Opposition Brief — Jaques Admiralty Law Firm v. ACandS, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 96-1940

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

*

THE JAQUES ADMIRALTY LAW FIRM,

Petitioner,

V.

FEL-PRO INCORPORATED,

FELT PRODUCTS MFG. CO., et al.,

Respondents.

+

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

.

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Marc L. Fleischaker Counsel for Respondents

Donald C. McLean * Fel-Pro Incorporated and

Laurel A. Bedig Felt Products Mfg. Co.

Rachel G. Lattimore

ARENT FOX KINTNER PLOTKIN & KAHN

1050 Connecticut Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036-5339

(202) 857-6000 * Counsel of Record

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals

properly imposed sanctions pursuant to the version of

Rule 38 of the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure in

effect at the time the Petitioner’s sanctionable conduct

and the briefing of the case occurred.

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

This brief in opposition is filed on behalf of Fel-Pro

Incorporated ("Fel-Pro") and Felt Products Mfg. Co. ("Felt

Products"). Fel-Pro and Felt Products are not publicly held

corporations or publicly held entities. Neither Fel-Pro nor

Felt Products is a parent, subsidiary, or affiliate of, or a

trade association representing, a publicly held corporation

or other publicly held entity. Fel-Pro and Felt Products

are not related to or affiliated with any publicly held

corporations or entities which have a direct financial

interest in the outcome of this case.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Respondents

Fel-Pro Incorporated and

Felt Products Mfg. Co.

The Petitioner

The Jaques Admiralty Law Firm

The plaintiff-appellants:

Norman D. Abar, et al. and Creighton E. Miller,

Administrator for the Estate of Isaac W. Abraham,

et al.

The defendant-appellees:

AC&S, Inc.

Alfred Conhagen Inc.

The Anchor Packing Company & Coltec Industries Inc.

=F

Aurora Pump Division of General Signal Corp.

The B.F. Goodrich Company

Champion International Corporation

Coffin Turbo Pump, Inc.

Durabla Manufacturing Company

Elliot Company

Everlasting Valve Company

Excelsior, Inc.

Fel-Pro Incorporated

Felt Products Mfg. Co.

The Flintkote Company

General Cable Corporation

The Goodyear Tire & Rubber Company

Green Tweed & Co.

The Home Rubber Company

Indian Head Industries, Inc.

Ingersoll-Dresser Pump Company

James Walker Manufacturing Company

Mortel] Company

Norton Company

The Okonite Company

Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corporation

Owens-Illinois, Inc.

PPG Industries, Inc.

Pittsburgh Corning Corp.

Plibrico Co.

Quaker Construction Products, Inc.

The Sherwin-Williams Company

USX Corporation

Vellumoid Inc.

Viking Pump, Inc.

Warren Pumps Inc.

- ili -

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED .....................

RULE 29.6 STATEMENT .................0.-- i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............... i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................... vii

OPINIONS BELOW ....................0-0--

STATUTES AND OTHER PROVISIONS INVOLVED . |!

SEAT EGmINS GR TR CASS ook cei cc weace. 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ........... 8

I. THE NINTH CIRCUIT COMPLIED WITH THE

VERSION OF RULE 38 OF THE FEDERAL

RULES OF APPELLATE PROCEDURE IN

EFFECT DURING THE RELEVANT TIME

PRS 6 CR Ad eae ee MEARE RS Ek es 8

A. The Version of Fed. R. App. P. 38 in

Effect at the Time of Petitioner’s

Sanctionable Conduct and Throughout

the Briefing Phase of the Appeal Did

Not Require Separate Notice or an

Opportunity To Respond. ............ 9

- iV -

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page

B. The Ninth Circuit Did Not Abuse

Its Discretion in Applying the

Earlier Version of Rule 38........__. 12

3 It Was Not “Just and

Practicable” To Apply the

Amended Version of Rule 38

to Petitioner’s Frivolous

WS ees soa eae ea 12

ya The Ninth Circuit’s Application

of the Earlier Version of Rule

38 Was an Exercise of Common

vee ee re Pee 15

Il. PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO SHOW

ANY REASON FOR THIS COURT TO

GRANT A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE NINTH CIRCUIT................__ 17

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision

Comports with Similar Discretionary

Determinations Made by Other

so Te es ee 18

B. This Case Presents No Departure from

Prior Ninth Circuit We cots nen oa 20

... Petitioner Seeks Only To Delay —

Not To Oppose — the Imposition of

I kes deo te Sie ae

TABLE OF CONTENTS - continued

Page

I. DUE PROCESS WAS NOT DENIED

BECAUSE PETITIONER HAD ADEQUATE

NOTICE AND REASONABLE OPPORTUNITY

TO RESPOND TO THE IMPOSITION OF

5 i a ry A

A. Petitioner Ignored the Threat of

Sanctions from Several Sources. ...... 23

B. The Ninth Circuit Complied with the

Spirit of the Amended Rule 38 and

Accorded Petitioner Sufficient Due

PL 4 SO a a Oe obs CaS Bee 26

CONCLUSION 28

o Vi -

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

83 F.3d 426 (table), 1996 WL 183752.

1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 9900

(9th Cir. Apr. 16,1996) ......000 od

Abar v. ACandS, Inc.. No. 94-55624

(9th Cir. Apr. 16,1996) ..........00 Passim

Abbey v. ACandS, Inc.. No. C-93-2813 MHP

(N.D. Cal. Sept. 27, POS OSs Peat ot to, 24

Abdullah v. ACandsS, Inc. , 30 F.3d 264 (1st Cir. 1994) ..25

Acevedo v. ACandS. Inc., No. 93-0629-AH-S

(S.D. Ala. Oct. 28, 1993) PP eee eewe ee ee

Agretti v. ANR Freight System, Inc., No. 89 C 5492,

1994 WL 46670, 1994 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 1433

(N.D. Ill. Feb. 7, Re toca ee A 16, 17

Aguilar v. Sunland Beef Co., 89 F.3d 844 (table),

1996 WL 218188, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 11049

(9th Cir. Apr. 29. ania: te eT aCe 21

In re Allustiarte, 62 F.3d 1425 (table), 1995 WL 460407.

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 22468

(9th Cir. Aug. 3,1995) 2.0... 21

In re American Continental Corp., 102 F.3d 1524

ian, STE eT ee 21

- Vii -

In re Becraft, 885 F.2d 547 (9th Cir. 1989) ........... 24

Brown vy. ACanasS, Inc., No. 2:93-1274

i5te, 3 er eee 25

Carroll v. Jaques Admiralty Law Firm, 110 F.3d 290

be A) ee ee ee re eee ery ee 25

Clark v. Central Cartage Co., 73 F.3d 361 (table),

1995 WL 758459, 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 38820

Ee Gtk: BO ROD . ke cs en a UA a ark oe 19

In re Del Mission Ltd., 98 F.3d 1147 (9th Cir. 1996) .... 21

Fordjour v. Forties Benefits Insurance Co.,

57 F.3d 1076 (table), 1995 WL 341562,

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 14446

‘oe we By Sree ree 21

Gabor v. Frazer, 78 F.3d 459 (9th Cir. 1996) ......... 21

In re Generes, 69 F.3d 821 (7th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 81 (1996) ............. 16

Hatch v. Reliance Insurance Co., 758 F.2d 409 (9th Cir.),

cert denied, 474 U.S. 1021 (1985) ......... 10, 24

Hill v. Norfolk and Western Railway Co.,

lg Be. ae, oo 3D. ¢ sr 1]

Hoefler v. Caesars Tahoe, 15 F.3d 1085 (table),

1994 WL 28354, 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 2420

Le Re | ae ee eee 27

- Vill -

Hyde v. Van Wormer, 474 U.S. 992 fe l]

Julien v. Zeringue, 864 F.2d 1572 (Fed. Cir.),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 917 CE0e) ............. 28

K & T Enterprises, Inc. y. Zurich Insurance Co..

97 F.3d 171 (6th Cir. EG Sere es eS 20

Landgraf v. USI Film Products,

S11 U.S. 244 (1994) 20 15, 16

in re Lund, 83 F.3d 427 (table), 1996 WL 183658.

1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 9756

(9th Cir. Apr. 12,1996) ...... opp 21

MacDraw, Inc. v. CIT Group Equipment F inancing,

73 F.3d 1253 (2d Cir. GOS orin cous oes. 16

Matter of Bero, 110 F.3d 462 (7th Cir.1997) ....... 19

McConnell v. Critchlow, 661 F.2d 116 (9th Cir. 1981) .. 24

McDonough v. Royal Caribbean Cruises, Ltd,

48 F.3d 256 (7th Cir. icy a rn 20

Miller v. ACandS Inc., No. 94-55677

(9th Cir. Apr. 16, i nD Passim

Morrissey y. Brewer, 408 U.S. 47] is: Oar 28

Nordberg, Inc. y. Telsmith, 82 F.3d 394

dated in| ee 19

- 1X-

Payne v. Exxon Corp., 73 F.3d 370 (table),

1995 WL 766016, 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 38376

ee te. Ge en are 21

In re Perry, 918 F.2d 931 (Fed. Cir. 1990) ............ 10

Regal Capital, Inc. v. Valencia, 106 F.3d 408 (table),

1997 WL 31139, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 1105

oe Me ; Ga eee 21

Romala Corp. v. United States, 927 F.2d 1219

CE Se SOE as a eee es keke ceeds 10, 11

In re Rudnick, 62 F.3d 1423 (table), 1995 WL 460360,

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 22469

ee eo ee eee ee 21

Schroeder v. K & K Insurance Group, Inc.,

70 F.3d 1274 (table), 1995 WL 687663,

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 34004

Ce Se I 8a ees Oa eee sees eos 19

Shiloh v. Reader’s Digest Association Inc.,

62 F.3d 1425 (table), 1995 WL 465774,

1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 22927

oo ge ee Sree eee ae 21

Silva v. Witschen, 19 F.3d 725 (1st Cir. 1994) ......... 16

Simmons v. Allstate Life Insurance Co., 65 F.3d 526

Ce See i kicks cow evreCeuear es 14, 18, 20, 27

Smith v. Ricks, 3] F.3d 1478 (9th Cir. 1994),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 1400 (. :) 10, 24

In re Sovereign Partners, 110 F.3d 70 (table),

1997 WL 160279, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 6598

(9th Cir. Apr. 4, Jinigisi Ae ee een 21

I.G.C. Corp. v. Park, 1997 WL 234614.

1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 10637

(6th Cir. May6,1997) 200 19

Toepfer v. Department of Transportation.

792 F.2d 1102 (Fed. Cir. Ree 10, 11

Ullman-Briggs, Inc. v. Deerfield Housewares, Inc..

100 F.3d 942 (table), 1996 WL 20512,

1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 2435

(2d Cir. Jan. 19,1996) 2... 19

In re Wall, 108 F.3d 340 (table), 1997 WL 74470.

1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 3139

(9th Cir. Feb. 18,1997)... 2]

STATUTES

WO i 2

Oe Br Ye es: 6

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(@)(1) oo... 4,5

Fed. R. Civ. P. 8(a)(2) 2. 4,5

- Xj] -

Pe Oe ee vee ee see reese soe ws Kaen Semen

Pe ae apes ae ho koa aya a eupaeuans +

PO ae ea SEED voc vesnse cu ctccnscaveew Gu

Kk Ee re ree ree eer ane passim

Fed. R. App. P. 38 (amended 1994) ............. passim

IRENE co basa cade teen sen resent ia 17, 18, 20

MISCELLANEOUS

Communication from the Chief Justice,

the Supreme Court of the United States,

Transmitting Amendments to the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, H.R. Doc. No. 247,

103d Come., 26 Seas. 1 C19PS) ...........6....2, 3

OPINIONS BELOW

The Ninth Circuit's decision that affirmed the

District Court's dismissal and imposed sanctions in Abar

v. ACandS, Inc., No. 94-55624 (9th Cir. Apr. 16, 1996)

(hereafter "Abar"), and Miller v. ACandS, Inc., No. 94-

55677 (9th Cir. April 16, 1996) (hereafter Miller"), is

listed as a “table case” at 83 F.3d 426 (9th Cir. 1996).

That decision is reported unofficially at 1996 WL 183752

and 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 9900. (Pet’r App. 1-6.) The

remaining orders of the Ninth Circuit and the orders of

the Ninth Circuit's Appellate Commissioner are unreported.

(Pet’r App. 7-8, 22-46, 78.)

The opinions of the District Court are unreported.

(Resp’ts App. 10ra-17ra, 25ra-28ra; Pet’r App. 47-53.)

STATUTES AND OTHER PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Fed. R. App. P. 38 (amended 1994), as in effect

at the time of Petitioner's frivolous appeal to the Ninth

Circuit and Respondents’ opposition thereto, provided:

If a court of appeals shall determine that an appeal

is frivolous, it may award just damages and single

or double costs to the appellee.

Fed. R. App. P. 38 was subsequently amended in

1994 to provide:

If a court of appeals determines that an appeal is

frivolous, it may, after a separately filed motion or

notice from the court and reasonable opportunity to

respond, award just damages and single or double

costs to appellee.

Through the Chief Justice's Communication

transmitting the 1994 amendment to Fed. R. App. P.

38 to Congress (Resp’ts App. lra-5ra), this Court ordered,

in pertinent part:

2. That the foregoing amendments to the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure [including that to

Rule 38] shall take effect on December 1, 1994,

and shall govern all proceedings in appellate

cases thereafter commenced and, insofar as just and

practicable, all proceedings in appellate cases then

pending.

The actions giving rise to the Petition for Wnt

of Certiorari were originally filed in the District Court.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The Miller and Abar actions underlying this dispute

were initiated in the United States District Court for the

Southern District of California on July 27, 1993, pursuant

to the admiralty provisions of Article III, section 2 of the

Constitution, and based upon diversity of citizenship under

28 U.S.C. § 1332. The Abar action was filed on behalf of

994 plaintiffs against 93 defendants. More than 20 pages

of the 26-page complaint were required to list the names of

the 994 plaintiffs and 93 defendants. The allegations of

these 994 plaintiffs were set forth in just four pages of the

complaint. The Miller action was filed on behalf of the

alleged administrator of the estates of 370 decedents

against the same 93 defendants. More than eight pages of

the 14-page complaint were required to list the names of

the 370 plaintiffs and 93 defendants. Again, the plaintiffs’

allegations were set forth in just over four pages of

the complaint.’

Both complaints alleged that the defendants

manufactured, sold, or supplied “harmful toxins and

carcinogens including asbestos and asbestos-containing

products” for use aboard vessels and asserted Claims for

personal injuries arising from plaintiffs’ alleged exposure

to “the aforestated chemicals and products.” (Resp’ts App.

42ra.)

In August 1993, defendants Fel-Pro Incorporated

and Felt Products Mfg. Co. (hereinafter collectively

referred to as “Fel-Pro” and/or “Respondents”) filed a

motion to dismiss the complaints in both the Miller and

Abar actions. Thereafter, several additional defendants

adopted Fel-Pro's motions and supporting memoranda or

filed their own motions to dismiss 2

On September 9, 1993, the District Court issued

Orders to Show Cause in Miller and Abar, setting a

hearing at which plaintiffs’ counsel, Petitioner herein,

would be required to show cause why the cases should be

4 Except for the names of the plaintiffs, the complaint filed in Abar is

virtually identical to the complaint filed in Miller, which is included

herein at Resp’ts App. 29ra-45ra.

