Opposition Brief — California v. Opuku-Boateng

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

5 Supre: urt 1S

fF i a

Av

No. 96-1275

rewsangeeme gp merreren wee ee

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

THE STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Petitioner,

KWASI OPUKU-BOATENG,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth of Circuit

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LEE BOOTHBY

Counsel of Record

BOOTHBY & YINGST

4545 42™ Street, NW

Suite 200

Washington, D.C. 20016

(202) 363-1773

Counsel for Respondent

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS # WASHINGTON, D.C. + 1-800-347-8208

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, under the religious accommodation

provisions of Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(j), a state

employer must, at a minimum, provide a prospective

employee with equal opportunity to utilize scheduling, shift

trade, and transfer opportunities for religious accommodation

as are generally available to its employees.

2. Whether an employer claiming undue hardship is

required to prove accommodation is not possible by

demonstrating both the magnitude and the fact of the hardship.

3. | Whether the petitioner can now for the first time raise

the Establishment Clause and Tenth Amendment issues when

it failed to raise or preserve either before the district court or

the court of appeals.

4. Whether, if it is permissible for the petitioner to raise

the constitutional issues before this Court, the Ninth Circuit’s

decision affording respondent the same equal opportunity to

utilize scheduling, shift trade, and transfer opportunities for

religious accommodation as are generally available to other

employees violates either the Establishment Clause or the

Tenth Amendment.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioner, who was a defendant below, is the State of

California. Other individual State officials who were

originally named as defendants were dismissed as parties in

the district court.

Respondent, who was the plaintiff below, is Kwasi Opuku-

Boateng, an individual.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

GUIRETIONS PRESENTED ...................

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS ............ ii

Meee MOST «Cg Cw Sc ee ee ck ee V

STATEMENT OF THECASE................ 1

RN ie ea ec: 1

STATEMENT es gs ee ee, 2

DISPUTED STATEMENT OF FACTS ......... 4

REASONS THE WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED ..... 12

ee 12

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY

APPLIED BOTH THE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS

STANDARD AND APPLICABLE LAW ..... 14

fl. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT ERR IN

DETERMINING THE RESULTS OF THE POLL

SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN

ST URI nN a wh on ke 21

ili

Page

Il. THE RELIGIOUS ACCOMMODATION

REQUIRED BY THE NINTH CIRCUIT IN THIS

CASE DOES NOT VIOLATE THE

ESTABLISHMENT CLAUSE OR THE

TENTH AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED

SRALE CRIN RELWEEO ct est eee nt 26

AO Sass a ee hee ee ee ke 29

APPENDIX A - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. II (Direct

Examination of Maria Lozano) .............. la

APPENDIX B - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. III (Direct

Examination of Eliza Martinez) ............. 22a

APPENDIX C - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. IV (Direct

Examination of Mimi Khan) ............... 27a

APPENDIX D - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. V (Cross-

Examination of Howard Ingham) ............ 34a

APPENDIX E - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. V (Direct

Examination of Martina Haleamau and Cross-Examination

ee Pe oa sf 3 ee e VE ES S5la

APPENDIX F - Reporter’s Transcript Vol. VI (Continued

Cross-Examination of Martina Haleamau)....... 62a

APPENDIX G - Excerpt from Defendant’s State of

ees WOGR-TUU SE gb i de ee eee cess 68a

APPENDIX H - Excerpt from Defendant’s State of

California Brief in Ninth Circuit ............ 69a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Anderson v. City of Bessemer,

ee Ui ee RO 6 se a ka OE We 14,27

Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook,

oF ae LOE 6 ae eke eee 20,29

Beadle v. City of Tampa, 42 F.3d 633 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2600 (1995) ......... 17,18

Beadle v. Hillsborough County Sheriff’s Dept.,

29 F.3d 589 (11th Cir. 1994),

Con. Galea, 1123 S. CA. BOG4 CAIRO) ow kk he 17

Boomsma v. Greyhound Food Management, Inc..,

639 F. Supp. 1448 (W.D. Mich. 1986) ......... 21

Brener v. Diagnostic Center Hosp.,

Oss © oe bes Ce as Se a a ho Sn Cee 17

Brown v. General Motors Corp.,

Gus Fae See et Gs Be 6 ks ERS 13,19

Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578 (1987) ........ 29

EEOC v. Arlington Transit Mix, Inc.,

Pat Fa eee Ce es Be 4 eek eS RS 17

EEOC v. Hacienda Hotel,

Son F208 1 Ge Ce. TF) ook ov ee ee eC ESS 20

EEOC v. Universal Mfg. Corp.,

9 Pig Lf | ne area ar 20

Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc..,

Se a CEP CHP 8k ek eR ES ERGA eR 29

Eversley v. MBank Dallas,

Pa eee Pe GG SOOO Meee Soe een wed 18

Gillette V. United States, 401 U.S. 437 (1971) ...... 29

Nottelson v. Smith Steel Workers D.A.L.U. 19806,

oe Fe Ge Cee Ge. SET on hn Oi SRS 6 Swe UX 29

Pittsburgh Press Club v. United States,

BFe ae Fae CO le BOT bch ot eee ene 24

Protos v. Volkswagen of America, Inc..,

oat Pik Lae ee Os FP 6 oh ae A es 12

Soloman v. Northwestern State Bank,

Sar Pe tae ee es ee o's vce CNRS PRA AES 13

Standard Oil Co. of California v. Moore,

251 F.2d 188 (9th Cir. 1957),

Ot: GANENE, FIG UB. Fis GIO 6 6 vo we 5 26

Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco, Inc.,

Soe &.26 1461 (1A Cir. 1959) 2. wc ewes 12

Tooley v. Martin-Marietta Corp. ,

648 F.2d 1239 (9th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098 (1981) .......... 12,13

vi

Toys "R" Us, Inc. v. Canarsie Kiddie Shop, Inc.,

aoe ©. oapp. LISS (.D. N.Y. 1963)... es 25

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison,

Ce Seas ee TE ee keer ae eA eee ele oR 12,17

United States v. City of Albuquerque,

ae © eee 2S CRO Ga. TGPR) ww eee ve ees 17

United States v. United States Gypsum,

FEE ee SORE few hale Bek ele 14

Wisner v. Truck Central,

7" © ae bot Ae GE. EGO) oe ccc ace 17

Zenith Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. ,

Ss F. See. T3is GED. FE. WIS] 6 ea 26

Zippo Mfg. Co. v. Rogers Imports,

210 F. Supp. G70 G.D. N.Y. 1963) 2. we 25

Statutes and Regulations:

See ae NE aS ea ee MARRS owas 27

Te Rae: ee. Re ee Ew le Ee 17

Ze CPR. 8 1605. 20OK IG) CSSD) ig cc i vc 13

Vii

|

hn aides toe ——EE Oe Ss SS ee ee ee

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Introduction

In its Petition for Writ of Certiorari, the State of California

presents facts in a distorted and incomplete manner. In some

instances, it takes great license in summarizing testimony

while omitting facts unfavorable to its interests.

Respondent generally adopts the factual statements included

in the court of appeals opinion under the heading

"Background." App. at 3-9.! To a large extent, the Ninth

Circuit’s recitation of the facts reiterates the trial court’s

findings of fact, App. at 34-39, with one notable exception --

the claimed outcome of a poll, App. at 38. The court of

appeals determined that poll to be fatally flawed, App. at 20,

and found, to the extent the district court relied on the results

of the poll, it was reversible error. App. at 22.

Nevertheless, petitioner’s statement of facts continues to

improperly include the claimed results of the poll as one of its

linchpin factual claims. Pet. at 8.

Because respondent did not attempt to use involuntary trades

as a method of accommodation, petitioner’s factual

representations concerning the claimed work schedule

preferences are irrelevant. What is relevant is how use of the

scheduling process already in place, coupled with voluntary

trades at this entry level employment position, together with

normal subsequent transfers, if permitted by petitioner, could

"References appearing herein are as follows: "App. at__"

refers to the Appendix to the Petition; "App __ infra at __a"

refers to the Appendix to this Brief; "RT __" refers to the Reporter’s

Transcript on Appeal; "Pl. Ex. _" refers to plaintiff's trial exhibit; "Pet.

at _" refers to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

1

aaa ia ii

have resulted in a reasonable accommodation.

Statement of Facts

On October 18, 1982, Opuku-Boateng was awarded the

position of plant quarantine inspector at the Border Inspection

Station in Yermo, California, to begin working November 2.

That station employed a total of 15 permanent inspectors,’

including 5 supervisors. It operated 7 days a week, 24 hours

a day, and maintained 3 eight-hour shifts: day, evening, and

night. The size of the staff and number of shifts increased

during certain times of the year, such as summer. App. at 4.

oS

As the trial court found, employees were required to work

"an equal number of undesirable weekend, holiday, and night

shifts." Policy required employees be assigned varying

schedules to avoid the possibility of collusion between

inspectors and truckers and to expose inspectors to the myriad

commodities being transported. App. at 5.°

Upon being selected for the permanent position, Opuku-

Boateng terminated his temporary employment at another

location with the Department and moved his family to Yermo.

: "Often temporary inspectors were used to supplement the work force

when needed. App. A infra at 15a-16a; RT 500.

t 3Although petitioner refers to the scheduling arrangement as a

"rotating shift," Pet. at 2, it was not the normal "rotating" shift within

which an employee would be scheduled according to sequential rotation.

The shift assignment depended on the discretion of the scheduler. See App.

A infra at 16a-19a. In fact, the schedule was established so it would be

non-predictive to avoid collusion. RT 864-65. The actual work schedules

at smaller inspection stations, such as Meyers and Topaz, did not follow

a rotational schedule. Pl. Ex. 25. Plant inspectors were allowed to

voluntarily trade or swap shifts among themselves. RT 400-01, 937.

2

A LINN LG ORE ee

On October 28 he visited the station where he reviewed the

work schedule learning he was scheduled to work Saturday,

November 14. He informed the acting supervisor, William

Whitacre, that his religious beliefs precluded him from

working on his Sabbath. App. at 5. Whitacre became angry,

telephoned his supervisor Charles Gray, saying "there is a guy

here who says he cannot work Friday, he cannot work

Saturday, he cannot work Sunday, and we don’t need him

here." RT 111-12.

Whitacre advised Opuku-Boateng unless he agreed to work

Saturday his appointment would not be processed.

Respondent telephoned Gray to inform him of the problem.

App. at 5. Contrary to Whitacre’s assertion, respondent

advised Gray he was not requesting all three days off. He

also said he was willing to take night positions and work every

Sunday or do anything else to work out an accommodation.

RT 124. Respondent also noted that since there were three

shifts on Friday, he could work at least one, and possibly two,

as well as one of Saturday’s shifts. RT 214-16.

Gray told Opuku-Boateng another employee wanted Sundays

off, and respondent indicated he would work Sundays if that

employee would work Saturdays. RT 221-23. Gray said to

agree to that would be demoralizing to others. RT 113-15.

Gray advised respondent the Department could not

accommodate him but then said he could not make that

decision without speaking with his superiors. RT 115-16.

Gray spoke with the program supervisor, Howard Ingham,

about Opuku-Boateng. RT 907. Ingham testified he instructed

Gray not to complete respondent’s appointment but said he

was "going to clear [it] through Personnel to make sure [he

was} on solid ground." RT 975. Ingham then contacted

personnel indicating he did not feel the Department should

| eee ee Semen

continue with respondent’s appointment. RT 976.

On November 1, Ingham wrote Opuku-Boateng saying his

request for accommodation had been reviewed and if he

wanted to work as a plant inspector, he would be expected to

work assigned shifts as scheduled. App. at 7-8. On

November 3 respondent’s attorney filed a complaint on his

behalf with the State Personnel Board claiming violations of

state and federal law. App. at 8. On November 8 Ingham

informed respondent the appointment would not be made since

he could not be "available to work frequently from Friday

sundown through Saturday." Jd.

DISPUTED STATEMENT OF FACTS

Factual exaggerations and inaccuracies pervade petitioner’s

statement of facts:

(1) Petitioner states that "[w]jhile one or two employees

were willing to make occasional trades, none were [sic]

willing to trade with the respondent on a regular or permanent

basis." Pet. at 8; also see p. 12. In overstating the facts,

petitioner refers to RT 444-47, but fails to accurately state that

testimony. Maria Lozano, one of the supervising employees,

testified: "I would be willing to trade with him sometimes but

not all the time." RT 444. However, she also testified she

assumed other employees would be willing to swap with

respondent. /d. at 445. Lozano was concerned about any

permanent requirement imposed by the Department that she

swap, particularly when she had been told that respondent was

requesting three entire days off each week. Id.‘

“Petitioner failed to include the testimony of Delbert Lee, an inspector

at Yermo and one of the State’s witnesses. At the trial the State never

even asked Lee whether he would have been willing to trade. However,

4

| 7

(2) Petitioner contends the evidence showed most employees

preferred not to work Saturdays because they wanted to be

with their families. Petitioner fails to reveal the testimony was

for both Saturday and Sunday. Lozano testified Sunday was

equal to or an even more undesirable work day. Lozano

testified some, but not all, preferred to be off weekends. Jd.

at 442. "But not everyone that works at the Yermo station...

have the same priorities" concerning days off, she said. /d.

at 476. She acknowledged that while attending school, she

did not prefer to have Saturdays off. Jd. Petitioner also cited

William Whitacre. But he testified a successful Saturday swap

depends upon the employee with whom you request a trade.

Id. at 501. The only other testimony cited by petitioner was

that of Ingham who testified only that "employees want[ed] as

many weekends off as possible." Jd. at 1012.

(3) Petitioner stated that "getting another inspector to give

up a weekday shift for a Saturday was very unlikely." Pei. at

11 (emphasis supplied). The only support for this statement

was from Fred Sandridge who testified it was easier to trade

a weekday than a weekend. Jd. at 633. Sandridge testified

employees "like their day shifts on Saturday, and very seldom

-- again, would trade into evening shifts and 4:00 to midnight

and graveyards only if they were going to school." Jd. at 640.

Sandridge testified Sunday was an even heavier workday than

Saturday, the heaviest they had. Jd. at 634. Lozano agreed

that a perscn who does not want to work on Saturday would

have less success swapping with an employee who has to work

on a Tuesday because it would break up his/her days off. Id.

Lee testified he and other employees engaged in shift swapping to obtain

time off for "personal pleasure." RT 887. He said there never was a time

when he was unable to get off from work. Jd. He testified he knew of no

preference among employees at Yermo concerning days to be swapped and

he had no preference.

at 438-39. Elisa Martinez testified it depended upon the

employee with whom one attempted to swap whether it would

be more difficult to be off on a Saturday. RT 501.

