Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Nurse v. United Air Lines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

as ee

97-522 JUL 17 1997

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT of the UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

GORDON NURSE,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CARLOS M. ALCALA, SBN 087094

ALCALA, MARTINEZ-SENFTNER AND VELEZ

1600 Sacramento Inn Way, Ste. 132

Sacramento, CA 95815

(916) 923-0550

Attorneys for Petitioner Nurse

a "

are eee Sree ew Winhotncine tein inti a

NN ARE Asin ic,

2 . avenging yikes eens”

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. WHETHER THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT HAS ENTERED A

DECISION IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUITS OF

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS ON THE

SAME IMPORTANT MATTER, TO WIT, IN AFFIRMING

SUMMARY JUDGMENT IN FAVOR OF AN EMPLOYER

WHEN SUPERVISORS AND MANAGEMENT HAVE

MADE DIRECT COMMENTS INDICATING

DISCRIMINATORY INTENT ON THE ISSUE OF AGE

DISCRIMINATION?

2. WHETHER THE NINTH CIRCUIT HAS ENTERED A

DECISION IN CONFLICT WITH OTHER CIRCUITS OF

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS ON THE

SAME IMPORTANT MATTER, TO WIT, IN AFFIRMING

SUMMARY JUDGMENT WHEN THE LOWER COURT

FAILED TO GRANT A CONTINUANCE TO PERMIT

PLAINTIFF TO MOVE TO COMPEL DISCOVERY AFTER

PLAINTIFF HAD BEEN DENIED ACCESS TO

POTENTIALLY FAVORABLE INFORMATION?

3. WHETHER THE NINTH CIRCUIT HAS DECIDED AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW IN A WAY

WHICH CONFLICTS WITH RELEVANT DECISIONS OF

THE UNITED STATES SUPREME COURT, TO WIT, IN

FAILING TO ACKNOWLEDGE A CIRCUMSTANTIAL

INFERENCE OF AGE DISCRIMINATION SUFFICIENT TO

PRECLUDE SUMMARY JUDGMENT IN _ DIRECT

CONTRAVENTION OF O’CONNOR V. CONSOLIDATED

COIN CATERS, — U.S. — (1996) AND FURNCO

CONSTRUCTION CO. V. WATERS, 438 U.S. 562 (1978).

(i)

LISTING OF PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The caption reflects all the parties to the proceedings.

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6

United Airlines has no parent companies and no non-wholly

owned subsidiaries.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........ecce000: (i)

LISTING OF PARTIES TO PROCEEDINGS .... (ii)

STATEMENT REQUIRED BY RULE 29.6...... (i1)

TABEEs OF AUTRE ESS occ ccc ccc eccenes (iv)

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ......... I

gin a yan sb 0:44 9 66 000 600 0s l

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Federal Case Law

O’Connor v. Consolidated Coin Caterers,

— U.S. (1996), 116 S. Ct. 1307 (1996),

IFO 1, 50. DE ASS (IGPS) 6 icc ccvvsses 7, 10

Furnco Construction Co. v. Waters, 438 U.S.

PI re urcavece rer ase ees oS iz

McDonnell-Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S.

FE eb a eee CR PEO Kan sa es 7,9

Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corp.,

613 F.2d 438, 445 (2d Cir. 1980) ........... 7

Shager v. Upjohn Co., 913 F.2d 398, 402-403

tan’ = Fe ee a eee a

Siegel v. Alpha Wire Corp., 894 F.2d 50, 55

I coy es we a a ee wh a 7

Federal Statutory Law

Supreme Court Rule 29.6.................. (ii)

a I ie os Fee doa beak oa eee l

Be Eo oa as i kee Reena aden l

MS PE ok ne oak se ho ae ee l

BO UA. TOE GR) OIG) o.oo ss vec cee ccssness 4

California Statutory Authority

Government Code section 12940 (a) (1) and (2) .. 1 |

Government Code section 12941 .............. 3 |

(iv)

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Petitioner, Gordon Nurse respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the unpublished opinion of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, affirming the

decision of the United States District Court for the Northern

District of California.

JURISDICTION

The Order of the Ninth Circuit sought to be reviewed was

issued on February 24, 1997 (see Appendix “B”). The date of

the order denying rehearing is April 18, 1997 (See Appendix

“C”). Jurisdiction for United States Supreme Court review is

based upon 28 U.S.C. 1254. Jurisdiction in the District Court

is based upon 28 U.S.C. 1441 (removal) and 28 U.S.C. 1331

and 1332 (federal question and diversity).

The statute involved in this case relative to disability

discrimination is California Government Code section 12940 (a)

(1) and (2), which provides:

“It shall be an unlawful employment practice, unless

based upon a bona fide occupational qualification, or

except where based upon applicable security regulations

established by the United States or the State of

California:

(a) For an employer, because of the race, religious

creed, color, national origin, ancestry, physical disability,

mental disability, medical condition, marital status, or

sex or any person, to refuse to hire or employ the person

or to refuse to select the person for a training program

leading to employment, or to bar or to discharge the

person from employment or from a training program

leading to employment, or to discriminate against the

person in compensation or in terms, conditions or

privileges of employment.

(1) Nothing in this part shall prohibit an employer from

refusing to hire or discharging an employee with a

physical or mental disability, or subject an employer to

any legal liability resulting from the refusal to employ or

the discharge of an employee with a physical or mental

disability, where the employee, because of his or her

physical or mental disability is unable to perform his or

her essential duties even with reasonable

accommodations, or cannot perform those duties in a

manner that would not endanger his or her health or

safety or the health and safety of others even with

reasonable accommodations.

(2) Nothing in this part shall prohibit an employer from

refusing to hire or discharging an employee who,

because of the employee’s medical condition, is unable

to perform his or her essential duties even with

reasonable accommodations, or cannot perform those

duties in a manner that would not endanger the

employee’s health or safety or the health or safety of

others even with the reasonable accommodations.

Nothing in this part shall subject an employer to any

legal liability resulting from the refusal to employ or the

discharge of an employee who, because of the

employee’s medical condition, is unable to perform his

or her essential duties, or cannot perform those duties in

a manner that would not endanger the employee’s heaith

and safety or the health or safety of others even with

reasonable accommodations.”

2

The statute in this case relative to age discrimination is

California Government Code section 12941 which provides:

“(a) It is unlawful employment practice for an employer

to refuse to hire or employ, or to discharge, dismiss,

reduce, suspend, or demote, any individual over the age

of 40 on the ground of age, except in cases where the

law compels or provides for such action. This section

shall not be construed to make unlawful the rejection or

termination of employment where the individual

applicant or employee failed to meet bona fide

requirements for the job or position sought or held, or to

require any changes in any bona fide retirement or

pension programs or existing collective-bargaining

agreements during the life of the contract, or until

January 1, 1980, whichever occurs first, nor shall this

section preclude such physical and medical examinations

of applicants and employees as an employer may make

or have made to determine fitness for the job or position

sought or held.

Promotions within the existing staff, hiring or promotion

on the basis of experience and training, rehiring on the

basis of seniority and prior service with the employer, or

hiring under an established recruiting program from high

schools, colleges, universities, and trade schools shall

not, in and from themselves, constitute a violation of this

section.

(b) This section shall not limit the right of an employer,

employment agency, or labor union to select or refer the

better qualified person from among all applicants for a

job. The burden of proving a violation of this section

shall be upon the person or persons claiming that the

violation occurred.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On September 14, 1994, Petitioner Nurse filed a complaint

for disability and age discrimination against United Air Lines

(“UAL”) in the San Francisco County Superior Court

(Complaint pp. 1-6; See Appendix D). Nurse asserted he was

discriminated against on the basis of his age. (Appendix D at p.

4). On October 31, 1994, UAL filed a Notice of Removal of

Action Under 28 U.S.C. section 1441 (a) and (b) (A). (See

Appendix E). On November 4, 1994, UAL filed its answer to

Nurse’s complaint. (See Appendix F).

UAL then filed Motion for Summary Judgment with

appropriate notice and supporting papers. Nurse filed his

Opposition and supporting papers. Nurse requested an

extension of time to oppose the Motion for Summary Judgment

in order to Compel response by UAL to outstanding discovery

requests. (Opposition to Summary Judgment p. 18; sce

Appendix G). UAL replied with supporting papers. UAL also

filed Objections to Nurse’s evidence. On February 8, 1996, the

lower court ruled that summary judgment be granted in favor of

UAL and against Nurse. (See Appendix A). On March 4,

1996, Nurse timely filed Notice of Appeal.

By Order (Appendix A), the District Court granted summary

judgment in favor of UAL. Timely appeal followed to the Ninth

Circuit which affirmed the grant of summary judgment (See

Appendix B), and denied request for rehearing with suggestion

for rehearing 2 banc. (See Appendix C).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

At the time summary judgment was considered, Nurse was

a 68-year-old aviation mechanic who worked for UAL for 26

years. Nurse first received Workers’ Compensation disability

leave in February 1981 because of a work-related knee injury.

4

He returned to work in September of that year. Nurse worked

as a qualified lead mechanic from 1984 until 1990.

On September 18, 1990, Nurse underwent surgery on both

knees, collecting Workers’ Compensation disability payments

for the period of time surrounding his surgery.

On May 23, 1991, Nurse’s doctor, Dr. Chronister, wrote

UAL’s Medical Department a detailed letter delineating Nurse’s

work restrictions upon his return. Nurse returned to work on

August 19, 1991. Upon Nurse’s return, his then supervisor, Mr.

Quam, informed him that he would prefer that Nurse retire.

On August 7, 1992, Nurse filed a grievance with his

supervisor, Peter Corallo (“Corallo”’). After filing the grievance,

Nurse was ostensibly given the opportunity to become a

temporary lead. From August 1992 until January 1993, Nurse

trained for the temporary lead mechanic position. Corallo made

it more difficult for him than other trainees to qualify as a

temporary lead mechanic by requiring him alone to demonstrate

proficiency in all four training areas. Additionally, Nurse was

not given an available light duty position which was given to

someone with less seniority. While there is no pre-established

period of time required to qualify for a lead position, Nurse

failed to qualify in six months, despite his prior lead mechanic

experience, even though lead mechanics typically qualify in less

than three months. Finally, in the summer of 1992, while

Corallo was training Nurse, Corallo was constantly asking

Nurse when will he be retiring and Corallo arranged for an

unsolicited retirement package to be sent to Nurse.

