Opposition Brief — Schlotz v. Hyundai Motor Co.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 96-2032 YUL 28 1997

& CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

¢

ROBERT C. SCHLOTZ AND CINDY J. SCHLOTZ,

Petitioners,

HYUNDAI MOTOR COMPANY, A SOUTH KOREAN

CORPORATION; HYUNDAI MOTOR AMERICA, INC.,

A CALIFORNIA CORPORATION; MITSUBISHI MOTOR

SALES OF AMERICA, INC., A DELAWARE

CORPORATION, AND WALTER CARL ALBERS,

Respondents.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Minnesota Court Of Appeals

+

OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

BOWMAN AND Brooke, LLP McCurtTcHEn, Doy.e, BROowN

Davip W. Graves, JR. & ENersEN, LLP

Rosert M. Lewis Davip M. HEILsBRON

150 South Fifth Street Lesure G. LANDAU*

Suite 2600 Han N. TRAN

Minneapolis, MN 55402 Three Embarcadero Center

Telephone: (612) 339-8682 San Francisco, California

94111

Telephone: (415) 393-2000

Attorneys for Respondents Hyundai Motor Company,

Hyundai Motor America, Inc. and Mitsubishi Motor

Sales of America, Inc.

*Counsel of Record

July 28, 1997

~\

\? \

\

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

gt Ft ag 8 Meee Prey Tyee Te ee Pee ET TPeeTeee 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION......... 3

I.

THE COURT HAS NO JURISDICTION

BECAUSE THERE IS AN INDEPENDENT

AND ADEQUATE STATE LAW GROUND

PO Way Se hnds in cdenpeecas cede

A.

The Ruling That State Law Bars Peti-

tioners’ Action Forecloses Review Of The

Separate Preemption Ground. ...........

Petitioners’ Failure To Adequately Raise A

Federal Constitutional Challenge To Min-

nesota’s Application Of Its Own Statute

PE AE, cccdneccanusviencaeeni

In Any Event, The New-Found Federal

Constitutional Argument Is Not Signifi-

THERE WOULD BE NO REASON TO REVIEW

THE PREEMPTION ISSUE, EVEN IF THERE

pop gs

A.

The History Of Federal Regulation Of

TTP ETT eee

Re AE PRES ahs 0'b5 da ences os ece'nc

De SR Chats shbesehinwennin vanes

3. NHTSA’s Approval Of The System In

PE Airs ieietthOhesd 004 + eden

4. Secretary Dole’s Final Rule...........

7

10

12

12

13

15

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

B. There Is No Significant Conflict Or

Urgency On The Question Whether

FMVSS 208 Preempts “No Lap Belt”

CARIES... 6 2 ov 0cnvchasdnesn> pdapeaiuakuncn 18

C. The Court Correctly Resolved The Pre-

emngtiom TGGUBy. acess cstdsns sis dunidiagese 22

1. Express Preemption. ................. 22

a. The Meaning Of The Preemption

CRINRE. bien ccascccicscsantenennes 22

b. The Meaning Of The Savings

CPOUER. <.2 sonsctvsicanindughe tha 25

2. Emnplled) TRSRMOTEOE. 2... cccceencicests 28

CONCLUSION 0.6.0 ccccsscscdisatdpeseenatates s0508 30

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CasEs

Adams v. Robertson, 117 S. Ct. 1028 (1997) ....... 5, 6, 7

Alvarado v. Hyundai Motor Co., 908 S$.W.2d 243

(Tex. App. 1995), app. pending, No. 95-0969

EE olin we ERGs Pee eee 18

Arrow Transp. Co. v. Southern Ry., 372 U.S. 658

Ris, 6 iin GR ateich baits Wink dk 6&4 Kéasy 00 <u 27

Asahi Metal Indus. Co. v. Superior Court, 480 U.S.

Se I isi nid an ik ve shpena ida) adbaGSbs ca wi d< 24

Baird v. General Motors Corp., 654 F. Supp. 28 (N.D.

SY PN Re ce irwrein ey ows dined bw AANTRR EO i's 12, 29

Bass v. General Motors Corp., 1987 WL 54449 (W.D.

MS Cite tether’. eisici cc code coc. ct. 12

Beeman v. Lovelace, 1995 WL 813722 (W.D. Okla.

Is 11

Board of Directors of Rotary Int'l v. Rotary Club of

es Ee 6

Bowen v. Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587 (1987)................. 8

Boyle v. Chrysler Corp., 501 N.W.2d 865 (Wis. Ct.

App.), rev. denied, 510 N.W.2d 137 (Wis. 1993)..... 10

Buccery v. General Motors Corp., 60 Cal. App. 3d

SMe, wer eee ee een Sites 20

Buzzard v. Roadrunner Trucking, inc., 966 F.2d 777

RE a eee ee ae 27

Cellucci v. General Motors Corp., 676 A.2d 253

(Pa. Super. Ct.), appeal granted, 684 A.2d 555

eis SY A INU iva sob. 00 ser eeiwecupeang cscs 10, 30

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

2 Page

Cerniak v. Nissan Motor Co., 1991 WL 147366 (N.D.

FEL. July: 26, S0BR). ississ bids Geeredeagediesiserss 11

Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick & Tile Co.,

GG UR. Sam COes 5 coke aks ekki seeded aca 23, 26, 27

Chisom v. Roemer, 501 U.S. 380 (1991) ............... 25

Cipollone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 505 U.S. 504 (1992)

J onncece ey ein teWOKiaa der a neemwedanNgeres 22, 23, 24, 29

Cooper v. General Motors Corp., 1996 WL 272362

(Diigs. Miay ZB, TFIGD oo ais cise cevusececemaeens 10, 30

Courtney v. Mitsubishi Motors Corp., 926 F. Supp.

pr | er errree em re. 11

Cox v. Baltimore County, 646 F. Supp. 761 (D. Md.

DOs bk ah Ss bee0seueuncie cae svek ee eneens aa ssa 12

CSX Transp., Inc. v. Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658 (1993). .23, 24

Dallas v. General Motors Corp., 725 F. Supp. 902

ft ae eR Fy pee re ec Oe 11

Dandridge v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471 (1970) ............ 8

Dawson v. Chrysler Corp., 630 F.2d 950 (3d Cir.

1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 959 (1981)............. 20

Dorsey v. Honda Motor Co., 655 F.2d 650 (5th Cir.

1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 880 (1982)............. 20

Dykema v. Volkswagenwerk A.G., 525 N.W.2d 754

(Wis. App. 1994), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 60

(1995), reh’g denied, 116 S. Ct. 549. (1995)... 10, 18, 21

Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. de la Cuesta, 458

WS. Dib CO a6 kc 5 deshie Ss < pao a een sicnae ere 30

Folkes v. Volkswagen of America, No. 94-D-977 (D.

fe ee err ere Te fee 11

a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Fox v. Ford Motor Co., 575 F.2d 774 (10th Cir.

PF 60 0b ba Fase edbe Hla webs de ek SE 19,

Freightliner Corp. v. Myrick, 115 S. Ct. 1483 (1995) ....

Gardner v. Honda Motor Co., 536 N.Y.S.2d 303 (N.Y.

App. Div. 1988), motion for reargument denied, 74

Sh Rete FA MED oid. oils cwele cide aleteld ¥ dha Sd

General Motors Corp. v. Edwards, 482 So. 2d 1176

A. SD wi hi ids iS n hb x Gd sda ES Cee 68k Rada

Gills v. Ford Motor Co., 829 F. Supp. 894 (W.D. Ky.

Se et eee iolpnitie ec FUE aa'¢ baG Firbn© hen d0 «2

Gracia v. Volvo Europa Truck, N.V., 112 F.3d 291 (7th

MED M bibiiies PahoRs oh adckenced chides sevice «.

H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 345 N.E.2d

SR Ss ok Sg et

Harris v. Ford Motor Co., 110 F.3d 1410 (9th Cir.

hard a i ph cea Wh Vek t cock eo cheese ok ous 6c nc oa wc,

Heath v. Alabama, 474 U.S. 82 (1985).................

Heath v. General Motors Corp.,-756 F. Supp. 1144

OR SRR eee Sa

Heftel v. General Motors Corp., 1988 WL 19615

PE. FO Bey AOD oc evccceccc es ek a or aka hn

Heller 'v. Doe; S09 US. 312 (3993)..2... 0.0... e cece es

Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117 (1945).................

Hernandez-Gomez v. Leonardo, 917 P.2d 238 (Ariz.

ts EP OED IES Cae nt De Sy PES ©

Hill v. General Motors Corp., No. 94-AR0088-S

OU Pia BS I ek eka Rab sence cces

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Howard v. American Motors Corp., Prod. Liab. Rep.

(CCH) { 11,955 (S.D. Tex. July 26, 1988).......... 11 |

Hughes v. Ford Motor Co., 677 F. Supp. 76 (D. Conn.

ROOT Pu dv 0b'ns cad tus Care cen ike Cai ee ererede ado ie 11

Hunt v. Ford Motor Co., Prod. Liab. Rep. (CCH)

Gq 12,292 (N.D. Ala. Mar. 30, 1909). .5.5cecccedess 11

Hunter v. General Motors Corp., Prod. Liab. Rep.

(CCH) { 12,039 (D. Conn. Dec. 27, 1988).......... 11

Hyundai Motor Co. v. Phillip, 639 So.2d 1064 (Fla.

App. 1994); cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1111 (1995)...... 21

Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213 (1983) ..............00.- 5

International Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479 U.S. 481

GROOT Docc tase ccvcessepunstelimiaeeeeanenee 24, 27, 30

John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Harris Trust &

Sev. Banks SIG US. BG CRs ick ce wcatesdcccicccen 28

Johnson v. General Motors Corp., 889 F. Supp. 451

CWWEK: QUE FOR wines tcbecdnw pase nes scutes cokes 11

Kaiser v. Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd., No. 95-B-633

(DD. Cam. SG, Be, Reeitaws tenic seuss csaneedcess 11

Kelly v. General Motors Corp., 705 F. Supp. 303

(VE. Ea. SOR ek cndnnp Ginn ane opened Ghancnecnaes 11

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358

WB. G29 AA 0d = Ask es 554 had eBuceet eee Ale 24

Ketchum v. Hyundai Motor Co., 49 Cal. App. 4th

Le | MP PTT TEE ETE EeT TOT erent ROT CL 18

Kitts v. General Motors Corp., 875 F.2d 787 (10th Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1990)......... 10, 21

,

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Klugerman v. Nippon Seiko, K.K., No. 94-11900-NG

Gis Ns OI, NS 11

Knippen v. Ford Motor Co., 546 F.2d 993 (D.C. Cir.