(4) Petitioner acknowledged that a likely trade was a

Saturday shift for a Sunday one. But contended the pool of

people with whom one might make such a Saturday-Sunday

trade was generally limited to only two other inspectors. Pet.

at 11. The testimony, however, shows the pool would also

include additional inspectors who were. off duty, thus

increasing the available pool. Jd. at 637. In addition, there

were six- and nine-month seasonal employees as well as "time

worked" employees who were available for assignments when

needed. App. A infra at 15a-16a; RT 500, 509.

Gray told Opuku-Boateng there was an inspector who

wanted to be off on Sunday for religious reasons. RT 221-23.

But apparently no consideration was given to such reciprocal

trades for religious reasons. Martina Haleamau, branch chief

at the Department who testified for the State, had the overall

responsibility for five major programs, including quarantine

enforcement. She testified that such trades would make

accommodations easier. Jd. at 1175.

(5) Petitioner flatly states that "[e]mployees also keep track

of the shifts they work, and would complain if they perceived

an unfair allocation of weekend and weekday shifts." Pet. at

8. But the testimony shows that if some employees did this,

others did not. RT at 501, 578, 886.

Petitioner’s statement is also misleading. Although petitioner

cites the testimony of Ingham to support its position about

scheduling complaints, when Ingham was asked to provide an

idea of some of the complaints he had received about

scheduling, he focused not on Saturday or weekend scheduling

concerns, but rather on graveyard and holiday shifts. He

testified:

Primarily it was the assignment of too many graveyards,

too many -- "I’m getting assigned more graveyards" or

"I’m being assigned more swings” or "I’m not getting

holidays that the others are getting," and it was why we

were almost paranoid to the point of trying to be equal to

all employees.

RT 958. Although petitioner cites Fred Sandridge, he, like

Ingham, confirms the complaints did not relate to weekend

scheduling, but rather graveyard shifts. Jd. at 608. It is clear

from the record that the Yermo employees’ greater concern

was assignment to graveyard shifts and holidays. Of course,

Opuku-Boateng’s offer to work the graveyard and night shifts

and holidays would have provided the Department with an

opportunity to reduce such complaints while accommodating

respondent’s religious needs.

(6) Petitioner contends there were four criteria used in

scheduling, Pet. at 8-9. The State attempts to conjoin a

mishmash of testimony taking snippets of testimony and

discarding others not in its interest. It then announces a four-

part "criteria" which no witness ever said were the four main

criteria used by schedule-makers.*° Sandridge testified about

making out a monthly schedule:

‘This argument seems to stem from petitioner’s trial strategy where

the State attempted to introduce evidence about the impact of

accommodation claiming to use the actual 1982 Yermo schedules.

However, trial examination showed this to be a sham, and the schedule had

been fictionalized to produce what the State finally admitted to the court

was its “goals” rather than actual practice. App. E infra at 5la-57a and

App. F infra at 62a-67a.

The practice every month in making out the schedule

was to be sure that the days off are posted first and

everybody got the special days that they requested such as

birthdays, anniversaries, and any other type of special,

one-period-of-time request, and then next was to fill in

the various shifts that were worked.

Id. at 600. See also Maria Lozano’s testimony confirming that

the scheduling process permitted all employees to request

shifts off prior to the posting of the schedule. App. A infra

at 4a-Sa, 10a, 19a-20a.

Sandridge was asked by the court whether in scheduling

"each person would work the same number of shift number 1

on the same day, so that, if possible, every person would

work the same number of shift number 1 on Thursday as

everybody else and shift number 2 on any other day -- or any

day, Saturday, the same as everybody else so that everybody

ends up working during the month the same number of each

shift and the same number of each shift per day?" Sandridge

responded:

Not quite that extent. What it was, was for a 12-

month period you would try to equalize the number of

shifts worked over a 12-month period, but the days didn’t

intervene in it at all. We didn’t try to consider whether

it was a Saturday or Sunday, we just considered the total

number of each shift.

Id. at 603-04. Sandridge also stated the Department only

attempted to equalize the number of shifts posted by the

schedule-maker. He stated that "because of the number of

changes as happen immediately when you post [the schedule]

. . . you only count the assigned shifts. You do not count the

shifts that they trade into." Jd. at 609.

:

3

Martina Haleamau, cited by petitioner about the scheduling

criteria, Pet. at 8, testified only that it was necessary

to make sure that [the schedule] is equalized and they’re

meeting the criteria, 40 hours a week, that employees are

adequately -- the days, swings, and graveyard shifts are

covered and that no one employee is given favoritism

with regard to all days or all swings or all graveyards,

and to make sure that the employees all had equal time

off, whether it was during the workweek or on the

weekends.

Id. at 1105-06 (emphasis supplied). Haleamau also testified

that "[o]ne of the criteria is to try to give them a weekend off

a month. We try also to give them more than two days off if

we can because it helps them." Jd. at 1139-40 (emphasis

supplied). The record proves the Department did not follow

any pattern for the scheduling of employees, and its claim to

a four-part criteria is pure fiction. See App. A infra at 5a-6a,

17a-21a; App. B infra at 22a-26a; App. D infra at 45a-50a;

App. F infra at 62a-67a. In fact, Ingham admitted the so-

called rotation requirements were not official Department

policy, but rather his concept of "fairness" and an attempt to

"eliminate complaints." App. D at 36a.

(7) Petitioner states "[s]cheduling an inspector, like

respondent, to have a fixed twenty-four hour period off every

week at such a small station would be virtually impossible."

Pet. at 10-11. Nothing cited by the petitioner, however,

supports the statement that it would be "virtually impossible"

to provide an accommodation at a smaller station, even on a

temporary basis.

William Whitacre testified there is less flexibility for

providing an accommodation at a smaller station. But

i

Sandridge’s, RT 641-42, and Haleamau’s, RT 1017-18,

testimonies have nothing to do with the ability to

accommodate at small stations. In fact, Renee Finney, an

Adventist like respondent, was accommodated for three

months in the summer of 1980 at Topaz, a small station, and

in 1982 at Meyers, another small station, without once being

scheduled or required to work during her Sabbath. RT 695-

96, 702-04. In order to accomplish this, Finney worked more

Sundays than other employees. Jd. at 705. This arrangement

was logical since there was another employee who wanted to

attend church on Sunday. /d. All this was accomplished

through scheduling, and Finney was never even required to

trade with another employee. Id.°

(8) Petitioner states that "inspectors often could not find

others with whom to trade, even when they had compelling

reasons for the swap like a family emergency." Pet. at 12.

For example, petitioner cites Delbert Lee. However, Lee

testified there were never occasions when he was unable to

swap. Jd. at 887. Lozano recalled only one event in 1979

when she was unable to swap. Jd. at 434-35. Martinez

testified there were instances when she tried to swap shifts but

was unsuccessful. Jd. at 499. However, she testified that

from time-to-time she had requested accommodation to attend

church board meetings, stating: "If I knew ahead of time I

would ask to work certain shifts. If I didn’t know and it was

an emergency meeting, if I could trade, I did; if I couldn’t, I

couldn’t go to the meeting." Jd. at 493. But, of course, her

inability to trade may just have been due to the shortness of

the notice.

°Ingham admitted that because Finney was temporary, and not

permanent, was irrelevant since scheduling requirements for both classes

of employees are the same. App. D at 34a-35a.

10

+ iain

i

(9) Petitioner states that efforts were made to temporarily

accommodate needs of inspectors for time off for things like

college courses or church meetings but were only for

temporary periods. Pet. at 12. Although college courses

lasted only for a semester, some inspectors continued semester

after semester. For example, Deedee Day pursued a degree

at Cal State in San Bernardino.’ App. A at 5a, 7a-8a. And

for 10 years a lay minister was accommodated to attend

Sunday church in Truckee. See App. H infra at 69a.* Also,

Adventist Renee Finney was accommodated for three

successive summers: 1980, 1981, and 1982, for a total of 10

months with only one occasion where she agreed to work her

Sabbath during the med-fly crisis. RT 694-708.°

7Lozano testified she made special arrangements for employees who

wanted to be off for school and other reasons. RT 350-51; App. A infra

at 4a-5a, 7a-9a. She testified there were three criteria she considered when

scheduling an employee’s needs: (1) she checked to see if she could

provide the requested time off; (2) if that did not work, she attempted to

give the employee a shift that would provide a sufficient window necessary

to meet the employee’s needs; and (3) if that failed, she attempted to

provide the employee with a shift that enhanced his or her ability to trade.

Such arrangements have been used on a long term basis to permit

employees to attend college. RT 377-78, 380-82. See also App. A infra at

Sa.

Ingham acknowledged the ten year accommodation of the lay minister

in Truckee had been accomplished through voluntary trades, but he was

opposed to allowing respondent to be accommodated that way. Ingham

speculated a problem might arise at Yermo even though no one else had

requested off sundown Friday to sundown Saturday. App. D infra at 36a-

44a. Ingham testified his refusal to accommodate respondent came from

administration who said “thou shalt not . . . accommodate . . . for any

reason.” Jd. at 38a.

Ingham admitted if he had known, he would have refused the

seasonal employment and religious accommodation of Finney. App. D

infra at 34a-35a.

11

REASONS THE PETITION SHOULD BE DENIED

INTRODUCTION

This is a straightforward Title VII case. It was decided on

the application of Title VII’s religious accommodation

provisions, as interpreted by this Court in 7rans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63 (1977). Although the

trial court found in favor of the petitioner, the court of appeals

concluded the trial court’s findings of undue hardship were

Clearly erroneous. Respondent further contends when an

employer claims it is unable to offer any reasonable

accommodation without undue hardship, it must thereafter

prove by competent evidence such an accommodation is not

possible. Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco, Inc., 892 F.2d 1481, 1489

(10th Cir. 1989). And in so doing, it must demonstrate both

the magnitude of, as well as the fact of, the hardship. Protos

v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., 797 F.2d 129, 134 (3d Cir.

1986); Tooley v. Martin-Marietta Corp. , 648 F.2d 1239 (9th

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098 (1981). This the trial

court failed to do.

Respondent sought accommodation through existing

procedures used at Yermo by other employees with regard to

scheduling, voluntary trades, and subsequent transfers. The

evidence proved the State’s policy requiring unpredictability

in alteration of work shifts at border stations would not be

compromised by such an accommodation. After a full review

of the record, the court of appeals agreed.’°

There is ample evidence provided by Yermo supervisors that

respondent could have been scheduled off during his Sabbath without

violating any of the State’s legitimate concerns. RT 583; RT 1096. In

fact, all employees within each border station did not rotate every month.

App. D infra at 45a, 47a-49a; RT 1088-89.

12

3

H

i

2

j

As noted by the Ninth Circuit, the State conceded it had an

obligation to investigate whether voluntary shift trading was

feasible. The court of appeals concluded the district court,

relying on the results of a flawed poll of the Yermo

employees, had erroneously concluded voluntary shift trades

were not feasibie.!! The court of appeals decided the district

court erred in relying on those results and further determined

the State had failed to offer any probative evidence that would

demonstrate a system of voluntary shift trades was infeasible.

App. A at 20a-21a.”

The Ninth Circuit also concluded the poll results evidence

was inadmissible as hearsay and further was not reliable. In

fact, the district court itself, though subsequently relying on

the results of the poll, properly determined it could not

consider testimony about the poll results. App. A infra at 21a.

Notwithstanding this determination, the trial court then relied

expressly on the poll’s results when determining whether

voluntary shift trades were feasible. App. A at 63a. Thus, in

order to prevail, petitioner must convince this Court to

overturn the appellate court’s evidentiary holding. A review

\Instead of conducting a poll, under the EEOC “Guidelines on

Religious Discrimination,” 29 C.F.R. § 1605.2(d)(1)(@) (1980), the

employer has the duty "to facilitate the securing of voluntary substitutes.”

The trial court considered such an obligation purely esoteric. RT 463-64.

\2The trial court’s conclusion an accommodation through voluntary

trades inferentially would have resulted in an undue hardship was premised

upon the its assumption or speculation that at some time in the future

respondent would have been unable to secure a voluntary trade. But

"[f]indings cannot be based on speculation and conjecture." Soloman v.

Northwestern State Bank, 327 F.2d 720, 273 (8th Cir. 1984); see also

Brown v. General Motors Corp., 601 F.2d 956, 961 (8th Cir. 1979);

Tooley v. Martin-Marietta Corp., 648 F.2d 1239, 1243 (9th Cir. 1981),

cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098 (1981).

13

of the full record discloses there was no misapplication of the

clearly erroneous standard in the court of appeals’ reversal of

the trial court’s finding of undue hardship.

This case is no different from the dozens of other fact-

sensitive religious accommodation cases decided in the lower

courts since Hardison. It has little application beyond the

peculiar fact situation present in this case. As wiil be shown,

the court of appeals’ decision does not violate the teachings of

Hardison and is in accord with other lower court decisions;

nor does it violate the Establishment Clause or the Tenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution.

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS PROPERLY APPLIED

BOTH THE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS STANDARD

AND APPLICABLE LAW.

This Court in Anderson v. City of Bessemer, 470 U.S. 564,

573 (1985), recognized that the meaning of the phrase "clearly

erroneous" is not immediately apparent. Citing United States

v. United States Gypsum, 333 U.S. 364 (1948), the Court

found that in applying that test one of the foremost principles

is that "[{a] finding is ‘clearly erroneous’ when although there

is evidence to support it, the reviewing court on the entire

evidence is left with the definite and firm conviction that a

mistake has been committed." Jd. That is exactly what the

court of appeals did here in concijuding the trial court’s

holding on the "undue hardship“ issue was clearly erroneous.

App. at 16, 18-21, 24, 27, 29-30.

In struggling to demonstrate that the court of appeals

exceeded its role, petitioner incorrectly contends the Ninth

Circuit reweighed the evidence in a de novo fashion providing

as "the most glaring example of this reweighing"” the facts

relating to the accommodation of a lay minister in Truckee.

14

rl

ee

Petitioner states: "The district court found that the Truckee

episode was evidence that accommodation was likely to cause

morale problems and further disruptive requests for

accommodation." Pet. at 26. Petitioner argues that the court

of appeals had no right to read the evidence as indicating that

religious accommodation would be successful. Jd.

The court of appeals did not determine the State’s witness’

testimony was not credible either as to the accommodation

having been made for 10 years or that the accommodation had

come to an end once several other employees filed a grievance

also seeking Sundays off for religious reasons. The only point

the Ninth Circuit made with regard to the Truckee

accommodation appears in a footnote under the heading

"Temporary Accommodation and Transfer." The opinion

States:

Finally, Opuku-Boateng proposed a temporary or trial

| accommodation that would have allowed the Department

| to experiment with the proposed accommodation and

permitted both parties to investigate the possibility that

| Opuku-Boateng could be employed in another job in the

Department or some other State agency, should the

| accommodation prove infeasible in practice. The district

| court rejected this suggestion also. We disagree. At the

very least, the State should have either temporarily

scheduled Opuku-Boateng not to work on the Sabbath or

sought to obtain voluntary shift trades for him on a short-

or long-term basis.

