Petition for Writ of Certiorari — South Carolina v. Environmental Technology Council

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

\) 961102 san 101997

No. —= 196 OF THE CLERK

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA; Davip M. BEASLEY, Gov-

ernor of the State of South Carolina; DouGtas E.

BRYANT, Commissioner of the South Carolina Depart-

ment of Health and Environmental Control; SouTH

CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRON-

MENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH CAROLINA BOARD OF

HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL,

Petitioners,

Vv.

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

CHARLES MOLONY CONDON CHARLES F. LETTOw *

Attorney General MICHAEL A. MAzzuUCHI

KENNETH P. WooDINGTON TIMOTHY A. VOGEL

Senior Assistant CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN &

Attorney General HAMILTON

Post Office Box 11549 yr nreage N.W.

Columbia, South Carolina 29211 ashington, D.C. 20036

(803) 734-3680 (202) 728-2700

Attorneys for the State Attorneys for Petitioners

of South Carolina * Counsel of Record

[ Additional Attorneys Continued on Inside Cover]

POPE LILLE ATCT LO IAI TENSE RIE AMET RDN AMT TIS BE Sead “"}

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001 ~

CARLISLE ROBERTs, JR.

General Counsel

JACQUELYN S. DICKMAN

Assistant General Counsel

2600 Bull Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

(808) 734-4910

Attorneys for Commissioner,

South Carolina Department

of Health and

Environmental Control; and

South Carolina Board of

Health and Environmental

Control

January 10, 1997

TREVA G. ASHWORTH

Deputy Attorney General

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(808) 734-8680

Attorney for David M. Beasley,

Governor of the State of

South Carolina

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Congress has displaced dormant Commerce

Clause precepts with respect to state hazardous waste pro-

grams that are approved by the Environmental Protection

Agency under the Resource Conservation and Recovery

Act upon satisfaction of a “consistency” test that includes

criteria for evaluating effects on interstate commerce, which

State programs operate “in lieu” of federal law.

2. Whether South Carolina’s neutral cap on disposal

of hazardous waste by burial and requirement that the

need for a new treatment facility be demonstrated by

reference to wastes generated in-state should be sustained,

whatever criteria for adjudging effects on interstate com-

merce are applied.

3. Whether a court, uncertain as to the meaning or

application of a federal agency’s statutory authority and

implementing regulations, should refer issues of their in-

terpretation to the agency under the doctrine of primary

jurisdiction.

4. Whether the court of appeals erred in employing

an abuse-of-discretion standard rather than a de novo

standard for review of the district court’s denial on legal

grounds of a motion for referral under the primary juris-

diction doctrine.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

The Sierra Club, Energy Research Foundation, Citizens

for Clean Air and Water, Environmentalists, Inc., and

Citizens Asking for a Safe Environment (CASE) inter-

vened as defendants in this case in the district court. These

intervening defendants were also appellants in the court

of appeals.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........... i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEED! DE wetness cca e ii

Spence ssics bevipnasecty. gh OO RE LEE ES) 2

spas snsips aspera tags Ee oT REO ER OER OE ED 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES AND

REGULATIONS INVOLVED... 2

seb cep tgospeane one Syl Be OEE ENE OR ED eee 2

The federal MeeMoyreeime 4

South Carolina’s corresponding regulatory pro-

AMIEL cnsnnes ovnvenomsitrowtoontcomsicecesauerencvensian- stpetuieiese serecocee pos... 6

ie quot acsiray oN tT Ee aE 10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ..._. 12

A. Congress’ Exercised Commerce Power... 15

SO oe EEE NE ie BE RET OE 16

TO se i 18

3. The effect of EPA’s regulations ...............__ 19

i cee aa a pl 24

B. Neutral Provisions In South Carolina’s Pro-

sso nana, peaneeg Ce Ce TONE SOT 26

C. Referral to EPA Under the Primary Jurisdic-

ee crear, fe EE a 28

PN sdicalen nttense nce 30

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

BP PTIE. Do csivisesicsiticiesins onivaledsteasticcdicl bated aapibaabaaaions la

BPP BD siecitisini satire tiistcabaraibicanbegcttenns capcliasensbadinnatchae . 3a

APPENDIX C ................. sis hinhecnepannipatiaseceieibachenidia wad lvabaaabaie 50a

BPP es BP setihincnntccsinnetusrarreniiasiacnacametbcneatians 80a

APPIN Boss Ak otitis Gea Oh 105a

PP RAG TE © sicinineinchigninsertasnicenddeaisdeniscuiaa bapa titdccnavets 108a

PX gw 121 bE t EERRR eee inlanaiinn onal Reotenn Sous: nediy mreeekrmntt ese 109a

BEET i a scisienicer- cease ns tanpterieethinsinticaaiiaptairieea Segasboeionaral 110a

GE sich ecicuisterchG amcncannditiggombaaniouinndsesinn eubmciaies 123a

BET URAIES ©. sastiinsnvrndintibaedagianickieionmnite 125a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Blackwelder Furniture Co. v. Seilig Mfg. Co., 550

F.2d 189 (4th Cir. MOTE E cei es yee cs 10

C&A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown, 511

deca sPingcecthe aches, Ne eT RS Ma 13, 19, 25

City of Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 427 U.S. 617

selathing Loree EEOC NN I RT RT 6

Chemical Waste Mgmt. v. Hunt, 504 U.S. 384

CRONIN cererrnccenicnsient ct yee 13, 14, 25, 26

Cooley v. Board of Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.)

We AOE iets nus a 15

Fort Gratiot Sanitary Landfill, Inc. v. Michigan

Dep’t of Natural Resources, 504 U.S. 358

(1992) ...... ianewinhsnibe lapbiootistinscbeiiimmainicctaien ccc cs 13

Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v. Reilly,

938 F.2d 1890 (D.C. Cir. RUE due 29

Hughes v. Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322 CITE Y asec: 15

Massachusetts v. Blackstone Valley Elec. Co., 67

F.3d 981 (1st Cir. SED coi. ene |S es 14, 15, 30

Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 180

Stang pee ee Mente SNES CR ee ate 13, 15, 20, 21, 23

Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea

Clammers Ass’n, 458 U.S. 1 CURE os RS 29

New England Power Co. v. New Hampshire, 455

Wray Wwe SOMOMY Sos ch onsec ears et 24

Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Governors of

the Fed. Reserve Sys., 472 U.S. 159 (1985) ....18, 15, 16,

22, 23

Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. County of Kent, 510

CR OOS (200K) cies te as 14, 21, 25, 29

Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v. Department of

Envtl. Quality, 511 U.S. 93 CEOMO) sc hok 13

Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 187 (1970) .... 28

CRT Y iii isc litical Pa RE 14, 29

ve Span Lospeca, | Se EEE ee 15, 18, 22, 24

Southern Pacifie Co. v. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761

eh A ENO NE TSE Ca 15

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

White v. Massachusetts Council of Constr. Em-

ployers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204 (1988) ............... 18, 15, 21, 28

Constitutional Provision

i Be” GO eR & eRe eipieeer ance passim

Federal Statutes

Rik Tate B11 Sb SRROMREM CRON CREE? Bea IR ATI 2

EE The ARRAN tae ors iE RS re OR Nay 10

Anti-Head Tax Act, 49 U.S.C. § 1513(b) —.............. 25

Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7411(c) (1995) ............... 25

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compen-

sation, and Liability Act of 1980, as amended

(“CERCLA”), 42 U.S.C. $§ 9601-9675 (1995)... 2

Section 104(c) (9), 42 U.S.C. § 9604(c) (9)....2, 5, 18

Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide

Act, 7 U.S.C. § 136w-1 (1980 & Supp. 1996) ...... 25

Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 83 U.S.C.

§ 1842(c) (1). (Sapp. 1906) ....2...ccccccccc.ecccsesesonsees 25

Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42 U.S.C. § 6991c(d) (2)

CSD ies iitd on ncsccthatiisctennnsiiaunmipiim ne tanbatiaiial tiie ie 25

Surface Mining Contro] and Reclamation Act, 30

U.S.C. §§ 1235, 1253 (1986 & Supp. 1996)........ 25

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976,

as amended (“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. §§ 6901-6992k

CROGBD sicditceteec Shh Bis cei a ee. 2

Section 1002(b) (7)-(8), 42 U.S.C. § 6901

Cd CED aOR init ais cialis... esa a 8

Section 3004, 42 U.S.C. § 6924 0.00... 8

Section 3006, 42 U.S.C. § 6926 ......... passim

Section 3009, 42 U.S.C. § 6929 ........ 0. 18

Federal Regulations and Related Materials

ee AY |, MEE EI cee TERETE re eos s 4

GO CF ie a Bite te iG ae ies 4

9B Gar ak SD etnies passim

40 GPR. Se ee a? Siti eee: 23

45 Fed. Reg. 38,290 (May 19, 1980) ...........000. 5

50 Fed. Reg. 46,487 (November 8, 1985) ...........0........ 6,18

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

60 Fed. Reg. 42,046 Oe. STUN) 9

Memorandum from Lee M. Thomas to Regional

Administrators, “Policy Regarding Hazardous

Waste Management Capacity and RCRA Con-

sistency Issues” (December ey Se 5

State Statutes, Regulations, and Executive Orders

1989 South Carolina Act No. 196 (June 14, 1989) .. 2, 7, 9,

10

1990 South Carolina Act No. 590 (June 7, 1990)... 2, 8, 9,

10, 26

S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-60 CUED winincite terse. ae 7s 8

S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-1380 7

S.C. Code Ann. § 49-56-2050. 7

South Carolina Executive Order No. 89-17, issued

Aged &. 1900 fetibtdistnbteloiensibdgicis oo 7, 8,9

South Carolina Executive Order No. 89-25, issued

ven dion feng ee ne OE REAR a ke

South Carolina Department of Health and Envi-

ronmental Control (“DHEC”) Regulation 61-99

(January 12, oa | MRS sclera ee ae 8, 9, 10, 27

Miscellaneous

H.R. Rep. No. 1491, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. (1976)... 17

S. Rep. No. 11, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. ( eee? 19

Letter from Greer C. Tidwell, EPA Regional Ad-

ministrator for Region IV, to Michael D. Jarrett,

Director of South Carolina Department of

Health and Environmental Control (“DHEC”)

wig Sg Msgs OO LE A iia 9

ministrator for Region IV, to the Hon. Carroll

A. Campbell, Jr., Governor of South Carolina,

I NE cine 9

Opinion by T. Travis Medlock, Attorney General

NOON ROOT ces ey are 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1996

No.

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA; Davip M. BEASLEY, Gov-

ernor of the State of South Carolina; DouGLas E.

BRYANT, Commissioner of the South Carolina Depart-

ment of Health and Environmental Control; SouTH

CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRON-

MENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH CAROLINA BOARD OF

HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL,

Petitioners,

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The State of South Carolina, David M. Beasley, Gov-

ernor of the State of South Carolina, Douglas E. Bryant,

Commissioner of the South Carolina Department of

Health and Environmental Control, the South Carolina

Department of Health and Environmental Control, and

the South Carolina Board of Health and Environmental

Control (“South Carolina” or “the State”), respectfully

petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

in this case.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals is reported at 98

F.3d 774. App. la. The opinion of the district court is

reported at 901 F. Supp. 1026. App. 28a.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the court of appeals was entered on

October 15, 1996. The jurisdiction of this Court is in-

voked under 28 U.S.C § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES

AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3, provides that “The Con-

gress shall have Power . . . To regulate Commerce .. .

among the several States.”

Section 3006 of the Resource Conservation and Re-

covery Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 6926 (1995), is set

out in the Appendix at 105a-107a. Paragraph 104(c) (9)

of the Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compen-

sation, and Liability Act, as amended, 42 U.S.C. § 9604

(c)(9) (1995), is set out in the Appendix at 108a. The

Environmental Protection Agency’s “consistency” regula-

tion, 40 C.F.R. § 271.4 (1995), is set out in the Appendix

at 109a.

South Carolina Acts No. 196 of 1989 and No. 590 of

1990, Executive Orders Nos. 89-17 and 89-25, and De-

partment of Health and Environmental Control Regulation

61-99 are set out in the Appendix at 125a-147a.

STATEMENT

Exercising its power under the Commerce Clause, US.

Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3, Congress enacted the Resource

Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, as amended

(“RCRA”), 42 U.S.C. $§ 6901-6992k (1995), and the

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,

and Liability Act of 1980, as amended (“CERCLA”),

as ptetals i atin deetine As

3

42 US.C. §§ 9601-9675 (1995), to address treatment,

storage, and disposal of hazardous wastes and remediation

of contamination from hazardous substances and con-

stituents, respectively. Both RCRA and CERCLA con-

template that States will establish counterpart regulatory

programs. RCRA explicitly provides that State programs

for regulating hazardous wastes, if “consistent” with the

Federal and other State programs, shall, upon approval

by the Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”), op-

erate “in lieu” of the Federal program. RCRA § 3006,

42 U.S.C. § 6926(b).

The court of appeals’ decision in this case invalidated

on dormant Commerce Clause grounds a set of laws and

rules that are part of South Carolina’s hazardous waste

regulatory program. The court of appeals struck down

these laws and rules notwithstanding the fact that South

Carolina’s program has been approved by EPA and thus

has been found to satisfy the Statutory standard of con-

sistency established by Congress in RCRA and defined

and implemented by EPA. Despite this Court’s precedents

to the contrary, the court of appeals concluded that a fed-

eral agency’s implementing regulations and its actions

under those regulations are not to be considered in decid-

ing whether a federal statute has displaced the dormant

Commerce Clause. The court’s application of dormant

Commerce Clause analysis to South Carolina’s program,

even though it was approved by EPA under the RCRA

standard, contravenes Congress’ mandate that interstate

issues respecting hazardous waste regulatory programs be

addressed through RCRA, by EPA. In effect, the court

of appeals held that statz laws which are approved by a

federal agency under a federal statute can nonetheless be

struck down by the courts under the dormant Commerce

Clause, an unprecedented and impermissible result.

Moreover, the court of appeals struck down two provi-

sions, a neutral cap on total amounts to be landfilled and

a “needs” regulation, that match ones that have been

expressly approved by this Court as permissible under

4

the dormant Commerce Clause. Whatever standard is

applied for evaluating effects on interstate commerce,

whether derived from federal statute or dormant Com-

merce Clause jurisprudence, the court’s conclusion on

these provisions is improper and should be set aside.

The federal regulatory regime.

RCRA is a comprehensive federal statute governing

identification, listing, treatment, storage, transportation,

and disposal of hazardous wastes. In enacting RCRA,

Congress provided that States might develop their own

programs to regulate such wastes. RCRA § 3006, 42

U.S.C. § 6926(b). RCRA subjects such programs to a

standard of “consistency”: to be approved by EPA, each

State’s RCRA program must be “consistent with the Fed-

eral or State programs applicable in other States.” Id.

State programs that are approved by EPA under this

consistency requirement operate “in lieu of the Federal

program.” Jd. Thus, an approved state program operates

in place of and with the force of federal law. RCRA

§ 3006, 42 U.S.C. § 6926(d).

EPA is responsible for implementing RCRA’s statutory

mandates. EPA’s regulations for authorization of state

programs, set out in 40 C.F.R. Part 271, specify “the

procedures EPA will follow in approving, revising, and

withdrawing approval of State programs and the require-

ments State programs must meet to be approved by the

Administrator under sections 3006(b), (f) and (h) of

RCRA.” 40 C.F.R. § 271.1(a). In accord with RCRA

§ 3006, EPA’s regulations provide that the Agency musi

authorize a state program unless it is found inconsistent

with either the federal program outlined in RCRA or the

programs already approved in other States. 40 C.F.R.

§§ 271.1(e), 271.4.

Subsection (a) of the “consistency” provisions in 40

C.F.R. § 271.4 prescribes a “reasonableness” test for

judging effects of a State’s program on movement of

EEE

oo ee

5

hazardous waste in interstate commerce. App. 109a.

Specifically, “[aJny aspect of the State program which

unreasonably restricts, impedes, or operates as a ban on

the free movement across the State border of hazardous

wastes from or to other States . . . shall be deemed incon-

sistent” and thus not in compliance with RCRA § 3006.

40 C.F.R. § 271.4(a). EPA adopted this “reasonable-

ness” test under RCRA after giving explicit consideration

to statutory “consistency” requirements, see 45 Fed.

Reg. 33,290, 33,395 (May 19, 1980), and taking ac-

count of precedents interpreting the “dormant” Commerce

Clause. Id.

Congress has also addressed interstate waste disposal

issues under the ambit of CERCLA. In 1986, Congress

added paragraph 104(c)(9) to CERCLA to address the

reluctance of some States and localities to permit con-

struction of new hazardous waste treatment and disposal

facilities. Paragraph 104(c) 9) requires each State to

“assure the availability of hazardous waste treatment or

disposal facilities” for all hazardous wastes generated

within such State over the coming twenty years. CERCLA

§ 104(c)(9), 42 U.S.C. § 9604(c)(9). The facilities

may be either “within the State or outside the State in ac-

cordance with an interstate agreement or regional agree-

ment or authority.” Id,

EPA coordinated the implementation of this capacity-

assurance provision of CERCLA with EPA’s regulatory

regime under RCRA. Particularly, EPA decided to use

the process by which Capacity Assurance Plans are de-

veloped, evaluated, and approved as the primary means of

addressing “State actions which may be inconsistent with

the federal Resource Conservation and Recovery Act pro-

gram.” Policy Mem. (Dec. 23, 1988), App. 123a. As a

result, the RCRA state-authorization withdrawal process

is to be used secondarily only “after determining that the

CERCLA process has proven ineffective.” Id.

6

South Carolina’s corresponding regulatory program.

In 1985, EPA granted South Carolina authorization

under RCRA § 3006 to operate its own hazardous waste

program in lieu of the federal program.’ See 50 Fed. Reg.

