Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Martin v. Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

In The = oFFICE OF 3 CLERK

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term 1996

(\ No.

THERESA MARTIN,

Petitioner,

v.

SHAW'S SUPERMARKETS, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Scott W. Lang

Counsel of Record

Susan Forgue Weiner

Lang, Xifaras & Bullard, P.A.

115 Orchard Street

New Bedford, Ma 02740

(508) 992-1270

Betsy L. Ehrenb2rg

Angoff, Goldman, Manning, Pyle &

Wanger, P.C.

24 School Street

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Marsha S. Berzon

Altshuler & Berzon

177 Post Street, Suite 800

San Francisco, California 94108

Attorneys for Petitioner

IIIa lll J

APPELLATE SERVICE: CURRY & TAYLOR (215) 241-9764 \

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Does a state workers compensation statute that permits

parties to collectively bargain to opt-out of certain of the

statute's terms, require pre-emption under Section 301 of

the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185, of

any claim against a unionized employer because the

employer asserts that the collective bargaining agreement

may provide a defense to the claim?

If.Are a_ state's statutory protections for individual

attempting to return to employment from industrial injury

enforceable by former members of a collective bargaining

unit, or, as to such persons, are those protections

pre-empted by Section 301 of the Labor Management

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185, whenever a defendant

asserts a defense based on the existence of a collective

bargaining agreement?

III. Can a state law claim for protection filed exclusively

under a state worker's compensation statute, by a piaintiff

who is neither covered by a collective. bargaining

agreement, nor a member of the collective bargaining unit

at the time her state law claims arose, be removed to

federal court by the defendant's mere invocation of the

existence of a collective bargaining agreement?

IV. Does pre-emption under Section 301 of the Labor

management Relations Act pre-emption, 29 U.S.C. § 185,

properly apply to remove, and extinguish the state law

claims of a plaintiff, thereby leaving her with no remedy, as

she was neither covered by a collective bargaining

agreement, nor was a member of a collective bargaining

unit at the time her state law claims arose?

-ii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE, OF ANSE RGR RI occ cccccccccsccccsccscsseess Vv

QUESTIONS PRESEING BD ocscces vcsccccceccce ccscngen 1

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............ 1

CUI III eigen ac o cp a soncsesnnatnusd 1

ei halen cia he entids ssp yn sehaein 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ............. 2

STATEMENT OF THEE CASE ..... cc ccccccscsccccccece 4

RR «ashi vne nese 0th IRN PI HE 4

The District Court Proceedings ..................044. 6

The First Circuit's Decision On Appeal .............. 6

Reasons For Granting The Writ ........................ 8

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS' RULING IN

THIS CASE PERPETUATES A SPLIT IN THE

CIRCUITS ON THE IMPORTANT MATTER

OF SECTION 301 PRE-EMPTION OF STATE

GRANTED EMPLOYMENT RIGHTS. .............. 8

The Conflict Over The Pre-Emptive Effect, If

Any, Of State Statutory Provisions Deferring To

Collective Bargaining Agreements. ................. 13

II. THE FIRST CIRCUIT'S DECISION

INTERPRETS THE MASSACHUSETTS

STATUTE TO PENALIZE INDIVIDUALS FOR

THEIR EXERCISE OF COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING RIGHTS BY WITHDRAWING

FROM SUCH PERSONS THE LAW'S

PROTECTIONS AND THUS CONFLICTS

WITH PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT. .... 16

-iii-

Il. THE FIRST CIRCUIT'S DECISION

CONTINUES THE DISARRAY IN THE

CIRCUITS OVER WHETHER SECTION 301

PRE-EMPTION ARISES ONLY WHEN AN

ELEMENT OF A _ PLAINTIFF'S CLAIM

DEPENDS ON RESOLUTION OF A

CONTRACTUAL ISSUE OR WHETHER AN

ASSERTED DEFENSE MAY FORCE

REMOVAL AND EXTINGUISHMENT OF A

PLAINTIFF'S STATE LAW CLAIMS. .............. 19

IV. THE FIRST CIRCUIT'S APPLICATION

OF SECTION 301 PRE-EMPTION TO

EXTINGUISH THE STATE LAW CLAIMS OF

A PERSON NOT COVERED BY A

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

IS UNPRECEDENTED. .......:.....ccceceses ea bae 28

ES EE a a

First Circuit Court Of Appeals Opinion ............... la

United States District Court For The District Of

Massachusetts Opinion ......................05. beers 12a

First Circuit Court Of Appeals Order Denying

Petition For Rehearing En Banc ..................... l6a

Collective Bargaining Agreement .................... 17a

SHAW'S SUPERMARKETS, INC.

Associate Handbook (Relevant Sections) ........... 118a

MASSACHUSETTS WORKERS' COMPENSATION

M.G.L. chapter 152 § 75A. Preferences for hiring . 122a

MASSACHUSETTS WORKERS' COMPENSATION

M.G.L. chapter 152 § 75B. Qualified

handicapped persons; discrimination against

employees exercising rights under this chapter. ... 123a

-iv-

MASSACHUSETTS WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Mi.G. Li, GRACE ADE BS TPMGD occ cc cccoccccccvcccces 124a

FEDERAL STATOR Gi. oi ees oes 125a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Allis-Chalmers v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, ;

105 S.Ct. 1904, 85 L.Ed.2d 206 (1985) ........ 9, 17, 27, 28

Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S.

386, 107 S.Ct. 2425, 96 L.Ed. 2d 318

CME sincik beta akin) ona ceva in be ete tb heile cde dna dd oe 25, 26

Collyer Insulated Wire, Gulf &

Western Systems Co., 192 NLRB 837

CREO a iid nak do kad eee BV ON 0d oo a ine si va) 17

Davis v. Johnson Controls, Inc., 21

Fee BP MGs AOD otiedvece cll ceccdedes 12, 20, 21

Fort Halifax v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 21,

107 S.Ct. 2211, 96 L.Ed.2d 1 (1987) ................... 17

Franchise Tax Board of the State of

California v. Construction Laborers

Vacation Trust for Southern

California, 463 U.S. 1, 103 S.Ct. 2841,

cee a en ee 26, 28

Gay v. Carlson, 60 F.3d 83

tc dioniwcrwserevnenerdscee dont 12, 21

Gully v. First National Bank, 299 U.S.

eas oka yg FPS ee oc vse hed Mivdvdubedatadiede 26

Hanks v. General Motors

Corporation, 859 F.2d 67

er ces cs cowechsceeswdies dieuelwhie ot 20

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Norris, 512

U.S. 246, 114 S.Ct. 2239, 129 L.Ed.2d

y gi nS eat E Licw hs Ree eer ea em E 15, 21, 24

-Vi-

Hirras v. Nationa! Railroad Passenger

Corporation, d/b/a/ Amtrak, 44 F.3d

oe. Se 13, 23

Jackson v. Liquid Carbonic Corp.,

DED Terk Oe Cee GE ithein se des ccces cocsee ec etes 29

Jimeno v. Mobil Oil Corporation, 66

Fe ee re rare eens ccaces coche etree 24

Kohl's Food Stores v. State of

Wisconsin and Hyland, 32 F.3d 1075

CF ees SE as ns Codes acces cokes 8 vei 10, 14, 15

Laws v. Calmat, 852 F.2d 430

es MEE cc Decade eit Nae rca cccccccerceseponeey 24

Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic

Chef, Inc., 486 U.'S. 399, 108 S.Ct.

1877, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988) ............. 9, 15, 16, 25, 28

Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107, 5, Ee. G2,

114 S.Ct. 2068, 129 L.Ed.2d 93 (1994) .... 16-20, 23,26-28

Local No. 57 v. Bechtel Power Corp,

834 F.2d 884 (10th Cir. 1987) .................... 00008. 24

Loewen Group International, Inc. v.

Haberichter, 65 F.3d 1417,

IN i is conscecses ouldt 13, 21, 22

Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment

Relations Commission, 427 U.S. 132,

96 S.Ct. 2548, 49 L.Ed.2d 396 (1976) ................24. 11

Magerer v. John Sexton & Co., 912

eee on vo cc ccccccsccccccniibéehoetsds 29

Martin Marietta Corporation, Aero &

Naval Systems vy. Maryland

Commission on Human Relations, 38

F.3d 1392 (4th Cir. 1994) ...........000000.000.. 13, 22, 23

-Vii-

Metropolitan Life Insurance

Company v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S.

724, 105 S.Ct. 2380, 2397, 85 L.Ed.2d

ete Lae ta a ie ace cdgeccsscesvecesaceqes 11

Quesnel v. Prudential Insurance

Company, 66 F.3d 8 (Ist Cir. 1995) .................... 29

San Diego Building Trades Council v.

Grmon, 359 U.S. 236, 79 S.Ct. 773, 3

ee eC ced cbeseseesctecasesees 17

Smith v. Dunham Bush, Inc., 959 F.2d

QUAI Gils BD oT 6 bG oie b oaieinic ccc cc ccccccccces 27

Smolarek v. Chrysier Corporation,

879 F.2d 1326 (6th Cir.) (en banc)

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 992, 110 S.Ct.

STN Festi e hers GHRCEN Lic bic cevocadeseesccccecds 24

Utility Workers v. Southern

California Edison, 852 F.2d 1083

ik ann ach bbs opie en's ceesecoestenccaces 24

Statutes

BF Cite TE UUEED © ccc pencapaccercpeccccececcecessece 2,19

BP UTA SB LTERODs 6 ccccccccsvccsccccieciecccien Sid awe 27

is Wha a ie STON Oh oe ctldee bias ccbebins passim

Mass. Gen. L. ch. 152, §§ 75A and B .. 1, 2,3, 4, 13, 19, 29

A rename ee ee . .

old

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Theresa Martin respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue, to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

entered in this proceeding on January 28, 1997, in order

to resolve the conflict between the First Circuit's opinion

in this important matter, and decisions of other United

States courts of appeal on this same matter, and in order

to resolve the conflict between the First Circuit's opinion

and applicable decisions of the Supreme Court.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States First Circuit

Court of Appeals that gives rise to this petition, held that

the Plaintiff's state law claim for rights and protection

under Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 152, Sections

75A and 75B, (the Massachusetts workers' comperisation

statute), was pre-empted by Section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act. 29 U.S.C. §185(a). The

opinion is reported at 105 F.3d 40 (1997). It is

reproduced in the Petitioner's Appendix at pages la_ to

lla. The decision of the United States District Court for

the District of Massachusetts, which denied Theresa

Martin's Motion to Remand to the Massachusetts

Superior Court, and which granted Shaw's Motion to

Dismiss, is unreported and is reproduced in the Appendix

at pages 12a to 15a.

aaa nae

ai

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the First Circuit Court of Appeals

was entered on January 28, 1997. The Plaintiff filed a

Petition for Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc on February

21, 1997, which Petition was denied by the Court, as to

both requests, oa February 28, 1997. The Court of

Appeals had jurisdiction in this matter pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1291. The Petitioner invokes the jurisdiction of

the Court under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. §1445(c). Nonremovable Actions.

A civil action in any State court arising

under the workmen's compensation laws of such

State may not be removed to any district court of

the United States.

29 U.S.C. §185(a@). Suits By and Against Labor

Organizations.

Suits for violation of contracts between an

employer and an labor organization representing

employes in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this chapter, or beween any such labor

organizaticns, may be brought in any district court

of the United States having jurisdiction of the

parties, without respect to the amount in

controversy and without regard to the citizenship

of the parties.

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 152, Section 75A.

Preferences for Hiring.

Any person who has lost a job as result of

an injury compensable under this chapter shall be

given preference in hiring by the employer for

whom he worked at the time of compensable injury

over any persons not at the time of application for

x

reemployment employed by such employer;

provided, however, that a suitable job is available.

Action may be filed under this section with the

superior court department of the trial court for the

county in which the alleged violation occurred. An

employer found to have violated this section shall

be exclusively liable to pay to the employee lost

wages, shall grant the employee a suitable job, and

shall reimburse such reasonable attornev fees

incurred in the protection of rights granted by this

section as shall be determined by the court.

In the event that any right set forth in this

section is inconsistent with an applicable collective

bargaining agreement or chapter thirty-one, the

collective bargaining agreement or said chapter

thirty-one shall prevail.

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 152, Section 75B.

Qualified handicapped persons; discrimination «against

employees exercising rights under this chapter. ¢

(2) No employer or duly authorized ayent of

an employer shall discharge, refuse to hire or in

any other manner discriminate against an employee

because the employee has exercised a right afforded

by this chapter, or who has testified or in any

manner cooperated with an inquiry or proceeding

pursuant to this chapter, unless the employee

knowingly participated in a fraudulent proceeding.

Any person claiming to be aggrieved by a violation

of this section may initiate proceedings in the

superior court department of the trial court for the

county in which the alleged violation occurred. An

employer found to have violated this paragraph

shall be exclusively liable to pay to the employee

lost wages, shall grant the employee suitable

employment, and shall reimburse such reasonable

attorney fees incurred in the protection of rights

-4-

granted as shall be determined by the court. The

court may grant whatever equitable relief it deems

necessary to protect rights granted by this section.

(3) In the event that any right set forth in

this section is inconsistent with an applicable

collective Dargaining agreement, such agreement

shall prevail. An employee may not otherwise

waive rights granted by this section.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Facts.

Petitioner Theresa Martin ("Martin"), a 52

year-old woman who had worked for sixteen years for

defendant Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc. ("Shaw's" or "the

Company") until her termination due to a work-related

injury, brought this action in Bristol County Superior

Court of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts pursuant to

the Massachusetts Workers' Compensation Law,

Massachusetts General Laws chapter. ("Mass. Gen. L.

ch.") 152, §§ 75A and 75B(2). Appendix (App.)

122a-124a. In her state complaint, Martin challenged

Shaw's' refusal to rehire her after her recovery from her

injury and sought damages for the Company's retaliatory

and discriminatory conduct in refusing to rehire her.

Upon the defendant's removal of the action to federal

court, the district court, affirmed by the Court of

Appeals, held that all of Martin's claims were pre-empted

by the Labor Management Relations Act.

Martin began working for Shaw's in 1979. App.

2a. While emploved by Shaw's, Martin was a member of

Local 791 of the United Food and Commercial Workers

Union, AFL-CIO. CLC ("Local 791" or "the Union") and

was covered by the collective bargaining agreement

between the Union and Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc.,

y®

Southern Region, (hereinafter "the Collective Bargaining

Agreement"). App. 17a-117a.

On or about August 25, 1994, while working as a

bakery clerk, Martin permanently injured her back.

App. 2a. On September 16, 1994, Martin began receiving

workers' compensation benefits for temporary total

disability under Mass. Gen. L. chapter 152, § 34. App.

2a. Martin's employment with Shaw's was terminated

effective September 13, 1995, pursuant to the Company's

policy and the Collective Bargaining Agreement's

provision that any full-time employee absent from work

for one year is separated from Shaw's employment. App.

3a. Martin does not contest her discharge by -the

Company.

At the time of her termination of emplovment,

Martin lost all rights under the Collective Bargaining

Agreement, including any seniority rights, and all of her

company benefits. App. 20a. As a terminated employee,

Martin was no longer covered under the collective

bargaining agreement, a fact Martin does not contest.

App. 20a. Nothing in Shaw's Collective Bargaining

Agreement with Local 791 addresses the rehiring of

former employees terminated pursuant to _ the

above-referenced provision, the rehiring of employees who

left employment due to a work-related injury, or the

rehiring of former employees under any other

circumstances. App. 17a-117a.

On October 19, 1995, Martin applied for

reemployment at Shaw's. App. 3a. Martin indicated on

her application that, consistent with her physician's

restrictions, she could work full-time as a bakery clerk or

in other store departments. Id. Martin indicated she

was available for work at that time. Id. Shaw's clid not

respond, has not since responded, and has not rehired

Martin. Id.

ab

The District Court Proceedings

Shaw's filed a Notice of Removal in Bristol County

Superior Court oa March 1, 1996. On March 13, 1996,

Shaw's filed a Mction to Dismiss or, in the alternative, for

summary judgment, and contended Martin's action was

completely preempted by section 301(a) of the Labor

Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185. Martin

opposed both motions and moved the court to remand for

lack of subject matter jurisdiction. App. 13a.

By decision dated June 20, 1996, the District Court

for the District cf Massachusetts (Lasker, D.J.) allowed

Shaw's Supermarket, Inc.'s Motion to Dismiss and denied

Martin's Motion to Remand. App. 12a-15a. The district

court judge stated:

Martin is correct that the provisions of the

CBA in the present case do not clearly

delineate whether an injured employee who

has been dismissed has a right to be rehired.

However, ‘shaw's contention, that several of

the CBA provisions "could be construed to

govern" the plaintiff's claims, is more

persuasive ... Martin's claims are

pre-empted by section 301(a). Accordingly,

it is for an arbiter to determine either 1)

whether the CBA affords a right to be

rehired or 2) whether the existing provisions

of the CBA in fact apply to Martin's claims.

App. 15a.

The First Circuit's Decision On Appeal

On July 18, 1996, Martin filed an appeal with the

United States Court of Appeals for the District of

Massachusetts, seeking reversal of the district court order

BR, 4

and an order to remand the matter to the state court from

which it originated.