Sai ies ve Wb i Gide leh th vita 8% 06s 6000 19

Kolbeck v. General Motors Corp., 702 F. Supp. 532

SS EE areas dvb nae bth cd raeeedeia neds cece: « 11

Lambrix v. Singletary, 117 S. Ct. 1517 (1997)........... 4

Larsen v. General Motors Corp., 391 F.2d 495 (1968) .... 19

Lollie v. General Motors Corp., 407 So. 2d 613 (Fla.

App. 1981), rev. denied, 413 So. 2d 876 (Fla. 1982) .... 19

Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1 Cranch) 137 (1803) ..... 6

Marcum v. General Motors Corp., No. 93-40 (E.D.

Se 11

Marrs v. Ford Motor Co., 852 S.W.2d 570 (Tex. Ct.

ER eR ee ney ey ae nse 10

Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422 (1983)............. 7

Martin v. Ford Motor Co., 914 F. Supp. 1449 (S.D.

NU eh te KESE Toss os veh tiba eeu diss Ti ekeses. 11

Martin v. Occupational Safety & Health Comm'n, 499

SN el vac ics be-ee ch nas ht cx sd a « Kec oe 16

Martinez v. Ford Motor Co., __ N.W.2d __, 1997

WL 341786 (Mich. App. June 20, 1997)......... 10, 30

McGoldrick v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

a oer rrr rey re re 5

McMullen v. Volkswagen of America, 545 P.2d 117

SU Eo Nd EES v6 85154060 n doa ne eb 50 6s%00 900 20

Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr, 116 S. Ct. 2240 (1996) ..: 23, 24, 29

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Minton v. Honda of America, 1996 WL 402070 (Ohio

Ct. App. July 19, 1996), certif. granted, 670

N.E.2d 1007 (Ohio Oct. 23, 1996) .......... 10, 29, 30

Miranda v. Fridman, 647 A.2d 167 (N.J. Super. Ct.

App. Div.), certif. denied, 649 A.2d 1291 (N,J.

| PPT PET ee Om Pan Pee myo ee ey oy ere ee 10, 18

Montag v. Honda Motor Co., 75 F.3d 1414 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 61 (1996)...... 10, 20, 21

Montana v. Egelhoff, 116 S. Ct. 2013 (1996)............ 7

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374

CRMs 65s 65d 0 Ase si eneiedtescadawectosswereuhicies 27

Motor Vehicle Mfrs. Ass'n v. State Farm Mut. Auto.

ine. Co.; 463: US.. 29 QGRD ios Se ieee. i's 14, 15

Nissan Motor Corp. v. Superior Court (Meier), 212

Cal. App. 3d 980 (1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S.

SOG Se <5 ba as TRG FUE eee Eieeeteeie ees ot 10, 21

Nordlinger.v. Hahn, 505 U.S. 1 (1992)................. 8

Offshore Logistics, Inc. v. Tallentire, 477 U.S. 207

CPG 6 vas skies ved ésdeeki aR ee er ne 27

Olson v. Ford Motor Co., 558 N.W.2d 491 (Minn.

ek PE OE te PET EEN CRE Le ame Se Daren 6, 7

Pak v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 1990 WL 198821 (E.D.

Pa. Dec. 3, 1990), aff'd, 941 F.2d 1200 (3d Cir.

NOPD) is aioe a Ch eras ee RRR ls As Beis > 11

Panarites v. Williams, 629 N.Y.S.2d 359 (N.Y. App.

Che. BO ash es ae BUR Encl TRF RS 10

Pennsylvania R.R. v. Puritan Coal Mining Co., 237

WB. TRE COD ESD ook RE, EG a RG 26

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Pennsylvania v. Nelson, 350 U.S. 497, reh’g denied,

tn ne ree ee 27

Perry v. Mercedes Benz, 957 F.2d 1257 (5th Cir. 1992) .... 28

Pokorny v. Ford Motor Co., 902 F.2d 1116 (3d Cir.),

cert. denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990) ............... passim

San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

hha a eek Che kids habe <dminte ae eee © « 23

_ Schick v. Chrysler Corp., 675 F. Supp. 1183 (D.S.D.

1987)... 02. ececececcccccccecccccscsccceccncenee 11, 26

Schroeder v. General Motors Corp., No. 8:CV96-591

i ee Ee crc cccncradendehibehesoeece 11

Schuyler v. Volkswagen A.G., No. 4:96ev25 (E.D. Va.

i ee ah iiceb c6-san 0 cate <dapes deter neesese. 11

Schwartz v. American Honda Motor Co., 710 F.2d 378

Na PE gnc ae head na dee ebacdeees os 19

Shenker v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R., 374 U.S. 1 (1963) .... 24

Shipp v. General Motors Corp. 750 F.2d 418 (5th Cir.

PE set dn nn on cereenderhs hha piwne ese 19

Sieck v. General Motors Corp., 1996 WL 426818

Cr i, a, os vn tc nncencnadendcoes 11

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 464 U.S. 238 (1984).......... 28

Sours v. General Motors Corp., 717 F.2d 1511 (6th

NC ie hsG iol Wbinn ate SAMEhe GEN ened pa naneess 20

Staggs v. Chrysler Corp., 678 F. Supp. 270 (N.D. Ga.

RAS RMS Steet ra gee SO DO Ra 11

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Stonehocker v. General Motors Corp., 587 F.2d 151

COR CU BOGE obn ss cccsecsconddoneeets batssaus<s 19

Surles v. Ford Motor Co., 709 F. Supp. 732 (N.D.

WM, BED sche ceccadhceroecpeushiabatsaausedesenss 11

T.I.M.E. Inc. v. United States, 359 U.S. 464 (1959)..... 27

Tammen v. General Motors Corp., 857 F. Supp. 788

(ER Teh. BPG coset ccs wncecdacissveetasbduesbas ss 11

Taylor v. General Motors Corp., 1996 WL 671648

CUED. RGRGE. Petey. G SOI. 0 is ese ssi ice d's 11

Taylor v. General Motors Corp., 875 F.2d 816 (11th

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1990)

sc oseveeaeeuvGensbuebasbesueweseraesanen 10, 21, 26, 30

Tebbetts v. Ford Motor Co., 665 A.2d 345 (N.H.

1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 773 (1996), reh’g

Gented, 386 S. Ch. TERE GO) os iiss esa idecsesess: 21

Texas & Pacific Ry. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 204

Ree a ee 27

Thomas v. General Motors Corp., No. 2:96CV38 (E.D.

Bax... Dine: By GORE. 4 ns te Snwndas cede teedvixe eon 11

Turner v. General Motors Corp., 514 S.W.2d 497 (Tex.

Age. TR on «iets cate nent eieaen nl ddan <a 20

United Gas Improvement Co. v. Continental Oil Co.,

Pe TE Se Sines cn channciiasiebineds oneeacs 24

Vanover v. Ford Motor Co., 632 F. Supp. 1095 (E.D.

OO, FEED ob ae Ss ac acsccvdstiadeveleidtsexeddeiies 12

Vasquez v. Ford Motor Co., 1986 WL 18670 (D. Ariz.

ET PEP TT Tee oe yO POy 12

Ventura County v. Gulf Oil Corp., 601 F.2d 1080 (9th

Cir. 1979), aff'd mem., 445 U.S. 947 (1980) ......... 27

sre secant paces

xi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Volkswagen of America, Inc. v. Young, 321 A.2d 737

ee Pee Oe Se rad ee eee Pe ee 19

Waters v. Ford Motor Co., 1996 WL 114791 (E.D. Pa.

ey ee aU bi ir dia wh owas 6 oe Botdewc dae. 11

Wattelet v. Toyota Motor Corp., 676 F. Supp. 1039 (D.

SUS TR SaeOEd 2 01053 sch dncecad ced ideiecac ys ye 12

Wickstrom v. Maplewood Toyota, Inc., 416 N.W.2d

838 (Minn. App. 1987), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1236

AS 64h 45S ub CUT vy kn 54s ines cde shed ah cnse 10, 22

Wiley v. General Motors Corp., No. 96-1692 (JHG)

Pe, OR wcnccccccctesssoccccecccces 11

Wilson v. Loew’s Inc., 355 U.S. 597 (1958) ............. +

Wood v. General Motors Corp., 865 F.2d 395 (1st Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1990)........ passim

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co., 433

Sey NE SITOE 6550.45 545 cobbve iutE cde vive dcetsteces 4

Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., 920 P.2d

67 (Idaho 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1245

SUN ob cc ilauccoecnesenedesd eco t passim

Statutes, REGULATIONS AND RULES

National Transportation and Motor Vehicle Safety

Act (“ Act”), 49 U.S.C. § 30102 et seq. (previ-

ously i at 15 U.S.C. § 1381 et seq.)........ passim

49 U.S.C. § 30111(a) (previously codified at 15

ee bh EE See ee eee ree 12

49 U.S.C. § 30103(b) (previously codified at 15

as MEN kin0at esd oranaceceséen 13, 23, 24, 26

xii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

49 U.S.C. § 30103(e) (1995) (previously at 15 U.S.C.

§ 1397(k) and [before 1988] at 15 U.S.C.