46,347 (November 8, 1985), App. 110a. In doing so,

EPA explained its use of the “consistency” regulation. /d.

at 46,438-440, App. 116a-122a. EPA noted that although

Section 271.4(a) had some roots in dormant Commerce

Clause standards, e.g., City of Philadelphia v. New Jersey,

437 U.S. 617 (1978), the “Agency is not required to

adopt the Constitutional test for impediments or restric-

tions in interpreting its own regulations, and declines to

do so here.” 50 Fed. Reg. at 46,439, App. 117a. EPA

disagreed “that any disparity in treatment between in-

State and out-of-State wastes is per se unreasonable.” I/d.

(emphasis in original). Instead, EPA determined that

RCRA requires “all relevant factors” to be considered in

assessing the permissibility of state hazardous waste laws

with interstate effects. Id.

With the advent, in 1986, of the federal capacity-assur-

ance requirements under CERCLA, South Carolina made

adjustments to its then-recently-approved program. South

Carolina was and still is one of the few States which have

large existing hazardous waste treatment and disposal fa-

cilities. Consequently, South Carolina has borne the brunt

of the failure of other States to provide adequate, or in

some cases, any, commercial treatment and disposal ca-

1 EPA’s application of the consistency requirements in Section

271.4 to South Carolina’s RCRA program required resolution of

a challenge by the Hazardous Waste Treatment Council, respondent

in this case (which has since changed its name), to the moderately

higher fee South Carolina sought to impose on disposal of out-

of-state waste. At issue was whether the disparate fee schedule

was unconstitutional and whether it complied with Section 271.4(a).

EPA determined that the different fee schedule was not unreason-

able, and South Carolina’s hazardous waste program including the

fee schedule was approved on November 8, 1985. 50 Fed. Reg. at

46,438-440, App. 116a-122a.

cn en fT

7

pacity for hazardous wastes. In developing its Capacity

Assurance Plan, South Carolina had to provide for its own

wastes, allocate capacity for out-of-state wastes that the

State accepted under an interstate or regional agreement,

and assure that the existing permitted capacity was not

exhausted by demands from States that did not provide

disposal capacity for their wastes or enter into appropriate

agreements. To deal with these issues, South Carolina re-

vised its EPA-approved hazardous waste regulatory pro-

gram in three respects pertinent to this litigation.

The first adjustment was made in Act No. 196 of 1989.

App. 125a. Section 9 of that Act prohibited the treatment,

storage, or disposal in South Carolina of hazardous waste

generated in a State that both (1) prohibited the treat-

ment, storage, or disposal of such waste, and (2) “hafd]

not entered into an interstate or regional agreement for the

safe” treatment, storage, or disposal in another State. Act

No. 196, §9, amending S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-130,

App. 127a.° There was no requirement that the regional

agreement be one to which South Carolina was a signa-

tory. Id.*

2In October 1989, South Carolina joined the States of Alabama,

Kentucky, and Tennessee in a SARA Capacity Assurance Regional

Agreement. In November of 1989, the State of North Carolina was

added to that Regional Agreement, but North Carolina did not

fulfill its commitments under the Agreement and it was auto-

matically removed from the Agreement as a consequence. In the

Regional Agreement, the Party States committed to provide specific

facilities.that the States needed to make up deficits in treatment

and disposal capacity for particular types of waste.

* Section 5 of Act No. 196 expressed a nondiscriminatory, preca-

tory “preference” for the disposal of in-state waste at facilities

within the State. Jd. §5, adding S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-205.

* Act No. 196 superseded and partially codified Executive Order

No. 89-17, which provided that permitted disposal facilities in the

State were not to accept hazardous wastes generated in another

State where the waste was banned or prohibited from disposal in

that State by law or regulation, and where South Carolina had no

interstate or regional agreement with such State. Executive Order

8

The second adjustment was made to South Carolina’s

neutral cap on land disposal of hazardous waste. At the

time, South Carolina had authorized disposal of up to

135,000 tons of hazardous waste per year at commercial

land-disposal facilities in the State. S.C. Code Ann.

§ 44-56-60(a). In accord with RCRA’s mandate to re-

duce landfill disposal whenever possible, see 42 U.S.C.

$§ 6901(b)(7)-(8), 6924, the State legislature enacted

Act No. 590 of 1990 to provide for a phased decrease

in the amount of hazardous waste disposed of in landfills.

App. 129a. The existing statutory authorization of

135,000 tons was reduced to 120,000 tons effective July

1, 1990, and to 110,000 tons effective July 1, 1991. App.

13la. In addition, each disposal facility was to reserve

at least the same capacity used during the previous year

for disposal of hazardous waste generated in-state.*

Third, Department of Health and Environmental Con-

trol (“DHEC”) Regulation 61-99 became effective Janu-

ary 12, 1990. App. 134a. This rule, commonly called the

“needs regulation,” requires that an applicant seeking a

permit to expand an existing treatment facility or to build

a new facility shall demonstrate a need for the increased

capacity. For purposes of demonstrating the defined

amount of “need,” out-of-state hazardous waste is not

included in the applicant’s calculations. DHEC Reg.

61-99, § III(C), App. 136a.

No. 89-17 also established a preference for disposal of waste gen-

erated within South Carolina.

5 Act No. 590 also provided that the amount of waste disposed

of in the State could exceed the specified limit if the South Carolina

Department of Health and Environmental Control (“DHEC’’) de-

termined that (1) an increase in disposal of waste from a particu-

lar in-state site was “necessary to protect the health and safety” of

the South Carolina citizenry, or (2) at least 110,000 tons of in-state

waste was disposed of by land in the State during the previous

year. This Act superseded Executive Order No. 89-25.

a TEE

a

So eeeeeeeoeoorerereeeee

ee

Sa hee See

‘a See *

9

South Carolina’s Capacity Assurance Plan was timely

submitted to EPA on October 17, 1989. Each of the

legislative, executive, and regulatory actions at issue here

was included in the Plan or was projected for inclusion.*

The SARA Capacity Assurance Regional Agreement to

which South Carolina was a party, see supra, p. 7 n.2, was

also included as part of South Carolina’s Plan.

After preliminarily reviewing South Carolina’s Capacity

Assurance Plan, EPA requested that South Carolina ad-

dress whether the limitations of Executive Order No.

89-17 and Act No. 196 satisfied the RCRA “consistency”

requirement. Letter from Greer C. Tidwell, EPA Re-

gional Administrator for Region IV, to Michael D.

Jarrett, Director of South Carolina Department of Health

and Environmental Control (July 6, 1989). South Caro-

lina responded with a formal Opinion of its Attorney

General that the provisions were consistent with federal

law and did not violate the Commerce Clause. Opinion

by T. Travis Medlock, Attorney General (August 23,

1989). EPA thereafter approved the Plan and com-

mended the State for its efforts. Letter from Greer C.

Tidwell, EPA Regional Administrator for Region IV, to

the Hon. Carroll A. Campbell, Jr., Governor of South

Carolina (May 10, 1990).

Thereafter, in 1995, EPA issued a notice that it had

made a final decision approving South Carolina’s hazard-

ous waste regulatory program under RCRA in all respects.

60 Fed. Reg. 42,046 (Aug. 15, 1995).

® Executive Orders Nos. 89-17 and 89-25 and Act No. 196 were

included in the submission. Regulation 61-99 was then a proposed

permanent regulation. In the submission South Carolina advised

EPA that legislation was expected to be passed which would enact

into law quantitative disposal limits reflecting the amounts speci-

fied in Executive Order No. 89-25. This was effectuated in Act

No. 590.

10

This litigation.

On June 27, 1990, respondent Environmental Tech-

nology Council (“ETC”), then named the Hazardous

Waste Treatment Council, filed suit against South Caro-

lina in federal district court, seeking declaratory and

injunctive relief primarily based upon claims that Act

No. 196 of 1989, Act No. 590 of 1990, and DHEC

Reg. 61-99 violated the Commerce Clause, U.S. Const. art

I, § 8, cl. 3.7 On January 11, i991, by a Preliminary In-

junction and Order, the district court “declar[ed] invalid”

and enjoined enforcement of the South Carolina laws, exe-

cutive orders, and regulations that had been put at issue.

Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v. South Carolina,

766 F. Supp. 431 (D.S.C. 1991), App. 80a. Appeal was

taken to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Circuit, which, assessing ETC’s claims under the prelimin-

ary injunction standard of Blackwelder Furniture Co. v.

Seilig Mfg. Co., 550 F.2d 189 (4th Cir. 1977), held that

the “likelihood of irreparable harm to the plaintiff” would

be “measurably greater” if the injunction were denied.

Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v. South Carolina,

945 F.2d 781, 795 (4th Cir. 1991) (““HWTC”), App.

50a, 78a. The court of appeals thus affirmed entry of the

preliminary injunction, while remanding to the district

court with instructions for modification to strike the words

implying a declaration of invalidity and to narrow the pre-

liminary injunction in specified respects. See id. at 787

n.9, 795, App. 63a, 78a.

The court of appeals’ opinion in HWTC was rendered

on September 20, 1991, and the mandate issued on Octo-

ber 21, 1991. On November 21, 1991, South Carolina

filed a motion requesting the district court to conform its

preliminary injunction to the court of appeals’ mandate.

Shortly thereafter, in light of the uncertainties expressed

7 Jurisdiction of Hazardous Waste Treatment Council’s complaint

was predicated upon 28 U.S.C. § 1881.

Re ee

1]

by the court of appeals regarding the proper application

of the consistency provisions of RCRA § 3006 and 40

C.F.R. § 271.4,° South Carolina moved for a stay of the

proceedings and referral of such questions to EPA’s pri-

mary jurisdiction. ETC contested this motion and on Feb-

ruary 3, 1992 moved for summary judgment on its Com-

merce Clause claims. The district court heard argument on

ETC’s motion for summary judgment on April 30, 1992.°

Nearly three years later, on April 13, 1995, the district

court entered its Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law,

and Order (1) denying South Carolina’s motion to refer

the RCRA-consistency issue to EPA’s primary jurisdic-

tion, (2) granting ETC’s motion for summary judgment

on its Commerce Clause claims and entering a permanent

injunction against the challenged provisions, and (3) deny-

ing as moot South Carolina’s motion to conform the pre-

liminary injunction to the court of appeals’ 1991 mandate.

App. 49a. South Carolina filed a timely appeal.

On October 15, 1996, the court of appeals issued an

opinion affirming the district court’s summary judgment.

In holding that the dormant Commerce Clause provided

the standard applicable to this case, the court said there

was an “absence of a clear Congressional statement author-

izing discrimination,” Environmental Technology Council

8 In its 1991 decision, the court of appeals reviewed RCRA § 3006

and EPA’s implementing regulation and explicitly noted its un-

certainty:

We are still unsure, however, of whether EPA was attempting

to state (1) that some disparities [in treatment of in-state

and some out-of-state wastes] might be constitutional, (2)

that even if the disparities would be unconstitutional, EPA

could approve the programs as “consistent,” or (3) that EPA

had the authority to permit otherwise unconstitutional state

actions.

945 F.2d at 794, App. 76a.

® Subsequent hearings were held on August 5 and September 20,

1994,

12

v. Sierra Club, 98 F.3d 774, 783 (4th Cir. 1996), App.

15a. The court of appeals accorded no weight to EPA’s

implementing regulations in this regard, holding that

“fe]ven if EPA had expressly approved the laws in ques-

tion, we could not do so without express congressional

authorization.” /d. at n.17, App. 17a. The court of

appeals addressed the neutral cap and the needs regula-

tion aiong with the other aspects of the challenged laws

for purposes of its analysis, notwithstanding the circum-

stance that these two provisions set overall limits on dis-

posal capacity not dependent on the origin or source of the

waste. Broadly characterizing the neutral cap and needs

regulation as part of a program that “favors in-state

interests over out-of-state interests,” the court of appeals

struck down the “overall limit[s]” as “discriminatory.” 98

F.3d at 788, App. 24a. Finally, reviewing for abuse of

discretion the district court’s decision not to refer this

case to EPA’s primary jurisdiction, the court of appeals

characterized the question to be referred as “whether

South Carolina’s laws are constitutional,” and concluded

that “[t]he EPA’s special expertise is not needed to decide

a question of law in a constitutional matter.” Jd. at 789,

App. 27a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

This case raises important questions regarding whether

dormant Commerce Clause criteria are supplanted by a

comprehensive federal regulatory regime that authorizes

approved state programs to operate for federal as well as

state purposes. The court of appeals struck down on

Commerce Clause grounds South Carolina laws and rules

that were approved by EPA under a federal regulatory

regime that includes a review for effects on interstate

commerce as part of the statutory approval process. Be-

cause EPA’s approval of South Carolina’s laws and rules

meant that South Carolina’s program operated “in lieu”

of federal law, 42 U.S.C. § 6926(b), the court of appeals

7

ee ee ee ee FA

: ind Spits Res a

REP OE ete Oe Sd

13

in effect used the dormant Commerce Clause to invalidate

federal law.

This case thus squarely presents the important question,

identified but pretermitted (because not raised below)

in Chemical Waste Management vy. Hunt, 504 U.S. 334,

346 n.9 (1992), of whether the RCRA consistency stand-

ard and federal approval under that standard displace

the dormant Commerce Clause. In resolving that issue

in this case, the court of appeals refused to give effect to

a series of precedents of this Court holding that an

administrative agency’s construction of a federal statute,

and of its own regulations implementing that statute, has

a direct bearing on whether dormant Commerce Clause

criteria are in fact supplanted. E.g., Northeast Bancorp,

Inc. v. Board of Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 472

U.S. 159 (1985); White v. Massachusetts Council of

Constr. Employers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204 (1983); Merrion

v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130 (1982). Apart

from RCRA, the decision in this case is significant for a

number of other federal-state regulatory programs that

follow the pattern exemplified by RCRA. In refusing to

give weight to the approval of a federal agency—and to

the criteria adopted by the agency—the court of appeals’

dec’sion in this case calls into queStion the validity of

EPA-approved hazardous waste regulatory programs in

operation in a number of States, and, more generally,

undermines a basic federal-state regulatory model em-

ployed by Congress.”

In addition, contrary to this Court’s guidance in Chem-

ical Waste Management, the court of appeals refused to

1° Tn the area of solid waste regulation, which unlike hazardous

waste regulation Congress has largely left to states and localities,

challenges to state and local laws under the dormant Commerce

Clause have been frequent. See C&A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of

Clarkstown, 511 U.S. 888 (1994) ; Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v.

Department of Envtl. Quality, 511 U.S. 98 (1994); Fort Gratiot

Sanitary Landfill, Inc. v. Michigan Dep’t of Natural Resources,

504 U.S. 358 (1992).

14

uphold two provisions, the neutral cap and the needs

regulation, which place “an evenhanded cap on the total

tonnage landfilled” in the State. 504 U.S. at 345. Under

either the RCRA consistency standard or a dormant

Commerce Clause standard, the court of appeals erred in

striking down provisions which regulated overall waste

disposal through neutral means.

Finally, the court of appeals wrongly approved the

district court’s refusal to refer questions of the interpre-

tation and application of the RCRA “consistency” stand-

ard and EPA’s “reasonableness” regulations to the Agency

under the primary jurisdiction doctrine. 98 F.3d at 789,

App. 27a. The court did so despite its observations that

“EPA’s position on what constitutes ‘reasonableness’ has

changed over time,” id. at 783, App. 14a, and “EPA has

taken seemingly contradicting positions at different times

on how it will apply and interpret the consistency require-

ment.” /d. at 783 n.14, App. 14a. The court of appeals

achieved this result notwithstanding the open questions

of statutory and regulatory interpretation and applica-

tion by simply assuming that those questions did not

matter because a constitutional question of law was at

issue. Id. at 789, App. 27a. This approach to the pri-

mary jurisdiction doctrine in a Commerce Clause case is

wrong. A dormant Commerce Clause question arises at

all only if the pertinent federal statutes do not sanction

the State’s law at issue. EPA is charged by statute with

implementing the laws that are at issue in ti.at regard in

this case. As to the primary jurisdiction doctrine, the

court of appeals’ decision is contrary to Ricci v. Chicago

Mercantile Exchange, 409 U.S. 289 (1973) (ruling that

reference should be made to Commodity Exchange Com-

mission of questions concerning rules adopted under Com-

modity Exchange Act, where underlying claims were

brought under antitrust laws), and to dicta in Northwest

Airlines, Inc. v. County of Kent, 510 U.S. 355, 366 n.10

(1994), and is in conflict with Massachusetts v. Black-

hess ci a a ee ri a

15

stone Valley Elec. Ce., 67 F.3d 981 (1st Cir. 1995)

(vacating partial summary judgment entered by district

court and ordering referral to EPA of “legal” question

whether ferric ferrocyanide is a “cyanide” within the

meaning of EPA regulations).

A. Congress’ Exercised Commerce Power

The Constitution’s grant to Congress of the power to

regulate commerce among the several States prohibits by

implication State actions that burden interstate commerce,

at least where the matters have not been addressed by a

federal statute. See South-Central Timber Dev., Inc. v.

Wunnicke, 467 U.S. 82, 87 (1984); Hughes v. Okla-

homa, 441 U.S. 322, 325 (1979); Cooley v. Board of

Wardens, 53 U.S. (12 How.) 143 (1852). The dormant

Commerce Clause, however, is but “a limitation on the

power of the States,” South-Central Timber, 467 U.S. at

87, and, by exercising its power under the Commerce

Clause, Congress may “permit the states to regulate ...

_ commerce in a manner which would otherwise not be per-

missible,” Southern Pacific Co. vy. Arizona, 325 U.S. 761,

769 (1945). See Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of

Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 472 U.S. 159, 174

(1985); White v. Massachusetts Council of Constr. Em-

plovers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204 (1983); Merrion v. Jicarilla

Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130 (1982). To be effective,

such authorization must be “unmistakably clear” from

the plain meaning of the statute or regulations involved,

or from independent evidence of congressional intent.

