers, as a matter of

policy, in the absence of some articulated overriding

consideration, violates the public’s First and Fourteenth

Amendment rights.

A motion for leave to appeal the decision of the

Hamilton County Municipal Court was filed by the State of

Ohio shortly thereafter. After careful consideration, we

declined to order injunctive relief on the basis of the strong

policy of comity between state and federal judicial systems

which mandates a "proper respect for state functions."

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 44 {1971). Since the time we

entered our order, the Court of Appeals declined to review

Judge Hair's decision. (Dec. 32, Ex. A, certified copy of

entry overruling motion for leave in State of Ohio v.

Geraldine A. Jensen, No. C-850634 ( 1 st App. D. Ham. Cty.

Oct. 21, 1985)).

Defendant Panioto states, by affidavit, that the

Domestic Relations Division of the Hamilton County Court of

Common Pleas has, from the date of this Court's decision on

September 27, 1985, permitted the public to attend child

support enforcement proceedings held before the Referees.

(Doc. 33, Affidavit of Ronald Panioto).' Therefore,

defendant contends that this action is now moot. Plaintiffs

respond that the mere voluntary cessation of illegal conduct

by a defendant does not deprive a court of jurisdiction in the

' The affidavit of Judge Panioto is attached as "Appendix

A3

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

action and that this action is not moot because of the

possibility of recurrence. Defendant Panioto finally claims

that notwithstanding how the mootness issue is resolved, he

was clothed with absolute judicial immunity.

In considering a motion for summary judgment, the

narrow question we must decide is whether there is "no

genuine issue as to any material fact and [whether] the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law." Rule 56(c),

Fed. R. Civ. P. The Court cannot try issues of fact on a Rule

56 motion, but is empowered to determine only whether there

are issues to be tried. Jn re Atlas Concrete Pipe, Inc., 668

F.2d 905, 908 (6th Cir. 1982). The moving party "has the

burden of showing conclusively that there exists no genuine

issue as to a material fact and the evidence together with all

inferences to be drawn therefrom must be read in the light

most favorable to the party opposing the motion." Smith v.

Hudson, 600 F.2d 60, 63 (6th Cir.) (emphasis original), cert.

denied, 444 U.S. 986 (1979). And, "while the movant's

papers are to be closely scrutinized, those of the opponent are

to be viewed indulgently." Jd. at 63. "[T]he District Court [is]

obligated to consider not only the materials specifically

offered in support of the motion, but also all ‘pleadings,

depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions’

properly on file and thus properly before [the] court." /d.,

quoting Rule 56(c), Fed. R. Civ. P. Summary judgment

"must be used only with extreme caution for it operates to

deny a litigant his day in court." Jd.

After carefully reviewing the papers filed in this case

and considering the oral arguments presented by counsel on

October 3, 1986, we conclude that this action is moot with

A4

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

respect to preliminary and injunctive relief based upon judge

Panioto's statement to the effect that he will abide by Judge

Hair's decision and that he has been doing so since September

27, 1985. The defendant recognizes, and we agree, that the

mere voluntary discontinuance of certain conduct may be

insufficient to render a case moot. However, in order to

satisfy a case or controversy requirement which is a

prerequisite to this Court's exercise of jurisdiction, plaintiffs

must show that there is a real or immediate threat that the

conduct sought to be enjoined is likely to occur again. City of

Los Angeles v. Lyons, 461 U.S. 95 (1983). In Lyons, the court

observed "... that past exposure to illegal conduct does not in

itself show a present case or controversy regarding injunctive

relief ... if unaccompanied by any continuing, present adverse

effects. Id. at 102.

The question we are most concerned with at present is

whether recurrence is probable, as the court stated in United

States of America v. The Cleveland Trust Co., 392 F. Spp..

699 (N.D. Ohio 1974):

(f, in addition to the conduct's

discontinuance, there are strong circumstances

clearly rendering recurrence entirely

improbable, ... a conclusion of mootness is

warranted. (citations omitted).

Id. at 707.

It is undisputed that the prior policy of excluding the

public from proceedings of the Domestic Relations Division

of the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas was

AS

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

discontinued on September 27, 1985 and to date has not been

reimplemented. Moreover, defendant has assured this Court

that he would continue to abide by the decision of Judge Hair.