~ Respondents’ motions identified numerous deficiencies in plaintiffs’

complaints, including: (1) the failure to establish a basis for subject

matter jurisdiction over the claims asserted against the defendants;

(2) the failure to establish a basis for personal jurisdiction over the

defendants; (3) the failure to provide sufficient factual information to

give defendants adequate notice of the claims against them and the

grounds for the plaintiffs’ claims: and (4) the improper joinder of 994

plaintiffs in Abar and 370 decedents in Miller.

ee

docketed in that court. (Resp’ts App. 25ra-28ra.) In

its Orders, the District Court found that the complaints

presented “serious questions regarding not only the

jurisdiction of this Court, but whether this Court has

any connection with the claims and whether there has been

compliance with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.”

(Resp’ts App. 25ra, 27ra.) Following the show cause

hearing, which took place on November 1, 1993, the

District Court directed the plaintiffs to respond to the

Show Cause Orders and the motions to dismiss filed by

Respondents and other defendants.

On January 18, 1994, the District Court issued an

Order which dropped the claims of all but the first-named

plaintiff, Norman D. Abar, in the Abar case and the claims

of the estates of all but the first-named decedent, Isaac W.

Abraham, Sr., in the Miller case on the ground that they

were improperly joined under Rule 20 of the Federal Rules

of Civil Procedure. (Pet’r App. 47-53.) The District Court

stated that its Order was without prejudice to any of the

993 dropped plaintiffs or the representatives of any of the

369 dropped decedents filing amended complaints as long

as they “satisf[ied] the jurisdictional, pleading, and venue

requirements of federal law and the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure.” (Pet’r App. 50-51.)

The District Court then dismissed the complaints as

to the first-named and remaining plaintiff in each case for

failure to comply with the requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P.

8(a)(1) and 8(a)(2). The District Court concluded that the

~ Although the Abar case was initially assigned to a different judge, it

was subsequently reassigned to District Judge John S. Rhoades, Sr.,

who already had been assigned to the Miller case. The Miller and

Abar cases were later considered by the District Court jointly.

+

complaints failed to Satisfy the requirements of Rule

8(a)(1) because they did not provide a factual basis for the

assertion of admiralty jurisdiction. (Pet’r App. 52.) The

District Court also held that the complaints failed to meet

the threshold requirement of Rule 8(a)(2) that a pleader

must set forth a short and plain statement of the claim

showing that the pleader is entitled to relief # (Pet’r

App. 52-53.)

On January 31, 1994, the plaintiffs in both actions

filed a Motion for Relief from Judgment of Dismissal,

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(6), in which they asserted

that the District Court should reverse its order dismissing

their claims because the statute of limitations would

otherwise bar their claims against the named defendants.

In their motion, the plaintiffs also requested the transfer

of their dismissed claims to the U.S. District Court for the

Northern District of Ohio.

On March 14, 1994, the District Court issued an

Order denying plaintiffs' motion on the ground that Rule

60(b)(6) did not apply to the January 18, 1994 Dismissal

Order because it was a nonappealable interlocutory order.

(Resp’ts App. 10ra-17ra.) The District Court also

concluded that even if Rule 60(b)(6) did apply to the

January 18, 1994 Order, plaintiffs had not shown the

existence of the type of “extraordinary circumstances”

required under the Rule that would entitle them to the

* The January 18, 1994 Order gave first-named plaintiffs Abar and

Miller 21 days’ leave to amend their complaints to comply with the

requirements of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. (Pet’r App. 53.)

There is no indication in the record, however, that either plaintiff has

ever filed or attempted to file an amended complaint in compliance

with the District Court's Order.

=

relief requested.* (Resp’ts App. 15ra.) A month later,

on April 14, 1994 in Miller and April 15, 1994 in Abar,

Petitioner filed with the Ninth Circuit Notices of Appeal

from the District Court's Order denying the Motion for

Relief from Judgment.

Plaintiffs filed their appellate briefs with the

Ninth Circuit on September 1, 1994, and Fel-Pro filed

its opposition briefs on September 28, 1994. Defendant-

appellee Owens-Illinois, Inc. filed separate opposition

briefs which contained a request for sanctions on

October 3, 1994. (Pet’r App. 55, 62.) Plaintiffs' reply

oriefs, filed on November 1, 1994, did not address the

issue of sanctions. In the appeal, plaintiffs contended

that the District Court erred in dismissing the complaints

and in refusing to transfer the dismissed actions to the U.S.

District Court for the Northern District of Ohio.

By Memorandum of April 16, 1996, the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals upheld the District Court's

decision and, in the process, found plaintiffs' appeal to

be “frivolous.” (Pet’r App. 6.) In so finding, the Ninth

Circuit noted that motions for relief under Rule 60(b) are

reviewed for abuse of discretion only; the underlying

judgment is not subject to review. (Pet’r App. 4.)

Plaintiffs’ appeal merely repeated their legal arguments

* The District Court also denied plaintiffs’ transfer request on the

grounds that there were no causes of action to transfer since the

complaints had been dismissed and because the plaintiffs had failed to

establish a basis for transfer under 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a). (Resp’ts App.

16ra.)

© Plaintiffs’ initial opening appellate briefs, filed on August 16, 1994,

were rejected by the Ninth Circuit as a result of Petitioner’s violation

of several Ninth Circuit procedural rules.

~ -

made out below, and the Ninth Circuit found that the

plaintiffs did not demonstrate any “extraordinary

circumstances” which prevented plaintiffs from seeking

more timely relief, such as filing a direct appeal. (Pet’r

App. 4.) Indeed, the appellate court noted that prior Ninth

Circuit law had specifically rejected the type of

“extraordinary circumstance" put forth by plaintiffs in

support of their claim for Rule 60(b)(6) relief. (Pet’r App.

4-5.) The Ninth Circuit also found that the District Court

did not abuse its discretion in refusing to grant plaintiffs’

request for transfer because the cases had been dismissed

and, therefore, there were no cases left to transfer. (Pet’r

App. 5-6.) Furthermore, as a result of the frivolous nature

of the appeal, the Ninth Circuit awarded sanctions against

the plaintiffs’ attorney, Petitioner herein, for attorneys’ fees

and double costs and directed the Ninth Circuit Appellate

Commissioner to “determine the amount of sanctions to be

awarded each defendant.” (Pet’r App. 6.)

Petitioner challenged the Ninth Circuit's award of

Sanctions in a Motion to Vacate Summary Imposition of

Rule 38 Sanctions, or, in the Alternative, for Statement

of Reasons and Opportunity to Respond, alleging that the

Ninth Circuit's failure to comply with the amended version

of Fed. R. App. P. 38 violated its due process xights.

(Pet’r App. 69.) The Ninth Circuit denied the Motion to

Vacate on June 7, 1996. (Pet’r App. 77.)

The Ninth Circuit's Appellate Commissioner filed

an Order quantifying the amount of sanctions on

September 16, 1996. (Pet’r App. 22.) Two weeks later,

on September 30, 1996, Petitioner moved for

reconsideration of portions of that award, but included no

mention of Petitioner's previous Rule 38 Challenge. (Pet’r

App. 9.) The Ninth Circuit denied Petitioner's motion for

x

reconsideration on March 6, 1997, and Petitioner now

bases the timeliness of its Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

upon that denial of reconsideration. (Pet’r App. 7.)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

:. THE NINTH CIRCUIT COMPLIED WITH

THE VERSION OF RULE 38 OF THE

FEDERAL RULES OF APPELLATE

PROCEDURE IN EFFECT DURING THE

RELEVANT TIME PERIOD.

On the days that Petitioner filed the notices of its

frivolous appeal with the Ninth Circuit — April 14 and 15,

1994 — the pre-amendment version of Fed. R. App. P. 38

was in effect. Indeed, on the dates that Petitioner filed

its opening appellate briefs (September 1, 1994),

Respondents filed their opposition briefs (September 28,

1994), and defendant-appellee Owens-Illinois, Inc. filed

opposition briefs that included an unequivocal request that

Petitioner be sanctioned pursuant to Rule 38 (October 3,

1994), the pre-amendment version of Rule 38 was in

effect. The earlier version of Rule 38 was also in effect on

November 1, 1994, when Petitioner, ignoring the request

for sanctions, completed the briefing of its frivolous appeal

by filing reply briefs. Thus, all of Petitioner’s sanctionable

conduct involving the filing and briefing of its frivolous

appeal took place prior to the December 1, 1994 effective

date of the amendment to Rule 38.

During the time of Petitioner’s sanctionable conduct

and the briefing of that appeal, separate notice and an

opportunity to respond prior to the imposition of sanctions

were not required by the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, but were merely discretionary with the circuit

-

courts. The Ninth Circuit exercised its sound discretion

not to require separate notice and hearing when the

frivolous appeal was filed — and a then proper request

for sanctions was made — before the new requirements

went into effect.

A. The Version of Fed. R. App. P. 38 in

Effect at the Time of Petitioner’s

Sanctionable Conduct and Throughout

the Briefing Phase of the Appeal Did

Not Require Separate Notice or an

Opportunity To Respond.

Rule 38 of the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure authorizes an appellate court to impose sanctions

in the form of attorneys’ fees and costs against a party,

like Petitioner, that has filed a frivolous appeal. Fed. R.

App. P. 38.

An amendment to the Rule, effective December 1.

1994, now requires a separately filed motion for sanctions

or notice from the court and an Opportunity to respond

before sanctions may be imposed. Jd. The earlier version

of the Rule was more expansive and required no such

special notice or opportunity to respond. It provided that

“[i]f a court of appeals shall determine that an appeal is

frivolous, it may award just damages and single or double

costs to the appellee.” Fed. R. App. P. 38 (amended

1994).

Prior to the 1994 amendment to Rule 38, an

appellate court could, in its sound discretion, impose

sanctions for a frivolous appeal either sua sponte or upon

a request by the appellee made in that party's opposition

to the appeal. "[D]amages are awarded by the court in its

-9.

discretion in the case of a frivolous appeal as a matter

of justice to the appellee and as a penalty against the

appellant." Fed. R. App. P. 38 advisory committee’s note

to 1967 adoption. See also, Hatch v. Reliance Ins. Co.,

758 F.2d 409, 416 (9th Cir.) (sanctions need not be sought

to be awarded), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1021 (1985). Prior

to the 1994 amendment, no separate notice was required

before Rule 38 sanctions could be imposed; the mere

existence of Rule 38 and precedential case law imposing

the Rule were found to provide adequate notice to satisfy

due process. In Romala Corp. v. United States, 927 F.2d

1219 (Fed. Cir. 1991), the Federal Circuit stated:

Nor does due process require any specific notice or

opportunity for additional briefing or a hearing

prior to imposition of Rule 38 sanctions under the

circumstances presented here. The due process

requirement of adequate notice is satisfied by the

elementary principle that “practitioners in this

court are expected to know and follow the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure and the precedents in

the court's published jurisprudence,” including Rule

38 and our lengthy line of decisions applying it in

appropriate cases.

927 F.2d at 1226 (citing In re Perry, 918 F.2d 931, 935

(Fed. Cir. 1990)).

Moreover, prior to the 1994 amendment to Rule 38,

an opportunity to respond was not required before

sanctions could be imposed for a frivolous appeal. Smith

v. Ricks, 31 F.3d 1478, 1489 (9th Cir. 1994) (imposing

sanctions without separate hearing), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct.

1400 (1995); Toepfer v. DOT, 792 F.2d 1102, 1103 (Fed.

Cir. 1986) (to require hearing for assessment of damages

_

pursuant to Rule 38 “would impose on the opposing party

and on the court an even greater burden in dealing with a

frivolous appeal and entirely defeat the purpose of Rule

38").

The Seventh Circuit in Hill v. Norfolk and Western

Railway Co., 814 F.2d 1192 (7th Cir. 1987), took pains to

explain why an opportunity for written or oral explanation

was not necessary:

Where, as in this and most Rule 38 cases, the

conduct that is sought to be sanctioned consists

of making objectively groundless legal arguments

in briefs filed in this court, there are no issues

that a hearing could illuminate. All the relevant

“conduct” is laid out in the briefs themselves:

neither the mental state of the attorney nor any

other factual issue is pertinent to the imposition

of sanctions for such conduct.

Hill, 814 F.2d at 1201 (emphasis added). Accord, Romala

Corp., 927 F.2d at 1226-27. See also, Toepfer v. DOT,

792 F.2d at 1103 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (citing Hyde v. Van

Wormer, 474 U.S. 992 (1985), in which this Court awarded

damages under its Rule 49.2 without a hearing).

Based on the foregoing, it is clear that at the time

Petitioner filed and briefed its frivolous appeal, Rule 38

affordcd Petitioner no right to notice or an opportunity to

respond prior to the imposition of sanctions by the Ninth

Circuit. Any due process requirements for notice were met

by the actual existence of Rule 38 and Petitioner's

obligation to know the Rules, the actual notice in Owens-

Illinois’ briefs, and, as set out infra at Section IIL.A..

the fact that Petitioner had been warned about similar

«Mtn

sanctionable conduct by other courts. Any due process

requirements for an opportunity to respond were likewise

met because Petitioner had a chance to reply to the

demand for sanctions which were plainly requested in the

Owens-Illinois’ briefs, but did not.

B. The Ninth Circuit Did Not Abuse Its

Discretion in Applying the Earlier

Version of Rule 38.

1. It Was Not “Just and Practicable”

To Apply the Amended Version of

Rule 38 to Petitioner’s Frivolous

Appeal.

Petitioner failed to advise this Court in its petition

that the version of Rule 38 in effect at the time of

Petitioner’s frivolous appeal did not require separate notice

Or an opportunity to respond before the Ninth Circuit could

impose sanctions. In fact, Petitioner simply assumes that

amended Rule 38 automatically applied to all matters

pending on the date of its implementation. This

assumption is, however, incorrect. In its transmission

to Congress of the 1994 Amendment of Rule 38, this Court

ordered:

2. That the foregoing amendments to the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure [including Rule 38]

shall take effect on December 1, 1994, and shall

govern all proceedings in appellate cases thereafter

«80s

commenced and, insofar as just and practicable, all

proceedings in appellate cases then pending.”

Thus, pursuant to this Court’s clear instructions. the

Ninth Circuit was not required to apply the 1994

amendment to Rule 38 to the pending appeal in Miller and

Abar. Instead, absent a determination by the appellate

court that application of the amended Rule would be “just

and practicable,” the prior version of Rule 38 was properly

applied to the pending appeal.

Petitioner has failed to make any showing that

application of the amended version of Rule 38 to its

frivolous appeal would be just and practicable. Nor

could such a showing be made. There was no just reason

to apply the amended Rule when all of Petitioner’s conduct

giving rise to the imposition of sanctions took place prior

to the effective date of the amendment. Similarly, there

was no just reason to apply amended Rule 38 to this case

when, as set forth infra at Section II.A.. Petitioner was

on notice from numerous federal courts that the filing of

claims virtually identical to the claims that were the

Subject of this appeal was frivolous and/or sanctionable.

