Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Murray v. Stuckeys, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995

+

GLADYS MURRAY, On Behalf of Herself and All Others

Similarly Situated (and 27 Other Individuals),

Petitioners,

STUCKEYS, INC., and PET INCORPORATED,

Respondents.

S

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

S

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

o

P. L. NyMANN

520 Pierce Street, Suite 383

P.O. Box 1825

Sioux City, IA 51102-1825

Telephone: (712) 258-0101

Facsimile: (712) 258-0103

Counsel of Record

STEVEN C. KOHL

520 Pierce Street, Suite 383

P.O. Box 1825

Sioux City, IA 51102-1825

Telephone: (712) 258-0101

Facsimile: (712) 258-0103

Co-Counsel for Petitioners

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

IFo4t fy |

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Under the “clearly erroneous” standard of

review, may the Court of Appeals ignore all evidence and

credibility determinations favorable to the prevailing par-

ties and concentrate solely on evidence favorable to the

losing party having the burden of proof on the FLSA

“executive exemption” and set aside five separate find-

ings of fact by the trial court in favor of employees

earning less than $250 per week?

2. Was the Court of Appeals justified in departing

from, and creating a conflict with, other courts of appeals

in FLSA cases and substituting its judgment for that of

the trial court on five separate findings of fact?

3. Has the Court of Appeals so far departed from

the accepted and usual course of proceedings as to call

for an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision when

the court of appeals ignores previous controlling deci-

sions of this Court in other FLSA cases and substitutes its

judgment for that of the trial court on five separate find-

ings of fact when any one of the trial court’s findings of

fact would support the judgment of the trial court?

4. Pursuant to Rule 16.1, should this Court on the

merits summarily reverse the decision of the Court of

Appeals ignoring controlling decisions of this Court and

conflicting with decisions of other courts of appeals,

thereby departing from the accepted and usual course of

proceedings?

OF NSPS}

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

Gladys Murray

Floyd Caskey

Allan Christiansen

Donald Scott

Deborah L. Hoyt

Russell C. Renecker

Eugene A. Rutledge

Lawrence B. Taylor

Warren Kajander

Jeannette Petrimoulx

Kinney Bryant

Carol S. Lewis

Harley Blair

Thomas Miller

Sandra Crist

Larry Brown

Randy Bushnell

Bobbie Cockerell

Mary T. Cope

Stanley Dixon

Thomas Foster

Edward Geisenheimer

Rae Jean Hamilton

Loren Jacoby

Donald Phillips

Joy M. Powers

Arthur Stotts

David Tompkins

Stuckey’s, Inc.

Pet Incorporated

lil

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

LIST OF PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING. ......... ii

PE I oss so oi sc'k wooo Gabe kn dnkss iii

ee ee PT ss cc cidocasacncpecs tes Vv

BPE NIE. PARP EP EAS 6 ois ek ak eic ccc caccus. Vii

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI............ 1

SE EI ons de wb kb cance She pauceeaavaees 2

PRM G0 ca v's 2 68 Seice nc weh ces cst vessec. +

STATUTES, FEDERAL RULES, AND REGULATIONS

EE sg Le Wee pS UEES Ks BRE DA Ss cake t

eMea MES. GOP BEE CASE. ooo icc civeccccccss 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 6

A. Murray I Was Not Final and so is Subject to

Review as Well as Murray li................... 6

B. Both Murray I and Murray II Conflict with Deci-

ss fg -Ce pes wad ound cue wos’ 7

ge 0. Bo RAR to ies eae 11

en Se I i a 550 w SN need Vann ae wae way ois 13

B(3) Failure of Burden of Proof on Executive

IAS 1s Cane he tae shed Whe ees ei > 14

B(4) Supervising Two or More Employees..... 14

B(5) Exercising Discretionary Powers.......... 19

C. The Holdings of the Eighth Circuit also Conflict

with Recent Decisions in the Fifth Circuit, the

Third Circuit, and the Eleventh Circuit ........ 22

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

D. The Eighth Circuit has so far Departed from the

Accepted and Usual Course of Judicial Proceedings

as to Call for an Exercise of this Court’s Power of

a, ee Poy Pee PE ria pee Tee 26

CEPT IRIE s Make boss ce tae pened se tesenwaue renee 27

wal ag te lel ape) Ete OS Bw

Vv

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Appendix A Opinion of the Court of Appeals

Appendix B

Appendix C

Appendix D

Appendix E

Appendix F

Appendix G

Appendix H

reported in Murray v. Stuckey’s,

Inc., 50 F.3d 564 (8th Cir. 1995)

CN EE cds Dkk et aeeee sc elabie ne:

Order of the Court of Appeals

denying Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc,

es gt ae SPREE Te Ee

Memorandum Opinion and Order

of the District Court for the North-

ern District of Iowa, filed April 16,

oo ie 5 Pe a nr ese ry pate ee

Order of the District Court for the

Northern District of Iowa, filed

EEE By BOO 8 hs Weve eek eens 0c

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

reported in Murray v. Stuckey’s,

Inc., 939 F.2d 614 (8th Cir. 1991),

cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1073 (1992)

COMIN Tike siding axe ow este ies

Order of the Court of Appeals

denying Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc,

filed September 19, 1991...........

Memorandum of Law and Order of

the District Court for the Northern

District of Iowa, filed July 17, 1989...

Order of the District Court for the

Northern District of Iowa, filed

POUUOES De Ne oi 6 oS iv kbs vo wed i

Page

82a

vi

INDEX TO APPENDICES - Continued

Appendix I

Appendix J

Appendix K

Appendix L

Appendix M

Appendix N

Order of the District Court for the

Northern District of Iowa, filed

Jeby 2h; 2000 ie. 8 rs BO

Order of the District Court for the

Northern District of Iowa, filed

el PR 0 RRR

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52a..

Section 16, Fair Labor Standards

PPT eee ey rere Pee eres

POD oon ok Chdnnbs% be bane ae

Exhibit “B” to Plaintiffs’ Trial

UR On ha tschwenke claweeveen

Page

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

Page

Cases

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S. 564

Ce oa ae eee sa 11, 14

Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc., 361 U.S. 388 (1960) 20, 24

Bebensee v. Ives, 409 N.W.2d 710 (Iowa App. 1987) .... 14

Brock v. Mr. W. Fireworks Inc., 814 F.2d 1042 (5th

Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 924 (1987) ........ 23

Brock v. Norman's Country Market, Inc., 835 F.2d 823

(11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1205 (1988) .... 24

Dalheim v. KDFW-TV, 918 F.2d 1220 (5th Cir. 1990)

Othe apd k CREAN W he SAA ode k4 eek Crean Weabee- 11, 22, 23, 24

Donovan v. Waffle House, Inc., 26 Wage & Hour

Cas. (BNA) 868, 99 Lab. Cas. (CCH) { 34,457

PEE, Sills MCS ak div wack hese cnbn tbr As naee cee 13

Freeman v. National Broadcasting Co., Inc., 846

oo Meg 5 ae. errr 27

Hughes Tool Company v. Trans World Airlines, 409

Se IGA 5 5.6 kA Sa aha heahiabaewsebsiewens’ --6

Icicle Seafoods Inc. 9. Worthington, 475 U.S. 709

CS bass AGN SSRGING Ue ba dawns edhcenkenescas passim

Marshall v. Sally Beauty Co., Inc., 25 Wage & Hour

Cas. (BNA) 672, 94 Lab. Cas. (CCH) { 34,207

CP RG. ROE & boo v vk ahs vhs 04 Ch aWadeat coulbeds ees 13

Martin v. Cooper Electric Supply Co., 940 F.2d 896

Ce 6 RR ian nbn taenehe hee kane hake ce) cat 24

Murray v. Stuckey’s, Inc., 939 F.2d 614 (8th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1073 (1992) (Murray

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED - Continued

Page

Murray v. Stuckey’s, Inc., 50 F.3d 564 (8th Cir. 1995)

(Murray If)... 2... .cccccccsceqecctassentesesces passim

Walling v. General Industries Co., 330 U.S. 545

CTE) a's a vinta ncn dn Ges 0b ¢ he aud pieae Pei mase passim

STATUTES

United States Code

SO UEAS Oe SOLE) cic vaste skitavedcqueedrdahienty 4

TE UGG. © BE ai boos c non dc rqeves sapdecpe'an coueel 5

Se Aes bp bona Va cauns cus ceakevuiece woul 15

29 UBL. | ZAMAN). «ov coast ces opya cas simi passim

Se UDA BRI + « 04k wie ei yc cho caukeateuaera ys 5

RULES AND REGULATIONS

BP GBR. © Pet heck sssccscvessevsacdsmeuisiatseies 10

SP CBRE ORR) oss as eh ee a 14

Be STi SOR Ra Wicc'nd be dnephindebddacveutinciees 19

oP CP OR Dae i i NE Ac ee RGN i ies 20

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a)....4, 5, 7, 18, 23

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States

UN TID is a Bec rncccatanudegetede cence 4, 26

,

PN SUA oi evo honk C0 kod eb a ee a ee 28

ix

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED - Contirued

Page

OTHER

Shepard’s United States Citations:

7th Case Ed. - 1995 (Vol. 3.7),-at 1286-87 .......... 8

Semiannual Cum. Supp., Pt. 3-S.Ct. Rep. (Vol.

va rem ty Fen. 1, 190) at OP... .. oe... 8

Cum. Supp., Pt. 3-S.Ct. Rep. (Vol. 94, No. 9, May

Pe NUE PP ee sit ei 8

Webster’s New Collegiate Dictionary, (G. & C. Mer-

PT TIE BEB. 6 86 ook AE... 8

Sao Bs a ach Nee tee De ee

Sb Riana MUTE TATA

Rie LRS

ae

‘Sate,

Oe

Rigas Saat le ARENT SE PGES Aether ed ett AaB RG By ie aR BRE ts ADO idk Lara whe EGE 9A

No. 95-___

*

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1995

¢

GLADYS MURRAY, On Behalf of Herself and All Others

Similarly Situated (and 27 Other Individuals),

Petitioners,

V.

STUCKEYS, INC., and PET INCORPORATED,

Respondents.

4

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

o-—

Petitioners respectfully pray that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit filed March 20, 1995

(rehearing denied April 25, 1995), reversing findings of

fact made by the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Iowa, Western Division on remand

by the Court of Appeals for findings of fact on those very

factual issues.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of a three-judge panel of the Court of

Appeals reversing findings of fact (after remand for those

very findings) with instructions to dismiss was filed

March 20, 1995, was reported as Murray v. Stuckey’s, Inc.,

50 F.3d 564 (8th Cir. 1995) (Murray II), and is reprinted in

the Appendix at pages la-17a (Appendix A).

The order of the Court of Appeals denying Plaintiffs’

Petition for Rehearing, with Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc, was filed April 25, 1995, and is reprinted in the

Appendix at page 18a (Appendix B).

The trial court’s first unpublished opinion after

remand (making the findings of fact requested by the

Court of Appeals in its first opinion) is dated April 16,

1993. The trial court found that the defendants had not

met their burden of proof that plaintiffs customarily and

regularly directed the work of two or more employees

and that the defendants had not met their burden of

proof that the plaintiffs customarily and regularly exer-

cised discretionary power. That opinion is reprinted in

the Appendix at pages 19a-42a (Appendix C).

The trial court’s second unpublished opinion after

remand entered judgment in favor of plaintiffs in speci-

fied amounts and awarded attorney fees to plaintiffs’

counsel, is dated April 15, 1994, and is reprinted in the

Appendix at pages 43a-59a (Appendix D).

The first opinion of the same three-judge panel of the

Court of Appeals reversing and remanding in part the

award of the trial court, was filed July 25, 091, was

reported as Murray v. Stuckey’s, Inc., 939 F.2d 614 (8th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 502 U.S. 1073 (1992) (Murray I), and is

reprinted in the Appendix at pages 60a-80a (Appendix E).

The order of the Court of Appeals denying Plaintiffs’

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc by reason of a lack of a

majority (with at least one Circuit Judge dissenting) and

denying the Petition for Rehearing was filed on Septem-

ber 19, 1991 and is reprinted in the Appendix at page 8la

(Appendix F).

The trial court’s unpublished opinion after trial mak-

ing findings of fact that Defendants had failed to sustain

their burden of proof that the Plaintiffs were exempt from

the overtime provisions of the Fair Labor Standards Act is

dated and filed on July 17, 1989 and is reprinted in the

Appendix at pages 82a-121a (Appendix G).

The trial court’s unpublished opinion on Plaintiffs’

Motion to Alter or Amend and to Determine Attorney

Fees is dated January 5, 1990, was filed on January 8, 1990

and is reprinted in the Appendix at pages 122a-129a

(Appendix H).

The trial court’s unpublished opinion awarding dam-

ages (including liquidated damages), and reducing the

attorney fee award is dated July 14, 1990, was filed July

16, 1990, and is reprinted in the Appendix at pages

130a-142a (Appendix I).

The trial court’s unpublished opinion reconsidering

the attorney fee award dated January 5, 1990 (filed Janu-

ary 8, 1990) is dated and filed October 31, 1990 and is

reprinted in the Appendix at pages 143a-147a (Appendix

J).

JURISDICTION

The second opinion of the three-judge panel of the

Court of Appeals is dated and was entered on March 20,

1995. The Order of the same Court denying the Petition

for Rehearing with Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is

dated and was entered on April 25, 1995. This Petition is

filed within ninety (90) days of that date. The statutory

provision believed to confer jurisdiction on this Court to

review that judgment by writ of certiorari is 28 U.S.C.

1254(1), and we believe the applicable rule of this Court

is Rule 10.1(a) and (c).

+

STATUTES, FEDERAL RULES,

AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a) (in Appendix,

page 148a, Appendix K)

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938 as amended,

29 U.S.C. § 216(b), Section 16(b) (in Appendix, pages

149a-150a, Appendix L).

Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) of 1938 as amended,

29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1), Section 13(a)(1) (in Appendix, page

15la, Appendix M).

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Gladys Murray and Sidney Murray, on behalf of

themselves and all others similarly situated, brought an

action against Respondents in the United States District

Court for the Northern District Court of Iowa, Western

Division. Jurisdiction of the district court was based upon

Section 16(b) of the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), 29

U.S.C. § 216(b) and 28 U.S.C. § 1337.

The complaint sought overtime pay, liquidated dam-

ages, attorney fees and costs under the FLSA. The case

was tried to the court by ordinary proceedings and judg-

ment was entered in favor of all Petitioners based upon

detailed findings of fact.

Defendants contended that all Petitioners were

exempt from the overtime provisions of the Act under the

“executive” exemption, 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1), but

acknowledged that Defendants have the burden of proof

on this factual issue. This issue was listed as a factual

issue by both parties in the Pre-Trial Order.

In Murray I, a three-judge panel of the Court of

Appeals set aside three separate findings of fact showing

failure to satisfy the Section 13(a)(1) exemption require-

ments, without any reference to the “clearly erroneous”

standard of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a). The

Court of Appeals remanded for findings of fact by the

trial court on two other factual issues relating to the

conjunctive requirements for the exemption.

The trial court, based in part on credibility findings,

found in favor of Petitioners on each of these two factual

issues (conjunctive in nature) and entered judgment in

favor of Petitioners. Defendants again appealed.

The same three-judge panel set aside the very find-

ings of fact for which the panel had directed remand. This

time the panel paid lip service to the “clearly erroneous”

standard, but ignored substantial evidence favorable to

Petitioners and also ignored two United States Supreme

Court decisions dealing with exemptions under the FLSA.

Those cases are controlling herein. The panel directed

the trial court to dismiss the action. Those cases, Walling

v. General Industries Co., 330 U.S. 545 (1947) and Icicle

Seafoods Inc. v. Worthington, 475 U.S. 709 (1986), had been

cited by Petitioners herein in their briefs in the Court of

Appeals, but were ignored by Pet and Stuckey’s in their

briefs.

+

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

FIRST OF ALL, THE COURT OF APPEALS HAS

DECIDED A FEDERAL QUESTION IN A WAY THAT

CONFLICTS WITH APPLICABLE CONTROLLING

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT. FURTHER, THE OPIN-

IONS OF THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT CONFLICT WITH

RECENT DECISIONS OF THE FIFTH CIRCUIT, THE |

THIRD CIRCUIT, AND THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT.

ADDITIONALLY, THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT HAS SO

FAR DEPARTED FROM THE ACCEPTED AND USUAL

COURSE OF JUDICIAL PROCEEDINGS AS TO CALL

FOR AN EXERCISE OF THIS COURT’S POWER OF

SUPERVISION.

A. Murray I Was Not Final and so is Subject to

Review as Well as Murray II.

Murray I remanded the cause to the trial court for

additional findings of fact. Accordingly, Murray I was not

final and does not constitute the law of the case, collateral

estoppel, or res judicata. Hughes Tool Company v. Trans

World Airlines, 409 U.S. 363, 365 n.1 (1973). Accordingly,

this Court may review Murray I as well as Murray II.

Therefore, this Court has before it the propriety of setting

aside five separate findings of fact of the trial court, any

one of which alone would support the final judgment of

the trial court.

B. Both Murray I and Murray II Conflict with

Decisions of this Court.

As long ago as 1947, this Court held that the question

of whether a worker falls within the exemption for “exec-

utives” under 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1) is a factual question

subject to the “clearly erroneous” standard of review set

forth in Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a). Walling v.

General Industries Co., 330 U.S. 545, 550 (1947) (disapprov-

ing court of appeals’ rejection of trial court findings as to

executive exemption).

