Opposition Brief — Coleman v. Joseph E. Seagram & Sons, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 96-1467 é F supreme Court, U.S. |

a

APR 7 1997

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited

LZ

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

ia all

JAMES W. COLEMAN, PH.D.,

Petitioner,

—_—_Vi—

JOSEPH E. SEAGRAM & SONS, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN W. OHLWEILER

(Counsel of Record)

SIMPSON THACHER & BARTLETT

(a partnership which includes

professional corporations)

425 Lexington Avenue

New York, New York 10017-3954

(212) 455-2000

EDWIN S. HOPSON

WYATT, TARRANT & COMBS

Citizens Plaza

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 589-5235

Attorneys for Respondent

ROE oa TR Ne roe eR IE Ry ca NCR la BIR Pl sa AIT ERRNO REI NL RNY SOR ‘ ¥ sa os ODEON LRTI Meee PerPT ge OR TET Fe we LET [A in hl er oN Pay PRM INE EF i ae ee es oii ee

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Whether this Court should exercise its discretionary juris-

diction to review by writ of certiorari an action in which the

District Court found, after a trial on the merits in which no

evidence was denied admittance by the court, that Petitioner

had failed to prove that he had suffered intentional discrim-

ination or retaliation.

Whether this Court should exercise its discretionary juris-

diction to review by writ of certiorari discovery-related deci-

sions of the District Court which were expressly found by the

Court of Appeals to have not constituted an abuse of that

Court’s discretion regarding discovery matters.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUES TIONS PRESEN TRE? «. cccyidcvcedessudpanxepnctes i

STATEMENT. CF SE5S CARB ira cecc tcdnacincacedeness 2

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION.......... 7

I. The District Court did not abuse its discretion

in its rulings on Petitioner’s discovery-related

WO ORE oo. kien bp ck eeed os Weasel ee 7

II. Petitioner’s claims regarding his motion to

amend his complaint to add a state law claim

for emotional and mental damages, and his

motion to reconsider his constructive discharge

claim, have been made moot by the findings of

the District Court, affirmed by the Court of

Appeals, that Seagram did not intentionally

discriminate or retaliate against Petitioner

on the basis of RES FRGO. co. c5 wes ductkincacesccns 12

CONCLUSION... sciswscaaedaseuancuatet ak ccedoneees 16

APPENDIX

Memorandum Opinion of the District Court for the

Western District of Kentucky, Louisville

Division, Entered June 27, 1995.................. A-l

Affidavit of Ann Giambusso, sworn to on September

US. TORS idedk cavateecsiccseeoaeee Sar A-18

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases PAGE

Darnell v. Campbell Cty. Fiscal Court, 731 F. Supp.

1309 (E.D. Ky. 1990), aff’d, 924 F.2d 1057 (6th

CE) REDS EE aaa Ye a Aenea aS 13

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178-182 (1962)............. 14

General Elec. Co. v. Sargent & Lundy, 916 F.2d 1119

Oa nS EPCERE ASAE Sc Ua a 14

Harris v. Chipman, 97 F.3d 499 (11th Cir. BO9G) i. eck 8

Herring v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 894 F.2d 1020 (9th

Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1016 (1990)... 8

Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon, Inc. v. Alpha of

Virginia, Inc., 43 F.3d 922 (4th Cir. 3s eee 8

Lynch v. Freeman, 817 F.2d 380 (6th Cir. 1987)....... 13

Plott v. General Motors Corp., Packard Elec. Div., 71

F.3d 1190 (6th Cir. 1995), cert. denied, 116 S. Ct.

Es BS NEIRE CORE ag ane Ae eR 7,8

Semco, Inc. v. Amcast, Inc., 52 F.3d 108 (6th Cir.

REE REE Syck CR ea GA aR SO et a 7,14

Wayte v. United States, 470 U.S. 598 ERR cea es ss zg

Wilson v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 932 F.2d 510

SU I eh org at es 13

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 4C1

I re Se es nt ie ee 14

Statutes

pmeicn Y CIVE Mights ACt. oo... os cece oes vececcucecs 12

Rule 29.1 of the Supreme Court Rules................. I

Lye

SORRY RED eee PaaS

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No. 96-1407

<i

JAMES W. COLEMAN, PH.D..,

Petitioner,

—V.—-

JOSEPH E. SEAGRAM & SONS, INC.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

~~ --—-—

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

This Brief is respectfully submitted by Respondent Joseph

E. Seagram & Sons, Inc. (“Seagram” or “Company”) in oppo-

sition to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari filed by Petitioner,

James W. Coleman, Ph.D.!

i

Pursuant to Rule 29.1 of the Supreme Court Rules, Respondent

Seagram states that it is a wholly owned subsidiary of The Seagram Com-

pany, Ltd., a Canadian corporation.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Following a trial on the merits in which Petitioner was rep-

resented by counsel and no evidence was denied admission by

the court, the District Court held as follows:?

“Based on the evidence of record, plaintiff has not per-

suaded the court that he suffered intentional discrimi-

nation.”

(Res. A-8).

Since Petitioner is unable to dispute the District Court’s

findings of fact and conclusions of law, he distorts and mis-

states the record in repeatedly contending, as the central point

of his petition, that the “Sixth Circuit abused its discretion

and/or committed clear and reversible error” in concluding

that it found “no abuse of discretion in the district court’s rul-

ings on discovery or in the denial of the motion to amend the

petition.” (Pet. A-6 at 4).

This case arises out of a decision by Seagram to relocate

the Research & Development Department that had formally

been part of a now-closed production plant in Louisville,

Kentucky, to Seagram’s new Research and Technology facil-

ity in White Plains, New York. As found by the District Court

below:

“Seagram offered all salaried professional employees

in Louisville, including Dr. Coleman, the opportunity

to transfer to the White Plains facility. Those making

the move to White Plains would work there in a posi-

tion comparable to their previous position in Louisville,

with comparable responsibilities, grade level, and salary.

* * * *

Seagram offered relocation allowances and assistance

in finding homes in the White Plains area. Seagram paid

A copy of the District Court’s Memorandum Opinion is attached

at Appendix A-1 (“Res. A-1”).

‘Bek ee ee ee

for employees to take trips to New York to locate a new

home, offered a cost-of-living adjustment that could be

taken in a lump sum after making the move, a buy-out

option on the employee’s current mortgage and assis-

tance with the employee’s new mortgage. In the alter-

native, those salaried professional employees who

elected not to transfer were eligible for a special sever-

ance package equal to one month’s salary for each year

of service with Seagram.”

(Res. A-4 to A-5),

Petitioner, who was 55 years old at the time, elected to

retire with an early retirement pension and related medical

benefits under the Company’s pension plan. In addition, in

accordance with the special severance plan offered in con-

nection with the move, Petitioner received a severance pay-

ment equal to 21-1/2 months of salary. (Res. A-6; R. 173:

Stipulation of Facts and Admissibility of Exhibits).

With regard to Petitioner’s distortions concerning his “over

21 years” employment by Seagram (Pet. at 1), the District

Court found as follows:

“During his career at Seagram, Dr. Coleman received 25

salary and adjustment increases, resulting in a salary of

$52,620 at the time of his retirement in August 1985.

. Dr. Coleman’s 1985 salary was the second highest

among the employees at his level (Senior Research Sci-

entist—Grade 18) in the R&D department.

* * * *

His ratings ranged from just below a 3 (or “Good”)

rating, given when an employee performed “as expected,”

to a rating of 4 (or “Superior’), given when an

employvee’s performance exceeded expectations. Dr.

Coleman’s evaluations included written comments that

he needed to complete projects in a more timely manner,

reduce his backlog of projects, improve his personal

relationship with personnel at the production plant, and

focus more on creative projects and less on routine

work.”

(Res. A-3).?

With regard to Petitioner’s claim that he should have been

offered a Section Head position in advance of the Depart-

ment’s move from Louisville to White Plains (Pet. at 1-2), the

District Court found as follows:

“Dr. Coleman failed to establish, however, that he was

considered and rejected for the Section Head position. ;

. Dr. Weber remained in and performed the duties of

his position until August 1985. . . . [T]here is no evi-

dence that any meetings or deliberations took place

regarding candidates for the position prior to the move.

* * * *

Seagram’s proffered justification for waiting until

after the move to White Plains before making a decision j

regarding the Section Head position is that it was wait-

ing until management knew for certain which personnel,

qualified for the position, from the Louisville R&D facil-

ity would be transferring to White Plains. The evidence

offered by plaintiff fails to persuade the court that this

justification is merely a pretext for intentional racial dis-

crimination. It would have made little sense in early

1985 for Seagram to expend the time and resources

necessary to select a new Section Head. . . . More

eens eT

eh

; With regard to Petitioner’s contention that he was a “long-time

activist in the civil rights movement” (Pet. at 1}, the District Court found

that:

“Seagram had in the past strongly supported Dr. Coleman’s

NAACP activities by providing paid time off to attend NAACP

meetings and providing hospitality for the Louisville delegates at

the National Convention. . . . Dr. Coieman’s participation in

NAACP activities took place primarily in the late 1970s.”

ee Re eee Seen em

(Res. A-15).

specifically, Dr. Coleman’s vacillation gave Seagram

grounds for pause in making the promotion decision.”

