Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Zimomra v. Alamo Rent-A-Car, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

©) no9% «183 Jul 211997

OrFiuce UF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

oe

October Term, 1996

DAVID CHARLES ZIMOMRA, On Behalf Of Himself And All

Others Similarly Situated,

Petitioner,

vs.

ALAMO RENT-A-CAR, INC., AVIS, INC., BUDGET RENT

A CAR CORPORATION, DOLLAR RENT-A-CAR SYSTEMS,

INC., HERTZ CORPORATION, NATIONAL CAR RENTAL

SYSTEM, INC., THRIFTY RENT-A-CAR SYSTEMS, INC.,

VALUE RENT-A-CAR, INC., ENTERPRISE LEASING CO.

OF DENVER, NATIONAL CAR RENTAL, RESORT RENT-

A-CAR, INC., STEAMBOAT SPRINGS RENTAL AND

LEASING, INC., TRYND, INC., TIARA ENTERPRISES,

INC.,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID BOIES GERALD BADER

BOIES & McINNIS Counsel of Record

5408 Port Royal Road STEVEN M. FEDER

Springfield, Virginia22151 BADER, VILLANUEVA & FEDER

(703) 764-8700 1660 Wynkoop Street

Suite 1100

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 534-1700

Attorneys for Petitioner

utz

eat (800) 3 APPEAL « (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21 L

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Is the enactment of a municipal ordinance adopting a

price-fixing agreement among private competitors sufficient in

and of itself to confer antitrust immunity on private parties under

the state action immunity doctrine?

2. Is a private party seeking immunity for price-fixing under

the state action doctrine required to demonstrate that the state

has clearly contemplated and intended the displacement of price

competition in the particular market in which the price-fixing

occurred?

3. Does the Noerr-Pennington doctrine immunize a price-

fixing agreement among private parties when those private

parties would have carried out the price-fixing agreement

irrespective of whether the municipal ordinance they were

lobbying for was ultimately enacted?

4. Should courts apply both the clear articulation and active

supervision prongs of the state action doctrine to a municipal

ordinance which regulates private parties and purports to

immunize a private price-fixing agreement?

ul

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented ....ccccccccccscsccscccccsas i

Tabls of Caameaas ... ..<020008an eee een cece cess ii

Table of Citations ...0:00<4ssnueawen ene eeeas ili

Opes Delete .» ...++sskshen eae ees l

Statement Of JurisGicMOW 2c cccessedcnssesecvsess l

Statutory Provisions Involved ..................08. l

Statement of the Case «ssssdeuvuaanseeaenes veins l

A. Background of the Case ......ciccccecseess 2

B. The Proceedings Belew .....cccsvcsvsscce. 4

C. Hesential POs «6 sccckaceseukavay wears ece 5

Reasons for Granting the Writ .......cccsccccscees 6

I. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The

Opinion Below Conflicts With This Court’s Prior

Rulings On The Importance Of Both Prongs Of

The State Action Immunity Test. ............ 6

Il. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The

Opinion Below Fundamentally Misinterprets This

Court’s Holding In Town of Hallie. .......... 9

il

Contents

Page

III. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The

Opinion Below Conflicts With This Court’s Most

Recent State Action Immunity Decision. ..... 13

IV. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The

Opinion Below Conflicts With This Court’s Prior

Rulings On The “Clear Articulation And

Affirmative Expression” Prong Of The State

I SE, vctevecveesiaeendses 15

VY. The Petition Should Be Granted Because The

Opinion Below Mistakenly Applies The Noerr-

Pennington Doctrine To This Case. .......... 20

a wb ene ee-e 21

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

California Retail Liquor Dealers Assn. v. Midcal

Aluminum, Inc., 445 U.S. 97 (1980) ...9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14

City of Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 499

ce ease abevevedess €eéseees 15

City of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 435

ee 6, 7, 8, 15

FTC v. Ticor Title Insurance Co., 504 U.S. 621 (1992)

ee ibe eeeeesee 7, 13, 14, 19, 22

iv

Contents

Page

Hoover v. Ronwin, 466 U.S. 558 (1984) ............ 8

Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943) .............. 2

Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94 (1988) .............. 14

Southern Motor Carriers Rate Conference, Inc. v. United

States, 471 U.S. 48 (1985) ........ cece 10, 11, 12, 13

Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S 34 (1985)

Pe Oye ren PE eee ee 8,9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14

Statutes Cited:

ee a SEED ode c deck eeeuneekseduewn et l

Colorado Revised Statutes:

FS Sf Ere TT errr rr ete ere 1,18

a EE he F235. 0s 4b de Cano 4s eA haan 18

PEON G97 4) bikGuas ah 0ta rake OSG Ee eee 19

ey es Ss ere 4 ah eo enka eueeeks |

jp | Perr ere er reer eer rere try Tries 15

EE 0.4 5c ho teh ener sou takine eae e 16

DE 45:1 66 Kn kk HI a oxcawadeleneresias 16

ere errr err rer ee 1, 16

Bt, ORT ETET CUTE TOOT TET CTE ere 16, 17

owed at ell

Contents

Rule Cited:

Pam, Bh. Gat: Oe Cee nv dé haeendeae esa

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit Filed April 22, 1997 .

Appendix B — Order of the United States District Court

for the District of Colorado Filed February 23, 1996

Appendix C — Excerpts of Ordinance 863, Series 1993,

City and County of Denver, Colorado ............

Appendix D — Excerpts from Colorado Revised Statutes

§§ 29-3-101, et seg. (County and Municipality

Development Revenue Bonds) ..................

Appendix E — Excerpts from Colorado Revised Statutes

§§ 41-3-101, et seg. and 41-4-101, et seg. (Public

PINES. ..cs-a.'k a hws danse mika caeeeee

Page

la

27a

4la

55a

65a

l

Petitioner David Charles Zimomra respectfully requests that

a writ of certiorary be issued to review the judgement of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Tenth

Circuit is reported at Zimomra v. Alamo Rent-A-Car, Inc., 111 F.3d

1495 (10th Cir. 1997) (App. A). The opinion of the United States

District Court for the District of Colorado in Zimomra v. Alamo

Rent-A-Car, Inc., No. 94-S-2148 (D.Colo. Feb. 23, 1996) is

unpublished (App. B).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgement of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit was entered on April 22, 1997.

The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Ordinance No. 863 Series 1993, City and County of Denver,

Colorado (App. C);

Colorado Revised Statutes §§ 29-3-101, et seg. (App. D);

Colorado Revised Statutes §§ 41-3-101, et seg. (App. E);

Colorado Revised Statutes §§ 41-4-101, et seq. (App. E).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The fundamental issue in this petition is whether a private

antitrust defendant must satisfy both prongs of the state action

2

immunity test as established by this Court in Parker v. Brown, 317

U.S. 341 (1943), and its progeny. This issue arises in the context

of a Motion to Dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6) filed by

defendants, granted by the United States District Court for the

District of Colorado (“District Court”) prior to the taking of any

discovery, and affirmed by the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit (“Court of Appeals”).

A. Background of the Case

The material facts in this case are straightforward and, for

purposes of this petition, uncontroverted.

In the late 1980’s, the City of Denver decided to replace

Stapleton International Airport (“Stapleton”) with the larger Denver

International Airport (“DIA”). Faced with the prospect of having

to pay for new facilities at DIA, the defendant rental car companies

met privately among themselves, exchanged pricing and other

business information, and discussed ways to finance their new

facilities. As a result of these meetings, and to avoid competing

with each other over how much of the cost of their new facilities

would be passed on to their customers, the defendants agreed among

themselves to add a uniform $2.98 per day surcharge to each of

their respective customers’ bills. Neither the City of Denver nor

the State of Colorado participated in, or even was aware of, these

discussions or the resulting agreement to add the $2.98 per day

surcharge. '

After having been advised by counsel that the agreement they

had entered into was a per se violation of the Sherman Antitrust

1. Indeed, officials of the City of Denver have repeatedly, uniformly,

and unequivocally stated, both before and after passage of Denver Ordinance

863, that the surcharge was the result of a private, voluntary agreement among

the defendants. Recognizing the obvious antitrust implications of defendants’

price fixing agreement, the City insisted upon, and ultimately obtained,

complete indemnity by the defendants for all costs and liabilities, including

attorney fees, in connection with any antitrust claims relating to the Ordinance.

3

Act, the defendants then sought, and ultimately obtained, passage

of Denver Ordinance 863 (the “Ordinance”) in an effort to

retroactively immunize their anticompetitive conduct, including

their agreement to impose the uniform surcharge on their customers.

The Ordinance was drafted by defendants and their counsel and

set the initial amount of the surcharge at the exact amount that the

defendants had privately agreed among themselves to charge. Prior

to the enactment of the Ordinance, the City of Denver never

conducted any study, performed any analysis, or made any finding

relating to the reasonableness of the surcharge or its amount.

Indeed, other than enacting the Ordinance, the City of Denver did

absolutely nothing to actively supervise defendants’ conduct either

before or after the Ordinance went into effect, but instead merely

passively adopted the private price fixing arrangement previously

entered into by the defendants.

Though the Ordinance contains a provision by which future

changes in the amount of the surcharge are determined, the City of

Denver has absolutely no power or authority under the Ordinance

to change the amount of the surcharge no matter how high or

unreasonable it may become. Rather, the defendants themselves

have exercised, and continue to exercise, control over the amount

of the surcharge in a number of direct and indirect ways. First, of

course, the initial amount of the surcharge was determined entirely

by a private agreement among the defendants without any oversight

or control by the City of Denver. Second, the ultimate power to

change the amount of the surcharge rests in the hands of a consultant

(App. C at 50a-52a) chosen by the defendants themselves and who

reports to a managing committee (App. C at 45a-46a) consisting

entirely of the defendants? (no City of Denver official even has the

2. This managing committee is granted broad authority under the

ordinance in addition to the power oversee the consultant, including the power

to: (a) direct the investment of the proceeds of the surcharge; (b) review

“confidential” pricing and other business information of competing

defendants; (c) oversee the expenditure of the $65,000,000 in bond proceeds;

(d) replace or substitute members of the committee; and (e) retain legal

counsel, financial consultants, and other service providers.]

4

authority under the Ordinance to attend, let alone actively participate

in, the meetings of this managing committee). Third, the guidelines

used by defendants’ consultant to adjust the amount of the surcharge

include a provision for “Administrative Expenses” (App. C at 41a-

43a) over which the defendants have broad discretion.’ By

increasing the amount of “Administrative Expenses” incurred (such

as by shifting otherwise ordinary business expenses into the

Administrative Expense accounts), defendants can trigger an

increase in the amount of the surcharge, again without any

supervision or control by the City of Denver. (App. C at 50a). Fourth,

the consultant is required by the Ordinance to consult with the

defendant-controlled managing committee before making a

proposal concerning any changes to the amount of the surcharge.

(App. C at 51a). The consultant is also required under the Ordinance

to “tak[e] into account as deemed appropriate” any objections that

any of the defendants have to any changes in the amount of the

surcharge. (App. C at 50a-52a).

B. The Proceedings Below

In July 1994, petitioner David C. Zimomra filed suit in the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia

(the “Virginia Court”) against eight rental car companies operating

at Stapleton Airport for damages and injunctive relief under the

Sherman Antitrust Act and various state causes of action. The

Virginia Court transferred the case to the United States District

Court for the District of Colorado (the “Colorado District Court’)

in September 1994. In November 1994, petitioner filed a

substantially similar complaint against six additional rental car

3. The defendants’ manipulation of this Administrative Expense

provision is significant. Since 1993, at least $5,000,000 (and possibly much

more) in proceeds from the surcharge have been spent on Administrative

Expenses. Moreover, because the definition of Administrative Expenses under

the Ordinance is so broad, defendants can convert what would otherwise be

ordinary business expenses into costs paid directly by their customers through

the imposition of the surcharge.

5

companies and the Colorado District Court consolidated both

actions. Concluding that defendants’ conduct was immune from

antitrust scrutiny under the state action doctrine, the Colorado

District Court dismissed plaintiff’s complaints pursuant to Fed. R.

Civ. P. 12(b)(6) against all but one of the defendants in February

1996 and against the remaining defendant in April 1996. The

Colorado District Court did not permit any discovery, hold an

evidentiary hearing, or permit oral argument prior to dismissing

the case. Petitioner timely filed an appeal to the United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit. The parties submitted their

respective appellate briefs in the latter part of 1996 and oral

argument was made in March 1997. The Tenth Circuit issued a

written opinion affirming the judgement of the Colorado District

Court on April 22, 1997. Petitioner timely filed this writ of certiorari

seeking review the Court of Appeals decision.

C. Essential Facts

This case ultimately rests on five essential and uncontested

facts. First, the defendant rental car companies privately met among

themselves, exchanged pricing information, and agreed to impose

a uniform surcharge on their respective customers without the

participation or knowledge of the City of Denver. Second, defendant

rental car companies agreed among themselves that the initial

amount of the surcharge would be $2.98 per day, again without the

participation or knowledge of the City of Denver. Third, the

defendant rental car companies and their consultant are private

parties who exercise at least some degree of control over future

increases in the amount of the surcharge and how the proceeds of

the surcharge are spent. Fourth, subsequent to defendants agreement

to impose the surcharge, the City of Denver enacted Ordinance

863 which “compels” defendants to charge and collect the surcharge

from their customers. Fifth, the City of Denver has not taken a

single concrete step to actively supervise defendants’ conduct other

than the enactment of the Ordinance.

6

In sum, this case involves a classic horizontal price-fixing

scheme wholly orchestrated by defendants to shift the entire cost

of their new facilities (and then some) onto the traveling public to

avoid competing with each other over how much of such costs

would be passed on to their customers and how much absorbed as

a business expense. As the court below and defendants themselves

concede, there is no doubt that, in the absence of state action

immunity, defendants conduct would constitute a clear per se

violation of the Sherman Antitrust Act.

This case thus turns on the answer to a single simple question:

Is the mere enactment of Ordinance 863 sufficient in and of

itself to confer antitrust immunity on the defendants and thereby

allow this price-fixing arrangement among private competitors to

escape antitrust scrutiny?

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE OPINION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT’S PRIOR RULINGS ON THE IMPORTANCE OF

BOTH PRONGS OF THE STATE ACTION IMMUNITY

TEST.

In a long and unbroken chain of state action cases, this Court

has made clear that private parties seeking immunity for violations

of the federal antitrust laws must satisfy two requirements. First,

the statute or ordinance purportedly conferring immunity must be

enacted pursuant to a clearly articulated and affirmatively expressed

State policy to displace competition in the relevant market. Second,

the city or state must actively supervise the private parties’ anti-

competitive conduct. City of Lafayette v. Louisiana Power & Light

Co., 435 U.S. 389, 410 (1978) (“Lafayette”) (Private parties seeking

7

immunity must show that the anti-competitive restraint was “clearly

articulated and affirmatively expressed as state policy, and that the

state’s policy was actively supervised”). FTC v. Ticor Title Insurance

Co., 504 U.S. 621, 636 (1992).

In a striking departure from this Court’s well settled precedent,

the court below eliminated the second prong of the state action

immunity test by holding that active supervision is not required in

this case “because there is little, if any, risk of defendants doing

anything other than complying with the City and County’s

mandate.” (App. A at 10a). But as this Court has uniformly

emphasized, the fact that private parties are purportedly compelled

to comply with acity or county’s mandate is only the beginning of

the state action analysis, not the end of it. FTC v. Ticor Title

Insurance Co., 504 U.S. 621, 637 (1992)

As this Court has repeatedly and without exception held, the

anti-competitive conduct of private parties can only escape antitrust

scrutiny if both prongs of the state action test are satisfied. Indeed,

in the nearly twenty years since the two-prong test was first

established in Lafayette, this Court has decided no fewer than five

state action cases involving private parties, and every one them

required both clear articulation and active supervision:

California Retail Liquor Dealers Assn. v.

Midcal Aluminum, Inc, 445 U.S. 97, 105

(1980) (“Midcal’) (This Court’s state action

“decisions establish two standards for

antitrust immunity under Parker v. Brown.

First, the challenged restraint must be ‘one

clearly articulated and affirmatively

expressed as state policy’; second the policy

must be ‘actively supervised’ ”).

Southern Motor Carriers Rate Conference,

Inc. v. U.S., 471 U.S. 48, 57 (1985)

8

(“Southern Motor Carriers”) (“We set forth

a two prong test for determining whether

‘ state regulation of private parties is shielded

from the federal antitrust laws’’).

321 Liquor Corp. v. Duffy, 479 U.S. 335, 343

(1986) (“Our decisions have established a

two prong test for determining immunity

under Parker v. Brown”).

Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94, 100 (1988)

(“Patrick”) (This Court has “established a

rigorous two-pronged test to determine

whether anticompetitive conduct engaged in

by private parties should be deemed state

action and thus shielded from the antitrust

laws”).

FTC v. Ticor Title Insurance Co., 504 U.S.

621, 636 (1992) (“Ticor”) (This Court’s

“insistence on real compliance with both

parts of the Midcal test will serve to make

clear that the state is responsible for the price

fixing it has sanctioned”).

Moreover, even in this Court’s decisions relating to conduct

exclusively engaged in by state and local governmental units,

the applicability of the two-prong test to private parties has not

been questioned. Hoover v. Ronwin, 466 U.S. 558, 568 (1984).

Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S 34, 46 (1985)

(“Town of Hallie’).

In sum, the lower court’s failure to apply both prongs of the

State action immunity test to this case, where the involvement of

private parties is clear and pervasive, disregards every state action

decision of this Court since Lafayette. If this opinion is allowed to

EE

rr

9

stand, the active supervision requirement — heretofore considered

essential to the effective enforcement of the nation’s antitrust laws

— will be substantially weakened. Indeed, at least in the Tenth

Circuit, the active supervision requirement will disappear altogether

in cases involving private price-fixing arrangements which have

been adopted, and purportedly immunized, by municipal ordinance.

Il.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE OPINION BELOW FUNDAMENTALLY

MISINTERPRETS THIS COURT’S HOLDING IN TOWN OF

HALLIE.,

As discussed above, this Court has established a black letter

rule governing whether the two-prong Midcal test or the single-

prong Town of Hallie test applies to a particular case: if private

parties are involved, courts must apply both prongs of the state

action doctrine; if the case involves only unilateral municipal action

| without any participation of, or regulation over, private parties,

: courts need only examine whether the state has a clearly articulated

and affirmatively expressed policy to replace competition with

regulation in the relevant market.

The opinion below has now rejected this rule. In its place, the

court below offers a new rule of its own creation: active supervision

of private price-fixing agreements which have been purportedly

immunized by municipal ordinance is not required where there is

“little, if any, risk of defendants doing anything other than

complying with the [municipality’s] mandate.” (App. A at 10a).

An even more troubling corollary to this new rule is that active

supervision of private parties is never required when an antitrust

plaintiff could have named a municipality as a defendant in addition

to the private parties that were named. (App. A at 10a-12a).

The court below arrives at these startling new rules by

Lissa

10

improperly extending this Court’s holding in Town of Hallie (where

there was no involvement by private parties whatsoever) to every

case involving a municipal ordinance purporting to immunize not

only anticompetitive conduct by the municipality itself (as was the

case in Town of Hallie), but conduct of private parties as well.

Critical to the lower court’s decision was the erroneous (and

chronologically impossible) proposition that for every case

involving municipalities, Town of Hallie “does away with the active

supervision prong” (App. A at 24a) established in Midal and

reaffirmed in numerous Supreme Court cases subsequent to Town

of Hallie, as well as the Southern Motor Carriers case decided the

very same day.

Due to its critical role in the opinion below, this court’s holding

in Town of Hallie merits close examination. In Town of Hallie, this

Court addressed the issue of whether a municipality’s unilateral

anti-competitive conduct must be supervised by the state in order

for the municipality to receive antitrust immunity. The case was

brought by the Town of Hallie and other Wisconsin townships

against the City of Eau Claire alleging that Eau Claire’s refusal to

provide sewer services to the townships was a violation of the

Sherman Antitrust Act. Finding that the State of Wisconsin had a

clear and affirmatively expressed policy permitting Eau Claire to

refuse to provide sewer services to the townships, this Court went

on to consider the active supervision prong of the state action

doctrine. Reasoning that it would be superfluous to require the state

to supervise a municipality’s unilateral conduct when the state had

already implicitly approved of the municipality’s activities by

passing a state law permitting it to do what it did, this Court held

that municipalities acting unilaterally and without any involvement

of private parties only had to satisfy the first prong of the state

action doctrine. Crucial to this Court’s decision was the fact that

there was no danger that Eau Claire was “involved in a private

price-fixing arrangement” or that private parties were advancing

their own interests rather than the interests of the public. (Town of

Hallie at 47).

11

The lower court’s application of the Town of Halliz single-

prong test to the present case is fundamentally flawed for at least

three important reasons. First, the Town of Hallie decision itself

makes clear that its holding applies only to municipalities (and

possibly other political subdivisions), not to private parties. By

reaffirming this Court’s holdings in Midcal and Southern Motor

Carriers, the Town of Hallie Court expressly recognized that where

private parties are involved, “active supervision must be shown”.

(Id. at 46). In the present case, it can scarcely be denied that the

rental car defendants are private parties and that they were involved

in extensive anticompetitive conduct.‘ The defendants collectively

determined the initial amount of the surcharge; the defendants met,

and still meet, privately among themselves and exchange pricing

and other business information; the defendants’ consultant, not a

city employee, has the power to increase the amount of the

surcharge; a managing committee consisting entirely of the

defendants is granted broad oversight powers under the Ordinance;

the defendants collectively decided to separately itemize the

surcharge on their customers bills after the Ordinance was passed.

In short, to characterize the defendants surcharge scheme as

- anything other than “essentially a private price-fixing arrangement”,

and to characterize the Ordinance as anything other than a “gauzy

cloak of state involvement”, is to exalt form and deny substance.

ee ee

Second, this Court’s decision in Southern Motor Carriers

(issued the very same day as Town of Hallie) unequivocally held

that whenever private parties seek to shield themselves from

antitrust scrutiny they must satisfy both prongs of the state action

test. (Southern Motor Carriers at 57). Moreover, even if private

parties play no role whatsoever in determining “price or rate

structures” (App. A at 9a), the active supervision prong must still

4. The court below explicitly recognized that the defendants participated

in setting future adjustments in the amount of the surcharge through the

“interaction of a ‘Managing Committee’, which is composed of a

representative from each car rental company” and the defendants’ consultant.

(App. A at 3a).

12

be applied. All that is required to trigger the application of the

active supervision prong is that a city regulate private parties. It

does not make any difference how much “discretionary authority”

defendants have or whether the city is the “effective decision maker”

(App. A at 9a) — the proper test to apply whenever a city regulates

private parties is the two prong Midcal test, not the single prong

Town of Hallie test applied by the court below:

We set forth a two-pronged test for

determining whether state regulation of

private parties is shielded from the federal

antitrust laws. First, the challenged restraint

must be one clearly articulated and

affirmatively expressed as state policy.

Second, the state must supervise actively any

private anticompetitive conduct.

(Emphasis added) (internal quotation marks and citations

omitted) (Southern Motor Carriers at 57).

Third, the lower court’s reasoning that it should apply the single

prong Town of Hallie test to this case because that is the test it

would have applied to the City of Denver if petitioner had sued the

City is fatally flawed. As the court recognizes (albeit in support of

the contrary conclusion) (App. A at 1 1a), the identity of the named

defendants is, under most circumstances, immaterial for a

determination as to which test to apply; what is important is whether

or not private parties are involved. Thus, even if petitioner had sued

the City of Denver, the proper test to apply to both the rental car

defendants and the City would be the Midcal two-prong test because

there is clearly private involvement in the surcharge regime and

the Ordinance clearly regulates private parties. (“We set forth a

two-pronged test for determining whether state regulation of private

parties is shielded from the federal antitrust laws.” (Southern Motor

Carriers at 57). Moreover, even if the proper test to apply to a

municipal defendant is the single-prong Town of Hallie test, there

13

is nothing necessarily “illogical” (App. A at 11a) about applying a

different test to a private defendant — courts and legislatures

routinely provide cities and other governmental units with powers,

privileges, and immunities that are not available to private parties.

In short, the court below was led to its “anomalous result”

(App. A at 26a) by fundamentally misinterpreting this Court's

holding in Town of Hallie, ignoring the plain meaning of every

Supreme Court state action case dealing with private parties, and

reducing its analysis of the present case to the “purely formalistic

inquiry” (Town of Hallie at 39) explicitly rejected by this Court in

that decision (though even a purely formalistic inquiry would have

revealed that the Denver Ordinance regulated private parties and

that, therefore, the proper test to apply was the two-prong Midcal

test).

III.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE OPINION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT’S MOST RECENT STATE ACTION IMMUNITY

DECISION.

The opinion below reveals a remarkable disregard for this

Court’s most recent state action case — the 1992 decision in Ticor.

Inexplicably, the opinion of the court below did not even mention

this decision (indeed, the concurring opinion cites Ticor only to

cast doubt on the normative wisdom of the court’s decision).

Though it is understandable that the court below found little in

Ticor to support its opinion, the applicability and importance to

the present case of this Court’s holding in Ticor is obvious and

overwhelming. In particular, Ticor reaffirms three bedrock

principles of the state action doctrine that, had they been faithfully

applied by the lower court to the present case, would have inexorably

led to the contrary result.

14

First, Ticor reaffirms the long-standing rule of this Court that

“where private parties participate in a price-fixing regime”, the two-

prong Midcal test, not the single-prong Town of Hallie test, is

applied (Ticor at 633). That the rental car defendants “participated”

in the “price-fixing regime” challenged here is, of course,

undeniable.

Second, Ticor reaffirmed and solidified this Court’s unanimous

holding in Patrick that a city or state must not only possess the

power to actively supervise the anticompetitive conduct of private

parties, but it must as factual matter exercise that power. (/d. at

634) (“In the absence of active supervision in fact, there can be no

State action immunity for what were otherwise private price-fixing

arrangements”) (emphasis added) (/d. at 638). Because the court

below found that the mere passage of the Ordinance was sufficient

in itself to immunize defendants’ price-fixing agreement, it did not

even look at what the City of Denver actually did to exercise

whatever power the City supposedly possessed under the Ordinance.

Indeed, because petitioner was denied any discovery whatsoever

in the proceedings below, the only “evidence” of active supervision

the court below could have examined was the judicially noticed

Ordinance itself.

Third, this Court in Jicor made clear that state action immunity

is disfavored and must be construed narrowly. (/d. at 635-636).

Had the court below embraced this Court’s admonition against

broadly interpreting state action immunity, it would have been far

less eager to expand the single-prong Town of Hallie test to a case

that so clearly involves private parties.

15

IV.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE OPINION BELOW CONFLICTS WITH THIS

COURT’S PRIOR RULINGS ON THE “CLEAR

ARTICULATION AND AFFIRMATIVE EXPRESSION”

PRONG OF THE STATE ACTION IMMUNITY TEST.

This Court has made clear that a municipal ordinance

purportedly immunizing a price-fixing agreement among private

competitors must be enacted pursuant to a clearly articulated and

affirmatively expressed state policy to displace competition in the

relevant market. (Southern Motor Carriers at 64). Although it is

not required that a state statute specifically state that competition

may be displaced in the particular market, the challenged conduct

must be clearly contemplated by the state (Lafayette at 415), and

be the clearly foreseeable result of the state authorization. City of

Columbia v. Omni Outdoor Advertising, Inc., 499 U.S. 365, 373

(1991).

Applying this standard to the present case, the respondents

must show that the state of Colorado clearly contemplated that the

rates that rental car companies charge their customers would be

displaced at least in part by municipal regulation, and that the

municipal adoption of a private price-setting agreement among

competitors was the clearly foreseeable result of some state statute.

The court below purportedly found this requisite state

authorization in several provisions of the Colorado Revised Statutes.

The first provision cited by the court below is C.R.S. 41-3-102,

(App. E at 65a) which “provides cities, towns, and counties in

Colorado with the right to create ‘airport authorities’ for the ‘purpose

of acquiring and improving airports, .. . and related facilities.’ ”

(App. A at 13a). Though clearly authorizing counties and cities to

acquire and improve airports and related facilities, this provision

says absolutely nothing about authorizing municipalities to set the

16

rates charged by vendors such as rental car companies at those

airports.

The second provision cited by the court below, C.R.S. 41-3-

106(e), (App. E at 65a) “provides airport authorities in Colorado

with the power to ‘borrow money and .. . issue bonds payable in

whole or in part from the income of the authority and otherwise

secured to the extent provided by law.’” (App. at 13a). At first

glance this provision may appear to authorize the City of Denver

to enact the Ordinance and issue the bonds at the heart of this case

(and that is precisely how the court below read it). However, a

close reading of Article 3 together with a reading of the Ordinance

clearly shows that the bonds at issue in this case are altogether

different than the bonds authorized by this provision. The bonds at

issue in this litigation are fully taxable Special Facilities Bonds

whereas the bonds authorized under Article 3 specifically provide

that “bonds issued under this article and the income therefrom shall

be free and exempt from taxation by the state.” C.R.S. 41-3-107.

Thus, it is a legal impossibility that the bond ordinance at issue in

this case was authorized by the statute cited by the court below.

Moreover, even if the bonds were authorized under Article 3, there

is nothing in that provision that remotely indicates that the State of

Colorado intended that rental car prices would be set by municipal

ordinance.

The third provision cited by the court below (App. At at 13a)

declares that various airport activities engaged in by airport

authorities are deemed “public governmental functions, exercised

for a public purpose, and matters of public necessity.” C.R.S. 41-

4-101. (App. E at 68a). Again, there is absolutely nothing in this

provision expressing (clearly, affirmatively, or otherwise) any

intention by the State of Colorado to displace competition in the

rates that airport vendors charge their customers.

The fourth provision, C.R.S. 41-4-106, (App. E at 69a) is the

provision most heavily relied on by the court below as authorizing

the anticompetitive conduct at issue in this case:

17

41-4-106. Operation of airports. In

connection with the erection, maintenance,

and operation of any such airport or

navigation facilities, any county has the

power and jurisdiction, when acting singly,

or by agreement, when acting jointly with any

| other county, city and county, city, or town,

| to regulate the receipt, deposit, and removal

. and the embarkation of passengers or

7 property to or from such airports; to exact

| and require charges, fees, and tolls, together

with a lien to enforce their payment; to lease

or assign for operation such space or area,

appurtenances, appliances, or other

conveniences necessary or useful in

connection therewith; to own and operate

aircraft; to employ pilots; to provide rules and

regulations governing the use of such airport

and facilities and the use of other property

and means of transportation within or over

said airport, landing field, and navigation

facilities; to perform any duties necessary or

consistent for the regulation of air traffic; to

enter into contracts or otherwise cooperate

with the federal government or other public

or private agencies; and to exercise such

powers as may be required or consistent in

the promotion of aeronautics and the

furtherance of commerce and navigation by

air.

Although the above provision clearly grants to the City and

County of Denver the power “to exact and require charges, fees,

and tolls”, it is clear from the second part of that phrase (“together

with a lien to enforce their payment”) that what the State of

Colorado was authorizing was the county’s charging of “charges,

18

fees, and tolls” to those who use airport facilities. It is one thing to

charge the taxicabs, buses, and other service providers at airports

fees and tolls for their use of airport facilities. It is another thing

altogether to set by municipal ordinance the prices that those service

providers in turn charge their customers. There is simply nothing

in this provision that indicates that the State of Colorado “clearly

contemplated and intended” that the prices that rental car companies

charge their customers would be set by anything other than

competition in an open market. To interpret this provision as broadly

as the court below did is to eliminate the clear articulation and

affirmative expression prong altogether. Under the lower court’s

reading of this provision, the rental car companies would be free to

seek municipal ordinances blessing all manner of private

anticompetitive restraints, including, for example, minimum rates

for certain types of cars and collectively set refueling charges.

Indeed, competitors in every one of the scores of industries that do

business at any of Colorado’s airports would be “clearly and

affirmatively” authorized to seek whatever type of anticompetive

price restraints their political clout would enable them to obtain

from a municipality.

The court below also cites several provisions of the State of

Colorado County and Municipality Revenue Bond Act, C.R.S. 29-

3-101, et seq., (App. D) (the “Bond Act”) as supplying a clearly

articulated and affirmatively expressed state policy permitting the

anticompetitive conduct at issue in this case. But again, the bonds

that the Bond Act authorizes are tax exempt bonds (C.R.S. 29-3-

106(5)), (App. E at 62a-63a) not the fully taxable Special Facilities

Bonds at issue in this case. And again, to read the Bond Act as

broadly as the court below did would eviscerate the clear articulation

prong: in addition to the sweeping scope of the language cited by

the court below (App. A at 14a), the Bond Act would also authorize

anticompetitive municipal ordinances relating to “hospital care”,

“residential housing”, “sewage”, “recreation activities”,

“conventions”, “trade shows”, “storage or training facilities”,

“sports and recreation facilities”, and “research, product testing,

19

and administrative facilities.” (App. D at 55a-56a). If the lower

court’s reading of this provision is correct, the State of Colorado

through the Bond Act has clearly articulated its intent to displace

price competition with regulation in each of these broad areas of

commerce. Such an interpretation would create precisely the type

of “attractive nuisance in the economic sphere” that motivated this

Court in Ticor to narrowly construe state action immunity. (Ticor

at 637).