Moreover, it was not practicable to apply the amended

version of the Rule when all briefing by the parties in

the Miller and Abar appeal had been concluded well before

the effective date of the amendment. Thus, it was not

~ See Communication from the Chief Justice, the Supreme Court of the

United States, Amendments to the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure, H.R. Doc. No. 247, 103d Cong., 2d Sess., 1 (1994) (the

relevant portions of which are included herein at Resp’ts App. Ira-5ra)

(emphasis supplied).

~ Indeed, Petitioner has failed to even address the "just and

practicable” requirement in its petition.

— -

“yust and practicable” for the Ninth Circuit to apply

the amended version of Rule 38 to Petitioner’s appeal.

Indeed, under the circumstances presented here, application

of the amended Rule would have worked an injustice upon

Respondents and the other defendants by forcing them to

incur more expense in defending Petitioner’s claim that

its frivolous appeal was not sanctionable and more delay

in receiving the attorneys’ fees and costs to which they

are entitled.

A single appellate case has discussed whether

imposition of the amendment to Rule 38 on a pending

appeal that had been fully briefed prior to the effective

date of the amendment was appropriate. Simmons v.

Allstate Life Ins. Co., 65 F.3d 526 (6th Cir. 1995).

In Simmons, as in Miller and Abar, the appellate court

imposed sanctions after the effective date of Rule 38’s

amendment for the filing of a frivolous appeal that took

place prior to the effective date of the amendment. As

in Miller and Abar, appellee’s brief contained a request

for sanctions, but there had been no separately filed motion

or notice from the court.

The Simmons court found that the reply brief,

which responded to the request for sanctions, evidenced the

appellant's notice of the request. Consequently, the court

held that separate notice and an opportunity to respond was

not necessary before sanctions could be imposed. Jd. at

531.

In this case, Petitioner was also on notice of the

Ninth Circuit's consideration of sanctions through

defendant-appellee Owens-Illinois’ requests for sanctions

in its briefs. (Pet’r App. 58-59, 65-66.) Petitioner's

failure to respond to those requests for sanctions should

-

——————

not be made the basis for according it yet another

Opportunity to forestall the imposition of sanctions.

2. The Ninth Circuit’s Application of

the Earlier Version of Rule 38 Was

an Exercise of Common Sense.

The Ninth Circuit's imposition of the unamended

Rule 38 was an exercise of common sense applied to the

facts of a particular case, an exercise in discretion

approved by this Court. “Our orders approving

amendments to federal procedural rules reflect the common

sense notion that the applicability of such provisions

ordinarily depends on the posture of the particular case.”

Landgraf v. USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244, 275 n.29

(1994) (citing the “just and practicable” language that

usually accompanies this Court's Orders amending Federal

Rules).

In Landgraf, the issue was whether a substantive

amendment to the Civil Rights Act of 1991 should apply

to cases arising before its enactment where the statute

was silent as to retroactivity. In discussing the general

prescription against statutory retroactivity, this Court

also commented about the retroactivity of procedural rules.

Specifically, this Court stated that “the mere fact that

a new rule is procedural does not mean that it applies to

every pending case.” Jd* Instead, this Court noted that

= As an example of a situation in which a new procedural rule would

not apply to a pending case, this Court stated that "[a] new rule

concerning the filing of complaints would not govern an action in

which the complaint had already been properly filed under the old

regime ...." Jd. Similarly, the amendment to Rule 38 should not

apply to cases like Miller and Abar where a request for sanctions had

been properly made under the earlier version of the Rule.

-15-

courts must employ a common sense approach in deciding

whether procedural changes should be applied to pending

cases. Jd. Thus, this Court has left determinations of

what constitutes a “just and practicable” application of

Rule changes to pending matters to the common sense of

each court. This common sense must, necessarily, be

applied on a case-by-case basis.

The common sense approach to the application of

new amendments to procedural Rules has been applied by

federal courts in other contexts. For example, the 1993

amendment to Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 11 was

introduced by this Court with similar “just and practicable”

language as that used to introduce the 1994 amendment to

Fed. R. App. P. 38. In determining which version of Rule

11 to apply to cases pending as of the effective date of

the amendment, courts used a common sense approach

which typically focused on the version of the Rule in

effect at the time of the sanctionable conduct. See, e.g.,

In re Generes, 69 F.3d 821, 826-27 (7th Cir. 1995)

(applying the former version of Rule 11 where initial brief

filed prior to amendments even though district court's

decision and motion for sanctions filed after effective

date), cert. denied, 117 S. Ct. 81 (1996); MacDraw, Inc. v.

CIT Group Equip. Fin., 73 F.3d 1253, 1257 (2d Cir. 1996)

(“Because the allegedly sanctionable conduct in this case

occurred prior to the effective date of the 1993

amendments, the district court was required to apply the

standard of conduct set forth in the pre-1993 Rule [11]");

Silva v. Witschen, 19 F.3d 725, 728 (ist Cir. 1994) ("[W]e

review the . . . sanction order under the pre-amendment

Rule 11 standards in force at the time the sanctioned

conduct occurred."); Agretti v. ANR Freight Sys., Inc., No.

89 C 5492, 1994 WL 46670, at *1, 1994 U.S. Dist. LEXIS

1433, at *2-3 (N.D. Ill. Feb. 7, 1994) (applying version of

Rule 11 in effect at the time of the sanctionable conduct).

Here, the Ninth Circuit applied its common sense

and exercised its discretion not to apply the 1994

amendment to its imposition of sanctions as to conduct that

occurred well before the effective date of the amendment

to Fed. R. App. P. 38. That decision was just and

practicable, and does not warrant review by this Court.

II. PETITIONER HAS FAILED TO SHOW

ANY REASON FOR THIS COURT TO

GRANT A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE NINTH CIRCUIT.

This Court is well aware of its own considerations

governing review on certiorari. See Sup. Ct. R. 10.

Despite Petitioner's assertions to the contrary, it has

presented no compelling reasons to justify this Court's

review. The Ninth Circuit's decision not to apply the

amended version of Rule 38 to the imposition of sanctions

in Miller and Abar creates no conflict among the circuits;

every appeal cited by Petitioner to justify such a conflict

was brought or briefed after the 1994 amendment was

implemented. Petitioner has failed to cite a single case

in which a circuit court required a separate motion for

sanctions where a request had been made during briefing

that was completed before the amendment went into effect.

Neither has Petitioner offered any other compelling reasons

to justify review. See Sup. Ct. R. 10. A decision by this

Court would affect no one but the parties involved and

would fail to serve the ends of justice in any way. Rather,

it would merely squander this Court's time and resources

while delaying the inevitable results of Petitioner's

frivolous conduct.

Ws

A. The Ninth Circuit’s Decision Comports

with Similar Discretionary Determinations

Made by Other Circuits.

The Ninth Circuit's decision to impose sanctions on

Petitioner's frivolous appeal of Miller and Abar created no

conflict among the circuits sufficient to justify review of

that decision by this Court. See Sup. Ct. R. 10% The

issue in this matter — whether a circuit court properly

exercised its discretion not to apply the 1994 amendment

to Fed. R. App. P. 38 to a case that had been appealed and

fully briefed prior to that amendment's implementation date

— has been reached by only one other circuit court. In

that action, Simmons v. Allstate Life Ins. Co., the Sixth

Circuit reached the same conclusion as the Ninth Circuit

did in Miller and Abar. Simmons, 65 F.3d at 531; see

supra Section I.B.1. In its attempt to create a conflict

where none exists, Petitioner has cited, either intentionally

or inadvertently, five cases appealed after the amendment's

implementation date when separate notice and opportunity

to respond were required. These cases are irrelevant to the

~ Sup. Ct. R. 10 provides:

Review on a writ of certiorari is not a matter of nght, but of

judicial discretion. A petition for a writ of certiorari will be

granted only for compelling reasons. The following, although

neither controlling nor fully measuring the Court's discretion,

indicate the character of the reasons the Court considers:

(a) a United States court of appeals has entered a decision in

conflict with the decision of another United States court of

appeals on the same important matter . . . or has so far

departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings . . . as to call for an exercise of this Court's

supervisory power.

- 18 -

central issue in this case of whether the Ninth Circuit was

correct in imposing sanctions pursuant to the earlier

version of Rule 38, in effect at the time of Petitioner's

sanctionable conduct and at the time during which the

appeal was briefed +!

The remaining three cases on which Petitioner bases

its allegation of a conflict among circuits are also

immaterial to a review of the propriety of the Ninth

Circuit's decision in Miller and Abar. In each of these

cases, courts applied the 1994 amendment to Fed. R. App.

P. 38 to appeals filed prior to the amendment's effective

date. In two of those cases, however, briefing had not yet

been completed by December 1, 1994, and so the parties

were not prejudiced by application of the amendment. In

one of those cases, Clark v. Central Cartage Co., the Sixth

Circuit specifically stated that it did not apply the

unamended version of Fed. R. App. P. 38 when briefing

had not been completed prior to the Amendment's

implementation. That court distinguished its prior decision

in Simmons: “Simmons is distinguishable from the case at

bar, because, in this case, the company [appellee] filed

its brief after amended Rule 38 became effective.” Clark,

73 F.3d 361 (table), 1995 WL 758459, 1995 U.S. App.

LEXIS 38820, at *9 (6th Cir. Dec. 21, 1995) (appellant

brief filed 1/25/95; appellee brief filed 2/24/95). See

See Ullman-Briggs, Inc. v. Deerfield Housewares, Inc., 100 F.3d 942

(table), 1996 WL 20512, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 2435 (2d Cir. Jan. 19,

1996) (No. 95-7827); T.G.C. Corp. v. Park, No. 96-5638, 1997 WL

234614, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 10637 (6th Cir. May 6, 1997); Matter

of Bero, 110 F.3d 462 (7th Cir. 1997) (No. 96-2828); Schroeder v.

K & K Ins. Group, Inc., 70 F.3d 1274 (table), 1995 WL 687663, 1995

U.S. App. LEXTS 34004 (7th Cir. Nov. 16, 1995) (No. 95-1148):

Nordberg, inc. v. Telsmith, 82 F.3d 394 (Fed. Cir. 1996) (No. 95-

1316).

- 19-

K & T Enters., Inc. v. Zurich Ins. Co., 97 F.3d 171 (6th

Cir. 1996) (applying Fed. R. App. P. 38’s 1994 amendment

to imposition of sanctions where appellate briefs first

filed on January 27, 1995). By contrast, in Miller and

Abar, as in Simmons, briefing of the case was finished by

the time the amended Fed. R. App. P. 38 became effective.

The last case cited by Petitioner was a Seventh

Circuit opinion requiring separate notice and opportunity

to respond for an appeal briefed prior to December 1,

1994, but that case is also irrelevant to the Ninth Circuit's

decision in Miller and Abar* Since February 1, 1992,

Seventh Circuit Rule 38 (as distinguished from Fed. R.

App. P. 38) has required separate notice and an opportunity

to respond prior to the imposition of appellate sanctions.

McDonough was docketed on July 27, 1994, and was thus

subject to Circuit Rule 38. In short, no other circuit has

acted differently than the Ninth Circuit under similar facts.

Rather, the Sixth Circuit, in Simmons, made the identical

decision. Quite simply, no conflict among the circuits

exists.

B. This Case Presents No Departure from

Prior Ninth Circuit Rulings.

Petitioner has also asserted that the imposition of

sanctions in Miller and Abar was unprecedented within the

Ninth Circuit; that the decision had so far departed from

that court's prior rulings so as to justify this Court's

supervision. See Sup. Ct. R. 10(a). In fact, all but one

of the appeals in the Ninth Circuit decisions cited by

Petitioner as support for this contention were — like the

+ McDonough v. Royal Caribbean Cruises, Ltd., 48 F.3d 256 (7th Cir.

1995).

oe.

appellate decisions Petitioner cited from other circuits —

also filed or briefed after the Fed. R. App. P. 38

amendment's implementation date~* Stripped of these

irrelevant cases, Petitioner's brief mentions — at the end of

a footnoted string cite — a single, unreported Ninth Circuit

opinion in which that court applied the amendment to Fed.

R. App. P. 38 to an action in which the briefing had been

completed before the amendment's implementation date. Jn

re Rudnick, 62 F.3d 1423 (table), 1995 WL 460360, 1995

U.S. App. LEXIS 22469 (9th Cir. Sept. 3, 1995) (No. 94-

15733; appellant's reply brief filed Aug. 18, 1994). In

that case, however, the court applied Fed. R. App. P. 38

+¥ See Gabor v. Frazer, 78 F.3d 459 (9th Cir. 1996) (No. 94-17133;

appellant brief filed 3/6/95; appellee brief filed 3/30/95); In re Del

Mission Ltd., 98 F.3d 1147 (9th Cir. 1996) (No. 95-35183); In re Am.

Continental Corp., 102 F.3d 1524 (9th Cir. 1996) (Nos. 95-15759, 95-

16403, 95-16595, 95-16754). See also, In re Sovereign Partners, 110

F.3d 70 (table), 1997 WL 160279, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 6598 (9th

Cir. Apr. 4, 1997) (No. 95-15804); In re Wall, 108 F.3d 340 (table),

1997 WL 74470, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 3139 (9th Cir. Feb. 18, 1997)

(No. 95-55887); Regal Capital, Inc. v. Valencia, 106 F.3d 408 (table),

1997 WL 31139, 1997 U.S. App. LEXIS 1105 (9th Cir. Jan. 21, 1997)

(No. 95-17249); Aguilar v. Sunland Beef Co., 89 F.3d 844 (table),

1996 WL 218188, 1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 11049 (9th Cir. Apr. 29,

1996) (No. 95-15028); In re Lund, 83 F.3d 427, 1996 WL 183658,

1996 U.S. App. LEXIS 9756 (9th Cir. Apr. 12, 1996) (No. 95-55887);

Payne v. Exxon Corp., 73 F.3d 370 (table), 1995 WL 766016, 1995

U.S. App LEXIS 38376 (9th Cir. Dec. 29, 1995) (95-35183); Shiloh v.

Reader's Digest Ass'n Inc., 62 F.3d 1425, 1995 WL 465774, 1995 U.S.

App. LEXIS 22927 (9th Cir. Aug. 7, 1995) (No. 94-56425; appellant's

brief filed 11/23/94 ruled “deficient” by the court and appellant refiled

opening brief 2/22/95); In re Allustiarte, 62 F.3d 1425 (table), 1995

WL 460407, 1995 U.S. App. LEXIS 22468 (9th Cir. Aug. 3, 1995)

(No. 94-15739; appellant's reply brief filed 12/22/94); Fordjour v.

Forties Benefits Ins. Co., 57 F.3d 1076, 1995 WL 341562, 1995 U.S.

App. LEXIS 14446 (9th Cir. June 8, 1995) (No. 94-16484; appellant

reply brief filed 12/19/94).

ye

sua sponte; there is no indication that the appellee had

moved for sanctions. The Ninth Circuit's decision to

provide notice and an opportunity to respond under those

circumstances is easily distinguishable from Miller and

Abar, where Petitioner was put on notice of the possibility

of sanctions by Owens-Illinois’ appellate briefs.

Thus, Petitioner has failed to demonstrate that

a single decision exists in which a court has required

separate notice and an opportunity to respond where

Sanctions have been imposed pursuant to an appellee's

request and briefing has been completed prior to the

implementation of the 1994 amendment to Fed. R. App.