(Res. A-11 to A-13).‘

As to Petitioner’s reference to his own testimony con-

cerning what he was allegedly told by Dr. Frederick Weber,

his Section Head, (Pet. at 2), these allegations were directly

contradicted by the trial testimony of Dr. Weber and James

Martin, which the District Court stated carried “great weight

with the court.” (Res. A-8).

“Dr. Weber, however, denied that Dr. Bluhm made

racist remarks about Coleman. Dr. Weber did criticize

Dr. Bluhm’s management style. . . . But Dr. Weber

made it clear that race was not a factor in the employ-

ment actions taken by Dr. Bluhm. He never heard Dr.

Bluhm make a racist statement, nor did he observe him

make a decision based on race. It was also Dr. Weber’s

firm understanding that a decision on the new Section

Head would not be made until after the move to White

Plains.°

With regard to Petitioner’s claim that “an employee with a high

school diploma assumed the job responsibilities previously performed by

Dr. Weber” (Pet. at 3), the District Court found that:

“Dr. Weber retired on August 1, 1985. Thereafter, Mr. Jose Puebla,

a Junior Scientist, performed some of the responsibilities of a Sec-

tion Head, but primarily worked to pack away laboratory equip-

ment in preparation for the move to White Plains. . . .When none

of the senior staff from the Biotechnology Section elected to make

the move, Dr. Bronsky was appointed to the Section Head position

on an interim basis. He remained in that position until February

1989 when Seagram appointed Dr. William Hirt to the Section

Head position.”

(Res. A-6).

5

As to Petitioner’s claim that he saw racist comments in a job-

performance evaluation (Pet. at 2), the only specific race-related com-

mentary in the evaluation process to which petitioner has ever pointed is

in the Supervisor’s Notes, prepared by Dr. Weber, which state that Cole-

man had “some sensitivity to racial issues.” (Plaintiff's Exh. 19-18).

6

Mr. James Martin, African-American male, is the

Director of Management Services at Seagram’s White

Plains facility. . . . Like Dr. Coleman, while in

Louisville he had been involved in organizations and

activities protected by Title VII. . . . Mr. Martin stated

that race was never an issue with Dr. Bluhm, and his sole

concern was professional performance. Mr. Martin also

stated that it was clear to him that a decision on the new

Section Head would not be made until the move to White

Piains. Mr. Martin never believed that race was a factor

in Seagram’s actions in regard to Dr. Coleman.”

(Res. A-7 to A-9).

Finally, the District Court found as follows with regard to

the request Petitioner made for his personnel file while he

was still employed by Seagram (Pet. at 2):

“On or about March 15, 1985 Dr. Coleman requested

his personnel file from Dr. Weber. The informal super-

visor’s file relating to his employment was shown to

him, but Dr. Coleman stated that the file was incomplete.

. . . Dr. Bluhm brought Dr. Coleman’s personnel file

from the Human Resources department in New York City

for Dr. Coleman to review. Nonetheless, Dr. Coleman

wrote. . . to M. W. Griffin, Executive Vice President

for Human Resources, requesting additional documents

in his file. Mr. Griffin responded that he believed

Dr. Coleman had been provided with everything in his

personnel file, and that if he was seeking other docu-

ments, he needed to identify them specifically. .. .

Dr. Coleman responded by stating the types of docu-

ments he was seeking. Dr. Coleman was then told that

Seagram did not have the documents he requested.”

(Res. A-5).°

: As to Petitioner’s reference to an Equal Employment Opportu-

nity Commission (“EEOC”) “letter of right to sue” (Pet. at 3), the District

Court found that: :

(feotnote continued)

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

I. THE DISTRICT COURT DID NOT ABUSE ITS DIS-

CRETION IN ITS RULINGS ON PETITIONER’S

DISCOVERY-RELATED MOTIONS.

Based on its review of the record, the Court of Appeals

found as follows with regard to Petitioner’s discovery-related

claims:

“Although Seagram produced 3000 pages of employ-

ment records of Coleman and other employees, Coleman

remained convinced that Seagram was withholding

records, and filed a number of motions to compel. The

district court ultimately determined that Seagram had

complied fully with Coleman’s discovery requests. . . .

[W]e find no abuse of discretion in the district court’s

rulings on discovery or in the denial of the motion to

amend the complaint. See Plott v. General Motors Corp.,

Packard Elec. Div., 71 F.3d 1190, 1196 (6th Cir. 1995),

cert. denied, 116 S. Ct. 1546 (1996); Semco, Inc. v.

Amcast, Inc., 52 F.3d 108, 114 (6th Cir. 1995).”

(Pet. A-6 at 2-3, 4).

The District Court’s discovery rulings are reviewed under

an abuse of discretion standard. Wayte v. United States, 470

U.S. 598, 624-25 (1985) (Marshall, J., dissenting) (“District

Court decisions on discovery are. . . not subject to plenary

review on appeal, but instead are reviewed under an abuse-of-

discretion standard.”) Similarly, a related motion to compel

or for sanctions for alleged failure to comply is also reviewed

“On September 11, 1985 Dr. Coleman filed a Complaint of Dis-

crimination asserting essentially the same claims that are the

subject of the present action. . . . After conducting its own inves-

tigation, . . . the EEOC issued its determination that there was not

probable cause to believe that Dr. Coleman’s allegations were true.”

(Res. A-6).

for abuse of discretion. See, e.g., Harris v. Chipman, 97 F.3d

499, 506 (11th Cir. 1996); Lone Star Steakhouse & Saloon,

Inc. v. Alpha of Virginia, Inc., 43 F.3d 922, 929 (4th Cir.

1995); Herring v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 894 F.2d 1020, 1021

(9th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1016 (1990). Finally,

as stated by the Sixth Circuit in Plott v. General Motors

Corp., Packard Elec. Div., 71 F.3d 1190 (6th Cir. 1995), cert.

denied, 116 S. Ct. 1546 (1996), the relevant factors applica-

ble to the review of discovery orders include: (i) when the

appellant learned of the issue; (ii) whether the desired dis-

covery would have changed the rulings; (iii) how long dis-

covery lasted; (iv) whether the appellant was dilatory in his

discovery efforts, and (v) the responsiveness of the appellee

to discovery requests. /d. at 1196-97.

The record below is clear that the District Court did not

limit Petitioner’s scope of discovery, nor did Seagram request

such a limitation. Rather, during the nine-year course of this

litigation—and more than six years of discovery—Seagram

produced over 3,000 pages of documents, including person-

nel and personnel policy documents related to Petitioner’s

employment with Seagram and the personnel files of other

employees in the R&D Department whose files were

requested by Petitioner; responded to multiple interrogatories

and a request for admissions regarding the produced docu-

ments; and produced four managers and former managers for

depositions by Petitioner’s counsel.’

Ly (R. 49, 55: Deposition of Frederick Weber taken on October 1,

1991 and October 10, 1991; R. 126: Deposition of José Puebla taken on

September 15, 1989; R. 127, 130, 132: Deposition of Leslie Bluhm taken

on May 10, 1989, September 12, 1989, and September 14, 1989; R. 128-

29: Deposition of Robert Cherundolo taken on September 13, 1989 and

September 14, 1989; R. 131, 133-35: Deposition of Albert Bronsky taken

on May 12, 1989 and September 11, 1989). More specifically, in response

to Plaintiff's First Set of Document Requests, served in June 1988, Sea-

gram gathered and forwarded to Plaintiff all performance and employ-

ment documents regarding Plaintiff after completing a diligent search of

Company records. (R.12: Responses and Objections by Defendant to

laa

In addition, in response to Petitioner’s three Motions to

Compel, Seagram submitted affidavits of its in-house coun-

sel and outside counsel swearing to Seagram’s good faith

search for, and production of, all of the requested documents

which it had in its possession or control. See Affidavit of Ann

Giambusso, sworn to on September 15, 1993 (attached at

Appendix A-18). Finally, contrary to the Petitioner’s repeated

claim to the contrary, the District Court directed Seagram, in

response to Petitioner’s First and Second Motions To Compel,

to produce any documents not already produced and, in addi-

tion, directed Seagram to produce for inspection the person-

nel files of current and former Seagram employees, copies of

Plaintiff's Interrogatories and Responses and Objections to Plaintiff’s

Request for the Production of Documents). In connection with Plaintiff’s

deposition of two of Defendant’s employees, Dr. Leslie Bluhm and Mr.

