Opposition Brief — Associated Gas Distributors v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
Supreme Court brief1997
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
y ry 3) APR.10 1997
/
a
Nos. 96-1186, 96-1187, 96-1188
In the Supreme Court of the Giuted States __
OCTOBER TERM, 1996
ASSOCIATED GAS DiSTRIBUTORS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
as
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
AMERICAN PUBLIC GAS ASSOCIATION AND CITIZENS
GAS & COKE UTILITY, PETITIONERS
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
NEW YORK PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION, ET AL.,
PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
BURLINGTON RESOURCES OIL & GAS COMPANY,
PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
ON PETITIONS FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
IN OPPOSITION
WALTER DELLINGER
ee ey Acting Solicitor General
SUSAN TOMASKY Department of Justice
General Counsel Washington, D.C. 20530-0001
JOSEPH S. DAVES 202) 514-2217
Acting Solicitor
SUSAN J. COURT
ERIC LEE CHRISTENSEN
Attorneys
Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20426
QUESTIONS PRESENTED
Order No. 636 of the Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission (FERC) requires the unbundling of
interstate natural gas transportation service from
sales service in order to facilitate competition in the
national market for gas at the wellhead and ensure
equal access to transportation services. The ques-
tions presented are:
1. Whether FERC’s jurisdiction over interstate
transportation of natural gas under the Natural Gas
Act, 15 U.S.C. 717 et seqg., supports application to local
natural gas distribution companies and municipally
owned natural gas companies of FERC regulations
governing transfer of rights to capacity on interstate
natural gas pipelines.
2. Whether FERC correctly concluded that, pur-
suant to its program for reallocation of pipeline capac-
ity under long-term transportation contracts, it could
not require natural gas pipelines to accept bids lower
than the maximum just and reasonable rate for trans-
portation capacity.
(1)
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
oe, LNA TER SIR NES SPREE LIS SONS CA ee MM 2
on, NEE RRE NAISAERE E RA AGO Rn Se 2
Be EERE Ce LRN ROTC SN DEN ae eR 2
a a OER ERSTE Ta Us See, SO RST OO EAA NE SOT 8
ace RT NTS SOO MEE ED REET CPE MRR GD TO 24
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases:
Algonquin Gas Transmission Co., 59 F.E.R.C. (CCH)
{ 61,032 (Apr. 8, 1992), reh’g denied, 60 F.E.R.C.
(CCH) 4 61,113 (Aug. 8, 1992) .............ccccccccessceoseeee 4,5
Altamont Gas Transmission Co. v. FERC, 92 F.3d
1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996), petition for cert. pending,
ROO ME ER sarc tais orciclcaiscaiec sanagubgnecked-kesoisss., 17
Arcadia v. Ohio Power Co., 498 U.S. 73 (1990) ....... 23
Associated Gas Distribs. v. FERC, 824 F.2d 981
(D.C. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006
IE perk cas tiierescaradunenkcpusscumscaabethisesbicradcctkenus.ihas., 22
Atlantic Ref. Co. v. Public Serv. Comm., 360 U.S.
MOND Fiicehlains pial deal Na ssintdcasepsaidbbiecdbsacickscgiaiies «adie 9
California v. Lo-Vaca Gathering Co., 379 U.S. 366
Ce ue Ee OUR ARSORIRS DUS BEB i EIA ED Sot Oe ORE 17
California v. Southland Royalty Co., 436 U.S. 519
II beh Svtseuincadiapeccean a chbelinatie dedi uaaacibicbbadivns ccamsesna 18
Cascade Natural Gas Corp. v. FERC, 955 F.2d
PERE ARUN Ge MED enlsahases sxincnsovsaccesacvsnibiccsxcen 13, 14, 17
Corning Glass Works v. FERC, 675 F.2d 392 (D.C.
CN ca EEE EES TCS ION a es ae PO COTE 11
FPC vy. East Ohio Gas Co., 338 U.S. 464 (1950) . 12, 13,
14, 16, 18
FPC v. Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591
Rs hphchsbatircstuatobehacivees Uesmicsasccpsesciscccieinuas cis 22
(IIT)
IV
Cases—Continued: Page
FPC vy. Louisiana Power & Light Co., 406 U.S. 621
OTE ccisctacagiivcuaaeuseene 10, 11, 13, 17, 18
FPC vy. Southern California Edison Co., 376 U.S.
BOS CADOG) viccnsssccicntinsitepssvenssndsarvviiaevciaptulapiatiapehaciend 10
FPC vy. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 365
AD ACE CEU? dorastiacsbacsnncemis transi hacneisiaieds 10-11, 18
Fort Pierce Util. Auth. v. FPC, 526 F.2d 993 (5th
OTH SPER i icodcbinsedeccncuistciestaieveuadonke citivinidossivatibiices 11
Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 483 F.2d
623 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 974
SLi: 37) PDR SEGA catatonia BR neh he ORCS EN tone ats rrp habe 16
Michigan Consol. Gas Co. v. FERC, 883 F.2d 117
(D.C. Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1079
COE ei yeutaaic acinar Cucicaaatianerckinnes ns 13
Mississippi Pub. Serv. Co m’n vy. FPC, 552 F.2d
1345 (5th Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 870
CLIP FOY srscccantestss tenths cansssssdecerabeabsbunctuceep encaebepoaberbenbuns 11
vississippi River Transmission Corp. v. FERC,
O69 FZ 2216 (D.C. Cite TGR) oiviciccscsssccctossisenisenioase 13
Mobil Oil Exploration & Producing Southeast, Inc.
v. United Distribution Cos., 498 U.S. 211 (1991) ... 21
National Ass’n of Regulatory Util. Comm’rs v.
FERC, 923 F.2d 1377 (10th Cir. 1987) .................... 11
Northwest Cent. Pipeline Corp. v. State Corp.