Bo. er eee 13, 25, 26, 27, 28

49 U.S.C.A. § 30103, Historical and Statutory

Fe Teer eT Tee ee eee 12

9S BOC. © BORED, 666 ises tants hts eon 14

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208

(“FMVSS 208”), 49 C.F.R. § 571.208 ........... passim

SP oe ae SEE eas sos nccccenachscusendeanes 15

ee ie ye fo 5b Ser reer 15

SD Cee Oe ar ee SI os wncandpecdvicesevcecs 14, 15

49 C.FR. § 571.208, $4.1.2.1.-.3 (1971) ............... 14

49 CER. & SVLAGR, SEBS CIV). «oc sicscccscccscssé 15

Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 212

ww. 1, Ff eS 6 Lt ree ee 10

Minn. Stat. § 169.685, subd. 4................. 1, 5, 6, 9

Septem CED GERD BET 0 onc co psccevecvdccnvesaes 3

Supreme Court Rule 14.1(g)(i)...................-+- 5, 6

LEGISLATIVE AND ReGutaTory History

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1919, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 16

(1966), reprinted in 1966 U.S.C.A.A.N. 2731........ 25

H.R. Rep. No. 103-108, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 3

(1994), reprinted in 1994 U.S.C.C.A.N. 818 ......... 12

H.R. Rep. No. 1776, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 17

GEREE < ok k ccccccnccescccenccoviec bpasneebebene 13, 25

xiii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

H.R. Rep. No. 1452, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted

Se MINI, MN as vnc c nce ccccecesicese 14

PO Me I I Es cee cee 17

S. Rep. No. 1301, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in

IEE Soc. cece cece ssc cccese 13

ee MS es PE GED 05 occ cee ce eee 14

a sc voces cecccnsccccesscces 15

I I I src cess ces evcccncccces 16

Eg Ee 16

NOS 5 os ccccc cece cccccccees 2, 16

an nn co enwssccsecccncessses 17

1

INTRODUCTION

The Minnesota Court of Appeals held, in Petitioners’

words, that “Minn. Stat. § 169.685, subd. 4 barred [their]

seat belt claim and the defective seat back claim.” (Pet. 5)

Thus, while the Court also addressed an issue of federal

preemption, its decision is firmly based on its reading of

a Minnesota evidentiary statute - an independent and

adequate state law ground. That means this Court has no

jurisdiction in this case.

Petitioners try to avoid the jurisdictional bar with a

constitutional spin on the Minnesota state law question.

But_ the Minnesota Court did not address any federal

constitutional challenge to the statute. In truth, Peti-

tioners made no serious federal constitutional challenge

below. Anyway, the constitutional argument is fanciful.

Minnesota is entitled to enact and apply evidentiary rules

of general application, even if they may result in a practi-

cal bar on some claim. There is no constitutional infrac-

tion in that. In essence, Petitioners ask the Court to

address a constitutional argument that they never ade-

quately raised, that was never addressed below, that has

limited significance in Minnesota and none elsewhere,

and that on the merits is doomed. That compels denial of

review.

As to the preemption issue, the Court can reach it

only if the independent state law ground fails —- if the

Court finds a sufficient (and sufficiently preserved) fed-

eral question in the state law issue, and resolves it for

Petitioners. There is no realistic chance that will happen.

That, again, compels denial of review.

In any event, there would be no reason to address the

preemption question even if there were jurisdiction. The

Minnesota Court of Appeals found that the Supremacy

Clause forbids a state common-law claim that takes away

a restraint system option that a federal regulation speci-

fically granted, after the regulatory agency determining

that options — not a rule requiring any particular restraint

2

system — best served the federal safety goal.! That deci-

sion accords with every federal decision on point, and a

host of state appellate decisions. It is, in fact, compelled

by this Court’s own decisions for nearly a century. The

few scattered cases that disagree do not create a conflict

that warrants review.

Especially in this case. In the vast majority of cases

where the FMVSS 208 preemption issue has arisen, the

case has involved the question whether federal law pre-

empts a claim that the automobile was defective for lack

of an airbag. Petitioners urge that the body of “no airbag”

case law makes this case appropriate for review, even

though the decision below concerns a factually distinct

claim: whether an automobile should have had a manual

lap belt in addition to a fully passive two-point belt

system. But that is double talk. Petitioners below urged

that the “no airbag” case law had no bearing on this case:

the “cases and the[ir] analysis do not apply here,” Peti-

tioners said. Brief of Appellants, Schlotz v. Hyundai Motor

Co., No. C5-96-1207, at 22. They cannot then urge here

that those cases make consideration of this one proper.

Just last spring, the Court declined to review the

preemption issue in a “no lap belt” case - raised by

essentially (in fact, largely verbatim) the same petition.

Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., 920 P.2d 67

(Idaho 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1245 (March 17, 1997).

There is, if anything, less reason to review this case than

there was to review Zimmerman. Zimmerman was decided

by a highest state court; here, the decision is by an

1 Federal Motor Vehicle Safety Standard 208 (“FMVSS

208”), 49 C.F.R. § 571.208. See 49 Fed. Reg. 28962 et seq. (1984).

The standard was adopted by the Department of Transportation

(“DOT”) and the National Highway Traffic Safety

Administration (“NHTSA”), pursuant to their mandate under

the National Traffic and Motor Vehicle Safety Act (“Safety Act”).

49 U.S.C. § 30102 et seq. (previously codified at 15 U.S.C. § 1381

et seq.).

3

intermediate state appellate court. Moreover, since Zim-

merman other courts (including the Ninth Circuit, the

Michigan Court of Appeals and the Minnesota Court

here) have joined the already huge body of law finding

preemption, making the law even more uniform than it

was when the Court denied the petition in Zimmerman.

The petition should be denied.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

The Petition seeks the Court’s review of a federal

preemption question. (Pet. 25) Almost as an afterthought,

the Petition says the Court “should also consider the

Minnesota Supreme Court’s decision that the seat belt

gag rule enacted in 1963 can constitutionally bar the

Schlotzes’ common law claims.”2 (Id.) That is backward.

This Court has no jurisdiction to review a state court's

decision on a federal question if there is an adequate state

law ground for the decision. Accordingly, before the

Court even can consider preemption, it must find in the

state law question a constitutional issue, and then hold

that it destroys the state law ground. Where Petitioners

did not properly raise the issue below, the state court did

not address it, and it is insignificant anyway, there is no

prospect of eliminating the state law ground — a prerequi-

site to jurisdiction. That alone compels denial of review.

Even apart from the jurisdictional bar, the preemp-

tion decision in this case does not warrant review.

2 The constitutionality of the state law is such an

afterthought that Petitioners did not even set forth the law they

challenge in the Statutory Provisions Involved section of their

brief. See S. Ct. Rule 14.1(f).

+

I. THE COURT HAS NO JURISDICTION BECAUSE

THERE IS AN INDEPENDENT AND ADEQUATE

STATE LAW GROUND FOR THE DECISION.

A. The Ruling That State Law Bars Petitioners’

Action Forecloses Review Of The Separate Pre-

emption Ground.

This Court sits to decide real questions, not issue

advisory opinions. Accordingly, this Court has long held

it has no jurisdiction to review a state court’s determina-

tion of a federal question where the decision rests on an

independent and adequate state law ground.

If the judgment below rested on an independent

and adequate state ground, the writ of certiorari

should be dismissed as improvidently granted,

Wilson v. Loew’s Inc., 355 U.S. 597 (1958), for

“{ojur only power over state judgments is to

correct them to the extent that they incorrectly

adjudge federal rights. And our power is to

correct wrong judgments, not to revise opinions.

We are not permitted to render an advisory

opinion, and if the same judgment would be

rendered by the state court after we corrected its

views of federal laws, our review could amount

to nothing more than an advisory opinion.”

Herb v. Pitcairn, 324 U.S. 117, 125-126 (1945).

Zacchini v. Scripps-Howard Broadcasting Co., 433 U.S. 562,

566 (1977) (emphasis added); see also Lambrix v. Singletary,

117 S. Ct. 1517, 1522 (1997) (Court “lack[s] jurisdiction to

review . . . independently supported judgments on direct

appeal: since the state-law determination is sufficient to

sustain the decree, any opinion of this Court on the

federal question would be purely advisory.”).

Here, the judgment rests both on preemption

grounds and on the Minnesota Court of Appeals’ deter-

mination that, preempted or not, under Minnesota’s own

statutory evidence rule, Petitioners’ claim fails. As Peti-

tioners put it, “[t]he court also found that the [Minnesota]

5

seat belt gag rule destroyed the Schlotzes’ common law

crashworthiness claims.” (Pet. 6) That state-law ruling is

an independent ground, and the judgment stands under

it regardless of any decision this Court might adopt on

the preemption issue. There is, accordingly, no jurisdic-

tion to review the judgment below.

B. Petitioners’ Failure To Adequately Raise A Fed-

eral Constitutional Challenge To Minnesota’s

Application Of Its Own Statute Forecloses

Review.

Petitioners try to avoid the jurisdictional bar on their

main issue, by conjuring up an equal protection problem

with the Minnesota Court’s interpretation of Minn. Stat.

§ 169.685, subd. 4. But Petitioners concede that “the court

of appeals did not address the Schlotzes’ constitutional

challenges.” (Pet. 6) Thus, there is — literally — no decision

to review.

The Court generally “will not consider a petitioner’s

federal claim unless it was either addressed by, or prop-

erly presented to, the state court that rendered the deci-

sion [the Court] ha[s] been asked to review.” Adams v.

Robertson, 117 S. Ct. 1028, 1029 (1997) (per curiam; dismiss-

ing writ as improvidently granted); see also Heath v. Ala-

bama, 474 U.S. 82, 87 (1985); Illinois v. Gates, 462 U.S. 213,

217-18 (1983); McGoldrick v. Compagnie Generale Transatlan-

tique, 309 U.S. 430, 434-35 (1940). Accordingly, “[w]Jhen

the highest state court is silent on the federal question

before [it], [the Court] assume[s] that the issue was not

properly presented, and the aggrieved party bears the

burden of defeating this assumption, by demonstrating

that the state court had a ‘fair opportunity to address the

federal question that is sought to be presented here.’ ”

Adams, 117 S. Ct. at 1029 (citations omitted). Supreme

Court Rule 14.1(g)(i) tells Petitioners how to meet that

burden: specify “the stage in the proceedings, both in the

court of first instance and in the appellate courts, when

the federal questions sought to be reviewed were raised;

6

the method and manner of raising them and the way in

which they were passed on by those courts... . ”

Here, Petitioners have not specified, in accordance

with Rule 14.1(g)(i), where and how they made their

federal equal protection challenge to Minn. Stat.

