Appendix Vol I — Poly-Tech Industries, Inc. v. InstyBit, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S

"a FiLeéeD

o/ PG1153 san 17 997

ER a

In The

Supreme Court

of the United States

October Term, 1996

POLY-TECH INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Petitioner,

INSTY*BIT, INC.,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit

APPENDIX VOLUME I TO PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI

Edwin Edgar Voigt, II, Esquire

Douglas J. Christensen, Esquire

Paul Lloyd Sjoquist, Esquire

Counsel of Record

PALMATIER, SJOQUIST,

HELGET & VOIGT, P.A.

6600 France Avenue, S.

Suite 501

Minneapolis, MN 55435

(612) 922-6600

oe

APPELLATE SERVICE: CURRY & TAYLOR (800) 222-8738

Appendix Table of Contents Page

Appendix Volume I

Opinion of the Eighth Circuit Court

of Appeals in Case No. 95-2260

EE Acbbaabinden vi dkedbesconecens la

Memorandum Opinion and Order

of The United States District Court

for the District of Minnesota, Third

I oe i bncd sev mneeee 27a

Order Denying Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc of the Eighth

Circuit Court of Appeals in Case

Ss EE didi Gull Sas ds sh Ade Aua pn eave 47a

Affidavit of Robert J. De brey .......... 48a

Excerpt of Article from Woodshop

PUOUNE GING BI RINE 666 ve ve die tdwccccns 105a

Excerpt of Article from 1995 PF

Directory; "Update on Blackening

I is vc dbunhindnes ok ok0e 106a

Affidavit of Edward L. Quiring ....... 113a

Declaration of Edward L. Quiring ..... 138a

Volume II

9 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 5,398,946 to Quiring ..............

10 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,900,202 to James L.

WEEE tivieiininaiel ai

11 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 5,013,194 to James L.

WIDE attsnidiaciaice: re oe

12 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,692,073 to Martindell ...........

13 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 1,174,997 to Lackner ..............

14 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 2,255,333 to Scheiwer .............

15 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 3,180,600 to Eee

16 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,765,657 to Cruse ................

17 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 3,761,117 to Shendure .........._.

18 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 3,268,246 to Obeissart .............

19 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,752,165 to Wanner ..............

20 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 5,062,749 to Sheets ................

21 Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 1,449,136 to Yates .................

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

30

31

32

33

iii

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 1,174,997 to Lackner .........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,355,466 to Michael Quiring

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,580,933 to Wilkins ..........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 5,071,295 to Greig ...........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 2,661,642 to Marcucci ........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 3,794,438 to Knutsson ........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 2,863,340 to Ingram ..........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 4,076,443 to Halpern .........

Excerpts of United States Patent

No. 5,265,988 to Schmigalla ......

Excerpt of Photographs of Hose

Couplers and Chucks attached to

Affidavit of Edwin E. Voight II

(Dated: February 16, 1995) .......

Excerpt of Poly-Tech 1992 Product

Catalog attached to Affidavit of

Edwin E. Voight II (Dated: March

acs ced sae wkadeessedencn

Exhibits Attached to Affidavit of

Robert J. De brey

See = BP GR EE nw ccc ssescvennes

‘Ii ii

iv

Pe ON is be cote suet 205a

RY © I ois cocks k sc counsel, 206a

NE OE seks oid evans cancucdcds 207a

en re ee... ses 208a

ge OF gi pC 209a

WE Me OP ON oe cave cn scuavncacens 210a

WE FN I oink is oo cdcbinn cc ndas 21la

ION SE OE ions accu ncccuccvnas. 212a

EE © EF UR UE nw vies ss hover inewocecac. 213a

PE BF OO a ncikvsind ec ncvdvccucncda 214a

ket 8 LR en ea m ee 215a

| ee re 216a

WOU OE I oe ee 217a

SOE © i se vais unis. aces 218a

ets, SHE cs PPT Oe ee 219a

la

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

No. 95-2260

Insty*Bit, Inc.,

Appellant,

Appeal from the United

States District Court for

v. the District of Minnesota

Poly-Tech Industries, Inc.,

Appellee.

Submitted: December 13, 1995

Filed: September 10, 1996

Before McMILLIAN, JOHN R. GIBSON and BEAM,

Circuit Judges.

McMILLIAN, Circuit Judge.

2a

Insty*Bit, Inc. (Insty*Bit) appeals from a final

order entered in the United States District Court for

the District of Minnesota granting summary judgment

in favor of Poly-Tech Industries, Inc. (Poly-Tech) on

Insty*Bit's claim of trade dress infringement in

violation of § 43(a) of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. Secs.

1125. (1) Insty*Bit, Inc. y. Poly-Tech Indus.. Inc., No.

3-94-1427 (D. Minn. Apr. 26, 1995) (Memorandum

and Order). For reversal, Insty*Bit argues the district

court erred in holding that Insty*Bit had failed to

create a genuine issue of material fact with respect to

its trade dress infringement claim under 15 U.S.C. §

1125.' For the reasons discussed below, we reverse the

judgment of the district court and remand the case to

the district court for further proceedings consistent

with this opinion.

I. Background

Insty*Bit is a Minnesota corporation located in

Minneapolis, Minnesota. It designs, assembles, and

' Insty*Bit also raised the following state law claims

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(a): (1) violation of Minn.

Stat. Secs. 325D.44 et Seq. (the Minnesota Deceptive

Trade Practices Act); (2) common law fraud; (3)

negligent misrepresentation; (4) breach of fiduciary

duty; and (5) unjust enrichment. After granting

Summary judgment in favor of Poly-Tech on the

Lanham Act claim, the district court declined to

exercise supplemental jurisdiction over these state law

claims and dismissed them without prejudice. See slip

op. at 15-16.

3a

sells quick-change drili chucks’ and related accessories,

including drill bits, countersinks, and drill guides.

Poly-Tech, also a Minnesota corporation located

in Minneapolis, operates primarily as a "job shop" for

the manufacture of component parts for other entities.

Between 1988 and August 1994, Poly-Tech

manufactured component parts for Insty*Bit's

products to Insty*Bit's specifications. Insty*Bit would

then assemble these components with other parts to

produce the quick-change drill chuck and related

accessories.

In late 1989, Insty*Bit granted Poly-Tech

permission to sell Insty*Bit products, along with the

products of other manufacturers, through

woodworking trade shows and magazine

advertisements. Although Insty*Bit contends that it

gave Poly-Tech an exclusive limited sales territory in

three eastern states and specified the trade shows at

which Poly-Tech could sell Insty*Bit's products,

Poly-Tech maintains that Insty*Bit placed no

restrictions on its sales territory or methods. It is

undisputed, however, that Poly-Tech sold Insty*Bit

products in various advertisements and woodworking

shows until August 1994. At the same time, Insty*Bit

also engaged in "private labeling" with several national

distributors of woodworking products. Specifically, it

allowed four distributors to sell Insty*Bit's products in

connection with another company's brand name.

According to Insty*Bit, it has eight national

_— — a

A quick-change drill chuck allows the user to

change bits and drivers in a portable drill without a

chuck key.

2

4a

distributors of its products. In addition to the four

distributors which sell Insty*Bit's products under

another brand name, two distributors sell unmarked

products, and two others sell them under Insty*Bit's

label.

In 1993, Poly-Tech developed its own

quick-change drill chuck. Poly-Tech filed a patent

application for this quick-change chuck with the

United States Patent Office on December 23, 1993, and

a patent (No. 5,398,946) was Subsequently issued on

March 21, 1995, II Poly-Tech App. at 309. In August

1994, Poly-Tech informed Insty*Bit that it was adding

its own brand of quick-release drills and accessories,

under the name "Snappy," to its product line. Shortly

thereafter, Insty*Bit ceased placing orders for

Insty*Bit component parts and instructed Poly-Tech

not to sell Insty*Bit products in the future.

On October 14, 1994, Insty*Bit instituted the

present suit against Poly-Tech in the United States

District Court for the District of Minnesota, alleging

trade dress infringement under § 43(a) of the Lanham

Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1125, violation of Minn. Stat. §

325D.44 et seq. (the Minnesota Deceptive Trade

Practices Act); common law fraud; negligent

misrepresentation, breach of fiduciary duty, and

unjust enrichment. Insty*Bit sought damages,

preliminary and perraanent injunctive relief, and

attorney's fees. Poly-Tech then filed a counterclaim

for sanctions pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 11, Minn. R.

Civ. P. 11, and Minn. Stat. §§ 549.21. Upon motion

by Poly-Tech, the district court granted summary

judgment in favor of Poly-Tech on Insty*Bit's Lanham

5a

Act claim and dismissed Insty*Bit's state law claims

without prejudice pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §§ 1367(c)(3).

See slip op. at 2, 17.° Insty*Bit then filed this timely

appeal.

II. Discussion

A. Standard of Review

We review a grant of summary judgment de

novo. The question before the district court, and this

court on appeal, is whether the record, when viewed in

the light most favorabie to the non-moving party,

shows that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to summary

judgment as a matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c);

see, e.g., Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317,

322-23 (1986); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 249-50 (1986); Get Away Club, Inc. v.

Coleman, 969 F.2d 664, 666 (8th Cir. 1992); St. Paul

Fire & Marine Ins. Co. v. FDIC, 968 F.2d 695, 699

(8th Cir. 1992). Where the unresolved issues are

primarily legal rather than factual, summary judgment

is particularly appropriate. Crain v. Board of Police

Comm'rs, 920 F.2d 1402, 1405-06 (8th Cir. 1990).

B. Lanham Act Claim

The district court also denied on mootness grounds

Insty*Bit's motion for a preliminary injunction and its

motion to dismiss Poly-Tech's counterclaim. See slip

op. at 2, 17.

3

6a

Section 43(a)* of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. §§

1125(a)(1), creates a federal cause of action for trade

dress infringement. The trade dress of a product is the

"total image of a product, the overall impression

created, not the individual features." Aromatique, Inc.

v. Gold Seal, Inc., 28 F.3d 863, 868 (8th Cir. 1994)

(Aromatique); Woodsmith Publishing Co. v. Meredith

Corp., 904 F.2d 1244, 1247 (8th Cir. 1990)

* Section 43(a) of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C. §§

1125(a)(1), provides in pertinent part:

(1) Any person who, on or in connection with

any goods or services, or any container for

goods, uses in commerce any word, term, name,

symbol, or device, or any combination thereof,

or any false designation of origin, false or

misleading description of fact, or false or

misleading representation of fact, which --

(A) is likely to cause confusion, or

to cause mistake, or to deceive as to the

affiliation, connection, or association of

such person with another person, or as to

the origin, sponsorship, or approval or

his or her goods, services, or commercial

activities by another person, or

(B) in commercial advertising or

promotion, misrepresents the nature,

characteristics, qualities, or geographic

origin of his or her or another person's

goods, services, or commercial activities,

Shall be liable in a civil action by any

person who believes that he or she is or is

likely to be damaged by such act.

7a

(Woodsmith). A trade dress is entitled to protection

under §§ 43(a) of the Lanham Acct if: (1) it is inherently

distinctive or has acquired distinctiveness through

secondary meaning; (2) it is primarily nonfunctional;

and (3) its imitation would result in a likelihood of

confusion in consumers’ minds as to the source of the

product. See Two Pesos, Inc. v. Taco Cabana, Inc.,

505 U.S. 763, 769 (1992) (Two Pesos). With respect to

the third prong of this analysis, we established in

Co-Rect. Prods, Inc. __V- Marvy! Advertising

Photography, Inc., 780 F.2d 1324, 1330 (8th Cir. 1985)

(Co-Rect), that the following six factors are to be

considered in determining whether a likelihood of

confusion exists: (1) the strength of the owner's mark;

(2) the similarity between the owner's mark and the

alleged infringer's mark; (3) the degree to which the

products compete with each other; (4) the alleged

infringer's intent to "pass off" its goods as those of the

owner; (5) incidents of actual confusion; and (6) the

type of product, its costs, and conditions of purchase.”

Insty*Bit alleged before the district court that

S In Co-Rect we considered the likelihood of

confusion issue with respect to trademark, rather than

trade dress, infringement. In light of the Supreme

Court's holding in Two Pesos, 505 U.S. at 774-76, that

there is no textual basis for applying different analyses

to the protection of trademarks and trade dress under

section 43(a) of the Lanham Act, we conclude that the

six Co-Rect factors also govern claims of trade dress

infringement. Cf. Aromatique, 28 F.3d at 868 ("The

difference between trade dress and trademark is no

longer of importance in determining whether trade

dress is protected by federal law").

————————<<

8a

Poly-Tech had copied the trade dress of Insty*Bit's

products in manufacturing the Snappy line of

quick-change drill chuck, countersink and drill guide.°

The district court held that Insty*Bit had failed as a

° Specifically, Insty*Bit contended that Poly-Tech

had infringed upon the following trade dress of

Insty*Bit products:

Quick-change chuck - "the combination

of the color black; the shape of the

shank; the size and dimensions of the

sleeve; and the chamfered edge - raised

knurled band - recessed smooth band

raised knurled band appearance of the

chuck sleeve";

Drill guide - the combination of the color

black; the steel colored bit; the exposed

spring; the shape and style of the set

screw and opening; and the shape of the

opening for receiving the shank in the

collar;

Countersink - the combination of the

color black; the shape and style of the set

screw and opening; the use of two flutes;

the shape of the collar; the raised edge on

the countersinking portion; the overall

size and dimensions; and the shape of the

opening for receiving the shank in the

collar.

Slip op. at 8-9.

9a

matter of law to create a genuine issue of material fact

regarding the likelihood of consumer confusion as to

the source of the Snappy brand products. Slip op. at

10-15. The district court opined that "fajithough the

Insty*Bit products and the Snappy products compete

in the same market, independent application of the six

Co-Rect factors is unnecessary in this case." Id. at 10.

The district court then conducted a visual inspection of

the packaging of the Snappy and Insty*Bit products

and determined that the "packaging designs are so

graphically dissimilar that there is no reasonable

likelihood that consumers would confuse a Snappy

brand product with the Insty*Bit product." Id. at a.’

— dr — —————— ——

7 ‘The district court observed:

Poly-Tech has left no doubt as to the

source of the Snappy brand products. . .

The words "Snappy™" appear in large

letters prominently displayed on the front

of the Snappy packages for each of the

three products claimed to violate §§

1125. Indeed, the brand name

"Snappy" appears in bold letters nine

times on the Snappy quick-release chuck

package and in bold letters six times on

each of the Snappy countersink and drill

guide packages. "Snappy" is also

permanently embossed on the face of

each of the components themselves, and

the embossed imprint is visible through

clear plastic "bubble" packaging. Each

Snappy package also contains the name

"Poly-Tech Ind." along with its mailing

address . . . The front face of each of the

10a

In determining that there was no likelihood of

confusion regarding the source of the products at issue,

the district court declined to give weight to a survey

offered by Insty*Bit of approximately one hundred

potential quick-change drill customers. Id. at 13-15.°

Snappy packages is solid purple with

white lettering and yellow accent

highlighting. |

In contrast, the front . . .fand

back] face[s] of the Insty*Bit product

packages contai[n], in large, bold letters

the word "INSTY-BIT." . . . The front of

these packages is solid white, not purple.

. . Based on the "total presentation" of

the Snappy brand products to the

consumer, there is no _ reasonable

likelihood of confusion as to their source.

Slip op. at 11-12.

* The expert retained by Insty*Bit surveyed 102

consumers who had used a portable drill within the

past three months. Fifty-four percent of the consumers

were professional woodworkers, and forty- six percent

were amateurs. The survey expert showed each

participating consumer both unpackaged and packaged

quick-change drill products manufactured by Snappy,

Insty*Bit, and Vermont American (a competing

manufacturer). The consumer was allowed to examine

and hold the products but was not permitted to use

them or to determine ho¥ je» functioned. The expert

then asked the consumer .’ er any of the products

were "so similar or such a satisfactory match" that he

ee

lla

The survey expert had found that a statistically

significant number of the respondents interviewed

would purchase the Snappy brand products as a

satisfactory match to Insty*Bit's. See Report of Jeffrey

Stitt; Insty*Bit App. at 257. The district court,

however, held that the fact that a_ statistically

significant number of consumers would substitute the

Snappy brand products for Insty*Bit's was

"irrelevant" to the likelihood of confusion issue,

because "the issue here is not whether consumers

would substitute the defendant's product for the

plaintiff's nor is it whether the products are similar;

the issue is whether consumers would likely purchase

the defendant's product mistakenly thinking it was

manufactured by the plaintiff." Slip op. at 14-15.

Similarly, the district court also rejected as

non-probative the portion of the survey which tested

consumer confusion with respect to unpackaged

Snappy and _ Insty*Bit quick-change systems.

Consumer reactions to the unpackaged product bore

no relevance to the likelihood of confusion issue, the

district court reasoned, because "to determine whether

a substantial likelihood of confusion exists under §§

1125, the product must be considered in its totality as

it is presented to the average consumer -- which in this

case is to say in . . .[packaged form]." Id. at 14.

Based on its visual inspection of the packages, the

district court found that the conspicuous placement of

the "Snappy" letters on Poly-Tech's products made it

highly unlikely that the average consumers would buy

or she would buy one as a substitute for the other. See

Jeffrey Stitt Aff. II 44 15, 20, 24; Insty*Bit App. at

394-96.

12a

Snappy brand products mistakenly thinking that they

were manufactured by Insty*Bit. See id. at 14-15.

Therefore, finding no genuine issue of material fact

regarding the third prong of the §§ 1125 analysis, the

district court held that Poly-Tech was entitled to

summary judgment on Insty*Bit's Lanham Act claim.

Id. at 15.

For reversal, Insty*Bit argues that the district

court erred in granting summary judgment in favor of

Poly-Tech on its Lanham Act claim in three respects.

First, Insty*Bit maintains that the district court's

failure to apply the six Co-Rect factors constitutes

error as a matter of law. Noting our observation in

Squirtco v. The Seven-Up Co., 628 F.2d 1086, 1091

(8th Cir. 1980), that resolution of the likelihood of

confusion issue "does not hinge on a single factor but

requires a consideration of numerous factors to

determine whether under all the circumstances there is

a likelihood of confusion," Insty*Bit contends the

district court erred in relying exclusively on its own

inspection of the Snappy and Insty*Bit packages,

rather than applying the six Co-Rect factors for

determining the existence of a likelihood of confusion

under 15 U.S.C. §§ 1125.