Therefore, we conclude that a recurrence of the alleged

wrongful conduct is entirely improbable and this action is now

moot.’

In addition to the injunctive relief addressed above,

plaintiffs have asserted a claim for relief in the form of

compensatory and general damages against defendant

Hamilton County. In paragraph 27 of the amended complaint,

plaintiffs allege:

The policy of Defendant Panioto barring

members of the general public from

proceedings before referees of the Domestic

? We note that plaintiffs' amended complaint (Doc. 39)

seeks only injunctive relief against defendant Panioto and our

decision on the mootness issue renders it unnecessary to address the

issue of judicial immunity raised by defendant Panioto. Judges

presiding over courts of general and limited jurisdictions are

absolutely immune from suits for damages, provided the judges did

not engage in non-judicial conduct or act in the clear absence of all

jurisdiction. King v. Love, 766 F.2d 962, 96566 (6th Cir. 1985);

see also, Sevier v. Turner, 742 F.2d 262,271 (6th Cir. 1984). The

Supreme Court has defined a non-judicial act as an action not

ordinarily performed by a judicial officer or an act not performed

by the judge in his official capacity. Stump v. Sparkman, 435 U.S.

349, 362 (1978). Because of our decision on the mootness issue, we

need not address the issue of whether excluding members of the

public from the proceedings involved herein can be categorized as

judicial conduct.

A6

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

Relations Division of the Hamilton County

Court of Common Pleas is the official act,

policy, custom, and practice of Defendant

Hamilton County.

In Monnell v. Department of Social Services, 436 U.S.

658 (1978), the Supreme Court held that a local government

can be liable in a §1983 action when its official policy or

governmental custom is responsible for a deprivation of

constitutional rights. Therefore, the local government must be

a "moving force" behind the deprivation. "Proof of a single

incident of unconstitutional activity is not sufficient to impose

liability under Monnell, unless proof of the incident includes

proof that it was caused by an existing, unconstitutional [local

government] policy, which policy can be attributed to a [local

government] policy maker." City of Oklahoma v. T. uttle, 471

U.S.__ (1985).

Under the Eleventh Amendment, U.S.C.A. Const.

Amend. 11, a state or its agencies cannot be sued in federal

court without its consent. Alabama v. Pugh, 438 U.S. 781

(1978). The defendant Hamilton County argues that this

action should be dismissed against it because it cannot be held

liable for the acts of a senior Domestic Relations Judge since

the judge is a state official rather than a county official. We

agree with the parties that the pivotal issue in regard to

Hamilton County is whether the Domestic Relations Division

of the Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas is an agency

of the state or county.

Defendant Hamilton County directs our attention to

Article ITV of the Ohio Constitution in support of its

A7

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

contention that the Court of Common Pleas is a state court.

Article TV § 1 of the Ohio Constitution states:

The judicial power of the state is vested in a

supreme court, courts of appeals, courts of

common pleas and divisions thereof, and such

other courts inferior to the supreme courts as

may from time to time be established by law.

Article IV, §4(A) of the Ohio Constitution provides

that "there shall be a court of common pleas and such

divisions thereof . . . serving each county of the states" and

in the interests of justice "two or more counties may be

combined into districts having one or more judges resident in

the district and serving the common pleas courts of all

counties in the district... . .". Any judge of the court of

common pleas or its divisions may temporarily hold court in

any county. Moreover, the Ohio Supreme Court has general

superintendence over all courts in the state and the Chief

justice may assign judges of the court of common pleas and its

divisions to sit or hold court in any other court of common

pleas. See Article TV §§5. 6. Ohio Constitution: Ohio Rev.

Code §§2503.04 and 141.07.

The gist of defendants’ argument is that Judge Panioto

cannot be a policy maker for Hamilton County as, pursuant to

the Ohio Constitution, he is a member of the state judiciary.

Defendants argue that this case is analogous to the Ninth

Circuit case of O'Conner v. State of Nevada, 686 F.2d 749

(9th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1071 (1982) wherein

the Appellate Court reviewed the case of O’Conner v. State of

Nevada, 507 F. Spp.. 546 (D. Nev. 1981). The court

A8

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

concluded that the defendants Supreme Court and Third

Judicial District Court of Nevada, were state agencies and

therefore were immune from suit in a civil rights action in

federal court because of the Eleventh Amendment. U.S.C.A.