South-Central Timber, 467 U.S. at 91. Where federal

law “unmistakably” creates a standard different from

those of the dormant Commerce Clause, the dormant

Commerce Clause no longer applies, and the challenged

State laws are tested by the requirements of the pertinent

federal statute or regulation.

16

1. RCRA.

As a result of the enactment of RCRA and amend-

ments to CERCLA, “the commerce power of Congress

is not dormant, but has been exercised by that body,”

Northeast Bancorp, 472 U.S. at 174, and the dormant

Commerce Clause standards have been displaced by statu-

tory ones. In RCRA, Congress established a compre-

hensive scheme for the regulation of hazardous wastes,

and provided that States may operate their own programs

in place of the federal program if the state program meets

the statutory standard of consistency. In addition to

specifying the standard by which state programs are to be

measured, Congress provided procedures for federal re-

view, by EPA, of proffered state programs.

Implementing RCRA’s mandate, EPA adopted regula-

tions to flesh out the federal approval process, and in

doing so, expressly considered the effects that state regu-

lation might have on interstate commerce. EPA inter-

preted and applied the RCRA consistency standard as

creating a federal standard distinct from those of the

dormant Commerce Clause. In its regulations, EPA pre-

scribed a multi-factored “reasonableness” test by which

State programs are to be measured for consistency and

expressly rejected any notion that the dormant Commerce

Clause would supply the standard of reasonableness.

By creating a statutory standard of consistency and by

providing that state programs deemed “consistent with

the Federal or State programs applicable in other States”

shall be approved and operate “in lieu of” federal law,

RCRA § 3006, 42 U.S.C. § 6926(b), Congress has ex-

pressed its intention to exercise its Commerce Clause

power and to create a statutory standard for adjudging

state programs. Congress has manifestly not left the

nation’s policy respecting interstate movement in hazard-

ous wastes to be addressed under a “dormant” standard.

The legislative history of RCRA is explicit that Congress

was well aware that hazardous waste management in-

17

volved the potential for interstate conflicts and that it in-

tended for such issues to be addressed under the RCRA

statutory scheme. The House Report of the bill that

became RCRA noted that:

{t]he fact that waste itself is in interstate and inter-

municipal commerce has raised a number of prob-

lems. (Generally, hazardous waste is more likely to

be the subject of interstate transportation than is non-

hazardous industrial or municipal waste.) Several

jurisdictions, including some states, have attempted

to prohibit the importation of waste.

H.R. Rep. No. 1491, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 10 (1976).

Congress intended the consistency requirement under

Section 3006(b) to address disparities in state programs

and the consequent effects on interstate commerce:

The general purpose of having federal minimum

standards for hazardous waste disposal, with the op-

tion of state implementation of state programs equiv-

alent to the federal program, is (1) it provides uni-

formity among the states as to how hazardous wastes

are regulated, (2) it provides industry and commer-

cial establishments that generate such wastes uniform-

ity among states, (3) by providing such uniformity a

state with environmentally sound laws does not drive

business out of the state to a state which, for eco-

nomic reasons, decides to be a dumping ground for

hazardous wastes... .

Id. at 30. In exercising its Commerce Power to create a

statutory standard of consistency, Congress displaced the

“dormant” Commerce Clause.

In this vein, Congress empowered EPA to develop and

implement regulations for RCRA thai would ensure

consistency with the federal program and among state

laws. Using that authority, EPA has implemented the

statutory consistency requirement by adopting 40 C.F.R.

§ 271.4. Under RCRA as applied by EPA, only an aspect

of a state program which “uiireasonably restricts, impedes,

18

or operates as a ban” on interstate movement of hazard-

ous waste “shall be deemed inconsistent” and thus not

permitted by federal law. 40 C.F.R. § 271.4(a) (empha-

sis added). In implementing this regulation, EPA rejected

the suggestion that “RCRA section 3006(b) or any other

section of RCRA requires the Agency to adopt the

[dormant Commerce Clause] Constitutional test as the

test for consistency or unreasonable restrictions or impedi-

ments.” 50 Fed. Reg. at 46,439, App. 118a. Indeed,

EPA requires that “all relevant factors’—not just the

existence of burdens—be considered in assessing the

permissibility of state laws with interstate effects. Jd.™*

The RCRA consistency standard, as implemented by

EPA, thus displaces the dormant Commerce Clause with

respect to approved state programs for hazardous waste

disposal. South-Central Timber, 467 U.S. at 91.

2. CERCLA.

The governing nature of RCRA’s consistency provisions

regarding interstate effects is specifically reinforced by

Capacity assurance requirements adopted by Congress as

amendments to CERCLA in 1986. As noted supra,

p. 5, CERCLA § 104(c)(9) requires States to provide

assurances “deemed adequate by the President” of the

“availability of hazardous waste treatment or disposal

facilities” sufficient for the State’s requirements over the

next twenty years. The facilities must be “within the

State or outside the State in accordance with an interstate

agreement or regional agreement or authority.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 104(c)(9)(B).

The “unmistakably clear” import of this requirement

is that States such as South Carolina may—in fact, must—

11 EPA recognized that state requirements “may have some

adverse effect on interstate commerce.” 50 Fed. Reg. at 46,439,

App. 118a. Construing the mandates of RCRA §§ 3006 and 3009,

EPA concluded that not every “disparity in treatment between

in-State and out-of-State wastes is per se unreasonable” or un-

lawful. Id.

19

“interfere” with interstate commerce in hazardous waste

disposal capacity. For a State meaningfully to assure

EPA that disposal capacity will be available for its wastes,

it can and must address the existence and use of such

facilities within the ambit of regional agreements.

The legislative history of paragraph 104(c)(9) demon-

strates Congress’ intent to authorize States to interfere

with interstate commerce as necessary to comply with the

new provision. Congress expressly approved “[u]se of

binding agreements through interstate compacts guaran-

teeing access to a facility” as “one example of how a

State may provide the requisite assurances.” S. Rep. No.

11, 99th Cong., Ist Sess. 22 (1985) (emphasis added).

If a State were to be forbidden under the dormant Com-

merce Clause from putting limits on access to its facilities

by another State, it could not enter into such binding

agreements. It could not guarantee access for waste from

States party to regional agreements without being able to

restrict access for waste from others. As Congress recog-

nized, such restrictions will inescapably burden interstate

commerce. Accordingly, in marked contrast to cases such

as C&A Carbone, supra, Congress’ direction that States

enter into agreements which will guarantee access to

appropriate facilities plainly constitutes a finding that

“the unobstructed flow of interstate commerce itself is

unable to solve the local problem,” 511 U.S. at 393,

involved in siting of hazardous waste facilities.

3. The effect of EPA’s regulations.

Its attention gripped by the “Constitutional” nature of

the issues in this case, the court of appeals gave short

shrift to the interstate-effects aspects of the RCRA “con-

sistency” standard. In this regard, the court of appeals

refused to credit EPA’s contrary conclusion—-adopted as

law in Section 271.4—that RCRA does create a distinct

standard of “reasonableness” which is more permissive

20

than the dormant Commerce Clause.” It acknowledged

the conflicting “reasonableness” standard, but “reject[ed]

. . . South Carolina’s argument that EPA’s reasonableness

standard should displace a constitutional dormant Com-

merce Clause analysis.” 98 F.3d at 783, App. 14a. The

court of appeals opined that, “[e]ven if EPA had ex-

pressly approved the laws in question, we could not do so

without express congressional authorization.” Jd, at 784

n.17, App. 17a. This view of the Agency’s role in the

federal system is plainly at odds with the particular

statute at issue and with this Court’s jurisprudence.

For example, in Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe,

supra, this Court rejected a dormant Commerce Clause

challenge brought by oil and gas producers against a

severance tax imposed by the Jicarilla Apache Tribe on

oil and gas extracted from tribal lands. This Court held

that because the tax had “received the requisite approval

from the Secretary [of the Interior]” acting pursuant to

his regulatory authority, the tax was insulated from dor-

mant Commerce Clause review. 455 U.S. at 155. The

Court based that holding on the federal approvals required

by the Indian Reorganization Act, 25 U.S.C. §§ 476,

477. The cited provisions did not specifically mention

taxing authority; rather, they provided broadly that

changes in an Indian Tribe’s constitution (which had been

necessary to authorize the severance tax) had to receive

federal approval. Merrion thus relied not on any evidence

of Congressional intent respecting the burdens of the tax

On interstate commerce, but on the fact that the tax had

received a federal sanction by an agency. “Congress

ha[d] affirmatively acted by providing a series of federal

checkpoints that must be cleared before a tribal tax can

12 The court of appeals therefore also did not consider that the

CERCLA capacity assurance process would be a factor in applying

the “reasonableness” criterion.

21

~

take effect,” and thus the federal commerce power had

been exercised. 455 U.S. at 155.”

This Court looked to a federal agency’s implementing

regulations to displace the dormant Commerce Clause in

White v. Massachusetts Council of Constr. Employers,

supra. White involved a dormant Commerce Clause chal-

lenge to an executive order by the City of Boston requir-

ing all construction projects receiving federal funds ad-

ministered by the City to be “performed by a work force

consisting of at least half bona fide residents of Boston.”

460 U.S. at 206. The discriminatory spending of federal

funds in favor of city residents was upheld on the ration-

ale that “the order was affirmatively sanctioned by the

pertinent regulations” governing use of the federal funds

at issue. Id. at 215 (emphasis added). The applicable

federal statutes did not specifically address local favori-

tism; the Court noted only a general goal of assisting

“the poor, minorities, and unemployed.” /d. at 213.

Effective federal authorization was found, however, in the

Department of Housing and Urban Development’s imple-

menting regulations, which permitted “the type of paro-

chial favoritism expressed in the order.” /d.

White reinforces the conclusions drawn in Merrion:

in determining whether a statute displaces dormant Com-

merce Clause restrictions, the regulations and interpretive

guidance of an agency charged with administering that

18 The Court explained that as a result of its approval by the

Secretary—

this tribal tax comes to us in a posture significantly different

from a challenged state tax, which does not need specific fed-

eral approval to take effect, and which therefore requires, in

the absence of congressional ratification, judicial review to

ensure that it does not unduly burden or discriminate against

interstate commerce. Judicial review of the Indian tax meas-

ure, in contrast, would duplicate the administrative review

called for by the congressional scheme.

455 U.S. at 155-56. See also Northwest Airlines, Inc. v. County of

Kent, 510 U.S. 355, 378-74 n.20 (1994).

22

Statute must be given effect. This Court adhered to such

an approach in Northeast Bancorp, Inc. v. Board of Gov-

ernors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 472 U.S. 159 (1985).

In Northeast Bancorp, the issue was whether the Douglas

Amendment to the Bank Holding Company Act of 1956,

12 U.S.C. § 1842(d), which prohibited the Federal Re-

serve Board from approving an acquisition by a bank or

bank holding company located in one state of a bank

located in another, unless the acquired bank’s state laws

permitted such acquisitions, also permitted a state to

permit such cross-border acquisitions selectively, depend-

ing on reciprocity from other states. In considering a

proposed acquisition, the Board had held that such selec-

tive lifting of the ban was authorized by the Douglas

Amendment. Citing the Board’s status as “an authoritative

voice on the meaning of a federal banking statute,” this

Court agreed with the Board and held that the dormant

Commerce Clause had been displaced. 472 U.S. at 168.

EPA’s application of the RCRA consistency standard is no

less authoritative, and should have been given similar

deference here.

In other words, under South-Central Timber it is not

“Congressional intent” expressed solely in terms of legis-

lative history, but federal law, that must authorize the

State’s laws in an “unmistakably clear” fashion. Here,

both Congress and EPA have acted under the power

granted by the Commerce Clause in creating the RCRA

consistency standard and the “reasonableness” test of

Section 271.4(a)—Congress directly and EPA by statu-

tory authorization. EPA’s application of the consistency

standard of RCRA is unchallenged here and there is no

reason why it should not be given effect as arising from

the exercise of the Commerce Clause power. The court

of appeals’ holding to the contrary consigns the RCRA

consistency standard as applied by EPA to a netherworld:

despite ostensibly being valid federal law, it has been

accorded no actual effect on the very interstate relation-

23

ships it aims to address. Merrion, White, and Northeast

Bancorp do not permit such a result.

Moreover, under RCRA and CERCLA Congress has,

in addition to adopting a substantive standard at odds

with that of the dormant Commerce Clause, also “affirm-

atively acted by providing a series of federal checkpoints

that must be cleared” before a state law can receive federal

authorization. Merrion, 455 U.S. at 155. In stating that

Congress had not provided federal checkpoints, 98 F.3d

at 784, App. 16a, the court of appeals ignored EPA's

approval of South Carolina’s capacity assurance plan

in 1990, see supra, at 9, and its approval of South

Carolina’s hazardous waste program in a series of actions

over several years, culminating in full approval in 1995,

see supra, at 6, 9. EPA gave its approval of the capacity

assurance plan only after first looking explicitly at effects

on interstate commerce. See supra, at 9.™

For RCRA, EPA’s rules contemplate that the Agency

may undertake review at any time, either acting sua sponte

or on petition “from an interested person.” 40 C.F.R.

§ 271.23(b)(1) (procedures for withdrawing approval

of State programs). Thus, RCRA provides explicit check-

points because the “consistency” test must be met and

a dissatisfied person has appropriate means—action be-

fore the Agency and judicial review—to insure that the

test has been satisfied. As in Merrion, independent judicial

invocation of dormant Commerce Clause analysis would

14 EPA did not look at such effects when it gave RCRA approval

in 1995 to the full South Carolina program, including the provisions

at issue here. Thus, while the court of appeals was wrong when it

said that “EPA has not expressly approved any of the contested

South Carolina laws,” 98 F.3d at 784, App. 17a, it was correct in

the sense that in EPA’s 1995 approval the Agency did not focus

on interstate effects. EPA obviously did focus on such effects in

giving its approval in 1990 to the provisions submitted as part of

the State’s capacity assurance program, see supra, at 9, and,

under EPA’s policy, that approval served as a first-stage blessing

for purposes of the RCRA consistency process, see supra, at 5.

24

be “duplicative” if not contradictory, and EPA’s approval

should be given effect until it is removed.”

4. Synopsis.

The courts should not strike down what EPA elects to

approve in valid pursuit of its congressional mandate

to regulate hazardous waste. Given EPA’s approval under

RCRA and CERCLA, the notion that Congress’ Com-

merce Clause power nonetheless still lies “dormant” with

respect to the challenged provisions is unsupportable.

South Carolina’s EPA-approved laws and rules cannot be

challenged under the dormant Commerce Clause any more

than could action taken by the federal agency itself.**

15 Cases in which the Court has held that the exercise of Con-

gress’ Commerce Clause power has not been sufficiently clear to

insulate a state provision from dormant Commerce Clause review

involve nothing like the present context. In South-Central Timber,

supra, Alaska’s discriminatory requirement that timber sold from

state lands be processed locally was rejected. Although a federal

statute created a similar policy with respect to federal lands, it

did not address state laws in any respect. Thus, the reason the

Court found no “unmistakably clear” intent by Congress to displace

dormant Commerce Clause restrictions was that the federal statute

had no bearing on the state program. 467 U.S. at 92-938. New

England Power Co. v. New Hampshire, 455 U.S. 331, 341 (1982),

involved New Hampshire’s attempt to prohibit exportation of

hydroelectric power on the basis of a “savings clause” in the Fed-

eral Power Act which preserved the States’ “lawful authority now

exercised over the exportation of hydroelectric energy.” The Court

held that the clause only preserved already valid authority—.e.

authority exercised within the limits of the dormant Commerce

Clause. /d. In Sporhase v. Nebraska, 458 U.S. 941 (1982), Nebraska

defended its prohibition against extraction of its groundwater for

use outside the State without citing any directly relevant statute,

but rather it simply relied on “37 statutes in which Congress has

deferred to state water law, and on a number of interstate com-

pacts dealing with water.” Jd. at 958. Accordingly, the Court found

no direct “indicat[ion] that Congress wished to remove federal

constitutional constraints on such state laws.” Jd. at 960.

16 The regulatory model used by Congress under RCRA—enact-

ment of federal minimum standards with provisions allowing

25

The present case thus squarely presents an instance of

Congressional authorization—through the adoption of the

competing RCRA standard—which has been absent from

prior cases before this Court. For example, in C&A

Carbone, supra, which involved a municipality's “flow

control” ordinance directing solid non-hazardous waste

to a local facility, Justice O’Connor’s concurring opinion

noted Congress’ “delegation . . . to EPA of authority to

assist local government in solving waste supply problems,”

511 U.S. at 409-410 (O’Connor, J., concurring), but con-

cluded that EPA’s regulations merely echoed the dormant

Commerce Clause’s requirement of “free and unrestricted

movement” of waste. Jd. Similarly, in Northwest Air-

lines, Inc. v. County of Kent, supra, 510 U.S. at 373,

the Court was presented with the issue of whether the

“express permission” in the Anti-Head Tax Act, 49 U.S.C.

§ 1513(b), of “reasonable rental charges, landing fees,

and other service charges from aircraft operators for the

use of airport facilities” was “{s]ufficiently clear to rule

out judicial dormant Commerce Clause analysis.” Ix the

absence of agency implementation of the AHTA, how-

ever, the Court held that the AHTA “reasonableness”

standard was no different than that of the dormant Com-

merce Clause. 510 U.S. at 374. Here, the conflict between

the RCRA “consistency” standard and the dormant Com-

merce Clause has been both explicated and implemented

by the Agency. Indeed, EPA has expressly approved as

not “unreasonable” under Section 271.4 precisely the sort

(though not the degree) of differential fees for in-state

and out-of-state waste which this Court struck down in

Chemical Waste Management, supra, while “pretermit-

States to implement federal requirements through their own pro-

grams—has also been used in a number of other environmental

regulatory statutes. See, e.g., Solid Waste Disposal Act, 42 U.S.C.

