Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rhoades Oil Co. v. United States

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

soa ee

}

i

vee ol 1 SEP 1 7 1997

—BFHCE Ob tHe CL eR

N

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1997

RHOADES OIL COMPANY

Petitioner,

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

JOHN B. TURNER *

CHARLES GREENOUGH

STUART, BIOLCHINI,

TURNER & GIVRAY

3300 First Place Tower

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

(918) 582-3311

*Counsel of Record

September 17, 1997 Attorneys for Petitioner

ry

QUESTION PRESENTED

Did the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals violate

this Court’s rulings, reaffirmed most recently in

Commissioner v. Schleier, 115 S.Ct. 2159 (1995) and

United States v. Burke, 112 S.Ct. 1867 (1992), that

exclusions from gross income are available only if

specifically stated and that such exclusions must be

narrowly construed, when the Tenth Circuit ruled that

the lifting costs of an oil and gas business are excluded

from its gross income because such lifting costs are

analogous to costs of goods sold which are excluded

from the gross income of a manufacturing,

merchandising, or mining business under 26 C.F.R.

§1.61-3(a)?

-ii-

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioner and Respondent are named in the

caption and were the only parties to this case before both

the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals and the United States

District Court for the Northern District of Oklahoma.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

As required by Rule 29.6 of this Court, Petitioner,

which is a Delaware corporation, states that it has no

parent company or nonwholly owned subsidiaries.

-lll-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

oo se 8 8 | | gy. sR ene eae re i

ee ie li

WIRD Oe RPA AMEET EE 5 bw ce ce wh es il

RO GERLS vk o e es ili

RPM PE PPADS ks oc ee es v

Se ME ee ee le 2

NN gs eee si ye 2

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS .......... 3

-jV-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (continued)

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI .... 6

The Tenth Circuit’s opinion broadly

construing the exclusion from _ gross

income contained at 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a)

to apply by analogy to the lifting costs of

an oil and gas business violates a line of

cases from this Court that began over

forty years ago with Jacobson and

Glenshaw Glass and has continued to the

recent decisions in Schleier and Burke,

all of which consistently and uniformly

hold that the only exclusions from gross

income are those which are specifically

stated, and that those exclusions which

are specifically stated must be narrowly

CI ss Oe ee a es 8

RELIEF REQUESTED AND CONCLUSION ... 18

ATER 6 ea eee Er Oe es es A-1

Yo

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Commissioner v. Glenshaw Glass Co.,

Wot iP EAM ek ee eae ok passim

Commissioner v. Jacobson,

GF Bite. cae, OP we es passim

Commissioner v. Schleier,

ERD Ok Rt 8 ee passim

Laguna Royalty Co. v. Commissioner,

27 T.C.M. (CCH) 164 (1968),

aff'd 406 F.2d 703 (Sth Cir. 1969) ...... iz, 13

Max Sobel Wholesale Liquors v. Commissioner,

630 F.2d 670, 673-4 (9th Cir. 1980) ........ 14

All-Steel Equipment, Inc. v. Commissioner,

54 T.C. 1749, 1751 (1970),

aff'd in part and rev'd in part

on the grounds, 467 F.2d 1184

FR Ee ia ee ee ee 17

O’Gilvie v. United States,

eit ve Oe 2 eee 7

United States v. Burke,

BER ee TO OEE ooo eee ek passim

United States v. Centennial Savings Bank,

BES Wie Sot ROAR CEE ke ek ce ig 11

is ce ee eee reer

III I

-vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

STATUTES

Paes Wt ORE a iW a's me a kk we ele 9

ee Rea Ok a a ln ee eS oe wee es 13

Be es OER ok es PR eee 17

Se Shan Ek Ase WS Peo ae 4

eS a ak EER Oe Rees 3, 15

OR PER a oe oe OR YS eR oe eS 16

REGULATIONS

BSS EE 6 a We Ek Cw eee en 10

ce ee ED os gk x ak ee passim

Ee Ge a RE. VN aOR TS OG en 17

ee as SE 6 eck be eee ReeD 18

Se ee Oa» oN oS en OR 16

aes enn, ©) oo 6 6 eS ELAS 16

PT BOO i Pe CERES Cee Oe 16

-Vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (continued)

SUPREME COURT RULES

pene Sc ONEt Meltre £0, AO) gc oc ee we es 7

I UE EE ekg ws ce eke ow ews 2

PT GE UO A of Se ek hk ae ee ll

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 1997

RHOADES OIL COMPANY

Petitioner,

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

Rhoades Oil Company ("Petitioner") asks this

Court for writ of certiorari to review the June 19, 1997,

Order and Judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit.

.%

OPINIONS BELOW

The Tenth Circuit’s opinion below is an

unreported Order and Judgment filed on June 19, 1997.

A-1.' In that opinion, the Tenth Circuit reversed an

Order of the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Oklahoma filed February 15, 1996.

A-4. The District Court had granted summary judgment

to Petitioner in a suit for refund to recover personal

holding company taxes and interest assessed against and

paid by Petitioner for the tax years 1988, 1989, and

1990. Pursuant to the February 15, 1996 Order,

Judgment was entered in favor of Petitioner and against

Respondent in the District Court on February 20, 1996.

A-26.

JURISDICTION

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals filed its Order

and Judgment on June 19, 1997. A-1. Jurisdiction lies

under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) for this Court to review the

final decision of the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals.

This Petition for Certiorari is filed under Rule 13.1 of

this Court.

'The Appendix to this petition is cited as "A-

pm

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

This case involves the following statutes and

regulations, all of the relevant portions of which are fully

reprinted in the Appendix due to their length: Statutes -

26 U.S.C. §§ 61(a)(2), 162, 471, 542(a), 543, and 613;

Regulations - 26 C.F.R. §§ 1.61-1(a), 1.61-3(a), 1.471-

7, 1.471-8, 1.613-3, 1.613-4(a) and (f), and 1.614-3(e).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the amount of gross income of

an oil and gas business. This case is unusual in that the

usual roles of the taxpayer (Petitioner) and the

government (Respondent) are reversed: Petitioner asks

this Court to determine that its gross income is higher,

while Respondent seeks a ruling that Petitioner’s gross

income is lower. This is due to the fact that this case

involves personal holding company taxes, which are

assessed when a taxpayer’s "personal holding company

income" exceeds sixty percent of its "adjusted ordinary

gross income." 26 U.S.C. §543(a).

sil

Respondent calculated Petitioner’s gross income”

by excluding Petitioner’s "lifting costs," which are the

costs of labor, repair, maintenance, materials, supplies,

property taxes, insurance, and severance taxes incurred

to operate and maintain oil and gas wells.’ Using the

calculation of gross income put forth by Respondent,

Petitioner met the test under 26 U.S.C. §542(a)(1) and

was assessed personal holding company taxes.

sie dal anal Math 18) rere

Petitioner disputed Respondent’s calculation of its

gross income, and _ unsuccessfully appealed the

assessment under the Respondent’s internal procedures.

Petitioner then paid the taxes and filed suit for a refund

___in the United States District Court for the Northern

District of Oklahoma. Jurisdiction in the court of first

instance was pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1346(a)(1).

The matter was submitted to the District Court on

cross motions for summary judgment based on stipulated

facts and upon the deposition testimony of one expert

witness sponsored by Petitioner. Petitioner’s expert

witness testified that an oil and gas business such as

1 le aa Ma EN ida ca bah

*Gross income is the starting point for the

determination of a taxpayer’s "adjusted ordinary gross

income." 26 U.S.C. §543(b)(1).

‘Lifting costs are also sometimes referred to as

"lease operating expenses." The terms are synonymous.

-5-

Petitioner does not have "costs of goods sold" and that

Petitioner’s lifting costs were not the same as or

comparable to costs of goods sold. This evidence was

not rebutted by Respondent. A-69 . The sole issue

presented to the District Court was whether lifting costs

should be excluded from Petitioner’s gross income in

determining if Petitioner was subject to personal holding

company taxes.

The District Court ruled in favor of Petitioner,

rejecting the argument of Respondent that 26 C.F.R. §

1.61-3(a) applied. A-4. The District Court held that 26

C.F.R. §1.61-3 on its face applies only to a

"manufacturing, merchandising, or mining business" and

that the Petitioner is an oil and gas business. The

District Court noted that the oil and gas business is not

within the meaning of "mining" under the Internal

Revenue Code. The District Court ruled that because

there is no statutory or regulatory exclusion from gross

income for the lifting costs of an oil and gas business,

Petitioner’s gross income must be calculated without such

an exclusion. With Petitioner’s gross income calculated

without the exclusion of lifting costs, Petitioner was not

subject to personal holding company taxes, and was

entitled to a refund of the taxes paid.

The Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals reversed the

District Court, stating that it was "persuaded that lifting

costs are analogous to costs of goods sold" and that

a.

therefore the reasoning of 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) applied.

A-2. The Tenth Circuit stated that "the general rule is

that "“gross income’ means the total sales less the costs

of goods sold[,]" and then implied that 26 C.F.R. §1.61-

3(a) merely applied this general definition to

manufacturing, merchandising, or mining businesses. A-

2. However, the Tenth Circuit cited no authority for the

"general rule" on which it relied.

REASON FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

This Court should grant certiorari because the

decision of Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals violates the

long line of cases in which this Court has consistently

held that an item is included in gross income unless there

is a specific exclusion available, and that all such

exclusions from gross income must be narrowly

construed. Commissioner v. Schleier, 115 S.Ct. 2159,

2163 (1995); United States v. Burke, 112 S.Ct. 1867,

1870, 1878 (SOUTER, J. Concurring at 1878) (1992);

Commissioner v. Glenshaw Glass Co., 75 S.Ct. 483,

475, 477-78 (1955); Commissioner v. Jacobson, 69

S.Ct. 358, 369 (1949). Instead, the Tenth Circuit

broadly construed the exclusion from the gross income

of a manufacturing, mining, or merchandising business

for costs of goods sold, contained at 26 C.F.R. § 1.61-

3(a), to apply by analogy to exclude the lifting costs of

an oil and gas business from its gross income. There is

no specific exclusion stated anywhere in the Internal

7. a

Revenue Code or the Internal Revenue Regulations that

requires the exclusion of lifting costs from the gross

income of an oil and gas business. The Tenth Circuit

opinion decided this federal question in a way that is in

conflict with applicable decisions of this Court. See, S.

Ct. Rule 10.1(c).

The writ of certiorari is needed to safeguard the

integrity of this Court’s holdings that the only exclusions

from gross income available are those that are

specifically stated, and that the exclusions that are

available must be narrowly construed. This Court has

repeatedly emphasized these principles in a line of cases

that spans over forty years, including the Jacobson case

in 1949 and the Glenshaw Glass case in 1955. The

Respondent has successfully argued before this Court on

three occasions in the last five years that exclusions from

gross income must be narrowly construed. O’Gilvie v.

United States, 117 S.Ct. 452 (1996); Schleier; Burke.

However, in this case, the United States instead

convinced the Tenth Circuit to broadly construe 26

C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) to exclude lifting costs from

Petitioner’s gross income. The United States did so only

because a broad construction of the exclusion happened

to result in higher taxes for Petitioner in this case, due to

the unusual nature of personal holding company taxes.

The United States is bound by this Court’s holdings on

the required specificity and narrow scope of exclusions

from gross income, even in the unusual case such as this

-8-

one in which the application of the rule results in lower

taxes. The Tenth Circuit’s opinion is in irreconcilable

conflict with this Court’s decisions in Glenshaw Glass,

Jacobson, Schleier, and Burke. Only certiorari relief

from this Court will correct the wrong that has been

committed.

The Tenth Circuit’s opinion broadly

construing the exclusion from gross

income contained at 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a)

to apply by analogy to the lifting costs of

an oil and gas business violates a line of

cases from this Court that began over

forty years ago with Jacobson and

Glenshaw Glass and has continued to the

recent decisions in Schleier and Burke,

all of which consistently and uniformly

hold that the only exclusions from gross

income are those which are specifically

stated, and that those exclusions which

are specifically stated must be narrowly

construed.

The error committed by the Tenth Circuit is

simple. In direct violation of the fundamental principles

laid down by this Court governing the availability and

construction of exclusions from gross income, the Tenth

Circuit broadly construed 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) to apply

by analogy to exclude the lifting costs of an oil and gas

ot Aion catches aaa cali

-9-

business from its gross income. The plain language of

26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) defines the gross income of a

"manufacturing, merchandising, or mining business" as

"total sales less the cost of goods sold[.]". The Tenth

Circuit extended the regulation to apply to the lifting

costs of an oil and gas business. In doing so, the Tenth

Circuit narrowly construed the definition of gross income

under 26 U.S.C. §61 and broadly construed the

exclusion from gross income contained in 26 C.F.R.

§1.61-3(a), in direct conflict with Glenshaw Glass,

Schleier, and Burke. The result is a new exclusion from

gross income which is not specifically stated in the

Internal Revenue Code or Regulations, in violation of

Jacobson.

The definition of gross income under the Internal

Revenue Code is found at 26 U.S.C. §61(a)(2):

"(a) GENERAL DEFINITION.-- Except as

otherwise provided in this subtitle, gross

income means all income from whatever

source derived, including, but not limited

to, the following items:

(2) Gross income derived from

business|[.]}"

-10-

Although renumbered, this statute has been essentially

unchanged since well before the Jacobson and Glenshaw

Glass cases.

In Glenshaw Glass, this Court held that the

definition of gross income under the Internal Revenue

Code has a "sweeping scope" intended to bring the

taxing power to bear on all constitutionally taxable

receipts. 75 S.Ct. at 475, 477-8. Since that time, this

Court has "repeatedly emphasized" the sweeping scope

of the definition of gross income under the Internal

Revenue Code. Schleier, 115 S.Ct. at 2163; Burke, 112

S.Ct. at 1870.