In January 1993, Nurse again began to experience knee

problems. On February 1, 1993, Nurse went out on Workers’

Compensation disability leave, from which he has yet to return.

Nurse filed a Workers’ Compensation claim for his February

1993 injuries. Based in the reports of two Qualified Medical

Examiners, Nurse was found to be a Qualified Injured Worker

under the Workers’ Compensation Act. During February and

March, Nurse used up his remaining entitlements to

5

ee eT

occupational leave, vacation, and non-occupational leave. On

April 11, 1993, Nurse was placed on Extended Illness Status

pursuant to his union contract. This is still Nurse’s present

status at UAL. On April 22, 1993, Nurse underwent another

operation on this left knee and on January 6, 1994, he had

surgery on his right knee.

On December 17, 1993, Nicholas Hyland (Personnel) told

Nurse “that [Hyland’s] office was bombarded by people retiring

and [Nurse] should do the same.” Nurse also alleges that other

“people had toid him he was too old to work.”

On January 4, 1994, Nurse filed a complaint with the

California Department of Fair Employment and Housing

(“DFEH”) alleging inter alia discrimination due to disability and

age in order to force Plaintiff to retire. As of February 3, 1993,

Plaintiff had failed to qualify as a temporary lead worker, a job

Plaintiff could do, and instead Plaintiff was placed in a much

more demanding job. ;

The District Court made reference to the following “direct

evidence” statements of UAL “suggesting retirement” after

return from disability leave, the conversation between Nurse and

Corallo [Nurse’s supervisor] where “retirement plans” were

discussed, and the “alleged” [disputed] suggestion made by

Hyland and his secretary that Nurse retire.

ARGUMENT

Firstly, a conflict in the Circuits is present on the important

issue of whether direct statements of age discrimination are

sufficient to preclude summary judgment. Nurse was the subject

of a plethora of direct statements that he should retire or that he

was too old. Nurse’s supervisor Quam informed him that he

would prefer that Nurse retire. Nurse’s training supervisor

Corallo was constantly asking Nurse when he would retire and

6

Corallo arranged for an unsolicited retirement package. Nurse

was informed by Hyland’s office [personnel] that he should

retire. Nurse was also told by others at UAL that he was too

old to work. In affirming summary judgment, the Ninth Circuit

ratifies the conclusion that this evidence is not direct evidence

of age discrimination, and, in so doing, ignores the conclusions

reached in the Seventh and Third Circuits. See Shager v.

Upjohn Co., 913 F.2d 398, 402-403 (7" Cir 1990); Siegel v.

Alpha Wire Corp., 894 F.2d, 50, 55 (3d Cir 1990).

Secondly, a conflict between the Ninth Circuit and Second

Circuit is present on the important issue of whether a

continuance to oppose summary judgment should be granted to

permit completion of discovery. The Ninth Circuit’s affirmance

of the lower court grant of summary judgment when a plaintiff

reasonably requests discovery of potentially favorable

information is in direct conflict with the Second Circuit. See

Quinn v. Syracuse Model Neighborhood Corp., 613 F.2d 438,

445 (2d Cir 1980).

Thirdly, the Ninth Circuit has decided an important question

of federal law, whether an inference of discrimination precludes

summary judgment in a way which conflicts with both

O’Connor and Furnmco. Among other palpable indicia of

discriminatory adverse action, Nurse was not given a light duty

position an da less senior employee was. This circumstance

alone is functionally very similar to the facts of O’Connor v.

Consolidated Coin Caterers, — U.S. --, 116 S.Ct. 1307, 134

L.Ed.2d 433 (1996). In O’Connor, an employee who was in the

protected class was at issue. Here, a less senior employee was

given a position Nurse could reasonably expect. O’Connor

makes clear that age discrimination cases only require evidence

adequate to create an inference that an employment decision

was based upon an illegal criterion. (Slip Opinion p. 5) To the

extent the Ninth Circuit found that Nurse’s case was not

actionable because it did not fit the rubric outlined by

McDonnell-Douglas v. Green, 411 U.S. 792 (1973), this

7

conclusion is in conflict with Furnco Construction Co. Vv.

Waters, 438 U.S. 562, 567 (1978).

The gravamen of Nurse’s claim is that the pattern of

activities perpetrated by UAL has the ineluctable effect of

constituting de facto retirement. That some of UAL’s activities

vis a vis Nurse are clothed in a “sheep’s clothing” of activities

ostensibly permitted by Workers’ Compensation law merely

gives those activities the patina of legality and regularity but

does not make them non-actionable. The inquiry concerning

whether sufficient circumstantial inferential evidence exists does

not end with the suggestion that Nurse has been properly a part

of the Workers’ Compensation process.

Fundamentally, Nurse has presented evidence which shows

that UAL’s conduct en foto, including its ostensibly lawful

Workers’ Compensation activities, is simply an artifice to

accomplish an illegal purpose. In determining that Nurse has

suffered no “actual employment discrimination” the Ninth

Circuit assumes its own conclusion that no adverse

consequences have befallen Nurse. The evidence of record

shows that UAL made it more difficult for Nurse to qualify as

lead mechanic, that UAL failed to place Nurse in a light duty

position while giving that position to a less senior employee, and

that Nurse, because of his Qualified Injured Worker (“QIW”)

status, was forced to use all available leave. Nurse found

himself in circumstances tantamount to forced retirement. That

this forced retirement ended with an ostensibly valid Workers’

Compensation finding that Nurse was QIW does not cleanse the

failure by UAL to place Nurse in an appropriate light duty

position ab initio.

Viewing the evidence in a light most favorable to Nurse, a

strong inference is present creating a genuine issue of material

fact on the issue of whether the entire process was a

premeditated monolithic effort by UAL to force Nurse to retire.

It is easy to conclude that UAL contemplated this predictable

outcome: that Nurse is effectively “put out to pasture”. It is a

8

hoary maxim of the common law that one is responsible for the

foreseeable consequences of one’s acts or omissions.

Nurse has suffered harm as the result of employment

discrimination. Nurse was not given a light duty position when

inter alia he had inherent reason to believe he would be given an

appropriate position as part and parcel of the Vocational

Rehabilitation process. Further evidence of record shows that

Nurse was not treated fairly in regard to his evaluations as a lead

mechanic and/or not given proper accommodation given his

condition. UAL has not made even a scintilla of a showing that

Nurse was unable to do the work or that any bona fide

occupational requirement of that position precluded Nurse from

doing the work. As such, not only was Nurse harmed by UAL’s

conduct, the inexorable conclusion is that UAL’s conduct was

impermissibly motivated by Nurse’s age and for no other reason.

That the pattern of activities visited upon Nurse by UAL

does not exactly fit the niche carved out by McDonnell Douglas

is not a basis for denying Nurse his day in court. That Nurse

concedes that the four-prong test of McDonnell Douglas does

not fit his circumstances exactly because he was not “rejected”

per se nor was there, strictly speaking, a position which

“remained open”, does not constitute an admission by Nurse

that he was not the subject of pernicious and pervasive

discriminatory conduct by UAL. It cannot be gainsaid that

Nurse was treated disparately, He was not given light duty. He

was evaluated unfairly in the lead mechanic position and treated

differently in other material respects. That Nurse, in good faith,

entered the Workers’ Compensation process in an effort to

resolve the issue of his proper position at UAL cannot be a basis

for finding that UAL’s conduct in leading up to his entry into

the Vocational Rehabilitation Process was either lawful or

benign. The McDonnell Douglas model was never intended to

be rigid, mechanistic or ritualistic. Furmco Construction Co. v.

Waters, 438 U.S. 562, 567 (1978).

It must be underscored that the object of the exercise in

9

opposing summary judgment is not for Nurse to rebut the

evidence which UAL presents in support of its theory of the

case but rather, in presenting the evidence which supports

Nurse’s theory of the case, to show that there exist(s) palpable

genuine issues of material fact which require that this matter be

tried. The pitfall that Defendants’ theory of the case be the

logical context in which these issues are viewed must be

avoided. That UAL presented its evidence first for purposes of

its motion for summary judgment cannot serve to deprive Nurse

of his theory of the case. Since Nurse presented a plethora of

admissible evidence which shows genuine issues, summary

judgment was inappropriate.

In reviewing the adjudication of motions for summary

judgment, it must be underscored that discrimination cases are

inherently cases of circumstantial evidence from which an

inference of discriminatory intent is drawn. The inference is one

of induction; deductive or logical certainty is not required. The

substantial evidence required to show genuine issues in the

context of cases of discrimination are those bits of admissible

evidence which show the inference that a dispute exists. To

deny summary judgment, the court need not determine how the

issue would be resolved, only that the possibility of inference of

discrimination from the evidence exists. In this vein, the Ninth

Circuit is in conflict with the raison d’etre of O’Connor.

CONCLUSION

Since Nurse was the subject of employment discrimination,

since Supreme Court case law militates the conclusion that both

direct and circumstantial evidence preclude summary judgment,

since UAL’s actionable conduct need not fall into any pre-

existing paradigm per se, since Nurse was not permitted full and

fair discovery and was thereby denied due process, and since

10

desirable uniformity on important issues is lacking among the

Circuits and between the Ninth Circuit and the Supreme Court,

Nurse respectfully requests that his Petition for Writ of

Certiorari be granted.

DATED: ye 1

| Respec fully aaa

Ch dre ty flasle

CARLOS M. ALCALA

11

rate Sn nen co wnt ace Ta

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

[Filed 2-8 1996]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Civil Action No. C 94-3774 SC

Gordon Nurse,

Plaintiff

VS.

United Air Lines,

Defendant.

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

I. INTRODUCTION

Defendant, United Air Lines, Inc. (“United”), brings this

summary judgment motion against plaintiff, Gordon Nurse

(“Nurse”), alleging that Nurse’s claim for disability

discrimination is preempted by the California Workers’

Compensation Act, Cal. Labor Code §§ 132a and 3600-3602.

United further argues that to the extent its actions are not

preempted, they do not constitute unlawful age discrimination

in violation of the Fair Employment and Housing Act

(“FEHA”), Cal. Govt Code § 12940 et seq.

