Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit, J. V.

Supreme Court brief1997

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

\ FILED

no 61084 JAN 7 1997

OFFICE OF [HE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

~>

October Term, 1996

MARK MOREHEAD,

Petitioner,

VS.

ATKINSON-KIEWIT, J.V. AND WOODS HOLE TOWING

COMPANY, INC.,

Respondents.

ROCCO P. DIGIOVANNI, JR.,

Petitioner,

VS.

TRAYLOR BROTHERS, INC.,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID B. KAPLAN

Counsel of Record

THOMAS M. BOND

THE KAPLAN/BOND GROUP

Attorneys for Petitioners

Boston Fish Pier

West Building, Suite 304

P.O. Box 1404

Boston, Massachusetts 02210

(617) 261-0080

70304

ervices, inc.

oS

utz

(800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL » (800) BRIEF 21 M Aagslat

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Where one entity acts in a dual capacity (as maritime

construction company and vessel operator) and uses the same

group of employees to perform maritime construction duties and

vessel operation duties, under what circumstances will it be held

liable for its negligence under 33 U.S.C. § 905(b)?

2. What is the definition of “vessel in navigation” for

purposes of the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688?

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Rocco DiGiovanni, Jr.

Plaintiff-Petitioner

Mark Morehead

Plaintiff-Petitioner

Traylor Brothers, Inc.

Defendant-Respondent

Atkinson-Kiewit, J.V.

Defendant-Respondent

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented for Review ................... i

List of Parties ... Steen teen nett eee e eee n eee eees ii

ee kperna Conk se ners scenes eae whe ili

ck cece kc Geeta eeesbacddeenees Vv

CC cise t keds th aeeaceddbeceveensenr 1

Statement Of Jurisdiction .........ccsetecsescscees l

i aa nae ackks bes ses 06a e 50s 02 I

EE, cane waccnserebevedeneceesss 3

A. Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit .............. 3

B. DiGiovanni v. Traylor Bros. Inc. ............ 4

1. Physical Description Of The Barges ..... 5

2. Movement Of The Barges ............. 6

3. The Petitioner's Job Duties ............ 7

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................0.- 8

I. The First Circuit Court Of Appeals Has Decided

An Important Question Of Federal Law That Has

Not Been, But Should Be, Decided By This

TT aah des cic ah cba ek iveusaess 8

I.

IV.

iv

Contents

The Decisions Conflict With The Statutory

Language Of 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). ....--++++>

A.

History Of The Longshore And Harbor

Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA)

ere rs er eer tn ee ee a ee Ee A hy

The First Circuit’s Decisions Violate

Congress’ Mandate That Similarly Situated

Workers Should Have The Same Rights,

Regardless Of The Employment

Arrangement. .......-2s+eeeeeeeeeees

The Decisions Conflict With Relevant Decisions

C0 Tila COME. nics cn cdncesswesnensuduasess

The Decisions Create A Split Between The

see ccccews eee ennae savas eae *¥

The First Circuit’s Definition Of The Term “Vessel

In Navigation” To Allow Recovery For Jones Act

Negligence Conflicts With Definitions Established

By Other Circuits And By This Court. .......

A.

The Conflict Between The Circuits On The

Definition Of “Vessel In Navigation” Under

The Jones Act. ...cccsccccccsccccrcess

The Conflict Between The Supreme Court

And The First Circuit On The Definition Of

“Vessel In Navigation” Under The Jones Act.

sae 6 ee a Se OOS 8 OS OE Oe oe eee eee

Page

10

11

13

14

18

20

21

23

v

Contents

Page

COG bc Fk ks 2s ee ee 25

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Castorina v. Lykes Bros., 758 F.2d 1025 (5th Cir. 1985)

ee TR eee PET Pee Perma ere ee ENT Ty 19

Chandris v. Latsis, __ U.S. __, 115 S. Ct. 2172 (1995)

oe kh wa e Kala che aan een he eee eee ee 16, 17, 24

Elberg v. Mobil Oil Corp., 967 F.2d 1146 (7th Cir. 1992)

kok Ce ORES kA a ea een bs 19

Fanetti v. Hellenic Lines, Ltd., 678 F.2d 424 (2d Cir.

SD eaC bids obs rea Ts oe eee eer 19, 20

Gianfala v. The Texas Co., 350 U.S. 879 (1955) ..... 23

Gizoni v. Southwest Marine, Inc., 909 F.2d 385 (9th Cir.

1990), aff’d, 502 U.S. 81, 56 F.3d 1138 (9th Cir. 1995)

RE Re A ey er rire rere re rr Pte a 23

Grimes v. Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356 U.S. 252

Eo | RSE, Opener rns Aram een emerge it ware yee 23

Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 373 U.S. 206

1) er ee ne, ata teran Derr hy yee ae) 10

Howlett v. Birkdale Shipping Co., 512 U.S. 92 (1994)

vi

Contents

Page

Jackson v. Lykes Steamship Co., 386 U.S. 731 (1967)

‘cbavddesciunnd deeenteavetiueerestiesaren 11, 14

Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523

ERGES :d'vbwe 6.0 dob kewe bared eeaekeneee 9, 14, 15, 16

McDermott International, Inc. v. Wilander, 498 U.S. 337

TED ven vdcdes des anassdeehuesienskoneres 23, 24

Miles v. Apex Marine, 498 U.S. 19 (1990) .......... 13

Pichof v. Bisso Towboat Co., Inc., 748 F.2d 300 (Sth

Cae BG) cchécwvcawswh alan saieesuewubenees 19

Reed v. Yaka, 373 U.S. 410 (1963) .....scccccesces 11, 14

Ryan Stevedoring Co. v. Pan Atlantic S.S. Corp., 350

SCR ci clcccdecvaveadbaceeveusuets 12

Scindia v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156 (1981) .9, 17, 18, 19

Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85 (1946) ... 12

Senko v. La Crosse Dredging Corp., 352 U.S. 370 (1957)

elewe ceeewseeeeb sab Oeuee eb ae nere neers 23

Smith v. Eastern Seaboard Pile Driving, Inc., 604 F.2d

coer oe i ere rr rrr paver hemes 19

Southwest Marine, Inc. v. Gizoni, 502 U.S. 81 (1991)

wicavevse dédaceseonsctscedeeetus teeters 23

vil

Contents

Page

Tonneson v. Yonkers Contracting Co., Inc., 82 F.3d 30

SE NE ME Cv iin Sub via eu swolk Catena 22

Statutes Cited:

Pe PD ahs b's ba. whe weeds l

ee 5 bg ko ca hay Od bab ones hw ceeun l

Pe ee ne OE ov es cule daecenivuokn 1]

PP NE C15 Fade ubdch ccieeeck EO 20

Pe ee ee og gen a) oe 8, 17

PP a EEE fi 2 os 008 kk cw devecn eee 8, 10, 14

BY WAM oe a 05k oie ada a Wada voce ce, 1]

Pe os tla Vs searches kun 16, 17

Dee SRE: UNE 65-0 0s 6 Je wee 66k oe Cane re EL passim

WP WE ND hn a os chu un 04060 a8 ob0 en ani i, 5, 16, 17, 20

Rule Cited:

Supreme Court Rule 10(c) .................0005. 8

vill

Contents

Page

Other Authorities Cited:

1A Jhirad, Benedict on Admiralty § 93 at 15-12 (7th ed.

ho} en Serer re rer err ery Terr ree s 12

Annual Report of the Director of the Administrative Office

of the United States Court (1987-1991) .......... 21

National Transportation Statistics Annual Report (July

LODE kn cd bie ele ccceseiecereereee reek bavenes 21

Waterborne Commerce of the United States (Army Corps

Of Baginsers 1969) ...cccccccccccccccvscccens 21

19T2 TBA, SIG6 cc ii venvcevesveunes ais iz, io

1972 UBL AA, SH 6506s eked is deers siass 9, 11, 14

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Opinion En Banc of the United States

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit Dated October

10, 1996 in Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit, J/V, et al.

Gh onh bub CK RaNs EO OME CR AeEEEOS Eh SEPP Ie ent la

Appendix B — Opinion of the United Staies Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Dated February 6, 1996

in Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit, J/V, etal. ........ Sla

Appendix C — Findings and Order of the United States

District Court, District of Massachusetts Dated April

29, 1994 in Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit, J.V., et al.

ix

Contents

Appendix D — Opinion En Banc of the United States

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit Dated October

10, 1996 in Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Brothers, Inc.

oF? Se €'S.6.6 8:6 60692 68.68 849-62 66.8 28 6.8 6.918 6.66 62 6 42 oe 6 6 &

Appendix E — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Dated February 6, 1996

in Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Brothers, Inc. ........

Appendix F — Memorandum and Order of the United

States District Court for the District of Rhode Island

Dated June 9, 1994 in Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor

NG CU ol Che We SWE didn ccd cece cd¥mas

Appendix G — Opinion En Banc of the United Siates

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit Dated March 4,

1992 in Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Brothers, Inc.

oP O'S OF 8 C2 9.9 CO.) 8 82 e606 64D 8 FRO GOO BO 4 6 Bt 0 8 0. & %

Appendix H — Judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Entered March 4, 1992 in

Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Brothers, Inc. ..........

Appendix I — Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit Dated April 17, 1991 in

Digiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Brothers, Inc. ..........

Appendix J — Relevant Statutes ..................

Page

84a

90a

118a

130a

l

OPINIONS BELOW

The first en banc decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit in the case of DiGiovanni v. Traylor

Bros. Inc., is reported at 959 F.2d 1119 (1st Cir. 1992).

The second en banc decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit in the case of DiGiovanni v. Traylor

Bros., Inc., is reported at 1996 WL 570563.

The en banc decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit in the case of Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit,

JV., et. al., is reported at 1996 WL 570537.

The panel decisions and en banc decisions for all three cases

have been reproduced in the appendix.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

This petition seeks review of the judgments of the United

States Court of Appeals for the First Circuit entered on March

4, 1992 and on October 10, 1996. This petition is filed timely

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c). This Court’s jurisdiction is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

1. The Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688(a):

(a) Application of railway employee

Statutes; jurisdiction.

Any seaman who shall suffer personal injury

in the course of his employment may, at his

election, maintain an action for damages at

2

law, with the right of trial by jury, and in such

action all statutes of the United States

modifying or extending the common law

right or remedy in cases of personal injury

to railway employees shall apply; and in case

of death of any seaman as aresult of any

such personal injury the personal

representative of such seaman may maintain

an action for damages at law with the right

of trial by jury, and in such action all statutes

of the United States conferring or regulating

the right of action for death in the case of

railway employees shall be applicable.

Jurisdiction in such actions shall be under

the court of the district in which the

defendant employer resides or in which his

principal office is located.

2. 33 U.S.C. §905(b):

(b) Negligence of vessel

In the event of injury toa person covered

under this chapter caused by the negligence

of a vessel, then such person, or anyone

otherwise entitled to recover damages by

reason thereof, may bring an action against

such vessel as a third party in accordance

with the provisions of sections 933 of this

title, and the employer shall not be liable to

the vessel for such damages directly or

indirectly and any agreements or warranties

to the contrary shall be void. If such person

was employed by the vessel to provide

stevedoring services, no such action shall be

rel

3

permitted if the injury was caused by the

negligence of persons engaged in providing

stevedoring services to the vessel. If such

person was employed to provide

shipbuilding, repairing, or breaking services

and such person’s employer was the

owner, owner pro hac vice, agent, operator,

or charterer of the vessel, no such action shall

be permitted, in whole or in part or directly

or indirectly, against the injured person’s

employer (in any capacity, including as the

vessel’s owner, owner pro hac vice, agent,

operator, or charterer) or against the

employees of the employer. The liability of

the vessel under this subsection shall not be

based upon the warranty of seaworthiness or

a breach thereof at the time the injury

occurred. The remedy provided in this

subsection shall be exclusive of all other

remedies against the vessel except remedies

available under this chapter.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit

On January 29, 1990 Mark Morehead was untying a barge

from another barge when he stepped backwards into an open

hatch that was flush with the barge’s deck. He was seriously

injured. The barge had been taken out of construction service

before the accident. It had been “set off to the side” of the pier

outside of Atkinson-Kiewit’s Davisville headquarters. The barge

was not carrying materials, supplies, or construction materials

of any kind at the time of the accident. The barge needed to be

aired out because it was being returned to its owner, or going

“off hire”.

4

The hatch in which Morehead fell had been opened by

Steven Breault. Breault, an Atkinson-Kiewit employee, was a

dock builder with navigation duties aboard the barge. Breault

opened the hatch to “air out” the barge. The only evidence

proffered at trial was that the hatch had been open for at least

two days before the accident, per order of Ray Norman,

Atkinson-Kiewit’s foreman. Atkinson- Kiewit had a contract with

the State of Rhode Island to build the Jamestown Bridge,

spanning Narragansett Bay. Atkinson-Kiewit hired carpenters

and laborers to perform the bridge construction. This work

involved cutting timbers and steel, pouring concrete, welding,

and other construction duties. To do the work and transport

materials around the bay, Atkinson-Kiewit chartered barges. It

did not employ separate workers to navigate the barges, however.

Instead, the carpenters and laborers who did the bridge

construction work also maintained and operated the barges.

They would handle the lines on the barges, tie the barges to the

tug, and participate in the manning and moving of the barges.

In fact, Morehead worked as both a construction worker and a

scowman aboard the various barges.

The trial court ruled that Atkinson-Kiewit was negligent as

an employer rather than as a vessel owner, and denied

Morehead’s claim pursuant to 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). On the very

same day that a panel of the First Circuit allowed recovery in

DiGiovanni, it denied recovery in Morehead, interpreting the

same statute in a strikingly different manner. The First Circuit

Court of Appeals, sitting en banc, affirmed.

B. DiGiovanni v. Traylor Bros. Inc.

On September 30, 1988 Rocco P. DiGiovanni was a member

of the crew of a crane-carrying barge which transported a crane

and supplies around Narragansett Bay in Rhode Island and

participated in the building of piers and coffer dams for the

5

Jamestown Bridge project. He was injured when he slipped on

hydraulic fluid that had leaked on deck and which had been

leaking for at least one month. DiGiovanni sought damages

under the Jones Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, and the general maritime

law, and invoked the maritime jurisdiction of the United States

District Court for the District of Rhode Island. After a three

day trial, the jury returned a verdict in favor of the plaintiff on

the Jones Act and general maritime law counts. In that trial, the

jury never reached the alternative count alleging that DiGiovanni

was a maritime employee entitled to recover for the negligence

of a vessel pursuant to 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), because the court

instructed the jury that if they found the plaintiff to be a seaman

they could not reach the § 905(b) count.

The defendant appealed to the First Circuit Court of

Appeals, which enunciated a new legal rule defining what

constitutes a “vessel in navigation” under the Jones Act. The

court ruled as a matter of law that the DiGiovanni craft was not

a vessel in navigation, and reversed and remanded, limiting the

issue to consideration only of the negligence question under 33

U.S.C. § 905(b).

On remand, the trial judge entered judgment in favor of the

defendant, ruling that although the defendant was negligent, its

negligence was not committed by it in its capacity as vessel

owner. A panel of the First Circuit vacated and remanded the

decision, reasoning that “admiralty loathes the notion of a vessel

under way with no crew”. The First Circuit Court of Appeals,

sitting en banc, vacated the panel’s decision and affirmed the

trial court’s decision.

1. Physical Description of the Barges

The BETTY F is a 40' x 100' steel hull barge. It has a raked

bow, which is at an angle from the front to the back. It has

6

navigation lights for transportation. The vessel had to be

maintained to Coast Guard standards. The Coast Guard boarded

the BETTY F frequently to inspect it. The vessel was registered

with the Coast Guard; when it was purchased, Traylor Brothers

had to inscribe its name and its Wilmington, Delaware

registration on the vessel for navigational reasons. The Coast

Guard also required that the barge’s anchor balls had to be

painted white with quick flashing white lights on it for

navigational reasons. A warning whistle had to be kept on board

to warn other vessels. A fender system had to be placed on the

side of the barge so that it wouldn’t be damaged by nor cause

damage to other vessels coming close to it. While aboard her,

the men had to wear life jackets.

The BETTY F was equipped with load lines, which the

Coast Guard required be kept in a visible condition. The load

lines were used to ballast the vessel down and keep it flat or

trim. The barge also had internal compartments or bulkheads

which would be filled with water to ballast the vessel. The

BETTY F would travel to Davisville, Rhode Island and hook up

to hydrants located there to fill it with water. Various

compartments would be filled with water consistent with wind

and tide conditions and to counterbalance whatever was on the

other side of the barge, i.e., if the barge’s crane were lifting a

heavy weight, etc.

The BETTY F had toilet facilities and an enclosed area

where the crew could eat, which contained a small cafeteria

with a stove and refrigerator. A tool shack and a sitting area

were located near the bow of the vessel.

2. Movement of the Barges

The BETTY F carried a crane which it would transport

around Narragansett Bay to construct piers and coffer dams for

SS eeeEEEEeEeee—Ee

7

the Jamestown Bridge. The job could not be performed by a

land based crane. The barge had to be moved to put the crane

wherever it was needed. Approximately once each month the

BETTY F was moved across navigable waters, aided by a tug

or push boat, in order to transport the crane to a new job site.

This special-purpose vessel had been outfitted in Davisville,

Rhode Island one month before the accident, and presumably

brought by tug to the job site where the injury occurred. The

undisputed testimony of the petitioner is that he “travelled quite

a bit on the BETTY F”. The supply barge that was part and

parcel of the BETTY F had transported cargo on the day of the

accident. In fact, it would be brought to and from Davisville at

various operations of the job whenever supplies were needed or

anything else was needed at the job site. The supply barge

carried a hammer that was part of the BETTY F’s crane. It also

carried a power pack, H beams, and sheetings.