On January 28, 1997, the Court of Appeals

affirmed the decision of the District Court. The First

Circuit predicated its decision on "whether resolution of

Martin's claims would require an interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement." The First Circuit found

that the proviso in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter

152, Sections 75A and 75B(3), which provides, "in the

event any right set forth in this section is inconsistent with

an applicable collective bargaining agreement.' the

agreement shall prevail" was in effect an element of

Martin's state law claim, rather than an affinmative

defense to be raised by the defendant. Following upon

this construction, the Court relied upon a boiler-plate

management rights clause to find "that under Supreme

Court and First Circuit precedent, Martin's state law

claims are pre-empted. "This is not because the collective

bargaining agreement is inconsistent with the state claims

asserted, but because it may be so and requires

interpertation." (App.) 9a. With this ruling, the Court

extinguished all of Martin's state law claims for

preference in rehiring and for damages for retaliation and

discrimination on account of her status as an injured

worker, and her previous use of workers compensation

benefits. Because she was not covered by the Collective

Bargaining Agreement when’ she _ applied for

reemployment, Martin had no_ access to the

grievance-arbitration process to challenge Shaw's refusal

to rehire her.

On February 21, 1997, Martin filed a Petition for

Rehearing or Rehearing En Banc, which petition was

denied on February 28, 1997. App. 16a. On May 17,

1997, Martin filed a Motion to extend the time for the

filing of the Writ of Certiorari with the United States

-8-

Supreme Court until June 9, 1997; the motion was

granted on May 22, 1997.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

i. THE COURT OF APPEALS' RULING IN THIS

CASE PERPETUATES A _ SPLIT IN THE

CIRCUITS ON THE IMPORTANT MATTER OF

SECTION 301 PRE-EMPTION OF STATE

GRANTED EMPLOYMENT RIGHTS.

The central issue in this case is whether a state law

granting certain rights to injured workers is completely

pre-empted by the existence of a collective bargaining

agreement that is silent on the subject matter of the

Statute, simply because the statute yields generally to

"inconsistent" provisions, if any, of an applicable

collective bargaining agreement. In a series of cases

decided over the last decade, this Court has addressed the

subject of federal pre-emption of state law claims asserted

by members or former members of collective bargaining

units, and has rejected the overreaching application of

pre-emption embraced by the First Circuit here. Indeed,

the First Circuis's application of pre-emption in the

circumstances of this case has the anomalous result of

depriving a citizen of her state granted rights or any

remedy, solely because of her former participation in

collective bargaining, and would likewise disenfranchise

any current meraber of the collective bargaining unit

because of the mere existence and thus "possible

inconsistency" of a collective bargaining agreement.

Because this decision is in conflict with decisions of other

United States Courts of Appeals on this matter of

importance to states and their workers, and because this

decision conflicts with this Court's most recent decisions

on the subject, this Court should grant a writ of certiorari

-9-

to the First Circuit for the purpose of resolving the

continuing split in the Circuits concerning the proper

reach of Section 301 pre-emption and in order to conform

the First Circuit's pre-emption jurisprudence to that of

this Court.

This case was foretold by this Court in a footnote

to its most recent decision concerning pre-emption of state

law claims by Section 301 of the Labor Management

Relations Act ("LMRA"), 29 U.S.C. § 185 ("Section 301").

See, Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. 107, 124, n. 18, 114

S.Ct. 2068, 2078, n. 18, 129 L.Ed.2d 93 (1994).' There,

the Court noted:

We are aware...that the Courts of Appeals

have not been entirely uniform in their

understanding and application of the

principles set down in Lingle and Lueck’.

But this case . . . is not a fit occasion for us

to resolve disagreements that have arisen

over the proper scope of our earlier *

decisions.

Id. Among the scenarios giving rise to invocations of

pre-emption, this Court specified "the argument. . . that

In Livadas, this Court held as pre-empted by federal

law the California Labor Commissioner's policy construing

state law to bar enforcement of California's wage payment

statute if the terms and conditions of an employee's

employment were governed by a_ collective-barzaining

agreement providing for arbitration.

. Lingle v. Norge Division of Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S.

399, 108 S.Ct. 1877, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988) (finding no

pre-emption of state tort action alleging termination in

retaliation for filing a worker's compensation claim).

; Allis-Chalmers vy. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 105 S.Ct. 1904,

85 L.Ed.2d 206 (1985) (finding pre-emption of state tort action

alleging bad faith handling of claim filed under collectively

bargained disability plan).

-10-

a plaintiff's ciaim cannot be_ 'resolved' absent

collective-bargaining agreement interpretation, i.e., that a

term of the agreernent may or does confer a defense on the

employer (perhaps because the employee or his union has

negotiated away the state law right) [citation omitted]."

Id. Such is Shaw's contention, essentially adopted by the

First Circuit, ane this case thus provides "a fit occasion"

for the Court to resolve the conflict and disarray among

the Circuits on these issues of import to the States and the

citizens they seex to protect. Indeed in seeking this

petition for certiorari Martin, invokes this Court's counsel

that "[hJjolding the plaintiff's cause of action substantively

extinguished may not . . . always be the only means of

vindicating the arbitrator's primacy as the bargained for

contract-interpreter. [Citation omitted]." Id.

The First Circuit's overbroad approach to

‘pre-emption in this matter perpetuates the conflicts within

the Circuits on at least two aspects of Section 301

pre-emption. First, the First Circuit's decision here

conflicts squarely with the Seventh Circuit's treatment of

state claims under a workers' compensation statute that,

like Massachusetts' Workers' Compensation Law,

expressly defers to the terms of a collective bargaining

agreement, if present. See, Kohl's Food Stores v. State of

Wisconsin and Hyland, 32 F.3d 1075, 1077 (7th Cir. 1994)

(although statute provides that collective bargaining

agreement governs in determining availability of suitable

work, determination of whether suitable work available

does not "turn upon" reading of the collective bargaining

agreement for purposes of pre-emption). Despite this

Court's recent (and consistent) guidance on the issue, the

First Circuit, unlike the Seventh Circuit, persists in

reading such a statutory provision to transform the "legal

character" of any claim brought under the statute from

one based on_ state-granted minimum employment

standards to one founded on or dependent on analysis of

-11-

contractual rights, and thus wholly pre-empted and

extinguished. See Livadas, 512 U.S. at 123, 114 S.Ct. at

2078 ("legal character" of claim determines whether state

cause of action goes forward).

Second, and even more striking, moreover, the

First Circuit's construction of such a proviso to transform

an otherwise independent state claim into a dependent,

and thus pre-empted, federal claim works an injustice of

constitutional proportions, as this Court held in Livadas.

In this regard, the First Circuit's application of

pre-emption, like the Labor Commissioner's

non-enforcement policy in Livadas, flowed from an

"honest (though flagrant) mistake of law, [citation

omitted]," Livadas, 512 U.S. at 116, n.10, 114 S.Ct. at

2074, n. 10. Otherwise stated, the First Circuit construed

the state rule to require § 301 pre-emption with a result

that "predicated benefits on refraining from conduct

protected by federal labor law," a principle this Court

found in Livadas to violate the policies of so-talled

Machinists “pre-emption precludes state action that acts

either to encourage or discourage participation in the

collective bargaining process. See, Metropolitan Life

4

So-called Machinists pre-emption applies to protect

against state interference with conduct intended by Congress in

the LMRA to remain unregulated and thus subject to the free

play of economic forces. Machinists v. Wisconsin Employment

Relations Commission, 427 U.S. 132, 96 S.Ct. 2548, 49 L.Ed.2d

396 (1976). Otherwise stated, Machinists pre-emption

precludes state action that acts either to encourage or

discourage participation in the collective bargaining process.

See, Metropolitan Life Insurance Company vy. Massachusetts,

471 U.S. 724, 755, 105 S.Ct. 2380, 2397, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985)

(state law not pre-empted where it "neither encourage[s] nor

discourage[s] the collective bargaining processes"); see also,

Livadas, 512 U.S. at 117, n. 11, 114 S.Ct. at 2074-2075. n. 11.

‘2.

Insurance Company vy. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 755,

105 S.Ct. 2380, 2397, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985) (state law not

pre-empted where it "neither encourage[s] nor

discourage[s] the collective bargaining processes"); see

also, Livadas, 512 U.S. at 117, n. 11, 114 S.Ct. at

2074-2075, n. 11. pre-emption. At the same time the

First Circuit ignored this Court's cautionary approach to

extinguishing state law claims and its counselling of

alternatives that wphold the policies and purposes of § 301

pre-emption. Livadas, 512 U.S. at 123-124, n. 17, n. 18,

114 S.Ct. at 2078. n. 17, n. 18.°

Finally, in finding all of Martin's state law claims

pre-empted on the mere assertion that a collective

bargaining agreement "may be" "inconsistent" with the

State rights asserted, App. 9a (emphasis in original), the

First Circuit continues the disarray among the Circuits as

to whether a defendant may remove and extinguish a

plaintiff's state law claims merely by articulating the

possibility of a contractually-based defense. In this

regard, the First Circuit is joined by the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals. while the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,

and Seventh have, since this Court's Livadas decision,

issued opinions declining to pre-empt state claims based

on employers' defensive assertions that contractual

interpretation may defeat the plaintiff's claims. See,

Davis v. Johnson Controls, Inc., 21 F.3d 866, 868 (8th

Cir. 1994) (state handicap discrimination claim

pre-empted where employer asserts contractual seniority

provisions govern availability of position for plaintiff).

Compare, Gay v. Carlson, 60 F.3d 83 (2d Cir. 1995) (no

pre-emption of state tort claims by mandatory arbitration

: This Court suggested the view that the proper course in

such instances is not complete preemption, but rather state

court application of federal law or, alternatively, referral of the

contractual issue to an arbitrator. Livadas, 512 U.S. at

123-124, n.17, n.18, 114 S.Ct. 2078, n.17, n.18.

ae oe es ith “ en

-}2>

of disputes under Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. $ 181);

Martin Marietta Corporation, Aero & Naval Systems v.

Maryland Commission on Human Relations, 38 F.34 1392

(4th Cir. 1994) (no pre-emption of state retaliatory

discharge or failure to rehire claims despite collective

bargaining agreement provisions on related subjects);

Loewen Group International, Inc. v. Haberichter, 65 F.3d

1417, (7th Cir. 1995) (no pre-emption of state contract

action under individual employment agreement despite

employee defendant's assertion that collective bargaining

agreement may conflict with individual employment

contract); Hirras_v. National Railroad Passenger

Corporation, d/b/a/ Amtrak, 44 F.3d 278 (5th Cir. 1995)

(on remand from this Court, no emphasis of state tort

claim under Railway Labor Act).

The Conflict Over The Pre-emptive Effect, If Any, Of State

Statutory Provisions Deferring To Collective Bargaining

Agreements. :

To find all of Ms. Martin's statutory claims for

rehiring preference and non-retaliation pre-empted, the

First Circuit relies expressly on the statute's proviso that

"fin the event any right set forth in this section is

inconsistent with an applicable collective bargaining

agreement," the agreement shall prevail. App. 6a-7a,

quoting, Mass. Gen. L. ch. 152, § 75A. The First Circuit

stated,

It is very doubtful whether, without this

last-quoted proviso, Shaw's would have any

plausible claim of federal preemption.

Massachusetts has an independent interest

in regulating injury compensation; and

apart from the proviso, the elements of both

Martin's state-law claims appear to be

independent of bargaining agreement

-14-

provisions. . . . Rather, Shaw's argues that

Massachusetts has as a matter of state law

chosen to make the substantive rights

conferred »y the statutes depend upon their

not being "inconsistent" with a labor

agreement. This court endorsed just such a

reading of the proviso ... in Magerer v.

John Sexton & Co., 912 F.2d 525, 529-30

(Ist Cir. 1990). And Magerer merely holds

Massachusetts to the literal wording of its

own statute.

App. 7a.

The First Circuit's view of the pre-emptive

consequence of such a proviso is in direct conflict with

that of the Seventh Circuit, which has held an essentially

identical proviso not to compel complete pre-emption of a

state statutory workers' compensation claim. In Kohl's

Food Stores _v. State of Wisconsin and Hyland, the

Seventh Circuit reviewed a decision by the Wisconsin

Labor and Industry Review Commission ("Commission")

that the defendant employer had violated Wisconsin's

Worker's Compensation Act by refusing to rehire the

plaintiff for his cld job. Kohl's Food Stores v. State of

Wisconsin and Hyland, 32 F.3d 1075, 1076 (7th Cir. 1994)

(hereinafter, “Kohl's Food Stores"). The Wisconsin

statute provided, in pertinent part:

Any employer who without reasonable cause

refuses to hire an employee . . . where

suitable employment is available within the

employee's physical and mental limitations .

. has exclusive liability to pay to the

employee the wages lost during the period of

such refusal . . . [IJm determining the

availability of suitable employment the

continuance in business of the employer

shall be considered and any _ collective

-15-

bargaining agreement with respect to

seniority shall govern.

Kohl's Food Stores, 32 F.3d at 1077 (emphasis added).

The plaintiff Hyland claimed, and the Wisconsin Labor

and Industry Review Commission ("Commission") found,

that Kohl's had violated the statute by refusing to rehire

Hyland to his old job without justification. Id., 32 }I'.3d at

1076.

In analyzing Hyland's claim, and the employer's

pre-emption defense, the Seventh Circuit began with the

elements of the state claim as set forth by state courts.

Kohl's Food Stores, 32 F.3d at 1077-1078. After an initial

showing by the plaintiff, Wisconsin courts construed the

state law to impose on the employer the burden to show

"(1) that the employee could not do the work . . . applied

for; and (2) that no other suitable work was available."

Id., 32 F.3d at 1078 (emphasis in original) [internal

citation omitted]. Although Kohl's contended Section 301

pre-emption applied because the question of whether

"suitable employment is available" required an

interpretation of the collective bargaining agreemerit then

in force, the Seventh Circuit held the claim was not

preempted merely because the collective bargaining

agreement might be consulted in performing a statutory

inquiry. Id., 32 F.3d at 1078-1079. Rather, the Seventh

Circuit, heeding this Court's teaching in Lingle and the

subsequent clarification provided in Hawaiian Airlines,

Inc. v. Norris, 512 U.S. 246, 114 S.Ct. 2239, 129 L.Ed.2d

203 (1994)°, emphasized the independence of the state

created entitlement from rights granted under the

agreement. Kohl's Food Stores, 32 F.3d at 1078-1079.

’ This Court's decision in Norris issued exactly one week

after that in Livadas. Hawaiian Airlines v. Norris, 512 U.S.

246, 266, 114 S.Ct. 2239, 2251 (1994).

The Seventh Circuit's reasoning in part devolves

from the understanding that a statute's deference to

contractual seniority (or other) provisions does not

transform a state granted right into a right derived from

or substantially dependent on interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement. See, Livadas, 512 U.S.

at 124, 114 S.Ct. at 2078, citing, Lingle, 486 U.S. at 413,

n.12, 108 S.Ct. at 1885, n.12 ("when the meaning of a

contract term is not the subject of dispute, the bare fact

that a collective-bargaining agreement will be consulted in

the course of state-law litigation plainly does not require

the claim to be extinguished"). The First Circuit's opinion

holds otherwise. Despite its citations to this Court's

decisions in Lingle and Livadas, the First Circuit's

reasoning and result ignore the teachings of those cases

and conflict directly with the Seventh Circuit's decision on

a virtually identical issue. In short, to litigate her claims

Martin does not raise any question of what Shaw's and

the Union agreed to in their bargained agreement -- it is

solely the defendant that contends the bargaining

agreement is somehow to be implicated.

Il. THE SIRST CIRCUIT'S DECISION

INTERPRETS THE MASSACHUSETTS

STATUTE TO PENALIZE INDIVIDUALS FOR

THEIR EXERCISE OF COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING RIGHTS BY WITHDRAWING

FROM SUCH PERSONS THE LAW'S

PROTECTIONS AND THUS CONFLICTS WITH

PRIOR DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

The First Circuit's approach to § 301 pre-emption

in this case also stands in direct conflict with this Court's

recent pronouncements on the subject. In the Livadas

case, this Court emphasized repeatedly that "the bare fact

that a collective-bargaining agreement will be consulted in

~}7-

the course of state-law litigation plainly does not require

the claims to be extinguished." Livadas, 512 U.S. at 124,

114 S.Ct. at 2078. See also, id._, 512 U.S. at 123, n.17,

114 S. Ct. at 1078, n. 17. See also, e.g., id. at 207%, n.17

("§ 301 does not disable state courts from interpreting the

terms of collective-bargaining agreements in resolving

nonpre-empted claims"); id., 512 U.S. at 124, n. 18, 134

S.Ct. at 2078, n. 18 (citing Collyer Insulated Wire, Gulf

& Western Systems Co., 192 NLRB 837 (1971)’. It is the

central holding of Livadas, however, that the First

Circuit's statutory construction and application of § 301

pre-emption directly offend.

