Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Burlington Air Express, Inc. v. Georgia Pacific Corp.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

FILED

95° 540 OCT 2 - 1995

OFFICE Ur int CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

o

October Term, 1995

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

GEORGIA PACIFIC CORPORATION and BTL SPECIALTY

RESINS CORPORATION,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court

of the State of Georgia

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

FRED S. CLARK

Counsel of Record

CLARK AND CLARK

Attorneys for Petitioners

P.O. Box 8151

Savannah, Georgia 31412

(912) 233-0300

(800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21

STiicebens Do intslis lel

eS RRR

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

In the instant case, Georgia courts allowed attorneys fees in

an air cargo case which they held was authorized by the Interstate

Commerce Act, although the Airline Deregulation Act placed air

cargo carriers outside the jurisdiction of any regulatory

commission or agency. The questions presented by the rulings of

the Georgia appellate courts in this case are:

(a) Areaircargocarriers controlled by the provisions of the

Interstate Commerce Act as stated in the rulings in this

case?

(b) Are air cargo carriers subject to the provisions of the

Airline Deregulation Act?

(c) Are air cargo carriers controlled by Federal Common

law without the application of any specific act?

(d) Where no law or interpretation of law presently allows

attorneys fees in air cargo claims (other than the rulings

being appealed in this case), may attorneys fees be

properly awarded in an air cargo claim case?

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

All parties to this proceeding and all parent companies and

nonwholly owned subsidiaries are included in the caption of this

case.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented forReview ..............ce000. i

POSUOS 00 ENS PYOCOCTINGS 2... cece ccccccccccccccces ii

TT ccncdechebbeedteccursasbevsect dee iii

ee ae asses 6446 b eek ones so iii

ees ei pacsee seb eevesbees 2

Statement Of Jurisidiction .......cccccccccccccccces 3

cc cccn sete tecacesbsnecvesicevess 3

ER er 7

Reasons for Granting the Writ .................0000 9

The Georgia courts have allowed shippers of air

Cargo to recover attorneys fees with the erroneous

application of the Interstate Commerce Act to air

siinedee scent te séceeeecseeesss 9

Cot ha Chews dGuewsedsehceecceccsedes 10

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Arkwright-Boston v. Great Western Airlines, 767 F.2d 425

SE SES ber aa 8,9

iv

Contents

Page

Burlington Air v. Georgia Pacific, 211 Ga. App. 113, 438

FS Pe en Ee aren eee ey an 8

First Pennsylvania Bank, N.A. v. Eastern Airlines, 731

Tue SER PGMNNEME BOD cc cccccccocecccanecesous 8

Statutes Cited:

I EE 06d bo 4 oh bbe ede weaved de kcaecs 3

rena I. ok on caensesh onsenecd cebncwes 6

EERO x one nos diunecasaxceacernens 4

PE PED. in ok 46 és es casedcakencaedacass 6

a ELE 6.0040 0 ckbasycchesbacectocsas 7

TE 00 os hAD hehe ds cada ee cad ed week 4

acc kccdkvicannanccnase dk uddiek cus 4

Pan 555 0 00400 es obsecdkeeKbaeanween 9

ee EO obo n dckdaaenennd bene ere cess 7

A I 66-00 5b 'h5 405 5400 40ba0seceeesas +

a TE 5 65545 0000 cede nous bavdcansene 4

SPU BA GIGI IE oink cccceccvccccscccansec 3

Vv

Contents

Page

Rules Cited:

Supreme Court Rule 10.1(b) ....................... 3

Supreme Court Rule 10.1(c)........................ 3

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia

Dated September 1, 1995 ........................ la

Appendix B — Order of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

SPIE I, SOND 6 boos des dece ce. 2a

Appendix C — Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia

tile eiseten, hh, PUP oon an a a 3a

Appendix D — Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia

ST Oy IE ken cdncoicaecc ics, 4a

Appendix E — Order of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

SME ITT OY BOO oo os nk bo ohh ss cov daecevcns, Sa

Appendix F — Order of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

RT IE vg. vowicas oooh cnet 6a

Appendix G — Order of the Superior Court of Fulton

County, State of Georgia Filed May 12, 1994

Se eT eT ST ee EL eS Ce CN ey ae 10a

Appendix H — Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia

Dated February 18,1994 ........................ l4a

a

vi

Contents

Page

Appendix I — Order of the Supreme Court of Georgia

Dated January 28, 1994 ......... cece cece ee eneee 1Sa

Appendix J — Order of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

Dated November 23, 1993 ........0-ceeeeeeeeeees 16a

Appendix K — Order of the Court of Appeals of Georgia

Dated September 27, 1993 .........22 ee eee eeeeeee 17a

Appendix L — Order of the Superior Court of Fulton

County, State of Georgia Dated November 10,1992 .. 22a

]

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

4-

October Term, 1995

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

GEORGIA PACIFIC CORPORATION and BTL SPECIALTY

RESINS CORPORATION,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the Supreme Court

of the State of Georgia

PETITION FORA WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Burlington Air Express, Inc. respectfully petitions for a writ

of certiorari to review the judgment of the of the Court of Appeals

of the State of Georgia.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

1. Superior Court of Fulton County Order granting Final

Partial Summary Judgment to Plaintiffs and Denying

Defendant’s Cross Motion for Partial Summary Judgment dated

November 10, 1992. This is unreported.

2. Court of Appeals of Georgia decision on Motion for

Reconsideration dated September 27, 1993. Judgment affirmed

in part, reversed in part. Reported at 211 Ga. App. 113, 438 S.E.

2d 97.

3. Court of Appeals of Georgia denying Motion for

Reconsideration dated November 23, 1993. Unreported.

4. Supreme Court of the State of Georgia denied Petition for

Certiorari dated January 28, 1994. Unreported.

5. Supreme Court of Georgia, denial of Motion for

Reconsideration dated February 18, 1994. Unreported.

6. Superior Court of Fulton County — Final Judgment dated

May 12, 1994. Unreported.

7. Court of Appeals of Georgia — Decision dated April 5,

1995, reported in 217 Ga. App. 312, 457 S.E. 24219.

8. Court of Appeals of Georgia — Motion for

Reconsideration denied April 24, 1995. Unreported.

9. Supreme Court of Georgia — Petition for Certiorari

denied July 14, 1995. Unreported.

10. Supreme Court of Georgia Motion for Reconsideration

denied July 28, 1995. Unreported.

3

11. Court of Appeals of Georgia — Motion for Supersedeas

denied August 24, 1995. Unreported.

