Petition for Writ of Certiorari — THORN Americas, Inc. v. Fogie

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

oo Supreme Court, U.S.

et, FIL & D

\ \

J 961233 FEB 4199

No. 96-

Orcior OF jf CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1996

4

THORN Americas, Inc., (formerly known as

Rent-A-Center, Inc.), a Delaware corporation,

and THORN EMI North America Holdings, Inc.,

a Delaware corporation,

Petitioners,

VS.

Vickie Fogie, Joan Leonard and Angela Adams, on behalf

of themselves and all others similarly situated,

Respondents.

+

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

€

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

JANicE M. SyMCHYCH

Counsel Of Record

STEVEN J. WELLS

Peter W. CARTER

Dorsey & Wuitrney LLP

220 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

Telephone: 612-340-2600

SHANNON L. SPANGLER

SHOOK, Harpy & BAcOoN L.L.P.

1200 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

Telephone: 816-474-6550

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the imposition of civil liability in a

class action, with severe penal consequences for

already completed transactions, when those

transactions are only regarded as unlawful

because of a radical and unexpected change in

state law articulated for the first time in the case

at hand, violate the Due Process Clause, as Bouie

v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964), holds

that it does with regard to criminal penalties?

2. In light of this Court’s application of Due

Process principles to civil punitive damages in

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 116 S. Ct.

1589 (1996), did the court of appeals err in

applying a “more tolerant” vagueness test on

the ground that the punitive aspects of the state

usury statute impose only civil penalties, and

thus err in failing to hold that a radical and

unexpected construction of a statute renders the

statute as it existed prior to that interpretation

unconstitutionally vague?

li

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW

The parties to the appeal in the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit, whose judgment peti-

tioners request be reviewed, included petitioners THORN

Americas, Inc., and THORN EMI North America Hold-

ings, Inc., and respondents Vickie Fogie, Joan Leonard,

and Angela Adams.

Until August 1996, THORN Americas, Inc. was an

indirect, wholly owned subsidiary of THORN EMI North

America Holdings, Inc. THORN Americas, Inc. was a

direct, wholly owned subsidiary of TEUSA Holdings, Inc.

THORN North America Holdings, Inc. was also the direct

parent company of THORN EMI (USA), Inc. After August

1996, THORN EMI International BV, a Dutch holding

company, became the parent company of THORN Amer-

icas, Inc. THORN Americas, Inc. is the direct parent of

Advantage Companies, Inc., RAC USA, Inc., THORN

Rental Trading, Inc., a Delaware company, and is an

indirect parent of Remco America, Inc.

Se ees eee

“ a ee) eee

Rabe oes

Se ON ph aan RS a tated tl

eve Cn Ae alt is esaatlas Cw OK

en

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Se GB ey yo i

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS BELOW.. | ii

pe i iii

peo ee ae eee iv

hs ol Gi Gn Sd baad soos sev ahécueeae o 1

i oe aig dak Vid bids AAG 48d be dive 0s 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

ys 2

ameeeeee Goe ETA CAGE... occ ct ecco cees 2

A. The Facts Material To This Court’s Consider-

ation Of The Questions Presented ........... 4

B. Minnesota Law At The Time The Rent-To-Own

Transactions Were Entered Into .............. 5

C. The Unforeseeable Change In The Law ...... 9

eee 11

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 14

I. THE RULE ARTICULATED IN BOUIE

SHOULD BE APPLIED TO THE RADICAL

*.ND UNFORESEEABLE EXPANSION OF A

CIVIL STATUTE, PENAL IN NATURE....... 15

II. THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHETHER A

VAGUENESS CHALLENGE TO A STATUTE

INVOLVING SEVERE CIVIL PENALTIES

REQUIRES SOMETHING MORE THAN A

MERELY “TOLERANT” REVIEW............. 22

I eel y cums cccscuccnusecccrcaccoces 27

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASEs:

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 116 S. Ct. 1589

2) | RP ree oy ree erp rey ere oer Le passim

Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964).... passim

Citizen's Nat'l Bank v. Taylor, 368 N.W.2d 913

CER: Te os 5 bes cs cw wks ee ee oan 6

Diebold, Inc. v. Marshall, 585 F.2d 1327 (6th Cir.

ROTI. 6 ki Pais sdinn Sie § CE ea ee ae 26

Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn

i. MVEPEEUPETE AEE LTE eer er passim

Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 867 F. Supp. 1398 (D.

PIU. FO vas be pb od eee ceed One hE eae eae ok ees 1

Fogie v. THORN Americas, Inc., 95 F.3d 645 (8th Cir.

BOGE v0 scene tn tien veg tan era nemesase seaea ine passim

Gates & Fox Co. v. OSHRC, 790 F.2d 154 (D.C. Cir.

| en Ps rer rie nr ASN 26

General Electric Co. v. EPA, 53 F.3d 1324 (D.C. Cir.

| Perr eee ee eens Pe a eee ee

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 501 U.S. 1030 (1991) ..23, 24

Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104 (1972) ...23, 25

Harper v. Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 113 S. Ct. 2510

CROSS osc eV PS 6 BAG Ss RETO AG i era es 15

Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp. v. Bonjorno, 494

UB. Ge Heed + ols < See R hice he oc eerie esta eee ss 14

Kropp Forge Co. v. Secretary of Labor, 657 F.2d 119

(FR Sie, FORD). ck cv cnads Has cdgavansseae ees 26

Linne v. Ronkainen, 37 N.W.2d 237 (Minn. 1949) ...... 6

ee

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. 188 es eee 14, 16

Miller v. Colortyme, Inc., 504 N.W.2d 258 (Minn. Ct.

PP TEs 465 9558 sp VS ee °, 10, 19

Miller v. Colortyme, Inc., 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn.

PEPE i taweiwye vcvgux Gunite acis Osan aioe 4. 2

Mohr v. Minnesota Elevator Co., 41 N.W. 1074

memes BLL Ler ee 8

Munson v. Orrin E. Thompson Homes, Inc., 395 F.

OOP 08, Mi, WIG. ks ok 8

Rathbun v. W.T. Grant Co., 219 N.W.2d 641 (Minn.

oy | Rees is EVES DU Vee wis ves euhiereh canoe. Etc: 6

Schauman v. Solmica Midwest, Inc., 168 N.W.2d 667

. sniaaen setcnan REE CE ee ae 6

United Realty Trust v. Property Development &

Research Co., 269 N.W.2d 737 (Minn. 1978) ...... 6, 17

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489 7. Reh tip 17, 24, 25

Walter E. Heller & Co. v Warner, 163 N.W.2d 573

PN SOM Sect cumsate a cei vate eee 6

Unrtep States ConstiTuTION:

Due Process Clauses, U.S. Const. amend. V, XIV ..... 2

Ex Post Facto Clauses, U.S. Const. art. I, §§ 9,10....14

Unrtep States Statutes:

saidincs ait Piecing OEE eT RP TEs 1

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

MINNESOTA STATUTES: .

Dlinss. Shut: G6 SIMBIOS... 5855s oocccennecbuces 23

es. Se. | peerage ee 2, 3, 7, 19, 24

Minn. Stak: B DSO: cae eks cae clues sec yaen 2, 3, 7, 19 |

Minn, Stat. $6 325F.S7-.68.............sscceeeee 7,9, 19 )

Minn. Stat. $6 S25F.09-90.........000++onsnsnensacs 3,7

Wilt, Stat. 0 Fess ho dss oc scivnaws onesaueewss y > eh

bien: Gut: 6 SSG. 6c Rae 2, 11

Mian. Stet: GE GORGES «5 0 ben eee eerie 2, 6

liens. SONG. BE TRS aa ecncess vesvsateecweaewttas 2, 6, 9

iin: Stet, 0 OEMS Co. kw de dv ak aces 2, 6, 12, 18, 24 |

OTHER: |

Hearings on S.1499 Before the Senate Commerce

Comm., Tape 1 at 3 (March 1, 1990) (staternent

of Senator Dahl, author of bill) ..........cccccecees 7

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners THORN Americas, Inc. (“THORN Amer-

icas”) and THORN EMI North America Holdings, Inc.

respectfully petition that a Writ of Certiorari issue to

review the September 6, 1996 decision of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.

- 6

OPINIONS BELOW

The court of appeals’ decision (App. A), dated Sep-

tember 6, 1996, is reported at 95 F.3d 645 (8th Cir. 1996).

The district court’s September 28, 1995 Memorandum and

Order (App. B) is not reported. A related opinion of the

Minnesota Supreme Court (App. D) that answered two

certified questions from the district court is reported at

Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn. 1994).

The district court opinion certifying the class is reported

at Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 867 F. Supp. 1398 (D. Minn.

1993).

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals’ decision of which review is

sought was rendered in an opinion filed on September 6,

1996 (App. A). The court of appeals denied a timely

petition for rehearing on November 6, 1996 (App. C). This

Court has jurisdiction to review the judgment of the court

of appeals by writ of certiorari pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment of the United States Constitu-

tion provides in pertinent part:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty,

or property, without due process of law.

Section I of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United

States Constitution provides in pertinent part:

No State shall . . . deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law.

The Minnesota Rental-Purchase Agreement Act,

Minn. Stat. §§ 325F.84-.98, is reproduced in full in Appen-

dix E.

The pertinent Minnesota usury statutes, Minn. Stat.

§§ 334.01-.05, are reproduced in Appendix F.

The Minnesota Consumer Credit Sales Act, Minn.

Stat. §§ 325G.15-.16, is reproduced in full in Appendix G.

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

It is deeply embedded in our Constitution that nei-

ther a legislature nor a court can retroactively impose

criminal punishment. The imposition of civil liability

without sufficient notice raises the same constitutional

concerns when such liability gives rise to egregious pen-

alties that equate to a quasi-criminal sanction. Due pro-

cess requires fair notice of all penal judgments, whether

due to criminal or civil liability, before they are imposed.

This case presents the important issue of whether a judi-

cial retroactive application of a radical and unexpected

change in the law, that deems thousands of completed

transactions unlawful (resulting in civil penalties respon-

dents estimate in the tens of millions of dollars) also

violates due process principles.

The law of usury had remained unchanged in Minne-

sota for 100 years. In reliance on that well-established

precedent, THORN Americas built its rental-purchase

business and, through its Rent-A-Center stores, entered

into rental-purchase agreements with thousands of cus-

tomers. Each of those agreements fully complied with the

Rental-Purchase Agreement Act (“Rental-Purchase Act”)

- a comprehensive state statute regulating rental-pur-

chase transactions. Minn. Stat. §§ 325F.84-.98 (App. £).

Responding to certified questions put to it by the district

court in this case, the Minnesota Supreme Court dramati-

cally altered the law and declared for the first time that

rental-purchase agreements were credit sales. The state

court also held that two of the four essential elements of

usury would be eliminated for rental-purchase transac-

tions, thus subjecting rental-purchase transactions to

severe penalties that voided the already completed trans-

actions ab initio. Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 518 N.W.2d

544 (Minn. 1994) (App. 44-45) and Miller v. Colortyme, 518

N.W.2d 544 (Minn. 1994) (App. 45-62) (“Colortyme/Fogie”).

Despite the unforeseeable nature of the state court’s pro-

found alteration of the law, the court of appeals affirmed

the district court’s retroactive application of this expan-

sion of the usury statute to thousands of already com-

pleted rental-purchase transactions. The retroactive

application of this radical change in the law, and the.

accompanying severe, and totally unexpected, civil penal-

ties, violated THORN Americas’ due process rights.

A. The Facts Material To This Court’s Consider-

ation Of The Questions Presented

THORN Americas owns rental-purchase stores across

the country that operate under the trade name Rent-

A-Center. Eight of its approximately 1,400 stores are

located in the State of Minnesota. C.A. App. at 63.' These

stores offer quality, name-brand household goods such as

furniture, appliances, televisions and camcorders for rent

through rental-purchase agreements. A rental-purchase

agreement is an agreement that may be renewed by the

customer after its initial term; it also allows, but does not

require, the customer to pui chase the property. C.A. App.

at 40-51, 63-66.

The initial term of each rental-purchase agreement is

either a month or a week, and rent for that term is paid in

advance. Id. Nothing is paid beyond the initial payment

for that rental term, and no commitment is made to make

future payments. Id. At the end of each week or month

the customer has the option to renew the agreement for

an additional term. Id. A customer does not undergo a’

credit check, does not pledge any collateral, does not

need to leave a deposit, and has no future obligation

beyond the initial one week or one month term. C.A.

App. at 63-66. This makes goods available to persons who

find the flexibility of the transaction appealing or who are

otherwise unable to pay full price or obtain credit. Under

the law as it existed prior to the Minnesota Supreme

Court’s answer to the questions certified by the district

1 C.A. App. refers to the appendix submitted to the court of

appeals with appellants’ (now petitioners) brief.

court, no loan was made to the customer, no credit oblig-

ation was created, and certainly no loan agreement was

intended. See App. E, F, G.

A customer who so chooses can purchase items avail-

able in Rent-A-Center stores in three different ways. First,

a customer can simply purchase the item for cash, in

which case no rental-purchase agreement is entered into

at all. C.A. App. at 63-66. Second, if a customer does enter

a rental-purchase agreement, he or she may purchase the

item by renewing the agreement a specified number of

times, as determined by and disclosed in the agreement.

Id. Third, under an early purchase option, a customer can

pay 55% of the remaining renewal payments otherwise

necessary to acquire ownership. Id. At no time, however,

are customers ever required to renew their agreements or

to purchase the property. C.A. App. at 40-51, 63-66. In

fact, fewer than 30% of agreements result in purchase of

the property by the renter. C.A. App. at 78.

B. Minnesota Law At The Time The Rent-To-Own

Transactions Were Entered Into

This class action was brought by respondents on

behalf of all persons in Minnesota who entered into

rental-purchase agreements since August 1, 1990.2? Prior

to the initiation of this action, no Minnesota court had

ever applied the usury statute to rental-purchase agree-

ments. The essential elements of Minnesota usury law

2 The federal district court had subject matter jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1331, 1367.

had remained unchanged for over 100 years. Minn. Stat.

§§ 334.01-.05 at App. 80-83. Minnesota courts had consis-

tently held that the usury statute required a party to

prove each of the following four elements: 1) a loan of

money or forbearance of debt; 2) an agreement that the

principal shall be repayable absolutely; 3) the exaction of

a greater amount of interest than allowed by law; and 4)

the presence of an intent to evade the law at the inception

of the transaction. Citizen’s Nat'l Bank v. Taylor, 368

N.W.2d 913, 918 (Minn. 1985); Rathbun v. W.T. Grant Co.,

219 N.W.2d 641, 646 (Minn. 1974).

usury statute is strictly construed due to its penal nature.

United Realty Trust v. Property Dev. & Research Co., 269

N.W.2d 737, 743 (Minn. 1978); Walter E. Heller & Co. v.

Warner, 163 N.W.2d 573, 577-78 (Minn. 1968). Consistent

with this requirement, transactions that did not meet each

of the four usury elements were not usurious. See, e.g., |

Schauman v. Solmica Midwest, Inc., 168 N.W.2d 667, 672-73

(Minn. 1969); Walter E. Heller & Co., 163 N.W.2d at 578; |

Linne v. Ronkainen, 37 N.W.2d 237, 239-40 (Minn. 1949).

Furthermore, the usury law itself specifically provided

that its remedies did not apply to “such instruments |

which are taken or received in accordance with and in |

reliance upon the provisions of any statute.” Minn. Stat.

§ 334.03 at App. 82.

On August 1, 1990, the Rental-Purchase Act, a com-

prehensive series of statutes regulating the Minnesota

rental-purchase industry, went into effect. August 1, 1990,

is also the starting date of the class certified by the

district court. The legislative history of that act described

it as the “strongest consumer protection that is available

iiiiiiaiaiiiiiill

|

A long line of Minnesota cases has held that the

anywhere in the nation to people who buy through the

rent-to-own process and .. . will end up being used as a

model for other states.” Senate Commerce Committee

Hearing, 3/1/90, Tape 1 at 3. The Rental-Purchase Act

governs virtually every aspect of rental-purchase agree-

ments. It has stringent, wide-ranging disclosure require-

ments, compelling a lessor to disclose a laundry list of

information, including: 1) the total payments necessary to

obtain ownership; 2) the difference between the amount

necessary to purchase the merchandise through the

agreement renewal method and the cash price; 3) any

charges in addition to the rental rate; and 4) various

consumer rights under state law. Minn. Stat. § 325F.86 at

App. 64-66. The Rental-Purchase Act mandates the type

size of the rental-purchase agreement, determines when

the disclosures must be made, and regulates the advertis-

ing of rental-purchase agreements. See Minn. Stat.

§§ 325F.87-.88 at App. 67-69. The Rental-Purchase Act

also defines what constitutes default of the agreement,

states the customer’s reinstatement rights upon default,

and prescribes what charges are appropriate as reinstate-

ment and redelivery fees. Minn. Stat. §§ 325F.89-.90 at

App. 69-72. Most importantly, § 325F.85 of the Rental-

Purchase Act expressly provides that if the Act conflicts

with the Consumer Credit Sales Act, the Rental-Purchase

Act governs. THORN Americas fully complied with the

Rental-Purchase Act. App. E.

Until the Colortyme/Fogie decision in this case, the

Consumer Credit Sales Act (“Credit Sales Act”) only reg-

ulated agreements that involved the lessor granting credit

to a customer. Minn. Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 2(a) at App.