In 1986, this Court reversed the Ninth Circuit

because it engaged in fact-finding in a case involving an

exemption under FLSA. Icicle Seafoods, Inc. v. Worthington,

475 U.S. 709 (1986). This Court (by Justice Rehnquist) said

in reversing:

“We think the Court of Appeals was mistaken to

engage in such factfinding.” 475 U.S. at 714.

and

“The question of how the respondents spent

their working time aboard the Arctic Star is a

question of fact.” id.}

Of course the ultimate test for “executive exemption”, in

the words of Section 13 (29 U.S.C. § 213(a)), is whether the

employee is “employed in a bona fide executive capacity”.

According to Shepard’s, Icicle has been cited and

followed by every court of appeals except the Eighth

Circuit. Shepard’s United States Citations: 7th Case Ed. -

1995 (Vol. 3.7), at 1286-87; Semiannual Cum. Supp., Pt. 3 -

S.Ct. Rep. (Vol. 94, No. 1, Jan. 1, 1995) at 407; Cum. Supp.,

Pt. 3-S.Ct. Rep. (Vol. 94, No. 9, May 1, 1995) at 172. Icicle

is the law of the land. Icicle has been cited by Plaintiffs in

every filing made in the Court of Appeals but has been

ignored by the Eighth Circuit. Plaintiffs respectfully sug-

gest this Court should require the Eighth Circuit to join

all other circuits in following Icicle.

Petitioners herein are not aware of any FLSA case,

except this one, in which a court of appeals has set aside

five separate findings of fact, any one of which would

support judgment for Petitioners. Further, Petitioners are

not aware of any FLSA case in which a circuit court set

aside any finding of fact on the “executive exemption”

issue or the “primary duty” issue where the employee

was earning less than $250 per week. When earnings are

less than $250 per week the “long test” becomes applica-

ble.

In Murray II, judgment had been entered only with

respect to employees earning less than $250 per week.

In both General Industries, supra, and Icicle, supra, this

Court granted certiorari and reversed the court of

appeals findings in FLSA cases dealing with exemptions.

(emphasis supplied) “Bona fide” is defined as “ . . . in good faith

without fraud or deceit”, or “ .. . with earnest intent”. Webster's

New Collegiate Dictionary, (G. & C. Merriam Co., 1979 ed.) 124.

Questions of good faith and intent are always questions of fact.

In both cases, the trial court had made findings of fact

and held in favor of employers that the employer had

carried its burden of proof on the exemption issues pre-

sented.

In both cases the court of appeals reversed the trial

court’s findings of fact. In both cases this Court held that

the action of the court of appeals was error.

In both cases the trial court had made factual find-

ings in favor of the employer. In its first decision, the

Murray trial court found that the duties of the claimed

exempt employees and admittedly non-exempt

employees were essentially the same. (1989 Order, Find-

ing of Fact 17, p. 86a). That finding has not been dis-

turbed. The three-judge panel also accepted the trial

court’s finding that the Plaintiffs spent 65%-90% of their

time on non-managerial duties. (p. 68a). The trial court

further found that:

(1) The Defendants have failed in their burden of

proof that the employees were exempt from the overtime

Provisions of the Act. (Finding of Fact 29, Pp. 96a).

(2) Defendants have failed in their burden of proof

that the primary duty of Plaintiffs was management.

(Finding of Fact 28, p. 95a).

(3) Defendants failed in their burden of proof that

Plaintiffs were in “sole charge” of their stores. (Finding of

Fact 29, p. 96a). On remand after Murray I, with directions

to make findings of fact on two other issues, the trial

court held that:

10

(4) The Defendants had not met their burden of

proof that Plaintiffs customarily and regularly directed

the work of two or more employees. (p. 34a).

(5) The Defendants had not met their burden of

proof that the Plaintiffs customarily and regularly exer-

cised discretionary power (p. 38a).

The applicable regulation, 29 C.F.R. § 541.1, is set

forth in Murray II (pp. 4a-5a). It was incorrectly or inac-

curately set forth in Murray I (p. 66a).

In Murray I and Murray II the Court of Appeals has

now set aside all five of those findings of fact and left

standing the finding of fact that the duties of the

employees claimed by defendants to be exempt and the

employees who were admittedly non-exempt were essen-

tially the same. (See Finding of Fact 17, p. 86a). That

finding by the trial court is inconsistent with the new

findings of the Court of Appeals.

Findings Nos. 4 and 5 above were set aside by the

appeals court in Murray II after specific direction in Mur-

ray I to the trial court to make findings of fact on those

very issues, in spite of having noted in Murray I that one

of the issues was a contested issue at trial (p. 73a), and

that Petitioners’ discretion was circumscribed or limited

(p. 72a).

Petitioners will now demonstrate in the following

five subsections that all five of the trial courts’ findings

were supported by substantial evidence, or perhaps more

accurately, because the Defendants had the burden of

proof, the lack of evidence by Defendants.

11

B(1) Primary Duty

The credibility of the witnesses and the inferences to

be drawn from the facts are factual matters for deter-

mination by the trial court. See Dalheim v. KDF W-TV, 918

F.2d 1220 (5th Cir. 1990). See also Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S. 564 (1985).

Like this case, Dalheim involved Section 13(a)(1)

exemptions. A principal issue in Dalheim involved “pri-

mary duty” as in this case. The Dalheim trial court found

in favor of the workers and against the employer on the

issue of “primary duty” and the exemption, as the trial

court did in this case.

The employer invited the Fifth Circuit to set aside the

trial court findings. The Fifth Circuit declined to do so,

citing Icicle Seafoods and General Industries.

The Dalheim court noted that the exemption is to be

construed “narrowly against the employer” and that the

employer “ . . . must demonstrate clear error to prevail.”

918 F.2d at 1226. The court stated:

“... the... exemptions claimed by (the

employer) requires the district court to infer

from its findings of historical fact what consti-

tutes the employees’ ‘primary duty’ ” (emphasis

supplied) 918 F.2d at 1227.

and

“...+ Whether an employee’s work is “original

and creative” in character and whether such work

is an employee's ‘primary duty’ are based on infer-

ences from historical fact. Such inferences are also

reviewed for clear error” (emphasis supplied)

Id. at 1226.

12

At least three witnesses in this case testified that their

primary duty was not management. They testified, as did

a former regional manager, that the duties of a so-called

“manager” and admittedly non-exempt employees were

essentially the same. The trial court held that the duties

were essentially the same (1989 Order, Finding of Fact 17,

p. 86a), and that finding of fact has not been set aside.

Additionally, a Senior Vice President testified that it

was not unusual to have from 200 to 250 individual sales

of gasoline during the day handled by a “manager” in

addition to his or her other routine duties. (Lake Dep. p. 15).

That was supported by testimony that the “managers”

were really only “glorified gas boys” (E. Geisenheimer

Dep. p. 27).

Allowing three minutes for each such gasoline sale

would require from 10 to 12'/2 hours each day in addition

to his or her other routine duties. The trial court was entitled

to infer from this and substantial other testimony that the

“primary duty” of the so-called “manager” was not man-

agement.

Substanial testimony also demonstrated that so-

called “managers” spent the vast majority (65%-90%) of

their time performing non-exempt duties having nothing

to do with management (Finding of Fact 27, p. 94a). That

finding has not been set aside and is inconsistent with the

new findings of Murray II.

The trial court’s finding was supported by substan-

tial evidence, particularly considering the burden of

proof on the Defendants. The panel should not be permit-

ted to substitute its judgment for that of the trial court.

Or ey ap ae

a aria 5

i ae ak ie i ee ss

13

B(2) Sole Charge

The trial court held that because the duties of the so-

called “managers” were shared by the regional manager

and that the duties of the husband-wife team were essen-

tially the same, the so-called “managers” were not in

“sole charge.” (1989 Order, Pp: 96a).

In Murray I, the panel reversed that determination

without even holding that it was “clearly erroneous.” (p.

74a). Instead, the panel relied on three trial court deci-

sions with substantially different fact patterns, in which

those trial courts held that the employee was in “sole

charge.” In one case, the parties stipulated that the

employee was “in sole charge.” Marshall v. Sally Beauty

Co., Inc., 25 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) 672, 94 Lab. Cas.

(CCH) ¥ 34207 (E.D. La. 1982). In another case, the trial

court observed that “the applicability of the sole charge

exemption is an extremely close case.” Donovan v. Waffle

House, Inc., 26 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) 868, 99 Lab. Cas.

(CCH) ¥ 34,457 (N.D. Ga. 1983). If Waffle House had been

decided the other way, it would not have been disturbed

on appeal, as in this case, because it could not be found to

be clearly erroneous.

Clearly the panel has substituted its judgment (or

perhaps more accurately the judgment of other trial

courts, in different fact patterns) for the judgment of the

trial court in this case.

14

B(3) Failure of Burden of Proof on Executive

Exemption

As noted above the trial court found that the Defen-

dants failed in their burden of proof that the employees

were exempt from the overtime provisions of the Act.

(1989 Order, Finding of Fact 29, p. 96a).

When the trial court in a law action denies recovery

because of the party’s failure to carry the burden of proof

on an issue, “no interference on appeal will occur absent

overwhelming evidence in the party’s favor that only one

reasonable inference could be drawn.” (Emphasis sup-

plied). Bebensee v. Ives, 409 N.W.2d 710, 712 (lowa App.

1987); see Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S.

564, 573-76 (1985).

As noted in footnote 1, the question of whether the

so-called “executive” is “bona fide” is a question of fact.

Where so much depends on the inferences to be

drawn and the credibility of the witnesses as in this case,

the panel was not justified in overturning this finding.

B(4) Supervising Two or More Employees

On remand, the trial court held that the Petitioners

did not customarily and regularly supervise two or more

other employees as required by 29 C.FR. 541.1(b). (p.

34a). The “customarily and regularly” requirement was

the fighting issue on this finding.

In Murray II, the panel held that the trial court did

not have discretion to find in favor of Plaintiffs, in spite

of the fact that in Murray I, the same panel remanded for

15

a finding of fact on that issue, noting that this was a

contested issue at trial. (p. 73a).

The panel relied primarily on a so-called study by

and the testimony of Anthony Naughton and ignored

substantial evidence to the contrary. The panel noted that

the trial court “entirely discounted this study and Naugh-

ton’s testimony because there were gaps in the records

analyzed.” Murray II, (p. 9a).

But neither the trial court nor Naughton said that.

Naughton said and the trial court noted that the records

“were not very complete” and that Naughton had not

brought any original records into the court room. (1993

Order, pp. 29a-30a). This certainly bears on the credibility

of Naughton’s testimony, and the trial court’s opinion

was based in part on credibility. (p. 34a). The trial court

also noted that two former regional managers testified

that during the winter time the stores were pretty much

manned by the so-called “manager” and the spouse. (pp.

30a-31la). The trial court also noted, and had earlier

found, that employees were pressured into falsifying

records (p. 34a), thereby enhancing the credibility prob-

lem.

Rejecting inferences drawn by the trial court from

those facts, the panel attempted to excuse the lack of

records. (Murray II, p. 9a). The panel’s excuse completely

ignores the obligations of employers under the Act to

maintain and preserve records (29 U.S.C. § 211(c)) (and to

not falsify the records) and completely ignores Defen-

dants’ burden of proof on all factual matters related to

the executive exemption.

16

The panel then suggested that fifteen managers testi-

fied that they “regularly” supervised two or more

employees. Id. The panel never claimed that the alleged

“managers” customarily and regularly supervised two or

more employees. But even more importantly, the testi-

mony of the so-called “managers” does not rise to the

level attributed to it by the panel. Their testimony said

nothing about frequency. None of them testified that they

customarily and regularly supervised two or more

employees.

For example Harley Blair testified in his deposition,

with respect to frequency that in the winter time the

hours of work of the other employees did not add up to

80 (Blair Dep. p. 19).

For further example, Carol Lewis testified that at any

given time “There would be my husband and sometimes

one other person” (emphasis supplied) (p. 14 of her depo-

sition). This testimony was grossly misrepresented by

Defendants in their brief in the Court of Appeals prior to

the decision in Murray II when Defendants changed the

word “sometimes” to “always.” So much for “customarily

and regularly.”

While discussing testimony that only the “manager”

and the manager’s spouse worked during the winter

months, the panel speculates that “ . . . if those stores

needed substantial part time help during busier winter

days, the two-full-time-equivalent would still be satis-

fied. That no doubt explains why Naughton’s study

refuted some of this testimony.” (Emphasis supplied)

Murray II, (p. 11a)

17

Once again, the panel clearly drew speculative infer-

ences different than the trial court's findings, which were

based on substantial evidence. Ignoring this substantial

evidence, the panel substituted its judgment of the facts

for that of the trial court.2

The panel then claims, based on erroneous arithme-

tic, admittedly “not very complete records”, some of

which had been falsified, and conflicting testimony, that

the so-called “managers” supervised two or more

employees 98.2% of the time, stating that 1,454 store

weeks were analyzed by Naughton. This is all the more

remarkable when we remember that the panel held in

Murray I that this was a contested issue. Id. Plaintiffs

respectfully submit that the panel’s numbers are erro-

neous when compared to the exhibit. But Exhibit A-24

substantiates Naughton’s testimony that the records were

“not very complete.”

The panel noted that “the case focuses on the three

years immediately preceding May 30, 1985.” (p. 4a). The

panel also noted that the Naughton study covered nearly

30 store-years of operations (p. 9a). There are 28 Plaintiffs

and of course 52 weeks in each year. Three years times 52

trial court and substituted its judgment for that of the trial court

It is not enough to establish “clearly erroneous” to state as

the panel did in Murray II that certain evidence “supports

Stuckey’s contention” (p. 10a). In fact that language supports

the statement in Murray I that this was a contested issue.

18

weeks times 28 Plaintiffs (3 x 52 x 28) equals 4,368 work

weeks. The 1,454 weeks referred to by the panel is less

than one-third of the work weeks involved in the three

year period. The nearly “30 store-years of operations” is

just over one-third of the 3-year period. (28 x 3 = 84). This

again supports Naughton’s testimony that the records

were not very complete and affects the credibility of the

study, and the trial court’s finding was based on cred-

ibility.

The only original record on this issue and in evidence

in this case supports the trial court’s finding and negates

the testimony of Naughton and the conclusion drawn by

the panel. Exhibit “B” to Plaintiffs’ Trial Ex. 3 (repro-

duced in the Appendix at p. 152a), is a true and correct

copy of the labor budget of the Little Sioux store. Exhibit

B shows that during only about one-third of the weeks

(11 out of 30) were there 2 or more employees being

supervised.

In addition, credibility was an important issue in this

case. The trial court was justified when it discredited

testimony based on records that had been falsified and

“were not very complete.”

Other credibility problems also existed. Defendants,

in addition to pressuring employees to falsify records,

falsely responded to interrogatories. (1989 Order, Find-

ings of Fact 31 and 32, p. 98a). The panel should have

permitted the trial court to be the sole judge of the

credibility of the witnesses as required by Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 52(a).

19

B(5) Exercising Discretionary Powers

On remand the trial court held that the Petitioners

did not “customarily and regularly exercise discretionary

powers” as required by 29 CFR 541.1(d). (1993 Order, p.

38a). Again the fighting issue on remand was the under-

lined words “customarily and regularly.”

In Murray II, the panel then held (after remand to

make a finding on that issue) that the trial court did not

have any discretion to find that Plaintiffs lacked discre-

tionary authority. (pp. 14a-16a). The panel ignored the

inferences drawn by the trial court and held that the so-

called “managers,” as a matter of law, “customarily and

regularly” exercised discretionary authority, even though

the same panel noted in Murray I that their discretion was

circumscribed or limited and remanded for a fact finding

on that issue.

The panel simply substituted its judgment for that of

the trial court. That substitution is evident from the lan-

guage of the panel’s opinion itself. On this issue, the

panel said “ . . . the district court took too cramped a view

of what constitutes managerial discretion... ” (p. 15a)

(emphasis supplied). The panel substituted its “view” or

judgment of the facts for that of the trial court, and

rejected the inferences drawn by the trial court.

The panel in effect holds, in spite of its remand, that

the trial court had no discretion to find as it did, or

alternatively, that the remand permitted the trial court to

find only one way even after noting in Murray I that

Petitioners’ discretion was circumscribed or limited. The

20

panel implies that the circumscribed and limited discre-

tion of the Plaintiffs exceeded the discretion of the trial

court.

Again on this issue Plaintiffs note that:

1. The duties of the “managers” and the admittedly

non-exempt employees were essentially the same.

2. The executive exemption is to be granted only in

those cases clearly and unmistakably within the terms of

the exemption.

3. The exemption is to be construed narrowly

against the employer. Arnold v. Ben Kanowsky, Inc., 361

U.S. 388, 392 (1960).

4. The burden of proof is on the employer to estab-

lish all aspects of the executive exemption.*

5. The trial court is entitled to draw inferences from

the facts.

6. Credibility issues are for the trial court.

7. The trial court is entitled to exercise its discretion

in drawing inferences from the facts.

3 Finally, the panel’s holdings on the “executive” exemp-

tion in both Murray I and Murray II overlooked the “salary test”

requirements of 29 C.F.R. § 541.118. Defendants had the burden

of proof but presented no evidence to prove that Plaintiffs were

paid “on a salary basis” without deductions for sickness pur-

suant to 29 C.F.R. § 541.118. Uncontroverted testimony by both a

regional manager (Denninger dep., pp. 49-53) and Gladys Mur-

ray (Trial Tr. I, 49) showed that such deductions were in fact

made.