12. Supreme Court of Georgia — Motion for Supersedeas

denied September 1, 1995. Unreported.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia entered its

judgment on April 5, 1995. The Court of Appeals denied

reconsideration on April 24, 1995. The Supreme Court of Georgia

denied certiorari on July 14, 1995. The Supreme Court denied

reconsideration on July 28, 1995. The Court of Appeals denied

supersedeas on August 24, 1995. The Supreme Court denied

supersedeas on September 1, 1995. The jurisdiction of this Court

is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a) and Supreme Court Rules

10.1(b) and (c).

STATUTES INVOLVED

49 U.S.C.A. § 105260(a) 8B:

(T)he Interstate Commerce Commission

does not have jurisdiction under this Chapter

Transportation of Property (including

baggage) by motor vehicle as a part of a

continuous movement which, prior or

subsequent to such part of the continuous

movement, has been or will be transported by

an air Carrier...

4

Airline DeRegulation Act of October 24, 1978, 92 Stat. § 1705

repealed the Federal Aviation Act of 1958, 49 U.S.C. §§ 1301,

et seq., 49 U.S.C. §§ 1371, 1376.

49 U.S.C.A. § 41501:

... [E]very carrier and foreign air carrier

shall establish, comply with and enforce

1. Reasonable prices, classifications, rules

and practices related for foreign air

transportation; and

2. For joint prices established for foreign air |

transportation reasonable divisions of those |

prices among the participating air carriers for ;

foreign air carriers withcut unreasonably .

discriminating against any other carriers.

-—

49 U.S.C. § 40101:

—_ >.

... [I]n carrying out Sub-part II of this part

and those provisions of Sub-part IV :

applicable in carrying our Sub-part II, the

Secretary of Transportation shall consider the

following matters among others as being in

the public interest and consistent with public

convenience and necessity:

* * * ;

(6) placing maximum reliance on

competitive market forces and on

actual and potential competition — (a)

to provide for the need Air

5

Transportation System; and (b) to

encourage efficient and well-managed

air carriers to earn adequate profits

and attract capital considering any

material differences between

interstate air transportation and

foreign air transportation.

© * ”

4. The availability of a variety of

adequate, economic, efficient and

low priced services without

unreasonable discrimination or

unfair or deceptive practices.

9. Preventing unfair deceptive,

predatorial, anti-competitive

prices in air transportation.

12. Encouraging, developing

and maintaining an _ air

transportation system relying on

actual and potential competition

a. To provide efficient

innovation and low prices;

b. To decide ona variety

and quality of and determine

prices for air transportation

services.

6

Public Laws 95th Congress, Second Session 1978, 92 Stat.

§§ 3(a) & 102(a) of The Federal Aviation Act of 1958, (49

U.S.C. § 1302) (a)) as amended to read as follows:

Factors for interstate and overseas air

transportation.

Section 102(a) in the exercise and

performance of its powers and duties under

this act with respect to interstate and overseas

air transportation, the Board shall consider

the following, among other things, as being in

the public interest, and in accordance with the

public convenience and necessity...

* * *

(3) The availability of a variety of

adequate, economic, efficient, and low price

services by air carriers without unjust

discrimination, undue preferences or

advantages or unfair or deceptive

practices ...

Public Laws 95th Congress, Second Session 1978, 92 Stat.

§ 1707, “Federal Preemption”

Section 4(a) Title I — Under the Federal

Aviation Act of 1958 (49 U.S.C. § 301, et

seq.) as amended by adding at the end thereof

the following new section:

Federal Preemption

Preemption

49 U.S.C. § 1305(a)(1):

... [E)xcept as provided in paragraph 2 of

this sub-section, no state of political

subdivision thereof and no interstate agency

or other political agency of two or more states

shall enact or enforce any law, rule,

regulation, standard or other provision

having the force and effects of law relating to

rates, routes or services of any air carrier

having authority under Title IV of this act to

provide interstate air transportation.

49 U.S.C. § 10762(a)(1):

... [A] carrier providing transportation for

service subject to the jurisdiction of the

Interstate Commerce Commission under

Chapter 105 of this title shall publish and file

with the Commission tariffs containing the

rates and (A) if a common carrier,

classifications, rules and practices related to

those rates, and (B) if a contract carrier, rules

and practices related to those rates

established under this Chapter for

transportation or service it may provide under

this sub-title.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case was initiated as a claim for lost cargo. On

November 10, 1992, the Honorable Judge of the Superior Court

of Fulton County, Georgia granted partial summary judgment to

the Respondents on the cargo loss claim and allowed proof of

attorneys fees and punitive damages before a jury.

8

On appeal, the Court of Appeals of Georgia reversed the

ruling and granted the Petitioner’s Motion for Summary

Judgment on the claim for punitive damages, but allowed the

Respondents the damages for the lost cargo and allowed the

Respondents to present to the jury the question for attorneys fees.

Certiorari was applied for to the Georgia Supreme Court which

was denied [January 28, 1994] as was the Motion for

Reconsideration. [February 18, 1994]

After atrial, the Superior Court awarded attorneys fees. The

award was affirmed on appeal to the Georgia Court of Appeals

with rehearing denied [April 24, 1995] and the Petition for

Certiorari to the Georgia Supreme Court and Motion for

Rehearing denied [July 14, 1995] [July 28, 1995}.

In its ruling, the Georgia Court of Appeals stated, “although

DeRegulation took Air Cargo Carriers outside the jurisdiction of

any regulatory commission or agency, the body of laws and

principles expressed in the Act continues to be applicable to air

carriers as Federal Common Law.” See also, First Pennsylvania

Bank, N.A. v. Eastern Airlines, 731 F.2d 1113 (3rd Cir. 1984);

Burlington Air v. Georgia Pacific, 211 Ga. App. 113, 438 S.E. 2d

97.

The Petitioner herein brought to the Court’s attention the

case of Arkwright-Boston v. Great Western Airlines, 767 F.2d 425

(8th Cir. 1985). This case held that the Interstate Commerce Act

has never applied to air carriers.

9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE GEORGIA COURTS HAVE ALLOWED

SHIPPERS OF AIR CARGO TO RECOVER

ATTORNEYS FEES WITH THE ERRONEOUS

APPLICATION OF THE INTERSTATE COMMERCE

ACT TOAIR CARGO CASES.

By applying the Interstate Commerce Act, the Georgia

courts essentially rendered the Airline Deregulation Act void in

Georgia courts. Moreover, this interpretation gives a preference

to shippers in Georgia by allowing attorneys fees which are not

available to shippers in other states. This is contrary to all of the

Airline Deregulation Act provisions and purposes. In addition, it

is contrary to the ruling of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Eighth Circuit in the case of Arkwright-Boston v. Great

Western Airlines, 767 F.2d 425 (8th Cir. 1985) which holds that

the Interstate Commerce Act has never applied to air cargo

claims. No law or interpretation of law presently allows attorneys

fees in air cargo claims.

