Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ Supreme Court, U.S.

3 FILED

'

97-159 JUL 2 4 1997

NO. _igerce—ut IME CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

a a

DEBRA BLACK,

Petitioner,

ZARING HOMES, INC.,

Respondent.

¢

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Sixth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Dona.p B. Horpes

Counsel of Record

SCHWARTZ, Manes & Rusy

2900 Carew Tower

441 Vine Street

Cincinnati, Ohio 45202-3090

(513) 579-1414

Attorney for Petitioner

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

AO

1.

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHERE AN EMPLOYEE IN A TITLE VII SEXUAL

HARASSMENT CASE ADDUCES SUBSTANTIAL

EVIDENCE OF GENDER-BASED VERBAL SEXUAL

HARASSMENT DIRECTED TOWARD HER BY VAR-

IOUS MALE EMPLOYEES IN THE SUPERVISORY

HIERARCHY OF HER EMPLOYER, WHAT CRITE-

RIA SHOULD FEDERAL COURTS EMPLOY IN

DETERMINING WHETHER THE CONDUCT

ALLEGED AGAINST THE EMPLOYER WAS SUFFI-

CIENTLY DE MINIMIS SO AS TO RENDER THE

EMPLOYEE’S SEXUAL HARASSMENT ALLEGA-

TIONS NON-ACTIONABLE?

WHERE A TITLE VII PLAINTIFF HAS ADDUCED

EVIDENCE AT TRIAL THAT SEVERAL GENDER-

BASED HOSTILE REMARKS WERE DIRECTED TO

HER BY VARIOUS MEMBERS OF THE ALL-MALE

SUPERVISORY HIERARCHY OF HER EMPLOYER,

INCLUDING ITS PRESIDENT, AND THE PLAIN-

TIFF’S COMPLAINT TO THE EMPLOYER’S GEN-

ERAL COUNSEL ABOUT THE HARASSMENT WAS

IGNORED, TO WHAT EXTENT MAY THE REVIEW-

ING COURT SUBSTITUTE ITS OWN JUDGMENT

FOR THAT OF A JURY AND SET ASIDE A JURY

VERDICT TO THE EFFECT THAT THE EMPLOYER’S

CONDUCT TOWARD PLAINTIFF WAS SUFFI-

CIENTLY SEVERE AND PERVASIVE SO AS TO CRE-

ATE AN OBJECTIVELY HOSTILE WORK

ENVIRONMENT?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

pe Res Bae SI et nee ii

TAGER GP ASTER ID o oo iis ioe kcucdedsnciees iv

CP RNN Ae I ek vag aden bhug see amamercues 1

ae ere eee ae ree earn 2

STATUTES TROVGIVEDD oon oi cnc cic vccccscnacocsa Z

STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................... 2

REARS, soe nnktadenshiane eee eee i

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW........ 7

1. WHERE AN EMPLOYEE IN A TITLE VII

SEXUAL HARASSMENT CASE ADDUCES

SUBSTANTIAL EVIDENCE OF GENDER-

BASED VERBAL SEXUAL HARASSMENT

DIRECTED TOWARD HER BY VARIOUS

MALE EMPLOYEES IN THE SUPERVISORY

HIERARCHY OF HER EMPLOYER, WHAT

CRITERIA SHOULD FEDERAL COURTS

EMPLOY IN DETERMINING WHETHER

THE CONDUCT ALLEGED AGAINST THE

EMPLOYER WAS SUFFICIENTLY DE MIN-

IMIS SO AS TO RENDER THE EMPLOYEE’S

SEXUAL HARASSMENT ALLEGATIONS

ae 7

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

2. WHERE A TITLE VII PLAINTIFF HAS

ADDUCED EVIDENCE AT TRIAL THAT

SEVERAL GENDER-BASED HOSTILE

REMARKS WERE DIRECTED TO HER BY

VARIOUS MEMBERS OF THE ALL-MALE

SUPERVISORY HIERARCHY OF HER

EMPLOYER, INCLUDING ITS PRESIDENT,

AND THE PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT TO

THE EMPLOYER’S GENERAL COUNSEL

ABOUT THE HARASSMENT WAS

IGNORED, TO WHAT EXTENT MAY THE

REVIEWING COURT SUBSTITUTE ITS OWN

JUDGMENT FOR THAT OF A JURY AND

SET ASIDE A JURY VERDICT TO THE

EFFECT THAT THE EMPLOYER’S CON-

DUCT TOWARD PLAINTIFF WAS SUFFI-

CIENTLY SEVERE AND PERVASIVE SO AS

TO CREATE AN OBJECTIVELY HOSTILE

WORK ENVIRONMENT? ..........ccccceee- 22

Eg SRE aE a 28

APPENDIX

1.

DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT,

eS Oe ea ay wed ah eo be vb vk a esses App. 1

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION, FILED DECEMBER 27,

es Cini Eo ini his un enn adsesess App 13

ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEAL FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT, FILED

EG es hones a5 canaxsesduvis App. 36

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Aman v. Cort Furniture Rental Corp., 85 F.3d 1074

Oe | ee er rer eer rere 24, 26

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, North Carolina,

SO US. S64, 305 S. C4 THe Cape ecco nase 22

Baskerville v. Culligan Int'l Co., 50 F.3d 428 (7th Cir.

| MST EPEC TT TE CERT Ce Cre eee ree passim

Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., 104 F.3d 822 (6th Cir.

2 Senne emer penny mente 1, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 26

Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., Case No. C-1-94-471

(S02. Gm ERRCOUIOE 27, TWO s aio vccccsecevcesves's 1

Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., Case No. 96-3118 (6th

ee Os POREETER TC OTE T Ee CL ETOCS Eee eee 1

Gleason v. Mesirow Financial, Incorporated, __ F.3d

___, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 15508 (7th Cir. 1997)

Seba Rae 94a DR Lae ae ee eee aE eS 11, 13, 14, 17, 19

Gross v. Burggraf Construction Co., 53 F.3d 1531

Be eS Pere r eer rrr ere 12, 13, 14, 19

Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17 (1993)... .passim

Kimzey v. Wal-Mart Stores, 107 F.3d 568 (8th Cir.

WONT i. 555k ceecanenndsw sivas avin sched sh Geese ss 23, 26

SOUP Es « cas cans pncouskececa ener sere sacsuaearas 25, 26

Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986)

FO OT Fe ne aN 6 7,8. % i.

Morrison v. Carleton Woolen Mills, Inc., 108 F.3d 429

Pee Gk DO cook iin he 6 ade eee terest 15

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Rabidue v. Osceola Refining Co., 584 F. Supp. 419

(E.D. Mich. 1984), aff’d 805 F.2d 611 (6th Cir.

REE NE 5c BRNES Rado cin cde apnea eee eee es 13

Smith v. St. Louis University, 109 F.3d 1261 (8th Cir.

af he errr er yee mon et 15, 16, 23, 26

Spain v. Gallegos, 26 F.3d 439 (3rd Cir. 1994)...... 14, 15

Spicer v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 66 F.3d 705 (4th

Rh SD vine bon anne nearec ena cesetereegneeren 25, 26

Steiner v. Showboat Operating Co., 25 F.3d 1459 (9th

Oe DE 0 vo snes nueens ayaa ee eens 16, 17

Torres v. Pisano, ___ F.3d ___ 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS

eo By aa es eee rere rT e 13, 14, 23, 24, 26

U.S. v. U.S. Gypsum Co., 33 U.S. 364, 68 S. Ct. 525

bo Pe PEP Tee ere Terre eT rT Te ep r ere ere Er 22

STATUTORY AUTHORITIES

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964:

oR ee ef ee ee ee Se ee eer ee pero 2

ya ne rr Sep rire eee ergs 5

eS ee | ee eee ere ere eee rere 5

Ce Shs ey et MED 6 Ge ks Se SENG oe heceeeee ee 2, 5

Pee. Si. tae We ee 6 + hh sek ods bsasadeasamenen 5

es Ses I eo oo 6 ae kc an ineeudescaseeteens 22

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner requests that a writ of certiorari be issued

to review the decision and judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit entered on January

14, 1997, which reversed a jury verdict rendered on behalf

of Petitioner in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio, Western Division on March 31,

1995 and which also reversed the Magistrate Judge’s

denial of Respondent's post-trial motion for a judgment

as a matter of law entered on December 27, 1995.

*

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals is

contained in the Appendix at App. 1, and is reported as

Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., 104 F.3d 822 (6th Cir. 1997).

The opinion of the Magistrate Judge of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Ohio, Western

Division is contained in the Appendix at App. 13, and is

not reported. It is cited as Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc., Case

No. C-1-94-471 (S.D. Ohio December 27, 1995). The Order

of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

denying Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing and Rehear-

ing En Banc is contained in the Appendix at App. 36, and

is not reported. It is cited as Black v. Zaring Homes, Inc.,

Case No. 96-3118 (6th Cir., April 25, 1997).

¢

JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals to be reviewed

was entered on January 14, 1997. The Court of Appeals’

denial of Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing and Rehear-

ing En Banc was entered on April 25, 1997. Jurisdiction to

review the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in this cause, by writ of

certiorari, is conferred on this Court by 18 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 - 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e 2(a)(1) reads as follows:

(a) Employer practices. It shall be an unlawful

employment practice for an employer -

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge

any individual, or otherwise to discriminate

against any individual with respect to his

compensation, terms, conditions, or privi-

leges of employment, because of such indi-

vidual’s race, color, religion, sex, or national

origin;

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner Debra Black was hired by Respondent Zar-

ing Homes in late June of 1993 as Land Acquisition

Manager to seek out vacant parcels of land for purchase

by Zaring Homes so that it could then develop the land

and build houses upon them for sale.

After Petitioner started her employment, she began

to identify numerous parcels of land for sale upon which

she would report at bi-weekly land meetings at Respon-

dent’s corporate offices. Customarily in attendance at

these meetings would be Petitioner, her immediate super-

visor, Respondent’s President, Vice President and in-

house General Counsel, and the various managers in

charge of Respondent’s product line of homes, all of

whom were male.

Shortly after beginning employment, Petitioner

became subjected to an ongoing pattern of various gen-

der-specific jokes and insults by various members of

Respondent’s management at the land meetings.

Early on in her employment Petitioner passed around

a plate of breakfast pastries. When the plate was passed

to one of Respondent’s Product Managers, he selected a

pastry, and said, while grinning at her and suggestively

wiggling his eyebrows “Nothing I like more in the morn-

ing than sticky buns.” Petitioner reacted by stating “Tim,

cut it out” whereafter the other men started laughing.

Sometime in mid-August, 1993 the land meeting par-

ticipants discussed the purchase of a parcel of land adja-

cent to a Hooters Restaurant. This engendered a spirited

discussion as to what to name the development. Various

of the male attendees volunteered such titles as “Hoot-

ersville,” “Twin Peaks,” and “Titsville.” This banter

engendered a great deal of laughing and smirking by the

male attendees at the meeting. These references to

“Titsville” and the like took place at more than one land

meeting thereafter. These comments were also made in

the presence of Respondent's President who either joined

in the merriment or did nothing to stop it.

In a similar vein in September of 1993 when Peti-

tioner reported at a land meeting as to the potential |

purchase of a property owned by a Dr. Paul Busam,

various male attendees began snickering over the refer-

ence to a female’s breast. This continued on other subse-

quent occasions whenever the name of the Busam

property was brought up.

On or about October 8, 1993 the attendees were again

discussing a new parcel of land for potential purchase

and development which was located adjacent to a bar

frequented by motorcyclists. Suddenly, for no apparent

reason, Respondent’s President, turned to Petitioner and

said “Say, weren’t you there Saturday night dancing on

the tables?” Predictably, the meeting again exploded in

laughter. Petitioner, again extremely embarrassed, looked

down and responded “Not hardly, Ron.”

Other sexist insults were directed towards Petitioner

on a one-on-one basis. During a discussion with her

immediate supervisor over how much commission she

should be earning, the supervisor, angered by what he

perceived as overreaching demands for more compensa-

tion, stated “You are paid great money for a woman.”

