Opposition Brief — Glanton v. Davis

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 97-0028 ® ie $1 1997

In The , GLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

Sf

RICHARD GLANTON, Individually and as a Trustee

of The Barnes Foundation; NIARA SUDARKASA,

Individually and as a Trustee of The Barnes

Foundation; SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Individually

and as a Trustee of The Barnes Foundation,

Petitioners,

Vs.

KENNETH E. DAVIS; JAMES S. ETTELSON; ALAN C.

KESSLER; FRANK LUTZ; JOSEPH M. MANKO; ORA R.

PIERCE; JAMES J. PRENDERGAST; BRIAN D.

ROSENTHAL; DAVID A. SONENSHEIN; HOWARD L.

WEST; GLORIA P. WOLEK; PHYLLIS L. ZEMBLE,

Respondents.

=

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Third Circuit

Sd

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

a

Paut R. Rosen

Counsel of Record

Larry R. Woop, Jr.

SpecTtoR GADON & Rosen, P.C

1635 Market Street, 7th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103 -

(215) 241-8800

Counsel for Respondents

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Third Circuit Court of Appeals properly

affirmed an Order of the District Court remanding a

purely state law based complaint for defamation, libel

and slander, based upon a conclusion that removing

defendants (Petitioners herein) did not establish the nar-

row and well-defined requirements for removal pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1443 under this Court’s holdings in Georgia

v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780 (1966) and City of Greenwood v.

Peacock, 384 U.S. 808 (1966) (decided the same day), and

in Johnson v. Mississippi, 421 U.S. 213 (1975)?

2. Whether the Ku Klux Klan Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3),

trumps state court defamation actions against African-

Americans, and otherwise creates federal removal juris-

diction under 28 U.S.C. § 1443 for every state law based

tort action brought against a minority defendant?

3. Whether, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1447(d), the Third

Circuit Court of Appeals properly dismissed an appeal

from an Order of the District Court remanding a purely

state law based complaint for defamation, libel and

slander in which the District Court concluded that pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1441 no federal subject matter juris-

diction existed over the purely state court complaint as

set forth in this Court’s decision in Franchise Tax Board of

the State of Cal. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust for S.

Cal., 463 U.S. 1 (1983)?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS PRE-

SEE TEED 5.55 04k divs ow nsw abc nen meee i

COUNTER CITATION TO OFFICIAL AND UNOFFI-

CIAL OPINIONS AND ORDERS ENTERED

Ee ee ee rs eK 1

COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE CASE AND THE

POEs os oss ncencvenduns ence ceeeene leleeeee 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT............. 13

I. THE ORDER ENTERED BY THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD

CIRCUIT AFFIRMING THE DISTRICT

COURT’S REMAND OF PETITIONERS’

REMOVAL UNDER 28 U.S.C. § 1443 IS NOT IN

CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS FROM THIS

COURT OR WITH DECISIONS FROM OTHER

COURTS OF APPEALS, AND FURTHER, DOES

NOT CALL FOR AN EXERCISE OF THIS

COURT’S SUPERVISORY POWER............. 13

Il. THE OPINION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT

COURT OF APPEALS HAS NOT DECIDED AN

IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW

WHICH HERETOFORE HAS NOT BEEN

RESOLVED BY THIS COURT; INSTEAD, THIS

COURT SETTLED THE QUESTION OF FED-

ERAL LAW RAISED BY PETITIONERS IN

GEORGIA V. RACHEL, 384 U.S. 780 (1966) AND

IN CITY OF GREENWOOD V. PEACOCK, 384

U.S. 808 (1966), AND REAFFIRMED THOSE

HOLDINGS IN JOHNSON V. MISSISSIPPI, 421

We See CEU EE « cvs sencuksauwaeennaiensoulen 19

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Ill. NO CONFLICT RELATING TO THE APPEAL-

ABILITY OF REMAND ORDERS EXISTS

AMONG THE VARIOUS CIRCUIT COURTS OF

APPEALS; THUS, CERTIORARI IS NOT NEC-

mous Ee Bette ACTION... ........sscccseens 26

RE SLO, I 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808 (1966) .. . . passim

Conrad v. Robinson, 871 F.2d 612 (6th Cir. 1989)

Lae Me CRRREAE ER a 13, 14, 15, 16

Davis v. Glanton, 107 F.3d 1044 (3d Cir. 1997)

PN ee Pe ge SE on Chee RNS 7, 18, 24, 28, 29

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vaca-

oes True, Ge GE 0 Eka 5 eke es icis cae nscnnns 29

Georgia v. Rachel, 483 U.S. 780 (1966)............ passim

Hamm v. City of Rock Hill, 379 U.S. 306 (1964)....... 22

Hatchard v. Westinghouse Broadcasting, Co., 516 Pa.

Me ae ee og Se er err re res ere 16

Herbert v. Lando, 441 U.S. 153 (1979) ...........0000- 21

Johnson v. Mississippi, 421 U.S. 213 (1975)..... 18, 19, 24

MacElree v. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc., 544 Pa.

117, 674 A.2d 1050, reh’g denied, No. 11 E.D.

Appeal Dkt. 1995, 1996 Pa. LEXIS 1243 (June 11

EMER ei Ln FO nee ry nn re arity ree rate a i oe

New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964)... 5, 20, 21

Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 116 S.Ct. 1712

Lo Bere nr eee rrr eT re eer ee ern S 27

Sofarelli v. Pinellas County, 931 F.2d 718 (11th Cir.

| ae cre earn ee or an reer 16

Thermatron Products, Inc. v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S.

Sg WERE SCRE E TCCT RET COT eT Oey se eer ree 26, 27

Whatley v. City of Vidalia, 399 F.2d 521 (5th Cir.

ee eT ETE ee ETT ET Tere TCoe rt ere Te ee 16, 17

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Supreme Court Rule 14.1, Rule 10................ 3, 19

Be Sa SU hx oes ns Keen danedeeeeveos eee 28

yeh ee See Teer eer re ee passim

Be ia Rs soy cand 69 4000009040e rea Caeee ReeeE 28

ee Be err re ere re et 7

42 USC. § 1985(3) .............0sc0000k-- 1, 2, 4, 7, 18

COUNTER CITATION TO OFFICIAL AND

UNOFFICIAL OPINIONS AND

ORDERS ENTERED BELOW

The instant Petition for Writ of Certiorari seeks

review of an opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Third Circuit, reported at 107 F.3d 1044 (3d

Cir. 1997). In an unpublished Order, dated April 1, 1997,

the Third Circuit Court of Appeals, en banc, denied

rehearing. (See Order, attached hereto as Appendix A.)

The Order of the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania granting remand (the

Order from which the appeal was initially taken) is

reported at 921 F.Supp. 1421 (E.D.Pa. 1996).

+

COUNTER STATEMENT OF THE

CASE AND THE FACTS

Essentially, Petitioners in this action are asking this

Court to use the Ku Klux Klan Act, 42 U.S.C. § 1985(3), to

create an immunity from state court tort actions for every

African-American (and presumably every minority)

charged with defamation in a state court complaint. For

centuries-long, however, defamation actions have been

tried in the courts of the various states without regard to

the minority-status of the alleged defamer. Certainly,

under this Court’s well established precedent, a state

court defendant cannot establish that he or she will be

“denied or cannot enforce” rights in the state court pro-

ceeding just because he or she is African-American.

Following Petitioners’ request through to its logical

conclusion, every tort action filed in any state against a

minority defendant would be removed to the federal

courts, contrary to the explicit language of this Court’s

holding in City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808 (1966)

that 28 U.S.C. § 1443 “does not require and does not

permit the judges of the federal courts to put their breth-

ren of the state judiciary on trial.”! Id. at 828. Federal

removal jurisdiction pursuant to Section 1443 cannot be

premised upon such a ridiculous and tortured interpreta-

tion of Section 1985(3).2 As set forth herein, Petitioners

have failed to establish any of the reasons set forth in the

rules of this Court for which certiorari may be granted,

and as such, the instant petition for writ of certiorari

should be denied.