The case is important to all air cargo carriers who operate in

the State of Georgia who are subjected to claims for attorneys

fees for lost or damaged cargo which is not allowed in any other

state or foreign country.

By applying the Interstate Commerce Act in air cargo cases,

the Georgia courts have also given shippers an argument in favor

of requiring air cargo carriers to publish their rates in tariffs filed

with the Interstate Commerce Commission as required by that

Act. 49 U.S.C. § 10762. This is contrary to the Airline

Deregulation Act provision which only required the air cargo

carrier to provide for the availability of a variety of “adequate

economic and low price services by air carriers without unjust

discrimination, undue preferences or advantages or unfair

deceptive practices.” 92 Stat. § 3(a)(3).

10

It is important to nullify the dichotomy created by this

erroneous application of the Interstate Commerce Act created by

the Georgia appellate courts.

CONCLUSION

The petition for writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted.

FRED S. CLARK

Counsel of Record

CLARK AND CLARK

Attorneys for Petitioners

P.O. Box 8151

Savannah, Georgia 31412

(912) 233-0300

la

APPENDIX A— ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

GEORGIA DATED SEPTEMBER 1, 1995

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

Case No. $95C1278

Atlanta September 1, 1995

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to adjournment.

The following order was passed.

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS v. GEORGIA PACIFIC CORP.

Upon consideration of appellant’s Motion for Supersedeas,

it is ordered that the motion is denied, as it is without merit, and as

this Court is without jurisdiction over this matter, the remittitur

having been transferred to the Court of Appeals.

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA,

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I certify that the above is a true extract from the

minutes of the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

s/ Lynn M. Stinchcomb, Chief Deputy Clerk

2a

APPENDIX B — ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF GEORGIA DATED AUGUST 24, 1995

Court of Appeals

of the State of Georgia

ATLANTA, AUG 24 1995

The Honorable Court of Appeals met pursuant to adjournment.

The following order was passed:

A95A0462. BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. v.

GEORGIA PACIFIC CORP. et al.

Upon consideration of appellant’s motion for supersedeas,

the motion is hereby DENIED.

Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta AUG 24 1995

I certify that the above is a true extract from

the minutes of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above

written.

Clerk.

s/ William C. Martin

3a

APPENDIX C — ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF GEORGIA DATED JULY 28, 1995

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

Case No. S95C1278 Atlanta, July 28, 1995

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to adjournment.

The following order was passed:

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA PACIFIC

CORP., ET

Upon consideration of the Motion for Reconsideration filed

in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby denied.

All the Justices concur, except Hines, J., not participating.

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I hereby certify that the above is a true extract from

the minutes of the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

s/ Sherie M. Welch, Clerk.

4a

APPENDIX D — ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF GEORGIA DATED JULY 14, 1995

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

CLERK’S OFFICE

ATLANTA

DATE: July 14, 1995

Fred S. Clark

CLARK & CLARK

P.O. Box 8151

Savannah GA31412

Case No. $95C 1278

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA PACIFIC

CORP., ETAL.

COURT OF APPEALS CASE NO. A95A0462

The Supreme Court today denied the petition for certiorari in

this case.

Benham, C.J., Fletcher, P.J., Sears, Hunstein, Carley and

Thompson, JJ., concur.

Sincerely,

Sherie M. Welch, Clerk

Sa

APPENDIX E — ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF GEORGIA DATED APRIL 24, 1995

Court of Appeals

of the State of Georgia

ATLANTA, APRIL 24, 1995

The Honorable Court of Appeals met pursuant to adjournment.

The Following order was passed.

Case No. A95A0462

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA PACIFIC

CORPORATION ET AL

Upon consideration of the motion for reconsideration filed

in this case, it is ordered that It be hereby denied.

Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta APR 241995

I certify that the above is a true extract from the

minutes of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

s/ William C. Martin Clerk.

6a

APPENDIX F — ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF GEORGIA DATED APRIL 5, 1995

SECOND DIVISION

BIRDSONG, P. J.,

JOHNSON and SMITH, JJ.

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION

MUST BE RECEIVED IN OUR CLERK’S

OFFICE WITHIN TEN DAYS OF THE DATE OF

DECISION to be deemed timely filed. (Court of

Appeals Rules 4 and 37, January 1, 1995)

April 5, 1995

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

A95A0462. BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. ev.

GEORGIA-PACIFIC CORPORATION, etal.

SM-031

SMITH, Judge.

This is the second appearance of this case before us. In

Burlington Air Express v. Georgia-Pacific Corp., 211 Ga. App.

113 (438 SE2d 97) (1993) (Burlington I), this court affirmed a

grant of partial summary judgment to Georgia-Pacific for

compensatory damages for breach of contract, including pre-

judgment interest. The issue of Burlington’s liability for attorney

fees was reserved for determination at trial. Burlington now seeks

review of the court’s final judgment, entered following a bench

trial, awarding to Georgia-Pacific its litigation expenses and

attorneys’ fees in the amount of $25,295.35.

7a

Appendix F

Burlington contends the trial court erred by denying its

motion for directed verdict on the claim for attorney fees under

OCGA § 13-6-11 and awarding attorney fees to Georgia-Pacific.

Burlington argues its refusal to pay in excess of $500 for Georgia-

Pacific’s claims was founded on a bona fide defense, it further

maintains that the attorney fees award should be vacated because

it was based on inadmissible evidence concerning settlement

negotiations between the parties.

“ ‘The issue of attorney fees under OCGA § 13-6-11 is a

question for the (factfinder) and an award will be upheld if any

evidence is presented to support the award. (Cit.)’ [Cit].”

Leventhal v. Seiter, 208 Ga. App. 158, 164 (7) (430 SE2d 378)

(1993). “OCGA § 13-6-11 provides for expenses of litigation

where the defendant has acted in bad faith, has been stubbornly

litigious, or has caused the plaintiff unnecessary trouble and

expense.” McDonald v. Winn, 194 Ga. App. 459, 459 (1) (390

SE2d 890) (1990). Bad faith warranting an award of attorney fees

“must have arisen out of the transaction on which the cause of

action is predicated.” Id. Moreover, we have noted that “there

may be bad faith in carrying out the provisions of the contract

sufficient to support the award.” Jordan Bridge Co. v. I. S. Bailey

Jr. Inc., 164 Ga. App. 124, 126 (5) (296 SE2d 107) (1982).

Finally, “[dJespite the existence of a bona fide controversy as to

liability, a [factfinder] may find that defendant ‘acted in the most

atrocious bad faith in his dealing with the plaintiff.’ [Cits.]”

Fidelity National Bank v. Kneller, 194 Ga. App. 55, 63 (3) (390

SE2d 55) (1989).