84. Enacted in 1971, the Credit Sales Act imposed rela-

tively minor restrictions on consumer credit retail trans-

actions. In 1981, the Credit Sales Act was amended to

include certain terminable leases in its definition of the

term “sale of goods,” but only where credit is provided.

Minn. Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5 at App. 85. Under the

Credit Sales Act, a “consumer credit sale” is defined as:

“a sale of goods or services in which (a) credit is granted

by a seller who regularly engages as a seller in credit

transactions of the same kind.” Minn. Stat. § 325G.15,

subd. 2(a). At App. 84. Under age-old Minnesota law,

credit is not extended unless there exists an underlying

debt and an obligation to make full and complete pay-

ment. Mohr v. Minnesota Elevator Co., 41 N.W. 1074, 1076

(Minn. 1889); accord Munson v. Orrin E. Thompson Homes,

Inc., 395 F. Supp. 152, 157 (D. Minn. 1974). The Credit

Sales Act does not incorporate or even make reference to

the usury statute. Nor does the text of the Credit Sales

Act suggest that the Legislature meant to alter, amend, or

affect the usury statute in any way.

Thus, prior to the Colortyme/Fogie ruling in this case,

because of the absence of a granting of credit, the Credit

Sales Act on its face simply did not apply to Rent-A-Cen-

ter’s rental-purchase agreements. The Rent-A-Center

rental-purchase agreements gave customers the uncondi-

tional option to walk away from the transaction, without

charge, after the end of the initial one week or one month

term, or indeed after any individual renewal of the agree-

ment. In reliance on the well-established elements of

Minnesota usury law and the then newly-enacted com-

prehensive Rental-Purchase Act, THORN Americas orga-

nized its business practices precisely to comply with state

law and avoid any question of whether credit was being

ee

extended. Through its Rent-A-Center stores, THORN

Americas entered into thousands of rental-purchase

agreements in the State of Minnesota. The Rent-A-Center

agreements fully complied with the extensive require-

ments of the Rental-Purchase Act. The agreements made

all the required disclosures. See Minn. Stat. § 325F.88,

subd. 2(a) at App. 68. Not only did the agreements fully

comply with the Rental-Purchase Act, but they disclosed

to customers, as a central term, the key distinguishing

feature between a rental-purchase agreement and a con-

sumer credit sale - namely, that the customer had abso-

lutely no obligation to renew the agreement after the

initial week or month. Thus no “credit was granted”

because absent an obligation to renew no debt existed.

C. The Unforeseeable Change In The Law

In Miller v. Colortyme, Inc., 504 N.W.2d 258 (Minn. Ct.

App. 1993), a panel of the Minnesota Court of Appeals

unanimously held that rental-purchase agreements were

not subject to the Credit Sales Act and the usury statutes.

In 1994 the Minnesota Supreme Court granted review.

Apparently because the same issue was dispositive in this

case, the district court granted respondents’ motion to

certify the following two questions to the Minnesota

Supreme Court: 1) Are rent-to-own contracts consumer

credit sales under Minn. Stat. § 325G.15? 2) Does the

usury statute, Minn. Stat. § 334.01, apply to rent-to-own

contracts?

On June 24, 1995, the Minnesota Supreme Court both

answered the questions certified to it in this case in the

affirmative and reversed the Colortyme decision of the

10

Minnesota Court of Appeals. It affirmatively answered

the certified questions for the reasons explained in its

simultaneously issued decision in Colortyme. 518 N.W.2d

at 544 at App. 44-45.

In its opinion, the Minnesota Supreme Court dras-

tically expanded the Credit Sales Act and the penal usury

statute to apply to transactions they had never before

reached, and completely discounted the fact that rental-

purchase agreements fully complied with the Rental-Pur-

chase Act - all in a manner totally unforeseeable to

THORN Americas and to any party engaging in the rent-

to-own business. The plaintiffs in Colortyme alleged that

the rental-purchase agreements they entered into were

subject to the Credit Sales Act and the usury statute. 518

N.W.2d at 547 at App. 49-51. The court acknowledged

that at common law a rental-purchase agreement was not

a sale because “a buyer is not bound to pay the total

purchase price.” Id. The court correctly observed that

certain terminable leases were considered a “sale of

goods” under the Credit Sales Act. The court, however,

rendered meaningless the essential Credit Sales Act

requirement that the sale of goods be one “in which

credit is granted,” by simply declaring that “sales are

ordinarily regarded as ‘credit sales’ where a buyer

acquires possession but is allowed to defer full payment.”

Id. at 548 at App. 53. With this observation, the court

transformed rental-purchase agreements that did not

involve the granting of credit into the legal equivalent of

debt transactions, and, in effect, judicially repealed a

comprehensive set of statutes enacted in 1990 that regu-

lated the rental-purchase industry.

11

The Minnesota Supreme Court then created a previ-

ously nonexistent bridge between the Credit Sales Act

and the Minnesota usury statute by inserting language

into a provision of the Credit Sales Act. The court read

the term “credit” into the text of Minn. Stat. § 325G.16,

subd. 4. See 518 N.W.2d at 548 at App. 53. According to

the court, the Credit Sales Act, as newly construed, now

“defined” each and every rental-purchase agreement as a

“consumer credit sale for all purposes,” even though the

language of this provision actually reads “shall be

deemed a sale for all purposes.” Minn. Stat. § 325G.16,

subd. 4 at App. 87. What the legislature had defined as a

“sale for all purposes” was thus redefined by the court to

mean a “credit sale for all purposes.”

As a result, according to the court, despite the

absence of a loan or interest, the first two essential ele-

ments of usury — a loan of money or forbearance of debt

and an agreement that the principal shall be repaid -

were now met “by operation of statute.” Id. at 549 at App.

56. Thus, after Colortyme, the same rental-purchase agree-

ments that had fully complied with the Rental-Purchase

Act and that renters could terminate at any time were

suddenly redefined as credit transactions subject to penal

usury remedies.

D. The Decisions Below

Because no factual record had been provided to the

Minnesota Supreme Court with the certified questions,

the profound change in the Minnesota consumer protec-

tion statutes articulated in Colortyme/Fogie was applied in

this case for the first time by the district court in its

decision filed September 28, 1995. With no analysis, the

12

district court summarily concluded that, in light of Color-

tyme/Fogie, the rental-purchase agreements at issue here

were consumer credit sales. Applying the unforeseeable

change in the law articulated in Colortyme/Fogie, the dis-

trict court accepted the Minnesota Supreme Court's judi-

cial gloss of the Credit Sales Act that changed “sales for

all purposes” to “credit sales for all purposes.” THORN

Americas’ full compliance with the Rental-Purchase Act

was summarily rejected as a defense even though the

usury statute expressly provides to the contrary. Minn.

Stat. § 334.03 at App. 82-83.

Without regard to the well-recognized penal nature

of the usury law and the unforeseeable nature of the

radical change in the law, the district court rejected

THORN Americas’ constitutional due process challenges

to the retroactive application of the new rule to the thou-

sands of completed events at issue here, by applying the

less strict vagueness test and by deciding that the Color-

tyme/Fogie decision did not represent a change in the law.

As a remedy for the violation of the penal usury statute,

the court voided all of the thousands of rental-purchase

agreements completed since 1990 and subjected THORN

Americas to liability that respondents estimate at more

than $30 million, in essence undoing all of the business

that THORN Americas had engaged in from August 1990

forward.

The court of appeals affirmed. The court of appeals

acknowledged the “punitive aspects” of the usury stat-

ute, but concluded that because the statute imposed only

civil remedies “the broader, more tolerant test of vague-

ness is required here.” 95 F.3d at 650 at App. 10. Applying

this test, the court of appeals reiterated the Minnesota

ee

13

Supreme Court’s tortured analysis that rendered the

credit requirement of the Credit Sales Act meaningless.

Even though the Minnesota Supreme Court had created a

never-before existing link between the Credit Sales Act

and the usury statute that eliminated two of the essential

elements of the previously strictly-construed usury stat-

ute, the court of appeals concluded that “[t]hese statutory

provisions give sufficient notice to those engaged in the

rent-to-own industry that their rental purchase contracts

fall within the [Credit Sales Act] and are subject to usury

laws.” 95 F.3d at 650 at App. 11. The court of appeals did

not address THORN Americas’ full compliance with the

Rental-Purchase Act.

The court of appeals rejected THORN Americas’

argument that the retroactive application of the expanded

penal usury statute operated like an ex post facto law in

violation of THORN Americas’ due process rights.

Assuming that the usury statute was penal in nature, the

court of appeals discussed the rule announced in Bouie v.

City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964), but, despite the

radical transformation of the law, concluded that Bouie

did not apply here. The court of appeals reasoned:

The [Colortyme] decision did not change the ele-

ments of a usury claim. It is a judicial interpreta-

tion of the statutory scheme that existed long

before the present contracts were made. The

judicial construction . . . is not “unexpected or

indefensible by reference to” the statutory

framework already in place. On the contrary, the

judicial construction is reasonable and foresee-

me

14

95 F.3d at 650 at App. 13. A timely petition for rehearing

was denied. App. C.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The retroactive application of an unforeseeable and

radical interpretation of state law, changing century old

precedent and imposing usury liability in the absence of a

debt, violates fundamental concepts of due process. The

Constitution disfavors the retroactive application of

changes in the law, whether by legislatures or by courts.

The constitutional hostility towards retroactive lawmak-

ing increases as the punitive character of the law becomes

more clear. For example, the Ex Post Facto Clauses, U.S.

Const. art. I, §§ 9, 10, create a nearly absolute ban on

retroactive penal legislation, and the Due Process Clauses

of the Fifth and Fourteenth Amendments prohibit retro-

active judicial enlargement of obligations imposed by the

criminal law. See, e.g., Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

347 (1964); Marks v. United States, 430 U.S. i188 (1977).

Consistent with the Constitution’s abhorrence of retroac-

tive application of unforeseeable changes in law, the Con-

stitution also demands that notice be given of conduct

that will subject one to punishment, whether it be civil or

criminal. BMW of North Am., Inc. v. Gore, 116 S. Ct. 1589,

1598 n.22 (1996). Indeed, “[t]he principle that the legal

effect of conduct should ordinarily be assessed under the

law that existed when the conduct took place has timeless

and universal appeal.” Kaiser Aluminum & Chem. Corp. v.

Bonjorno, 494 U.S. 827, 855 (1990) (Scalia, J., concurring).

The imposition of liability against THORN Americas vio-

lated all of these constitutional fundamentals.

15

The Court should grant the writ because this case

presents the fundamental and important question, sug-

gested in Bouie, of whether it violates the Due Process

Clause for a court in a civil case to apply retroactively a

completely unforeseeable change in law, in a manner that

imposes a remedy penal in nature in the very case in

which the change in law is announced.® This case also

gives the Court the opportunity to clarify the appropriate

standard for determining whether a civil statute with

penal consequences is unconstitutionally vague. Review

is warranted because the decision of the court of appeals

conflicts with the basic constitutional principle that a

party cannot be retroactively subjected to enormous and

devastating penalties for engaging in conduct that no

person could reasonably have known would result in any

sanctions at all.

I. THE RULE ARTICULATED IN BOUIE SHOULD BE

APPLIED TO THE RADICAL AND UNFORESEE-

ABLE EXPANSION OF A CIVIL STATUTE, PENAL

IN NATURE

Just this past term, the Court in BMW v. Gore held

that due process mandates that parties be afforded fair

notice prior to the imposition of substantial civil penalties

because “[e]lementary notions of fairness enshrined in

our constitutional jurisprudence dictate that a person

3 This case thus does not involve the choice-of-law

retroactivity at issue in Harper v. Virginia Dep’t of Taxation, 113 S.

Ct. 2510 (1993).

16

receive fair notice not only of the conduct that will sub-

ject him to punishment but also of the severity of pen-

alty.” 116 S. Ct. at 1598. The deprivation of the right to

fair notice guaranteed by the Constitution can “result not

only from vague statutory language but also from an

unforeseeable and retroactive judicial expansion of nar-

row and precise statutory language.” Bouie, 378 U.S. at

352. In Bouie, this Court considered the unexpected

broadening of a criminal statute that was “definite and

precise” on its face. Id. The Court concluded that the

unforeseeable expansion of such a statute by a court

“operates precisely like an ex post facto law,” and violates

an individual’s due process rights. Id. According to the

Court:

If a judicial construction of a criminal statute is

“unexpected and indefensible by reference to

the law which had been expressed prior to the

conduct in issue,” it must not be given retroac-

tive effect.

Bouie, 378 U.S. at 354; see also Marks v. United States, 430

U.S. 188, 191-96 (1977).

The Court should apply Bouie to this case. Here the

court applied retroactively an unexpected and unforesee-

able change in state law, penal in nature, virtually elim-

inating an entire industry in the State of Minnesota. The

September 28, 1995 decision of the district court voided

thousands of rental-purchase agreements ab initio,

enjoined THORN Americas from engaging in the rental-

purchase business (a business specifically authorized and

regulated by the Rental-Purchase Act), stripped THORN

Americas of its ownership interests in the property that

its customers had been renting, and subjected THORN

17

Americas to penal consequences estimated by respon-

dents to be approximately $30 million. In light of these

harsh consequences, the characterization by Minnesota

courts that the usury statute is “penal in nature” is an

understatement. See United Realty Trust v. Property Dev. &

Research Co., 269 N.W.2d 737, 742 (Minn. 1978). If Bouie

applies to any civil case, this case is the exemplar. Not

only was the application of the change in the law com-

pletely unforeseeable, but THORN Americas had orga-

nized its business around a comprehensive set of statutes

enacted to regulate the rent-to-own industry. This situa-

tion will stand as a clear exposition of when Bouie can

apply outside the criminal context.

The “unexpected and indefensible” nature of the

change in the law in this case is even more compelling

than the change in the law that the Bouie Court found so

repugnant. In the legal framework that existed at the

time, no reasonable person could have foreseen the Min-

nesota Supreme Court's tortured and result-driven inter-

pretation of the Credit Sales Act and the usury statutes.

Not surprisingly, in 1984, six years before enactment of

the Rental-Purchase Act, counsel for Rent-A-Center’s

franchisee reviewed the law and specifically concluded

that the Credit Sales Act did not apply to the rental-

purchase agreements — a conclusion only bolstered by the

4 Application of Bouie to the case at hand is not only

compelled by the penal nature of the usury statute, it is

consistent with this Court’s due process review of other quasi-

criminal statutes. See Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside,

Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498-99 (1982) (assumption

that quasi-criminal law warrants a relatively strict test); cf. BMW

of North Am., Inc. v. Gore, 116 S. Ct. 1589, 1598 n.22 (1996).

18

later enactment of the Rental-Purchase Act.5 THORN

Americas had relied on well-established precedent that

the usury statute, due to its penal nature, was strictly

construed and that each of its four elements had to be

met. THORN Americas could not have known that two of

the essential elements would be suspended “by operation

of” a totally unrelated statute. The usury statute also

expressly provides that all usurious contracts are void

except “such instruments which are taken or received in

accordance with and in reliance upon the provisions of

any statute... .” Minn. Stat. § 334.03 at App. 82. This

clear exception to the usury statute remedy makes the

sudden application to rental-purchase agreements even

more surprising, due to THORN Americas’ full compli-

ance with the Rental-Purchase Act.

The “definite and precise” terms of the Credit Sales

Act were not only given judicial gloss, as in Bouie, but the

state court actually read a new term into the statute — a

5 Rent-A-Center had also made a general acknowledgment

in its 1983 prospectus that: “if these laws [credit sales laws]

were found to be applicable to the Company’s rental

agreements, the rental payments made to the Co.npany may not

come within the applicable state interest rate and finance charge

limitations.” This acknowledgment was made seven years

before the enactment of the Rental-Purchase Act and did not

specify Minnesota law. Moreover, as noted above, one year later

legal counsel, after considering Minnesota law, expressly

concluded that under Minnesota law the rental-purchase

agreements were not credit transactions. Finally, as the Court in

Bouie observed: “The determination whether a criminal statute

provides fair warning of its prohibitions must be made on the

basis of the statute itself and the other pertinent law, rather than

on the basis of an ad hoc appraisal of the subjective expectations

of particular defendants.” 378 U.S. at 355 n.5.

19

term that created an unprecedented link to the usury law.

Such judicial blue penciling was not only unexpected

(due to its elimination of the need to prove the essential

elements of a penal statute that had traditionally been

strictly construed), but also was simply impossible to

predict. Nor was it foreseeable that the state court would

render the credit requirement of the Credit Sales Act

meaningless. Indeed, a panel of the Minnesota Court of

Appeals in Colortyme had rejected out-of-hand the exten-

sion of the Credit Sales Act to rental-purchase agreements

sought by the plaintiffs precisely because no credit was

granted to the rent-to-own customers. Miller v. Colortyme

Inc., 504 N.W.2d 258 (Minn. Ct. App. 1993). The Minne-

sota Supreme Court’s interpretation of the Credit Sales

Act completely disregarded the plain language of the

statute, had no support in the legislative history, and was

contrary to the law defining credit transactions. This

amounted to pure judicial activism that even the most

vigilant lookout could not have foreseen.

THORN Americas’ full compliance with the Rental-

Purchase Act makes the Minnesota Supreme Court’s anal-

ysis even more shocking. The Rental-Purchase Act

expressly states that if it conflicts with the Credit Sales

Act, the Rental-Purchase Act controls. Minn. Stat.