Notwithstanding the myriad misrepresentations of

law and fact contained in Petitioners’ Petition, and fur-

ther, notwithstanding the continuous references to some

nebulous “new equilibrium in civil rights jurisprudence”

1 Indeed, Petitioner-defendants have admitted that they

could be successful in the state court. (See Petitioner-

defendants’ opposition to Plaintiffs’ remand motion, at page 5).

2 As Respondent-plaintiffs indicated to the District Court

in their motion for remand, the frivolousness of Petitioner-

defendants’ removal argument can be examined in the

following example. If two and one-half months prior to the

filing of the Barnes Foundation’s civil rights suit (the Barnes

Foundation is not a party to the underlying state court tort

action), Petitioner Glanton confronted one of the Respondents

on the street and during that confrontation, called the

Respondent a “racist” and slapped him or her across the face,

the Petitioners’ position would be that any state law cause of

action for intentional tort arising out of Petitioner Glanton’s

conduct would be extinguished from state court review by

reason of a later filed civil rights suit claiming a violation of

Section 1985(3). Such a position is not sanctioned by, nor

permitted by, Section 1985(3).

spun throughout Petitioners’ entire Petition in an obvious

attempt to distract this Court’s attention, it is evident that

the underlying, improperly removed action is a straight-

forward state court action for defamation, libel and

slander based upon a scheme to portray in public news-

papers and in news releases that the state court plaintiffs’

conduct constituted dishonesty in public office through a

hidden agenda of racism - a cause of action specifically

permitted by Pennsylvania law in MacElree v. Philadelphia

Newspapers, Inc., 544 Pa. 117, 674 A.2d 1050, reh’g denied,

No. 11 E.D. Appeal Dkt. 1995, 1996 Pa. LEXIS 1243 (June

11 1996). The underlying action was instituted by several

individual residents of the Township of Lower Merion

(hereinafter “Respondents” or “Plaintiffs”), who, at the

time of the tortiously defamatory conduct complained of,

also served as commissioners of the Township of Lower

Merion (hereinafter the “state court defamation action”).°

Petitioners’ instant petition fails to establish any of the

reasons set forth in Supreme Court Rule 10, for which

petitions for writ of certiorari may be granted.

After having failed before the District Court and

before the Third Circuit Court of Appeals in their

attempts to escape liability for their intentionally tortious

3 Unlike as suggested by Petitioners (page 1 of their

petition), out of the fourteen (14) Commissioners who currently

comprise the township’s board of commissioners, only eleven

(11) are plaintiffs in the underlying state court defamation

action. Moreover, even though Petitioners refuse to cite to entire

sentences from Respondents’ complaint (obviously in an

attempt to misstate the facts), Respondents’ complaint plainly

identifies the Respondent-plaintiffs as individual residents of

the Township of Lower Merion. See Complaint at {¥ 1 and 4.

conduct, Petitioners are now hoping to persuade this

Court that federal law somehow “immunizes” them from

state court civil actions for defamation, libel and slander

simply because they are African-Americans. That position

is clearly inconsistent with established defamation juris-

prudence, for it is unmistakable that defamation laws

exist without regard to the “status” of the speaker, i.e.,

defamation is color-blind. Further, and as noted by the

Third Circuit, no federal statutes, inclusive of 42 U.S.C.

§ 1985(3), grant immunity from state civil actions brought

to seek redress for defamatory statements. No matter

* Petitioners’ petition is rife with misstatements and

mischaracterizations of fact and law. Respondents have

attempted to address throughout this opposition (consistent

with Supreme Court Rule 15.2) all of those misstatements even

though it is evident that none of the allegations contained in the

instant petition for writ of certiorari have any bearing upon

whether Petitioners’ initial removal on March 7, 1996, was

jurisdictionally proper. For instance, and as an example of the

nonsense which comprises the instant petition, at page 8 of their

petition, Petitioners attempt to support their request by

claiming that references to Petitioner Glanton during

depositions as “Richard” are indicative of civil rights violations:

In addition to these vast exploratory excursions,

[Respondents] have continually referred to petitioner

trustee Glanton on the record of his and the other

petitioner trustees depositions as “Richard” over

continued objections. Remonstrances to counsel to

avoid such characterizations as resonant of historical

intentional diminutives as a badge of inferiority were

disregarded.

Nevertheless, it was Petitioner Glanton, himself, who asked

Respondents’ counsel to call him “Richard”: “In this deposition,

Mr. Rosen, refer to me as Mr. Glanton or Richard, as you prefer —

it doesn’t matter. ...” (See Excerpts from July 3, 1996 deposition

how many times Petitioners’ attempt to improperly label

the state court defamation action as retaliatory (a claim

which is presently pending in a Section 1983 action

brought by the Barnes Foundation), their repeated refer-

ences to civil rights laws and to the alleged “new equilib-

rium in civil rights jurisprudence” do not change the

simple, controlling fact that Petitioner Glanton, in con-

spiracy with the other Petitioners, made the statements

complained of, and, if all of the elements of the state

defamation claim are proved at trial, consistent with this

Court’s opinion in New York Times v. Sullivan, 376 U.S. 254

(1964), Plaintiffs will establish that Petitioner-defendants

defamed them — starting in November of 1995.

Plaintiffs’ complaint alleges that on November 27,

1995, in an article published in the Philadelphia Inquirer,

Richard H. Glanton, as part of a “smear campaign,” and

in conspiracy with, and with the encouragement of Dr.

Niara Sudarkasa, Dr. Shirley A. Jackson and Charles

Frank,> “maliciously and knowingly and with wanton

and careless disregard of the consequences of his conduct

and the harm it would inflict, accused the plaintiffs of

dishonesty in carrying out their civic duties in response

to the parking, traffic and safety issues of the residents as

nothing more than ‘thin[ly] disguised racism’ for their

failure to comply with his demands and asserted that

‘There is no way you cannot see racism in the way they

of Richard H. Glanton, at pages 157-158, attached hereto as

Appendix B.)

5 After discovery, a voluntary notice of dismissal, without

prejudice, was approved by the court, dismissing Defendant

Charles Frank on August 29, 1996.

sn”

are treating the Barnes Foundation.

1 44).°

(Complaint, at

Consequently, the state court defamation action, filed

only approximately three (3) months after the tortious

, “

6 Contrary to Petitioners’ “characterization” of

Respondents’ complaint (page 2 of their petition), Respondents’

state court complaint does not seek damages for any allegations

contained in the Barnes Foundation’s federal civil rights

complaint, which was filed on January 18, 1996, almost two (2)

months after the defamatory statements were published by Mr.

Glanton in November of 1995. Instead, Respondents alleged in

their state court complaint that Petitioner-defendants’ malicious

motives were further extant by the “filing of the [Barnes’s]

federal lawsuit, and thereafter, delivering it immediately to the

press, deliberately delaying service and notice to Plaintiffs. . . . ”

(Complaint, at ¥ 48). Moreover, even though Petitioners deny

that Petitioner Glanton made the defamatory statements about

Respondents — but simultaneously alternatively claim that if a

jury were to “properly determine that the alleged defamation

referred to the plaintiffs, which is denied, said statements,

referring to thinly disguised racism, and racism, is and was

true,” (New Matter, at { 9) — Petitioners oddly never joined the

newspaper that published Petitioners’ defamatory statements

as a third party defendant.

Tellingly, however, a reporter for another newspaper, the

Main Line Times, was deposed as part of Plaintiffs’ claim of a

“smear campaign” in November of 1995. That newspaper

published almost identical defamatory statements made by

Petitioner Glanton on November 23, 1997 only four (4) days

prior to the November 27, 1995 Philadelphia Inquirer article

(“Meanwhile, Glanton said the resolution passed by the Lower

Merion board of commissioners at last Wednesday’s business

meeting was about racism, not public safety, illegal parking,

crowded streets, or traffic jams”). Reporter Yanofsky testified

that Petitioner Glanton made those statements to her about

Respondents. (See Excerpts from January 16, 1997 deposition of

Beth Yanofsky, at pages 13-14, attached hereto as Appendix C.)

conduct occurred, was filed well within the one (1) year

statute of limitations specifically set forth in Pennsylva-

nia law, 42 Pa.C.S. § 5523. Immediately, thereafter, on

March 7, 1997, Petitioners improperly removed the state

court defamation action to the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.