P. 38. The Ninth Circuit has not strayed from its prior

decisions in this matter, and its determination in Miller

and Abar does not warrant the exercise of this Court's

supervisory power. No important matter exists; no

compelling reasons for review have been raised. Petitioner

merely wants yet another chance to delay the latest

consequences of its repeated sanctionable behavior.

i Petitioner Seeks Only To Delay — Not To

Oppose — the Imposition of Sanctions.

Delay, not avoidance, of the Ninth Circuit's award

of sanctions could be the only relief this Court could

provide to Petitioner, because even with notice and an

opportunity to respond to a request for sanctions, Petitioner

has no excuse for its sanctionable behavior. In none of the

many opportunities given Petitioner to justify the bringing

of the frivolous appeal in Miller and Abar has Petitioner

provided an explanation for the bringing of the appeal —

not in the appellate Reply Brief, not in the Motion to

Vacate Sanctions, not in the Motion for Reconsideration of

Sanctions. At no point has Petitioner asserted that notice

-e.

of sanctions would have altered its behavior. At no time

has Petitioner denied the frivolous nature of the appeal.

Rather, Petitioner merely seeks to delay the inevitable

imposition of sanctions by the Ninth Circuit through the

waste of this Court’s resources and the expenditure of time

and energy of all parties concerned.

The Ninth Circuit found the appeal of Miller and

Abar frivolous. That court then imposed sanctions. Even

if Petitioner were to succeed before this Court on the

merits of this dispute, eventually — with yet more notice

and yet another opportunity to respond — sanctions will be

imposed. This Court should not be made a forum by

which Petitioner can delay — but not prevent — payment

of sanctions for its frivolous appeal.

lil. DUE PROCESS WAS NOT DENIED BECAUSE

PETITIONER HAD ADEQUATE NOTICE AND

REASONABLE OPPORTUNITY TO RESPOND

TO THE IMPOSITION OF SANCTIONS.

A. Petitioner Ignored the Threat of Sanctions

from Several Sources.

Petitioner was on prior notice from several different

sources that sanctions could be imposed by the Ninth

Circuit. Specifically, as set forth earlier, the briefs of

defendant-appellee Owens-Illinois, in both the Miller and

Abar actions, contained a separate section requesting

sanctions that fully set forth authority to support the

request. (Pet’r App. 58-59, 65-66.) By means of these

repeated requests for sanctions, Petitioner was specifically

on notice that sanctions were directly requested.

In addition to the specific notice provided to

Petitioner by Owens-Illinois, Petitioner should have been

aware of the existence of Rule 38 and the Ninth Circuit's

imposition of sanctions pursuant to that Rule. See, e.g.,

Smith v. Ricks, 31 F.3d at 1489 (imposing sanctions

without separate hearing); Jn re Becraft, 885 F.2d 547, 548

(9th Cir. 1989) (Rule 38 sanctions imposed directly on

counsel) (citations omitted); Hatch v. Reliance Ins. Co..,

758 F.2d at 416 (awarding double costs and attorneys’ fees

sua sponte); McConnell v. Critchlow, 661 F.2d 116, 118

(9th Cir. 1981) (awarding sanctions pursuant to Rule 38

for frivolous appeal).

Moreover, Petitioner had notice from other courts

that it was risking sanctionable conduct by pursuing an

appeal of the dismissal of Miller and Abar to the Ninth

Circuit. Indeed, prior to the time that Petitioner filed

its appeal in Miller and Abar, several district courts

and one appellate court had considered complaints filed by

Petitioner that were virtually identical to the complaints

filed in Miller and Abar. In dismissing each one of these

actions, these courts made it clear that Petitioner’s

complaints were meritless and worthy of sanctions. See

Abbey v. ACandS, Inc., No. C-93-2813 MHP (N.D. Cal.

Sept. 27, 1993) (sua sponte dismissing action, virtually

identical to those filed in Miller and Abar, filed by

Petitioner on behalf of 1,000 individuals in the U.S.

District Court for the Northern District of California,

where the complaint was “so abusive that it may well

invoke sanctions under Rule 11") (Resp’ts App. 24ra);

Acevedo v. ACandS, Inc., No. 93-0629-AH-S (S.D. Ala.

Oct. 28, 1993) (dismissing action, virtually identical

to those filed in Miller and Abar, filed by Petitioner on

behalf of 1,000 individuals in the U.S. District Court for

the Southern District of Alabama, where the complaint was

~.

Ship id tal te at

held to be “an abuse of federal procedures and may well

invoke sanctions under Rule 11") (Resp’ts App. 21ra); see

also, Abdullah v. ACandS, Inc., 30 F.3d 264, 270 (Ist Cir.

1994) (affirming dismissal of action with prejudice,

virtually identical to those filed in Miller and Abar, for

Petitioner’s failure to abide by district court’s order

requiring amendment of seriously deficient complaints filed

on behalf of 1,000 individuals); Brown v. ACandsS, Inc..,

No. 2:93-1274 (E.D. Pa. Mar. 18, 1994) (dismissing action,

virtually identical to those filed in Miller and Abar,

originally filed by Petitioner on behalf of 1,000 individuals

in the U.S. District Court for the Western District of

Louisiana and holding that Petitioner had received

“sufficient notice” of the complaint's deficiencies through

“the previous rulings and orders of other district court

judges in his similar companion cases”) (Resp’ts App.

8ra. HY

In view of the foregoing, it could hardly have come

as a surprise to Petitioner that his appeal of the District

Court’s Dismissal Order in Abar and Miller would be

deemed nothing more than the frivolous appeal of a

meritless complaint. Petitioner was clearly on notice

that sanctions could be imposed. Nevertheless, Petitioner’ s

reply brief cavalierly ignored the threat of sanctions from

other courts for similar conduct and the request for

sanctions by Owens-Illinois. Petitioner should not be

Nor was the Ninth Circuit decision the first time that monetary

sanctions had been awarded against the Petitioner. See, e.g., Carroll v.

Jaques Admiralty Law Firm, 110 F.3d 290 (Sth Cir. 1997) (affirming

district court’s award of $7,000 sanction against Petitioner for

swearing, threatening, and insulting former client’s counsel during

deposition).

- 25 -

granted redress by this Court for its own failure to

recognize the consequences of its actions.

B. The Ninth Circuit Complied with the

Spirit of the Amended Rule 38 and

Accorded Petitioner Sufficient Due

Process.

Even assuming, arguendo, that the Ninth Circuit

was required to comply with the terms of amended Rule

38 before imposing sanctions against Petitioner, the

spirit of the amended Rule was followed and Petitioner

was accorded sufficient due process. The Advisory

Committee Notes to the 1994 Amendment state that in the

absence of a separate motion requesting sanctions, “notice

must come from the court.” The Notes continue that “(t]he

form of notice from the court and of the opportunity for

comment purposely are left to the court's discretion.”

Thus, the Ninth Circuit had the power to act according to

the dictates of its own judgment in deciding the “form of

notice” and “form of opportunity for comment.”

The “form of notice” chosen by the Ninth Circuit

was its Memorandum Disposition of April 16, 1996. The

sanctions were then subject to the Appellate

Commissioner's determination as to the amount of those

sanctions. The Appellate Commissioner's General Order

6.3(e) expressly granted 45 days from entry of the Order

in which to file a response to the applications for attorneys’

fees and costs. (Pet’r App. 46.) Petitioner therefore

expressly had the opportunity in its response to the

applications to challenge the attorneys’ fees and costs

submitted by each of the defendant-appellees.

,

A aR ea tS aS

Pe hn FE wa re eR a OD GN ts ee A Md LY F

Furthermore, fourteen days after the Ninth Circuit's

Memorandum Disposition, Petitioner filed a Motion to

Vacate Summary Imposition of Rule 38 Sanctions or, in

the Alternative, for Statement of Reasons and an

Opportunity to Respond. In its brief in support of its

motion, Petitioner could have explained, but chose not to,

why sanctions should not be imposed. Petitioner also filed

a Motion for Reconsideration of Portions of the Appellate

Commissioner's Order Granting Attorneys’ Fees and

Double Costs. In that motion — denied by the Ninth

Circuit — Petitioner never even mentioned Rule 38.

Thus, Petitioner has had ample opportunity to

explain why the request for sanctions should not have

been granted, but has never once availed itself of those

opportunities. The amended Rule calls for Petitioner to

have a “reasonable” opportunity to respond and leaves the

form of such opportunity for comment to the court. The

Ninth Circuit afforded Petitioner reasonable opportunities

for comment, each of which it refused to take. Petitioner

has decried the deprivation of its right to be heard on

this issue, but has wasted every opportunity to justify

its bringing of a frivolous appeal to the Ninth Circuit.

As in Simmons, supra at 16, the Ninth Circuit's

decision to consider the request for sanctions pursuant

to the prior version of Rule 38 did not “prejudice the

appellant or denigrate the recent amendment to the Rule.”

Simmons, 65 F.3d at 531. The spirit and intent of the

requirements of amended Rule 38 that Petitioner be

afforded notice and opportunity for comment were fully

met. Accord, Hoefler v. Caesars Tahoe, 15 F.3d 1085

(table), 1994 WL 28354, at *2, 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS

2420, at *5 (9th Cir. Jan. 31, 1994) (finding it sufficient

that spirit and intent of amended Rule 3(c) complied with).

+

Due process is a “flexible concept and the particular

procedural safeguards required will vary depending upon

all the circumstances.” Julien v. Zeringue, 864 F.2d 1572,

1575 (Fed. Cir.) (citing Morrissey v. Brewer, 408 U.S. 471,

481 (1972)), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 917 (1989). Under the

particular facts of this case, Petitioner's rights of due

process have been satisfied, and Petitioner's assertions to

the contrary are totally without merit.

CONCLUSION

In awarding sanctions, the Ninth Circuit properly

applied the version of Rule 38 of the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure in effect at the time of Petitioner’s

sanctionable conduct. Petitioner's claims that the Ninth

Circuit erred, that a conflict among the circuits exists, and

that due process has been denied are all erroneous. This

matter is not worthy of further time and attention by this

Court, and the Petition for Certiorari to the Ninth Circuit

should be denied.

DATED at Washington, District of Columbia, this

4th day of August, 1997.

Respectfully submitted,

ARENT FOX KINTNER PLOTKIN & KAHN

Marc L. Fleischaker

Donald C. McLean*

Laurel A. Bedig

Rache! G. Lattimore

Counsel for Respondents

Fel-Pro Incorporated and

Felt Products Mfg. Co.

* Counsel of Record

- 99.

APPENDICES

APPENDICES TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix A:

Appendix B:

Appendix C:

Appendix D:

Appendix E:

Communication from the

Chief Justice, the Supreme Court

of the United States, Transmitting

Amendments to the Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure, H.R. Doc. No. 247.

103d Cong., 2d Sess., 1 (1994) ........ lra

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania

Dismissing Plaintiffs’ Action

in Brown, March 18,1994 ........... 6ra

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Southern District of California

Denying Plaintiffs’ Motion for

Relief From Judgment of Dismissal

and Request for Transfer

in Abar and Miller, March 14,1994 ... 10ra

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Southern District of Alabama

Dismissing Plaintiffs’ Action

in Acevedo, October 28,1993 ........ 18ra

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Northern District of California

Dismissing Plaintiffs’ Action

in Abbey, September 27, 1993 ........ 23ra

Appendix F:

Appendix G:

Appendix H:

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Southern District of California

for Petitioner to Show

Cause re the Factual and Legal Bases

for the Action in Abar,

September ©, 1993 2... cece cas es 2OTO

Order of U.S. District Court for the

Southern District of California

for Petitioner to Show

Cause re the Factual and Legal Bases

for the Action in Miller,

senteminer S, 1993 oc. ce cess. 27ra

Plaintiffs’ Complaint filed

in U.S. District Court

for the Southern District of California

im AGU, FOR 27, TIPS: oda ccesecss 29ra

i ee

a we a ee ———————

APPENDIX A

103d Congress, 2d Session--------- House Document 103-247

AMENDMENTS TO THE FEDERAL RULES OF

APPELLATE PROCEDURE

COMMUNICATION

FROM

THE CHIEF JUSTICE, THE SUPREME COURT

, OF THE UNITED STATES

TRANSMITTING

i AMENDMENTS TO THE FEDERAL RULES OF

APPELLATE PROCEDURE

AS ADOPTED BY THE COURT, PURSUANT TO 28

U.S.C. 2072

MAY 2, 1994.—Referred to the Committee on the Judiciary

and ordered

to be printed

U.S. GOVERNMENT PRINTING OFFICE

WASHINGTON: 1994

Supreme Court of the United States

Washington, D.C. 20543

Chambers of

THE CHIEF JUSTICE

April 29, 1994

Dear Mr. Speaker:

By direction of the Supreme Court of the United States,

I have the honor to submit to the Congress amendments to the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure that have been adopted

by the Supreme Court pursuant to Section 2072 of Title 28,

United States Code. While the Court is satisfied that the

required procedures have been observed, this transmittal does

not necessarily indicate that the Court itself would have

proposed these amendments in these amendments in the form

submitted.

Accompanying these rules are excerpts from the report

of the Judicial Conference of the United States containing the

Advisory Committee Notes submitted to the Court for its

consideration pursuant to Section 331 of Title 28, United States

Code.

Sincerely,

S/

Honorable Thomas S. Foley

Speaker of the House of Representatives

Washington, D C 20515

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

Friday, April 29, 1994

ORDERED:

l. That the Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

be, and they hereby are, amended by including therein

amendments to Appellate Rules 1, 3, 5, 5.1, 9, 13, 21, 25, 26.1,

27, 28, 30, 31, 33, 35, 38, 40, 41, and 48.

[See infra., pp. J

2. That the foregoing amendments to the Federal

Rules of Appellate Procedure shall take effect on December 1,

1994, and shall govern all proceedings in appellate cases

thereafter commenced and, insofar as just and practicable, all

proceedings in appellate cases then pending.

3. That THE CHIEF JUSTICE be, and he hereby

is, authorized to transmit to the Congress the foregoing

amendments to the Federal Rules of Appeilate Procedure in

accordance with the provisions of Section 2072 of Title 28.

United States Code.

a ee ee re

settle a case without his or her client’s consent. Certain entities,

especially government entities, have particular difficulty

obtaining authority to settle a case. The rule requires counsel to

obtain only as much authority "as feasible."

Rule 35. Determination of Causes by the Court In Banc

kk eK

hI

UJ

Subdivision (d). Subdivision (d) is added; it authorizes

the courts of appeals to prescribe the number of copies of

suggestions for hearing or rehearing in banc that must be filed.

Because the number of copies needed depends directly upon the

number of judges in the circuit, local rules are the best vehicle

for setting the required number of copies.

Rule 38. Damages and Costs for detay Frivolous

Appeals

l If a court of appeals shat determines that an

Nm

appeal is frivolous, it may, after a separately filed

- 4ra -

oti ice fi the c able

3

4 opportunity to respond, award just damages and single

5

or double costs to the appellee.

ittee Note

The amendment requires that before a court of appeals

may impose sanctions, the person to be sanctioned must have

notice and an opportunity to respond. The amendment reflects

the basic principle enunciated in the Supreme Court’s opinion

in Roadway Express, Inc. v. Piper, 447 U.S. 752, 767 (1980),

that notice and opportunity to respond must precede the

imposition of sanctions. A separately filed motion requesting

sanctions constitutes notice. A statement inserted in a party’s

brief that the party moves for sanctions is not sufficient notice.