§ 325F.85 at App. 64. Under the Rental-Purchase Act, the

transactions are defined as leases, not credit sales, and a

lessor is required to disclose the leases as “rental-

purchase agreement{s].” Minn. Stat. § 325F.86 at App. 64;

§ 325F.88, subd. 1 at App. 68. Under the new interpreta-

tion of the Credit Sales Act the transaction must be dis-

closed as a credit sale. Also under the Rental-Purchase

Act the lessor owns the property, while under the Credit

20

Sales Act the lessee does. The state court’s failure to

recognize the conflicts between the statutes and to defer

to the Rental-Purchase Act was in direct contravention of

the plain language of the Rental-Purchase Act. The end

result is that the Rental-Purchase Act has been repealed

by judicial fiat because under Minnesota law after Color-

tyme/Fogie such agreements are, in effect, unlawful.

Indeed, under the Colortyme/Fogie decision, Minnesota

lawmakers had (unbeknownst to them) legislated the

rental-purchase industry out of existence in 1981 when

they amended the Credit Sales Act — nine years before the

same legislature enacted the comprehensive Rental-

Purchase Act to govern that industry. Not even a clair-

voyant person could have foreseen the tortured path that

led to this sudden and unusual end to the rental-purchase

industry in Minnesota.

The court of appeals utterly failed to apply the

important due process principles underlying Bouie.

Instead, it simply concluded that the state court deter-

mination was not a change in the law but merely “a

judicial interpretation of the statutory scheme.” 95 F.3d at

650 at App. 13. This characterization, however, could be

used to excuse any judicial expansion of a statute, includ-

ing the one at issue in Bouie. Contrary to the court of

appeals’ analysis, the “judicial interpretation” here, as

demonstrated above, worked a completely unexpected

and unforeseeable change in the law in light of the plain

language of all the applicable statutes and prior judicial

interpretation. If this change had occurred in a criminal

statute, the due process principles of Bouie would plainly

have required that it not be retroactively applied. This

case thus presents the Court with the opportunity to

21

make clear that the principles of Bouie also apply as well

to the retroactive application of changes in civil laws

when the consequences are penal in nature.

It is of course the business of Minnesota courts if

they wish to construe Minnesota law in an incorrect and

unreasonable manner, and that is not what petitioners

challenge. It is also presumably within Minnesota’s

power effectively to make it economically unfeasible to

engage in the rent-to-own industry in the future. The

federal court in this case is not empowered, however, to

apply retroactively the completely unforeseeable change

in law that occurred, because to do so would violate due

process. Thus, it is important to note that petitioners’

purpose in describing the tortured path of decision in the

state court is not to persuade this Court that the Minne-

sota Supreme Court erred in interpreting the Credit Sales

Act and usury statute, but instead to establish that no

reasonable person could have foreseen what happened in

the Minnesota Supreme Court. It is the federal court's

retroactive application of this unforeseeable, radical

change in the law that constitutes a clear violation of due

process and provides this Court with the opportunity to

make clear that the principles of Bouie apply to outra-

geous, retroactive applications of the law in the civil

context as well.

This Court needs to make explicit that which is

already implicit in the developing body of due process

case law — namely, that due process requires fair notice of

all severe, penal judgments, whether due to criminal or

civil liability, before they are imposed. The absence of an

explicit case precedent on this point leaves the risk of

fundamentally unjust deprivations of due process

22

through the exaction of unnoticed civil penalties. The

Court can fill this gap now. The Court should grant the

petition to clarify the constitutional limits on retroactive

applications of law that result in severe civil penal judg-

ments without prior notice, for events that occurred

under a different legal regime.

II. THIS COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHETHER A

VAGUENESS CHALLENGE TO A STATUTE

INVOLVING SEVERE CIVIL PENALTIES

REQUIRES SOMETHING MORE THAN A

MERELY “TOLERANT” REVIEW

As argued above, it was a violation of due process to

apply the severe civil penalty provisions of state usury

law to already-completed transactions when those trans-

actions are only regarded as unlawful because of a radical

and unexpected change in state law articulated for the

first time in the case at hand. The court of appeals

improperly dodged application of the due process princi-

ples articulated in Bouie to civil penalties by holding that

the state law announcement here did not work a

“change” in the law, but rather was merely a “reasonable

and correct interpretation of the law.” 95 F.3d at 641 at

App. 13. As set forth above, that circumlocution does not

square with the state of the law prior to the decision here,

nor does it alleviate the Bouie problem. What it does do,

however, is create a related constitutional problem: If the

“interpretation” given the state law by the state supreme

court in answer to the certified questions here was not

“new,” but was merely the exposition of law that was

somehow latent within the words of the statutes, the

constitutional problem then becomes one of vagueness.

23

See, e.g., Gentile v. State Bar of Nev., 501 U.S. 1030, 1033-34,

1048 (1991) (state supreme court decision finding peti-

tioner in violation of rule despite rule’s safe harbor provi-

sion “raises concerns of vagueness” in that, given the

interpretation of the rule by the state supreme court in his

case, the “safe harbor provision . . . misled petitioner”).

The vagueness at issue is not with the law as it

existed following the new “interpretation” by the state

supreme court; state law as it now stands is clear that the

Credit Sales Act obviates “by operation of statute” the

need to prove two elements of the usury law. The vague-

ness problem is with the law as it existed before that

“interpretation.” As shown above, the Credit Sales Act

does not refer to the usury laws. Before the new “inter-

pretation,” there was no connection between them, and a

person of ordinary intelligence did not have a reasonable

opportunity to know what was prohibited and thus could

not conform his or her conduct accordingly. See Grayned v.

City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 108 (1972). Indeed, as also

shown above, a person who took the opportunity to

review the laws would have found not only the lack of

reference between the Credit Sales Act and the usury law,

but would also have found the usury law’s requirement

of four elements, the long history of strict construction of

the need to meet all four elements because of the law’s

penal character, and the separate and detailed regulation

of rent-to-own contracts by the Rental-Purchase Act,

which also does not reference the usury law and which

the contracts at issue do not violate.

In Gentile, the Court held that a state court rule was

void for vagueness because its “safe harbor provision”

misled the petitioner into thinking he could make certain

24

statements at a press conference without fear of disci-

pline. 501 U.S. at 1048. Similarly, provisions of the stat-

utes at issue in this case reasonably led petitioners to

believe that conformance with the Rental-Purchase Act

was a “safe harbor.” See Minn. Stat. § 325F.85 at App. 64

(if the Rental-Purchase Act conflicts with the Consumer

Credit Sales Act, the Rental-Purchase Act governs); Minn.

Stat. § 334.03 at App. 82 (excepting from the remedies

under the usury statute “such instruments which are

taken or received in accordance with and in reliance upon

the provisions of any statute”).

If the “interpretation” rendered by the state supreme

court was indeed latent within those laws, it was too

hidden for a person of ordinary intelligence to find. As a

result, one of the rationales for applying a “less strict

vagueness test” to economic regulation does not obtain

here. Cf. Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498 (1982) (“[E]conomic regula-

tion is subject to a less strict vagueness test because

businesses, which face economic demands to plan behav-

ior carefully, can be expected to consult relevant legisla-

tion in advance of action.”). Moreover, as in Gentile, the

statutes at issue here, due to their vagueness, create a

“trap for the wary as well as the unwary.” 501 U.S. at

1051. Rent-A-Center’s franchisee’s legal counsel opined

in 1984, after reviewing the law, that the Credit Sales Act

did not apply. See id. (“The fact that Gentile was found in

violation of the Rules after studying them and making a

conscious effort at compliance demonstrates that Rule 177

creates a trap for the wary as well as the unwary.”). Six

years later, after enactment of the Rental-Purchase Act,

the prospect that the usury laws applied became even

more remote.

25

Thus, if this new “interpretation” had been rendered

in a criminal context to hold petitioners criminally liable,

it would have been struck down as violating vagueness

principles under the rule of several decisions of this

Court. See, e.g., Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108 n.3 (collecting

cases). The court of appeals, however, refused to apply

the rule of those decisions because it understood Village of

Hoffman Estates, to “require” that a “more tolerant” test

for vagueness be applied here:

We reject RAC’s contention that the strict test

applicable to criminal statutes governs here. The

statutes implicated in this case are primarily

economic regulations which cover a narrow sub-

ject area and regulate the conduct of business

enterprises. The punitive aspects of the usury

statute impose only civil penalties. Under Village

of Hoffman, we conclude that the broader, more

tolerant test of vagueness is required here.

95 F.3d at 650 at App. 10.

In Village of Hoffman Estates, however, this Court was

not squarely confronted with a statute which imposed

severe civil penalties such as the tens of millions of

dollars respondents claim are at issue here. Nor did the

court of appeals take cognizance of this Court’s decision

© The ordinance at issue in Village of Hoffm»»: <states, which

required a license to sell certain “drug paraphernalia,” provided

for “civil” fines of from $10 to $500 per violation. 455 U.S. at 492.

The village conceded that the ordinance was “quasi-criminal,”

and that therefore a “relatively strict test” for vagueness may be

warranted. Id. at 499. The Court did not have to concern itself

further with the test “because, under the test appropriate to

either a quasi-criminal or a criminal law, the ordinance is

sufficiently clear as applied to Flipside.” Id. at 500.

26

in BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 116 S. Ct. 1589

(1996).” In Gore, this Court did have before it the “primar-

ily economic regulation” that substantial punitive dam-

ages exert over “the conduct of business enterprises” in

the civil context. And while it noted that “[t]he strict

constitutional safeguards afforded to criminal defendants

are not applicable to civil cases,” id. at 1598 n.22, it also

made clear that, if “civil penalties,” id. (emphasis in origi-

nal), are to be imposed, then constitutional safeguards

requiring adequate notice must be met. Id.

This case thus squarely presents the Court with the

opportunity, f-"lowing Gore, to define the test that is

required for application of vagueness analysis where

severe civil penalties are at issue. This Court has not had

the opportunity to clearly rule on the proper vagueness

test to apply in a situation where a civil statute, penal in

nature, is applied retroactively. While the “strict” test

7 Gore was decided after briefing and argument had taken

place before the Eighth Circuit in this case. It was, however,

called to the court of appeals’ attention in the petition for

rehearing.

8 Courts have applied a heightened due process standard

in the administrative law context to protect parties from

suffering civil sanctions without fair notice. See General Electric

Co. v. EPA, 53 F.3d 1324, 1329 (D.C. Cir. 1995); Kropp Forge Co. v.

Secretary of Labor, 657 F.2d 119, 122-24 (7th Cir. 1981); Gates & Fox

Co. v. OSHRC, 790 F.2d 154, 156 (D.C. Cir. 1986) (Scalia, J.);

Diebold, Inc. v. Marshall, 585 F.2d 1327, 1335 (6th Cir. 1978).

Courts of appeals, as in Kropp Forge and Diebold, have relied ona

stringent vagueness test to preclude application of a civil

penalty in the absence of a warning.

27

afforded criminal defendants may not be directly applica-

ble, something much more cognizant of the severe effect

of retroactive penal sanctions than the “tolerant” view

applied by the court of appeals is required. Under the

circumstances of this case, application of any test beyond

the very “tolerant” would necessitate reversal of the

court of appeals’ decision.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be

granted.

Respectfully submitted,

JANICE M. SyMCHYCH

Counsel_of Record

STEVEN J. WELLS

Peter W. CARTER

Dorsey & Wuitney LLP

Pillsbury Center South

220 South Sixth Street

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55402

Telephone: 612-340-6336

SHANNON L. SPANGLER

SHook, Harpy & Bacon L.L.P.

1200 Main Street

Kansas City, Missouri 64105

Telephone: (816) 474-6550

February 3, 1997

App. 1

APPENDIX A

Vickie FOGIE, Joan Leonard, and Angela

Adams, on behalf of themselves and all other

similarly situated, Plaintiffs/Appellees,

Vv.

THORN AMERICAS, INC. (formerly known as

Rent-A-Center, Inc.) a Kansas corporation, and

THORN EMI North America Holdings, Inc., a

Delaware Corporation, Defendants/Appellants.

No. 95-3694.

United States Court of Appeals,

Eighth Circuit.

Submitted April 8, 1996.

Decided Sept. 6, 1996.

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing

En Banc Denied Nov. 4, 1996.”

Members of certified class who entered into rent-to-

own rental purchase agreements brought action against

rental company, alleging that contracts violated Minne-

sota usury law, Minnesota Consumer Credit Sales Act

(CCSA), and federal Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt

Organization (RICO) statutes. The United States District

Court for the District of Minnesota, Michael James Davis,

J., 1995 WL 649575, permanently enjoined rental company

from entering into usurious rent-to-own consumer credit

sales contracts, and rental company appealed. The Court

of Appeals, James M. Burns, Senior District Judge, sitting

by designation, held that: (1) usury statute was not

* Judge Bowman would grant the suggestion.

App. 2

unconstitutionally vague; (2) plaintiff class proved that

cost of lease services in the contracts constituted usurious

interest; (3) contracts did not fall within time-price doc-

trine; and (4) injunction was properly ordered.

Affirmed.

John C. Dods, Kansas City, MO, argued (Dennis R.

Dow. Shannon L. Spangler, Kansas City, MO, and J.

Patrick McDavitt, Minneapolis, MN, on the brief), for

appellants.

Kay Nord Hunt, Minneapolis, MN, argued (Phillip A.

Cole, Minneapolis, MN, David L. Ramp, New Brighton,

MN, Seymour J. Mansfield and Richard J. Fuller, Min-

neapolis, MN, on the brief), for appellees.

Before McMILLIAN and FAGG, Circuit Judges, and

BURNS,** District Judge.

JAMES M. BURNS, Senior District Judge.

Appellants THORN Americas, Inc. and THORN EMI

North America Holdings, Inc. appeal the district court’s!

order granting summary judgment for the plaintiff class

and permanently enjoining appellants from entering into

usurious “rent-to-own” consumer credit sales contracts.

We have jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1).

We affirm.

** The Honorable James M. Burns, Senior United States

District Judge for the District of Oregon, sitting by designation.

1 The Honorable Michael J. Davis, United States District

Judge for the District of Minnesota.

App. 3

I. BACKGROUND

Appellant THORN Americas, Inc. operates a chain of

stores that offer a variety of household goods for sale or

lease. Appellant THORN EMI North America Holdings,

Inc. owns all of the stock of THORN Americas, Inc.

Appellants operate their stores under the business name

“Rent-A-Center” and are collectively called “RAC” in this

opinion. Appellees are individual members of a certified

class who entered into rent-to-own transactions with

RAC on or after August 1, 1990.

RAC leases household goods to its customers for a

weekly or monthly rental term. At the end of the initial

weekly or monthly rental period, the customer may

renew the agreement for another term. The lease may be

renewed at the end of each rental term. Full payment of

the rental fee is required at the beginning of each term.

RAC uses a standard form contract for each renew-

able lease agreement. RAC entered into thousands of

such contracts with members of the plaintiff class. The

renewable lease agreements between RAC and the mem-

bers of the plaintiff class are known interchangeably as

“the rental purchase contracts” or “the rent-to-own con-

tracts”.

The standard rental purchase contract allows a class

member to acquire ownership of an item by renewing the

lease for a specified number of consecutive rental

periods. In the standard form contract, this method of

acquiring title is called “renewing the agreement to own-

ership”. Items may also be purchased for cash on an

ie

App. 4

immediate sale basis.2 However, the vast majority, if not

all of RAC’s business is conducted through rental pur-

chase contracts.

The cash price of an item is set at 55% of the total

payments necessary to purchase the item by renewing the

agreement to ownership. The cash price of an item is

prominently displayed on the item and is included in the

standard form rental purchase contract. The difference

between the total payments needed for renewal to owner-

ship and the cash price is called the “cost of lease ser-

vices”. The rental purchase contracts state the cost of

lease services amount.

Appellees have successfully contended that the dif-

ference between the cash price and the total of payments

to acquire title by renewing the agreement to ownership,

i.e. the amount known as the cost of lease services, is

actually entirely interest. Based on that central conten-

tion, the class members brought this action alleging that

the rent-to-own contracts violated several state ard fed-

eral statutes, including the Minnesota Consumer Credit

Sales Act (CCSA), Minn.Stat. §§ 325G.15-.16, the Minne-

sota General Usury Statute, Minn.Stat. §§ 334.01-.03; and

the federal Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organiza-

tion statute (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1961.

2 The plaintift class did not assert any claim against

appellants based on immediate sales of goods for cash.

3 We use the definition of “cost of lease services” employed

in RAC’s form contracts rather than the definition employed by

the district court.

App. 5

The district court certified two questions to the Min-

nesota Supreme Court:

1. Are rent-to-own contracts consumer credit

sales under Minn.Stat. § 325G.15?

2. Does the usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01,

apply to rent-to-own contracts?

On June 24, 1994, the Minnesota Supreme Court

issued its opinions in Miller v. Colortyme, Inc., 518 N.W.2d

544 (Minn.1994) and Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc., 518

N.W.2d 544 (Minn.1994). The Court answered both certi-

fied questions in the affirmative.

The plaintiff class then brought its motion for partial

summary judgment seeking declaratory and injunctive

relief. On September 28, 1995, the district court issued its

order enjoining appellants from entering into credit sales

transactions within the State of Minnesota which bear

interest in excess of the maximum rate permitted under

Minnesota law. The district court’s order also declared

the rental purchase contracts to be consumer credit sales

contracts subject to the Minnesota General Usury Statute.