Robert Cherundolo, in 1989 Defendant produced additional documents,

including documents describing Defendant’s policies and procedures con-

cerning employee evaluations and merit reviews in effect during Plain-

tiff’s employment with the Company. On September 19, 1990, Plaintiff

filed the first of his three Motions to Compe! the production of docu-

ments that he believed should be in Seagram’s files. (R. 31: Motion by

Plaintiff to Compel Discovery). On April 11, 1991, Plaintiff served his

Second Set of Interrogatories and Request for Production of Documents

in response io which Defendant produced an additional 1,887 pages of

documents. On April 19, 1992, Plaintiff filed a Motion to Propound in

Excess of Thirty Requests for Admissions. (R. 57: Plaintiff's Motion to

Propound Requests for Admissions in Excess of 30). On January 30,

1993, Plaintiff served his Second Motion to Compel Discovery. (R. 76:

Motion by Plaintiff to Compel). By an Order dated February 3, 1993,

Plaintiff's Motion to Propound in Excess of Thirty Admissions was

granted and Seagram’s Motion to Terminate Discovery was denied. (Pet.

A-3). On April 26, 1993, Plaintiff served a Third Motion to Compel and

a Motion to Propound In Excess of Thirty Interrogatories and Request for

Production of Documents. (R.93: Third Motion by Plaintiff to Compel

Discovery). By Order dated June 11, 1993, the Magistrate Judge directed

Defendant to produce for inspection the personnel records of certain

listed former and current Seagram employees, in response to which

Defendant uncovered no additional documents in its fourth search of

Company facilities, but nevertheless again produced all documents

responsive to the Order. (Pet. A-4).

10

which had already been produced to Petitioner. (Pet. A-4).

Only after Seagram’s compliance with this order did the court

deny Petitioner’s motion to impose sanctions on the Defen-

dant, because“[a] review of the record convinces this Court

that the defendant has made every effort to comply with Cole-

man’s discovery requests and as such, sanctions [are] inap-

propriate.”*® (Pet. A-5 at 2).

In addition, while Petitioner is correct in stating that it was

Seagram’s policy to conduct an annual evaluation of each

employee on Seagram’s performance evaluation form (the

““Blue Book”) to be maintained in Seagram’s official per-

sonnel files in New York City, Dr. Weber testified at trial, in

response to a question of whether he prepared a “Blue Book”

on every employee every year, that he only did that “when we

were forced into it.” (R. 179: Transcript of trial testimony,

May 31, 1995, at 61). Dr. Weber also testified that he did not

fill out the sections of the “Blue Book” concerning pro-

motability for Petitioner or for any other employees, and that

he usually did not fill out a complete “Blue Book” on any-

body while he was Section Head. (R. 179: Transcript of trial

testimony, May 31, 1995, at 69). Indeed, an Exhibit prepared

by Petitioner indicates that the official personnel files of all

of the employees who worked in the Louisville R&D Depart-

ment are deficient in that they do not have performance

reviews for each year of the employee’s tenure and, in the

case of a number of employees, do not include any “Blue

Book” reviews at all. (Defendant’s Exh. 58).

Finally, Petitioner is in error when he states that the District

Court did not allow him to discover certain of Seagram’s per-

. In fact, the only discovery motions brought by Petitioner that

were denied by the District Court were a Motion for Ruling on Discov-

ery Omissions (which the court found sought a ruling on certain aspects

of a previously filed Motion to Compel) and a Motion for Leave to Pro-

pound in Excess of 30 Interrogatories made after Defendant had already

responded to Plaintiff's First and Second Set of Interrogatories. (Pet. A-

5 at 1-2).

11

sonnel policies and procedures. (Pet. at 18-19). Rather, Sea-

gram produced the requested policy and procedural docu-

ments it had in its possession and control in connection with

Petitioner’s deposition of two of Defendant’s managers. (See

fn. 7, supra). Also, Seagram’s counsel swore in Affidavits

submitted in response to Coleman’s Motions to Compel that

Seagram did not have a separate Personnel Manual in effect

after 1983, and that a thorough search for other requested per-

sonnel policy documents had been undertaken and that no fur-

ther documents had been found. (Res. A-20 at 97).

While Petitioner claims that all of the foregoing and the

District Court’s ultimate conclusion that Seagram had made

every effort to comply by producing those documents which

were within its possession and control, is unsatisfactory, and

does not support the Court of Appeal’s conclusion that “the

District Court ultimately determined that Seagram had com-

plied fully with [Petitioner’s] discovery requests” or its find-

ing “no abuse of discretion in the district court’s rulings on

discovery” (Pet. at 14-16), the Court of Appeals was clear!y

correct in this regard. The District Court ultimately deter-

mined that Seagram had been responsive in both its search for

documents which could have existed and its production of all

documents under its possession and control, and that, there-

fore, Seagram had complied fully with the discovery requests

Plaintiff's reference to “redacting discoverable job-related doc-

uments” (Pet. at 17-18) refers to documents describing a research project

which was produced to Petitioner as part of the additional employee per-

sonnel files Petitioner had requested. (Plaintiff’s Exh. 44). The redacted

portions of this document contain confidential business, not personnel,

information and neither Petitioner nor his counsel ever made a specific

request for unredacted copies of that document. Similarly, despite Peti-

tioner’s reference to an alleged withholding of his “promotability eval-

uations under a scheme of ‘privilege documents’ ” (Pet. at }1), the only

document withheld by Seagram on the grounds of privilege during the

entire discovery process was an early draft of Seagram’s response to the

EEOC in connection with Petitioner’s Charge, which had been inadver-

tently filed with Petitioner’s personnel documents. (Res. A-20 at 45).

12

and was not subject to sanctions by the Court to compel pro-

duction of what it did not have.'®

II. PETITIONER’S CLAIMS REGARDING HIS MOTION

TO AMEND HIS COMPLAINT TO ADD A STATE

LAW CLAIM FOR EMOTIONAL AND MENTAL

DAMAGES, AND HIS MOTION TO RECONSIDER

HIS CONSTRUCTIVE DISCHARGE CLAIM, HAVE

BEEN MADE MOOT BY THE FINDINGS OF THE

DISTRICT COURT, AFFIRMED BY THE COURT

OF APPEALS, THAT SEAGRAM DID NOT INTEN-

TIONALLY DISCRIMINATE OR RETALIATE

AGAINST PETITIONER ON THE BASIS OF HIS

RACE.

Petitioner’s claims in his Petition regarding his alleged con-

structive discharge and his motion to amend his complaint

more than five (5) years after the commencement of his law-

suit to add a claim for emotional and mental injuries pursuant

to the Kentucky Civil Rights Act (Pet. at 19-28) are directly

related to, and dependent upon, his unfounded allegations

regarding the District Court’s discovery rulings which

the Court of Appeals properly found were not an abuse of

discretion by the lower court. However, these claims are also

made moot by the District Court’s holdings following a trial

on the merits that Petitioner had not demonstrated that he

suffered intentional racial discrimination or retaliation, which

holdings Petitioner does not substantively contest in his

Petition."

” There is no support in the record for Petitioner’s claim of

“exception [sic] public interest in the civil-rights community” for his dis-

covery claims. (Pet. at 28).

- Petitioner’s claim that the courts below did not address his

claims of discrimination concerning job performance standards (Pet. at

27-28) is similarly deficient. In addition to holding that “based on the

evidence of record, plaintiff has not persuaded the court that he suffered

intentional discrimination” (Res. A-8), the District Court expressly found

that: ,

(footnote continued)

a ik a a I EE

13

As stated by the 6th Circuit in Lynch v. Freeman, 817 F.2d

380, 385 (6th Cir. 1987), “[a] determination of constructive

discharge necessarily rests on a finding of discriminatory

intent. The district court found no such intent and this find-

ing is not clearly erroneous.” /d. at 385. Furthermore, in addi-

tion to finding a lack of proof of intentional discrimination or

retaliation, the District Court made specific findings of fact

that Seagram encouraged all of its professional employees in

the Louisville R&D department, including Petitioner, to move

with the department to White Plains and guaranteed those

employees positions with comparable responsibilities, grade

level, and salary. The District Court also specifically found

that Seagram’s decision to wait until after the move to White

Plains before making a decision regarding the selection of a

new Section Head was both understandable and reasonable

under the circumstances. (Res. A-12 to A-13). These are

clearly not circumstances where a finding of constructive dis-

charge would be appropriate, even where there had been a

finding of intentional discrimination not present here. See,

e.g., Wilson v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 932 F.2d 510,

515 (6th Cir. 1991) (finding that the offer to an employee of

other legitimate options within the company for continued

employment “precludes a finding that [he] was constructively

discharged.”); Darnell v. Campbell Cty. Fiscal Court, 731 F.

Supp. 1309, 1313 (E.D.Ky. 1990), aff’d, 924 F.2d 1057 (6th

“Dr. Coleman failed to establish that Seagram took an employ-

ment action adverse to him. The only conduct of Seagram that is

actionable is that which falls within the 300-day window prior to

the filing of the complaint with the EEOC. The only conduct of

Seagram falling within that period relates to its failure to promote

Dr. Coleman to the Section Head position. As noted above, Sea-

gram did not make a final determination regarding who would per-

manently fill the Biotechnology Section Head position until after

the move to White Plains had been completed. Nor did the actions

of Seagram or Bluhm constitute any sort of de facto rejection of his

application.”

(Res. A-14).

id

Cir. 1991). In addition, the finding by the District Court that

Petitioner has not proven intentional discrimination or retal-

iation makes the subject of what, if any, remedies (e.g., emo-

tional and mental damages) Petitioner might have been

entitled to as a result of such discrimination moot.