§ 6991c(d) (2) (1995); Clean Air Act, 42 U.S.C. § 7411(c) (1995) ;

Federal Water Pollution Control Act, 33 U.S.C. § 1842(c) (1)

(Supp. 1996); Surface Mining Control and Reclamation Act, 30

U.S.C. §§$ 1235, 1253 (1986 & Supp. 1996) ; Federal Insecticide,

Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act, 7 U.S.C. § 136w-1 (1980 & Supp.

1996).

26

[ting]” the RCRA authorization issue to a later time.

Compare note 1, supra, with Chemical Waste Manage-

ment, 504 U.S. at 338-339 & 346 n.9. With the maturity

of the instant case, that time has come.

B. Neutral Provisions In South Carolina’s Program.

The court of appeals improperly analyzed two provi-

sions of South Carolina’s regulatory program—provisions

that are not in any way discriminatory. Whatever stand-

ards for judging interstate effects are applicable, its ruling

that the provisions are invalid is contrary to this Court’s

precedents.

South Carolina’s neutral overall cap on the amount of

hazardous waste disposed of by landfill is permissible un-

der any test for evaluating effects on interstate commerce.

Act No. 590, S.C. Ann. 44-56-60(a)(2), App. 129a, re-

duces the cap from its prior level of 135,000 tons per year

to new, phased levels first of 120,000 tons and then of

110,000 tons. The court of appeals acknowledged that this

Court has held that among the less discriminatory alterna-

tives available to States seeking to restrict disposal of

hazardous waste consistent with the requirements of the

dormant Commerce Clause is “ ‘an evenhanded cap on the

total tonnage landfilled . . . [which would] curtail volume

from all sources.’” 98 F.3d at 787, App. 23a, quoting

Chemical Waste Mgmt., 504 U.S. at 345. The court of

appeals ruled that the reduction in the cap was not even-

handed ™ because the statutory amendment providing for

the reduction also provided for two exceptions: one trig-

gered by a certification that waiver of the limit is necessary

to protect South Carolina’s citizens, $.C. Code Ann.

17 The effect of the rulings in this regard by the district court

and the court of appeals was to reinstate the pre-Act No. 590 cap

of 135,000 tons per year of hazardous waste disposed by landfill

in South Carolina. This result illustrates the incongruity of the

court of appeals’ decision. Under its ruling, a cap of 120,000 tons

per year or of 110,000 tons per year is impermissible, but a cap

of 185,000 tons per year is valid.

27

§ 44-56-60(a)(3)(A), and the other by a finding that the

entire statutory limit of landfilled hazardous waste was

generated by South Carolina sources.” The court of ap-

peals found the exceptions to be discriminatory and to dis-

able the reduced cap. 98 F.3d at 788, App. 24a. It also

opined that even if the reduced limit were neutral, it

would not be severable. 7d. at 788 n.21, App. 24a. Its

analysis is wrong on both counts, and exemplifies the

broad sweep of its decision to set aside state law.

Similarly, South Carolina’s “needs regulation” is a non-

discriminatory provision, both on its face and in practical

effect. It simply does not affect what hazardous wastes

private facilities accept for treatment and disposal. The

court of appeals stated that the “effect on out-of-state in-

terests is to prohibit facilities frcm expanding to meet

out-of-state needs, but to allow expansion to meet in-state

needs.” 98 F.3d at 788, App. 25a. The court further

translated the provision as an allowance for “expansion

or a raise in the limits where in-state needs dictate such a

rise.” Jd. There is no factual record to support any as-

sumption at all about the use cf an expansion in capacity,

let alone that such an expansion would be dedicated to in-

state needs. There certainly also is not any evidence that

facilities would be planned and permitted any time there

was an excess of in-state waste needing disposal but not

otherwise. The case below was decided on summary judg-

ment, without any factual development whatsoever. In

18 The court of appeals took no facts into account in its assess-

ment of the exceptions. However, facts before the court, which

South Carolina had put forward by way of affidavits to resist

summary judgment in the district court, showed that the in-state

percentage of wastes disposed subject to the cap was 11.91% for

1993 (11,972.18 tons), while the remainder (88.09%) came from

out-of-state (88,527.66 tons). (Joint Appendix before court of

appeals, at JA 0700.) For the first two quarters of 1994, the

percentage and amounts of hazardous waste disposed in South

Carolina subject to the cap were comparable. (Jd. at JA 0702-

0703.) Thus, the likelihood that the second exception would have

any practical consequence was nil.

28

short, whether evaluated under the “reasonableness” test

set out in EPA’s implementing regulations, or under a

dormant Commerce Clause test such as the balancing test

of Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137, 142

(1970),"® South Carolina’s reduced disposal cap and its

needs regulation pass muster.

C. Referral to EPA Under the Primary Jurisdiction

Doctrine.

South Carolina raised the issue of primary jurisdiction

before the district court and sought a referral to EPA be-

cause the court of appeals had earlier, in its decision on

appeal from the district court’s preliminary injunction, ex-

pressed frustration with EPA’s variously expressed views

about the meaning of the “consistency” provision of

RCRA and the Agency’s own implementing rules. See

HWTC, 945 F.2d at 794, App. 76a, quoted supra, at 11

n.8. Both the district court and then the court of appeals

nonetheless refused to order referral on the basis of their

erroneous conclusions that EPA’s decision respecting

the federal statute and regulation would be irrelevant.

This view ignores that the question of federal statutory

construction must be resolved as a first step in this case.

Regarding that question of interpretation, both the district

court and the court of appeals fundamentally misperceived

the nature and purpose of referral under the primary ju-

risdiction doctrine.

The question of what types of state laws are authorized

for approval under RCRA is an issue within the special

expertise of EPA. The doctrine of primary jurisdiction

exists to permit courts to take advantage of agency ex-

pertise rather than attempt to answer, in the first instance,

complicated questions of law and fact relating to an

agency’s exercise of its statutory powers. In this case,

1 The Pike test applies if a State’s law regulates evenhandedly

but adversely affects interstate commerce in its application. Such

a law is valid unless the burdens on commerce are “clearly excessive

in relation to the putative local benefits.” Pike, 8397 U.S. at 142.

29

any confusion that exists regarding the interpretation or

application of the statutory consistency requirement and

of EPA’s consistency regulation should be resolved by re-

ferral to EPA under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction.

See Ricci v. Chicago Mercantile Exchange, supra, 409

U.S. at 307; see also Northwest Airlines, supra, 510 U.S.

at 366 n.10 (noting that the question as to the “reason-

ableness” of the respondent airport’s rates under the Anti-

Head Tax Act “might have been referred . . . to the

Department of Transportation under the primary jurisdic-

tion doctrine” ).”°

In reviewing the district court’s decision not to refer the

questions of statutory and regulatory interpretation to

EPA, the court of appeals noted that the district court had

refused to make the referral because it had found “that

there were no issues of fact.” 98 F.3d at 789, App. 26a.”

If only questions of law were at issue, the question also

arises why the court of appeals reviewed the district

court’s decision for abuse of discretion. While a decision

to refer a case to the primary jurisdiction of an agency

is generally labeled a discretionary one, where, as in this

case, the district court’s decision was based wholly on con-

clusions of law, the court of appeals should accordingly

201f the “consistency” standard is held to displace the dormant

Commerce Clause, respondent ETC should be required to proceed

before EPA not only because EPA has primary jurisdiction, but

because ETC cannot state a claim directly under RCRA in federal

court. See Middlesex County Sewerage Auth. v. National Sea

Clammers Ass’n, 453 U.S. 1 (1981) (comprehensive scheme of

administrative remedies precludes implied right of action or remedy

under 42 U.S.C. § 1988). ETC’s proper remedy is to petition EPA

to withdraw South Carolina’s RCRA authorization, and, if it

remains dissatisfied, to seek judicial review of EPA’s decision. See

Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v. Reilly, 988 F.2d 1390 (D.C.

Cir. 1991).

21 Questions of fact were, or at least should have been, at issue,

however, as shown by the discussion of the court of appeals’ deci-

sion to affirm the invalidation of the State’s overall cap on waste

disposal and the “needs regulation” for permitting new or expanded

facilities. See supra at 26-27 & n.18.

30

have reviewed that decision de novo. When the district

court’s determination is based solely on conclusions of

law, the court of appeals is in as good a position as the

district court to make the determination in the first in-

stance, and accordingly, should proceed to do so. See

Massachusetts v. Blackstone Walley Elec. Co., 67 F.3d

981, 991-93 (ist Cir. 1995) (addressing and then order-

ing referral to resolve “varying positions” stated by EPA

whether ferric ferrocyanide is a “cyanide” for purposes of

the Agency’s rules). This case presents the Court with

the opportunity to clarify this aspect of primary jurisdic-

tion doctrine.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

CHARLES MOLONY CONDON

Attorney General

KENNETH P. WOODINGTON

Senior Assistant

Attorney General

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 734-3680

Attorneys for the State

of South Carolina

CARLISLE ROBERTS, JR.

General Counsel

JACQUELYN S. DICKMAN

Assistant General Counsel

2600 Bull Street

Columbia, South Carolina 29201

(803) 734-4910

Attorneys for Commissioner,

South Carolina Department

of Health and

Environmental Control; and

South Carolina Board of

Health and Environmental

Control

January 10, 1997

CHARLES F.. LETTOW *

MICHAEL A. MAZZUCHI

TIMOTHY A. VOGEL

CLEARY, GOTTLIEB, STEEN &

HAMILTON

1752 N Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20036

(202) 728-2700

Attorneys for Petitioners

TREVA G. ASHWORTH

Deputy Attorney General

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 734-3680

Attorney for David M. Beasley,

Governor of the State of

South Carolina

* Counsel of Record

E APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 95-2008

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL, formerly known

as Hazardous Waste Treatment Council, on behalf of

itself and its members,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

v.

SIERRA CLUB; ENERGY RESEARCH FOUNDATION; CITIZENS

FOR CLEAN AIR AND WATER; CITIZENS ASKING FOR A

SAFE ENVIRONMENT, INCORPORATED (CASE); ENvI-

RONMENTALISTS, INCORPORATED,

Defendants-A ppellants,

and

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA; DAvip M. BEASLEY, Gov-

ernor; COMMISSIONER, SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT

OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH

CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRON-

MENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH CAROLINA BOARD OF

HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL,

Defendants.

No. 95-2245

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGY COUNCIL, formerly known

as Hazardous Waste Treatment Council, on behalf of

itself and its members,

Plaintiff-A ppellee,

2a

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA; DAavip M. BEASLEY, Gov-

ernor; COMMISSIONER, SOUTH CAROLINA DEPARTMENT

OF HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH

CAROLINA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND ENVIRON-

MENTAL CONTROL; SOUTH CAROLINA BOARD OF

HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENTAL CONTROL,

Defendants-A ppellants,

and

SIERRA CUB; ENERGY RESEARCH FOUNDATION; CITIZENS

FOR CLEAN AIR AND WATER; CITIZENS ASKING FOR A

SAFE ENVIRONMENT, INCORPORATED (CASE); ENVI-

RONMENTALISTS, INCORPORATED,

Defendants.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of South Carolina, at Columbia

Matthew J. Perry, Jr., Senior District Judge

(CA-90-1402-3-0)

Argued: March 5, 1996

Decided: October 15, 1996

Before MURNAGHAN and MOTZ, Circuit Judges,

and YOUNG, Senior United States District Judge for the

District of Maryland, sitting by designation.

OPINION

MURNAGHAN, Circuit Judge:

The appeal before the court concerns South Carolina’s

attempt to limit the amount of hazardous waste generated

3a

out-of-state and buried within its borders by promulgating

a series of executive orders, statutes, and one regulation

(collectively “the South Carolina laws”) which, as com-

pared to treatment of waste generated within South Caro-

lina, burden out-of-state waste. The discriminating state

laws would impact the operations of three commercial

hazardous waste facilities owned and operated by mem-

bers of the appellee-plaintiff Environmental Technologies

Council (“ETC”).2 ETC filed a lawsuit challenging South

Carolina’s laws under the Commerce Clause of the United

States Constitution, art. I, § 8, cl. 3, the Supremacy Clause,

art. VI, cl. 2, and the Privileges and Immunities Clause,

art. IV, §2 cl. 1, and 42 U.S.C. § 1983 (1988). The

question before the court on appeal is whether South

Carolina’s laws violate the Commerce Clause.’

We previously considered a motion by ETC for a pre-

liminary injunction in this same lawsuit based on a Com-

merce Clause violation. Hazardous Waste Treatment

Council v. State of South Carolina, 945 F.2d 781 (4th

Cir. 1991) (“HWTC”). While remanding to the dis-

trict court, we, for the most part, affirmed the district

court’s grant of a preliminary injunction in favor of ETC.*

1 ETC was formerly known as the Hazardous Waste Treatment

Council (“HWTC”). ETC is a non-profit association of commercial

firms that provide services for the treatment, recycling, and dis-

posal of hazardous wastes.

2 Because the district court addressed only the Commerce Clause

question and our ruling on the Commerce Clause renders the chal-

lenged laws invalid, we do not reach the validity of the laws under

the Supremacy Clause, Privileges and Immunities Clause, or 42

U.S.C. § 1983.

8 We instructed the district court on remand “(1) to modify the

order by striking the words that confusingly imply a declaration

of invalidity, (2) to modify the order to apply only to the specific

portions of the executive orders and statutes challenged as violating

the Commerce Clause, and (3) to consider explicitly the balance of

hardships with respect to Regulation 61-99.” HWTC, 945 F.2d at

795.

4a

On remand, the district court has granted summary judg-

ment in favor of ETC, issuing a permanent injunction as

to all the challenged provisions. Environmental Technolo-

gies Council v. South Carolina, 901 F. Supp. 1026 (D.S.C.

1995) (“ETC”). South Carolina and several intervenors

have appealed. For the following reasons, we affirm.

I

Disposing of hazardous wastes is a national problem

which raises complex technological and political issues.*

4 The Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (“RCRA”)

defines “hazardous waste” as

a solid waste, or combination of solid wastes, which because

of its quantity, concentration, or physical, chemical, or in-

fectious characteristics may—

(A) cause, or significantly contribute to an increase in

mortality or an increase in serious irreversible, or in-

capacitating reversible, illness; or

(B) pose a substantial present or potential hazard to

human health or the environment when improperly treated,

stored, transported, or disposed of, or otherwise managed.

42 U.S.C. § 6903 (5).

The increasing problem of disposing of solid wastes—hazardous

and non-hazardous—is evidenced by the number of recent lawsuits

involving states’ or localities’ attempts to limit wastes entering

their borders. See, e.g., C & A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown,

New York, 511 U.S. 383 (1994) (local solid waste flow control

ordinance requiring all nonhazardous waste to be deposited at

locally-owned facility) ; Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Department of

Envtl. Quality of Oregon, 511 U.S. 93 (1994) (Oregon statute

imposing additional fee on solid waste generated outside the state

and disposed of within the state); Fort Gratiot Sanitary Landfill,

Inc. v. Michigan Dep’t of Natural Resources, 504 U.S. 353 (1992)

(Michigan law prohibiting private landfill operators from accepting

solid waste that originates outside county in which facilities are

located unless specifically authorized by the receiving county’s

plan) ; Chemical Waste Management, Inc. v. Hunt, 504 U.S. 334

(1992) (Montana statute imposing additional fee on all hazardous

waste generated out of state and disposed of within state); City

of Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 487 U.S. 617 (1978) (New Jersey

Sa

South Carolina is one of few states which contain com-

mercial hazardous waste treatment, storage, and disposal

facilities. Thus, South Carolina absorbs a large amount

of the hazardous waste that other states export.

South Carolina’s attempt to limit the level of out-of-

state hazardous waste entering its borders occurs against

a backdrop of congressional legislation addressing the

national hazardous waste problem. Congress has enacted

three sets of laws which are relevant here: (1) the Re-

source Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976 (“RCRA”),

as amended, 42 U.S.C. §§ 6901-6992k (1988); (2) the

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation,

and Liability Act of 1980 (“CERCLA”), as amended, 42

U.S.C. §§ 9601-75 (1988); and (3) the Superfund

Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (“SARA”),

Pub.L. No. 99-499, 100 Stat. 1613 (1986). We briefly

describe each law in so far as it is relevant to the question

before us.

A. RCRA

RCRA establishes a cradle-to-grave regulatory program

for hazardous waste management administered by the En-

vironmental Protection Agency (“EPA”). It attempts to

deal with hazardous waste before it becomes a problem by

establishing minimum federal standards for the genera-

tion, treatment, storage, transportation, and disposal of

hazardous waste, and the permitting of facilities to treat

hazardous waste. HWTC, 945 F.2d at 783. RCRA also

allows a state to implement its own program in lieu of

statute prohibiting importation of most solid or liquid waste gen-

erated out of state); National Solid Wastes Management Ass’n v.

Alabama Dep’t of Envti. Management, 910 F.2d 713 (llth Cir.

1990), as modified upon denial of reh’g, 924 F.2d 1001 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 501 U.S. 1206 (1991) (Alabama statute blacklisting

certain hazardous wastes generated out of state). In each case

listed above a state or locality attempted to discriminate against

waste generated out-of-state, and in each case the discriminatory

action was ruled a violation of the Commerce Clause.

6a

the federal program if the state’s program is “equivalent

to” and “consistent with” the federal or state programs

applicable in other states and provides for “adequate en-

forcement of compliance.” 42 U.S.C. § 6926(b).