§ 169.685, subd. 4. And the truth is, Petitioners made no

real federal constitutional challenge at all. Petitioners’

Brief in the Court of Appeals made a perfunctory equal

protection argument, but it was directed at the Minnesota

constitution and “Minnesota’s equal protection test.”

Brief of Appellants at 42. Petitioners relied on Minnesota,

not federal, cases. Id. at 41-45. Their brief made passing

reference to federal equal protection, but made no men-

tion of the U.S. Supreme Court cases and principles Peti-

tioners now rely on. In fact, the only federal authority

Petitioners discussed was Marbury v. Madison, 5 U.S. (1

Cranch) 137, 163 (1803), urged as support not for a fed~

eral constitutional argument, but for the argument that,

as a matter of statutory interpretation, Minn. Stat.

§ 169.685, subd. 4 should not be read to affect unintended

“statutory abrogation” of common-law rights.> Brief of

Appellants at 39.

In the end, Petitioners attack a straw man here: a

decision by a different court, in a different case, after the

decision here, and on which the decision here necessarily

could not have been based. (Pet. 25-28 [citing Olson v.

Ford Motor Co., 558 N.W.2d 491 (Minn. 1997)]) The time

for petitioning in Olson has passed. There is no reason to

revive it through the back door, via a case that does not

address the issue at all.

In sum, Petitioners seek review of an issue that was

not fairly presented to the Court of Appeals, and that was

3 See Adams, 117 S. Ct. at 1030 (“The discussion of ‘a federal

case, in the midst of an unrelated argument, is insufficient to

inform a state court that it has been presented with a claim’ ”)

(quoting Board of Directors of Rotary Int’l v. Rotary Club of Duarte,

481 U.S. 537, 550 n.9 (1987)).

a

7

not decided by that Court, much less by the highest court

of the state. There is, accordingly, no “adequate factual

and legal record” to “assist [the Court] in [its] delibera-

tions” and “aid in [its] understanding of the [Minnesota

statute] as a predicate to [the Court’s] assessment of [its]

constitutional adequacy.” Adams, 117 S. Ct. at 1031. The

Court should deny certiorari.

C. In Any Event, The New-Found Federal Consti-

tutional Argument Is Not Significant.

On the merits, Petitioners’ constitutional argument is

muddled. In essence, Petitioners propose that Minnesota

cannot, as a matter of its own state policy, determine

rules of evidence governing evidence about seat belts.

That is, at the outset, an odd proposition. A state is

constitutionally entitled to set its own rules of evidence,

even if those rules may adversely affect some cases. See,

e.g., Montana v. Egelhoff, 116 S. Ct. 2013, 2017, 2022-23

(1996) (“any number of familiar and unquestionably con-

stitutional evidentiary rules . . . authorize the exclusion of

relevant evidence” and “the introduction of relevant evi-

dence can be limited by the State for a ‘valid’ reason”)

(plurality opinion); Marshall v. Lonberger, 459 U.S. 422, 438

n.6 (1983). That is all the Minnesota statute does: it even-

handedly excludes evidence about installation or use of

seat belts - by either party - in automotive litigation.

That rule may have the effect of precluding some actions

or defenses, both ways, but there is no constitutional

affront in that. See Egelhoff, 116 S. Ct. at 2071 n.1.

Petitioners object that a purpose behind the rule — to

“shield manufacturers from lawsuit should state-manda-

ted seat belts ultimately result in injuries to motorists”

(Olson, 558 N.W.2d at 495) - no longer is valid. Appar-

ently, the argument is that now the federal government,

not the state government, requires seat belts, so the pur-

pose fails. But to the extent Petitioners made an equal

8

protection challenge below, that was not it.4 Anyway,

Petitioners do not quarrel with the proposition that pro-

tection of a manufacturer from liability for following the

law’s mandate is a rational exercise of state power; it

should not matter, then, that the mandate’s source is now

federal, not state, law. See Heller v. Doe, 509 U.S. 312,

319-20, 324 (1993) (legislature “need not actually articu-

late at any time the purpose or rationale supporting its

classification. Instead, a classification must be upheld

against equal protection challenge if there is any reason-

ably conceivable state of facts that could provide a ratio-

nal basis for the classification”; “statutory classification

fails rational-basis review only when it rests on grounds

wholly irrelevant to the achievement of the State’s objec-

tive”) (citations omitted).5

Indeed, there is an irony to Petitioners’ argument. In

opposing preemption, Petitioners urge that the Safety

* Rather, below Petitioners urged that the statute’s purpose

was (1) “impossible to evaluate;” and (2) maybe was to prevent

injured people from confronting contributory. negligence

arguments because they didn’t buckle up, and so did not justify

application of the statutory ban on seat belt evidence to

crashworthiness claims. Brief of Appellants at 44. Petitioners

said nothing whatever about the purpose they now address: to

protect manufacturers from liability when they followed the

law’s requirements for installing seat belts.

5 See also Nordlinger v. Hahn, 505 U.S. 1, 11 (1992) (“Equal

Protection Clause is satisfied so long as there is a plausible

policy reason for the classification, the legislative facts on which

the classification is apparently based rationally may have been

considered to be true by the governmental decisionmaker, and

the relationship of the classification to its goal is not so

attenuated as to render the distinction arbitrary or irrational”)

(citations omitted); Bowen v. Gilliard, 483 U.S. 587, 601 (1987) (“A

statutory discrimination will not be set aside if any state of facts

reasonably may be conceived to justify it.”) (quoting Dandridge

v. Williams, 397 U.S. 471, 485 (1970)).

9

Act’s “savings clause” permits states to decide for them-

selves whether to permit common-law juries to judge

what seat belts should be installed, and whether the

federal restraint system options are appropriate. Pp.

25-28, below. Yet, when Minnesota decides as a matter of

state policy not to allow any inquiry into seat belt

choices, Petitioners insist that the same savings clause

forecloses that state decision: “the Federal government -

via the Safety Act and its regulations - now sets the

appropriate standards and liability,” Petitioners argue.

(Pet. 26) “Congress’ decision to create universal safety

regulations,” Petitioners say, “now dictates the appropri-

ate liability.” (Pet. 27; see also id. at 29) (“[I]t is Congress,

not the State of Minnesota, which now prescribes the

appropriate seat belts.”). Petitioners cannot have it both

ways. The Safety Act cannot both let the states decide

whether to permit claims, and dictate what decision they

make.

As to the argument about timing - the fact that the

statute preceded both the Safety Act and crashworthiness

liability (Pet. 27) - Petitioners have it backward. The

statute set state policy about seat belts, and prohibited

seat belt evidence offered by any party, before any crash-

worthiness cause of action existed. Thus, Petitioners have

not been deprived of a crashworthiness cause of action by

the statute (Pet. 26); they never had one. Minnesota

adheres to the universal rule that the common law may

not abrogate a legislafive rule. State v. DeWitt, 389 N.W.2d

722, 726 (Minn. 1986) (“It is not the function of the courts

to frustrate the clearly expressed will of the legislature.”).

Its adherence to that rule raises no constitutional prob-

lem.

Finally, whatever the merits of Petitioners’ arguments

about Minn. Stat. § 169.685, subd. 4, the issue is not one

worthy of review. A decision in this case, either way,

would have limited practical effect in Minnesota, and

none elsewhere. The constitutionality of a limited appli-

cation of a Minnesota rule of evidence simply does not

NN

10

present a substantial question that merits this Court's

attention.

II. THERE WOULD BE NO REASON TO REVIEW

THE PREEMPTION ISSUE, EVEN IF THERE WERE

JURISDICTION.

Over 100 courts - including every federal circuit to

address the question,® over a dozen state appellate courts,”

6 Harris v. Ford Motor Co., 110 F.3d 1410 (9th Cir. 1997);

Montag v. Honda Motor Co., 75 F.3d 1414 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

117 S. Ct. 61 (1996); Pokorny v. Ford Motor Co., 902 F.2d 1116 (3d

Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990); Kitts v. General Motors

Corp., 875 F.2d 787 (10th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065

(1990); Taylor v. General Motors Corp., 875 F.2d 816 (11th Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1990); Wood v. General Motors

Corp., 865 F.2d 395 (1st Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065

(1990); see also Gracia 0. Volvo Europa Truck, N.V., 112 F.3d 291

(7th Cir. 1997) (finding preemption of common-law claim under

FMVSS 212).

7 Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, 920 P.2d 67 (Idaho

1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1245 (1997); Cooper v. General Motors

Corp., 1996 WL 272362 (Miss. May 23, 1996); Martinez v. Ford

Motor Co., ___ N.W.2d __, 1997 WL 341786 (Mich. App. June 20,

1997); Minton v. Honda of America, 1996 WL 402070 (Ohio Ct.

App. July 19, 1996), certif. granted, 670 N.E.2d 1007 (Ohio Oct. 23,

1996); Cellucci v. General Motors Corp., 676 A.2d 253 (Pa. Super. |

Ct.), appeal granted, 684 A.2d 555 (Pa. Oct. 22, 1996); Dykema v. ;

Volkswagenwerk A.G., 525 N.W.2d 754 (Wis. App. 1994), cert. |

denied, 116 S. Ct. 60 (1995), reh’g denied, 116 S. Ct. 549 (1995);

Miranda v. Fridman, 647 A.2d 167 (N.J. Super. Ct. App. Div.), ’

certif. denied, 649 A.2d 1291 (N.J. 1994); Panarites v. Williams, 629

N.Y.S.2d 359 (N.Y. App. Div. 1995); Marrs v. Ford Motor Co., 852

S.W.2d 570 (Tex. Ct. App. 1993); Boyle v. Chrysler Corp., 501

N.W.2d 865 (Wis. Ct. App.), rev. denied, 510 N.W.2d 137 (Wis.

1993); Nissan Motor Corp. v. Superior Court (Meier), 212 Cal. App.