Furthermore, even if Petitioner’s appeal of the denial of his

motion to amend were not moot, the Court of Appeals found

“no abuse of discretion in the district court’s. . . denial of

the motion to amend the complaint.” (Pet. A-6 at 4). See

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Hazeltine Research, Inc., 401 U.S. 321,

330-31 (1971); Semco, Inc. v. Amcast, Inc., 52 F.3d 108, 114

(6th Cir. 1995).

In evaluating the appropriateness of a motion to amend, the

court may consider undue delay of filing, lack of notice to the

opposing party, bad faith by the moving party, undue preju-

dice to the opposing party, and futility of amendment. See

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178-182 (1962); General Elec. Co.

v. Sargent & Lundy, 916 F.2d 1119, 1130 (6th Cir. 1990). In

denying the Petitioner’s Motion to Amend, the Magistrate

Judge noted that Petitioner offered “no explanation for this

extraordinary delay” and that “the amended complaint does

not contain any factual allegations that were not known to the

Plaintiff when tiie original complaint was filed in 1987.” (Pet.

A-3 at 2-3). The Magistrate Judge also found that Seagram

would be unduly prejudiced because, at this late date, it

would be required to re-depose a plaintiff who was claiming

discrimination several years previously, as well as other wit-

nesses whose memories concerning the Petitioner’s demeanor

“would now be long faded. . . .” (Jd. at 5). Accordingly, the

Magistrate Judge concluded that not only was Petitioner’s

delay unjustified, it unfairly prejudiced the defendant.” (/d.

at 4-5).

Thus, as stated by the Magistrate Judge in his Order deny-

ing Petitioner’s Motion to Amend—and in his Order denying

Petitioner’s Motion for Reconsideration related, inter alia, to

oO

15

his claims regarding document discovery'* (Pet. A-4 at 1-3)—

substantial prejudice to Seagram, undue delay, lack of notice

and bad faith by Petitioner all militated against permitting

Petitioner to amend his five year old complaint to add a time-

barred claim for emotional and mental damages, which was

particularly within the control of the Petitioner. Therefore, the

Orders of the Magistrate Judge denying Petitioner’s Motion

to Amend did not constitute an abuse of discretion.

= The Petitioner again contends in his Petition that discovery of

further documents was necessary before he could file a motion to amend

his complaint to add a claim for emotional and mental damages (Pet. at

21-22), despite the fact that he had not seen those documents. (See Pet.

A-4 at 3; fn. 5, supra).

16

CONCLUSION

It is submitted for all of the reasons set forth herein that the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

KARLA A. COHEN

MITZI WYRICK

Of Counsel

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN W. OHLWEILER

(Counsel of Record)

SIMPSON THACHER & BARTLETT

(a partnership which includes

professional corporations)

425 Lexington Avenue

New York, New York 10017-3954

(212) 455-2000

EDWIN S. HOPSON

WYATT, TARRANT & COMBS

Citizens Plaza

Louisville, Kentucky 40202

(502) 589-5235

Attorneys for Respondent

4

a

a

‘s °

APPENDIX

A-1l

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

LOUISVILLE DIVISION

Civil Action No. 87-0022-L(R)

Filed: June 29, 1995

JAMES W. COLEMAN, PH.D..,

Plaintiff,

JOSEPH E. SEAGRAM & SONS, INC.

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

This is a racial discrimination case filed under Title VII. A

bench trial was held on May 30 and 31, 1995. For the reasons

that follow, the court concludes that judgment must be entered

for the defendant.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Prior to commencing work for Defendant Joseph E.

Seagram & Sons, Inc. (“Seagram”), Plaintiff James W. Cole-

man (“Dr. Coleman”), an African-American, had attained both

A-2

a bachelor’s degree from Tougaloo College and a master’s

degree from Tuskegee Institute. Dr. Coleman had worked as

a bacteriological technician for the Air Force and as an

instructor at Tuskegee Institute. Dr. Coleman was first hired

by Seagram in September 1964. He was initially paid an

hourly wage as a Production Trainee at Seagram’s Lawrence-

burg, Indiana production facility. Dr. Coleman continued to

work there as Yeast Chemist until September 7, 1965.

Dr. Coleman then began working at Seagram’s Research

and Development (“R&D”) facility in Louisville, Kentucky.

Still working for an hourly wage, Dr. Coleman worked in the

Biotechnology Section. Dr. Coleman worked at the Louisville

R&D facility for the remainder of his career with Seagram,

and received a number of promotions. In September 1965 he

was promoted to Central Research Supervisor, a wage posi-

tion. Dr. Coleman was then promoted to a salaried position as

an Associate Scientist in November 1966. In December 1967

Dr. Coleman began work as a Senior Associate Scientist. He

remained in that position until January 1973, when he was

made a Research Scientist. In January 1977 he was promoted

to Senior Research Scientist, a position he held until the end

of his career with Seagram in August 1985. The position

above Senior Research Scientist, the highest position in the

Biotechnology Section, was the Section Head position.

Dr. Coleman received his Ph.D. in Microbiology from the

University of Louisville in 1972. Seagram fully reimbursed

Dr. Coleman for his tuition and periodically afforded him paid

time off to enable him to complete his thesis on a subject

related to his work for Seagram. Dr. Coleman’s articles on the

subject of grain alcohol fermentation have been published in

scientific journals. Dr. Coleman also holds memberships in

various scientific organizations, and has taught at the Uni-

versity of Louisville.

Dr. Coleman was actively involved with the activities of the

NAACP throughout most of his career at Seagram. His par-

ticipation was a matter of general knowledge at the Louisville

R&D facility. Dr. Coleman took paid time off to attend

NAACP national conventions in the mid-1970s, and Seagram

A-3

authorized Dr. Coleman to provide hospitality to the

Louisville delegation at certain of the conventions.

Dr. Albert Bronsky was the Section Head of the Biotech-

nology Section from 1968 to 1975, and was thus Dr. Cole-

man’s immediate superior, advised Dr. Coleman that he

needed to receive a series of superior ratings in order to get

promoted. On December 22, 1976 Dr. Coleman sent a letter to

Dr. S.L. Adams to Seagram’s offices in New York. This letter

requested a review of Dr. Bronsky’s determination that Dr.

Coleman’s performance did not warrant a promotion to Senior

Research Scientist. Dr. Coleman’s actions were effective, and

he received that promotion as of January 1977.

During his career at Seagram, Dr. Coleman received 25

salary and adjustment increases, resulting in a salary of

$52,620 at the time of his retirement in August 1985. These

increases came at intervals of approximately one year. Dr.

Coleman's 1985 salary was the second highest among the

employees at his level (Senior Research Scientist-Grade 18)

in the R&D department, but was less than that of employees

at higher level managerial positions. As a basis for compari-

son, as Section Head (Grade 21) Dr. Weber’s 1985 salary was

$57,060. Two other Senior Research Scientists, Dr. Welden

Maisch and Dr. Ping Wang, were paid $48,180 and $44,700

respectively.

Dr. Coleman’s salary increases were based in part on per-

formance evaluations and merit reviews given during his last

ten years of employment with Seagram. His ratings ranged

from just below a 3 (or “Good”) rating, given when an

employee performed “as expected,” to a rating of 4 (or “Supe-

rior”), given when an employee’s performance exceeded

expectations. Dr. Coleman’s evaluations included written

comments that he needed to complete projects in a more

timely manner, reduce his backlog of projects, improve his

personal relationship with personnel at the production plant,

and focus more on creative projects and less on routine work.

Dr. Fred Weber was Section Head for the Biotechnology

Section from March 1975 until his retirement in August 1985.

Dr. Weber, the other Section Heads at the R&D facility, and

A-4

Mr. James Martin as Research Administrator, reported to the

Vice President for Research and Development, Dr. Leslie

Bluhm. In December 1982 Seagram discontinued its bottling

operations at the Louisville plant, and closed the production

facility in the Spring of 1983. Then in early 1984 Dr. Weber

made it known that the would cetire when he became 62 years

of age in February 1985. Dr. Coleman’s interest in the posi-

tion was either generally known to Seagram management or

made known to them by his expression of interest.

In the latter part of 1984, Seagram announced that the R&D

Department would be relocating to its facility in White Plains,

New York and consolidated with Seagram’s New Products

Development operation that had been located in Hawthorne,

New York. Dr. Weber indicated that he would not be trans-

ferring to White Plains, and elected to retire in August 1985.

Seagram offered all salaried professional employees in

Louisville, including Dr. Coleman, the opportunity to trans-

fer to the White Plains facility. Those making the move to

White Plains would work there in a position comparable to

their previous position in Louisville, with comparable respon-

sibilities, grade level, and salary. Seagram did not offer indi-

vidual employees promotions as an inducement to get them to

move to White Plains. Certain employees did, however,

receive promotions either in the ordinary course of Seagram’s

promotion process or as a reward for extraordinary achieve-

ment. For example, in November 1984 Mr. Hugh Mason was

promoted to Research Engineer and in February 1985 Ms.