Petitioner’s supervisor conveyed even more gender-

specific insulting remarks to Petitioner while he was

speaking with a co-worker concerning another female’s

reluctance to sign a permit. The supervisor told the co-

worker in the direct presence of Petitioner and looking

straight at her, “Just get the broad to sign it.”

iain

In addition to registering her disapproval of various

of the above-cited remarks, Petitioner, early on in her

employment, complained directly to Respondent’s Vice

President and General Counsel about the general tenor of

the gender-based remarks made at the land meetings, and

asked what could be done about it. The General Coun-

sel’s response was that the male supervisors’ attitudes

toward women were a fact of life and that nothing could

be done to change the atmosphere.

Petitioner filed her original Complaint in the United

States District Court for the Southern District of Ohio,

Western Division on July 11, 1994, alleging inter alia sex-

ual harassment by Respondent. This action was properly

heard by the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Ohio, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331, in that this

action presented a federal question arising under the

laws of the United States, specifically, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et

seq. The remaining pendant state claims were properly

heard pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367 and Fed. R. Civ. P.

18(a). After a nine day trial, the jury awarded $250,000.00

to Petitioner, $200,000.00 of which was for punitive dam-

ages. The District Court on December 27, 1997, denied

Respondent’s Motion for Judgment n.o.v., Motion for

New Trial and Motion for Remittitur on the issue of

compensatory and punitive damages.

Respondent filed a timely appeal to the United States

Circuit Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. On January

14, 1997, the Sixth Circuit panel hearing the case reversed

the jury verdict and entered judgment for Respondent.

On April 25, 1997, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

denied Petitioner’s Motion for Rehearing and Rehearing

En Banc.

The Sixth Circuit accepted as true, for purposes of

analysis, all of the aforesaid factual allegations, which

formed the predicate for the jury’s finding of the sexually

oppressive work environment. Moreover, the Sixth Cir-

cuit correctly cited the landmark United States Supreme

Court decisions in Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S.

57 (1986) and Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17

(1993), as providing the appropriate analytical framework

for determining when a work environment is sufficiently

severe to be actionable under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act. The Sixth Circuit dwelled in particular on the recent

holding of the Supreme Court in Harris to the effect that

the workplace harassment must be sufficiently severe or

pervasive to create an environment that a reasonable

person would find hostile or abusive, and that the victim

subjectively regarded as abusive.

The Sixth Circuit also properly quoted Harris as to

the proper factors a jury must consider when deciding

whether the verbal harassment of a female employee met

this standard:

[T]he frequency of the discriminatory conduct;

its severity; whether it is physically threatening

or humiliating, or a mere offensive utterance;

and whether it unreasonably interferes with an

employee’s performance. The effect on the

employee’s psychological well-being is, of

course, relevant to determining whether the

plaintiff actually found the environment abu-

sive. But while psychological harm, like any

other relevant factor, may be taken into account,

no single factor is required.

Harris at 23.

However, after accurately setting forth the methodol-

ogy for analyzing cases of this nature, and showing

proper deference to the role of a jury in making the

appropriate judgements as to whether the Defendant's

conduct met this objective standard, the Sixth Circuit

ignored the Harris factors altogether and, without a fac-

tual analysis of the evidence in this particular case, sum-

marily concluded that the verbal harassment directed at

Petitioner was not “severe or pervasive enough to create

an objectively hostile work environment.” No empirical

evidence was cited for this sudden proclamation other

than the Sixth Circuit’s observation that “most of the

comments were not directed at plaintiff [Petitioner]”.

+

ARGUMENT

I. QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. WHERE AN EMPLOYEE IN A TITLE VII SEX-

UAL HARASSMENT CASE ADDUCES SUB-

STANTIAL EVIDENCE OF GENDER-BASED

VERBAL SEXUAL HARASSMENT DIRECTED

TOWARD HER BY VARIOUS MALE

EMPLOYEES IN THE SUPERVISORY HIER-

ARCHY OF HER EMPLOYER, WHAT CRITERIA

SHOULD FEDERAL COURTS EMPLOY IN

DETERMINING WHETHER THE CONDUCT

ALLEGED AGAINST THE EMPLOYER WAS

SUFFICIENTLY DE MINIMIS SO AS TO REN-

DER THE EMPLOYEE’S SEXUAL HARASS-

MENT ALLEGATIONS NON-ACTIONABLE?

In its two previous landmark decisions dealing with

the issue of sexual harassment, Meritor Savings Bank v.

Vinson, 477 U.S. 57 (1986), and Harris v. Forklift Systems,

Inc., 510 U.S. 17 (1993), the United States Supreme Court

has taken a rather expansive view of what constitutes

actionable sexual harassment. In Meritor Savings Bank, the

Supreme Court held that Title VII “is not limited to

‘economic’ or ‘tangible’ discrimination. The phrase

‘terms, conditions or privileges of employment’ evinces a

Congressional intent to strike at the entire spectrum of

disparate treatment of men and women.” Id. at 64

(emphasis added). The Supreme Court further stated that

a woman had the right to a work environment free from

“ ... intimidation, ridicule or insult.” Id. at 65. A finding

of a Title VII violation based on verbal harassment alone

was clearly contemplated. The Supreme Court held that

the “terms, conditions or privileges of employment”

should be interpreted expansively. Id. at 65.

In the second case in which the Supreme Court had a

chance to address the issue of sexual harassment, Harris

v. Forklift, the Supreme Court condemned a work envi-

ronment in which the female plaintiff was forced to work

as one in which the supervisor “insulted her because of

her gender and often made her the target of sexual innu-

endos.” Id. at 19.

To be sure, not all verbal comments directed at a

member of the opposite sex were deemed actionable. The

Supreme Court set minimum de minimis guidelines below

which such conduct would be deemed non-actionable. In

Meritor, the Supreme Court emphasized that not all work-

place conduct of a sexual nature amounted to actionable

sexual harassment under Title VII. Rather, it had to be

sufficiently egregious to affect a “term or condition or

privilege” of employment in order for the conduct to be

nal

regarded as violative of Title VII. Meritor at 67. Likewise,

in Harris v. Forklift, supra, the Supreme Court stated that

an employer should not be accountable for conduct by

their employees against members of the opposite sex

which is “merely offensive”. Id. at 21. The Supreme Court

did not go into detail as to what types of conduct might

be deemed “merely offensive”. Instead, the Court laid out

a series of criteria whereby a trier of fact, either a court or

a jury, could determine whether the conduct complained

of rose to the level of aggravation and severity so as to

constitute unlawful sexual harassment:

1. The frequency of the discriminatory con-

duct;

2. Its severity;

3. Whether it is physically threatening or

humiliating or a mere offensive utterance;

and

4. Whether it unreasonably interferes with an

employees performance.

Id. at 23. The Supreme Court indicated that this list of

criteria was “non-exhaustive”. Id.

The Supreme Court did not define, either in Meritor

or in Harris, the type of conduct which it would regard as

“insufficiently severe” or “merely offensive” and thus

beyond the purview of Title VII scrutiny by the federal

courts. However, in the wake of these two landmark

decisions, the various Circuit Courts of Appeal have

addressed the issue. There appears to be a split in the

various Circuit Courts of Appeal as to whether workplace

harassment, especially verbal workplace harassment such

as the type addressed in this case, falls above or below

10

the “de minimis” line as set forth in Harris. A more conser-

vative or restricted view of what constitutes verbal work-

place harassment has been adopted by the Seventh and

Tenth Circuit, whereas a more liberal and expansive view

of what constitutes workplace sexual harassment has

been embraced by the Second, Third, Eighth and Ninth

Circuit.

The lead case coming out of the Seventh Circuit is

Baskerville v. Culligan Int'l Co., 50 F.3d 428 (7th Cir. 1995).

In Baskerville, the plaintiff was exposed litany of highly

offensive gender-specific remarks by her supervisor, the

most egregious including the following: (1) he would call

her a “pretty girl”; ‘2) once, when she was wearing a

leather skirt, he made a grunting sound that sounded like

“um um um” as she turned to leave the office; (3) when

she said that his office was hot, he remarked to her “Not

until you stepped your foot in here”; (4) in response to a

public announcement over the loud speaker “May I have

your attention please”, he responded to her “you know

what that means don’t you, all pretty girls run around

naked”; (5) he stated to her during a Christmas party, that

since there were so many pretty girls in there he didn’t

want to lose control, so he thought he better leave early;

(6) he remarked to her that his wife had not yet moved to

join him in his new job and all he had at night for

company at his hotel was his pillow. He then panto-

mimed an act of masturbation. Baskerville at 430.

The Seventh Circuit characterized all of these com-

ments as “occasional vulgar banter, tinged with sexual

innuendo, of coarse or boorish workers” that was

“merely vulgar and mildly offensive”. Id. at 431. The

Seventh Circuit ultimately reversed the lower court’s

Pn eerce

11

finding of actionable sexual harassment. In minimizing

the impact of the statements set forth above, the Court

reasoned:

Only a woman of victorian delicacy - a woman

mysteriously aloof from contemporary Ameri-

can popular culture and all its sex saturated

vulgarity — would find Hall’s [the supervisor]

patter substantially more distressing than the

heat and cigarette smoke of which the plaintiff

does not complain.

Id. at 431.

A more recent expression of the Seventh Circuit's

restrictive view of workplace harassment was expressed

in Gleason v. Mesirow Financial, Incorporated, ___ F.3d __,

1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 15508 (7th Cir. 1997). In Gleason, the

female plaintiff was subjected to the same type of rude,

vulgar and insulting conduct that her counterpart

encountered in Baskerville. Her supervisor referred to

female customers as “bitchy”, “dumb”, or “suffering from

PMS”, spoke to another female employee about the size

of her breasts, told another female employee that he

would like her in tighter skirts, and ogled at women as

they walked by. He also placed an advertisement for a

nudist colony on plaintiff’s desk and told her that he had

had dreams about holding hands with her.

Gleason, like Baskerville, created a dichotomy between

a “merely unpleasant working environment on the one

hand and a hostile or deeply repugnant one on the

other”. Id. at 32. It echoed the sentiment articulated in

Baskerville that Title VII “was not designed to purge the

workplace of vulgarity”. Id. Gleason also minimized the

impact of various gender-hostile remarks which were

12

brought to plaintiff’s attention because they had not been

directed to her personally, but rather were comments that

she had learned about second-hand. Id. at *33-34.

In closing, the Seventh Circuit boldly announced:

It is established in this Circuit as of this date

that there is a “safe harbor” for employers in

cases in which the alleged harassing conduct is

too tepid or intermittent or equivocal to make a

reasonable person believe that she has been dis-

criminated against on the basis of sex. [Citing an

earlier Seventh Circuit decision in Galloway v.

General Motors, 78 F.3d 1164, 1168 (7th Cir.

1996)].

Gleason at *33.

Judging on the job sexual harassment in the context

of off-the-job community standards was also echoed by

the Tenth Circuit in Gross v. Burggraf Construction Co., 53

F.3d 1531 (10th Cir. 1995). Gross involved the harassment

of a female employee on a blue-collar construction site.

The Tenth Circuit in Gross established a two-tiered stan-

dard for reviewing claims of sexual harassment one for

blue-collar working environments and one for white-col-

lar working environments.

Accordingly, we must evaluate Gross’s claim of

gender discrimination in the context of a blue-

collar environment where crude language is

commonly used by male and female employees.

Speech that might be offensive or unacceptable

in a prep school faculty meeting, or on the floor

of Congress, is tolerated in other working envi-

ronments.

Gross at 1538. Pursuing this theme further, the Tenth

Circuit quoted directly from an earlier pre-Meritor,

13

pre-Harris case in the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals,

Rabidue v. Osceola Refining Co., 584 F. Supp. 419 (E.D.