3d 980 (1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1066 (1990); Gardner v. Honda

Motor Co., 536 N.Y.S.2d 303 (N.Y. App. Div. 1988), motion for

reargument denied, 74 N.Y.2d 715 (1989); Wickstrom v. Maplewood

Ta eas IM at

11

and scores of federal district courts® — have held that the

Safety Act and FMVSS 208 preempt claims that a vehicle

Toyota, Inc., 416 N.W.2d 838 (Minn. App. 1987), cert. denied, 487

U.S. 1236 (1988).

8 E.g., Courtney v. Mitsubishi Motors Corp., 926 F. Supp. 223

(D. Mass. 1996); Martin v. Ford Motor Co., 914 F. Supp. 1449 (S.D.

Tex. 1996); Folkes v. Volkswagen of America, No. 94-D-977 (D.

Colo. June 11, 1997); Thomas v. General Motors Corp., No.

2:96CV38 (E.D. Tex. Dec. 3, 1996); Marcum v. General Motors

Corp., No. 93-40 (E.D. Ky. Nov. 21, 1996); Klugerman v. Nippon

Seiko, K.K., No. 94-11900-NG (D. Mass. Nov. 20, 1996); Wiley v.

General Motors Corp., No. 96-1692 (JHG) (D.D.C. Nov. 15, 1996);

Kaiser v. Fuji Heavy Industries Ltd., No. 95-B-633 (D. Colo. Sept.

24, 1996); Schuyler v. Volkswagen A.G., No. 4:96ev25 (E.D. Va.

Aug. 28, 1996); Taylor v. General Motors Corp., 1996 WL 671648

(N.D. Miss. Aug. 6, 1996); Waters v. Ford Motor Co., 1996 WL

114791 (E.D. Pa. Mar. 13, 1996); Sieck v. General Motors Corp.,

1996 WL 426818 (W.D. Pa. Mar. 5, 1996); Schroeder v. General

Motors Corp., No. 8:CV96-591 (D. Neb. Feb. 7, 1996); Johnson v.

General Motors Corp., 889 F. Supp. 451 (W.D. Okla. 1995); Hill v.

General Motors Corp., No. 94-AR0088-S (N.D. Ala. Nov. 15, 1995);

Beeman v. Lovelace, 1995 WL 813722 (W.D. Okla. Nov. 2, 1995);

Tammen v. General Motors Corp., 857 F. Supp. 788 (D. Kan. 1994);

Gills v. Ford Motor Co., 829 F. Supp. 894 (W.D. Ky. 1993); Heath v.

General Motors Corp., 756 F. Supp. 1144 (S.D. Ind. 1991); Cerniak

v. Nissan Motor Co., 1991 WL 147366 (N.D. Ill. July 26, 1991); Pak

v. Chrysler Motors Corp., 1990 WL 198821 (E.D. Pa. Dec. 3, 1990),

aff'd, 941 F.2d 1200 (3d Cir. 1991); Dallas v. General Motors Corp.,

725 F. Supp. 902 (W.D. Tex. 1989); Hunt v. Ford Motor Co., Prod.

Liab. Rep. (CCH) { 12,292 (N.D. Ala. Mar. 30, 1989); Kelly v.

General Motors Corp., 705 F. Supp. 303 (W.D. La. 1988); Kolbeck v.

General Motors Corp., 702 F. Supp. 532 (E.D. Pa. 1988); Surles v.

Ford Motor Co., 709 F. Supp. 732 (N.D. Tex. 1988); Heftel v. General

Motors Corp., 1988 WL 19615 (D.D.C. Feb. 23, 1988); Hunter v.

General Motors Corp., Prod. Liab. Rep. (CCH) { 12,039 (D. Conn.

Dec. 27, 1988); Howard v. American Motors Corp., Prod. Liab. Rep.

(CCH) ¥ 11,955 (S.D. Tex. July 26, 1988); Schick v. Chrysler Corp.,

675 F. Supp. 1183 (D.S.D. 1987); Staggs v. Chrysler Corp., 678 F.

Supp. 270 (N.D. Ga. 1987); Hughes v. Ford Motor Co., 677 F. Supp.

12

is defective because it has one restraint system option

granted by FMVSS 208, instead of a different FMVSS 208

option. The Court of Appeals joined that wealth of

authority. This Court has declined to review the FMVSS

208 preemption issue eleven times, including one case,

based on essentially the same petition, just last March.

Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, 920 P.2d 67 (Idaho

1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1245 (1997). There is no

reason to review it now, particularly in this case.

A. The History Of Federal Regulation Of Restraint

Systems.

1. The Safety Act.

In 1966 Congress enacted the Safety Act. The Act

directs the DOT and its subdivision, NHTSA, to issue

federal motor vehicle safety standards that are “practica-

ble,” that “meet the need for motor vehicle safety,” and

that apply throughout the country. 15 U.S.C. § 1392(a).?

76 (D. Conn. 1987); Wattelet v. Toyota Motor Corp., 676 F. Supp.

1039 (D. Mont. 1987); Bass v. General Motors Corp., 1987 WL

54449 (W.D. Tex. 1987); Vasquez v. Ford Motor Co., 1986 WL 18670

(D. Ariz. Nov. 18, 1986); Cox v. Baltimore County, 646 F. Supp. 761

(D. Md. 1986); Baird v. General Motors Corp., 654 F. Supp. 28 (N.D.

Ohio 1986); Vanover v. Ford Motor Co., 632 F. Supp. 1095 (E.D.

Mo. 1986).

9 The Safety Act was recodified in 1994 so all “laws related

to transportation [appear] in one comprehensive title,” and

moved from Title 15 to Title 49 of the United States Code. H.R.

Rep. No. 103-108, 103d Cong., 2d Sess. 3 (1994), reprinted in 1994

U.S.C.C.A.N. 818, 820. In the course of the recodification, there

were some “technical improvements” to language to promote

“clarity” and “consistency,” and avoid “surplusage;”

“precautions [were] taken against making substantive changes

in the law.” See id. 49 U.S.C.A. § 30103, Historical and Statutory

Notes. The preemption cases and the Petition here discuss the

provisions as codified in Title 15 (though some early cases refer

ee

13

The standards were to be “strong and adequately

enforced,” and “uniform throughout the country.” S. Rep.

No. 1301, 89th Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1966

U.S.C.C.A.N. 2709, 2720 (emphasis added); see H.R. Rep.

No. 1776, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 17 (1966).

The Safety Act contains a preemption clause -

§ 1392(d) (now in 49 U.S.C. § 30103(b)). It permits a state

to “prescribe or continue in effect” a “standard applicable

to the same aspect of performance of a motor vehicle or

item or equipment” as an FMVSS, but “only if the stan-

dard is identical” to the FMVSS. Or, as the statute pro-

vided before the recodification, “whenever” DOT

establishes a federal standard, “no State or political sub-

division of a State shall have any authority either to

establish, or to continue in effect” “any” state “standard”

as to “the same aspect of performance” not “identical to

the Federal standard.” 15 U.S.C. § 1392(d). The Act also

recites that compliance with a federal standard “does not

exempt a person from liability under common law.” 49

U.S.C. § 30103(e) (1995) (previously in 15 U.S.C.

§ 1397(k)). But that provision is not denominated a pre-

emption clause; structurally is not part of the preemption

clause; and on its face says nothing about preemption,

much less purports to preclude preemption of claims

based on a non-identical common-law standard that

directly conflicts with a federal standard. Pp. 25-28,

below.

2. FMVSS 208.

FMVSS 208 is the federal standard governing

restraint systems. Options and flexibility have been at the

heart of FMVSS 208 for over a quarter century. Beginning

in 1971, FMVSS 208 granted manufacturers three options:

(1) passive restraints for all crashes; (2) passive restraints

to § 1397(k) as § 1397(c), its pre-1988 designation). To avoid _

confusion, we use the Title 15 designations as well.

14

for head-on crashes plus manual belts; or (3) manual

three-point seat belts. 49 C.F.R. § 571.208, S4.1.2.1.-.3

(1971).1° Passive restraints work without any action by

the user; active restraints, like manual belts, require user

action — buckling up.

FMVSS 208 did not mandate which form of passive

restraint was to be installed by a manufacturer who chose

to put in passive restraints. Instead, it set forth perfor-

mance requirements for those restraint options, and, as to

passive belts, provided in effect a fourth option: A manu-

facturer could install “a seat belt assembly that requires

no action by vehicle occupant,” that is, an automatic belt

system, to “meet the crash protection requirements of

any” of the first three options, and “in place of any seat belt

assembly otherwise required by that option.” 49 C.F.R.

§ 571.208, S4.5.3 (1971) (emphasis added). Thus, a manu-

facturer could opt to comply with FMVSS 208 by install-

ing passive belts that met the performance requirements

of any of its three options, without any manual belts at

all.

10 In the early 1970s, DOT required vehicles “to carry either

passive restraints or [manual] lap and shoulder belts coupled

with an ‘ignition interlock’ that would prevent starting the

vehicle if the belts were not connected.” Motor Vehicle Mfrs.

Ass’n v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 463 U.S. 29, 33, 35 (1983).

The public did not like ignition interlocks. Therefore in 1974

Congress enacted 15 U.S.C. § 1410b, which outlawed the

“ignition interlock” standard and mandated that manufacturers

should have restraint system options, specifically including a

manual belt option. Congress also mandated that DOT could

grant manufacturers the option to install different types of

automatic restraint systems instead of manual seat belts,

whatever the “technology may come up with.” 120 Cong. Rec.

27822 (1974) (Rep. Wyman, author of amendment that became

§ 1410b); H.R. Rep. No. 1452, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in

1974 U.S.C.C.A.N. 6084, 6108.

15

3. NHTSA’s Approval Of The System In The

Precis.

“[T]he safety benefits of wearing seat belts are not in

doubt... .” State Farm, 463 U.S. at 52. But many people

did not use their belts, and accordingly, beginning in the

- 1970s, NHTSA sought to encourage passive restraints.

