Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Guetersloh v. Texas

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

t

97 93 2 DEC - 3 1997

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

NO. 97-

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

October Term, 1997

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.,

Petitioner,

VS.

THE STATE OF TEXAS; THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION;

THE CITY OF LUBBOCK; and JAME. AILLER,

RECEIVER OF THE CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY

COMPANY,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The Texas Court of Appeals, Third District, at Austin

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES DOUGLAS RAY

406 W. 13th Street, Suite 200

Austin, Texas 78701

Tel: (512) 478-8698

Fax: (512) 478-2778

ATTORNEY FOR THE PETITIONER

December 3, 1997

———

NO. 97-

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

October Term, 1997

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.,

Petitioner,

VS.

THE STATE OF TEXAS; THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION;

THE CITY OF LUBBOCK; and JAMES MILLER,

RECEIVER OF THE CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ of Certiorari

To The Texas Court of Appeals, Third District, at Austin

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JAMES DOUGLAS RAY

406 W. 13th Street, Suite 200

Austin, Texas 78701

Tel: (512) 478-8698

Fax: (512) 478-2778

ATTORNEY FOR THE PETITIONER

December 3, 1997

=—

i prea

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In the event of a taking, does res judicata bar property

owners from litigating their Fifth Amendment right to just

compensation once they have been unsuccessful in their attempt

to obtain compensation through procedures provided by the state?

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceeding below were the Petitioner,

M. F. Guetersloh, Jr., and the Respondents, the State of Texas, the

Public Utility Commission, the Texas Water Commission, the

City of Lubbock, and James Miller as Receiver of the Carlisle

Water Supply Company.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Question Presented for Review ..........++eeee reece: i

ee rrr rrr rn Te rer il

is EC, C8. oo kia'n cc cd endw ern we chen te Oeka ili

Tihs ot RIES 6 oo inc ns ck aedee deni neeeerenes iv

Opinions Below ......... 2. ee eee eee cece eee eeeeees 2

re rr 4

Constitutional Provisions and

a sino k-4n 46 eee ee es a ed eee ed 5

I gi. ks hn oe tN OS ee 7

Reasons for Granting the Writ ..........cccsceccseess 10

The Texas Courts Failed To Properly Analyze The

Federal Constitutional Principles Involved When They

Barred This Property Owner From Asserting His Fifth

Amendment RightTo Just Compensation ........... 10

Even If Compelled By State Procedural Law, The

Judgment Rendered In Guetersloh I Results In A Denial

Of Due Process, And Is Not Entitled To Preclusive

RE =. od in sists ramadan ere COU a eS ewes 23

i eR Ewart eee es Cre Ne ea pare 30

PEE 6. Gucci ceaeeowene conan seseseres Al-N1

iil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Allen v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980) ...........000.. 22

Armstrong v. United States,

pe Nf Pee eT eT CTT re er er Torre 29

Armstrong World Indus., Inc. v. Adams,

OGL Fe Ge Cre Ge CO ao acc c an cccans dawineenews 15

Barr v. Resolution Trust Corp.,

O37 S.W. JO GET CHM. IGGE) oc ccccscccesesesseusees 18

Bivens v. Six Unknown Agents, 403 U.S.

bod ig) ee eee ee eee Pe ee ey eee er ye Perr 28

Boilermakers v. Hardeman, 401 U.S. 233

CTFTED neve cctcdceceetbendewhewankneséteeino 28

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy R.R. v.

City of Chicago, 166 U.S. 226 (1897) .............. 25-27

City of El Paso v. Madero, 803 S.W.2d

396 (Tex. App.--El Paso 1991, writ denied),

cert. damlad, SG3 UB. 1GTSCAGIED oc occ ccckccvccceces 15

City of Grand Prairie v. Sisters of Holy

Family of Nazareth, 868 S.W.2d 835 (Tex.App.—

Dallas 1993, writ denied), cert. denied,

FES Us TEP Ceo xh ks rd ee eae ee kee ee 10, 18

Cope v. Anderson, 331 U.S. 461 (1947) ...........005. 18

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Cases: Page

Davenport v. Garcia, 834 S.W.2d 4 (Tex. 1992) ........ 24

Empire Trust Co., v. United States, 324 F.2d

507 (Sth Cir. 1963) ..... cece cece nee eeeeeeeees 19-20

England v. Louisiana State Bd. of Med. Examiners,

375 U.S. 411 (1964)... cece reece eee rer evevceeee 22-23

First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County

of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987) ......-+s05055: 16, 25

Fields v. Sarasota Manatee Airport Auth.,

953 F.2d 1299 (11th Cir. 1992 ........-0 ee eee 9, 11, 21-23

Foster v. City of Detroit, 254 F. Supp. 655

(E.D. Mich. 1966) aff'd, 405 F.2d 138

(6th Cir. 1968) ...... cece cece cece cece eeeeeeees 25-26

Getty Oil Co. v. Insurance Co. of North America,

845 S.W.2d 794 (Tex. 1992) .......cceccccceevcveees 19

Guetersloh v. Public Utility Comm'n,

No. 3-90-161-CV (Tex. App.—Austin August 14,

1991, writ denied) .... 3,8, 12-14, 17, 18, 21, 23, 25, 27-28

Guetersloh v. State of Texas, No. 93-8729 (5" Cir.

June 3, 1994) cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1076 (1995) ...... 2,8

Guetersloh v. State of Texas, 930 S.W.2d 284

(Tex. App.—Austin 1996, writ denied) ...... 2, 4, 19, 21, 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Cases: Page

Hodel v. Virginia Surface Mining &

Reclamation Ass'n, 452 U.S. 264 (1981). 20.0... .00005. 10

Holmes v. Jones, 738 F.2d 711

a EN, oa ail cae s6 sc Gdewen iene ad desk tase ene 21

Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S. 517 (1984) ............ 24-25

Jennings v. Caddo Parish School Bd.,

$31 F.2d 1331 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,

er ee UE 6 sih'e Oe aha es 00 bees ee 9, 21-23

Kremer v. Chemical Constr. Corp.,

STD ENS 25 oo echoed bec see 6 h4 00% oa 24, 25

Lake Lucerne Civic Ass'n v. Dolphin Stadium

Corp., 878 F.2d 1360 (11th Cir. 1989),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1079 (1990) ....... 11, 12, 15-16, 20

Lewis v. East Feliciana Parish School Bd.,

Se Wade UO CG EOD ee kb 0 0 cab eecdecceccen 23

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council,

ee er re 16-17, 27-28

MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County,

STE Sele cnc eeca.beud xs cheba weauceas 20

Martin v. Brodrick, 177 F.2d 886, 888

ere rae ne ee naene 20

vi

NS cen ees staan des

= ee PS ee ee eS eee eee

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Cases: Page

McCoy v. Union Elevated Ry., 247 US.

BEA CIGID) occ ccc cccscvescesseccsccsseseccceccees 26

Migra v. Warren City School Dist. Bad. of Educ.,

465 U.S. 75 (1984) .. 2c ceeec ccc ceseneeeerenes 17,22

Monongahela Navigation Co. v. United States,

148 U.S. 312 (1893)... . cee ee cece reece ceeereeeees 26

Nixon v. Mr. Property Management Co.,

675 S.W.2d 585 (Tex. 1984) «0... . cee reece erent 24

Nollan v. California Coastal Comm'n,

483 U.S. 825 (1987)... . cece ee eee cree cence 17, 27-28

Norco Constr. Co., Inc. v. King County,

801 F.2d 1143 (9th Cir. 1986) 2... cee eee renee rere 20

Oregon v. Kennedy,

456 U.S. 667 (1982)... ccc eee e eer e eer eeeeereeees 24

Peduto v. City of North Wildwood,

878 F.2d 725 (3d Cir. 1989) ...... ee eee eee renee 12, 25

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon,

260 U.S. 393 (1922)... cece cccecerecesecrerceees 16

Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins,

447 U.S. 74 (1980) 24

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Cases: Page

Rawlings v. Ray, 312 U.S. 96 (1941) .............00. 18

Richmond Elks Hall Ass'n v. Richmond Dev.,

Re Em te Ry, ee 26

Samaad v. City of Dallas,

& & «- &. | Beare ne 11, 23

Sax v. Votteler, 648 S.W.2d 661 (Tex. 1983) ........... 24

Southern Jam, Inc. v Robinson, 675 F.2d 94

Caer GEE, SE ns dec ee neweebeiuan te ee es 18

Taub v. City of Deer Park, 882 S.W.2d 824

en mmo De ee ere ar 29

Town of Sunnyville v. Mayhew, 905 S.W.2d 234

(Tex. App.--Dallas 1994, writ granted) ............. 15, 16

Williamson County Regional Planning

Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985) .... passim

Constitutional Provisions

SN II in 4 bin nan wk Sans wha auaws Passim

CR en NEE bs pi Cen Weceanbeecedehiaees 21

WUD. GAOT, GOIN, FEE noses ccnssvcccecscees passim

Se RL BRET ¢.n.n0's sccineckeaessaen 8, 13-14, 24

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Statutes and Regulations

28 U.S.C. § 1257(a)

28 U.S.C. § 1738

tok | rere rrrerrr rr rer errr. 4, 6, 20

, Sh. Ok & BPP eTrrerrrirre eee. 6, 18, 20

; RR SF & Peererrrrrrre rere ee 6, 18-19, 20

Other Authorities

18 AM. JUR., Eminent Domain §§ 144, 145 pp.

FRE Gh cee Sethe desarevedednwecsaesceevess 26

Thomas E. Roberts, Fifth Amendment Taking Claims In

Federal Court: The State Compensation Requirement and

Principles of Res Judicata, 24 URB. 479 (1992) ......... 1]

ix

NO. 97-

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

October Term, 1997

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR..,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE STATE OF TEXAS; THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION;

THE CITY OF LUBBOCK; and JAMES MILLER,

RECEIVER OF THE CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY

COMPANY,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE TEXAS COURT OF APPEALS,

THIRD DISTRICT, AT AUSTIN

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

PETITIONER, M.F. GUETERSLOH, Jr., respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion

of the Texas Court of Appeals, Third District, at Austin, entered

in the above-referenced cause on September 18, 1996. The

Supreme Court of Texas denied discretionary review of that

published decision on July 31, 1997, and overruled Petitioner’s

timely-filed Motion for Rehearing on September 4, 1997.

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The September 18, 1996 opinion and judgment of the

Texas Court of Appeals, Third District, at Austin in Case No. 03-

95-00626-CV, is reported at 930 S.W.2d 284 and is reprinted and

attached hereto, as Appendix “A,” infra, at page App. A-1.

On September 6, 1995, the 261% Judicial District Court of

Texas, granted summary judgment in favor of the State of Texas,

the Public Utilities Commission, the Texas Water Commission,

the City of Lubbock, and James Miller in Cause No. 95-07117.

That decision is not reported. The Order Granting Summary

Judgment is reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix “B,” infra,

at page App. B-1.

On July 31, 1997, the Texas Supreme Court denied

discretionary review of Petitioner’s timely filed Application for

Writ of Error, in Case No. 96-1257 with the notation of “Writ

Denied.” A memorandum of that decision is reprinted and

attached hereto as Appendix “C,” infra, at page App. C-1.

On September 4, 1997, the Texas Supreme Court

overruled Petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing of the Application for

Writ of Error filed in Cause No. 96-1257, without opinion. A

memorandum of that decision is reprinted and attached hereto as

Appendix “D,” infra, at page App. D-1.

**

On June 3, 1994, the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit, issued an unpublished opinion in Case No. 93-

8729. A copy of that opinion is reprinted and attached hereto as

Appendix “E,” infra, at page App. E-1.

On September 17, 1993, the United States District Court

for the Western District of Texas Austin Division, issued a written

Order in Case No. A-92-CA-359. A copy of that unpublished

order is reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix “F,” infra, at

page App. F-1.

On January 9, 1995, the United States Supreme Court

denied the petition for writ of certiorari in Cause No. 94-393. A

copy of that denial is reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix

“G,” infra, at page App. G-1.

*** *

On August 14, 1991, the Texas Court of Appeals, Third

District at Austin, issued an unpublished opinion in Cause No. 3-

90-161-CV. A copy of that opinion is reprinted and attached

hereto as Appendix “H,” infra, at page App. H-1.

On February 23, 1990, the 353 Judicial District Court of

Travis County, Texas, issued a Final Judgment Order in Case No.

461-447. A copy of that order is reprinted and attached hereto as

Appendix “I,” infra, at page App. I-1.

On February 13, 1989, the 137" Judicial District Court of

Lubbock County, Texas, granted Defendant’s Summary Judgment

in Case No. 85-512,245. A copy of that order is reprinted and

attached hereto as Appendix “J,” infra, at page App. J-1.

On February 13, 1989, the 137" Judicial District Court of

Lubbock County, Texas, Denied Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

Judgment and Granted Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment in Cause No. 85-512,245. A copy of that order is

reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix “K,” infra, at page K-1.

On February 13, 1989, the 137" Judicial District Court of

Lubbock County, Texas, issued a Final Summary Judgment Order

in Cause No. 85-512,245. A copy of that order is reprinted and

attached hereto as Appendix “L,” infra, at page App. L-1.

On February 5, 1992 the Supreme Court of Texas denied

Petitioner’s Application for Writ of Error in Case No. D-1725. A

copy of that order is reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix

“M,” infra, at page App. M-1.

On March 4, 1992, the Supreme Court of Texas denied the

of Motion for Rehearing in Case No. D-1725. A copy of that

order is reprinted and attached hereto as Appendix “N,” infra, at

page App. “N-1".