The BETTY F was moved around the job site on a daily

basis. Every day it was moved around the work area, and at

night, it was moved away from the work area so that it wouldn’t

sustain any damage from the motion of the water or the wind.

3. The Petitioner’s Job Duties

DiGiovanni was taken to the BETTY F each morning by

crew boat. When the BETTY F was taken to a new job site,

DiGiovanni would respond to the tug captain’s orders as well

as the barge captain’s orders regarding the handling of the lines

connecting the tug and barge. He would continue to slack and

secure these lines during the voyage. He would ride the vessel

to the new site, keeping watch in front of the barge so it wouldn’t

hitanything. DiGiovanni would check the vessel for

seaworthiness, and clear its decks. He wouid also take part in

the ballasting of the vessel. Another one of the DiGiovanni’s

job duties was to act as a tag man during pile-driving operations.

8

Instead of hiring separate crews to man its vessels, Traylor

Brothers used its construction workers to perform both

construction-related tasks and vessel-related tasks. Taylor’s

general superintendent on the project, Edward Brush, supervised

the workers and had the responsibility to make sure that all of

the equipment on the job, including the barges, were safe.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE FIRST CIRCUIT COURT OF APPEALS HAS

DECIDED AN IMPORTANT QUESTION OF FEDERAL

LAW THAT HAS NOT BEEN, BUT SHOULD BE,

DECIDED BY THIS COURT.

Pursuant to Supreme Court Rule 10(c), this Court may grant

review on a writ of certiorari where “a United States court of

appeals has decided an important question of federal law that

has not been, but should be, settled by this court. . . .” Supreme

Court Rule 10(c). The important federal question is as follows:

how does one distinguish between vessel negligence and

employer negligence where the same entity is both vessel owner

and employer, and the same employees have vessel-related duties

and employer-related duties? The distinction is important,

because pursuant to 33 U.S.C. § 905(b), a maritime worker has

a cause of action when he is injured by the negligence of a

“vessel”. “Maritime worker” is defined in 33 U.S.C. § 902(3)

and includes longshoremen, harbor workers, and a host of other

employees. “Vessel” is defined in 33 U.S.C. § 902(21) to include

the vessel’s “master, officer, or crew member”. Congress itself

recognized the importance of uniformity in interpreting this

maritime negligence action. In the Committee Notes, it states:

“the Committee does not intend that the negligence remedy

authorized in the bill shall be applied differently in different

ade tated STEN OS BR eH

9

ports depending on the law of the state in which the port may be

located. The Committee intends that legal questions which may

arise in actions brought under these provisions of the law shall

be determined as a matter of Federal Law”. 1972 U.S.C.C.A.N.

4705.

This Court has touched upon the “dual capacity” issue, but

ever so lightly. In Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462

U.S. 523, 530-32 (1983), the shipowner asserted that it could

not be held liable for negligence damages because it was an

employer and its liability was limited to the payment of

compensation. The Pfeifer Court disagreed. It held that an owner

of a vessel which acts as its own stevedore may be held liable

for both compensation and negligence damages when a stevedore

who is directly employed by it is injured as a result of the vessel

owner’s negligence. The Court made it clear that in order to be

liable, the vessel owner had to have been acting in its vessel

owner Capacity, not in its stevedore capacity. 462 U.S. at 531,

n.6.

In its fifty-eight page en banc decision, the First Circuit

Court of Appeals (Campbell, J.) states that this is an issue of

first impression: “But the Supreme Court has not yet had

occasion to analyze the vessel’s duties in a dual capacity case.

Nor has the Court considered to what degree its Scindia analysis

applies to non-longshoring harborworkers, whose duties and

modus operandi differ considerably from those of longshore

workers”. Morehead, en banc decision at 15a, 16a.

Two judges of the First Circuit have specifically requested

the Supreme Court to resolve this issue:

I write separately, however to urge the

Supreme Court and Congress to reflect upon

the mind games that Jones and Laughlin —

10

particularly as applied to harbor workers-

compels us to play....

Morehead, en banc decision at 31a (Selya, J. concurring).

In his dissenting opinion, Judge Cyr writes:

Neither the Congress nor the Scindia Court

could have foreseen the recent, fast-paced

evolution in maritime construction practices

which has exacerbated the instant

controversy. Ultimately, therefore, the

Congress or the Supreme Court must provide

a definitive response to the present

conundrum.

Morehead, en banc decision at 46a (Cyr, J.) (dissenting).

Il.

THE DECISIONS CONFLICT WHiH THE

STATUTORY LANGUAGE OF 33 U.S.C. § 905(b).

A maritime worker may recover in tort if he is injured by

the negligence of a vessel. 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). The statute

defines the term vessel to include its “master, officer or crew

member”. 33 U.S.C. § 902(21). A vessel is therefore also liable

for the negligence of its employees. This makes sense. This

Court stated in Gutierrez v. Waterman Steamship Corp., 373 U.S.

206 (1963) that “there is no distinction in admiralty between

torts committed by the ship itself and by the ship’s personnei

while operating it, any more than there is between torts

committed by a corporation and by its employees”. The injuries

in both Morehead and DiGiovanni were caused by the negligence

Ri IDR LAS POR ha v8

1]

of a vessel. In Morehead, an employee of the vessél left its

hatch open, uncovered, and unguarded for three days, without

any warning or notice. In DiGiovanni, the vessel’s hydraulic

power pack had been leaking for at least one month, its deck

was not equipped with a non-skid surface, and its crane was

“herky-jerky”. Yet, the First Circuit effectively repealed 33

U.S.C. § 905(b) by denying recovery in each case.

A. History of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act (LHWCA)

The LHWCA was enacted in 1927. 44 Stat. 1424 (1927).

It was a remedial act, designed to protect maritime workers.

This Court has stated that the LHWCA “must be liberally

construed in conformance with its purpose, and in a way which

avoids harsh and incongruous results”. Reed v. Yaka, 373 U.S.

410, 415 (1963); Jackson v. Lykes Steamship Co., 386 U.S. 731

(1967) (“an Act designed to provide equal justice to every

longshoreman sirnilarly situated”).

Congress reexamined and amended the LHWCA in 1972.

33 U.S.C. § 901, et seq. It observed that “longshoring remains

one of the most hazardous types of occupations”. 1972

U.S.C.C.A.N. 4705. Congress hoped that the passage of the

amendments would bring “further progress in reducing injuries”.

Ibid. Congress enhanced the remedial nature of the LHWCA in

five major respects: (a) it allowed more people to be covered

under the Act by expanding the definition of the term “maritime

employee”; (b) it eliminated the requirement that an injury occur

on navigable waters to be compensable, 33 U.S.C. § 903(a); (c)

it increased the benefits payable to injured workers; (d) it

established for the first time a statutory right for an employee

covered under the LHWCA to sue shipowners as third parties

based upon negligence, which it condified at 33 U.S.C.

12

§ 905(b)'. See generally 1A Jhirad, Benedict on Admiralty

§ 93, at 5-12 (7th ed. 1992); and (e) it eliminated indemnity

actions by the shipowner against the stevedore, repealing the

Ryan doctrine. Ryan Stevedoring Co. v. Pan Atlantic S.S. Corp.,

350 U.S. 124 (1956).

Congress’ stated reason for the new statutory cause of action

(§ 905(b)) was the common refrain throughout the LHWCA:

safety. The House Report states:

Permitting actions against the vessel based

on negligence will meet the objective of

encouraging safety because the vessel will

still be required to exercise the same care as

a land-based person in providing a safe place

to work. Thus, nothing in this bill is intended

to derogate from the vessel’s

responsibility to take appropriate corrective

action where it knows or should have known

about a dangerous condition.

1972 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4704. As an example, the committee posits

a situation where a longshoremen slips on an oil spill on the

deck of a vessel:

So, for example, where a longshoremen slips

on an oil spill on a vessel’s deck and is

injured, the proposed amendments to Section

5 would still permit an action against the

vessel for negligence. To recover he must

establish that: (1) the vessel put the foreign

substance on the deck, or knew that it was

1. The Act also eliminated a longshoreman’s right to recover for the

unseaworthiness of a vessel as previously allowed in Seas Shipping Co. v.

Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85 (1946).

as Cie. aaa

ee Se a ee ee

13

there, and willfully or negligently failed to

remove it; or (2) the foreign substance had

been on the deck for such a period of time

that it should have been discovered and

removed by the vessel in the exercise of

reasonable care by the vessel under the

circumstances.

Ibid.

The First Circuit has taken away a remedy which Congress

has given, which it cannot do. In the case of Miles v. Apex

Marine, this Court noted that the Admiralty Courts could not

provide a remedy that was not given by Congress. 498 U.S. 19

(1990). By the same token, then, the Admiralty Court cannot

take away a remedy firmly established by Congress to promote

and encourage maritime safety.

B. The First Circuit’s Decisions Violate Congress’ Mandate

that Similarly Situated Workers Should Have the Same

Rights, Regardless of the Employment Arrangement.

A vessel owner should not be penalized when it employs

its own maritime workers. By the same token, a maritime worker

should not be denied a remedy where the vessel owner fails to

hire a specialized, separate crew to take care of the vessel. That

is exactly what happened here.

The Committee believes that the rights of an

injured longshoreman should not depend on

whether he was employed directly by the

vessel or by an independent contractor ...

The Committee’s intent is that the same

principles should apply in determining

liability of the vessel which employs its own

14

longshoremen or shipbuilders or repairmen

as apply when an independent contractor

employs such persons.

1972 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4705.

In both cases, the evidence qualified the plaintiffs for

recovery because they were injured by the negligence of the

vessel’s employees. 33 U.S.C. § 902(21); this renders the vessel

liable for negligence under § 905(b). But by calling its vessel

employees “construction workers”, the defendants immunized

themselves from virtually any potential negligence action under

§ 905(b). Allowing this case to stand would implicitly repeal

the statute and promote form over substance. This Court has on

three occasions struck down artificial employer-employee

relationships where a shipowner has acted as its own contractor

and hired all of its workers directly, and then claimed immunity

under the compensation statute. Reed v. Yaka, 373 U.S. 410

(1963); Jackson v. Lykes Steamship Co., 386 U.S. 731 (1967);

Jones and Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523 (1983).

The First Circuit decisions are in direct conflict with these cases.

Il.

THE DECISIONS CONFLICT WITH RELEVANT

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT.

As discussed earlier, the Court in its Pfeifer decision stated

that a vessel owner acting as its own stevedore is liable only for

negligence in its vessel owner capacity, not for negligence in its

stevedore capacity. 462 U.S. at 531, 2.6. Unlike in the present

cases, however, Pfeifer did not involve a case where the

employees acted in a dual capacity. A logical extension of the

Pfeifer principle would be that where vessel employees also act

as stevedores (or in this case, as maritime workers), they render

15

the vessel liable only when acting in their vessel employee

capacity. Under a Pfeifer analysis, then, the court should look

at the negligence which caused the injury. There are two possible

scenarios which can arise:

1. There is a defect with the vessel or its appliances,

appurtenances or equipment that the vessel owner or its

agents, servants or employees either knew, or should have

known, about.”

2. Anemployee of the vessel is negligent while doing

something in connection with the vessel.

Under the first scenario, it is irrelevant who actually caused

tne defect if the vessel owners or their agents, servants or

employees either knew or should have known about it. Howlett

v. Birkdale Shipping Co., 512 U.S. 92 (1994) (sufficient evidence

in the record to support a permissible inference that, during the

loading process, some crew members, who might have held

positions such that their knowledge should be attributed to the

vessel, did in fact observe the plastic on the ‘tween deck). Under

the second scenario, the court must look to see if the negligent

act was an act of “vessel negligence” under § 905(b), which

includes negligent acts of the vessel’s master, agent, officer,

operator or crew member. If the tortfeasor has vessel-related

duties and non-vessel related duties, the court must look at what

the tortfeasor was doing which caused the injury. For example,

if a harbor worker negligently throws a vessel’s bow line to

another harbor worker and hits him in the eye, it is an act of

vessel negligence and recovery would lie. On the other hand. if

the harbor worker negligently throws a coil of rope to another

harbor worker while the two are on land, it is not an act of vessel

2. This is not tantamount to an action for “unseaworthiness”, where

negligence need not be shown.

16

negligence and recovery would be limited to compensation

benefits.

To state it another way, under Pfeifer a dual capacity vessel

owner is liable only for negligence committed by it in its vessel

owner capacity. Following that principle to its logical

conclusion, a dual capacity employee will render the vessel liable

only if he is acting for the vessel at the time the negligent act is

committed. This can be the only interpretation of Pfeifer,

especially in light of the underlying theme of the 1972 LHWCA

amendments: to promote safety, and to make vessels liable for

their own acts of negligence.

The First Circuit refused to conduct a Pfeifer analysis. The

First Circuit stated that “While an emphasis on vessel type duties

may be appropriate for the fact specific inquiry into seaman

status, we place little weight on this attempt to bifurcate vessel

and construction activities when these workers were hired to

perform both”. Morehead en banc opinion at 18, n. 13. The

First Circuit’s concern is that by analyzing a worker’s duties at

the time of the accident, the worker could drift in and out of

coverage. In support of its position, it cites two sources: this

Court’s decision in Chandris v. Latsis, 115 S. Ct. 2172 (1995)

(which was aJones Act, not a § 905(b) decision); and, language

from the legislative history of the LHWCA stating that the Act

was promulgated to ensure certainty of coverage. Both sources

are inapposite, and cannot be taken out of context. Maritime

compensation coverage (33 U.S.C. § 904), the Jones Act (46

U.S.C. § 688), and vessel negligence (33 U.S.C. § 905(b)) are

as different from each other as apples, oranges, and pears.

Uniformity of coverage is key under the federal compensation

system for maritime workers. The 1972 amendments were

designed to end the situation where a maritime worker would

collect state compensation if injured on land, and federal

compensation if injured on navigable waters. Under the Jones

ere

17

Act, 46 U.S.C. § 688, one of the elements of proof is that the

plaintiff be a “member of a crew” of a vessel. This necessarily

involves an inquiry into the plaintiff’s overall duties, as this Court

did in Chandris v. Latsis, 115 S. Ct. 2172 (1995), to determine

whether the plaintiff has a “substantial employment- related

connection to a vessel in navigation”. 115 S. Ct. at 2192. Unlike

in maritime compensation and Jones Act cases, however, vessel

negligence is the only inquiry in a § 905(b) case. Once an

individual qualifies as a maritime employee under 33 U.S.C.

§ 902(3), it is irrelevant how frequently he is aboard a vessel, or

that he may sue a vessel under § 905(b) if he falls into an open

hatch on a vessel but not in an open manhole on land.

Maritime workers are provided with certainty of coverage

for their compensation benefits pursuant to § 904 of the

LHWCA. The Act covers them whether they are injured ashore

or on navigable waters, or whether they are injured on or off of

a vessel. However, the same cannot be said for actions under

§ 905(b). Because Congress has afforded workers an additional

statutory remedy for injuries caused by the negligence of a

vessel, the only “certainty of coverage” that can exist is that

harbor workers injured by the negligence of a vessel or by those

doing vessel related duties can recover § 905 (b) damages. Those

who are not injured by the negligence of a vessel are limited to

compensation benefits under § 904.

DiGiovanni and Morehead are also inconsistent with this

Court’s reasoning in Scindia v. De Los Santos, 451 U.S. 156

(1981). In Scindia, a longshoreman was injured while working

in the ship’s hold when he was struck by sacks of wheat which

fell from a pallet. It was unclear whether the sacks had fallen

due to the longshoremen’s negligent operation of the winch, or

due to the winch’s defective braking mechanism. It was also

unclear whether the shipowner was aware or chargeable with

knowledge of the problem with the winch. Among other things,

18

the Court held that the shipowner did not have a continuing duty

to supervise and inspect the stevedore’s cargo-handling operation

as “such an approach would repeatedly result in holding the

shipowner solely liable for conditions that are attributable to

the stevedore, rather than the ship”. Jd. at 169. The theory

behind the “turnover” doctrine is simple. A vessel is liable

pursuant to 33 U.S.C. § 905(b) for its own negligence, not for

the negligence of the subcontractors it hires such as stevedores

and ship repairers.

In DiGiovanni and Morehead the First Circuit allowed the

vessel owners to exonerate themselves from their own acts of

negligence simply because they manned their vessel with union

construction workers and characterized their actions as

construction activities rather than vessel activities. This violates

the mandate of Scindia that vessel owners be responsible for

their own acts of negligence.

IV.

THE DECISIONS CREATEA SPLIT BETWEEN THE

CIRCUITS.

Unlike the First Circuit, the Fifth Circuit has stated that a

vessel owner cannot be said to have turned a vessel over to itself

where it is contractually obligated to perform a job, requires

the vessel to effectuate the obligation, and remains in control of

the vessel to do so. Masinter v. Tenneco Oil Co., 867 F.2d 892

(Sth Cir. 1989). Morehead and DiGiovanni are factually similar.

Traylor Bros. and A-K remained in control of the barges, moving

them around the bay in furtherance of their overall mission: the

construction of the Jamestown Bridge, which they were

contractually obligated to build. Although some cases stand

for the proposition that a vessel owner can turn a vessel over to

its own employees, the types of work that the employees

foe aR, Ng Ser vg Oa he RBS

PPA SOS Sb SG Ba

Paik aS RENT aR SS Ne

19

performed in those cases was of a separate, specialized nature.