Althea Jones was promoted to Junior Scientist. Ms. Jones’

promotion came after she received a highly favorable letter

regarding her work on a special project, and was requested by

her so that she would be able to make the move to White

Plains.

Seagram offered relocation allowances and assistance in

finding homes in the White Plains area. Seagram paid for

employees to take trips to New York to locate a new home,

offered a cost-of-living adjustment that could be taken in a

lump sum after making the move, a buy-out option on the

employee’s current mortgage and assistance with the

employee’s new mortgage. In the alternative, those salaried

A-5

professional employees who elected not to transfer were eli-

gible for a special several package equal to one month’s

salary for each year of service with Seagram. This option was

no longer available after an employee moved to the White

Plains facility.

A letter dated March 14, 1985 was sent to Dr. Coleman and

other professional employees urging them to transfer to White

Plains, and requesting that their intentions be indicated to Dr.

Bluhm or James Martin by March 22, 1985. Of the employees

in the Biotechnology Section, only Althea Jones, Jose Puebla,

and James Ervin, all Junior Scientists, transferred to White

Plains. On or about March 15, 1985 Dr. Coleman requested

his personnel file from Dr. Weber. The informal supervisor's

file relating to his employment was shown to him, but Dr.

Coleman stated that the file was incomplete. In May 1985

Dr. Bluhm brought Dr. Coleman’s personnel file from the

Human Resources department in New York City for Dr. Cole-

man to review. Nonetheless, Dr. Coleman wrote a letter dated

May 31, 1985 to M. W. Griffin, Executive Vice President for

Human Resources, requesting additional documents in his

file. Mr. Griffin responded that he believed Dr. Coleman had

been provided with everything in his personnel file, and that

if he was seeking other documents, he needed to identify them

specifically. On June 20, 1985 Dr. Coleman responded by

stating the types of documents he was seeking. Dr. Coleman

was then told that Seagram did not have the documents he

requested.

On March 22, 1985, in response to an oral question to him

by Mr. Martin, Dr. Coleman stated that he would be trans-

ferring to White Plains. It was brought to his attention at

some point later in the day that, under Seagram’s move incen-

tive program, an employee who accepted the move incentives

but later chose not to transfer to White Plains would not be

eligible for the special severance package. Interested in pre-

serving his right to elect to receive the severance package, Dr.

Coleman sent a handwritten letter dated March 22, 1985 to

Dr. Bluhm and Mr. Martin stating that would not be trans-

ferring to the White Plains facility. Dr. Coleman’s decision

A-6

was also apparently based on his desire to see more infor-

mation from his personnel file in order to gauge the likeli-

hood that would be promoted to the Section Head position,

either before or after the move to White Plains was com-

pleted. Dr. Coleman also considered the personal and finan-

cial aspects of relocating to White Plains, New York. By

1985, Dr. Coleman had lived in Louisville for approximately

25 years, and his wife had developed a successful career as a

real estate broker. The Colemans also owned four fourplexes

comprising 16 rental units.

Dr. Weber retired on August 1, 1985. Thereafter Mr. Jose

Puebla, a Junior Scientist, performed some of the responsi-

bilities of a Section Head, but primarily worked to pack away

laboratory equipment in preparation for the move to White

Plains. Seagram did not make a decision regarding who would

fill the Biotechnology Section Head position on a permanent

basis until it was clear which employees would transfer to the

White Plains facility. When none of the senior staff from the

Biotechnology Section elected to make the move, Dr. Bron-

sky was appointed to the Section Head position on an interim

basis. He remained in that position until February 1989 when

Seagram appointed Dr. William Hirt to the Section Head posi-

tion.

On August 19, 1985, Dr. Coleman submitted a letter to Dr.

Bluhm stating that he would separate from Seagram effective

August 31, 1985. In accordance with the special severance

package offered in connection with the move to White Plains,

Dr. Coleman received payments equal to 21'/, months of

salary, and continued coverage under the Seagram Group

Insurance Program. On September 11, 1985 Dr. Coleman filed

a Complaint of Discrimination asserting the same claims that

are the subject of the present action. On December 19, 1985

this Complaint was directed to the federal Equal Employment

Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”). After conducting its own

investigation, on October 10, 1986 the EEOC issued its deter-

mination that there was not probable cause to believe that Dr.

Coleman’s allegations were true.

|

A-7

At trial Dr. Coleman testified that part of his personnel file

contained racist comments. He stated that Dr. Weber had told

him that Dr. Bluhm had made racist comments in his evalu-

ations. He further testified that Dr. Weber had told him that

the Dr. Bluhm had forced him to put negative comments in

Dr. Coleman’s personnel file. Dr. Coleman also indicated that

Dr. Weber told him that Dr. Bluhm had made racist comments

about Dr. Coleman and that Dr. Coleman would not get the

job of Section Head. He was also displeased that Seagram had

taken his picture and used it without his permission for arti-

cles appearing in The Louisville Defender newspaper, Ebony

magazine, and minority recruitment literature for Seagram.

Dr. Coleman complained to management staff at Seagram that

he was offended by this activity. Dr. Weber was Dr. Cole-

man’s supervisor during Dr. Coleman’s entire career at Sea-

gram. Dr. Weber, however, denied that Dr. Bluhm had made

racist remarks about Coleman. Dr. Weber did criticize Dr.

Bluhm’s management style, but did not feel that Dr. Bluhm

made employment decisions on the basis of race.

Mr. James Martin, an African-American male, is the Direc-

tor of Management Services in White Plains. He previously

worked in the Louisville production facility and then trans-

ferred to R&D in 1983. Currently he is involved with

Associated Managers, an association of African-American

employees at Seagram whose purpose is to act as an advocate

for African-American recruitment, promotion, and training.

Mr. Martin stated that the Louisville employees were

informed that no decisions regarding promotions would be

made until the move to White Plains was completed. Mr. Mar-

tin believes that Dr. Coleman and Dr. Bluhm had a conflict.

Mr. Martin saw no evidence that the conflict concerned race.

In Mr. Martin’s opinion, race was never an issue with Dr.

Biuhm. Dr. Bluhm was primarily concerned with professional

qualifications and performance.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

This is a racial discrimination case arising under Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e e7 seq.

A-8

(1992). This court has jurisdiction under the general federal

question statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (1992).

This case poses a dilemma. The court is faced with a well-

educated and articulate plaintiff whom in good faith believes

that because of his race he has suffered job-relation dis-

crimination. Dr. Coleman was obviously well qualified for the

Section Head position. However, the court must judge the

case on the evidence presented. Based on the evidence of

record, plaintiff has not persuaded the court that he suffered

intentional discrimination. St. Mary’s Honor Center v. Hicks,

_.. U.S. __,, 113 S.Ct. 2742, 2749-54, 125 KL.Ed.2d407

(1993). This conclusion is not critical of the credibility of the

plaintiff.

The testimony of Dr. Fred Weber and Mr. James Martin

offers a different perspective and carries great weight with the

court. Dr. Fr-d Weber, a Caucasian male, retired as Section

Head of Biotechnology in 1985. He had worked with Dr.

Coleman during his entire tenure at Seagram. As the time of

trial he had been retired for 10 years and had no real ties or

allegiance to Seagram. He was critical as he was supportive

of some of the management decision at Seagram. He stated

things changed at Seagram when Dr. Bluhm became his

immediate supervisor. Dr. Bluhm was a poor manager of peo-

ple. Dr. Bluhm had a tendency to yell and criticize rather than

counsel. Dr. Weber had many criticisms of Dr. Bluhm’s man-

agement style and felt that Dr. Bluhm had a difficult and caus-

tic personality. But Dr. Weber made it clear that race was not

a factor in the employment actions taken by Dr. Bluhm. He

never heard Dr. Bluhm make a racist statement, nor did he

observe him make a decision based on race. [t was also Dr.

Weber’s firm understanding that a decision on the new Sec-

tion Head would not be made until after the move to White

Plains.

Mr. James Martin, African-American male, is the Director

of Management Services at Seagram’s White Plains facility.

He had previously worked in Louisville, first with the pro-

duction facility and thereafter in R&D in 1983. Like Dr. Cole-

man, while in Louisville he had been involved in

organizations and activities protected by Title VII. He is cur-

A-9

rently the president of Associated Managers, an organization

of African-American managers employed at Seagram which

works as an advocacy group to ensure fair promotion and

training opportunities and practices for African-Americans at

Seagram. Mr. Martin was aware that tension existed between

Dr. Coleman and Dr. Bluhm and that it seemed to involve the

issue of promotional opportunities. Mr. Martin stated that race

was never an issue with Dr. Bluhm, and his sole concern was

professional performance. Mr. Martin also stated that it was

clear to him that a decision on the new Section Head would

not be made until the move to White Plains. Mr. Martin never

believed that race was a factor in Seagram’s actions in regard

to Dr. Coleman. Like the court, Mr. Martin did not question

Dr. Coleman’s good faith belief that race had adversely influ-

enced employment decisions regarding Dr. Coleman. How-

ever, Mr. Martin saw no objective evidence to support Dr.