II. LEGAL STANDARD

Summary judgment is proper only when there is no

genuine issue of material fact and, when viewing the evidence

in the light most favorable to the non-moving party, the

2a

movant is clearly entitled to prevail as a matter of law. Fed.

R. Civ. P. 56(c); Jung v. FMC Corp. , 755 F.2d 708, 710 (9"

Cir. 1985). Once a summary judgment motion is made and

properly supported, the adverse party may not rest on the

mere allegations of his pleadings, but must set forth specific

facts showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 56(e); Celotex Corp. v. Myrtle Nell Catrett, 477 U.S.

317 (1986). In addition, to withstand a motion for summary

judgment, the non-moving party must show that there are

“genuine factual issues that properly can be resolvéd only by

a finder of fact because they may reasonably be in favor of

either party.” Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 250 (1986). If the factual context makes the non-moving

party’s claim implausible, that party must come forward with

more persuasive evidence than would otherwise be necessary

to show that there is a genuine issue for trial. Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587

(1986). No longer can it be argued that any disagreement

about 2 material issue of fact precludes the use of summary

judgment. California Architectural Building Products, Inc.,

v. Franciscan Ceramics, Inc., 838 F.2d 1466, 1468, (9" Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 1006 (1988).

Bearing in mind that the evidence should be viewed in the

light most favorable to Nurse, as the non-moving party, the

relevant facts are summarized below. '

'The court takes notice of both plaintiff's and defendant’s objections to

evidence iubmitted in support of and opposition to defendant’s summary judgment

motion. [he court has evaluated both plaintiff's and defendant’s objections and

considerel only evidence to which either no objection was lodged or the objection

was overuled. Where appropriate, however, the court will comment on the

admissibiity of certain evidence considered for this motion.

ELLE, OTN OO SGA TT Be # 7

3a

Iii. FACTS AND BACKGROUND

Nurse is a sixty-eight year old aviation mechanic who has

worked for United for twenty-six years.

Nurse first received Workers’ Compensation disability

leave in February 1981 because of a work-related knee injury.

He returned to work in September of that year. Nurse

worked as a qualified lead mechanic from 1984 until 1990.

He then filed an EEOC charge when his temporary lead

credential was taken away from him in 1990.

On September 18, 1990, Nurse underwent surgery on both

knees, collecting Workers’ Compensation disability payments

for the period of time surrounding his surgery.

On May 23, 1991, Nurse’s doctor, Dr. Chronister, wrote

United’s Medical Department a detailed letter delineating

Nurse’[s] work restrictions upon his return. Nurse returned

to work on August 19, 1991. Nurse contends that upon his

return, his then supervisor, Mr. Quam, informed him that he

would prefer that Nurse retire.

On August 7, 1992, Nurse filed a grievance with his

supervisor, Peter Corallo (“Corallo”). After filing the

grievance, Nurse was given the opportunity to become a

temporary lead qualified. From August 1992 until January

1993, Nurse trained for the temporary. lead mechanic position.

Nurse contends that Corallo made it more difficult for him

than other trainees to qualify as a temporary lead mechanic by

requiring him alone to demonstrate proficiency in all four

training areas.” In addition, Nurse contends that while there

is no pre-established period of time required to qualify in six

*Nurse claims that he was required to show proficiency in the balance area, the

sub assembly areas of the NI and N2 modules, the assembly of turbine midframes,

rear frames, stator cases, and rotors, and the core area. Nurse contends that none

of the permanentiy qualified leads of each department are required to possess such

proficiency in all four areas.

4a

months, despite his prior lead mechanic experience, even

though lead mechanics typically qualify in less than three

months. Finally, Nurse claims that in the summer of 1992,

while Corallo was training Nurse, Corallo was constantly

asking Nurse when will he be retiring and Corallo arranged

for an unsolicited retirement package to be sent to Nurse. |

In January 1993, Nurse again began to experience knee |

problems. On February 1, 1993 Nurse went out on Worker’s 4

Compensation disability leave, from which he has yet to

return.

Nurse filed a Workers’ Compensation claim for his

February 1993 injuries. Based on the reports of two

Qualified Medical Examiners, Nurse was found to be a

Qualified Injured Worker under the Workers’ Compensation

Act. During February and March, Nurse used up his

remaining entitlements to occupational leave, vacation, and

non-occupational leave. On April 11, 1993, Nurse was

placed on Extended Illness Status pursuant to his union

contract. This is still Nurse’s present status at United. On

April 22, 1993, Nurse underwent another operation on his left

knee and on January 6, 1994, he had surgery on his right

knee.

Nurse claims that on December 17, 1993, Nicholas

Hyland (“Hyland”), Nurse’s supervisor, and Hyland’s

secretary both told him “that [Hyland’s] office was

bombarded by people retiring and [Nurse] should do the

same.” Nurse also alleges that other “people had told him he

was too old to work,” without specifically identifying those

other people or the circumstances under which those

statements were made.

On January 4, 1994, Nurse filed a complaint with the

California Department of Fair Employment and Housing

(“DFEH”) alleging harassment, retaliation, and the denial of

promotion, transfer, and accommodation. Nurse’s complaint

alleges that “on January 20, 1993 and continuing he was

TT

F iacaiteneniaateeatieiindiant

5a

denied reasonable accommodation for a knew [sic] disability.”

It further alleges that “[t]his was done in order to discriminate

against plaintiff due to disability and age in order to force

plaintiff to retire. As of February 3, 1993, plaintiff had failed

to qualify as a temporary lead worker, a job plaintiff could do

and instead plaintiff was placed in a much more demanding

job.”

IV. DISCUSSION

A. Workers’ Compensation Act Preemption

Nurse’s disability discrimination claim is barred by the

exclusive remedy provisions of the Workers’ Compensation

Act. Cal. Labor Code §§ 132a and 3600-3602; Langridge v.

Oakland Unified School Dist. 25 Cal. App. 4" 664, 670

(1994); Jimeno v. Mobil Oil Corp., 66 F.3d 1514, 1530 (9"

Cir: 1995) (The California workers’ compensation provisions

provide the exclusive remedy under California law for a

work-related physical disability discrimination claim.) Nurse

concedes that his disability discrimination claim is based on a

disability that arose from a work-related injury. However,

Nurse counters that his claim is not barred by the Workers’

Compensation Act as the alleged discrimination took place

prior to his 1993 disability leave. The original work-related

injury for which Nurse received workers’ compensation took

place in 1990. The entirety of Nurse’s disability

discrimination claim is based on discriminatory acts arising

from his work-related injuries and consequent special job

requirements. Workers’ compensation provides the exclusive

remedy for this type of discrimination regardless of when

Nurse actually went on disability leave. Accordingly, Nurse’s

disability discrimination claim is barred by the exclusive

remedy of the Workers’ Compensation Act.

B. The DFEH Claims

Nurse alleges that his complaint implicitly contains the

harassment and retaliation claims that were included in the

F |

6a

charge filed with the DFEH. United asserts that these claims

were not explicitly stated in his complaint and thus, are not

actionable.

Nurse’s complaint does not include the harassment and

retaliation claims that were included in the charge filed with

the DFEH. On January 4, 1994, Nurse filed a complaint with

the DFEH alleging harassment, retaliation, and the denial of

promotion, transfer, and accommodation. DFEH charges of

discrimination under FEHA not included in a plaintiff's |

federal complaint “cease[ ] to exist as a pleading in federal |

court.” Ficarola v. Lockheed Corp., 193 Cal. App. 3d 489,

493 (1993). Nurse’s complaint only alleges that since January

20, 1993, he has been denied a reasonable accommodation

due to disability and age and as a result he had failed to

qualify as a temporary lead worker. As Nurse’s complaint

does not include a cause of action for harassment or retaliation

for his filing of a grievance, he has voluntarily abandoned

these causes of action.

C. The remaining Claims

United asserts that all of Nurse’s remaining claims are

either time-barred or insufficient evidence exists to establish

a prima facie case of age discrimination.

1. Statute of Limitations

United argues that any cause of action for acts of alleged

discrimination that occurred more than one year before Nurse |

filed his DFEH charge are both time-barred and inadmissible |

as evidence of discrimination. “No complaint may be filed

{with the DFEH] after the expiration of one year from the

date upon which the alleged unlawful practice or refusal to

cooperate occurred.” Cal. Gov’t Code § 12960. After

receiving a no further action letter from DFEH, the plaintiff

has one in which to file a civil suit. Cal. Gov’t code § 12965.

Nurse’s complaint alleges that since January 20, 1993, he was

denied a reasonable accommodation for a known disability.

“This was done . . . in order to force plaintiff to retire. As

Ta

of February 3, 1993, plaintiff had failed to qualify as a

temporary lead worker, a job plaintiff could do and instead

plaintiff was placed in 2 much more demanding job.” It is the

wrongful act, that he was discriminated against based on his

age in the denial of the temporary lead mechanic position, that

triggers the statute of limitations period. Thus, United’s

alleged violation of FEHA, Cal. Gov’t Code § 12941,

occurred at the time of the wrongful act, on January 20, 1993

and after. The DFEH charge was filed on January 5, 1994,

less than one year after the wrongful act. Consequently,

Nurse’s claim of age discrimination based on the denial of the

temporary lead mechanic position is not time-barred.

As the other alleged previous acts of discrimination

occurred prior to January 5, 1993, they are not actionable.

Thus, the only act on which Nurse can base his age

discrimination claim is the denial of the lead mechanic

position. However, while these other acts are not themselves

actionable, they may be used by Nurse to establish elements

of his age discrimination claim, such as demonstrating that the

employer’s legitimate business reason is just a pretext to a

discriminatory motive.

2. Age Discrimination Claim

In addressing a FEHA cause of action, California courts

have relied on and adopted the analytical framework of the

federal Age Discrimination in Employment Act (“ADEA”)

and the legal analysis developed by the federal cases.

Stephens v. Coldwell Banker Commercial Group, Inc., 199

Cal. App. 3d 1394, 1399-1400 (1988). The basic allocation

of burdens and order of presentation of proof for an age

discrimination claim is as follows:

[Af plaintiff must first establish a prima facie case of

discrimination. If the plaintiff establishes a prima

facie case, the burden then shifts to the defendant to

articulate a legitimate nondiscriminatory reason for its

8a

employment decision. Then, in order to prevail, the

plaintiff must demonstrate that the employer’s alleged

reason for the adverse employment decision is a

pretext for another motive which is discriminatory.