FMVSS 208’s Option 2 authorizes passive restraints

that, together with manual belts, meet the performance

requirements of FMVSS 208, S5.1. FMVSS 208, S5.1 sets

forth injury criteria for vehicles hitting a fixed collision

barrier at 30 m.p.h., at an angle up to 30 degrees. In 1973,

Volkswagen developed a passive shoulder belt system

which, with knee bolsters and without any lap belt, met

those criteria. It was a real breakthrough. The system

outperformed traditional manual lap and shoulder belts;

for example, the shoulder belt was not subject to “subma-

rining, in the form of movement of the lap belt [there was

none] over the . . . iliac crest into the soft abdominal

tissue,” a significant advantage. VW Petition for

Rulemaking, 208-PRM-14, pp. 7-9 (1973).

In 1974, NHTSA ruled that $4.5.3 specifically permit-

ted the use of the two-point VW system to meet the

performance requirements of option two. 39 Fed. Reg.

3834 (1974). As for the lack of a manual lap belt, NHTSA

affirmed that $4.5.3 expressly permitted the two-point

VW automatic belt system “to replace the required [man-

ual] seat belt assemblies.” Id. In fact, NHTSA concluded,

“option two exists . . . to accommodate the introduction

of passive restraint systems like Volkswagen’s.” Id. As

NHTSA’s Chief Counsel explained “the ‘passive belt sub-

stitution’ provision of $4.5.3 is available to a passive belt

system without a lap belt in place of the lap belt specified by

$4.1.3.” (Hyundai A. 24) (emphasis added).1!

11 That view was stated in a letter, in the public record, that

was before the court below, along with others affirming the

same thing. (Hyundai A. 15-22) An interpretation of a

16

Over the years, NHTSA revised FMVSS 208 to

require passive restraints, and to eliminate the three-

point manual belt option. NHTSA deferred the beginning

of the mandatory passive restraint phase-in from time to

time, but always preserved the manufacturer’s option as

to which passive restraint to install. In particular, Secre-

tary after Secretary reaffirmed, protected and praised the

option to install the two-point VW system. Secretary

Coleman noted that, to date, only “two passive restraint

systems” appeared workable, airbags and the VW “shoul-

der belt and knee bolster system.” 41 Fed. Reg. 24070,

24070 n.2, 24072 (1976). Secretary Adams noted that

65,000 VWs were equipped with that system, and lauded

it as “a proven means of meeting a passive restraint

requirement.” 42 Fed. Reg. 34295 (1977).

Therefore, FMVSS 208 expressly authorizes a two-

point automatic shoulder belt system with knee bolsters

that meets FMVSS 208’s performance requirements, and

expressly grants a manufacturer the option to use that

system “in place of” a standard Option 2 system with lap

belts. Indeed, before Secretary Dole mandated a phase-in

of passive restraints beginning in 1987, the “vast majority

of manufacturers” exercised the option to install manual

belt systems, not passive restraints in any form. 41 Fed.

Reg. at 24070. The two-point passive belt system was a

rare, welcome ~ and clearly the leading — exception. Id. at

24074.

4. Secretary Dole’s Final Rule.

In 1984, Secretary Dole undertook a comprehensive

review of all restraint systems, 49 Fed. Reg. 28962-63,

28984-86, 28991, 28996 (1984), and reached the final rule

that applied to the Precis here. The rule mandated a

regulation by the agency that adopted it and is charged with

implementing it is due “substantial deference.” Martin v.

Occupational Safety & Health Comm'n, 499 U.S. 144, 150 (1991).

17

phase-in of passive restraints from 1987-90. Secretary

Dole determined not to mandate any particular form of

passive restraint at any time. She reasoned that each

passive restraint system had different virtues, and con-

cluded that mandating a single type of passive restraint

would risk “killing or seriously retarding development”

of restraint systems. 49 Fed. Reg. at 29001.

Accordingly, Secretary Dole determined to provide

“latitude” to industry as to what passive restraints to

install. “Flexibility” was the benchmark. Id. at 28997,

29000. Thus, manufacturers were to continue to have the

same options to comply with FMVSS 208’s passive

restraint requirements they always had, id. at 28997, spec-

ifically including the option to choose the two-point VW

system. The Secretary noted that, by then, that system

had been installed in over 390,000 VW Rabbits (id. at

28965); that its usage rate was 50-90% (id. at 28984); and,

it was available “immediately,” of particular importance

during the phase-in (id. at 28999).

In sum, flexibility and options are the heart of

FMVSS 208, and have been for over 25 years. From the

beginning FMVSS 208 gave manufacturers the choice of

what passive restraint to install in cars with passive

restraints, and the final rule granted that same option,

specifically including the option to install the two-point

system, proven and lauded as it was.’

12 In 1991, Congress amended the Safety Act to

prospectively require airbags in all passenger cars. Congress

ordered the Secretary to promulgate an amendment to FMVSS

208 requiring airbags in 95% of all cars built in the 1997 model

year, and 100% of cars built in the 1998 model year. See Pub. L.

No. 102-240, § 2508; 58 Fed. Reg. 46551-02. In amending the

Safety Act, however, Congress made clear that its judgment that

airbags should be required in the regulations of the future was

not to change the preemption case law as to the regulations of

the past. Pub. L. No. 102-240, § 2508(d) (amendment “shall [not]

be construed by any . . . court as indicating an intention by

18

Hyundai exercised that federally-granted option and

installed the two-point system (actually, an improved

version of) it in the Precis. (Hyundai A. 59) Petitioners

seek this Court’s leave to make that option unlawful, and

punish its exercise, after the fact.15

B. There Is No Significant Conflict Or Urgency On

The Question Whether FMVSS 208 Preempts

“No Lap Belt” Claims.

Petitioners’ lead argument (Pet. 7) proposes that

there is a “growing conflict among the federal courts of

appeal[s] and the state courts of last resort over” the

question presented in this case: whether the Safety Act

expressly preempts “no lap belt” claims. In fact, Peti-

tioners cite only six other cases that have ever considered

the issue here —- whether “no lap belt” claims are pre-

empted by the Safety Act and FMVSS 208.14

Congress to affect, change, or modify in any way the liability, if

any, of a motor vehicle manufacturer under applicable law

relative to vehicles with or without inflatable restraints”).

13 Actually, Petitioners insisted below that “this is not a no

lap belt case.” P. Memo in Opp. to Summary Judgment at 1; see

also Brief of Appellants at 21-24, Reply Brief at 2. Here, in

contrast, Petitioners say they claim that the vehicle was

defective “because it lacked a driver’s-side lap belt.” (Pet. 4)

14 Petitioners cite (Pet. 15-16): Hernandez-Gomez v. Leonardo,

917 P.2d 238 (Ariz. 1996) (“no lap belt” claim; no preemption in

roll-over accident); Ketchum v. Hyundai Motor Co., 49 Cal. App.

4th 1672 (1996) (“no lap belt” claim not preempted); Alvarado v.

Hyundai Motor Co., 908 S.W.2d 243 (Tex. App. 1995), app. pending,

No. 95-0969 (Tex.) (“no lap belt” claim not preempted; appeal to

Texas Supreme Court pending); Dykema v. Volkswagenwerk AG,

525 N.W.2d 754 (Wis. App. 1994), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 60

(1995), reh’g denied, 116 S.Ct. 549 (1995) (“no lap belt” claim

preempted); Miranda v. Fridman, 647 A.2d 167 (N.J. App.), certif.

denied, 649 A.2d 1291 (N.J. 1994) (“no lap belt” claim

preempted).

19

Instead, Petitioners tally up cases that address differ-

ent issues. By likening unlike cases, Petitioners suggest a

conflict that is more imagined than real.

The Early Cases. Petitioners cite the early case law

interpreting the Safety Act, and urge it is in conflict with

the Court of Appeals’ decision below. (Pet. 8-10) But that

case law is not on point, and in fact is entirely irrelevant

to the question whether “no lap belt” claims are pre-

empted by FMVSS 208. Most of the cases do not address

preemption, or mention it, but concern whether compli-

ance with federal standards is, as a matter of state law, an

absolute defense to a state law claim on the merits.15

Indeed, many of the cited cases involved allegations of

defects in vehicles designed and manufactured before any

pertinent federal safety standards had been promulgated.

Where preemption was at issue, it was a different

question entirely - whether the Safety Act occupied the

entire field of motor vehicle safety. For example, Larsen v.

General Motors Corp. concerned steering columns, as to

which there was no on-point standard, and addressed

only whether Congress had “acquire[d] exclusive juris-

diction in this field.” 391 F.2d 495, 506 (1968). Thus, the

cases hold, at most, that the Safety Act does not occupy

the field, and so permits claims based on common-law

standards that do not conflict with an FMVSS; none

1S Knippen v. Ford Motor Co., 546 F.2d 993 (D.C. Cir. 1976);

Fox v. Ford Motor Co., 575 F.2d 774, 775 (10th Cir. 1978);

Stonehocker v. General Motors Corp., 587 F.2d 151, 156-57 (4th Cir.

1978); Schwartz v. American Honda Motor Co., 710 F.2d 378, 383

(7th Cir. 1983); Shipp v. General Motors Corp. 750 F.2d 418, 421

(5th Cir. 1985); General Motors Corp. v. Edwards, 482 So. 2d 1176,

1198 (Ala. 1985); Lollie v. General Motors Corp., 407 So. 2d 613, 617

(Fla. App. 1981), rev. denied, 413 So. 2d 876 (Fla. 1982);

Volkswagen of America, Inc. v. Young, 321 A.2d 737, 746 (Md.

1974); H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., 345 N.E.2d 683,

688 (Mass. 1976).

20 |

involved claims based on standards that directly conflict

with an on-point FMVSS.16

Certainly none of the cases cited involved passive

restraints, or the options and purposes behind FMVSS

208, or the direct conflict between those federal options

and purposes and state claims that would take the

options away. When the FMVSS 208 preemption issue

does come up, the same courts have no problem distin-

guishing the cases, and finding preemption. Compare, e.g.,

Pokorny v. Ford Motor Co., 902 F.2d 1116 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990) (“no airbag” claim preempted),

with Dawson v. Chrysler Corp., 630 F.2d 950 (3d Cir. 1980),

cert. denied, 450 U.S. 959 (1981) (compliance with FMVSS

not complete defense to claim that vehicle was defective

because of noncontinuous body frame); and Montag v.