The underlying litigation in this case arises from

Burlington’s handling, as self-insurer, of claims by Georgia-

Pacific and BTL Specialty Resins for the declared value of five

lost shipments of scrap silver screen sent via Burlington Air

8a

Appendix F

Express to a refinery in Massachusetts to be refined and

ultimately reused in the manufacture of formaldehyde. Despite

having collected extra value charges for four of the five insured

shipments, Burlington refused to pay their declared value on the

basis of a tariff restriction in small print on the back of the airbills

that limits the carrier’s liability for shipments of “precious

metals” to $500. See Burlington I, supra, at 114-115 (2). Georgia-

Pacific and BTL were not made aware of the tariff restrictions

before shipment and were not provided a copy of the tariff itself

until well after Burlington had denied liability in excess of $500

on each claim. Id.

The small print on the back of the airbills also provided that

shipments of manufactured articles or components containing

precious metals with a functional rather than a decorative or

ornamental use would be accepted with a maximum declared

value of $25,000. The trial court found that Burlington exhibited

bad faith when it attempted to limit to $500 its liability for

Georgia-Pacific’s lost shipments of scrap silver screens as

“precious metals” without reference to the possible applicability

of this exception for nondecorative precious metals. The court

also found Buriington caused Georgia-Pacific unnecessary

trouble and expense in litigation, warranting the recovery of

attorney fees, by continuing to rely on the tariff’s limitation of

liability to less than the declared value of Georgia-Pacific’s

shipments in the face of clear legal authority in the Eleventh

Circuit prohibiting such limitations unless the shipper was made

specifically aware the tariff restrictions were incorporated in the

carrier contract.

Our review of the record reveals evidence supporting the

trial court’s finding that Burlington exhibited bad faith by

attempting to limit its liability for each of the five shipments to

no Te = os ues

9a

Appendix F

$500 under its tariff without disclosure of the tariff’s terms to the

shipper. Although Burlington maintains the correspondence

between it and Georgia-Pacific regarding the shipper’s attempt to

recover the declared value of its lost cargo concerned settlement

negotiations and was therefore inadmissible, the correspondence

evidences the carrier’s bad faith in carrying out the terms of the

carrier contract between the parties and is admissible for that

purpose. See Ostroff v. Coyner, 187 Ga. App. 109, 116 (5) (369

SE2d 298) (1988). Since the record contains some evidence of

bad faith, Burlington’s argument regarding the existence of a

bona fide controversy is irrelevant. Kneller, supra.

Judgment affirmed. Birdsong, P. J. and Johnson, J., concur.

10a

APPENDIX G — ORDER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT

OF FULTON COUNTY, STATE OF GEORGIA

FILED MAY 12, 1994

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVIL ACTION FILE

NO. D90701

GEORGIA-PACIFIC CORPORATION and BTL SPECIALTY

RESINS CORPORATION,

Plaintiffs,

v.

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC.,

Defendant.

FINAL JUDGMENT

This matter came before the Court for trial on May 3, 1994.

Most of the case had been resolved in Plaintiffs’ favor on

summary judgment, which Judgment against Defendant was

affirmed, in relevant part, on appeal. The only issue to be resolved

at trial was Plaintiffs’ claim for attorney’s fees and expenses

against Defendant pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 13-6-11.

The parties waived trial by jury, having the Court to sit as fact

finder. The Court considered all evidence presented by both

sides, and the parties waived findings of fact and conclusions of

law.

The Court rules in Plaintiffs’ favor, and against Defendant,

lla

Appendix G

finding that Defendant acted in bad faith toward Plaintiffs, under

the meaning set forth in O.C.G.A. § 6-13-11, in the carrying out of

the agreements entered into by the parties. Defendant's repeated

representations to Plaintiffs as to the terms of its tariff that

allegedly limited Defendant’s liability were inconsistent with the

actual language of the tariff, as Plaintiffs discovered when the

tariff was finally produced by Defendant. The Court also finds

that Defendant was stubbornly litigious, in that Defendant

accepted Plaintiffs’ shipments, charged Plaintiffs’ therefor,

including excess value charges to insure the shipments, and then

Defendant refused to pay the full insured values of the shipments,

without any just reason or defense, when Defendant lost the

shipments. This constitutes stubborn litigiousness and caused

Plaintiffs unnecessary trouble and expense within the meaning of

O.C.G.A. § 13-6-11. Thus, the Court finds that Plaintiffs are

entitled to a Judgment against Defendant for their attorney’s fees

and expenses incurred in this litigation pursuant to O.C.G.A.

§ 13-6-11.

The Court finds the amount of Plaintiffs’ attorney’s fees and

expenses to be reasonable, particularly in light of the strenuous

defenses set up by Defendant, many of which were wholly

unrelated to the tariff excuse given by Defendant prior to

litigation, and all of which the Court invalidated on summary

judgment, finding no bona fide dispute. Thus, the Court awards

Plaintiffs a Judgment against Defendant in the following

amounts:

$20,963.78 Attorney’s fees and expenses for Parker,

Johnson, Cook & Dunlevie before trial

2,000.00 Attorney’s fees for Michael Whitcombe’s trial

preparation and expense

12a

Appendix G

731.57 Airfare and hotel expense for Michael

Whitcombe

600.00 Attorney’s fees for Douglas Roberto’s trial

appearance

900.00 Attorney’s fees for Parker, Johnson, Cook &

Dunlevie for trial

100,00 Expenses for Parker, Johnson, Cook &

Dunlevie for trial

$25,295.35 TOTAL FINAL JUDGMENT

This Judgment is final and resolves this entire case. The

Judgment shall bear interest from the date of this Final Judgment

at the legal rate. Plaintiffs are also awarded costs of this action as

a part of this Judgment.

SO ORDERED, this 11th day of May, 1994.

s/ Thelma Wyatt Cummings-Moore

HON. THELMA WYATT CUMMINGS-MOORE

SUPERIOR COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

Presented by:

PARKER, JOHNSON, COOK & DUNLEVIE

By: _ s/ Everett W. Gee

Everett W. Gee III, Esq.

State Bar No. 288586

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

13a

Appendix G

Suite 700

1275 Peachtree Street N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

(404) 872-7000

Agreed to as to form:

CLARK & CLARK

By: FredS. Clark

Fred S. Clark, Esq.

State Bar No.

Attorneys for Defendant

24 Drayton Street, Suite 500

Savannah, Georgia 31402

(912) 233-0300

14a

APPENDIX H — ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF GEORGIA DATED FEBRUARY 18, 1994

SUPREME COURT OF GEORGIA

ATLANTA, FEBRUARY 28, 1994

The Honorable Supreme Court met pursuant to adjournment.

The following order was passed:

Case No. $94C0346

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA-PACIFIC

CORP., ETAL.

Upon consideration of the Motion for Reconsideration filed

in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby denied.

