Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tanford v. Brand

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Av] RLLAD

QE 1S 94 way 27

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE UNITED STATES

October Term 1996

James A. TANFORD, and

Joseph Anthony Urbanski,

Petitioners,

v.

Myles BRAND, in his individual and

official capacities as President of

Indiana University; and

Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, in his

individual and official capacities

as Vice President and Chancellor of

Indiana University at Bloomington,

Respondent.

ee

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

May 27, 1997 Richard A. Waples

WAPLES & HANGER

410 N. Audubon Road

Indianapolis, Indiana 46219

317/ 357-0903

317/ 353-9765 (fax)

Richwaples@aol.com

Counsel of Record

Or v\

IT.

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Establishment Clause is violated

when state university officials select a cleric to

give two prayers at graduation, provide him

instructions on the content of those prayers,

dress him in university regalia and include him

- on the dais with high ranking state university

officials, and request the audience to stand and

join the cleric in prayer?

Whether Lemon v. Kurtunan is still the

controlling law in cases involving direct

governmental sponsorship of religious activity?

QUESTION PRESENTED

AUTHORITIES CITED

OPINIONS BELOW

JURISDICTION

TABLE OF CONTENTS

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT IGNORED

CONTROLLING SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT WHEN IT DID NOT

APPLY THE LEMON TEST TO STATE

SPONSORED RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY ...

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S FAILURE TO

APPLY THE LEMON TEST CONFLICTS

WITH DECISIONS REACHED IN OTHER

CIRCUITS AND ILLUSTRATES THE

CONFUSION-REIGNING IN THE

LOWER COURTS ABOUT THE STATUS

CP GRO 8 ans Se Re RO ORE

il

eaeceoesenosoi4@oneeeetew$eoee»egeeeqaeée#¢28s «6

AEE Re tee tor

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT APPLIED

THE "TRADITION" EXCEPTION OF

MARSH V. CHAMBERS TO

GRADUATION PRAYER, WHICH

CONTRAVENES SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT AND _ CONFLICTS

WITH OTHER CIRCUITS ........

IV. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CONTRAVENED SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT AND THE DECISIONS

OF OTHER CIRCUITS WHEN IT

RULED THAT. PRAYER IS

ACCEPTABLE IF NONSECTARIAN .

V.THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CONTRAVENED LEE V. WEISMAN BY

HOLDING HELD THAT THERE IS NO

"ENTANGLEMENT" WHEN STATE

OFFICIALS SELECT A CLERIC AND

INSTRUCT HIM CONCERNING THE

CONTENT OF THE PRAYER ........

VI. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S

DECISION THAT PRAYER MAY BE

USED TO SOLEMNIZE A PUBLIC

CEREMONY IS INCONSISTENT

WITH SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT AND CONFLICTS

WITH OTHER CIRCUITS ........

iil

16

VII.

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S "DE

MINIMIS" EXCEPTION FOR BRIEF

PRAYERS CONTRAVENES

SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT

AND THE DECISIONS OF OTHER

es Se eos oe en arr

THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

CONTRAVENED DECISIONS OF

THE SUPREME COURT AND OTHER

CIRCUITS BY HOLDING THAT

GRADUATION PRAYER IS EXEMPT

FROM THE ESTABLISHMENT

CLAUSE BECAUSE IT IS

bs a ee

iV

AUTHORITIES CITED

Cases:

A.C.L.U. of Georgia v. Rabun Co. Chamber of

Commerce, 698 F.2d 1098 (11th Cir. 1983) ... 21, 26

A.C.L.U. of N.J. v. Black Horse Pike Regional

Board of Edu. , 84 F.3d 1471

152 2 aS ae oe re 12, 15, 18, 21

ACLU v. Schundler,

106 F536 3655 Gk Cie, T9557) noi ne eas 26

American Jewish Congress v. Beverly Hills,

90 F.3d 379: te Cir. 1996) occ caes 26

Board of Education of Kiryas Joel Village

School District v. Grumet,

eB Rg) ee ee 11

Board of Education of Kiryas Joel Village

School District v. Grumet,

Se Te Ge CA OES ES Soe he 17

Capitol Sq. Rev. and Adv, Board v. Pinette,

555 5. Ch ree 8 hh ER ee 11

County of Allegheny v.

A.C.L.U. Greater Pittsburgh Chapter,

AS Be |. ee eae 10, 14, 17,

Easter. Bonham y. District of Col. Library Admin. ,

989 F.2d 1242 (D.C. Cir. 1993) .......... 24

Edwards v. Aguillard,

ee ee) 10, 14, 15, 17

Engle v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421 (1962) ....... 20, 25

Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97 (1968) ...... 17

Even Jones v. Clear Creek Independent

School Dist., 977 F.2d 963 (Sth Cir 1992) ... 16

Harris v. Joint School District No. 241,

41 F.3d 447 (9th Cir. 1994),

vacated, 115 S. Ct. 2604 (1995) .......... 21

Ingebretsen v. Jackson Public School Dist. ,

Se are Gre Gas WOO Sc eee wes os 13, 18

Fifth Circuit case, Ingebretsen v.

Jackson Public School Dist.,

oe ere Ge es SR 8 od oe ew een 19

Ingebretsen v. Jackson Public School Dist.,

me Pe ere Gee Gale FO 6 Se ee tae 24

Jager v. Douglas Co. School Dist.,

862 F.2d 824 (11th Cir. 1989) . 12, 15, 21, 24, 26

Karen B. v. Treen,

653 F.2d 897 (Sth Cir. 1981) .......... 18, 22

vi

Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches

Union Free School District,

508 U.S. 384 (1993) ..........2000- 11, 23

Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, Inc.,

ee. RS as 5% oles. 4 oS gee tee 10

Lee v. Weisman,

505 U.S. 577 (1992) ... 9-11, 14, 17, 19, 23, 25

Lemon v. Kurtzman,

we mee. ¢5 | 6,9

Doe v. Duncanville Independent School Dist.,

ee ae, re 27

Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783 (1983) .... 6, 13

North Carolina Civil Liberties

Union Legal Foundation v. Constangy,

ee ae GS Te Ae 15

Robinson v. City of Edmond,

68 F.3d 1226 (10th Cir. 1995) ......... 15, 26

Rodriguez De Quijas v.

Shearson/American Express,

SE i Se 12

Rosenberger v. University of Virginia,

Ck 11

Vii

School District of the City of

Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373 (1985) ... 17

Tanford v. Brand,

883 F. Supp. 1231 (S.D. Ind. 1995),

aff'd, 104 F.3d 982 (7th Cir. 1997) ..... passim

Thurston Motor Lines Inc. v.

Jordan K. Rand, Ltd., 460 U.S. 533 (1983) ... 12

Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38 (1985) ...... 18, 24

Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools,

FF Pia OTe Cee Ge BPO ee ee ec es 26

Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S., 263 ........... 16

Constitutions, Statutes:

pS oy By, ee re ae ae 1

yp ge. ao ewer ry Seer err ee a ae 1

Fie Ree BO De ree ee ee ]

Se ees Oe ke 8 eres bt eed Fe as 1

Us Cs SS. o's Sh ee os EON 2

Vili

:

Weel re

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit is reported as Tanford v. Brand,

104 F.3d 982 (7th Cir. 1997). It is reprinted in the

Appendix at a-1. The opinion of the district court entering

summary judgement is reported as Tanford v. Brand, 932

F. Supp. 1139 (S.D. Ind. 1996) and is reprinted at a-12.

The opinion of the district court denying preliminary

injunctive relief is reported as Tanford v. Brand, 883 F.

Supp. 1231 (S.D. Ind. 1995) and is reprinted at a-30.

JURISDICTION

Plaintiffs-Petitioners James A. Tanford, and Joseph

Urbanski sued the defendant state university official under

42 U.S.C. § 1983 for asserted violations of the

Establishment Clause of the First Amendment to the U. S.

Constitution. The district court had jurisdiction to hear the

case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331 & 1343.

On May 4, 1995 the district court denied preliminary

injunctive relief, and on July 15, 1996 entered summary

judgment in favor of the defendants. Plaintiffs filed their

Notice of Appeal on August 12, 1996. The court of

appeals had jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291.

On January 16, 1997, the court of appeals affirmed and

issued its judgment. On February 25, 1997, the court of

appeals denied petitioners’ petition for rehearing with

suggestion for rehearing en banc. This Court has

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). May 25, 1997

was a Sunday and May 26, 1997 was a federal holiday.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The following constitutional provision is relevant to the

determination of this case: "Congress shall make no law .

. . Fespecting an establishment of Religion{.]" U.S. Const.

amend. I.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Petitioners

Petitioners are a student and a professor at Indiana

University. Petitioner James A. Tanford teaches in the

School of Law. His attendance at graduation is not

voluntary; he attends only when he is asked to attend by the

Dean in order to represent the law school. He is a Roman

Catholic and objects to nondenominational public prayer on

religious grounds, believing them to trivialize and

desanctify communication with his god.'

Petitioner Joseph A. Urbanski, who was valedictorian

of his high school class, is an undergraduate at Indiana

University who expects to graduate in May 1999. He was

raised in a religious household, but after considerable

study, personal experience, and contemplation, became an

atheist. He objects to being prayed to by state officials, and

1See Matthew 6:5-15 ("when thou prayest, thou shalt not be as

the hypocrites are: for they love to pray [where] they may be seen of

men.... When thou prayest, enter into thy closet [and] pray to thy fa-

ther which is in secret"). See also Catechism of the Catholic Church

647 (1994) (the appropriate places for prayer are the home, shrines,

monasteries, and the church, but not in public).

resents the support the state provides to theism by the

practice of including prayers to a god at public ceremonies.

B. Prayer at Indiana University Graduation

Ceremony

Indiana University is a state university funded by

taxpayers and controlled by state law. It has eight

campuses throughout the state. This lawsuit concerns state-

sponsored prayers offered at graduation exercises on the

Bloomington campus of Indiana University. Each campus

has its own ceremony; not all have prayers. There are at

least four other state-supported universities in Indiana:

Purdue, Indiana State, Ball State, and Southern Indiana.

Among them, only Purdue also has graduation prayers.

Each March an official of Indiana University selects a

local religious leader to give an invocation and benediction

at Commencement. No one from outside the Judeo-

Christian tradition has ever been invited. Once the

religious leader has accepted, a university official sends

him or her a letter containing general instructions

requesting that the prayer be nonsectarian and unifying. In

1995, that cleric was Rev. Robert Sims.

On a Saturday in early May, Indiana University holds

its annual commencement exercises. In 1995, the year in

which the injunction was first sought, the exercises were

held in the football stadium. The ceremony was attended

by members of the Board of Trustees, approximately 150

university administrative officials and faculty,

approximately 5000 students, and 25,000-30,000 guests --

mostly the family and friends of the graduates. The guests

sat in the stands. Members of the university community

entered the stadium in an academic procession accompanied

by ceremonial music. The Board of Trustees, senior

university administrators, and a few specially invited guests

including Rev. Sims marched at the head of the procession

and took seats on a raised dais at one end of the stadium.

They were followed by the faculty and students who sat on

the stadium field facing the dias. The ceremony began with

the national anthem. Next, the President of the University

introduced Rev. Sims and asked everyone to stand and join

him in an invocation. Rev. Sims, wearing the university’s

academic gown, stepped to the lectern and led the crowd in

prayer.

Following the invocation was an address by the

commencement speaker, the conferral of honorary degrees,

the presentation of the graduating classes, student remarks,

the charge to the graduating classes and the conferral of

degrees. The awarding of doctorate degrees (including

law) is accompanied by an ancient academic ritual called

"hooding," in ‘which the faculty present academic hoods to

students by draping the hoods over the students’ heads so

they hang down the back of the academic gown. The hood

is a symbol that the student has completed the requirements

for the degree symbolized by the style of the hood.

Degrees are awarded by the faculty, so this ceremony could

not take place without the presence of faculty at graduation.

In the School of Law in which Petitioner Tanford is a

professor, there are not sufficient faculty volunteers to

perform the hooding ritual, so the Dean requests all faculty

to participate in this ceremony on a rotating basis.

Professor Tanford has never voluntarily, of his own

initiative, attended graduation. Rather, he has attended

only when asked to do so by the Dean, out of a sense of

obligation to his fellow faculty members, one of whom

would have to go in his place if he did not attend.

The ceremony concludes with the singing of the

University alma mater and a second prayer called a

benediction. The President of the University again asked

the audience to stand for a prayer, and Rev. Sims again

stepped to the lectern and led a prayer. The text of the

benediction was:

Let us pray. Gracious God we have

gathered as dreamers. People who believe

deep inside that things can be better. We

have been called into being by you to make

a difference. We like giving. Be with us as

we endeavor to reach out to those who feel

distance from the joy and the challenge of

truth. We pray that we might touch with our

learning those who feel that there is no hope,

no reason to believe in life and love, and the

possibility itself. Strengthen us for the

journeys of mind, of heart, of spirit, of

body, so that we might be right in truth for

one another, and for our world. We ask this

in the name of our common god. Amen.

The University defends its practice of sponsoring prayer

at graduation on the ground that it is a 150-year-old

tradition. However, there has been no single continuing

tradition with respect to prayer. Until a few years ago, the

tradition was to invite only Protestant Christian ministers to

lead the prayers. Only within the last ten years has the

university expanded the pool to include Jewish and Catholic

clergy, and requesting that the prayers be nonsectarian.

C. Proceedings Below

Professor Tanford and two other plaintiffs brought a

federal civil rights action seeking preliminary and

permenant injunctions against the university sponsoring

prayer at Commencement. He had been asked by his Dean

to attend the graduation ceremony that year. The other two

plaintiffs were students who have since graduated. The

District Court for the Southern District of Indiana denied

the preliminary injunction. Petitioner Urbanski is an

undergraduate student who expects to graduate in May

1999. He joined Professor Tanford as a plaintiff requesting

a permanent injunction against graduation prayer. The

district court denied the plaintiffs’ motion for summary

judgment, instead ruling that Indiana University's practice

of state-sponsored prayer at graduation did not offend the

Establishment Clause and entering summary judgment in

favor of the defendants. 932 F. Supp. 1139, 1146 (S.D.

Ind. 1996).

The Court of Appeals affirmed on January 16, 1997.

104 F.3d 982. It failed to adhere to the prevailing three-

part test for an Establishment Clause violation announced

in Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602 (1971). Instead, it

inappropriately invoked Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783

(1983), which created a narrow exception to the

Establishment Clause for legislative prayer. The court of

:

appeals then bolstered its decision by announcing a series

of Establishment Clause principles that run contrary to

prevailing First Amendment doctrine:

1. Prayer may be used to solemnize a public ceremony

2. Nonsectarian prayer is permitted

3. There is no entanglement when state officials may

select the cleric and instruct him concerning the content

of his prayers

4. Brief prayers are a de minimis violation of the

Establishment Clause and therefore are permissible

5. The Establishment Clause is violated only when the

litigants are coerced to attend or participate in a

religious activity

The court also made several clearly erroneous factual

statements:

1. The court noted erroneously that "plaintiffs could

simply attend the afternoon ceremonies, which do not

contain an invocation or benediction.” 104 F.3d at 986.

This finding was clearly erroneous as to both

petitioners.?_ Urbanski is an undergraduate, and the

afternoon ceremony was for law students only. Prof.

Tanford was not free to skip the morning ceremony

because he had been asked by the Dean to represent the

Law School at that ceremony.

"It applied only to plaintiffs MacDonald and Suess, who are not

parties to this Petition.

2. The court stated that "there was no coercion--real or

otherwise--to participate.” 104 F.3d 985. The

undisputed fact is that Prof. Tanford's attendance was

not voluntary, but was "part of [his] duties at the law

school.” 883 F. Supp. 1231, 1235. Also, participation

in college graduation is as consequential and important

to those students who have continued their education as

is participation in high school graduation for those

students who have achieved that level of education.