It declared that the rental purchase contracts constitute

“unlawful debt” as defined under RICO. Finally, the dis-

trict court declared the rental purchase contracts void ab

initio and set forth a formula and procedure for determin-

ing money damages.

II. Scope of Review

We must resolve issues relating to the jurisdiction of

this court at the outset. We have jurisdiction to review the

district court’s issuance of the injunction under 28 U.S.C.

App. 6

§ 1292(a)(1) which provides for appeal of interlocutory

orders granting or refusing to grant injunctions. Our

jurisdiction under section 1292(a)(1) also extends to the

remainder of the appealed order to the extent the injunc-

tion is “interdependent with” the remainder of the

appealed order. In re Federal Skywalk Cases, 680 F.2d 1175,

1180 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 988, 103 S.Ct. 342, 74

L.Ed.2d 383 (1982); Union Nat. Bank of Little Rock v. Federal

Nat. Mortg. Ass’n, 860 F.2d 847, 852 (8th Cir.1988). Under

this standard, we have jurisdiction to review all portions

of the order that are dependent on the resolution of the

issues necessarily resolved in reviewing the injunction

order. Union Nat. Bank v. Federal Nat. Mortg. Ass’n, 860

F.2d at 852. In other words, in addition to the injunction

order, we may review other issues only if they are “inex-

tricably bound up” with the injunction. Marathon Oil Co.

v. United States, 807 F.2d 759, 764 (9th Cir.1986), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 940, 107 S.Ct. 1593, 94 L.Ed.2d 782 (1987).

We need not undertake a review of issues whose resolu-

tion is not necessary to effectively review the injunction.

Mille Lacs Band of Chippewa Indians v. State of Minn., 48

F.3d 373, 375 (8th Cir.1995).

We must determine the extent to which each issue

RAC has appealed is relevant to, or interdependent with,

or inextricably bound up with the injunctive relief

granted in this case.

First, the propriety of the summary judgment in

favor of the plaintiff class on its usury claim is properly

before us on appeal, because the district court’s deter-

mination that the rental purchase agreements are usu-

rious is the very basis of the injunction. Second, the

App. 7

issues surrounding the time-price doctrine and appel-

lants’ constitutional claims are properly before us because

the district court’s rejection of these defenses was a nec-

essary predicate to entry of the injunction.

The remaining issues are more problematic. RAC

asks us to review the district court’s finding that the

rental purchase agreements satisfy the “unlawful debt”

element of RICO. The district court retained jurisdiction

to make determinations on the remaining elements of the

RICO claim. In the interest of avoiding piecemeal

appeals, it would be appropriate to review the RICO

claim in its entirety after a final judgment has been ren-

dered. Gardner v. Westinghouse Broadcasting Co., 437 U.S.

478, 480, 98 S.Ct. 2451, 2453, 57 L.Ed.2d 364 (1978). Fur-

thermore, it is not necessary to determine whether the

rental purchase contracts satisfy the “unlawful debt” ele-

ment of the RICO claim in order to effectively review the

injunction order. Accordingly, we decline to exercise

jurisdiction to review this ruling. Mille Lacs Band, 48 F.3d

at 375; Union Nat. Bank v. Federal Nat. Mortg. Ass'n, 860

F.2d at 852; Marathon Oil Co. v. United States, 807 F.2d at

764.

For the same reasons, we decline to review the dis-

trict court’s order establishing the formula for calculating

money damages and the procedure by which class mem-

bers are to assert claims for money damages. The district

court retained jurisdiction to determine damages in this

case. It is appropriate to avoid piecemeal appeals by

deferring review of these issues until final money judg-

ments have been entered. Gardner v. Westinghouse Broad-

casting Co., 437 U.S. at 480, 98 S.Ct. at 2453. In addition,

we do not find it necessary to resolve these issues in

App. -8

order to effectively review the injunctive relief granted

here. Issues regarding the proper method for calculating

damages are not inextricably bound up with the injunc-

tion issued here. Mille Lacs Band, 48 F.3d at 375; Union

Nat. Bank v. Federal Nat. Mortg. Ass’n, 860 F.2d at 852;

Marathon Oil Co. v. United States, 807 F.2d at 764.

III. Standards of Review

We review a grant of summary judgment de novo.

Hardin v. Hussmann Corp., 45 F.3d 262, 264 (8th Cir.1995).

We will affirm if the evidence, when viewed in the light

most favorable to the 1..n-moving party, demonstrates

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and

the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of

law. Id.; Bashara v. Black Hills Corp., 26 F.3d 820, 823 (8th

Cir.1994).

Our review of the grant or denial of a permanent

injunction is confined to the determination of whether the

district court abused its discretion. International Ass'n of

Machinists and Aerospace Workers v. Soo Line R. Co., 850

F.2d 368, 374 (8th Cir.1988) (en banc), cert. denied, 489 U.S.

1010, 109 S.Ct. 1118, 103 L.Ed.2d 181 (1989). Abuse of

discretion occurs if the district court reaches its conclu-

sion by applying erroneous legal principles or relying on

clearly erroneous factual findings. Id., 850 F.2d at 374;

United States v. Yacoubian, 24 F.3d 1, 3 (9th Cir.1994).

App. 9

IV. Discussion

A. Summary Judgment on Usury Claim

The district court held that RAC’s rent to own con-

tracts are usurious as a matter of law. Under the state

general usury statute, four elements must be proven to

establish a violation: 1) a loan of money or forbearance of

debt; 2) an agreement between the parties that the princi-

pal shall be repayable absolutely; 3) the exaction of a

greater amount of interest than is allowed by law, and 4)

the presence of an intention to evade the law at the

inception of the transaction. Miller v. Colortyme, 518

N.W.2d 544, 549-50 (Minn.1994); Citizen’s National Bank of

Willmar v. Taylor, 368 N.W.2d 913, 918 (Minn.1985).

1. Constitutional Challenges

The district court held that, under Minnesota law as

set forth in Miller v. Colortyme and Fogie v. Rent-A-Center,

the first two elements of usury are satisfied by operation

of the CCSA and the general usury statute. 518 N.W.2d at

549, 518 N.W.2d 544. RAC argues that, by applying the

CCSA and the usury statute to it’s rental purchase trans-

actions in this manner, the district court violated RAC’s

constitutional rights.

First, RAC contends the Miller interpretation renders

the CCSA and the usury statute unconstitutionally vague,

depriving RAC of the “fair notice” required by the Due

Process Clause. RAC also contends that the district court

retroactively applied the Miller decision in violation of

the Ex Post Facto and Due Process Clauses. We reject both

contentions.

App. 10

a. Vagueness

The Supreme Court enunciated standards for eval-

uating claims of vagueness in Grayned v. City of Rockford,

408 U.S. 104, 108-109, 92 S.Ct. 2294, 2298-99, 33 L.Ed.2d

222 (1972). First, the prohibitions of a statute must be

defined clearly enough that a person of ordinary intel-

ligence has a reasonable opportunity to know what is

prohibited. Second, the statute must provide standards

that are clear enough that those charged with applying

the statute are not required to make basic policy decisions

on a subjective or arbitrary basis. Id.

These standards are not to be applied mechanically.

Criminal enactments are to be examined under a stricter

vagueness test while economic regulation is subject to a

more tolerant examination. Village of Hoffman Estates v.

Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498-99, 102

S.Ct. 1186, 1193, 71 L.Ed.2d 362 (1982). We reject RAC’s

contention that the strict test applicable to criminal stat-

utes governs here. The statutes implicated in this case are

primarily economic regulations which cover a narrow

subject area and regulate the conduct of business enter-

prises. The punitive aspects of the usury statute impose

only civil penalties. Under Village of Hoffman, we con-

clude that the broader, more tolerant test of vagueness is

required here. 455 U.S. at 498-99, 102 S.Ct. at 1193.

Applying these standards, we hold that the Miller

decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court does not render

the CCSA or the general usury statute unconstitutionally

vague. The CCSA defines “Sale of Goods” in terms that

clearly encompass terminable leases including RAC’s

rental purchase agreements. Minn.Stat. 325G.15 subd. 5.

App. il

The CCSA incorporates this definition of “Sale of Goods”

into its definition of “Consumer Credit Sales”. Minn.Stat.

325G.15 subd. 2. Any lease that constitutes a consumer

credit sale under the CCSA is deemed a sale for all

purposes. Minn.Stat. 325G.16 subd. 4.

RAC contends that their rental purchase agreements,

though statutorily defined as “sales”, cannot be “con-

sumer credit sales” because the seller does not extend

credit and the buyer does not incur debt. This construc-

tion is untenable because it would render section 325G.15

subd. 5 entirely meaningless and unnecessary. Moreover,

the terms of RAC’s rental purchase agreements provide

for buyers to acquire possession of goods while deferring

payment over time. These are the essential attributes of

an ordinary credit sale. It is clear that the legislature

intended for CCSA consumer protections governing ordi-

nary credit sales to also govern rental purchase agree-

ments having the same essential attributes. Accordingly,

the construction proposed by RAC would render subdivi-

sion 5 meaningless and would also frustrate the legisla-

tive intent and hinder the consumer protection objectives

of the statute.

These statutory provisions give sufficient notice to

those engaged in the rent-to-own industry that their

rental purchase contracts fall within the CCSA and are

subject to usury laws. They also provide standards by

which the courts can apply the statutes without engaging

in subjective or arbitrary policy making decisions.

Accordingly, the statutes pass the vagueness test enunci-

ated in Grayned v. City of Rockford and Village of Hoffman

Estates.

App. 12

b. Retroactive Application of Miller v. Color-

tyme

Two elements are necessary for a statute to be ex post

facto in violation of the Constitution*: it must apply to

events that occurred before its enactment; and it must

disadvantage the offender affected by it. Miller v. Florida,

482 U.S. 423, 430, 107 S.Ct. 2446, 2451, 96 L.Ed.2d 351

(1987); Weaver v. Graham, 450 U.S. 24, 29, 101 S.Ct. 960,

964, 67 L.Ed.2d 17 (1981). The CCSA, the RPAA, and the

general usury statute existed in their present form when

the parties entered into the rental purchase contracts at

issue in this case. Accordingly, the statutes themselves are

not subject to ex post facto analysis.

A judicial decision which meets both elernents also

violates the ex post facto clause and cannot be applied

retroactively. Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347,

353-54, 84 S.Ct. 1697, 1702-1703, 12 L.Ed.2d 894 (1964).

This occurs when a judicial decision unforeseeably

enlarges a statute to cover conduct that was not offensive

before the judicial pronouncement. Id. If the judicial con-

struction is “unexpected and indefensible by reference to

the law which had been expressed prior to the conduct in

issue” it violates the ex post facto clause and must not be

given retroactive effect. Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S.

at 354, 84 S.Ct. at 1703.

4 We assume without deciding that the third critical

element, that the statute be a criminal or penal law, is satisfied

in this case.

App. 13

RAC contends the Minnesota Supreme Court's deci-

sion in Miller v. Colortyme changed the substantive ele-

ments of a usury claim by making it unnecessary for

plaintiffs to prove the first two elements, the extension of

credit and the absolute obligation to repay it. In RAC’s

view, the Miller decision acts as an ex post facto law and

must not be applied retroactively.

The Miller decision did not change the elements of a

usury claim. It is a judicial interpretation of the statutory

scheme that existed long before the present contracts

were made. The judicial construction in Miller is not

“unexpected or indefensible by reference to” the statu-

tory framework already in place. On the contrary, the

judicial construction of those statutes is reasonable and

foreseeable, gives full meaning to the statutory language,

operates in the manner clearly intended by the legisla-

ture, and furthers the consumer protection objectives of

the statutes. In addition, Miller does not overrule any

prior contrary ruling of the Minnesota Supreme Court

upon which RAC might justifiably have relied.

In short, Miller did not change existing law - it

simply stated a reasonable and correct interpretation of

the law which differs from the erroneous view RAC had

chosen to follow.

For the reasons stated above, RAC’s constitutional

challenges to the Miller v. Colortyme decision must be

rejected. The district court was correct in ruling in accor-

dance with Miller, that the first two elements of the usury

claim in this case are established by operation of the

CCSA and the usury statute.

App. 14

2. Factual Challenges

RAC contends the plaintiff class failed to carry its

burden of proving the third and fourth elements of their

usury claim: exaction of interest at an illegal rate and the

intent to evade the usury law when the contract was

made. We view the evidence in the light most favorable to

RAC. Bashara v. Black Hills Corp., 26 F.3d at 823.

a. Amount of Interest Charged

The plaintiff class urged the district court to find that

the difference between the total payments needed to pur-

chase an item by renewing the contract to ownership and

the cash price was entirely interest. It cannot be disputed

that this amount, described in the rental purchase agree-

ments as the “cost of lease services”, is 82% of the cash

price in each contract. Adjusting this figure for the dura-

tion of the various contracts among the plaintiff class

members produces annual percentage rates ranging

between 46% for the longest contract and 746% for the

shortest. Obviously, these rates far exceed the legal limit

under the usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01.5

RAC contends that the cost of lease services cannot

be entirely interest because it includes the value of ser-

vices such as delivery, maintenance, repair, and contract

options. If the case had gone to trial, RAC intended to

> The general usury statute permits a maximum interest

rate of six percent per annum unless the rate is contracted for in

writing, in which case a rate of eight percent may be charged.

Minn.Stat. § 334.01.

App. 15

present evidence to show the value of these additional

services.

_ The district court found no evidence that the mem-

bers of the plaintiff class agreed to pay for any additional

services. The court also found that, even if the “cost of

lease services” figure included both interest and the value

of additional services, no reasonable fact finder could

conclude that the portion attributable to the value of

additional services was great enough so that the interest

portion was below the statutory usury rate. A close

review of the record discloses that the district court was

correct in both findings.

It is proper to exclude from the interest calculation “a

certain sum, agreed to be paid the lender for services and

expenses in connection with the loan” if the charge is

reasonable and bona fide. Hobart v. Michaud, 174 Minn.

474, 219 N.W. 878, 879 (1928); Daley v. Minnesota Loan and

Inv. Co., 43 Minn. 517, 45 N.W. 1100, 1101 (1890). How-

ever, if the fee is not related to any separate expenses but

is compensation for the use of the money loaned, it must

be considered interest. VanderWeyst v. First State Bank of

Benson, 425 N.W.2d 803, 811 (Minn.), cert. denied, 488 US.

943, 109 S.Ct. 369, 102 L.Ed.2d 359 (1988).

RAC contends the plaintiff class members agreed to

pay the value of additional services because they each

agreed to the general “cost of lease services” term in the

written contracts. RAC’s expert claimed that the value of

each of the following services should be excluded from

the interest calculation: deiivery, maintenance, repair and

replacement. RAC contends it is not required to itemize

App. 16

the additional services covered by the term “cost of lease

services” .®

The undisputed evidence shows that the parties con-

templated each of the services identified by RAC’s expert

would be provided without charge. In the express written

terms of each of the contracts, the delivery charge indi-

cated is “$0.00”. In its published advertisements, RAC

announced that delivery, repair, service, set up, and

“loaners” were free services. We are convinced that no

fact finder could view this evidence and reasonably con-

clude that the plaintiff class members knowingly agreed

to pay for these services as “cost of lease services”.

RAC’s expert also identified certain “contract

options” including the right to continue renting; the right

to stop renting; and, the right to obtain ownership over

time by the two methods described in the contracts. RAC

contends the value of these “options” should be excluded

from “cost of lease services” in calculating the interest

charged by RAC.

The Minnesota Supreme Court, after fully consider-

ing the very contracts at issue here, including the rights

described now by RAC as “options”, ruled that these

contracts are consumer credit sales contracts. Fogie v.

Rent-A-Center, 518 N.W.2d at 544. Describing the con-

tract’s terms as “options” does not change its nature.

6 We believe the RPAA requires full disclosure of the

service charges associated with a rental purchase contract.

Minn.Stat. § 325F.86-.87. However, compliance with the RPAA is

not the issue. Itemization of charges is relevant to the usury

analysis only if it tends to prove or disprove that “cost of lease

services” is truly a service charge rather than interest.

App. 17

These so-called “options” are simply the rights enjoyed

by any consumer credit sale purchaser. The compensation

paid for the right to acquire ownership by paying the

purchase price over time in a consumer credit sale is

interest. Likewise, the compensation collected by the

seller for the risks associated with collecting the purchase

price over time is interest. Simply calling the rights and

risks associated with credit sales “options” does not enti-

tle the seller to additional compensation in excess of the

usury rate.

Accordingly, by process of elimination, we must con-

clude that the “cost of lease services” term in the rental

purchase contracts is interest. To the extent the value of

any additional service or option is included, we agree

with the district court that no fact finder could reason-

ably conclude such value is sufficient to reduce the 46%

to 746% range of annual percentage rates charged by

RAC to a nonusurious level.

The district court properly found that the third ele-

ment of the usury claim has been established.

b. Intent

RAC contends that summary judgment is improper

because the plaintiff class failed to prove the fourth ele-

ment, intent to evade the usury law. “Intent” for the

purposes of usury law consists in the intent to take more

interest than allowed by law; it is not necessary that the

person taking the interest knows he is violating the usury

law. Trapp v. Hancuh, 530 N.W.2d 879, 885

(Minn.App.1995); Citizen’s Nat. Bank of Willmar v. Taylor,

App. 18

368 N.W.2d 913, 919 (Minn.1985). If the evidence shows a

direct contract whereby the lender exacts excessive inter-

est, the intent to evade the law is presumed. Fred G. Clark

Co. v. E.C. Warner Co., 188 Minn. 277, 247 N.W. 225, 229

(1933).