This Court has "also emphasized the corollary to

§61(a)’s broad construction, namely the ‘default rule of

statutory construction that exclusions from income must

be narrowly construed.’"Schleier, 115 S.Ct. at 2163,

quoting Burke, 112 S.Ct. at 1878 (SOUTER, J.,

concurring).

The rule is also emphasized in the 26 C.F.P.

§1.61-1(a), issued by the Internal Revenue Service under

26 U.S.C. §61(a), which provides that:

"Gross income means all income from

whatever source derived, unless excluded

by law."

<i

The rule that an item is included in gross income

unless there is a specifically stated exclusion that applies

has also been upheld by this Court on more than one

occasion:

"The income taxed is described in

sweeping terms and should be broadly

construed in accordance with an obvious

purpose to tax income comprehensively.

The exemptions, on the other hand, are

specifically stated and should be construed

in the light of the same policy."

Jacobson, 69 S.Ct. at 369 (1949); See also, United

States v. Centennial Savings Bank, 111 S.Ct. 1512, 1518

(1991).

The statute, cases from this Court, and the

regulations are all clear that an item is included in gross

income unless there is a specific exclusion available.

There is no exclusion anywhere in the Internal Revenue

Code or in the regulations issued by the Internal Revenue

Service that excludes the lifting costs of an oil and gas

business from its gross income. Only by broadly

construing 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) did the Tenth Circuit

reach a contrary result, in violation of the principles that

this Court has "repeatedly emphasized" for more than

forty years. Schleier, 115 S.Ct. at 2163.

1%.

In its opinion, the Tenth Circuit stated that the

"general rule is that ‘gross income’ means ‘the total

sales less the costs of goods sold.”" The Tenth Circuit

went on to state that 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) applies this

“general definition" to manufacturing, merchandising, or

mining businesses. A-2. However: there simply is no

such general rule. To the contrary, the general rule, as

repeatedly emphasized by this Court is that an item is

included in gross income unless a specific exclusion

applies, and that any such exclusions from gross income

must be narrowly construed. Jacobson; Centennial

Savings Bank.

The error of the Tenth Circuit results from its

reliance on Laguna Royalty Co. v. Commissioner, 27

T.C.M. (CCH) 164 (1968), aff'd 406 F.2d 703 (Sth Cir.

1969), which in turn relied on Rev. Rul. 60-344, 1960-2

C.B. 186. The error in Laguna Royalty and Rev. Rul.

60-344 springs from the use of the undefined term "cost

of operations" as an exclusion to determine the gross

income of any business, in place of the clearly defined

term "cost of goods sold" which is excluded to determine

the gross income of a manufacturing, merchandising, or

mining business under 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a). This was

apparently done to fill a perceived void in the

determination of the gross income from businesses other

than manufacturing, merchandising, or mining for

something akin to cost of goods sold. Such an analysis,

however, is directly contrary to the holdings announced

«13

repeatedly by this Court -- that the only exclusions from

gross income are those that are specifically stated, and

that even those must be narrowly construed. Jacobson,

Schleier. Conspicuously, the Tenth Circuit did not

mention Schleier or Burke in its opinion, nor did either

the Fifth Circuit or the Tax Court in Laguna Royalty

mention Glenshaw Glass or Jacobson.

The error of the use of "cost of operations” as a

substitute for "cost of goods sold" to determine the gross

income of a business is also clear in light of the fact that

under 26 U.S.C. §162(a) "the ordinary and necessary

expenses paid or incurred during the taxable year in

carrying on any trade or business" are deducted from

gross income to determine taxable income. The broad

and ambiguous term "cost of operations" easily fits

within the "ordinary and necessary" expenses of carrying

on a business. Therefore, under the theory of the Tenth

Circuit below and of Laguna Royalty, almost any item

classified as an “ordinary and necessary" business

expense could just as easily be reclassified as a "cost of

operation" and excluded from gross income in the first

instance, instead of being deducted from gross income to

determine taxable income. This distinction is significant.

There are numerous restrictions on the deductibility of

expenses under 26 U.S.C. §162(a). If instead cost of

operations can (or must) be excluded in determining

gross income, any restrictions on deductions would be

meaningless, because the taxpayer would simply exclude

-14-

the disputed items from gross income as "costs of

operations." See, Max Sobel Wholesale Liquors v.

Commissioner, 630 F.2d 670, 673-4 (9th Cir.

1980)(limitation on deductibility of certain illegal

payments as business expense did not apply where the

payments were part of cost of goods sold and as such

were excluded from gross income). Indeed, to use the

language chosen by the Tenth Circuit, many if not most

ordinary and necessary business expenses are also

"analogous to costs of goods sold" and thus could be

"properly excluded in arriving at gross income." The

failure to follow Schleier, Burke, Jacobson, and

Glenshaw Glass would thus allow a taxpayer to avoid

many if not most of the restrictions on the deduction of

business expenses contained in the Internal Revenue

Code.

To arrive at its decision below, the Tenth Circuit

had to broadly construe 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) and

analogize lifting costs to costs of goods sold, because

there is no question that under the Internal Revenue Code

the word "mining" does not include oil and gas

production, and the term "costs of goods sold" does not

include lifting costs.

The oil and gas business is not within the

definition of mining under the Internal Revenue Code.

Although Respondent argued below that there is no

reason for distinguishing between mining and oil and gas

a,

production for purposes of determining gross income,

Respondent has offered no legal authority whatsoever

that oil and gas production is within the definition of

mining for purposes of the Internal Revenue Code, as

noted by the District Court, A-22.

The Internal Revenue Code and the Internal

Revenue Regulations consistently distinguish mining from

oil and gas production. The word mining is not used

interchangeably for oil and gas production anywhere in

the Internal Revenue Code or the Internal Revenue

Regulations. Instead, numerous provisions of both the

Code and the Regulations use mining and oil and gas

production in ways that leave no doubt that the two terms

are not interchangeable.

The personal holding company tax provisions

which are the subject of this case explicitly distinguish

between mining and oil and gas production. 26 U.S.C.

§543 consistently uses the phrase "mineral, oil, and gas

royalties" throughout. 26 U.S.C. §543(b)(2)(B)

distinguishes oil and gas exploration from mining. The

adjustments in subparts (i) through (iv) of that section are

made to royalty income both from minerals and from oil

and gas, but are only made to working interest income

from "an oil and gas well."

Mining is also distinguished from oil and gas

production in the depletion provisions of the Internal

-16-

Revenue Code. 26 U.S.C. § 613(a) states that depletion

is allowed in the case of "mines, wells, and other natural

deposits" as listed in 26 U.S.C. § 613(b), which again

refers to "mines, wells, and other natural deposits." 26

U.S.C. § 613(c)(1) defines "gross income from the

property" for property other than an oil or gas well as

the "gross income from mining." 26 U.S.C. § 613(c)(2)

and (3) define "mining," and do not include references

to extraction of oil and gas. 26 U.S.C. §613(c)(4)(H)

lists certain oil shale, but not oil well, treatment

processes as within the definition of mining. 26 U.S.C.

§613(d) specifies that depletion of oil and gas wells must

comply with 26 U.S.C. §613A in order to be allowed,

while depletion from mining does not.

The regulations concerning depletion also

explicitly distinguish between oil and gas production and

mining. 26 C.F.R. §1-613-4(a) states that gross income

from the property for all minerals except oil and gas

means “gross income from mining.” 26 C.F.R. §1.613-3

separately defines "gross income from the property" for

oil and gas wells. 26 C.F.R. §1.613-4(f) defines

"mining," and the definition clearly does not include oil

and gas production from wells. 26 C.F.R. §1-614-3(e)

defines "mine" as:

"any excavation or other workings or series

of related excavations or related workings,

as the case may be, for the purpose of

m, »

extracting any known mineral deposit

except oil and gas deposits. For the

purpose of the proceeding sentence, the

term "excavations" or "workings" includes

quarries, pits, shafts, and wells (except oil

and gas wells)."

The Tenth Circuit’s finding that lifting costs are

analogous to costs of goods sold is totally unsupported by

the record or by the law. Petitioner presented unrebutted

evidence in the form of expert testimony to the District

Court that lifting costs for an oil and gas business are not

the same as or comparable to costs of goods sold. A-69.

A taxpayer’s cost of goods sold is calculated by

subtracting the cost of inventory on hand at the end of

the year from the sum of the cost of inventory on hand

at the beginning of the year plus the cost incurred during

the year in acquiring new inventory. All-Steel

Equipment, Inc. v. Commissioner, 54 T.C. 1749, 1751

(1970), aff'd in part and rev'd in part on the grounds,

467 F.2d 1184 (7th Cir. 1972).

26 U.S.C. §471, and the regulations issued under

it, deal with calculating cost of goods sold through the

calculation of inventories. There is a specific regulation

setting forth the calculation of inventories of miners and

manufacturers, 26 C.F.R. §1.471-7, and another

regulation setting forth the calculation of inventories of

-18-

retail merchants, 26 C.F.R. §1.471-8. There is no

regulation setting forth the calculation of inventories for

oil and gas businesses.

The one constant factor in the calculation of cost

of goods sold is the "cost" must be tied to some specific

"goods sold." The last sentence of 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a)

specifically recognizes this, because it requires that an

amount cannot be included as part of cost of goods sold

before the tax year in which economic performance

occurs with respect to the amount -- the tax year in

which the goods are sold. Thus, calculation of cost of

goods sold requires that an inventory be kept. However,

oil and gas exploration and production companies as such

Petitioner do not keep an inventory of the oil and gas

they sell in a year. Without inventory, it is impossible

to calculate cost of goods sold. A-69.

In order to apply 26 C.F.R. §1.61-3(a) to

Petitioner, the Tenth Circuit thus had to go outside of the

plain language of the regulation. It did so by analogizing

"lifting costs" to "costs of goods sold." However, in

doing so the Tenth Circuit violated Jacobson, Glenshaw

Glass, Schleier, and Burke.

RELIEF REQUESTED AND CONCLUSION

Petitioner asks this Court to grant certiorari to

correct the Tenth Circuit’s error in violating this Court’s

-19-

cases holding that exclusions from gross income are only

available if specifically stated that such exclusions must

be narrowly construed, by reversing the decision of the

Tenth Circuit and reinstating the Judgment entered by the

District Court.

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN B. TURNER *

CHARLES GREENOUGH

STUART, BIOLCHINI,

TURNER & GIVRAY

3300 First Place Tower

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

(918) 582-3311

* Counsel of Record

Attorneys for Petitioner

a

=

2

APPENDIX

RS ee eT ee Oe eS ea SEM eR Fe Hot

APPENDIX CONTENTS

Page

Order and Judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit,

ORG Te BOE oa SWE 6 heen es A-1

Order of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Oklahoma,

PORES 55. 19h ok Ak ee es A-4

Judgment of the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Oklahoma,

PRE DR a oe Si alee eee es A-26

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

meat a, EAE ok a ens eee eS A-27

ee eS 6 on sk a ee SS A-27

ey ee a ee ae ew A-28

te i le eR A-29

Oe Oe a rk he ee ES A-29

Oe St RE Gas iw hs as CREO A-36

ee ee Er ae bs ee eS A-44

ee ee LkOM) 66s eo eS A-44

Be EE oe Pee oes SS A-45

Oe a TO ke ke ee ws ee A-45

re Bd oo Ee eee aw A-48

«Pie ek oe oe St re are A-48

Be 4.8 es BAGS) 6 ee ee A-60

APPENDIX CONTENTS (continued)

Page

Complaint for Refund in

Rhoades Oil Company vs.

United States of America, January 14, 1993 . A-61

Answer to Complaint for

Refund in Rhoades Oil Company vs.

United States of America, March 16, 1993 . A-66

Excerpts from Appellee’s Supplemental

Appendix on Appeal to the United

States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit -Excerpts of

Deposition of James M. Downs ........ A-69

%

“f

4

eI

aK

@

3S

oi

&

<A

os &

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-5101

(D.C. No. 93-C-0036-B)

(N.D. Okla.)

[File Stamped 6/19/97]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant-Appellant.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT

Before BALDOCK, BRORBY, and MURPHY, Circuit

Judges.

Plaintiff-Appellee Rhoades Oil Company (taxpayer) is

engaged in the exploration for and production of oil and gas.

On audit, the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) determined that

taxpayer was subject to personal holding company tax under

26 U.S.C. § 541 for the years 1988, 1989, and 1990, in the

amounts of $101,053, $163,188, and $144,392 respectively.

“This order and judgment is not binding precedent, except under

the doctrines of law of the case, res judicata, and collateral estoppel. The

court generally disfavors the citation of orders and judgments;

nevertheless, an order and judgment may be cited under the terms and

conditions of 10th Cir. R. 36.3.

-A-2.

Taxpayer paid the additional tax and filed a claim for refund.

The IRS failed to act on the refund and taxpayer brought suit

in federal district court and prevailed. The government

appeals from summary judgment granted in favor of taxpayer.

Our jurisdiction arises under 28 U.S.C. § 1291 and we

reverse.

The facts are stipulated and undisputed. The narrow

issue Of law before us is whether lifting or production costs

incurred by an oil producer are properly excluded from gross

income in calculating "adjusted ordinary gross income" for

personal holding company tax purposes. See 26 U.S.C. §

542(a)(1); 543(b)(2)(B). If so, more than 60% of the

taxpayer's adjusted ordinary gross income is "personal

holding company income,” 26 U.S.C. § 543(a), and the tax

is properly imposed in this case. The taxpayer concedes that

the other requirement for imposition of the tax, namely the

stock ownership requirement of 26 U.S.C. § 542(a)(2) is met.