Comm'n, 489 U.S, 498 (1089) «.....cccccsccncsnssocescecnestcens 9
Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v. FPC:
232 F.2d 467 (3d Cir.), cert. denied, 352 U.S.
PS TEE nilocs cca caucnstbor sacs hokseecniecanedoca ese 11
SES TEER BOF CHGS isin carck ansassasabtacdasoriatesiacnsecess 11
Permian Basin Area Rate Cases, 390 U.S. 747
GRAIOIED. ssccischsiacaviaasonsskacasdocansadedseeaembnitonsmuaaiancaas 22, 23
Public Utils. Comm’n v. FERC, 900 F.2d 269
CERES TOG sesciscccigci cates ecmesatictasaamaeies 13-14, 17
Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485 U.S. 293
CRIES Ss acindasrncaveetisceninsie ond owes cbech ids deaokens bea eiadabeies 10, 11
V
Cases—Continued: Page
Texas Eastern Transmission Corp.:
48 F.E.R.C. (CCH) 4 61,248 (Aug. 28, 1989) ........... 19
51 F.E.R.C. (CCH) § 61,170 (May 11, 1990) ............ 19
Texas Gas Transmission Corp., 55 F.E.R.C. (CCH)
DN UR FR TB) ikcsvines caecdstsvsieanccacscintcscsccenes 19
Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp. v. State Oil
& Gas Bd. of Mississippi, 474 U.S. 409 (1986) ....... 10
United Gas Pipe Line Co., 46 F.E.R.C. (CCH)
{ 61,060 Jan. 24, 1989), modified on other grounds,
49 F.E.R.C. (CCH) ¥ 61,166 (Nov. 7, 1989) ............. 19
United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. FERC, 824 F.2d 417
SIRES CAs RUMELE i chcstdvccossucoveiasasie ccbhciusmalaisiahemaiedion, 11, 13
United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. McCombs, 442 U.S. 529
ERAGE ccubeui bine ccskiniis vas Ghcek bovkaotinaielosd idea alemuacceias 10
Statutes and regulations: |
Natural Gas Act, amendment (Hinshaw Amendment),
Pub. 1), 40, BEB, CS Stak, BB ao cesscsascosicsinssdensceacssvecas 15, 16
Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. 717 et seq. .......cccccccscsseeee 3
OC). 15 OB. TES cicsssisicetccrcss 10, 12, 138, 14, 18, 19
OF BG Er aes, Fo RIOD nosis sckdeeniciaavedsbinbisieanuase ee 17
Py ae MPs. SAMI bask saicirvce donkatacctaceccnconcdeciace, 17
2 FB, FEO iscsi cha seas 21
Be Be EB 2 wih 2 & » UAE REARS CIA pam TIA OT 12, 19
© FRE RO el ts Te RD akrciconicdtdnendnseskeceen 6, 11, 12
© TEN, SB eas Ck ekki aveonsentatoseeedckins 11, 12, 16, 19
© ROC, ZA EAD AS. TE OP cis sckiiadevahnccccecceincacacecudscsse 15
18 C.F.R.:
PUCEMANE SPU MC MUIND is son cisnskcendaneca tecesheaebadiauiidas bis 6-7
SORT: MME chs ists sh sucodncticecabiecabecaduaias iddeSeucacccams 5
Miscellaneous:
Robert Crandall & Jerry Ellig, Economic Deregula-
tion and Customer Choice: Lessions for the Electric
FIRE CEO: siseniccstenastnscindacian bein sdccsniagdiuuaboccuatsices 9
H.R. Rep. No. 709, 75th Cong., Ist Sess. (1987) ......... 13
Howard R. Williams, Manual of Oil & Gas Terms
COUR WE, SOS ba scccanitddneniicrsedeiccentedcsninsetoceiaiines 7
In the Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1996
No. 96-1186
ASSOCIATED GAS DISTRIBUTORS, ET AL., PETITIONERS
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
No. 96-1187
AMERICAN PUBLIC GAS ASSOCIATION AND
CITIZENS GAS AND COKE UTILITY, PETITIONERS
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
No. 96-1188
NEW YORK PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION, ET AL.,
PETITIONERS
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
AND UNITED STATES OF AMERICA
No. 96-1189
BURLINGTON RESOURCES OIL & Gas COMPANY,
PETITIONER
Vv.
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT
BRIEF FOR THE
FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION
IN OPPOSITION
(1)
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App.
la-174a)! is reported at 88 F.3d 1105. The orders of
the Commission are reported in Order No. 636, Pipe-
line Service Obligations and Revisions to Regula-
tions Governing Self-Implementing Transportation
Under Pt. 284 of the Commission’s Regulations, and
Regulation of Natural Gas Pipelines After Partial
Wellhead Decontrol, F.E.R.C. Stats. & Regs. (CCH)
{ 30,939 (Pet. App. 175a-407a), order on reh’g, Order
No. 636-A, F.E.R.C. Stats. & Regs. (CCH) ¥ 30,950
(Pet. App. 408a-812a), order on reh’g, Order No. 636-B,
61 F.E.R.C. (CCH) J 61,272 (Pet. App. 813a-998a),
reh’g denied, 62 F.E.R.C. (CCH) ¢ 61,007 (Pet. App.
999a-1000a) (Order No. 636).
JURISDICTION
The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on
July 16, 1996. A petition for rehearing was denied on
October 29, 1996. Pet. App. 1008a-1004a. The peti-
tions for a writ of certiorari were filed on January 27,
1997. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under
28 U.S.C. 1254(1).
STATEMENT
1. In the rule at issue here, Order No. 636, the Fed-
eral Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC or Com-
mission) completed the natural gas deregulatory pro-
gram it had initiated almost a decade earlier. Order
No. 636 mandates the “unbundling” of interstate natu-
ral gas sales service from transportation service, re-
quiring that those services be sold separately to
1 All references to “Pet. App.” are to the appendix to the
petition in No. 96-1186.