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta

I certify that the above is a true extract from the

minutes of the Supreme Court of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

affixed the day and year last above written.

Sherie M. Welch, Clerk.

i

t

;

i

Nea nM or es

15a

APPENDIX I — ORDER OF THE SUPREME COURT

OF GEORGIA DATED JANUARY 28, 1994

SUPREME COURT OF THE STATE OF GEORGIA

CLERK’S OFFICE

ATLANTA

DATE: JANUARY 28, 1994

Fred S. Clark

CLARK & CLARK

P.O. Box 8151

Savannah GA 31412

Case No. $94C0346

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA-PACIFIC

CORP., ETAL.

COURT OF APPEALS CASE NO. A93A1153

The Supreme Court today denied the petition for certiorari in

this case.

All the Justices concur.

Sincerely,

Sherie M. Welch, Clerk

16a

APPENDIX J — ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF GEORGIA DATED NOVEMBER 23, 1993

Court of Appeals

of the State of Georgia

ATLANTA, NOVEMBER 23, 1993

The Honorable Court of Appeals met pursuant to adjournment.

The Following order was passed.

Case No. A93A1153

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. V. GEORGIA-PACIFIC

CORPORATION ET AL

Upon consideration of the motion for reconsideration filed

in this case, it is ordered that it be hereby denied.

Court of Appeals of the State of Georgia

Clerk’s Office, Atlanta NOV 23 1993

I certify that the above is a true extract from the

minutes of the Court of Appeals of Georgia.

Witness my signature and the seal of said court

hereto affixed the day and year last above written.

s/ Victoria M. Laughlin Clerk.

a coe econ’ Sarctie vabubated Pao mtaienih GeO wet Nt ete Oi lags Piste Nal . m ,

faa OT eno

SE ARON RERERR 3 RRO CREME ON AO a Mat

ich pie Rise ai eked AAR th AAR ENR ks Cel Ae TAS ASO ote

snip panera oS TIRE SD

17a

APPENDIX K — ORDER OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

OF GEORGIA DATED SEPTEMBER 27, 1993

SECOND DIVISION

POPE C.J.

BIRDSONG, P.J., ANDREWS, J.

NOTICE: MOTIONS FOR RECONSIDERATION MUST BE

RECEIVED IN OUR CLERK’S OFFICE WITHIN TEN DAYS

OF THE DATE OF DECISION to be deemed timely filed.

(Court of appeals rules 4 and 48, March 1, 1985)

In the Court of Appeals of Georgia

A93A1153. BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC. v. GEORGIA

PACIFIC CORPORATION et al.

POPE, Chief Judge. P-076

Plaintiffs Georgia Pacific Corporation (“GP”) and BTL

Specialty Resins Corporation (“BTL”) are producers of

formaldehyde. Silver is used as a catalyst in the production

process and after use, the scrap silver may be refined and reused.

In late 1989 and early 1990, plaintiffs contracted with defendant

Burlington Air Express, Inc., a common air carrier, to transport

five shipments of scrap silver to a refinery in Massachusetts.

When these shipments were lost, defendant refused to pay

plaintiffs the full declared value of the scrap silver, relying on

provisions of its airbill and governing tariff which defendant said

limited its liability. Plaintiffs then brought this action for

compensatory damages, punitive damages and attorney fees,

alleging breach of contract and conversion, and the parties filed

cross-motions for partial summary judgment. The trial court

denied defendant’s motion and granted plaintiffs’ motion for

18a

Appendix K

summary judgment with respect to defendant's liability for

compensatory damages, and defendant appeals.

1. Defendant contends the trial court erred in applying the

provisions of the Interstate Commerce Act, 49 USCA § 101 et

seq., to a case involving the transport of cargo by air. Specifically,

defendant contends that since the air transport industry has been

deregulated, it is not governed by the Act. In Ragsdale v. Airborne

Freight Corp., 173 Ga. App. 48 (1) (325 SE2d 428) (1984),

however, this court recognized (a) that since deregulation, federal

law continues to govern the enforceability of limitation

provisions in airbills and (b) that although deregulation took air

cargo carriers outside the jurisdiction of any regulatory

commission or agency, the body of laws and principles expressed

in the Act continues to be applicable to air carriers as federal

common law. See also First Pennsylvania Bank. N. A. v. Eastern

Airlines Inc., 731 F2d 1113 (3d Cir. 1984). Accordingly, the trial

court did not err in looking to the Act to answer various questions

raised in this case.

2. For each of the five shipments, the record contains an

airbill and invoice. The airbills and invoices for the first and third

shipments show a declared value of $8,000, a specific instruction

to insure the shipment for $8,000 and a charge assessed by

defendant for the extra value of the cargo. The documents for the

second shipment also show a declared value of $8,000 and a

specific instruction to insure for that amount, but the invoice does

not show an extra value charge. For the fourth shipment the box

on the airbill for declared value is left blank; however, there is a

special instruction to “insure for $6,500" above the empty

declared value box on the airbill. Moreover, the invoice for that

shipment lists a declared value of $6,500 and assesses an extra

value charge. The documents for the last shipment show 2

19a

Appendix K

declared value of $6,500, a special instruction to insure for

$6,500 and an extra value charge. The first three shipments were

from BTL; the latter two were from GP.

The airbills, in small print on their reverse side, incorporate

by reference the terms of defendant’s tariff. Defendant argues

that these terms limit recovery for a lost shipment of precious

metal to $500. Under federal common law as reflected in the

Interstate Commerce Act, however, a carrier cannot limit his

liability to less than the declared value of the shipment by the

inconspicuous incorporation of a tariff provision “unless it is

shown that the shipper was specifically aware of it.” Bio-Lab.

Inc. v. Pony Express Courier Corp., 911 F2d 1580, 1583 (11th

Cir. 1990). Moreover, this rule that the carrier is liable for the full

declared value applies even if, as appears to be the case with one

of BTL’s shipments, the carrier fails to charge a higher rate to

compensate for its higher risk. See id. at 1584. In this case, it is

undisputed that plaintiffs were not specifically aware of the tariff

provision defendant relies on; it follows, therefore, that it is not

enforceable against them.

Defendant asserts that at least the recovery for the GP

shipment for which the declared value box was left empty should

be limited, asserting that “[b]y leaving the declared value section

blank, [plaintiff] limited its expectation of recovery to an amount

[provided on the back of the airbill].” Uniden Corp. of Am. v.

Federal Express Corp., 642 FSupp 263 (M. D. Pa. 1986).

However, this assertion is belied by the presence of the special

instruction to insure for $6,500 above the empty declared value

box, the declared value of $6,500 on the invoice and the payment

of an excess value charge, all of which clearly show an

understanding on the part of GP that the declared value was

$6,500 and a willingness to pay a higher rate to obtain the

carrier’s liability for this higher value.