In this case the contracts provide for RAC to exact

interest in excess of the usury rate and there is no claim

by RAC that it did not intend to coilect less money than is

stated in the contracts. Accordingly, as a matter of law,

RAC had the requisite intent under the usury statute.

Miller v. Colortyme, 518 N.W.2d at 550.

RAC contends that it should be relieved of the pre-

sumption of intent because it reasonably relied in good

faith on the existing law. Washington Federal Sav. & Loan

Ass'n of Stillwater v. Baker, 374 N W.2d 786, 788

(Minn.App.1985). We reject this argument for the same

reasons we rejected RAC’s constitutional challenges.

RAC’s reliance on a strained and erroneous construction

of the statutory scheme is not the kind of good faith

reliance that brings this exception into play.

3. Time-Price Doctrine

RAC contends that the plaintiff class is not entitled to

judgment as a matter of law because their rental purchase

contracts fall within the time-price doctrine. This doctrine

was based on the central premise that there can be no

usury without a loan or forbearance of money and that

the sale of property in a time-price transaction involves

no loan. Dunn v. Midland Loan Finance Corporation, 206

Minn. 550, 289 N.W. 411, 413 (1939); St. Paul Bank for

App. 19

Cooperatives v. Ohman, 402 N.W.2d 235, 238

(Minn.App.1987). The time-price doctrine was judicially

created and is not an exception to usury law, but recog-

nizes transactions which are outside the scope of usury

law. St. Paul Bank v. Ohman, 402 N.W.2d at 238.

RAC’s argument is foreclosed by the rulings of the

Minnesota Supreme Court. In Fogie v. Rent-A-Center, Inc.,

the Court ruled in no uncertain terms that the usury

statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01 applies to rent-to-own con-

tracts. 518 N.W.2d at 544. Accordingly, RAC cannot now

argue that its rental purchase agreements are transactions

which fall outside the scope of the usury law. Further-

more, the loan or forbearance element of usury, missing

in time-price transactions, is satisfied in rental purchase

agreements by operation of statute. Miller v. Colortyme,

Inc., 518 N.W.2d at 549. In addition, the Minnesota

Supreme Court has been unwilling to expand the time-

price doctrine unless justified by economic needs and

social attitudes making the protections of the usury stat-

ute unnecessary. Rathbun v. W.T. Grant Company, 300

Minn. 223, 219 N.W.2d 641, 647 (1974). We find no such

justification here.

“We are bound to apply state law as ve are able to

discern it from the rulings of the state’s courts.” Boner v.

Eminence R-1 School Dist. 55 F.3d 1339, 1341 (8th Cir.1995),

quoting Jackson v. Anchor Packing Co., 994 F.2d 1295, 1310

(8th Cir.1993). Under the applicable state case law, it is

clear that RAC’s rental purchase contracts do not fall

within the time-price doctrine and are subject to the

usury statute.

App. 20

B. Injunction Order

We review the district court’s grant of a permanent

injunction for an abuse of discretion. United States v.

Green Acres Enterprises, Inc., 86 F.3d 130, 132 (8th

Cir.1996); Soo Line R. Co., 850 F.2d at 374. Abuse of discre-

tion occurs if the district court reaches its conclusion by

applying erroneous legal principles or relying on clearly

erroneous factual findings. Id.

The Eighth Circuit balances four factors to determine

whether injunctive relief is warranted: (1) the threat of

irreparable harm to the movant; (2) the state of balance

between this harm and the harm to be suffered by the

nonmoving party if the injunction is granted; (3) the

probability that the movant will succeed on the merits;

and (4) the public interest. Dataphase Systems, Inc. v. C L

Systems, Inc., 640 F.2d 109, 113 (8th Cir.1981) (en banc).

The standard is the same for a permanent injunction

except that the movant must show actual success on the

merits. Amoce Production Co. v. Village of Gambell, Alaska,

480 U.S. 531, 546 n. 12, 107 S.Ct. 1396, 1404 n. 12, 94

L.Ed.2d 542 (1987). The district court did not make

explicit findings with respect to these four factors. How-

ever, by prevailing on its usury claim the plaintiff class

has demonstrated that the four factors of this test over-

whelmingly militate in favor of an injunction.

As demonstrated in this opinion, the plaintiff class

has shown actual success on the merits. In addition,

public interest overwhelmingly favors enjoining these

contracts. The public policy of Minnescta is revealed in

its consumer protection statutory scheme including the

usury statute, the CCSA and the RPAA. The actions

App. 21

enjoined here violate the letter and spirit of this statutory

scheme and are clearly against the public interest. To

balance against this, the only harm to RAC is the loss of

the usurious portion of its income.

RAC contends that the plaintiff class has failed to

show irreparable injury because the district court has

established a formula for calculating money damages.

However, this formula only compensates for past dam-

ages and only reaches class members who have been

identified. Estimating future losses of similarly situated

individuals if RAC continues its practices is virtually

impossible, as is identifying those potential victims of

their practices. Giving due weight to each of the four

factors, we are satisfied that there has been no abuse of

discretion by the district court.

V. Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, the district court's order

granting summary judgment for the plaintiff class and

enjoining RAC from entering into usurious credit sales

transactions is AFFIRMED.

App. 22

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

THIRD DIVISION

Vickie Fogie, Joan Leonard

and Angela Adams, on behalf

of themselves and all others MEMORANDUM

similarly situated, OPINION AND

Py ie ORDER

Plaintiffs,

File No. 3-94-359

vs.

Rent-A-Center, Inc. a Kansas

corporation, TEUSA Holdings,

Inc., a Delaware corporation,

Thorn EMI (USA) Inc., a

Delaware corporation, and

Thorn EMI North American

Holdings, Inc., a Delaware

corporation,

Defendants.

The above-entitled matter came on for hearing before

the Honorable Michael J. Davis on plaintiffs’ motion for

partial summary judgment. ‘

David L. Ramp, Esq., Mary King, Esq., Seymour J.

Mansfield, Esq., and Phillip Cole, Esq., appeared for and

on behalf of Plaintiffs.

J. Patrick McDavitt, Esq., John C. Dods, Esq., and

Peter E. Strand, Esq., appeared for and on behalf of

Defendants.

This is a class action involving rent-to-own transac-

tions. Defendants offer a variety of household goods for

sale or lease. The plaintiff class are individuals who

App. 23

entered into rent-to-own contracts with Defendants on or

after August 1, 1990. Under these contracts, a plaintiff

class member could purchase the item for cash without

entering into a rental agreement, or could acquire owner-

ship after an initial rental period by paying a certain

amount calculated by a particular formula. The final

method to obtain ownership of an item would be to

renew the rental agreement for the agreed upon time

period as set forth in the rental agreement.

Plaintiffs have brought this class action arguing

Defendants, through their rent-to-own contracts, violate a

number state and federal statutes, such as the Consumer

Credit Sales Act (CCSA), Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, Minnesota

Consumer Fraud Act, Minn.Stat. § 325F.69, and Racketeer

Influenced and Corrupt Organization (RICO), 18 U.S.C.

§ 1961, et. seq.

This case was previously assigned to the Honorable

Diana Murphy, who certified the following two questions

to the Minnesota Supreme Court:

1. Are rent-to-own contracts consumer credit sales

under Minn.Stat. § 325C.15?

2. Does the usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01, apply

to rent-to-own contracts?

On June 24, 1994, the Minnesota Supreme Court

determined that defendant’s rent-to-own transactions are

consumer credit sales under Minn.Stat. § 325C.15 and are

subject to Minnesota’s usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01,

for the reasons set forth in the opinion of Miller v. Color-

tyme, Inc., 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn.1994). Fogie v. Rent-

A-Center, 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn.1994).

App. 24

Plaintiffs now move this Court for an Order declar-

ing that Defendants’ rent-to-own contracts are subject to

the usury statute, and that such contracts are usurious as

a matter of law. Plaintiffs also request this Court find,

with respect to their RICO claim, that the interest rate

charged by Defendants was more than twice the rate

permitted by law. Finally, Plaintiffs seek a ruling as to the

proper measure of damages for usury, and permanently

enjoining Defendants from committing future usury vio-

lations.

Standard

Summary judgment is appropriate if there is no gen-

uine issue of material fact and the moving party is enti-

tled to judgment as a matter of law. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c);

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986); Unigroup, Inc.

v. O'Rourke Storage & Transfer Co., 980 F.2d 1217, 1219-20

(8th Cir. 1992). To determine whether genuine issues of

material fact exist, a court conducts a two-part inquiry.

The court determines materiality from the substantive

law governing the claim. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). Disputes over facts that might

affect the outcome of the lawsuit according to applicable

substantive law are material. Id. A material fact dispute is

“genuine” if the evidence is sufficient to allow a reason-

able jury to return a verdict for the non-moving party. Id.

at 248-49.

App. 25

Analysis

1. Usury

- Although the Minnesota Supreme Court was not

asked to determine whether the contracts at issue in this

case are usurious, the court did hold that similar rent-to-

own contracts, are consumer credit sales for all pur-

poses, and that such contracts were usurious as a matter

of law. Miller, 518 N.W.2d at 550. In making this deter-

mination, the court recognized the four elements of usury

as:

1) a loan of money or forbearance of debt,

2) an agreement between the parties that the

principal shall be repayable absolutely,

3) the exaction of a greater amount of interest

or profit than is allowed by law, and

4) the presence of an intention to evade the

law at the inception of the transaction.

Id., at 549 (citing Citizen's Nat'l Bank of Willmar v. Taylor,

368 N.W.2d 913, 918 (Minn.1985)). The court determined

that the first two elements of usury are met by operation

of statute, based upon its determination that rent-to-own

contracts are consumer credit sales. Id. The court also

determined that the fourth element of usury, intention to

evade the law at the contract’s inception, is also met by

virtue of the fact that the defendant intended to collect all

the money stated in the contract. Id., at 550. It is not

necessary to find the defendant knew he was violating

1 The contracts addressed in Miller did not offer consumer

items for immediate sale. Miller, 518 N.W.2d at 546. Defendants

contracts do offer items for immediate sale. This is a difference

without consequence, however, as to the usury analysis.

App. 26

the usury law. Id. The court also found that a usurious

rate of interest was charged in the absence of evidence

establishing the difference between the total payments

required, and the value of goods and services extended,

amounted to less than six percent of the total payments.

Id.

In this case, Defendants state that the cash price of an

item is prominently displayed on each item and is

included in the rental contract. The rental contract also

includes an amount referred to as the “cost of lease

services.” The cash price is 55% of the total of payments

required to complete the purchase of the goods over the

term of the contract. It is Plaintiffs’ contention that the

difference between the cash price and the “cost of lease

services” is interest, which clearly violates the usury laws

which provides a maximum interest rate of $8 per $100

per year. Minn.Stat. § 334.01.

To determine whether a transaction is usurious, this

Court must consider whether or not the transaction is, in

substance, a contracting to receive usurious interest for a

loan or forbearance of money. Seebold v. Eustermann, 216

Minn. 566, 13 N.W.2d 739, 744 (1944). “The process

involves looking through form to the substance. No

device or shift may be employed to conceal the true

character of the transaction.” Id.

Defendants make a number of arguments in opposi-

tion to Plaintiffs’ request that the contracts at issue are

usurious as a matter of law. In support of these argu-

ments, Defendants rely upon its expert, Dr. Roman L.

Weil. See, Weil Affividat [sic]. First, Dr. Weil opines that it

is impossible to compute an interest rate for a rent-to-

App. 27

own transaction at the inception of the transaction,

because it is impossible to know how many payments the

customer will make. Weil Aff., page 8. This argument is

meritless, however, as usury analysis is conducted upon

the terms of the contract as written, not as executed. See

Fred G. Clark v. E.C. Warner Co., 188 Minn. 277, 247 N.W.

225, 229 (1933).

Dr. Weil also opines that an interest rate cannot be

computed because a Rent-A-Center customer does not

borrow a principal amount. Weil Aff., page 9. Although

technically, a rent-to-own customer does not incur a debt

and does not have an absolute obligation to repay a

principal amount, rent-to-own customers nonetheless

“implicitly pay interest in return for the ability to pay for

goods over time.” Id., at 549. Rent-to-own customers are

entitled to the same protections as those consumers who

purchase goods through ordinary installment sales. Id.

Accordingly, the principal amount in rent-to-own transac-

tions for purposes of computing interest, is the cash price.

Defendants also argue that the difference between

the cash price and the costs of lease services should not

represent interest. In its contracts, the only prices item-

ized are the cash price and the cost of lease services.

Defendants argue that the cost of lease services includes a

number of services, such as delivery, maintenance, and

options such as option to renew etc. Defendants asserts

[sic] that the interest rate cannot equal the difference

between the cash price and the cost of lease services as

such computation does not take into consideration the

value of delivery, maintenance, etc.

App. 28

Under certain circumstances, it is proper to exclude

from an interest rate computation, a certain sum, agreed

to be paid to a lender as services and expenses in connec-

tion with a loan, that is reasonable and bona fide. Hobart

v. Michaud, 174 Minn. 474, 219 N.W. 878, 879-880 (1928).

As noted above, Defendants do not itemize the different

services alleged to be included in “cost of lease services.”

Plaintiffs argue that as a result, there is no evidence that

the plaintiff class members who entered into a rental

contract specifically agreed to the various services and

the charges for such services. Defendants respond that it

was not required by the Rental Purchase Agreements Act

(RPAA), Minn.Stat. § 325F.84-98, to specifically identify

the different services and the cost for such services. While

the RPAA does not specifically direct Defendants to item-

ize difference [sic] services, the fact remains that rent-to-

own contracts are consumer credit sales for all purposes.

As such, Defendants must comply with all laws affecting

consumer credit sales, including the usury laws. Defen-

dants cannot escape usury liability by arguing they com-

plied with the RPAA. Without an itemization of the

services allegedly provided customers under its rent-to-

own contracts, this Court cannot find that such costs for

services were agreed upon, let alone reasonable or bona

fide.

Defendant argues that it intends to present evidence

at trial as to the different services provided and the value

of such services. As to this assertion, this Court adopts

the observation made by the court in Miller:

no reasonable fact finder could conclude that

the difference between the total payments

required under the contracts and the value of

App. 29

the goods and services extended amounts to as

little as six percent of the total payments.

Id., at 550.

Defendants next contend that summary judgment is

inappropriate as the contracts at issue herein are

excluded from usury liability under the time-price doc-

trine. This doctrine is a judicially created exception to the

usury law applied to bona fide installment sales. Dunn v.

Midland Loan Finance Corp., 206 Minn. 550, 289 N.W. 411

(1939). This doctrine was created to recognize that usury

only applies where there is a loan or forbearance of

money, and that a sale of property does not involve such

a loan or forbearance. Dunn, 206 Minn. at 553, 289 N.W. at

413. Accordingly, in a bona fide installment sale, a seller

is entitled to set a cash price and a credit price, without

making the transaction usurious. Id.

This doctrine does not apply in this case, however,

because it has already been judicially determined that the

usury statute applies to the rent-to-own contracts at

issue. Furthermore, as noted by the Minnesota Supreme

Court:

[the time price] doctrine in its inception recog-

nized the social conditions of the nineteenth

century and the era of laissez-faire mercantilism

that existed at that time. These cases usually

involved items of high price which the buyer

ordinarily could not afford to purchase with

cash and a buyer and seller substantially on

equal footing in bargaining over price and credit

charges. The doctrine was expanded to cover

items less unique and costly, but it was not until

the practice of installment buying became a

common consumer practice that it gained wide

App. 30

acceptance. This application of the exception to

the usury law did a disservice to the original

concept of that law, which was to protect weak

and needy persons from the overreaching of

economically superior renters of capital. It is

apparent that the bargaining position of install-

ment buyers may be as disadvantageous today

as that of borrowers. Thus, any expansion of this

doctrine must be justified in light of the eco-

nomic needs and social attitudes as they now

exist.

Rathbun v. W.T. Grant Co., 300 Minn. 223, 232, 219 N.W.2d

641, 648 (1974). The plaintiff class was not, and is not, on

equal footing with Defendants for they do not have any

say in setting the cash price and the credit price. As in

Rathbun, this Court finds no justification for extending

the time-price doctrine to the rent-to-own contracts at

issue herein.

Defendants also assert that the Minnesota Supreme

Court’s interpretation of the CCSA and the usury statute

renders those statutes unconstitutionally vague, and that

retroactive application of this interpretation is uncon-

stitutional.

“It is a basic principle of due process that an enact-

ment is void for vagueness if its prohibitions are not

clearly defined.” Grayned v. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104,

108 (1972). The vagueness doctrine protects important

constitutional principles such as fair warning, and a pro-

hibition of arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement of

laws. Grayned, 408 U.S. at 108-109. “A vague law imper-

missibly delegates basic policy matters to policemen,

judges, and juries for resolution on an ad hoc and subjec-

tive basis, with the attendant dangers of arbitrary and

App. 31

discriminatory application.” Id. “The degree of vagueness

the Constitution tolerates-as well as the relative impor-

tance of fair notice and fair enforcement-depends in part

on the nature of the enactment.” Village of Hoffman Estates

v. Flipside, Hoffman Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498 (1982)

reh’g denied, 456 U.S. 950 (1982). The Supreme Court has

determined that economic regulation be subjected to a

less strict vagueness test.