3
natural gas purchasers. FERC adopted its manda-
tory unbundling policy in order to “improve the com-
petitive structure of the natural gas industry to
facilitate the operation of a national wellhead market
as envisioned by Congress,” Pet. App. 229a; to “en-
sure equality of transportation: service between gas
sold by pipelines or their affiliates and gas sold by
other sellers,” id. at 234a; and, ultimately, to “provide
natural gas consumers with access to an adequate
supply of clean and abundant natural gas at reason-
able prices,” id. at 229a. Order No. 636 imposes
“capacity-release” requirements that allow holders of
firm transportation rights on interstate pipelines to
resell those rights under uniform terms. Jd. at 244a-
252a.” The order also imposes right-of-first refusal
(ROFR) requirements, which allow existing shippers
with long-term transportation contracts to retain
their rights to pipeline capacity if they agree to
match the highest bid for that service from alterra-
tive purchasers, up to the maximum cost-based trans-
portation rate for the service approved by the Com-
mission under the Natural Gas Act (NGA), 15 U.S.C.
717 et seg. Pet. App. 671a-692a.
2. In 1985, FERC initiated a deregulatory program
designed to encourage the voluntary unbundling of
pipeline gas sales from pipeline transportation ser-
vices. Whereas pipelines had traditionally bought gas
at the wellhead and transported it before turning it
over to the purchaser, the Commission dramatically
2 Transportation is referred to as “firm” when delivery is
guaranteed without interruption, as distinguished from “inter-
ruptible” ivansportation, which may be interrupted to accom-
modate the requirements of firm shippers. See Pet. App. lla
n.10.
changed the natural gas industry by enabling pipe-
lines to offer gas sales and transportation services
separately, thereby affording customers the opportu-
nity to purchase gas from one company and hire a
separate company’s pipeline to transport it. See Pet.
App. 10a-15a (discussing background to Order No.
636). To further enhance the efficiency of the natural
gas market, the Commission encouraged pipeline cus-
tomers, through a variety of mechanisms, to sell or
release their unwanted firm transportation capacity
to other shippers.
The partial unbundling of sales and transportation
service that resulted from the voluntary program pre-
sented serious inefficiencies in allocation of unused
transportation capacity. For example, because bun-
dled firm service had often provided superior reliabil-
ity, many customers continued to pay reservation
fees to retain that service, while in most instances
using cheaper interruptible service to transport their
wellhead gas. See Pet. App. 15a-l6a. The secondary
transportation market that resulted from partial
unbundling produced such a wide variety of capacity-
reallocation arrangements that it became impossible
for FERC to monitor those programs adequately in
order to “ensure that all allocations are nondiscrimi-
natory”; there were “simply too many potential as-
signors of capacity” for FERC to assure that capac-
ity was allocated “in a manner consistent with the
public convenience and necessity.” Algonquin Gas
Transmission Co., 59 F.E.R.C. (CCH) § 61,032, at
61,095 (Apr. 8, 1992), reh’g denied, 60 F.E.R.C. (CCH)
{ 61,113 (Aug. 3, 1992).° Accordingly, the Commission
3 In the Algonquin orders, which were issued as companion
orders to Order No. 636, the Commission revoked the certifi-
ieceecenseieeaaitiaialiiaan iain
5
found that the continued operation of the voluntary
capacity reallocation programs it had previously *P-
proved “would frustrate the goal of * *
remedy[ing] an unreasonable restraint of trade” and
would therefore be “unjust and unreasonable and con-
trary to the public interest.” 59 F.E.R.C. (CCH) 9
61,032, at 61,096-61,097.
3. To address the problems that arose from partial,
voluntary unbundling, FERC’s Order No. 636 man-
dates the complete unbundling of pipeline sales from
transportation service and institutes a number of
requirements to achieve a fair and open market for
transportation rights, and to prevent undue discrimi-
nation. See Pet. App. 15a-18a (summarizing Order
No. 636).
FERC established, inter alia, a uniform capacity-
release rule to ensure that unneeded transportation
capacity on interstate pipelines is allocated fairly and
efficiently. See Pet. App. 7la-108a, as amended by
Pet. App. 1001la-1002a, 244a-252a. Under FERC’s
rule, any shipper desiring to release firm capacity
must notify the affected interstate pipeline. The
pipeline must then post the available capacity, along
with applicable conditions, on an electronic bulletin
board for a reasonable period of time, and assign the
capacity to the shipper making the best offer for the
capacity, up to the maximum just and reasonable price
established by the Commission. Id. at 245a-247a. A
cates of public convenience and necessity it had previously
issued for capacity reallocation programs and required instead
that pipelines abide by the uniform capacity reallocation pro-
gram of Order No. 636. Review of those orders was consoli-
dated with review of Order No. 636. Pet. App. 19a & n.20.
* FERC’s capacity-release rule is codified at 18 C.F.R.
284.243.
6
shipper releasing firm capacity transportation rights
may designate a specific party to receive those rights,
but the pipeline must post such a prearrangement on
the electronic bulletin board, and the designated party
can receive the transfer only if no other party makes
a better offer. Id. at 244a-247a. If the designated ship-
per bids at the ceiling rate, however, it automatically
receives the transportation rights. Jd. at 245a.
In addition, FERC recognized that, if the wellhead
market for natural gas is to function effectively,
transportation should be made equally available to all
gas purchasers, regardless of whether the wellhead
merchant is affiliated with the pipeline. Pet. App.
234a-235a. The principle of “transportation equality”
protects captive customers—i.e. those connected to
only one pipeline, who typically have long-term con-
tracts—from the pipeline’s market power. To imple-
ment that principle, Order No. 636 imposes, inter
alia, a “right-of-first-refusal” (ROFR) process allow-
ing competitive allocation of capacity at the expira-
tion of long-term contracts for pipeline transporta-
tion, while protecting customers with expiring con-
tracts who remain dependent upon continued trans-
portation service. See id. at 43a-56a.
As a condition of granting pipelines authority, un-
der Section 7(b) of the NGA, 15 U.S.C. 717f(b), to
abandon contracts at the end of their terms, FERC
required pipelines to institute a ROFR mechanism
inviting renewal of any long-term contract if the
existing shipper matches the highest offer (up to a
maximum just and reasonable rate) from any compet-
ing bidder for the transportation capacity. 18 C.F.R.
