Amicus Curiae Brief — Delaware River & Bay Authority v. International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 68

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 97-81 \~/ aie sg

FILED

AUG 25 1997

IN THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States -

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

—

ae

THE DELAWARE RIVER AND BAY AUTHORITY,

Petitioner,

v.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS,

LOCAL 68, et al.,

Respondents.

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

William H. Roberts*

Peter A. Gold

Jennifer J. Platzkere

BLANK ROME COMISKY &

Of counsel: McCAULEY

Richard L. Brown 210 Lake Drive East, Suite 200

John A. Zagorski Woodland Falls Corporate Park

Delaware River Port Authority Cherry Hill, New Jersey 08002

One Port Center (609) 779-3600

2 Riverside Drive

P.O. Box 1949 1200 Four Penn Center Plaza

Camden, New Jersey Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

08101-1949 19103-2599

(609) 968-2407 (215) 569-5500

*Counsel of Record Counsel for amicus curiae

Delaware River Port Authority

i ccenmneaaenemanemnniammmannttininemcae maaan stearate nm

Ser COe4FOS CUNLAF COMPANY, 2067 E. ALLEGHENY AVENUE. PHILADELPHIA. PA 19134 (215) 425-6800

ant

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

pe Pt RE ee er ee Pee eee iii

INTEREST OF THE DELAWARE RIVER PORT AUTHORITY

Se ee cass cacccc cesccvesesvacs

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT .....................0-. 3

FB EERE TTPO TET ETTI TT TET ETT TA Te eee 4

I. THE ISSUE PRESENTED IS IMPORTANT AND FUNDA-

MENTAL AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTS OVER 150

BI-STATE OR INTERSTATE COMPACT ENTITIES

THROUGHOUT THE NATION. ..................2+4-- 4

Il. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW TO REQUIRE

ADHERENCE TO THE TERMS OF THE UNIQUE AGREE-

MENTS ENTERED INTO BY STATES THAT HAVE

CREATED INTERSTATE COMPACT ENTITIES. ........ 6

A. The New Jersey Supreme Court’s Decision Directly

Conflicts With the Decision of the Pennsylvania

B. The Difference Between The Standard of Scrutiny

Applied by Pennsylvania and New Jersey Is Outcome-

Determinative and Exposes Bi-State and Interstate

Compact Entities to the Application of Conflicting

DE CES EAE EESEG6 bs GE0 60S WSS EGS 166 dhe 66020000 a]

Ill. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT'S DECISION

VIOLATES THE COMPACT CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AND THE TERMS OF THE

PEE, Snececccdasccseccesbecceceseseess 10

TABLE OF CONTENTS — (Continued)

IV. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT'S DECISION VIO-

LATES THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

SESE CEE 6 ot ncccccsdectsbaeséponntas«

V. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT'S DECISION

VIOLATES THE DOCTRINE OF SEPARATION OF

POPE ceccccccusvcvcncenenescésenseseeaanereee

APPENDIX A:

National Listing of Bi-State and Interstate Compact

EN a cns conteneesdatussseheedeeneenes

APPENDIX B:

Chart of New Jersey Co-Created Bi-State and Interstate

BEE nv cccncccccesenecduadenenubeneeeneaeeeeeiee

Page

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page(s)

C.T. Hellmuth & Assocs. v. Washington Metro. Area Transit

Auth., 414 F. Supp. 408 (D. Md. 1976) ................. 5

Cuyler v. Adams, 449 U.S. 433 (1981) ..................05. 14

Delaware River & Bay Auth. v. Careilo, 43 Del. Ch. 213, 222

GRRE SII ee a a a a eee a 10

Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Comm'n. v. Colbrun, 310

ee dak skh cen baum 14

Delaware River Port Auth., 22 New Jersey Pub. Empl. Rep.

I at elles ews 12

Delaware River Port Auth. v. Comm. of Pennsylvania,

137 Pa. Commw. 170, 585 A.2d 587 (1991) ............. 6, 10

Hess v. Port Authority Trans-Hudson, 513 U.S. 30 (1994) ... 15

Malverty v. Waterfront Comm'n of New York, 71 N.Y.2d 977,

524 N.E.2d 421, 529 N.Y.S.2d 67 (1988) ................ 10

Nardi v. Delaware River Port Auth., 88 Pa. Commw. 558, 490

ag A RE Ns I a a 6-8, 10

Pennsylvania Labor Rel. Bd. v. Delaware River Port Auth.,

13 Pa. Pub. Empl. Rep. ¢ 13072 (1982). ............... 12

Port Auth. Trans-Hudson v. Feeney, 495 U.S. 299 (1990) .... 6, 11

Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1 (1948) .................005. ll

Stinson v. Delaware River Port Auth., 935 F. Supp. 531

REE EN ne ea 12

Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554 (1983) ................ 11, 13

Vornado, Inc. v. Hyland, 77 N.J. 347, 390 A.2d 606 (1978) ... 15

United States v. Belkins, 304 U.S. 27 (1938) ............... 3

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — (Continued)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS: Page(s)

hee Be Se report oe eee oe 2, 10-11,14

is ge 6S | US Oe ee ore or rie eee ee 13-14

STATUTORY PROVISIONS:

ee Fo RS aS: FY err es ee ee 9, 11-12

i i a a i a Ne ee 11

NS, Coes as On a Cg a a a cee ee 2, 11-12, 14-15

ee SP errr reer errrer ecco TT 15

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:11E-Let seg. ........----++22005- 9, 11-12

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503 et seg. ...............- 2, 11-12, 14-15

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3504.1 et seg. ..........00..0 000 15

LEGISLATIVE MATERIALS:

Pub. Res. No. 26, ch. 258, 47 Stat. 308 (1932) ............... 2

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

The Council of State Governments, Interstate Compacts &

De 8k bine chee Ad ohh dies cannes eres s 4

Delaware River Port Authority, Comprehensive Annual

Financial Report for the Year Ended December 31, 1996

CRDUGD 00 00.0n006b sone tneeseceenteetpensedae sceenee 2

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1997

THE DELAWARE RIVER AND BAY AUTHORITY,

Petitioner,

v.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF OPERATING ENGINEERS,

LOCAL 68, et al.,

Respondents.

AMICUS CURIAE BRIEF IN SUPPORT OF THE

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT OF NEW JERSEY

~

The Delaware River Port Authority (“DRPA”) files this amicus

curiae brief in support of the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari filed by

Petitioner, The Delaware River and Bay Authority (“DRBA”).' Both

Petitioner and Respondents have consented to the filing of this

brief, and the consents have been filed with the Clerk of this Court.

INTEREST OF THE DELAWARE RIVER

PORT AUTHORITY AS AMICUS CURIAE

The DRPA has an immediate, direct and important stake in this

case. Similar in nature to Petitioner DRBA, the DRPA is a bi-state

'The cost of this amicus curiae brief was paid in full by the DRPA. Neither the

Petitioner nor Respondents contributed to its preparation.

SS ry res ere

piblic corporate instrumentality created in 1931 pursuant to the

Compact Clause of the United States Constitution, Art. I, § 10, cl. 3,

by the legislatures of New Jersey and Pennsylvania. N.J. Stat. Ann. §

3::3-1 et seq.; Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503 et seg. (the DRPA’s

Compact). Congress subsequently approved of this Compact. Pub.

Res. No. 26, ch. 258, 47 Stat. 308 (1932).

Originally named the Delaware River Joint Commission’, the

DPA was created for the purpose of constructing, operating and

maintaining certain interstate transportation routes between New

Jersey and Pennsylvania. The DRPA was authorized, inter alia, to

build bridges, to establish connecting roads and to provide transpor-

taion services within the Delaware River Port District. N.J. Stat.

Aan § 32:3-2; Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503, Art I. At the present time,

tre DRPA operates four interstate bridges between New Jersey and

Pennsylvania that span the Delaware River (the Benjamin Franklin

Bidge, the Walt Whitman Bridge, the Commodore Barry Bridge and

the Betsy Ross Bridge). Through its wholly-owned subsidiary, the

Pet Authority Transit Corporation (“PATCO”), the DRPA operates

a iigh-speed train line between Philadelphia and Lindenwold, New

Jesey.

The DRPA is also authorized to engage in various economic

development projects in the Port District. The magnitude of the

sope of the DRPA’s activities is illustrated by the fact that, in 1996,

approximately 98,558,000 vehicles crossed the DRPA’s bridges,

10658,000 passengers rode PATCO’s trains, and the DRPA’s net

asets from operations were $322,306,000, of which $110,930,000

ws derived from bridge revenues.*

The DRPA’s Compact reflects that New Jersey and Pennsylva-

ni: specifically authorized the DRPA to undertake only those activi-

tis and operations that have been approved by the governments of

“In 1951, New Jersey and Pennsylvania enacted joint legislation changing the

nae to the DRPA. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:3-1; Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503.

S3DRPA, Comprehensive Annual Financial Report for the Year Ended Decem-

bei31, 1996, at 32, 54-55 (1997).

3

both states. In creating the DRPA, New Jersey and Pennsylvania

formed a single agency of both states and, accordingly, surrendered

a portion of their own sovereignty, including the power unilaterally

to impose and enforce their own state laws and policies. United

States v. Belkins, 304 U.S. 27 (1938).

As a Congressionally-approved bi-state compact entity, the DRPA

must be vigilant and attempt to ensure that the courts of each its

creator states properly uphold and comply with the terms of its

Compact. The DRPA submits that, in this case, the New Jersey

courts have overstepped the boundaries defined by the legislatures

of New Jersey and Delaware in the DRBA’s Compact by authorizing

unilateral application of New Jersey’s labor policies on the DRBA,

without Delaware’s express consent. In doing so, New Jersey, through

its courts, has established precedent that may apply to interpreta-

tions of the DRPA’s Compact. In fact, the DRPA is currently defend-

ing labor litigation in the New Jersey courts brought by the Fraternal

Order of Police, Penn-Jersey Lodge 30 (“FOP”), which has filed a

brief amicus curiae in support of Respondents in this case. The

FOP has already relied upon the New Jersey Supreme Court’s deci-

sion in this case as authority to support its request that New Jersey

impose “labor policies” — specifically, post-impasse binding inter-

est arbitration procedures — on the DRPA, notwithstanding that

Pennsylvania has never consented to the application of such “poli-

cies” to the DRPA.

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

The New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision in this case poten-

tially exposes the DRBA, the DRPA and over 150 bi-state or inter-

state compact entities nationwide to inconsistent rules for deter-

mining whether consent exists for imposing a single state’s laws or

policies on them. The rule, analysis and level of scrutiny applied by

the New Jersey Supreme Court in its decision in this case differs

substantially and materially from the rule, analysis and level of

‘Fraternal Order of Police, Penn-Jersey Lodge 30 v. DRPA, Docket No.

L-7547-96 (N.J. Super. Ct. Law Div.).

scrutiny applied by courts across the country, including Pennsylva-

nia’s courts. As a result, the danger exists that the DRPA may be

subjected to entirely different, and potentially conflicting, creator-

state obligations, depending upon whether a dispute is decided by

the courts of New Jersey or by the courts of Pennsylvania. The New

Jersey Supreme Court’s decision destroys the framework of the

unique agreement between New Jersey and Delaware creating the

DRBA and, thus, violates the Compact Clause of the United States

Constitution, the Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitu-

tion, and the doctrine of separation of powers. This Court should

grant review to protect the integrity of these compacts by prevent-

ing creator states from unilaterally — and impermissibly — impos-

ing their laws or policies on bi-state or interstate compact entities

without the express consent of the legislatures of the other creator

states.

ARGUMENT

I. THE ISSUE PRESENTED IS IMPORTANT AND FUNDA-

MENTAL AND POTENTIALLY AFFECTS OVER 150 BI-

STATE OR INTERSTATE COMPACT ENTITIES THROUGH-

OUT THE NATION.

Congress has authorized over 150 bi-state or interstate com-

pacts, 32 of which were created in part by the State of New Jersey.

The Council of State Governments, Interstate Compacts & Agencies

56-93 (1995)°. These compact entities carry out essential govern-

mental objectives, including facilitation of interstate education, in-

terstate crime control, and, most significantly, substantial interstate

trade and commerce. /d.

Nationally, compact entities collectively employ over 13,000

persons. Jd. at 1-55. New Jersey co-created compact entities alone

employ nearly 10,000 people.® The four (4) major bi-state entities of

°A listing of bi-state and interstate compact entities is reprinted and attached

hereto as Appendix A. \

"See Chart of New Jersey Co-Created Bi-State and Interstate Compact Entities,

Appendix B.

5

which New Jersey is a co-creator — the DRBA, the DRPA, the Port

Authority of New York and New Jersey, and the Waterfront Com-

mission of New York Harbor — are either parties to this case (as

Petitioner) or appear in these proceedings as amicus curiae. All

urge this Court to grant review.

In particular, these bi-state entities and their employees are

substantially affected by the New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision

because it can be, and has already been, interpreted as creating new

precedent for applying the general “policies” of a single creator state

to a bi-state entity without the consent of the legislature of either

creator state.

By its decision in this case, New Jersey, through its Supreme

Court, has overstepped the previously well-established rule that

creator states may not unilaterally impose additional duties or

obligations on their bi-state entities that would contravene the terms

of their compacts, absent express authorization from both states’

legislatures. C.T. Hellmuth & Assocs. v. Washington Metro. Area

Transit Auth., 414 F. Supp. 408, 409-10 (D. Md. 1976). Future appli-

cation of the New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision could have the

following effects on the DRPA and similarly situated bi-state and

interstate compact entities:

e Pennsylvania and New Jersey will each utilize different rules

or standards for determining whether they may apply their

state laws and/or policies to the DRPA;

¢ Plaintiffs — not the state legislatures — will select the appli-

cable state laws and/or policies that apply by forum-shopping

in New Jersey courts, which will subject bi-state and inter-

state entities to an inconsistent and broader spectrum of

obligations, including mere expressions of “public policy”.

¢ Through its court system, New Jersey will unilaterally apply

its own substantive laws and policies to the DRPA and im-

pose them on Pennsylvania, in violation of the Compact Clause

of the United States Constitution;

¢ In doing so, New Jersey will have contravened the DRPA’s

Compact — thus violating federal law — and, at the same

time, will have created new federal law that has not been

approved by Congress pursuant to the formal amendment

procedures applicable to bi-state and interstate compact

entities;

e Unless this Court grants review to strictly enforce the Com-

pact Clause, each creator state may continue to develop its

own, potentially conflicting, rules for determining when it

may unilaterally apply its own state laws to its bi-state and

interstate entities, the application of which will depend on

where the plaintiff may have elected to initiate the lawsuit;

e Lawsuits may be filed by the creator states in this Court

under its original jurisdiction to enjoin the application of the

other creator states’ laws and policies to their jointly-created

bi-state and interstate entities.

This Court should grant review to protect the integrity of

bi-state and interstate compacts and to establish a clear standard

that prevents creator states from unilaterally imposing their laws or

policies on such entities without the express consent of the legisla-

ture of the other creator states.

II. THIS COURT SHOULD GRANT REVIEW TO REQUIRE AD-

HERENCE TO THE TERMS OF THE UNIQUE AGREE-

MENTS ENTERED INTO BY STATES THAT HAVE

CREATED INTERSTATE COMPACT ENTITIES.

A. The New Jersey Supreme Court’s Decision Directly

Conflicts With the Decision of the Pennsylvania Courts.

Absent express authorization, a bi-state entity such as the DRBA

or the DRPA can only be subject to a single state’s laws where the

legislatures of both states have clearly given their approval. See, e.g.,

Port Auth. Trans-Hudson v. Feeney, 495 U.S. 299, 314 (1990) (Brennan,

J., concurring); Delaware River Port Auth. v. Comm. of Pennsylva-

nia, 137 Pa. Commw. 170, 173, 585 A.2d 587, 588 (1991); Nardi v.

Delaware River Port Auth., 88 Pa. Commw. 558, 490 A.2d 949, 950

(1985). The New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision in this case creates

a conflict between New Jersey and Pennsylvania with respect to

which state laws — and “policies,” if any — can be imposed on bi-

state and interstate entities when: (1) the creator states’ legislatures

have not made the laws or policies expressly applicable to the enti-

ties; and (2) neither Congress nor the creator states’ legislatures have

manifested any intent to apply them to the entities. The resulting

confusion and potential inconsistency of state court determinations

will continue until this Court definitively resolves them.

In stark contrast to the decision of the New Jersey Supreme

Court, Pennsylvania applies a greater level of scrutiny when evaluat-

ing whether bi-state consent exists for applying a state law to the

DRPA. For example, in Nardi v. Delaware River Port Authority,

the Commonwealth Court, the highest Pennsylvania state appellate

court to have considered this issue, held that state statutes that are

both premised on the same public policy and that are both made

specifically applicable to the DRPA — but which contain a minor

difference in language — are not substantially similar and cannot

be imposed on a bi-state compact entity like the DRPA because

“[t]he Pennsylvania legislature has demonstrated that it does not

concur” with the New Jersey legislature. Nardi, 88 Pa. Commw. at

564, 490 A.2d at 952 (emphasis added). In Nardi, a DRPA police

officer sued the DRPA for supplementary disability benefits under

Pennsylvania law. Although both the Pennsylvania law and its New

Jersey counterpart were designed for a “similar purpose,” i.e.,

providing disability benefits to the DRPA’s police officers, the Com-

monwealth Court ruled that neither state’s statute applied to the

DRPA because New Jersey and Pennsylvania’s legislatures failed to

enact substantially similar laws.’

