Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Scanlin v. Cooper
Supreme Court brief1997
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
~ ;
Supreme Vourl, v..
. 9
{ | $i LED
961458 JAN 1 3 1997.
gp oh BE
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
No:
October Term 1996
John J. Scanlin, Citizen
Mr. and Mrs. Robert M. Cooper, et al
On Petition For Writ of Certiorari
To The Federal Middle District Court of
Williamsport, Pennsylvania
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
John J. Scanlin, Pro Se
3200 Lambs Creek Road
Mansfield, Penna., 16933
Phone: 717-662-7110
INTRODUCTION
71 year old petitioner comes to this Court both as
an individual, and as president and sole incor-
porator of a not-for-profit humanitarian organi-
zation, the World Unicorn Society, Inc., believing
that his constitutional rights to own and enjoy
private property have been unrelentingly abridged
by the several defendants, acting in concert
through a ‘pressure matrix’ effectively to nullify
and circumvent lawful government.
Additionally, petitioner believes he has been
targeted by this local ‘pressure matrix’ because of
his human and civil rights activism, which is
based on, and described in the petitioner’s 1977
unpublished, but widely circulated manuscript:
“In Search Of New Directions” (ten copies are
submitted with this petition.)
While petitioner’s right of free expression has
not been abridged, he believes he has been vic-
timized and punished for his views and activism
by systematized and unrelenting denial of public
and governmental services, which are constitu-
tionally, and morally his due as a lawful citizen of
the United States of America.
Petitioner believes the named individual de-
fendants, who are local managers and employees
of state and federal agencies, and elected and
appointed municipal officials, comprise this
‘pressure matrix’ which nullifies lawful govern-
ance and effectively has built a “whites only”
community. The petitioner advocating racial and
gender fairness has been subjected to 16 years of
harassment... even to possible death by drowning
because of his social activism.
|
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
1. Has the lawful power of Eminent Domain been
used to abridge the private property rights of the
Petitioner?
2. Has Petitioner been exposed to unreasonable
restrictions by USACE which have endangered
his life?
3. Has Petitioner been subjected to unconstitu-
tional harassment by Penna. State Police for
purpose of intimidation?
4. Why were the two Penna. State Troopers who
criminally charged the Petitioner never identified?
5. Has Petitioner’s 1977 manuscript: “In Search of
New Directions” been the cause of the harassment
lasting (16) years?
6. Has the Petitioner been denied due process in
the Middle District Court at Williamsport, Penna.?
7. Did that Court render its opinion based solely
on the defective form of original complaint rather
than on the substance of the matter?
8. Is Avulsion, due to flood, a valid legal theory;
and if so, why was it never mentioned to the Pe-
titioner, by any Respondent, in order that he might
regain his massively eroded land?
9. Was an unidentified court clerk’s inference of a
Masonic conspiracy warranted by the original
complaint?
10. Did that inference prejudice the entire case?
11. Why were Respondents Cooper, Koeppel, and
Gettle permitted to decline answering a valid one
page interrogatory?
ii
John J. Scanlin, Citizen
Vv
Mr. & Mrs. Robert M. Cooper
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers (USACE)
Richard Koeppel, Allen Gettle,
Craig R. Homesley
Pennsylvania State Police (PSP)
John Toner, Corporal Herbst,
Trooper John Doe #1 and
Trooper John Doe #2
Pennsylvania Department of Transportation
T. Bryant (PennDot)
Penna. Department of Environment Resources
D. Smeal, D.Ericson, R. Yowell, A.Sever, (D.E.R.)
P. Dembowski, & Larry Oliver
Richmond Township Board of Supervisors
Charles Neal, Chairman
Commonwealth Telephone Company
Dale Stone (CTCO)
Corporate Statement: The W.U:S. Inc. is presently
financially supported by newly created: Love
Across Borders, Inc. Both are Penna., non-profit
corporations.
iil
Table of Contents
Introduction
Questions Presented for Review
Complete List of Respondents
Table of Contents
Table of Authorities
Petition (Chronology)
Argument
Layman’s Analysis
Summation
Petitioner’s Request
Appendix
Supplements:
Additional Appendix:
Manuscript Exhibit:
Page 1
Page 11
Page ill
Page iv
Page v
Pages 1-3
Pages 3-7
Pages 7-9
Page 10
Page 11
Pages Al-Al19
Pages AA1-AA8
& 9-74
“In Search of New Directions” Pages 1-122
1V
Table of Authorities
1. The United States Constitution
(a) Amendment I
(b) Amendment vil
(c) Amendment XI
(d) Amendment XIV
> Civil Rights Act of 1964-1965:
Sections 1983, 1985 & 1986
3. The Clean Water Act: PL. 834 Section 404
4 The Streambank Erosion Control Evaluation and
Demonstration Act of 1974 Section 32 P.L. 93-251
PETITION
Chronology
1. 1962: Petitioner purchased 170 acres with
Lambs Creek as a south boundary.
2. 1965: Creeley, Shick, and Cooper purchased
residential properties on Lambs Creek Road, with
rear lot lines near creek south bank.
3. 1969: Respondent Cooper purchased partial
acre touching creek and became a riparian owner.
4. 1972: June 22, massive creek flood from
Hurricane Agnes.
5. 1977: Petitioner, still an absentee owner,
produced manuscript: “ In Search of New Direc-
tions”
6. 1978-1979: USACE under Eminent Domain,
purchased 20.79 acres of creekside pasture from
Petitioner and gave access easement to remaining
150 acres.
7. 1980: Petitioner relocated to Lambs Creek
and began construction of small home.
8. 1981: Petitioner contacted Respondent
Koeppel Re: Driveway construction. No response.
