Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Association of Frigidaire Model Makers v. General Motors Corp.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

October Term, 1994

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.,

Petitioners,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et ai.,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID L. HALL

Counsel of Record

FLANAGAN LIEBERMAN

HOFFMAN & SWAIM

Attorneys for Petitioners

318 West Fourth Street

Dayton, Ohio 45402

(513) 223-5200 ;

6982

(800) 3 APPEAL + (800) 5 APPEAL « (800) BRIEF 21

ervices, inc.

eer onan aS OE P< See ee wr re b i —

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

I. Whether this Court in Airline Pilot's v. O’Neill, 111 S.Ct.

127 (1991), merely clarified the law applicable to breach of

contract and breach of duty of fair representation cases pursuant to

29 U.S.C. § 185(a) (1947) or whether the Airline Pilot ‘'s decision

announced a change in the law.

II. When does a judgment in the liability phase of a

bifurcated trial become final so that it is the “law of the case”?

III. Whether Petitioners have been denied due process under

the Seventh Amendment of the United States Constitution due to

the unreasonable delays by the lower court in deciding post trial

motions.

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners:

Association of Frigidaire Model Makers, Billie N. Scherer,

Enos O. McNeeley, James E. Minter, Harry M. Simpson, William

A. Shaw, Dale L. Frederick, Robert P. Ruth, Arthur V. Holz, M.L.

Withrow, Jere M. Utz, Paul B. Scott, Donald M. McWhirter,

Rankin C. Long, Kenneth R. Henness, Herbert C. Douglas, Jack

C. Brewer, Jr., Estate of Richard E. Wells, Phillip K. Harris,

Michael Irwin Davis, Gary L. High, James G. Strausbaugh, Gary

D. Saunders, Gary E. Wright, Larry Hackathorne, David D. Flora,

Vernon A. Lawson, Henry C. Gottwald, Wesley M. Myers, Donald

S. Bowman, Rosemary Bowman Theis, Sam Freeman, Carol

George, Robert Guenther, Stanley J. Hake, J.R. Hock, Estate of Al

Henderson, Betty Irwin; G.P. Jones, A.L. Leach, Jerry Monnin,

Barney Monnin, W.R. Morter, Estate of Carl A. Schreier, Paul

Scott, Charles Shanyfelt, Terry Copsey, Art Whisman, Estate of

Don Thill, Harry Glaser, Bruce Fryman, Sue Gilbert, Richard

Gruver, Glen Musen. :

Respondents:

General Motors Corp. and International Union of Electrical,

Radio and Machine Workers, Local 801 AFL-CIO-CLC.

tii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Questions Presented forReview .................... i

coe BS ESSE Tan as en ii

WN x fieeis 60. sec bcus eit. ok iii

IEEE He age Miveren lii

one a apg OD GNSS EES ea 2

Statement of Jurisdiction .......................... 2

Constitutional Provision, Statutes, and Rule Involved ... 2

cee eee ae 4

Reasons for Granting the Writ ...................... 10

I. TheAirline Pilot's only clarifiedthelaw ........ 10

Il. The final judgment of the liability phase ........ it

Il. The SeventhAmendmentIssue ............... 15

see ug dh CEE ED TEP eee 17

TABLE OF CITATIONS

Cases Cited:

Ackley v. Local 337, International Brotherhood of

Teamsters, 948 F.2d 267 6 S|) irra. 13

iv

Contents

Page

Airline Pilot’s v. O’Neill, 499 U.S. 65 (1990), 111 S. Ct.

Sr CR aw 5 Rass ee ec keke i, 8,9, 10, 11, 12, 13

Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605 (1983) ............ 14

Black v. Ryder/P.I.E. Nationwide, Inc., 15 F.3d 573 (6th

Ce: Fe kb vac ccwenne kebeass thee 13

Del Costelio v. Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151(1983) ......... 5,6

Ford Motor Company v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330(1953) .. 11

Le’Mon v. National Labor Relations Board, 499 U.S. 933

ORDO oink os cabs vk c Pea teke as tee 13

Logan v. Zimmerman, 455 U.S. 422 (1981) ............ 15

Nida v. Plant Protection, 7 F.3d522 (1993) ............ 13

Rakestraw v. United Airlines, Inc., 989 F.3d 947 (7th Cir.