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

Asserting an entitlement to just compensation under the

Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments, as well as under 42 U.S.C.

§1983, the petitioner brought suit in the 261" Judicial District

Court of Texas. Summary judgment was granted in favor of all

defendants on the sole basis of res judicata. Petitioner seeks

review of the September 18, 1996 opinion and judgment of the

Texas Court of Appeals, Third District, at Austin, upholding that

summary judgment. Petitioner’s timely-filed application for

discretionary review was denied by the Texas Supreme Court on

July 31, 1997, and Petitioner’s subsequent Motion for Rehearing

was overruled on September 4, 1997. The Supreme Court has

jurisdiction to review such cases from state courts by virtue of 28

U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment of the Constitution of the United

States provides, in pertinent part, that “private property [shall not]

be taken for public use without just compensation.”

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution provides, in pertinent part, that “No State shall ...

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.”

28 U.S.C. § 1738 states that:

“The Acts of legislature of any State, Territory, or

Possession of the United States, or copies thereof, shall be

authenticated by affixing the seal of such State, Territory or

Possession thereto.

The records and judicial proceedings of any court of any

such State, Territory or Possession, or copies thereof, shall be

proved or admitted in other courts within the United States and its

Territories and Possessions by the attestation of the clerk and seal

of the court annexed, if a seal exists, together with a certificate of

a judge of the court that the said attestation is in proper form.

Such Acts, records and judicial proceedings or copies

thereof, so authenticated, shall have the same full faith and credit

in every court within the United States and its Territories and

Possessions as they have by law or usage in the courts of such

State, Territory or Possession from which they are taken.”

42 U.S.C. § 1983 provides, in relevant part:

“Every person who, under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, of any State ... subjects, or causes to

be subjected, any citizen of the United States ... to the deprivation

of any rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party injured in an

action at law, suit in equity, or other proper proceeding for

redress.”

Rule 48 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure provides

that “a party may set forth two or more statements of a claim or

defense alternatively or hypothetically, either in one count or

defense or in separate counts or defenses....”

Rule 51 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure provides,

in pertinent part, that:

(a) Joinder of Claims. “The plaintiff in his petition ... may

join either as independent or as alternate claims as many claims

either legal or equitable or both as he may have against an

opposing party....”

(b) Joinder of Remedies. “Whenever a claim is one

heretofore cognizable only after another claim has been

prosecuted to a conclusion, the two claims may be joined in a

single action; but the court shall grant relief in that action only in

accordance with the relative substantive right of the parties...”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This is an inverse condemnation action in which

Petitioner’s suit for just compensation under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments was procedurally barred, in state court,

under the sole theory of res judicata. In 1978, M.F. Guetersloh,

Jr., “Petitioner,” sold a private water supply company, retaining

a vendor's lien and deed of trust to secure payment for his facility.

Several years after that sale, the State placed the utility in

receivership. During the pendency of that receivership, Mr.

Guetersloh was paid nothing on his underlying lien, and he

foreclosed on his security. Following that foreclosure, the State

of Texas judicially enjoined Petitioner from entering onto, or

otherwise interfering with the State's use of his property.

For nearly five years, the receivership continued, and

residents of the community of Carlisle, Texas, were charged a fee

for water service provided by Mr. Guetersloh’s facility. However,

despite the availability of alternative water providers in the area,

Petitioner was paid nothing, during the period of that receivership,

for the protracted use and destruction of his facility.

Ultimately, the City of Lubbock annexed the Carlisle

service area and built a new water system, but Petitioner’s water

supply was kept in receivership until the new water system was

completed and began providing water servic* # Mr. Guetersloh’s

former customers. Once the City’s nev ‘ater system was

completed, the receivership was concluded,. 1 Mr. Guetersioh

was granted permission to reclaim possession of his utility. By

that time, all of Petitioner’s customers were gone, the facility was

worn out and badly in need of repair, and his water system was

completely worthless, as a utility.

In 1985, while the receivership was still pending, Mr.

Guetersloh unsuccessfully sued the State of Texas and various of

its agencies and representatives for an uncompensated "taking."

7

Although initially asserting an entitlement to just or adequate

compensation according to the dictates of the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments, as well as Article 1, Section 17 of the Texas

Constitution, Petitioner subsequently deleted his federal

constitutional claims, and pursued only his state compensation

remedies once he became aware of this Court's holding in

Williamson County v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985). In

Williamson County, this Court held that due to their "special

nature," claims for just compensation premised on the Fifth

Amendment are premature or unripe until a property owner "has

unsuccessfully attempted to obtain just compensation through the

procedures provided by the State for obtaining such

compensation." Jd., at 195.

In Guetersloh I, the Texas Court of Appeals upheld

summary judgment in favor of the State and the City of Lubbock

because the court determined that the alleged taking constituted

a valid exercise of the state’s police power, for which no

compensation is required. Guetersloh v. Public Utility Comm..,

etal., No. 3-90-161-CV(Tex. App.-- Austin Aug. 14, 1991, writ

denied)(not designated for publication). Without even so much as

commenting upon the economic consequences of the regulation,

as applied, the Court of Appeals found that such a valid exercise

of police power does not constitute a compensable“taking”

where:“(1) the regulation is adopted to accomplish a legitimate

goal, ...; and (2) the regulation is reasonable, not arbitrary.” (Slip

Op. at 6-7). The Texas Supreme Court denied discretionary

review, and Petitioner brought suit in federal court, asserting an

entitlement to just compensation for his now “ripened” Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendment claims.

The federal courts, however, held that the Eleventh

Amendment precluded that suit in federal court. Guetersloh v.

State of Texas, No. 93-8729 (Sth Cir. June 3, 1994)(not designated

for publication), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1076 (1995). Petitioner

then asserted the present Fifth Amendment takings claim in state

:

i rcienieeieninnianeaienmmemiaaiiil

:

2

court. The State, along with the City of Lubbock, again filed

motions for summary judgment which the trial court granted on

the sole basis of res judicata. The Austin Court of Appeals

affirmed.

Perhaps in some concession to the obvious inconsistency

of having a question of federal constitutional law that is

simultaneously “ripe” for adjudication in state court, and “unripe”

or “premature” in a federal court, the Austin Court of Appeals

offered an alternative holding. In reaching its result, the Court

stated that it had applied the holding of Fields v. Sarasota

Manatee Airport Auth. 953 F.2d 1299 (11" Cir. 1992), to

conclude that Mr. Guetersloh had somehow waived his federal

constitutional claims by failing to make a “Jennings” reservation

of his federal claims for subsequent litigation in federal court. See

Jennings v. Caddo Parish School Bd., 531 F.2d 1331 (5" Cir.

1976), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 897 (1976).

The Texas Supreme Court again denied Petitioner’s

timely-filed request for discretionary review, and on September 4,

1997, Petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing was rejected.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE TEXAS COURTS FAILED TO PROPERLY ANALYZE THE

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL PRINCIPLES INVOLVED WHEN

THEY BARRED THIS PROPERTY OWNER FROM ASSERTING HIS

FIFTH AMENDMENT RIGHT TO JUST COMPENSATION .

This Petition invites the Court to clarify and put to rest an

important conflict that persists in the always troublesome field of

regulatory takings law. Since this Court decided Williamson

County Regional Planning Comm'n v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S.

172 (1985), property owners have struggled in their attempt to

balance the jurisdictional dilemma created by that holding, with

the necessary interplay of 28 U.S.C.A. §1738 and traditional

notions of res judicata.' The question that remains to be answered

is whether property owners who suffer takings under the guise of

state regulation are entitled to litigate their Fifth Amendment right

to just compensation once they have satisfied the “ripeness”

requirements announced in that decision.

Today, virtually every court that has dealt with the matter

recognizes that the Fifth Amendment does not proscribe the

taking of property; it proscribes takings without just

compensation. See, e.g., City of Grand Prairie v. Sisters of Holy

Family of Nazareth, 868 S.W.2d 835, 844 (Tex. App. -- Dallas,

writ denied), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 929 (1994); citing Hodel v.

Virginia Surface Mining & Reclamation Ass'n, 452 U.S. 264, 297

n.40 (1981). For that reason, litigants who wish to assert a

"takings" claim under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments must

' 28 U.S.C. Section 1738 provides that:

“(The Acts of the legislature of any State, Territory, or Possession of

the United States or] ... records and judicial proceedings or copies thereof, so

authenticated, shall have the same full faith and credit in every court with in the

United States and its Territories and Possessions as they have by law or usage

in the courts of such State, Territory or Possession from which they are taken.”

10

establish two elements or "ripeness" requirements; (1) that a

"taking" occurred, and (2) that the owner has unsuccessfully

sought compensation from the state. Williamson County 473 U.S.

at 194; see also, Samaad v. City of Dallas, 940 F.2d 925, 933 (Sth

Cir. 1991).

As will be apparent upon review of the published decision

in this case, property owners now find it increasingly difficult, if

not impossible, to litigate their entitlement to just compensation

under the Fifth Amendment once those ripeness requirements

have actually been satisfied. The reason for this difficulty is that

when litigants attempt to assert their takings claims under relevant

state procedures, most state courts recognize res judicata doctrines

that require state court litigants to assert their federal takings

claims, under penalty of bar, concurrently with their state

compensation claims. See, e.g., Fields v. Sarasota Manatee

Airport Auth. , 953 F.2d 1299, 1303 (11" Cir. 1992). This is so

despite the clearly acknowledged holding of this Court that the

federal constitution is not violated until just compensation has

been denied by the state. Williamson County, 473 U.S. at 194,

n.13; see also, Lake Lucerne Civic Assn., Inc. v. Dolphin

Stadium Corp, 878 F.2d 1360, 1372 (11" Cir. 1989), cert. denied,

493 U.S. 1079 (1990).

The present case illustrates the dilemma faced by property

owners in this context, and affords this Court a unique opportunity

to narrowly and directly address the recurring question of when,

and under what circumstances, litigants should properly assert

their entitlement to just compensation under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments. That issue has generated considerable

confusion among state and federal courts, alike. See, e.g., Thomas

E. Roberts, Fifth Amendment Taking Claims In Federal Court:

The State Compensation Requirement and Principles of Res

Judicata, 24 URB. 479 (1992). Applying traditional notions of res

judicata to federal “takings” challenges, the Eleventh Circuit has

allowed property owners to advance their takings claims in federal

1]

court despite prior unsuccessful state court litigation. Lake

Lucerne Civic Ass'n v. Dolphin Stadium Corp., 878 F.2d at 1372-

73. In Peduto v.City of North Wildwood, 878 F.2d 725 (3rd Cir.

1989), the Third Circuit has reached the opposite result.

Until this important question is addressed and resolved by

this Honorable Court, property owners who are unfortunate

enough to be required to litigate such "takings" claims against a

state or its agencies will continue to find themselves on the horns

of this dilemma. If they attempt to assert their Fifth Amendment

rights along with available state remedies, their federal takings

claims are routinely dismissed as "unripe." On the other hand,

litigants such as this Petitioner, who adhere to the commands of

this Court and wait to assert their federal constitutional rights until

they have actually accrued, find that they are procedurally barred

from litigating those claims by principles of res judicata. As is

illustrated by Petitioner’s plight, this "heads I win, tails you lose"

approach to such an important constitutional entitlement

effectively converts the Fifth Amendment promise of just

compensation into a constitutional right without a remedy.

In Guetersloh I, it was determined that a receivership

imposed on the Carlisle Water Supply constituted a legitimate

exercise of the State's police power. As authorized by the State,

that receivership purported to allow government agents to come

onto Mr. Guetersloh’s land, seize his assets, run his utility as if it

were their own, charge for its benefits, and pay nothing for the

privilege. That those actions were taken for a beneficial purpose -

from the public’s point of view, adds nothing to the debate.

There is no contest that the order of the Commission

qualifies under the “public purpose” requirement of the Fifth

Amendment- it does. Rather, what is significant here is that under

these facts, it is the established policy of the state to do what it

did, without consideration of the rights of the true owner.

12

The present case assumes the legitimacy of that

undertaking, but focuses on the way and manner in which the

State applied its receivership powers to Mr. Guetersloh.

Regardless of when or how these claims arise, the State contends

that a prior summary judgment which completely ignored the

economic impact of this regulation is dispositive of Mr.

Guetersloh’s complaint. Petitioner respectfully asserts that that

argument is premised upon a faulty application of res judicata, and

misperceives the underlying Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment

rights at issue.

Background of the Litigation

In 1985, Mr. Guetersloh foreclosed on a deed of trust and

became the owner of the Carlisle Water Supply. Subsequent to

his foreclosure, the State obtained a temporary restraining order

prohibiting him from interfering with a state-appointed receiver's

right to possession of the property. Petitioner filed his initial

lawsuit three days later, asserting a taking under the Texas

Constitution. That lawsuit was filed on December 9, 1985, and

forms the basis for what has been referred to in these proceedings

as Guetersloh I. All issues addressed in that lawsuit were

disposed of by summary judgment, and those summary judgments

were upheld on appeal.

It is undisputed that during the pendency of this five year

receivership, the State used Mr. Guetersloh's utility to provide

retail water service to the residents of Carlisle. Despite the

availability of not less than four other available utilities, Mr.

Guetersloh's property was required to provide this public service

because it was the "best" of the available alternatives. Petitioner’s

customers were charged for this service, but Mr. Guetersloh was

paid nothing in return. Once there was no further need for his

property, the State returned a worthless and worn out set of

pumps, pipes, and a depleted water well that had absolutely no

further value as a utility.