Const. Amend 11. See, O'Conner, 686 F.2d at 750.

Similar to the Ohio Constitution, the Nevada

Constitution provides that judicial power of the state is vested

in a court system comprised of a Supreme Court, District

Court, and justices of the Peace. The state is divided into

several districts with each district consisting of one county,

except for one district which is comprised of two counties.

Like Common Pleas judges in Ohio, District Judges in

Nevada are elected by the qualified electors of their respective

districts and the Chief justice of the state Supreme Court has

judicial assignment powers. See Article 6 §§ I, 5, and 19,

Nevada Constitution.

The common denominator between the Ohio and

Nevada constitutions most apparent to this Court is that in

both states supervisory and assignment powers over Common

Pleas and District Courts are vested in the higher courts of the

state and, although defined for convenience by county

boundaries, a district may be comprised of more than one

county.

In response, plaintiffs argue that the recent decision of

Pembauer v. City of Cincinnati, 746 F.2d 337, 341 (6th Cir.

1984), ruling precluding county liability reversed, 54

U.S.L.W. 4289 {U.S. 1986} should govern the outcome of

this case. Plaintiffs also cite Crane v. Texas, 759 F.2d 412

(Sth Cir. 1985) as persuasive authority. Although we are

A9

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

particularly persuaded by the manner in which the Ohio

Constitution establishes the state court system, we have

considered the following factors espoused in Pembauer and

Crane for determining whether a person is a county official or

state official for purposes of § 1983 liability:

1. Whether the official is elected by the residents

of the county;

= Whether the official is the "chief officer" of

the county in a given area;

3. Whether the official submits budget requests to

the county legislative body, which in turn

furnishes his office, books, furniture and other

materials;

4. Whether the official's salary and all training

expenses are paid out of the general fund; and

5. Whether the official can be regarded as the

ultimate repository of county authority.

Although none of these factors is itself determinative,

they are important in our consideration. Pembauer, 746 F.2d

at 341. While a Common Pleas Court judge is elected by the

residents of the county, we find that defendant Panioto does

not meet the remaining four criteria for determining that he is

a county official.

We conclude that defendant Panioto, as Common

Pleas Judge of the Domestic Relations Division, is not a

Al0

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

"chief officer" of Hamilton County. Unlike the county

prosecutor or sheriff in Pembauer, a domestic relations judge

reports to the Superior Court in Ohio? Although a domestic

relations judge in Ohio is ultimately responsible to the

electorate, we question what the County Commissions of

Hamilton County could do if they were vehemently opposed

to the judge's policies. Furthermore, pursuant to the Ohio

Constitution, a Judge of the Court of Common Pleas, of

which the domestic relations division is a part, has statewide

jurisdiction, may hold court in any county, is supervised by

the Ohio Supreme Court, and is compensated, at least in part,

from the state treasury. Ohio Rev. Code §141.04. Therefore,

we find that defendant Panioto is not a county official for

purposes of the Eleventh Amendment and Hamilton County's

motion to dismiss should be granted.

Accordingly, the motion of defendant Hamilton

County, Ohio (Doc. 38) and defendant Ronald Panioto's

motion for summary judgment (Doc. 32) are hereby granted

and this action is dismissed.

SO ORDERED.

> Plaintiffs also cite Crane v. Texas, 759 F.2d 412 (5th

Cir. 1985) and Familias Unidas v. Briscoe, 619 F.2d 391 (Sth Cir.

1980) in support of their position. However, these judges were the

executive officers of the administrative council for the Texas

counties. Unlike a domestic relations Judge in Ohio, a county judge

in Texas presides over the County Commissions Court which is the

chief administrative body in the county. See, Crane, 759 F.2d at

420,429.

All

Association for Children, et al. v. Panioto, et al.

C-1-85-1219

/s/

S. Arthur Spiegel

United States District Judge

Al2

APPENDIX B

No. 90-3725

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

FILED

April 30, 1991

LEONARD GREEN, CLERK

VIRGINIA BACHELIER, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

V.