1, & ) ee ates Dn SRN IND S Betcha rp TID: Regret Heatran. SEMEN A 13

Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171 (1967) .......... eee e wees 11

White v. Murtha, 377 F.3d 428 (Sth Cir. 1968) .......... 14

Statutes Cited:

Be Uh. ED 6 ab ww pie 0 bes oewey coNtES 2

DUSK. Se. heh ie eh se ks 5

Oe a ee eS ee TT

Vv

Contents

Page

29 U.S.C. § Pe i et i, 2,3, 4,5, 10, 13, 14

United States Constitution Cited:

gate siosctoigemooaress.. MOREE CO EE TOT i, 2, 10, 15

Rule Cited:

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure OP Soca... os cae 3,9, 14

Other Authorities Cited:

Professor John E. Rumel, The Hourglass and Due Process,

26 U. San Francisco L. Rev. 237 (Winter, 1992) ...... 16

Case Note, Notice of Entry of Final Judgments, 58 Cin. L.

HOW. SONS CR NOG) ois oe ee 16

APPENDIX

Appendix A — Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Filed March 31 |. Se la

Appendix B — Decision and Entry Sustaining Defendants’

Renewed Motion for J udgment Notwithstanding the

Verdict of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio Filed December gi, i9e2... Se

Appendix C — Report and Recommendation of the United

States Magistrate Judge Filed December 30,1991 .... 220

vi

Contents

Appendix D — Decision and Entry Overruling Renewed

Motion for New Trial and Motion for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict and/or for New Trial of

United States District Court for the Southern District of

Clio PeseG FamOS, TFG occ cectccessscedase vagy «

Appendix E — Addendum to the Decision and Entry

Affirming the Verdict of the Jury (Filed July 1, 1988) of

the United States District Court for the Southern District

of Ohio Filed July 15, 1968 2... cccccccccccsccscces

Appendix F — Decision and Entry Affirming the Verdict of

the Jury (With) Order of Reference to United States

Magistrate of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio Filed July 1, 1988 .........

Appendix G — Decision of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit Filed July 18, 1988 .....

Appendix H — Decision and Entry Sustaining Defendants’

Motions for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict of

the United States District Court for the Southern District

of Ohio Dated September 21,1983 ................

Appendix I — Judgment Entry on a Jury Verdict of the

United States District Court, Southern District of Ohio

PEG I A Fes es 6c ive Cehotnddndnnaes betes

Page

35a

37a

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

——

October Term, 1994

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, etai.,

Petitioners,

VS.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States

Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Association of Frigidaire Model Makers, et al., the

Petitioners herein, respectfully pray that a Writ of Certiorari issue

to review the judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit entered in the above entitled case on March 31,

1995.

2

OPINIONS BELOW

The March 31, 1995 opinion of the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals whose judgment is herein sought to be reviewed is

reported at Case Nos. 93-3 184/3245/3645/3697, which Decision

is unpublished and is reprinted in the separate appendix to this

Petition at pages 1a-14a. The prior opinion of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Ohio entered

December 31, 1992 and is reported at Case No. C-3-81-343, is

unpublished and is reprinted in the separate Appendix to this

Petition at pages 15a-21a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit was entered on March 31, 1995. The jurisdiction of

this Court is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1) (1988).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION, STATUTES,

AND RULE INVOLVED

U.S. Const. amend. VII.

In Suits at common law where the value in ]

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the

right of trial by jury shall be preserved, and no

fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise re-

examined in any Court of the United States,

than according to the rules of the common

law.

The Labor Management Relations Act

(29 U.S.C. § 185(a) (1947)).