Congress delegated to EPA the task of reviewing and

authorizing state programs as consistent with the federal

program. The EPA’s regulation explaining how a state’s

program must be consistent with the federal program is of

particular relevance to the present controversy. It requires

that a state program not unreasonably impede interstate

commerce.°

B. CERCLA and SARA

Passed by Congress in 1980, CERCLA establishes a

cleanup program for hazardous waste which has already

been disposed of improperly. CERCLA created a fund of

federal money available for state cleanup efforts (“Super-

fund”).

Finding that more was still needed to address the

hazardous waste problem, Congress amended CERCLA in

1986 by enacting SARA. SARA requires that each state

submit a proposal to EPA demonstrating that over a 20-

year period the state will have either: (1) adequate ca-

pacity available to dispose of hazardous wastes generated

within the state; or (2) arrange for the disposal of wastes

generated in-state in other states through interregional

5 40 C.F.R. § 271.4 provides:

To obtain approval, a State program must be consistent with

the Federal program and State programs applicable in other

States and in particular must comply with the provisions

below...

(a) Any aspect of the State program which unreasonably

restricts, impedes, or operates as a ban on the free move-

ment across the State border of hazardous wastes from

or to other States for treatment, storage, or disposal at

facilities authorized to operate under the Federal or an

approved State program shall be deemed inconsistent.

Ta

agreements. 42 U.S.C. § 9604(c)(9) (1995).° The re-

quired plans are referred to as Capacity Assurance Plans

(“CAPs”). Failure to submit an acceptable CAP results

in the state becoming ineligible to receive Superfund

money for remedial cleanup of hazardous waste within the

state. Congress promulgated no other sanctions or in-

centives for states to submit CAPs."

C. South Carolina’s Restrictions on the Interstate Flow

of Hazardous Waste

Because South Carolina is one of the few states which

has large existing hazardous waste treatment and disposal

facilities, it contends that it has borne an unfair share of

the national hazardous waste burden. As a result, South

Carolina has attempted, through a series of measures, to

® 42 U.S.C. § 9604(c) provides:

(9) Siting

Effective 3 years after October 17, 1986, the President shall not

provide any remedial actions pursuant to this section unless the

State in which the release occurs first enters into a contract or

cooperative agreement with the President providing assurances

deemed adequate by the President that the State will assure the

availability of hazardous waste treatment or disposal facilities

which—

(A) have adequate capacity for the destruction, treatment,

or secure disposition of all hazardous wastes that are rea-

sonably expected to be generated within the State during

the 20-year period following the date of such contract or

cooperative agreement and to be disposed of, treated, or

destroyed,

(B) are within the State or outside the State in accord-

ance with an interstate agreement or regional agreement

or authority,

(C) are acceptable to the President, and

(D) are in compliance with the requirements of subtitle C

of the Solid Waste Disposal Act.

7 The court refers the reader to its prior opinion in this litigation,

HWTC, 945 F.2d at 783-85, for further background on RCRA,

CERCLA, and SARA.

8a

reduce the amount of hazardous waste entering its borders.

South Carolina’s legislature passed two statutes, its Gov-

ernor signed two Executive Orders, and the South Caro-

lina Departinent of Health and. Environmental Control

(“DHEC”) promulgated one regulation—all of which

were designed to limit the level of out-of-state hazardous

wastes entering South Carolina for burial within the state.

The first measure enacted was a blacklisting provision,

prohibiting entry into the state of certain out-cf-state

wastes. Section 9 of Act No. 196 of 1989 prohibits “any

person who owns or operates a waste treatment facility

within” South Carolina from accepting

any hazardous waste generated in any jurisdiction

which prohibits by law the treatment of that hazard-

ous waste within that jurisdiction or which has not

entered into an interstate or regional agreement for

the safe treatment of hazardous waste pursuant to

the federal [CERCLA].

The Act codified a prior executive order, No. 89-17.

The second measure, Act No. 590 of 1990, established

a limit on all waste buried within the state.* The limit

reduces the existing statutory authorization for hazardous

waste disposal by burial from 135,000 tons within the

state in a year to 120,000 tons from July 1, 1990 to

July 1, 1991. After July 1, 1991, the authorization drops

to 110,000 tons per year. The limit on waste burial can

be lifted, however, upon certification that the burial of

more waste is necessary to protect the health and safety

of the citizens of South Carolina or that 110,000 tons of

the waste buried in South Carolina during the relevant

time period was generated in South Carolina only.

8 The limit is most often referred to as a cap. We have used the

term “limit” here in order to prevent confusion between “cap” and

the acronym for Capacity Assurance Plan, “CAP.”

9a

The same Act also discriminates between waste gen-

erated in-state versus out-of-state by establishing a floor

for in-state wastes and a ceiling for out-of-state wastes.

All hazardous waste facilities must reserve for waste gen-

erated in-state at least the same capacity used during the

previous year. On the other hand, no more hazardous

waste may be buried from out-of-state than the amount

buried in the previous year.

The third measure, executive order No. 89-25 promul-

gated on July 6, 1989, imposes quota preferences for

in-state facilities to reserve at least 54,000 tons per year

of the then-current statutory maximum of 135,000 tons

for waste generated within South Carolina. It also limits

the waste generated from any one state to 35,000 tons

per year, and 10,000 tons per quarter.

The fourth and final measure, DHEC Regulation 61-99,

effective January 12, 1990, imposes a needs requirement

for all permits to establish or expand hazardous waste

treatment and storage facilities. Need may be demon-

strated by reference to only in-state need.

D. EPA’s Response

In 1985, EPA approved South Carolina’s hazardous

waste program under RCRA despite the presence of a dis-

criminatory fee imposed on waste generated out of state.

50 Fed.Reg. 46437 (1985); HWTC, 945 F.2d at 785 &

n.2.° In 1989, EPA expressed concern that the blacklist-

ing provision (Act No. 196 and Exec. Order No. 89-17)

could render South Carolina’s hazardous waste manage-

ment program inconsistent with RCRA. Thus, the EPA

requested an opinion from the South Carolina Attorney

General and certification by the state that the provision

was consistent with RCRA. The South Carolina Attorney

General responded with an opinion that the provision was

® That fee is not challenged in the instant lawsuit.

10a

“consistent.” The record contains no response by EPA or

further EPA action.

Shortly thereafter, on October 17, 1989, South Carolina

submitted to EPA its proposed CAP. EPA approved the

CAP in May 1990, with certain conditions. That approval

was granted in the context of an EPA policy of using the

CAP process as its first step in addressing state actions

which may be inconsistent with RCRA.”

Subsequently, in 1995, EPA issued a notice that it had

made a final decision, subject to public review and com-

ment, that the agency intended to find that South Caro-

lina’s hazardous waste program revisions satisfied all of

the requirements necessary for final authorization under

RCRA. 60 Fed.Reg. 42046 (Aug. 15, 1995). While

the notice does not directly address i ie provisions at issue

here, the notice does indicate that the EPA continues to

approve South Carolina’s hazardous waste program under

RCRA.”

10 Memorandum from Lee M. Thomas to Regional Administrators,

“Policy Regarding Hazardous Waste Management Capacity and

RCRA Consistency Issues” (December 23, 1988).

1 At oral argument, South Carolina asserted that the EPA 1995

RCRA approval specifically addressed one of the challenged provi-

sions at 60 Fed.Reg. 42048, checklist item 17E. Checklist item 17E

addresses the federal requirement for “location standards for salt

domes, salt beds, underground mines and caves.” The federal RCRA

regulations addressed were promulgated by EPA on July 15, 1985.

The state authority to administer the federa! requirements is found

at South Carolina Code §§ 44-56-30, 44-56-60(a-c), and 44-56-120.

We surmise that South Carolina is referring to § 44-45-60 as being

specifically authorized by EPA. Act No. 590 amended § 44-45-60

in 1990 to include the overall limit on waste disposed of by land

burial, a ceiling on out-of-state waste, and a floor on in-state waste.

From the information before the court, however, we do not presume

that EPA specifically addressed and authorized the discriminatory

provisions in question here, which were enactea in 1990 and not

addressed specifically to the location standards for salt domes, salt

beds, underground mines and caves. We do not view the EPA

finding as to the particular federal regulation governing location

lla

Il

We review the district court’s summary judgment ruling

under a de novo standard of review. Henson v. Liggett

Group, Inc., 61 F.3d 270, 274 (4th Cir. 1995); Jackson

v. Kimel, 992 F.2d 1318, 1322 (4th Cir. 1993). Under

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, sum-

mary judgment is appropriate only where there are no

genuine issues of material fact. In conducting our analysis,

we review the record in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party.

South Carolina and the intervenors appeal on several

grounds. First, South Carolina argues that the district

court erred by applying a dormant Commerce Clause anal-

ysis because RCRA, CERCLA, and SARA override the

dormant Commerce Clause, rendering the Clause inappli-

cabic. Second, South Carolina asserts that even assuming

a dormant Commerce Clause analysis applies, there were

genuine issues of material fact and, therefore, summary

judgment was premature. Third, South Carolina argues

that even assuming its laws violate the dormant Commerce

Clause, two portions of the laws—the overall limit on in-

state waste burial and the needs requirement for new

permits—are neutral nondiscriminating provisions and,

therefore, should be severed fro.n the invalid provisions

and upheld. Finally, South Carolina argues that the dis-

trict court should not have ruled on the constitutionality

of the laws, but instead referred the entire lawsuit to the

EPA under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction. We ad-

dress each argument in turn.

We caution at the beginning of our discussion that, as

we recognized in our previous opinion in this case, “what-

standards for salt domes, salt beds, underground mines and caves

as specifically addressing and authorizing the overall limit on

hazardous waste burial and the ceilings and fioors in question.

Thus, based upon the record before the court, we disagree with

South Carolina’s contention that EPA has specifically addressed

and authorized some of the challenged provisions.

12a

ever our own view may be about the effectiveness of what

Congress or [South Carolina] has done [and the serious-

ness of the hazardous waste management problem that

plagues our nation], we can only apply the law.” HWTC,

945 F.2d at 783 (citing National Solid Wastes Manage-

ment Ass'n v. Alabama Dep't of Envtl. Management, 910

F.2d 713, 715-16 (11th Cir. 1990), as modified upon

denial of reh’g, 924 F.2d 1001 (1ith Cir. 1991), cert.

denied, 501 U.S. 1206 (1991)).

A. The Dormant Commerce Clause

The Commerce Clause provides that “[t]he Congress

shall have Power . . . [t]o regulate Commerce . . . among

the several States.” U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, cl. 3. Although

“phrased as a grant of regulatory power to Congress, the

Clause has long been understood to have a ‘negative’ aspect

that denies the States the power unjustifiably to discrim-

inate against or burden the interstate flow of articles of

commerce.” Oregon Waste Sys., Inc. v. Department of

Envtl. Quality, 511 US. ; , 114 S. Ct. 1345,

1349 (1994). Thus, with certain exceptions, the negative

or dormant Commerce Clause prohibits states from dis-

criminating against the free flow of interstate commerce.”

Where Congress has acted in an area specifically

authorizing state or local government action, the dormant

Commerce Clause is, however, inapplicable, even if the

state interferes with interstate commerce. Northeast Ban-

corp. v. Board of Governors of the Fed. Reserve Sys., 472

U.S. 159, 174 (1985); White v. Massachusetts Council of

Constr. Employers, Inc., 460 U.S. 204, 213 (1983).

South Carolina contends that through enacting RCRA,

CERCLA, and SARA, Congress created a federal scheme

to address the disposal of hazardous wastes which author-

12 The Commerce Clause applies to the interstate flow of hazard-

ous waste. Chemical Waste Management, 504 U.S. at 340 n.3.

———

13a

ized the state laws challenged here, thus displacing the

dormant Commerce Clause.

In order for a state law to be removed from the reach

of the dormant Commerce Clause, however, congressional

intent to authorize the discriminating law must be either

“unmistakably clear” or “expressly stated.” South-Central

Timber Dev., Inc. v. Wunnicke, 467 U.S. 82, 91-92

(1984). Congress need not state that it intends to over-

ride the dormant Commerce Clause, but it must affirma-

tively have contemplated the otherwise invalid state legis-

lation. Id.

South Carolina contends that Congress did just that on

a number of levels. First, South Carolina insists that under

RCRA, Congress has expressly authorized any state law

or program addressing hazardous wastes which meets

EPA’s consistency standard of “reasonableness.” 40 C.F.R.

§ 271.4. Second, South Carolina argues that through dele-

gating the authorization of state programs to the EPA

under RCRA and CERCLA, Congress created a system

of checkpoints for a state’s hazardous waste program.

South Carolina contends that by providing the check-

points, Congress has “affirmatively” authorized the state

laws because they are contained in an EPA-approved

RCRA program and CAP. See Merrion v. Jicarilla

Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130, 155 (1982). Finally, South

Carolina argues that the CAP requirement affirmatively

contemplates and sanctions states discriminating against

other states’ wastes. Regional agreements, South Carolina

asserts, will require that states set aside capacity for states

party to the agreement, thus necessitating discrimination

among the states. Furthermore, South Carolina contends

it must favor its own wastes in order to assure the capacity

for in-state wastes it has demonstrated in its CAP.

We previously found at the preliminary injunction stage

that RCRA, CERCLA, and SARA did not contain any

language indicating “an unmistakably clear congressional

intent to permit states to burden interstate commerce.”

14a

HWTC, 945 F.2d at 792. Neither South Carolina, nor

the intervenors have come forward with any further per-

suasive evidence indicating that Congress intended to per-

mit the states, directly or by EPA authorization, to engage

in actions otherwise violative of the Commerce Clause.

i"

More specifically, we reject, as we did before, South

Carolina’s argument that EPA’s reasonableness standard

should displace a constitutional dormant Commerce Clause

analysis. The EPA’s position on what constitutes “reason-

ableness” has changed over time.* While EPA may

13 The Supreme Court has not yet addressed this question. In

Chemical Waste Management, Inc. v. Hunt, 504 U.S. 334 (1992),

the Supreme Court pretermitted the issue raised by the amici

curiae in that case of whether Congress had authorized a discrimi- —

natory fee Alabama imposed on out-of-state hazardous wastes dis-

posed of at commercial facilities locat+xd in Alabama. Z/d. at 346

n.9. Applying the dormant Commerce Vlause, the Supreme Court

held that the discriminatory fee violated the Commerce Clause and

declared the law unconstitutional. The Court refused to consider

the question of whether the Commerce Clause did not apply at all

because that issue had not been a basis for the lower court’s deci-

sion or briefed and argued by the parties.

14 EPA has taken seemingly contradictory positions at different

times on how it will apply and interpret the consistency require-

ment. In 1980, EPA adopted the approach taken in a then- recent

Supreme Court opinion, City of Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437

U.S. 617 (1978), which applied the dormant Commerce Clause to

strike down state statutes discriminating agairst out-of-state liquid

or solid wastes. The Court’s approach rested on the premise that

state regulations which discriminated facially, in effect or in pur-

pose, were virtually yer se invalid. City of Philadelphia, 437 U.S.

at 624-27. Following that precedent, EPA pronounced that under

its consistency regulation, § 271.4, any state program which “op-

erates as a ban on the interstate movement of hazardous waste

is automatically inconsistent.” HWTC, 945 F.2d at 793 (citing 45

Fed.Reg. 53395 (1980)).

In 1985, EPA “altered” its approach to the consistency require-

ment. That year EPA ruled that under its consistency regulation,

the agency wou” «pp 7 a “reasonableness” test to interstate com-

ih blk a da Sie tb ate, Citi

Pee a

7 en ee ORT,

poe *

ge es eS

15a

change its position on what “consistency” entails, the Con-

stitution has not changed and, in the absence of a clear

Congressional statement authorizing discrimination by the

States with respect to hazardous wastes, we must apply the

Constitution’s dictates. See C & A Carbone, 511 USS. at

, 114 S. Ct. at 1691-92 (O’Connor, J. concurring )

(emphasizing high degree of specificity with which Con-

gress must “explicitly” authorize state law otherwise vio-

lating the Commerce Clause) .™

merce restrictions. HWTC, 945 F.2d at 794 (citing 50 Fed.Reg.

46439 (1985)). Thus, EPA announced that it did “not agree that

any disparity in treatment between in-state and out-of-state wastes

is per se unreasonable” seemingly abandoning its prior constitu-

tional standard. 7d.

15 The instant case is distinguishable from the opinion on which

South Carolina places a great deal of reliance, White v. Massa-

chusetts Council of Constr. Employers, 460 U.S. 204 (1988), for

its proposition that Congress has authorized the State’s laws

through RCRA and CERCLA. In White, the Mayor of Boston,

Massachusetts issued an executive order requiring all construction

projects funded by the city to be performed by workers at least

half of whom were bona fide residents of Boston. The order was

challenged as violating the Commerce Clause. The Supreme Court

upheld the Mayor’s order, finding that Boston acted as a market

participant in spending the city’s money. There is a well-settled

exception to the dormant Commerce Clause for states or cities act-

ing as market participants as opposed to government regulators

of the market. Jd. at 206-08. Additionally, the Court noted that

although federal funds were also implicated, Congress had specif-

ically contemplated and directed that those funds be used in a

similar manner to the city’s money: to stimulate economic recov-

ery; to create permanent jobs; to retain jobs that would be lost; to

provide jobs to lower income persons and minorities, including the

unemployed; and to retrain workers. See, e.g., 42 U.S.C. §§ 3131,

5318. Furthermore, the regulations implementing Congress’s di-

rectives contained similar mandates, affirmatively permitting the

type of parochial favoritism contained in the Mayor’s executive

order. White, 460 U.S. at 218-14 n.11. Thus, the preference for

local employment had been expressly contemplated anc authorized

by Congress. In contrast, here, Congress merely contemplated

that state RCRA programs be consistent with the federal and

other states’ approved programs. Congress did not contemplate

16a

We also find that Congress has not provided a series of

checkpoints which authorize discrimination by South Caro-

lina against other states’ hazardous wastes. South Carolina

relies on Merrion v. Jicarilla Apache Tribe, 455 U.S. 130

(1982), for the proposition that a series of congression-

ally created checkpoints for a state’s law authorizes the

state to discriminate against interstate commerce. The

facts of Merrion, however, are distinguishable.

