Opposition Brief — United States ex rel. Berge v. Board of Trustees of the University of Alabama

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

ee a

Sfp 12 w97

CLERK

IN THE ,

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

UNITED STATES EX REL. PAMELA A. BERGE,

Petitioner,

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Intervenor-Respondent,

and

UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM, ET &

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

DAVID G. LEITCH *

WILLIAM A. BRADFORD, JR.

BARBARA F’. MISHKIN

HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5822

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Respondents

WILSON - EPEsS PRINTING Go., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether this Court should review the determina-

tion of the Fourth Circuit that materiality of an allegedly

false statement in this civil action was a question for the

court rather than the jury where that determination does

not conflict with the decision of any other court of

appeals and the court below found that, in any event, no

reasonable jury could find the statements at issue to be

material or false.

2. Whether this Court should review the determina-

tion of the Fourth Circuit—applying settled standards of

review—that there was insufficient evidence for a reason-

able jury to find that the statements at issue were either

false or material.

3. Whether this Court should review the determina-

tion of the Fourth Circuit that petitioner’s claim for

conversion under Alabama law was preempted by the

Copyright Act where the court below held on the par-

ticular facts of this case that her conversion claims were

“tantamount to a claim of copyright infringement.”

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...........-.---.----.--seeeessseeeeeeessees i

Ie Ce Be IID cciicsncsccnnencesesesnennestatsccmsawsaons iv

I aaa ncasseasidendeibereminiahebaniaciagnnnicaninisnabanaiinbuti 1

COUNTERSTATEMENT ............-. Re ee re tt nD 3

I i sccnctenniennnseneinninsemnmnnsccenanseesesnethetepamnenstts 3

We, Timnas TRG nnn nanan nner ees 4

| a oe 5

D. Berge’s False Claims Act Suit -...................----... 7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ......................... 10

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ REJECTION OF

PETITIONER’S CLAIMS DID NOT REST ON

ITS DETERMINATION THAT MATERIAL-

ITY IS AN ISSUE FOR THE COURT, AND

THAT DETERMINATION IS IN ANY EVENT

NOT WORTHY OF REVIEW .......................-------- 10

Il. THERE ARE NO COMPELLING REASONS

TO REVIEW THE COURT OF APPEALS’

ASSESSMENT OF THE SUFFICIENCY OF

THE EVIDENCE IN THIS CASE ...................... 16

III. THE COURT OF APPEALS APPLIED SET-

TLED LAW TO THE FACTS OF THIS CASE

IN DETERMINING THAT PETITIONER'S

STATE-LAW CONVERSION COUNT WAS

8h g 5 | | on nnnenen ne nna 26

ET I nnn sans snare cnnccenesccienscenssconeenccanencwcoenees 30

(iii)

pene ei

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES se

CASES: Page

Amarel v. Connell, 102 F.3d 1494 (9th Cir. 1997).. 20

American & Foreign Ins. Co. v. Bolt, 106 F.3d 155

CR ID dectcenscencsitsinitectettncsieteicelecntihilnniatntiin 20

Anderson V. Nidorf, 26 F.3d 100 (9th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1085 (1995) ...............0.20002... 28, 29

Aparicio v. Norfolk & W. Ry., 84 F.3d 803 (6th

CI BI sscscnisissineccipscrnsccelvidicinniisnaleinasasitahsaamiatasbanitialidamiaited 22, 23

Bateman v. Mnemonics, Inc., 79 F.3d 1532 (11th

ON oan 28

Benedi v. McNeil-P.P.C., Inc., 66 F.3d 1378 (4th i

Cir. 1995) ......... EAL IRS RR ALL TET DS RON TRS ORERI 18

Bierle v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 992 F. 2d 873 (8th

BRR RRA Der Penne ee We” Ae eR ONCE 21

Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., 104 F.3d 822 (6th

Cir. 1997), pet. for cert. filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3109

(U.S. July 24, 1997) (No. 97-159) _....... MFA 21

Bogosian V. Mercedes-Benz of N. Am., Inc., 104 ‘

ee Ge I veitnsinnininissatsseneianneniiane 19-20

Butler v. Dowd, 979 F.2d 661 (8th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 508 U.S. 980 (1998) ~.................2................ 23

Caudill v. Farmland Indus., Inc., 919 F.2d 83 (8th

a eens are ree nT RT 23, 25, 26

Central Office Tel., Inc. v. AT&T, 108 F.3d 981

Be HE: SEINE D siciisncarnidnhcacindenatheceemncebnnianennae 25

Colvin Vv. Housing Auth. of City of Sarasota, Flor-

ida, 71 F.3d 864 (11th Cir. 1996) ...........0...0.... 20

Cook v. American S.S. Co., 53 F.3d-733 (6th Cir.

IE sevcsccbecatAeaisateooditbak wcabachale deeeseaunieraaaniadaeiaiicednndags: 20-21

Curtis v. Electronics & Space Corp., 113 F.3d 1498

Re Sy SERGI oA cna ee eae 20

Daboub v. Gibbons, 42 F.3d 285 (5th Cir. 1995) ...... 28, 29

Dace Vv. ACF Indus, Inc., 722 F.2d 374 (8th Cir.

1983), as supplemented on rehearing, 728 F.2d

ee SA HS SIE Sisrerersceton consent: 23, 25

Data Gen. Corp. v. Grumman Sys. Support Corp.,

86 F.3d 1147 (ist Cir. 1994) ................................... 28

Delta Airlines, Inc. Vv. August, 450 U.S. 346

SUNISUE TT ahdciashdeeskiseiadacncascdedncaaseledaetselaaasrGacendaeaaab eaten said 18

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Doan v. Seagate Technology, Inc., 82 F.8d 974

(10th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 684

bOI OPH Nanni BRAT AR NITE a

Dragon V. Rhode Island Dep’t of Mental Health,

Retardation & Hosps., 936 F.2d 321 (1st Cir.

1991) .. sce hainwitie aaa cietaiaceiasiamhanatanieaatiakin LL aaaiaa tai

Duke v. Uniroyal, Inc., 928 F.2d 1413 (4th Cir.),

cert. denied, 502 U.S. 963 (1991) ..........................

Ealy v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 897 F.2d 1159

(D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 950 (1990)...

Eastman Kodak Co. v. Goodyear Tire & Rubber

Co., 114 F.3d 1547 (Fed. Cir. 1997) ...................

Emmel v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co. of Chicago, 95

fy - ££. yt 3 | Peete

FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of Dallas, 493 U.S. 215

ORD scikcicinccuscuttihtninsdiachiademencraenamuilit ieetiaa odtaieomatiaass

G.S. Rasmussen & Assocs. V. Kalitta Flying Serv.,

Inc., 958 F.2d 896 (9th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,

BE FRR MOT ase PEL Et

Harolds Stores, Inc. v. Dillard Dept. Stores, Inc.,

82 F.3d 1533 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct.

BE SC eile etaicci sn xenical ener,

Harper & Row Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters.,

723 F.2d 195 (2d Cir. 1983), rev’d on other

grounds, 471 U.S. 539 (1985) ...................—...........

Harris v. Chapman, 97 F.3d 499 (11th Cir. 1996),

cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 2422 (1997) ....................

Hervey Vv. Estes, 65 F.3d 784 (9th Cir. 1995) _.....

Hill v. Spiegel, Inc., 708 F.2d 233 (6th Cir. 1983) ..

K & T Enters., Inc. v. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d 171

OE Se SI acndaivcscatendieesientah lanterns,

Katz v. City Metal Co., 87 F.3d 26 (1st Cir. 1996) ..

Kientzy v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 990 F.2d

ky Rare we en) eee ene

Kregos Vv. Associated Press, 3 F.3d 656 (2d Cir.

1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1112 (1994) ...._.......

Kungys V. United States, 485 U.S. 759 (1988) ....10,

Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419 (1995) ....................

Lester v. RTC, 994 F.2d 1247 (7th Cir. 1993)

Page

20

24

17

19

20

20

18

28, 29

27-28

28

12, 14

16

ai

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702 (5th

Cir. 1997), pet. for cert. filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3108

(U.S. July 21, 1997) (No. 97-126) ...........00000000..... 25

McAnally v. Gildersleeve, 16 F.3d 1493 (8th Cir.

2 | EME Se eS Ue CLE TSI Ee aa 23

McDaniels v. Flick, 59 F.8d 446 (3d Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1017 (1996) —......00000000... 24

Melton Vv. Teachers Ins. & Annuity Ass’n, 114 F.3d

re CRE Gals SE sericcniscnscobditcanadniaaeniidaneionak, 20

National Basketball Ass’n v. Motorola, Inc., 105

Fe OG, Te I BOD wiiacsntecotctnericenntecantn obdetons 27

National Car Rental Sys., Inc. v. Computer Assocs.