Second, Insty*Bit argues that the district court's

exclusive reliance on the packaging of Insty*Bit and

Poly-Tech's quick-change drill products was also

misplaced because such packaging designs are relevant

only to the issue of point-of-sale confusion. Arguing

that the Lanham Act prohibits post-sale as well as

point-of-sale confusion, e.g., Computer Care v. Service

Sys. Enterprises, Inc., 982 F.2d 1063, 1070 (7th Cir.

13a

1992), Insty*Bit maintains that there is a genuine

factual issue concerning the likelihood of post-sale

confusion, because prospective purchasers are often

first exposed to its products in the hands of another

individual after the packaging has been discarded; such

purchasers, Insty*Bit argues,"typically go the store

looking for a product they have seen before and try to

look past' the packaging to match the product with the

one they are seeking." Brief for Appellant at 26-27.

According to Insty*Bit, the strong similarity in the

appearance of the unpackaged Insty*Bit and Pely-Tech

product creates a genuine issue of material fact as to

whether consumers would likely be confused as to the

source of the Snappy brand products to preclude entry

of summary judgment in favor of Poly-Tech.

Finally, Insty*Bit challenges the district court's

determination that the consumer survey had no

probative value concerning the likelihood of confusion.

Reiterating its argument that consumers are frequently

exposed to quick-change products in unpackaged form,

Insty*Bit contends that the survey expert's conclusion

-- that a statistically significant number of respondents

would buy the Snappy line of quick-change products as

a Satisfactory match to Insty*Bit's -- demonstrates a

genuine issue of material fact as to whether consumers

would likely be confused as to the origins of the

Snappy brand products.

Poly-Tech responds, first, that although the

district court did not recite each of the six Co-Rect

factors in its memorandum and order, it considered all

the factors in reaching its conclusion that "there is no

confusion to the source of the Snappy brand products,

. - .{and] [nJo evidence suggests that Snappy has

l4da

confused consumers into thinking its components were

made by Insty*Bit." Slip op. at 11-12. Second,

addressing Insty*Bit's argument that the district court

improperly placed- exclusive reliance on its own

inspection of the packaging of the respective products,

Poly-Tech cites Woodsmith, 904 F.2d at 1250, for the

proposition that a district court may visually review

documentary evidence in determining whether there is

a likelihood of confusion in a trade dress infringement

action. Similarly, Poly-Tech argues that its prominent

trade name labeling on both the Snappy packages and

actual products precludes a finding that there is a

genuine issue of material fact regarding the likelihood

of confusion.

Finally, Poiy-Tech contends that the district

court did not err in disregarding the results of the

consumer survey submitted by Insty*Bit. According to

Poly-Tech, the survey was flawed because, among

other reasons, (1) it did not adequately cCefine the

sample of respondents; (2) it exposed respondents to

the unpackaged products; and (3) it asked biased,

irrelevant questions. Brief for Appellee at 30. Thus,

Poly-Tech argues that the district court correctly found

that the survey had no probative value with respect to

the likelihood of consumer confusion. In sum,

Poly-Tech argues that the district court did not err in

entering summary judgment in its favor on Insty*Bit's

trade dress infringement claim. We disagree.

We hold that the district court erred as a matter

of law in failing to apply the six Co-Rect factors to

determine the likelihood of consumer confusion.

Contrary to Poly-Tech's argument, it is not clear from

the district court's memorandum and order that it

CIA Ae Cine Pie ODN phase ER AL FE

15a

analyzed all the Co-Rect factors in concluding that

there was no genuine issue of material fact regarding

the likelihood of confusion.

We further hold that the district court erred in

placing primary, if not exclusive, weight on its visual

examination of the packaging of the Snappy and

Insty*Bit products. Regarding this issue, Poly-Tech's

reliance on Woodsmith is misplaced. In Woodsmith,

we affirmed a district court's grant of summary

judgment in favor of a defendant magazine publisher

in a trade dress infringement action brought under

section 43(a) of the Lanham Act. See 904 F.2d at 1250.

The district court had found that no genuine issue of

material fact existed regarding the likelihood of

confusion. In upholding this determination, we

examined the photographs and original facsimiles of

the magazines and solicitation mailings published by

each party. See id. at 1249-50. We declared that

"[v]isual inspection is permissible as an aid to a district

court's determination of likelihood of confusion, but

should not constitute the sole basis for the conclusions

made."Id. at 1250. Thus, visual inspection may not

replace an application of the Co-Rect factors in

determining whether a likelihood of confusion exists.

Upon careful de novo review, we hold that

Insty*Bit has presented sufficient evidence of the

likelihood of confusion to withstand Poly-Tech's

motion for summary judgment. As noted above, the

following six factors must be considered in determining

whether a likelihood of confusion exists: (1) the

strength of the owner's mark; (2) the similarity

between the owner's trade dress and the alleged

infringer's trade dress; (3) the degree to which the

l6a

products compete with each other; (4) the alleged

infringer's intent to "pass off" its goods as those of the

trade dress owner; (5) incidents of actual confusion;

and (6) the type of product, its costs and conditions of

purchase. See Co-Rect, 780 F.2d at 1330. We consider

each factor in turn, noting that although no one factor

is determinative, each must be analyzed. See Duluth

News-Tribune v. Mesabi Publishing Co., 84 F.3d 1093,

1096 (8th Cir. 1994) (Duluth) ("[t]hese factors do not

operate in a mathematically precise formula; rather,

we use them at the summary judgment stage as a guide

to determine whether a reasonable jury could find a

likelihood of confusion").

First, Insty*Bit has demonstrated the strength

of its trade dress. Insty*Bit's quick-change drill

products have received favorable reviews from several

woodworking magazines and nationally televised

home-improvement programs. See Insty*Bit App. at

112, 115-120. In addition, Insty*Bit's consumer

survey showed that over thirty-eight percent of the

respondents were familiar with Insty*Bit. See id. at

388.

Second, Insty*Bit showed there are similarities

in trade dress between the Insty*Bit and Snappy

quick-change products. Poly-Tech contends that its

Snappy brand shank does not resemble the shank of

Insty*Bit's quick-change chuck, because the Snappy

chuck does not have the same prominent enlarged

collar portion as Insty*Bit's. In addition, although it

concedes that its Snappy line of quick-change products

are black (the same color as Insty*Bit's), Poly-Tech

alleges that the similarity is due to functionality

RMS ED CAAA AGA OP tO OA A nme

17a

because Snappy brand products are treated with black

oxide in order to prevent rusting, "as all the other

competitive quick-release chucks also are." Brief for

Appellee at 24. Insty*Bit, however, has presented

evidence that the quick-change products of competing

manufacturers have coatings other than black oxide

which also provide a rust-inhibiting benefit. See

Insty*Bit App. at 399-400. Moreover, Insty*Bit has

demonstrated sufficient similarity in the shape and

design of the Snappy and Insty*Bit quick-change drill

products -- such as the combination of a raised knurled

band, a recessed smooth band, and another raised

knurled band on the quick-change chucks -- to create a

genuine issue of material fact as to whether the second

Co-Rect factor has been satisfied.

As to the degree to which the products compete

with each other, we note that both parties agree that

their products are sold through similar distribution

means. See Brief for Appellant at 24; Brief for

Appellee at 25. The target purchasers are the same for

both sets of products, and the products are comparably

priced. See Insty*Bit App. at 65.1-66.1; 113. Thus,

the competition between the Insty*Bit and Snappy

products is not beyond genuine dispute.

The fourth Co-Rect factor concerns the alleged

infringer's intent to "pass off" its goods as those of the

plaintiff. Co-Rect, 780 F.2d at 1330. Evidence

submitted by Insty*Bit showed that when Poly-Tech

began marketing its Snappy line of quick-change

products, it solicited the same customers and

distributors to whom it had previously sold Insty*Bit's

products. See Insty*Bit App. at 87-90.

18a

We also observe that the inference of intent is

strengthened when the parties have had a prior

relationship, because "[s]uch a relationship provides

evidence of the alleged infringer's intent to trade on the

plaintiff's goodwill." Beer Nuts, Inc. v. Clover Club

Foods Co., 805 F.2d 920, 927 (10th Cir. 1986). In the

present case, Poly-Tech sold Insty*Bit's products

through woodworking trade shows and magazine

advertisements between 1989 and 1994. See Insty*Bit

App. at 158; I Poly-Tech App. at 107. This fact

creates a genuine issue of material fact regarding the

fourth Co-Rect factor, particularly when it is combined

with evidence in the record contradicting Poly-Tech's

suggestion that it could not have changed certain

features affecting the external appearance of its

quick-change products to differentiate them more

markedly from Insty*Bit's.

With respect to the fifth Co-Rect factor --

incidents of actual confusion -- we find that the

consumer survey presented by Insty*Bit is probative on

this issue. In Woodsmith, 904 F.2d at 1249, we stated

that surveys may provide useful evidence of the

likelihood of confusion, although they are not required

for such a determination. See id. Insty*Bit's survey

was designed, conducted, and interpreted by an

experienced market researcher. The expert's

conclusion that "a statistically significant number of

consumers would purchase Snappy as a satisfactory

match for Insty*Bit" raises a genuine issue of material

fact regarding the likelihood of confusion. Although

the district court found the survey flawed because the

expert did not ask consumers whether they would

likely purchase Snappy's products mistakenly thinking

Pil I AE LE mth a el IO

19a

they were manufactured by Insty*Bit, such a question

was not necessary to the methodological soundness of

the survey. To the contrary, it is well-settled that a

finding of trade dress infringement does not require

consumers to buy the alleged infringer's products

thinking that they were manufactured by the plaintiff;

rather, all that is necessary is that they purchase the

alleged infringer's products after associating the trade

dress of those products with the trade dress of a single,

albeit anonymous source. See, e.g., Tone Bros., Inc.

vy. Sysco Corp., 28 F.3d 1192, 1204 (Fed Cir. 1994)

(Tone Bros.) (plaintiff spice manufacturer in trade

dress infringement action had raised genuine issue of

material fact as to whether there was association in

mind of consumer between container's shape and

appearance and indication of the source for the spices

inside the container, thereby precluding summary

judgment in favor of defendant). In addition, we note

that most of Poly-Tech's arguments concerning the

flaws in the survey (e.g., the definition of the sample

and the form of questions asked) do not render the

issue of actual confusion beyond genuine dispute,

rather, they go to the weight the trier of fact should

place on the survey's results.

Furthermore, the portion of the survey exposing

consumers to the unpackaged Snappy and Insty*Bit

quick-change systems is probative on the likelihood of

confusion issue, because the Lanham Act protects

post-sale as well as point-of-sale confusion. See Payless

Shoe Source, Inc vy. Reebok Int'l Ltd., 998 F.2d 985,

989-90 (Fed. Cir. 1993) (Payless); Keds Corp. v. Renee

Int'l Trading Corp., 888 F.2d 215, 222 (Ist Cir. 1989);

Lois Sportswear, U.S.A., Inc. v. Levi Strauss & Co.,

799 F.2d 867, 872 (2d Cir. 1986) (Lois Sportswear).

20a

"Post-sale confusion" refers to the association

consumers might make between the allegedly infringing

item and the familiar product, thereby influencing

their purchasing decisions. Lois Sportswear, 799 F.2d

at 872-73. The Lanham Act's protection of post-sale

confusion stems from the 1962 amendment to §§ 32 of

the Act, 15 U.S.C. §§ 1114(1), which provides

remedies for the infringement of registered trademark.

Pub. L. No. 87-772, 76 Stat.769, 773 (1962). The 1962

amendment included confusion of nonpurchasers as

well as direct purchasers by eliminating language in §§

32 which had restricted the scope of trademark

infringement to confusion of "purchasers as to the

source of origin of such goods or services." 76 Stat. at

773. Thus, an action for trademark infringement may

be based on confusion of consumers other than direct

purchasers, including observers of an _ allegedly

infringing product in use by a direct purchaser. See

Payless, 998 F.2d at 989; Lois Sportswear, 799 F.2d at

872-73. Although §§ 32 of the Lanham Act protects

registered trademarks, rather than trade dress, the

Supreme Court's holding in Two Pesos, 505 U.S. at

774-76, that the same analyses apply to the protection

of trademarks and trade dress under §§ 43(a) of the

Act leads us to conclude that the likelihood of post-sale

confusion may be considered in trade _ dress

infringement actions. See Payless, 998 F.2d at 989-90

(holding that district court, in determining whether

accused shoes infringed footwear manufacturer's

trademarks and trade dress, had abused its discretion

in failing to consider adequately the extent of post-sale

confusion between the competing footwear). Post-sale

confusion is at issue in the present case because

Insty*Bit has demonstrated that consumers are often

21a

first exposed to its products in use (that is, outside of

the package) and then go to a distributor to find these

tools by attempting to match the products on the

shelves with the ones they are seeking. See Jeffrey Stitt

Aff. 417; Insty*Bit App. at 394-95. We therefore find

a genuine issue of material fact as to actual confusion.

The final Co-Rect factor for assessing the

likelihood of confusion is the type of product, its costs,

and conditions of purchase. Co-Rect, 780 F.2d at

1330. Although Poly-Tech does not address this factor

in its brief, Insty*Bit alleges that the quick-change drill

products are inexpensive and are not the type of

products over which consumers devote substantial time

in making purchasing decision. Such factors, if found

to be true by the trier of fact, would weigh in favor of

a conclusion that a likelihood of confusion exists.

In sum, our application of the Co-Rect factors

to the present case leads us to conclude that the

likelihood of consumer co.ifusion is not beyond genuine

dispute.

Poly-Tech also argues, however, that it is

entitled to summary judgment because Insty*Bit failed

to demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact with

respect to the other two elements of a trade dress

infringement claim under 15 U.S.C. §§ 1125.

Specifically, Poly-Tech contends that Insty*Bit's trade

dress is not entitled to protection under §§ 1125

because (1) it is not inherently distinctive and has not

acquired distinctiveness through secondary meaning

and (2) it is merely functional, rather than

non-functional.’ As discussed below, we find that a

22a

genuine issue of material fact exists as to each of these

elements.

In determining whether a trade dress or

trademark is sufficiently distinctive to be entitled to

protection under the Lanham Act, we have classified it

as (1) arbitrary or fanciful," (2) suggestive,'’ (3)

descriptive,’ or (4) generic.'’ Duluth, 84 F.3d at 1096;

Stuart Hall Co. v. Ampad Corp., 51 F.3d 780, 785 (8th

Cir. 1995)(Stuart Hall); Abercrombie & Fitch Co. vy.

° The district court did not address these issues in its

Memorandum and Order granting summary judgment

in favor of Poly-Tech.

'° The Second Circuit explained in Abercrombie that

the term "fanciful," as a classifying concept, is usually

applied to marks invented solely for their use as

trademarks or trade dress. See Abercrombie, 537 F.2d

at 11 n.12. When a common mark is applied in an

unfamiliar way as a trademark or trade dress, the use

is called "arbitrary." Id.

'' A suggestive mark is "one that requires some

measure of imagination to reach a_ conclusion

regarding the nature of the product." Duluth, 84 F.3d

at 1096.

A descriptive trademark or trade dress

"immediately conveys the nature or function of a

product." Id.

'’ A generic trademark or trade dress "refer[s] to the

genus of which the particular product is a species."

Two Pesos, 505 U.S. at 768.

UE as Wik ea Oe Geri ein

23a

Hunting World, Inc., 537 F.2d 4, 9-11 (2d Cir. 1976)

(Abercrombie). An arbitrary, fanciful, or suggestive

mark is deemed inherently distinctive, and therefore

entitled to protection, because its "intrinsic nature

serves to identify a particular source of a product."

Two Pesos, 505 U.S. at 768. By contrast, a descriptive

mark merits protection only if it has become distinctive

by acquiring a secondary meaning.’ Duluth, 84 F.3d

at 1096. Finally, a generic term is not protected by the

Lanham Act, because it is merely used by the general

public to identify a category of goods. Id. Thus, a

determination of inherent distinctiveness turns on

"whether or not the trade dress is of such a design

that a buyer will immediately rely on it to differentiate

the product from those of competing manufacturers."

Tone Bros., 28 F.3d at 1206.

Viewing the evidence in a light most favorable

to Insty*Bit, a genuine issue of material fact exists as

to both inherent distinctiveness and secondary

meaning. First, Insty*Bit has submitted the

declarations of a retailer, two sales representatives,

and a private label distributor that the design of

Insty*Bit's products was unique when introduced. See

Insty*Bit App. at 111, 241, 246, 248. Such evidence

creates a genuine issue of material fact concerning the

inherent distinctiveness of Insty*Bit's trade dress

because a reasonable trier of fact could find that the

'* A trademark or trade dress has acquired secondary

meaning if it has “by long and exclusive use and

advertising . . . become so associated in the public

mind with such goods . . . that it serves to identify

them and distinguish them from other goods." Stuart

Hall, 51 F.3d at 789.

24a

trade dress is arbitrary, fanciful, or suggestive.

Similarly, whether the trade dress has acquired

secondary meaning is not beyond genuine dispute, in

light of evidence that (1) Insty*Bit's products have a

six-year record of advertising and promotion in the

marketplace and (2) consumers associate the

appearance of Insty*Bit's products with a particular

manufacturer. Id. at 111-12, 156, 241, 246.

Finally, Poly-Tech contends that it is entitled to

summary judgment because the design features of

Insty*Bit's quick-change products are functional and

therefore not entitled to trade dress protection. We

have adopted the following test for functionality:

If the particular feature is an important

ingredient in the commercial success of

the product, the interests in _ free

competition permits [sic] its imitation in

the absence of a patent or copyright. On

the other hand, where the feature, or

more aptly, design, is a mere arbitrary

embellishment, a form of dress for the

goods primarily adopted for purposes of

identification and individuality, and

hence, unrelated to basic consumer

demand in connection with the product,

imitation may be forbidden where the

requisite showing of secondary meaning

is made. Under such circumstances,

since effective competition may be

undertaken without imitation, the law

grants protection.

m4 a .

aeeee wapitieadet ,

BBA Ara BE to i abla PANY ae

25a

Stuart Hall, 51 F.3d at 790 (quoting Aromatique, 28

F.3d at 873). Thus, trade dress is nonfunctional "if it is

an arbitrary embellishment primarily adopted for

purposes of identification and __individuality."