9. 1983: Petitioner applied for permits to build
bridge and restore 1972 flood stream bank ero-
sion; D.E.R. Larry Oliver visited site.
10. 1984 to 1992: Respondent Cooper, using
PennDot trucks and personnel, filled creek
flood-way from south bank to prevent stream
return to former 1969 channel.
11. 1992: Petitioner wrote letter of complaint to
Penna. Transportation Secretary RE: Cooper,
PennDot and Richmond Township annual fill
dumped into creek.
12. 1994: July 4, Petitioner’s emergency alu-
minum ladder bridge across swollen creek
l
——
—
disappeared; never found.
13. 1994: August 17: Respondent Koeppel ad-
vised: Petitioner considering civil law suit. Re-
spondent Craig Homesley visited site. Massive
flash flood August 17, 1994 washed out creek
dangerously.
14. 1995: April 27, Petitioner was criminally
charged by two (unidentified) Penna. State
Troopers, summoned by Cooper, for clearing
vegetation and saplings in creek gravel bar.
15. 1995: Advised of impending suit, Respon-
dents Gettle, Koeppel and Homesley permit Pe-
titioner rights in easement which were withheld
from 1980. Easement is shifted 17 feet to east.
16. 1995: Magistrate Signor, Mansfield Bor-
ough, dismissed criminal charges on condition
Petitioner sue Respondent Cooper in civil court.
17. 1995: June 27, 1995, Petitioner filed county
civil suit and federal civil rights suit vs. several
named Respondents.
1g. 1995: August 1, Respondent Cooper filed
answer to June 27, complaint (10) days beyond
limit. He failed to sign waiver, to gain 60 day
response time. Petitioner filed default motion.
19. 1995: December, Respondents Cooper, Koep-
pel and Gettle decline to answer Petitioner’s single
page interrogatory. Dale Stone of Commonwealth
Telephone Co. responded by questioning Peti-
tioner’s sanity. He is, now, considered a Re-
spondent.
20. 1996: Judge McClure, on February 21,
signed opinion and order. dismissing all Peti-
tioner’s allegations with prejudice. Original
judge Muir filed his recusal on August 28, 1995
because of Masonic conflict.
2
21. 1996: August 28 and October 16, two ap-
peals to Third Circuit Court in Philadelphia, were
denied.
22. Presently: Certiorari appeal to Supreme
Court RE: Abridgment of Petitioner’s rights in
private property, freedom of expression without
reprisal, due process and, equal treatment under
the Constitution and Civil Rights Laws of
1964-65, sections 1983, 1985 and 1986.
ARGUMENT
Abridgment of Rights in Private Property:
After cooperating with USACE in the Eminent
Domain ‘taking’ in 1979, Petitioner was denied,
by unreasonable Koeppel restrictions, the fol-
lowing:
Permission to construct a bridge of reasonable
span crossing Lambs Creek. ( see AA4)
Permission to place a small retirement business
Sign in easement . (see AAS). Sign was taken down.
Permission to construct a few parking spaces in
easement at roadside. ( see AA4)
Permission to park personal car in his easement
driveway. ( see AA4)
Permission to fence easement at roadside to halt
encroachment. Others could park; Petitioner was
not permitted to do so. (see AA4)
Most outrageously, during the several days of
high water each year, Petitioner had to risk
drowning to reach his home while crawling across
20 foot section of aluminum ladder. ( see AAI)
Petitioner believes that no citizen in our De-
mocracy should be subjected to such arbitrary
power by a local manager of a Federal Agency.
3
=~
OS he
sce ln a
Making the unreasonableness complete, each
verbal Koeppel edict was supported by Officer
Gettle and Real Estate Manager Craig Homesley
from USACE Baltimore Office.
Only the Petitioner’s decision to sue, in 1995,
produced the permitting letter after sixteen years.
( see AA4 )
Abridgment of Right of Free Expression without
reprisal:
Neither Respondent Koeppel nor Respondent
Cooper could have succeeded in their unrelenting
harassment of Petitioner without close mutual
cooperation. Of far greater importance, the co-
operation of Richmond Township Supervisors, all
named Penna. D.E.R. Respondents, the named
PennDot Supervisor Bryant, and Respondent Dale
Stone of Commonwealth Telephone Co., and the
named Penna. State Police Respondents, was
required to make this Pressure Matrix thoroughly
effective during the sixteen years of harassment.
Respondent Cooper was Chairman of the Rich-
mond Township Zoning Board, and as alleged on
page #4 of original complaint, his civic, political,
and fraternal contacts made the harassment of the
Petitioner, not only possible, but almost invin-
cible. Petitioner believes the basic motive of the
Pressure Matrix was not based on monetary gain,
but that it was racially motivated by ‘would be”
white supremacists who prefer their County re-
main unsullied by racial minority residents and
other undesirables who advocate racial and gen-
der fairness.
Petitioner believes that the views expressed in
his 1977 manuscript made him a primary target
4
for banishment from the Mansfield, Tioga
County, Penna. Community.
Denial of Due Process: It is completely under-
standable to the Petitioner that the Federal Middle
District Court would fail to find credibility in the
lengthy original complaint. That is the price one
must expect to pay when embarking on a “Paul
Revere’ mission in contemporary America.
But we are a society torn by racial tensions; we
prefer to be\racially separated, (see AA6, AA7 &
AA8) ; we appear to have tired of Affirmative
Action after thirty years and we would like our
many millions of non-white citizens to disappear.