We have carefully reviewed the submissions of the

parties, and we are persuaded that lifting costs are analogous

to costs of goods sold and properly excluded in arriving at

gross income, and hence adjusted ordinary gross income, for

purposes of the personal holding company tax. See Laguna

Royalty Co. v. Commissioner, 27 T.C.M. (CCH) 164

(1968), aff'd 406 F.2d 703 (Sth Cir. 1969); Rev. Rul. 60-

344, 1960-2 C.B. 186. "Gross income" includes "[g]ross

income derived from business,” 26 U.S.C. § 61(a)(2), and

the general rule is that "gross income means "the total sales

less the costs of goods sold." 26 C.F.R. § 1.61-3(a)(applying

general definition to manufacturing, merchandising or mining

business). See also § 1.542-2 (cross referencing 26 U.S.C.

§ 61 and 26 C.F.R. § 1.61.1 to 1.61-14 in defining gross

ee ee eee

eS

income for personal holding company tax purposes and

Stating "[uJnder such provisions gross income is not

necessarily synonymous with gross receipts"). The fact that

"gross income from the property" may be defined in a

different fashion elsewhere in the Code or Treasury

Regulations for purposes of depletion, see 26 C.F.R. §

1.613-3 (definition for purposes of 26 U.S.C. § 613(c)), does

not address the issue before us. See Laguna Royalty Co., 27

T.C.M. (CCH) at _, 1968 WL 1158 at *3-4. We conclude

that the IRS’s position is supported by the regulations relied

upon and is reasonable; hence, we may not disregard it.

National Muffler Dealers Ass'n v. United States, 440 U.S.

472, 484 (1979).

REVERSED.

Entered for the Court.

Bobby R. Baldock

Circuit Judge

-A-4-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-C-0036-H

[File Stamped 2/15/96]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on a Motion for

Summary Judgment by Plaintiff Rhoades Oil Company, Inc.

("Rhoades Oil") and a Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment

by Defendant United States. For the reasons expressed

herein, the Court grants Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

Judgment and denies Defendant’s Cross-Motion.

Plaintiff commenced this civil tax action suit pursuant

to 26 U.S.C. § 7422 to recover alleged overpayments made

to the United States in connection with personal holding

company taxes and interest thereon assessed against Plaintiff

for taxable years 1988, 1989, and 1990, in the total amount

of $503,689.00. The assessment stemmed from the

determination by the Internal Revenue Service (the "Service")

that Plaintiff is a "personal holding company” within the

meaning of the Internal Revenue Code (the "Code") §§ 541-

-A-5-

543, and therefore subject to the personal holding company

tax.

I

The basic facts of this case are set forth in the

Stipulation of Facts filed with the Court on November 9,

1993 and supplemented on May 31, 1994.

Rhoades Oil was founded in 1945 by Sam J. Rhoades,

Sr. for the purpose of exploring and producing oil and gas.

Since its inception, Rhoades Oil has been an oil and gas

company, and its only activities have been the exploration and

production of oil and gas reserves. These activities include

purchasing oil and gas leases, drilling wells, and acting as the

operator for producing wells.

Rhoades Oil is a closely-held Delaware corporation

with its principal place of business in Tulsa, Oklahoma. The

stock of the company is owned as follows:

Pre-9/89 Post-9/89

Common Stock (No Par)

Sam J. Rhoades 50% 305.0 66.7% 305.0

Nona M. Rhoades 25% 147.5 33.3% 146.5

Sam J. Rhoades, Jr. 25% 147.5 0.0% 0.0

Total Shares (Common)

Outstanding 600.0 452.5

Preferred Stock (Par $ 100)

Sam J. Rhoades, Trust 50% 100.0 66.7% 100.0

Nona M. Rhoades, Trust 25% 50.0 33.3% 50.0

Sam J. Rhoades, Trust 25% 50.0 0.0% 0.0

Total Shares (Preferred)

Outstanding 200.0 150.00

Rhoades Oil redeemed the shares of Sam J. Rhoades

following his death in 1989. During the last half of each of

the taxable years at issue more than 50 percent of the

outstanding stock of Rhoades Oil was owned by no more than

5 individuals.

The income of Rhoades Oil from its oil and gas

business is derived from working interests, overrides, and

royalty interests. A working interest is ownership of an oil

and gas lease. The owner receives the gross receipts from

the sale of oil and gas, less royalty payments and severance

taxes, and bears the drilling and operating expenses of the

well. The overrides of Rhoades Oil were created when the

company owned a working interest in certain wells, but

converted the working interest into an override. The

overrides do not bear any expenses of drilling or operations.

A royalty interest also bears no drilling or operating

expenses. In 1988 through 1990, Rhoades Oil received the

following revenues from working interests, overrides, and

royalty interests:

1988 1989 1990

Working Interests $1,162,000 $1,211,000 $1,316,000

Overrides and Royalties $ 56,000 $ 46,000 $ 56,000

As of January 1, 1988, January 1, 1989, and January

1, 1990, Rhoades Oil had retained earnings of $17,710,020,

$18,977,833, and $14,273,523, respectively. The investment

income of Rhoades Oil is derived from the investment of the

company’s retained earnings, mostly in Treasury Bills and

publicly-traded stocks.

- oo

The original Forms 1120 - U.S. Corporation Income

Tax Returns filed by Rhoades Oil for taxable years 1988,

1989, and 1990 did not reflect a liability for any personal

holding company tax.

On or about July 31, 1991, Rhoades Oil received a

letter from the Service notifying Rhoades Oil of proposed

federal income tax deficiencies under Section 541 et seq. of

the Code, the personal holding company tax provisions. This

Notice of Deficiency proposed deficiencies as follows:

Taxable Year Additional Tax

1988 $101,053.00

1989 $163,188.00

1990 $144,392.00

On April 16, 1992, Plaintiff executed IRS Form 870,

Waiver of Restrictions on Assessment and Collection of Tax

and Acceptance of Overassessment, and on May 24, 1992,

made advance payments of the deficiencies in the following

amounts:

Year Tax Interest

1988 $101,053.00 $ 39,895.85

1989 $163,188.00 $ 39,701.06

1990 $144,392.00 $ 15,459.48

Total $503,689.39

These deficiencies were subsequently assessed on July 6,

1992.

On or about May 22, 1992, Rhoades Oil filed three

separate Forms 1120X - Amended U.S. Corporation Income

Tax Returns for taxable years 1988, 1989. and 1990, which

-A-8-

served as its claims for refund.“ In these Amended Returns,

Rhoades Oil sought a refund of all personal holding company

tax paid for taxable years 1988, 1989, and 1990, plus

interest. The Service neither approved nor denied these

claims within the six-month period following the filing of

these claims.

In calculating its personal holding company income for

taxable years 1988, 1989, and 1990, Rhoades Oil did not

deduct "lifting costs""” from gross income when determining

its adjusted ordinary gross income from working interests

under Section 542(a)(1). Using this method, Rhoades Oil’s

personal holding company income did not exceed 60 percent

of its adjusted ordinary gross income and, accordingly, it was

not treated as a personal holding company under Section 542.

On its tax returns, Rhoades Oil treated Lease

Operating Expenses (lifting costs) as part of its "Cost of

Goods Sold." For non-tax accounting purposes, Rhoades Oil

treated Lease Operating Expenses as part of its "Cost of

Operations" which is subtracted from Gross Receipts in

arriving at Gross Profits.

On audit, the Service followed Revenue Ruling 60-

**Pursuant to the Joint Stipulation of Facts, the United States

does not admit any facts set forth in the 1988, 1989, and 1990 Forms

1120X, except as expressly stated.

***The term "lifting costs” when used in the oil and gas industry

is usually considered to be synonymous with “operating costs,” and

consists of those deductible costs incurred in the production of oil and gas

after the completion of drilling and before its removal from the property

for sale or transportation, e.g. labor, superintendence, supplies, repairs,

and assets having a life not in excess of one year, maintenance, and

applicable overhead costs. See Rev. Rul. 60-344, 1960-2 C.B. 186.

-A-9-

344, 1960-2 C.B. 186, and deducted lifting costs from gross

sales of oil and gas to calculate "gross income" for purposes

of the personal holding company test. Using this calculation

of "gross income," the Service determined that Rhoades Oil

was a personal holding company under Section 542 and was

therefore subject to the tax on undistributed personal holding

company income under Section 541.

II

Summary judgment is appropriate where "there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact," Celotex Corp. _v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Windon Third Oil & Gas

Drilling Partnership v. Federal Deposit Insurance Corp., 805

F.2d 342, 345 (10th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 947

(1987), and "the moving party is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law," Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). In Celotex, the

Supreme Court stated:

[t]he plain language of Rule 56 (c) mandates the

entry of summary judgment, after adequate time

for discovery and upon motion, against a party

who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish

the existence of an element essential to that party’s

case, and on which that party will bear the burden

of proof at trial.

477 U.S. at 322.

A party opposing a properly supported motion for

summary judgment must offer evidence. in admissible form,

of specific facts, Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e), sufficient to raise a

"genuine issue of material fact." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-48 (1986) ("[T]he mere existence of

some alleged factual dispute between the parties will not

-A-10-

defeat an otherwise properly supported motion for summary

judgment."). "Factual disputes that are irrelevant or

unnecessary will not be counted." Id. at 248.

Summary judgment is only appropriate if "there is

[not] sufficient evidence favoring the nonmoving party for a

jury to return a verdict for that party." Id. at 250. The

Supreme Court stated:

{t]he mere existence of a scintilla of evidence in

support of the plaintiffs position will be

insufficient; there must be evidence on which the

jury could reasonably find for the plaintiff.

Id. at 252. Thus, to defeat a summary judgment motion, the

nonmovant "must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts."

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S.

574, 585-86 (1986); Anderson, 477 U.S. at 250 ("[T]here is

no issue for trial unless there is sufficient evidence favoring

the nonmoving party for a jury to return a verdict for that

party. If the evidence is merely colorable, or is not

significantly probative, summary judgment may be granted."

(citations omitted)).

In essence, the inquiry for the Court is "whether the

evidence presents a sufficient disagreement to require

submission to a jury or whether it is so one-sided that one

party must prevail as a matter of law." Anderson, 477 U.S.

at 250. In its review, the Court construes the record in the

light most favorable to the party opposing summary

judgment. Boren v. Southwestern Bell Tel. Co., 933 F.2d

891, 892 (10th Cir. 1991).

Il

The language of the statute and the legislative history

-A-11-

of the personal holding company tax provisions make clear

that any corporation that falls within the technical provisions

of the statute will be deemed a "personal holding company."

H.R. Rep. No. 704, 73d Cong., 2d Sess. 11-12 (1934).°**"

"The provision is designed so that there is no necessity to

prove a purpose to avoid surtaxes [on wealthy individuals],

and it has been considerably strengthened and improved by

the Revenue Act of 1937." H.R. Rep. No. 1860, 75th Cong.,

3d Sess. 3 (1938). See American Package Corp. v.

Commissioner, 125 F.2d 413, 416-17 (4th Cir. 1942) (noting

that, unlike the accumulated earnings tax, the personal

holding company tax must be applied regardless of whether

there is a legitimate business purpose); Investors Ins. Agency

vy. Commissioner, 72 T.C. 1027, 1032-33 (1979), aff'd, 677

F.2d 1328 (9th Cir. 1982) (applying personal holding

company tax despite being a trap for the unwary);

Montgomery Coca-Cola Bottling Co. v United States, 615

F.2d 1318, 1323 (Cl. Ct. 1980) (tax is "automatic upon

qualification under the objective criteria of sections 541 et

seq., and . . . does not turn on a tax avoidance motive").

A "personal holding company" is defined in Section

542(a) of the Code as follows:

**

""As Defendant stated in its brief, the goal of Congress in

enacting the personal holding company tax was to prevent the use of

"incorporated pocketbooks” by high-bracket individual taxpayers to shield

their investment income from tax at the steeply graduated individual tax

rates while retaining control over the underlying portfolio securities

through their control of the personal holding company. To accomplish this

goal, Congress established a set of mechanical tests for determining

whether a company was a personal holding company. Def.’s Resp. Br. at

8.

-A-12-

(a) | GENERAL RULE.- For purposes of this subtitle, the

term "personal holding company" means any

corporation * * * if--

(1) ADJUSTED ORDINARY GROSS INCOME

REQUIREMENTS. At least 60 percent of its

adjusted ordinary gross income (as defined in

section 543(b)(2)) for the taxable year is

personal holding company income (as defined

in section 543(a), and

(2) STOCK OWNERSHIP REQUIREMENT. At

any time during the last half of the taxable

year more than 50 percent in value of its

outstanding stock is owned, directly or

indirectly, by or for not more than 5

individuals. * * *

The parties have stipulated that during the last half of

each taxable year at issue, more than 50 percent of the

outstanding stock of Rhoades Oil was owned by no more than

5 individuals. Plaintiff therefore has satisfied the stock

ownership test set forth in Section 542(a)(2).

If a corporation meets the stock ownership test of

Section 542(a)(2), under the terms of Section 542(a)(1) it will

be subject to the 28 percent tax on its undistributed personal

holding company income if its personal holding company

income comprises 60 percent or more of its "adjusted

ordinary gross income," as that term is defined in Section

543(b). Because the amount of Rhoades Oil’s personal

holding company income is not in dispute, the sole issue is

the proper method for determining its "adjusted ordinary

gross income".

The term "ordinary gross income” is defined in

-A-13-

Section 543(b)(1) as:

(b) DEFINITIONS - For purposes of this part -

(1) ORDINARY GROSS INCOME. - The term

“ordinary gross income" means the gross income determined

by excluding -

(A) all gains from the sale or other

disposition of capital assets,

(B) all gains (other than those referred to in

subparagraph (A)) from the sale or other disposition

of property described in section 1231(b), and

(C) in the case of a foreign corporation...

The term "adjusted ordinary gross income" is defined in

Section 543(b)(2) as:

(2) ADJUSTED ORDINARY GROSS INCOME.

