Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cavallo v. Star Enterprise

Supreme Court brief1998

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.8. !)

rina @

N°. —9-64-4-9-S-MAR+ 9 1997

TOR OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the Chited States

October Term 1996

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Petitioner,

v.

STAR ENTERPRISE; TEXACO REFINING

AND MARKETING (EAST), INCORPORATED;

and SAUDI REFINING, INC.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CiRCUIT

Petition for A Writ of Certiorari

William A. Beeton, Jr.*

Allen H. Sachsel

Counsel for Petitioner

10521 Judicial Drive

Suite 307

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

(703) 385-9400

* Counsel of Record

THE LEX GROUP ¢ 1205 East Main Street @ Suite 2 East ¢ Richmond, VA 23219

(804) 644-4419 @ (800) 856-4419 @ Fax: (804) 644-3256

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether in reviewing the district court's application of

Daubert v. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. 579

(1993), to exclude expert scientific testimony, the Fourth

Circuit erroneously applied the most highly deferential abuse

of discretion standard of review.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED.........:ccccseseseseses sesseessnenenenenenenenens i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...........ccccssssssssecessceessrennsossonses iv

OPINIONS BELOW. ........ccccerssscccsssenssscsssnsscsesenccserccsesssenncsnesss l

FETTER TIC TION iacscetivccesecrcsecsossnvessvaccsoresseencensseocsnrvesnsaasneseessns |

FE TIVO VED vaicenscsctarisvasceacsenscessisespsvepectoosyesseveaseasenrsans 2

Ae EEE svi ccicepissassavssaciiacdoscivencessiesegeceazconssacsenesyes Rare

I. Factual Background ..............cccssesssesseoeseeenes 2

Il. Proceedings Below. ........ssssscsssseesenesesseeses 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT .ssssssssccccscsssssssseseeeesceeseeee

I, SRRING cs inlcocadscnicahosibgunidirselamacininynvestiniubeatbn 5

If. Conflict In the Circuits On An Important

CHUESTION ccssssevcsssecvovcisnvessnsneneaccnrsnenessayenvasenroute 6

A. TIMPOTtANCe .........c.s.srererersrsssesenersreenens 6

B. FE CIS sick esvscvanscenesvntccsniseasvtns 8

3 The “Manifestly

Erroneous” Standard ............. 9

Z The Deferential “Abuse

of Discretion” Standard....... 11

3. Different Standards For

Various Parts of

Admissibility Rulings ......... 12

Il. THE NEED FOR CLARIFICATION ............c00000ee 13

Hak ERIN eet Ma anT EMRE OMEN Sik wii Ne SES 15

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

entered November 20, 1996 .......................0000eeeeeeee A.l

Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia,

Granting Motion in Limine

ET MS hk ie kiccccinsindesctncdcsacavidsceateiwnenccs: A.23

Opinion of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia

OTIS FEY FER, PIS i sccsktkensiscnssnsssscpiccioscceconsans A.2>

Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia,

Granting Summary Judgment

EOI PRN FB Pe ssiik insivasistsscnccnicdtiviicniariantocss A.68

Memorandum and Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia,

granting FRCP Rule 12(b)(6) Motion to Dismiss

CCREROD SULCRRTY FUE FIGS cvissceisaisdvsrnpivrsoncscrenceboans A.69

iil

Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia,

Denying Motion for Reconsideration

entered August 10, 1995 .......:ccseeeerseenseneens A.74

Order of the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia,

Denying Motion for Reconsideration

entered August 1, 1995 ......gcccccssecsesereeseresssrenesses A.76

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit,

Denying Petition for Rehearing

with Suggestion for Rehearing in banc

entered December 19, 1996........ccsessecseesseeeeseees A.79

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Ambrossini v. Labarraque,

966 F.2d 1464 (D.C. Cir 1992) wu... cseccereereeeensenens

Ambrossini v. Labarraque,

101 F.3d 129 (D.C. Cir. 1996) .......ccssssserseresrennes 2,9

American & Foreign Ins. C. V. General Elec. Co.,

45 F.3d 135 (6th Cir. 1995).......0ccsecscsesssoosooeses 10, 13

Benedi v. McNeil -- P.P.C., Inc..

66 F.3d 1378 (4th Cir. 1995)............cccssasseserssncesnseseees 7

Bradley v. Brown,

42 F.3d 434 (7th Cir. 1994)........ccccssreecersesserseeonenes 10

iv

Christopherson v. Allied-Signal Corp.,

939 F.2d 1106 (Sth Cir, 1991),

certiorari denied, S03 U.S. 912..0.....cccesecssecsccccsssseess 10

City of Greenville v. W.R. Grace Co.,

Ret Fie Ota LET hiinlsuii 7

Claar v. Burlington N.R._R.,

EF FM OPM GE, PID ine scks Sess csesetic he 1]

Compton v. Subaru of America, Inc.,

Be CIO ODES CAO aE SIG isseisiiccscshcsserssscauins. ce 11

Cook v. American S.S. Co.,

Da ede Fad Ce OM Ae oe 10, 13

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp,,

CR Sa: BULLIED petcebiiiicsecnminnnladn bits 8. 13

Daubert y. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals. Inc.,

509 U.S. 579 (1993) ......... i, 4, 5, 6, 10, 11, 12, 13. 14

Deimer v. Cincinnati Sub-Zero Prods., Inc..

mae Tee CIE Pc 10

DeLuca vy. Merril Dow Pharmaceuticals. Inec..,

911 F.2d 941 (3rd Cir. 0, SRN SR GAP SHEAR eatin a 13

Duffee v. Murray Ohio Manufacturing Co.,

1 F.3d 1410 (10th Cir, 1996)... cccecececcceeee. 11,12, 13

Eiland v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp.,

BF GN, BO iivsiisccevsisssnsrdncnntvcecs kin, 10

Ferebee v. Chevron Chemical Co.,

FOE oe AAT LIPASE: LORS) cxersisrriserrnsesiscarnneins 7

Frye v. United States,

Be is CE Cas Sills TDD wenvnicdepsecssnsencnrseonmnnnsece 5,6

Gier v. Educational Service Unit,

Oe Fee Fe ele BF itrecetnasccnins sdnvenmnsinecnvisiessns 1]

Joiner v. General Electric Co.,

78 F.3d (11th Cir. 1996),

certiorari granted (March 17, 1997),

PA 1,4, 6, 7,8

Joy v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc.,

999 F.2d $49 (D.C. Cir. 1993..........soserss biGaremae 1]

Lust v. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,

ee Fee Te REE, FP ate sisscobionseisatoscesaicsiavianus 1]

McCullock v. H.B. Fuller Co.,

OB ae cs 8 8 aS 9) EER RN aietorer ost 10

In re Paoli R.R. PCB Litigation,

35 F.3d 717 (3d Cir. 1994),

certiorari denied sub nom.

General Electric Co. vy. Ingram,

ob Me is a Oe Se OE A RI Basset eoklons 4,7,8

Pedraza v. Jones,

FEF Fe CS FONE rcrccieateiteninininaioien 10

Rogers v. Raymark Industries, Inc.,

PPE FE F506 CO. EDGED sesaixccscrecnesssscnccssstvinsses 1]

vi

Rosada vy. Deters,

5 F.3d 119 (Sth Cir, gg | AOR RED 10

Salem vy. United States Lines Co.,

FORMA AVE CERT a iclhain aid. 6,9

Spring Co. v. Edgar,

id sid gh shade, Eo ICI alt NS ER OTE 6

United States v. 14.38 Acres of Land, Sit. in Leflore Cty., MS,

wu F306 1074 (Sth Gr, POG 10

United States v. Bonds,

12 F.3d 540 (6th Cir. 3 ROSE Se 10

United States v. Brown,

776 F.2d 397 (2d Cir. 1985),

certiorari denied, 475 U.S. 1141 (1986)..cccccccccssccoccoes 9

United States v. Daccarett,

OF oor eC eet BR

United States v. Davis,

40 F.3d 1069 (10th Cir. 1994),

certiorari denied. J.5, :

Rae See AARP OURO cr 1]

United States v. Green,

548 F.2d 1261 (6th Cir. 8 ROSA EAPO ey 10

United States y. Rincon,

28 F.3d 921 (9th Cir. 1994),

certiorari denied, U.S. :

IP ee OP iioiei i 1]

Vii

United States v. Sepulveda,

Se ge” BES Ce MR 5 | eR agai a ean ter 9

United States v. Shay,

Fe Ee Fe AEE ils POT EE cecrcssvctdincescievinviaininintenieants 9

Ventura v. Titan Sports, Inc.,

65 F.3d 725 (8th Cir. 1995),

certiorari denied, __US.__,

SE Bi ok PE EE ED vcesininisasustessnsnspcanvevencsonavsoenoves 1]

Watkins v. Schriver,

Fe EE Saath 8 Fe Pica vnerntnnsadsnstevanconensanbancinces 1]

Wells vy. Ortho Pharmaceutical Corp.,

788 F.2d 741 (11th Cir. 1986),

rehearing in banc denied, 795 F.2d 89 (1986),

certiorari denied, 479 U.S. 950 (1986)... 8

Statutesand Rules:

Ber ee ici ch shash, abn eiae cevand snianesataiiamnaueueiesibniondecdh 2

2ZQtA.3.C. (BBZC/CID «6+ 62 86 0 te Ree

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 12(b)(6)............c008 3

Federal Rules OF EVIGGHCE ....0...cscrssesvseees sopesussesorsecesere 5, 32,13

Te cial 2

Vill

eS re er rae

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Ardith Cavallo respectfully seeks a writ of certiorari to

review that part of the judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit in this matter, which, based on

the district court’s exclusion of expert scientific testimony,

affirmed a summary judgment dismissing Count I of her

complaint. This case and General Electric Co. v. Joiner (No.

96-188), in which certiorari was granted on March 17, 1997,

present the same major issue. Either consideration with No.

96-188, or deferral of a ruling on this Petition until after

decision in No. 96-188 is appropriate.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (A.1)' is reported

at 100 F.3d 1150. The opinion of the district court (A.25) is

reported at 892 F.Supp. 756. The district court orders in

accordance with its opinion (A.23,68) are unreported. An

earlier district court memorandum opinion and _ order

dismissing three counts of the complaint not involved in this

Petition (A. 69) is unreported. The orders of the district court

denying reconsideration (A.74-78) are not officially reported.

The order of the court of appeals (A.79) denying rehearing and

a suggestion for rehearing in banc is not officially reported.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered

November 20, 1996. A timely petition for rehearing with a

suggestion for rehearing ‘n banc was denied on December 19,

' “A.” references are to the Appendix, which is bound in this

volume.

EE

1996. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. 1254(1).

RULE INVOLVED

Rule 702 of the Federal Rules of Evidence provides:

Testimony by Experts. If scientific, technical.

or other specialized knowledge will assist the

trier of fact to understand the evidence or to

determine a fact in issue, a witness qualified as

an expert by knowledge, skill, experience,

training, or education, may testify thereto in the

form of an opinion or otherwise.

STATEMENT

I. Factual Background

This case, instituted under 28 U.S.C. 1332(a)(1), arises

from ongoing problems with a petroleum tank farm located in

Fairfax County, Virginia, in close proximity to a residential

and shopping area.” Around Midnight on December 9, 1991.

Ardith Cavallo left a restaurant in a shopping center adjacent

to the tank farm. She and her husband walked to their car.

They smelled oil, and Mrs. Cavallo began to experience

various physical reactions. Later it was learned that Star

negligently had spilled 34,000 gallons of aviation jet fuel

(“AvJet”).

Mrs. Cavallo’s symptoms worsened. She saw various

physicians and received varying diagnoses. Ultimately, she

,

: The facility is operated by Star Enterprise, a joint venture

partnership between Texaco Refining and Marketing (East), Incorporated,

and Saudi Refining, Inc. It has been the subject of considerable litigation.

2

was diagnosed with Reactive Airways Disfunction Syndrome

(“RADS”), a medically recognized condition which creates a

heightened sensitivity to chemicals, and which is caused by an

initial “insult” or exposure to high concentrations of

chemicals, such as those in petroleum products.

Il. Proceedings Below

Mrs. Cavallo sued, inter alia, for personal injuries

caused by the spill.” Summary judgment was entered against

her based on the grant of a motion in limine excluding the

testimony of her proposed expert witnesses -- Joseph A.

Bellanti, M.D., her treating physician, who is head of the

Department of Allergy and Immunology at Georgetown

University Medical Center, and Dr. David Monroe, a

toxicologist -- as to the sensitizing effect of the 1991 spill

upon her.

The district court held that Dr. Bellanti, who, as stated

above, is a preeminent allergist and immunologist, and Mrs.

Cavallos treating physician, could not testify as to the etiology

of Mrs. Cavallo’s illness because he did not follow the

methodology of toxicology in reaching his conclusions (A.59-

62). It also held the testimony of Dr. David Monroe, a

toxicologist, inadmissible because it believed his methodology

flawed in that he could not cite specific studies involving

AvJet (A.38-48, 54).

3 ‘ : . os

The complaint contains four counts. This Petition relates to Count

|, only. The district court dismissed the entire action (A.3). The November

20, 1996 court of appeals’ decision to which this Petition relates reversed

and remanded an FRCP Rule 12(b)(6) dismissal of the other three counts

which relate to ongoing personal injuries to Mrs. Cavallo and damage to

the Cavallos’ residential property located near the Star facility (A.21-22).

Lawrence Cavallo, Ardith Cavallo’s husband, who is not a party in this

Petition, also is a plaintiff seeking property damages in two of the

remanded counts.

The above conclusions were based on the district

court's misinterpretation >f this Court’s decision in Daubert v.

Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 509 U.S. $79 (1993), that

Daubert tightened the rules for admission of expert testimony,

stating (A.66):

Prior to Daubert, courts presented with this

Situation [admissibility of expert scientific

testimony] may have been more inclined to

admit the expert testimony and allow the jury,

aided by vigorous cross-examination, to sort

out the relative reliability of Opposing opinions.

But Daubert recognized the danger in this

approach.* * * Given this, Daubert assigned

district courts a more rigorous role to play in

ferreting out expert opinion not based on

scientific method.

The Fourth Circuit affirmed. It ruled that the district

court's call was a “close” question, applying the most

deferential abuse of discretion standard of abuse of discretion

standard of review possible, and rejecting as the proper

Standard of review a less deferential standard of review

adopted by the Third Circuit in Jn re Paoli RR. PCB

Litigation, 35 F.3d 717 (3d Cir. 1994), certiorari denied sub

nom. General Electric Co. v. Ingram, cw HSB

1253 (1995), by the Eleventh Circuit in Joiner v. General

Electric Co., 78 F.3d. 524 (11th Cir. 1996), certiorari granted

(March 17, 1997), No. 96-188,* and by the District of

4 Te . .

Joiner has three opinions. The majority adopts the Puolj

approach (see, infra), with the concurring opinion (78 F.3d at 534-535)

Suggesting that district judges appoint “an expert under Fed. R. Evid. 706,

to assist the court in evaluating scientific evidence.” The dissent believes

that “more precise explanation of the standard of review is required”,

namely, that there are “[t]hree standards in reviewing admissibility of

€xpert opinion; (1) trial court’s fact finding reviewed for clear error: (2)

4

care)

Columbia Circuit in Ambrosini v. Labarraque, 966 F.2d 1464,

1469 (D.C. Cir. 1992), and 101 F.3d 129, 131 (D.C. Cir.

1996). (A.6-7, 21).° In so doing, the Fourth Circuit affirmed

as a proper exercise of district court discretion a decision made

based on an erroneous district court view that Daubert

tightened the standards for admissibility of expert testimony

(see, supra, and A.66), even though the circuit court itself

recognized that Daubert liberalized the standards for

admission of such testimony (A.18-19), and that the district

court's approach was “restrictive” (A.21).°

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. Daubert

In Daubert, this Court held that the standard for

admissibility of expert scientific testimony no longer would be

that of “general acceptance” of the basis of the proposed

expert's opinion. The Federal Rules of Evidence, with their

liberal approach and preference for admissibility of evidence,

made the “general acceptance” test enunciated 70 years earlier

in Frye v. United States, 293 F. 1013, 1014 (D.C. Cir. 1923),

not the exclusive test for admissibility under the Federal Rules

of Evidence. 509 U.S. at 587-589. Instead, the Court held that

district judges should engage in a “flexible” inquiry

considering, by way of example, a number of non-exclusive

factors. 509 U.S. at 592-594.’ However, the Court, while

trial court's ruling whether opinion is scientific knowledge is question of

law requiring plenary review; and (3) trial court’s ruling whether opinion

assists the trier of fact is reviewed for abuse of discretion.” 78 F.3d at 535.

. Only Paoli is discussed in the Fourth Circuit’s opinion.

As stated, supra, even being most differential to the trial court's

rulings, the court of appeals called the question “close.”

: Factors listed by the Court are whether the proposed expert has

scientific knowledge that will assist the tier of fact (including on inquiry of

6

announcing a significant change in the law, did not consider

with this new approach whether in reviewing district court

rulings on admissibility the standard of review would remain

that stated 31 years earlier in Salem v. United States Lines ( 0.,

370 U.S. 31, 35 (1962), that “the trial judge has broad

discretion in the matter of the admission or exclusion of expert

evidence, and his action is to be sustained unless manifestly

erroneous.” To support the just quoted statement in Salem, the

Court cited Spring Co. v. Edgar, 99 U.S. 645, 658 (1879).

The Edgar standard of review, unexamined jin Daubert,

predates Frye by 44 years, and predates Daubert by well over

a century. It was formulated and applied long before, and

Without regard to, the Federal Rules of Evidence that are the

underpinnings of Daubert.

Il. Conflict In The Circuits On An Important Question

A. Importance

Expert testimony is becoming more and more critical

in an increasingly technical world. Ever more cases turn on its

admissibility. Accordingly, both the — standards for

admissibility in the trial courts, and the standard of review

applied by the courts of appeals to district court rulings on

admissibility under the Daubert criteria must be as uniform as

possible. Currently, such is not the case, and this Court should

resolve now the circuit conflicts as a major step toward

achieving both ends,

This uniformity concern is shared by both plaintiffs

and defendants. The Court. on March 17 1997, granted the

petition of defendants General Electric, et al., in No. 96-188 to

the validity of the methodology), whether the theory has been tested,

Whether it has been Subject to peer review, the potential error rate, and

possibly “general acceptance.” /d.