But each is a citizen; our Constitution does not
provide for second class citizenship; and having
been the recipient of many societal blessings paid
for with taxpayer dollars, simple decency and
sense of fair play demand that this Petitioner make
an honest attempt to extend to citizens of color the
blessings he has received in our free society. If
these views are disturbing to some marginal
groups in our Nation, it is regrettable...
But that is not good cause for denying a review
of this matter, which the Petitioner believes to be
a terminal societal cancer,... which scars our
individual hearts and makes a mockery of our
founding Declaration that ‘all men are created
equal’. Petitioner believes a trial by jury is the
democratic way of facing the euphemism: “We are
not racist; ... we just feel that each should live
among his own kind.”
Equal Treatment Under The Law: Petitioner’s,
age and single status, coupled with his human and
5
en
civil rights activism, makes him an easy mark for
a Pressure Matrix. His only hope of assistance is
through even handed police protection. But when
the State Police abdicate their sworn duty, and
their objectivity, issuing criminal chargings on
demand, the Petitioner only has hope of redress in
the Court.
Petitioner submits that he is not a criminal and
had never been criminally charged before dis-
cussing his 1977 Manuscript, admitting his (20)
twenty year support of the ACLU, and stating his
reluctance to join any fraternal society which
practices blackballing, meetings closed to the
public, and racial and gender exclusion,... with
Respondent Cooper in 1980. Petitioner submits
such views, and actions, should not be ground for
denial of public services and intimidation by State
Police.
RE: PRO SE ELIGIBILITY
In the transmittal letter of Jan. 21, ‘97 from this
court requesting corrections, (Rowland, etc. vCA
Men’s Colony) was cited in denying pro se rep-
resentation to the World Unicorn Society, Inc.
In this 5 to 4 decision, the Advocacy Association
was seeking pauper status for the Assoc. It was
denied, and both the majority and dissenting
opinions discussed the meaning of ‘person’. The
matter being resolved largely on the question of
‘who in an assoc., or corporation composed of
many officers, members or shareholders could
sign an affidavit, or take an oath binding on all
members.
Petitioner believes none of the conditions de-
liberated in ‘Rowland’ is relevant to the instant
6
matter, for the following reasons:
A. Neither petitioner herein has sought pauper
status.
B. Petitioner Scanlin is a person.
C. The W. U. S., is a lawful Penna. non-profit
corporation having only one incorporator, and no
shareholders; therefore the question of ‘who
speaks for...(swears for)’ the group cannot be in
dispute; there being only one (1) incorporator and no |
other officers shown in the corporate charter.
D. The practical matter appears to be: )
John J. Scanlin, ‘person’ is limited by his
mortality; in the corporate form, he is not. Since |
only one and the same person is involved, peti- !
tioner believes both petitioners should be per- |
mitted to participate. )
LAYMAN’S ANALYSIS
CASE No.4:CV-95-1012
Petitioner believes (4) constitutional issues are
involved: |
a. Abridgment of private property rights.
b. Freedom of expression without government
reprisal |
c. Denial of due process by Feb. 21,1996 opin-
ion and order
d. Denial of equal treatment under the law, by
both government agencies and the Middle District |
Court of Pennsylvania.
Petitioner believes he has demonstrated patience
in this (16) year matter which could have been
resolved in (72) hours among rational people, if
all cards had been laid face up on the table. But
7
——
Petitioner believes we have been shadowboxing,
and therefore a rational arbitrated solution was
never possible.
This discussion is keyed to the first (8) pages of
our supplemental document titled: ADDITIONAL
APPENDIX. The numbered pages filling out the
additional appendix, are relevant to the tale but
unnecessary to recognition of the paradox.
The Petitioner, having pecked at his Sears
‘Forecast 12’ ancient typewriter for several days,
finally surrenders to the virtual reality of the
experience. In true ‘who done it’ fashion, the tale
is told in flashback, with an unlikely cast of
characters rivaling Bogie, Sidney and Peter in the
Maltese Falcon of black and white cinema.
The protagonist, Hermit Jack, admitting that he
cannot produce a rational analysis as promised,
abdicates his civic duty, requesting the reader to
find the thread of the tale in the first (8) numbered
pages, which begin, fittingly, with an elaborate
map embellished with highlights in color and
many notations, elevations and compass direc-
tions.
The scene now shifts to the flashback: ...On a
dark night of bone chilling torrential rain, fifty
young airmen are riding the olive drab military
bus back to Keesler Field, from the town of
Biloxi, Mississippi. There is not a word of con-
versation: each young G.I. absorbed in his per-
sonal reverie. The war to save Democracy from
the Huns and the Japs is not going well; Some
aboard might never celebrate their nineteenth
birthday.
Suddenly the tired old bus lurches to the
shoulder of the dark country road, ...but for a long
8
few minutes nothing happens. Restless foot
shifting is the only sound from the fifty seated
young airmen; it blends ominously with the me-
tallic drumbeat of the rain on the roof.
The front door is flung open by the obese ci-
vilian driver, and a little lady weighing at most, 80
pounds, barely five feet tall and possibly 75 years
old mounts the two steps to place her coin in the .