Wallic v. J.R. Simplot Co., 26 F.3d 885 (9" Cir. 1994)

(quoting Lowe v. City of Monrovia, 775 F.2d 998, 1007 (9"

Cir. 1985), as amended, 784 F.2d 1407 (1986). The plaintiff

need only offer evidence which “gives rise to an inference of

unlawful discrimination.” Lowe, 775 F.2d at 1005 (quotation

omitted).

To establish a prima facie case of age discrimination, the

plaintiff must show that:

(1) he was a member of a protected class [age 40-70);

(2) he applied for a position for which he was qualified;

(3) despite his qualifications, he was rejected; and

(4) after his rejection, the position remained open and the

employer continued to seek substantially younger

applicants from persons of complainants qualifications.

McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802

(1973); Selby v. Pepsico, Inc., 784 F. Supp. 750, 754 (N.D.

Cal. 1991). The requisite degree of proof necessary to

establish a prima facie case for an ADEA claim on summary

judgment is minimal and does not even rise to the level of a

preponderance of the evidence. See Yartzoff v. Thomas, 809

F.2d 1371, 1375 (9" Cir. 1987), cert. Denied 498 U.S. 939

(1990). Neither party disputes that plaintiff, being sixty-eight

years old, was a member of the protected class or that he was

rejected for the lead mechanic position. United does,

however argue that Nurse has not satisfied the second and

forth elements necessary to establish a prima facie case.

Nurse argues that he satisfied the second criteria because

he applied for a position as lead mechanic and was qualified

Pani iat nee

9a

for such employment, despite his disability, based on his

training, experience, and seniority. Nurse worked as a n

aviation mechanic at United for twenty-six years and as a lead

mechanic from 1984 to 1990. On the other hand, despite

receiving training from August 1992 until January 1993,

Nurse failed to qualify as a temporary lead mechanic. Nurse

contends that United failed to qualify him for this position

because of his age. Specifically, Nurse alleges that United

wanted him to retire, thus his supervisor created unusually

difficult obstacles for qualification specifically for him. As

the question of whether Nurse was discriminated against in the

lead mechanic training program is the essence of his suit, the

court will not consider his failure to satisfactorily complete

the training program as evidence that he was not qualified for

the position. As United has presented no evidence that

Nurse’s prior work performance was unsatisfactory or that he

was otherwise unqualified, the court finds that plaintiff

satisfies the second element of a prima facie case in that he

applied for a position for which he was qualified.

United next argues plaintiff cannot satisfy the fourth

element: that after his rejection, the position remained open

and the employer continued to seek applicants from

substantially younger persons of complainant’s qualifications.

Nurse has not presented any evidence that after his rejection,

the employer continued to seek younger applicants with

complainant’s qualifications. Nurse merely refers to other

employees who successfully trained for temporary lead

mechanic positions without identifying their age or when they

were trained. While it may be true that two other individuals

trained for lead mechanic and qualified after only three

weeks, Nurse provides no evidence that either of these

individuals were younger than him. Consequently, Nurse

fails to establish the fourth element of a prima facie case of

age discrimination.

10a

Nurse argues that he need only “raise an inference of

disparate treatment to establish a prima facie case, not actual

proof of such treatment.” Warren v. City of Carlsbad, 58

F.3d 439, 442 (9" Cir. 1995). “Proof of disparate treatment

requires a showing that the employer treated some people less

favorably than others because of their age.” Selby, 784 F.

Supp. At 754. To establish that his employer treated him less

favorably than others because of his age, Nurse points to his

unsubstantiated allegation that there was 2 disparity in training

requirements between him and two other trainees and the

statements made to him regarding his retirement. As

discussed above, the disparity in training allegation, even if

proven, does not establish disparate treatment because Nurse

fails to identify the age of the other trainees. The statements,’

the statement suggesting retirement shortly after his return

from his first disability leave, the conversation between Nurse

and Corallo where Nurse’s retirement plans were discussed,

and the alleged suggestion made by Hyland and his secretary

that Nurse retire, are only direct evidence that United may

have been discriminatorily motivated in its actions, not that

Nurse was treated less favorably than other younger

employees. Motive supports proving plaintiff's claim to

pretext only after a prima facie case has been established and

defendant has proven a legitimate business purpose. As the

court finds plaintiff has not presented evidence sufficient to

establish a prima facie case of age discrimination, United’s

motion for summary judgment is granted.

V. CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, it is hereby ordered that

defendant’s motion for summary judgment is GRANTED.

Se

*Any other unidentified alleged statements are too vague and indefinite

to provide evidence of discrimination.

aeeemiiimesnmiaaieiiiiiiieiiiiiiel

lla

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated: February 8, 1996

/s/ Samuel Conti

United States District Judge

12a

APPENDIX B

[Filed 2-24 1997]

UNITED STATE COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

D. C. No. CV-94-03774-SC

GORDON NURSE

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

United Airlines, Inc.,

Defendant-Appellee.

MEMORANDUM

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of California

Samuel Conti, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted February 11, 1997

San Francisco, California

Before: GOODWIN, LEAVY and THOMAS, Circuit Judges.

Because the parties are familiar with the factual and

procedural background of this case, we will not repeat it here.

Gordon Nurse appeals the district court’s grant of summary

judgment in favor of defendant United Air Lines, Inc.

(“United”) in his action for age and disability discrimination

under the California Fair Employment and Housing ACT

13a

(“FEHA”), Cal. Gov’t Code 12900-12996. We affirm the

district court.

WORK-RELATED DISABILITY CLAIM

Nurse contends that the 1993 amendment to Cal Gov’t

Code § 12993(a) repealed the exclusive remedy and

preemption provisions of the California Workers

Compensation Act (“WCA”). We find it unnecessary to

decide this issue of state law. The 1993 amendment to §

12993(a) went into effect on January 1, 1994, see City of

Moorpark, 49 Cal. App. 4" at 980, 57 Cal. Rptr. At 160;

Cammack, 49 Cal. App. 4" at 220 n.9, 55 Cal. Rptr. At 847

n.9; and all the conduct of which Nurse complains occurred

prior to this time. Under these circumstances, the pre-

amendment version of § 12993(a) applies to Nurse’s

complaint and limits his remedies to the WCA. See Adkins v.

State, 50 Cal. App. 4" 1802, _—in.28, 59 Cal. Rptr. 2d 59,

71 n.28 (1996) (applying pre-amendment § 12993(a) to

conduct which occurred prior to January 1, 1994).

AGE DISCRIMINATION CLAIM

We review a district court’s grant of summary judgment

de novo. Warren v. City of Carlsbad, 58 F.3d 439, 441 (9"

Cir. 1995), cert. Denied, U.S. ___, 116 S. Ct. 1261, 134

L. Ed. 2d 209 (1996). We must determine whether the

evidence, viewed in a light most favorable to the non-moving

party, presents any genuine issues of material fact and

whether the district court properly applied the law. /d.

California courts evaluating claims of age discrimination

under the California Fair Employment and Housing Act

(“FEHA”) have adopted the standards and analytical

framework of the federal Age Discrimination in Employment

Act (“ADEA”), 29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seq., as developed in

l4a

the federal cases interpreting and applying the ADEA.

Stephens v. Coldwell Banker Commercial Group, Inc., 199

Cal. App. 3d 1394, 1399-1400, 245 Cal. Rptr. 606, 609

(1988). ;

To establish a prima facie case of discrimination, a

plaintiff must offer evidence of discriminatory intent sufficient

to give rise to an inference of unlawful discrimination. Midds

v. Schindler Elevator Corp., 1996 WL 734053, at *3 (9" Cir.

Dec. 24, 1996). “The prima facie case may be based either

On a presumption arising from the factors such as those set

forth in McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792,

802, 93 S. Ct. 1817, 1824, 36 L. Ed. 2d 668 (1973), or by

more direct evidence of discriminatory intent.” Schnidrig v.

Columbia Machine, Inc., 80 F.3d 1406, 1409 (9th Cir.)

(Quoting Wallis v. J.R. Simplot Co., 26 F.3d 885, 889 (9"

Cir. 1994)), cert. Denied, U.S. ___, 117 S. Ct. 295, 136

L. Ed. 2d 214 (1996).

The district court granted United’s motion for summary

judgment because it found that Nurse had failed to establish

a prima facie case. The court held that Nurse did not prove

the fourth prong of the McDonnell Douglas test because he

had failed to present any evidence that any of the other

mechanics who trained to be and eventually were qualified for

the temporary lead position were younger than Nurse.

Nurse conceded at oral argument that he had not met the

McDonnell Douglas test, but urges that McDonnell Douglas

is not the exclusive method by which a prima facie case may

be established. To be sure, a plaintiff may establish a prima

facie case of age discrimination without satisfying the four-

pronged McDonnell Douglas test by presenting actual

evidence, direct or circumstantial, of the employer’s

discriminatory motive. Lowe v. City of Monrovia, 775 F.2d

998, 1006-07, 1009 (9" Cir. 1985), as amended, 784 F.2d

1407 (1986). “When a plaintiff does not rely exclusively on

the presumption but seeks to establish a prima facie case

lSa

through the submission of actual evidence, very little such

evidence is necessary to raise a genuine issue of fact regarding

an employer’s motive; any indication of discriminatory motive

. . may suffice to raise a question that can only be resolved by

a factfinder.” Schnidrig, 80 F.3d at 1409 (quoting Lowe, 775

F.2d at 1009).

In support of his theory, Nurse cites to various incidents

over a span of years which he alleges show an animus toward

him based on his age. However, his claim of actual

employment discrimination based on age is limited to one

episode. Nurse claims that his supervisor made it more

difficult for him than other trainees to qualify as a temporary

lead mechanic by requiring him to demonstrate proficiency in

all areas of engine maintenance. He claims this requirement

prevented him from qualifying for five months, while others

qualified in a matter of weeks.

However, no ultimate determination as to whether Nurse

would obtain the position was made because Nurse left the job

due to disability. Thus, the issue has not been resolved.