3. The court asserted that the practice of graduation

prayer at state university graduations is "widespread

throughout the nation.” 104 F.3d at 985. No evidence

to this effect was presented, nor did the District Court

make any such finding. See 932 F. Supp. at 1145

(discussion of university tradition makes no mention of

national tradition).

Rehearing was denied on February 25, 1997.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT IGNORED

CONTROLLING SUPREME COURT

PRECEDENT WHEN IT DID NOT APPLY THE

LEMON TEST TO STATE SPONSORED

RELIGIOUS ACTIVITY.

The Seventh Circuit did not analyze the constitutionality

of state-sponsored graduation prayer by using the three-part

test of Lemon v. Kurtunan, 403 U.S. 602 (1971),°

implying that Lemon's application is limited to cases

involving financial aid to religion. 104 F.3d at 986

("Lemon [involved] financial aid to church-related

educational institutions, a far cry from _ the

non-denominational invocation and benediction at the

Bloomington commencement."). The opinion only briefly

alluded to a requirement that the university have a

"legitimate" secular purpose that did not have a primary

effect of "endorsing" religion.‘ 104 F.3d at 985. This

>The Lemon test is: “to satisfy the Establishment Clause a govern-

mental practice must (1) reflect a clearly secular purpose; (2) have a pri-

mary effect that neither advances nor inhibits religion; and (3) avoid ex-

cessive government entanglement with religion.” Lee v. Weisman, 505

U.S. 577, 584-85 (1992).

“This “legitimate” secular purpose standard is not as rigorous as

the state interest standard expressed in Lemon, which asks whether the

practice reflects a “clearly” secular purpose. The Seventh Circuit also

made no mention of Lemon's prohibition against a state policy that

“advances” religion. See Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 584-85 (1992).

failure to apply Lemon has been commented on in the legal

literature. ABA Journal, April 1997 at 37.

Th appeals court's refusal to apply Lemon obviously

conflicts with the Supreme Court's reliance on Lemon in

cases involving state sponsorship of religious activities.

E.g., County of Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties

Union Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 592

(1989) (applying Lemon test to private groups seeking to

erect a creche and menorah on public property); Edwards

v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583 (1987) (using Lemon test

to analyze Louisiana's "Balanced Treatment for

Creation-Science and Evolution-Science in Public School

Instruction Act"); Larkin v. Grendel's Den, Inc., 459 U.S.

116, 123-26 (1982) (using Lemon to review a statute

delegating to churches the power to prevent the issuance of

liquor licenses within a 500-foot radius). See also Lee v.

Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 586 (1992) ("we do not accept the

invitation ... to reconsider our decision in Lemon v.

Kurtzman;" holding high school graduation prayer

unconstitutional).

Until recently, the Lemon test was used in every

Supreme Court Establishment Clause case. See Lee v.

Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 603 n.4 (1992) (Blackmun, J.,

concurring) (Court has relied on Lemon in all 31

Establishment Clause cases since 1971 except Marsh v.

Chambers); County of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U. Greater

Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 592 (1989) (Lemon

"applied regularly in the Court's later Establishment Clause

cases"); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583 (1987)

("the Lemon test has been applied in all cases since its

adoption in 1971, except in Marsh v. Chambers"). Within

the last few years, however, there has emerged some

disagreement on the Supreme Court as to whether Lemon

should be applied in equal access cases. See Rosenberger

v. Univ. of Virginia, 115 S.Ct. 2510 (1995) (student

religious group's equal access to student activity funds);

Capitol Sq. Rev. and Adv, Bd. v. Pinette, 115 S.Ct. 2440

(1995) (private group's equal access to public forum to

erect a cross). However, no majority has explicitly

renounced Lemon even in this context, so it remains the law

of the land. Board of Education of Kiryas Joel Village

School District v. Grumet, 512 U.S. 687, 710 (1994)

(Blackmun, J., concurring) (Lemmon remains good law).

The Seventh Circuit appears to be anticipating that the

full Court will soon adopt Justice Scalia's call for the

abandonment of Lemon. E.g., Board of Education of

Kiryas Joel Village School District v. Grumet, 512 U.S.

687, 750-51 (1994) (Scalia, J. dissenting); Lee v. Weisman,

505 U.S. 577, 586 (1992) (Scalia, J., dissenting). To the

contrary, the majority of this Court continues to reiterate

that Lemon remains good law. See Lamb's Chapel v.

Center Moriches Union Free School District, 508 U.S.

384, 395 n.4 (1993) (equal access to school facilities;

majority of Court noted specifically that Lemon has not

been overruled and remains the law); Lee v. Weisman, 505

U.S. 577, 587 (1992) ("we do not accept the invitation of

petitioners ... to reconsider our decision in Lemon y.

Kurtzman").

On prior occasions when a circuit court has declined to

follow applicable Supreme Court decisions in the belief that

11

those decisions were outdated or would soon be overruled,

this Court has granted certiorari and criticized the

usurpation of Supreme Court prerogative. E.g., Rodriguez

De Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, 490 U.S. 477

(1989) ("if a precedent of this Court has direct application

in a case, yet appears to rest on reasons rejected in some

other line of decisions, the Court of Appeals should follow

the case which directly controls, leaving to this Court the

prerogative of overruling its own decisions"); Thurston

Motor Lines Inc. v. Jordan K. Rand, Ltd. , 460 U.S. 533,

535 (1983) ("only [the Supreme] Court may overrule one

of its precedents;" until that occurs, the precedent "is the

law.”).

Il. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S FAILURE TO APPLY

THE LEMON TEST CONFLICTS WITH DECISIONS

REACHED IN OTHER’ CIRCUITS AND

ILLUSTRATES THE CONFUSION REIGNING IN

THE LOWER COURTS ABOUT THE STATUS OF

LEMON

There is a split among recent circuit court decisions on

the current status of the Lemon test. The Seventh Circuit

declined to apply Lemon in this case. The Third Circuit

has stated the opposite view -- that the Lemon test

"remains the law of the land, and we are obligated to

consider it until instructed otherwise by a majority of the

Supreme Court." A.C.L.U. of N.J. v. Black Horse Pike

Regional Bd. of Ed., 84 F.3d 1471, 1484 (3d Cir. 1996)

(en banc) (high school graduation prayer). The Eleventh

Circuit similarly held that “this Court must apply [the]

12

three-pronged analysis [of] Lemon v. Kurtzman." Jager v.

Douglas Co. School Dist., 862 F.2d 824, 828 (11th Cir.

1989) (invocations at high school football games). The

Fifth Circuit cannot decide what to do, first holding that

Establishment Clause "claims are guided by the three-part

test enunciated in Lemon v. Kurtzman," Doe v. Duncanville

Indep. School Dist., 994 F.2d 160, 163 (Sth Cir. 1993)

(prayers at basketball games), then "eschew[ing] the

tripartite Lemon analysis." /d. at 166 n.7, and finally

holding that there are "three tests” to analyze Establishment

Clause issues -- the Lemon test, a "coercion" test, and an

“endorsement” test. Ingebretsen v. Jackson Pub. School

Dist., 88 F.3d 274, 278-79 (Sth Cir. 1996).

Ill. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT APPLIED THE

"TRADITION" EXCEPTION OF MARSH V.

CHAMBERS TO GRADUATION PRAYER, WHICH

CONTRAVENES SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT

AND CONFLICTS WITH OTHER CIRCUITS.

The Seventh Circuit held that public university

graduation prayers were constitutional by applying the

“tradition” exception of Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783

(1983) (legislative prayer constitutional because of its

unique history). It held that "the University's practice of

having an invocation and benediction at its commencements

has prevailed for 155 years," serves to continue this

tradition, and therefore “is ‘simply a _ tolerable

acknowledgment of beliefs widely held among the people

of this country.'" 104 F.3d at 986 (citing Marsh).

The court of appeals’ position contravenes the Supreme

Court's prior decisions that Marsh is not to be extended

beyond the legislative setting nor to institutions that did not

exist at the time of the framing of the Constitution. Indeed,

Marsh itself holds that "[s]tanding alone, historical patterns

Cannot justify contemporary violations of constitutional

guarantees." 463 U.S. at 790. Only the unique history of

legislative prayer justifies an exception to the usual

Establishment Clause prohibition against state-sponsored

religious activity. Id.

Since Marsh, no Supreme Court majority has found

another institutional setting in which the "tradition"

exception can be invoked. See Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S.

577, 596-97 (1992) (inherent differences between

graduation and a session of a state legislature "distinguish

this case from Marsh v. Chambers ... . The atmosphere

at the opening of a session of a state legislature where

adults are free to enter and leave with little comment and

for any number of reasons cannot compare with the ...

force of a formal exercise in a school graduation "); County

of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U. Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492

U.S. 573, 602 (1989) (not appropriate to apply the Marsh

"tradition" analysis to display of creche on public

property); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583 n.4

(1987) (The historical approach used in March “is not

useful in determining the proper roles of church and state

in public schools")

The Supreme Court has explained that Marsh was a

limited, unique excepoon that depended on a key fact: the

Constitutional C onvenngg, and the First Congress, which

¢ ieee

predated the Bill of Rights, were opened with prayers.

Thus, a special case is made for religious traditions that

pre-dated the Bill of Rights. However, "since free public

education was virtually nonexistent at the time the

Constitution was adopted,” it would be inappropriate to

apply Marsh to school prayer. Edwards v. Aguillard, 482

U.S. 578, 583, 583 n.4 (1987). State universities also did

not exist at the time the Constitution was adopted. The

first was the University of North Carolina, which did not

open its doors until 1795. Columbia Encyclopedia 1067

(Sth ed. 1993).

The Seventh Circuit's decision to apply the "tradition"

rationale of Marsh v. Chambers outside the context of

legislative prayer conflicts with decisions from five other

circuits, which have rejected the notion that historical

tradition justifies state-sponsored religious activity. See

Robinson v. City of Edmond, 68 F.3d 1226 (10th Cir.

1995) (city seal containing a Latin cross violated

Establishment Clause despite its tradition; Marsh not

applicable); A.C.L.U. of N.J. v. Black Horse Pike Regional

Bd. of Ed., 84 F.3d 1471, 1474 (3d Cir. 1996) (en banc)

(graduation prayer declared unconstitutional despite

“longstanding tradition;" Marsh not applicable); North

Carolina Civil Liberties Union Legal Foundation v.

Constangy, 947 F.2d 1145, 1149-50 (4th Cir. 1991) (judge

opening court with prayer was unconstitutional; Marsh not

applicable in the absence of proof that an official religious

event was a widespread practice in 1789); Jager v. Douglas

Co. School Dist., 862 F.2d 824, 828-29 (11th Cir. 1989)

(invocations at high school football games unconstitutional

15

despite being traditional "because invocations at school-

sponsored football games were nonexistent when the

Constitution was adopted"). Even Jones v. Clear Creek

Indep. School Dist, 977 F.2d 963, 966 (Sth Cir 1992), the

controversial case that approved student-initiated graduation

prayers, “applied Lemon's tripartite test rather than the

historical approach [of] Marsh v. Chambers."

IV. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CONTRAVENED

SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT AND THE

DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS WHEN IT

RULED THAT PRAYER IS ACCEPTABLE IF

"NONSECTARIAN"

The Seventh Circuit held that “the University's

inclusion of a brief non-sectarian invocation and

benediction [did] not have a primary effect of endorsing ...

religion." 104 F.3d at 986 (emphasis added). It appears

to have been significant to the court of appeals that the

prayers did not "endorse any particular religion.” Id. at

985 (emphasis added). The appeals court bolstered this

view by citing Supreme Court dictum that "University

students... should be able to appreciate that the University's

policy is one of neutrality of religion." Widmar v. Vincent,

454 U.S, 263, 274 n. 14 (1981).

The Supreme Court has consistently held to the

contrary, that the nonsectarian nature of prayer is

constitutionally irrelevant. The state cannot advance

religion generally any more than it could advance a

particular sect. Indeed, the graduation prayer declared

16

unconstitutional in Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 581-82,

89 (1992) was nonsectarian.

The classic statement of this principle comes from

Epperson v. Arkansas, 393 U.S. 97, 103-04 (1968):

Government in our democracy, state and

national, must be neutral in matters of religious

theory, doctrine and practice. It may not be

hostile to any religion or to the advocacy of

nonreligion; and it may not aid, foster, or

promote one religion or religious theory against

another or even against the militant opposite.

The Fisrt Amendment mandates governmental

neutrality between religion and religion, and

between religion and nonreligion.” (emphasis

added)

The Court has adhered to and reaffirmed this view in all of

its recent Establishment Clause cases. See Board of

Education of Kiryas Joel Village School District v. Grumet,

512 U.S. 687, 696 (1994) (proper respect for ... the

Establishment Clauses compels the State to pursue a course

of ‘neutrality’ toward religion,’ favoring neither one

religion over others nor religious adherents collectively

over nonadherents); County of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U.

Greater Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 605 (1989)

("we have held [the Establishment Clause] to mean no

official preference even for religion over nonreligion");

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 585 (1987)

(Establishment Clause is violated when the State promotes

"religion in general" as opposed to nonreligion); School

Dist. of the City of Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373,

17

382 (1985) (even a "praiseworthy secular purpose” cannot

validate government policies that have "the effect of

promoting ... religion generally; Establishment Clause

requires the state to maintain neutrality between religion

and nonreligion); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 60

(1985) (striking down a nonsectarian moment of silence).

The Seventh Circuit's view that nonsectarianism maiters

conflicts with decisions from two other circuits. The Third

and Fifth Circuits have followed the Supreme Court's rule

that the nonsectarian nature of a state-sponsored prayer is

constitutionally irrelevant. See A.C.L.U. of N.J. v. Black

Horse Pike Regional Bd. of Ed., 84 F.3d 1471, 1487 (3d

Cir. 1996) (en banc) (nonsectarian graduation prayer

unconstitutional; impermissibly favors religions collectively

over nonreligion); Jngebretsen v. Jackson Public School

Dist., 88 F.3d 274, 279 (Sth Cir. 1996) (nonsectarian

prayer at school events and ceremonies violates

Establishment clause because it advances religion over

irreligion); Karen B. v. Treen, 653 F.2d 897, 901 (Sth Cir.

1981) (the fact that school prayers "do not promote some

sectarian religious practice is without constitutional

significance" because the First Amendment demands

"absolute governmental neutrality with respect to religion...

neither encouraging nor discouraging religious belief or

unbelief.").

18

BN

V. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CONTRAVENED LEE

V. WEISMAN BY HOLDING HELD THAT THERE IS

NO "ENTANGLEMENT" WHEN STATE OFFICIALS

SELECT A CLERIC AND INSTRUCT HIM

CONCERNING THE CONTENT OF THE PRAYER

Prior to Indiana University's 1995 commencement,

university officials selected a Catholic priest to give the

invocation and benediction, and instructed him in writing

to avoid sectarianism. The Seventh Circuit held that "[tJhe

instruction given to the cleric at the ceremony was merely

to ‘include an uplifting, general message’ and involved only

a minor contact between the university and local

clergy,"104 F.3d at 985; so “there is no excessive

entanglement of church and state” because of either the

“selection of a cleric or its instruction” to him." Id. at 986.

The issue of whether state officials may constitutionally

select a cleric and instruct him to keep the prayers

nonsectarian was decided contrary to the Seventh Circuit

position in Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 588-89 (1992).

In that case, school officials similarly selected the cleric

and “advised [the cleric] that his prayers should be

nonsectarian." The Court held that by this action, state

Officials “directed and controlled the content of the

prayers." Even though this was a “good-faith attempt by

the school to [remove] sectarianism ... from the graduation

ceremony,” it nevertheless entangled the school in a

religious enterprise, and violated the Establishment Clause.