Int'l, Inc., 991 F.2d 426 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,

kth S| ern oe 28

O’Brien v. City of Grand Rapids, 23 F.3d 990 (6th

CFEIR, TERIO GD .sccscesesesniaioctenntasaiadbisuanmaumenaiane acneaiannes 21

Oddo v. Ries, 748 F.2d 630 (9th Cir. 1984) ............. 29

Penney V. Praxair, Inc., 116 F.3d 330 (8th Cir.

EE suvisesenechuansiacincaal sausage dana as 20

Redman v. John D. Brush & Co., 111 F.3d 1174

CE Se) Penman NO nn Pokey Peewee ay UN 20

Rosciszewski v. Arete Assocs., Inc., 1 F.8d 225

<. 2+ Se | Ren I ORe 27, 28

Schwimmer v. Sony Corp., 459 U.S. 1007 (1982).... 24

Sherbert v. Alcan Alum. Corp., 66 F.3d 965 (8th

CARB, II sccckiece sar<issitustiguisensmielaieerunia tania eae naan anaes 21

Simms V. Village of Albion, 115 F.3d 1098 (2d Cir.

REE PF invicnsssinaciioresinsiinsigietnninisaiiamasmaiane eat net 20 S

Sinclair v. United States, 279 U.S. 263 (1929)...... = 12

Smelser v. Norfolk S. Ry., 105 F.3d 299 (6th Cir.

1997), pet. for cert. filed, 65 U.S.L.W. 3827

(U.S. June 4, 1997) (No. 96-1949) ........... Thuabteen 22, 23

Smith v. World Ins. Co., 38 F.3d 1456 (8th Cir.

BID isicssins sete iesissincesannicshapuiaeesaenadasinedaiaciee aaa 21

Sommerville v. United States, 376 U.S. 909 (1964)... 12

Sumner Vv. Mata, 449 U.S. 589 (1981) .......000000 cu... 16

Taquino Vv. Teledyne Monarch Rubber, 893 F.2d

REGS Cee TA. BRO ccenctncvindticomiadesous 29

TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S.

GS COD wisiencicicirnnsxinncenccnitentganiiieaueenes 15

Die erinebibtinnneaaieaaeeeierae nei

laa

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Tyger Constr. Co. v. United States, 28 Fed. Cl.

| SNR SERCO CAM To eee 10

United States ex rel. Butler v. Hughes Helicopter

Co., No. CV-89-5760-SVW, 1993 WL 841192

(C.D. Cal. Aug. 25, 1993), aff'd on other

grounds, 71 F.3d 821 (9th Cir. 1995)... 14

United States Railroad Retirement Bd. v. Fritz,

WGP Wis We CRD oovvnscancncctcgeecsete cerns veeeeccocescoc ecu... 24

United States v. Abadi, 706 F.2d 178 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 821 (1983) 14

United States v. Data Translation, Inc., 984 F.2d

8 A, eee 10

United States v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506 (1995) ....10, 11, 12,

18, 15

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925)...... 16

United States v. Norris, 749 F.2d 1116 (4th Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1065 (1985)... 15

United States v. Stelmokas, 100 F.3d 302 (3d Cir.

1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1847 (1997)... 18-14

Villaneuva v. Brown, 103 F.3d 1128 (3d Cir.

reds op tactlgh etc aacatide tae ee 20

Walter v. Holiday Inns, Inc., 985 F.2d 1232 (3d

BI I i ctettoeaetites tobee cas AO FRU on, Rhone an 24, 25

Wisniewski v. United States, 353 U.S. 901 (1957). 24

STATUTES:

Be Nt Nii isecovcircnctteidvovemecseadcbevndesseed Ss 27, 28

Be Totes BOC CD onvncdccececveccccssccccocesecesgeounsee.cccc..: 9

RULES AND REGULATIONS:

ce EE TE er 16, 28

Sup. Ct. R. 14.5 ............ 3

RPMI, Sie Br IED Gi vvensnceccvccecacceserccscsonercevessececeos.c.cs.. 2

Ae 22

45 C.F.R. § 74.51(d) (1) (1995)... 7

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

III Paul Goldstein, Copyright (2d ed. 1996)............. 28

John M. Harlan, Manning the Dikes, 18 Record of

N.Y.C. Bar Ass’n 541 (1958) .......0...000.000000.00.. 23-24

—

viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued |

Page

1 Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer

YG. , ODN RE oe a I RTI 28, 30

Robert L. Stern, et al., Supreme Court Practice

4, fA | RR reeenennnten ence meee ee Enea 2, 12, 23

9A Charles A. Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal

Practice and Procedure (2d ed. 1995) ................. 25, 26

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

No. 97-336

UNITED STATES EX REL. PAMELA A. BERGE,

” Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Intervenor-Respondent,

and

UNIVERSITY OF ALABAMA AT BIRMINGHAM, ET AL.,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents the Board of Trustees of the University of

Alabama at Birmingham, Robert F. Pass, Sergio B.

Stagno, Charles A. Alford, and Karen B. Fowler respect-

fully request that the Court deny the petition for a writ

of certiorari seeking review of the decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in this case.

JURISDICTION

Petitioner correctly notes that she received an exten-

sion of time within which to file a petition for writ of

certiorari until July 23, 1997. Pet. 2. While petitioner

filed by that date a document so styled, that document

did not conform to the Rules of this Court. In particular,

2

this Court’s Rule 34.1(g) requires that “each document”

must indicate “the name of an attorney who is counsel of

record for the party concerned (who must be a member

of the Bar of this Court),” except in circumstances not

present here. Sup. Ct. R. 34.1(g) (emphasis added). The

petition filed on July 23, 1997—the jurisdictional dead-

line—identified as counsel of record an attorney who

was not a member of this Court’s Bar, and therefore did

not conform to the requirements of the Rules.

We are aware that commentators have described a

practice whereby such deficient pleadings are accepted

for filing pending bar admission. See Robert L. Stern, et

al., Supreme Court Practice 313, 734 (7th ed. 1993).’

These commentators also report that “the date of original

submission * * * will be considered as the date of

docketing for purposes of satisfying filing deadlines.”

Id. at 734 n.6.2 We are unaware, however, of any

authority in this Court’s rules for permitting the filing of

a petition deficient in this regard to satisfy jurisdictional

filing deadlines. Instead, as noted above, this Court’s

Rules expressly provide that a pleading must be filed by

counsel of record who is a Member of the Bar. The

petition filed in this case simply did not conform to the

requirements of this Court’s Rules.

Nor can it be said that counsel of record’s failure to

become a member of the Bar of this Court in a timely

1A variation of that practice appears to have been followed in

this case. While the petition was filed on July 23, 1997, the case

was not docketed upon filing, apparently because counsel of record

was not a Member of the Bar. The case was eventually docketed

on August 22, 1997—30 days after the petition was filed—although

counsel of record still had not been admitted to the Bar at that time.

2 These commentators note, however, that “there is no excuse

for an attorney waiting until the last minute to apply for member-

ship in the Supreme Court Bar.” Supreme Court Practice at 313.

See also id. at 734 (“this practice is discouraged and counsel are

well advised to apply for membership in the Bar before filing any

document”).

|

|

|

3

fashion is simply a matter of “form” that can be cor-

rected by the procedure indicated in Rule 14.5. While

respondents have no reason to question the qualifications

of petitioner's counsel of record, who has in fact now

been admitted to the Bar of this Court, we daresay that

membership in the Supreme Court Bar is an obligation

that cannot be ignored and a privilege that cannot be

assumed. In any event, so far as respondents are aware,

the procedure for correction of deficiencies in “form”

was not invoked in this case.

At the earliest, then, a petition conforming to the Rules

of this Court was not on file before counsel of record’s

admission to the Bar of this Court on August 29, 1997.

Because the petition filed on the jurisdictional deadline

did not comply with Rules of this Court going to more

than mere matters of “form,” the petition is jurisdic-

tionally out of time.

COUNTERSTATEMENT

A. Background. This False Claims Act lawsuit, with

a pendent state claim for conversion of “ideas and

information,” was brought by petitioner after two and a

half years of alleging plagiarism before governmental,

scientific and academic institutions brought no results

satisfactory to her. J.A. 1495; 338-342; 713; 428-429.

At various times the lawsuit contained claims for breach

of contract, theft of intellectual property, fraud, tortious

interference with contractual relations, oltrage and civil

RICO. J.A. 84-87; 118-122. The gravamen of the claims,

however, was always that Berge’s academic work had

been “scooped” by respondent Fowler, another graduate

student at respondent University of Alabama at Birming-

ham (“UAB”), who allegedly used Berge’s ideas and

information in a thesis and subsequent publication. J.A.

415.