In Merrion, the Court upheld, in the face of a Com-

merce Clause challenge, a tax imposed by the Jicarilla

Apache Indian Tribe on oil and gas extracted from tribal

reservation land. The Court found that the Tribe had the

power as an independent sovereignty to impose the tax.

Id. at 136-52. The Court also noted that the tax would

survive dormant Commerce Clause scrutiny, if applied,

because Congress had displaced the Commerce Clause by

providing a series of precise federal checkpoints that must

be cleared before such a tax could be implemented. 7d. at

154-56. Congress required that under the Indian Reor-

ganization Act, 25 U.S.C. §§ 476, 477, “a tribe . . . obtain

approval from the Secretary [of the Interior] before it

adopts or revises its constitution to announce its intention

to tax nonmembers.” Jd. at 155. Congress was also aware

that Indian tribes impose taxes of the sort in question.

Id. at 156. Furthermore, the tax had been expressly ap-

proved by the Secretary through the checkpoints estab-

lished for such taxes. Td. at 155-56. Thus, Congress ex-

pressly authorized such taxes being implemented by Indian

Tribes if approved by the Secretary of the Interior.**

nor direct that state RCRA programs implement economic barriers

to hazardous waste from other states. Nor do the EPA’s regula-

tions affirmatively and expressly authorize economic barriers to the

interstate movement of hazardous wastes.

16 The Court further concluded that the tax would survive Com-

merce Clause scrutiny because it did not discriminate against inter-

state commerce in violation of the Commerce Clause. Merrion, 455

U.S. at 156-58. The tax had a substantial nexus with the taxing

EE

17a

In contrast, here, one cannot say that Congress expressly

contemplated or authorized violations of the dormant Com-

merce Clause by states limiting access to their hazardous

waste facilities when it enacted RCRA, CERCLA, and

SARA. Thus, no congressionally established “checkpoints”

expressly anticipate or authorize the challenged state laws.

Furthermore, the EPA has not expressly approved any of

the contested South Carolina laws."

We also reject South Carolina’s argument that the CAPs

requirement contemplates and requires that South Carolina

discriminate against out-of-state waste in order to assure

capacity for its in-state waste and to fulfill its interregional

agreements. In our prior opinion, HWTC, 945 F.2d at

794-95, we stated that CERCLA requires only

an “assurance” of twenty-year availability of arranged

adequate capacity. It does not [require] that the state

must ensure that hazardous waste actually is treated

and disposed of either in-state or pursuant to an inter-

state or regional agreement. CERCLA § 104(c) (9)

contemplates that adequate national capacity will exist

if each state can assure that it has adequate capacity

for in-state generated waste after taking into consider-

ation out-of-state waste that it has agreed to import

and in-state waste that it has agreed to export. How-

ever, no part of § 104(c)(9) appears to permit or

require a state to limit its actual in-state capacity to

in-state waste to receive Superfund money. See

OSWER Directive 9010.00a at 4, 6. In fact, it ap-

pears that, if a state refuses to build in-state facilities

or make alternate arrangements, it will be denied

Tribe, was fairly apportioned, related to the services provided by

the Tribe, and was nondiscrimniatory because it was imposed on

minerals sold on the reservation and minerals transported off the

reservation before sale. Jd.

17 Even if EPA had expressly approved the laws in question, we

could not do so without express congressional authorization.

18a

Superfund money, even if, in reality, all in-state

generated waste is safely exported. If congressional

intent had been to subject citizens of recalcitrant

states to environmental danger by barring export of

otherwise untreated and undisposed of hazardous

waste, it could have been easily made clear. “A state

not in compliance with this section may not export

any waste.” In the absence of such intent, we suspect

that Congress believed the penalty of no access to

federal Superfunds for waste cleanup would be suf-

ficient.

South Carolina has not presented any evidence sufficient

to dissuade us of our prior thinking. Furthermore, as the

Eleventh Circuit noted in responce to a similar argument,

if the state’s CAP depends on capacity provided by a com-

mercial, privately owned management facilty, the state can

contract with that private facility for that capacity, instead

of blocking the private facility from accepting wastes from

other states. National Solid Wastes Managament Ass’n,

910 F.2d at 720-21 (rejecting similar argument that

SARA expressly authorized state law discriminating against

out-of-state hazardous waste); Alabama v. EPA, 871 F.2d

1548, 1555 n.3 (11th Cir.) (finding that Congress had

not overridden Commerce Clause through enacting

CERCLA) cert. denied, 493 U.S. 991 (1989). Thus, we

apply a dormant Commerce Clause analysis to South Caro-

lina’s laws.

B. Application of Dormant Commerce Clause

We apply a two-tiered analysis to state actions allegedly

violating the dormant Commerce Clause. The first tier, “a

virtually per se rule of invalidity”’ applies where a state

law discriminates facially, in its practical effect, or in its

purpose. Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 502 U.S. 437, 454-55

(1992) (quoting City of Philadelphia, 437 U.S. at 624).

In order for a law to survive such scrutiny, the state must

prove that the discriminatory law “is demonstrably justi-

ee en ee eee

19a

fied by a valid factor unrelated to economic protection-

ism,” New Energy Co. of Ind. v. Limbach, 486 U.S. 269,

274 (1988), and that there are no “nondiscriminatory

alternatives adequate to preserve the local interests at

stake,” Hunt, 504 U.S. at 342 (quoting Hunt v. Washing-

ton State Apple Advertising Comm’n, 432 U.S. 333, 353

1977)). To date, the Supreme Court has upheld such

discriminatory laws only where the discrimination was

justified by the threat of death or disease. See, e.g., Maine

v. Taylor, 477 U.S. 131 (1986) (upholding Maine’s pro-

hibition on importing live baitfish because of the potential

for destruction of Maine’s fisheries); Clason v. Indiana,

306 U.S. 439 (1939) (upholding Indiana’s restrictions on

transporting dead animals without a license because of the

potential for disease).

The second tier applies if a statute regulates even-

handedly and only indirectly affects interstate commerce.

In that case, the law is valid unless the burdens on com-

merce are “clearly excessive in relation to the putative

local benefits.” Pike v. Bruce Church, Inc., 397 U.S. 137,

142 (1970).

The line between the per se rule and the Pike balancing

test is not clear. Nonetheless, most of the provisions at

issue here are not close calls—they clearly discriminate

against out-of-state waste either facially, in effect, or in

purpose. The blacklisting provision, floor for in-state

wastes, ceiling for out-of-state wastes, and quotas for

out-of-state and in-state wastes facially discriminate

against out-of-state wastes by refusing admittance into

South Carolina of certain wastes and giving express pref-

erence over South Carolina capacity to in-state wastes.

Their effect, if implemented, would also clearly discrimi-

nate against out-of-state wastes. As for purpose, we have

no reason to reverse the district court’s finding that the

laws in question constitute “an integrated and intercon-

nected discriminatory program,” ETC, 901 F.Supp. at

1029, whereby South Carolina has “attempted ‘to isolate

itself from a problem common to [the nation] by erecting

20a

a barrier against the movement of interstate trade’,”

HWTC, 945 F.2d at 791 (quoting City of Philadelphia,

437 U.S. at 628).*

A state cannot achieve a legitimate economic goal

through “the illegitimate means of isolating the State from

the national economy.” Wyoming, 502 U.S. at 456-57

(quoting City of Philadelphia, 437 U.S. at 627). The

relevant economic unit is the nation, and the Commerce

Clause prohibits states from balkanizing into separate eco-

nomic units. H.P. Hood & Sons, Inc. v. Du Mond, 336

U.S. 525, 537-38 (1949). Thus, South Carolina faces a

heavy burden in justifying its discriminatory practices. To

survive summary judgment, South Carolina must demon-

strate issues of fact regarding whether the laws are justified

by a valid factor unrelated to economic protectionism and,

if so, that there are no neutral alternatives available.

While South Carolina failed to articulate precisely its

purpose in discriminating against out-of-state waste, the

district court found several motivating concerns. The

district court first found that South Carolina was moti-

vated by the state’s concern for the “health, safety, and

welfare of its citizens.” ETC, 901 F.Supp. at 1033-34.

There is “no basis to distinguish out-of-state waste from

domestic waste” over concern for citizens’ health, safety,

and welfare, however. Hazardous waste is equally danger-

ous whether generated within South Carolina or out-of-

state. See Chemical Waste Management, 504 U.S. at

344-45 (holding that hazardous waste’s danger to the

health and safety of Alabama’s citizens “does not vary

with the point of origin of the waste”); HWTC, 945 F.2d

at 792 (citing City of Philadelphia, 437 U.S. at 629).

The State’s second concern was with preserving existing

disposal capacity for waste generated within South Caro-

18 For example, the stated purpose of Act No. 196 (blacklisting

provision) is to “give preference to hazardous waste generators

within” South Carolina. Act No. 590 gives the same preference to

hazardous waste generators within the state.

2la

lina. ETC, 901 F.Supp. at 1034. Natural resources, how-

ever, may not be hoarded under the Commerce Clause.

“{A] State may not accord its own inhabitants a preferred

right of access over consumers in other States to natural

resources located within its borders.” City of Philadelphia,

437 U.S. at 627; see also New England Power Co. v. New

Hampshire, 455 U.S. 331, 338 (1982). Thus, “[t]he

burden . . . of conserving the State’s remaining landfill

space should not fall disproportionately on out-of-state

interests.” HWTC, 945 F.2d at 792 (citing City of

Philadelphia, 437 U.S. at 628).

The third concern the district court found was South

Carolina’s worries about “transportation risks.” ETC, 901

F.Supp. at 1034. Just as with the State’s concern with

health and safety, there is little to distinguish out-of-state

waste from in-state waste in this regard. Furthermore,

neutral alternatives exist for regulating transportation of

all hazardous waste regardless of origin. Chemical Waste

Management, 504 U.S. at 345-46.

Finally, there was South Carolina’s concern that it is

shouldering an unfair burden of the nation’s hazardous

wastes. ETC, 901i F.Supp. at 1034. The Commerce

Clause does not purport to require fairness among the

States in interstate commerce. The “apparent Congres-

sional intent of RCRA and SARA would seem” to be

“that hazardous waste be treated and disposed of some-

where, even if spread disproportionately among the states.”

HWTC, 945 F.2d at 792.

On appeal, South Carolina reframes its purposes as:

(1) complying with the CAP by guaranteeing capacity;

and (2) addressing “orphan” wastes—hazardous waste

from a state which prohibits its disposal and has failed

to enter into a CAP for its disposal. As previously ex-

plained, the CAP requirement does not require or con-

template that a state discriminate against out-of-state

waste in order to comply. Nor does the Commerce Clause

allow states to punish other states for not disposing of

22a

their wastes through a CAP or otherwise. That task is

left exclusively to Congress.

In briefing its appeal, South Carolina pointed to no

specific issue of fact as to any potential purpose for dis-

criminating against out-of-state waste. Rather, the State

merely argued that it is entitled to present evidence that

it has no alternative but to differentiate among out-of-

State wastes to protect its citizens’ health and safety and

to comply with CERCLA.

At the summary judgment stage, South Carolina has a

burden to demonstrate disputed issues of material fact.

South Carolina has failed to meet its burden. None of

the affidavits South Carolina submitted even purport to

justify South Carolina’s discriminatory treatment of out-of-

state wastes. ETC, 901 F.Supp. at 1030." Nor do any of

the affidavits purport to demonstrate that no neutral al-

ternatives exist to discrimination.

C. Limit on Waste Buried In-State and Needs Require-

ment

As for two portions of the South Carolina laws, it is not

so obvious, however, that they discriminate either facially,

in effect, or in purpose, such that the per se test applies.

South Carolina therefore argues that even if we find that

the dormant Commerce Clause applies and that the laws

are invalid, portions of the laws—the overall limit imposed

by Act No. 590 and the needs requirement imposed by

DHEC regulation 61-99—do not discriminate against in-

terstate commerce. Therefore, South Carolina contends,

the valid portions should be severed from the invalid

portions and remain in effect. We disagree.

19 South Carolina merely presents a series of affidavits that de-

scribe its hazardous waste program; the amount of wastes buried

in state, broken down by in-state and out-of-state wastes; and

similar statistics.

23a

1. Limit

An evenhanded cap or limit uniformly burdens both

in-state and out-of-state interests. See, e.g., Chambers

Medical Technologies of S.C. v. Bryant, 52 F.3d 1252,

1258 (4th Cir. 1995). Thus, the Supreme Court has held

that the dormant Commerce Clause allows a state to

impose “an evenhanded cap on the total tonnage land-

filled” with hazardous waste when it “curtail[s] volume

from all sources.” Chemical Waste Management, 504

U.S. at 345. South Carolina contends that its reduction

of the statutory authorization of 135,000 tons per year

to 120,000 tons and then 110,000 tons is an evenhanded

neutral limit that does not burden interstate commerce

any more than intrastate commerce.”

The limit South Carolina seeks to have upheld, how-

ever, is not as evenhanded and neutral as the state would

have the court believe. The limit does not have the same

effect on in-state as out-of-state wastes because the limit

can be lifted upon certification that it is necessary to

protect South Carolina’s citizens, S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-

60(a)(3)(B) (Law Co-op Supp. 1995), or that the

entire statutory authorization of buried waste during the

relevant 12-month period was generated in South Caro-

lina, S.C. Code Ann. § 44-56-60(a)(3)(B) (Law Co-op

Supp. 1995). The same exceptions are not granted to

out-of-state interests. The Supreme Court has declared

that “[t]he commerce clause forbids discrimination,

whether forthright or ingenious. In each case it is our

duty to determine whether the statute under attack, what-

ever its name may be, will in its practical operation work

20 South Carolina also contends that we expressly excluded the

overall limit as one of the items properly enjoined in our previous

opinion addressing the preliminary injunction. HWTC, 945 F.2d

at 787 n.9. While we referenced the statutory section containing

the limit in our list of sections to be enjoined, we specifically re-

ferred to another subsection. Today, however, for the reasons set

forth below, we clarify that the limit is included as one of the items

that violates the Commerce Clause.

24a

discrimination against interstate commerce.” West Lynn

Creamery, Inc. v. Healy, 511 U.S. : , 114 S. Ct.

2205, 2215-16 (1994) (citing Best & Co. v. Maxwell,

311 U.S. 454, 455-56 (1940); Maryland v. Louisiana,

451 U.S. 725, 756 (1981); Exxon Corp. v. Governor of

Maryland, 437 U.S. 117, 147 (1978)). Here, the excep-

tion favors in-state interests over out-of-state interests.

Thus, the overall limit is not facially neutral, but rather

discriminatory and, therefore, subject to the same per se

test applied to the other discriminatory provisions of Act

590. The limit fails to survive such scrutiny for the same

reasons that the floors and ceilings in Act 590 failed.”

2. Needs Requirement

The needs regulation requires that a permit application

for new or expanded hazardous waste facilities demon-

strate need by reference to the level of waste generated in

21 Even if the limit were nondiscriminatory, it would not be

severable. State law governs the severability of a state statute.

Muller v. Curran, 889 F.2d 54, 57 (4th Cir. 1989), cert. denied, 493

U.S. 1074 (1990). Thus, in determining whether the overall limit

can be severed, we turn to South Carolina law. Under South Caro-

lina law, “[t]he test for severability is whether the constitutional

portion of the statute remains ‘complete in itself, wholly independ-

ent of that which is rejected, and is of such a character as that it

may fairly be presumed that the Legislature would have passed

it independent of that which is in conflict with the Constitution.’ ”

Thayer v. South Carolina Tax Comm’n, 413 §S.E.2d 810, 814-15

(S.C. 1992) (citing Shumpert v. South Carolina Dep’t of Highways

& Public Transp., 409 S.E.2d 771 (1991)) (footnote omitted).

We cannot fairly presume that the South Carolina legislature

would have passed the overall limit without the provision allowing

the limit’s increase if South Carolina wastes exceeded the cap.

Nor can we assume that the limit would have been passed without

the remaining provisions of the statute, which include floors for

in-state-wastes and ceilings for out-of-state wastes. By protecting

capacity for in-state interests, the legislature may have quelched

in-state political interests that might otherwise have lobbied

against the overall limit. Thus, we conclude that the limit provi-

sion is not severable.

25a

South Carolina only. South Carolina contends that the

needs requirement is neutral, functioning similarly to an

evenhanded cap and therefore valid. In our earlier opin-

ion, we found that “[o]n its face [the needs requirement]

appears not to regulate evenhandedly. It permits South

Carolina to refuse to allow new construction if all of its

waste can be disposed of by exportation. The ‘practical

effect’ . . . of the regulation may be to favor in-state inter-

ests over out-of-state interests.” HWTC, 945 F.2d at 791

n.14 (citation omitted). Indeed, currently, the practical

effect may be to establish a ban on building new capacity.

We find that the needs requirement is not similar to an

evenhanded cap with the same effect on both in-state and

out-of-state interests. The effect on out-of-state interests

is to prohibit facilities from expanding to meet out-of-state

needs, but to allow expansion to meet in-state needs. Thus,

just as with the overall limit in question, the needs require-

ment contains an exception for in-state needs allowing

expansion or a raise in the limit where in-state needs dic-

tate such a rise. While the limit once imposed applies

equally to out-of-state and in-state wastes, in effect, it

guarantees in-state generators of waste space because the

limit can always be raised in order to meet in-state needs.

Therefore, we apply the per se test to Regulation 61-99.”

