Opposition Brief — Johnson v. Knowles

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Coust, U.S.

FILE OD

No. 97-503 OCT 22 1997

@LERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1997

2 —

PAUL JOHNSON; KEVIN WADSWORTH;

LAUREN COOPER; RAY SEBASTIAN; and

BARBARA SEBASTIAN, individually and on

behalf of all others similarly situated,

Petitioners,

VS.

DAVID KNOWLES, et al.,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Ninth Circuit

*

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

+

Marjorie E. MANNING

BOLLING, WALTER & GAWTHROP

8880 Cal Center Drive, Suite 400

Sacramento, California 95826

(916) 369-0777

Counsel of Record for Respondents:

Republican Central Committee Dan Dellinger

of El Dorado County Tom Emigh

Steven Bailey Michael Frenn

Robert Becker Maloa Gribkoff

Ed Borba Kevin Hanley

Bernard Carlson Tom Schumacher

Merlin Chardi John Stelzmiller

Christina Cowell Laveta Stelzmiller

Charles Chrisman David Titus

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Petition accurately lists the parties to the pro-

ceeding except as follows:

1) There is no evidence Susan Emigh ever appeared

in this action and her inclusion as a party defendant in

the First Amended Complaint was neither sought nor

authorized by the District Court;

2) The inclusion of Lauren Cooper, Ray Sebastian

and Barbara Sebastian as party plaintiffs in the First

Amended Complaint was neither sought nor authorized

by the District Court.

This opposition brief is submitted on behalf of the

following Respondents: Republican Central Committee of

El Dorado County, Steven Bailey, Robert Becker, Ed

Borba, Bernard Carlson, Merlin Chardi, Christina Cowell,

Charles Chrisman, Dan Dellinger, Tom Emigh, Michael

Frenn, Maloa Gribkoff, Kevin Hanley, Tom Schumacher,

John Stelzmiller, Laveta Stelzmiller, and David Titus.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Pasties to Gee Proceetie. . .. .. 5-5-5 0essvaesevenes i

See OE RI 5 o.oo vino sain eceeecnd oie ii

Dae Se PD 5 ov ss ei i aecksh eee eee iii

PIII 5 oso 6a 0 64450 seine Ov ue 0 ewmeee ee ee 1

SUS OE le A ss os 5s vb eck 2

A. The petition misconstrues the standard of

review employed by the Ninth Circuit....... 2

B. There is no support for the Petition’s assertion

that the Ninth Circuit ignored facts pled or

re er 6

C. The Petition misconstrues the state action anal-

ysis employed by the Ninth Circuit.......... 8

D. The Petition fails to disclose that Plaintiffs

waived their right to challenge the District

Court’s disposition of any purported claim

under 42 U.S.C. sections 1985(3) and 1986... 13

E. In attacking the Panel’s decision, the Petition

consistently and erroneously equates status as

a public official with conduct under color of

UE ov ancns nbcndanecsnaneweeghounteeawneian 14

Reasons for Denying the Writ ..................... 16

A. Contrary to the Petition’s assertion, no recur-

ring issue of national and exceptional impor-

tance is presented by this case .............. 16

B. The internal management decisions of political

parties cannot be subjected to judicial review

under the guise of civil rights litigation...... 17

CON oss ct ob a eaekns 63 5enb eee ee 19

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases CITED:

Federal Cases

Adickes v. Kress, 398 U.S. 144 (1970)............. 11, 12

Anthony v. County of Sacramento, 845 F.Supp.

I ME OO occ casts nc scccnc sce 15, 16

Baker v. Cuomo, 58 F.3d 814 (2d Cir. re 5

Banchy v. The Republican Party of Hamilton

County, 898 F.2d 1192 (6th Cir. 1990) .............. 5

Blank v. Heineman, 771 F.Supp. 1013 (D. Neb.

es es nach vs cep esssecvcccescccc. 5

Blum v. Yartesky, 457 U.S. 991 (1982) ............... 11

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, 365 U.S.

he aac a uve ccnvscccscccscccccece 12, 13

California Republican Party v. Mercier, 652

F.Supp. 928 (C.D. Cal. 1986)..................0005. 5

Cousins v. Wigoda, 9 U.S. 477 (1975)............. 17, 18

Dang Vang v. Vang Xiong X. Toyed, 944 F.2d 476,

RE Ra 14

Delcambre v. Delcambre, 635 F.2d 407 (5th Cir.

EEE SES ET 10

Democratic Party of the United States v. Wiscon-

EN | 18

Federspiel v. Ohio Republican Party, 867 F.Supp.

ME I cece een cccccccee 5

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978) .... 10

Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisex-

ual Group of Boston, 132 L.Ed.2d 487 (1995)...... 18

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345

CERI N a h Vle ase keen se ehe res cas esesteabiadinaee a, a0

Lillard v. Shelby County Bd. of Ed., 76 F.3d 716

Re ae SO oc ae oe aeee Wok ee dS ee sewees ek bees 4

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 345 (1974) ..... 8

March Fong Eu v. San Francisco County Demo-

cratic Central Committee, 489 U.S. 217 (1989)...... 5

Murphy v. Chicago Transit Authority, 638 F.Supp.

ee ere rte eer ere 10, 15, 16

Officers for Justice v. Civil Serv. Comm., 979 F.2d

ime. Bt Se ee ae et eee 14

Polk County v. Dodson, 454 U.S. 312 (1981)......... 10

Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973)........... 18

San Francisco County Democratic Central Com-

mittee v. Eu, 826 F.2d 814 (9th Cir. 1987) ....5, 7, 13

Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1943)........... 11, 17

Storer v. Brown, 4175 US. 724 (197@ .......6.000008. 18

Tashjian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, 479

CS. 2D GE a nove veers. ee eT ene are 18

Terry v. Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953).............. 10, 17

West v. Atkins, 487 U.S. 42 (1988)................... 14

Western Mining Council v. Watt, 643 F.2d 618 (9th

CR FE seek yo seun des ae keene see iy awk te wene ste 6

V —

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

State Cases

Moore v. Panish, 32 Cal.3d 535 (Cal. ne 5

Unger v. Superior Court, 37 Cal.3d 612 (Cal. 1984) ..... 5

STATUTES CITED:

Federal Statutes

ee i a xk shat ov os a0 Kha ek eee ent 2, 4

EO ee 13

ee oe aso oe av osb oe ob odo ok kidacl es 13

STATE STATUTES

Cal. Elections Code §§ 7400 et seg.................... 6

Cal. Elections Code § 7440........................... 6

Cal. Elections Code § 7443........................... 7

Ru es CItep:

Bi We SOW We BN oa oon ti oko oS dow Sone vnc. 4

INTRODUCTION

The Republican Central Committee of El Dorado

County is a local branch of the California Republican

Party whose members are chosen by registered Republi-

cans in the County through primary elections. This law-

suit challenges the ouster by the Committee of two of its

members for conduct deemed injurious to party inter-

ests.’ Cast in terms of emotional rhetoric and provocative

accusations of homosexual discrimination, the Complaint

invites the judiciary to reinstate the ousted members,

rewrite the bylaws of the Republican Party, pass judg-

ment on its platform, and ultimately delegate to a jury the

power to usurp the Committee’s decisions concerning

internal party management. Dismissal of the federal

claims predicated on 42 U.S.C. section 1983 was affirmed

on the ground plaintiffs had not pled and could point to

no facts suggesting the challenged action was undertaken

by or fairly attributable to the state.

The Petition’s primary assertion, that the reviewing

court employed an unduly restrictive or otherwise

improper standard of review, ignores both the language

of the decision and the significant distinction between

operative facts and legal conclusions. Also misconstrued

is settled law pertaining to Section 1983 claims in general

and the “state action” analysis employed by the Ninth

‘ The “conduct” cited in the Complaint encompasses (1)

plaintiffs’ departures from an “official party line”, (2) renting of

plaintiffs’ property to a Democratic fund raising group, (3)

plaintiffs’ public criticism of Committee members, (4) plaintiffs’

support of Democratic candidates, and (5) the fact of plaintiffs’

homosexuality.

Circuit in this case. Finally, Petitioners seek to breathe

new life into an argument they abandoned on appeal,

namely, that their Section 1985 claim predicated on viola-

tion of the Fifteenth Amendment should survive notwith-

standing any state action deficiency because a party

committee’s removal of a homosexual from its ranks is

tantamount to depriving Afro-Americans of the right to

vote in public elections.

In addition to the foregoing specific impediments,

Petitioners’ entire analysis is infected by a steadfast

refusal to appreciate the constitutional ramifications of

governmental interference in the internal workings of

associations formed for expressive purposes. Simply put,

Petitioners have articulated no theory of recovery which

can be reconciled with the Committee’s constitutional

guarantee of free association, which requires that the

courts refrain from playing any role in the resolution of

intra-party factionalism.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Paul Johnson and Kevin Wadsworth initiated this

action by filing their original Complaint in United States

District Court, Eastern District of California, on May 8,

1995. Original Complaint, Rsp. App. 1. Included in the

pleading were claims for relief alleging violation of civil

rights pursuant to 42 U.S.C. sections 1983, 1985(3), and

1986. In essence, plaintiffs asserted they were punished

for “stands they took”, deprived of the fundamental right

to vote (along with “class members” theoretically sim-

ilarly situated), and afforded disparate treatment as

2 ae a oe

ee ee

homosexuals. Resp. App. 1. The Complaint also sought a

declaration that the Committee bylaws were vague,

overly broad and unconstitutional. Id.

Defendants moved to dismiss all of plaintiffs’ federal

claims on the grounds no basis for state action had been

pled, no deprivation of fundamental rights had been

identified, and judicial interference in the internal man-

agement of the party was impermissible pursuant to con-

trolling authority. The District Court granted the motions,

expressed doubt a viable constitutional claim could be

pled under these circumstances, but granted leave to

amend to attempt to state a viable-4983 claim based on

First and/or Fourteenth Amendment violations. Order

Granting Motion to Dismiss, Resp. App. 26. The District

Court stressed any such amendment should not rely on

the fundamental right to vote because interference with

an election was not claimed and plaintiffs’ ouster was

from party office, not public office. Id.

Plaintiffs’ First Amended Complaint (AX E to Peti-

tion) mirrored all the deficiencies in the original plead-

ing, apart from deleting the purported claim under

Section 1985(3). Following dismissal for failure to allege

conduct under color of state law, plaintiffs appealed to

the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals. As detailed below,

Petitioners have misrepresented the nature and scope of

the Ninth Circuit Panel’s review.

A. The Petition misconstrues the standard of review

employed by the Ninth Circuit.

Petitioners claim the Panel failed to mention, and

therefore must have ignored, the following requirements

of de novo review: (1) to draw reasonable inferences in

favor of the pleader, (2) to scrutinize civil rights plead-

ings with “special care”, and (3) to allow a “novel legal

theory” to develop factually. Petition (Pet.), at pp. 8-9.

The text of the decision reveals otherwise. It expressly

states that all allegations of material fact must be con-

strued in the light most favorable to the plaintiffs. Pet.,

AX A-5. It also acknowledges dismissal pursuant to Fed-

eral Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) is improper “unless

it appears beyond doubt that the plaintiffs can prove no

set of facts in support of their claim”. Id. The Petition’s

assertion a different standard applies here is disin-

genuous. Lillard v. Shelby County Bd. of Ed., 76 F.3d 716

(6th Cir. 1996), cited for the proposition civil rights plead-

ings must be “scrutinized, with special care”, employed

precisely the same standard of review as that enunciated

by the Panel in this case. Id., at p. 724.

Equally unavailing is the Petition’s implication the

review undertaken by the Panel was unduly restrictive.

Pet., at p. 9. The language quoted from this Court's

decision in Felder v. Casey, 487 U.S. 131, 139 (1988) is of no

assistance to Petitioners. That Section 1983 provides a

“uniquely federal remedy” against incursions upon fed-

eral constitutional rights and should be accorded “a

sweep as broad as its language” is not disputed. But the

“sweep” of the statute is expressly limited to incursions

“under color of law”. 42 U.S.C. § 1983. It is Petitioners,

A AES STOR AL Hah bet, Piss Hk

not Respondents or the Ninth Circuit, who choose to

ignore that federal mandate.?

The Petition stops short of defining the “novel legal

theory” which the Ninth Circuit supposedly failed to

realize “can best be assessed after factual development”.

Pet., at p. 9. This omission is telling. The proposition that

party central committees are arms of government for

“state action” purposes is not “novel”; it has been raised

repeatedly, and in the context presented here, uniformly

rejected. San Francisco County Democratic Central Commit-

tee v. Eu, 826 F.2d 814, 825-826 (9th Cir. 1987), affd., March

Fong Eu v. San Francisco County Democratic Central Com-

mittee, 489 U.S. 217 (1989); Banchy v. The Republican Party

of Hamilton County, 898 F.2d 1192 (6th Cir. 1990); Blank v.

Heineman, 771 F.Supp. 1013 (D. Neb. 1991); Federspiel v.

Ohio Republican Party, 867 F.Supp. 617 (S.D. Ohio 1994);

California Republican Party v. Mercier, 652 F.Supp. 928

(C.D. Cal. 1986); Unger v. Superior Court, 37 Cal.3d 612

(Cal. 1984); Moore v. Panish, 32 Cal.3d 535, 545 (Cal.

1982).3

2 See, e.g., Petition at p. 24, fn.7 (“[t]he public office / private

post distinction should not control”).

3 Baker v. Cuomo, 58 F.3d 814 (2d Cir. 1995), cited at page 9 of

the Petition, is readily distinguishable. Baker arose from a sua

sponte dismissal of a pro se litigant’s complaint which the

defense conceded raised issues in an unsettled area of the law. Id.,

at p. 819.

B. There is no support for the Petition’s assertion that

the Ninth Circuit ignored facts pled or capable of

being pled.

The Petition takes the Ninth Circuit to task for its

supposed disregard of “facts pled or capable of being

pled”. Pet., at p. 9. The rule recognizing liberality in

pleading speaks to the degree of factual specificity neces-

sary to state a viable claim, not to the pleader’s efforts to

enlarge the parameters of viable constitutional claims.

Thus the court does not assume the truth of legal conclu-

sions merely because they are cast in the form of factual

allegations. Western Mining Council v. Watt, 643 F.2d 618

624 (9th Cir. 1981). Nor should it “construe the complaint

so liberally as to extend our jurisdiction beyond its con-

stitutional limits”. Id., at p. 624. These principles appear

to be lost on Petitioners, who have pointed to no facts

“capable of being pled”, and are seemingly unable to

distinguish between the pleading of material facts and

the assertion of legal conclusions.

The contention that county central committees exist

and operate solely by virtue of and in furtherance of the

laws of California is neither a statement of fact nor an

accurate statement of California law. The California Elec-

tions Code purports to regulate some aspects of county

central committees. CEC §§ 7400 et seq. However, neither

the Elections Code nor any other provision of State law

suggests central committees or some facsimile thereof

would not exist absent statutory authority. Nor does any

provision of California law suggest that the function of

central committees is to uphold or “further” State law. To

the contrary, committees are recognized as having

“charge of the party campaign”. CEC § 7440. In addition,

they “perform any other duties and services for this

political party as seem: to be for the benefit of the party.”

CEC § 7443. Petitioners’ liberal use of citations to the

California Elections Code merely illustrates statutory reg-

ulation of central committees, a reality which is not dis-

positive of whether Respondents acted under color of

state law within the factual context of this case. Case law

is legion that heavy regulation of private organizations

does not transform their conduct into “state action”. Jack-

son v. Metropolitan Edison Co., 419 U.S. 345, 358 (1974).4

Petitioners’ next example of a supposedly “ignored”

material fact is the allegation Johnson and Wadsworth

leased their ranch to a Democratic candidate for a fund

raiser, whereas one other defendant engaged in the same

practice without suffering the same consequences. Pet., at

p. 10. The quoted excerpt from the Complaint is not

material to the issue of whether the Committee acted

under color of law in removing Johnson and Wadsworth

from party management. While it is unquestionably Peti-

tioners’ goal to entice this Court into the substantive

merits of their political grievance by implying one stated

ground for ouster was a pretext for discrimination, the

fact remains the Panel did not “reach the Defendants’

alternative argument that the Plaintiffs also failed to

allege violations of their First and Fourteenth Amend-

ment rights.” Pet., AX A-14.

4 See also, San Francisco County Democratic Central Committee

v. Eu, 826 F.2d at p. 825: “Even if the California Elections Code

had expressly characterized the committees as public agencies,

we would reject the State’s premise that a state can strip a

voluntary political association of First Amendment rights by

legislating it into an arm of the State.”

The third string of alleged facts purportedly over-

looked by the Panel consists of the following: (1) that

Assemblyman Knowles maintained his “local legislative

office” in the same suite as that which the Committee

occupied, (2) that Knowles displayed campaign materials

on his behalf on Committee premises in violation of State

law, (3) that among those voting for Johnson’s and Wad-

sworth’s ouster were Knowles’ former legislative aide

and appointee, and (4) that Knowles urged Petitioners’

ouster “on the official time and expense of the California

State Assembly”. Pet., p. 11. Apart from the fact there is

no evidence the Panel ignored these allegations, they are

not dispositive of the state action issue at hand. The

contrary argument, which will be addressed in further

detail below, rests on the erroneous assumption that sta-

tus as a state official is co-extensive with conduct under

color of law.

{

C. The Petition misconstrues the state action analysis

employed by the Ninth Circuit.

The Petition accuses the Panel of “interpreting the

four state action tests narrowly instead of broadly in this

civil rights case, per Felder v. Casey, supra.” Pet., at p. 20.

First, Felder does not address the four state action tests,

much less dictate their broad application. Second, this

Court has long held that “careful adherence to the state

action requirement preserves an area of individual free-

dom by limiting the reach of federal law and federal

judicial power.” Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., 457 U.S. 922,

936 (1982). Third, the text of the decision here shows the

Panel employed an appropriate construction of state

—_—$—— $s TT

action pleading. It affirmed only after determining that

“Plaintiffs have failed to show that the Defendants acted

under color of state law and failed to point to any way that

such action can be shown”. Pet., AX A-6; emphasis added.

In assessing the nature of the Assemblyman’s alleged

wrongful conduct, the court below observed that “even

as a public official,” Knowles’ conduct cannot be deemed

under color of state law “unless it is some way related to

the performance of his duties as a public official.” Pet.,

AX A-6. It concluded the key determination was whether

“Knowles’ actions related to the duties and powers of his

position as an Assemblyman or instead related to his role

as a member of the Republican Party.” Id., at pp. A-6-A-7.