The inventive transformation of the purported damage

to Berge’s academic career into a claim on behalf of the

4

United States resulted in a $1.75 million False Claims

Act award only because the district court erroneously

failed to find the alleged false statements immaterial and

let stand a verdict that could not have been returned by a

reasonable jury. Another error of law by the district

court permitted the jury to consider a state conversion

claim that the Fourth Circuit ultimately found “clearly

preempted by federal copyright law.” Pet. App. 18a.

B. Berge’s Research. Berge was a graduate student

in nutrition at Cornell when she visited UAB in 1987.

J.A, 235, 250. She was attracted by UAB’s preeminent

research in cytomegalovirus (“CMV”) in mothers and

newborns. J.A. 780-781. CMV is the most common

cause of infectious birth defects in the country. UAB

had collected a mass of data on maternal and congenital

CMV unequaled in the world. J.A. 782. Most of this

work has been funded by the National Institutes of

Health (“NIH”) over the last 20 years. J.A. 1510-11.

Berge had “minimal experience” in data analysis and

no training in data management. Tr. 681-685; Def. Ex.

39. Her experience in epidemiology had been primarily

clerical (data collection, computer entry) or as a labora-

tory technician (testing tissue samples). J.A. 236-237.

The research she proposed to conduct at UAB (on the

effect of CMV on birth weight) had been designed by

her mentor for a grant application. J.A. 1234. The list

of data she planned to abstract came from a publication

of the National Academy of Sciences. J.A. 1236-37.

At UAB, Berge’s research received generous support.

J.A. 719-720, 723-724. By petitioner’s own admission,

respondent Stagno and others at UAB made important

intellectual contributions to her work. J.A. 375-378,

383-384, 1401-02. Berge was given access to computer-

ized data bases containing records of about 20,000

mothers (with 40 variables) and 124 congenitally in-

fected infants. J.A. 719-722. In addition, she had access

to computerized developmental data on the infected in-

5

fants, id., and to the Obstetrical Automated Record Sys-

tem (“OBAR”). J.A. 578-579.

When Berge returned to Cornell after six months at

UAB, she received computer tapes containing 11 data

sets prepared by UAB staff, but her Ph.D. work went

poorly. She was chastised by hef department chair for

spending excessive time and resources, and warned about

her disruptive and abusive behavior. J.A. 1443-44. She

complained that the Cornell faculty were untrustworthy

(J.A. 379, 1448), and she fired her main thesis advisor.

J.A. 374. Although she published (with UAB co-authors)

an article on low birth weight derived from her thesis

(J.A. 1272), a second article (on risk factors) was re-

jected by journal editors five times. Tr. 470, 491-492,

524-527, 531-538. Three rejections, highly critical of

Berge’s research design and data analysis, predated the

August 1991 publication of an article by respondents

Fowler and Pass, based on Fowler’s thesis, in the Journal

of Infectious Diseases. J.A. 385, 1485-89, 1383.

By the summer of 1989, Berge was unemployed. She

had asked UAB for a job so she could finish her thesis

there, but she was not hired. Tr. 445; J.A. 705. She

became a “research assistant professor” in the Depart-

ment of Pediatrics at New York University but was termi-

nated from that position in 1992. J.A. 298, 344.

C. Fowler’s Research. Meanwhile, Karen Fowler, a

doctoral student in UAB’s Department of Epidemiology,

decided in June 1988 to research the effects of sexually

transmitted diseases (“STDs”) on maternal CMV infec-

tion and transmission. J.A. 626-629. It was a study that

respondent Pass—a principal investigator on the CMV

grant—had designed before Berge ever arrived at UAB.

J.A. 710-711, 1225, 1232-33. Contrary to petitioner’s

Statement (Pet. 4, 9), this choice was not dictated by

Pass, but rather was one of two topics proposed by him—

the other was occupational exposure of hospital workers

to CMV. J.A. 627-628. In any event, whereas Berge

6

was studying CMV as a possible cause of low birth

weight, Fowler was looking at CMV as a result of STDs.

Berge admitted that Drs. Pass, Alford, and Stagno (among

many others) had written about risk factors for trans-

mission of CMV before she did, and that she had not

referenced all of them in her written work. J.A. 407-410.

Contrary to Berge’s assertion (Pet. 5-6), the two stu-

dents studied different mother-infant pairs. Fowler drew

both her cases and uninfected control subjects from babies

who were born between 1980 and 1988. J.A. 632. She

selected matched controls (i.e., for each CMV baby, she

found one of the same sex and race who was born within

six days of the CMV baby but who did not have CMV).

J.A. 650-653. By contrast, Berge did not use matched

controls and, in fact, failed to confirm whether her con-

trols had CMV. J.A. 395, 431, 568, 789. Moreover, her

controls were drawn from births that occurred during a

five month period in 1984-85. Tr. 577-578. Finally, Berge

extracted most of her data from a computerized data base

derived in turn from patient records, whereas Fowler

drew hers directly from original medical and laboratory

records. J.A. 642, 653, 683, 693, 702. Neither Fowler nor

anyone else at UAB ever saw or used the 11 tapes of

computerized data extracted by Berge. J.A. 726.

Two tables summarizing medical history and obstetri-

cal data were organized similarly by Berge and Fowler

because they had a common source: UAB hospital and

clinic forms. J.A. 423-427, 562-565. Moreover, Berge

and Fowler examined many of the same variables be-

cause they were commonly used in perinatal studies, and

the “case control” method and statistical analyses used

by both are among the most commonly used research

designs in epidemiology. J.A. 611-615, 718.

Although Berge claims that Fowler’s research design

was based on hers (Pet. 5); the established chronology

demonstrates the impossibility of such reliance. Fowler

developed her research plan in 1988 and submitted it to

a

7

her Ph.D. committee in January 1989. J.A. 639, 1449-

84. She had completed her data collection and initial

analyses by summer 1989, when she briefly reviewed

Berge’s dissertation, among others. Berge’s dissertation

was of no interest to Fowler because it was on a different

topic, was by a nutritionist, used an unreliable database,

and was organized in a nontraditional format. Fowler

took no notes on, or copies of, Berge’s dissertation and

did not use it in her work. J.A. 670-671, 632-685.°

D. Berge’s False Claims Act Suit. Berge’s faltering

academic career and her quest for redress of perceived

injustices ultimately led her to seize upon the fact of

NIH funding of UAB’s research as the basis for redress.

Because the data Berge abstracted and the computer

services provided by UAB were funded by NIH, and

because NIH-supported scientists were co-authors on her

paper, UAB included descriptions of her proiect in annual

progress reports to NIH.* J.A. 514-516, 1509-13. Berge

ultimately settled on charging UAB with submitting four

“false claims” in those reports to NIH. None of the state-

ments on which Berge focused, however, were either false

or material to any NIH funding decision.

The first statement on which Berge relied was a state-

ment that a “vast amount” of data had been transferred to

“unified computerization.” As described above, however,

there was a firm foundation for this statement given the

status of UAB’s data collection and organization. In

any event, this statement was at most a matter of opinion

’ Contrary to petitioner’s assertion (Pet. 5, 7), nothing in an

internal UAB inquiry report addresses whether Fowler ever saw

Berge’s dissertation. J.A. 1244-46. Rather, that report states

that Fowler never saw the OBAR records used by Berge or the

computer tapes containing Berge’s derived data sets. J.A. 1245.

* According to testimony by an NIH official at trial, the purpose

of progress reports is to describe briefly how grant monies were

spent the previous year and not to report on the identity of particu-

lar graduate students who may have been involved in generating the

data. J.A. 596-599. See also 45 C.F.R. § 74.51(d)(1) (1995).

8

that was not in any meaningful sense “false.” It was

also immaterial to NIH’s funding decision, because—as

the NIH program officer testified—the basic purpose of

the grant was collecting data, not its computerization.

J.A. 594-595, 600-601, 1513.

Berge complained as her second alleged false claim

that she was not identified by name when the collabora-

tive work was first mentioned in a progress report to the

NIH. The failure to include Berge’s name did not make

the progress report false. As the Fourth Circuit noted,

“t]he report, in fact, did not attribute the abstract to any

of its authors; it simply ‘abstracted’ the study for the

purpose of reporting on project activity.” Pet. App. 14a.

In any event, the responsible NIH official testified that

the names of graduate students involved were of no interest

to NIH, which simply wanted to know how grant funds

were spent. J.A. 596-601. Thus, this purported false

claim was neither material nor false.

A third alleged false claim—which the Fourth Circuit

called “inexplicable” (Pet. App. 14a)—-was that when

Berge’s work was reported to NIH, and fully attributed

to her, the implications for UAB’s CMV studies were not

fully explained to NIH. But the reporting was through

Berge’s own abstract presented verbatim in her own

words (J.A. 285-287), and she did not mention any

“implications” of her work that she later claimed should

have been spelled out for NIH. Whether or not she later

came to believe that certain implications followed from

her work, “[a]n ex post facto realization of the possible

importance of this implication cannot support a charge

of falsity at the time the report was submitted.” Pet. App.