Nurse has not been terminated; he has not been denied

promotion; he has not been denied position. In short, no

actual employment discrimination has yet occurred. United

might well certify him for the position upon his return. Thus,

no actionable employment discrimination has occurred and

summary judgment on this claim was proper. See e.q.,

Candelore v. Clark County Sanitation Dist., 975 F.2d 588,

590 (9" Cir. 1992) (“Because Candelore failed to identify

employment benefits or opportunities that she was entitled to

but did not receive, she has not stated a prima facie case of

discrimination under Title VII.”).

We have carefully considered the balance of Nurse’s

arguments and find them without merit. We affirm the

district court’s refusal to extend the time for discover, its

finding that Nurse had abandoned his claims for harassment

and retaliation, its finding that any acts of discrimination prior

l6a

to Janury 5, 1993 are time-barred, and its grant of summary

judgment on Nurse’s work-related disability claim. We will

not coisider Nurse’s claims under the Americans with

Disabilties Act for the first time on appeal.

The district court’s grant of summary judgment in favor

of Unitd is AFFIRMED.

Dated: 4-28 1997

/s/ Gail Nelson

Deputy Clerk

Gordon Nurse

Plaintiff - Appellant

United Airlines

Defendant - Appellee

17a

George P. Harrus

916/923-0550

Suite 119

[COR LD NTC ret]

1600 Sacramento Inn Way

Sacramento, CA 95815

Carlos M. Alcala, Esq.

916/923-0550

[COR LD NTC ret]

Alcala, Martinez-Senftner & Velez

1600 Sacramento Inn Way

Sacramento, CA 95815

Teresa A. Beaudet, Esq.

213/229-9500

25" Floor

[COR LD NTC ret]

Jerome M. Jauffret, Esq.

213/229-9500

25" Floor

[COR LD NTC ret]

Mayer, Brown & Platt

350 S. Grand Ave.

Los Angeles, CA 90071-1503

18a

EXHIBIT C

[Filed 4-18 1997]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Case No. 96-15480

D.C. No. CV-94-03774-SC

GORDON NURSE

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

UNITED AIRLINES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

j

\

>.

Before: GOODWIN, LEAVY and THOMAS, Circuit Judges.

The panel has Yoted to deny the petition for rehearing and

to reject the sugg¢stion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for an en

banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P.

35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for

rehearing en banc is rejected.

ORDER

19a

EXHIBIT D

[Filed 9-14 1994]

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

SAN FRANCISCO COUNTY, CALIFORNIA

Case Number 963704

GORDON NURSE,

Plaintiff,

V.

UNITED AIRLINES,

Defendant.

COMPLAINT

Discrimination

The plaintiff is claiming to have suffered wage loss,

hospital and medical expenses, general damage and attorney’s

fees and costs. The plaintiff prays for compensatory damages

according to proof and attorney’s fees and costs. The cause

of action indicated is Intentional Tort.

/s/ Carlos M. Alcala

Attorney for Plaintiff

20a

CAUSE OF ACTION

Intentional Tort

Attachment to Complaint

Plaintiff, Gordon A. Nurse alleges that defendant United

Airlines was the legal cause of damages to plaintiff. By the

following acts or omissions to act, defendant intentionally

caused the damage to plaintiff on January 20, 1993 at San

Francisco, CA.

“On January 20, 1993 and continuing plaintiff was

denied a reasonable accommodation for a knew. [sic]

disability.

This was done in order to discriminate against plaintiff

due to disability and age in order to force plaintiff to

retire.

As of February 3, 1993, plaintiff had failed to qualify

as a temporary lead worker, a job plaintiff could do

and instead plaintiff was placed in a much more

demanding job.

On January 5, 1994, plaintiff filed a charge of

discrimination with the Department of Fair

Employment and Housing.

On January 21, 1994, plaintiff received a right to sue

letter.

Plaintiff has no other plain, speedy or adequate

remedy at law.”

aii

2la

STATEMENT OF DAMAGES

Plaintiff's damages are accruing. The damages for

Gordon Nurse, are the following:

Special Damages $ 100,000.00

General Damages $ 900,000.00

Total Damages $1,000,000.00

Date: 9-7 1994

/s/ Carlos M. Alcala

) Attorney at Law

VERIFICATION

I declare that I am the plaintiff in this matter. I have read

the foregoing Complaint and found it to be true to the best of

my knowledge.

I declare under penalty of perjury that the foregoing is

true and correct. Executed on this 29" day of June, 1994, in

Sacramento, California.

SOR. 6 ot me Bt ote

/s/ Gordon Nurse

22a

EXHIBIT E

[Received 10-31 1994]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

GORDON NURSE

Plaintiff,

v.

UNITED AIRLINES,

Defendant.

NOTICE OF REMOVAL OF ACTION

UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1441(a) and (b) (DIVERSITY)

To the clerk of the above-entitled court:

PLEASE TAKE NOTICE that, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1441(a) and (b), defendant United Air Lines, Inc.

(“UNITED”), erroneously sued herein as United Airlines,

hereby removes the state court action described below to this

Court. In support thereof, UNITED states as follows:

1. On September 14, 1994, Case No. 963704, entitled

Gordon Nurse v. United Airlines, and Does | to 20, was filed

in the Superior Court of the State of California for the County

of San Francisco. A copy of the Summons and Complaint,

together with a Statement of Damages, a Notice and a Status

and Setting Conference Statement, are attached hereto as

Exhibit A and incorporated herein by this reference. These

are the only process, pleadings and/or orders which have been

served upon UNITED.

23a

2. The first date upon which UNITED received a copy of

the Complaint was September 28, 1994, when UNITED was

served with a copy of the Complaint, a Summons from the

Superior Court of the State of California for the County of

San Francisco, a Statement of Damages, a Notice and a Status

and Setting Conference Statement. Such service, which was

made fewer than 30 days propr to the filing of this Notice of

Removal of Action, was the first notice UNITED received of

the pendency of this action and, accordingly, of the existence

of diversity jurisdiction between the parties.

3. This action is a civil action over which this Court has

original jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §1332. It may be

removed to this Court by UNITED pursuant to the provisions

of 28 U.S.C. §1441(a) and (b) because it is a civil action

between citizens of different states wherein the matter in

controversy exceeds the sum of $50,000.00, exclusive of

interest and costs, in that:

(a) UNITED is informed and believes that plaintiff

GORDON NURSE was, at the time of the filing of this

action, and still is, a citizen of the State of California.

(b) UNITED was, at the time of the filing of this

action, and still is, a corporation incorporated under the laws

of the State of Delaware, having its principal place of business

in Cook County, State of Illinois. Thus, UNITED is a citizen

of the states of Delaware and Illinois, and complete diversity

exists between UNITED and plaintiff GORDON NURSE.

(c) Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1441(a), for purposes of

removal, the citizenship of defendants sued under fictitious

names should be disregarded. Thus, the citizenship of Does

1-20 should be disregarded.

(d) In the Statement of Damages served on UNITED

currently with his Complaint, Plaintiff GORDON NURSE

alleges that (1) his special damages in this action total at least

$100,000, and that (2) his general damages in this action total

a minimum of $900,000, for a total of at least $1,000,000.00.

24a

4. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1446(d), UNITED has served

upon Plaintiff GORDON NURSE a Notice to Plaintiff of

Filing of Notice of Removal of Action, a copy of which is

attached hereto as Exhibit B and incorporated herein by this

reference.

5. Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1446(d), UNITED has filed

with the Superior Court of California for the County of San

Francisco, and served upon Plaintiff GORDON NURSE, a

Notice to Superior Court of Filing of Notice of Removal of

Action, a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit C and

incorporated herein by this reference.

DATED: October 27, 1994

MAYER, BROWN & PLATT

WILLIAM J. REIFMAN

JEROME M. JAUFFRET

/s/ Jerome M. Jauffret

Attorneys for Defendant

United Air Lines, Inc.

25a

EXHIBIT F

[Received 11-4 1994]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case Number C94-3774-SC

GORDON NURSE,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

UNITED AIRLINES,

Defendant.

ANSWER OF DEFENDANT

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.

TO PLAINTIFF’S

COMPLAINT FOR DAMAGES

Pursuant to Rule 8 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, defendant United Air Lines, Inc. (“United”),

erroneously sued herein as United Airlines, hereby answers

plaintiff Gordon Nurse’s (“plaintiff”) Complaint for Damages

as follows:

1. Answering the averments in { 3.a. of plaintiff's

Complaint, United admits that it is a business organization,

and affirmatively states that it is a corporation incorporated in

the State of Delaware with its principal place of business in

Cook County, Illinois.

26a

2. United is without knowledge or information sufficient

to form a belief as to the truth or falsity of the averments in

{ 3.b. of plaintiff's Complaint, and on that basis denies those

averments.

3. Answering the averments in ¢ 5 of plaintiff's

Complaint, United admits that plaintiff has alleged in his

Complaint that his purported damages occurred within the

jurisdictional area of the Superior Court of the State of

California for the County of San Francisco. Other than so

admitted, United denies each and every averment in ¢ 5 of

plaintiff's Complaint, and specifically denies that United has

caused plaintiff any of the damages alleged in his Complaint,

or any other damages of any kind, or that United is liable to

plaintiff for any damages, or for any sum whatsoever, or at

all.

4. United denies each and every averment in ¢ 8 of

plaintiff's Complaint.

5. Answering the averments in { 9 of plaintiff's

Complaint, United admits that plaintiff has alleged in his

Complaint that the relief he seeks therein against United is

within the jurisdiction of the Superior Court of the State of

California for the County of San Francisco. Other than so

admitted, United denies each and every averment in ¢ 9 of

plaintiff's Complaint, and specifically denies that plaintiff is

entitled to any of the relief in [sic] seeks in his Complaint, or

to any relief whatsoever, against United.

6. Answering the averments in ¢ 10 of plaintiff's

Complaint, United admits that plaintiff has prayed in his

Complaint for judgment, for costs of suit, for such relief as is

fair, just and equitable, for compensatory damages according

to proof and for attorneys’ fees and costs. Other than so

admitted, United denies each and every allegation in { 10 of

plaintiff's Complaint, and specifically denies that United has

caused plaintiff any of the damages alleged in his Complaint,

or any other damages of any kind, or that United is liable to

ieee aetna

27a

plaintiff for any damages of any kind, or for costs of suit, or

for attorneys’ fees and costs, or for any sum whatsoever, or

that plaintiff is entitled to judgment, or to costs of suit, or to

damages of any kind, or to attorneys’ fees and costs, or to any

type of relief whatsoever, against United.