The needs regulation does not survive the per se test for

22 South Carolina’s reliance on Chambers Medical Technologies

of South Carolina v. Bryant, 52 F.3d 1252 (4th Cir. 1995), does

not aid its cause. South Carolina seeks to establish that the needs

regulation is similar to South Carolina’s fluctuating cap for in-

fectious waste based on the amount of waste generated in South

Carolina alone. In Chambers, we held that the fluctuating cap for

infectious waste might pass Commerce Clause scrutiny if it regu-

lated in an evenhanded fashion and had only incidental effects on

interstate commerce; whereas it would not be constitutional if it

discriminated facially, in effect, or in purpose, thus necessitating

that the per se test be applied. Jd. at 1262. Here, the regulation

discriminates in effect. Thus, the per se test applies.

Furthermore, significantly, we noted that the fluctuating cap in

Chambers did not operate as a ban on the expansion of facilities.

26a

the same reasons the remainder of the challenged South

Carolina laws failed to survive. South Carolina has raised

no issue of fact as to a state rationale unrelated to the

origin of the waste for its needs requirement.

D. Primary Jurisdiction

Finally, South Carolina attempts to persuade us that the

district court erred by failing to defer under the doctrine

of primary jurisdiction to the EPA in the first instance as

to whether South Carolina’s laws are constitutional.” “No

fixed formula exists for applying the doctrine of primary

jurisdiction.” United States v. Western Pac. R.R. Co., 352

U.S. 59, 64 (1956). Generally speaking, the doctrine is

designed to coordinate administrative and judicial decision-

making by taking advantage of agency expertise and refer-

ring issues of fact not within the conventional experience

of judges or cases which require the exercise of administra-

tive discretion. Id.; Commonwealth of Massachusetts v.

Blackstone Valley Elec. Co., 67 F.3d 981, 992 (1st Cir.

1995); Mashpee Tribe v. New Seabury Corp., 592 F.2d

575, 580 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 866 (1979),

and cert. denied, 464 U.S. 866 (1983).

The district judge refused to refer the instant lawsuit to

the EPA under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction be-

cause he found that there were no issues of fact. Primary

52 F.3d at 1262. It merely limited the amount of infectious waste

any one facility could process. While the South Carolina Code re-

quired that a permit be obtained in order to build a new facility

and that infectious waste generated out-of-state could only be con-

sidered in the needs calculations with DHEC approval, the Cham-

bers court assumed that the DHEC would not deny a permit on a

basis violating the Commerce Clause. Jd. at 1262 n.15. Thus, in

dicta, we suggested in Chambers that outright bans on expansion

based on in-state needs only will most likely not survive dormant

Commerce Clause scrutiny.

23 As conceded in oral argument, however, South Carolina has

r— ~ not requested that the EPA intervene in this case as an amicus

curiae, nor has the EPA sought intervention.

Bac in er Sa

27a

jurisdiction, he held, applied only to the referral of factual,

not legal, issues. He further reasoned that the “constitu-

tional issues . . . [at stake were more] properly within the

traditional purview of an Article III court, and are not

those to which EPA could conceivably lend some degree of

expertise.” ETC, 901 F. Supp. at 1029. We review the

district court’s decision declining to refer the lawsuit to the

EPA under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction for abuse

of discretion. In re Lower Lake Erie Iron Ore Antitrust

Litig., 998 F.2d 1144, 1162 (3d Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

114 S.Ct. 921 (1994) .™

The district court did not abuse its discretion. The

EPA’s special expertise is not needed to decide a question

of law in a constitutional matter.

Accordingly, the district court’s judgment is

AFFIRMED.

*4South Carolina contends that the district court’s refusal to

apply the doctrine of primary jurisdiction was based wholly on

erroneous conclusions of laws and should therefore be reviewed

de novo. “[D]espite what the term (primary jurisdiction] may im-

ply, [it] does not speak to the jurisdictional power _f the federal

courts. It simply structures the proceedings as a matter of judi-

cial discretion, so as to engender an orderly and sensible coordina-

tion of the work of agencies and courts.” In re Lower Lake Erie

Iron Ore Antitrust Litig., 998 F.2d at 1162 (quoting United States

v. Bessemer & Lake Erie R.R. Co., 717 F.2d 593, 599 (D.C. Cir.

1983)). Thus, the decision not to refer a lawsuit to an agency

under the doctrine of primary jurisdiction is a discretionary mat-

ter which we review for abuse of discretion. Furthermore, because

the matter at issue is a constitutional question which lies within

this court’s expertise, the district court correctly applied the law.

28a

APPENDIX B

[Filed Apr. 13, 1995]

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF SOUTH CAROLINA

COLUMBIA DIVISION

Civil Action No. 3:90-1402-0

ENVIRONMENTAL TECHNOLOGIES COUNCIL,

On behalf of itself and its members,

‘dies Plaintiff,

STATE OF SOUTH CAROLINA, et al.,

Defendants.

FINDINGS OF FACT, CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW AND ORDER

The plaintiff has moved for summary judgment, assert-

ing that there are no genuine issues of material fact and

that it is entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Plaintiff

seeks a declaration that certain executive orders, statutes

and a regulation are invalid under the Interstate Com-

merce Clause of the United States Constitution.’ Pre-

viously, this Court concluded that the plaintiff would prob-

ably prevail on the merits and entered a preliminary in-

junction. Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v. South

Carolina, 766 F. Supp. 431 (D.S.C. 1991).? That deci-

1“Congress shall have the power .... [t]o regulate commerce

with foreign Nations, and among the several States, and with the

Indian Tribes.” U.S. CONST. art. I, § 8, cl. 3.

2The plaintiff has now changed its name from “Hazardous

Waste Treatment Council” to “Environmental Technologies Coun-

cil.”

29a

sion was affirmed by the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit and remanded for modification of

the preliminary injunction. 945 '.2d 781 (4th Cir. 1991).

Thereafter, the defendants and the intervenors filed mo-

tions to modify the preliminary injunction as directed by

the Court of Appeals. The plaintiff has filed a motion for

summary judgment pursuant to Rule 56, Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. The Court has now considered the exten-

sive memoranda submitted by the parties, together with

the oral arguments and now enters its findings of fact and

conclusions of law.

I. PRIMARY JURISDICTION

At the September 20, 1994 hearing, this Court denied

Defendants’ Motion to stay and refer this case to the

U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) under

the primary jurisdiction doctrine. Primary jurisdiction ap-

plies only to the referral of relevant factual, rather than

legal, issues to a federal agency. See Far East Conference

v. United States, 342 U.S. 570, 574 (1952); Nader v.

Allegheny Airlines, 426 U.S. 290, 304 (1976). In this

case, there are no material facts genuinely in dispute, and

thus there are no factual issues requiring resolution by

EPA.

Moreover, the constitutional issues raised here are prop-

erly within the traditional purview of an Article III court,

and are not those to which EPA could conceivably land

some degree of expertise. See Environmental Defense Fund

v. Wheelabrator Technologies, 725 F. Supp. 758, 775

(S.D.N.Y. 1989), quoting Board of Educ. of City School

Dist. v. Harris, 622 F.2d 599, 607 (2d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 499 U.S. 1124 (1981) (“It is well established that

the courts need not defer to an agency where the issue in-

volved is a strictly legal one, involving neither the agency’s

particular expertise nor its fact finding prowess”); See also

Sierra Club v. DOE, 734 F. Supp. 946, 951 (D. Colo.

30a

1990) (“Where, as here, the issue is strictly legal, a court

need not defer to a state agency”). In accordance with

the mandate of the Fourth Circuit, this Court concludes

that referral to EPA is not appropriate. Hazardous Waste

Treatment Council v. South Carolina, 945 F.2d 781, 794

(4th Cir. 1991) (“EPA may change its interpretation of

its own regulation; however, we cannot change the com-

mands of the Constitution and Congress”) (“HWTC II”).

Il. MOTION TO MODIFY THE

PRELIMINARY INJUNCTION

This Court has considered both Plaintiff's Motion for

Summary Judgment and Defendants and Intervenors’ Mo-

tion to Modify the Preliminary Injunction. Because sum-

mary judgment is appropriate, any modification of the pre-

liminary injunction is now moot, ard the motion to modify

is denied. To the extent the permanent injunction issued

herewith differs from the January 20, 1991 preliminary

injunction, see Hazardous Waste Treatment Council v.

South Carolina, 766 F. Supp. 431 (DS.C. 1991)

(“HWTC I”), those changes are reflected below.

Ill. PLAINTIFFS MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

This case challenges South Carolina’s discriminatory

efforts to regulate the management of hazardous waste

services located in the State.* At issue are two statutes,

two executive orders, and one regulation ‘which constitute

an integrated and interconnected discriminatory program.

As this Court and the Court of Appeals concluded at

the preliminary injunction stage, the State’s discriminatory

program violates the Commerce Clause. Because there are

3 There are three facilities in South Carolina licensed to handle

hazardous waste. The largest, located in Pinewood, is a disposal

facility operated by Laidlaw Environmental Services of South

Carolina, Inc. See HWRC I, 766 F. Supp. at 435.

3la

no material facts in dispute regarding the State’s program,

summary judgment is appropriate at this stage. See Phila-

delphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978); Chemical

Waste Management, Inc. v. Hunt, 112 S.Ct. 2009 (1992);

Fort Gratiot Sanitary Landfill, Inc. v. Michigan Dep’t of

Natural Resources, 112 S.Ct. 209 (1992); C&A Carbone,

Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown, New York, 114 S.Ct. 1677

(1994); Oregon Waste Systems, Inc. v. Dep’t of Environ-

mental Quality, 114 S.Ct. 1345 (1994); National Solid

Waste Management v. Alabama Dep’t of Env’t, 910 F.2d

713 (11th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 2800

(1991).

Initially, the State and Intervenors must come forward

with competent evidence cemonstrating a genuine issue of

material fact for trial. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e). See Ander-

son v. Liberty Lobby, inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986); Celo-

tex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986). Defendants

have failed to bring forward any evidence relevant to meet-

ing this burden in the context of a case challenging facial

discrimination against interstate commerce. See, e.g.,

Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 112 S.Ct. 789 (1992); Healy v.

Bear Inst., Inc., 491 U.S. 324 (1989); City of Philadel-

phia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978).

In particular, none of the eight affidavits the State has

provided raises a material fact in issue. The first, from

Lewis Bedenbaugh of the Department of Health and En-

vironmental Control (“DHEC”), addresses Superfund

clean-up activities in South Carolina, (Exhibit 1, Defend-

ant’s Memorandum In Opposition to Motion for Summary

Judgment.) The second and third, both by David Wilson

of DHEC, address volumes of hazardous waste being

treated, stored and disposed of in South Carolina and the

permitting process. (Exhibits 2 and 3.) The fourth, and

fifth, both by John Buchanan of DHEC, address the trans-

portation and record-keeping of hazardous waste in South

Carolina, and the State enforcement program for haz-

32a

ardous waste facilities. (Exhibits 4 and 5.) The sixth,

seventh, and eighth, all by Robert King of DHEC, ad-

dress 1) hazardous waste management capacities in vari-

ous states, 2) South Carolina’s EPA authorization to ad-

minister its own hazardous waste management program,

and 3) South Carolina’s efforts to enter a Capacity Assur-

ance Regional Agreement. (Exhibits 6-8.) While some of

the attachments to these affidavits do provide breakdowns

for in-state and out-of-state waste, none of the affidavits

even purports to justify South Carolina’s discriminatory

treatment of out-of-state waste.

The State’s failure to raise a factual issue for trial

demonstrates, as a matter of law, that the State cannot

carry its burden under the Commerce’s Clause’s “strict

scrutiny” standard. As the Court of Appeals noted, “[t]he

Commerce Clause directly limits the power of the States

to discriminate against interstate commerce.” HWTC II,

945 F.2d at 789, quoting New Energy Co. of Indiana v.

Limbach, 486 U.S. 269, 273 (1988) (“New Energy”).

A facially discriminatory program such as is at issue here

is invalid “‘unless the discrimination is demonstrably

justified by a valid factor unrelated to economic protec-

tionism.’” 945 F.2d at 790, quoting Maine v. Taylor,

477 U.S. 131 (1986). “Justifying discrimination is diffi-

cult to say the least.” HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 790. Where,

as here, each of the challenged laws “do not regulate even-

handedly but discriminate on their face against out-of-

state hazardous waste,” id. at n. 13, there is a “virtually

per se rule of invalidity ....” New Energy, 486 US. at

278-79, quoting Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. at

624. Therefore, “ ‘the strictest scrutiny of any purported

legitimate local purpose and of the absence of nondis-

criminatory alternatives’” applies. Wyoming v. Okla-

homa, 112 S. Ct. 789, 801 (1982), quoting Hughes v.

Oklahoma, 441 U.S. 322, 337 (1979).

At the preliminary injunction stage this Court noted

that, “[p]laintiff will likely succeed on the merits in their

33a

challenge to these actions under the Commerce Clause.”

HWTC I, 766 F.Supp. at 441. The Court also noted

that, “[I]t may not be gainsaid that the public interest is

best served when unconstitutional laws are enjoined.” Id.

at 442. At this stage, as Defendants have not come for-

ward with any evidence demonstrating a genuine issue of

material fact regarding the State’s purported “legitimate

local purpose” or the “absence of nondiscriminatory alter-

natives,” summary judgment is appropriate.

A. Undisputed Material Facts

1. South Carolina’s Discrimination Program

The program challenged here has five interrelated com-

ponents, comprised of two executive orders, two statutes,

and one DHEC regulation. Together they compose one

overall program designed to provide a system of preferen-

tial treatment for hazardous waste generators in-state at

the expense of out-of-state generators. Section 9 of Act

No. 196 of 1989, which amends S.C. Code Ann. Section

4456-130, and Executive Order (“E.O.”) No. 89-17, the

“blacklisting” provisions, prohibit the introduction into

South Carolina of any hazardous waste from generators in

particular states—those which, as determined by South

_Carolina: (1) prohibit treatment, storage or disposal of

such waste within their borders, or (2) fail to enter into a

regional or interstate agreement with South Carolina re-

garding the management of such wastes. See HWTC I.

766 F. Supp. at 436-37. This statute and order also re-

quire the State’s treatment and disposal facilities to give

preference to hazardous waste generators within the State.

Section 5, Act No. 196; S.C. Code Ann. 44-56-205; E.O.

89-17. The State and Intervenors have essentially aban-

doned any argument that these two laws pass muster under

the Commerce Clause.

Act No. 590 of 1990, amending S.C. Code Ann.

Section 44-56-59 and Section 44-56-60(a), and E.O. No.

89-25, the “quota” provisions, put inequitable limits on

34a

the amount of hazardous waste that can be disposed of

in South Carolina. See HWTC I, 766 F.Supp. at 437-48.

As proof of iis discriminatory purpose, $.C. Code Ann.

Section 44-56-59 provides:

(A) The General Assembly finds:

(1) The existing commercial land disposal facility

in South Carolina [Pinewood] and available capacity

in this State generally are limited resources;

(2) It is essential that the limited waste treatment

and disposal capacity of the existing commercial fa-

cility [Pinewood] and the State in general be pre-

served, ready and available to ensure that the needs

of South Carolina are met first;

(3) The existing commercial land disposal fa-

cility [Pinewood] as well as other hazardous waste

treatment and disposal facilities must give preference

to hazardous waste generators within the State for

treatment and disposal of hazardous materials at

licensed facilities in the State;

(4) The General Assembly [Act No. 196] and

the Executive branch [E.O. Nos. 89-17 and 89-25]

have mandated restrictions on the importation of out-

of-state wastes and on the capacity of existing haz-

ardous waste landfills; and

(5) Reducing the amount of hazardous waste

shipped to South Carolina commercial facilities will

send a message to all states that South Carolina in-

tends to reduce to the greatest extent ossible the

amount of hazardous waste treated and disposed of

in this State.

(B) Based upon these findings the General Assembly

declares that:

* * * *

(2) As this State reduces its reliance on landfill-

ing—the amount of hazardous waste being shipped

into the State should be reduced and eliminated also.

35a

Accordingly, Section 44-56-60(a)(2) of Act No. 590

subjects Pinewood to a lowered disposal quota of 110,000

tons per year.* Of that quota, E.O. No. 89-25 sets aside

54,000 tons for hazardous waste “generated in South

Carolina.” Thus a substantial portion —45 percent of the

overall quota—is reserved for South Carolina waste.

Section 44-56-60(a)(3) of Act No. 590 requires that

Pinewood reserve at least as much capacity for in-state

waste as the facility disposed during the previous twelve

months. Thus, if more than 54,000 tons is disposed of by

South Carolina, that new amount now serves as a floor

for the next 12 months. Pinewood may not, however,

accept any more out-of-state waste than it accepted during

the previous twelve months. Thus, if Pinewood accepted

less than 56,000 tons from its out-of-state customers over

the previous twelve months, that lower amount now serves

as a new ceiling for the next twelve months. South Caro-

lina generators of waste thus benefit from preferential

treatment contained in Section 44-56-60(a) (3) while out-

of-state customers fight for access to the shrinking portion

of the lowered 110,000 ton total.

Further, under E.O. 89-25 generator-customers located

in other states may only utilize up to 35,000 tons of the

overall out-of-state quota and not more than 10,000 tons

per quarter. E.O. No. 89-25. South Carolina generators,

then, are entitled to bring to Pinewood each year over

50% more waste than generators from any other one

state (54,000 tons as compared with 35,000 tons. )

The final element in this discriminatory program is

DHEC Regulation 6199. This regulation contains require-

ments for the permitting of new or expanded hazardous

waste management facilities, including a “demonstration

of need” for the new or expanded facility. Plaintiff does

*From July 1, 1990 to July 1, 1991, the capacity limit was

120,000 tons. After July 1, 1991, the 110,000 limit was to go into

effect, except for this court’s preliminary injunction.