15a. UAB’s report of Berge’s work was truthful.

Berge’s fourth alleged false claim was that UAB mis-

led NIH by reporting an abstract of Fowler’s allegedly

“plagiarized” work. As detailed above, however, this claim

finds no support in the record. See Pet. App. 15a (“the

evidence is patently clear that there was no plagia.ism

by Fowler and thus no false statement by UAB”).

———————————————E

9

After Berge filed her complaint, an investigation by

the HHS Inspector General concluded there was no basis

for a criminal proceeding and that “many of the assump-

tions behind [Berge’s] allegations [are] in error or exag-

gerations of the truth.” J.A. 179. The civil remedies

division of the Inspector General’s office also declined

interest in civil litigation and recommended “that no

government case be pursued.” J.A. 186, 189. The United

States declined to intervene in the district court pro-

ceedings.© As the United States noted in its Court of

Appeals brief, “none of the scientific or administrative

bodies to which [Berge] complained found that Fowler had

plagiarized Berge’s work * * * and [NIH] concluded

that her alleged false claims would not have influenced its

funding decisions in this case.” The United States also

told the Fourth Circuit that the NIH “determined that

the information Berge alleged was false or misrepresented

was not material to its funding decisions.” Brief for the

United States 5, 34; see also J.A. 1509-13. Indeed, NIH

continued to fund the grant in question at the time of

trial (J.A. 445), almost five years after Berge first made

her plagiarism charge and more than two years after she

filed her complaint.

While the jury returned a verdict for Berge, the Fourth

Circuit on appeal reversed in all respects. In particular,

it found that there was insufficient evidence from which

5 While petitioner claims that this declination was based on a

“pro se complaint,” Pet. 8, it was in fact based on the government’s

own investigation after it received all of Berge’s “evidence.” J.A.

429-430, 179. Moreover, Berge’s complaint was amended after she

became represented by counsel. J.A. 10. Although the United States

could have intervened at the trial level after it received the Amended

Complaint (31 U:S.C. § 3730(c)(3)), it did not do so. In fact, the

disinterest of the United States in Berge’s claims, nominally brought

for its benefit, is remarkable. In its brief before the Fourth Cir-

cuit to defend the constitutionality of the False Claims Act, the

United States represented that “the Government takes no position

on the merits of the appeal.” Brief for the United States as

Intervenor/Amicus 1.

10

a reasonable jury could find that the statements on which

Berge based her False Claims Act suit were either false

or material, and that Berge’s pendent Alabama conver-

sion claim was preempted by the Copyright Act.°

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS’ REJECTION OF PETI-

TIONER’S CLAIMS DID NOT REST ON ITS

DETERMINATION THAT MATERIALITY IS AN

ISSUE FOR THE COURT, AND THAT DETERMI-

NATION IS IN ANY EVENT NOT WORTHY OF

REVIEW

Petitioner claims that this Court should review the

Fourt’ Circuit’s conclusion that materiality in this civil

action is an issue for the court rather than the jury. Pet.

21-24." It is plain on the face of the Fourth Circuit’s

Opinion, however, that the court’s resolution of that

question did not affect its decision in this case. This

® Because of its disposition of the case, the Fourth Circuit de-

clined to reach respondents’ arguments that the district court erred

in (1) failing to set aside a damages award that was flawed in a

number of respects; (2) refusing to admit the OIG report concern-

ing Berge’s claims; (3) instructing the jury that intangible rights

can be the subject of a conversion action under Alabama law and

that loss of employment and mental anguish are compensable

under Alabama conversion law; and (4) determining that there was

legally sufficient proof of conversion. Pet. App. 10a n.1. Brief of

Appellants 32-39; Reply Brief of Appellants 13-18. Even if the

Court were to grant the petition and reverse the Fourth Circuit’s

judgment, therefore, the case would have to be remanded for the

Fourth Circuit’s consideration of these issues under federal and

Alabama law.

7It is undisputed in this case that the False Claims Act imposes

liability only for false statements that are material to the deci-

sionmaker. See Pet. App. 10a; J.A. 754; United States v. Data

Translation, Inc., 984 F.2d 1256, 1267 (1st Cir. 1992); Tyger

Constr, Co. v. United States, 28 Fed. Cl. 35, 55 (1993). In general,

a false statement is considered to be material when it “has a natural

tendency to influence, or was capable of influencing, the decision of

the decisionmaking body to which it was addressed.” Kungys v.

United States, 485 U.S. 759, 770 (1988); see also United States

v. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506, 509 (1995).

———

11

case is therefore a poor vehicle for resolving the second

question presented by the petition. Even if the Court

were inclined to overlook the posture in which this ques-

tion comes to it, the issue is not worthy of review. Peti-

tioner’s reliance on this Court’s decision in United States

Vv. Gaudin, 515 U.S. 506 (1995) (materiality in a crim-

inal trial is an issue for the jury), ignores the Gaudin

Court’s careful delineation of the scope of its decision

and depends on a reading of the case that has not been

endorsed by any court of appeals.

1. The Fourth Circuit’s determination that the mate-

riality of the alleged false statements should not have

been submitted to the jury made no difference to the

outcome of the case below. After reaching its conclu-

sion that “the determination of materiality * * * is one

for the court,” Pet. App. 12a, the Fourth Circuit noted

that “even the Gaudin Court acknowledged that there

always remains as a threshold question of law whether

the case for materiality is ‘so weak that no reasonable

juror could credit it.’” Id. (quoting Gaudin, 515 U.S. at

517). In these circumstances, the Gaudin Court stated,

“even on our view of the matter the case should not have

gone to the jury.” Gaudin, 515 U.S. at 517. That is

precisely the conclusion reached by the Fourth Circuit

below. Regardless of whether materiality is ultimately a

question for the court or the jury, the Fourth Circuit

found, on the particular facts of this case, that the alleged

false statements “are so lacking in materiality, indeed,

are not even false, that no reasonable jury could have so

found.” Pet. App. 13a.

Thus, even if the Fourth Circuit had accepted peti-

tioner’s argument that materiality is an issue for the jury,

it would have reversed the jury’s determination due to

the insufficiency of the evidence as to both materiality

and falsity. This case, therefore, is a particularly poor

vehicle for taking up the question whether materiality in

civil actions under the False Claims Act is a question for

12

the court or a jury in cases—unlike this one—where that

distinction might matter, i.e., where the evidence would

permit a reasonable jury to find the statements at issue

material and false. It is the practice of this Court to deny

certiorari where the resolution of the issue presented is

“irrelevant to the ultimate outcome of the case.” Supreme

Court Practice at 173 (citing Sommerville v. United States,

376 U.S. 909 (1964)). Here, the Fourth Circuit's reso-

lution of the second question petitioner would present

not only did not affect the ultimate outcome of this case

but, as we explain next, is one with which the courts of

appeals are in agreement.

2. The issue identified by petitioner, even if it had

affected the outcome of the decision below, does not

merit review under this Court’s established guidelines for

exercise of its discretionary certiorari jurisdiction. Peti-

tioner complains that the Fourth Circuit improperly relied

on this Court’s decision in Kungys v. United States, 485

U.S. 759, 772 (1988) (holding in denaturalization case

that “[it is proper to treat] the issue of materiality as

a legal question”) (citation omitted), and that it should

have instead concluded that Gaudin effectively overruled

Kungys. Pet. 21. Petitioner relies on the fact that Gaudin

“explicitly repudiated” a decision—Sinclair v. United

States, 279 U.S. 263 (1929)—on which Kungys had

relied. Pet. 21-23.

What petitioner fails to account for, however, is that

the Gaudin Court declined to overrule Kungys itself, de-

spite its express recognition that Kungys “relied upon

* * * our prior decision in Sinclair.” Gaudin, 515 US.

at 522. On the contrary, the Court noted that the deci-

sion in Kungys and the decisions in Gaudin and Sinclair

arose in very different contexts. Observing that “the

courts’ power to resolve mixed-law-and-fact questions in

civil cases [like Kungys] is not at issue here” and that

“civil and criminal juries’ required roles are obviously

not identical,” id. at 516-517, the Court had no difficulty

concluding that a different result is possible in a civil

13

case because of the absence of the “constitutional rami-

fications” that are presented when the issue arises in the

context of “an adjudication to which the Sixth Amend-

ment right to jury trial attaches.” /d. at 522. Thus, it is

clear from the face of Gaudin that the Court there did

not purport to determine its application in the civil

context, but instead left undisturbed its earlier holding

in Kungys.*

There is no compelling need for this Court to take up

that issue now. The Fourth Circuit below did not ques-

tion the application of Gaudin in the criminal context in

which it was decided, and recognized that its contrary

holding in a criminal case “can no longer stand as a

result of” Gaudin. Pet. App. lla. It also recognized,

however, that this Court’s decision in Gaudin resolved

the issue only in the context of a criminal trial and took

pains to note that the “constitutional ramifications” could

well be different in the civil context. Jd. The Fourth

Circuit therefore held that “in the context of the civil

False Claims Act the determination of materiality * * *

is one for the court.” 7d. at 12a.