Mich. 1984), aff’d 805 F.2d 611 (6th Cir. 1986):

The standard for determining sexual harassment

would be different depending upon the work

environment. Indeed, it cannot seriously be dis-

puted that in some work environments, humor

and language are rough hewn and vulgar. Sex-

ual jobs, sexual conversations, and girlie maga-

zines may abound. Title VII was not meant to —

or can — change this.

While the Court emphasized that Title VII was

designed to ensure equal opportunity for

women in the workforce, “it is quite different to

claim that Title VII was designed to bring about

a magical transformation in the social mores of

American workers.” [citing Rabidue, supra].

Id.

As noted earlier, federal courts in other circuits have

adopted a far more liberal view of what constitutes sex-

ual harassment, oftentimes rejecting the very same factors

relied upon by the Seventh and Tenth Circuit. For

instance in Torres v. Pisano, __ F.3d __ 1997 U.S. App.

LEXIS 12805 (2nd Cir. 1997), the Second Circuit was faced

with much of the same types of crude verbal sexual

comments which had been directed by the supervisors

toward a female employee in Gross, Gleason and Basker-

ville. While the Court cited the well-established Harris

guidelines that plaintiff needed to prove that the harass-

ment was of such a quality that a reasonable employee

would find the conditions objectively hostile, Torres took

special pains to eschew the “public mores” standard ear-

lier articulated by the Seventh Circuit in Baskerville.

14

Judges should be careful to remember that

American popular culture can, on occasion, be

highly sexist and offensive. What is, is not

always what is right, and reasonable people

could take justifiable offense at comments that

the vulgar among us, even if they are in a major-

ity, would consider acceptable.

Torres at *17, n.7.

The Second Circuit went on to state:

No principled argument supports the view that

sex-based offensive behavior in the workplace is

immune from remedy simply because it may be

culturally tolerated outside of the workplace.

The purpose of Title VII is not to import into the

workplace the prejudices of the community, but

through law to liberate the workplace from the

demeaning influence of discrimination, and

thereby to implement the goals of human dig-

nity and economic equality in employment.

Id. at *17 [citing King v. Hillen, 21 F.3d 1572, 1582 (Fed.

Cir. 1994)].

Torres also minimized the fact that many of the state-

ments alleged to be harassing were not made directly to

the plaintiff, reasoning that when a plaintiff is aware that

management freely makes offensive gender-based

remarks to others, her workplace environment may still

be rendered hostile. Id. at *18.

The Third Circuit in Spain v. Gallegos, 26 F.3d 439 (3rd

Cir. 1994), found sexual comments far less egregious than

those which existed in Baskerville, Gleason or Gross to be

unlawful in that they merely allowed a perpetuation of a

rumor that the plaintiff was having an affair with her

15

boss. The key issue in the case, reasoned the Third Cir-

cuit, was not whether there existed blatant sexual miscon-

duct, but whether women in the workplace were treated

differently than men, and whether she would have been

subject to the same treatment by management and her co-

workers had she been a man. Spain, supra at 447-448. See

also Morrison v. Carleton Woolen Mills, Inc., 108 F.3d 429,

441 (1st Cir. 1997).

Similar sentiments were expressed by the Eighth Cir-

cuit in Smith v. St. Louis University, 109 F.3d 1261 (8th Cir.

1997). Smith again involves relatively low levels of sexual

discourse which hardly could be determined to be bla-

tant. Plaintiff, an anesthesiology resident at the hospital,

was oftentimes the butt of remarks by the Anesthesiology

Department Chairman, who would refer to the female

residents by their first name without the title of “Doctor”,

whereas he would use the appropriate title for male

residents. The Chairman, as well as other male doctors, at

various times referred to plaintiff as a beautiful young

lady who should consider modeling and on another occa-

sion referred to her and another female resident as “anes-

thesia babes”. The relatively low voltage nature of these

comments did not deter the Eighth Circuit from finding

that the plaintiff had successfully established an action-

able hostile work environment. While her contact with

the offending director was infrequent or sporadic, the

Court noted that the harasser was the head of the depart-

ment and “therefore more omnipresent than a co-worker

might be.” Smith at 1264. More importantly, while the

nature of the gender-based remarks was relatively

benign, the key element upon which the Court relied was

16

the fact that these remarks were selectively directed at

women rather than men.

The predicate acts which support a hostile envi-

ronment sexual harassment claim need not be

explicitly sexual in nature .. . Rather the key

issue is whether members of one sex are

exposed to disadvantageous terms or conditions

of employment to which members of the other

sex are not exposed. [Citing Kopp v. Samaritan

Health Systems, 13 F.3d 264, 269 (8th Cir. 1993)].

Id. at 1265.

Therefore, since the plaintiff and her female col-

leagues were subjected to specific minimalization and

ridicule not directed toward male counterparts, the plain-

tiff successfully made out an actionable case of sexual

harassment under Title VII.

The same crucial distinction between general vulgar,

rude or tasteless comments directed at employees in gen-

eral versus female employees because of their gender was

also emphasized by the Ninth Circuit in Steiner v. Show-

boat Operating Co., 25 F.3d 1459 (9th Cir. 1994). Plaintiff in

Steiner was allowed to take her case to trial based on

hostile insulting language directed toward her, notwith-

standing the employer’s argument that the offending

supervisor used crude language and hostility toward

male employees as well. However, the Ninth Circuit was

careful to emphasize that the verbal abuse shown to

women was qualitatively different than the abuse shown

to men because sexual epithets were attached thereto.

The Court emphasized that “while his [the offending

supervisor’s] abuse of men in no way related to their

gender, his abuse of female employees, especially Steiner

17

[the plaintiff], centered on the fact that they were females.

It is one thing to call a women ‘worthless’, and another to call

her a ‘worthless broad’ ”.

Id. at 1464 (emphasis added).

The Sixth Circuit in the instant case, Black v. Zaring

Homes, appears to have followed the same restrictive

view of what constitutes workplace sexual harassment as

does the Seventh and Tenth Circuit. The Sixth Circuit,

without analyzing this case according to the numerous

criteria laid out in Harris, nonetheless concluded that the

sum total of the harassment directed at Petitioner by

Respondent, while admittedly offensive, inappropriate,

unprofessional and gender-based, did not rise to the level

of severity to create an objectively hostile work environ-

ment. It carved out, as the Seventh and Tenth Circuit

seem to have carved out, another “safe harbor” for

employer whereby gender-based put downs and insults,

be they in the form of anatomical references, sexual jokes,

or words of trivialization such as babes or broads, may be

deemed non-actionable under the rubric of mere “vul-

garity”. Indeed, the Sixth Circuit in Black echoes the

sentiment expressed by the Seventh Circuit in Baskerville

that Title VII was not designed to purge the workplace of

vulgarity. (App. 11).

The Sixth Circuit also discounts the oppressiveness of

the work environment at Petitioner’s workplace, finding

that many of the sexually offensive gender-based com-

ments were not directed to Petitioner but merely in her

presence. (App. 10). Again, the Sixth Circuit appears to be

adhering to the more conservative Seventh Circuit

approach articulated in Gleason, supra, where statements

18

that a plaintiff merely overhears second hand, rather than

directly, are accorded less weight and importance, and

are deemed to have less oppressive impact than state-

ments made directly to a plaintiff by a supervisor.

In light of Black, there now appears to be a clear

conflict between the Sixth, Seventh and Tenth Circuits

which have adopted a more restrictive view of sexual

harassment and the Second, Eighth and Ninth Circuits

which, given a similar factual scenario, would find the

atmosphere sufficiently permeated with sexually hostile

comments which would rise to the level of an objectively

offensive work environment.

There is no clear indication coming out of the circuit

courts as to when conduct is sufficiently de minimis to be

non-actionable. The Sixth Circuit has now, like the Sev-

enth and Tenth Circuit, carved out for employers a safe

harbor for conduct which is merely “vulgar”. This term,

however, is highly ambiguous and provides insufficient

guidance to the courts. If vulgarity refers to gender-

neutral profanity or scatological comments that abusive

foremen and supervisors direct toward all employees

regardless of their gender, an argument can be made that

such conduct does not come within the ambit of the

conduct proscribed by Title VII, inasmuch as it is not

designed to make the workplace uncomfortable for

women as opposed to men. However, the Sixth, Seventh

and Tenth Circuits, unlike the Second, Eighth and Ninth

Circuits, would define vulgarity more broadly, including

conduct of an admittedly gender-specific nature, as long |

as it merely reflects the popular culture of the day, per- |

meated as it is with rude and explicit sexual references

that many employees, especially female employees, find

‘itil

19

offensive and degrading. The Sixth, Seventh and Tenth

Circuits state rather clearly that, for better or worse, the

workplace mirrors the coarser aspects of society, and that

employees faced with such an environment must learn to

cope with it as reflective of society in general. Such a

workplace, while albeit offensive, is not per se objectively

hostile.

The Tenth Circuit in Gross v. Burggraf Construction Co.

attempts a finer distinction between a blue-collar work

environment, where female employees are expected to

tolerate a gender-hostile workplace environment because

it is traditional to that industry, and a white-collar envi-

ronment, where female employees reasonably have

higher expectations.

Equally troubling is the Sixth Circuit’s holding that

sexually hostile comments merely made in the presence

of a female employee are to be deemed less coercive, less

hostile and less intimidating than comments made by

supervisors directly to that plaintiff. (App. 10). In this

regard Black goes even further than the Seventh Circuit in

Gleason, which accorded such minimal weight only to

sexually-specific comments which were made outside the

plaintiff’s. presence, comments which she heard second-

hand. Taken to its logical extension, Black creates a new

widely expanded safe harbor for employer misconduct.

There is nothing particularly benign about a sexually

sensitive remark made by a group of male employees in

the presence of a targeted female individual, especially

when the remark is loud enough for the impacted female

employee to hear. Indeed, it can be argued that such a

remark is even more severe and humiliating than a remark

made directly to such individual and that she is regarded

20

as having so little sensibility and feeling, or even so little

identity, that it can be made with impunity in her pres-

ence. Equally as important, if Black is allowed to stand, it

will have an equally devastating impact upon minority

employees such as African-Americans and Hispanics who

are also oftentimes the victim of hostile work environ-

ments. Racially, religiously, or sexually offensive draw-

ings, cartoons, calendars and open recitation of jokes

hitherto regarded as a hallmark of an unlawfully hostile

work environment will now be deemed acceptable since

they are not directed “at” a particular employee but

merely displayed “in the presence” of such employee.

Other circuits, particularly the Second, Eighth and Ninth

Circuits, would not shrink from finding unlawful such

offensive comments where they are directed at women

because they are women and are not directed to males in

the workplace. However, newly-created dichotomy cre-

ated by the Sixth Circuit, i.e. whether a comment is made

“to” a female employee as opposed to “in her presence”,

would appear to take the law in an entirely different

direction.

Finally, whether sexually hostile comments are made

“to” a female employee as opposed to “in her presence”

is not one of the criteria set forth by the Supreme Court in

either Meritor or Harris. Thus, by creating this distinction,

the Sixth Circuit, along with the Seventh Circuit, would

engraft upon Harris a new criterion for courts to consider

in determining whether or not a sexually hostile environ-

ment exists.

To be sure, verbal abuse of the kind present in this

and the other cases cited herein is, relatively speaking,

not the most aggravated form of sexual harassment.

21

However, as this Court noted in Harris, the most

egregious examples of harassment “do not mark the

boundary of what is actionable”. Harris at 22. It also bears

emphasizing that verbal harassment, especially when

participated in and condoned by top levels of manage-

ment, as was the case here, may embolden the victim’s

co-workers to elevate their misconduct to the next level.

It has been almost five years since the Supreme Court

in Harris, issued a significant opinion discussing the con-

tours of Title VII in the context of what constitutes an

unlawful sexually hostile work environment. It is beyond

dispute that there should be a “safe harbor” where man-

agement’s participation in or condonation of harassing

conduct should be outside the scrutiny of federal courts.

However, there has developed, since Harris, a wide diver-

gence among the circuits as to how wide and deep that

harbor should be. Black presents the ideal vehicle for the

United States Supreme Court to clarify the law on this

issue.