"The Pennsylvania law required that the DRPA “shall” provide disability bene-

fits to its police officers:

[A]ny member of the Delaware River Port Authority Police ... who is

injured in the performance of his duties ... and by reason thereof is

Acknowledging the DRPA’s status as a bi-state entity, the Penn-

sylvania Commonwealth Court stated that “neither creator state

can unilaterally impose additional duties, powers or responsibili-

ties upon the Authority.” Id. (emphasis added). It held that the

difference between the word “shall,” contained in the Pennsylvania

law, and the word “may,” contained in the corollary New Jersey law,

was substantial enough to prevent the court from imposing the

Pennsylvania law on the DRPA. Id. at 564, 490 A.2d at 951. The court

reasoned that the Pennsylvania law was “a unilateral legislative act

imposing an additional burden on the Authority,” because it would

compel the payment of benefits which had never been mentioned in

the DRPA’s enabling Compact, while the New Jersey law “was a

unilateral legislative act restricting a power already possessed by

the Authority.” Jd. at 565, 490 A.2d at 952 (emphasis added).

In so ruling, Pennsylvania properly adhered to the exacting

level of scrutiny that must be met before one compact state may

permissibly impose its laws on a bi-state entity such as the DRPA.

temporarily incapacitated from performing his duties, shall be paid . . . by

the Delaware River Port Authority . . . his full rate of salary . . . until the

disability arising therefrom has ceased.

Nardi, 88 Pa. Commw. at 561, 490 A.2d at 950 (citing 53 Pa. Cons. Stat. § 637(a))

(emphasis added). By contrast, the New Jersey law merely provided that the DRPA

“may” provide such benefits at its discretion:

Whenever any employee of the Delaware River Port Authority is absent

from his post of duty as a result of a personal injury caused by an accident

arising out of and in the course of his employment, the port authority may

pay to such employee his full salary or wages for the period of such

absence up to 1 calendar year without having such absence charged to the

annual sick leave or the accumulated sick leave to which such employee

may also be entitled as a employee of the port authority.

Id. at 562, 490 A.2d at 951 (citing N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:3A-1) (emphasis in original).

Although the Pennsylvania and New Jersey statutes dealt with the same

subject matter and were similar in nature, in recognizing the potential desirability

of paying disability benefits, the Pennsylvania court deemed their difference of

dispositive importance and refused to impose a requirement on the DRPA to

provide disability benefits.

9

Under Pennsylvania law, even express statements in both states’

statutes are an insufficient basis by which the DRPA’s Compact may

be supplemented where the two states’ statutes are not identical.

This Court should grant review in order to resolve the conflict

between New Jersey, Pennsylvania and all other states that have

jointly created bi-state and interstate entities to determine when, if

ever, a compact state san unilaterally impose its laws or policies on

those entities.

B. The Difference Between The Standard of Scrutiny

Applied by Pennsylvania and New Jersey Is Outcome-

Determinative and Exposes Bi-State and Interstate

Compact Entities to the Application of Conflicting Laws.

If the New Jersey Supreme Court had analyzed the substantial

similarity of New Jersey and Delaware’s labor policies utilizing the

same standard of scrutiny as applied by the Pennsylvania Common-

wealth Court in Nardi, the New Jersey Supreme Court would have

reached the opposite conclusion. Nowhere in the DRBA’s Compact,

or in New Jersey or Delaware’s labor laws, is there any mention of

subjecting the DRBA to the “policies” underlying New Jersey’s labor

laws. See generally Del. Code Ann. tit. 17, § 1701 et seq.; N.J. Stat.

Ann. § 32:11E-1 et seg. Rather, the DRBA’s Compact expressly pro-

vides that the DRBA shall have the right to set policies regarding its

operations, including labor relations policies. Del. Code Ann. tit. 17,

§ 1701, Art. VII(e); N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:11E-1, Art. VII(e).®

By unilaterally subjecting the DRBA to labor policies, the New

Jersey Supreme Court is regulating a bi-state entity through a means

that has never been recognized by any other state that is a party toa

bi-state compact. Indeed, the New Jersey Supreme Court’s actions

can be interpreted as having created a conflict between the standard

*Article VII(e) of the DRBA’s Compact specifically provides that the DRBA has

the power to “appoint, or employ, such other officers, agents, attorneys, engineers

and employees as it may require for the performance of its duties and to fix and

determine their qualifications, duties, compensation, pensions, terms of office and

all other conditions and terms of employment and retention.”

10

for imposing a single state’s laws or policies on a bi-state compact

entity in New Jersey — by the mere existence of “similar laws” or

policies in the two creator states — and the standard for doing so in

other states — by express authorization of both creator states’

legislatures via enactment of almost identical or substantially simi-

lar laws which expressly contemplate that the two states’ laws will

be applied to the particular bi-state entity. See, e.g., Delaware River

Port Auth. v. Comm. of Pennsylvania, 137 Pa. Commw. 170, 585

A.2d 587 (1991) (“joint legislation by the two creator states” re-

quired); Malverty v. Waterfront Comm’n of New York, 71 N.Y.2d

977, 524 N.E.2d 421, 529 N.Y.S.2d 67 (1988) (“express statement

of intent” required); Delaware River & Bay Auth. v. Carello, 43

Del. Ch. 213, 222 A.2d 794 (1966) (“concurrent legislative action”

required).

For example, New Jersey courts may unilaterally decide to hold

the DRPA subject to a New Jersey law based on the reasoning

articulated below by the New Jersey Supreme Court, while, based

on Nardi, Pennsylvania courts may decide that New Jersey and

Pennsylvania’s laws are not sufficiently “substantially similar” and

that imposition of such laws would result in an impermissible, uni-

lateral act. Precedent further suggests that Pennsylvania courts would

reject the application of mere state “policy” on the DRPA where the

more specific statutes that express such policy are deemed inappli-

cable. Nardi, 88 Pa. Commw. 558, 490 A.2d 949 (1985); accord

Malverty, 71 N.Y.2d 977, 524 N.E.2d 421, 529 N.Y.S.2d 67 (1988).

This Court should grant review in order to restore uniformity in

the framework of laws applicable to bi-state and interstate compact

entities.

Ill. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

VIOLATES THE COMPACT CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION AND THE TERMS OF THE

DRBA’S COMPACT.

The Compact Clause of the United States Constitution expressly

prohibits two States from entering into an agreement without first

securing the consent of the United States Congress. U.S. Const. art.

11

I, § 10, cl. 3. In interpreting the Compact Clause, this Court has held

that once Congressional consent has been given, “unless the com-

pact to which Congress has consented is somehow unconstitutional,

no court may order relief inconsistent with its express terms.”

Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554, 564 (1983) (citing Cuyler v.

Adams, 449 U.S. 433, 438 (1981)) (emphasis added).

The New Jersey Supreme Court, the highest court in New Jer-

sey and a component part of its State government, N.J. Const. art.

Ill, § 1,° has applied New Jersey’s labor policies to the DRBA and has

ordered it to engage in collective bargaining negotiations with Re-

spondent International Union of Operating Engineers, Local 68

(“IUOE”). By that order, New Jersey has impaired the DRBA’s ex-

press rights guaranteed by its Compact to direct its labor relations

and has violated the Compact Clause of the United States Con-

stitution by unilaterally — and impermissibly — imposing its sove-

reign will and authority on the DRBA. See Port Authority Trans-

Hudson Corp. v. Feeney, 495 U.S. 299, 314-16 (1990) (Brennan, J.,

concurring).

The decision may have the identical effect on the DRPA. Like

Article XI of the DRBA’s Compact, Article IX of the DRPA’s Com-

pact provides that neither the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania nor

the State of New Jersey will “diminish or impair the power of the

[DRPA] to own, operate or control said properties and facilities

.... Compare Del. Code Ann. tit. 17, § 1701, Art. XI; N.J. Stat. Ann.

§ 32:11E-1, Art. XI (DRBA Compact) with N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:3-10;

Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503 (DRPA Compact) (emphasis added).

One of the specific DRPA Compact powers is that “[t]o appoint, hire,

or employ counsel and such other officers and such agents and

employees as it may require for the performance of its duties, by

contract of otherwise, and fix and determine their qualifications,

duties and compensation.” N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:3-5(e); Pa. Stat. Ann.

tit. 36, § 3503, Art IV(e). If the New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision

*Accord Shelley v. Kraemer, 334 U.S. 1, 14 (1948) (“A State acts by its legisla-

tive, its executive, or its judicial authorities. It can act in no other way.”).

12

below is precedent for interpretations of the DRPA’s Compact and

dictates the manner in which the DRPA may “operate or control” its

property and facilities, the New Jersey Supreme Court will have

impermissibly abrogated New Jersey’s agreement with Pennsylva-

nia and “diminish[ed] and impair[ed]” the DRPA’s powers. It is a

certain proposition that neither courts nor administrative agencies

may erode the integrity of bi-state or interstate compact entities.'°

Moreover, the New Jersey Supreme Court’s decision also

improperly interferes with the duties and rights of the Commission-

ers of all New Jersey-created bi-state entities to have “charge”

over those entities’ “property and affairs.” See, e.g., N.J. Stat. Ann.

§ 32:3-4; Pa. Stat. Ann., tit. 36, § 3503, Art. III (the DRPA’s sixteen

(16) Commissioners, eight (8) each from New Jersey and Pennsylva-

nia, “shall have charge of the [DRPA’s] property and affairs”); accord

Del. Code Ann. tit. 17, § 1701, Art. VI; N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:11E-1, Art.

VI (DRBA Compact). Further, the decision interferes with the power

and right of the Commissioners of New Jersey’s bi-state entities to

determine the proper fiscal direction of those entities and the appro-

priate terms and conditions of employment for their employees,

neither of which can be infringed absent express authorization by

the legislatures of both compact states. Accordingly, a New Jersey

court’s application of New Jersey’s labor policies to the DRPA would

be inconsistent with and would be an express violation of the Com-

pact Clause and the DRPA’s Congressionally-approved Compact.

Indeed, the United States District Court for the District of New Jersey recent-

ly ruled that neither the National Labor Relations Act nor the Labor-Management

Relations Act apply to the DRPA and, thus, that the National Labor Relations Board

lacks jurisdiction over the DRPA. Stinson v. Delaware River Port Auth., 935 F.

Supp. 531 (D.N.J. 1996). Further, the New Jersey Public Employment Relations

Commission and the Pennsylvania Labor Relations Board have themselves ruled

that they lack jurisdiction over the DRPA because it is a bi-state entity. Delaware

River Port Auth., 22 New Jersey Pub. Empl. Rep. ¢ 27083 (1996); Pennsylvania

Labor Rel. Bd. v. Delaware River Port Auth., 13 Pa. Pub. Empl. Rep. ¢ 13072

(1982).

13

This Court should grant review in order to restrain New Jersey

from unilaterally imposing its “policies” on bi-state and interstate

compact entities when express authorization from the other creator

states’ legislatures is entirely lacking.

IV. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

VIOLATES THE SUPREMACY CLAUSE OF THE UNITED

STATES CONSTITUTION.

The Supremacy Clause of the United States Constitution

provides:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States which

shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties made,

or which shall be made, under the Authority of the United

States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land; and the

Judges in every State shall be bound thereby, any Thing

in the Constitution or Laws of any State to the Contrary

notwithstanding.

In the Fraternal Order of Police, Penn-Jersey Lodge 30’s (“FOP”) case cur-

rently pending against the DRPA in New Jersey Superior Court, Fraternal Order of

Police, Penn-Jersey Lodge 30 v. Delaware River Port Authority, Docket No.

L-7547-96 (N.J. Super. Ct., Law Div.), the FOP is asking New Jersey, through its

court system, unilaterally to impose interest arbitration as a terminal procedure in

resolving bargaining disputes — even though neither compact state’s legislature

expressly authorized imposing such rules or policies on the DRPA.

Although the DRPA voluntarily recognized the FOP as a representative of

certain of its police employees, the DRPA did not recognize the FOP because it was

ordered to do so. The DRPA’s recognition of the FOP has always been and, subject

to any applicable law to the contrary, will continue to be within the sole discretion

of its Board of Commissioners, acting within Articles IV and IX of the DRPA’s

enabling Compact.

Should the New Jersey courts order binding arbitration in the FOP’s case

against the DRPA, such action will violate federal law and the Compact Clause of

the United States Constitution. New Jersey and its court system are not free to

rewrite federal law to restrict a bi-state entity's right to make its own decisions

regarding its labor relations, where such right was specifically created by federal

law. See Texas v. New Mexico, 462 U.S. 554 (1982).

14

U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2 (emphasis added).

Both the DRBA and the DRPA’s Compacts were approved by

Congress pursuant to the Compact Clause of the United States

Constitution. U.S. Const. art I, § 10, cl. 3. Accordingly, they are each

a “Law of the Union.” Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Comm’n v.

Colbrun, 310 U.S. 419, 427 (1940). As such, their interpretation is a

question of federal law. Cuyler v. Adams, 449 U.S. 433, 438 n.7

(1981). Interstate compacts are thus “supreme Law of the Land”

-within the meaning of the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution of

the United States.

The New Jersey Supreme Court is constitutionally obliged to

honor the terms of its Congressionally-approved compacts. It did

not and, therefore, violated the Supremacy Clause.

This Court should grant review to consider whether the New

Jersey Supreme Court’s decision violates the Supremacy Clause.

V. THE NEW JERSEY SUPREME COURT’S DECISION VIO-

LATES THE DOCTRINE OF SEPARATION OF POWERS.

Nowhere in the DRBA’s Compact, the DRPA’s Compact, or the

compacts of any other New Jersey co-created bi-state entity is there

authority for New Jersey courts unilaterally to impose labor policies

on those entities. If the New Jersey legislature wished to enact a

policy affecting the labor relations of its compact entities, it could

have done so by enacting a law, provided that it secured the consent

of the other creator states, e.g., Delaware, Pennsylvania, New York.

It has not in this case.'' Securing the consent of both creator states’

legislatures is the only approved method of imposing additional

duties or obligations on a bi-state entity. See, e.g., N.J. Stat. Ann. §

''New Jersey has obtained the consent of other creator states’ legislatures in

other instances. For example, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, with the approval of

Congress, amended the DRPA’s Compact to permit the DRPA to take action to

unify the ports of the Delaware River. N.J. Stat. Ann. §32:3-2(m); Pa. Stat. Ann.

§ 3503, Art. I(m) (1991); see also note 12, infra.

15

32:3-5; Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503, Art. IV (DRPA Compact provides

that the DRPA “shall also have such additional powers as may

hereafter be delegated to or imposed upon it from time to time by

the action of either state concurred in by legislation of the other. wi

The New Jersey Supreme Court's radical misinterpretation amounts

to a unilateral amendment of the Compact by judicial fiat, in contra-

vention of the agreed legislative process.

The DRPA’s Compact expresses the policy decisions made by

the legislatures of both New Jersey and Pennsylvania. See generally

N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:3-2 et seq.; Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, § 3503 et seq. The

New Jersey Supreme Court itself has recognized that “policy

matters are the exclusive responsibility of the legislative branch of

government.” Vornado, Inc. v. Hyland, 77 N.J. 347, 355, 390 A.2d

606, 610 (1978) (citing Two Guys from Harrison, Inc. v. Furman,

32 N.J. 199, 229 160 A.2d 265, 281 (1960)). Whether New Jersey’s, or

for that matter any state’s, labor policies may be imposed on bi-state

entities such as the DRBA and the DRPA is solely within the policy-

making domain of the state legislatures of New Jersey and Dela-

ware, or New Jersey and Pennsylvania, acting in concert with the

approval of Congress — not the courts of New Jersey acting alone.

Hess v. Port Authority Trans-Hudson, 513 U.S. 30 (1994). Any

policy decisions that have not been expressly agreed to by the

creator states’ legislatures cannot be imposed on the entity.

The New Jersey Supreme Court’s imposition of New Jersey’s

labor policies on the DRBA — and, by extension, on its other bi-

state and interstate compact entities — amounts to an improper

interference with the rights of the other creator states. Hess, 513

U.S. at 47. Its ruling directly contravenes the policy decision of the

creator states’ legislatures not to bind their bi-state and interstate

entities to either state’s labor laws or policies.

“For example, in 1986, New Jersey's legislature enacted laws enlarging the

scope of the police powers of the DRPA’s police force. N.J. Stat. Ann. § 32:4-6 et seq.

Their scope did not change, however, until 1994, when Pennsylvania's legislature

enacted substantially similar laws. Pa. Stat. Ann. tit. 36, §§ 3504.1, 3504. la.

16

This Court should grant review to reinforce the separation of

powers between the state courts and their respective legislatures, a

fundamental constitutional feature of the governments of New Jer-

sey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New York, and every other state that is

a party to a bi-state or interstate compact, and which is an implicit

but essential part of the DRBA and DRPA’s Compacts.

CONCLUSION

The petition should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

William H. Roberts*

Peter A. Gold

Jennifer J. Platzkere

BLANK ROME COMISKY &

McCAULEY

210 Lake Drive East, Suite 200

Woodland Falls Corporate Park

Cherry Hill, New Jersey 08002

(609) 779-3600

Of counsel:

1200 Four Penn Center Plaza

Richard L. Brown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

John A. Zagorski 19103-2599

DELAWARE RIVER (215) 569-5500

PORT AUTHORITY

One Port Center after September 1, 1997:

2 Riverside Drive One Logan Square

P.O. Box 1949 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Camden, New Jersey 19103-6998

08101-1949

(609) 968-2407 Counsel for amicus curiae

*Counsel of Record Delaware River Port Authority

APPENDICES

kk

RE POOR HARD COPY

THE FOLLOWING PAGES WE

AT THE TIME OF FILMING. Ty AND WHEN 4

BETTER COPY CAN BE OBTAINED, A NEW FICHE

WILL BE ISSUED.