Since the "modest sprouting" of Section 301

pre-emption announced in Allis-Chalimers v. Lueck, see,

Livadas, 512 U.S. at 122, 114 S.Ct. at 2077, this Court

repeatedly has confined the reach of a doctrine that,

overbroadly applied, intrudes on the traditional police

powers of the states, undermines a_ fundanental

proposition of federal removal jurisdiction, © and

unnecessarily clogs federal dockets with state law cases

reflexively removed from state courts by unionized

employer defendants in state law actions. See, e.g., Fort

Halifax v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, 21, 107 S.Ct. 2211, 2222, 96

L.Ed.2d 1 (1987) ("preemption should not be lightly

inferred" where subject matter "falls within the traditional

police power"); Caterpillar v. Williams, 482 U.S. at 398m

107 S.Ct. at 2433 (presence of a § 301 question in

defensive argument "does not overcome the paramount

policies embodied in the well-pleaded complaint rule").

See also, San Diego Building Trades Council v. Grmon,

359 U.S. 236, 239, 79 S.Ct. 773, 776, 3 L.Ed.2d 775

(1989) (federal law preemption of state law claims gives

7

Collyer stands for the proposition that deferral of a

contractual issue in the first instance to an arbitrator need not

oust the original forum of jurisdiction over the action as a

whole.

-18-

"rise to difficult problems of federal-state relations").

Most recently in Livadas, this Court warned specifically

against according too broad a sweep to Section 301

pre-emption when it struck down a California Labor

Commissioner's policy denying enforcement of a state

wage-payment statute to employees covered by bargaining

agreements containing wage scales and provisions for

grievance arbitration. Livadas, 512 U.S. at 114, 126,

130-131, 114 S.Ct. at 2073, 2080, 2082.

In Livadas this Court ruled the state Department of

Labor's policy was itself preempted by federal labor law

because it disenfranchised employees, based solely upon

their participation in the collective bargaining process,

from the benefits of a state entitlement otherwise available

to all. Livadas, 512 U.S. at 116, 117, n.11, 114 S.Ct. at

2074, 2074, n.1l. As analyzed by the Court, the

Commissioner's policy in effect "presented [the plaintiff]

and others like her with the choice of having state-law

rights...enforced or exercising the right to enter into a

collective bargaining agreement with an arbitration

clause." Livadas, 512 U.S. at 117, 114 S.Ct. at 2075. The

Court also cited its well-settled requirement that any

union waiver of statutory rights must be "clear and

unmistakable'... for a court even to consider whether it

could be given effect." Livadas, 512 U.S. at 125, 114

S.Ct. at 2079. Accordingly, the Court noted there was

"no suggestion here that Livadas's union sought or

purported to bargain away her protections under [the

state statute]... nor...any indication that the parties [to the

CBA]...understood their arbitration pledge to cover these

state-law claims. [Citation omitted]." Id.° Finally, while

. The court also recognized that denying represented

employees basic state granted employment protections

implicitly would "forc{e] employees or employers to bargain for

what they would otherwise be entitled to as a matter of course,"

a result to be avoided. Livadas, 512 U.S. at 130,

-19-

not outlawing state statutes that contain "opt-out"

provisions for unionized employees from

otherwise-provided state statutory rights, this Court made

clear that such opt-outs will be recognized only where they

are explicitly and narrowly drawn. Id.; see also, id. at

2081.

In contrast to this Court's high standard for

recognizing when parties have opted out of a state's "basic

employment guarantees," Livadas, 512 U.S. at 120-131,

114 S.Ct. at 2081-2082, the First Circuit here permitted

undefined potential inconsistencies to trigger 301

pre-emption, extinguish Martin's cla’ms, and leave her

without any remedy. Such a sweeping application of

preemption, however, unconstitutionally infringes on

LMRA rights since virtually every employer with a

collective bargaining agreement may assert that "several

of the CBA provisions ‘could be construed to govern' the

plaintiff's claims...." and thus meet the First Circuit's test

for pre-empting state minimum employment standards. If

allowed to stand, the First Circuit's decision here would

virtually wipe out key protections provided by

Massachusetts' workers' compensation law for any

current or former member of a collective bargainin unit,

and essentially immunize unionized employers from those

provisions' reach. Neither Congress, in Section 301, nor

the Massachusetts Legislature, in Chapter 152, §$ 75A,

75B, could possibly have intended such a result.”

if. THE FIRST CIRCUIT'S DECISION CONTINUES

THE DISARRAY IN THE CIRCUITS OVER

WHETHER SECTION 301 PRE-EMFTION

. See, also, 28 U.S.C. § 1445(c) ("A civil action in any

State court arising under the workmen's compensation laws of

such State may not be removed to any district court of the

United States").

-20-

ARISES ONLY WHEN AN ELEMENT OF A

PLAINTIFF'S CLAIM DEPENDS ON

RESOLUTION OF A CONTRACTUAL ISSUE OR

WHETHER AN ASSERTED DEFENSE MAY

FORCE REMOVAL AND EXTINGUISHMENT

OF A PLAINTIFF'S STATE LAW CLAIMS.

In this case, as in many others, Plaintiff Martin's

state court complaint invoked no right derived from a

collective bargaining agreement. Martin alleged only that

Massachusetts' workers' compensation law entitled her to

preferential consideration for re-employment and

protected her from. retaliation for having previously

enjoyed that law's benefits. In its judgment of dismissal

and opinion, however, the First Circuit accords

completely pre-emptive power to the defendant's

contention that a collective bargaining agreement, which

does not even apply to Martin, may nonetheless provide a

defense to all of Martin's claims. In so doing, the First

Circuit continues the long-standing split in the circuits

concerning the impact of _ collective bargaining

agreement-based defenses on Section 301 pre-emption.

Like the First Circuit, the Eighth Circuit Court of

Appeals adheres to the view that "defenses as well as

claims must be considered in determining whether

resolution of the state law claim requires construing the

collective bargaining agreement." Hanks v. General

Motors Corporation, 859 F.2d 67, 70 (8th Cir. 1988).

Since this Court's decision in Livadas, the Eighth Circuit

found a state handicap discrimination claim pre-empted

where the employer asserted that contractual seniority

provisions governed the availability of suitable work for

the plaintiff. Davis v. Johnson Controls, Inc., 21 F.3d

866, 868 (8th Cir. 1994). As did the First Circuit in

Martin, the Eighth Circuit in Davis pre-empted the state

law plaintiff's claim based solely on the defendants'

-21-

assertions that contractual seniority provisions ‘would

have to be reviewed" in order "to show that Johnson could

have reasonably accommodated [the plaintiff's] request to

return to work." Davis, 21 F.3d at 868. As in Martin,

however, there is not a shred of evidence cited of any

actual, rather than hypothetical, contractual obligation

inconsistent with, or even necessary to the determination

of the plaintiff's state law rights.

In sharp contrast, the Second, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,

and Seventh Circuit Courts of Appeals have, within the

same time frame, issued opinions declining to pre-empt

state claims on the basis of emnployers' asserted

contractually-related defenses. In Gay v. Carlson, for

example, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals relied

heavily on this Court's ruling in Hawaiian Airlines v.

Norris, when it held that "the possibility that reference

may be made to a collective bargaining agreement in

connection with a justification defense...does not give rise

to pre-emption of state law tort claims under the Railway

Labor Act. [citation to Norris omitted].". Gay v. Carlson,

60 F.3d at 87. The Second Circuit acknowledged its

previously expansive view of pre-emption under the

Railway Labor Act "has been called into question by the

Supreme Court's decision in Norris." Gay v. Carlson, 60

F.3d at 83, 88. Heeding this Court's teachings on

pre-emption in both Norris and Livadas, the Second

Circuit properly recognized that despite the possible need

to consult the collective bargaining agreement, "[s]t<te law

provides the only source of the rights asserted by [the

plaintiff]....". Gay v. Carlson, 60 F.3d at 83, 88.

Similarly, the Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals

declined to pre-empt state law contract claims based on an

individual defendant's assertions that the terms of a

collective bargaining agreement conflicted with the terms

of his individual employment contract. Loewen Group

International, Incorporated _v. Haberichter, 65 F.3d,

-22-

1423-24 (7th Cir. 1995). The Seventh Circuit rejected the

Defendant's invocation of Section 301 pre-emption for two

reasons:

First,... the Supreme Court has made clear

that not ail cases which tangentially touch

collective bargaining agreements call for

§301 pre-emption [citation omitted]... It is

true that the Court has indicated that in

some situations a plaintiff's claims cannot be

resolved without substantively interpreting

the terms of a collective bargaining

agreement raised as a defense. [citations to

Caterpillar, 482 U.S. 386, and Livadas,

omitted]... But the Court de-emphasized

the importance of such defenses under §301

and suggested that pre-emption may not be

the only means of _ vindicating the

arbitrator's primacy in these situations.

Livadas, 114 S.Ct. at 2078, n.18.

Second, and more to the point here, merely

examining the collective bargaining

agreement to determine whether a conflict

actually exists is not "interpreting the

collective bargaining agreement for §301

pre-emption purposes. [citation omitted]"

Loewen Group International, 65 F.3d at 1417, 1423. Both

principles underlying the Seventh Circuit's rationale in

Loewen Group International conflict directly with the

First Circuit's reasoning and result in this case.

Joining the Second and Seventh Circuits, the Fourth and

Fifth Circuits have expressly reconsidered their respective

analyses of federal labor pre-emption based on asserted

defenses. In Martin Marietta Corporation, Aero & Naval

Systems v. Maryiand Commission on Human Relations,

38 F.3d 1392, 1401-02 (4th Cir. 1994), the Fourth Circuit

2%

held that neither a retaliatory discharge claim nor a

failure to rehire claim based on disability discrimination

were pre-empted by an applicable collective bargaining

agreement. Even though the collective bargaining

agreement there contained provisions relating to

work-injured employees' absences, conditions for

returning to work, and qualification to perform work, the

Fourth Circuit found no preemption because "if the final

resolution of the state law dispute tangentially irivolves

some interpretation of a provision of the agreement, this

fact alone would not require automatically that Price's

claim be preempted by Section 301." “Martin Marietta, 38

F.3d at 1401. With respect to the the defendant's

collective bargaining agreement-based defense _ to

plaintiff's retaliatory discharge claim, the Fourth Circuit

Stated:

...[I[]t may be that Martin Marietta followed

the terms of the Collective Bargaining

Agreement in terminating Price once he was -

no longer eligible for workers' compensation

benefits, but at the same time it may have

used the CBA terms as a pretext to engage

in retaliatory discharge.

Id. at 1403. Accordingly, the Court fourid no

pre-emption.

In Hirras_v. National Railroad Passenger

Corporation, d/b/a Amtrak, 44 F.3d 278 (5th Cir. 1995),

the Fifth Circuit, on remand from this Court, withdrew

its prior opinion in the same case in which it had affirmed

the district court's dismissal of the plaintiff's state law

claims as pre-empted, and substituted an opinion

reversing such pre-emption and dismissal. Hirras, 44

F.3d at 280. Unlike the First and the Eighth Circuit

Courts of Appeals, the Fifth Circuit understood this Court

in Norris and Livadas to exclude from the reach of Section

-24-

301 pre-emption contractual issues raised as defenses.

Hirras, 44 F.3d at 282-284, 283, n.10.

To add to the already frank confusion, the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals has signaled it may be altering

its application of its standard for determining

"independent" state law rights, in response to the Livadas

decision, even as it putatively adheres to the view that

"potential defenses are also relevant to the pre-emption

analysis." Jimeno v. Mobil Oil Corporation, 66 F.3d

1514, 1523-1524 :9th Cir. 1995) (no pre-emption of state

law claim where claim can be evaluated without reference

to collective bargaining agreement, even if agreement

arguably addresses related subjects). Compare, Utility

Workers v. Southe-= California Edison, 852 F.2d 1083,

1086-1087 (9th Cir. .988); Laws vy. Calmat, 852 F.2d 430,

433 (9th Cir. 1988) (Both cases holding employee's state

law privacy claim pre-empted when defendant employer

asserts waiver of privacy right by management rights

clause or other provision of collective bargaining

agreement).

The above cases, issued since this Court's decisions

in Livadas and Norris, reflect the persistent confusion and

conflict over the ability of a defendant to remove and

extinguish a state law plaintiff's claims simply by asserting

a contractual defense. See, also, e.g. Smolarek v.

Chrysler Corporation, 879 F.2d 1326, 1334 (6th Cir.) (en

banc) cert. denied, 493 U.S. 992, 110 S.Ct. 539 (1989)

(that defendant may "assert that its treatment of [plaintiff]

was allowed or required by the terms of the collective

bargaining agre¢ment...does not support removal to

federal court"); Local No. 57 v. Bechtel Power Corp, 834

F.2d 884, 889 (10th Cir. 1987) (even if state court "would

find the collective bargaining agreement relevant to show

waiver or consent as a state law defense to plaintiffs'

allegations," no complete Section 301 pre-emption of state

law claim). The persistence of such disarray on an issue

-25-

implicating the important matters of federalism, state

police power, and federal court jurisdiction -learly

warrants this Court's intervention and guidance.

This split over the reach of Section 301 pre-emption

endures despite the fact that this Court has addressed the

issue directly. In Caterpillar, Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S.

386, 398-399, 107 S.Ct. 2425, 2432-2433, 96 L.Ed. 2d 318

(1987), this Court squarely held that a defense based on

interpretation of a § 301 contract does not trigger

complete § 301 pre-emption for purposes of remcval of

state law claims from state court. Caterpillar, Id. This

Court held:

It is true that when a defense to a state

claim is based on the terms of a collective

bargaining agreement, the state court will

have to interpret that agreement to decide

whether the state claim survives. But the

presence of a federal question, even a § 301

question, in a defensive argument does not *

overcome the paramount policies embodied

in the well-pleaded complaint rule... .

When a plaintiff invokes a right created by

a__collective bargaining agreement, the

plaintiff has chosen to plead what we have

held must be regarded as a fe-deral claim,

and removal is at the defendant's option.

But a defendant cannot, merely _by injecting

a federal question into an action that asserts

what is plainly a state-law claim, transform

the action into one arising under federal law

. . . .[citations and note omitted].

Id. (emphasis added).

Although one passage in this Court's Lingle

opinion arguably could be read to endorse consideration

of defenses in determining whether contract interpretation

or application is "required" to decide a state law claim, in

26.

Livadas this Court emphatically endorsed the vitality of

Caterpillar's holding. See, Lingle, 486 U.S. at 407, 108

S.Ct. at 1882. (surveying elements of state law defense

before concluding that resolution of state law claim does

not require construing the collective bargaining

agreement); Livadas, 512 U.S. at 124, n.18, 114 S.Ct. at

2078, n.18. Thus in Livadas this court cited expressly to

the holding of Caterpillar in a discussion of the very

circumstances prompting invocation of preemption here,

"that a plaintiff's claim cannot be ‘resolved' absent

collective-bargaining agreement interpretation, i.e. that a

term of the agreement may or does confer a defense...."

Livadas, 512 U.S. at 124, n. 18, 114 S.Ct. at 2078, n.18.

After citing to Caterpillar's reversal of preemption and

removal on that basis, this Court, as noted earlier, supra,

opined that "[hjolding the plaintiff's cause of action

sustantively extinguished may not always be only means of

vindicating the arbitrator's primacy as bargained for

contract-interpretet." Id.

Caterpillar's rule foreclosing complete pre-emption

based on a defendant's raising a contractual defense is

consistent not only with principles of federal removal

jurisdiction, Franchise Tax Board v. Construction

Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 12 (1983), Gully v.

First National Bank, 299 U.S. 109, 112-113 (1936), but

also with the purposes underlying Section 301

pre-emption. Section 301, by its terms and by this

Court's construction, provides federal jurisdiction and

federal substantive law where a plaintiff seeks to

adjudicate contract-based rights, either in form or in

substance. 29 U.S.C. § 185(a); Livadas, 512 U.S. at

123-124, 114 S.Ct. at 2078. | Unless Section 301

pre-emption is similarly limited to those cases where a

plaintiff seeks to adjudicate a contract-based right,

defendants may virtually extinguish state law causes of

action and leave plaintiffs remedyless, simply by invoking

-27-

a collective bargaining agreement-related defense, whether

the asserted defense be arguably meritorious or entirely

frivolous.

The fact that Martin here is left without a remedy

thus should weigh heavily rather than cursorily in the

First Circuit's analysis. App 10a _ ("Pre-einption

sometimes does result in a complete denial of remedies for

obvious wrong, e.g. Smith v. Dunham Bush, Inc., 959

F.2d 6, 11 (2nd Cir. 1992)"). The First Circuit's citation

to Smith v. Dunham Bush, Inc. is not on point, as Smith

concerns pre-emption of state law claims by Section 514(a)

of ERISA."© Smith, 959 F.2d at 11. Unlike ERISA's

statutory pre-emption as enacted by “ongress, however,

Section 301 pre-emption arose as a judicial creation,

inferred from the LMRA's grant of federal jurisdiction

for suits claiming violation of a collective bargaining

agreement. See, Livadas, 512 at 121-125, U.S. 114. S.Ct.

at 2077-2079; Allis-Chalmers v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202,

208-212, 1055 S.Ct. 1904, 1909-1911 (1985). While

Congress intended in ERISA to foreclose any remedy not

expressly provided in the federal statute, the policy

underlying Section 301 pre-emption in fact derives

substantially part from the availability of an alternative

(contractual) remedy to the state law claims pre-einpted.