The term "adjusted Ordinary gross income" means the

ordinary gross income adjusted as follows:

baad ok *

(B) MINERAL ROYALTIES, ETC - From

the gross income from mineral, oil, and gas royalties

described in paragraph (4), and from the gross income

from working interests in an oil or gas well, subtract

the amount allowable as deductions for -

(i) exhaustion, wear and tear,

obsolescence, amortization, and

depletion,

(ii) property and severance taxes,

(ili) interest, and

(iv) rent,

to the extent allocable, under regulations prescribed

by the Secretary, to such gross income from royalties

or such gross income from working interests in oil or

-A-14-

gas wells. The amount subtracted under this

subparagraph with respect to royalties shall not exceed

the gross income from such royalties, and the amount

subtracted under this subparagraph with respect to

working interests shall not exceed gross income from

such working interests.

As Defendant stated in its brief, the determination of

"adjusted ordinary gross income" may be illustrated as

follows:

Gross Income

less: Items described in Section 543(b)(1)(A)-(C)

equals: Ordinary Gross Income

and

Ordinary Gross Income

less: Items described in Section 543(b)(2)(B)(I)-(iv)

equals: Adjusted Ordinary Gross Income

The parties do not dispute the amounts of the

adjustments to be made under Section 543(b)(1)(A)-(C) to

reduce "gross income" to "ordinary gross income", or under

Section 543(b)(2)(B)(i)-(iv) to arrive at “adjusted ordinary

gross income." The parties disagree, however, as to the

proper definition of "gross income" under Section 543(b)(1),

the starting point of the calculation. The question for the

Court, therefore, is what constitutes "gross income" for

purposes of Section 543(b)(1) and the applicable regulations

in effect and pertinent to the taxable years at issue.

IV

Defendant claims that under Section 543 and the

applicable regulations "gross income" means gross sales (or

-A-15-

receipts or revenues) reduced by "lifting costs." In support of

this view, Defendant relies almost exclusively on Revenue

Ruling 60-344, 1960-2 C.B. 186 and Laguna Royalty Co. v.

Commissioner, 406 F.2d 703 (5th Cir. 1969), aff’g, 27

T.C.M. (CCH) 164 (1968). Based on these authorities, and

using this method of calculating "gross income," Defendant

argues that Rhoades Oil should be classified as a personal

holding company for the taxable years in question. The

Court, however, believes that Defendant’s reliance upon these

authorities is misplaced.

In Revenue Ruling 60-344, the taxpayer sought advice

as to whether "lifting costs" constitute a part of production

costs in the determination of "gross income" from oil

production under the provisions of Section 61 (a) of the Code

relating to the definition of gross income, and Section 542(a)

of the Code relating to the definition of a personal holding

company.

At the time of Revenue Ruling 60-344, Section 61(a)

provided that "gross income means all income from whatever

source derived, including (but not limited to) . . . (2) Gross

income derived from business...." These provisions remained

in effect through taxable years 1988, 1989. and 1990. By

contrast, however, Section 542 and Section 543, which were

subsequently amended in 1964, were materially different

prior to the taxable years at issue here, Stating in applicable

part:

Section 542 [1954 Code]. (a) GENERAL

RULE. - For purposes of this subtitle, the term

"personal holding company" means any Corporation .

. if-

ii) @EREOSS INCOME

-A-16-

REQUIREMENT. - At least 80 percent of its

gross income for the taxable year is personal

holding company income as defined in section

FES ks

Section 543 [1954 Code]. (a) GENERAL

RULE. - For purposes of this subtitle, the term

"personal holding company income" means _ the

portion of the gross income which consists of:

(1) DIVIDENDS * * *

(2) STOCK AND SECURITIES TRANSACTIONS * * *

(3) COMMODITIES TRANSACTIONS * * *

(4) ESTATES AND TRUSTS * * *

(5) PERSONAL SERVICE CONTRACTS * * *

(6) USE OF CORPORATION PROPERTY BY

SHAREHOLDERS * * *

(7) RENTS ***

(8) MINERAL, OIL AND GAS ROYALTIES * * *

Therefore, the question presented to the Service in Revenue

Ruling 60-344 was the meaning of the term "gross income"

as used in these pre-1964 provisions of the Code.

Moreover, without reasoning or justification, Revenue

Ruling 60-344 declared that Treas. Reg. § 1.61 -3,°°°™” which

*eee%

Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3(a) provides in applicable part:

(a) Jn general. In a manufacturing, merchandising, or mining

business, "gross income” means the total sales, less the cost of goods

sold, plus any income from investments and from incidental or outside

operations or sources. Gross income is determined without subtraction

of depletion allowances based on a percentage of income to the extent that

it exceeds cost depletion which may be required to be included in the

amount of inventoriable costs as provided in Section 1.471-11 and without

subtraction of selling expenses, losses or other items not ordinarily used

in computing costs of goods sold or amounts which are a type for which

i i lili on si an ie,

-A-17-

by its terms pertains to "a manufacturing, merchandising, or

mining business", applied equally to an oil and gas business

for purposes of Section 542, and proceeded to analyze the

treatment of "lifting costs" under this provision of the

regulations. ******

Revenue Ruling 60-344 concluded that:

. . . in the case of oil and gas producing properties, "lifting

costs" constitute a portion of the cost of producing oil and

gas and must be subtracted from gross sales in computing

gross income for the purpose of determining whether

personal holding company income, as defined in section

543 of the Code, is at least 80 percent of the corporation’s

gross income for a taxable year.

In Laguna Royalty Co., the Fifth Circuit adopted

a deduction would be disallowed under Section 162(c), (f), or (g) in the

case of a business expense. The costs of goods sold should be determined

in accordance with the method of accounting consistently used by the

taxpayer.

“***Revenue Ruling 60-344 expressly relied upon Treas. Reg.

§ 1.61 -3 stating:

Section 61(a) of the Code provides, in part, that gross income

includes gross income derived from business. Section 1.61 -3 of the

regulations defines gross income in the case of manufacturing,

merchandising, or mining business as total sales, less the cost of goods

sold, plus any income from investments and from incidental or outside

operations or sources. In determining gross income, a subtraction should

not be made for depletion allowances based on a percentage of income,

selling expenses, losses, or other items not ordinarily used in computing

cost of goods sold. However, a taxpayer may elect to subtract for

depreciation or depletion based on cost incurred in connection with the

production of goods or materials in determining gross income. See Rev.

Rul. 141, C.B. 1953-2, 101.

-A-18-

without discussion the findings and conclusions of the Tax

Court memorandum opinion. 406 F.2d 703. In turn, the

memorandum opinion, without informative analysis, adopted

Revenue Ruling 60-344 and determined that the issue should

be decided under I.R.C. § 61(a)(2) and Treas. Reg. § 1.61-

3.°°°""""" The Tax Court concluded:

We agree with respondent that, in the instant case, the term

gross income” means the gross sales in the amount for

which the oil and gas was sold in the immediate vicinity of

the wells, less “lifting costs." This position, as set forth in

Rev. Rul. 60344, 1960-2 C.B. 186 is that:

[ijn the case of oil and gas producing properties,

"lifting costs" constitute a portion of the cost of

producing the oil and gas and must be subtracted

from gross sales in computing gross income for the

purpose of determining whether personal holding

company income, as defined in section 543 of the

eeTeSee

The Court observes that in Laguna Royalty Co., as here,

the taxpayer argued that the treatment of “lifting costs" should be

determined by applying the definition of "gross income” contained in

Section 613 of the Code. 406 F.2d 703 (Sth Cir. 1969), aff'g 27 T.C.M.

(CCH) 164 (1968). The Tax Court properly rejected the taxpayer’s

argument and analyzed that case under Section 61, stating in part, "[t]he

term ‘gross income from the property’, as used in Section 613 for the

purposes of measuring the depletion or exhaustion of the natural resource,

is not the same as ‘gross income’ as used in Section 542(a)(1) for the

purpose of determining personal holding company tax liability." Id.

Similarly, in the instant case, this Court finds that Section 61, and not

Section 613, controls the definition of "gross income,” and thus Rhoades

Oil’s argument to the contrary is without merit. Accord Treas. Reg. §

1.542-2. As discussed more fuily below, the Court departs from Laguna

Royalty Co. by concluding that Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3, which refers to

“mining,” does not also apply to “oil and gas” under the statute as it

existed following the 1964 amendments.

ee ee eee ee ee

s og Oe ee PP ee ap ee eT ee

-A-19-

Internal Revenue Code of 1954, is at least 80

percent of the corporation’s total gross income for

a taxable year.

In our opinion this is a correct statement of the rule

applicable herein.

With respect to Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3, the Tax Court stated:

Section 61 provides, in pertinent part, that gross

income includes "gross income derived from

business," and section 1.61-3 of the Regulations

defines gross income in the case of a manufacturing,

merchandising or mining business as total sales, less

cost of goods sold.

V

The authorities cited by Defendant all rely upon Treas. Reg.

§ 1.61-3 in deciding that "lifting costs" must be subtracted

from gross receipts to determine "gross income" under

Section 543(b)(1). These decisions apparently are based on

the view that the oil and gas business is included in the

phrase "manufacturing, merchandising, or mining business"

contained in the regulation.

Whether these authorities, which construed the term

"gross income" for purposes of Section 542(a)(1) of the pre-

1964 statute, were correctly decided, need not be determined

here. Indeed, nothing in the pre-1964 statute is presently

before this Court. What is before the Court is the law in

effect and applicable to taxable years 1988,1989, and 1990.

The Court finds that Revenue Ruling 60-344 and the case law

cited by Defendant in its brief all pertain to the pre-1964

Statute and thus are not binding in deciding the instant case.

Accordingly, the Court must look to the plain language of the

Code and the regulations in effect during the taxable years at

ee

-A-20-

issue.

Two of the relevant provisions of the Code provide as

follows:

SECTION 541. IMPOSITION OF PERSONAL HOLDING

COMPANY TAX. In addition to other taxes imposed by

this chapter, there is hereby imposed for each taxable year

on the undistributed personal holding company income (as

defined in section 545) of every personal holding company

(as defined in section 542) a personal holding company tax

equal to 39.6 percent of the undistributed personal holding

company income.

SECTION 542. DEFINITION OF PERSONAL HOLDING

COMPANY. (a) GENERAL RULE - For purposes of this

subtitle, the term "personal holding company" means any

corporation (other than a corporation described in

subsection (c)) if-

(1) ADJUSTED ORDINARY GROSS INCOME

REQUIREMENT. - At least 60 percent of its

adjusted ordinary gross income (as defined in

section 543(b)(2)) for the taxable year is personal

holding company income (as defined in section

543(a)) ....

Revenue Ruling 60-344 construed the term "gross

income" as set forth in Section 542 as it existed prior to

1964. Clearly, however, following the 1964 amendments,

Section 542 no longer contained the term "gross income."

Rather, the section used the term “adjusted ordinary gross

income" instead of "gross income" and expressly stated that

the term is defined in Section 543(b)(2).

The language in Section 543(b) is illuminating for at

least two reasons. First, this is a new definition section

added by the 1964 amendments to set forth a determination

—— ee

-A-21-

of "adjusted ordinary gross income" step-by-step from "gross

income" to "ordinary gross income," I.R.C. § 543(b)(1), and

from "ordinary gross income" to "adjusted ordinary gross

income," I.R.C. § 543(b)(2). Second, the provision sets

forth the proper treatment of oil and gas royalties and

working interests in oil and gas wells, and expressly

distinguishes such royalties and interests from mineral

royalties, which are also specifically addressed. I.R.C. §

543(b)(2)(B).

The question for this Court is the meaning of "gross

income" as that term is used in Section 543(a)(1), the starting

point of the relevant valculation. Defendant first contends that

the Court should defer to Revenue Ruling 60-344, citing

Dunn v. United States, 468 F. Supp. 991, 993 (S.D.N.Y.

1979) (holding that revenue rulings have "the power of legal

precedents unless unreasonable or inconsistent with the

provisions of the Internal Revenue Code.") This revenue

ruling, however, construed the term "gross income"

contained in Section 542 prior to the 1964 amendments. As

a result of these amendments, Section 542 no longer contains

the term "gross income." Instead, "gross income" is used as

the starting point of the new definition section in Section

543(b), which definition section sets forth certain adjustments

and other calculations including specific subtractions to arrive

at the "gross income" both "from mineral, oil and gas

royalties" and "from working interests in an oil and gas

well." These adjustments and calculations were not in the

pre-1964 statute. In light of the material changes in the

statute, the Court rejects Defendant’s contention that Revenue

Ruling 60-344 and case law adopting its rationale control the

instant case.

-A-22-

Defendant next contends that, even if Revenue Ruling

60-344 and the cases that follow this ruling are no longer

controlling, the reasoning of such authorities should be

followed. Under this theory, for the reasons described above,

the Court would be required to apply Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3. |

As noted above, Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3 applies to "a

manufacturing, merchandising or mining business."

Defendant, however, has identified no authority whatsoever

to support its claim that "oil and gas" is synonymous with

"mining". Moreover, anyone familiar with the history of

Oklahoma is fully aware of the distinct contributions that the

oil industry and the mining industry have each made to the

State and, to date, the Court is unaware of any instance in

which anyone. has confused one industry with the other.

The assertion by Defendant that "oil and gas"

constitutes "mining" is even more incredible in the context of

the statute itself. As noted above, Section 543(b)(2) expressly

distinguishes between "oil," "gas," and "minerals." Thus, the

drafters of Section 543(b)(2) were clearly aware of the

#—<Hifferences between minerals, oil, and gas. Therefore, the

Court assumes that the drafters of Section 543(b)(1) were also

aware of this distinction. The Court finds that, for purposes

of defining "gross income" as the starting point of the

calculation in Section 543(b)(1), the drafters did not intend

the term "mining" to encompass "oil and gas".

Although ignoring the plain language of both the

statute and Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3, Defendant asserts further

that "mining" must include “oil and gas," because each

endeavor involves "the extraction of natural resources from

the earth." In its brief, Defendant states that:

[t}here is nothing to suggest that the activities of

-A-23-

Rhoades Oil should be treated differently than any

mining activity for purposes of Treas. Reg. § 1.61-

3(a) - both involve the extraction of natural

resources from the earth. And for purposes of the

personal holding company test, there can certainly

be no rationale for distinguishing them.