20a

Appendix K

3. Section 17 of the airbill provides that any action brought

on aclaim must be brought within one year of written notice that

the claim is disallowed in full or in part. Defendant argues that it

disallowed claims on four of the shipments more than one year

(but less than two) before this suit was filed. As discussed in

Division 1, however, the enforceability of this contractual

limitation is controlled by federal common law as reflected in the

Interstate Commerce Act, and the Act states that a carrier may not

provide by contract for a period of less than two years from

written disallowance of a claim for bringing an action against it.

See 49 USCA § 11707 (e). Thus, the airbill provision requiring

any action to be brought within a year of written disallowance is

unenforceable, and defendant’s argument is without merit.

4. Defendant sent BTL two checks with the following

language on the back: “Acceptance and endorsement of this

check by the payee acknowledges full settlement and release of

all claims against [defendant] . . . .” Because BTL accepted the

checks, defendant contends it was released from further liability

on at least the two claims referenced on the checks. The record

clearly shows, however, that BTL did not endorse the checks, as

the signature line for endorsement if BTL chose to release

defendant was left blank. Consequently, defendant was not

released, and this contention is also without merit. The cases cited

by defendant for the proposition that an actual endorsement is not

required are inapposite because the checks in those cases simply

stated that they represented full and complete settlement of a

claim and did not have the language requiring endorsement

quoted above — language that defendant itself drafted.

5. For these reasons, the trial court properly granted

plaintiffs’ motion for summary judgment and denied defendant's

motion for summary judgment with respect to defendant’s

2la

Appendix K

liability for compensatory damages for breach of contract,

including pre-judgment interest. See OCGA § 7-4-15.

Additionally, the trial court did not err in ruling that questions of

fact remained for the jury regarding whether an award of attorney

fees was warranted. OCGA § 13-6-11 (expenses of litigation may

be awarded plaintiff in contract action where defendant has acted

in bad faith, has been stubbornly litigious, or has caused plaintiff

unnecessary trouble and expense); see also Spring Lake Property

Owners Assn. v. Peacock, 260 Ga. 80 (390 SE2d 31) (1990)

(question of attorney fees under OCGA § 136-11 is question for

jury). However, there is no evidence of conversion in the record

and punitive damages cannot be awarded for breach of contract.

See OCGA § 13-6-10. The trial court therefore erred in denying

defendant’s motion for summary judgment with respect to

punitive damages, and this portion of the trial court’s order must

be reversed.

Judgment affirmed in part and reversed in part. Birdsong,

P.J., and Andrews. J., concur.

22a

APPENDIX L —- ORDER OF THE SUPERIOR COURT OF

FULTON COUNTY, STATE OF GEORGIA DATED

NOVEMBER 10, 1992

IN THE SUPERIOR COURT OF FULTON COUNTY

STATE OF GEORGIA

CIVILACTION FILE

NO. D90701

GEORGIA-PACIFIC CORPORATION and BTL SPECIALTY

RESINS CORPORATION,

Plaintiffs,

v.

BURLINGTON AIR EXPRESS, INC.

Defendant.

ORDER GRANTING FINAL PARTIAL SUMMARY

JUDGMENT TO PLAINTIFFS AND DENYING

DEFENDANT’S CROSS-MOTION FOR PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

FINDINGS OF FACT

1.

Plaintiffs Georgia Pacific Corporation (“GP”) and BTL

Specialty Resins Corporation (“BTL”) instituted this litigation

by filing their Complaint on June 14, 1991. After receiving an

extension of time, Burlington Air Express, Inc. (“Burlington”)

23a

| Appendix L

timely filed its Answer. The facts underlying this litigation are not

in dispute. This Order concerns Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary

Judgment as to substantially all of the compensatory damages

sought and Defendant’s Cross-Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment. These Motions were fully briefed and the Court heard

oral argument on July 10, 1992.

2.

GP and BTL (collectively “Plaintiffs”) are business

corporations which, among other things, at all relevant times

engaged in the production of formaldehyde. Plaintiffs produced

formaldehyde in factories in Hampton, South Carolina. One

component used in producing formaldehyde is silver catalyst.

After being used in the production of formaldehyde, the scrap

silver may be refined and reused in the manufacturing process.

3.

Burlington is a national common carrier that provides

transportation of a shipper’s property in interstate commerce.

From September 1989 to February 1990, BTL and GP contracted

with Burlington to ship five (5) shipments of scrap silver used in

the manufacture of formaldehyde from Hampton, South

Carolina, to Plainville, Massachusetts, where the silver would be

refined. After the scrap silver was entrusted to Burlington,

Burlington failed to deliver any of the shipments to Plainville,

Massachusetts. It is undisputed that the scrap silver was lost or

stolen while the shipments were in Burlington’s possession. It is

also undisputed that GP and BTL specifically declared the values

of these shipments on the appropriate airbills and invoices which

have been attached to Plaintiffs’ Complaint as Exhibits. In one

instance, Burlington claims that GP did not set forth a declared

24a

Appendix L

value on an airbill, Exhibit “H” to the Complaint. However, the

declared value was listed on the invoice for this shipment, Exhibit

“G” to the Complaint, and the declared value does actually appear

on the airbill, Exhibit “H,” although not in the blank specified, by

the instruction “INSURE FOR $6,500.00.” Thus, the Plaintiffs

put declared values on each of the shipments entrusted to

Burlington.

4.

When Plaintiffs made demand upon Burlington to pay the

full declared values of the lost shipments of scrap silver,

Burlington refused for the stated reason that Burlington’s tariff

prevented Burlington from accepting these shipments and

limited Burlington’s liability according to terms set forth in fine

print on the back of Burlington’s airbills, which incorporated the

terms of said tariff. First, Plaintiffs had no actual notice of

Burlington’s tariff. Second, even if Plaintiffs are charged with

notice of the tariff, the language of the tariff itself does allow

Burlington to transport precious metals up to a declared value of

$25,000 so long as the metals are not ornamental in nature. It is

uncontroverted that the scrap silver entrusted to Burlington by

Plaintiffs was used in the manufacturing process, and was not

ornamental silver. The declared values of each of these shipments

did not exceed $25,000.

»

From the time Burlington lost Plaintiffs’ shipments,

Plaintiffs entered into negotiations with Burlington,

correspondence was exchanged, and telephone conferences were

held regarding Burlington’s obligation to pay the full declared

values of these shipments. Burlington offered partial payments to

25a

Appendix L

GP in amounts Burlington acknowledged it owed even under its

tariff. GP rejected these payments. Burlington made partial

payments to BTL for two (2) of these shipments. These payments

were via checks for amounts Burlington acknowledged that it did

owe BTL notwithstanding its defense based on Burlington's

tariff. BTL received and cashed checks dated March 27, 1990, in

the amount of $673.45, and April 27, 1990, in the amount of

$585.02.