13

Guetersloh | was filed approximately twenty-seven (27)

months into a receivership that lasted nearly five years. In his

initial cause of action, Petitioner first attacked the legitimacy of

the State's action, and asserted that imposition of the receivership,

together with the intended use of the facility by the State,

constituted a compensable taking event. In his initial prayer for

relief, Mr. Guetersloh requested an injunction against the State

defendants from taking his property without first paying just

compensation. On April 15, 1987, approximately sixteen months

after Mr. Guetersloh filed his initial lawsuit, the Carlisle service

area was annexed by the City of Lubbock. Once the City of

Lubbock began providing water services to the residents of

Carlisle, the receivership was dissolved. Guetersloh I was then

amended to include a complaint about the effect of extending the

City of Lubbock's water service into the Carlisle service area.

Those amended complaints were reviewed pursuant only to

Article 1, Section 17 of the Texas Constitution.

In affirming summary judgment for the State, the Austin

Court of Appeals held that "the Commission's authority to seek a

receivership against this utility was a valid exercise of the state's

police power rather than a "taking." Slip Op. at p.7 (Guetersioh

I)(emphasis added). The State argued below that under the

“transactional” approach to res judicata adopted by this state,

Petitioner should have brought his Fifth Amendment claim in that

prior proceeding. That assertion, however, ignores the fact that at

the time of Guetersloh I, such a claim did not exist.

As this Court has previously held, if the state has provided

an adequate process for obtaining compensation, and if resort to

that process "yield[s] just compensation,” then the property owner

“has no claim against the Government" for a taking. Williamson

County, 473 U.S. at 194, n.13. As a result, property owners, such

as Mr.Guetersloh,“cannot claim a violation of the Just

Compensation Clause until it has used the procedure and been

denied compensation." Jd., at 195. According to the Eleventh

14

a

Circuit, "absent the state's denial to a property owner of just

compensation, there can be no cognizable harm to any federal

constitutional right.". Lake Lucerne Civic Ass'n v. Dolphin

Stadium Corp., 878 F.2d at 1368.

Nonetheless, the State argued in the courts below that

‘once the State's inverse condemnation proceedings were

unsuccessfully concluded, Mr. Guetersloh's present claim for just

compensation under the Fifth Amendment was barred by ordinary

rules of res judicata. Under the approach suggested by the State,

once a property owner's Fifth Amendment claim is perfected, it

would also be precluded.

Properly understood, the present claim for an

uncompensated Fifth Amendment taking constitutes a separate

and distinct cause of action from that litigated previously. Lake

Lucerne, 878 F.2d at 1370. To hold that Mr. Guetersloh forfeited

his right to just compensation because he did not assert that claim

before it existed, would subordinate this basic constitutional right

to a wholly unwarranted concept of res judicata.

As construed by state and federal appellate courts, the

primary issue addressed by this ripeness doctrine is when a party

may properly assert a cause of action. See, e.g, Town of

Sunnyvale v. Mayhew, 905 S.W.2d 234, 244 (Tex. App.--Dallas

1994, writ granted); see also, Armstrong World Indus., Inc. v.

Adams, 961 F.2d 405, 411 (3d Cir.1992). Its purpose is to avoid

premature adjudication and to prevent courts from becoming

entangled in abstract disagreements over administrative policies,

and protects administrative agencies from judicial interference

until they have formalized their administrative decision and the

challenging parties are able to feel the effects of that decision in

a concrete way. See, City of El Paso v. Madero, 803 S.W.2d 396,

398-99 (Tex. App.--El Paso 1991, writ denied), cert. denied, 502

U.S. 1073 (1992). More importantly, however, ripeness involves

the issue of subject matter jurisdiction, and the power of a court

to render particular relief. Jd., at 399. As the Texas courts have

15

made clear, the same standards addressed by this Court in

Williamson County apply in the state courts as well. Town of

Sunnyvale, 905 S.W.2d at 245-48.

No one contends that the receivership made the subject of

this proceeding was initially unnecessary or improper. What is

complained of is that Mr. Guetersloh was singled out to bear a

public burden that rightfully should have not been borne by him,

alone. Petitioner concedes that as a fundamental attribute of

sovereignty, states may exercise their police power to "take"

private property where it is deemed beneficial to the public

interest. However, the obligation of government to pay just

compensation for what it takes is a "condition placed on the

otherwise rightful exercise of that power." First English

Evangelical Lutheran Church v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S.

304, 314 (1987).

As a result, federal takings law recognizes that under

certain circumstances, a statute or regulation may meet the

standards necessary for a valid exercise of the police powers, and

nonetheless constitute a taking. Lake Lucerne, at 1371; see also,

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922); First

English v. County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. at 316-20. Even

regulations that are rationally related to a legitimate state interest

may nonetheless violate the "takings" provision of the Fifth

Amendment. Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Comm'n, 505 U.S.

1003, 1013-15 (1992). Where, as here, a taking is alleged from

regulations which deprive property of all value, the test is whether

the deprivation is contrary to reasonable, investment-backed

expectations. Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1034 (Kennedy, J., concurring).

Under this Fifth Amendment standard, otherwise valid

laws may constitutionally obligate state or local governments to

compensate property owners. Stated another way, the standards

necessary for the proper exercise of the police power may be met,

but nevertheless result in a compensable taking under the Fifth

Amendment.

16

In Guetersloh | it was determined that under Texas law,

regulatory takings focus solely on the reasonableness of the

regulation at issue. See, Slip Op. at p. 7. Under the relevant Fifth

Amendment standard, once it is determined that the offending

regulation substantially advances a legitimate state interest, the

inquiry then focuses on whether that regulation denies an owner

of economically viable use of that property. Nollan v. California

Coastal Comm'n., 483 U.S. 825 (1987); Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1030-

31. Unlike Texas law, the Fifth Amendment requires that:

[A] regulation that declares "off limits" all

economically productive or beneficial uses of land

goes beyond what the relevant background

principles would dictate, [and] compensation

must be paid to sustain it.

Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1030. Thus, the applicable standards for

compensating property owners under the Fifth Amendment and

under the Texas Constitution are quite different.

At oral argument before the court of appeals, the City of

Lubbock candidly admitted that the present claim would not be

barred by res judicata if asserted against them in federal court.

Yet traditional rules of preclusion are generally applicable in the

cross-forum context. State judicial proceedings are due the same

credit in a federal court that they are entitled to by law or usage in

the courts of the rendering state. 28 U.S.C. §1738; see also,

Migra v. Warren City School Dist. Bd. Of Educ., 465 U.S. 75, 80-

81 (1984). Accordingly, a federal court must give a state-court

judgment the same preclusive effect that it would have under the

law of the state in which the judgment was rendered, even when,

as here, the basis of the federal claim is the Civil Rights Act.

Migra, 465 U.S. at 81, 83-84. If res judicata does not bar this

claim in federal court, the claim should be available in state court,

as well.

17

Could Have Been Brought?

The question of when a federal cause of action is complete

so that it may be enforced by a lawsuit, and thus has accrued, is a

federal question. Cope v. Anderson, 331 U.S. 461, 464 (1947);

Rawlings v. Ray, 312 U.S. 96, 98 (1941). Under Williamson

County, Fifth Amendment takings claims are supplemental to a

state takings claim, and may not be brought until the property

owner has unsuccessfully sought compensation under state

remedies. Williamson County, 473 U.S. at 194-95. Consequently,

the original state suit cannot be the same transaction for res

judicata purposes because the exhaustion of the state court appeal

in Guetersloh I is the second element of the federal cause of

action. That element only arises at the conclusion of the state

court proceeding. City of Grand Prairie v. Sisters of Holy Family

of Nazareth, 868 S.W.2d 835, 844 (Tex. App., - Dallas 1993, writ

denied), cert. denied, 513 U.S. 909 (1994); see also Southern Jam,

Inc. v. Robinson, 675 F.2d 94 (Sth Cir. 1982).

Nonetheless, the Texas courts have concluded that Fifth

Amendment taking claims are the type of “alternative” or

"contingent" claims that must be brought under TEXAS RULES OF

CIVIL PROCEDURE 48 and 51(b) before the second required

element has occurred, in order to avoid the preclusive effect of res

judicata. Tex. R. Civ. P. 48 and 51(b). Under the "transactional"

approach to res judicata adopted in Texas, a claim is precluded "if

it arises out of the same subject matter of a previous suit and

which through the exercise of diligence, could have been litigated

in a prior suit." Barr v. Resolution Trust Corp., 837 S.W.2d 627,

631 (Tex.,1992). For purposes of this standard, the dispositive

question becomes whether, given the “special nature” of the Fifth

Amendment’s Takings Clause, Petitioner’s federal-law and

state-law claims are truly separate and distinct, or are merely two

alternative theories by which recovery is sought for the same

alleged taking.

18

Although conceding that at least facially, Petitioner’s

argument sounds appealing, the Austin Court found that the Texas

Rules of Civil Procedure expressly provide for the simultaneous

presentation of multiple claims, alternative theories, and

contingent causes of action. According to these rules of procedure,

the mere fact that a cause of action is contingent on the outcome

of another suit does not prevent the two claims from being raised

and litigated simultaneously in the same suit.

Relying on Getty Oil Co. v. Insurance Co. of North

America, 845 S.W.2d 794 (Tex.,1992), which concerned a

contract action for indemnity, the court found that under Rule

51(b) of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, claims for just

compensation asserted under the Fifth Amendment represent the

kind of contingent claims that must be asserted under Texas

procedural law in order to escape the bar of res judicata.

Guetersloh v. State, 930 S.W.2d 284, 287-88 (Tex. App.-- Austin

1996, writ denied).

However, claims for just compensation under the Fifth

Amendment are not at all “like” contract actions for indemnity

brought against an insurance company. At the time of suit, facts

which give rise to such contract actions have already occurred. In

the context of these Fifth Amendment claims, however, an

unsuccessful conclusion of state compensation remedies is a

necessary element of the claim, itself. Carried to its logical

conclusion, property owners who seek to avoid the bar of res

judicata would be required, under this rule, to actually sue the

State for money damages on the mere presumption that the state

will somehow act unconstitutionally toward them at some future,

but unknown date. Setting aside the fact that states are not only

presumed, but are actually compelled to act in a constitutional

manner, it would be difficult to envision a scenario in which a

property owner could ever actually prevail in such a proceeding.

It has long been the rule that "a claim is not barred until it

comes into being and can be appropriately asserted." Empire Trust

19

Co. v. United States, 324 F.2d 507, 508 (Sth Cir. 1963), quoting

Martin v. Brodrick, 177 F.2d 886, 888 (10th Cir. 1949).

Furthermore, a judgment in one cause of action does not bar a

second cause of action which is based upon new facts created by

the first judgment. The fact that both actions arise out of the same

subject matter is immaterial. Jd. With all due deference to the

reasoning of the Texas courts, it is difficult to discern how it could

be that takings claims under the Fifth and Fourteenth

Amendments must be brought as an alternative or contingent

claim under Texas procedure, even though the claim is not "ripe"

under federal law and no constitutional violation occurs until the

property owner has unsuccessfully pursued State compensation

procedures. See MacDonald, Sommer & Frates v. Yolo County,

477 U.S. 340, 348 (1986).

The ripeness holding of Williamson County, which

requires exhaustion of the state court suit first, is analogous to

holdings on when a cause of action accrues for limitations

purposes. In suits for wrongful deprivations of property under 42

U.S.C. §1983, the same considerations that render a claim

premature prevent accrual of that claim for limitations purposes.

Those claims do not accrue until the relevant governmental

authorities have made a final decision on the fate of the property

involved. Norco Construction Co., Inc. v. King County, 801 F.2d

1143, 1146 (9th Cir. 1986). At bottom, this is not the kind of

contingent claim that is contemplated under Rules 51 and 48 of

the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure.

Whether Petitioner’s Fifth Amendment rights were

violated presents a different legal inquiry than that litigated

previously. He was entitled, and indeed was required, to utilize

available state compensation remedies before asserting a violation

of the Just Compensation Clause. Substantially different questions

are raised in these proceedings, and res judicata simply does not

apply. See, e.g., Lake Lucerne Civic Ass'n v. Dolphin Stadium

Corp., 878 F.2d at 1368.

20

The Jennings Reservation

Petitioner respectfully submits that the Court of Appeals

also erred in relying on Fields v. Sarasota Manatee Airport Auth.,

953 F.2d 1299 (11th Cir. 1992), to conclude that Mr. Guetersloh

should have made a "Jennings reservation" to preserve his federal

claim for federal court. Preserving the availability of a federal

forum for a federal question is just one factor in the federal res

judicata analysis of whether to grant preclusive effect to a state

court judgment. The purpose of a Jennings reservation is to place

the trial court on notice of a party's intention to reserve his right

to litigate federal questions in a federal forum. Holmes v. Jones,

738 F.2d 711, 714 (Sth Cir. 1984). Under the circumstances of this

case, however, a Jennings reservation fails of its intended purpose

because of the Eleventh Amendment. The Court of Appeals notes

as much in its Opinion. 930 S.W.2d at 287.

Under his federal appeal, to which this Court previously

denied certiorari, it was determined that Mr. Guetersloh never had

any right to a federal forum because of the Eleventh Amendment

bar. A Jennings reservation would therefore not be applicable

under the facts of this case. Requiring a Jennings reservation,

under these circumstances, would only serve to further create a

federal and state procedural morass and insure that this Petitioner

never gets his day in court, in any forum, on his federal

constitutional claim.

The Court of Appeals further erred in applying the Fields

case retroactively to Mr. Guetersloh. Jennings v. Caddo Parish

School Bd., 531 F.2d 1331 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 897

(1976), was not a takings case. Moreover, the Fields decision

applying a Jennings reservation requirement to a Fifth

Amendment takings case was rendered after the Texas Supreme

Court had denied writ on the appeal of Guetersloh I. Petitioner

could not have reasonably anticipated in 1985 what the Fields

court itself admits is a strained analysis. Nor could Mr.