Aromatique, 28 F.3d at 873. In assessing

functionality, the appropriate inquiry is whether the

collection of design elements, taken as a whole, are

functional, not whether individual elements of the

trade dress could be categorized as such. See Hartford

House, Ltd. vy. Hallmark Cards, Inc., 846 F.2d 1268,

1272 (10th Cir.) (Hartford House), cert. denied, 488

U.S. 908 (1988); Fuddruckers, Inc. v. Doc's _B.R.

Others, Inc., 826 F.2d 837, 842 (9th Cir. 1987). In the

present case, we find a genuine issue of material fact

exists regarding the functionality issue. Although

Poly-Tech argues that the exterior design of Insty*Bit's

quick-change products -- including the color black and

the appearance of the sleeve and shank -- are primarily

functional because they remain necessary to the

commercial success of these products, Insty*Bit has

presented evidence that competing manufacturers have

adopted different design features for their

quick-change products. _See Insty*Bit App. at 23-24,

162-666; 244-45. Thus, a genuine issues of material

fact exists as to whether or not the design of Insty*Bit's

quick-change products is functional. Poly-Tech is not

entitled to summary judgment on this issue.

Ill. Conclusion

Based upon the foregoing, we hold that the

district court erred in granting summary judgment in

favor of Poly-Tech on the basis that Insty*Bit had

failed to demonstrate a genuine issue of material fact

26a

with respect to its trade dress infringement action.

Accordingly, the judgment of the district court is

reversed and the case is remanded for further

proceedings consistent with this opinion.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF

APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

Veeb gupueneidds

27a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

THIRD DIVISION

Insty*Bit, Inc.,

Plaintiff

Civil No. 3-94-1427

VS. MEMORANDUM

OPINION AND

ORDER

Poly-Tech Industries, Inc.,

Defendant.

Alan M. Anderson and Renee L. Jackson, Larkin,

Hoffman, Daly & Lindgren, Ltd., Minneapolis,

Minnesota, for Plaintiff

Paul L. Sjoquist, Edwin E. Voigt II and Douglas J.

Christensen, Palmatier, Sjoquist & Helget, P.A.,

Minneapolis, Minnesota, for Defendant.

Introduction

Plaintiff Insty*Bit, Inc. ("Insty*Bit")

commenced this action against Defendant Poly-Tech

Industries, Inc. ("Poly-Tech") alleging trade dress

infringement under the Lanham Act § 43(a), codified

at 15 U.S.C. § 1125; violation of the Minnesota

eee

28a

Deceptive Trade Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes

section 325D.44 4 et seq.; common law fraud; negligent

misrepresentation; breach of fiduciary duty; and

unjust enrichment. Insty*Bit's claims arise out of

Poly-Tech's attempts to manufacture and market

various power drill accessories. In its Complaint,

Insty*Bit seeks damages, preliminary and permanent

injunctive relief; and attorneys fees. Poly-Tech has

asserted a counterclaim for sanctions, purportedly

pursuant to Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure, Rule 11 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil

Procedure, and Minnesota Statutes section 549.21.

Currently before the Court are (1) Insty*Bit's Motion

to Dismiss Poly-Tech's Counterclaim (2) Poly-Tech's

Motion for Summary Judgment for Non-Trade Dress

infringement and (3) Insty*Bit's Motion for a

Preliminary Injunction. For the reasons set forth

below, the Court will grant Poly-Tech's Motion for

Summary Judgment for Non- Trade Dress

Infringement, deny Insty*Bit's Motion for a

Preliminary Injunction as moot dismiss Insty*Bit's

Complaint without prejudice pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §

1367(c)(3), and accordingly deny Insty*Bit's Motion to

Dismiss Poly-Tech's Counterclaim as moot.

Background

A. Parties

Insty*Bit is a Minnesota corporation with its

principal place of business in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Insty*Bit is engaged in the business of designing,

manufacturing, distributing, and marketing

"quick-change" products for use with power drills. The

29a

principal of Insty*Bit is James Wienhold ("Wienhold").

Between 1988 and August 1994, Wienhold conducted

business as Wienhold Associates and used the

registered name of "INSTY*BIT" to indicate its

product line. In August 1994, Wienhold incorporated

Insty*Bit and assigned the assets of Wienhold

Associates to it.

Poly-Tech is a Minnesota corporation with its

principal place of business in Minneapolis, Minnesota.

Poly-Tech is a "job shop" engaged in the manufacture

of component parts for other business entities.

Poly-Tech also currently manufactures and sells

quick-change drilling products for use with power tools

tm

under the brand name "Snappy.

B. Factual Background

Poly-Tech began manufacturing component

parts for Wienhold Associates during 1988. (Compl. {

9; Quiring Aff. { 6.) Among the items manufactured

were component parts for: (1) a quick-release chuck,

(2) a countersink, and (3) a drill guide. These three

products are used as accessories for power drills.

Poly-Tech was initially employed solely to manufacture

the component Insty*Bit parts, which were then

shipped back to Wienhold Associates for assembly and

distribution. (Quiring Aff. 4 6.)

In 1989, Poly-Tech began to purchase some of the

assembled products back from Wienhold Associates for

resale. (Id. { 7.) Poly-Tech subsequently began to

distribute and promote these Insty*Bit products.

Poly-Tech claims that it did not receive any direction,

30a

instructions, or conditions from Wienhold with respect

to its resale activity regarding the Insty*Bit products;

(Id. § 7); and that it was entitled to sell these products

to whomever, where ever, and through any method it

selected (Quiring's Third Aff { 3). Poly-Tech claims

that it accordingly promoted its tool line -- which

included the Insty*Bit products as well as its own

products and products purchased from various other

manufacturers -- at national trade shows and through

Poly-Tech sales representatives and distributors.

(Quiring Third Aff. § 4.) Poly-Tech further claims it

made a substantial investment in developing a

"national distribution chain" to market products

purchased from Wienhold Associates, (Quiring Aff. {

7.)

Poly-Tech alleges that, beginning in 1991,

Wienhold Associates representatives called Poly-Tech's

dealers and hardware stores and told them they were

required to purchase the Insty*Bit products directly

from Wienhold Associates representatives, who were

given exclusive distributorships within specified sales

territories. (Quiring Aff 4 8.) As a result, Poly-Tech

contends that between 1991 and 1993, Wienhold

Associates exclusive sales representatives "effective!

stole all of Poly-Tech's dealers and hardware stores

throughout the country," with the exception of Ohio,

New York and New Jersey. (Id).

insty*Bit paints a very different picture of its business

dealings with Poly-Tech. Insty*Bit claims that explicit

conditions were placed on Poly-Tech's authority to sell

and distribute the Insty*Bit quick-release chuck and its

accessories. Wienhold maintains that Poly-Tech was

Wt na nn RMSE At TR AM cs Sie che SCAM te po hm

3la

granted the right to sell the Insty*Bit quick-release

chuck system in a "limited" territory, consisting of

Ohio, New York and New Jersey. (Wienhold Aff. { 7;

Wienhold Second Aff 4 4.) Wienhold further claims

that he decided which trade shows were to be attended

by Poly-Tech and which were to be attended by other

Insty*Bit sales representatives or distributors.

(Wienhold Second Aff. { 4; Compl. 4 10.) He claims

that he was "surprised" to discover that Poly-Tech sold

Insty*Bit products "far beyond the manner and

locations for which it had been authorized." (Wienhold

Second Aff 4 8.)

Beginning in approximately 1990, Insty* Bit

apparently attempted to develop its own national

distribution chain for its products. (Wienhold Aff. {

13; Wienhold Second Aff { 5.) Insty*Bit claims that in

furtherance of this plan, its products were featured in

national catalogs, at trade shows, at in-store

demonstrations and in an expensive television

"infomercial." (Wienhold Aff, { 13.) As a result of this

advertising, Insty*Bit claims the unique features of its

products have become well-recognized in the

marketplace. (Compl. { 8.)

In addition to selling quick-release products

under its own name, Insty*Bit offers these products for

sale through "private labeling." (Wienhold Second Aff

4 7.) According to Insty*Bit, it has eight national

distributors of its products. (Wienhold Aff. { 10.) Four

of these distributors sell the products under their own

name or under no name, two sell unmarked products,

and two sell them under the "Insty*Bit®" label. (Id.)

According to Poly-Tech, approximately 60% of the

Insty*Bit quick-release chucks sold have been sold

32a

through private label offerings, and that only the

remaining 40% identified Insty*Bit as the source for

the quick-release chuck or accessories. (Kaul Aff. { 8.)

In 1993, Poly-Tech developed its own

quick-release chuck system. (Quiring Third Aff { 9.) A

patent application for this quick-change chuck system

was filed with the United States Patent Office on

December 29, 1993, and a patent (No. 5,398,946) was

subsequently issued on March 21, 1995. In the summer

of 1994, Poly-Tech informed Wienhold that it was

adding its own line of quick-release tools to Poly-Tech's

product line. (Id. { 10; Compl. ¢ 14.) Shortly

thereafter, Insty*Bit pulled its product line from

Poly-Tech and ceased placing further orders for

Insty*Bit component parts. (Quiring Third Aff. { 10.)

Poly-Tech subsequently began marketing its own

quick-release-chuck products under the brand name

"Snappy™." (Compl. {¢ 17.)

Insty*Bit argues that the Snappy quick-release

chuck, countersink, and drill guide are "knock-offs" of

the Insty*Bit quick-release chuck, countersink, and

drill guide. (Id.) Insty*Bit claims that Poly-Tech has

copied the unique, non-functional design characteristics

of Insty*Bits products such that there is a likelihood of

confusion among consumers in the market place, and

that this copying infringes upon Insty*Bits protectable

trade dress in violation of the Lanham Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 1125. dd.{{ 21, 22.) In response, Poly-Tech

maintains that it has identified and differentiated its

products from Insty*Bits and those of other

manufacturers and that it has "no interest" in deceiving

Week cal alba ip tN ON, Sian Ne eS:

2

‘

4

t

‘

y

¢

‘

:

;

:

:

;

3

5

:

;

i

}

af

5

33a

anyone as to the source of its products. (Quiring Third

Aff. § 15.)

This Court has original jurisdiction over

Insty*Bits § 1125 Lanham Act claim pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §§ 1331 and 1338 and has supplemental

jurisdiction over the remainder of Insty*Bit's claims

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

Discussion

L. Standard of Review

Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

governs motions for summary judgment. Under that

Rule:

[summary] judgment shall be rendered

forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers

to interrogatories, and admissions on file,

together with the affidavits, if any, show that

there is no genuine issue as to any materia! fact

and that the moving party is entitled to a

judgment as a matter of law.

Fed. R. Civ. P.56(c). Summary judgment is to be

granted only where the evidence is such that no

reasonable jury could return a verdict for the

non-moving party. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby

Inc., 477 U.S. 242,250, 106 S. Ct. 2505,2511(1986).

Initially, the movant bears the burden of bringing

forward sufficient evidence to establish that there are

no genuine issues of material fact and that the movant

is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Celotex.

34a

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322, 106 S. C.t 2548,

2552 (1986). In evaluating the movant's showing, the

evidence offered by the non- moving party is to be

believed and all justifiable inferences therefrom are to

be drawn in a light most favorable to that party.

Matsushita Elec. Indus. vy. Zenith Radio, 475 U.S. 574,

587, 106 S. Ct. 1348, 1357(1986); Kornblum vy. St.

Louis County, No.93-4111, slip op. at 4 (8th Cir.

Feb.15, 1995). where a moving party, with whatever it

provides the court, makes and supports a motion for

summary judgment in accordance with Rule 56, a

party opposing the motion may not rest upon the

allegations or denials of its pleadings; rather, the

nonmovant must " set forth specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial," Liberty Lobby, 477

U.S. at 256, 106 S. Ct. at 2514; Krenik v. County of

Le Sueur, 47 F.3d 953, 957 (8th Cir. 1995). However,

the nonmovant is not obligated to prove in its favor an

issue of material fact, Unigroup_v. O'Rourke Storage

& Transfer, 980 F.2d 1217, 1220 (8th Cir. 1992), and a

summary judgment motion should be denied unless the

court is convinced that there is no evidence to sustain

recovery in any circumstances, Kornblum, No.93-4111,

slip op. at 4.

Ordinarily, the court's task on a motion for

summary judgment is not to weigh facts or evaluate the

credibility of affidavits and other evidence. The

nonmovant cannot however, avoid summary judgment

in favor of the movant merely by pointing to some

alleged factual dispute between the parties. Instead,

any fact alleged to be in dispute must be "outcome

determinative under prevailing law," that is, it must be

material to an essential element of the specific theory

35a

of recovery at issue. See Get Away Club Inc. v.

Coleman. 969 F.2d 664, 666 (8th Cir. 1992).

Il. Analysis

Insty*Bit alleges the Poly-Tech "Snappy" brand

quick-release products infringe on its trade dress in

violation of 11 U.S.C. § 1125.' In support of this claim,

15 U.S.C. § 1125 provides, in pertinent part:

False designation of origin and false descriptions

forbidden

(a)(1) Any person who, on or in connection with

any goods or services, or any container for

goods, uses in commerce any word, term, name,

symbol, or device, or any combination thereof,

or any false designation or origin, false or

misleading description of fact, or false or

misleading representation of fact which--

(A) is likely to cause confusion or to

cause mistake, or to deceive as to the

affiliation, connection, or association of

such person with another person, or as to

the origin, sponsorship, or approval of

his or her goods, services, or commercial

activities by another person, or

(B) in commercial advertising or

promotion, misrepresents the nature,

characteristics, qualities, or geographic

origin of his or her or another person's

36a

Insty*Bit alleges its products contain the following

protectable trade dress:

Quick change chuck - "the combination of the

color black; the shape of the shank; the size and

dimensions of the sleeve; and the chamfered

edge - raised knurled band - recessed smooth

band raised knurled band appearance of the

chuck sleeve";

Drill guide - "the combination of the color

black; the steel colored bit; the exposed spring;

the shape and style of the set screw and

opening; and the shape of the opening for

receiving the shank in the collar";

Countersink - "the combination of the color

black; the shape and styie of the set screw and

opening; the use of two flutes; the shape of the

collar; the raised edge on the countersinking

portion; the overail size and dimensions; and the

shape of the opening for receiving the shank in

the collar."

(Wienhold Aff. ¢ 14.)

shall be liable in a civil action by any person

who believes that he or she is or is likely to be

damaged by such act.

37a

In order to establish a prima facie case of trade

dress infringement under § 1125, Insty* Bit must

demonstrate:

(1) its trade dress is inherently distinctive or has

acquired distinctiveness through secondary

meaning;

(2) its trade dress is primarily nonfunctional;

and

(3) imitation of its trade dress would result in

likelihood of confusion as to the source of the

products in consumers’ minds.

Two Pesos. Inc. vy. Taco Cabana. Inc., U.S.__ 112

S. Ct. 2753, 2758 (1992); Stuart Hall Co. v. Ampad

Corp., No.94-2618, slip op. at 5 (8th Cir. April 7,

1995). In applying these factors, a court must consider

the "total image" of the product as it is presented to

"the consuming public," including features such as

size, shape, color or color combinations, texture and

graphics. L.A. Gear. Inc. v. Thom McAnn Shoe Co.,

988 F.2d 1117, 1129 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied 114 S.

Ct. 291 (1993); see also Woodsmith Publishing Co. v.

Meredith Corp., 904 F.2d 1244, 1247 (8th Cir. 1990)

("[t]he trade dress of a product is the total image of a

product, the overall impression created, not the

individual features"). In the present case, the Court

concludes that Insty*Bit has failed, as a matter of law,

to present facts sufficient to satisfy the third prong of §

1125 analysis.

38a

Likelihood of Consumer Confusion

The "dispositive issue in a trade dress case is the

possibility of consumer confusion as to the source of

the product." First Brands Corp. v. Fred Meyer Inc.,

809 F.2d 1378, 1383 (9th Cir. 1987); See L.A. Gear.

Inc. v. Thom McAnn Shoe Co., 988 F.2d 1117, 1131

(Fed. Cir. 1993) ("[i]f likelihood of confusion is

avoided, copying of trade dress cannot be prevented

under [§ 1125]"). "The test is whether there is a

likelihood of confusion resulting from the total effect of

the defendant's product and package on the eye and

mind of the ordinary purchaser." First Brands, 809

F.2d at 1384 (emphasis added). The factors typically

considered in this analysis are (1) the strength of the

owner's mark; (2) the similarity between the owner's

mark and the alleged infringer's mark; (3) the degree

to which the products compete with each other; (4) the

alleged infringer's intent to "pass off" its goods as

those of the trademark owner; (5) incidents of actual

confusion; (6) the type of product, its costs, and

conditions of purchase. Co-Rect Prods. v. Marvy!

Advertising Photography Inc., 780 F.2d 1324, 1330

(8th Cir. 1985); see Conopco Inc. v. May Department

Stores Co., 46 F.3d 1556, 1565 (Fed. Cir. 1994), cert.

denied SCt 1995 WL 94103 (April 17, 1995)

(applying six Co-Rect factors to § 1125 claim).

Although the Insty*Bit products and the Snappy

products compete in the same market, independent

application of the six Co-Rect factors is unnecessary in

this case. The focus of the likelihood-of-confusion

analysis -- and thus the Co-Rect factors -- is whether,

"based on the entire product image" the consumer will

39a

be confused as to the source of the products. LA. Gear

988 F.2d at 1133. In this case, Poly-Tech has left no

doubt as to the source of the Snappy brand products.