As noted above, however, this statute is technical in nature

and must be strictly applied according to its plain language.

See Montgomery Coca-Cola Bottling Co., 615 F.2d at 1323.

Strict statutory construction forbids substituting the term "oil

and gas" for "mining" simply because they both involve the

"extraction of natural resources from the earth." If the

Commissioner and the Secretary of the Treasury had intended

to apply Treas. Reg. § 1.61 -3 to "oil and gas” as well as to

"mining", then this provision of the regulations should have

referred to “the extraction of natural resources from the

earth.""""""""" See e.g. Granquist v. Hackleman, 264 F.2d 9.

16 (9th Cir. 1959) (stating "[a] Treasury Regulation has the

force and effect of law only if it is consistent with and

Defendant argues that the fact that Congress "made no

changes to the definition of "gross income’ in the Revenue Act of 1964

counsels that Congress acquiesced in the IRS’s interpretation of Revenue

Ruling 60-344. It is long-established that *[a]dministrative’ construction

must be deemed to have received legislative approval by the re-enactment

of the statutory provision, without material change." This argument is

wholly without merit. As noted herein, the 1964 amendments contained

material changes to the statute, including a detailed definitional section

that expressly distinguished between minerals and oil and gas. A more

reasonable conclusion is that if the Service and the Department of

Treasury had intended to continue to treat “oil and gas” in the same

fashion as "mining," then the Commissioner and the Secretary would have

amended the regulations to reflect the changes in the statute.

-A-24-

reasonably adapted to the enforcement of a revenue statute.")

In summary, the Court concludes that for purposes of

determining “gross income" under Section 542, the

controlling authority is Section 61. Section 1.61-3 of the

regulations, however, does not apply to "oil and gas,"

because it only refers to "mining" and the statute specifically

distinguishes between "minerals" and "oil and gas." I.R.C.

§ 543(b)(2)(B). The authorities cited by Defendant to the

contrary are inapposite because this provision of the Code

was materially amended in 1964, and the delineation between

"minerals" and "oil and gas" was reflected in a new

definitional section added by the 1964 amendments. Under

general principles, "gross income" refers to "gross income

derived from business." I.R.C. § 61(a)(2). Absent an express

statement to the contrary in the statute or applicable

regulations, "lifting costs" should be treated as operating

costs under general principles and therefore should not be

subtracted from gross profits to determine "gross income."

Applying these principles to the instant case, Rhoades

Oil is not a personal holding company as that term is defined

in Sections 541 through 543 of the Code for taxable years

1988, 1989, and 1990. Therefore, summary judgment is

hereby granted for the Plaintiff.“*""*""”

Stseesese

Treas. Reg. § 1.61-3 provides that the "cost of goods

sold should be determined in accordance with the method of accounting

consistently used by the taxpayer." Accordingly, Plaintiff argues that the

method of accounting consistently used by Rhodes Oil reflects "lifting

costs” in the category "Operating Expenses" rather than in the category

"Cost of Sales," and that this treatment should be respected under the

regulations. Because the Court has determined that, for the reasons

discussed herein, this regulation does not apply to “oil and gas,” it is

-A-25-

IT IS SO ORDERED.

This 14th day of February, 1996.

/s/ Sven Erik Holmes

Sven Erik Holmes

United States District Judge

unnecessary to reach this issue.

-A-26-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-C-0036-H

[File Stamped 2/20/96]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

JUDGMENT

The Court duly considered the issues and rendered a

decision in accordance with the order filed on February 15,

1996.

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED, ADJUDGED AND

DECREED that judgment is hereby entered for the Plaintiff

and against the Defendant for taxes and interest paid in the

amount of $503,689.00, plus interest as allowed by law.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

This 19th day of February, 1996.

/s/ Sven Erik Holmes

Sven Erik Holmes

United States District Judge

“Att?

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

Title 26, United State Code

§ 61. Gross income defined.

(a) General definition.--Except as otherwise provided

in this subtitle, gross income means all income from whatever

source derived, including (but not limited to) the following

items:

(2) Gross income derived from business;

* k %

§ 162. Trade or business expenses.

(a) In general.--There shall be allowed as a deduction

all the ordinary and necessary expenses paid or incurred

during the taxable year in carrying on any trade or business,

including--

(1) a reasonable allowance for Salaries or

other compensation for personal services actually

rendered;

(2) traveling expenses (including amounts

expended for meals and lodging other than amounts

which are lavish or extravagant under the

Circumstances) while away from home in the pursuit

of a trade or business; and

(3) rentals or other payments required to be

made as a condition to the continued use or

possession, for purposes of the trade or business, of

-A-28-

property to which the taxpayer has not taken or is not

taking title or in which he has no equity.

For purposes of the preceding sentence, the place of

residence of a Member of Congress (including any Delegate

and Resident Commissioner) within the State, congressional

district, or possession which he represents in Congress shall

be considered his home, but amounts expended by such

Members within each taxable year for living expenses shall

not be deductible for income tax purposes in excess of

$3,000. For purposes of paragraph (2), the taxpayer shall

not be treated as being temporarily away from home during

any period of employment if such period exceeds 1 year.

* * *

§ 471. General rule for inventories.

(a) General rule.--Whenever in the opinion of the

Secretary the use of inventories is necessary in order clearly

to determine the income of any taxpayer, inventories shall be

taken by such taxpayer on such basis as the Secretary may

prescribe as conforming as nearly as may be to the best

accounting practice in the trade or business and as most

clearly reflecting the income.

(b) Cross reference.-- For rules relating to

capitalization of direct and indirect costs of property, see

section 263A.

-A-29-

§ 542. Definition of personal holding company.

(a) General rule.--For purposes of this subtitle, the

term "personal holding company" means any corporation

(other than a corporation described in subsection (c)) if--

(1) Adjusted ordinary gross income

requirement.--At least 60 percent of its adjusted

ordinary gross income (as defined in section

543(b)(2)) for the taxable year is personal holding

company income (as defined in section 543(a)), and

(2) Stock ownership requirement.--At any time

during the last half of the taxable year more than 50

percent in value of its outstanding stock is owned,

directly or indirectly, by or for not more than 5

individuals. For purposes of this paragraph, an

organization described in section 401(a), 501(c)(17),

or 509(a) or a portion of a trust permanently set aside

or to be used exclusively for the purposes described

in section 642(c) or a corresponding provision of a

prior income tax law shall be considered an

individual.

§ 543 Personal holding company income.

(a) General rule.--For purposes of this subtitle, the

term "personal holding company income" means the portion

of the adjusted ordinary gross income which consists of:

(1) Dividends, etc.--Dividends, _ interest,

royalties (other than mineral, oil, or gas royalties or

-A-30-

copyright royalties), and annuities.

(2) Rents.--The adjusted income from rents;

except that such adjusted income shall not be included

if--

(A) such adjusted income constitutes 50

percent or more of the adjusted ordinary gross

income, and

(B) the sum of--

(i) the dividends paid during the

taxable year (determined under section

562),

(ii) the dividends considered as

paid on the last day of the taxable year

under section 563(d) (as limited by the

second sentence of section 563(b)),

and

(iii) the consent dividends for

the taxable year (determined under

section 565), equals or exceeds the

amount, if any, by which the personal

holding company income for the

taxable year (computed without regard

to this paragraph and paragraph (6),

and computed by including as personal

holding company income copyright

royalties and the adjusted income from

mineral, oil, and gas royalties) exceeds

10 percent of the ordinary gross

income.

(3) Mineral, oil, and gas royalties.--The

-A-31-

adjusted income from mineral, oil, and gas royalties;

except that such adjusted income shall not be included

if--

(A) such adjusted income constitutes 50

percent or more of the adjusted ordinary gross

income,

(B) the personal holding company

income for the taxable year (computed without

regard to this paragraph, and computed by

including as personal holding company income

copyright royalties and the adjusted income

from rents) is not more than 10 percent of the

ordinary gross income, and

(C) the sum of the deductions which

are allowable under section 162 (relating to

trade or business expenses) other than--

(i) deductions for compensation

for personal services rendered by the

shareholders, and

(ii) deductions which are

specifically allowable under sections

other than section 162, equals or

exceeds 15 percent of the adjusted

ordinary gross income.

(4) Copyright royalties.--Copyright royalties;

except that copyright royalties shall not be included

if--

(A) such royalties (exclusive of

royalties received for the use of, or right to

use, copyrights or interests in copyrights on

works created in whole, or in part, by any

-A-32-

shareholder) constitute 50 percent or more of

the ordinary gross income,

(B) the personal holding company

income for the taxable year computed--

(i) without regard to copyright

royalties, other than royalties received

for the use of, or right to use,

copyrights or interests in copyrights in

works created in whole, or in part, by

any shareholder owning more than 10

percent of the total outstanding capital

stock of the corporation,

(ii) without regard to dividends

from any corporation in which the

taxpayer owns at least 50 percent of all

classes of stock entitled to vote and at

least 50 percent of the total value of all

classes of stock and which corporation

meets the requirements of this

subparagraph and subparagraphs (A)

and (C), and

(iii) by including as personal

holding company income the adjusted

income from rents and the adjusted

income from mineral, oil, and gas

royalties, is not more than 10 percent

of the ordinary gross income, and

(6) Use of corporate property by shareholder. --

-A-33-

(A) Amounts received as compensation

(however designated and from whomever

received) for the use of, or the right to use,

tangible property of the corporation in any

case where, at any time during the taxable :

year, 25 percent or more in value of the

outstanding stock of the corporation is owned,

directly or indirectly, by or for an individual

entitled to the use of the property (whether

such right is obtained directly from the

corporation or by means of a sublease or other

arrangement).

(B) Subparagraph (A) shall apply only

to a corporation which has personal holding

company income in excess of 10 percent of its

ordinary gross income.

(C) For purposes of the limitation in

subparagraph (B), personal holding company

income shall be computed--

(i) without regard to

subparagraph (A) or paragraph (2),

(ii) by excluding amounts

received as compensation for the use of

(or right to use) intangible property

(other than mineral, oil, or gas

royalties or copyright royalties) if a

substantial part of the tangible property

used in connection with such intangible

property is owned by the corporation

and all such tangible and intangible

property is used in the active conduct

-A-34-

of a trade or business by an individual

a individuals described in subparagraph

(A), and

(iii) by including copyright

royalties and adjusted income from

mineral, oil, and gas royalties.

(b) Definitions.--For purposes of this part--

(1) Ordinary gross income.--The term

"ordinary gross income" means the gross income

determined by excluding--

(A) all gains from the sale or other

disposition of capital assets,

(B) all gains (other than those referred

to in subparagraph (A)) from the sale or other

disposition of property described in section

1231(b), and

(2) Adjusted ordinary gross income.--The term

"adjusted ordinary gross income" means the ordinary

gross income adjusted as follows:

(B) Mineral royalties, etc.--From the

gross income from mineral, oil, and gas

-A-35-

royalties described in paragraph (4), and from

the gross income from working interests in an

oil or gas well, subtract the amount allowable

as deductions for--

(i) exhaustion, wear and tear,

obsolescence, amortization, and

depletion,

(ii) property and severance

taxes,

(ili) interest, and

(iv) rent, to the extent allocable,

under regulations prescribed by the

Secretary, to such gross income from

royalties or such gross income from

working interests in oil or gas wells.

The amount subtracted under this

subparagraph with respect to royalties

Shall not exceed the gross income from

such royalties, and the amount

subtracted under this subparagraph with

respect to working interests shall not

exceed the gross income from such

working interests.

(4) Adjusted income from mineral, oil, and gas

royalties.--The term "adjusted income from mineral,

oil, and gas royalties" means the gross income from

mineral, oil, and gas royalties (including production

payments and overriding royalties), reduced by the

-A-36-

amount subtracted under paragraph (2) (B) of this

subsection in respect of such royalties.

§613 Percentage depletion.

(a) General rule.--In the case of the mines, wells, and

other natural deposits listed in subsection (b), the allowance

for depletion under section 611 shall be the percentage,

specified in subsection (b), of the gross income from the

property excluding from such gross income an amount equal

to any rents or royalties paid or incurred by the taxpayer in

respect of the property. Such allowance shall not exceed 50

percent (100 percent in the case of oil and gas properties) of

the taxpayer’s taxable income from the property (computed

without allowance for depletion). For purposes of the

preceding sentence, the allowable deductions taken into

account with respect to expenses of mining in computing the

taxable income from the property shall be decreased by an

amount equal to so much of any gain which (1) is treated

under section 1245 (relating to gain from disposition of

certain depreciable property) as ordinary income, and (2) is

properly allocable to the property. In no case shall the

allowance for depletion under section 611 be less than it

would be if computed without reference to this section.

-A-37-

(b) Percentage depletion rates.--The mines, wells, and

other natural deposits, and the percentages, referred to in

subsection (a)

States--

are as follows:

(1) 22 percent--

(A) sulphur and uranium; and

(B) if from deposits in the United

States--anorthosite, clay, laterite, and nephelite

syenite (to the extent that alumina and

aluminum compounds are extracted

therefrom), asbestos, bauxite, celestite.

chromite, corundum, fluorspar, graphite,

ilmenite, kyanite, mica, olivine. quartz crystals

(radio grade), rutile, block steatite talc, and

zircon, and ores of the following metals:

antimony, beryllium, bismuth, cadmium.

cobalt, columbium, lead, lithium, manganese,

mercury, molybdenum, nickel, platinum and

platinum group metals, tantalum, thorium, tin,

titanium, tungsten, vanadium, and zinc.

(2) 15 percent--If from deposits in the United

(A) gold, silver, copper, and iron ore.

and

(B) oil shale (except shale described in

paragraph (5)).

