Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Indicated Expansion Shippers v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

-~ Supreme Court, U.S.

(\ ) FILED

961179 JAN 22 1997

Case NOs. oc ut cisek

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

1996 OCTOBER TERM

ALTAMONT GAS TRANSMISSION COMPANY, et al.,

y Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OF INDICATED EXPANSION SHIPPERS

Roger A. Berliner, Esq.

John M. Binetti, Esq.*

Brady & Berliner

1225 - 19th Street, N.W., Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorney for Indicated

Expansion Shippers

(*Counsel of Record)

January 22, 1997

\ ry \

;

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit in Altamont Gas Transmission Company, et al,

v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 320 U.S. App. D.C. 98,

92 F. 3d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996)(“Altamont’’) correctly construed

the application of the Hinshaw Amendment to the Natural Gas

Act, § 1(c) of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c), to the

jurisdiction of Federal Energy Regulatory Commission in

Pacific Gas Transmission Company, FERC Docket Nos.

CP89-4360-000, et al., by determining that the Federal Energy

Regulatory Commission may not even consider the jurisdic-

tional implications of orders issued by the California Public

Utilities Commission that effectively created a tying alrange-

ment between interstate and intrastate pipeline capacity which

unduly discriminated against interstate Shippers of natural gas.

Whether the decision of U.S. Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit in Altamont construes the Hinshaw

Amendment to the Natural Gas Act, § 1(c) of the Natural Gas

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c), in a manner that does violence to the

Supremacy Clause of the U.S. Constitution.

Whether the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission is

precluded from considering the effects of a State regulatory

order directed at a Hinshaw Pipeline that results in undue

discrimination against interstate shippers of natural gas, in

violation of sections 4, 5 and 7 of the Natural Gas Act, 15

U.S.C. §§ 717c, 717d and 717£, in determining the public conve-

nience and necessity of a natural gas transmission facility, sub-

ject to the jurisdiction of FERC under section 7 of the Natural

Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717f.

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

The following are parties, intervenors and amici to the

proceeding before the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit in Altamont Gas Transmission

Company, et al, v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 320

U.S. App. D.C. 98, 92 F 3d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996):

Altamont Gas Transmission Co.

Amoco Production Co. and Amoco Canada Petroleum

Co. Ltd.

California Public Utilities Commission

Canwest Supply Inc/U.S.A.

Cascade Natural Gas Corp.

Chevron U.S.A., Inc.

El] Paso Natural Gas Co.

Foothills Pipe Lines Ltd.

Great Lakes Gas Transmission

Imperial Irrigation District Limited Partnership

Independent Petroleum Assn. Of America

Norcen Marketing, Inc.

North Canadian Oils Ltd.

Northern CA Power Agency

Pacific Gas & Electric Co.

Pacific Gas Transmission Co.

Pan-Alberta Gas Ltd.

PanCanadian Petroleum Co.

Petro-Canada Hydrocarbons, Inc.

Southern CA Edison Co.

Southern California Gas Co.

Southern California Utility Power Pool

Suncor, Inc.

Turlock Irrigation District

Union Pacific Resources Co.

Washington Energy Exploration, Inc.

Petitioner, Indicated Expansion Shippers (IES), is an ad

hoc group of shippers which hold firm capacity on the Pacific

Gas Transmission Company Expansion Project. The member-

ship of IES is comprised of North Canadian Oils Limited,

Norcen Marketing, Inc., and Chevren U.S.A.

Norcen Marketing, Inc., is a Delaware corporation,

engaged in the production and marketing of natural gas, and is

a wholly owned subsidiary of Norcen Explorer, Inc., also a

Delaware corporation. Norcen Explorer, Inc., is a U.S. subsidi-

ary of Norcen Energy Resources Limited, a company incorpo-

rated under the laws of Canada with its principal place of

business in Calgary, Alberta, Canada. Both Norcen Marketing,

Inc. and Norcen Explorer, Inc. have their principal places of

business in Houston, Texas.

At the time of the filing of the docketing statement in the

proceeding before the Circuit Court in this case, North Cana-

dian Oils Limited was a Canadian natural gas exploration,

production, and marketing company, incorporated under the

laws of Canada, with its principal place of business in Calgary,

Alberta, Canada. On April 1, 1993, approximately 50.5% of the

stock of North Canadian Oils Limited was acquired by Norcen

Energy Resources Limited. The remaining stock was widely

held. On May 25, 1995, North Canadian Oils Limited was

amalgamated with Norcen Energy Resources Limited.

The only non-wholly owned subsidiary of Norcen Energy

Resources Limited is its propane marketing division, Superior

Propane, Inc., a Canadian corporation.

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. is engaged in the exploration, devel-

opment and production of natural gas. Chevron U.S.A., Inc. is

also a large consumer of natural gas in California in enhanced

oil recovery and refining operations as well as a shipper of

significant volumes of gas into California on various interstate

pipelines including Pacific Gas Transmission Company.

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. Is a wholly owned subsidiary of

Chevron Corporation. The non-wholly owned subsidiaries of

Chevron U.S.A., Inc. are Atlas Supply Company, Chevron do

Brasil Ltda., Chevron Mineral Corporation of Ire!and, Servicios

iv

Chevron, S.A. de C.V., Companiea Minera Chevron Domini-

cana, S.A., Felix Oil Company, Gulf Oil Zaire S.A.R.L., NGC

Corp., and Pembroke Capital Company, Inc.,

v

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Section

Questions Presented For Review................

Parties To The Proceeding In The Court of Appeals.

Me ES oa ns C46 dekh CR Rae ber R Bs

PN EE TI oo ic aces kaduses oevsand bs

ee UN ooo cs oi ose sc ova ea 6 Cae

Statutory Provision Involved in This Case.........

SOMONE OE TG Gone ck hea eco ecccses

ee Pe Or eae rae

Facts Material to Consideration of the

Questions Presented .......ccccscesens

Reasons For Granting Certiorari................

I. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit has Decided An

Important Question of Federal Law In

This Case Which Has Not, But Should Be,

Settled By The Supreme Court ......... 7

A. Summary of Argument ............ 7

B. The Decision of The Circuit Court Is

Unprecedented and Misconstrues

the Scope of the Hinshaw

Amendment to the Natural

SP Cb ee okie Kio ke oa )

C. The Decision of The Circuit Court

Inverts Federal Preemption Law

And Does Violence To The

Supremacy Clause of the U.S.

RO hbk Fe haw ech aceees 14

D. The Crossover Ban is Not a Mere

“Bookkeeping Convention”, But a

Device By Which A State

Regulatory Body Has Preempted

Federal Regulation.............. 17

Fy

~] WG Ww wre be Eo.

vi

E. The Circuit Court Decision Reverses

An Inappropriate Remedy Ordered

By FERC By Allowing State

Preemption Of Federal Statutory

Protections For Interstate Natural

Say WEE 6 £00094 40) beans 20

a CUINIOR, 5s 3 hak dead os 4x4 cae 22

Appendix

Decision of the U.S, Court of Appeals ..... App. 1

bse Bin eeng, PEE OR EET Ee Per te aee App. 2

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Court Cases Page

Altamont Gas Transmission Company, et

al, v, Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission, 320 U.S. App. D.C. 98, 92

F. 3d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996) .......... 1,2,8,9,10,11,12

ANR Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 876 F.2d 124

CR Se se eh eae e us 12,13,20

ANR Pipeline Co. v. FE.R.C., 71 F3d 897

i SO io i es 16

Associated Gas Distributors v. FERC

(AGD I), 824 F.2d 981 (D.C. Cir. 1987). 20

Atlantic Refining Co. v. Public Service

Comm'n, 360 U.S, 378 (1959)......... 16

City of Mishawaka v. American Electric

Power Co., Inc., 616 F.2d 976 (7th Cir.

COLE Winn ONSEN eK K kee cans 15

FPC v. Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271

CRPNNE Sah wu bub ale acces Kec os 10,11,12,16

FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line

Co., 36S US. 1 (1961)... iceescvess 12,13,16

Illinois Commerce Commission v. Interstate

Commerce Commission, 749 F.2d 875

Ete RIOD ie hx ro ee eee ek 16

Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 483

F.2d 623 (Sth Cir. 1973), cert. denied,

SD WB. FIG CGM) ccc ccc ccccccvers 8

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761

F.2d 780 (D.C. Cir. 1985) ............ 14,16

Northern Natural Gas Co. v. State

Corporation Commission of Kansas, 372

RP EERE G05 hs oo ooo vow Kak 8

Northwest Central Pipeline v. State Corp.

Comm'n, 489 U.S. 493 (1989)......... 20

Office of Consumers Counsel v. FERC, 655

F.2d 1132 (D.C, Cir. 1980)... icc. 13

Panhandle Eastern Pipeline Co. v. FPC,

TO TIS. GS CI) ces cnsivccdsccess 16

Plaquemines Oil and Gas Company v.

FERC, 450 F.2d 1334 (D.C. Cir. 1971)... 21

Public Utilities Commission of California v.

FERC, 900 F.2d 269 (D.C. Cir. 1990)... 8

United Distribution Companies, et al. v.

FERC, 319 U.S. App. D.C. 42, 88 F.3d

SES COA OBE, TONG) vo shea see 'ee vai 7,8,15,16

Schenidwind v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485

Sas A LAPOE) 60 sc eKKATN EERIE 20

Agency Cases

CPUC Decision 91-06-053, issued June

DS re re ee ok Poe pe ap aeee 5

“Preliminary Determination on

Nonenvironmental Issues,” 54 FERC

T 61035 (Jam. 22, 1994) ois tivecece’s 1,4

Pacific Gas Transmission Company,

“Order Issuing Certificate, Granting and

Denying In Part Rehearing and

Clarification,” 56 FERC {1 61,192 (Aug.

Si ReeEd: 4 eA pe bapa ede kis kne’ 1,5,18

Pacific Gas Transmission Company,

“Order on Report and Modifying Prior

Order,” 57 FERC 9 61,097 (Oct. 24,

SOME? Aes pbb ok 2 or ed ene ake 1,5,18

Page

‘ a

160 a AN a a a Nk CEL ON

Senet nese at ce ed itis aa ale

6 conn saber oes

a a ee

Pacific Gas Transmission Company,

“Order Granting In Part and Denying In

Part Requests for Rehearing and

Clarification,” 62 FERC 9 61,243

ORC ER EI in 5 ES Si ws cess 1,6

Union Pacific Fuels, et al. v. Southern

California Gas Company, 76 FERC

1 61,300 (September 19, 1996) ........ 8

Constitution

Supremacy Clause of the U.S.

Consitution, U.S. Const., Art. VI, cl.2.. 14,16,19,21

Statutes

Hinshaw Amendment to the Natural Gas

Act, § 1(c) of the Natural Gas Act, 15

Oe TATURE cs Vina od we OR Cu sd e's s 2,6,7,8,14,16,19,21

Section 4 of the Natural Gas Act, 15

a TA ha oe eh oie ov haw ed ss 7

Section 5 of the Natural Gas Act, 15

RPT thes, on wink Woo Kn ow 7

Section 7(c) of the Natural Gas Act, 15

SS TAPE Deb db deca e kis be 3,7,10,13

Section 7(e) of the Natural Gas Act, 15

RAan Ee PRMD GA bv a 6 4 6's he oka 8 7,10,13

Section 19(b) of the Natural Gas Act, 15

FEM hi 55 os Sb oN Sd ee ho 3

PONIES 6 ook ek 2

Other Authorities

S. Rep. No. 817, 83rd Cong. 1st Sess.

(1953), reprinted in 1954 U.S. Code

Cong. & Admin. News 2101.......... 16

“ aie 2 . ‘ » ee . ¥ = . . ny a eis aes f ¥ Pe ce

1

RULINGS UNDER REVIEW

The citation of the opinion of the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the District of Columbia Circuit in this case is Altamont Gas

Transmission Company, et al., v. Federal Energy Regulatory Com-

mission, 320 U.S. App. D.C. 98, 92 F. 3d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996).

The citations of the opinions of the Federal Energy Regu-

latory Commission under review by the U.S. Court of Appeals

in this case are:

Pacific Gas Transmission Company, “Preliminary Determi-

nation on Nonenvironmental Issues,” 54 FERC 1% 61,035

(Jan. 22, 1991)(“FERC January 22 Order”) ;

Pacific Gas Transmission Company, “Order Issuing Certifi-

cate, Granting and Denying In Part Rehearing and Clarifica-

tion,” 56 FERC { 61,192 (Aug. 1, 1991)(“FERC August 1

Order”);

Pacific Gas Transmission Company, “Order on Report and

Modifying Prior Order,” 57 FERC 1% 61,097 (Oct. 24,

1991)(“FERC October 24 Order”); and

Pacific Gas Transmission Company, “Order Granting In

Part and Denying In Part Requests for Rehearing and Clarifica-

tion,” 62 FERC 9 61,243 (March 16, 1993)(“FERC March 16

Order’”’).

2

BASIS FOR JURISDICTION

The Judgement of the U. S. Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit in Altamont Gas Transmission

Company, et al. v. Federal Energy Regulatory Commission, 320

U.S. App. D.C. 98, 92 F. 3d 1239 (D.C. Cir. 1996) was issued on

August 23, 1996. Per Curium Orders denying petitions for

rehearing, including the petition for rehearing filed by Indi-

cated Expansion Shippers, were issued on October 24, 1996.

The jurisdiction of the Supreme Court in this case is based

upon 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

IN THIS CASE

The Hinshaw Amendment to the Natural Gas Act,

§1(c) of the Natural Gas Act (or “NGA”), 15 U.S.C. § 717(c),

states as follows:

(c) The provisions of this chapter shall not apply to

any person engaged in or legally authorized to engage in

the transportation in interstate commerce or the sale in

interstate commerce for resale, of natural gas received by

such person from another person within or at the boundary

of a State if all the natural gas so received is ultimately

consumed within such State, or to any facilities used by

such person for such transportation or sale, provided that

the rates and service of such person and facilities be sub-

ject to regulation by a State commission. The matters

exempted from the provisions of this chapter by this sub-

. section are declared to be matters primarily of local con-

cern and subject to regulation by the several States. A

certification from such State commission to the Federal

Power Commission that such State commission has regula-

tory jurisdiction over rates and service of such person and

facilities and is exercising such jurisdiction shall constitute

conclusive evidence of such regulatory power or

jurisdiction.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Basis for Federal Jurisdiction

in the U.S. Court of Appeals

The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit was vested with jurisdiction over the petition for review

filed by Indicated Expansion Shippers in D.C. Circuit Case No.

91-1369 under section 19(b) of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 717r(b).

Facts Material to Consideration

of the Questions Presented

Pacific Gas Transmission (PGT) is an interstate pipeline

that transports gas from the Canadian border to the northern

California border at Malin, Oregon, where it interconnects with

the California pipeline facilities of its parent, Pacific Gas &

Electric Company (PG&E). As such, PGT is a natural gas

company subject to the jurisdiction of FERC within the mean-

ing of Section 1 of the NGA. PGT was built by and is wholly

owned by PG&E, which purports to be a Hinshaw Pipeline

within the meaning of Section 1(c) of the NGA and thereby

exempt from FERC’s jurisdiction. Until the in-service date of

the PGT Expansion, PG&E held exclusive rights to all firm

PGT capacity from the international border to the California

border at Malin, Oregon and dominated sales of natural gas

within northern California.

The Petitioners and Intervenors before the U.S. Court of

Appeals were comprised of a competitive pipeline project seek-

ing to also serve southern California markets, and domestic and

Canadian producers and marketers who wanted to compete

with PG&E for gas sales in northern California by selling gas to

their own end-use customers in that service area.

In 1988, PGT filed an application pursuant to Section

7(c) of the NGA, to expand its interstate facilities in order to

transport additional quantities of natural gas for utilities in

southern California and in the Pacific Northwest. Initially, the

4

Project limited capacity solely to utilities in southern California

and the Pacific Northwest. It was only when PGT was unable to

fully subscribe the project that it opened it to independent gas

sellers who wanted to compete with PG&E in the northern

California market. However, PGT refused to permit these gas

sellers to deliver and sell gas at the delivery point for northern

California—Malin, Oregon. Rather, these shippers were

required to also contractually commit to firm transportation

services on PG&E’s proposed expansion facilities and transport

gas to southern California—even if they only sought to serve

markets in northern California in competition with PG&E.

Numerous protests were filed with FERC alleging that

PGT’s application was seeking to protect its parent PG&E from

competition by denying direct access to the northern California

market at Malin, Oregon. The protestants argued that prospec-

tive shippers on PGT could not be compelled to take expensive

additional transportation service on PG&E as a condition of

obtaining interstate capacity to the northern California border.

FERC issued a preliminary order on January 22, 1991, which

found PGT’s initial allocation of capacity and its single rate

proposal requiring transportation on PG&E’s proposed pipe-

line facilities in California to be discriminatory. FERC January

22 Order, 54 FERC 9 61,035 (1991). FERC ordered PGT to

hold a new open season, to remove the discriminatory language

from its tariff, and to establish Malin, Oregon as a delivery

point on PGT’s system at the California border. Jd. at 61,154.

After FERC’s January 22 order, petitioner-shippers (and

intervenor-shippers below) signed binding 30-year service

agreements with PGT for transportation services on the PGT

Expansion Project. Those contractual agreements became bind-

ing on April 25, 1991. However, two days before the 30 year

transportation service agreements were deemed binding,

PG&E requested its state regulatory body, the California Public

Utilities Commission (CPUC), to restrict access by PGT Expan-

sion shippers to PG&E’s existing intra-California transportation

facilities. The CPUC approved PG&E’s request for a “cross-

over ban” in June of 1991, requiring that any gas delivered to

5

the terminus of the PGT Expansion at the California border at

Malin utilize the PG&E Expansion for transportation within

California. CPUC Decision 91-06-053, issued June 19, 1991.