APPENDIX A

INDEX TO STATES

Compact Titles. State Administrators. Interstate Agencies

@ Indicates compacts which have been proposed or

enacted after 1983

ALABAMA

Agreemeni on Deiainers

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educational Personnel

State Superintendent of Education

Ameraport Deep Draft Harbor and Terminal Compact

Ameraport Offshore Harbor and Termina) Commission

Creates commission to establish an offshore terminal for

receiving oil from deep draft supertankers. Apparently.

the terminal was never built Commission is defunct

~ dormant or defunct

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Menta! Health

State Mental Health Office

Driver License Compac!

Director of Public Safer

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compas!

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

Historic Chauahoochee Compact

Histonc Chatahoochee Cornmission

Inierstaie Adoption Assisiance Compac!

Deparment of Human Resources

Interstate Compact for Supervision of Parolees and

Probanoners

Department of Corrections

Iniersiare Compact on Juveniles (Interstate Compact on

Juvenies & Rendition Amendment

Director of Youth Services

Interstate Compact or. Piacemen: of Children

Director of Youth Services

Imerstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner. Deparment of Corrections

Intersiare Librars Compact

Director of Alabama Public Librars Service

Mfulnstate Tax Compact

Multistate Tax Commission

Mutual Interstate Aid Agreements and Compacts

Emergency Management Agency

Northeast Mississippi Northwes! 4labama Railroad

Authorin Compact

Northeast Mississippi--Northy est Alabama Railroad

Authority

Rapid Rail Transit Compact (Southern,

Southern Rapid Rai! Transit Commission

Southeastern Forest Fire Protection Compac!

Southeastern States Forest Fire Compact Commission

Southecstern Intersiate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Management Compac!

Southeastiem Low-Level Radioactive Waste Management

Commission

The Council of State Governments

Southern Growth Policies Compact

Souther: Growth Policies Board

Southern Interstate Energy Compact (Southern States

Energy Compact)

Southern States Energy Board

Southern Interstate Nuclear Compact

Southern Interstate Nuclear Board - Act No. 80-702

Section 2 provided that Sections 9-18-2 through 9-18-6

Code of Alabama 1975, would be repealed at such time

as nine of the party states to the Southern Interstate

Nuclear Compact approve substantially the same

changes proposed in Act No. 80-702. At this time the

condition making the 1980 Act effective have not

occurred

Southern Regional Education Compact

Southern Regional Education Board

Tombigbee-Tennessee ¥ aterwa) Development Com act

Tombigbee-Tennessee Waterway Development Authonn

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Authority to Make Interstate Educational Agreement; -

Code of Ala. 1975 § 16-3-34 - 1979

The Alabama Commission on Higher Education can

enter interstate compacts or agreements to promote

higher education

Milage Tax Reciprocal Agreements with Orner Staics -

Code of Ala 1975 § 40-19-11 - 1939

Department of Revenue

ALASKA

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States - Commission in

Alaska 1s not funded. Legislation must be passed in

order to terminate membership with the ECS program

This was never done. so the commission has been

mmactive in Alaska since 9 20 90

Driver License Compact

Commissioner. Department of Public Safer

Inierstaie Agreemeni on Qualification of Educatione

Personne!

Commissioner. Department of Education

Interstate Cwil Defense and Disaster Compas!

Emergency Services Division

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Deputy) Interstate Compact Administrator. Parole Board

Department of Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles (Lniform Interstate

Compact on Juveniles)

Social Services Program Officer. Division 0! Family &

Youth Services

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Commissioner. Department of Health and Svcial

Services

Interstate Compact on the Placemeni of Children

Director. Division of Family & Youth Services.

Department of Health and Social Services

Interstate Correcnons Compact

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Mulusiate Tax Compact

Multistate Tax Commission

National Guard Mutual Assistance Compact

Department of Military and Veterans Affairs (upon

request from govemor)

Northwest Interstate Compact on Low-Level Radioactive

Waste Management

Northwest Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Comminee

Pacific Marine Fisheries Compaci

Pacific Manne Fishenes Commission

Kesiern Interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Western Interstate Nuclear Compact

Wester Interstate Energs Board As of 1994. Alaska

does not hase a member serming on the board

Mesterrn Regional! Higher Educanon Compact

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Hazaraous Subsiance Reicase Control - AS §§ 46.09 080

-- 1986

Commuiss:oner. Department of Env ironmentia!

Consenation - Authorizes the goxemor to enter into

agreements compacts with other states or countnes to

convo! the release of hazardous substances Refers to the

commissioner. department of environmental conser ation

in Carming out the requirements of the chapter As of

1993. Alaska has not joined such a compact

O.: Poliution Control - AS &§ 4604 100 - 1986

Authorizes the govemor to execute agreements compacts

with other states 10 contro! oi! pollution Also refers to

the commissioner. department of conser ation in

Carr ing out the requirements of this chapter

ARIZONA

Agreemeni on Deiainers

Administrator. Interstate Compact Services. Deparunent

of Correcuions

Arizona-California Boundan Compact

Arizono-\evada Boundan Compac'

Colorado River Compac:

Compaci for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Assistant Director. Motor Vehicle Division. Department

of Transportation

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

¢@/niersiate Adoption Assistance Compact

ICPC Coordinator, Department of Economic Secunn

Administration for Children. Youth. and Families

@/nterstate Compact for Jurisdiction on the Coloradv

River

County Sheriffs. Municipal Police

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Adminisvator, Interstate Compact Services, Department

of Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Director, Department of Youth Treatment and

Rehabilitation

Interstate Compaci on Placement of Children

Director, Department of Economic Secunth

Interstate Corrections Compact

Director, Department of Corrections

Interstate Compact to Conserve Oil and Gas (Iniersiaie

Oil Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Mulustate Highway Transporianion Agreement

Assistant Director. Motor Vehicle Division. Departmen:

of Transporation

@ National Guard Mutual Assisiance Counter-Drug

Acuvines Compact

Adjutant Genera!

Nonresident Violator Compaci ‘Traffic:

Anzona Deparment of Transporation

@ Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Haste Dispos.

Compact

Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compac:

Commission

Uniform Child Custody Jurisdiction Act

Director. Department of Youth Treatmen: and

Rehabilnation

Uniform Unclaimed Propern Act

Department of Revenue

l pper Colorado River Basin Compact

Lpper Colorado River Commission

Vehicle Equipment Safen Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Western: Iniersiate Corrections Compact

Manager. Special Services. Departmen: of Correction:

Western Imerstaic Nuclear Compact

Western Interstate Energ, Board

Western Regional Education Compact

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

@ Wildlife Violator Compact

Anzona Game and Fish Department

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Factory Built Buildings - ARS § 41-2153

Assistant Director. Manufactured Housing Office.

Department of Building and Fire Safen -

Empowers the assistant director of the office of

manufactured housing to enter into imterstate compacts

regarding construction standards for manufactured

housing

Other intergovernmental compacts or agreements

Indian Gaming Regulatory Act Compacts- ARS §

$-601 - 1992

Govemor

ARKANSAS

Arkansas River Basin Compact of 1970

Arkansas-Oklahoma River Compact Commission

Arkansas-Mississippi Great River Bridge Construction

Compact

State Highway Commission

Bi-State Criminal Jusnce Center Compact

Director. Bi-State Information Center

Central Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Central Imterstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compaci on Mental Health:

Director. Arkansas State Hospital

Driver License Compac:

Office of Driver Services. Department of Finance and

Administration

Jriersiaie Agreement on Detainers

Director. Department of Corrections

Imerstate Cwil Defense and Disaster Compact

Office of Emergency Sen ices

Interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assistance

Depun Administrator. Interstate Compacts Unit.

Deparment of Human Senices

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Depun Admunistrator. Interstate Compacts Unit.

Deparment of Human Sen ices

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Depun Administrator. Interstate Compacts Unit

Depanment of Human Senices

Interstate Compact 10 Conserve Oi! and Ga

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Corrections Compact

Director. Department of Corrections

Interstate Emvironmental Compact

-- dormant or defunct

Interstate Library Compact

State Libranan

Mulnustate Tax Compact

Multistate Tax Commission

Nonresident Violator Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Red River Compact

Red River Compact Commission

South Central Interstate Corrections Compact

D:rector. Depanment of Corrections

The Council of State Governments

~ dormant or defunct

South Central Interstate Forest Fire Protection C. ompac!

South Centra! Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact

Commission

Southern Growth Policies Agreement

Southern Growth Policies Board

Southern Imerstate Energy Compact (Southern States

Energy Compact)

Southern States Energy Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Southern Regional Education Board

US. Highway 82 Four Lane Construction Compact

U.S. Highway 82 Four Lane Construction Authonn and

the Arkansas State Highway Commission -

Creates an authority to “promote and ensure the four-

laning of U.S. Highway 82 within the parn sues” of

Alabama. Arkansas, Mississippi and Texas Although

legislation was passed in at least two of these states. as

of 1994. the authorin had either not been created or

ceased functioning Congressional consent was required

but it is unclear whether this occurred

— dormant or defunct

Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supenisior

Compacts Administrator. Parole Division Departmen: o!

Corrections

Vehicle Equipment Safen Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Admuinistrato:<

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Electronic Product Contro! (Radiation Protection. « ARK

CODE ANN § 20-21-31]

Electronic Product Control Agency - Authorizes the

Electronic Product Control Agency to enter contract:

with other states to inspect or perform other functions

relative to controlling radiation from electronic product:

Agencies officials authorized to enter interstate compact:

or agreements

Flood Control - ARK CODE ANN §& 18-24-106

Soi! and Water Commission - Authonzes the So:! and

Water Consen ation Commission to enter into compacts

with other states concerning flood contro!

Fresh Pursuit- ARK CODE ANN &$ 16-81-40] 10 16-81-

407

Authorizes state military forces from other states to

pursue and capture insurrectionists. saboteurs. enemie-

or enemy forces imto Arkansas providing that such

people are surrendered to Arkansas authontes upon

capture

CALIFORNIA

Agreement on Detainers (Intersiaie)

IAD Administrator, Department of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educational Personne!

Supenmendent of Public Instruction

Califormia-Nevada Interstate Compoci

Califorma-Nevada Compact Commission - Congress

never ratified the compact The California statute ‘1s stil!

in force. but the commission has been abolished

— dormant or defunct

Colorado Rrver Boundary Compact

Colorado River Crime Enforcement Compact

Police and cours in cities bordenng Colorado River

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the Suates

Driver License Compact

Director, Deparunent of Motor Vehicles

Iniersiate Covi! Defense and Disaster Compact

Director. Office of Emergency Services

Interstate Compac! on Juveniles

Depun Compact Administrator. Department of Youth

Authorin

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Depun Director. Family and Children’s Services Branch

Department of Social Services

Imerstate Compact to Conserve Oi! and Gas

Imerstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Correcnons Compact

Corrections Compact Coordinator. Deparment: of

Corrections

Klamath River Basie, Compas:

Klamath River Compact Commission

Mfulustate Higkwa, Transportation Agreement

Cahforma has not had an administrator for 3 sears

Formeri,. the Department of Transporation

Mfulnstate Tax Compact

Mulustaie Tax Commission

Oregon-Californis Goose Lake Imerstare Compac!

-- dormant or defunct

Pacific Morine Fisheries Compact

Pacific Marne Fisheries Commission

Pest Control Compact

Secretan of Food and Agriculture

@ Southwestern Low-Level Raaioactive Waste Disposa!

Compac:

Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Commission

Tahoe Regional Pianning Compoc

Tahoe Regiona! Planning Agency

Uniform Act for Out-of-Siate Probationer or Parolee

Supervision

Depun Compact Adminstrator. (Parole). Department of

Corrections

Depun Compact Adminstrator (Probation). Department

of Youth Authonn

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

4a

Western Interstate Corrections Compact

WICC Compact Coordinator, Department of Corrections

Western Interstate Nuclear Compact

Western Interstate Nuclear Board

Western Regional Education Compact

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Califorma-Arizone Compact - California West's

Ann.Cal Fish & Game.Code § 375, 7180 to 7186.

inclusive [1977]

Inland Fishenes Division, Deparment of Fish and Game

- Authorizes using a special stamp on fishing licenses to

permit reciprocal fishing nghis within the Califorma anc

Anzona junsdicuons on the Colorado River and adjacen'

waters

Interstate Compact Regarding Marine Oil - West's

Ann Cal Gov Code § 8670.9

Administrator for Oil Spill Response - Directs the

administrator for oi! spill response to enter discussions

with other states for the purpose of developing an

interstate compact regarding oi! transpon by tanker o7

barge |

Nevada Compact - West's Ann Cal Gov Code §: 8100 e1 |

seq - 1943

Not a compact but a statutors requirement that the

governor enter into a certam Compact or agreemen: with

Nevada. subvect to approval of the Califorma

Legislature No further information is available as to the

subsequent acuons of either part

Sections “O56 (a, +3, and 19351 of the CA Rex & Tax C

authorize the Franchise Tax Board and State Board of

Equalization enter agreements with other states to share

income. sales and use tax information

Western. States Organized Crime Compact - Caliform2

West's Ann Cal Gov Code §§ 18050. 1S0S1 - 1971

This statute authonzed the state to consider such

compacts |

Other intergovernmental compacts or agreements.

State-Triba! Agreements Governing Indian Fishing -

West's Ann Cal Fish & G Code §€ 16000 and 16500 ¢:

seq ~ 1986

Authonzes the Deparunent of Fish and Game to enter an

agreement or compact with the Covelo Indian

Communit regarding fishing in the t_undan steams c:

the Round Valle, Indian Reservation Authonzes the

director of fish and game to enter into an agreement or

compact with the Yuroh Tnbe regarding fishing on the

Klamath and Tnnin Rivers

COLORADO

Agreement on Detainers (intersiate)

Execute Director. Department of Corrections

4nimas-Loa Plata Project Compact

Arkansas River Compact of 1949

Arkansas River Compact Admmuistration

Colorado River Compact

Colorado River Compact Commissioner

@Compaci for Adoption Assisiance & Iniersiate Medical

4 Adoption Subsici Pavmenis

Colorado Department of Social Services

Compact with Kansas. New Mexico and Wyoming (for

Crime Prevennon)

Attorney General - The ratification and approval of this

compact by Kansas was limued to secuons 24-60-205

and 206 (L.37, pg 773). New Mexico renounced this

compact in 1967 (see N.M Laws of 1967, Chapter 20),

§ 3. pg 1198)

— dormant or defunct

Costilla Creek Compact (Amended Costlla Creek

Compact)

Costilla Creek Compact Commission

Cumbres and Toltec Scemc Railroad Compact

Cumbres and Tohec Scenic Railroad Commission

Driver License Compact

Director. Disision of Motor Vehicles. Department of

Revenue

Compact for Educanon (Interstate;

Education Commission of the States

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Governor - Modified versions of the compact were

adopted in 195" and 1973

@ Interstate Compact on Agricultural Grain Markeung

Interstate Agriculture Grain Markeung Commission

Imerstatec Compact on Juveniles

Execute Director. Depanment of Insturutions

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Execute Director. Depanment of Insutuvons

Imersiate Compact on the Placemen of Children

Execute Director. Depanment of Social Services. or

designee

Imersiaie Compact to Conserve Oi! and (Natura! Gass

Imerstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

imersiate Corrections Compact

Execute Director. Deparment of Correcuons

Jmersiate Librar, Compact

Commissioner of Education

Le Plata River Compact

La Plata River Compact Commission

Multistate Highway Transportation Agreement

Governor or person designated by a special commimee of

legislators

Mulusiarve Tax Compac:

Mulustate Tax Commission

Nonresident | iolator Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Republican River Compact

Republican River Compact Commission

Rio Grande River Compact

The Council of State Governments

Rio Grande Compact Commission

@Rocky Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compac:

Rocky Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Waste Board

South Plane River Compact

South Platte River Compact Commission

Uniform Unclaimed Property Aci

Stuste Treasurer

Upper Colorado River Basin Compact

Upper Colorado River Basin Commission

Vehicle Equipment Safety Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Western Interstate Corrections Compact

Executive Director, Department of Corrections

Western Interstate Nuclear Compact

Western Interstate Nuclear Board

Western Regional Education Compact

Wester Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Wildlife Violator Compact

Board of Compact Admunistrators

Other intergovernmental compacts or agreements

Tribal-Stare Gaming Compact- CRS §&§ 12-47 2-10! &

12-47.2-103 - 1991

Govemor - Indian tribes may ask the go.emor to

Megotiate for the purpose of entering into tnbal-state

compacts

Compact for Care of Felons- CRS §& 24-60-40) 10 24-

60-403 ~ 195)

CONNECTICLT

Agreement on Detainers

Imterstare Compact Super isor. Department of

Corrections

Ayreement on Qualificanon of Educational! Personne

Commissioner of Education

Aiianuc States Marine Fisheries Compaci

Allanuc States Marne Fisheries Commission

Bus Taxation Proranon Agreement

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Menial Health

Administrator for Mentall, Ili Adults Administrator for

Menully Deficient

Administrator for Mentally Ili Children and Youth

Deparumeni of Mena! Health

Connecuicut River Atlantic Saimon Compasi

Connecticut River Atlanuc River Commission

Connecucut River | alle, Flood Control Compact

Connecticut River Valles Flood Contro!) Commission

Connecucut-New dork Railroad Passenger Transportato:

Compact

Connecticut Public Transporation Commission

Interstate Civil Defense and Disaster Compact

Director. Office of Emergencs Management

Interstate Compact for Parole and Probation Supen isso

Commissioner of Correction

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Department of Children and Youth Services

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Commissioner. Department of Children and Youth

Services

Interstate Compact on Welfare Services

Commissioner of Income Maintenance

— dormant or defunct

Interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner of Correction

Interstate Library Compact

Connecticut State Libranan

Mid-Atianuc Air Pollution Compact

Mid-Atlanuc States Air Polluuon Convo! Commission

— dormant or defunct

Mutual Military Aid Compact

Govermor. Adjutant Genera! or other designee

New England Corrections Compact

Commissioner of Correction or Interstate Compact

Super isor. Deparonent of Corrections

New England Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Higher Education

New England Interstate Planning Compact

New England Interstate Planning Commission

-- dormani or defunct

New England Imerstate Water Pollution Control Compact

New England Imerstate Water Polluuon Control

Commission

New Engiand Radiological Health Protection Compact

Commissioner of Environmenta! Protection. represented

by the Director of Monitoring and Radiation

New England State Police Compact

Depun Commissioner. State Police - The New England

State Police Compact created the New England

State Police Administrators Conference and the New

England Suate Police Imtelligence Network

@ Northeas: Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

anagemen! Compact

Northeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Northeastern Interstate Forest Fire Prowection Compact

Northeasiterm Forest Fire Protection Commission

Northeastern Water and Related Land Resources Compact

Northeastern Resources Commission

- dormant or defunct

Thames River Flood Control Compact

Thames River Valles Flood Contro! Commission

Tri-State Sanuanon Compaci (intersiate Environmenial

Commission Tri-State Compact;

Interstate Sanitauon Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Elecmicin and Gas Transmission berween Conneciicul

and other siates-C.GSA & 16-48 -- 1975

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

Department of Public Utility Control - Authonzes the

Department of Utility Control to enter

interstate compacts with New York. Vermont

Massachusetts. Rhode Island. New Jerse, and

Pennsylvania to jointly regulate electricin and gas

transmission between these states

DELAWARE

Agreement on Detainers (Uniform,

Commissioner of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educational Personne!