, : ue a . , 8 ‘

review the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Joiner. General

Electric’s Petition appropriately states at 6:

The issue of standard of review is fundamental

and surely will have to be resolved by this

Court. It is difficult to see any reason why the

time for review has not now come, particularly

when the disparity of review standards among

the Circuits means that judgments are being

reversed in some Circuits that would be

affirmed in others.””!

‘ Petitioners in No. 96-188 filed a Second Supplemental Brief

calling attention to, inter alia, the Fourth Circuit's decision in this case.

, In this case, the courts below erred. Dr. Bellanti testified to a

reasonable degree of medical certainty that Mrs. Cavallo’s condition was

caused by her exposure to AvJet. There “need not be a clearly established

animal or epidemiological studies before a doctor can testify that, in his

opinion, a relationship [between product exposure and physical harm]

exists . . . [a]s long as the basi: methodology to reach such a conclusion is

sound, such as use of tissue samples, standard tests, and patient

examination.” Ferebee v. Chevron Chemical Co., 756 F.2d 1529, 1535-

1536 (D.C. Cir. 1984). And, “a doctor does not always have to employ all

of these techniques in order for the doctor's differential diagnosis to be

reliable.” Paoli, supra, 35 F.3d at 759. Dr. Bellanti employed standard

medical techniques and tests to diagnose Mrs. Cavallo’s illness, and

accepted differential diagnosis to determine its cause.

Dr. Monroe was not required to cite specific epidemiological

studies regarding AvJet, or a specific study finding long term effects from

exposure to specific levels of many of the compounds in AvJet. The ruling

of the district court is inconsistent with cases from the Fourth Circuit, as

well as with other circuits. The decision conflicts with Benedi v. MlcNeil --

P.P.C., Inc., 66 F.3d 1378, 1384 (4th Cir. 1995) (“we do not read Daubert

as restricting expert testimony to opinions that are based solely on

epidemiological data), and with City of Greenville v. W.R. Grace Co., 827

F.2d 975, 980 n.2 (4th Cir. 1987) (extrapolation from effects of high levels

of exposure to low levels permissible, and liability need not wait until

people actually get sick from low level exposure). It also is at odds with

Ferebee, supra, 736 F.2d at 1535 (“a cause and effect relationship need not

be clearly established by epidemiological studies before a doctor can testify

B. The Conflicts

Nine circuits hold that trial court determinations to

exclude expert testimony are to be reviewed either under a

traditional and highly deferential abuse of discretion standard,

or for “manifest error.”'° Three circuits -- the Third, the

Eleventh, and the District of Columbia Circuit -- take the

position that when exclusion of expert scientific testimony

results in either a summary judgment or a directed verdict. the

review is more searching and less deferential than other

rulings regarding admissibility of evidence. In Paoli. the

Third Circuit described this review as a “hard look.” 35 F.3d at

749. It reasoned that the liberal thrust of the Federal Rules of

Evidence, their preference for admissibility, and the fact that

the appellate court is in as good as the trial court to make the

evaluation, require a more Stringent and less deferential

standard of appellate review. Jd at 749-750.

The Eleventh Circuit in Joiner adopted the Paoli

standard of review, writing that, “[bJecause the Federal Rules

of Evidence governing expert testimony display a preference

for admissibility, we apply a particularly stringent standard of

review to the trial judge’s exclusion of expert testimony” (78

F.3d at 529). The District of Columbia Circuit has ruled

similarly, stating that review of a summary judgment is de

novo, and “that ‘when a court denies the right to have a jury

decide a disputed issue, especially one of a scientific nature. its

that, in his opinion, such a relationship exists”), and Wells v. Ortho

Pharmaceutical Corp., 788 F.2d 741, (11th Cir. 1986), rehearing in banc

denied, 795 F.2d 89 (1986), certiorari denied, 479 US. 950 (1986)

(“Plaintiffs’ burden . . . did not necessarily require them to produce

scientific studies showing a Statistically significant association . . . [of]

malformations in a large population”).

See n. 13, infra.

These two standards are essentially the same, described by

different terminology. See Cooter & Gell vy. Hartmarx Corp., 496 U.S.

384, 401 (1990) (in reviewing findings of fact “the abuse of discretion and

clearly erroneous standards are indistinguishable”).

i0

:

é

:

reasons for doing so must be strong.’"” Ambrosini v.

Labarraque, 101 F.3d 129, 131 (D.C. Cir. 1996), quoting from

Ambrosini v. Labarraque, 966 F.2d 1464, 1469 (D.C. Cir.

1992).'' But see Joy v. Bell Helicopter Textron, Inc., 999 F.2d

549, 567 (D.C. Cir. 1993) (trial judges are to be allowed

“broad discretion” in determining admissibility of expert

scientific testimony).

The positions of the circuits, other than the Third,

Fourth, Eleventh, and District of Columbia Circuits are

summarized below:'”

1. The “Manifestly Erroneous” Standard

Six Circuits state the standard of review as “manifestly

erroneous. ”

First Circuit -- “Because gauging an expert witness’s

usefulness is almost always a case-specific inquiry .. . a trial

judge's rulings in this sphere should be upheld ‘unless

manifestly erroneous.’” United States v. Sepulveda, 15 F.3d

1161, 1183 (1st Cir. 1993), citing Salem v. United States Lines

Co., supra, 370 U.S. at 35. See also United States v. Shay, 57

F.3d 126, 132 (1st Cir. 1995) (“district court’s decision to

admit or exclude expert testimony is entitled to great

deference’).

Second Circuit -- “A decision to allow expert

testimony is within the broad discretion of the trial judge and

‘is to be sustained on appeal unless manifestly erroneous.””

United States v. Daccarett, 6 F.3d 37, 58 (2d Cir. 1993),

quoting United States v. Brown, 776 F.2d 397, 400 (2d Cir.

i Petitioners in No. 96-188 believe the District of Columbia Circuit

applies an “abuse of discretion” standard of review. In light of the recent

decision in Ambrosini, we believe that is an inaccurate statement,

” The summary in points | and 2, following, is taken in part from

the Petition in No. 96-188.

1985), certiorari denied, 475 US. 1'41 (1986): MfeCullock y

H.B. Fuller Co., 61 F.3d 1038. 1042 (2d Cir. 1995).

Fifth Circuit -- The Fifth Circuit holds that under

Daubert “a trial court is accorded a wide berth to determine

the admissibility of expert testimony.” United States v. 14.38

Acres of Land, Sit. in Leflore Cty. MS, 80 F.3d 1074, 1077 (Sth

Cir, 1996). “A trial court’s ruling regarding admissibility of

expert testimony is protected by an ambit of discretion and

must be sustained unless manifestly erroneous.” Rosada y

Deters, 5 F.3d 119, 124 (Sth Cir. 1993), quoting

Christophersen y. Allied-Signal Corp., 939 F.2d 1106, 1109

(Sth Cir. 1991), certiorari denied, 503 U.S. 912 (1992). See

also Pedraza v. Jones, 71 F.3d 194, 197 (Sth. Cir. 1995)

(“district court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to

consider the affidavit as expert testimony”); Ejiland

Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 58 F.3d 176, 180 (Sth Cir. 1995)

(“manifestly erroneous’’).

Sixth Circuit -- In applying Daubert, “{a] trial court

‘has broad discretion in the matter of the admission or

exclusion of expert evidence, and [the court’s] action is to be

sustained unless manifestly erroneous.’” Ame» igan & Foreign

Ins. Co. v. General Elec. Co., 45 F.3d 135137 (6th Cir.

1995), quoting Salem v. United States Lines supra, 370

U.S. at 35; United States vy. Bonds. 12 F 34340, 554 (6th Cir.

1993) (“the trial court’s actions are to be sustained unless

‘manifestly erroneous”), quoting United States v. Green. 348

F.2d 1261, 1268 (6th Cir. 1977). But see Cook v. American

SS. Co., 53 F.3d 733. 738 (6th Cir. 1995) (review of Rule 70?

decisions may involve three different standards of review).

See n. 4, supra, and pp. 12-13 . infra.

Seventh Circuit -- Under Daubert, “we will not disturb

the district court's findings unless they are manifestly

erroneous.” Bradley v. Brown, 42 F.3d 434, 436-37 (7th Cir.

1994); Deimer v. Cincinnati Sub-Zero Prods., Inc.. 58 F.3d

341, 344 (7th Cir. 1995).

10

4

4

P|

;

:

a

PROMOS of AS

Ninth Circuit -- “We review de nove the district court's

interpretation of the Federal Rules of Evidence and will

uphold its decision to exclude expert testimony unless it is

‘manifestly erroneous.’” Claar y. Burlington N.R.R., 29 F.3d

499, 500-C1 (9th Cir. 1994), quoting Rogers v. Raymark

Industries, Inc., 922 F.2d 1426, 1429 (9th Cir. 1991); United

States v. Rincon, 28 F.3d 921, 923 (9th Cir. 1994), certiorari

denied, __ U.S. __, 115 S. Ct. 605 (1994). See also Lust v.

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 89 F.3d 594, 597 (9th Cir.

1996) (“[t]he abuse of discretion standard applies to an F.R.E.

702 ruling even though the ruling was dispositive of a motion

for summary judgment”).

2. The Deferential “Abuse of Discretion” Standard

Without using the phrase “manifestly erroneous”, two

circuits, in addition to the Fourth, review for abuse of

discretion, emphasizing that great deference is to be accorded

trial court rulings on admissibility.

Eighth Circuit -- The Eighth Circuit holds that district

court exclusions of expert testimony under Daubert will be

affirmed unless there was “a clear abuse of discretion.” Gier

v. Educational Service Unit, 66 F.3d 940, 944 (8th Cir. 1995);

Ventura v. Titan Sports, Inc., 65 F.3d 725, 735 (8th Cir. 1995),

certiorari denied, _ U.S. ___, 116 S. Ct. 1268 (1996); Watkins

v. Schriver, 52 F.3d 769, 771 (8th Cir. 1995) (“[t}he district

court's ruling as to the exclusion of such testimony will be

reversed only for an abuse of discretion”).

Tenth Circuit -- Admissibility rulings under Daubert

“will be disturbed only for a clear abuse of discretion.” United

States v. Davis, 40 F.3d 1069 (10th Cir. 1994), certiorari

denied, _ U.S. ___, 115 S. Ct. 1387 and 1806 (1995). Accord:

Duffee v. Murray Ohio Manufacturing Co., 91 F.3d 1410,

1411 (10th Cir. 1996). But see Compton v. Subaru of

America, Inc., 82 F.3d 1513, 1517-1518 (10th Cir. 1996)

1]

(once it is determined that district court properly applied

Daubert, reversal may be only for abuse of discretion:

however, because “of the ‘liberal thrust of the Federal Rules’,

[citation omitted] we have instructed, ‘the touchstone of

admissibility . . . is helpfulness to the trier of fact’”),

3. Different Standards for Various Parts

of Admissibility Rulings

The conflict and confusion in the circuits goes beyond

generalized and broad statements of the applicable standard of

review. There is disagreement regarding whether different

standards of review apply to the various parts of the Daubert

analysis. In this case, the Fourth Circuit made no distinction

between the standard of review to be utilized in reviewing the

district court’s decision on the validity of the methodology

employed by the proposed scientific experts and that to be

used for evaluating a determination of whether the testimony

would be helpful to the jury. In other words. it held that a

highly deferential abuse of discretion standard of review

should be applied to al/ aspects of a trial court’s Daubert

rulings.'> Other circuits have ruled similarly. See, ¢.2.. Duffee

sg The Fourth Circuit erred no matter how Stringent the standard of

review. The trial court made its ruling based on an erroneous view of the

law, namely that Daubert was intended to restrict admissibility of expert

scientific testimony, stating erroneously (A.66) that “[pJrior to Dauhert

courts presented with this situation may have been more inclined to admit

the expert testimony and allow the jury, aided by vigorous cross

examination, to sort out the relative reliability of opposing expert

opinions.” Daubert holds exactly the Opposite -- that the Federal Rules of

Evidence Jiberalize admissibility. See Daubert, 509 US. at 596

(“conventional devices, (“vigorous cross examination, presentation of

contrary evidence, and careful instruction on the burden of proof’) rather

than wholesale exclusion . . . are the appropriate safeguards”). The “district

court... necessarily . . . abuse [d] its discretion [by] bas[ing] its ruling on

12

ae

Sethe

‘ are

eer et err

v. Murray Ohio Manufacturing Co., supra, 91 F.3d at 1411,

United States v. Daccarett, supra, 6 F.3d at 59, American &

Foreign Ins. C. v. General Elec. Co., supra, 45 F.3d at 137,

139. Indeed, it is safe to say that most courts that use either

the “manifestly erroneous”, or the abuse of discretion standard

of review apply that standard to all aspects of district court

Daubert rulings.

By contrast, as Judge Smith wrote in his dissent in

Joiner (see n. 4, supra), and as he believes should be the case,

other circuit courts have applied different standards of review

to the various parts of the Daubert screening process -- fact

finding reviewed for clear error, or whether clearly erroneous,

methodology determination reviewed as question of law, ie.,

plenary or de novo review; ruling regarding assistance of

evidence to trier of fact reviewed for abuse of discretion. That

multi-faceted standard has been used by some courts. See,

e.g, Cook v. American SS. Co., supra, 53 F.3d at 738.

Compare Paoli, supra (“A district court’s ruling on

admissibility of evidence is reviewed for abuse of discretion,

but to the extent the district court’s ruling tums on an

interpretation of a Federal Rule of Evidence review is

plenary’”, quoting DeLuca v. Merrill Dow Pharmaceuticals,

Inc., 911 F.2d 941, 944 (3d Cir. 1994)).

ill. The Need For Clarification

In 1962, this Court held in Salem v. United States

Lines Co., supra, that the standard of review for rulings on

admission or exclusion of expert testimony was abuse of

discretion. Salem was decided when Frye's “general

acceptance” was the sole determinant of admissibility.

“General acceptance” did not mandate Daubert's detailed

an erroneous view of the law.” Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., supra,

496 U.S. at 405.

13

multi-part inquiry. Because of the change made by Daubert in

the task to be undertaken by district judges, it is appropriate

that the standard of review in the courts of appeals also be

reexamined.

Daubert was a significant change in the law. Without

clarification of other related aspects of law that Daubert

necessarily calls into question (as evidenced by the circuit

conflicts), the job remains only partly done. The issue and

consequences of this incompleteness, which increasingly

impact the entire Federal Judicial System, are much too

important and too far reaching to be left in flux. Whether a

traditional and highly differential abuse of discretion standard

applies, or to what part, or parts, of Daubert rulings it applies,

or whether the liberal thrust of the Federal Rules dictates

something else, especially in cases of exclusion. is a question

that must be answered by this Court.'* The circuit conflicts

will not resolve themselves. Further uncertainty as to both the

standard of review and its application is unwarranted. Uniform

standards must be set before the conflicts and confusions

become even more widespread. Additional delay in doing so

can only make the task more complex and difficult.

’s We note that rulings on admissibility of expert scientific

testimony involve analysis of considerations inapplicable to other

evidentiary rulings. A different standard therefore seems appropriate,

especially since some of the determinations are questions of law.

14

PAS yee aris: Rte

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, certiorari should be granted,

and this case should be considered with No. 96-188.

Alternatively, ruling on this Petition should be postponed until

after decision in No. 96-188.

Respectfully submitted,

William A. Beeton, Jr.*

Allen H. Sachsel

Counsel for Petitioner

10521 Judicial Drive

Suite 307

Fairfax, Virginia 22030

(703)385-9400

*Counsel of Record

15

APPENDIX

bi

2

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-2540

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

and

LAWRENCE CAVALLO,

: Plaintiff,

V.

STAR ENTERPRISE; TEXACO REFINING

AND MARKETING (EAST), INCORPORATED;

SAUDI REFINING, INC.,

Defendants-Appellees.

No. 95-2541

LAWRENCE CAVALLO,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

and

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Plaintiff,

¥.

A. 1

STAR ENTERPRISE; TEXACO REFINING

AND MARKETING (EAST), INCORPORATED;

SAUDI REFINING, INC..

Defendants-Appellees.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia, at Alexandria.

T. S. Ellis, III, District Judge;

Albert V. Bryan, Jr., Senior District Judge.

(CA-94-1499-A)

Argued: April 3, 1996

Decided: November 20. 1996

Entered: November 20, 1996

Before ERVIN, Circuit Judge, LAY, Senior Circuit Judge of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit,

sitting by designation, and TRAXLER, United States District

Judge for the District of South Carolina. sitting by designation.

Affirmed in part and reversed and remanded in part by

published opinion. Judge Ervin wrote the opinion, in which

Senior Judge Lay and Judge Traxler joined.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Allen Huberth Sachsel. Fairfax, Virginia, for

Appellants. Richard Edward Wallace. Jr, HOWREY &

SIMON, Washington, D.C... for Appellees. ON BRIEF: Mark

C. Hayes, LAW OFFICE OF MARK C. HAYES, P.C..,

Alexandria, Virginia; Donnell R. Fullerton, DONNELL R.

A.2

FULLERTON, P.C., Fairfax, Virginia; John E. Drury, LAW

OFFICE OF JOHN E. DRURY, Washington, D.C., for Appel-

lants. Anthony F. King, Nancy C. Libin, HOWREY &

SIMON, Washington, D.C., for Appellees.

OPINION

ERVIN, Circuit Judge:

Ardith and Lawrence Cavalle sued Star Enterprise, '

which operates a petroleum distribution terminal located near

their home, alleging various damages from an underground

petroleum release in 1990 and a fuel spill in 1991. Their

complaint included four causes of action: Count I--

“Negligence with Respect to AVJet Fuel Spill”; Count II--

“Negligent Petroleum Release and Negligent Abatement and

Remediation of the Petroleum Release”; Count III--"Common

Law Trespass”; and Count IV-- “Liability Under the State

Water Control Law.” The district court dismissed Counts I],

III, and IV under Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), holding that they

were barred by statutes of limitation and federal preemption.