box near the driver. She lurches unsteadily down |
the aisle with her tattered oilcloth shopping bag as
the driver accelerates. A young GI. sitting in an
aisle seat midway down the aisle rises to offer the
little lady his seat. Remember, this was an earlier
time, he had been admonished daily, by the nuns
in the Holy Family Parochial! School to show
respect to the elderly, especially ladies. In a
fleeting glance he imagined he saw her eyes of
quiet dignity cloud over with fear. She had barely
adjusted her shopping bag at her knee, when the
bus again lurched to the road shoulder. This time
the door was not opened; no one entered. The
motor idled, 100 feet shifted and the cold rain
pelted the roof and windows. Faintly, the standing
airman felt a brush against his outstretched arm
holding on to the ‘standees’ pole. The little lady
had risen and was again making her way down the
aisle. The G.I. glanced to the front of the bus;
framed in the circle of the convex mirror above
the driver’s head he witnessed a transforming
sight: the naked face of hatred. Confused, the lad
tried to avert his eyes, but they rested on the little |
black line painted directly in front of his nose
above the windows just below the patriotic curved
posters reminding that: “A slip of the lip can sink
a ship.” Young naive Hermit Jack had been in-
troduced to segregation and to irony. He had given
9
|
his seat, forward of the color line to the little black
skinned lady. This was 1944, in Mississippi,
segregation was the law of the land; the driver
would not move the bus until the lady was in her
proper place. Not a word was spoken by anyone in
the entire happening; the bus once again rumbled
onward into the night. No airman rose to offer his
seat; she rode a few miles then stepped off into the
darkness and the rain. Fifty young men were on
their way to war; possibly to their death, in de-
fense of freedom. Only one it seems recognized
the irony.
SUMMATION
Note: There is numerology involved in this tale
also. The numbers one and seven. Serendipitously
they are again involved in reverse order. At 17,
enlistment in the Army Air Force; at 71 peti-
tioning the Supreme Court. Two vastly different
efforts, but still bound by the common thread. In
all the intervening years, and myriad experiences,
Jack’s defining moment was lived on the bus from
Biloxi. The question: “when will we ever learn?”
seemingly will not go away.
After reading to page (7AA) the reader might
suppose that the matter being appealed involves
real estate, specifically a riparian creek centerline
boundary. But turning to the following page we
find that paradoxically, it is about another lady on
another bus. This happening was a defining mo-
ment, not only for Jack, but for our entire society.
It presently underpins the civil suit being ap-
pealed. It remains unacknowledged by all Re-
spondents. But if we persist in employing
euphemisms to cover our ‘hardness of heart’, the
Petitioner believes we will soon have transformed
the United States of America into the not-so-
10
pleasant nation of ‘Euphemasia, North America’.
If we love our children and grandchildren, this is
hardly a fitting legacy.
The petitioner wishes to thank the members of
the Court, and all opposing Counsel and their
staff, for the kindness, patience and attention
shown to this pro se petitioner, who, like the Man
from La Mancha, refuses to remain prostrate after
being smote unrelentingly by his (Rational?)
government at every level.
Petitioner’s Request
Petitioner asks that the Supreme Court adjudi-
cate the several matters of avulsion, and false
criminal charging, which are interlocked and are
the key to determining the riparian boundary, in a
creek under purview of (USACE).
If this is not the purview of the Court, the Peti-
tioner asks that an order be issued requiring a trial
by jury be held as soon as possible, in Harrisburg,
Pennsylvania, to permit an open, disinterested
verdict in a civil trial.
Petitioner asks that the World Unicorn Society,
Inc be permitted to remain a Petitioner.
Resgept ily su ov.
John J. Sedniin. Pro on
Date: 3-10-97
APPENDIX
UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
MIDDLE DISTRICT OF PENNA.
No: 4:CV-95-1012
Memorandum Filed by Judge
James F. McClure, Jr.
Feb.21, 1996
BACKGROUND: Plaintiffs Scanlin & The World
Unicorn Society., Inc. filed this action alleging
the violation of their civil rights over a period of |
fifteen years, spanning years 1979 to 1995. Some
of the allegations predate 1979.
Plaintiffs bring this action against Mr. & Mrs. R. |
Cooper, neighboring landowners; Richmond Twp.
the (USACE); Penna. D.E.R.; PennDot; Pa. State
Police, (PSP) and against various employees and
agents of those state and federal entities. .
Plaintiff owns property and resides along Lambs
Creek in Richmond Twp., Tioga County, Pa.
Plaintiffs’ allegations against the defendants are
many and varied. His complaint consists of a
narrative describing, in brief, his life, his political
views and objectives and a history of his rela-
tionships with the various defendants.
From that narrative we cull the following alle- .
gations which appear to have some bearing on the
claims alleged: The Coopers share a common
boundary with Scanlin --- the boundary being the
centerline of Lambs Creek. Plaintiff alleges that
over the years the Coopers have conducted a
whisper campaign against him because he is an
outsider to the area and promotes ideas with |
which they disagree. He alleges that Cooper has
used his contacts as a Mason to incite harassment |
against him by fellow Masons. Plaintiff alleges
Al |
that for the past fifteen years, the Coopers have
dumped PennDot salt and cinders into the creek
bed and have used other PennDot materials and
labor to divert the course of the stream, but that
plaintiff's complaints have gone unheeded.
Plaintiff alleges that the USACE “trampled” his
rights over an eighteen year period by: 1. taking,
by exercise of eminent domain, more land than it
required in 1979; 2. allowing others to transport a
frame chapel across his land in 1973. 3. “ramp-
ing” his creek bank, allegedly thereby causing
erosion to plaintiff's bank. 4. refusing to coop-
erate or assist plaintiff in taking measures to stem
the erosion of his stream bank. 5. failing to protect
plaintiff's rights in an easement; and 6. charging
him a $250.00 grant fee for moving his right of
way. :
Plaintiff alleges that DER, through its employ-
ees, defendants Sever, Dembowski, Ericson and
Smeal also violated his rights by preventing him
from controlling erosion along his stream bank by
using tires as rip-rap.
Plaintiff alleges that Penna. State Police,
through Sgt. John Toner, have violated his rights
by prosecuting him in 1984 for falsifying a vehicle
inspection sticker for his “just constructed 1962
VW van.”