On that question, there is no conflict in the lower

courts. Petitioner cites no decision of any federal court

of appeals extending the holding of Gaudin to civil

actions, and we are aware of none. On the contrary,

those courts of appeals that have considered after Gaudin

whether materiality in a civil action is a matter for the

court or the jury have agreed with the Fourth Circuit’s

determination that the issue remains one for the court,

as in Kungys. See United States v. Stelmokas, 100 F.3d

302, 316 (3d Cir. 1996) (“Gaudin did not affect the

Kungys holding * * *. Quite the contrary is true be-

cause the Gaudin court discussed Kungys at length and

made it clear that it was distinguishing Kungys because

8 At most, even in netitioner’s view, the Gaudin Court left the

question unresolved in the civil context. See Pet. 21 (“materiality

of false statements in civil cases is a question * * * [that] was

expressly left open in [Gaudin]’’).

14

* * * Gaudin was concerned with a defendant’s Sixth

Amendment right to have a jury determine materiality in

a criminal proceeding”), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1847

(1997); Hervey v. Estes, 65 F.3d 784, 789 n.4 (9th Cir.

1995) (“Gaudin is not applicable to a civil proceed-

ing”).° There is, accordingly, no disagreement in the

courts of appeals concerning application of Gaudin in

the civil context. Only three circuits have opined on the

question, and each has reached the same conclusion:

that Gaudin does not apply to civil proceedings. There

is no “compelling reason” for this Court to intervene at

this time to review the unanimous judgment of those few

courts of appeals that have had occasion to consider the

implications for civil actions of this Court’s relatively

recent decision in Gaudin.

| Rae ee eA RT I NI

3. In all events, the Fourth Circuit’s decision is cor-

rect under current law. Where materiality is in issue in

civil matters brought “under * * * statutes dealing with

misrepresentations to public officers,” Kungys, 485 U.S.

at 772, this Court has directed that the issue is to be

decided by the court as a matter of law. Id. The mate-

riality of a false statement to the government is a threshold

question, a “judicially-imposed limitation to insure the

reasonable application of the statute.” United States v.

Abadi, 706 F.2d 178, 180 n.2 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

464 U.S. 821 (1983) (quoted with approval in Kungys, ;

485 U.S. at 772). Especially where it involves consider- |

ation, in light of statutory and regulatory provisions, of

the effect that undisputed statements could have on gov-

ernment action, the determination of materiality is pri-

marily a legal rather than a factual inquiry. In this

context, it involves consideration not of what a reason-

able person would have done or the actual effect of al-

®The application of the holding of Kungys to the particular

context of civil False Claims Act cases has been endorsed by the

only other court to consider the question. United States ex rel.

Butler v. Hughes Helicopter Co., No. CV-89-5760-SVW, 1993 WL

841192, at *15 (C.D. Cal. Aug. 25, 1993), aff’d on other grounds,

71 F.3d 321 (9th Cir. 1995).

a eT

15

legedly false statements—prototypical jury questions °—

but rather consideration of what legal alternatives, if any,

would be available to the government, and determination

of the natural tendency of a statement to influence govern-

ment action.

Accordingly, nearly all courts that considered the issue

prior to 1995 had determined in the context of both civil

and criminal cases under the False Claims Act that ma-

teriality is a question for the court, see, e.g., United

States v. Norris, 749 F.2d 1116, 1122 (4th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1065 (1985), and the Court

endorsed that rule in Kungys. As noted, application of the

settled rule of Kungys to civil cases is not undermined by

Gaudin. The holding of Gaudin rests explicitly on the

constitutional rights of the criminal defendant to have a

jury determination of all elements of a crime. Because

of the criminal context, the Court expressly declined to

accept the government’s argument that materiality—even

if a question of law—is necessarily for the court, reasoning

instead that the Constitution requires judgments about

all elements of a crime, whether legal or factual, to be

submitted to the jury. See 515 U.S. at 514 (jury is not

“mere factfinder” in criminal case). The Court also

expressly declined to overrule its decision in Kungys,

leaving undisturbed the settled rule that in the civil con-

text, the issue of materiality is for the court. Thus, the

Fourth Circuit’s decision in this case was a faithful appli-

cation of existing law on which the lower courts are in

agreement. In all events, for the reasons explained above,

the issue on which it opined did not affect the outcome of

the decision below and does not warrant review by this

Court.

10 See TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438, 450

(1976) (materiality of omission from proxy statement is a jury

question because it involves judgments about how a reasonable

shareholder would react).

en

16

Il. THERE ARE NO COMPELLING REASONS TO

REVIEW THE COURT OF APPEALS’ ASSESS-

MENT OF THE SUFFICIENCY OF THE EVIDENCE

IN THIS CASE

In reversing the judgment in favor of petitioner, the

Fourth Circuit determined that its “de novo review * * *

of the alleged false statements plainly shows that they

were not material to [NIH]’s funding decisions, and fur-

thermore are so lacking in materiality, indeed, are not

even false, that no reasonable jury could have so found.”

Pet. App. 12a-13a. “[I]t is,” the court held, “abundantly

clear that substantial evidence upon which the jury could

have found for Berge is lacking.” /d. at 17a.

The Fourth Circuit’s decision is therefore simply a

decision about the sufficiency of the evidence in this

case. Its discussion of the evidence recounts no consid-

eration of any disputed legal issues, rejects no argument

of Berge’s except her claim that the evidence was sufficient

to sustain the verdict, and does not purport to part com-

pany with any other court of appeals on any issue. Berge’s

complaints about the court of appeals’ determination that

the evidence was insufficient to permit a reasonable jury

to find either falsity or materiality therefore present no

issue of significance outside of this case, and there are

no “compelling reasons” for this Court to exercise its

certiorari jurisdiction. Sup. Ct. R. 10. See also id. (“A

petition for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when

the asserted error consists of erroneous factual findings or

the misapplication of a properly stated rule of law’).

Apparently recognizing that this Court “dofes] not grant

a certiorari to review evidence and discuss specific facts,”

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220, 227 (1925),”

11 As four members of this Court recently noted, “[t]hat policy

has been observed even when the fact-bound assessment of the

federal court of appeals has differed from that of the district

court.” Kyles v. Whitley, 514 U.S. 419, 456 (1995) (citing Sumner

v. Mata, 449 U.S. 539, 543 (1981) (in “run-of-the-mine case in

which an appellate court * * * reached an opposite conclusion

17

Berge goes to great lengths in her petition to attempt to

find a certworthy legal issue in the court of appeals’ con-

clusions about the sufficiency of the evidence. That effort

fails. The intercircuit “conflict” that Berge purports to

identify—concerning the evidence that a court of appeals

should review in determining the sufficiency of the evi-

dence to support a judgment—not only does not exist,

but also involves an argument that was not presented to

the court of appeals; the court of appeals in any event

applied the correct and well-settled standard of review

when it considered this case. Rather than an “ideal ve-

hicle” for resolving a purported “circuit controversy,”

Pet. 19, this case is a poor candidate for certiorari be-

cause petitioner would have this Court review only an

application of well-settled law that was not challenged by

her below.

1. Berge’s petition fails at the threshold because she

never identified to the court of appeals the purported

legal issue she would now present to this Court or asked

the court of appeals to apply any standard other than the

one it applied. In her court of appeals brief, Berge simply

stated that the correct standard of review was found in the

Fourth Circuit’s earlier decision in Duke v. Uniroyal, Inc..,

928 F.2d 1413, 1417 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 502 U.S.

963 (1991): “When determining whether the evidence

is sufficient to support the jury’s verdict, the evidence must

be reviewed in the light most favorable to plaintiffs, giving

them the benefit of all inferences.” See Brief of Appellee

22. She did not urge, as she now does, that the Fourth

Circuit’s cases had applied an incorrect standard, and that

it would be erroneous for the court to review “all the

evidence” in determining whether it was sufficient to sus-

tain the jury’s verdict. In fact, her discussion of the evi-

dence included arguments grounded in the testimony of,

or exhibits offered by, the respondents (see, e.g., id. at

from a trial court * * * there [is] little reason for invocation of this

Court’s discretionary jurisdiction to make a third set of findings”’) ).

18

24)—evidence she now claims the court of appeals should

not have considered.”