Pfeifer, supra (shipowner/stevedore); Scindia, supra (shipowner/

stevedore); Castorina v. Lykes Bros., 758 F.2d 1025 (Sth Cir.

1985) (shipowner/stevedore); Elberg v. Mobil Oil Corp., 967

F.2d 1146 (7th Cir. 1992) (shipowner/welder). Not one case

has ever held that a turnover existed in facts similar to the

Morehead and DiGiovanni cases.

Following this reasoning, the Fifth Circuit also reached a

different result in a case very similar to DiGiovanni and

Morehead. tn Pichof v. Bisso Towboat Co., Inc., 748 F.2d 300

(Sth Cir. 1984) the vessel owner acted as its own repairer. The

vessel’s employee, a repairman, was injured when he slipped

on diesel fuel on the bilge floor. The vessel owner alleged that

it was negligent as a vessel repairer, not as an owner. 748 F.2d

at 302. The Fifth Circuit observed that “the line between owner

and repairer is dull and elusive, at best”. Jd. at 303. Relying on

“intuition and common sense” the court held that the negligence

was at least partly vessel negligence and thus recovery could be

had under §905(b). Ibid. See also Smith v. Eastern Seaboard

Pile Driving, Inc., 604 F.2d 789 (2d Cir. 1979) (vessel owner’s

president who participated in repair mission and was negligent

was not immune from suit, as “supervisory personnel in

particular will continue to fulfill their general duties as agents

of the shipowner”). In Fanetti v. Hellenic Lines, Ltd., 678 F.2d

424 (2d Cir. 1982) a shipowner acted as its own stevedore and

tried to claim immunity from suit for its crewmember’s

negligence. In allowing recovery, the Fanetti court observed

that “a jury charge which relieved a shipowner of liability for a

dangerous condition which was known to the stevedore or to

any of its employees is clearly inappropriate where the

shipowner, itself, is the stevedore”. 678 F.2d 428.

The court reasoned that although a shipowner has a right to

rely on an independent expert contractor, it cannot rely upon an

20

expert contractor who, in fact, was not there. Jd. at 430. The

Court characterized such a concept as “schizophrenic” and “the

predictable effect upon the jury one of bafflement”. Jbid.

Vv.

THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S DEFINITION OF THE

TERM “VESSEL IN NAVIGATION” TO ALLOW

RECOVERY FOR JONES ACT NEGLIGENCE

CONFLICTS WITH DEFINITIONS ESTABLISHED BY

OTHER CIRCUITS AND BY THIS COURT.

This petition for certiorari is the second petition which

DiGiovanni has filed. Originally, the jury returned a verdict in

favor of DiGiovanni on the Jones Act (46 U.S.C. § 688) and on

the general maritime law counts. In light of the fact that the

jury found DiGiovanni to be a Jones Act seaman, it never reached

the issue of whether he was a “maritime employee” pursuant to

33 U.S.C. § 902. The First Circuit Court of Appeals, sitting en

banc, changed the definition of the term “vessel” under the Jones

Act. 959 F.2d 119 (ist Cir. 1992) (en banc). The court reversed

and remanded the case for consideration of the 33 U.S.C.

§ 905(b) issue, which was never reached. DiGiovanni petitioned

for certiorari to this Court, which denied the petition on October

5, 1992. 506 U.S. 827 (1992).

At the second trial of DiGiovanni, the trial court found that

“for at least a week before the accident, hydraulic fluid had

been leaking from the power pack onto the metal deck of the

supply barge. . . .Consequently, the deck of the supply barge

remained very slippery for the week or so leading up to the

accident”. The court held, however, that the defendant was not

negligent in its capacity as vessel owner. The effect of the two

decisions has been to leave DiGiovanni without a negligence

cause of action. DiGiovanni must be either “fish or fowl”. For

21

this reason, and for the reason that the circuits have conflicting

definitions of the term “vessel in navigation” which have not

been reconciled despite 75 years of maritime jurisprudence,

DiGiovanni once again asks this Court to grant certiorari on

this issue.

This case should also be heard by this Court due to the large

number of barges in this country, the ever increasing amount of

barge traffic and concomitant accidents, and the great volume

of maritime tort cases pending nationwide. Between 1978 and

1988, the number of registered vessels rose 33 1/3%. National

Transportation Statistics Annual Report (July 1990). Of the

40,000 registered vessels, 31,125 were presumably barges (non-

self-propelled vessels). Jd. at 32. Moreover, 6,367 vessels were

involved in marine accidents in 1988, a 15% increase over the

previous year. Jd. at 80. During that same period of time, the

number ef millions of tons of goods moved by barge increased

from 3.8 tons to 4.6 tons, an increase of 21%. See Waterborne

Commerce of the United States (Army Corps of Engineers 1989).

Over the past five years, approximately 3,000 maritime personal

injury suits have been commenced annually; at any given time,

there are roughly 4,000 maritime personal injury suits pending.

See Annual Report of the Director of the Administrative Office

of the United States Court (1987-1991).

A. The Conflict Between the Circuits on the Definition of

“Vessel in Navigation” under the Jones Act.

The en banc First Circuit decision held that as a matter of

law, the BETTY F was not a vessel for seaman status purposes

at the time of DiGiovanni’s injury. The Court announced a new

legal rule: “if a barge or other float’s ‘purpose or primary

business is not navigaticn or commerce’, then workers assigned

thereto for its shore enterprise are to be considered seamen only

when it is in actual navigation or transit”. 959 F.2d 1119, 1123.

22

In a 1996 case, the Second Circuit Court of Appeals

criticized the DiGiovanni approach and refused to adopt the

“primary purpose” test. TJonneson v. Yonkers Contracting Co.,

Inc., 82 F.3d 30 (2nd Cir. 1996). The Jonneson court noted that

although the First Circuit thought it had adopted the Fifth

Circuit’s test, “it-applied the Fifth Circuit’s test far more

restrictively than the Fifth Circuit, or, for that matter, any circuit,

ever had”. 82 F.3d at 34. In enunciating a different test, the

Second Circuit observed that it would not follow the First

Circuit’s “restrictive interpretation of ‘vessel in navigation’ ”.

Ibid. The Second Circuit’s test is:

(1) Whether the structure was being used

primarily as a work platform during a

reasonable period of time immediately

preceding the accident; (2) whether the

structure was moored or otherwise secured

at the time of the accident; and(3) whether,

despite being capable of movement, any

transportation function performed by the

structure was merely incidental to its primary

purpose of serving as a work platform.

82 F.3d at 36.

The Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals has a different

definition of the term “vessel in navigation” than either the First

Circuit or the Second Circuit. In the most recent case of Gizoni

v. Southwest Marine, Inc., the Ninth Circuit held that jury

instructions (pursuant to which the jury found that Gizoni was

not a seaman) emphasizing that a structure was not a vessel if

its transportation functions were only incidental, were wrong:

The fact that the craft was constructed for a

purpose other than the transportation of

PE Se ER ga

23

persons or things from one place to another

does not mean that as a matter of law, it is

not a vessel in navigation. The vessel

instruction here ignores Wenzel by overstating

the importance of the transportation purpose

... We have indicated before that unusual

looking crafts whose purpose is not the

transportation of persons or things can be

considered vessels under the Jones Act.

Gizoni v. Southwest Marine, Inc., 909 F.2d 385 (9th Cir. 1990),

aff'd, 502 U.S. 81, 56 F.3d 1138, 1142 (9th Cir. 1995) (citations

omitted).

B. The Conflict Between the Supreme Court and the First

Circuit on the Definition of “Vessel in Navigation” under

the Jones Act.

While this Court has never directly addressed the issue of

what constitutes a “vessel in navigation”, it has found non-

conventional watercraft of limited mobility to be considered

vessels for Jones Act purposes. Gianfala v. The Texas Co., 350

U.S. 879 (1955) (drilling barge without motive power or

navigation lights which had its spuds in place at the time of the

accident); Senko v. La Crosse Dredging Corp., 352 U.S. 370

(1957) (a dredge which was anchored to shore at all times during

the plaintiff’s employment and was seldom moved); Southwest

Marine, Inc. v. Gizoni, 502 U.S. 81 (1991) (a pontoon barge

without motive power secured to the end of a floating dry dock);

Grimes v. Raymond Concrete Pile Co., 356 U.S. 252 (1958) (pile

driver injured on submersible radar installation).

The DiGiovanni case also conflicts with this Court’s

rationale behind McDermott International, Inc. v. Wilander, 498

U.S. 337 (1991) (worker need not perform transportation related

24

functions on board a vessel to be a seaman). In Wilander, this

Court recognized the concept of special purpose vessels:

In the early periods of maritime commerce,

when the oar was the great agent of

propulsion, vessels were entirely unlike those

of modern times and each nation and period

has had its peculiar agents of commerce and

navigation adopted to its own wants and its

own waters; and the names and descriptions

of ships and vessels are without number...

there are other functions besides these of

mere navigation, and they are performed by

men who know nothing of seamanship. .. .

498 U.S. at 345 (emphasis added). It is inconsistent for the

First Circuit to fail to recognize special purposes vessels where

this Court has recognized special purpose seamen. In the case

of Chandris, Inc. v. Latsis, _. U.S __, 115 S. Ct. 2172 (1995)

this Court allowed the jury to consider the time that an engineer

spent aboard a vessel in dry dock to be considered in determining

whether he had the requisite employment related connection to

a “vessel in navigation”.

In Wilander, supra this Court decided the issue of “who is a

seaman”. In Latsis, supra this Court decided the issue of the

requisite duration of a worker’s connection to a vessel in order

to be eligible for a seaman status; a definition of the phrase

“vessel in navigation” would remove the conflict among the

circuits and restore uniformity in maritime commerce.

——

7

Boston, Massachusetts 02210

(617) 261-0080

| 25

CONCLUSION

&

For these various reasons, this petition for certiorari should

; be granted.

3

| Respectfully submitted,

3

i

1 DAVID B. KAPLAN

Counsel of Record

THOMAS M. BOND

THE KAPLAN/BOND GROUP

A Attorneys for Petitioners

/ Boston Fish Pier

: West Building, Suite 304

] P.O. Box 1404

‘

ee ae a ee ee ee Ee ee ee

Se a ee, ee

*

ok : 7 SSRI

ee ee se ee ee ee Pee ee ae a ee ee ee ee _

la

APPENDIX A — OPINION EN BANC OF THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

DATED OCTOBER 10, 1996 IN MOREHEAD VY.

ATKINSON-KIEWIT, J/V, ET AL.

United States Court of Appeals

For the First Circuit

No. 94-1581

MARK MOREHEAD,

Plaintiff, Appeliant,

V.

ATKINSON-KIEWIT, J/V, ET AL.,

Defendants, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

[Hon. Bailey Aldrich,” Senior Circuit Judge]

Before

Torruella, Chief Judge,

Campbell, Senior Circuit Judge,

Selya, Cyr, Boudin, Stahl and Lynch, Circuit Judges.

* Of the First Circuit, sitting by designation.

2a

Appendix A

Thomas M. Bond, David B. Kaplan and The Kaplan/Bond

Group on brief for appellant.

Thomas E. Clinton, Robert E. Collins and Clinton &

Muzyka, P.C. on brief for appellees.

Myles W. McDonough and Sloane and Walsh on brief for

J.M Cashman, Inc. and Cashman, KPA, A Joint Venture, amicus

curiae.

October 10, 1996

OPINION EN BANC

CAMPBELL, Senior Circuit Judge. This appeal comes

before the en banc court following our vacating of an unpublished

panel decision in this case issued on February 6, 1996, affirming

the decision of the district court. On the day of the panel opinion,

another panel of this court handed down a decision construing

the federal statute underlying both appeals in a materially

different way. Rocco P. DiGiovanni, Jr. v. Traylor Bros. Inc.,

No. 94-1775. We vacated both opinions and granted rehearing

en banc so as to provide a consistent rule in this circuit pending,

at least, further instruction from the Supreme Court or Congress.

Plaintiff Mark Morehead, a harbor worker injured while

working on a construction barge, appeals from a judgment of

the district court dismissing his negligence action against

Atkinson-Kiewit, J/V (“A-K”), a firm that was both his employer

and the charterer of the barge. Morehead brought this action

under section 905(b) of the Longshore and Harbor Workers’

Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33 U.S.C. § 901 et seq.,

authorizing covered employees to sue the vessel as a third party

for injury caused by the negligence of the vessel. In its capacity

as Morehead’s employer, A-K is immune from tort actions

3a

Appendix A

brought by covered employees like Morehead. But as the bare

boat charterer of the barge on which Morehead was injured,

A-K is deemed also to be the statutory vessel owner: and it was

in this capacity that A-K was sued.

The case raises difficult questions of first impression in this

circuit as to the liability of a so-called dual capacity employer

under the LHWCA. We must decide whether A-K’s alleged

negligence occurred in its “employer” capacity (a Capacity

immune from suit), or rather was in its capacity as “vessel” (a

negligence action being authorized under section 905(b) against

a vessel as third-party). While the Supreme Court has endorsed

the bringing of section 905(b) negligence actions against a dual

capacity defendant in its vessel owner capacity, the Court has

yet to define, in such a case, the point at which employer

responsibility ends and vessel responsibility begins. Nor has the

Court decided to what extent principles laid down in negligence

actions brought by longshore workers against a vessel owned

by a third-party apply to claims by non-stevedoring contractor

harbor workers brought against a vessel owned by their own

employer.

I. Background

Mark Morehead was employed by A-K, a joint venture

formed between Guy Atkinson Co. and Kiewit Eastern to

complete the construction of the Jamestown Bridge spanning

Narragansett Bay in Rhode Island. In order to transport materials

and equipment around the bay to the work sites, A-K bare boat

chartered several barges. The barges involved in this case, the

CHER 106 and the HUGHES 707, were flat deck barges —

floating platforms bare of structures or equipment. A-K also

leased two tugs from Woods Hole Towing Co. to transport the

4a

Appendix A

barges where needed. The tugs themselves were crewed by

Woods Hole employees. '

A-K hired carpenters from a local union to build the bridge.

Their responsibilities included cutting timbers and steel and

setting up concrete forms for pours. As the local unions

requirements prevented the tug captain or crew from handling

the lines on the barges, some carpenters also tended the lines on

the barges as “scowmen.” Morehead’s regular duties included

both carpentry and linehandling.

On January 29, 1990, Morehead and another carpenter/

scowman, Steven Breault, were untying the HUGHES 707 from

the CHER 106. A barge was to be surveyed in connection with

her going off hire. A tug stood nearby. The barges were not at

this time carrying materials or equipment, but rather were set

off on the north side of the Davisville Pier. Breault threw a heavy

line to Morehead, who, in attempting to catch it, stepped

backwards into an open hatch which was flush with the deck on

one of the barges. The district court noted conflicting testimony

as to which barge Morehead was on when injured,” but concluded

1. Although Woods Hole was originally named as a defendant in this

action, the district court granted its motion for summary judgment against

Morehead, who has not appealed from that decision. Consequently, Woods

Hole is no longer a party.

2. The district court did not definitively find which barge Morehead

was on at the time of the accident. The court found “more likely” that

Morehead was on the HUGHES 707 and Breault was on the CHER 106, but

wrote: “In either event, however, the court would find a single open hatch

... insufficiently obvious. There would seem a presumption that an unmarked

18 inch opening on an otherwise solid deck is a failure of a reasonably safe

proffer to one expected to walk thereon. The court would therefore find the

barge, whichever one it was, unseaworthy, but under the statute (33 U.S.C>

§ 905(b))this is irrelevant.”

Sa

Appendix A

that in any event, the single open hatch was insufficiently

obvious. Breault testified that he had opened the hatch on the

HUGHES (which he named as the barge to be surveyed) a few

days before the accident, because A-K was preparing for an off-

hire survey before returning the barge to the owner. Breault

testified that a supervisor carpenter had told him to open the

hatch.

Morehead filed a complaint against A-K and Woods Hole

on April 22, 1991, alleging Jones Act negligence, unsea-

worthiness, maintenance and cure, and negligence under section

905(b) of the LHWCA. Following the denial of A-K’s motion

for summary judgment, Morehead voluntarily withdrew all

claims except his claim for negligence under the LHWCA. A

bench trial commenced on April 11, 1994. On April 29, 1994,

the district court issued its Findings and Order dismissing

Morehead’s complaint and A-K’s cross-claim against Woods

Hole. It wrote:

[T]he court does not find it negligence of

[appellee] viewed in its capacity as pro hac

vice owner. Rather, it appears to be a

temporary condition created by it solely in

its capacity as charterer. . . .

These two capacities are legally separate,

even though they be the same individual.

This passage confusingly distinguishes between an owner pro

hac vice and a bare boat charterer (the statute includes both in

its definition of “vessel,” see 33 U.S.C. § 902(21)). The parties

agree that the district court actually meant to distinguish between

the appellee as vessel and as employer. We also interpret the

district court’s order in that fashion.

6a

Appendix A

Judgment was entered on May 4, 1994 in A-K’s favor. This

appeal followed.

II. Standard of Review

A district court’s fact-based findings relative to negligence

are reviewable only for clear error. See, e.¢_, Levene v. Pintail

Enters., 943 F.2d 528, 535-36 (Sth Cir. 1991,, cert. denied, 504

U.S. 940 (1992). However, the question of whether the district

court applied the proper standard of care is one of law, subject

to de novo appellate review. See, e.g., Keller v. United States,

38 F.3d 16, 22-23 (1st Cir. 1994); Elberg v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

967 F.2d 1146, 1149 (7th Cir. 1992).

The district court did not explain the criteria it applied in

deciding what duties of care to attribute to A-K in its separate

capacities, respectively, as LHWCA employer and as owner

(charterer) of the barge. Rather, it simply cited along with its

conclusions existing precedent relative to section 905(b) liability,

e.g., Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S.