Upon Respondents’ motion for remand, the District

Court, after full briefing and oral argument, held that

Petitioners had completely failed to establish that federal

removal jurisdiction existed at the time Petitioners filed

their “notice of removal.” As a result, the District Court

remanded the Respondents’ purely state law claims to the

Montgomery County Court of Common Pleas pursuant to

this Court’s holding in City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384

U.S. 808 (1966).

The United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit affirmed that remand order concluding that Peti-

tioners had indeed failed to satisfy the narrow and well-

defined requirements for removal under Section 1443,

and held that “it is clear that nothing in § 1985(3) or in

Griffin immunizes the Trustees from civil state court defa-

mation actions.” Davis v. Glanton, 107 F.3d 1044, 1051 (3d

Cir. 1997). On April 1, 1997, the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals denied Petitioners’ request for rehearing en

banc. Now, as part of their “petition,” Petitioners com-

plain about the Third Circuit’s opinion, as follows:

The Court did not address the effect of the state

law of MacElree,{7] making the phrase “racism”

7 MacElree v. Philadelphia Newspapers, Inc., 544 Pa. 117, 674

A.2d 1050, reh’g denied, No. 11 E.D. Appeal Dkt. 1995, 1996 Pa.

LEXIS 1243 (June 11 1996).

actionable, as impeding the ability to protect

equal civil rights in the state court.

(Petitioners’ petition, at pages 4-5.)

The Pennsylvania Supreme Court in MacElree, how-

ever, did not simply “make[ ] the phrase ‘racism’ action-

able.” Instead, applying well established Pennsylvania

law to an appeal of an order granting preliminary objec-

tions, the Pennsylvania Supreme Court noted that if a

statement accuses or permits an inference that a public

official is engaging in dishonesty in office through a

hidden agenda of racism - abusing the power of his

elected position in order “to further racism and his own

political aspirations” — such an accusation constitutes a

charge of misconduct in office, and as a result, fits within

the category of defamation per se. MacElree v. Philadelphia

Newspapers, Inc., 544 Pa. 117, 125, 647 A.2d 1050, 1054

(1996).

Epitomizing the lack of merit to Petitioners’ instant

Petition for Writ of Certiorari, as well as to Petitioners’

improper removal, there is, and was, absolutely no reason

for the Third Circuit to address the Pennsylvania

Supreme Court’s opinion in MacElree. Even if Petitioners

believe that MacElree is not sound jurisprudence, removal

in this action is not the proper method by which to test

the MacElree decision. Instead, as noted by this Court on

numerous occasions, including in City of Greenwood v.

Peacock, numerous methods exist by which a litigant may

seek to vindicate perceived violations of federal rights in

state court - one of those being direct review to this

Court following an unfavorable verdict if the claims have

not been vindicated by the trial or appellate courts of the

state. City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808, 828 (1966).

Therefore, Petitioners’ complaints are completely unsup-

ported and without merit, and as such, having failed to

establish any of the reasons for which certiorari may be

granted, this Court should deny the instant petition.

Petitioners also attempt to support their petition by

again referring repeatedly to statements which Respon-

dents’ counsel purportedly made in the press that the

purpose of the state court defamation action was

intended to pain and stop Petitioners from discussing

racism. (Petitioners’ petition, at page 3). Notwithstanding

these intentionally misleading “soundbites,” Respon-

dents quoted the newspaper article referred to by Peti-

tioners in their brief filed before the Third Circuit. A

review of the article, therefore, plainly reveals that

Respondents’ counsel was discussing the punitive dam-

ages aspect of relief requested in Plaintiffs’ state court

defamation action - to stop Petitioner Glanton from

intentionally defaming any and all individuals by playing

8 The text of the article reads as follows:

Asked what township officials hope to gain from the

lawsuit, Philadelphia attorney Paul Rosen said, “To

stop this man from his wanton and careless use of the

race card.”

“We want to pain him and make him dig deep into his

own pocket, so every time he wants to use the race

card in the future, he'll think twice.”

“We'll accept whatever the jury decides the fee

should be. They just want him to stop hurting people

and they want their reputations clean. We want

punitive damages that will come out of his personal

pocket, not his insurance company,” Rosen said.

(See Brief for appellees filed in the Third Circuit, at page 30.)

10

the race card against all who oppose him in any manner

in order to obtain a personal and non-racial advantage.

Ironically, but, of course not disclosed to this Court

by Petitioners, during a deposition held in this case on

November 11, 1996, Petitioner Glanton admitted that a

purpose of punitive damages is to “cause [financial]

pain,” and further, to cause a person committing inten-

tionally tortious acts to dig deep into his or her own

personal financial pockets to deter similar intentional

tortious conduct in the future. Indeed, Petitioner Glanton

testified:

MR. ROSEN: This is an article dated - it

indicates Main Line Times,

March 7, 1996. It says, “Asked

what township officials hope

to gain from the lawsuit, Phil-

adelphia attorney Paul Rosen

said, ‘To stop this man from

his wanton and careless use of

the race card.’ ‘We want to

pain him and make him dig

deep into his own pocket so

every time he wants to use

race card in future, he’ll think

twice.’” Is that what you’re

talking about?

MR. GLANTON: That's part of what I’m talking

about, basically this venal,

mean sort of like let’s sic the

bloodhounds on this black

guy.

MR. ROSEN: Is this a racist comment?

MR. GLANTON: Oh, yes, definitely.

11

MR. ROSEN: I made a racist comment here?

MR. GLANTON: Yes.

MR. ROSEN: According to this, I am a rac-

ist?

MR. GLANTON: Well, no, I didn’t say that.

* * *

MR. ROSEN: Now, you understand the con-

cept of punitive damages is to

inflict damages upon some-

body so that they feel [pain]

and dig deep into their

pockets so they don’t do

something again; isn’t that

correct?

MR. GLANTON: Yes.

(See Excerpts of November 7, 1996 deposition of Richard

Glanton, at pages 815 — 822, attached hereto as Appendix

D (emphasis supplied)).

Accordingly, a review of Petitioners’ petition, exclud-

ing all of the misstatements of law and fact contained

therein, demonstrates that Petitioners are keenly aware

that they cannot establish the “denied or cannot enforce”

requirement for removals under Section 1443 pursuant to

this Court’s opinions in Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780

(1966) and City of Greenwood v. Peacock, and further, that

none of the reasons set forth in Supreme Court Rule 10

for the grant of certiorari exist.

In an effort to overcome that deficiency, Petitioners

instead piece intentional misrepresentations together

with an overarching theme of some “new equilibrium in

civil rights jurisprudence,” desperately hoping to create a

12

smoke screen large enough to divert this Court’s atten-

tion away from the real issues: (1) that they failed, and

indeed cannot, establish that they will be denied or will

not be able to enforce all of their rights in the courts of

the State of Pennsylvania and (2) that the Third Circuit’s

opinion affirming the District Court’s remand order was

correct and consistent with prior decisions of this Court,

as well as with decisions from the various circuit courts

of appeals -— confirming that no “conflict” between the

circuits or with this Court exists.

Since the remand order was entered by the District

Court, the state court defamation action has proceeded in

the ordinary course in state court. The state court over-

ruled all of the preliminary objections raised by Peti-

tioners to Respondents’ state court complaint.

Furthermore, upon motion by Respondents, discovery

was ordered to be completed on an expedited basis. Thus,

discovery in the state court defamation action is now

complete, and as such, the case is in the proper pro-

cedural posture to be scheduled for trial.

*

13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

I. THE ORDER ENTERED BY THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

AFFIRMING THE DISTRICT COURT’S REMAND

OF PETITIONERS’ REMOVAL UNDER 28 U.S.C.