Coleman’s belief.

The facts of his case do not present the kind of “continuing

violation” necessary to toll the statute of limitations. Never-

theless, conduct occurring outside the 300-day limitations

period imposed by Title VII, while not actionable itself, “may

constitute relevant background evidence in a proceeding in

which the status of a current practice is at issue.” United Air

Lines, Inc. v. Evans, 431 U.S. 553, 558 (1977). Such evidence

was admitted for the purpose of determining whether other-

wise apparently race-neutral actions were, in fact, motivated

by racial animus. As plaintiff’s motion for reconsideration of

the court’s prior order granting summary judgment for defen-

dant on plaintiff’s claim for constructive discharge was

denied from the bench, only claims for retaliatory discrimi-

nation and failure to promote remain.

Title VII provides, in pertinent part:

§ 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices.

(a) It shall be an unlawful employment practice for an

employer

A-10

(1) to. . . discriminate against any individual with

respect to his compensation, terms, conditions,

or privileges of employment, because of such

individual’s race. . .

A. FAILURE TO PROMOTE

In a Title VII case, the plaintiff bears the initial burden of

establishing a prima facie case by a preponderance of the evi-

dence. Ang v. Procter & Gamble Co., 932 F.2d 540, 548 (6th

Cir. 1991). When asserting that the employer failed to pro-

mote the plaintiff based, at least in part, by impermissible

considerations of race, the plaintiff’s prima facie case requires

a demonstration that 1) he is a member of protected class,

2) he was qualified and applied for the promotion, 3) he was

considered and rejected for the promotion, and 4) after his

rejection the position remained open and the employer con-

tinued to seek applicants from persons with qualifications

similar to that of plaintiff. McDonnell Douglas v. Green, 411

U.S. 792, 802 (1973); Jackson v. RKO Bottlers of Toledo,

Inc., 743 F.2d 370, 375 (6th Cir. 1984).

If the plaintiff carries this burden, ii is then incumbent upon

the defendant employer to articulate some legitimate, nondis-

criminatory reason for the adverse employment determination.

McDonnell Douglas, 411 U.S. at 802. Once the employer

does so, the burden shifts back to the plaintiff to prove by a

preponderance of the evidence that the legitimate reasons

offered by the employer were not its true reasons, but were

merely a pretext for discrimination. A reason cannot be a pre-

text unless it is shown both that the reason was false and that

discrimination was the real reason for the employer’s action.

Hicks, 113 S.Ct. at 2749-54. The burden of persuasion that

the plaintiff was the victim of intentional discrimination

remains at all times with the plaintiff. Texas Dep't of Com-

munity Affairs v. Burdine, 540 U.S. 248, 253 (1981).

Dr. Coleman, an African-American, is a member of a pro-

tected class. Dr. Coleman was also well qualified for the Sec-

tion Head position. He had extensive experience in the

Biotechnology area, and had performed very well throughout

— OO OO OO EE EEE EEE EE EO EEE

A-11

his career at Seagram. Had Dr. Coleman chosen to transfer to

White Plains, he would have been the only Senior Research

Scientist in Biotechnology to do so, and his experience and

credentials would iiave established him as the front-runner for

that position. The testimony of Dr. Weber and James Martin

confirms the court’s conclusion in this regard.

Dr. Coleman has also met his burden of demonstrating that

he “applied” for the Section Head position. The practice at

Seagram did not generally require a formal application from

current Seagram employees for openings in salaried, profes-

sional positions. Where possible, Seagram’s policy was to try

and fill such openings by an internal search process, finding

and promoting qualified applicants from within the company’s

current employees. Seagram employees periodically com-

pleted a form expressing their interest in certain positions

should promotion opportunities arise. Rather than completing

an application each time an opening arose, this form and word

of mouth were used to determine who was interested in a new

opening. Through this form, Seagram’s own promotion pro-

cedures, and other expressions of interest by Dr. Coleman, it

is clear that Dr. Coleman effectively applied for the Section

Head opening created by Dr. Weber’s retirement.

Dr. Coleman failed to establish, however, that he was con-

sidered and rejected for the Section Head position. While no

doubt Seagram realized that it would need to fill the opening

created by Dr. Weber’s retirement, Dr. Weber remained in and

performed the duties of his position until August 1985. There-

after Dr. Bronsky acted as Biotechnology Section Head on an

interim basis during the transition to White Piains and until a

permanent replacement was found. Seagram may have con-

sidered Dr. Coleman a likely candidate for promotion to that

position. But there is no evidence that any meetings for delib-

erations took place regarding candidates for the position prior

to the move. In addition, no final decision regarding Dr.

Weber’s successor was made until well after the move to

White Plains, when Dr. Hirt was placed in that position in

1989. There is no indication from the facts presented that Dr.

Coleman was rejected as a viable candidate at any time before

A-12

he submitted his letter of resignation in August 1985. Dr.

Coleman relies heavily on some negative statements made by

Dr. Bluhm or Dr. Weber in his earlier performance evaluations

to assert that Dr. Bluhm would have blocked his promotion in

any event. Those statements, however, neither demonstrate

any racial animus on the part of Dr. Bluhm toward Dr. Cole-

man nor are they sufficient to establish a de facto rejection of

Dr. Coleman’s application. The statements contain ordinary,

business-related matters such as timely completion of pro-

jects, ability to deal effectively with subordinate employees

and aggressive leadership ability. Furthermore, subsequent

evaluations were more favorable to Dr. Coleman.

Dr. Coleman filed as an exhibit an advertisement by Sea-

gram which Dr. Coleman took as a rejection. Dr. Coleman

also stated he had seen another advertisement in a trade jour-

nal seeking applicants for the Section Head position, but he

was unable to find it and thus was unable to produce it at trial.

The advertisement he was able to present at trial does not

constitute a rejection of Dr. Coleman for the position. Absent

some more concrete act or evidence demonstrating that he had

been rejected by Dr. Bluhm or Seagram management, Dr.

Coleman has failed to prove that he was rejected by Seagram.

Even if the failure of Seagram to make a decision regarding

the Section Head position until after the move were itself con-

sidered an “adverse employment decision” under the McDon-

nel Douglas analysis, Dr. Coleman would still fail to establish

a violation of Title VII. Seagram did seem to fill the Section

Head position after the move to White Plains, and considered

applicants of Dr. Coleman’s qualifications, thus satisfying the

fourth element of the McDonnell Douglas analysis.

Seagram’s proffered justification for waiting until after the

move to White Plains before making a decision regarding the

Section Head position is that it was waiting until management

knew for certain which personnel, qualified for the position,

from the Louisville R&D facility would be transferring to

White Plains. The evidence offered by plaintiff fails to per-

suade the court that this justification is merely a pretext for

intentional racial discrimination. It would have made little

A-13

sense in early 1985 for Seagram to expend the time and

resources necessary to select a new Section Head, an upper

level managerial position, if there was any significant risk

that the person selected would not be working at the White

Plains facility. The evidence strongly indicates that Seagram

had difficulty in getting the senior staff, particularly in the

Biotechnology Section, to make a decision regarding their

plans to transfer. Most of these persons had strong ties to the

Louisville area, were older and did not want to relocate at this

point in their lives. Dr. Bluhm’s letter of March 15, 1985

requesting an indication from eligible staff within two weeks

came after the staff remained noncommittal more than six

months after the initial announcement that the Louisville

facility would be closed. Indeed, only three people in the

Biotechnology Section elected to transfer, and all these were

below the Senior Research Scientist and Research Scientist

grade level. More specifically, Dr. Coleman’s vacillation gave

Seagram grounds for pause in making the promotion decision.

On March 22, 1985 Dr. Coleman gave a verbal indication that

he would transfer and a written indication that he would not.

Given that his stated concern at the time was in protecting his

right to take the special severance package, Seagram had

legitimate reason to doubt whether Dr. Coleman would move

to White Plains.

Because Dr. Coleman has both failed to demonstrate that

Seagram rejected him for the Section Head position and failed

to prove that the justifications offered by Seagram are mere

pretexts for intentional racial discrimination, Dr. Coleman’s

claim for failure to promote must be dismissed.

B. RETALIATORY DISCRIMINATION

A claim for retaliation has the same sequence and burden of

proof as an intentional discrimination case. Zanders v.

National R.R. Passenger Corp., 898 F.2d 1127, 1134 (6th Cir.

1990); Smith v. City of Dayton, 830 F.Supp. 1066, 1076 (S.D.

Oh. 1993). The plaintiff must establish a prima facie case by

showing that 1) plaintiff engaged in an activity protected by

Title VII, 2) the exercise of his civil rights was known by the

A-14

defendant, 3) thereafter, the defendant took an employment

action adverse to the plaintiff, and 4) there was a causal con-

nection between the protected activity and the adverse

employment action. Christopher v. Strouder Memorial

Hospital, 936 F.2d 870, 877 (6th Cir.), cert. denied,

___ U.SA. __, 112 S.Ct. 658, 116 L.Ed.2d 749 (1991). If the

plaintiff proves these elements by a preponderance of the evi-

dence, the defendant must then articulate a legitimate non-

retaliatory justification for its action. If the defendant does so,

the burden shifts back to the plaintiff to demonstrate by a pre-

ponderance of the evidence that the articulated justification

was, in fact, merely a pretext for intentional retaliation. The

burden of persuasion remains with the plaintiff at all times.