156 (1981), and Castorina v. Lakes Bros. S.S., 758 F.2d 1025

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 846 (1985). The circumstances

and context of these and related cases, however, are too removed

for their mere citation to reveal the analysis that the district court

applied in this case. Nor does the language of the LHWCA

provide clear guidance. We can only hope that the Supreme Court

will eventually elucidate the standards applicable to dual status

employers of harbor workers in circumstances comparable to

these. Until then, we do our best to outline the legal principles

that, we believe, govern the facts presented here. Under those

principles — and giving due deference to the district court’s

authority as fact finder — we affirm the judgment below.

Ta

Appendix A

III. “Vessel” Status

We briefly discuss first a less troublesome issue. The district

court provisionally assumed, without deciding, that the barge

on which Morehead was injured was a “vessel” within the

LHWCA. Section 905(b) permits an LHWCA employee to sue

in negligence only “[i]n the event of injury . . . caused by the

negligence of a vessel.” Section 902(21) of the LHWCA defines

“vessel” to include a bare boat charterer among the parties that

may be held liable under section 905(b). A-K does not contest

its status as bare boat charterer. Nor has it asserted on appeal

that the HUGHES and CHER were not themselves “vessels”

under the LHWCA. See, e.g., Kathriner v. Unisea, Inc., 975

F.2d 657, 662 (9th Cir. 1992) (to determine whether a structure

is a “vessel” under the LHWCA, most courts have applied the

general definition in 1 U.S.C. § 3 of a “watercraft or other

artificial contrivance used, or capable of being used, as a means

of transportation on water”); accord DiGiovanni v. Traylor Bros.,

830 F. Supp. 106, 108-09 (D.R.I. 1993). The LHWCA definition

of “vessel” is significantly more inclusive than that used for

evaluating seaman status under the Jones Act.? For present

purposes, we may assume that both barges were vessels under

the LHWCA, for the negligence of which a section 905(b) claim

may be brought.

3. See Generally Chandris. Inc. v. Latsis, 115 S. Ct. 2172, 2192

(1995)(to qualify as a seaman under the Jones Act, “a maritime employee

must have a substantial employment-related connection to a vessel in

navigation”); Kathriner, 975 F.2d at 659-63 (applying tests of “vessel” under

Jones Act and LHWCA). Plaintiff withdrew his maritime claims, including

the claim of Jones Act negligence.

—-

8a

Appendix A

IV. Statutory Framework

The LHWCA establishes a comprehensive federal worker’s

compensation scheme which holds employers liable, irrespective

of fault, for securing the payment of the prescribed compensation

to qualified maritime employees injured in the course of their

employment. 33 U.S.C. § 904.‘ This liability of employers is

termed “exclusive and in place of all other liability of such

employer to the employee.” Jd. § 905(a).

Section 905(b) of the Act authorizes certain covered

employees to bring an action against the vessel as a third party

if their employment injury was caused by the negligence of the

vessel.° But employees may no longer sue the vessel on a strict

4. Section 904 provides in relevant part: “(a) Every employer shall be

liable for and shall secure the payment to his employees of the compensation

payable under sections 907, 908, and 909 of this title . . . . (b) Compensation

shall be payable irrespective of fault as a cause for the injury.” 33 U.S.C.

§ 904.

A statutorily covered employee is “any person engaged in maritime

employment, including any longshoreman or other person engaged in

longshoring operations, and any harbor-worker including a ship repairman,

shipbuilder, and ship-breaker,” except “a master or member of a crew of any

vessel” and other limited categories of workers. Jd. § 902(3). ~~

5. Section 905(b) provides:

In the event of injury to a person covered under this

chapter caused by the negligence of a vessel, then such

person, or anyone otherwise entitled to recover

damages by reason thereof, may bring an action

against such vessel! as a third party in accordance with

(Cont'd)

ALES

0A ae ar EN ata SOP ARLE liad A iad OH yh

9a

Appendix A

liability theory for her “unseaworthiness,”® Congress having

eliminated the latter as a remedy for longshore and harbor

workers in the 1972 Amendments to the LHWCA. The 1972

(Cont'd)

the provisions of section 933 of this title, and the

employer shall not be liable to the vessel for such

damages directly or indirectly and any agreements or

warranties to the contrary shall be void. If such person

was employed by the vessel to provide stevedoring

services, no such action shall be permitted if the injury

was caused by the negligence of persons engaged in

providing stevedoring services to the vessel. If such

person was employed to provide shipbuilding,

repairing, or breaking services and such person’s

employer was the owner, owner pro hac vice, agent,

operator, or charterer of the vessel, no such action

shall be permitted, in whole or in part or directly or

indirectly, against the injured person’s employer (in

any Capacity, including as the vessel’s owner, owner

pro hac vice, agent, operator, or charterer) or against

the employees of the employer. The liability of the

vessel under this subsection shall not be based upon

the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach thereof at

the time the injury occurred. The remedy provided in

this subsection shall be exclusive of all other remedies

against the vessel except remedies available under this

chapter.

33 U.S.C. § 905(b).

6. See 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). Unseaworthiness is a maritime remedy that

was established “simply by showing that some condition or appurtenance

on board the vessel at the time of the accident was unreasonably hazardous,

even if the stevedore-employer was the sole cause of the hazard.” Keller, 38

F.3d at 23 (citing Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85, 94 (1946)).

10a

Appendix A

Amendments require employees to show fault of the vessel, bar

a vessel’s obtaining of indemnification from the employer, and

have increased the worker’s compensation recoverable from an

employer. See Addison v. Bulk Food Carriers, Inc., 489 F.2d

1041, 1042 (1st Cir. 1974). Focusing on longshore workers who,

to date, have been the occupational group chiefly discussed in

Supreme Court cases under the LHWCA, the Court described

these changes as designed “to shift more of the responsibility

for compensating injured longshoremen to the party best able

to prevent injuries: the stevedore-employer.” Howlett v. Birkdale

Shinning Co., 114 S. Ct. 2057, 2063 (1994); see also Keller, 38

F.3d at 23.

In the 1984 Amendments to the LHWCA, Congress further

narrowed the availability of negligence actions by certain

categories of harbor workers against a vessel in circumstances

where the employer was also the owner of the offending vessel.

In these so-called “dual capacity” cases, Congress barred

employees providing “shipbuilding, repairing, or breaking

services” from suing the employer-vessel owner for negligence

in any capacity. 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). The Amendments did not

purport to prohibit LHWCA employees other than in the

described categories from suing for negligence in dual capacity

cases. See H.R. Rep. No. 98-570(1), 98th Cong., 2d Sess.,

reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2734, 2741 (hereafter 1984

U.S.C.C.A.N.) (“The Committee intends that this language [in

§ 905(b)] not be construed to limit an employee’s right to bring

a cause of action, except in the circumstances indicated within

the language.”); cf. Guilles v. Sea-Land Serv., Inc., 12 F.3d 381,

386 (2d Cir. 1993) (affirming relief cook’s judgment against

negligent employer-vessel owner and explaining that “[t]he 1984

change . . . shows that Congress knew how to preclude a class

of employees from being able to sue an employer-vessel if it

i iar

aint at Rts Whey sees end o'e

lla

Appendix A

chose to do so”); Gay v. Barge 226, 915 F.2d 1007, 1010 (Sth

Cir. 1990) (“[T]he § 905(b) bar is specific to the occupations

listed: shipbuilders, ship repairers and ship breakers.”’).

The Supreme Court had previously interpreted section

905(b) to permit covered employees to bring third-party

negligence actions against their employer qua vessel owner. See

Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523, 530-32

(1983) (asserting that if Congress had intended to exempt

employer-vessel owners from negligence suits, then the sentence

in section 905(b) barring recovery from them where fellow

longshore workers caused the injury would have been

unnecessary). As Morehead’s occupational category does not

fall within any of those Congress expressly excepted in the 1984

Amendments, supra, Jones & Laughlin would appear under

current construction of the statute to allow Morehead to bring a

third-party negligence action against A-K in its vessel Capacity.’

To prevail, however, Morehead has to show that any negligence

on A-K’s part is attributable to it as vessel rather than as

Morehead’s insured LHWCA employer.

V. Defining the Vessel’s Duty of Care: The Supreme Court

Cases

As Jones & Laughlin allows Morehead to bring a third-party

negligence action against a vessel owner even though the latter

7. The parties have not disputed on appeal that Morehead is a statutorily

covered employee of a statutorily covered employer. As a harbor worker

with carpentry and linehandling duties, Morehead meets the Statutory

definition of a covered employee under section 902(3) and does not fall within

any of the categories of workers expressly prohibited from suing under section

905(b).

12a

Appendix A

is simultaneously his statutorily-immune employer, we need to

find the principles for determining whether the alleged acts of

negligence — the open hatch and failure to warn — are

attributable to A-K qua vessel owner rather than qua employer.

The Supreme Court has indicated that Congress left to the courts

the task of defining the vessel’s duty of care. See Howlett, 114

S. Ct. at 2063 (“Because Congress did not ‘specify the acts or

omissions of the vessel that would constitute negligence,’ the

contours of a vessel’s duty to longshore workers are ‘left to be

resolved through the “application of accepted principles of tort

law and the ordinary process of litigation.” ’ ”) (citing Scindia,

451 U.S. at 165-66).

In Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S.

156 (1981), the Supreme Court considered the duty of care that

a vessel owner owed to an injured longshore worker who was

employed by an independent stevedoring firm. For this common

triangular relationship at least — vessel, stevedore, and longshore

worker® — the Court held that limiting the vessel’s duty of care

so as to put the chief responsibility upon the independent

stevedore was consistent with Congress’ intent to permit third-

party negligence actions against the vessel but to eliminate the

vessel’s no-fault liability (the “unseaworthiness” claim). In

Howlett, a case that also involved a longshore worker suing an

independent vessel, the Court restated the vessel’s limited

residual duties:

8. In Howlett, the Court suggested that this relationship was the typical

one in the longshoring business. See Howlett, 114. S. Ct. at 2062 (“The injured

longshoreman’s employer — in most instances, an independent stevedore,

see Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256 (1979)

— must pay the statutory benefits regardless of fault, but is shielded from

any further liability to the longshoreman.”) (citations omitted).

13a

Appendix A

The first, which courts have come to call the

“turnover duty,” relates to the condition of

the ship upon the commencement of

stevedoring operations... . The second duty,

applicable once stevedoring operations have

begun, provides that a shipowner must

exercise reasonable care to prevent injuries

to longshoremen in areas that remain under

the “active control of the vessel.” .. . The

third duty, called the “duty to intervene,”

concerns the vessel’s obligations with regard

to Cargo operations in areas under the

principal control of the independent

stevedore.

Howlett, 114S. Ct. at 2063 (citations omitted) (emphasis added).

This court recently applied these duties in Keller v. United

States, 38 F.3d 16 (1st Cir. 1994), a case also involving the

triangular relationship of vessel, stevedoring contractor, and

longshore worker. We described two duties of a vessel prior to

“turnover”: the “duty to warn” and the “duty of safe condition.”

Id. at 23-24. We further described three “continuing” duties of

care:

First, the vessel owner might remain

under such a duty were it to retain actual

physical control or custody of a portion of

the vessel, or participate in stevedoring

operations. Scindia, 451 U.S. at 167, 101 S.

Ct. at 1622... . Second, a duty to intervene

might attach in the event the vessel owner

were to acquire actual knowledge that

l4a

Appendix A

“unsafe conditions” had developed in the

vessels appurtenances since turnover, that the

stevedore-employer will not address the

unsafe condition, and that the stevedore’s

decision not to remedy the developing hazard

was “obviously improvident” in the

circumstances. /d., at 174-75, 101 S. Ct. at

1625-26. Third, even absent actual control,

~ participation or knowledge, a post-“turnover”’

duty may arise if the vessel owner was

obligated, by contract, statute or custom, to

monitor stevedoring operations for the

purpose of detecting and remedying unsafe

conditions. /d. at 172, 101 S. Ct. at 1624-25.

Id. at 32.

Keller affirmed a judgment that an independent vessel owner

had breached neither its turnover nor its continuing duties to a

longshore worker who had fallen from a ladder on board the

vessel. We ruled that the district court had not erred in relying

on testimony based on industry standards, which indicated

fulfillment of the turnover duty. We also found no breach of a

continuing duty of the vessel, where the allegedly dangerous

condition developed during cable loading operations which were

under the stevedore’s control.

As did the Supreme Court in Scindia, this court noted the

independent stevedore’s greater skill and expertise relative to

the vessel’s, making the former better positioned than the vessel

to prevent employee injury, and the traditional stevedoring

warranty to perform competently. See id. at 29-30; see also

Howlett, 114 S. Ct. at 2065 (“The rule relieving vessels from

this general duty [to exercise reasonable care to discover

15a

Appendix A

dangerous conditions that develop] rests upon ‘the justifiable

expectations of the vessel that tne stevedore would perform with

reasonable competence and see to the safety of the cargo

operations.’ ”) (citation omitted); Scindia, 451 U.S. at 172 (“[the

1972 Amendments] did not undermine the justifiable

expectations of the vessel that the stevedore would perform with

reasonable competence and see to the safety of the cargo

operations”). Further supporting the vessel owner’s justifiable

reliance on the stevedore is that the latter is “subject to detailed

legislative and administrative prescriptions for affording its

workers a ‘safe’ workplace.” Keller, 38 F.3d at 24 (citing 33

U.S.C. § 941 and accompanying regulations, 29 C.F.R.

§§ 1918.1-1918.106, § 1918.25, and Scindia, 451 U.S. at 170).

In Scindia and Howlett the Supreme Court, as noted, outlined

a vessel owners duties of care relative to a longshore worker

employed by an independent stevedore.’ But the Supreme Court

has not yet had occasion to analyze the vessel’s duties in a dual

capacity case.'° Nor has the Court considered to what degree its

Scindia analysis applies to non-longshoring harbor workers,

whose duties and modus operandi often differ considerably from

those of longshore workers.'' The Court has said, though, that

9. Other courts have applied Scindia duties to LHWCA-covered

employees other than longshore workers in the familiar tripartite context.

See, e.g., Elberg, 967 F.2d at 1149-50 (welder); Teply v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

859 F.2d 375, 377 (Sth Cir. 1988) (worker at barge-accessible oil well).

10. In Jones & Laughlin, the negligence of the dual capacity defendant

qua vessel had been conceded.

11. Longshore workers such as those in Scindia typically load and

unload cargo ships that are operated full-time by a master and crew. Vessel

negligence can often be distinguished from stevedore negligence by

(Cont'd)

l6a

Appendix A

“lo]f course, [section 905(b)] does make it clear that a vessel

owner acting as its own stevedore is liable only for negligence

in its ‘owner’ capacity, not for negligence in its ‘stevedore’ [the

insured employer] capacity.” Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S. at 531

n.6.

How to distinguish between vessel owner negligence and

employer negligence — where the same entity is both vessel

owner and employer — is key here, because Morehead’s statutory

right to sue is solely for injury caused by the vessel negligence

of a vessel as third-party. For other work injuries within the

scope of his employment, the LHWCA expressly provides that

he must accept the worker’s compensation prescribed under the

LHWCA as “exclusive and in place of” all other employer

liability. 33 U.S.C. § 905(a).

A further matter complicates this case: as the defendant has

two capacities, so too, it might be said, does the plaintiff.

Morehead was a carpenter, but was hired to perform both

carpentry and scowmen’s duties. A-K did not employ a separate

(Cont'd)

determining to what extent the dangerous condition was caused, or allowed

to persist, by reason of the neglect of the vessel’s crew rather than of the

stevedoring employees. Harbor workers, however, may work (as here) on

construction barges that are moved about by tugs and have no fully-dedicated

professional crew as such. As part of their employment, the harbor workers

may do whatever is needed from time to time to tend lines and service the

barges, besides performing construction duties as carpenters, electricians,

or the like. Thus, assessing what responsibilities fall within the purview of

the vessel’s duty of care, as distinguished from the employers, can be an

elusive quest.

Sinn ig Se Nel ana Y a DIRE Nec 26 Eth AE RIOR NORE BT AB a 2 at Fete Sk bed?

5 i

Py ee, Pe eee ee

Tor

4

4

+

3

3

17a

Appendix A

crew on its barges.'? As we will discuss further below, this

“double dual capacity” aspect of the case is a factor to be

considered in determining whether negligent acts are properly

attributable to a defendant as vessel.'?

12. As noted, the tugs that towed the barges were captained and crewed

by employees of Woods Hole, which supplied the tugs. These employees did

not handle the lines on the barges; under union rules, only carpenters/

scowmen employed by A-K (such as Morehead) did.

13. This mix of responsibilities might, in other cases, expand the range

of possible remedies available to an injured emplovee, who must then choose

between the mutually exclusive regimes of the LHWCA and Jones Act. See

Chandris, 115 S. Ct. at 2183-84 (citing McDermott Int'l, inc. v. Wilander,

498 U.S. 337, 347 (1991)). In Southwest Marine, Inc. v. Gizoni, 502 U.S. 81

(1991), the Supreme Court held that a shipyard rigging foreman — who

har.dled lines connecting floating platforms to vessels under repair — was

not precluded as a matter of law from seeking a tort remedy under the Jones

Act merely because ship repairers are among those jobs specifically

enumerated under the LHWCA. See id. at 89 (“By its terms the LHWCA

preserves the Jones Act remedy for vessel crewmen, even if they are employed

by a shipyard. A maritime worker is limited to LHWCA remedies ouly if no

genuine issue of fact exists as to whether the worker was a sean.an under the

Jones Act.”).