6.

On the back of each of these Burlington checks was a

statement that, “Acceptance and endorsement of this check by the

payee acknowledges full settlement and release of all claims

against Burlington Air Express, Inc. and its agents and employees

for loss, damage, or delay arising in connection with the shipment

covered with the airbill referenced on the check statement.”

Underneath said language is a line for the payee to sign. Although

BTL accepted these two (2) payments, BTL did not endorse or

sign these checks in any way. Moreover, Burlington failed to raise

any affirmative defense based on release or accord and

satisfaction in its Answer. Burlington finally raised these

defenses in response to Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary

Judgment and in support of Burlington’s Cross-Motion for

Partial Summary Judgment. Moreover, the copies of the checks

were attached without authentication of this documentary

evidence in affidavit form. Plaintiffs made a Motion to Strike

with the Court based on the insufficiency of this evidence and the

waiver of these defenses.

-

Burlington also raised as a defense to Plaintiffs’ Motion for

26a

Appendix L

Summary Judgment and in support of Burlington's Cross-Motion

for Partial Summary Judgment a limitation of action defense.

This defense was not raised in Burlington’s Answer. This defense

is based on certain language contained in fine print on the back of

Burlington’s airbills. Section 17 of the airbills provides,

“Forwarder shall not be liable in any action unless a claim has

been filed in such action and brought within one year after the

date written notice is given to claimant that forwarder has

disallowed the claim in full or in part.” Plaintiffs instituted this

action on June 14, 1991. Burlington argued that the checks it sent

to GP and BTL constituted written notice that it disallowed their

claims. Burlington also attached to its Brief two (2) letters it

claims were written notice of partial disallowance. However,

Burlington failed to proffer these letters via affidavit. Plaintiffs

objected by a Motion to Strike based on waiver of this affirmative

defense and improper authentication of business records.

Moreover, there is correspondence properly proffered by

Plaintiffs indicating that Burlington did not finally deny GP’s

claims until August 20, 1990. Burlington did not finally deny

BTL’s claims until August 20, 1990. Litigation was instituted

within one (1) year of these dates.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Ll,

The facts underlying this litigation are not in dispute. This

litigation involves interpretation of contracts, a matter of law for

the Court particularly well-suited for summary adjudication. The

Court finds that federal law based upon the Interstate Commerce

Act applies to this litigation as Burlington is a carrier in interstate

commerce. Burlington initially submitted to the Court that this

act was applicable in trying to set forth certain affirmative

27a

Appendix L

defenses, not set forth in Burlington’s Answer, in response to

Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment. Specifically,

Burlington relied on the Interstate Commerce Act in attempting

to fashion a limitations defense based on the language on the back

of its airbills that suit must be instituted within one (1) year after

Burlington denied Plaintiffs’ claims. Plaintiffs demonstrated that

the limitation period under the Interstate Commerce Act had to be

two (2) full years. 49 U.S.C. § 11707(e). In response, Burlington

changed its position on the applicability of the Interstate

Commerce Act, arguing that pursuant to 49 U.S.C.

§ 10526(a)(8)(B), Burlington is now exempt from the jurisdiction

under the Interstate Commerce Act. While it may be literally true

that air cargo carriers such as Burlington are exempt from the

jurisdiction of the Interstate Commerce Act, in that its industry

has been deregulated, the Court finds persuasive the line of

authority found in the case of First Pennsylvania Bank N.A. v.

Eastern Airlines Inc., 731 F.2d 1113 (3d Cir. 1984). In a well-

reasoned opinion discussing the effect of deregulation on air

carriers that ship goods in interstate commerce, the court held that

substantive provisions, such as statute of limitations, still applied

notwithstanding the regulation. Deregulation primarily allowed

air carriers freedom to compete via rates. Thus, the Interstate

Commerce Act applies to Burlington’s attempts to limit its

liability to Plaintiffs.

a

The public policy contained in the Interstate Commerce Act

strongly favors holding carriers liable for the loss of goods

shipped. Flying Tiger Line Inc. v. Pento Trucking Serv. Inc., 517

F. Supp. 1108 (E.D. Pa. 1991). Plaintiffs established an

undisputed case on the loss of their five (5) shipments of scrap

silver. Thus, the burden shifts to Burlington to show why it is not

28a

Appendix L

liable for the full declared values of these shipments. S.C.

Johnson & Son, Inc. v. Louisville & Nashville R. Co., 695 F.2d

253 (7th Cir. 1982). Burlington has failed to carry this burden.

a

The Court finds Burlington’s defense based on the language

of its tariff to be meritless. This is the only apparent affirmative

defense in Burlington’s Answer. Most importantly, the language

of the tariff allows Burlington to transport Plaintiffs’ scrap silver.

However, since Plaintiffs had no actual notice of the tariff, even if

the tariff prevented transportation of scrap silver, Burlington

probably could not limit its liability in this manner. First

Pennsylvania Bank. N.A. v. Eastern Airlines Inc., 731 F.2d 1113

(3d Cir. 1984). Moreover, in the Eleventh Circuit, when Plaintiffs

declared the value of their shipments on the airbills, Burlington

could not rely on contrary terms in fine print or in the tariff to

argue Plaintiffs agreed to a lesser value. Bio-Lab, Inc. v. Pony

Express Courier Corp., 911 F.2d 1580 (11th Cir. 1990).

4.

Burlington has recently raised two (2) affirmative defenses,

to wit, statute of limitations and release/accord and satisfaction.

With respect to Burlington’s statute of limitations defense, the

Court finds that Plaintiffs had a two (2) year period to institute

litigation despite the one (1) year provision on the back of

Burlington’s airbills due to the requirements of the Interstate

Commerce Act and 49 U.S.C. § 11707(e). Plaintiffs instituted suit

well within this two (2) year period. Alternatively, the Court finds

that by not raising the statute of limitations defense in its Answer,

Burlington has waived the defense. O.C.G.A. § 9-11-8(c).

Plaintiffs were surprised at Burlington’s raising of this defense at

29a

Appendix L

such a late stage in this litigation. To allow Burlington to raise this

defense at the late date would prejudice Plaintiffs. Slappey

Builders v. FDIC, 157 Ga. App. 343, 347 (1981). Burlington

offered no excuse why it did not initially raise this defense. The

facts upon which this defense is based was clearly known by

Burlington from the beginning. Additionally, Burlington failed to

properly authenticate the relevant documents for this defense by

affidavit. O.C.G.A. § 9-11-56(e). Plaintiffs objected to this

proffer in Plaintiffs’ Motion to Strike. Finally, the Court finds that

Burlington did not finally deny Plaintiffs’ claims until within one

(1) year of suit being instituted. Thus, even assuming the one (1)

year limitations period, Plaintiffs instituted litigation within said

period. Regardless, the Court finds that checks constituting

partial payment are not notices of disallowance. Capon Textile

Trading Co. v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 538 F. Supp. 1083

(S.D.N.Y. 1982).