Rather than selling f.o.b. at Malin, and thereby incurring

only PGT’s transportation charge, PGT expansion shippers

were now required to pay PG&E an additional amount, approx-

imately equal to the PGT Expansion tariff, to pay for PG&E’s

expansion facilities despite the fact that PGT Expansion ship-

pers neither desired nor needed to use those facilities. By

contrast, no other interstate shipper, including interstate ship-

pers on PGT’s non-expansion facilities, is required to pay for

any intrastate facilities as a condition of interstate service.

In August of 1991, FERC found that the CPUC’s action

had retied the PGT and PG&E expansions, effectively eliminat-

ing the ability of an interstate PGT shipper to sell gas at the

California border without also paying for the unwanted intra-

State facilities. FERC concluded that the discriminatory

arrangement between PGT and PG&E frustrated federal juris-

diction and that it could not “find the public convenience and

necessity served until the anticompetitive nature of the tying

arrangement is eradicated.” FERC August 1 Order, 56 FERC

1 61,192 at 61,725. Accordingly, FERC used its conditioning

authority under Section 7(e) of the NGA to forbid commence-

ment of construction of the PGT Expansion until the Commis-

sion could be assured “that PGT shippers are receiving nondis-

criminatory treatment as to access to the California markets by

means other than on the PG&E expansion.” Jd. at 61,726.

_ Without making further findings, FERC issued a further

order on October 24, 1991, nafrowly approved by a 3-2 vote,

which radically altered the condition imposed on PGT’s certifi-

cate. FERC October 24 Order, 57 FERC 9 61,097. Although

FERC admitted that PGT had not demonstrated that shippers

would not be subject to unduly discriminatory restraints, FERC

argued, for the first time, that the need to construct the facili-

ties in a timely manner required a modification of the condi-

tion. FERC replaced the ban on construction with a modest

6

penalty attached to PGT’s return on equity. Jd. at 61,361. Two

commissioners, Trabandt and Langdon, dissented, the latter

commenting that the order “not only fails to stamp out discrim-

ination where it has been discovered, but goes further awry by

actually authorizing the implementation of that unduly discrimi-

natory practice.” Jd. at 61,361-362.

Rehearing of the FERC October 24 Order was sought by

petitioners on the grounds that FERC had abdicated its statu-

tory responsibility under the NGA to protect shippers. Those

requests were denied by the Commission on March 16, 1993.

FERC March 16 Order, 62 FERC 9 61,243.

Indicated Expansion Shippers filed a timely petition with

the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit

seeking review of the series of FERC orders in the Pacific Gas

Transmission Company proceeding. These petitioners argued to

the Court that FERC abdicated its obligations to interstate

shippers of natural gas on the mistaken basis that the source of

the discriminatory practices inhibited its authority or ability to

protect interstate shippers. Petitioners’ brief also argued that

FERC could have stopped short of halting construction if it

adopted other remedies that would equally protect interstate

shippers from the effects of the undue discrimination.

In separate petitions for review of the FERC Orders that

were ultimately consolidated with the review proceeding initi-

ated by Indicated Expansion Shippers, both PGT and CPUC

contended that by imposing the rate of return condition FERC

had exceeded its jurisdiction and that the findings of anticom-

petitive or unduly discriminatory acts are unsupported by the

record.

In its opinion disposing of the consolidated cases, the U.S.

Court of Appeals did not reach the issues raised by Indicated

Expansion Shippers. Similarly, it did not determine whether the

PGI-PG&E arrangement was unduly discriminatory. The sole

basis upon which the Court’s opinion rested was that FERC had

overstepped its jurisdictional bounds as stated in the Hinshaw

Amendment to the NGA.

—_—,

7

REASONS FOR GRANTING CERTIORARI

I. The U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit Has Decided An Important Question of Federal Law

In This Case Which Has Not, But Should Be, Settled By The

Supreme Court.

A. Summary of Argument

This case presents a fundamental jurisdictional conflict

between federal and state authority. Specifically, it addresses

the scope of FERC’s authority under Sections 4,5, and 7 of the

NGA, 15 USC §§ 717c, 777d and 717£, to consider the jurisdic-

tional ramifications upon interstate natural gas shippers of state

actions taken under color of the Hinshaw Amendment, as set

forth in section 1(c) of the NGA. Similar issues were recently

presently to the U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of

Columbia Circuit in United Distribution Companies, et al. y.

FERC, 319 U.S. App. D.C. 42, 88 E3d 1105 (D.C. Cir. 1996)

(“United Distribution”), wherein the Court upheld FERC’s

NGA authority where it conflicted with a claimed Hinshaw

exemption, reaching a result directly opposite to that reached

by the Court in this case. In light of the importance of the

question of Federal law presented by this case, the conflict of

decisions within the District of Columbia Circuit on this issue,

the “murkiness” of the issue, and the unprecedented resolution

of the issue by the Circuit Court in this case, IES respectfully

petition’s the Supreme Court to issue a writ of certiorari to the

Circuit Court below in order to fully and clearly resolve the

' A petition for rehearing and Suggestion for rehearing en banc was

filed by LDC Petitioners in United Distribution Companies on August 30,

1996, in response to the Circuit Co ’s per curiam opinion issued July 16,

1996, which determined that FERC appropriately asserted jurisdiction

over LDC transactions involving release of interstate pipeline capacity.

limits to the FERC.”

8

current uncertainty in the natural gas industry regarding the

delineation between Federal and State regulatory authority

under the Hinshaw Amendment to the NGA.

Since the enactment of the Hinshaw Amendment in 1954,

the courts and FERC have continued to define the demarcation

between Federal and State jurisdiction, and to determine when

State authority is preempted by the broad powers mandated by

the NGA.? As both the Altamont and United Distribution cases

make clear, the tension between State and Federal authority

has been exacerbated by Federal and State policy initiatives

which have promoted open access transportation services, bro-

kering and transferring of capacity rights, and pipeline expan-

sions. Both of these cases attempt to define the scope of

Federal/State authority when those jurisdictions intersect or

conflict, and yet both reach different conclusions. Conflict con-

tinues to abound at the FERC as well. In a very recent case

which also sought to define FERC’s authority in light of a

Hinshaw exemption, one commissioner called the law in this

area “admittedly murky.”

The Circuit Court in Altamont concluded that PG&E’s

Hinshaw status prevents the FERC from considering the effects

of a state regulation:

Although the Commission ordinarily has the authority

to consider a matter beyond its jurisdiction if the

matter affects jurisdictional sales—at least if there

would otherwise be a regulatory gap—here there is no

2 See, ¢.g., Northern Natural Gas Co. v. State Corporation Commission of

Kansas, 372 U.S. 84 (1963); Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 483 F.2d

623 (Sth Cir. 1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 974 (1974); Public Utilities

Commission of California v. FERC, 900 F.2d 269 (D.C. Cir. 1990).

3 See Union Pacific Fuels, et al. v. Southern California Gas Company, 76

FERC { 61,300 (September 19, 1996), Commissioner Hoecker dissenting

in part. In Union Pacific, the Commissioner rejected an argument, relying

on Southern California Gas’ Hinshaw status, that a charge levied by

SoCal on interstate shippers was not within FERC’s interstate

jurisdiction.

9

such gap but, on the contrary, an express congres-

sional reservation of jurisdiction to another body. That

places the matter off-limits to the FERC.

Altamont, 92 F.3d at 1248.

Petitioners respectfully submit that by defining FERC’s

NGA jurisdiction so narrowly, the Hinshaw exemption so

broadly, and the crossover ban so mechanically, the Circuit

Court has significantly reduced FERC’s ability to protect inter-

state shippers subject to its jurisdiction. As a result of the

Circuit Court’s opinion, the balance between State and Federal

regulation has been fundamentally altered. As a result of the

Circuit Court’s opinion, FERC is stripped of its ability to even

consider the consequences on interstate shippers of natural gas

simply by virtue of the source of those consequences. The

logical, yet incongruous, outcome of this theory is that the

Hinshaw exemption is so inclusively insulative that a Hinshaw

pipeline and/or its State regulatory body could promulgate any

variety of policies antithetical to the rights of interstate ship-

pers, and by clothing those policies in the guise of “rate design”,

remain “off-limits” to FERC consideration. The Circuit Court’s

opinion thus leaves interstate shippers bereft of the protections

accorded by the Natural Gas Act under Sections 4,5, and 7 and

should be reviewed by the Supreme Court.

B. The Decision of the Circuit Court Is Unprecedented

and Misconstrues the Scope of the Hinshaw Amendment to

the Natural Gas Act

The Circuit Court’s decision renders FERC powerless to

protect interstate shippers of natural gas from unduly discrimi-

natory and anticompetitive conditions if those conditions are

imposed by a State agency in the guise of “rate policies”

regarding a Hinshaw pipeline. Indeed, the decision goes so far

as to prohibit FERC from even considering whether the result

ol the State’s action frustrates its interstate jurisdiction—the

entire matter is “off limits”. This holding is without precedent

and inverts the balance of power over interstate natural gas

transportation intended by the Natural Gas Act.

10

As characterized by the Circuit Court, the “pivotal ques-

tion” in this case is “whether the Commission may exercise its

power over and interstate pipeline in a manner intended to

influence a state agency’s regulation of a Hinshaw pipeline”.

Altamont, 92 F.3d at 1247. Petitioners fundamentally disagree

with the Circuit Court’s characterization of the central issue of

this case as a matter of analyzing the motive or intent of FERC.

Rather, the central issue here is better characterized as

delineating the permissible scope of FERC’s consideration of

the impact of nonjurisdictional transactions on matters clearly

within the scope of FERC’s jurisdiction, the issuance of a

certificate of public convenience and necessity under Section 7

of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717f. The nonjurisdictional

transaction involved here is a regulatory order of the CPUC

directed at PG&E, an entity FERC found to be a Hinshaw

pipeline. However, the subject matter of that regulatory order

encompasses, and is specifically designed to affect, interstate

shippers of natural gas utilizing the PGT Expansion facility, the

jurisdictional facility that was the subject of PGT’s Section 7

application before the FERC. Thus, the question is whether

FERC can consider the unduly discriminatory impact of the

CPUC order on interstate shippers utilizing the jurisdictional

PGT facility. As is more fully discussed below, the issue con-

cerning the specific remedial action taken by FERC based on

that consideration is an entirely separate matter that does not

affect the question of FERC’s jurisdiction presented in this

case.

Nevertheless, the Circuit Court recognized that, even as

characterized in its decision, the answer to the “pivotal” issue in

this case can and should be readily discerned from a proper

interpretation of the Supreme Court’s decision in FPC v, Con-

way Corp., 426 U.S. 271 (1976) (“Conway”), as was argued by

FERC. However, in addition to mischaracterizing the “pivotal”

issue in this case, the Circuit Court rejected FERC’s central

argument by subjecting Conway to a misdirected interpretation.

When discussing FERC’s authority to consider the jurisdic-

tional implications of nonjurisdictional transactions, the Circuit

11

Court, citing Conway, stated that “it could only do so ‘{if] the

undue preference or discrimination is . . . traceable to the level

of the jurisdictional rate.’” Altamont, 92 F.3d at 1247 (quoting

Conway, 426 U.S. at 277). This selective use of language from

Conway results in a very narrow interpretation of FERC

authority in this context. However, a fuller reading of what the

Supreme Court actually stated results in a very broad interpre-

tation of Commission authority.

If the undue preference or discrimination is in any way

traceable to the level of the jurisdictional rate, it is

plain enough that the section would to that extent

apply; and to that extent the Commission would have

power to effect a remedy under § 206 by an appropri-

ate order directed to the jurisdictional rate.

Conway, 426 U.S. at 277 (emphasis added).

Thus, Conway held that FERC was within its authority to

consider nonjurisdictional matters as long as the undue discrim-

ination was traceable “in any way” to FERC’s jurisdictional

rates, a critical phrase, broadly construing FERC’s authority,

that the Circuit Court’s decision literally deletes. In this case,

the crossover ban was explicitly aimed at gas arriving at Malin

under PGT’s Expansion firm rate schedule, a linkage that more

than satisfies the Supreme Court’s requirements in Conway.

Thus, the only question left unanswered by Conway, and the

issue the Circuit Court did not address, is whether the rationale

of Conway is equally applicable when the nonjurisdictional

matter at issue is a State regulatory agency order directed at a

Hinshaw pipeline. It is that issue, whether the Hinshaw Amend-

ment precludes FERC consideration of the impact of a state

regulatory order directed at a Hinshaw pipeline that imposes

undue discrimination on interstate shippers utilizing a jurisdic-

tional facility seeking a certificate of public convenience and

necessity, that has not been previously addressed by the

Supreme Court, and on which Petitioners now base this petition

for a writ of certiorari.

12

After disposing of Conway and its clear impact on the

“pivotal” issue in this case, the Circuit Court’s principal author-

ity for this ground breaking decision, already seized upon by

State regulated entities in their arguments before the Circuit

Court in United Distribution, is nothing more than what it

characterizes as “a logical implication” arising from language in

ANR Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 876 F.2d 124, 132 (D.C. Cir. 1989)

(“ANR”), which the Circuit Court claims puts the Supreme

Court decision, FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Co., 365

U.S. 1 (1961) (“Transco”), “in perspective”.

[I]n Transco, despite the sale’s impact on jurisdictional

Sales, no . . . agency had any direct voice over whether

it satisfied the public interest. We think it would be a

considerable stretch from there to say that, in certify-

ing transportation that is necessary to Carry out a sale,

the Commission is required to reconsider the very

aspects of the sale that have been assessed by an

agency specifically vested by Congress with authority

over the subject.

Altamont, 92 F.3d at 1247-1248 (quoting ANR, 876 F.2d at 132)

Petitioners believe that the Circuit Court entirely miscon-

strued ANR.. First, the Circuit Court conceded that the cited

language is “couched in terms of what the Commission is

required to consider”, rather than what it is strictly prohibited

from considering. Jd. at 1248. More importantly, the entire

subject matter of ANR relates to whether FERC is required to

reconsider the exact same issues that were previously consid-

ered by another arm of the U.S. Department of Energy. ANR

does not address, nor is it “logical” to extend ANR to a radically

different context of conflicting Federal-State jurisdiction. It is

not logical, or supportable, to conclude from ANR that FERC is

absolutely prohibited from considering the entirely different

issue relatipg. to the jurisdictional impact on interstate shippers

13

of State policies.‘ In fact, on this latter point, the Circuit Court

in ANR was quite clear:

[W]e do not understand FERC to suggest that it

would not independently examine any effects claimed

to be due to the specific transportation proposed, as

opposed to effects inherent in the importation and

sale of the gas in the United States as a whole. Indeed,

in this very case the Commission has shown alertness

to the implications of the specific transaction, limiting

the duration of the transportation certificates because

of concern over their anticompetitive potential.

ANR, 876 F.2d at 132.

Far from supporting the Circuit Court’s unprecedented

conclusion limiting FERC’s authority to consider the jurisdic-

tional impact of matters reserved to other jurisdictions, ANR

supports FERC’s authority to “independently examine any

effects claimed to be due to” the crossover ban. Accordingly,

ANR does nothing to limit the applicability of the essential

holding in Transco. The essential holding in Transco is that “the

Commission’s power under Section 7 to consider the public

interest when deciding whether to issue a certificate for jurisdic-

tional facilities extends generally to all factors bearing on the

public interest, and specifically extends to permit FERC to look

into matters excluded from the Commission’s direct regulatory

jurisdiction”. Office of Consumers Counsel v. FERC, 655 F.2d

1132, 1147 (D.C. Cir. 1980).

* Petitioners have attempted to clearly distinguish their position with

respect to the jurisdictional issue at stake in this case from the specific

action FERC took. The issue of FERC’s authority to consider the matter

is itself distinct form whether FERC may use the fruits of that considera-

tion to “induc{e] a change [of state] policy”. The latter it may not do. The

former, it must.

14

Similarly, there is no authority for the proposition that

Congress, in expressly reserving certain matters to the states

through the Hinshaw Amendment, intended to in any way

nullify FERC’s ability to consider jurisdictional consequences

that lie at the core of its regulatory authority, any more than

FERC is prohibited from considering the jurisdictional impacts

of matters over which it never had authority. See, e.g., Maryland

People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F.2d 780, 786-787 (D.C. Cir.

1985). While it may be true that if the source of the unduly

discriminatory practices is a State agency action with regard to a

Hinshaw pipeline, FERC’s ability to directly rectify the matter

is limited, FERC nevertheless retains all the jurisdiction that is

required over interstate shippers to fashion an appropriate

remedy to counter otherwise unduly discriminatory practices.