The Seventh Circuit's view that selection and

instruction is not "excessive entanglement” also conflicts

19

with a Fifth Circuit case, Ingebretsen v. Jackson Public

School Dist., 88 F.3d 274, 279 (Sth Cir. 1996). In that

case, the court struck down a state law authorizing

nonsectarian prayer at school events and ceremonies

because public officials "determining who gets to say the

prayer" was excessive entanglement.

VI. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT'S DECISION THAT

PRAYER MAY BE USED TO SOLEMNIZE A PUBLIC

CEREMONY IS INCONSISTENT WITH SUPREME

COURT PRECEDENT AND CONFLICTS WITH

OTHER CIRCUITS

The Seventh Circuit held that prayer may legitimately

be used at a state university ceremony to solemnize the

occasion. It held that the "invocation and benediction serve

legitimate secular purposes of solemnizing public

occasions," and that the First Amendment was not intended

to prohibit states [here a university] from sanctioning

ceremonial invocations of God." 104 F.3d at 986

The Supreme Court has previously rejected the

argument that public prayers at events such as graduation

are merely ceremonial or part of a constitutional "civic"

religion that may be used to solemnize a public event. In

Lee v. Weisman, the closest analogous case, the Court held

that high school graduation prayers could not be justified

on ceremonial grounds. It held that prayers are a "state-

sponsored and state-directed religious exercise,” and

criticized the "suggestion that government may establish an

official or civic religion as a means of avoiding the

20

establishment of a religion with more specific creeds ... as

a contradiction that cannot be accepted.” 505 U.S. 577,

586 (1992). See also Engle v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 424-

25 (1962) (nonsectarian daily classroom prayer struck

down; the "invocation of God's blessings as prescribed in

the Regents’ prayer is a ... solemn avowal of divine faith

and supplication for the blessings of the Almighty[; t]he

nature of such a prayer has always been religious").

At least four other circuits have held that prayer is

inherently a religious activity and may not be used to

solemnize a public event. The Third Circuit rejected the

"solemnization" argument, stating "we are unable to

understand why graduation would be any less solemn"

without the prayer. A.C.L.U. of N.J. v. Black Horse Pike

Regional Bd. of Ed., 84 F.3d 1471, 1484-85 (3d Cir. 1996)

(en banc) (graduation prayer). The Eleventh Circuit

similarly held that since this solemnizing purpose could be

served by requiring wholly secular inspirational speeches,

"the state cannot employ a religious means to serve

otherwise legitimate secular interests." Jager v. Douglas

Co. School Dist., 862 F.2d 824, 829-30 (11th Cir. 1989).

See also A.C.L.U. of Georgia v. Rabun Co. Chamber of

Commerce, 698 F.2d 1098 (11th Cir. 1983) (Latin cross

alleged to serve secular purpose of "tourism;" state may not

employ religious means to reach a secular goal unless

secular means are wholly unavailing); Harris v. Joint

School Dist. No. 241, 41 F.3d 447 (9th Cir. 1994), vacated

115 S.Ct. 2604 (1995); dismissed as moot on remand 62

F.3d 1233 (9th Cir. 1995) (use of prayer to solemnize

21

public high school graduation ceremony was not valid

secular purpose and violated Establishment Clause).

The Fifth Circuit has most emphatically rejected the

notion that prayer can legitimately serve a secular

ceremonial purpose:

Prayer is perhaps the quintessential religious

practice for many of the world's faiths....

Even if the avowed objective ... is not itself

strictly religious, [the] unmistakable message

of the Supreme Court's teachings is that the

state cannot employ a religious means to

serve otherwise legitimate secular interests...

That [prayer] may contemplate some wholly

secular objective cannot alter the inherently

religious character of the exercise.

Karen B. v. Treen, 653 F.2d 897, 901 (Sth Cir. 1981).

Vil. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S "DE MINIMIS"

EXCEPTION FOR BRIEF PRAYERS

CONTRAVENES SUPREME COURT PRECEDENT

AND THE DECISIONS OF OTHER CIRCUITS.

The Seventh Circuit invoked a "de minimis" exception,

holding that because the graduation prayers were brief and

did not “dominate” the ceremony, they were

constitutionally permissible even if they advanced religion.

The court stated: “Insofar as there is any advancement of

religion or governmental entanglement, it is de minimis at

best." 104 F.3d at 986. The appeals court approved the

district court's statement that "the challenged invocation

22

and benediction passed constitutional muster ... because

they ... did not dominate the baccalaureate ceremony." Id.

at 985.

The Seventh Circuit decision contravenes Supreme

Court precedents which have rejected the creation of a de

minimis exception in cases of state-sponsored religion.’ In

Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 594 (1992), the Court

rejected the argument that high school graduation prayers

should be permitted because they were brief:

It is, we concede, a brief exercise during which

the individual can concentrate on joining its

message, meditate on her own religion, or let

her mind wander. But the embarrassment and

the intrusion of the religious exercise cannot be

refuted by arguing that these prayers ... are of

a de minimis character. To do so would be an

affront to the rabbi who offered them and to all

those for whom the prayers were an essential

and profound recognition of divine authority.

$

There is a de minimis exception when the only alleged

Establish-ment Cluse violation is the expenditure of public

money that benefits religion, but that exception should

have no bearing in a case involving state sponsored prayer.

E.g., Lamb's Chapel v. Center Moriches Union Free

School District, 508 U.S. 384, 395 (1993) (providing

equal access to school facilities involved only de minimis

expenses connected to providing heat, electricity etc.).

23

And for the same reason, we think that the

intrusion is greater than the two minutes or so of

time consumed for prayers like these.

See also Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. 38, 60 (1985)

(striking down moments of silence because "[t]he

importrance of that principle does not permit us to treat this

as an inconsequential case involving nothing more than a

few words of symbolic speech").

Three other circuits have taken a position contrary to

the one articulated by the Seventh Circuit. The Fifth

Circuit ruled that brief nom: starian prayers at school

everits and ceremonies would violate the Establishment

Clause despite their brevity, holding that the "[l]oss of First

Amendment freedoms, even for minimal periods of time,

constitute[s] irreparable injury." Ingebretsen v. Jackson

Public School Dist., 88 F.3d 274, 280 (Sth Cir. 1996).

Similarly, the Eleventh Circuit rejected a de minimis

argument concerning invocations at high school football

games, holding that "[t]he Establishment Clause does not

focus on the amount of time an activity takes, but rather

examines the religious charaacter of the activity." Jager v.

Douglas Co. School Dist., 862 F.2d 824, 832 (11th Cir.

1989). The District of Columbia Circuit rejected a de

minimis argument used to defend the closing of a public

library on Easter. Bonham v. District of Col. Library

Admin., 989 F.2d 1242 (D.C. Cir. 1993).

24

VIII. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT CONTRAVENED

DECISIONS OF THE SUPREME COURT AND

OTHER CIRCUITS BY HOLDING’ THAT

GRADUATION PRAYER IS EXEMPT FROM THE

ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE BECAUSE IT iS

VOLUNTARY

The Seventh Circuit ruled that Indiana University

graduation prayers were constitutional because graduation

was "voluntary," many students in fact chose not to attend,

and "the mature stadium attendees were ... free to ignore

the cleric's remarks" 104 F.3d at 985-96.

This holding is not consistent with the "coercion"

analysis used in Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 594-95

(1992). In that case, the Court found a violation of the

Establishment Clause because students were coerced by

officials, family and peers to attend graduation at which

prayers were given. Nowhere did the Court indicate that

the absence of coercion meant there was no violation; only

that the absence of coercion would mean that the case was

to be analyzed according to the more usual Lemon test. See

also Engle v. Vitale, 370 U.S. 421, 430 (1962) (voluntary

classroom prayer unconstitutional; Establishment Clause

"does not depend upon any showing of direct governmental

compulsion and is violated by the enactment of laws which

establish an official [nonsectarian] religion whether those

laws operate directly to coerce non-observing individuals or

not”).

The voluntariness exception suggested by the Seventh

Circuit would be directly at odds with a line of cases

finding that religious displays violate the Establishment

25

Clause although no one is coerced to view them. E.g.,

County of Allegheny v. A.C.L.U. Greater Pittsburgh

Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 592 (1989) (creche and menorah

on public property unconstitutional because they had the

"effect of ‘endorsing’ religion, a concern that has long had

a place in our Establishment Clause jurisprudence");

Robinson v. City of Edmond, 68 F.3d 1226 (10th Cir.

1995) (city seal containing Latin cross violated

Establishment Clause, notwithstanding contention that seal

merely symbolized city's unique history and heritage;

clearly no "coercion" issue); Washegesic v. Bloomingdale

Pub. Schools, 33 F.3d 679 (6th Cir. 1994) (portrait of

Jesus in school hallways visible to visitors to the school was

unconstitutional); A.C.L.U. of Georgia v. Rabun Co.

Chamber of Commerce, 698 F.2d 1098 (11th Cir. 1983)

(lighted cross in state park); American Jewish Congress v.

Beverly Hills, 90 F.3d 379 (9th Cir. 1996) (menorah in city

park); ACLU v. Schundler, 104 F3d 1435 (3rd Cir. 1997)

(creche at city hall).

Two circuits have had the opportunity to rule directly

on the voluntariness argument and rejected it; both found

that voluntariness does not save an otherwise

unconstitutional state sponsored religious activity. In Jager

v. Douglas Co. School Dist., 862 F.2d 824, 831-32 (11th

Cir. 1989), the court struck down invocations at high

school football games, rejecting arguments that attendance

was voluntary, many students elected not to attend, and the

audience was more mature than at other school functions.

It held that "When a religious invocation is given via a

sound system controlled by school principals and the

26

religious invocation occurs at a school-sponsored event at

a school-owned facility, the conclusion is inescapable that

the school endorses the religious invocation." The

"Establishment Clause focuses on the constitutionality of

the state action, not on the choices made by the

complaining individual.” In Doe v. Duncanville Indep.

School Dist., 994 F.2d 160, 163 (Sth Cir. 1993), the court

similarly held that prayers at voluntary basketball games

were unconstitutional.

Perhaps the most fundamental flaw of the court of

appeals’ decision is its requirement of subjective coercion

for an Establishment Clause violation. The decision creates

a dangerous precedent by essentially holding that a

governmental entity can solicit, sponsor, and endorse a

religious prayer to a captive audience it has assembled for

an important public event, so long as the particular litigants

challenging the prayers are not likely to be subjectively

converted by the prayers to a particular religious point of

view. This holding diminishes the substantial support such

officially-endorsed religious services provides to religion,

offends the important principle that government should

remain neutral not only towards particular religions, but to

religion in general, and incorrectly focuses the

Establishment Clause inquiry on the variable sensibilities of

plaintiffs rather than on the extent and nature of the

religious practices engaged in by governmental defendants.

27

CONCLUSION

Although no federal case has directly decided whether

a state university may include a prayer in its graduation

exercises, the law and doctrines to be applied in such a case

have been clearly set down in Supreme Court Establishment

Clause decisions. The weight of that authority suggests

that such state-university sponsorship of religion should be

found unconstitutional. Under the Court's Lemon test,

prayer has rarely been found to have a secular purpose

because it is so quintessentially a religious activity; state-

sponsored prayer at a public event advances religion

generally as opposed to non-religion; and the state's

selection of a cleric and instructions to him on the content

of his prayer entangle the state in religion. Such prayers

should not be justified on the ground that they are

voluntary, nonsectarian, traditional, or merely used to

solemnize a secular occasion.

The Seventh Circuit's decision allowing state-sponsored

prayer at graduation deviated from well established

doctrines, and created an anomalous decision at odds with

the other circuit courts. For these reasons, the petition for

a writ of certiorari should be granted, and the decision of the

Seventh Circuit reversed.

Respectfully submitted,

May 27, 1997 Richard A. Waples

WAPLES & HANGER

410 N. Audubon Road

Indianapolis, Indiana 46219

TEL: (317) 357-0903

FAX: (317) 353-9765

EMAIL: Richwaples@aol.com

Counsel of Record

29

APPENDIX

The Seventh Circuit’s Opinion in

Tanford v. Brand,

104 F.3d 982 (7th Cir. 1997) ............. a-1

The Seventh Circuit’s Order

of Feb. 25, 1997 (denying rehearing) ....... a-11

The District Court’s Entry in

Tanford v. Brand,

932 F. Supp. 1139 (S. D. Ind. 1996)

Granting Summary Judgment ............ a-12

The District Court’s Entry in

Tanford v. Brand,

883 F. Supp. 1231 (S.D. Ind. 1995)

Denying Preliminary Injunctive Relief ....... a-30

James A. TANFORD, Kimberly J. MacDonald, David Suess

and Joseph Anthony Urbanski, Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

Myles BRAND, Doctor, in his individual and official

capacities as President of Indiana University; and Kenneth

R.R. Gros Louis, Doctor, in his individual and official

capacities as Vice President and Chancellor of Indiana

University at Bloomington, Defendants-Appellees.

No. 96-3053.

United States Court of Appeals, Seventh Circuit.

Argued Dec. 10, 1996.

Decided Jan. 16, 1997.

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc

Denied Feb. 25, 1997.

CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge.

Three individuals brought this suit to enjoin the giving

of an invocation and benediction during the May 19, 1995

Commencement Ceremony on the Bloomington campus of

Indiana University. Plaintiff Tanford is an Indiana Law

School professor at Bloomington and plaintiffs MacDonald

and Suess were law students there. After their motion for

preliminary injunction concerning the May 6, 1995

Commencement Ceremony was denied, the complaint was

amended to add Joseph Anthony Urbanski as a plaintiff.

He was an undergraduate student majoring in computer

science on the Bloomington campus. The district court

denied summary judgment to plaintiffs and entered

judgment in favor of the defendants. 932 F.Supp. 1139,

1146 (S.D.Ind. 1996).

On May 5, 1995, the Bloomington commencement

activities began at the University President’s home. The

following day a university-wide Commencement Ceremony

took place in the University’s football stadium at 10:00

a.m. Special events followed for graduates of the various

schools and their families. A committee consisting of

faculty, staff and students was responsible for planning the

commencement activities.

Thirty thousand to 35,000 people attended the Saturday

morning stadium Commencement Ceremony. All

graduating students were invited to attend, but attendance

is voluntary and no penalty is imposed for non-attendance.

Of the 7,400 graduating students in the undergraduate and

graduate schools, approximately 5,000 attended.

Five thousand students and 150 University officials and

faculty members formed the academic procession to the

Commencement Ceremony. These persons proceeded to

chairs placed in the football field whereas the 25,000 to

30,000 visitors and guests were seated in the stadium’s

permanent seats. The ceremony consisted of the national

anthem, a nonsectarian invocation, an address by the

commencement speaker, the conferral of honorary

degrees, the presentation of the graduating classes, student

remarks, the charge to the graduating classes, the

conferral of degrees, the induction ceremony, the singing

of the University’s song, and a nonsectarian benediction.

Fifteen to fifty-five percent of the students graduating from

the law school attend the university- wide Commencement

Ceremony (Defendants’ Br. 3).

In 1840, the University commenced having a

nonsectarian invocation and benediction to open and close

the morning Commencement Ceremony. A religious

leader from the Bloomington area is invited to give the

invocation and benediction. The prayers usually refer to a

a-2

deity.' A different person is chosen each year and in

addition to the invocation that person is invited to give an

uplifting and unifying benediction. In 1995, Father Ralph

W. Sims of the St. Paul Catholic Center delivered the

invocation and benediction. His parish serves the

University’s Catholic students. In the previous year, the

invocation and benediction were given by Reverend

Barbara Carlson of the Unitarian Universalist Church.

Over the previous five years the invocation and

benediction were delivered by clergymen from the First

ian Church, the First United Methodist Church,

and the B’Nai B’Rith Hillel Foundation. Most of those

seated in the stadium do not stand for the invocation and

benediction.