During his career at Seagram, Dr. Coleman actively par-

ticipated in the activities of the NAACP at both the national

and local levels. In addition, Dr. Coleman periodically spoke

out on his own behalf and on the behalf of other African

Americans at Seagram in an effort to ensure equal treatment

for them in their compensation and terms and conditions of

employment at Seagram. This activity is the kind of activity

that Title VII was designed to protect. In addition, Seagram

employees, both Dr. Coleman’s peers and his superiors in

managerial positions, were well aware of his involvement and

activities. Dr. Coleman thus has satisfied the first two ele-

ments of his prima facie case.

However, Dr. Coleman failed to establish that Seagram took

an employment action adverse to him. The only conduct of

Seagram that is actionable is that which falls within the 300-

day window prior to the filing of the complaint with the

EEOC. The only conduct of Seagram falling within that

period relates to its failure to promote Dr. Coleman to the

Section Head position. As noted above, Seagram did not make

a final determination regarding who would permanently fill

the Biotechnology Section Head position until after the move

to White Plains had been completed. Not did the actions of

Seagram or Bluhm constitute any sort of de facto rejection of

his application.

Likewise, Dr. Coleman failed to demonstrate any causal

connection between adverse employment action and Dr. Cole-

|

t

}

}

o

:

-

:

:

‘

:

A-15

man’s participation in NAACP activities. And, as noted

above, even assuming that Seagram’s decision to delay filling

the Section Head opening is itself actional under Title VII as

an “adverse employment determination,” the evidence does

not support the conclusion that this decision was made as a

way to retaliate against Dr. Coleman. First, Seagram had in

the past strongly supported Dr. Coleman’s NAACP activities

by providing paid time off to attend NAACP meetings and

providing hospitality for the Louisville delegates at the

national convention. James Martin also testified that Seagram

currently supports his activities to promote minority interests

at Seagram. Second, Seagram’s articulated justification for

delaying that decision, to determine which Seagram employ-

ees for Louisville's R&D facility transfer to White Plains,

support the conclusion that it was that consideration rather

than a desire to retaliate against Dr. Coleman that caused the

delay in making the promotion decision. Dr. Coleman has also

failed to demonstrate that this articulated justification is just

a pretext for discrimination. Finally, Dr. Coleman’s partic-

ipation in NAACP activities took place primarily in the late

1970s. The sheer passage of time renders it unlikely that an

employment decision made in the mid-1980s was caused by

Dr. Coleman’s conduct so many years before. While not con-

trolling, the “temporal link” between the protected activity

and the adverse employment decision is strong evidence of

whether a causal connection between the two exists. Holland

v. Jefferson National Life Insurance Co., 883 F.2d 1307, 1315

(7th Cir.); Eastland v. Tennessee Valley Authority, 704 F.2d

613, 627 (11th Cir. 1983).

Because Dr. Coleman has both failed to demonstrate that

Seagram took adverse employment action against him and

failed to prove that there was any causal connection between

Seagram’s conduct and protected activity, Dr. Coleman’s

claim for retaliatory discrimination must be dismissed. An

appropriate order shall be entered.

This the 26th day of June, 1995.

/s/ THOMAS B. RUSSELL

Judge, U.S. District Court

A-16

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

LOUISVILLE DIVISION

Civil Action No. 87-0022-L(R)

Filed: June 27, 1995

JAMES W. COLEMAN, Ph.D.,

Plaintiff,

JOSEPH E. SEAGRAM & Sons, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER

This matter having come before the Court for trial on May

30 and 31, 1995; and the Court having considered the depo-

sition testimony of Dr. Carl Bluhm and Dr. Richard Bronsky,

who were unavailable to testify at trial, and all of the admis-

sible evidence presented at trial; and the Court being other-

wise sufficiently advised;

IT 1s ORDERED that JUDGMENT be entered in favor of the

Defendant and against the Plaintiff, and this case is Dis-

MISSED with prejudice.

f

:

|

f

A-17

This is a final and appealable order.

This the 26th day of June, 1995.

/s/ THOMAS B. RUSSELL

Judge, U.S. District Court

CC: Counsel

A-18

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

WESTERN DISTRICT OF KENTUCKY

AT LOUISVILLE

Civil Action

No. C-87-0022-L(M)

JAMES W. COLEMAN,

Plaintiff,

—aga)ast—

JOSEPH E. SEAGRAM & SONS, INC.,

Defendant.

STATE OF NEW YORK )

Me

COUNTY OF NEW YORK )

AFFIDAVIT

ANN M. GIAMBUSSO, being duly sworn, deposes and says:

1. Iam Human Resources Counsel for Joseph E. Seagram

& Sons, Inc. (“Company” or “Seagram”), defendant in the

above-referenced action. I am fully familiar with the facts

herein. I submit this affidavit in opposition to Plaintiff’s

Motions (i) for Ruling on Omissions, (ii) for Ruling on Plain-

tiff’s Motions Being Held In Abeyance Pending Defendant’s

Compliance With Order, and (iii) for Sanctions for Defen-

dant’s Refusal to Comply With Discovery Orders.

ee

A-19

2. Since the commencement of this action in 1987, I have

been the Seagram in-house attorney coordinating Seagram’s

defense of this action. In that capacity, I am responsible for,

inter alia, supervising Seagram’s response to discovery

requests, including gathering relevant documents and veri-

fying Answers to Interrogatories and Admissions.

3. Because Plaintiff has repeatedly accused Seagram of

“withholding” documents, I have, on at least four separate

occasions, directed Seagram employees to search Company

files for additional documents relating to Plaintiff’s employ-

ment and responsive to Plaintiff’s discovery requests con-

cerning other current and former Company employees. I have

specifically directed that searches be made in Seagram’s New

York offices where the official Company Personnel Files of

current employees and retirees (such as Plaintiff) are main-

tained, Seagram’s off-premises records storage site at Glen-

dale, New York and at Seagram’s offices in Louisville and

Cox’s Creek, Kentucky and Lawrenceberg, Kentucky, where

some files from the Louisville Research and Development

facility at which Plaintiff was employed prior to the reloca-

tion of that department to White Plains, New York are

located. Based on these searches, as more specifically

described below, Seagram has produced (i) all documents

relating to Plaintiff’s job performance, (ii) all files maintained

by Dr. Bluhm on the employees set forth in Plaintiff’s

September 6, 1989 letter, and (iii) all personnel files

requested by Plaintiff on other current and former Seagram

employees which are within Seagram’s possession, custody or

control. The Company has also previously produced docu-

ments and forms describing its policies and procedures con-

cerning performance evaluations and merit reviews in effect

during Plaintiff's employment with the Company which are

responsive to Plaintiff’s discovery requests forming the basis

for Demand No. 6 in Plaintiff's Second Motion to Compel and

the instant Motion for Ruling on Omissions.

«. When, in June of 1988, Plaintiff served his First Set of

Interrogatories and Request for Production of Documents

A-20

which sought, inter alia, his personnel file and files main-

tained by Seagram’s “supervisor/managerial employees. . .

regarding the plaintiff”, I directed that Seagram employees

gather all such files relating to the employment of Plaintiff.

Files were retrieved from Seagram’s Human Resources

Record Room, in which the official Company Personnel File

is maintained, the Payroll Office, Seagram’s New York

Human Resources Department and Seagram’s Research and

Development Department in which Plaintiff had been

employed prior to its move to White Plains, New York. All

documents maintained within these various departmental

files, as well as Plaintiff’s official Company Personnel File,

were gathered and forwarded in their entirety to Defendant’s

counsel Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, which already had a pre-

existing file containing most of those documents that had

been collected during its investigation (in which I was also

involved) of a Complaint filed by Plaintiff in 1985 with the

Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (“EEOC”) and

dismissed by that agency in 1986.

5. Seagram produced all of the documents contained in

these files to Plaintiff on or about July 8, 1988, with the

exception of an early draft of a response prepared by Simpson

Thacher & Bartlett to Plaintiff’s initial Complaint to the

EEOC and correspondence and memoranda regarding that

matter, which are withheld as privileged documents.

6. When, in August 1989, Plaintiff improperly served sub-

poenas duces tecum on two of the Company’s employees (Dr.

Leslie Bluhm and Mr. Robert Cherundolo), I directed that

documents and forms describing the Company’s policies and

procedures concerning employee evaluations and merit

reviews in effect during plaintiff’s employment be gathered

by Company employees. Approximately forty documents

responsive to that request were gathered and forwarded to

Simpson Thacher & Bartlett and subsequently produced to

Plaintiff.