Plaintiff alleges that PennDot is responsible for
“willful damage to the ecology of bucolic Tioga
County, for providing, for a period of ten years,
large PennDot dump trucks ... to haul and deposit
a mixture of grass, salt and cinders, to the property of
Defendant Cooper, where it was dumped into the
flood plain, then pushed into the Lambs Creek
bed, effectively driving the Creek more than (150)
feet to the northeast, damaging the private properties
A2
of Creeley, Shick, Scanlin (now deeded to the
World Unicorn Society, Inc.”
Scanlin’s Complaint).
Plaintiff does not make any specific allegation
against the Richmond Township Supervisors in
the complaints.
Plaintiff's original complaint was augmented by
a supplemental complaint filed a month later and
by an amended complaint several weeks later. The
supplemental complaint added further allegations
against the USACE. With the filing of the
amended complaint, plaintiffs sought to add as
defendants individual employees of DER. Leave
of court was not sought for the filing of either
complaint. No leave was required for the filing of
the supplemental complaint pursant to Fed. R.
Civ. P. LS, (a) because no responsive pleading had
yet been filed. Leave was, however, required for
the filing of the second amended complaint. In
the interest of expediting this matter, leave will be
deemed to have been granted nunc pro tunc.
All defendants move to dismiss plaintiff's
Original and amended complaints pursuant to Fed.
R.Civ. P 12(b)(6) for failure to state a claim upon
which relief may be granted. For the reasons
which follow, the complaint will be dismissed as
against all defendants. Plaintiffs motion for
summary judgment based upon defendants’ al-
leged failure to respond to the complaint will be
denied. All other pending motions will be denied
as well.
DISCUSSION
Rule 12(b) motion. In deciding defendants’
motion, we are “required to accept as true all al-
legations in the complaint and all reasonable in-
ferences that can be drawn from them after con-
A3
ne
Struing them in the light most favorable to the
non-movant’_ Jordan’ v. Fox, Rothschild,
O’Brien & Frankel, Inc. 20 F 3d 1250, 1261 (3d
Cir. 1994. “In determining whether a claim
Should be dismissed under Rule 12(b) (6), “we
look” only to the facts alleged in the complaint
and its attachments without reference to other
parts of the record.” Id. Dismissal is not appro-
priate unless “it clearly appears that no relief can
be granted under any set of facts that could be
proved consistently with the plaintiff's allega-
tions” Id.
Section 1983 claims asserted:
Although plaintiff disavows any intention of
asserting a section 1983 claim, he asserts over and
over again that his constitutional rights have been
violated by defendants. (See record document no.
38, p. 2.) The only vehicle for asserting violation
of the same is section 1983, or in the case of
federal defendants, a Bivens action. Bivens V.
Six Unknown Agents of the Federal Bureau of
Narcotics, 403 U.S. 388 (1971).
To recover under section 1983, the plaintiff
must prove that a person acting under color of
state law deprived him of rights, privileges, or
immunities guaranteed by the Constitution or the
laws of the United States. Pokrandt v. Shields,
773 F. Supp. 758 765 E.D. Pa. 1991.
Much of the plaintiffs’ allegations and
discussion of the claims alleged consist of urgings
for government inquiry into local and state gov-
ernment practices in Tioga County. Plaintiffs
misapprehend the purpose of civil litigation. It
cannot properly be used as a tool for probing
vague allegations of wrongdoing in a certain
community by elected or appointed officials, or
A4
government employees. Allegations must be tied
to the violation of specific, legally recognized
rights of the complaining plaintiffs. A defendant’s
conduct must have a close causal connection to
plaintiff's injury for section 1983 liability to at-
tach. Martinez v California, 444 U.S. 277, 285
(1980). Further, negligent conduct is not action-
able under 1983. Davidson v. Cannon, 474 U.S.
344, 347-48 (1986), and Daniels v. Williams, 474
U.S. 327, 328 (1986). Only the purposeful vio-
lation of recognized federal rights is actionable.
Thus, to the extent that the plaintiffs seek a
general government inquiry into alleged wrong-
doing by federal, state, and local officials in the
Tioga County area over the past 18-20 years, he
fails to assert any viable federal claim and his
claims must fail.
Statute of Limitations: Nearly all of the
individual claims asserted are barred by the
statute of limitations applicable to section 1993
claims filed in this Commonwealth. Claims aris-
ing under section 1983 are subject to a two year
statute of limitations. Any claims based on events
which predate the filing date by more than two
years are time-barred. Federal courts apply the
state personal injury statute in 1983 actions. Wil-
son v Garcia, 471 U.S. 261, 276-80 (1985)
Pennsylvania’s statute of limitations applies here,
and under it, the time limit for filing a section
1983 claim is two years. Smith v City of Pitts-
burgh 764, F. 2d 188, 194(3d Cir. 1985), cert.
denied, 474 U.S. 950 (1985) and 42 Pa. Cons.
Stat. Ann., 5524.
When the cause of action accrues on a sec-
tion 1983 claim is a question of federal law. Al-
bright v Oliver, 127 L. Ed. 2d 114,128 n. 6 (1994),
AS
Ait:
(Ginsburg J. concurring). In general, section 1983
claims accrue when the facts which support the
claim are, or should be apparent to a person with a
reasonably prudent regard for his rights and when
the identity of the person or persons responsible
for the alleged violation is known or reasonably
should have been known to the plaintiff. McMil-
lian v Johnson, 1995 Westlaw, 21963 (M. D. Ala.
Jan. 17, 1995), citing Mullinax v McElhenney,
817, F 2d. 711 716 (11th Cir. 1987.) With respect
to most of the claims alleged here, the cause of
action, if any exists, accrued when the events
occurred, well beyond the two year period pre-
ceding the filing of this action.