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Appalachian States Low-Leve! Radioactive Waste

Commission

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlantic States Manne Fishenes Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Delaware River and Ba, Authorin (Delaware-New Jerse.

Compact)

Delaware River and Bay Authonn

Delaware River Basin Compact

Delaware River Basin Commission

Driver License Compact

Secretar. Department of Public Safen

Interstate Crvil Defense and Disaster Compact

Governor

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Secretar... Department of Services for Children. Youth

and Their Families

Intersiate Compact on Mental Health

Secretan. Department of Health and Human Sen ice

Iniersiate Compact on Placement of Children

Compact Administrator. Department of Children. Youth

and Their Families

Interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Interstate Pest Control Compact

Mental Disordered Offender Compaci

Department of Health and Socia! Sen ices

Middle Atlanue Forest Fire Protecnon Compact

Secretary. Department of Agriculture

Uniform Law for Out-of-State Parolec Supervision

Parole & Probation Bureau. Corrections Department

FLORIDA

Agreement on Detainers

Correctional Services Administrator. LAD Compact.

Department of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educational! Personne!

Commissioner of Education

Atlanuc States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlantic States Manne Fishenes Commission

Compact for Educanor:

Education Commission of the Sues

Driver License Compact

Driver Improvement Bureau. Deparunent of Highway

Safer. and Motor Vehicles

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compaci

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

1CJ Compact Administrator. Department of Juvenile

Justice

Interstate Compact on Menta! Health

Imterstate Compact Coordinator. Department of Menta!

Health and Rehabilitative Services

Interstate Compact on Migrant Labor

Interstate Migrant Labor Commission

— dormant or defunct

Interstate Compact on Placemeni of Children

ICPC Compact Administrator, Department of Health and

Rehabilnative Services

Interstate Corrections Compact

Bureau Chief of the Interstate Corrections Compact

Deparment of Corrections

tmniersiates Environment Control Compact

- dormani or defunct

Interstate Libran Compact

Secretar. of State

Interstate Compact 10 Conserve Oi! and Gas

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Nonresident Violators Compact tof 19° ~,

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

@ Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive \ asie

Management Compact

Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Management Commission

Southeastern Forest Fire Protection Compac

Southeastern States Forest Fire Compact Commission

Southern Growth Policies Compact

Southem Growth Policies Board

Southerr: Intersiaie Energ, Compact

Souther States Energy Board

Southern Regional Eduzatuon Compact

Southem Regional Education Board

Uniform Law for Oui-of-Siate Parolige Super ision

Chief-Interstate Compacts Bureau. Depanmen: of

Corrections (transfers to Florida)

Administrator. Interstate Compacts Office. Parole

Commission (transfers out of Florida)

behicle Equipment Safen Compact

American Associauion of Motor Vehicle Admunisirators

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Interstate Pension Poriabilin Act- Wests FSA &

12145 ~ 1990

Division of Retirement - Directs the Division of

Retirement to survey other state retirement s\ stems to

determine the feasibilit. and interest in an interstate

The Council of State Governments

7a

compact to increase the ponabiliry of pensions for

public employees

Mutual Aid Arrangements - West's FSA § 252.40 —

1974

Division of Emergency Management - Authorizes the

governor to enter into compacts with other states if he

finds that joint action with that state is desirable in

meeting Common intergovernmenta! probiems of

emergency management planning. prevention.

mitigation, response and recover)

Other intergovernmental agreements

Seminole Indian Tribe Water Rights Compact - West's

F.S.A. § 285.165 ~ 1987

GEORGIA

Agreement on Detainers

Appointed by Commissioner of Corrections

Atlanne States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlanuc States Marine Fishenes Commission

Compact for Educanon

Education Commission of the States

Historic Chatiahoochee Compac:

Historic Chattahoochee Commission

Interstate Cwil Defense and Disaster Compact

Georgia Emergency Management Agency

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Runaway Investigations Unit. Department of Childrer

and Youth Services - juvenile delinquents

Interstate Compact on Menial Health

Commissioner of Human Resources

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Chiidre:

Department of Family and Children’s Services or

Department of Children and Youth Services

Interstate Corrections Compact

Department of Corrections

Interstate Environment Compaci

Commissioner of Natural Resources or their appointee

~ dormant or defunct

Interstate Library Compact

Public Libram Services Unit. Deparment of Education

Pest Control Compaci

@ Rapid Rail Transiu Compact (Southern;

Southem Rapid Rai! Transit Commission

Southeast Inierstate Low-Level Radioactive Haste

Management Compact

Southeast Interstate Low-Level Radsoactive Waste

Management Commission

Southeastern Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact

Southeastern States Forest Fire Protection Compact

Commission. Director. State Forestrn

Commission

Southern Growth Policies Agreement

Southem Growth Policies Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Souther Regional Education Board

Southern States Energy Compact

Southern States Energy Board

Uniform Act for Out-of-state Parole Supervision

Commissioner of Corrections

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Surface-W ater Management - OCGA. § 12-5-24 — 1977

Director, Environmental Protection Division (EPD).

Department of Naturai Resources - Authonzes the

director of EPD to enter interstate compacts or

agreement concerning surface water management

HAWAII

Agreement on Detainers

Lieutenant Governor

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Director of Transponation

interstaie Agreement on Qualification of Educational

Personne!

Supenniendent of Education

Imersiate Parole and Probation Compact

Adult Compact Administrator. Adult Probation Division

First Circun Coun

@ interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assisiance

(Adopior Assistance Compact and Procedures for

Imersiate Service Pax ments;

Assistant Program Administrator. Department of Human

Services. Farms A Aduh Services Division

Imerstate Compact on Juveniles

Lieutenant govemor

Interstate Compact or Menta! Health

Director of Health

Imersiaie Compact on Placement of Children

Assistant Program Admunistraior. Department of Human

Sernices. Famih A Aduh Services Division

Mulnstate Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

Nonresident Violator Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Hawan Judiciarn. Traffic Violations Bureau

@ Northwest Inersiate Compact on Low-level Radioactive

Waste \fanagement

Northwest Interstate Low-leve! Waste Compact

Comminee

Vehicle Equipmeni Safen Compac:

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Kesiern Imersiate Corrections Compact

Director of Public Safer.

YU esiern Regional Educanon Compact

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

interstate Compacts and Agencies

IDAHO

Bear River Compact

Bear River Commission

Columbic Rrver Compact (Columbia Interstate Compact,

Department of Water Resources

- dormant or defunct

Driver License Compact

Motor Vehicle Bureau. Department of Transponation

Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Correctional Records Office. Department of Corrections

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Interstate Compact Coordinator for Field and

Community Services. Deparmnent of Correciions

imtersiate Compact for Education =

Educatson Commission of the States

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Depun Administrator. Division of Famil, and

Communit Services. Department of Health and

Welfare

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Assistant Administrator. Famih and Communin

Services. Department of Health and Welfare

Interstate Compact on Qualification of Educational

Personne!

Supers isor. Teacher Education and Cenification

Departmen: of Education

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Depun Administrator. Division of Family and

Communin Services. Deparment of Health and

Welfare

imerstate Corrections Compec:

Coordinator. Correcuons Compact. Depanmen: ot

Corrections

Imersiate Librars Compaci

Siate Libranan

e@/niersiate Mutuc! 4id Compact

Operations Office. Bureau of Disaster Ser ice:

\fulnstate Highwa, Transportation igreemen

No administrator - This 1s an agreement among the

legisiatne bodies of the member siaies

Mfulnstate Tax Compaci

Mulustate Tax Commission

Nonresident |} iolator Compact

Super isor. Driver Records Uni Dnrver Senices

Department of Transponation

¢@ Northwest Compact on Low-level Radioactive Vash

Managemen:

Northwest Low-level Radioactive Waste Compact

Cormmimee

Pacific Marine F isherwes Compact

Pacific Manne Fisheries Commission

Pacific Siates Agreement on Radioactive Materials

Transportation

Pacific States Radioactn.e Matenals Transporation

Comminee

Salmon Fails Creek Compact

Water Allocation Bureau, Department of Water

Resources - Although a member. Idaho is not active in

this compact

— dormant or defunct

Snake River Compact

Water Allocation Bureau. Deparument of Water

Resources

Western Imersiaie Nuclear Compact (Western Interstate

Energy Compact)

Westem interstate Nuclear Board

Western Regional Education Compact (Interstate

Compact for Western Regional Cooperation in Higher

Education)

Wester Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Wildlife Violator Compact

Wildlife Bureau. Department of Fish and Game

Other intergovernmental compacts or agreements

Pacific Northwes: Economic Region-1C §§ 67-7801 to

6°-7803

Pacific Northwest Economic Region Commission -

Although technically not a compact or agreement. this

legislation creates a regional council to promote

economic development among the states and Canadian

provinces in the Pacific Normhwest Alaska. Idaho

Montana. Oregon. Washington. Alberta and British

Columbia are eligible to yon The legislation creating

this organization was generally introduced in the early

1990s

ILLINOIS

Agreement on Detainers

Interstate Compact Administrator. Deparment of

Corrections

Bi-siate Development Agenc, Compaci

Bi-state Development Agency

@Centra! \Midwes: Intersiate Low-leve! Radioactive Hi aste

Compas!

Centra! Midwest Compact Commission

Compas: for Education

Education Commission of the Sates

Compac: on Meniai Health

Depanment of Menta! Health and Developmental

Disabiiies

Compact on Meniall, Disordered Offenders

Driver License Compact

Secretan of Suate. Drivers’ Services Department

Great Lakes Basin Compact

Great Lakes Commission

High Speed Rail Compact (Inierstate/

Nlnois-Indiana Bridge Compact (Commissioners Act)

Mhnois-Indiana Bridge Commission. IL Bureau Chief for

Bridges and Structures. Depanment of Transporation

- dormant or defunct

The Council of State Governments

Ilnois-Missouri Bridge Compact Act

Ihnois-Missoun Bridge Commission,\IL Bureau Chief

for Bridges and Structures. De of

Transportation

= dormant or defunct

Interstate Compact for Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Interstate Compact Administrator for Adult Parole

Interstate Compact Administrator for Adult Probation

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Parolees: Interstate Compact Administrator, IL

Deparunent of Corrections,

Probationers: Interstate Compact Administrator.

Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Compact Administrator, Department of Children and

Family Services

Interstate Corrections Compac!

Department of Corrections

@/ntersiate Disaster Compact

Emergency Management Agency

Inierstate High Speed Intercin Rail Passenger \erwors

Compect

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisors Counci). IL Bureau

Chief of Railroads. Department of Transporation

Interstate Librar. Compact

Secretar of State

Interstate Mfining Compact

Interstate Mining Commission

Intersiate Oul and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Pest Controi Compact

Department of Agriculture

@/niersiate Rail Passenger \ermork Compact

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisom Council. IL Bureau

Chief of Railroads. Deparment of Transporation

@\fidwestern Higher Education Compac:

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

Mfissouri-Iliinois-Jeflerson-\fonroe Bridge Compa.!

Missouri-Illinois-Jefferson-Monroe Bridge Commissior

Mhnois Bureau Chief for Bridges and Structures

+ dormant or defunct

Nonresident \iolator Compact

Secretar of State. Drver Services Department

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Compaci

Ohio River Sanitation Commission

@Tri-State High Speed Rail Compact

Tri-State High Speed Rail Commission

Wabash Valle, Compact

Wabash Valle. Interstate Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Border State School Interstate Compact - Wlinois 48

ILCS 95.001 et seq -- 1988

State Superintendent of Education - Authonzes loca!

schoo! districts to enter compacts with districts in

bordering states to create joint schoo! districts. There is

only one instance where this happened. and thai distnci

no longer exists

— dormant or defunct

Crime Prevention and Correcuon - Wiinois. 730 ILCS

$/3-3-11.3 — 1973

Govemor - Authorizes the governor to enter into

agreements regarding same

Sexual: Dangerous Persons. Interstate Transfer - 45

ILCS 2000) et seq — 1963

Govemor - Authonzes the governor to enter into

reciprocal agreements with other states

INDIANA

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Commissioner. Bureau of Motor Vehicles

Great Lakes Basin, Compact

Great Lakes Commission

Indiana-Kentuckh Boundor. Compas

Intersiaie Agreemeni on Qualificanon of Educational

Personnel = —.

Superimendent of Public Instruction

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probdciioners

Parolees Supervisor. Parole Services. Department of

Corrections

Probanoners Compact Coordinator. Indiana Judicial

Cente:

@/ntersiate Compact for Traff. Safen

Director. Office of Traffic Saren ~—-

Interstate Compact on Adopnonm Assistance

Depun Compac: Administrator. Division of Family and

Childrer.

Interstate Compact on Juveniies

Parolees Supervisor. Parole Services. Department of

Corrections

Probationers Probation Juxemile Director. Indiana

Judicial Center

Interstate Compact on Menta! Health

Interstate Compact Administraior. Cmmuina! Justice

Programs. Office of General Counsel. Division

of Menta! Health. Family and Socia! Services

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Program Director. Licensing Unit Division of Family

and Children. Family and Social Services

interstate Corrections Compact

Supervisor. Parole Services. Department of Correction

@/niersiate Earthquake Emergency Compact

Director of State Emergency Management Agency

Inierstate Emergency, Management and Disasier Compaci

Director. State Emergenc, Management Agency

@/nierstate High Speed Rai! Passenger Compac:

Interstate Rai! Passenger Advison Council. Railroad

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

10a

Section Manager, Departmen: of

Transportation

Interstate Library Compaci

Director, Indiana State Library

Interstate Mining Compact

Interstate Mining Commission

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Commission

@/niersiate Rail Passenger Network Compact

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisory Council.

Commissioner, IN Deparunent of Transporation

@Midwest interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Oho River Valley Sanuation Compact

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission

Vehicle Equipment Safer Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Admunuistrator:s

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

~AIntersiare Compact for Traffic Sajen - indiana IC 9-28-

3-1 [1991]

This Indiana law adopts a compact which authonzes the

governor and state waffic director to nouf\ officials in

other states that Indiana recogmizes the need for unifor-

traffic safer regulations and siandards It urges al! stats:

to join an Jntersiate Compact for Traffic Safen that was

authonzed by Public Law 684 of the 8Sth Congress The

Indiana law establishes a bureau to enter and maintain

reciprocal agreements with other states conceming motor

vehicles. and particularly. the Intemational Registra:.or

Plan

IOWA

@4doption of Persons

Department of Human Sen ices

Agreement on Detainers

Director. Departmen: of Corrections

Compas: on Mental Hea!t:

Director of Mental Health. Mental Retardation and

Developmenta) Disabilines. Depanment of Human

Sern ices

Driver License Compact

Department of Transportation

Education Compact

Education Commission of the States

Imersiate Civil Defense and Disaster Compact

Emergency Management Division. Department of Pub!i.

Defense

Iniersiate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probanoners (interstate Probation and Paroles Compact

Interstate Compact Bureau. Department of Corrections

@/nterstate Compact on Agricultural Grain Marketing

Interstate Agricultural Markeung Commission

@Iniersiate Compact on Energy ‘Midwesi Energy Compact

Interstate Midwest Energy Commission

Imerstate Compact on Juveniles

Department of Human Services

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Department of Human Services

Interstate Corrections Compact

Division of Institutions. Department of Corrections

Interstate Library Compact

Division of Libraries Information Services, Department

of Education

@Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Midwest Nuclear Compact

Appointed bs Governor

-- dormant or defunct

Afissour: River Imtersiaic Barge Compact

Department of Transporation

-- dormani or defunct

Nonresident liolator Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Qualification of Educa.onal Personne!