App. at 29." The court then amplifies its conclusion in

The State’s own “expert,” Martina Haleamau, confirmed <n

accommodation was feasible. She testified it was possible to accommodate

respondent "where you didn’t have many people wanting to be

15

footnote 26, stating:

Lozano testified that she had used three techniques to

accommodate requests for time off. She (1) attempted to

schedule the employee to provide the requested day off,

(2) provided the employee with shifts that would afford

him sufficient time to attend to his personal business, or

(3) schedule the employee to work a desirable shift to

enhance his ability to trade with other employees. RT

377-4 to-20. The record indicates quite clearly that

temporary accommodations were possible, at least for

shifts that were scheduled at a particular time. Lozano,

for example, testified that she accommodated herself and

two other inspectors semester-long college courses. RT

377-2 to-25. The record also shows that a Protestant

minister who needed Sunday mornings off had been

accommodated for a period of 10 years."*

App. 29-30 n.26 (emphasis supplied). Clearly this comment

with regard to the Truckee accommodation cannot be

concluded to be a de novo reweighing of the evidence.

Petitioner contends the Ninth Circuit ignored the district

court’s factual finding that accommodating Opuku-Boateng

would burden other coworkers who would have to provide

cover and be available for emergency assignments. Pet. at

Sabbathkeepers at the same station and if it was a large station.” RT 1212.

Petitioner quibbles with the Ninth Circuit’s suggestion that the

accommodation was for a period of 10 years. It was the State of

California, however, in its court of appeals brief that made this claim. See

App. H infra at 69a. But even if the accommodation lasted only for two

or three years, as now suggested by petitioner, it in no way diminishes the

fact a temporary accommodation was feasible.

16

‘

26. This trial court finding, App. at 62, was dealt with in the

court’s mandatory scheduling portion of its opinion rather than

under the voluntary shift trade portion. The district court, of

course, did not find that a voluntary trade would result in a

discriminatory impact on coworkers.

The court of appeals, App. at 16-17, concluded the district

court had too narrowly read Hardison so as to proscribe all

differences in treatment, noting that in Hardison the proposed

accommodation would have conflicted with the contractually-

established seniority system, thus violating the employee’s

seniority rights under the collective bargaining agreement but

denying him shift preferences. 432 U.S. at 80. The court of

appeals noted that in contrast to Hardison, in this case the

scheduling of shifts was not governed by any collective

bargaining agreement, and the proposed accommodation would

not have deprived any employee of any contractually-

established seniority rights or privileges or indeed any

contractually-established rights or privileges. App. at 17.'5

Petitioner argues, however, that accommodating a

Sabbatarian where the employer, having a neutral rotating

System, Operates a workplace 24 hours a day need not grant

special shifts to a Sabbath worshiper. Petitioner cites several

lower court decisions including Beadle v. City of Ti ampa, 42

F.3d 633, 635-37 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2600

(1995); Beadle v. Hillsborough County Sheriff's Dept., 29

F.3d 589, 592 (11th Cir. 1994), cert. denied, 115 S. Ct. 2001

(1995); Wisner v. Truck Central, 784 F.2d 1571, 1572-74

(11th Cir. 1986); Brener v. Diagnostic Center Hosp., 671

F.2d 141, 144-47 (Sth Cir. 1982); United States v. City of

‘Sin Hardison, 432 U.S. at 81-82, this Court noted seniority systems

are afforded special treatment under 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(h). See EEOC

v. Arlington Transit Mix, Inc., 957 F.2d 219, 222 (6th Cir. 1991).

17

Albuquerque, 545 F.2d 110, 113-15 (10th Cir. 1976), cert.

denied, 433 U.S. 909 (1977). Pet. at 4-5. Those cases,

however, are clearly distinguishable from the facts here.'°

In each of those cases (other than Beadle v. City of Tampa),

voluntary trades were permitted, but the employer was asked

_ by an employee to deny the shift and job preference of other

employees solely to accommodate that employee’s religious

needs. In each case there was a rotating shift that arguably

created a vested claim on the part of other employees for

specific days off, and it was argued such an arrangement is

similar in effect to the collective bargaining agreement in

Hardison which contractually provides for scheduling on the

basis of seniority. In Beadle v. City of Tampa, 42 F.3d 633

(11th Cir. 1995), no shift trades were permitted.

Under the border inspectors’ arrangement, however, each

employee at Yermo had an equal right to request that the

scheduler take into consideration special needs they had for

their days off -- whether it be for schooling, for little league,

or for religious reasons. The scheduling procedure followed

in Yermo clearly created no vested claim to specific days off.

See App. A infra at 4a-Sa, 10a, 19a-20a.

Petitioner cites not one case that suggests when voluntary

trades are generally permitted, shift trades would not be

required as part of an accommodation arrangement. As the

court of appeals noted, the district court read Hardison too

narrowly, finding a discriminatory preference if other

16] ikewise, Eversley v. MBank Dallas, 843 F.2d 172 (Sth Cir. 1988),

cited by petitioner at page 19, is also distinguishable. There the court held

“that forcing other employees, over their expressed refusal, to switch from

the day shift to the night shift would be unreasonable and an undue

hardship." Jd. at 176.

18

Pe er

employees work more Friday nights and § turday shifts.

Here the court of appeals noted that "unlike in Hardison,

there is no evidence that the proposed shift-scheduling

arrangement would, in the end, have granted Opuku-Boateng

a privilege or imposed more than a de minimis burden on

other employees." App. at 18. In contrast, here, as the

district court concluded, all employees at the Yermo station

were required to work "an equal number of undesirable

weekend, holiday, and night shifts." App. at 18-19.

After reviewing the full trial record, the court of appeals

found that "[nJo evidence was offered that the shift

arrangements could not have been arranged in a manner that

would have insured that Opuku-Boateng and other employees

all receive an equal number of undesirable shifts. Therefore,

the State failed to carry its burden of demonstrating that

Opuku-Boateng’s practice of observing the Sabbath could not

have been accommodated through scheduling arrangements

without affording him preferential treatment." Jd. at 19.

Finally, the court of appeals noted that respondent had

himself proposed to merely use the voluntary shift trades.

Because this arrangement was voluntary and a practice

generally employed by the Yermo employees, there would

have been no preferential treatment discriminating against

coworkers. App. at 20.

The court of appeals found its conclusion to be in accord

with other appellate court decisions, such as Brown v. General

Motors Corp., 601 F.2d 956 (8th Cir. 1979). That court

Stated that

finding that a proposed accommodation would entail some

form of discrimination does not end the enquiry. The

19

Court in Hardison held that differential treatment

resulting from accommodation runs afoul of section

2000e-2(a)(1) if it: (1) would compromise other

employees’ contractual seniority rights as secured by a

collective bargaining agreement; or (2) would confer a

privilege, the cost of which was more than de minimis,

solely on the basis of the recipient’s religious beliefs.

432 U.S. at 81-85, 97 S. Ct. 2264. Neither of these

situations is present in this case.

Id. at 962.

Permitting Opuku-Boateng, like other employees, to request

days off prior to scheduling and in accordance with long-

established practice at Yermo to trade with other employees

once the schedule is posted would not constitute a preference

solely on the basis of respondent’s religious beliefs. See

Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60, 71 (1986);

EEOC v. Hacienda Hotel, 881 F.2d 1504, 1513 n.7 (9th Cir.

1989); EEOC v. Universal Mfg. Corp., 914 F.2d 71, 73 n.3

and 74 n.4 (Sth Cir. 1990).

The trial court made two findings with regard to voluntary

trades: (1) the results of a poll indicated that none of the

employees was willing to accommodate Opuku-Boateng on a

permanent basis; and (2) even if employees were willing to

trade with Opuku-Boateng on a permanent basis, such would

violate the Department’s policy of avoiding consistent

scheduling patterns. App. at 63-64.

The Ninth Circuit concluded the poll was flawed, and

testimony regarding the results of the poll constituted

inadmissible hearsay which could not be considered by the

district court. Thus, the record does not support the

conclusion that Yermo station employees were unwilling to

20

make a reasonable accommodation. After reviewing the

evidence, the court of appeals determined that "[t]he State

failed to conduct the type of inquiry into the feasibility of

trading shifts that would have been necessary to answer that

question one way or the other, thus to enable it to Carry its

burden." App. at 24.”

“ ON AM PG Sn tT i Ni AN) Re te A ala

The court of appeals found that "[a]lthough the Department

had a legitimate interest in varying work schedules to

discourage bribery and dishonesty, there is no probative

evidence that suggests that accommodating Opuku-Boateng’s

religious beliefs would have resulted in a schedule that was so

; predictable . . . that it would have jeopardized the

Department’s security interests." App. at 26. The record is

Clear on this point. See RT 583.

Ii. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT ERR

IN DETERMINING THE RESULTS OF THE

POLL SHOULD NOT HAVE BEEN RELIED UPON.

Petitioner argues that the Ninth Circuit reevaluated the

reliability of witnesses’ testimony. Pet. at 27. Petitioner

argues that surveys and polls can be admitted as evidence

under either: (1) the hearsay exception for state of mind: (2)

the general hearsay exception for otherwise trustworthy

evidence, or (3) as the basis for an expert opinion. Pet. at 28

n.6.

At the trial the State attempted to introduce evidence

conceming a poll it took. The record demonstrates the

following with respect to that poll:

\”See a similar holding in Boomsma v. Greyhound Food Management,

Inc., 639 F. Supp. 1448, 1455 (W.D. Mich. 1986).

21

(1) Ingham instructed someone at Yermo to take a verbal

poll of employees to ascertain how many would be willing to

trade shifts. RT 987.

(2) The closest Ingham could come to identifying when the

poll was taken was within a month or so after he spoke with

Herb Cohen, the Department’s in-house counsel, about

Opuku-Boateng’s need to be off. RT 988-89. In fact, the

court asked Ingham when the poll was taken, but Ingham

could not remember. RT 1000-01. When Ingham was asked

whether the poll was taken before or after a final decision was

made on Opuku-Boateng’s employment, Ingham responded, "I

can’t recall." RT 10005-06. Further probing, counsel asked

Ingham: "Now do you have a recollection when that decision

was made terminating the process to hire . . . whether the poll

had been taken or not at that point?" Ingham replied: "I do

not recall." RT 10009.

(3) In fact, Ingham could not even remember whether it was

he or some member of his staff who may have requested the

poll be taken. RT 1037-38. Ingham’s deposition was read to

him at the trial. It disclosed Ingham had asked Gray to take

a poll. The deposition revealed Ingham received the results

of the poll a week after the poll was requested. He further

testified he did not know whether the employees were polled

or what questions were asked. RT 1039-45. Gray testified he

had no knowledge of what steps were taken by the Department

concerning Opuku-Boateng. RT 907.

(4) Whitacre, Yermo’s acting supervisor, testified that his

first day back to work following vacation was November 6,

and he did not remember hearing about Opuku-Boateng any

time in October. RT 528. Whitacre recalled a poll being

taken but did not remember how many were polled. He

testified: "Obviously not everybody could have been

22

contacted." RT 537. Whitacre’s deposition revealed he did

not recall actually taking the poll. RT 537-38. At the trial

Whitacre testified he believed there was an informal poll taken

to determine whether anyone would be willing to trade shifts

on a permanent basis. RT 536.

(5) Another Yermo employee, Maria Lozano, recalled that

prior to October 28, when Opuku-Boateng first came to

Yermo, Sandridge and supervisors Whitacre and Sholquist

informed her a potential employee would not be able to work

Fridays, Saturdays, and Sundays because he was a Seventh-

day Adventist. RT 344, 346-48, 443. Sandridge told Lozano

respondent's religion prevented him from working Fridays,

Saturdays, and Sundays. Lozano spoke with other employees

at Yermo. App. A infra at 1a-2a. Lozano said Whitacre asked

her if she would be willing to trade with respondent so he

could be off for religious reasons. Lozano informed Whitacre

she would be willing to trade with Opuku-Boateng some of the

time, but not always. RT 444-45. She also testified she

believed others would be willing to swap with Opuku-Boateng.

When asked about the possibility of trading, however, she had

understood Opuku-Boateng required a 3-day weekend off

which she considered unfair. RT 445-46, 457-58.

(6) Ingham never considered polling employees at the

Meyers Inspection Station where the Department had already

accommodated an employee, Renee Finney, as a seasonal

employee. Counsel suggested if Ingham had relocated Opuku-

Boateng to a station such as Meyers where it might have been

easier to accommodate him, it would be important to know

how those employees felt about trading. Ingham responded:

"In retrospect, I agree with you." App. D infra at 50a.

The trial court, when considering the polling testimony,

ruled:

23

I’m admitting the evidence that a poll -- the fact that a

poll was taken itself can be hearsay, but it is received of

course not for the truth of what was developed. . . . I’m

going to permit him to testify to what results were

reported to him with the understanding that they are not

being accepted by the Court as proof of the truth of the

outcome of the poll, and the Court has to recognize that

depending upon how the question is asked, the answer

may be different.

RT 1003-04 (emphasis supplied). Thus, the court of appeals

correctly held it improper for the trial court to find that "the

informal poll taken by defendants indicated that none of the

employees were [sic] willing to accommodate plaintiff on a

permanent basis, . . . [and] it would have been only a matter

of time before plaintiff would have been unable to find a

replacement to work his designated shift." App. at 63.

Undoubtedly, this error directly affected the outcome of this

case.

Although petitioner suggests in spite of the trial court’s

correct ruling that poll results testimony could noi be

considered, it still contends the court of appeals was wrong in

its evidentiary conclusion on this question. But none of the

exceptions to the hearsay rule relied upon by petitioner

permits a consideration of this poll’s results for its truth.

Pittsburgh Press Club v. United States, 579 F.2d 751 (3d Cir.

1978), relied upon by petitioner, suggests that any poll

admitted into evidence must not be unfairly worded, id. at

758, and must be objective, scientifically designed, and

impartial. Jd. at 759. The court in Pittsburgh Press Club

also suggests that poll interviewers must have no interest in

the litigation. Jd. at 758.

Many courts, in determining whether to admit surveys and

24

Pr Seer tn

polls, have looked to Judge Feinberg’s scholarly and well-

reasoned opinion in Zippo Mfg. Co. v. Rogers Imports, 216 F.

i Supp. 670, 682 (S.D. N.Y. 1963). He states that whether or

not the survey may be accepted as trustworthy depends on

whether the "questions are unfairly worded to suggest answers

favorable to the party sponsoring the survey." He also states

that "the same result would follow if the interviewers asked

fair questions in a leading manner."

In Toys "R" Us, Inc. v. Canarsie Kiddie Shop, Inc., 559 F.