7. In addition to those documents and forms, Seagram had

already produced in response to Plaintiff’s First Request for

A-21

Documents a manual entitled “Personnel Procedure - Pro-

duction Division” that had been used by the Company in the

1960’s and 1970’s. This manual contained some of the poli-

cies, rules and regulations applicable to Plaintiff during that

period, but was not in effect after 1983. As was explained to

Plaintiff’s counsel in Seagram’s Opposition to Plaintiff’s Sec-

ond Motion to Compel, since 1983 Seagram has not had any

personnel manual or other comprehensive document setting

forth employment practices or policies. Subsequently, in

response to Plaintiff's Second Set of Interrogatories and

Request for Documents, Seagram produced to Plaintiff a Sea-

gram publication entitled “Your Guide to Seagram Benefits”

which describes the benefits Plaintiff may have been entitled

o during his employment.

8. When, by letter dated September 6, 1989, Plaintiff’s

counsel requested “the personnel files and/or merit review

forms that Mr. Bluhm kept. . .” on certain named employees,

I directed Dr. Bluhm to gather any of his personal supervisory

files (which are not official Company files) regarding the

employees set forth in Plaintiff’s counsel’s letter dated

September 6, 1989. Dr. Bluhm advised me that while he had

files on such employees containing documents dated after the

move of the Louisville Research and Development Depart-

ment to White Plains, he believed that his personal files on

other employees which he maintained in Louisville prior to

the move had been sent to Seagram’s Human Resources

Department in New York City and were no longer in his

possession.

9. I gathered the files that were in Dr. Bluhm’s possession

and sent them to Simpson Thacher & Bartlett to prepare for

production to the Plaintiff. I then directed Seagram employ-

ees to search for the files Dr. Bluhm believed he had sent to

the New York Human Resources Department. The search

for these files included Seagram’s New York offices, includ-

ing the Human Resources Department,’ Seagram’s off-site

There were, of course, official Company Personnel Files for the

employees and former employees included in Plaintiff’s counsel’s letter

A-22

storage facility at Glendale, New York, as well as Seagram’s

offices in Louisville and Cox’s Creek, Kentucky. I am not

aware of any other locations where these files might have

been retained. The above-described search did not locate the

files personally maintained by Dr. Bluhm prior to the relo-

cation of the Research and Development Department to White

Plains, New York. Seagram subsequently produced to Plain-

tiff the contents of the files on the listed employees main-

tained by Dr. Bluhm that were in his possession in White

Plains as of the date of Plaintiff’s request.

10. When, in April of 1991, Plaintiff served his Second Set

of Interrogatories and Request for Production of Documents

which sought, inter alia, the production of the personnel files

of numerous past and present Seagram employees, I directed

that Company employees gather the personnel files of the

employees listed by Plaintiff in Request Nos. | and 2. Files

were then retrieved from Seagram’s Human Resources

Records Room in New York, in which the official Company

Personnel Files are maintained, the Payroll Office, Seagram’s

New York Human Resources Department and Seagram's

Research and Development Department. All documents main-

tained within these various departmental files were gathered

and forwarded to defendant’s counsel, Simpson Thacher

& Bartlett. The requested documents were produced to Plain-

tiff on or about June 18, 1991.

11. In response to Plaintiff’s 66 Requests for Admissions

asking, inter alia, Seagram to admit that it never had in its

possession various personnel records of both an official and

unofficial nature pertaining to Plaintiff and other employees

at the Louisville Research and Development facility, I again

directed that a thorough review be conducted of Company

records in recognition of Seagram’s obligation to respond to

admission requests only after completing a reasonable inquiry

into such requests. I directed Company employees to gather

of September 6, 1989 maintained in Seagram’s Human Resources Record

Room in New York City, but they were not requested by Plaintiff at this

time. (See Ohlweiler Affidavit, 422; Letter to Plaintiff's counsel dated

April 6, 1993.)

A-23

responsive documents from Seagram’s Human Resources

Record Room, in which the official Company Personnel Files

are maintained, Seagram’s New York Human Resources

Department and Seagram’s Research and Development

Department. A list of files maintained at the Human

Resources Department at Seagram’s Lawrenceberg, Kentucky

facility concerning the Louisville Research and Development

Department was also reviewed.

12. I also directed that all of Dr. Bluhm’s own files be

retrieved from Company off-site records storage facility at

Glendale, New York and again reviewed to determine whether

they contained any additional unofficial personnel records

responsive to Plaintiff’s request contained in his counsel’s let-

ter of September 6, 1989.2 As was the case with the Com-

pany’s original search of these files, no additional documents

responsive to Plaintiff’s discovery requests were found in

these files.

13. Seagram completed the above-described search and

review not only in response to Plaintiff's Requests for Admis-

sions, but also in connection with Plaintiff’s Second Motion

to Compel which was served in January of 1993.> I reviewed

outside counsel’s planned response to the Second Motion to

Compel in the context of my own review of Company files

and found that all documents in Seagram’s current possession,

custody and control responsive to Plaintiff’s discovery

requests that formed the basis of his Second Motion to Com-

pel had been produced to Plaintiff.

=

-

Dr. Bluhm had retired from Seagram by the time the Company

received Plaintiff's Requests for Admission. Dr. Bluhm’s personal files

were as of this date comprised of work-related material completed by Dr.

Bluhm during his tenure as Manager of the Research and Development

Department in White Plains, i.e., they contained no pre-relocation

employee evaluations or other personal documents responsive to Plain-

tiff’s discovery requests.

3

Demand Nos. 2, 4 and 6 of Plaintiff’s Second Motion to Compel

form the substance of the instant Motion For Ruling On Omissions.

A-24

14. Specifically, in response to Demand No. 2 of Plaintiff’s

Second Motion to Compel, I verified that Seagram has no

“performance summary” forms and “supervisor’s notes”,

which are not official Company documents, for Doctors

Gieger and Hirt as those terms have been defined in the con-

text of this proceeding. In fact, Plaintiff has never requested

the production of the official Company Personnel Files for

either of these individuals. (See Ohlweiler Affidavit, 423 and

footnote 8.)

15. I verified that Seagram has already produced to Plain-

tiff all of the personnel files within Seagram’s possession and

control that wouid contain performance evaluations on indi-

viduals identified in Demand No. 4 of Plaintiff’s Second

Motion to Compel.

16. Finally, with respect to Demand No. 6 of Plaintiff’s

Second Motion to Compel, I verified that, as was explained to

Plaintiff in Seagram’s responses to both Plaintiff’s First and

Second Request for Documents, since 1983 Seagram has not

had any personnel manual or other comprehensive document

setting forth Company employment policies or practices

responsive to Plaintiff’s request. As such, it is the Company’s

belief that it has complied in a fully responsive manner with

respect to Plaintiff’s requests which complies the basis of

Demand No. 6. (See 9 6-7, supra)

17. When, on June 11, 1993, the Court ordered Seagram

“to produce for inspection within (30) days of the date of

entry of this order at the offices of its local counsel. . . the

‘personnel records’ of the following former or current

employees of the defendant : [Ruf], Bailey, Wagener, Maisch,

Weber, Bronsky, Wolfram, Baldwin, Coffey, Panek, Scalf,

Sanders, Bosworth, Wathen, Luther and Wang,” I directed that

another search of Seagram facilities be completed similar to

the search described in the preceding Paragraphs 10 through

12. I directed that the original Company Personnel Files, and

any unofficial personnel-related material located with respect

to the named individuals, be gathered and forwarded to

Defendant’s counsel, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett, even

A-25

though the content of these files had for the most part already

been produced to the Plaintiff. The original documents were

produced for Plaintiff’s review and copying in Louisville on

July 9, 1993.

18. Seagram is not now, nor has it ever, wilfully concealed

from Plaintiff any Company document responsive to any of

his requests for documents which form the basis of the

Mouions currently pending before the Court herein. Rather, at

substantial expense to the Company, I have directed on no

less than four (4) separate occasions that searches be con-

ducted at Seagram facilities either known, or believed to be

reasonably likely to contain the employee records sought by

Plaintiff throughout this proceeding. On each occasion, I for-

warded all responsive material yielded by the respective

searches to Seagram’s counsel, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett,

which in turn produced the material to Plaintiff. As such,

Plaintiff's own belief, unsubstantiated in fact, that Seagram

possesses additional discoverable material simply is untrue.

19. Seagram has produced (i) all documents relating to

Plaintiff’s job performance, (ii) all files maintained by Dr.

Bluhm on the employees set forth in Plaintiff’s September 6,

1989 letter, and (ili) all personnel files requested by Plaintiff

on other current and former Seagram employees in Plaintiff’s

Second Set of Interrogatories and Request for Production

which are within the possession, custody or control of the

Company. Further, Seagram has complied in a fully respon-

sive manner to Plaintiff’s Production Request No. 12 of his

Second Set of Interrogatories and Request for Production

relating to copies of defendant’s generally applicable per-

sonnel practices and procedures.

4

The only documents contained in those files not previously pro-

duced to Plaintiff were documents placed in the files after they had been

produced and which pertained primarily to benefits.

A-26

/s/ ANN M. GIAMBUSSO

Ann M. Giambusso

Sworn to before me this

15th day of September, 1993.

/s/ KAREN E. MOLONEY

Notary Public

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.