Id. There was never any Congressional purpose or intent

expressed in Section 301 to foreclose state law remedies

absent the parties' agreement to arbitrate a particular

dispute as it concerned a particular member of the

bargaining unit covered by the collective bargaining

agreement. The First Circuit's willingness here to leave

Martin without an alternative remedy under the collective

bargaining agreement violates the very purposes

animating Section 301 pre-emption. See, also, e.g.,

Section 514(a) provides that ERISA shall "supersede

any and all State laws insofar as they may now or hereafter

relate to any employee benefit plan." 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a).

-28-

Franchise Tax Board of the State of California v.

Construction Laborers Vacation Trust for Southern

California, 463 W.S. 1, 26, 103 S.Ct. 2841, 2855, 77

L.Ed.2d 420 (1983) ("ERISA does not provide an

alternative cause of action in favor of the State to enforce

its rights, while § 301 expressly supplie(s] the plaintiff. . .

with a federal cause of action to replace its pre-empted

state contract claim").

IV. THE FIRST CIRCUIT'S APPLICATION OF

SECTION 301 PRE-EMPTION TO EXTINGUISH

THE STATE LAW CLAIMS OF A PERSON NOT

COVERED BY A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

AGREEMENT IS UNPRECEDENTED.

Finally, there is simply no precedent for the

extraordinary holding of the First Circuit that Section 301

pre-emption applies in a state law cause of action brought

by an individual not covered by a collective bargaining

agreement at the time her state law claims arose. On the

contrary, in every case known to the Petitioner, where the

question of § 301 pre-emption even colorably arises, the

threshhold question of the plaintiff's coverage by a

collective bargaining agreement has been asked and

answered in the affirmative. See, e.g., Allis-Chalmers v.

Lueck, 471 U.S. 202, 202-204, 218 (1985) (plaintiff a

member of bargaining unit covered by _ collective

bargaining agreement at time of dispute over health

insurance benefits granted by contract); Lingle, 486 U.S.

at 401, 108 S.Ct. at 1879. ("The question presented in this

case is whether an employee covered by a

collective-bargaining agreement that provides her with a

contractual remedy for discharge without just cause may

enforce her state law remedy for retaliatory discharge");

Livadas v. Bradshaw, 512 U.S. at 110, 114 S.Ct. at 2071

(1994) (terms and conditions of employment of discharged

-29-

wage claimant covered by _ collective bargaining

agreement); Quesnel vy. Prudential Insurance Company,

66 F.3d 8, 11 (Ist Cir. 1995) (where resolution of

plaintiff's wrongful termination claims depend on

contractually established compensation rates, inter alia,

"his claims are preempted if [plaintiff] is indeed subject to

the CBA's terms"); Magerer v. John Sexton & Co., 912

F.2d 525, 528, 529 (Ist Cir. 1990) ("the record

conclusively demonstrates that plaintiff's emplcyment

became subject to a collective bargaining agreement,"

[which] "agreement provides standards to govern the

conduct underlying plaintiff's retaliatory discharge

claim"); Jackson v. Liquid Carbonic Corp., 863 F.2d 111

(ist Cir. 1988) ("[plaintiff] was a part of the bargaining

unit" covered by a CBA and "was obligated to grieve --

not sue... .").

To suggest that the Collective Bargaining

Agreement can create a conflict between the rights Ms.

Martin asserts and the Agreement when Ms. Martin was

neither subject to nor covered by the Agreement

foreshadows the absurd result of applying Secticn 301

preemption to virtually any individual who applies for

work with Shaw's or any other unionized employer in

Massachusetts. Since virtually every labor contract

contains a management rights article, seniority provision,

and/or recall from layoff clause, the First Circuit's

decision effectively states that Mass. Gen. L. ch. 152, $§

75A and B, important state law protections for injured

workers, may be rendered meaningless even where the

formerly injured worker is neither subject to nor covered

by a collective bargaining agreement and thus has no

alternative remedy.

-30-

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the Court should

grant this Petition. for a Writ of Certiorari and summarily

reverse the judgment of the First Circuit Court of

Appeals, or, in the alternative, grant certiorari and grant

plenary review.

Respectfully submitted,

Scott ‘W. Lang

Scott W. Lang*

Susan Forgue Weiner

Lang, Xifaras & Bullard, P.A.

115 Orchard Street

New Bedford, Massachusetts 02740

(508) 992-1270

Betsy L. Earenberg

Angoff, Goldman, Manning, Pyle & Wanger, P.C.

24 School Street

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Marsha S. Berzon

Altshuler & Berzon

177 Post Street, Suite 800

San Francisco, California 94108

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 96-1863

THERESA MARTIN,

Plaintiff, Appellant,

Vv.

SHAW'S SUPERMARKETS, INC.,

Defendant, Appellee.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

(Hon. Morris E. Lasker,* Senior U.S. District Judge]

Before

Selya, Circuit Judge,

Aldrich, Senior Circuit Judge,

and Boudin, Circuit Judge.

Scott W. Lang with whom Susan Forgue Weiner and

Lang, Xifaras & Bullard, P.A., Lisa M. Sheehan, Kate

Mitchel! & Associates, Betsy L. Ehrenberg and Angoff,

Goldman, Manning, Pyle & Wanger, P.C. were on briefs

for appellant.

Betsy L. Ehrenberg with whom Harold L. Lichten and

Angoff, Goldman,

Manning, Pyle & Wanger, P.C. were on brief for United

Food and Commercial Workers Local Union 791 and

National Employment Lawyers Association,

Massachusetts Chapter, Amici Curiae.

. Of the Southern District of New York, sitting by

designation.

2a

Duane R. Batista with whom Sharon R. Burger and

Nutter, McClennen & Fish, LLP were on brief for

appellee.

January 28, 1997

BOUDIN, Circuit Judge. This case, presenting a

difficult preemption issue, began in January 1996 when

Theresa Martin sued Shaw's Supermarkets, Inc., in

Massachusetts state court for alleged violations of state

employment-compensation laws. Martin, an employee of

Shaw's since 1979, had injured her back in August 1994

while working as a bakery clerk. In September 1994, she

began receiving workers' compensation benefits for

temporary total disability. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 152, § 34.

In March 1995, Shaw's requested that Martin's

physician, Dr. James Coleman, establish any necessary

work restrictions for Martin. Coleman gave Shaw's a list

of physical restrictions and indicated that Martin could

return to work if these restrictions were respected.

Shaw's then asked Martin to see a second doctor. Based

on the second examination, Shaw's offered Martin four

weeks of modified duty, to be followed by return to her

former position without restrictions.

Martin did not return to work. Instead, through her

attorney, she again asked for a position fitting the

restrictions set by Coleman. Shaw's responded by again

offering Martin her former position with no restrictions.

When discussion failed to resolve the matter, Shaw's sent

Martin a letter in September 1995 informing her that she

was terminated. The letter referred to Shaw's "policy

3a

and contract language concerning extended periods of

absence."

On October 19, 1995, Martin reapplied for full-time

employment with Shaw's, requesting a position with

duties modified as Coleman had recommended. ‘Shaw's

did not respond. Later in the month, Martin's union filed

a grievance on her behalf under its collective bargaining

agreement with Shaw's, alleging that Martin had been

unjustly terminated and requesting her reinstatement

with reasonable accommodations.

Three months later, Martin filed the present action in

Massachusetts state court, claiming that Shaw's had

violated Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 152, §§ 75A, 75Bi2), by

failing to rehire her. These sections provide, respectively,

that an employee who lost her job as a result of

compensable injury must be given rehiring preference by

the former employer over non-employee applicants, id.

§ 75A, and that no employer may refuse to hire an

employee because she asserted a workers' compensation

claim, id. § 75B(2). Martin's suit did not contest ‘Shaw's

right to discharge her in the first instance.

In March 1996, Shaw's removed the action to federal

court, premising jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1321, and

moved to dismiss, Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6). The district

court granted Shaw's motion, agreeing that Martin's

claims were preempted by section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 185. Martin now

appeals this ruling. The sole issue on appeal is whether

section 301 preempts Martin's state-law claims.

The asserted jurisdictional basis for

removal--preemption--might appear to offend the

well-pleaded complaint rule, but where section 301

preemption is concerned, the Supreme Court has held

that removal is proper. Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482

U.S. 386, 393-94 (1987).

4a

Section 301 modestly provides only that "|sjuits for

violation of contracts between an employer and a labor

organization representing employees ... may be brought

in any district court of the United States having

jurisdiction of the parties... ." 29 U.S.C. § 185. But

jurisdiction begat substantive authority. In Textile

Workers v. Linceln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 451 (1957), the

Supreme Court ruled that this section "authorizes federal

courts to fashion a body of federal law for the

enforcement of .. . collective bargaining agreements."

In turn, substaative authority gave rise to preemption.

In Teamsters v. Lucas Flour Co., 369 U.S. 95, 103 (1962),

the Supreme Court held that state law is displaced when

courts are "called upon to enforce" collective bargaining

agreements, because those agreements should be

governed by federal doctrine, rather than varying state

contract-law principles. Then, two decades later, the

Supreme Court said that "the pre-emptive effect of § 301

must extend beyond [state-law] suits alleging contract

violations." Allis-Chalmers Corp. v. Lueck, 471 U.S. 202,

210 (1985).

Just how far beyond has never been precisely settled.

Allis-Chalmers preempted a state-law tort claim closely

relating to the handling of a labor-agreement grievance.

Shortly thereafter the Court declared that state-law

claims--seemingly of whatever character--are preempted

if they “require construing the collective-bargaining

2egreement." Lingle v. Norge Div. of Magic Chef. Inc..

486 U.S. 399, 407 (1988). Yet recently, the Supreme

Court cautioned that section 301 "cannot be read broadly

to pre-empt nonnegotiable rights conferred on individual

employees as a matter of state law." Livadas v.

Bradshaw, 114 S. Ct. 2068, 2078 (1994).

Nevertheless, Livadas repeated the basic test laid down

by Lingle--namely, that section 301 preempts a state-law

Sa

claim wherever a court, in passing upon the asserted

state-law claim, would be required to interpret a

plausibly disputed provision of the collective bargaining

agreement. Id. At first blush, this might seem a puzzling

test: both state and federal courts have authority to

enforce collective bargaining agreements, and so to

interpret their provisions. See Charles Dowd Box Co. v.

Courtney, 368 U.S. 502, 506 (1962).

The explanation lies in the Supreme Court's concern to

enforce arbitration clauses, almost always a feature of

labor contracts. If judges construed labor agreements in

the first instance, the Court believed that the arbitration

process would be undermined, and there might be

divergent readings of the labor agreement and

interference with the grievance process itself. Livadas,

114 S. Ct. at 2078; Allis-Chalmers, 471 U.S. at 219. Such

an arbitration clause is present in this case.

We thus begin by asking, as we have done in the.past,

e.g., Quesnel v. Prudential Ins. Co., 66 F.3d 8, 10-11 (ist

Cir. 1995), whether resolution of Martin's claims would

require an interpretation of the collective bargaining

agreement. Our premise is that this means a real

interpretive dispute and not merely a pretended dispute.

Indeed, the Supreme Court has said that the need merely

to refer in passing to the agreement will not necessarily

preempt. Livadas, 114 S. Ct. at 2078.

Martin has alleged violations of Mass. Gen. Laws ch.

152, §§ 75A, 75B(2). Section 75A creates a priority for

rehiring:

Any person who has lost a job as a

result of an injury compensable under

this chapter shall be given preference

in hiring by the employer for whom

he worked at the time of compensable

injury over any persons not at the

6a

time of application for reemployment

employed by such employer;

provided, however, that a suitable job

is available.

The relevant portion of section 75B(2)--a conventional

prohibition against retaliation--states that "[n]o employer

. Shall. . . refuse to hire or in any other manner

discriminate against an employee because the employee

has exercised a right afforded by this [workers

compensation] chapter."

If the statutes stopped here, this might be a different

case. But both statutory sections also contain a proviso

that "[iJn the event any right set forth in this section is

inconsistent with an applicable collective bargaining

agreement," the agreement shall prevail. Id. §§ 75A,

75B(3). Shaw's argues that both of Martin's statutory

claims are inconsistent with the labor agreement; that

resolution of this “inconsistency" charge requires

interpretation of the agreement; and that the claims are

therefore preempted under the Supreme Court's own

rubric.

It is very doubtful whether, without this last-quoted

proviso, Shaw's would have any plausible claim of federal

preemption. Massachusetts has an independent interest

in regulating injury compensation; and apart from the

proviso, the elements of both Martin's state-law claims

appear to be independent of bargaining agreement

provisions. There are other types of labor preemption,

apart from Lingle's “require construing" test,’ but

2

Broadly speaking, most cases of preemption in

tne labor field involve conflict, or potential conflict,

between state law and federal labor policy. But

sometimes the conflict arises out of some source other

than the need to interpret a labor agreement. E.g.,

7a

Shaw's does not argue that Martin's state claims would be

preempted absent the proviso.

Rather, Shaw's argues that Massachusetts has as a

matter of state law chosen to make the substantive rights

conferred by the statutes depend upon their not being

"inconsistent" with a labor agreement. This court

endorsed just such a reading of the proviso of section 75B,

which is identical in substance to the provision of section

75A, in Magerer v. John Sexton & Co., 912 F.2d 525,

529-30 (ist Cir. 1990). And Magerer merely holds

Massachusetts to the literal wording of its own statute.

The question remains whether Shaw's labor agreement

is colorably inconsistent with Martin's state-law claims.

Shaw's best argument rests upon the agreement's

“management rights" clause, which states that ‘Shaw's

has the "sole right to manage its business including...

the right|] . . . to hire, assign and promote Employees."

Shaw's says that Martin is a former employee seeking to

be rehired, that the agreement regulates this subject (but

not in a way that protects Martin in this case), and that in

all other respects the union has agreed to management's

right to choose which former employees to rehire.

Martin responds that the management rights" clause

cannot be inconsistent with her state-law claims in this

case because she is no longer covered by the agreement.

Yet the agreement does give former Shaw's employees

some specific priority rights to be rehired. See Collective

Bargaining Agreement Art. 12(B) ("Full-time employees

laid off because of lack of work when no other full-time

work is available shall be offered part-time work [if

available] ...."'). And the "management rights" clause

by its terms embraces decisions as to hiring.

Martin next says that Shaw's employee handbook

Livadas; San Diego Bldg. Trades Council v. Garmon, 359

U.S. 236 (1959).

8a

guarantees to her the very right to priority in rehiring

established by section 75A. The handbook does contain

language that is fairly close to the rehiring priority

contained in section 75A, suggesting that Shaw's itself

treats this priority right (although not necessarily the

protection against retaliation) as consistent with its

"management rights" clause. But for purposes of

construing the “management rights" clause, the

handbook is at best a gloss.

Whether the handbook does constitute a gloss and, if

so, what weight it should be given are issues of

interpreting the collective bargaining agreement. The

handbook may well weaken Shaw's reliance on the

"management rights" clause; but the handbook may

simply be a reference to state law, whose application

Shaw's has now rethought in the face of litigation. To

entertain Martin's state-law claims would still require a

court to interpret the agreement, which is precisely what

Supreme Court precedents forbid. Accord Magerer, 912

F.2d at 530.

Martin next asserts that any waiver of statutory rights

by a union and management in a collective bargaining

agreement must be "clear and _ unmistakable."

See Livadas, 114 S. Ct. at 2079 (citations omitted). But

Shaw's preemption claim does not depend upon a

"waiver" of statutory protections; indeed, it is unclear

under Massachusetts law that the statutory protections

can be "waived." Cf. Mass. Gen. Laws ch. 152, § 75B(3)

(limiting waiver). Rather, the statutes themselves

expressly withhcld protection where it would be

"inconsistent" with labor agreements, without requiring

the inconsistency to be "clear and unmistakable."

We conclude that under Supreme Court and First

Circuit precedent, Martin's state law claims are

preempted. This is not because the collective bargaining

9a

agreement is inconsistent with the state claims asserted,

but because it may be so and requires interpretation. We

could ourselves remove the doubt by interpreting the

agreement one way or the other, but this course has been

foreclosed in deference to the arbitration clause. As all of

this appears to follow logically, the question remains why

the outcome may seem faintly troubling.

One reason is that Massachusetts’ statutory proviso,

making the rights conferred yield to inconsistent labor

agreements, may be producing some results that the

legislature did not intend. When the statutes’ were

enacted in December 1985, Massachusetts might have

thought that the proviso was necessary to avoid

preemption; the legislature might be chagrined to

discover that the proviso has unnecessarily curtailed

workers' rights. But this is at best a debatable

inference, preempted). and we have found no helpful

legislative history. :

Possibly, the proviso could be construed to require

more than mere inconsistency. Or a state court could

hold that the rights conferred yield only to highly specific

provisions in a labor agreement and not to a generic

"management rights" clause. But both readings would

ignore the explicit language of the proviso. Perhaps the

state did intend to defer to the labor agreement even

where it assisted the employer. Despite the clear warning

sent by Magerer in 1990, Massachusetts has not chosen to

’ Shortly before the legislature acted in 1985, the

Supreme Court made clear that section 301 does not "give

the substantive provisions of private agreements the force

of federal law, ousting any inconsistent state regulation."