As FERC recently stated, “[t]he Hinshaw exemption exempts

from Commission jurisdiction the person receiving the gas

within the state, not the person delivering the gas.” Union

Pacific Fuels, Inc. v. Southern California Gas Company, 76 FERC

1 61,300 at p. 62,496 (Sept. 19, 1996).5

C. The Decision of The Circuit Court Inverts Federal

Preemption Law And Does Violence To The Supremacy

Clause of the U.S. Constitution

The very circumstances of this case demonstrate the dan-

gerous inversion of Federal/State regulatory authority inherent

in the Circuit Court’s decision. FERC had previously found that

the tying of specific interstate and intrastate Capacity unlawfully

discriminated against interstate shippers. Accordingly, it

ordezed the projects untied by requiring PGT to delete those

provisions of its tariff and to hold a new open season for

capacity that would allow interstate shippers the right to deliver

5In Union Pacific, a case very analogous to this case, FERC found that

an interconnection charge levied by a Hinshaw pipeline, Southern Cali-

fornia Gas Company, and approved by the State regulatory body, the

CPUC, against interstate shippers moving gas over the Kern/Mojave

interstate pipeline was not jurisdictional to the CPUC by virtue of the

Hinshaw exemption accorded to SoCal Gas, but was within the scope of

FERC’s jurisdiction over the interstate transportation of natural gas. Jd.

eee ae aR i Ne AMARA ata PTA LINES eS BE 08! Sod i a end STA rt y ey

15

gas at Malin, Oregon without any additional obligation to take

capacity within California on the PG&E Expansion. In direct

response to FERC’s ruling, the CPUC adopted the crossover

ban, which FERC properly found retied the projects, thereby

reimposing the same unduly discriminatory condition FERC

had previously rejected in another form. According to the

Circuit Court, the fact that the same unduly discriminatory

result was achieved through state action completely removes the

matter from FERC’s consideration. Thus, the Circuit Court’s

decision elevates form over substance to the detriment of inter-

state shippers who are completely dependent upon the Federal

government to shield them from unduly discriminatory condi-

tions affecting interstate natural gas transportation.‘

Moreover, the Circuit Court’s determination in this case is

at odds with the Circuit Court’s conclusion in United Distribu-

tion Companies. There, the Circuit Court determined that

FERC’s preclusion of the CPUC-approved “buy-sell” programs

was proper because it was “grounded in the [transportation]

transaction itself” and that FERC’s authority preempted the

state approved programs which conflicted with that jurisdiction.

United Distribution Companies, 88 F.3d at 1157. Yet, here, where

FERC’s concern that interstate transportation not be encum-

bered or tied to other obligations was also unquestionably

“grounded in the transportation transaction”governed by

FERC, the Circuit Court concluded that FERC is precluded by

law from even considering the matter.

6 Petitioners agree with the Circuit Court that FERC could have

“avoided any Hinshaw constraint upon its jurisdiction by concluding that

PGT and PG&E undertook this project as a single company”, a proposi-

tion for which there was more than sufficient evidence. The Circuit Court,

however, fails to acknowledge that there is any other more limited means

by which the Commission may take cognizance of the fact that “[t]he dual

regulatory process is being taken undue advantage of by the utility,

thwarting the intended balance of federal and state regulation.” City of

Mishawaka v. American Electric Power Co., Inc., 616 F2d 976, 983 (7th Cir.

1980).

16

This result is not only conflicting, but stands starkly

outside the mainstream of legal precedent on this issue. As was

recognized by the Circuit Court in as recent a case as United

Distribution Companies, the Hinshaw Amendment, while carv-

ing out an area of exclusive State regulatory authority, does not

overturn fundamental precepts of Federal preemption of con-

flicting State law under the Supremacy Clause of the Constitu-

tion. Jd. 88 F3d at 1155-1157. Certainly, the weight of prece-

dents cited by FERC and IES support this view. See M

People’s Council v. FERC, 761 F.2d 780 (D.C. Cir. 1985); FPC v.

Conway Corp., 426 U.S. 271 (1976); FPC v. Transcontinental Gas

Pipe Line Corp., 365 U.S. 1 (1961); Atlantic Refining Co. v.

Public Service Comm’n, 360 U.S. 378 (1959); Panhandle Eastern

Pipeline Co. v. FPC, 324 U.S. 635 (1945). However, although the

Circuit Court did not specifically so hold, the manner in which

the decision has been applied creates an area of the law

wherein State regulation preempts conflicting Federal regulatory

directives.

Accordingly, Petitioners respectfully submit that the inter-

pretation of the Circuit Court in Altamont places a judicial gloss

on the Hinshaw Amendment whereby it completely inverts

established principles of Federal preemption law. As such the

decision elevates a statutory provision that was intended to be

an exception to Federal preemption, to the level of a provision

that broadly reverses Federal preemption law, thereby overrid-

ing the otherwise applicable effects of the Supremacy Clause of

the U.S. Consitution. This was not the intent of Congress in

enacting the Hinshaw Amendment’ and should not be institu-

tionalized by the Circuit Court’s decision in this case.

The Circuit Court decision raises a serious question as to

the reasonable limits of interpreting the scope of a statutory

exception to the Supremacy Clause of the U.S. Constitution.

Compare Illinois Commerce Commission v. Interstate Commerce

7 See S. Rep. No. 817, 83rd Cong., 1st Sess, 2 (1953), reprinted in 1954 US.

Code Cong. & Admin. News 2101, 2103; See also ANR Pipeline Co. v. FERC,

71 F.3d 897, 903 (D.C. Cir. 1995).

Pais tychicatirieieh is 2s

17

Commission, 749 F.2d 875 (D.C. Cir. 1984). To the extent this

precise issue has not previously been specifically addressed by

the Supreme Court, the precedent established by the decision

of the Circuit Court in this case creates such conflict and

confusion in this critical area of the law that it is indeed

appropriate and desirable that the Supreme Court clarify this

point in this case.

D. The Crossover Ban is Not a Mere “Bookkeeping

Convention”, But a Device By Which A State Regulatory

Body Has Preempted Federal Regulation

The Circuit Court appears to rely heavily, if not exclu-

sively, upon its characterization of the crossover ban as a mere

“bookkeeping” matter that was part and parcel of “PG&E’s

rate design” as the essential predicate to its determination that

the matter was “off-limits” to FERC’s consideration. Petition-

ers respectfully submit that the description of the crossover ban

is not the issue—the issue is the effect upon interstate shippers

of the crossover ban. The effect of the crossover ban on inter-

state shippers is to impose upon them an additional and unduly

discriminatory obligation downstream of the terminus of the

interstate system. It is in that sense that the Circuit Court’s

characterization of the crossover ban as a bookkeeping conven-

tion or an element of PG&E’s rate design obscures its repercus-

sions on interstate commerce.

While the Circuit Court is correct when it states that under

the CPUC’s rate design, “a new user is billed at the rate

applicable to the new facilities while an existing user is billed at

the rate applicable to existing facilities”, a rate policy with

which Petitioners do not take issue, the Circuit Court fails to

apprehend that what distinguishes the crossover ban from this

tate policy, what makes the crossover ban independent of this

rate policy, is the absolute requirement that interstate shippers of

natural gas in the PGT Expansion must become “new users” of

PG&E’s facilities.

As FERC stated in its brief to the Circuit Court, “[tJhe

crossover ban undeniably ties the PG&E expansion and the

18

PGT expansion; that is its express purpose. It tied the two

services together as surely as did PGT’s Original tariff and

contracts with shippers”. FERC Brief at p. 36. This tying, FERC

found, meant that “PGT shippers will not be able to use PGT

freely.” 56 FERC 4 61,192 at p. 61,725. It “has the same

anticompetitive effects as an interstate pipeline’s refusing to

untie or unbundle its transportation services from its sales

services”, and reveals “practices that deny transportation access

in an unduly discriminatory manner”. 57 FERC 61,097 at p.

61,361.

This issue—the tying of interstate and intrastate capac-

ity—is totally distinct from rate design issues such as incremen-

tal and postage stamp rates. Petitioners have not chailenged

here the CPUC’s right to allocate costs of new facilities to the

new users of those facilities, or to require shippers to pay a

single rate for the use of the facilities, whether the service is for

one mile or four hundred miles. To the extent the Circuit Court

reads FERC as challenging those policies, the Circuit Court was

correct to find FERC Overstepping its bounds. Those matters

clearly lie at the heart of the state’s jurisdiction.

The relationship between the crossover ban and the

CPUC’s rate design policies is, in its most favorable light,

explicitly attenuated, and in reality, nonexistent: “without a

requirement such as the crossover ban, some incremental

volumes would migrate to existing facilities’ thereby circum-

venting the policy underlying the incremental rate structure.”

This assertion made by the CPUC is, and always has been a non

sequitur. The CPUC’s incremental rate design policy, as the

Circuit Court has correctly characterized it, “assures that

Expansion customers, for whose benefit the new facilities were

constructed, pay the cost of those facilities”. If IES shippers

choose to become PG&E Expansion customers, then they

should and will pay the cost of those facilities. On the other

hand, if IES members sell their gas at the Malin delivery point,

just as other non-PGT Expansion shippers do, they will noi

become PG&E Expansion customers. The whole point of the

crossover ban was to force PGT Expansion shippers to become

%

3

4

4

<

5

%

&

*

#

x

SEEN sae hak lll Can, vtech duets esas Srwessack

Ly

3

|

&

_

19

customers of the PG&E Expansion over their objections.* This

is neither a legitimate element of a rate design nor a bookkeep-

ing convention.

No manner of description, however benign, can alter the

inescapable conclusion that the crossover ban imposes on PGT

Expansion shippers, solely by virtue of their being interstate

shippers, a separate and additional obligation to pay for intra-

State facilities neither contracted for nor wanted. The Circuit

Court decision has the unfortunate effect of allowing a State to

clothe its actions in the rubric of rate design, and however

hollow the claim, completely shield itself from FERC’s consid-

eration of the effect of those actions on its jurisdiction over the

interstate transportation of natural gas. Where, as here, the

result of the State’s act was to directly negate a prior Federal

requirement that the transportation of interstate natural gas

shall not be encumbered with any additional downstream obli-

gations solely by virtue of the specific interstate transportation

provided, and that Malin, Oregon must be a true, not a fictional

delivery point, FERC was not only within its authority to con-

sider the matter, it was obligated to do so.

By this device the CPUC, with the blessing of the Circuit

Court, has instituted a practice by which State regulatory agen-

cies can preempt clear and specific Federal regulatory directives

based upon Federal statutory regulatory standards. Certainly,

FERC should not be permitted to do indirectly what it could

not do directly in contravention of the Hinshaw Amendment,

attempt to dictate CPUC rate design policy. However, Petition-

ers urge the Court to clearly explain the import of its prior

decisions construing FERC’s jurisdiction under the NGA, the

Hinshaw Amendment and their relationship to Federal pre-

emption law under the Supremacy Clause. That is, the CPUC

should not be able to do indirectly what it could not do directly,

® PG&E was at risk for the recovery of the costs associated with the

PG&E Expansion. PG&E considered the crossover ban essential to

assure itself that those rev-nues were recovered.

20

override Federal regulatory policy concerning the nondiscrimi-

natory interstate transportation of natural gas. See Schenidwind

v. ANR Pipeline Co., 485 U.S. 293 (1988); Northwest Central

Pipeline v. State Corp. Comm'n, 489 US. 493, 512 (1989)

(“Neither state nor federal regulatory body was to encroach

upon the jurisdiction of the other.”).

E. The Circuit Court Decision Reverses An

Inappropriate Remedy Ordered By FERC By Allowing State

Preemption of Federal Statutory Protections For Interstate

Natural Gas Shippers

Petitioners agree with the Circuit Court’s conclusion that

FERC may not adopt a remedy with the intent to “influence a

State agency’s regulation of a Hinshaw Pipeline.” As noted

above however, this failure on the part of FERC does not lead

to the conclusion that FERC failed by considering the matter in

the first instance. As the Commission stated, in the absence of a

Proper condition, it could not find that the certification applica-

tion met the public convenience and necessity. That the Com-

mission ultimately imposed an improper condition—one

irected to influence the CPUC rather than directed to protect-

ing interstate shippers—does not affect FERC’s obligation to

consider the unduly discriminatory condition in reaching its

fundamental finding on public convenience and necessity. Peti-

tioners respectfully submit that the Circuit Court failed to

distinguish FERC’s underlying responsibility from the means by

which it regrettably chose to enforce it.

It is the position of Petitioners, argued extensively in its

briefs below, that it is the Commission’s absolute duty to

“stamp out” undue discrimination where it is found to exist.9 If

the Commission is prevented from Stamping it out because it

was imposed by a State agency upon a Hinshaw pipeline, it must

nonetheless ensure that those shippers that would otherwise be

9 Associated Gas Distributors v. FERC (AGD I), 824 F.2d 981 (D.C. Cir.

1987).

a —

as

}

i

i

4

|

;

21

harmed by the unduly discriminatory practices are fully pro-

tected if it is to find a certificate application to be in the public

convenience and necessity. While Petitioners believe that the

FERC August 1 Order remedy— preventing construction until

FERC could make a finding that shippers would not face

unduly discriminatory practices—was lawful, it was not the only

means by which the Commission, then or now, could protect

shippers. !°

However, the Circuit Court went far beyond preventing

FERC from imposing an unlawful remedy for the unduly dis-

criminatory practices it found to exist. It precluded FERC from

any consideration of the impact of CPUC directives. This

wholesale abnegation of FERC’s authority to protect interstate

natural gas shippers from undue discrimination by Hinshaw

pipelines reverses the central precept underlying the preexisting

balance between State regulatory authority under the Hinshaw

Amendment to the Natural Gas Act and Federal regulatory

authority over the interstate movement of natural gas under

that same act. That central precept must be that Federal regula-

tory authority, validly based upon the Commerce Clause of the

Constitution, must preempt conflicting State regulatory author-

ity by operation of the Supremacy Clause of the Constitution,

and specific statutory exceptions to that preemption, such as the

Hinshaw Amendment, should not be construed so broadly so as

to create an exception that swallows the rule.

10 See Plaquemines Oil and Gas Company v. FERC, 450 E2d 1334,

1337-1338 (D.C. Cir. 1971) (The Commission has the “equitable power

“to regard as being done that which should have been done’ by recreating

the past, insofar as is reasonably possible, to reflect compliance with the

Act and to order refunds to be paid if necessary to achieve that goal.”).

II. Conclusion

For the foregoing reasons, Petitioners pray that this Hon-

orable Court issue a Writ of Certiorari to the U.S. Court of

22

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit in this case.

Dated: January 22, 1997

Respectfully submitted,

Roger A. Berliner, Esq.

John M. Binetti, Esq.

Brady & Berliner, PC.

1225 Nineteenth Street, N.W.

Suite 800

Washington, D.C. 20036

Attorneys for Petitioners

Indicated Expansion Shippers

(*Counsel of Record)

= i as Kish gaia ial nab ee ee a bil iX. < x oI -

Appendix 1

Decision of the U.S. Court of Appeals

St AAA 8 he PAB Be Ly Diet cint =

ee ee een

a 4

United States Court of Appeals

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA CIRCUIT

Argued Nov. 14, 1995. Decided Aug. 23, 1996

No. 91-1369

ALTAMONT GAS TRANSMISSION COMPANY, ET AL.,

= Petitioner,

FEDERAL ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION,

Respondent,

GREAT LAKES GAS TRANSMISSION LIMITED PARTNERSHIP,

Intervenor

Consolidated with

93-1241, 93, 1295, 93-1308, 93-1309 and 93-1317

On Petitions for Review of an Order of the

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission.

Roger A. Berliner, Washington, DC, argued the cause for

petitioners Indicated Expansion Shippers and Frederic G. Ber-

ner, Jr, Washington, DC, argued the cause for petitioners

Altamont Gas Transmission Company, et al., with whom Jane E.

Stelck and James F. Bendernagel, Jr., Washington, DC, for peti-

tioners Altamont Gas Transmission Company, et al., Thomas D.

Oliver, Houston, TX, for petitioner Chevron U.S.A. Inc., and

John Leslie, for PanCanadian Petroleum Company, et al., were

on the joint briefs. David R. Stevenson, New Orleans, LA,

entered an appearance for petitioner Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

Mark Fogelman, San Francisco, CA, argued the cause for

petitioner Public Utilities Commission of the State of Califor-

nia, with whom Edward W. O’Neill was on the briefs.

Bills of costs must be filed within 14 days after entry of judgment. The

court looks with disfavor upon motions to file bills of costs out of time.

:

;

a

‘

£

;

;

4

3

Michael F. McBride, Washington, DC, argued the cause for

petitioner and intervenor Pacific Gas Transmission Company,

with whom Elias G. Farrah, Bruce W. Neely, Washington, DC,

Keith T: Sampson, Portland, OR, Joseph H. Fagan and Michael J.

McDanold, Washington, DC, were on the briefs. Jack F Fallin,

Frank R. Lindh, Howard V. Golub, Patrick G. Golden, David W.

Anderson, San Francisco, CA, and Raymond N. Shibley, Wash-

ington, DC, entered appearances.

Timm L. Abendroth, Federal Energy Regulatory Commis-

sion, argued the cause for respondent, with whom Jerome M.

Feit, Solicitor, and Randolph L. Elliott, were on the brief. Wil-

liam S. Scherman, Washington, DC, entered an appearance.

James C. Moffatt, Shippen Howe and John R. Staffier, Wash-

ington, DC, entered appearances for intervenors Foothills Pipe

Lines Ltd., et al. David L. Huard, Los Angeles, CA, entered an

appearance for intervenor Southern California Gas Company.

Thomas B. Magee, Washington, DC, Frederick T. Kolb, New

Orleans, LA, and Jon L. Brunenkant, Washington, DC, entered

appearances for intervenors Amoco Production Company and

Amoco Canada Petroleum Company Ltd. Kenneth L. Glick and

Narinder J. Kathuria, Detroit, MI, entered appearances for

intervenor Great Lakes Gas Transmission Limited Partnership.

Jennifer B. Corwin, Washington, DC, entered an appearance for

intervenor Southern California Edison Company. Britton White,

Jr., El Paso, TX, Charles G. Fox, Albany, NY, Mark F. Sundback,

Washington, DC, and Phillip D. Endom, El Paso, TX, entered

appearances for intervenor E] Paso Natural Gas Company.

Thomas D. Clarke, Oakton, VA, entered an appearance for

intervenor Pacific Interstate Transmission Company. David P

Yaffe, Los Angeles, CA, entered an appearance for intervenor

Northern California Power Agency. Norman A. Pedersen, Los

Angeles, CA, entered an appearance for intervenors Southern

California Utility Power Pool and Imperial Irrigation District.