7
284.221(d); Pet. App. 668a-673a.° FERC reasoned that,
in general, “a pipeline’s service obligation * * *
should be determined, in the first instance, by the
contract negotiated by the parties,” id. at 312a, and
pipeline transportation capacity is most efficiently al-
located if it is sold to those willing to pay the highest
price for the capacity, id. at 675a. The Commission
recognized, however, that where contracts for longer
than one year are involved, existing customers may
rely on continued service and require some assurance
that their current long-term contracts can be ex-
tended.
The Commission concluded that the ROFR mecha-
nism “strikes the appropriate balance between the
needs of customers for continued service and the
benefits of competition in establishing the terms of
service.” Pet. App. 325a.
4. The court of appeals upheld in large part
FERC’s Order No. 636, remanding only issues not
relevant here. The court concluded that FERC’s
plenary jurisdiction over interstate transportation of
gas on interstate pipelines gives it the authority to
regulate the exchange of interstate transporta-
tion capacity. Pet. App. 7la-94a. Uniform capacity-
release requirements “operate as a term or condition
of pipeline service” that FERC may apply to all par-
ties engaged in such interstate transactions, includ-
ing parties that otherwise are exempt from FERC
jurisdiction as local distribution companies (LDCs)
° A pipeline must also extend a contract if it contains either
an evergreen or a rollover clause. Such clauses allow parties to
extend their contract for a specified term upon the contract’s
expiration. See Howard R. Williams, Manual of Oil & Gas
Terms 406-407, 1083-1084 (8th ed. 1991).
8
or municipally-owned natural gas distributors (mu-
nicipals). Jd. at 80a. The court rejected petitioners’
asserted distinction between “rights to” and “rendi-
tion of” service, concluding that, “[wJhile the pipeline
provides transportation only when a party utilizes
capacity rights to transport gas, the pipeline provides
transportation services throughout the capacity re-
lease process.” Jbid. (emphasis in original).
The court also rejected several challenges to the
ROFR mechanism. Pet. App. 43a-56a.° The court
upheld the Commission’s conclusion that it could not
require pipelines considering existing customers’
bids under the ROFR mechanism to accept rates be-
low the maximum just and reasonable rate. Jd. at 53a-
56a. The court also concluded that the Commission
had included adequate safe,ards in Order No. 636
against pipeline manipulation of bids, that there was
no basis upon which to require pipelines to accept bids
at less than the approved rate, and that the Com-
mission had provided proper incentives in the ROFR
process to encourage pipelines to accept discounted
rates. Ibid.
ARGUMENT
Petitioners challenge the court of appeals’ decision
upholding the capacity-release and ROFR require-
ments of Order No. 636. That decision is consistent
with the well established principle that the NGA
6 Although the court generally affirmed the Commission’s
ROFR mechanism, it remanded for further consideration the
requirement that, in order to retain their existing pipeline
capacity, existing shippers must match bids for terms of up to
20 years duration. Pet. App. 49a-53a. On remand, the Com-
mission shortened the maximum term to five years. Order No.
636-C, 78 F.E.R.C. (CCH) § 61,186 (Feb. 27, 1997).
seca
9
granted FERC “exclusive jurisdiction ‘over the sale
and transportation of natural gas in interstate com-
merce,’” Northwest Cent. Pipeline Corp. v. State
Corp. Comm’n, 489 U.S. 498, 510 (1989), and with the
decisions of this and other courts construing that
grant of jurisdiction. Further review is not war-
ranted.’
1. Petitioners Associated Gas Distributors, et al.
(AGD) (No. 96-1186), the New York Public Service
Commission, et al. (NYPSC) (No. 96-1188) and the
American Public Gas Association, et. al. (APGA) (No.
96-1187) challenge the court’s affirmance of the
capacity-release requirements in Order No. 636. The
court of appeals correctly concluded that FERC’s
capacity-release program is a legitimate exercise of
its plenary jurisdiction under the NGA to regulate
the transportation of gas in interstate commerce.
a. There is no merit to petitioners’ contentions
(96-1186 Pet. 18-24; 96-1188 Pet. 13-16) that the Com-
’ Order No. 636 comports with FERC’s obligation under the
NGA to ensure consumers a supply of gas “at the lowest possi-
ble reasonable rate.” Atlantic Ref. Co. v. Public Serv. Comm’n,
360 U.S. 378, 388 (1959). As recent studies demonstrate, con-
sumers have reaped substantial benefits from the Commission’s
decade-long restructuring of the natural gas industry, of which
Order No. 636 represents the “latest step.” Pet. App. 6a.
Specifically, adjusted for inflation, prices paid by local utilities
for gas at the “city gate” dropped by 52% in the last decade,
prices paid by residential and commercial customers dropped
32% and 38%, respectively, and prices paid by industrial and
electric utility customers fell by approximately 60%. Those
figures demonstrate that “open access has placed strong pres-
sures on interstate pipelines to reduce their costs and pass the
savings through to their customers.” Robert Crandall & Jerry
Ellig, Economic Deregulation and Customer Choice: Lessons
for the Electric Industry 10-11 (1997).
10
mission lacks jurisdiction to apply its capacity-
release rules to capacity on interstate pipelines held
by LDCs. As the court of appeals concluded,
“FERC’s capacity release program is a legitimate
exercise of its jurisdiction over the interstate trans-
portation of natural gas.” Pet. App. 77a. Section 1(b)
of the NGA grants the Commission jurisdiction over
three distinct aspects of the natural gas industry: (1)
“the transportation of natural gas in interstate com-
merce,” (2) “the sale in interstate commerce of natu-
ral gas for resale for ultimate public consumption,”
and (3) “natural-gas companies engaged in such trans-
portation or sale.” 15 U.S.C. 717(b); see FPC v. Lou-
isiana Power & Light Co., 406 U.S. 621, 636 (1972)
(LP&L). As this Court has emphasized, the Commis-
sion’s transportation jurisdiction is “plenary” and
extends to all transactions “except those which Con-
gress has made explicitly subject to regulation by the
States.” FPC v. Southern California Edison Co.,
376 U.S. 205, 216 (1964). Further, as this Court has
repeatedly stressed, the Commission’s power extends
to regulating transactions that, if left unregulated,
could interfere with the achievement of the goals of
the NGA. Schneidewind v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485
U.S. 293, 310 (1988); Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line
Corp. v. State Oil & Gas Bd. of Mississippi, 474 U.S.