Director. Department of Education

Unclaimed Propern Compac:

State Treasurer

Uniform Disposinon of Lnaclaimed Propern Ac!

State Treasurer

Upper Mississippt Riverway Compact

-- dormant or defunct

lehicle Equipment Safen Act

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

KANSAS

igreement on Detaimers

Director of Federa! and State Affairs. Deparment of

Corrections

d4rkonsas River Compaci ‘of 1949)

Arkansas River Compact Administration

d4rhansas River Compact tof 1965, (Arkansas River Basi

Compect Kansas. Oklahoma,

Kansas-Oklahoma Arkansas River Commission

@Central Interstate Low-Leve! Radioactive Waste

Compact

Cenva! Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compaci

Director. Division of Vehicles. Departmen: of Revenue

Interstate Civil Defense and Disaster Compaci

Deputy Director. Division of Emergency Preparedness

Interstate Agreement on Qualification of Educational

Personne!

Commissioner of Education

The Council of State Governments

@ Interstate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assisiance

Deputy Compact Administrator. Youth and Adult

Services

@ Interstate Compact on Agricultural Grain Marketing

Interstate Agricultural Grain Marketing Commission

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

IC} Specialist, Youth and Aduh Services

Interstate Compact on Menial Health

Director of Institutions, Social and Rehabilitation

Services Department

Intersiate Compact on Placement of Children

ICPC Specialist, Youth and Adult Services

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Youth Services, Department of Social and Rehabilitation

Services

Interstate Compact to Conserve Oil and Gas

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Corrections Compact

Corrections Manager, Deparment of Corrections

@/nterstaie Dealer Licensing Compact

Director. Division of Vehicles. Departmen: of Revenue

Interstate Library Compact (Inierlocal Cooperation Act:

State Libranan

Kansas Cin Area Transportation District & Authorin

Compact

Kansas Cin Area Transporation Authorin of the

Kansas Cit. Area Transponation Distnct

Kansas-\fissour: Boundary Compact

@Kansas-Missour! Culture District Compact

Metropolitan Culture District, Metropoinan Culture

Commission

Aansas-\fissour: H aterworks Compac

-- dormant or defunct

Kansas-Nebraska Big Blue River Basin Commissior:

Kansas-Nebrasha Big Blue River Compact

Administration

@\fidwestern Higher Education Compact

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

\fissour: River Toli Bridge Compact

Secretan of Transportation

Missouri-Kansas Metropoluan Developmen: District and

Agency Compact

Missoun-Kansas Metropolitan Developmen: Agency

- dormant or defunct

@Mulusiaie Louern Agreement

Mulustate Loner Board of Directors

Multustate Tax Compact

Multistate Tax Commission

National Guard Mutual Assistance Compaci

Plans. Operations and Milian Suppon. Office of

Adjutant General - Kansas joined with Missour: But

the compact has never been used and is not current ft 1.

also likely to be supplanted by recent legislation

introduced by the Southern Governors’ Association and

FEMA

Nonresident Violator Compact

Chief Examiner's Office, Dnver Licensure Bureau,

Department of Revenue

Republican River Compact

Republican River Commission

Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supervision

Adult Compact Administrator

KENTUCKY

Agreement on Deiainers

General Counsel. Department of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educational Personne!

Commissioner of Education

Breaks Interstate Park

Breaks Interstate Parks Commission

@Cenrral Midwest Inierstate Low-Level Radioactive

Waste Compact

Central Midwest Compact Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Falis of the Ohio Imerstate Park Compact

Falls of the Ohio Interstate Park Commission

commission is inactive

— dormant: or defunct

Imerstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probat:oners

Interstate Compact Adminisvator -- Parole. Probation &

Parole Division. Corrections Depamment

Interstate Compact Admin:strator ~ Probation. Probation

& Parole Division. Corrections Department

Interstate Compact on dir Pollution

Imterstate Air Pollution Control Commission

- dormant or defunct

Intersiate Compaci on Juveniles

Depun Compact Administrator. IC). Department of

Socia! Services. Cabinet for Human Resources

Interstate Compact on Menta! Health:

Pharmacist Services Program Manager. Division of

Menta! Health. Departmen: of Menta! Health and

Mental Retardation

Intersiate Compact on Placement of Children

Imerstate Coordinator. ICPC. Deparment of Socia!

Services. Cabinet for Human Resources

interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Interstate Emergency Management and Disaster Compact

Execute Director. Disaster & Emergency Services

Milnar. Affairs Department

Interstate Emvironmenial Compact

— dormant or defunct

Interstate Library Compact

Deparunent for Libraries and Archives

Intersiate Mining Compaci

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

Nonresident Violators Compact

Dnver License Division. Vehicle Regulation Department

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

12a

Transporation Cabinet

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Compact

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission

Southeastern Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compaci

Southeastem States Forest Fire Protection Commission

Southern Growth Policies Agreement

Southem Growth Policies Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Southem Regional Education Board

Tennessee River Basin Water Pollution Control Compact

Tennessee River Basin Water Pollution Conro!

Commission

- dormant or defunct

Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Compac

Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authonn

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Gasoline Excise Tax - KRS § 138.227 ~ 1992

Transportation Cabinet - Authorization for entry into

cooperative compacts or agreements

Interstate Compacts on Subsidized Adoptions — KRS &§

199 $95 to 199.5955 - 1986

Depun Compact Administrator. ICPC. Department of

Social Services. Cabinet for Human

Resources - Authonzes the Cabinet for Human

Resources to enter interstate compacts or agreements

with other states for protection of children on behalf of

whom adoption assistance is being provided

Interstate Compacts on Solid Waste Management - KRS s

224 18-900 ~ 1991

Govemor - Authorizes the governor to negotiate and

enter into compacts with other states

relating to the management of solid waste

Intersiaie Transit Authorines ~ KRS & 964210 ~ 1970)

Authorizes cities and counties on the state line to form a

tans authonn with political

Subdivisions in other states

Interstate Water Sanuation Board Control Commissions -

KRS § 224.18-710 10 224 18-718 - 1940

This three member board consisting of the governor

secretar of Natural Resources and Environmental

Protection Cabinet and one gubernaiona! appointee sence

as representatives to any interstate water sanitation or

contro] compacts to which Kentucky ts a parn

LOUISIANA

Central Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Cenval Interstaie Low-level Radioactive Wasie

Commission

Compact for Education (Compact for Cooperanve Efforis

Education Commission of the State

Driver License Compact

13a

Department of Public Safety and Corrections

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

@/nternational Fuel Tax Agreement

Department of Revenue and Taxation

International Motor Vehicle Registration Plan

Department of Public Safer and Corrections

@interstaie Emergency Preparedness and Disasier

Compact

The Louisiona Emergency Assistance and Disaster Act of

1993 enacts into law $733, the /nterstate Emergency

Preparedness and Disaster Compact, which appears to

be a modified version of the /niersiate Crvil Defense and

Disaster Compact

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Chief Probation and Parole Officer. Department of

Public Safer and Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Office of Juvenile Services. Department of Public Safen

& Corrections

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Secretan. Department of Health and Human Senices

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Office of Communin Senices. Department of Socia!

Ser ices

Interstate Environmental Compact

Depanment of Health and Human Resources

- dorman: or defunct

Interstate Librarn Compact

State Librarian

Interstate Mining Compact

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

Loutsiana-Mississippi-Alabama Rapid Rai! Transit

Compact

Southern Rapid Rail Transit Commission

@ \fississipps River Interstate Pollution Phase Out

Compac!

Mississipp: River Interstate Pollution Contro!

Commission

Mississippr-Louisiana Bridge Construction Compact

Mississippi-Louisiana Bridge Authority

«- dormant or defunct

Nonresident Violator Compact (Traffic Violations

Compact:

Louisiana Deparument of Public Safery and Corrections

Office of Motor Vehicles

Red River Compact

Red River Compact Commission

Sabine River Compact

Sabine River Compact Administrator

South Central Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compaci

South Centra! States Forest Fire Protection Compact

Commission. Commissioner of Agnculture

Southern Growth Policies Agreement

Southem Growth Policies Board

The Council of State Governments

Southern Interstate Energy Compact

Southern States Energy Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Southern Regional Education Board

Southern Siate Police Compact

Southern State Police Administrator's Conference

= dormant or defunct

¢Tangipahoa River Waterway Compact

Loui M ppi Tangipahoa River Waterway

Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Minerals, Oil and Gas. Oil Spill Prevention and Response

- Louisiana’ LSA-R.S. 30:2494

Oil Spill Management Coordinator - Authorizes the 01!

spill management coordinator to enter into compacts o:

agreements with other states regarding convolling 01!

gas and other mineral spills

Uniform Transfer of Dependents Act- LSA-RS 46 401

46402 - 1978

Department of Health & Hospitals - Authorizes the

Department of Health & Hospitals to enter into

compacts or agreements with other states regarding the

mterstate transfer of indigent people

MAINE

Adoption Assistance Compact

Commissioner of Human Services

Agreement on Detainers (Interstate Compaci on

Deia:mners,

Commissioner of Corrections

Agreement on Qualification of Educationa! Personne!

Commissioner of Education

Atlantic Siates Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

Bus Taxation Proration and Reciprocin Agreement

Secretary of State

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Menta! Health

Director of Social Services. Augusta Menta! Health

Institute

Director of Social Services. Bangor Mental Health

Institute

Driver License Compact

Secretar of State

Interpleader Compact

Secretar of State

Interstate Civil Defense and Disaster Compact

Maine Emergency Management Director

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Adult Compact Administrator. Probation & Parole

Division. Corrections Depanment

Interstate Compact on Placement of Cnildres

Director. Division of Child & Family Services. Bureau

of Social Services

Interstate Compact on Juveniles (Uniform Interstate

Compact on Juveniles)

Deput Compact Administrator for Intersuate Compact

on Juveniles. Juvenile Services. Probation and Parole

Division

Interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner of Corrections

Intersiate Library Compact

State Libranan

Imersiate Transfer of Indigent Persons

Commissioner of Human Ser ices

@Low-level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact (Texas)

Texas Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal Compact

Commission

Maine-New Hampshire Boundary Compact

P.L. 1993. chapter 36] repealed section 25! that

estatiished the commission. but did not repeal!

sections 2$2-2$9 which further describe the Commission

and its powers

Afaine-New Hampshire School District Compact

Commissioner of Education

Menicin Disordered Offenaers Compact

Department of Mental Health & Retardation

New Engiand Radiologica! Health Protection Compact

Commissioner of Human Sen ices

New England Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Highe> Education

New Engiand Iniersiate Corrections Compaci

Commissioner of Corrections

New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Compas:

New England Interstate Water Polluuion Contro!

Commission

New England Planning Compact

New England Imerstate Planning Commission

«- dormant or defunct

New Engiand State Police Compact

New England State Police Administrator s Conference

Nonresident | iolctor Compaci

Secretan of State

@ Northeast Intersiate Dain Compact

Commissioner of Agnculture

Pest Contro! Compact

Director. Bureau of Forestrn

Taxation of Motor Fuels Consumed 6. Interstate Buses

Sute Tax Assessor. Bureau of Taxation

@7ri-State Lotto Compact

Tri-State Loto Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Animal Disease Conirol- 7 MRSA § 1810 -- 1971

Commussioner of Agnculture

Commercial Feed- 7 MRS A 723 -- 1989

Commissioner of Agriculture

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

l4a

Hazardous and Solid Waste- 38 MRSA § 2140 -

1989

Maine Waste Management Agency Department of

Environmental Protection - Encourages a compact to

improve management, recycling and reduction of solid

waste

Interchange of Government Employees

Maine State Agencies - Authonzes Maine state agencies

to exchange employees with other states

or the federal government for assignments of up to one

year per employee

Interstate Transfer of Indigent Persons - Maine. 22

MRS.A_ § 3102 [1933)

Commissioner of Human Services

Manufactured Housing Board - Maine 1O MRSA §&

9048 [1977]

Oil Spill Prevention (supplementary agreemenis)- 38

M.R.S.A. § 553 = 1969

Govemor

Regional Overdimensiona! Truck Permit Agreement - 29

MRSA § 1705 - 1987

Commissioner of Transponation - Authonzes

Commissioner of Transporation to enter into

interstate Compacts or agreements conceming oversize

commercial tuck camers

MARYLAND

Agreemeni on Qualification of Educationa! Personne

Assistant Supenntendent of Cenuification and

Accreditation. Department of Education

@ Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Wasik

Compact

Appalachian Sues Low-level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Atianuc States Marine Fisheries Compact

Aulanuc States Manne Fishenes Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Director. Motor Vehicle Administrave Adjudication

Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Assistant Anomey General. Office of the Anomey

General. Department of Public Safer and Corrections

Services

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Depur Compact Director. Deparunent of Juvenile

Services

Interstate Compact on Menia! Health

Director, Menta! Hygiene Administration. Deparunen o:

Health and Mental Hygiene

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Federal Liaison. Department of Human Resource:

Interstate Compact on the Potomac River Basin

Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin

Interstate Corrections Compact

Interstate Corrections Compact Administrator

Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services

Imerstate Emergency Management and Civil Defense

Compac!

State Emergency Operations Center. Emergency

Management Agency

imersiate Environment Compact

Secretar of Natural Resources

— dormant or defunct

Interstate Library Compact

Assistant State Superintendent Division of Library

Development & Services

Intersiate Mining Compact

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

Jmersiate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Intersiate Pest Control Compact

Plan: Protection Section. Department of Agnculture

Middle Atlannc Interstate Fores: Fire Protection Compact

State Fire Supervisor. Forestry Division. Deparment of

Natural Resources

Nonresident Violator Compact

Amencan Associauon of Motor Vehicle Administrators

MD Super isor. Driver Contra! and Records

@ Potomac Highlands Airport Authorin Compact

Potomac Hiehlands Airpon Authority - Creates an

authonn to operate a regiona! airport bermeencounties

in Marland and West Virgima This compact was

dormant unul 1990 when state and loca! officials in both

slaies signed an agreement to activate it

@Potomac River Bridges Towing Compac:

No administrator per se State troopers and loca! law

enforcement officers are authorized to direct traffic and

move disabled vehicles from any pam of Potomac River

bridges

Potomac River Compact of 1938 (Potomac 'alie\

Conservancy District Compact,

Potomac River Fishenes Commission

Southern Regional! Education Compac:

Southern Regional Education Board

Southern States Energy Compac:

Southern Suates Energy Board

Susquehanna River Basin Compact

Susquehanna River Basin Commission

Tri-State Agreement on the Chesapeake Bay

Chesapeake Bay Commission

Uniform Out-of-State Parolee Supervision Act

Parole and Probation Division Department of Public

Safer and Correctional Services

HW ashingion Metropolitan Area Transit Authorin Compac!

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Authonty

Washington Metropoluan Area Transit Regulation

Compact

Washington Metropolitan Area Transit Commission

The Council of State Governments

15a

MASSACHUSETTS

Agreement on Detainers

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

Atlanuc States Marine Fisheries Compact

Allanuc States Manne Fishenes Commission

@Bay Siate - Ocean Siate Compact (Compaci with Rhode

Island Relaung to Bays Systems,

Bay State, Ocean State Compact Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Menial Health

Commissioner of Mental Health

Connecucut River Atlantic Salmon Compact

Connecticut River Atlantic Salmon Commission (staffed

by U.S. Department of Fish & Wildlife)

Driver License Compact (Motor Vehicle Convictions,

Secretary of Public Safety

Emergency Militar) Aid Compaci. New dork

Governor or military representative

Interstate Agreement on Qualification of Educationa!

Personne!

State Board of Education

Imerstate Compaci for the Supervision of Parolees ana

Probationers

Counn. Federal and Interstate Manager. Departmen: of

Corrections

@/niersiate Compact on Adoption and Medica! Assisiance

Department of Social Services and Deparment of Pub...

Welfare

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Department of Youth Services

Imersiate Compact on the Placemen: of Childrer

Deparment of Socia! Ser ices

Intersiate Librars Compact

Sup of State Libranes

@/ntersiate Truck Permits Compact

Highway Deparment

Merrimack River Basin Flood Control! Compact

Mermmack River Valles Flood Control! Commission

New England Correctnons Compact

Commissioner. Department of Corrections

New England Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Higher Education

New England Iniersiate ater Pollution Control Compe.

New England Interstate Water Pollution Contro!

Commission

New England Radiological Protection Compact

Public Health Commissioner. Department of Public

Welfare

New England Regional Planning Compac:

Division of Planning. through the Anome) Genera!

- dormant or defunct

New England State Police Compact

New England State Police Administrators’ Conference

New England States Emergency Milian 4id Compact

Govemor or militan representative

Taxation of Motor Fuels Consumed by Iniersiate Buses

Commissioner of Revenue

Thames River Fiood Control Compact

Thames River Flood Contro! Compact Commission

Vehicle Equipment Safer’ Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts and agreements.

Agreemenis to Transport and Care for Welfare Recipients

- ALM GL 18.14 — 1967

Public Health Commissioner. Deparunent of Public

Welfare - Authorizes the Department of Public

Welfare to enter into reciprocal agreements with other

States regarding mterstate transportation of poor and

indigent people. and to arrange for the acceptance and

suppor of people receiving public aid in other states

Fish and Game Lous - ALM GL 130 15A — 1945

Division of Law Enforcement. Environmental Police

Officer - Permits reciprocal law enforcement bs

en\ironmenta! police. game wardens or natura! resources

officers in adjacent waters of member states

MICHIGAN

Agreement on Deiainers

Deparment of Correcuions

Agreement on Qualificanon of Educanona! Personne!