Keith L. Kutler, Salem, OR, entered an appearance for inter-

venor Oregon Public Utility Commission. David R. Stevenson

entered an appearance for intervenor Chevron U.S.A. Inc.

4

Before: GINSBURG, ROGERS AND TATEL, Circuit Judges.

Opinon for the court filed by Circuit Judge GINSBURG.

GINSBURG, Circuit Judge: The Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission authorized petitioner Pacific Gas Transmission to

build and operate a pipeline from the Canadian border to the

Oregon-California border at Malin, Oregon, where it connects

to the intrastate facilities of PGT’s parent, Pacific Gas & Elec-

tric. The California Public Utilities Commission, also a peti-

tioner, authorized PG&E to expand its facilities in order to

receive the new gas from PGT for distribution within California.

Because it determined that the rate structure proposed by

PGT-PG&E discriminated against interstate shippers seeking

access to the California market via PGT-PG&E’s facilities, the

Commission initially postponed the start of PGT’s construction.

In order to meet increased demand for gas, however, the Com-

mission subsequently authorized PGT to begin construction but

lowered the pipeline’s allowed rate of return to 10.13% from

12.75% until PGT could demonstrate that its rates and policies

no longer discriminated against interstate shippers.

Petitioners Altamont Gas Transmission and other inter-

state shippers (collectively, the Expansion Shippers), which

compete with PG&E to sell gas in California, support the

Commission’s exercise of jurisdiction in this case. They contend,

however, that the PGT-PG&E arrangement is unduly discrimi-

natory; the Commission should not have certificated PGT’s

expansion in its present form; and the rate of return adjustment

ordered by the Commission is arbitrary and capricious.

Both PGT and the CPUC contend that by imposing the

rate of return condition the Commission exceeded its jurisdic-

tion, and they deny that the CPUC’s rate orders sanction

anticompetitive or unduly discriminatory acts. For its part, PGT

supports the Commission’s decision to lift the original construc-

tion ban but argues that the rate of return condition is an

unreasonable penalty that is unsupported by the record and

unconnected to PGT’s allegedly discriminatory acts.

Sealant Od Ret we wk, ella. octet 6 GoM Me RNR de ae

ee - ane ~

ee ee ee Rena a Sea RRO BEN eI 1 P08 Oke

4

;

.

5

We hold that the Commission did indeed overstep its

jurisdictional bounds, interfering in an area that the Congress

has expressly reserved to the states. Accordingly, we do not

decide whether the PGT-PG&E arrangement is unduly discrim-

inatory, nor whether the Commission should have certificated

PGT’s expansion in its present form, nor whether the Commis-

sion’s decision to adjust PGT’s rate of return is arbitrary and

capricious.”

L. Background

In January 1991 the Commission preliminarily authorized

PGT to build and operate a pipeline from the Canadian border

to Malin, Oregon, subject to two conditions: First, PGT would

have to offer its new transportation capacity to all shippers

rather than allocate the bulk of the capacity to California

utilities before offering it to interstate shippers. Second, PGT

would have to revise its contractual relationships with the

Expansion Shippers to eliminate a “tie-in” that required them

to use PG&EP’s expansion facilities within California. The tie-in

subjected the Expansion Shippers to circuitous routing and

higher overall rates in order to transport their gas to its final

* We do have one housekeeping matter to resolve: PGT asks that a

certain requirement in the Commission’s January 1991 order be vacated

as moot. The Commission initially directed PGT to use a 95% load factor

in designing its usage charge. Later the Commission authorized PGT to

use a demand-based rate design instead of a usage-based design. Thus

PGT’s load factor became a non-issue and, for that reason, the Commis-

sion did not vacate the requirement. The Supreme Court has held that a

moot agency directive should be vacated in order to clear the path for

relitigation and to remove an unreviewed judgment. United States v.

Munsingwear, Inc., 340 U.S. 36, 39-40, 71 S.Ct. 104, 106-07, 95 L.Ed. 36

(1950). The Commission, however, points out that PGT did not raise this

issue in its request for rehearing of the August order. Instead, PGT simply

asked the Commission to “clarify that this throughput component no

longer exists.” Therefore, asserts the Commission, PGT cannot raise the

question on appeal. See 15 U.S.C. § 717r(b). Under the circumstances,

this is an excessively fastidious reading of PGT’s request for rehearing.

We hereby vacate the load factor requirement.

6

destination. Expansion Shippers serving northern California

could not take delivery of their gas at Malin; instead, they had

to pay for transportation to PG&E’s Kern River Station in

southern California and then pay a separate charge on PG&E’s

intrastate system for transportation back to northern California.

The Commission agreed that once PGT satisfied the two

conditions, it could proceed with construction under an

approved rate structure that included a return on equity of

12.75%—not far from the midpoint of the 10.13-15.80% “zone

of reasonableness.” Subsequently, PGT did in fact comply with

both conditions, altering its initial capacity allocation and mak-

ing gas available for delivery at Malin by eliminating the con-

tractual requirement that Expansion Shippers use PG&E’s

expansion facilities.

In August 1991 the Cou.mission issued PGT a certificate,

but the certificate did not authorize PGT to begin construction

immediately. Rather, the FERC expressed continuing concern

over decisions of the CPUC that, in the Commission’s view,

effectively perpetuated the tie-in between the new PGT pipeline

and PG&E’s expansion facilities. First, the CPUC had required

the Expansion Shippers to use PG&E’s expansion facilities

before they could “cross over” to its pre-existing facilities.

Second, the Expansion Shippers had to pay PG&E a flat (so-

called postage stamp) rate for use of its expansion facilities

regardless of the distance over which they shipped and then pay

an additional demand charge to reserve delivery capacity on the

existing system from Kern River to northern California (a so-

called double backbone transmission charge). The Commission

concluded that these state regulatory requirements embedded

in PG&E’s rate structure were anticompetitive, just as PGT’s

original contractual tie-in had been. The Commission refused

to allow PGT to go forward with construction until the pipeline

guaranteed nondiscriminatory treatment to interstate shippers.

PGT and several of its customers then requested that the

Commission allow construction to begin so that PGT could

meet the increasing market demand for gas. The CPUC also

7

asked the Commission to allow construction to proceed, but on

the ground that the FERC could not lawfully condition PGT’s

certificate upon a change in PG&E’s intrastate rates. The

Expansion Shippers, however, opposed the Commission’s lifting

the condition until PGT provided assurance that the tie-in

would be eliminated. In October 1991 the Commission permit-

ted construction to go forward in order to satisfy the growing

demand for gas but it reduced PGT’s return on equity to

10.13%, the low end of the zone of reasonableness, until PGT

eliminated undue discrimination against interstate shippers.

PGT, the CPUC, and Altamont, an interstate natural gas

pipeline, all requested rehearing of the August order; PGT and

the Expansion Shippers requested rehearing of the October

order. In March 1993 the Commission denied all rehearing

requests. Although the CPUC had by then eliminated the

double backbone portion of PG&E’s transmission charge, the

Commission concluded that this change alone “d[id] not pro-

vide a sufficient remedy.” The Commission expressed particular

concern that, because of the crossover prohibition and PG&E’s

postage stamp rate, an interstate shipper that used PGT’s new

pipeline could not get the benefit of the lower rate PG&E

charged for use of its pre-existing facilities even if capacity

became available on those facilities. In conditionally lowering

the return that PGT was authorized to earn on its new pipeline,

the Commission hoped to “accommodate and balance conflict-

ing objectives by permitting construction to go forward along

with providing an appropriate incentive to continue to work to

eliminate undue discrimination.”

Section 7 of the Natural Gas Act, 15 U.S.C. § 717f, prohib-

its the construction of certain natural gas pipeline facilities

without a certificate of public convenience and necessity issued

by the Commission; section 7(¢) authorizes the Commission “to

attach to the issuance of the certificate and to the exercise of

the rights granted thereunder such reasonable terms and condi-

tions as the public convenience and necessity may require.”

PGT contends that the Commission exceeded its authority

8

under § 7(e€) by conditioning PGT’s certificate upon the pipe-

line earning the minimum reasonable rate of return, 10.13%.

The Hinshaw Amendment, § 1(c) of the NGA, 15 U.S.C.

§ 717(c), provides that intrastate rates and services, such as

those of PG&E in this case, are exempt from Commission

scrutiny. The amendment applies to any state-regulated pipe-

line that receives interstate gas “within or at the boundary of a

state if all of the gas so received is ultimately consumed within

such state.” Both the CPUC and PGT argue that under the

amendment the CPUC retains exclusive authority over the

Tates, services, and facilities of PG&E; accordingly, by condi-

tioning PGT’s certificate upon a change in PG&E’s practices

the Commission was attempting to do indirectly what it could

not do directly.

In exercising its supervisory authority over PG&E’s rates,

the CPUC directed the company to adopt an incremental rate

structure—that is, one in which the added cost of the expansion

facilities is assessed against expansion customers only (as

rate structure. Finally, a postage stamp rate is equitable as

applied to the shipments destined for northern California,

according to the CPUC, because the expansion facilities would

not have been built but for the need to serve the increased

demand for gas in southern California; absent that demand,

“[s]hippers wishing to deliver gas ultimately to northern Cali-

fornia would have no means of bringing additional Canadian

gas into the state.”

The Commission acknowledges that an incremental rate

structure allocates the cost of a new facility to the customers

SAA iE roy

batt ainiicS vaca ee EY

OE ee ee

9

who benefit from using it. On the facts of this case, however,

the Commission suggests that an incremental rate structure

would be unduly discriminatory because it would require inter-

State shippers to pay a higher rate for the intrastate expansion

facilities than is warranted by the mileage they use. Therefore,

the Commission wants PG&E to (1) adopt a rolled-in structure,

or (2) eliminate the crossover ban, or (3) abandon its postage

stamp rate in favor of a rate that varies with mileage. Because

PG&E has not taken one or more of these steps, the Commis-

sion maintains that PG&E obtains an unfair advantage over

interstate shippers that use PG&E’s facilities but are also its

competitors for sales in the California market. Because it pays a

non-distance-sensitive rate, a shipper selling gas in northern

California subsidizes the companies that serve the southern

California market, which is further from Malin. That same

shipper would also appear to be put at a competitive disadvan-

tage relative to PG&E in northern California; the fixed rate the

shipper pays for the use of PG&E’s expansion facilities exceeds

PG&E’s cost (as reflected in the rate) for the use of its older

facilities.

Il. Analysis

As a threshold matter, the Commission contends that the

CPUC does not have standing to seek review of the August and

October 1991 orders. In the case of the August order the CPUC

got what it wanted—the Commission lifted the construction ban

that had been in effect against PGT—and in the case of the

October order the CPUC did not seek rehearing, which is a

jurisdictional prerequisite for judicial review. The CPUC

responds that it challenged the August order with respect both

to the construction ban and to the Commission’s underlying

finding of undue discrimination and, in this latter regard, that

order continues to impede the CPUC in its exercise of regula-

tory authority. Additionally, the CPUC asserts that it is not

required to seek rehearing of a supplemental order that leaves

intact the pertinent parts of a prior order of which it did request

rehearing.

10

We take no position on this question of standing. The

CPUC asks for relief that is in all relevant respects congruent

with the relief requested by PGT, and for the same underlying

reason. Because we grant PGT’s petition in sufficient part to

give the CPUC all the relief it seeks, and because the other

issues that the CPUC raises are not necessary to our disposition

of this case, whether the CPUC has standing is of no

consequence.

We begin our analysis of the Commission’s jurisdictional

bounds with an inquiry into the applicability of the Hinshaw

Amendment to affiliated companies. Then we examine the

principal contention of PGT and the CPUC—that the Commis-

sion interseded in an area expressly reserved to the states.

Section 1(c) of the NGA, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c), is of course central

to both questions. It provides in relevant part:

The provisions of [the NGA] shall not apply to any

person engaged in or legally authorized to engage in the

transportation in interstate commerce or the sale in inter-

state commerce for resale, of natural gas received by such

person from another person within or at the boundary of a

State if all the natural gas so received is ultimately con-

sumed within such State, or to any facilities used by such

person for such transportation or sale, provided that the

rates and service of such person and facilities be subject to

regulation by a State commission. The matters exempted

... by this subsection are declared to be matters primarily

of local concern and subject to regulation by the several

States.

A. The Applicability of the Hinshaw Amendment to Affiliated

Companies

According to the Expansion Shippers, the PGT-PG&E

pipeline is a single, integrated interstate transmission facility

owned in part directly and in part indirectly by PG&E. When

the CPUC required interstate shippers to use PG&E’s expan-

sion facilities before crossing over to its pre-existing facilities,

3

;

$

b

2

:

~ set edie La ha EPs Ke

OR Rainn Seid ea adie bes ain Daa oS

abi: RR Nt.

11

PGT and PG&E (with the help of the CPUC) were able to

bifurcate their expansion project into an interstate component

subject to regulation by the Commission and an intrastate

component which evaded federal supervision. This duality shel-

tered PG&E from the competition of the interstate shippers

notwithstanding that the “Congress did not intend the [Hin-

shaw Amendment] to relieve the Commission of jurisdiction

over local branches of integrated interstate systems.” Louisiana

Power & Light Co. v. FPC, 483 F.2d 623, 633 (Sth Cir.1973).

Altamont takes the position that, on the facts of this case,

the Hinshaw Amendment does not even apply to PG&E.

Because PGT and PG&E are effectively one and the same

company (according to Altamont) their transfer of gas at the

Oregon-California border does not satisfy the threshold

requirement of s 717(c) that gas be received by one person

“from another person.”

The Commission, however, found that although the PGT-

PG&E expansion was coordinated as to management, financ-

ing, and contracting, their integration in these areas did not

make the two companies into one for the purpose of the NGA.

In its August order, the Commission concluded that without

proof of undue discrimination there is “nothing inappropriate

about such coordinated activities,” and Altamont did not

demonstrate that the areas of coordinated activity were the

source of such undue discrimination as the agency had

identified.

In past decisions the Commission has arguably taken a

harder look at nonjurisdictional services provided by the affili-

ate of an interstate pipeline. See, e.g., Arkla Gathering Servs. Co.,

69 FERC {4 61,280 at 62,087 (1994) (Commission may treat

jurisdictional pipeline and nonjurisdictional gatherer as single

entity where services are tied), affd in relevant part, Conoco Inc.

v. FERC, 90 F3d 536 (D.C.Cir.1996). In the recent case of

KansOk Partnership, 73 FERC { 61,160 (1995), the Commission

held that it would treat three affiliated pipelines as a single

interstate system because their corporate structure was

12

designed specifically to avoid federal regulation. Jd. at 61,486.

“[W]here it is necessary to protect the public interest,” the

Commission said, it “will disregard the separate corporate sta-

tus of entities that would otherwise be considered nonjurisdic-

tional.” Jd. at 61,484. Closer in point is another decision issued

the same day as KansOk, in which the Commission found that

three affiliates—including a Hinshaw pipeline—that had coor-

dinated their construction proposals constituted an interstate

pipeline subject to the NGA. Louisiana Gas Sys. Inc., 73 FERC

¥ 61,161 (1995). The Commission indicated that the jurisdic-

tional status of any one of the pipelines might not have been an

issue, but because “the actual effect of the construction project

contemplated here will be to give pipeline affiliates a competi-

tive advantage in the transportation of gas ... this would sub-

vert the purposes of the NGA.” Id. at 61,502. The Commission

determined not to allow the companies “to balkanize into a

chain of affiliates subject to the regulations of various states.”

Id. at 61,503.

Given a proper evidentiary record, the Commission might

have avoided any Hinshaw constraint upon its jurisdiction by

concluding that PGT and PG&E undertook this project as a

single company. The Commission did not reach this conclusion,

however, and the court cannot on this record hold that the

Commission was unreasonable—that is, that PGT and PG&E

unduly discriminated against interstate shippers by coordinating

their activities. We are of course mindful that the Commission’s

choice not to pursue a given line of inquiry “often involves a

complicated balancing of a number of factors which are pecu-

liarly within [the agency’s] expertise.” Heckler v. Chaney, 470

U.S. 821, 831, 105 S.Ct. 1649, 1655-56, 84 L.Ed.2d 714 (1985).

We therefore treat PGT and PG&E as distinct companies, as

did the Commission, for purposes of the Hinshaw analysis.

B. The Commission’s Consideration of Nonjurisdictional Issues

Next we turn to the argument, advanced both by PGT and

by the CPUC, that under the Hinshaw Amendment the Com-

mission lacks the power to condition a certificate of public

ee, OA EE

13

convenience and necessity upon an interstate pipeline’s intra-

state affiliate changing its rate structure. We have held that the

Commission may not use the conditioning authority of § 7(e) to

circumvent a limitation imposed upon its ratemaking authority

by §§ 4 and 5 of the NGA, nor a fortiori to do anything that is

specifically proscribed by the Act. American Gas Ass’n v. FERC,

912 F.2d 1496, 1510 (1990) (AGA). See also Northern Natural

Gas Co. v. FERC, 827 F.2d 779, 781 (1987) (en banc). The

CPUC and PGT contend that the Hinshaw Amendment puts

PG&E’s intrastate rates outside the Commission’s legitimate

area of concern. Both PG&E’s postage stamp rate and its

crossover ban are, in effect, rate policies approved or required

by the CPUC. The crossover ban is a bookkeeping, not an

operating, convention; regardless how the gas flows through the

existing and the expansion facilities, a new user is billed at the

rate applicable to the new facilities while an existing user is

billed at the rate applicable to existing facilities. That is why, as

the Commission acknowledged, a rolled-in rate would render

the crossover ban irrelevant.