22

2. WHERE A TITLE VII PLAINTIFF HAS

ADDUCED EVIDENCE AT TRIAL THAT SEV-

ERAL GENDER-BASED HOSTILE REMARKS

WERE DIRECTED TO HER BY VARIOUS

MEMBERS OF THE ALL-MALE SUPERVISORY

HIERARCHY OF HER EMPLOYER, INCLUD-

ING ITS PRESIDENT, AND THE PLAINTIFF’S

COMPLAINT TO THE EMPLOYER’S GEN-

ERAL COUNSEL ABOUT THE HARASSMENT

WAS IGNORED, TO WHAT EXTENT MAY THE

REVIEWING COURT SUBSTITUTE ITS OWN

JUDGMENT FOR THAT OF A JURY AND SET

ASIDE A JURY VERDICT TO THE EFFECT

THAT THE EMPLOYER’S CONDUCT

TOWARD PLAINTIFF WAS SUFFICIENTLY

SEVERE AND PERVASIVE SO AS TO CREATE

AN OBJECTIVELY HOSTILE WORK ENVI-

RONMENT?

It is well-established in federal jurisprudence that a

court of appeals may not set aside the verdict of a jury, or

the finding of a judge sitting as a trier of fact, unless it is

clearly erroneous or non-plausible. U.S. v. U.S. Gypsum

Co., 33 U.S. 364, 365, 68 S. Ct. 525 (1948). Fed. R. Civ. P.

52(a). A reviewing court cannot reverse a finding “of a

trier of fact simply because it is convinced that it would

have decided the case differently.” Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, North Carolina, 470 U.S. 564, 573, 105 S. Ct.

1504 (1985). Nor is it proper for a reviewing court to

undertake a de novo weighing of the evidence in the

record. Id. at 576.

Whether or not a plaintiff meets the criteria set out

by the Supreme Court in Harris to establish the existence

of an objectively hostile work environment would appear

a question ideally suited for a trier of fact. Questions as to

23

whether the sexual harassment complained of was suffi-

ciently frequent, severe, and capable of interfering with

the employee’s ability to do her job are uniquely fact-

specific. So are collateral issues such as the extent to

which the employee found the work atmosphere subjec-

tively offensive, and the extent to which the employer

was put on sufficient notice of the harassment but took

inadequate steps to cure it.

This policy of judicial deference has been adhered to

in the context of Title VII sexual harassment cases in a

number of federal circuits. In Smith v. St. Louis University,

supra, the Eighth Circuit, in addressing the issue of the

degree of hostility of the work environment, stated:

Here, many of Schweiss’s comments included

gender conscious terms, and therefore could

reasonably be believed to have been directed at

Smith because of her sex. The question that

remains is whether the abuse rose to the level

required by Harris to be actionable under Title

VIL, a question that a jury should resolve.

Smith at 1265, (emphasis added). See also Kimzey v. Wal-

Mart Stores, 107 F.3d 568 (8th Cir. 1997).

The Second Circuit has weighed in with similar senti-

ments. In Torres v. Pisano, supra, the Court held that even

when the plaintiff may have a difficult time convincing a

jury that her workplace was sufficiently hostile, the case

should still go to the jury:

She may find it difficult to convince a jury that

pervasive harassment in fact took place, and

that a reasonable employee in her shoes would

have found her working environment hostile.

But this court cannot say as a matter of law that

24

Coe’s alleged conduct did not suffice to create a

hostile work environment. . . . [T]he pervasive-

ness of harassing conduct “is the sort of issue

that is often not susceptible of summary resolution”

[citing DiLaurenzio v. Atlantic Paratrans, Inc., 926

F.Supp. 310, 314 (E.D. NY 1996).]

Torres at *14, (emphasis added).

The key role of a jury in sifting through all of the

evidence to determine the impact of hostile and offensive

statements (albeit in a racial rather than a sexual context)

was recognized by the Third Circuit as well in Aman v.

Cort Furniture Rental Corp., 85 F.3d 1074, 1081-1084 (3rd

Cir. 1996).

Whether these cases present themselves in the pos-

ture of review of a lower court’s ruling on summary

judgment or in the posture of review of a jury verdict is

merely two sides of the same coin. Weighing all of the

evidence to determine whether the Harris criteria have

been met is the exclusive province of the trier of fact, as

long as the plaintiff has posited before the court some

evidence of gender-(or race-)specific hostility. Such issues

should not be resolved as a matter of law.

Other circuits have taken a more activist role, and

decided as a matter of law that certain patterns of

employer conduct and certain levels of workplace hostil-

ity do not, as a matter of law, rise to the level of an

actionable hostile working environment, notwithstanding

the fact that a jury found that plaintiff introduced into

evidence numerous instances of gender-specific harass-

ment so as to support a verdict in her favor. As noted

above, the Seventh Circuit, in Baskerville, supra, set aside a

jury verdict in favor of plaintiff, even though she had

25

adduced several incidents of sexually insulting remarks

by her supervisor. The Court ruled as a matter of law,

that since the tenor of the remarks was no more egregious

than those which were prevalent in the popular culture,

no jury could reasonably find that plaintiff's workplace

was unlawfully hostile.

A similar stance was taken by the Fourth Circuit in

Spicer v. Commonwealth of Virginia, 66 F.3d 705 (4th Cir.

1995). At issue in Spicer was the adequacy of the

employer’s response to plaintiff’s allegations of on-the-

job sexual harassment. Notwithstanding the trier of fact’s

finding that the response was inadequate and that plain-

tiff has successfully established an objectively hostile

work environment, the Fourth Circuit reversed the trier

of fact and ruled as a matter of law that the employer had

effectively responded to plaintiff’s allegations. Id. at 705.

The Court’s ruling sparked a dissenting opinion to the

effect that the adequacy of an employer’s attempts to

remedy sexual harassment is quintessentially a question

of fact for the jury (or lower court sitting as a trier of fact)

to resolve. Id. at 712.

A jury verdict was also preempted by the Fifth Cir-

cuit in Mattern v. Eastman Kodak Co., 104 F.3d 702 (5th Cir.

1997). The issue in that case was whether plaintiff had

made out a case of retaliation for her earlier filing of a sex

harassment complaint. There was substantial eviderice of

on-the-job harassment which would support a jury ver-

dict of retaliation. However, the Fifth Circuit ruled that

this harassment was insufficiently attributable to the

employer so as to hold it liable for the retaliation. Id. at

706-708. Again, there was a strong dissent taking the

26

majority to task for overturning a jury verdict on this

highly fact-specific issue. Id. at 712-714.

In the case sub judice, the Sixth Circuit appears to

have adopted the philosophy of judicial activism dis-

played by the Fourth, Fifth, and Seventh Circuits, in

Spicer, Mattern, and Baskerville, rather than the policy of

judicial restraint and deference displayed by the Second,

Third, and Eighth Circuits in Torres, Aman, Smith, and

Kimzey. Notwithstanding the fact that the jury in Black

had substantial evidence before it in terms of the number

and frequency -f gender-hostile remarks made to the

plaintiff by members of management, and the emotional

distress she suffered therefrom, the Sixth Circuit, with

very little factual analysis, concluded on its own that no

trier of fact could reasonably conclude that the work

environment was anything more than merely offensive.

The only empirical evidence cited by the Court was that

much of the harassing statements were, in its view,

merely made in Petitioner’s presence, rather than directly

to her.

This case would not be particularly noteworthy were

the extent of gender hostility before the jury truly de

minimis, i.e., “a mere offensive utterance”, Harris at 23.

However, this case did not involve just one, or even just

two or three isolated statements. The jury in Black was

presented with a quantum of evidence equal to, or greater

than, that existing in those other verbal sexual harass-

ment cases where the reviewing court had no problem

either sustaining jury verdicts or allowing the cases to go

to the jury. See Smith, Kimzey, Aman, and Torres, supra. It

also bears emphasizing that in Black, the jury was con-

fronted with a female subject to gender-based insults and

27

ridicule by various levels of management, including the

Company President, in an all male working environment.

Furthermore, the jury had before it clear evidence that

Respondent’s Vice President and General Counsel had

been put on notice_of Petitioner’s complaints of sexual

harassment and yet did nothing about them.

There is, therefore, a sharp and significant dispute

among the circuit courts as to the fact-specific nature of

the various Harris factors for determining employer lia-

bility in a Title VII lawsuit for sexual harassment. The

extent to which circuit courts are allowed to exercise free

reign to invade the province of juries and second-guess

their weighing and analysis of evidence in hostile work

environment cases will govern the willingness of

employees to bring their lawsuits in the first place. Harris

created a fairly workable analytical framework for assess-

ing the viability of a sexual harassment suit. If there

existed sufficient facts whereby a jury might conclude

that the Harris criteria had been met, the suit could go

forward. However, if employees know that after the hard-

fought battle has been won the reviewing court may on

its own whim set aside the jury’s finding, a chilling air of

uncertainty will be injected into the process, and

employees will be hesitant to bring such suits in the

future.

Therefore, the Supreme Court should grant certiorari

so as to resolve the dispute amongst the circuits on this

significant issue.

28

CONCLUSION

For all of the reasons set forth, Petitioner respectfully

asks that the within Petition For Writ Of Certiorari be

issued to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth

Circuit.

Respectfully Submitted,

DonaLpb B. Horpes

App. 1

RECOMMENDED FOR FULL-TEXT PUBLICATION

Pursuant to Sixth Circuit Rule 24

ELECTRONIC CITATION: 1997 FED App. 0014P (6th Cir.)

File Name: 97a0014p.06

No. 96-3118

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

On AppeAL from the

United States District

Court for the Southern

District of Ohio

DesrRA BLACK,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

v.

ZARING Homes, INc.,

Defendant-Appellant.

~~ eee ee eee e e”

Decided and Filed Jan. 14, 1997.

Before: KENNEDY and BATCHELDER, Circuit

Judges; EDGAR’, District Judge.

KENNEDY, Circuit Judge.

In this action under Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq.,

defendant appeals both the jury’s verdict in favor of

plaintiff and the magistrate judge’s denial of its post-trial

motion for judgment as a matter of law or, in the alterna-

tive, for a partial new trial or remittitur. The jury found

that while plaintiff was an employee of defendant, she

* The Honorable R. Allan Edgar, United States District

Judge for the Eastern District of Tennessee, sitting by

designation.

App. 2

was subjected to sexual harassment in the form of a

hostile work environment. The jury awarded plaintiff

$50,000 in compensatory damages and $200,000 in puni-

tive damages. Defendant first argues that it is entitled to

judgment as a matter of law because no reasonable inter-

pretation of the evidence supports a finding of a hostile

work environment. In the alternative, defendant asserts

that (1) no justification exists for an award of punitive

damages and (2) the magistrate judge erred in denying its

motion for a new trial.! For the following reasons, we

REVERSE.

I. Facts

Defendant is in the business of acquiring and devel-

oping land and building and selling homes. Plaintiff

started working for defendant as Land Acquisition Man-

ager on June 29, 1993. Her job entailed identifying pieces

of land suitable for neighborhood development and

working toward getting that land under contract to pur-

chase. Her duties required that she be out of the office

and in the field seventy percent of the time.

1 Defendant sought a new trial on grounds that the

magistrate judge erred in admitting certain evidence, including,

as evidence of a hostile work environment, evidence of two

incidents that occurred after plaintiff left defendant’s employ

and which did not involve plaintiff. Defendant also asserted

that the jury instructions were improper and inaccurate.

Defendant has raised substantial claims with regard to these

assignments of error, but we decide the case on other grounds.

App. 3

Every two weeks, employees of defendant’s land

department attended “land meetings” to discuss the sta-

tus of acquisition efforts. Besides plaintiff, attendees

included Jeff Hebeler, plaintiff's immediate supervisor;

Ronald Benkert, defendant’s then-President; Michelle

Grigsby, Vice President and in-house General Counsel;

Tim Zaring, Rick Iannitti, Tim Kramer, and Doug Hinger,

the managers in charge of defendant’s four product lines

of homes; Jeff Hafer, development manager; and Mark

Stenger, land development administration manager.