7. Answering the averments in { 11 of plaintiff's

Complaint, united admits that plaintiff has attached to his

Complaint what he purports to be a cause of action for an

intentional tort. Other than so admitted, United denies each

and every averment in { 11 of plaintiff's Complaint.

8. United denies each and every averment in ¢ IT-1 of the

First Cause of Action in plaintiff's Complaint, except that:

a. United admits that as of February 3, 1993, plaintiff

had failed to qualify as a temporary lead worker;

b. United admits that plaintiff has filed a charge of

discrimination with the Department of Fair Employment and

Housing (Charge No. FEP 93-94 E2-1063-00-c); however,

United is without knowledge or information sufficient to form

a belief as to the truth or falsity of the averment that plaintiff

filed that discrimination charge on January 5, 1993, and on

that basis denies that averment;

c. United is without knowledge or information

sufficient to form a belief as to the truth or falsity of the

averment that on January 21, 1994 plaintiff received a right

to sue letter, and on that basis denies that averment; and

d. answering the averment that plaintiff has no other

plain, speedy or adequate remedy at law, United denies that

plaintiff is entitled to any remedy whatsoever against United

in connection with the averments in his Complaint, or for any

other reason whatsoever.

28a

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES

FIRST AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Failure to State A Cause of Action)

1. Neither plaintiff's Complaint nor any cause of action

asserted therein states facts sufficient to constitute a cause of

action against United.

SECOND AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE |

(Lack of Proximate Cause) ‘\

2. Upon information and belief, United alleges that the

acts and omissions of plaintiff and/or persons or entities other

than United were the sole and proximate cause of the

damages, if any, which plaintiff alleges in his Complaint.

THIRD AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Waiver and Estoppel)

3. Upon information and belief, United alleges that

plaintiff has waived and is estopped and barred from alleging

the matters set forth in his Complaint and each of the causes

of action asserted therein.

FOURTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Failure to Mitigate Damages)

4. Upon information and belief, United alleges that

plaintiff has failed to mitigate his damages, and to the extent

of such failure to mitigate, any damages awarded to plaintiff

should be reduced accordingly.

29a

FIFTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(California Civil Code Section 1431.2)

5. United alleges that its liability, if any, for non-

economic loss must be prorated according to the provisions of

California Civil Code § 1431.2.

SIXTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Workers Compensation)

6. Plaintiff is barred from seeking any damages from

purported physical or emotional injuries allegedly suffered as

a result of his employment in that the sole and exclusive

remedy in this respect is and was governed by California

Worker’s Compensation Act, Labor Code Sections 3320, et

seq.

SEVENTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Statue of Limitations)

7. Plaintiff is barred from seeking any damages from

purported physical or emotional injuries allegedly suffered as

a result of his employment in that such a claim is barred by

the applicable statutes of limitation, including, without

limitation, California Code of Civil Procedure § 340 (3).

EIGHTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Justification or Privilege)

8. United’s alleged actions, if done at all, are justified

and/or privileged since, at all relevant times herein, United

acted in accordance with United’s corporate and

administrative policies.

30a

NINTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Justification or Privilege)

9. United’s alleged actions, if done at all, are justified

and/or privileged since, at all relevant times herein,

Defendants acted pursuant to its rights and duties under the

applicable laws, including, without limitation, the applicable

laws of the United States and of the State of California.

TENTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Failure to Exhaust Administrative Remedies)

10. Upon information and belief, United alleges that

plaintiff has failed to exhaust his administrative remedies in

connection with the allegations in his Complaint.

ELEVENTH AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSE

(Subsequently Discovered Defenses)

11. United alleges as an affirmative defense that it intends

to rely upon such other applicable defenses as my become

apparent at subsequent stages of this action, and hereby

reserves the right to assert such defenses.

PRAYER

WHEREFORE, United prays for judgment as follows:

1. That plaintiff take nothing by his Complaint;

2. That the Complaint and each purported cause of action

thereof be dismissed with prejudice;

3. For all costs and fees herein incurred; and

4. For such other and further relief as the Court deems

just and proper.

3la

DATED: November 2, 1994

MAYER, BROWN & PLATT

WILLIAM J. REIFMAN

JEROME M. JAUFFRET

/s/ Jerome M. Jauffret

Attorneys for Defendant

United Air Lines, Inc.

32a

EXHIBIT G

[Filed 1-12 1996]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Case Number C94-3774-SC

GORDON NURSE,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

UNITED AIRLINES,

Defendant.

OPPOSITION TO

SUMMARY JUDGMENT/ADJUDICATION;

POINTS & AUTHORITIES;

STATEMENTS OF FACTS;

DECLARATIONS IN SUPPORT

INTRODUCTION

COMES NOW the Plaintiff in the above-entitled and

numbered cause and files this, his Opposition to Summary

Judgment/ Adjudication, Statement of Facts, Memorandum of

Points and Authorities, and Declarations in support thereof.

Plaintiff also objects to the declaration of Nicholas Hyland,

attached to Defendant’s Motion, for failure to comply with

Rule 56(e), FRCP, in that the declaration is not based on

personal knowledge in large part, and includes exhibits

33a

inadmissible as hearsay, consisting of unauthenticated doctors’

reports.

Mr. Hyland testified during his deposition, the relevant

pages attached hereto as an exhibit, that he had no knowledge

of these reports other than that they were supplied by his

attorney and attached to the declaration his attorney had

prepared for his signature. (See Hyland dep. 32:11-34:2,

35:17-36:8).

Plaintiff opposes Defendant’s Motion for Summary

Judgment/Adjudication on several grounds, including but not

limited to the fact that Defendant has only sought summary

judgment on Plaintiff's age and disability claims, completely

ignoring Plaintiff's claims that he was harassed, denied

promotion, denied a transfer, denied accommodation, and was

retaliated against and forced out of the workforce. (See

Verified DFEH Complaint, Exhibit 2). Plaintiff also opposes

said motion on the ground that Defendant was willfully and

intentionally in bad faith committed discovery abuses in that

the parties had agreed on informal extensions of time for

production of documents and other discovery, and Plaintiff

extended the time for Defendant to respond to his request for

production, to his request for admissions and interrogatories

to December 18, 1995. However, Defendant failed to

produce all the documents requested by that date, the day of

the Plaintiff's deposition. Almost daily requests resulted in

almost daily assurances from Defendant’s attorney that the

documents and answers to interrogatories and request for

admissions were forthcoming. First, Defendant claimed that

because of the holidays, he could not get in touch with his

clients at United in their main office in Chicago. Then, after

the holidays, on the 29" of December, Defendant’s attorney

again assured Plaintiff's attorney that the documents and other

discovery were forthcoming, and that they would be faxed

post haste. However, as of this writing, January 3 through

the 5", Defendant has still failed to either produce all the

34a

documents, respond, or object, despite the fact that Plaintiff

has complied with all discovery requests from the Defendant,

and agreed to extension after extension of time for Defendant

to respond. As Defendant has now filed a Motion for

Summary Judgment, it is clear that Defendant intends to deny

Plaintiff access to documents to support his Opposition,

preventing Plaintiff from filing her Opposition within 21 days

of the hearing date as required by the local rules, and to cut

off Plaintiff's access to evidence to assist in defeating

Defendant’s Motion. This misuse of good faith discovery

agreements between counsel subverts the goals of the

discovery process and is evidence of bad faith on the part of

opposing counsel, an officer of the Court. Plaintiff's counsel,

in her declaration, attached, reviews these agreements

between her and opposing counsel and requests a denial of this

Motion on the basis that failure to produce this discovery as

agreed has seriously impaired Plaintiff's ability to oppose this

motion. CCP 437 (c) (h).

STATEMENT OF FACTS

Plaintiff is an Aviation Mechanic who has worked for

United for the past twenty-six years. (Exhibit 3, paras. 1 and

2). In August of 1991, Mr. Quam, his then supervisor,

requested a medical evaluation on the Plaintiff from his

employer. (Exhibit 2, p. 1, para. 1). Following this

evaluation, Mr. Quam informed the Plaintiff that he would

prefer if the Plaintiff would retire. id. There were light duty

jobs available at United, such as a vacancy in D93 for which

the Plaintiff was passed over and a non-disabled employee,

Mr. Casey, hired instead. Both the Plaintiff and Mr. Casey

were under the union contract. Mr. Casey had less seniority

than the Plaintiff, and less than or an equal amount of

experience. The job paid one dollar more per hour than the

Ee ae

35a

Plaintiff's mechanic’s pay. id. The Plaintiff had applied for

this position as a reasonable accommodation since it offered

more flexibility in working within the Plaintiff's work

restrictions prescribed by his Orthopedic Surgeon, Dr. Wayne

Chronister. (Id at page 2, top para.). Plaintiff was passed

over for other light duty jobs in D92, D93 and D91, jobs

which were given to non-disabled employees such as Ivan,

Delores, McClellan and Vega. id. Plaintiff was also denied

a day shift job in the nut and bolt recovery area. (Plaintiff's

dep. 46:2-46:21).

Following the Plaintiff's return to work (in 1991), United

found him a job assembling CF6 stator cases. (Hyland dep.

18:24-19:19). Plaintiff was able to perform his job

assembling stator cases without difficulty. (Plaintiff's decl..

para. 5). (Plaintiff's dep. 46:25 - 50:4). Plaintiff never

complained to his supervisor, Corallo about the work

assembling stator cases, and Corallo did not have any

complaints about the Plaintiff's work. (Corallo dep. 14:10-

14:15). Plaintiff could return to work at United at a position

within his classification of shop mechanic (assuming his

doctors allowed him to return to work). (Hyland dep. 43:23-

44:3). Plaintiff believes he could return to work at United, if

not assembling stator cases then in another position within his

current work restrictions. (Plaintiff's decl. Para.6). The

average age of shop mechanics is close to fifty. (Hyland dep.

56:4-56:12). There is at least one other shop mechanic who

uses a cane like Mr. Nurse. (Hyland dep. 56:22-56:25).