Honda Motor Co., 75 F.3d 1414 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 117

S. Ct. 61 (1996) (“no airbag” claim preempted), with Fox v.

Ford Motor Co., 575 F.2d 774 (10th Cir. 1978) (compliance

with federal safety standards not complete defense to

claim that rear-seat lap safety belt was defectively

designed).

16 See also Dawson v. Chrysler Corp., 630 F.2d 950, 957-58 (3d

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 959 (1981) (no federal standard

governed frame strength and rigidity); Dorsey v. Honda Motor

Co., 655 F.2d 650, 654, 656 (Sth Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 U.S.

880 (1982) (vehicle met “certain federal” standards, but the

standards were “unrelated to several of the design deficiencies”

challenged); Sours v. General Motors Corp., 717 F.2d 1511, 1516

(6th Cir. 1983) (no federal roof standard established at time car

was designed); Buccery v. General Motors Corp., 60 Cal. App. 3d

533, 541 (1976) (federal standard required head restraints for

passenger cars, not trucks; plaintiff was injured in a truck; court

held Congress had not occupied the field); McMuilen v.

Volkswagen of America, 545 P.2d 117, 120 (Ore. 1976) (no specific

standard in issue); Turner v. General Motors Corp., 514 S.W.2d 497

(Tex. App. 1974) (federal standard as to roof strength

promulgated after car manufactured).

21

Thus, none of the early cases addresses passive

restraints; or FMVSS 208; or an equipment requirement

advanced by plaintiff that NHTSA specifically rejected; or

the imposition of liability for exercising an option

NHTSA specifically granted; or the direct conflict with

federal law if such liability could lie. The cases are not on

point, much less grounds for finding a conflict and the

need for review.

The “No Airbag” Cases. To suggest mass confusion

in the lower courts over the question presented here -

and to raise the specter of “thousands of automobile

design defect lawsuits pending throughout the nation”

(Pet. 15) — Petitioners combine the decisions on the ques-

tion whether “no airbag” claims are preempted by

FMVSS 208 with the “no lap belt” cases. But Petitioners

argued below that the “no airbag” cases are off point. The

“cases and the[ir] analysis do not apply here,” Petitioners

urged. Brief of Appellants at 22. In fact, Petitioners

derided as “erroneous” the “equation of this case with

claims based on the absence of air bags.” Id. at 18.

This Court has denied certiorari in recent years in

every one of the eleven FMVSS 208 preemption cases in

which review was sought.!7 In fact, in the most recent

17 See Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., 920 P.2d 67

(Idaho 1996), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 1245 (March 17, 1997);

Montag v. Honda Motor Co., 75 F.2d 1414 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

117 S. Ct. 61 (1996); Tebbetts v. Ford Motor Co., 665 A.2d 345 (N.H.

1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 773 (1996), reh’g denied, 116 S. Ct.

1036 (1996); Hyundai Motor Co. v. Phillip, 639 So.24 1064 (Fla.

App. 1994); cert. denied, 513 U.S. 1111 (1995); Dykema v.

Volkswagenwerk AG, 525 N.W. 2d 754 (Wis. App. 1994), cert.

denied, 116 S. Ct. 60 (1995); Pokorny v. Ford Motor Co., 902 F.2d

1116 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 853 (1990); Nissan Motor Corp.

v. Superior Court (Meier), 212 Cal. App. 3d 980 (1989), cert. denied,

494 U.S. 1066 (1990); Taylor v. General Motors Corp., 875 F.2d 816

(11th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1990); Kitts v. General

Motors Corp., 875 F.2d 787 (10th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S.

22

case — Zimmerman — the petition was the template for the

petition here; the arguments here are lifted, verbatim,

from that petition. Compare Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Zimmerman v. Volkswagen of America, No. 96-904 (filed

Dec. 1996). Petitioners offer no reason to distinguish this

case from Zimmerman and the ten other cases in which

review was denied. Indeed, this case is far less “certwor-

thy” than Zimmerman, because (1) it was decided by an

intermediate appellate court (not the highest state court);

(2) the judgment rests on an alternative state law ground;

and (3) additional cases finding preemption make the

decisions, if anything, more uniform than they were last

spring.

In sum, review of this case would be an inappropri-

ate use of this Court’s limited resources.

C. The Court Correctly Resolved The Preemption

Issue.

In finding that the Safety Act and FMVSS 208 pre-

empt claims (like “no lap belt” claims) that would punish

the exercise of one of FMVSS 208’s options, the Minnesota

Court of Appeals joined every federal court to address

the question, and a host of state appellate courts. That

was plainly correct.

1. Express Preemption.

a. The Meaning Of The Preemption

Clause.

This Court’s decision in Cipollone v. Liggett Group,

Inc., 505 U.S. 504 (1992), eliminates any doubt about

1065 (1990); Wood v. General Motors Corp., 865 F.2d 395 (ist Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1065 (1989); Wickstrom v. Maplewood

Toyota, Inc., 416 N.W.2d 838 (Minn. App. 1987), cert. denied, 487

U.S. 1236 (1990).

23

whether the safety “standards” referred to in the preemp-

tion provision of the Safety Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1392(d),

include common-law standards. The Court in Cipollone

held that a preemption clause forbidding “’require-

ment(s] or prohibition[s] . . . imposed under State law’”

included common law duties. 505 U.S. at 519-24 (plu-

rality) (citation omitted); id. at 548-49 (Scalia, J, joined by

Thomas, J., concurring in part and dissenting in part.).

The Court stated that it made no difference that the

preemption clause did not include a specific reference to

common-law claims. Id. at 521; see also CSX Transp., Inc. v.

Easterwood, 507 U.S. 658, 661-76 (1993).

The Court’s holding in Cipollone was premised on its

long-held view that “[state] regulation can be as effec-

tively exerted through an award of damages as through

some form of preventive relief.” 505 U.S. at 521 (quoting

San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S. 236, 247

(1959)); see also Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co. v. Kalo Brick &

Tile Co., 450 U.S. 311, 326 (1981) (“A system under which

each State could, through its courts, impose . . . its own-

. » . requirements could hardly be more at odds with the

uniformity contemplated by Congress”). And that hold-

ing was reaffirmed in 1996 in Medtronic, Inc. v. Lohr,

where a majority of the Court explicitly endorsed Cip-

ollone’s holding that the word “requirements” encom-

passes state law tort claims for purposes of federal

preemption. 116 S. Ct. 2240, 2260 (1996) (Breyer, J., con-

curring); id. at 2263 (O’Connor, J., Rehnquist, C.J., and

Scalia and Thomas, JJ., concurring in part and dissenting

in part).

Here, the plain language of the Safety Act’s preemp-

tion clause sweeps at least as broadly as the preempting

language in Cipollone, and so also encompasses common-

law claims like Petitioners’. Section 1392(d) permits state

standards “only if” they are “identical” to an FMVSS - or,

in the pre-recodification language, the clause takes away

“any authority” of a state to enforce a non-“identical”

standard. “Any authority” of the state means any state

24

authority, legislative, executive or judicial; the Act does

not say that the legislative and executive branches cannot

establish non-identical standards, but the judicial branch

can. Common law standards are “standards,” as this

Court has repeatedly held.1* Hence a common law action

is based upon a “state standard,” and must be; otherwise

the action would be baseless, literally.

In sum, the state “standards” preempted by § 1392(d)

include common-law standards. Petitioners’ contrary

contention does not merit review by this Court.

18 CSX Transp., 507 U.S. at 664 (“Legal duties imposed

... by the common law” fell “within the scope” of a preemption

clause that barred any state “law, rule, regulation, order or

standard”) (emphasis added); Asahi Metal Indus. Co. v. Superior

Court, 480 U.S. 102, 114-15 (1987) (referring to “safety

standards” set by California product liability law); International

Paper Co. v. Ouellette, 479 U.S. 481, 496 (1987) (recognizing the

“possibility that [defendant] would have to meet a number of

different standards” if sued, under different states’ common

law); United Gas Improvement Co. v. Continental Oil Co., 381 U.S.

392, 400 (1965) (referring to “common law standards”); Shenker

v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R., 374 U.S. 1, 11 (1963) (referring to

“negligence standards of the common law”); Kermarec v.

Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358 U.S. 625, 630-31 (1959)

(referring to “standard of care” imposed by common law).

Indeed, “standard” in the Safety Act is necessarily at least

as encompassing as “requirements” (the Cipollone language),

because the reference to “requirement” in the third sentence of

§ 1392(d) would be meaningless otherwise. The third sentence

allows states to impose a “requirement” as to vehicles

purchased for their use, and so preserves the authority to

impose such “requirements”; the first sentence’s proscription of

“standards” would otherwise have taken away that authority to

impose “requirements.” Moreover, in Medtronic, Justice Breyer

uses “requirement” and “standard” synonymously. 116 S. Ct. at

2259.

25

b. The Meaning Of The Savings Clause.

Petitioners point to the Safety Act’s so-called “sav-

ings” clause, 15 U.S.C. § 1397(k), and maintain that it

shelters all common-law claims - even those that conflict

with a federal standard and undermine the purposes

behind it - from preemption. That ignores the structure

and language of the savings clause, and this Court’s

teachings on the effect of savings clauses.

As to structure and language, the clause does not

mention preemption. Indeed, the so-called savings clause

is not denominated a preemption clause and structurally

is not part of the preemption clause. On its face, the

clause says nothing about preemption, much less pur-

ports to preclude preemption of claims based on a non-

identical common-law standard that directly conflicts

with a federal standard. Instead, it (and some of the

legislative history) speaks to “compliance” as a defense.'9

That “compliance” language suggests that the so-called

savings clause is not a statement on preemption at all. For

as the First Circuit explained, whether compliance is a

defense on the merits under state law is “entirely differ-

ent” from preemption. Wood, 865 F.2d at 417. In fact,

19 Both the House and Conference Reports contain sections

entitled “Preemption,” but neither section discusses § 1397(k).