Office of Teacher Preparation and Cenufication.

Department of Education

Boundar. Compac: berweer Minnesota Wisc..:sin and

Michigan

Compac: for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact or Mental Health

Bureau of Hospitals and Centers. Deparment of Menta!

Health

Cooperation with States Bordering on Great Lakes

Great Lakes Compact Commission

Great Lakes Basin Compas:

Great Lakes Commission

International Registration Pian (\fotor Carriers

Reciprocin:

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Field Operations Admimisation. Departmen: of

Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Division of Foster Care Policy. Department of Social

Sen ices

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Department of Social Services. Division of Foster Care

Policy

Interstate Corrections Compaci

Facilities Administration. Department of Corrections

Inerstate High Speed iniercin Rai’ Passenger \etwork

Compac:

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

l6a

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisor, Council

Interstate Oil and Gas Compaci

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Pest Control Compact

@ Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

@Midwesiern interstate Low-Level Radioactive Wasie

Compact

Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Multstate Reciproca! Agreement

Mulustate Tax Compact

Multistate Tax Commission

@Tri-State High Speed Rail Line Compact

Tri-State High Speed Rail Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Emergenc) Preparedness- MC.L.A § 30404 -- 1976

Emergenc, Management Division. State Police - In the

event of a disaster. the 1976 Afichigan Emergency

Managemen Act authonzes the governor to enter into

reciprocal aid agreements or compacts with other state:

to furnish or exchange food. clothing. medicine. and

other supplies. engineenng services. emergency housing

police services. the services of the Nationa! Guard

when not mobilized for federal service or state defense

force

Weather Modification Interstate Compacits-MCLA &

298 107 -- 1978

The Michigan Deparment of Agnculture exchanges

information with Minnesota. but have not negotiated a

compact

MINNESOTA

Agreement on Deiainers

Commissioner of Corrections

@ Agricultura! Grain Marketing Compact

Interstate Agncultural Grain Marketing Commissior.

MN Commissioner or Agnculture

Boundarn Compact bermeen Michigan Wisconsin and

Minnesota

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Mental Health

Commissioner of Human Sen ices

Driver License Compact

Commissioner of Public Safer

Great Lakes Basin Compact

Great Lakes Commission

@ International Fue! Tax Agreement (IF T4, (Mfotor

Carriers)

Prorate and Reciprocimn Administrator. Driver A Vehicle

Services Division. Department of Public Safer

Internanonal Registration Plan

Prorate and Reciprocim Administrator. Driver A Vehicle

17a

Services Division, Department of Public Safety

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Commissioner of Corrections

@/mersiate Compact on Adopnon and Medical Assisiance

Consuhant Family & Children Services Division.

Department of Human Services

¢@Jnterstate Compact on Ind li Buildings

Industialized/Imterstate Modular Buildings Commission

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Commissioner of Corrections

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Commissioner of Human Services

Interstate Compact on Qualification of Educational

Personnel

Commissioner of Education

Interstate Corrections Compact

Commissioner of Corrections

Interstate Library Compact

Suate Board of Education

Interstate Pest Control Compact

@ Midwest Iniersiate Low-level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Midwest Interstate Low-level Radioactive Waste

Commission

@ \fidwestern Higher Educanon Compact

Midwestem Higher Education Commission

Afinnesota-Wisconsin Boundarn Compact

Minnesota-Wisconsin Boundan Area Commission

Mulnstate Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

d/Adnude,t.

eo

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Colleges Unwersiues and Vocanona!l Education (tuition:

-MSA 136408 ~ 1967

Coordinator. Campus-based Programs. Higher Education

Coordinating Board - Authonzes the Higher Education

Coord:nating Board to enter reciprocal agreements with

adjacent states [Iowa (limited). Minnesota. North Dakota

South Dakota. Wisconsin) and Canadian provinces

relating to non-resident tuition at higher education

instutuuions

Electricin siung - MS.A. § 116C.$3 - 1973

Environmental! Quality Board - Authonzes the Minnesota

Environmenta! Quali Board to hold joint neanngs with

adjacent states (lowa, Minnesota. North Dakota. South

Dakota. Wisconsin) regarding the routes for interstate.

high-\olage transmission lines and the location of large.

electnc power generating plants

Rail Service Improvement Program -M.S.A 222.52 -

1976

Railroad Administration Office. Department of

Transporation - Authonzes the Minnesota

Deparment of Transporation to enter agreements with

adjacent states [lowa. Minnesota. North Dakota. South

The Council of State Governments

Dakota, Wisconsin] to rehabilitate interstate railroad lines

MISSISSIPPI

@Ark M. ippi Great River Bridge Construction

Arkansas-Mississippi Great River Bridge Authonn

(Ameriport) Compact for Development of Deep Drafi

Harbor and Terminal

Gulf Coast Superpor’ Development Authonn

— dormant or defunct

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Department of Public Safety

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact

Gulf States Marine Fisheries Commission

@intersiate Agreements for Protection of Children being

provided Adoption Assistance

Interstate Crvil Defense and Di Compact

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probatoners

Interstate Compact on Environment

- dormant or defunct

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

@Jntersiate Earthquake Emergency Compac:

Interstate Librar, Compact

Mississippi Library Commission

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil Compact Commission

Mississippi-Alabama Railroad Authorin Compaci

Mississippi-Alabama Railroad Authonn

@ Afississippi-Louisiana Rapid Rail Transu Compact

Southem Rapid Rai! Transit Commission

Non-Resident Violators Compaci of 19°-~

South Central Fores: Fire Protection Compact

South Central Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compac

Commission. State Forester

@Southeast Interstate Low-level Radioactive H asic

Management Compact

Southeast Interstate Low-level Radioactive Waste

Management Commission

Southeastern Forest Fire Protection Compact

Southeastern States Forest Fire Protection Compact

Commission, State Forester

Southern Growth Policies Compact

Southem Growth Policies Board

Southern Interstate Nuclear Compact Southern States

Energy Compact

Southern States Energ, Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Souther Regional Education Board

Tennessee River Basin Hater Pollution Control Compac:

Tennessee River Basin Water Pollution Convo!

Commission

- dormant or defunct

Tennessee-Tombigbee Waierwa) Development Compact

Tennessee-Tombigbee Waterway Development Authonn

@US Highway 82 Four Lane Construcnon Compact

U.S. Highway 82 Four Lane Construction Authonty

MISSOURI

Agreemeni on Detainers

General Counsel. Department of Corrections

Bi-Siate Development Agency Compact (and Bi-Siate

Metropoluan District)

Bi-State Development Agenc

Compact Berween Iilinow and Missouri creating an

Nimois-Missour: Bridge Commission

Ilanois-Missoun Bndge Commission

— dormant or defunct

Compact berseen lilinois and Missouri creanng a

Afissouri-Iilinows-Jefferson- Monroe Bridge Commission

Missoun-lllinois-Jefferson-Monroe Bndge Commission

— dormant or defunct

Compaci berween Tennessee and Afissour: creating a

Tennessee-Afissour: Bridge Commission

Tennessee-Missoun Bndge Commission

- dorman: or defunct

Compact for Education

Educanon Commission of the States

Drivers License Compact

Director. Deparment of Revenue

@/niersiate Adopnon Assistance Compact

Deparment of Social Services

Intersiate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Prodainoners

Chairman. Probauon and Parole Board

@/niersiaie Compas: on Desegregation

Desegregation Commuissicn - Permits K-12 students in

Johnson Count. Kansas to parmacipate in ans

desegregation plan developed with any Missour counn

of the first classification with a chaner form of

governmen: and which contains al! or pan of a cit with

a population of 3$0.000 or more

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Division of Youth Services

Interstate Compact on Mfenta!l Health

Director. Department of Menta! Health

Interstate Compact on Meniall, Disordered Offender

Department of Menta! Health and Departmen of

Corrections

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Division of Farms Services

Intersiate Corrections Compact - 1982 version replaces

19°] version

Director. Department of Corrections

@/ntersiate Earthquake Emergency Compact

Emergencs Management Agency

e@iniersiate High Speed Iniercin Rai! Passenger Nermork

Compac!

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisorn Counc!

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

Inersiate Mining Compaci

Imerstate Mining Compact Commission

Kansas City Area Transportanon Compac

Kansas City Area Transporation Authonn

Kansas-Missour: Air Quality Compact

Kansas-Missoun Air Quality Commission

— dormant or defunct

Kansas-Missouri Flood Prevention and Control Compac:

Kansas-Missouri Flood Prevention Commission

@ Midwest Higher Education Compact

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

@ Midwest Interstate Low-level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Midwest Interstate Low-level Radioactive Waste

Commission

@ Missour: and Kansas Merropolitan Culture Dismrict

Compact

Metropolitan Culture Commissions

@ Missour: River Barge Compact

- dormant or defunct

Missouri: River Toll Bridge Compact

State Highways and Transporation Commission

@ Afissouri- Nebraska Boundary

Mulnstate Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

Nonresident | :olator Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Admuinistrato:-

Southern Siates Energ, Compac: (Southern Interstate

Nuclear Compact)

Southern States Energ, Board

Vehicle Equipment Safen Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Colleges and Universities Regional College of Opiome'r.

-VAMS § 172 77S ~ 1978

Board of Curators. Universin of Missourn - Authonze-

the board of curators of the Universin of Missouri to

enter into agreements with other states to establish

jointh operated schools of optomem

MONTANA

Agreement on Detainers

Imerstate Compact Super isor. Corrections Division

Departmen: of Corrections and Human Sen ices

Compaci on Meniai Heaith

Compact Administrator. Menta! Health Division

Department of Correcnons and Human Sen ices

Driver License Compact

Compact Administrator. Motor Vehicle Division

Deparmnent of Justice

Interstate Agreement on Qualification of Educanona!

Personne!

Supenntendent of Public Instruction

Imerstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees ans

19a

Probationers

Deputn Compact Admimistrator. Corrections Drvision,

of Corrections and Human Services

@/nterstare Compact on Adoption Assistance

Department of Family Services and Deparuneni of

Social and Rehabilnation Services

Imerstate Compact on Juveniles

Administrative Corrections Officer, Juvenile Correcuons

Division. Department of Corrections and Human

Services

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

ICPC Admmistrator. Department of Family Services

Intersiate Corrections Compact

Compact Administrator, Corrections Division.

Department of Corrections and Human Services

Imerstate Library Compact

State Libranan

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Mulustat: Highwe, Transportation Agreement

Motor Camer Services Division. Deparsment of

Transponauon

\fulnstare Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

Vutwe: did

Disaster A Emergency Services Division. Departmen: of

Milnan Affairs ;

@ \orthwes: Intersiate Compac: on Low-level Radioactive

Waste \lanagement

Nonhwest Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Comminee

lehicie Equipment Safer. Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

MU estern Interstate Correcnons Compact

Compact Administrator. Correcuons Div 1s10n

Depanment of Corrections and Human Sen ices

HM esterr Interstate \uclear Compact

Western Interstate Nuclear Board

H esiern Regiona! Higher Education Compac

Western Interstate Commission For Higher Education

Yellowstone Rrver Compact

Yellowstone River Compact Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

4 ater Compacts - MCA 8$-1-223 ~1933

Compact Administrator. Water Resources Division

Deparment of Natural Resources and Conservation --

Authorized to enter water compacts

NEBRASKA

Agreement on Detainers

Special Services. Deparmem of Correctional Services

Big Biue River Basin Compact

Kansas-Nebraska Big Blue River Commission

@Centrai Interstate Low-Level Radioacuve HU asic

The Council of State Governments

Compact Commission

Central Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compact Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Department of Motor Vehicles

Intersiate Agreement on Qualification of Educational

Personnel

Commissioner of Education

Interstate Crvil Defense and Disaster Compact

State Civil Defense Director

¢/mersiate Compact on Agricultural Grain Marketing

interstate Agricultura) Grain Markeung Commission

Inters:ate Compaci on Mental Health

Director of Public Institunons

interstate Compact on Juveniles

Juvenile Parole Administrator, Office of Juvenile

Services

Interstate Compact on the Piacemeni of Children

Permanency Planning Review Administrator. Human

Services Division. Department of Social Ser ices

Inierstate Compact to Conserve O:! and Gas

Interstate Oi] and Gas Commission

Interstate Corrections Compact

Compact Administrator. Adult Parole. Department of

Correctional Services

lowa-Nebraska Boundary Compact

Midwest Nuclear Compact

Midwest Nuclear Board

- dormant or defunct

Midwestern Education Compact

Midwestern Education Board

- dormant or defunct

Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

\fissour: River Barge Traffic Compact

Director. Department of Water Resources

- dormant or defunct

Nebraska-Missour: Boundan Compac:

@ \ebrasko-South Dakota Boundan Compac:

Nebraska Boundan Commission

Nebraska-South Dakota-\ oming Haier Compact (Por.

Creek)

Nebraska-South Dakota-Wsoming Water Compact

Commission

Nonresident \iolator Compaci of 19~~

Director of Motor Vehicles

Republican River Compact

Republican River Compact Administration

South-Plane River Compaci

South-Plane River Compact Commission

Uniform Act for Out-of-Siate Parolee Supervision

Adult Parole Administration. Department of Correctiona!

Services

KW oming-\ebrasko Compact on Upper Niobrara River

20a

NEVADA

Agreement on Detainers

Director. Departmen: of Prisons

@Califorma-Nevada Compact for Jurisdiction on

Interstate Waters

Local law enforcement agencies

Califorma-Nevada Interstate Compact

State Engineer. Deparment of Conservation and Natura!

Resources - Congress never ratified the compact

Califorma abolished its commission, but Nevada

apparently still has an active commission

- dormant or defunct

Colorado River Compact

Colorado River Commission

Columbia Interstate Compact

Columbia Basin Interstate Compact Commission

~ dormant or defunct

Driver License Compact

Dmver's License Division

Interstate Crvil Defense And Disaster Compact

Division of Emergency Management. Department of

Motor Vehicles and Public Safen

Interstate Compact Defining a Portion of the Arizona-

Nevada Boundan on the Colorado River

Colorado River Boundarn Commission of Nevada

Interstate Compac: on Juveniles

Division of Child and Family Services. Department of

Human Resources

@initerstate Compact on Adoptior. and Medical Assistance

Division of Child and Famils Services

Interstate Compact on Education whe

Education Commission of The States

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Division of Child and Famils Services

Interstate Compact 10 Conserve O:! and Gas

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Corrections Compact

Division of Parole & Probation

\fultistate Highway Transportation Agreement!

Director. Depamment of Transporation

@Rock Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compact

Rocky Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Waste Board

Tahoe Regional Planning Compac:

Tahoe Regiona! Planning Agency

Uniform Act for Out-of-State Parolee Supervision

Division of Parole and Probation. Department of Motor

Vehicles and Public Safen

Western Interstate Energy Compact (Western Interstate

Nuclear Compact)

Western Interstate Nuclear Board

Western Regional Higher Education Compact

Western Interstate Commission For Higher Education

Wildlife Violator Compact

Division of Wildlife

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Emergency Management. Mutual Aid Agreements - NRS

414.060 — 1965

Governor - Authorizes governor to enter into and

coordinate mutual aid agreements with other

states and the federal government conceming

Groundwater Basins. Agreements for Cooperative

Management - NRS $32.175 — 1991

State Engineer, Department of Conservation and Natura!

Resources - Authorizes the state engineer to enter into

agreements with neighboring states concerning

cooperative management of shared groundwater basins

Handicapped Persons. Education and Maintenance - NRS

395.010 — 1993

Supenmendent of Public Instruction - Authorizes the

superintendent of public instruction to place eligible

handicapped people in foster homes outside Nevada to

further the education of the child

Highwa, Consiruction Agreements - NRS 408 141 --

1987

Department of Transporation - Authonzes the

Department of Transporation to enter agreements with

adjoining states concerning building and maintaining

highways at or near state boundaries

Interlocal Cooperation Act - NRS 277.080 -- 1965S

Authorizes Nevada local governments and public

agencies to provide joint or Cooperative services and

facilities with similar agencies im other states Atiorme)

General must approve agreements

Imerstate Highway Fee Apportionment 4c! - NRS

706 801 -- 1971

Departmen of Motor Vehicles and Pubic Safen -

Authonzes the Deparment of Motor Vehciles and Public

Safer to enter into agreements with other states to

exempt vehicle registration fees or taxes

Police Services - NRS 223.240 -- 1978

Governor - Authonzes the governor to enter mutua! or

reciprocal agreements or compacts with other staics or

the federal government concerning furnishing or

eachanging police services. faciliues or equipment

Rail Service - NRS 708 423 -- 1979

Director. Department of Transponation - Authonzes the

Deparunent of Transportation to enter agreements.

contracts or compacts with other states. the federal

government or railroad corporations which are consisien!

with the state's rail service plan and necessarn to

preserve or restore freight rail service to the static

Reciprocal Agreements for Hunting and Fishing Licenses

- NRS $02 045 - 1949

Board of Wildlife Commissioners - Authonzes Board o!

Wildlife Commission to enter into reciprocal hunting

and fishing hcensing agreements with adjoining states

K eather Modification - NRS $44 080 -- 1961

Director. Department of Consern ation and Natura!

2la

Resources - Authorizes the director of the

department of conservation and natura! resources to

represent Nevada concerning compacts related to weather

modification.