§ 1443 IS NOT IN CONFLICT WITH DECISIONS

FROM THIS COURT OR WITH DECISIONS FROM

OTHER COURTS OF APPEALS, AND FURTHER,

DOES NOT CALL FOR AN EXERCISE OF THIS

COURT’S SUPERVISORY POWER

In petitioning this Court for a Writ of Certiorari,

Petitioners simply assert, but without any analysis, that

the Third Circuit’s holding in this matter conflicts with

the decisions of other circuits. Notwithstanding that

assertion obviously made in an attempt to fit within the

narrow strictures of this Court’s rules relating to writs of

certiorari, a study of the cases cited by Petitioners,

including a review of the Third Circuit’s analysis of those

same cases, discloses that no such alleged conflict among

the various circuit courts of appeals exists.

To begin with, Petitioners claim that the Sixth Circuit

Court of Appeals’ decision in Conrad v. Robinson, 871 F.2d

612 (6th Cir. 1989) “conflicts” with the decision of the

Third Circuit Court of Appeals in the instant action.

However, even as recognized by the Third Circuit, the

decision in Conrad addressed a completely different

question, and thus, while providing absolutely no sup-

port for Petitioners’ claims, the analysis employed in that

case does not substantiate Petitioners’ unfounded claim

that a “conflict” among the various circuit courts of

appeals exists.

14

In Conrad v. Robinson, Conrad filed a state court libel

action against Robinson, claiming that certain statements

which Robinson had made about Conrad in a Cleveland

newspaper, the Plain Dealer, were libelous. Upon a review

of Conrad’s state court complaint, the court of appeals

concluded that the only statements made by Robinson

that were being objected to in Conrad’s complaint were

statements specifically relating to an earlier federal court

complaint which Robinson had filed against AFL-CIO

Local 496, of which Conrad was the business manager.

In deciding whether Robinson’s removal to federal

court was appropriate, the Sixth Circuit noted that for

purposes of Section 1443, Title VII constituted a federal

equal rights law. Addressing the well established “denied

or cannot enforce” requirement particular to removals

under Section 1443, and under the specific factual sce-

nario of that case, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

concluded that since Conrad’s state court libel action was

only objecting to Robinson’s statements in the newspaper

reiterating allegations of his earlier-filed federal court

lawsuit, the speech at issue — allegations repeated from

his prior federal suit — was so closely related to the earlier

filed lawsuit (an action expressly protected from retalia-

tion under Title VII),2 that removal under Section 1443

was justified under this Court’s holding in Georgia v.

Rachel, 483 U.S. 780 (1966). Conrad v. Robinson, 871 F.2d at

616.

Nevertheless, and supporting the Third Circuit’s

opinion in this matter, the Sixth Circuit acknowledged the

2 No such federal statute prohibiting retaliation against, or

providing immunity for, defamation exists in this case.

15

extremely limited application of its opinion, suggesting

that “[h]ad Robinson’s comments in the Plain Dealer been

unrelated to his federal court case against Local 496, but

were just general allegations that Conrad discriminated

on the basis of race, the result might very well be differ-

ent.” Id.

Consequently, it is evident that Conrad v. Robinson is

distinguishable from Petitioners’ removal attempt on

numerous grounds; thus, not providing any support for

Petitioners’ instant contention that a “split” among the

various circuit courts of appeals exists. In Conrad, unlike

Petitioners, Robinson relied upon a specific federal stat-

ute which explicitly prohibited any form of retaliation for

the filing of employment discrimination charges.

Moreover, completely opposite to the factual situa-

tion in Conrad, Respondents’ state court defamation

action seeks damages for intentionally defamatory state-

ments first made in November of 1995. When Petitioner

Glanton first made the defamatory statements in Novem-

ber of 1995, they were communicated to reporters entirely

independent of any activity - “protected” or otherwise -

in which the Barnes Foundation (an entity completely

separate from Petitioners) engaged two (2) months later.

Indeed, neither law nor logic supports Petitioners’

attempt to use the Barnes Foundation’s subsequent filing

of a civil rights action to extinguish, or otherwise trump,

Respondents’ clear right to seek relief in Pennsylvania

state court for Petitioners’ prior intentionally tortious

16

conduct purposefully designed to injure Respondents’

fundamental constitutional right to reputation.!°

Accordingly, and as acknowledged by the Third Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals, the opinion of the Sixth Circuit in

Conrad is completely distinguishable from the removal

issue raised by Petitioners in the instant action. Thus, it is

evidence that the circuit courts of appeals are not in

conflict with respect to application of this Court’s well

settled precedent relating to the rare instances of federal

removal jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1443.

Petitioners’ citation to Sofarelli v. Pinellas County, 931

F.2d 718 (11th Cir. 1991) and Whatley v. City of Vidalia, 399

F.2d 521 (5th Cir. 1968), similarly, do not reveal a “con-

flict” among the circuit courts of appeals. Instead, these

opinions confirm that the instant petition is without

merit, and further buttress the otherwise solid foundation

of precedent upon which the Third Circuit’s opinion in

this matter is based.

In Sofarelli, an action was initiated in Florida state

court against Sofarelli, seeking to prohibit Sofarelli from

relocating a house. Sofarelli, removed the action to fed-

eral court, counterclaiming that the state court lawsuit

was an effort to coerce, intimidate or otherwise deter him

from providing housing, and thus, directly contrary to

explicit prohibitory language of the federal Fair Housing

Act requiring that no person shall coerce, intimidate,

threaten or otherwise interfere with any other person

10 See Hatchard v. Westinghouse Broadcasting, Co., 516 Pa. 184,

194, 532 A.2d 346, 351 (1987) (under the Pennsylvania

Constitution, reputation is considered to be a fundamental right

equal in importance to life, liberty and property).

17

who encourages the exercise of rights granted by that

Act. Since the state action was designed to deter conduct

which Sofarelli, by specific federal statute could partici-

pate in with impunity, the parties to the action did not

dispute that the removal fit within the narrow confines of

this Court’s holding in Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780

(1966).

Likewise, in Whatley v. City of Vidalia, 399 F.2d 521

(5th Cir. 1968), after certain individuals were arrested in

September of 1966, the individuals arrested removed the

prosecutions to federal court pursuant to Section 1443,

claiming that they had been arrested for engaging in

~ activity designed to encourage voter registration — activ-

ity for which Congress had specifically provided an

immunity (i.e., specifically substituted a right for conduct

otherwise labeled criminal or tortious): “No person shall

intimidate, threaten or coerce . . . any person for urging

or aiding any person to vote or attempt to vote.” Id. at 522

n.2 (citing 42 U.S.C. § 1973i(b)). As such, reversing the

district court’s remand order, the Fifth Circuit noted that

since Congress had specifically immunized any and all

activity undertaken to assist others to vote, under the

“denied or cannot enforce” analysis long required by this

Court, a prosecution based upon that identical immu-

nized conduct would itself be an act by which the

movant’s civil rights would be violated. Id. at 526.

Thus, settled precedent from this Court, consistently

applied by all of the circuit courts, establishes that absent

a “formal expression of state law” confirming that a state

court defendant will be “denied or cannot enforce” fed-

eral rights in a state court proceeding, a state court defen-

dant will not be able to remove an action from state court

pursuant to Section 1443 unless the state court defendant

18

can point to a specific federal equal civil rights statute in

which Congress immunized the specific conduct at issue

— legislatively substituting a federal right to engage in

certain conduct otherwise considered to be tortious or

criminal under state law.

Affirming the District Court’s order remanding this

action to its state court forum, the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals held as follows:

A careful reading of § 1985(3) makes clear,

however, that the provision grants no such pro-

tection. It does not confer an absolute right on

private citizens to defame others. Nor does it

confer immunity from state civil actions brought

to seek redress for those statements. Further-

more, the Trustees do not attempt to demon-

strate, and apparently cannot demonstrate, that

a state law exists that would on its face deny

them the ability to enforce their equal rights in

state court.

Davis v. Glanton, 107 F.3d 1044, 1050 (3d Cir. 1997).