It is, of course, this Court’s practice to decline to de-

cide questions not presented to or considered by the

court of appeals. See, e.g., FW/PBS, Inc. v. City of

Dallas, 493 U.S. 215, 224 (1990); Delta Airlines, Inc. V.

August, 450 U.S. 346, 362 (1981). Petitioner’s failure

to alert the Fourth Circuit to wha: she now claims is a

longstanding and well-developed conflict on the correct

standard of review ought to preclude her from raising it

here.

Nor can it be said that the court of appeals “passed

upon” the question petitioner now presents in such a way

as to permit this Court to overlook her failure to present

it below. Presumably because the parties were in agree-

ment on the correct standard of review, the Fourth

Circuit nowhere claimed to have considered the pur-

ported circuit conflict and sided with one of the alleg-

edly competing views. It simply noted that its review of

the denial of a motion for judgment of a matter of law is

de novo, cited a case articulating the same standard

urged by the parties,“ and proceeded to review the evi-

dente that had been presented below.

Petitioner apparently seizes on one sentence of the

Fourth Circuit’s opinion for her claim that the Fourth

Circuit “passed upon” the question she failed to present.

See Pet. App. 17a (“Reviewing all this evidence in the

light most favorable to Berge * * *”) (emphasis added).

That sentence, however, pointedly does not constitute, as

petitioner claims, a holding by the Fourth Circuit that it

“may review all of the evidence.” Pet. 15 (emphasis in

12 Respondents’ brief in the court of appeals articulated the same

standard. See Brief of Appellants 3. As the case was presented

to the Fourth Circuit, therefore, the parties were in agreement

as to the applicable standard of review.

18 See Pet. App. 12a, 17a, citing Benedi v. McNeil-P.P.C., Inc.,

66 F.3d 1378, 1383 (4th Cir. 1995).

19

original). It does not establish, as petitioner would have

it, that the Fourth Circuit believes it is entitled to credit

evidence favorable to the movant “even if it was contro-

verted, impeached or offered by an interested witness.”

Pet. i. And it certainly does not establish that the Fourth

Circuit “passed upon” the question—of which, from all

that appears, it was unaware—of whether its longstand-

ing standard of appellate review should be reconsidered

in light of the purportedly different holdings of other

circuits.

In short, the panel of the court of appeals that heard

this case below would be quite surprised to read what the

petition says this case is about, because the first question

presented in the petition involves an issue that was neither

pressed nor passed upon below. For this reason alone, the

Court should decline to consider it now.

2. The intercircuit “conflict” identified by petitioner

is largely of her own creation, and rests on semantic

distinctions that do not affect the outcome of cases in the

courts of appeals. Even petitioner admits that ten of the

federal circuit courts, in reviewing denials of judgment

as a matter of law, review all of the evidence and view

that evidence in the light most favorable to the verdict

winner. See Pet. 15 n.2. Significant to the question of

whether those courts are in conflict with the other

federal circuit courts of appeals, not one of the cases cited

by petitioner in footnote 2 of her petition contains any

discussion of the issue on which petitioner believes there

is a raging controversy in the circuits. These cases merely

mention in passing that the court is reviewing “all the evi-

dence” in considering whether a motion for judgment as

a matter of law should have been granted.

Many other decisions, including opinions from every

circuit, leave the word “all” out of their formulation. of

the standard of review.’* While petitioner sees in this

14 See, e.g., Ealy v. Richardson-Merrell, Inc., 897 F.2d 1159,

1161 (D.C. Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 950 (1990); Bogosian v.

vei

NCEE Rn

20

formulation some uncertainty about whether these courts

review “all of the evidence or only some subset,” Pet. 16,

we think it plain that these courts do what they say—

review “the evidence,” not just “some of” the evidence.

These decisions too contain no discussion of any ongo-

ing legal controversy concerning what evidence should

be reviewed on appeal.

Like the Fourth Circuit below, all of these courts are

apparently unaware that their ordinary formulation of the

appropriate standard of review, whether or not it speci-

fies in each instance that the court is in fact reviewing

“all the evidence,” is at odds with the views of other

circuits. The reason for this is plain: there is no conflict

among the circuits. Petitioner submits that the Sixth and

Eighth Circuits squarely reject the view that they may

review “all the evidence” (or “the evidence”) in the light

most favorable to the party that prevailed before the jury.

Pet. 15-16. Not so. As petitioner candidly admits, Pet.

16 n.6, cases from both circuits establish that those courts

too review “all the evidence” in determining whéther a

motion for judgment as a matter of law is warranted. See

Curtis v. Electronics & Space Corp., 113 F.3d 1498, 1502

(8th Cir. 1997) (“All evidence is viewed in the light most

favorable to the verdict”) (emphasis added); Cook v.

Mercedes-Benz of N. Am., Inc., 104 F.3d 472, 475-476 (1st Cir.

1997); Simms v. Village of Albion, 115 F.3d 1098, 1110 (2d Cir.

1997); Villaneuva v. Brown, 103 F.3d 1128, 1133 (3d Cir. 1997) ;

Redman v. John D. Brush & Co., 111 F.3d 1174, 1179 (4th Cir.

1997); Melton v. Teachers Ins. & Annuity Ass’n, 114 F.3d 557,

559 (5th Cir. 1997); American & Foreign Ins. Co. v. Bolt, 106

F.3d 155, 157 (6th Cir. 1997); Emmel v. Coca-Cola Bottling Co.

of Chicago, 95 F.3d 627, 629 (7th Cir. 1996); Penney v. Praxair,

Inc., 116 F.3d 330, 334 (8th Cir. 1997); Amarel vy. Connell, 102

F.3d 1494, 1517 (9th Cir. 1997): Doan v. Seagate Technology,

Inc., 82 F.3d 974, 976 (10th Cir. 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct.

684 (1997); Colvin v. Housing Auth. of City of Sarasota, Florida,

71 F.3d 864, 866 (11th Cir. 1996) ; Eastman Kodak Co. v. Goodyear

Tire & Rubber Co., 114 F.3d 1547, 1559 (Fed. Cir. 1997}.

21

American S.S. Co., 53 F.3d 733, 740 (6th Cir. 1995)

(“we view all the evidence in the light most favorable to

the nonmoving party”) (emphasis added).

The two cases. cited by petitioner, moreover, are not

stray eddies outside the current of these circuits’ rulings;

rather, they are squarely in the mainstream. Time and

again, both the Sixth and the Eighth Circuits have

applied the standard applied by every other circuit in re-

viewing claims for judgment as a matier of law.” While

these two courts—like the other circuits—do not always

recite that they review “all the evidence” but some-

times simply refer to “the evidence.” their decisions

display no disagreement with the approach of the other

circuits and apply the same standard that is applied in

every circuit.

Petitioner’s contention that the circuits are in con-

flict, therefore, is simply wrong. From all that appears

in countless opinions of the court of appeals, there is

no disagreement about the standard to be applied in

reviewing denials of motions for judgment as a matter

of law.

3. In her attempt to identify a conflict, petitioner

relies on authorities that simply do not support her con-

tention. In particular, petitioner’s claims that the Sixth

8 See also Hill v. Spiegel, Inc., 708 F.2d 233, 237 (6th Cir.

1983) (viewing “the admissible evidence most favorable to the

party opposing the motion”) (emphasis added).

‘6 See, e.g., K & T Enters., Inc. v. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d 171,

176 (6th Cir. 1996) (“the evidence should be viewed in the light

most favorable to the party against whom the motion is made, and

that party given the benefit of all reasonable inferences”) (emphasis

added) ; Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., 104 F.3d 822, 825 (6th Cir.

1997) (same), pet. for cert. filed, 66 U.S.L.W. 3109 (U.S. July 24,

1997) (No. 97-159); O’Brien y. City of Grand Rapids, 23 F.3d 990,

995 (6th Cir. 1994) (same); Sherbert v. Alcan Alum. Corp., 66

F.3d 965, 967 (8th Cir. 1995) (same) ; Smith v. World Ins. Co., 38

F.3d 1456, 1460 (8th Cir. 1994) (same); Bierle v. Liberty Mut.

Ins. Co., 992 F.2d 873, 875-876 n.7 (8th Cir. 1993) (same).

22

Circuit applies a different standard of review are not

grounded in relevant authority. Petitioner cites Smelser

v. Norfolk S. Ry., 105 F.3d 299, 306 (6th Cir. 1997),

pet. for cert. filed, 65 U.S.L.W. 3827 (U.S. June 4, 1997)

(No. 96-1949), and Aparicio V. Norfolk & W. Ry.,

84 F.3d 803, 807 (6th Cir. 1996), for her claim that the

Sixth Circuit—apparently in these two Cases only—has

parted company with the other circuits and adopted a more

limited form of review.’* These cases arose under the

Federal Employers’ Liability Act (“FELA”), and in

each case the Sixth Circuit stated its understanding that

“la] different standard [of review] applies in [FELA]

cases.” Aparicio, 84 F.3d at 807. See also Smelser, 105

F.3d at 306 (“In FELA cases, however, a different

standard [of review] applies”). Thus, to the extent these

cases said anything about the standard of review to be

applied in non-FELA cases, their views were obiter

dicta.