But perhaps the clearest indication that the State of Colorado

did not intend for the Bond Act to provide broad authority for

municipalities to sanction price-fixing of consumer prices can be

found in the Act at C.R.S. 29-3-114 (App. D at 63a-64a):

Prior to the issuance of any bonds authorized

by this article, the county or municipality

shall enter into a financing agreement with

respect to the project with a user providing

for payment to the county or municipality . . .

and to pay the costs of maintaining the

project in good repair and keeping it properly

insured, unless the financing agreement

obligates the user to pay for the maintenance

of and insurance on the project.

(Emphasis added). It is clear from this provision that “user”

means the company that leases or otherwise occupies the project

financed by the revenue bonds, not the customers of that

company. Indeed, notwithstanding defendants’ attempts

throughout this litigation to characterize this price-fixing regime

as just another garden variety bond financing, respondents have

not brought to the attention of either the District court or the

court below a single example of a similar bond ordinance that

requires the customers of the beneficiaries to pay the principal

and interest on the bonds (much less to be forced to do so as a

result of a private agreement among supposed competitors).

20

In short, there is nothing in any of the state statutes cited by

the court below that suggests, let alone clearly articulates and

affirmatively expresses, any intention by the State of Colorado to

displace price competition as the means by which rental car rates

are determined or even to subject those rates to regulation.

V.

THE PETITION SHOULD BE GRANTED BECAUSE

THE OPINION BELOW MISTAKENLY APPLIES THE

NOERR-PENNINGTON DOCTRINE TO THIS CASE.

The Noerr-Pennington doctrine has nothing to do with this

case. As petitioner has maintained throughout this litigation, the

First Amendment right of defendants to lobby the City of Denver

has never been challenged. What petitioner has challenged is the

private agreement among the rental car defendants to impose an

anticompetitive surcharge on the traveling public.

As the evidence in this case will clearly demonstrate,

defendants met privately among themselves, shared pricing and

other business information, and agreed to collectively impose a

$2.98 per day surcharge on each of their customers. As the evidence

will further show, defendants entered into this arrangement and

agreed to carry it out prior to, and entirely independent of, any

decision to seek or lobby for a municipal ordinance. Moreover,

even after defendants started lobbying for the Ordinance, they

intended to go forward with the surcharge even if the Ordinance

was ultimately not enacted. While this decision appears ill advised

from an antitrust perspective, defendants had some powerful reasons

to proceed with their surcharge scheme even in the absence of an

ordinance immunizing their conduct. First, defendants believed (and

argued in the proceedings below), that the surcharge was not

anticompetitive, and therefore not illegal even without the

Ordinance because the prices to which the surcharge were added

were supposedly set by competition. (While the District Court based

21

its decision in part on its acceptance of this argument, the court

below did not address it). Second, the enormous amount of money

generated by surcharge was, in defendants view, worth whatever

antitrust risk it entailed.

Even if defendants did not intend to proceed with the imposition

of the surcharge in the absence of the Ordinance, the Noerr-

Pennington doctrine is still irrelevant to this case. Either the state

action doctrine immunizes the surcharge regime at issue in this

litigation or it does not. If it does, defendants actions are beyond

the reach of the antitrust laws, and there is no need for any further

protection under Noerr-Penningion. If it does not (because either

the Ordinance was not enacted pursuant to a clearly articulated

and affirmatively expressed state policy to displace competition or

the City did not actively supervise), the fact that defendants lobbied

for the Ordinance does not somehow bring the regime back within

the protection of the state action doctrine. Either way, the Noerr-

Pennington doctrine adds nothing to the analysis of the issues before

this Court.

CONCLUSION

In a long line of state action cases, this Court has carefully

balanced the parochial interests of local governments with the

national interest in free and open markets as reflected in the federal

antitrust laws. Critical to the striking of that balance has been this

Court’s insistence on real compliance with both prongs of the state

action doctrine whenever private parties have sought anticompetitive

bargains through their influence on the workings of local

government. That balance has been fundamentally altered by the

opinion of the court below.

If allowed to stand, the opinion below would greatly expand

the ability of private parties to obtain antitrust immunity for

anticompetitive conduct under the state action doctrine and severely

hamper the enforcement of this nation’s antitrust laws. The

combination of the lower court’s elimination of the active

22

supervision prong for municipally blessed private price-fixing

agreements together with its expansive reading of the clear

articulation prong could produce a virtual explosion of wholly

unsupervised anticompetitive county and municipal ordinances and

regulations.

There are over 60,000 local governmental units in the United

States, all of which have been granted some authority by the states

to regulate certain aspects of the economy. If the opinion below

becomes the law of the land and not just the law of the Tenth Circuit

as it is today, those local governmental units will be besieged by

powerful interests seeking non-market-based advantages at the

expense of their competitors, consumers, and the economy as a

whole. And as the judicial barriers to these anticompetitive

arrangements are eroded by decisions like the opinion below, local

and regional economies will be increasingly dominated by

government blessed price-fixing arrangements. Competing gas

stations will get together and agree to collectively impose a ten-

cent-per-gallon surcharge to offset the costs of maintaining their

underground tanks. Restaurants will get together and collectively

impose a $1.00 per customer seating charge to offset the costs of

complying with local health regulations. Landlords will get together

and agree to collectively impose a $10.00 per month fee to offset

the costs of complying with fire and safety codes. The only way to

prevent this potent combination of powerful interests from

restraining the economic life of the country is the vigorous

enforcement of the antitrust laws.

Coming more than five years after this Court’s last state action

decision in Ticor, this case presents the Court with a timely

opportunity to reaffirm the importance of both the active supervision

and clear articulation prongs of the state action doctrine, as well as

to correct the Tenth Circuit’s wayward decision below.

For the reasons set forth above, petitioner David C. Zimomra

respectfully requests that his petition for writ of certiorari be granted.

23

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD BADER

Counsel of Record

STEVEN M. FEDER

BADER, VILLANUEVA & FEDER

1660 Wynkoop Street

Suite 1100

Denver, Colorado 80202

(303) 534-1700

DAVID BOIES

BOIES & McINNIS

5408 Port Royal Road

Springfield, Virginia 22151

(703) 764-8700

Attorneys for Petitioner

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

FILED APRIL 22, 1997

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 96-1120

No. 96-1203

DAVID CHARLES ZIMOMRA, on behalf of himself and all

others similarly situated.

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ALAMO RENT-A-CAR, INC.; AVIS, INC.; BUDGET RENT

A CAR CORPORATION; DOLLAR RENT-A-CAR SYSTEMS,

INC.; HERTZ CORPORATION; NATIONAL CAR RENTAL

SYSTEM, INC.; THRIFTY RENT-A-CAR SYSTEMS, INC.;

VALUE RENT-A-CAR, INC.; ENTERPRISE LEASING CO.

OF DENVER; NATIONAL CAR RENTAL, named as National

Car Rental, Inc.; RESORT RENT-A-CAR, INC.; STEAMBOAT

SPRINGS RENTAL AND LEASING, INC.; TRYND, INC.:

TIARA ENTERPRISES, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeal from United States District Court

for the District of Colorado

(D.C. No. 94-S-2148)

David Boies, of Boies & McInnis, Fairfax, Virginia (Steven M.

2a

Appendix A

Feder, of Bader, Villanueva & Feder, Denver, Colorado, with

him on the brief), for the appellant.

Terrence C. Gill (Stanley L. Garnett and Stephen D. Gurr with

him on the brief), of Brownstein Hyatt Farber & Strickland, P.C.,

Denver, Colorado, for the appellees.

Before SEYMOUR, Chief Judge, HENRY and BRISCOE,

Circuit Judges.

BRISCOE, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiff David C. Zimomra appeals the district court’s

dismissal of his consolidated class action complaints alleging

federal antitrust claims, as well as various state law claims,

against fourteen car rental companies operating at Stapleton

International Airport (Stapleton) and Denver International

Airport (DIA). We affirm.

‘.

On November 8, 1993, the City and County of Denver

enacted Denver Bond Ordinance No. 863 to help fund

construction of car rental facilities at DIA. Pursuant to the

ordinance, the City and County issued special facilities revenue

bonds in the amount of $65,579,000 to fund construction. To

ensure repayment of the bonds (repayment period runs from

1993 through 2000), Ordinance 863 requires all car rental

companies awarded rights to operate at DIA, all of whom entered

into special facilities and ground leases for their respective

facilities, to charge and collect “usage fees” from their

customers. Specifically, Section 3.4(a) of the ordinance provides

that

3a

) Appendix A

a Usage fee shall be charged and collected

by each Company from the person entering

into each motor vehicle rental agreement

with the Company at Stapleton International

Airport [predecessor to DIA] prior to the

opening date of Denver International Airport

for commercial business as established by the

City, and after such opening date.

Appellant’s append. at 81.

The daily usage fee was initially set at $2.98 and was to

remain at that amount until October 1, 1994. Subsequent daily

usage fees are to be established through the interaction of a

“Managing Committee,” which is composed of a representative

from each car rental company and an “Independent Consultant”

appointed by the Managing Committee with the approval of the

Manager of Public Works of the City and County of Denver or

his designee. Section 3.4(b) of the ordinance provides:

The Usage Fee for each 12-month period

commencing October 1, 1994 shall be an

amount determined by the Independent

Consultant to be sufficient to produce

revenues which, together with available

Reserve Balances in the respective Company

Revenue Accounts in the Car Rental Special

Facilities Revenue Fund equal, in the

aggregate, to 115% of the sum of the

principal of and interest on the Bonds coming

due in such 12-month period plus the

reasonably expected Administrative

Expenses for such 12-month period,

4a

Appendix A

deficiencies then existing in the Special City

Reserve Fund, and payments to the City

under [the provisions of Ordinance 863] for

such period. In determining the amount of

the Usage Fee for any period the Independent

Consultant shall evaluate such factors as it

shall deem necessary which may include,

among other things, the number of

transaction days experienced by the

Companies for one or more previous years

for the rental of motor vehicles subject to the

payment of Concession Fees (or comparable

information at Stapleton International

Airport), the number of transaction days

estimated by [the car rental companies] for

such period for the rental of motor vehicles

subject to the payment of Concession Fees,

and an estimate of the number of origination

and destination passengers at [DIA] for such

period.

Appellant's append. at 82-83.

By July 1 of each year, the Independent Consultant is

required to furnish a report to the City and County of Denver,

the car rental companies, and the banks involved in funding the

special revenue bonds, setting forth the amount of the proposed

daily usage fee for the next 12-month period “which, in the

opinion of the Independent Consultant, is necessary to produce

the required Usage Fee receipts ..., together with an

explanation of the basis for determining such amount.”

Appellant’s append. at 83 (Section 3.4(c)). Any recipient of the

report is then allowed a two-week period in which to comment

Sa

Appendix A

upon the proposed daily usage fee and, if there is no objection,

the fee becomes effective on October 1 of that year. If there is

an objection, the Independent Consultant evaluates the objection

and decides whether to recalculate the proposed daily usage fee.

The car rental companies deposit their collected usage fees

in a “Car Rental Special Facilities Revenue Fund” on a monthly

basis. Appellant’s append. at 82 (Section 3.4(a)). In turn, the

Car Rental Special Facilities Revenue fund is used to pay the

principal and interest on the bonds, as well as associated

expenses. Any amounts remaining after the bonds are retired

(in the year 2000) will go to the City and County of Denver and

will constitute gross revenues of the airport system. Appellant’s

append. at 78-79, 91 (Sections 3.1 and 3.13).

Plaintiff is a resident of Fairfax, Virginia. On unspecified

dates in 1993 and 1994, he allegedly rented cars at Stapleton

and was charged a $2.98 daily usage fee in addition to the agreed-

upon daily rental rates. On July 11, 1994, plaintiff filed a

complaint in the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Virginia purporting to sue on behalf of “all persons

in the United States . . . who have rented cars from any defendant

at Denver’s Stapleton Airport and were charged a $2.98 per day

charge during the period from and including 1993 to present.”

Appellees’ supp. append. at 6. Named as defendants in the

complaint were eight car rental companies doing business at

Stapleton. Plaintiff asserted claims under Section 1 of the

Sherman Antitrust Act and Sections 4 and 6 of the Clayton Act,

as well as state law claims of fraud and deceit, unjust enrichment,

and negligent misrepresentation. He alleged the defendant car

rental companies violated federal and state law by jointly

agreeing to charge airport customers a uniform $2.98 daily usage

fee in addition to their quoted rental prices.

6a

Appendix A

The action was transferred to federal district court in

Colorado on September 9, 1994. Plaintiff filed a second

complaint in Colorado federal district court on November 9,

1994, naming six additional car rental companies as defendants.

The allegations of the second complaint were substantially

similar to those in the first complaint.

Defendants moved to dismiss both complaints. Although

defendants acknowledged imposing a $2.98 daily usage fee on

airport customers, the contended they were required to do so by

Ordinance 863. Accordingly, defendants sought dismissal of

plaintiff’s antitrust claims on state action immunity grounds.

After consolidating both actions, the district court issued an

order on February 23, 1996, granting the pending dispositive

motions and dismissing plaintiff’s claims against all but one of

the named defendants (Tiara Enterprises, Inc.). In so doing, the

district court concluded plaintiff’s antitrust claims against

defendants were barred by the state action immunity doctrine.

Having concluded defendants were immune from plaintiff’s

antitrust claims, the court declined to exercise supplemental

jurisdiction over plaintiff’s supplemental state law claims. On

April 12, 1996, the remaining defendant, Tiara Enterprises, Inc.,

filed a motion to dismiss and the court granted the motion on

April 17, 1996 for the same reasons as in its February 23, 1996

order.

Il.

State action immunity

Plaintiff contends the district court erred in concluding

defendants were immune from federal antitrust claims under

the state action immunity doctrine. In particular, he contends

Ta

Appendix A

Ordinance 863, upon which defendants and the court relied, was

not enacted pursuant to a clearly articulated and affirmatively

expressed state directive to displace price competition in the

car rental market. Further, he contends even if the ordinance

was enacted pursuant to such a state policy, defendants’ conduct

is not immune from antitrust laws because the City and County

of Denver does not actively supervise the setting or modification

of the daily usage fee.

The “state action immunity” doctrine originated in Parker

v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341 (1943), and “ ‘exempts qualifying state

and local government regulation from federal antitrust, even if

the regulation at issue compels an otherwise clear violation of

the federal antitrust laws.’ ” Cost Management Services vy.

Washington Natural Gas Co., 99 F.3d 937, 941 (9th Cir. 1996)

(quoting Hovenkamp, Federal Antitrust Policy; The Law of

Competition and its Practice § 20.2, at 673 (West 1994)).

Although the doctrine was aimed at protecting state legislatures

and state supreme courts acting in their legislative capacities, it

can provide protection to other individuals or entities acting

pursuant to state authorization. See Hoover v. Ronwin, 466 U.S.

558, 568 (1984). In such situations, however, “closer analysis

is required” to determine whether antitrust immunity is

appropriate. Id. ; Porter Testing Laboratory v. Board of Regents,

993 F.2d 768, 770 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 932 (1993).

In California Retail Liquor Dealers Ass’n v. Midcal

Aluminum, 445 U.S. 97 (1980), the Supreme Court established

a two-part test to determine whether alleged anticompetitive

conduct on the part of a private party is immunized under the

State action immunity doctrine. First, “the challenged restraint

must be ‘one clearly articulated and affirmatively expressed as

State policy.’ ” Jd. at 105 (quoting City of Lafayette v. Louisiana

8a

Appendix A

Power & Light Co., 435 U.S. 389, 410 (1978)). Second, “the

policy must be ‘actively supervised’ by the State itself.” Jd.

Application of this “rigorous” test ensures that Parker immunity

is applied only where the “private party’s anticompetitive

conduct promotes state policy, rather than merely the party’s

individual interests.” Patrick v. Burget, 486 U.S. 94, 101 (1988).

In Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34, 46-47

(1985), the Supreme Court modified the Midcal test for cases

involving municipalities, specifically holding municipalities

need not satisfy the Midcal active state supervision requirement

because “there is little or no danger that [a municipality] is

involved in a private price-fixing arrangement.” Jd. The result

is that a municipality can obtain exemption under the state action

immunity doctrine by satisfying only the first prong of the

Midcal test, i.e., by demonstrating it acted pursuant to “clearly

articulated and affirmatively expressed” state policy. Jd.

Here, the district court applied the two-part Midcal test and

concluded the defendant car rental companies were entitled to

state action immunity from plaintiff’s federal antitrust claims.