Because they are elements of PG&E’s rate design, both

the postage stamp rate and the crossover ban are within the

jurisdiction of the CPUC. Yet in its March 1993 order denying

rehearing, the Commission described the CPUC’s decision to

eliminate the double backbone portion of PG&E’s transmission

charge while retaining both the postage stamp rate and the

crossover ban as “not provid[ing] a sufficient remedy” to satisfy

the FERC that PG&E’s rates were not unduly discriminatory.

Then, recognizing that it could not lawfully regulate PG&E’s

rates, the Commission moved indirectly but frankly to “inducfe]

a change to a policy beyond [its] jurisdictional purview” by

attaching a rate-of-return condition to PGT’s certificate.

Although the Commission has broad authority to consider all

relevant factors in deciding whether and upon what terms to

issue a certificate, the rate structure of an affiliated Hinshaw

pipeline is not a relevant factor. On the contrary, in § 717(c) the

Congress expressly withdrew it from the purview of the agency.

14

In FPC v. East Ohio Gas Co., 338 U.S. 464, 467, 70 S.Ct.

266, 268, 94 L.Ed. 268 (1950), the Supreme Court held that a

company receiving gas at a state border from an interstate

pipeline and transporting that gas for sale within the state is

engaged in interstate commerce subject to the NGA. The Hin-

shaw Amendment was intended to overrule East Ohio in part by

foreclosing Commission jurisdiction over the rates, services, and

facilities within the state where the gas is finally consumed—

they are “declared to be matters primarily of local concern” —

so long as a state regulatory authority assumes such jurisdiction.

According to the CPUC, the appropriate way for the Commis-

sion to assert its interests is therefore to appear before the

CPUC, just as the CPUC appears before the FERC in matters

within the Commission’s jurisdiction. Alternatively, the Com-

mission may institute federal-state cooperative procedures

under 15 U.S.C. § 717p(b). The Commission took neither

course here.

The Commission counters that its action was confined to

lowering the rates charged by PGT for interstate transporta-

tion—clearly a subject matter within its jurisdiction. The agency

asserts that it simply created an incentive (by conditionally

reducing PGT’s rate of return) for the CPUC and PG&E to

behave in a manner that advances the public interest, ie, to

revise PG&E’s rate structure. See AGA, 912 F2d at 1511 (Com-

mission may “establish [ ] certificate conditions with an eye to

inducing changes in transactions that are beyond its direct

grasp”). According to the Commission, while the Hinshaw

Amendment restricts its “primary grant of jurisdiction over

interstate transportation and sales for resale,” it does not

restrict the Commission’s authority to consider a nonjurisdic-

tional matter—even one subject to state regulation—if it is

relevant to an issue within its immediate domain. See, €.8.,

Maryland People’s Counsel v. FERC, 761 F2d 780, 786-87

(D.C.Cir.1985) (Commission may consider anticompetitive

effect of nonjurisdictional activity).

The Commission invokes two Supreme Court cases in

support of its position. In FPC v. Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line

aii a

Ss a ial 5 att ih Aha pe Ero Sere

15

Co., 365 U.S. 1, 81 S.Ct. 435, 5 L.Ed.2d 377 (1961) (Transco),

the Supreme Court upheld the Commission’s denial of a certifi-

cate for transportation of gas to be sold at retail, although such

sales are not subject to regulation by the Commission. The

Court reasoned that the price at which the retail sales would be

consummated might occasion an escalation in the price of

certain wholesale transactions that were within the Commis-

sion’s jurisdiction. Jd. at 7, 81 S.Ct. at 438-39. In FPC v. Conway

Corp., 426 U.S. 271, 96 S.Ct. 1999, 48 L.Ed.2d 626 (1976), an

electric utility engaged in both (jurisdictional) wholesale inter-

state sales and in (nonjurisdictional) industrial retail sales.

Some of the utility’s wholesale customers competed against the

utility by reselling the gas to industrial users. These customers

alleged that the wholesale price was inflated to prevent them

from competing for the retail business. The Court held that the

Federal Power Act authorized the Federal Power Commission

to examine the entire factual context surrounding the wholesale

rates, including facts related to the nonjurisdictional retail

transactions. Jd. at 280, 96 S.Ct. at 2005.

The pivotal question raised in the present case is not

whether the Commission has jurisdiction over a Hinshaw pipe-

line—the Commission concedes that it does not—but whether

the Commission may exercise its power over an interstate pipe-

line in a manner intended to influence a state agency’s regula-

tion of a Hinshaw pipeline. In Conway the Supreme Court

precisely delineated the Commission’s authority to explore the

jurisdictional implications of a nonjurisdictional transaction; it

could do so only “[i]f the undue preference or discrimination is

... traceable to the level of the jurisdictional rate.” 426 U.S. at

277, 96 S.Ct. at 2003-04. In this case the alleged anticompetitive

pricing is traceable not to PGT’s jurisdictional rate but to

PG&E's nonjurisdictional rate. Conway provides the Commis-

sion no comfort at all.

As for Transco, the CPUC correctly characterizes it as a

case in which the nonjurisdictional sale fell into a regulatory

gap, not one in which the nonjurisdictional sale was regulated

by an agency other than the Commission. As the Supreme

16

Court explained: “[W]hen we are presented with an attempt by

the federal authority to control a problem [i.e., an increase in

the wholesale rates of an interstate natural gas pipeline] that is

not, by its very nature, one with which state regulatory commis-

sions can be expected to deal, the conclusion is irresistible that

Congress desired regulation by federal authority rather than

nonregulation.” 365 U.S. at 28, 81 S.Ct. at 449-50. Our opinion

in ANR Pipeline Co. v. FERC, 876 F2d 124, 132 (1989), puts

Transco in proper perspective:

[I}n Transco, despite the sale’s impact on jurisdictional

Sales, no ... agency had any direct voice over whether it

Satisfied the public interest. We think it would be a consid-

erable stretch from there to say that, in certifying transpor-

tation that is necessary to carry out a sale, the Commission

is required to reconsider the very aspects of the sale that

have been assessed by an agency recifically vested by

Congress with authority over the subject.

Although ANR is couched in terms of what the Commis-

sion is required to consider, a logical implication is that when

the Congress explicitly reserves jurisdiction over a matter to the

States, as here, the Commission has no business considering

how to “induc[e] a change [of state] policy” with respect to that

matter. In any event, the Commission offers no contrary

authority.

Instead, the Commission insists that it has merely lowered

PGT’s jurisdictional rates without intruding upon the authority

of the CPUC. This claim rings hollow indeed. The Commission

lowered PGT’s return on equity specifically and only to

“induc[e] a change to a policy beyond [its] jurisdictional pur-

view,” i.e. to pressure the CPUC to regulate PG&E as the

Commission desired but could not itself require. Under the

circumstances, the Commission was indeed attempting to do

indirectly what it could not do directly, that is, intercede in a

matter that the Congress reserved to the State. See Northwest

Central Pipeline v. State Corp. Comm’n, 489 U.S. 493, 512, 109

S.Ct. 1262, 1275, 103 L.Ed.2d 509 (1989) (“The NGA was

fi

‘

*

¥ |

a

s§

wit: nee ORES BE? BAG Bs. Ste s

ASS AME HNL et EDO LE yh ce es A a Pa

RTARTA ie ALY ETC RN MB le Hig Nk Eases

17

designed to supplement state power and to produce a harmoni-

ous and comprehensive regulation of the industry. Neither state

nor federal regulatory body was to encroach upon the jurisdic-

tion of the other”).

If. Conclusion

In conceding that PG&E is a Hinshaw pipeline, the Com-

mission expressly declined to look behind the pipeline com-

pany’s corporate structure and to treat PG&E and PGT as a

single company. We uphold that step as reasonable and must

therefore hold that PG&E’s California rates are exempt from

the jurisdiction of the Commission. Although the Commission

ordinarily has the authority to consider a matter beyond its

jurisdiction if the matter affects jurisdictional sales—at lcast if

there would otherwise be a regulatory gap—here there is no

such gap but, on the contrary, an express congressional reserva-

tion of jurisdiction to another body. That places the matter off-

limits to the FERC.

We therefore grant PGT’s petition for review insofar as it

challenges the Commission’s authority under § l(c) of the

NGA, 15 U.S.C. § 717(c). Accordingly, we also dismiss as moot

the petition filed by the CPUC (without resolving whether the

agency has standing to complain) and we deny the petition filed

by Altamont and the Expansion Shippers.

So ordered.

cnet

¢

z

6

.S)

:

ES Ne, MEP TO Mey EO IAC ROTO TINNTEREER FANE ENON TES EDGR DEL EDA

YD Ne, ike BiH CRRA UE TGS SAN 5 AM al eB be en cthcies ie Skala hi sels Oi eBlebiie Soe 2 antl ike al a

19

[7 61,243]

Pacific Gas Transmission Company Docket Nos.

CP89-460-008, CP89-460-009, CP90-1-002 and CP90-1-003

Order Granting in Part and Denying in Part Requests for

Rehearing and Clarification

(Issued March 16, 1993)

Before Commissioners: Elizabeth Anne Moler, Chair;

Jerry J. Langdon, and Martin L. Allday.

This order addresses requests for rehearing and clarifica-

tion of an August 1, 1991 order,! and an October 24, 1991

order.? The August 1, 1991 order issued a certificate authorizing

Pacific Gas Transmission Company (PGT) to construct and

operate a substantial expansion of its existing pipeline system

(Expansion Project) and to provide firm interstate transporta-

tion service for various Expansion shippers, but prohibited

construction until PGT demonstrated certain unduly discrimi-

natory conditions had been eliminated. The October 24, 1991

order modified the August 1, 1991 order, permitting PGT to

commence construction. This order grants in part and denies in

part requests for rehearing and clarification.

Background

On December 8, 1988, PGT filed an application in Docket

No. CP89-460-000, pursuant to section 7(c) of the Natural Gas

Act (NGA), for a certificate to construct and operate its Expan-

sion Project and to provide firm interstate transportation for

certain large utility customers located in the Pacific Northwest

and California. PGT requested authority to transport up to 710

MMcf per day of gas, on a firm basis, from Kingsgate, British

Columbia. Under the proposal, approximately 150 MMcf per

day of gas would be delivered on a firm basis to the Pacific

Northwest and 600 MMcf per day of gas on a firm basis would

1 156 FERC 1 61,192 (1991).

2 57 FERC 4 61,097 (1991).

20

PG&E system.

October 1989 Amendment

Subsequently, on October 3, 1989, PGT filed in Docket

No. CP89-460-001 an amendment to its application to reflect

provide seasonal service. The revised facility proposal included

430 miles of 42-inch diameter looping on PGT’s existing system,

instead of the 36-inch diameter looping as proposed in its initial

application. Under the amendment, PGT also planned to add

additional delivery points in order to Provide interruptible

transportation service and to revise its proposed receipt and

delivery points.

Offer of Settlement

On November 8, 1989, PGT filed in Docket No.

CP89-460-001 an Offer of Settlement (Settlement) reached by

PGT and the transportation customers to be served by the

Expansion Project. The Settlement included a Stipulation and

Agreement between PGT and its Expansion shippers, although

no other parties Participated in the settlement negotiations.

Application for Presidential Permit and Section 3 Authorization

On October 3, 1989, PGT filed in Docket No. CP90-1-000

an application for NGA section 3 authorization and a Presiden-

tial Permit to construct, operate, maintain, and connect pro-

posed additions or modifications to its facilities operated at the

international boundary between Canada and the United States

for the service Proposed in Docket No. CP89-460-000 et al.

* PG&E is the parent corporation of PGT.

Ae ca ii i aa

21

January 22, 1991 Preliminary Determination

In an order issued on January 22, 1991,4 we prelimina-

tily approved PGT’s proposed new facilities. Upon comple-

tion, the Expansion Project will allow PGT to receive on a

firm annual basis: (1) approximately 872 MMcf per day of

natural gas at Kingsgate, British Columbia, and (2) approx-

imately 62 MMcf per day of gas at Stanfield, Oregon. PGT

would then be authorized to deliver approximately 150

MMcf per day of gas to customers in the Pacific Northwest

and approximately 766 MMcf per day of gas to an existing

interconnection with PG&E at Malin, Oregon. The 62

MMcf per day of gas received at Stanfield would require

upstream transportation by Northwest Pipeline Corpora-

tion (Northwest). Rates were based on the full maximum

daily quantity level proposed by PGT. The Commission

stated that whether or not the capacity constructed by PGT

for transportation of the gas to be supplied by Northwest at

Stanfield will be considered used and useful, and thus

subject to inclusion in PGT’s rate base, will be subject to

the Commission’s granting Northwest authorization to

expand its existing system to accommodate the transporta-

tion of the 62 MMcf per day of gas.°

The January 22, 1991 order rejected the Settlement but

preliminarily approved PGT’s application for NGA section 3

authorization and a Presidential Permit. In addition, in view of

our determination that PGT had unduly discriminated against

* 54 FERC { 61,035 (1991).

> On December 31, 1990, Northwest filed application for a certificate

of public convenience and necessity in Docket No. CP91-780-000, which

included the construction of facilities to provide the transportation of the

62 MMcf per day of gas to PGT at Stanfield, Oregon. On June 5, 1992, in

Docket No. CP91-780-000, et al. , the Commission issued Northwest a final

certificate for an expansion of its existing transmission system that specifi-

cally included the 62 MMcf/d capacity to be available for transportation

on behalf of PGT’s Expansion shippers. 59 FERC 61,289. Whether the

capacity constructed by PGT will be considered used and useful will be

established in the context of a future rate proceeding.

22

non-utility shippers in its allocation of initial capacity, PGT was

directed to establish new open season procedures for the initial

allocation of the firm Expansion capacity, and to include such

procedures in its tariff. Final certificate authority was reserved

pending completion of the environmental review of PGT’s

proposal.

Further Certificate Amendment Application

On May 10, 1991, PGT filed a further amendment to its

application. PGT stated that, in compliance with the directive of

the January 22, 1991 order, it conducted a new open season

from February 21, 1991, to March 22, 1991. PGT asserted that

as a result of the open season, the Expansion is fully subscribed

by utilities, marketers, and producers. PGT stated that one

purpose of its amendment is to reflect the names of all the new

open season shippers, their contract quantities, and related

receipt and delivery points. The total PGT Expansion involves

927,410 MMBtu per day of gas.

PGT noted that it previously requested authorization to

make deliveries in the Pacific Northwest at Spokane, Washing-

ton; Wallula, Washington; Stanfield, Oregon; and Hermiston,

Oregon, with the possibility of adding additional delivery points

based on the needs of specific customers. PGT stated that it

allowed the bidders in the new open season to tender bids to

any existing delivery point on the PGT system.

August 1, 1991 Order Issuing Certificate

On August 1, 1991, the Commission issued an order condi-

tionally authorizing the Expansion Project. Among other things,

the August 1, 1991 order granted PGT a certificate of public

convenience and necessity authorizing PGT to construct and

operate the Expansion facilities and to provide firm transporta-

tion service for various Expansion shippers. PGT’s construction

activities, however, were subject to various conditions. Ordering

Paragraph (M) precluded PGT from initiating construction

“until the Commission is assured that the Expansion Project

shippers would receive nondiscriminatory treatment as to

¥

t

—

~aO

ete he AEP A: iS SIBERIA 4

————

23

access to the California markets by means other than on

PG&E’s Expansion Project facilities.”6 The Commission felt

this condition necessary out of concern that the PGT shippers

will not be able to use PG&E’s facilities freely. In this regard,

the Commission stated that interstate jurisdiction is frustrated

by the discriminatory arrangements between PGT and PG&E.

Thus, under the circumstances, the Commission could not find

the public convenience and necessity served until the anticom-

petitive nature of the tying alrangement is eradicated. We

directed PGT to submit a report evidencing the eradication of

discriminatory conditions.

October 24, 1991 Order on Report

After consideration of PGT’s report and the comments

submitted therewith, the Commission determined that, on bal-

ance, the public convenience and necessity would not be served

by further delay in PGT’s commencement of construction of its

Expansion Project as this could prevent the timely delivery of

additional gas supplies to the Pacific Northwest and California.

Therefore, on October 24, 1991, the Commission issued an

order that modified the prohibition on construction imposed by

Ordering Paragraph (M) of the August 1, 1991 order, and

authorized construction and operation of the Expansion Pro-

ject. As an incentive for PGT to work toward the elimination of

unduly discriminatory conditions limiting the Expansion ship-

pers’ access to the California markets, the Commission reduced

PGT’s approved rate of return on equity from the previously

approved 12.50 percent to 10.13 percent until such time that

PGT demonstrates its and PG&E’s rates or transportation poli-

cies do not result in unduly discriminatory restraints on ship-

pers’ access to transportation on the Expansion Projects. Upon

removal of the construction condition, PGT promptly accepted

its certificate and commenced construction in December 1991.

6 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,728,

Requests For Rehearing

Timely requests for rehearing of the August 1, 1991 order

have been filed by Altamont Gas Transmission Company

(Altamont), El Paso Natural Gas Company (El! Paso), Indicated

Expansion Shippers (IES), Kern River Gas Transmission Com-

pany (Kern River), PGT, Pacific Interstate Transmission Com-

pany (PITCO) jointly with Southern California Gas Company

(SoCalGas), the Producer Associations, the Public Service

Commission of the State of California (CPUC), San Diego Gas

and Electric (San Diego), Southern California Edison Company

(Edison), and Union Pacific Resources Company (Union

Pacific).

Timely requests for rehearing of the October 24, 1991

order have been filed by Altamont, Amoco Production Com-

pany jointly with Amoco Canada Petroleum Company, Ltd.

(Amoco), California Gas Producers Association (California

Producers), El] Paso, IES, Kern River, PGT, and the Producer

Associations.