The Snappy and Insty*Bit product packaging designs

are so graphically dissimilar that there is no reasonable

likelihood that consumers would confuse a Snappy

brand product with the Insty*Bit product. The words

"Snappy'™" appear in large letters prominently

displayed on the front of the Snappy packages for each

of the three products claimed to violate § 1125. Indeed,

the brand name "Snappy" appears in bold letters nine

times on the Snappy quick-release chuck package and

in bold letters six times on each of the Snappy

countersink and drill guide packages. "Snappy" is also

permanently embossed on the face of each of the

components themselves, and the embossed imprint is

visible through clear plastic "bubble" packaging. Each

Snappy package also contains the name "Poly-Tech

Ind." along with its mailing address and phone number

printed on the bottom. The front face of each of the

Snappy packages is solid purple with white lettering

and yellow accent highlighting.

In contrast, the front face of the Insty*Bit

product packages contains, in large, bold letters, the

word "INSTY-BIT®". The back face of the Insty*Bit

product packages also contains the word

"INSTY-BIT®" in bold. These products have the word

"INSTY-BIT" embossed on the components, which are

visible through clear plastic packaging. Each Insty*Bit

package also contains the name "©Wienhold

Associates" set off from text on the bottom of the

package. The front of these packages is solid white, not

purple.

40a

Insty*Bit has also provided its products to other

manufacturers for resale. In some of these cases,

Insty*Bit has not marked its product with the

"INSTY-BIT®" label. No evidence before the Court

suggests the packaging of these private labels is similar

to the packaging of the Snappy brand; to the contrary,

the private label packages submitted to the Court show

that the packaging of the Snappy brand is unique. (See

Def's Mot. for Summ. J., Ex. 1.) Moreover, while

consumers may become confused as to whether the

Insty*Bit private label components were made by

Insty*Bit or someone else, there is no confusion as to

the source of the Snappy brand products. Their source

is clearly, conspicuously, and repeatedly identified in

the Snappy trade dress.

- Based on the "total presentation" of the Snappy

brand products to the consumer, there is no reasonable

likelihood of confusion as to their source. No evidence

suggests that Snappy has confused consumers into

thinking its components were made by Insty*Bit.

Instead, its products are unmistakably identified as

"Snappy" brand. Summary judgment is appropriate in

this circumstance. See L.A. Gear, 988 F.2d at 1125,

1133-1134 (holding that district court "clearly erred" in

finding § 1125 trade dress violation, "despite the

substantial similarity of overall design" and despite the

defendant's intentional copying, because trademarks

were conspicuously labeled on the products); Conopco,

46 F.3d at 1570. (holding that district court committed

"clear error" in finding a likelihood of confusion under

§ 1125 because a "prominent placement" of defendant's

logo appeared on the front face of defendant's

products) (applying Eighth Circuit law); Litton Sys.

Inc. v. Whirlpool Corp., 728 F.2d 1423, 1446-47 &

4la

n.1. (Fed. Cir. 1984) (holding that Minnesota district

court committed "clear error" in finding likelihood of

confusion under § 1125 when defendant's name was

affixed to its product).

In the face of Poly-Tech's overwhelming

evidence that consumers would not likely be confused

as to the source of its products, Insty* Bit offers the

results of a survey of 102 potential quick-release

system customers. The "expert" conducting that survey

concluded that "at least eight out of ten respondents

perceive that Snappy's products are manufactured by

the same company as "Insty*Bit’."" (Stitt Aff., Ex. B

at IB-3193.) Ostensibly, this might be construed to

create an issue of material fact regarding whether

consumers might be confused about the source of the

Snappy brand products. Despite this appearance,

however, a careful review of this survey demonstrates

that it has no probative value with respect to the

likelihood of consumer confusion in this case. The data

; Litton explained that:

The district court failed to recognize that

the most common and effective means of

apprising intending purchasers of the

source of goods is a prominent disclosure

on the container, package, wrapper, or

label of the manufacturer's or trader's

name. . . and that when that is done,

there is no basis for a charge of unfair

competition.

Id. at 1446 (quotations omitted).

42a

supporting this conclusion was complied by showing

subjects unpackaged quick-change chucks, unpackaged

countersinks and unpackaged drill guides, and asking

them "In your opinion, which of the test products look

like they are manufactured by the same company as

the prototype [Insty*Bit product]?" (Id. at 113-3249,

No.11; 113-3251, No.32; IB-3252 No.42.) However, to

determine whether a substantial likelihood of confusion

exists under § 1125 the product must be considered in

its totality as it is presented to the average consumer --

which in this case is to say in a package containing the

identifying source "Snappy" in bold letters between

nine and six times and the words "Poly-Tech Ind."

printed on the bottom.

The Insty*Bit survey also tested the packaged

products, and concluded that a statistically significant

number of the respondents interviewed would purchase

the Snappy brand products as a satisfactory match to

Insty*Bit's.°(id. at IB-3197.) This is irrelevant to the

, The survey participants were asked the

following questions after having been shown

quick-change chuck, drill guides and countersinks in

their packages:

(1) I'd like you to rate the degree of similarity

between the following product and the prototype

[Insty*Bit product], based on overall product

appearance as packaged, using a ten point scale

where 1 is totally dissimilar and 10 is totally

similar.

(2) Let's suppose that someone from work or a

family member gave you this tool, the prototype

43a

Third prong of the § 1125 analysis. Marketing a

competitive substitute is not a violation § 1125. Indeed,

it is encouraged.‘ The issue here is not whether

[Insty*Bit product], and asked you to go to a

hardware store or other parts supplier to get

another one. Are there any here that you would

consider so similar or such a satisfactory match

that you would buy it?

(Stitt Aff. Ex. B at IB 3252-54.)

During argument, Insty*Bit asserted that

survey participants were shown the packaged products,

asked if they looked like they were manufactured by

the same company, and responded that the packaged

products appeared to be manufactured by the same

company. This may have been probative to the issue of

consumer confusion. However, participants were not

asked that question. (See__id. at IB-3249-54.)

. L.A. Gear determined that the defendant

intentionally copied the plaintiffs trade dress and that

the first and second prongs of the § 1125 analysis had

been satisfied. The court nevertheless reversed the trial

court's finding of trade dress infringement and

explained that "the public has the right to copy the

design of goods that are unprotected by patent or

copyright, absent consumer confusion or deception."

L.A. Gear, 988 F.2d at 1131 (emphasis added). The

Supreme Court has also emphasized this principle,

explaining that:

[T]he plaintiff has the right not to lose

44a

consumers would substitute a defendant's product for

the plaintiffs nor is it whether the products are similar;

the issue is whether consumers would likely purchase

the defendants product mistakenly thinking it was

manufactured by the plaintiff. See L.A. Gear 988 F.2d

at 1134. Insty*Bit has failed to create a genuine issue

of material fact with respect to its § 1125 Lanham Act

claim Poly-Tech is accordingly entitled to a summary

judgment finding of non-trade dress infringement.

Supplemental Jurisdiction

Insty*Bits § 1125 claim is the only federal claim

asserted in its Complaint. 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c) provides

that "the district court may decline to exercise

supplemental! jurisdiction over a claim...if...the district

court has dismissed all claims over which it has

original jurisdiction." The Supreme Court has

explained that "[Supplemental] jurisdiction is a

doctrine of discretion, not of plaintiff's right... [I]f the

his customers through false

representation that those are his wares

which in fact are not, but he may not

monopolize any design or pattern,

however trifling. The defendant, on the

other hand, may copy plaintiffs goods

slavishly down to the minutest detail: but

he may not represent himself as the

plaintiff in their sale.

Bonito Boats. Inc. vy. Thunder Craft Boats. Inc. 489

U.S. 141, 157, 109 S. Ct. 971, 981 (1989) (quoting

Crescent Tool Co. vy. Kilborn & Bishop Co.. 247 F.

299, 301 (2nd Cir. 1917)).

45a

federal claims are dismissed before trial... the normal

practice is to dismiss pendant claims without

prejudice." United Mine Workers v. Gibbs. 333 U.S.

715, 726, 36S. Ct. 1130, 1139 (1966); see also Stokes v.

Lokken, 644 F.2d 779, 735 (8th Cir. 1981) (“when

federal claims are dismissed before trial, the normal

practice is to dismiss pendent claims without prejudice,

thus leaving plaintiffs free to pursue their state-law

claims in state courts if they wish"). This case is not

scheduled for trial until April 1996. Accordingly, the

Court will dismiss the remainder of Insty*Bits

Complaint without prejudice.

Conclusion

Based on the foregoing, and upon all the files,

records and proceedings herein, IT IS ORDERED

that:

(1) Defendant's Motion for Summary Judgment

for Non-Trade Dress Infringement (Doc. No.35)

is GRANTED and Count I of Plaintiffs

Compiaint (Doc. No.1) is DISMISSED WITH

PREJUDICE;

(2) Plaintiffs Motion for Preliminary Injunction

(Doc. No.28) is DENIED AS MOOT; and

(3) Plaintiffs Motion to Dismiss Defendant's

Counterclaims (Doc. No.7) is DENIED

AS MOOT.

46a

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that the remainder of

this action is DISMISSED WITHOUT PREJUDICE

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367(c).

LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY

Dated: April 26, 1995

RICHARD H. KYLE

United States District Judge

os

47a

United States Court of Appeals

For the Eighth Circuit

No. 95-2260MNST

Insty*Bit, Inc.,

Appellant,

Order Denying Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion

v. for Rehearing En Banc

Poly-Tech Industries, Inc.,

Appellee.

The suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied.

The petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

October 21, 1996

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

48a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

THIRD DIVISION

Insty*Bit, Inc.,

Plaintiff

Civil No. 3-94-1427

vs. | Judge Richard H. Kyle

AFFIDAVIT OF ROBERT

J. DE BREY

Poly-Tech Industries, Inc.,

Defendant.

STATE OF MINNESOTA

SS

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

I, Robert J De brey, being duly sworn upon

oath, depose and state that:

- I am a mechanical engineer, a graduate

of the University of Notre Dame in mechanical

engineering, and hold a masters degree from the

Institute of Design at Illinois Institute of Technology. I

have received additional education in marketing and

psychology from Northwestern and _ Loyola

Universities.

a I am presently employed with De brey

Design, located at 6014 Blue Circle Drive,

49a

Minneapolis, Minnesota 55343, telephone

612-935-2292. Over the past 30 years I have worked in

a consulting capacity, concentrating in product design

and development, corporate identity, and marketiaiz

communications. I have conducted over 200 programs

for a wide range of clients, encompassing a

comprehensive approach to address all elements of a

clients needs including technical, ergonomic, human

factors, and aesthetic and economic designs for

manufacture and sale of products.

3 I established De brey Design in 1965 and

I have provided services in the capacities as a

consultant since that time. Prior to initiation of De

brey Design, I was employed with the General Electric

Co., Naval Research Laboratory, Jensen Design

Consultants. and IIT Research Institute.

4. . I have attached to this affidavit a

resume which more fully describes my qualifications

and professional experience.

3. In the past, I have provided expert

opinions in a variety of intellectual property lawsuits

related to patent infringement, trademark

infringement, and trade dress cases as evidenced by the

attached Summary of Case Experience.

6. I have consulted on and participated in

the following design projects for clients which are in

the general category: of the design and development of

tools.

Wood Plane A cast aluminum plane for

finishing. wood, utilizing a

Sanding Machine

Apple Peeler

Ball Point Pen

Automotive Ice

Scraper

Light Pen

50a

unique disposable blade

design.

Redesign of conveyorized,

production wood sanding

machine, including

ergonomics, technical, and

aesthetic.

Product concept,

development, and

production design for

consumer tool to peel,

slide, and core apples,

mainly for home

canning. Also, design of

the product package.

Several bali point pens

with innovative point

projection and point

protection concepts.

An ergonomically designed

tool for removing ice from

car windshields. Selected

for the design collection of

the Museum of Modern

Art, N.Y.

Engineering, ergonomic,

and aesthetic design

concepts for hand-held

‘light pen for use with

desktop computers.

5la

Corn cutter A hand-held device for

remolding the kernels of

corn from a cob for the

canning process.

Canning Tongs Ergonomic design of

specialized tongs for the

aesthetic placement of food

in canning jars.

Canning Tongs Ergonomic design of

specialized tongs for the

aesthetic placement of food

in canning jars.

Aircraft Helmet Ergonomic and aesthetic

design for pilot's helmet

for F-16 fighter aircraft,

utilizing advanced

electronic communications.

Saber Saw | Ergonomic and aesthetic

design concepts for

hand-held electric saber

saw.

7. I have prepared a report (Exhibit 6)

which sets forth my analysis and conclusions with

respect to the trade dress issues raised within this

proceeding. All matters stated in the report are true to

my knowledge and belief and as to those matters stated

on belief. I believe them to be true. It is my opinion

that no protectible trade dress is present in this case

with respect to Plaintiff's quick change chuck,

countersink, or drill guide.

52a

FURTHER YOUR AFFIANT SAYS NOTHING except

that all matters stated herein are true to your affiant's

knowledge and belief, and as to those matters stated on

belief, I believe them to be true.

ROBERT J. DE BREY

Dated __

Subscribed and sworn to before me this 16

day of February, 1995

53a

Resume

Robert J. De brey

612-935-2292

EMPLOYMENT

Mr. De brey has worked in a consulting capacity for

the past thirty years concentrating in product design

and development, corporate identity, and marketing

communications. He has conducted over two hundred

programs for a wide range of clients. A comprehensive

approach is utilized which addresses all elements of the

client's needs, i.e.; technical, human factors, aesthetic

and economic.

Prior to establishing De brey Design in 1965, he was

associated with the following companies: The General

Electric Company, Naval Research Laboratory;

Latham, Tyler,. and Jensen, Design Consultants and

IIT Research Institute

EDUCATION

Mr. De brey is a Mechanical Engineering graduate of

the University of Notre Dame, and holds a Masters

Degree from the Institute of Design at Illinois Institute

of Technology. Additional programs in marketing and

psychology were completed at Northwestern aad

Loyola Universities.

54a

PROFESSIONAL RECOGNITION

Thirty-five issued patents

Minnesota Design Award for product and graphic

design

Listed in Who's Who in Technology Today

Selected five times for the Annual Design Review

Wescon Design Award for product and graphic design

Art Directors Award for computer package design

Industrial Design Magazine, Cover

Museum of Modern Art, New York, Design Collection

Industrial Design Excellence Award, Product Design

IDEA Award for package design

IDEA Special Mention Award

38th Annual Design Review, Gold Award

AREAS OF EXPERTISE

Industrial Design

Ergonomic Design

Graphic Design

Model Making

Marketing

Materials and Manufacturing Processes

Mechanical Engineering

Scurcing Components and Services

F -aluation and Selection of Vendors

Contract Administration

Expert Witness In Product Liability Cases

Panel of Commercial Arbitrators, AAA

ADDITIONAL SKILL

Knowledge in a wide range of manufacturing

machines, materials, and processes

Proficient with mechanical devices, tools, and

assemblies

Photography and Video

Familiar with cultures of the following countries:

Canada, UK, Germany, France, Hungary, former

Yugoslavia, Spain, Portugal, Italy —

56a

TRIAL VISUALS

De brey Design

GRAPHIC EXHIBITS

Graphs and flowcharts

Visualization of Process

Diagrammatic portrayal of events

Structures, machines, components

Photographs, slide sequences, film

As the verbal testimony of your case is delivered, a

multitude of different images may appear in the minds

of the court and jury. The alternative is a persuasive

visual presentation, carefully designed to locus those

minds to a common understanding of circumstances.

Eliminate erroneous ideas; point out unseen

relationships and reduce the case to important decision

factors. A legal position will dominate when its merits

become obvious.

3-DIMINESIONAL MODELS

Detailed evidentiary exhibits

Precision product models, cutaways

Configureational mock-ups

Architectural scale models.

A picture may be worth 1000 words but "a model is

worth 1000 pictures". Modeling is a universal language

and thus, a highly effective medium through which to

communicate the overall concept, operating details,

special relationships, and appearance of a product or

process. Visualization for the court may concentrate on

he tah a

57a

hazardous conditions, design deficiencies, or the actual

results. "Before and after" conditions can be

sequentially analyzed and alternate design approaches

presented. A three dimensional statement focuses

attention, helps to clarify circumstances and bring

about a meeting of minds.

COST EFFECTIVENESS

Models and exhibits justify their place in the financial

plan of every complex case. A case can be strengthened

when everyone's thinking follows a common reference;

trial time is substantially reduced, or possibly

eliminated through pre-trial settlements. Larger

awards can sometimes be traced to the jury's and

court's increased perception, understanding, and

sensitivity resulting from the use of visuals designed to

meet communication objectives.

Appeal cases can also benefit through rapid,

clarified presentation.

QUALIFICATIONS

Our firm is fully equipped with design and shop

facilities and employs a wide range of mediums to

accomplish the attorney's objectives. Graphic design,

engineering, and model making talent are blended

from planning to completion to insure that the results

are accurate, effective, and confidential.

We would be happy to discuss the communication

needs of your next case.

De brey Design

ey

a a

58a

De brey Design

Case Experience of Robert J. De brey

CASE DESCRIPTION SERVICES

Cardiac Patent Trial Visuals

Pacemakers vs. Infringement Expert, Design

Coratomic

Cardiac Patent Trial Visuals

Pacemakers vs. Infringement

Medtronic

St. Jude Medical Patent Trial Visuals

vs. Possis Corp. Infringement Technical Expert

Chief Industries Patent Trial Visuals

vs. Squareliner Infringement Technical Expert

Chicago Cutlery Patent Expert Witness

vs. Bordien Infringement Design

Corp., Tommer

Cutlery

Peterson vs. Personal Injury Expert Witness

Komatsu of Human Factors

Japan

Abdo vs. Sperry Personal Injury Expert Witness

New Holland Human Factors

Parkos vs. Personal Injury Technical Expert

Metropolitan

Wire Corp.

Plaintiff vs. Kai

Cutlery, Tokyo

Personal Injury

Technical Expert

Human Factors

Gravity

Guidance inc. vs.

Inversion Health

Systems

Plaintiff vs.

Raygo, Inc.

Metronic vs.

Pacesetter, Inc.

Otto Bock vs.

Daw Industries

Northland group

vs. Christian

Bros.

Horton Clutch

vs. Tlomatic

59a

Patent

Infringement

Personal Injury

Patent

Infringement

Patent

Infringement

Patent,

Trademark

Trade Dress

Technical Expert

Trial Visuals

Trial Visuals

Trial Visuals

Expert Witness

Expert Witness

Design

Insty*Bit, Inc.