In reviewing the district court’s decision, we apply a de novo

standard. See F-T.C. v. Hospital Bd. of Directors of Lee County,

38 F.3d 1184, 1187 (11th Cir. 1994) (application of state action

immunity doctrine is a question of law reviewed de novo);

Buckley Const. v. Shawnee Civic & Cultural Development

Authority, 933 F.2d 853, 855 (10th Cir. 1991).

Which test to apply

Our initial inquiry is whether this case should be analyzed

under the two-prong Midcal test, which typically applies to

private actors, or the single-prong Town of Hallie test, which

9a

Appendix A

applies to municipalities. Although the district court applied the

Midcal test without discussing the municipality/private actor

issue, defendants argue on appeal that the Town of Hallie test is

appropriate because the challenged usage fee is the result of

action on the part of a municipality, i.e., the City and County of

Denver. More specifically, defendants argue “the anticompetitive

conduct, if any, occurred when [the City and County of] Denver

set the amount of the Usage Fee in the Bond Ordinance and

required its collection from each car rental customer, not by

way of the private car rental companies’ compliance with the

law.” Appellees’ br. at 26. Further, defendants contend the Town

of Hallie test is appropriate because Ordinance 863 “does not

permit any discretion on the part of the car rental companies in

assessing or determining the amount of the Usage Fee.” /d.

We agree with defendants that state action immunity in this

case is properly determined according to the Town of Hallie test.

In Patrick, the Supreme Court noted the active supervision prong

of the Midcal test “requires that state officials have and exercise

power to review particular anticompetitive acts of private parties

and disapprove those that fail to accord with state policy.” 486

U.S. at 101. Such active state review is clearly necessary where

private defendants are empowered with some type of

discretionary authority in connection with the anticompetitive

acts (€.g., to determine price or rate structures). Here, however,

the named defendants have no such discretionary authority.

Rather, the provisions of Ordinance 863 make clear that the City

and County of Denver is the “effective decision maker” with

respect to both the amount of the daily usage fee and imposition

of the fee. City Communications v. City of Detroit, 660 F.Supp.

932, 934-35 (E.D.Mich. 1987), aff’d, 888 F.2d 1081 (6th Cir.

1989). Although plaintiff claims defendants have input into the

amount of the daily usage fee in 1994-2000, the provisions of

—_

10a

Appendix A

the ordinance make it clear that ultimate control over the amount

of the fee rests with the City and County of Denver. Specifically,

the amount of the fee for those years must equal “115% of the

sum of the principal of and interest on the Bonds coming due‘in

such 12-month period plus the reasonably expected

Administrative Expenses for such 12-month period, deficiencies

then existing in the Special City Reserve Fund, and payments

to the City under the [provisions of Ordinance 863].” Appellant’s

append. at 82. In our view, application of the active supervision

prong is of little value under these circumstances because the

challenged conduct is mandated and strictly controlled by the

City and County of Denver via Ordinance 863. Stated differently,

we see no need for the state to supervise defendants’ conduct

(and no need for the second prong of the Midcal test) because

there is little, if any, risk of defendants doing anything other

than complying with the City and County’s mandate.

We further note that plaintiff could have named the City

and County of Denver as a defendant (or even the sole defendant)

in this action. Had he done so, it is clear we would have applied

the single-pronged Town of Hallie test rather than the double-

pronged Midcal test to determine whether the City and County

of Denver was entitled to state action immunity. See Allright

Colorado v. City and County of Denver, 937 F.2d 1502 (10th

Cir.) (City and County of Denver named as defendant; court

applied Town of Hallie test to determine immunity), cert. denied,

502 U.S. 983 (1991). We therefore find it inconsistent, when

the same conduct is at issue (i.e., imposition of the daily usage

fee), to apply one test to the City and County of Denver (the

Town of Hallie test), and apply a different, more stringent test

(the Midcal test), to the private defendants. Were we to apply

different tests, the result could be that the City and County of

Denver would be entitled to immunity but the private defendants

lla _

Appendix A

would not. More specifically, the City and County of Denver,

the entity that enacted the ordinance and imposed the daily usage

fee, could be immune from antitrust damages, while the car

rental companies, all of whom were compelled to comply with

the ordinance in order to lease space at DIA, could be liable to

plaintiff for antitrust damages. Such a result would be illogical

and inconsistent with Supreme Court precedent.

In Southern Motor Carriers Rate Conference v. United

States, 471 U.S. 48, 58-59 (1985), the Supreme Court

specifically emphasized that “[t}he success of an antitrust action

should depend upon the nature of the activity challenged, rather

than on the identity of the defendant.” The implication of this

holding, we believe, is that in cases such as the one at bar, where

private parties are acting under the compulsion of a municipality

or other political subdivision, the same test should apply to

determine state action immunity regardless of who the named

defendants are.

In somewhat similar circumstances, several circuit and

district courts have held that once a municipality (or other

governmental unit) is determined to be immune from antitrust

liability, the immunity should be extended to include private

parties acting under the direction of the municipality. Cine 42nd

Street Theater Corp. v. Nederlander Organization, 790 F.2d

1032, 1048 (2d Cir. 1986) (holding private party theater operators

acting in concert with urban development corporation which

acquired and leased theaters for urban redevelopment project

enjoyed corporation’s state action immunity from antitrust

liability; court did not conduct separate state action analysis for

private parties); Charley’s Taxi Radio Dispatch Corp. v. SIDA

of Hawaii, 810 F.2d 869, 878 (9th Cir. 1987) (association of

individual taxi owner-operators could not be held liable under -—_--—-

12a

Appendix A

Sherman Act for possessing exclusive franchise to provide taxi

service from Oahu airport where state department of

transportation had been granted state action immunity to grant

franchise); City Communications, 660 F.Supp. at 935 (“once it

is determined that the municipality is entitled to immunity from

the antitrust laws, the private parties who are regulated by the

municipality are also entitled to immunity as long as the

‘effective decision maker’ is the municipality rather than the

private parties”). “Recognizing that the state action doctrine

protects state action, not state actors, these courts reason that to

allow suits against private parties for actions immunized as to

municipalities would allow plaintiffs to circumvent the state

action doctrine and challenge protected municipal decisions

through artful pleading.” Bloom v. Hennepin County, 783 F.Supp.

418, 427 (D.Minn. 1992) (extending state action immunity from

state governmental unit to private party). Admittedly, there is a

difference between the above-cited cases and the instant case in

that the City and County of Denver has not been named as a

defendant in this case. Nevertheless, we conclude plaintiff’s

“artful pleading” should not control which test we apply in

determining antitrust immunity for the challenged conduct.

Applying the Town of Hallie test

In analyzing whether the State of Colorado articulated a

clear and affirmative policy to allow the conduct at issue here,

the district court looked to Articles 3 and 4 of Title 41 of the

Colorado Revised Statutes, and to the County and Municipality

Development Revenue Bond Act, C.R.S. § 29-3-101 et seq. We

proceed to review these same statutes.

Article 3 of Title 41 of the Colorado Revised Statutes is

known as the “Public Airport Authority Act” and provides cities,

towns, and counties in Colorado with the right to create “airport

13a

Appendix A

authorities” for the “purpose of acquiring and improving

airports. ... and related facilities.” C.R.S. § 41-3-102 (1996).

The Act further provides airport authorities in Colorado with

the power to “borrow money and ... issue bonds payable in

whole or in part from the income of the authority and otherwise

secured to the extent permitted by law.” C.R.S. § 41-3-

106(e)(1996).

Article 4 of Title 41 of the Colorado Revised Statutes (which

has no short title) governs airports in the State of Colorado.

C.R.S. § 41-4-101 (1996) provides:

The acquisition of any lands for the purpose

of establishing airports or other air navigation

facilities; the acquisition of airport protection

privileges; the acquisition, establishment,

construction, enlargement, improvement,

maintenance, equipment, and operation of

airports and other air navigation facilities;

and the exercise of any other powers granted

in this part 1 [of the Act] to any county, city

and county, city, or town are ... public

governmental functions, exercised for a

public purpose, and matters of public

necessity.

C.R.S. § 41-4-106 (1996) provides that counties in Colorado

have the “power and jurisdiction,” in connection with the

erection, maintenance, and operation of any airport.

to regulate the receipt, deposit, and removal

and the embarkation of passengers or

property to or from such airports; to exact

l4a

Appendix A

and require charges, fees, and tolls, together

with a lien to enforce their payment; to lease

or assign for operation such space or area,

appurtenances, appliances, or other

conveniences necessary or useful in

connection therewith; ... to provide rules

and regulations governing the use of such

airport and facilities and the use of other

property and means of transportation within

or over said airport.

C.R.S. § 41-4-112 (1996) authorizes any county in Colorado

to rent or lease ... any lands or interest in

lands acquired by the county for the purposes

set forth in this part 1 to any person,

partnership, association, or corporation,

either public or private, for commercial,

industrial, or other purposes, for such periods

of years and upon such terms and conditions

as are deemed in the best interests of the

county by the board of county

commissioners.

The second general statute cited by the district court was

the County and Municipality Development Revenue Bond Act

(Bond Act), C.R.S. § 29-3-101 et seq. C.R.S. § 29-3-102(1)

(1996) provides it was the intent of the Colorado General

Assembly “to authorize counties and municipalities to finance,

acquire, own, lease, improve, and dispose of properties to the

end that such counties and municipalities may be able to promote

industry and develop trade or other economic activity.” Similarly,

C.R.S. § 29-3-102(3) provides it was the intent of the General

15a

Appendix A

Assembly to vest Colorado counties and municipalities “with

all powers that may be necessary to enable them to accomplish

such purposes, which powers shall in all respects be exercised

for the benefit of the inhabitants of this state for the promotion

of their health, safety, welfare, convenience, and prosperity.”

Finally, C.R.S. § 29-3-104(1)(a), (b), (c) (1996) specifically

grants Colorado counties and municipalities with a variety of

general powers, including the power to “improve and equip.” to

“finance” projects, to “enter into financing agreements with

others for the purpose of providing revenues to pay the bonds

authorized by” the Bond Act, and to “issue revenue bonds for

the purpose of defraying the cost of financing, refinancing,

acquiring, improving, and equipping any project, including the

payment of principal and interest on such bonds.”

In Allright, we found state action immunity in an identical

section of Title 41, C.R.S. § 41-4-106, 937 F.2d at 1506-11. The

plaintiffs in Allright, operators of off-airport shuttle bus parking

services, filed suit against the City and County of Denver

contending regulations governing shuttle bus services at

Stapleton violated federal antitrust laws. The district court

dismissed plaintiffs’ claims, concluding defendants were entitled

to state action immunity. On appeal, we affirmed the district

court’s decision. In so doing, we cited C.R.S. §§ 41-4-101, 41-

4-106, and 41-4-205, and specifically noted that 41-4-106

“confer[red] upon counties a broad authority to regulate airport

activities, including the power ‘to regulate the receipt, deposit,

and removal and the embarkation of passengers or property to

or from such airports; to exact and require charges, fees, and

tolls . . . ; to lease or assign for operation such space or area...

necessary or useful in connection therewith; . . . to provide rules

and regulations governing the use of such airport and facilities

and the use of other property and means of transportation within

l6a

Appendix A

or over Said airport.’ ” 937 F.2d at 1508. We concluded the City

and County of Denver, in regulating shuttle bus services at the

airport, had done precisely what was allowed by 41-4-106.

Moreover, we concluded displacement of competition in the

provision of shuttle bus services was a foreseeable result of the

City and County of Denver’s broad authority to regulate.

Here, citing the above-quoted statutes and relying heavily

upon Allright, the district court held:

Not only do state statutes specifically

authorize cities and municipalities to take

authority over airports, but they also allow

for the issuance of bonds to finance and

improve airports. The statute also gives the

authority to establish a means to ensure

repayment of those bonds. The City and

County of Denver enacted the Denver Bond

Ordinance pursuant to state authority,

therefore the first part of the state action

immunity test is met.

Plaintiff argues that the Colorado Airport

Act does not specifically refer to car rental

activities. While this is true, the Court notes

that the Colorado Airport Act does not

specifically refer to shuttle bus services

either. Nevertheless, the Tenth Circuit found

that the Colorado Airport Act provided the

necessary authority to displace competition.

The case at hand involves “related activities”

as referred to in Allright Colorado. The City

and County of Denver clearly had the

17a

Appendix A

authority to issue bonds to finance new car

rental facilities at DIA. Once the City and

County of Denver issued bonds to finance the

DIA facilities, it was within the best interest

of the inhabitants of the State of Colorado

and the City and County of Denver that those

bonds be repaid. Therefore, under the

authority of the Colorado Airport Act and the

County and Municipality Development

Revenue Bond Act, it is reasonably

foreseeable that the City and County of

Denver would enact anticompetitive

legislation for the purpose of ensuring the

principal and interest of the airport bonds be

paid.

Appellant’s append. at 31-32 (internal citations omitted). We

agree. The above-cited statutes gave the City and County of

Denver authority to construct car rental facilities at DIA, to issue

bonds to cover the costs of construction, and to lease facilities

to defendants. Further, although Ordinance 863 specifically

refers only to the Bond Act, it is clear the City and County of

Denver had authority, pursuant to C.R.S. § 41-4-106, to require

defendants to impose the daily usage fee on their car rental

customers. As we noted in Allright, 41-4-106 gives the City and

County of Denver authority “to regulate the receipt, deposit,

and removal and the embarkation of passengers . . . to or from”

both Stapleton and DIA, “to exact and require charges, fees,

and tolls,” and “to provide rules and regulations governing the

use of such airport and facilities . . . and means of transportation

within or over said airport.” As in Allright, this is precisely what

the City and County of Denver did when it enacted the daily

usage fee. Further, as in Allright, it is reasonably foreseeable

18a

Appendix A

that implementation of such authority could displace competition

in the area of car rental services.

Because the Jown of Hallie test has been satisfied we

conclude defendants are entitled to state action immunity from

plaintiff’s antitrust claims.

Noerr-Pennington doctrine

Defendants argue the Noerr-Pennington doctrine also

provides them with immunity from plaintiff’s antitrust claims.

The Noerr-Pennington doctrine is based upon the protections

of the First Amendment and exempts from antitrust liability any

legitimate use of the political process by private individuals,

even if their intent is to eliminate competition. United Mine

Workers v. Pennington, 381 U.S. 657 (1965); Eastern R.R.

Presidents Conference v. Noerr Motor Freight, 365 U.S. 127

(1961); Oberndorf v. City and County of Denver, 900 F.2d 1434,

1439-40 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 845 (1990).

“Immunity under the Noerr-Pennington doctrine is designed to

protect the right to petition and engage in political activity.”

Oberndorf, 900 F.2d at 1440. In particular, the doctrine “protects

rights of association and petition, which would be denied if

groups with common interests could not, without violating the

antitrust laws, use the channels and procedures of government

agencies to advocate their causes and points of view respecting

resolution of their business and economic interests vis-a-vis their

competitors.” Jd. (citing California Motor Transport Co. v.

Trucking Unlimited, 404 U.S. 508, 510-11 (1972)); see

Professional Real Estate Investors v. Columbia Pictures

Industries, 508 U.S. 49, 56 (1993) (doctrine encompasses private

actions that “attempt to persuade the legislature or the executive

to take particular action with respect to a law that would produce

a restraint or a monopoly”).

19a

Appendix A

Although the district court did not address this argument,

we conclude the Noerr-Pennington doctrine exempts defendants

from antitrust liability to the extent plaintiff is challenging their

efforts to convince the City and County of Denver to enact

Ordinance 863 and impose the daily usage fee requirement.'

Findings of fact contrary to allegations in plaintiff's complaints?

Plaintiff contends the district court erred by making findings

of fact which were contrary to the allegations in his two

complaints, and without permitting any discovery or holding an

evidentiary hearing. According to plaintiff, the court was

obligated to take all facts pled in the complaints as true, as well

as all inferences that could be reasonably drawn therefrom.

Plaintiff also argues the court erred in concluding, based solely

upon the provisions of Ordinance 863, that the City and County

of Denver actively supervises the daily usage fee. More

specifically, plaintiff argues that, in deciding whether the second

prong of the Midcal test is satisfied, the court’s inquiry “is

incomplete if it does not include a close examination of what

the municipality actually did in furtherance of its duty to actively

supervise.” Appellant’s br. at 30 (underlining in original).

We conclude it was entirely appropriate for the district court

to take judicial notice of the provisions of Ordinance 863.