409, 423-424 (1986); United Gas Pipe Line Co. v.
McCombs, 442 U.S. 529, 538 (1979).
The court of appeals’ conclusion that the uniform
capacity-release requirements are an appropriate ex-
ercise of FERC’s jurisdiction over interstate trans-
portation of natural gas (Pet. App. 79a-86a) follows
naturally from this Court’s rulings that the Com-
mission’s transportation jurisdiction extends to, for
example, the end-use of the transported gas, see F PC
ee =
11
v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1,
7-8, 22 (1961), interruption of interstate transporta-
tion service, see Panhandle Eastern Pipe Line Co. v.
FPC, 332 U.S. 507, 523 (1947), curtailment of gas
sales, see LP&L, 406 U.S. at 641, financing of inter-
state pipelines, see Schneidewind, 485 U.S. at 306,
and gas storage, see id. at 295 n.1. The court of
appeals’ decision is consistent with the decisions of
all the other circuits that have addressed challenges
to PERC '’s exercise of its transportation jurisdic-
tion.
Moreover, the court of appeals correctly noted that,
“(als an entirely separate matter,” FERC’s jurisdic-
tion over abandonments of service supports its regu-
lation of capacity-release transactions because, “{i]n
effect, the pipeline is temporarily abandoning service
to the releasing shipper and instituting service to the
replacement shipper.” Pet. App. 80a. Under Section
7(b) and (c) of the NGA, neither abandonment nor ren-
8 Other circuits have unanimously held that FERC’s juris-
diction extends broadly to all aspects of transportation, includ-
ing the “initiation, curtailment, quality, quantity, and termina-
tion” of gas deliveries. National Ass’n of Regulatory Util.
Comm’rs v. FERC, 823 F.2d 1377, 1385 (10th Cir. 1987). See,
e.g., United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. FERC, 824 F.2d 417, 425 (5th
Cir. 1987) (limiting liability for curtailments); Fort Pierce Util.
Auth. v. FPC, 526 F.2d 993, 996-998 (5th Cir. 1976) (curtail-
ment of retail gas sales); Corning Glass Works v. FERC, 675
F.2d 392, 394-396 (D.C. Cir. 1982) (spreading of costs of liqui-
fied natural gas plant built by LDC to service customers within
its territory); Mississippi Pub. Serv. Comm’n v. FPC, 522 F.2d
1345, 1350 (5th Cir. 1975) (compensating end users for losses
caused by curtailments), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 870 (1976);
Panhandle E. Pipe Line Co. v. FPC, 232 F.2d 467, 472 (3d Cir.)
(control over the functioning of a pipeline’s facilities), cert.
denied, 352 U.S. 891 (1956).
12
dition of new service may occur without permission
and prior approval of the Commission. 15 U.S.C.
717f(b) and (c).’
b. Petitioners incorrectly assert (96-1186 Pet. 18-
21; 96-1188 Pet. 14-16) that regulation of LDCs’ as-
signment of transportation capacity rights to gas
consumers operating within the LDCs’ service areas
is tantamount to regulation of local distribution.
Capacity-release involves assignment of rights to
use firm interstate transportation capacity on high-
pressure trunk lines. Those lines are not “local dis-
tribution facilities” within the meaning of Section
1(b) of the NGA. See FPC v. East Ohio Gas Co., 338
U.S. 464, 470 (1950). FERC has not in Order No. 636
asserted jurisdiction over any activity occurring
behind the city gate after the LDC has received gas
from an interstate pipeline. Capacity release does not
solely affect LDC capacity assignments to end-users
located in local service areas, but enables ail firm
capacity holders, including LDCs, end-users, and
marketers, to deliver gas to any existing, out-of-state
delivery point on the interstate pipeline upstream of
its city gate or usual delivery point. See Pet. App.
271a, 555a. Deliveries of gas to those out-of-state
locations under assigned capacity rights cannot be
deemed local distribution of gas, nor can any State
9 Petitioner NYPSC asserts (96-1188 Pet. 16), without
authority, that the court of appeals erred in concluding that
the Commission could regulate partial abandonments of service
under Section 7 of the NGA. Petitioner’s argument that par-
tial abandonments cannot be regulated would create a serious
gap in the Commission’s regulatory powers and, in any event,
ignores the plain requirement of Section 7(b) that a pipeline
may not abandon “any service,” 15 U.S.C. 717f(b) (emphasis
added), without Commission approval.
ooo
13
regulate those out-of-state capacity assignments.
See Mississippi River Transmission Corp. v. FERC,
969 F.2d 1215, 1218 (D.C. Cir. 1992); Michigan Consol.
Gas Co. v. FERC, 883 F.2d 117, 121 (D.C. Cir. 1989),
cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1079 (1990).
Even where an LDC assigns its firm capacity on an
interstate pipeline to a local end-user, settled prece-
dent makes clear that such a transaction does not
constitute local distribution of gas. Indeed, the “local
distribution” exception to FERC transportation ju-
risdiction is “confined to [an LDC’s] parcelling out
function and (probably) even more narrowly, to parcel-
ling out accompanied by retail sales.” Public Utils.
| Comm’n v. FERC, 900 F.2d 269, 276 (D.C. Cir. 1990).