21

Since the factual tests for the “executive” exemption

are in the conjunctive, the judgment of the trial court

must be reinstated if the Court of Appeals was in error in

setting aside any one of the five findings of fact. If the

Court of Appeals was in error as to “primary duty” the

judgment as to Russell Renecker (the only Petitioner paid

more than $250 per week for some, but not all, weeks)

must be substantially enhanced since the trial court

treated Murray I as the law of the case on that issue on

remand. Petitioners believe they have demonstrated that

the Court of Appeals erred as to all five factual matters.

But error on any one is enough to require judgment for

Plaintiffs.

As noted earlier, in both General Industries, supra and

Icicle, supra, the trial court made findings of fact in favor

of the employer which were reversed by the Court of

Appeals and this Court reversed the findings of the court

of appeals.

Petitioners submit that the same standard of review

Should be applied by the Court of Appeals when the

worker wins in the trial court as when the employer wins

in the trial court.

As a matter of fact, it reasonably can be argued that

there is more reason to affirm a trial court when the trial

court finds in favor of the worker than when the trial

court finds in favor of the employer. First of all, the

burden of proof on the exemption issue is on the

employer. Secondly, the FLSA is a remedial act and

exemptions are to be construed narrowly against the

employer. Thirdly, exemptions are to be applied only to

22

those clearly and unmistakably within the terms and

spirit of the exemption.

Those considerations suggest that findings of fact in

favor of workers on exemptions should be less readily set

aside than findings of fact in favor of employers.

C. The Holdings of the Eighth Circuit also Con-

flict with Recent Decisions in the Fifth Circuit,

the Third Circuit, and the Eleventh Circuit

Dalheim v. KDFW-TV, 918 F.2d 1220 (5th Cir. 1990),

involved the 13(a)(1) exemption, as does this case. A

principal issue in Dalheim involved the question of “pri-

mary duty,” as did Murray I. The trial court found in

favor of the workers and against the employer on the

“primary duty” and the exemption.

The employer invited the Fifth Circuit to set aside the

trial court’s findings. The Fifth Circuit declined to do so,

citing Icicle Seafoods Inc., supra, and General Industries,

supra.

The Fifth Circuit noted that the Section 13(a)(1)

exemption is to be “construed narrowly against the

employer” and that the employer bears the burden of

proof on the issue of exemption. 918 F.2d at 1224. The

Fifth Circuit went on to state that the employer ” . . . must

demonstrate clear error to prevail.” Id. at 1226.

The court also said that:

“.,. the... exemptions claimed by (the

employer) requires the district court to infer

23

from its findings of historical fact what consti-

tutes the employees’ ‘primary duty’ ” Id. at 1227

(emphasis supplied).

Under Rule 52(a) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure, inferences are for the trial court and can be set

aside only if “clearly erroneous.” See Dalheim, supra,

where the court said at p. 1226:

“For example, whether an employee’s work is

‘original and creative’ in character and whether

such work is an employee's ‘primary duty’ are based

on inferences from historical facts. Such inferences

ae also reviewed for clear error” (emphasis

supplied).

See also Brock v. Mr. W. Fireworks Inc., 814 F.2d 1042, 1044

(Sth Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 924 (1987) where it is

made plain that “inferences from facts . . . are questions

of fact that we may set aside only if clearly erroneous,”

citing Icicle, supra.

The trial court’s findings of fact, based upon the

inferences drawn by the court, can only be set aside for

clear error according to the doctrine of Dalheim, supra.

The Murray I opinion did not even claim that there was

clear error with respect to the findings of fact set aside in

Murray I, nor could it. The findings of fact in our case

were amply supported by the evidence as is demon-

strated above.

The Eighth Circuit, in reversing the trial court as to

the 13(a)(1) exemption and setting aside the inferences

drawn by the trial court, has clearly used a different

standard of review than the Fifth Circuit in affirming the

trial court in Dalheim, supra.

24

Even more recently the Third Circuit in Martin v.

Cooper Electric Supply Co., 940 F.2d 896 (3rd Cir. 1991),

declined to accept an employer’s invitation to set aside

the trial court’s findings of fact in favor of workers as to a

Section 13(a)(1) exemption.

In Martin, supra, the Third Circuit cited Dalheim,

supra, Icicle, supra, General Industries, supra, and Arnold,

supra, and adopted the teaching of those cases.

Additionally the Third Circuit noted that:

“ ...if the record is unclear as to some exemp-

tion requirement, the employer will be held not

to have satisfied its burden.” (emphasis sup-

plied) 940 F.2d at 900.

Similarly, in Brock v. Norman’s Country Market, Inc.,

835 F.2d 823 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 487 U.S. 1205

(1988) the Eleventh Circuit declined the employer’s invi-

tation to overturn the trial court’s findings of fact in favor

of the workers.

In that case the trial court, like the trial court here,

had stated:

“Because Defendants have failed to sustain their

burden of proving that the primary duty of these

employees was the management of their departments,

the court must conclude that they are not

exempt as executives under either of the regula-

tion tests” (emphasis supplied) (p. 826).

The Eleventh Circuit noted that:

“The burden of proving the applicability of the

executive exemption is upon the Defendant. The

exemption is to be applied only to those clearly

25

and unmistakably within the terms and Spirit of

the exemption” (p. 826).

and then went on to hold that:

“It has been well settled that the District Court

has the opportunity to observe the witnesses

and their demeanor, and is, therefore in the best

position to make credibility* determinations,

subject only to the clearly erroneous rule of

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52(a).” (p. 826).

The Eleventh Circuit panel concluded that:

“After carefully reviewing the record, we agree

with the district court’s determination. The

employees in questions were nothing more than

‘working foremen’. Although each of them may

have had a duty which is normally recognized

as that of a manager’s responsibility, looking at

each one individually and at the actual work

performed, we cannot say they qualified as a

‘bona fide executive’ .” (emphasis supplied) Id.

* Responderts’ credibility was seriously at issue at trial. In

response to interrogatories Respondents had claimed only four

Previous investigations under FLSA. Later after Plaintiffs had

made Freedom of Information requests as to previous investiga-

tions, and in response to Requests for Admissions, Respondents

admitted numerous additional investigations, claims, Ppay-

ments, and promises to comply with FLSA. (Findings of Fact 31

and 32, P- 98a).

26

D. The Eighth Circuit has so far Departed from the

Accepted and Usual Course of Judicial Proceed-

ings as to Call for an Exercise of this Court’s

Power of Supervision.

Rule 10.1(a) of the Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States suggests as one of the reasons for the grant

of certiorari:

“When a United States Court of Appeals

has . . . so far departed from the accepted and

usual course of judicial proceedings . . . as to

call for an exercise of this Court’s power of

supervision.”

Petitioners herein submit that the action of the three-

judge panel of the Eighth Circuit cries out for the exercise

of this Court’s power of supervision.

The decisions of the panel in Murray I and Murray II

are not only in conflict with previous decisions of this

Court (Section B of this Petition) and in conflict with

other courts of appeal (Section C of this Petition). The

decision of the panel has also departed from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings.

To the best of Petitioners’ knowledge there have been

no reported cases where a Court of Appeals has over-

turned findings of fact by the trial court in favor of

workers as to “primary duty” with respect to employees

making less than $250 per week or failure to sustain the

burden of proof as to the “executive” exemption. This is

easily understandable in light of the burden of proof, the

remedial nature of the statute, strict construction of the

Act against the employer, and the teaching of Icicle, supra,

and General Industries, supra.

27

Petitioners are even more confident that there have

been no reported decisions in which a Court of Appeals

has set aside five Separate findings of fact, letting stand

findings of fact conflicting with the new findings by the

Court of Appeals. As heretofore noted any one of the

findings erroneously set aside would justify the judgment

of the trial court.

Petitioners respectfully submit then that the three-

judge panel of the Eighth Circuit, under those circum-

stances, has dramatically departed from the accepted and

usual course of judicial Proceedings. Petitioners further

respectfully submit that those circumstances call for an

exercise of this Court's power of supervision.

S

CONCLUSION

The standard of review should not be different

depending on whether the employer or the worker

prevailed in the trial court.5 Nor should the standard of

review be different in the Eighth Circuit than in the Fifth

Circuit, the Third Circuit, or the Eleventh Circuit. The

Eighth Circuit’s action so far departs from the accepted

and usual course of judicial proceedings as to call for an

exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.

> This is a case involving employees at the lowest end of the

economic spectrum - those being paid less than $250 per week.

The act was designed to protect those on the lowest end of the

economic spectrum. This is not a case involving highly paid

employees as in Freeman v. National Broadcasting Co., Inc., 846

F.Supp. 1109 (S.D.N.Y. 1993).

28

For those reasons Petitioners respectfully pray that

this Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be granted.

Petitioners pray further pursuant to Rule 16.1 of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, that this

Court order that all five findings of fact of the trial court

be reinstated, that the trial courts’ judgment of April 15,

1994 be reinstated, and that the matter be remanded to

the trial court for recomputation of damages to Russell

Renecker.

DATED at Sioux City, Iowa, July 6, 1995.

P. L. NyMANN

and

STEVEN C. KOHL

On the Petition

Respectfully submitted,

P. L. NYMANN

520 Pierce Street, Suite 383

P.O. Box 1825

Sioux City, lowa 51102

Telephone: (712) 258-0101

Facsimile: (712) 258-0103

Counsel of Record

STEVEN C. KOHL

520 Pierce Street, Suite 383

P.O. Box 1825

Sioux City, Iowa 51102

Telephone: (712) 258-0101

Facsimile: (712) 258-0103

Co-Counsel for Petitioners

la

APPENDIX A

United States Court of Appeals

for the Eighth Circuit

Nos. 94-2167 and 94-2172

Gladys Murray, for herself and all *

others similarly situated; consent *

to become parties plaintiff: Floyd *

Caskey; Allan Christiansen; Donald *

Scott; Deborah L. Hoyt; Russell C.

Renecker; Eugene A. Rutledge;

Lawrence B. Taylor; Warren

Kajander; Jeannette (Petrimoulx)

Arbuckle; Kinney Bryant; Carol S.

Lewis; Harley Blair; Thomas

Miller; Sandra L. Crist; Larry

Brown; Randy Bushnell; Bobbie

Cockrell; Mary T. Cope; Stanley

Dixon; Thomas Foster; Edward

Geisenheimer; Rae Jean Hamilton;

* Appeals from the

Loren Jacoby; Donald Phillips; .

United States

District Court for

the Northern

District of Iowa.

Joy M. Powers; Arthur Stotts;

David Tompkins,

Plaintiffs / Appellees /

Cross-Appellants,

Sidney Murray; Christine

Christiansen; Roger D. Hoyt; Carol

Renecker; Bettye Bryant; James L.

Lewis; Joyce Tompkins; Veralyn

Blair; Sandra L. Crist, in her

capacity as executrix of the estate

iii:

2a

of Kenneth L. Crist; Rita Miller;

Michael Hamilton; Anna M. Foster;

Joni Bushnell; Lois Louise Phillips;

Adrienne Geisenheimer; Sharon

Jacoby; Bonnie Stotts; Linda M.

Brown; Bev Caskey; Michelle Scott;

Kevin Murray; Joylene Taylor;

William Pohlman; Robert Pohlman;

Nancy Pohlman; Robert Kajander;

Tony Tompkins; Tracy Tompkins;

Georgia Phillips; Tammy Moore;

Bonita Dixon; Charles Brown,

Plaintiffs,

V.

Stuckey’s, Inc.; Pet, Incorporated,

Defendants /Appellants/

Cross-Appellees.

gh ee Ns ok ee ee OS eo oe ee ee a te

Submitted: December 13, 1994

Filed: March 20, 1995

Before BOWMAN, MAGILL, and LOKEN, Circuit Judges

LOKEN, Circuit Judge.

“Bona fide executive” employees are exempt from

the overtime requirements of the Fair Labor Standards

Act (FLSA). See 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1). In Murray v.

Stuckey’s, Inc., 939 F.2d 614 (8th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 502

U.S. 1073 (1992) (Murray I), we reversed a damage award

3a

employees - having management as their primary duty,

and being solely in charge of a Physically separated

branch establishment. See 29 C.ER. § 541.1(a), (e).

On remand, after again reviewing the record from its

non-jury trial, the district court concluded that the man-

agers did not meet two other criteria specified in the

regulations — that an exempt executive must regularly

supervise two or more other employees and must regu-

larly exercise discretionary Powers. See 29 C.E.R.

§ 541.1(b), (d). The court recalculated compensatory and

liquidated damages, awarded additional attorney’s fees,

and entered judgment in favor of the plaintiff managers.

Stuckey’s, Inc., and its Parent, Pet, Incorporated

(“Stuckey’s”), again appeal, raising a variety of issues.

We hold that the managers were exempt executive

employees and therefore reverse.

I. Background.

We will only briefly restate the background facts

summarized in Murray I. Before it failed, Stuckey’s oper-

ated combination gas stations, restaurants, and conve-

nience stores, primarily in rural locations on interstate

highways. Each store’s resident manager was Paid a

weekly salary plus potential bonuses. If the manager was

married, Stuckey’s hired the spouse as an hourly

employee at just above the minimum wage. Gladys and

Sidney Murray are former employees at Stuckey’s stores

4a

in Randall and Little Sioux, Iowa. On May 30, 1985, the

Murrays commenced this action, alleging that Stuckey’s

had failed to compensate managers and spouses for over-

time as required by the FLSA. Other managers and

hourly employees filed written consents and joined the

suit. See 29 U.S.C. § 216(b). Because of the applicable

statute of limitations, the case focuses on the three years

immediately preceding May 30, 1985, a period in which

Stuckey’s was unsuccessfully attempting to turn around

its unprofitable operations.

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid

1'/2 times their regular hourly rate for hours worked in

excess of forty per week. See 29 U.S.C. § 207(a)(1). This

requirement does not apply to “any employee employed

in a bona fide executive . . . capacity . . . (as such terms

are defined and delimited from time to time by regula-

tions of the Secretary [of Labor]).” 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1).

The Secretary first promulgated regulations to “define

and delimit” the executive employee exemption in Octo-

ber 1938. See Annot., 151 A.L.R. 1089, 1089 n.1 (1944). The

current regulations define an “employee employed in a

bona fide executive capacity” as one:

(a) whose “primary duty” consists of the man-

agement of a recognized subdivision of the

employer’s enterprise; and

(b) who “customarily and regularly directs the

work of two or more other employees”; and

(c) who “has the authority to hire or fire other

employees” or who makes recommendations as

to hiring, firing, and promoting that are “given

particular weight”; and

5a

(d) who “customarily and regularly exercises

discretionary powers”; and

(e) who devotes less than 40 percent of the

work week to nonexempt activities, or “is in

sole charge of ...a physically separated branch

establishment.”

29 C.FR. § 541.1.1 In Murray I, we resolved the “primary

duty” and “sole charge” issues in favor of Stuckey’s.

Because the managers concede that they had authority to

hire and fire other employees, we are now concerned

only with criteria (b) and (d), whether the managers

“customarily and regularly” supervised at least two other

employees and exercised discretionary powers. Stuckey’s

has the burden of Proof regarding these issues. See Wall-

ing v. General Indus. Co., 330 U.S. 545, 547-48 (1947).

II. Supervising Two or More Employees.

Until 1949, the Secretary’s regulations required only

that an exempt executive employee “customarily and reg-

ularly directs the work of other employees.” General

Industries, 330 U.S. at 548 n.6. That year, without explana-

tion, the Department added the “two or more other

employees” language presently found in 29 C.FR.

§ 541.1(b). See 14 Fed. Reg. 5573, 14 Fed. Reg. 7705, 7706

(1949). A companion regulation clarified that an exempt

' This is the so-called “long test.” Employees who earn at

least $250 per week are exempt executives if they meet the first

two of these requirements, the so-called “short test.” 29 C.ER.

§ 541.1(f). Some of the Stuckey’s managers fe'] into each earn-

ings category. The distinction does not affect this appeal.

6a

executive must supervise the equivalent of two or more

full-time employees:

Two or more other employees.

(a) An employee will qualify as an “execu-

tive” under § 541.1 only if he customarily and

regularly supervises at least two full-time

employees or the equivalent. For example, if the

“executive” supervises one full-time and two

part-time employees of whom one works morn-

ings and one, afternoons; or four part-time

employees, two of whom work mornings and

two afternoons, this requirement would be met.

14 Fed. Reg. 7730, 7731-32 (1949), codified at 29 C.ER.

§ 541.105(a).

In Murray I we commented briefly on the two-

employee issue in remanding the store managers’ claims

to the district court:

The district court did not reach this issue. The

evidence included Stuckey’s labor budget docu-

ments, which appear to reflect that all Stuckey’s

store managers supervised the equivalent of at

least two other full-time employees at all times.

Since the district court concluded that these

labor budgets understated the labor needed to

run the stores, it seems likely that Stuckey’s met

its burden of proof as to this factor. However,

this was a contested issue at trial, and it appears

that the district court deferred rulings on the

admissibility of other evidence Stuckey’s sub-

mitted on the question. Under these circum-

stances, it would be inappropriate for us to

resolve this issue in the first instance.

7a

939 F.2d at 620. On remand, neither side supplemented

the trial record, and the district court did not exclude any

trial evidence. The court held that Stuckey’s failed to

meet its burden of proof on this issue because it relied

upon an incomplete analysis of payroll records, because

there was testimony that only two people ran some low-

volume stores in the winter, and because Stuckey’s “did

not submit direct evidence on the volume of each store.”