VS.

Poly Tech Industries, Inc.

REPORT OF ROBERT J. DE BREY FOR

DEFENDANT

6la

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SECTION PAGE

) 1. Introduction 1

| be Conclusions and Opinions 2

. De Scope of Analysis 6

| 4. Summary of Findings 7

| Be Detailed Analysis 15

6. Exhibits 26

{

‘

4

4

een

62a

SECTION 1. INTRODUCTION

Insty-Bit a Minnesota corporation located in

Minneapolis, is an assembler of parts related to

specialized tool accessories for the professional and

consumer hardware trade. Poly-Tech is also a

Minnesota corporation located in the Twin Cities and

performs general job-shop machine work. Poly-Tech

has been producing the parts for Insty-Bit's tool

accessory line since approximately 1988, and has in the

past operated a business marketing and selling

products purchased from Insty-Bit.

More recently Poly-Tech has begun production of its

own line of quick release tools. Insty-Bit has objected

to Poly Tech's production and trade in the same

market and has charged, among other things,

infringement of its trade dress and violation of the

Minnesota Deceptive Trade Practices Act.

Poly-Tech's attorneys, Palmatier, Sjoquist, and Helget,

have retained the writer for Expert testimony on the

design features of the tools in question and how they

might be viewed in the marketplace as related to

factors of trade dress.

Process

To accomplish this assignment a meeting was held at

the office of Palmatier, Sjoquist, and Helget on

February 10, 1995 at which time a detailed explanation

of the case was given. Samples of the various tools

were provided including relevant items of both brands.

GS a 00S tt ORI LL AANA ABE Sechie leee S k needed

63a

The complaint document and response to

interrogatories were then studied in detail. A detailed

analysis of the samples was made in an attempt to

determine the basic character and existence of asserted

design features as they might contribute to the

development of "trade dress" in the marketplace.

Observational trips were also made to a number of

retail outlets which handle the types of tools under

study. A variety of tool accessories were selected for —

their comparative and illustrative value and purchased

for consideration. They are included in this report in

photographic form in Section 6. Exhibits.

SECTION 2. CONCLUSIONS AND OPINIONS

The questions to be answered include whether or not

there exists a non-functional trade dress, whether the

asserted trade dress functions to denote a source of

origin, and whether there exists a likelihood of

confusion in the marketplace between the two

competing product lines.

Point of Sale

The writer's conclusion is that there is virtually no

chance for confusion at point of sale, even in the rare

event that the two products appeared side by side in

the merchandising display. The two packaging designs

are so graphically dissimilar as to allow no possibility

that one product might be mistaken for the other. (See

exhibits #10, 11,12).

Furthermore, it is understood that these items are

never sold in bulk form and we also know that the

packages are not easily opened with bare hands even if

64a

one were inclined to do so. Thus one can assume that

in all cases the graphic power of the package is the

primary reference to verify identity.

From a merchandising point of view, the front face of

the Insty-Bit product line packaging is more effective

in communicating the brand name and product identity

than the front face of the Snappy brand. Insty-Bit's

name is printed larger, is in more readable type and is

not encumbered by other competing words. The

Insty-Bit product, in all cases, stands in front of a

clean white background where it is more clearly

observed in a contrast condition. The names of both

brands are quite conspicuous and provide

unmistakable identification of the source. (See exhibits

#10,11,12).

Where the customer closely examines the front and

back of the respective packaging, the Snappy brand

does a better job of conveying the source of the

product. The identifying name "Snappy" appears ten

times on the chuck packaging and is also printed on the

actual product which is visible through the clear

plastic. The corporate name, address, and phone

number is also on the back side of the Poly-Tech

packaging.

The Insty-Bit package in contrast repeats "Insty-Bit" a

total of four times on the package and has a further

identifier Copyright Weinhold Associates, 1993,

Minneapolis, MN 55426

The particular style of the packaging is such that the

product is covered over with a layer of clear plastic. To

produce the plastic "bubble" which nests the product,

the sheet material is stretch formed over curved

surfaces under vacuum, which virtually guarantees

_

65a

that its clarity will be partially distorted in an optical

sense. For example, it is impossible to determine by

external observation alone that the sleeve on the Sears

Roebuck Quick Change Chuck is actually molded in

plastic rather than machined from steel. (See exhibit

#16). Thus, from a practical standpoint, the customer

is pretty much limited to external packaging

information to identify the product, its purpose, the

material of construction, distinctive design features,

and its maker. Under normal circumstances the buyer

of this product is going to interpret the information on

the packaging and accept it at face value

Private Label Products

The most likely source of confusion in the marketplace

is the existing practice of Insty-Bit providing its same

products, private labeled, to other OEM's without

identifying the true source. As stated above, the

customer is likely to accept that the product is

manufactured by the company named on the package.

When the product is removed from the package the

only identification is the brand name stamped on the

product. Apparently the actual product sold in the

private labeling may either be marked with "Insty-Bit",

the name of the private labeler, or with no identifier.

The Porter Cable Quick Change Chuck looks

physically identical to the Insty-Bit Quick Change

Chuck (note name similarities also) therefore, one is

bound to wonder "who makes what?" The Porter

Cable packaging employs the same colors and graphic

lined background as Insty-Bit packaging. (See exhibit

#39). This marketing strategy would seem to be

counter productive to Insty-Bit's efforts to establish

any recognition of their products in the marketplace.

:

i

66a

The private labeling destroys a consumer's ability to

identify a single source of origin for the products.

The Product in Hand

Once the package is opened and the product separated

from the identifying printed information one is left

with product information, ie word marks, trademarks,

patent numbers, model numbers, operative sizes, and

last but not least, specific product features and the

overall configuration of the product itself.

Insty-Bit has claimed a list of approximately thirty-six

(36) "non-functional" design features for their product

line from which its trade dress is constructed. These

were analyzed in detail and evaluated using the criteria

normally associated with trade dress development and

protection. In all but a few isolated instances the

claimed design features were judged functional because

they benefited the consumer and, or the manufacturer,

were essential to the purpose, and enhanced the

quality.

Are the product designs as a whole functional? Tool

products in general and drilling tools and accessories in

particular are designed with efficiency in mind. This

means doing more with less, at the lowest cost, and

maximizing performance. Such a process leaves little

room for the arbitrary and fanciful, or the option of

specifying a component or feature primarily to denote

a source of origin. The tool accessory market is highly

competitive and forces the optimization of function.

The Plaintiff manufactures his Quick Chuck under two

U.S. utility patents which show its functional design

67a

character. The whole purpose of this tool is to render

repetitive operations with the portable electric drill

more efficient. It is purchased for its time saving and

convenience attributes.

The countersink tools are also aimed at efficiency by

combining drilling and countersinking into one

operation. The size combination of the drill and

countersink is pre-selected for each screw size and

retained in the tool. Countersinking depth is controlled

automatically for some operations.

The Insty-Bit Quick Change Drill Guides are designed

to quickly, conveniently, and accurately perform the

important operation of centering the drilled hole in the

countersunk hole of the hardware to be mounted.

There appears to be no other purpose for these tools

There are no non-essential elements in these designs.

It is obvious then that all of the above products were

created as purely functional devices. Thus, combined

with the described appraisal of the functionality of the

individual design features, the designs, in the writers

judgment, are functional as a whole.

In the writers opinion, it would be detrimental to

competition to give trade dress protection to all of the

charted design features individually or in combination,

except the two noted. In only one case was a design

feature (the exposed spring on drill guides) rationalized

as possibly being used to denote a source of origin. As

one might expect with technical type tool products,

none of the 36 claimed design features were classified

as arbitrary or fanciful.

The Feel of the Products

68a

The Plaintiff has claimed "the feel" of the products as

well as the design features. Upon comparing the

operation of Insty-Bit Quick Change Chuck and the

Snappy Quick Chuck, it became immediately apparent

that there is a major ergonomic difference between the

two. Poly Tech produces their "Snappy" product with

a different and patentable design feature which allows

the user to insert a tool into the chuck single-handedly

by simply pushing the bit straight in until it bottoms

out and locks. Upon doing so, the Snappy chuck

produces strong tactile feedback and makes a loud

click simultaneously upon locking. It is one smooth,

non-stop action. The sleeve never needs to be touched

or moved to insert a tool bit.

The Insty-Bit chuck is a two-handed operation of

sliding the sleeve axially to release the lock, inserting

the bit, and then releasing the sleeve. It is a start and

stop operation and definitely has a different "feel" to

its operation than the Snappy chuck.

The Snappy Quick Chuck is a major ergonomic design

advancement adding greatly to the convenience of use

as well as the feel of its operation.

Degree of Care Likely to be Exercised by the Customer

Because the main benefits of the subject products are

increased efficiency and quality of performance for

repetitive tasks, the typical purchaser is likely to be

more sophisticated than the average do-it-yourselfer

and more like a professional user. This, plus the fact

that the tools are not inexpensive, suggests that the

customer will carefully evaluate his selection before

69a

purchasing the tools. Thus, there should be even less

likelihood of confusion at point of sale.

General Conclusions

As a result of the above analysis, evaluations, design

comparisons, and survey of similar tools found in

today's market, it is the writers opinion that the design

features claimed by Insty-Bit do not meet the

requirements for protection as trade dress.

There is no likelihood of confusion between the

Insty-Bit and Snappy Brands at point of sale.

However, there is a likelihood of confusion by users of

the Insty-Bit product and its private labeled products

since the true identity is not revealed.

SECTION 3. SCOPE OF ANALYSIS

This study is primarily. directed to the products and

product features identified by the Plaintiff in their

ANSWERS TO DEFENDANT'S FIRST SET OF

INTERROGATORIES (NOS. 1-13) dated January 16,

1995.

Products

Insty-Bit Poly-Tech

Quick Change Chuck Make it Snappy

Quick Chuck

Quick Change Pilot

Countersink Make it Snappy

Drill Guide

70a

Quick Change Drill

Guide Make it Snappy

Countersink

(See exhibits #10,11, 12).

Packaging

The packaging for each of the above products was also

reviewed in a comparative manner.

The countersinks and drill guides of each brand are

packaged and sold in sets of five different sizes. (See

exhibits #10,11,12).

Criteria

The criteria by which the designs were evaluated for

trade dress representation are:

Whether or not Insty-Bit's asserted individual design

elements and the design as a whole are functional

eThe impact on competition if the asserted designs

were protected as trade dress

The availabily of alternative designs

Whether or not the asserted design element function

to denote the source of origin

¢Whether or not the design element is arbitrary or

fanciful

Pes REO a ir it Retan

Tla

SECTION 4. SUMMARY of FINDINGS

Definitions: (as used in the charts on the following

pages)

° Functionality: A functional feature which

competition would have to spend money not to copy

but to design around. Additionally, the following

categories on the charts are indications of

functionality:

Benefit to User Essential to Purpose

Benefit to Manufacturer Quality Enhanced

* Benefit to User or Manufacturer: ie; increase in

efficiency, safety, speed of operation, or durability;

facilitation or accommodation of performance, lower

cost, reduction in liability, etc.

* Essential to Purpose? Is the design essential to

the utility of the item?.

. Enhancement of Quality? Does the design

element improve quality?

* Protection Hurts Competition? Would

protection of the feature impede effective competition?

° Alternative Designs Available? Are there more

than a limited number of alternative designs available

which could be used without penalty?

* Functions as a Source of Origin? Does the

alleged design element indicate a source of origin for

the goods and thus avoid confusion in the marketplace?

72a

For purposes of presentation the list of product

features and combinations thereof, found in the

Plaintiff's Answers to Defendant's First Set of

Interrogatories (Nos. 4-9) are used in the same

sequence on the charts to summarize the findings.

6TOAIONVA YO AUVULIGUY = «Al

éNIDIWO AO ADUANOS SV SNOLLONNA = +4

6éALTVNAd O/M AT&VTIVAY SNOISAG AALLVNUALTV = «i

¢NOLLILAdWOD SLYUNH NOLLOALOUd = «9

éGQHONVHNG ALITVNO = «ff

édSOdund OL TVLLNASSA = «V

javd

jO SuOIsUdUIp j.vd 0} YOO] Ayjeuonouny

4 jeusta}xa Ayyenb IayIsaV

ISUBYD JOU SI0q JUIQIVI

, Ystuly youiq

ysiuy UOISO.1.109 YIM PIZIpIxo ysiuy

u; uj uj A; Al u }SO0) MOT SISISOY) IIVJINS IQUY] YIPIxO YdIeIg *{

ILIBV

, JIINIV/NUL pnpoig

ad «4 +0 2D 0ff eV 0} JIUIG «= 19S() :O} jrIOUag SuyNsay WUWIWITyY USISIg

MONHO LIG«ALSNI

Re eee a et ae

74a

a201d YOM

aseuup 10 puey

yD JOU FIA

}SO) MO]

diis dA99[S)

ul uf Aj Al A Yoo, PoYystuly] 0} IqVpIOJUIO) uo JgjWIeYyD “Ss

29010 YAOM YIM

}SO) [BLIO}VUL 99UI1Ij1IUL 10}0¥j| aAaajs pue Apog

uj uj Aj Aj A WINUWHUI UIT ULIOJ [JVWIS] JO JIJIUIVIG] *

poywwul diis spueqg poyinuy

ul uj A} Al A }SOD MO’] IINS SIPIAVIg sainjeay dip} =‘ pasivl OMT, *¢)

JAVITS

jo douvivodde,

uj uj Aj Ay A did Jud puv odeys *7

ouivu

§ JoUN;IVjNUeUE

10j aovds

JISULJ 9}VIO}

0} S}djay S$s9d0y

J2injIVjnueUl

J° dl

ueds

opim Jesu did

IANS SIPIAVIg

aouanbeas

pue souvivedde

*§S993.1 YJOOUIS

yin suyjinuy

:SJUIUII]

JAIIIS PISIvs

Z JO SOLIS *

javd

S JO suoIsugutIp juvd 0) yoo] Ayjeuonouny

[VU.10}X9 Ayyenb JHIYISIV

ISULYD JOU S20q JUIYIVAA

Ystuly YOulq

ysiuy UOISO1.109 YIM PIZIPIxo ystuy

ul uf uf Af Ayu JSOD MOT SISISOY] = DVJINS WHUYL IpixO yoepy *]

INGLY

JIINJIVINUL]A pnpoig

Ax +4 #0 «ff &V O} WJoudy = AOS() 0} Jou SUNY JUIWA[Y UdISOg

ACO’ GNNOU MNISMALNAOOD LIG-ALSNI

77a

ot kta nan aS

Ayer] surddys

poonpoy 0/M JYSt

YoudIM UBD

A[quiossy

JO poods ISN O} AVS YOuIIM

UIT Y YIM MIIIS

Aj Al A }SO) MO'T A}Iqeing P9AOWI! JIG] 9S afAjs UaTTY *¢

(aapurypAd

YIM [OO

SUI}jND [BIIUO

JO U01}99S.19}UI

Ayyqey Aq pajeaiD)

paonpoy MIIIS JIS 10}

$$990.1]dulusdo passade.

A} AT AT Ajquuiasse sajse.y Ajayes podeys [eagQ jo adeys °

78a

JUANG

Y4AOM YOJBIIS

0} dutuin} ON

snd dojs adeys

uj Al Ai A SOD MOT] J0J adNeS YIdag YUIS1NJUNOD| punos ‘aePyOD *¢

auivu

§, JoInjoeynuew

10J

VIAL PIJIIJOIg

uq

JO [BAOWIA pue asp

UOILIISUL JIISEO -P9Ssa001-33p

VISIPUy 4105 Posivs 1B TO

uj AT Ay ul Base passaday did sapra0ig sounjeway diy

jo odeysg °

79a

lanai tan

uq [4p

ul u A} ul u SOD 1IMO'7 [99}S JIATIS °

UOHBILIGEY

JO sey] = ayquanp duo yueus

4OJ JIAIIIIA U

uj u A} AI ou SOD 19MO'T jSOD 1IMO'] ajoy punoy */)

Yyjsuaajs

jeanjonays

‘uorTpe

dulyjnd Yyoours

49du0] Jodieys

SUIBLUDA JIT

jVAoUwo

SONY p 410 ¢ diyd pur sospo dunn

ul ou A} AT AT uy) qsoo AIMO’]] SUININD JUDO

Pony OM], *

80a

Joy uO JsvUILp

ISPD SPUJAIIG

dnpying

ywoy ‘UOT Ja11vq Jott ad

u Aj A soonpoy aspo pasivy “Ol

suonedyioods

snid pue

MIIIS SIYIIVIA

Ayyiqeinp pus

JIUVULIOJ1I

JIVJANS MOJIG yuis13azUNO

JOS 9q 0} Speoy jysuaa4s jO J9}0WIvIp

u Alesu MIIIS SMOTTY] 00} JUDIDYNS}| = pue yysuay *

adeys punoy

MIAIS JIS 10J

suiusdo passada.

jo adeys °7

jaed

jO suoIsuduIp

[VU19}X9

asuvy) JOU SI0q

ysiuy

jSOD MOT

jivd 0} yoo}

Ayyenb

suey

UOISO.1.109

S}SISOY

Ayjeuonouny

I1JIYISIV

ysiuly yoRIq

Y)IM paziprxo

d0BjANS IUnUY

ysiuy

aPIXO YI *T

A «iH «7 «) «ff «V

JIINJIVINUB AY

0} }YoUDg

JIS} 0} JIU

INQGuUyYy

pnpoig

suj[Nsoy

AGO’ XUH MNISMULNNIOO LIG-ALSNI

JUIUII[ USISIG

82a

nq

jO [VAOUD. puL

UOILIISUE JOISVY

asp

-PdSSII9.1-ISpe

vIDIPU] 10J dias pasivs S1epjo

u A IIL PISSIIIY IANS IPIAOI saunjeay diy jo adeys ‘p

Aypqery durddijs

poonpoy O/M JYd)

youdIM UB)