Guetersloh have reasonably anticipated that he was supposed to

21

make such a Jennings reservation to preserve a federal claim

which he could not present in federal court anyway. Petitioner

certainly had no clue that he needed to make a Jennings

reservation to avoid a procedural bar that was created after the

fact. In short, retroactively applying Jennings and Fields in this

way simply creates a trap for the petitioner which is totally

unnecessary.

Furthermore, the Fields decision itself is rare because the

court admits that it has engaged in strained reasoning in order to

avoid overruling Jennings, which it suggests should no longer be

good law. Applying the Fields opinion to Guetersloh raises the

very dilemma that the Eleventh Circuit panel states as its basis for

questioning the Jennings reservation:

[I]t would be a very odd result if the federal courts

were effectively barred from hearing claims

arising under the takings clause, except through

Supreme Court review via the writ of certiorari, of

state court decisions interpreting the clause. The

real question is not whether the state courts are

unable to enforce the takings clause -- they most

assuredly are -- rather, the question is whether the

citizens of this country are to be barred from ever

vindicating a federal constitutional right through

the federal court system. This premise seems to

go beyond Allen [v. McCurry, 449 U.S. 90 (1980)]

and Migra [v. Warren City School Dist. Bd. of

Educ., 465 U.S. 75 (1984)] and is at present

foreclosed in this Circuit by operation of

Jennings. Thus, our concern about the wisdom of

Jennings relates to the Jennings Court's ostensible

reliance on England to reach its result, not to the

result itself. Although the result in Jennings seems

to us to be a reasonable one, we are doubtful that

22

England [v. Louisiana State Bd. of Med.

Examiners., 375 U.S. 411 (1964)] compels it.

Fields, 953 F.2d at 1307 n.8 (citations added).

Finally, applying Fields to Petitioner results in circular

reasoning. As explained by the Fifth Circuit, there was nothing to

reserve because the Fifth Amendment cause of action does not

exist and therefore does not accrue until the constitutional

violation occurs (i.¢., until all state compensation procedures

prove ineffective). Samaad v. City of Dallas, 940 F.2d 925, 935

(Sth Cir.1991). As the Fields court itself notes, in Lewis v. East

Feliciana Parish School Bd., 820 F.2d 143, 146 n.1 (Sth Cir.

1987), a panel of the Fifth Circuit has "severely questioned the

continuing validity of Jennings." Fields, 953 F.2d at 1305 n.4.

Neither Jennings, nor Fields should be applied in such a way as

to deny this appellant a day in court on his federal takings claim.

Even If Compelled By State Procedural Law,

The Judgment Rendered In Guetersloh I

Results In A Denial of Due Process, And Is Not

Entitled To Preclusive Effect.

Even if this claim could have been asserted as an

alternative or contingent claim under the Texas Rules of Civil

Procedure, the doctrine of res judicata should not be applied,

under these circumstances, to preclude Mr. Guetersloh from

asserting his right to "just compensation" under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments. Apparently, the Texas courts concluded,

incorrectly, that "Guetersloh bases his argument against the

application of res judicata entirely on his interpretation of

Williamson County Regional Planning Commission v. Hamilton

Bank, 473 U.S. 172 (1985)." Guetersloh, 930 S.W.2d at 287. To

the contrary, a substantial body of state and federal jurisprudence

would allow recovery under circumstances where, as here, a state

has impermissibly interpreted its own laws to deny a minimum

level of protection afforded by the federal constitution.

23

State constitutions cannot subtract from the rights

guaranteed by the United States Constitution. See, e.g., Oregon

v. Kennedy, 456 U.S. 667, 102 S.Ct. 2083, 72 L.Ed.2d 416

(1982); Pruneyard Shopping Center v. Robins, 447 U.S. 74, 100

S.Ct. 2035, 64 L.Ed.2d 741 (1980). At least as interpreted by the

Texas courts, "the only limit on the states is that, in relying on

their constitutions, they may not deny individuals the minimum

level of protection mandated by the Federal Constitution."

Davenport v. Garcia, 834 S.W.2d 4, 15 (Tex. 1992); see also, Sax

v. Votteler, 648 S.W.2d 661, 664 (Tex. 1983). "This approach has

been referred to as a ‘federal safety net,' ensuring that individuals

receive all available guarantees of their rights." Davenport, 834

S.W.2d at 15. Such a "constitutional safety net" would be

meaningless, however, if litigants have no right to actually pursue

their federal remedies once it is determined that a judgment

entered according to state law denies relief that is compelled by

the federal constitution.

A recurring theme in this litigation is that Texas courts are

open to both statutory and inverse condemnation claims brought

against agencies of the state on the basis of the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments, as well as on the basis of the Texas

Constitution and laws. In fulfilling that obligation, however,

states must satisfy all applicable requirements of the Due Process

Clause. Kremer v. Chemical Const.Corp., 456 U.S. 461, 482

(1982). Where they do not, it is well established that a "state may

not grant preclusive effect in its own courts to a constitutionally

infirm judgment..." Jd.

The Summary Judgment Standard

This case comes to the Court by way of summary

judgment. Under the well-established rules of summary judgment

practice, evidence favorable to this Petitioner should be taken as

true, and every reasonable inference must be indulged in his favor.

Nixon v. Mr. Property Management Co., 675 S.W.2d 585 (Tex.

1984)(applying Texas law); see also, Hudson v. Palmer, 468 U.S.

24

517, 540 (1984)(applying the federal rules). For purposes of this

appeal, it should be conceded that Mr. Guetersloh has established

a prima facia case for an uncompensated "taking" within the

meaning of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

Applying res judicata principles to the holding of

Guetersioh, I would entitle this property owner to no

compensation, whatsoever, for what amounts to a taking, as a

matter of law. Such a judgment is entitled to preclusive effect

only if it comports with due process. If it does not, it is well-

established that federal courts can refuse to accord preclusive

effect to a state court judgment where application of that state’s

preclusion law would violate due process. Peduto v. City of

North Wildwood, 878 F .2d 725, 728 (3" Cir. 1989); citing Kremer

v. Chemical Construction Corp., 456 U.S. 461, 482 (1982).

Due Process Requires Just Compensation

The requirement of "just compensation" for the taking of

private property is constitutionally required under the Fifth

Amendment, and for almost a century, has been held to be

applicable to the states because of its incorporation into the

meaning of "due process" as found in the Fourteenth Amendment.

Chicago, Burlington and Quincy R.R. v. City of Chicago, 166 U.S.

226, 236 (1897); First English Evangelical Lutheran Church v.

County of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304, 310 n.4 (1987). Questions

going to "property," "taking," "just compensation," and "payment"

are all facets of this central federal question of denial of due

process. Foster v. City of Detroit, 254 F.Supp 655, n.14 (E.D.

Mich. 1966), aff'd, 405 F.2d 138 (6th Cir. 1968).

The ultimate question to be resolved in these proceedings

is not merely whether the procedure by which Mr. Guetersloh's

property was "taken" complied with the requirements of

procedural due process. Rather, the issue is whether the state,

although complying with its own rules of procedure, has

nevertheless violated the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments by

25

taking this man's property without just compensation. As Mr.

Justice Harlan stated for the Court in the seminal case of Chicago,

Burlington & Quincy R.R. v. City of Chicago:

A state may not, by any of its agencies, disregard

the prohibitions of the fourteenth amendment. Its

judicial authorities may keep within the letter of

the statute prescribing forms of procedure in the

courts, and give the parties interested the fullest

opportunity to be heard, and yet it might be that

its final action would be inconsistent with that

amendment. In determining what is due process

of law, regard must be had to substance, not to

form.

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy R.R., 166 U.S. at 234.

Under such circumstances, it has long been recognized

that there is the possibility of a federal question in every taking

under state authority, even if all conditions of state law have been

complied with. See McCoy v. Union Elevated Ry., 247 U.S. 354

(1918); Monongahela Navigation Co. v. United States, 148 U.S.

312 (1893); Chicago Burlington and Quincy R.R., 166 U.S. at 236

(1897); Foster v. City of Detroit, 254 F.Supp. 655, n.14;

Richmond Elks Hall Ass'n v. Richmond Dev., 561 F.2d 1327, 1330

(9th Cir. 1977); 18 AM. JUR. Eminent Domain §§ 144, 145 pp.

772-3 (1938). Zero compensation, under these circumstances,

would sanction the taking of private property without due process.

The legislature may prescribe a form of procedure

to be observed in the taking of private property for

public use, but it is not due process of law if

provision be not made for compensation... The

mere form of the proceeding instituted against the

owner, even if he be admitted to defend, cannot

convert the process used into due process of law,

26

if the necessary result be to deprive him of his

property without compensation.

Chicago, Burlington & Quincy R.R., 166 U.S. at 236-37. The

decision rendered in Guetersloh | did not compensate this litigant

for a Fifth Amendment "taking." Because that judgment would

offend due process, it is not entitled to preclusive effect.

In Guetersloh I, the issue before the court was whether a

compensable event occurred under state law. The answer was

"no." The issue in the present case is whether the state can

enforce a policy that is so inconsistent with the "just

compensation" mandate of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

In Guetersloh I, the Texas Courts held that "the Commission's

authority to seek a receivership against this utility was a valid

exercise of the state's police power, for which no compensation is

required.” Slip Op. at p. 7(Guetersloh I)(emphasis added). Under

the federal standard, however,

The rights conferred by the Takings Clause and

the police power of the State may coexist without

conflict. Property is bought and sold, investments

are made, subject to the State's power to regulate.

Where a taking is alleged from regulations which

deprive the property of all value, the test must be

whether the deprivation is contrary to reasonable,

investment-backed expectations.

Lucas v. South Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1034,

(1992) (Kennedy, J., concurring).

Guetersloh_I demonstrates that under Texas law,

regulatory takings focus solely on the reasonableness of the

regulation at issue. See, Slip Op. at p. 7 (Guetersloh I). Yet under

the federal constitutional standard, once it is determined that the

offending regulation substantially advances a legitimate state

interest, the inquiry then focuses on whether that regulation denies

an owner of economically viable use of his property. Nollan v.

27

California Coastal Comm'n, 483 U.S. 825, 834 (1987); Lucas, 505

U. S. at 1030. Unlike the analysis of Texas law in Guetersloh I,

the Fifth Amendment requires that:

[A] regulation that declares "off limits” all

economically productive or beneficial uses of land

goes beyond what the relevant background

principles would dictate, [and] compensation

must be paid to sustain it.

Lucas, 505 U.S. at 1030. As he was required to do under the plain

language of Williamson County, Petitioner first-utilized the

procedure prescribed by Texas law to assert his inverse

condemnation claim before asserting a violation of the Just

Compensation Clause. See, e.g., Williamson County, 473 U.S. at

194. When tested against the requirements of the Fifth

Amendment, the judgment in Guetersloh | results in a denial of

due process, and effects an unconstitutional taking of property

without just compensation. In the event of such an

uncompensated taking, the federal right to just compensation

becomes not only a defense to the state law action, but also

becomes an independent claim that is both necessary and proper.

Cf Bivens v. Six Unknown Agents, 403 U.S. 388 (1971);

Boilermakers v. Hardeman, 401 U.S. 233, 241 (1971).

As this Court has previously held, the Property Clause of

the Fifth Amendment "constitutes more than a pleading

requirement, and compliance with it [requires] more than an

exercise in cleverness and imagination.” Nollan v. California

Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825, 841 (1986). Under these

circumstances, the prior judgment in Guetersloh | is not entitled

to preclusive effect, and res judicata should not apply.

To date, the merits of Mr. Guetersloh's claim for just

compensation under the Fifth Amendment have not been

addressed. Perhaps the most that can be stated with authority

regarding the matter is that state and federal appellate courts are

28

deeply divided, and internally inconsistent, in the way and manner

in which property owners are allowed to assert those Fifth

Amendment rights. What is certain, however, is that in regulating

the health, safety, and general welfare of its citizens, states may

not simply transform private property into public property without

compensation.

Nothing inherent in the private property rights of Mr.

Guetersloh, as a lienholder, Suggests that he is somehow

undeserving of this constitutional protection. To the contrary, this

Court as well as the Texas courts have expressly held otherwise.

Taub v. City of Deer Park, 882 S.W.2d 824, 826 (Tex. 1994),

citing Armstrong v. United States, 364 U.S. 40, 48 (1960)("total

destruction by the Government of all value of [certain] liens" is a

taking). Nonetheless, Mr. Guetersioh has received nothing for the

extended period during which his taking was effective.

This Petitioner unsuccessfully utilized state and federal

compensation procedures. Now, having satisfied all known

conditions precedent for this Fifth Amendment action, his

constitutional claim is finally ripe, but is Procedurally barred.

Quite obviously, this is not the place or the time to reach the

merits of Petitioner’s entitlement to compensation under the Fifth

Amendment. That is for the lower courts to determine upon a full

and complete development of the record on remand. However, if

the Petition is granted, this Court may wish to use this Opportunity

to revisit its Williamson County ripeness holding for the purpose

of clarifying the question of when, and under what circumstances,

such Fifth Amendment claims should properly be asserted. It may

be that the Court would wish to somewhat distance itself from its

prior position by holding that ripeness, in this context, is not an

unwaivable element of subject matter jurisdiction, but merely

Serves as a prudential limitation imposed upon federal, but not

State courts. Or the Court may wish to confirm this ripeness

standard and perhaps constitutionalize the rule of res judicata in

29

this context, so that the outcome of property owners’ claims will

no longer depend upon the vagaries of state procedural law.