Stuckey’s contends that this decision reflects errors of fact

and law. Unlike the record before us in Murray I,

Stuckey’s has now Provided the full trial record for our

consideration of this issue.

There was undisputed trial testimony that Stuckey’s

hired a new management team in early 1982, the start of

the period at issue in this lawsuit. Charged with the task

of making Stuckey’s profitable, the new Senior Vice Presi-

dent of Store Operations, George Davis, developed new

weekly labor schedules for the various stores. These

schedules recommended the hours of operation and the

work force for each day of the week, taking into account

normal customer traffic flows. The schedules recom-

mended a smaller work force for stores with lower sales

volumes. In most parts of the country, the schedules also

recommended shorter hours of operation and correspon-

dingly reduced labor expense in the winter months, when

there is less highway traffic.

In 1982 and 1983, the labor schedule with the smallest

recommended work force was the October 28, 1982, win-

ter schedule for stores having up to $5,000 per week in

total sales. That schedule recommended store hours of

7:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m., seven days a week, staffed by the

manager working sixty hours per week, the manager’s

8a

spouse working forty hours, and five part-time

employees working a total of sixty-seven additional

hours per week.? In January 1984, Davis circulated a new

schedule for stores electing to close on Mondays that

winter. It showed the manager and spouse at sixty and

forty hours per week, and three part-time employees at

38-40 hours. By contrast, the January 1984 schedule for

small-volume stores remaining open on winter Mondays

called for four part-time employees working sixty hours

per week in addition to the manager and his or her

spouse.

The parties agree that the manager’s spouse was an

hourly employee supervised by the store manager. Thus,

as we noted in Murray I, if Davis’s labor schedules were

followed, all Stuckey’s store managers supervised the

equivalent of at least two other full-time employees at all

times.

Most of plaintiffs’ trial evidence was aimed at pro-

ving that Davis’s labor schedules significantly understated

the work force needed to operate Stuckey’s stores, forcing

the managers’ spouses to work long hours “off the clock”

without overtime pay. All trial witnesses agreed that two

employees were needed to operate a store; plaintiffs’

witnesses opined that three employees were needed to

operate a store properly. At plaintiffs’ urging, the district

court in its first post-trial decision found “that there were

2 It is clear from the regulations that this criterion is met if

an employee supervises several part-time employees whose

total hours of work are the equivalent of two full-time

employees. See 29 C.F.R. § 541.105(a); Marshall v. Hudson Sta-

tions, Inc., 24 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) 260 (D. Kan. 1979).

9a

not sufficient hours Projected into the labor schedule.”

Based upon that finding, the court made substantial over-

time awards to the hourly plaintiffs, and we affirmed

those awards in Murray I. On remand, however, the dis-

trict court simply ignored this essential aspect of the case

in addressing the two-or-more-employees issue.

Stuckey’s permitted individual store managers to

deviate from the labor schedules with the approval of

their regional managers. Therefore, in an effort to provide

more specific evidence on this issue, Stuckey’s analyzed

voluminous payroll records from many of the stores at

Which the plaintiff managers worked during the

1982-1985 period. Anthony Naughton, a Stuckey’s

accountant, summarized the results of this study at trial.

A total of 1454 store weeks were analyzed. In 1428 of

those weeks, or 98.2% of the total, the store manager

supervised two or more other employees who worked

more than eighty total hours. In eleven of the remaining

weeks, the manager supervised two or more employees

who worked 75-80 hours. In the remaining fifteen weeks,

the manager Supervised two or more employees who

worked only 61-74 hours.

10a

testimony. We conclude that the district court erred in

rejecting this highly relevant evidence.

Many plaintiff managers testified briefly on this

issue. For example, manager Russell Renecker admitted

that he supervised as many as eight or ten employees,

and never fewer than two, during the period in question.

The district court credited this testimony, but then found,

“There were other Russell Reneckers out there but the

evidence was not presented to this court.” That finding is

clearly erroneous. We have read the testimony of the

many plaintiff managers who testified by deposition, tes-

timony that was not in the record on appeal in Murray I.

Fifteen other managers testified that they regularly

supervised two or more employees who worked more

than eighty hours per week.? In most cases, this testi-

mony is confirmed by the Naughton study. The other

twelve managers* did not testify directly on this issue,

but their descriptions of store operating hours and

employees supervised, combined with the Naughton

study of their stores, support Stuckey’s contention that

they, too, regularly supervised the equivalent of two or

more full-time employees.

3 Harley Blair, Larry Brown, Kinney Bryant, Randy Bush-

nell, Floyd Caskey, Allan Christiansen, Mary Cope, Thomas

Foster, Deborah Hoyt, Warren Kajander, Thomas Miller, Jean-

nette Arbuckle, Eugene Rutledge, Donald Scott, Lawrence Tay-

lor.

4 Gladys Murray, Carol Lewis, Bobbie Cockrell, Sandra

Crist, Stanley Dixon, Edward Geisenheimer, Rae Jean Hamilton,

Loren Jacoby, Donald Phillips, Joy Powers, Arthur Stotts, and

David Tompkins.

lla

The remaining evidence on this issue consisted of

testimony that some Stuckey’s stores were SO unsuccess-

ful that only the manager and spouse worked some days

during the winter. Of course, if those stores needed sub-

stantial part-time help during busier winter days, the

two-full-time-equivalent criterion would still be satisfied.

That no doubt explains why Naughton’s Study refuted

some of this testimony. Nonetheless, it is to some extent

credible, and Naughton’s Study confirmed that there

were some weeks in which some Stuckey’s store man-

agers did not supervise two full-time-equivalent

employees. However, for the following reasons, we con-

clude that this evidence does not refute Stuckey’s proof

that its store managers “customarily and regularly” met

this criterion.

First, as the regulations elsewhere Provide, custom-

arily and regularly “signifies a frequency which must be

greater than occasional but which, of course, may be less

than constant.” 29 C.ER. § 541.107(b). We disagree with

the comment that “76 percent of the time . . . falls short of

‘regular and customary’ ” in Secretary of Labor v. Daylight

Dairy Prods., Inc., 779 F.2d 784, 788 (1st Cir. 1985). But in

any event, Stuckey’s study of a large sample showed that

store managers Supervised at least two or more

employees who worked eighty hours per week 98.2% of

the time. That is “customarily and regularly” by any

definition.

Second, although forty hours per week is generally

the equivalent of a full-time employee, the Department of

Labor in applying this regulation recognizes that this is

not a rigid standard. Paragraph 22c00 of the Wage and

12a

Hour Division, U.S. Department of Labor, Field Operations

Handbook states in part:

Two full-time employees or the equivalent

within the meaning of Reg 541.105(a) is gener-

ally considered to mean 80 hours of work by

subordinate employees. . . . Unusual circum-

stances might occasionally justify lower stan-

dards. . . . The determination as to whether an

employee customarily and regularly supervises

other employees within the meaning of Reg

541.1(b) depends on all the facts and circum-

stances.>

In our view, we should not interpret this regulation more

rigidly than the Department does in enforcing it. Courts

undermine the statute when they construe regulations

more inflexibly than the enforcing agency.

Finally, even if the Department considered two full-

time equivalent employees an inflexible requirement, we

would not rigidly apply it to this case. The Department’s

only published justification for this rule is the statement

in the regulations, “It has been the experience of the

divisions that a supervisor of a[s] few as two employees

usually performs nonexempt work in excess of the gen-

eral 20-percent tolerance provided in § 541.1.” 29 CFR.

§ 541.105(c). That justification is,inapplicable here

because employees in sole charge of a physically separate

branch establishment, like Stuckey’s store managers, are

> Counsel included this portion of the Field Operations

Handbook in the record on appeal. Inquiring at our request, an

Eighth Circuit librarian was told by the Department that the full

Handbook is obtainable only by a formal Freedom of Informa-

tion Act demand.

13a

exempt from the twenty-percent requirement. See 29

C.F.R. § 541.1(e).

Stuckey’s adopted nationwide labor schedules rec-

ommending that its managers employ more than two full-

time employees per week. Plaintiffs’ witnesses testified,

and the district court found, that these schedules were, if

anything, too lean. The company then fell on hard times

and, in the years just Prior to its failure, some of the

managers testified that they operated small rural stores

on a skeletal basis in the winter, rather than closing

altogether. In our view, these were unusual circumstances

that do not alter the fact that Stuckey’s store managers

customarily and regularly Supervised the work of at least

two other full-time equivalent employees. The district

court’s contrary decision is reversed.

III. Exercising Discretionary Powers.

To qualify for the executive exemption, Stuckey’s

must prove that its store managers “customarily and

regularly exercise[d] discretionary powers.” 29 C.F.R.

§ 541.1(d). The regulations at 29 C.ER. § 541.107 further

refine this criterion:

Discretionary powers.

eae person whose work is so com-

pletely routinized that he has no discretion does

not qualify for exemption.

(b) The phrase “customarily and regu-

larly” signifies a frequency which must be

greater than occasional but which, of course,

may be less than constant. The requirement will

be met by the employee who normally and

l4a

recurrently is called upon to exercise and does

exercise discretionary powers in the day-to-day

performance of his duties. The requirement is

not met by the occasional exercise of discretion-

ary powers.

In Murray I, we concluded: “Although the record seems

clear that store managers . . . were ‘normally and recur-

rently . . . called upon to exercise . . . discretionary

powers in the day-to-day performance of [their] duties,’

29 C.F.R. § 541.107(b), we again will remand to the dis-

trict court for initial consideration of [this issue].” 939

F.2d at 620.

On remand, the district court found that “[w]hat little

discretion the managers did exercise on a day-to-day

basis was so circumscribed as to be no discretion at all.”

This finding was based on the testimony of various man-

agers that their authority was limited by company poli-

cies and training manuals, by the recommended labor

schedules, and by the need to obtain the regional man-

ager’s approval to fire an employee, to alter the com-

pany-prescribed store inventory, to make repairs costing

more than $25.00, and so forth. Thus, concluded the dis-

trict court, the manager’s “work is so completely rou-

tinized that he has no discretion” within the meaning of

29 C.F.R. § 541.107(a).

In Murray I, we determined that management was the

store managers’ primary duty and that they were in sole

charge of the isolated stores. At one level, therefore, these

managers clearly exercised constant discretion. They

were responsible for the initial handling of any emer-

gency that threatened these significant company assets,

such as fire, theft, vandalism, sudden employee absences,

q

:

f

3

S

3

z

15a

and so forth. The fact that such emergencies did not often

occur does not justify the district court’s complete refusal

to recognize this aspect of the managers’ responsibilities.

An employer such as Stuckey’s must have at each physi-

cally separate facility one employee with the mandate to

“the day-to-day performance of his [or her] duties.” 29

C.F.R. § 541.107(b).

Even ignoring emergency situations and focusing on

more normal day-to-day activities, we conclude that the

district court took too cramped a view of what constitutes

managerial discretion, resulting in clearly erroneous find-

ings on this issue. Most if not all nationwide companies

with multiple outlets establish standardized Procedures

and policies to guide individual store managers. This

Practice may circumscribe but it does not eliminate the

discretion of the on-site manager of an isolated store who

is responsible for day-to-day operations. Similarly, active

supervision and periodic visits by a regional manager do

not eliminate the day-to-day discretion of the on-site

store manager. See Donovan v, Waffle House, Inc., 26 Wage

& Hour Cas. (BNA) 868, 874 (N.D. Ga. 1983); Marshall v.

Saliy Beauty Co., 25 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) 672 (E.D.

La. 1982).

In this case, various store managers testified that

they hired other employees; scheduled employee work

hours; trained and disciplined other employees; ordered

store inventories; and handled customer complaints

under Stuckey’s general “the customer is always right”

policy. In considering whether branch store managers

were exempt executive employees, the court in Sally

l6a

Beauty Co., 25 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) at 673, con-

cluded:

The store manager’s position entails a vari-

ety of daily administrative and managerial

duties. Opening and closing the store falls

within the managers’ responsibility, in addition

to their discretionary functions in scheduling

employee hours, customer relations, and order-

ing merchandise. The exclusive authority to

grant discounts and markdowns, extend credit

and approve checks, and to resolve customer

complaints is vested with the managers. Inven-

tory maintenance and display techniques consti-

tute another aspect of the manager’s job. The

aforesaid duties thus require the managers to

customarily and regularly exercise discretionary

powers within the strictures of 29 C.F.R.

§§ 541.1(d) and 541.107.

We agree with this interpretation of the regulations.

Therefore, the district court’s finding that Stuckey’s failed

to prove that the store managers customarily and regu-

larly exercised discretionary powers is clearly erroneous.

IV. Conclusion.

The plaintiff store managers were bona fide executive

employees exempt from the FLSA’s maximum hours pro-

visions. The judgment of the district court in favor of

these plaintiffs is reversed and the case is remanded with

instructions to dismiss their complaints. The district

court’s award of attorney’s fees is vacated. No fees may

be awarded for work on the store managers’ claims.

Although work on the hourly employees’ claims should

have been substantially completed prior to our decision

17a

in Murray I, on remand Plaintiffs may petition the district

court for an additional fee award if any work that was

solely on behalf of the hourly employees was included in

the fee award that we now vacate. Plaintiffs’ cross appeal

is dismissed. The costs of both appeals are taxed in favor

of Stuckey’s.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U. S. COURT OF APPEALS,

EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

18a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

for the Eighth Circuit

No. 94-2167 /2172NISC

Gladys Murray, et al.,

Appellees, , Order Denying Petition

. , for Rehearing and

, Suggestion for Rehearing

Stuckey’s Inc., et al., En Banc

Appellants. "

The suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied. The

petition for rehearing by the panel is also denied.

April 25, 1995

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Michael E. Gens

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eight Circuit

19a

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

WESTERN DIVISION

SIDNEY MURRAY and GLADYS _)

MURRAY, on behalf of themselves ) No. C 85-4085

and all others similarly situated, )

MEMORANDUM

Plaintiffs, OPINION

ae ) AND ORDER

STUCKEY’S, INC. and PET )

INCORPORATED,

Defendants. )

This matter comes before the court on defendants’

motion for summary judgment following a decision by

the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals reversing and

remanding portions of the above entitled matter to this

court. Additional hearings were held and the Parties sub-

mitted proposed findings of fact and conclusions of law

for the court’s consideration. Despite the fact that the

court requested further evidence, the parties have agreed

that no further evidence need be submitted on the

remaining issues and have requested this court to rule.

After considering the parties arguments, both oral and

written, the court finds that the defendants are not enti-

tled to the “executive exemption” for the store “man-

agers.” The court also adheres to its previous position

regarding the applicable statute of limitations and the

finding that plaintiffs are entitled to liquidated damages.

20a

In addition, after further consideration, the court finds

that the appropriate method for calculating plaintiff

“managers” hourly rate of pay is by dividing the weekly

rate by forty (40) rather than sixty (60) as originally found

by this court.

I. FACTS!

The facts in this case have been set out repeatedly in

previous orders of this court and in the decision of the

Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit.2 On May 31,

1985, plaintiffs, former “managers” and “hourly

employees” of various Stuckey’s stores throughout the

country, commenced this action under the Fair Labor

Standards Act, (FLSA), 29 U.S.C. § 201 et seq., seeking to

recover additional overtime compensation and compen-

sation for hours claimed to have been worked “off the

clock.” The matter was tried to the court from February

21, 1989 through February 25, 1989. One of the main

issues in the case was whether the “managers” of the

Stuckey’s stores were exempt under FLSA’s overtime

requirements under Section 13(a)(1) of the Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 213(a)(1). The Secretary of Labor’s regulations provide a

test for determining whether or not managers are exempt

1 This court issued a 35 page memorandum of law and

order in 1989 which contained extensive findings of fact and

conclusions of law. Those findings of fact and conclusions of

law are incorporated in this opinion as if fully set forth herein,

to the extent that they were not overturned by the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals.

2 See Murray v. Stuckey’s Inc., 939 F.2d 614 (8th Cir. 1991).

SM? PS eh Ryo ae A

GDN ARIS

od

2la

under the FLSA. The “test,” codified at 29 C.ER. § 541.1

provides:

The term “employee employed in a bona-

fide executive... capacity” in section 13(a)(1) of

the Act shall mean any employee:

(a) whose primary duty constitutes the

management of the enterprise in which he is

employed or of a customarily recognized

department of a subdivision thereof; and

(6) who customarily and regularly directs

the work of two or more other employees

therein; and

(c) who has the authority to hire and fire

other employees or whose suggestions and rec-

ommendations as to the hiring or firing and as

to the advancement and promotion or any other

change of status of other employees will be

given particular weight; and

(d) who customarily and regularly exer-

cises discretionary powers; and

(e) who does not devote more than 20%,

or, in the case of an employee of a retail or

service establishment who does not devote as

much as 40%, of his hours of work in the work

week to activities which are not directly and

closely related to the performance of the work

described in paragraphs (a) through (d) of this

subsection; provided, that this Paragraph shall

not apply in the case of an employee who is in

sole charge of an independent establishment or

a physically separated branch establishment, or

who owns at least a 20% interest in the enter-

prise in which he is employed; and

22a

(f) who is compensated for his services on

a salary basis at a rate of not less than $155.00

per week (or $130.00 per week, if employed by

other than the federal government in Puerto

Rico, the Virgin Islands, or American Samoa),

exclusive of board, lodging or other facilities:

provided, that an employee who is compensated

on a salary basis at a rate of not less than

$250.00 per week (or $200.00 per week, if

employed by other than the federal government

in Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands or American

Samoa), exclusive of board, lodging, or other

facilities, and whose primary duty consists of

the management of the enterprise in which the

employee is employed or of a customarily recog-

nized department or subdivision thereof, and

includes the customary and regular direction of

the work of two or more other employees

therein, shall be deemed to meet all the require-

ments of this section.