University President Brand has explained that this

ceremony is not to sponsor any particular religious faith or

even to endorse religion but is meant to serve secular

objectives by emphasizing the solemnity and dignity of the

ceremony.

The four plaintiffs may be described as follows:

'The May 1995 benediction read as follows Let us pray.

Gracious God we have gathered as dreamers. People who believe

deep inside that things can be better. We have been called into

being by you to make a difference. We like giving. Be with us

as we endeavor to reach out to those who feel distance from the

joy and the challenge of truth. We pray that we might touch with

our learning those who feel that there is no hope, no reason to

believe in life and love, and the possibility itself. Strengthen us

for the journeys of mind, of heart, of spirit, of body, so that we

might be right in truth for one another, and for our world. We

ask this in the name of our common God. Amen.

a-3

1. Professor Tanford is 45 years old and has tenure at

the University. His undergraduate degree was obtained

from Princeton University and he received his J.D. and

L.L.M. degrees from Duke University. He has taught at

the law school since 1979. He attended only one

Commencement Ceremony since 1979 when he

commenced teaching law. He attended the 1987

Commencement Ceremony because he was asked to

"hood" students there. However, he absented himself

when the invocation began, returned for the hooding and

left before the benediction. He said that he did not think

all 7,000 people who stood during the invocation and

benediction believed in the religious message conveyed

and that the Commencement Ceremony would not affect

the religious beliefs of those in attendance. In 1988 or

1989, he wrote the student newspaper urging the faculty

and University community generally to boycott graduations

because of the “inappropriateness of having prayer."

2. Third-year law student MacDonald was expected to

graduate in May 1995. She had received her Bachelor of

Arts degree from Indiana University in May 1992. She

stated that she attended the May 1992 Commencement

Ceremony when she received her undergraduate degree

although she was uncomfortable in participating in a

service led by someone of a different faith. She stated

that her conscience would be offended if there were an

invocation and benediction in 1995. She also attended the

Commencement Ceremony in May 1994, being curious

about the invocation and benediction. She planned to

attend the 1995 Saturday afternoon law school Recognition

Ceremony, knowing it would not have an invocation or

benediction. She knew that she was not required to attend

the stadium Commencement Ceremony and was uncertain

a4

whether she would attend if there were an invocation and

benediction, even though her parents, family and friends

were interested in attending. She stated that she would be

bothered if her daughter saw a religious figure on the

stage with the University president or giving a prayer.

She did not disclose whether she attended the 1995

Commencement Ceremony after the preliminary injunction

was denied.

3. Plaintiff Suess was a first-year law student, expected

to graduate from the law school in May 1997. He is of

the Jewish faith and stated that he was offended by the

giving of a nonsectarian invocation and benediction

because it is a form of proselytizing although he said it

would not have any effect on his personal religious beliefs.

He had attended an invocation and benediction at his

undergraduate commencement ceremony at the University

of Chicago, although he did not participate in it. Suess

said he had been advised of the 1995 law school activities

by law school friends and quite possibly would attend the

morning Commencement Ceremony at the stadium. He

did not say whether he attended the ceremony after the

preliminary injunction was denied. He was planning to

attend the 1995 graduating Recognition Ceremony at the

law school although he did not know whether there would

be an invocation or benediction. As customary there was

none.

4. Urbanski was an undergraduate plaintiff and was

added after the preliminary injunction was denied. He

opposes graduation prayer because he believes there

should be a separation between church and state in a

public institution. Prayer makes him uncomfortable.

However, he agreed with his public high school policy

which permitted students to have a moment of silence or a

short prayer during commencement speeches. He

expected to attend the 1999 Commencement Ceremony

and would stay during the invocation and benediction

because it is inconvenient to leave during parts of the

ceremony. He would sit quietly until the prayer was over

but would not participate in it. His beliefs would not be

impacted by the ceremony.

Thomas Bolyard, Director of University Field

Services, said one of his responsibilities is to

accommodate persons who have special problems or

requests related to the Commencement Ceremony. He

said it would be an easy matter to accommodate plaintiff

Tanford and others who wished to be seated where they

could enter or exit the Ceremony at will. He said that it

was common for seated students or faculty members to get

up and move around during the ceremony. He stated that

some students and faculty members arrive late and leave

early and often leave their seats to get a drink or use the

restrooms.

In May 1995 the district court denied a preliminary

injunction. After filing an amended complaint and

answer, plaintiffs filed a motion for summary judgment

which was denied in a July 1996 twenty-page entry

reported at 932 F.Supp. 1139. We affirm.

In the opinion below, Chief Judge Barker pointed out

that under Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 586, 112 S.Ct.

2649, 2655, 120 L.Ed.2d 467 (involving a prayer

delivered by a clergyman at a middle school graduation),

the Constitution guarantees that government “may not

coerce anyone to support or participate in religion or its

exercise" and under Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602,

612-613, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 2111-12, 29 L.Ed.2d 745 (1971),

the Constitution requires that state actions “have a secular

a-6

ore

purpose, that they neither advance nor inhibit religion and

* * * that they do not produce excessive government

entanglement with religion." 932 F.Supp. at 1142. The

district court concluded that plaintiffs were not entitled to

relief under either standard.

The district court found Lee to be inapplicable because

these plaintiffs are adults rather than younger students

requiring special solicitude. In this regard, the district

court observed that peer pressure is unlikely to dissuade

college graduates from protesting, and the opinion below

noted that thousands of graduates chose not to attend the

stadium morning ceremony and that non- adherents could

dissent without being noticed. The opinion also noted that

plaintiffs could simply attend the afternoon ceremonies,

which do not contain an invocation or benediction, and

that in any event the stadium ceremony presented no threat

of establishing religion. 939 F.Supp. at 1143-1145, 1147.

The district court also found that the challenged

invocation and benediction passed constitutional muster

under the Lemon test because they served only to

solemnize a public ceremony and continue a 155-year-old

University tradition and did not dominate the baccalaureate

ceremony, nor did they endorse any particular religion or

influence religious beliefs. The instruction given to the

cleric at the ceremony was merely to “include an uplifting,

general message" and involved only a minor contact

between the university and local Clergy. Id. at 1145-1146.

Discussion

All parties discuss Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577,

112 S.Ct. 2649. There Providence, Rhode Island,

officials permitted middle and high public school

principals to invite members of the clergy to give

invocations and benedictions at graduation ceremonies.

a-7

The middle school principal in question invited a rabbi to

deliver prayers at the graduation exercises of Deborah

Weisman, daughter of plaintiff. Rabbi Gutterman’s

invocation thanked God for protecting the rights of

minorities, liberty, political process, court system and

destiny. His benediction was couched in a similar,

nonsectarian vein. Student attendance and participation in

this “state-sponsored religious activity" were "in a fair and

real sense obligatory" (505 U.S. at 586, 112 S.Ct. at

2655). The Court added: "The government involvement

with religious activity in this case is pervasive, to the point

of creating a state-sponsored and state- directed religious

exercise in a public school" (505 U.S. at 587, 112 S.Ct. at

2655).

Justice Kennedy’s majority opinion in Lee explained:

"There are heightened concerns with protecting freedom of

conscience from subtle coercive pressure in the elementary

and secondary public schools" (S05 U.S. at 592, 112 S.Ct.

at 2658). Finally, in closing the Court stressed that the

objecting student was in effect compelled to attend and

participate in an explicit religious exercise she had no real

alternative to avoid (S05 U.S. at 598, 112 S.Ct. at 2661).

Unlike Lee, here there was no coercion--real or

otherwise--to participate. Many students chose not to

attend the stadium exercises. Others left during the

invocation, then returned and exited before the

benediction. Still others sat during both events, as did

most stadium attendees. At the afternoon ceremonies, no

prayer was involved. Finally, the mature stadium

attendees were voluntarily present and free to ignore the

cleric’s remarks. Most remained seated. Under these

facts, in which the special concerns underlying the

Supreme Court’s decision in Lee are absent, the district

court correctly determined that Lee does not require the

challenged practices to be struck down. Cf. Widmar v.

Vincent, 454 U.S. 263, 274 n. 14, 102 S.Ct. 269, 276 n.

14, 70 L.Ed.2d 440 (1981) ("University students * * * are

less impressionable than younger students and should be

able to appreciate that the University’s policy is one of

neutrality of religion.").

Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct. 2105, is

plaintiffs’ other principal reliance. There Pennsylvania

and Rhode Island each gave financial aid to church-related

educational institutions, a far cry from the

non-denominational invocation and benediction at the

Bloomington commencement.

Here the University’s practice of having an invocation

and benediction at its commencements has prevailed for

155 years and is widespread throughout the nation. Rather

than being a violation of the Establishment Clause, it is

"simply a tolerable acknowledgment of beliefs widely held

among the people of this country." Marsh v. Chambers,

463 U.S. 783, 792, 103 S.Ct. 3330, 3336, 77 L.Ed.2d

1019 (1983). As we held in Sherman v. Community

Consolidated School District 21, 980 F.2d 437 (7th

Cir.1992), Illinois public schools may lead the Pledge of

Allegiance, including its reference to God, without

violating the Establishment Clause of the First

Amendment. Similarly here, the invocation and

benediction serve legitimate secular purposes of

solemnizing public occasions rather than approving

particular religious beliefs. Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S.

668, 693, 104 S.Ct. 1355, 1369-70, 79 L.Ed.2d 604

(1984) (O’Connor, J., concurring). As the concurring

opinion in Sherman summarized, "the First Amendment

was not intended to prohibit states [here a university] from

a-9

2lsanctioning ceremonial invocations of God. Such * * *

action simply does not amount to an establishment of

religion” (980 F.2d at 448). Finally, as the district court

correctly determined, the University’s inclusion of a brief

non-sectarian invocation and benediction does not have a

primary effect of endorsing or disapproving religion, and

there is no excessive entanglement of church and state by

virtue of the University’s selection of a cleric or its

instruction to the cleric that his or her remarks should be

unifying and uplifting. Insofar as there is any

advancement of religion or governmental entanglement, it

is de minimis at best. See Metzl v. Leininger, 57 F.3d

618, 620 (7th Cir. 1995) (observing that "a law that

promotes religion may nevertheless be upheld * * *

because the effect in promoting religion is too attenuated

to worry about").

Judgment affirmed.

a-10

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

February 25, 1997

Before

Hon. WALTER J. CUMMINGS, Circuit Judge

Hon. HARLINGTON WOOD, JR., Circuit Judge

Hon. FRANK H. EASTERBROOK, Circuit Judge

JAMES A. TANFORD, et al., ) Appeal from the United

Plaintiffs-Appellants, ) States District Court

) for the Southern

) District of Indiana,

No. 96-3053 vs. ) Indianapolis Division.

)

MYLES BRAND, et al., ) No. IP 95 492 C B/S

Defendants-Appellees. )

) Sarah Evans Barker,

) Chief Judge.

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing with

suggestion for rehearing en banc filed by plaintiffs-

appellants on February 13, 1997, all of the judges on the

panel have voted to deny rehearing and no judge in active

service has requested a vote on the suggestion for

rehearing en banc.

IT IS ORDERED that the aforesaid petition for

rehearing be, and the same is hereby, DENIED.

a-11

James Alexander TANFORD, Kimberly J. MacDonald,

and David Suess, Plaintiffs,

v.

Dr. Myles BRAND, in his official capacities as President

of Indiana University, and Dr. Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis,

in his individual and official capacities as Vice President

and Chancellor of Indiana University at Bloomington,

Defendants.

No. IP 95-492 C B/S.

United States District Court,

S.D. Indiana,

Indianapolis Division.

July 15, 1996.

ENTRY

BARKER, Chief Judge.

Two graduations ago, plaintiffs filed the instant suit

seeking to enjoin Indiana University ("IU") from using an

invocation and benediction as part of its official

university-wide commencement ceremony. On May 4,

1995, just days before the 1995 ceremony was scheduled

to begin, we denied plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary

injunction, finding that plaintiffs were unlikely to prevail

on the merits of their suit. Today, we reexamine those

merits in more detail and, though the record is

supplemented and the legal arguments refined, we confirm

that earlier finding.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

The facts in this case are largely undisputed. Plaintiffs

James Alexander Tanford, Kimberly MacDonald and

David Suess are, respectively, a tenured law professor and

“ =a 12

two Indiana University law students.' Joseph Urbanski, a

recently-added plaintiff, is an undergraduate student who

expects to graduate from IU in May of 1999. Defendant

Myles Brand is the President of the University and

defendant Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis is the Vice President

and Chancellor of the University’s Bloomington campus.

The University is a state institution.

By all accounts, IU’s graduation ceremonies are

sizeable gatherings. The 1995 ceremony, for example,

was held in the football stadium, approximately 5,000

students (out of a graduating class of 7,400) and 150

university officials participated, and between 30,000 to

35,000 people attended. Because of the numbers, students

are graduated en masse from their particular schools, and

only a few receive individual recognition. The parties

agree that between 15% and 55% of graduating law

students traditionally participate in this university-wide

ceremony.

For over 150 years, the University has invited local

clergy to give an invocation and a benediction as part of

this ceremony. These prayers are typically recited by

ordained ministers of mainstream religious denominations,

selected from religious leaders active in the university

community. Usually, if not always, the prayers include a

reference to a deity.? During the ceremony, the cleric is

‘Apparently, while this case was pending, MacDonald

graduated from the Law School and Suess completed his second

year there.

The benediction from the May 6, 1995 ceremony reads as

follows: Let us pray. Gracious God we have gathered as

dreamers. People who believe deep inside that things can be

a-13

introduced, and the audience is directed to stand during

the prayers. The clergyperson, wearing university regalia

(cap and gown) also sits on the dais with the University

President and other University officials throughout the

commencement ceremony.

As part of its graduation-day activities, the School of

Law also conducts a second, smaller Recognition

Ceremony for its graduates in the IU auditorium. At this

ceremony, the University recognizes each of its graduates

individually by calling their names and having them walk

across the stage to receive their law degrees. Based on

past experience, the law school approximates that between

75% to 90% of graduating law students participate, along

with family members and friends. Unlike the

university-wide ceremony, the law school ceremony does

not include an invocation or benediction. .

On April 18, 1995, plaintiffs filed the instant suit

seeking to permanently enjoin the use of an invocation and

benediction as part of the university-wide ceremony.

Their one-count complaint alleges that IU’s practice of

including a prayer violates the Establishment Clause of the

First Amendment to the United States Constitution. On

February 21, 1996, plaintiffs moved for summary

better. We have been called into being by you to make a

difference. We like giving. Be with us as we endeavor to reach

out to those who feel distance from the joy and the challenge of

truth. We pray that we might touch with our learning those who

feel that there is no hope, no reason to believe in life and love,

and the possibility itself. Strengthen us for the journeys of mind,

of heart, of spirit, of body, so that we might be right in truth for

one another, and for our world. We ask this in the name of our

common god. Amen. (Bolyard Supplemental Aff., Ex. A).

a-14

t Heese eens ——

judgment, which under Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, is proper "if the pleadings, depositions,

answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, together

with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter of law."

Fed.R.Civ.Proc. 56(c). The burden rests squarely on the

party moving for summary judgment to show "that there is

an absence of evidence to support the nonmoving party’s

case." Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325, 106

S.Ct. 2548, 2554, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). The nonmoving

party responding to a properly made and supported

summary judgment motion still must set forth facts

showing that there is a genuine issue of material fact, that

a reasonable jury could return a verdict in its favor and

that the movant is not entitled to judgment as a matter of

law. See Wolf v. City of Fitchburg, 870 F.2d 1327, 1329

(7th Cir. 1989).

Il. ANALYSIS.