This language does not reflect a narrow interpretation of

state action pleading.

Despite its contrary assertion, the Petition fails to

identify any nexus between Knowles’ official duties and

the conduct which purportedly contributed to Johnson’s

and Wadsworth’s ouster. Instead, page after page of the

Petition is devoted to glorifying to the point of mythical

proportions the power and potential influence of a Cali-

fornia assemblyman, a characterization no more or less

applicable to any public official, and one which does not

address conduct in any event. Indeed, if Petitioners’ legal

theories were taken at face value, it would be impossible

for any elected public official to function in a private

capacity as a member of his or her party.

While Petitioners make much of the contention

Knowles’ party politicking occurred on the “official time”

of the Assembly and that he utilized office space in the

same building employed for Committee meetings, these

“facts” in no way compromise the Panel’s analysis. That

10

conduct occurs on state premises or during the work

hours of a state employee is not sufficient to render it

state action. Polk County v. Dodson 454 U.S. 312 321 (1981);

Delcambre v. Delcambre 635 F.2d 407 (5th Cir. 1981); Mur-

phy v. Chicago Transit Authority 638 F.Supp. 464 468 (N.D.

Ill. 1986). For this reason alone, the contention the “joint

action test” was satisfied by “Petitioners’ allegations of

how Assemblyman Knowles caused their removal” is

seriously misguided. Pet., at p. 25.

The Petition also accuses the Panel of misreading

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, 436 U.S. 149 (1978), which

supposedly interpreted the public function doctrine as

embracing elections other than those which produce the

uncontested choice of public officials. Pet., p. 20. It is

Petitioners who misconstrue Flagg. The decision states

without equivocation that the public function doctrine

applies only if the election in question will produce “the

uncontested choice of public officials”. Id., at p. 158. The

Panel correctly. concluded that because the election

referred to in the Complaint at bar produced party offi-

cials, not public officials, the doctrine would not apply

even if interference with an election had been alleged,

which is not the case.°

No contrary authority is to be found in Terry v.

Adams, 345 U.S. 461 (1953). First, Terry addressed the

refusal of a political party to allow African-Americans to

vote in primary elections which routinely produced the

nominee for the subsequent general election. Second,

5 Petitioners concede Respondents did not violate their

constitutional rights “by conducting an election in an

unconstitutional manner”. Pet., at p. 24, fn.7.

<<“

11

county officials participated in the primary. Third, the

case was decided on Fifteenth Amendment grounds,

thereby arguably implicating a prohibition against pri-

vate discrimination in elections. Fourth, even under those

circumstances, the dissent concluded the conduct in ques-

tion was neither under color of state law nor unlawful.

Finally, Terry drew on the rationale of Smith v. Allwright,

321 U.S. 649 (1943), which held that when the privilege of

membership in the party is also an essential qualification

for voting in a primary to select nominees for the general

election, the state cannot deny African-Americans the

right to vote on the ground they are not members of the

party. Id., at p. 664. No such considerations are present

here.

With respect to the “state compulsion test”, the Peti-

tion concludes the Panel erred in failing to recognize state

action was present pursuant to the rationale of Adickes v.

Kress, 398 U.S. 144 (1970). Pet., at p. 25. As the Ninth

Circuit correctly observed, state action may exist under

the compulsion test where the state has “exercised coer-

cive power or has provided such significant encourage-

ment, either overt or covert, that the [private actor’s]

choice must in law be deemed to be that of the State.”

Blum v. Yartesky, 457 U.S. 991, 1004 (1982). Pet., AX A-11.

Adickes fits squarely within that scenario. It arose from

the arrest of a Caucasian teacher who sought service in a

segregated public restaurant while accompanied by Afri-

can-American students. Her Section 1983 action against

Kress (the department store in which the restaurant was

located) alleged not only a custom in the community to

segregate races, but also a conspiracy between the store

and the police which resulted in her arrest. Id., at p. 147.

12

It is not difficult to discern why the Ninth Circuit

decided Adickes “simply bears no similarity to the present

case.” Pet., at p. 25. Petitioners’ contrary analysis is at

best tortured. Faced with the inescapable conclusion that

no provision of the California Elections Code compels or

encourages removal of committee members on the basis

of sexual orientation, the Petition concludes the enact-

ment must have “set the basis for an uncodified practice

or custom of removing committee members on the basis

of homosexuality.” Id. Conspicuously absent is any expla-

nation of how a statute which contains no mention of

sexual orientation or discrimination can form the founda-

tion for an “uncodified practice” of discrimination on the

basis of homosexuality. This is not surprising; the premise

advanced is patently illogical.

Finally, in attempting to analogize this case to the

“nexus” test exemplified by Burton v. Wilmington Parking

Authority, 365 U.S. 715 (1961), the Petition asserts

Knowles used the prestige of his office to insinuate him-

self into a position of interdependence with the Commit-

tee. Pet., at p. 26. But the point is not whether Knowles

and the Committee are interdependent, but rather,

whether the Committee and the State are interdependent.

The hallmark of the symbiotic relationship between the

state and private actors which occasionally satisfies the

state action requirement is the rendering of mutual bene-

fits. In Burton, owners of a restaurant which leased space

in an automobile parking building owned by the state,

refused to serve African-Americans. Crucial to the find-

ing of state action was the conclusion “that the state had

so far insinuated itself into a position of interdependence

with the restaurant that it was a joint participant in the

13

enterprise.” Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co., supra, 419

U.S. at 357-358. Here, absent any factual allegation sug-

gesting Knowles acted on behalf of the State or otherwise

exercised his official duties in urging Johnson’s and

Wadsworth’s ouster, the claimed nexus between the State

and the Committee is wholly illusory.

Petitioners know this. Their last-ditch attempt to

invoke the Burton rationale is found in the allegation that

membership on a central committee is a de facto prerequi-

site to elected office at all levels of government. Pet., at p.

26. But what the Petition attempts to characterize as a

material fact reflecting “political reality” is actually a

legal conclusion which not only dismisses the right of

public officials to function within their party of choice,

but also ignores the fact that “[u]nlike the sovereign,

party central committees are expected to serve party

interests, not the interest of the public at large.” San

Francisco County Democratic Central Committee v. Eu, supra,

826 F.2d at p. 826, fn.20.

D. The Petition fails to disclose that Plaintiffs waived

their right to challenge the District Court's disposi-

tion of any purported claim under 42 U.S.C. sec-

tions 1985(3) and 1986.

Included in Petitioners’ Statement of the Case is the

bold misrepresentation that “[uJnaddressed by the Panel

was the question timely preserved and presented of

whether homosexuals are a protected class for purposes

of Petitioners’ 42 U.S.C. §§ 1985(3) and 1986 claims”. Pet.,

at p. 7. Petitioners’ opening brief to the Ninth Circuit was

devoid of any challenge to the District Court’s dismissal

14

of their Section 1985 and 1986 claims. Resp. App. 42. The

right to claim relief under these sections was abandoned.

Officers for Justice v. Civil Serv. Comm., 979 F.2d 721,

725-726 (9th Cir. 1992). This impediment could not have

escaped Petitioners’ notice, as it was brought to the Ninth

Circuit’s attention in Respondents’ brief on appeal. Resp.

App. 94, fn.2. To suggest the Ninth Circuit simply

ignored claims which instead were abandoned is uncons-

cionable.

E. In attacking the Panel’s decision, the Petition con-

sistently and erroneously equates status as a public

official with conduct under color of law.

One acts under color of state law when exercising

power made possible only because the wrongdoer is

clothed with the authority of state law. West v. Atkins, 487

U.S. 42, 49 (1988). Thus the pivotal question faced by the

Panel was not Knowles’ status as a member of the Assem-

bly, but rather, evidence of facts establishing the requisite

causal link between his State-created official duties and

the conduct which created the alleged deprivation of

constitutional rights. Dang Vang v. Vang Xiong X. Toyed,

944 F.2d 476, 479 (9th Cir. 1991). The Petition takes great

pains to avoid this issue, opting instead to focus on subtle

distinctions between various provisions of the California

Elections Code which the Panel purportedly misun-

derstood. Pet., at pp. 11-16. To the extent this exposition

is intelligible, it is often contradictory and at best irrele-

vant.

In arguing the Ninth Circuit “downplayed” Knowles’

position and power (which is not the issue anyway),

——————————————————

15

Petitioners first assert the Panel erred in finding his “ex

officio membership on the Committee derives from

Knowles’ position as the Republican nominee for the

Assembly, not from his status as 4 California assembly-

man.” Pet., at p. 11. Yet the Petition concedes Knowles

“obtained his position as a nominee”. Pet., at p. 12, fn.2.

That he “could not have kept it if a write-in Republican

had been elected to the Assembly instead of him” is

completely irrelevant. Id. The point is that Knowles’

membership on the Committee derives from his status as

a Republican. Petitioners’ contention the Panel should

have accepted as true and controlling the “material alle-

gation” that Knowles’ status on the Committee existed

solely by virtue of his status as an assemblyman is not a

material allegation at all. It is merely one of many

attempts to obscure the fact this Complaint says nothing

about effecting constitutional deprivation through the exer-

cise of Knowles’ official duties as a member of the Assembly. In

tacit admission of that problem, the Petition returns to

the familiar refrain that “Knowles’ greater power for

influence and its misuse was possible only because his

Assembly seat gave him power undiminished by Com-

mittee discretion and a Committee seat less subject to

loss.” Pet., at p. 14. Its other deficiencies aside, the quoted

sentence does not even attempt to establish a connection

between the exercise of official power as an agent of

government and Petitioners’ ouster from the Committee.

Similarly misguided is the Petition’s criticism of the

Panel for ignoring the District Court decision in Anthony

v. County of Sacramento, 845 F.Supp. 1396 (E.D. Cal. 1994),

while “stretching across circuit lines” to find Murphy v.

Chicago Transit Authority, supra, 638 F.Supp. 464. Pet., at p.

16

14. It is obviously the result reached in Anthony which

Petitioners find appealing, not the test employed. The

fact the complaint in Anthony depicted a work environ-

ment made racially and sexually hostile by supervisory

individuals acting under color of law is of no assistance

to Petitioners in the factual context of this case. Id., at p.

1401. And the test employed in Anthony is no different

from that enunciated by the Panel in this case:

Action under color of law is always identified

by reference to the relationship between defen-

dant’s alleged misconduct and his state-created

duties and powers, rather than the status of the

parties. Id., at p. 1401.6

¢

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

A. Contrary to the Petition’s assertion, no recurring

issue of national and exceptional importance is pre-

sented by this case.

Petitioners seek certiorari “on the grounds that recur-

ring issues of national and exceptional importance relat-

ing to the fundamental right to vote remain unresolved in

this case.” Pet., at pp. 7-8. Neither the Complaint nor the

Amended Complaint alleges that anyone involved in this

case was deprived of the right to vote. It is not claimed

6 The test enunciated in Murphy v. Chicago Transit Authority,

supra, is not materially different either: “ ... A person acts

‘under color of state law’ when he engages in conduct that is

related to state authority conferred on the person, even though

that authority does not in fact permit the conduct.” 638 F.Supp.

at pp. 467-468.

——

17

that any individual or group of individuals was denied

access to the polls, that anyone’s vote was not counted, or

that the elections in question were otherwise conducted

improperly. Indeed, Petitioners have conceded they were

duly elected in properly conducted proceedings. The

essence of their grievance is the Committee's subsequent

decision to oust them for conduct deemed injurious to the

party. Whether the injury perceived by Respondents con-

sisted of Petitioners’ departure from an official party line,

public criticism of Respondents, support for Democratic

candidates, derogation of Republican candidates, or John-

son’s and Wadsworth’s status as homosexuals is irrele-

vant. The ouster was post-election conduct, not

interference with an election.

Furthermore, the Petition points to no decision which

has found a fundamental right to vote in any context

other than elections for public office. The factual distinc-

tions between the case at bar and the “White primary

cases” was addressed above. To date, no case has

expanded the rationale of Terry v. Adams or Smith v.

Allwright outside the context of a race-based ban on vot-

ing, and here no registered Republican was denied the

right to vote at all, much less for discriminatory reasons.

B. The internal management decisions of political par-

ties cannot be subjected to judicial review under

the guise of civil rights litigation.

While there is no doubt that the right of political

parties to govern their internal affairs without state inter-

ference involves an issue of significant national impor-

tance, it was resolved long ago. In Cousins v. Wigoda, 9

18

U.S. 477 (1975), this Court held that “any interference

with the freedom of a party is simultaneously an interfer-

ence with the freedom of its adherents.” Id., at p. 488.

Democratic Party of the United States v. Wisconsin, 450 U.S.

107 (1981) recognized the freedom identified in Cousins

necessarily presupposes that the courts may not interfere

in the Party’s internal management on the ground they

view “a particular expression as unwise or irrational”. Id.,

at pp. 123-124. In Rosario v. Rockefeller, 410 U.S. 752 (1973)

and Storer v. Brown, 415 U.S. 724 (1974), this Court upheld

state laws designed to preserve the integrity of political

parties by preventing “raiding”. While Petitioners relied

heavily on the latter two cases in their arguments to the

Ninth Circuit, they have never acknowledged the import

of Tashjian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, 479 U.S. 208

(1986), which mandates that the rationale of Rosario and

Storer applies only to potential disruption of political

parties from without, and cannot be invoked to prevent

parties from taking internal steps to govern their associa-

tions from within. Id., at pp. 223-224.

These authorities teach that any construction of the

state action requirement which equates internal manage-

ment of political parties with the official action of govern-

ment is constitutionally flawed. Since the purpose of the

state action requirement is to preserve individual free-

dom, and freedom of political association is at the heart

of the First Amendment, no result other than that reached

by the Panel could be tolerated under the Constitution.

See, Hurley v. Irish-American Gay, Lesbian and Bisexual

Group of Boston, 132 L.Ed.2d 487, 504 (1995).

¢

19

CONCLUSION

For the reasons and pursuant to the authorities set

forth hereinabove, Respondents respectfully submit the

Petition should be denied.

Dated: October 22, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

Marjorie E. MANNING

BOLLING, WALTER & GAWTHROP

8880 Cal Center Drive, Suite 400

Sacramento, California 95826

(916) 369-0777

Counsel of Record for Respondents

Republican Central Committee

of El Dorado County

Steven Bailey

Robert Becker

Ed Borba

Bernard Carlson

Merlin Chardi

Christina Cowell

Charles Chrisman

Dan Dellinger

Tom Emigh

Michael Frenn

Maloa Gribkoff

Kevin Hanley

Tom Schumacher

John Stelzmiller

Laveta Stelzmiller

David Titus

Resp. App. 1

LAW OFFICES OF

G. MICHAEL GERMAN - 103312

A Professional Corporation

444 Market St. — Suite 930

San Francisco, CA 94111

Telephone (415) 433-4500

Attorney for Plaintiffs

PAUL JOHNSON, KEVIN WADSWORTH,

individually and on behalf of

all others similarly situated.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

PAUL JOHNSON, KEVIN

WADSWORTH, individually

and on behalf of all others

similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

vV.

DAVID KNOWLES; REPUBLI-

CAN CENTRAL CMMITTEE

[sic] OF EL DORADO

COUNTY; STEVEN BAILEY;

ROBERT BECKER; ED BORBA;

BERNARD CARLSON; MER-

LIN CHARDI; CHRISTINA

COWELL; CHARLES CHRIS-

MAN; DAN DELLINGER;

TOM EMIGH; MICHAEL

FRENN; MALOA GRIBKOFF;

KEVIN HANLEY; TOM

SCHUMACHER; JOHN

STELZMILLER; LAVETA

STELZMILLER; DAVID TITUS

and DOES 1-25, inclusive,

Defendants.

CIV-S-95-835 MLS PAN

No. CV5-95-

CLASS ACTION COM-

PLAINT FOR DAMAGES

AND FOR DECLARA-

TORY AND EQUITABLE

RELIEF

[CIVIL RIGHTS (42 USC

§§1983 & 1985(3));

UNRUH ACT (CAL.

CIVIL CODE §§51-52.1;

NEGLIGENT & INTEN-

TIONAL INFLICTION OF

EMOTIONAL DISTRESS;

INTERFERENCE WITH

BUSINESS; INVASION OF

PRIVACY; DEFAMATION;

& COMMON LAW FAIR

PROCEDURE]

JURY TRIAL

DEMANDED

Resp. App. 2

INTRODUCTORY ALLEGATIONS

(Filed May 8, 1995)

1. Jurisdiction herein is based on 28 USC §§1331,

1343, 1357, 1367 2201 and venue is proper in this district

because all Defendants, named and unnamed, reside

herein.

2. At all times herein mentioned, Defendant

REPUBLICAN CENTRAL COMMITTEE OF EL DORADO

COUNTY (Central Committee) was and is a political

organization subject to the laws of this State and of the

United States, organized, existing and operating under

and in furtherance of the laws of this State, including, but

not limited to, Cal. Elections Code (CEC) §§7250-7470 and

18540-18700, whose chairman is Defendant DAVID

TITUS.

3. Plaintiffs are informed and believe, and allege

thereon, that at all times herein mentioned, Defendants

STEVEN BAILEY; ROBERT BECKER; ED BORBA; BER-

NARD CARLSON; MERLIN CHARDI; CHRISTINA

COWELL; CHARLES CHRISMAN; DAN DELLINGER;

TOM EMIGH; MICHAEL FRENN; MALOA GRIBKOFF:

KEVIN HANLEY: TOM SCHUMACHER; JOHN STEL-

ZMILLER; LAVETA STELZMILLER and DAVID TITUS

were and/or are duly elected, alternate or appointed

members of Defendant Central Committee and were act-

ing under and in furtherance of the laws of this State,

including, but not limited to, CEC §§7250-7470 and

18540-18700. Plaintiffs are similarly informed and believe

that Defendant DAVID KNOWLES is an elected Republi-

can member of the California Assembly for the 4th

Assembly District who employs Defendant BECKER as

Resp. App. 3

his legislative aide. Said Defendants are sued individu-

ally, without prejudice to Plaintiffs’ right to recover and/

or satisfy judgment against them or any other defendant

in any other capacity.

4. Plaintiffs are ignorant of the true names and

capacities of Defendants sued herein as DOES 1 through

25, inclusive, and therefore sues these Defendants by

such fictitious names. Plaintiffs will amend this complain

to allege such Defendants’ true names and capacities

when ascertained. Plaintiffs are informed and believe,

and allege thereon, that each such Defendant resides in

this district, is responsible in some manner for the occur-

rences herein alleged and that Plaintiffs’ damages were

proximately caused by their conduct, acts and/or omis-

sions.