HAMILTON COUNTY, OHIO, et al.,

Defendants-Appellees.

| On Appeal from the United States District Court

| for the Southern District of Ohio,

Western Division

BEFORE: KENNEDY AND RYAN, Circuit Judges,

and FEIKENS, Senior District Judge.’

' The Honorable John Feikens, Senior United States

District Judge for the Eastern District of Michigan, sitting by

designation.

Al3

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

FEIKENS. Appellants brought suit in the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Ohio, alleging

claims under 42 U.S.C. §1983 against the City of Cincinnati,

Hamilton County, and certain County officers, in their official

capacities, for their role in enforcing an injunction issued by

Hamilton County Court of Common Pleas Judge Thomas

Crush. The district court dismissed appellants’ claims. For

the reasons set forth below, we AFFIRM the holding of the

district court.

I. Background

Appellants are twenty-eight, persons who attempted

to picket and protest at the Margaret Sanger Center ("Center")

located at 3332 Vine Street in Cincinnati, Ohio. The Center

is an abortion clinic operated by Planned Parenthood

Association of Cincinnati ("Planned Parenthood").

On March 26, 1986, as a result of picketing at the

Center, Planned Parenthood filed a lawsuit in the Hamilton

County Court of Common Pleas, seeking a temporary

restraining order, preliminary injunction and permanent

injunction against certain individuals and organizations. See

Planned Parenthood v. Project Jericho, etal., No. A&8602417

(1986). Planned Parenthood's complaint alleged that certain

persons and organizations disrupted the operation of the

Center, harassed and intimidated staff and patients, blocked

access to the building and created traffic problems.

The case was assigned to Hamilton County Common

Pleas Judge Thomas Crush ("Judge Crush"). On April 4,

1986, Judge Crush issued a preliminary injunction against

Al4

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

certain named defendants, prohibiting them from shouting or

chanting so loud as to be heard inside the Center, and from

blocking the sidewalk. On April 3, 1986 Planned Parenthood

filed an amended complaint seeking class certification and an

injunction against a defendant class of protestors. On June

20, 1986, Judge Crush entered an order ("Crush injunction")

which conditionally certified a defendant class comprised of:

Persons picketing between the south curb of Louis

Avenue and the north curb of Shields Avenue and on

both sides of Vine Street from Louis Avenue to

Shields Avenue who have been personally served

with this order as well as their officers, agents,

servants, employees, attorneys, and those persons in

active concert and participation with them who

received personal service of the order.

The order further defined "persons picketing" as:

Persons present in the area referred to in this order

who are carrying protest or informational signs,

passing out literature, speaking publicly, or otherwise

engaged in activity, intended to inform, influence,

and persuade the public about matters of public

interest, including abortion.

The Crush injunction prohibited screaming, chanting,

speaking or singing in a manner intended to reach, or which

had the effect of reaching patients inside the Center:

screaming at patients entering or leaving the Center; blocking

the driveway, entrances or exits from the Center or the public

walkway in front of it; and mass picketing. The injunction

Ai5

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

also limited the number of picketers on certain streets

bordering the Center.

After Judge Crush issued the injunction, various

defendants were charged with contempt and, after a hearing,

found guilty. Of those found guilty, eighteen appealed to the

Court of Appeals for Hamilton County.

The court of appeals affirmed the findings of

contempt, but reversed the certification of a defendant class.

Seventeen defendants appealed their contempt convictions to

the Ohio Supreme Court, and Planned Parenthood cross-

appealed on the reversal of class certification.

The Ohio Supreme Court upheld the contempt

citations, holding that the Crush injunction was a reasonable

time, place and manner restriction on appellants’ first

amendment rights. However, it reversed the court of appeals

on the class certification issue, finding that the defendant class

was properly certified by Judge Crush. See Planned

Parenthood Assn. of Cincinnati, Inc, v. Project Jericho, 52

Ohio St. 3d 56, 556 N.E.2d 157 (1990).

Thereafter, appellants* filed suit in United States

District Court against the City of Cincinnati, Hamilton

County, and various County officers,’ for their role in

2 Of the twenty eight appellants, six were parties to the

Planned Parenthood lawsuit.

> None of the appellees were parties to the Planned

Parenthood lawsuit.