(3) 14 percent--

(A) metal mines (if paragraph (1)(B) or

(2A) does not apply), rock asphalt, and

vermiculite; and

(B) if paragraph (1)(B), (5), or (6)(B)

does not apply, ball clay, bentonite, china

-A-38-

clay, sagger clay, and clay used or sold for

use for purposes dependent on its refractory

-_properties.

(4) 10 percent--asbestos (if paragraph (1)(B)

does not apply), brucite, coal, lignite, perlite, sodium

chloride, and wollastonite.

(5) 7 1/2 percent--clay and shale used or sold

for use in the manufacture of sewer pipe or brick, and

clay, shale, and slate used or sold for use as sintered

or burned lightweight aggregates.

(6) 5 percent--

(A) gravel, peat, pumice, sand, scoria,

shale (except shale described in paragraph

(2)(B) or (5)), and stone [FN1] except stone

described in paragraph (7));

(B) clay used, or sold for use, in the

manufacture of drainage and roofing tile,

flower pots, and kindred products; and

(C) if from brine wells--bromine,

calcium chloride, and magnesium chloride.

(7) 14 percent--all other minerals, including,

but not limited to, aplite, barite, borax, calcium

carbonates, diatomaceous earth, dolomite, feldspar,

fullers earth, garnet, gilsonite, granite, limestone,

magnesite, magnesium carbonates, marble, mollusk

Shells (including clam shells and oyster shells),

phosphate rock, potash, quartzite, slate, soapstone,

stone (used or sold for use by the mine owner or

operator as dimension stone or ornamental stone),

thenardite, tripoli, trona, and (if paragraph (1)(B) does

not apply) bauxite, flake graphite, fluorspar,

-A-39-

lepidolite, mica, spodumene, and talc (including

Pyrophyllite), except that, unless sold on bid in direct

competition with a bona fide bid to sell a mineral

listed in paragraph (3), the percentage shall be 5

percent for any such other mineral (other than slate to

which paragraph (5) applies) when used, or sold for

use, by the mine owner or operator as rip rap, ballast,

road material, rubble, concrete aggregates, or for

similar purposes. For purposes of this paragraph, the

term “all other minerals" does not include--

(A) soil, sod, dirt, turf. water, or

mosses;

(B) minerals from sea water, the air, or

similar inexhaustible sources: or

(C) oil and gas wells.

For the purposes of this subsection, minerals (other

than sodium chloride) extracted from brines pumped

from a saline perennial lake within the United States

Shall not be considered minerals from an inexhaustible

source.

(c) Definition of gross income from property .--For

purposes of this section--

(1) Gross income from the property .--The term

"gross income from the property" means, in the case

of a property other than-an oil or gas well and other

than a geothermal deposit, the gross income from

mining.

(2) Mining.--The term "mining" includes not

merely the extraction of the ores or minerals from the

ground but also the treatment processes considered as

mining described in paragraph (4) (and the treatment

-A-40-

processes necessary or incidental thereto), and so

much of the transportation of ores or minerals

(whether or not by common carrier) from the point of

extraction from the ground to the plants or mills in

which such treatment processes are applied thereto as

is not in excess of 50 miles unless the Secretary finds

that the physical and other requirements are such that

the ore or mineral must be transported a greater

distance to such plants or mills.

(3) Extraction of the ores or minerals from the

ground.--The term "extraction of the ores or minerals

from the ground" includes the extraction by mine

owners or operators of ores or minerals from the

waste or residue of prior mining. The preceding

sentence shall not apply to any such extraction of the

mineral or ore by a purchaser of such waste or

residue or of the rights to extract ores or minerals

therefrom.

(4) Treatment processes considered as

mining.--The following treatment processes where

applied by the mine owner or operator shall be

considered as mining to the extent they are applied to

the ore or mineral in respect of which he is entitled to

a deduction for depletion under section 611:

(A) In [FN2] the case of

coal--cleaning, breaking, sizing, dust allaying,

treating to prevent freezing, and loading for

shipment;

(B) in the case of sulfur recovered by

the Frasch process--cleaning, pumping to vats,

cooling, breaking, and loading for shipment;

-A-41-

(C) in the case of iron ore, bauxite,

ball and sagger clay, rock asphalt, and ores or

minerals which are customarily sold in the

form of a crude mineral product--sorting,

concentrating, sintering, and substantially

equivalent processes to bring to shipping grade

and form, and loading for shipment:

(D) in the case of lead, zinc, copper,

gold, silver, uranium, or fluorspar ores,

potash, and ores or minerals which are not

customarily sold in the form of the crude

mineral product--crushing, grinding, and

beneficiation by concentration (gravity,

flotation, amalgamation, electrostatic. or

Magnetic), cyanidation, leaching,

crystallization, precipitation (but not including

electrolytic deposition, roasting, thermal or

electric smelting, or refining), or by

substantially equivalent processes or

combination of processes used in the

Separation or extraction of the product or

products from the ore or the mineral or

minerals from other material from the mine or

other natural deposit;

(E) the pulverization of talc, the

burning of magnesite, the sintering and

nodulizing of phosphate rock, the

decarbonation of trona, and the furnacing of

quicksilver ores;

(F) in the case of calcium carbonates

and other minerals when used in making

-A-42-

cement--all processes (other than preheating of

the kiln feed) applied prior to the introduction

of the kiln feed into the kiln, but not including

any subsequent process;

(G) in the case of clay to which

paragraph (5) or (6)(B) of subsection (b)

applies--crushing, grinding, and separating the

mineral from waste, but not including any

subsequent process;

(H) in the case of oil shale--extraction

from the ground, crushing, loading into the

retort, and retorting, but not hydrogenation,

refining, or any other process subsequent to

retorting; and

(I) any other treatment process

provided for by regulations prescribed by the

Secretary which, with respect to the particular

ore or mineral, is not inconsistent with the

preceding provisions of this paragraph.

(5) Treatment processes not considered as

mining.--Unless such processes are otherwise

provided for in paragraph (4) (or are necessary or

incidental to processes so provided for), the following

treatment processes shall not be considered as

"mining": electrolytic deposition, roasting, calcining,

thermal or electric smelting, refining, polishing, fine

pulverization, blending with other materials, treatment

effecting a chemical change, thermal action, and

molding or shaping.

(d) Denial of percentage depletion in case of oil and

gas wells.--Except as provided in section 613A, in the case

-A-43-

of any oil or gas well, the allowance for depletion shall be

computed without reference to this section.

(e) Percentage depletion for geothermal deposits. --

(1) In general.--In the case of geothermal

deposits located in the United States or in a possession

of the United States, for purposes of subsection (a)--

(A) such deposits shall be treated as

listed in subsection (b), and

(B) 15 percent shall be deemed to be

the percentage specified in subsection (b).

(2) Geothermal deposit defined.--For purposes

of paragraph (1), the term "geothermal deposit"

means a geothermal reservoir consisting of natural

heat which is stored in rocks or in an aqueous liquid

Or vapor (whether or not under pressure). Such a

deposit shall in no case be treated as a gas well for

purposes of this section or section 613A, and this

section shall not apply to a geothermal deposit which

is located outside the United States or its possessions.

(3) Percentage depletion not to include lease

bonuses, etc.--In the case of any geothermal deposit,

the term "gross income from the property" shall, for

purposes of this section, not include any amount

described in section 613A(d)(5).

[(4) Redesignated (3)]

* k

-A-44-

Title 26 Code of Federal Regulations

§1.61-1 Gross Income.

(a) General Definition. Gross income means all

income from whatever source derived, unless excluded by

law. Gross income includes income realized in any form,

whether in money, property, or services. Income may be

realized, therefore, in the form of services, meals,

accommodations, stock, or other property, as well as in cash.

Section 61 lists the more common items of gross income for

purposes of illustration. For purposes of further illustration,

§1.61-14 mentions several miscellaneous items of gross

income not listed specifically in section 61. Gross income,

however, is not limited to the items so enumerated.

§ 1.61-3 Gross income derived from business.

(a) In general. In a manufacturing, merchandising,

or mining business, "gross income" means the total sales, less

the cost of goods sold, plus any income from investments and

from incidental or outside operations or sources. Gross

income is determined without subtraction of depletion

allowances based on a percentage of income to the extent that

it exceeds cost depletion which may be required to be

included in the amount of inventoriable costs as provided in

§ 1.471-11 and without subtraction of selling expenses, losses

or other items not ordinarily used in computing costs of

goods sold or amounts which are of a type for which a

TS

-A-45-

deduction would be disallowed under section 162(c), (f), or

(g) in the case of a business expense. The cost of goods sold

should be determined in accordance with the method of

accounting consistently used by the taxpayer. Thus, for

example, an amount cannot be taken into account in the

computation of cost of goods sold any earlier than the taxable

year in which economic performance occurs with respect to

the amount (see § 1.446-1(c)(1)(ii)).

* *

§ 1.471-7 Inventories of miners and manufacturers.

A taxpayer engaged in mining or manufacturing who

by a single process or uniform series of processes derives a

product of two or more kinds, sizes, or grades, the unit cost

of which is substantially alike, and who in conformity to a

recognized trade practice allocates an amount of cost to each

kind, size, or grade of product, which in the aggregate will

absorb the total cost of production, may, with the consent of

the Commissioner, use such allocated cost as a basis for

pricing inventories, provided such allocation bears a

reasonable relation to the respective selling values of the

different kinds, sizes, or grades of product. See section 472

as to last-in, first-out inventories.

§ 1.471-8 Inventories of retail merchants.

(a) Retail merchants who employ what is known as the

-A-46-

"retail method" of pricing inventories may make their returns

upon that method, provided that the use of such method is

designated upon the return, that accurate accounts are kept,

and that such method is consistently adhered to unless a

change is authorized by the Commissioner as provided in

paragraph (e) of § 1.446-1. Under the retail method the total

of the retail selling prices of the goods on hand at the end of

the year in each department or of each class of goods is

reduced to approximate cost by deducting therefrom an

amount which bears the same ratio to such total as--

(1) The total of the retail selling prices of the

goods included in the opening inventory plus the retail

selling prices of the goods purchased during the year,

with proper adjustment to such selling prices for all

mark-ups and mark-downs, less

(2) The cost of the goods included in the

opening inventory plus the cost of the goods

purchased during the year, bears to (1).

The result should represent as accurately as may be

the amounts added to the cost price of the goods to

cover selling and other expenses of doing business and

for the margin of profit. See §§ 1.263A-1 and

1.263A-3 for rules regarding the computation of costs

with respect to property acquired for resale.

(b) For further adjustments to be made in the case of

a retail merchant using the last-in, first-out inventory method

authorized by section 472, see paragraph (k) of § 1.472-1.

(c) A taxpayer maintaining more than one department

in his store or dealing in classes of goods carrying different

percentages of gross profit should not use a percentage of

profit based upon an average of his entire business, but

-A-47-

should compute and use in valuing his inventory the proper

percentages for the respective departments or classes of

goods.

(d) A taxpayer (other than one using the last-in,

first-out inventory method) who previously has determined

inventories in accordance with the retail method, except that,

to obtain a basis of approximate cost or market, whichever is

lower, has consistently and uniformly followed the practice

of adjusting the retail selling prices of the goods included in

the opening inventory and purchased during the taxable year

for mark-ups but not for mark-downs, may continue such

practice subject to the conditions prescribed in this section.

The adjustments must be bona fide and consistent and

uniform. Where mark-downs are not included in the

adjustments, mark-ups made to cancel or correct mark-

downs shall not be included; and the mark-ups included must

be reduced by the mark-downs made to cancel or correct such

mark-ups.

(¢) In no event shall mark-downs not based on actual

reduction of retail sale prices, such as mark-downs based on

depreciation and obsolescence, be recognized in determining

the retail selling prices of the goods on hand at the end of the

taxable year.

(f) A taxpayer (other than one using the last-in,

first-out inventory method) who previously has determined

inventories without following the practice of eliminating

mark-downs in making adjustments to retail selling prices

may adopt such practice, provided permission to do so is

obtained in accordance with, and subject to the terms

provided by, paragraph (e) of § 1.446-1. A taxpayer filing

a first return of income may adopt such practice subject to

-A-48-

approval by the district director upon examination of the

return.

(g) A taxpayer using the last-in, first-out inventory

method in conjunction with retail computations must adjust

retail selling prices for mark-downs as well as mark-ups, in

order that there may be reflected the approximate cost of the

goods on hand at the end of the taxable year regardless of

market values.

§ 1.613-3 Gross income from the property.

In the case of oil and gas wells, gross income from

the property, as used in section 613(c)(1), means the amount

for which the taxpayer sells the oil or gas in the immediate

vicinity of the well. If the oil or gas is not sold on the

premises but is manufactured or converted into a refined

product prior to sale, or is transported from the premises

prior to sale, the gross income from the property shall be

assumed to be equivalent to the representative market or filed

price of the oil or gas before conversion or transportation.

* * *

§ 1.613-4 Gross income from the property in the case of

minerals other than oil and gas.

(a) In general. The rules contained in this section are

applicable to the determination of gross income from the

property in the case of minerals other than oil and gas and the

-A-49-

rules contained in § 1.613-3 are not applicable to such

determination, notwithstanding provisions to the contrary in

§ 1.613-3. The term "gross income from the property," as

used in section 613(c)(1), means, in the case of a mineral

property other than an oil or gas property, gross income from

mining. "Gross income from mining" is that amount of

income which is attributable to the extraction of the ores or

minerals from the ground and the application of mining

processes, including mining transportation. For the purpose

of this section, "ordinary treatment processes" (applicable to

the taxable years beginning before January 1, 1961) and

"treatment processes considered as mining" (applicable to the

taxable years beginning after December 31, 1960) will be

referred to as "mining processes." Processes, including

packaging and transportation, which do not qualify as mining

will be referred to as "nonmining processes." Also for the

purpose of this section, transportation which qualifies as

"mining" will be referred to as "mining transportation" and

transportation which does not qualify as "mining" will be

referred to as "nonmining transportation." See paragraph (f)

of this section for the definition of the term "mining" and

paragraph (g) of this section for rules relating to nonmining

processes.