Whatever is finally determined, Petitioner respectfully

requests that the Court apply its decision prospectively, and order

that this cause be remanded for a more constitutionally defensible

analysis of the just compensation rights afforded to Mr.

Guetersloh by the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments.

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons stated above, this Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari should be granted, and the Court should allow

Petitioner to file his brief so that he may articulate, more

comprehensively, why the Texas Courts failed to properly analyze

the federal constitutional principles involved when it imposed the

bar of res judicata to deny this property owner an opportunity in

which to litigate the merits of this uncompensated regulatory

taking. If this published decision goes unreviewed, it will mean

that property owners who are forced to endure such

uncompensated takings at the hands of a state, and who faithfully

follow the dictates of this Court to ripen those claims, will find

that their promise of Just Compensation under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments has been converted to a mere illusion.

Respectfully Submitted,

JAMES DOUGLAS RAY

ATTORNEY FOR THE PETITIONER

406 W. 13” Street, Suite 200

Austin, Texas 78701

(Tel.) 512/478-8698

(Fax.) 512/478-2778

DECEMBER 3, 1997

30

APPENDIX

Appendix “A”

M.F. GUETERSLOH, Jr., Appellant,

Vv.

The STATE OF TEXAS, The Public Utility

Commission, The Texas Water Commission, The

City of Lubbock, and James Miller, Receiver of the

Carlisle Water Supply Company, Appellees.

No. 03-95-00626-CV.

Court of Appeals of Texas, Austin.

Sept. 18, 1996.

Rehearing Overruled Oct. 30, 1996.

Owner of water supply company brought action against

State, Public Utility Commission (PUC), Texas Water

Commission, city, and receiver of company, asserting takings

claim under Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments. Defendants

moved for summary judgment. The District Court, Travis County,

261st Judicial District, John Dietz, J., granted motion on res

judicata grounds. Owner appealed. The Court of Appeals, Jones,

J., held that: (1) owner's Fifth and Fourteenth Amendment takings

claim could have been raised in owner's prior state-court inverse

condemnation action and, thus, claim was barred by res judicata,

despite contention that owner's federal takings claim had not yet

accrued until disposition of his state-law constitutional takings

claim in prior action, and (2) owner did not come within exception

to res judicata for federal takings claims, as owner failed in prior

action to make proper reservation of his federal-law claim for

possible litigation and resolution by federal court.

App. A-1

Affirmed. 930 S.W.2d 284, Guetersloh v. State, (Tex.

App.-Austin 1996)

Marilyn Phelan, Lubbock, for Appellant. Jeff Hartsell,

City of Lubbock, Office of the City Attorney, Lubbock, Dan

Morales, Attorney General, James Todd, Assistant Attorney

General, General Litigation Division, Austin, for Appellees.

Before POWERS, JONES and B.A. SMITH, JJ.

JONES, Justice.

Appellant, M.F. Guetersloh, Jr., sued the State of Texas,

the Public Utility Commission, the Texas Water Commission,

(FN1) the City of Lubbock, and James Miller, Receiver of the

Carlisle Water Supply Company, appellees, asserting a takings

claim under the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution. The district court granted summary judgment

against Guetersloh on the ground that his federal takings claim

was barred by res judicata because the claim could have been

brought in his prior inverse-condemnation suit. In a single point

of error, Guetersloh asserts that his federal takings claim was not

ripe until his earlier suit was concluded, so he could not have

brought the federal claim in the prior suit. We will affirm.

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Guetersloh was previously the owner and operator of the

Carlisle Water Supply Company, a small water utility that

supplied water to a handful of families in the Carlisle community

outside of Lubbock. In 1978 Guetersloh sold the utility, retaining

a vendor's lien and deed of trust on the property as security for a

promissory note. In 1983 the new owner allegedly violated an

order of the Public Utility Commission, resulting in the

appointment of a receiver to manage the utility's assets. During

the receivership, the owner defaulted on his payments to

Guetersloh, who foreclosed on the utility in 1985. The State,

App. A-2

however, judicially enjoined Guetersloh from entering the

property or interfering with the receiver's right of legal possession.

In 1987 the City of Lubbock annexed the Carlisle area and

built a new water system, continuing the receivership of

Guetersloh's utility until the new water system was completed and

began providing water services to all the residents of Carlisle.

After the customers of Carlisle Water Supply were transferred to

the City of Lubbock, Guetersloh was granted permission to take

possession of the utility. By that time, however, all the utility's

customers were gone and its pipes and workings were badly in

need of repair. At no time did the State pay Guetersloh for any

use of or injury to the utility.

During the time the receiver was Operating the utility,

Guetersloh filed an inverse-condemnation claim against the City

of Lubbock and the receiver in Lubbock County district court,

initially asserting causes of action under the takings clauses of

both the Texas Constitution (FN2) ("the state-law claim") and the

United States Constitution (FN3) ("the federal-law claim"). The

State of Texas, on behalf of the Public Utility Commission,

intervened in the suit. Guetersloh later added the Texas Water

Commission as a defendant. Without comment or explanation,

Guetersloh subsequently dropped the federal-law claim from his

suit, leaving only the state-law claim. The district court in

Lubbock County granted an interlocutory summary judgment in

favor of all defendants except the Public Utility Commission. The

court then transferred venue in the case to Travis County. The

district court in Travis County later rendered a final summary

judgment in favor of the Public Utility Commission; this had the

effect of making the interlocutory summary judgment in favor of

the other defendants final also.

Guetersloh appealed the trial court's judgment rejecting

his state-law claim. This Court affirmed, reasoning that the

alleged taking was a valid exercise of state police power, for

which no compensation is required. Guetersloh v. Public Util.

App. A-3

Comm'n, No. 3-90-161-CV (Tex.App.-Austin Aug. 14, 1991, writ

denied) (not designated for publication). Guetersloh's application

for writ of error to the Texas Supreme Court was denied.

Guetersloh then filed suit on his federal-law claim in

federal district court. Named as defendants, among others, were

the State of Texas, the Public Utility Commission, the Texas

Water Commission, and the receiver. The district court dismissed

the claim, ruling that it was barred by the statute of limitations, res

judicata, and the Eleventh Amendment to the U.S. Constitution.

The Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals modified the judgment to hold

that Guetersloh's claim was barred solely by the Eleventh

Amendment. Guetersloh v. State of Texas, No. 93-8729, 25 F.3d

1044 (Sth Cir. June 3, 1994) (not designated for publication), cert.

denied, 513 U.S. 1076, 115 S.Ct. 721, 130 L.Ed.2d 627 (1995).

The U.S. Supreme Court denied Guetersloh's application for a writ

of certiorari.

Guetersloh then filed the present suit in Travis County

district court, reurging his federal-law claim. The court granted

appellees' motion for summary judgment, ruling that Guetersloh's

federal-law claim was barred by res judicata. It is from this

judgment that Guetersloh now appeals.

DISCUSSION

[1] [2] Under the "transactional" approach to res judicata

adopted in Texas, a claim is precluded "if it arises out of the same

subject matter of a previous suit and which through the exercise

of diligence, could have been litigated in a prior suit." Barr v.

Resolution Trust Corp., 837 S.W.2d 627, 631 (Tex.1992). In the

present case, Guetersloh's federal-law and state-law claims are

simply two alternative theories by which he attempts to recover

for the same alleged taking, so there is no issue of whether the two

claims arose out of the same factual transaction. Thus, the

dispositive issue here is whether Guetersloh's federal-law claim

App. A-4

could have been litigated in the prior suit in which he pursued his

state-law claim to a final judgment.

Guetersloh bases his argument against the application of

res judicata entirely on his interpretation of Williamson County

Regional Planning Commission v. Hamilton Bank, 473 U.S. 172,

105 S.Ct. 3108, 87 L.Ed.2d 126 (1985), where the United States

Supreme Court held that "if a State provides an adequate

procedure for seeking just compensation [for a taking], the

property owner cannot claim a violation of the [federal] Just

Compensation Clause until it has used the [state] procedure and

been denied just compensation." Id. at 195, 105 S.Ct. at 3121.

He asserts that he was precluded from asserting his federal-law

claim in his first suit because, under the holding of Williamson

County, that claim was not yet ripe. Guetersloh argues that he

was required to unsuccessfully seek compensation in the state

courts under Article I section 17 of the Texas Constitution before

his federal-law claim even existed; that only upon denial of just

compensation from the state was his federal-law claim mature;

and that therefore the nonexistent, unripe federal claim could not

have been litigated in his state inverse-condemnation suit. In

Guetersloh's view, if he were now precluded by res judicata from

bringing his federal-law claim, the effect would be to deny him

altogether a forum in which to argue the merits of his Fifth

Amendment takings claim.

[3] Facially, Guetersloh's arguments sound appealing. The

Supreme Court in Williamson County held that a plaintiff seeking

to assert a federal takings claim under the Fifth Amendment must

first have unsuccessfully sought compensation through the state

procedures for doing so. 473 U.S. at 194, 105 S.Ct. at 3120. "The

Fifth Amendment does not proscribe the taking of property; it

proscribes taking without just compensation." Id. In the present

case, Guetersloh contends that this requirement was not and could

not be met until he pursued his state-law claim in the state courts

and was denied relief. Thus, Guetersloh argues that his

App. A-5

federal-law claim was not ripe for determination by the state court

at that time, could not have been brought with his state claim, and,

therefore, could not be subject to res judicata. We disagree.

[4] First, state courts clearly have jurisdiction to resolve

takings claims based on federal law. Moreover, the Texas Rules

of Civil Procedure expressly provide for the simultaneous

presentation of multiple claims, alternative theories, and

contingent causes of action:

RULE 48. ALTERNATIVE CLAIMS FOR RELIEF

A party may set forth two or more statements of a claim

or defense alternatively or hypothetically, either in one count or

defense or in separate counts or defenses...

RULE 51. JOINDER OF CLAIMS AND REMEDIES

(a) Joinder of Claims. The plaintiff in his petition ... may

join either as independent or as alternate claims as many claims

either legal or equitable or both as he may have against an

opposing party....

(b) Joinder of Remedies. Whenever a claim is one

heretofore cognizable only after another claim has been

prosecuted to a conclusion, the two claims may be joined in a

single action; but the court shall grant relief in that action only in

accordance with the relative substantive right of the parties....

Tex. R. Civ. P. 48, 51.

[5] Thus, with limited exceptions not applicable here,

under Texas law the mere fact that a cause of action is contingent

on the outcome of another suit does not prevent the two claims

from being raised and litigated simultaneously in the same suit.

For example, in Getty Oil Co. v. Insurance Co. of North America,

845 S.W.2d 794 (Tex.1992), Getty Oil purchased chemicals from

NL Industries, Inc. under a contract that arguably required NL to

obtain insurance on Getty's behalf. An accident involving the

App. A-6

Ee Se re Meee mee Me MT

chemicals occurred. After the parties litigated various liability

issues favorably to NL, Getty sued NL for insurance coverage.

Getty sought to avoid a res judicata bar by arguing that its

insurance claims against NL did not accrue until judgment in the

first suit was rendered resolving the liability issues. Relying on

rule 51(b), the supreme court rejected this argument:

Getty argues that res judicata cannot bar its present claims

against NL because these claims did not accrue until judgment

was rendered in the [Getty Oil Corp. v.] Duncan {721 S.W.2d 475

(Tex. App--Corpus Christi 1986)] suit. That is, Getty had no

liability and hence no need for insurance coverage until liability

was assigned. The contingent nature of these claims, however,

does not preclude the operation of res judicata. We held in Barr

that "[a] subsequent suit will be barred if it arises out of the same

subject matter of a previous suit and which, through the exercise

of diligence, could have been litigated in a prior suit." 837 S.W.2d

at 631. Getty could have asserted its present claims in the

Duncan suit, with their resolution being contingent on the

plaintiffs’ claims.

Id. at 799.

Likewise, in the present case, Guetersloh's federal-law

claim was contingent on an unsuccessful outcome in his

state-court suit involving his state-law claim. Under rules 51 and

48 of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure and the supreme court's

holding in Getty Oil, nothing prevented Guetersloh from

simultaneously raising his federal-law and State-law claims in the

same suit. Accordingly, his "not yet accrued” argument does not

provide him an escape from the bar of res judicata.

[6] Nonetheless, Guetersloh also contends that he has a

right to litigate his federal-law claim in federal court. He argues

that, since federal courts will not relitigate a federal-law issue that

has already been tried in state court, a procedure whereby he is

required to present both his state-law and his federal-law claims

App. A-7

initially in state court would effectively preclude him from ever

having his federal-law claim decided by a federal court.

[7] [8] [9] Leaving aside the question of the Eleventh

Amendment, a plaintiff generally has the right to have his

federal-law claim litigated in a federal court. The United States

Supreme Court has recognized "the primacy of the federal

judiciary in deciding questions of federal law." England v.

Louisiana State Bd. of Medical Examiners, 375 U.S. 411, 415-16,

84 S.Ct. 461, 465, 11 L.Ed.2d 440 (1964). In the present case,

however, Guetersloh did not avail himself of the procedure by

which he could have preserved his federal-law claim while

proceeding to litigate his state-law claim in state court. In

England, an abstention case, the Supreme Court set forth a

procedure by which would-be federal-law claimants may litigate

their state-law claims and still return to federal district court on

their federal-law claims if the results in state court are

unfavorable. The court held that, following federal-court

abstention, a plaintiff is not required to litigate his federal claims

in the state court; he has only to inform the state court what his

federal claims are, so that the state statute or requirement can be

construed "in light of" those claims. Id. at 420, 84 S.Ct. at 467.