Morehead withdrew his Jones Act claim, presumably because he did

not believe he could establish Jones Act seaman status. Nonetheless,

Morehead has attempted to focus our attention on the vessel-type

responsibilities that Breault performed in the period before the injury, as

discussed infra. While an emphasis on vessel-type duties may be appropriate

for the fact-specific inquiry into seaman status, we place little weight on

this attempt to bifurcate vessel and construction activities when these workers

were hired to perform both. The definition of a covered employee under the

LHWCA excludes “a master or member of a crew of any vessel.” 33 U.S.C.

§ 902(3). It seems inconsistent with this exclusion for Morehead to buttress

his claim under the LHWCA with arguments portraying a fellow employee,

Breault, as if he were a member of the crew of the vessel. See infra.

18a

Appendix A

VI. Lower Court Precedent

While the Supreme Court has said little about dual capacity

cases beyond giving approval to the suing of dual capacity

defendants in their vessel owner capacity, some circuits have

decided cases similar to ours. They have asked whether the

alleged negligence was due to the defendant qua employer or

qua vessel, with recovery allowed only in the latter instance.

And, principles borrowed from Scindia have been applied to

harbor workers as well as longshore workers.

Applying Scindia to a dual capacity defendant raises

questions even in the longshoring context. For example, if a

defendant is aware of a defect in the work area as stevedore

employer, should such awareness also be attributed to it as vessel

owner? And as we note supra, Scindia and Keller emphasized a

vessel owner’s reliance upon the presumed expertise of the

stevedore, an independent contractor. Where the vessel owner

is also the stevedore, is it reasonable to attribute such reliance?

Concerns of this nature led the Second Circuit in Fanetti v.

Hellenic Lines Ltd., 678 F.2d 424 (2d Cir. 1982), cert. denied,

463 U.S. 1206 (1983), to indicate that a longshore worker’s claim

against a dual capacity defendant would be analyzed differently

from a claim against a separate shipowner brought by the

employee of an independent stevedore. In Fanetti, a longshore

worker was injured on deck by an unsafe condition. The dual

capacity defendant argued that 1) in its role as employer-

stevedore, it was primarily responsible for the safety of the

workplace, and 2) as vessel owner, it should be able to rely upon

its expertise as stevedore, thereby avoiding liability as vessel

for the negligence.

19a

Appendix A

The Second Circuit rejected the defendant’s attempt to

escape liability in negligence as vessel by seizing its “employer

hat.” Relying on a dissent by Judge Friendly in Canizzo v. Farrell

Lines, Inc., 579 F.2d 682, 687 (2d Cir.) (Friendly, J., dissenting),

cert. denied, 439 U.S. 929 (1978), the court of appeals ruled

that a vessel assumes a greater duty of care when there is no

independent employer responsible for workplace conditions,

upon whom the vessel owner may rely to oversee the safety of

the workplace on board. See Fanetti, 678 F.2d at 428 (citing

Canizzo, 579 F.2d at 689-90).

Rearranging duties of care as in Fanetti raises serious

problems, discussed hereafter, by enlarging an employers tort

liability beyond the purposes of the 1972 Amendments. Cf.

Howlett, 114 S. Ct. at 2063. Fanetti, moreover, was decided

before Jones & Laughlin was handed down in the Supreme Court.

We de not think that the Second Circuit today would endorse

Fanetti’s broadened duty of care, given the Supreme Court’s

remark “that a vessel owner acting as its own stevedore is liable

only for negligence in its ‘owner’ capacity, not for negligence in

its ‘stevedore’ capacity.” Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S. at 531 n.6.

This comment suggests that the Court expected the limited vessel

liability in Scindia to carry over to dual capacity situations as

well. No later case from the Second Circuit, nor from any other

circuit, has been called to our attention following Fanetti’s

enlargement of a vessel’s duty in a dual capacity situation."* Cf.

14. Fanetti might have reached the same result of vessel liability

without applying a broader duty of care. The defendant did not dispute that

the vessel’s crew created the hazard while performing work unrelated to

longshoring operations. See Fanetti, 678 F.2d at 426. In this situation, the

defendant qua vessel arguably had active control over the crew and knew or

should have known about the injury-causing actions, making it liable even

under the Scindia standards.

20a

Appendix A

Guilles, 12 F.3d at 383, 387 (a recent Second Circuit decision

citing Fifth Circuit authority contrary to Fanetti and ruling only

that a valid cause of action under section 905(b) existed, where

the parties had stipulated to the vessel’s negligence). Whether

or not termed dicta, we do not feel free to overlook the Court’s

statement in Jones & Laughlin.

Contrary to Fanetti, the Fifth Circuit, which has decided a

great number of LHWCA cases, has allocated the same vessel

duties of care to dual and single capacity defendants. It regards

this approach as in keeping with the Supreme Court’s limiting

of a vessel’s duty of care (e.g., Scindia and Jones & Laughlin),

and with Congress’ intent to provide injured workers the same

remedies, regardless of whether their employer or another

happens to be the legal owner of the vessel.'*

15. Other courts have followed suit. See, e.g., Halpin v. Atkinson-

Kiewit, J.V., 894 F. Supp. 486 (D. Mass. 1995) (applying Scindia duties and

denying defendant’s motion for partial judgment on the pleadings);

DiGiovanni v. Travlor Bros., 855 F. Supp. 37 (D.R.1. 1994), appeal docketed,

No. 94-1775 (1st Cir. July 27, 1994) (finding no violation of Scindia duties

where hazard was obvious following “turnover” of the vessel, defendant as

vessel lacked “active control” over or knowledge of leak from equipment

placed aboard for employment operations, and the circumstances did not

give rise to a duty to intervene); Koernschild v. W.H. Streit, Inc., 834 F.

Supp. 711 (D.N.J. 1993) (applying Scindia duties and denying summary

judgment to the defendant where factual dispute existed concerning the

plaintiff’s awareness of the hazard); Coats v. Luedtke Eng’g Co., 744 F.

Supp. 884 (E.D. Wisc. 1990) (deeming “employer” responsible for providing

employee a safe passageway to his jobcen essel, and granting summary

judgment to the defendant given its lack — “w ve control” as vessel over a

condition off-board the vessel).

2la

Appendix A

The seminal Fifth Circuit case was Castorina v. Lykes Bros.

S.S., 758 F.2d 1025 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 846 (1985).

There, a longshore worker exposed to asbestos during cargo

operations alleged that his employer-vessel owner knew of the

harm qua vessel and failed to make the vessel safe. The Fifth

Circuit stated that the LHWCA compensation scheme “requires

us to separate the negligence of the shipowner and that of the

stevedore, even when the shipowner performs its own stevedoring

activities.” Jd. at 1033. Noting that the alleged harm had arisen

during stevedoring activities, the court refused to impute any

knowledge of this danger by the employer to it as vessel. It

explained:

To impute this knowledge to a shipowner-

employer would be to hold it liable in tort

for damages arising from its negligence as

stevedore, and effectively to eliminate the

exclusivity provisions of sections 905(a) &

(b). This result is contrary to the language

and purpose of the Act as amended. We

therefore hold that the duty owed by a

shipowner to a longshoreman under section

905(b) is that established by Scindia and its

progeny; this duty is neither heightened nor

diminished when the longshoreman is

employed directly by the vessel.

Id.; accord Tran v. Manitowoc Eng’g Co., 767 F.2d 223, 228

(Sth Cir. 1985).

On the facts of Castorina, it was relatively easy to apply

the Scindia standard to the shipowner-employer. In a later case,

the Fifth Circuit applied Scindia in a more complex situation

22a

Appendix A

involving a harbor worker. In Levene v. Pintail Enters., 943 F.2d

528 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 504 U.S. 940 (1992), the injured

employee was a heavy equipment operator who performed other

maritime tasks as well. A captain had instructed Levene to untie

another owner’s barge, which blocked access to the particular

barge they had been instructed to pick up. Levene was injured

on the other owner’s barge, where grease and scrap materials

were present on the deck. See id. at 530.

Applying the Scindia duty of turnover and the duty arising

from active control over a dangerous condition, the Levene court

rejected the employee’s claim. The court explained that Scindia

did not mandate “extending the duty of a shipowner to protection

against hazards on another ship.” Jd. at 534. “[W]e decline to

fashion a general standard of ‘reasonable care’ that would require

a shipowner to protect against any and all hazards a long-

shoreman might encounter in the course of his work.” Jd. Further,

the court did not view “the fleeting contact between Pintail [the

employer-vessel owner] and the BB-242 [the separate owner’s

barge] as the kind of control that could result in a finding of

liability.” Jd. at 535. It noted that the duty arising from active

control over a hazardous condition may be triggered when the

dangerous condition is on the vessel itself. See id. (discussing

Masinter v. Tenneco Oil Co., 867 F.2d 892, 896-97 (Sth Cir.

1989), a non-dual capacity case in which the vessel crew was

solely responsible for placing a stairway in a way that caused

injury to a worker, and the vessel was “contractually bound to

conduct the drilling operations and remained in control of the

vessel to effectuate this obligation”). Even though the captain

“temporarily was in ‘command’ ” of both the vessel and the

separate owner’s barge, the court found that this did not rise to

the level of active control required. /d.

23a

Appendix A

VII. Resolving This Case

We agree with the Fifth Circuit, for similar reasons, that

the duties of care described in Scindia should be applied in dual

Capacity cases insofar as the facts allow. To do so, a court may

have to divide the employer-shipowner into a hypothetical

independent employer and independent vessel owner, each

separately holding the duties allocated under principles suggested

in Scindia. A court may sometimes be assisted in this process

by the defendant’s internal employment arrangements assigning

certain personnel to the “vessel” side of its operation. On

occasion, however, the duties and work arrangements pertaining

to a suing harbor worker may be so foreign to those in Scindia’s

stevedoring context that Scindia’s analysis will become no more

than a point of departure. Nonetheless, Scindia’s general

approach, at least, can be followed and, in many cases, some or

all of its express analysis may be useable.

The statutory language and the legislative history of the 1972

and 1984 Amendments plainly evidence Congress’ intent that

the workers compensation scheme be the primary remedy for

all covered workers, regardless of an employer’s commercial

practice in regard to vessel ownership. See 33 U.S.C. § 905(a)

(exclusiveness of employer’s liability); 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. at

2740 (“In the Committee’s view, the Longshore Act should be

the primary source of compensation for covered workers who

are disabled or who may die as a result of a job-related injury or

disease.”) (emphasis supplied); H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441, 92d

Cong., 2d Sess., reprinted in 1972 U.S.C.C.A.N. 4698, 4705

(“[T]he bill provides in the case of a longshoreman who is

employed directly by the vessel there will be no action for

damages if the injury was caused by the negligence of persons

engaged in performing longshoring services .... The

24a

Appendix A

Committees intent is that the same principles should apply in

determining liability of the vessel which employs its own

longshoremen . . . as apply when an independent contractor

employs such persons.”) (emphasis supplied). The 1972

Amendments carefully balanced the concerns of employers,

vessels, and covered workers. We are not disposed to upset that

balance by expanding the liability of employers that act

simultaneously as vessel owners, when the statute does not call

for such a reading and the Supreme Court has cautioned against

it.

As already observed, Scindia will sometimes afford less

direct guidance on those duties owed to harbor workers than it

does on those owed to longshore workers. Courts will need to

decide, on a case-specific basis, whether the harbor worker’s

employment arrangement sufficiently resembles that in Scindia

to make particular specifics germane.

Here, the employment arrangement is sufficiently analogous

to make Scindia a useful guide. The Scindia Court reasoned that

once longshore workers came aboard and began carrying out

their cargo duties under a stevedores supervision, the vessel itsclf

had no general duty to exercise reasonable care to inspect for

unsafe workplace conditions; rather, it could rely on the

longshore worker’s employer to do so. See Scindia, 451 U.S. at

172. Here, A-K hired harbor workers through the local

carpenters’ union and, as their employer, supervised them as

they tended the barges, handling the lines and carrying out

construction activities thereon. Both types of activities —

construction and scowmen’s work — were assigned to them and

were performed for A-K qua employer. Workers like Morehead

received their daily instructions from A-K’s carpenter-foremen,

while A-K’s project safety manager met periodically with them

25a

Appendix A

to discuss site-specific safety issues. Therefore, Scindia’s

principle of limited liability of the vessel sensibly and logically

applies, because the employees effectively assumed control of

the barges working under A-K in its capacity as their employer.

A-K qua shipowner had no separate captain and crew assigned

to the barge. The allegedly negligent conditions (the open hatch

and the absence of warnings) were not attributable to the errors

of separate maritime agents acting specifically for the vessel.

Rather the alleged acts of negligence were those of fellow harbor

workers acting within the scope of their daily employment for

the employer. Cf. 33 U.S.C. § 905(b) (prohibiting liability of an

employer-vessel owner for acts “caused by the negligence of

persons engaged in providing stevedoring services to the vessel’’).

Morehead does not assert any breach of the Scindia

“turnover” duty (e.g., that A-K, as vessel owner, turned over the

barge to the harbor workers knowing or with the duty to have

known, of some defect in the barge that later caused injury).

Morehead argues only that we should deem that A-K as vessel

violated duties it owed him because, at the time he was injured,

A-K as vessel (rather than A-K as employer) is asserted to have

had “active control” over or “actual knowledge” of the open

hatch. Cf. Howlett, 114 S. Ct. at 2063 (noting appellant confined

arguments to breach of turnover duty to warn); Elberg, 967 F.2d

at 1150 (noting appellant confined arguments to breach of duty

to intervene). Fquating employment for worker’s compensation

purposes solely with construction activity, he asserts that no

construction purpose, hence no employment purpose, was being

pursued at the time of his injury. He draws support from the

district court’s findings that the barges were set alongside the

pier and were not carrying construction equipment. Morehead

emphasizes that A-K had instructed Breault to open the hatch to

air the barge out so that A-K could exercise what Morehead

26a

Appendix A

argues was a vessel! function having a marine surveyor examine

the barge before returning it to the owner. He further claims that

A-K’s safety manager or other carpenter foremen knew or shou!d

have known that the open hatch was a potentially hazardous

condition. Resting on purported agency principles, Morehead

asks us to assign these employees’ acts to A-K in its vessel

capacity, on the theory that A-K in its vessel rather than employer

capacity had control over or knowledge of the open hatch and

the failure to warn about it.

A-K responds that Breault was performing employment

duties when he opened the hatch and when he threw the line to

Morehead before the accident. Like Morehead, Breault had been

hired both for carpenter and scowman duties. As typical in the

case of harbor workers, as distinct from land-based carpenters,

the men were expected as part of their employment duties to

lend a hand with supporting maritime chores as well as to pursue

their particular construction trade. A-K maintains that its “active

control” over or knowledge about the open hatch into which

Morehead fell is therefore attributable to it as employer, not as

vessel since the hatch was opened (presumably by Breault) and

the line thrown in the course of harbor worker duties which both

men were regularly hired to perform.

We agree with A-K that, for present purposes, the barges

tended by its carpenters/scowmen were operated within A-K’s

control and knowledge qua employer. The barges, which were

Breault and Morehead’s workplace, can be analogized to the

areas of a vessel taken over by longshore workers in the Scindia

setting. Under the princ iples of that case, the stevedore — or, in

a dual capacity case, the employer in a stevedore capacity — is

ordinarily liable for the safety of the workplace and for any

injuries that occur. The vessel, or the employer in its vessel

27a

Appendix A

capacity, is not implicated except in the unusual circumstance

that the vessel itself continues to exercise active control over

the work area.

We recognize that a competing analysis is possible, which,

however, we reject. A court could make an attempt to ascribe

Breault’s and Morehead’s specific activities relative to

Morehead’s injury either to their employer or to the vessel,

depending on how the court chose to classify the objectives that

those activities were thought to serve. One could inquire whether

the hatch was opened to “help” the vessel (i.e., to air it in

preparation for returning it to the owner) rather than in

furtherance of some construction activity. If so, the defendant

qua vessel might be held liable for any negligence. Such an

analysis, however, would involve courts in slippery semantical

debate. Is an accident while tying up a barge at a construction

site in furtherance of a “constructions objective or a “vessel”

objective? If both objectives are being served, which

predominates? And how does one square the fact that the

employees here were hired by the employer for scowmen not

just carpenter duties? Harbor workers are, after all, by definition,

employees whose paid duties include maritime components.

As noted, the statute makes the employer’s worker’s

compensation liability “exclusive and in place of all other liability

...." 33 U.S.C. § 905(a). The legislative history and the Court’s

precedents since 1972 make worker’s compensation the primary

remedy for an injured employee. The exception in section 905(b)

for third-party negligence, narrowed in 1984,"* explicitly requires

16. Cf. Roach v. M/V Aqua Grace, 857 F.2d 1575, 1580 (11th Cir. 1988)

(“While this [1984] amendment does not disturb the holding of Jones &

Laughlin Steel Corp., it does indicate a Congressional intent to limit

invocation [sic] of the dual capacity doctrine under the Act.”).