Allis-Chalmers, 471 U.S. at 212. See also Metropolitan

Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 755-56 (1985)

(holding that state mandated-benefits laws were not

generally preempted).

10a

amend the statutes.

The other reason why the outcome may seem troubling

is that it could result in Martin having no claim at all

against Shaw's, even for retaliation. This charge is, of

course, merely an allegation; but even if it proved to have

substance, it would be preempted because of the collective

bargaining agreement, and yet the agreement may itself

provide no remedy. Preemption sometimes does result in

a complete denial of remedies for obvious wrong, e.g.,

Smith v. Dunham-Busch, Inc., 959 F.2d 6, 11 (2d Cir.

1992), but this is not a result one eagerly embraces.

Various possibilities may cushion this outcome. If the

employee handbook is a gloss on the collective bargaining

agreement, perhaps the language already mentioned may

not only defeat the "management rights" defense but also

give rise to affirmative obligations on the part of the

employer enforceable through arbitration. Or, perhaps

arbitration would: yield a definitive ruling that the

"management rights" clause, and any other clause relied

upon by Shaw's, is not "inconsistent" with the rights

contingently secured by the statutes.

If all else fails, the union is free to negotiate language

that eliminates this issue the next time it renews its labor

agreement. The parties entered the current agreement in

1994, well after Magerer was decided, but the absence of

such language in the present agreement may be an

oversight. All that it would take to prevent preemption is

an explicit provision stating that nothing in the agreement

is intended to create management rights inconsistent with

any workers' rights under sections 75A and 75B.

Finally, in a reply brief, Martin and her union (which

appears as an amicus and has ably supported Martin)

offer a preemption claim of their own. They say that a

discharged non-union worker could invoke the

Massachusetts statutes and that by allowing the collective

lla

bargaining agreement to extinguish Martin's rights, the

Massachusetts proviso discriminates against members or

former members of unions, thereby offending federal

labor policy. This, they say, Livadas itself forbids.

Livadas struck down a state administrative practice

because it effectively discriminated against union

members as compared with non-members, 114 S. Ct. at

2074-75, a preemption theory that has nothing to do with

section 301. On the reasoning of Livadas, Massachusetts

arguably could not provide that a rehiring priority, or a

claim against retaliation, would be made available only to

workers who were not members of a union. But here

Massachusetts has done nothing of the kind.

Instead, the proviso in question permits the union on

behalf of its members to craft its own regime (the

agreement) and in it, either to preserve or displace

another regime (specified provisions of state law).

Viewed in the large, there is no discrimination whatever

against union members; Massachusetts simply allacws the

union to negotiate for a different package of benefits.

Next time, as we have noted, the union is free to kargain

differently.

Affirmed.

12a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVIL ACTION

No. 96-10431-MEL

THERESA MARTIN,

Plaintiff,

SHAW/'S SUPERMARKET, INC.,

Defendant.

APPEARANCES: -

LANG, STRAUS, XIFARAS & BULLARD

115 ORCHARD STREET

NEW BEDFORD. MA 02740-3625

Attorney for Plaintiff: SCOTT W. LANG, ESQ.

SUSAN WEINER, ESQ.

NUTTER, McCLENNAN & FISH, L.L.P.

One International Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2699

Attorney for Defendants: SHARON R. BURGER,ESQ.

VICTORIA L. BOTVIN, ESQ.

LASKER D.J.

Theresa Martin sues Shaw's Supermarket for

wrongfully refusing to rehire her to a suitable position in

violation of Sections 75A and 75B(2) of M.G.L. Chapter

l3a

152. Shaw's removed the case to this court pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1331 and now moves to dismiss both counts of

Martin's complaint for failure to state a claim upon which

relief may be granted, or in the alternative, for summary

judgment.

Shaw's argues that Martin's claims are preempted

by the Labor Management Relations Act (LMRA) 29

U.S.C. § 185. Shaw's contends that the resolution of

Martin's claims requires interpretation of a codlective

bargaining agreement (CBA) because

1) the rights afforded in §§ 75A and 75B are

inconsistent with the CBA's provisions, which afford no

right to be rehired, and 2) various provisions of the

CBA "could be construed to govern" her claims.

Magerer v. Sexton, 912 F.2d 525, 530 (Ist Cir. 1990);

see also Quesnel v. Prudential Ins. Co., 66 F.3d 8, 10 (1st

Cir. 1995) ("Section 301 completely preempts a state law

claim if the resolution of the claim necessitates analysis of,

or substantially depends on the meaning of, a coilective

bargaining agreement."')

Martin moves to remand the case, arguing that her

action does not depend upon the interpretation of a CBA

because the CBA is silent as to the rehiring of an injured

worker. Martin attempts to distinguish her claim from

that of an employee seeking relief for a termination itself

by stressing that she does not contest her termination, but

rather, Shaw's failure to rehire her, and that this

distinction means her dispute is not covered by the CBA.

Are Martin's clairas subject to the CBA?

Whether Martin is currently a union member is

not relevant to the question of whether her claims are

subject to the CBA. In Quesnel v. Prudential Ins. Co., 66

F.3d 8 (Ist Cir. 1995), the First Circuit held that the

plaintiff, a District Agent, was subject to the CBA's terms

because he was '"'a member of the bargaining unit for

whose benefit the CBA was created," even if he was not a

union member. Id. at 11. In the present case, there is no

dispute that Martin was a member of the United Food

and Commercial Workers Union, Local 791, AFL-CIO,

when she was dismissed. Accordingly, Martin's claims

are subject to the CBA's terms.

Do Martin's claims require interpretation of the CBA?

In Magerer v. John Sexton & Co., 912 F.2d 525

(1st Cir. 1990), the plaintiff alleged that his dismissal was

in retaliation for exercising his rights under the

Massachusetts Workers' Compensation Act, in violation

of M.G.L. Chapter 152, § 75B. The First Circuit held that

the plaintiff's claim for retaliatory discharge was, by the

express terms of the statute, subject to the terms of any

applicable collective bargaining agreement. Because the

CBA at issue in Magerer contained several provisions

that “could be construed to govern the conduct

underlying plaintiff's retaliatory discharge claim," the

resolution of that claim 'depend[ed] on an interpretation

of the collective bargaining agreement, so that the claim

[was] completely preempted by Section 301e" Id. at 530.

15a

Martin is correct that the provisions of the CBA in the

present case do not clearly delineate whether an injured

employee who has been dismissed has a right to be

rehired. However, Shaw's contention, that severa} of the

CBA provisions "could be construed to govern" the

plaintiff's claims, is more persuasive. Consistent with the

findings in Magerer, Martin's claims are preempted by

Section 301. Accordingly, it is for an arbiter to determine

either 1) whether the CBA affords a right to be rehired or

2) whether the existing provisions of the CBA in fact

apply to Martin's claims.

At oral argument, the parties indicated that the Union

had previously brought a grievance on behalf of Martin,

but that it later withdrew from the proceedings. Because

there is no evidence of record as to the final result of those

proceedings, Martin's claims are dismissed for .such

further proceedings as required by the CBA.

Martin's motion to remand is denied, and Shaw's

motion to dismiss is granted.

It is so ordered

Dated: Boston, Massachusetts June 20, 1996

U.S.D.J.

l6a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

No. 96-1863

FHERESA MARTIN,

Plaintiff, Appellant,

Vv.

SHAW'S SUPERMARKET, INC.,

Defendant, Appellee.

BEFORE

Yorruella, Chief Judge,

Aldrich, Senior Circuit Judge.

Selya, Boudin, Stahl and Lynch, Circuit Judges

ORDER OF COURT

Entered: February 28, 1997

The panel of judges that rendered the decision in

this case having voted to deny the petition for rehearing

and the suggestion for the holding of a rehearing en banc

having been carefully considerated by the judges of this

Court in regular active service and a majority of said

judges not having voted to order that the appeal be heard

or reheard by the Court en banc,

It is ordered that the petition for rehearing and the

suggestion for rehearing en banc be denied.

17a

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT

AGREEMENT

BETWEEN

UNITED FOOD AND

COMMERCIAL WORKERS UNION

LOCAL 791, AFL-CIO

AND

SHAW'S SUPERMARKETS, INC.,

SOUTHERN REGION

AND EAST BRIDGEWATER DISTRIBUTION

CENTER

EFFECTIVE DATES

JULY 31, 1994 - JULY 27, 1997

18a

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Contents Article Page

Appendix "A" 142

Wage Scale

Side Letters of 108

Agreement

Check off 3 5

Duration of 24 106

Union Contract

Funeral Leave 9 35

Grievances- 13 55

Arbitrations

Holidays and 6 20

Sundays

Hours ; 4 9

Insurance- 10 36

Pension

Jury Duty 16 64

Management 20 102

Meat Department 18 7

Military Leave 23 105

Misc. Provisions 17 66

No Strike - 15 63

Lockouts

Recognition 1 1

Scope of 21 103

Agreement

Seniority 12 48

19a

Separability & 22 104

Saving Provision

Sick Leave 8 32

Stewards i4 60

Uniforms 11 47

Union Security 2 3

Vacations 7 28

Wages - Wage 5 17

Payment

Warehouse 19 72

AGREEMENT

20a

This Agreement is made and entered in to this 31st day of

July 1994 between Shaw's Supermarkets, inc. (for the

Southern Region and East Bridgewater Distribution

Center), a Massachusetts corporation with its principal

place of business located at East Bridgewater,

Massachusetts hereinafter referred to as the "Employer",

and United Food and Commercial Workers Local 791,

AFL-CIO, a voluntary unincorporated association

hereinafter referred to as the "Union".

ARTICLE 1

RECOGNITION

Subject to any applicable provisions of State or Federal

Law or regulation now or hereafter in effect, the

Employer recognizes the Union as the _ exclusive

bargaining agent with respect to wages, hours, and other

conditions of employment of all Employees at the

Employer's stores and warehouses presently, or hereafter,

located in the following counties within the

Commonwealth of Massachusetts: Norfolk, Plymouth,

Bristol and Barnstable and the State of Rhode Island,

including Part-time Employees, but excluding executives,

buyers, store managers, assistant store managers, one

associate assistant manager per store and one personnel

coordinator per store, office clerical employees, guards,

professional employees and supervisors as defined by the

National Labor Relations Act, and as hereinafter used in

this agreement the words "Employee" and "Employees"

will be deemed to refer and only to an employee or

employees, respectively, of the Employer in the

bargaining unit described above.

The Employer raay employ two additional non-unit

21a

managers in new prototype stores. In high volume

conventional stores the Employer may employ one

additional non-unit manager provided that there is a

full-time grocery manager assigned. In any conveational

store with a food service operation, the Employer may

employ two additional managers if there is a full-time

grocery manager and one additional manager if no

full-time grocery manager is assigned.

ARTICLE 2

UNION SECURITY

A. All Employees who are members of the Union

as of the signing of this Agreement shall remain members

of the Union as a condition of continued employment with

the Employer.

B. All present Employees who are not now

members of the Union shall make application for

membership not later than the thirtieth (30th) day

following the signing of this Agreement; and, if accepted,

must remain members of the Union as a condition of

continued employment with the Employer.

C. All Employees hired or transferred into the

bargaining unit subsequent to the signing of this

Agreement shall, not later than the thirtieth (30th) day

after such hiring or transfer, make application for

membership, and if accepted, must remain members of

the Union as a condition of continued employment with

the Employer.

D. The provisions of paragraph A., B., and C., of

the Article shall not apply to any Employee covered by

this Agreement whose membership in the Union is denied

or whose membership therein has been terminated for

reasons other than the failure of such Employee to tender

his/her initiation fee of periodic dues.

E. It is understood that the Employer shall not be

22a

required to discharge any Employee under this Article for

reasons other than the failure to pay periodic dues or

initiation fees uniformly required as a condition of

acquiring or maintaining membership in the Union.

F. The Employer agrees to notify all new

Employees under the bargaining-unit about their

obligations under this Article. New Employees shall be

considered proba:ionary for the first thirty (30) days of

employment whica probationary period may be extended

an additional thirty (30) days by mutual agreement of the

Employer and the Union. The store Manager must notify

the Union office in writing, prior to the extension.

G. In the event of a new store opening, there

shall be a sixty (60) calendar day probationary period for

newly hired Employees for that store, which probationary

period may be extended an additional thirty (30) days by

mutual agreement of the Employer and the Union. The

Store Manager must notify the Union of office in writing,

prior to the extension.

ARTICLE 3

CHECKOFF

A. The Employer, or each of its Employees

who, individually and in writing, duly authorize the

Employer to do so, will deduct from the earnings payable

to each Employee, initiation fees and weekly union dues

for such Employee's membership in the Union and shall

promptly remit to the Union all such deductions

accompanied by a list of Employees from whom

membership dues have been collected and this amount so

deducted. Said deductions shall be made from the wages

paid on each weekly payday and shall be remitted to the

President of the Union not later than the Friday of each

week.

B. The form of authorization shall be that set forth

below and shall be revocable at the time and in the

23a

manner as therein described. ''You are hereby authorized

and directed to deduct from my wages, the Initiation fee

and the weekly dues as established by members of the

United Food and Commercial Workers Union, Local 7918

AFL-CIO and certified to you by the President of that

Union." "The sum(s) so deducted by you shall be remitted

to the President of the Union.

This authorization shall remain in effect until:

(a) Revoked by me and shall be irrevocable for a

period of one (1) year from the date appearing hereon; or

until the expiration of the present Agreement between the

Employer and the Union (whichever is sooner) at which

time it may be revoked by written notice by me to the

employer by registered mail at any time during the period

of ten (10) days prior to the expiration of the one 1 year

period or ten (10) days prior to the expiration of the

present Agreement (whichever is sooner);"

(b) When transferred permanently out of the

bargaining unit. If no such notice is given, this

authorization shall be irrevocable for successive periods

of one (1) year thereafter, or until the termination of the

then current Agreement, whichever occurs sooner, with

the same conditions and privileges or revocation at the

end of each such period.

Signature

Date

C. The employer agrees to deduct pericdicaliy

from the pay of each employee who is a Union member

and who executes an appropriate voluntary check-off

authorization form to the UFCW Active Ballot Club the

amount specified in the checkoff authorization form

signed and dated by the employee. The deduction shall

continue for the life of this agreement for each employee

who signs a check-off authorization from unless the

employees revokes the authorization in writing. The

24a

employer agrees to transmit periodically UFCW Active

Ballot Club deductions to the UFCW Active Ballot Club

in Care of the local "Union" or the UFCW, as may be

appropriate together with the names of employees for

whom deductions have been made and the amount

deducted for each employee.

All deductions and transmittals shall be subject to

and in strict accordance with all applicable laws.

D. The erployer agrees to deduct periodically

from the pay of cach employee who is a Union member

and who executes an appropriate voluntary check-off

authorization form to the UFCW Local 791 special

Defense Fund the amount specified in the checkoff

authorization form signed and dated by the employec.

The deduction shall continue for the life of this agreement

for each employee who signs a checkoff authorization

form unless the employee revokes the authorization in

writing the employer agrees to transfer periodically

UFCW Local 791 Special Defense Fund deductions to the

UFCW Local 791 Special Defense Fund in care of the

local union or the UFCW, as may be appropriate,

together with the names of employees for whom

deductions have been made and the amounts deducted for

each employee.

All deductions and transmittals shall be subject to

and in strict accordance with all applicable laws.

ARTICLE 4

HOURS

Section 1.

Hours of employment as heretofore observed by

the Employer, shall, except as otherwise provided,

continue in effect during the term of this contract. The

Employer agrees that no employee shall receive a

reduction in wages or increase in hours worked without

25a

being paid therefore as a result of this contract.

Section. 2.

Full-Time Employees.

The regular work schedule for full-time employees shall

be forty (40) hours, five (5) days, a week provided in

Article 6, Section.

Section 3.

A. Part-Time Employees. For purposes of the

Agreement, a part-time employee is defined as one who is

not normally scheduled to work less than 35 hours

weekly. If a part time Employee works more than 36

hours in a week, he/she shall be paid a premium cf 30%

for all hours worked in excess of 36 hours.

B. Part-Timers shall work no less than fifteen (15)

hours a week, Monday through Saturday except during a

holiday week. However, all part-time employees hired

prior to July 27,1974, shall have the discretion to work no

less than twelve (12) hours a week except during a holiday

week. Part-timers shall work no less than ten (10) hours a

week during holiday weeks, except during weeks with

Saturday holidays, when there shall be no minimum

hours.

C. When additional part-time hours on a regular

schedule are available preference shall be given, in the

order of seniority to the part-time Employee, in the

department (up to 32 hours a week), within the

classification within the store, provided said employee is

available on a continuing basis. Part-time employees

interested in such additional hours shall submit a

statement on a prepared form indicating hours and days

available on a continuing basis. The assignment of

additional hours, if practicable, shall be made among said

part-time employees who submit such statements. This in

26a

no way restricts the Employer from working employees

across classifications,

Section 4.