NEW HAMPSHIRE

Agreement on Detainers

Commissioner. Deparunent of Corrections

Atlannue States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

Bus Tax Proration and Reciprocin Agreement

Compact for Educanon

Education Commission of The States

Connecticut River Valley Flood Control Compact

Connecticut River Valley Flood Control ommission

Drrver License Compact

Commissioner of Safer

Internanonal Registration Pian

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Interpleader Compact

Secretar of State

Interstate Agreement on Qualification of Educanonal

Personne!

Commissioner of Education

Interstate Crvil Defense Compact

Director of Civil Defense

Interstate Compact on Menia! Health

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Chief. Bureau of Child Welfare

@ interstate Compact on Adopuon Assistance for Hard to

Place Children

Commissioner. Department of Health and Human

Services

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Interstate Compact on the Mentally Disordered Offender

Department of Health and Human Services

Interstate Library Compact

State Librarian or Commissioner of Cultura! Affairs

Interstate Solid Waste Compact

Municipal go. ernments

\faine-New Hampshire Commission on Oceanography

- dormant or defunct

Maine-New Hampshire Imerstaie Bridge Authorin

Maine-New Hampshire Interstate Bndge Authonn

Maine-New Hampshire School District Compact (New

Hampshire-Maine Interstate Schoo! Compact)

Commissioner of Education

Merrimack River Flood Control Compact

New England Compact on Radiological Health Protecnon

Director. State Radiation Control Agency

New Engiand Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Higher Education

New England Interstate Corrections Compact!

Commissioner of Corrections

New England Interstate Planning Compac!

New England Interstate Planning Commission

The Council of State Governments

— dormant or defunct

New England (State) Police Compact

New England State Police Administrators Con‘erence.

Director, Division of State Police

@New England Truckers Compact

Commissioner of Transportation

New England Water Pollution Control Compact

New England Water Pollution Contro! Commission

@New Hampshire-Massachusetts Iniersiate Sewage and

Waste Disposal Facilines Compact

New Hampshire-Vermont Interstate School Compact

Commissioner of Education

@New Hampshire-Vermont Inerstate Sewage and Wasie

Disposal Facilities Compact

New Hampshire-Vermont School District Compact.

(Dresdon or Hanover-Norwich Interstate School District,

Commissioner of Education

Northeastern Forest Fire Protecnon Compact

(Northeastern Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact,

Northeastern Fire Protection Commission

Northeastern Water and Related Land Resources Compact

- dormant or defunct

@Northern New England Low-Level! Radioactive i aste

Compact

Northern New England Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Northern New England Medical Needs Compact

Tri-state Regional Medica! Needs Board. Commissioner

of Health

Pest Control Compact

Commissioner or Agriculture

Taxation on Motor Fuels Consumed by Iniersiatc Buses

@Tri-Staie Lotto Compact

Tri-State Lono Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Commission on Interstate Cooperation - RSA 19 1-196 --

1935. effective 1983

Commission on Imerstaie Cooperation - Facilitates

membership in The Counci! of State Governments.

adopuion of compacts. uniform or reciprocal statutes

Interstate Solid Waste Compact - RSA $3D } [1981]

Authorizes Vermont and New Hampshire municipalities

to jointly build and maintain solid waste

disposal facilines

Miluary Defense of Interstate Bridges - RSA 234 42 -

1981

Govemor - Authonzes the governor to enter into

agreements with surrounding states to protect

imerstate bridges in the event of war or milan

emergency

Milk. Uniform Regulation - RSA 425-18 ~ 1985

Commissioner. Department of Agnculture - Authorizes

the commissioner of agnculture to enter agreements with

other states conceming uniform regulation of milk prices

and production

New England Truck Permit Agreement for Oversize. \on-

divisible. Intersiate Loads - RSA 266:24-b — 1988

Commissioner of Transportation - Authorizes the

commissioner of transportation to enter mulustate

compacts to provide uniform administration and

regulation of fees and permits conceming oversize.

overweight tucks engaged in interstate operanons

NEW JERSEY

Agreement on the Qualification of Educational Personne!

(Transfer of Teacher Credentials Act)

Commissioner of Education

Atlanuc States Marine Fisheries Compaci

Atlanuc States Manne Fishenes Commission

Delaware River and Ba, Authorin Compac:

Delaware River and Bax Authonn

Delaware River Basin Compaci

Delaware River Basin Commission

Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Compact

Delaware River Joint Toll Budge Commission

Delaware River Port Authorin

Delaware River Pon Authonn

Delaware Valies Urban 4rea Compact

Delaware Valles Regional Planning Commission

Driver License Compas:

Director of Motor Vehicles

Education Compact

Education Commission of the States

Imerpieader Compact

Intersiate Agreement or: Detainers

Depun Compact Administrator. Depanment of

Corrections

Intersiare Cri! Defense and Disaster Compact

State Director. Office of Emergency Sen ices

Imersiate Compact for Mutual Miluan Aid in an

Emergenci

Commuinee for Mutual Milan Aid - The ongina!

compact was bemeen New Jersey and New York

Provides for mutual militar aid and assistance in an

emergency by the militar forces of a signaiorn state to

the milnan forces of the other signatorn states or the

Unned States. including. among other missions.

protecting interstate bndges. tunnels. fernes. pipe lines

communications facilites. plants and faciliwes. and

military suppor of civil defense agencies Provides for

fresh pursuit im case of an emergency. by the militan

forces of the signator, states of enemy forces seeking to

overthrow the signatory states: governments. or federal

government Emergency means invasion or other hostile

action. disaster. insurrection or immunent danger thereof

Miliary forces include the organized miliua or any force

thereof. of a signatory state

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Depun Compact Administrator (Parole). Depanment of

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

Corrections

Imerstate Technician (Probation). Department of

Corrections

¢/nterstate Compact on Inds lized/Modular Buildings

Imerstate Industnahzed/Modular Buildings Commission

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Supervisor, Interstate Compact Office. Deparumeni of

Human Services

Intersiate Compact on Juveniles

IC) Administrator. Administrative Office of the Couns

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Acting Medica! Director, Division of Mental Health and

Hospitals. Department of Human Services

Interstate Corrections Compact

Deputy Compact Administrator. Department of

Corrections

Mid-Atlanuc States Air Poliunon Control Compac:

Mid-Atlantic States Air Polluvon Contro! Commission

-- dormant or defunct

Mid-Atlanne States Police Compact

- dormant or defunct

Middle Atlanuc Forest Fire Protection Compact

Commissioner of Conservation and Economic

Development

Nonresident | iolators Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

@ Northeas: Interstate Low-Level Radioacine Haste

Compact

Northeast Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Palisades interstate Park

Palisades Interstate Park Commissioner

Pest Control Compact

Secretan of Agnculture

Port Authorin of New York and \ew Jersey

Pon Authonn of New York and New Jersey

Tri-State Compact for Pollution Abatement

Imerstate Sannavon Commission

Tri-State Regional! Pianning Compac:

-- dormant or defunct

Tri-State Transportation Commission

Connectrcut. New Jersex. New York

- dormant or defunct

Vehicle Equipment Safen Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

HK aterfront Commission Compact

Waterfront Commission of New York Harbor

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Interstate Communication Facilines. Emergenci

Protecnon - NJ.SA. 38A 17-1. 38BA17-2 ~ 1963

Govemor - Authonzes the governor to enter agreement:

with bordering states to protect imterstate bndges

tunnels. fernes and communication facilites im the even:

of enemy atachs. naonal disasters or emergency

Imersiate Sompacts for Miltary Aid - N.J.S.A 38A 18-1,

38A:18-. — 1951

Authonzes the governor to enter compacts or agreements

with other states to provide mutual militar) aid in an

emergency .

NEW MEXICO

Agreement on Detamers

Secretan of Correcuons

Animas-Lo Pilate Project Compact

Interstate Stream Commission

Canadian River Compact

Canadian River Commission, NM Interstate Sream

Commission

Colorado River Compact

NM Interstate Stream Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Western Regional Educanon Compact (Compact for

H estern Regional Cooperation in Higher Education)

Wester Interstate Commission for Higher Educauion

Cosnlla Creek Compac’

Cosulla Creek Commission

Cumbres and Toltec Scemc Railroad Compact

Cumbres and Tohtec Scenic Railroad Commission

Driver License Compact

Director. Motor Vehicle Division. Taxation and Revenue

Department

@/niersiate Compact on Adoption and Medical Assistance

Children. Youth & Families Department Socia! Services

Division

@/nierstate Compact on Agricultural Grain Marketing

Interstate Agricultural Grain Marketing Commission

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Children. Youth and Familes Department Ser ices

Division

interstate Compact on Mental Disordered Offenders

Interstate Compact on the Placement: of Children

Children. Youth & Families Deparment. Social Services

Division

Interstaic Corrections Compact

Secretan of Corrections

Interstate Libran. Compact

State Libranan

Le Plata Ruer Compaci

La Plata River Compact Commission

Multustate Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

Nonresident | iolator Compact

Amencan Associanion of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Pecos River Compact

Pecos River Commission

Pest Control Compact

Secretan of Agnculture

Rio Grande Compact

Rio Grande Compact Commission

The Council of State Governments

@Rock, Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Wasie Compac:

Rocky Mountain Low-Level Radioactive Waste Compaci

Board

The Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Department of Health. Mental Health Division

Uniform Act for Out-of-Siate Parolee Supervision

Chief of the Field Services Bureau of the Corrections

Division of the Criminal Justice Department

Upper Colorado River Basin

Upper Colorado River Commission

Vehicle Equipment Safety Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Western Interstate Corrections Compact

Secretary of Corrections

Western Interstate Nuclear Compact

Western Interstate Energy Board

NEW YORK

Agreement on Deiainers

Department of State File #17

Atlanic Siates Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlanuc States Manne Fishenes Commission

Buffalo and For: Erie Bridge Compaci

Buffalo and Fon Ene Bndge Authonn

Canada and \ew York International Bridge Compa:t

Cril Defense and Disaster Compact

Governor's Chief of Staff

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Menial Health

Commissioner of Menta! Health

Delaware River Basin Compact

Delaware River Basin Commission

Delaware River Basin ater Commission Compact

Delaware River Basin Water Commission

= dormant o7 defunct

Driver License Compact

Commissioner of Motor Vehicles

Great Lakes Basin Compact

Great Lakes Commission

Inierpleader Compact

Secretar of State

Iniersiate Agreement on Qualification of Educationa!

Personne!

Commissioner of Education

Inierstaie Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Chairman of the Board. Division of Parole

Interstate Compaci on Juveniles

Department of State File #14

Inersiate Compact on Placement of Children

Commissioner of Social Services

@/niersiate High Speed Imercin Rail Passenger Nervori

Compact

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisor Counc!

Imerstate Library Compact

Commissioner of Education

Intersiate Oil and Gas Compact

Interstate Oi! and Gas Compact Commission

Lake Champlain Basin Compact

Interstate Commission on Lake Champlain Basin

=— dormant or defunct

Mid-Atianne Siates Aur Pollution Control Compact

Mid-Atlanuc Sutes Air Pollution Control Commission

— dormant or defunct

Mutual Afiluary Aid Compact

Govemor's Chief of Staff

New England Intersiate Water Pollution Control Compact

New England Interstate Water Pollution Conrol

Commission

New York-Connecticut Railroad Se

Mevo Nonh Commuter Railroad

New York-New Jersey Port Authorin Compect

Pon Authorin of New York and New Jersey

Nonresident | iolator Compact

Commissioner. Department of Motor Vehicles

Northeastern Interstate Forest Fire Prowecnon Compact

Northeastern Forest Fire Protection Commission

Ogdensburg Bridge and Port Authorin Compac:

Ogdensburg Bndge Pon Authonn

Ohio River alien River Water Sanuation Compas:

Ohio River Valles Water Sanitation Commission

Palisades Interstate Park Compaci

Pahsades Interstate Park Commission

Susquehanna River Basin Compact

Susquehanna River Basin Commission

Tri-State Regional Pianning Compac:

Tn-State Regiona! Planning Commission

-- dormarn: or defunct

Tri-State Sanitcuon Compact

Interstate Sanitation Commission

Lehicle Equipment Safen Compect

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

M aterfron: Commission Compact

Waterfron: Commission of New York Harbor

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Afilk Contro/ - McKinney's Agriculture and Markets

Law § 2$8-k. 258-n

Commissioner of Agnculture

Nonresidents (Mentall, Disabled, -- McKinney s Mental

Hygiene Law § 67.05 -- 1972

Commissioner of Department of Health

NORTH CAROLINA

Agreement on Detainers

Atianuc States Marine Fisheries Compaci

Allanuc States Marine Fishenes Commission

Compaci on Menta! Health

Secretn of State -

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

Intersiate Agreement on Qualification of Educanonal

Personne!

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Inserstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probanoners

Imersiate Compact on Juveniles

interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

iniersiate Corrections Compact

Interstate Mining Compact

Imierstate Pest Control Compact

Netonal Guard Mutual Assistance Compac:

@Southeas: Intersiate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Management Compact

Southeast Interstate Low-leve! Radioactive Waste

Management Commission

Southeastern Inersiaie Forest Fire Protecnon Compact

Southeastern States Forest Fire Protection Compas:

Commission

Southern Growth Policies Agreemeni

Southern Growth Policies Board

Southern Siates Energy Compact

Southern States Energy Board

Vehicle Equipment Safen Compact

American Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

NORTH DAKOTA

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Compact on Mental Health

Execute Directer. Depanment of Human Senices

Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Attiomes Genera!

Intersiate Compact for the Supervision of Out-of-Sisn

Parolves

Adult Compact Coordinator. Division of Parole and

Probation. Department of Corrections

Interstate Compas: on Juveniles

Juvenile Compact Coordinator. Division of Juvenile

Services. Deparment of Corrections

Inierstate Compact on Menialh Disordered Offenders

State Health Officer

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children:

Department of Human Ser ices

imersiate Library Compaci

Suite Libranan

Mulusiate Tax Compaci

Mulustate Tax Commission

@ atonal Guard Mutua! Assisiance Counter-Drug

Actvines Compact

Adjutant General

Pest Control Compact

Commissioner of Agnculture

@Southwestern Low-Level Radioactive Waste Disposal

Compoct

Southwestern Low-level Radioactive Waste Commission

@Tenneco Plant impact Assistance Imersiate Compact

Tenneco Plant Impact Assistance Interstate Compact

Commission

=— dormant or defunct

Yellowstone River Compact

Yellowstone River Compact Commission

Other agencies/officials suthorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Higher Education Insntunons. Nonresident students -

NDCC 15-10-28. 15-10.1 to 15-10.05 — 1959

State Board of Higher Education - Authonzes the State

Board of Higher Education to enter interstate agreements

or regional education compacts waive out-of-state tuition

charges to students of member states

Interstate Mutwal Aid Agreement or Compact - NDCC

37-17.1.14.2 to 37-17.1-14.4 — 1991

Division of Emergency: Management - Authorizes the

govemor to enter into agreements or Compacts with

other states to provides mutual aid in responding to

any disaster or emergency

Poor Relief - NDCC $0-06-11 — 1939

Department of Human Ser ices - Authorizes the

Deparment of Human Services to enter reciprocal

agreements with other states regarding interstatc

residence. care and transporauon of indigent people

Ports of Ent. Joint operanon - NDCC 39-19-05 -- 1983

Director. Department of Transporation - Authorizes the

state highway commissioner to negotiate and enter

bilateral agreements with other states for maintaining

and operating jointl: occupied pons of entry. collect

highway user fees. registration fees. permit fees fue!

taxes and other fees and taxes

L nemplo, ment Compensation - NDCC $2-02-15 -- 193°

Job Service North Dakota - Directs Workers

Compensation Bureau to enter reciprocal arrangements

with other states to help administer appropnate

unemployment compensation laws

Mage Collection - NDCC 34-14-11 to 34-14-13 -- 1969

Commissioner of Labor - Authorizes the commissioner

of labor to enter reciprocal agreements with other states

to collect claims or judgements on wages assigned to the

Department of Labor

Water Commission - NDCC 61-02-24. 61-02-25 -- 1963

Water Commission - Authorizes the Water Commission

to enter compacts with the federal government. states

and Canadian provinces to imventor. plan. conserve or

develop water resources of the state

Workers Compensation Jurisdiction - NDCC 65-08-04 --

196”

Workers Compensation Bureau - Authonzes the Workers

Compensation Bureau to enter agreements with other

states relating to conflicts of jurisdiction where the

The Council of State Governments

contractor of

employment is in one state and the employee's injunes

are received in another statc

OHIO

Agreement on Deiainers

Chief of the Adult Parole Authority. Deparwment of

Rehabilitation and Correction

Agreement on Qualificanon of Educational Personne!

Superintendent of Public Instruction

Bus Taxation Proration and Reciprocity Agreement

Registrar of Motor Vehicles

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

Driver License Compact

Registrar of Motor Vehicles

Great Lakes Basin Compaci

Great Lakes Commission

Internanonal Registration Plan (IRP,

Registrar of Motor Vehicles

Imerstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Deput Administrator. Department of Interstate

Compacts. Department of Rehabilitation and

Correction

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Compact Administrator. Department of Youth Sern ices

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Interstate Compact Coordinator. Deparment of Menia’

Health.

Director. Department of Menta! Retardation and

Developmental Disabilities

Interstate Compact on Placement of Childrer:

Department of Human Services. Office of Child Care

and Family Services

Interstate Corrections Compact

Director. Deparment of Rehabilitation and Correction

Intersiate Fuel Tax Agreemeni

Am HB §18§. 120th Ohic General Assembly - Pending

(1994)

Imersiate High Speed Intercin Raii Passenger \erwors

Compas!