After discovery, the court granted Star’s motion for summary

judgment on Count I.

The Cavallos appeal. They contend that the district

court applied an incorrect statute of limitation, misconstrued

federal preemption doctrine, and erred in excluding the

testimony of two of their experts.” We agree with the Cavallos

. Star Enterprise is a joint venture partnership between Texaco

Refining and Marketing (EAST), Inc., and Saudi Refining, Inc. We refer to

the defendants collectively as “Star.”

. In addition to the questions they raise in their opening brief, the

Cavallos add two new arguments in their Reply Brief: (1) that the statute of

limitation applicable to their trespass and statutory claims is five years

A.3

that the Complaint and the EPA Orders provide insufficient

information to determine whether their claims are preempted

Thus we reverse the court’s dismissal of Count II, that portion

of Count III containing the loss of use and enjoyment claim,

and Count IV and remand for further proceedings. We uphold

the dismissal of that portion of Count III containing the

personal injury claim, however, even though the court rested

its decision on preemption, because it fails to state a claim

under Virginia law. And we affirm the court’s summary

judgment on Count I, finding that the district court acted

within its discretion by excluding the expert testimony.

I

Star’s distribution terminal (“the Tank Farm’) is

located in Fairfax, Virginia, less than a mile west of the

Cavallos’ home. It includes office and warehouse space, a

truck >ading rack, underground Storage tanks holding up to

forty thousand gallons, and above-ground storage tanks

holding over seventeen million gallons. Drainage on the site is

rather than two years, and (2) that “[t]he district court erred by failing to

convert Star’s Rule 12(b)(6) motion into a motion for summary judgment

and by taking judicial notice of incomplete documents.” The Cavallos

abandoned the statute of limitation issue at oral argument, stating that they

Were not appealing it but might ask the district court to reconsider the

question if we remand. Also at oral argument, the Cavallos noted that they

had raised the conversion issue before the district court.

Under the decisions of this and the majority of circuits, an issue

first argued in a reply brief is not properly before a court of appeals. See

Hunt v. Nuth, 57 F.3d 1327, 1338 (4th Cir. 1995) (citing United States vy.

Caicedo-Llanos, 960 F.2d 158, 164 (D.C. Cir. 1992)), cert. denied. 116 S.

Ct. 724 (1996); 9 James Wm. Moore, Moore's Federal Practice q

228.02[2-3] (1995) (“The case law is to the effect that the appellant cannot

raise new issues in a reply brief. . . .”). That the question was raised in the

district court is immaterial. The Cavallos’ omission of the issue from their

initial brief denied Star an opportunity to respond, so considering it now

“would be unfair to the appellee and would risk an improvident or

ill-advised opinion on the legal issues raised.” Hunt, 57 F.3d at 1338.

A.4

controlled by a containment dike and an on-site pond--water

from the former is pumped into the latter--and the pond’s

contents are treated and released into local creeks.

On September 14, 1990, Fairfax residents noticed an

oil “sheen” on the surface of Crook Branch Creek. Star soon

acknowledged that a large amount of aviation fuel, diesel fuel,

and gasoline had leaked into the soil and groundwater.

Investigation by the Virginia State Water Control Board

revealed an underground “plume” of various fuels. Thereafter,

at the Board’s request, the Environmental Protection Agency

(“EPA”) assumed responsibility for the investigation pursuant

to the Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (“RCRA”) §

7003, 42 U.S.C. § 6973. The EPA and Star negotiated an

Administrative Consent Order--subsequently superseded by an

Administrative Order--which required Star to implement

corrective measures under EPA supervision. In accordance

with the Orders, the EPA assumed control of Star’s

remediation efforts on July 3, 1991.

Another significant spill occurred on December 9,

1991. A valve was left open, allegedly due to the negligence of

one of Star’s employees or agents, and thirty-four thousand

gallons of aviation fuel were released. The spill, contained by

the dike, remained on the Tank Farm grounds for two weeks.

On the evening of the 1991 spill, the Cavallos were

exposed to fuel vapors in a parking lot about five hundred feet

from the Tank Farm. Both noticed an oil-like odor, and Mrs.

Cavallo allegedly experienced an immediate irritating reaction.

She was treated by several doctors, including Dr. Joseph

Bellanti, Director of Allergy-Immunology at Georgetown

Medical Center. Dr. Bellanti testified that Mrs. Cavallo

suffered from sinusitis, conjunctivitis, and pulmonary

dysfunction. His testimony was complemented by that of Dr.

David Monroe, a toxicologist, who reported that the exposure

A.5

caused Mrs. Cavallo to experience burning eyes,

conjunctivitis, sinusitis, and throat irritation. In addition to

their exposure on the night of the 1991 spill, the Cavallos

claim that since that time they continually have been exposed

in their home to vapors from the Tank Farm. Mrs. Cavallo

alleges that she continues to suffer physical symptoms caused

by her exposure to the vapors, and both Cavallos claim

damage to their property.

I]

We review de novo the district court’s summary

judgments and 12(b)(6) dismissals. See, eg. Schatz v.

Rosenberg, 943 F.2d 485, 489 (4th Cir. 1991) (Rule 12(b)(6)

dismissal), cert, denied sub nom., Schatz v. W. 2inberg and

Green, 112 S. Ct. 1475 (1992); Goodman v. RTC. 7 F.3d

1123, 1126 (4th Cir. 1993) (summary judgment). But the

parties disagree on the standard by which we review the

district court’s decision to exclude expert testimony. The

Cavallos argue, quoting the Third Circuit's decision in Jn re

Paoli R.R. Yard PCB Litigation, that trial judges should not be

given the same deference in their decisions to exclude expert

evidence as they are given in their decisions about other types

of evidence:

The decision to exclude expert testimony

resulting in a summary judgment is subject to a

“hard look” review by the appeals court, i.e., a

less deferential review than the traditional

abuse of discretion standard in light of “a

significant risk that district judges will set the

threshold too high and will in fact force

appellants to prove their case twice.”

Brief of Appellants at 3 (quoting 35 F.3d 717, 733 (3d Cir.

1994)). As the defendants point out, however, this court

A.6

Pe ne eS ee =

recently reached the opposite conclusion. In Benedi vy.

McecNeil-P.P.C., Inc., a Fourth Circuit panel stated that

“Daubert [v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc.,| clearly

vests the district courts with discretion to determine the

admissibility of expert testimony.” 66 F.3d 1378, 1384 (4th

Cir. 1995) (citing 113 S. Ct. 2786 (1993)). Accordingly, we

review the district court’s decision only for abuse of

discretion.

IT]

A

The district court dismissed Count III which contained

both a personal injury claim by Mrs. Cavallo and a claim for

the loss of the use and enjoyment of the Cavallo’s real

property resulting from exposure to vapors under the federal

preemption doctrine. See complaint Para. 79. In addition to

defending the court’s preemption analysis, Star offers an

alternative ground for upholding the district court's dismissal.

Under Virginia law, it argues, the Cavallos must show

physical impact on their property, and “wafting vapors. . . [are]

insufficient as a matter of law.” To support its position, Star

cites another Fourth Circuit case involving the Tank

Farm--Adams vy. Star Enterprise, 51 F.3d 417, 422-25 (4th Cir.

1995).

The Adams plaintiffs, a group of landowners, sued for

diminution of their property values and for health risks

allegedly caused by their subdivision’s proximity to an

underground “plume” of petroleum products leaked from the

Tank Farm. The landowners did not claim that the plume

actually contaminated their soil, nor that they detected vapors

from the leak on their property. The harm they alleged

consisted of a stigma attached to their subdivision and a “fear

of being exposed to toxic materials.” /d. at 422 & n.5. The

A.7

court held that the landowners’ claims could not proceed,

because Virginia law allowed recovery only if “the activity or

condition complained of was actually physically perceptible

from the plaintiff[s’] property.” Jd at 422-23 (emphasis

added).

Star argues that “wafting vapors” are not “physically

perceptible” under Adams. We disagree. The context for the

Adams court’s focus on physical perception was its discussion

of Foley v. Harris, in which the Virginia Supreme Court

allowed recovery against a defendant whose wrecked cars

Were visible from the plaintiffs’ property. 286 S.E.2d 186.

190-91 (Va. 1982). The Adams court distinguished Foley

because the Foley plaintiffs, unlike those in Adams, could

sense the source of the offense from their own property.

Adams, 51 F.3d at 422-23. Smell, like sight, certainly

constitutes physical perception. And, although the Cavallos do

not allege that they smelled the vapors, the physical symptoms

Mrs. Cavallo suffered also might suffice. We conclude, based

upon Adams, that the portion of Count III relating to the loss

of use and enjoyment claim may be cognizable under Virginia

law and that it was error to dismiss it under Fed. R. Civ. P, 12

(b)(6) upon the alternative ground suggested by Star. Since the

damage alleged in Adams was based simply upon a fear of

future events and these allegations are much more direct, we

hold that they are sufficient to Sustain the loss of use and

enjoyment portion of Count III under Virginia law.

We reach a different result, however, with reference to

that portion of Count III asserting a personal injury claim by

Mrs. Cavallo. The Virginia Supreme Court stated in Foley

that” [t]he discomfort and annoyance [complained of] must . . .

be significant and of a kind that would be suffered by a normal

person in the community.” Foley, 286 S.E.2d at 190, 19]

(emphasis added). Mrs. Cavallo is not such a person; in fact,

she alleges specifically that she is"highly susceptible" to

A.8

.

te aes

i a

petroleum vapors. Complaint § 50. Hence, the personal injury

portion of Count III is not cognizable under Virginia law and

was properly dismissed.

B

An agreement between the parties treats all the

Cavallos’ claims as filed on December 8, 1993. The district

court ruled that all counts but Count I are necessarily barred by

the interaction of the statutes of limitation and federal

preemption, because: (1) the counts involve remediation

efforts at the Tank Farm, (2) the statutes of limitation bar all

claims based on events occurring before December 8, 1991,

and (3) preemption bars all claims based on events occurring

after September 1991, when the EPA took control of

remediation efforts. Because we affirm on other grounds the

district court’s dismissal of the physical injury claim in Count

III, supra part IIl.A, we limit our preemption analysis to

Count II, the portion of Count III containing the loss of use

and enjoyment claim, and Count IV only.

This court summarized the law of preemption in Worm

v. American Cyanamid Co.:

The principles of preemption resolve conflicts

between federal and state law on the authority

of Article VI of the Constitution, which

provides:

This Constitution, and the Laws of the

United States which shall be made in

Pursuance thereof . . .shall be the

supreme Law of the Land; and the

Judges in every State shall be bound

thereby, any Thing in the Constitution

A.9

or Laws of any State to the Contrary

notwithstanding.

U.S. Const. Art. VI. § 2. From this Supremacy

Clause flows the well-established principle that

federal legislation, if enacted pursuant to the

Congress’ constitutionally delegated authority,

can nullify conflicting state or local actions.

See, e.g. Gibbons vy. Ogden, 22 US. (9

Wheat.) 1, 210-11, 6 L.Ed. 23 (1824).

Preemption may occur on two bases, the first

of which turns on discovering the intent of

Congress. Congress may expressly provide that

federal law supplants state authority in a

particular field or its intent to do SO may be

inferred from its regulating so pervasively in

the field as not to leave sufficient vacancy

within which any state can act. See, e.g., Rice y.

Santa Fe Elevator Corp., 331 U.S. 218, 230.

67 S.Ct. 1146, 1152, 91 L.Ed. 1447 (1947).

But even absent an express or implied

congressional intent to preempt state authority

in a field, state law is nevertheless preempted

by operation of law to the extent that it actually

conflicts with federal law. See [J isconsin

Public Intervenor v. Mortier. —

111 S.Ct. 2476, 2482, 115 L.Ed.2d 532 (1991);

Pacific Gas & Elec. Co. y State Energy

Resources Conserv. & Dey Comm'n, 461 U.S.

190, 204, 103 S.Ct. 1713. 1722, 75 L.Ed.2d

752 (1983).

.. . When we address the question of whether

State law actually conflicts with federal law, we

resolve the more specific inquiries of whether

A.10

“it is impossible to comply with both state and

federal law” or “whether the state law stands as

an obstacle to the accomplishment of the full

purposes and objectives” of federal law. See

Silkwood v. Kerr-McGee Corp., 464 U.S. 238,

248, 104 S.Ct. 615, 621, 78 L.Ed.2d 443

(1984).

With these principles stated, we proceed to an

examination of [the statute in question], first to

determine if Congress intended by its

enactment to supplant state authority in the

field, and if not, whether state tort and warranty

law conflicts with the federal regulatory

scheme.

970 F.2d 1301, 1304-05 (4th Cir. 1992).

Two years after Worm, in Feikema v. Texaco, Inc., 16

F.3d 1408 (4th Cir. 1994), this court addressed whether

state-court relief would conflict with an EPA Consent Order.

The Feikema plaintiffs sought damages and an injunction

requiring

excavation, treatment and replacement of

contaminated soil to a specified depth and over

a specified area; . . . “enhanced ground water

extraction and bio-remediation to reduce the

off-site contamination”; and . . . construction of

a “free phase hydrocarbon trench removal

system across the water table.”

Id. at 1416. Because the EPA Order in Feikema focused on a

particular incident, and thus was not intended to supplant state

authority in the entire field, the court applied only the second,

actual-conflict prong of the Worm inquiry:

A.l1

[W]hen the EPA, acting within valid statutory

authority of the RCRA and not arbitrarily,

enters into a consent order, that order will also

preempt conflicting state regulation, including

a federal court order based on state common

mw... :

... [T]he test for determining whether state law

conflicts with federal law is whether “it is

impossible to comply with both state and

federal law” or whether “the state law stands as

an obstacle to the accomplishment of the full

purposes and objectives” of federal law.

Feikema, 16 F.3d at 1416 (quoting Worm , 970 F.2d at 1305)

(emphasis added) (other citations omitted). Noting that the

Consent Order “addresse[d] the same site and conditions

covered by the homeowners’ suit,” the Feikema_ court

determined that an injunction would conflict with the EPA's

activities and thus was preempted. /d.

Regarding the damages claims, the Feikema court

expressed greater reluctance to preempt state law. It quoted the

Supreme Court’s opinion in Nader vy. Allegheny Airlines, Inc.:

A common-law right, even absent a saving

clause, is not to be abrogated “unless it be

found that the preexisting right is so repugnant

to the statute that the survival of such right

would in effect deprive the subsequent statute

of its efficacy; in other words, render its

provisions nugatory.”

426 U.S. 290, 298 (1976) (quoting Texas & Pacific R. Co. v.

Abilene Cotton Oil Co., 204 U.S. 426, 437 (1907)), quoted in

A.12

oben wk?

Josh Ue. elt’ waditnacode

a Ce a eee ee ee

Feikema, 16 F.3d at 1413. Moreover, the Feikema court found

indications in RCRA’s legislative history that some state

causes of action should be permitted: “[W]hile Congress

intended for the EPA to have broad authority to act in an

imminent hazard situation, it also intended such action to

complement other efforts and remedies.” Feikema, 16 F.3d at

1415 (citing Report of the Committee on Environment and

Public Works, S. Rep. No. 98-284, 98th Cong., Ist Sess. 56

(1983)). Because the Consent Order did not provide for

damages payments to homeowners, the court found, awarding

damages to the plaintiffs would not conflict with the Consent

Order. Consequently, it allowed the damages claims to

proceed. /d. at 1417-18.

Judge Murnaghan wrote separately in Feikema to

emphasize that the court was not applying a different standard

to damages than to equitable relief. Jd. at 1418 (Murnaghan, J.,

concurring). He stressed that, whatever the relief sought, a

“claim is preempted only to the extent that it may actually

conflict with the EPA’s Consent Order and only while that

Order remains in effect.” Jd (Murnaghan, J., concurring). In

Feikema, he wrote, preemption applied to the injunction claim

but not the damages claims because, on the particular facts of

the case, an injunction would conflict with the Consent Order

but a damages award would not. /d (Murnaghan, J.,

concurring).

The EPA Orders in this case, like those in F, eikema, do

not contemplate compensation for damages to private parties.

Thus the Cavallos contend that the damages they seek, like the

award sought in Feikema, would not conflict with the EPA

Orders. The district court disagreed with the Cavallos, relying

on Judge Murnaghan’s concurrence, and held that the Orders

preempted any damages claims based on remediation efforts

within the scope of the Orders:

A.13

[Djamages claims are preempted insofar as

they arise from remediation efforts under the

scope of the EPA Orders. The damages sought

here distinguish the case from those damages

which were allowed in Feikema. Damage

liability for activities in conformity with the

EPA Orders conflicts with the federal interest

as effectively as an injunction.

Memorandum Opinion and Order at 5, in Joint Appendix at

197 (citing 16 F.3d 1408, 1418 (4th Cir. 1994) (Murnaghan, ai

concurring)).

The district court used the correct “conflict” test, and

we agree that Star cannot be held liable “for activities in

conformity with the EPA Orders.” But that does not end the

inquiry, as the district court appears to have assumed.

Although all of Star’s allegedly tortious acts occurred after the

EPA took control of remediation, the EPA Orders

encompassed only remediation efforts, and all of Star's

activities at the Tank Farm did not involve remediation.

Moreover, even EPA-directed remediation efforts might be

actionable if improperly performed. To determine whether

damages would conflict with the EPA Orders, then, we must

look beyond the temporal scope of the Orders and the scope of

the activities they encompassed. Damages claims conflict with

EPA Orders only if the allegedly tortious activities (1) were

required, directed, or supervised by the EPA, and (2) were

performed properly.

In Count II, the Cavallos allege “negligence,

carelessness and recklessness” by Star in:

a. Improperly _ operating, supervising,

and/or managing the [Tank Farm] Facility;

A.14

b. Improperly designing, installing and

repairing and updating of the Facility;

c. Failure to properly test and inspect

Facility equipment;

d. Failure to properly and promptly notify

Plaintiff and Mantua residents of the Petroleum

releases at the Facility[;]

¢. Failure to properly and _ promptly

remediate[sic] and recover/remove the

Petroleum Releases[;] and

f. Failure to properly mitigate venting of

storage tanks.