Accordingly, and without regard to Petitioners’ rep-

resentations -— representations which are purposefully

“skewed” by Petitioners in attempting to convince this

Court to grant their Petition for Writ of Certiorari - an

examination of all of the cases cited by Petitioners, pos-

itively illustrates that the Third Circuit’s thoughtful and

comprehensive opinion in this matter is consistent with

the well established precedent set forth in this Court's

trilogy of cases — Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780 (1966);

City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808 (1966); and

Johnson v. Mississippi, 421 U.S. 213 (1975) — as well as with

the opinions of the various circuit courts of appeals that

have addressed Section 1443 removals.

19

Therefore, since the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit has not decided an important federal

question in a way that conflicts with relevant decisions of

this Court, and since the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit has not entered a decision that is in

conflict with the decision of another United States Court

of Appeals on the same important matter, this Court

should deny Petitioners’ instant Petition for Writ of Cer-

tiorari.

Il. THE OPINION OF THE THIRD CIRCUIT COURT

OF APPEALS HAS NOT DECIDED AN IMPOR-

TANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW WHICH

HERETOFORE HAS NOT BEEN RESOLVED BY

THIS COURT; INSTEAD, THIS COURT SETTLED

THE QUESTION OF FEDERAL LAW RAISED BY

PETITIONERS IN GEORGIA V. RACHEL, 384 U.S.

780 (1966) AND IN CITY OF GREENWOOD V. PEA-

COCK, 384 U.S. 808 (1966), AND REAFFIRMED

THOSE HOLDINGS IN JOHNSON V. MISSISSIPPI,

421 U.S. 213 (1975)

Without explanation or reasoning, and ostensibly to

support their incoherent petition which does not comply

with Supreme Court Rule 14.1, let alone Rule 10, Peti-

tioners simply use the instant petition as yet another

vehicle to “reargue” their improper removal: “Our nation

is in the process of developing a new equilibrium of the

values of fair treatment, federalism, and tolerance. The

threat to this equilibrium of the distortion involved here

is a clear one.” Based on that so called “new equilib-

rium,” Petitioners claim that the issue decided by the

Third Circuit Court of Appeals — that the District Court's

20

order remanding Respondents’ purely state law com-

plaint for defamation, libel and slander to the Pennsyl-

vania state court system —- is so important as to require

this Court to grant certiorari in order to exercise this

Court’s oversight responsibility.

To begin with, Petitioners continue to make much

ado about a lawsuit filed by a separate entity — the Barnes

Foundation —- approximately two (2) months before

Respondents filed the instant defamation action. Again,

however, Petitioners neglect to point out, or otherwise

consider, that the defamatory statements made by Peti-

tioner Glanton were published almost two (2) months

before the civil rights suit was filed. Moreover, contrary

to Petitioners’ representations, i.e., that Respondents, in

their state court complaint, are “proceeding against the

federal civil rights plaintiff,” (see Petitioners’ petition, at

page 19), it is obvious that Respondents are not proceed-

ing against the Barnes Foundation - apparently this mis-

statement was purposefully interjected to bolster their

false and unsupported claim that the state court defama-

tion action is “retaliatory.”

Petitioners additionally claim that if this Court

denies their petition, that that denial will somehow con-

flict with this Court’s holding in New York Times v. Sul-

livan, 376 U.S. 254 (1964). This contention is absurd, and

not surprisingly, is neither explained by, nor substanti-

ated by, Petitioners.

Apparently, Petitioners believe that this Court's deci-

sion in New York Times v. Sullivan provides them with a

license to defame. Further evidencing the complete lack

of merit to their petition, Petitioners are seemingly claim-

ing that removal is required under Section 1443, and this

21

Court’s decision in Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780 (1966),

since any state court lawsuit brought against them for

defamation, libel and slander is an action which itself

violates their constitutional rights. That position is

expressly contrary to this Court’s decision in New York

Times v. Sullivan, and its progeny.

Notwithstanding their absurd contentions, it is well

established that in adopting the New York Times standard

for public official and public figure defamation cases, this

Court, consistent with the rigors of the First Amendment,

was simply making it more difficult for a plaintiff to

obtain a defamation verdict. Contrary to Petitioners’ sug-

gestion, this Court’s decision in New York Times did not,

and was never intended to, “immunize” defamatory

statements from review:

[I]f the claimed inhibitim [of speaking out]

flows from the fear of damages liability for pub-

lishing knowing or reckless falsehoods, those

effects are precisely what New York Times and

other cases have held to t consistent with the

First Amendment. Spreading false information

in and of itself carries no First Amendment cre-

dentials. “[T]here is no Constitutional value in

false statements of fact.”

Herbert v. Lando, 441 U.S. 153, |71 (1979) (citing Gertz v.

Robert Weich, Inc., 418 U.S. 323 340 (1974))

Accordingly, it is evident that Petitioners’ instant

Petition for Writ of Certiorari slould be denied since the

opinion of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals does not

create an issue of extreme federal importance requiring

this Court's review.

22

Furthermore, the Third Circuit’s application of well

established precedent relating to removals under Section

1443 illustrates that federai law on this subject is well

settled, and was applied consistently and correctly by the

Third Circuit Court of Appeals. Thus, there is no reason

to grant Petitioners’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

In Georgia v. Rachel, this Court acknowledged that

under a long line of precedent, removal pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1443 is warranted “only if it can be predicted by

reference to a law of general application that the defen-

dant will be denied or cannot enforce the specified fed-

eral rights in the state courts.” Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S.

780, 800 (1966). This Court noted the reason for this well

established principle:

It ensured that removal would be available only

in cases where the predicted denial appeared

with relative clarity prior to trial. It also ensured

that the task of predication would not involve a

detailed analysis by a federal judge of the likely

disposition of particular federal claims by par-

ticular state courts. That task not only would

have been difficult, but it also would have

involved the unseemly process of prejudging

their brethren of the state courts.

Id. at 803-804. However, in the narrow circumstances of

that case, since Congress, as interpreted by this Court in

Hamm ov. City of Rock Hill, 379 U.S. 306 (1964), had speci-

fically substituted a right to engage in conduct which was

otherwise labeled wrongful, i.e., criminal, this Court con-

cluded that any proceedings instituted against that con-

duct in state court would satisfy the “denied or cannot

enforce” requirement of Section 1443 removal. Id. at 804.

eee

23

Thereafter, in City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S.

808 (1966), a case decided the same day, but importantly

without a Congressional mandate to substitute a right

for otherwise improper conduct, this Court, again apply-

ing long-standing precedent, opined that removal under

Section 1443 was not proper:

The present case differs from Rachel in two sig-

nificant respects. First, no federal law confers an

absolute right on private citizens - on civil

rights advocates, on Negroes, or on anybody

else — to obstruct a public street, to contribute to

the delinquency of a minor, to drive an auto-

mobile without a license, or to bit a policeman.

Second, no federal law confers immunity from

state prosecution on such charges.

Id. at 826-827 (footnote omitted). Moreover, this Court

reaffirmed its past line of cases holding that removal

under Section 1443 was only available in those rare cases

where a clear prediction could be made on the basis of an

explicit state law that the movant’s federal rights would

be violated in the state court proceeding. Under that

standard, this Court recognized that the motives of the

individuals bringing suit were of no moment:

The motives of the officers bringing the charges

may be corrupt, but that does not show that the

state trial court will find the defendant guilty

[or libel] if he is innocent, or that in any other

manner the defendant will be “denied or cannot

enforce in the courts” of the State any right

under a federal law providing for equal civil

rights.

Id. at 827-828.

24

Furthermore, and completely consistent with the

Third Circuit’s opinion in this matter,!! this Court

announced that it was not following century-old prece-

dent solely resulting from its “blind adherence” to the

principle of stare decisis, but, after thoughtful review, this

Court concluded that its prior decisions were entirely

correct: Section 1443 was not intended to “operate ... a

wholesale dislocation of the historic relationship between

the state and the federal courts” in the administration

and application of state law — whether tort law or crimi-

nal law. Id. at 831.

Ten (10) years later, in Johnson v. Mississippi, 421 U.S.