The Establishment Clause of the First Amendment

prohibits the establishment of religion in no uncertain

terms: “Congress shall make no law respecting an

establishment of religion ..." U.S. Const.Amend. I. From

this simple beginning, however, much confusion and many

lawsuits has ensued. As we emphasized in our entry

denying plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary injunction, the

purpose of the establishment prohibition is “to prevent, as

far as possible, the intrusion of either [the church or the

State] into the precincts of the other." Lemon v.

Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 614, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 2112, 29

L.Ed.2d 745 (1971). Yet "total separation is not possible

in an absolute sense. Some relationship between

government and religious organizations is inevitable." Id.

a-15

at 614, 91 S.Ct. at 2112. Indeed, a "relentless and

all-pervasive attempt to exclude religion from every aspect

of public life could itself become inconsistent with the

Constitution." Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 597, 112

S.Ct. 2649, 2661, 120 L.Ed.2d 467 (1992).

Given the complexity of the task, it is perhaps not

surprising that no single criterion adequately defines the

fragile line that separates religious indoctrination from a

simple accommodation of religion. The test of longest

lineage, the so-called Lemon test,’ has fallen into

disfavor, yet "however frightening it might be to some,

has not been overruled." Lamb’s Chapel v. Center

Moriches Union Free School Dist., 508 U.S. 384, 394, n.

7, 113 S.Ct. 2141, 2148 n. 7, 124 L.Ed.2d 352 (1993);

see also Fleischfresser v. Directors of School Dist. 200,

15 F.3d 680, 686 (7th Cir.1994). The Supreme Court

case most analogous to the case at bar, Lee v. Weisman,

505 U.S. 577, 112 S.Ct. 2649, 120 L.Ed.2d 467 (1992),

adopts a different analysis, though four of the five Justices

in the majority either wrote or joined separate

concurrences advocating other constitutional standards.

Nevertheless, out of this complexity and confusion, two

constants appear: (1) “at a minimum, the Constitution

guarantees that government may not coerce anyone to

support or participate in religion or its exercise," Lee, at

586, 112 S.Ct. at 2655, and (2) at most, the Constitution

requires that state actions have a secular purpose, that they

neither advance nor inhibit religion and that they do not

produce excessive government entanglement with religion.

Lemon, 403 U.S. at 612-13, 91 S.Ct. at 2112. Because

‘Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 29

L.Ed.2d 745 (1971).

a-16

plaintiffs have not established as a matter of law that they

are entitled to relief under either standard, their motion for

summary judgment is denied.

A. THE COERCION TEST EMPLOYED IN LEE

POSES NO OBSTACLE TO IU’S COMMENCEMENT

CEREMONY.

In Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 112 S.Ct. 2649,

120 L.Ed.2d 467 (1992), the Supreme Court held that a

prayer delivered by a clergyman at a public middle school

ion ceremony violated the Establishment Clause.

In the majority opinion written by Justice Kennedy, the

Court emphasized that two factors controlled its decision:

(1) “state officials direct{ed] the performance of a formal

religious exercise;" and (2) "even for those students who

object[ed] to the religious exercise, their attendance and

participation in the state-sponsored religious activity [were]

in a fair and real sense obligatory...." Id., at 586, at

2655. As a consequence of these two factors--i.e., state

involvement coupled with coercion--"the State, in a school

setting, in effect required participation in a religious

exercise." Id. at 594, at 2659.

In this case, Lee’s state involvement prong is easily

Satisfied. It is undisputed that University officials pick the

date, time and locations for the various graduation

ceremonies. They control the content and order of events.

They decide whether the ceremony will include an

invocation and benediction, and they choose the religious

participant.* (Shoshana Watkins Dep., at pp. 7-8).

University officials even set parameters, albeit general

*“[TJhis is a choice attributable to the State, and from a

constitutional perspective it is as if a state statute decreed that the

prayers must occur.” Lee, at 586, 112 S.Ct. at 2655

a-17

ones, on the prayer’s content. (Watkins Dep., at p. 13).

Thus, because IU decided to have prayers at graduation,

chose the religious participant and influenced the content

of the prayer, there appears to be as much state

involvement in this case as occurred in Lee.

Satisfaction of Lee’s coercion prong, however, is a

closer question. To be sure, Lee did not hold that

invocations or benedictions always violate the Constitution

when offered as part of any public ceremony. Rather,

Justice Kennedy conducted a “delicate and fact-sensitive"

inquiry that identified four factors contributing to the

coercive nature of such prayers in that context. 505 U.S.

at 597, 112 S.Ct. at 2661.

First, the Court emphasized that high school students

perceive the involvement of their teachers, principals and

friends in a religious exercise as inducing a participation

they might otherwise reject. Though subtle and indirect,

the Court reasoned, this pressure can be as real as overt

coercion because adolescents are susceptible to pressure

from their peers, as well as from their superiors.

Second, the Court held that adolescents are likely to

view their acquiescence to the group ritual as an

expression of participation. True, “in our culture standing

or remaining silent can signify adherence to a view or

simple respect for the views of others." Id., at 592, at

2658. Yet, “given our social conventions, a reasonable

dissenter in this milieu could believe that the group

exercise signified her own participation or approval of it.”

Id., at 592, at 2658.

Third, because reasonable adolescent dissenters could

believe that the act of standing signifies participation, they

would be placed "in the dilemma of participating, with all

that implies, or protesting.” 505 U.S. at 592, 112 S.Ct. at

a-18

2658. Given the immaturity of the student participants,

however, the Court held that the force of peer pressure

made protest unlikely.

Finally, the Court emphasized that high school students

could not avoid the dilemma altogether by choosing to

bypass the ceremony. Even though not required,

attendance was not voluntary "in any real sense ... for

absence would require forfeiture of those intangible

benefits which have motivated the student through youth

and all her high school years." 505 U.S. at 594, 112

S.Ct. at 2659.

Significantly, each of these factors relied at least in

part on the "heightened concerns [associated] with

protecting freedom of conscience from subtle coercive

pressure in the elementary and secondary public schools."

505 U.S. at 592, 112 S.Ct. at 2658. To be sure, the

majority’s conception of what constitutes coercion was

broad; coercion does not derive from any formal

requirement conditioning the receipt of a diploma on

attendance at or participation in the ceremony. Yet, in a

practical sense, the coercion was held to be real; the

involvement of school authorities, the reality of peer

pressure, the importance of a high school graduation and

the likelihood that a reasonable dissenter would interpret

her silence as participation or approval (rather than as

simple respect for the views of others) all combined to

create the “reasonable perception" to an adolescent

dissenter "that she is being forced by the State to pray in a

manner her conscience” may not permit. Id., at 592, at

2658.

In this case, the concerns underlying the Court’s

decision in Lee are not present. Plaintiffs--unlike the

junior and high school students in Lee--are adults. Each

a-19

has earned or is in the process of earning undergraduate or

postgraduate degrees. Three of them--Tanford, Suess and

MacDonald--have even been trained as lawyers, a

discipline that demands the ability to think independently,

to analyze arguments skeptically and to disregard social

pressures, peer or otherwise. Indeed, it is difficult to

imagine a more rigorous discipline in these respects than

that imparted (or attempted to be imparted and implanted)

in a legal education.

That plaintiffs have added Joseph Urbanski, an

undergraduate, to the case does not change this

conclusion. University graduates are purposefully exposed

to a wider variety of ideas and beliefs than primary and

secondary school students. Of course, many of these

competing ideas, beliefs and value systems, “they find

distasteful or immoral or absurd or all of these." Lee, at

590, 112 S.Ct. at 2657. Yet, in many respects, the very

mission of higher education is to challenge basic values

instilled during childhood at a time when an individual

student has the intellectual maturity to choose between

competing beliefs. As the Supreme Court summarized

over twenty-five years ago: There is substance to the

mange mae Fenech eee 2 ome eam

less susceptible to religious indoctrination. Common

observation would seem to support that view.... The

skepticism of the college student is not an inconsiderable

barrier to any attempt or tendency to subvert the ...

limitations [prohibiting religious instruction].

Furthermore, by their very nature, college and

postgraduate courses tend to limit the opportunities for

sectarian influences by virtue of their own internal

disciplines. Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 686, 91

S.Ct. 2091, 2099, 29 L.Ed.2d 790 (1971).°

In other words, the special solicitude for younger

students traditionally shown by federal courts® is not

required here. Unlike the adolescent plaintiffs in Lee, an

adult dissenter who remains quietly seated should not

"reasonab[ly] ... believe that the group exercise signifie{s]

her own participation or approval" of the prayer or its

*Courts and commentators alike have generally described

primary and secondary schools as playing a different role from

higher education: The central fact in the distinction between higher

and lower education is the role of value inculcation in the teaching

process. The public schools in the United States traditionally have

viewed instilling the young with societal values as a significant

part of the schools educational mission. Such a mission is directly

opposed to the vision of education that underlies the premises of

academic freedom in higher education. Goldstein, The Asserted

Constitutional Right of Public School Teachers to Determine What

They Teach, 124 U.Pa.L.R. 1293, 1342-43 (1976).

°See Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583-84, 107 S.Ct.

2573, 2577-78, 96 L.Ed.2d 510 (1987) (noting that because

children in public schools are highly impressionable, schools must

be careful about sending any religious message); Grand Rapids

School Dist. v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 383, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3222,

87 L.Ed.2d 267 (1985) ("the government’s activities in this area

(of religion in public schools] can have a magnified impact on

impressionable young minds"); Widmar v. Vincent, 454 U.S.

263, 274 n. 14, 102 S.Ct. 269, 276-77 n. 14, 70 L.Ed.2d 440

(1981) (university students are young adults and "are less

impressionable than younger students").

a-21

religious message, but rather her tolerance or respect for

the views of others.’ Nor is peer pressure likely to

dissuade a college graduate from choosing to protest.

Indeed, Professor Tanford, in the finest tradition of higher

education, left the 1987 ceremony before the benediction,

in part “hoping that people would ask me later why I had

done it and that I then could ... engage them in a dialogue

to explain my reasons." (Tanford Dep., pp. 47-48).®

In addition to the relative maturity of the participants

and the unique role of the University, the coercive nature

of IU’s commencement is also lessened by the atmosphere

of the ceremony itself. In contrast to a high school

ceremony, which is highly controlled and "analogous to

the classroom setting, where [the Court has] said the risk

of compulsion is especially high," Lee, 505 U.S. at 595,

112 S.Ct. at 2660, IU’s graduation is much less regulated.

The 1995 ceremony, for example, encompassed 5,000

graduates and over 30,000 spectators in a football stadium.

The ceremony, both by its size and program content, was

7Professor Tanford essentially admits as much when he states

that he does not “believe for a minute that all 7,000 people [who

stood for the prayer] believed in the religious message" and that

he was “certain there are a lot of people who did not intend by

remaining to express agreement with the message.” (Tanford

Dep., pp. 39, 41).

Similarly, MacDonald remained seated and took notes during

the invocation and benediction at the 1994 ceremony.

(MacDonald Dep., pp. 16- 17). Like Tanford, Suess has also

absented himself during public prayers in the past. (Suess Dep.,

pp. 34-35).

impersonal; students were graduated en masse from their

particular schools and only a few received individual

recognition. Thousands of graduates chose not to attend.

Undoubtedly, in a large, outdoor stadium, filled with

thousands of graduates, a nonadherent could dissent

without being noticed and -without fear of being identified

as a nonconformist. And, because people from all manner

of backgrounds, races and religious creeds (including no

religious creed) attend, individual acts of standing or

remaining silent cannot be interpreted as expressions of a

position on the theological merit of certain values, or of

religious beliefs in general.

Moreover, because IU’s commencement exercises

actually involve multiple graduation ceremonies, plaintiffs

have meaningful alternatives. Indeed, they can attend the

smaller, more intimate law school ceremony, which does

not contain an invocation or benediction, but does allow

for "individual and personalized recognition" of each

students’ achievement in earning a degree. (Leonard

Fromm Dep., p. 18). Perhaps for this reason, 75% to

90% of law students attend this smaller ceremony,

compared to the 15% to 55% who attend the

university-wide commencement.

In sum, the "symbolism of a union between church and

State is most likely to influence children of tender years,

whose experience is limited and whose beliefs

consequently are the function of environment as much as

free and voluntary choice." Grand Rapids School Dist. v.

Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3226, 87

L.Ed.2d 267 (1985). Since these concerns are not present

at a university commencement involving thousands of

graduates, multiple ceremonies, advanced degrees and

well-defined personal and religious identities, Lee v.

Weisman does not require that we grant plaintiffs’ motion

for summary judgment. Accord Chaudhuri v. State of

Tennessee, 886 F.Supp. 1374, 1386 (M.D. Tenn.1995)

(the "Court finds that permitting a prayer to be offered at

a public university’s graduation ceremony ... presents no

real threat of establishing religion").

B. LEMON’S THREE-PART TEST DOES NOT

INVALIDATE IU’S USE OF PRAYER.

While Lee establishes the Establishment Clause’s

minimum protection, the Lemon test arguably demarcates

the Constitution’s outer limits. Under this test, a state

action (1) must have a secular purpose, (2) must neither

advance nor inhibit religion, and (3) must not produce

excessive government entanglement with religion in order

to pass constitutional muster. Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403

U.S. 602, 612-13, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 2111, 29 L.Ed.2d 745

(1971).

(1). Secular Purpose

The first Lemon factor asks if the challenged action

has a secular purpose. Significantly, Lemon does not

mandate that the government activity have an exclusively

secular purpose; only one secular purpose need exist.

Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 681 n. 6, 104 S.Ct.

1355, 1363 n. 6, 79 L.Ed.2d 604 (1984). However, if an

obscure secular purpose is wholly dominated by a religious

one, then the purpose prong is not satisfied. Id. at

690-91, 104 S.Ct. at 1368 (O’Connor, J., concurring).

In this case, we cannot say as a matter of law that the

preeminent purpose of IU’s invocation and benediction is

religious. At a minimum, the prayer continues a

155-year-old tradition at the University, solemnizes a

public occasion, “express[es] confidence in the future and

encourag[es] the recognition of what is worthy of

appreciation in society." Id. at 693, 104 S.Ct. at 1369

(O’Connor, J., concurring).? Moreover, the purpose

prong requires that the prayer be examined in the context

of the entire ceremony. Id. at 679, 104 S.Ct. at 1362.

Here, because the invocation and benediction comprise

only a few minutes of an otherwise wholly secular

ceremony, they simply do not have the same religious

force as prayers offered during a worship service, or even

at a baccalaureate ceremony. Thus, because a brief

invocation/benediction serves the legitimate secular

purpose of solemnizing a public ceremony and of

continuing a 155-year old university tradition, plaintiffs

have not satisfied the first prong of Lemon as a matter of

law.

(2). Primary Effect to Advance Religion

Under the second prong of Lemon, the key inquiry is

whether the university’s decision to have an invocation and

benediction sends primarily a message of endorsement or

disapproval of religion. See Corporation of Presiding

Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints

v. Amos, 483 U.S. 327, 337, 107 S.Ct. 2862, 2869, 97

L.Ed.2d 273 (1987); County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492

U.S. 573, 592-93, 109 S.Ct. 3086, 3100-01, 106 L.Ed.2d

*See also Jones v. Clear Creek Indep. School Dist., 977 F.2d

963, 967 (Sth Cir.1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 967, 113 S.Ct.