Complaint 4 72, in Joint Appendix at 38. Count IV is based in

part on the December 1991 spill, and in part on Star's regular

venting of its tanks. Complaint § 86-87, in Joint Appendix at

21.

To the extent they occurred after December 8, 1991)

incidents of improper operation, supervision, management,

design, installation, repair, and updating of the Tank Farm or

its equipment may be actionable if not compelled by the EPA

Orders. Likewise, failure by Star to notify the Cavallos of

petroleum releases may support their claims if the releases or

failures to notify were not authorized or approved by the EPA.

For example, the Complaint indicates that the December 10,

1991, AVJet spill was a mistake--not contemplated by EPA

Orders or officials--and alleges that Star waited eight days

‘ The district court held that claims based on events before

December 8, 1991, are barred by the statute of limitations, see supra part

I11.B, and the Cavallos do not appeal that ruling, see supra n.2.

A.15

before notifying the EPA. Complaint {§ 26-43, in Joint

Appendix at 28-31. Damages caused by that spill, or by Star's

failure to notify the Cavallos during the period before it

notified the EPA, thus are not preempted by the EPA Orders.

The EPA Orders did encompass all of Star's

remediation efforts, so failures “to properly and promptly

remediate and recover/remove the Petroleum Releases” are

likely to be preempted. Similarly. the Cavallos allege that

venting was “regularly performed,” apparently under EPA

supervision, so claims of improper venting probably are

preempted. Even remediation and venting, however, are

actionable if Star tortiously failed to notify the EPA of the

releases--a jury might find, for instance, that the delay after the

December 1991 spill was negligent--or if Star improperly

implemented EPA instructions.

In sum, the fact that allegedly tortious conduct

occurred within the temporal and subject-matter scope of an

EPA Order does not necessarily compel preemption of a

damages claim based on that conduct. We cannot conclusively

determine, from the face of the Complaint and the text of the

EPA Orders, that the Orders or EPA instructions pursuant to

the Orders compelled all of Star’s allegedly improper activities

and its manner of performing them. Thus we cannot determine

whether damages based on those activities would conflict with

EPA authority, or, in turn, whether the preemption doctrine

applies.

C

The Cavallos assert that, because their claims are

grounded in Virginia state law and originally were filed in

Virginia state court, the admissibility of expert testimony

should be governed by Virginia law. As Star points out,

however, this court held expressly in Scott v. Sears, Roebuck

A.16

& Co. that federal rules apply to the admission of expert

testimony in diversity cases:

Unlike evidentiary rules concerning burdens of

proof or presumptions, the admissibility of

expert testimony in federal court sitting in the

diversity jurisdiction is controlled by federal

law. State law, whatever it may be, is

irrelevant.

789 F.2d 1052, 1054 (4th Cir. 1986). But the Cavallos respond

that Daubert, which was decided seven years after Scott,

implemented a heightened burden of proof--”established

toxicological methodology” instead of “greater weight of all

the evidence.” Because Scort specifically excepted burdens of

proof, they contend, the rule it established is invalid after

Daubert and Virginia law should apply. Their argument is

meritless. A standard for admission of testimony, however

stringent, is not a burden of proof. Daubert governs whether

evidence is admitted, not how persuasive it must be to the

factfinder. Consequently, Scott remains good law even after

Daubert, and the district court correctly applied federal law in

determining whether to admit the experts’ testimony.

On the merits of the expert-testimony question, the

Cavallos’ brief succinctly stated the essence of their position:

The trial court concluded that neither Dr.

Bellanti nor Dr. Monroe strictly adhered to the

established toxicological methodology in

forming their conclusions that Ms. Cavallo’s

exposure to AVJet vapors from the December

1991 spill caused her various chronic

illness[es], and that their testimony, therefore[,]

is not supported by appropriate validation as

A.17

required by Daubert v. Merrell Dow. 113 S.Ct.

at 2795.

Cavallos’ Brief at 17 (citation to Joint Appendix omitted).

The parties agree that Daubert is the leading case on

this issue. But neither party emphasizes that the Supreme

Court itself viewed Daubert as a liberalization, not a

tightening, of the rules controlling admission of expert

testimony. The Court recognized that the question had been

governed for seventy years by the standard first set out by the

D.C. Circuit in Frye v. United States--that scientific expert

testimony must be based on principles that are “sufficiently

established to have gained general acceptance in the particular

field in which [they] belong[ ].” 293 F. 1013, 1014 (D.C. Cir.

1923) (emphasis added). It held, however, that the Frye test

had been superseded by Fed. R. Evid. 702.

Rule 702 provides:

If scientific, technical, or other specialized

knowledge will assist the trier of fact to

understand the evidence or to determine a fact

in issue, a witness qualified as an expert by

knowledge, skill, experience, training or

education, may testify thereto in the form of an

opinion or otherwise.

The Daubert Court noted that Rule 702 does not

mention Frye’s “general acceptance” test. Moreover, it stated:

A rigid “general acceptance” requirement

would be at odds with the “liberal thrust” of the

Federal Rules and their “general approach of

relaxing the traditional barriers to ‘opinion’

testimony.” Beech Aircraft Corp. v. Rainey,

A.i8

488 U.S. [153,] 169 (1988). . . . That austere

standard, absent from and incompatible with

the Federal Rules of Evidence, should not be

applied in federal trials.

113 S. Ct. at 2794 (emphasis added) (citations to nonquoted

sources omitted).

The Daubert Court held that two questions control

admission of scientific expert testimony: “whether the

reasoning or methodology underlying the testimony is

scientifically valid and. . . whether that reasoning or

methodology properly can be applied to the facts in issue.” Jd

at 2796. In lieu of the Frye test, it decided, the validity of the

methodology or reasoning is determined using a flexible

inquiry based on five factors: (1) whether the testimony has

been tested, (2) whether it has been published or exposed to

peer review, (3) its rate of error, (4) whether there are

standards and controls over its implementation, and (5)

whether it is generally accepted. /d. at 2796-97. If valid, the

Court wrote, whether the testimony can “properly be applied

to the facts in issue” is determined by reference to other rules

of evidence, id. at 2797, such as the relevance and prejudice

provisions of Rule 401, id. at 2794, and Rule 403, id. at 2798.

The Daubert Court concluded by reemphasizing that

scientific evidence is to be admitted more liberally under Rule

702 than it was under Frye, and that exclusion is the least

favored means of rendering questionable scientific evidence

ineffective:

Vigorous cross-examination, presentation of

contrary evidence, and careful instruction on

the burden of proof are the traditional and

appropriate means of attacking shaky but

admissible evidence. Additionally, in the event

A.19

the trial court concludes that the scintilla of

evidence presented supporting a position is

insufficient to allow a reasonable juror to

conclude that the position more likely than not

is true, the court remains free to direct a

judgment, and likewise to grant summary

judgment. These conventional devices, rather

than wholesale exclusion under = an

uncompromising “general acceptance” test, are

the appropriate safeguards where the basis of

scientific testimony meets the standards of

Rule 702.

Id. at 2798 (citations omitted).

In the instant case, the district court concluded that the

bases of the doctors’ opinions were not sufficiently established

to warrant their admission into evidence:

In sum, neither Dr. Monroe nor Dr. Bellanti

sufficiently adhered to the established

toxicology methodology in forming [his]

conclusions that Ms. Cavallo’s exposure to

AVJet vapors from the December 1991 spill

caused her various chronic illnesses. Their

testimony, therefore[,] is not “supported by

appropriate validation” as required by Daubert,

and is ultimately unreliable. In the final

analysis, the opinions of Drs. Monroe and

Bellanti are based largely on hypothesis and

speculation. This is not to say that the doctors

are insincere in their opinions, or that their

opinions may not some day be validated

through scientific research and experiment. It

may well be that the AVJet spill forever

“sensitized” Ms. Cavallo to petroleum vapors

A.20

and various other household chemicals. But the

published scientific literature and test results

simply do not support that conclusion at this

time. And the price paid for this seemingly

stringent standard of reliability is that,

unavoidably, some legitimate injuries will be

left unredressed.

Memorandum Opinion at 39-40, in Joint Appendix at

1799-[1]800 (footnotes omitted).

The district court’s interpretation is restrictive in this

case, but it is not inconsistent with Daubert. Although

Daubert eliminated the requirement of general acceptance, the

five factors it established still require that the methodology

and reasoning used by a witness have a significant place in the

discourse of experts in the field. The district court determined

that the testimony of Dr. Bellanti and Dr. Monroe did not have

such a place. By making that determination, the court properly

exercised its discretion. The Cavallos have shown that the

question of admission is close, but we defer to the court's

decision to exclude the evidence and affirm its summary

judgment on Count I.

IV

The face of the Complaint and the text of the EPA

Orders are insufficient to determine whether EPA involvement

preempts Count II, the loss and use and enjoyment claim of

Count III, and Count IV. Whatever the preemption doctrine’s

effect, however, the personal injury claim of Count III does

not state a claim under Virginia law. Moreover, the district

court acted within its discretion by excluding testimony by the

Cavallos’ experts. Accordingly, we affirm the district court’s

summary judgment on Count I and its dismissal of the

personal injury claim of Count III, but we reverse its dismissal

A.21

of Count II, the loss of use and enjoyment claim of Count III,

and Count IV and remand them for further proceedings.

AFFIRMED IN PART _ AND _ REVERSED _ __ AND

REMANDED IN PART

A.22

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Plaintiff,

v.

STAR ENTERPRISE, eg, al.

Defendants.

Civil Action No. 94-1499-A

Entered: June 21, 1995

ORDER

Plaintiff Ardith Cavallo brought suit against

Defendants for injuries she allegedly sustained as a result of

her exposure to aviation fuel vapors following a spill at a

petroleum distribution terminal owned and operated by

Defendant Star Enterprise. She claims that a result of her

exposure to these vapors, she has developed chronic

respiratory problems, including sinusitis and conjunctivitis,

as well as increased sensitivity to irritant compounds. In a

motion in limine, Defendants moved to exclude the proffered

testimony of Drs. Monroe and Bellanti on the ground that

their opinions did not meet the requirements for expert

testimony set forth in Daubert vy. Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 113 S. Ct. 2786 (1993). In addition,

Defendants moved for summary judgment on the basis the

Plaintiff had not come forward with sufficient evidence of

causation to create a triable issue of fact for the jury.

Plaintiff opposed these motions.

The parties submitted numerous legal memoranda,

accompanied by voluminous documentary exhibits, in

support of their respective positions, and the Court heard

A.23

extensive oral argument on the matter at a hearing held June

16, 1995. Following oral argument, the Court took the

motions under advisement. Having further reviewed and

considered the parties’ memoranda and the record evidence,

the Court ORDERS as follows:

l. For reasons to be more fully articulated in a

forthcoming Memorandum Opinion, the Court concludes

that the proffered opinions of Drs. Monroe and Bellanti with

respect to the cause of Plaintiff's alleged injuries are not

sufficiently “ground(ed) in the methods and procedures of

science” or “scientific(ally) valid” to permit admission under

the requirements of Rule 702. Daubert, 113 S. Ct. at 2795 &

n.9. Therefore, the motion in limine is GRANTED.

2 It appears to the Court that it follows from the

granting of the motion in limine thai the motion for summary

judgment should also be granted. However, the Court is still

reviewing the matter and will issue a further order or a final

order once it has completed its review.

3. The Court ORDERS that the trial, currently

scheduled to commence June 26, 1995, be, and hereby is,

canceled and taken off the docket. Shoumd the Court

conclude that summary judgment is warranted, a final order

will be entered. Should the Court conclude otherwise, the

Court will reschedule the trial.

The Clerk is directed to send copies of this Order to

all counsel of record.

/s/ T. S. Ellis, I

T. S. Ellis, III

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

June 21, 1995

A.24

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA,

ALEXANDRIA DIVISION

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Plaintiff,

STAR ENTERPRISE, et al.,

Defendants.

Civil Action No. 94-1499-A

July 10, 1995, Decided

July 10, 1995, ENTERED

COUNSEL: For PLAINTIFF: Mark C. Hayes, Law Offices

of Mark C. Hayes, P.C., Alexandria, Virginia, Donnell R.

Fullerton, Donnell R_ Fullerton, P.C., Fairfax, Virginia, John

E. Drury, Law Offices of John Drury, Washington, D.C.

For DEFENDANT: John A. C. Keith, Blankingship & Keith,

Fairfax, Virginia, Richard E. Wallace, Jr., Howrey & Simon,

Washington, D.C.

JUDGES: T. S. Ellis, III, United States District Judge

OPINION BY: T. S. Ellis, III

OPINION: MEMORANDUM OPINION

In this toxic tort case, the Court must exercise its

“gatekeeping responsibility" to assess whether Plaintiff's

proffered expert opinions on causation are admissible under

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., _ U.S. _, 113

A.25

S. Ct. 2786 (1993). Plaintiff here allege schronic injury from

exposure to aviation jet fuel ("AvJet") vapors, and like many

toxic tort cases, the central dispute is causation. Specifically,

the question presented is whether the opinions of two experts

that Plaintiff's exposure to AvJet caused her various chronic

respiratory illnesses are admissible where no study or

published literature links AvJet vapors to Plaintiff's claimed

illnesses and where the experts fail to establish why studies

showing a correlation between exposure to other chemicals

and much less significant illnesses support their proffered

conclusions in this case.

I. Statement of Facts'

Plaintiff Ardith Cavallo is a resident of Fairfax,

Virginia. Late in the evening of December 9, 1991, Ms.

Cavallo and her husband, Lawrence Cavallo, dined at a

Chinese restaurant. The couple enjoyed a leisurely dinner and

some late-night conversation with the proprietors. Then,

shortly after midnight, the Cavallos left the restaurant and

proceeded across the parking lot to their car. On the way to the

car, the Cavallos noticed an odor in the air, which Mr. Cavallo

identified as an oil smell. By the time the couple reached the

car, a process which consumed approximately five minutes,

Ms. Cavallo had begun to experience severe burning in her

eyes, a sensation of fullness in her left ear, and irritation in her

throat. Mr. Cavallo apparently did not experience these effects.

The restaurant, it appears, is located in a shopping mall

just 500 feet from a petroleum distribution, mixing and

transfer terminal ("the Star facility") owned and operated by

For purposes of disposing of the motions at bar, the facts in this

case, many of which are hotly disputed, are presented here in the light most

favorable to Plaintiff. See Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587, 89 L. Ed. 2d 538, 106 S. Ct. 1348 (1986).

A.26

Defendant Star Enterprise ("Star").’ Beginning either late in

the evening of December 9, 1991 or very early the following

morning, approximately 34,000 gallons of AvJet accidentally

overflowed from a storage tank located at the Star facility.

While the parties dispute the exact timing of the spill, they

agree for purposes of these proceedings that the spill was

either ongoing or had already concluded at the time the

Cavallos crossed the restaurant parking lot. According to Ms.

Cavallo's air modeling expert, Dr. Robert Haberlein, the spill

resulted in airborne emissions of hydrocarbon vapors in the

restaurant parking lot, at a maximum, "worst-case"

concentration of 61 milligrams per cubic meter ("61 mg/m*")

(Haberlein Rpt., at V-1). Although Star's air modeling expert

opines that this figure is seriously flawed and overstates the

possible concentration of AvJet vapors in that area by a factor

of 1000, Star concedes the 61 mg/m’ level of exposure for

purposes of the motions at bar.

On reaching her home, which is located approximately

one half mile from the Star facility, Ms. Cavallo applied boric

acid to her eyes in an effort to soothe them. Although she

continued to suffer pain and discomfort, Ms. Cavallo did not

seek emergency medical treatment. Rather, she waited nine

days before seeking medical attention for her ailments. On

December 19, 1991, she consulted Dr. Joseph Sabri, an

otolaryngologist. According to Dr. Sabri, Ms. Cavallo

complained of mild congestion, tinnitus,’ dizziness and

+

+

Star is a joint venture partnership. The joint venture partners, also

defendants in this case, are Texaco Refining and Marketing (East), Inc. and

Saudi Refining, Inc. For convenience, all three defendants are referred to

collectively as “Star”.

3 orn pt ea

An otolaryngologist is an ear, nose, and throat specialist

. Tinnitus is defined as "[a] sound in the ears, as buzzing, ringing,

or whistling, caused by a defect in the auditory nerve." Webster's 1] New

Riverside University Dictionary 1212 (1984).

A.27

headaches, all of which she believed were related to the AvJet

spill. After examining Ms. Cavallo and finding no physical

symptoms, Dr. Sabri diagnosed her with vasomotor rhinitis,

which he explained was a "stuffy nose or a cold." (Sabri Tr., at

16-17). He then prescribed Advil and warm showers. Ms.

Cavallo followed the advice for several months, but grew

frustrated when her symptoms persisted and consulted another

physician, Dr. Richard Rosenthal, on May 4, 1992. According

to Dr. Rosenthal, who specializes in immunology and

allergies, Ms. Cavallo described her symptoms at that time as

dizziness, eye irritation, a stuffy nose, and postnasal drip.

Following his physical examination, Dr. Rosenthal diagnosed

Ms. Cavallo with conjunctivitis, or eye redness, but detected

no pulmonary problems or sinusitis.

Ms. Cavallo's symptoms continued, and on June 30,

1993, she consulted another otolaryngologist, Dr. Neeraj

Gupta. Although Dr. Gupta’s physical examination of Ms.

Cavallo revealed no significant pathology in her upper

respiratory system, a CAT scan performed on July 1, 1993

disclosed what Dr. Gupta termed “acute possible chronic

sphenoid sinusitis," which he considered to be "close to a

medical emergency." (Gupta Tr., at 21-22). To treat the

sphenoid sinusitis, Dr. Gupta prescribed antibiotics and nasal

spray. The treatment apparently worked, as a second CAT

scan performed three months later revealed that Ms. Cavallo's

"sinusitis had resolved or almost completely resolved," (Gupta

Tr., at 26), thereby rendering further antibiotic treatment

unnecessary. Dr. Gupta also performed another physical exam,

the results of which were normal. Nonetheless, Ms. Cavallo

continued to complain of "nonspecific" symptoms, such as

nasal congestion, postnasal drip, eye irritation, facial pain,

headaches, and fullness of the ears. (Gupta Tr., at 27). Then, as

now, these symptoms tended to abate when she left the

vicinity of the Star facility, but renewed upon her return.