5. Plaintiffs are informed and believe, and allege

thereon, that named and DOE Defendants are, and at all

times herein mentioned were, the agents and co-conspira-

tors of their co-defendants, and in doing the things

alleged herein were acting within the course and scope of

such agency and conspiracy and with the supervision,

permission, instruction and consent, express or implied,

of said co-defendants.

6. From September, 1978, and at all times since,

Plaintiffs PAUL JOHNSON and KEVIN WADSWORTH

have been, and have held themselves out to third parties

as, exclusive life partners in a loving relationship; have

shared living expenses, space and resources; have

exchanged religious vows of commitment to each other;

have traveled and vacationed together; and, more

recently, have filed income tax returns consistent with

Resp. App. 4

their relationship and have made Provisions by testamen-

tary disposition to care for the other in the event either is

incapacitated. Each is sole heir to the estate of the other,

an estate held in joint tenancy.

7. Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH had or

have been longtime (10+ years), members of the Califor-

nia Republican party, registered to vote thereunder and

previously serving with distinction on other Central

Committees in this State, and were, in 1992 and 1994,

elected and reelected by their fellow Republicans of El

Dorado County, Supervisorial District III, to two-year

seats on Defendant Central Committee, which seats they

held with integrity and dedication from January, 1993,

until ousted therefrom by Defendants as pled below.

JOHNSON and WADSWORTH received in the June, 1994,

primary election 1,585 and 1,562 votes, respectively and

they are informed, believe and recall that they received a

substantially similar number of votes in the June, 1992,

primary election as well. JOHNSON and WADSWORTH

won the June, 1994, primary election despite the best

efforts of certain of their colleagues on the Central Com-

mittee and other California Republicans, including but

not limited to Defendants KNOWLES and CARLSON,

who vowed “We've got to get rid of those faggots,” and

actively worked to do so.

8. Together, Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WAD-

SWORTH own and reside at the premises known as The

Lone Antler Ranch (Ranch), located in El Dorado County.

Plaintiffs occasionally rent portions of the Ranch to per-

sons or groups for receptions, fundraising and other

legitimate purposes for profit, without discrimination

therein as required by applicable California law. Proceeds

Resp. App. 5

from Ranch rentals are used, in part, to defray the cost of

medical treatment for WADSWORTH, who is a disabled

Vietnam-era Marine Corps veteran suffering from AIDS.

9. On August 25, 1994, Plaintiff JOHNSON executed

a written lease contract with the Katie Hirning For Con-

gress Campaign for a September 17, 1994, fundraiser for

Ms. Hirning, the Democratic candidate for the November,

1994, 4th Congressional District election, in which she

opposed incumbent Republican Congressman John Doo-

little. Pursuant to governing provisions of Defendant

Central Committee’s bylaws and of the CEC, the contract

specifically provided that the names of neither JOHN-

SON nor WADSWORTH would appear thereon. The con-

sideration for the contract was $100, the fundraiser was

held as scheduled and neither JOHNSON nor WAD-

SWORTH took part therein except as lessors of the Ranch.

10. On September 5, 1994, one week before the reg-

ularly scheduled meeting of Defendant Central Commit-

tee, Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH learned that

JOHNSON’S father had died in Ohio that day. Both Plain-

tiffs immediately made plans to travel to Ohio to attend

the funeral and advised Defendants SCHUMACHER and

LAVETA STELZMILLER thereof by telephone and FAX

that same day, noting it was possible each would not be

able to attend the September 12, 1994, meeting, to which

no Defendant responded. WADSWORTH did not travel to

Ohio due to his need to receive regularly scheduled

experimental medical AIDS treatment at Marshall Hospi-

tal. Such treatments are lengthy, painful and leave the

patierit feeling weak and nauseous for several days after

administered.

Resp. App. 6

11. Plaintiff WADSWORTH underwent such treat-

ment beginning at 11:00 am on September 12, 1994, and

appeared at the meeting of Defendant Central Committee

at 7:30 p.m. that same day. The meeting was called to

order by Defendant TITUS and proceeded with its busi-

ness, including the election of Defendant BECKER to the

Central Committee, until WADSWORTH began to feel ill.

WADSWORTH then gave the Central Committee a check

in the amount of $69.75 representing the closing balance

from his reelection campaign committee, Riff Raff Repub-

licans PAC, pursuant toe operative provisions of the CEC

and left. Prior to that point in the meeting, neither its

notice, agenda nor any discussion once underway gave

WADSWORTH any sign that any action was to be taken

against him.

12. Thereafter, under the direction of Defendant

TITUS, Defendant Central Committee purported to go

into “Executive Session,”despite any provision therefor in

the governing bylaws of the Central Committee or the

CEC, where Defendant EMIGH initiated discussion of

Plaintiffs JOHNSON’S and WADSWORTH’S role in the

Hirning fundraiser held at the Ranch and moved that

each be removed from the Central Committee for

allegedly failing to support Republican candidates and

for providing support to Democratic candidates. After

discussion supporting the motion from Defendants

CARLSON and BECKER, the motion was passed as fol-

lows:

AYES: 13 (BAILEY, BECKER, BORBA, CARLSON,

CHRISMAN, DELLINGER, EMIGH, FRENN, GRIBKOFF,

HANLEY, L. STELZMILLER, J. STELZMILLER & TITUS;

CHARDI, alternate)

Resp. App. 7

NAYS: (Gilmore) ABSTENTIONS: 3 (Aguiar, Col-

lens & Messenger)

13. Defendant Central Committee never informed

either Plaintiff of its action in removing them; they

learned of it through at least two articles in the local

press, which quoted Defendant TITUS as Stating both

Plaintiffs were“unanimously ousted.” While WAD-

SWORTH vowed to continue as a Republican and, in

January, 1995, to take his seat on the Central Committee

he had won in the June, 1994, primary, JOHNSON

resigned his longstanding Republican party membership

in disgust and reregistered as a Democrat.

14. Plaintiffs are informed and believe, and allege

thereon, that on or between December 31, 1994, and Janu-

ary 3, 1995, Defendant LAVETA STELZMILLER mailed

notice to members of Defendant Central Committee of its

January 9, 1995, Organizational Meeting. Enclosed in that

notice was a proposed resolution urging the dismissal of

Doug Wheeler as Secretary of the California State

Resources Agency, but no agenda or any other document

relating to matters to be considered at the January 9,

1995, meeting. At the Organizational Meeting, Plaintiff

WADSWORTH was sworn into his elected office as mem-

ber for Supervisorial District III of the Central Committee

and Defendants TITUS, SCHUMACHER, BECKER and

GRIBKOFF were elected Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Sec-

retary and Treasurer, respectively. While it is, and has

been, customary for those elected officials, including, but

not limited to Defendant KNOWELES and Congressman

John Doolittle, who have the right to appoint members to

the Central Committee under CEC §§7250-7470 to do so

Resp. App. 8

at this Organizational Agenda Meeting, neither Defen-

dant KNOWLES nor Congressman Doolittle then did so.

14. At the January 9, 1995, meeting, an Organiza-

tional Agenda given to those present listed “Adoption of

By-laws” as item III, but a copy of the proposed bylaws

was not included with the notice. Although Plaintiff

WADSWORTH objected to the consideration of these pro-

posed bylaws as out of order, because of this lack of

adequate notice, Defendant TITUS ruled his objection

out-of-order and Defendant SCHUMACHER’S motion to

adopt the bylaws was seconded by Defendant CARLSON

and approved. A true and correct copy of the new bylaws

adopted by Defendant Central Committee on January 9,

1995, is attached hereto as Exhibit A.

15. Plaintiff WADSWORTH is informed and

believes, and alleges thereon, that Defendant TITUS had

directed Defendant BECKER to draft these new bylaws in

advance of the January 9, 1995, meeting and that other

Defendants hereto, including, but not limited to Defen-

dants EMIGH and KNOWLES, but not including WAD-

SWORTH, knew that the new bylaws would be so drafted

and presented for adoption on January 9, 1995. Defendant

EMIGH then stated his intention to seek removal of

WADSWORTH at Defendant Central Committee’s next

meeting, set for February 13, 1995, purportedly under

bylaw Article XIX “for engaging in actions injurious to

the Committee.”

16. On February 6, 1995, Defendant BECKER mailed

a notice of the February 13, 1995, meeting to all members

of Defendant Central Committee, accompanied by an

agenda which listed as item IXA “Disciplinary Action.”

Resp. App. 9

At the meeting, Defendant EMIGH moved, and Defen-

dant CARLSON seconded, the removal of Plaintiff WAD-

SWORTH “for engaging in actions deemed injurious

to"the Central Committee. After discussion of the motion

from, among others, Defendants BECKER, CARLSON,

and EMIGH and SCHUMACHER, including, but not lim-

ited to, alleged statements made and actions taken by

WADSWORTH prior to January 9, 1995; statements crit-

icizing the Central Committee allegedly made by WAD-

SWORTH and overheard by Susan Emigh, wife of

Defendant EMIGH, in a restaurant on January 19, 1995; a

December 15, 1995, letter allegedly sent by Katie Hirning

to her “supporters,” which letter was neither then shown

to WADSWORTH nor seen by him at any time prior or

since the meeting; concern that the Central Committee

beware of expelling members who rent property to Dem-

ocrats, in light of SCHUMACHER’s regularly renting

property jointly owned by him and a registed Democrat

to Democrats; and Defendant KNOWLES’ admission to

SCHUMACHER that his reason for pushing, directly or

indirectly through his aide BECKER and other members

or appointees to the Central Committee, the removal of

WADSWORTH therefrom was due to his “being homo-

sexual,” the motion was passed as follows:

AYES: 9 (BECKER, CARLSON, COWELL,

DELLINGER, EMIGH, GRIBKOFF, SCHUMACHER, J.

STELZMILLER & TITUS)

NAYS: 3 (Colvin, Gilmore & WADSWORTH)

ABSTENTIONS: 1 (CHRISMAN) Thereafter, on March i,

1995, Defendant LAVETA STELZMILLER and Cecil Rig-

genberg were elected to fill the seats of JOHNSON and

Resp. App. 10

WADSWORTH by acclamation of those members of the

Central Committee then present.

17. Said Defendants’, and each of their, aforesaid

acts or omissions towards Plaintiffs JOHNSON and

WADSWORTH were intended to cause injury to said

Plaintiffs, or, alternatively, were done recklessly or with a

knowing, willful, grossly negligent and conscious disre-

gard of the consequences to all Plaintiffs’ personal and

Constitutional rights and well-being, in an oppressive,

malicious, overbearing, despicable, deliberately indif-

ferent and demeaning manner so as to entitle all Plaintiffs

to awards of punitive damages against said Defendants,

and each of them, in the jury’s discretion, according to

the legal standards governing the respective causes of

action pled herein.

18. As a proximate result of Defendants’, and each

of their acts or omissions, Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WAD-

SWORTH were damaged generally and specially by suf-

fering physical and severe mental injuries, including, but

not limited to, pain, nausea, nervousness, fear, shock,

outrage, anguish, humiliation, embarrassment, alienation,

helplessness and despair; and all Plaintiffs were damaged

by suffering loss of their electoral rights, all in sums to be

proven at trial.

19. In doing the acts and omissions aforesaid,

Defendants and each of them, conspired among them-

selves, and/or with others and/or in degrees presently

unknown to Plaintiffs, to damage and deprive all Plain-

tiffs of their personal and Constitutional rights. Said

Defendants, and each of them, had knowledge of and

agreed to both the means and ends of injuring Plaintiffs,

Resp. App. 11

either expressly or tacitly; committed the wrongful acts

and/or omissions alleged herein pursuant to such knowl-

edge and agreement and damaged Plaintiffs thereby, all

as aforesaid.

20. The legal remedy of damages available to Plain-

tiffs provides them only with partial, not full, relief, since

Defendants’ conduct towards Plaintiffs JOHNSON and

WADSWORTH evidences a continuing and unremitting

pattern of abuse and prejudicial discrimination on the

basis of their sexual orientation, actual, as exaggerated

and/or as perceived. More than a substantial likelihood

of future violations of all Plaintiffs’ Statutory, personal

and constitutional rights is shown by Defendants’ arbi-

trary and capricious ouster of WADSWORTH from

Defendant Central Committee; Defendant's refusal to seat

him thereon ignores the mandate of the electorate and

constitutes an active and ongoing violation of their rights

as aforesaid. All Plaintiffs will therefore continue to suf-

fer substantial, immediate and irreparable harm in the

form of their effective disenfranchisement, which harm _

can only be ended by an award of mandamus or injunc-

tive relief, which when coupled with damages and

declaratory relief, will give full relief to all Plaintiffs.

CLASS ACTION ALLEGATIONS

21. Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH bring

this action on behalf of themselves and all persons sim-

ilarly situated, who together form the class of registered

Republican voters in Supervisorial District III of E] Dor-

ado County who voted for said Plaintiffs for membership

on Defendant Central Committee in the June, 1992 and

Resp. App. 12

1994, primary elections and whose votes were thereafter

twice nullified by the acts of Defendants, and each of

them, as aforesaid.

22. This case satisfies the requisites of FRCVP 23a as

follows:

Numerosity - The class has a membership of

between 1,500 and 2,500 persons, as based upon election

returns from the June, 1992 and 1994, primaries in which

Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH were elected.

Commonality - The damages suffered by both

names Plaintiffs and the members of they [sic] class they

represent stem from the same nucleus of operative facts

pled above. Specifically, all members share the prejudice

to and dilution and deprivation of their rights as voters

effected by Defendants’ twice removing both names

Plaintiffs from Defendant Central Committee, and all

members would benefit by equitable relief restoring

Plaintiff WADSWORTH to his elected seat on Defendant

Central Committee, by declaring the new bylaws inopera-

tive in whole or in part and by awarding money damages

as prayed for.

Typicality - Names Plaintiffs uniquely satisfy

this requirement as longstanding registered Republicans

who reacted to Defendants’ actions in divergent ways

that span the range of responses of unnamed class mem-

bers to Defendants’ acts. Thus, the likelihood that named

Plaintiffs possess both the same interest and have suf-

fered the same injury as the unnamed class members is

increased, not lessened, by their different reactions to

Defendants’ acts, which comprise the same events and

provide the same basis for legal and equitable relief for

aaa

Resp. App. 13

all Plaintiffs’ claims. Given the conspiracy allegations

pled, typicality is also satisfied. Moreover, the allegations

clearly show actual injuries to named Plaintiffs and any

deficiency in degree between the injuries suffered by

named Plaintiffs and those by unnamed Plaintiffs

enhances named Plaintiffs’ ability to act adequately as

class representatives.

Adequacy of representation - That the proposed

class is formed of voters who twice elected named Plain-

tiffs to the positions from which Defendants ousted them

is the best indicator they will “fairly and adequately

protect the interests of the class.” Plaintiffs’ counsel is

well qualified, as shown by his resume attached hereto as

Exhibit B, and as by his kinship in the group discrimi-

nated against by Defendants: gay, politically active mem-

bers of the Republican party.

23. This case is maintainable as a class action under

the provisions of FRCVP 23b2 since Defendants have

acted in a manner generally affecting the class, making

equitable and declaratory relief appropriate to the class

as a whole, with such ancillary awards of money dam-

ages allowable as deemed just according to proof.

1ST CAUSE OF ACTION -

CIVIL RIGHTS (42 USC §1983)

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

24. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

25. In doing the things heretofore alleged, Defen-

dants, and each of them, knew or should have known

Resp. App. 14

that ousting named Plaintiffs from Defendant Central

Committee was done without reasonable and probable

cause or other justification, in arbitrary and capricious

abuse of legitimate legal processes and in violation of

clearly and long established rights guaranteed to all

Piaintiffs under Article I, Section 10 and the I, V, IX, X,

XIV and XV Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States, since named Plaintiffs had twice been

elected to the Central Committee by their fellow regis-

tered Republicans; since the bylaws drafted by Defendant

BECKER and purportedly adopted by the Central Com-

mittee on January 9, 1995, both as written and enforced,

were overbroad, vague and incapable of Constitutional

comprehension; and since the enforcement of those

bylaws against Plaintiff WADSWORTH was invalid as an

ex post facto act violative of all Plaintiffs’ rights.

26. In so acting, and in failing to prevent their co-

Defendants from so acting, Defendants, and each of them,

willfully, recklessly, deliberately, callously, indifferently

and/or grossly negligently deprived Plaintiffs of their

substantive civil rights of freedom of expression and

association, voting and membership on Defendant Cen-

tral Committee, freedom from deprivation thereof with-

out due process and from operation of ex post facto laws,

as guaranteed by Article I, Section 10 and the I, V, IX, X,

XIV and XV Amendments to the U.S. Constitution.

27. To the extent that Plaintiffs must so plead

against Defendant Central Committee, but without in any

way admitting any legal requirement that they do so or

waiving their challenge to such requisites, the aforesaid

acts and omissions of Defendants, and each of them, were

Resp. App. 15

performed or suffered to occur under written and unwrit-

ten, pervasive and unequally applied customs and poli-

cies of the Central Committee which, among others, were

directed against homosexuals and their friends and sup-

porters solely by nature of their status, and not by nature

of their conduct, and which sought to squelch any differ-

ence of opinion or dissent, however raised, from a sup-

posed “official party line,” whether arising in, or imposed

upon from without, the Central Committee. If not actu-

ally instituted by, said customs or policies, among others,

were ratified and allowed to continue, fester and multiply

by Defendants KNOWLES, CARLSON, EMIGH and

TITUS before and after the two ousters complained of

herein occurred, as shown by the history of discrimina-

tion against both named Plaintiffs and others and by the

refusal of Defendant TITUS to publicize meetings of the

Central Committee in advance, as duly, moved, seconded,

passed and funded in an earlier meeting of the Central

Committee, thereby further insulating the Central Com-

mittee from representing its constituents and further

institutionalizing such customs and practices.

28. Defendants’, and each of their, acts or omissions

were done under color of state law and of their authority

as elected members of Defendant Central Committee and

deprived Plaintiffs of the rights guaranteed them under

Article I, Section 10 and the I, V, IX, X, XIV and XV

Amendments to the U.S. Constitution without due pro-

cess and/or equal protection of law and of the substan-

tive rights guaranteed thereunder. As a proximate result

of the conduct of said Defendants, and each of them, all

Plaintiffs were and remain damaged as aforesaid, and is

entitled to recover as alleged herein, including reasonable

—

Resp. App. 16

attorney’s fees pursuant to 42 USC §1988 and punitive

damages under governing standards of federal law.