; Supp. 1189, 1205 (E.D. N.Y. 1983), the court applied a strict

standard in evaiuating the trustworthiness of surveys, Stating:

The trustworthiness of surveys depends upon

foundation evidence that (1) the "universe" was properly

defined, (2) a representative sample of that universe was

selected, (3) the questions to be asked of interviewees

were framed in a clear, precise and non-leading manner,

(4) sound interview procedures were followed by

competent interviewers who had no knowledge of the

litigation or the purpose for which the survey was

conducted, (5) the data gathered was accurately reported,

(6) the data was analyzed in accordance with accepted

Statistical principles, and (7) objectivity of the entire

: process was assured. Failure to satisfy one or more of

these criteria may lead to the exclusion of the survey.

eno He ea aR SUC ROAA DAM NL oe8Es

| Id. at 774 (emphasis supplied). Clearly, the claimed poll

: ultimately relied upon by the trial court here failed at least

points 3, 4, and 7, and perhaps 5. Nontheless, the court made

no finding as to the trustworthiness of the poll.

Petitioner suggests that in spite of the court’s ruling

excluding the poll results testimony, nevertheless it could be

considered because it was testified to by an expert. It was not

25

admissible through Ingham’s testimony because his testimony

was dominated by his reliance on information excluded for

reasons that bear on the reliability of the poll’s results. Zenith

Radio Corp. v. Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co., 505 F. Supp.

1313, 1330 (E.D. Pa. 1981). Also, as the court stated in

Standard Oil Co. of California v. Moore, 251 F.2d 188 (9th

Cir. 1957), cert. denied, 356 U.S. 975 (1958), "it is for the

trial court to determine, in the exercise of its discretion,

whether the expert’s sources of information are sufficiently

reliable." Clearly here the court made no such finding and

specifically held that the results of the poll could not be

considered. For the above reasons, the court of appeals’

pivotal ruling concerning the trial court’s consideration of the

poll results is not subject to challenge.

Il. THE RELIGIOUS ACCOMMODATION

REQUIRED BY THE NINTH CIRCUIT IN THIS CASE

DOES NOT VIOLATE THE ESTABLISHMENT

CLAUSE OR THE TENTH AMENDMENT TO THE

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

Petitioner raises both the Establishment Clause and Tenth

Amendment defenses for the first time before this Court. Such

defenses were not raised at the trial nor in the court of appeals

even though the relief granted by the court of appeals was

precisely the relief requested in the trial court by respondent.

Furthermore, petitioner cites no authority for its Tenth

Amendment argument. Petitioner’s arguments for both of its

constitutional assertions are nearly identical.

As the Ninth Circuit observed, coworkers would not be

burdened by available accommodations -- principally voluntary

trades. Thus, using the accommodation process for Opuku-

26

CC

Boateng would not threaten the workplace morale.'* This

workplace morale argument is disingenuous in light of

petitioner’s statement in its Post-Trial Brief: "At no time has

defendant suggested that the ‘morale’ of the Yermo station

would inevitably suffer if plaintiff were to be accommodated."

App. G infra at 68a. Petitioner’s bold assertion that

accommodating respondent would undermine the State’s policy

of having unpredictable shifts to avoid collusion is without

merit. All that was required under the policy was there be

some change from time-to-time so that truckers did not

become too acquainted with the inspectors. RT 583, 1096.

Equally without merit is petitioner’s claim that

accommodating respondent would require the State to change

the way it schedules shifts. The court of appeals only

Suggested that in the Department’s initial "investigation of the

| feasibility of an accommodation" the Department could have,

for example, first determined the total number of Sabbath

shifts Opuku-Boateng would be assigned over the

forthcoming year as well as the projected schedules for

that period of the other employees. Then by asking the

individuals polled how many specific shifts they would be

willing to trade . . ., the State could have determined

whether the other employees . . . would collectively have

been willing to make the necessary accommodation.

App. at 24 n.22.

'’Tre Civil Rights Act was drafted to protect the discrete and

sometimes unpopular rights of individuals against the potentially oppressive

mood of the majority. 42 U.S.C. § 2000e(j) is one example of that

important purpose. See Anderson v. General Dynamics Convair Aerospace

Div., 589 F.2d 397, 400-01 (9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 442 U.S. 921

(1979).

27

Finally, petitioner’s argument that the Ninth Circuit requires

"that respondent be transferred to some other job in State

service if his temporary accommodation . . . fails" is

incorrect. Pet. at 23. Also incorrect is petitioner’s assertion

that a transfer would violate State Civil Service requirements.

Id. at 23-24. What the Ninth Circuit suggested was that a

temporary accommodation "would have . . . permitted both

parties to investigate the possibility" of other state

employment. App. at 29-30.

Petitioner overstates the court of appeals’ holding in its

attempt to make that court’s decision appear unconstitutional.

The court of appeals did not order petitioner to transfer

respondent to some other job in state service contrary to the

State civil service requirements, as suggested by petitioner.

Pet. at 23-24.

The plant quarantine inspector position was an entry level

position, and it is not unusual for employees in this

classification to transfer to other Department positions. App.

C infra at 32a. There is uncontradicted testimony from one of

the State’s witnesses that once Opuku-Boateng had completed

probation, he could have transferred to a position such as an

agricultural biologist or a grain and commodity inspector

without taking an examination under the civil service rules

because the transfer would be to a position in a class within

10% of his salary and responsibility level. Jd. at 31a-32a. In

fact, "[t}here are a variety of things that you can do for a

permanent employee" to accommodate his/her religious

requirements to be off work certain days. Jd. at 27a-32a.

What the Ninth Circuit’s decision requires in this case is

that respondent be provided the same opportunities for

accommodation as are generally available to al! other

employees employed as plant quarantine inspectors for the

28

State of California. They are: to give equal consideration to

his request for days off prior to scheduling, to take into

consideration his religious needs in the scheduling process so

as to enhance his ability to trade with other employees, to

permit him to engage in voluntary trades with other

employees, and to provide the same consideration for a

transfer to another position as is available to all employees

under the civil service rules. See Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v.

Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60, 71 (1986). Such accommodation

requirements do not advance religion. See Estate of Thornton

v. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703, 712 (1985) (O’Connor, J.,

concurring); Edwards v. Aguillard, 482 U.S. 578, 616-18

(1987) (Scalia, J., dissenting); Gillette V. United States, 401

U.S. 437, 454 (1971); Nottelson v. Smith Steel Workers

D.A.L.U. 19806, 646 F.2d 445, 455 (7th Cir. 1981).

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the State of California’s

Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Dated: April 14, 1997

Respecifully submitted,

LEE BOOTHBY

Counsel of Record

Boothby & Yingst

4545 42nd St., NW, Suite 201

Washington, DC 20016

(202) 363-1773

Counsel for Respondent

29

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME II OF VI pp. 373-399

Maria Lozano

Direct Examination by Mr. Boothby

[p. 373]

Q

I don’t remember exactly where we left off, but I think

we were talking yesterday about a conversation, for

instance, that you had with Mr. Sandridge. Did you also

talk to other employees about what Mr. Sandridge had

told you about Mr. Boateng coming and that he was --

because of his religious concerns was not able to work

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday? Did you talk to other

employees about that?

Yes, sir.

Was that conversation before Mr. Boateng came to the

station?

Yes, sir.

All right. At any point in time that You can recall, did

anyone in Management or in supervision with the

department say anything to you concerning the fact that

there might be a duty to accommodate the religious needs

of employees?

Um, Mr. Whitacre asked me if I would be willing to

trade Mr. Boateng.

Okay. Did he tell you that there was some federal or

State requirement to look at that as a possibility?

No, sir.

2a

[p. 374]

Q_ And as I understand it, you were under the impression at

the time that we were talking about three days; is that

true?

A Uh, yes, sir.

Q_Let’s talk a little bit about trades. Did you ever -- were

you ever involved in trading with other employees to

either accommodate your own needs to be off or to

accommodate another employees needs to be off?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q_ And can you give me illustration of the kind of events or

concerns or interests that would cause you for your

purposes, to trade?

A Unm, I have nephews who play baseball, so sometimes if

I’m working a swing shift I'll ask someone who’s

working a day shift or 10:00 to 6:00 to trade so I can

attend their game.

Q. Allright. Any other reasons?.

A Um, I’ve traded sometimes so I can attend 2 medical

appointment that I wasn’t able to give my supervisor pre

-- Or my station manager pre-advance warning, because

normally I try and schedule my medical appointments on

my days off; but sometimes I can’t, so if it turns out that

I can’t, then I -- if it’s in the morning I'll try and trade

for a swing shift so I can go in the morning and work at

night.

[p. 375]

Q

How do you go about doing that? Let’s say that you

want to be off in order to go attend a baseball game --

your nephew, is it?

Yes, sir.

How do you go about doing that? Do you look at the

schedule and find out somebody that might not be

working at that time?

No, sir, I look at the schedule to see who’s working and,

um, then I'll just ask them. I’ll say whoever it is, I’ll say

“could you tirade me because I’d like to go to my

nephew’s baseball game, and if you ever need a trade

then later Ill trade you if I can.”

How long -- how often would this occur that you would

-- not just for a baseball game, but trade for any

purposes, let’s say, within the course of a month?

Maybe once, maybe never.

All right. Did you ever accommodate some other

employees who wanted to be off?

Yes sir.

And would you normally agree to a trade if another

employee asked you if it did not conflict, with something

that you had planned?

Yes, sir.

Did you normally find other employees to accommodate

your needs when they didn’t have something [p. 376]

that they were committed to?

Yes, sir.

4a

Q Did you find that there was generally a spirit amongst the

employees at Yermo to accommodate one another’s

scheduling’ needs and to trade as best they could?

A Sometimes.

Q_ Were there certain people that were more accommodating

than others?

A Yes.

Q_ All right. Would you tend to go to the people that were

more accommodating?

A Yes, sir.

Q If Mr. Boateng had been, employed there, would you

have treated him the same as any other employee in

considering his needs for trade?

A Yes, sir.

Q. All right. Nov are you aware of any inspectors at the

Yermo station that have gone to school while being

employed there?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q_ And how would that be -- now you’ve done scheduling?

A Yes, sir.

Q

All right. Have you scheduled people to be [p. 377] off

- for school purposes?

A Um, no, not normally.

Have you done it at all?

A Um, what you do, I’ve given them time off for school

but, you know, as the schedule -- like they have to have

-- if we’re talking about rank and file, they have to have

~

Sa

two days off in a seven-day work week. So if it works

out -- if the schedule works out that there’s people,

there’s plenty of people, then I'll try and give them a day

off that has their school; but if not, I’ll try to give them

a shift where they can go or possibly there’s enough

people where they can trade someone.

So you look at really three factors. You look at giving

them a day off, and if that doesn’t work out, giving them

a shift that would give them that window of time that’s

necessary for the school, or the third possibility is giving

them a shift that perhaps enhances their ability. to trade?

That’s correct, sir.

Who have you done that for?

Um, I’ve done that for Deedee Day, I’ve done that for

myself because I go to school, I’ve done that for Sonia

Minios. That’s all who I can think of right now, sir.

[p. 378]

Q

OF 0 YP

All right. You indicated that you’ve done it for yourself,

that you have worked out an arrangement so you could

go to school; is that true?

Yes, sir.

What are we talking about, college?

Yes, sir.

And so are we talking about at least one or two days a

week that you have at least a period of time that you have

to be or you should be or supposed to be at school on a

regular basis?

The way I go to school right now, I go to school on

Tuesdays and Thursdays, evenings --

6a

Q Allright.

| A -- from 7:00 to 9:50.

Q How do you work out -- make certain, or at least

attempting to make certain, that you’re going to be off so

that you can attend school on a regular basis at those

times?

A Um, well, see, I’m not on a 40-hour work week.

All right.

A Okay. So my schedule says that I can be off anywhere

from a day -- or excuse me, I can work anywhere from a

day to 18 days straight, but -- and depending on how

many Saturdays and Sundays there are in the month and

depending if there’s any holidays in the month, [p. 379]

those are the days off that I have. So I either work day

shifts or I’ll work graveyards, or if I work swing shift I'll

schedule myself so possibly I can trade with somebody.

&

Q All right. Now you indicated that of course there’s

Saturday and Sunday and there’s holidays?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ And as I understand it, am I correct that at least the other

inspectors have a 40-hour work week and that recognizes

that there’s a five-day week, and they also get off a

holiday if there’s a holiday that falls in a month; is that

true?

A That’s correct, sir.

Q Okay. Now because you’re in school, do you tend to

give up your Saturdays and Sundays and holiday in order

to be able to attend school as part of your scheduling

arrangement?

7a

Um, I try to.

So maybe Saturday and Sunday is preferred by some, but

because of your schooling you might prefer to be off on

whatever day your school on; is that correct?

Um, not all the time.

Not all the time; some of the time?

Sometimes yes, sometimes no.

. 380]

Okay. Now with reference to Deedee Day --

Yes, sir.

-- now she’s a regular 40-hour employee, is she not?

Yes, sir.

All right. She would be working the same schedule as the

other inspectors, being rotated in the various shifts just

like any other inspector; is that true?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q_ How long has she been attending school?

A Um, I’m not really certain. I know that she was going to

school when she was working at Long Valley inspection

station, and I know that she’s going to school now.

Fan ate habia ais

Q Is she pursuing -- to your knowledge, is she pursuing a

degree in psychology?

A Yes, sir, that’s correct.

Q_ And do you know what school she attends?

A She’s going to Cal State San Bernadino.

8a

Q So she would have to travel from Yermo to San

Bernadino to go to college; is that true?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q Do you know how many days a week?

A No, sir, I don’t at this time.

[p. 381]

Q_ Do you know if it’s more than one day a week?

AI believe so.

Q_ And although it may change from semester to semester,

would there be certain days that she needs off in order to

do that?

A Um, I don’t know. I guess.

Q Well, is that the way that she -- her schedule has been

changed by the three methods that you’ve suggested in

the scheduling process?

A Yes, that’s normally the way I would try and schedule

her.

Q_ And you’ve done that, have you not?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ And to your knowledge, has she attended college?

A Yes, sir.

Q. All right. Do you know how many years it’s been that

you have known of her attending college? Can you

quantify it in years?

A Um, not really. I know she went to school at Long

Valley.

9a

Q_ When was that?

A She came back to Yermo last year, I believe, and then

prior to that she was coming from Long Valley, so I

know she went to school in Long Valley.

[p. 382]

Q Is she still going to school?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ And she’s still being accommodated in that fashion; is

that true?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q Okay. Do you know a Ben Blinko?

A_ Yes, sir.

Q Has he attended school also by this type of arrangement?

A I can only assume he has, sir. I don’t know.

Q Well, I don’t want you to assume. Do you have

knowledge _ that --

A_ I know he’s gone to school, yes, sir.

Q How about Wayne Laslow?

A Leslie. Yes, I know he’s going to school, sir.

Q Has he been accommodated in that same fashion, to your

knowledge?

A I believe so, yes, sir.

Q Are there people that are permanent employees,

permanent hires, at Yermo?

Yes, sir.

10a

Now as I understand your testimony -- let’s take you, for

instance. You would attempt to get -- would you attempt

to get your request in -- when somebody else was doing

the scheduling, would you [p. 383] attempt to get your

request in at a certain time?