Finally, on July 5, 1994, Ms. Cavallo consulted yet

another physician, Dr. Joseph Bellanti, an immunologist who

A.28

SURE Meare

is her current treating physician and whom she has retained to

testify as an expert in this case. Following a physical

examination, Dr. Bellanti determined that Ms. Cavallo

suffered from postnasal drip, a swollen eye, frontal pain,

conjunctivitis, a stuffy nose, acute sinusitis, and bronchitis. In

his written report, Dr. Bellanti concludes that Ms. Cavallo has

developed chronic sphenoid sinusitis and pulmonary

dysfunction, ilinesses he believes were directly caused by Ms.

Cavallo's exposure to petroleum vapors from the AvJet spill in

December 1991. Furthermore, Dr. Bellanti concludes that her

exposure to AvJet vapors on the night of the spill has

‘sensitized" her to various volatile organic compounds,

including petroleum vapors, as well as certain household

chemicals found in products such as Windex and aftershave

lotion. Dr. David Monroe, a toxicologist retained by Ms.

Cavallo as another expert in this action, agrees that her

conjunctivitis and sinusitis were caused by the Avjet spill and

also concludes that she has developed an increased sensitivity

to various chemical irritants as a result of the spill.” It is these

two opinions that are the focus of the pending motions.

The Cavallos brought this suit against Star on

November 14, 1994, alleging injuries under four separate

counts. Three of the counts, Counts Two through Four, have

already been dismissed in a prior proceeding before Judge

Bryan.° Only Count One remains. In this count, Ms. Cavallo

: Unlike Dr. Bellanti, however, Dr. Monroe has no opinion

regarding whether Ms. cavallo's alleged chronic pulmonary disease resulted

from the AvJet spill.

6 The tortious conduct alleged in those three counts involved the

continued release of petroleum hydrocarbon vapors from the Star facility

during and after Star's clean-up efforts, efforts which the Cavallos alleged

to be inadequate and harmful. specifically, Count Two presented a claim

for “Negiigent Petroleum Release and Negligent Abatement and

Remediation of the Petroleum Release"; Count Three sought damages for

"Common Law Trespass"; and Count Four claimed "Liability under the

State Water Control Law." By order dated January 20, 1995, Judge Bryan

A.29

claims that Star was negligent in permitting the December

1991 AvJet spill, and that her chronic illnesses are a direct

result of her exposure to vapors from that spill. She seeks

damages for personal injury (including chronic conjunctivitis,

sinusitis, pulmonary disease, and increased sensitization to

petroleum hydrocarbons), impairment of earning capacity,

iost business profits, medical expenses, pain and suffering, as

well as punitive damages.

Star now brings two motions. The first is a motion in

limine to exclude the expert testimony of Drs. Bellanti and

Monroe on the causation issue. Relying on the principles

outlined in Daubert and its progeny, Star argues that neither

expert grounds his conclusion of causation on scientific tests

or literature linking the chemicals to which Ms. Cavailo was

allegedly exposed, and at the levels and duration of purported

exposure, to the injuries she claims to have sustained. Indeed,

Star claims, their opinions run counter to all available

published studies on the effects of AvJet or kerosene at the

alleged level of exposure. As such, Star contends, their

opinions are not founded on a scientifically valid methodology

and are impermissibly speculative. In response, Ms. Cavallo

points out that in forming their conclusions of causation, both

experts relied on published studies involving the effects of

other volatile organic compounds. To look beyond this basic

adherence to form and inquire whether their reasoning is valid,

dismissed Counts Two through Four on the ground that damages stemming

from fuel discharges that were in compliance with orders of the

Environmental Protection Agency ("EPA"), such as those discharges

occurring during Star’s remediation efforts, are barred by the doctrine of

preemption. Because Mr. Cavallo was only named as a plaintiff in

Counts Three and Four, he is no longer a party to this action.

: From a review of the complaint and her subsequent pleadings, it

is apparent that Ms. cavallo seeks damages for her chronic, ongoing

illnesses and not for her initial pain and discomfort immediately

following her exposure to the vapors from the spilled fuel.

A.30

Ms. Cavallo argues, is to usurp the role of the jury and exceed

the proper bounds of judicial gatekeeping under Daubert.

Star's second motion is a motion for summary judgment, and it

appears to rely chiefly on the motion in limine. Thus, Star

contends that if the motion in limine is granted, there would be

insufficient evidence of causation to permit a jury to find in

favor of Ms. Cavallo.

Oral argument on the motions was heard on June 16,

1995, following which the matters were taken under

advisement. The Court thereafter reviewed the record, the

parties’ arguments, and the relevant case law, and on June 21,

1995, issued an Order granting the motion in limine for

reasons to be set forth in a subsequent memorandum opinion.

The motion for summary judgment remained under

advisement, and is now ripe for disposition, as well. This

Memorandum Opinion sets forth the reasons for granting the

motion in limine and the summary judgment motion.

II. Motion in Limine

The admissibility of expert testimony is expressly

governed by Rule 702 of the Federal Rules of Evidence, *

which provides:

If scientific, technical, or other specialized

knowledge will assist the trier of fact to

understand the evidence or to determine a fact

: As the Supreme Court made clear in Daubert, U.S. __ at

113 S. Ct. at 2792-94, Rule 702 displaces the former Frye "standard

regarding expert testimony, a standard which focused exclusively upon

whether the proffered expert opinion had gained "general acceptance" in

the relevant scientific community. Frye v. United States, 293 F. 1013, 1014

(D.C. Cir. 1923). Although "general acceptance” remains a relevant factor

under Rule 702 in determining the admissibility of scientific expert

testimony, it is but one of many relevant factors. Daubert, U.S. __at

__, 113 S. Ct. at 2797.

A.31

in issue, a witness qualified as an expert by

knowledge, skill, experience, training, or

education, may testify thereto in the form of an

opinion or otherwise.

In discussing the requirements of Rule 702, the

Supreme Court has emphasized that federal judges maintain a

"gatekeeping responsibility" to ensure that admitted scientific

testimony is both relevant and reliable. Daubert, US. at

__, 113 S. Ct. 2786 at 2795 & n.7. Because expert witnesses,

unlike ordinary witnesses, may offer opinions that are not

based on first hand knowledge or observation, Rule 702

sensibly imposes threshold standards for admitting such

testimony. Thus, underlying the Rules’ allowance of expert

testimony is the fundamental "assumption that an expert's

opinion will have a reliable basis in the knowledge and

experience of his discipline." /d., U.S.__ at__, 113 S.Ct. at

2796. Given this, and given the unique potential of expert

evidence to "be both powerful and quite misleading," id., _

U.S. _ at _, 1138S. Ct. at 2798 (citation omitted), the

reliability and relevance of expert testimony are preliminary

matters for the courts’ determination. /d., U.S. at, 113

S. Ct. at 2794-98.

In performing this "gatekeeping" task, district judges

are instructed to engage in a two-part analysis. United States

v. Dorsey, 45 F.3d 809, 813 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, _ US.

__, 132 L. Ed. 2d 871, 115 S. Ct. 2631, (1995); Daubert v.

Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals, Inc., 43 F.3d 1311, 1315 (9th

Cir. 1995) (on remand from Daubert, U.S. __ at _, 113

S.Ct. at 2786) (hereinafter "Daubert Remanded"). First,

district courts must determine whether the proffered expert

testimony consists of "scientific knowledge", which is

essentially a reliability inquiry. /d. Second, even if the

"scientific knowledge" prong is satisfied, courts must inquire

further to ascertain whether the proposed testimony is relevant,

Perey ee

oe Fo

that is, whether it will "assist the trier of fact." Jd. These two

steps are addressed seriatim.

The Supreme Court has interpreted the "scientific

knowledge" requirement of Rule 702 as "establish{ing] a

standard of evidentiary reliability" or "trustworthiness",

Daubert, _ U.S. __ at __, 113 S. Ct. at 2795 & n.9, where

"evidentiary reliability" means, in effect, "scientific validity".

Id, US. __ at __, 113 S. Ct. at 2795 n.9. And to be

scientifically valid, an expert's opinion must be "ground{ed] in

the methods and procedures of science," id., and "supported by

appropriate validation." /d., Dorsey, 45 F.3d at 813. Thus,

conjecture, hypothesis, "subjective belief, or unsupported

speculation" are impermissible base for expert opinion and

must be discarded. Daubert, U.S. __ at _, 113 S. Ct. at

2795; Anderson v. National R.R. Passenger Corp., 866 F.

Supp. 937, 943 (E.D. Va. 1994). In short, Daubert commands

that in court, science must do the speaking, not merely the

scientist.” See Daubert Remanded, 43 F.3d at 1311.

A variety of factors may affect the validity, or

reliability, of a particular scientific expert opinion, but the

Daubert Court noted four in particular. They are:

(1) whether the theory or technique used

by the expert can be, and has been, tested; (2)

whether the theory or technique has been

subjected to peer review and publication; (3)

the known or potential rate of error of the

method used; and(4) the degree of the

7 Of course, scientists, like all human beings, hold certain opinions

based on no more than intuition or belief. Because such opinions are not

subject to rigorous scientific validation (through testing, peer review, and

the like), they are mere hypotheses that fall short of the evidentiary

requirements of Rule 702. Were such untested opinions and beliefs

admissible, then, contrary to Daubert, scientists would be speaking in court

without the benefit of science.

A.33

method's or conclusion's acceptance within the

relevant scientific community.

Dorsey, 45 F.3d at 813 (citing Daubert, U.S. at, 113

S. Ct. at 2796-97). Testing is an important factor because it is

at the heart of scientific methodology; if a particular theory or

technique cannot be tested in an attempt to prove its truth or

falsity, it bears less resemblance to science than to general

philosophy. Daubert, U.S. at___, 113 S. Ct. at 2796-97.

Testability central to the scientific method. Similarly, while

not dispositive, the peer review and publication inquiries are

important for the simple reason that a theory or technique that

has withstood the critical review of fellow scientists is apt to

be more reliable than one that has remained sheltered from

professional scrutiny. Daubert, U.S. at__, 113 S. Ct. at

2797 (stating that "submission to the scrutiny of the scientific

community is a component of 'good science,’ in part because it

increases the likelihood that substantive flaws in methodology

will be detected"). The rate of error of a particular method is

relevant, of course, to its reliability, as is the degree to which a

method or theory has been embraced by the scientific

community. It bears emphasizing that no one factor controls,

and the circumstances of each particular case must be carefully

considered.

The second part of the admissibility analysis gives the

courts a more familiar role to play. Described by the Supreme

Court as "fit", this second prong focuses on the relevance of

the proffered opinion to an issue in the case. Daubert, _ U.S.

__ at, 113 S. Ct. at 2795-96. As the Daubert Court aptly

noted, "fit" is required because "scientific validity for one

purpose is not necessarily scientific validity for other,

unrelated purposes." ___—*U.S. __ at __,113 S. Ct. at 2796.

Accordingly, not only must the opinion be scientifically valid,

or reliable, but it must also advance the trier of fact's

understanding of a material issue in the case.

A.34

Se a ee ee ee

The distinction between "scientific validity" and "fit"

is not always clear, and the two inquiries may overlap in a

particular case. For instance, there may be times where an

expert relies on published literature and widely accepted,

tested theories in forming her opinion, and her ultimate

conclusion is clearly relevant to an issue in the case. Yet, if

those published theories and studies purport to prove XYZ,

and from them, the expert concludes ABC, it may be that the

expert's reasoning process itself is not scientifically valid. Put

another way, there may be a lack of "fit" between the tested

theories relied upon and the ultimate conclusion reached. An

extreme example illustrates this point. A study regarding the

mating habits of gypsy moths may be scientifically valid for

certain purposes, and an expert's conclusion that a particular

chemical caused a certain illness may be relevant in a given

case. But if the expert purports to base her causation

conclusion on the gypsy moth study, then the opinion can

hardly be said to have met the requirements of Rule 702.

Although courts must not exclude expert testimony based on a

valid methodology simply because they disagree with the

ultimate conclusion reached, they have an obligation to ensure

that the conclusion is reliable, that is, that there is a

scientifically valid link between the sources or studies

consulted and the conclusion reached. Cf Porter v. Whitehall

Lab., Inc., 9 F.3d 607, 614 (7th Cir. 1993) (stating that "tif

experts cannot tie their assessment of data to known scientific

conclusions, based on research or studies, then there is no

comparison for the jury to evaluate and the expert's testimony

is not helpful to the jury").

The Third Circuit addressed this problem in Jn re Paoli

R.R. Yard PCB Litigation, 35 F.3d 717 (3d Cir. 1994), cert.

denied, ___ U.S. __,115 S. Ct. 1253 (1995). There, residents

housed near a railcar maintenance facility that had used

polychlorinated biphenyls (commonly referred to as PCBs) in

its business activities for many years claimed that their

continued exposure to the PCBs had caused a variety of

A.35

illnesses. In reviewing the Daubert principles, the Third

Circuit panel noted that the scientific knowledge requirement,

which mandates that the expert's conclusions be based on

"good grounds", applies to each step of the expert's analysis.

Paoli R.R., 35 F.3d at 745. Thus, the panel emphasized that

"any step that renders the analysis unreliable under the

Daubert factors renders the expert's testimony inadmissible.

This is true whether the step completely changes a reliable

methodology or merely misapplies that methodology." Jd.

(emphasis in original). Similarly, the Paoli panel remarked

that "the expert's view that a particular conclusion ‘fits’ a

particular case must itself constitute scientific knowledge -- a

challenge to ‘fit’ is very close to a challenge to the expert's

ultimate conclusion about the particular case." Jd. at 746. Cf

Developments in the Law -- Confronting the New Challenges

of Scientific Evidence, 108 Harv. L. Rev. 1481, 1536 (1995)

(stating that where expert relies on studies involving animal

exposure to particular chemical to prove similar effect in

humans, "[c]ourts must assess the scientific validity of the

hypothesis proffered to justify such an extrapolation").

This interrelationship between fit and _ scientific

validity is illustrated by a case involving an alleged correlation

between a pregnant woman's use of Retin-A, a Vitamin A

derivative acne medication, and her child's birth defects.

Chikovsky v. Ortho Pharmaceutical Corp., 832 F. Supp. 341

(S.D, Fla. 1993). Although there were no published studies on

the effects of Retin-A on fetal development, the plaintiff's

expert in Chikovsky concluded that the Retin-A absorbed by

the mother had caused the child's birth defects. He based this

conclusion on studies showing a correlation between birth

defects and high doses of Vitamin A and certain other Vitamin

A derivatives. In holding that the expert's opinion was not

scientifically valid, the court cited the expert's ignorance of the

amounts of Retin-A absorbed by the plaintiff, noted the

absence of any established dose-response relationship for

Vitamin A and birth defects, and explicitly found that his

A.36

"analogies to research concerning Vitamin A and other

Vitamin A derivatives is [sic] wanting." /d. at 346.

Similarly, in Schmaltz v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co.,

878 F. Supp. 1119 (N.D. Ill. 1995), the plaintiff claimed that

his exposure to certain herbicides containing atrazine caused

his chronic respiratory disease. Like the situation in Chikovsky,

the plaintiff's expert could not cite any documented cases

where exposure to these chemicals caused the alleged illness.

Rather, he relied on studies where high doses of atrazine

caused eye irritation in rabbits. In excluding the expert's

testimony under Daubert, the court observed that the record

fails to make clear why the incidence of eye

irritation in rabbits exposed to high doses of

atrazine could reasonably lead a doctor to

conclude that an indirect exposure to atrazine

could cause pulmonary or respiratory

conditions in humans. ‘The analytical gap

between the evidence presented and the

inferences to be drawn on the ultimate issue . . .

is too wide' in the present case.

Schmaltz, 878 F. Supp. at 1122 (quoting Conde v. Velsicol

Chem. Corp., 24 F.3d 809, 814 (6th Cir. 1994)). Thus, it is

apparent that a determination regarding the scientific validity

of a particular theory requires not only an examination cf the

trustworthiness of the tested principles on which the expert

opinion rests, but also an analysis of the reliability of an

expert's application of the tested principals to the particular set

of facts at issue.

These, then, are the principles that describe and control

a district court's gatekeeping function, and they are therefore

the principles that govern the assessment of the expert

opinions at bar.

A.37

A. Dr. Monroe

1. The illness

Dr. Monroe is a toxicologist. In his report on Ms.

Cavallo, Dr. Monroe concludes that she "is suffering a variety

of irritant effects from exposure to petroleum hydrocarbon

vapors from the Fairfax Terminal site." (Monroe Rpt. at 5).

This conclusion is certainly vague, as it fails to identify the

"irritant effects" from which Ms. Cavallo suffers. Nor does it

distinguish between harms attributable to the December 1991

AvJet spill and harms caused by vapors released incident to

Star's normal operations. These deficiencies are important, for

as noted earlier and due to prior rulings in this case, Ms.

Cavallo may only recover for specific injuries directly

attributable to the AvJet spill. Yet, it is also important to note

that this fact does not necessarily preclude recovery for

symptoms related to her continued exposure to the petroleum

hydrocarbons from the Star facility, provided the spill itself

injured her in such a way as to render her more susceptible to

such symptoms.

As it happens, however, Dr. Monroe's deposition

testimony provides a more detailed description of his opinions

in this case. From this testimony, it appears that the "irritant

effects" to which Dr. Monroe referred in his written report

include chronic burning sensations in the eyes, conjunctivitis,

sinusitis, and throat irritation. It is also apparent that Dr.

Monroe believes that Ms. Cavallo's exposure to AvJet fumes

on the night of the spill has chronically "sensitized" her to

petroleum hydrocarbons and various other chemicals. While

she could tolerate exposure to low levels of these

hydrocarbons before the spill, he opines, her inhalation of

heightened concentrations of hydrocarbons on the night of the

spill has now rendered her unable to tolerate those same low

levels of daily exposure.” Dr. Monroe's opinion is plainly

relevant to the issue of causation, and if scientifically valid,

would be admissible to show that Ms. Cavallo's exposure to

cay tents tS Me NN. AOE Ae RN ARS IE,

Sin naw eee ty

10

Excerpts from Dr. Monroe's deposition testimony are instructive.