Overtime, Overtime shall be worked and paid for

when authorized by the Store Manager, the Assistant

Store Manager, and Associate Assistant Store Manager or

their designated person in charge. No one shall be

compelled to accept overtime in the stores.

Section §,

Evening Work. No Employee who is Full-time as

of July 21, 1985 will be required to work more than two

(2) evenings per week (after 8 PM.), except warehouse

employees, present (as of July 27, 1985), Full time night

stocking employees, night cleaners and night bakery

employees.

Section 6.

Overtime Pay. Hours worked by Full-time

employees in excess of forty (40) shall be compensated for

at the hourly rate of one and one-half (1/2) times their

regular rate for said excess hours, and’ in excess of

thirty-two (32) hours in a holiday week. If there are two

holidays during a week, overtime shall be paid after

twenty-four (24) hours.

Section 7.

A. Call-in and Report Pay. When Full-time or

Part Time Employees are called in for other than their

scheduled hours, they shall be paid a minimum of four

hours at the applicable rate. Reporting pay shall not be

payable when the failure to provide work is beyond the

control of the Employer.

B. Call-In Hours, Part-time employees who desire

27a

additional call-in hours shali submit a statement on a

prepared form indicating the days and hours available

for call-in hours on a continuing basis, and a telephone

number where said employee can be reached, from which

group a list shall be established. The assignment of call-in

hours shall be made, as far as practicable, from said list

in order of seniority. Failure of a Part-time employee on

said list to report in response to a call on two (2)

consecutive occasions shall result in a removal of that

Employee's name from the list for a period of two (2)

months unless otherwise mutually agreed.

This procedure does not apply when the Company

determines to assign hours on a hold-over basis.

C. Additional Hours. When additional hours of

unscheduled hold-overs hours are available, they shall be

distributed to the senior qualified part-time employee in

the department then on duty.

Section 8.

A. Schedule. The schedules of all store

employees shall be posted by 1:00 P.M. the Friday of the

previous week in ink at the store time clock. The schedule

listing shall be made by department in order of seniority.

The schedule and any change therein shall remain posted

for the entire week. Where changes are necessary, the

Employer will make all reasonable effort to change the

work schedules at least one day in advance; however, the

Union recognizes that this will not be possible when

factors are beyond the Employer's control, such as failure

of the Employee to notify the Employer in reasonable

time that he/she will not report for work. Any schedule

changes for stock-taking will be made the Friday of the

previous week.

B. Supper hours will begin no earlier than

28a

3:30 P.M.

e Employees assigned to early A.M. grocery

stocking shall be scheduled no less than four (4) hours.

D. No employee shall be required to work a

scheduled split shift. A split shift shall be defined as any

shift where there is more than a sixty (60) minute break in

the work schedule.

Section 9.

Sharing of Overtime. The Employer will continue

its practice as to sharing of overtime within the

department.

Section 10.

Rest Periods. Full-time Employees may take

fifteen (15) minutes, for mid-morning rest period and

fifteen (15) minutes for mid-afternoon rest period. Such

period to include time for lunch, if desired Department

Head will be responsible for arrangement of rest periods

to assure that there will be no description of customer

service. Part-time employees shall receive a fifteen (15)

minute break during their work shift. Part-time employee

who works a seven (7) hour shift shall be given two (2)

fifteen (15) minute break in addition to lunch period.

Relief periods shall be given as near as possible to the

middle of the forenoon, after-noon, and evening work

period. When overtime work is assigned to full-time

employees after a regular work schedule, a twenty (20)

minute break shail be scheduled immediately prior to the

overtime and a fifteen (15) minute break each two (2)

hours of overtime thereafter, except when said break

coincides with the end of the work period; a third fifteen

(15) minute break will be provided to all store employees

when working a scheduled eleven (11) hour day. Breaks

for cashiers shail begin when their cash drawer is

secured.

Section 11.

Schedule Changes. The Employer retains the right

to alter the presently existing schedule of hours at its

discretion where necessary, in its opinion, to the efficient

operation of its business in the utmost of providing a

better services to its customers at lowest cost to it. Lhe

Employer however, agrees that it will not institute any

changes in the work schedule affecting any change in the

substantial proportion of the Employees (such as a

change in shifts or company-wide or store-wide changes

for a substantial period of time in regular hours of

employment) without affording the Union reasonable

opportunity to discuss such a change prior to announcing

such change.

ARTICLE 5 e

WAGES-WAGE PAYMENT

A. The rates of pay in effect during the term of

this Agreement shall be those set forth in Appendix A

hereto attached. All store Employees shail be paid in cash

or check.

B. Paychecks shall be ready no later than 9:00

A.M. Wednesday except that if Wednesday is a holiday,

Warehouse checks shall be ready not later than 2:60 P.M.

on Tuesday and store checks shall be ready not later than

8:00 A.M. on Thursday. The employer agrees to arrange

with an area bank to cash checks at no expense to the

employee.

C. Vacation pay shall be paid in advance of

the vacations and checks will be cashed in the stcres, at

no cost to the Employee. Warehouse Employees will be

paid on the next to the last day of work, prior to vacation.

30a

D. The employer may hire, on a store by store

basis, at any rate on the wage schedules or at rates above

the schedules and such hiring rate will be the minimum

hiring rate for that store as long as that store retains that

rate. When a store raises it's hiring rate for inexperienced

employees in any job classification incumbent employees

in that classification in that store who are below the new

hiring rate will move immediately to the new hiring rate

and thereafter progress to the next higher rate upon

completion of six (6) months at the hiring rate, and will

continue to the next higher rate each six (6) months

thereafter until they reach the maximum rate.

When a store reduces a hiring rate for new hires,

no incumbent employee will be affected.

An employee training a new employee who was

hired at an increased rate under this provision will be

paid not less than the increased rate during the training

period. .

Any part time store employee will be allowed to

transfer to a store offering a higher starting rate.

The employer will notify the Union in writing

prior to implementing higher wage rates. The employer

retains the right to place newly hired employees at wage

rates above the hiring rate based on prior relevant

experience in comparable super markets, but not to

exceed the top rate in Appendix A.

ARTICLE 6

HOLIDAY- SUNDAYS

SECTION 1.

The Employer agrees to recognize the following

twelve (12) days as paid holidays under this Agreement,

as hereinafter provided.

Major Holidays

3la

New Years Day

independence Day

Memorial Day

Labor Day

Christmas Day

Thanksgiving Day

Three Personal Holidays*

*Personal holidays shall be granted on two (2)

weeks prior notice, except that the employer may, on a

seniority basis, limit the number of employees taking a

particular day if the demands of the business so require.

Personal days may be used for an employee's birthday on

two weeks prior notice. If an employee does not use

his/her personal days they will be forfeited unless the

employee is unreasonably denied a requested day.

PART TIME 7

Employees hired on or after July 31, 1994 witl earn

personal days during their first vear of emnlovment.

based on their period of employment, on the following

non-cumulative schedule: one day after 3 months; one

day after 6 months; one day after 9 months; three days,

effective January 1, (after 6 months of service)

Personal holidays will be rescheduled if the

employee is out sick or on funeral leave.

Minor Holidays

Patriots Day

Columbus Day

Veterans Day

Rhode Island Stores. In Rhode Island Stores, the

holidays are the same, except the V-J Day is substituted

for Patriots Day and is recognized as a major holidzy.

32a

Section 2.

Hvuliday Pay Eligibility - Full - Time

Employees. In vider to be eligible for holiday pay, an

Employee must be a Full time employee and must have

worked his/her last scheduled work day before, and the

first scheduled work day after, the holiday, except for

absence due to death in a family in accordance with

Article 9 of this Agreement, or in case of proven illness in

which case he/she must have worked at least one day

during the holiday week. If a Full-time employee is

injured on the job in a holiday week and is absent his/her

scheduled work day before, or after, the holiday, or both,

because of said injury, he/she shall not suffer the loss of

holiday pay for that week only in which the said injury

occurs.

Section 3.

A. Holiday Pay Eligibility - Part Time Employees.

Part-time employees who have averaged twelve (12) hours

per week during the eight (8) weeks prior to the two (2)

weeks immediately preceding the week in which the

holiday falls (including paid vacation, holiday hours, and

paid sick leave shall be paid for the holiday according to

the average number of hours worked during the aforesaid

eight (8) week period as set forth below; provided that

they have been employed by the Employer for six (6)

months, and worked the last scheduled day before and

the first scheduled day after the holiday, except for

absence due to death in the family in accordance with

Article 9 of this Agreement, or in case of proven illness, in

which case they must have worked at least one day during

the holiday week.

B. lf a Par‘-time employee is injured on the job in

a holiday week and is absent on his/her scheduled work

day before, or after, the holiday, or both, because of said

injury, he/she shall not suffer the loss of holiday pay for

BEST AVAIL

33a

that week only in which the said injury occurs.

C. A Part time employee who is absent for part of

the eight (8) week period due to a work related injury

shall be paid holiday pay of at least four (4) hours (at

least six (6) if employed for five (5) years or more) if

he/she meets the above requirements for work during the

holiday week.

D. A Part time employee who returns from « work

related injury on the day after a holiday which is his/her

first regularly scheduled work day in that week

(excluding days absent because of proven illness or

absence due to funeral leave in accordance with Article 9)

is eligible for holiday pay of at least four (4) hours (six (6)

if employed for five (5) years or more if he/she meets any

requirements which apply for Full time employees

concerning medical documentation of the accident.

Less than 24 hours - 4 hours pay

24 to 30 hours - 6 hours pay

30 to 35 hours - 7 hours pay

35 hours and over - 8 hours pay

E. Part-time Employees with five (5) or more years

of service shall be paid a minimum of six (6) hours of

holiday pay if they meet the above requirements for work

during the holiday week.

F. Part-time employees shall not be disqualified

from holiday pay by virtue of job related injury when

otherwise eligible.

Section 4.

A. Work Performed on a Holiday or Sunday. If

any work is performed on any of the minor holidays, all

employees who work on such days will be compensated at

the rate of one and one-half (1 1/2) times their regular

rate of pay for hours worked in addition to receiving their

34a

regular weekly pay for the week but such hours worked

shall not be counted as hours worked toward figuring

weekly overtime. All employees hired before July 31, 1994

who work on major holidays will be paid the rate of two

(2) times their regular rate of pay for hours worked in

addition to receiving their regular weekly pay for the

week but such hours worked shall not be counted as

hours worked toward figuring weekly overtime. The

foregoing shall also apply to store employees hired on or

after July 31, 1994, except that the work on the holiday

will be compensated at time and one half their regular

rate of pay. For purposes of this Article, during holiday

weeks the scheduled work week for all Full-time

employees shall consist of thirty-two (32) hours, unless

two holidays fall during the week, in which case the

scheduled work week shall be twenty-four (24) hours.

B. If the Employer elects to open its store or a

department withia. the store on Sunday, the Employees

will receive one and one half time their regular rate of

pay for all hours worked, such hours to be voluntary.

Prior to implementing such a schedule, the Employer will

notify the Union and discuss same. Employees employed

as of November 6, 1988 as night floor cleaners will be

compensated at two (2) times their regular rate of pay for

night cleaning performed on Sundays as long as they are

employed as night floor cleaners. Store maintenance

employees will be paid double time for work on Sundays.

Section 5.

If the Employer wishes to call in full-time Store

employees for adced work on regular work days during a

holiday week, all Store employees shall-have the option of

working the difference between the thirty-two (32) and

forty (40) hours. Hours in excess of thirty-two (32) in a

holiday week shall be paid at the rate of time and one-half

35a

(1 1/2). In the warehouse time and one-half (1 1/2) shall be

paid for work performed on the Sth work day in a

holiday week (full time only) regardless of the number of

hours worked.

Section 6.

Except for regularly scheduled shifts in the

warehouse, and overtime scheduled in connection

therewith, when a store or the warehouse is open on a

Sunday, or holiday, Employees who work shall be paid a

minimum of four (4) hours at the applicable rate.

Section 7.

When an Employee is requested by the Employer

to work any Sunday or holiday, Employee shall receive

the Sunday and holiday rates described above for hours

worked, but such hours worked shall not be counted as

hours worked toward figuring weekly overtime. e

Section 8.

The Employer agrees to pay eligible employees

holiday pay prior to the vacation where the holiday falls

during the vacation.

Section 9.

The Employer shall follow industry practice

within its geographic area with respect to store closing on

New Year's Eve and Christmas Eve. Employees shall

work up to forty-five minutes, as needed, beyond closing

hours in the event of early store closing on said days.

ARTICLE 7

VACATIONS

Section 1.

Emplovees shall receive the following paid

vacations each year:

36a

1 Year } Week

2 Years or more 2 Weeks

5 Years or more 3 Weeks

12 Years or more4 Weeks

20 Years or mores Weeks

Eligibility shall be on the anniversary date of

employment

Section 2.

Part-time Employee Eligibility. A part-time

employee with less than five (5) years service as of the

anniversary date of employment must have accumulated

at least 250 hours (including vacation, holidays, and

illness) during the year prior to his/her anniversary to be

eligible.

Section 3. ;

Scheduling of Vacations. Vacations taken during

the regular vacation season will be assigned on the basis

of the Employee's Company seniority with limitations

being placed upor such classifications as are necessary, in

the opinion of the Employer, to properly effectuate the

demands of the business. When a holiday falls during a

vacation week the employee is to receive an extra day of

vacation, either the last scheduled work day prior to that

vacation or the first scheduled work day of the week that

the employee returns to work at the employee's option

and that week shall be treated as a holiday week for all

purposes. The Employer will make its best efforts to

schedule each full-time employee for two weeks of his/her

vacation during the public school vacation, before any

other vacations are scheduled.

Schedules for vacation shall be posted on April 15.

Employees shall have an opportunity for the succeeding

37a

two (2) weeks to indicate their vacation preference in

order of seniority in their classification.

Vacations must be taken in the calendar year in

which they accrue and may not be accumulated, except

with the consent of the Employer.

Section 4.

Amount of Vacation Pay. Pay for vacation hours

will be based on the regular weekly rate and schedule.

Overtime shall not be counted in determining vacation

pay. Vacation pay for Part time employees will be based

on the average hours worked during the 52 weeks

preceding their most recent anniversary. Weeks during

which an employee was absent due to temporary illaess or

injury will be excluded from the calculation.

All part-time insurance deductions are to be taken

out of the paycheck prior to the vacation.

Section 5.

An employee shall not be required to take his/her

military training duty as his/ her earned vacation.

Section 6.

Acerucd vacation pay choll ha GP aw taeeminotinn

except a discharge due to dishonesty.

Section 7.

Any employee with four (4) or more weeks

vacation may take one week in vacation days. Full week

vacations and personal days will take precedence over

requests for vacation days.

ARTICLE 8

SICK LEAVE

Section 1.

A. All Full-time employees who have at least one

38a

year of service as of January 1 , and who are actively

employed will be credited with nine (9) days of sick leave

effective each January 1, or on such later date when they

resume active employment. Any sick leave which remains

unused as of December 31, 1989 and each December 31,

thereafter, will be reimbursed at full pay during the

month of January provided the employee is still employed

as of December 31.

B. Full Time employees who attain their first

anniversary date after January 1 will be credited with one

(1) day of sick leave for each full 45 calendar days

remaining in the calendar year. Any days remaining

unused at the end of the year will be reimbursed under

the conditions set forth above. Employees who are

promoted to full time during the year will be credited

with one additional day of sick leave for each full 45 days

remaining in the calendar year up to a maximum

entitlement (inclusive of part time sick leave) of nine days

in the year.

C. All Part time employees who have at least two

years of service as of January 1 and who are actively

employed as of January 1 will be credited with 24 hours

of sick leave each January 1, or on such later date when

they resume active employment. Any sick leave which

remains unused as of December 31, 1989 and each

December 31 thereafter, will be reimbursed at full pay

during the month of January, provided the employee is

still employed as of December 31. Part time employees

who attain their second anniversary date after January 1

will be credited with two hours of sick pay for each full

month remaining in the calendar year. Any hours

remaining unused at the end of the year will be

reimbursed under the conditions set forth above.

D. Any employee who has sick days or hours

accumulated under the carryover provisions as of

39a

December 31, 1988 will be allowed to maintain that

existing balance. One half of any days remaining in a full

time employee's current year sick leave allowance as of

December 31, 1988 will be credited to the sick leave

carryover up to a maximum carryover of 40 days. One

half of any hours remaining on a part time employee's

current year sick leave allowance as of December 31, 1988

will be credited to the sick leave carryover up to a

maximum carryover of 100 hours. Sick leave shall be

charged against current sick leave allowance until

exhausted.

E. The anniversary date of Employees will be the

Monday of the week in which the anniversary of their

employment occurs. In the event an eligible Employee

receives Worker's Compensation, the Employer agrees to

pay only the difference to total a regular weekly wage.

F. Verifications of accidents or illness by medical

authorities may be required by the Employer. Sick leave

will not be computation of overtime compensation.