Yes, sir.

And as I understand it, it’s so many days prior to the

posting of the schedule; is that correct?

Yes, sir. The schedule -- your requests have to be in by

the 29" of each month.

Prior to the schedule -- the posting?

Yes, sir.

Okay. And the posting is supposed to be on the 15° of

the month prior to when the schedule takes effect; is that

true?

That is correct, sir.

Now are there times when the schedule has already been

posted and so the time in which you have to get your

request in has already passed when you find that you

need or want to be off for some reason?

Yes, sir.

Have you ever made a request -- I’m not talking about a

trade yet, but a request for a scheduling change after the

time has come and gone to put your request in?

Are you asking me if I’ve ever come to a point where it’s

past the time to hand in the note and I need to be off for

something?

Yes.

lla

Ip. 384]

Yes, that’s happened to me before, sir.

Have you gone to the person who’s doing the scheduling

and asked if they can make an adjustment?

No, normally I'll wait to see how the schedule turns out

and then go from there and see if I can trade around.

All right. So you normally do that by trade?

Yes, sir.

Okay. Are there certain days of the week that based

upon your -- what is it, eleven years now experience

there?

Twelve and a half.

Twelve and a half years. Based upon your twelve and a

half years of experience at Yermo, are there certain days

that you have found are fairly consistently heavier than

other days?

Yes, sir.

And what days are those?

Um, Fridays, Saturdays, Sundays, and Mondays; and

then sometimes the middle of the week, Wednesday.

All right. Now in your deposition you ranked those for

me. Can you rank those for me?

Um, Sunday is one, Friday is two, Saturday and Sunday

would be probably tied for third, and then Wednesday

could be tied for third, too; just depends.

[p. 385]

Q

I thought you told me Sunday was one.

>

OF 0 FF A PRP A

O > AD ~Y

OO ~P

12a

Sunday was number one, yes, sir. That’s what I said,

sir.

All right. And Friday is two?

Yes, sir.

Now what’s tied with Saturday?

Saturday, Monday, and Wednesday can all tie.

Saturday, Sunday, and Monday are about the same?

No, Saturday, Monday, and Wednesday, sir.

Okay. I’m sorry. When you say -- when you rank them

one, two, three, and whatever, are you saying that

Sunday, based upon your experience, is the busiest day?

Yes, sir.

And Friday is the next busiest day?

Yes, sir.

And then Monday, Saturday, and Wednesday, they tend

to be, give or take changes, I suppose, the next busiest

days?

Yes. sir.

All right. And then I suppose the remaining days of the

week, are they about the same or are there certain days

that are the least -- is there a last on the list?

[p. 386]

They can all be kind of busy, but they’re not too bad.

All right. Do you know why Sunday tends to be the

busiest day?

A

Q

13a

Well, normally everybody is coming back from either

going to Vegas or everybody is coming back from their

trip. If they don’t have to be to work Monday, then

they’ll probably come in on Monday. Sunday we’re

swamped.

Is that true all day long or does it start at a certain time

on Sunday, based upon your experience?

It will normally start at about anywhere from midnight to

2:00 or 3:00, or sometimes even 1:00 o’clock in the

morning and the traffic starts.

Would the graveyard shift on Sunday then tend to be a

heavy. shift?

Yes, sir.

A person -- how many people work that graveyard shift

normally, let’s say in November?

In November? Are you talking formerly or presently?

Let’s take 1982.

1982, there would be in November, um, three people.

Three people. And would those three people [p. 387]

generally be having to move pretty quick in order to

process the cars through?

Yes, sir.

All right. And then it continues on up until

approximately when on Sunday?

Well, like I said, sir, it will start sometimes anywhere

from 12:00 to 1:00, and it will on -- sometimes it will

stay busy until almost noon Monday.

14a

Q I see. Now Friday, you indicated that was the next

busiest; is that because when that’s when people are

going?

A That’s when people are coming into the state.

Q Coming into the state?

A Coming into the state.

Q_ On Friday?

A Yes, sir. They’re coming from Las Vegas or from many

points from the Midwest to East coast they’re coming in,

but the greatest exodus is from Nevada. All the Nevada

people seem to come in on Friday.

Q Is that right?

A Yeah.

Q_ When does that start?

A That will normally start -- it starts normally like about

4:00 or 5:00 o’clock in the morning with people coming

in for work and it goes on from there.

[p. 388]

Q On Friday morning?

A Yes, sir.

Q So the person that would be on graveyard even on Friday

morning would have a fairly busy time; is that true?

A Yes, sir.

Q Now do you know why Saturday tends not to be as busy

a day as Sunday or Friday or perhaps ranking with

Monday?

oo eS ROT, REED LP a aaa ee me ae

> 0

(2)

15a

Um, it depends. If there’s a holiday, like say if

Christmas is on Sunday or if some other holiday is on

Sunday, then most people then will rush by Saturday

because if they have to get to Los Angeles or any place

in the south, in Southern California, they would almost

have to be -- like say if it’s some type of event, even like

Super Bowl, okay, they would almost have to be in our

station by at least 1:00 o’clock or 2:00 o’clock in order

to make it to L.A. to see the Super Bowl because the

traffic is so congested in Los Angeles or in San Diego.

So it depends; Saturday can be what’s left over from

Friday or it could be pretty steady, but it’s normally

always steady; and sometimes it can be very heavy.

There are certain times of the year, as I understand it,

that are heavier than others; is that [p. 389] true?

Yes, sir.

Would that be the summertime, basically?

Summertime, and then Thanksgiving, Christmas, Easter,

spring break, Presidents’ birthdays in February, Mother’s

Day, Father’s Day, New Year’s, Memorial Day, Labor

Day weekend when it’s Jerry Lewis Telethon in Vegas or

in California, depending on where they schedule it, Super

Bowl Sunday -- just depends; playoffs, World Series, just

depends.

Let’s take Thanksgiving and Christmastime.

Yes, sir.

Based upon your experience, does the station manager

bring in seasonal people, college students, to assist

during those times?

Um, yes, sir.

>

> £0

16a

So you have more help during those times where you

bring in college students that perhaps are off during that

short vacation period and they work to augment the staff

that’s there, is that what happens?

Well, we have seasonals that -- during that time that were

six-month and nine-month - nine months’ employment,

different to what they are now. Before --

Let’s talk about ’82.

Okay. In ’82 there were six-month and [p. 390] nine-

month seasonals, they were called TAUs, and there were

overlapping TAUs. So for Thanksgiving you’d probably

have, depending on how many was allowed to you from

the department, we’d have maybe two, maybe three

maybe four, depending, and they would be working in

that time, but they’d work during the whole month, so,

um -- see, now they’re ATWs; they’re called “as time

worked,” so they’re only scheduled -- they’re scheduled -

a lot differently from what they were back then.

Let me ask you this, in ’82, just so that I’m sure what

you’re saying, during the Christmas recess time when

you had heavier traffic and during the Thanksgiving time

when you had heavier traffic, did you have -- whatever

you called them, but this extra help come in during those

periods of time?

They would be scheduled to work, yes, sir.

All right. So even though you had heavier traffic, you

had more help?

That would be the norm.

And that’s also true during the summertime?

Yes, sir.

17a

I'd like. to have you just tell me a few things about the

schedule. If you would turn with me to Exhibit 24, and

what I want to do is to look at your scheduling on some

of the these days and have you tell [p. 391] me if you

would, what it means. For instance, Exhibit 24, if you

will look at 4/1 to 4/30/82. Do you see that?

Yes, sir.

* * * *

[p. 393]

O >

Would you turn with me over to - it’s kind of cut off, so

it’s 9/1 --

Oh, I see, okay.

Do you see that one?

Yes, sir.

All right. Now your name appears maybe a little more

than half way down. Do you see that, number 12?

Yes, sir.

All right. It shows, for instance -- I just want to ask you

about this -- about a third of the way over, the second

time that you’re being -- the second block of time that

you appear, under Friday it shows shift three, shift three,

shift four, shift two, shift two, shift two, shift two, shift

one, shift one, and shift one. Can you tell me why during

a given block in time you wouldn’t be continually

working the same shift?

Um, because we work rotational shifts, sir. That means

that we work days, swings, graveyards. We may not

work a constant -- like say, for example, of these one,

two, three, four, five, six, seven, eight, nine -- of these

>

> £0

> £0

18a

ten days that I was scheduled to work, that doesn’t

necessarily mean I’ll work a block series of three shifts

or a block series of two shifts or a block series of one

shift. I work a rotational shift, [p. 394] so I can work a

three and then they put a four to transition you over to a

two so that you don’t come back -- it’s not so much of an

early morning. But I can work threes, twos, and ones.

What I can’t work is a three, one, two; that’s not

consistent.

Because it would be back-to-back? .

Um, exactly. And you have to have an eight-hour break.

That’s why you can’t work -- that’s why I couldn’t work

a four to a graveyard, because that’s not enough time to

rest. But I could work a two and then come back and

work a graveyard.

You do notice that Mr. Street, who’s number three on

there, he almost consistently worked the third shift.

There were some alterations, but during most of the

month he worked the third shift.

Yes, sir, but he’s a supervisor, sir.

Is that why that would be?

Well, maybe, because if you look at Mr. Whitacre,

sometime he was broken up, but it depends on what was

needed.

Well, look at the seventh one down, Mr. R-a-c-h -- and

I’m not sure of the rest.

Rachi.

Rachi, is it?

Yes, sir.

19a

[p. 395]

Q_ Now he worked the second shift curing the first --

A_ Eight days.

Q Yeah. Now whereas yours was broken up, his isn’t

broken up. Was he a supervisor?

A No, he’s a rank and file.

Q When the scheduler made up the schedule, was it pretty

much discretionary with the scheduler whether to

schedule them eight, times the same shift or to break it up

like they broke yours up?

A It just depends on how -- what’s needed.

Q Depends on what’s needed; and who decides what’s

needed?

A Whoever makes the schedule out.

Q_ And does that depend on the various requests hat come in

from the employees?

A Exactly, sir.

Q. All right. I’d like to have you look at 11/2 to 12/1/82.

A Yes, sir.

Q_ Now as I understand it, the scheduling is based to some

extent on the number of vehicles that are coming through,

when there’s heavier traffic or lighter traffic; is that true?

A Yes, sir.

[p. 396]

Q It looks to me like -- I may be in error, but it looks to me

like at that particular time with some few exceptions you

20a

had the same number of people on every day. You had

nine people on and six people off during the majority of

the time; is that true?

A_ Yes, sir.

[p. 397]

Q_Let’s take a look at March 2 to March 31, 1983. Now

you notice that during more than half you had ten people

on and either five or six people off, and in some instances

four people off during most of the time. And you come

to Saturday and Sunday you have only, as I understand,

eight people on and five people off. And then on the last

one you have, on Tuesday, you have eleven people on.

Do you know why that would be?

A It appears like for myself that I probably would have been

working had I not asked for that time off.

Q_ So they accommodated you, as I understand it, [p. 398]

because you wanted to be off?

A Yes. My name -- it has two holiday credits. That means

that I -- I can’t remember back then what I had planned,

but I must have asked for some time off to go someplace.

Q_ That was to which day now, which date?

A On Sunday and Monday.

Q 19" and 20"?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ And you’ve ranked those, at least Sunday, as the heaviest

traffic day; in that not true?

A Yes, sir.

Q_ And they wound up with eight people?

>

> 0

Yes, sir.

I want to ask you, what does it mean, for instance, on the

11"; you see Friday the 11"?

Tes, Siz.

And Saturday the 12", and it runs on through the 15"; it

shows a one and than there’s a kind of diagonal line and

a two. What does that mean?

Oh, you mean on my name?

On yours, yes.

It means that I traded. I was scheduled to work a day

shift, and I traded with with Miss Martinez for her

graveyard. I traded from the 11" to the 15"; [p. 399] I

traded with her to work those graves so that I could get

off early.

I see.

A lot of time we do that. We trade so that we can get off

on a graveyard, and that allows us to leave a day early or

get all of our stuff together for whatever reason.

That’s fairly common, isn’t it, doing things like that?

Trading, yes, sir.

* * *

22a

APPENDIX B

REPOR7TER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME III OF VI pp. 485-492

Elisa Martinez

Direct Examination by Mr. Boothby

[p. 485]

Q

A

Q

>

> 0

Do you recall what year it was that you became a

permanent employee at Yermo?

1982.

And do you know what month?

If I’m not mistaken, it was probably around October;

September or October.

I'd like to have you take a look at the exhibit book that’s

in front of you there, and you’ll notice that it’s tabbed; it

has tabs that indicate the various exhibit numbers. Do

you see that?

Yes.

Would you turn to Exhibit 24?

Okay.

* * kK

[p. 486]

Q

All right. I’d like to have you take a look, if you would,

at the August 1 to August 31, *82 schedule — I’m sorry,

I’ve got the wrong one; it’s the next one, 9/1. Do you

see that?

Yes.

Ee

.

>

A

Q

23a

All right. Now, it looks to me, and correct me [p.487] if

I’m wrong, that from the 17” of that month -- that would

be the 17” of September -- through the end of that month,

you were on the third shift; is that what that indicates?

You’re asking me on the 17" ?

Well, from the 17" on to the end of the month. You

either were working on the third shift or not working at

all; is that correct?

4:00 to midnight, the third shift.

Yes, I believe that would be the 4:00 to midnight.

* * * *

[p.488]

Q

BY MR. BOOTHBY: Is that what that indicates, you

were working the third -- or at least scheduled to work

the third shift?

Yes.

All right. Would you take a look at the next month, 10/1

to 11/1/82? And looking at your name, it appears to me

that you were scheduled to work, except for the time that

you were off, the third shift at least during most of that

month up to -- and I can’t really tell -- the last three or

four days of that month; would that be correct?

That’s what it looks like.

All right. And then on the next month, 11/2 to 12 --11/2

to 12/1/82, it appears -- I’m sorry, let’s take that first two

months. Was there some reason that you were aware of

that you were scheduled to work the third shift for that

long a period of time?

24a

[p. 489]

A I don’t understand your question.

Q_ Well, instead of rotating to different shifts, it appears to

me that during the period of time that I indicated,

particularly 10/1 to 11/28, you were working

continuously the same shift.

You mean swings?

No, the third shift as I understand.

Okay.

And my question, don’t you normally rotate shifts there

at Yermo?

A Yes.

Q Can you tell me why there wasn’t more rotation during

that month as far as your schedule was concerned

A No.

Q Now if you’ll notice over on 11/2, from the 23" to the

end of the month you were again scheduled on the third

shift, were you not?

A Yes.

Q_ And then if you’ll turn the page to 12/2 to 12/31. It

appears to me that from the 2™ through the 6" you were

again scheduled to work the third shift; is that true?

A Fae:

Q And then that same month from the 24" through the 31*

you were again scheduled to work the third [p. 490] shift;

is that true?

A Yes.