This "reservation" by the would-be federal claimant was held to

occur in three steps: (1) the litigant first files in federal court; (2)

the federal court abstains and stays the federal proceedings until

the state courts resolve all state-law questions; and (3) the litigant

informs the state courts of his intention to return, if necessary, to

federal court on his federal constitutional questions after the

State-court proceedings are concluded. Id. at 416-22, 84 S.Ct. at

465-68. When a proper reservation has been made, the litigant's

right to return to the federal courts must in all events be preserved.

Id. at 421-22, 84 S.Ct. at 468. However, if a party is found to

have freely sought a binding adjudication of all his claims in state

court, and he has failed to make a proper reservation to the

disposition of the entire case by the state courts, then that party

App. A-8

has in effect foregone his right to return to federal court to bring

his federal claim. Id. at 419, 84 S.Ct. at 467.

The Fifth Circuit applied the England procedural

requirements broadly in Jennings v. Caddo Parish Schoo! Board,

531 F.2d 1331 (Sth Cir.1976). Although not an abstention case,

the court held that "had appellant wished to reserve her

constitutional claims for subsequent litigation in federal court, she

could have done so by making on the state record a reservation to

the disposition of the entire case by the state courts." Id. at 1332.

Although England and Jennings were in the contexts of

medical licensees and racial discrimination, respectively, the

Eleventh Circuit's decision in Fields v. Sarasota Manatee Airport

Authority, 953 F.2d 1299 (11th Cir.1992), is squarely on point.

Fields resolves the question of how Williamson County and

England work together in the context of a takings case. Fields

points out that the three-step England process is not applicable to

a takings clause claim, because Williamson County ripeness

requirements effectively prevent a litigant from first filing in a

federal court. Fields, 953 F.2d at 1305. The Fields court held,

however, that a " Jennings reservation" (i.e., a reservation not

preceded by federal court abstention) can be made only if the

would-be federal court litigant is pursuing state-court proceedings

"involuntarily." Id. at 1306 (construing Migra v. Warren City

School Dist. Bd. of Educ., 465 U.S. 75, 104 S.Ct. 892, 79 L.Ed.2d

56 (1984)). The court held that a litigant is “involuntarily” in state

court if one of two prerequisites is met: (1) the litigant is a

defendant in a non-removable state-court action and wishes to

pursue a federal counterclaim, or (2) federal law imposes an

exhaustion requirement upon a would-be federal court litigant as

a precondition of bringing his federal claim in federal court. 953

F.2d at 1306. By operation of Williamson County, federal

takings claims satisfy the second prerequisite. Id. Hence, the

Fields court held that, if the appropriate reservation is made in

State court, would-be federal court litigants who are forced to

App. A-9

pursue state court proceedings in order to satisfy exhaustion

requirements imposed by federal law incident to a takings clause

claim are "involuntarily" in state courts, and therefore qualify for

the exception to generally applicable res judicata principles.

Id.

In the present case, Guetersloh was involuntarily in state

court, because he was fulfilling the Williamson County

requirements. However, the record does not show that he made

or attempted to make any reservation of his federal-law claim

through the procedures outlined above. Thus, although he could,

with the exercise of diligence, have preserved his right to return

to federal court to litigate his federal-law claim, he did not do so.

CONCLUSION

We conclude that Guetersloh's federal-law claim could

have been raised in his first state-court suit, thus making res

judicata principles applicable. We also conclude that Guetersloh

does not come within an exception to res judicata, because he

failed to make a proper reservation of his federal-law claim for

possible litigation in and resolution by a federal court. We

overrule Guetersloh's point of error and affirm the trial court's

judgment. ;

FN1. The Texas Water Commission has since been converted into

the Texas Natural Resource Conservation Commission. See Act

of July 30, 1991, 72d Leg., Ist C.S., ch. 3, § 1.085, 1991 Tex.

Gen. Laws 4, 42.

FN2. "No person's property shall be taken, damaged or destroyed

for or applied to public use without adequate compensation being

made, unless by the consent of such person." Tex. Const. art. I,

§ 17.

FN3. "[NJor shall private property be taken for public use, without

just compensation." U.S. Const. amend V.

App. A-10

Appendix “B”

No. 95-07117

M. F. GUETERSLOBH, JR., § IN THE DISTRICT

§ COURT

Plaintiff §

§

VS. §

§

THE STATE OF TEXAS; § OF TRAVIS COUNTY,

§ TEXAS

THE PUBLIC UTILITIES §

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS §

WATER COMMISSION; THE §

CITY OF LUBBOCK AND §

JAMES MILLER, RECEIVER §

OF THE CARLISLE WATER §

SUPPLY COMPANY, §

§ 261" JUDICIAL

Defendants § DISTRICT

ORDER GRANTING SUMMARY JUDGMENT

The Court, after examining the pleadings, briefs, and the

Summary Judgment filed by the Defendants and Movants, THE

STATE OF TEXAS, THE PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION,

THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION, THE CITY OF

LUBBOCK, AND JAMES MILLER, is of the opinion that the

Motions of Defendants well founded and should be GRANTED

on the basis of res judicata.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and

DECREED that Plaintiff, M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.., take nothing

against the aforementioned Defendants.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and

DECREED that Defendants, THE STATE OF TEXAS, THE

PUBLIC UTILITIES COMMISSION, THE TEXAS WATER

App. B-]

irre

~

COMMISSION, THE CITY OF LUBBOCK, AND JAMES

MILLER, recover their costs herein, for which execution may

issue.

All relief requested and not expressly granted is denied

SIGNED this 6" day of September, 1995.

Original signed by the Honorable

John K. Dietz, PRESIDING JUDGE

APPROVED AS TO FORM AND CONTENT:

Original signed by

Jeff Hartsell, Attorney for the City of Lubbock

Original signed by

James Todd, Attorney for the State of Texas,

The Public Utilities Commission, The Texas

Water Commission, and James Miller

App. B-2

Appendix “C”’

No. 96-1257

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.

v.

THE STATE OF TEXAS; THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION;

THE CITY OF LUBBOCK; and JAMES MILLER, receiver

of the CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY COMPANY

July 31, 1997

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas denied the above

referenced application for writ of error with the notation “Writ

Denied”.

Sincerely,

John T. Adams, Clerk

by

Original signed by

Michael C. Murphey, Deputy

App. C-1

Appendix “D”

No. 96-1257

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.

v.

THE STATE OF TEXAS; THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION; THE TEXAS WATER COMMISSION;

THE CITY OF LUBBOCK; and JAMES MILLER, receiver

of the CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY COMPANY

September 4, 1997

Dear Counsel:

Today, the Supreme Court of Texas overruled

petitioner’s motion for rehearing of the application for writ of

error in the above styled case.

Sincerely,

John T. Adams, Clerk

by

Original signed by

Blanca E. Morin, Deputy

App. D-1

Appendix “E”’

NO. 93-8729

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

V.

STATE OF TEXAS, ET AL,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States

District Court for the Western

District of Texas

Before GARWOOD, JOLLY and SMITH, Circuit Judges”

PER CURIAM:

This is an inverse condemnation suit for money damages

only brought by Plaintiff-Appellant, M. F. Guetersloh, Jr.,

(Guetersloh) in the court below against the State of Texas and

certain of its agencies and officers in their official Capacities

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 and the takings clause of the Fifth

Amendment, as extended to the states by the Fourteenth

opinion should not be published.

App. E-1

Amendment.' Guetersloh claimed a temporary taking during and

by virtue of a receivership, which had terminated prior to the

judgment below, of a water company on the assets of which he

had a lien which he had foreclosed before the receivership ended.

Although defendants raised the Eleventh Amendment as a

jurisdictional bar to this federal court suit, and the court below

found that the suit was barred by the Eleventh Amendment, it

nevertheless reached the merits and found Guetersloh's claims

barred by limitations and res judicata, that there was no

compensable taking, and that no damages were proved; and

accordingly it dismissed the suit.

It is settled that the Eleventh Amendment is a

jurisdictional bar to a suit for damages in federal court against a

state or any state agency or state officer in his official capacity,

and that any abrogation or waiver of such bar must be express and

unequivocal. Quern v. Jordan, 99 S.Ct. 1139, 1146 (1979);

Penhurst State Sch. & Hosp. v. Halderman, 104 S.Ct. 900, 907-8

(1984); Ford Motor Co. vs. Department of Treasury, 65 S.Ct. 347,

350 (1945). Waiver of sovereign immunity in state courts does

not waive Eleventh Amendment immunity from suit in federal

court. Penhurst at 907 n.9. Under the circumstances, it is clear

that the instant suit should have been dismissed for want of

jurisdiction under the Eleventh Amendment. See Barry v.

Fordice, 814 F.Supp. 511 (S.D. Miss. 1992), aff'd on the basis of

the district court opinion, 8 F.3d 1 (Sth Cir. 1993); John G. &

Marie Stella Kenedy Mem. Found. v. Mauro, No. 92-7714, slip

op. 4415 (5th Cir. May 27, 1994); Harrison v. Hickel, 6 F.3d 1347

(9th Cir. 1993). We note in this connection that, as the State of

' To the extent that Guetersloh may have sought damages from any of the state

officers in their individual capacities, he does not complain on appeal of the

dismissal on the merits of any such claims; nor do we perceive any error in any

such dismissal, as it is plain, inter alia, that any such claim would be defeated

by qualified immunity.

App. E-2

Texas through its Attorney General confirms and as Guetersloh

admits, the courts of the State of Texas are open to inverse

condemnation damage claims against state agencies on the basis

of the Fifth Amendment, as applied to the states through the

Fourteenth Amendment, as well as on the basis of the Texas

constitution and laws. See, e. g., Estate of Scott v. Victoria

County, 778 S.W.2d 585, 589-91 (Tex. App.-Corpus Christi 1989;

n.w.h.) (Benavides, J.). In short, application of the Eleventh

Amendment does not of itself deny a judicial forum, with ultimate

review available in the United States Supreme Court, for

resolution of Guetersloh's Fifth Amendment takings claim. Cf.

Harrison at 1352-54.

We accordingly modify the judgment below so that the

dismissal of Guetersloh's claims against the State of Texas, the

state agencies, and the state officers in their official Capacities is

for want of jurisdiction under the Eleventh Amendment; and, as

so modified, the judgment is affirmed.

MODIFIED and AFFIRMED AS MODIFIED.

App. E-3

Appendix “F”

NO. A-92-CA-359

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

AUSTIN DIVISION

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.,

¥.

THE STATE OF TEXAS, ET AL.

ORDER

Comes now the Court and enters the following final Order

in the above-styled cause of action.

BACKGROUND

The Court makes the following finding of facts:

In 1982, Plaintiff had a lienholder’s interest in a privately

owned rural water system near Lubbock, Texas. Plaintiff sold the

water system to a Mr. Ray Nichols and retained a vendor's lien

and deed of trust as security for the purchase price. The

Defendant put on evidence that the water system was in poor

condition at the time of the sale from Plaintiff to Mr. Nichols.

After receiving complaints, the Public Utility Commission

("PUC") conducted an investigation into Nichols’ alleged

mismanagement of the system. The PUC entered an Order on

October 22, 1982, directing Nichols to take certain steps and

advising him that his failure to do so might result in the

imposition of a receivership. Time passed, the violations

continued, and the PUC obtained an Order from 2 Texas District

Court on July 21, 1983, in The State of Texas v. Ray Nichols,

d/b/a Carlisle Water Supply, Cause Number 343,820, in the 250th

Judicial District of Travis County (the "receivership suit") naming

App. F-1

a receiver to take possession and Operate the water service in

compliance with appropriate health standards.? Defendant Miller,

by the same Court Order, was appointed as the Receiver for the

utility. Attorneys from the Attorney General's Office gave notice

to the Plaintiff of various matters that were going on in the

receivership proceedings. More time passed, and in 1985 the

Plaintiff foreclosed and took legal title of the land. In December,

1985, the Plaintiff attempted to re-enter and take possession of the

system, including physically removing one of the pumps from the

plant, and the receiver obtained injunctive relief that prevented

Plaintiff from having access onto the property. The application to

vacate the receivership was filed on February 1, 1988. The Court

entered an order vacating the receivership on March 25, 1988.

The Plaintiff now has control of the water system.

Thus the Plaintiff had from 1985 through March, 1988, to

intervene in the receivership case and assert any legal rights he

had concerning the water supply system. The Plaintiff made a

conscious decision not to intervene in the state receivership

action. Instead, the Plaintiff filed a suit in the district court of

Lubbock County, Texas, against the receiver, Miller, and the City

of Lubbock (the "state suit"). In that state case, Plaintiff

originally brought claims under both the State and federal

constitutions alleging a “taking, damaging, or destroying .. .

without adequate compensation." Plaintiff then amended his

intervene in the receivership, although he had the legal right to do so. The

Plaintiff has no explanation for his failure to do so beyond his subjective belief

waste and coliusion by the City of Lubbock as well as objecting to the final

accounting and obtaining judicial review of the district court's oversight of the

receiver.

App. F-2

pleadings to delete the claims under the U.S. Constitution. More

time passed, and the state court terminated the receivership--

without objection from the Plaintiff--and the final accounting was

approved on April 5, 1988. The state district court soon thereafter

granted the defendants’ motion for summary judgment for all

parties other than the PUC and transferred the case to Travis:

County, Texas. The state district court--in the absence of any

evidence from the Plaintiff, even evidence of legal title to the

water supply system--granted summary judgment for the PUC.

The Plaintiff appealed these decisions through all of the state

appellate courts, including the Texas Supreme Court. The Texas

Supreme Court denied the Plaintiff's writ of error. The Plaintiff

has now filed this suit in federal court against a host of

Defendants under a number of theories.