Ajquiassy

jo paods ISN O} AILS YyoudaM

Udy YIM MAIIIS|

u A }SO) MOT AVpIquing PIAOUWIIA JIG] JIS I[AJS UITTY “¢

sony p 10 ¢

UBY} SOD 19MO']

yjsu013s

jBanjonajs

u01j2R

SutjjNd yous

J9du0] JOd.1eys

SUIVUIIA JIG

[BAO

diyd pue

SUIRIND JUDIIYA

saspa suijn:

poyny omy, J

JJALIPMIAIS 0}

posuvy) Ajisea

SI yuIsi9juNO>

A1OSS9IIV

JIALIPMI.I1IS

YIM

SJIDUUOD SLIVg

JvI[O

podeys xoyH J

84a

SUOHBIIWIds

snd pue

MIIIS SIYIIVA

A}yIquinp pue

IIUCULIOJ.9g

JIVJINS MOJI yUISI9}UNO

JOS 9q 0} spray Yjsud.1)s JO 19}9WIRI

u u vjul A MIIIS SMOI[Y] [00} JUaTIING pue yysuaq °

Hq [lJ

u u ul u SOD 1IMO'T [99}S IDA]IS °

uoneILIGEy

JO WEY] = aEquanp 10 yueys

JO} 19A19904 U

u u A] u }SOD JIMO'T 1SOD JIMO'TY

9j0y punoy *z

SS

Ta

2)

ep

uo d3deul

a SJUIAII

dnpying

. IL

voy ‘UOTII

pps

ja11eq Pane

ddpd pasiey “o]

Suiids jo 100

jeajs puke a

ul uj uf Aj uy u jSO0) 19M0'] JO 10{O9 [9893S *

. jied

Ss jo SuOISUJUIIp jivd 0} 400] Ayjeuonouny

{BU1I}X9 Ayiypenb DJIISIL

asuvyd jou Sv0d QUITE

ysiuly ICG

ysiuly UOISO.1109 UJI PIZIpIxo ystuly

ul ul uj} Ay} Ayu js0) MO] sysisay} — IVJANS AU IpixO WLI “I

INGUyy

JQanjIejnuLv|] pnpoldg

eA xd +0 «0D ¥l +V 0} WyouIg = .19Sf),_ 0} WOU SuyNsoy joy usisod

sadind TRIG LIG-ALSNI

}S09 MOT

poaoule.

aq Apiseo

uvd Hq [IP

WO.1) SSUIABYS

sutids

posodxy “s

AyIqery

poonposy

Ajquuiassy

jo poads

jSO9 MO’]

surddys

o/M syst

UIUIIM UBD

Isn 0} 1IJVS

Ayqeang

youaiM

UgtTy Uda

pacoulas Jig

MAI1IS

J9S JJANS WITTY “P

A|QUIISSY 19}SC

jouvivodde

poysiuly SPppV

Jspo sNOpsVZeY

SIAOUIIY

sospo

davys ou ‘ed

JIIJ LING-AJIJVS

javd poysiuly

MIIIS AOJS 10}

§$9991 [BAO “¢

88a

"wiasse yoinb

‘dap ajoy

Jodoid Mopye

0} Sassaidulo0d

10} Surysng ssou suuids SUIN} JO Joquinu

ya py s0doi1g ‘19JIUIUI

SSUIAvYS ‘azis ‘adeys

ul uj A} Al ul A }SO) MOT jo uonooly ‘sutids ‘Q]

suonjes0do

Suypiip pue SuLIds JO 39.10)

ul uj ul A} ul A }SOD MOT] SuILIO] YJOoOUS JAISSOIG WO “6

SHIP ysuay [IN yisual]

uj uj uf Aj At A SIJVPOWIOIIYV [[¥19AG “8

BIDIPU] 105

aouds SOplAolg

v Je]jO) spins

ul uj} ul Aj sul u }SOD MO’T] [[lup jo adeys *Z

v aj0y passde) ul surysng

ul uj} ul Aj sup A }SOD MOT] [LIP dy} Sad}UID asou jo adeys *

a

a

ww

aj] Jadu]

Jaysea jsniyy

SSB.1q JO 9ZIS

u Aj A 180) MOT] JBI PIINpsy pue adeys *z]

}SO) MOT

SULIN}IVjNUeU sutuod

Ul SIDJUIIIJO pouspiey jou puno. ojut

u Aj u uoTpNporg | yeys ‘AjyypIqeing adeys xaH “TT

90a

SECTION 5. DETAILED ANALYSIS

INSTY*BIT CHUCK DESIGN ANALYSIS

Black Oxide Finish

The black oxide finish serves two important functions.

First, the oxidation of the steel's surface provides

protection from rust. While it will not prevent

corrosion, it does inhibit it, such that it is much more

desirable than untreated steel. Rust on the internal and

external surfaces of a steel tool with moving parts

operating within certain dimensional tolerances can

seriously compromise its performance.

The oxidized black surface is used extensively in the

tool industry because it allows the steel to be given a

finish without changing the dimensions of the part.

Any other type of plated corrosion protection must be

done at the expense of strict dimensional control, since

coatings and dated metals are dimensionally added to

the surface of the base metal.

Furthermore, it is quite common for other plated

metals to flake off under extreme conditions. When

this happens and bare steel is exposed, the surface is

very likely to rust Metal platings such as chrome,

nickel, and zinc can vary widely in quality.

Paint coatings are not commonly used on the working

ends of tools or surfaces of parts with critical fits like

these in question. The dimensional changes that metal

parts incur from coating processes, the lack of precise

control of coating thickness, and the coating's lack of

9la

long term durability make them a poor choice for

corrosion protection on moving, interactive parts.

The second benefit provided by a black oxide finish is

that the black oxide provides the function of

communicating to the customer that the tool has been

made using quality manufacturing processes. The

many benefits of black oxide are well known in the

industry and therefore the use of black oxide on tools

can be associated with a manufacturer who is following

industry standards. Because black oxide is a finish

used on many precision tools, it suggests a high level of

quality.

The use of black oxide is not mandatory in the

production of tools, but it has proven to significantly

improve a tool's quality. It's designation as a protected

design element would substantially hurt competition in

this market. Its use would not be indicative of a

particular manufacturer because so many

manufacturers of similar products use black oxide. Its

use is not arbitrary or fanciful, but functional. (See

exhibits #26, 27, 28, 29, 33, 34, 35, 36).

Notably, all quick change drill chucks that the writer is

aware of are finished in black.

Shape and Appearance of Sleeve

The shape of the sleeve is derived strictly from the

function it performs. Nothing has been added to the

sleeve to make its design unique or decorative. The

cylindrical shape has been used in order to provide

easy grip without limitation to its rotational orientation

Its appearance is a function of its black oxide finish, its

92a

diameter, and its length. Restriction of this

configuration would hurt competition because this is

the most cost effective and straightforward design to

meet performance requirements. This shape and

appearance are widely used in the industry, and wouid

not suggest a particular manufacturer

(See exhibits #17, 19, 20, 23 24, 25).

Two raised, knurled bands

The two raised bands of knurling on the sleeve are

provided strictly to increase grip by the user. Knurling

is a process that has been used for many years and is a

well-known, recognizable feature easily understood by

consumers. It is cold formed on the surface under

pressure and is therefore a cost-effective way of

achieving a grip surface without metal removal.

Knurling can only be effectively applied to the highest

of adjacent surfaces on any one part. Its use as a

protected element would put competition at a

disadvantage because it is widely used as an economical

way to increase the performance of any round tool

gripped by the hand.

Two bands of knurling, as opposed to one band, allows

a center, non-knurled band ideal for indicia such as

identifying the origin and patent numbers. The two

bands at each end of the sleeve provide a better

gripping arrangement than a single band at one end of

the sleeve. Two bands are common in many different

types of couplers and connectors. (See exhibits # 17,

19, 23, 24, 25, 29).

93a

Series of 2 raised sleeve elements. knurling with

sinooth recess, appearance and sequence

The raised bands of knurling with a smooth center

area is a design which provides two main functional

benefits. First the profile created by the two raised

areas and the center recess provide for better location

and grip by the fingers. The center recess helps the

user to quickly locate the best grip area. By locating

the center of the fingertip in the recess, it allows the

two bands of knurling to come into full contact with

the finger. The ridge created by the second, or rear

band of knurling provides a sidewall which can be

pushed against to move the sleeve and release the bit.

A secondary functional benefit provided by this design

is that it allows a smooth surface which can easily be

Stamped with the manufacture's name and/or patent

number. Having the manufacturer's name stamped on

the part where it is not likely to be scraped away also

helps the consumer in the event they are trying to

identify the part after it has been separated from the

packaging. (See exhibits #17, 19, 24, 25).

Diameter of body and sleeve

The diameter of the main body of the chuck and the

Sleeve that fits over it are determined by the diameter

of the bit being held by the chuck and the mechanisms

needed to retain it. Insty*Bit's chuck mechanism is

protected by two U.S. utility patents. (See appendix).

Any additional diameter would require additional

material and/or tooling and would therefore increase

i

OL TTT TTT TTT TTT Tr en ee er errr rece rr nn ncn nnn n nnn n ener nn nnn nnn n een e en elt

94a

costs. Furthermore, any increase in diameter would be

undesirable because the chuck would interfere with

other parts in a close working environment. The

smaller the better.

Chamfer on sleeve

The chamfer on the sleeve is a functional shape used to

provide a smooth edge on the top corner of the chuck.

A smooth edge rather than a sharp corner is more

desirable for any part coming into contact or being

held by the hand. A rounded edge would also serve this

purpose, but a chamfer is easier and cheaper to make.

Furthermore, a chamfer also provides a narrower

profile to decrease the likelihood of coming into contact

with parts in tight working environments (See exhibits

#19, 23, 24, 25, 33).

INSTY-BIT ROUND BODY COUNTERSINK

DESIGN ANALYSIS

Black Oxide Finish

See black oxide section in chuck design analysis.

Shape of recessed opening for set screw

The shape of the recessed opening for the set screw is

derived from the combination of two functional shapes.

The first shape is created by a recessed band around

the middle part of the collar. The second shape comes

from countersinking the set screw The countersink for

95a

the set screw is necessary in order to finish the edge of

the hole free of burrs for the set screw. There is no

practical alternative for finishing the edge of the screw

hole to a burr- free condition and providing an

enhanced entry point for screw assembly. Protecting

this shape would be detrimental to competition. (See

exhibits #33, 38).

Shape of the collar: raised edge - recess - raised edge

The recessed perimeter band performs the function of

generating a gripping edge so that the bit can be more

easily removed from the chuck with a oulling action.

This recessed band is necessary because the main body

of the countersink is relatively small in diameter and

short in length. Operation of the spring loaded chuck

by itself to release the bit can, in many cases require

the use of two hands. The additional task of removing

the bit when the chuck's spring action is being held

back makes it much more desirable to make the bit

easier to grab by incorporating functional design

elements such as a recessed band. A recessed band is

the best way to provide grip around the circumference

to aid in a pulling motion. This design also allows a

recessed, protected area ideal for marking the bit with

the manufacturer's name.

Allen style set screw

The Allen style set screw is widely used in the industry

because of its low cost and performance benefits. When

the an Allen set screw is used, a stronger force can be

applied to tighten it. This is due to a more positive lock

with the head due to its faceted shape and the depth of

96a

the recess allowing the wrench to travel further into

the head, as compared with a slotted screw.

Because a more positive engagement of the screw is

provided by its design, slippage and thus wear of the

drive surfaces is reduced. The top surface of an Allen

style set screw is not as sharp as the slotted variety,

therefore the user is less likely to get cut by it. The

Allen wrench is not likely to slip out of the hex screw

and contribute to hand injuries like a blade drive with

a Slotted screw might.

These reasons, along with the lower cost of the Allen

head vs. the slotted head screw make the Allen head

the preferred choice for many applications. Its use as a

protected trade dress element of design would

compromise the functionality and competitiveness of

tool design.

Collar, round shape

The round collar on the shank of the countersink is

used as a depth gauge to keep the countersunk hole to

precise dimensions. After the hole is drilled, a plug is

inserted. In order for the standard plug to fit the hole,

the hole's depth must be precisely controlled. The use

of a round shape on the collar is derived from the

machining operation. It is the most straightforward

design and is therefore the cheapest to manufacture.

Some additional advantages of a round shaped collar

are a smooth perimeter edge vs. the hex shaped design.

A smooth edge is less likely to scratch the work

surface. (See exhibits #33, 36, 38).

97a

Two fluted cutting edges

The two flutes on the tool are used to cut and remove

material in order to form the countersink hole. They

are absolutely essential to the function of the tool. A

different number of flutes may be used, but two flutes

affords a high degree of performance with respect to

forming the hole. The hole can be formed quicker by

using two flutes instead of one. The two flutes also

provide a smoother cutting action. Because the removal

of material is performed by two edges instead of one,

the bit will retain a sharp edge longer.

The two fluted design is more cost effective and

provides more structural integrity than those designs

with more than two flutes and provides more cutting

performance than designs than with just one flute. (See

exhibit #32).

Round hole on receiver for shank

The round hole in countersink bit accepts the hex

Shaped shank. The countersink is assembled this way

to permit the joining of metals of dissimilar hardness.

The bit is hardened so that it remains sharper longer.

The shank should not be hardened because this would

make it brittle and susceptible to breaking.

In order to join the two parts using economical

production methods, a hole must be made in the

receiver to accept the shank and a set screw used to

lock the shank in place by running it into the shank.

Because the shank is hex shaped, the hole must either

align with the flats of the hex or accommodate the

DDE LT

98a

perimeter of the hex shank. A round hole to

accommodate the round turned portion of the hex

shank is clearly the only economical way to meet the

design requirements. To machine a hex shaped hole in

the receiver to accommodate the hex shank would be

very expensive.

Silver steel drill bit

The bright color of the drill bit is derived from the

high speed tool steel from which it was manufactured.

Additional treatment of drill bit is not necessary to

achieve satisfactory performance. Furthermore, the

vast majority of drill bits sold have the same color.

Any additional coatings or treatments to the drill bit

would increase costs. The silver steel color is often seen

along side of black oxide because the two finishes are

used extensively on a wide variety of parts (See

exhibits #29, 34; 35 36).

Length and diameter of countersink

The length and diameter of the countersink itself is

directly related to the function the countersink

performs A different length and a different diameter

would make a different size hole and thus would not

meet screw head specifications. The correct length and

diameter of hole allows the screw and plug used in the

countersink hole to properly fit the work piece after

final assembly. (See exhibits #36, 38).

Raised edge on relief barrel

99a

The raised edge on the relief barrel is a functional

design consideration. It prevents the barrel from

binding during cutting operations by forming a slightly

larger diameter hole. The extra clearance allows the

relieved barrel to rotate freely and run cooler. (See

exhibit 38).

INSTY-BIT HEX BODY COUNTERSINK DESIGN

ANALYSIS

All design elements for the hex body countersink are

identical to the round body countersink, except for the

hex collar and the shape of the recessed opening for set

screw, which are analyzed below. See Insty-Bit Round

Body Design Analysis section. The design differences of

the Insty-Bit hex shaped receiver and the Snappy

round shaped receiver are compared side by side on

the next page.

Hex Shaped Collar

The hex shaped collar has been designed for the

function of accepting a screw driving attachment. This

allows the countersinking tool to be quickly changed to

drive screws after the hole has been drilled.

Shape of recessed opening for set screw

The shape of the opening for the set screw is generated

by a conical shaped cutting tool penetrating first the

hex flat and then the cylindrical portion in the recessed

band, For removing burrs, sharp edges, and guiding

the screw into the thread, there is no practical

100a

alternative. Protection of such a feature directly

related to economical, standard processing techniques

would hurt competition.

INSTY-BIT DRILL GUIDE DESIGN ANALYSIS

Black Oxide Finish

See black oxide section in chuck design analysis.

Steel color of bit and steel color of spring

The steel color of the bit and steel color of the spring

are the colors of the materials used to make these

parts. Further treatment of the metal is not required

and would add expense to the parts. (See exhibits #29,

34, 35 36).

The oval recess for the top screw is created by a

countersinking tool working against a round surface.

The countersink for the top screw is necessary in order

to finish the edge of the hole for the top screw. An

unfinished edge or sharp edge would create a hazard

when the part was turning because it could easily catch

on materials or possibly cut the hand of tile user. (See

exhibits #33, 38).

Allen set screw

10la

See Allen set screw section in round countersink design

analysis.

Exposed spring

The exposed spring is a low cost functional design

allowing openings around the drill bit for easy removal

of shavings. Other designs without an exposed spring

are available, but these designs are more expensive to

produce.

Shape of nose bushing

The shape of the nose bushing is purely functional to

locate the drill bit in the center of the tapered recess of

the hardware being installed and to attach the spring

onto the back side of the bushing.

Shape of the drill guide collar

The round shape of the drill guide collar is the most

efficient and straightforward design. for this part. Any

other shape would be more expensive to produce and

would add unnecessary complexity. The round Shape

also provides a smooth surface for stamping of the

manufacture's name.

Overall length

102a

The overall length of the drill guide is a function of the

length of its components. All components and their

corresponding lengths have been chosen for their

optimum performance characteristics Any additional

length would incur increased costs without

corresponding performance benefits. Any reduction in

length would reduce the performance of the tool.

Compressive force of spring

The compressive force of the spring has been chosen on

the basis of its ability to meet stiffness requirements

for adequate control of the nose bushing tip as the

locating and hole drilling operations take place. Any

more or less compressive force could reduce the

effectiveness and smoothness of the locating and

drilling operations.

Spring shape. size, diameter. and number of turns

The spring shape, size, diameter, and number of turns

characteristics were chosen to meet the performance

requirements for locating and drilling operations and

to match up with the diameter of the nose bushing tip.

Different size, shape, and diameter springs would not

perform as well, may not fit the nose bushings

correctly and may increase the cost of the drill guide.

The number of turns in a spring is one of the factors in

the cost of a spring. An increase in the number of

turns past what is necessary to provide good lateral

stiffness would likely increase the cost of the spring.

Hex shape into round opening

103a

See section in design analysis of round countersink.

shape and size of brass thrust washer

The shape and size of the brass thrust washer is

determined by the shape and size of the spring

connected to it on one end and the shape and size of

the drill guide collar it must fit into on the other end.

This brass part performs a critical function by

allowing the body of the guide to turn freely and the

spring and nose bushing to remain Stationary. Any

other size and shape of the brass thrust washer would

alter its performance or increase its cost. The brass

part is also easy and cheap to tool up.