28a

Appendix A

a finding of vessel fault. We would be disregarding Congressional

intent and might even be returning in the direction of the Sieracki

doctrine which did not require such a showing, see supra n.6, if

we were to attribute some of the regular duties that a harbor

worker is employed to perform to the vessel, because of their

speculative seaman-like character, and only the residue to the

employer. This approach would greatly expand a defendant’s

liability qua vessel in a work arrangement not too different from

that in Scindia, i.e., one where the employees have effectively

taken over the vessel to carry out their employment duties under

their employer’s supervision. A similar expansion of liability

would follow from too easily assigning any knowledge acquired

by A-K employees in the regular course of employment (such

as the carpenter foremen or worksite safety manager) to A-K in

a vessel capacity. Neither the statute nor case law supports such

an approach, which, on the present facts, would leave this

worker’s compeiisation statute as a strange hybrid combining

mandated compensation coverage with a widespread license for

covered employees to sue because of the negligence of their

supervisors and fellow employees within the workplace.

One of the essential purposes of the 1972 and 1984

Amendments was to provide employees and employers with a

greater degree of certainty as to the coverage in effect. The

legislative history of the 1984 Amendments documents this

concern:

[T}he situation in which a worker may be

covered at one time, and not covered at

another, depending on the nature of the work

which the worker is performing at the time

of the injury must be avoided since such a

result would be enormously destabilizing, and

29a

Appendix A

would thus defeat one of the essential

purposes of these amendments.

1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 2736-2737. A “functional” interpretation,

hinging the type of liability on the nature and purpose of the

duties being performed by covered employees at any given time,

would increase uncertainty and the frequency of disputes over

the scope of coverage. As Morehead’s and Breault’s employment

contemplated that they would alternate frequently between

construction and linehandling, a single, overall classification of

their duties is most appropriate for determining the types of

remedies available. Cf. Gay, 915 F.2d at 1011 (“[T]o deny Gay

[the employee] a cause of action in the morning but to grant him

one in the afternoon is to make his rights under the Act as random

and indiscriminate as the sea herself. This sort of incertitude is

precisely what Congress attempted to eliminate from the

LHWCA in both its 1972 and 1984 amendments.) (footnote

omitted); cf. Chandris, 115 S. Ct. at 2187 (“In evaluating the

employment-related connection of a maritime worker to a vessel

in navigation, courts should not employ ‘a “snapshot” test for

seaman status, inspecting only the situation as it exists at the

instant of injury’. . . . [A] worker may not oscillate back and

forth between Jones Act coverage and other remedies depending

on the activity in which the worker was engaged while injured.”)

(citations omitted).

Cases will, of course, arise from time to time involving an

injury that was negligently caused by someone acting as the agent

of the vessel owner rather than of the employer."’ Here, however,

17. Cf. Pichoff v. Bisso Towboat Co., 748 F.2d 300, 302-03 (Sth Cir.

1984) (ruling in a dual capacity case that a general manager who ordered a

hurried inspection of a fuel tank leak and failed to provide adequate lighting

was acting as an agent of the vessel).

30a

Appendix A

we see nothing requiring the district court to find that Breault,

in leaving open the hatch, acted in any capacity other than as

Morehead’s fellow employee pursuing assigned harbor worker

duties rather than as A-K’s agent in its distinct shipowner’s

capacity. Morehead and Breault were hired to perform both

construction and scowmen duties. A carpenter-supervisor

instructed Breault to open the hatch. A-K’s project safety

manager generally oversaw the safety of work operations.

Morehead has not shown why, in these circumstances, A-K in

its district capacity as owner of the vessel rather than as his

employer, may have breached a duty of care to protect him

against the open hatch.

We conclude that the district court correctly viewed the open

hatch as a condition temporarily created by A-K as employer,

and affirm the district court’s judgment in favor of A-K.

So ordered.

— Concurring Opinion Follows —

3la

Appendix A

SELYA, Circuit Judge (concurring). Under existing

Supreme Court precedent, this is a close and a vexing case. A

large part of the problem is that the Court’s language in Jones

Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523, 530-32 & n.6

(1983) — whether deemed a holding or a considered dictum —

forces judges who are called upon to decide “dual Capacity”

LHWCA cases to engage in a legal fiction, pretending that a

single entity (the injured person’s employer) is really two distinct

and separable entities (employer and vessel owner pro hac vice).

In my view, this self-induced schizophrenia muddles the law

and disrupts the delicate balance that Congress labored to strike

between the entitlement of stevedores and others similarly

situated to workers’ compensation benefits, and the entitlement

of employers who provide that coverage to immunity from

negligence suits. In short, I believe that Congress should have

been taken literally when it wrote that an employer’s

responsibility to furnish workers’ compensation benefits under

the LHWCA is “exclusive and in place of all other liability of

such employer to the employee.” 33 U.S.C. § 905(a).

This reasoning leads me to conclude, with all respect, either

that Congress inadvertently muddied the waters in phrasing

LHWCA § 905(b), or, alternatively, that Jones & Laughlin was

wrongly decided. Still, I recognize that the Supreme Court’s

opinion is binding on this court, and that we therefore must

undertake what Judge Campbell charitably terms “an elusive

quest.” Ante at note 11. Once reconciled to that necessity, I can

in good conscience join this court’s cogent opinion. I write

separately, however, to urge the Supreme Court and Congress to

reflect upon the mind games that Jones & Laughlin —

particularly as applied to harbor workers — compels us to play,

and, hopefully, to revisit the question of whether “dual capacity”

employers should be liable at all in negligence actions brought

by their employees.

— Dissenting opinion foliows —

32a

Appendix A

CYR, Circuit Judge (dissenting). As I am in fundamental

disagreement with the treatment given the duties of care

incumbent upon dual capacity LHWCA employers by the en

banc court under the Supreme Court decision in Scindia, I

respectfully dissent.

I.

Two years after its seminal decision in Scindia, see supra

Section V (en banc opinion), the Supreme Court held that an

injured longshore worker who receives LHWCA compensation

benefits is not barred from bringing a negligence action against

his vessel-owner employer under section 905(b), notwithstanding

the seemingly unqualified “exclusivity” provision in section

905(a) that the sole liability to which maritime employers may

be subjected is LHWCA compensation benefits. See Jones &

Laughlin, 462 U.S. at 530-31; see also supra note 5 (en banc

opinion). Beyond the conclusive contextual support for this

holding, the relevant legislative history confirms a congressional

intendment “that the rights of an injured longshoreman . . . should

not depend on whether he was employed directly by the vessel

or by an independent contractor.” Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S.

at 531-32 (quoting H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441).'

1. The full House Report excerpt states:

The Committee has also recognized the need for

special provisions to deal with a case where a

longshoreman or ship builder or repairman is

employed directly by the vessel. In such case,

notwithstanding the fact that the vessel is the

employer, the Supreme Court, in Reed v. S.S. Yaka,

373 U.S. 410 (1963), and Jackson v. Lykes Bros.

Steamship Co., 386 U.S. [731] (1967), held that the

unseaworthiness remedy is available to the injured

employee. The Committee believes that the rights of

(Cont'd)

33a

Appendix A

Without further elaboration, the Jones & Laughlin Court

appended a conclusory footnote (“footnote 6”) to its holding:

“Of course, § [905(b)] does make clear that a vessel owner acting

as its own stevedore is liable only for negligence in its ‘owner’

Capacity, not for negligence in its ‘stevedore’ capacity.” Jd. at

531 n.6. The en banc court interprets footnote 6 as the Supreme

Court’s endorsement of a legal fiction central to the present

controversy: a dual capacity employer engaged in maritime

construction presumptively operates in two wholly discrete

capacities (i.e., vessel owner and construction company). I

respectfully disagree.

First, footnote 6 is unelucidated dictum. See Dedham Water

Co., Inc. v. Cumberland Farms Dairy, Inc., 972 F.2d 453, 459

(Cont'd)

an injured longshoreman or ship builder or repairman

should not depend on whether he is employed directly

by the vessel or by an independent contractor.

Accordingly, the bill provides in the case of a

longshoreman who is employed directly by the vessel

there will be no action for damages if the injury was

caused by the negligence of persons engaged in

performing longshoring services. Similar provisions

are applicable to shipbuilding or repair employees

employed directly by the vessel. The Committee's

intent is that the same principles should apply in

determining liability of the vessel which employs its

own longshoremen or ship builders or repairmen as

apply when an independent contractor employs such

persons.

H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441, 92d Cong., Ist Sess. 7-8, reprinted in 1972

U.S.C.C.A.N. at 4705 (emphasis added).

34a

Appendix A

(1st Cir. 1992) (“Dictum constitutes neither the law of the case

nor the stuff of binding precedent. ”). Although great deference

normally is accorded considered Supreme Court dicta, see, e.g.,

Bank of New England Old Colony, N.A. v. Clark, 986 F.2d 600,

603 (1st Cir. 1993), the only question of statutory interpretation

confronting the Court in Jones & Laughlin was whether the

LHWCA imposed any duty of care at all upon dual capacity

vessel owners, since the parties were in agreement that the

defendant vessel owner would be liable for its negligent conduct

absent any such per se immunity prescribed by statute.” Not only

did the parties in Jones & Laughlin not brief the complex legal

issue presently before us, but there is no exegetic discussion —

either in footnote 6 or elsewhere in the Jones & Laughlin opinion

— of the legal issue itself, the LHWCA’s legislative history, or

supportive Supreme Court precedent. See Heck v. Humphrey,

512 U.S. 477, 114 S.Ct. 2364, 2370 (1994) (rejecting Court’s

own dictum in prior opinion which “had no cause to address,

and did not carefully consider, the damages question before us

today”).

More importantly, even if footnote 6 were to be considered

binding precedent, its curt conclusion begs the essential question:

in defining the duties of care, how are the courts to determine in

what conditions particular negligent conduct is to be considered

traceable to a dual capacity employer qua vessel owner? Far

from creating or endorsing a presumptive legal fiction, footnote

6 may simply impart the Court’s view that a dual capacity

employer in some future case might yet be able to demonstrate

an efficient bifurcation of its statutory duties of care under the

2. Longshoreman Pfeifer had slipped and fallen while on board a barge

owned by his employer, which had “negligently failed to remove [ice] from

the gunnels.” Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S. at 526.

35a

Appendix A

LHWCA. The current circuit split on this issue thus indicates at

the very least that the legal fiction purportedly endorsed by

footnote 6 has not won universal acceptance in the lower courts.

The Fifth Circuit has accepted footnote 6 as evidence that

the Supreme Court meant to endorse an artificial legal construct

deemed central to the LHWCA’s integrity as a prototypical

workers’ compensation statute. See Levene, 943 F.2d at 531

(citing Castorina, 758 F.2d at 1032-33 (noting: since legislative

history contemplates that all maritime employees receive the

“same” remedy, “[w]e can find no reason to impose on a

shipowner a greater duty of care toward longshoremen because

the shipowner conducts its own stevedoring operations”)). That

is to say, a contrary construction of section 905(b) would deprive

dual capacity employers of their anticipated return for assuming

the burden of contributing to the section 904 workers’

compensation scheme.

The Second Circuit, on the other hand, has pointed out that

attempting to fit dual capacity employers into the traditional

Scindia mold causes serious anomalies and artificialities not

present in single capacity cases. See, e.g., Fanetti, 678 F.2d at

428 (“[A] [jury] charge which relieves a shipowner of liability

for a dangerous condition which was ‘known to the stevedore

or to any of its employees’ is clearly inappropriate where the

shipowner, itself, is the stevedore.’ ”) (quoting Napoli v. Hellenic

Lines, Ltd., 536 F.2d 505, 508 (2d Cir. 1976)). For example, as

the Second Circuit observed:

Where . . . there is no independent contractor,

it is part of the ship’s duty to exercise

reasonable care to inspect its own workers’

workplace, to remove grease spills, etc. In

36a

Appendix A

such a case there is no “independent

contractor” with primary responsibility upon

whom the ship may properly rely . . . . Things

are very different when the longshoreman

works for an independent stevedore who has

primary responsibility for the workplace.

Id. (quoting Canizzo, 579 F.2d at 689-90 (Friendly, J., dissenting,

in part)) (emphasis added). Although Fanetti preceded Jones &

Laughlin, whereas the Castorina decision came after, there is

no indication that the Second Circuit has altered its position.’

Il.

The en banc court embraces the presumptive “bifurcation”

approach adopted in Castorina out of concern that the Fanetti

option would eviscerate the 1972 LHWCA amendments’

principal purpose: to offer all maritime employers maximum

protection from unpredictable tort liability in return for their

fixed monetary contributions to the LHWCA compensation fund.

See also DiGiovanni v. Traylor Brothers, Inc., 855 F. Supp. 37,

42 (D.R.I. 1994) (same, citing by analogy to “exclusivity”

3. The en banc court notes that the Fanetti panel need not have

announced so broad a statement of the duties incumbent upon dual capacity

employers. See supra note 14 (en banc opinion). In my view, this overlooks

the purposes served by such statements: first, to explicate the court’s rationale

through reference to potential anomalies and inequities which might otherwise

be thought to undermine its rationale; second, to provide guidance on remand.

See, e.g., Scindia, 451 U.S. at 156 (setting forth complete explication of

duties of care for remand, some arguably inapposite to record facts). No

Supreme Court or Second Circuit case either explicitly or implicitly overrules

Fanetti. Cf. Guilles, 12 F.3d at 387 (citing Levene only for the limited

proposition that non-longshore workers not specifically barred by the 1984

LHWCA amendments — like harbor workers — may bring suit against their

dual capacity employers under the Jones & Laughlin reasoning); cf. also

supra Section VI (en banc opinion).

37a

Appendix A

provision in Rhode Island Workers’ Compensation Statute, see

R.I. Gen. Laws § 28-29-20 (1994)). Accordingly, the en banc

court views the bifurcation fiction as the only means of achieving

the congressional goal “that the rights of an injured longshoreman

. .. Should not depend on whether he was employed directly by

the vessel or by an independent contractor.” H.R. Rep. No. 92-

1441 (noting that the “same principles should apply in

determining the liability of the vessel” in both single capacity

and dual capacity cases). I find its reasoning unpersuasive.

First, though courts must attempt to discern legislative intent

based on the statute as a whole, see Thinking Machs. Corp. v.

Mellon Fin. Servs. Corp., 67 F.3d 1021, 1024 (1st Cir. 1995),

nothing in the LHWCA or its sparse legislative history provides

conclusive support for the “evisceration” argument adopted today

by the en banc court. As single capacity employers would

continue to retain all their section 905(a) protections, the Fanetti

approach may limit some employers’ LHWCA immunity but it

certainly does not render the LHWCA exclusivity provision

superfluous. See Mosquera-Perez v. INS, 3 F.3d 553, 556 (st

Cir. 1993) (no statutory provision should be interpreted as

meaningless). .

Second, Jones & Laughlin itself demonstrates that the

supposedly unlimited, pro-employer exclusivity provision in

section 905(a) is far more flexible than the land-based workers’

compensation statutes in most states, which in comparable

contexts would not permit a worker to bring a negligence action

against the employer as owner of the property on which the

worker’s injury occurred. See generally 2A Arthur Larson,

Workmen's Compensation Law § 72.82, at 14-234 (1983).* Thus,

4. Many states do recognize a dual capacity doctrine — though in

circumstances inapposite here — where the employer acts in a non-landowner

(Cont'd)

38a

Appendix A

it seems reasonably clear that Congress did not envision section

905 as an exact analog to state workers’ compensation schemes.

Third, the cited House Report language appears immediately

after a discussion of Congress’ intention to abrogate the Court’s

previous decisions in Reed v. Yaka, 373 U.S. 410 (1963), and

Jackson v. Lykes Bros. Steamship Co., 386 U.S. 731 (1967), see

supra note 1, which held that dual capacity employers were as

vulnerable to “unseaworthiness” claims under the pre-1972

LHWCA as were non-employer vessel owners. Congress meant

to eliminate the wasteful litigation burdening the courts under

the pre-1972 LHWCA,; viz., the “triangulation” in litigation

caused by the confluence of a longshore worker’s strict liability

claim for “unseaworthiness’”’ against the vessel owner and the

vessel owner’s claim for indemnification from a negligent

stevedore-employer.

Thus, in all likelihood the House Report’s reference to “same

principles” was simply meant as a caution that henceforth, by

virtue of the 1972 amendments, both single capacity and dual

Capacity cases were to be subject to the same negligence liability

principles, not to the heightened standards of care governing

“unseaworthiness” claims — a differential that would otherwise

have afforded employees in dual capacity cases a decided

advantage in litigation. See, e.g., Shaw v. North Pennsylvania

R. Co., 101 U.S. 557, 565 (1879) (“No statute is to be construed

(Cont'd)

capacity. For example, a worker injured by a product manufactured by the

employer would not be barred from bringing a product liability claim for

breach of the duty — owed the consuming public — to make a reasonably

safe product. See, e.g., Schump v. Firestone Tire & Rubber Co., 541 N.E.2d

1040, 1042-43 (Ohio 1989).

39a

Appendix A

as altering the common law further than its words import.”) .

Therefore, even without indulging the “bifurcation” fiction

adopted by the en banc court, it is entirely reasonable to point

out that dual capacity employers, in return for assuming much

more limited section 904 workers’ compensation liability,

obtained an important benefit from the 1972 amendments; that

is, complete insulation from the much more onerous strict

liability to which they had been exposed previously in actions

for breach of the warranty of seaworthiness.

Fourth, Congress may well have envisioned different duties

of care for single capacity and dual capacity employers. Unlike

their single capacity counterparts, dual capacity vessel owners

presumably derive economic benefit as a result of their decision

to act in a dual capacity. In fact, this economic benefit itself

may well counterbalance any “heightened” duty of care attending

their decision.