[E]conomic regulation is subject to a less strict

vagueness test because its subject matter is often

more narrow, and because businesses, which

face economic demands to plan behavior care-

fully, can be expected to consult relevant legisla-

tion in advance of action. Indeed, the regulated

enterprise may have the ability to clarify the

meaning of the regulation by its own inquiry, or

by resort to an administrative process. The

Court has also expressed greater tolerance of

enactments with civil rather than criminal pen-

alties because the consequences of imprecision

are qualitatively less severe.

Village of Hoffman, 455 U.S. at 498-499. The statutes at

issue, the CCSA, RPAA and usury, are economic regula-

tions. Although the usury laws provide for civil penalties,

the law is nonetheless subject to a less stricter vagueness

standard. Applying this standard, this Court finds that

the holding in Miller does not render the statutes uncon-

stitutionally vague.

Since 1981, the CCSA clearly and expressly encom-

passes certain terminable leases. A review of the terms of

the rent-to-own contracts at issue herein establishes

Defendants “leases” fall within the definition of “Sale of

Goods” provided in the CCSA. Defendants were clearly

ere

App. 32

put on notice that its [sic] transactions were encompassed

by the CCSA, and as such, subject to usury laws. This

Court finds nothing vague in this statutory construction.

a

Defendants argument that Miller amended the usury

statute by abolishing the elements of debt and absolute

obligation to pay principal is meritless. Miller is consis-

tent with usury law, which requires courts to look

through the form to the substance of a transaction. As the

Miller court found, rent-to-own customers technically do

not incur debt or an absolute obligation to repay a princi-

pal amount - rent-to-own customers for all practical pur-

poses are in the same legal position as ordinary buyers on

credit.

Nor does the enactment of the RPAA contribute to

Defendants’ vagueness argument. The RPAA was not set

up as an exclusive regulatory system of rent-to-own

transactions, and the remedies provided therein are

cumulative. Miller, 518 N.W.2d at 550. See Minn.Stat.

§§ 325F.85 and 325F.97, Subd. 2.

Defendants also argue that retroactive application of

the Miller decision violates due process because the Miller

decision acts as an ex post facto law. The test developed by

the United States Supreme Court for determining viola-

tions of the-ex post facto clause derives from the principle

that “central to the ex post facto clause prohibition is a

concern for the ‘lack of fair notice and governmental

restraint when the legislation increases punishment

beyond what was prescribed when the crime was con-

summated. [sic]” Miller v. Florida, 482 U.S. 423 (1987).

yr a, rr

is

f

*

i

App. 33

From this principle, the Court has determined that two

elements must be met: the law must apply to events

occurring before its enactment; and it must disadvantage

the offender affected by it. Miller, 482 U.S. at 430. The

Court has also held that there is no ex post facto violation

if the law merely changes the modes of procedure that do

not affect matters of substance. Id. (citation omitted). This

principle has also been applied to judicial decisions as

well. Bouie v. City of Columbia 378 U.S. 347, 353-354 (1964).

Indeed, an unforeseeable judicial enlarge-

ment of a criminal statute, applied retroactively,

operates precisely like an ex post facto law, such

as Art. I, s. 10 of the Constitution prohibits. . . .

The fundamental principle that ‘the required

criminal law must have existed when the con-

duct in issue occurred . . . must apply to bar

retroactive criminal prohibitions emanating

from courts as well as from legislatures. If a

judicial construction of a criminal statute is

‘unexpected and indefensible by reference to the

law which had been expressed prior to the con-

duct in issue’ it must not be given retroactive

effect.

Id.

This Court finds that the Miller decision is not a

judicial construction that is unexpected and indefensible

by reference to the CCSA, RPAA and the usury laws.

Miller does not represent a-change in the law and there

have been no prior contrary rulings by the Minnesota

Supreme Court. See United States v. Estate of Donnelly, 397

U.S. 286, 295 (1970) (Generally, decisions construing stat-

utes given full retroactive effect, except in a rare case

where a court overrules its own construction of a statute.)

App. 34

Based on the above, the Court finds no genuine issue

of material fact and Plaintiffs are entitled to judgment as

a matter of law on the issue of whether the rent-to-own

contracts are usurious as a matter of law.

2. RICO

Plaintiffs also seek a declaration from this Court that

the predicate offense of “unlawful debt”, under the Rack-

eteer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act (RICO),

18 U.S.C. § 1961(6)(b) is established as a matter of law.

Under RICO, unlawful debt is defined as:

a debt . . . which was incurred in connection

with the business of . . . lending money or a

thing of value at a rate usurious under State or

Federal law, where the usurious rate is at least

twice the enforceable rate.

18 U.S.C. § 1961(6)(B). Plaintiffs argue that through its

expert, they have established that in all its contracts,

Defendants charged more than twice the usurious rate

provided by Minn.Stat. § 334.01.

RICO is a remedial statute, and as such, must be

liberally construed. United States v. Mazzio, 501 F.Supp.

340 (D.Pa.1980), aff'd 681 F.2d 810 (3rd Cir.), cert denied

457 U.S. 1134 (1982). In this case, this Court must look to

Minnesota usury law to determine whether there is an

“unlawful debt” for purposes of determining RICO lia-

bility. See United States v. Biasucci, 786 F.2d 504, 512 (2nd

Cir.1986).

Given this Court’s ruling that the rent-to-own con-

tracts at issue are usurious as a matter of law, this Court

must now also rule that predicate element of “unlawful

App. 35

debt” is also established as a matter of law for purposes

of RICO.

3. Measure of Damages for Usury Violation

Minn.Stat. § 334.02 provides that any person who has

paid a usurious rate, may recover the full amount of

interest so paid, with costs. Minn.Stat. § 334.03 provides

that usurious contracts shall be deemed void, except to a

holder in due course. It is Plaintiffs’ position that Minne-

sota case law construing the remedies provisions of the

usury statute provide that Plaintiffs are entitled alterna-

tive remedies: for those who wish to retain the goods

received under the contract, the remedy is a refund of all

interest paid; for those who wish to return the goods,

voiding the contracts and a refund of all interest and

principal paid.

Defendants argue that under Rathbun, supra, Plain-

tiffs are limited to interest only. Plaintiffs respond that

Rathbun is not controlling.

In Midland Loan Finance Co. v. Lorentz, 209 Minn. 278,

287, 296 N.W. 911, 915 (1941), the court held that “one

guilty of usurious extraction must bear the legal conse-

quences flowing from such violation. As such he must

lose not only the interest on the money risked, but also

the principal, including as well all security given to

secure such performance.” In Seebold v. Eustermann, supra,

the majority of the court determined that under a condi-

tional sale found to be usurious, the contract is void. In

determining the remedy available to the purchaser in

usurious transaction involving a conditional sale, the

court recognized that title remains with the seller until all

App. 36

payments have been made. Thus, when such a contract is

voided under usury, a purchaser is not entitled to posses-

sion of the good, because title had not passed until final

payment had been made, leaving the purchaser with the

single remedy of recovering the usurious interest paid.

Seebold, 13 N.W. at 747.

Justice Loring, in his dissenting opinion in Seebold,

expressed his concern as to the practical effect of the

majority’s holding - which would treat usurious contracts

void as to both parties “whereas our holdings and the

obvious purpose of the statute is to make it void as to the

usurer only to impose penalties upon him alone.” Seebold,

at 747 (citing Lukens v. Hazlett, 37 Minn. 441, 35 N.W. 265

(1887); Lorentz, supra.) | .

In Utterberg v. Cameron, 282 N.W.2d 536 (Minn.1979),

the court specifically overruled Seebold:

Seebold v. Eustermann, . . . unless specifically

overruled, would support the position of defen-

dants that a contract in violation of Minn.Stat.

§ 334.03 is void at its inception and confers no

rights upon either of the parties except as pro-

vided by statute. We now think the better rea-

soned result is expressed by the minority

opinion of Seebold, based upon the premise that

usury statutes are designed to protect the weak

and necessitous so that the penalties should be

imposed only against the usurer and not against

the victim. . . . We accordingly overrule Seebold

v. Eustermann, supra, the practical effect of which

is to redirect the burdens and protections of the

usury laws to prevent their invocation by the

usurer at his option to avoid a contract, when,

as in the instant case, a highly appreciable asset

* is its substance. The protection of asserting the

WAG ERA EDT tn eae Ne ener CON VY

mda oy

¥ nee sy ey

App. 37

defense of usury is available only to the pur-

chaser.

Utterberg, 282 N.W.2d at 537.

As noted by Plaintiffs, Rathbun was decided five

years before Utterberg, and the opinion cites no authority

for its determination that Plaintiffs could be restricted to

seeking only interest. Accordingly, the Court finds that

under Minnesota law, the available remedies to Plaintiffs

are voiding the contracts, and recovering all interest and

principal paid, Minn.Stat. § 334.03, Lorentz, supra, or

retain the property and refunding interest paid,

Minn.Stat. § 334.02, Utterberg, supra.

The final dispute raised by the parties in this motion

is the method to which the interest rate should be calcu-

lated. Defendants ask that the Court adopt the accounting

method utilized in Van Asperen v. Darling Olds, Inc., 254

Minn. 62, 93 N.W.2d 690, 697-98 (1958) and declare that a

rate of $8 per $100 is equivalent to an effective rate of %

14.45, calculated pursuant to the actuarial method.

Plaintiffs object to the use of the add on method

addressed in Van Asperen. Plaintiff [sic] ask the Court to

declare the proper method of accounting is the U.S. Rule.

Defendant’s expert utilizes the same method of comput-

ing interest as did Plaintiff's expert. See, Weil Aff., page

11. Accordingly, the method utilized by the experts,

which appears to the U.S. Rule, shall be utilized.

App. 38

ORDER

Accordingly, based upon the above, and all files,

records, and proceedings herein, IT IS HEREBY

ORDERED AND DECLARED:

1. The rental purchase contracts issued by Defen-

dant Thorn Americas, Inc. (formerly Rent-A-Center, Inc.)

to the Plaintiff Class are consumer credit sales contracts

for all purposes and are subject to the Minnesota General

Usury Statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01 et seq.

2. It is declared as to all Defendants that the con-

tracts of the Plaintiff Class bear interest at effective rates

in excess of twice the rate permitted under Minnesota

law, and, thus, constitute an “unlawful debt” as defined

by RICO, 18 U.S.C. § 1962(6).

3. The Plaintiff Class members, having made pay-

ments of principal, interest and fees to Thorn Americas,

Inc. under usurious rental purchase agreements, shall

have judgment against Thorn Americas, Inc. for an

amount to be determined in the following- manner:

A. All rental purchase contracts of the Plaintiff

Class are hereby declared void ab initio as to

Defendant Thorn Americas, Inc. pursuant to

Minn.Stat. §§ 334.03 and 334.05. Defendant

Thorn Americas, Inc. shall restore to the Plaintiff

Class all payments made by the Plaintiff class

under such contracts, including, but not limited

to, all principal, interest, “early purchase

option” payments and fees paid to Defendant

under such contracts, together with interest

thereon at the prejudgment interest rate.

B. Alternatively, any Class member may elect

to seek a refund of interest only under any of

App. 39

the Class member’s contracts, together with

interest thereon at the prejudgment interest rate,

rather than recovering all amounts paid as

stated in paragraph 3(A) above.

C. Within 60 days of the date of this Order,

Thorn Americas, Inc. shall identify by make,

model and serial number any and all goods

identified in the contracts which it desires

restored to it by members of the Plaintiff Class

recovering sums on such contracts pursuant to

paragraph 3(A) above. Failure to identify such

goods within the 60 day time period shall con-

stitute a waiver of any claim by Thorn Amer-

icas, Inc. to such goods.

D. Thorn Americas, Inc.’s security interest in

goods held by class members is void and unen-

forceable, whether or not the final installment

has been paid. As a result, Plaintiff Class mem-

bers are relieved of all further obligations with

regard to those contracts, including the obliga-

tion to make future payments under the con-

tracts. From the date of this Order on, Thorn

Americas, Inc. must cease making any further

collections or receiving any further payments of

any kind from the Plaintiff Class on the rental

purchase agreements.

4. Within 60 days of the date of this Order, Thorn

Americas, Inc. shall provide Plaintiffs’ counsel with com-

pleted separate calculations of the total principal, interest

and fees received by Thorn Americas, Inc. from Plaintiff

Class members in connection with contracts executed on

or after August 1, 1990. Reasonable supporting documen-

tation shall be previded with such calculations verifying

the methodology of calculations and the accuracy of fig-

ures used. The “cost of lease services” in each contract

App. 40

shall be deemed interest for the purpose of such calcula-

tion. Payments on contracts shall be calculated as amor-

tizing principal and paying interest under the “United

States Rule” or actuarial method whereby payments are

applied first to interest earned and the remainder to

reduction of principal. Plaintiffs’ counsel and their

accounting consultants are entitled to do such testing,

sampling of data, and review of such methodology and

calculations as may be necessary to verify Defendant's

calculations, and Thorn Americas, Inc. is directed to

cooperate and provide Plaintiffs access to any such data

or information.

5. Within 30 days of the date of this Order, Thorn

Americas, Inc. shall provide Plaintiffs’ counsel with a list

of the names and last known addresses of each class

member. Such list will state the date of each contract

entered into by each such class member during the rele-

vant period, identify the property involved in each such

contract, state the amount of payments made toward

principal, interest and other charges on each such con-

tract, and state whether or not said contract was termi-

nated through return of the property or otherwise.

6. Within 30 days of receiving the list of class mem-

bers described in paragraph 5 above, Plaintiffs’ counsel

shall submit to this court for approval a proposed notice

to class members informing them of the contents of the

Court’s ruling in paragraphs 1 through 3 above and their

rights thereunder. Within 30 days after the Court

approves such notice to class members, the Defendants

shall complete the distribution of said notice by first class

mail to members of the class, and submit proof of the

distribution of such notice to the Court and Plaintiffs’

Toa DE MBR Mayo ramen

App. 41

counsel. The cost of preparing and delivering said notice

shall be borne by the Defendants.

7. Within 60 days of the date of mailing of the notice

described above, members of the Plaintiff Class, who

have not already returned the property identified in any

of their contracts, shall inform the Court through class

counsel of their desire to elect relief under either para-

graph 3(A) or 3(B) above. Any such class member who

fails to receive notice to elect or fails to respond within

said time period shall be deemed to have elected a rem-

edy under paragraph 3(A) above.

8. Plaintiffs’ counsel shall have 60 days from receipt

of the Defendant's calculation under paragraph 4. above

to file with the Court any exceptions taken with such

calculation. If no exceptions are taken, the Defendant's

calculations shall be filed with the Court along with a

proposed order for judgment. In the event the calculation

is contested, the Court will appoint a Special Master to

adjudicate such contest. If the Defendant's calculation is

found to be more than 10% inaccurate, they shall pay the

costs of the Special Master. If the error is less than 10%,

the Plaintiffs shall pay the cost of the Master.

9. Within 90 days of the date of mailing the notice

described in paragraph 6 above, Plaintiffs’ counsel shall

report to the court concerning the amount of principal,

interest and other charges paid by class members on

relevant contracts, the remedies elected by various class

members, and the total amount of damages recoverable in

accordance therewith. Thereafter, the Court will enter an

appropriate award of damages against Thorn Americas,

Inc. in accordance with such procedures as the Court may

App. 42

hereafter adopt. Such award shall include prejudgment

interest at the statutory rate from the date of filing of the

Complaint, December 4, 1991.

10. From the date of this Order on, Thorn Americas,

Inc. is enjoined from entering into credit sales transac-

tions within the State of Minnesota which bear interest at

annual rates in excess of the maximum rate permitted

under Minnesota law.

11. The partial judgment when reduced to sums

certain as prescribed herein shall be rendered final under

Rule 54(b), Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, unless

Thorn Americas, Inc. posts a bond or other suitable secu-

rity with the Court equal to such judgments.

12. The Court will consider the matter of attorneys

fees, costs, plan of distribution and class notices at the

time the calculations of damages are submitted.

Dated: September 28, 1995.

/s/ Michael J. Davis

Michael J. Davis

United States District Court

mE RUN TATTR RAR HEN RRO me ce AER TAA (IRR i ce uN pene cera Na ei ce er ee

App. 43

APPENDIX C his

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-3694MNST

Vickie Fogie, et al., °

* Order Denying

ee * Petition for Rehearing

V. * and Suggestion for ~

THORN Americas, Inc., etc., i Rehearing En Banc

et al., ;

Appellants. *

The suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied.

Judge Bowman would grant the suggestion.

The petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

November 4, 1996

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Michael E. Gans

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

App. 44

APPENDIX D

Vickie FOGIE and Joan Leonard, on

behalf of themselves and all others

similarly situated, Plaintiffs,

Vv.

RENT-A-CENTER, INC., a Kansas

Corporation, et al., Defendants.

No. C4-93-1801.

Supreme Court of Minnesota.

June 24, 1994.

Certified question of law from United States District

Court; Diana Murphy, Judge.

David L. Ramp, Legal Aid Soc. of Mpls., Inc.,

Seymour J. Mansfield, Richard J. Fuller, Mansfield & Tan-

nick, P.A., Mark N. Stageberg, Kay Nord Hunt, Lommen,

Nelson, Cole & Stageberg, P.A., and Timothy L.

Thompson, Minneapolis, for plaintiffs.