36a i

not challenge this regulation in its entirety. Instead, plain-

tiff only seeks to declare invalid that portion which pro-

hibits an applicant from including out-of-state waste in

the demonstration of need: “[f]or the purposes of demon-

strating need, Hazardous Waste generated outside the

State of South Carolina shall not be included.” DHEC

Reg. 61-99, I1I(C). HWTC I, 766 F. Supp. at 436.

2. The State Has Failed To Demonstrate That Any

Material Facts Are Genuinely In Dispute

Defendants argue that material facts remain in dispute

which preclude summary judgment and require a trial.

As each of the challenged provisions facially discriminates

against interstate commerce, however, the State bears the

extraordinarily high burden of demonstrating that (1)

there is a legitimate local purpose for the discrimination,

and (2) there are no non-discriminatory alternatives which

could serve this purpose. Wyoming v. Oklahoma, 112

S. Ct. at 801 (“ ‘At a minimum such facial discrimination

invokes the strictest scrutiny of any purported legitimate

local purpose and of the absence of nondiscriminatory

alternatives’”) (emphasis added), quoting Hughes, 441

U.S. at 337; see also Maine v. Taylor, 447 U.S. 131, 144

(1986), quoting Hughes; HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 790

(“[jJustifying discrimination is difficult to say the least”).

Where, as here, each of the challenged laws “do not regu-

late evenhandedly but discriminate on their face against

out-of-state hazardous waste,” id. at n. 13, there is a “vir-

tually per se rule of invalidity ....” New Energy, 486

U.S. at 278-79, quoting Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437

U.S. at 624. The burden of overcoming the “virtually per

se” rule is extraordinarily high, and it has been accom-

plished only once or twice over the entire history of the

Nation.

South Carolina argues that it is entitled to a trial “to

exercise its right to adduce evidence in justification of the

purpose and basis for its challenged laws.” (Memoran-

|

37a

dum in Opposition at 5). It is the State’s position that

this Court may not enter summary judgment simply be-

cause the Fourth Circuit did not resolve the matter “on

the merits” at the preliminary injunction stage. HWTC

II, 945 F.2d at 789 n. 11.

But this case is no longer at the preliminary injunction

Stage. In declining, “to decide the case on the merits at

the early prelimianry injunction stage,” id., the Fourth

Circuit property was drawing a distinction between a pre-

liminary injunction motion and a decision on the merits.

The present motion is for summary judgment, disposition

of which is every bit an adjudication on the merits as a

trial.

In particlular, at the summary judgment stage, unlike

the preliminary injunction stage, it is not sufficient for

South Carolina to simply assert an “intention to produce

evidence” at some future time. Rather, the time is now

for the State to come forward with actual evidence to

carry its burden under “strict scrutiny” and defeat sum-

mary judgment. See Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc.,

477 US, at 256 (“Rule 56(e) itself provides that a party

opposing a properly supported motion for summary judg-

ment may not rest upon mere allegation or denials of his

pleading, but must set forth specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial”). This is particularly

true where, as here, it must submit enough evidence to

overcome the heavy burden of the virtual per se rule of

invalidity. See generally Metuskits Elec. Indus. Co., Ltd.

v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986): Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. at 322, 323 (“[t]he moving

party is ‘entitled to a judgment as a matter of law’ be-

cause the nonmoving party has failed to make a sufficient

showing on an essential element of her case with respect

to which she has the burden of proof”).

Thus the State is obligated to demonstrate that there

is a material fact genuinely in dispute. Mere incantations

will not suffice at this stage of the litigation. Nonetheless

tial issue: why discrimination against interstate com-

merce is necessary to achieve the State’s allegedly legiti-

mate purposes. In particular, South Carolina purports to

list in its Memorandum in Opposition to Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment “factual matters” that “must be ad-

dressed.” (Memorandum in Opposition at 9.) All of the

factual issues listed in the Memorandum in Opposition

and in the State’s Statement of Material Facts, however,

either (1) are undisputed at this stage (i.e., the State’s

presumably legitimate purpose, which Plaintiff concedes

for purposes of this motion only); (2) are irrelevant to

the constitutional issues at hand; or (3) raise questions

of law rather than questions of fact.

Assuming arguendo that the State possesses legitimate

local purposes for placing certain restrictions on hazard-

ous waste, in order to prevail the State must demonstrate

what those goals cannot be achieved without facially vio-

lating the commerce clause: “[W]hatever [a state’s] ulti-

mate purpose, it may not be accomplished by discriminat-

ing against articles of commerce coming from outside the

State unless there is some reason, apart from their origin,

to treat them differently.” Philadelphia v. New Jersey,

437 U.S. at 627 (emphasis added); see also Wyoming v.

Oklahoma, 112 S.Ct. at 800 (discriminatory laws “will

be struck down unless the discrimination is demonstrably

justified by a valid factor unrelated to economic protec-

tionism”) (citations omitted). The fatal flaw in South

| Carolina’s program is that the State has failed even to

suggest that it has some basis—other than state of origin

—for discriminating against out-of-state waste. In fact,

that is the reason for the discrimination. Thus, the State

cannot justify such unconstitutional activity under any

set of alleged facts.

38a

incantations are all the State has provided on the essen-

Certainly Defendants’ Statement of Material Facts does

contain certain incantations regarding alternatives—“The

South Carolina laws reflect the unavailability of neutral

39a

alternatives to achieving the State’s legitimate purposes in

the pertinent circumstances” (Statement of Material Facts

at 2); “The failure of [EPA] and other States to license

new or additional commercial land disposal capacity has

Severely restricted the availability of neutral alternatives

for achieving the State’s legitimate purposes” (Jd. at 3).

Nowhere in the record, however, is there evidence to sup-

port the assertion that neutral alternatives are not avail-

able.

Indeed, nowhere in the record has South Carolina

argued that hazardous waste from out-of-state is any dif-

ferent from hazardous waste generated in-state. As noted

by this Court and the Fourth Circuit at the preliminary

injunction stage, there is no difference: “{h]azardous

wastes generated out-of-state pose no more threat to

human health and the environment than hazardous waste

generated in South Carolina.” HWTC I, 766 F. Supp. at

441-42, quoted in HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 788. In the

absence of a bona fide distinction, any effort to discrim-

inate against out-of-state waste solely because it is from

out-of-state customers must fail. See Philadelphia v. New

Jersey, 437 U.S. at 629 (because “there is no basis to dis-

tinguish out-of-state waste from domestic waste... . [the

State’s] legislative effort is clearly impermissible under the

Commerce Clause... .”).

The State has not presented any evidence to show the

absence of nondiscriminatory alternatives. Although

South Carolina has not precisely articulated its purposes,

there appear to be several alleged concerns, all of which

can be satisfied through nondiscriminatory means.

First, South Carolina mentions its concern for the

“health, safety and welfare of its citizens.” However, as

this Court expressly found (and the Fourth Circuit af-

firmed), “[h]azardous wastes generated out-of-state pose

no more threat to human health and the environment

than hazardous wastes generated in South Carolina.”

HWTC I, 766 F. Supp. at 441-42, quoted in HWTC II,

40a

945 F.2d at 788. Accordingly, to the extent the State

deems the existing comprehensive federal and State regu-

latory regimes insufficient to protect public health and

safety, the State’s interest can be served by nondiscrim-

inatory hazardous waste management regulations that are

applicable to all waste treated and disposed of within

South Carolina. See Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437

U.S. at 629; accord New Energy, 486 U.S. at 279.

Second, South Carolina also is concerned with preserv-

ing disposal capacity. As the Fourth Circuit held, how-

ever, it is impermissible for a state to “accord its own

inhabitants a preferred right of access over consumers in

other States to natural resources located within its bor-

ders.” Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. at 627; ac-

cord New England Power Ct. v. New Hampshire, 455

U.S. 331, 338 (1982); cited in HWTC II, 945 F.2d at

792 (“South Carolina has little inherent right to use ca-

pacity located within its borders solely for waste gener-

ated within its borders”). The Commerce Clause thus

bars any attempt to “conserve” hazardous waste capacity

through discriminatory laws. If South Carolina is truly

interested in preserving its in-state capacity, that interest

would be served by the bona fide evenhanded regulations

that apply to in-state and out-of-state waste generators.

See HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 792 (“South Carolina may

preserve the capacity by limiting total disposal and treat-

ment within the state without reference to whether in-state

or out-of-state waste is actually involved”) (Footnote

omitted). Moreover, the Supreme Court recently re-

jected the argument that protectionist and discriminatory

measures are necessary “as landfill space diminishes and

environmental cleanup costs escalate. . . .” Carbone, 114

S. Ct. at 1683. As the Court held in Carbone, there has

never been a showing “that the unobstructed flow of in-

terstate commerce itself is unable to solve the local prob-

lems” «which face all landfills around the country. /d.

Third, South Carolina makes mention of vague “trans-

portation risks,” again without distinguishing between

4la

wastes generated in-state and those generated out-of-state.

There is no evidence that any of the challenged South

Carolina laws even address this purported concern. How-

ever, even if South Carolina were interested in seeking to

minimize the risks associated with transportation of haz-

ardous waste, there would be several nondiscriminatory

methods of addressing that interest. For example, South

Carolina could increase the stringency of its regulations

on an evenhanded basis, effectively addressing the State’s

putative transportation concerns by not exempting South

Carolina waste or waste that is imported through South

Carolina. With alternatives available to it, South Carolina

cannot force only interstate commerce to bear the burden

of its purported concerns.

Finally, it appears to be South Carolina’s perception

that certain other state’s are not bearing their “fair share”

of hazardous waste treatment and disposal. It thus has

tried to influence the public policy of other states to com-

pel them to take action. Suffice it to say that punishing

other states is not a legitimate purpose under the Com-

merce Clause. See HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 791 (South

Carolina does not have the authority “to punish certain

hazardous waste generators merely because they reside

in states that South Carolina concludes have not fulfilled

obligations under CERCLA § 104(e)(9)”). Only Con-

gress has the responsibility and power under the Constitu-

tion to impose national policy on individual states. In-

deed, for South Carolina to try to impose its will on its

neighbors is nothing more than one state making economic

warfare on another of its sister states.

As for its purportedly legitimate local purpose, South

Carolina asserts a range of general justifications. (See

Statement of Material Facts (“South Carolina has legiti-

mate purposes in protecting the health, safety and wel-

fare of its citizens”); (“South Carolina has a legitimate

public purpose in taking actions to reduce reliance upon

land disposal of hazardous waste”); (“South Carolina has

42a

a legitimate public purpose in taking measures to mini-

mize the transportation of hazardous waste in the State”);

(“South Carolina has a legitimate public purpose in tak-

ing measures to minimize the disposal of hazardous waste

in the State”); (“South Carolina has a legitimate public

purpose in carefully regulating the siting of new disposal

facilities” ) ).

South Carolina’s emphasis on this “purpose,” however,

misses the point entirely. The general purpose of such

laws are largely irrelevant when facial or substantial dis-

crimination is involved. See Phildelphia v. New Jersey,

437 U.S. at 626 (“[t]his dispute about ultimate legislative

purpose need not be resolved, because its resolution would

not be relevant to the constitutional issues to be decided

in this case”). Thus, it is “the discrimination [that must

be] demonstrably justified by a valid factor unrelated to

economic protectionism.” New Energy, 486 U.S. at 274

(citation omitted). Every time the State grants a prefer-

ence to in-state waste—by allowing that waste to be dis-

posed in the State, or setting differential quotas, or barring

consideration of out-of-state market needs and customers

in determining whether a facility may be built or ex-

panded—it is engaged in a form of protectionism the Con-

Stitution forbids by granting benefits to its citizens and

businesses while denying them to those of other states. A

state cannot seek to achieve a “presumably legitimate

goal” by “ ‘the illegitimate means of isolating the State

from the national economy.’” Wyoming v. Oklahoma,

112 S. Ct. at 361, quoting Philadelphia v. New Jersey,

437 U.S. at 627. In other words, even if a state demon-

strates a legitimate purpose for its laws, those are imper-

missible if that purpose is accomplished by discriminating

solely on the basis of origin. Thus, the Supreme Court in

Philadelphia v. New Jersey found the State’s salutary

motives irrelevant, stating:

[I]t does not matter whether the ultimate aim of

[the law] is to reduce the waste disposal costs of

neni

43a

[the State’s] residents or to save remaining open lands

from pollution, for we assume [the State] has every

right to protect its residents’ pocketbooks as well as

their environment. . . . But whatever [the State’s]

ultimate purpose, it may not be accomplished by dis-

criminating against articles of commerce coming

from outside the State unless there is some reason,

apart from their origin, to treat them differently.

437 US. at 626-27.

In addition, while it is evident from the alternatives

South Carolina chose not to pursue that there are indeed

nondiscriminatory alternatives, a close look at the pro-

gram South Carolina did put into place reveals that the

actual purpose of the program was to discriminate. In

Act No. 590, Section 44-56-59(A)(1) reflects the State’s

clear and unmistakable efforts to discriminate by voicing

concern about “limited resources” for disposal of hazard-

ous waste. The next provision references South Carolina’s

demand that “the needs of South Carolina are met first”

and that disposal facilities in the State must “give pref-

erence to hazardous waste generators within the State.”

Id. at (A)(2), (3). In addition, the two executive orders

contain “whereas” clauses rife with indicia of the State’s

true purpose.

B. Conclusions of Law

South Carolina is not the only state that has recently

discriminated against the interstate waste services market.

See Philadelphia v. New Jersey, 437 U.S. 617 (1978);

Chemical Waste Management, Inc. vy. Hunt, 112 S.Ct.

2089 (1992); Fort Gratiot Sanitary Landfill, Inc. v.

Michigan Dep’t of Natural Resources, 112 S.Ct. 2019

(1992); C&A Carbone, Inc. v. Town of Clarkstown, New

York, 114 S.Ct. 1677 (1994); Oregon Waste Systems,

Inc. v. Dep’t of Environmental Quality, 114 S.Ct. 1345

(1994). National Solid Waste Management v. Alabama

Dep't of Env’t, 910 F.2d 713 (11th Cir. 1990), cert.

44a

denied, 111 S.Ct. 2808 (1991). As the Fourth Circuit

explained, these attempts to discriminate must fail:

Perhaps most importantly, the effect of every state

designing particular limits and bars for out-of-state

waste could be catastrophic. Indeed, such treatment

of hazardous waste—in essence, ensured nontreat-

ment of some hazardous waste—might destroy not

only the theoretical principle of a national economic

union, but contains the real potential to destroy land,

if not also persons, within the union.

HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 792 (citation omitted).

If South Carolina were entitled to enforce this program,

every state could act similarly. The result would be states

making economic war on other states in connection with

the policies those states choose to pursue for hazardous

waste treatment and disposal:

The practical effect of the [discriminatory] statute

must be evaluated not only by considering the con-

sequences of the statute itself, but also considering

how the challenged statute may interact with the

legitimate regulatory regimes of other states and

what effect would arise if not one, but many or every

state enacted similar legislation.

Healy v. The Beer Institute, 491 U.S. at 336.

Thus, the constituent parts of South Carolina’s program

are unconstitutional, because they discriminate against

out-of-state interests. Further, because those parts work

together to compose an overall discriminatory program

the entire program is unconstitutional.

Defendant’s essentially agree that the blacklisting laws

are invalid. They impose an embargo on any waste from

generators in certain states. This is exactly the sort of

discrimination the commerce clause prohibits:

South Carolina’s Act, No. 196 seems to punish cer-

tain hazardous waste generators merely because they

Serr ener neces

45a

reside in states that South Carolina concludes have

not fulfilled obligations under CERCLA 104(c) (9).

But South Carolina does not appear to have been

empowered to place penalties on businesses in such

States... . And its seems unlikely that South Caro-

lina can penalize its own citizens by prohibiting them

from participating in interstate commerce with other

States’ citizens simply because that state has not met

its obligations under CERCLA 104(c)(9). The

Commerce Clause protects those “engaged in inter-

state commerce.”

HWTC II, 945 F.2d at 791-2 (other citations omitted).

Thus, Section 9 of Act No. 196, amending S.C. Code

Ann. Section 44-56-130, must be enjoined. In addition,

Section 5 of Act No. 196, which requires that preference

be given to in-state generators, must also be enjoined.

S.C. Code Ann. 44-56-205.

Similarly, all of the operative language of Executive

Order No. 89-17 must be permanently enjoined. These

provisions mirror Act No. 196 in blacklisting hazardous

waste from certain other states and granting a preference

for in-state waste.®

The quota laws are also invalid. They systematically

discriminate against out-of-state businesses by allowing in-

State generators to dispose of significantly more hazardous

waste than out-of-state generators. Act No. 590 is thus

invalid in its entirety. Defendants assert that the so-called

“neutral cap” on disposal in Act No. 590 (S.C. Code

Ann, 44-56-60(a)(2)) can be “divorced” from the rest

of the State’s discriminatory program even if the other

discriminatory provisions were invalid. Defendants cite

5 Plaintiff does not object to the Court’s refraining from per-

manently enjoining the “whereas” sections of E.O. 89-25 and E.O.

89-17, as these do not contain any operative language. Therefore,

although these sections do indicate that the operative sections were

designed in toto to discriminate, this Court need not enjoin them

per se.

46a

the Fourth Circuit’s dictum that, with regard to the pre-

liminary injunction, “South Carolina may preserve the

capacity by limiting total disposal and treatment within

the state without reference to whether in-state or out-of-

state waste is actually involved.” HWTC II, 945 F.2d at

792. As shown above, however, the so-called neutral cap

on disposal is set forth in a statute which expressly refer-

ences discrimination, both in the statute itself and in its

references to the blacklisting statute and executive order.

See Act No. 598, Section 1, amending S.C. C

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.