Other shop mechanics work at United who have industrial

back injuries. (Hyland dep. 57:8-57:11). Another shop

mechanic who was totally blind was employed by United in a

line position after his injury. (Hyland dep. 54:8-54:24).

Plaintiff filed a grievance with his supervisor Pete Corallo

on August 7, 1992. (Exhibit 2, p. 2 para. 3; Hyland dep.

22:10-21). Following his grievance, Pete Corallo decided,

after consulting with his supervisor, Nicholas Hyland, to

36a

grant Plaintiff the opportunity to become temporary lead

qualified. (Hyland dep. 23:4-10). Plaintiff worked from

August of 1992 through January of 1993 training for

temporary lead. Plaintiff was told he could not proceed with

a union grievance because the temporary lead job was

considered management. (Plaintiff's dep. 78:18 - 80:6).

Plaintiff had already worked as a qualified lead from 1984

until 1990. (Plaintiff's dep. 74:14 - 74:20). Plaintiff had

filed an EEOC charge when his temporary lead credential was

taken away from him in 1990. (Plaintiff's dep. 75:9-75:17).

Plaintiff started training for temporary lead in about

August of 1992 and continued until Mr. Nurse went out on

disability in February of 1993. (Plaintiff's dep. 59:15 -

72:20). However, Pete Corallo made it more difficult for the

Plaintiff to qualify for temporary lead than it should have

been. (Ex. 2 p. 2 paras. 3 and 4). Plaintiff was put through

difficult training and then not given the job. Training usually

lasted three weeks. United treated the Plaintiff differently

than anyone else who trained for the job. (Plaintiff's dep.

114:7-115:8). Vega, who is not disabled, trained for the job

for three weeks and go the job. Mr. Casey, who is also not

disabled, trained for the job for three weeks and got the job.

(Plaintiff's dep. 117:2-117:14, 122:1-122:25). After Plaintiff

had been given the job assembling stator cases, he

subsequently applied for a position which involved mainly

sitting. The job was given instead to Mr. Casey, who had less

seniority than thé Plaintiff, is not disabled, had less or equal

experience to the,Plaintiff, and both were covered by the

union contract. (Plaintiff's dep. 160:25-164:16).

Corallo required the Plaintiff to demonstrate proficiency

in all four areas, while none of the permanently qualified

leads of each department are required to possess such

proficiency in all four areas (Ex. 2 p. 3 para. 1). What was

required by Mr. Corallo was that Nurse become familiar with

all four areas of D33, which are, the balance area, the sub

37a

assembly of NI and N2 modules, assembly of turbine

midframes, rear frames, stator cases and rotors, and the core

area. (Plaintiff's dep. 61:13-61:18). Unlike the Plaintiff,

persons qualified as permanent leads become qualified from

the first day regardless of his/her experience or knowledge in

the area. (Ex. 2, p. 3, para. 1). A temporary lead man is

used when there is no regular lead man for the shift.

(Plaintiff's dep. 63:3-63:5). Pete Corallo testified in his

deposition that there is no specific or set time that it takes to

qualify as a temporary lead (Corallo dep. 10:10-14).

However the length of time is usually less than three months.

(Corallo dep. 11:13-25). Plaintiff was in a position to qualify

for temporary lead man for six months, yet Pete Corallo

failed to qualify him. (Corallo dep. 10:1-3). Plaintiff had

prior experience as a lead mechanic from 1984 to 1989. The

lead job involves checking other people’s work. (Plaintiff's

dep. 118:8-120:7). Plaintiff was never qualified by Mr.

Corallo for the temporary lead position. (Plaintiff's dep.

82:7-82:19).

Plaintiff's supervisor, Pete Corallo, failed to make a

reasonable accommodation for the Plaintiff in training him for

temporary lead and forced him to do work which he would

not normally have to do in order to qualify. (Ex. 2 p. 3 para.

2). Plaintiff requested the temporary lead position as a

reasonable accommodation - under the American with

Disabilities Act, according to his grievance. (Plaintiff's dep.

101:12-102:24). Plaintiff instead was given rigid and

rigorous work assignments over a long period of time not in

the framework of his permanent restrictions. (Ex. 2, p. 4,

para. 5 to p. 5, top). If Plaintiff had qualified for temporary

lead, he would have worked checking logs and routing parts.

It was basically a sit-down job. (Plaintiff's dep. 83:14-

85:12). Plaintiff had also grieved with the union a bypass

for overtime, which occurred when Pete Corallo was looking

for senior mechanics to work overtime. Instead of giving the

38a

Plaintiff the overtime, Corallo bypassed him. Plaintiff won

his grievance. (Plaintiff's dep. 181:15-182:13).

Plaintiff was constantly asked by Corallo when he was

going to retire. (Ex. 2, p. 4 para. 3, Plaintiff's dep. 150:1-

150:9). Plaintiff received a full retirement package from Pete

Corallo (Plaintiff's dep. 157:8-157:12). Mr. Hyland also

discussed in a coercive manner the Plaintiff's retirement.

(Ex. 2, p. 6, para. 2). Plaintiff was told he was getting too

old to work and on several occasions Mr. Doyle, at the time

his manager, told him it was time for him to retire, after he

had filed his EEOC complaint (Plaintiff's dep. 127:15-

128:17).

Plaintiff has been on Workers’ Compensation disability

leave since January 1993. His attorney did request that

United allow him to go back to work (Plaintiff's dep. 93:10-

93:17).

POINTS AND AUTHORITIES

I. SUMMARY JUDGMENT SHOULD BE DENIED AS

THERE ARE DISPUTED MATERIAL FACTS

REGARDING PLAINTIFF’S CLAIMS OF

DISCRIMINATION ON THE BASIS OF DISABILITY,

AGE AND RETALIATION.

Under the McDonnell Douglas Corp. v. Green (1973) 411

U.S. 792, 803-805, 36L. Ed. 2d 668, 93 S. Ct. 1817, fora

prima facie case of discrimination the plaintiff must prove:

1. That he belongs to a protected class.

2. That he applied for and was qualified for a job for

which the employer continued to seek applicants from persons

of complainant’s qualifications.

3. That, despite his qualifications, he was rejected.

4. That, after his rejection, the position remained open

and the employer continued to seek applicants from persons

of complainant’s qualifications.

a SS nm eke

A Ah alte Le,

SS SS a ee

39a

Rejection of the defendant’s proffered reason permits the

trier of fact to infer the ultimate fact of intentional

discrimination. St. Mary’s Honor Center v. Hicks, (1993)

S09U.S.___, 113 S. Ct. 2742, 125 L. Ed. 2d 407, 418 and

footnote 4. In determining whether a triable issue of fact

exists, the moving parties affidavits are Strictly construed

while those of the opposing party are liberally construed.

Walker v. Blue Cross of California, 6Cal. Rptr. 2d 184, 187

(1992) Where the trier of fact disbelieves the defendant’s

claimed non-discriminatory reason for its conduct, then,

without further evidence, an inference of intentional

discrimination is justified. Barber v. Rancho Mortg. & Inv.

Corp., 32 Cal. Rptr. 2d 906 (1994). (Holding that St. Mary’s

Honor Center v. Hicks, 125 L. Ed. 2d 407, 418-419 (1993),

discussed infra, “put to rest” any confusion raised by a

number of cases which granted summary judgment to a

discrimination defendant who presented evidence of a

nondiscriminatory reason which was not rebutted by the

plaintiff's evidence).

The material facts as far as Plaintiff's claims are as

follows:

Plaintiff was employed as an Aviation mechanic by United

for 23 years. He has a work-related injury and certain work

restrictions as a result. However, these work restrictions did

not prevent him from working, and in fact, United found him

a job assembling stator cases in 1991. He was able to

perform this job without difficulty. Plaintiff was also in

training to qualify as a temporary lead man, which would

have had certain benefits for him. This training was approved

by Mr. Hyland and was under the supervision of Pete

Corallo. However, Pete Corallo made the Plaintiff's training

more rigorous, difficult and lengthier than for others

qualifying as lead men. Corallo failed to qualify Nurse as a

temporary lead man. Plaintiff was also bypassed for other

desirable light work positions within his work restrictions:

40a

positions which were given to younger, non-disabled men.

Defendant was presented only one allegedly legitimate

business reason for this disparate treatment; that the Plaintiff's

discrimination claim on the basis of disability is barred by the

exclusive remedy provisions of the California Worker’s

Compensation Act. However, Defendant fails to mention that

this discriminatory treatment occurred before Plaintiff went

out on this most recent disability in February 1993. Plaintiff

was working, and was not out on disability leave, when this

discriminatory treatment occurred. Defendant’s claimed

legitimate business reason for its treatment of the Plaintiff is

pretextual, as all the jobs Plaintiff applied for were compatible

with his work restrictions, he was qualified for the positions

by experience and seniority, and yet the positions were given

to younger, non-disabled men.

Plaintiff was also retaliated against by his supervisor, Pete

Corallo. Plaintiff had won a union grievance over his

supervisor for bypassing him for overtime. Plaintiff had filed

an EEOC complaint in 1990 or 1991, when his temporary

lead credentials were taken from him. All the discriminatory

acts regarding job opportunities occurred within a short period

of time after the Plaintiff complained. Defendant has offered

no legitimate business reason for the denial of these job

opportunities which met the Plaintiff's work restrictions. In

Denney v. Universal City Studios, Inc. (1992) 10 Cal. App.

4" 1226, 13 Cal. Rptr. 2d 170, 175, the Court reversed a

grant of summary judgment on a retaliation claim on the basis

of an inconclusive record. Here, Plaintiff's evidence that he

had filed an EEOC complaint in 1990 or 91, that he had also

filed a grievance against his supervisor, Pete Corallo, on the

bypass for overtime which was found in his favor, and that he

was denied job opportunities at United which he applied for

after his return from disability leave in 1991, and that his

supervisor, Pete Corallo, trained him unnecessarily long for

the temporary lead position and put him through an

eee eee

4la

unnecessarily rigorous training schedule incompatible with his

work restrictions, is unrefuted by the Defendant. Defendant

relies on Langridge v. Oakland Unified School District, 25

Cal. App. 4" 664 (1994), and Jimeno v. Mobil Oil Corp., 66

F. 3d 1514 (9" Cir. 1995) regarding the California Worker’s

Compensation Act as the exclusive remedy for a work-related

physical disability discrimination claim. However, Defendant

misses the point. Plaintiff is complaining of the denial of job

opportunities before his latest industrial injury. As a disabled

employee, Plaintiff was entitled to job opportunities available

for which the Plaintiff qualified. Yet, the Plaintiff was passed

over for these positions. Plaintiff was also forced to work

outside his work restrictions by Pete Corallo when he was

training for temporary lead; a violation of reasonable

accommodation.