PLAINTIFF'S CLAIMS FOR RELIEF

Plaintiff seeks relief under several theories. First, that the

State of Texas is liable under the fifth and fourteenth amendments

to the United States Constitution for "just compensation" under a

theory of "taking" by the state of Plaintiff's property. The claims

against the individual Defendants are less well defined, but

amount to liability under 42 U.S.C. § 1983 for their actions

relating to the "taking" or the tortious exercise of the state's police

power.

DEFENDANTS" RESPONSES

The State disputes that any permanent and compensable

"taking" of the Plaintiff's water system ever occurred. To the

contrary, the State argues, the PUC placed the Plaintiff's

"property", which was a utility, into receivership. This action, the

State contends, was not a permanent taking of property. The

Defendants argue that the state court receivership suit was the

proper forum to determine the Plaintiff's property rights with

regard to the water system. Thus the Plaintiff has no cause of

action to be compensated as opposed to if the water system had

App. F-3

been taken under the concept of eminent domain or inverse

condemnation.

The State relies heavily on the twin defenses of res

judicata and statute of limitations. The State also asserts the

defenses of the Eleventh Amendment and qualified immunity.

The Plaintiff has alleged 42 U.S.C. § 1983 claims against

the attorneys who represented the state in the state case. The

Court finds this claim to be spurious at best.

The Plaintiff's claims are barred by the qualified immunity

that the state's attorneys have in acting within the scope of their

employment in representing the state in litigation. The attorneys

for the PUC did no more in defending the Plaintiffs claims

against the PUC and the other state defendants than what all

attorneys are ethically bound to do: zealously represent their

client, and win their suits. The state's attorneys raised the defense

that Plaintiff's claims should have been raised in the receivership

action. At every level, the state courts ruled in favor of the

Defendant. In other words, the Plaintiff seeks to hold liable

attorneys that raised defenses that were endorsed by a state district

judge, by the state appellate court, and by the state supreme court.

The Court finds that the Plaintiff had actual notice of the

receivership lawsuit and made a conscious decision not to

intervene. After a careful review of Plaintiff's Exhibits P-3 and P-

4, this Court rejects Plaintiff's contention that he was prohibited

by any state court injunction from intervening in the receivership

action. The receivership court was the appropriate forum for the

Plaintiff to establish his rights concerning the water system.

Despite the fact that the Plaintiff litigated his claims in the

case he filed in state court, he requests this federal Court to

collaterally attack the state court litigation under the patina of a

App. F-4

federal civil rights claim. Plaintiff's claim that he was "deprived"

of his constitutional right to be heard in the state courts is without

merit. Plaintiff had notice of, but chose not to intervene in, the

receivership suit. Plaintiff filed and fully litigated an inverse

condemnation suit in Lubbock County, Texas. The PUC

intervened in this case and had it transferred to Travis County,

Texas. The Plaintiff prosecuted this case through the state court

system and he lost. The federal courts do not sit to determine

whether state courts properly decide legal issues. The Plaintiff

has failed to prove that he was deprived of any rights in the state

court system. He filed his suit. The Courts considered his claims

and the defenses raised by the state. The Plaintiff lost at the trial

court level, the appellate court level, and the supreme court level.

There is no merit to the Plaintiff's claim that these Defendants

deprived him of rights by raising a "new" defense for the first time

on appeal. The decision of whether the state's attorneys raised

improper legal arguments was for the state appellate and supreme

courts to decide, both of which ruled in favor of the Defendants

and the Plaintiff has failed to produce any evidence that the

actions of the state courts or the state's attorney deprived him of

any rights.

The Plaintiff has failed to establish by a preponderance of

the evidence that the conduct of the defendant attorneys violated

any Clearly established constitutional or federal statutory rights of

the Plaintiff of which an objective, reasonable person would have

known. These Defendants therefore enjoy immunity from

liability from the claims made by the Plaintiff. Harlow v.

Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 102 S.Ct. 2727 (1982). The Court finds

further that, regardless of the state's attorneys right to immunity,

Plaintiff's claims against the state's attorneys have no merit.

The Plaintiff's claim against Attorney General Morales is

without merit given the total lack of any evidence that Defendant

Morales had any personal involvement in the lawsuit or that he

maintained any policies, practice, or custom that resulted in the

App. F-5

loss of the Plaintiff's civil rights. At best, Attorney General

Morales is the ultimate supervisor of the other attorneys general

named as Defendants. Defendant Morales was not even the

Attorney General at the time when most of the salient events

occurred. Supervisors are not vicariously liable for § 1983

violations of their subordinates. ial

Serv., 436 U.S. 658, 98 S.Ct. 20] 8 (1978). The Plaintiff presented

no evidence that Attorney General Morales knew or should have

known of any misconduct on the part of his subordinates--

especially since the Court has seen no evidence of any misconduct

on the part of the state's attorneys.

Defendant, James Miller, was appointed as the receiver for

the water system after Mr. Nichols was removed by state court

order. The evidence established that Defendant Miller took over

an aging water system that barely serviced the nine families still

on the system. Miller labored on the weekends to keep the system

in working order. He did not increase the monthly payment for

the service to the eight families and did not personally profit from

his tenure as receiver beyond guaranteeing his own family the

System as a source for water. He managed to keep the system in

sufficient working order until the City of Lubbock was willing

and able to provide a water source to the eight families. The

Court finds that the Defendants, in any combination, did not

conspire to deprive the Plaintiff of his rights concerning the water

system until the City of Lubbock made water available. To the

contrary, the Court commends Defendant Miller for his selfless

efforts to ensure a supply of water to the handful of customers

who were dependent on the water system.

Defendant Miller argues that he enjoys a quasi-judicial

immunity since he was acting as the receiver. The Court

disagrees and holds that Defendant Miller is not entitled to

judicial immunity. Defendant Miller next argues that as the

App. F-6

receiver he is entitled to qualified immunity under Harlow, supra.

The Court agrees. The Plaintiff is entitled to qualified immunity

for all actions he took as the receiver. To the extent that the

Plaintiff complains that there was a discrepancy in the inventory

that Defendant Miller executed on February 1, 1988, concerning

the outstanding debts of the water system; the Court finds that

these complaints should have been raised in the state court in the

receivership suit. The Court makes an additional finding that the

statute of limitations has run on any claim against Defendant

Miller.

The Court finds that the claims against this Defendant is

barred by the statute of limitations. Assuming that the Plaintiff

has a claim against this Defendant under 42 U.S.C. § 1983, that

cause of action accrued on May 5, 1988--the date that the Order

discharging the receiver became final and unappealable. The

statute of limitations applicable to a § 1983 claim is the two year

statute of limitations for personal injury actions. Tex. Civ. Prac.

& Rem. Code Ann. § 16.003 (Vernon 1986); Wilson y. Garcia,

195 S.Ct. 193 (1985).

3. The Claims Against John Hall.

Defendant, John Hall, holds a supervisory position with

the Texas Water Commission. The Plaintiff presented no

evidence of any kind against Defendant Hall. The Court heard no

evidence that would support any finding of liability against

Defendant Hall. Accordingly, the Court finds for Defendant Hall

on all of Plaintiff's claims.

4. The State of Texas, the Texas Water Commission, and the

PUC.

The Court finds that the Plaintiff has failed to prove that

these Defendants violated the Plaintiff's rights under the Fifth or

Fourteenth Amendments of the U.S. Constitution. The court

holds that the claims against these defendants for damages are

App. F-7

barred by the Eleventh Amendment of the United States

Constitution. 465 U.S.

79 (1984). These parties have not waived their right to immunity

under the Eleventh Amendment.

The Court finds that the claims against these Defendants

are barred by the statute of limitations. Assuming that the .

Plaintiff has a claim against any of the Defendants under 42 US.

The Court finds that the claim against these Defendants

are barred by the doctrine of res judicata. The Court holds that,

resolved in the state court. Allen v. McCurry, 101 S.Ct. 411

(1980); and i 871 F.2d 1297, 1287

(4th Cir. 1989). Plaintiff could have intervened in the

receivership action, but he failed to do so. He could have raised

these claims in his state court law suit but failed to do so. The

Court holds that the Plaintiff is precluded from Pursuing these

claims by the doctrine of res judicata.

The water system in question is not typical private

Property, rather it is a utility within the Statutory definition and

App. F-8

therefore is governed as is any operating utility, by the Public

Utilities Regulatory Act ("PURA"), Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. Art.

1446(c) § 2 (Vernon 1992). This statute was in effect at the time

of the receivership proceedings. Under this statute, the PUC had

the express authority to impose a receivership on this utility, and

could do so without compensation from the state. Lucas v. South

Carolina Coastal Council, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 2900 (1992). The

Plaintiff has no legal right in this Court to force these Defendants

to compensate him for the use or deterioration of the water supply

system.

5. Plaintiff's Failure to Prove Damages.

The Court also makes the following determination

concerning Plaintiff's claim to damages. The Court specifically

rejects the Plaintiff's testimony that the water system was worth

$50,000 at the time the Receiver took it over. The Court accepts

as true and sworn testimony that only nine families, paying $15

per month, remained paying customers at the time of the

receivership. The Court finds that the plaintiff would not have

made a profit during the period of time that tne water system was

run by the receiver. To the contrary, the evidence is that he would

have lost money. There was credible testimony that the water

from the Carlisle water supply has been contaminated by the

actions of an Air Force base and is now without value. The Court

finds that there was nothing illegal or improper about the City of

Lubbock making water available to the customers who had

previously used Plaintiff's water system. Once these customers

had access to a better water system, there was nothing improper

about them changing to the new system. The Plaintiff has

attempted to frame this as a “taking.” The Court finds that no

taking occurred. To the contrary, the Plaintiff's water system was

operated by a receiver pursuant to a legitimate court order until a

better and more reliable source became available. The court finds

that the Plaintiff failed to prove that he has incurred any

compensable damages.

App. F-9

The Court holds that the plaintiff has failed to prove any

of his claims against any of the Defendants and that he has failed

to prove that he has suffered any compensable damages. The

court holds that the Plaintiff shall take nothing, and that the

Defendant shall have judgment for their costs.

SIGNED this the 17th day of September, 1993.

ALAN D. ALBRIGHT

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Appendix “G”

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

NO. 94-393

M.F. Guetersloh, Jr.,

Petitioner

v.

Texas, et al.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, No. 93-

8729.

ON CONSIDERATION of the petition for a writ of

certiorari herein to the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit.

IT IS ORDERED by this Court that the said petition be,

and the same is hereby, denied.

January, 9, 1995

A true copy by

WILLIAM K. SUTER,

Clerk of the Supreme Court

Of the United States

Signed by Frances Lorson,

Chief Deputy

App. G-1

Appendix “H”

NO. 3-90-161-CV

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS,

THIRD DISTRICT OF TEXAS,

AT AUSTIN

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.,

Appellant,

Ve

PUBLIC UTILITY COMMISSION OF TEXAS,

Appellee.

From the District Court of Travis

County, 353rd Judicial District,

No. 461,447, Honorable Hume

Cofer, Judge Presiding

Appellant, M. F. Guetersloh, Jr., complains that placing a

water supply company in receivership under the Public Utility

Regulatory Act, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 1446c, §§ 3(c)(4)

& 71A (1980) ("PURA") (see also Tex. Water Code Ann. §

13.412 (1988)), constituted a "taking" of his interest as a lien

HISTORY OF THE LAWSUIT

Guetersloh sold the Carlisle Water System to Ray Nichols

in 1978, retaining a vendor's lien and deed-of-trust lien to secure

App. H-1

payment of the note executed by the purchaser. At the time the

Public Utilities Commission (the “Commission") was charged

with regulation of water systems in this state PURA § 3(c)(4)

(1980); jurisdiction to regulate water supply systems was

transferred to the Texas Water Commission on March 1, 1986.

1985 Tex. Gen. Laws, ch. 795, § 10.003 at 2820-21 [Tex. Water

Code Ann. §§13.001 - 13.515 (1988 & Supp. 1991)]. Because

Nichols violated a final order of the Commission regulating the

water system, the district court of Travis County appointed a

receiver in 1983 to manage the system's assets and to continue

service to its customers. In 1988 the court vacated the

receivership.

In December 1985, while the 1983 receivership was still

pending, Guetersloh alleged an "inverse concemnation action" as

a lienholder of the property. The appellate record does not reflect

when Guetersloh foreclosed his lien to regain possession of the

water system. The gravamen of Guetersioh's complaint is that

after the receiver took possession of the water system, Nichols

defaulted on the promissory note and by the time Guetersloh was

able to foreclose his lien, the City of Lubbock had extended water

service to the Carlisle area so that the water system had little or no

continuing value.

Guetersloh originally sued the receiver and the City of

Lubbock, alleging that institution of the receivership constituted

a "taking" of his property in violation of Article I, Section 17 of

the Texas Constitution and the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments

of the federal constitution. The Commission intervened in the suit

and the Texas Water Commission and the individual

commissioners of each agency were added as defendants. All

defendants moved for summary judgment. In February 1989, the

district court in Lubbock County granted summary judgment in

favor of all defendants except the Commission and, on its own

motion, transferred the remaining action to the district court of

Travis County. Once in Travis County, the commission filed

App. H-2

another motion for summary judgment. In February 1990, the

Travis County court granted the Commission's motion for

summary judgment.

REVIEW OF SUMMARY JUDGMENTS

“A summary judgment is not entitled to the same

deference as a judgment resulting from a trial on the merits."

v. W 788 S.W.2d 933, 935 (Tex. App. 1990, no

writ). “The movant must prove beyond question that it was

entitled to judgment as a matter of law or this court must remand

the case for a trial on the merits." Id.