2950, 124 L.Ed.2d 697 (1993) (finding secular purpose in high

school graduation prayers); County of Allegheny v. ACLU, 492

U.S. 573, 595, n. 46, 109 S.Ct. 3086, 3102, n. 46 106 L.Ed.2d

472 (1989); but see Harris v. Joint School Dist. No. 241, 41

F.3d 447, 458 (9th Cir.1994) (finding no secular purpose in high

school graduation prayers); ACLU v. Black Horse Pike Regional

Bd. of Educ., 84 F.3d 1471, 1484-86 (3d Cir. 1996).

a-25

472 (1989); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. at 75, 105 S.Ct.

at 2499. The "test is whether the symbolic union of

church and state effected by the challenged governmental

action is sufficiently likely to be perceived by adherents of

the controlling denominations as an endorsement, and by

the non- adherents as a disapproval, of their individual

religious choices." School Dist. of City of Grand Rapids

v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3226, 87

L.Ed.2d 267 (1985); see generally Lynch, 465 U.S. at

681-83, 104 S.Ct. at 1363-64 (city’s inclusion of a creche

in Christmas. display did not have primary effect of

endorsing religion).

In this case, given the non-sectarian and brief nature of

the prayers, as well as the sophistication of the audience

and the university setting, the benefit to one faith over

another (or to religion in general) is at most indirect and

incidental. Indeed, the very mission of the University is

to expose developing young adults to a universe of new

ideas and beliefs, most of which the University claims no

special allegiance to. Thus, a 30-second prayer delivered

as part of larger secular ceremony "would no more

commit the University ... to religious goals than it is now

committed to the goals of the Students for a Democratic

Society [or] the Young Socialist Alliance." Widmar, 454

U.S. at 274, 102 S.Ct. at 276 (internal quotation marks

omitted). In his deposition, Professor Tanford admits as

much when he states that he does not view the non-

sectarian prayer as endorsing any particular religion or

influencing people’s religious beliefs. See Tanford Depo.

at 42-43. Thus, the court finds as a matter of law that

plaintiffs have not satisfied Lemon’s second prong.

(3). Excessive Entanglement

a-26

Lemon’s third prong asks whether the Challenged

action creates an excessive entanglement between church

and state. Supreme Court cases relying on the excessive

entanglement prong to invalidate state actions have largely

involved an enduring association between the government

and religious institutions. Often the cases entail state aid to

religious or parochial institutions for particular secular

Purposes. See, e.g., Lemon, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct.

2105, 29 L.Ed.2d 745 (state law that paid a portion of

Private school teachers’ salaries for teaching secular

subjects was excessive entanglement); Ball, 473 U.S.

373, 390, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3226, 87 L.Ed.2d 267 (sending

government teachers to private schools to teach secular

Classes constituted excessive entanglement). Other cases

have involved government delegations of power to

religious bodies. See, ¢.g., Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, 456

U.S. 913, 102 S.Ct. 1765, 72 L.Ed.2d 171 (1982) (statute

giving church-affiliated schools power to veto nearby

liquor licenses struck down as excessive entanglement).

In this case, the University’s alleged monitoring of the

graduation prayers consists of the selection of a cleric and

a reminder to him or her to include an uplifting, general

message. Such interaction does not require that "a

particular religion ... endure the ongoing presence of state

personnel whose primary purpose is to monitor” prayer

Contents in "an attempt to guard against the infiltration of

a-27

Clause cases, the court finds that plaintiffs have failed to

satisfy any of Lemon’s three prongs.

Ill. CONCLUSION.

In sum, plaintiffs have not demonstrated that they are

entitled to summary judgment under either the coercion

test set forth in Lee or the traditional Lemon test. Indeed,

like the legislative prayers approved in Marsh, or the

“government declaration of Thanksgiving as a public

holiday, [or the] printing of "In God We Trust’ on coins,

[or] opening court sessions with "God save the United

States and this honorable court,’ Lynch, 465 U.S. at 693,

104 S.Ct. at 1369, a short ecumenical prayer at a

university graduation amounts to nothing more than “a

tolerable acknowledgement of beliefs widely held among

the people of this county." Marsh, 463 U.S. at 792, 103

S.Ct. at 3336. Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment

must therefore be denied.

Moreover, though defendants have noi yet moved for

summary judgment, the Court concludes that judgment

should be immediately entered in their favor. The facts

relied upon by the Court, including the age of the

plaintiffs, the atmosphere and overwhelmingly secular

nature of the ceremony, the briefness of the prayer, the

unique role of the University and the availability of

alternative ceremonies, are undisputed. Defendants

suggest that factual controversies relating to the feelings of

awkwardness and distaste plaintiffs profess to have

experienced during the ceremony preclude summary

judgment in their favor. Such allegations of fact are

uniquely unsuited to objective verification and, therefore,

could not be the sole basis for requiring a trial. Whatever

the intensity or sincerity of those feelings, however, they

do not change the Court’s legal analysis or conclusions.

a-28

Finally, this ruling on summary judgment is consistent

with its conclusions and analysis in the order denying the

motion for preliminary injunction. That order, therefore,

is incorporated in this entry and, for all these reasons set

forth above, plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment is

DENIED.

It is so ORDERED.

James Alexander TANFORD, Kimberly J. MacDonald,

and David Suess, Plaintiffs,

v.

Dr. Myles BRAND, in his individual and official

capacities as President of Indiana University, and Dr.

Kenneth R.R. Gros Louis, in his official capacities as Vice

President and Chancellor of Indiana University at

Bloomington,

Defendants.

No. IP 95-492 C B/S.

United States District Court,

S.D. Indiana,

Indianapolis Division.

May 4, 1995.

BARKER, Chief Judge.

Today we must answer a question explicitly left open

by the Supreme Court in Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577,

112 S.Ct. 2649, 120 L.Ed.2d 467 (1992)--namely,

whether a member of the clergy may offer prayers as part

of a public university’s graduation ceremony consistent

with the Establishment Clause of the United States

Constitution. Because Plaintiffs failed to demonstrate a

likelihood of their succeeding on the merits, we deny their

motion for preliminary injunctive relief.

I. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Given the accelerated pace of-this suit, the underlying

facts are still somewhat under-developed. However, the

following facts are largely undisputed. Plaintiffs James

Alexander Tanford, Kimberly MacDonald and David

Suess are, respectively, a tenured law professor and two

a-30

For over 150 years, the University has invited clergy

‘Plaintiff MacDonald is a graduating law student while

plaintiff Suess is completing his first year of law school.

a-31

As part of the commencement activities, the School of

Law conducts a second, smaller ceremony only for its

graduates later in the day in the IU auditorium. At this

ceremony, the University recognizes each of its graduates

individually by calling their names and having them walk

across the stage to receive their law degrees. Based on

past experience, the law school expects 75% to 90% of

graduating law students to participate. The law school

ceremony does not include an invocation or benediction.

As part of their duties at the law school, professors are

requested’ from time to time and on a rotating basis to

attend the university-wide ceremony in order to assist in

the presentation of academic hoods to law school

graduates. Although he has attended the ceremony only

once during his fifteen years as a member of the IU

faculty, Professor Tanford has agreed to attend this year’s

upcoming commencement. Neither at the university-wide

commencement, nor the more intimate law school

ceremony, are the two student plaintiffs subject to formal

requirements to attend.

On April 18, 1995, Plaintiffs filed the instant suit

seeking a preliminary injunction to enjoin the use of an

invocation and benediction as part of IU’s university-wide

graduation ceremony. Their one count complaint alleges

that IU’s practice of including an invocation and

benediction as part of its official graduation exercises

violates the Establishment Clause of the First Amendment

to the United States Constitution.

?The parties stipulate that no explicit requirement is imposed

on faculty to attend the commencement ceremony and no sanction

flows from a failure to volunteer for such service

a-32

Il. STANDING

Article III of the Constitution limits the power of this

court to resolving cases and controversies. The doctrine

of standing “is an essential and unchanging part of the

Case-or-controversy requirement of Article II." Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife, 504 U.S. 555, 560, 112 S.Ct.

2130, 2136, 119 L.Ed.2d 351 (1992). At a minimum,

standing requires that the plaintiff suffer an “injury in

defendant and the injury is likely to be redressed by a

favorable decision. Valley Forge Christian College v.

Americans United for Separation of Church and State,

Inc., 454 U.S. 464, 472, 102 S.Ct. 752, 758, 70 L.Ed.2d

700 (1982).

v. Students Challenging Regulatory Agency Procedures

(SCRAP), 412 U.S. 669, 689 n. 14, 93 S.Ct. 2405, 2417

n. 14, 37 L.Ed.2d 254 (1973) quoted in Doe, 41 F.3d at

1159.

In light of this broad language, we fear in this context

that the law of standing has taken on an almost

metaphysical quality. One wonders how anyone can

reliably and properly determine that the meaning and

significance of standing if it is satisfied by an “identifiable

trifle." Yet even under such an expansive interpretation,

standing poses a significant obstacle to Plaintiffs’ case.

Plaintiff David Suess, for example, is a twenty-eight

year old student currently completing his first year of law

school. He is not scheduled to graduate until May of

1997. He has been invited to commencement activities by

some graduating friends and féels that, should he attend,

the invocation and benediction will make him feel

uncomfortable. We emphasize the uncertainty of his

attendance because Mr. Suess has not yet decided whether

he will attend the university-wide commencement. When

asked in a deposition whether he would attend the

university-wide commencement (the subject of this lawsuit)

or the smaller law school ceremony later that day (which

does not include an invocation or benediction), he replied:

"Definitely the law school ceremony and quite possibly the

commencement." (Suess Dep. at p. 32) (emplasis added).

But it depends “partially on how things go with this and

schedule conflicts." (Id. at p. 32).

From this admission, it is clear that Mr. Suess has no

stake in this litigation. If he decides to stay home and

miss the campus-wide ceremony, then he will simply have

no “direct and unwelcome exposure to a religious

message." Doe, 41 F.3d at 1159. If he decides to attend,

he is no more than an observer with nothing at stake in the

ceremony besides the “psychological consequence

presumably produced by observation of conduct with

which one disagrees." Valley Forge, 454 U.S. at 485,

a-34

102 S.Ct. at 765. Either way, Suess’s alleged injury is

¢ven more theoretical than the interests found insufficient

to confer standing in Freedom From Religion Foundation,

Inc. v. Zielke, 845 F.2d 1463 (7th Cir.1988). In that

case, the Seventh Circuit considered whether the plaintiffs

had standing to challenge the constitutionality of a

monument of the Ten Commandments in a city park.

Because the plaintiffs did not alter their behavior as a

result of the monument and failed to demonstrate that they

were exposed to the monument during their normal

routines or in the course of their usual driving or walking

routes, the court affirmed the district court’s dismissal for

lack of standing. Id. at 1468-69. Thus, because Mr.

Suess cannot demonstrate that he will be exposed to an

unwelcome religious exercise, he lacks standing and is

Plaintiff James Tanford’s stake, by contrast, falls

squarely in the category of a “trifle,” but apparently that

suffices under current constitutional interpretations. Asa

tenured professor at the law school, Tanford states he is

"obligated" to attend the university-wide commencement

exercises, or at least the "hooding" portions of the

ceremony, Once every few years. He admits, however,

that this obligation is not externally imposed in any way.

Indeed, when asked by the Dean to "volunteer" for this

duty in the past, Tanford has successfully avoided it: he

has only attended the ceremony once in his fifteen years as

a member of the law school faculty, and there has never

been any threat of discipline as a result of not

participating. Nevertheless, Professor Tanford

unequivocally states that he plans to attend this year.

Moreover, because he is a faculty member, his connection

to the ceremony and his stake in its constitutionality are

a-35

more direct than the ephemeral injustice that Plaintiffs

contend will allegedly be suffered by Mr. Suess, a mere

observer. Thus, although his interest constitutes only a

trifle, "an identifiable trifle is enough for standing."

SCRAP, 412 U.S. at 689 n. 14, 93 S.Ct. at 2417 n. 14.

We therefore permit him to remain in the suit “to fight out

a question of principle." Id.

The basis for MacDonald’s standing, by contrast, is on

much firmer ground. Because she is currently completing

her third and final year of law school, she will be

graduated at this year’s ceremony. Moreover, she has

indicated her intention to attend. (MacDonald dep. at p.

43). Thus, MacDonald has demonstrated both a concrete

stake in the constitutionality of the ceremony and also a

strong likelihood of being directly exposed to an

unwelcome religious exercise. Accordingly, we find that

her interest in the litigation is sufficient to confer standing.

We emphasize, however, that MacDonald may not

bootstrap her interest in the litigation from injuries that

will allegedly be suffered by her two-year old daughter.

MacDonald has sued strictly on her own behalf and not

that of her daughter.° :

Given the identities of the Plaintiffs, we have our doubts

about whether this suit represents anything more than a clinical

classroom exercise contrived by a law professor and two of his

students. We therefore remind these parties, as well as all future

litigants, that the machinery of the federal courts is not to be

engaged merely to conduct "ingenious academic exercise[s} in the

conceivable." Lujan, 504 U.S. at 566, 112 S.Ct. at 2139.

However, as set forth above, in this case both Professor Tanford

and Plaintiff Kimberly MacDonald, who will be graduated at the

challenged ceremony, have shown a likelihood of establishing a

a-36

ai EA ey RP eT) ee ee ee ee ae

III. PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION STANDARD

(3) whether there will be irreparable harm if an injunction

does not issue; (4) whether the balance of harms to the

movant if an injunction is denied and to the opponent if

the injunction is granted favors the movant; and (5)

whether an injunction is adverse to the public interest.

JAK Productions, Inc. v. Wiza, 986 F.2d 1080, 1084 (7th

Cir.1993); Grossbaum v. Indianapolis-Marion County

Building Authority, 870 F.Supp. 1450, 1453

(S.D.Ind. 1994). The Court, "sitting as would a chancellor

in equity, then weighs" these factors in deciding whether

to grant the injunction. Abbott Laboratories y. Mead

Johnson & Co., 971 F.2d 6, 11 (7th Cir. 1992).

Although distinct in theory, these five elements

essentially reduce to a discussion of the Plaintiffs’

likelihood of success on the merits in this case. Indeed,

irreparable harm is presumed to flow from violation of a

constitutional right: "[T]he loss of First Amendment

freedoms for even minimal periods of time,

unquestionably constitutes irreparable injury." Elrod v.

Burns, 427 U.S. 347, 373, 96 S.Ct. 2673, 2690, 49

L.Ed.2d 547 (1976); accord Shondel v. McDermott, 775

F.2d 859, 866-87 (7th Cir.1985). A conclusion that an

injury is irreparable in turn establishes that there is no

adequate remedy at law. Fleet Wholesale Supply v.

Remington Arms Co., 846 F.2d 1095, 1098 (7th

Cir.1988) ("To say that the injury is irreparable means

perceptible, albeit fleeting, harm

a-37

that the methods of repair (remedies at law) are

inadequate”) (emphasis in original). Because

governmental compliance with the Constitution always

serves the common good, determination of the public

interest also turns on the merits. Grossbaum, 870 F.Supp.

~ at 1453. Finally, the balance of harms here does not tip

decidedly on either side; the harms from an erroneous

ruling flow equally in either direction.‘ Thus, our

decision on the preliminary injunction is based on which

side appears more likely to succeed on the merits.

IV. LIKELIHOOD OF SUCCESS ON THE MERITS

Concerning religion, the First Amendment both |

promises its free exercise and prohibits its establishment:

"Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment

of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof." U.S.

Const.Amend. I. In crafting this provision of our

Constitution, the Founding Fathers recognized, as must

this Court, the tension between these rights. To deal with

that tension they crafted their great compromise: free —

exercise, but no coercion.

The Supreme Court has explained that the purpose of

the establishment prohibition is "to prevent, as far as

possible, the intrusion of either [the church or the state]

into the precincts of the other." Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403

U.S. 602, 614, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 2112, 29 L.Ed.2d 745

“Indeed, as Defendants concede, in weighing the relative

harms, the Court must focus "on the risk of an erroneous

decision." (Brief in Opposition, p. 10); see also Abbott

Laboratories v. Mead Johnson & Co., 971 F.2d 6, 11-13 (7th

Cir.1992). Whether our decision is erroneous or not is again tied

up with—though not entirely dependent upon--our examination of

the merits.

a-38

(1971). Indeed, the federal courts have often used

Thomas Jefferson’s metaphor of a wall of separation

between church and state to emphasize "that religious

beliefs and religious expression are too precious to be

either proscribed or prescribed by the State." Lee v.

Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, ----, 112 S.Ct. 2649, 2656, 120

L.Ed.2d 467 (1992).

At the same time, however, we recognize that "total

separation is not possible in an absolute sense. Some

relationship between government and religious

organizations is inevitable." Lemon, 403 U.S. at 614, 91

S.Ct. at 2112. Indeed, as noted earlier, the Constitution

religion. See Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches School

Dist., 508 U.S. 384, 113 S.Ct. 2141, 124 L.Ed.2d 352

(1993); Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 104 S.Ct.

1355, 79 L.Ed.2d 604 (1984). Over forty years ago the

Supreme Court held that: When the state encourages

religious instruction or cooperation with religious

authorities by adjusting the schedule of public events to

sectarian needs, it follows the best of our traditions. For

it then respects the religious nature of our people and

accommodates the public service to their spiritual needs.

To hold that it may not would be to find in the

Constitution a requirement that the government show a

callous indifference to religious groups. Zorach v.

Clauson, 343 U.S. 306, 313-14, 72 S.Ct. 679, 684, 96

L.Ed. 954 (1952). Thus, in every Establishment Clause

case, the Court "must reconcile the inescapable tension

between the objective of preventing unnecessary intrusion

of either the church or the state upon the other, and the

reality that, as the Court has so often noted, total

a-39

separation of the two is not possible." Lynch, 465 U.S. at

672, 104 S.Ct. at 1359.

A. Lee v. Weisman--State Involvement + Coercion

With these principles in mind, we now turn to a

consideration of recent Supreme Court precedent in the

case of Lee v. Weisman, 505 U.S. 577, 112 S.Ct. 2649,

120 L.Ed.2d 467 (1992). There, the Supreme Court held

that a prayer delivered by a clergyman at a public middle

school graduation ceremony violated the Establishment

Clause. In the majority opinion written by Justice

Kennedy, the Court noted that two facts controlled its

decision: (1) “state officials direct{ed] the performances

of a formal religious exercise;" and (2) “even for those

students who object[ed] to the religious exercise, their

attendance and participation in the state-sponsored

religious activity [were] in a fair and real sense

obligatory." 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2655.

Concerning the first controlling fact, the Court stated

that the school principal’s extensive involvement in

deciding to have prayers at graduation, in choosing the

religious participant, and in controlling the content of the

prayer rendered the graduation a "state-sponsored religious

exercise.” 505 U.S. at ---- - ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2655-58.

That the school attempted to make the prayers

nonsectarian was not controlling. Although such measures

may lessen a prayer’s divisive impact, the Constitution

does "not permit school officials to assist in composing

prayers as an incident to a formal exercise for their

students.” 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2657.

As to the second dominant fact, the Court reasoned

that graduation prayers constituted governmental coercion —

because the state "in effect required participation in a

religious exercise." 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2659.

a-40

The majority conducted a “delicate and fact-sensitive"

inquiry that identified several factors contributing to the

coercive nature of the ceremony. 505 U.S. at ----, 112

S.Ct. at 2661. Significantly, each factor relied at least in

part on the “heightened concerns [associated] with

protecting freedom of conscience from subtle coercive

pressure in the elementary and secondary public schools.”

505 U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct. at 2658 (emphasis added).

Initially, the Court emphasized that high school

students perceive the involvement of their teachers,

principals and friends in a religious exercise as inducing a

participation they might otherwise reject. According to

the Court: The undeniable fact is that the school district’s

supervision and control of a high school graduation

ceremony places public pressure, as well as peer pressure,

on attending students to stand as a group or, at least,

maintain respectful silence during the Invocation and

Benediction. 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2658. The

Court maintained that this pressure, to act, although subtle

and indirect, can be as real as overt coercion to

adolescents susceptible to pressure from their peers.

Although the Court recognized that standing with the

group or remaining silent can signify “simple respect for

the views of others," 505 U.S. at ---, 112 S.Ct. at 2658,

it argued that adolescents are likely to view their

acquiescence to the group ritual as an expression of

participation: What matters is that, given our social

conventions, a reasonable dissenter in this milieu could

believe that the group exercise signified her own

participation or approval of it. 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct.

at 2658. Thus, in the environment of a middle school

(and presumably a high school) graduation ceremony,

there is a dual risk: the risk that a reasonable dissenter

a-4]

would feel compelled to conform her behavior to that of

the other participants, and the concomitant risk that the

adolescent dissenter would interpret her conformity as

manifesting an approval of or participation in the group

exercise.

Because reasonable dissenters could believe that the act

of standing or remaining silent signifies participation, they

would be placed “in the dilemma of participating, with all

that implies, or protesting." 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at

2658. The Court reasoned, however, that the force of

peer pressure made protest unlikely. To be sure,

attendance at the ceremony was not required. Thus,

dissenting students could try to avoid the dilemma

altogether by not attending the graduation ceremony. The

Court, however, found that this did not excuse any

inducement or coercion in the ceremony itself: [T]o say a

teenage student has a real choice not to attend her high

school graduation is formalistic in the extreme....

Everyone knows that in our society and in our culture high

school graduation is one of life’s most significant

occasions. 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2659. Thus,

even though not required, attendance is not voluntary "in

any real sense ... for absence would require forfeiture of

those intangible benefits which have motivated the student

through youth and all her high school years." 505 U.S. at

-——-, 112 S.Ct. at 2659.

‘At @ minimum, then, the Lee majority held that "the

Constitution guarantees that government may not coerce

anyone to support or participate in religion.” 505 U.S. at

----, 112 S.Ct. at 2655. To be sure, the majority’s

conception of what constitutes coercion was broad;

coercion derives not from any formal requirement

conditioning the receipt of a diploma on attendance at the

a-42

ceremony, but from the state’s apparently more subtle

attempt "to exact religious conformity from a student as

the price of attending her own high school graduation."

505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2660.

The Court specifically avoided deciding the issue

presented in this case; namely, whether adults at a

university commencement who object would also feel

compelled to participate: We do not address whether [the

dilemma of conforming or protesting] is acceptable if the

affected citizens are mature adults, but we think the State

may not, consistent with the Establishment Clause, place

primary and secondary school children in this position.

505 U.S. at ---- - ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2658-59 (emphasis

added). Nevertheless, a careful reading of Lee yields no

constitutional impediments to the ceremony at issue in this

case.

(1). State Involvement

The first prong of Lee requires that there be sufficient

State involvement in the graduation ceremony to render it a

“state-sponsored religious exercise." That requirement

was satisfied in Lee because the school principal had

decided to include prayers in the ceremony, chosen the

religious participant, and influenced the content of the

prayer. Based upon the record as it now exists, we think

that this case is indistinguishable from Lee on this point.

Above all, a graduation ceremony is a

university-controlled event. University officials pick the

date, time and locations for the various ceremonies. They

control the content and order of events. They also decide

whether the ceremony will include an invocation and

benediction: [TJhis is a choi-- attributable to the State, and

from a constitutional perspective it is as if a state statute

decreed that the prayers must occur. 505 U.S. at ——-, 112

a-43

S.Ct. at 2655; see Dep. of Shoshana Watkins, at pp. 7-8.

Moreover, a university official chooses the religious

participant. This year the invited clergyman is the

Reverend Robert W. Sims, a priest with St. Paul’s

Catholic Center. (Bolyard Aff. P 8). Finally, a university

official sets parameters on the prayer’s content.

Typically, these parameters involve a simple reminder to

the clergyperson to recognize that the audience will be

diverse and to make his or her remarks “unifying and

uplifting for all.” (Watkins Dep., at p. 13). Thus,

"[g]iven that graduation is ultimately a school-controlled,

school-sponsored event, there appears in this case to be

just as much state involvement as appeared in" Lee.

Harris v. Joint School Dist. No. 241, 41 F.3d 447, 454

(9th Cir. 1994).

(2). Coercion

The second prong of Lee requires a showing of

coercion. As discussed above, Justice Kennedy’s

explication of what constitutes coercion was broad,

when it does not involve formal demands or formal

sanctions. Yet even under this expanded view, we think

that in this respect it is unlikely that Plaintiffs will prevail

on the merits.

Undeniably, the plaintiffs here--unlike the junior and

high school students in Lee--are mature adults who have

either earned or are in the process of earning postgraduate

degrees—-law degrees, no less! Professor Tanford, for

example, is forty-five years old and a tenured law

professor. Kimberly MacDonald is twenty-four years old

and is about to complete her third and final year of law

school. Each has chosen a discipline where a central and

valued skill is the ability to think independently and listen

Critically. Each is trained to analyze arguments skeptically

and not to be subtly coerced by pressure, peer or

conclude that they will not be easily pressured into

conforming their actions to those of the other participants.

Nor is protest an unrealistic alternative for them.’ Thus,

the “dilemma of participating ... Or protesting” never

materializes. 505 U.S. at —, 11

purposefully exposed to a wider variety of ideas and

beliefs than primary and secondary school students. It is

part and parcel of what it means to be educated. Many of

these competing ideas, beliefs and value systems, "they

find distasteful or immoral or absurd or all of these."

“Indeed, both Professor Tanford and Ms. MacDonald have

shown the ability to voice dissent in such matters in the past. For

example, the last time Professor Tanford attended the

university-wide ceremony, he absented himself from the ceremony

when the invocation began, returned for the middle part, and left

again before the closing benediction. Ms. MacDonald attended a

Prior ceremony but remained seated during these portions

a-45

Lee, 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2657.° In many

significant ways, the very mission of higher education is to

challenge basic values instilled during childhood at a time

when the individual student has the intellectual maturity to

choose between competing beliefs.’

Thus, the special solicitude for younger students

traditionally shown by federal courts is not required here:

There is substance to the contention that college students

are less impressionable and less susceptible to religious

indoctrination. Common observation would seem to

support that view.... The skepticism of the college student

is not an inconsiderable barrier to any attempt or tendency

*The Supreme Court has stated that exposure to competing

value systems is essential to our system of self-government: The

[college] classroom is peculiarly the “marketplace of ideas." The

Nation’s future depends upon leaders trained through wide

exposure to that robust exchange of ideas which discovers truth

“out of a multitude of tongues, [rather] than through any kind of

authoritative selection." Keyishian v. Board of Regents, 385 U.S.

589, 603, 87 S.Ct. 675, 683, 17 L.Ed.2d 629 (1967) (citation

omitted).

7Courts and commentators have generally described primary

and secondary schools as playing a different role from higher

education: The central fact in the distinction between higher and

lower education is the role of value inculcation in the teaching

process. The public schools in the United States traditionally have

viewed instilling the young with societal values as a significant

part of the schools educational mission. Such a mission is directly

opposed to the vision of education that underlies the premises of

academic freedom in higher education. Goldstein, The Asserted

Constitutional Right of Public School Teachers to Determine What

They Teach, 124 U.Pa.L.R. 1293, 1342-43 (1976).

a-46

to subvert the ... limitations [prohibiting religious

instruction]. Furthermore, by their very nature, college

and postgraduate courses tend to limit the opportunities for

sectarian influences by virtue of their own internal

disciplines. Tilton v. Richardson, 403 U.S. 672, 686, 91

S.Ct. 2091, 2099, 29 L.Ed.2d 790 (1971); see also

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 583-84, 107 S.Ct.

2573, 2577-78, 96 L.Ed.2d 510 (1987) (noting that

because children in public schools are highly

impressionable, schools must be careful about sending any

religious message); Grand Rapids School Dist. v. Ball,

473 U.S. 373, 383, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3222; 87 L-Ed.2d

267 (1985) ("the government’s activities in this area [of

religion in public schools] can have a magnified impact on

impressionable young minds"); Widmar v. Vincent, 454

U.S. 263, 274 n. 14, 102 S.Ct. 269, 276-77 n. 14, 70

L.Ed.2d 440 (1981) (university students are young adults

and “are less impressionable than younger students").

The atmosphere of a university graduation is also

different from that of a high school graduation. At a high

school graduation: teachers and principals must and do

retain a high degree of control over the precise contents of

the program, the speeches, the timing, the movements, the

dress, and the decorum of the students. In this

atmosphere the state-imposed character of an invocation

and benediction by clergy selected by the school combine

to make the prayer a state-sanctioned religious exercise in

which the student was left with no alternative but to

submit. Lee, 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2660 (citations

omitted). In other words, the ceremony is highly

controlled and “analogous to the classroom setting, where

[the Court has] said the risk of compulsion is especially

high." Id.

a-47

IU’s graduation, by contrast, has a much less formal

setting. At the university-wide ceremony, there will be

5,000 graduates and 30,000 spectators in a football

stadium. People from all manner of backgrounds, races

and religious creeds (including no religious creed) will

attend. The ceremony, both by its size and program

content, is impersonal. Students are graduated en masse

from their particular school with only a few receiving

individual recognition. Thousands of graduates do not

attend. In a large stadium filled with thousands of

graduates, a nonadherent could dissent without being

noticed and without fear of being identified as a

nonconformist. Nor will individual acts of standing or

remaining silent necessarily be construed as expressing a

position on the theological merit of certain values or of

have meaningful alternatives. Indeed, they can attend the

admittedly more intimate law school ceremony. That

ceremony does not contain an invocation or benediction,

but does allow for “individual and personalized

recognition" of each students’ achievement in earning a

degree. (Dep. of Leonard Fromm, at p. 18). Perhaps for

this reason, 75% to 90% of law students attend this

ceremony.

Using language from Lee, Plaintiffs argue in response

that the University’s inclusion of an invocation and

benediction “forces [them] to choose between participating

in prayers that they find offensive” or missing the

graduation ceremony. (Brief in Support, p. 4). However,

as Justice Kennedy expressly stated in Lee: We do not

hold that every state action implicating religion is invalid

if one or a few citizens find it offensive. People may take

offense at all manner of religious as well as nonreligious

messages, but offense alone does not in every case show a

violation. Lee, 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2661.

Therefore, Plaintiffs must provide more than a simple

allegation that a nonadherent feels awkwardness during a

religious exercise. There needs to be an additional

showing that the state’s involvement in the religious

exercise is likely to induce an observer’s reluctant

participation, or to make dissent an unlikely alternative, or

to influence the development of an unformed religious

identity, or all of the above._Given the advanced mental

and social abilities of these plaintiffs, however, as

explained above, there is no such risk here.

In sui, the "symbolism of a union between church and

state is most likely to influence children of tender years,

whose experience is limited and whose beliefs

consequently are the function of environment as much as

free and voluntary choice." Grand Rapids School Dist. v.

Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 105 S.Ct. 3216, 3226, 87

L.Ed.2d 267 (1985).* Since these concerns are not

present at a university commencement involving thousands

of graduates, multiple ceremonies, advanced degrees and

well-defined personal and religious identities, we find that

¢

7

a-49

Plaintiffs are unlikely to prevail on the merits under Lee

v. Weisman.

B. The Lemon Test--Its Application, If Any.

For two decades prior to Lee, the Supreme Court

applied the now much maligned Lemon test to

Establishment Clause cases. Lemon v. Kurtzman, 403

U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 29 L.Ed.2d 745 (1971).

Reliance on Lemon for determination of Establishment

Clause violations, however, has noticeably declined in the

last decade. At least three of the Supreme Court’s most

recent decisions have either ignored Lemon or openly

disparaged it. See Board of Education of Kiryas Joel

Village School Dist. v. Grumet, == U-S. ----; 114 S.Ct.

2481, 129 L.Ed.2d 546 (1994); Zobrest v. Catalina

Foothills School Dist., 509 U.S. 1, 113 S.Ct. 2462, 125

L.Ed.2d 1 (1993); Lee, 505 U.S. at --—-, 112 S.Ct. 2649.