O > A ~P

—————

O +> OD YP

25a

My only question, it looks to me like during the majority

of that period of time that you were working the third

shift without rotating, and I’m wondering if there’s an

explanation for that. Do you know why that was?

Not offhand right now.

Well, let me have you look at 1/1/83 to 1/31/83. And it

appears to me that starting with the 24” of that month you

were scheduled to work on the third shift to the end of

the month; is that the way --

Yes.

-- it appears?

Yes.

And then if you’ll turn the page to 2/1, it appears to me

that during at least half of the month you were again

scheduled to work the third shift continuously, is that

true?

Yes.

Now do you know why it is that you continued to work

the same shift without rotating?

** * *

[p.491]

THE COURT: Maybe you don’t understand the question.

Do you understand what he’s asking you?

THE WITNESS: He’s asking me why was I working swings,

4:00 to midnights, more times than, I guess, than the day shift

or graveyard.

THE COURT: He said it’s his understanding that

employees were kind of rotated, they worked shifts --

26a

[p. 492]

THE WITNESS: There are no set days of rotation. We’re not

-- you know, we’re not required to work five days of swings

or five days of graveyards or five days -- you know, it can

change. I could work nine days of swings or I can work nine

days of graveyards. There’s no set patterns of how many

shifts you’re going to work in that month.

THE COURT: What determines how you’re going to rotate

or when you’re going to rotate?

THE WITNESS: The schedulemaker.

THE COURT: The schedulemaker?

THE WITNESS: Yes.

* * * *

27a

APPENDIX C

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME IV OF VI pp. 863-878

Mimi Khan

Direct Examination by Mr. Boothby

* * *K *

[p. 863]

} Q_Let’s assume that this case did not involve an individual

who applied for a position --

A Okay.

; Q_ -- and was discoverd [sic] that because of his religious

beliefs he couldn’t work. Let’s assume, for instance,

Mr. Boateng had been employed there for, ten years.

A Okay.

; Q_ And he became converted to the Advertist faith, Jewish

belief, or became converted to Islam or some other

religion and couldn’t work on a certain day. Are you

i saying that then that would require him to be terminated,

is that what would happen?

A No. Again, as we discussed earlier, let’s say that he had

been employed for ten years and then took on whatever

religious faith and those requirements did not allow him

to be able to work out his schedule within the [p. 864]

plant quarantine inspector series. He could compete for

other examinations within the department

A plant quarantine inspector is only one class out of 350

classes out of 1700 positions. There’s only 100 of these

positions. So he could compete for other classifications,

28a

he could transfer into other classifications if they are

within 10 percent of his salary level.

There are a variety of things that you can do for

permanent employees that are on board that -- whose

situation may change, whereas when you’re looking at a

class specification and setting up the requirements, it’s

something that you can’t work into the concept. You

can’t say that it’s okay to schedule people around their

religious holidays or around their schoo!s or around their

-- if they don’t -- if they prefer not to work on their

holidays, whatever the situation is, there’s no way that

you can make an absolute determination along that line,

and that’s what the class specification is all about.

We have to be able as management to schedule people,

and it is so hard to schedule, you know, between rotating

schedules because you don’t want the same person there

at the station on an on-going basis because truckers and

others get to know you and you don’t have [p. 865] the

objectivity and you could end up with, you know, bribes

being taken and letting certain trucks go, et cetera.

So for those reasons we have to switch or rotate the

schedules, and so you can’t work in that this person will

only be our 9:00 to 5:00, this person will never work on

Saturdays, and this person will never work on Sundays.

It would be very, very difficult from a management

perspective to do that.

Q_ All right. Your response was he could perhaps take

another examination, move into another position. Might

it also be something that you might try to see whether by

trading with other employees it worked out? Wouldn’t

that be a possibility?

A That has been done, yes.

> O - A

29a

It has been done?

Yes.

When was that done?

Oh, I believe there was one employee, and I don’t know

the details on it, but who after working there for a while

was able -- I don’t know if he was a Seventh Day

Adventist, I’m not sure, but because of his religious

beliefs in that station they were able to temporarily

accommodate him before he retired. He’d been there for

many years. I don’t know the details, [p. 866] but I

know that there was one situation, and that situation was

brought to my attention by Howard Ingham, the

individual you’ve discussed. But given again, a

one-time, individual situation versus, you know,

changing the requirements and having to do that on an

on-going basis for everyone would make it very

impossible.

You say it would make it impossible, but it at least it

works on a temporary basis?

Yes, and there are two different things here. On a

temporary basis there’s a lot more flexibility than on a

permanent, on-going basis.

* * K

[p. 873]

Q

All right. Let me ask it in another fashion. You indicated,

as I understand your testimony, that if an individual came

in in - good faith hoping to have a position - there was a

possibility for a transfer to another position -- and in fact

you gave me a concrete illustration of a person who had

"a

30a

been there for ten years and became a member of a

certain faith, he could transfer; is that true?

A Yes.

Q. All right. You also indicated that there could be a

window of time to see whether he could continue to stay;

is that true?

A Um-hmm.

Q Is that true?

A Yes.

Q_ Allright. Now assuming that Mr. Boateng came there in

good faith wanting to be an inspector and it was

discovered during the first three months that it just didn’t

work out, and it not only didn’t work out in Yermo but

it wouldn’t work out anywhere else after investigation,

was there a mechanism by which he could [p. 874] look

at another place to transfer to?

A Mr. Boateng could compete for any of the examinations

that were being given by the department. Part of the

problem that you have with the civil service system is if

-- and the plant quarantine inspector exam is a good

example of this -- we test very frequently, as you would

think, because of the hours. Nobody wants to work the

hours and have a rotating shift. So being able to score

and get on a list for the plant quarantine inspector is a lot

easier than if you were to compete for an agricultural

biologist position.

Q_ Well, but, I mean --

A So if - so for him to not have had eligibility and to come

in and say “well, I applied for this but because of my

religious beliefs I don’t want to take this job, I want that

~O

3la

job over there” is unreasonable from my perspective

because he has not had an opportunity to compete with all

those other individuals. Those individuals have been to

an examination, are on the list, and he needs to compete

there, which he would have an opportunity to do.

Let me come back to the man who had been there for ten

years.

Okay.

He would still have to take an examination for [p. 875]

whatever position.

Yes.

-- isn’t that true?

Yes, unless it’s within 10 percent of -- there is a clause

that says you can transfer to a position that’s within 10

percent of your salary and responsibility level if you have

permanent status.

How long do you have to have permanent status before

you can do that?

Permanent status is after you’ve finished your

probationary period.

So if he had completed one year, he could have moved on

without taking an examination?

If the class is within 10 percent and the same

responsibility level. He couldn’t take a supervisor job

within 10 percent of his series, but he could go to another

class if the supervisor in the other unit who does the

interviews and selection secretary selected him.

Can you give me illustration of one that would be within

10 percent of the position of quarantine inspector?

32a

A I believe the agricultural biologist is. We have had plant

quarantine inspectors transfer into that classification, and

as I mentioned before, the plant [p. 876] quarantine

inspector isn’t the popular job to have to stay in for a

long duration, so we have a lot of competition as far as

inspectors wanting to go into the biologist field.

Q How about grain and commodity inspector?

A Grain and commodity inspector is either at the same level

or -- I think it’s below. It may be below a plant

quarantine inspector, but I -- I can’t remember all the

salaries off the top.

Q_ So once the person has been there for a year, they can

transfer to that?

A Yes.

Q Is that a 9:00 to 5:00?

A _ I believe so.

Q_ Soif Mr. Boateng -- he could have transferred to another

position within the Department of Agriculture, perhaps

one of these positions that we’ve talked about, without

taking an examination?

A If he was selected, yes.

* * * *

[p. 877]

Q_ Now seasonals

A Yes.

Q_ -- you said there’s not much problem, right?

A_ Yes, that’s true.

a a Ee ee Ne NE TE Le EFC Oe OS LE ce Te Le A ea oe

eee ere

FA EAS hake 0 NR AB

Bilal 2 a Raa BH Ie 9 a

» ©

33a

Could Mr. Boateng have been at least given a [p. 878]

position -- instead of not given any position at all, could

he have been given a position as a seasonal for nine

months?

That’s possible, but again, I don’t know if they had any

vacancies, what the schedule of that seasonal employee

would have been, and so on, so I can’t say.

Well, if there had been vacancies --

Let me tell you -- put it from this perspective, a seasonal

does not have to compete in an examination, and so if

there are vacancies there’s -- it’s much easy easier to

accommodate.

* * * *

[p.

>

>

34a

APPENDIX D

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME V OF VI pp. 1048-1064; 1085-1092

Howard Ingham

Cross Examination by Mr. Boothby

* *

1048}

BY MR. BOOTHBY: Now if I understood your prior

testimony correctly, and let me see if I can recall your

testimony, I believe you indicated that you treated, as far

as scheduling purposes, your permanent employees and

your seasonal employees the same; is that correct?

Yes.

And you expected your seasonal employees, so [1049]

long as they were employed, to be available for work

seven days a week, 24 hours a day?

Yes.

So there was no distinction just simply because they

were seasonal employees; is that correct?

They were all basically under the same policy, same

work conditions.

Now have you ever heard the name of Renee Finney or

Renee Hopgood?

I don’t recall -- I didn’t recall her before, let’s say, the

last two, three weeks.

So if she was a seasonal employee, that policy would

have applied to her, too; is that true?

35a

A Oh, yes. I retired in 1986, and I don’t know whether she

worked after that or during my tenure.

Q I think her testimony was that she worked -- I think it

was ’80, 81, and 82.

THE COURT: That’s correct.

MR. GETZ: That’s correct.

Q BY MR. BOOTHBY: That would have been during

your tenure.

A All right. Yes.

Q Do you recall receiving any kind of a telephone call

either directly or through Mr. Gray about a person

needing to be off on their Sabbath or from [p. 1050]

sundown Friday to sundown Saturday attributing it to a

seasonal employee?

>

I don’t recai! one.

Q It would have been policy, would it not, for the border

inspection manager to have called Mr. Gray in the event

there was a request for a person to be off, even a sea-

sonal, on a regular basis?

It would have been policy that he call that, yes.

And would that normally have come in to Mr. Gray?

O >

A Or whoever was the border supervisor at that time. In

1981 I’m very doubtful that Mr. Gray was the border

supervisor.

That would have been who, then, in 81?

A It’s just too much turnover of personnel.

Q All right. If you had gotten a telephone call saying that a

seasonal had applied for a position as a seasonal em-

ployee but could not work from sundown Friday to

f—O

OO >

[p.

2)

36a

sundown Saturday, would it have been in accordance

with your policy something that you would have said

you could not have permitted?

Yes.

So you would have turned that down?

Yes, based on the requirement in the job [p. 1051]

description.

* * K

1053]

Let me ask it in this fashion. Would it be -- based upon

your understanding of scheduling, would it be possible

for a three-month period for a person to be scheduled on

a basis where they would not be scheduled to work from

sundown Friday to sundown Saturday?

Only if the man making the schedule was not following

policy.

Not following what policy?

The unit or bureau policy that all employees rotate, do

not show any preferences on shifts.

Well, you could rotate without being scheduled to work

on a Friday: night or Saturday, could you not?

I believe it was explained that -- maybe not -- part of the

policy was in the interest of fairness and elimination of

complaints of employees that they all work approximate-

ly the same number of weekends, which a [p. 1054]

weekend includes Saturday and Sunday, the same

number of holidays, the same number of graveyard

shifts, evening, and day shifts as possible. And a vari-

ance of maybe five or so, say five or six in a year’s

time, would be acceptable, but they were taken into

consideration for the following year. And that’s -- part

37a

of my policy was always to have the supervisor -- the

border supervisor check the work schedules to see what

you’re talking about didn’t exist. And I would say from

my viewpoint, had it been drawn to my attention,

somebody was negligent in their duty -- or the man at

the station was negligent in his.

Okay. Now you mentioned about policy requiring that

everybody get the same number of graveyard shifts.

Now one could schedule a person with an equal number of

graveyard shifts and still permit that person to be off

fro sundown Friday to sundown Saturday, could they

not?

Yes.

All right. So that’s not the problem, is it? Let talk about

the holidays. One could schedule a person so that they

had an equal number of holidays off and still schedule

that person to be off from sundown Friday to sundown

Saturday, couldn’t they?

The problem is accommodating this person [p. 1055]

having that particular day or two days a week off, not

the holiday part of it or the graveyard. It’s the other

employees saying ‘‘he is getting favoritism that I am not

getting.’ And to avoid complaints as we had at Truck-

ee, the assistant director at that time said ‘‘thou shalt see

that this special accommodation does not occur.’’

Yes, sir, and you put your finger right on the problem.

Isn’t it favoritism, that is what you were concerned

with, wasn’t it?

Special treatment.

Special treatment. That was the real problem you were

concerned about when you turned it down -- when you

turned down Mr. Boateng?

O > 0 ~>

>

(O & #0

O & 0

38a

Not that he was a Seventh Day Adventist.

No, I didn’t say that; special treatment?

Um-hmm.

Okay. Now the illustration that you gave, and you’ve

given it a few minutes ago and you gave it in response

to Mr. Getz’s question to you, was what happened in

Truckee; isn’t that true?

To me that is data in my computer that I react to sub-

consciously and my --

Now --

-- my job was problem avoidance.

Problem avoidance. Truckee presented a [p. 1056]

problem for you; is that what you’re saying?

The situation at Truckee.

And Mr. Boateng presented a potential problem for you;

is that what you’re saying?

A very similar case. And at the time of Truckee, I had

definite orders from administration ‘‘thou shalt not do

this.’’

Thou shall not do what?

Accommodate, give special treatment for any reason.

And when you say you had special orders, where did

these special orders come from?

Mr. Allen B. Lemmon, assistant director of Plant Indus-

try, who is now deceased.

Now is it -- as I understand, you were in some supervi-

sory responsibility in Sacramento when this problem in

Truckee arose; is that correct?

O > 0 ~}

39a

I was -- had the same position as Mr. Boateng -- as what

his situation occurred.

No, let me rephrase it because I think you misubder-

stood my question. When the question in Truckee arose

it involved a Mr. Riseden, did it not?

Risden.

Risden. What was your position with the department at

that time?

. 1057]

Program supervisor of border stations.

All right. So you were in a supervisory capacity, and

my understanding was if you had known that the supervi-

sor was accommodating or permitting Mr. Risden to be

off, you would not have permitted that.

This is correct.

Okay. But it did go on for quite a while, didn’t it?

Oh, yes.

If there was all that much problem, why wouldn’t you

have heard about it?

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. But it became broke when

five others wanted the same treatment.

I think you testified this was back in the 1970’s; is that

correct, the problem in Truckee?

Yes.

Wasn’t it back much earlier than that? Wasn’t it between

1961 and 1964?

I don’t believe so, not now. I may have said that in

deposition.

—

40a

What do you remember? In fact, you did say it was

during the period of ’61 through °64?