The Texas Supreme Court has established the standard for

reviewing a summary judgment:

. The movant for summary

judgment has the burden of

showing that there is no genuine

issue of material fact and that it is

entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.

. In deciding whether there is a

disputed material fact issue

precluding summary judgment,

evidence favorable to the non-

movant will be taken as true.

. Every reasonable inference must

be indulged in favor of the non-

movant and any doubts resolved

in its favor.

App. H-3

Nixon v. Mr. Property Management Co., 690 S.W.2d 546, 548-49

(Tex. 1985).

COMMISSION'S ENFORCEMENT POWERS

PURA section 71A enables the Commission to request

that the court appoint a receiver for a water utility that has

violated a final order of the Commission:

(a) At the request of the commission,

the attorney general shall bring

suit for the appointment of a

receiver to collect the assets and

carry on the business of a water

or sewer utility that violates a

final order of the commission or

allows any property owned or

controlled by it to be used in

violation of a final order of the

commission.

(b) The court shall appoint a receiver

if such appointment is necessary

to guarantee the collection of

assessment, fees, penalties, or

interest, to guarantee continued

service to the customers of the

utility, or to prevent continued or

repeated violation of the final

order.

(c) The receiver shall execute a bond

to assure the proper performance

of the receiver's duties in an

amount to be set by the court.

App. H-4

(d) = After appointment and execution

of bond the receiver shall take

Possession of the assets of the

utility specified by the court.

Until discharged by the court, the

receiver shall perform the duties

that the court directs to preserve

the assets and Carry on the

business of the utility and shall

strictly observe the final order

involved.

(e) Upon a showing of good cause by

_ the utility, the court may dissolve

the receivership and order the

assets and control of the business

returned to the utility.

The summary judgment proof reveals that on July 21,

1983, the district court of Travis County appointed a receiver to

take possession of and preserve the assets of Carlisle Water

Supply, to carry on its business and continue servicing its

customers, and to comply with the rules and regulations of the

Texas Department of Health and the Commission. The order

cited Nichols (d/b/a Carlisle Water Supply) for violating the

Commission's final order in docket number 4647 based on the

failure to: (1) repair the system's pressure tank; (2) clean up the

plan site and correct improvised equipment; (3) install

chlorination equipment; (4) provide monthly bills to each

customer; (5) maintain adequate service at an adequate pressure

at all times; (6) obtain approval from the Texas Health

Department for the water Service; (7) provide the Commission

with monthly progress reports; and (8) report service interruptions

to the Commission as ordered. The summary judgment proof

further reveals that the district court in Travis County vacated the

receivership and discharged the receiver on April 5, 1988, after

approving the receiver's final accounting. Guetersioh failed to

controvert any of the Commission's summary judgment proof.

POINTS OF ERROR IN GRANTING SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

Guetersloh complains that the trial court erred in granting

summary judgment for the reasons set forth in three points of

error: (1) the doctrine of sovereign immunity does not apply in an

action based on a "taking" of property; (2) he had sufficient

interest in the property to be protected from an unconstitutional

"taking"; and (3) he had raised sufficient questions of fact

regarding the damage to his property to preclude summary

judgment in favor of the Commission.

In addressing Guetersloh's first point of error, we note that

the Commission did not assert sovereign immunity as a ground on

which the court might grant summary judgment. The

Commission asserted sovereign immunity in support of its plea to

the jurisdiction, which the court did not grant. A motion for

summary judgment must state the specific grounds on which it is

sought, and the court should render judgment only if "the moving

party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law on the issues

expressly set out in the motion.” Tex. R. Civ. P. Ann. 166a(c)

(Supp. 1991) (emphasis added). The record does not indicate that

the trial court granted summary judgment on the ground of

sovereign immunity, a ground not asserted in the motion. This

Court cannot reverse summary judgment on any ground not

presented in the motion or otherwise in writing to the trial court

in support of the motion. Id. City of Houston v. Clear Creek

Basin Auth., 589 S.W.2d 671, 678 (Tex. 1979). We overrule

Guetersloh's first point of error as it presents nothing for review.

Point of error two, asserting that Guetersloh had a

property interest protected by the constitutional prohibition

against a governmental "taking," also misses the mark. The

Commission's motion for summary judgment asserts that

App. H-6

Guetersloh falsely asserted fee-simple title to the water system

because the summary judgment proof established that, at the time

he brought this suit he had conveyed the system to Nichols, only

retaining a lien against the property. However, the motion did not

assert Guetersloh's failure to own the property as a ground for

granting summary judgment. Rather, the Commission's motion

asserted that the receivership did not destroy Guetersloh's lien,

even though as lien holder he was compelled to seek permission

of the court before interfering with the operation of the

receivership. Again Guetersloh has not shown that the trial court

granted summary judgment on issues other than those expressly

set forth in the motion. Neither the court's order nor the motion

asserts lack of ownership as a ground for granting summary

judgment. For the reasons set forth above, we overrule point of

error two as it presents nothing for review.

In his third point of error Guetersloh argues that he has

raised fact issues regarding the extent of damages to his interest

in the receivership property and that these fact issues preclude

summary judgment. The Commission sought summary judgment

on the express grounds that the undisputed facts affirmatively

negate Guetersloh's cause of action. The Commission relies on

the summary judgment proof that, during the pendency of the

receivership, the Commission was acting within its statutory

authority to enforce its final order and, therefore, Guetersloh had

no cause of action against the Commission. Once the court

discharged the receivership, the Commission did not have

Possession of the property in question. Guetersloh did not file a

verified response to the Commission's motion for summary

judgment and presented no controverting summary judgment

proof.

We are persuaded by the Commission's argument that this

inverse condemnation lawsuit is but a thinly disguised attack on

the statutory authority of the Commission, authority now

transferred to the Texas Water Commission, to enforce its orders

App. H-7

regulating water systems. The state constitution requires the State

to pay adequate compensation when taking private property for

public use. Tex. Const. Ann. art. I, § 17 (1984). All private

property is held subject to the valid exercise of the State's police

power, but the state need not compensate for losses occasioned by

the proper and reasonable exercise of its police power. Lombardo

v. City of Dallas, 73 S.W.2d 475, 478-79 (Tex. 1934).

A valid exercise of police power does not constitute a

"taking" if : (1) the regulation is adopted to accomplish a

legitimate goal, meaning the regulation is "substantially related"

to the health, safety, or general welfare of the people; and (2) the

regulation is reasonable, not arbitrary. City of College Station v.

Turtle Rock Corp., 680 S.W.2d 802, 805 (Tex. 1984). The

regulation of water systems is substantially related to the general

welfare of the people. See Tex. Water Code Ann. § 13.001 (1988)

(chapter regulating water rates and services was adopted to protect

the public interest by assuring just and reasonable rates,

operations and services). The power to request that a court

impose a receivership on any public utility that violates a final

order of the Commission is a reasonable enforcement power,

subject to the due process protection of a court hearing. As a

matter of law the summary judgment evidence negated any action

for inverse condemnation because the Commission's authority to

seek a receivership against this utility was a valid exercise of the

state's policy power, rather than a "taking." See City of College

Station, 680 S.W.2d at 804 (whether a police power regulation is

proper or whether it constitutes a compensable taking is a question

of law and not of fact). The Commission has met its burden of

showing that there is no genuine issue of material fact and that it

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Guetersloh has

presented no remaining disputed fact issues that precluded

summary judgment on this ground.

We overrule Guetersloh's third point of error and affirm

the judgment of the trial court.

App. H-8

Bea Ann Smith, Justice

[Before Chief Justice Carroll, Justices Jones

Affirmed

Filed: August 14, 199]

App. H-9

and B. A. Smith]

Appendix “I”

CAUSE NO. 461,447

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.., § IN THE DISTRICT COURT

Plaintiff § §

S

v. § OF TRAVIS COUNTY,

§ TEXAS

8

PUBLIC UTILITY §

COMMISSION OF TEXAS §

Defendant § 353®° JUDICIAL DISTRICT

FINAL JUDGMENT

On February 21, 1990, this cause was heard on Defendant

Public Utility Commission of Texas’ motion for summary

judgment. Plaintiff appeared on his own behalf and Defendant

appeared by and through the Office of Attorney General. The

court has considered the pleadings and affidavits and attached

exhibits, and has heard argument. It appears to the court, and the

court so finds, that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact, and that defendant is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Wherefore, it is ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and

DECREED that summary judgment be, and it hereby is, entered

in favor of Defendant Public Utility Commission of Texas and

that Plaintiff have and recover nothing against Defendant Public

Utility Commission of Texas by his suit.

Signed February 23, 1990.

Original signed by the Honorable

HUME COFER, Presiding Judge

App. I-1

’ "

Appendix “J”

CAUSE NO. 85-512,245

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR... IN THE DISTRICT

Plaintiff COURT

Vv.

JAMES MILLER, D/B/A

CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY,

CITY OF LUBBOCK, TEXAS,

THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION AND ITS

COMMISSIONERS, PEGGY

ROSSON, DENNIS THOMAS,

JO CAMPBELL, HENRY

ROLLINS, GEORGE M.

COWDEN, TOMMIE

G. SMITH, THE TEXAS

WATER COMMISSION,

PAUL HOPKINS, RALPH

ROAMING, AND JOHN O.

HOUCHINS,

Defendants

OF LUBBOCK

COUNTY, TEXAS

137° JUDICIAL

DISTRICT

90? PP A AP LP LP LP LP LD LD LP OP A ED Chr CD CoD eas

2)

3

x

The Court, having considered the petition, pleadings and

Briefs in this cause, is of the opinion that the Motion for S

Judgment of the Defendants, Peggy Rosson, Dennis Thomas, Jo

Campbell, Henry Rollins, George M. Cowden, Tommie G. Smith,

Texas Water Commission, Paul Hopkins, Ralph Roaming, and

John O. Houchins is Proper and is hereby GRANTED.

SIGNED this the 13" day of February, 1989.

Original Signed By:

Cecil G. Puryear

Judge Presiding

App. J-1

a

Appendix “K”

CAUSE NO. 85-512,245

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.., IN THE DISTRICT

COURT

Plaintiff

v.

JAMES MILLER, D/B/A

CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY,

CITY OF LUBBOCK, TEXAS,

THE PUBLIC UTILITY

COMMISSION AND ITS

COMMISSIONERS, PEGGY

ROSSON, DENNIS THOMAS,

JO CAMPBELL, HENRY

ROLLINS, GEORGE M.

COWDEN, TOMMIE

G. SMITH, THE TEXAS

WATER COMMISSION,

PAUL HOPKINS, RALPH

ROAMING, AND JOHN O.

HOUCHINS,

OF LUBBOCK

COUNTY, TEXAS

137° JUDICIAL

DISTRICT

Defendants

:

:

The Court, having considered the petition, pleadings and

briefs in this cause, is of the opinion that:

(1) The Motion for Summary Judgment of Plaintiff,

M.F. GUETERSLOH, JR. is DENIED.

(2) | TheMotion for Summary Judgment of Defendant,

JAMES S. MILLER, is proper and hereby

GRANTED.

App. K-1

SIGNED this the 13% day of February, 1989.

Original Signed By:

Cecil G. Puryear

Judge Presiding

Appendix “L”

CAUSE NO. 85-512,245

M. F. GUETERSLOH, JR.., IN THE DISTRICT

COURT

Plaintiff

8

8

S

8

§

JAMES MILLER, D/B/A §

CARLISLE WATER SUPPLY, §

CITY OF LUBBOCK, TEXAS, §

THE PUBLIC UTILITY §

COMMISSION AND ITS §

COMMISSIONERS, PEGGY §

ROSSON, DENNIS THOMAS, §

JO CAMPBELL, HENRY §

ROLLINS, GEORGE M. §

COWDEN, TOMMIE :

G. SMITH, THE TEXAS 8

WATER COMMISSION, §

PAUL HOPKINS, RALPH §

ROAMING, ANDJOHNO. §

HOUCHINS, §

8

§

§

137* JUDICIAL

DISTRICT

FINAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

The Court, after examining the pleadings, briefs, and the

Summary Judgment evidence before it in the Motion for Summary

Judgment filed by the Defendant and Movant, City of Lubbock,

Texas is of the opinion and finds that the City of Lubbock, Texas,

is entitled to Summary Judgment as follows.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED, and

DECREED that plaintiff, M.F. Guetersloh, Jr. take notion against

defendant, City of Lubbock, Texas.

Defendants

App. L-1

All relief requested and not expressly granted is denied.

SIGNED this the 13" day of February, 1989.

Original Signed By:

Cecil G. Puryear

Judge Presiding

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Original Signed By:

Michael T. Griffin

State Bar No. 08463110

Attorney for Defendant

Appendix “M”

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

NO. D-1725. ) February 5, 1992

)

M.F. GUETERSLOH, JR. )

)

V. ) From TRAVIS County,

) 3™ District

PUBLIC UTILITY )

COMMISSION OF TEXAS)

Application of petitioner for writ of error to the Court of

Appeals for the Third District having been duly considered, and

the Court having determined that the application presents no error

of law which is of such importance to the jurisprudence of the

State as to require correction, or reversal of the judgment of the

Court of Appeals, it is ordered that said application be, and hereby

is, denied.

It is further ordered that applicant, M.F. Guetersloh, Jr.,

pay costs incurred on this application.

App. M-1

Appendix “N”

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF TEXAS

NO. D-1725. ) March 4, 1992

)

M.F. GUETERSLOH, JR. )

)

V. ) From TRAVIS County,

) 3™ District

PUBLIC UTILITY )

COMMISSION OF TEXAS)

Petitioner’s motion for rehearing of application for writ of

error having been duly considered, it is ordered that said motion

be, and hereby is overruled.

App. N-I

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.