Thus, contrary to petitioners’ assertions (96-1186
Pet. 16; 96-1188 Pet. 19-20), the court of appeals’ appli-
cation here of Section 1(b)’s established construction
is consistent with the holdings of this Court, e.g.,
LP&L, 406 U.S. at 637-638; East Ohio, 338 U.S. at 469-
470, and other courts of appeals, Cascade Natural Gas
Corp. v. FERC, 955 F.2d 1412, 1418 (10th Cir. 1992);
United Gas Pipe Line Co. v. FERC, 824 F.2d 417, 425
(5th Cir. 1987), and plainly expressed congressional
intent, H.R. Rep. No. 709, 75th Cong., 1st Sess. 3
(1937) (“local distribution * * * is made only to con-
sumers in connection with sales” (emphasis added;
internal quotation marks omitted)).
c. Petitioner AGD incorrectly asserts (96-1186
Pet. 21-24) that FERC has used unbundling to inter-
fere with matters that are traditionally controlled by
the States. Petitioner ignores the pivotal fact that
States have never regulated the terms and conditions
of interstate pipeline transportation. As the Dis-
trict of Columbia Circuit explained in Public Utils.
Comm’n, 900 F.2d at 276-277:
14
In an era when transporters almost invariably
bought gas at one end of the pipeline and sold it at
the other, gas would normally reach an end user
only after a pipeline’s retail sale to that user, a
transaction unquestionably under the state’s
control, or after conventional distribution and sale
by a local distributor, again clearly subject to
state control. * * * Under modern conditions, by
contrast, where the end user often owns the gas
and uses the pipeline solely for transportation,
application of Hast Ohio removes this fulcrum for
state powel.
See East Ohio, 338 U.S. at 469-470; Cascade Natural,
955 F.2d at 1421.
Petitioners’ contentions (96-1186 Pet. 24-28; 96-1188
Pet. 13-14) that capacity release interferes with state
regulation of the LDCs’ traditional role as local sup-
plier of natural gas are similarly unfounded. An
LDC’s use of the capacity-release program is volun-
tary and is aimed at unused (and presumably un-
needed) capacity. See Pet. App. 244a-245a. FERC
does not regulate any aspect of the rates for an LDC’s
retail sale of its system supply or the use of its own
facilities; it regulates only the LDC’s use of in-
terstate transportation capacity. As the court of
appeals observed, Section 1(b) “does not withdraw
from FERC’s jurisdiction any aspect of the interstate
transportation of natural gas.” Pet. App. 82a.
Contrary to NYPSC’s assertions (96-1188 Pet. 13-
14), the uniform capacity-release mechanism is not
unfair to end-users who have “paid” for LDC “pipeline
capacity” through “state-approved rates.” Under
Order No. 636, an LDC’s customer can guarantee as-
signment of the LDC’s interstate capacity rights by
15
contracting with the LDC at the FERC-approved,
cost-based transportation rate, or at any lower rate
that trumps competing offers. Pet. App. 485a. By
allowing LDCs to shed unused capacity and thereby
lower costs, the capacity-release mechanism benefits
consumers.
AGD incorrectly contends (96-1186 Pet. 27-28) that
the capacity-release program impairs state efforts to
require LDCs to unbundle local transportation ser-
vice from retail sales. Rather than imposing obsta-
cles, however, FERC’s rule facilitates local unbun-
dling by guaranteeing end-users access not only to
their own LDCs’ released capacity, but also to the
capacity released by any other capacity holder who
holds rights to a delivery point at or downstream of
the LDC’s position on the interstate pipeline. See
Pet. App. 271a-272a, 495a-497a.”
d. AGD also errs in asserting (96-1186 Pet. 14-18)
that the Hinshaw Amendment to the NGA, Pub. L.
No. 323, 68 Stat. 36, exempts LDCs from the uniform
capacity reallocation mechanism. The Hinshaw
Amendment exempts from FERC regulation any per-
son engaged in the transportation or sale in inter-
AGD argues (96-1186 Pet. 27) that Order No. 636 inter-
feres with “blended” capacity programs now being offered by
the States. That argument was neither raised before nor
addressed by the Commission or the court of appeals, and there
is no factual basis in the record to support it. That claim
therefore is not properly presented to this Court. See 15
U.S.C. 717r(b) (“No objection to the order of the Commission
shall be considered by the court unless such objection shall have
been urged before the Commission in the application for re-
hearing.”); see also Sullivan v. Louisiana, 508 U.S. 275, 279 n.1
(1993) (stating that this Court does not ordinarily review issues
not raised below).
16
state commerce of natural gas received “within or at
the boundary of a State” and “ultimately consumed
within such State.” 15 U.S.C. 717(c). Congress
enacted the Hinshaw Amendment “to preserve state
control over local distributors who purchase gas from
interstate pipelines * * * [but] Congress did not
intend the amendment to relieve the Commission of
jurisdiction over * * * integrated interstate
systems.” Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 483
F.2d 623, 633 (5th Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 974
(1974). As the court of appeals explained, “the Com-
mission’s authority to regulate capacity release
arises from its jurisdiction over the interstate pipe-
line that consummates the transaction and the
subject of the transaction, the interstate transporta-
tion of gas, entirely independent of its jurisdiction
over the releasing or replacement shippers.” Pet.
App. 82a n.62. Moreover, in order for the Hinshaw
Amendment to apply, the service at issue would have
to be subject to effective state regulation. The States
cannot effectively regulate the transactions at issue
here because they cannot prevent interstate pipelines
from discriminating in favor of in-state users at the
expense of out-of-state users. The Hinshaw Amend-
ment accordingly has no application to the interstate
transactions at issue here.
AGD places great weight on its contention (96-1186
Pet. 17) that the Hinshaw Amendment overruled this
Court’s decision in East Ohio, 338 U.S. at 461. Al-
though East Ohio’s holding—that FERC had jurisdic-
tion over an interstate gas pipeline operating in only
one State—is no longer the law, the Hinshaw Amend-
ment did not affect the Court’s analysis in Kast Ohio
of the scope of the Commission’s jurisdiction over
pipelines that transport gas across state lines. See
17
Altamont Gas Transmission Co. v. FERC, 92 F.3d
1239, 1246 (D.C. Cir. 1996), petition for certiorari
pending, No. 96-1179 (filed Feb. 11, 1997); Public Utils.