As noted by this court in its order of July 17, 1989, it

was necessary for the court to apply both the “long test,”

subparts (a) through (e), and the “short test,” subsection

(f), in determining whether managers in this case were

exempt under the FLSA.? The court found that. under

either test, it was important to determine if an employee's

“primary duty” was management. Based on the factors

3 The “long test” applies to those earning less than $250.00

per week and the “short test” applies to those earning more than

$250.00 per week. It is undisputed, as found in this court’s

earlier order, that all managers of Stuckey’s stores were paid at

least $155.00 per week.

23a

set forth in 29 C.ER. § 541.103,4 this court determined

that the facts in this case clearly warranted a finding that

the manager plaintiffs’ primary duties were not manage-

ment, but rather, Stuckey’s regional managers served as

the “real managers” of their stores. The court also deter-

mined that the defendants failed to establish that they

were entitled to the exemption under the “sole charge”

exception as set forth in 29 C.F.R. § 541.1(e). Because

defendants did not meet their burden with respect to the

“primary duty” Part of either the short test or the long

test or the sole charge exception, the court determined

* Section 541.103 reads:

A determination of whether an employee has man-

agement as his primary duty must be based on all the

facts in a particular case. The amount of time spent in

the performance of the manageri.l duties is a useful

guide in determining whether management is the pri-

mary duty of an employee. In the ordinary case it may

be taken as a good rule of thumb that primary duty

means the major part, or over 50%, of the employee's

time. Thus, an employee who spends over 50% of his

time in management would have management as his

primary duty. Time alone, however, is not the sole

test, and in situations where the employee does not

spend over 50% of his time in managerial duties, he

might nevertheless have management as his primary

duty if the other pertinent factors support such a

conclusion. Some of these pertinent factors are the

relative importance of the managerial duties as com-

pared with other types of duties, the frequency with

which the employee exercises discretionary powers,

his relative freedom from Supervision, and the rela-

tionship between his salary and the wages paid other

employees for the kind of nonexempt work per-

formed by the supervisor.

24a

they were not entitled to the “bona fide executive”

exemption under Section 13(a)(1) of the Act.

On appeal, a three judge panel of the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals determined that this court erred in

ruling that Stuckey’s failed to prove that the plaintiff

store managers’ primary duty was management for pur-

poses of the first part of the “bona fide executive” test, 29

C.F.R. § 541.1(a). Murray v. Stuckey’s Inc., 939 F.2d 614, 620

(8th Cir. 1991). In addition, the Eighth Circuit determined

that the Stuckey’s store managers clearly fell within the

“sole charge” criterion of 29 C.F.R. § 541.1(e), contrary to

this court’s ruling. Id. The Court of Appeals noted that

this court did not reach the issue of whether the store

managers regularly and customarily supervised two or

more employees, nor did this court reach the two other

“long test” factors; i.e. whether the managers had author-

ity to hire and fire and whether they regularly and cus-

tomarily exercised discretionary authority.> Therefore, the

Court of Appeals remanded the case to this court for

further consideration of those issues. Id.

Il. DISCUSSION

The Court of Appeals decision remanded three main

issues for further consideration by this court:

(1) Whether the Stuckey’s “managers” regularly

and customarily directed the work of two or more

employees;

5 This court did not reach those issues in its original order

because the test is conjunctive. If the defendants fail to satisfy

even one of the factors, they are not entitled to the exemption.

25a

(2) Whether the Stuckey’s “managers” had the

authority to hire or fire other employees or make recom-

mendations as to hiring, firing, and promotion that were

given particular weight; and

(3) Whether the Stuckey’s “managers” regularly

and customarily exercised discretionary powers.

The plaintiffs concede that the defendants have prob-

ably met their burden with respect to the second of these

issues; i.e. that the “managers” had the authority to hire

or fire other employees or make recommendations to that

effect. The plaintiffs concede this issue because, unlike

the other sections which require “regular and customary”

exercise of the specific authority, the section requiring

hire and fire authority does not. Therefore, the court will

consider that this issue has been Proved in favor of

defendants. It is then necessary for this court to address

the other two remaining factors in the test for the bona

fide executive exemption.

A. Supervision of Two or More Employees.

Both the “short test” and the “long test” require that

the defendants prove that each store manager custom-

arily and regularly supervised two or more employees. If

the defendants fail on their burden of Proving this factor

with respect to any one store manager, they are not

entitled to the executive exemption for that employee.

There was little or no relevant testimony concerning this

issue presented by the defendants at the original trial and

despite a clear request for more evidence the defendants

either don’t have it or made a calculated choice not to

26a

submit it on the mistaken belief they could prevail any-

way because of comments made by the Circuit Court.

In the “Interpretations,” at 29 C.F.R. § 541.105(a),

directing the work of two or more other employees is

interpreted to mean “customarily and regularly super-

vises at least two full-time employees or the equivalent.”

According to this section, the requirement is met if the

“executive” supervises one full-time and two part-time

employees of whom one works morning and one after-

noons. It is also satisfied if there are four part-time

employees, two of whom work mornings and two after-

noons. 29 C.F.R. § 541.105(a). The defendants contend

that there is substantial evidence in the record to demon-

strate that managers of stores customarily and regularly

supervised two or more full-time employees or their

equivalent, namely the testimony of the managers and

their families; the testimony of Anthony Naughton, who

reviewed payroll records; and, the testimony of George

Davis, who supplied the labor schedules. In addition,

defendants contend that the above requirements are met

when a manager supervises two or more employees, who,

in any combination work a total of 80 or more hours in a

week. Secretary of Labor v. Daylight Dairy Products, Inc.,

779 F.2d 784 (1st Cir. 1985). In other words, defendants

contend that if the manager was supervising his or her

spouse, who worked 60 hours, and one other part-time

employee who worked 21 hours, the manager would be

supervising “two or more full-time employees” within

the meaning of the regulation because he or she would be

supervising two people, who in combination, worked

more than 80 hours.

27a

The court disagrees with defendants’ interpretation

of this regulation and of the Daylight Dairy decision. The

regulation clearly requires the supervision of two or more

full-time employees or the equivalent. The interpretations

provide that the manager can supervise one full-time

employee and two part-time employees or four part-time

employees to satisfy this requirement. This regulation

cannot, however, be read to allow the supervision of one

full-time employee who is also considered a part-time

employee because he works overtime, and one other part-

time employee. Taken to its logical conclusion, the defen-

dants’ position would allow the managers to qualify for

the exemption if they supervised their spouses for 79

hours and one other employee for at least 1 hour. This

court does not believe that such a result was intended by

this regulation. Nor does the court feel that the Daylight

Dairy case stands for such a broad Proposition. The Day-

light Dairy court said:

The equivalent of two full-time employees

working 40-hour weeks is any number of part-

time employees, as long as the total number of

hours supervised exceeds 80. For example, four

persons each working 25 hours per week satisfy

the requirement, because the hours supervised

total 100.

Secretary of Labor v. Daylight Dairy Products, Inc., 779 F.2d

784, 787 (1st Cir. 1985). This holding does not encompass

counting a spouse as one full-time and one part-time

employee simply because he works overtime. Therefore,

in those instances that defendants rely on a spouse and

one other part-time employee to assert that they have

28a

satisfied the supervising two or more employees require-

ment, the court finds that they have not met their burden

of proof. As has been stated in Brock v. Norman’s Country

Market, Inc.:

The burden of proving the applicability of the

executive exemption is upon the defendant. The

exemption is to be applied only to those clearly

and unmistakably within the terms and spirit of

the exemption.

Brock v. Norman’s Country Market, Inc., 835 F.2d 823, 826

(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 108 S.Ct. 2845 (1988) (emphasis

added). The Eighth Circuit followed this same sentiment

when it stated that “[aJn employer who asserts it is

exempt from the Act ‘has the burden of establishing the

exemption affirmatively and clearly.’” Donovan v. Wil-

liams Chemical Co., Inc., 682 F.2d 185 (8th Cir. 1982) (cita-

tions omitted).

Not only have defendants failed in their burden of

proof in those instances where they rely on a spouse and

one other part-time employee to meet the “two or more

full-time employee” requirement, they have also failed in

their burden with respect to most other “managers.”

Keeping in mind that the burden of proving the appli-

cability of the exemption is on the defendants and that

the exemption is to be applied only in those cases clearly

and unmistakably within the terms and spirit of the

exemption, this court notes that the proof is insufficient

in this case. The defendants rely on the testimony of the

“managers” as to the hours worked by other employees

and their spouses; the testimony of Anthony J. Naughton

who summarized the results of a review of the existing

payroll records; and the testimony of George Davis who

29a

testified regarding the labor schedules he developed for

use at Stuckey’s. While this court is cognizant of the

comment made by the Eighth Circuit on appeal that “it

seems likely that Stuckey’s met its burden of Proof as to

this factor,” this court also notes that the record transmit-

ted on appeal “did not contain many of the relevant

portions of the trial record, including the pleadings that

set forth the manner in which each plaintiff's damages

were calculated, the trial testimony of over 40 witnesses

who testified by deposition, and many trial exhibits.”

Murray v. Stuckey’s, 939 F.2d 614, 622 n.3 (8th Cir. 1991).

Defendants’ reliance on the testimony of Anthony J.

Naughton and the existing payroll records is misplaced.

At several points in Mr. Naughton’s testimony he admit-

ted that the payroll records were not very complete. For

example, on direct examination by the defendants’ attor-

ney the following exchange took place:

Q. In connection with that, were you asked to

look at the number of hours employees worked

and the number of people supervised at the

store?

A. Yes, they were.

Q. And did you have very complete records?

A. No. They were not very complete.

Q. And were these all the records from the

Stuckey’s stores of the list of people that you

were asked to do?

A. Yes. It was the records that we could find.

(Tr. IV. 731:13-21). Ir addition, the following exchange

took place between the plaintiffs’ attorney and Mr.

Naughton:

30a

Mr. Nymann: Have you brought any of the orig-

inal records that you are referring to into this

courtroom?

The Witness: Yes, there are some.

Mr. Nymann: The original records?

The Witness: Not the source documents, no.

These are summary computer reports.

Mr. Nymann: What you brought in are your

own summaries from -

The Witness: Correct.

Mr. Nymann: And those are the records you

found not to be complete?

The Witness: Correct.

(Tr. IV. 732:12-23). Mr. Naughton made similar comments

when discussing specific plaintiff’s records. For instance,

Mr. Naughton said: “With certain weeks omitted that we

did not — were unable to find the records.” (Tr. IV.

738:13-14); and “Henryville, we did not have very good

records on.” (Tr. IV. 741:20). While Mr. Naughton’s testi-

mony indicated that there were time periods when two or

more full-time employees or their equivalent were super-

vised by some of the managers, this court cannot say that

Mr. Naughton’s testimony establishes that these “man-

agers” regularly and customarily supervised two or

more full-time employees. This is true particularly in

light of testirmony from former regional manager Dale

Roush, who testified that at the lower volume stores there

was a great many times in the winter months that the

labor schedules were cut so much that there would only

be two people to run the store. (Roush Deposition p.42).

Furthermore, former regional manager Marvin Mangers

3la

testified by deposition that during the winter-time the

“manager” of the stores performed routine clerical duties

at least 40 percent of their time “because in the winter-

time they was about the only employee there . “i

(Manger Deposition p.14). Mangers further testified that

depending on the volume of the Store in the winter-time

the store was pretty much manned by the man and wife.

(Manger Deposition p.18).

In response to this type of testimony that indicated

that whether the “managers” regularly and customarily

supervised two or more full-time employees depended

upon the volume of the stores in question, this court, as

mentioned, ordered the parties to supplement the record.

Specifically, this court asked the parties to submit to the

court the name and location of the stores involved in this

action; the names of the plaintiffs employed at each store;

whether the store was a large or small store; and a list of

any exhibits or pleadings that would assist the court in

determining the size of each store in relation to the other

stores.© The defendants, in their response to the court’s

© The court was well aware that a significant percentage of

these stores are small “mom and pop” stores in remote places on

interstates in the northern part of the United States and that

from October Ist to May Ist of each year they are open a limited

number of hours a day, that there is very little tourist traffic in

many of those months, that the “locals” eat in their town cafes

and provide w-ry little business for these “out in the country”

stores that close at dusk which is usually 5:30 or 6:00 p.m. The

court really believed that the defendants would respond to the

courts request for more records with a list or a computer print

out showing they had blank number of Stores, many in warm

weather areas that didn’t have short seasons and which rou-

tinely had 3 to 10 employees. No such evidence was presented

even though it is probably true.

32a

order, stated that they had diligently searched the testi-

mony presented at trial, the testimony of the plaintiffs in

depositions and the Exhibits presented by both parties at

the time of trial and concluded that there is very little, if

any, evidence in the record specifically identifying the

volume of the store where any of the plaintiffs were

employed. The court already knew this and that was

what had prompted the request for more evidence.

Defendants admitted that they did not submit direct evi-

dence on the volume of each store. Defendants further

stated that the volume of the stores changed during the

time period when the plaintiff “managers” were in charge

of their stores. Finally, defendants stated that the volume

of stores is not determinative as to whether the “man-

agers” were exempt. This ignores the clear directives of

the area managers who would not authorize another

employee until the business was there. You can’t super-

vise two or more when two or more are not authorized

for months at a time. Rather, defendants once again asked

this court to consider the labor schedules which they

contend establish that the managers always were allotted

sufficient labor so as to satisfy the requirements that they

supervise two full-time employees or their equivalent.

Defendants further asserted that testimony of Stuckey’s

management established that the managers were given

sufficient labor budgets to allow managers to adhere to

the labor schedules.

The court notes that the assertion by the defendants

that they have established that the managers were given

sufficient labor budgets to allow them to adhere to the

labor schedules is in direct conflict with the testimony of

former regional manager Dale Roush. In his deposition

33a

testimony submitted to the court for consideration the

following exchange took place:

Q. You were looking at some labor schedules

that Mr. Nymann handed you. In your opinion,

was it possible to run a Stuckey’s store within |

the guidelines of those labor schedules?

A. The higher-volume stores, yes; the lower-

volume stores, no.

Q. The Petrimoulx store, could it have been

run within the guidelines on those schedules?

A. During the summer months, yes; during the

winter months, I would have to say it would be

very hard to run within those schedules.

Q. How about the Hoyt store?

A. The Hoyt store would have been approx-_

imately the same thing.

Q. And the Renneker store?

A. Renneker’s store would have been a little

easier, but, yes, in the winter months it would

have been tough to follow the schedule.

Q. Why is that?

A. Because in the winter months it was cut

down to the point where you would have a

great many times it would be two people only.

Q. Did you ever have Mrs. Hoyt complain that

she needed more labor hours? ;

A. Yes.

(Roush Deposition p.42:2-25). Based on this and other

evidence, defendants’ reliance on the labor schedules and

the testimony of George Davis is also misplaced. This

34a

court, in its initial opinion, found that employees were

pressurized into falsifying hours. In addition, plaintiffs

submitted Exhibit 3 at trial which contained an Exhibit B

attached to that exhibit. Exhibit B attached to trial exhibit

3 was prepared as a true and correct copy of the labor

budget for the store at Little Sioux, Iowa. That exhibit

showed that the labor budget was much different than

those in the proposed or sample schedules developed by

George Davis. In addition, as previously noted, former

regional managers testified that the labor budgets were

cut in the winter months so that there would be enough

only for two people. Furthermore, in finding of fact 30 in

the original order, this court found:

Defendants’ witnesses testified that labor sched-

ule guidelines were “scientifically” developed

for Stuckey’s and were designed to provide suf-

ficient hours for each store to be adequately

staffed based on sales volume. Defendants also

contend that regional managers made additional

labor money available to a store if he or she

requested it and it was justified. However, the

testimony with regard to the practicalities of the

labor schedule was disputed between the par-

ties.

Based on the foregoing, and after listening to and

judging the credibility of the witnesses in this case, this

court cannot find that the defendants have met their

burden with respect to most managers by proving that

the plaintiff “managers” regularly and customarily

supervised two or more employees. The only manager

that this court can specifically say the defendants met

their burden of proving the two or more full-time

35a

employee factor is Russell Renecker. On cross-examina-

tion Mr. Renecker admitted that customarily and regu-

larly throughout the period from June, 1982 to April,

1985, he had at least two employees on the payroll and

sometimes several more, who worked more than 80

hours. (Tr. II, 284:7-13). There were other Russell

Reneckers out there but the evidence was not presented

to this court.

B. Exercise of Discretionary Power

In its decision reversing and remanding to this court,

the Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals stated that the record

seems clear that store managers were normally and recur-

rently called upon to exercise discretionary powers in the

day-to-day performance of their duties. Murray v.

Stuckey’s Inc., 939 F.2d at 620. This court again heard all

the arguments of competent counsel for the defendants

and reviewed the record diligently and for reasons set out

below respectfully draws a different conclusion. The

court of appeals then remanded this point to this court

for initial consideration. With respect to this issue, 29

CFR § 541.107 states:

(a) Section 541.1(d) requires that an exempt

executive employee customarily and regularly

exercise discretionary powers. A person whose

work is so completely routinized that he has no

discretion does not qualify for exemption.