A shipowner is, of course, at liberty to refrain

from hiring an independent stevedoring

contractor. Presumably it does so to save

money. However, that saving is accomplished

at the-cost of not having an independent

expert on board. As myriad cases in this field

demonstrate, the presence of the expert

independent stevedoring contractor furnishes

the shipowner with significant protection, in

the form of insulation from liability for its

own acts which would otherwise attach. But

the shipowner cannot save the premium and

still claim the protection.

Fanetti, 678 F.2d at 428 (emphasis added).

40a

Appendix A

Indeed, permitting the dual capacity employer to

compartmentalize its actual “knowledge” between its two

artificial personae in these circumstances would undercut the

primary LHWCA policy goal identified in Scindia. That is to

say, there would be no economic incentive for shipowner-

employers to hire independent stevedoring companies, which

generally possess greater expertise in conducting longshoring

activities with maximum levels of worker safety. Such an

artificial rule inevitably would increase the hazardous working

conditions encountered by longshore and harbor workers, and

thereby undermine the spirit of the LHWCA.

Fifth, the en banc court’s bifurcation fiction obviates any

factfinding inquiry into the “dual capacity” employer’s actual

mode of operations. Under either Fanetti or Levene, single and

dual capacity employers are subject to the “same” standards of

care; the differences are purely circumstantial. The Scindia

paradigm recognizes that a single capacity vessel owner is subject

to comparatively relaxed duties of care because it forfeits

virtually all control over ensuing events once it turns its vessel

over to another legal entity (and that entities employees) in

relation to which the vessel owner enjoys no presumptive right

of control absent specific contractual arrangements to the

contrary.

On the other hand, as a general rule the notice or knowledge

— as well as the foreseeability — attributable to a dual capacity

employer will be greater simply because a vessel owner which

hires its own longshore or harbor workers does not in fact n turn

over n its vessel to a separate entity. Rather, the dual capacity

employer remains in control —- at least to some extent (both in

time and space) — and often remains in total control of the entire

vessel and its appurtenances throughout the relevant time period.

4la

Appendix A

Thus, the fuller range of knowledge and foreseeability normally

accompanying constant and total control represents a compelling

reason for broader accountability on the part of the dual capacity

employer, consistent with general tort principles, see, e.g.,

Illinois Constructors Corp. v. Logan Transp., Inc., 715 F. Supp.

872, 882 n.22 (N.D. Ill. 1989) (agent’s knowledge is imputable

to principal, exposing principal to direct liability in tort); People

v. American Medical Ctrs. of Michigan, Ltd., 324 N.W.2d 782,

783 (Mich. Ct. App. 1981) (same), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1009

(1983); Allen v. Prudential Property & Cas. Ins. Co., 839 P.2d

798, 806 (Utah 1992) (same).

Even a single capacity employer owner must shoulder the

ongoing duty to intervene as necessary to correct hazardous

conditions in any part of the vessel remaining within its control,

as well as when it acquires actual knowledge of a developing

hazard posed by the vessels appurtenances (e.g., an open deck

hatch or a leaking powerpack), and knows that the independent

stevedore’s failure to remedy the hazard is plainly improvident.

See Keller, 38 F.3d at 32; cf. also Melanson v. Caribou Reefers,

Lid., 667 F.2d 213, 214 (1st Cir. 1981) (noting that Scindia’s

“obviously improvident” standard of care generally pertains only

to hazards developing in vessel’s gear, rather than

nonappurtenances like cargo). By the opposite token, however,

what can it matter whether a dual capacity employer knows, as

it surely does, that its decision gua independent stevedore not to

eliminate a known hazard ‘is or is not improvident? After all, a

vessel can exercise control, and acquire knowledge, only through .—

its owner and crew, 33 U.S.C. § 902(21) (“vessel” includes

“agents” and “crew members”), and in single capacity cases the

42a

Appendix A

control exercised and the knowledge acquired by these agents

normally must ve imputed to the vessel.° The apology for the

dual capacity ‘iction might be more compelling were there some

reality-based indication as to when the markedly different

responsibilities incumbent upon dual capacity employers become

engaged. But this is simply not the case, of course. Even the

determinative one-time a turn over” in a single capacity case,

which brings about a clearly distinguishable realignment of

responsibilities in keeping with the change in control, bears no

relevance in the dual capacity case. In the Jamestown Bridge

construction project, for example, the control and use of some

vessels, or discrete areas of various vessels, frequently alternated

between an employer’s vessel-operating employees and its .

construction employees .° Clearly, then, the dual capacity fiction

5. Indeed, the following language from the House Report severely

undercuts the statutory interpretation proposed by the en banc court:

{Nothing in the [LHWCA] is intended to derogate

from the vessel's responsibility to take appropriate

corrective action where it knows or should have

known about a dangerous condition.

So, for example, where the longshoreman slips on

an oil spill on a vessel’s deck and is injured, the

proposed amendments to Section 5 would still permit

an action against the vessel for negligence. To recover,

he must establish that: (1) the vessel put a foreign

substance on the deck, or knew that it was there, and

willfully or negligently failed to remove it; or (2) the

foreign substance had been on the deck for such a

period of time that it should have been discovered

and removed by the vessel in the exercise of

reasonable care under the circumstances.

H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441 (emphasis added).

6. For example, in the companion en bane case, the employer, Traylor

(Cont'd)

43a

Appendix A

presumes circumstantial settings which overlook the actual facts

in many if not most cases.

At best, therefore, the Castorina fiction devolves into a

metaphysical exercise, at worst into an inducement to dual

capacity employers to perpetuate hazardous conditions within

their exclusive control. See Fanetti, 678 F.2d at 428. Furthermore,

it runs directly counter to the clear statement of congressional

intent in the LHWCA legislative history; viz., that the “same

principles [i.e., the Scindia duties of care] should apply in

determining the liability of the vessel” in both single Capacity

and dual capacity cases. See H.R. Rep. No. 92-1441.

Sixth, the mere fact that the 92d Congress reduced the tort

liability exposure of LHWCA employers in certain respects does

not permit the extrapolation indulged by the en banc court; viz.,

Congress must have intended to accord employers the maximum

protection from negligence liability regardless of any actual

differences in their respective levels of knowledge about, or

capacities to control, the workplace. In so doing, the en banc

(Cont’d)

Brothers, Inc., was required to use the BETTY F and the supply barge,

alternately, as a means of transporting the crane, its Operating employees

and supplies to the designated work sites on Narragansett Bay or as an

instrumentality for constructing the coffer dams. Sometimes, in fact, it

appears that these discrete operating modes either merged or alternated with

such frequency that it could not be ascertained with any confidence, even on

the date of the accident, whether the Traylor Brothers’ supply barge crew, or

its construction team “alter ego,” had custody and control of the deck of the

supply barge. Cf. Masinter v. Tenneco Oil Co., Inc., 867 F.2d 892 (Sth Cir.

1989) (noting that “the present case does not involve a vessel owner ‘turning

over’ the control of a vessel to a stevedore or independent contractor. Rather,

[the vessel owner] was contractually bound to conduct the drilling operations

and remained in control of the vessel to effectuate this obligation.”).

44a

Appendix A

court gives little recognition to the one presumptive principle of

statutory interpretation plainly applicable here: the LHWCA

“must be liberally construed in conformance with its purpose,

and in a way which avoids harsh and incongruous results.” Reed,

373 U.S. at 415 (emphasis added). See Voris v. Eikel, 346 U.S.

328, 333 (1953); see also Hogar Aqua y Vida en el Desierto v.

Suarez-Medina, 36 F.3d 177, 181 (ist Cir. 1994) (remedial

statutes are to be broadly construed).’ Consistent with this

presumptive interpretation, unless dual capacity employers like

A-K demonstrate some legislative purpose behind the LHWCA

that is either served by Castorina or disserved by Fanetti, the

benefit of the doubt would belong to the plaintiff-employee.*®

7. Generally, this interpretive rule operates to bring injured maritime

workers within the workers’ compensation scheme in circumstances where

§ 904 is ambiguous. Insofar as maritime workers are deprived of other

common law remedies under § 905(a), a liberal interpretation is not invariably

synonymous with one that is “favorable” in fact to maritime workers. In

Reed, 373 U.S. 410 (1963), and Jackson, 386 U.S. 731 (1967), however, the

Court made clear that this interpretive rule may be used to expand a covered

workers adjunct remedies under the LHWCA, beyond the remedy directly

afforded under § 904. The legislative history of the 1972 LHWCA

amendments questions Reed, but only regarding the continued availability

of the “unseaworthiness” remedy against dual capacity employers, see supra

note 1, leaving undisturbed Reed's pro-employee interpretive presumption

in the face of other unresolvable statutory ambiguities.

8. I share the common-sense assessment advanced in the concurring

opinion, see supra, that the dual capacity fiction is unnecessarily

cumbersome, but cannot agree that Congress intended, or the Jones &

Laughlin Court should have held, that all tort suits against dual capacity

employers were barred outright. First, the unambiguous second sentence in

§ 905(b) (“If such person was employed by the vessel to provide stevedoring

services, no such action shall be permitted if the injury was caused by the

negligence of persons engaged in providing stevedoring services to the

vessel.” prevented any such interpretation by the Court. By expressly

: (Cont'd)

45a

Appendix A

Il.

Absent controlling precedent or conclusive evidence of

congressional intent, we must determine the particular duties of

care to be borne by the dual capacity employer. See Scindia,

451 U.S. at 165-66, 167 (“Section 905(b) did not specify the

acts or omissions of the vessel that would constitute negligence

. .. » Much was left to be resolved through the ‘application of

accepted principles of tort law and the ordinary process of

litigation.’ ”) (quoting H.R.Rep. No.92-1441). Since legal

fictions often overlook relevant realities in order to promote some

greater systemic benefit, in my view a finding of dual Capacity

should be the exception, not the presumptive rule.°

(Cont'd)

restricting the permissible scope of such suits, this language unmistakably

implies that there is no such outright bar of negligence suits by employees

against their dual capacity employers. See Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S. at

530-31. Second, the concurring opinion suggests that the 92d Congress

unintentionally created the present muddle in 1972, then surmises that

Congress nonetheless intended the exclusivity provision as a total bar to

dual capacity suits. Be that as it may, Congress amended the LHWCA in

1984, one year after the Jones & Laughlin decision, and enacted outright

bars relating only to particular classes of dual capacity employers (c.g.,

shipbuilders). See, ¢.g., Guilles, 12 F.3d at 386. Thus, Congress had the

Opportunity in 1984 to overturn the Jones & Laughlin decision in its entirety,

yet chose to overrule it only in part. Consequently, a congressional intendment

that some dual capacity employers are subject to suit under section 905 seems

to me to be settled beyond serious question.

9. See Helvering v. Stockholms Enskilda Bank, 293 U.S. 84, 92 (1934)

((“[L}egal fictions have an appropriate place in the administration of the

law when they are required by the demands of convenience and justice.”);

Pettibone Corp. v. Easley, 935 F.2d 120, 123 (7th Cir. 1991) (“Even legal

fictions have their limits.”); Cruz y. Chesapeake Shipping, Inc., 932 F.2d

218, 227-28 (3d Cir. 1991) (noting that maritime law creates legal fictions

“for [ ) practical operational reasons”); United States v. Markgraf, 736 F.2d

(Cont'd)

46a

Appendix A

Neither the Congress nor the Scindia Court could have

foreseen the recent, fast-paced evolution in maritime construction

practices which has exacerbated the instant controversy.

Ultimately, therefore, the Congress or the Supreme Court must

provide a definitive response to the present conundrum. Until

then, however, a the rights of an injured longshoreman . . . should

not depend on whether he was employed directly by the vessel

or by an independent contractor.” Jones & Laughlin, 462 U.S. at

531-32.

It is for very good reason that the- LHWCA did not invite

the courts simply to presume an adequate segregation of the

workplace-safety responsibilities incumbent upon maritime

employers under the LHWCA, based merely on some informal

or de facto bifurcation of its vessel-owner and construction

operations. Such a presumption would allow, even encourage,

dual capacity employer operations to lapse into the types of tacit

work arrangements which place employees at unnecessary risk;

for example, where few workers, if amy, understand which of

their dual capacity employer’s alter egos is ultimately

responsible, through its own employees, for monitoring,

reporting and/or remedying developing hazards.

At most, therefore, bifurcation should be available as an

affirmative defense, as to which the putative dual capacity

employer bears the burden of proof. Scindia noted that the vessel

owner may surrender and entrust a discrete work area to a single

(Cont'd)

1179, 1187 (7th Cir. 1984) (“[FJor more than 200 years we have been told

that the proper office of legal fictions is to prevent, rather than to create,

injustices.” (citing 3 William Blackstone, Commentaries on the Laws of

England 43 (1768)), cert. dismissed, 469 U.S. 1199 (1985).

47a

Appendix A

capacity employer because the latter presumptively possesses

not only the hands-on opportunity to monitor vessel workplace

conditions, but also the required expertise in supervising

workplace safety. See Keller, 38 F.3d at 29-30. On the other

hand, since a dual capacity employer may Or may not actually

consign its workplace safety responsibilities to its “construction

division,” its bifurcation defense should not be allowed if, for

instance, the dual capacity employer withheld such

responsibilities from its construction division ab initio, or

delegated them without the clarity and authority reasonably

required to enable their reliable discharge. Cf. id. at 32 (“a post-

‘turnover’ duty may arise if the vessel owner was obligated, by

contract, statute or custom, to monitor stevedoring operations

for the purpose of detecting and remedying unsafe conditions”).

For example, the slipshod arrangements in place in the

companion cases now before the en banc court were of a type

that could do nothing to encourage, let alotie develop, the

expertise necessary to enable a dual capacity employer's

“construction division” reliably to discharge its delegated

workplace-safety responsibilities along the lines touted in

Scindia.

Consequently, in my view the first step in establishing the

actual bifurcation needed to sustain a dual-capacity employers

affirmative defense would be to demonstrate, either through an

express delegation of responsibility, or by way of an implied

delegation based, for example, on evidence that the dual Capacity

employers on-site construction division supervisors customarily

made workplace safety decisions of a type and magnitude

adequate to indicate that reasonably reliable prophylactic

measures would be undertaken to prevent workplace mishaps of

the sort experienced by the plaintiff-employee.

Secondly, once a dual capacity employer has made the prima

48a

Appendix A

facie showing that primary responsibility for workplace safety

had been adequately delegated to its “construction division,” n

the Scindia rationale would contemplate that the injury sustained

by the plaintiff-employee have occurred in a workplace area not

under the “active control” of the dual capacity employers “vessel

division” (or its vessel crew) during any appreciable pre-injury

period after the hazardous condition first developed. See Scindia,

451 U.S. at 167 (noting that vessel may be liable for its negligent

conduct “in areas . . . under the active control of the vessel during

the stevedoring operations”); Fanetti, 678 F.2d at 429 (noting

that the 1972 LHWCA amendments “neither expressly nor

implicitly purport[ ] to overrule or modify the traditional rule

that the longshoreman may recover the total amount of his

damages from the vessel if the latter’s negligence is a

contributing cause of his injury, even if the stevedore, whose

limited liability is fixed by statute, is partly to blame”) (quoting

Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256,

_ 264 (1979)).

The rationale for such a requirement seems unimpeachable:

an employer may not use the dual capacity fiction to circumvent

LHWCA tort liability by artificially compartmentalizing its

actual knowledge. Id. at 430 (“[R]equiring trial judges to give

juries instructions about the shipowner’s right to rely upon an

expert contractor who, in fact, was not there . . . is schizophrenic

and the predictable effect upon the jury one of bafflement.”).

Since dual capacity employers that utilize vessels to perform

their maritime construction activities may never engage in a one-

time turnover of any discrete area of the vessel (as would the

single capacity vessel owner in the more traditional stevedoring

context), a rational factfinder reasonably could conclude that

the area within which the hazardous condition developed had

been jointly or interchangeably used by the dual capacity

employer’s vessel division and its construction division

49a

Appendix A

employees to such an extent that the dual capacity employer

had never surrendered “active control” of the injury site to its

construction “division.” Thus, were there to be a remand in this

case, the record might enable a reasonable finding that agents

of A-K’s “construction division” exclusively and continuously

controlled the barge from the time the hazardous condition first

developed until a few days later when Morehead fell into the

open hatch.

Once a dual capacity employer satisfies the two

aforementioned components in its burden of proof, tort liability

could not be imposed absent showings by the plaintiff-employee

that the employer had acquired (i) actual knowledge of the

developing hazard in an area no longer within the employer’s

“active control” and (ii) notice that the failure of its construction

division to remedy the hazard was “obviously improvident.”

Scindia, 451 U.S. at 174-75. Thus, the dual capacity employer

would remain responsible for monitoring all areas of the vessel

for developing hazards, even though it is allowed to rely upon

its construction division, in the first instance, to remedy hazards

within areas under the “active control” of its construction

division.

Actual knowledge of a developing hazard normally would

be imputed to a corporate dual capacity employer if its agents

or employees acquired actual knowledge of the developing

hazard. Under the “obviously improvident” standard, liability

also could be imputed to the dual capacity employer based on

extrinsic evidence as to the obviousness of the developing hazard

and the length of time it remained unremedied.

Although the “obviously improvident” standard imported

from Scindia entails a lesser duty of care than the “reasonable

care” required for actionable negligence, it nonetheless serves—

50a

Appendix A

to diminish the grave risk that virtually any perfunctory

designation of employees as “vessel-owner” workers may allow

a dual capacity employer to shield itself from all tort liability.