Plaintiff asserts that sexually harassing comments were

made at many of these meetings.

Sometime at the end of July, plaintiff was in a land

meeting, sitting next to Tim Zaring. Zaring reached over

to take a pastry from a plate in the center of the table and

in front of plaintiff, and he said, “Nothing I like more in

the morning than sticky buns,” while looking plaintiff up

and down, smiling, and “wriggl[ing]” his eyebrows.

Plaintiff asserts that she reacted by saying “Tim, cut it

out,” whereafter Zaring turned to Iannitti, who was sit-

ting on his other side, and laughed. Zaring’s comment

“bothered [plaintiff] a little bit.”

At the next land meeting, sometime in mid-August,

the meeting participants discussed a parcel of land adja-

cent to a Hooters Restaurant. Someone suggested that the

area be named “Hootersville,” and Zaring and Iannitti

suggested “Titsville” or “Twin Peaks.” Everyone at the

meeting laughed. Plaintiff says she “looked down,

and . . . was devastated by this thinking this is going to

continue on... an ongoing basis.” According to plaintiff,

jokes about this particular parcel of land occurred at

numerous meetings. Her ability to work was affected

App. 4

because she would worry that any remark she might

make would “throw everybody off for awhile.”

Also in August, plaintiff went to Hebeler to discuss

her job performance and to ask about how her bonus

would be affected by the number of parcels of land she

acquired. Hebeler responded by telling plaintiff that she

was “paid great money for a woman.” Plaintiff was

“deeply upset” about the comment.

In September, plaintiff was negotiating to purchase a

parcel of land owned by an individual named “Dr. Paul

Busam,” apparently pronounced “bosom.” Plaintiff gave

a presentation regarding the parcel at a land meeting and,

when she mentioned the owner’s name, everyone

laughed. Some participants, although plaintiff could only

specifically name [annitti, began joking again about the

possible names for the property near the Hooters Restau-

rant. In order to avoid such laughter and joking at subse-

quent meetings, plaintiff would refer to the owner as “Dr.

Paul.”

At a land meeting in October, when plaintiff asked

about the location of a particular property, Benkert told

her that it was near a biker bar. He then said, “Say,

weren't you there Saturday night dancing on the tables?”

Plaintiff testified that everyone laughed and that she was

“hurt,” “crushed,” and “devastated” by the remark

because “it was making a characterization of [her].” After

the remark, plaintiff looked down and quietly said, “Not

hardly, Ron,” but she did not believe that anyone heard

her.

Finally, sometime in October, plaintiff was sitting

next to Hebeler, waiting for a land meeting to start, when

App. 5

she heard him tell Hafer, “Just get the broad to sign it.”

This comment was made supposedly in response to Hafer

telling Hebeler that he was having problems getting a

county official to sign a document. Plaintiff says that she

immediately looked at Hebeler and that he looked at her

and shrugged his shoulders. She then shook her head.?

Plaintiff testified that she complained to Michelle

Grigsby, defendant’s general counsel, sometime at the

end of the summer. Their discussion took place in the

women’s restroom after a land meeting. Plaintiff says she

told Grigsby: “I can’t stand this in this land meeting. This

is crazy. It’s gotten way out of hand. Has it always been

like this?” Grigsby responded: “Well, that’s just the way

they are. . . . There’s nothing you can do about it.”

Plaintiff then said: “Except that it takes up so much time.

It doesn’t make sense to spend quality business time to

get our business done for them to go off on these little

tangents and little schoolboy activities laughing and jok-

ing.”

Plaintiff was terminated for performance deficiencies

on November 8, 1993, a little over four months after she

2 Defendant includes in its list of alleged incidents of

harassment an event that occurred in mid-August at a farewell

party for an employee of defendant: Allen Zaring, defendant's

chief executive officer, invited plaintiff and Michelle Grigsby to

sit by him, saying “I love to be surrounded by beautiful

women.” Plaintiff says she was not offended by this remark, but

that she was offended by the “look” she received from an

unidentified woman. Plaintiff does not include this event in her

brief. The magistrate judge found that “this isolated incident

did not constitute, nor did it contribute to a sexually hostile and

abusive environment.”

App. 6

started working for defendant. On April 4, 1994, she filed

a charge of sex discrimination with the Equal Employ-

ment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). Plaintiff received

a right to sue notice on or about June 9, 1994. She then

sued defendant alleging sex discrimination, sexual

harassment, breach of contract, and the intentional inflic-

tion of emotional distress. She asserted claims under Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et

seq., as well as claims under the comparable state statute,

Onto Rev. Cope § 4112.02(A) (Anderson 1991), and Ohio

common law. The parties agreed to have the case tried by

a magistrate judge. Plaintiff dismissed the breach of con-

tract claim, and the magistrate judge directed a verdict in

defendant’s favor on plaintiff’s emotional distress claim.

On March 31, 1995, the jury rendered a verdict

against plaintiff on her claim of sex discrimination related

to her termination, but in favor of plaintiff on her claim of

sexual harassment based on a hostile work environment.

The jury awarded $50,000 in compensatory damages and

$200,000 in punitive damages. Judgment on this verdict

was entered on September 21, 1995.

Defendant timely filed a renewed motion for judg-

ment as a matter of law or, in the alternative, for a partial

new trial on the sexual harassment claim or remittitur.

The magistrate judge denied defendant’s motions. The

magistrate judge found that the evidence revealed “an

atmosphere of a grade school level fascination with

women’s body parts combined within [sic] denigrating

comments about women” which were “not appropriate in

the workplace.” Acknowledging that “[t]he more difficult

question is whether this conduct was sufficiently offen-

sive and occurred often enough to create an objectively

App. 7

and subjectively hostile and abusive working environ-

ment,” the magistrate judge held that the evidence sup-

ported such a finding.

The magistrate judge also denied defendant’s motion

for a new trial, finding that (1) the verdict was not against

the clear weight of the evidence; (2) its evidentiary rul-

ings were not prejudicial to defendant; (3) the jury

instructions were not misleading, inadequate, or prejudi-

cial; and (4) the verdict did not shock the conscience.

Finally, stating that the “propriety of a punitive damages

award in this case is a close question,” because plaintiff

did not complain about many of the comments, the mag-

istrate judge concluded that the jury could have deter-

mined that particular circumstances demonstrated

reckless disregard for women’s rights in general and

plaintiff’s rights in particular. Accordingly, the magistrate

judge affirmed the judgment.

This timely appeal followed.

II. Discussion

A.

This Court’s standard of review for a Fep.R.Cw.P.

50(b) motion for judgment as a matter of law based on the

sufficiency of the evidence is identical to that used by the

District Court. K & T Enters., Inc. v. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d

171, 175 (6th Cir.1996). Thus, we do not weigh the evi-

dence, evaluate the credibility of the witnesses, or substi-

tute our judgment for that of the jury. Id. at 175-76; Wehr

v. Ryan’s Family Steak Houses, Inc., 49 F.3d 1150, 1152 (6th

Cir.1995). Instead, we must view the evidence in the light

App. 8

most favorable to the party against whom the motion was

made, and give that party the benefit of all reasonable

inferences. K & T Enters., Inc., 97 F.3d at 176. We reverse a

district court’s denial of such a motion only if reasonable

minds could not come to a conclusion other than one in

favor of the movant. Id.

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits

discrimination “against any individual with respect to his

compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of employ-

ment, because of such individual’s . . . sex.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-2(a)(1). In Meritor Savings Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S.

57, 66 (1986), the Supreme Court held that a plaintiff may

establish a violation of Title VII by proving that discrimi-

nation based on sex created a hostile or abusive work

environment. Indeed, the statute grants employees “the

right to work in an environment free from discriminatory

intimidation, ridicule, and insult.” Id. at 65.

However, the Court emphasized in Meritor that not

all workplace conduct that has sexual] overtones can be

characterized as harassment forbidden by the statute. See

id. at 67. Rather, harassment must affect a “term, condi-

tion, or privilege” of employment in order for it to fall

within Title VII’s purview. Thus, for alleged harassment

to be actionable, it must be “sufficiently severe or perva-

sive ‘to alter the conditions of [the victim’s] employment

and create an abusive working environment.’ ” Id. (quot-

ing Henson v. City of Dundee, 682 F.2d 897, 904 (11th

Cir.1982)).

App. 9

In Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 21-23

(1993), the Supreme Court reaffirmed this standard and

elaborated upon its contours. The Harris Court explained

that the conduct in question must be judged by both an

objective and a subjective standard: The conduct must be

severe or pervasive enough to create an environment that

a reasonable person would find hostile or abusive, and

the victim must subjectively regard that environment as

abusive. Id. at 21-22. “This standard . . . takes a middle

path between making actionable any conduct that is

merely offensive and requiring the conduct to cause a

tangible psychological injury.” Id. at 21. Acknowledging

that this approach is not susceptible to a “mathematically

precise test,” id. at 22, the Court then sought to provide

some guidance with regard to the somewhat elusive

question of whether a work environment was objectively

hostile or abusive. The Court explained that all of the

circumstances should be considered, and it suggested a

non-exhaustive list of relevant factors:

[T]he frequency of the discriminatory conduct;

its severity; whether it is physically threatening

or humiliating, or a mere offensive utterance;

and whether it unreasonably interferes with an

employee’s performance. The effect on the

employee’s psychological well-being is, of

course, relevant to determining whether the

plaintiff actually found the environment abu-

sive. But while psychological harm, like any

other relevant factor, may be taken into account,

no single factor is required.

Id. at 23.

Defendant concedes that verbal conduct alone can be

the basis of a successful hostile work environment claim.

”

App. 10

However, it asserts that such conduct must be objectively

hostile or abusive before it can be legally proscribed.

Defendant maintains that here the verbal conduct simply

did not rise to that level and that therefore the evidence

does not support a finding of sexual harassment.

We agree with defendant. Given the imprecise stan-

dard laid down by the Harris Court, we might be reluc-

tant to overturn a jury verdict in favor of plaintiff.

Nevertheless, although the comments were sex-based, we

hold that the evidence is insufficient to support a finding

that they were severe or pervasive enough to create an

objectively hostile work environment.? Our conclusion is

not based upon an analysis of the comments as isolated

events. Rather, viewing the totality of the circumstances,

see Harris, 510 U.S. at 23, we find that even when con-

strued in a light most favorable to the plaintiff, the con-

duct does not appear to have been more than “merely

offensive,” id. at 21. While we emphasize that sex-based

comments need not be directed at a plaintiff in order to

constitute conduct violating Title VII, we note that in this

case most of the comments were not directed at plaintiff;

this fact contributes to our conclusion that the conduct

here was not severe enough to create an objectively hos-

tile environment. See cf. Brown v. Hot, Sexy and Safer

Productions, Inc., 68 F.3d 525, 541 (1st Cir.1995) (finding

that plaintiffs’ allegations were not so severe as to create

an objectively hostile educational environment under

3 Indeed, the magistrate judge commented that it

“recall[ed] very few sexual harassment cases tried in this court

or in the case books where the conduct was that innocuous as in

this case.”

App. 11

Title IX, in part because the sexual comments were not

directed at the plaintiffs), cert. denied, 116 S.Ct. 1044

(1996). Although the verbal comments were offensive and

inappropriate, and the record suggests that defendant’s

employees did not always conduct themselves in a pro-

fessional manner, Title VII was “not designed to purge

the workplace of vulgarity,” Baskerville v. Culligan Inter-

nat'l Co., 50 F.3d 428, 430 (7th Cir.1995).