Requests in briefs for sanctions have become so commonplace

that it is unrealistic to expect careful responses to such requests

without any indication that the court is actually contemplating

such measures. Only a motion, the purpose of which is to

request sanctions, is sufficient. If there is no such motion filed,

notice must come from the court. The form of notice from the

court and of the opportunity for comment purposely are left to

the court’s discretion.

Rule 40. Petition for Rehearing

l (a) Time for Filing; Content; Answer; Action by

2 Court if Granted.-- A petition for rehearing may be

filed

- 5ra -

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

IN k=: ASBESTOS PRODUCTS |)

LIABILITY LITIGATION (NO. VI) )

)

This Document Relates To +?)

USDC - Western District ) CIVIL

of Louisiana ) ACTION

Charlie J. BROWN, ET AL. ) NO. MDL 875

Civil Action No. 2:93-1274 )

) FILED

MAR. 18 1994

ORDER

THIS MATTER came on for hearing the 11th day of

March, 1994 at 10:30 AM upon the Court's Show Cause Order.

Numerous defendants appeared through counsel; although a

response was filed, plaintiffs were not present in person nor

were they represented by counsel at the hearing.” The Show

Cause Order of the Court was precipitated by the filing of

Although this Court's Show Cause Order did not create an

obligatory appearance by counsel at this hearing, the Court finds it

discourteous at best for counsel to not be present or fail to notify the Court

of the intent not to appear, particularly following counsel's complaint that

the courts have been dismissing his actions sua sponte without notice or an

opportunity to be heard. Counsel went on to state in his response to the

Show Cause Order: "Fortunately, this Court has afforded these maritime

claimants with an opportunity to respond to these misrepresentations and,

hopefully, derail the runaway train of erroneous rulings."

- 6ra -

numerous motions by the defendants for dismissal of this action

or for alternative relief.

This case was initiated by the filing of a lawsuit on

August 9, 1993 in the Western District of Louisiana naming

1,000 plaintiffs and 93 defendants. Similar lawsuits with

different multiple plaintiffs and the same defendants were filed

in the United States District Courts for the Districts of

Maryland and Massachusetts, the Northern and Southern

Districts of California, and the Southern District of Alabama.

In each instance the local district court acted sua sponte to

either dismiss the lawsuit or issue a show cause order which,

following a hearing, then led to a dismissal order. In the matter

before the Court, a similar show cause order had been entered

by Judge Trimble on August 16, 1993; however, no hearing

was held due to the transfer of the action to the Eastern District

of Pennsylvania by the Multidistrict Panel.

The Court has reviewed the Complaint filed in this

Action and specifically notes deficiencies relating to

jurisdictional factors and individual plaintiff information that

normally appear in complaints. The defendants cannot be

presumed to respond to a complaint when they are unable to

identify which plaintiff is suing them, the injury involved, when

and where it occurred. Mylan Laboratories, Inc. v. Akzo, N.V.,

770 F.Supp. 1053 (D.Md. 1991). With 1000 named plaintiffs

and 93 named defendants, counsel for the plaintiffs was unable

to individually identify the plaintiffs and defendants in 4”

—

pages of pleading, let alone provide a succinct statement of the

elements of any single claim.

Furthermore, the 1,000 plaintiffs assert joinder under

Rule 20, F.R.C.P.*, but there is a total failure to identify the

facts of the "same transaction, occurrence, or series of

transactions or occurrences" as required by Rule 20. There

must be a "logical relationship" to meet the test of joinder

under Rule 20. Dougherty v. Mieczkowski, 661 F.Supp. 267

(D.Del. 1987). The Court finds no stated relationship to meet

this test.

Notwithstanding the concern of several federal courts

regarding these identical deficiencies in counsel's other similar

cases previously described, there has been no attempt by

plaintiffs to amend the Complaint or even to provide this or any

Court with the factual information which would sustain this

action.

THIS COURT FINDS that the Complaint is deficient of

necessary facts and allegations necessary for a Rule 20 joinder;

and further,

THIS COURT ALSO FINDS that Plaintiffs’ counsel has

had sufficient notice of these deficiencies through the motions

of the defendants and the previous rulings and orders of other

district court judges in his similar companion cases to have

In discussing the requirements of Rule 8(a)(2), F.R.C.P., Moore's

Federal Practice sets forth: "But the general test remains constant: does the

statement of the claim contain the required elements stated plainly and

succinctly, and does it give fair notice to the opposite party?”

Paragraph No. | of the Complaint commences: "This Complaint

is brought under Rule 20 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure..."

- 8ra -

responded in writing to this Court, to have requested the

opportunity to amend the Complaint, or to otherwise have

appeared and answered these inquiries regarding such

deficiencies.

) IT IS ORDERED that the Complaint IS DISMISSED

. WITHOUT PREJUDICE as to all defendants and that the

following restrictions shall apply to any refiling by any of these

plaintiffs against any of these defendants:

l. The plaintiff must be specifically identified by

social security number and residence (Counsel!

shall further identify all similar lawsuits

involving the same plaintiff).

N

Plaintiff's work history, as it relates to asbestos

exposure, shall be set forth in detail.

Plaintiff's alleged disease shall be identified

AND a medical report or diagnosis of such

disease shall be attached to the complaint.

2

4. Each plaintiff shall require an individual

lawsuit.

BY THE COURT

Date: 3 : | 8/94 S/

Charles R. Weiner,

Judge

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CREIGHTON MILLER,)

Administrator

for the Estates

of Isaac W.

Abraham, et al.

Plaintiff,

V.

AC and §S, Inc. et al.,

Defendants

NORMAN ABAR, et al.

Plaintiffs,

V.

AC and §S, Inc., et al.,

Defendants.

Ne Nee Ne ee ee ee ee ee ee ee a ee

FILED MAR 14 1994

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF CALIFORNIA

CIVIL NOS.

93-1119(R) (RCM) &

93-1120(G) (BTM)

ORDER DENYING MOTION

FOR RELIEF FROM

JUDGMENT OF DISMISSAL

- 10ra -

The instant actions are before the Court on Plaintiffs’

motion for relief from judgment of dismissal, pursuant to

Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(6).” Plaintiffs also request the court to

transfer the above actions to the United District Court for the

Northern District of Ohio. Because Plaintiffs have failed to

meet the requirements of Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b,)(6), their

motion is denied, and because Plaintiffs’ complaints were

previously dismissed, there are no cases to transfer.

Therefore the request to transfer is also denied.

lL. Facts

A. Procedural History

These cases were brought on July 29, 1993 and

August 2, 1993 respectively. In Miller, an administrator for

the estates of 370 decedents brought suit against 93

Defendants. In the second complaint, Abar was the first of

994 named Plaintiffs suing the same 93 Defendants named in

Miller.

The complaints on their face raised serious questions

concerning this Court’s jurisdiction, among other matters.

There were also problems associated with coordinating the

many different requests from Defendants’ counsel.

Therefore, on September 9, 1993, the Court issued a show

cause order, requiring Plaintiffs’ attorney to answer various

questions concerning the factual and legal bases for the

complaints, and staying the proceedings.

Prior to the stay, certain Defendants filed motions to

dismiss. The hearing date on those motions was originally

set for November 1, 1993.

: Pursuant to Southern District of California Local Rule 7.1(d)(1),

I find this motion suitable for decision without oral argument.

- llra-

On September 27, 1993, the Judicial Panel on

Multidistrict Litigation issued a conditional transfer order for

the above two cases.

On November I, 1993, the Court ordered Plaintiffs’

attorney to respond in writing to the show cause order. The

response was received on November 22, 1993.

Because this Court was obliged to determine whether

these complaints were properly pleaded, and because certain

Defendants had already moved to dismiss for defects in the

complaints, this Court decided the motions to dismiss

previously on file. Those motions, once set for November 1,

1993, were reset for January 18, 1994.

3. Order Granting Mot Dismi

On January 18, 1994, this Court issued a two part

order. First, it dropped all but the first named Plaintiff in

Abar, and the first of Plaintiff's decedents in Miller, for

improper joinder under Fed. R. Civ. P. 20. Second, it

dismissed the complaints tor failure to satisfy Fed. R. Civ. P.

8(a).

The order expressly stated that it was without

prejudice to the dropped Plaintiffs -- or Creighton Miller on

behalf of the dropped individual decedents -- instituting suit

based on the claims attempted to be set forth in the original

complaints, so long as any new filings complied with

applicable law. In addition, the remaining Plaintiffs --

Creighton Miller as administrator for the Estate of Isaac W.

Abraham and Norman Abar -- were given 21 days leave to

amend their complaints to comply with Fed. R. Civ. P. 8.

- 12ra-

SE

ewer

me

——— nl

ene

As aresult of this Court’s January 18 order, the

Multidistrict Litigation Panel vacated its conditional transfer

order.

Finally, on January 31, 1994, rather than refiling

separate complaints on behalf of the dropped parties, or

amending the complaints on behalf of the remaining

Plaintiffs, Plaintiffs’ counsel filed the instant motion.

a Potent eset

IL. Discussi

A. Rule 60(b)(6)

Plaintiffs move for relief from judgment of dismissal

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(b)(6). The full rule states that

On motion and upon such terms as are just, the court

may relieve a party or a party’s legal representative

from a final judgment, order, or proceeding for the

following reasons: (1) mistake, inadvertence,

surprise, or excusable neglect; (2) newly discovered

evidence which by due diligence could not have been

discovered in time to move for a new trial under Rule

59(b); (3) fraud . . . , misrepresentation, or other

misconduct of an adverse party; (4) the judgment is

void; (5) the judgment has been satisfied, released, or

discharged, or a prior judgment upon which it is

based has been reversed or otherwise vacated, or it is

no longer equitable that the judgment should have

prospective application; or (6) any other reason

justifying relief from the operation of the judgment.

As the rule itself reveals, Rule 60(b)(6) is a catchall

provision. Its use is infrequent: it is properly invoked “only

where extraordinary circumstances prevented a party from

- 13ra-

taking timely action to prevent or correct an erroneous

judgment.” U.S. v. Alpine Land & Reservoir, Co., 984 F.2d

1047, 1049 (9th Cir. 1993), cert denied, 114 S.Ct. 60 (1993).

A district court’s decision on a Rule 60(b)(6) motion is

reviewed under an abuse of discretion standard. Fiester v.

Turner, 783 F.2d 1474, 1476 (9th Cir. 1986).

Here the ground of Plaintiffs’ motion is that the

statute of limitations has run on the claims of all of the

Plaintiffs originally named in Abar, and on 108 of the

decedents originally named in Miller.

Plaintiffs’ motion is denied, for several reasons.

First, Rule 60(b)(6) by its terms applies to final orders only.

The January 18, 1994 order issued in these cases, however,

was not a final order. Ruby v. Secretary of United States

Navy, 365 F.2d. 385, 387 (9th Cir. 1966), cert. denied, 386

U.S. 1011 (1967) (stating that dismissal without prejudice is

nonappealable interlocutory order, unless it is clear that “the

action could not be saved by any amendment of the

complaint which the plaintiff could reasonably be expected

to make, thereby entitling Plaintiff to assume that he had no

choice but to stand on his complaint”).

The January 18, 1994 order dismissed the causes of

action without prejudice. It also expressly stated that the

dropping of all but the first-named Plaintiff or Plaintiff's

decedent was “without prejudice to the dropped plaintiffs --

or Creighton Miller on behalf of the other individual

decedents -- instituting suit based on the claims attempted to

be set forth in the present Complaints.” Hence the order was

not final, and Rule 60(b)(6) does not apply.

Second, even if Rule 60(b) applies to the January 18,

1994 order, Plaintiffs have not shown that they are entitled to

- 14ra -

ST TT

the relief which the rule provides. As noted above, relief

under Rule 60(b)(6) is available only in extraordinary

circumstances. Alpine Land 984 F.2d at 1049. In addition,

“relief may not be had where ‘the party seeking

reconsideration has ignored normal legal recourses.’” Id.

(quoting In re Pacific Far East Lines, Inc., 889 F.2d 242, 250

(9th Cir. 1989)). Hence “where parties have made deliberate

litigation choices, Rule 60(b)(6) should not provide a second

chance.” Id.

Here there are several facts showing that deliberate

litigation choices were made. First, Plaintiffs’ counsel

concedes that Plaintiffs or Plainfiff's decedents have similar

claims pending in the U.S. District Court for the Northern

District of Ohio. The fact that there are such cases

demonstrates two things: first, Plaintiffs retain some claims;

and second, Plaintiffs were indeed able to file properly

pleaded, individualized complaints within the period

required by the applicable statutes of limitations.

Second, counsel was put on notice concerning the

deficiencies of these complaints as early as September 8,

1993, when this Court issued its show cause order. Plaintiffs

could have attempted to amend these complaints at that time.

Plaintiffs counsel could also have attempted to file amended

complaints and separate, properly pleaded complaints on

behalf of the dropped parties under the terms of the January

18, 1994 order. In addition, it was the decision of Plaintiffs’

counsel to file the complaints in their original, improper

form. Finally, subsequent to the January 18, 1994 order,

there was the possibility of appeal.

There is a third reason why the Plaintiffs are not

entitled to the relief Rule 60(b)(6) provides: courts have held

that the fact that a statute of limitations might bar an action

- 15ra -

does not, by itself, constitute an extraordinary circumstance

under Rule 60(b)(6). Wagner Spray Tech Corp. v. Wolf, 113

F.R.D. 50 (S.D.N.Y. 1986). Since the statute of limitations

argument is Plaintiffs’ sole ground for relief, it follows that

Plaintiffs’ motion should be denied.

B. Tran

Plaintiffs also request that this Court transfer the

instant actions to the U.S. District Court for the Northern

District of Ohio. The request is denied, for two reasons.

First, because the motion for relief from judgment is

denied, and because the complaints in these cases have been

dismissed, there are simply no causes of action to transfer.

Second, 28 U.S.C. § 1404(a) governs a motion to

transfer. Section 1404(a) provides that “[f]or the

convenience of parties and witnesses, in the interest of

justice, a district court may transfer any civil action to any

other district or division where it might have been brought.”

The moving party bears the burden of demonstrating “by

particular circumstances” that transfer is appropriate.

Commodity Futures Trading Comm’n v. Savage, 611 F.2d

270, 279 (9th Cir. 1979).

Here Plaintiffs have failed to show by particular

circumstances that transfer is appropriate. In particular, they

have not given any indication that transfer will serve the

convenience of parties and witnesses. More important,

transfer would add to rather than alleviate the cost to litigants

and the expenditure of judicial resources.

Il. usion

- l6ra -

For the above reasons, the motion for relief from

judgment and the request for transfer are denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Date: 3/14/94 S/

JOHN S. RHOADES, SR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF ALABAMA

SOUTHERN DIVISION

RUBEN L. ACEVEDO, et al.)

Plaintiffs,

93-0629-AH-S

ACand§S, INC., et al.,

)

)

)

v. ) CIVIL ACTION NO.

)

)

)

Defendants. )

ORDER

This matter is before the Court on the filing of this

action by approximately 1,000 plaintiffs against 93

defendants. [Doc. #4.] The claims are for injury and/or

wrongful death of each of the plaintiffs, who are alleged to

have suffered a host of diseases and injuries as a result of

exposure to asbestos and asbestos-containing products on

9,824 different vessels. No attempt to file this complaint as a

class action has been made.