Plaintiff has presented evidence on all four prongs under

McDonnell Douglas. The test merely requires that a plaintiff

raise an inference of disparate treatment to establish a prima

facie case, not actual proof of such treatment. Warren v. City

of Carlsbad, 58 F. 3d 439, 442 (9" Cir. 1995). At the

summary judgment stage, a plaintiff is not required to prove

that discrimination was the motivating factor, only to raise an

inference. Warren, 58 F. 3d at 443.

Il. HYLAND’S DECLARATION SHOULD BE

STRICKEN, AT LEAST IN PART FOR FAILURE TO

COMPLY WITH THE REQUIREMENTS OF FRCP 56 (E).

The summary Judgment Rule, FRCP 56, determines what

evidence a federal judge may consider on a Summary

Judgment motion. Northwestern National Insurance Co. V.

Corby (7 Cir. 1974), 503 F 2d 224. Federal procedural

standards govern whether summary judgment is appropriate

in any case and those standards include federal law as to the

admissibility of evidence. Urility Control Corp. V. Prince

William Const. Co. Inc., (4" cir. 1977), 558 F. 2d 716. Even

42a

when submitted with a summary judgment motion, evidence

must to reduced to a form that would be admissible at trial.

Lawyer’s Alliance for Nuclear Arms Control, Philadelphia

Chapter v. Dept. Of Energy, (ED PA 1991), 766 F. Supp.

318. Declarations and affidavits in support of summary

judgment and their attachments are required to contain

admissible evidence. Hyland’s declaration, attached to the

Motion for Summary Judgment, contains as attachments the

exhibits marked B, D, J and K, being medical reports of Drs.

Chronister, Lipton and Fogel respectively. Mr. Hyland is not

a medical doctor and has not independent knowledge of

Plaintiff's medical condition. (Hyland dep. 35:17-36:8). The

file from which these medical reports were obtained was put

together by United attorneys. id. Mr. Hyland has no personal

knowledge of the contents or events described in Mr. Nurse’s

personnel file. He testified at his deposition that the only

personal knowledge that he has is from going through Nurse’s

personnel file in answering the questions asked by United’s

attorney’s. (Hyland dep. 32:9-35:12). Mr. Hyland cannot

authenticate these documents, nor can he competently testify

as to their contents, or veracity. Written documents

incorporated by reference into affidavits or declarations are

required to conform to the rules of evidence, including those

relating to authentication (Evid. Code 1400 et seq.) and to the

best evidence rule (Evid. Code 1500 et seq.) Dugar v. Happy

Tiger Recrods, Inc. (1974) 41 Cal. App. 3d 811, 815, 116

Cal. Rptr. 412. The documents are inadmissible hearsay.

The only documents Hyland could conceivably authenticate

are the attendance records of Gordon Nurse, attached as

exhibits A, E and F, a letter from United, C, a letter to Nurse

from Hyland, H, and a copy of the union contract, I.

Furthermore, neither Hyland’s declaration nor defendant’s

motion address the causes of action of discrimination framed

by Plaintiff's pleadings, and discussed herein. Therefore, it

is largely irrelevant to a determination of Defendant’s motion

43a

for summary judgment. The standards of summary judgment

are basically the same under California and federal law; for

purposes of summary judgment, California courts are required

to consider all inferences reasonable deducible from evidence

submitted, strictly construe moving party’s affidavits, and

liberally construe counter affidavits: similarly, federal courts

read the record in the light most favorable to the nonmoving

party. Buenavista v. City and County of San Francisco (1989)

207 Cal. App. 3d 1168, 1172-73 n.2, 255 Cal. Rptr. 329.

II. PLAINTIFF HAS PRODUCED EVIDENCE OF A

PRIMA FACIE CASE OF AGE DISCRIMINATION FOR

WHICH DEFENDANT’S PROFFERED

NONDISCRIMINATORY REASON - PLAINTIFF’S KNEE

INJURY - IS PRETEXTUAL.

Under Government Code section 12941, that section of the

California Fair Employment and Housing Act (FEHA) which

prohibits an employer from discriminating against any

individual over the age of 40 on the ground of age, California

courts have adopted the framework developed by federal

courts in employment discrimination claims arising under

Title VII of the federal Civil Rights Act, 42 USC section

2000e et seq., and under the federal Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (ADEA), 29 USC section 621 et seq.

Stephens vs. Coldwell Banker Commercial Group, Inc. (1988)

199 Cal. App. 3d 1394, 1399-1400, 245 Cal. Rptr. 606; Levy

v. Regents of University of California (1988) 199 Cal. App.

3d 1334, 1343-1344, 245 Cal. Rptr. 576. Plaintiff has the

burden of a prima facie case. Once established, the burden

Shifts to the employer to produce a_ legitimate

nondiscriminatory reason. Then the Plaintiff has the burden

at trial of proving that a discriminatory reason more likely

motivated the employer or that the employer’s explanation is

a pretext for unlawful discrimination. Stephens, supra, 199

Cal. App. 3d at 1400, Levy, supra 199 Cal. App. 3d at 1344.

LABLE COPY ®

44a

The plaintiff must present some evidence, direct or

circumstantial, that the proffered reason was pretextual. US

Postal Service Bd. Of Govs. v. Aikens (1983) 460 US 711,

713-714, 103 S. Ct. 1478, 1480-81. In the case at bar,

Plaintiff has presented evidence that he is an older employee

(i.e. over 40), that he is qualified for several positions at

United by reason of his profession, aviation mechanic, and

has been so employed for 23 years. The employer does not

dispute Mr. Nurse’s qualifications or performance record at

United. Mr. Hyland testified during his deposition that there

were sedentary jobs available at United. (Hyland dep. 52:8-

52:18). Mr. Nurse has presented evidence through his

deposition and exhibits that he was turned down for several

positions at United prior to his latest Worker’s Compensation

injury. These were jobs within his work restrictions that he

was qualified for by reason of training, experience, and

seniority. He would still be eligible for these positions, as

they were basically sedentary. However, he was turned down

and younger, non-disabled employees given the jobs instead.

The Defendant claims that the issue is moot because the

Plaintiff was given a job, assembling stator cases, as a

reasonable accommodation, and that the Plaintiff is disabled

from doing any work now. However, the issue of Plaintiff's

current ability to return to work is separate and apart from the

issue of whether Plaintiff was discriminated against by being

denied available jobs at United Compatible with his work

restrictions. Plaintiff's current disability is only a limitation

as to his damages as to the later issue. Plaintiff has testified,

and the Defendant has not refuted this, that he was in training

for temporary lead, eight hours a day, when he was injured.

(Plaintiff's dep. 74:5-74:20), 85:6-85:12). The training,

which was unnecessary as Mr. Nurse was previously qualified

as iead man, (Plaintiff's dep. 74:20) which he was forced to

do by Mr. Corallo, involved extensive, prolonged walking,

climbing stairs, constant climbing, bending over, and

RSet

45a

crawling. (Plaintiff's dep. 7-:9-72:20). Therefore, instead of

just giving him the temporary lead classification which he was

entitled to, the employer put the Plaintiff through

unnecessary, prolonged training, outside his work restrictions,

and still did not qualify him for temporary lead status. The

employer also denied him other positions for which he was

qualified. This behavior constituted disparate treatment and

leads to an inference of discrimination on the basis of age

and/or disability. Summary judgment is improper when a

moving party’s inference is contradicted by another inference

raising a triable issue of fact. Hepp v. Lockheed-California

Co., (1978) 86 Cal. App. 3d 714, 717-718, 150 Cal. Rptr.

408. Neither can the Court weigh one inference against

another or against other evidence in proceeding for summary

judgment. Saylin v. California Ins. Guarantee Assn. (1986)

179 Cal. App. 3d 256, 261, 224 Cal. Rptr. 493. The moving

party on a summary judgment motion must negate matters that

the non-movant would have to prove at trial. BILJAC

Associates v. First Interstate Bank (1990) 218 Cal. App. 3d

1410, 1421, 267 Cal. Rptr. 819.

Plaintiff has testified to remarks that he was too old and

should retire. Other federal courts have held such remarks to

be direct evidence of age discrimination. See Perry v. Kunz

(8" Cir. 1989) 878 F. 2d 1056, 1060; Haskell v. Kaman

Corp. (2d Cir. 1984) 743 F. 2d 113, 119.

IV. PLAINTIFF SHOULD BE GRANTED A

CONTINUANCE OF THIS HEARING UNTIL SUCH TIME

AS DEFENDANT HAS RESPONDED TO PLAINTIFF’S

DISCOVERY REQUESTS.

As described in the Introduction and shown by the

attached declaration, both sides had informally agreed to a

short extension of time to respond to discovery. Plaintiff

promptly produced all discovery requested. Defendant has

still failed to produce, answer, or object to production or

46a

interrogatories or requests for admission. California CCP

437c mandates a continuance of a summary judgment hearing

when a good faith showing indicates that a continuance is

needed to obtain facts essential to justify opposition to the

motion. O’Laskey v. Sortino (1990) 224 Cal. App. 3d 241,

251, 273 Cal. Rptr. 674.

CONCLUSION

_ Based on the above and the supporting exhibits attached to

Plaintiff's Opposition to Summary Judgment, Plaintiff prays

the Court to deny Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment

or Summary Adjudication, or, in the alternative, to grant only

partial Summary Judgment on Plaintiff's disability claim, and

allow this case to proceed on Plaintiff's age and retaliation

claims. Plaintiff also requests a continuance until such time

as Defendant produces and/or objects to Plaintiff's discovery

requests, as in the interest of justice.

Respectfully submitted,

ALCALA, MARTINEZ-SENFTNER & VELEZ,

/s/ ANA MARIA HUERTA

DATE: January 8, 1996

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.