Plaintiff argues that certain claims are not
subject to dismissal as untimely because, although
the actions of the defendants pre-date the filing by
more than two years, their effects persist. He
argues specifically that although the defendants
placed the concrete slabs in the creek more than
two years before this action was filed, their con-
tinued presence continues to cause further damage
to his stream bank. Arguments along these lines
have been rejected by the United States Supreme
Court. In Delaware State College v. Ricks, 449,
U.S. 250, 256-57 (1980), the Supreme Court re-
jected the contention that because the effect of an
action was felt or manifested within the statutory
period, plaintiffs action should be deemed timely
because it was felt or manifested. The Supreme
Court held that the statute begins to run from the
date of the allegedly wrongful act, not from the
date when its consequences are felt.
Only a few specific events are alleged to
have occurred within the two year period im-
mediately preceding the filing of this action.
A6
Plaintiff alleges that the Coopers, through or with
the assistance of PennDot, have continued to
dump debris into Lambs Creek, causing further
erosion of plaintiff's stream bank. Plaintiffs al-
lege that on April 27, 1995 the Coopers were
responsible for initiating “two unsupportable”
criminal complaints against him, both of which
were later dismissed. Finally, plaintiff alleges that
he has been denied the assistance of DER or the
federal government in solving the erosion prob-
lem along his stream bank.
We discuss below the problems and diffi-
culties inherent to the viability of each of these
claims. One problem which nearly all of these
claims share is plaintiff's failure to allege them in
the pleadings. The possible existence of such
claims is mentioned only in briefs and other fil-
ings, making it exceedingly difficult for either the
court or defendants to determine whether they are
intended to form part of the basis for the claims
asserted in this action or are recited merely as
background.
Scanlin’s reference to the criminal charges
filed against him is a prime example. This inci-
dent is mentioned only in the briefs (record
document No. 57). Further it is recounted, then in
the next paragraph seemingly discounted as a
basis for the claims asserted here. Plaintiff cites it
as a basis for denying defendants’ motion to
dismiss all claims as time-barred, then states “but
the far more serious condition of 15 years of
harassment by defendants Cooper, enlisting
managers of a Federal Agency, professionals of a
State Agency DER ... many of whom will be
shown to be members of Masonic Lodges 247 and
317--- cries out for a hearing in a Federal Court.”
A7
(Record document no. 57 at p. 2)
Scanlin then goes on to state that his ref-
erence to ‘the unwarranted criminal. charges de-
tailed in the above Par. I are easily seen as a
metaphor for the far more serious issue: The un-
relenting effort by Defendants Cooper to silence
the human rights and civil rights messages of
Plaintiffs Scanlin and the World Unicorn Soci-
ety.” (Record document no. 57 at p. 2)
Although we are acutely aware that the
pleadings of pro se plaintiffs must be liberally
construed with an eye toward preserving any po-
tentially viable claims, there are limits to such
construction. Plaintiffs have filed several com-
plaints. Their original complaint consisted of a
narrative supplemented by voluminous attatch-
ments consisting of items ranging from photo-
graphs of the stream bordering plaintiffs’ property
to a publication of the Unicorn Society espousing
its views of and hopes for the world order.
It seems to this court, that the requirement of
plaintiffs have an obligation fairly to apprise the
defendants and the court (which has the task of
separating viable from non-viable claims) of the
essential factual bases for their claims, i.e. the
circumstances about which they are complaining
and what relief they seek for the same.
Plaintiffs’ pleadings consist of a narrative
relating Scanlin’s eighteen-year relationship with
neighbors and government officials, at several
levels. Further, much of what later filings reveal
to be the possible basis for plaintiffs’ claims are
not included in the pleadings at all but merely
discussed in briefs and various other documents
filed. To further compound matters, much of what
plaintiffs discuss, allege etc. and what would
A8
appear to be the basis for their claims, is dis-
avowed by plaintiffs themselves as a basis for the
filing of this action. For example, much of
plaintiffs’ discussion about this case, the claims
pled, etc. revolves around the erosion problems
along the stream bank and Scanlin’s frustration
with the actions of neighboring landowners,
DER’s and PennDOT’s alleged complicity in the
same, and plaintiffs’ frustration with the apparent
unwillingness of the USACE to become involved
and commit funds and resources to resolving the
problem. That impression is confounded, how-
ever, by statements made in the “joint case
management plan” submitted by plaintiffs which
provide: “Plaintiffs sincerely believe distributed
writings and annual ‘SEEKER AFTER JUSTICE’
award to minority recipients have, in large
measure, provoked Defendant Cooper actions
[sic] toward Plaintiffs; Cooper has enmeshed
Gov't. Agency employees into the matter and the
creek problem is only the device and metaphor for
the friction.” (Record document no. 40 at 12.30)
To demand that the court and/or the defendants
cull from numerous filings whether any event
which happened to or affected plaintiff over the
years forms the basis for a viable federal claim is
beyond the realm of reason. It is the plaintiffs who
are bringing these claims, and it is not unrea-
sonable to expect them, at minimum, to identify
for the benefit of the defendants and the court
what events over the course of twenty years of
Scanlin’s lifetime, he complains of as being a
violation of his federal rights.
Having thus determined that we will not pre-
sume intent to assert a federal claim on the basis
of events or incidents mentioned only in passing
A9
ai ac ii i ence ain cia amin
or as examples or metaphors of an allegedly larger
problem, we will nevertheless address the po-
tential viability of claims tied to specific incidents
which occurred within the limitations period.