104a

Jouyde']

suljinuy L66°PL1'I

yonys JAIIIS -yueg-suyanuy} ="ON 1U9IVT “S*N] = IT6T “PT YARN

Ssulpinuy-pueq esnig

surdnod SulpAnuy:aspa LSOSOL‘P

jQo0uU0d yIINb] aaaa{s 9jquIIv.AjI4] SuIpes] PossjuvYyI}| =—ON PII “S| SRG ‘CZ “SNYV

Sulypinuy-pueq yosodoy

dIAIP JADIIS/|JIYS Supinuysospo 009‘O81'E

yojnyo suiddiis 31qe}9e1301] + SuIpeaj pepunos) = “ON JUIjIWd “S*/) 7961 *S “G94

sulpinuy-pueq $}99YS

-dulpinuy‘adpa 6bL‘°790'S

Jajdnod {00} yonyd IvyjoD| suipva papunor, “ON jude “*S"N 6861 ‘IZ °G9A

Suysnuy-pueq

JAIIIS -Sulpjinuy:Ispa

Ja]dNOD ISOY AB ajqeyeljo1} =«sulpvay popunos 19jdn0d OUV /9C6I

ada |, Iv UMOYS IINJCI | IIUIIIJIY ajeq

=~

Aavuiuns syony)

sulyy

sutjd0uU0) yoinb

DADIIS

sulinuy

-peq-sulunuy

‘adpo pasajuieys

*JAIIIS IIGUjIVIII

dINPUIYyIS

LIT I9L'€

ON Ju93eg “SN

€L61 ‘sz “dag

AO}JIIUUOD

JAII[S/SULI

suljinuy

-pueqg-sulpinuy

LIBssi9gO

9b7'°897'E

"ON BUILT “S°N

9961 ‘EZ ‘dny

Jajdnos

IAIIIS

suyanuy

-pueq-sulpinuy

‘DAIS I[QUJIVIJII

JIMIIYIS

ELE"SST'7Z

“ON JU938d °S°N

Ip6l ‘6 “3das

yound

IBIJOD

suyinuy

-peq-suljinuy

‘sapd poa1ajwieyd

Saye

OC 16h‘ I

‘ON quate, “SN

£761 “OZ “ABW

iajdnos

surjdnos

asoy Ajayes

Sulpinuy-pueg

sulpinuy‘oaspa

SUIPLI] PasajsUILBYD

uOSpIAeG

OLL* PLZ

“ON JU9}8g *S"N

9S6I ‘8 APN

104a-2

sulpanuy

-puvq-suljanuy AJUUB AA

‘98pd posojuieyo S9L*ZSL‘b

Jajdnos PADIS} = *OAIIIS Surduvyps} = “ON uazeg ‘S'n S861 ‘17 oune

suljinuy sun

“peq-surypinuy PIL*ss7‘s £661

suydnos PADIS] “PADIS IIGUIIVAYIAL «—-“ON] JUDIE ‘s'n ‘97 “DO

YUISIIIUNOI/JIG [[LUp

MIIIS JIS ‘aed

INL *4e [JOD [wILpurpAd

ddI)

S6Z7°1L0°S

“ON JUDIE ‘s'n

1661 “OI *29q

YUISIIJUNOI/JIG [LIP

MIIIS JIS ‘ared ayny

‘IdP9 1e]]OD Posies

“ABT[OD [VILApupAD

SUDA

££6'°08S‘b

"ON 1U9}eg “S"

9861 ‘8 ‘Idy

YUISIIIUNOI/JIG [pLIp

MIIIS JIS ‘ured

INL “AOI [eIuipurypAd

IONIIv

Th9"199°Z

“ON 3U9}8d *§"/)

Sh6I “PZ ouNF;

YUIS19}UNOI/}G [Lp

MIIIS

J9S ‘ared any ‘yueys

*ABfOD FeILIpUTAD

uossjnuy

SEP ‘POLE

‘ON WIL “S*f)

PLOI “97 “Gay

puel

40 98pa pasies yy

YUISIOIUNOD /J1q [pp

MIIIS JOS ‘INE ‘LTO

[BOLIpuTAD ‘yueys

wieisuy

Ore’ e98'7

ON 1U9}8g *S'f

8S6I “6 *20q

Med

UMOYS 2.1Nj}v—a,]

IIUIIIJIY

ATES SYUISADUNOZ)

BL 6 |

104a-4

MIIIS B[VSIWUIYyIS

Jas ‘aed any ‘eyjoo 886'S97°S

YUISIIIUNOI/JIG [Ip jeatapuypAd ‘yueys ‘ON 2U93eg *S'N £661 ‘OE “AON

MIIIS JIS ‘aed usodjey

ONY ‘aepPJOD pedILapurpAd €rr'9L0'r

YUISIIJUNOI/}IG [LIP

‘yueys Apoq

"“ON] WIE” “8°

8L6I “87 “G9

105a

WOODSHOP NEWS

MAY 19, 1992

Hex-shank bits pushing into fresh ground with new

options

By Mage McCormick

‘I had envisioned basically something like an air hose

coupling," said Wienhold.

106a

1995 PF DIRECTORY

Update on Blackening Ferrous Metals

By MARK RUCHLAND

Birchwood Casey

Eden Prairie, Minnesota

The coming year will continue to see increasingly

stringent air and water regulations for all types of

metal finishers including those operating blackening

lines. Manufacturers of metal components are quickly

discovering that it is smart to deal with suppliers who

can offer complete turnkey process systems which

include effluent treatment. More than ever, the key

words in metal finishing are "ZERO DRAIN

POLLUTION."

There are several ways to reduce the

concentration of pollutants but only a few ways to

achieve a zero discharge of hazardous materials in the

drain. Ion exchange has proven to be low in cost and

effective for treating rinse waters containing low levels

of pollutants. Under certain conditions, the line can be

exempted from the normal sewer sampling and testing

requirements. This technique can be used with good

results on blackening lines of all sizes. Details are

available from each supplier of the process. Most users

demand an "operator friendly" process which can be

operated without serious worker safety hazards and

depend on the chemicals supplier for assistance in

operator training and technical support. Consequently,

many suppliers have tailored their product offering to

conform to these demands and to provide a better

value for the customer.

107a

Black finishes are gaining in popularity because

they add value to iron or steel components in the

following ways:

CORROSION RESISTANCE. A black oxide

finish will withstand up to 200 hrs of neutral salt spray

(ASTM B117) or several hundred hours of humidity

(ASM D1748), depending on the sealant used. The

sealant is primarily responsible for the corrosion

resistance while the underlying black coating acts as an

absorbent base, holding the sealant in contact with the

metal substrate. The result is a strong, resistant

barrier against atmospheric humidity and corrosion.

PRODUCT APPEAL. The satiny smooth black

oxide finish is attractive as well as durable, a

combination required by more companies in highly

competitive markets.

DIMENSIONAL UNIFORMITY AND

STABILITY. Tooling, machine components and other

parts manufactured to precise dimensions cannot

tolerate the variable thickness of electroplating or the

excessive thickness of paint. Black oxide finishes have a

uniform, negligible thickness.

ECONOMICAL. Compared to nearly all other

finishes, black oxide finishes can applied at

significantly lower operating costs.

A black coating can be formed on steel parts in

certain types of heat treating processes. However, most

blackening is done after the heat treat cycle in order to

give the best control over the results on a variety of

alloys. The three types of blackening processes in

common use are:

1. COPPER/SELENIUM BLACKENING. This

process uses a room-termperature, acidic bath to form

a clack copper selenide (CuSe) coating. Reaction times

are generally one to two min.

108a

2. CAUSTIC BLACK OXIDING. A caustic

soda bath of 6-8 lb per gai and operating at 285F

produces a black iron magnetic coating in 10-20 min.

3. STEAM BLUING. This method utilizes a

pressure reaction vessel. The parts are sealed inside,

heated to 600-800F and steam is injected into the

vessel. The chemical reaction forms a black iron

magnetite Fe, O on the surface in about 10-20 min.

Each of the three processes has widely varying

heat and chemical requirement that can enhance or

detract to the value adding qualities of the finish.

Though the exact chemical compound on the

surface varies between the three methods described, all

deposit a coating that chemically becomes a part of the

steel surface. The coating thickness is a negligible

0.000030 inch. However, the property that is essential

to the performance of any black coating is its porosity

and ability to absorb a subsequent coating of other

corrosion inhibitor.

PROCESS DESIGN. Though the basic

consequence of the process line is usually very

predictable, individual steps can be influenced by

factors related to parts design and work flow patterns.

Some of the more common factors are:

¢Mix of alloys used, hardness and reactivity.

Condition of the surface prior to blackening

for example ,type of metalworking fluids used, or

presence of oxides such as rust, heat treat scale or

machining fines.

¢Volume of parts produced per shift.

Method of parts handling (racks, baskets,

conveyors).

¢eRequirements of the final finish in terms of

appearance, gloss and level of corrosion resistance.

109a

The tank layout can take several forms to

accommodate any of the factors listed above. Because

conditions vary widely from one plant to the next,

individual steps in the blackening process can be quite

different. Few lines are exactly the same. For example,

many parts are not rusty prior to blackening and may

require only degreasing in order to be ready for

blackening. If there is pre-existing rust or other oxides,

the blackening line should contain a provision for

removing them. Many hardened or high-alloy steels

require chemical activation prior to blackening in

order to ensure a good bond between substrate and

finish. If the parts are difficult to clean due to the

presence of heavy grease or other deep-drawing

compounds, this should be reflected in the line in the

form of heavy duty cleaning stations.

By taking all these various aspects into

consideration the blackening line can be designed to do

several jobs and produce high-quality finishes while

allowing the work to flow smoothly through the

system.

Let's look at the individual steps in a blackening

line.

1. CLEANING. Parts must be cleaned of

metalworking fluids prior to blackening. Acceptable

methods include alkaline detergent soak cleaning,

spray cleaning, electrocleaning, solvent degreasing and

***plasting. Each has its own advantages. Water

soluble coolants and cutting oils, for example ,are

removed in an alkaline detergent soak. Insoluble

particles such as carbon soot or machining fines come

off best in electrocleaners, spray cleaners or agitated

soak cleaners. Abrasive blasting is best for removing

rust, heat treat scale or mill scale. the detergent soak

110a

cleaner is preferred because it does a thorough

cleaning job and is not hazardous or costly to operate.

2. RINSING. A clean water rinse between two

adjacent chemical tanks is a must in any finishing line.

Ordinary tap water is all that is needed. Successful

operation depends on proper chemical balance of each

bath with a minimum of contamination by previous

baths. Most baths in the line can absorb some

carryover without a loss in performance, but gross

contamination must be avoided for best results.

The recommended rinse is provided by a

bottom-fed water tank with an overflow through at

trough at the top, fed by one to three gpm. The flow

rate will depend on the type of cleaning solution the

parts carry out. Higher cleaner concentrations require

higher flow rates. Likewise, high-density or

bulk-handling methods such as basket or barrel

processing may require higher flow rates than racked

parts or multiple rinses.

The condition of the rinse water can be

monitored by pH or conductivity and the flow rate

adjusted accordingly.

3. ACTIVATION. The steel surface must be in

a reactive state, so that it is chemically receptive to the

blackening reaction. Only then is it possible to deposit

a black coating that is uniformly adherent and of

acceptable quality.

The main function of activators is minor oxide

removal and adjustment of the pH of the surface.

There is always a small amount of residual alkaline salt

and wetting agent left in the microscopic pores of the

metal after cleaning.

Neu’ ralizing these salts with mild acid aids in

initiating the blackening reaction since the blackening

llla

solution itself is a mild acid. If the blackening solution

is forced to neutralize residual alkaline salts, the main

reaction will be delayed and possibly altered enough to

significantly reduce the quality of the deposit. A

surface with a mildly acidic pH factors the

development of a tight bond between metal and

coating.

In many cases, degreasing in an alkaline

cleaning solution is all that is required, especially if the

metal is a fairly reactive variety. A general rule is that

reactivity of the metal is lower when the alloy is higher

or the surface is harder or smoother. Thus. high-speed

steels are less reactive than medium-carbon tools Steels,

and the latter are less reactive that low-carbon

machined steel. Some less reactive steels will not

blacken properly unless their reactivity levels are

increased with an activator.

4. RINSING. The final rinse is very important.

Because the blackening solution depends on chemical

activity and balance significant contamination of the

blackening bath can result in poor quality coatings. It

is important that this rinse tank be kept as clean as

possible in order to minimize the possibility of

contamination.

5. BLACKENING. This is usually a time

operation, especially in cold blackening liens, in which

the solutions react very rapidly-30-90 sec. Hot oxide

solutions usually require dwell times of several

minutes. Longer times may be beneficial in some cases,

if confirmed by testing. Since the blackening chemicals

(hot or cold represent 70 pct of the overall chemical

cost of the line, it is always advisable to try to

minimize chemical usage by using the shortens

immersion time that will do the job.

112a

6. SEALING. Usually, a light oil or

dry-to-touch sealant is used to displace water and seal

out atmospheric humidity. Many different types are

manufactured. Most are available in either solvent or

water-borne versions. Generally, solvent-borne sealants

have inherently better resistance to humidity than

water-borne products. For this reason it is important

to choose the sealant appropriate to the intended

service life of the component. the manufacturer of the

rust preventative can offer guidelines in this regard.

Depending on the processing steps used, the

entire cycle usually takes 10-30 min. Once sealed, parts

are ready to proceed directly to the next operation.

Even though blackening uses acidic solutions at

times, hydrogen embrittlement is rarely a problem.

GETTING HIGHER QUALITY

By following a few rules, the user can expect

high-quality finishing with part uniformity and

consistency from part-to-part.

1. Cleaning is the most important step. the best

way to judge the effectiveness of the cleaner is to watch

the parts as they come out of the following rinse. Parts

should be uniformiy wet. If the water beads up at all,

it usually indicates residual oil on the surface.

2. Keep rinse tanks clean to minimize

carry-over and cross-contamination of baths.

3. When immersing the parts in the blackening

bath, allow them to come to a uniform gray/black

color, then rinse and seal. the sealant will darken the

coating to a full black. this technique minimizes

chemical consumption and costs.

4. Maintain all solutions on schedule and keep a

log of all additions and maintenance.

ll3a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MINNESOTA

THIRD DIVISION

Insty*Bit, Inc.,

Plaintiff

Civil No. 3-94-1427

vs. Judge Richard H. Kyle

AFFIDAVIT OF

EDWARD L. QUIRING

Poly-Tech Industries, Inc.,

Defendant.

STATE OF MINNESOTA

SS

COUNTY OF HENNEPIN

I, Edward L. Quiring, being first duly sworn

upon oath, depose and state as follows:

Re My name is Edward L. Quiring and I am

the principal of Defendant Poly-Tech Industries, Inc. in

the above captioned matter.

2. As an_ educational background, I

graduated from Bethel College located in St. Paul,

Minnesota, in 1954 with. an Associate of Arts degree.

Following my graduation from Bethel I enrolled in the

University of Minnesota pursing a course in Liberal

lida

Arts which I later changed to Mechanical Engineering.

I graduated from the University of Minnesota with at

Senior Certificate in Mechanical Engineering which I

received in approximately 1958.

Between 1956 and 1958 I was employed with

Northern Ordinance located in Fridley, Minnesota, in

the Engineering Test Department. My duties at

Northern Ordinance involved designing test apparatus

for equipment manufactured by the company for

resale.

I began purchasing metal working equipment

for starting my own business in approximately 1957.

Shortly thereafter, I initiated efforts to advertise my

ability to assist individuals in developing and

producing products.

. In 1962 [invented a meat tenderizing

attachment for a hand-held electric food mixer which

received U.S. Letters Patent No. 3,066,350. This

patent was granted on December 4, 1962.

For two years I worked with Nu-Line

Industries, Inc. in Minneapolis, Minnesota as a design

and manufacturing engineer. My duties with Nu-Line

involved designing electrical connectors according to

military specifications and overseeing the

manufacturing processes, from raw bar stock into

finished products.

In 1959, myself along with my father-in-law

started a metal forming subcontract business identified

as Diversco Industries. Diversco designed and

115a

manufactured tooling, developed manufacturing

methods, and manufactured parts according to

customer specifications. _ the types of parts

manufactured varied from water weld points to pilot

tubes for supersonic military aircraft.

4. In February 1962 I began a precision

screw machine shop identified as Poly Tech Industries,

Inc. Since 1962 Poly-Tech Industries has performed

machine shop manufacturing services for businesses

identified as Control Data Corporation, Honeywell

IBM, UFE, and Toro. In the precision screw machine

Shop business a _ customer normally will solicit

competitive production bids. It is essential therefore to

submit a bid which is high enough to make a profit but

not so high where the work is lost to a competitor's

bid. The machining of metals is an exact science

governed by well known speeds and feeds. Simply

Stated, since the cutting speeds and feeds do not

change, the most. practical way to underbid a

competitor is to make the part in less time.

Manufacturing a part in less time requires ingenuity in

combining and overlapping machining operations, and

eliminating unnecessary handling. In certain situations

design changes may be implemented to eliminate

unnecessary handling which the customer will approve.

S. In 1982 Poly-Tech Industries began to

manufacture and market a tool used by mechanics,

identified as the Poly-Punch having U.S. Patent No.

4,355,466 which was invented by my son, Michael

Quiring. I have attached to this Affidavit a photocopy

of his patent as Exhibit 23. This tool continues to be

sold by Poly-Tech Industries today. We have used

methods such as national mailing, exhibition at the

ll6a

National Machine Tool Builder's Show, and sales calls

to distributors such as Armstrong Tool, Matco, and

Mac Tools to sell this tool. I have attached to this

Affidavit a photograph of a Poly-Tech Poly-Punch as

Exhibit 25 which shows that the tool is formed and

treated with black oxide and incorporates a

combination of knurling-band-knurling features on the

body of the handle to assist an individual in grasping.

The band on the handle is provided to permit the

marketing identification of Poly-Punch along with the

U.S. patent number.