Pardon?

Do you remember now that in your --

You mean in deposition?

. 1058]

Yes.

I don’t recall what I said at that time. I was trying to

give you factual answers as it came to me then.

Well, the reason I’m asking you this question, and it

becomes somewhat critical because we had some testi-

mony from Mr. Sandridge, I believe it was, let me see

-- yes, Mr. Sandridge, who indicated that he was in

Truckee during the period of time from 1959 to 1963

and Mr. Risden was getting time off then by swapping

with other employees. Are you saying that this went on

from whatever time that was, sometime between °59 and

63 up until the Seventies without anybody having a

problem?

We're talking about two different situations.

Okay.

An employee was allowed to voluntarily trade with his

immediate supervisor’s knowledge, and the other one

you’re saying it was the supervision’s responsibility to

provide Mr. Boateng his 24-hour period each and every

week. There’s a great difference between the employee

soliciting it and if he couldn’t find a trade, work his

shift.

Well, but my understanding of your testimony earlier

today was that if you found out people were going to

trade on an on-going basis you wouldn’t permit [p.

>

> O & A PP A

> 0

4la

1059] that, and apparently this was done for ten years

according to your testimony just now. It’s okay if it’s

by voluntary trade; is that your testimony now?

It didn’t have my official approval.

Well, it may not have had your approval, but my ques-

tion is it’s okay as long as it’s done voluntarily; is that

what your testimony is today?

No, no, I’m just saying there’s a difference between an

employee asking a fellow employee to voluntarily trade

or insisting that management do the trading involuntarily

with other employees.

Okay. And --

And the willingness of the employee to work if a fellow

employee refused or didn’t care to trade.

All right. What is the difference?

What’s the difference?

Yes, sir.

The shift was covered.

It would be covered in both situations, would it not?

With the exception that you’re disaccommodating

whoever you mandatorily require trading with him.

We’re getting back now to the issue of fairness?

Right.

. 1060]

All right. But as long as people are willing to do it,

then even though you still wouldn’t have permitted it,

it’s different; is that what you’re saying?

It was being done at a level that I was unaware of.

Well, if --

42a

And I did not approve of on-going trading --

Why was that?

-- indefinitely.

Why was that?

THE COURT: By on-going, you mean indefinitely, long-

term --

THE WITNESS: Yeah.

THE COURT: -- rather than one or two days?

THE WITNESS: With one or two days, but every week

trading or trading whenever he did not have -- was sched-

uled that time off.

Q BY MR. BOOTHBY: Well, why would you have been

opposed to it if was for religious reasons? Apparently it

didn’t create any problem for ten years.

My lack of knowledge.

Q I understand that you wouldn’t permit it. Now I’m

getting down -- I’m trying to find out what the -- what

would have mattered, assuming that you didn’t care, [p.

1061] how would it have impacted on the public busi-

ness.

O > A P

>

A The impact comes only when the others at the station

create a problem, and I am the one that operated with

problem avoidance in mind.

Q_ Yes, sir. Except we do have a problem today, don’t we?

A Yes.

Q All right. Now the problem in Truckee is a different

problem than we have with Mr. Boateng; isn’t that true?

A Idon’t see it as a different one.

>

~ > OOD 0

>

43a

Well, the problem in Truckee, as I understand your

testimony, is that Mr. Risden wanted to be off on

Sunday morning so that he could go and take care of his

lay ministerial responsibilities at church on Sunday

morning, and at some point in time there were some

Catholic ladies that said ‘‘look, I want to go to church

on Sunday morning,”’ and all of a sudden it became a

hardship when six people wanted to be off at the same

time for religious reasons; isn’t that what happened

there?

That’s exactly it, only it was men, not ladies.

All right. Whatever. But the problem was that there

was a hardship because a lot of people wanted [p. 1062]

off at the same time. It was all for the same reasons,

for religious reasons; that’s what happened in Truckee?

The reasons had no bearing. It was just six people

wanting time off for any reason at the same time.

Whatever, but that’s what caused the hardship, right?

Yes.

All right.

Made an inability to cover Sunday morning shifts at

Truckee.

Did you have any other individual at the Yermo station

that you were aware of that was seeking to be off on a

regular basis from sundown Friday to sundown Satur-

day?

No, not that I was aware of.

So what you’re really saying is that based upon what

happened in Truckee you were speculating that some-

time in the future there might be other people that would

44a

want to be off at the same time, creating a problem; is

that basically what you’re saying?

A I’m not an expert in the field of statistics, but the theory

of probability tells me yes -- or I think a more recent

statement would be Murphy’s law; if it can happen, it

will.

Q Okay. And you were avoiding Murphy’s Law?

[p. 1063]

Attempting to avoid it.

>

Q Now there was testimony by a person that did the

scheduling or has been doing some scheduling down at

Yermo, a person by the name of -- I think her name is

Lozano. Are you familiar with an employee by that

name?

A_ I met her in the hall here the other day, and I had met

her previously but basically did not know the lady.

Q_ All right. Now she gave some testimony that as I under-

stood, and I think was supplemented by other testimony,

that an individual can get off for certain reasons if they

put their request in like by the 29th of the month prior to

the 15th when the schedule is completed for the follow-

ing month; do you follow me?

>

Yes, I follow you.

Is that basically what the policy was back in 1982?

A Yes. I don’t recall that it had to be in writing, but when

the man made up the schedule if you were having a

family reunion, a birthday, whatever, a one-time occur-

rence, this -- if possible, without disrupting the whole

work schedule -- would take place.

~—

~—

So that was in place, you could --

A That was available to all employees.

.

>

[p.

»- 7) © >

>

45a

So people could get off not only by trades in [p. 1064]

1982, but they could also get off by a special request

made to the supervisor if it was in by a certain time?

On a one-time, individual basis.

One-time basis. Now she testified that she has done that

for people who were going to school. She attempted to

schedule them off if she got the request in. Now you’re

saying that’s contrary to policy?

I don’t know what her policy is after I retired. I’m not

aware of her doing that when I was tenure.

* * * *

1085]

Would you look at Exhibit No. 25. If you’ll notice,

Exhibit 25 starts off with some monthly schedules from

Topaz, and then if you’ll turn a few pages it starts with

the Meyers station.

I’m at Meyers.

All right. And I think the first month that’s indicated in

here is one that starts 6/1 to 6/30; do you see that?

Yes.

Do you see Mr. Krause, K-r-a-u-s-e?

Yes.

You'll notice at the end of the month starting with the

27th he is given shift one; do you see that?

Yes.

And shift, one according to the upper left-hand corner,

would be 11:00 p.m. to 7:00 a.m.; is that correct?

That’s correct.

Is that what you would call a graveyard shift?

>

>

2)

O > 0 ~P

>

Yes.

You notice that he works four days in June the grave-

yard shift; do you notice that?

All right.

Would you turn over to the next page, 7/1/83 to 8/1/83.

You notice that Mr. Krause starts off on the [p. 1086]

first of that month working the graveyard shift and

works until the 4th, and he works four days on the

second shift. He’s apparently off -- is that what that

indicates, he was off from the 9th through the 14th?

Are you on a different 7/1 than I am? We’re still with

Mr. Harms?

No, I’m talking about Mr. Krause.

Excuse me, Krause. All right. Yes, I follow you now.

Rephrase, please.

Yes. He again is working the first shift or the graveyard

shift in Meyers starting with the Ist of July and works

until the 4th of July on the graveyard shift?

Yes.

Then he goes to the second shift, 7:00 a.m. to 3:00

p.m., for four days?

Yes.

Then he’s off from the 9th to the 14th?

Yes.

He’s back on the graveyard shift on the 17th; is that

correct?

Yes.

And he worked the graveyard shift until the 27th; is that

what it shows?

are

[p.

O - AD Pp

O ~}

47a

It’s what it shows.

*x Kk KX *

1088]

Let me have you look at another one here, if you would,

Mr. Frank. You notice Mr. Frank on the July schedule?

I’m there.

He seems to work the third shift, 3:00 p.m. to 11:00

p.m., the whole month of July; do you see that?

Yes.

That wasn’t consistent with your policy, was it?

No.

You notice here R.A. Jone, J-o-n-e, during most of that

month he worked the second shift, didn’t he?

July, he did, yes.

So all the stations didn’t really rotate on a monthly

basis? I mean, within the month they didn’t always

rotate all their employees, did they?

THE COURT: I’m sorry, that exhibit number again was

what?

MR. BOOTHBY: 26, your Honor.

THE COURT: 26.

Q

A

BY MR. BOOTHBY: All of the employees within each

border station didn’t rotate every month, did they?

This is very obvious, and you also asked -- or I told you

that Mr. Mitchell had problems at this time, [p. 1089]

and my recollection is coming that this was one of the

reasons.

OO }

48a

Okay. What problems, other than Mr. Miller having

problems? I assume that’s because he didn’t follow your

orders; is that --

Follow the instructions.

Follow your instructions?

Not mine, the instructions from the operating guide at

that time.

Well, I thought we covered that before the break that

there wasn’t anything in the operating instructions con-

cerning rotating within a month.

There are not in those that you showed me. These were

revised 1990.

Let me ask you about -- not about Mr. Miller, but when

they weren’t rotating there at that station, Meyers, what

problem arose there other than the fact that you had

problems with Mr. Miller?

The U.S. Highway 50 is not a commercial truck road,

and I have to honestly say -- I could not say there would

be a high probability of any collusion among employees

and truckdrivers.

Did you ever give any consideration to moving Mr.

Boateng to a station like the Meyers station where

maybe there wasn’t as much of a need to do the type of

[p. 1090] rotation that you indicated was necessary?

Because this went on doesn’t mean that I felt that way

about it.

I know how you might have felt because you had those

directives, but I’m talking about a practical solution to a

problem. If there wasn’t a real problem with collusion,

did you give any consideration to moving Mr. Boateng

there where it might be a bit easier to work?

>

O >}

>

49a

When you run an organization, especially a law en-

forcement-type agency, lack of uniformity is the first

premise for problem.

* * *K *

I want to ask you a little bit about the traffic situation.

You indicated the traffic was heaviest on the weekends,

and I think you said Saturday and Sunday; is that cor-

rect?

in most cases, yes, and holidays.

When you say ‘‘most cases,’’ what do you mean by

that?

There’s always exceptions to the rule. [p. 1091] Air-

plane show at the field there, and Reno attracts thou-

sands of people, and if that happens during the week,

that generated the traffic. Or the same thing could be

true in Las Vegas or Phoenix, Arizona.

Isn’t it true that there are some stations where there

really isn’t any increase on the weekend as compared to

the rest of the week?

I would say no, when you say ‘‘any increase,”’

All right.

Maybe relatively insignificant compared to the major,

but I can’t honestly say there would be no increase.

All right. But the increase would not be a substantial

factor; could we say it that way?

Very possible, yes.

All right. Well, in looking at a means to accommodate

Mr. Boateng, wouldnt you want to look at a station

where not only -- where you don’t have the problem of

[p.

50a

commercial traffic, but perhaps looking at a station

where there isn’t this major increase on the weekends?

It reduces the number of employees that the man has

available to trade, it increases the possibility of those

that are available of being either on vacation, sick or not

wanting to trade for family reasons.

1092]

Let’s talk about that. Now there has been testimony

about polling the people at Yermo. Did you ever think

about polling anybody at maybe Meyers, where they

already accommodated somebody? Did you ever think

about polling those people?

No, I didn’t have the problem at Meyers.

But if you moved Mr. Boateng to another place where it

might be easier to accommodate, then you might want to

know what those employees thought about trading with

Mr. Boateng; wouldn’t that be an important question?

In retrospect, I agree with you. At the time I was

overworked, I was opening up the stations, had capital

outlay problems, we were hiring 60-some people,

spreading Our permanent inspectors out as thin as we

could to train the new people. I could kind of look back

and say ‘“‘hey, Howard I’m -- I marvel that you took this

amount time.’’ But I did feel it was important, so you

could yes, say what you’re saying, why didn’t I.

* * K *

at Skt AE Finca

Sla

APPENDIX E

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME V OF VI pp. 1135-1147, 1168-1176

Martina Haleamau

Direct Examination by Mr. Getz

[p. 1135]

Q

* * * *

It mentions -- and I’m looking at Exhibit M, the first chart

-- it mentions M-1's period is 5/1 through 5/31, Yermo.

Can you explain what that is, what that references to?

[p. 1136]

A That is for the month of May, May 1* to May 31%.

* *k * *

Q So all three of these refer to the same period of time and

the same border stations?

A Yes.

** *K *

[p. 1140]

Q_ Now this schedule was -- this, you say, is 5/1 to 5/31; what

year was that?

A We based the schedule on 1982.

Q So if one were to look at the 1982 schedule for Yermo, you

would expect to see that schedule in existence with the

exception that there would be names [p. 1141] under plant

quarantine inspector, station supervisor, et cetera?

Yes.

52a

THE COURT: I’msorry, this Exhibit M, as well as N and O,

are intended to speak as of 1982?

MR. GETZ: That’s correct.

THE COURT: And the date that -- the witness said she

believed the charts were made in 1985. So does that mean that

she went back and made them in 1985 but used data from

1982?

MR. GETZ: Absolutely correct, your Honor. That’s the

next area, in fact. I'll refer the Court and witness, if you look in

your book to Exhibit 24.

THE COURT: _ I thought you anticipated an objection from

Mr. Boothby on the grounds that you were using data that

existed for 1985 and ’86 when we were dealing with 1982.

MR. GETZ: I misspoke. What I meant to say was that this

examination was performed -- or inspection or whatever you

want to call it -- was performed by Ms. Haleamau in 1985 or

86 and not 1982.

THE COURT: _ So there might be an objection.

MR. BOOTHBY: Well, I’m just -- I’m really confused. Now if

I can -- I don’t want to interrupt anything, but I’m looking at 24.

Exhibit No. 24, 5/1 to [p. 1142] 5/31/82, and it seems to me that

this does not match the chart. I’m confused.

For instance, down at the bottom it shows on my chart,

numbers on duty on the Ist, nine, and five off. That shows ten

on and five off. The next one shows nine on and five off, and

there it shows -- I’m having problems, your Honor.

THE WITNESS: Yes, you’re right. According to what is in this

book, it’s different from what is shown on the chart there.

When we made this, I had taken the 19 -- the 5/31. 1982

schedule and basically kept it the same. Now you have to

excuse me because this is what, seven or eight years ago that

SAD Hee > :

2

4

3

:

3

}

i

53a

we did this, and some of the little details now are forgotten.

But we tried to keep it exactly the same. In some instances we

took the liberty to change -- for example, some of the vacation

days, we took the liberty to change it. We tried to show that

there were -- I tried to show that there were as many people

working as possible.

MR. BOOTHBY: But you didn’t, though, did you? Weren’t

there 16 people listed on here?

THE WITNESS: One is a seasonal. We’re not showing the

seasonal there.