Comm’n, 900 F.2d at 275 n.4. Notwithstanding the
particular change brought about by the Hinshaw
Amendment, this Court and the courts of appeals have
continued consistently to rely on East Ohio as a
correct and otherwise still valid interpretation of the
NGA. E.9., LP&L, 406 U.S. at 636-637 & n.13; Califor-
nia v. Lo-Vaca Gathering Co., 379 U.S. 366, 369
(1965); Cascade Natural, 955 F.2d at 1416-1421; Public
Utils. Comm’n, 900 F.2d at 275.
e. APGA similarly contends (96-1187 Pet. 9-11)
that the court of appeals erred in concluding that
municipally owned gas companies must comply with
the uniform capacity reallocation mechanism when
they seek to reassign interstate pipeline capacity.
APGA reasons that, because Section 2 of the NGA
excludes municipals from the definition of “persons”
regulated as “natural gas companies” under the Act,
15 U.S.C. 717a(1)-(3) and (6), FERC may not require
that they comply with the terms of FERC’s capacity-
release program. 96-1187 Pet. 7-8. The court of
appeals correctly concluded, however, that “FERC
may, consistent with the NGA, require municipalities
to comply with its capacity release regulations”
because “FERC’s transportation jurisdiction extends
aS a Separate matter over capacity release * * *
entirely independent of the jurisdictional nature of
the releasing and replacement shippers.” Pet. App.
84a-85a.
Although FERC lacks jurisdiction to regulate mu-
nicipals as such, the Commission’s jurisdiction over
interstate transportation is not limited to natural-gas
companies or “persons” engaged in transportation.
18
Instead, it extends to all interstate transportation of
gas, regardless of the parties involved in such trans-
portation. This Court has rejected the contention
“that the word ‘transportation’ in § 1(b) must be con-
strued as applying only to companies engaged in the
business of transporting gas in interstate com-
merce,” concluding that “the Act’s language did not
express any such limitation.” Hast Ohio, 338 U.S. at
468. Indeed, the courts have long recognized that mu-
nicipalities, although not “natural-gas companies” or
“persons” under the Act, are nonetheless subject to
NGA regulation under those NGA provisions that are
not exclusively directed at “natural-gas companies.”
See, e.g., California v. Southland Royalty Co., 436
U.S. 519, 528 (1978); Public Serv. Co. v. FERC, 587
F.2d 716, 719 (D.C. Cir. 1979). Thus, as tue court of
appeals observed (Pet. App. 85a), this Court has con-
cluded that the Commission may properly regulate
the curtailments of both gas supply and capacity to
municipals under its transportation jurisdiction, see
Transcontinental Gas, 365 U.S. at 20-22; LP&L, 406
U.S. at 640—a situation involving allocation of trans-
portation capacity among shippers in compliance with
federal mandates that is “strikingly similar” to ca-
pacity release. Pet. App. 85a.”
1 APGA argues (96-1188 Pet. 13-14) that there is a distinc-
tion between transactions in the primary and secondary market
for pipeline capacity. As we have noted, pages 10-11, supra,
however, the Commission’s jurisdiction over transportation ex-
tends to all aspects of interstate pipeline operation. Further, to
declare such secondary transactions beyond the Commission’s
jurisdiction would create an anomalous gap in the comprehen-
sive regulation intended by Congress in enacting the NGA.
See LP&L, 406 U.S. at 631-632.
19
APGA further contends (96-1187 Pet. 12-19) that
FERC’s regulation of municipalities under its trans-
portation jurisdiction conflicts with FERC’s own
policy established in Texas Eastern Transmission
Corp., 51 F.E.R.C. (CCH) ¥ 61,170 (May 11, 1990). The
court of appeals correctly rejected that contention.
Pet. App. 84a & n.64. In Texas Eastern, the Com-
mission authorized firm transportation customers of
an interstate pipeline to broker capacity to third
parties without the involvement of the carrying pipe-
line itself. The Commission required such customers
to obtain “limited jurisdiction” certificates under
Section 7(c) of the NGA because, as brokers, they
were within the meaning of NGA Section 1(b). The
Commission, however, ruled that municipals were
exempt transporting gas from any such certification
requirement because they were not “natural gas
companies” and therefore not subject to Section 7.
See 48 F.E.R.C. (CCH) ¥ 61,248, at 61,873-61,875 (Aug.
22, 1989); 51 F.E.R.C. (CCH) ¢ 61,170, at 61,453-61,454.
The capacity brokering arrangements in Texas East-
ern were performed by capacity holders themselves
without pipeline involvement; under Order No. 636, in
contrast, FERC regulates capacity assignment by
pipelines. The court of appeals tnus correctly held
that the Texas Eastern approach is inapplicable, and
that FERC may require municipals’ compliance with
capacity-release rules as it may require their com-
pliance with other pipeline terms or conditions of
interstate transportation service. Pet. App. 84a-85a.”
2 Texas Gas Transmission Corp., 55 F.E.R.C. (CCH) 4
61,208 (May 13, 1991), and United Gas Pipe Line Co., 46
F.E.R.C. (CCH) 4 61,060 (Jan. 24, 1989), modified on other
grounds, 49 F.E.R.C. (CCH) 4 61,166 (Nov. 7, 1989), followed
20
Finally, there is no merit to APGA’s assertion (96-
1187 Pet. 19-20) that the Commission’s capacity-
release mechanism is merely a sham designed to
expand its jurisdiction. As the court of appeals
observed, under Order No. 636, “[tJhe pipelines’ role in
capacity release is absolutely central, and the
transaction itself controls access to interstate
transportation capacity.” Pet. App. 84a-85a (footnote
omitted). Order No. 636 requires pipelines to
maintain electronic bulletin boards upon which
proposed transactions are posted, administer the
rules for operation of the bidding system, and select
the successful bidder. In short, as the court observed,
capacity release necessarily involves movement of
gas in interstate commerce by the assignee of
capacity rights because “[bly controlling such
capacity, the assignors are effectively determining by
whom, and under what circumstances, gas will be
transported and are using the pipeline’s facilities as if
they were the assignors’ facilities.” Jd. at 81a.