2nd CAUSE OF ACTION -

CIVIL RIGHTS CONSPIRACY

(42 USC §§1985(3) & 1986)

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

29. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 28, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

30. In doing the things heretofore alleged, Defen-

dants, and each of them, actively conspired among them-

selves for the purpose of depriving Plaintiffs, directly and

indirectly, of the equal protection of, and of the equal

privileges and immunities of, the aforesaid substantive

and procedural rights guaranteed by the U.S. Constitu-

tion, and said Defendants acted in furtherance of the

object of that conspiracy by injuring Plaintiffs in their

persons and property and deprived them from having

and exercising the rights and privileges guaranteed citi-

zens of the United States by its statutes and Constitution.

Defendants knew or should have known that subjecting

Plaintiffs to the aforesaid wrongful and otherwise

improper acts, and in conspiring to do so, was done

without reasonable and probable cause or other justifica-

tion and in violation of clearly and long established rights

guaranteed under the I, V, IX, X, XIV and XV Amend-

ments to the U.S. Constitution. Further, in knowing that

the acts forming such a conspiracy against Plaintiffs were

about to be committed and, despite their having the

power to prevent them from being committed, neglected

or refused to prevent their commission, Defendants, and

ee

Resp. App. 17

each of the, are liable to all Plaintiffs for their aforesaid

damages proximately caused thereby.

3rd CAUSE OF ACTION - UNRUE CIVIL

RIGHTS ACT (CAL. CIVIL CODE §§51-52.1)

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

31. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

32. At all times relevant hereto, Defendant Central

Committee was and is a business enterprise engaged in

promotion of Republican candidates and political inter-

ests in El Dorado County, headquartered at 3181 Cameron

Park Blvd., Suite 107, Cameron Park, California, as

shown, inter alia, by its raising and disbursing funds,

contracting for goods and services, employing and reim-

bursing persons and companies and by being regulated,

both in its membership and in its operations, by the

aforesaid provisions of the CEC.

33. Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH are

informed and believe, and allege thereon, that the rea-

sons, among others, for the aforesaid unreasonable and

wrongful acts of differential treatment, discrimination

and deprivation of their protected personal and property

rights was their sexual orientation as gay males who

legitimately exercised their legal and political freedoms

of expression and association on and off Defendant Cen-

tral Committee according to their own beliefs consistent

with the laws of the United States and of California and

of the properly adopted bylaws of Central Committee,

Resp. App. 18

but not in accord with any actual or purported “party

line” imposed or ratified by Defendants herein.

34. Asa result of Plaintiffs JOHNSON’s and WAD-

SWORTH’s exercise of their rights as aforesaid, they were

expelled from Defendant Central Committee by Defen-

dants, and each of them, to their own, and all Plaintiffs’

damage as to be shown at trial. Defendants’ wrongful

conduct is continuing since Plaintiff WADSWORTH

remains expelled from the Central Committee, despite his

clear, elected eligibility for membership thereon, since

those voters who elected him thereto have effectively had

their votes nullified by the acts and omissions of Defen-

dants, and each of them, and since the new bylaws pur-

portedly adopted on January 9, 1995, remain in force and

effect, thereby increasing the likelihood they will be used

to deprive others of similar rights on the Central Commit-

tee in the future. For these reasons, an award of damages,

equitable and declaratory relief is just and proper, as

more specifically prayed for herein.

4th CAUSE OF ACTION - NEGLIGENT

INFLICTION OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

35. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

36. As a proximate result of the negligent acts or

omissions of Defendants, and each of them, Plaintiffs

suffered severe humiliation, embarrassment, chagrin,

anger and emotional distress and have been injured in

mind and body by suffering headaches, nervousness,

~ Resp. App. 19

sleeplessness, and feelings of personal and political help-

lessness, alienation, frustration and despair, all to Plain-

tiffs’ damage as aforesaid so that Plaintiffs are entitled to

recover as alleged herein.

Sth CAUSE OF ACTION - INTENTIONAL

INFLICTION OF EMOTIONAL DISTRESS

(By Plaintiffs JOHNSON and

WADSWORTH Against All Defendants)

37. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

38. The acts or omissions of Defendants to this

cause of action, and each of them, were intentional, outra-

geous, despicable, oppressive and malicious and were

done in conscious or reckless disregard of Plaintiffs’ well-

being and personal and political rights for the sole pur-

pose of causing Plaintiffs severe emotional distress. Fur-

ther, Defendants knew, or should have known, that

subjecting a person with, AIDS, such as Plaintiff WAD-

SWORTH, to their acts and omissions, would stress and

weaken his already compromised state of health and

well-being.

39. As a proximate result of these acts or omissions

of Defendants, and each of them, Plaintiffs suffered

severe humiliation, embarrassment, chagrin, anger and

emotional distress and have been injured in mind and

body by suffering headaches, nervousness, sleeplessness,

and feelings of personal and political helplessness, alien-

ation, frustration and despair, all to Plaintiffs’ damage as

aforesaid and Plaintiffs are entitled to recover as alleged

Resp. App. 20

herein. Further, Plaintiff WADSWORTH’s already com-

promised state of health and well-being due to AIDS was

stressed and weakened by Defendants’, and each of their,

acts or omissions, with the result that his life expectancy

has been shortened and his T-Cell count has dropped

dramatically since September, 1994.

6th CAUSE OF ACTION - INTENTIONAL

INTERFERENCE WITH BUSINESS INTEREST

(By Plaintiffs JOHNSON & WADSWORTH

Against All Defendants)

40. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 though 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

41. At all times relevant hereto, Defendants, and

each of them, knew or should have known that Plaintiffs

JOHNSON and WADSWORTH rented out portions of the

Ranch and used the proceeds therefrom to help defray

the expensive costs of WADSWORTH’s AIDS treatment

and medication. In acting as aforesaid, Defendants to this

cause of action, and each of them, intentionally sought to

interfere with said Plaintiffs’ legitimate business use of

their property and with a significant — and literal - means

of WADSWORTH’s life support.

42. As a proximate result of these acts by said

Defendants, and each of them, Plaintiffs were injured and

damaged as aforesaid.

Resp. App. 21

7th CAUSE OF ACTION - INVASION OF PRIVACY

(By Plaintiffs JOHNSON & WADSWORTH

Against Defendants KNOWLES, CARLSON & TITUS)

43. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

44. At all times herein mentioned, Plaintiffs had a

reasonable and legitimate right and expectation of pri-

vacy and sanctity in their persons and reputations, pri-

vate and commercial. By the acts and omissions above

described, Defendants to this cause of action, and each of

them, invaded that right, without any reasonable or legit-

imate privilege or justification whatsoever, by casting

Plaintiffs in the false light of disloyal Republicans,

“moles” “those homosexuals,”“ faggots” (by which term is

implied a promiscuous, ridiculous male homosexual

undeserving of respect), or other negative attributes

which lessened the respect Plaintiffs had in their commu-

nity. Defendant TITUS further cast Plaintiffs in the false

light of social and/or political outcasts by his false state-

ment that the September 12, 1994, vote to remove them

from Defendant Central Committee was “unanimous,”

when it was, in fact, not.

45. As a proximate result of these acts by said

Defendants, and each of them, Plaintiffs were injured and

damaged as aforesaid. Said Plaintiffs further suffered

special damages in the form of lost rental income from

the Ranch as a proximate result of Defendants’ and each

of their, false statements, and other items of special dam-

age stemming from their loss of standing in their commu-

nity, as to be shown at trial.

Resp. App. 22

8th CAUSE OF ACTION - DEFAMATION

(By Plaintiffs JOHNSON & WADSWORTH

Against Defendants KNOWLES, CARLSON & TITUS)

46. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1-23, and 44 & 45, inclusive, of this

Class Action Complaint.

47. By their statements, acts and omissions above

described, Defendants to this cause of action, and each of

them, defamed Plaintiffs, without any reasonable or legit-

imate privilege or justification whatsoever, by calling

Plaintiffs disloyal Republicans, “moles,” “those homosex-

uals,” “faggots” (by which term is implied a promis-

cuous, ridiculous male homosexual undeserving of

respect), or otherwise uttered and/or caused to be

printed words causing them to be shunned, derided and

eventually ejected negative attributes that lessened the

respect Plaintiffs had in their community. Defendant

TITUS further defamed by his false statement that the

September 12, 1994, vote to remove them from Defendant

Central Committee was “unanimous,” when it was, in

fact, not.

48. Some or all of there defamations were heard by

both co-Defendants and non-parties hereto, who under-

stood them to be defamatory as to Plaintiffs JOHNSON

and WADSWORTH.

49. As a proximate result of these acts by said

Defendants, and each of them, Plaintiffs were injured and

damaged as aforesaid. Said Plaintiffs further suffered

special damages in the form of lost rental income from

the Ranch as a proximate result of Defendants’ and each

Resp. App. 23

of their, false statements, and other items of special dam-

age stemming from their loss or standing in their commu-

nity, as to be shown at trial.

9th CAUSE OF ACTION - DECLARATORY RELIEF

(28 USC §2201)

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

50. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

51. An actual controversy has arisen and now exists

between the parties relating to the legal rights of all

Plaintiffs and all Defendants in relation to the validity of

the new bylaws adopted at the January 9, 1995, meeting

of Defendant Central Committee, for which Plaintiffs

desire a declaration of rights, including, but not limited

to, a finding by this Court that said bylaws are null, void

and unenforceable.

52. A declaratory judgment is necessary since Plain-

tiffs contend that the bylaws are inherently infirm and

inconsistent with the U.S. and California Constitutions, as

written, adopted and/or applied, and Defendants, and

each of them, deny the same.

10th CAUSE OF ACTION - COMMON LAW

FAIR PROCEDURE

(By All Plaintiffs Against All Defendants)

53. Plaintiffs incorporate as though fully set forth

herein Paragraphs 1 through 23, inclusive, of this Class

Action Complaint.

Resp. App. 24

54. By virtue of the long-established provisions of

the common law, Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WAD-

SWORTH had and have a right to be afforded the benefits

of fair procedure, including, but not limited to, the rights

of prior and adequate notice and the opportunity to

defend themselves and present and examine witnesses in

a fair and neutral hearing, before suffering any depriva-

tion of their associational rights as members of Defendant

Central Committee.

55. As a proximate result of Defendants’ and each

of their, acts and omissions aforesaid, Plaintiffs were

damaged and are entitled to recover as alleged herein.

WHEREFORE Plaintiffs pray for trial by jury and dam-

ages as follows:

1. For general damages;

2. For special damages according to proof;

3. For fines, penalties, costs, pre- and post-judg-

ment interest and attorneys fees according to law;

4. For punitive damages against all Defendants,

including both statutory and discretionary punitives;

5. For a permanent injunction and/or issuance of a

writ of mandamus directing Defendants to reinstate

Plaintiff WADSWORTH to Defendant Central Committee;

6. For a declaration of the rights and duties of the

parties in relation to the new bylaws adopted January 9,

1995, and for a declaration that said bylaws’ are invalid

and have been without effect;

6. For such other and further relief as proper.

Resp. App. 25

DATED: May 8, 1995

LAW OFFICES OF

G. MICHAEL GERMAN

/s/ G. Michael German

Attorney for Plaintiffs

ES ee en

Resp. App. 26

T.D. Bolling, Jr., SBN 33236

Marjorie E. Manning, SBN 118643

BOLLING, WALTER & GAWTHROP

A Professional Corporation

(SPACE BELOW

FOR FILING

STAMP ONLY)

8880 Cal Center Drive, Suite 400

Sacramento, CA 95826

Telephone No. (916) 369-0777

Telecopier No. (916) 369-2698

Attorneys for Defendants

REPUBLICAN CENTRAL COMMITTEE OF EL DORADO

COUNTY; STEVEN BAILEY; ROBERT BECKER;

ED BORBA; BERNARD CARLSON; MERLIN CHARDI;

CHRISTINA COWELL; CHARLES CHRISMAN;

DAN DELLINGER; TOM EMIGH; MICHAEL FRENN;

MALOA GRIBKOFF; KEVIN HANLEY; TOM

SCHUMACHER; JOHN STELZMILLER; LAVETA

STELZMILLER; and DAVID TITUS

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

PAUL JOHNSON; KEVIN

WADSWORTH, individu-

ally and on behalf of all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

v.

DAVID KNOWLES;

REPUBLICAN CENTRAL

COMMITTEE OF EL DOR-

ADO COUNTY; STEVEN

BAILEY; ROBERT BECKER;

ED BORBA; BERNARD

CARLSON; MERLIN

CHARDI; CHRISTINA

CASE NO. CIV-S-95-835

MLS PAN

ORDER FOLLOWING

HEARING ON

DEFENDANTS’

MOTIONS TO

DISMISS

DATE: October 20, 1995

TIME: 9:00 a.m.

COURTROOM: The

Honorable Milton L.

Schwartz

(Filed Nov. 20, 1995)

Resp. App. 27

COWELL; CHARLES

CHRISMAN; DAN

DELLINGER; TOM

EMIGH; MICHAEL

FRENN; MALOA

GRIBKOFF; KEVIN

HANLEY; TOM SCHUM-

ACHER; JOHN STEL-

ZMILLER; LAVETA

STELZMILLER: DAVID

TITUS; and DOES 1-25,

inclusive,

Defendants.

Defendants’ motions to dismiss were heard October

20, 1995 before the Honorable Milton L. Schwartz.

Michael German appeared on behalf of plaintiffs, Mark

Spring of Diepenbrock, Wulff, Plant & Hannegan

appeared on behalf of defendant David Knowles and

Marjorie E. Manning of Bolling, Walter & Gawihrop

appeared on behalf of defendants Republican Central

Committee of El Dorado County, Steven Bailey, Robert

Becker, Ed Borba, Bernard Carlson, Merlin Chardi, Chris-

tina Cowell, Charles Chrisman, Dan Dellinger, Tom

Emigh, Michael Frenn, Maloa Gribkoff, Kevin Hanley,

Tom Schumacher, John Stelzmiller, Laveta Stelzmiller, and

David Titus. The Court announced its disposition of the

motions and its reasons therefor into the record and

ordered Ms. Manning to prepare a formal order consis-

tent therewith.

For the reasons set forth in the attached transcript of

proceedings, defendants’ motions to dismiss the

Resp. App. 28

complaint are granted. Plaintiffs shall have 45 days from

the date of hearing within which to amend their com-

plaint to state a claim pursuant to 42 USC § 1983 based on

the deprivation of their First and/or Fourteenth Amend-

ment rights and to seek appropriate declaratory relief. To

the extent plaintiffs’ section 1983 claim is based upon

deprivation of their rights protected by Article I, Section

10 of the United States Constitution or the Fifth, Ninth,

Tenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, the claim is dismissed without leave to

amend. Plaintiffs’ section 1985(3) and section 1986 claims

are also dismissed without leave to amend.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: November 20, 1995

/s/ Milton L. Schwartz

MILTON L. SCHWARTZ,

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

COURT: U.S. District Court, Eastern District of Cali-

fornia

CASE NO.: CIV-S-95-835 MLS PAN

CASE NAME: Johnson v. Knowles, et al.

PROOF OF SERVICE

I am a citizen of the United States, employed in the

County of Sacramento, State of California. My business

address is 8880 Cal Center Drive, Suite 400, Sacramento,

California 95826. I am over the age of 18 years and not a

party to the above-entitled action.

Resp. App. 29

I am readily familiar with Bolling, Walter & Gaw-

throp’s practice for collection and processing of corre-

spondence for mailing with the United States Postal

Service. Pursuant to said practice each document is

placed in an envelope, the envelope is sealed, the appro-

priate postage is placed thereon and the sealed envelope

is placed in the office mail receptacle. Each day’s mail is

collected and deposited in a U.S. mailbox at or before the

close of each day’s business. (CCP § 1013a(3).)

On November 8, 1995, I caused the within ORDER

FOLLOWING HEARING ON DEFENDANTS’

MOTIONS TO DISMISS, the original of which was pro-

duced on recycled paper, to be served via

X MAIL -

Placed in the United States Mail at Sacramento, Cali-

fornia.

G. Michael German, Esq.

Law Offices of G. Michael German

22 Second Street, Suite 310

San Francisco, CA 94105

Dennis Murphy, Esq.

DIEPENBROCK, WULFF, PLANT & HANNEGAN

300 Capitol Mall, Suite 1700

Sacramento, CA 95814

I declare that I am employed in the office of a mem-

ber of the bar of this court at whose direction the service

was made and that this Declaration is executed on

November 8, 1995 at Sacramento, California.

ARTEEMAS GREENE /s/ Arteemas Greene

Resp. App. 30

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

IN AND FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA

PAUL JOHNSON, et al.,

~~"

Plaintiffs,

vs. CASE NO.

CIV-S-95-835

; REPUBLICAN

DAVID KNOWLES UBLIC MLS PAN

CENTRAL COMMITTEE OF

EL DORADO COUNTY; et al.,

Defendants.

ee

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT

Held in the United States District court in and for the

Eastern District, on Friday, October 20, 1995 before the

Honorable Milton L. Schwartz, judge.

For the Plaintiffs: LAW OFFICES OF

G. MICHAEL GERMAN

22 Second Street, Suite 310

San Francisco, California 94105

BY: G. MICHAEL GERMAN

For the Defendants: BOLLING, WALTER & GAW-

THROP

A Professional Corporation

8880 Cal Center Drive, Ste. 400

Sacramento, California 95826

BY: MARJORIE E. MANNING

Resp. App. 31

For Defendant DIEPENBROCK, WULFF, PLANT

Knowles: & HANNEGAN

300 Capitol Mall, Ste 1700

Sacramento, California 95814

BY: MARK SPRING

Reported by: Diane J. Shepard, CSR #6331 RPR

[p. 2] SACRAMENTO, CALIFORNIA, FRIDAY, OCTO-

BER 20, 1995

THE COURT: This matter is before the Court on

Defendants’ motions to dismiss brought pursuant to Fed-

eral Rule of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6) (which I will refer to

hereafter just as that rather than going through the entire

name.)

Plaintiffs filed suit seeking damages and injunctive

and declaratory relief for claims arising under 42 U.S.C.

Sections 1983, 1985(3) and 1986 and also under state law.