For the following reasons, Plaintiffs’ complaint is

dismissed without prejudice.

- 18ra -

I. SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

Plaintiffs allege admiralty jurisdiction as the basis for

this action; the complaint also alleges diversity jurisdiction

for some plaintiffs.

This Court has no diversity jurisdiction in this case.

In order to create diversity, 28 U.S.C. § 1332 requires the

matter be between citizens of different states. The language

of that statute was interpreted to mean there must be

“complete diversity” in Strawbridge v. Curtiss, 7 U.S. (3

Cranch) 267 (1806). See also, e.g., Carden v. Arkoma

ASSOCS., US. , 1108S. Ct. 1015 (1990).

“Complete diversity” means that every plaintiff must be of

diverse citizenship from every defendant. 1 Moore’s Federal

Practice { 0.71[5.-2]. Exhibits A-I and A-II clearly show

there is no complete diversity in this action; therefore, the

Court has no diversity jurisdiction over this matter.

This Court has no admiralty jurisdiction in this

matter. In their “Response and Memorandum to Order to

Show Cause,” Plaintiffs state

[i]t is axiomatic that a seaman’s product liability

claims are governed by the general admiralty and

maritime law. Specifically Plaintiffs’ Counsel relies

upon Sheffield v. Owens-Corning Fiberglass, 595 So.

2d 443 (Ala. 1992) to invoke the federal maritime

law.

Response and Memorandum at p. 3. Plaintiffs’ Counsel’s

reliance is misplaced; such product liability claims are not, in

this Circuit, governed by admiralty and maritime law.*

Federal maritime jurisdiction does not extend to personal

injury and products liability claims brought by former

seamen who were allegedly exposed to asbestos on a vessel.

Cochran v. E.I. duPont de Nemours, 933 F.2d 1533, 1535

(llth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, U.S. , 112 S. Ct.

881 (1992). Such an exercise of admiralty jurisdiction would

not advance the policies behind a uniform federal law of

admiralty. Jd.

Plaintiffs have alleged no other grounds to invoke the

subject matter jurisdiction of this Court; therefore, the cause

is due to be dismissed for lack of subject matter jurisdiction.

Ill. IMPROPER JOINDER

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 20 governs the

permissive joinder of parties. Plaintiffs claim the joinder of

the approximately 1000 plaintiffs in one action is proper

under Rule 20. That rule provides the following (in pertinent

part):

All persons may join in one action as

plaintiffs if they assert any right to relief

jointly, severally, or in the alternative in

respect of or arising out of the same

transaction, occurrence, or series of

transactions or occurrences and if any

question of law or fact common to all these

persons will arise in the action.

4 Decisions of state courts on admiralty questions are not binding

authority on this Court.

- 20ra -

Oe Rh ee eee ee ae)

PEE NN Gh Ole PTO WT} wi hea LN Wet Adah nn abe

Plaintiffs, in the introduction to their complaint,

allege that “1,000 individual Plaintiffs of the United States

Merchant Marine who served aboard 9,824 ships in toto as

crewmembers comprising 68,434 separate sea voyages

spanning contemporary seafaring careers to the year 1990,

averaging 44 divers ships per Plaintiff who sailed to multiple

ports-of-call throughout the world . . .” In light of these

allegations (which Plaintiff cannot now dispute), it is

inconceivable that the 1,000 plaintiffs assert any right to

relief “in respect of or arising out of the same transaction,

occurrence, or series of transactions or occurrences.” This

action, therefore, is due to be dismissed without prejudice

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 20(b) in order to prevent delay and

prejudice.

IV. ABUSE OF PROCESS

This complaint is an abuse of federal procedures and

may well invoke sanctions under Rule 11, which the Court

may impose on its own motion. Fed. R. Civ. P. 11. There is

no subject matter jurisdiction; Plaintiffs’ sparse factual

allegations cannot support the joining of 1000 plaintiffs; and

Plaintiffs cannot avoid payment of the separate filing fees*

and venue requirements by filing a single action that is really

1000 separate actions.

The Court intends to spare the judicial system and

defendants from the plethora of papers and motions for

sanctions likely to ensue such an improper pleading by sua

sponte dismissal of this action without prejudice to the

z Plaintiffs have paid the r-quired $120.00 filing fee for a civil

action; if these actions were properly filed separately, the filing fees could

be as much as $120,000.00.

-2lra-

plaintiffs each filing separate actions in the appropriate

courts against the proper defendant or defendants. For the

foregoing reasons, Plaintiffs’ Complaint is DISMISSED

WITHOUT PREJUDICE.

DONE this 28th day of October, 1993.

S/

CHIEF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

- 22ra -

APPENDIX E

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

JACK L. ABBEY, et al., NO. C-93-2813 MHP

)

)

)

Plaintiffs, ) ORDER

)

—vVs — )

)

ACandS INC., ACMC )

f/k/a NATIONAL GYPSUM,)

COMPANY, et al.., )

Defendants.

i id

Plaintiffs have filed this action asserting the claims of

approximately 1,000 plaintiffs against 93 defendants. The

claims purport to be in admiralty and are for injury and/or

wrongful death of each of the plaintiffs who are alleged to

have suffered a host of diseases and injuries as a result of

exposure to asbestos and asbestos-containing products.

The allegations of the complaint are contained in a

little over four pages. The caption takes up 21 pages.

Nowhere in the complaint is there any attempt to show how

these various injuries or deaths are related to the same

transaction or occurrence. The complaint is totally devoid of

any basis for joinder or any allegations showing how each

defendant is liable to each plaintiff.

The complaint is an abuse of federal procedures and

rules governing joinder and pleading requirements under

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 9(b), 19 and 20. Indeed, it

is so abusive that it may well invoke sanctions under Rule

11. Plaintiffs’ counsel cannot under any stretch of legal

imagination, let alone competent pleading practice, file a

single action joining all of these parties on the sparse

allegations of this complaint. Nor can plaintiffs avoid the

separate filing fees, venue and, perhaps, jurisdictional

requirements by filing a single action that is really 1,000

separate actions.

The court intends to spare the judicial system and

defendants from the plethora of papers, and motions for

sanctions, likely to ensue such an improper pleading by sua

sponte dismissal of this action without prejudice to the

plaintiffs each filing separate actions in the appropriate court

against the proper defendant or defendants. If any of these

actions are filed in this court, plaintiffs’ counsel shall

associate local counsel who is a member of the bar of this

court before proceeding any further.

Therefore,

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that this action is

DISMISSED without prejudice in accordance with the

foregoing.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

DATED: SEP 27 1993 S/

MARILYN HALL PATEL

United States District Judge

- 24ra -

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

NORMAN ABAR, et al., )

)

)

Plaintiffs, )

)

)

)

)

AC and §, Inc., et al., )

)

)

Defendants.)

)

CIVIL NO. 93-1120(G)

(BTM)

ORDER TO SHOW

CAUSE RE:

FACTUAL AND LEGAL

BASES FOR THE

INSTANT ACTION AND

STAYING THE

PROCEEDINGS

The complaint in this matter presents on its face

serious questions regarding not only the jurisdiction of this

Court, but whether this Court has any connection with the

claims and whether there has been compliance with the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Additionally, it appears that the instant action is

possibly appropriate for transferal by the Multidistrict

Litigation Panel.

Therefore it is ordered that Alan Kellman, the

attorney who signed this petition, appear, either in person or

telephonically, before the undersigned Judge at 10:30 a.m. on

November 1, 1993, to show cause why this action should be

docketed in this Court. Mr. Kellman should demonstrate,

- 25ra -

inter alia, the factual and legal basis for his contentions: (1)

that counsel actually represents the 994 individuals

designated as Plaintiffs and identified by what appears to be

their social security numbers; he should also indicate whether

they are properly joined pursuant to Rule 20 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure; (2) that the named Defendants are

amenable to the jurisdiction of this Court; (3) that venue is

proper in this district; (4) that the instant action is not an

action that may properly belong in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, before the

Honorable Charles R. Weiner, in accordance with 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407; and (5) that the instant action is not one already

subject to transferal by the Multidistrict Litigation Panel.

In addition, because there are 93 Defendants in the

instant action, and because there are numerous problems

involved in coordinating the litigation should it remain in

this District, this Court stays all proceedings until 30 days

after the order this Court will issue subsequent to the

November | hearing. The Clerk of the Court for the Southern

District of California is ordered not to accept filings in the

instant action until the stay is lifted.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Date: 9/8/93 S/

JOHN S. RHOADES, SR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

- 26ra -

APPENDIX G

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

CREIGHTON MILLER, et al.,) CIVIL NO. 93-1119(R)

(RCM)

Plaintiffs,

ORDER TO SHOW

CAUSE RE:

FACTUAL AND

LEGAL BASES FOR

THE INSTANT

ACTION AND

STAYING THE

PROCEEDINGS

AC and §, Inc., et al.,

Defendants.

The complaint in this matter presents on its face

serious questions regarding not only the jurisdiction of this

Court, but whether this Court has any connection with the

claims and whether there has been compliance with the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure.

Additionally, it appears that the instant action is

possibly appropriate for transferal by the Multidistrict

Litigation Panel.

Therefore it is ordered that Alan Kellman, the

attorney who signed this petition, appear, either in person or

telephonically, before the undersigned Judge at 10:30 a.m. on

November 1, 1993, to show cause why this action should be

docketed in this Court. Mr. Kellman should demonstrate,

inter alia, the factual and legal basis for his contentions: (1)

- 27ra -

that counsel actually represents the 370 individuals

designated as Plaintiffs and identified by what appears to be

their social security numbers; he should also indicate whether

they are properly joined pursuant to Rule 20 of the Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure; (2) that the named Defendants are

amenable to the jurisdiction of this Court; (3) that venue is

proper in this district; (4) that the instant action is not an

action that may properly belong in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, before the

Honorable Charles R. Weiner, in accordance with 28 U.S.C.

§ 1407; and (5) that the instant action is not one already

subject to transferal by the Multidistrict Litigation Panel.

In addition, because there are 93 Defendants in the

instant action, and because there are numerous problems

involved in coordinating the litigation should it remain in

this District, this Court stays all proceedings until 30 days

after the order this Court will issue subsequent to the

November 1 hearing. The Clerk of the Court for the Southern

District of California is ordered not to accept filings in the

instant action until the stay is lifted.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Date: 9/8/93 S/

JOHN S. RHOADES, SR.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

- 28ra -

NTO NSO MAE 8-8 5

Pee dates mee

ee

WT a ee

APPENDIX H

LEONARD C. JAQUES

Alan Kellman (#92442)

Maritime Asbestosis Legal Clinic

1570 Penobscot Building

Detroit, MI 48226 FILED JULY 27 1993

(313) 961-1080 US DISTRICT COURT OF

CALIFORNIA

Attorneys for Plaintiff

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

Creighton E. Miller, Administrator of the Estate of :

Isaac W. Abraham, Sr. (DOD 10/18/92) (181-20-7879)

Joe C. Adams (DOD 09/19/92) (246-22-1872)

Francisco Agosto (DOD 03/15/91) (084-22-5340)

Norman L. Aikman (DOD 09/06/92) (068-01-0281)

William Aldridge, Jr. (DOD 08/17/91) (354-14-1358)

Knowlton Allen (DOD 01/06/92) (258-30-1581)

Leon R. Allie (DOD 03/03/91) (534-26-6938)

John A. Anderson (DOD 12/20/91) (438-48-6134)

Scott E. Anderson (DOD 09/20/90) (296-14-0197)

Tyree E. Anderson (DOD 11/17/90) (569-16-8687)

William O. Anderson (DOD 06/22/91) (531-10-3963)

Pedro M. Angoco (DOD 07/22/91) (553-52-7965)

Angel Aponte Martinez (DOD 01/18/91) (428-40-4387)

Louis L. Arena (DOD 06/12/91) (437-05-9950)

Gene L. Armstrong (DOD 09/21/91) (500-18-0145)

Robert A. Art (DOD 07/17/92) (566-01-1232)

Edward M. Aubuchon (DOD 02/01/91) (489-26-9964)

Octave A. Auguste (DOD 08/31/90) (127-22-3180)

Guillermo B. Baez, Sr. (DOD 06/12/92) (286-26-2595)

- 29ra -

Lloyd R. Baker (DOD 06/25/91) (454-18-3578)

Andres Banuchi (DOD 12/14/90) (092-07-4032)

George D. Barnes, Sr. (DOD 03/03/92) (307-14-0621)

Andrew M. Barnett (DOD 10/07/90) (443-14-0957)

Anthony J. Baroni (DOD 07/06/91) (438-07-1533)

Alton L. Beals (DOD 09/05/91) (239-07-8314)

Joao A. Belchior, Jr. (DOD 08/02/91) (129-14-7181)

Charlie P. Benson (DOD 07/08/91) (249-18-1371)

Allan F. Berlund (DOD 10/13/90) (547-26-1910)

Ferdinand Bernard (DOD 02/12/91) (437-12-4105)

James Berry (DOD 04/11/91) (462-40-8414)

Clarence W. Beverly (DOD 09/28/90) (262-24-1958)

Dalzell Beverly (DOD 06/16/91) (265-32-4178)

Harry A. Bishop, Sr. (DOD 08/30/92) (237-12-7951)

William R. Blecker (DOD 10/16/90) (535-16-9143)

Ronald R. Bloomquist (DOD 01/27/93) (381-16,8059)

Edward W. Bogden (DOD 01/24/91) (179-12-7186)

J.B. Booker (DOD 01/29/92) (450-48-9935)

Warren J. Boston (DOD 01/19/92) (421-16-6310)

Elijah Boyd (DOD 11/20/91) (439-16-7036)

Robert L. Bradford, Jr. (DOD 10/24/92) (217-05-2036)

James R. Bradley (DOD 11/09/91) (418-12-1132)

Creighton J. Brady (DOD 06/27/92) (261-05-7625)

Daniel G. Brennan (DOD 04/17/92) (389-50-1714)

Howard Brigman (DOD 09/08/91) (240-18-3673)

Henry P. Brown (DOD 03/26/91) (555-28-1610)

Lester Brown (DOD 04/08/91) (526-07-7760)

Clarence Brown, Sr. (DOD 08/18/92) (435-28-3937)

William Browa (DOD 01/17/91) (261-05-3096)

Roy J. Bru (DOD 10/09/90) (421-16-9550)

Adam Burghardt (DOD 10/24/90) (523-22-1189)

Charles E. Burns (DOD 09/01/90) (264-12-8824)

Eari M. Burris (DOD 10/11/90) (705-12-6795)

Walter G. Butterton (DOD 01/01/91) (224-20-8023)

Manuel Cabrera Ramos (DOD 09/01/90) (084-22-1649)

- 30ra -

* tet EILEAPOCLAL ELLIS REAL EL DEES ED BEE OY 5 OAD sp

Benigno U. Calban (DOD 09/25/91) (575-03-0893)

Frank L. Calvin (DOD 10/12/91) (127-22-5028)

John G. Campbell (DOD 03/26/92) (569-40-0987)

Joseph B. Campbell (DOD 03/29/92) (198-05-0439)

Esteban Canales (DOD 11/24/91) (127-22-5437)

Theodore J. Canonge, Jr. (DOD 03/05/92) (434-32-0661)

Alfredo E. Cardenas (DOD 02/23/91) (131-03-1603)