MR. BOOTHBY: Why not, if it was for May?

THE WITNESS: We were talking about permanent [p. 1143]

employees and not seasonal employees.

* * * *

[p. 1144]

THE COURT: _ [let you break in and ask some questions so

you understood what she’s doing, but you can’t go back and

forth. Now I want to find out what this is about, and then the

whole thing may go out if you believe that it should and if I

agree with you. [p. 1145] It’s just that simple. But I don’t

understand it yet.

Now I want Mr. Getz to develop, if you will please, so that

I understand why there are changes made on Exhibits M, N,

and O from what the original counterparts were that were made

out at the time and, if so, why changes were made.

MR. GETZ: That’s exactly what I was going to bring out, you

Honor. I appreciate that.

Q Ms. Haleamau, the chart that you prepared was for

purposes of illustrating certain issues; is that correct?

A Yes.

54a

Q_ Now it was based on information from Yermo in 1982?

Yes.

>

Q You’ve already testified there were certain changes you

made. Could you explain why those changes were made?

A Ye.

Q Okay. Would you please?

A Oh, explain why the changes were made, yes.

THE COURT: First of all, what the changes are and why

they were made.

THE WITNESS: Okay. In doing those illustrations we want to

show that all the inspectors [p. 1146] were working. I also

want to show that we were trying to equalize -- always equalize

the numbers of day shift, swing shift, and graveyard shifts

would be approximately the same for everyone. I was also

trying to demonstrate that every employee was able to have at

least four days off in a row once during the month.

THE COURT: NowI’m lost. I assumed that exhibit -- I’m

just working with M; that’s enough right now. Exhibit M

purports to show what actually happened in 1982; apparently

that isn’t true.

MR. GETZ: No, I don’t think it was represented as that.

| think what was represented, it was based on information from

1982. There’s a distinction. The distinction is for purposes of

illustrating what happens when a person has to be

accommodated. What Ms. Haieamau did with this exhibit was

base it on actual 1982 information to make it, you know, not

entirely hypothetical.

THE COURT: What do you mean “base it on 1982

information”?

55a

MR. GETZ: Meaning, you Honor, that she picked the May

1982 Yermo schedule as the model, but she did not -- for

purposes of illustration she did not follow each and every entry

in the May 1982.

THE COURT: _ But then what’s the purpose of the [p. 1147]

exhibit if it doesn’t follow what happened?

MR. GETZ: Your Honor, the purpose of the exhibit is to

show as a matter of scheduling these are the goals of the

department.

es:

Cross Examination by Mr. Boothby

[p. 1168]

Q_ 24, I’m sorry. Do you find Exhibit 24?

A Do you want me to look at it from 1982?

Q_ Well, let’s just start with the very first month, January.

A Okay.

Q Okay. Now does that show you that you always have more

people on on the weekend in January of 1982?

A You’re going to have to give me a little time. I haven’t

- seen these in a long time.

Q Sure. While you’re doing that, would you look at -- let’s

take the first six months, and look at those.

Now what I’m doing is looking at Saturdays and Sundays?

Would you compare those with the other days?

Pardon me?

OO - AD Pp

You’re going to have to compare that with the other days.

56a

[p. 1169]

A Yes, but the focus is on Saturday. Okay.

Q Does it look to you like Yermo during -- what did you look

at, the first six months.

A Yes.

Q Did it look like they had more people assigned to work on

Saturday and Sunday as they did the rest of the week?

A In some cases yes, and some cases no.

, Q In fact, in some cases there were less people during the

weekend: isn’t that true?

On one of the other schedules, yes.

Q_ Atleast -- at Yermo, at least during that period of time, it

didn’t follow your pattern, did it?

A Not on these schedules.

Q Did you look -- Didn’t you look at the 1982 kind of as a

pattern?

A_ I looked back at 1982 as a reference point, but --

Q. Did -- I’m sorry. Did it make any difference -- would

make any difference in what you did if you didn’t try to

have more people on the weekends? Would it have any

impact at all on what you came up with?

A Can you rephrase that, please?

Q_ Yes. If you didn’t try to have more people on [p. 1170] the

weekends, on Saturday and Sunday, would that have any

impact on what you were doing there on your hypothetical

chart?

A It still would have an impact.

Di mat bl i aR

57a

Q_ Well, I assume it would, but would it change what you

came up with?

A It may.

Q_ Allright. Now you did assume, did you not, that Saturday

and Sunday are the heavier days?

A Yes.

* * * *

[p. 1171]

Q_ Exhibit 26. It has Topaz and Meyers.

MR. GETZ: Excuse me, your Honor, I think that’s

Exhibit 25.

MR. BOOTHBY: I’m sorry, that’s true.

THE WITNESS: Okay.

Q BY MR. BOOTHBY: Now this has a completely different

kind of setup as far as numbers of inspectors and

supervisory people, does it not?

A Yes.

Q Did you at any point in time attempt to determine what the

impact would be accommodating an individual on a

regular basis in a place like -- let’s take Topaz to start

with.

A No.

[p. 1172]

Q_ Nowifyou’ll look with me, there’s a schedule on Meyers

also. Do you notice that?

A For June?

Yes, starting with June. Do you notice that?

OO -}

58a

Yes.

And that has a few -- at least one more permanent person

working at that station; is that correct, than in Topaz?

¥ea.

So the impact might be different there; is that true?

Pardon?

The impact might be different there at that station?

Yes.

All right. Now I want to have you look in the upper left-

hand corner. You’ll notice that there are shift numbers?

Yes.

Now they have a graveyard shift that is different than at

Yermo. It starts at 111:00 p.m. and ends 7:00 a.m.; is that

true?

Yes.

Now Mr. Boateng, if he had been at the Meyers station, he

could have worked on graveyard shift on [p.1173]

Saturday, could he not? He could have worked from

11:00 p.m. Saturday night to 7:00 a.m. Sunday morning; is

that true?

I don’t know. I don’t know when sundown is.

Well, Saturday night when his Sabbath stopped, could he

- not, at Meyers?

Yes.

And he could have worked at least second shift on Friday,

could he not, 7:00 a.m. to 300 p.m.? 3:00 p.m. would be

before sunset, would it not?

59a

Yes.

He could work every other day of the week, could he not?

Yes.

So he wouldn’t have to be off -- you wouldn’t have to

schedule him off weekend, would he?

AO & AD ~P

>

But Meyers was not a consideration.

Why not?

He didn’t request for Meyers. I mean, Yermo was the

station.

> ££

Yermo was the station because of what?

That’s where he --

That’s where he was assigned?

I’m not sure at that time if there was a vacancy at Meyers.

. 1174]

Well, do you know if anybody looked to see if there were

any other stations he could have gone to?

Ome &» A Pe A

I was not in the program at that time.

So you don’t know the answer?

No, I don’t.

So the only thing you looked at was Yermo?

For these charts, yes.

OO & DH F&A P

Well, did you look at anything other than Yermo for any

reason other than the chart for Mr. Boateng?

>

I was not in the program at that --

So the answer is --

Q

» ££

>

-- time.

The only thing you did is look at the chart on the basis of

Yermo and that’s all this was done for?

An illustration that I was involved in, yes.

Now going back to your chart then, what if Mr. Boateng

said “I’d be willing to work the graveyard shift starting at

12:00 midnight on a Sunday morning to 8:00 a.m., and I'll

be willing to work the short shift; Ill take the eight hours

off.” That’s permissible, isn’t it? You can have an eight-

hour time span when the man’s off and have him back

again, can you not?

Yeah.

What if he said “I’ll do that as often as it’s [p. 1175]

necessary”? Would that have any kind of an impact if he

would have worked so that he’d work two shifts on

Sunday? Would that have any effect on your charting the

thing out?

Scheduling of one employee impacts other employees.

The question is, would it have had a lesser impact had he

been willing to do that?

If you’re talking about for --

And I didn’t say every Sunday, I said whenever necessary.

If your talking about doing that you cannot answer that

question without really looking at it and figuring it out.

So you don’t know the answer to this question?

Not off-hand, no.

What if Mr. Boateng was willing to trade with a person

who was scheduled to work on Sunday? Did you consider

trading?

6la

Not for this, no.

All right. And that would make it easier , would it not, if

the people did it by trade?

Of course.

** *k *

62a

APPENDIX F

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT ON APPEAL

VOLUME VI OF VI pp. 1191-1200

Martina Haleamau

Continued Cross Examination by Mr. Boothby

[p. 1191]

BY MR. BOOTHBY: Okay. Would you turn to [p. 1192]

Exhibit No. 24 and look at the May 1/May31 schedule.

A For 1982?

Q. For 1982.

A Is this the 5.uedule that you want me to look at?

Q

Yes. Now I have a problem because my May 1, 1982

schedule seems to start with May 1 a Saturday. Did you

use a 1982 calendar when you did this?

>

I also noticed that, too

Okay.

And I must say that this was done a long time ago. Some

of the facts, I don’t recall them all.

> 0

Q_ And in fact in May of 1992, there were actually ten

Saturdays and Sundays in the pay period, were there not,

instead of nine?

A In 1982?

Right.

That’s -- yes, that’s true.

> £0

* * KK

63a

[p. 1194]

Q

Now I'd like to have you, also looking on the May 1

schedule, tell me if --

[p. 1195]

THE COURT: That’s Exhibit 24?

MR BOOTHBY: Exhibit 24.

O - A &} A PY

Can you tell me if everyone there got a four-day weekend

off?

Do you want it limited to the inspectors?

Yes. I assume that’s what you’re limiting to, are you

not?

I’ll need a few minutes.

Well, let me have you look at the third from the bottom,

number 14.

Berder?

Yes.

Okay.

Now he didn’t get a four day weekend off, did he?

He got four days off in a row.

Well, no, but you said four-day weekend; isn’t that what

you were striving for?

That’s what we strive for, but if you notice here

sometimes you don’t have a four-day weekend off in a

row.

All right. But you had actually -- on this calendar you

actually had more Saturdays and Sundays than you did on

64a

yours. You should have had an easier time having

Sundays and Sundays off four days in a row, [p. 1196]

shouldn’t you?

But, sir, again, according to the schedule -- and again if

you look at May 1982 you had two supervisors on

vacation at the beginning of the month, and you had --

How about --

-- you had someone on vacation at the latter part of the

month, and so it’s considering availability.

How about Lozano?

Maria Lozano?

Did she have a four-day weekend off?

Maria Lozano, on the first Saturday/Sunday she had a

day off, the 1* and 2™.

Was it a four-day weekend?

You can consider it a four-day weekend off because after

that, after Saturday/Sunday she has Tuesday/Wednesday

off.

Let me ask you this, have you gone through all of the

calendars of Exhibit 24? And I suggest to you that every

one of them has somebody who didn’t get a four-day

weekend off. How would that be justified in light of the

fact that you testified that this is what’s done basically at

all the stations?

MR. GETZ: Objection; it mischaracterizes the testimony .

I think she testified the ideal is to try to [p. 1197] give

everybody a four-day weekend, not that it was absolutely

done.

65a

THE COURT: Well, she can answer the question. Will

you restate it, please?

MR. BOOTHBY: Sure.

Q

Q

My understanding is your testimony is that what you did

on this chart is what you knew was done at all the

stations, including Yermo, and I’m suggesting to you,

and I can take -- if I could take the time, I would do it --

I would suggest to you that on every month somebody

doesn’t get a full weekend off, and on every month there

are several people that get more than a full weekend off

plus two extra days. In other words, there are people

getting four-day weekends, other people are not getting

four-day weekends, and some people are consistently in

that pattern. And my question is why is that?

We strive to always give everybody a four-day weekend

off. Now you’re talking about 1982, okay, and we strive

to give everybody at least four or five days off in a row.

Weekends are preferable if you can do it. If a person did

not get it for that month, then definitely the following

would strive to have that person have a day off -- have a

weekend off. And to do that, you have to look at the

month above and the month [p. 1198] after. You have

three months that you’re looking at at one time.

So really you cannot judge it with a one-month calendar,

can you?

THE COURT: Judge what?

MR. BOOTHBY: Judge what is fair, what is appropriate and

what is normal.

Q

A Yes, when you’re making a schedule.

You have to look at more than one month , don’t you?

Q

A

Q

66a

Let me have you look at, for instance, March of ’83.

"83?

March of ’83.

THE COURT: That’s part of Exhibit 24?

MR. BOOTHBY: Exhibit 24, yes.

THE WITNESS: Okay.

Q

A

Q

A

Q

BY MR. BOOTHBY: Now does -- let’s look at Mr.

Tracy. Did he get a four-day weekend off?

He got a Friday/Saturday off. Now do you want me -- he

got four days in a row twice.

Yeah, but did he get a four-day weekend off?

Fe got a Saturday off with that.

Now on your chart you made sure that everybody had a

Saturday and Sunday off, did you not?

[p. 1199]

> O>fO >

We also spoke about ideal on that chart.

I understand. But my question is, did Mr. Tracy get a

four-day weekend off including Saturday and Sunday?

Not in March 1983.

How about Mr. McClane?

No, he did not, but --

How --

-- however, I think it qualifies a further response. I

didn’t know the situation of these two employees then.

I didn’t know if they had requested to have these specific

OF 0 - ©

>

>

>

> O - 0

67a

days off, So it’s very difficult for me to say -- answer that

question, truly, not knowing the situation.

How about Mr. McCormick?

No, he did not.

How about the next one, R.L. Daniels?

No, he did not.

Let’s look at the next month, and you said “well, you got

to look at more than one.” Look at Mr. Tracy again; did

he get a four-day weekend off?

What you don’t know is that at the end of the month --

Yes.

-- he is off. You don’t know if the following [p. 1200]

month --

Well, let’s look at the following month. It’s the next page.

No, he didn’t.

Well, he didn’t get it off two months in a row. How do

you explain that?

Sir, like I said, I cannot explain it not knowing the

Situation, not knowing what was happening with these

employees. I don’t know if they requested those specific

days off.

Oh, and if they request days off it makes a difference?

Yes, if you request a specific time off.

How about Mr. Daniels in April; did he get it off?

According to this, no.

* * *K

68a

APPENDIX G

DEFENDANT’S STATE OF CALIFORNIA

POST-TRIAL BRIEF

at p. 48

* * *k *

At no time has defendant suggested that the “morale” of the

Yermo station would inevitably suffer if plaintiff were

accommodated.

* * * *

69a

APPENDIX H

DEFENDANT’S STATE OF CALIFORNIA BRIEF

IN THE NINTH CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS

at p. 20, n. 18

At least one witness, Maria Lozano, testified that she also

was able to swap shifts on occasion to attend religious

services and meetings. (RT 433). Further, as plaintiff

admits, for 10 years, a Catholic lay minister was

accommodated for religious reasons until problems arose.

(RT 1057-1059; 951-95). Thus, the claim that all shift swaps

were for “secular reasons” is not substantiated by the record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — California v. Opuku-Boateng · 520 U.S. 1228 | Frix