(b) The phrase “customarily and regularly”

signifies a frequency which must be greater than

occasional but which, of course, may be less

than constant. The requirement will be met by

the employee who normally and recurrently is

36a

called upon to exercise and does exercise discre-

tionary powers in the day-to-day performance

of his duties. The requirement is not met by the

occasional exercise of discretionary powers.

The explanation in part (a) above that “a person whose

work is so completely routinized that he has no discretion

does not qualify for exemption” is important in this

courts consideration of whether the “managers” regu-

larly and customarily exercised discretionary authority.

The defendants contend that because the Eighth Circuit

Court of Appeals determined, contrary to this court’s

ruling, that the manager’s primary duty was manage-

ment and that the managers were in “sole charge” of their

store, that finding is conclusive in establishing that man-

agers possessed and exercised discretionary authority.

The court disagrees. The regulations setting forth the

executive exemption specifically list the customary and

regular exercise of discretionary powers as a separate and

distinct factor in determining whether the exemption

applies. The regulation would not set forth that factor as

an independent factor if a finding of “management as

primary duty” would satisfy that factor. In addition, the

following statements were made by the Eighth Circuit in

its opinion in this case:

Like other courts that have considered the ques-

tion, we believe that the manager of a local store

in a modern multi-store organization has man-

agement as his or her primary duty even though

the discretion usually associated with management

may be limited by the company’s desire for standard-

ization and uniformity.

Murray v. Stuckey’s, 939 F.2d at 619 (emphasis added). The

court went on to state:

37a

In this case, it is undisputed that the plaintiff

store managers were the on-site employees ulti-

mately responsible for the stores’ operations,

even though their discretion was circumscribed.

Id. at 620 (emphasis added). Finally, the court noted:

It is clear that Stuckey’s: store managers satisfy

these sole charge standards. The store managers

were ultimately in charge of all operations on

the premises. The extent of their control may have

been circumscribed by Stuckey’s standardized

methods of operation and by the supervision of the

regional managers, but this typical organizational

characteristic of a modern retail chain does not

change the fact that the store managers were, in

a very real economic sense, in “sole charge” of

the local store operations.

Id. (emphasis added). This court finds, on the basis of the

regulation and its interpretation, that the work of the

“managers” in this case was “so completely routinized

: that [they] had no discretion.” 29 CFR § 541.107(a).

4 Indeed, as just pointed out, the Eighth Circuit recognized

that the “managers” discretion was “circumscribed” and

“limited.” No where is it more evident that the “man-

agers” had no real discretion than in the testimony of

Russell Renecker. On cross examination of Mr. Renecker,

defendants attorney tried to elicit what types of discre-

tionary functions Mr. Renecker performed as a “man-

ager.” In his responses to questions posed by defendants

teen aac eae

PSNI ASAT IENLE ERA Oa

PRB EE LN Sy heat

EE

counsel, Mr. Renecker testified that he was given a train- :

ing manual that told how to wait on cars and other things

(Tr. II, 246:19-22); he was given a labor budget within

which to operate (Tr. II, 248:1-8); it was up to the regional

manager to determine if someone got a raise or not; (Tr.

iP rate

38a

II, 248:9-15); he could recommend sick leave but did not

have authority of final approval of sick leave (Tr. II,

2509-20); he did not have the authority to fire someone

without the regional manager’s approval (Tr. II,

251:12-20); the inventory was a set inventory and he

would re-order based on how much of that had been sold

(Tr. Il, 254:19-24); the original inventory could only be

changed by the regional manager if he decided you

needed more or less of something (Tr. II, 256:2-8); he

never purchased anything he wasn’t told he could pur-

chase (Tr. II, 256:11-12); the regional manager made the

decision whether to stock other products (Tr. II, 257:9-24);

if he wanted to buy something at the store he had to have

it approved (Tr. II, 258:11-15); his authority to adjust

customer complaints was dictated by the company policy

that the customer is always right (Tr. II, 262:3-22); if

repairs cost over $25.00 he had to get authorization to fix

them (Tr. II, 264:9-24); the regional manager decided who

made repairs costing over $25.00 (Tr. II, 265:14-16).

Based on testimony of this nature, this court finds

that defendants have not met their burden of proving that

the “managers” regularly and customarily exercised dis-

cretionary powers. What little discretion the managers

did exercise on a day-to-day basis was so circumscribed

as to be no discretion at all. The court does not believe

that the powers exercised by these “managers” are clearly

and unmistakably within the terms and spirit of the

exemption.

Because this court finds that the “managers,” with

the exception of Russell Renecker, did not regularly and

customarily supervise two or more full-time employees

Bs aa

39a

or their equivalent and that none of the managers regu-

larly and customarily exercised discretionary powers, the

defendants are not entitled to the executive exemption.

Again, this court refers to page 4 of this opinion discuss-

ing the “short test” and the “long test” factors. For some

plaintiffs it was necessary to address both factors while

for others it was only necessary for this court to address

the “two or more employees” factor.7 The Court of

Appeals declined to rule on the willful violations and

liquidated damages aspect of this case as it pertained to

the store managers because of their decision to remand

on the above issues. The court did point out that the

willfulness and good faith issues must be considered in

the context of reasonable reliance on the executive

exemption defense. After lengthy and careful consider-

ation as directed by the Court of Appeals, this court

adheres to its initial determination that the three year

statute of limitations is applicable because Stuckey’s vio-

lations were willful. The court also adheres to the finding

that plaintiffs are entitled to liquidated damages because

Stuckey’s failed to prove that the violations were both in

good faith and predicated upon such reasonable grounds

” The evidence was not clear as to whether Russell

Renecker fit within the “short test” or the “long test.” If his

situation was analyzed under the “short test,” it is possible that

defendants have proven the executive exemption in his case

because of this courts finding that he did regularly and custom-

arily supervise two or more full-time employees. The court will

leave it to the parties to reach an agreement as to whether Mr.

Renecker fits within the short or long test. Its up or down

depending on whether he made more than $250.00 per week or

less than that.

40a

that it would be unfair to impose more than a compensa-

tory verdict.

Finally, the Court of Appeals declined to rule on

plaintiffs’ cross appeal claim that this court erred in cal-

culating the store managers’ damages based on a 60 hour

work week, rather than a 40 hour work week, and that

their attorneys’ fee award was inadequate. After further

review of the regulations governing the question of calcu-

lating hourly rates of pay, specifically 29 C.F.R.

§ 778.113(a)&(b), the court finds that the correct method

of calculating the store managers hourly rate should be

determined by dividing the weekly rate by forty (40)

rather than sixty (60). The court is persuaded by plain-

tiffs’ assertion that the number of hours the salary was

intended to compensate for was forty (40). In addition,

plaintiffs pointed out that dividing the weekly rate by

sixty (60) would, in at least 7 cases, result in an hourly

rate less than the statutory minimum wage. Such a result

is contrary to the act. Oliver v. Mercy Medical Center, Inc.,

695 F.2d 379 (9th Cir. 1982). The remainder of this court’s

opinion on the issue of hourly rate of pay for “managers”

shall remain the same.® In addition, because the Court of

Appeals vacated the award of attorney’s fees, this court

8 Dividing the weekly rate by forty (40) to arrive at an

hourly rate of pay (and in no event shall the hourly rate be less

than minimum wage) and then multiplying the hourly rate of

pay by one and one-half to arrive at the overtime rate. The

bonuses paid to “managers” must be totaled with other earn-

ings to determine the regular rate on which overtime pay must

be based. Fringe benefits such as paid vacations and holidays

shall be excluded in calculating damages herein.

SA RRS SR EY

4la

will, at the appropriate time, hold a hearing on the issue

of attorney’s fees and expenses.

Ill. CONCLUSION

This court concludes that with the exception of

Russell Renecker, the defendants have not met their bur-

den of proof on the issue of whether plaintiff’s regularly

and customarily supervised two or more full-time

employees or their equivalent. The defendants have also

failed to meet their burden of proof regarding whether

plaintiff's regularly and customarily exercised discretion-

ary powers. The defendants are not entitled to the execu-

tive exemption for the store “managers.” This court

adheres to its previous position regarding the applicable

statute of limitations and the finding that plaintiffs are

entitled to liquidated damages. The court determines that

the appropriate method for calculating plaintiff “man-

agers” hourly rate of pay is by dividing the weekly rate

by forty (40) hours rather than sixty (60) hours. Finally,

the court will hold further hearings at the appropriate

time on the issue of attorney’s fees.

Upon the foregoing,

IT IS ORDERED

(1) Defendants are not entitled to the executive

exemption for plaintiff store “managers.”

(2) The court adheres to its initial determination

with respect to the three year statute of limitations and

liquidated damages.

(3) The correct method for calculating the “man-

agers” hourly rate of pay is by dividing the weekly rate

42a

by forty (40) rather than sixty (60). The remainder of this

courts original findings with regard to that issue shall

stay the same.

(4) The court will hold a hearing on the issue of

attorney’s fees and costs at an early date.

(5) Counsel for both parties shall submit to the

court, within twenty (20) days of the date of this order,

their calculations as to the amount of monetary judgment

each plaintiff “manager” is entitled to based on this

courts order. If differences exist with regard to the

amounts submitted, the court may hold a hearing to

resolve the conflict.

Dated this 16th day of April, 1993.

/s/ Donald E. O’Brien

Donald E. O’Brien, Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Copy mailed by regular mail April 16, 1993 to:

PL Nymann; Steven Kohl; PO Box 1825; Sioux City, IA

51102

Gene LaSuer; Jean McNeil; 2300 Financia) Center; Des

Moines, IA 50309

John Renick; 2730 North Ballas Road; Suite 200; St. Louis,

MO 63131

/s/ J. Hoch

Deputy Clerk

43a

APPENDIX D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE NORTHERN DISTRICT OF IOWA

WESTERN DIVISION

SIDNEY MURRAY and GLADYS )

MURRAY, on behalf of themselves )

and all others similarly situated, ) No. C 85-4085

Plaintiffs, ORDER

vs. ) (Filed

STUCKEY’S, INC. and PET ) Apr. 15, 1994)

INCORPORATED,

Defendants. )

This matter comes before the court on plaintiffs’

motion for entry of judgment and plaintiffs’ renewed and

amended motion for attorney fees and expenses. The

court has entered several orders which detail the facts in

this case at length and therefore, the facts will not be

repeated here except as applicable to the motions before

the court.

A. MOTION FOR ENTRY OF JUDGMENT:

This court entered an order in April, 1993, reaffirm-

ine its original decision that the defendants in this case

were not entitled to the “executive exemption” for the

Store “managers” under 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1). In that

April, 1993 order the court ordered the parties to submit

44a

to the court their calculations as to the amounts of mone-

tary judgment each plaintiff “manager” would be entitled

to based on the court’s rulings. Plaintiffs move for entry

of judgment in the amounts listed in their calculations

plus post judgment interest. Plaintiff asserts that under 28

U.S.C. § 1961, the post judgment interest rate would be

7.9%. Further, plaintiff contends that post-judgment inter-

est should be calculated from the entry of the first judg-

ment in July 16, 1990, before this case was appealed to the

Eighth Circuit and sent back on remand. Plaintiffs assert

that the court has essentially reaffirmed its prior judg-

ment in favor of the plaintiff “managers.” The damages

have been increased somewhat because this court made a

correction on how damages would be calculated. How-

ever, plaintiffs assert that the equities of the situation

dictate that the successful “managers” should receive

interest on the loss of the use of their money judgments

from the date damages were originally determined. See

Buck v. Burton, 768 F.2d 285 (8th Cir. 1985).

In their resistance to the motion to enter judgment,

defendants noted that while they didn’t dispute plain-

tiffs’ calculations, they did dispute the court’s ruling

changing the way damages were calculated. Also in their

resistance defendants state that they dispute the dates of

employment of certain employees. Ultimately, defendants

agree that the plaintiffs’ calculations are correct based on

the court’s rulings. However, they assert that the best

interests of justice require the court to rule on the issue of

attorney’s fees before entering judgment so that there

would be one judgment for the defendants [to] consider

when deciding whether to pay and settle the claims or to

file a Notice of Appeal.

45a

The court has considered the resistance to entry of

judgment and concludes that entry of judgment is appro-

priate at this time. The court so concludes based on the

fact that included in this order is a ruling on the motion

for attorney’s fees. Defendants’ resistance to the entry of

judgment was based, in large part, on the fact that the

court still had not decided the issue of attorney’s fees and

defendants felt it would be best to have only one judg-

ment from which to appeal. Because the court is ruling on

all remaining issues, it is appropriate to order that judg-

ment be entered now. Also, while the court is aware that

defendants dispute some of the court’s rulings from the

April, 1993 order, it is clear that the defendants feel that

the calculations of the plaintiffs are correct, based on the

court’s ruling. The court, in ordering that judgment be

entered in the amount as calculated by the plaintiffs, is

not indicating that it feels defendants have waived their

objections to the rulings that have a bearing on those

calculations. In fact, it is clear that defendants have not

waived those objections and may in fact pursue them on

appeal. With those comments in mind, the court will

order that the Clerk of Court enter judgment in favor of

the following plaintiffs in the following amounts:

NAME AMOUNT

Harley Blair $ 62,276.66

Larry Brown 30,410.50

Kinney Bryant 54,032.83

Randy Bushnell 23,703.49

Floyd Caskey 15,668.35

Allan Christiansen 20,863.72

Bobbie Cockrell 18,201.22

Mary T. Cope 65,143.07

Sandra Crist 46,855.87

46a

Stanley Dixon 75,394.48

Thomas Foster 12,708.86

Edward Geisenheimer 18,095.00

Rae Jean Hamilton 15,187.05

Deborah L. Hoyt 49,498.60

Loren Jacoby 49,816.90

Warren Kajander 21,058.83

Carol Lewis 38,722.75

Thomas Miller 18,311.33

Gladys Murray 74,887.45

Jeanette (Petrimoulx)

Arbuckle 88,614.05

Donald Phillips 52,327.83

Joy M. Powers 85,062.51

Russell Renecker 6,127.20

Eugene Rutledge 115,381.79

Donald Scott Be Br

Arthur Stotts 31,995.03

Lawrence Taylor 57,767.10

David Thompkins 56,933.61

In addition to the above amounts, the court is per-

suaded that plaintiffs are entitled to post judgment inter-

est from the date of the original judgment, July 16, 1990,

subject to the interest rate determined at that time pur-

suant to 28 U.S.C. § 1961. Plaintiffs have calculated that

interest rate to be 7.9%.

B. MOTION FOR ATTORNEY FEES AND

EXPENSES:

In their motion for attorney’s fees, plaintiffs state that

their counsel, P.L. Nymann and Steven Kohl have

devoted a total of 2276.5 hours to this litigation. They also

claim out of pocket expenses of $7,014.57 through August

31, 1993 which results in a total of advanced expenses in

5

f

ae

Tos

ie

:

bis

b

ie

%

:

47a

the amount of $23,267.78. Plaintiffs point out that in two

employment law class action lawsuits previously litigated

before this court, Jansen v. Greyhound and Berry v. Grey-

hound plaintiffs counsel, Nymann and Kohl, received the

following amounts of attorney’s fees: In Jansen, they

claim that for 1,602.9 hours they received $899,898.41, for

a fee per hour of $561.42. In Berry, they claim that for

686.6 hours they received $442,500.00 for a fee per hour of

$644.48. Plaintiffs also note that they are involved in the

Jensen v. SIPCO matter, but that fees have not yet been

ruled on.! Plaintiffs contend that based on these two prior

cases, a reasonable hourly rate of $650.00 per hour would

be considered the normal hourly rate of attorneys in

Sioux City and similar markets for similar contingent case

litigation of employment law class actions. Plaintiffs fur-

ther assert that this is reasonable in light of the protracted

nature of this litigation (over 8 years) and the tendency of

the defense to litigate even the smallest of issues.

Plaintiffs note the 12 factors that are taken into

account in determining attorney’s fees from Johnson v.

Georgia Highway Express, 488 F.2d 714, 717-19 (5th Cir.

1974). As mentioned, plaintiffs contend that they have

established the prevailing market rate for contingent fee

employment class actions in Sioux City by virtue of their

settlement awards in the other cases mentioned. Plaintiffs

assert that attorneys who take cases on a contingent fee

basis must charge a higher fee than those who work on a

! Jensen v. SIPCO is a case in front of this court where the

identical issue of attorneys’ fees is pending. Two of plaintiffs’

attorneys in that case are P.L. Nymann and Steve Kohl, the

attorneys for the plaintiffs in this case.

48a

noncontingent basis to compensate for the risk of loss,

etc.

Plaintiffs cite Norwood v. Charlotte Memorial Hospital &

Medical Center, 720 F.Supp. 543, 548 (W.D.N.C. 1989); Sug-

arland Industries, Inc. v. Thomas, 420 A.2d 142, 153 (Del.

1980); and Kirchoff v. Flynn, 786 F.2d 320 (7th Cir. 1986) for

the proposition that the fees they are requesting are rea-

sonable.

In resistance to the motion for attorney’s fees, defen-

dants first set forth the procedural history of this attorney

fees issue. On August 4, 1989, plaintiffs filed their first

application for fees. They sought to recover for 1,444.7

hours of time and expenses of $11,699.56. On December 7,

1989, the plaintiffs amended to seek an{ ] additional 24.3

hours. On Jan. 8, 1990, this court ruled that a reasonable

hourly rate for Mr. Kohl to be $70 per hour and $80 per

hour for Nymann. The court reduced the number of

hours claimed due to unnecessary trips to the courthouse

and for claims’ unrelated to the Fair Labor Standard Act.