Interstate Rail Passenger Advisor Council. Chairman

Ohio High Speed Rai! Authorin

Interstate Libran, Compact

Sute Libranan

Interstate Mining Compact

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

Interstate Pest Control Compact

Chief. Division of Plant Industry. Plant Pest Contro!

Section. Deparment of Agnculture

@\fiddle Atlantic Imerstatc Forest Fire Protection

Compact

Fire and Law Coordinator. Division of Forestry.

Department of Natural Resources

@ Midwest Interstate Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compect

Midwest Intersute Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

@Afidwestern Higher Education Compact

Midwestern Higher Education Commission

Nonresident Violator Compact of 1977

Director of Public Safer

Ohio Rrver Valley Water Sanitation Compact

Ohio Valley Water Sanitation Commission

Pymatuning Lake Compact

Director. Deparment of Natural Resources

Vehicle Equipment Safer Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements

Auctioneers - RC 4707 12

The Deparunent of Commerce can waive requirements

for auctioneers from states with reciprocal licensing

agreements

Bridge Repair - RC S801 44

Department of Transporation - Authonzes the

Department of Transporation to enter agreements with

other states to build. maintain or repair badges crossing

a stream that forms a boundan

Cancer - RC 3701 263

Authonzes the Department of Health to release

confidenua! information about cancer patients to the

cancer registries of states with reciproca! agreements

Court of Ciaims - RC 274309

Authorizes the clerk of the coun of claims to enter

reciprocim agreements with other states

Drug Offenses - RC 4807 169

Department of Public Safer - Authonzes the

Deparment of Public Safer to enter reciprocal or

mutua! agreements with other states to exchange

information regarding people who plead guilm to or are

convicted of drug offenses

Educ ation - RC 3301 30

Deparment of Education - Directs the Depanment of

Education to take steps regarding imterstate programs

for children of migrant laborers

Education Testing - RC 3301 0710

Deparment of Education - Enables the Department of

Education to enter reciprocal agreements with other

states regarding statewide proficiency tests

Emergency Medical Services - RC 4765.10

Authonzes the State Board of Emergency Medical

Services to enter reciprocal agreements with other

States regarding emergency medical services training and

cenification

Emergency Planning - RC 375003

Emergency Response Commission - Authorizes the

Emergency, Response Commission to enter agreements

with other states to establish joint interstate emergency

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

26a

planning districts

Handicap License Plates and Parking - RC$$02.03

Authonizes the director, department of public safer) to

enter reciprocity agreements with other states regarding

handicapped license plates or parking cards

Huntung and Fishing - RC 1533.10, 1$33.323. 1$33.352

1533.91

Division of Wildlife - Authorizes the Division of

Wildlife to enter reciprocal agreements with other states

regarding non-resident hunting and fishing licenses

Motor Vehicle Licenses and Taxation - RC 4503 36.

4503.37

Ohio Reciprocity Board - Grants reciprocity cenificates

regarding registration, licensing and payment of motor

vehicle taxes

Nurseries - RC 927.56

Director, Department of Agriculture - Authorizes the

director, department of agnculture to enter into

reciprocal agreements with other states regarding the

shipment and sale of nursery stock

Occupational Licensing - RC 4757.10

Counselor and Social Worker Board - Authonzes the

Counselor and Social Worker Board to enter agreements

with any state that licenses. certifies. or registers

counselors or social workers

Propern - RC 125 89

Deparunent of Administrative Services - Authonzes the

Deparment of Administrative Services to enter into

into contracts. compacts and cooperative agreements for

the utshzation and exchange of proper. facilities

personne! and services

Public Assistance - RC 4981 08

Department of Human Sen ices - Authonzes the

Department of Human Sen ices to enter reciprocal

agreements regarding public assistance administration

Recycling - RC 125 022

Deparment of Administrative Services - Authorizes the

Deparment of Administrative Services to enter into

cooperative purchasing agreements with other states

regarding recycled products

Unemployment Compensation - RC 4141 35

Bureau of Emplovment Services - Authorizes the Bureau

of Employment Services to enter reciprocal agreement:

with other states to recover overpayment of

unemployment benefits

Unemplovment Compensation - RC 414] 4)-$14) 43

Bureau of Employment Services - Authonzes the Bureau

of Employment Ser ices to enter reciprocal agreement:

with agencies that admimster unemployment

compensation in other states

Vocational Education - RC 3304 16. 3304.17

Rehabilitation Commission - Authonzes Rehabilitation

Commission to enter reciprocal agreements with other

States to provide vocational education

Welfare - RC $101.18)

State Auditor - Authorizes the State Auditor to enter

reciprocal agreements with other states to exchange

information about people receiving public assistance

OKLAHOMA

Agreement on Detainers

Assistant Attiomes General, Office of the Anomey

General

Agreement on Qualification of Educational Personne!

Director of Professional Sids.. Department of Education

Arkansas River Basin Compact of 19°70

Arkansas-Oklahoma Arkansas River Compact

Commission

Canadian River Compact

Canadian River Commission

@Central Imerstate Low-level Radioactive Waste Compact

Central Interstate Low-leve! Radioactive Waste

Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of the States

@Compact on Adoption and Medical Assistance

Division of Children. Youth & Family Services.

Department of Human Sern ices

Driver License Compact

Director. Driver Improvement. Deparment of Public

Safer

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Parolees and

Probationers

Administrator. Department of Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Depun Compact Adminstrator

Interstate Compact on Mental Health

Deparment of Mental Health and Substance Abuse

Services

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Depun Compact Administrator. Division of Children

Youth & Family Senices. Depanment of Human

Sern ices

Interstate Corrections Compact

Lexingion Assessment & Recepuon Center. Depanmen:

of Corrections

) terstatc Libran, Compact (ntersiate Compast for

Libran Service:

Director. Deparment of Libraries - Oklahoma 1s not

active in this compact

Interstate Mining Compact

Imerstate Mining Compact Commissjon

Interstaie Oil and Gas Compact

Imerstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Kansas-Oklahome Arkansas River Basin Compact

Kansas-Oklahoma Arkansas River Commission

Nonresident liolator Compaci

Division of Motor Vehicles. Oklahoma Tax Commission

Red River Compact

Red River Compact Commission

South Central Imersiate Forest Fire Protecuon Compac:

South Central States Fores: Fire Protection Compact

The Council of State Governments

27a

Commission. Assistant Compact

Administrator, Forestry Division. Department of

Agnculture

Southern Growth Policies Compact

Southem Growth Policies Board

Southern Interstate Energy Compact

Southern States Energy Board

Southern Regional Education Compact

Southern Regional Education Board

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Motor Carriers + 47 O.S.. §§ 1123 = 1985

Division of Motor Vehicles. Oklahoma Tax Commission

+ Authorizes the Oklahoma Tax Commission to enter

reciprocal compacts and agreements concerning al!

motor vehicles engaged in foreign and

interstate commerce

Motor Vehicle Financial Responsibilin - 47 O.S.. § 7-404

~ 196]

Director of Financial Responsibilin. Departmen: of

Public Safer - Authonzes the Department of Public

Safer to enter compacts and agreements with other

states concerning financial responsibility as related to

motor vehicles

Water Resources Board - 82 OS.. § 1088.2 - 1993

Authorizes the Oklahoma Water Resources Board to

Negotiate contracts or compacts with the federal

goverment or other states to obtain assistance and

cooperation in flood control. and water conser ation use

in Oklahoma

OREGON

Agreement on Detainers

@ Boating Offense Compact

Oregon State Marine Board

Columbia River Compact ‘Oregon-il asnington Coium*..

River Fish Compect:

Columbia Rner Gorge Compact

Columma River Gorge Commission

Compact on Menta! Health

Mental Health and Developmental Disabilin Senices

Division. Human Resources Department

Driver License Compact

Administrator. Motor Vehicles Division. Department of

Transporiatio.)

Interstate Compact for the Supervision of Paroles and

Probationers

Department of Corrections

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Assistant Director for Children's Services

Interstate Compact on Placement of Children

Child Welfare Programs Administrator

Interstate Corrections Compact

Department of Corrections

@/miersiate Forest Fire Suppression Compact

Director. Deparunent of Corrections

dntersiate Library Compact

State Libranan

Klamath River Compact

Klamath River Compact Commission

Mulnsiate Highway Transportation Agreement - Although

technically a member. Oregon does not actively

participate in this compact

Mulustate Tax Compact

Mulustate Tax Commission

@ Northwest Interstate Compact on Low-Level Radioactive

Waste Management

Northwest Low-Level Waste Compact Comminee

Oregon-Califorma Goose Lake Iniersiate Compact

= dormant or defunct

Oregon-Washingion Columbia River Boundary Compact

Oregon-H ashington Columbia River Fish Compact

State Fish and Wildlife Commission

Pacific Marine Fisheries Compact

Pacific Marine Fishenes Commission

@ Pacific Ocean Resources Compact

Pacific Ocean Resources Compact

Organization Authonn

@ Pacific States Agreement on Radioactive Materials

Transporianon Management

Pacific States Radioactive Materials Transporation

Comminee

Pest Control Compac: (imerstate Pesi Control Fund)

Director of Agriculture

Western Interstate Corrections Compaci

Deparment: of Corrections

Western Regional Higher Education Compact

Western, Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Wiuldiufe Violator Compact

Board of Compact Administrators. Oregon Department

of Fish and Wildlife

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Crime Prevennion- ORS 131 685 -- 1935

Govemor - Authonzes the govemor to enter into

compacts or agreements with other states conceming

cmme prevention

Interstate Emergency and Disasier Assistance Compact -

ORS 401 045 — 1983

Govermor - Authonzes and directs the govemor to enter

mto compacts or agreements with other stales conceming

emergency, and disaster assistance Congressional consent

ts required According to Oregon's Emergency

Managenient Division. no other states have entered this

compact with Oregon as of July. 1994

Reciprocal Agreements and Intersiate Compacts - ORS

802 S00

Department of Transponation - Authonzes the

Departmen: of Transponation to emer imtersiate

Interstate Compacts and Agencies

agreements and compacts to establish reciprocal

registration privileges or exemptions for motor vehicles

taffic offenses, permits. fees and other rules

Toxic Use and Hazardous Waste Reducuion Programs -

ORS 466.355 — 1989

Department of Environmental Quality - Directs the

Department of Environmental Quality to work with

representatives from Alaska, Idaho, and Washington to

establish provisions to ensure that any generator

disposing of hazardous waste or PCB at an Oregon

facility has implemented a toxic use reduction and

hazardous waste program equivalent to that required of

Oregon generators

PENNSYLVANIA

@Appalachan States Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Compact

Appalachian States Low-Level Radioactive Waste

Commission

Atlanne States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlanuc States Marine Fishenes Commission

@ Brand wine River Valle, Compact

Department of Environmental Resources

Compact for Education

Education Commission Of The States

Compact on Mental Health

Delaware River Basin Compact

Delaware River Basin Commission

Delaware River Compact (of 1~§3) - revoked in part ir

198°

Penns) Ivania retains this compact for historica! \alue

only

Delaware River Joint Toll Bridge Compac:

Delaware River Joint Toll Bndge Commission

Delaware River Port Authorin Compact

Delaware River Pon Authonn

Delaware Valle. Urban Area Compa:

Delaware Valley Regional Planning Commission

Great Lakes Basin Compact

Great Lakes Commission

Inerpieader Compact

Department of state is authonzed to act as a reposion

of documents. the governor 1s authonzed to withdran

from the compact

Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Deparument of Corrections. county jails

Interstate Agreement on Qualificanon of Educationa!

Personnel

Department of Education

Interstate Crvui Defense and Disaster Compact

Emergency Management Agency

Interstate Compacts Concerning Parole

Board of Probation and Parole

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Department of Public Welfare

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Children

Department of Public Welfare

Interstate Compact to Conserve Oil and Gas

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

Interstate Corrections Compact

Department of Corrections

Interstate High Speed Imercin, Rail Passenger Network

Compact

High Speed Intercity Rail Passenger Commission

Interstate Mining Compact

Interstate Mining Compact Commission

Middle Atlanne Interstate Forest Fire Protection Compact

Department of Environment! Resources

Mutual Military Aid Compact

Adjutant General

New Jerser - Pennsvivania Turnpike Bridge Compact

Pennsylvania Tumpike Commission

Ohio River Valle, Water Sanuation Compact

Ohio River Valley Water Sanitation Commission

Pest Control Compact

Department of Agniculture

Potomac Valle, Conservancy District

Interstate Commission on the Potomac River Basin

Py matuning Lake Compac:

Deparment of Environmental Resources

Susquehanna River Basin Compaci

“Susquehanna River Basin Commission

Tri-State Agreement on the Chesapeake Bar

Chesapeake Bas Commission

Uniform Interstate Air Pollution Agreements Act

Departmen: of Environmental! Resources

-- dormant or defunct

Wheeling Creek Wavershed Protection ind Flood

Prevention District Compact

Wheeling Creek Watershed Protection And Flood

Prevention Commission

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts and agreements.

Intersicie Agreements Records 4ct- 7) PS € 8081 e1

seq +- 1963

Deparment of State - Requires the Deparment of State

to maintain copies of all interstate agreements and

compacts that to which Penns» !\amia is a par

Interstate Compact For Construction Of Dams and

Reservorrs- 32 PS. §§ 815 49 10 815.50 ~ 1955

Department of Environmental Resources - Authorizes

Pennsylvania to construct and maintain one or more

dams and reservoirs across the Delaware River between

New Jersey and Penns, Ivana

Milk Compaci - Pennsylvania 31) P.S. § 700)-311 - 1947

Milk Marketing Board - Authonzes the Milk Marketing

Board to enter into compacts to regulate the production.

supply and price of milk from the signator states to

markets in New York Cin and Surrounding counties

Reciprocal Use Tax Collection - 72 PS & 7276 197)

The Council of State Governments

Allows the governor to conduct joint investigations or

heanngs, or enter into compacts or

imierstate agreements to accomplish uniform. reciproca!

tar collections

RHODE ISLAND

Agreement on Qualifications of Educational Personne!

Department of Elementary and Secondary Education

Atlannic States Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlantic States Marine Fisheries Commission

Bay State-Ocean Siate Compact

Bay State-Ocean State Commission

Bus Taxation Proranon and Reciprocin Agreement

Assistant Director For Motor Vehicles. Department of

Transponation

¢Compact for Pension Portability for Educators

Commissioner of Education

Compact for Education

Department of Education

Intersiate Agreement on Qualifications of Teachers

Departmen: of Education

Intersiate Agreement on Detainers

Commissioner of Corrections

Interstate Civil Defense and Disaster C ompact

Defense Civil Preparedness Ad\ sory Counc!

@/ntersiate Compact on Adoption and Medica! Assistance

Director. Children. Youth and Families

¢/nterstate Compact on Industrialized \odular Bu:iaing

Interstate Industrialized Modular Buildings Commission

Interstate Compact on Juveniles

Juvenile Compact Administrator

Interstate Compact on the Placement of Chiidren

Department of Human Sen ices

Imerstate Librarn. Compact

Director. Deparment of State Libran Senices

Imerstate Oil and Gas Compaci (Oi! Pollunor: Contec

Interstate Oil and Gas Compact Commission

@Low-Level Radioactive Haste Compact

Health Department

New England Board of Health Services and Facilities

Deparment of Health

++ dorman: or defunct

New England Compact on Radiologica! Health Protectio

Department of Health

New England Higher Education Compact

New England Board of Higher Education

New England Interstate Corrections C ompaci

Director of Corrections

Mew Engiand Interstate Planning Compact

— dormant or defunct

Aew England Interstate Water Pollunon Control C ompa. :

New England Interstate Water Pollution Convo!

Commission

~New England State Police Compact

Superintendent of State Police

New England Welfare Compact

Director. Deparument of Human Services

— dormant or defunct

Northeastern Inersiate Forest Fire Protecnon Compact

Northeastern Fores: Fire Protecuon Commission

Northeastern Water and Land Resources Compact

(Interstate Compact for Protection Of Resources)

Northeastern Resources Commission

— dormant or defunct

behicle Equipment Safer Compact

Amencan Association of Motor Vehicle Administrators

Other agencies/officials authorized to enter interstate

compacts or agreements.

Interlocal Contracung and Joni Emerprises - Gen.Laws

1936, §45-40.1-5 — 1990

Authonzes Rhode Island state agencies and political

subd issons to act jomnth, with other states’ agencies or

political subdivisions when it 1s mutuall, beneficial

Pnmanly aimed at local governments

Reciprocin Agreements ~ Gen Laws 1986. §€31-29-1 to

31-29-4 -~ 1949

Registrar of Motor Vehicles - Authorizes the govemor to

enter reciprocal agreements with respect to fees and

taxes imposed on motor vehicles

SOUTH CAROLINA

4tlannic Siates Marine Fisheries Compact

Atlanuc States Marne Fishenes Commission

Compact for Education

Education Commission of The States

Driver License Compact

Interstate Agreement on Detainers

Central Administration and Informanon Agen

Interstate Agreement on Qualifications ot Educationa:

Personne!

Superimtendemt of Education

Imersiate Civil Defense and Disaster Compact

Emergencs Preparedness Division Office of the

Adjutant General

@/nterstate Compact for Adopnion and Medica! Assisiance

Depanmen: of Social Sern ices

Imerstave Compact on Juveniles

Departmen: of Youth Sen ices

Interstate Compact on Menta! Health

Sure Commissioners of Menta! Health and Menu!

Reurdation

Intersiate Compact on the Placement of Children

Deparment of Youth Se

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.