David T. Carr (DOD 03/10/92) (099-16-2929)

Robert P. Carry (DOD 09/27/90) (166-12-8940)

Robert G. Carter, Sr. (DOD 10/07/90) (252-18-4567)

Harry M. Cartwright (DOD 08/23/92) (481-14-0473)

Eduardo Casas (DOD 02/26/91) (108-18-2132)

Paul E. Cassidy (DOD 01/27/91) (401-24-9562)

Emesto A Castillo, Sr. (DOD 04/10/92) (080-20-1274)

Carter C. Chambers (DOD 09/15/92) (573-03-9989)

Francis Chapman (DOD 04/30/91) (086-12-2302)

Herbert C. Chattom (DOD 07/29/92) (421-20-5348)

Ken Nien Chen (DOD 01/02/91) (065-22-3955)

Bing Hong Chin (DOD 11/05/90) (078-20-4920)

Sterling Chin (DOD 01/26/91) (438-26-5696)

Eddie J. Christy (DOD 08/20/91) (386-32-7153)

Bernard J. Clark (DOD 11/18/91) (588-20-7872)

Victor A. Claudio (DOD 08/20/91) (119-22-3501)

John H. Cline (DOD 12/17/90) (561-38-2307)

Billy W. Connett (DOD 03/22/92) (374-14-9607)

Peter J. Corvia (DOD 11/08/90) (551-28-9735)

Harold H. Coulter (DOD 08/03/91) (505-20-3514)

Robert J. Cranston (DOD 03/03/92) (037-16-1674)

James W. Cross (DOD 10/11/90) (210-22-6054)

Percy Cruikshank, Jr. (DOD 10/30/90) (568-30-1416)

Armando Cruz Berrios (DOD 02/27/92) (061-24-5372)

Edward R. Culp (DOD 05/10/92) (263-12-7162)

Maurice F. Culp (DOD 04/28/91) (164-12-2687)

Silas Cummings, Sr. (DOD 05/28/92) (436-10-6898)

Harry J. Curtin (DOD 11/11/90) (136-16-4000)

- 3lra-

Manuel Da Cruz (DOD 02/02/91) (119-22-1918)

Floyd E, Dare (DOD 01/30/92) (564-20-2563)

Clarence Davis (DOD 02/18/91) (264-58-4961)

Rene De Bellaistre (DOD 09/17/90) (105-22-4400)

Ricardo Deas (DOD 10/01/90) (260-18-5828)

Jose DeOliveira (DOD 11/02/91) (084-18--3 158)

Daniel S. DeShields, Sr. (DOD 07/23/91) (064-09-0572)

John W. DeVaux, Sr. (DOD 03/18/91) (213-07-0827)

Clyde A. Dickie (DOD 01/16/92) (014-22-5115)

Chin Do Yee (DOD 11/12/90) (027-16-1727)

Pablo P. Dolendo (DOD 02/18/91) (097-18-8026)

Sidney L. Dolese (DOD 08/09/90) (436-18-9663)

Angelo H. Donisi (DOD 12/28/90) (148-14-6446)

Dave Douglas (DOD 03/16/91) (257-10-7972)

Cornelius J. Downey (DOD 02/15/91) (111-10-6658)

James M. Dunker (DOD 06/06/91) (249-20-4410)

Norman G. Ebanks (DOD 11/01/91) (094-24-6763)

Anders I. Ellingsen (DOD 04/16/91) (460-46-91 12)

Theodore Elmore (DOD 01/04/92) (218-01-5920)

John W. English (DOD 08/19/90) (03 1-16-2972)

Alfred C. Ethridge (DOD 01/01/91) (423-30-9511)

Elegy L. Etter, Sr. (DOD 02/19/92) (450-16-6366)

Julio Evans De La Cruz (DOD 08/08/90) (051-18-3819)

James Evans (DOD 04/01/92) (251-34-3625)

Louis B. Evelyn (DOD 09/14/90) (081-14-0970)

Laurenco Fernandez Pereida (DOD 12/24/91) (063-30-6977)

Harriet A. Figueroa (DOD 03/06/91) (089-22-7367)

Ralph E. Fitzpatrick (DOD 09/19/90) (224-01-8983)

Hugh J. Fitzpatrick, Sr. (DOD 05/21/92) (019-14-6707)

Boniface Fontenelle (DOD 12/09/91) (119-22-2141)

George R. Fortes (DOD 09/12/90) (03 1-14-8432)

Harold R. Foster (DOD 11/13/90) (058-14-9369)

Edward E. Fowler (DOD 07/21/91) (246-38-5338)

Charles H. Gaboury (DOD 07/11/92) (541-14-2801)

Joseph Gallardo (DOD 09/13/90) (063-20-5664)

- 32ra -

ig

Roberto Gamundi (DOD 11/19/92) (436-60-5518)

Jesus Garcia Fernandez (DOD 09/20/90) (265-14-2502)

Tomas Garcia (DOD 08/20/92) (055-22-2099)

Dedrick Garthus (DOD 12/12/91) (470-09-2600)

John Gasowski (DOD 11/04/90) (054-18-4215)

Paul J. Gaydos (DOD 04/02/91) (190-05-5889)

Warren E. George (DOD 10/06/91) (439-54-4395)

Cecil Gilbert, Sr. (DOD 04/06/92) (460-10-9295)

Harold G. Gohl (DOD 05/10/92) (386-26-6930)

Miguel Gonzalez Lopez (DOD 02/20/91) (073-12-6459)

Zannie E. Goode (DOD 02/16/92) (418-18-9010)

Cornelius J. Gordon (DOD 11/20/90) (457-16-9586)

George C. Gordon (DOD 07/11/91) (558-03-7274)

Charles Gottshalk (DOD 09/01/91) (129-12-0692)

Leon J. Green (POD 12/04/90) (547-16-2346) .

Gene Greer (DOD 08/17/90) (533-03-7096)

Jose Guerrero (DOD 11/30/91) (119-22-8954)

Juan G. Gutierrez (DOD 01/09/92) (458-22-8846)

Roy Hadley, Sr. (DOD 04/15/91) (451-22-6487)

Arthur D. Haines (DOD 07/25/92) (391-24-0535)

Roberto Hannibal (DOD 05/14/91) (075-22-8083)

Bror E. Hanson (DOD 04/25/92) (134-24-1495)

Willie C. Harrell, Jr. (DOD 02/04/92) (231-01-5553)

William R. Harrell (DOD 02/11/92) (244-20-2832)

Burley G. Harris (DOD 07/29/90) (550-14-0836)

Cecil Harris (DOD 11/22/91) (452-26-1564)

John O. Harris (DOD 01/18/91) (223-32-3150)

Thomas S. Harris, Jr. (DOD 09/15/91) (226-116-7495)

Thomas C. Harris, Sr. (DOD 08/07/91) (222-05-1990)

Willie S. Harris (DOD 04/25/92) (261-32-8980)

Ashton M. Harrison, Sr. (DOD 09/23/90) (128-20-9389)

Clarence A. Hartnett (DOD 05/4/92) (024-14-0995)

Eugene F. Hathy (DOD 09/05/91) (268-01-3739)

John H. Haus (DOD 06/18/91) (109-12-4402)

Calvin C. Hayes (DOD 09/01/90) (423-64-7333)

- 33ra -

Solomon N. Hayes (DOD 12/16/91) (232-30-0642)

James F. Haynes (DOD 07/28/91) (535-16-6446)

Leon S. Haynes (DOD 10/24/90) (266-10-4210)

Charles Helmstetter (DOD 04/26/91) (437-32-8580)

James B. Hendricks (DOD 10/12/91) (424-14-0501)

George Hendrix (DOD 12/15/91) (213-14-3698)

Sergesman N. Hendrix (DOD 08/24/90) (424-30-3592)

Warren J. Henry, Jr. (DOD 03/11/91) (433-40-3338)

Frank Hernandez Lozada (DOD 06/12/91) (217-14-0305)

Homer Hernandez (DOD 02/01/91) (063-22-0375)

Ralph A. Hernandez (DOD 10/14/91) (086-16-2002)

Irvine Herne, Jr. (DOD 08/11/90) (249-30-4501)

Isadore J. Hiller (DOD 12/19/91) (219-01-6465)

Edwin G. Hohman (DOD 11/26/92) (483-16-6932)

William G. Holley (DOD 04/05/91) (462-48-3769)

Carl N. Holm (DOD 12/22/91) (483-10-5638)

Wayne J. Holman (DOD 02/16/91) (280-12-0324)

Frederick M. Hopkins (DOD 09/12/91) (401-26-7161)

Arne W. Hovde (DOD 10/13/92) (219-16-3321)

Joseph E. Howe (DOD 05/21/91) (060-28-2318)

Harold R. Huhndorf (DOD 09/16/90) (526-16-7114)

Samuel Hunter (DOD 06/04/91) (452-48-5028)

Joseph D. Hurley (DOD 12/13/90) (126-01-2987)

Kenneth R. Itter (DOD 07/23/91) (537-14-3532)

Ivory Jackson (DOD 09/18/91) (437-01-5921)

Ervin M. Jackson, Jr. (DOD 09/12/91) (418-56-2643)

Kara C. Jenkins (DOD 08/01/90) (255-224-5119)

Richard D. Johns (DOD 05/17/92) (235-22-5602)

Herman R. Johnson (DOD 03/20/91) (437-70-2780)

Orville W. Johnson (DOD 06/12/92) (219-01-5952)

Simon J. Johnson (DOD 07/28/90) (262-22-7335)

Woodrow Johnson (DOD 01/04/91) (374-22-5210)

Rudolph E. Johnston (DOD 08/30/90) (459-03-3 149)

H. B. Jones (DOD 02/03/92) (429-32-4740)

Hughie Jones, Jr. (DOD 09/27/91)(205-14-6417)

- 34ra -

Thomas Jones, Jr. (DOD 09/07/91) (266-09-9216)

Carl C. Jorgensen (DOD 10/15/91) (437-14-3519)

Wilford Joseph (DOD 01/03/91) (460-10-2059)

Charles Khedoo (DOD 01/06/92) (113-20-0730)

Edward J. Kilford, Jr. (DOD 10/16/92) (543-01-2114)

Retis C. King (DOD 04/02/91) (235-36-5422)

Mark T. Kinto (DOD 04/13/91) (212-34-8864)

Elias A. Kirkland (DOD 08/19/90) (436-10-3650)

James U. Knowles (DOD 03/24/91) (077-12-9995)

Edward A. Kohl (DOD 12/15/90) (266-20-1051)

Norman P. Kottemann (DOD 09/08/90) (435-22-2809)

Richard Kowalski (DOD 08/06/90) (376-32-1438)

Michael Kozusko (DOD 04/05/92) (063-22-0826)

Edward J, Kramer (DOD 01/19/91) (153-01-1736)

Henry G. Lai (DOD 06/10/92) (556-26-8029)

Chris F. Larsen (DOD 12/20/91) (133-07-2413)

Linwood L. Lawton (DOD 09/03/90) (224-30-7935)

James D. Lewis (DOD 10/24/91) (282-24-3085)

Jason Llanis (DOD 01/13/92) (132-05-3504)

Luis Lockarno (DOD 01/30/91) (435-40-7639)

Andrew S. Lucien (DOD 06/17/92) (433-28-8529)

Thomas S. Maldonado (DOD 04/02/91) (050-05-9335)

Bobby D. Mangold (DOD 07/01/91) (234-42-7617)

Joseph M. Manini (DOD 01/26/91) (576-07-2471)

Eddy Markle (DOD 12/30/91) (576-12-0504)

Ramon Martinez Castro (DOD 10/23/90) (126-26-4403)

Michael P. Masek (DOD 08/31/92) (263-28-2050)

Richard H. Mawhorter (DOD 11/11/91) (293-16-0831)

John J. McCaffery (DOD 12/24/90) (568-28-5792)

Richard McCants (DOD 10/12/90) (417-12-2193>

John A. McCarville (DOD 11/28/90) (535-16-5271)

William R. McClintic (DOD 02/11/91) (559-24-4314)

William L. McCoy, Sr. (DOD 10/04/91) (227-32-4240)

Mack J. McGee, Jr. (DOD 09/28/90) (557-32-8969)

Roger E. McKenna (DOD 03/21/91) (559-22-8719)

- 35ra -

Thomas H. McQuay (DOD 08/04/90) (263-13-1136)

Sidney Meaux (DOD 09/30/90) (094-12-0494)

David Medina, Sr. (DOD 04/13/91) (433-40-8220)

Walter P. Meisner (DOD 08/13/90) (570-12-3029)

Agathangelos G. Melissnaratos (DOD 10/24/90)

(554-322-4895)

Oswaldo Meron (DOD 05/29/92) (063-22-8659)

Robert L. Michalscheck (DOD 09/14/92) (531-34-1109)

William A. Milchling (DOD 05/20/91) (213-12-8556)

Lewis Miller (DOD 01/23/91) (298-16-8102)

Merle V. Milton (DOD 01/18/91) (313-22-9467)

James B. Mitchell, Sr. (DOD 07/16/91) (254-22-9854)

Leroy N. Mobley (DOD 03/07/91) (488-18-1686)

Macedonio Montoya (DOD 08/16/91) (455-32-2195)

John E. Moore (DOD 04/21/91) (053-18-8142)

Charles I. Moore, Sr. (DOD 12/15/91) (261-20-8654)

John C. Moran (DOD 11/28/90) (428-24-8508)

Edward L. Morelock (DOD 02/14/91) (283-22-8720)

Henry H. Morris (DOD 09/17/91) (247-38-3132)

Clarence Morse, Jr. (DOD 09/05/90) (418-18-2827)

Theodore Murrah (DOD 01/14/93) (418-18-9069)

Bill J. Myers (DOD 05/03/91) (387-20-3231)

Joe M. Napier (DOD 09/04/91) (267-32-8498)

Robert E. Neal (DOD 12/07/90) (249-10-4845)

George R. Nelson (DOD 05/28/91) (387-24-6137)

Joe W. Norman (DOD 12/01/90) (238-20-8723)

Andres Nunez (DOD 08/16/91) (113-20-8839)

Ismael C. Nunez (DOD 05/13/92) (349-24-8134)

Leopoldo Ojeda Morales (DOD 12/07/90) (219-09-1008)

John Onga (DOD 02/03/91) (132-10-7932)

Bernard F. Overstreet (DOD 12/09/91) (421-07-8014)

Don C. Paedae, Jr. (DOD 03/15/92) (493-10-7027)

Augustus D. Palmer (DOD 07/05/91) (075-18-4643)

Joseph Papu (DOD 03/28/91) (576-14-6465)

James R. Parker (DOD 01/12/92) (425-36-91 14)

- 36ra -

Joseph A.C. Patenaude (DOD 10/17/91) (721-03-7033)

Felimon Peniaranda (DOD 02/18/91) (558-20-1271)

Joaquin Pereira (DOD 09/05/90) (155-16-9640)

Luis J. Perez (DOD 01/16/91) (467-26-7913)

Joseph P. Perrina (DOD 06/07/92) (103-12-9798)

Moses H. Perry, Jr. (DOD 03/22/91) (416-30-1942)

Eugene G. Peters (DOD 10/17/92) (398-10-5819)

Leroy L. Peters, Sr. (DOD 11/25/91) (219-10-4772)