Q: Do you have any opinion as to which of these

conditions Mrs. Cavallo suffers from?

A: My opinion is that her condition is the result of

the irritant effects of emissions from the Avjet spill. And

it is a chronic condition also involving continuing low

level exposures to various compounds from that site. Oh,

| should also note that she apparently was able to tolerate

those low level exposures prior to her exposures at the

time of the spill incident, and that is what indicates to me

that she became more sensitive at that particular time.

(Monroe Tr., vol I., at 42).

Q: Which of her symptoms were caused by her

subsequent exposure to petroleum hydrocarbons since

December of 1991?

A: I believe that the December of 1991 exposure

initiated the disease processes in Mrs. Cavallo. | don't

believe the subsequent exposures caused these illnesses,

though her condition appears to improve and worsen

according to ongoing exposures.

(Monroe Tr., vol. II, at 7).

Q: So there's [sic] really two things that happened

to her; she had this [sic] specific irritant effects that were

directly caused in December of ‘91 as well as this

increased sensitivity, is that correct?

A: | believe that is what her medical records

indicate.

(Monroe Tr., Vol. Il, at 36-37).

vapors from the AvJet spill caused her various ongoing

illnesses.

2. The methodology

Analysis properly focuses, therefore, on whether Dr.

Monroe's opinion in this regard passes the scientific validity

test of Daubert. And, as Daubert makes clear, the proper focus

of this inquiry rests upon the validity of his chosen

methodology. While Dr. Monroe is not explicit regarding the

methodology he followed in this case,'' Star contends that

¥ Although Dr. Monroe notes that various factors support his

conclusion, he does not set forth what methodology is appropriate or valid

for a toxicologist to follow in reaching such a conclusion. As stated in his

report, the factors supporting his conclusion are:

1) her general good health prior to the exposure.

2) close proximity in time between her exposure to

volatile components of the aviation fuel spill and the

initial onset of symptoms

3) highly irritant nature of the volatile petrochemicals as

indicated by symptomology [sic] of firemen and others

at the spill site.

4) opinions of her treating physicians that the observed

symptoms are the probable result of exposure to

petroleum hydrocarbons

5) worsening of symptoms when the petroleum vapors

are present and improvement of symptoms when she is

able to spend time away from the area.

6) consistency of Mrs. Cavallo's symptoms with the

known health effects of exposure to volatile organic

compounds as detailed in the published medical

literature

(Monroe Rpt. at 6).

A.40

uy

Po PORL 8 AE LRN BIE! AAD ttt ie hay ees Nie ie

Ce ld be eae en ey

there are certain scientific principles and methods upon which

a toxicologist must rely in forming an opinion regarding

whether exposure to specific chemicals could cause certain

maladies in individuals. Specifically, the methodology adopted

by Star's toxicology expert, Dr. Joseph Rodricks, and endorsed

by the World Health Organization, the National Academy of

Sciences, and various agencies of the United States

Government, calls for the following "risk assessment”:

[((1)] First, an evaluation is made of the

chemicals to which the individual might have

been exposed, and of the concentrations of

these chemicals in air breathed by the

individual. {(2)] The second step involves an

evaluation, based on the published scientific

literature, of the exposures necessary to

produce the adverse effects associated with the

chemicals to which individuals may be

exposed. [(3)] These two evaluations are then

combined in the final step of the risk

assessment to provide an estimate of the

likelihood that any of the harmful properties of

any or all of the chemicals might have been

expressed in the exposed individual.

(Rodricks Rpt. at 3). As Dr. Rodricks explains, all chemicals

can cause health problems at some level or concentration of

exposure, but they vary widely in the types of harm caused

and in the levels of exposure required to trigger those harms.

In addition, all chemicals have thresholds of exposure that

must be exceeded before the harms will occur, and these

thresholds may be identified through scientific studies and

literature. The task of the toxicologist, therefore, is to identify

A.4l

a dose-response relationship for a particular chemical (or

chemical mixture) and illness and analyze the results to

determine whether the duration and concentration of exposure

in a given instance could have caused the alleged harms.

(Rodricks Rpt. at 2-3).

Significantly, in her memorandum opposing the

motion in limine, Ms. Cavallo acknowledges that the

methodology described by Dr. Rodricks is the appropriate

methodology for a toxicologist. Furthermore, she contends

that Dr. Monroe followed that methodology in reaching his

conclusion. It is this contention that must now be examined.

With respect to the first step in the analysis, Dr.

Monroe concedes that he knows some, but not all, of the

specific volatile components of the spilled AvJet fuel, such as

naphthalene, xylene, hexane, nomane, decane, undacane,

octane, and ethyl benzine. In addition, the parties agree for

present purposes that the concentration of exposure was 61

mg/m’, for a duration of 5-30 minutes.'”

12 ; .

Dr. Monroe was not aware of the concentration and duration of

exposure in making his initial assessment. It is fairly clear from a review of

the record that in many instances, Dr. Monroe did not follow the

methodology to form his opinion, but rather formed his opinion and then

tried to conform it to the methodology. The following dialogue is

illustrative:

Q: And it's your

3

61 mg/m ] would be

Mrs. Cavallo; is t

A: I}

Q: What

you this. What w > ad

A: Well, I'm:

Q: Would that b

CAD ete «Si wae Wie ee CaP

TOE A AER oh tt ROE BE Wet Ser

CE — Fs

The second step in the methodology requires the

toxicologist to consult the published literature to ascertain a

dose-response relationship for the particular chemicals at

issue. Dr. Monroe agreed in his deposition that "there should

be a threshold below which irritant effects do not occur," and

he conceded that he did not know the specific threshold for the

chemicals to which Ms. Cavallo was exposed. (Monroe Tr.,

Vol II, at 37). Nonetheless, he stated that the literature and

studies he reviewed provided ample support for his conclusion

that Ms. Cavallo's one-time exposure to AvJet for a period of

5-30 minutes at a concentration of 61 mg/m’ caused her

chronic conjunctivitis and her heightened chemical

sensitivity.’” With respect to the chronic conjunctivitis, the

A: I've not found that to be essential for my assessment.

Q: Why is that, sir?

A: Because the available information is sufficient to

indicate that the exposure was of sufficient duration to

cause an irritant effect on Mrs. Cavallo.

(Monroe Tr., vol. 1, at 50-51).

13

Notably, Dr. Monroe acknowledged that he could find no

literature supporting the proposition that exposure to AvJet at a

P =. ar a . ‘

concentration of 61 mg/m’ for 5-30 minutes could cause Ms. Cavallo's

sinusitis. The following exchange took place during his deposition:

Q: In your opinion can an exposure, one-time

exposure to 61 milligrams per cubic meter cause

sinusitis?

A: I believe it can cause respiratory irritation. |

have not found any -itations which support its causing

sinusitis.

Q: In your opinion can an exposure at 61

milligrams per cubic meter cause sinusitis?

A.43

studies on which Dr. Monroe places primary reliance are the

Molhave study,'* the Koren study,’ the Bascom case report,”

and the Porter case report."

In the Molhave study, a group of 62 individuals who

were already sensitive to their indoor environments were

exposed for less than three hours to a mixture of 22 volatile

organic compounds ("VOCs"). The purpose of the study was

to examine indoor air quality and what has come to be known

as "sick building syndrome," and the individual VOCs used

were known to be indoor air pollutants. The study showed that

A: I believe that in the case of Mrs. Cavallo that

that is correct.

Q: I'm not sure I understand your answer, but let

me ask the question again. Can an exposure, a one-time

exposure to 61 milligrams per cubic meter cause

sinusitis?

A: Well, I haven't found sufficient data on which

to estimate a threshold for that effect, so I do not know.

Q: So you have no opinion, then, as to whether

Sinusitis can be caused by an exposure of 61 milligrams

per cubic meter, is that correct?

A: That's right.

(Monroe Tr., Vol. Il, at 49-50).

ae Lars Molhave et al., Human Reactions to Low Concentrations of

Volatile Organic Compounds, \2 Env't Int'l 167 (1986).

“ Hillel S. Koren et al., Exposure of Humans to a Volatile Organic

Mixtures III: Inflammatory Response, 47 Archives Envtl. Health 39 (1992).

" R. Bascom, Differential Responsiveness to Irritant Mixtures

Possible Mechanisms, 641 Ann. N.Y. Acad. Sci. 225 (1992).

‘s Henry O. Porter, Aviators Intoxicated by Inhalation of JP-5 Fuel

Vapors, 1990 Aviation, Space, & Envtl. Med. 654 (1990).

A.44

exposure to this combination of 22 VOCs for 2.75 hours at

concentrations of 5 and 25 mg/m° caused irritation in the

exposed individuals’ eyes, nose and throat. None of the

exposed individuals suffered lasting effects.

In the Koren study, which again focused on problems

associated with indoor air quality, the authors exposed 14

healthy individuals to almost the identical 22 VOCS used in

the Molhave study. The study noted increases in nose and

throat irritation after exposure to the mixture at a concentration

of 25 mg/m” for four hours. No lasting effects were observed.

Neither party submitted a copy of the Bascom article,

so review here is limited to the synopsis provided by Dr.

Monroe in his written report. According to Dr. Monroe, this

paper reports a case of severe irritant conjunctivitis from

exposure to VOCs emitted from new carpeting that was

installed at the patient's place of work. Symptoms resolved

during medical leave but recurred when she returned to work,

and she eventually had to resign from her job. (Monroe Rpt.

at 4). Unlike the Molhave and Koren studies, the Bascom

article is an anecdotal case report and does not reflect the

results of a pre-designed study in a controlled setting. '*

Finally, the Porter article, also anecdotal, reports on the

physical symptoms of two Navy aviators following an incident

where their cockpit accidentally became "overwhelmed" with

JP-5 fuel vapors.’ The aviators had detected fuel vapors

18 .

The findings of anecdotal case reports are generally afforded less

weight than the conclusions of designed and controlled studies. See Casey

v. Ohio Medical Prods., 877 F. Supp. 1380, 1385 (N.D. Cal. 1995) (stating

that "case reports are not reliable scientific evidence of causation, because

they simply describe reported phenomena without comparison to the rate at

which the phenomena occur in the general population or in a defined

control group; do not isolate and exclude potentially alternative causes; and

do not investigate or explain the mechanism of causation").

a The author explains that “military JP-5 fuel is composed of

straight chain hydrocarbons between C10 and C15. It is a high flash-point

kerosene-type aviation fuel mixture" with various additives. He also notes

A.45

throughout the one-hour flight, but the fumes suddenly

became "excessive," and an emergency landing was required.

Both pilots experienced burning sensations in their eyes, and

one developed a headache and nausea. One pilot recovered

completely within 24 hours, and the other had fully recovered

and returned to flight duty within four days. The author

concluded that exposure to the JP-5 fuel can cause a short-term

intoxicating effect in humans.””

The scientific basis for Dr. Monroe's reliance on these

studies is far from clear. In explaining why he believes the

results of the Molhave study are transferrable to the effects of

kerosene or AvJet, Dr. Monroe stated at one point in his

deposition testimony that it was due to "similarities in the

components in the mixture used by Molhave and components

in the volatile fractions of kerosene and avjet [sic].". (Monroe

Tr., Vol. II, at 45). Yet, he identified only seven of the 22

VOCs present in the Molhave study as being present also in

AvJet. In addition, he conceded that no one individual

chemical in AvJet was likely to have caused Ms Cavallo's

adverse reaction; rather, he stated, "it's the combination of the

components [of AvJet] that caused it." (Monroe Tr., Vol. 1. at

84). The authors of the Koren study made a _ similar

observation regarding the Molhave study:

that "there is little information on JP-5 toxicity in humans." Porter, supra

note 17, at 655.

es Porter also notes that “[s]everal cases of purposeful inhalation,

intoxication, and addiction to gasoline vapors have been reported.

Symptoms associated with cerebral intoxication caused by intentional

inhalation of gasoline vapors include: confusion, lack of self-control.

excitement, combativeness, blurred vision, incoordination, depression,

lethargy, headaches, roaring in the ears, trembling, nausea, burning in the

chest, constriction in the throat, and Staggering gait. Severe exposure

results in dyspnea, cyanosis, delirium, coma, seizures, and death." Porter.

supra note 17, at 655.

A.46

Seer re en

Because no single chemical would be expected

to cause a reaction, Molhave hypothesized that

the sum of all the VOCs present in the mixture,

rather than any single constituent chemical,

may be the cause of the effects observed in his

study.

Koren, supra note 15, at 41 (emphasis added). Thus, both the

authors of the studies and Dr. Monroe himself caution against

extrapolating the findings regarding the effects of one mixture

in assessing the effects of a substantially different mixture.

Furthermore, Dr. Monroe admits that the dose-response

relationships observed in the Molhave and Koren studies

would be dependent upon the combination of chemicals used,

and yet he concedes he does not know how the numbers would

be affected by changing the chemical components used in the

Studies to resemble those of AvJet or kerosene. (Monroe Tr.,

Vol. I, at 90-92, Vol. II, at 46). Finally, even if the chemicals

used in the Molhave and Koren studies were identical to

AvJet, Dr. Monroe does not explain why the short-term effects

noted there are consistent with the long-term effects claimed

here. While Rule 702 does not necessarily mandate that the

expert find a study linking the exact chemicals at the exact

exposure levels with the exact illnesses at issue. it does require

that the expert demonstrate a scientifically valid basis for

projecting the findings of a study identifying a different

chemical-illness relationship to the proffered causal theory.

Nowhere does Dr. Monroe explain why the dose-response

figures found in these studies and the ailments observed there

can reliably be transferred to the case at bar.

The Bascom report appears even less germane, as the

particular carpet fiber VOCs are not identified. and, as is

common with anecdotal case reports, no dose-response

relationship was established. Nor is Dr. Monroe's reliance on

the Porter case report explained in any organized or coherent

way. Although the chemicals found in JP-5 fuel presumably

A.47

bear a closer resemblance to AvJet than does the VOC mixture

of indoor air pollutants contained in the Molhave and Koren

studies, Dr. Monroe acknowledges that he does not

specifically know the differences between AvJet and JP-5.!

Nor is there any way of knowing the concentration of vapors

to which the aviators were exposed when their cockpit became

"overwhelmed" with ‘he fuel fumes.”* In addition, even at

this apparently high concentration level, the reported physical

effects were of brief duration. While the Porter study supports

the conclusion that at some level, fuels (as all chemicals) can

have some adverse health effects, it does little to satisfy the

second step in the methodology: consulting the published

scientific literature to identify the exposure level and duration

necessary to produce the given injuries.”

Dr. Monroe's conclusion that the AvJet spill caused

Ms. Cavallo to become "sensitized" to petroleum

hydrocarbons and various other chemicals finds even less

direct support in the literature. Because none of the previously

referenced studies reports any long-term effects from the

Porter indicates that JP-5 fuel contains numerous additives,

including “antioxidants, metal deactivators, corrosion inhibitors, fuel

system icing inhibitors, and an electrical conductivity additive," all of

which “individually or in combination, could have toxic effects on the

brain." Porter, supra note 17, at 2. By contrast, Dr. Monroe does not know

whether AvJet contains any such additives. (Monroe Tr., Vol. I, at 91).

While an exact concentration is unknown, the relatively small size

of a cockpit and the fact that the aviators were "overwhelmed" by fumes

suggests that the concentration of vapors to which the aviators were

exposed was significantly greater than the level alleged here.

>*

As noted earlier, the fact that the Bascom and Porter articles are

anecdotal case reports renders their findings less reliable in establising

causation. See supra note 18. The authors of the Koren study apparently

agree. Noting the scarcity of controlled research on the effects of various

VOCs, they stressed that it is "important to perform studies in which human

volunteers are exposed to known amounts of specific pollutants in a

controlled setting." Koren, supra note 15, at 40.

A.48

2 a ele yy il

various toxic exposures, Dr. Monroe relies upon a different

group of studies to support his "increased sensitivity"

diagnosis. Specifically, he relies heavily on studies regarding

the relatively recent and apparently quite controversial

syndrome of Multiple Chemical Sensitivity ("MCS"), as well

as on studies concerning Reactive Upper Airways Disease

("RUDS") and Reactive Airways Dysfunction Syndrome

("RADS").”" Although Dr. Monroe has not definitively

categorized Ms. Cavailo's "sensitivity" illness as one of these

syndromes, he seems to suggest that she may be suffering

from at least one of them.”°

Ms. Cavallo does not attach copies of these studies to

her legal memoranda, but Dr. Monroe provides summaries of

studies involving RUDS and MCS in his report. From these, it

appears that RUDS is a "persistent chronic rhinitis condition"

that may result from unidentified "chemical exposure".

(Monroe Rpt. at 3). According to Dr. Monroe, the "chief

complaint of patients with RUDS is chemical sensitivity," and

M4 ae , ; ee

See William J. Meggs, Neurogenic Inflammation and Sensitivity

to Environmental Chemicals, 101 Envtl. Health Perspective 234 (1993):

William J. Meggs, RADS and RUDS -- the Toxic Induction of Asthma and

Rhinitis, 32 Clinical Toxicology 487 (1994); William J. Meggs, et al.,

Rhinolaryngoscopic Examination of Patients with the Multiple Chemical

Sensitivity Syndrome, 48 Arch. Envtl. Health 14 (1993): J. E. Cone, et al.,

Patients with Multiple Chemical Sensitivities: Clinical Diagnostic Subsets

among an occupational Health Clinic Population, 2 Occup. Med. State of

the Art Reviews 721 (1987).

7 Dr. Monroe's testimony is somewhat unclear with respect to

whether he believes Ms. Cavallo suffers from one of these syndromes. At

one point, when asked whether Ms. Cavallo suffers from a condition

known as Solvent Intolerance, RUDS, PADS. or MCS, Dr. Monroe

responded "well, as expressed in my report, my opinion is that she's

suffering from the irritant effects of petroleum hydrocarbons. | really have

not attempted to classify her condition beyond that." (Monroe Tr.. Vol. II,

at 15). Yet, at other times, he opined that her condition was consistent with

RUDS, MCS, and to a lesser degree, Solvent Intolerance. (Monroe Tr..

Vol. Il, at 12-13).