The court adjusted the fee upward by 15% for the contin-

gency risk of not prevailing. The net award was

$126,055.00 and expenses of $16,253.21. A motion to

amend was filed by defendants and after further hearing,

the court reduced the award by $19,737.50 as plaintiff's

counsel had already recovered that amount to settle a

portion of the claims. The court also reduced the

expenses by $2,694.75. The recovery was $106,317.50 and

expenses of $13,558.46. Both parties appealed the award

to the 8th Circuit but the Circuit refused to rule because it

was remanding the damages award to the court. Because

of that ruling, those fees and expenses were not paid.

49a

Plaintiffs now seek to recover for an additional 759.6

hours of time and additional expenses of $11,568.22.

Defendants agree that the appropriate way to deter-

mine the reasonable fee is by utilizing the lodestar

method whereby you multiply the reasonable hours by a

reasonable hourly rate. Any adjustments upward from

that figure must be proven by the fee applicant. Defen-

dants point out that the reasonable hourly rate is gener-

ally the prevailing market rate in the relevant community.

Defendants contend that $650.00 is not a reasonable

hourly rate. The[y] assert that there is absolutely no basis

for the court to find that this is the prevailing rate in

Sioux City or in Iowa. Defendants point out that in a

hearing on September 25, 1989 the plaintiffs sought fees

of $450.00 per hour. Defendants assert that the court

specifically told plaintiffs counsel that the amount he was

able to negotiate for his fees in another case was far more

than what the court would have awarded.

Defendants state that plaintiffs misrepresent the

holding in Norwood and further state that the Supreme

Court has made it clear that it does not condone outra-

geous fee awards which are nothing more than a windfall

to the attorney. Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’

Council for Clean Air, 478 U.S. 546, 565 (1986).

Defendants point out that the law does not allow an

enhanced fee due to contingent risk. That premise was

rejected in Burlington v. Dague, __ U.S.__, 112 S.Ct. 2638

(1992). Defendants also point out that the 8th Circuit has

consistently reversed attorney fee enhancement for risk

of loss since Dague. See, Hukkanen v. International Union of

Operating Engineers, 3 F.3d 281, 287 (8th Cir. 1993); Jeffers

50a

v. Clinton, 992 F.2d 826, 830 (8th Cir. 1993); Kientzy v.

McDonnell Douglas Corp., 990 F.2d 1051, 1063 (8th Cir.

1993). Plaintiffs respond to this argument by asserting

that they are not asking for an enhancement based on

contingent risk and therefore, the Dague case is not appli-

cable. Defendants go on to assert that the appropriate

hourly rate would be that rate that these attorneys nor-

mally charge ard which was found to be the rate by the

court earlier, $70 per hour for Kohl and $80 per hour for

Nymann. Further, defendants assert that this hourly rate

should be decreased for those substantial hours the plain-

tiffs’ counsel is claiming for time spent on the attorney’s

fee issue.

Next defendants assert that plaintiffs are asking for

$4,553.65 for expert witness fees and these fees are not

recoverable under fee shifting statutes unless the statute

specifically provides. Crawford Fittings Co. v. J.T. Gibbons,

Inc., 482 U.S. 437 (1987); West Virginia University Hospitals,

Inc. v. Casey, __ U.S.__, 111 S.Ct. 1138 (1991). Defen-

dants point out that there is no explicit language allowing

the shifting of expert witness fees under 29 U.S.C.A.

§ 216(b). See, Gray v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 971 F.2d 591

(10th Cir. 1992). Defendants assert that expert witness

fees of $40 per day is all that is allowed under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1821(b).

Finally, defendants contend that plaintiffs are not

entitled to recover for time spent on a premature appeal

in January 1990. Further, they should not be compensated

for any of the time spent seeking Rehearing and Rehear-

ing En Banc before the court of appeals. Defendants point

out that plaintiffs were unsuccessful in both instances.

Defendants also object to plaintiffs collecting for their

5la

time spent seeking certiorari before the U.S. Supreme

Court or the $400 it cost for plaintiffs’ attorneys to

become admitted to the U.S. Supreme Court, or the

$2,367.25 of printing costs for their Supreme Court brief.

The Court first notes that the proper method for

setting a reasonable attorney’s fee begins with a deter-

mination of the lodestar amount. The lodestar is obtained

by multiplying “ ‘the number of hours reasonably

expended on the litigation times a reasonable hourly

rate.’ ” Pennsylvania v. Delaware Valley Citizens’ Council for

Clear Air, 478 U.S. 546, 565 (1986); see also Hensley v.

Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424, 433-34 (1983); Accord M.C. Jeffers v.

Clinton, 992 F.2d 826 (8th Cir. 1993). Because defendants

do not challenge plaintiffs’ counsel's right to attorneys’

fees or the number of hours expended by plaintiffs’ coun-

sel, the only question before the Court is what constitutes

a reasonable hourly rate for counsels’ work in this case.

In addition, the court will have to rule on certain

“classes” of fees requested such as the fees on appeal and

the expenses incurred to apply to the Supreme Court.

Initially, to arrive at a reasonable hourly rate, a court

must look to the “prevailing market rates” in the relevant

community. Blum v. Stenson, 465 U.S. 886, 896 (1984).

“Where an attorney requesting fees has well-defined bill-

ing rates, those rates can be use to help calculate a

reasonable rate for a fee award.” McDonald v. Armontrout,

860 F.2d 1456, 1459 (8th Cir. 1988). The use of well-

defined billing rates to set a reasonable rate is consistent

with Blum, because “ ‘in most cases, billing rates reflect

market rates — they provide an efficient and fair short cut

for determining the market rate.’” Id. at 1459; (citing

Student Pub. Interest Research Group, Inc. v. AT and T Bell

52a

Laboratories, 842 F.2 1436, 1445 (3d Cir. 1988)). An attor-

ney’s ordinary billing rate is not conclusive of reasonable-

ness, however, and it should be compared to the usual

and customary fee for similar work in the community.

McDonald, 860 F.2d at 1459.

Although plaintiffs’ assert that the Jansen and Berry

cases must determine the prevailing market rate in the

Sioux City area, this Court is persuaded that translating

fees agreed to in settlement negotiations into ordinary

hourly fee rates would lead to an unreasonable attorneys’

fee award. If the Court uses the Jansen and Berry cases to

set the prevailing hourly market rate in this case, plain-

tiffs’ counsel would be awarded $650.00 per hour in

attorneys’ fees multiplied by over 2000 hours for a total

of over $1,300,000.00. This Court is not persuaded that it

is bound by the fee agreements in the Jansen and Berry

settlements. A decision by the parties to settle a case

depends on a wide variety of factors that ultimately

influence the amount of the settlement and the agreement

as to attorneys’ fees. Each case has different facts and

circumstances, and thus the amount of settlement awards

and attorneys fees vary greatly. Most importantly, this

Court has found no authority to support the proposition

that attorneys’ fees agreed to in a settlement can be used

to set “the prevailing market rate” for a case that went to

trial. This Court finds that a more appropriate guide in

determining the hourly rate in this case is to look to

counsel’s ordinary hourly rate, and therefore, the Court

sets the lodestar fee in this case at $110 for Steven Kohl,

and at $115 for P.L. Nymann.?

2 The Court is not persuaded that it is bound by the $70-$80

hourly fee award made several years ago in this case as

53a

After determining an initial lodestar fee, courts are

also advised to consider the factors identified in Johnson

v. Georgia Highway Express, Inc., 488 F.2d 714, 717-19 (Sth

Cir. 1974), in setting a reasonable attorneys’ fee award.

This Court, according to Johnson, must consider, among

other things, the time and labor spent on the case, the

novelty and difficulty of the legal issues involved, the

skill required to perform the legal service, the experience

and ability of the attorneys, and the results obtained for

the client. Id. at 717-19; see also McDonald v. Armontrout,

860 F.2d 1456, 1459 (1988). In this case, plaintiffs’ counsel

very competently represented a class of plaintiffs in a

complex piece of litigation. Plaintiffs’ counsel devoted a

significant amount of time and effort to the case and were

successful in obtaining awards for plaintiffs both initially

and on remand to this court. Furthermore, each of plain-

tiffs’ counsel have several years of experience in the labor

and employment law fields and also have specific experi-

ence in class action litigation. For these reasons, this

Court finds it appropriate to enhance the hourly fee rate

in this case to $250.00 an hour.3

defendant argues. Nymann and Kohl have since reported to the

court in the Jensen case that their hourly rates are $115.00 and

$110.00 per hour respectively.

* The Court realizes that to enhance each attorneys’ fee

proportionally, the court would have to award P.L. Nymann

$255.00 per hour because Nymann’s hourly fee is $115.00, as

compared to $110.00 an hour for Steven Kohl. To award P.L.

Nymann the $255.00 rate, however, this court would need to

know the total number of hours that N ymann spent on this case.

In their briefs and exhibits to the court, Nymann and Kohl failed

to state the total number of hours that each attorney spent on the

case. The totals provided were the total number of hours spent

54a

As previously mentioned, the defendants did not

challenge the number of hours expended by plaintiffs on

this case. In fact, the court would note that the most

recent filing by the plaintiffs following discovery indi-

cates that plaintiffs are seeking compensation for 2,276.5

hours of work while defendants appear to have devoted

more than 2,624.4 hours on their case. The court does

note that defendants have challenged certain “classes” of

fees and expenses being claimed by plaintiffs. Speci-

fically, as mentioned, defendants assert that plaintiffs are

not entitled to the $4,553.65 in expert fees they are

requesting. The court has reviewed the cases cited by the

defendants and agrees that there is no explicit language

allowing the shifting of expert witness fees under 29

U.S.C. § 216(b). The court is persuaded that expert wit-

ness fees are not recoverable as part of reasonable attor-

ney’s fee and costs of the action in this case. Gray v.

Phillips Petroleum Co., 971 F.2d 591 (10th Cir. 1992). There-

fore, that amount will be subtracted from the $23,267.78

in expenses requested.

Defendants also contend that plaintiffs hourly fee

should be reduced for the hours that plaintiffs’ counsel

spent working on the issue of attorney’s fees. They cite

Delfin v. Turnage, 792 F.Supp. 522, 525 (W.D. Ky. 1992) and

Gabriele v. Southworth, 712 F.2d 1505, 1507 (1st Cir. 1992)

by both attorneys. In addition, Nymann and Kohl, in their

request for attorneys’ fees of $650.00 per hour did not indicate

that they felt Mr. Nymann should be paid at $5.00 per hour more

because of his ordinary hourly fee. The court is persuaded that

$2£4).00 is an appropriate fee per hour for both attorneys in a

case of this nature, despite the fact that Nymann ordinarily

charges $5.00 per hour more than Kohl.

55a

for that proposition. Again, the court has reviewed those

cases and determines that a reduction in rate is appropri-

ate in this case. While an enhancement of the hourly rate

is appropriate due to the complex nature of this litigation

and the other factors discussed previously, the court is

not persuaded that those same factors apply to the issue

of attorney fees. Still, the court is persuaded that the

issue of attorneys’ fees directly affects the plaintiffs in

this case and a small upward adjustment from the lode-

star amount is warranted for those hours spent on the

issue of attorneys’ fees. The court is persuaded that plain-

tiffs’ counsel should be paid at least half of the other

hourly rate or $125.00 per hour for the hours spent on the

issue of attorneys’ fees. Therefore, for the time that plain-

tiffs’ counsel spent on the issue of attorney fees, the fees

awarded will be $125.00 per hour.

In addition, the court is not persuaded that it should

not award fees or reduce fees for time spent pursuing an

appeal and rehearing in front of the 8th Circuit. The court

is persuaded that plaintiffs should be compensated at the

rate of $250.00 per hour for that activity. The court cannot

say the appeals were frivolous or baseless. However, the

court does feel it would be inappropriate to allow $400.00

in expenses for plaintiffs’ attorneys to become admitted

to practice before the United States Supreme Court and

for the printing costs of $2,367.25 in their unsuccessful

attempt at certiorari before that Court, as well as the

hours spent on that appeal. Due to the degree of success

obtained, the court is persuaded that those amounts

should be subtracted from the expenses and hours prayed

for. The court has calculated the hours spent before the

56a

Supreme Court to be 116.6. Those hours shall be sub-

tracted from the total number of hours claimed.

Based on these rulings by the court, the court calcu-

lates the attorney fees to be as follows: Plaintiffs were

seeking fees for a total of 2,276.5 hours of work. Based on

a previous order by the court in October, 1990, 12.3 of

those hours were being claimed for trips to the court-

house which the court ruled were not compensable. This

leaves 2,264.2 hours claimed. The court has ruled that the

hours spent on petition for certiorari to the U.S. Supreme

Court should not be reimbursed. The court calculated

from plaintiffs’ time sheets that 116.6 hours were spent on

the appeal to the Supreme Court. Subtracting 116.6 from

2,264.2 leaves 2,147.6 hours claimed. In addition, the

court has determined that the hours spent on the issue of

attorney fees should be compensated at a lower rate per

hour than other work on the case. The plaintiffs’ pre-

sented to the court an itemization indicating that 90.1 of

the original 2,276.5 hours claimed were hours spent on

the issue of attorney fees. Subtracting those hours from

2,147.6 leaves 2057.5 hours to be compensated at $250.00

per hour. A total of 2057.5 hours at $250.00 per hour

amounts to an award of $514,375.00. As for the 90.1 hours

spent on the attorney fees issue, multiplied by $125.00

per hour gives a total for those hours of $11,262.50.

Combined, this results in a total attorney fee award of

$525,637.50. Finally, the defendants pointed out that

plaintiffs have already recovered $19,737.50 in attorney

fees and that amount must be subtracted from the award

given here. Based on the order of this court of July 16,

57a

1990, the court agrees that this amount must be sub-

tracted from the fee award here to prevent duplicate

recovery. That leaves an award of $505,900.00.

With regard to the expenses claimed by plaintiffs in

this case the court calculates as follows: Plaintiffs request

a total of $23,267.78 in expenses. The court has ruled that

the expenses of expert witness fees are not recoverable

and therefore, $4,553.65 must be subtracted from that

amount, leaving $18,714.13 claimed. In addition, the court

has ruled that the $400.00 claimed for admission to the

Supreme Court , ractice is not recoverable, leaving

$18,314.13. Further, the court has denied the requested

$2,367.25 for printing costs for the petition for certiorari

to the U.S. Supreme Court. This leaves $15,946.88. Finally,

in this court’s July 16, 1990 order, the court reduced the

original expenses requested by $2,694.75 for travel, motel

and meal expenses being claimed by plaintiffs attorneys.

The court still deems it appropriate to exclude those

expenses. This leaves a total of $13,252.13 in expenses

that plaintiffs should receive.

Upon the foregoing,

IT IS ORDERED:

(1) The Clerk of Court is directed to enter judgment

in favor of the following plaintiffs in the following

amounts, plus post judgment interest from July 16, 1990

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1961:

NAME AMOUNT

Harley Blair $ 62,276.66

Larry Brown 30,410.50

Kinney Bryant 54,032.83

Randy Bushnell 23,703.49

58a

Floyd Caskey 15,668.35

Allan Christiansen 20,863.72

Bobbie Cockrell 18,201.22

Mary T. Cope 65,143.07

Sandra Crist 46,855.87

Stanley Dixon 75,394.48

Thomas Foster 12,708.86

Edward Geisenheimer 18,095.00

Rae Jean Hamilton 15,187.05

Deborah L. Hoyt 49,498.60

Loren Jacoby 49,816.90

Warren Kajander 21,058.83

Carol Lewis 38,722.75

Thomas Miller 18,311.33

Gladys Murray 74,887.45

Jeanette (Petrimoulx)

Arbuckle 88,614.05

Donald Phillips 52,327.83

Joy M. Powers 85,062.51

Russell Renecker 6,127.20

Eugene Rutledge 115,381.79

Donald Scott 31,252.32

Arthur Stotts 31,995.03

Lawrence Taylor 57,767.10

David Thompkins 56,933.61

(2) That judgment be entered in favor of P.L.

Nymann and Steve Kohl together for $505,900.00 in attor-

neys’ fees consistent with this opinion.

(3) That judgment be entered in favor of P.L.

Nymann and Steve Kohl together for $13,252.13 in costs

59a

and expenses of the litigation, consistent with this opin-

ion.

Dated this 15th day of April, 1994.

/s/ Donald E. O’Brien

Donald E. O’Brien, Senior Judge

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

Copy mailed by regular mail April 15, 1994 w/ Judgment to:

PL Nymann; Steven Kohl; PO Box 1825; Sioux City, IA 51102

Gene LaSuer; Jean McNeil; 2500 Financial Center; 666 Walnut

Street; Des Moines, IA 50309-3993

John Renick; 2730 North Ballas Road; Suite 200; St. Louis,

MO 63131

/s/ J. Hoch

Deputy Clerk

60a

APPENDIX E

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

a

Nos. 90-2375, 90-2376 and 90-2897NI

Gladys Murray, on Behalf of

Herself and All Others Similarly

Situated, consent to become party

plaintiffs: Floyd Caskey; Christine

Christiansen; Allan Christiansen;

Donald Scott; Roger D. Hoyt;

Deborah L. Hoyt; Russell C.

Renecker; Carol Renecker; Eugene

A. Rutledge; Lawrence B. Taylor;

Warren Kajander; Jeannette

Petrimoulx; Kinney Bryant; Bettye

Bryant; Carol S. Lewis; James L.