John Troyer, J. Patrick McDavitt, Briggs and Morgan,

Minneapolis, and John C. Dods, Peter E. Strand, Shannon

Spangler, Shook, Hardy & Bacon, Kansas City, MO, for

defendants.

Elmer B. Trousdale, Christopher M. Scotti,

Oppenheimer, Wolff & Donnelly, St. Paul, for amicus

curiae, Minnesota Retail Merchants Ass’n.

Heard, considered and decided by the court en banc.

App. 45

OPINION

TOMLJANOVICH, Justice.

The following questions were certified to this court

from federal district court pursuant to Minn.Stat.

§ 480.061 (1992): (1) Are rent-to-own contracts consumer

credit sales under Minn.Stat. § 325G.15 (1992)? (2) Does

the usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01 (1992), apply to

rent-to-own contracts? For the reasons set forth in Miller

v. Colortyme, Inc., 518 N.W.2d 544 (Minn., 1994), we

answer both questions in the affirmative.

Delilah MILLER, et al., Petitioners,

Appellants,

v.

COLORTYME, INC., et al., Respondents.

No. C2-92-2595.

Supreme Court of Minnesota.

June 24, 1994.

Petition for Clarification Denied

Aug. 2, 1994.

Customers who entered rent-to-own contracts for

consumer goods sued lessors to recover for violation of

Consumer Credit Sales Act (CCSA) and usury laws. The

District Court, Hennepin County, entered partial sum-

mary judgment for customers. Lessors appealed. The

Court of Appeals, 504 N.W.2d 258, reversed. Customers

App. 46

appealed. The Supreme Court, Tomljanovich, J., held that:

(1) “rent-to-own” transactions are consumer credit sales

under CCSA, and (2) such transactions are subject to

interest rate limitations of general usury statute.

Court of Appeals’ decision reversed and remanded.

Seymour J. Mansfield, Richard J. Fuller, Mansfield &

Tanick, P.A., Mark N. Stageberg, Kay Nord Hunt, Lom-

men, Nelson, Cole & Stageberg, P.C., and David Ramp,

Legal Aid Soc. of Minneapolis, Minneapolis, for appel-

lants.

Jay M. Quam and Sue Halverson, Fredrikson &

Byron, Minneapolis, for respondents.

Robert Hobbs, National Consumer Law Center, Inc.,

Boston, MA, William Crowder and Susan Bedor, Crowder

& Bedor, St. Paul, for amicus curiae Nat. Consumer Law

Center, Inc.

Elmer B. Trousdale and Christopher M. Scotti,

Oppenheimer, Wolff & Donnelly, St. Paul, for amicus

curiae Minnesota Retail Merchants Ass’n.

James E. Rolshouse, Minneapolis, for amicus curiae

Minnesota Ass’n of Rental Dealers. —~

Jarvis C. Jones, Minneapolis, for amici curiae

N.A.A.C.P., the Urban Coalition of Minneapolis, the Min-

neapolis Urban League, Matthew Little and Gleason

Glover.

H. Theodore Grindal and Joseph Musliek, Opperman,

Heins & Paquin, Minneapolis, for amicus curiae Ass’n of

Progressive Rental Organizations.

App. 47

David Woodward, St. Paul, for amicus curiae Atty.

Gen., State of Minn.

Heard, considered and decided by the court en banc.

OPINION

TOMLJANOVICH, Justice.

We are asked to decide whether “rent-to-own” trans-

actions (also known as “rental-purchase” transactions)

are consumer credit sales under the Consumer Credit

Sales Act, Minn.Stat. §§ 325G.15 and 325G.16 (1992), and

if they are consumer credit sales, whether they are subject

to the interest rate limitations of the general usury stat-

ute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01 (1992). The court of appeals held

that rent-to-own agreements entered into by respondents

are not consumer credit sales and are not usurious. We

reverse and remand.

Respondent D.E.F. Investments, Inc. and its subsid-

iaries operate several rent-to-own dealerships in Minne-

sota. They do business under the trade name “Renter's

Choice Home Furnishings.” DEF uses standard form con-

tracts to lease new and used furniture, televisions,

appliances, and various other consumer goods to cus-

tomers. Under these contracts, which are similar to others

used in the rent-to-own industry, customers elect to rent

items for a weekly or monthly rental term. At the end of

each term, customers have a unilateral option to renew

the agreement for another term. If a customer renews an

agreement for a specified number of terms, the customer

obtains title and ownership of the item rented for no

additional consideration. Full payment of the rental fee

App. 48

must be made before or at the beginning of each term. In

order to acquire ownership of an item, consumers ordi-

narily must pay a total price far in excess of fair market

value. DEF does not offer consumer items for immediate

sale.

Appellants Delilah Miller and Craig Stenzel both

have entered into rent-to-own contracts with DEF over a

period of several years. For example, on December 18,

1990, Miller entered into a rent-to-own transaction with

DEF for a used washer and dryer, the stated cash price of

which was $800.75. Under the contract, Miller could

acquire ownership of the washer and dryer by making 16

monthly payments of $84.40, for a total of $1,350.40, or by

making 69 weekly payments of $21.10, for a total of

$1,455.90. As a further example, on October 17, 1990

Stenzel entered into a rent-to-own transaction with DEF

for a 19” color television, the stated cash price of which

was $470. Under the contract, Stenzel could acquire own-

ership of the television by making 18 monthly payments

of $47.70, for a total of $858.60, or by making 78 weekly

payments of $12.75, for a total of $994.50. Some of the

contracts Miller and Stenzel have entered into have

resulted in completed purchases; others have not.

On April 7, 1992 appellants Stenzel and Miller filed a

class action lawsuit against DEF seeking monetary dam-

ages as well as declaratory and injunctive relief. In the

relevant counts of appellants’ complaint, appellants

allege that DEF has violated various consumer protection

statutes by failing to treat rent-to-own transactions as

credit sales under the Consumer Credit Sales Act, and

that DEF has engaged in usury in violation of Minn.Stat.

§ 334.01. On August 3, 1992, appellants moved for partial

App. 49

summary judgment, asking for a declaratory judgment

that respondents’ contracts constitute credit sales. On

August 5, 1992, DEF moved for partial summary judg-

ment, seeking dismissal of appellants’ usury claim.

On November 30, 1992, the district court filed an

order which granted appellants’ motion for summary

judgment and declared contracts entered by “Class Mne”?

to be “consumer credit sales for all purposes within the

meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15 and 325G.16.” The court

also denied DEF’s motion for summary judgment and

instead granted summary judgment for appellants on

their usury claim, reserving the measure of damages for

the fact finder.

After granting discretionary review, the court of

appeals issued an opinion on August 3, 1993, reversing

the district court. Miller v. Colortyme, Inc., 504 N.W.2d 258

(Minn.App.1993). The court of appeals held: (1) DEF’s

rent-to-own agreements are not “consumer credit sales”

for all purposes within the meaning of Minn.Stat.

§§ 325G.15 and 325G.16, and (2) DEF’s agreements are not

usurious under Minn.Stat. § 334.01. While not reaching

the issue, the court of appeals further suggested that the

Rental Purchase Agreements Act (RPAA), Minn.Stat.

§§ 325F.84-.98, is in substantial conflict with the Con-

sumer Credit Sales Act (CCSA), Minn.Stat. §§ 325G.15

1 The November 30 order grants appellants’ motion for

class certification as to Class One. Class One consists of

individuals who entered rent-to-own contracts after April 7,

1986 that provide for ownership at the end of a predesignated

term without requiring an additional balloon payment.

App. 50

and 325G.16, and that the provisions of the RPAA are

controlling. This appeal followed.

I.

We consider first whether the CCSA defines rent-to-

own agreements as consumer credit sales, thereby depart-

ing fidm the common law distinction between leases and

sales in order to provide the same protections to con-

sumers who engage in rent-to-own transactions as to

consumers who engage in traditional credit sales. At

common law a rent-to-own transaction is regarded as a

lease and not a sale because a buyer is not bound to pay

the total purchase price and can terminate a transaction

at any time by returning the property. See Samuel Will-

iston, The Law Governing Sales of Goods at Common Law and

Under the Uniform Sales Act, § 336 (1948). Prior to enact-

ment of the CCSA this court followed the common law

distinction. Hughes v. Becker, 260 Minn. 83, 87, 108 N.W.2d

781, 783 (1961).

The CCSA was originally enacted in 1971. In 1981 the

legislature amended Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5 of the

CCSA to define certain terminable leases as a “sale of

goods.” Act of March 27, 1981, ch. 10, § 1, 1981

Minn.Laws 18-19. Under the amended version of

Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5, the term “sale of goods”

includes:

a contract in the form of a terminable bailment

or lease of goods if: (a) the bailee or lessee has

the option to renew the contract by making the

payments specified in the contract; (b) the con-

tract obligates the bailor or lessor to transfer

ownership of the property to the bailee or lessee

App. 51

for no other or a nominal consideration upon

full compliance by the bailee or lessee with the

bailee’s or lessee’s obligations under the con-

tract including any obligation incurred by rea-

son of the exercise of an option by the bailee or

lessee to renew the contract; and (c) the pay-

ments contracted for by the bailee or lessee,

including those payments pursuant to the exer-

cise of an option by the bailee or lessee to renew

the contract, are substantially equivalent to or in

excess of the aggregate value of the property

and services involved.

It is undisputed that DEF’s contracts satisfy each of the

above criteria and therefore constitute a “sale of goods”

within the meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5. First,

under DEF’s contracts the lessee has the option to renew

the contract by making advance rental payments at the

beginning of each rental term. Second, the contracts obli-

gate DEF to transfer ownership to the consumer if the

consumer renews the agreement for a specified number

of payments. Third, the total payments necessary to

acquire ownership exceed the value of the property and

services provided by respondents.

Given that rent-to-own contracts are “sales of goods”

within the meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5, the

question is whether they are protected “consumer credit

sales” within the meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd.

2. Under Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 2, a “consumer

credit sale” is defined as:

[A] sale of goods or services in which (a) credit

is granted by a seller who regularly engages as a

seller in credit transactions of the same kind; (b)

the buyer is a natural person; and (c) the goods

App. 52

or services are purchased primarily for a per-

sonal, family or household purpose, and not for

commercial, agricultural, or business purpose.

The court of appeals concluded that DEF’s rent-to-own

transactions are not protected “consumer credit sales.” It

reasoned that DEF does not grant credit to customers

because customers prepay for use of leased goods with

no further obligation. Miller v. Colortyme, 504 N.W.2d at

260.

We believe rent-to-own transactions are “consumer

credit sales” within the meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15,

subd. 2. The object of all interpretation and construction

of laws is to ascertain and effectuate the intention of the

legislature. By defining certain terminable leases as

“sales” within the CCSA, the legislature has made clear

its intent to subject these terminable leases to the same

consumer protection laws as ordinary credit sales. There

is no conceivable reason why the legislature would

amend Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5 to define certain

terminable leases as sales if it did not intend such leases

to be protected “consumer credit sales” within the mean-

ing of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 2. The interpretation of

the CCSA adopted by the court of appeals renders mean-

ingless the language in Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd 5

defining certain terminable leases as sales.

DEF argues that a seller cannot be deemed to heve

extended “credit” in the absence of a buyer who has

incurred debt. The word “credit” can have different

meanings in different statutes and we do not believe i: is

appropriate to apply a narrow definition of credit in this

context. The manifest purpose of the Consumer Credit

Sales Act is consumer protection. As a remedial statute, it

App. 53

is entitled to a liberal construction to promote, not frus-

trate, its objectives. Governmental Research Bureau v. Bor-

gen, 224 Minn. 313, 28 N.W.2d 760 (1947). The legislature

has specifically defined the transactions at issue as sales,

despite their terminable nature. Sales are ordinarily

regarded as “credit sales” where a buyer acquires posses-

sion but is allowed to defer full payment. See Black’s Law

Dictionary 369-70 (6th Ed.1990). Accordingly, we hold

that rent-to-own transactions are credit sales within the

meaning of Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 2 because buyers

of goods are not required to make full payment upon

acquiring possession but are allowed to pay for goods

sold over time.?

II.

Minn.Stat. § 325G.16, subd. 4 provides that “[a]ny

lease or bailment of goods which constitutes a consumer

credit sale shall be deemed to be a sale for all purposes.”

Because rent-to-own agreements are consumer credit

sales for all purposes, they are subject to the same con-

sumer protection laws as ordinary credit sales, including

2 By defining rent-to-own transactions as “sales,” the

legislature recognized that the economic reality of these

transactions is like that of ordinary credit sales, despite their

terminable nature. As the consumer of a rent-to-own product

continues making weekly or monthly payments under the

contract, the pressure to keep making payments and to exercise

the purchase option grows until it becomes the only feasible

rational choice, given the alternative of completely forfeiting all

past payments and returning the goods.

App. 54

the general usury statute, Minn.Stat. § 334.01. We must

decide whether the district court erred in holding that

respondents’ contracts are usurious as a matter of law

and granting summary judgment for appellants.

We have held that four elements must be proven to

establish a violation of the usury law:

(1) a loan of money or forbearance of debt,

(2) an agreement between the parties that the

principal shall be repayable absolutely,

(3) the exaction of a greater amount of interest

or profit than is allowed by law, and

(4) the presence of an intention to evade the

law at the inception of the transaction.

3 The usury statute provides, in relevant part:

The interest for any legal indebtedness shall be at the

rate of $6 upon $100 for a year, unless a different rate

is contracted for in writing. No person shall directly

or indirectly take or receive in money, goods, or

things in action, or in any other way, any greater sum,

or any greater value, for the loan or forbearance of

money, goods, or things in action, than $8 on $100 for

one year.

4 There are several statutory exceptions to the general

usury statute applying to specific types of credit transactions,

but none of these exceptions are applicable to the rent-to-own

agreements at issue. The rent-to-own contracts at issue also are

not exempt from the usury statute under the judicially created

time-price doctrine. This doctrine may apply where a seller fixes

one price for cash and another price for credit. Respondents do

not offer consumer items for immediate sale.

App. 55

Citizen’s Nat’! Bank of Willmar v. Taylor, 368 N.W.2d 913,

918 (Minn.1985).5

DEF argues that its rent-to-own contracts are not

usurious because they do not involve a forbearance of

debt and do not impose an absolute obligation to repay a

principal amount. In usury law, the term “forbearance”

signifies the “contractual obligation of a lender or credi-

tor to refrain, during a given period of time, from requir-

ing the borrower or debtor to pay a loan or debt then due

and payable.” Rathbun v. W.T. Grant Co., 300 Minn. 223,

233, 219 N.W.2d 641, 648 (1974). We agree with DEF that

rent-to-own consumers technically do not incur any debt

because they pay in advance for each rental period and

are never obligated to renew an agreement. We also agree

with DEF that a rent-to-own consumer technically has no

absolute obligation to repay a principal amount. We dis-

agree, however, that the first two common law elements

of usury can be applied here to defeat appellants’ usury

claim where the legislature has defined rent-to-own

transactions as “consumer credit sales” for all purposes.

The purpose of the usury law is to protect consumers

by limiting the amount of interest which can be charged

on a credit sale or loan. The first two common law ele-

ments of usury serve merely to clarify what transactions

5 Minn.Stat. § 334.011, subd. 2 (1992) provides that if a

greater rate of interest than that allowed is charged then the

entire interest due on that note, bill or other evidence of debt is

forfeited. In addition, if the greater rate of interest has been

paid, the person who paid it may recover in a civil action an

amount equal to twice the amount of interest paid.

App. 56

are subject to interest rate limitations. By defining rent-to-

own transactions in the CCSA as “consumer credit sales”

for all purposes, the legislature has established that con-

sumers who enter into rent-to-own transactions are to

benefit from the same protections as consumers who pur-

chase goods through ordinary installment sales, even

though rent-to-own consumers do not actually incur any

debt and do not have any obligation to repay a principal

amount. Consequently, the first two common law ele-

ments of usury are met by operation of statute.

The legislature’s decision to treat rent-to-own trans-

actions as credit sales recognizes that although these

transactions purport to be short-term leases, they operate

in substance much like ordinary installment sales. Con-

sumers-who purchase goods through rent-to-own agree-

ments may not incur debt, but they still implicitly pay

interest in return for the ability to pay for goods over

time. Moreover, rent-to-own customers may not have an

absolute obligation to repay a principal amount, but their

situation is analogous to that of ordinary buyers on credit

in that they must either forfeit possession of a good or

continue paying for it. See supra, note 2.

In addressing the scope of the usury statute, we look

through the form to the substance of a transaction. Rath-

bun, 300 Minn. at 235, 219°N.W.2d at 649. “There is no

6 In Rathbun, defendant offered for sale retail installment

credit coupon books. A customer could purchase on credit a

book of coupons in denominations ranging from 50 cents to $10,

and totalling from $10 to $200, which could be used towards a

Purchase of merchandise at defendant’s stores. For coupon

books sold after January 1, 1971 finance charges accrued after

_

App. 57

shift or device on the part of the lender to evade the

[usury] law under or behind which the law will not look

to ascertain the real nature and object of the transaction.”

Adjustment Service Bureau, Inc. v. Buelow, 196 Minn. 563,

567, 265 N.W. 659, 661 (1936).

Having determined that the first two elements of the

common law usury test are met by operation of statute,

we turn to whether the district court was correct in

determining that respondents intentionally charged an

excessive amount of interest. Under Minn.Stat. § 334.01,

the interest for any legal indebtedness generally shall be

no greater than six percent.” DEF acknowledges the large

disparity between the cost of purchasing goods through

its rent-to-own agreements and the value of the goods

sold, but alleges that there is a factual issue with respect

to whether it charged excessive interest, because the total

value of goods and services (e.g., free delivery and main-

tenance) provided by DEF is disputed. We disagree.