A.49

he notes that in one study, 100% of the patients with RUDS

also had MCS. (Monroe Rpt. at 3). In describing a study of 10

patients with MCS, Dr. Monroe notes that "all the patients had

an initial chemical exposure, which was followed by multiple

physical and mental complaints in response to subsequent

exposure to a variety of odorous organic chemicals." (Monroe

Rpt., at 4). Both RUDS and MCS appear to be general terins

describing individual's sensitization to any number or type of

chemicals. None of the studies dealt with the effects of

exposure to AvJet, nor did they identify dose-response

relationships for any of the chemicals involved. Thus, the

missing link between the studies on MCS and RUDS and Dr.

Monroe's conclusion regarding Ms. Cavallo's heightened

sensitivity to petroleum hydrocarbons is a scientifically valid

basis for the conclusion that AvJet (as opposed to chemicals

generally) can cause these syndromes at an exposure of no

more than 61 mg/m" for a duration of no more than 30

minutes.

In this respect, these studies do little to further Dr.

Monroe's opinion, other than to support the view that there is

such an illness as chemical sensitivity that can be caused by

exposure to some chemicals. But even that view is

controversial. See, e.g., Bradley v. Brown, 852 F. Supp. 690,

699 (N.D. Ind.) (quoting Dr. Meggs, author of most of the

studies upon which Dr. Monroe relies, as acknowledging that

the etiology of MCS "is as controversial as the syndrome

itself" and that his etiological model is "speculative"), aff'd 42

F.3d 434 (7th Cir. 1994); Graham v. Canadian Nat'l Ry. Co.,

749 F. Supp. 1300, 1310-11 (D. Vt. 1990) (describing MCS as

"not clearly defined" and the "subject of disagreement in the

medical community"); see also (Rodricks Rpt., at 13 (stating

that "the majority of individuals in the medical and scientific

communities have great skepticism as to whether MCS is a

verifiable syndrome and whether it is caused by chemical

exposure")); (Witorsch”® Rpt., at 16-17 (noting "considerable

doubt in the scientific medical community regarding ‘he

legitimacy of MCS as a valid nosologic/diagnostic entity")).

Apparently cognizant of this weakness, Ms. Cavallo protests

that Dr. Monroe does not conclude that she suffers from MCS.

She writes:

The defendants attempt to mischaracterize the

opinions of both Dr. Bellanti and Dr. Monroe

as being based some how upon _ the

controversial theory of ‘Chemical sensitivity’.

Dr. Bellanti uses the term in an imniunological

sense and Dr. Monroe in an irritant sense Dr.

Monroe additional [sic] states in his deposition

that he made no attempt to classify Ardith

Cavallo's injuries as being attributable to

chemical sensitivity.

(Mem. in Opp. of Mot. for Sum. Jud., at 13 n. 36) (emphasis

added). Nor did Dr. Monroe categorize her condition as

RUDS. But while this disclaimer effectively avoids the pitfalls

of having to rely upon the questionable scientific validity of

MCS and RUDS, it also undermines Dr. Monroe's reliance on

the studies for his asserted purpose. If Dr. Monroe's

conclusion that Ms. Cavallo has been "sensitized" in an

“urritant sense" is different from a conclusion that she suffers

from MCS or RUDS, then it is hard to see how the MCS and

RUDS studies support his causation conclusion. The

incongruence of Ms. Cavallo's argument is readily apparent,

and her position is self-defeating. Without a better explanation,

or indeed, an explanation at all, of what Ms. Cavallo's

"increased sensitivity" illness is, how it is caused, and why

" Dr. Philip Witorsch is a pharmacologist and toxicologist. He was

retained by Star as an expert in this case.

A.51

MCS and RUDS literature supports it, Ms. Cavallo's position

is untenable.

The reliability of Dr. Monroe's opinion that the AvJet

spill caused Ms. Cavallo's chronic condition is further

undermined by the fact that the information that has been

gathered specifically on AvJet suggests that no ill effects

would be expected from exposure to AvJet for the duration

and at the concentration alleged in this case.*’ As described

by Dr. Rodricks in his report, Threshold Limit Values

("TLVs") have been established by the American Conference

of Governmental Industrial Hygienists for petroleum

compounds related to aviation fuel. These TLVs are based

upon "the best available information from" human and animal

studies as well as industrial experience, and “represent

airborne concentrations of substances to which nearly all

workers may be repeatedly exposed day after day without

adverse health effects." (Rodricks Rpt., 7-8). According to Dr.

Rodricks’ unrefuted assessment, the TLVs for aviation fuel.

“which are designed to protect workers exposed 8 hours [per]

day on a chronic basis," exceed the worst-case concentration to

which Ms. Cavallo may have been exposed (61 mg/m’) on one

evening by a factor of more than 10. (Rodricks Rpt., at 8).

Furthermore, Dr. Rodricks explained that he consulted the

toxicology literature to determine the "no observed effect

levels" ("NOELs") and "lowest observed effect levels"

(“LOELs") in humans for acute exposure to jet fuels, kerosene,

diesel, and gasoline. This consultation revealed that "the

At several points in her memoranda, Ms. Cavallo resorts to

evidence that AvJet is toxic, and that Star knew it to be so. in an effort to

support her experts’ opinions of causation. (Mem. in Opp. to Defs’ Mot. in

Lim., at 3-4 (citing EPA order)); (Supp. Mem. in opp. of Mot. for Sum

Jud., at 3-5 (citing Texaco Material safety Data Sheet)). Yet, as noted

earlier and as readily conceded by Star, there is no doubt that AvJet, as all

chemicals, can be toxic. As Paracelsus taught long ago, toxicity is a

function of dose. Thus, the question for causation purposes is: At what

levels of exposure do what kinds of harm occur?

A.52

Worst-case air concentration for Mrs. Cavallo's exposure

modeled by plaintiff's expert (61 mg/m* = 9ppm) was at least

[5 times lower than the NOELs and LOELs observed in

humans." (Rodricks Rpt., at 9).** While Ms. Cavallo contends

that these NOELs, LOELs, and TLVs are heavily biased

toward industry, a proposition that may well be true, she has

not Produced any alternative study, literature, or source that

supports her conclusion that exposure to 61 mg/m? of AvJet

for a relatively short duration could produce the chronic

illnesses from which she allegedly suffers. Cf. Conde. 24 F.3d

at 814 (stating that while the plaintiffs "cite published critiques

of [the defendants'] studies, the critiques only underscore the

need for further studies, and do not. . . establish causation").

3. Summary

In sum, Dr. Monroe's theory that Ms. Cavallo's

exposure for 5-30 minutes to a 6] mg/m°* concentration of

AvJet caused her chronic conjunctivitis and sinusitis, or her

"increased sensitivity" to petroleum hydrocarbons, lacks many

of the indicia of reliability listed in Daubert. Chiefly, there is

no support for this causation theory in the scientific literature.

And to the extent that it has been tested (through establishment

of TLVs, NOELs, and LOELs), the theory fails. Similarly,

there is no evidence that Dr. Monroe's causation theory is

supported in the scientific community. Because of this

deviation from the scientific method, which the Fourth Circuit

has defined as "subjecting testable hypotheses to the crucible

of experiment in an effort to disprove them," Dr. Monroe's

opinion cannot be deemed "scientific knowledge." United

States v. Bynum, 3 F.3d 769. 773 (4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied.

__ US. __, 1148. Ct. 1105 (1994),

28 7 , :

He went on to note that "the worst-case air concentration modeled

by Star's experts was at least 15,000 times lower than the NOELs and

LOELs observed in humans." (Rodricks Rpt., at 9).

A.53

Although Dr. Monroe found support in the literature

for a conclusion that exposure to similar levels of a different

mixture of volatile organic compounds produce somewhat

a similar substance produce different, short-term Wfects he is

unable to provide any scientifically valid basis to Support the

leap from those studies to his opinion in this case. Similarly,

the only literature arguably supporting such an illness as

chronic chemical sensitivity is of questionable scientific

validity and, more importantly, does not establish the link

between AvJet and these illnesses. Thus, while the

agreed-upon methodology appears to be scientifically valid, it

does not appear to have been faithfully applied. See Paoli R.R.,

35 F.3d at 745 (noting that "any step that renders the analysis

unreliable under the Daubert factors renders the expert's

testimony inadmissible. This is true whether the step

completely changes a_ reliable methodology or merely

misapplies that methodology") (emphasis in original). In other

words, like the circumstances in Chikovsky and Schmaltz,

there is a lack of "fit" between the studies relied upon and the

conclusion reached. Chikovsky, 832 F. Supp. at 346; Schmaltz.

878 F. Supp. at 1122. See also Bradley, 852 F. Supp. at 698

("scientific expert opinion testimony is allowed on_ the

rationale that the expert can tie the facts of a particular case to

tested scientific theory"); Casey v. Ohio Med. Prods, 877 F.

Supp. 1380, 1385 (N.D. Cal. 1995) (study showing causal link

between halothane and cirrhosis of the liver not scientific

evidence of causal link between halothane and chronic active

hepatitis). As a result, Dr. Monroe's opinion is not "scientific

knowledge" and must be excluded.

B. Dr. Bellanti

Dr. Bellanti is an immunologist. In his written report,

he concludes that "Mrs. Cavallo suffers from chronic sphenoid

sinusitis and pulmonary dysfunction as a direct and proximate

A.54

cause of her exposure to aviation jet fuel in December, 1991."

(Bellanti Rpt., at 4). He further concludes that the spill

"traumatized" and "sensitized" her "to various volatile organic

compounds including petroleum vapors and some household

chemicals." (Bellanti Rpt., at 4). Thus, like Dr. Monroe, Dr.

. These conclusions, which attribute Ms. Cavallo’s injuries to the

December 1991 spill, appear to differ somewhat from Dr. Bellatni’s

initial deposition testimony. During his first of three depositions, Dr.

Bellanti resisted attributing the cause of Ms. Cavallo’s ongoing illnesses

to one massive event rather than to an overall continuum of exposure.

For instance, with respect to whether the spill caused any long-term

effects in Ms. Cavallo, the following testimony occurred:

Q: Do you have any opinion, D:. Bellanti, on

whether Mrs. Cavallo sustained any loag-term damage

or injury as a result of the separate, discrete, alleged

exposure to petroleum products in December 1991?

A: The basis of my opinion was made on the

bases of the single exposure and the continuing

exposure. | do not know. | do not have any opinion or

I didn’t make any opinions on the basis of long-term

damage as a result of a single exposure.

(Bellanti Tr., at 21-22) (emphasis added).

Q: Now, as an expert witness in this case, can you

render an opinion on the question whether Mrs. Cavallo

sustained any lasting damage or injury as a result of the

one alleged event of exposure in December 1991?

A: Without knowing the details of intensity of

exposure, of duration of exposure, of the time of

exposure, concentration, | doin't -- you know, it would be

idle speculation for me to try to answer that question.

(Bellanti Tr., at 43-44) (emphasis added). Although it is possible that these

responses could be considered consistent with his opinion that she was

“sensitized” (as this implies newfound sensitivity to continued exposures

rather than chronic illnesses apart firom the continued exposures), Dr.

A.55

Bellanti opines that the AvJet spill caused Ms. Cavallo's

chronic conditions.

There is no question that Dr. Bellanti is qualified to

testify regarding the nature of Ms. Cavallo's illnesses: namely,

that she suffers from chronic sphenoid sinusitis and pulmonary

dysfunction. Rather, the focus of the dispute is whether his

opinion regarding the cause of these illnesses is scientifically

valid and therefore admissible under Daubert. As with Dr.

Monroe, resolution of this question necessarily requires an

analysis of the reliability of the methodology employed by Dr.

Bellanti, as well as careful scrutiny of his adherence to, and

application of, that methodology.

Bellanti’s initial repsonses to question regarding “sensitivity” are also

puzzling:

Q: Do you have any opinion of whether Mrs.

Cavallo was sensitized to petroleum products or any

other substances as a rseult of exposure in December

1991?

A: I have no evidence for that.

(Bellanti Tr., at 58).

Q: Is it fair to say that you have not in either your

treatment of Mrs. Cavallo or your review of her medical

records seen any evidence that she was sensitized as a

result of exposure to petroleum products?

A: I have never -- that’s never come into my thinking.

I have no evidence of that

(Bellati Tr., at 61). Nevertheless, the Court accepts the conclusions

contained in Dr. Bellanti’s report for purposes of these proceedings and

will presume either that Dr. Bellanti has modified his opinion since his

deposition or that he interpreted the above questions as using the word

“sensitized” in a different manner than intended in his report.

A.56

Although neither party clearly explains _ the

methodology applied by Dr. Bellanti,° it appears from a

review of his written report as well as his deposition testimony

that he primarily applied a methodology of differential

diagnosis.”" Thus, he determined from a review of Ms.

Cavallo's medical history, from her description of the spill

incident, from his initial examination of her, and from the

timing of the spill in relation to her development of symptoms,

that her exposure to the petroleum hydrocarbons could have

caused her chronic illnesses. Dr. Bellanti then examined other

- In its motion in limine, Star notes that Dr. Bellanti "did not even

attempt to follow the procedures of toxicology" in forming his opinion.

(Mem. in Sup. of Defs' Mot. in Lim., at 13). In her short response

concerning Dr. Bellanti, Ms. Cavallo does not clearly identify the

methodology he used, stating only in quite a conclusory fashion that:

[hJis independence, impartiality and lack of bias as an

expert in his field is [sic] unchallenged. He has examined

her innumerable times and conducted a vast number of

diagnostic tests and procedures to rule out other causes

of Mrs. Cavallo's medical condition. Dr. Bellanti did

evaluate and consider the chemicals or concentrations of

vapors to which plaintiff was allegedly exposed; he did

assess the likelihood that exposure to AvJet vapors at the

level plaintiff alleges could cause the specific illnesses

she alleges; and he cited scientific literature to support

his opinion that exposure to Av-Jet [sic] vapors could

have caused illnesses of the sort plaintiff alleges (See

Bellanti Exhibits 31-34).

(Mem. in opp. to Defs' Mot. in Lim., at 11). This passage appears to reflect

that Ms. Cavallo contends that Dr. Bellanti applied both 1) the toxicology

methodology previously discussed to determine whether the AvJet spill

could have caused her injuries and 2) a differential diagnosis to rule out

other possible causes.

4 Differential diagnosis describes “a process whereby medical

doctors experienced in diagnostic techniques provide testimony

countering other possible causes . . . of the injuries at issue.” Hines v.

Consolidates Rail Corp., 926 F.2d 262, 270 n.6 (3d Cir. 1991).

A.57

Possible causes of her symptoms (such as her history of

smoking 1.5 packs a day for at least 20 and as much as 40

years,” Possible allergies, possible MSG in the Chinese food

eaten on the night of the spill, and Ms. Cavallo's exposure to a

previous spill in 1960), and ruled out each one.”

The process of differential diagnosis is undoubtedly

important to the question of "specific causation". If other

possible causes of an injury cannot be ruled out, or at least the

probability of their contribution to causation minimized, then

the "more likely than not" threshold for proving causation may

not be met. But, it is also important to recognize that a

fundamental assumption underlying this method is that the

final, suspected "cause" remaining after this process of

elimination must actually be capable of causing the injury.

That is, the expert must "rule in" the suspected cause as well as

"rule out" other possible causes. And, of course, expert

opinion on this issue of "general causation" must be derived

from a scientifically valid methodology.

The methodology followed by toxicologists in

determining whether a particular chemical could have caused a

3?

The number of years that Ms. Cavallo smoked is variously

reported in the record as 20 and 40.

9 Unlike Dr. Bellanti, Dr. Witorsch, one of Star's medical experts,

concludes that Ms. Cavallo's chronic obstructive pulmonary disease is

"entirely consistent" with her history of cigarette smoking. He also believes

her sinusitis is consistent with common environmental allergens in the

Washington, D.C. metropolitan area, with her history of cigarette smoking,

and with congenital or developmental abnormalities involving her nose or

paranasal sinuses. (Witorsch Rpt., at 15).

" “General causation" refers to whether X can cause Y. Here, the

issue of general causation is whether exposure to AvJet vapors at the

asserted concentration and duration could have caused the alleged injuries.

On the other hand, “specific causation" refers to whether X did cause Y in a

given case. See Casey, 877 F. Supp. at 1383. It is in determining specific

causation that differential diagnosis is helpful.

A.58

yy

given injury has been previously discussed in reference to Dr.

Monroe. See supra 2 § II.A.2. Although Dr. Bellanti is not

himself a toxicologist, he must nonetheless apply the

principles and methods of toxicology if he is to give an

opinion on an issue relating to that specialty. Cf Wade-Greaux

v. Whitehall Lab., Inc., 874 F. Supp. 1441, 1478 (D.V.1.)

(stating that "[a]lthough Plaintiff's expert witnesses purport to

hail from different disciplines, such as _ toxicology,

pharmacology and Pediatric pathology, each is offering an

opinion with respect to human birth defects and their causes --

i.e., the field of teratology" and therefore "the methodologies

they employ must be compared with the methodology

generally accepted by the community of teratologists"), aff'd

46 F.3d 1120 (3d Cir. 1994). And despite Ms. Cavallo's

suggestions to the contrary, see supra note 30, Dr. Bellanti did

not do so.

With respect to the level of Ms. Cavallo's exposure,

Dr. Bellanti concluded only that she sustained a "massive

exposure" (Bellanti Tr., at 231). He candidly acknowledged

that in forming his opinion, he was unaware of the duration

and intensity of exposure.” In addition, he repeatedly

35 . ° .

Like Dr. Monroe, see supra note 12, Dr. Bellanti's reasoning

process with respect to causation at times appeared somewhat circular.

Having indicated that he did not know the details of duration and intensity

of exposure, he nonetheless concluded:

I know that she was exposed for a sufficiently long time,

and I do know from the Texaco report and from

information that has been provided to me that there was

a spill and that there was significant amounts of

hydrocarbon in the atmosphere. Now, whether or not

that was documented or not, that's -- we could look at

that later, | suppose, but that [sic] there was sufficient

exposure to cause her to develop symptomatology.

(Bellanti Tr., at 44) (emphasis added).

A.59

qualified his responses to deposition questions regarding levels

of exposure and dose-response relationships with the reminder

that he was not a toxicologist.””