(f) Definition of mining--

(1) In general. The term "mining" includes

only--

(i) The extraction of ores or minerals

from the ground;

-A-50-

(ii) Mining processes, as described in

subparagraphs (2) through (6) of this

paragraph; and

(iii) So much of the transportation

(whether or not by common carrier) of ores or

minerals from the point of extraction of the

ores or minerals from the ground to the plants

or mills in which the processes referred to in

subdivision (ii) of this subparagraph are

applied thereto as is not in excess of 50 miles,

and, if the Commissioner finds that both the

physical and other requirements are such that

the ores or minerals must be transported a

greater distance to such plants or mills, the

transportation over such greater distance as the

Commissioner authorizes. See paragraph (h)

of this section for rules relating to the filing of

applications to treat as mining = any

transportation in excess of 50 miles.

(2) Definition of mining processes.

(i) As used in subparagraph (1)(ii) of

this paragraph, the term "mining processes"

means, for taxable years beginning before

January 1, 1961, the ordinary treatment

processes normally applied by mine owners or

operators in order to obtain the commercially

marketable mineral product or products,

including the following processes (and the

processes necessary or incidental thereto), and,

for taxable years beginning after December

31, 1960, the following processes (and the

-A-51-

processes necessary or incidental thereto):

(a) In the case of coal--cleaning,

breaking, sizing, dust allaying, treating

to prevent freezing, and loading for

shipment;

(b) In the case of sulfur

recovered by the _ Frasch

process--cleaning, pumping to vats,

cooling, breaking, and loading for

shipment;

(c) In the case of iron ore,

bauxite, ball and sagger clay, rock

asphalt, and ores or minerals which are

customarily sold in the form of a crude

mineral product (as defined in

subparagraph (3)(iv) of this

paragraph)--

(1) Where applied for

the purpose of bringing to

shipping grade and form (as

defined in subparagraph (3)(iii)

of this paragraph)--sorting,

concentrating, sintering, and

substantially equivalent

processes, and

(2) Loading for

shipment.

(d) In the case of lead, zinc.

copper, gold, silver, uranium, or

fluorspar ores, potash, and ores or

minerals which are not customarily

-A-52-

sold in the form of the crude mineral

product--crushing, grinding, and

beneficiation by concentration (gravity,

flotation, amalgamation, electrostatic,

or magnetic), cyanidation, leaching,

crystallization, precipitation (but not

including electrolytic deposition,

roasting, thermal or electric smelting,

or refining), or by _ substantially

equivalent processes or combination of

processes used in the separation or

extraction of the product or products

from the ore or the mineral or minerals

from other material from the mine or

other natural deposit; and

(e) In the case of the following

ores Or minerals--

(1) The furnacing of

quicksilver ores,

(2) The pulverization of

a Ye a ee Se” ey ee ee, ee

talc,

(3) The burning of

magnesite, and

(4) The sintering and

nodulizing of phosphate rock.

(ii) The term "mining processes" also

includes the following processes (and, except

as otherwise provided in this subdivision, the

processes necessary or incidental thereto):

(a) For taxable years beginning

‘

oe ee ek no a ee Te

-A-53-

after December 31, 1960, in the case

of calcium carbonates and other

minerals when used in making

cement--all processes (other than

preheating the kiln feed) applied prior

to the introduction of the kiln feed into

the kiln, but not including any

subsequent process;

(b) For taxable years beginning

after December 31, 1960, and before

November 14, 1966, in the case of

clay to which former section

613(b)(5)(B) applied, and for taxable

years beginning after November 13,

1966, in the case of clay to which

section 613(b)(5) or (6)(B)

applies--crushing, grinding, and

separating the clay from waste, but not

including any subsequent process;

(c) For taxable years beginning

after October 9, 1969, in the case of

minerals (other than sodium chloride)

extracted from brines pumped from a

saline perennial lake (as defined in

paragraph (b) of § 1.613-2)--the

extraction of such minerals from the

brines, but in no case including any

further processing or refining of such

extracted minerals; and

(d) For taxable years beginning

after December 30, 1969, in the case

-A-54-

of oil shale (as defined in paragraph (b)

of § 1.613-2)--extraction from the

ground, crushing, loading into the

retort, and retorting, but in no case

hydrogenation, refining, or any other

process subsequent to retorting.

(iti) A process is "necessary" to another

related process if it is prerequisite to the

performance of the other process. For

example, if the concentrating of low-grade

iron ores to bring to shipping grade and form

cannot be effectively accomplished without

fine pulverization, such pulverization shall be

treated as a process which is "necessary" to

the concentration process. Accordingly,

because concentration is a mining process,

such pulverization is also a mining process.

Furthermore, if mining processes cannot be

effectively applied to a mineral without storage

of the mineral while awaiting the application

of such processes, such storage shall be treated

as a process which is "necessary" to the

accomplishment of such mining processes. A

process is "incidental" to another related

process if the cost thereof is insubstantial in

relation to the cost of the other process, or if

the process is merely the coincidental result of

the application of the other process. For

example, the sprinkling of coal, prior to

loading for shipment, with dots of paper to

identify the coal for trade-name purposes will

-A-55-

be considered incidental to the loading where

the cost of that sprinkling is insubstantial in

relation to the cost of the loading process.

Also, where crushing of a crude mineral is

treated as a mining process, the production of

fines as a byproduct is ordinarily the

coincidental result of the application of a

mining process. If a taxpayer demonstrates

that, as a factual matter, a particular process is

necessary or incidental to a process named as

a mining process in section 613(c)(4) of this

paragraph, the necessary or incidental process

will also be considered a mining process.

(iv) The term "mining" does not

include purchasing minerals from another.

Accordingly, the processes listed in this

paragraph shall be considered as mining

processes only to the extent that they are

applied by a mine owner or operator to an ore

or mineral in respect of which he is entitled to

a deduction for depletion under section 611.

The application of these processes to

purchased ores, minerals, or materials does

not constitute mining.

(3) Processes recognized as mining for ores or

minerals covered by section 613(c)(4)(C).

(i) As used in section 613(c)(4)(C) and

subparagraph (2)(i)(c) of this paragraph, the

terms "sorting" and "concentrating" mean the

process of eliminating substantial amounts of

the impurities or foreign matter associated

-A-56-

with the ores or minerals in their natural state,

or of separating two or more valuable minerals

or ores, without changing the physical or

chemical identity of the ores or minerals.

Examples of sorting and _ concentrating

processes are hand or mechanical sorting,

magnetic separation, gravity concentration,

jigging, the use of shaking or concentrating

tables, the use of spiral concentrators, the use

of sluices or sluice boxes, sink-and-float

processes, classifiers, hydrotators and flotation

processes. Under section 613(c)(4)(C), sorting

and concentration will be considered mining

processes only where they are applied to bring

an ore or mineral to shipping grade and form.

(ii) As used in section 613(c)(4)(C) and

subparagraph (2)(i)(c) of this paragraph, the

term "sintering" means the agglomeration of

fine particles by heating to a temperature at

which incipient, but not complete, fusion

occurs. Sintering will be considered a mining

process only where it is applied to an ore or

mineral, or a concentrate of an ore or mineral,

as an auxiliary process necessary to bring the

ore or mineral to shipping form. A thermal

action which is applied in the manufacture of

a finished product will not be considered to be

a mining process even though such thermal

action may cause the agglomeration of fine

particles by incipient fusion, and even though

such action does not cause a chemical change

-A-57-

in the agglomerated particles. For example,

the sintering of finely ground iron ore

concentrate, prior to shipment from the

concentration plant, for the purpose of

preventing the risk of loss of the finely divided

particles during shipment is considered a

mining process. On the other hand, for

example, a heating process applied to expand

or harden clay, shale, perlite, vermiculite, or

other materials in the course of the

manufacture of lightweight aggregate or other

building materials is not considered to be a

mining process.

(iii) As used in section 613(c)(4)(C)

and this section, to “bring to shipping grade

and form" means, with respect to taxable years

beginning after December 31, 1960, to bring

(by the application of mining processes at the

mine or concentration plant) the quality or size

of an ore or mineral to the stage or Stages at

which the ore or mineral is shipped to

customers or used in nonmining processes (as

defined in paragraph (g) of this section) by the

taxpayer.

(iv) An ore or mineral is "customarily

sold in the form of a crude mineral product",

within the meaning of section 613(c)(4)(C), if

a significant portion of the production thereof

is sold or used in a nonmining process prior to

the alteration of its inherent mineral content by

some form of beneficiation, concentration, or

-A-58-

ore dressing. An ore or mineral does not lose

its classification as a crude mineral product by

reason of the fact that, before sale or use in a

nonmining process, the ore or mineral may be

crushed or subjected to other processes which

do not alter its inherent mineral content.

Whether the portion of production sold or used

in the form of a crude mineral product is a

significant portion of the total production of an

ore Or mineral is a question of fact.

(4) Type of processes recognized as mining for

ores Or minerals covered by section 613(c)(4)(D).

Cyanidation, leaching, crystallization, and

precipitation, which are listed in section 613(c)(4)(D)

as treatment processes considered as mining, and the

processes (or combination of processes) which are

substantially equivalent thereto, will be recognized as

mining only to the extent that they are applied to the

taxpayer's ore or mineral for the purpose of

separation or extraction of the valuable mineral

product or products from the ore, or for the purpose

of separation or extraction of the mineral or minerals

from other material extracted from the mine or other

natural deposit. A process, no matter how

denominated, will not be recognized as mining if the

process beneficiates the ore or mineral to the degree

that such process, in effect, constitutes smelting,

refining, or any other nonmining process within the

meaning of paragraph (g) of this section. As used in

section 613(c)(4)(D) and subparagraph (2)(i)(d) of this

paragraph, the term "concentration" has the meaning

-A-59-

set forth in the first two sentences of subparagraph

(3)(i) of this paragraph.

(5) Processes recognized as mining under

section 613(c)(4)(I). Under the authority granted the

Secretary or his delegate in section 613(c)(4)(I), the

processes which are described in subdivisions (i)

through (iv) of this subparagraph, and the processes

necessary or incidental thereto, are recognized as

mining processes for taxable years beginning after

December 31, 1960. The processes described in

subdivisions (i) through (iv) of this subparagraph are

in addition to the specific processes recognized as

mining under section 613(c)(4). Such additional

processes are:

(i) Crushing and grinding, but not fine

pulverization (as defined in paragraph (g)(6)(v)

of this section);

(ii) Size classification processes applied

to the products of an allowable mining

process;

(iii) Drying to remove free water,

provided that such drying does not change the

physical or chemical identity or composition of

the mineral; and

(iv) Washing or cleaning the surface of

mineral particles (including the washing of

sand and gravel and the treatment of kaolin

particles to remove surface stains), provided

that such washing or cleaning does not activate

or otherwise change the physical or chemical

-A-60-

structure of the mineral particles.

(6) In the case of a process applied subsequent

to a nonmining process, see paragraph (g)(2) of this

section.

* *

§1.614-3 Rules relating to separate operating mineral

interests in the case of mines.

..(e) Mine Defined. For purposes of this section, the

term "mine" means any excavation or other workings or

series or related excavations or related workings, as the case

may be, for the purpose of extracting any known mineral

deposit, except oil and gas deposits. For the purpose of the

proceeding sentence, the term "excavations" or "workings"

includes quarries, pits, shafts, and wells (except oil and gas

wells). The number of excavations or workings that

constitute a mine is to be determined upon the basis of the

facts and circumstances of the particular case such as the

nature and position of the mineral deposit or deposits, the

method of mining the mineral, the location of the excavations

or other workings in relation to the mineral deposit or

deposits, and the topography of the area. The determination

of the taxpayer as to the composition of a mine is to be

accepted unless there is a clear and convincing basis for

change in such determination.

-A-61-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-C-0036B

[File Stamped 1/14/93]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

COMPLAINT FOR REFUND

1. Plaintiff is Rhoades Oil Company (the

“Taxpayer"), an Delaware corporation with its principal place

of business in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

2. Defendant is the United States of America.

3. Plaintiff brings this action against the United States

of America for recovery of United States income taxes

illegally and erroneously assessed against and collected from

the Taxpayer. Taxpayer is an Oklahoma _ resident.

Jurisdiction is conferred upon this Court by 28 U.S.C. §

1346(a)(1). Venue for this action is the Northern District of

Oklahoma as provided by 28 U.S.C. § 1396.

4. Taxpayer is a working oil and gas company, and

has been since it was founded in 1945. Taxpayer is presently

the operator of approximately sixty oil and gas wells.

5. Taxpayer employs twenty people, including a full-

-A-62-

time geologist and a full-time land man. With the exception

of a single employee who spends time monitoring the

Taxpayer’s invested funds, all of these employees are

engaged in the Taxpayer’s business of exploration for and

exploitation of oil and gas reserves. Between 1988 and 1991,

Taxpayer drilled thirteen wells. Taxpayer owns substantial

percentages of sixty working interests, and is the operator of

most of these wells.

6. Because drilling for oil and gas is an expensive

and risky proposition, Taxpayer needs to build up and retain

substantial cash reserves. These cash reserves allow

Taxpayer to pay for drilling wells and absorb the losses of a

dry hole.

7. In addition to drilling and operating wells,

Taxpayer is the owner of both working and royalty interests

in wells. A working interest is one that shares in the risk and

cost of exploration and operation of a well. A royalty

interest is one that receives a portion of gross revenues from

oil and gas production, regardless of costs. Many of the

royalty interests owned by Taxpayer were obtained in

transactions whereby previously held working interests were

converted into royalty interests.

8. On July 31, 1991, Taxpayer received a letter from

the United States Internal Revenue Service ("IRS") notifying

the Taxpayer of proposed federal income tax deficiencies

under § 541 and § 542 of the Internal Revenue Code. These

sections impose, under certain circumstances, an additional

tax known as the personal holding company tax. The

personal holding company tax is designed to attack

"incorporated pocketbooks" in which an individual places

liquid assets, and then uses the assets to pay for expenses.