Burl W. Prichard (DOD 10/08/90) (409-03-4583)

Charles C. Pritchard (DOD 09/14/92) (269-12-0495)

William H. Pritz (DOD 10/07/90) (545-22-8694)

Adriano Quinones Martinez (DOD 09/24/91) (582-03-4095)

Alpheus Rainey (DOD 07/11/91) (097-07-9491)

Jan Rani (DOD 12/20/90) (132-01-6912)

Herbert J. Reichert, Jr. (DOD 04/03/91) (213-26-3995)

Jose C. Reyes Maldonado (DOD 08/17/90) (092-12-1472)

Felipe M. Reyes, Sr. (DOD 11/10/91) (423-01-9125)

Marcus A. Reynoza (DOD 08/10/90) (566-18-8874)

William H. Rhone (DOD 06/07/91) (422-45-5407)

Jerome M. Rice (DOD 04/12/91) (421-16-6655)

James Q. Rice, Sr. (DOD 09/25/92) (229-16-0230)

Nathaniel F. Richard (DOD 12/06/91) (434-36-0282)

Emiliano Rios Toro (DOD 02/25/91) (133-01-9119)

Esteban Rivera Carreras (DOD 06/07/91) (083-26-0740)

Benjamin E. Robbins (DOD 02/16/92) (267-50-643 1)

John M. Rockstroh (DOD 04/0791) (220-01-3026)

George Rodgers (DOD 05/30/91) (126-13-7815)

Louis Rodock (DOD 10/11/90) (097-14-4253)

Angel Rodriguez Martinez (DOD 03/25/92) (219-09-2760)

Malcolm L. Rogers (POD 08/23/90) (564-32-0095)

Winston W. Rumph (DOD 08/06/92) (250-01-1878)

Leo A. Scheidt (DOD 01/09/92) (487-22-1531)

Prank Schmidt (DOD 07/31/90) (223-20-7616)

Richard F. Schuettner (DOD 08/26/92) (155-10-9879)

Emil H. Schultz (DOD 10/11/92) (137-10-9155)

- 37ra -

Fitzgerald Segree (W D 07/26/91) (119-07-4660)

Leo Selico, Sr. (DOD 04/03/92) (439-26-3775)

Gustavo Serrano (DOD 10/01/90) (130-07-5356)

MacDonald Serrette (DOD 08/16/91) (416-34-0844)

Jerome A. Severe (DOD 01/01/93) (437-07-9286)

Joseph W. Shierlock (DOD 11/27/91) (249-16-4527)

Biliran O. Sierra (DOD 09/08/92) (533-26-2541)

Lawrence J. Silva (DOD 11/08/90) (019-18-2675)

Thomas Sims (DOD 02/08/91) (422-03-2297)

Pat J. Sing (DOD 06/23/92) (552-32-4382)

Walter J. Slade (DOD 10/22/90) (026-07-6005)

Joseph F. Smith (DOD 02/24/91) (052-12-8827)

Nelson Sotero Vazquez (DOD 05/17/91) (106-26-5860)

Joseph Souza (DOD 05/04/92) (027-20-2349)

Albert W. Spanraft (DOD 01/22/92) (355-12-0128)

Lanier Speed (DOD 11/18/90) (421-26-3024)

Homer Starling (DOD 01/02/95) (424-01-7089)

James C. Stewart (DOD 05/19/92) (422-05-9406)

John Stratidakis (DOD 08/13/91) (080-20-7376)

Floyal L. Suter (DOD 01/04/91) (443-34-4134)

William D. Swallows (DOD 08/11/92) (568-20-0242)

Joseph A. Tanguay (DOD 08/01/90) (059-24-0197)

Nels J. Tanula (DOD 08/27/91) (398-07-8514)

Joseph R. Taylor (DOD 08/03/90) (524-28-3524)

Earl H. Terry (DOD 05/26191) (286-18-6085)

Theodore M. Tetonis (DOD 08/07/90) (140-18-6340)

Eugene S. Thomas (DOD 06/05/91) (267-26-7809)

George E. Thompson (DOD 03/02/92) (552-22-1749)

Clyde D. Tibbs (DOD 12/13/90) (463-24-9737)

Heber C. Tolar (DOD 11/19/90) (553-14-8395)

Nicholas Torres Arieta (DOD 06/03/91) (100-12-2280)

William C. Traser (DOD 12/09/90) (223-03-9742)

Alphonse J. Tremer, Jr. (DOD 08/05/90) (416-18-1952)

Richard L. Trexler (DOD 03/05/92) (217-14-4868)

Arthur S. Turner (DOD 07/27/90) (545-28-4224)

- 38ra -

Chris L. Turner (DOD 11/06/91) (452-54-3751)

John E. Ubl, Sr. (DOD 05/15/92) (297-07-3857)

Roy C. Uhl (DOD 01/31/92) (317-22-0988)

Henry Uribe (DOD 12/30/91) (569-30-4504)

Anneliese M. Valentine Domingo (DOD 03/03/92)

(078-26-1649)

Celestino Valverde (DOD 02/25/91) (453-18-1354)

Lawrence J. Vanderventer (DOD 04/21/91) (372-14-3531)

Constant S. Vandewouwer (DOD 08/16/91) (1 15-07-7206)

Bernie Vaughn (DOD 07/06/91) (223-18-2338)

Armindo Vidot (DOD 08/14/90) (189-24-5352)

Aquilino S. Villariza (DOD 01/04/91) (124-14-5077)

William G. Vogel (DOD 10/18/90) (064-16-0152)

Hans W. Wagner (DOD 09/02/91) (559-18-7960)

William M. Wagstaff (DOD 12/24/91) (086-16-3369)

George C. Walker (DOD 01/16/91) (230-22-3045)

Floyd W. Wallace (DOD 04/20/91) (217-18-3968)

Ward M. Wallace (DOD 12/22/91) (225-18-5674)

George L.A. Walrond, Sr. (DOD 07/10/91) (084-22-6986)

Carl L. Ward, Sr. (DOD 07/17/91) (413-09-4519)

Marceline I. Warden (DOD 02/07/91) (23 1-28-8848)

Bernard L. Weiss (DOD 12/12/91) 1375-40-9105)

Andrew W. Wells, Jr. (DOD 05/22/92) (266-05-0383)

Raymond Whaley, Jr. (DOD 10/05/92) (251-34-2891)

Joe Murry Wilkerson, Sr. (DOD 05/08/91) (421-16-6642)

Alease Williams (DOD 08/02/90) (429-03-6246)

Elmo Williams (DOD 10/11/91) (450-01-5054)

John F. Williams (DOD 09/10/91) (545-12-1825)

Raymond R. Williams (DOD 10/09/90) (263-14-5965)

Robert Williams (DOD 11/28/90) (536-16-1445)

Russell N. Williams (DOD 04/08/92) (129-14-3996)

Hulos A. Willie (DOD 02/08/91) (090-14-5906)

James Wilson (DOD 09/03/91) (436-26-4027)

Robert H. Witherspoon (DOD 08/18/90) (563-26-4008)

John Woodberry (DOD 09/11/91) (248-36-7840)

- 39ra -

Enrique Zapata (DOD 07/06/91) (460-16-9723)

Joseph Zare (DOD 10/25/91) (155-12-2929)

Russell W. Zeller (DOD 11/22/91) (554-46-7834)

Plaintiffs (370 Decedents)

Civil No

. oe

ACandS. Inc., ACMC f/k/a National Gypsum Company,

Acme Brick Company, Acorn Iron & Supply Co.,

Allis-Chalmers Corporation, The Allpax Co. Inc., American

Ship Building Co., Anchor Packing Co., Argo Intl. Corp.,

Armstrong World Industries, The Auburn Mfg. Co., Aurora

Pump Division of General Signal Corp., Bethlehem Steel

Corp., Bigelow-Liptak Corp., A. B. Boyd Co., Bryan Steam

Corp., The Carborundum Co., CertainTeed Corp., Champion

International, Chemseco, Coffin Pump, Inc., Coltec

Industries, Inc., Alfred Conhagen, Inc., Crosby Steam &

Valve Co., Crown, Cork & Seal Co., Inc., Dana Corp., The

Darcoid Co. Inc., Donlee Technologies, Inc., Durabla Mfg.

Co., Everlasting Valve Co., Excelsior, Inc., Fel-Pro

Incorporated, Felt Products Incorporated, Fibreboard Corp.,

Flexitallic, Inc., Flintkote Co., GAF Corp., Gatke Corp.,

General Cable Co., General Refractories, Goodall Rubber

Co., B. F. Goodrich, Goodyear Tire & Rubber Co., Goulds

Pumps, Inc., A.P. Green Industries, Inc., Greene Tweed &

Co., Hajoca Corp., Harbison- Walker Refractories Group,

The Home Rubber Company, Indian Head Industries, Inc.,

Ingersoll-Dresser Pump, Ingersoll-Rand Corp., James Walker

Mfg. Co., Janos Industrial Insulation Corp., John Crane Inc.,

La Favorite Industries, Inc., The Lunkenheimer Co., Melrath

Gasket, Inc., Morrison Bros. Co., Mortell Company, Noland

Company, North American Refractories Co., Norton Co.,

- 40ra -

The Okonite Co., Owens-Corning Fiberglas Corp., Owens-

Illinois, Inc., P P G Industries, Inc., Pecora Corp., Phoenix

Speciality Manufacturing Co., Inc., Pilot Packing Co., Inc.,

Pittsburgh Corning Corporation, Plibrico Co., Preferred

Utilities Mfg. Corp., Quaker Construction Products, Inc.,

Quaker Rubber Company, Quigley Co., Inc., Sherwin-

Williams Co., Shook & Fletcher Insulation Co., Skinner

Engine Company, Inc., T & N Industries Inc., Union Carbide

Corporation, United States Gypsum Co., USX Corp.,

Vellumoid, Inc., Viking Pump, Inc., Warren Pumps, Inc.,

Zimmerman Packing & Mfg., Inc.

Defendants (93)

COMPLAINT

Plaintiffs say:

l. This Complaint is brought under Rule 20 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and jurisdiction of this

cause lies within the aegis of this Honorable Court by virtue

of Article III, Section 2 of the Constitution of the United

States, this cause being an admiralty and maritime claim,

under the general admiralty and maritime law; and diversity

of citizenship is asserted under 28 U.S.C. §1332, when

applicable as to respective party Defendants in relation to

each particular party plaintiff.

Z. Plaintiffs plead in the alternative upon

occurrence of a situation as stated below. Plaintiffs assert

that this is an admiralty and maritime claim within the

meaning of Rule 9(h) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, although here Plaintiffs rely on the diversity

statute as a basis for maritime jurisdiction of the Court

whereby each Plaintiff is alleged to be of a different

- 4lra-

domiciliary than that of each Defendant, and thus a maritime

Cause is asserted to be tried to jury; but let it be known that in

the event the fortuity of each diversity of citizenship of any

plaintiff as to respective defendant should be evinced, then

under such occasion this pleading contemplated as pro tanto

the invocation of Rule 9(h) of Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure as to such party defendant, reserving status quo as

to all other defendants.

As an example of such fortuity where, unbeknownst

to the pleader plaintiff X is of the same domicile and state

citizenship as are defendants Y and Z, then as to those two

defendants the Court alone under Rule 9(h) shall try all

issues, but as to all other defendants, it remains a jury trial.

3. Plaintiff, Creighton E. Miller, Administrator

of the Estates of Diecedents, set forth herein, is a duly

appointed repreventative of the respective estate by the

Probate Court of the County of Cuyahoga, Cleveland, Ohio.

4. At all times relevant herein, Defendants

designed, manufactured, sold or otherwise supplied for use

of shipowners abroad vessels harmful toxins and carcinogens

including asbestos and asbestos-containing products or

machinery and equipment on which the asbestos products

were placed as contemplated by and or otherwise for

placement on vessels upon which Plaintiffs or Plaintiff's

Decedents served during periods of time when the respective

mariners as crewmen were exposed to their detriment to the

afore-stated chemicals and products, suffering injury to their

person or death of their being as the case may have resulted.

5. As a direct and proximate result of said

exposure to asbestos products and asbestos-containing

products, Plaintiffs or Plaintiff's Decedents suffered

- 42ra -

traumatic affliction of anatomical disorder, structural

changes, pulmonary diseases inclusive of which are

asbestosis/ mesothelioma/lung cancer/pneumoconiosis/

chronic obstructive pulmonary disease/colon cancer/stomach

cancer/rectal cancer/kidney cancer/pancreas cancer/pharynx

cancer/brain cancer/other anatomical cancer, et cetera, either

singularly or in combination thereof.

6. Each respective Defendant committed breach

of duty to the Plaintiff-litigants by the negligent failure to

reasonably adhere to safe standards of design and

manufacture and failed to give warnings of the defects of the

products that would result in detriment of the health

exposure of human beings and further committed a breach of

implied warranty of fitness of the respective products for

their intended use.

: F Defendants at all times herein relevant

committee acts and omissions constituting willful and

wanton disregard for the safety of those to whom the

asbestos would foreseeably be exposed with indifference,

reckless disregard and gross negligent conduct, all to the

detriment of persons so exposed including Plaintiffs or

Plaintiff's Decedent herein, all of which amounts to a basis

for punitive damages.

8. As a direct and proximate result of the

negligent and gross negligent acts of Defendants and the

breach of implied warranty aforesaid, Plaintiffs or Plaintiffs

Decedents herein sustained damages as below stated, inter

alia:

As to Plaintiffs:

a. loss of earnings and earning capacity, past and

- 43ra -

future;

b. conscious pain and suffering, past and future;

. exemplary and punitive damages;

d. any and all other compensatory damages as

may be allowed upon proofs.

As to Plaintiff's ecedents:

loss of e. ings and earning capacity during

Plaintiff's Decedents’ lifetime;

b. conscious pain and suffering;

C. loss of support;

d. loss of society and companionship suffered by

the heirs and next of kin of Plaintiff's

Decedents;

e. exemplary and punitive damages; and

f. any and all other compensatory damages as

may be allowed upon proofs.

WHEREFORE, Plaintiff-litigants demand trial by

jury or, in the alternative, by the Court when required, and

judgment of an amount in excess of Fifty Thousand

($50,000.00) Dollars as to each Plaintiff against Defendants,

jointly and severally, and appropriate costs in addition to

punitive damages with respect to each Defendant, in an

amount and denomination to be determined upon

ascertaining during the pendency of this cause the net worth

of each Defendant herein; and Plaintiff further with respect

- 44ra -

to each Decedent, seeks such other further measures of relief

as the Court may determine to be appropriate and just in the

premises.

THE MARITIME ASBESTOSIS

LEGAL CLINIC, a division of THE

JAQUES ADMIRALTY LAW FIRM

BY: S/

LEONARD C. JAQUES

ALAN KELLMAN (#92442)

Attorney for Plaintiff-Litigants

1370 Penobscot Building

Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 961-1080

Dated: July 26, 1993

Jury Demand

Plaintiff hereby demands trial by jury.

THE MARITIME ASBESTOSIS LEGAL

CLINIC, a division of THE JAQUES

ADMIRALTY LAW FIRM

BY: S/

LEONARD C. JAQUES

ALAN KELLMAN (#92442)

Attorney for Plaintiff-Litigants

1370 Penobscot Building

Detroit, MI 48226

(313) 961-1080

Dated: July.26, 1993

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.