Although the EEOC in its amicus brief urges us to

reject the court’s analysis in Baskerville, we find that case

helpful. In Baskerville, the Seventh Circuit overturned a

jury verdict in favor of the plaintiff because it found that

the facts were insufficient to support a finding of an

objectively hostile work environment. Id. at 430. As in

this case, the plaintiff’s claim was based on verbal con-

duct only.4 The court found that the nine allegedly

* The plaintiff testified that over a period of seven months,

her supervisor: (1) would call her “pretty girl”; (2) once made a

grunting sound when she was wearing a leather skirt; (3) in

response to her comment that it was hot in his office, said “Not

until you stepped your foot in here”; (4) once, when an

announcement “May I have your attention, please,” was

broadcasted over the public address System, said to plaintiff,

“You know what that means, don’t you? All pretty girls run

around naked”; (5) called plaintiff a “tilly,” explaining that he

used that term for all women; (6) once told her that his wife had

told him he had “better clean Up my act” and “better think of

[plaintiff] as Ms. Anita Hill”; (7) when asked why he had left the

office holiday party early, replied that there were so many pretty

girls there that he “didn’t want to lose control, so I thought I’d

better leave”; (8) once replied, after plaintiff commented that his

office was smokey, “Oh really? Were we dancing, like in a

nightclub?”; and (9) once made a movement suggesting

masturbation in response to the plaintiff’s question regarding

App. 12

unlawful incidents, spread over seven months, could not

reasonably be thought to constitute sexual harassment

actionable under Title VII. Id. The court reached this

conclusion not because the alleged harassment was based

upon verbal conduct only, but because the conduct did

not create an objectively hostile work environment.

The EEOC maintains that Baskerville improperly

ignored the impact that offensive comments have in the

context of the workplace, and that we should instead

follow the reasoning of Harris. Yet, we do not believe that

Baskerville is inconsistent with Harris or Meritor. The

Supreme Court in both decisions recognized that there

may be times when offensive comments have an impact

in the workplace, indeed constitute “harassment”, but do

not create an objectively hostile work environment. See

Harris, 510 U.S. at 21; Meritor, 477 U.S. at 67. “[N]ot all

workplace conduct that may be described as ‘harassment’

affects a ‘term, condition, or privilege’ of employment

within the meaning of Title VII.” Meritor, 477 U.S. at 67.

Our understanding of the analysis in Meritor and the

standard set forth in Harris supports our finding that the

record here does not establish an objectively hostile work

environment. Accordingly, the verdict must be reversed.

III. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE.

whether he had bought his wife a Valentine’s Day card.

Baskerville, 50 F.3d at 430.

a

App. 13

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

DEBRA BLACK,

Plaintiff

vs Case No. C-1-94-471

ZARING HOMES, INC.,

Defendant

ORDER

(Filed Dec. 27, 1995)

This case is before the Court on defendant Zaring

Homes, Inc.’s renewed motion for judgment as a matter

of law or, in the alternative, for a partial new trial or

remittitur (Doc. 64), plaintiff Debra Black’s response

(Doc. 65), and defendant’s reply (Doc. 66). Black sued

Zaring Homes alleging sex discrimination and hostile

environment sexual harassment claims pursuant to Title

VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 as amended, 28 U.S.C.

§ 2000e et. seq. and the comparable state statutes, Ohio

Rev. Code § 4112.02(A) et. seq. The jury trial on these

claims resulted in a finding that Zaring Homes did not

discriminate against Black due to her gender when it

discharged her. The jury found, however, that Black was

subjected to sexual harassment, and it awarded her

App. 14

$50,000 in compensatory damages and $200,000 in puni-

tive damages. (Doc. 63). The Court subsequently awarded

Black attorneys’ fees and costs. Id.

Zaring Homes moves for judgment as a matter of law

regarding plaintiff's sexual harassment claim. In the

alternative, it requests a new trial on the sexual harass-

ment claim or a remittitur of compensatory and punitive

damages.

THE STANDARD OF REVIEW

Pursuant to a Rule 50(b) motion for judgment as a

matter of law, the Court may set aside the jury’s verdict

and enter a judgment as a matter of law only if reason-

able minds could come to but one conclusion from the

evidence. Wayne v. Village of Sebring, 36 F.3d 517, 525 (6th

Cir. 1994); Radliff v. Wellington Exempted Village Schools Bd.

of Ed., 820 F.2d 792, 795 (6th Cir. 1987). Reviewing the

evidence as it existed at the close of trial, see Douglass v.

Eaton Corp., 956 F.2d 1339, 1344 (6th Cir. 1992), the court

must construe all evidence in favor of the party prevail-

ing at trial, drawing all reasonable inferences in the pre-

vailing party’s favor. Chappell v. GTE Products Corp., 803

F.2d 261, 265 (6th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S. 919

(1987). The court may not weigh the evidence, pass on the

credibility of witnesses, or substitute its judgment for

that of the jury. Agristor Leasing v. A.O. Smith Harvestore

Products, Inc., 869 F.2d 264, 268 (6th Cir. 1989). If there is

substantial evidence from which the jury could find in

favor of the party against whom the motion is made, the

motion must be denied. Lewis v. City of Irvine, Kentucky,

899 F.2d 451, 454 (6th Cir. 1990).

App. 15

The authority to grant a Rule 59(a) motion for a new

trial is purely within the Court’s discretion. Logan v.

Dayton Hudson Corp., 865 F.2d 789, 790 (6th Cir. 1989). The

bases for granting a new trial include findings that the

verdict was against the clear weight of the evidence,

Hartzler v. Licking Cty. Humane Society, 740 F. Supp. 470,

480 (S.D. Ohio 1990), the jury instructions were mislead-

ing, inadequate, or prejudicial, Fryman v. Federal Crop Ins.

Corp., 936 F.2d 244, 248 (6th Cir. 1991), or attorney mis-

conduct resulted in prejudice. Clarksville-Montgomery

County School System v. U.S. Gypsum Co., 925 F.2d 993,

1002 (6th Cir. 1991).

When ruling on a motion for a new trial because the

verdict is against the weight of the evidence, the court

may set aside the verdict only if it determines that it is

against the clear weight of the evidence. Simpson v. White,

52 F.3d 326 (6th Cir. 1995). “[The court] is not free to

reweigh the evidence and set aside the jury verdict

merely because the jury could have drawn different infer-

ences or conclusions or because [the court] feel[s] that

other results are more reasonable.” Hartzler, 740 F. Supp.

at 780 (quoting Duncan v. Duncan, 377 F.2d 49, 52 (6th Cir.

1967)); U.S. v. L.E. Cooke Co. Inc., 991 F.2d 336, 343 (6th

Cir. 1993).

Rule 59 allows for a remittitur as an alternative to a

new trial only when, after reviewing all evidence in the

light most favorable to the prevailing party, the court is

convinced that the verdict is clearly excessive, resulted

from passion, bias, or prejudice, or is so excessive or

inadequate as to shock the conscience. Farber v. Massillon

Bd. of Ed., 917 F.2d 1391, 1395 (6th Cir. 1990). While the

grant of a remittitur is within the court's discretion, it

App. 16

abuses its discretion in ordering either a remittitur or a

new trial when the award turns upon conflicting evi-

dence and the credibility of witnesses. Hewitt v. B.F. Good-

rich Co., 732 F.2d 1554, 1556 (11th Cir. 1984). See also Cross

v. Thompson, 298 F.2d 186 (6th Cir. 1962). If there is cred-

ible evidence to support the verdict it should not be set

aside. Farber, 917 F.2d at 1395; Werthan Bag Co. v. Agnew,

202 F.2d 119 (6th Cir. 1953). “As a general rule, . . . a jury

verdict will not be set aside or reduced as excessive

unless it is beyond the maximum damages that the jury

reasonably could find to be compensatory for a party’s

loss.” Green v. Francis, 705 F.2d 846, 850 (6th Cir. 1983). See

also In re Lewis, 845 F.2d 624, 635 (6th Cir. 1988). If the trial

court reduces the award, it must offer the prevailing

party a choice between a new trial and the amount of its

remittitur. Brewer v. Uniroyal, Inc., 498 F.2d 973, 976 (6th

Cir. 1974).

ZARING HOMES IS NOT ENTITLED TO

JUDGMENT AS A MATTER OF LAW

Zaring Homes seeks judgment in its favor as a matter

of law because it contends the evidence is not sufficient

to support a finding of hostile environment sexual

harassment. It claims that the alleged wrongful conduct

did not create an environment that either a reasonable

person or plaintiff herself would find hostile or abusive.

It also avers that the punitive damages award should be

set aside because the Court should not have given a

punitive damages charge and because the jury’s award of

punitive damages was unreasonable.

App. 17

Title VII is violated when an employee is subjected to

harassment because of her sex that is sufficiently perva-

sive to alter her employment conditions and create an

abusive or hostile working environment. Harris v. Forklift

Systems, Inc., 114 S. Ct. 367, 370-71 (1993). The harassment

must be severe or pervasive enough to create an environ-

ment that is both objectively hostile or abusive as well as

one that plaintiff herself perceives as hostile or abusive.

Id. at 370; Goldsmith v. City of Canton, 47 F.3d 1168 (6th Cir.

1995). There is no specific test for detecting hostile envi-

ronment sexual harassment. The trier of fact must look at

all the circumstances. Id. at 371. These circumstances

include, but are not limited to: (1) the frequency of the

wrongful conduct; (2) its severity; (3) whether the con-

duct was physically threatening, humiliating or a mere

offensive utterance; (4) whether the conduct unreason-

ably interfered with plaintiff’s work performance; and (5)

the conduct’s effect on the plaintiff’s psychological well-

being. Harris, 114 S. Ct. at 371. The court may consider

the psychological effects on plaintiff even though a tang-

ible psychological injury is not proven. Id. These factors

do not comprise the sole test for sexual harassment; the

jury must evaluate all the circumstances to decide

whether sexual harassment occurred. Id. See also Id. at 372

(Ginsburg, J. concurring) and id. (Scalia, J. concurring).

The mere utterance of an epithet that engenders

offensive feelings in an employee does not sufficiently

affect employment conditions to violate Title VII. Id. at

369-70. However, recovery for hostile environment sexual

harassment can be based on offensive utterances alone.

See Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 1994 WL 792661 (M.D.

Tenn. Nov. 9, 1994); Dillon v. Frank, 952 F.2d 403 (6th Cir.

App. 18

1992); Shope v. Bd. of Supervisors of Louden County, Va., 14

F.3d 596 (4th Cir. 1993). A plaintiff may prove interfer-

ence with her work performance by showing that a rea-

sonable person subjected to the conduct in question, as

well as the plaintiff herself, would find that it altered her

working conditions by making it more difficult to per-

form her job. Harris, 114 S.Ct. at 372 (Ginsburg, J. concur-

ring) (referring to Davis v. Monsanto Chemical Co., 858 F.2d

345, 349 (6th Cir. 1988)).

In the instant case, the jury found that Zaring Homes’

discharge of Black was not the result of gender discrimi-

nation. This finding indicates the jury’s determination

that Zaring Homes’ Chief Executive Officer Allen G. Zar-

ing, did not engage in discriminatory conduct. Nor did

Black establish that Allen G. Zaring engaged in sexual

harassment.! She claimed that other Zaring Homes per-

sonnel made offensive utterances to her during a four

month period, thus creating a hostile working environ-

ment. She alleged that Land Acquisitions Director Jeff

Hebeler (Black’s immediate supervisor), General Counsel

1 The only incident Black related involving Allen Zaring

took place when Black and General Counsel Grigsby arrived

together at a company employee’s farewell party. Allen Zaring

asked them to sit on either side of his chair and said, “I love to

be surrounded by beautiful women.” (Doc. 50, Tr. 276). Black

walked over and stood on one side of Zaring while Grigsby

stood on the other. Black was not offended by the compliment,

but said she was offended by the reaction of her female co-

workers. She believed that it gave them the impression that she

“was his little play toy” and raised questions concerning the

reasons she had been hired. (Doc. 50, Tr. p. 277). We find this

isolated incident did not constitute, nor did it contribute to a

sexually hostile and abusive environment.

App. 19

Michelle Grigsby, and President Ron Benkert either par-

ticipated in or were aware of such conduct and did noth-

ing to prevent it. To decide the pending motions, we must

assume that the jury found Black’s version of the events

regarding sexual harassment credible. Chappell, 803 F.2d

at 265, Hartzler, 740 F. Supp. at 780.