ARTICLE 9

FUNERAL LEAVE

A. In the event of a death in the immediate family

of a full-time Employee, the full-time Employee shall be

granted three (3) working day's leave without loss of pay

which shall include the day of burial. A leave of five (5)

work days without loss of pay, which will include the day

of burial shall be granted in case of death of the spouse,

child or stepchild of the Employee.

B. For the purpose of this Article, it is agreed that

a member of the immediate family shall be considered to

be the Employee's Father, Mother, Brother, Sister,

Mother in-law, Father-in-law, Grandchild, or any

member of the family residing in the Employee's home.

40a

G. The date of notification of death of a member of

the immediate faraily to those Employees who are on the

job shall not be counted as one of the three (3) days

funeral leave.

D. The Employer agrees that in the event of the

death of a Grandparent, Son-in law, Daughter-in-law,

Brother-in-law, or Sister-in-law, of any full-time

employee, the Employee shall be granted one (1) work

day off without loss of pay to attend the funeral.

Part-time Employees shall be granted the same funeral

leave benefits without loss of pay only according to hours

they are regularly scheduled to work during this period.

E. An employee on funeral leave will be allowed to

use sick leave, personal days, or vacation days as an

extension of funeral leave.

ARTICLE 10

INSURANCE PENSION

Section 1.

A. (1) Fuil-time employees will be eligible for

Shaw's Best Care Insurance provided by Pilgrim Health

Care. Under that plan employees' payments for covered

services provided by network providers based on

referrals from the employee's primary care physician will

be limited to $5.00 for each physicians visit and 10% of

the cost of other covered benefits up to an annual

out-of-pocket maximum of $250 per individual and $500

per family. Beginning January 1, 1996 the annual

calendar year out-of-pocket maximums will be increased

to $300 per individual and $600 per family. Employees

will be held harmiess from any balance billing by Pilgrim

contracted hospitals or physicians, provided they comply

with the referral requirements The Employer will provide

a full maternity hospitalization benefit available under

said plan.

4la

(2) Non-emergency covered services from

providers outside the network, or obtained from in

network providers with-out a referral frorn the

employee's primary care physician will be subject to the

following payment arrangements: Covered services will be

paid at 70% of customary and regular charges ajter an

annual deductible of $200 per individual and $400 per

family, with annual maximum out-of pocket maximums

limited to $1, 500 per individual and $3,000 per family.

Beginning January I, 1996 the annual calendar year

out-of-pocket maximums under this paragraph will be

increased to $2,500 per individual and $5,000 per family.

(3) Charges for doctors visits, payments for

prescription drugs, balance billings and charges for

failing to follow utilization of referral procedures shall

not be counted in determining whether the out-of-pocket

maximums have been reached.

(4) The Employer shall provide coverage for

dental care, for which all full-time employees shall be

eligible on a family basis after one year service. Said

dental plan will provide 100% payment for covered

procedures when performed by a participating dentist.

(5) Full-time employees may take advantage of the

Employer's opt out plan for medical insurance coverage

beginning not later than October 1, 1994. Employees

electing to exercise this option will receive additional

payroll compensation of $100 per month in lieu of the

insurance coverage provided above.

B. Part-time employees with six (6) months or

more of service may purchase at their own expense

individual or family dental coverage under the dental

plan. After two (2) years of service the Employer will pay

for the cost of individual dental coverage for part-time

employees.

C. The Employer shall provide part-time

42a

employees individual coverage under its insurance plan

with the following eligibility requirements:

(1) All part-time employees hired before July 31,

1994 will be eligible after two years of service All

part-time employces hired on or after July 31, 1994 shall

be eligible after three years of service.

(2) No part-time employee, otherwise eligible, shall

be afforded coverage who is presently or subsequently

covered under any other group health insurance plan.

Said coverage shall be subject to any non-duplication

and/or coordination of benefits provisions in the

insurance plan.

D. Part-time employees who are not eligible for

Employer paid individual coverage may, after six months

of employment, purchase at their own expense individual

coverage under the above described medical insurance

plan. Early retirees hired before July 31, 1994 and early

retirees hired on or after July 31, 1994 who retire with

twenty (20) years of Shaw's service may purchase, at their

own expense, coverage under the above described medical

plan, exclusive of the dental plan. Part-time employees

who are eligible for Employer paid individual coverage

may purchase family medical and dental plan coverage

and will pay the additional cost over individual coverage.

The Employer shail contribute 35% of the additional cost

for part-time employees with five or more years who wish

to purchase the family plan.

E. Full and part-time employees who were enrolled

in HMO's as of July 16, 1991 will be entitled to remain

covered under the plan in which they are enrolled as long

as that plan is willing to provide group Insurance to

Shaw's employees. The Employer will pay the cost of such

HMO coverage for full-time employees with a

contribution not to exceed the Employer's prevailing

insured medical cost. For part-time employees with more

43a

than two years of service the Employer will pay the cost

of HMO individual coverage with a contribution not to

exceed the Employer's prevailing insured medical

premium for individual coverage. In the case of part-time

employees with five or more years service who maintain

continuing family coverage under an existing HMO, the

Employer's contribution will not exceed 35% of the

additional cost of family coverage under the Employer's

prevailing insured medical and dental plans.

Section 2.

A. Weekly Disability. Effective on July 27, 1991,

the Employer will provide full time employees with one

year of service: Weekly sickness and accident coverage

(by insurance or otherwise) in an amount equal to

two-thirds of a normal week's pay, with a maximum of

$330.00 per week for 26 weeks, effective after the

Employee has exhausted Company sick leave, subject to

the terms of the applicable insurance policy. This

coverage shall not apply in the case of injury covered by

Worker's Compensation Act.

B. Effective July 27, 1991, the Employer will

provide part-time employees with two (2) years of service,

who have exhausted sick leave benefits, weekly sickness

and accident coverage (by insurance or otherwise) in the

amount of $105.00 per week for twelve (12) weeks, to

become effective the 8th day of absence due to illness or

injury. This coverage shall not apply in case of injury

covered by the Worker's Compensation Act.

Section 3. Life Insurance. The Employer will provide

full-time Employees with one year of service, life

insurance in the amount of $20,000.00. The Employer will

provide part-time employees with two years of service life

insurance in the amount of $:~,000.00.

4da

Section 4.

A. Pension. The Employer has established a

Pension Plan for eligible full-time employees to provide

past and future scrvice benefits for each year of credited

‘service, subsequent to January 1, 1975. Effective

November 6, 1988. Employees will be eligible for up to a

maximum of 40 years of credited service under the plan.

The basic benefit will be $29.00 per month for ail

employees retiring between July 27, 1993 and July 30,

1996, and $32.00 per month for all employees retiring

after July 31, 1996. A supplemental pension credit will be

applicable to work performed in warehouse and store

maintenance Positions. The multiplier for credited service

in such positions shall be $34.00 for retirements from July

27, 1993 to July 20, 1996; and $37.00 for retirements on

and after July 31, 1996.

B. Eligible part-time employees shall be entitled to

future service pension benefits on a fractional basis for

each year of credited service subsequent to January |,

1976.

C. Employees who have retained profit sharing

accounts will be given the choice of either rolling those

funds into a 401(k) account or exchanging those funds for

a past service benefit for all credited service prior to

January 1, 1975 at the multiplier applicable in the years

in which they retire, unless either or both of these options

is not administratively possible or would result in an

appreciable financial loss to any participant. Reasonable

efforts will be made to accomplish these rollovers by

December 31, 1991. The progress of this transition will be

a subject for discussion in the Joint Labor Management

Committee discussed in Article 10, Section 5.

D. Any future non-technical amendments to the

Union pension plan shall be subject to approval by the

45a

Union.

E. Neither the provisions of this Article nor any

question as to the application or interpretation of any of

said programs may be made the subject of a grievance or

be arbitrable under this Agreement, Section 5.

Joint Labor Management Committee for

Employee Benefits. The Union and the Company will

establish a Joint benefits committee. Each party will

designate up to five representatives to serve on the

committee. The committee will meet bi-monthly between

the effective date of the contract through the end of 1991.

Thereafter, the committee will meet at least quarterly.

The committee will jointly determine agendas for

each meeting. Minutes of each meeting will be kept and

shared with the Union and the Company. The committee

will prepare an annual report describing its findings and

achievement. Members of the committee who disagree

with the contents of the report may file a response which

will be included as part of the report. This report will be

distributed to the Union and the Company at the end of

the month following the first, second and third years of

the contract. The Company agrees to provide access to all

Union-related employee benefit information, regarding

employees within the collective bargaining unit. The

committee is responsible for keeping this information

confidential.

The committee will play an active role with

bargaining unit employees in the implementation of any

new employee benefit programs. The committce will

review and assess all education programs related to

bargaining unit employee benefit programs. The

committee will assess the quality and costs of all emplovee

benefit programs, and recommend changes or

modifications of these programs where appropriate.

A special study group will be established within

the committee to evaluate the funding strategy and the

investment strategy and financial performance_of the

Union-pension plan.

ARTICLE 11

UNIFORMS

A. Whenever the Employer requires’ the

Employees to wear uniforms coats, aprons, or frocks, the

uniforms shall be furnished and laundered by the

Employer. Full time employees shall be furnished such

laundered uniforms with not more than two (2) changes

weekly, except that Employees in the meat rooms shall be

provided daily changes and shall also be provided

thermal vests, if requested, provided the Employees so

requesting shall wear the vest. Meat Cutters shall be

provided with protective aprons, and Employees assigned

to Meat Room cleaning duties shall have coveralls

available to them. Part-time employees will be provided

uniform changes as necessary. Each Employee shall turn

in the soiled garment in order to receive a fresh one and

should use every precaution to keep said garment clean.

B. Thermal vests shall be provided to the primary

person responsible for Dairy and Frozen Food.

C. Three protective aprons shall be made available

to warehouse maintenance Employees when handling

corrosive substances and shall be made available to

porters as needed.

D. The Employer will have anti-corrosive footwear

47a

available for the use of store and warehouse maintenance

employees when working with acid.

E. Overnight Grocery Stockers shall wear and be

furnished with Company polo shirts. (One polo shirt will

be provided by the Employer for Wells Crew Employees

between the months of May 30 and September 30),

ARTICLE 12

SENIORITY

A. When ability, availability and skills are equal,

the principle of seniority is to govern in cases of lay-off

and recalls within each job classification as a separate

seniority unit. Meat cutters who would otherwise de laid

off and who have previously served as second men may

bump less senior second men in order to avoid being

laid-off. For all purposes of this Agreement, seniority

means the Employee's continuous service with the

Employer beginning with the date of last hiring as an

Employee without seniority and ending when:

(1.). The Employee quits or is discharged for cause;

or

(2.) When an Employee is absent for more than two

(2) days without having notified the Employer unless

prevented from doing so by good causes; or

(3.) When the Employee is laid off or absent

because of illness or other bona fide reason for more than

one (1) year in case of full-time Employee or six (6)

months in the case of part-time Employee, or unless

Employer grants longer leave of absence;

(4.) When the Employee fails to report te work

promptly on the expiration of any leave of absence unless

such Employee secures an extension of such leave of

absence with the consent of the Employer.

(5.) When an Employee fails to return te work

48a

after lay-off within a week after the certified mailing

notice of recall. Any notice required to be given by this

Article, shall be considered given when the same has been

deposited in the mail addressed to the Employee at

his/her last knowa address as shown by the Employer's

record.

(6) An employee promoted out of the bargaining

unit shall lose seniority after ninety (90) calendar days for

all purposes, except fringe benefits.

B. Full-time employees laid off because of lack of

work when no other full-time work is available shall be

offered part-time work at the rate applicable thereto if

part-time work is available even if displacement of

part-time employees is required. A full-time employee

who accepts part-time work shall be given preference for

reemployment for full-time work as if he/she were on

lay-off. The Employer agrees that it will provide the

President of the Union with three (3) copies of written

statement of the names and addresses of each person

hereinafter employed by it for more than six (6) days.

C. The foregoing principles shall apply to

part-time Employees in each job classification as separate

seniority unit.

D. Respecting promotions, the qualifications and

ability of the Employee shall be considered in conjunction

with seniority. The Employer agrees to make a sincere

effort to train in advance senior Employees to fill future

higher-rated classifications. Final determination on

promotion shall rest with management which shall be the

sole judge of qualifications, giving consideration to

seniority and this determination shall not be subject to

arbitration. Any Employee promoted or transferred to a

higher rated classification who subsequently proves

unsatisfactory in such higher rated classification, shall be

returned to the pusition held first prior to the promotion

49a

or transfer at the prevailing wage for this position with no

loss of seniority rights. Employees promoted after July

27,1991 can step back only during the first six months.

E. When a full-time clerk is needed, preference

shall be given to the senior part time Employee, provided

the Employee is qualified and available for full-time

work. When a full-time employee is needed in the

warehouse, preference shall be given to the senior

part-time warehouse employee who is either qualified and

available for full-time work or who, in the opinion of the

employer, could qualify after a reasonable training

period. 7

F. Union employees shall have priority over

nonunion employees for vacancies in Union stores

provided the Employee is qualified for the vacancy. The

Company will give the Union copies of all postings names

of applicants and the successful applicant.

G. The Employer shall furnish the Union with an

up-to-date seniority list for full time Employees and

part-time Employees quarterly on request. When a

full-time Employee has had prior continuous service as a

part-time Employee before being appointed to full-time

and has worked full-time for a continuous period of two

(2) months he/she shall be credited for one (1) month of

service for each two (2) months of part-time service for

the purpose of lay-off by seniority, rate classification, sick

leave, life insurance and disability insurance. When the

part-time employee is made a full-time employee within

the same department he/ she is credited with part-time

service, one month for each two months of part-time

service, for the purpose of lay-off by seniority, rate

classification, sick leave, life insurance and disability

insurance immediately upon assuming full-time status.

These benefits shall not be applied retroactively. When a

full-time Employee becomes a part-time Employee, he/she

50a

shall retain his/her full length of service for ali part-time

benefits. Any part-time employee promoted to full-time

after July 31, 1994 shall retain his/ her full vacation

benefit.

H. When a part-time clerk is needed, the job will

be posted within the store so that all employees within the

store may notify nanagement that they are interested in

the position.

I. When a store employee transfers to the

warehouse, he/she shall be placed at the bottom of the

seniority list with no loss of company seniority towards

benefits and wages. .

J. When 2 warehouse employee transfers to the

stores, he/she shall be placed at the bottom of the

seniority list with no loss of Company seniority towards

benefits and wages.

. ARTICLE 13

GRIEVANCE ARBITRATION

A. For purposes of this Agreement, the word

"Grievance" shall be deemed to mean only a dispute

between the Empioyer and the Union and the Employees

it represents concerning the meaning or application of

this Agreement.

B. An effort shall be made to dispose of all

grievances as soon as reasonably possible pursuant to the

following provisions:

(1) The Employee, together with his/ her

steward, or the steward alone, if he/ she wishes, within ten

(10) calendar days after the occurrence of the situation,

condition or action of management giving rise to the

grievance shall meet with the Store Manager or Shift

Supervisor to adjust the grievance. The Store Manager or

Shift Supervisor will have five (5) calendar days after the

meeting to answer the grievance.

5la

(2) If the grievance is not resolved by the Store

Manager's or Shift Supervisor's answer, the Union

Representative will have seven (7) calendar days after

receipt of the answer to notify the District Manager or

Warehouse Manager that the grievance is being advanced

to their level. The Union Representative will mect with

the District Manager or Warehouse Manager, or their

respective designees, within seven (7) calendar days after

receipt of the notice to attempt to resolve the gricvance.

The District Manager or Warehouse Manager or their

designee, shall be responsible for answering the grievance

within seven (7) calendar days after their meeting.

(3) If the grievance is not settled at Level 2, it

shall be reduced to writing and filed with the Director of

Labor Relations within seven (7) calendar days of the

Step 2 answer. The Director of Labor Relations shall

discuss the grievance with a Union Representative and

endeavor to settle the grievance. The Director of Labor

Relations shail be responsible for giving an answer in

writing within seven (7) calendar days aftcr the

conclusion of the discussion under Step 3. The Union will

take this matter up at its next regular Executive Board

Meeting to be held no later than the 15th day of the

month after the Director of Labor Relation's answer and

if the matter is not resolved it must be referred to

arbitration within 14 days after the said Executive Board

Meeting, but such referral may not be made by an

individual employee. _

C. In the event that either party (Union or

Employer elects to submit a grievance to arbitration, the

Arbitrator shall be selected and governed by the

following procedures

D. If the parties do not agree upon an impartial

arbitrator within seven (7) days, the matter shall be

submitted to the American Arbitration Association for

52a

appointment of an arbitrator and for hearings in

accordance with its rules.

E. The decision of the Arbitrator shall be final

and binding upon the parties hereto and upon any

Employee, or Employees, affected thereby. The

Arbitrator shall however, have no power either to add to

or subtract from, or to modify any of the terms of this

Agreement, or «any Agreement made supplementary

thereto. If either party contends that the above provision

has been violated, the matter may be referred to any

court of competent jurisdiction which shall have the

power to determine the question and which shall interpret

this agreement in accordance with the commonly

accepted meaning of the words used herein and the

principle that the parties are agreed that there are no

restrictions intended on the management of the Employer

other than those expressly set forth herein. The grievance

procedure and arbitration provided for herein shall

constitute the sole and exclusive method of determination,

decision and adjustment of settlement between the parties

of any and all grievances as herein defined.