In addition, while both panels of the Sixth Circuit did

state that a court “looks only to the plaintiff's evidence

to make its determination,” Aparicio, 84 F.3d at 807;

Smelser, 105 F.3d at 306 (quoting Aparicio), the critical

fact common to both cases was that they discussed the

standard for granting judgment as a matter of law under

Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(a) at the close of plaintiff's case. Thus,

17 The petition in Smelser does not present the question that

petitioner presents here, and does not claim that the Sixth Circuit’s

opinion is in conflict with any other circuit on that question.

18 Not surprisingly given that the purportedly different standard

has been created by petitioner herself, the petition is unclear about

what she believes that minority view to be. Petitioner first claims

that this position excludes consideration “of the movant’s evi-

dence” and should consider only the “non-movant’s evidence,”

Pet. 13, 14, by which Berge presumably means that evidence

introduced by the non-movant. Later, however, this standard is

described as permitting the court to look not just at evidence

introduced by the non-movant (i.e., “the non-movant’s evidence’’),

but rather at all evidence “favoring the non-movant,” apparently

without regard to which party introduced the evidence. Pet. 15.

23 F

as Aparicio expressly noted, the issue arose where “the

defendant has not yet presented any proof.” 84 F.3d at

807. See also Smelser, 105 F.3d at 306 (reviewing trial

court’s denial of defendant’s motion for judgment “at the

close of [plaintiff's] case”). In such circumstances, it is

hardly surprising that the courts “look[] only to the plain-

tiffs evidence to make [their] determination,” for no other

evidence has been offered. These cases present no coriflict

with the usual rule applied in every circuit.

Nor do the Eighth Circuit cases on which Berge relies

present any occasion for this Court to exercise its certio-

rari jurisdiction in this case. To be sure, both of these

cases, along with several other Eighth Circuit decisions

relying on them,” do state that “[g]enerally, only evi-

dence favoring the non-moving party should be con-

sidered.” Caudill v. Farmland Indus., Inc., 919 F.2d

83, 86 (8th Cir. 1990); Dace v. ACF Indus, Inc., 722

F.2d 374, 376 (8th Cir. 1983), as supplemented on re-

hearing, 728 F.2d 976 (8th Cir. 1984) (per curiam).

Even if these cases were viewed as stating a different

(minority) view of the appropriate standard of review,

however, they do not even constitute the settled view of

the Eighth Circuit. As noted, cases from that court have

repeatedly articulated that it is appropriate to review “all

the evidence” or “the evidence” without indicating any

intent to exclude certain evidence from consideration. At

the very most, then, petitioner has identified a tension

in approaches by different panels of the Eighth Circuit.

It has long been settled that “ ‘decisions between differ-

ent panels of the same Court of Appeals will not be

considered to present a reviewable conflict, since such

differences of view are deemed an intramural matter to

be resolved by the Court of Appeals itself.’” Supreme

Court Practice at 176 (quoting Justice Harlan, Manning

19 McAnally v. Gildersleeve, 16 F.3d 1493, 1496 (8th Cir. 1994):

Kientzy v. McDonnell Douglas Corp., 990 F.2d 1051, 1056 (8th Cir.

1993); Butler v. Dowd, 979 F.2d 661, 675 (8th Cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 508 U.S. 930 (1993).

24

the Dikes, 13 Record of N.Y.C. Bar Ass’n 541, 552

(1958)). See also Wisniewski v. United States, 353 US.

901, 902 (1957) (per curiam) (“It is primarily the task

of a Court of Appeals to reconcile its internal difficulties”).

Petitioner’s reliance on Justice White’s dissent from

denial of certiorari in Schwimmer v. Sony Corp., 459

U.S. 1007 (1982), fails to recognize that “comments in

[a] dissenting opinion * * * are just that: comments in a

dissenting opinion.” United States Railroad Retirement

Bd. v. Fritz, 449 U.S. 166, 177 n.10 (1980). No other

Justice joined in that dissent, which articulated two per-

ceived conflicts in the circuits. As to the “conflict”

purportedly at issue here, Justice White believed that the

First and Third Circuits followed what the petitioner

calls the “middle ground” and attributes to the Eighth

Circuit. See 459 U.S. at 1009; Pet. 16. As petitioner

recognizes, however, even if those courts at one time

followed a “middle ground,” more recent decisions of

those circuits repeat the standard formulation used by the

other circuits. Justice White attributed to the Eighth

Circuit an approach under which “only evidence which

supports the verdict winner is to be considered.” 459

U.S. at 1009. But, as noted above, most panels of that

court now articulate the standard formulation. Any in-

tercircuit “conflict” that existed at the time of Justice

White’s 1982 dissent from denial—a conflict the other

members of the Court found tolerable or non-existent—

has only narrowed in the intervening 15 years and is now

at most an intracircuit tension. There is even less reason

to take up the issue now than there was in 1982.

4. Examination of the verbal formulations employed

by the courts, including the Eighth Circuit, would be

20 See Pet. 15 n.2 (citing Dragon Vv. Rhode Island Dep’t of Mental

Health, Retardation & Hosps., 936 F.2d 32, 36 (1st Cir. 1991)

(Breyer, J.) and Walter v. Holiday Inns, Inc., 985 F.2d 1232, 1238

(3d Cir. 1993)); Pet. 16 n.7 (citing Katz v. City Metal Co., 87

F.3d 26, 28 (1st Cir. 1996) and McDaniels v. Flick, 59 F.3d 446,

453 (3d Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1017 (1996)).

~~

a

25

largely an academic exercise in semantics. In all circuits,

the settled rule is that evidence is reviewed in the light

most favorable to the verdict winner, with all reasonable

inferences drawn in that party’s favor. See 9A Charles

A. Wright & Arthur R. Miller, Federal Practice and

Procedure § 2524 at 255-259 (2d ed. 1995). This

rule has been regularly applied by those panels of the

courts of appeals that employ the “all the evidence”

formulation ; they too “view all the evidence in the

light most favorable to the nonmoving party and draw

all reasonable inferences in favor of the nonmoving

party.” ** Where there is an evidentiary dispute, there-

fore, the courts are in full agreement that the applicable

standard of review requires them to credit the evidence

favoring the non-movant. Thus, in these circumstances,

the appropriate and universal standard of review com-

mands that—in the words of the Eighth Circuit—“only

evidence favoring the non-moving party should be con-

sidered.” Caudill, 919 F.2d at 86. There is, in short,

little other than a linguistic distinction between the

courts that consider all the evidence but rely only on that

which favors the non-moving party and the Eighth Cir-

cuit’s occasional articulation that only the evidence favor-

ing the non-moving party should be considered.”

21 Harris v. Chapman, 97 F.3d 499, 505 (11th Cir. 1996), cert.

denied, 117 S. Ct. 2422 (1997). See also Central Office Tel., Inc.

Vv. AT&T, 108 F.3d 981, 992 (9th Cir. 1997); Mattern v. Eastman

Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702, 705 (5th Cir. 1997), pet. for cert. filed,

66 U.S.L.W. 3108 (U.S. July 21, 1997) (No. 97-126) ; Lester v. RTC,

994 F.2d 1247, 1253 (7th Cir. 1993); Walter v. Holiday Inns, Inc.,

985 F.2d at 1238.

22The only circumstance in which the purported distinction

might be thought to be relevant is where uncontradicted evidence

favors the moving party. But, as petitioner notes, even those panels

of the Eighth Circuit on which petitioner relies recognize that

uncontradicted evidence favoring the movant may be considered.

See Pet. 16 (citing Caudill, 919 F.2d at 86, and Dace, 722 F.2d at

377 n.6). Thus, even as to this narrow range of evidence, the Eighth

Circuit’s own internal differences in articulation of the standard

do not affect the actual substance of review.

26

In her search for a conflict, petitioner has seized on the

fact that the settled standards for reviewing sufficiency

of the evidence have “been the subject of a great variety

of verbal formulations.” Wright & Miller, supra, § 2524

at 261. In the real world, however, the variety of verbal

formulations makes little if any difference in the outcome

of cases because all courts effectively review the same

evidence in determining whether a motion for judgment

as a matter of law should have been granted. There is

no warrant for this Court to grant the petition so that it

can impose a verbal straightjacket on the opinions of the

courts of appeals, and there is even less reason to review

the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion on the sufficiency of the

evidence in this particular case.