213 (1975), a case in which numerous individuals were

arrested after engaging in picketing and encouraging the

boycott of certain establishments which they believed

were engaged in discrimination, this Court again denied

removal under Section 1443, reaffirming its well settled

and long standing precedent interpreting Section 1443 -

the same precedent which the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals relied upon in deciding to affirm the District

Court’s order remanding the instant matter to state court.

Clearly, as noted by the Third Circuit, no federal law

confers an absolute right on private citizens — on civil

rights advocates, on African-Americans, or on anybody

else — to defame another individual. Moreover, no federal

law confers immunity from state civil actions brought to

11 The Third Circuit noted that the arguments made by

Petitioners herein (Appellants below) in support of their appeal

of the remand decision, “ignores the rigors of federalism, and

the technical precepts of governing by dint of which the

principles of federalism are translated into reality.” Davis ov.

Glanton, 107 F.2d 1044, 1052 (3d Cir. 1997).

:

:

25

seek redress for defamation. Accordingly, it is evident

that the law, as applied by the Third Circuit Court of

Appeals, is well settled.

As noted earlier, since Petitioners cannot point to an

explicit state law which satisfies the “denied or cannot

enforce” prong of this Court’s test for removal under

Section 1443, and since Congress has not enacted a speci-

fic equal civil rights statute to immunize defamatory

statements — i.e., substituted a right to engage in defama-

tion, conduct otherwise deemed tortious under state law

— Petitioners cannot conjure-up federal removal jurisdic-

tion under Section 1443. As this Court has noted on

numerous occasions: “When [a defendant] has only an

apprehension that such rights will be withheld from him

when his case shall come to trial [in state court], he

cannot affirm that they are actually denied, or that he

cannot enforce them.” Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780, 799

(1966) (citing Commonwealth of Virginia v. Rives, 100 US.

303, 319-320 (1879)). Absent a predetermined unequivocal

deprivation of federal rights in a state court proceeding, a

remedy cannot be found in the removal statutes, but

rather, as has been the case for over a century, if it turns

out that federal rights do go without vindication before a

state trial court or a state’s appellate courts, vindication

of those rights can be accomplished by direct review to

this Court. City of Greenwood v. Peacock, 384 U.S. 808, 828

(1966).

Thus, Petitioners have failed to demonstrate a need

for this Court to exercise its supervisory powers, partic-

ularly since the decision of the Third Circuit has not

departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings, and further, has not sanctioned such a

departure by the District Court. Moreover, the question

26

decided by the Third Circuit - an opinion entirely consis-

tent with past decisions of this Court - has been settled

by this Court for at least three (3) decades. Petitioners’

Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Ill. NO CONFLICT RELATING TO THE APPEAL-

ABILITY OF REMAND ORDERS EXISTS

AMONG THE VARIOUS CIRCUIT COURTS OF

APPEALS; THUS, CERTIORARI IS NOT NECES-

SARY IN THIS ACTION

Ignoring all of the “posturing” contained in the

instant petition as completely irrelevant to determining

whether a writ of certiorari should be granted, Petitioners

merely support their request for a writ of certiorari on the

following declaration:

Certiorari is needed to resolve a recurring and

important conflict among the circuits on a mat-

ter of jurisdiction, a matter of special concern to

this Court, as recognized e.g. in Thermtron Prod-

ucts v. Hermansdorfer, 423 U.S. 336 (1976).

(Petition for Writ of Certiorari, at page 21).

To support that alleged “conflict” among the various

circuit courts, and thus, their petition for writ of cer-

tiorari, Petitioners cite to seven (7) cases (from the Sec-

ond, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth and Eighth Circuits) which they

admit support the Third Circuit’s opinion, but thereafter,

to create the illusion of a conflict, Petitioners cite to

fifteen (15) cases (from the First, Fourth, Fifth, Seventh,

Eighth, Ninth, Tenth and Eleventh Circuits) which they

claim have taken a “contrary approach.”

Notwithstanding their machinations, a review of the

cases cited by Petitioners reveals only one thing: The

27

jurisprudence relating to the appealability of remand

orders is, as has been, well settled for quite some time.

Indeed, in Georgia v. Rachel, this Court recognized the

long-standing precedent prohibiting “reveiw of a remand

order ‘on appeal or otherwise’ in cases removed pursuant

to any statute.” Georgia v. Rachel, 384 U.S. 780, 786 n.6

(1966). This Court noted, however, that in 1964, Congress

amended Section 901 of the Civil Rights Act, specifically

permitting appeals from remand orders in cases initially

removed under 42 U.S.C. § 1443. Id.

Ten (10) years later, this Court refined that otherwise

long-standing precedent as follows: “[O]nly remand

orders issued under § 1447(c) and invoking the grounds

specified there — that removal was improvident and with-

out jurisdiction - are immune from review under

§ 1447(d).” Thermatron Products, Inc. v. Hermandorfer, 423

U.S. 336, 346 (1976). In deciding that issue, however, this

Court specifically indicated that it was neither disturbing

nor taking issue with the otherwise well established pro-

hibition of appeals contained in Section 1447(d). Id. at

351-352. Accordingly, if an order of remand is (1) based

on lack of federal court subject matter jurisdiction or (2)

based on defects in the removal procedure, an appeal

from the order of remand is not permissible. See Quacken-

bush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 116 S.Ct. 1712, 1718 (1996).

In an effort to circumvent this well settled jurispru-

dence, Petitioners, remarkably and utterly disin-

genuously, support their petition by declaring:

The only § 1447(c) ground for remand

which could be at issue herein is “lack of subject

matter jurisdiction,” but it was not explicitly

asserted by the District Court. The District

28

Court’s determination to remand was based on

the discretionary rule of Carnegie-Mellon Univer-

sity v. Cohill, 484 U.S. 343 (1988).

(Petitioners’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari, at page 22

(footnote omitted)).

It is evident, however, that the District Court, in fact,

determined that it did not have subject matter jurisdic-

tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1441 of the removed action, or in

other words, that removal jurisdiction did not exist under

Section 1441.12 To begin with, the District Court acknowl-

edged that no federal question jurisdiction existed on the

face of Respondents’ state court complaint. Moreover,

recognizing that “determining the truth or falsity of the

alleged defamatory statement[s] does not depend on

interpreting § 1983 or any other [federal] statute,” the

District Court further held that Petitioners had failed to

demonstrate that federal law was an essential element of

12 The Third Circuit Court of Appeals addressed

Petitionets’ appeal from the District Court’s refusal to grant

removal fursuant to the All Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1651, opining:

Here, however, the Trustees have not demonstrated

how removal will support jurisdiction that is already

in €xistence. Nor have they identified the

“extaordinary circumstances” necessary to justify

reméval under the Act. See In re Agent Orange Product

Liability Litig., 996 F.2d 1425, 1431 (2d Cir. 1993) (The

Act s not a “jurisdictional blank check which [federal

courts] may use whenever they deem it advisable.”).

Accérdingly neither will we exercise jurisdiction

under § 1651.

Davis v. Ganton, 107 F.3d 1044, 1047 n.4 (3d Cir. 1997). A review

of the irstant Petition for Writ of Certiorari reveals that

Petitioneis are apparently not seeking certiorari on the Third

Circuit's »pinion affirming remand on that basis.

re er Ye ee ae

ee. kee ee ee

ee eer eer |

inrart sb eee i ‘

29

Respondents’ state court complaint. Davis v. Glanton, 921

F.Supp. 1421, 1424 (E.D.Pa. 1996).

Consequently, similar to this Court’s conclusion in

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust,

463 U.S. 1 (1983), including this Court’s conclusion that

the matter should have been remanded since federal

jurisdiction did not exist, it is apparent that Respondents’

state court complaint for defamation, libel and slander is

not based upon a federal cause of action nor a claim

which necessarily depends on resolution of a substantial

question of federal law. Thus, no federal jurisdiction

exists pursuant to Section 1441, and as such, pursuant to

well settled law, the District Court’s remand to state court

is not reviewable on appeal or otherwise.