Lewis; Harley Blair; Thomas * Appeal and

Miller; Joyce Thompkins; Veralyn ‘* Cross-Appeal

Blair; Sandra L. Crist, in her * from the United

capacity as executrix of the estate * States District

of Kenneth L. Crist; Kenneth Crist; * Court for the

Rita Miller; Michael Hamilton; * Northern District

Anna M. Foster; Joni Bushnell; * of Iowa.

Lois Louise Phillips; Adrienne

Geisenheimer; Sharon Jacoby;

Bonnie Stotts; Linda M. Brown;

Sandra Crist; Larry Brown; Randy

Bushnell; Bobbie Cockrell; Mary T.

Cope; Stanley Dixon; Thomas

Foster; Edward Geisenheimer; Rae

Jean Hamilton; Loren Jacoby;

o 6 OE OO ECTS TE SS

“Se ae oe ee ea ace aes eee

6la

Donald Phillips; Joy M. Powers;

Arthur Stotts; David Tompkins;

Sidney Murray; Bev Caskey;

Michelle Scott; Kevin Murray;

Joylene Taylor; William

Pohlman; Robert Pohlman;

Nancy Pohlman; Robin Kajander;

Tony Tompkins; Tracy Tompkins;

Georgina Phillips; Tammy

Moore; Bonita Dixon; Charles

Brown,

Plaintiffs-Appellees

and Cross-Appellants.

v.

Stuckey’s, Inc. and Pet Incorporated,

Defendants-Appellants

and Cross-Appellees.

Submitted: February 13, 1991

Filed: July 25, 1991

Before BOWMAN, MAGILL, and LOKEN, Circuit Judges.

LOKEN, Circuit Judge.

Stuckey’s, Inc. and its parent, Pet, Incorporated

(“Stuckey’s”), appeal from the district court’s judgment

after a bench trial awarding more than $900,000 in com-

pensatory and liquidated damages and $142,000 in attor-

neys’ fees to forty-five of its former store managers and

62a

hourly employees for violations of the maximum hours

(overtime) requirements of the Fair Labor Standards Act

(“FLSA”), 29 U.S.C. § 207. Stuckey’s argues that the dis-

trict court erred in rejecting Stuckey’s defense that the

store managers were exempt executive employees, in con-

cluding that Stuckey’s violations were willful for statute

of limitations purposes, in awarding liquidated damages,

in failing to require adequate proof of compensatory

damages by each plaintiff, and in its award of attorneys’

fees. Plaintiffs have cross-appealed challenging the dis-

trict court’s calculation of the store managers’ compensa-

tory damages and the attorneys’ fee award. For the

reasons discussed below, we affirm the damage awards to

the hourly employees, reverse the district court’s resolu-

tion of the executive exemption issue, and remand to the

district court for further proceedings.

I. Facts and Proceedings Below

During 1982-1985, the period at issue in this proceed-

ing, Stuckey’s operated roadside stores along interstate

and other major highways across the United States. These

stores were combination gasoline stations, convenience

stores, and restaurants. Pet had acquired Stuckey’s, Inc.

just prior to 1982 and was attempting to reverse its lack of

competitive success in the 1970’s. The attempted turn-

around failed, and Stuckey’s stores were closed sometime

after 1985.

Each Stuckey’s store had an on-site store manager

responsible for its day-to-day operations. Where possible,

Stuckey’s hired married couples who were required to

live on the premises. One spouse was hired as the store

63a

manager and received compensation on a salary basis,

with the opportunity for a profit-oriented bonus; the

other worked as an hourly employee, typically at or near

the minimum wage. Each store manager reported to a

regional manager who was responsible for 10 to 20 stores.

Regional managers visited their various stores peri-

odically and communicated with the store managers by

telephone on at least a weekly basis.

In addition to managing the store’s day-to-day opera-

tions, each store manager was responsible for hiring suf-

ficient additional workers to staff the store in accordance

with a labor budget furnished by Stuckey’s. Stuckey’s

based these labor budgets on the projected volume of

business in each store, which varied seasonally as well as

from store to store. In these budgets, the manager was

scheduled to work 60 hours per week, and his or her

spouse was scheduled to work 40, or in some cases 44

hours per week.

Plaintiffs Sidney and Gladys Murray filed this action

alleging that Stuckey’s unlawfully failed to compensate

them for the overtime that each of them worked at

Stuckey’s stores in Randall and Little Sioux, Iowa. Pur-

suant to 29 U.S.C. § 216(b), the other, similarly situated

plaintiffs filed written consents and became additional

parties. During the lengthy court trial, numerous plain-

tiffs’ witnesses testified that Stuckey’s labor budgets were

unrealistic, so that store managers and their spouses in

fact worked many additional unpaid hours “off the

clock.” The store manager plaintiffs testified that they

were required to work as many as 120 hours per week, so

that they received less than the minimum wage, in order

to meet Stuckey’s stated requirement that they work “as

64a

long as it took to get the job done.” The hourly employee

spouses testified that they worked far more than the 40 or

44 hours for which they were scheduled and paid, and

that Stuckey’s regional managers refused to allow them

to work paid overtime and in fact knew that these plain-

tiffs were working many unpaid hours to help their man-

ager spouses “get the job done.”

Stuckey’s defended its practices as lawful under the

FLSA. Stuckey’s presented evidence intended to show

that its store managers were executive employees for

FLSA purposes and thus were not subject to FLSA’s mini-

mum wage and overtime requirements. In addition,

numerous Stuckey’s witnesses testified that the schedules

were reasonable, that hourly employees were properly

paid for all recorded hours, and that plaintiffs’ claims of

additional hours worked were grossly exaggerated.

Stuckey’s supervisory witnesses denied any knowledge

that managers’ spouses had in fact worked unpaid over-

time.

After trial, the district court initially determined that

the plaintiff store managers had worked more than their

scheduled 60 hours per week, and that they were not

exempt executives and therefore were entitled to FLSA

overtime compensation for all hours worked over 40 per

week. The court found that the hourly paid plaintiffs had

worked substantial unpaid overtime, and that Stuckey’s

had discouraged these plaintiffs from reporting overtime

hours and therefore knew or should have known of the

overtime violations. Having concluded that Stuckey’s

violations were willful, the court held that the three year

statute of limitations applied and that Stuckey’s was lia-

ble to each plaintiff for liquidated damages in an amount

65a

equal to the compensatory damages (the amount of the

unpaid overtime).

Following further factual submissions and argument

concerning the amount of damages, the district court

entered two additional orders, first determining the maxi-

mum number of unpaid overtime hours worked by each

group of plaintiffs, and then fixing a specific amount of

damages for each plaintiff and the attorneys’ fees to be

awarded in favor of all plaintiffs. This appeal followed.

II. The Store Managers

Stuckey’s store managers were paid a flat weekly

salary, were scheduled to work a 60-hour week, and were

told to work for as long as it took to “get the job done.”

The district court determined that this compensation

arrangement was inconsistent with the FLSA’s core

requirement that covered employees be paid 1 1/2 times

their regular rate for hours worked in excess of 40 per

week.! Stuckey’s principal argument on appeal is that the

' The district court then converted this determination into

damage awards in its later post-trial rulings. First, it held: “The

hourly rate shall be determined by dividing the weekly rate by

sixty (60) for managers ... . Managers shall receive one half of

the hourly wage in overtime pay for each of the 20 hours from

40 to 60 that they worked each week. They shall receive one

and one half times the hourly wage for each hour over 60

worked each week. The maximum hours per week to be

allowed in figuring overtime for managers is 70 for each week

from October 1 to May 1 and 77 for each week from May 1

from [sic] October 1.” Specific damages were then awarded to

each store manager plaintiff in the third post-trial order of July

14, 1990. Given our resolution of the executive exemption

issue, we need not consider Stuckey’s challenge to these dam-

age awards.

66a

evidence established that the store managers were “bona

fide executive” employees and were therefore exempt

from FLSA’s overtime requirements under Section

13(a)(1) of the Act, 29 U.S.C. § 213(a)(1).

Section 13(a)(1) expressly provides that the term

“bona fide executive” shall be “defined and delimited

from time to time by regulations of the Secretary” of

Labor. The Secretary’s regulations provide a complicated

definition of an “executive employee.” To establish that

an employee is an exempt executive, the employer must

show that the employee:

- is one whose “primary duty” consists of the

management of a recognized subdivision of

the employer’s enterprise;

- “regularly directs the work of two or more

other employees”;

- “has the authority to hire or fire other

employees” or makes recommendations as to

hiring, firing, and promoting that are “given

particular weight”;

- “regularly exercises discretionary powers”;

and

- devotes less than 40 percent of the work

week to nonexempt activities or “is in sole

charge of . . . a physically separated branch

establishment.”

29 C.F.R. § 541.1. This regulation is further complicated

by a provision that employees who earn more than $250

per week need satisfy only the first two of the above

requirements (the so-called “short test”), whereas

employees who earn less than $250 per week must satisfy

all five (the “long test”). Since some of Stuckey’s store

67a

managers fell into each earnings category during portions

of the damage period, both the short test and the long test

are at issue in this case.

Primary Duty. Much of the evidence at trial

addressed Stuckey’s contention that the plaintiff store

managers’ work satisfied the “primary duty” prong of the

executive employee definition. Seeking to demean or

minimize the importance of the manager’s position, the

plaintiff managers testified that most of their time was

spent on routine non-management jobs such as pumping

§as, mowing the grass, waiting on customers and stock-

ing shelves; that the manager’s duties could be and were

regularly handled by the manager’s hourly-paid spouse;

and that all decisions of real importance were made by

Stuckey’s regional managers to whom the store managers

regularly reported. On the other hand, Stuckey’s wit-

nesses testified that the store managers were in charge of

the day-to-day store operations, which encompassed the

hiring and firing of other store employees, as well as

numerous other discretionary management functions

such as training and supervising store employees, order-

ing merchandise, handling customer complaints, and

safe-guarding cash receipts.

The district court resolved this crucial issue in favor

of plaintiffs, concluding that Stuckey’s had failed to

establish that the store managers’ primary duty was man-

agement for three reasons — because the managers spent

65-90 percent of their time performing non-managerial

duties, because “there were little, if any, differences in the

duties of managers and their spouse hourly employees,”

and because “Stuckey’s regional managers served as the

68a

‘real managers’ of their stores.” We disagree with this

interpretation of the regulations.

The Secretary’s regulations specifically define the

primary duty concept: 29 C.F.R. § 541.103 provides that

the primary duty determination “must be based on all the

facts in a particular case” and that the amount of time

spent on managerial duties is a relevant, but not disposi-

tive, factor:

In the ordinary case it may be taken as a good

rule of thumb that primary duty means the

major part, or over 50 percent, of the employee’s

time. Thus, an employee who spends over 50

percent of his time in management would have

management as his primary duty. Time alone,

however, is not the sole test, and in situations

where the employee does not spend over 50

percent of his time in managerial duties, he

might nevertheless have management as his pri-

mary duty if the other pertinent factors support

such a conclusion. Some of these pertinent fac-

tors are the relative importance of the manag-

erial duties as compared with other types of

duties, the frequency with which the employee

exercises discretionary powers, his relative free-

dom from supervision, and the relationship

between his salary and the wages paid other

employees for the kind of nonexempt work per-

formed by the supervisor.

The district court’s finding that the managers spent 65-90

percent of their time on non-managerial duties, though

imprecise and unexplained, is relevant and not clearly

erroneous. However, it is not a controlling factor under

the regulations. As the court said in Donovan v. Burger

King Corp., 672 F.2d 221, 227 (1st Cir. 1982), “the person

69a

‘in charge’ of a store has management as his primary

duty, even though he spends the majority of his time on

non-exempt work and makes few significant decisions.”

The district court’s second reason, that the managers

and their spouses shared their duties, is in our view

irrelevant to the primary duty inquiry. It is undisputed

that Stuckey’s only designated one employee at each

store to be the manager and only seeks an executive

exemption for that one designated employee. The ques-

tion is whether that person, who was in charge of the

day-to-day operations of an isolated gasoline station, con-

venience store and restaurant, had management as his or

her primary duty. It is irrelevant to that question whether

the manager delegated some discretionary duties, or

whether other employees who reported to the manager

were capable of performing part or even all of the man-

ager’s duties. The employer is still entitled under the

FLSA and the regulations to have one designated exempt

executive at this type of facility.2 See Tipple v. Affordable

Inns, Inc., 24 Wage & Hour Cas. 975 (BNA) (W.D. Okla.

1980) (spouses were hired as “co-managers” of

employer’s motels; manager’s duties included “complete

operation of the office”; held, one spouse an exempt

executive, the other entitled to FLSA damages for unpaid

* The Secretary’s regulatioris specifically warn that an

employer may not expand the number of exempt supervisors

beyond the amount of managerial work required. See 29 C.E.R.

§ 541.105(d). Significantly, the regulations do not provide, con-

versely, that an employee whose primary duty is managerial

will not qualify for exempt executive status because other, non-

supervisory employees are able to and sometimes do perform

his or her managerial duties.

70a

overtime). Thus, the district court erred in relying upon

this factor.

We also conclude that the district court misin-

terpreted the Secretary’s primary duty regulation in rely-

ing upon its third reason, that the regional managers

were the “real managers” of Stuckey’s stores. Section

541.102 of the regulations explains what types of work

are exempt managerial duties. The record is clear that the

store managers performed, at the local level on a day-to-

day basis, the types of management tasks described in

§ 541.102(b). It is true that Stuckey’s manufactured candy

and purchased gasoline for its stores on a national basis

and, like most modern retail chains, prescribed and stan-

dardized many aspects of store operations. It is also true

that the regional managers actively supervised the store

managers, traveling to each store from time to time and

communicating by phone with store managers at least

weekly to monitor compliance with Stuckey’s stan-

dardized methods of operation. However, we do not

believe that the local store manager’s job is any less

managerial for FLSA purposes simply because he or she

has an active regional manager boss. Like other courts

that have considered the question, we believe that the

manager of a local store in a modern multi-store organi-

zation has management as his or her primary duty even

though the discretion usually associated with manage-

ment may be limited by the company’s desire for stan-

dardization and uniformity.

In Donovan v. Burger King Corp., 675 F.2d 516, 521 (2d

Cir. 1982), the court concluded that the primary duty of

Burger King Assistant Managers was managerial, noting

that “the restaurants could not operate successfully

71la

unless the managerial functions of Assistant Managers,

such as determining amounts of food to be prepared,

running cash checks, scheduling employees, keeping

track of inventory, and assigning employees to particular

jobs, were performed.” Rejecting the Secretary’s argu-

ment that all these duties were dictated by Burger King’s

detailed instructions, the court observed:

We fully recognize that the economic genius of

the Burger King enterprise lies in providing uni-

form products and service economically in

many different locations and that adherence by

Assistant Managers to a remarkably detailed

routine is critical to commercial success. The

exercise of discretion, however, even where cir-

cumscribed by prior instruction, is as critical to

that success as adherence to “the book.”

675 F.2d at 521-522. Under the Secretary’s regulations as

construed in Burger King, the primary duty of a local store

manager is no less managerial because the store manager

reports to a distant regional manager whose primary

duty is to manage multiple stores at a higher level within

the organization. As the court said in Donovan v. Waffle

House, Inc., 26 Wage & Hour Cas. (BNA) 868, 874 (N.D.

Ga. 1983), “The mere fact that a superior comes in for a

one- or two-day visit does not destroy the inferior’s sole

charge status if during the intervals when the superior is

absent the inferior manager makes the decisions normally

made by an executive in charge of an establishment.” See

also Marshall v. Sally Beauty Co., 25 Wage & Hour Cas.

(BNA) 672 (E.D. La. 1982).

Having concluded that the district court erred in

construing the primary duty factor, we turn again to

72a

§ 541.103 of the Secretary’s regulations, which provides in

part:

[I]n some departments, or subdivisions of an

establishment, an employee has broad respon-

sibilities similar to those of the owner or man-

ager of the establishment, but generally spends

more than 50 percent of his time in production

or sales work. While engaged in such work he

supervises other employees, directs the work of

warehouse and delivery men, approves adver-

tising, orders merchandise, handles customer

complaints, authorizes payment of bills, or per-

forms other management duties as the day-to-

day operations require. He will be considered to

have management as his primary duty.

In this case, it is undisputed that the plaintiff store man-

agers were the on-site employees ultimately responsible

for the stores’ operations, even though their discretion

was circumscribed. Thus, their responsibilities placed

them squarely within the dictates of the above regulation,

as construed by Burger King and other decisions dealing

with comparable multi-store operations. Accordingly, we

conclude that the district court erred in ruling that

Stuckey’s failed to prove that the plaintiff store man-

agers’ primary duty was management for purposes of the

first part of the “bona fide executive” test, 29 C.FR.

§ 541.1(a).

Two or More Empioyees. To qualify for the executive

exemption, Stuckey’s also must prove that each store

manager regularly supervised two or more employees.

The district court did not reach this issue. The evidence

included Stuckey’s labor budget documents, which

73a

appear to reflect that all Stuckey store managers super-

vised the equivalent of at least two other full-time

employees at all times. Since the district court concluded

that these labor budgets understated the labor needed to

run the stores, it seems likely that Stuckey’s met its

burden of proof as to this factor. However, this was a

contested issue at trial, and it appears that the district

court deferred rulings on the admissibility of other evi-

dence Stuckey’s submitted on the question. Under these

circumstances, it would be inappropriate for us to resolve

this issue in the first instance. Accordingly, it is remanded

to the district court for further consideration.

Other “Long Test” Factors. For store managers earn-

ing less than $250 per week, Stuckey’s must also satisfy

three other cri

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Murray v. Stuckeys, Inc. · 516 U.S. 863 | Frix