5.

Burlington’s defense based on release/accord and

satisfaction also fails as a matter of law. This defense only applies

to two (2) shipments out of the five (5) shipments, belonging to

BTL. BTL accepted two (2) checks as partial payment for these

shipments. First, the Court finds that the language offered by

Burlington required BTL to both accept and endorse the checks

to agree to any compromise of BTL’s claims against Burlington.

A signature line was provided. BTL refused to endorse these

checks in any way. Burlington drafted the restrictive language on

the back of its checks. The language is construed against

Burlington. Flying Tiger Line Inc. v. Pen:o Trucking Serv., Inc.,

517 F. Supp. 1108 (E.D. Pa. 1981). Thus, no release occurred as a

matter of law because BTL refused to agree to Burlington’s

terms. Second, there is no consideration for such a defense.

30a

Appendix L

Burlington merely paid BTL what it admitted owing BTL despite

the language in its tariff. McLendon v. Johnson, 69 Ga. App. 214

(1943) (case overruled on another legal issue, Barfield v. Hilton,

238 Ga. 150, 152 (1977)). No accord and satisfaction occurred

because there is no bona fide dispute as to Burlington’s liability

for the full value of these shipments. O.C.G.A. § 13-4-103(b).

Moreover, Burlington waived the release of release/accord and

satisfaction by failure to raise it in its Answer. O.C.G.A. § 9-11-

8(c). Burlington raised these defenses too late in the litigation.

Allowing these defenses would prejudice Plaintiffs when the

facts were known from -the very beginning by Burlington.

Slappey Builders v. FDIC, 157 Ga. App. 343, 347 (1981).

Moreover, Burlington did not proffer the documents upon which

it bases these defenses in a receivable manner. Plaintiffs objected

to the proffering of these materials without the appropriate

affidavit authenticating these documents as business records in

Plaintiffs’ Motion to Strike. O.C.G.A. § 9-11-56(e). Burlington

proffered the Affidavit of Steven Shipler, but the record indicates

that there was a failure to attach business records to the Affidavit

as required by Georgia law although the Affidavit referred tc said

records. Further the Affidavit purported to be in support of

Burlington’s Cross-Motion for Partial Summary Judgment. The

Affidavit did not purport to be in opposition to Plaintiffs’ Motion

for Summary Judgment. Georgia law and O.C.G.A. § 9-11-56(c)

require that an affidavit in support of a motion for summary

judgment be properly put in the record thirty (30) days before the

time fixed for the hearing. Burlington had much more than thirty

(30) days in which to have this Affidavit on file. Indeed, the

record reflects that Burlington had a full two (2) months to have

this Affidavit on file thirty (30) days before the hearing, but failed

to do so.

3la

Appendix L

6.

Burlington’s defense that there is no declared value for one

of the shipments is without merit. The shipment at issue is a GP

shipment reflected in the invoice and airbill attached to Plaintiffs’

Complaint as Exhibits “G” and “H,” respectively. An

examination of these Exhibits shows the declared value recorded

on the invoice, and a value placed upon the airbill. Although the

declared value is not in the exact location on the airbill, it is clear

that Burlington was given notice in writing of the declared value.

Thus, this attempted limitation of liability finds no support as a

matter of fact. Moreover, any failure to charge an excess value

charge is solely the failure to Burlington, and in no way relieves

or lessens Burlington’s liability to Plaintiffs. Bio-Lab, Inc. v.

Pony Express Courier Corp., 911 F.2d 1580 (11th Cir. 1990).

r 3

Plaintiffs pray for prejudgment interest, attorneys’ fees, and

punitive damages. Burlington argues that these damages are not

recoverable. The Interstate Commerce Act at 49 U.S.C. § 10103

provides that, “[e]xcept as otherwise provided in this subtitle, the

remedies under this subtitle [Interstate Commerce Act] are in

addition to remedies existing under another law or at common

law.” There is no provision in the Interstate Commerce Act

prohibiting a shipper from recovering against a carrier

prejudgment interest, attorneys’ fees, or punitive damages. Thus,

the Court finds the better line of cases allow recovery of these

damages. Troute v. Aero Mayflower Transit Co., 89 Or. App. 564,

718 P.2d 745 (1986); A.7. Clayton & Co. v. Missouri-Kansas-

Texas R. Co., 901 F.2d 833 (10th Cir. 1990); Coliseum Cartage

Co. v. Carlen Distribution Svstem, Inc., 732 F. Supp. 1340

(M.D.N.C. 1989). Regardless, Burlington has been deregulated

32a

Appendix L

from the Interstate Commerce Act. The Court finds that to make

Plaintiffs whole, Plaintiffs are entitled at this summary

adjudication stage to an award of prejudgment interest assessed

at the statutory rate of seven percent (7%) per annum. O.C.G.A.

§§ 7-4-2; 7-4-15. Plaintiffs can offer proof at trial to attempt to

recover punitive damages and attorneys’ fees.

8.

The Court finds that there are no genuine issues of material

fact and that Plaintiffs are entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

Thus, Plaintiffs’ Motion for Summary Judgment is GRANTED.

Plaintiff GP is entitled to a judgment against Burlington in the

amount of $13,000.00 for principal and $2,509.39 for

prejudgment interest, for a total judgment of $15,509.39.

Plaintiff BTL is entitled to a judgment against Burlington in the

amount of $22,741.53 for principal and $4,358.90 for

prejudgment interest, for a total judgment of $27,100.43.

Postjudgment interest shall accrue thereupon at the statutory rate.

Pursuant to O.C.G.A. § 9-11-54(b), the Court directs entry of

final judgment on the above-stated amounts because there is no

just reason for delay. The Clerk is ORDERED to issue Fi Fa’s in

these amounts. Defendant’s Cross-Motion for Partial Summary

Judgment is DENIED. Plaintiffs will be allowed to proceed to

trial to present their claims for punitive damages and attorneys’

fees.

SO ORDERED, this 10th day of November, 1992-

s/ Thelma Wyatt-Cummings

HONORABLE THELMA WYATT-CUMMINGS

JUDGE

Superior Court of Fulton County

33a

Appendix L

Presented by:

PARKER, JOHNSON, COOK & DUNLEVIE

By: s/ Everett W. Gee III

Everett W. Gee III, Esq.

State Bar No. 288586

Attorneys for Plaintiffs

Suite 700

1275 Peachtree Street N.E.

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

(404) 872-7000

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.