F. Each of the parties hereto shall bear his own

arbitration cost and one-half (4) of the fee and expenses

of the arbitrator. Grievances, so far as practical, shall be

taken up after working hours and no payment shall be

made by the Employer for time spent by an Employee in

dealing with grievances at such time; except a reasonable

amount of time spent by Employees in routine adjustment

of a grievance in working hours under the first step of the

grievance procedure set forth in the preceding

paragraphs of this Article shall be paid for by the

Employer as though time worked; Steward's, or

alternatively Chief Steward's, time in settling grievances

during his/her regularly scheduled hours, under step one

and two, shall be paid for by the Employer.

53a

G. Nothing contained herein shall prevent an

Employee from exercising his/ her rights under Section 9

(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, as

amended.

H. A grievance not initiated within the time limit

specified, holidays excluded, will be deemed waived.

Failure of the moving party to appeal a decision within

the time limits specified will mean that the grievance shall

be considered settled on the basis of the decision last

made and shall not be eligible for further appeal. Failure

of a party to answer or meet within the time limit

specified will mean that the appeal may be taken to. the

next step immediately. This provision shall apply equally

to grievances brought by the Employee, the Union. to the

Employer.

ARTICLE 14

STEWARDS é

A. The Union shall have the right to have one (1)

steward in each of the Employer's stores covered dy this

Agreement, in the warehouse, one (1) for each shift, one

for warehouse maintenance and one for store

maintenance. The Vice President from the warehouse

shall be the chief steward. The Union may designate an

alternate steward in each store and on each warehouse

shift; the alternate stewards shall be recognized by the

company in the absence of the regular steward. A second

alternate in the store and/or the warehouse may be

designate if so desired by the Union.

B. In addition to their seniority right as regular

Employees, Stewards and Union officers shall have top

seniority if layoffs due to lack of work within their

respective store and classification, or within their

warehouse shift. Alternate stewards shall not have top

54a

seniority.

C. No Steward or alternate shall be transferred

unless such transfer is mutually agreed upon between the

Employer and the Union. No more than one Steward or

alternate per department shall be protected.

D. In no _ instance shall the Steward be

discriminated against for discharging duties.

EK. The Union shall supply the Employer with a list

of the Stewards and the store locations. The Union will

notify the Employer of all changes.

F. The Steward shall not in any way interfere with

the Manager in his/her operation of the store.

G. The Union agrees to do everything within its

power through advice, instruction, and examples to

obtain compliance by its members with the obligations

undertaken in this Agreement. The Employer agrees to do

everything within its power through advice, instruction,

and examples to obtain compliance by its Supervisors

with the obligations undertaken in this Agreement.

H. The Union shall, within a reasonable period of

time, be notified in writing of all suspensions and

discharges after the probationary period. :

I. The Union will conduct an annual seminar for

stewards to be scheduled on a mutually agreeable date,

which shall be a Monday, Tuesday or Wednesday and

which shall not be in the week before a holiday. One

steward per store, one steward for each warehouse shift,

one steward for warehouse maintenance and one steward

for store maintenance will receive one day off with pay to

attend the seminar. The Employer will pay all said

individuals.

ARTICLE 15

NO STRIKE- LOCKOUTS

5Sa

A. It is mutually agreed by the parties hereto that

throughout the life of this Agreement there shall be no

strikes, lockouts, picketing, boycotts, or stoppage ot work,

and that any difference or misunderstanding as to

meaning or application of this Agreement which may

arise between the contracting parties shall be amicably

adjusted by and between the parties themselves under the

grievance procedure herein above provided.

B. In the event of the threat of, preparation for, or

occurrence of any unauthorized strike, walkout,

picketing, boycott. or stoppage of work, the Union and all

of its officials will promptly take every possible step to

prevent and to stop such action by any of its members.

C. It is further mutually agreed that the Employer

shall have the unqualified right to take any action it

deems advisable, including discipline and discharge,

against any Employee engaging in, participating in,

encouraging, aiding and abetting any such unautherized

strike, walkout, or stoppage of work. However, any issue

of fact as to whether or not any particular Employee

engaged in, participated in, or encouraged any st<ike or

work stoppage, may be subject to the grievance procedure

established by Article 13 hereof.

D. This Article shall not be construed so as to

preclude the Union from engaging in lawful organizing

activities at nonunion stores.

ARTICLE 16

JURY DUTY

Any full-time Employee who is called to serve for

jury duty shall receive pay on actual hours worked for

the Employer. If this pay, together with his/her jury duty

pay, does not equal his/her regular five (5) day weekly

rate of pay, the Employer shall make up the difference,

56a

providing he/she works for the Employer during such

hours when, because the jury is not sitting, he/she is

reasonably available for work. However, the Employee

shall not be required to work the sixth day if he/she serves

on Jury Duty and/or works five (5) days or more in a

regular week and he/she shall not be required to work the

fifth day if he/she serves on Jury Duty and/or four (4)

days or more in a holiday week. An employee on jury

duty shall be granted holiday pay as if he/she were

working regularly. Part-time Employees after one (1)

year's service shall receive like benefits on a pro-rata

basis. Days spent on jury duty shall be counted as eight

hours worked for purposes of overtime eligibility. Part

time employees will be paid jury duty pay for days served

on jury duty on which they had been at work during the

previous week.

ARTICLE 17

MISCELLANEOUS PROVISIONS

Section 1.

No Employee shall be obligated to use a privately

owned vehicle for Company business.

Section 2.

A. Employees injured while at work and requiring

outside medical service must first notify the store

Manager, or Warehouse Supervisor, and shall be paid for

time lost while visiting the doctor. If an Employee is

required by the doctor to be absent from work, he/she

shall be paid for the entire day, including lost overtime, if

the injury occurs after the overtime begins.

B. Thereafter, the Employee shall be paid for time

lost while visiting the doctor during his/he working hours

for a scheduled appointment provided the Employee

returns to work tc complete his/her scheduled hours.

Section 3.

The Employer shall not enter into individual

agreements with Employees with respect to terms and

conditions of employment.

Section 4.

Safety Committee meetings shall be held monthly

in the stores and in the warehouse for each shift. The

Store Steward may attend the monthly store Safety

Committee Meetings.

Section 5.

One bulletin board in each store and two in the

warehouse shall be designated as Union bulletin boards.

Section 6A.

If an Employee is called in on his/her day eff or

temporarily transferred to another store farther from

his/her home than is his/her home store he shall Le paid

twenty-seven and one half cents ($.275) per mile for each

additional mile traveled except if the transfer is to avoid a

layoff or is at the Employee's request.

Section 6B.

No Employee shall be permanently transferred

more than 20 miles from his/her home store without

his/her consent, except that transfers to staff new stores

where the Union is recognized, and the first backfill,

made during a three month period at the time of a store

opening will be subject to a thirty mile limit, provided

that Employees so transferred shall thereafter be paid

twenty seven and one half cents per mile for miles in

excess of 20. Thereafter the employee's former store shall

be considered his home store until he is retransferred

58a

back to within twenty miles of the home store.

Section 7.

There shall be a designated second person at each

lunch counter.

Section 8.

Warning 2nd suspension shall not be used for

disciplinary purposes after 12 months.

Section 9.

Non-union personnel may perform work in

accordance with past practice. It shall not be a violation

of this provision to allow not more than two non-unit

management trainees, per store, to perform bargaining

unit work.

Section 10.

Covers will be provided for all cashier tills.

Section 11.

The Employer will not subject any Employee to a

lie detector test, or request, directly or indirectly, any

Employee to take a lie detector test. This does not apply to

lie detector tests administered by law enforcement

agencies.

Section 12.

it shall not be a violation of this agreement ior the

Employer to allow third party operation of leased

departments, within its stores, staffed by employees of the

leased operator, to operate specialized departments that

can't be operated by Shaw's (e.g banks, pharmacies,

travel agencies, hair salons, etc.).

Section 13.

59a

Store cards or decals of the Union shall be

displayed in a prominent place in all of the Employer's

stores covered by this agreement, but these cards or

decals shall remain at all times the property of the Union.

Section 14.

The Employer will notify the Union in writing of

all terminations, suspensions, job postings and policy

changes that affect the bargaining unit.

Section 15.

Safety and Health Committee.-

The Employer will cooperate with the Union in the

joint operation of the Safety and Health Committee,

which meets at least quarterly, which shall consist of

members of management and union representatives. The

Employer agrees to pay all employees their rate of pay to

attend seminars that are developed by the Committee.

ARTICLE 18

MEAT DEPARTMENT

A. The Employer and the Union shall review the

number of and activities of the Apprentice Meat Cutters

so that Apprentices shall have an opportunity to progress

in all phases of the meat business.

B. An Employee promoted to Apprentice Cutter

Shall maintain his/her rate 0' receive the starting rate

listed in the Apprentice schedule, whichever is higher. If

his/her rate is higher than the starting rate of Apprentice,

he/she shall receive his/her next increase in pav after

having served the required period of time in accordance

with the Apprentice Progression Scale herein and shall

thereafter receive the applicable progression rate and

he/she shall receive all general increases. A warehouse

employee will receive the applicable rate of a general duty

60a

clerk for length of service or the beginning rate listed in

the apprentice schedule, whichever is higher.

C. Store Manager will notify both Management

and Union when starting an Apprentice Meat Cutter.

D. Meat room cleaning Monday through Friday

will normally begin not before 8 P.M. and Saturday not

before 12 noon except days of early closings and day

before holidays where Saturday schedule will be followed.

E. Apprentice meatcutters may cut on Sundays, at

the meatcutter rate, if no meatcutters are available.

ARTICLE 19

WAREHOUSE

Section 1.

A. Overtime-Warehouse: Employees must be

notified of required overtime work prior to luncheon

break on day oa which overtime is required to be

performed, or prior to leaving the warehouse on Friday

where Saturday work is required.

B. If notified thereafter, the Employee may decline

such overtime work at his/ her discretion. No notice

required for one (1) hour overtime.

C. As far as practical, consistent with maintenance

of the efficiency of the Employer's operations, overtime

work will be rotated among qualified full-time Employees

in the classificatioa in question.

Section 2

1. Warehouse Hours: Employees may be assigned,

by seniority, to regularly scheduled work weeks of five (5)

days - eight (8) hours per day, or four (4 days - ten (10)

hours per day subject to the following provisions.

A. Five (5) day week, forty (40) hour week.

Time and one half (1 1/2) for work after forty (40) hours

weekly and after thirty-two (32) hours in a holiday week

6la

unless two holidays fall during the week in which case the

scheduled work week shall be twenty-four (24) hours.

Time and one-half (1 1/2) will be paid full-time warehouse

Employees for time worked before and after their

scheduled regular work day, as long as employees work

their entire regularly scheduled shift. Management

retains the right to alter schedules provided total

remaining scheduled hours in the week are not cut.

(1.) Regular full time warehouse employees

hired prior to July 27, 1982 shall be scheduled to work

forty (40) hours on five (5) consecutive days, Monday

through Friday or Tuesday through Saturday.

(2.) Full time employees hired on or after

July 27, 1982 shall be assigned to work five (5) day: forty

(40) hours per week with two days off, one of which shall

be Sunday.

(3.) All employees hired or appointed after

July 27, 1985 may be assigned to a scheduled shift ending

no later than 7:00 A.M. Sunday. They will be given two

consecutive days off the first of which shall be designated

as the time and one-half (1 1/2) day and the second of

which shall be designated as a double time (2) day. There

will be no normally scheduled shifts between 7:01) A.M.

and 10:30 P.M. Sunday. Any employees hired prior to

July 27, 1985 that work between 7:10 A.M.. and 10:30

P.M. Sunday will do so voluntarily.

B. Four (4) day - ten (10) hour per day -

forty (40) iivuur week. Time end one half (1 1/2) for ork

after forty (40) hours weekly or in excess of ten (10) hours

in a day thirty (30) hours in a holiday week, unless two

holidays fall during the week, in which case the scheduled

work week shall be twenty (20) hours. Time and one half

(1 1/2) will be paid full time warehouse employees for

time worked before and after their scheduled regular

work day as long as employees work their entire rezularly

62a

scheduled shift. Management retains the right to alter

schedules, provided total remaining scheduled hours in

the week are not cut.

B. (1) All employees on the four (4) day - ten

(10) hour per day forty (40) hour week will have three

days off; including Sunday,- two of the three days must

be consecutive. The Company will work with the Union,

through alternative scheduling, part time pickers and ail

other means possible to better suit all employees shift

schedules.

B. (2) Holiday Hours 4-10's and Jury duty.

The employee will be compensated in full days from the

appropriate category not to exceed the following limits.

(90) hours holiday, (30) hours personal day, and (72)

hours sick pay in any combination, not to exceed a total of

(170) hours pay.

Personal time may be used as sick time only after

50 sick hours have.been used. If an employee goes back

to the five (5) day, eight (8) hour day schedule his/her

holiday hours and personal hours shall be recalculated

back to what is left of the allowable (72) sick hours.

If an employees from five 5 day eight 8 hour day

schedule to the four 4 day ten 10 hour day schedule and

has no sick time jeft to convert to holiday hours, he/she

shall be able to use Personal time to fill holiday hours.

The emplovee will be able to use the said (72) sick

hours to be converted in order to receive ten (10) hours

pay for his/her 9 holidays and 3 personal days.

The emplovee may declare twice a year the way in

which these benefit hours will be used.

New Years day will be a mandatory ten hour paid

holiday for all employee on the ten hour schedule. After

such time the employee will be able to declare how he/she

shall be compensated for his/her holiday pay.

If an employee goes back to the five (5) day, eight

63a

(8) hour day schedule his her holiday hours and personal

hours shall be recalculated back to what is left of the

allowable (72) sick hours.

An employee working a four (4) day ten (1¢) hour

day schedule shall not be required to work a fifth day if

he/she serves on jury duty and/or works four (4) days or

more, and he/she shall not be required to work the four

hour day if he/ she serves on Jury Duty and/or three (3)

days or more in a holiday week. An employee on jury

duty shall be granted holiday pay as if he/she were

working regularly. (All other references can be found in

Article 16)

C. Each warehouse shift shall have its own start

time which will be the same for all employees on said

shift.

D. All warehouse employees shall be paid tw» times

their regular rate of pay for work performed on major

holidays or Sunday except that double time shall not be

paid for regularly scheduled shift hours.

E. Full time employees shall be paid at the rate of

one and one-half (1 1/2) times their regular rate of pay for

hours worked on their scheduled day off other than

Sunday.

F. There will be no pyramiding on overtime.

G. Premium pay of thirty-five (3.35) cents per hour

will be paid all Employees on second shift. For purposes

of this Agreement, second shift shall mean any Employee

when their shift starts at 12:00 noon, cr after.

H. Part time warehouse employees will receive

overtime pay at time and one-half for all hours worked on

their regularly scheduled days off (except Sundays and

holidays) provided they work the regularly scheduled day

before and the regularly scheduled day after the

scheduled day off, except in case of injury or proven

illness or death in the family under Article 9. After 36

64a

hours the employee's base is increased by 30%.

Section 3. Part-Time Pickers

The Company may use part time pickers under the

following circumstances:

1. a. Part time pickers may be used only

when the thirty four (34) reduced hour full time

employees referred to in the 1994 warehouse side letter

are all moved to forty (40) hour status.

b. In the first two years of the contract there

may be a 10% ratio of part time picker's to the full time

union work force, as reflected on the Full time seniority

list

c. In the third year of the contract there

may be a 15% ratio of part time pickers to the full time

union work force as reflected on the full time seniority

list, provided that the full time seniority list at the East

Bridgewater Distribution Center includes not less than

227 individuals. If the number of individuals on the full

time seniority list drops below 227 then the allowed

percentage of part time pickers drops to 10%.

d. Part-time pickers will only be allowed to

select unless the print is complete in which case the

Company may assign them other General warehouse

duties in accordance with the shape up procedures.

e. Part-time pickers will work the least

desired shifts and schedules that the full time employees

do not wish to work.

f. Part-time pickers will not perform

classified jobs.

g. Part Time pickers shall work a maximum

of three days in a work week.

h. Part Time Pickers shall work a minimum

of 16 hours and a maximum of 24 hours per week, except

as provided under paragraph (1).

65a

i. Part Time Pickers shall work no less than

six and no greater than ten hours per day.

j. All schedules shall be honored by

seniority.

k. Holiday Week: Part time pickers shall be

scheduled at a minimum of 16 hours in a holiday week

and maintain their holiday pay.

1. Part time pickers can only work

additional hours to relieve forced overtime situations

when all other means have been exhausted Part time

pickers cannot be forced to work additional hours.

m. Part-time pickers will be paid at the

applicable Part Time Picker wage scale.

n. Part time pickers will be given their

schedules seven-(7) days in advance.

o. There shall be a three (3) week nctice of

lay-off

2. The Company agrees to work with the Union to

eliminate the split work week on the third shift, through

either alternative scheduling or any other means possible.

Th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.