1. Neither the original complaint nor the amended complaint specifically

identified whether plaintiff was challenging defendants’ successful efforts at

lobbying the City and Count of Denver to pass Ordinance 863. However,

because the amended complaint alleges defendants “sought, and ultimately

obtained, a city ordinance purporting to ‘compel’ them to charge” the daily

usage fee, appellant’s append. at 6, we will assume for purposes of this appcal

that plaintiff is challenging defendants’ lobbying activities.

20a

Appendix A

Federal Rule of Evidence 201 authorizes a federal court to take

judicial notice of adjudicative facts at any stage of the

proceedings, and in the absence of a request of a party. See

Clemmons v. Bohannon, 918 F.2d 858, 865 n. 5 (1990), vacated

on other grounds, 956 F.2d 1523 (1992); Melton v. City of

Oklahoma City, 879 F.2d 706, 724 (10th Cir. 1989), modified

on other grounds, 928 F.2d 920 (10th Cir.) (en banc), cert.

denied, 502 U.S. 906 (1991). This includes taking notice of

provisions in municipal ordinances. Clemmons, 918 F.2d at 865

n. 5; see Melton, 879 F.2d at 724 (taking notice of Oklahoma

City Charter). Where, as here, a party requests a court to take

judicial notice of adjudicative facts and supplies the court with

the necessary information, Rule 201(d) requires the court to

comply with the request. Thus, the district court, having been

presented with Ordinance 863 by defendants, was required to

take judicial notice of its provisions. To the extent that plaintiff’s

allegations conflicted with the provisions of the ordinance,

plaintiff’s allegations were appropriately rejected or ignored.

See Fed. R. Evid. 201. Although plaintiff is entitled “to an

opportunity to be heard as to the propriety of taking notice and

the tenor of the matter noticed.” Fed. R. Evid. 201(e), the instant

appeal has certainly given him that opportunity. Notably, there

is nothing in his brief that effectively controverts or calls into

question any of the provisions of Ordinance 863.

Because we have concluded the Jown of Hallie test, rather

than the Midcal test, is applicable here, we find it unnecessary

to address plaintiff’s argument that the provisions of Ordinance

863, considered alone, are insufficient to satisfy the active state

supervision prong of the Midcal test.

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

2la

Appendix A

J. Henry, concurring.

I concur in the majority decision, writing separately only

to briefly note that though statute and precedent compel the

above result, several scholars and judges, and perhaps even the

ghost of Adam Smith, seem to warn that the policy behind our

laws may need to be re-examined by appropriate local, state,

and national legislative bodies.

Recent studies by Law and Economics scholars have

questioned the wisdom of interfering with the marketplace under

the state action exemption, set forth in Parker v. Brown, 317

U.S. 341, 350-52 (1943), from national antitrust law. See

generally William H. Page, Interest Groups, Antitrust, & State

Regulation; Parker v. Brown in the Economic Theory of

Legislation, 1987 Duke L.J. 618, 625 (1987) (noting that “state

economic regulation is frequently in sharp conflict with

[economic efficiency], largely because of the problem of rent

seeking by interest groups”); John Shepard Wiley, Jr., A Capture

Theory of Antitrust Federalism, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 713, 723 (1986).

But cf. Merrick B. Garland, Antitrust & State Action; Economic

Efficiency & the Political Process, 96 Yale L.J. 486, 519 (1987)

(critiquing approaches of Law and Economics scholars). Though

the state action exemption may be “grounded in principles of

‘ederalism,” a bedrock principle of our political system, it is

certainly also true that “[t]he preservation of the free market

and of a system of free enterprise without price fixing or cartels

is essential to economic freedom.” F-.T.C. v. Ticor Title Ins. Co.,

504 U.S. 621, 632 (1992).

Where the principles of federalism and the free market

collide, great caution is warranted in the balance we strike. As

Justice Kennedy observed for the majority in Ticor:

22a

Appendix A

Federalism serves to assign political

responsibility, not to obscure it. Neither

federalism nor political responsibility is well

served by a rule that essential national

policies are displaced by state regulations

intended to achieve more limited ends. For

States which do choose to displace the free

market with regulation, our insistence on real

compliance with both parts of the [California

Retail Liquor Dealers Ass'n v. \Midcal

[Aluminum, 445 U.S. 97 (1980),] test will

serve to make clear that the State is

responsible for the price fixing it has

sanctioned and undertaken to control.

Id. at 636. Indeed, in Ticor, 36 states filed amici curiae briefs

urging that broad application of the doctrine would not serve

the states best interests. Jd. at 635.

Certainly the market has been tinkered with before in order

to provide such vital public services as airports. But one wonders

why the car-renting consumer should have to pay for the facilities

of those less efficient car rental companies who cannot compete

with companies that can rent both facilities and automobiles

competitively. Indeed, the small-desk car rental companies might

as well have a desk as big as the companies that are trying harder

since the hapless tourist is going to have to pay for it anyway.

The litigation-spawning capabilities of state-sanctioned,

anticompetitive bargains have been prophesied and questioned.

See Frank E. Easterbrook, Foreword: The Court & the Economic

System, 98 Harv. L. Rev. 4, 18 (1984) (“[A]nticompetitive

bargains embedded in state legislation will become targets for

challenge under the antitrust laws; the deference due toward a

23a

Appendix A

statute that corrects ‘market failures’ is not due toward a statute

that creates them.”).

As the majority opinion makes clear, the state action

immunity doctrine once suggested two safeguards before

allowing disruption of the market. First, a city or state must

have clearly articulated and affirmatively expressed the state

policy to supplant competition in this area. See City of Lafayette

v. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 435 U.S. 389, 410 (1978);

Parker, 317 U.S. at 350-52. With respect to this requirement,

where private individuals or municipalities acted pursuant to

state authorization, “[cJloser analysis [wa]s required.” Hoover

v. Ronwin, 466 U.S. 558, 568 (1984); Porter Testing Lab. v. Board

of Regents, 993 F.2d 768, 770 (10th Cir. 1993). (Here, a not so

close analysis reveals that the city’s criterion seems to have

included a clearly articulated agreement on the part of the rental

companies to hold the city harmless in the event of a finding of

anticompetitive activity. Aplt’s Reply Br. at 1-2.) Second, the

policy had to be “actively supervised” by the state itself. Midcal,

445 U.S. at 105.

This Midcal test remains the test for actions taken by states,

but in Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34 (1985),

the Court noted:

In Midcal, we stated that the active state

supervision requirement was necessary to

prevent a State from circumventing the

Sherman Act’s proscriptions “by casting...

a gauzy cloak of state involvement over what

is essentially a private price fixing

arrangement.” 445 U.S., at 106 [sic]. Where

a private party is engaging in the

24a

Appendix A

anticompetitive activity, there is a real danger

that he is acting to further his own interest,

rather than the governmental interests of the

State. Where the actor is a municipality, there

is little or no danger that it is involved in a

private price-fixing arrangement. The only

real danger is that it will seek to further

purely parochial public interests at the

expense of more overriding state goals. This

danger is minimal, however, because of the

requirement that the municipality act

pursuant to a clearly articulated state policy.

Once it is clear that state authorization exists,

there is no need to require the State to

supervise actively the municipality’s

execution of what is a properly delegated

function.

Id. at 46-47 (emphasis in original).

Given that Hallie does away with the active supervision

prong for municipalities, we are left with an interference with

competition based on the lobbying ability of those few who

benefit from it. See John Cirace, An Economic Analysis of the

“State-Municipal Action” Antitrust Cases, 61 Tex. L. Rev. 481,

488 (1982) (“The ‘clearly articulated and affirmatively

expressed’ criterion involves the Court in the morass of

legislative intent and makes the applicability of federal antitrust

turn on whether the statute’s proponents had the ‘skill [or]

influence to generate proper legislative history.’ ”) (quoting

Cantor v. Detroit Edison Co., 428 U.S. 579, 610 (1976)

(Blackmun, J., concurring)); see also Fisher v. City of Berkeley,

475 U.S. 260, 269 (1986) (“There may be cases in which what

25a

Appendix A

appears to be a state- or municipality-administered price

stabilization scheme is really a private price-fixing conspiracy,

concealed under a ‘gauzy cloak of state involvement.’ This might

occur even where prices are ostensibly under the absolute control

of government officials.”) (quoting Midcal, 445 U.S. at 106).

Professor Wiley suggests the state action doctrine be

replaced with a doctrine that examines whether the market has

been “captured” by a few players to the detriment of competition,

99 Harv. L. Rev. at 743. Though, like Justice Scalia, “I am

skeptical about [ ] Parker v. Brown.” Ticor, 504 U.S. at 640

(Scalia, J., concurring), I believe that rending the veil of the

gauzy cloak may not require the adoption of Professor Wiley’s

intriguing model. Rather, we could insist that Midcal’s “clear

articulation” be very clear, and that even in the case of

municipalities, that there be active supervision (hopefully a bit

more active than we have here), and that finally, we could

require, a la Hoover, close analysis where private individuals

are acting under state action immunity.

Noting our country’s well-placed fealty to the free market,

the persuasive criticism of noted scholars and judges, and even

statements like that in Ticor that “state-action immunity is

disfavored, much as are repeals by implication,” 504 U.S. at

636, this doctrine has an amazing staying power. I am staying

with it today because it is the law. As Judge Easterbrook

observed, “Judges must be honest agents of the political

branches. They carry out decisions they do not make.” 98 Harv.

L. Rev. at 60. The ultimate resolution of this issue is properly

left to either the Supreme Court, which could overrule Hallie

and return to a test of greater scrutiny, or to the States and

localities, which could reject these blandishments in honor of

the invisible hand, or to Congress, which could fine-tune the

26a

Appendix A

Sherman Act. The obligation of this panel is to resolve the

dispute before it, which the majority opinion correctly

accomplished. But judges also have the opportunity if not the

obligation to call attention to anomalous results. This seems to

be one.

27a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

FILED FEBRUARY 23, 1996

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Judge Daniel B. Sparr

Civil Action No. 94-S-2148

DAVID CHARLES ZIMOMRA, on Behalf of Himself and All

Others Similarly Situated,

Plaintiff,

v.

ALAMO RENT-A-CAR, INC., AVIS, INC., BUDGET RENT

A CAR CORPORATION, DOLLAR RENT-A-CAR SYSTEMS,

INC., THE HERTZ CORPORATION, NATIONAL CAR

RENTAL SYSTEM, INC., THRIFTY RENT-A-CAR SYSTEM,

INC., VALUE RENT-A-CAR, INC.; ENTERPRISE LEASING

CO. OF DENVER; NATIONAL CAR RENTAL, INC.: RESORT

RENT-A-CAR, INC.; STEAMBOAT SPRINGS RENTAL AND

LEASING, INC.; TIARA ENTERPRISES, INC. and TRYND,

INC.,

Defendants.

ORDER

THIS MATTER comes before the Court on Defendants

Alamo Rent-A-Car, Inc., Avis, Inc., Budget Rent A Car Corp.,

Dollar Rent-A-Car Systems, Inc., The Hertz Corp., National Car

Rental System, Inc., Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, Inc.-and Value

28a

Appendix B

Rent-A-Car, Inc.’s Motion to Dismiss Pursuant to Federal Rule

of Civil Procedure 12(b)(6), filed August 19, 1994; Defendant

National Car Rental, Inc.’s Motion to Dismiss Pursuant to

Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), filed December 22, 1994; Defendant

Resort Rent-A-Car, Inc.’s Motion to Dismiss Pursuant to

12(b)(6), F.R.C.P., filed December 29, 1994; Defendant

Enterprises Leasing Co. of Denver’s Motion to Dismiss Pursuant

to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12 (b)(6), filed January 3, 1995; Defendant

Steamboat Springs Rental and Leasing Inc.’s Motion to Dismiss

Pursuant to Fed.R.Civ.P. 12(b)(6), filed January 6, 1995;

Defendant Trynd Inc.’s Motion to Dismiss Pursuant to Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure Rules 12(b)(6) and 9(b), filed January

23, 1995; and Plaintiffs Motion for Leave to File Supplemental

Memorandum in Support of Plaintiff’s Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss, filed November 15, 1995. The

Court has reviewed the Memorandum in Support of Defendants’

Motion to Dismiss, Defendant National Car Rental, Inc.’s

motion, Plaintiff’s Memorandum in Opposition, and Defendants’

Reply as well as Plaintiff’s Motion for Leave to File

Supplemental Memorandum and Defendants’ Responses in

Opposition.

The issue in this case involves whether either state action

immunity or the Local Government Antitrust Act of 1984 shields

car rental companies that operated out of Stapleton International

Airport (SIA) and who currently operate out of Denver

International Airport (DIA) from liability under the Sherman

Antitrust Act for charging and collecting a uniform fee from

consumers entering into car rental contracts at those locations.

Plaintiff’s contention is that since 1993, Defendants jointly

agreed to, and have in fact charged individuals into entering

into rental car contracts at SIA and DIA a uniform $2.98 daily

29a

Appendix B

fee in addition to their quoted rental prices. Plaintiff contends

any agreement for a uniform fee is in violation of the Sherman

Antitrust Act. Defendants admit that they have added a per-day

uniform fee of $2.98 to every car rental contract since November

1, 1993. Defendants, however, contend that they are required to

charge and collect this fee pursuant to Denver Bond Ordinance

No. 863. Plaintiff does not deny the existence of the Bond

Ordinance, but asserts that Defendants have sole control over

the amount of the fee and in fact are not required to charge and

collect any amount; that the ordinance simply asserts the

companies pay a fee for each car rental contract entered into

with consumers at SIA and DIA.

The Sherman Antitrust Act prohibits combinations and

agreements that result in anticompetitive activity. 15 U.S.C. § 1

(1995). However, the general prohibition is not without

exception. In Parker v. Brown, 317 U.S. 341, 63 S.Ct. 307 (1943)

[hereinafter Parker], the United States Supreme Court

recognized Congress’ intent to provide antitrust immunity for

State directed action by noting that “an unexpressed purpose to

nullify a state’s control over its officers and agents is not lightly

to be attributed to Congress.” 371 U.S. at 351. The Parker Court

found “nothing in the language of the Sherman Act or in its

history which suggests that its purpose was to restrain a state or

its officers or agents from activities directed by its legislature.”

317 U.S. at 350-51. Private parties may assert state action

immunity if their challenged activity is compelled and

supervised by the state. Southern Motor Carriers Rate

Conference, Inc. v. United States, 471 U.S. 48, 105 S.Ct. 1721

(1985) [hereinafter Southern Motor).

While municipalities, and private parties compelled to act

upon the directive of municipal ordinances, are not

30a

Appendix B

unequivocally allocated the same immunity as are states, when

a municipal ordinance is enacted pursuant to a clearly articulated

and affirmatively expressed state directive to replace competition

with regulation, the Parker doctrine shields municipalities and

individuals acting upon municipal compulsion from antitrust

liability. Town of Hallie v. City of Eau Claire, 471 U.S. 34, 105

S.Ct. 1713 (1985) [hereinafter Hallie].

A private party, acting at the direction of a municipal

ordinance, is immune from antitrust liability under state action

immunity if that party’s actions satisfy two requirements. First

the state must have articulated a clear, affirmative policy

allowing municipalities to engage in anticompetitive conduct.

California Retail Liquor Dealers Ass'n. v. Midcal Aluminum,

Inc., 445 U.S. 97, 105, 100 S.Ct. 937, 943 (1980) [hereinafter

Midcal}. Second, the state or municipality must actively

supervise the anticompetitive conduct. Jd. This two part test

ensures such anticompetitive activity is pursuant to a deliberate

state economic policy and is not solely for the benefit of the

private party. Federal Trade Commission v. Ticor Title Ins. Co.,

504 U.S. 621, 634-35, 112 S.Ct. 2169, 2177 (1992).

A. Colorado Has Articulated an Affirmative Policy

Allowing Anticompetitive Conduct

Defendants assert the collection of usage fees from their

customers is required by the Denver Bond Ordinance. In order

to ascertain whether the Denver Bond Ordinance is the result of

a Clearly articulated state policy, the applicable state statutes

must be analyzed. The City and County of Denver must have

had state authorization to enact ordinances, which accepting

Plaintiff’s argument, have resulted in anticompetitive conduct.

While express authorization of the anticompetitive action is not

3la

Appendix B

required, the conduct must be either a foreseeable result of state

policy or it must be “clear that anticompetitive effects logically

would result from [the] broad authority to regulate.” Hallie, 471

U.S. at 42. “As long as the State as sovereign clearly intends to

displace competition in a particular field with a regulatory

structure, the first prong of the Midcal test is satisfied.” Southern

Motor, 471 U.S. at 65.

The Colorado Airport Act gives the City and County of

Denver authority to limit competition within the operation of

an airport. Colo. Rev. Stat. (C.R.S.) § 41-4-101 et seg. (1993).