Plaintiffs allege that Defendants ousted them from their

seats on the Republican Central Committee for El Dorado

County (which I'll refer to as simply “the Committee”)

because of Plaintiffs’ status as homosexuals. They seek to

represent the class of quote, “registered republican voters

in Supervisorial District III of El Dorado County who

voted for said Plaintiffs for membership on the committee

in the June 1992 and June 1994 primary elections and

whose votes were thereafter twice nullified by the acts of

Defendants.” unquote Defendants are: (1) David

Knowles, Republican member of the California Assembly

for the Fourth Assembly District; (2) the Committee; and

(3) sixteen individual members of the Committee.

[p. 3] Specifically, Plaintiffs allege that they are long-

standing members of the California Republican Party

Resp. App. 32

who for seventeen years have been and have held them-

selves out to third parties to be exclusive life partners. In

June 1992 and again in June 1994 they were elected to

two-year terms on the Committee via the El Dorado

County primary election ballots. However, Plaintiffs were

removed from their seats for the 1993 to 1995 term pur-

suant to a vote taken at the September 12, 1994 Commit-

tee meeting. Neither Plaintiff was in attendance at the

meeting at the time the vote was taken. Thereafter, Plain-

tiff Johnson resigned his membership in the Republican

Party, but Plaintiff Wadsworth resolved to take his seat on

the Committee for the 1995 to 1997 term.

At a noticed organizational committee meeting held

on January 9, 1995, Plaintiff Wadsworth was sworn in as a

committee member for the 1995-1997 term. Over his

objection, the Committee then adopted bylaws. Included

in these bylaws is Article XIX, which allows for the

removal of any member, quote, “acting in a manner

deemed injurious to the Central Committee or its pur-

poses.” unquote On February 13, 1995, a motion to

remove Wadsworth [p. 4] from the Committee for the

1995-1997 term was passed. Plaintiffs allege that Defen-

dants’ actions removing them from their seats on the

Committee were motivated by and based on Plaintiffs’

homosexuality.

Defendants now move to dismiss pursuant to Rule

12(b)(6) on the grounds that Plaintiffs have failed to state

any federal claim.

A Rule 12(b)(6) motion is decided by primary refer-

ence to the allegations in the complaint. quote, “For pur-

poses of the motion to dismiss, the complaint is construed

—E*~

Resp. App. 33

in the light most favorable to the plaintiff and its allega-

tions are taken as true.” unquote Cruz v. Beto, 405 USS.

319, 322 (1972). The court may not dismiss the complaint

under Rule 12(b)(6) unless it appears beyond doubt that

plaintiffs can prove no set of facts that would entitle them

to relief. Hishon v. King & Spaulding, 467 U.S. 69, 73,

(1984). But the court is not to assume that plaintiffs can

prove facts not alleged or that defendants have violated

the law in ways that have not been alleged. Associated

General Contractors v. California State Council, 459 US. 319,

526 (1983).

First, Defendants maintain that Plaintiffs [p. 5] have

not stated a claim under Section 1983. To state a Section

1983 claim, Plaintiffs must show two essential elements:

(1) that Defendants acted under color of state law; and (2)

that Defendants caused them to be deprived of a right

secured by the Constitution and laws of the United

States. Howerton v. Gabrica, 708 F.2d 380, 382 (9th Cir.

1983). The court finds that Plaintiffs have failed to satisfy

the first element, and with respect to some of the alleged

constitutional deprivations, have also failed to satisfy the

second element.

As to the first element, a person acts under color of

law when exercising or purporting to exercise power.

quote “possessed by virtue of state law and made Possi-

ble only because the wrongdoer is clothed with the

authority of state law.” unquote Dang Vang v. Vang Xiong

X. Toyed, 944 F.2d 476, 479 (9th Cir. 1991).

Generally, public officials or employees act under

color of law while acting in their official capacity or while

exercising responsibilities pursuant to state law. Dang

Resp. App. 34

Vang, 944 F.2d at 479. Defendant Knowles, in his capacity

as a member of the State Assembly, is unarguably a

public official. However, quote “the Ninth [p. 6] Circuit

looks to the nature of the conduct involved, as well as the

surrounding circumstances, and not simply to the defen-

dant’s official capacity,” unquote to determine whether a

public official acted under color of law. Anthony v. County

of Sacramento, Sheriff's Dept., 845 F. Supp. 1396, 1400 (E.D.

Cal. 1994). Accordingly, the Court must determine

whether Knowles’ actions were related to the duties and

powers incidental to his public position.

The Court has examined all the complaint’s allega-

tions regarding the conduct of Knowles. It does not

appear that the conduct of which Plaintiffs complaint

relates to Knowles’ performance of his duties as a mem-

ber of the Assembly. Rather, it appears that Knowles was

acting in his private-capacity as a member of the Republi-

can Party. Without any allegations connecting the conduct

complained of to Knowles’ duties as an Assembly mem-

ber, Plaintiffs have failed to sufficiently allege that

Knowles was acting under color of law by virtue of his

status as a public official.

The remaining defendants include the Committee

and individual members of the Committee. Plaintiffs’

contention that the Committee is a [p. 7] public agency

and its members are public officials by virtue of state

regulations via the California Elections Code is contrary

to controlling law. See Jackson v. Metro. Edison Co., 419

U.S. 347, 350 (1974). Therefore, the remaining Defendants

must be considered to be private parties.

Resp. App. 35

A private individual or entity acts under color of law

where there is quote “significant state involvement in the

action.” unquote. Howerton, 708 F.2d at 382. Accordingly,

the Court must examine the actions of private defendants

to determine if they meet this standard.

Although the requirement that a person act under

color of state law is technically separate from the Four-

teenth Amendment's state action requirement, in cases

such as this where all of the alleged constitutional depri-

vations require state action, the two requirements can be

treated as equivalent. Collins v. Womancare, 878 F.2d 1145,

1148 (9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1056 (1990).

The Supreme Court has articulated the following

tests to determine when the actions of a private individ-

ual or entity amount to state action: (1) the public func-

tion test; (2) the [p. 8] joint action test; (3) the state

compulsion test; and (4) the nexus test. That’s from the

same citation in Howerton. Plaintiffs maintain that they

meet both the public function test and the joint action

test.

Under the public function test, a private party can be

found to be a state actor where the private party exercises

powers that are traditionally exclusively reserved to the

state, such as holding elections. Flagg Brothers v. Brooks,

436 U.S. 149, 157-158 (1978). Plaintiffs contend that

Defendants engaged in state action because Plaintiffs

were elected to office via the primary election ballot, and

Defendants’ action ousting them from their offices nulli-

fied the election results. This simply stretches the public

function test too far.

Resp. App. 36

The cases holding that conducting elections amounts

to state action concerned the election of public officials.

See Smith v. Allwright, 321 U.S. 649 (1944); Terry v. Adams,

345 U.S. 461 (1953). Although plaintiffs here were elected

to their positions via the primary election ballots, they

were not elected to public offices but rather to positions

within the internal organization of the [p. 9] Committee.

The management of the internal governance of a political

party is simply not a power traditionally exclusively

reserved to the state. See Banchy v. The Republican Party of

Hamilton County, 898 F.2d 1192, 1196 (6th Cir. 1990).

Therefore, Plaintiffs have failed to satisfy the political

function test.

Next, Plaintiffs contend that they satisfy the joint

action test. This test is met where the private party is a

quote “willful participant in joint activity with the State

or its agents”. Howerton, 708 F.2d at 383. One way to

establish joint action is to demonstrate a conspiracy

between private parties and the government. That’s from

the same citation in Howerton. Plaintiffs maintain that

they have sufficiently alleged a conspiracy between

Knowles and the other Defendants to oust Plaintiffs from

their positions on the Committee. However, because

Plaintiffs have failed to show that Knowles was acting

under color of law, they have not demonstrated a conspir-

acy between the private defendants and a government

actor. Thus, Plaintiffs have not satisfied the joint action

test.

[p. 10] Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiffs

have failed to sufficiently allege that any of the Defen-

dants were acting under color of state law.

Resp. App. 37

As to the second element of a Section 1983 claim,

Defendants maintain that Plaintiffs have failed to ade-

quately allege the deprivation of any federal constitu-

tional or statutory right. Plaintiffs’ complaint alleges that

Defendants violated their rights protected by Article I,

Section 10 of the United States Constitution and by the

First, Fifth, Ninth, Tenth, Fourteenth and Fifteenth

Amendments to the United States Constitution. Plaintiffs,

however, concede that they cannot state a claim for depri-

vations of their rights guaranteed by Article I, Section 10

or the Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amendments. Therefore,

the Court needs only to determine whether Plaintiffs

have stated a claim under the First, Fourteenth and Fif-

teenth Amendments.

After carefully reviewing the complaint, the Court

finds that the allegations purporting to show a violation

of the First Amendment are too vague to be reasonably

analyzed under the Rule 12(b)(6) standard. Therefore, to

the extent that Plaintiffs’ Section 1983 claim depends on a

[p. 11] deprivation of their First Amendment rights, it is

dismissed sua sponte for failure to comply with Federal

Rule of Civil Procedure 8(a).

That's the rule that requires a plain, clear and simple

statement of the cause of action and the jurisdiction on

which it’s based.

As to Plaintiffs’ claim of a deprivation of their Four-

teenth Amendment rights, the Court recognizes that

homosexuals do not constitute a Suspect or quasi-suspect

class. See High Tech. Gays v. Defense Industry Sec. Clearance

Off., 895 F.2d 563, 574 (9th Cir. 1990). This, however, does

not preclude Plaintiffs’ claim because they may be able to

Resp. App. 38

show that Defendants’ actions were not rationally related

to any legitimate interest. From the same citation.

Next, the Court finds that Plaintiffs have not alleged

a deprivation of their Fifteenth Amendment rights. The

Fifteenth Amendment prohibits the denial of the right to

vote on account of race, color or previous condition of

servitude in, quote “any election in which public issues

are decided or public officials selected.” end quote That's

from Terry, 345 U.S. at 468.

Plaintiffs’ claim of a deprivation of their [p. 12] Fif-

teenth Amendment rights fails for two reasons. First, the

votes that Plaintiffs claim were nullified were not for the

selection of public officials. Second, Plaintiffs do not

allege that anyone’s right to vote was denied on account

of race, color or previous condition of servitude. There-

fore, Plaintiffs have failed to allege a deprivation of their

Fifteenth Amendment rights.

In summary, Plaintiffs’ Section 1983 claim is deficient

for the following reasons: (1) they have failed to allege

that any Defendants acted under color of state law; (2)

they have conceded that they cannot state a claim for the

violation of Article I, Section 10 of the U.S. Constitution

or the Fifth, Ninth and Tenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution; (3) their allegations of a deprivation

of their First Amendment rights do not meet the require-

ments of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 8(a); and (4)

they have failed to adequately allege a deprivation of

their Fifteenth Amendment rights. Additionally, the

Court finds that the deficiencies of Plaintiffs’ Section 1983

claim to the extent it relies on a deprivation of their

Resp. App. 39

Fifteenth Amendment rights cannot be cured by amend-

ment. Therefore, Defendants’ motions with [p. 13] respect

to Plaintiffs’ Section 1983 claim are GRANTED, and Plain-

tiffs are granted leave to amend their complaint to prop-

erly allege a Section 1983 claim only insofar as the claim

relies on a deprivation of their First and/or Fourteenth

Amendment rights.

The Court now addresses whether Plaintiffs have

stated a claim under 42 U.S.C. Sections 1985(3) and 1986.

To state a claim under Section 1985(3) a plaintiff must

allege: (1) a conspiracy; (2) to deprive any person or class

of persons of the equal protection of the laws or of equal

privileges and immunities under the laws; (3) an act by

one of the conspirators in furtherance of the conspiracy;

and (4) a personal injury, property damage or deprivation

of any right or privilege of a citizen of the United States.

United Brotherhood of Carpenters & Joiners v. Scott, 463 U.S.

825, 828-29 (1983) (citing Griffin v. Breckenridge, 403 U.S.

§ 8, 102-03 (1971)). Homosexuals are not a, quote “class”

unquote,vithin the meaning of Section 1985(3). DeSantis

v. Pacific Tel. and Tel. Co., Inc., 608 F.2d 327, 333 (9th Cir.

1979). Therefore, Plaintiffs have failed to state a claim [p.

14] under Section 1985(3).

Section 1986 imposes liability on individuals who

knowingly fail to prevent a violation of Section 1985.

Because Plaintiffs have failed to state a claim under Sec-

tion 1985(3), they also have failed to state a claim under

Section 1986. Accordingly, Defendants’ motions with

respect to Plaintiffs’ Sections 1985(3) and 1986 claims are

GRANTED. Because the Court finds that amendment as

Resp. App. 40

to these claims would be futile, they are dismissed with-

out leave to amend.

Finally, because Plaintiffs have failed to state a claim

that would give this court jurisdiction to award declara-

tory relief under 28 U.S.C. Section 2201, Defendants’

motions to dismiss Plaintiffs’ claim for declaratory relief

are GRANTED with leave to amend. See Skelly Oil Co. v.

Philips Petroleum Co., 339 U.S. 667, 671 (1950).

Finally, the Court finds that Plaintiffs have failed to

state a claim pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sections 1983, 1985(3)

and 1986 and have failed to establish that the Court has

jurisdiction to award declaratory relief pursuant to 28

U.S.C. Section 2201.

[p. 15] Accordingly, for the foregoing reasons, the

court GRANTS Defendants’ motions to dismiss. Plain-

tiff’s are hereby granted 45 days’ leave to amend their

complaint to state a Section 1983 claim based on the

deprivation of their First and/or Fourteenth Amendment

rights and to seek appropriate declaratory relief. To the

extent that Plaintiffs’ Section 1983 claim is based upon

deprivations of their rights protected by Article I, Section

10 of the United States Constitution or the Fifth, Ninth,

Tenth and Fifteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, the claim is DISMISSED without leave to

amend. Plaintiffs’ Section 1985(3) and Section 1986 claims

are also DISMISSED without leave to amend.

MS. MANNING: Thank you, your Honor.

MR. GERMAN: Your Honor, I would ask one

indulgence from the Court and from Counsel, and that 45

Resp. App. 41

days to leave to amend be granted. The reason for that

is -

THE COURT: That’s fine.

[p. 16]REPORTER’S CERTIFICATE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA )

)

COUNTY OF SACRAMENTO )

I, DIANE SHEPARD, certify that I was the Official

Court Reporter, Pro tem, and that | reported verbatim in

shorthand writing the foregoing proceedings; that I there-

after caused my shorthand writing to be reduced to type-

writing, and the pages numbered 1 through 15, inclusive,

constitute as complete, true and correct record of said

proceedings:

COURT: United States District Court

JUDGE: The Honorable Milton L. Schwartz

CAUSE: Johnson, et al. v. Knowles, et al.

DATE: October 20, 1995

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have subscribed this cer-

tificate at Sacramento, California, on this 25th day of

October, 1995.

/s/ Diane J. Shepard

DIANE J. SHEPARD

CSR NO. 6331, RPR

Resp. App. 42

NINTH CIRCUIT CASE NO. 96-15852

E.D. CAL. CASE NO. CIV-S-95-835 MLS (PAN)

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

PAUL JOHNSON; KEVIN WADSWORTH;

LAUREN COOPER; RAY SEBASTIAN &

BARBARA SEBASTIAN, individually and on

behalf of all others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs / Appellants,

Vv.

DAVID KNOWLES; REPUBLICAN CENTRAL

COMMITTEE OF EL DORADO COUNTY; STEVEN

BAILEY; ROBERT BECKER; ED BORBA;

BERNARD CARLSON; MERLIN CHARDI;

CHRISTINA COWELL; CHARLES CHRISMAN;

SAN [sic] DELLINGER; SUSAN EMIGH; TOM

EMIGH; MICHAEL FRENN; MALOA GRIBKOFF;

KEVIN HANLEY; TOM SCHUMACHER; JOHN

STELZMILLER; LAVETA STELZMILLER; DAVID

TITUS & DOES 1-25

Defendants / Appellees.

/

OPENING BRIEF OF PLAINTIFFS/APPELLANTS

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

NO. CIV-S-95-835 MLS (PAN)

HONORABLE MILTON L. SCHWARTZ, JUDGE

Resp. App. 43

G.MICHAEL GERMAN - 103312

LAW OFFICES OF

G. MICHAEL GERMAN,

A Professional Corporation

22 Second Street - Suite 310

San Francisco, CA 94105-3406

(415) 536-1838

Attorney for Plaintiffs / Appellants

PAUL JOHNSON;

KEVIN WADSWORTH;

LAUREN COOPER;

RAY SEBASTIAN &

BARBARA SEBASTIAN,

individually and

on behalf of all others similarly

situated.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Ee i

py iii

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER & APPELLATE

et odanecucscencseesoesesecon 1

REQUEST FOR ATTORNEYS FEES................. 1

STATEMENT OF ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................... 2

A. Nature of the Case, Course of Proceedings and

ELIE a

EE 3

Resp. App. 44

i oo ee OL eee dae aveseuwen

i Oe ee uc eae

I. DEFENDANTS’ ACTIONS WERE STATE

ACTION FOR PURPOSES OF § 1983 LAW ....

A. Assemblyman David Knowles’ Actions

Were Done Under Color of Law ..........

B. The Committee and Its Members Acted

See GC Or Be os nnn xcs cccencenceace

1. Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the Public

UMN IRS 6 0.054 0405000000450 00000

2. Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the Joint

I ee cap eekbstcdtaessenss ceh.s

WwW

Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the State

ee RTC T TUTE TET EEE T Ee

4. Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the Nexus

| BE Rn ree yan ee en

Il. PLAINTIFFS HAVE PLED DEPRIVATIONS OF

HS. yey eisy 6 Re . ey > Re

es Re ee rey ee rr ere

STATEMENT OF COMPLIANCE ...................

STATEMENT OF RELATED CASES ................