The first incident occurred at a land acquisition meet-

ing. The Estate Division Product Manager, Tim Zaring,

reached across the table in front of Black for a donut. He

said to her while wiggling his eyebrows, “nothing I like

more in the morning than sticky buns.” (Tr. pp. 255-57).

Black looked down and said, “Tim, cut it out.” (Id.). He

then leaned toward Rick Iannitti and the two men started

whispering and laughing (Id.).

Another incident occurred at a land acquisition meet-

ing involving the purchase of a property near a “Hooters”

restaurant. Employees Tim Zaring and Rick Iannitti sug-

gested names for the Property such as “Hootersville,”

“Titsville,” and “Twin Peaks.” (Id. 259-60). Black was

present at this meeting. These suggestions were met with

much laughter by all the men at the meeting, and the

meeting was interrupted for a time until the laughter

ceased. (Id., 260-61).

The next incident arose at a land acquisition meeting

involving a prospective land seller named Busam. The

men at the meeting broke into uncontrollable laughter at

the name, which was pronounced “bosom.” (Id., Pp. 268).

Black was present at this meeting. This incident precipi-

tated a reference to the Hooters restaurant discussion and

triggered more laughter among the men at the meeting.

Both of these discussions were revisited at subsequent

App. 20

meetings whenever the name Busam was mentioned and

the men at the meetings had similar reactions each time.

(Id. 268-69). Black had to cease using the client’s name to

avoid outbursts at other meetings. (Id. 169-70).

One incident occurred at a land acquisition meeting

involving a discussion of certain property Zaring Homes

was considering purchasing. (Id., 264). When Black asked

where the property was located, President Ron Benkert

described its location as “on old 74 close to the gun and

ammo (sic) place. There’s a biker bar (sic) right next door

to it.” (Id., 265). Then Benkert asked Black, “[s]ay, weren’t

you there Saturday night dancing on the tables?” (Id.).

Benkert’s question was met with laughter from those at

the meeting. (Id.). Black looked down and responded,

“not hardly, Ron.” (Id., 266).

Another incident took place when Black was sitting

next to her supervisor, Jeff Hebeler, waiting for the start

of a land acquisition meeting. (Id., 271). An assistant

approached Hebeler to discuss a problem regarding hav-

ing a permit signed. Black overheard Hebeler tell his

assistant, “[jJust get the broad to sign it.” (Id.). Black

immediately looked at Hebeler and he shrugged his

shoulders. Black shook her head and put it down. (Id.,

271-72).

An incident happened when Black approached

Hebeler to discuss her performance and the company’s

salary bonus plan. (Id., 273). Black asked Hebeler

whether she would receive a salary bonus for property

she found over her minimum and he responded, “[y]lou

are paid great money for a woman. Your job is to find

TL —————————eeeeee

App. 21

ground. . . . Don’t worry about your income. You just do

what I tell you and get your job done.” (Id., 274).

Zaring Homes argues that the aforesaid remarks,

uttered over a four month period, were neither offensive

nor sufficiently pervasive to establish sexual harassment.

It contends that the statements were nothing more than

“remarks of a schoolboy kind” (Doc. 64, p. 12), and

“spontaneous jokes precipitated by circumstance.” (Id.,

5). It argues that “there is no workplace in the world

where a joke [regarding women’s breasts] inspired by

[the] restaurant [Hooters] name and ambience would not

have occurred in the context of suggesting a name for a

potential . . . neighborhood. . . . ” (Id.). It claims that

requiring its employees not to interrupt a meeting with

uncontrollable laughter at the name Busam does not pro-

mote Title VII's goals of equal opportunity in the work-

place. (Id.).

Zaring Homes contends that Tim Zaring’s comment

in Black’s presence, “there’s nothing I like more in the

morning than sticky buns,” was merely “an off-the-cuff

quip inspired by his liking for the . . . pastries served at

the meeting.” (Id., p. 5). It argues that because General

Counsel Michelle Grigsby attended the land acquisition

meetings and was not embarrassed or uncomfortable,

these comments cannot be objectively construed as offen-

sive. It also argues that plaintiff failed to prove she per-

sonally found these incidents to be abusive or hostile. It

contends that when President Benkert asked Black if she

danced on the table tops at a “biker bar,” she was

offended because she attributed an unintended negative

implication to the statement. It asserts that Hebeler’s

remark about plaintiff making good money for a woman

App. 22

was generated by his shock and surprise that Black

would raise salary issues so soon after being hired.

While Zaring Homes views each incident separately

and characterizes each as harmless, the jury properly

viewed the circumstances collectively. The evidence

revealed an atmosphere of a grade school level fascina-

tion for women’s body parts combined within denigrat-

ing comments about women. There was no evidence of

similar conduct regarding males. The jury found, and the

Court agrees, that this conduct is not appropriate in the

workplace. The jury found these remarks to be directed to

either Debra Black or to women in general in Black’s

presence, and they found them offensive. They also found

that Black personally found them offensive. The Court

agrees with these findings.

Zaring Homes relies on the reactions of two of its

female management members, General Counsel Grigsby

and Operations Vice President Anna McCarthy, who were

not offended by such conduct. It claims that if these two

women were not offended, the conduct could not consti-

tute sexual harassment. There is evidence, however, that

McCarthy engaged in conduct offensive to women with

Grigsby’s approval. During the time Black was employed

by Zaring Homes, McCarthy drafted a chart calendaring

the menstrual cycles of female employees, and she posted

the chart on Rick Iannitti’s office door. Grigsby was

aware of the chart and its posting but took no action to

have it removed. Apparently, the two women found the

chart to be humorous.

Zaring Homes claims that because McCarthy and

Grigsby thought the chart was amusing, the incident did

App. 23 |

not contribute to creating an abusive environment. The

jury, however, apparently had no problem in finding this

incident to be offensive to a reasonable employee. The

Court agrees with the jury’s determination. This evidence

was admitted over objection as proof of management's

disregard of sexually harassing conduct. The fact that the

conduct was perpetrated and condoned by two female

members of upper management does not bar recovery.

Women can engage in sexual harassment toward other

women. As managers responsible for eliminating such

conduct, they can contribute toward an atmosphere that

is abusive to women by ignoring their responsibility and

condoning such conduct. E.E.O.C. v. Hacienda Hotel, 881

F.2d 1504, 1515 n. 8 (9th Cir. 1989); Baskerville v. Culligan

Int'l Co., 50 F.3d 428, 431 (7th Cir. 1995); see also Dillon,

1992 WL 5436, at *7.

There is substantial evidence from which a reason-

able person could find that the challenged conduct was

humiliating and offensive to women. There was no evi-

dence of similar comments made about men. The jury

reasonably concluded that the offending conduct was

directed at Black because of her gender. The more diffi-

cult question is whether this conduct was sufficiently

offensive and occurred often enough to create an objec-

tively and subjectively hostile and abusive working envi-

ronment.

Black testified she personally found the conduct in

question to be abusive. She was employed by defendant

for four months. Given the short duration of her employ-

ment, the frequency and severity of the remarks was not

insignificant. Black testified that she was devastated by

the comments about the property near Hooters restaurant

App. 24

(Tr. p. 260), and felt crushed when President Ron Benkert

asked her if she danced on table tops in a “biker bar.”

(Id., 265). She also testified that she was deeply upset by

Hebeler’s statement that she was “paid good money for a

woman.” (Id., 274). She testified that the incidents

adversely affected her work performance (id., 260-61,

270), and psychological well-being (id., 280, 1452-54).

Black received psychological treatment for adjustment

disorder with anxiety and depression. (Id., 905). Dr.

Baum, her psychologist, testified that the incidents in

question, which were discussed as part of Black’s treat-

ment, contributed to her stress and anxiety. (Id., 912). The

Court must assume that the jury found this testimony

credible. Chappell, 803 F.2d at 265; Hartzler, 740 F. Supp. at

780.

The jury comprised five women and three men

whose ages ranged from thirty-one to fifty-six years. The

jurors listed their occupations as pipefitter, homemaker,

printer, payroll supervisor, purchasing agent, health care

worker, truck driver, and surgical secretary. These eight

people were properly instructed on hostile environment

sexual harassment and very carefully considered the facts

necessary to render a decision on this difficult issue. They

clearly believed that there existed an atmosphere hostile

and abusive to women. They returned their verdict with a

notation at the bottom of the verdict form recommending

that Zaring Homes employees “undergo diversity /sexual

harassment training.”?

2 The Court was notified following trial that Zaring Homes

voluntarily underwent a sensitivity training program and

successfully completed it.

App. 25

In deciding the instant motions, the Court may not

weigh the evidence, pass on witness credibility, or substi-

tute its judgment for that of the jury. Construing all the

evidence and drawing all reasonable inferences in plain-

tiff’s favor, there is sufficient evidence to support the

jury’s verdict. For the foregoing reasons, defendant’s

motion for judgment as a matter of law on plaintiff’s

hostile environment sexual harassment claim will be

denied.

Zaring Homes’ contention that the Court should not

have instructed the jury on punitive damages is discussed

infra, pp. 13-16.

ZARING HOMES IS NOT ENTITLED

TO A NEW TRIAL

Zaring Homes contends that the Court should grant a

new trial on plaintiff’s hostile environment sexual harass-

ment claim because: (1) the clear weight of the evidence

fails to establish a hostile environment; (2) testimony was

both improperly excluded and improperly admitted; (3)

the jury was improperly instructed on sexual harassment;

(4) the court should not have allowed the jury to consider

punitive damages; (5) the punitive and compensatory

damage awards are excessive; and, (6) the jury was

unfairly influenced by plaintiff counsel’s appeals to pas-

sion and prejudice. In the alternative, it argues the Court

should reduce the amount of the compensatory and puni-

tive damage awards.

For the reasons stated supra, pp. 4-10, the Court finds

that the jury’s verdict is not against the clear weight of

the evidence. Reasonable jurors could find that the verbal

App. 26

conduct was hostile and abusive toward women in gen-

eral and Black in particular and constituted harassment

based on sex. Although it is a closer question, reasonable

jurors could also find that such conduct sufficiently per-

meated Black’s work environment to alter her employ-

ment conditions and make it more difficult for her to

perform her job. The Court may not grant a new trial

merely because different conclusions or inferences can be

drawn based on the evidence presented or because it

believes that other conclusions are more reasonable. The

five female and three male jurors were properly

instructed, and, pursuant to the dictates of Harris, there is

no reason to substitute a judge’s opinion for theirs.

The Court admitted testimony regarding incidents

not directly involving plaintiff that showed the com-

pany’s tolerance of sexual harassment during pertinent

periods. Testimony concerning the menstrual chart post-

ing, for example, was relevant because Zaring Homes’

Operations Vice President and General Counsel were

aware of the incident, failed to act upon it, and in effect

condoned it. An error in admitting or excluding evidence

may not be grounds for granting a new trial unless the

ruling was “inconsistent with substantial justice,” TCP

Industries, Inc. v. Uniroyal, Inc., 661 F.2d 542, 550 (6th Cir.

1981); or, in the case of excluded evidence, the evidence

would have caused a different outcome, Nida v. Plant

Protection Ass'n Nat'l, 7 F.3d 522, 527 (6th Cir. 1993). The

Court carefully considered its evidentiary rulings, heard

challenged evidence outside the jury’s presence, heard

arguments on each issue, and evaluated all relevant fac-

tors before ruling. The Court admitted evidence of each

party and rejected evidence of each party evenhandedly.

U

App. 27

We see no bases to revisit each ruling in detail herein. The

rulings did not improperly prejudice Zaring Homes.

Zaring Homes contends that the Court should have

instructed the jury that among the circumstances they

may consider were “the frequency of the discriminatory

conduct; its severity; and whether it is physically threaten-

ing or humiliating or a mere offensive utterance.” The Court

instructed the jury that “[sJexual harassment may include

verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature, or abusive

or humiliating remarks based on Plaintiff’s sex.” (Tr. p.