We note that, on occasion, petitioners present issues and

arguments duplicative of those previously raised before and

resolved by the Commission in our earlier orders in this pro-

ceeding. To the extent those parties requesting rehearing raise

essentially the same issues and merely repeat essentially the

same arguments, reiterating their dissatisfaction with our previ-

ous decisions, their requests for rehearing are denied, and we

direct those parties to the prior orders for resolution of those

issues.

Several parties have petitioned for review of the orders in

this proceeding in the United States Court of Appeals for the

District of Columbia Circuit.’ Once a Commission order is

appealed and the Commission forwards the record in the case

to court, the Commission no longer has jurisdiction to act in the

7 Altamont Gas Transmission Company v. FERC, No. 91-1369, and

consolidated cases Nos. 91-1393, 91-1477, and 91-1480.

So a= wt

RO TS SB CT RLS OI

25

case.® We will, therefore, address the requests for rehearing and

clarification subject to obtaining leave of the court. Those issues

which final agency action has rendered ripe for judicial

review—e.g., the assertion of Amoco, El Paso, Kern River, and

the Producers Association that the Commission should have

disregarded the Hinshaw status of PG&E and assumed regula-

tory jurisdiction over the PG&E’s proposed expansion in Cali-

fornia—will not be further considered in the context of this

rehearing.

Request to Take Official Notice of Separate Proceeding

On February 9, 1993, El Paso filed a motion requesting the

Commission take official notice of a proposal by SoCalGas and

San Diego to construct pipeline facilities that would permit

transportation of gas from the Kern River Station to the Mexi-

can border (Project Vecinos).9 El Paso states that the facilities

proposed by SoCalGas and San Diego will interconnect with

the PG&E Expansion facilities at the Kern River Station. Alleg-

edly, Project Vecinos will thereby cause a portion of the PGT/

PG&E expansion volumes to be transported to and consumed

in Mexico (either directly or by displacement). El] Paso argues

that under these circumstances, PG&E would no longer qualify

for exemption from the Commission’s jurisdiction under the

NGA section 1(c) Hinshaw provision, since PG&E would no

longer meet the statutory requirement that all the natural gas it

receives be ultimately consumed within the State of California.

SoCalGas and San Diego filed an answer arguing that

Project Vecinos will not affect the jurisdictional status of

PG&E’s facilities and, therefore, is irrelevant to the instant

proceeding. PGT filed an answer asserting that E] Paso’s

motion (1) is procedurally defective as an untimely request for

rehearing and (2) improperly seeks official notice of speculative

$15 U.S.C. § 717r(b) (1988).

9 See Docket Nos. CP93-117-000 and CP93-119-000, filed on Decem-

ber 16, 1992.

26

assertions concerning the outcome of an ongoing proceeding,

rather than “facts.”!¢

Speculation concerning the outcome in Docket Nos.

CP93-117-000 and CP93-119-000 is premature; the Commission

has yet to reach any determination in those separate proceed-

ings that would affect PG&E’s Hinshaw status. Further, we find

that El Paso’s assertions based on the proposed project in

Docket Nos. CP93-117-000 and CP93-119-000 do not raise any

issues material to our decision in the instant proceeding. There-

fore, we will deny El Paso’s request for official notice. The

immaterial filings in Docket Nos. CP93-117-000 and

CP93-119-000 will not become part of the record in this

proceeding."

Several parties request an evidentiary hearing or that we

initiate discovery procedures. We note such measures are

required only when the written submissions do not afford an

adequate basis for resolving disputes about material facts.!* We

affirm our finding, as discussed at length in the August 1, 1991

order, that all material issues of fact in dispute are capable of

being resolved on the basis of the existing record. Therefore,

requests for an evidentiary hearing and for discovery are

denied.

We affirm our prior finding that PITCO’s and SoCalGas’

concerns regarding PGT’s initial rates and cost allocation, and

whether PGT will be able to later impose additional costs on

existing customers, are appropriately addressed in a future

section 4 or section 5 rate proceeding. Accordingly, we deny the

parties’ request to institute a crediting mechanism in relation to

the Expansion Project’s initial rates.

10 See 18 C.ER. § 385.508(d) (1992).

11 See 18 CER. § 385.509(a) (1992).

12 Louisiana Ass’n of Independent Producers and Royalty Owners v.

FERC, 958 F.2d 1101,1113-15 (D.C. Cir. 1992); Air Lines Pilots Ass’n v.

Dept. of Transportation, 791 F.2d 172, 179 (D.C. Cir. 1986).

27

Request for Confidential Information

In requests for rehearing of the August 1, 1991 order,

Altamont and Union Pacific contend that PGT has not provided

adequate market data to support its application. The parties

request access to certain market and supply information filed by

PGT under the provisions of section 388.112 of the Commis-

sion’s regulations.'3 El Paso, in motions filed July 24, 1990, and

June 24, 1991, sought access to the same information.

The Commission has received and reviewed PGT’s market

and supply information on two separate occasions. Our initial

review of PGT’s market data found adequate evidence of mar-

ket need. However, our consideration of PGT ’s market data

following PGT’s second open season found that PGT relied, in

part, on interruptible sales by marketers as evidence of market

need. In response, we stated that if PGT’s anticipated volumes

do not materialize, “PGT is not guaranteed cost recovery and

would not necessarily be allowed to allocate the cost of the

facilities to other customers unless it could show that the facili-

ties were in fact being used for the benefit of these

customers,”’!4

Public disclosure of this information could cause competi-

tive harm to PGT and the Expansion shippers by revealing

terms of agreements under negotiation between the shippers

and their markets or suppliers. We affirm our previous denial of

the rehearing requests and motions that similarly sought disclo-

sure of the market and supply data submitted by PGT under the

provisions of section 388.112. We conclude, as we did in the

August 1, 1991 order, in response to an identical rehearing

request, that “we see no need to divulge PGT’s customer data

to competitors in order to resolve the issues presented here.”

13 18 CER. § 388.112 (1992).

14 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,681.

At-Risk Conditions

At the time of the August 1, 1991, and October 24, 1991

orders, the Commission contemplated the issuance of a con-

struction rule in Docket No. RM90-1-000 to consider, inter alia,

aspects of risk allocation, capacity allocation, and rates. There-

fore, the Commission elected to toll or defer certain issues in

anticipation of the final construction rule.’ We find issues

previously tolled or deferred in our earlier orders may be

resolved without reliance upon that rule. In response to a

request by Edison, we clarify that the at-risk conditions and the

approved rate of return will apply immediately to the Expan-

sion Project’s initial rates.

Traditional Section 7(c) Certificate v. Optional Certificate

Altamont and Kern River assert the Commission acted

arbitrarily in authorizing the Expansion Project, since PGT

could not satisfy each of the Kansas Pipe Line’ criteria applica-

ble in a traditional NGA section 7(c) application. Petitioners

contend that their optionally certificated projects and PGT’s

traditionally certificated project are competitors seeking to

serve the same California market and complain that by applying

differing standards of certification to the similarly situated

projects, the Commission has discriminated in favor of PGT.

Altamont and Kern River request that the Commission impose

upon PGT’s Expansion Project the same rate and risk require-

ments which were imposed upon their optionally certificated

projects.’ Kern River alternatively requests it be offered the

15 The construction rule has since issued but has yet to take effect. The

Commission stayed the effective date until 30 days after publication in the

Federal Register of an order on rehearing. 57 FERC 9 61,195 (1991).

Order No. 555, Revisions to Regulations Governing Authorizations for

Construction of Natural Gas Pipeline Facilities, FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions 7 30,928 (1991).

16 Kansas Pipe Line & Gas Company, et al., 2 FPC 29 (1939).

17 Kern River Gas Transmission Company, 56 FERC 1 61,194 (1991),

clarified, 57 FERC # 61,069 (1991); Altamont Gas Transmission Company,

(footnote continues)

29

Opportunity to operate under rates and terms similar to those

granted to PGT. Altamont alternatively requests that the Com-

mission dismiss PGT’s application for failure to Satisfy the

requirements for a traditional NGA section 7(c) certificate.

Commission Response

The optional certificate procedure was adopted to provide

pipelines with the ability to offer new service and construct new

facilities on a timely basis by easing the barrier to entry posed

by the traditional NGA section 7(c) certification process.!* In

return for assuming the full economic risk of a project, the

applicant for an optional certificate enjoys a rebuttable pre-

sumption that its proposal satisfies NGA section 7(e) and is

required by public convenience and necessity. Optional certifi-

cate applications need not await the outcome of the Commis-

sion’s measured evaluation of the Kansas Pipe Line standards

(footnote continued)

Regulations, Regulations Preambles 1982-1985 4 30,665, at pp. 31,569-570

(1985), vacated and remanded, Associated Gas Distributors v. FERC, 824

F.2d 981 (D.C. Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006 (1988), readopted on

an interim basis, Order No. 500, 52 Fed. Reg. 30334 (Aug. 14, 1987),

FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Preambles 1986-1990 30,761

(1987), remanded, American Gas Association v. FERC, 888 F.2d 136 (D.C.

Cir. 1989), readopted, Order No. 500-H, 54 Fed. Reg. 52344 (Dec. 21,

1989), FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regulations Preambles 1986-1990

1 30,867 (1989), reh’g granted in part and denied in part, Order No. 500-I,

55 Fed. Reg. 6605 (Feb. 26, 1990), FERC Statutes and Regulations, Regula-

tions Preambles 1986-1990 1 30,880 (1990), affd in part and remanded in

part, American Gas Association v. FERC, 912 F.2d 1496 (D.C. Cir. 1990),

cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 957 (1991), stayed in part on remand, Order No.

500-J, 56 Fed. Reg. 6962 (February 21, 1991) [FERC Statutes and Regula-

tions 1 30,915]. See Part 157, subpart E, 18 CER. § §157.100-157.106

30

and of competing projects; instead, an optional certificate appli-

cant benefits from an expedited procedure that “enables pipe-

lines to make an occasional endrun around the costs and delays

of ordinary certification.”!9 An optional certificate application,

for example, will not be held up for resolution of the issue of

duplicative facilities since the authorization does not provide

for an exclusive certificate.

Ordinary certificate applicants are expected to submit the

documentation specified in section 157.14 of the Commission’s

regulations (the codification of the Kansas Pipe Line criteria) in

order to demonstrate a proposed project will be required by the

public convenience and necessity. However, since the 1939

Kansas Pipe Line decision, the gas industry has evolved. Con-

sumers increasingly have multiple, competitive sources from

which to purchase gas, rather than a monopolistic single source.

In addition, as acknowledged and addressed in Order No. 636,

the market to be served has increasingly been determined by

nonpipeline shippers transporting gas for end-users rather than

by pipelines offering bundled services.” Considering these

changed circumstances, rigid adherence to the historical supply

and market analysis may no longer serve the public interest

because the imposition of such requirements could impede the

19 American Gas Distributors v. FERC, 824 F.2d 981, 1033 (D.C. Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 1006 (1988).

20 Pipeline Service Obligations and Revisions to Regulations Governing

Self-Implementing Transportation; and Regulation of Natural Gas Pipelines

After Partial Wellhead Decontrol, 57 Fed. Reg. 13267 (April 16, 1992),

FERC Statutes and Regulations 4 30,939, at pp. 30,396-397 (April 8, 1992);

order on. reh’g, Order No. 636-A, 57 Fed. Reg. 36128 (August 12, 1992),

FERC Statutes and Regulations 1 30,950 (August 3, 1992); order on reh’g

Order No. 636-B, 57 Fed. Reg 57911 (December 8, 1992), 61 FERC

{ 61,272 (November 27, 1992). The Final Rule requires significant altera-

tions in the structure of interstate natural gas pipeline services and

provides a schedule for implementing that restructuring. The rule applies

to all pipelines that provide open-access transportation service. Nothing

in this order should be construed as in any way diminishing the obliga-

tions of PGT to comply fully with the requirements of Order Nos. 636,

636-A, and 636-B.

EEO

eee ee

31

availability of new sources of competitively priced and environ-

mentally preferable energy.

In response, we have, on a case-by-case basis, granted

traditional section 7(c) certificate authorization where the gas

supply or market showing is not as strong as once required. To

assure the public interest is protected in such cases, we have,

pursuant to our section 7(e) authority, granted certificates sub-

ject to conditions placing the pipeline at risk for a shortfall in

cost recovery due to a supply or market failure.2 Because under

such a condition the certificate applicant voluntarily shoulders

the full financial risk, there is no additional need to protect

ratepayers by requiring the same extensive showing that a pro-

posed project is necessary and feasible.

In this case, the Commission determined PGT’s gas supply

and market data were insufficient to meet the Kansas Pipe Line

standards (see discussion below). To assure that the public

interest would not be adversely affected, the Commission insu-

lated the ratepayer by placing PGT at risk for the recovery of

those costs associated with an inadequate supply or market.

Although the results of PGT’s first open season adequately

demonstrated market need, we found the results of PGT’s

second open season relied in part on what appeared to be new

shippers’ spot sales to justify market need. We stated that even

though contracts are signed, there is always the possibility that

interruptible and spot sales may not materialize. As a result, we

found the results of the second open season insufficient to

support a finding of market need. Therefore, PGT will remain

at risk for the recovery of the costs of these facilities. The

21 See, ¢.g, Transwestern Pipeline Company, 54 FERC { 61,031, at

Pp. 61,093 (1991), order on reh’g, 56 FERC { 61,196 (1991) (authorizing the

construction of facilities in the absence of executed firm contracts with

shippers, but placing the pipeline at risk for costs associated with the new

facilities in the event the new capacity is not subscribed under firm

contracts at the time the pipeline files to include the costs in their rates).

22 56 FERC { 61,192, at p. 61,681.

32

allocation of the costs and risk of these facilities will be consid-

ered when PGT files a rate case under NGA section 4. In view

of the above, we will deny Altamont’s request that we dismiss

PGT’s application for failure to satisfy the requirements for a

traditional NGA section 7(c) certificate.

The claim that the Commission’s issuance of an optional

certificate along with an economically mutually exclusive tradi-

tional certificate violates fundamental fairness and the spirit of

Ashbacker Radio Corporation v. FCC (Ashbacker)* was rejected,

because “[o]bviously applicants under the [optional expedited

certificate] and traditional § 7 procedures are not similarly

situated.” We find the similar effort to equate the terms and

conditions of optional certificates with a traditional certificate

to be inappropriate. Pipelines elect to apply for the type of

authorization best suited to a particular project. Under certain

circumstances (e.g., where the evidence showing satisfaction of

the Kansas Pipe Line criteria is marginal), a pipeline may even

choose to submit simultaneously applications for optional and

traditional certificates for the same project.>

Since our consideration of optional and traditional appli-

cations proceeds on different tracks, subject to separate criteria

and conditions, the authorization of PGT’s Expansion Project in

no way precluded Altamont and Kern River from receiving a

full opportunity for the consideration of their optional certifi-

cate applications on the merits. The proper forum for Altamont

or Kern River to pursue modification of their optional certifi-

cates or to seek to vacate their optional certificates in favor of a

traditional certificate would be in a pending rehearing of the

23 326 U.S. 327, 90 L.Ed. 108 (1945) (holding that before an agency

grants a license, it must grant a full comparative hearing to each applicant

that has filed for a mutually exclusive permit or license); Midwestern Gas

Transmission Company v. FPC, 258 F.2d 660, 666 (D.C. Cir. 1958) (apply-

ing Ashbacker to applications under the NGA).

24 Public Utilities Commission of the State of California v. FERC, 900

F.2d 269, 278 (D.C. Cir. 1990).

25 We would not issue redundant dual certificate authority. See Mojave

Pipeline Company, et al., 55 FERC § 61,179, at p. 61,572 (1991).

33

order in which the optional certificate was issued, or in a new

proceeding. In view of the regulatory distinctions separating

optional from traditional certificates, we deny the requests to

collapse the differences between these types of certificates by

proscribing identical rate and risk requirements for each of the

projects.

Adequacy of Gas Supply

In the January 22, 1991 Preliminary Determination, we

found that while there appeared to be sufficient supplies of

Canadian gas, due to the incomplete supply arrangements of

PGT’s shippers, PGT would be placed at risk for any shortfall in

cost recovery due to inadequate National Energy Board (NEB)

export or Department of Energy, Office of Fossil Energy

(DOE/FE) import authorization. Repeating arguments previ-

ously presented, Altamont and Kern River contend that PGT

has not, under traditional certificate requirements, shown ade-

quate gas supplies to support its proposed Expansion Project.

Commission Response

As part of PGT’s section 7(c) application, we examined

evidence of the extent of the Canadian producers’ gas reserves

available to PGT’s Expansion shippers and concluded, based on

the best available estimates at that time, that the reserves were

adequate to provide natural gas for the Expansion Project’s

anticipated 30-year economic life.’ Considering the record evi-

dence indicating the existence of adequate and reliable Cana-

dian gas supplies, and considering that the petitioners have not

presented evidence to contradict the earlier showing of suffi-

cient supplies, we will not alter our initial determination.

For the reasons previously discussed, we are not per-

suaded that the Altamont and Kern River proposals to

impose identical risk conditions on the potentially competi-

tive pipeline projects are justified.

26 $4 FERC 1 61,035, at pp. 61,157-158.

7 Id.; 56 FERC 61,192, at pp. 61,701-702.

Adequacy of Markets

The January 22, 1991 Preliminary Determination found

that PGT had adequately demonstrated market need for the

Expansion Project under the traditional Kansas Pipe Line crite-

ria.22 However, the results of PGT’s second open season did not

support the same showing of market need since some of new

shippers, who had partially displaced the original utility and

LDC shippers intending to serve their own firm markets, are

marketers serving the interruptible spot market.” We found

that reliance on spot market sales is inappropriate to justify a

market for case-specific section 7(c) transportation authority. In

response, we determined that in the event the anticipated sales

volumes do not materialize:

PGT is not guaranteed cost recovery and would not

necessarily be allowed to allocate the cost of the facilities

to other customers unless it could show that the facilities

were in fact being used for the benefit of these customers.*”

In addition, we conditioned the certificate of public conve-

nience and necessity to assure that existing pipeline customers

are protected against subsidizing or insuring the Expansion

Project by placing PGT at risk for market shortfalls and pre-

scribing an initial incremental rate treatment for the Expansion

facilities.