While there is some question as to the total value of

services provided by DEF, DEF offered virtually no evi-

dence to the district court as to the value of such services.

Based on the record, we agree with the district court that

the first coupon was actually used, and all coupons could be

returned at any time without charge. A customer who returned

unused coupons was given full credit, including credit for

finance charges attributable to the unused coupons. Even

though the customer could return the coupons unused for full

credit, the court held that the contracts were usurious.

7 Section 334.01 permits an interest rate of eight percent if

the rate is contracted for in writing.

App. 58

no reasonable fact finder could conclude that the differ-

ence between the total payments required under the con-

tracts and the value of the goods and services extended

amounts to as little as six percent of the total payments.

The district court properly concluded that DEF charged

an excessive amount of interest as a matter of law.

DEF also argues that it did not have the requisite

intent necessary to satisfy a usury claim because it acted

in good faith and did not intend to violate the law. To be

guilty of violating the usury law, a lender need only

intend“ to Charge a rate that is in fact usurious. It matters

not whether the lender knows he is violating the usury

law. Citizen's Nat'l Bank of Willmar v. Taylor, 368 N.W.2d at

919. DEF does not claim that it intended to collect less

money than is stated on the contracts, and therefore, as a

matter of law DEF had the requisite intent.

Because no genuine issue of material fact exists as to

whether DEF intentionally charged an excessive rate of

interest, the district court properly granted summary

judgment for appellants on their usury claim.

Ill.

We finally consider DEF’s argument that the Rental

Purchase Agreement Act, Minn.Stat. §§ 325F.84-.98, has

repealed the Consumer Credit Sales Act. The RPAA was

enacted in 1990 and provides a number of protections to

rent-to-own consumers. Among these, the RPAA provides

for specified disclosures in the rent-to-own agreement, in

advertising, and on in-store merchandise tags (sections

325F.86-.88); imposes restrictions and protections in the

App. 59

event of default (section 325F.89); provides for reinstate-

ment rights to consumers (section 325F.90); limits deliv-

ery charges, security deposits and collection fees (section

325F.91); authorizes the commissioner of commerce to

adopt rules governing cash price limits (section 325.91);

prohibits identified abusive debt collection practices (sec-

tion 325F.92); and provides for enforcement through both

the Attorney General and a private right of action (sec-

tion 325F.97).

The RPAA on its face does not purport to set up an

exclusive system regulating rent-to-own contracts. Sec-

tion 325F.85 of the RPAA specifically addresses the rela-

tionship between the RPAA and the CCSA, and provides:

If the consumer protection provisions of sections

325F.84 to 325F.97 conflict with sections 325G.15

and 325G.16, sections 325F.84 to 325F.97 apply to

a rental-purchase agreement and supersede sec-

tions 325G.15 and 325G.16.

Moreover, section 325F.97, subd. 2 of the RPAA provides

that the remedies under the RPAA “are cumulative and

shall not be construed as restricting any remedy that is

otherwise available.”

The RPAA’s legislative history further indicates that

the RPAA was not intended to repeal the CCSA. As

originally proposed, the RPAA would have explicitly

excluded applicability of the CCSA. Amendments, how-

ever, were subsequent!y adopted which deleted the pro-

visions repealing the CCSA and which substituted the

present language of section 325F.85.

Despite this statutory language and legislative his-

tory, DEF suggests that the RPAA impliedly repeals the

App. 60

CCSA. Under Minn.Stat. § 645.39 (1992), where a later

law does not purport to establish an exclusive system

covering an subject matter, a later law shall only be

construed as impliedly repealing earlier laws on the same

subject where the two laws are irreconcilable. A statute is

to be construed, whenever reasonably possible, in such a

way as to avoid irreconcilable differences and conflict

with another statute. Erickson v. Sunset Memorial Park

Assoc., 259 Minn. 532, 543, 108 N.W.2d 434, 441 (1961).

DEF points to a number of differences and conflicts

between the CCSA and the RPAA, but none of these are

irreconcilable. First, DEF notes that although the RPAA

imposes express limitations on charges for certain items

in rent-to-own agreements (e.g., delivery fees, security

deposit, penalty for early termination), it does not impose

an express limitation on the total amount that customers

can be charged. DEF additionally notes that although the

RPAA requires disclosure of the difference between the

“cash price” and the amount of total payments, using the

term “cost of lease services,” it does not impose any

express limitation on what may be charged for lease

services. However, the fact that the RPAA fails to impose

any caps on total payments or on interest rates does not

create an irreconcilable conflict with the CCSA because

the consumer protections provided by the two statutes

can be treated as cumulative.

Next, DEF argues that if the legislature intended

rent-to-own transactions to be “credit sales” for all pur-

poses, it would not have enacted a statute regulating such

transactions which is replete with lease terminology. For

example, in the RPAA, the person who rents personal™

property under a rent-to-own agreement is defined as the

App. 61

7

“lessee,” and the person who offers property for rent is

defined as the “lessor.” Minn.Stat. § 325F.84. However,

use of terms such as “lessee” and “lessor” in and of itself

does not create an irreconcilable conflict with the ©“ ~~A.

The CCSA itself uses terms like “lessor” and “lessee” to

describe rent-to-own transactions, only to further define

these kinds of transactions as “sales of goods.” See

Minn.Stat. § 325G.15, subd. 5.

DEF also points out that among the disclosures

required by the RPAA, a customer must be told that she

will not own the property until she has made the total

payments necessary to acquire ownership of the property.

Minn.Stat. § 325F.86(e). DEF argues that this provision

conflicts with 325G.16, subd. 4 of the CCSA, which

requires the lessor’s interest to be treated as a “security

interest.” The disclosure requirement in the RPAA, how-

ever, is for the protection of the consumer and merely

serves to ensure the consumer is made aware that absolute

ownership will not pass prior to full payment.

DEF finally claims that the two statutes cannot be

reasonably reconciled because, if the CCSA is deemed to

impose an interest rate cap, this cap combined with the

early-purchase option required by the RPAA would force

defendants to sell their goods at below market value.®

Appellants, however, cite a number of ways in which

8 Under the early-purchase option requirement, lessors

must allow customers to acquire ownership of a property any

time after the first periodic payment is made by tendering 55%

of the difference between the total of scheduled payments and

the total amount paid on the account. Minn.Stat. § 325F.93

(1992).

App. 62

respondents can manipulate the contract terms to realize

profits even if the early purchase option is exercised (e.g.

by increasing the length of the initial rental period,

requiring an initial downpayment, decreasing the number

of payments necessary to acquire ownership), and in any

event, lost profits is not a valid defense to a usury claim.

We conclude that the RPAA does not repeal the

CCSA; rather the remedies in the two statutes are

cumulative. We reverse and remand to the district court

for further proceedings.

App. 63

APPENDIX E

MINNESOTA STATUTES

RENTAL PURCHASE AGREEMENTS

325F.84 DEFINITIONS.

Subdivision 1. Applicability. As used in sections

325F.84 to 325F.98, the following terms have the meanings

given them.

Subd. 2. Advertisement. “Advertisement” means a

commercial message in any medium, including signs,

window displays, and price tags, that promotes, directly

or indirectly, a rental-purchase agreement.

Subd. 3. Cash price. “Cash price” means an amount

equal to the equivalent fair market value for goods

offered under a consumer credit sale as provided under

section 325G.15.

Subd. 4. Consummation. “Consummation” means

the time at which the lessee enters into a rental-purchase

agreement.

Subd. 5. Lessee. “Lessee” means a natural person

who rents personal property under a rental-purchase

agreement for personal, family, or household use.

Subd. 6. Lessor. “Lessor” means a person who, in the

ordinary course of business, regularly leases, offers to

lease, or arranges for the leasing of property under a

rental-purchase agreement.

Subd. 7. Personal property. “Personal property”

means property that is not real property under the laws

of this state when it is made available for a rental-pur-

chase agreement.

App. 64

Subd. 8. Rental-purchase agreement. “Rental-pur-

chase agreement” means an agreement for the use of

personal property in which all of the following apply:

(1) the lessor is regularly engaged in the rental-

purchase business;

(2) the agreement is for an initial period of four

months or less, whether or not there is any obligation

beyond the initial period, that is automatically renewable

with each payment and that permits the lessee to become

the owner of the property;

(3) the lessee is a person other than an organization;

and

(4) the lessee takes under the rental-purchase agree-

ment primarily for a personal, family, or household pur-

pose.

325F.85 APPLICATION OF OTHER LAW.

If the consumer protection provisions of sections

325F.84 to 325F.97 conflict with sections 325G.15 and

325G.16, sections 325F.84 to 325F.97 apply to a rental-

purchase agreement and supersede sections 325G.15 and

325G.16.

325-86 DISCLOSURES.

In a rental-purchase agreement, the lessor shall dis-

close the following items, as applicable:

(a) The total of payments necessary to acquire own-

ership of the property accompanied by an explanation

App. 65

that this term means the “total dollar amount of pay-

ments you will have to make to acquire ownership.”

(b) The total number, amounts, and timing of all

payments and other charges including taxes or official

fees paid to or through the lessor that are necessary to

acquire ownership of the property.

(c) The difference between the amount disclosed

under paragraph (a) and the cash price of the leased

property, using the term “cost of lease services” to mean

the difference between these amounts.

(d) Any initial or advance payment such as a deliv-

ery charge or trade-in allowance.

(e) A statement that the lessee will not own the

property until the lessee has made the total of payments

necessary to acquire ownership of the property.

(f) A statement that the total of payments does not

include additional charges such as late payment charges,

and a separate listing and explanation of these charges, as

applicable.

(g) A statement that the lessee is liable for loss or

damage to the property and the maximum amount for

which the lessee is liable, which in the case of loss shall in

no event be greater than the price the lessee would have

paid to exercise an early purchase option. In the case of

damage to the property other than normal wear and tear,

the lessee shall be liable for the lesser of the price the

lessee would have paid to exercise an early purchase

option or the cost of repair as reasonably determined by

the lessor.

App. 66

(h) A statement that the lessee is not required to

purchase a liability damage waiver from the lessor.

(i) A description of the goods or merchandise

including model numbers as applicable and a statement

indicating whether the property is new or used. It is not a

violation of this subdivision to indicate that the property

is used if it is actually new.

(j) A statement that the lessee has the option to

purchase the leased property during the terms of the

rental-purchase agreement and at what price, formula, or

by what method the price is to be determined.

(k) The cash price of the merchandise.

(1) A statement of the following lessee rights: rein-

statement rights under section 325F.90, default notice

under section 325F.89, and consumer warranties under

sections 325G.17 to 325G.20.

The commissioner of commerce may prescribe the

disclosure form by rule.

325F87 FORM REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. Generally. The disclosure information

required by section 325F.86 must be disclosed in a rental-

purchase agreemert and:

(1) must be made clearly and conspicuously with

items appearing in logical order and segregated as appro-

priate for readability and clarity;

(2) must be made in writing;

App. 67

(3) need not be contained in a single writing or

made in the order set forth in section 325F.86; and

(4) may be supplemented by additional information

or explanations supplied by the lessor, but none shall be

stated, used, or placed so as to mislead or confuse the

lessee or to contradict, obscure, or detract attention fror

the information required by section 325F.86, and so long

as the additional information or explanations do not have

the effect of circumventing, evading, or unduly compli-

cating the information required to be disclosed by section

325F.86.

Subd. 2. Timing. The lessor shall disclose all informa-

tion required by section 325F.86 before the rental-pur-

chase agreement is executed. These disclosures must be

made on the face of the writing evidencing the rental-

purchase agreement.

Subd. 3. Copy to lessee. Before any payment is due,

the lessor shall furnish the lessee with an exact copy of

each rental-purchase agreement. The agreement shall be

signed by the lessee and is evidence of the lessee’s agree-

ment. If there is more than one lessee in a rental-purchase

agreement, delivery of a copy of the rental-purchase

agreement ‘to one of the lessees constitutes compliance

with this subdivision; however, a lessee not signing the

agreement is not liable under it.

Subd. 4. Type size. The terms of the rental-purchase

agreement, except as otherwise provided in this section,

must be set forth in not less than eight-point standard

type.

App. 68

Subd. 5. Blank spaces. All blank spaces on the rental-

purchase agreement form must be filled in before the

rental-purchase agreement is executed. Blank spaces that

are provided for items or terms not applicable to the

agreement must be crossed out.

325F.88 ADVERTISING.

Subdivision 1. Prohibition. An advertisement for a

rental-purchase agreement shall not state or imply that a

specific item is available at specific amounts or terms

unless the lessor usually and customarily offers or will

offer that item at those amounts or terms.

Subd. 2. Disclosures. (a) If an advertisement for a

rental-purchase agreement refers to or states the amount

of any payment or the right to acquire ownership for a

specific item, the advertisement must also clearly and

conspicisouly state the following terms, as applicable:

(1) that the transaction advertised is a rental-pur-

chase agreement;

(2) the total of payments necessary to acquire own-

ership; and

(3) that the lessee will not own the property until

the total amount necessary to acquire ownership is paid

in full or by prepayment as provided for by law.

(b) Every item displayed or offered under a rental-

purchase agreement shall have clearly and conspicuously

indicated in Arabic numerals, so as to be readable and

understandable by visual inspection, each of the follow-

ing affixed to the item:

App. 69

(1) the cash price of the item; and

(2) the amount of the lease payment and the total of

lease payments required for ownership.

Subd. 3. Nonapplication. This section does not apply

to the owner or personnel, as such, of any medium in

which an advertisement appears or through which it is

disseminated.

325F.89 DEFAULT.

Subdivision 1. Enforceability. An agreement of the

parties to a rental-purchase agreement with respect to

default is enforceable only to the extent that one of the

following apply:

;

(1) the lessee both fails to renew an agreement and

also fails to return the property or make arrangements for

its return as provided in the agreement; or

(2) the prospect of payment, performance, or return

of the property is materially impaired due to a breach of

the rental-purchase agreement, with the burden of estab-

lishing the prospect of material impairment on the lessor.

Subd. 2. Authorization. If a lessee has been in default

for three business days, the lessor may give the lessee a

default notice and request surrender of the property as

provided under subdivision 3. Mailing written notice to

the last known address of the lessee meets the require-

ment of giving written notice under subdivision 3.

Subd. 3. Default notice. The first default notice and a

subsequent default notice that is sent more than 12

App. 70

months after sending the last written notice must be in

writing and conspicuously state the following:

(1) the name, address, and telephone number of the

lessor to whom payment is to be made;

(2) a brief identification of the transaction;

(3) the lessee’s right to cure the default;

(4) the amount of payment and date by which pay-

ment must be made to cure the default;

(5) a statement of the lessee’s reinstatement rights

as provided under section 325F.90; and

(6) a request to voluntarily surrender the property if

the payment is not made.

A subsequent default notice given within the 12

months after a written default notice may be given orally

and constitutes proper notice under this section.

Subd. 4. Property recovery. A lessor may not bring a

court action to recover the property until seven days after

a proper default notice has been given.

Subd. 5. Voluntary surrender of property. This sec-

tion does not prohibit a lessee from voluntarily surren-

dering possession of the property or the lessor from

enforcing a past due obligation which the lessee may

have at any time after default.

Subd. 6. Compliance. If the lessee cures the default

by taking the action required in the default notice, a

breach of the agreement is considered as not having

occurred.

App. 71

325F.90 LESSEE’S REINSTATEMENT RIGHTS.

Subdivision 1. Generally. A lessee who fails to make

timely lease payments may reinstate the original rental-

purchase agreement without losing any rights or options

previously acquired under the rental-purchase agreement

if both of the following apply:

(1) after having failed to make a timely payment,

the lessee has surrendered the property to the lessor

within seven days of a request to surrender the property

made by the lessor as provided in section 325F.89; and

(2) in the case of a lessee that has paid less than 60

percent of the total of payments necessary to acquire

ownership of the property, not more than 60 days have

passed since the lessee returned the property. If the lessee

has paid more than 60 percent of the total of payments

necessary to acquire ownership of the property, the les-

see’s rights to reinstate shall be extended for a period of

not less than 180 days after the lessee has returned the

property.

Subd. 2. Charges. As a condition to reinstating a

rental-purchase agreement, a lessor may charge the out-

standing balance of any accrued payments; a reinstate-

ment fee not to exceed $5 for each reinstatement; and a

delivery charge not to exceed $15 for five items or less or

$30 for more than five items, if redelivery of the item is

necessary.

Subd. 3. Substitute items. If reinstatement occurs as

provided in this section, the lessor shall provide the

lessee with the same item, if available, leased by the

App. 72

lessee before reinstatement. If the same item is not avail-

able, a substitute item of comparable worth, quality, and

condition may be used. If a substitute item is provided,

the lessor shall provide the lessee with all the information

required by section 325F.86.

235F.91 PROHIBITED PRACTICES.

Subdivision 1. Prohibited rental agreement provi-

sions. A rental-purchase agreement may not contain a

provision:

(1) requiring a confession of judgment;

(2) authorizing a lessor or an agent of the lessor to

commit a breach of the peace in the repossession of

property;

(3) waiving a defense, counterclaim, or right the

lessee may have against the lessor or an agent of the

lessor;

(4) requiring the payment of a late charge unless a

lease payment

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.