See H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1919, 89th Cong., 2d Sess. 16 (1966),

reprinted in 1966 U.S.C.A.A.N. 2731, 2731-33; H.R. Rep. No. 1776,

89th Cong., 2d Sess. 17 (1966). The House Report mentions

§ 1397(k) under the heading “Prohibited Acts and Exemption,”

and the Conference Report does not deal with it at all. Again, if

Congress had intended § 1397(k) to be a sweeping exception to

the preemption provision, it surely would have described it as

such in these reports. See Chisom v. Roemer, 501 U.S. 380, 396

(1991). Rather, as its language indicates, § 1397(k) was added

merely to clarify that the Safety Act did not create an affirmative

defense of compliance with government standards or, as we

next show, that the Safety Act was not intended to occupy the

entire field of motor vehicle safety.

iN

26

Petitioners’ own cases — and their argument on the state

court issue — treat the savings clause as a negation of a

compliance defense. Pp. 8-9, above. Moreover, even treat-

ing § 1397(k) as a savings clause, on its face the clause

“does not express an unambiguous intent to preserve a

state suit that conflicts with a federal safety standard.”

Wood, 865 F.2d at 414; accord Pokorny, 902 F.2d at 1125;

Taylor, 875 F.2d at 825 n.18; see also Schick, 675 F. Supp. at

1185.

As to this Court’s teachings, the Court has never

interpreted a savings clause — even one that specifically

mentions preemption — to permit state law claims that

directly conflict with federal law. For savings clauses are

meant “not to nullify other parts of the Act, or to defeat

rights or remedies given by preceding sections — but to

preserve all existing rights which were not inconsistent

with those created by the statute.” Pennsylvania R.R. v.

Puritan Coal Mining Co., 237 U.S. 121, 129 (1915). A gen-

eral savings clause serves to make clear Congress’ intent

not to “occupy the field.” Chicago & N.W. Transp. Co., 450

U.S. at 328 (savings clause included because without it,

“it might have been claimed that, Congress having

entered the field, the whole subject . . . had been with-

drawn from the jurisdiction of the state courts”) (quoting

Pennsylvania R.R., 237 U.S. at 130).

That is not to say, however, that § 1397(k) is a nullity,

or that § 1392(d) preempts every claim “whenever a

Federal safety standard is in place.” (Pet. 21). Rather,

while § 1392(d) expressly preempts conflicting common-

law claims, § 1397(k) makes clear that there is no occupa-

tion of the field, and expressly preserves all non-conflict-

ing common-law claims, including claims based on

manufacturing defects, notwithstanding compliance with

federal standards; claims based on state standards, with

respect to aspects of performance not covered by federal

standards, notwithstanding compliance with federal stan-

dards; and claims based on state standards with respect

to aspects of performance that are covered by federal

Oo

27

standards, but do not conflict with federal standards,

again notwithstanding compliance with those standards.

See, e.g., Buzzard v. Roadrunner Trucking, Inc., 966 F.2d 777,

783 (3d Cir. 1992) (federal standard covered lighting on

trucks; § 1397(k) saved claims based on common-law

standard calling for additional lighting if it did not inter-

fere with light called for by federal standard). In fact, a

conflict between a common-law claim and a federal stan-

dard is a “rare event indeed.” Wood, 865 F.2d at 402 n.9.

But when it occurs, a general savings clause cannot

be read to save the conflicting state law. Thus in Texas &

Pacific Ry. v. Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 204 U.S. 426 (1907), a

federal act contained a broad savings clause that pur-

ported to save “the remedies now existing at common

law or by statute.” Id. at 446. This Court held preempted

an existing but conflicting common-law claim in the face

of that savings clause, because a savings clause “cannot

in reason be construed as continuing . . . a common law

right, the continued existence of which would be abso-

lutely inconsistent with the provisions of the act.” Id.

That has been the law throughout this century, even

when an act has no preemption clause at all. See Ouellette,

479 U.S. at 485, 493-94, 505 (savings clause provided

“[njothing in this section shall restrict any right which

any person .. . may have under any statute or common

law;” Senate Report said “compliance with . .. Act would

not be a defense to a common law action for-

... damages”; conflicting common law claims preempted;

Congress could not have “intended to undermine . . . [the

Act] through a general savings clause”); accord Chicago &

N.W. Transp. Co., 450 U.S. at 328-31; Morales v. Trans World

Airlines, Inc., 504 U.S. 374 (1992); Offshore Logistics, Inc. v.

Tallentire, 477 U.S. 207, 210-11 (1986); Arrow Transp. Co. v.

Southern Ry., 372 U.S. 658, 671 n.22 (1963); T.I.M.E. Inc. v.

United States, 359 U.S. 464, 473-74 (1959); Pennsylvania v.

Nelson, 350 U.S. 497, 501 n.10, reh’g denied, 351 U.S. 934

(1956); Ventura County v. Gulf Oil Corp., 601 F.2d 1080,

1086 (9th Cir. 1979), aff'd mem., 445 U.S. 947 (1980); see also

28

John Hancock Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Harris Trust & Sav. Bank,

510 U.S. 86, 99 (1993) (savings clause means that saved

state law “generally is not displaced, but ‘where [lit]

stands as an obstacle to the accomplishment of the full

purposes and objectives of Congress,’ federal preemption

occurs”) (quoting Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee, 464 U.S. 238,

248 (1984)).

Thus, under settled law, § 1397(k) was added to the

Safety Act not to defeat the statutory goal of creating a

set of nationally uniform motor vehicle safety standards,

but rather to indicate Congress’ intent not to preempt the

remainder of the field of motor vehicle safety not covered

by and not inconsistent with those federal standards.?°

2. Implied Preemption.

Even apart from the preemption clause, and its

injunction against non-“identical” state “standards,” “no

lap belt” claims are impliedly preempted because they

conflict with FMVSS 208 and the Safety Act.

20 This case is a good example: FMVSS 208 expressly

grants, for safety reasons (see pp. 13-17, above), a choice among

different types of safety restraint designs for automobiles,

including the system Hyundai chose here. Section 1397(k)

would preserve a common-law claim that a chosen restraint

system was negligently manufactured or installed, because

those subjects are not addressed by — and do not conflict with -

FMVSS or its options. But § 1397(k) would not preserve a

common-law claim, like the claim here, seeking to impose

liability on a manufacturer for exercising the federally-granted

option to install a passive restraint system design approved by

NHTSA. That common-law claim conflicts with FMVSS 208

because it extinguishes a choice granted, as a matter of safety

policy, by the federal government. See, e.g., Perry v. Mercedes

Benz, 957 F.2d 1257, 1265 (5th Cir. 1992) (distinguishing failure-

to-install-airbag claim from claim that particular airbag system

was not properly designed, and holding latter claim not

preempted).

29

Petitioners spend much of the Petition (Pet. 17-22)

arguing that this Court’s decision in Cipollone radically

changed federal preemption law and precludes resort to

implied preemption analysis in the face of an express

preemption clause. But this Court unanimously rejected

that proposition as “without merit” in Freightliner Corp. v.

Myrick, 115 S. Ct. 1483, 1487 (1995); see also Medtronic, 116

S. Ct. at 2259 (rejecting express preemption argument but

stating that tort claim might “be pre-empted under con-

flict pre-emption analysis”). The Court went on, in

Myrick, to consider whether there was implied preemp-

tion in that case. 115 S. Ct. at 1488. The Minnesota Court

of Appeals here could do - and did - no less.

At the time the 1988 Precis in this case was manufac-

tured, FMVSS 208 gave Hyundai the option to install

fully passive, automatic two-point safety belts with no

manually-activated lap belts. That was not happenstance.

FMVSS 208 permitted that flexibility and granted those

options because Congress and the DOT judged that “flex-

ibility in the development of technologies [would]

improve automotive safety.” Baird, 654 F. Supp. at 32;

Minton, 1996 WL 402070, at *6. Indeed, FMVSS 208 “was

specifically designed to give automobile manufacturers a

choice among several options when providing restraint

systems.” Pokorny, 902 F.2d at 1123.

Hyundai exercised the option that federal law

granted, and installed the federally-sanctioned fully pas-

sive two-point belt system in the Precis. Plaintiff’s “no

lap belt” claim, if allowed, would permit a jury to impose

damages on Hyundai because it chose that option, and

not a different passive restraint option. That state com-

mon-law standard imposing damages on Hyundai for

choosing the federally-granted two-point belt option in

effect would take away that option and, with it, the

manufacturer’s flexibility. It also would punish Hyundai,

after the fact, for doing what FMVSS 208 authorized.

A state common law rule cannot take away the flex-

ibility provided by a federal regulation, cannot prohibit

30

the exercise of a federally granted option, and cannot

impose damages for doing what a federal act or regula-

tion “authorized [one] to do.” Taylor, 875 F.2d at 827;

accord Pokorny, 902 F.2d at 1125; Martinez, 1997 WL

341786, slip op. at 3-4; Minton, 1996 WL 402070, at *6-7;

Cooper, 1996 WL 272362, at *5-6; Cellucci, 676 A.2d at

260-61; see also Fidelity Fed. Sav. & Loan Ass’n v. de la

Cuesta, 458 U.S. 141, 155 (1982). In sum, “a state common

law rule that would, in effect, remove the element of

choice authorized in [FMVSS] 208 would frustrate the

federal regulatory scheme,” and so is “impliedly pre-

empted.” Taylor, 875 F.2d at 827.

Thus, allowing the common-law claim Petitioners

propose would “stand as an obstacle to the accomplish-

ment and execution of the full purposes and objectives of

Congress.” Ouellette, 479 U.S. at 491-92. That is what the

Minnesota intermediate appellate court found, as over

100 courts have found before it. There is no error, and

nothing to review, in that.

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.

DATED: July 28, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

BOWMAN AND BROOKE McCutTcHEn, Doy.e, BROWN

Davip W. Graves, Jr. & Enersen, LLP

Rosert M. Lewis Davip M. HEtLBrRon

150 South Fifth Street Lesure G. LANDAU*

Suite 2600 Han N. Tran

Minneapolis, MN 55402 Three Embarcadero Center

Telephone: (612) 339-8682 San Francisco, California

94111

Telephone: (415) 393-2000

*Counsel of Record

Attorneys for Respondents

Hyundai Motor Company,

Hyundai Motor America, Inc.

and Mitsubishi Motor Sales of America, Inc.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.