DECLARATION OF G. MICHAEL GERMAN &

EXHIBITS THERETO IN ADDENDUM TO PLAIN-

TIFFS’/APPELLANTS’ BRIEF; REQUEST FOR

MS OE cin é con vec ddcccse nceass as

13

19

19

28

31

Resp. App. 45

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

I. Cases

Able v. US, (ED, NY: 1995) 880 FS 968 .............. 38

Adickes v. Kress, (1970) 398 US 144............... 29, 31

Allison v. California Adult Authority, (CA9: 1969)

My Nia Ca acceso cul css cone ous mous cd coe cs 12

Anthony v. County of Sacramento, (ED, CA: 1994)

a ok SR re nee ae 17

Baker v. Cuomo, (CA2: 1995) 58 F3d 814............. 12

Banchy v. The Republican Party of Hamilton County,

(CAG: 1990) GB FOG 1192... on. ccc ccc cccccscccen 24

Blank v. Heineman, (NE: 1991) 771 FS 1013........... 25

Blum v. Yaretsky, (1982) 457 US 991 .............. 13, 31

Burton v. Wilmington Parking Authority, (1961) 365

Se EG ee ches Ge gen clea hoes os eee ere ee as 33

Burson v. Freeman, (1991) - US -, 112 SC 1846....... 26

Chapman v. King, (CA5: 196) 154 F2d 460............ 33

Cohen v. California, (1971) 403 US 15................ 38

Columbia Natural Resources, Inc. v. Tatum, (CA6:

co RR er rr ae ia, i9, 32

Conley v. Gibson, (1957) 355 US 41 ............... bi, 2

Cook v. Houston Post, (CA5: 1980) 616 F2d 791....... 29

Dahl v. Secretary of US Navy, (ED, CA: 1993) 830 FS

We a) Planes Vash cdhveudeeeuecannunasedendvns 38

Resp. App. 46

Dang Vang v. Vang Xiong X. Toyed, (CA9: 1991) 944

FO GO ccnscscecsessisésdetsonaerarpeee 13, 16, 17

Eu v. SF County Demo. Cen. Com., (1989) 489 US

BO. ctkcndviccdeeetsostetanssanetsaaneee 21, 22

Evans v. Romer, (CO: 1993) 854 P2d 1270............ 35

Evans v. Romer, (CO: 1994) 882 P2d 1335............ 35

Everest & Jennings v. American Motorists Ins., (CA9:

DOPED BP FOG BAO bent vsacsdsanctdndigenes 12, 15, 33

Ex parte Yarbrough, (1884) 110 US 651............... 27

Federspiel v. Ohio Republican Party, (SD, OH: 1994)

Oe Be OSE oc 00086554 ganeiadaentesieeeeeeee 23

Felder vo. Casey, (1908) 467 US 151 .....cscccscccsvess 12

Flagg Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks, (1978) 436 US 149

60b-bnwnebdhed asi eee eee 19, 20, 28, 30

Gamza v. Aguirre, (CA5: 1980) 619 F2d 449.......... 26

Gay Law Students Assn. v. Pacific Tel. & Tel. Co.,

te ere er ees 36

Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc., (1974) 418 US 323........ 18

Glendora v. Cablevision Systems Corp., (CA2: 1995)

OD Fe OO vdnccdacvocsencnsanesasatgaess eee 12

Gray v. Sanders, (1963) 372 US 368 .................. 33

Griffin v. Burns, (CA1: 1978) 570 F2d 1065........... 27

Haddock v. Bd. of Dental Examiners of Calif., (CA9:

oo Pe | PPro ere ea 12

Howerton v. Gabica, (CA9: 1983) 708 F2d 380..13, 19, 28

Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison Co.,; (1974) 419 US

WNL, &-66:00:4.0s ccna nn eee cae 20, 21, 30, 34

Resp. App. 47

Laxalt v. McClatchy, (NV: 1985) 622 aes 18

Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co., Inc., (1982) 457 US

EGER EMG RN we Lies eg heaeS vce vce vececsce. 13, 17

Lynch v. Torguato, (CA3: 1965) 343 F2d 370.......... 25

an v. City of Costa Mesa, (CA9: 1989) 886 F2d -

Moose Lodge No. 107 v. Irvis, (1972) 407 US 163

SEU UEE ENS G6 56.0 p46 044665 cs00000000. 29, 30, 31, 32

Morse v. Republican Party of Virginia, (1996) 116 SC

EAS a i ee 20, 23, 30, 36

Neitzke v. Williams, (1989) 490 US 319............... 12

Palmore v. Sidoti, (1984) 466 US 429................. 37

Plessy v. Ferguson, (1896) 163 US 537................ 35

Republican Party of Arkansas v. Faulkner County,

Arkansas, (1995) 49 F3d 1289................... 20, 23

Reynolds v. Sims, (1963) 377 US 533.............. 26, 36

Romer v. Evans, (1996) 116 SC 1620............... 34, 35

Rosario v. Rockefeller, (1973) 410 US 752, 761......... 22

SF County Demo. Cen. Com. v. Eu, (CA9: 1987) 826

gs gnc n ven c ce ncn ncncee 21, 22

SF County Demo. Cen. Com. v. Eu, (CA9: 1986) 792

ee ole iw acdc sccescucceces., 22

Smith v. Allwright, (1944) 321 US 649................ 20

State ex rel Hayes v. Jennings, (1962) 173 Ohio St.

Me Oe WM OD nce ec ccc ncccee 24

Resp. App. 48

Tashjian v. Republican Party of Connecticut, (1986)

8 rp err rrr errr errr rey rrr rt 22

Terracom v. Valley National Bank, (CA9: 1995) 49

errr r rrr Irae eT Serer eT oT TT Cy 11

Terry v. Adams, (1953) 345 US 461............ 19, 20, 34

(Re eR eS... Seeereerrerrr rs 17

U.S. v. Mosley, (1915) 238 US 383 ............64.. 23, 36

Watkins v. US Army, (CA9: 1989) 875 F2d 699....... 36

Went wo. Alii, CEFR) GF UF OF oc soc ves kia sccccns. 16

Yick Wo v. Hopkins, (1886) 118 US 356............... 26

II. Statutes

U.S. Constitution, Amdts. I & XIV...2, 4, 9, 10, 21, 31, 32

y BR) a: ere Er rrr ry Srre rrr rr ee rer. 1

Be RE IE sh okies <ccawene eee euen eee ee eR eee 1

, os ee Se Tre eee re cerre rrr rere 1

ee 5 ae Pee eee Ae ead e neon CeaN ee eee any ee 1

yA er Te eer eer rT rere re ree 2

Gs TOE oe twa eek ac canes hanna samen saees 19

y ee Pere peer rT err eee reer re. 1, 2 ©

42 USC §1983

eRe Ae RENE EAN SANE OES 1, 2, 3, 12, 13, 16, 19, 27, 26, X%

ee a ere er re peer ee rrr Tr 1

Pee eT Pere Orerrerreerer ery eT Teer res e \ Po ee Fe |

es Cee Ti a 6 in os 6 he kw cdeda ccd 06s 1

Resp. App. 49

Cal. Civil Code §§51-52.1........................... 10

Cal. Code of Civil Procedure §410.30a................ 3

Cal. Code of Civil Procedure SS ae >

Cal. Elections Code §7250-7470. . .4, 8, 14, 22, 23, 25, 32

NNN 5 5 5d. ¥-o'e 06 6G 444 vb bee uvesnccce., 23

I is ea ois coc eee 4, 10, 32

Ohio Revised Code, §305.02...................... 24, 25

III. Treatise

Prosser & Keeton on Torts, 5d, §8 at ae. 27

STATEMENT OF SUBJECT MATTER

& APPELLATE JURISDICTION

This appeal follows the district court’s dismissal of

Plaintiffs’ first amended class action complaint without

leave to amend, which pled federal question and state

tort law supplemental jurisdiction under the provisions

of 28 USC §§1331, 1343, 1357 and 1367 pursuant to 42

USC §1983 civil rights and 28 USC §2201 declaratory

relief claims stemming from a pair of election disputes.

This court has appellate jurisdiction as an appeal of

right of a final decision of a district court pursuant to 28

USC §1291. Plaintiffs’/ Appellants’ Notice of Appeal was

timely filed under FRAP 4a on April 18, 1996, within 30

days after entry of the district court’s March 20, 1996,

order and judgment.

Resp. App. 50

REQUEST FOR ATTORNEYS FEES

Per Ninth Circuit Rule 28-2.3, Plaintiffs will seek

recovery of attorneys fees for this appeal under the inher-

ent powers of the court and pursuant to 42 USC §1988.

STATEMENT OF ISSUES PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether ousters of duly elected members of a county

Republican central committee by other members of that

‘committee, including an active state Assemblyman sitting

ex officio on the committee and his appointee, constitute

state action for purposes of pleading Plaintiffs’ federal

civil rights and declaratory relief claims.

Whether Defendants deprived Plaintiffs of a feder-

ally protected Constitutional right.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Nature of the Case, Course of Proceedings and

Prior Disposition

Plaintiffs PAUL JOHNSON and KEVIN WAD-

SWORTH, are two gay men who have been life partners

since 1978 — and politically active Republicans for almost

as long. CR 28 at {46 & 7. Twice elected by fellow El

Dorado County Republicans, who knew both their per-

sonal and political proclivities, to their county’s central

committee, they were twice ousted from it by a case of

intolerant members whose leaders vowed “to get rid of

those faggots.” Id. Plaintiffs then filed a class action com-

plaint, on behalf of themselves and their fellow Republi-

cans who elected them to office, for damages and for

Resp. App. 51

declaratory and equitable relief, including Wadsworth’s

reinstatement to the committee, based upon 42 USC

§1983. CR 1.

Defendants David Knowles, an active member of the

California Assembly and ex officio member of the central

committee, and 16 other committee members who voted

to oust Johnson and Wadsworth, moved to dismiss Plain-

tiffs’ complaint under FRCvP 12b for failure to state a

claim upon which relief can be granted. Per stipulation of

counsel after an early status conference, it was agreed

that Defendants would first challenge only Plaintiffs’ fed-

eral claims, leaving the state law tort claims to be

addressed if federal jurisdiction was found. CR 14. Defen-

dants’ motions to dismiss were granted and all but Plain-

tiffs’ I and XIV Amendment claims under 42 USC §1983

and their declaratory relief claims under 28 USC §2201

were dismissed without leave to amend. CR 26 & 27.

Joined by fellow Republicans Ted and Lauren Cooper

and Ray and Barbara Sebastian, Plaintiffs timely filed a

first amended class action complaint, to which Susan

Emigh was added as a Defendant. CR 28. Defendants

again moved to dismiss under FRCvP 12b6 for failure to

state a claim and their motion was granted. CR 40. As

before, and now, the crucial issue for decision was

whether or not Defendants’ actions in ousting Johnson

and Wadsworth were state action, a necessary component

of any §1983 civil rights claim. In again rejecting Plain-

tiffs’ argument that “defendants engaged in state action

because Johnson and Wadsworth were elected to office

via the primary election ballot and defendants’ action

ousting them from their offices nullified the election

Resp. App. 52

results,” the court noted that Plaintiffs’ contention “sim- |

ply stretches the public function test too far.” CR 27 at

8:12-17; CR 40 at 9:17-22.

Judgment thereafter issued upon the order of dis-

missal, CR 41, and this appeal of right was timely filed on

April 18, 1996. CR 44. Pursuant to 28 USC §1367d, Plain-

tiffs timely filed a verified class action complaint in the

Superior Court of California, in and for El Dorado

County, similar to their first amended complaint forming

the subject of appeal but purged of its federal claims and

of Ted Cooper as a co-Plaintiff. Per Defendants’ timely

motion therein, that action has since been stayed pending

the results of this appeal, pursuant to Cal. Code of Civ.

Prodedure (CCP) §§410.30 and 418.10a2. Exs. A and B to

Addendum.

B. Statement of Facts

The first amended complaint identifies Defendant

Republican Central Committee of El Dorado County

(committee) as

“existing and operating solely by virtue of,

under and in furtherance of the laws of this

State, including, but not limited to Cal. Elections

Code (CEC §7250-7470 and 18540-18700, whose

chairman is Defendant DAVID TITUS and

whose meetings are held at 3161 Cameron Park

Drive, Suite 107, Cameron Park, CA. Member-

ship in the Central Committee is composed pri-

marily by the election thereto of registered

members of the Republican Party resident in El

Dorado County by their fellow Republican elec-

tors resident in El Dorado County voting in

eli

Resp. App. 53

primary elections, noticed, organized, con-

ducted, supervised and officially reported by

the State of California. Membership in the Cen-

tral Committee is recognized as a de facto prereq-

uisite to higher office, both elected and

appointed, within the Republican Party at the

county, state and national levels, and within

municipal, county, state and national govern-

ment, and thereby benefits government by pro-

viding it with a pool of persons presumably

experienced in the workings of the democratic

process within the republican form of govern-

ment guaranteed by the Constitution, of and

throughout, the United States. Running and

casting and receiving votes for membership on

the Central Committee is also a legitimate exer-

cise of the most elementary form of participa-

tory democracy in a local forum as guaranteed

by the I and XIV Amendments to the U.S. Con-

stitution protecting the fundamental rights of

voting, assembling and petitioning for redress

and participating equally in the political pro-

cess.” CR 28 at 2.

“Defendant DAVID KNOWLES is an elected

Republican member of the California Assembly

for the 4th Assembly District who has and con-

tinues to maintain his local legislative office at

3161 Cameron Park Drive, Suite 214, Cameron

Park, CA, which suite number Plaintiffs are

informed, believe and allege thereon does not

exist separately from Suite 107, per the records

of the El Dorado County Assessor. Plaintiffs also

are informed, believe and expect to discover

facts supporting their further allegation that by

virtue of his status as a member of the Califor-

nia Assembly, Defendant KNOWLES has the

Resp. App. 54

right and power to appoint members to the Cen-

tral Committee under CEC §§7250-7470 and,

using that power, exercised influence, direct and

indirect, over the decisions, workings and

administration of the Central Committee rele-

vant hereto, as evidenced by his January, 1993,

appointment of Defendant LAVETA STELZ-

MILLER to the Central Committee, by his direct-

ing his former legislative aide Defendant

BECKER and other members of his legislative

staff, on the “official” time and expense of the

California State Assembly, to vote against adop-

tion of the Central Committee’s 1994 platform

drafted by Plaintiff WADSWORTH and to there-

after bring about the ouster of Plaintiffs JOHN-

SON and WADSWORTH from the Central

Committee and by his directing the placement

of campaign signs and literature supporting

himself displayed to the public and within the

premises of Suite 107/214 of 3161 Cameron Park

Drive, Cameron Park, CA, in violation of those

statutes and bylaws of El Dorado County and of

the State of California prohibiting such politick-

ing in Central Committee offices, but acquiesced

to by certain members of the Central Commit-

tee, including but not limited to Defendants

herein.” CR 28 at 43.

The remaining individual Defendants are all duly

elected and/or alternate appointed members of the com-

mittee who likewise acted pursuant to the same govern-

ing California statues. Id.

Since 1978, Plaintiffs Paul Johnson and Kevin Wad-

sworth have lived together as exclusive life partners and

held themselves out to third parties as the same, sharing

Resp. App. 55

living expenses, space and resources. CR 28 at 46. Plain-

tiffs have been longtime registered members of the Cali-

fornia Republican Party and have served with distinction

on other central committees in this state, and were,

“in 1992 and 1994, elected and reelected by their

fellow Republicans of El Dorado County, Super-

visorial District IIL, including, but not limited to

Plaintiffs TED COOPER, LAUREN COOPER,

RAY SEBASTIAN & BARBARA SEBASTIAN, to

two-year seats on Defendant Central Commit-

tee, which seats they held with integrity and

dedication from January, 1993, until ousted

therefrom by Defendants as pled below. JOHN-

SON and WADSWORTH received in the June,

1994, primary election 1,585 and 1,562 votes,

respectively and they are informed, believe and

recall that they received a substantially similar

number of votes in the June, 1992, primary elec-

tion as well. JOHNSON and WADSWORTH won

the June, 1994, primary election despite the best

efforts of certain of their colleagues on the Cen-

tral Committee and other California Republi-

cans, including but not limited to Defendants

KNOWLES and CARLSON, who vowed “We’ve

got to get rid of those faggots,” and actively

worked to do so.” CR 28 at 47 and Exhibit C

thereto.

Johnson and Wadsworth’s El Dorado County home is

“The Lone Antler Ranch,” which they occasionally lease

for receptions, fund-raising and other uses. Proceeds

from Ranch rentals are used to defray the cost of medical

treatment for Wadsworth, who is a disabled Vietnam-era

Marine Corps veteran suffering from AIDS. CR 28 at 48.

Johnson leased the Ranch to the Katie Hirning For Con-

gress Campaign for a September 17, 1994, fundraiser for

Resp. App. 56

Ms. Hirning, the Democratic candidate for the November,

1994, 4th Congressional District election, in which she

opposed incumbent Republican Congressman John Doo-

little. Per the Committee’s bylaws, the lease specifically

provided that neither Johnson’s nor Wadsworth’s name

would be used in connection with the fundraiser, which

was held as scheduled. Neither Johnson nor Wadsworth

took part in it except as lessors, CR 28 at 9, a practice

also engaged in by at least one other Defendant with

respect to his own property, but without the same conse-

quences that Plaintiffs suffered. CR 28 at {16.

“On September 5, 1994, one week before the

regularly scheduled meeting of Defendant Cen-

tral Committee, JOHNSON and WADSWORTH

learned that JOHNSON’s father had died in

Ohio that day. Both Plaintiffs immediately made

plans to travel to Ohio to attend the funeral and

advised Defendants SCHUMACHER and

LAVETA STELZMILLER thereof by telephone

and FAX that same day, noting it was possible

each would not be able to attend the September

12, 1994, meeting, to which no Defendant

responded. WADSWORTH did not travel to

Ohio due to his need to receive regularly sched-

uled experimental medical AIDS treatment at

Marshall Hospital. Such treatments are lengthy,

painful and leave the patient feeling weak and

nauseous for several days after administered.”

CR 28 at 410.

“Wadsworth underwent such treatment

beginning at 11:00 am on September 12, 1994,

and appeared at the meeting of Defendant Cen-

tral Committee at 7:30 p.m. that same day. The

meeting was called to order by Defendant

a

Resp. App. 57

TITUS and proceeded with its business, includ-

ing the election of Defendant BECKER to the

Central Committee, until WADSWORTH begin

to feel ill. WADSWORTH then gave the Central

Committee a check in the amount of $69.75,

representing the closing balance from his reelec-

tion campaign committee, Riff Raff Republicans

PAC, pursuant to operative provisions of the

CEC and left. Prior to that point in the meeting,

neither its notice, agenda nor any discussion

once underway gave Wadsworth any sign that

any action was to be taken against him.” CR 28

at 911.