Even assuming that he was aware of and considered

the alleged 61 mg/m’ level of exposure, Dr. Bellanti could cite

no studies or published literature to support adverse effects

from that level of exposure to AvJet. Although Dr. Bellanti

cited no literature at all in his report, he referenced in his

deposition testimony an article in which 286 asthmatic women

were clinically evaluated.’ While only 15.5% of those who

improved clinically had come into contact with kerosene,

43.9% of those who did not improve used kerosene as a

cooking fuel. For 16 of the women, their asthma developed

soon after they began using kerosene.® The authors

For instance, the following question and answer are reported:

Assume, please, that one were exposed to vapors from

jet fuel or filtered kerosene for 15 minutes or less, what

concentration or intensity of vapors would be

necessary in those circumstances to cause lasting

respiratory injury?

[objection omitted]

A: Again, this is a question that is best posed to a

toxicologist. This is beyond my level of expertise. |

cannot answer that question.

(Bellanti Tr., at 54)

Rodriguez de la Vega et al., Kerosene-induced Asthma, 64 Annals

of Allergy 362 (1990).

™ Because neither party submitted a copy of this article, and Dr.

Bellanti did not describe the article in his report, these figures are taken

from the summary of the article provided in Dr. Monroe's written report.

While Dr. Monroe cited this article in his long list of references, he did not

include it in his deposition testimony among the articles upon which he

chiefly relied in forming his opinion

A.60

concluded that exposure to kerosene can cause asthma. While

this article involves kerosene, which is substantially similar to

AvJet, Dr. Bellanti acknowledged that it provided no

information regarding the levels of kerosene to which these

women were exposed. Nor does it lend support for the notion

that one brief encounter with a given level of kerosene, rather

than repeated exposures over a lengthy period, can produce the

sort of chronic illnesses from which Ms. Cavallo suffers.

Prior to his third deposition, Dr. Bellanti reviewed

various literature pertaining to the disease RADS.*’ He then

cited these studies in his deposition testimony for the general

proposition that "a single [chemical] insult can cause damage

which can be permanent and long lasting." (Bellanti Tr., at

328). Yet significantly, Dr. Bellanti was only willing to say

that Ms. Cavallo "could" have RADS, a facially speculative

diagnosis. (Bellanti Tr., at 331-30). Furthermore, even if Dr.

Bellanti had definitively diagnosed RADS, none of the studies

cited dealt with the effects of AvJet or kerosene, nor did they

establish dose response relationships for the chemicals that

The cited studies are:

I, Olav Axelson & Christer Hogstedt, The Health Effects of

Solvents, in Occupational Medicine 764 (3d ed. 1994).

2. Stuart M. Brooks et al., Reactive Airways Dysfunction

Syndrome (RADS): Persistent Asthma Syndrome afier High Level Irritant

Exposures, 88 CHEST 376 (1985).

3. David G. Kern, Outbreak of the Reactive Airways

Dysfunction Syndrome after a Spill of Glacial Acetic Acid, 144 Amer. Rev.

Resp. Diseases 1058 (1991),

4, Denyse Gautrin et al., /s Reactive Airways Dysfunction

Syndrome a Variant of Occupational Asthma?, 93 J. Allergy & Clinical

Immunology 12 (1994).

A.61

were involved.*” Only the Kern article attempted to quantify

the ievel of exposure to a chemical necessary to develop

RADS, and that article involved exposure to glacial acetic

acid. Even Dr. Bellanti admitted that the figures in this study

"may not be completely extrapolable [sic]" to the case at bar.

(Bellanti Tr., at 333).

Thus, it is clear that Dr. Bellanti did not follow the

accepted toxicology methodology in formulating his opinion

of causation in this case. At bottom, his opinion is founded

primarily on the temporal connection between the spill and the

development of Ms. Cavallo's symptoms,” as well as on his

subjective, unverified, belief that AvJet can cause the types of

injuries from which Ms. Cavallo suffers. This is not the

method of science. See Schmaltz, 878 F. Supp. at 1122 (stating

that "[i]t is well settled that a causation opinion based solely

on a temporal relationship is not derived from the scientific

” At oral argument, the attorneys for Ms. Cavallo cited the

Hudnell study, which does not deal with PADS, as providing dose-

response figures that support Dr. Bellanti’s opinion. H. Kenneth Hudnell

et al., Exposure of Humans to Volatile Organic Mixture Il; Sensory, 47

Archives Envtl. Health 31 (1992). This study involved virtually the

identical combinsation of 22 BOCs used in the Molhave and Koren

studies, see supra notes 14-15, and, like the others, was designed to

analyze sick building syndrome. Sixty-six health males were exposed to

a corcentration of 25 mg/m of the 22 BOC mixture for 2.75 hour

periods, during which increases in eye and throat irritation, headache,

and drowsiness were observed. Like the other studies, no long-term

effects were reported. Just as Dr. Monroe failed to demonstrate any

scientifically valid basis for transferring the Molhave and Koren data to

Ms. Cavallo’s exposure to AvJet, supra, Dr. Bellanti has not provided a

sufficient explanation for his purported reliance on the Hudnell study.

- Dr. Bellanti essentially admits that the temporal relationship

between the exposure and her symptoms is a principal factor underlying his

opinion. (Bellanti Tr., at 76) (stating that "I think the fact that the history

suggests that things took a turn for the worse after '91 is one of the major

aspects in my assessment that there was a causal relationship to the

exposure and her present condition").

A.62

LEAL SSL TOLUENE BEL LIE LIE SLE TALES SERCO NN

Sint eS ace DARE mate BE | A.

method and is therefore insufficient to satisfy the requirements

of [Rule] 702"). Because, like Dr. Monroe, Dr. Bellanti

significantly departed from the appropriate methodology, his

opinion is not based on the scientific method and _ is

inadmissible under Rule 702.

C. Summary

In sum, neither Dr. Monroe nor Dr. Bellanti

sufficiently adhered to the established toxicology methodology

in forming their conclusions that Ms. Cavallo's exposure to

AvJet vapors from the December 1991 spill caused her various

chronie illnesses. Their testimony, therefore is not "supported

by appropriate validation" as required by Daubert, U.S. __

at __, 113 S. Ct. at 2795, and is ultimately unreliable. In the

final analysis, the opinions of Drs. Monroe and Bellanti are

based largely on hypothesis and speculation. This is not to say

that the doctors are insincere in their opinions, or that their

opinions may not some day be validated through scientific

research and experiment.” It may well be that the AvJet spill

forever "sensitized" Ms. Cavallo to petroleum vapors and

various other househo!d chemicals. But the published

scientific literature and test results simply do not support that

conclusion at this time.’ And _ the price paid for this

seemingly stringent standard of reliability is that, unavoidably,

some legitimate injuries will be left unredressed. See Daubert,

° Nor are the general qualifications of Dr. Monroe and Dr. Bellanti

questioned here. Both men possess impressive credentials and have

substantial experience in their respective fields.

x This is often true in “the growing field of hazardous-substance

litigation, where the causal relationship between exposure to a hazardous

substance and subsequent symptoms may be hypothesized, but not yet

tested and proven to the legally required degree of certitude." Bradley, 852

F. Supp. at 696 (citing Daubert, U.S.__ at__, 113 S. Ct. at 2796-99).

A.63

__ US. __ at __, 113 S. Ct. at 2798-99 (recognizing that "in

practice, a gatekeeping role for the judge, no matter how

flexible, ineviiably on occasion will prevent the jury from

learning of authentic insights and innovations").

Also worth emphasizing is that the circumstances of

each case are unique, and the absence of scientific validation

through published studies and tested hypotheses is not always

fatal to an expert's opinion. Specifically, there may be

instances where the temporal connection between exposure to

a given chemical and subsequent injury is so compelling as to

dispense with the need for reliance on standard methods of

toxicology. Thus, if a person were doused with chemical X

and immediately thereafter developed symptom Y, the need

for published literature showing a correlation between the two

may be lessened. Similarly, statistical evidence can be

persuasive in certain contexts. For instance, if a known

chemical is accidentally introduced into a company's

ventilation system, and all of the workers exposed

immediately develop the same adverse reaction, then the

episode itself may be sufficiently indicative of causation. This,

however, is not such a case,” and the failure to adhere to the

applicable methodology renders inadmissible the expert

opinions proffered here.

" That Ms. Cavallo's initial consultations with physicians failed to

disclose any significant injury, and that her chronic sinusitis and pulmonary

disease were diagnosed only one and a half years after the spill, renders the

temporal relationship between the spill and her injuries less than

compelling. Furthermore, there is no evidence that a substantial number of

others who were exposed to vapors from the spill are experiencing similar

effects. While it appears that some firemen (who dealt directly with

clean-up efforts and were presumably exposed to much greater

concentrations of AvJet vapors) experienced some initial adverse effects,

there is no evidence in the record that any of them suffered permanent

injury.

A.64

II], Summary Judgment Motion

It follows from the exclusion of the expert testimony

of Drs. Monroe and Bellanti that summary judgment must be

granted in favor of Star. Even assuming Star's negligence in

permitting the AvJet spill, and even assuming that Ms. Cavallo

suffers from the chronic illnesses she alleges, there is

insufficient evidence of causation to create a triable issue of

fact for the jury.

In general, expert testimony is required to prove that

exposure to a toxic substance caused a certain injury or

illness.*° Without reliable expert testimony iinking Ms.

Cavallo's exposure to AvJet fumes from the spill to her

subsequent development of chronic respiratory problems, the

jury could only speculate, based on a loose temporal

relationship and not scientific fact, that a causal relationship

exists. Such an inference would be impermissible, even apart

from the evidence that the TLVs, NOELs, and LOELs for

AvJet all substantially exceed the maximum, “wo,st-case"

concentration to which Ms. Cavallo was exposed on the night

of the spill. Therefore, summary judgment is appropriate.”

™ See, e.g., Rohrbough by Rohrbough v. Wyeth Lab., Inc., 719 F.

Supp. 470, 473 (N.D. W. Va. 1989) (because of “high degree of scientific

complexity" in proving that vaccine caused plaintiffs injuries, expert

testimony was required to prove causation), aff'd 916 F.2d 970 (4th Cir.

1990); Porter, 9 F.3d at 612 (expert testimony required to establish link

between ibuprofen and renal failure); Bradley, 852 F. Supp. at 697 (stating

that “plaintiffs may not make out causation vis-&-vis MCS merely by

reliance upon the temporal congruity of the [exposure] and the onset of

their symptoms").

- Summary judgment is appropriate with respect to Ms. Cavallo's

claim for chronic illness, which is, it appears, the only claim she is making.

See supra note 7. Should Ms. Cavallo consider that her complaint also

encompasses the immediate and temporary effects of irritated eyes and

runny nose on the night of the spill, then she may seek reconsideration, for

the Court has not addressed that issue.

A.65

Prior to Daubert, courts presented with this situation

may have been more inclined to admit the expert testimony

and allow the jury, aided by vigorous cross-examination, to

sort out the relative reliability of opposing expert opinions.

But Daubert recognized the danger in this approach. By

definition, experts testify to matters beyond the common

understanding of the jury, and, as a consequence, their

opinions can carry great weight. Given this, Daubert assigned

district courts a more vigorous role to play in ferreting out

expert opinion not based on the scientific method. At the same

time, however, courts must be cautious to avoid weighing the

relative merits of opinions that are derived from scientifically

valid methodology or assuming the role of amateur scientist.

In granting the motion in limine, thereby paving the way for

summary judgment, the Court scrupulously attempted to walk

this fine line: analyzing the experts’ adherence to the scientific

methodology, while declining to weigh the evidence before it.

Significantly, nothing in the Court's review and analysis of this

issue required any scientific training.” Rather, the Court did

nothing more than use the customary legal tools of logical

reasoning’® to carry out its gatekeeping function.

IV. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, the motion in limine and the

motion for summary judgment are granted.

47 . ° :

While I have an undergraduate degree in science, almost 35 years

has passed since I have had any professional involvement with science.

Moreover, the Court's clerks are both blissfully innocent of any scientific

training. Proper application of Daubert simply does not require that district

judges be trained scientists.

. Although the Court's application of these customary legal tools

may ultimately be deemed erroneous, the error would stem from flawed

legal reasoning and not from lack of scientific training

A.66

Tats ua Nzsitis di adi cominie eas Salaaes dee es eadioe Ee Eee Le

Se ER IES OREN fn a yA

*

feataame

An appropriate order has already issued with respect to

the motion in limine, and an order reflecting the disposition of

the summary judgment motion will issue forthwith.

/s/ T.S. Ellis, I]

T. S. Ellis, I]

United States District Judge

Alex:.adria, Va.

July 10, 1995

A.67

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

Alexandria Division

ARDITH CAVALLO,

Plaintiff,

v.

STAR ENTERPRISE, et al.

Defendants.

Civil Action No. 94-1499-A

Entered: July 10, 1995

ORDER

This matter comes before the Court on Defendants’

motion for summary judgment. For the reasons stated in the

accompanying Memorandum Opinion, The motion is

GRANTED. Should Plaintiff wish to seek reconsideration

pursuant to footnote 46 in the Memorandum Opinion, she

has 10 days from the date of this Order to do so. Fed. R.

Civ. P. 59(e).

The Clerk is directed to send copies of this Order and

the accompanying Memoranaum Opinion to all counsel of

record.

/s/ T. S. Ellis, I]

T.S. Ellis, II

United States District Judge

Alexandria, Virginia

July 10, 1995

A.68

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

EASTERN DISTRICT IF VIRGINIA

ALEXANDRIA DIVISION

ARDITH CAVALLO and LAWRENCE Cavallo,

Plaintiffs,

v.

STAR ENTERPRISE, et, ai.,

Defendants.

CIVIL ACTION NO. 94-1499-A

Entered: January 20, 1995

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

This matter comes before the court on a motion to

dismiss certain claims and counts in the amended complaint,

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.P. 12(b) (6), and on the plaintiffs’

motion to exclude certain matters not contained in the

pleadings from the court’s consideration of the defendants’

motion. Upon consideration of the pleadings, memoranda,

and appropriate exhibits of the parties, the court overrules the

plaintiffs’ motion and sustains the defendants’ motion, and

accordingly will dismiss all but the first count of the

amended complaint.

This action arises out of discharges of petroleum

products from the defendants’ petroleum distribution

terminal (“Star facility”) in Fairfax County. The allegations

are that the plaintiffs are owners of a_ residence

approximately one-half mile east of the Star facility. In

September or October of 1990, local officials determined and

defendants acknowledged that a “petroleum release” had

occurred at the facility, resulting in the discharge of toxic

A.69

substances into the local waterways, the subsurface, and the

air. On the evening of December 9, 1991, while leaving a

restaurant adjacent to the facility, Ardith Cavallo was

directly exposed to airborne petroleum contaminates traced

to a particular discharge at the facility, called the “Av-Jet

Spill,” which occurred at the Star facility on or about the

same day. This reaction allegedly triggered in Ardith

Cavallo a continuing and severe sensitivity to petroleum

vapors. The plaintiffs allege that the contamination

discovered in 1990, the subsequent Av-Jet spill, and

subsequent activities of the defendants at the Star facility

contributed and contribute to total hydrocarbon

concentrations in the air at and around the plaintiffs’

property. the presence of these concentrations continues to

impair Ardith Cavallo’s health, cause her to incur medical

expenses, and limit her daily activities and her enjoyment of

the plaintiffs’ property.

The plaintiffs seek compensatory and trespass

damages in four counts. The defendants argue that the

claims contained in counts II, III, and IV are barred for one

or more of the following reasons: the expiration of the

applicable one- or two- year Virginia statutes of limitations;

federal preemption of certain claims in courts II-IV; and

failure to state a claim under the Virginia State Water

Control Law, Va. Code § 62.1-44.2, et seq., in count IV.

: + Limitati

This complaint was filed on November 14, 1994,

pursuant to tolling agreements wherein the defendants agreed

not to plead limitations arising after December 8, 1993. The

plaintiffs concede that the applicable statute of limitations for

the personal injuries of Ardith Cavallo is two years and the

applicable statute of limitations for the trespass and statutory

claims is one year. Therefore, the negligence causes of

action in counts I and II are only barred to the extent that

A.70

a a

they accrued prior to December 8, 1991, and the trespass and

statutory causes of action in counts III and IV are only barred

to the extent that they accrued prior to December 8, 1992.

Although the defendants argue that the cause of

action in counts II is based in part on the petroleum

contamination discovered in 1990, the court treats all the

allegations in counts | and II as stating claims for Ardith

Cavallo’s injuries arising out of the Av-Jet spill on

December 9, 1991.' The prior contamination is only

relevant insofar as it contributes to the conditions in the

atmosphere to which Ardith Cavallo is exposed. The

inclusion of allegations regarding the prior contamination

does not time-bar the claims in counts I and II. As to counts

III and IV, the court finds that the allegations of continuing

discharges sufficiently state cause of action accruing after

December 8, 1992.

Federal Preemption

While the court finds that none of the counts of the amended

complaint are wholly time-barred, the plaintiffs’ claims must

accordingly be based on discharges that occurred within the

limitations periods defined above. However, the defendants

argue that any damage claims resulting from discharges

released from the Star facility in compliance with

administrative orders of the Environmental Protection

Agency (“EPA Orders”) are barred under the doctrine of

preemption. Feikema v. Texaco, Inc., 16 F.3d 1408 (4th Cir.

1994). The plaintiffs argue that the court may not take

judicial notice of the EPA Orders on the defendants’ motion

to dismiss, and further argue that, under Feikema, the EPA

Orders do not preempt a state law claim for damages.

é, The court notes that the claims for relief in counts I and II are

identical.

A.7]

The court finds that it is appropriate to take judicial

notice of the EPA Orders for consideration of the defendants’

motion to dismiss. These orders are a matter of public

record. Contrary to the plaintiffs’ motion to exclude, the

orders are not relied on for the EPA’s factual findings

regarding the defendants’ activities at the Star facility.

Rather, they are relied upon solely to show the scope and

legal authority of the federal government’s control of

remediation efforts at the site. Furthermore, the complaint

itself alleges that the EPA took control of activities

conducted at and around the Star facility relating to

identifying, controlling and stabilizing the petroleum release.

For these reasons, the plaintiffs’ motion to exclude will be

denied.

The

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.