6. In the middle of 1988 Poly-Tech was

approached by Jim Wienhold to manufacture parts for

a quick-release chuck. At that time Mr. Wienhold was

made aware that Poly-Tech Industries was

manufacturing parts for Honeywell, IBM, UFE,

Control Data, and Mercury Minnesota. Starting in

1988 Poly-Tech made component parts for a

quick-release chuck. These parts were supplied to Mr.

Wienhold along with an invoice. Mr. Wienhold then

assembled these parts into completed products. The

parts were fabricated by the cutting of raw bar stock

into the component parts on single and multi-spindle

screw machines. I have attached to this Affidavit as

Exhibit 16 a description of the features and general

operation of a multi-spindle screw machine.

7. Beginning in 1989, Poly-Tech began to

purchase some of the assembled products back from

Mr. Wienhold for resale. Poly-Tech operated its sales

business as separate from the job shop machining

business. In 1989 in order to facilitate the sales of

products which Poly-Tech had purchased from Mr.

117a

Wienhold, Poly-Tech expended time and money to

develop and design the art work and packaging for

point-of-sale display of the quick-release products.

Poly-Tech Industries did not receive any direction or

control from Mr. Wienhold with respect to the art

work or packaging to be utilized at the point-of-sale for

the quick-release products. Since 1988 Poly-Tech

Industries Inc. has never had a written agreement of

any sort with Jim Wienhold or Insty*Bit.

7. Beginning in 1990 Poly-Tech would

attend trade shows to facilitate sales of products which

had been purchased from Mr. Wienhold. Poly-Tech

Industries did not receive any direction or instructions

or restrictions from Mr. Wienhold with respect to

resale activity of the products which had _ been

previously purchased for resale. Woodworking trade

Shows occurred almost on a weekly basis which were

attended by Poly-Tech in order to sell quick- release

chuck products. At a typical trade show Poly-Tech

would sell products to consumers and would solicit

distributors such as hardware stores and/or

representatives for sales to distributors. Poly-Tech

attended trade shows throughout the country and

initiated efforts to establish a national distribution

chain with respect to products purchased from Mr.

Wienhold. During this period or time Poly-Tech

Industries Inc. expended a substantial amount _f

money in travel expenses and time to convince a

distributor to carry a product line of the quick-release

chuck and related accessories. Samples of products

were provided for testing and _ evaluation to

distributors, contracts were negotiated and personal

contacts were made in order to facilitate the sale of the

quick-release chuck products through the national

118a

distribution system as developed by Poly-Tech

Industries. Poly-Tech Industries also attended trade

shows where Poly-Tech communicated that territories

were available for manufacturing reps for sale of

quick-release products. Mr. Wienhold during this

entire period of time knew that Poly-Tech was

attempting to establish a national distribution chain

and that Poly-Tech was soliciting manufacturers reps

for dealers and hardware stores throughout the

country. During this period Mr. Wienhold was aware

of the existence and identity of the Poly-Tech

manufacturers reps and the acquisition and identity of

Poly-Tech's dealers and customers throughout the

country.

8. Beginning in approximately 1991 Mr.

Wienhold initiated efforts to establish his own

distribution chain for his quick-release chuck products.

During this period of time Wienhold's manufacturers

reps would place calls on Poly-Tech's dealers and

hardware stores communicating that the dealers and

hardware stores were now required to purchase

quick-release products directly from the Wienhold

manufacturer reps who had _= an_— exclusive

distributorship with respect to that territory. The

Wienhold manufacturing reps would communicate to

the Poly-Tech dealers and hardware stores that they

did not have the ability to buy any further product

from Poly-Tech. On numerous occasions I challenged

Jim Wienhold with respect to this unfair business

practice. On almost every occasion I was advised that

the customers had the right to purchase products from

whomever they chose. At that time I was concerned

that Mr. Wienhold would refuse to sell to Poly-Tech

the quick-release chuck do to his ownership of his two

119a

U.S. Patents, Nos. 4,900,202 and 5,013,194. It is my

understanding that Mr. Wienhold as a patent holder is

not obligated to sell his patented product to any

individual or business.

Between 1991 and late 1993 Mr. Wienhold's

exclusive sales representatives effectively stole all of

Poly-Tech's dealers and hardware stores throughout

the country with the exception of the areas of Ohio,

New York, and New Jersey.

Poly-Tech Industries had expended thousands of

dollars establishing and building accounts, dealers,

distributors, and manufacturing reps which were lost

to the unfair business practices of Jim Wienhold and

his exclusive territorial manufacturing reps.

9. Between the period of 1989 through 1991

Poly-Tech created at their own expense the packaging

for the Insty*Bit products and, the advertising

point-of-sale cards for the Insty*Bit products.

Poly-Tech incurred these expenses in order to promote

their own sales activities.

Jim Wienhold and Insty*Bit have utilized all of

Poly-Tech's point-of-sale advertising, catalogs, and

packaging from 1989 and continue to utilize the

point-of-sale displays and advertising point-of-sale

cards.

10. In 1992 I initiated engineering efforts to

invent a new type of quick-release chuck. I was

successful in my efforts. The quick-release chuck which

I invented includes significant advancements with

respect to the internal mechanism of grasping a

120a

standard ANSI B107.4 hex shank work piece. One of

the unique features of my invention concerned the

ability to insert the industry standard hex shank of a

workpiece into the chuck without the prior retraction

of the sleeve for locking engagement of the workpiece.

My invention permits one-handed insertion of the hex

shank of a workpiece for locking engagement to the

quick-release chuck. All other known quick-release

chucks require the sliding sleeve to be physically

moved during the insertion of the tool requiring two

handed operation. The internal mechanism for my

quick- release chuck is quite unique as may be seen in

Exhibit 7. During the fall of 1993 my attorney filed a

patent application for my invention related to the

quick-release chuck. This patent appiication has been

approved by the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office

and I have received a Notice of Allowance and Issue

Fee Payment Notice Due which I have paid. I

anticipate the issuance of a U.S. Patent concerning my

invention related to the quick-release chuck sometime

in May of 1995. I have attached to this Affidavit a

Notice of Allowance concerning my invention related to

the quick-release chuck. (Exhibit 4)

11. Poly-Tech designed the clamshell

packaging for the quick-release drill chuck and its

related accessories in 1990. At that time Poly-Tech

designed the clamshell package to have a removable

insert in order to accommodate either quick-release

chucks, countersinks, or drill guides. Poly-Tech

industries paid approximately $2300 for the tooling for

this clamshell package. The tooling for the

quick-release chuck and related accessories purchased

by PolyTech from Jim Wienhold was transported to a

12la

plastic vacuum former which sold the formed packages

to Poly-Tech for nesting of the quick-release chuck and

related accessories. At that time a sticker was placed

upon the package which indicated Insty*Bit as well as

Poly-Tech Industries as a source of origin for the

goods. I have attached to this Affidavit a photocopy of

the advertising sticker utilized in 1990 as Exhibit 27.

At all times during the period between 1988 and 1994

Poly-Tech Industries was responsible for their own

advertising, their own brochures, their own order

forms and all of their own methods of doing business.

During the period between 1990 and 1994 Jim

Wienhold/Insty*Bit purchased from Poly-Tech the

header card for point-of-sale display advertising of the

Insty*Bit quick-release chuck and related accessories.

12. Attached to this Affidavit are

photographs of a Martindell Quick-Release Chuck,

Patent No.4,692,073. (Exhibit 20) This quick-release

chuck was first patented in 1987 or approximately one

year prior to the filing date of Mr. Wienhold's patent.

This quick-release chuck is manufactured by Advance

and is sold by Vermont America and Craftsman.

Exhibit 1 shows photographs of the Advance, Vermont

America, Craftsman and Manindell quick-release

chucks. As may be seen in the attached photographs,

this chuck is black and is approximately the same size

and has the same characteristics as the Wienhold

quick-release chuck.

13. Beginning in approximately 1990 Mr.

Wienhold initiated efforts to sell. his quick-release

chuck products through private labeling. Private label

122a

offerings occurred through Milwaukee, Malco,

Lawson, ATO, Porter-Cable, Irwin/American Tool,

and Triumph. PolyTech requested that they be

permitted to sell quick-release products under a private

label which Mr. Wienhold has continuously refused to

grant.

14. Since 1988 Poly-Tech Industries,

following their purchase of assembled quick- release

chucks and related products has been able to set their

own price with respect to the resale of these items to

ultimate consumers. Poly-Tech Industries has been

under absolutely no control with respect to the resale

price to be charged consumers.

Poly-Tech Industries purchased quick-release

chucks and related accessories from Jim Wienhold

based upon the following formula. A first discount

price is 40% off the list price for the item. The 40%

discount is fairly standard practice in the industry.

This first discount price is normally provided to a

purchaser such as a hardware store. A wholesaler

purchasing a product normally receives an additional

discount price of 25% off. An example of a wholesaler

would typically be Hardware Hank or United

Hardware. An OEM purchaser would receive an

additional 25% the price provided to a wholesales.

Poly-Tech was able to acquire products from Wienhold

at the OEM price of 40% less 25% less 25%. One of

the reasons why Poly-Tech received the OEM price was

due to the fact that Poly-Tech had permitted Mr.

Wienhold/Insty*Bit to use and utilize Poly-Tech's

clamshell packaging for the Insty*Bit products.

123a

15. During the period between 1990 and

1994 Poly-Tech Industries attended trade shows in

order to sell quick-release chucks and _ related

accessories. The trade shows occurred on almost a

weekly basis. On numerous occasions during this

period Jim Wienhold/Insty*Bit indicated that he did

not have sufficient inventory of products to Satisfy

Poly-Tech's needs for sales at the weekly trade shows.

The expenses for reservation of a booth at a trade show

were substantial and were incurred on a normal basis

many months prior to the show date. Normally the

expenses for a trade booth at a show are not

refundable. Poly-Tech Industries was then forced into

a situation where they were required to, at their own

expense, carry inventory of component parts in order

to avoid the waste of resources with respect to not

having product available for sale at the weekly trade

Shows. If Jim Wienhold/Insty*Bit was short of

inventory, then Poly-Tech would provide to Jim

Wienhold a portion of Poly-Tech's extra inventory

which would be assembled by Mr. Wienhold into

component products for sale at the weekly trade show.

Over time, Jim Wienhold/Insty*Bit began to rely upon

Poly-Tech's inventory which was carried at

Poly-Tech's expense. On numerous occasions Jim

Wienhold/Insty*Bit due to their own failure of advance

planning, would be short of inventory and would

request immediate delivery of parts in order to fulfill

an order. Poly-Tech Industries, Inc. lost substantia]

amounts of money by carrying inventory at their own

expense. However, this business practice was

necessitated in order to insure that an adequate volume

of products would be available for sale at the weekly

trade shows.

124a

16. The manufacturing of parts from raw

metal stock usually occurs through the rotation of a

bar of raw stock within a multi-spindle screw machine.

The size and dimensions for the quick-release chuck

are selected for purely functional reasons. An increase

in the size of the diameter of the sleeve or hub for the

quick-release chuck increases the time required for a

multi-spindle screw machine to "cut" each part which

results in increased costs for time and materials. As the

circumference of the part increases the rotation of the

part within the screw machine is required to be

reduced in order to avoid the burnout of either the tool

used for cutting the part or the part itself. These

considerations are known as speeds and feeds in the

industry. An increase in diameter of a metallic part

which is rotated within a screw machine, necessitates

the slowing down of the rotational cycle time for the

part which reduces the volume of products that can be

manufactured in a given amount of time. The

manufacturing expense is then increased compared to

the cost for the production of an identical volume of

products. The diameter of the sleeve is therefore based

upon the cost versus time considerations in light of the

inherent durability of the metal exposed to the

machining process.

The inclusion of flat surfaces on round surfaces

parts is called either broaching or milling.

17. The manufacturing steps for cutting

parts for a quick-release chuck is a moderately

complicated procedure. At the first position of a screw

machine the cylindrical shape of the hub and shank is

formed. Simultaneously at the first position the hole

Manin aie niece co

125a

for the hexagonal shape is machined into the hub and a

chamfered surface is applied to the leading edge of the

hub. These machining operations occur at the first

position which eliminates the necessity of extra

manufacturing time. The broaching of the hex-shaped

bore occurs simultaneously with the formation of the

outer diameter dimensions for the hub and shank

portions.

In the next operation, flats are applied to the

shank through a milling process. The flats are applied

with the milling cutter which travels across the length

of the shank putting a flat surface on the shank. As the

part is indexed, another flat surface is applied to the

Shank and so on until the desired number of flats have

been produced.

The placement of a hexagonal shape upon the

Shank is an extremely costly and inefficient process. In

order to form a hex shape on the shank, two milling

machines are required to be exactly aligned and

positioned on opposite sides of the shank during the

milling process. The shank then receives two flat

surfaces simultaneously, requiring the use of two

oppositely aligned milling cutters for milling the flat

surfaces. In addition, the two cutters are required to

traverse the shank simultaneously and must be exactly

aligned with the center of the hole through the hub.

Otherwise, the result will be wobble during the final

use of the quick-release chuck product. It is very

difficult and extremely inefficient to place six flat

surfaces on a shank. The inclusion of three flat

surfaces on a shank reduces wobble, eliminates

slippage in a drill chuck, increases the utility of the

126a

part, and reduces the cost by eliminating utilization of

dual cutters, and manufacturing time. In addition,

there is no reason to require six flat surfaces on the

shank of.a quick-release chuck in that only three of the

surfaces are to be gripped by the three jaws of a

standard jacobs-style chuck for an electric drill. The

inclusion of two flat surfaces would reduce the utility

of the invention in that the two flats would be off

center the minute you put the shank into the three jaws

of a standard jacobs-style drill chuck. If a shank

including only two flat surfaces was placed within a

standard jacobs-style three jaw chuck, a mismatch

would occur which would reduce the grasping and

placement of the quick-release chuck off center with

respect to the drill.

A second operation of a screw machine occurs

after the part has fallen off the bar stock and is taken

to a subsequent machine for further operations.

It is desirable in the manufacturing process to

eliminate as many operations as possible to reduce the

manufacturing time. As the number of operations to be

performed on a given part increases, so does the cost,

due to further manual and machine times required for

completion of the part.

The leading edge of the hub is chamfered so

that the sleeve will be able to pop on to the hub without

catching on the front circular corner. The chamfer

leading edge assists in die engagement between the hub

which is within the inside of the sleeve and the sleeve.

A chamfered leading edge exists on the hub in order to

eliminate a square leading edge. In addition, the

127a

chamfer on the leading edge of the hub eliminates

Sharp edges and provides a smooth edge for fingers

This portion of the hub is always going to be touched

by the human hand; therefore it is desirable to get rid

of as many sharp edges as possible in order to

minimize risk of injuries to individuals.

17. Approximately two days is required to

set up a _ =miulti-spindle screw machine for

manufacturing of component parts. Therefore the

minimum volume of parts usually required for

manufacturing in order to economically justify a

two-day set up time for a multi-spindle screw machine

is approximately five to fifteen thousand parts.

The size of the sleeve is dictated by functional

concerns. The sleeve is required to be as small as

possible so that it does not get in the way of the

operator during use of a tool In addition, the sleeve is

required to include a sufficient wall thickness between

the interior diameter and exterior diameter, which is

dictated by the dimension of the outer diameter of the

hub. The sleeve is required to have a sufficient

thickness so that it does not fracture or fail during the

marking process which leaves about a .050 inch wall.

Otherwise, any thinner wall would be breached upon

the application of the marking to the sleeve. A thicker

wall of the sleeve necessitates the slowing down of cycle

times because the part is required to turn slower

during the machining process which increases the cost

of manufacturing and necessitates the use and waste of

raw materials and increases the manufacturing time.

Therefore, to compensate for increased costs, the

128a

expense for a particular part would be required to be

increased.

18. During the manufacturing process the

entire outside diameter of the sleeve is knurled prior to

the cutting of the sleeve from the bar stock.

Simultaneously with the knurling of the entire exterior

of the sleeve, a bore is drilled into the rearward or

trailing edge of the sleeve. A collet is utilized to grasp

the bar stock on a multi-spindle screw machine. The

collet allows the bar stock to be slid through the collet

during the manufacturing process and additionally

permits the bar stock to be spun during the application

of operations during the manufacturing processes.

At the second step of the first operation, a band

of smooth surface is removed from the entire knurled

portion of the exterior diameter of the sleeve.

Simultaneously within the second step, the bore

through the sleeve is increased in diameter. At the

third position the bore is further increased in diameter.

At the fourth position the bore is increased to the

desired inner dimensions for the sleeve. The chamfer

leading front edge of the sleeve is _ piaced

simultaneously with the fourth position. The last

position is the location where the sleeve is cut from the

bar stock or "parted".

19. The diameter of the sleeve for the

quick-release chuck is as a small as possible while

simultaneously retaining enough material to have

strength and function without fail. The selection of the

diameter of the sleeve is functionally dictated by the

manufacturing process for utilization of the least

129a

amount of stock and maximizing the production of the

highest volume of parts in a given period of time.. The

length of the sleeve is dictated by functional

considerations and is as short as possible to minimize

the protrusion of the quick-release chuck from the

chuck of a drill. The more the quick-release chuck

protrudes from the end of a drill, the more likely the

quick-release chuck is to be clumsy, reducing its utility.

During the chamfering and cutting off process

of a part from bar stock, if the collet is engaged to only

a portion of the part, the cutoff tool tends to knock the

part out of location causing a wobble. If the part has

not been cut off squarely, the chamfering tool places a

large chamfer on one side of the part and a smaller

chamfer on the other side of the part. In order to

obtain even tolerances and a correct chamfer, it is

optimal to have either the entire exterior surface of the

sleeve knurled or have two bands of knurling so that

the colleting process can grasp the part evenly. This

maximizes the grasping of the collet to the part and

minimizes error in tolerances and facilitates the

concentric grasp of the collet to the part. It also

promotes the ability to obtain even tolerances and

reduces waste of machine time, waste of materials, and

improves the manufacturing process.

A sleeve is gripped by the collet on the outside

diameter in order to attempt to maximize the

concentric grip. If the grasping area of the collet is

shortened, it tends to allow the part to wobble during

the cutting machining step and if wobbling occurs

during the part

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Appendix Vol I — Poly-Tech Industries, Inc. v. InstyBit, Inc. · 519 U.S. 1151 | Frix