“Thereafter, under the direction of Defen-

dant TITUS, Defendant Central Committee pur-

ported to go into “Executive Session,” despite

any provision therefor in the governing bylaws

of the Central Committee or the CEC, where

Defendant EMIGH initiated discussion of Plain-

tiffs JOHNSON’s and WADSWORTH'’S role in

the Hirning fundraiser held at the Ranch and

moved that each be removed from the Central

Committee for allegedly failing to support

Republican candidates and for providing sup-

port to Democratic candidates. After discussion

supporting the motion from Defendants CAR-

LSON and BECKER, the motion was passed as

follows:

AYES: 13 (BAILEY, BECKER, BORBA,

CARLSON, CHRISMAN, DELLINGER, EMIGH,

FRENN, GRIBKOFF, HANLEY, L. STEL-

ZMILLER, J. STELZMILLER & TITUS; CHARDI,

alternate)

NAYS: 1 (Gilmore) ABSTENTIONS: 3

(Aguiar, Collens & Messenger)

Resp. App. 58

Plaintiffs are informed, believe and allege

thereon that Defendant KNOWLES instructed,

prevailed upon or otherwise influenced Defen-

dants BECKER and LAVETA STELZMILLER to

vote for Plaintiffs’ ouster.” CR 2B at 412.

The Committee never informed either Plaintiff of its

action in removing them; they learned of it from articles

in the local press, which quoted Defendant Titus as stat-

ing both Plaintiffs were “unanimously ousted.” Wad-

sworth vowed to continue as a Republican but Johnson

realigned his longstanding Republican party membership

in disgust and re-registered as a Democrat. CR 28 at 413.

Between December 31, 1994, and January 3, 1995,

Laveta Stelzmiller mailed Committee members notice of

its January 9, 1995, organizational meeting. Enclosed was

a proposed resolution urging the dismissal of a state

employee but no agenda. At that meeting, Wadsworth

was sworn into his elected committee office and Defen-

dants Titus, Schumacher, Becker and Gribkoff were

elected Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Secretary and Trea-

surer, respectively. While it has been customary for those

elected officials, such as Knowles and Congressman Doo-

little, who have the right to appoint members to the

committee under CEC §§7250-7470 to do so at this Orga-

nizational Meeting, neither Knowles nor Doolittle then

did so. CR 28 at 414.

An organizational agenda given to those present at

the meeting listed “Adoption of By-laws” as item III, but

a copy of the proposed bylaws was not included with the

notice. Wadsworth objected to consideration of these pro-

posed bylaws as out-of-order, because of this inadequate

Resp. App. 59

notice, but Titus ruled his objection out-of-order. Schum-

acher’s motion to adopt the bylaws was seconded by

Carlson and approved. CR 28 at 8:14-20 and Exhibit A

thereto.

Plaintiffs pled on information and belief that Titus

had directed Becker to draft these new bylaws prior to

the January 9, 1995, meeting and that other Defendants,

including but not limited to Tom Emigh and Knowles,

knew that the new bylaws would be drafted and pre-

sented for adoption on January 9, 1995. Once adopted,

Emigh stated his intention to seek Wadsworth’s removal

at the Committee’s next meeting, set for February 13,

1995, purportedly under new bylaw Article XIX “for

engaging in actions injurious to the Committee.” CR 28 at

{15.

“On February 6, 1995, Defendant BECKER

mailed a notice of the February 13, 1995, meet-

ing to all members of Defendant Central Com-

mittee, accompanied by an agenda which listed

as item IXA “Disciplinary Action.” At the meet-

ing, Defendant EMIGH moved, and Defendant

CARLSON seconded, the removal of Plaintiff

WADSWORTH “for engaging in actions deemed

injurious to” the Central Committee. After dis-

cussion of the motion from, among others,

Defendants BECKER, CARLSON, and EMIGH

and SCHUMACHER, including, but not limited

to, alleged statements made and actions taken

by WADSWORTH prior to January 9, 1995;

statements criticizing the Central Committee

allegedly made by WADSWORTH and over-

heard by Defendant SUSAN EMIGH, wife of

Defendant EMIGH, in a restaurant on January

19, 1995, and thereafter memorialized by her in

Resp. App. 60

“sworn testimony” not produced at the meeting;

a December 15, 1995, letter allegedly sent by

Katie Hirning to her “supporters,” which letter

was neither then shown to WADSWORTH nor

seen by him at any time prior or since the meet-

ing; concern that the Central Committee beware

of expelling members who rent property to

Democrats, in light of SCHUMACHER’s regu-

larly renting property jointly owned by him and

a registered Democrat to Democrats; and Defen-

dant KNOWLES’ admission to SCHUMACHER

that his reason for pushing, directly or indirectly

through his aide BECKER and other members or

appointees to the Central Committee, the

removal of WADSWORTH therefrom was due to

his “being homosexual,” the motion was passed

as follows:

AYES: 9 (BECKER, CARLSON, COWELL,

DELLINGER, EMIGH, GRIBKOFF, SCHUMACHER, J.

STELZMILLER & TITUS)

NAYS: 3 (Colvin, Gilmore & WAD-

SWORTH) ABSTENTIONS: 1 (CHRISMAN)” CR 28 at

q16.

Plaintiffs pled on information and belief that

Knowles instructed, prevailed upon or otherwise influ-

enced Becker to vote for Wadsworth’s ouster. On March

13, 1995, Laveta Stelzmiller and Cecil Ringgenberg were

elected to fill the seats of Johnson and Wadsworth by

acclamation of those members of the committee then

present. Plaintiffs similarly pled that these Defendants

knew that Laveta Stelzmiller had failed to win enough

votes in the June, 1994, primary to be elected to the

committee, but elected her to membership despite this

Resp. App. 61

knowledge “in direct contravention of the will of the

electorate.” Id.

In ousting Plaintiffs, Defendants acted without prob-

able cause

“In arbitrary and capricious abuse of legitimate

legal processes and in violation of clearly and

long established rights guaranteed to all Plain-

tiffs under the I and XIV Amendments to the

Constitution of the United States, since named

plaintiffs had twice been elected to the Central

Committee by their fellow registered Republi-

cans; since the bylaws drafted by Defendant

BECKER and purportedly adopted by the Cen-

tral Committee on January 9, 1995, both as writ-

ten and enforced, were overbroad, vague and

incapable of Constitutional comprehension; and

since the enforcement of those bylaws against

Plaintiff WADSWORTH under the provisions of

CEC §§7250-7470 and 18540-18700, violated all

Plaintiffs’ I and XIV Amendment rights without

rational connection to any legitimate purpose.”

CR 28 at 425.

The specific Constitutional rights infringed by Defen-

dants, individually and in conspiracy among themselves,

were Plaintiffs’

“fundamental I Amendment rights of freedom

of speech, expression and association, and of

their right to participate in the electoral and

political process by peaceably assembling and -

petitioning their government for redress of

grievances by twice invalidating Plaintiffs’ elec-

tion of Plaintiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH

to the Central Committee by ousting them there-

from as aforesaid and thereby stifling political

Resp. App. 62

debate in and electoral input to Defendant Cen-

tral Committee. Defendants likewise deprived

all Plaintiffs of their fundamental XIV Amend-

ment rights against abridgement of their privi-

leges or immunities as citizens of the United

States and deprived all Plaintiffs of their pro-

tected liberty interests in a republican form of

government without due process of law by

twice invalidating Plaintiffs’ election of Plain-

tiffs JOHNSON and WADSWORTH to the Cen-

tral Committee by ousting them therefrom as

aforesaid, in violation of their fundamental

rights to participate in the electoral process by

casting votes and having those votes count and

determine who their elected representatives will

be, without subsequent invalidation except as

done in a manner consistent with due process

and rationally related to some legitimate inter-

est.” CR 28 at 126.

Defendants were alleged to have acted under color of

state law, including but not limited to CEC §§7250-7470

and 18540-18700, and the committee’s 1995 bylaws. CR 28

at 428. Plaintiffs’ remaining claims pled state constitu-

tional, statutory (Unruh Civil Rights Act [Cal. Civil Code

§§51-52.1]) and common law tort theories of relief, along

with a federal declaratory relief claim under 28 USC

§2201 directed against the 1995 bylaws. CR 28 at 16-21.

They prayed for jury trial; special, general and punitive

damages; costs, interest, and attorneys fees; injunctive

relief in the form of reinstating Wadsworth to the com-

mittee; and for a declaration of the 1995 bylaws’

invalidity.

Although class certification was neither sought nor

determined prior to dismissal, certain of the class action

Resp. App. 63

allegations are relevant to this appeal. Thus, Johnson and

Wadsworth sued on behalf of themselves and those regis-

tered Republicans in their electoral district who voted for

them in the June, 1992 and 1994 primaries and “whose

votes were thereafter twice nullified” by Defendants’

acts. As based upon those elections’ returns, the potential

class has a membership of 1,500-2,500 persons and its

members share common damages by suffering “prejudice

to and dilution and deprivation of their rights as voters

effected by Defendants’” twin ousters of Johnson and

Wadsworth. CR 28 at ¥421 and 22.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

Each Defendant acted under color of state law under

any of the four tests adopted by the Supreme Court for

finding state action, whether individually or in conspir-

ing with each other to deprive Plaintiffs of their federally

protected right to participate equally in the political pro-

cess.

ARGUMENT

Standard of Review

FRCvP 12b6 dismissals for failure to state a claim

upon which relief can be granted are reviewed de novo.

Terracom v. Valley National Bank (CA9: 1955) 49 F3d 555,

558. “A complaint should not be dismissed for failure to

state a claim unless it appears beyond doubt that the

plaintiff can prove no set of facts in support of his claim

which would entitle him to relief.” Id., quoting Conley v.

Gibson (1957) 355 US 41, 45-46, 78 SC 99, 102. Applying

Resp. App. 64

this standard, all material allegations in the complaint are

accepted as true, id., as are any reasonable inferences

therefrom, Everest & Jennings v. American Motorists Ins.

(CA9: 1994) 23 F3d 226, 228, and are construed in the

light most favorable to the pleader, Moore v. City of Costa

Mesa (CAQ9: 1989) 886 F2d 260, 262, even if susceptible to

more than one inference. Columbia Natural Resources, Inc.

v. Tatum (CA6: 1995) 58 F3d 1101, 1109. Nor should a

complaint be dismissed by reliance upon the improper

legal theory; it should be allowed to proceed if the facts

support any valid theory of relief, Haddock v. Board of

Dental Examiners of California (CA9: 1985) 777 F2d 462,

464, no matter how unlikely or improbable of proof the

alleged facts are. Neitzke v. Williams (1989) 490 US 319, 109

SC 2827, 1833 and Allison v. California Adult Authority

(CA9: 1969) 419 F2d 822, 823 (prisoners’ civil rights

claim). Dismissals are “especially disfavored in cases

where the complaint sets forth a novel legal theory that

can best be assessed after factual development,” Baker v.

Cuomo (CA2: 1995) 58 F3d 824, 828-19 (sua sponte dis-

missal of prisoners’ pro se §1983 voting rights claim), or in

certain civil rights actions, Glendora v. Cablevision Systems

Corp. (CA2: 1995) 45 F3d 36, 37 (pro se claim). Indeed, in

§1983 cases

“a

the central objective of the Reconstruction-era

civil rights statutes . . . is to ensure that individ-

uals whose federal constitutional or statutory

rights are abridged may recover damages or

secure injunctive relief.’ . . . §1983 provides a

‘uniquely federa. remedy against incursions

... upon rights secured by the Constitution and

laws of the Nation,’ . . . and is to be accorded ‘a

sweep as broad as its language.’” Felder v. Casey

Resp. App. 65

(1988) ‘a sweep as broad as its language.’” Felder

v. Casey (1988) 487 US 131, 139, 108 SC 2302,

2307 and cases cited therein.

I. DEFENDANTS’ ACTIONS WERE STATE ACTION

FOR PURPOSES OF §1983 LAW

A. Assemblyman David Knowles’ Actions Were

Done Under Color of Law

To state a claim under 42 USC §1983, it must be

shown that defendants acted under color of state law to

deprive plaintiffs of a right secured by the Constitution

and laws of the United States. Lugar v. Edmondson Oil Co.,

Inc. (1982) 457 US 922, 931, 102 SC 2744, 2750; Howerton v.

Gabica (CA9: 1983) 708 F2d 380, 382. As the trial court

noted, “faithful adherence to the ‘state action’ require-

ment . . . requires careful attention to the gravamen of the

plaintiff's complaint.” CR 40 at 5:9-11, quoting Blum v.

Yaretsky (1982) 457 US 991, 1003, 102 SC 2777, 2785: Medi-

caid patients’ class action against state officials under XIV

Amendment was “obviously different from those cases in

which the defendant is a private party and the question is

whether his conduct has sufficiently received the

imprimatur of the State so as to make it ‘state’ action for

purposes of the Fourteenth Amendment.”

The district court recognized that while Defendant

David Knowles was an Assembly member, it “must deter-

mine whether Knowles’ actions were related to the duties

and powers incidental to his public position.” See, Dang

Vang v. Vang Xiong X. Toyed (CA9: 1991) 944 F2d 476, 480.

Looking to the nature of his conduct alleged in the first

amended complaint, the court determined that “plaintiffs

read too much into the designation of Knowles as an ex

Resp. App. 66

officio member of the Committee and his power to

appoint an alternate member of the Committee.” CR 40 at

6:14-16. While the court rightly noted that Knowles’ ex

officio status derived from his position as his party’s

nominee for his Assembly seat, not from his Assembly

membership, and that his appointive power is limited to

one alternate member of the committee, the court may

have misconstrued CEC §7406 when it stated that “the

only advantage gained by virtue of Knowles’ status as an

Assembly member is that the Committee cannot with-

draw his power to appoint an alternate,” in comparison

to the committee’s “discretion to give this authority to

any ex officio member, whether an incumbent

officeholder or not.” CR 40 at 7:3-4. Review of § 7406 in

relation to §§7404 and 7405 reveals that all incumbent, ex

officio members of the committee have appointive author-

ity unfettered by committee discretion; non-incumbent ex

officio members have only discretionary appointive

authority from the committee. Appendix, Ex. C.

At least one reason used by the district court to find

that Knowles’ abuse of his position did not constitute

state action is thus fundamentally flawed. Where one

appointive power is tempered by committee discretion

and the other is not, the reasonable inference is that he

who holds unqualified power thereby wields greater

power and influence over those who exercise discretion

over persons with lesser power, i.e., committee members

who have discretion over non-incumbent ex officio mem-

bers. Further, it is reasonable to infer that unrestricted

members’ views receive greater credence and respect

from committee colleagues than do those of one subject to

committee discretion, in addition to that enhanced status

Resp. App. 67

and credibility that normally accompanies public office,

whether as a party’s nominee or as the eventual

officeholder.

Further, where it has been specifically pled that

Knowles used his greater power to exercise influence

over the decisions, working and administration of the —

committee by appointing Laveta Stelzmiller to the com-

mittee in 1993, where she later voted to oust Plaintiffs

from the committee; directing his former legislative aid

Robert Becker “and other members of his legislative staff,

on the ‘official’ time and expense of the California State

Assembly, to vote against adoption of the Central Com-

mittee’s 1994 platform” drafted by Wadsworth, and that

Becker twice voted to remove Plaintiffs from the commit-

tee; illegally placing his own campaign signs and litera-

ture in the offices of the committee without fear of having

it take any action against him for doing so, CR 28 at 3;

and vowing with his co-Defendant Bernard Carlson

“We've got to get rid of those faggots,’ and actively

worked to do so,” CR 28 at 5:15, it is clear that an abuse

of state-sanctioned political power has been pled, the

only relevant issue at this level of inquiry.

The district court was obliged to draw all reasonable

inferences from these factsEverest & Jennings, supra, and

to construe them in the light most favorable to the

pleader, Moore, supra, even if susceptible to more than one

inference. Columbia, supra. Instead, the court drew lim-

ited, unfavorable or no inferences from them in holding

that “taken as a whole, the factual allegations of the

complaint more readily typify conduct of one who hap-

pens to be a public official acting in the role of a private

individual pursuing a personal political agenda.” CR 40

Resp. App. 68

at 7-B. The district court thus erred in finding Plaintiffs

did “not allege facts demonstrating that Knowles’ actions

were related to the duties and powers incidental to his

public position.” Rather, they flowed directly from it. The

facts pled and the inferences drawn from them demon-

strate that “by virtue of his position in the Assembly.”

Knowles abused the political power conferred upon him

by operation of California statutes to Plaintiffs’ detri-

ment.

The cases relied upon by the district court support

Plaintiffs’ position. What occurred was precisely the

underhanded abuse of power that was recognized in

Dang, supra. There, a rapacious Laotian state social

worker regularly seduced refugee girls, in situations vari-

ously contended as on and off the job. The Ninth Circuit

first cited West v. Atkins (1988) 487 US 49-50, 108 SC

2255-2256 for the rule that “a defendant in a §1983 suit

acts under color of state law when he abuses the position

given to him by the state.” Dang, supra, at 479. Here,

Knowles was an unfettered ex officio member of the com-

mittee by operation of Art. III, §2A of its bylaws, which

incorporate the provisions of former CEC §§9324-9325

(recodified as §§7405-7405), a state-sanctioned grant of

authority properly subject to judicial notice. Appendix,

Ex. C.

It was properly alleged that Knowles abused his

position in a manner constituting state action by not only

advocating and assisting in the ouster of Johnson and

Wadsworth, but by depriving the remaining potential

class member Plaintiffs of their fundamental Constitu-

tional right to vote and have that vote stand until Consti-

tutionally canceled or confirmed in another election. As

Resp. App. 69

with refugee girls in awe of government officials, id., at

480, it is conceivable a jury could conclude from evidence

supporting the pleadings in this case that Knowles “used

his government position to exert influence and-

- control” over his co-Defendants’ to Plaintiffs’ detri-

ment. Clearly, if such evidence resulted in a verdict

against Knowles, it would stand appellate scrutiny under

Dang. “Misuse of power, possessed by virtue of state law

and possible only because the wrongdoer is clothed with

the authority of state law, is action taken under color of

law.” U.S. v. Classic (1941) 313 US 299, 326, 61 SC 1031,

1043, cited with approval in Lugar, supra, at 929, 102 SC

2750 and in Dang, supra, at 479. Knowles’ greater poten-

tial for influence and eventual misuse of it were possible

only because his nomination to his office gave him power

unaffected by discretion, as authorized by the commit-

tee’s bylaws and by California’s elections statutes.