2. Petitioner Burlington Resources Oil & Gas
Company (Burlington) (No. 96-1189) argues that the
court of appeals erred in affirming FERC’s conclu-
sion that pipelines allocating long-term transporta-
tion rights under the ROFR mechanism do not have
to accept bids at less than the maximum, cost-based
just and reasonable rate established by the Commis-
sion under the NGA. Burlington asserts (96-1189
Pet. 7-9) that the ROFR rule violates the Commis-
sion’s obligation under the NGA to protect consum-
ers. As the court of appeals concluded, however, “the
basic structure of the [ROFR] mechanism provides
the Texas Eastern approach, and APGA’s reliance on those
decisions (96-1186 Pet. 14) similarly fails to support the petition.
21
the [customer] protections from pipeline market
power required for pre-granted abandonment under
[NGA] § 7.” Pet. App. 49a; see also id. at 54a-55a. The
ROFR procedure “guarantees that existing cus-
tomers may have continued service,” and “affords pro-
tection to the existing customer against any exercise
of monopoly power,” id. at 933a (emphasis added),
because the customer will be required to pay, at most,
the cost-based just and reasonable rate established by
the Commission in a ratemaking proceeding, id. at
679a. As the court of appeals observed, the NGA
“protect[s] customers against loss of service only if
the customer is willing to pay the maximum rate
approved in a rate proceeding.” Jd. at 55a. The
Commission concluded that the ROFR mechanism
“provides more than adequate protection that pipe-
lines will not be able to charge monopoly rates for
their service.” Id. at 672a. This Court approved a
very similar pricing mechanism in Mobil Oil Explo-
ration & Producing Southeast, Inc. v. United Distri-
bution Cos., 498 U.S. 211 (1991) (upholding FERC
rule setting maximum “just and reasonable” rate for
gas sold under Natural Gas Policy Act price ceilings,
but allowing sellers voluntarily to accept lower prices
if market conditions dictate)."
Contrary to Burlington’s assertions (96-1189 Pet.
11-12), FERC’s decision to leave to pipelines’ discre-
tion whether to accept below-ceiling bids voluntarily
does not encourage anti-competitive behavior. The
8 If a pipeline elects to leave capacity idle rather than
accept a below-ceiling bid for that capacity, the shipper may
also file a petition with the Commission under Section 5 of the
NGA claiming that the pipeline’s action is “unjust, unrea-
sonable, unduly discriminatory, or preferential.” 15 U.S.C.
717d(a).
Commission cannot require a pipeline to accept rates
below the cost-based just and reasonable rate ceiling
under the Commission’s ROFR program. Those
rates are, by definition, the lowest rates that ensure
pipelines an adequate return on their investment;
requiring pipelines to accept a lower rate would put
them at risk of under-recovery in violation of the
Commission’s duty to ensure pipelines sufficient
returns and adequate capitalization. See FPC v.
Hope Natural Gas Co., 320 U.S. 591, 603 (1944) (rates
must “assure confidence in the financial integrity” of
the regulated entity “so as to maintain its credit and
attract capital”); Permian Basin Area Rate Cases,
390 U.S. 747, 792 (1968) (rates must “maintain finan-
cial integrity, attract necessary capital, and fairly
compensate investors for the risks they have as-
sumed, and yet provide appropriate protection for the
relevant public interests”); Associated Gas Distribs.
v. FERC, 824 F.2d 981, 1007-1013 (D.C. Cir. 1987),
cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006 (1988).
Burlington also errs in arguing (96-1189 Pet. 12-15)
that FERC should have imposed a rate within the
zone of approved rates, but below the maximum just
and reasonable rate. Burlington relies chiefly on
Associated Gas. The pricing mechanism approved in
Associated Gas established a cost-based just and
reasonable rate, but allowed pipelines to “consent to
selective discounting” down to prescribed minima. 824
F.2d at 1010. That voluntary discounting approach is
precisely the approach taken here.”
4 Burlington misconstrues cases holding that FERC may
establish rates within a “zone of reasonableness.” See 96-1189
Pet. 14. That test applies to judicial review of the Commis-
sion’s rates, not to the establishment of those rates in the first
23
Finally, Burlington errs in asserting (96-1189 Pet.
18-20) that FERC failed to provide a rationale for its
decision not to require pipelines to accept discounted
rates under the ROFR process, and that the court of
appeals supplied its own rationale. The Commission’s
statement that pipelines “are not required to accept
any offer at less than the maximum rate,” Pet. App.
673a, correctly reflects existing law on that point.
See page 22, swpra. Each of the rationales relied upon
by the court of appeals was also articulated in the
Commission’s orders. See Pet. App. 671la-673a, 935a-
937a, In any event, a reviewing court retains the
power to identify the proper construction of the gov-
erning law, even if not argued by the Commission.
Arcadia v. Ohio Power Co., 498 U.S. 73, 77 (1990).
instance. See Permian Basin, 390 U.S. at 767. Burlington also
asserts (96-1189 Pet. 16) that the NGA does not guarantee
pipelines cost recovery, but only affords them thé opportunity
to recover their costs. That opportunity, however, must in-
clude the possibility of recovering adequate returns on capital
investment, which, by definition, turns on the cost-based rate
established by the Commission.
24
CONCLUSION
The petitions for a writ of certiorari should be
denied.
Respectfully submitted.
WALTER DELLINGER
Acting Solicitor General
SUSAN TOMASKY
General Counsel
JOSEPH S. DAVES
Acting Solicitor
SUSAN J. COURT
ERIC LEE CHRISTENSEN
Attorneys
Federal Energy
Regulatory Commission
APRIL 1997
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.