Altamont asserts that the deficiencies in PGT’s market

data are not cured by the at-risk condition imposed in the

August 1, 1991 order. Altamont and Kern River request that on

rehearing the Commission either impose risk conditions on

PGT like those imposed on Altamont and Kern River or dis-

miss PGT’s application for failure to satisfy traditional certifi-

cate requirements.

28 54 FERC f 61,035, at p. 61,157.

29 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,681.

»® 56 FERC 4 61,192, at p. 61,681.

35

Union Pacific contends the condition putting PGT at risk

for cost recovery and allocation is insufficient assurance that

ratepayers will be protected from the costs of market failure.

Union Pacific asserts that the evidence presented in this pro-

ceeding shows the Expansion Project is not required to serve

the future needs of the California market. Union Pacific aggre-

gates the volumes potentially available upon the completion of

the proposed projects of Kern River and Mojave Pipeline Com-

pany,*' Transwestern Pipeline Company,*? and Altamont,”? then

compares this sum of nearly 3 bef per day to the lesser sum of

900 MMcf per day by 1995 and 1.6 to 2.1 bef per day by 2005,

which it states the CPUC predicts will be California’s needed

new capacity. Union Pacific states that PGT’s transportation

agreements may not be honored and therefore do not substanti-

ate market need.

Commission Response

PGT has demonstrated, and we have confirmed, that

extensive additional capacity will be required in the markets the

Expansion Project wili serve.“ The Commission determined

that approximately one-third of the expansion volumes will be

used to satisfy new market demand in California, with the rest

displacing current supplies on existing pipelines. This displace-

ment should serve to encourage supply diversity, enable inter-

ruptible shippers to firm-up service, and increase natural gas

competition throughout California. The condition putting PGT

at risk for cost recovery and allocation should ensure that

present and future customers do not make an inappropriate

contribution to the costs associated with the Expansion Project.

31 50 FERC 1 61,069 (1990) (Order Issuing Certificates).

32.54 FERC 1 61,031 (1991) (Preliminary Determination); 56 FERC

1 61,196 (Order Issuing Certificate) (1991).

3354 FERC 61,028 (1991) (Preliminary Determination); 56 FERC

7 61,199 (1991) (Order Issuing Certificates).

* 54 FERC 1 61,035, at p. 61,157; 56 FERC 1 61,192, at pp. 61,702-703.

36

By considering the several projects’ proposed capacities,

Union Pacific is, in effect, conducting an ad hoc Ashbacker-type

comparison that overlooks the regulatory demarcation between

optionally and traditionally certificated projects. Further, we

disagree with the methodology of evaluating market need

merely by totaling up the potential volumes of other projects.*

Union Pacific asserts that the various pipeline projects are

destined to serve an identical market. However, the PGT

Expansion will serve markets in the Pacific Northwest, an area

other projects are not expected to reach. Moreover, other

projects are designed to principally serve the enhanced oil

recovery (EOR) operations in central and southern California,

whereas PGT has stated it does not propose to serve the EOR

market.

We have previously determined that PGT’s proposed

Expansion Project is not similarly situated to other proposed

projects and, therefore, does not trigger an Ashbacker compara-

tive hearing. We have confined our evaluation of market need

to the projected market demand and to PGT’s transportation

agreements. Following PGT’s second open season we have, as

noted above, placed PGT at risk in the event its anticipated

sales volumes do not materialize. We affirm this condition is

adequate to protect the public interest. As previously noted, we

are not persuaded that the Altamont and Kern River proposals

to impose identical risk conditions on the potentially competi-

tive pipeline projects are justified.

Import and Export Authority

Notwithstanding our confidence in the existence of ade-

quate Canadian natural gas supplies, the August 1, 1991 order

expressed our concern that the majority of PGT’s expansion

35 We note that Altamont has announced its intention to delay the

scheduled in-service date for its pipeline by one year, until

November 1994.

37

Shippers lacked long-term export and import authority and

imposed the following at-risk condition:

PGT shall be required to bear the responsibility for

any shortfall in cost recovery if the Canada NEB fails to

grant export authority of sufficient duration and volumes

to allow for the recovery of the costs of the facilities

approved herein. In that event, the applicants are explicitly

prohibited from shifting any of the costs associated with

the facilities authorized herein onto any of their other

customers. This same provision shall apply to the import

authority ultimately granted by DOE/FE to the shippers if

that import authority proves to be of shorter duration Or a

lower volume than necessary for the recovery of costs

associated with the facilities and services authorized

herein.%

PGT requests that we remove this condition, arguing that

the Expansion shippers, not PGT, are responsible for obtaining

the necessary authorizations. PGT also requests we confirm that

PGT will not be at risk for the recovery for the reservation

charges under its contracts with its Expansion shippers.

Altamont asserts this at-risk condition imposes no risk at

all if gas supplies are not obtained or simply fail, and that even

if NEB export or DOE/FE import authorization is deficient,

PGT would continue to recover its fixed costs under contracts

with its Expansion shippers.

Commission Response

While the shippers bear the responsibility of obtaining

export and import authorizations, PGT remains responsible for

presenting evidence that its proposed project will be supplied

with sufficient volumes of transportable natural gas. As noted

above, the record evidence indicates that there are adequate

and available Canadian gas supplies. Recently, in Great Lakes

Gas Transmission Limited Partnership v. FERC (Great Lakes),

% 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,702.

38 -

the United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia

Circuit stated that once an applicant has made a satisfactory

showing concerning Canadian gas supplies then, absent a rea-

soned explanation, imposing an NEB at-risk condition on trans-

porters of Canadian gas is inappropriate since it is “over and

above the accessibility showing [the Commission] typically

requires of transporters of domestic gas.”*’ The court describes

this condition as effectively requiring a pipeline transporting

Canadian gas to remain at risk for the full cost recovery period

of the pipeline, and notes the depreciable life can extend

beyond the ten year contracts the Commission accepts as evi-

dence of a pipeline’s long-term utility. In accordance with Great

Lakes, we will remove the NEB export authorization at- risk

condition. In addition, we will also remove the at-risk condition

for DOE/FE import authorization. We can reasonably be

assured that DOE/FE will continue to grant the necessary

import authorizations, since the Energy Policy Act of 1992,

amends NGA section 3 to require that all applications for

authorization to import natural gas from “a nation with which

there is in effect a free trade agreement requiring national

treatment for trade in natural gas ... shall be deemed consistent

with the public interest, and ... shall be granted without modifi-

cation or delay.” Further, we note that DOE/FE has recently

accelerated consideration of requests for import authorization

in response to the Energy Policy Act.*

The Commission finds that each shipper voluntarily

accepted the financial risk of its failure to obtain adequate

37 Case No. 91-1394, slip op. at p. 13 (D.C. Cir., decided January 22,

1993). Typically, the Commission requires facilities transporting domsstic

gas to show the proposed capacity is subscribed under contract for ten

years. See Northwest Pipeline Corporation, 58 FERC 14 61,079, at

pp. 61-271-272 (1992) (citing cases), on reh’g, 59 FERC % 61,289 (1992).

38 Pub. L. No. 102-486, § 201, 106 Stat. 2776 (1992). See National Fuel

Gas Company, 62 FERC # 61,041 (1993).

39 See, e.g., DOE/FE Order No. 90-04-NG (Rochester Gas and Electric

Company) and Order No. 89-33-NG (Niagara Mohawk Power

Corporation).

39

export or import authorization. Absent a showing of bad faith,

it would be inappropriate to set aside agreements reflecting the

parties’ informed allocation of risk.4° Therefore, we clarify that

to the extent PGT’s applicable tariffs and transportation service

agreements shift the financial responsibility for obtaining export

or import authorization to the Expansion shippers, PGT may

recover the specified reservation charges during the term of

each of the shippers’ contracts.*1 We differ with Altamont’s

interpretation of this at-risk condition since, in the event the

supply of gas is prematurely depleted, PGT will continue to

bear the financial burden of sustaining service until such time as

abandonment is authorized pursuant to NGA section 7(b).

Downstream Capacity

The August 1, 1991 order stated that “PGT and its ship-

pers should be solely at risk for adequate downstream capac-

ity.”*? Edison and San Diego Gas & Electric assert that this is

unreasonable in that it requires an individual shipper to assume

the risk that other shippers will fail to arrange for adequate

downstream capacity. Edison and San Diego Gas & Electric

request the Commission eliminate the words “and its shippers.”

IES states that, in the event PG&E fails to construct its

companion expansion facilities, PGT’s Expansion shippers will

experience cutbacks and a bottleneck at the Malin, Oregon

delivery point. IES requests that under such circumstances,

PGT be placed at risk for the possible underutilization of its

Expansion Project, or alternatively, be required to certify under

oath that sufficient take-away Capacity exists to support its

Expansion.

“0 See Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company v. FERC, 824 F.2d 78, 82 (D.C.

Cir. 1987).

*! See, e.g, Northwest Pipeline Corporation, 59 FERC 61,289, at pp.

62,058-059 (1992); Iroquois Gas Transmission System, L.P, et al, 57 FERC

1 61,089, at pp. 61,322-323 (1991); Iroquois Gas Transmission System, L.P,

et al, 57 FERC { 61,350, at pp. 62,146-147 (1991), order on reh’g, 59

FERC 1 61,094 (1992).

42 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,727.

Commission Response

While we do not require a pipeline to show that all its

contract shippers have adequate gas supplies committed under

contract, we do require a pipeline to show that gas supplies are

generally available and accessible to it and its shippers.” In

order to demonstrate that gas will flow through a proposed

facility, we have required both firm, long-term contracts and a

showing that upstream or downstream barriers to the flow of

gas do not exist. Where long- term NEB authority is uncertain,

we have imposed an at-risk condition (see above). Where the

existence of downstream capacity is uncertain, we have required

the upstream pipeline to assume the risk of underutilization in

order to ensure that present and future customers do not make

inappropriate contribution to the costs associated with the

unused capacity.“

We clarify that each shipper is responsible only for its own

failure to secure adequate downstream capacity for its con-

tracted capacity on the PGT expansion. An individual shipper

will not be at risk for the failure of another shipper to arrange

for adequate downstream capacity where the actions of the

other shipper are beyond the control of the individual shipper.

Rates

Edison requests clarification that the actual costs of the

Expansion Project will be subject to scrutiny in PGT’s next

section 4 rate case and further requests the Commission not

preclude future refunds or adjustments if the estimated costs

prove higher than the actual costs. We clarify that actual costs

will be included in our considerations in a future rate case. We

note that we have accepted updated estimates of the PGT’s

43 See, e.g., Northwest Pipeline Corporation, 58 FERC {i 61,079, at pp.

61,271-272 (1992), order on reh’g, 59 FERC 4 61,289 (1992).

44 See, e.g., Northwest Pipeline Corporation, 56 FERC { 61,300, at pp.

62,267-268 (1991), supplementing, 56 FERC 1 61,006 (1991), amended, 58

FERC ]}nb61,079 (1992), order on reh’g, 59 FERC 4 61,289 (1992).

41

projected project costs and clarify that any subsequent modifi-

cations to PGT’s initial rates will apply prospectively.

Rate of Return on Equity

PGT previously proposed a rate design based on a 14.00

percent rate of return on equity and a 100 percent reservation

charge. The January 22, 1991 Preliminary Determination

approved a rate of return of 12.75 percent and an enhanced

fixed variable (EFV) rate design. The August 1, 1991 order

replaced the EFV rate design with the 100 percent reservation

charge originally negotiated between PGT and the Expansion

shippers for Rate Schedule T-3 transportation. Correspond-

ingly, PGT’s rate of return on equity was reduced from 12.75

percent to 12.50 percent in accordance with the Commission’s

determination that a 25-basis-point reduction in the rate of

return appropriately reflects the reduction in risk in shifting

from the modified fixed variable (MFV) to a straight fixed

variable (SFV) rate design.‘

PGT asserts that the Commission: (1) failed to reconsider

the 14.00 percent rate of return it had proposed in its 1989

amended application, (2) improperly derived the 12.75 percent

rate of return recommended in the January 22, 1991 Prelimi-

nary Determination by comparing PGT’s proposed pipeline

project with existing pipelines not exposed to the same risks,

(3) “rather summarily” reduced the 12.75 percent rate of return

on equity to 12.50 percent upon altering the rate design meth-

odology from EFV to a 100 percent reservation charge in its

August 1, 1991 order, and (4) established a 10.13 percent rate of

return in its October 24, 1991 order that is both too low and

improperly derived. PGT characterized the Commission’s

action in approving a 10.13 percent rate of return as an

improper “attempt to dictate or exercise veto control over

intrastate rates and transportation policies.”4

4S See, e.g, Texas Eastern Transmission Corporation, et al, 55 FERC

1 61,477 (1991), order on reconsideration, 58 FERC 9 61,254 (1992).

“© PGT Petition of November 25, 1991, at p. 5.

42

In the October 24, 1991 order, PGT’s rate of return was

reduced from 12.50 to 10.13 percent, the lower end of the zone

of reasonableness previously determined by the Commission for

return on common equity. This rate was intended to provide an

incentive for PGT to work toward the elimination of unduly

discriminatory conditions and was to remain in effect until PGT

demonstrated that neither its rates or transportation policies, or

those of PG&E, would result in unduly discriminatory restraint

on shippers’ access to transportation service.

Altamont, Amoco, the California Producers, E] Paso, IES,

and Kern River assert that reducing the rate of return on equity

from 12.50 to 10.13 percent is inconsequential since 10.13 per-

cent remains within the zone of reasonableness. The parties

argue the lowered rate will not act as an adequate incentive to

motivate PGT to try to alter the existing discriminatory condi-

tions; therefore, there is no justification for lifting the construc-

tion ban imposed in Ordering Paragraph (M) of the August 1,

1991 order. PGT repeats its prior complaints that (1) the zone

of reasonableness is improperly derived, (2) a 10.13 rate of

return on equity is insufficient compensation for the risks

assumed and (3) the approved rate of return may not allow

PGT to maintain its credit and attract capital. (Rehearing

requests concerning the Commission’s authority to attach con-

ditions to the issuance of a certificate are discussed below in

Ordering Paragraph (M).)

Commission Response

14.00 to 12.50 percent

A 12.75 percent rate of return was established after com-

paring the Expansion Project proposal with eight similar certifi-

cated pipelines. The January 22, 1991 order determined that:

Based on a [discounted cashflow] study, the median

investor return for the pipelines in the proxy

group is 13.02 and the average 13.12 percent, on an

approximately 40-percent equity ratio and an MFV rate

design. The 12.75 percent rate of return recommended for

43

PGT reflects that the lower risk of the EFV rate design is

somewhat offset by a higher risk posed by its lower 30-per-

cent equity ratio.‘*’

A discounted cashflow analysis of the proxy group resulted in a

rate of return zone of reasonableness between 10.13 and 15.80

percent.

We recognize that no pipeline proxy group can exactly

match the characteristics of PGT’s proposed project; however,

the Commission attempted to minimize differences in selecting

a group composed of predominately transmission companies

with a profile resembling PGT. Further, as we noted at the time,

the derived rate “is in line with returns allowed by the Commis-

sion for existing pipelines and with estimated investor expected

returns for industrial companies.’“* Therefore, we affirm the

12.75 percent rate recommended in January 22, 1991 Prelimi-

nary Determination.

Since the August 1, 1991 order, in which we ordered the

25-basis-point reduction to reflect the changed rate design,

Order No. 636 has been issued. In that order, we required

pipelines to recover their transportation costs under the SFV

rate design methodology, unless permitted otherwise.“ In insti-

tuting this generic change, we did not require pipelines to make

a corresponding 25-basis-point reduction in their rate of return.

In view of this change in our regulatory policy, we find it would

be inequitable to hold PGT to a 25-basis-point reduction in its

rate of return as a result of previously adopting our subse-

quently mandated rate design.% Therefore, we will grant

rehearing of PGT’s request and establish 12.75 percent as the

Expansion Project’s approved rate of return on equity. How-

ever, we affirm the October 24, 1991 order’s finding that this

‘7 54 FERC 4 61,005, at pp. 61,151-152.

“8 Id. at pp. 61,151-152. (Footnotes omitted.)

“9 FERC Statutes and Regulations 4 30,939, at pp. 30,431-435.

50 See Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company, et al., 59 FERC 1 61,199 (1992)

(authorizing a 100 percent demand charge by Algonquin Gas Transmis-

sion Company without requiring a reduction in its rate of return).

as

12.75 rate is not just and reasonable in light of the unduly

discriminatory restraint on shippers’ access to transportation

service on the PGT/PG&E system. ~

Edison requests that we state whether the 25-basis-point

reduction in the rate of return on equity and PGT’s initial rates

will be affected by Order Nos. 555 and 636. We clarify that

PGT’s initial rates may be modified prospectively in the context

of a future rate proceeding or in PGT’s restructuring

proceeding.

12.50 to 10.13 percent

As previously discussed, we find a 10.13 percent rate of

return offers a reasonable assurance that the Expansion Projecc

will be financially feasible. Further, the approved rate design

provides PGT greater confidence that it will recover costs.

Consequently, we deny PGT’s request for an increased rate of

return on equity.