Specifically, the Colorado legislature authorized cities and

counties to gain: ;

acquisition of any lands for the purpose of

establishing airports or other air navigation

facilities; .. . the acquisition, establishment,

construction, enlargement, improvement,

maintenance, equipment, and operation of

airports ...; and the exercise of any other

powers granted in this part 1 to any county,

city and county, city .. . are hereby declared

to be public government functions ...

C.R.S. § 41-4-101 (1993).

Additionally, the Colorado legislature specifically granted

counties the authority:

to regulate the receipt, deposit, and removal

and the embarkation of passengers or

property to or from such airports; to exact

and require charges, fees, and tolls, together

32a

Appendix B

with a lien to enforce their payment; to lease

or assign for operation such space or area,

appurtenances, appliances, or other

conveniences necessary or useful in

connection therewith ...

C.R.S. § 41-4-106 (1993).

Through the Colorado Airport Act, the General Assembly

has also granted cities and towns the authorization to create

“airport authorities” for the “purpose of acquiring and improving

airports, ... and related facilities.” C.R.S. § 41-3-102 (1986).

The General Assembly also authorized counties to rent or lease

such facilities “upon such terms and conditions as are deemed

in the best interests of the county by the board of county

commissioners.” C.R.S. § 41-4-112 (1986).

The County and Municipality Development Revenue Bond

Act specifically allows for the issuance of bonds for special

projects. C.R.S. § 29-3-101 et seq. (1986 & Supp. 1995). The

General Assembly expressly indicated such an intent by stating

[i]t is the intent of the general assembly by the passage of this

article to authorize counties and municipalities to finance, ...

[and] improve . . . properties to the end that such counties and

municipalities may be able to promote industry.” C.R.S. § 29-3-

102(1) (1986).

Additionally, the General Assembly specifically indicated

that it is the intention of the assembly “to vest such counties

and municipalities with all powers that may be necessary to

enabie them to accomplish such purposes, which powers shall

in all respects be exercised for the benefit of the inhabitants of

this state for the promotion of their ... welfare, convenience,

i ee

33a

Appendix B

and prosperity.” C.R.S. § 29-3-102(3) (1986). The General

Assembly authorized counties and municipalities (1) “to

improve and equip; and to finance, [and] refinance . . . projects.”

C.R.S. § 29-3-104(1)(a) (1986); (2) “[t]o enter into financing

agreements with others for the purpose of providing revenues

to pay the bonds authorized by this article,” C.R.S. § 29-3-

104(1)(b) (1986); and (3) “[t]o issue revenue bonds for the

purpose of defraying the cost of financing, refinancing,

acquiring, improving, and equipping any project, including the

payment of principal and interest on such bonds.” C.R.S. § 29-

3-104(1)(c) (1986).

The statute which authorizes the issuance of bonds is the

County and Municipality Development Revenue Bond Act.

C.R.S. § 29-3-101 et seq. (1986 & Supp. 1995). Such bonds are

“special limited obligations.” C.R.S. § 29-3-105(1) (1986).

“[T]he principal of and interest on such bonds shall be payable,

subject to the mortgage provisions in this article, solely out of

the revenues derived from the financing, refinancing, sale or

leasing of the project.” Jd.

Upon such authority, the City and County of Denver passed

the Denver Bond Ordinance on November 8, 1993. The

ordinance states that the Special Facilities Leases shall require

that:

a Usage Fee shall be charged and collected

by each [car rental] company from the person

entering into each motor vehicle rental

agreement with the Company at Stapleton

International Airport prior to the opening date

of Denver International Airport for

commercial business as established by the

34a

Appendix B

City, and after such opening date .... The

amount of the Usage Fee for the period from

the date of issuance of the Bonds to October

1, 1994 shall be $2.98 per transaction day

and shall be the same in each Special

Facilities Lease.

City and County of Denver, Co. Bond Ordinance 863, § 3.4(a)

(Nov. 8, 1993) (emphasis added). Additionally, the Ordinance

mandates the car rental companies to remit the collected fees to

the city’s Paying Agent to be applied to the Bond payment. /d.

The Tenth Circuit has considered the Colorado Airport Act

in Allright Colorado, Inc. v. City and County of Denver, 937

F.2d 1502 (10th Cir. 1991) [hereinafter Allright Colorado]. In

that case, a group of off-site parking operators offering shuttle

bus service to their parking lots claimed that the city’s preference

for city-owned shuttle services disadvantaged them and resulted

in anticompetitive conduct. 937 F.2d at 1505. To determine if

state action immunity applied, the court analyzed the Colorado

Airport Act. The court found that the statutory authority of the

Airport Act “clearly and affirmatively express[es] a state policy

to displace competition in the operation of airports and related

activities .. .” 937 F.2d at 1509.

The court in Allright Colorado found the initial authority

under the Colorado Airport Act to expressly authorize the

anticompetitive conduct because the state authority expressed

the intention of cities and municipalities to regulate economic

policy regarding airports. 937 F.2d at 1508-09. Not only do state

statutes specifically authorize cities and municipalities to take

authority over airports, but they also allow for the issuance of

bonds to finance and improve airports. C.R.S. § 29-3-101 et

35a

Appendix B

seq. (1986 & Supp. 1995). The statute also gives the authority

to establish a means to ensure repayment of those bonds. C.R.S.

§ 29-3-104(1)(d) (1986). The City and County of Denver enacted

the Denver Bond Ordinance pursuant to state authority, therefore

the first part of the state action immunity test is met.

Plaintiff argues that the Colorado Airport Act does not

specifically refer to car rental activities. While this is true, the

Court notes that the Colorado Airport Act does not specifically

refer to shuttle bus services either. Nevertheless, the Tenth

Circuit found that the Colorado Airport Act provided the

necessary authority to displace competition. The case at hand

involves “related activities” as referred to in Allright Colorado.

The City and County of Denver clearly had the authority to issue

bonds to finance new car rental facilities at DIA. Once the City

and County of Denver issued bonds to finance the DIA facilities,

it was within the best interest of the inhabitants of the State of

Colorado and the City and County of Denver that those bonds

be repaid. Therefore, under the authority of the Colorado Airport

Act and the County and Municipality Development Revenue

Bond Act, it is reasonably foreseeable that the City and County

of Denver would enact anticompetitive legislation for the

purpose of ensuring the principal and interest of the airport bonds

be paid.

B. The City and County of Denver Actively Supervise

the Anticompetitive Conduct

The second prong of the state action immunity doctrine

requires that the anticompetitive conduct is actively supervised.

Midcal, 445 U.S. at 105 (1980). This ensures that the conduct

continues in the interest of the state and the policy expressly

indicated by the state authority.

36a

Appendix B

Plaintiff contends there is inadequate supervision to meet

this prong. The Denver Bond Ordinance, however, expressly

authorizes the method of fee determination, as well as its

collection and application to the Bond payment. First, the amount

of the Usage Fee is determined by an Independent Consultant

appointed by a Managing Committee with the approval of the

Manager. Bond Ordinance 863 § 1.3, p.14 & 3.4(b). While the

Managing Committee is comprised of authorized rental car

company representatives, the Manger is identified as, first the

Manager of Public Works of the City or his designee, and then

at a later date, as the Manager of Aviation of the City or his

designee. Jd. § 1.3, p.17. Therefore, the Independent Consultant

can not be appointed without the approval of the City. Indeed,

the Bond Ordinance specifies a certain company as the original

Independent Consultant.

Second, the amount of the usage fee is not within the sole

discretion of the Independent Consultant. The Special Facilities

and Grounds Lease referred to in the Denver Bond Ordinance

expressly sets out a formula to guide the determination of the

amount of the fee. (Exhibit B to Memorandum in Support of

Defendants’ Motion). Specifically, the Special Facilities and

Grounds Lease, as well as the Bond Ordinance, mandate that

the usage fees shall equal 115 percent of the sum of the principal

of and interest on the Bonds maturing within the current twelve

month period, along with reasonably projected Administrative

Costs. Special Facilities and Grounds Lease, § 6.3(c) and Bond

Ordinance 863 § 3.4(b). The City has a set period to comment

on the proposed amount of the Usage Fee and retains the ability

to object to any proposal the Independent Counsel submits. Bond

Ordinance 863 § 3.4(c).

Third, if the amount proposed by the Independent

SSA, renee LANGA ele SIN en dt Sa glE eRe GE ORI IEE Pes Ie mae

Sie pA Ph enpot

37a

Appendix B

Consultant does not cover the principal and interest plus costs

as directed by the Bond Ordinance, the City can charge and

collect any additional amounts from the car rental companies.

Id. § 3.4(b). Consequently, while Plaintiff argues that the City’s

supervision is “toothless,” it is clear that the City retains ultimate

control over the amounts paid by the car rental companies to

repay the bonds. Therefore, the City retains control over the

amount of the usage fee, requires the usage fee to be charged,

provides instructions on how such monies are paid to the City

and mandates the steps to be taken if the monies paid to the

City are not enough to cover the principal and interest on the

bonds.

The City and County of Denver meets the minimal

requirements for active supervision of this conduct. The Denver

Bond Ordinance specifically requires rental car companies to

charge and collect a fee from their customers. Those companies

then must pay the City. The City actively engages in the

committee that oversees the analysis of the amount of the usage

fee required and has the authority to compel any car rental

company to pay additional costs if the projections of the

Independent Consultant do not meet the Bond expenses.

Conclusion

The acts complained of constitute a method of repaying

the bonds which allows the car rental companies to have some

input into paying the debt for which they are legally responsible.

The arrangement also benefits the City and County of Denver

which has an arranged method for the repayment of its bonds.

The City and County of Denver devised a state authorized

method by which the users of the facilities pay the bond

payments through a usage fee. In effect, this activity does not

38a

Appendix B

result in anticompetitive conduct. Plaintiff does not contend that

the Defendants raised their quoted rental prices to an amount

that is uniform. Instead the Defendants simply added a uniform

fee to those differing price quotes. Therefore, the competition

remains the same between the car rental companies.

Additionally, the monies collected from the added usage fee is

not the property of the rental car companies, and therefore does

not result in an increase of profit for any car rental company.

Specifically those monies, as per the Special Facilities and

Ground Leases, “are property in which the [rental car] Company

holds only a possessory interest and not an equitable interest.”

Special Facilities and Grounds Lease, § 6.3(e).

Therefore, the state action immunity doctrine shields the

Defendant car rental companies from antitrust liability. To hold

otherwise would punish the Defendants for complying with local

laws. The key is that these Defendants imposed a fee on the

rental transactions pursuant to a legitimate ordinance. In that

the Denver Bond Ordinance was passed with the express

authority of the State, to the extent that it results in

anticompetitive effect, the Defendants are shielded by the Parker

state action immunity doctrine.

Due to the applicability of the state action immunity doctrine

to this case, the Court need not look to the Local Government

Antitrust Act to find further immunity for the defendants.

The Court finds that it is not necessary to consider Plaintiff's

supplemental documents. The issues in this case rest on the fact

that the Defendants acted pursuant to a current municipal

ordinance. A plain reading of the Denver Bond Ordinance shows

Defendants’ actions are required by the City and County of

Denver. In addition, the date of the documents submitted makes

them irrelevant to the issues in this case.

39a

Appendix B

Jurisdiction over Plaintiff’s remaining claims is conferred

by 28 U.S.C. § 1367 which is a codification of the doctrine of

supplemental jurisdiction. Supplement?l iurisdiction is a

Statutory invention which supplanted the noticns of pendent and

ancillary jurisdiction, and was codified as part of the Judicial

Improvements Act of 1990. Section 1367 gives jurisdiction over

“all other claims that are so related to claims in the action within

such original jurisdiction that they form part of the same case

Or controversy under Article III of the United States

Constitution.” 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a). That statute also states that

“[a] district court may decline to exercise supplemental

jurisdiction over a claim in subsection (a) if the district court

has dismissed all claims over which the district court has original

jurisdiction.” 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c)(3).

Because the only claim over which this Court has original

jurisdiction is being dismissed, this Court declines, pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1967(c)(3), to exercise supplemental jurisdiction

over the remaining state law claims.

It is, therefore, ORDERED that

1. Defendants’ Motions to Dismiss are GRANTED. Count

I of Plaintiff’s complaint is dismissed with prejudice.

2. Plaintiff’s second, third and fourth claims for relief are

dismissed without prejudice.

3. Plaintiff’s Motion For Leave to File Supplemental

Memorandum in Support of Plaintiff’s Opposition to

Defendant’s Motions to Dismiss is DENIED.

Finally the Court notes that no appearance has been entered

40a

Appendix B

on behalf of Tiara Enterprises, Inc. The Court also notes that

Defendant Tiara has been served. Plaintiff is given until March

4, 1996 to file a motion for default judgment against Tiara

Enterprises, Inc. or the Court will dismiss that Defendant for

failure to prosecute.

DATED at Denver, Colorado, this 23rd day of February,

1996.

BY THE COURT:

s/ Daniel B. Sparr

Daniel B. Sparr

United States District Judge

tanh ahi Medea ton Iney a 5

7 4la

APPENDIX C — EXCERPTS OF ORDINANCE 863, SERIES

1993, CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER, COLORADO

CITY AND COUNTY OF DENVER

STATE OF COLORADO

Certification

I, Arie P. Taylor, Clerk and Recorder, Ex-Officio Clerk of

the City and County of Denver, do hereby certify that the attached

is a true and correct copy of Ordinance No. 863 Series 1993

I have hereunto set my hand and

affixed the Seal of the City and County

of Denver, State of Colorado, this 12th

day of August A.D. 1994

Arie P. Taylor

Clerk and Recorder, Ex-officio

Clerk of the City and County of Denver

s/ Donna Verris

Deputy

* * *

Section 1.3. Definitions. Terms defined in the Recitals to

this Ordinance shall have the meanings assigned to them in the

Recitals, except that if any term is defined in both the Recitals

and in this Section 1.3, the definition of such term in this Section

1.3 shall control. For all purposes of this Ordinance, except as

otherwise expressly provided or unless the context otherwise

requires:

“Administrative Expenses” means (a) any fees charged or

42a

Appendix C

expenses incurred by the City in connection with the Facilities,

the Special Facilities Leases, the Concession Agreements, this

Ordinance, the issuance and sale of the Bonds, and any event or

act with respect to or in furtherance of the transactions

contemplated hereby or thereby, including but not limited to

(i) fees charged by the City for services performed by the

Treasurer or other officers or employees of the City, and his and

their designees and agents, with respect to the holding,

investment and disbursement of moneys, giving and receiving

notices or other information and taking other actions required

or permitted to be taken by the City or the Treasurer pursuant to

the Special Facilities Leases, the Concession Agreements or this

Ordinance, which fees shall not exceed fees charged by the City

for the performance of comparable services in similar

transactions, (ii) any reasonable fees and expenses incurred by

the City (including reasonable fees and expenses of Counsel to

the City) in connection with the items referred to in this clause

(a); and (iii) any taxes or governmental charges payable by the

City in connection with the Facilities, the Bonds or any of the

other items referred to in this clause (a); (b) the fees, including

an initial or acceptance fee and the annual fee, and the reasonable

expenses of the Credit Facility Issuer under the Reimbursement

Agreement and each of the Credit Support Banks under the

separate Credit Support Agreements between such Credit

Support Banks and the respective Companies; (c) the fees,

including any initial or acceptance and any annual fee, and the

reasonable expenses of the Paying Agent (including reasonable

fees and expenses of Counsel to the Paying Agent), the Bond

Registrar and the Independent Consultant for ordinary services

rendered by them under this Ordinance, and the reasonable fees

and expenses of the Paying Agent, the Bond Registrar and the

Independent Consultant for extraordinary services rendered by

them under this Ordinance; (d) any fees and expenses similar

VEN RNR) OP eA eee

PPE PSE iP tats ates Rr sn, SIH WT NEE

OF SARS, TI MAE OPE Leh RAEN NIE Ht

.

&

3

3

a

an

43a

Appendix C

to those described in clause (c) of this definition for other persons

retained by the City, the Managing Committee or a Company to

perform services in connection with any of the foregoing; and

(e) any reasonable costs incurred by any Registered Owner in

connection with any proposed amendment, consent or waiver

requested under this Ordinance, the Credit Facility or any

document related thereto, including the fees of any special

counsel, if and to the extent approved by the Treasurer and the

Managing Committee; provided, however, that all fees, expenses

or other charges included in Administrative Expenses shall be

subject to any agreement, other arrangement or law specifying

or limiting the same; and provided further that, subject to any

contrary provision or any agreement, other arrangement or law

referred to in the preceding proviso, Administrative Expenses

do not include any fees or expenses that would not have been

charged or incurred but for the negligence or misconduct of the

person charging or incurring the same.