Ill. THE COURT OF APPEALS APPLIED SETTLED

LAW TO THE FACTS OF THIS CASE IN DETER-

MINING THAT PETITIONER’S STATE-LAW CON-

VERSION COUNT WAS PREEMPTED

Berge’s state-law conversion claim is based on allega-

tions that respondents “included Dr. Fowler’s plagiarized

abstract in the Year 14 progress report” and that Dr. Pass

and Dr. Fowler “published their 1991 article in the Jour-

nal of Infectious Diseases,” Pet. 24, an article which she

claims “pervasively used” her work. Brief of Appellee

49-50. In considering this claim, the Fourth Circuit ac-

cepted for purposes of argument Berge’s disputed conten-

tion that “ideas and information” are subject to conversion

under Alabama law. Applying settled federal preemption

analysis, the court held that “[{t]here can be no doubt that

Berge’s work—her dissertation, to which she herself affixed

a copyright mark; her abstracts: her drafts, etc.—falls

within the scope of the subject matter of copyright.” Pet.

App. 19a. Although “ideas and methods” are excluded

from copyright protection, the court noted. “the shadow

actually cast by the Act’s preemption is notably broader

than the wing of its protection.’ Jd.

Ticicinesesciineiiauiiiaaiiiaiiaial

27

The court then considered whether Alabama conver-

sion law contained “an ‘extra element’ that changes the

nature of the state law action so that it is ‘qualitatively

different from a copyright infringement claim.’” Id. (quot-

ing Rosciszewski v. Arete Assocs., Inc., 1 F.3d 225, 229

(4th Cir. 1993) (emphasis in Rosciszewski). Thus, the

court recognized, a state law action for conversion is not

preempted if it involves proof that the defendant “unlaw-

fully retained the physical object embodying plaintiff's

work,” but is preempted if the plaintiff alleges only “un-

lawful retention of its intellectual property rights and

not * * * of the tangible object embodying its work.”

Pet. App. 19a-20a (internal quotation marks and citations

omitted). Under this “hornbook law,” Pet. App. 19a, the

Fourth Circuit held, “[i]t could hardly be clearer that

Berge’s conversion claim is preempted.” /d. at 20a. The

court found it “crucial” that petitioner made “no claim

that appellants converted any tangible objects embodying

her intellectual property.” Jd. Thus, the court held, her

“charge of plagiarism and lack of attribution * * * are

tantamount to * * * a claim of copyright infringement,

for Berge has certainly not been prevented from using

her own ideas and methods.” 7d. at 22a.

Petitioner cites no court that rejects the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s mode of analysis; she does not and cannot dispute

that the courts of appeals have unanimously adopted the

“extra element” test for determining whether a state law

seeks to protect “legal or equitable rights that are equiva-

lent to any of the exclusive rights within the general scope

of copyright as specified in section 106.” 17 U.S.C.

§$ 301(a).~ Rather, petitioner argues that the Fourth Cir-

cuit erred in its application of that test to the facts of this

*3See National Basketball Ass’n v. Motorola, Inc., 105 F.3d 841,

856 (2d Cir. 1997) (“certain forms of commercial misappropriation

otherwise within the general scope requirement will survive pre-

emption if an ‘extra-element’ test is met”): Harolds Stores, Inc.

v. Dillard Dept. Stores, Inc., 82 F.3d 1533, 1543 (10th Cir.), cert.

28

case. See Pet. 24 (Court should resolve purported dispute

“over how to apply the explicit preemption provisions of

the Copyright Act to state law claims of conversion of

intellectual property”). As noted, however, “[a] petition

for a writ of certiorari is rarely granted when the asserted

error consists of * * * the misapplication of a properly

stated rule of law.” Sup. Ct. R. 10. There is no compel-

ling reason to review the Fourth Circuit’s application of

settled law to Berge’s claim.

Petitioner attempts to identify a “conflict” by citing

G.S. Rasmussen & Assocs. V. Kalitta Flying Serv., Inc.,

958 F.2d 896 (9th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 959

(1993). While petitioner would find in that case adop-

tion of a different “approach,” Pet. 24, the Ninth Circuit’s

opinion evidences nothing more than application of the

settled test to the particular facts of the case before it.

The Kalitta court, quoting earlier Ninth Circuit authority,

recognized that section 301(a) “preempts a state-created

right if that right may be abridged by an act which, in

and of itself, would infringe one of the exclusive rights

listed in § 106. But if violation of the state right is predi-

cated upon an act incorporating elements beyond mere

reproduction or the like, there is no preemption.” Jd. at

denied, 117 S. Ct. 297 (1996) (same); Bateman v. Mnemonics, Inc.,

79 F.3d 1532, 1549 (11th Cir. 1996) (applying “the ‘extra element’

test generally employed by courts in performing copyright preemp-

tion analysis”) ; Daboub v. Gibbons, 42 F.3d 285, 289-290 (5th Cir.

1995) (state law preempted where it does not require proof of extra

element) ; Data Gen. Corp. v. Grumman Sys. Support Corp., 36 F.3d

1147, 1157 (1st Cir. 1994); Anderson v. Nidorf, 26 F.3d 100, 102-

103 (9th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 514 U.S. 1035 (1995); Kregos v.

Associated Press, 3 F.3d 656, 665-666 (2d Cir. 1993) (state law

preempted where it does not require proof of extra element), cert.

denied, 510 U.S. 1112 (1994); Rosciszewski, 1 F.3d at 229-230

(same); National Car Rental Sys., Inc. v. Computer Assocs. Int'l,

Inc., 991 F.2d 426, 431 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 861 (1993).

See also 1 Melville B. Nimmer & David Nimmer, Nimmer on Copy-

right §1.01[B][1], at 1-15 to 1-16 (1997); III Paul Goldstein,

Copyright, § 15.2.1.2, at 15:10 to 15:14 (2d ed. 1996).

29

904 (quoting Oddo v. Ries, 743 F.2d 630, 635 (9th Cir.

1984) (internal quotations, bracket and citations omitted)).

That, of course, is the extra element test applied by the

Fourth Circuit below. The Ninth Circuit then applied

that settled test to the particular facts before it—involving

use of an unauthorized copy of a certificate issued by the

FAA—and held that the state law claim there at issue

was not preempted.

The Fourth Circuit did not reject Kalitta, but instead

recognized and applied the Fifth Circuit’s distinction of the

facts of that case in Daboub v. Gibbons, supra. See Pet.

App. 21a-22a. The Daboub court observed that the plain-

tiff in Kalitta “was not simply complaining about the im-

proper copying of the copyrighted material.” 42 F.3d at

289. In the case before it, by contrast, the Fifth Circuit

held that state law claims were preempted because “[t]he

core of each of these state law theories of recovery * * *

[is] the wrongful copying, distribution, and performance of

the lyrics” of the song at issue. Jd. So too here: “Berge’s

charge of plagiarism and lack of attribution can only

amount to, indeed, are tantamount to, a claim of copy-

right infringement, for Berge has not been prevented from

using her own ideas and methods.” Pet. App. 22a.

The Ninth Circuit both before and since Kalitta has

affirmed that it too follows the generally accepted test.

See Anderson v. Nidorf, 26 F.3d at 102; Oddo v. Ries,

743 F.2d at 635. To the extent that Kalitta is perceived

to employ a less preemptive application of that test, its

effect is, to date, limited to that case alone; no other court

has applied Kalitta so that state law conversion claims

survive where the gravamen of those claims is wrongful

copying or distribution.* And, if it is so understood,

24 See, e.g., Daboub, 42 F.3d at 289-290: Taquino v. Teledyne

Monarch Rubber, 893 F.2d 1488, 1501 (5th Cir. 1990): Harper &

Row Publishers, Inc. v. Nation Enters., 723 F.2d 195, 201 (2d Cir.

1983), rev’d on other grounds, 471 U.S. 539 (1985).

30

Kalitta has been rejected by the commentators.* Thus,

at most, petitioner has identified a possible tension be-

tween the decision below, which follows the general ap-

proach, and a single, arguably incorrect decision of the

Ninth Circuit. This tension—if it exists at all—is surely

tolerable unless and until the perceived conflict is expanded

and developed.

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the petition should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID G. LEITCH *

WILLIAM A. BRADFORD, JR.

BARBARA F’. MISHKIN

HoGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5822

* Counsel of Record Counsel for Respondents

25 See 1 Nimmer on Copyright §1.01[B][1][i] at 1-38 (“If

* * * contrary to the usual view of conversion, it is regarded as

encompassing unauthorized reproductions, then the rights created

are indeed ‘equivalent’ to copyright, and the state law is pre-

empted. For this reason, it may be questioned whether [ Kalitta]

ruled correctly that defendant’s use of intangibles constituted con-

version under state law, immune from copyright protection’) ; see

also id. at 1-38 to 1-39 n.181.3.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.