Alleged dumping in Lambs Creek:
Plaintiffs allege that neighboring landowner
Robert Cooper has borrowed, taken, or received
cinders and various debris from PennDOT which
he has then dumped into the creek which borders
both properties, causing further erosion damage to
plaintiff's creek bank.
Although these allegations may assert a basis for
a state tort action, they do not state a violation of
any federal constitutional right. Plaintiffs’
remedy, if any exists, lies in an action in state court.
Alleged denial of federal and state assistance to
remedy erosion problems:
Plaintiffs allege that within the past two years,
they have been denied the assistance of DER or
the USACE in remedying the erosion problem
along Lambs Creek. Such denials are not a vio-
lation of plaintiffs’ constitutional rights. The only
arguable connection to any federally protected
right would be a possible denial of plaintiff's right
of due process guaranteed by the Fourteenth
Amendment. However, such a claim hinges on
plaintiffs’ ability to establish a property interest in
the benefits to which he claims he is entitled.
There are no allegations which would support
such a showing here.
Alleged criminal complaints:
Plaintiffs allege that on April 27, 1995, the
Coopers were responsible for initiating two
“unsupportable” criminal complaints against him,
both of which were later dismissed. The United
States Supreme Court ruled in Heck v. Humphrey,
Al0
129 L.Ed.2d 383 (1994) that a civil rights plaintiff
cannot maintain a cause of action arising out of a
State criminal charge, unless and until he can
demonstrate that the conviction or sentence has
been “reversed on direct appeal, expunged by
executive order, declared invalid by a state tri-
bunal authorized to make such determination, or
called into question by a federal court’s issuance
of a writ of habeas corpus.” Id. at 394. The Court
analogized such claims to the tort of malicious
prosecution, one element of which is a showing
that the underlying criminal proceeding termi-
nated in favor of the accused.
Here, plaintiff arguably satisfies that criterion by
alleging that the charges filed against him were
dismissed. However, he appears to be alleging
such claims against the Coopers, private citizens,
not against the local officials responsible for
carrying out the prosecution. Such claims are
viable under section 1983 only if plaintiff can
establish that the Coopers conspired with state or
local officials to bring about a baseless prosecu-
tion. Such allegations are lacking.
Conspiracy allegations:
Plaintiffs’ claims against the Coopers for the
violation of their civil rights can survive only if
supported by allegations that the Coopers, private
citizens, conspired with state actors to deprive |
plaintiffs of their federal rights. The closest |
which plaintiffs come to making such allegations
are averments that Robert Cooper is a Mason, as
are many state policemen and other state em-
ployees. Plaintiffs argue that this common
membership, along with plaintiffs’ interpretation
of Masonic policies and tenets are proof that Ma-
sons use their membership to affect or alter state
All
EE
policy.
While it is true that heightened pleading re-
quirements no longer apply to civil rights claims,
or by implication, to allegations of conspiracy,
Leatherman v. Tarrant County Narcotics Intelli-
gence & Coordination Unit, 507 U.S. 163 (1993),
some factual averments must support a contention
that a private citizen conspired with a state actor.
Such averments must consist of more than
speculation based on the mere fact of membership
in the same organization or social contacts.
Claims asserted against Commonwealth agen-
cies:
Plaintiffs’ civil rights claims for monetary
damages against the Pennsylvania State Police,
PennDOT, and DER are subject to dismissal on
another ground as well. Commonwealth agencies
are not subject to such relief under the United
States Supreme Court’s ruling in Will v. Michi-
gan, 491 U.S. 58 (1989).
Actions filed against a Commonwealth em-
ployee in his or her official capacity for monetary
damages are likewise barred on Eleventh
Amendment grounds, Edelman v. Jordan, 415
U.S. 651, 662-63 (1974).
The only such claims which are permitted
against a Commonwealth agency are those for
prospective injunctive relief.
Punitive damages:
Punitive damages are not recoverable against a
municipality. City of Newport v. Fact Concerts,
Inc., 453 U.S. 247, 266-68 (1981). See also:
Fletcher v. O’Donnell, 867 F.2d 791 (3d Cir.
1989); Reitz v. Persing, 831 F.Supp. 410,
(M.D.Pa. 1993) and Carroll v. Bristol Township,
827 F.Supp. 332 (E.D.Pa. 1993).
Al2
Plaintiff's claims for punitive damages against
the Commonwealth agencies and against state
employees are subject to dismissal on that ground.
See Brandon v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464, 467-77 (1985).
State claims:
It is apparently plaintiffs’ intention to assert
only federal claims, although this is not entirely
clear from the pleadings and other documents
before us.
If any state claims are alleged, they are dis-
missed. No basis for the exercise of diversity
jurisdiction is alleged, and state-based claims
cannot otherwise stand in this court. Because no
federally-based claims survived and this action is
not yet past the pleading stage, we decline to
exercise supplemental jurisdiction over state
claims which it is plaintiffs’ intention to assert
before this court.
Plaintiffs’ motions for default or summary
judgment:
Plaintiffs move for default or for entry of
summary judgment against various defendants on
the grounds that they failed to file a timely re-
sponse to the complaint. All defendants against
which plaintiffs so move did, in fact, file a timely
response to the complaint in the form of a Rule
12(b) motion. Plaintiffs’ motions for default or
Summary judgment against the same will, there-
fore, be denied.
Leave to amend denied:
Plaintiffs have already amended and/or sup-
plemented the complaint twice. The last
amendment was filed after defendants moved to
dismiss, alerting plaintiffs to potential defects in
his pleadings, which have nonetheless gone un-
remedied. Moreover, most of the defects iden-
Al3
tified by this court as a basis for dismissal cannot
be remedied by further amending the pleadings.