We correspondingly find that a 10.13 rate of return strikes

an appropriate balance between approving a financially feasible

project and the unduly discriminatory rate treatment imposed

upon PGT. There is no question that this rate of return deprives

PGT of substantial earnings as long as the lowered rate remains

in effect. For this reason, we affirm our previous finding that

this lower rate of return will serve as a strong incentive for all

interested parties—especially PGT and the CPUC—to work

toward the elimination of what this Commission finds to be

unduly discriminatory conditions affecting interstate commerce.

As a result, we reject petitioners’ assertion that, due to

steadily falling interest rates, the lower end of the zone of

reasonableness, based on the yield of Baa public utility bonds in

1990,5! is now unduly generous. We recognize the financial

markets have changed since the 1991 Preliminary Determina-

tion; however, it is impossible to repetitively revisit our earlier

calculations in an ongoing effort to account for continually

51 54 FERC 4 61,035, at p. 61,151.

45

changing conditions. By way of compensation, all parties are

equally exposed to the risk of fluctuations in market. An NGA

section 4 or 5 proceeding is the proper forum in which to seek

redress in response to changed market circumstances. More-

over, we find that this rate of return strikes a reasonable

balance: it allows a project the Commission has found to be in

the public convenience and necessity to proceed while seeking

to redress the unduly discriminatory rate issues discussed ear-

lier. Therefore, we will not reconsider the previously estab-

lished zone of reasonableness in this section 7 proceeding.

100 Percent Reservation Charge

PGT’s amended application, filed October 3, 1989, pro-

posed a Rate Schedule T-3 consisting of six mileage-based, one-

part monthly reservation charges designed to recover the total

incremental fixed costs allocated to firm transportation. The

January 22, 1991 Preliminary Determination approved an incre-

mental rate but rejected the 100 percent reservation charge.

Instead, in order to achieve consistency between PGT’s initial

rates for its incremental facilities and the EFV rate design

currently effective for PGT’s existing facilities, we directed PGT

to use the same EFV rate design for its Expansion Project.5? We

reconsidered this decision in the August 1, 1991 order, and

replaced the EFV rates with the milage-based, 100 percent

reservation charge rates originally negotiated between PGT and

its Expansion shippers. The rates were adjusted to reflect our

approval of a 12.50 rate of return on equity and an updated

estimate of the cost of the Expansion Project.

The August 1, 1991 order referred to the approved Rate

Schedule T-3 as being based on a “100 percent reservation

charge” and also as being based on a “straight fixed variable”

rate design. Several parties claimed these references to the rate

design are inconsistent or ambiguous. The Producer Associa-

tiems state that they assume the Commission intended a 100

82 $4 FERC 4 61,035, at p. 61,149.

53 56 FERC { 61,192, at pp. 61,705-61,707.

46

percent reservation charge; Union Pacific states that it assumes

the Commission intended a SFV rate. Altamont requests the

Commission clarify that the August 1, 1991 order approved an

SFV rate design and, as a result, requests the Commission

establish an appropriate throughput level for the purpose of

calculating the SFV component usage charge. PGT interprets

approval of a 100 percent demand charge as requiring the

rejection of all requests to set a throughput level.

Edison asserts that it is inequitable for the Commission to

find PGT’s existing Expansion shippers agreed to rates designed

using a 100 percent reservation charge. Edison states that

Edison and the cities of Burbank, Glendale, and Pasadena,

California (the Cities) objected to PGT’s inclusion of alterna-

tive tariff sheets, reflecting a 14.00 percent rate of return and a

100 percent demand charge, in PGT’s prior application and in

its request for rehearing of the January 22, 1991 Preliminary

Determination.

Commission Response

Rate Schedule T-3 specifies that shippers pay a single,

fixed monthly reservation charge per Mcf for firm transporta-

tion on PGT’s Expansion Project. This is described in the

tariff as a 100 percent reservation charge; there is no usage

charge. In other words, on a monthly basis, a shipper will be

billed the same whether it transports all of its reserved capacity

or none.*> We clarify that references in our prior orders to Rate

Schedule T-3 as based on an SFV rate or as a 100 percent

demand charge, are intended to designate the above-described

100 percent reservation charge.

54 PGT will provide interruptible transportation on an open-access

basis using its currently effective system-wide interruptible transportation

rate. The Expansion Project will provide transportation services only, not

sales.

55 The only charges in addition to the 100 percent reservation charge

are for compressor fuel and line losses. Rate Schedule T-3, section 5.6.

47

The August i, 1991 order noted that the change from the

EF'V rate design approved by the January 22, 1991 order ren-

dered PGT’s objection to the 95 percent throughput level

moot.** However, the August 1, 1991 order also deferred a

request by Kern River that the Commission clarify whether the

95 percent throughput condition established along with the

EFV rate would be a permanent certificate condition.5’ Since

the approved 100 percent reservation charge does not require a

throughput condition for the purpose of calculating a usage

charge (because there is no additional usage charge), requests

that we further consider a throughput level are dismissed as

moot.

The Cities’ objection to PGT’s filing of tariff sheets reflect-

ing a 100 percent reservation charge was addressed in the

August 1, 1991 order. We noted that our acceptance of the 100

percent reservation charge on rehearing rendered the Cities’

argument moot.* The Cities did not request rehearing of the

August 1, 1991 order. Edison does not object to the adoption of

the 100 percent reservation charge rate design. The Cities and

Edison have executed 30-year transportation service agree-

ments based on a 100 percent reservation charge rate design. In

view of the above, we do not consider it inequitable to have

found that the Expansion shippers voluntarily agreed to a 100

percent demand charge and to approve PGT’s proposed rate

design based, in part, on that finding.

Cost Allocation

Kern River states, without further elaboration, that the

Commission has allowed PGT to derive rates without any allo-

cation to the Expansion of the costs of existing facilities that will

be used by the new shippers and that PGT has underallocated

Operation and maintenance costs to the Expansion Project.

6 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,707.

57 56 FERC 4 61,192, at p. 61,703.

$8 56 FERC 1 61,192, at p. 61,723.

48

PITCO and SoCalGas raise similar issues. It would be prema-

ture to reply to these allegations at this time. As noted in the

Preliminary Determination, in reply to the same complaints by

PITCO, “These issues relate to how the project may affect rates

that are not before the Commission in this proceeding. They

are more appropriately raised in PGT’s next rate case.”*? We

repeat that questions concerning the propriety of cost alloca-

tions for existing facilities and the extent to which each of

PGT’s various customers benefit from the existing and Expan-

sion facilities will be addressed in detail in PGT’s next NGA

section 4 or section 5 rate proceeding.

Rate Tilt

The January 22, 1991 order directed PGT to use an EFV

rate design, rather than PGT’s proposed 100 percent reserva-

tion charge. Rehearing of that decision was sought on the

grounds that the EFV rate would allegedly create a “rate tilt”

favoring Canadian over domestic gas by virtue of an artificial

(ie., not market based) regulatory advantage. We fully

addressed this issue in the August 1, 1991 order and rejected

any remedial rate revision.

The Producer Associations and Union Pacific complain

the change in rate design from EFV rates to a 100 percent

reservation charge will amplify the alleged rate tilt. The rehear-

ing requests restate or incorporate the arguments previously

presented. Petitioners contend that the rate design approved in

the August 1, 1991 order is inequitable as it will place pipelines

transporting domestic gas, sold on the basis of an MFV rate, at

a disadvantage in competing for the California market against

PGT, transporting Canadian gas sold on an SFV basis. The

parties propose the Commission, within its wide latitude to

evaluate all factors bearing on the public interest, take notice of

the competitive disadvantage induced by PGT’s rate methodol-

ogy and compensate by adjusting the transportation rates on

PGT’s Expansion Project.

$9 54 FERC 4 61,035, at p. 61,145.

49

Opinion Nos. 256 and 256-A® sought to assure that

United States pipeline rates would treat Canadian gas costs no

differently than domestic gas costs. The parties argue that, to

this end, the Commission may, under its “extremely broad”

NGA section 7 conditioning authority,® reclassify and reallo-

cate pipeline costs between demand and commodity charges in

setting rates for imported gas once it enters the United States

to compensate for the disparity between the Canadian SFV and

domestic MFV rate designs,® without intruding on the terms of

the contracts between the Canadian suppliers and the local

distribution companies (LDCs), and without interfering with

the import authorization of DOE/FE. The Producer Associa-

tions state that there is no basis for assuming PGT’s Expansion

Project transportation rates were freely negotiated.

Commission Response

In Opinion No. 256 [37 FERC 61,215], the Commission

adjusted a domestic interstate pipeline’s rates in order to offset

a Canadian purchase price that passed through Canadian rates

to United States customers by incorporation into a domestic

sales contract in order to ensure that the costs included in

demand charges were comparable in import and export

arrangements. The Expansion Project involves the certification

of pipeline facilities which will be utilized solely for the trans-

portation of gas within the United States and, in that context,

the transportation of gas owned by third parties. Unlike the

pipeline in Opinion No. 256, PGT is not a Party to the gas sales

contracts. PGT is merely charging shippers a cost-of-service

transportation fee; here there is no purchase price pass-through

® Natural Gas Pipeline Company of America, 37 FERC 4 61,215 (1986)

(Opinion No. 256), reh’g granted in part and denied in part, 39 FERC

1 61,218 (1987) (Opinion No. 256-A), aff'd sub nom., TransCanada Pipe-

Lines Lid, et al. v. FERC, 878 F.2d 401 (D.C. Cir. 1989) (TransCanada).

*! Citing Transcontinental Gas Pipe Line Corporation v FERC, 589 F.2d

186, 190 (Sth Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 445 U.S. 915 (1980). See also Atlantic

Refining Company v. Public Service Commission, U.S. 378, 391 (1959).

6 TransCanada, 878 F.2d 401, 410.

50

since PGT is not purchasing Canadian gas for resale. We find

no evidence that the contracts at issue were not negotiated at

arm’s-length and entered into in good faith. We affirm that

PGT and PG&E, although affiliates, are independent entities,

therefore, we reject the Producer Associations’ proposal to

apply Opinion No. 256 to expansion volumes transported by

PGT on behalf of PG&E.

The Commission has no direct jurisdiction over the pur-

chase arrangements in Canada between United States LDCs

and Canadian producers applicable to gas transported over the

PGT expansion pipeline® and has hesitated to adjust rates in

order to avoid jurisdictional conflict with the Canadian and

state regulatory authorities and DOE/FE® and to adhere to

obligations under the Canada—U.S. Free Trade Agreement

(FTA).®

The Commission faced an analogous situation in Jroquois

Gas Transmission System, L.P, et al., (Opinion No. 357)® and

found Order No. 256 inapplicable. We stated that our policy is

“to encourage proposals which increase the supply options of

gas buyers and enhance competition,” not to “protect existing

suppliers from competition.” We do not attempt to adjust for all

63 56 FERC 4 61,192, at p. 61,708; TransCanada, 878 F.2d 401, 407.

64 DOE/FE considers competitiveness, need, and security of supply in

determining whether a proposed import is consistent with the public

interest. See New Policy Guidelines and Delegation Orders from Secre-

tary of Energy to Economic Regulatory Administration and FERC Relat-

ing to the Regulation of Imported Natural Gas, 49 Fed. Reg. 6684,

6687-88 (February 22, 1984). See also TransCanada, 878 F.2d 401, at p.

407.

65 The FTA’s “national treatment” obligation prohibits the Commission

from treating Canadian gas supplies less favorably than domestic gas

supplies. Part 1, Chapter 1, Article 105, Part 2, Chapter 5, Article 501, 27

LL.M. 281, at pp. 294, 314 (1988) (incorporating the definition of

“national treatment” in Part II, Article III of the General Agreement on

Tariffs and Trade, 61 Stat. A5, A18-A19 (1947)).

6 Iroquois Gas Transmission System, L.P, et al., 53 FERC 9 61,194

(1990) (Opinion No. 357).

51

rate differentials between competing pipelines, since such dif-

ferentials may exist for a variety of reasons and are administra-

tively difficult to identify. The Commission’s policy is simply to

ensure that a new pipeline’s rate design does not give it an

“unfair advantage.”67 We have accepted varying rates between

Canadian and domestic transportation as we have accepted

varying rates for transportation of exclusively domestic gas

where there are legitimate reasons for the rate differentials.®

“The market doesn’t always treat all market participants

equally. The Commission’s statutory responsibility is to insure

that its regulatory policies do not frustrate the market from

producing results most beneficial to consumers,” We declined

to alter Iroquois’ rates, concluding to do so would be inconsis-

tent with obligation under the Canada—United States FTA,

administratively impractical, and would result in a regulatory

morass. Our decision was recently upheld on appeal.” The issue

of international inconsistencies in rate design, and the need for

Commission action to adjust for as costs passed through on an

as-billed basis, are not relevant to PGT’s proposed project.

Therefore, we affirm our prior decision not to alter the Expan-

sion Project rates.

We note the implementation of Order No. 636 should

serve to harmonize the ratemaking methodologies between

United States and Canadian Pipelines and among domestic

interstate pipelines and, in part, restructuring will supersede the

rationale upon which petitioners base their request. Order No.

636 specifies that unless the Commission permits otherwise,

pipelines are to recover their transportation costs under the

SFV method.” To now attempt, while in midst of a transition

97 53 FERC 61,194, at pp. 61,701-702,

“ Tennessee Gas Pipeline Company, 51 FERC 4 61,113, at p. 61,284

(1990) (NIPPS II).

© 53 FERC 1 61,194, at p. 61,702, quoting, 51 FERC 4 61,113, at

p. 61,284.

7 Louisiana Ass'n of Independent Producers and Royalty Owners v.

FERC, 958 F.2d 1101, 1123 (D.C. Cir. 1992).

"| FERC Statutes and Regulations 4 30,939, at pp. 30,434-435,

52

from MFV to SFY, to readjust PGT’s transportation rates in

order to account for the alleged discriminatory differential with

the MFV-designed rate on competing domestic pipelines, would

be to take futile aim at a moving target and potentially frustrate

realization of the Commission restructuring goals. Additionally,

we note the proposed North American Free Trade Agreement,

Article 606(2), requires each country to ensure that its energy

regulatory bodies “avoid disruption of contractual relationships

to the maximum extent practicable.” In view of the above, we

conclude it would be inappropriate to extend our regulatory

authority to the Expansion shippers’ purchase arrangements.

Tariff Provisions of Rate Schedule T-3

Section 8, Curtailments and Interruptions

The August 1, 1992 order directed PGT to revise its pro-

posed section 8 of Rate Schedule T-3 in order to avoid the

possibility of a new service jeopardizing the capacity rights of

existing shippers without their participation and concurrence.

Initially, section 8 stated that in the event of curtailments “PGT

shall use the remaining available firm capacity on its entire

combined system, to the extent reasonable within the opera-

tional limitations of that system.” This language was replaced to

allow the Expansion shippers, in the event of curtailment, to use

excess capacity on the existing system “so long as the use of

such excess capacity ... does not disrupt service to the existing

shippers.”

PGT requests we reinstate the language of its initially

proposed section 8 of its tariff, arguing that existing customers

will benefit from the Expansion facilities and it would be

impractical to differentiate between existing and expansion

volumes in a curtailment situation. Edison and San Diego

explain that the revised language does not distinguish between

firm and interruptible shippers and request the Commission

clarify the references to expansion and existing shippers.

72 56 FERC # 61,192, at pp. 61,717-718.

Commission Response

Firm transportation service enjoys a priority over inter-

ruptible transportation service. This distinction would be dis-

turbed if existing interruptible shippers were to enjoy a priority

over firm expansion shippers. Therefore, we will require PGT to

revise the relevant portion of section 8 of Rate Schedule T-3 to

read as follows:

If excess capacity is available at that time on the

existing system, that excess capacity may also be used to

provide transportation service to the firm expansion ship-

pers, as long as the use of such excess capacity for that

purpose does not disrupt service to the firm existing

shippers.

Section 5.3, Reservation Charge Credit—PG&E CT-1 Service

Formerly, section 5.3 of Rate Schedule T-3 provided that if

a shipper receives firm transportation service from PG&E

under PG&E’s Rate Schedule CT-1, then that shipper shall be

entitled to a reservation charge credit from PGT in certain

situations. In the August 1, 1992 order, we noted that this credit

was available only to shippers on PGT’s Expansion that

employed PG&E for further downstream transportation. In

order to preclude a potential tying arrangement and avoid

undue rate preferences, we directed PGT to either delete this

section or provide the same reservation charge credit to any

downstream transportation.

Edison, San Diego, and PGT urge retention of the PG&E

credit. They state that the motive in providing the credit was

not to favor PG&E, but was included as an incentive for PGT

and PG&E to efficiently coordinate the operations of the two

pipelines. PGT states that requiring it to make similar arrange-

ments with unaffiliated pipelines would require it to eliminate

this benefit. Edison and San Diego argue similar operational

efficiencies are not attainable between PGT and other unaffili-

ated downstream pipelines and, therefore, mandating a similar

credit would serve no purpose and “seems unfair.”

54

Commission Response

Even granting petitioners’ assertion that the intention

behind the credit is benign, the outcome nonetheless results in

unwarranted preferential treatment for those Expansion ship-

pers that agree to employ both PGT and PG&E for its transpor-

tation. We affirm the reasoning and the result of our August 1,

1992 order.

Section 9, Gas Quality

Section 9 of Rate Schedule T-3 provides that once a

shipper delivers gas to meet the requirements of the upstream

pipeline, PGT unconditionally agrees to redeliver an equivalent

quality of gas to PG&E at Malin, Oregon. The August 1, 1991

order required that PGT “must make the same gas quality

specification commitment to any upstream or downstream pipe-

line at any other delivery point.””? PGT states that requiring it

to make similar assurances to unaffiliated pipelines would

require it to eliminate this benefit. Edison and San Diego object

that making section 9 “universal” fails to recognize the special

circumstances facing certain shippers to southern California

that must comply with gas quality standards in excess of PGT’s

standar

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.