* * *

“Company” or “Companies” means the following entities,

and any surviving resulting or transferee entity permitted under

Section 7.3 of each Special Facilities Lease; in addition, each

Company’s Share and Percentage of the Bonds shall be as set

forth below:

Company’s Company's

Share Percentage of

Company ofBonds — Bonds

Steamboat Springs Rental and $ 959,092 1.462499%

Leasing, Inc. d/b/a Advantage

Advantage Rent-A-Car, Inc.

(“Advantage”)

44a

Appendix C

Alamo Rent-A-Car, Inc.

(“Alamo”)

Avis Rent-A-Car System, Inc.

(“Avis”)

Budget Rent a Car Systems, Inc.

(“Budget”)

Trynd, Inc. d/b/a Dollar Rent-A-

Car (“Dollar”)

Enterprise Leasing Co. of

Denver (“Enterprise”’)

The Hertz Corporation

(“Hertz”)

National Car Rental Inc.

(“National”)

Tiara Enterprises, Inc. d/b/a

Payless Car Rental (“Payless”)

Resort Rent-A-Car, Inc.

(“Resort”)

Thrifty Rent-A-Car System, Inc.

(“Thrifty”)

Value Rent-A-Car, Inc.

(“Value”)

8,247,275

10,864,307

7,562,004

4,915,160

1,432,458

18,185,333

6,310,313

1,051,358

1,009,873

1,861,583

3,180,244

12.57609 1

16.566747

11.531136

7.495021

2.184320

27.730421

9.622460

1.603193

1.539934

2.838688

4.849485

45a

Appendix C

“Cost” or “Costs” means any cost made or incurred in

respect in respect of the Facilities or the Terminal Improvements

permitted under the Act or the Charter. Without limiting the

generality of the foregoing, such costs may include: (i) amounts

payable to contractors and suppliers (including fees for designing

the Facilities and the Terminal Building Premises where the

designs are provided by the contractor or supplier); (ii) costs of

labor, services, materials, supplies and equipment furnished by

a Company or by Company personnel (including shipping costs

and such Company’s standard, reasonable allowances for

overhead); (iii) architectural, engineering, legal and other

professional fees; and (iv) Administrative Expenses.

“Counsel” means an attorney at law or a firm of attorneys

(who may be an employee of or counsel to the City, a Company

or the Paying Agent) duly admitted to the practice of law before

the highest court of any state of the United States of America.

* * *

“Independent Consultant” means David M. Griffith &

Associates or other independent accountant or consultant or

accounting or consulting firm appointed from time to time by

the Managing Committee with the approval of the Manager, who

has a favorable reputation for special skills and knowledge which

enable it to perform its duties under this Ordinance.

* * *

“Managing Committee” means a committee by such name

composed of one Authorized Company Representative for each

of the following Companies: Alamo, Avis, Budget, Dollar, Hertz

and Payless; provided that any such Company may be replaced

46a

Appendix C

in accordance with written notice given by at least 66 2/3% of

the members of the Managing Committee to the City, the Paying

Agent and the Credit Facility Issuer. The Authorized Company

Representatives on the Managing Committee and the Chair of

such Committee serving from time to time shall be as set forth

in written notices filed with the City, the Paying Agent and the

Credit Facility Issuer.

“Usage Fees” means the amounts to be charged pursuant to

each motor vehicle rental contract which is subject to the Airport

concession and collected by each respective Company under

Section 6.3 of the Special Facilities Leases as the same may be

in effect from time to time, which Usage Fees are to be credited

against Facilities Rentals and Administrative Expenses to the

extent set forth in the respective Special Facilities Leases.

* * *

Section 1.15. Certain Determinations and Findings. In

accordance with the Act, the following determination and

findings are hereby made:

(a) The maximum amount necessary in each year to

pay the principal of and the interest on the Bonds (based on

the interest rate(s) on the Bonds and assuming that interest

is paid semiannually and assuming no redemptions, other

than mandatory sinking fund redemptions, prior to maturity)

is as follows:

PT OR Fire RT 0) 5

47a

Appendix C

Annual Period to

and Including Annual Debt Service

December 31 Requirement

1994 $11,550,205.21

1995 11,550,556.40

1996 11,551,026.10

1997 11,550,639.00

1998 11,550,915.70

1999 11,550,206.10

2000 11,550,860. 10

(b) Other than the establishment and maintenance of a

Reserve Balance in the Car Rental Special Facilities

Revenue Fund and the deposit to the Special City Reserve

Fund, no amounts are required to be paid into any reserve

fund in connection with the issuance of the Bonds.

(c) Each Special Facilities Lease requires that a

Company maintain, or cause to be maintained, the Facilities

leased to it and to carry, or cause to be carried, all proper

insurance with respect thereto.

(d) The revenues and other amounts payable under the

Special Facilities Leases are sufficient to pay, in addition

to all other requirements of the Special Facilities Leases

and this Ordinance, all sums referred to in subsections (a),

(b) and (c) of this Section 1.15.

48a

Appendix C

(e) The revenues and other amounts payable under the

Special Facilities Leases are sufficient to pay, in addition

to all other requirements of the Special Facilities Leases

and this Ordinance, all taxes or payments in lieu of taxes

levied upon the Facilities.

* * *

ARTICLE II

THE BONDS

Section 2.1. Authorized Amount of Bonds; Deposit of

Proceeds. No Bonds may be issued under the provisions of this

Ordinance except in accordance with this Article II. The total

principal amount of Bonds issued hereunder shall be

$65,579,000, except as provided in Section 2.7 hereof. From

the proceeds of the sale of the Bonds, the City shall (a) deposit

with the Paying Agent in an Issuance Expense Account such

amounts to be paid to such persons as shall be directed by the

Treasurer in writing at the time of the issuance of the Bonds,

(b) pay to the City the amount of $1,979,587 for certain design

and construction expenditures made by the City in respect of

certain improvements originally expected to be used by the

Companies, (c) deposit to the Capitalized Interest Account in

the Car Rental Special Facilities Revenue Fund the amount of

$1,461,482.66 or such other amount as shall be directed by the

Treasurer, as required by Section 3.1(c) hereof, and (d) deposit

the balance into the respective Company Construction Accounts

in the Construction Fund as shall be directed by the Treasurer

in writing at the time of issuance of the Bonds.

* * *

49a

Appendix C

(ii) Administrative Expense Account. On the first

day of each month, commencing January 1, 1994, the

Paying Agent shall transfer $100,000 from the Car

Rental Special Facilities Revenue Fund to such Account

and such additional amounts as from time to time may

be necessary to pay Administrative Expenses as the same

become due; provided, that the amount of such monthly

transfer may be increased or decreased as shall be

directed by the Managing Committee with the approval

of the Treasurer and the Credit Facility Issuer.

oe * *

Section 3.4. Usage Fees.

(a) Under Section 6.3 of each Special Facilities Lease,

commencing on the date of original issuance and delivery of

the Bonds, a Usage Fee shall be charged and collected by each

Company from the person entering into each motor vehicle rental

agreement with the Company at Stapleton International Airport

prior to the opening date of Denver International Airport for

commercial business as established by the City, and after such

opening date, which is subject to the requirements set forth in

Section 6.2 of the Concession Agreements with respect to the

payment of Concession Fees. The amount of the Usage Fee for

the period from the date of issuance of the Bonds to October 1,

1994 shall be $2.98 per transaction day and shall be the same in

each Special Facilities Lease. Usage Fees collected by each

Company shall be paid monthly to the Paying Agent for deposit

in that Company’s Revenue Account in the Car Rental Special

Facilities Revenue Fund for credit against such Company’s

obligations to pay Facilities Rentals and Administrative

Expenses. In the event that the Usage Fees collected by a

50a

Appendix C

Company and paid to the Paying Agent for any six-month period

ending on April 1 or October 1, when added to other moneys

available in such Company’s Revenue Account, are not sufficient

to pay when due the principal of and interest on such Company’s

Percentage of the Bonds and the portion of the Administrative

Expenses corresponding to such Company’s Percentage of the

Bonds during such six-month period, the Paying Agent shall

notify such Company of the expected deficiency at least 15 days

before the next Interest Payment Date, and the Company is

required to pay, or cause to be paid, an amount equal to such

deficiency pursuant to Section 6.1 or 6.5 of its Special Facilities

Lease. As required under the Special Facilities Leases, the

amount of such deficiency shall be paid not later than five days

prior to such Interest Payment Date.

(b) The Usage Fee for each 12-month period commencing

October 1, 1994 shall be an amount determined by the

Independent Consultant to be sufficient to produce revenues

which, together with available Reserve Balances in the respective

Company Revenue Accounts in the Car Rental Special Facilities

Revenue Fund equal, in the aggregate, to 115% of the sum of

the principal of and interest on the Bonds coming due in such

12-month period plus the reasonably expected Administrative

Expenses for such 12-month period, deficiencies then existing

in the Special City Reserve Fund, and payments to the City under

Section 3.1(d) hereof, for such period. In determining the amount

of the Usage Fee for any period the Independent Consultant

shall evaluate such factors as it shall deem necessary which may

include, among other things, the number of transaction days

experienced by the Companies for one or more previous years

for the rental of motor vehicles subject to the payment of

Concession Fees (or comparable information at Stapleton

International Airport), the number of transaction days estimated

Sla

Appendix C

by the Companies for such period for the rental of motor vehicles

subject to the payment of Concession Fees, and an estimate of

the number of origination and destination passengers at the

Airport for such period.

(c) The Independent Consultant shall consult with the

Manager and the Managing Committee and shall furnish to the

City, the Companies, the Paying Agent and the Credit Support

Banks a report not later than July 1 of each year, commencing

July 1, 1994, setting forth the Usage Fee for the immediately

succeeding 12-month period beginning October 1 which, in the

opinion of the Independent Consultant, is necessary to produce

the required Usage Fee receipts (including any deficiencies in

the balance in the Administrative Expense Account, in the

Special City Reserve Fund, and in the amounts required to be

paid to the City under Section 3.1(d) hereof for the 12-month

period), together with an explanation of the basis for determining

such amount. The City, the Companies and the Credit Support

Banks shall have until July 15 of such year to comment upon

the proposed amount of the Usage Fee recommended in such

report and the assumptions, projections and other criteria

evaluated by the Independent Consultant in its determination of

such amount. If the City, the Managing Committee and none of

the Credit Support Banks object to the amount of the proposed

Usage Fee set forth in such report by July 15 of such year, such

usage Fee shall be charged and collected by such Company for

the immediately succeeding 12-month period commencing on

October 1. In the event that the City, the Managing Committee

or any Credit Support Bank furnishes to the Independent

Consultant and the City, the Paying Agent, the other Companies,

and the other Credit Support Banks, as the case may be, a written

notice objecting to the amount of the proposed Usage Fee and

setting forth tue basis for such objection, the Independent

52a

Appendix C

Consultant shall evaluate the objection to the amount of the

proposed Usage Fee, including the basis for such objection, and

if it deems any adjustments are necessary to the amount of the

proposed Usage Fee shall recalculate the amount of the proposed

Usage Fee for such 12-month period taking into account, as

deemed appropriate by the Independent Consultant, the basis

for the objection to the proposed Usage Fee as set forth in such

notice and such other information which may be furnished by

the City, the Companies, and any Credit Support Bank. The

Independent Consultant shall furnish to the City, the Paying

Agent, the Companies and the Credit Support Banks a report

not later than August | of such year setting forth the amount of

the recalculated Usage Fee which shall be charged and collected

by each Company in accordance with Section 6.3 of its Special

Facilities Lease for the immediately succeeding 12-month period

commencing on October 1. The Paying Agent shall send a copy

of all reports of the Independent Consultant to each Registered

Owner requesting same.

Section 3.5. Creation of the Construction Fund. There is

hereby created and ordered established with the Paying Agent a

special fund to be designated “City and County of Denver,

Colorado, Taxable Airport Special Facilities Revenue Bonds

(Rental Car Projects), Series 1993, Construction Fund” (the

“Construction Fund”), for the payment of Costs of the Facilities.

A separate account (a “Company Construction Account”) shall

be established in the Construction Fund for each Company. The

Construction Fund shall be maintained and kept by the Paying

Agent separate from all other moneys, funds and accounts. After

depositing and paying the amounts required under Section 2.1

hereof, the City shall forthwith deposit the balance of the net

proceeds of the Bonds in the respective Company Construction

Accounts in Construction Fund in accordance with instructions

53a

Appendix C

from the Treasurer. The Construction Fund shall consist of the

amounts deposited therein pursuant to this Ordinance and any

other amounts any Company may deposit therein. The amounts

in the Construction Fund, until applied as hereinafter provided,

shall be held for the security of all Bonds outstanding hereunder.

The Paying Agent shall maintain a record of the income on

investments and interest earned on deposit of amounts held in

each Company Construction Account within the Construction

Fund and on proceeds of the Bonds in respect of accrued or

capitalized interest held by the Paying Agent as Pledged

Revenues. Such income or interest may be expended at any time

or from time to time to pay Costs of the Facilities in the same

manner as the proceeds of Bonds deposited in the Construction

Fund are expended, and for no other purpose.

. * *

Section 5.3. Alternate Credit Facilities. The Managing

Committee may, at its option, and with the consent of at least

66-2/3% in aggregate principal amount of the Bonds then

outstanding, provide for the delivery to the Paying Agent of an

Alternate Credit Facility having administrative terms acceptable

to the Paying Agent. The Registered Owners may, upon a

downgrade of the rating of the Credit Facility Issuer by Moody’s

or S&P below A or A-2, respectively, at their option (which may

be exercised only upon approval by Registered Owners holding

at least 66 2/3% in aggregate principal amount of the Bonds

then outstanding), provide for the delivery to the Paying Agent

of an Alternate Credit Facility having administrative terms

acceptable to the Paying Agent.

54a

Appendix C

ARTICLE VI

INVESTMENT OF MONEYS

Section 6.1. Investment of Bond Fund, Construction Fund,

Special City Reserve Fund and Car Rental Special Facilities

Revenue Fund Moneys. Any moneys held as part of the Car

Rental Special Facilities Revenue Fund, the Bond Fund, or the

Company Construction Accounts in the Construction Fund shall

be invested and reinvested by the Paying Agent, at the written

direction (or oral direction confirmed in writing) of the

Managing Committee, in accordance with Section 5.7 of the

Special Facilities Leases. Investments of moneys held in the

Special City Reserve shall be invested and reinvested by the

Paying Agent at the written direction of the Treasurer in

accordance with Section 3.9. Investments of the Car Rental

Special Facilities Revenue Fund and Company Construction

Accounts in the Construction Fund shall be made in Investment

Securities maturing or subject to redemption by the holder at

such time or times when such moneys are reasonably anticipated

to be needed for construction and acquisition of the Facilities,

but in no event shall such Investment Securities have a maturity

of more than 18 months. Investments of the Bond Fund and the

Special City Reserve Fund shall be made in Federal Securities

with maturities not exceeding six months.

55a

APPENDIX D — EXCERPTS FROM COLORADO

REVISED STATUTES §§ 29-3-101, et seg. (COUNTY AND

MUNICIPALITY DEVELOPMENT REVENUE BONDS)

zs * «*

29-3-102. Legislative declaration. (1) It is the intent of

the general assembly by the passage of this article to authorize

counties and municipalities to finance, acquire, own, lease,

improve, and dispose of Properties to the end that such counties

and municipalities may be able to promote industry and develop

trade or other economic activity by inducing profit or nonprofit

corporations, federal governmental offices, hospitals, and

agricultural, manufacturing, industrial, commercial, or business

enterprises to locate, expand, or remain in this State, to mitigate

the serious threat of extensive unemployment in parts of this

State, to secure and maintain a balanced and stable economy in

all parts of this state, or to further the use of its agricultural

products or natural resources.

(2) It is further intent of the general assembly to authorize

counties and municipalities to finance, refinance, acquire, own,

lease, improve, and dispose of Properties to the end that pollution

may be ameliorated and controlled more adequate hospital care

may be provided, more adequate residential housing facilities

for low- and middle-income families and persons may be

provided, more adequate facilities for disposing of sewage and

solid waste and furnishing water, energy, and gas may be

provided, more adequate facilities for Sports events and activities

and recreation activities, conventions, and trade shows may be

provided, more adequate airports, mass commuting facilities,

parking facilities, or storage or training facilities may be

provided, and more adequate research, product-testing, and

administrative facilities may be provided, all of which promote

the public health, welfare, safety, convenience, and prosperity.

(3) It is therefore the intention of the general assembly to

56a

Appendix D

vest such counties and municipalities with all powers that may

be necessary to enable them to accomplish such purposes, which

powers shall in all respects be exercised for the benefit of the

inhabitants of this state for the promotion of their health, safety,

welfare, convenience, and prosperity.