-A-63-

The key characteristic of a personal holding company is the

presence of substantial liquid assets that generate income, and

very little actual operations. The Taxpayer is not such an

incorporated pocketbook. It is an active oil and gas

company, which has substantial assets only because it has

been successfui and profitable in its business through the

years.

9. The notice of deficiency proposed assessments of

additional tax as follows:

TAX YEAR ADDITIONAL TAX

1988 $101,053.00

1989 $163,188.00

1990 $144,392.00

10. The-reason that the IRS claimed these additional

taxes were due was a change in the method by which the IRS

determines whether Taxpayer was a personal holding

company. In general, this test measures the income derived

from investments against that derived from operations. This

change was the deduction of "lifting costs" (the costs

associated with producing oil and gas after a well has been

drilled) from revenues generated by operations. If the

treatment of lifting costs had not changed, Taxpayer would

not have been found by the IRS to be a personal holding

company, and the tax would not have applied. This change

in the personal holding company test is contrary to the plain

language of § 542 of the Internal Revenue Code, under which

only depreciation, depletion, taxes, and interest are deducted

from oil and gas revenues.

11. Taxpayer attempted to resolve the dispute with

the IRS through a protest. This resulted in an admission by

-A-64-

the IRS of an error in its calculations. Accordingly, the

amount of the proposed deficiency for tax year 1990 was

reduced to $144,392.00. However, the IRS denied

Taxpayer’s protest as to the merits on the issue of whether

the personal holding company tax should be assessed.

Taxpayer executed and delivered to the IRS a Form 870,

Waiver of Restrictions on Assessment and Collection of

Deficiency in Tax and Acceptance of Over Assessment,

whereby Taxpayer accepted the correct assessment amounts

as follows:

TAX YEAR ADDITIONAL TAX

1988 $101,053.00

1989 $163,188.00

1990 $144,392.00

12. Taxpayer has consented to assessment of the

corrected deficiencies, and has paid all additional tax and

interest contained in such assessment.

13. On or about May 22, 1992, Taxpayer filed a

Form 1120X - Amended U.S. Corporation Income Tax

Return for each of the tax years in question, in which

Taxpayer claimed refunds for all of the deficiencies assessed

by the IRS against Taxpayer and paid by Taxpayer, together

with all interest as allowed by law.

14. As of December 24, 1992, a date more than six

(6) months after the filing of the Taxpayer’s claims for

refund, Taxpayer has received no notice that such claims

have been approved or denied. Under § 6532 of the Internal

Revenue Code, the Taxpayer’s claims for refund are thus

deemed to be denied.

15. The attempt by the IRS to deduct lifting costs in

-A-65-

calculating whether Taxpayer is a personal holding company

was improper, and is contrary to the plain wording of the

statute. Taxpayer is not a personal holding company, and the

personal holding company taxes assessed against Taxpayer for

1988, 1989, and 1990 were illegally and improperly assessed

and collected, and were contrary to law.

16. Taxpayer is the sole owner of the claims for

refund described above, and has made no assignment of such

claims.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff Rhoades Oil Company prays

that this Court enter judgment in its favor and against

Defendant United States of America for taxes and interest

paid in the amount of $503,689.00, plus interest as allowed

by law.

DOERNER, STUART, SAUNDERS,

DANIEL & ANDERSON

By:__/s/ Charles Greenough

John B. Turner (OBA #9132)

Charles Greenough (OBA #12311)

320 South Boston, Suite 500

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

(918) 582-1211

Attorneys for the Plaintiff

Rhoades Oil Company

-A-66-

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-C-0036B

[File Stamped 3/16/93]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant.

ANSWER TO COMPLAINT FOR REFUND

The United States hereby answers the Complaint as follows:

1. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 1 of the Complaint.

2. The United States admits the allegations contained

in paragraph 2 of the Complaint.

3. The United States avers that if jurisdiction exists,

it exists by virtue of 28 U.S.C. Section 1346(a)(1), but denies

that the federal income tax in issue were illegally or

erroneously assessed or collected. The United States admits

that venue is proper in the Northern District of Oklahoma.

4. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 4 of the Complaint.

5. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

-A-67-

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 5 of the Complaint.

6. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 6 of the Complaint.

7. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 7 of the Complaint.

8. The United States admits the allegations contained

in the first sentence of paragraph 8, but avers that the

remainder of paragraph 8 contains legal argument and

conclusions requiring no response. To the extent the

remaining allegations require a response, the United States

lacks knowledge sufficient to form a belief as to the truth of

those allegations.

9. The United States admits the allegations contained

in paragraph 9 of the Complaint.

10. The United States avers that paragraph 10

contains legal argument and conclusions requiring no

response. To the extent the allegations require a response,

the United States lacks knowledge sufficient to form a belief

as to the truth of those allegations.

11. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in the

first and second sentence of paragraph 11 of the complaint,

but admits the allegations contained in the remainder of

paragraph 11.

12. The United States admits the allegations contained

in paragraph 12 of the Complaint.

13. The United States admits that on June 1, 1992,

plaintiff filed a Form 1120X - Amended U.S. Corporation

-A-68-

Income Tax Return for 1989 and 1990, but lacks knowledge

sufficient to form a belief as to whether such form was filed

with respect to 1988.

14. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 14 of the Complaint.

15. The United States denies the allegations contained

in paragraph 15 of the Complaint.

16. The United States lacks knowledge sufficient to

form a belief as to the truth of the allegations contained in

paragraph 16 of the Complaint.

WHEREFORE, the United States prays that this Court

dismiss the Complaint with prejudice, and the this Court

grant such further relief as it deems proper.

TONY M. GRAHAM

United States Attorney

/s/ Christopher H. Grigorian

CHRISTOPHER H. GRIGORIAN

Trial Attorney

Tax Division

U.S. Department of Justice

P.O. Box 7238

Ben Franklin Station

Washington, D.C. 20044

Telephone: (202) 514-6520

-A-69-

96-5101

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff - Appellee

[File-Stamped

August 13, 1996]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Defendant - Appellant

ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED

ON APPEAL FROM THE JUDGMENT OF THE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

APPELLEE’S SUPPLEMENTAL APPENDIX

JOHN B. TURNER

CHARLES GREENOUGH

STUART, BIOLCHINI,

TURNER & GIVRAY

15 East Fifth Street, Suite 3300

First Place Tower

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

(918) 582-3311

Attorneys for Rhoades Oil

Company

-A-70-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

-

7

<=

PAGES

|

Transcript of Deposition of Page 1-47

James M. Downs taken on

May 10, 1994, submitted to

District Court as Exhibit A of

Appendix to Brief of Rhoades Oil

Company filed May 31, 1994

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

Case No. 93-C-0036-B

[COPY]

RHOADES OIL COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Defendant.

THE DEPOSITION OF JAMES M. DOWNS,

taken on behalf of the Plaintiff, pursuant to the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure, this 10th day of May, 1994, commencing

at the hour of 3:42 p.m., at the offices of Doerner, Stuart,

-A-71-

Saunders, Daniel, Anderson & Biolchini, 320 South Boston

Avenue, Suite 500, Tulsa, Oklahoma, before Cathleen E.

Marquardt, Certified Shorthand Reporter in and for the State

of Oklahoma.

JAMES M. DOWNS,

after having been first duly sworn to testify the truth, the

whole truth, and nothing but the truth, testified as follows:

DIRECT EXAMINATION

BY MR. GREENOUGH:

[PAGE 13, LINE 13]

Q

>O >

>

In your expert opinion for companies that are involved

solely in oil and gas exploration, do generally

accepted accounting principles require classification of

any costs as costs of goods sold?

No, they do not.

No issued financial accounting standard requires that?

No. That terminology has not been used as a cost

description, if you will, in FAS 19 or 69.

Is that classification used in customary industry

practice?

For companies involved exclusively in exploration and

production?

O>f

OO} >

QO >

-A-72-

Correct.

No, it is not.

For companies that are involved exclusively in oil and

gas exploration, does FAS 19 specify a classification

of the cost to operate and maintain wells and related

equipment and to the other costs of operating and

maintaining wells?

Yes, it does.

And what is that?

Operating expenses or lease operation expenses.

Does that classification include labor costs, repairs,

maintenance, materials, supplies and fuels consumed,

supplies utilized in operating wells, property taxes,

insurance and severance taxes?

Yes, it does.

So all of those items would be classified as production

costs or lease operating expenses under generally

accepted accounting principles?

Yes, they are. Those terms are used interchangeably.

What is the reason behind that classification of costs?

MR. GRIGORIAN: | Even though we’re

reserving objections, I would just like to state an

objection to any testimony relating to reasoning

behind the GAAP principles unless he’s shown to

have been involved in their promulgation and would

know, or establish a foundation for where -- for why

he knows what the reasons are.

(by Mr. Greenough) Based on your -- let me rephrase

this question please. Based on your experience in the

industry, do you have a belief as to the reason behind

the classification that we just discussed?

> O >

> —

-A-73-

Yes, I do.

And what is that?

That’s the industry terminology for those classes of

costs. The accounting followed what was standard

terminology in the industry as related to those

expenses.

For a company that’s involved exclusively in oil an

gas exploration and not in the business of refinery or

chemically altering oil and gas products, is a

classification of the items of costs we just discussed as

costs of goods sold generally appropriate under

generally acceptable accounting principles?

Would it be generally appropriate to call those costs

cost of goods sold:

Correct.

No.

CROSS-EXAMINATION

BY MR. GRIGORIAN:

[PAGE 26, LINE 17]

So your opinion regarding the use of cost of goods

sold in the oil and gas industry was that it would be

an inappropriate form of classification on an income

statement or a statement of operations. Is that what

you stated earlier?

That’s correct.

Q

-A-74-

Q When you refer -- when you use the term

“inappropriate,” what -- is it about the use of the

phrase “cost of goods sold" that you find

inappropriate?

A It’s not descriptive in that it doesn’t convey what the

nature of those costs are. The nature of those costs

are not cost of goods sold.

[PAGE 40, LINE 11]

Q I asked you earlier about trying to compare what a

lifting cost is in an oil and gas company to what cost

of goods sold are in a manufacturing process, and I

believe it was your testimony that you can’t compare

them because, for one reason, you would incur lifting

costs whether or not you sold any oil and gas; is that

true? Is that one of the --

A That’s one of the reasons.

Q Okay. Let me ask you, are there elements of cost of

goods -- is there an element of cost of goods sold,

whether or not you call it a cost of goods sold, but an

expense incurred by the corporation which is

contained in the cost of goods sold figure, but which

would have otherwise been incurred whether or not

the corporation, the manufacturing corporation, sold

anything?

MR. GREENOUGH: I’ll object as to vague. I don’t

understand that question at all.

(2)

>

> ©

>OP> fA

-A-75-

(By Mr. Grigorian) Mr. Downs, do you understand

the question? |

Not really, but I think I’ve already answered that

question once.

Okay.

I think you are asking it a different way, but a

moment ago you asked me is there any -- if I took the

scenario of -- if I would agree that lifting costs were

somehow similar to cost of goods sold except they are

called that by industry practice, and the answer is no.

Lifting costs are a period cost for the operation of a

property which would be incurred regardless of the

level of production, regardless of the level of sales,

and regardless of the level of revenues.

Cost of goods sold are the assigned costs of

the inventory a company sold during the period, and

there’s no relationship between the two.

I understand that, but can you tell me what goes into

a cost of goods sold?

For a manufacturing company?

Yes.

Well, why don’t you ask me what goes into the cost

of inventory because what goes into the cost of goods

sold is merely an allocation of the inventory costs for

the products you sold in a period. What goes into the

cost of inventory depends upon your flow-of-cost

assumption as to what accounting method you want to

use, but it would include, in a manufacturing

environment, direct labor, raw materials, supplies,

and overhead, including depreciation.

If you didn’t sell anything, you wouldn’t have

-A-76-

any cost of goods sold that period. It would be zero.

What you sell is merely an allocation of what you’ve

accumulated as your inventory costs.

Lifting costs, on the other hand, they don’t

have any bearing to the level of sales. It’s the costs

you incur in the period to operate and maintain that

property, which might include an allocation of support

facilities for a group of properties which you would

incur. Whether you produced and sold one barrel or

a million barrels, you are going to incur some of

those costs. That is a major difference, in my opinion.

Okay. The costs of inventory that you described as

being elements of the cost of inventory, direct labor,

overhead, supplies, cost of goods sold aside, are those

expenses, would you agree, that are also often

incurred regardless of whether or not the

manufacturer sold any product?

Irrespective of whether or not they are charged to

expense and called cost of goods sold? There are costs

-- there are costs in inventory for the cost of the

products you manufactured during the period and

prior periods. If you don’t sell any of those, you don’t

incur any cost of goods sold.

Now, if you didn’t manufacture anything

either, you know, ignore the fact that you probably

can only do that one year, but if you neither

manufactured nor sold, there are costs that would

show up as expenses in your financial statements,

your statement of income. You’d have no revenues,

you’d have no cost of goods sold. You could still

have overhead, the administrative overhead called

-A-77-

general and administrative expenses. An oil company

incurs general and administrative expenses, too, but in

a manufacturing environment, the accounting rules

and the tax rules would require you to capitalize a

portion of those costs into inventory on an annual

basis if you manufactured some products that period,

but there’s a distinction there. One relates to the

capitalization in the inventory if they were

manufactured. Cost of goods sold relates to what was

the cost you’ve incurred for the products you sold that

period. That’s why it’s, you know, a very descriptive

term for refining and marketing and chemical

operations, very descriptive.

[PAGE 45, LINE 4]

/S/ JAMES M. DOWNS

JAMES M. DOWNS

Sworn to and subscribed before me

this 19th day of May 1994.

/S/ CHERYL M. RANK

Notary Public

My Commission expires Nov. 17, 1996

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.