Therefore, it is plain that none of the cases cited by

Petitioners have any relationship to the District Court’s

order remanding Respondents’ purely state court com-

plaint back to its appropriate state court forum for lack of

subject matter jurisdiction pursuant to Section 1441.'%

Accordingly, no “split” among the circuit courts of

13 All of the cases cited by Petitioners in their attempt to

“create” a conflict among the various circuit courts include

cases (1) in which a district court, in its discretion, remanded

pendent or supplemental state court claims upon dismissal or

resolution of a federal court claim; and (2) in which a district

court resolved substantive issues of law prior to remand, i.e.,

resolution of a forum selection clause, waiver of the right to

remove. Thus, none of the cases cited by Petitioners in support

of their “conflict among the circuits” contention involved a

determination by the District Court that it did not have subject

matter jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1441 as set forth in

Franchise Tax Board v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463

U.S. 1 (1983).

30

appeals exists; rather, it is evident that without Peti-

tioners’ mischaracterization, the law is well established.

Petitioners’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be

denied.

CONCLUSION

For all of the foregoing reasons, and for all of the

reasons contained in the opinion of the Third Circuit

Court of Appeals affirming the District Court’s order, as

well as all of the reasons contained in the District Court’s

order remanding the instant matter to the Pennsylvania

state court, this Court should deny Petitioners’ Petition

for Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

Paut R. Rosen

Counsel of Record

Larry R. Woon, Jr.

Spector GADON & Rossen, P.C.

1635 Market Street, 7th Floor

Philadelphia, PA 19103

(215) 241-8800

Counsel for Respondents

July 31, 1997

ete hae

la

APPENDIX A

KENNETH E. DAVIS; JAMES S. ETTELSON; ALAN C.

KESSLER; FRANK LUTZ; JOSEPH M. MANKO; ORA

B. PIERCE; JAMES J. PRENDERGAST; BRIAN D.

ROSENTHAL; DAVID A. SONENSHEIN; HOWARD L.

WEST; GLORIA P. WOLEK; PHYLLIS L. ZEMBLE v.

RICHARD GLANTON, Individually and as a Trustee

of The Barnes Foundation; NIARA SUDARKASA,

Individually and as a Trustee of the Barnes

Foundation; SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Individually and

as a Trustee of the Barnes Foundation; CHARLES

FRANK, Individually and as a Trustee of the Barnes

Foundation, Richard Glanton, Niara Sudarkasa, and

Shirley A. Jackson, Appellants

NO. 96-1299

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 6469

April 1, 1997, DATED

PRIOR HISTORY: [*1] (D.C. Civ. No. 96-cv-01800).

Original Opinion of March 3, 1997, Reported at: 1997 U.S.

App. LEXIS 3696.

JUDGES: Present: SLOVITER, Chief Judge. BECKER,

STAPLETON, MANSMANN, GREENBERG, COWEN,

NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, LEWIS, McKEE, Circuit

Judges.

OPINION BY: Edward R. Becker, Circuit Judge

OPINION: SUR PETITION FOR PANEL REHEARING

WITH SUGGESTION FOR REHEARING IN BANC

The petition for rehearing filed by appellant having

been submitted to the judges who participated in the

decision of this Court, and to all the other available

2a

circuit judges in active service, and no judge who con-

curred in the decision having asked for rehearing, and a

majority of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular

active service no [sic] having noted for rehearing by the

court in banc, the petition for rehearing is DENIED.

BY THE COURT:

Edward R. Becker

Circuit Judge

DATED: Apr. 1, 1997

3a

APPENDIX B

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

* + *

KENNETH E. DAVIS, et al.,

-VS-

RICHARD GLANTON, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation,

NIARA SUDARKASA, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation,

SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Individually

and as a Trustee of

the Barnes Foundation,

CHARLES FRANK, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation.

* * +

VOLUME II

* * *

Oral deposition of RICHARD GLANTON, ESQ., held

at the Montgomery County Courthouse, Norristown, PA

19401, on Wednesday, July 3, 1996, beginning at 10:20

a.m., before Catherine E. Kirkland, Ph.D, a Registered

Professional Reporter.

* * *

No. 96-03920

4a

MAC WISE REALTIME REPORTING, INC.

Architects Building

117 S. 17th Street, Suite 2100

Philadelphia, PA 19103

215.972.1757 FAX: 215.972.1761 800.MAC.6210

E-Mail: macwise@netaxs.com

http://www.netaxs.com macwise

[p. 157] what’s in their minds.

MR. ROSEN: I want to know what this man

— that’s what I’m looking for - in understanding -

and this man is familiar with defamation claims. In

making a claim of defamation, I am very interested in

the motivations, how you perceive facts, how you

draw the distinctions in those facts. Because it all

goes to an issue of motivation and intent. I’m

allowed to explore these areas.

BY MR. ROSEN:

Q. However, my question to you was what I

thought was a very simple one. Which is, in your mind, if

somebody is motivated by racism, are they a racist?

That’s a question. And that, to me, is either a yes or no.

A. Two things. In this deposition, Mr. Rosen, refer

to me as Mr. Glanton or Richard, as you prefer — it

doesn’t matter — and not as “this man.”

Secondly, in reponse to your question, with the

knowledge of my explanation in terms of how I sort of

am trying to work my way to an answer - that is, the

previous comment that I [p. 158] just said in response to

the question that was initially asked — I don’t try to probe

eee

5a

into a person’s mind. You do something to me and you do

something to me and you’re not doing it to somebody

else who is the same color as I am, I don’t say are you

racially motivated or are you a racist. It’s irrelevant.

All I’m saying is if you’re doing something to me

because of — and it’s discriminatory, and it’s because of

my color, I don’t care what you are. I know what’s

happening to me.

So as an African-American, I’m not going to have a

treatise written on a racist or racially motivated. All I’m

saying is that you are doing X to me, and it’s discrimina-

tory and it’s wrong. And I don’t give a damn why you’re

doing it. You’re doing it, and it’s wrong, and it’s illegal.

Q. The question I asked you is, if somebody is moti-

vated by racism, do you consider them to be a racist?

A. I can’t answer that except to say that if you do

something to me and you’re not doing it to other

* * +

6a

APPENDIX C

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

* * *

KENNETH E. DAVIS,

JAMES S. ETTELSON,

ALAN C. KESSLER,

FRANK LUTZ,

JOSEPH M. MANKO,

ORA R. PIERCE,

JAMES J. PRENDERGAST,

BRIAN D. ROSENTHAL,

DAVID A. SONENSHEIN,

HOWARD L. WEST,

GLORIA P. WOLEK, AND

PHYLLIS L. ZEMBLE

Vs.

RICHARD GLANTON, Individually :

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation,

NIARA SUDARKASA, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation,

SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation,

CHARLES FRANK, Individually

and as a Trustee of

The Barnes Foundation

* * *

No. 96-03920

7a

ORAL DEPOSITION OF BETH E. YANOFSKY

THURSDAY, JANUARY 16, 1997

* * *

MAC WISE REALTIME REPORTING, INC.

The Architects Building

117 South 17th Street, Suite 2100

Philadelphia, PA 19103

E-Mail: macwise@netaxs.com

http:///www.netaxs.com/-macwise

215.972.1757 FAX: 215.972.1761 1.800.MAC.6210

* * *

[p. 13] any disclosed source relation to Mr. Glanton?

A. No, I do not.

Q. Now I would like to take you, if I can, to an

article of November 23, 1995, which has been previously

marked during Mr. Glanton’s deposition as Glanton 17.

Could you tell me whether or not, in connection with

the preparation of this article, you had any conversations

with Mr. Glanton?

A. Yes, I did.

Q. And could you tell me, to the best of your recol-

lection, the conversations you had with Mr. Glanton that

ended up in any way being reported in this article?

A. Yes.

I called Mr. Glanton over the telephone within a

week of when this article was published and in that

phone conversation that’s what we talked about.

Q. Could you tell me whether or not Mr. Glanton

said to you that “the resolution passed by the Lower

8a

Merion board of commissioners at last Wednesday’s busi-

ness meeting was about racism, not public safety, illegal

parking, crowded streets [p. 14] or traffic jams?”

A. Yes, he did.

Q. He made that statement to you in a telephone

interview?