2027). The Court also instructed the jury that it may

consider the frequency of the harassing conduct and its

severity, whether it unreasonably interfered with Plain-

tiff’s work performance, and whether harassing com-

ments were made by persons in a higher management

position. (Id., 2028).

A party is not entitled to a new trial unless the jury

instructions taken as a whole are misleading or give the

jury an inadequate understanding of the law. Bowman v.

Koch Transfer Co., 862 F.2d 1257, 1263 (6th Cir. 1988); Beard

v. Norwegian Caribbean Lines, 900 F.2d 71, 72-73 (6th Cir.

1990). Because the challenged conduct consisted entirely

of offensive utterances, the requested instruction would

have misled the jury by suggesting that a sexual harass-

ment claim could not be based upon—“mere” offensive

utterances. The trier of fact must look at all the circum-

stances to decide whether a working environment is hos-

tile or abusive. There is no definitive test. The jury must

consider a variety of factors. See Harris, 114 S. Ct. at 371.

The Court’s hostile environment sexual harassment

App. 28

instruction informed the jury of the relevant consider-

ations and provided them with a proper basis in law for

reaching a decision. Beard, 900 F.2d at 72.

Zaring Homes’ contention that the Court should not

have instructed the jury on punitive damages is discussed

infra, pp. 13-16.

Zaring Homes contends that the compensatory and

punitive damages awards are excessive and moves this

Court for a new trial, or in the alternative, for a remit-

titur. The Court properly instructed the jury that it must

determine what damages, if any, will be awarded to

compensate plaintiff and that there is no exact standard

for fixing the compensation awarded for the mental

aspect of injury. The Court also instructed the jury that

the punitive damages to be awarded, if any, must be

determined based on all the evidence and that they may

consider defendant’s financial resources in deciding the

amount. Redgers v. Fisher Body Division, GM Corp., 739

F.2d 1102, 1109 (6th Cir. 1984).

Excessiveness of a compensatory or punitive damage

award is determined based upon “[w]Jhether [it] is so

high as to shock the judicial conscience and constitute a

denial of justice.” Id. Neither damage award shocks the

conscience. In 1994, Zaring Homes’ assets totaled over

forty million dollars and its earnings were over six mil-

lion dollars. (Tr. p. 2102). Although the punitive damage

award is four times the amount of compensatory dam-

ages, it appears the jury felt this was the minimum

amount necessary to get the attention of a company with

such assets and earnings. The jury’s written comment on

the verdict indicates that, in addition to compensating the

App. 29

plaintiff, they wished to punish the defendant sufficiently

to attract its attention to the need for sensitivity training.

The Court abuses its discretion by granting a new trial or

reducing an award when, as here, the verdict is based on

witness credibility and conflicting evidence. See Hewitt,

732 F.2d at 1556. For the foregoing reasons, the award

amounts will not be reduced.

Zaring Homes contends that plaintiff’s counsel’s con-

duct and alleged appeals to passion and prejudice

unfairly influenced the jury and prejudiced the defen-

dant, thereby requiring a new trial. To avoid prejudice to

opposing counsel, the trial judge may interrupt counsel

during argument and instruct the jury to disregard preju-

dicial statements. This Court does not hesitate to do so

when necessary. The Court carefully scrutinized counsel's

argument at the time of trial and did not find that the

argument unfairly prejudiced defendant. The jury’s ver-

dict in Zaring Homes’ favor regarding Black’s discrimina-

tory discharge claim shows that the jury was not unduly

influenced by plaintiff’s counsel’s remarks.

The Court has reviewed the record as a whole and

carefully considered defendant’s arguments in support of

its motion for a new trial. We find the verdict was not

against the clear weight of the evidence, the jury instruc-

tions were not misleading, inadequate or prejudicial, and

there was no prejudicial attorney misconduct. Nor is the

verdict so excessive as to shock the conscience. Therefore,

the motion for a new trial, or, in the alternative, for

remittitur will be denied.

App. 30

THE JURY’S PUNITIVE DAMAGES AWARD

WILL NOT BE SET ASIDE

Zaring Homes contends that the jury should not have

been instructed on punitive damages and that the evi-

dence was not sufficient to support such an award. It |

moves the Court to set aside the punitive damages |

award. |

The 1991 Civil Right [sic] Act amended Title VII to

permit recovery of punitive damages where a plaintiff

proves by a preponderance of the evidence that a defen-

dant engaged in a discriminatory practice with malice or

with reckless indifference to her federally protected

rights. 42 U.S.C. § 1981a. See also Hennessy v. Penril

Datacomm Networks Inc., 1995 WL 671574, *6-7 (7th Cir.

Nov. 13, 1995). A punitive damages award must be sup-

ported by the record and cannot constitute a windfall to

the prevailing party. Id. at *7. See also Nicks v. Missouri, 67

F.3d 699 (8th Cir. 1995); Turic v. Holland Hospitality, Inc.,

849 F. Supp. 544 (W.D. Mich. 1994). A punitive damages

award must bear a reasonable relationship to the amount

of compensatory damages, but courts should not depend

on a fixed mathematical formula in determining what is

reasonable. E.E.O.C. v. Farmer Bros. Co., 31 F.3d 891, 903

(9th Cir. 1994). The jury may consider defendant's finan-

cial resources in fixing an amount. Rodgers v. Fisher Body

Division, GM Corp., 739 F.2d 1102, 1109 (6th Cir. 1984). To

prevent excessive awards, Congress limited the total

punitive and compensatory damages available based on

the employer’s size. See 42 U.S.C. § 1981a(b)(3).

|

ansnaiieiiaiaasmaiaciiitiel

App. 31

Under Ohio law, plaintiff may recover punitive dam-

ages only where defendant's actions or omissions demon-

strate malice, egregious fraud, oppression, or insult or

where defendant as principal or master ratified or partici-

pated in such actions or omissions. Ohio Rev. Code

§ 2315.21(c). See also Delaney v. Skyline Lodge Inc., 95 Ohio

App. 3d 264, 274, 642 N.E.2d 395, 402 (1994). Malice is

defined as (1) that state of mind under which conduct is

characterized by hatred, ill-will, or spirit of revenge, or

(2) a conscious disregard for the rights and safety of

others that has great probability of causing substantial

harm. Preston v. Murty, 32 Ohio St. 3d 334, 336, 512

N.E.2d 1174, 1176 (1987).

A punitive damages award supported by substantial

evidence should not be set aside. Gutzwiller v. Fenick, 860

F.2d 1317, 1329 (6th Cir. 1988). There is little guidance in

this Circuit as to the facts necessary to support a punitive

damages award in a hostile environment sexual harass-

ment case; however, the decision whether to award puni-

tive damages is clearly within the jury’s discretion “as it

requires the type of moral judgment that lay persons

make every day.” Gutzwiller, 860 F.2d at 1329. “The deci-

sions of the trier of fact as to deliberate intent and as to

credibility in cases based upon allegations of discrimina-

tion are not to be set aside unless clearly erroneous. .. . ”

Erebia v. Chrysler Plastic Products Corp., Nos. 87-3297 and

87-3298, 1988 WL 125356 at *4.

Before instructing the jury, the Court held a jury

charge conference during which it carefully considered

the parties’ arguments. Defense counsel did not request

the Court to omit a punitive damages instruction or to

limit the punitive damages instruction to discriminatory

App. 32

discharge claim. Counsel also failed to object to the

instruction before the jury retired. Therefore, the giving

of the instruction cannot be assigned as error. Fed. R. Civ.

P. Si.

The Court instructed the jury that: “[p]Junitive dam-

ages may be awarded if you find that Plaintiff has shown

by a preponderance of the evidence that Defendant's

conduct involved reckless or callous indifference to Plain-

tiff’s legal rights. In the alternative, you may award puni-

tive damages if you find that Plaintiff has shown by a

preponderance of the evidence that Defendant’s conduct

was characterized by hatred, ill will, evil motive or intent,

or spirit of revenge.” (Tr. p. 2037). The instructions prop-

erly stated that the jury had discretion to award punitive

damages to punish the defendant and to deter similar

future conduct. See Rodgers, 739 F.2d at 1109. The question

of whether a defendant’s conduct justifies a punitive

damages award is well within the province of the jury.

Gutzwiller, 860 F.2d at 1329.

The propriety of a punitive damages award in this

case is a close question, because Black did not complain

about much of the offensive conduct to Zaring Homes’

management. The only evidence Black introduced on this

point was a conversation she had with General Counsel

Michelle Grigsby in the women’s restroom while Grigsby

was brushing her hair. The conversation took place after a

land acquisition meeting where an offensive reference to

the Hooters restaurant was made:

Black: Michelle, I can’t stand this in the

land meeting. This is crazy. It’s got-

ten out of hand. Has it always been

like this?

ooo

App. 33

Grigsby: Well, that’s just the way it is.

Black: What can we do about it?

Grigsby: That’s the way they are, Debbie.

There is nothing you can do about

it.

Black: Except that it takes up so much

time. It doesn’t make sense to spend

quality business time to get our

business done for them to go off on

these little tangents and little

schoolboy activities laughing and

joking. It takes up way too much

time, and we could get a lot more

done if they would stick to the busi-

ness at hand.

Grigsby: That's the way it is. That’s the way

they are, and you can’t change it.

Black: I don’t like it.

Grigsby: I don’t like it, either, but there is

nothing we can do.

(Tr. pp. 281-82).5

Black concedes that Zaring Homes had a sexual

harassment policy that provided for reporting such inci-

dents, but she claims she never received it. Doc. 65, p. 8.

Other than the informal discussion with Grigsby in the

ladies’ restroom, Black never complained about sexual

harassment to management officials.

3 Grigsby denied this conversation took place. For the

purposes of this motion, we must assume the jury credited

Black’s version.

App. 34

The following evidence, however, supports the jury’s

punitive damage award. In addition to Grigsby’s knowl-

edge of Black’s informal complaint about conduct at the

land acquisition meetings, Grigsby and other manage-

ment officials were present at these meetings where

offensive conduct toward Black took place. Company

President Benkert himself engaged in such conduct by

referring to Black dancing on tables at a “biker bar,” a

humiliating remark. The General Counsel was aware of

the menstrual chart incident, which did not involve

Black, and failed to take action. During the trial itself, in

the presence of the jury, Zaring Homes officials and coun-

sel took the position that there was nothing wrong with

such conduct. They considered it harmless and normal in

a business setting. The jury could reasonably have deter-

mined that these circumstances constituted callous and

reckless disregard for women’s rights in general and

Black’s rights in particular.

In deciding the motions regarding punitive damages,

the Court may not substitute its interpretation for that of

the jury. L.E. Cooke Co., 991 F.2d at 343; Agristor Leasing,

869 F.2d at 268. Although different inferences can be

drawn from the evidence presented, it cannot be said that

the jury’s award of punitive damages flowing from hos-

tile environment sexual harassment. was clearly erro-

neous. See Erebia, 1988 WL 125356.

App. 35

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED THAT:

1) Defendant’s renewed motion for judgment as a

matter of law is DENIED;

2) Defendant’s motion for a partial .-w trial is

DENIED; and,

3) Defendant’s motion for remittitur of compensa-

tory and punitive damages is DENIED.

Date: 12-27-95

/s/ Robert A. Steinberg

Robert A. Steinberg

United States Magistrate

Judge

App. 36

No. 96-3118

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

DEBRA BLACK,

Plaintiff-Appellee, ORDER

v.

ZARING HOMES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellant.

(Filed

Apr. 25, 1997)

ee

BEFORE: KENNEDY and BATCHELDER, Circuit Judges;

and EDGAR,’ District Judge.

The court having received a petition for rehearing en

banc, and the petition having been circulated not only to the

original panel members but also to all other active judges of

this court, and no judge of this court having requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for

rehearing has been referred to the original panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehear-

ing and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were

fully considered upon the original submission and decision

of the case. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF

THE COURT

/s/ Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

“Hon. R. Allan Edgar, United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Ternessee, sitting by designation.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.