The district court cited its earlier decision in Anthony

v. County of Sacramento (ED, CA: 1994) 845 FS 1396 in

dismissing Plaintiffs’ complaint. However, the question of

Whether or not “Knowles’ actions were related to the

duties and powers incidental to his public position,”

must be answered in the affirmative. The facts pled reveal

a clear connection between Knowles’ ex officio status on

the Committee, his appointive power and resultant

enhanced credibility and prestige, and the subsequent

ouster of Johnson and Wadsworth and violation of his

Own constituents’ Constitutional voting rights. Just as a

Sheriff’s duties include protecting his inmates’ rights, an

Assemblyman’s include safeguarding his constituents’

Resp. App. 70

rights. Just as “[t]he Government is prohibited from retal-

iating for the lawful exercise of constitutional rights,” id.,

at 1400, its elected officials must be likewise bound.!

The district court cited Laxalt v. McClatchy (NV: 1985)

622 FS 737 to support its holding that while “the prestige

of Knowles’ office may have added to his influence on the

Committee [that] is not enough to convert private action

into action taken under color of law.” CR 40 at 8:2-6. The

conduct complained of in Laxalt was use of Senate sta-

tionery to demand a retraction, as required by Nevada

libel law. “In so doing, he acted as would have any

private citizen considering the possibility of filing suit for

libel.” Id., at 747. Indeed, a public official with “greater

access to the channels of effective communication,” id., at

748, quoting Gertz v. Robert Welch, Inc. (1974) 418 US 323,

344, 94 SC 2997, 3009, “must exercise that opportunity.”

Id., at 747. Here, though, there was no such obligation

incumbent upon Knowles. His obligations as an elected

Assemblyman were to respect, defend and uphold the

laws of the republican form of government that gave him

his seat, including the will of the electorate that put both

him and Johnson and Wadsworth into office. Laxalt has

neither precedential nor factual value in resolving the

state action question presented by this appeal. As to

Defendant David Knowles, that question must be

answered positively.

1 When and wherever they might so act, contrary to any

argument that Knowles’ actions were a “lark and frolic” so as to

take him outside ambit of state action, as in workers

compensation cases.

EC Se ge eee) OS eee ee, ee een

Resp. App. 71

B. The Committee and Its Members Acted Under

Color of Law

1. Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the Public

Function Test

The district court’s November 20, 1995, Order cor-

rectly recognized the gravamen of Plaintiffs’ complaint as

their claim that “defendants engaged in state action

because Johnson and Wadsworth were elected to office

via the primary election ballot and Defendants’ action

ousting them from their offices nullified the election

result.” However, the court held “this simply stretches

the public function test too far.” CR 40 at 9:21-22.

The public function test is one of four methods the

Supreme Court has set forth to determine if state action

exists in sufficient degree to support a §1983 claim. How-

erton, supra, at 383. The public function test supports a

finding of state action where a private party exercises

powers traditionally reserved to or delegated by the state,

including conducting “state-regulated elections or elec-

tions conducted by organizations which in practice pro-

duce ‘the uncontested choice of public officials.’ ” Flagg

Brothers, Inc. v. Brooks (1978) 436 US 149, 158, 98 SC 1729,

1734, quoting Terry v. Adams (1953) 345 US 461, 484, 73 SC

809, 820.

That lesser contests could involve state action was

hinted at in Flagg, when the Court specifically noted “that

the conduct of the elections themselves is an exclusively

public function” and further distinguished the “ordinary

commercial transaction presented” in that case as not

meriting the “special provision to protect equal access to

Resp. App. 72

the ballot” codified in 42 USC §1971a1. Id., at 158 and fn.

7. While Plaintiffs make no claim under §1971, and are

mindful of the difference between elections to public

office and private posts, the Court’s reference to that

statute and the cases interpreting it is significant: the

political arena is especially deserving of Constitutional

safeguards as one of the “very few . . . ‘exclusively

reserved to the State.’ ” Flagg, supra, at 58.

In Morse v. Republican Party of Virginia (1996) 116 SC

1186, the Supreme Court expanded both this theme and

when party action could constitute state action in the

context of a Voting Rights Act challenge to a purported

poll tax imposed by Virginia Republicans upon their

members. The issue for the Court was the same jurisdic-

tional one in this appeal: what activity by a private politi-

cal party amounts to state action? Moving beyond the

bounds set by Flagg, the Court held that “the Party exer-

cised delegated state power when it certified its nominee

for automatic placement on Virginia’s general election

ballot.” Morse, supra, at 1193-4.

Central to its decision was the Court’s reliance upon

the Texas “white primary cases,” which underlay the 1965

Act. Id., at 1201-6, Terry, supra, and Smith v. Allwright

(1944) 321 US 649, 64 SC 757. The Court rejected argu-

ments that those cases were to be limited to race discrimi-

nation election disputes, id., at 1204 and see Republican

Party of Arkansas v. Faulkner County, Arkansas (1995) 49

F3d 1289, 1293: “The White Primary cases teach that

realities, not labels, must guide our review of election

laws,” [collecting cases]; that either Flagg or Jackson v.

Metropolitan Edison, infra, precluded finding state action

by a political party “unless its nominees are virtually

Resp. App. 73

certain to win the general election,” id., at 1207: and

disposed of any claim that finding jurisdiction will

“abridge associational rights protected by the First

Amendment.” Id. at 1209-10.

Plaintiffs do not contend that all actions of a political

party, or of any of its subdivisions such as the Committee

or its members, constitute state action; they do contend

that some such actions, like Defendants’ here, may

impinge the fundamental right to vote by negating it

under an act of state delegated authority. This contention

is based upon a careful review of Ey v. SF County Demo-

cratic Cen. Com. (1989) 489 US 214, 109 SC 1013. In affirm-

ing this Court’s holding in SF County Democratic Cen.

Com. v. Eu (CA9: 1987) 826 F2d 814, that certain California

regulations governing political parties violated the free

speech and associational rights guaranteed their mem-

bers by the I and XIV Amendments, the Supreme Court

recognized that while California “heavily regulates its

political parties,” Eu, supra, at 216, 109 SC 1016, this itself

is not enough; heavy regulation of Private entities alone

will not make them state actors or their conduct state

action. Jackson v. Metropolitan Edison (1974) 419 US 345,

350-353, 95 SC 449, 453-454 (no state action found in

§1983 claim against utility where obligation to furnish

regulated service Operates against utility, not state: 3

Defendants’ obligation to abide by the voters’ will and

governing law.) However, neither the Supreme Court nor

the Ninth Circuit ultimately found that the actions of

central committees could never be State action.2

* This assertion stems from this Court’s first opinion, SF

County Democratic Cen. Com. v. Eu (CA9: 1986) 792 F2d 802,

Resp. App. 74

While “how a party organizes itself, how it conducts

its affairs and how it selects its leaders are decisions that

must be left to the discretion of the party unless the state

has a compelling interest that would justify state interfer-

ence,” CR 40 at 10:9-14 (quoting Eu, supra, at 230, 109 SC

1024), what occurred here went beyond mere internal

management: the results of two primaries, even if “only”

for party office, were nullified. “A State indisputably has

a compelling interest in preserving the integrity of its

election process,” id., at 231, 109 SC 1024, citing Rosario v.

Rockefeller (1973) 410 US 752, 761, 93 SC 1245, 1251-2, and

“a State may enact laws that interfere with a party’s

internal affairs when necessary to ensure that elections

are fair and honest. Id., citing Storer v. Brown (1974) 415

US 724, 730, 94 SC 1274, 1279.5 Unlike Eu, the instant

vacated by the US Supreme Court and remanded “for further

consideration in light of Tashjian v. Republican Party of

Connecticut,” in Eu v. SF County Democratic Cen. Com. (1987) __

US __, 107 SC 864. Subsequently, in Eu II, this Court concluded

“that Tashjian supports our previous decision and [we]

accordingly reinstate our judgment affirming the district court

for the reasons set forth in this modified opinion.” SF County

Democratic Cen. Com. v. Eu (CA9: 1987) 826 F2d 814, 818

[emphasis added.] However, the closest characterization this

Court could reach was that “The status of these committees

under the [former] Elections Code is less clear than the State

would have us believe.” Id. What this convoluted procedural

history makes clear is that there is no controlling authority

foreclosing a finding that state action exists in the facts of this

appeal.

3 California’s post-Eu Elections Code shows a high degree

of state regulation of central committees consistent with finding

state action. CEC §§7400-7470 constitute a comprehensive

regulatory plan embracing which state officers hold or may

appoint to committee membership (§§7404-7406); the

Resp. App. 75

appeal is “a case where intervention is necessary to pre-

vent the derogation of the civil rights of party adherents,”

suffered by Johnson, Wadsworth and their fellow Repub-

licans who twice elected them to leadership posts. Id., at

232, 109 SC 1025, as quoted with approval in Morse, supra,

at 1210.

Defendants engaged in state action when they twice

ousted Johnson and Wadsworth from the committee

under the authority of the Elections Code. (Cf, CEC

§7413, delegating to committees the power to remove

members popularly elected to them with CEC

§§11000-11386, relating to recall.) It will not do to distin-

guish discrimination against gay candidates or their sup-

porters from discrimination against their Black

counterparts, cf., Morse, supra, at 1204; the right protected

~ the right to vote and to have one’s vote counted (U.S. v.

Mosley (1915) 238 US 383, 386, 35 SC 904, 905) - is funda-

mental and its guarantees apply across all class lines.

“Generally speaking, the Supreme Court has required

that parties be inclusive, allowing all interested persons

to participate in party activities.” Republican Party of

Arkansas, supra, at 1294. What no court has required, and

what Plaintiffs do not seek, is judicially mandating that

one particular viewpoint replace the democratic debate

requirement of an oath under Article XX, Sec. 2 of the state

constitution (§7408); how vacancies are to be filled (§§7409 &

7410); how removals are to be effected (§7413); monthly use of

State buildings for committee meetings without charge (§7430)

and how committees may make rules and regulations (§7442).

These statutes show considerable interplay between the state

and central committees, all for the benefit and protection of the

voters and our republican form of government.

Resp. App. 76

among the voters’ elected representatives to a party, the

give and take of our republican form of government. By

allowing Plaintiffs to be excluded from this process how-

ever, it is threatened at its most elementary level and

cannot long stand.

Other decisions recognize central committees may

engage in state action in some circumstances. Banchy v.

Republican Party of Hamilton County (CA6:1990) 898 F2d

1192 involved §305.02 of the Ohio Revised Code, which

made its county central committees “responsible for fill-

ing vacancies that occur in certain county offices formerly

held by party members.” Id., at 1194. The Sixth Circuit

held that while not

“all actions of a central committee constitute

state action[, w]hen performing the narrow

duties assigned to it under section 305.02, the

Central Committee of the Republican Party may

well be engaging in state action. State ex rel

Hayes v. Jennings, 173 Ohio St. 370, 374, 182

N.E.2d 546 (1962) (“[t]he power conferred by

Section 305.02, Revised Code, upon central com-

mitteemen makes them public officers.”)”

“Intra-party elections of officers is not ‘state

action.’ Banchy, supra, at 1194-96. (See also, Fed-

erspiel v. Ohio Republican Party (SD, OH: 1994)

867 FS 617, 623: “some of the duties of the

Central Committee, including replacing incum-

bents, may be interpreted as “state action”, that

in turn does not make all of its acts state

action.”) [emphasis added.]

The public office/ private post distinction should not

control here; the disenfranchisement of a large number of

voters by a small number of party officials who undid

oe REN ae a

Resp. App. 77

their votes should. While in Banchy popularly elected

committee members retained their elective office within

the party and lost, if anything, only their immediate

opportunity to elect their own intra-party officers, Plain-

tiffs lost must more: Johnson and Wadsworth, their posi-

tions as committeemen elected in the 1992 and 1994

primaries; the other named and potential class Plaintiffs,

their votes and elected representatives on the committee,

through whom they sought to influence its actions during

Johnson’s and Wadsworth’s terms. A finding of state

action is justified not because there exists in §305.02 a

statutory mandate similar to that found in CEC §7410

(allowing for filling of committee vacancies by committee

vote), but because the effect of Defendants’ action tran-

scends mere management of intra-party matters by undo-

ing the result of an election. The same distinctions exist

between Federspiel, supra (committee officers and execu-

tive committee members) and this appeal: elementary

elective office, the basis of a republican form of govern-

ment, was violated by Defendants’ acts, not just higher

intra-party office.

Blank v. Heineman (NE: 1991) 771 FS 1013 held in the

context of analyzing whether a I Amendment 42 USC

§1985(3) civil rights conspiracy claim had been pled, that

“ “The normal role of party leaders in conduct-

ing internal affairs of their party, other than pri-

mary or general elections, does not make their

party offices governmental offices or the filling

of those offices state action.’ ” Id., at 1018, quot-

ing Lynch v. Torquato (CA3: 1965) 343 F2d 370,

372: disputed election of chairman of committee.

[emphasis added.]

_ Resp. App. 78

In Blank, a committee chairmanship was lost but com-

mittee membership remained intact; no state action was

found. Id., at 1014. Here, Defendants disallowed even that

vestige of the electorate’s trust in Plaintiffs and directly

contravened the expressed will of the electorate, who

were stripped of the candidates they had chosen and

saddled with a candidate they had rejected. If such an

abuse of the fundamental right to vote does not shock the

conscience, it certainly goes beyond a simple intra-party

dispute and violates the essential integrity of the electoral

process, the basis for any democracy. Burson v. Freeman

(1992) _ US __, 112 SC 1846, 1859; Reynolds v. Sims

(1964) 377 US 533, 561-562, 84 SC 1362, 1377 and Yick Wo

v. Hopkins (1886) 118 US 356, 371, 6 SC 1064, 1071. In

doing so, it was tantamount to an act of the state.

Moreover, it is the voters’ normal role to determine

membership on central committees, not that of other

committee members, except in limited circumstances,

such as Knowles’ statutory right to do so or in ways

beyond the scope of this appeal and its focus on the

pleadings. By ousting Johnson and Wadsworth from the

committee, Defendants altered the results of primaries

and engaged in state action just as if they had mounted a

recall election. Thus, it is no impediment to Plaintiffs’

claim that they do not challenge the “manner in which

the[ir] election was conducted.” That they were twice

ousted from the committee by Defendants after twice

being elected to it is enough: whether acting before, dur-

ing or after the election, Defendants compromised its

results just as surely as if the state had not allowed it to

go forward in the first place. Indeed, with two elections

and two ejections a matter of public record, the situation

Resp. App. 79

is demonstrably one “capable of repetition, yet avoiding

review” for jurisdictional purposes.

Gamza v. Aquirre (CA5: 1980) 619 F2d 449 set forth a

guide for determining whether a particular challenge to a

state election practice rises to a level deserving of federal

protection:

4

- whether it was inflicted intentionally or

accidentally whether it is part of a pattern that

erodes the democratic process or whether it was

more akin to a negligent failure properly to

carry out the state ordained electoral process

and whether state officials have succumbed to

‘temptations to control . . . elections by violence

and corruption.’” Id., at 453, quoting Ex parte

Yarbrough (1884) 110 US 651, 666.

There can be no doubt that Plaintiffs’ allegations

meet this test. Intentional conduct has been pled, a tradi-

tional basis for expanding liability, Prosser & Keeton on

Torts, 5d, §8 at 9.37, and the factual allegations show that

it was no accident that Johnson and Wadsworth were

ousted from the committee and replaced by a candidate

they had trounced only months before - the same Laveta

Stelzmiller who David Knowles had appointed to the

Committee in 1993. CR 28 at G13 and 16. Defendants’

longstanding animus against Johnson and Wadsworth,

extending back to 1992, and their secrecy in preparing

and presenting the new bylaws adopted in January, 1995,

show a pattern of activity directed against Johnson, Wad-

sworth and those who twice voted them into office. In

light of these allegations, it is hardly hyperbole to con-

clude Defendants readily succumbed to the temptation to

Resp. App. 80

control the elections in E] Dorado County through a gross

form of political corruption.

Griffin v. Burns (CA1: 1978) 570 F2d 1065 also found

federal intervention warranted in an election class

action/§1983 case stemming from a public office primary.

After reciting, at 1074-5, the caselaw protecting the fun-

damental right to vote, and repeating the admonition that

federal courts should not endorse §1983 suits in “garden

variety election irregularities,” id., at 1076, the court rec-

ognized that

“the right to vote remains, at bottom, a federally

protected right. If the election process itself

reaches the point of patent and fundamental

unfairness, a violation of the due process clause may

be indicated and relief under §1983 therefore in

order. . . . there is precedent for federal relief

where broad-gauged unfairness permeates an

election, even if derived from apparently neutral

action.

In cases falling within such confines, we think a

federal judge need not be timid, but may and

should do what common sense and justice

require.” Id., at 1077-8, finding both class action

status and relief under §1983 appropriate.

[emphasis added.]

Can it be seriously questioned that Defendants’ oust-

ing Johnson and Wadsworth from the Central Committee

breached the federally protected right of their co-Plain-

tiffs/electors to have their votes count? Can Defendants

seriously contend that a point of judicial intervention is

never reached because of a barrier built by an allegedly

private entity and its actors, regardless of whether 1, 2, 4,

or 400 candidates or elections are nullified? The action

Resp. App. 81

taken was fundamentally unfair since it violated a funda-

mental right. This Court should have no hesitation in

finding state action and in allowing Plaintiffs to prove

their claims at trial.

2. Defendants’ Actions Satisfy the Joint

Action Test

State action may also be shown by joint action

between the state and a private party, where the private

party is a “willful participant in joint activity with the

State or its agents.” Howerton, supra, at 383 and Flagg,

supra, at 164-5, 98 SC 1737. “One way to establish joint

action is to demonstrate a conspiracy between private

parties and the government.” CR 40 at 10:19-21.

Contrary to the district court’s interpretation, how-

ever, a conspiracy can - and most do - run two ways.

Private parties may be held liable under §1983 if conspir-

ing with persons performing state action, Adickes v. Kress

(1970) 398 US 144, 150-152, 90 SC 1598, 1605, even if

conspiring with state actors who have immunity for their

acts. Cook v. Houston Post (CAS: 1980) 616 F2d 791, 794.

The pleadings and inferences reasonably flowing there-

from demonstrate how all Defendants conspired to oust

Johnson and Wadsworth from the committee and to vio-

late the voters’ rights. CR 28, 443, 5, 7, 12-16 and 19.

Whether Knowles or the committee members were the

State actors and the other merely willing participants is

irrelevant since it is only necessary for one group of

Defendants to engage in state action to bind the other in

conspiracy terms. The allegations of the amended com-

plaint and the arguments advanced herein demonstrate

Resp. App. 82

that all Defendants en

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Johnson v. Knowles · 522 U.S. 996 | Frix