Al6

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

enforcing the Crush injunction. Counts I through III of

appellants’ complaint alleged that their rights under the first,

fifth, and fourteenth amendments of the United States

Constitution were violated by defendants’ attempts to enforce

the Crush injunction. Count IV alleged that the defendants

conspired to enforce the Crush injunction in a discriminatory

manner in violation of plaintiffs' right to equal protection

under the fourteenth amendment. All of appellants' claims

were predicated on 42 U.S.C. S 1983.

The district court dismissed counts I through III of

appellants’ complaint, finding that the Ohio Supreme Court

decision in Planned Parenthood precludes appellants from

attacking the constitutionality of the Crush injunction.

Alternatively, the district court held that appellants could not

State a claim under § 1983 against appellees because the

alleged violation of appellants' constitutional rights was due

to the facially valid Crush injunction, not to any policy

adopted by the City and County. The court dismissed count

IV of the complaint because it found no factual basis for

appellants' claim of discriminatory enforcement.

Il. Analysis

The first question we must address is whether the

district court properly held that appellants are precluded from

challenging the validity of the Crush injunction because of the

Ohio Supreme Court's decision in Planned Parenthood.

Although only six of the appellants were parties to the

Planned Parenthood lawsuit, all of the appellants were

members of the defendant class to which the Crush injunction

Al7

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

applied. Therefore, appellants are bound by the Ohio Supreme

Court's decision upholding the validity of that injunction.‘

Judicial review of final determinations in state Judicial

proceedings can be obtained only in the United States

Supreme Court. See, ¢.g. In Re Sun valley Foods Co., 801

F.2d 186, 189 (6th Cir. 1986). A United States district court

“has no authority to review final Judgments of a state court in

Judicial proceedings” Ig. (quoting District of Columbia Court

of Appeals v. Feldman, 460 U.S. 462, 482 (1983)). This is

true even though the state court Judgment may have been

erroneous. [g. The district court, therefore, properly

refused to review the correctness of the Planned Parenthood

decision.

Additionally, appellants cannot prevail under 42

U.S.C. S 1983 because they cannot show that an official

policy of defendants was the moving force behind their alleged

constitutional violation. As the United States Supreme Court

held in Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 166, 105 S.Ct.

3099, 87 L.Ed.2d 114 (1985):

[T]o establish personal liability in a § 1983 action, it

is enough to show that the official, acting under color

of state law, caused the deprivation of a federal right

* The Ohio Supreme Court reviewed the breadth of the

injunction and found it to be binding upon parties and non-parties

acting in concert or participation with a party who had actual notice

of the injunction. Presumably these appellants had actual notice of

the injunction since they now claim that enforcement of the

injunction deprived them of their constitutional rights.

Al8

ea

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

.. More is required in an official-capacity action,

however, for a governmental entity itself is liable

under § 1983 only when the entity itself is a “moving

force’ behind the deprivation, Polk County v.

Dodson, 454 U.S. 312, 326, 102 S.Ct. 445, 454, 70

L.Ed.2d 509 (1981) (quoting Morell. supra, 436

U.S., at 694...); thus, in an official-capacity suit the

entity's "policy or custom" must have played a part in

the violation of federal law (citations omitted).

Here, it is clear that Judge Crush's injunction, not any

policy of appellees, was the moving force behind the alleged

violation of appellants’ constitutional rights. Appellees’

decision to enforce a facially valid injunction does not subject

them to Section 1983 liability. See Richardson v. City of

South Euclid, No. 89-3056 (6th Cir. June 11, 1990). Nor can

the order of Judge Crush be imputed to Hamilton County as

a policy since Judge Crush is a state, not county, official. See

Paniato, No. C-1-85-1219 (S.D. Ohio Dec. 18, 1986).

Appellants also appeal the dismissal of their

discriminatory enforcement claim. They argue that the Crush

injunction was discriminatorily enforced because Planned

Parenthood personnel were allowed to walk freely through

restricted picket zones wearing the designation ‘clinic escort'

while protestors were barred from those areas.

The district court properly rejected this argument.

Wearing a badge with the inscribed words “clinic escort” does

not constitute picketing within the meaning of the Crush

injunction. Accordingly, appellants cannot claim that the

Al9

Bachelier, et al. v. Hamilton County, et al.

90-3725

Crush injunction was discriminatorily enforced.

The holding of the district court therefore is

AFFIRMED.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

A20

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.