Most of plaintiffs’ claims are time-barred. Since
the defects in the claims dismissed lie in the na-
ture of the claim asserted, not in the insufficiency
of the facts pled in support of those claims, no
purpose would be served by granting leave to
further amend. Leave to amend will, therefore, be
denied, and the complaint will be dismissed with
prejudice.
“o/ Dy ey gE 29
James F. McClure, Jr.
United States District Judge
Al4
IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF
PENNSYLVANIA
JOHN J. SCANLIN, etal. : 4:CV-95-1012
Plaintiffs : (Judge McClure)
VS.
MR. AND MRS. ROBERT COOPER, et al.,
Defendants
ORDER
February 21, 1996
For the reasons stated in the accompanying
memorandum, IT IS ORDERED THAT:
1. Defendants’ motions to dismiss, consisting
of
a) a Rule 12(b) 1..,tion by defendant Richmond
Township (record document no. 17);
b) a Rule 12(b) motion by defendants Mr. and
Mrs. Cooper (record document no. 18);
c) a Rule 12(b) motion by the Pennsylvania
State Police, the Pennsylvania Department of
Environmental Resources and the Pennsylvania
Department of Transportation (the Common
wealth defendants) and their employees named
as defendants (record document no. 36);
d) a Rule 12(b) motion by the Commonwealth
defendants to dismiss plaintiffs’ second
amended complaint (record document no. 48);
e) a Rule 12(b) motion by the United States
Army Corps of Engineers to dismiss plaintiffs’
complaint (record document no. 51);
are granted.
2. All claims asserted against defendants are
dismissed with prejudice and without leave to
amend.
3. All other outstanding motions consisting of:
a) Plaintiffs’ motion for the case to be placed
Al5
on an expedited track (record document no. 14);
b) Plaintiffs’ motion to add additional
defendants (record document no. 15);
c) Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment in
favor of the Coopers (record document no. 22);
d) Plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment in
favor of Richmond Township (record document
no. 24);
e) Plaintiffs’ motion for default against
defendants Koeppel and Gettle of the United
States Army Corps of Engineers (record
document no. 41);
f) Plaintiffs’ motion for default against the
United States Army Corps of Engineers (record
document no. 42);
g) Plaintiffs’ motion for an order compelling
all defendants “to respond forthwith” (record
document no. 59);
h) Plaintiffs’ motion for an order compelling
the Coopers to produce certain documents
(record document no. 61);
i) Plaintiffs’ motion for a March, 1996 trial
date (record document no. 63);
are denied.
4. The clerk is directed to close the file.
ee ed le
James F. McClure, Jr.
United States District Judge
Al6
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT
No. 96-7149
JOHN J. SCANLIN, Citizen and CEO World
Unicorn Society, Inc.;
THE WORLD UNICORN SOCIETY, INC.,
a not-for-profit humanitarian organization
Appellants
V
ROBERT COOPER, Mr. and Mrs.; U.S. ARMY
CORPS OF ENGINEERS;
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL
RESOURCES,
COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA;
PA STATE POLICE; RICHMOND TWP.
BOARD OF SUPERVISORS;
PA DEPT OF HIGHWAYS, “PENNDOT”;
R. KOEPPEL; A. GETTLE; R. YOWELL; A
SEVER; P. DEMBOWSKI; D. SMEAL; D.
ERICSON; J. TONER; CORPORAL HERBST;
T. BRYANT
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Middle District of.Pennsylvania
(D.C. No. 95-cv-01012)
District Judge: Hon. James F. McClure, Jr.
Submitted Pursuant to Third Circuit LAR
34.1(a)
August 28, 1996
Before: SLOVITER, Chief Judge
NYGAARD and WEIS, Circuit Judges
JUDGMENT ORDER
After consideration of all contentions raised by
appellants, it is
ADJUDGED and ORDERED that the judg-
ment of the district court entered February 22,
1996 be and is hereby affirmed. Costs taxed
Al7
against appellants.
Attest: By the Court
o/ 9
P. Douglas Sisk, Clerk Chief Judge
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR
THE THIRD CIRCUIT
No. 96-7149
JOHN J. SCANLIN, Citizen and CEO World
Unicorn Society, Inc.;
THE WORLD UNICORN SOCIETY, INC.,
a not-for-profit humanitarian organization
Appellants
V.
ROBERT COOPER, Mr. and Mrs.; U.S. ARMY
CORPS OF ENGINEERS;
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL RE-
SOURCES, COMMONWEALTH OF PENN-
SYLVANIA; PA STATE POLICE; RICHMOND
TWP. BOARD OF SUPERVISORS;
PA DEPT OF HIGHWAYS, “PENNDOT”; R.
KOEPPEL; A. GETTLE; R. YOWELL; A
SEVER; P. DEMBOWSKI; D. SMEAL; D.
ERICSON; J. TONER; CORPORAL HERBST;
T. BRYANT
SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING
Present: SLOVITER, Chief Judge, BECKER,
STAPLETON, MANSMANN,
GREENBERG, SCIRICA, COWEN,
NYGAARD, ALITO, ROTH, LEWIS,
McKEE, and WEIS, * Circuit Judges
The petition for rehearing filed by
Appellant John J. Scanlin, Pro Se
in the above-entitled case having been submitted
to the judges who participated in the decision of
Al8
this court and to all the other available circuit
judges of the circuit in regular active
service, and no judge who concurred in the de-
cision having asked for rehearing, and a majority
of the circuit judges of the circuit in regular active
service not having voted for rehearing by the
court en banc, the petition for rehearing is denied.
By the Court
Dated: OCT 16 1996 “s/ ic”
Chief Judge
Al9
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.