(4) It is not intended by this article to authorizeany county

Or municipality to operate any manufacturing, industrial,

commercial, or business enterprise, or any research, product-

testing, or administrative facilities of such enterprise, nor to

prohibit the operation of utility plants, residental housing

facilities, hospitals, sewage or solid waste disposil facilities,

facilities for the furnishing of water, energy, or gas sports and

recreation facilities, convention or trade show facilites, airports,

mass commuting facilities, parking facilities, or storage or

training facilities by any county or municipality.

(5) This article shall be liberally construed inconformity

with this legislative declaration.

29-3-103. Definitions. As used in this article unless the

context otherwise requires:

(1) “Bonds” or “revenue bonds” means bond, notes, or

other securities evidencing an obligation and issue: under this

article by a county or municipality.

(2) “County” means any county within this stde.

(3) “Finance” or “financing” means the issuim of bonds

by a county or municipality and the use of substanially all of

57a

Appendix D

the proceeds therefrom pursuant to a financing agreement with

the user to pay (or to reimburse the user or its designee) for the

costs of the acquisition or construction of a project, whether

these costs are incurred by the county, the municipality, the user,

or a designee of the user. Title to or in the project may at all

times remain in the user, and, in such case, the bonds of the

county or municipality may be secured by mortgage or other

lien upon the project or upon any other property of the user, or

both, granted by the owner or by a pledge of one or more notes,

debentures, bonds, or other secured or unsecured debt

obligations of the user, as the governing body deems advisable,

but no county or municipality shall be authorized hereby to

pledge any of its property or to otherwise secure the payment of

any bonds with its property; except that the county or

municipality may pledge the property of the project or revenues

therefrom.

(4) “Financing agreement” include a lease, sublease,

installment purchase agreement, rental agreement, option to

purchase, or any other agreement or any combination thereof,

entered into in connection with the financing or refinancing of

a project pursuant to this article.

(5) “Mortgage” means a deed of trust or any other security

device for both real and personal property.

(6) “Municipality” means any city, including without

limitation any city or city and county operating under a home

rule or special legislative charter, or town within this State.

(7) “Ordinance” means an ordinance of a city, town, or city

and county.

58a

Appendix D

(8) “Pollution” means any form of environmental pollution,

including but not limited to water pollution, air pollution,

pollution caused by solid waste disposal, thermal amen

radiation contamination, or noise pollution.

(9) “Pollution control facilities” means any land, building,

or other improvement and all real or personal property, and any

undivided or other interest in any of the foregoing, including

without limitation structures, equipment, pipes, pumps, dams,

reservoirs, improvements, or other facilities useful for the

purpose of reducing, abating, preventing, controlling, or

eliminating pollution caused or produced by the operation of

any manufacturing, industrial, or commercial enterprise or any

utility plant or useful for the purpose of removing or treating

any substance in processed material, which material would cause

pollution if used without such removal or treatment.

(10) “Project” means any land, building, or other

improvement and all real or personal properties, and any

undivided or other interest in any of the foregoing, except

inventories, raw materials, and other working capital, whether

or not in existence, suitable or used for or in connection with

any of the following:

(a) Manufacturing, industrial, commercial, agricultural, or

business enterprises (including, without limitation, enterprises

engaged in storing, warehousing, distributing, selling, or

transporting any products of agriculture, industry, commerce,

manufacturing, or business), or any utility plant;

(b) Hospital, health-care, or nursing-home facilities

(including, without limitation, clinics and out-patient facilities

and facilities for the training of hospital, health-care, or nursing-

home personnel);

59a

Appendix D

(c) Pollution control facilities;

(d) Residential facilities for low- and middle-income

families or persons intended for use as the sole place of residence

by the owners or intended occupants. “Low- and middle-income

persons and families” means persons and families determined

by a county or municipality (which determination shall be

conclusive) to lack the financial ability to pay prices or rentals

sufficient to induce private enterprise in such county or

municipality to build a sufficient supply of adequate, safe, and

Sanitary dwellings without the special assistance afforded by

this article;

(e) Sewage or solid waste disposal facilities;

(f) Facilities for the furnishing of water, if available on

reasonable demand to members of the general public;

(g) Facilities for the furnishing of energy or gas;

(h) Sports and recreational facilities available for use by

members of the general public either as participants or spectators

and functionally related and subordinate residential housing

facilities, including residential facilities, without regard to the

limitations contained in paragraph (d) of this subsection (10),

for employees of the persons or entities owning or operating

such sports and recreational facilities and facilities located in

proximity to and in connection with sports and recreational

facilities providing treatment, therapy, or recreational

Opportunities for mentally an physically handicapped persons

and families of such persons;

(i) Convention or trade show facilities;

60a

Appendix D

(j) Airports, facilities for the loading or unloading of

unprocessed agricultural products or raw materials, mass

commuting facilities, railroad facilities, parking facilities, or

storage or training facilities directly related to any of the

foregoing;

(k) Research, product-testing, and administrative facilities;

and

(1) Facilities for private institutions of higher education.

(10.5) “Refinance” or “refinancing” means the issuing of

bonds by a county or municipality and the use of all or

substantially all of the proceeds therefrom pursuant to a

financing agreement with the user to liquidate any obligations

previously incurred to finance or aid in financing of a project

specified in paragraphs (b) to (1) of subsection (10) of this section

which would constitute such a project had it been originally

undertaken and financed by a county or municipality pursuant

to this article. Title to or in the project may remain at all times

in the user, and in such case, the bonds of the county or

municipality may be secured by mortgage or other lien upon

the project granted by the owner or by a pledge of one or more

notes, debentures, bonds, or other secured or unsecured debt

obligations of the user, as the governing body deems advisable.

(11) “Resolution” means a resolution of a county.

(12) “State means the state of Colorado.

(13) “User” means one or more persons who enter into a

financing agreement with any county or municipality relating

to a project; except that the user need not be the person actually

occupying, operating, or maintaining the project.

6la

. Appendix D

(14) “Utility plant” means any facility used for or in

connection with the generation, production, transmission, or

distribution of electricity; the production, manufacture, storage,

or distribution of gas; the transportation or conveyance of gas,

oil, or other fluid substance by pipeline; or the diverting,

developing, pumping, impounding, distribution, or furnishing

of water.

29-3-104. General powers. (1) In addition to any other

powers, each county and municipality has the following powers:

(a) To acquire, whether by construction, purchase, gift,

devise, lease, or sublease; to improve and equip; and to finance,

refinance, sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of one or more

projects or part thereof. If a county issues revenue bonds as

provided in this article to finance, refinance, or acquire projects,

such projects shall be located within said county, or, if a

municipality issues revenue bonds as provided in this article to

finance, refinance, or acquire projects, such project shall be

located within the municipality or within eight miles from the

nearest point of its corporate limits.

(b) To enter into financing agreements with others for the

purpose of providing revenues to pay the bonds authorized by

this article; to lease, sell, or otherwise dispose of any or all of

its projects to others for such revenues and upon such terms and

conditions as the governing body may deem advisable; and to

grant options to renew any lease or other agreement with respect

to the project and to grant options to buy any project at such

price as the governing body deems desirable;

(c) To issue revenue bonds for the purpose of defraying

62a

Appendix D

the cost of financing, refinancing, acquiring, improving, and

equipping any project, including the payment of principal and

interest on such bonds for not exceeding three years, funding

any reserve funds which the governing body may deem advisable

to establish in connection with the retirement of the proposed

bonds or the maintenance of the project, and all other incidental

expenses incurred in issuing such bonds;

(d) To secure payment of such bonds as provided in this

article.

(2) To further implement section 18 or article XIV of the

state constitution and to supplement part 5 of article 25 of title

31, C.R.S., any county or municipality may delegate, by

resolution or ordinance as the case may be, to any other county

or municipality authority to act on its behalf in the financing,

refinancing, acquisition, leasing, ownership, improvement, and

disposal of projects. Any such delegation may be general or

limited in scope and time and may be irrevocable for the term

or terms of any financing agreement or bond issue, all as

provided in said ordinance or resolution.

* * *

29-3-106. Form and terms of bonds — exemption from

Colorado income tax. (1) The bonds shall be authorized by

resolution of the county commissioners or by ordinance of the

municipality; shall be subject to such maximum net effective

interest rate; and shall be in such denominations, bear such date,

mature at such time not exceeding forty years from their

respective dates, bear such interest at a rate, be in such form,

carry such registration privileges, be executed in such manner,

be payable at such place within or without the state, and be

63a

Appendix D

subject to such terms of redemption as the authorizing resolution

or supplemental resolution of the county commissioners or the

ordinance or supplemental resolution of the municipality may

provide.

(2) The bonds may be sold in one or more series at par, or

below or above par, at public or private sale, in such manner

and for such price as the county or municipality, in its discretion,

shall determine; but the county or municipality shall not sell

such bonds at a price such that the net effective interest rate of

the issue of bonds exceeds the maximum net effective interest

rate authorized. As an incidental expense of the project, the

county or municipality, in its discretion, may employ financial

and legal consultants in regard to the financing of the project.

(3) The county or municipality may exchange all or a part

of its bonds for all or an equivalent part of the project for which

the bonds are issued, the exchange to be preceded by

determination of the fair value of the project or part of the project

exchanged for the bonds. Such determination shall be by

ordinance of the municipality or by resolution of the governing

body of the county and shall be conclusive.

(4) The bonds shall be fully negotiable under the terms of

article 8 of title 4, C.R.S.

(5) Interest on bonds issued on or after July 1, 1979,

pursuant to this article shall be exempt from Colorado income

tax.

29-3-114. Financing of project. Prior to the issuance of

any bonds authorized by this article, the county or municipality

64a

Appendix D

shall enter into a financing agreement with respect to the project

with a user providing for payment to the county or municipality

of such revenues as, upon the basis of such determinations and

findings, will be sufficient to pay the principal of and interest

on the bonds issued to finance the project, to build up and

maintain any reserves deemed advisable by the governing body

in connection therewith, and to pay the costs of maintaining the

project in good repair and keeping it properly insured, unless

the financing agreement obligates the user to pay for the

maintenance of and insurance on the project.

* * *

29-3-120. Payment in lieu of taxes. (1) Pursuant to section

4 of article X of the state constitution, all property owned by a

county or municipality pursuant to this article shall be and

remain exempt from taxation. Nevertheless, any county or

municipality acquiring or extending any project as provided in

this article shall annually pay, solely out of the revenues from

the project and not from any other source, to the state of Colorado

and to the city, town, school district, and any other political

subdivision or public body corporate wherein such project is

located, authorized to levy taxes, a sum equal to the amount of

tax which the taxing entity would annually receive if the property

were owned by any private person or corporation, any other

statute to the contrary notwithstanding... .

* * *

65a

APPENDIX E — EXCERPTS FROM COLORADO

REVISED STATUTES §§ 41-3-101, et seq.

AND 41-4-101, et seg. (PUBLIC AIRPORTS)

ARTICLE 3

Public Airport Authority Law

* * *

41-3-102. Legislative declaration. The purpose of this

article is to authorize the creation by cities and towns, and

counties, and the state of Colorado, through their joint action,

and by counties acting by independent action or jointly with the

State, of airport authorities, corporate and politic, and

constituting political subdivisions of the state of Colorado, for

the purpose of acquiring and improving airports, air navigation

facilities, and related facilities, and the financing of the cost of

such acquisition by the issuance of bonds or other obligations

of such authorities payable from the income of any such

authorities and otherwise secured to the extent permitted by law

without the incurrence of an indebtedness by the state of

Colorado, or by...

* * *

41-3-106. Powers of the authority. (1) An authority has

the following powers:

* x* *

(e) To borrow money and to issue bonds payable in whole

or in part from the income of the authority and otherwise secured

to the extent permitted by law; but, before any money shall be

borrowed or any bonds issued, such borrowing or sale shall first —

be approved by the board of county commissioners of any county

66a

Appendix E

independently creating an authority under the provisions of this

article. Said bonds shall be authorized by resolution of said board

without the necessity of submitting the question of their issuance

to the qualified electors of the municipalities or countres

constituting members of the authority. Said resolution shall

prescribe the form of said bonds, the manner of their execution,

which may be effected by the use of the facsimile signatures of

the officers of the authority in accordance with the laws of the

state in effect at the time of their execution, shall provide for

the terms thereof, including the maximum net effective interest

rate for the issue of bonds, and the security for their payment,

may authorize the issuance of additional bonds having a lien on

a parity with or junior thereto on the income of the authority,

provide for the redemption of said bonds prior to their respective

maturities with or without premium, and direct that said bonds

shall be sold at public or private sale at or below par, but such

bonds shall not be sold at a price such that the net effective

interest rate of the issue of bonds exceeds the maximum net

effective interest rate authorized. The board shall prescribe other

details in connection with the issue of bonds. The bonds so

authorized shall mature serially over a period of not exceeding

thirty years and shall bear interest at a net effective interest rate

not exceeding the maximum net effective interest rate authorized.

Said resolution and bonds may also include such other terms or

recitals which in the judgment of the board are necessary or

proper to render the same marketable. Nothing in this article

shall be construed as authorizing the authority or any county to

assess and levy taxes for the payment of said bonds, nor shall

said bonds be construed to be an indebtedness of the

municipalities or counties constituting members of the authority

or of the county independently creating such authority within

the meaning of any constitutional, charter, or statutory limitation.

67a

Appendix E

(f) To purchase, trade, exchange, acquire, buy, sell, and

otherwise dispose of and encumber real and personal property

of the authority and any interest therein, including leases and

easements;

x * *

(i) To pledge all or a part of the income of the authority to

the payment of the bonds authorized to be issued pursuant to

the terms of this article and to otherwise secure the payment of

said bonds to the extent permitted by law including, but not

limited to, a conveyance in trust of any or all of the properties

or facilities of the authority as a part of such security;

Gj) To have and exercise the power of eminent domain in

the manner provided by law for the condemnation of private

property for public use and to take any property necessary to

exercise the powers in this article granted, either within or

without the boundaries of the municipalities or counties

constituting members of the authority. In exercising the power

of eminent domain, the procedure established and prescribed

by articles 1 to 7 of title 38, C.R.S., shall be followed. Nothing

in this article shall be construed to limit the power of a county

otherwise to acquire property through the exercise of the power

of eminent domain under and in accordance with the laws of

the state.

(k) To construct and maintain works and establish and

maintain facilities, within or without the boundaries of the

municipalities or counties constituting members of the authority

or within or without the boundaries of the county independently

creating an authority pursuant to the provisions of this article,

across or along any public street or highway or in, upon, under,

68a

Appendix E

or over any vacant public lands, which public lands are now, or

may become

(b) That bonds issued under this article and the income

therefrom shall be free and exempt from taxation by the sate, or

any political subdivision of the state, with the exception of

transfer, inheritance, and estate taxes.

* * *

PART I

COUNTY AIRPORTS

41-4-101. Operation a governmental function. The

acquisition of any lands for the purpose of establishing airports

or other air navigation facilities; the acquisition of airport

protection privileges; the acquisition, establishment,

construction, enlargement, improvement, maintenance,

equipment, and operation of airports and other air navigation

facilities; and the exercise of any other powers granted in this

part 1 to any county, city and county, city, or town are hereby

declared to be public governmental functions, exercised for a

public purpose, and matters of public necessity; and such lands

and other property, easements, and privileges acquired and used

in the manner and for the purposes enumerated in this part 1 are

hereby declared to be acquired and used for public purposes

and as a matter of public necessity.

69a

Appendix E

* * x

41-4-105. Authority to incur indebtedness. The board of

county commissioners of any county, either acting singly or

jointly with any other county, city and county, city, or town, has

the power to incur indebtedness on its behalf for any of the

purposes mentioned in this part 1 and to issue bonds for the

acquisition, construction, and improvement of airports, landing

fields, air navigation facilities, and airport protection privileges

in the same form and manner as debt is incurred and bonds issued

for other county purposes; except that such indebtedness may

also be approved at a special election called for that purpose by

the board of county commissioners, which election shall be

conducted insofar as practicable in the manner set forth in section

30-26-101, C.R.S.

41-4-106. Operation of airports. In connection with the

erection, maintenance, and operation of any such airport or

navigation facilities, any county has the power and jurisdiction,

when acting singly, or by agreement, when acting jointly with

any other county, city and county, city, or town, to regulate the

receipt, deposit, and removal and the embarkation of passengers

or property to or from such airports; to exact and require charges,

fees, and tolls, together with a lien to enforce their payment; to

lease or assign for operation such space or area, appurtenances,

appliances, or other conveniences necessary or useful in

connection therewith; to own and operate aircraft: to employ

pilots; to provide rules and regulations governing the use of such

airport and facilities and the use of other property and m

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.