A. Yes.

Q. And where it says in the first paragraph of the

ww és

article, “ ‘it’s what we predicted,’ said Richard Glanton,

Barnes Foundation board of trustees president,” did he

make that statement to you?

A. Yes, he did.

Q. Now, could you tell me, with respect to “It’s

what we predicted? - you see that quote?

A. Yes, I do.

Q. Could you tell me what you were talking about?

A. We were talking about the turnout for the open-

ing of The Barnes Foundation.

Q. Meaning the numbers of people that showed up?

A. Yes.

Q. Now, could you tell me anything else that Mr.

Glanton said to you with respect to racism involving the

commissioners of Lower Merion

* * *

Pe ee

9a

APPENDIX D

VOLUME IV

IN THE COURT OF COMMON PLEAS

MONTGOMERY COUNTY, PENNSYLVANIA

* * *

KENNETH E. DAVIS, JAMES S.

ETTELSON, ALAN C. KESSLER,

FRANK LUTZ, JOSEPH M.

MANKO, ORA R. PIERCE, JAMES J.:

PRENDERGAST, BRIAN D.

ROSENTHAL, DAVID A. -

SONENSHEIN, HOWARD L. WEST, :

GLORIA P. WOLEK, AND PHYLLIS :

L. ZEMBLE

vs.

RICHARD GLANTON, Individually

and as a Trustee of The Barnes

Foundation,

NIARA SUDARKASA, Individually

and as a Trustee of The Barnes

Foundation,

SHIRLEY A. JACKSON, Individually -

and as a Trustee of The Barnes

Foundation,

CHARLES FRANK, Individually and ‘

as a Trustee of The Barnes

Foundation

NO. 96-03920

10a

CONTINUED ORAL DEPOSITION

OF RICHARD H. GLANTON, ESQUIRE

THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 7, 1996

MAC WISE REALTIME REPORTING, INC.

The Architects Building

117 South 17th Street, Suite 2100

Philadelphia, PA 19103

E-mail: macwise@netaxs.com

http:// /www.netaxs.com/-macwise

215.972.1757 FAX: 215.972.1761 1.800.MAC.6210

* * *

[p. 815] which is an article you produced in connection

with this discovery in response to the court order. It was

marked as 2A as part of the production of documents

when we were -—

MR. ELLIOTT: You want to mark it?

MR. ROSEN: It has been marked as 2A previ-

ously.

BY MR. ROSEN:

Q. Mr. Glanton, may I walk behind you? Because I

can’t see the article.

A. Sure. I feel comfortable with you behind me.

Q. I have placed in front of you Exhibit 2A.

This is the article that you talked about that pains

you?

A. It is the smoking gun.

Q. This is an article dated —- it indicates Main Line

Times, March 7, 1996.

A ORCS i lumii

lla

It says, “Asked what township officials hope to gain

from the lawsuit, Philadelphia attorney Paul Rosen said,

‘To stop this man from his wanton and careless use of the

race card.

[p. 816] “ ‘We want to pain him and make him dig

deep into his own pocket so every time he wants to use

race card in future, he’ll think twice.’ ”

Is that what you’re talking about?

A. That’s part of what I’m talking about, basically

this venal, mean sort of like let’s sic the bloodhounds on

this black guy.

Q. Is this a racist comment?

Oh, yes, definitely.

I made a racist comment here?

Yes.

According to this, I am a racist?

rF Or O >

Well, no, I didn’t say that.

MR. ELLIOTT: Mr. Glanton, I’m going to object

to that. That is something that we have gone through

again and again.

MR. ROSEN: I don’t mind.

BY MR. ROSEN:

Q. I mean, I’m trying to find out. It is quoting me,

and my quote is racist, as far as you —

A. It is linking me to the aftermath of the reaction of

the O. J. Simpson case by saying [p. 817] “race card.”

12a

That was the first time I had ever heard that term

used.

Q. First time you ever heard the term “race card”

used was in the O. J. Simpson trial?

A. That’s correct, and what you’re linking it to.

Q. Are you telling me that my statement right here

is an indication that I’m a racist?

A. No.

I’m saying this comment is designed to coniure up

racial animosities and to make people resent the fact that

people are opposed. It is sort of like the jelly beans. They

are always always saying - did you read the Texaco

article? Have you been in America for the last three days?

Q. Have you?

A. I’m just - it is the same thing.

Q. Let me see if I can deal with the issues. All right?

A. The black jelly beans stick to the bottom.

Q. Let me see if I can deal with the [p. 818] issues,

okay, and let’s deal with them.

A. Okay.

Q. We’ll deal with this case, if we can, not a class

action suit against Texaco by people claiming they have

not been treated fairly as class.

A. Same thing.

Q. Are you attributing my statement to the state-

ments that were made in the Texaco case?

a ae re

13a

A. Iam saying it is sort of the same kind of cryptic

comment. Race card, it is coded.

Q. Are you saying that the statements about the

jelly beans sticking to the bottom of the bag that came out

in the paper about the executives in Texaco is the same as

me?

A. This is designed to make people hate me because

of race because you are saying that I’m always crying

race.

Q. Aren’t you?

A. No.

Q. You’re not?

A. No, I am not, not unless a racist is on my foot.

Q. So that the only time you have ever [p. 819] said

the word racist -

A. When I have been treated in a racist manner.

Q. Now, don’t you admit that you say that a lot?

A. I don’t say it until I’m treated that way.

Q. Isn’t -

A. I have the right to speak my voice.

Q. Isn’t it true that almost every time that you’re

accused of anything you don’t agree with, you use the

race card?

A. No.

Q. It isn’t?

l4a

A. No.

Q. Can you tell me one instance in which you have

been accused of something you didn’t play the race card?

A. I would rather you ask the questions?

Q. Can you tell me one? Tell me one.

A. One instance that I have been accused of some-

thing?

Q. That you did not accuse the other [p. 820] person

of racism —-

A. I haven’t ever been accused of anything crimi-

nally.

Never.

Q. I didn’t say criminally.

Can you tell me one instance at all that someone

disagreed with you vehemently on a subject that you

didn’t claim that their disagreement with you was based

upon race?

Can you tell me one?

A. I hope you don’t deny that there was a civil war

in America.

Q. Can you tell me one?

I’ll just sit here.

One.

A. Yes.

Q. Tell me one.

15a

A. Just now. I mean, you’re saying all these things,

and I’m not accusing you of being a racist.

Q. You just did.

A. No.

MR. ELLIOTT: That was in the article.

[p. 821] BY MR. ROSEN:

Q. Can you think of anyone other than the question

I just asked you?

A. Not offhand.

Q. Now, are you aware of the concept of punitive

damages?

A. Yes, I’m aware.

Q. Read out loud the article.

A. Where?

Q. Continue. Right after it says “ ‘dig deep into his

own pocket so every time he wants to use race card in the

future, he’ll think twice.’ ”

Read the continuing quote.

A. “We accept whatever the jury decides to” -

blank — ” ‘should be’ ” - “ ‘the fee should be,’ ” I suppose.

““They just want him to stop hurting people and they

want their reputations clean. We want punitive damages

that will come out of his personal pocket, not his insur-

ance company,’ Rosen said.”

Q. Now, you understand the concept of punitive

damages is to inflict damages upon somebody so that

16a

they feel and dig deep into their pockets so they don’t do

something again; isn’t [p. 822] that correct?

A.

A.

Or OP

Yes.

And isn’t that what that article is saying?

No.

Isn’t it saying -

It is a separate paragraph.

It is the same quote.

Separate paragraph, though. It is a separate - it

is a broken idea.

Q.

A.

Q.

A.

It doesn’t read the same?

No.

Now -

This is a deliberate, despicable, viper-like strike

at me using race to conjure up the image that I’m out

there saying every time some vigilante Ku Klux Klan

sticks up a burning cross in my face, and if I say, Oh, gee,

these people might be prejudiced, you’re saying, There he

goes, hollering the race card.

That’s exactly what you’re doing.

Q.

A.

Q.

You read the complaint in this case?

Sure, I have.

Do you see anything in the complaint.

* = *

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.