Thus, on remand the record in the present case might enable a

finding that the decision not to close the open hatch for a few

days was not “obviously improvident” even assuming

responsibility for the decision were to be imputed to A-K. Cf.

Scindia, 451 U.S. at 175, 178-79 (noting genuine factual dispute

whether vessel owner was liable because it knew that stevedore’s

decision not to fix defective winch for two days had been

obviously improvident, and remanding for further factual

findings). In both cases before the en banc court, however, the

district court decisions were made in reliance on the Castorina

standard for defining the duties of care incumbent upon dual

capacity employers. Since the ultimate findings — as to whether

breaches of the applicable duty of care occurred — necessarily

were dependent upon how those duties were defined, I would

remand the A-K case for further proceedings and/or specific

factual findings on the defendant employer’s affirmative defense

of bifurcation.

Sla

APPENDIX B — OPINION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS, FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

DATED FEBRUARY 6, 1996 IN MOREHEAD

V. ATKINSON-KIEWIT, J/V, ET AL.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 94-1581

MARK MOREHEAD,

Plaintiff, Appellant,

v.

ATKINSON-KIEWIT, J/V, ET AL.,

Defendants, Appellees.

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

(Hon. Bailey Aldrich,” Senior Circuit Judge]

Before

Boudin, Circuit Judge,

Campbell, Senior Circuit Judge,

and Stahl, Circuit Judge.

* Of the First Circuit, sitting by designation.

52a

Appendix B

Thomas M. Bond, with whom David B. Kaplan and The Kaplan/

Bond Group were on brief for appellant.

Kathleen B. Carr, with whom Thomas E. Clinton, Robert E.

Collins and Clinton & Muzvka, P.C. were on brief for appellees.

February 6, 1996

CAMPBELL, Senior Circuit Judge. Plaintiff Mark

Morehead, a harbor worker injured while working on a

construction barge, appeals from a judgment dismissing his

negligence action against Atkinson-Kiewit, J/V (“A-K”), a firm

that was both his employer and charterer of the barge. Morehead

brought this action under section 905(b) of the Longshore and

Harbor Workers’ Compensation Act (LHWCA), 33 U.S.C. § 901

et seq., authorizing covered employees to sue a vessel as a third

party for injury caused by the negligence of the vessel. In its

capacity as Morehead’s employer, A-K is immune from tort

actions brought by covered employees like Morehead. But as

the bare boat charterer of the barge on which Morehead was

injured, A-K is deemed also to be the statutory vessel owner;

and it was in this capacity that A-K was sued.

The case raises difficult questions of first impression in this

circuit as to the liability of a so-called dual capacity employer

under the LHWCA. In particular, we must decide how to assess

whether A-K’s alleged negligence occurred in its vessel capacity

(allowing suit to be brought under section 905(b)) or in its

employer capacity (immunizing it from suit). While the Supreme

Court has endorsed the bringing of section 905(b) negligence

actions against a dual capacity defendant in its vessel owner

capacity, the Court has yet to define, in such a case, the point at

which employer responsibility ends and vessel responsibility

53a

Appendix B

begins. Nor has the Court decided to what extent principles laid

down in stevedore cases involving a separately owned vessel

apply to claims by non-stevedore harbor workers.

I. Background

Mark Morehead was employed by A-K, a joint venture

formed between Guy Atkinson Co. and Kiewit Eastern to

complete the construction of the Jamestown Bridge spanning

Narragansett Bay in Rhode Island. In order to transport materials

and equipment around the bay to the work sites, A-K bare boat

chartered several barges. The barges involved in this case, the

CHER 106 and the HUGHES 707, were flat deck barges —

floating platforms bare of structures or equipment. A-K also

leased two tugs from Woods Hole Towing Co. to transport the

barges where needed. The tugs themselves were crewed by

Woods Hole employees.'

A-K hired carpenters from a local union to build the bridge.

Their responsibilities included cutting timbers and steel and

setting up concrete forms for pours. As union requirements

prevented the tug captain or crew from handling the lines on the

barges, some carpenters also tended the lines on the barges as

“scowmen.” Morehead’s regular duties included both carpentry

and linehandling.

On January 29, 1990, Morehead and another carpenter/

scowman, Steven Breault, were untying the HUGHES 707 from

the CHER 106. A barge was to be surveyed in connection with

1. Although Woods Hole was originally named as a defendant in this

action, the district court granted its motion for summary judgment against

Morehead, who has not appealed from that decision. Consequently, Woods

Hole is no longer a party.

54a

Appendix B

her going off hire. A tug stood nearby. The barges were not at

this time carrying materials or equipment, but rather were set

off on the north side of the Davisville Pier. Breault threw a heavy

line to Morehead, who, in attempting to catch it, stepped

backwards into an open hatch which was flush with the deck on

one of the barges. The district court noted conflicting testimony

as to which barge Morehead was on when injured,” but concluded

that in any event, the single open hatch was insufficiently

obvious. Breault testified that he had opened the hatch on the

HUGHES (which he named as the barge to be surveyed) a few

days before the accident, because A-K was preparing for an off-

_ hire survey before returning the barge to the owner. Breault

testified that a supervisor carpenter had told him to open the

hatch.

Morehead filed a complaint against A-K and Woods Hole

on April 22, 1991, alleging Jones Act negligence,

unseaworthiness, maintenance, and cure, and negligence under

section 905(b) of the LHWCA. Following the denial of A-K’s

motion for summary judgment, Morehead voluntarily withdrew

all claims except his claim for negligence under the LHWCA.

A bench trial commenced on April 11, 1994. On April 29, 1994,

the district court issued its Findings and Order dismissing

Morehead’s complaint and A-K’s cross-claim against Woods

Hole. It wrote:

2. The district court did not definitively find which barge Morehead

was on at the time of the accident. The court found “more likely” that

Morehead was on the HUGHES 707 and Breault was on the CHER 106, but

wrote: “In either event, however, the court would find a single open hatch . . .

insufficiently obvious. There would seem a presumption that an unmarked

18 inch opening on an otherwise solid deck is a failure of a reasonably safe

proffer to one expected to walk thereon. The court would therefore find the

barge, whichever one it was, unseaworthy, but under the statute (33 U.S.C.

§ 905(b)) this is irrelevant.”

55a

Appendix B

[T]he court does not find it negligence of

[appellee] viewed in its capacity as pro hac

vice owner. Rather, it appears to be a

temporary condition created by it solely in

its capacity as charterer.... These two

Capacities are legally separate, even though

they be the same individual.

This passage confusingly distinguishes between an owner pro

hac vice and a bare boat charterer (the statute includes both in

its definition of “vessel,” see 33 U.S.C. § 902(21)). The parties

agree that the district court actually meant to distinguish between

the appellee as vessel and as employer. We also interpret the

district court’s order in that fashion.

Judgment was entered on May 4, 1994 in A-K’s favor. This

appeal followed.

II. Standard of Review

A district court’s fact-based findings relative to negligence

are reviewable only for clear error. See, e.g., Levene v. Pintail

Enters., 943 F.2d’528, 535-36 (Sth Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 504

U.S. 940 (1992). However, the question of whether the district

court applied the proper standard of care is one of law, subject

to de novo appellate review. See, e.g., Keller v. United States,

38 F.3d 16, 22-23 (1st Cir. 1994); Elberg v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

967 F.2d 1146, 1149 (7th Cir. 1992).

The lower court did not explain the criteria it applied in

deciding what duties of care to attribute, respectively, to A-K in

its separate capacities as LHWCA employer and as owner

(charterer) of the barge. Rather, it simply cited along with its

56a

Appendix B

conclusions existing precedent relative to section 905(b) liability,

e.g., Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S.

156 (1981), and Castorina v. Lykes Bros. S.S., 758 F.2d 1025

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 846 (1985). The factual

circumstances of these and related cases, however, are too

removed from those here to reveal the precise standards and

analysis that were applied in this case. Nor does the language of

the LHWCA provide clear guidance. We can only hope that the

Supreme Court will eventually elucidate the standards applicable

to dual status employers of harbor workers in circumstances

comparable to these. Until then, we do our best to outline the

legal principles that we believe, govern the facts presented here.

Under those principles — and giving due deference to the district

court’s authority as fact finder — we affirm the judgment below.

III. “Vessel” Status

We dispose first of a less troublesome issue. The district

court provisionally assumed that the barge on which Morehead

was injured was a “vessel” within the LHWCA, although it found

no need to decide the matter. Section 905(b) permits an LHWCA

employee to sue in negligence only “[i]n the event of injury...

caused by the negligence of a vessel.” Section 902(21) of the

LHWCA defines “vessel” to include a bare boat charterer among

the parties that may be held liable under section 905(b). A-K

has not contested its status as bare boat charterer. Nor has it

asserted on appeal any reason to conclude that the HUGHES

and CHER were not among the structures included as “vessels”

under the LHWCA. See, e.g., Kathriner v. Unisea, Inc., 975 F.2d

657, 662 (9th Cir. 1992) (to determine whether a structure is a

“vessel” under the LHWCA, most courts have applied the

general definition in 1 U.S.C. § 3 of a “watercraft or other

artificial contrivance used, or capable of being used, as a means

57a

Appendix B-

of transportation on water”); accord DiGiovanni v. Traylor Bros.,

830 F. Supp. 106, 108-109 (D.R.I. 1993). The LHWCA definition

of “vessel’’ is more inclusive than that used for evaluating

seaman status under the Jones Act.’ For present purposes, we

shall assume without deciding that both barges were vessels

under the LHWCA, for the negligence of which a section 905(b)

claim may be brought.

IV. Statutory Framework

The LHWCA establishes a comprehensive federal worker’s

compensation scheme which holds employers liable, irrespective

of fault, for securing the payment of compensation to qualified

maritime employees injured in the course of their employment.

33 U.S.C. § 904.* This liability of employers is termed

“exclusive.” Id. § 905(a).

3. See Generally Chandris, Inc. v. Latsis, 115 S. Ct. 2172, 2192 (1995)

(to qualify as a seaman under the Jones Act, “a maritime employee must

have a substantial employment-related connection to a vessel in navigation”);

Kathriner, 975 F.2d at 659-663 (applying tests of “vessel” under Jones Act

and LHWCA). Plaintiff withdrew his maritime claims, including the claim

of Jones Act negligence.

4. Section 904 provides in relevant part: “(a) Every employer shall be

liable for and shall secure the payment to his employees of the compensation

payable under sections 907, 908, and 909 of this title... . (b) Compensation

shall be payable irrespective of fault as a cause for the injury.” 33 U.S.C.

§ 904.

A statutorily covered employee is “any person engaged in maritime

employment, including any longshoreman or other person engaged in

longshoring operations, and any harbor-worker including a ship repairman,

sh »builder, and ship-breaker,” except “a master or member of a crew of any

vessel” and other limited categories of workers. Id. § 902(3).

58a

Appendix B

Section 905(b) of the Act authorizes certain covered

employees to sue the vessel as a third party if their employment

injury was caused by the negligence of the vessel.* But

5. Section 905(b) provides:

In the event of injury to a person covered under this

chapter caused by the negligence of a vessel, then such

person, or anyone otherwise entitled to recover

damages by reason thereof, may bring an action against

such vessel as a third party in accordance with the

provisions oi section 933 of this title, and the employer

shall not be liable to the vessel for such damages

directly or indirectly and any agreements or warranties

to the contrary shall be void. If such person was

employed by the vessel to provide stevedoring

services, no such action shall be permitted if the injury

was caused by the negligence of persons engaged in

providing stevedoring services to the vessel. If such

person was employed to provide shipbuilding,

repairing, or breaking services and such person’s

employer was the owner, owner pro hac vice, agent,

operator, or charterer of the vessel, no such action shall

be permitted, in whole or in part or directly or

indirectly, against the injured person’s employer (in

any capacity, including as the vessel’s owner, owner

pro hac vice, agent, operator, or charterer) or against

the employees of the employer. The liability of the

vessel under this subsection shall not be based upon

the warranty of seaworthiness or a breach thereof at

the time the injury occurred. The remedy provided in

this subsection shall be exclusive of all other remedies

against the vessel except remedies available under this

- chapter.

33 U.S.C. § 905(b).

59a

Appendix B

employees may no longer sue the vessel on a strict liability

theory for her “unseaworthiness,”’® Congress having eliminated

the latter as a remedy for longshore and harbor workers in the

1972 Amendments to the LHWCA. The 1972 Amendments

require employees to show fault of the vessel, bar a vessel’s

attempt to obtain indemnification from the employer, and

otherwise have increased the worker’s compensation recoverable

from an employer. See Addison v. Bulk Food Carriers, Inc., 489

F.2d 1041, 1042 (1st Cir. 1974). Focusing on longshore workers

who, to date, have been the occupational group chiefly discussed

in Supreme Court cases under the LHWCA, the Court described

these changes as designed “to shift more of the responsibility

for compensating injured longshoremen to the party best able

to prevent injuries: the stevedore-employer.” Howlett v. Birkdale

Shipping Co., 114 S. Ct. 2057, 2063 (1994); see also Keller, 38

F.3d at 23.

In 1984 Amendments to the LHWCA, Congress further

narrowed the availability of negligence actions by certain

categories of harbor workers against a vessel in circumstances

where the employer was also the owner of the offending vessel.

In these so-called “dual capacity” cases, Congress barred

employees providing “shipbuilding, repairing, or breaking

services” from suing the employer-vessel owner for negligence

in any capacity. 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). The Amendments did not

purport to prohibit LHWCA employees other than in the

described categories from suing for negligence in dual capacity

6. See 33 U.S.C. § 905(b). Unseaworthiness is a maritime remedy that

was established “simply by showing that some condition or appurtenance on

board the vesse! at the time of the accident was unreasonably hazardous,

even if the stevedore-employer was the sole cause of the hazard.” Keller, 38

F.3d at 23 (citing Seas Shipping Co. v. Sieracki, 328 U.S. 85, 94 (1946)).

~ SID

60a

Appendix B

cases. See H.R. Rep. No. 98-570(I), 98th Cong., 2d Sess

reprinted in 1984 U.S.C.C.A.N. 2734, 2741 (hereafter 1984

U.S.C.C.A.N.) (“The Committee intends that this language [in

§ 905(b)] not be construed to limit an employees right to bring a

cause of action, except in the circumstances indicated within

the language.”); cf. Guilles v. Sea-Land Serv., Inc., 12 F.3d 381,

386 (2d Cir. 1993) (affirming relief cook’s judgment against

negligent employer-vessel owner and explaining that “[t]he 1984

change .. . shows that Congress knew how to preclude a class

of employees from being able to sue an employer-vessel if it

chose to do so”); Gay v. Barge 226, 915 F.2d 1007, 1010 (Sth

Cir. 1990) (“[T]he § 905(b) bar is specific to the occupations

listed: shipbuilders, ship repairers and ship breakers.”).

The Supreme Court had previously interpreted section

905(b) to permit covered employees to bring third-party

negligence actions against their employer qua vessel owner. See

Jones & Laughlin Steel Corp. v. Pfeifer, 462 U.S. 523, 530-32

(1983) (explaining that if Congress had intended to exempt

employer-vessel owners from negligence suits, then the sentence

in section 905(b) barring recovery from them where fellow

longshore workers caused the injury would have been

unnecessary). As Morehead’s occupational category does not

fall within any of those Congress expressly excepted in the 1984

Amendments, supra, Jones & Laughlin would appear to allow

Morehead to bring a third-party negligence action against A-K

in its vessel capacity.’ To prevail, Morehead has to show that

7. The parties have not disputed on appeal that Morehead is a statutorily

covered employee of a statutorily covered employer. As a harbor worker with

carpentry and linehandling duties, Morehead meets the statutory definition

of a covered employee under section 902(3) and does not fall within any of

the categories of workers expressly prohibited from suing under section

905(b).

6la

Appendix B

any negligence on A-K’s part is attributable to it as vessel rather

than as Morehead’s insured LHWCA employer.

V. Defining the Vessel’s Duty of Care: The Supreme Court

Cases

As Jones & Laughiin allows Morehead to bring a third-

party action against the vessel owner that is simultaneously his

employer, we are left to ascertain the contours of the duty of

care owed to Morehead by A-K in its distinct Capacity as vessel.

Such a definition is needed in order to decide whether the alleged

negligence — the open hatch and failure to warn — is

attributable to A-K qua vessel owner rather than qua employer.

Congress left to the courts the task of defining the applicable

duty of care. See Howlett, 114 S. Ct. at 2063 (“Because Congress

did not ‘specify the acts or omissions of the vessel that would

constitute negligence,’ the contours of a vessel's duty to

longshore workers are ‘left to be resolved through the

“application of accepted principles of tort law and the ordinary

process of litigation.” ’ ”) (citing Scindia, 451 U.S. at 165-66).

In Scindia Steam Navigation Co. v. De los Santos, 451 U.S.

156 (1981), the Supreme Court considered the duty of care that

a vessel owner owed to an injured longshore worker who was

employed by an independent stevedoring firm. For this common

triangular relationship at least — vessel, stevedore, and

longshore worker* — the Court held that limiting the vessel’s

8. In Howlett, the Court suggested that this relationship was the typical

one in the longshoring business. See Howlett, 114 S. Ct. at 2062 (“The injured

longshoreman’s employer — in most instances, an independent stevedore,

see Edmonds v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 443 U.S. 256 (1979)

— must pay the statutory benefits regardless of fault, but is shielded from

any further liability to the longshoreman.”) (citations omitted).

62a

Appendix B

duty of care so as to put the chief responsibility upon the

independent steve

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Morehead v. Atkinson-Kiewit, J. V. · 520 U.S. 1117 | Frix