And over the years, at least five currently sitting Justices

have called for the elimination of Lemon as a general

purpose test for all Establishment Clause cases. See

Lamb’s Chapel v. Center Moriches School Dist., 508 U.S.

384, ---, 113 S.Ct. 2141, 2150, 124 L.Ed.2d 352 (1993)

(listing cases) (Scalia, J., dissenting). Lee itself expressly

side-stepped the issue, stating that the constitutionality of

the religious activity in that case could be judged without

reference to Lemon. 505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 2655.

Most likely, Lemon’s unitary test will some day be

replaced by a series of category-specific rules. See

Grumet, --- U.S. at ---- - —-, 114 S.Ct. at 2499-2500

(O’Connor, J., concurring). Presumably, under such an

approach, future cases involving official public occasions

with religious components will be governed by Lee v.

Weisman. Indeed, because "Lemon was not devised to

identify prayer smuggled into civic exercises," this Court

a-50

is similarly “not disposed to resolve this case by parsing

Lemon." Sherman v. Community Consol. School Dist.

21, 980 F.2d 437, 445 (7th Cir. 1992).

We emphasize, however, that a district court’s role is

* not that of prophet, but rather that of disciple. We are

by the Supreme Court. See Carter v. Peters, 26 F.3d 697

(7th Cir. 1994); Fleischfresser v. Directors of School Dist:

200, 15 F.3d 680, 686 (7th Cir. 1994); Sherman v.

Community Consol. School Dist. 21 of Wheeling Tp., 8

F.3d 1160, 1164 n. 9 (7th Cir.1993), cert. denied, ---

U.S. ---, 114 S.Ct. 2109, 128 L.Ed.2d 669 (1994);

Cohen v. City of Des Plaines, 8 F.3d 484 (7th Cir. 1993),

cert. denied, -- U.S. -—-, 114 S.Ct. 2741, 129 L.Ed.2d

861 (1994); Gonzales v. North Tp. of Lake County, Ind.,

4 F.3d 1412, 1418 (7th Cir.1993); Berger by Berger v.

Rensselaer Cent. School Corp., 982 F.2d 1160, 1162 (7th

Cir.1993), cert. denied, — U.S. ~——-, 113 S.Ct. 2344, 124

L.Ed.2d 254 (1993); see also Lamb’s Chapel v. Center

Moriches Union Free School Dist., —- U.S. —-, -—--, 1.

Clear Creek Indep. School Dist., 977 F.2d 963, 967 (Sth

Cir. 1992), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 113 S.Ct. 2950, 124

a-51

L.Ed.2d 697 (1993). Thus, being faithful to our charge,

we now turn to Lemon for whatever guidance it must

provide.

In Lemon, the Supreme Court set forth a three-part test

for determining the constitutionality of state action

challenged under the Establishment Clause. First, the

state action must have a secular purpose. Second, its

primary purpose must neither advance nor inhibit religion.

Third, the state action must not produce excessive

government entanglement with religion. Id. 403 U.S. at

612-13, 91 S.Ct. at 2111. The first two criteria require

that the government remain neutral’ with respect to

religion:

The purpose prong of the Lemon test asks whether

government’s actual purpose is to endorse or disapprove of

religion. The effect prong asks whether, irrespective of

government’s actual purpose, the practice under review in

fact conveys a message of endorsement or disapproval.

An affirmative answer to either question should render the

challenged practice invalid. Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S.

38, 56 n. 42, 105 S.Ct. 2479, 2490 n. 42, 86 L.Ed.2d 29

%In that very terminology lies one of the most vexing

analytical and application problems with the Lemon test, of

course. Government neutrality turns out to be illusory—a posture

almost impossible to establish and maintain. It is a rare act or

event or practice that does not pull one either toward or away

favoring or disfavoring, advancing or inhibiting, the "religious"

purpose. And Lemon’s mandate to remain neutral and reach

equilibrium inevitably entails the pendulum’s movement in one

direction or the other.

a-52

(1985) (quoting Lynch v. Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 690,

104 S.Ct. 1355, 1368, 79 L.Ed.2d 604 (1984)).

(1). Secular Purpose

The Supreme Court has recognized that Lemon does

not mandate that the government activity have an

exclusively secular purpose; rather, Lemon only requires

that at least one secular purpose exist. See Lynch v.

Donnelly, 465 U.S. 668, 681 n. 6, 104 S.Ct. 1355, 1363,

n. 6, 79 L.Ed.2d 604 (1984). However, the purpose

1368. Nonetheless, several courts have acknowledged that —

certain kinds of prayer serve the secular purpose. of

worthy of appreciation in society." Lynch, 465 U.S. at

693, 104 S.Ct. at 1369-70 (O’Connor, J., concurring); see

also Jones v. Clear Creek Indep. School Dist., 977 F.2d

963, 967 (Sth Cir.1992), cert. denied, 508 U.S. 967, 113

S.Ct. 2950, 124 L.Ed.2d 697 (1993) (finding secular

purpose in high school graduation prayers); County of

Allegheny v. American Civil Liberties Union, Greater

Pittsburgh Chapter, 492 U.S. 573, 595, n. 46, 109 S.Ct.

3086, 3102, n. 46 106 L.Ed.2d 472 (1989), !°

In this case, the Court finds persuasive those cases that

have determined solemnization to be a secular purpose of

graduation prayer and concludes that the benediction and

“But see Harris v. Joint School Dist. No. 241, 41 F.3d 447,

458 (9th Cir. 1994), petition for cert. filed, 63 USLW 3599 (Jan.

31, 1995) (finding no secular purpose in high school graduation

prayers).

a-53

invocation at issue here serve such a function. We do not

find that the preeminent purpose of the invocation and

benediction in question to be religious. The religious

nature of a prayer is largely determined by the context of

which it is a part, the entity to whom it is addressed, and

the participants in it. A ceremonial prayer led by the

President of the United States or by the Chaplain of

Congress does not have the same religious content as a

prayer offered during a particular religious body’s worship

services. Prayer at a university-wide commencement,

which lasts a few seconds and comprises a minute portion

of the overall ceremony, differs substantially from prayer

at a baccalaureate service, which is expressly religious.

Moreover, the Court finds compelling the secondary

secular purpose of continuing to include an invocation and

benediction as part of a 155-year old university tradition.

See Marsh v. Chambers, 463 U.S. 783, 786, 790, 792,

103 S.Ct. 3330, 3333, 3335, 3336, 77 L.Ed.2d 1019

(1983). For these reasons, the Court holds that the secular

purpose prong of the Lemon test has been satisfied.

(2). Primary Effect to Advance Religion

Under the second prong of Lemon, the key inquiry is

whether the university’s decision to have a commencement

invocation and benediction sends primarily a message of

endorsement or disapproval of religion. See Corporation

of Presiding Bishop of the Church of Jesus Christ of

Latter-Day Saints v. Amos, 483 U.S. 327, 337, 107 S.Ct.

2862, 2869, 97 L.Ed.2d 273 (1987) ("[T]o have forbidden

’effects’ under Lemon, it must be fair to say that the

government itself has advanced religion through its own

activities and influence."); County of Allegheny v.

ACLU, 492 U.S. 573, 592-93, 109 S.Ct. 3086, 3100-01,

106 L.Ed.2d 472 (1989); Wallace v. Jaffree, 472 U.S. at

a-54

75, 105 S.Ct. at 2499; Lynch, 465 U.S. at 692, 104

S.Ct. at 1369 (O’Connor, J., concurring). In School Dist.

of City of Grand Rapids v. Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 105

S.Ct. 3216, 3226, 87 L.Ed.2d 267 (1985), the Supreme

Court observed that "an important concern of the effects

test is whether the symbolic union of church and state

effected by the challenged governmental action is

sufficiently likely to be perceived by adherents of the

controlling denominations as an endorsement, and by the

non-adherents as a disapproval, of their individual

religious choices."

In this case, given the non-sectarian and brief nature of

the invocation and benediction, as well as the

sophistication of the audience and the university setting,

we find that adherents and nonadherents alike could not

perceive the two prayers as either endorsing or denigrating

their particular religious choices or religion generally. See

Jones, 977 F.2d at 967 (finding that because a student-led

prayer did not increase the religious conviction among

graduation attendees by attracting new believers or

increasing faith of faithful, effects prong was satisfied).

To hold otherwise is to ignore that the educative mission

of the University is to expose developing young adults to a

universe of new ideas and beliefs, most of which the

University claims no special allegiance to. Unlike

elementary and secondary school children for whom courts

have repeatedly shown heightened concer, see Ball, 473

U.S. at 390, 105 S.Ct. at 3226; Fleischfresser, 15 F.3d at

686; Sherman, 8 F.3d at 1166, adults who have

matriculated to the university level and particularly

Plaintiffs, who have completed graduate-level training, do

not require the Court's protection: niversity students are,

of course, young adults. They are less impressionable

a-55

than younger students and should be able to appreciate that

the University’s policy is one of neutrality toward religion.

Widmar, 454 U.S. at 274 n. 14, 102 S.Ct. at 276-77 n. 14

(internal quotations and citation omitted). Thus, a

30-second prayer delivered as part of larger secular

ceremony "would no more commit the University ... to

religious goals than it is now committed to the goals of the

Students for a Democratic Society [or] the Young Socialist

Alliance." Id. at 274, 102 S.Ct. at 276 (internal quotation

marks omitted). Indeed, Professor Tanford, an adherent

of the Roman Catholic faith, has admitted as much when

he stated that he does not view the non-sectarian prayer as

endorsing any particular religion or influencing people’s

religious beliefs. See Tanford Depo. at 42-43.

The Court realizes that there are situations where

benedictions or invocations could become so sectarian,

fervent or dogmatic as to send a message of disapproval of

non-adherents’ beliefs.'' Even Plaintiffs seem to expect,

however, that the brief invocation and benediction at issue

here will not be of that nature.’ Thus, based on the

factual record before us, the Court finds that the Plaintiffs

'l Although it is reasonable to assume that Indiana University

would have altered its practices at each of its satellite campuses

had the outcome of this motion been different, we emphasize that

the invocations and benedictions recited at IU’s other campuses are

not before us. Rather, Plaintiffs constructed their lawsuit to

challenge only the Bloomington campus’ university-wide

ceremony.

'2Professor Tanford, for example, describes the prayers as

merely “offensive” because they represent a "watered down

nonsectarian civic religion.” (Tanford Dep. at p. 28).

a-56

‘—_—oia

have not demonstrated a likelihood of succeeding on the

second prong of Lemon.

(3). Excessive Entanglement

Plaintiffs maintain that the invocation and benediction

violate the excessive entanglement prong of the Lemon test

because the University would be required to monitor the

content of the prayers in order to ensure that inappropriate

prayers are not given. Defendants respond that any

monitoring is at most de minimis because the university ’s

involvement is limited to inviting the clergypersons and

giving general suggestions that the invocation and

benediction be uplifting.

In Lemon, the Supreme Court considered whether a

Rhode Island statute paying a portion of private school

teachers’ salaries for their secular Classes constituted

excessive entanglement. The Court explained that the

excessive entanglement inquiry encompasses an

examination of "the character and Purposes of the

institution that are benefited, the nature of the aid that the

State provides, and the resulting relationship between the

government and the religious authorities." Lemon, 403

U.S. at 613, 91 S.Ct. at 2111. Because the state would

have to ensure that the money was not being used for

religious purposes, the Court concluded that "[a]

comprehensive, discriminating, and continuing state

surveillance will inevitably be required to ensure that these

restrictions are obeyed and the First Amendment otherwise

respected." Id. at 616, 91 S.Ct. at 2113.

Since Lemon, Supreme Court cases relying on the

excessive entanglement prong have largely involved an

enduring association between state and religious

institutions. Often the cases involved state aid to religious

or parochial institutions for particular secular purposes.

a-57

See, e.g., Lemon, 403 U.S. 602, 91 S.Ct. 2105, 29

L.Ed.2d 745; Ball, 473 U.S. 373, 390, 105 S.Ct. 3216,

3226, 87 L.Ed.2d 267 (sending government teachers to

private schools to teach secular classes constituted

excessive entanglement). Other cases have involved

government delegations of power to religious bodies. See,

e.g., Larkin v. Grendel’s Den, 456 U.S. 913, 102 S.Ct.

1765, 72 L.Ed.2d 171 (1982) (statute giving

church-affiliated schools power to veto nearby liquor

licenses struck down as excessive entanglement).

Thus, in light of this caselaw, the Court finds that the

mere presence of a religious figure on the commencement

stage is not excessive entanglement. In order for the

entanglement to be excessive, the interplay between church

and state must be more pervasive and burdensome. Nor is

the limited influence that University officials traditionally

exercise over the content of the prayers excessive. The

University’s alleged monitoring of the graduation cleric’s

prayers simply consists of the selection of a cleric and a

reminder to him or her to include an uplifting, general

message. Such interaction does not require that "a

particular religion ... endure the ongoing presence of state

personnel whose primary purpose is to monitor" prayer

contents in "an attempt to guard against the infiltration of

religious thought." Aguilar v. Felton, 473 U.S. 402, 413,

105 S.Ct. 3232, 3238, 87 L.Ed.2d 290 (1985). Nor does

it necessitate frequent contacts between University officials

and local clergy. Thus, because the degree of

entanglement in the instant case is relatively minor when

compared with other Establishment Clause cases, the

Court finds that Plaintiffs are unlikely to succeed on the

merits of prong three.

a-58

In short, we find that the Plaintiffs have failed to

establish a likelihood of Succeeding on the merits under

any of Lemon’s three prongs.

V. CONCLUSION

The issues presented by this motion are both legally

and philosophically difficult. The Caselaw, as well as our

consciences, require that we honor two competing

precepts: that what might begin as a tolerant expression

of religious views may end in a policy to indoctrinate and

coerce in the hands of the government; and almost

paradoxically, that a "relentless and all-pervasive attempt

to exclude religion from every aspect of public life could

itself become inconsistent with the Constitution." Lee,

505 U.S. at ----, 112 S.Ct. at 5661. As the Supreme

Court’s splintered opinions and seemingly inconsistent

results in this area imply, the line between religious

indoctrination and government accommodation is often

obscure or illusory. Nevertheless, the true measure of

constitutional adjudication "is the ability and willingness to

distinguish between real threat and mere shadow."

Abington School Dist. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 203, 308, 83

S.Ct. 1560, 1616, 10 L.Ed.2d 344 (1963).

Yet we caution both sides not to become so dazzled by the

art of their craft that a mutually beneficial accommodation

is ignored. Both sides’ briefs are replete with common

sense arrangements that could be made, thus obviating the

need for further court Supervision. The Court does not

mean to suggest that the appropriateness of a benediction

at IU’s commencement is not a legitimate issue for

discussion. The best oracle for the declaration of religious

a-59

norms, however, is in the community itself and not the

federal courthouse.’ Thus, for the reasons stated above,

we DISMISS FOR LACK OF STANDING Plaintiff David

Suess and DENY Plaintiffs’ motion for a preliminary

injunction.

It is so ORDERED.

'3In this respect, the Court joins in the sentiments of Judge

Guy of the Sixth Circuit: In this age, [a state-sponsored religious

activity] might reflect some insensitivity to the diversity that is

now America. But let us tackle the problem with some good old

Yankee ingenuity--lobby for a course in comparative religions; ...

form a Zen Buddhist club; wear a t-shirt proclaiming the virtues

of agnosticism; but, if I am permitted to use the expression, for

heavens’s sake, stay out of the courthouse and quit trivializing the

Constitution. Washegesic v. Bloomingdale Public Schools, 33 F.3d

679, 685 (6th Cir.1994) (Guy, J., concurring).

a-60

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.