Suits for violation of contracts between an

3

employer and a iabor organization

representing employees in an industry

affecting commerce as defined in this Act, or

between any such labor organizations, may be

brought in any district court of the United

States having jurisdiction of the parties,

without respect to the amount in controversy

or without regard to the citizenship of the

Renewal for Motion for Judgment After

Trial: Alternative Motion for A New Trial

(Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b)).

Whenever a motionforajudgmentasamatter .

of law made at the close of all the evidence is”

denied or for any reason is not granted, the

court is deemed to have submitted the action

to the jury subject to a later determination of

the legal questions raised by the motion. Such ...

a motion may be renewed by a service and

filing not later than ten days after entry of

judgment. A motion for a new trial under Rule

59 may be joined with a renewal of the motion

of judgment as a matter of law, or a new trial

may be requested in the alternative. If a

verdict was returned, the court may, in

disposing of the renewed motion, allow the

judgment to stand or may reopen the

judgment and either order a new trial or direct

the entry of judgment as a matter of law. If no

verdict was returned, the court may, in

disposing of the renewed motion, direct the

entry of judgment as a matter of law or may

order a new trial.

4

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case began in February, 1979 when General Motors

Corporation sold its Frigidaire operations in Dayton, Ohio.

General Motors did not sell the physical facility, instead it began

converting the physical facility to Chevrolet manufacturing

facil‘ties. At the time of the sale of the operations, employees of

Gene:‘al Motors Corporation were represented by The

Interriational Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers,

AFL-CIO-CLC and by its Local Union 801.

For the purpose of completing the conversion, the Unions

and the Company entered into several agreements which affected

or impacted then current Labor Agreements (both local and

national) and set forth procedures for utilizing bargaining unit

members to perform or assist in performing the conversion work.

Over two years after the announcement of the sale forty-nine

employees of General Motors formed the Association of

Frigidaire Model Makers for the purpose of protecting the

interests of these former and/or current General Motors

employees and filed a Complaint in the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Ohio. That Complaint named as

Defendants General Motors Corporation, The International

Union of Electrical, Radio and Machine Workers, and its Local

Union 801. The Complaint was a hybrid § 301 action (29 U.S.C.

§ 185(a)) and it alleged breach of the Labor Agreement as well as

breach of duty of fair representation.

For the purposes of trial, the court recommended and the

parties consented to a bifurcated trial in which liability issues

would be determined before the issues related to damages would

be addressed.

On June 15, 1982, the jury trial commenced in the United

(NN

5

States District Court on the liability issues only'. The liability

issues were whether the Labor Agreement had been breached and

whether the unions had committed violations of § 301 by failing

to properly represent the Petitioners. Petitioners alleged, among

other things, that a labor agreement was entered into pursuant to

which Petitioners were to be immediately reclassified and

recalled, along with other former General Motor employees, to

perform work related to the conversion of the physical facility

and installation of new equipment. This immediate

reclassification and recall would give the recalled employees

Chevrolet seniority immediately upon recall. The recalled

employees would be eligible for recall in line with their plant

seniority as well as skilled trade seniority. All employees,

including skilled employees were to be reassigned to

classifications of available skilled trades which would be utilized

in the manufacturing process in the new Chevrolet operation.

On June 23, 1982, a jury returned a verdict in favor of the

Petitioners on the liability issues. Then began the first of several

judicial delays which ultimately resulted in non-suiting the

Petitioners nearly thirteen years after a verdict was returned in

their favor, and seven years after the Court of Appeals affirmed

that verdict. Respondents timely filed a Motion for a New Trial

and a Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict in J uly,

1982. These motions remained “pending” in the district court

with no decision until September, 1983, some fifteen months

after the verdict was returned. In the meantime, the United States

Supreme Court issued its decision in Del Costello v. Teamsters,

462 U.S. 151 (1983). In Del Costello, this Court applied the six

month statute of limitation contained in the National Labor

Relations Act (29 U.S.C. § 160(b) (1934)), because there is no

specific statute of limitations otherwise applicable. This was a

1. On the day the trial commenced Respondents were permitted to file an

amended answer raising, for the first time, a statute of limitations defense.

6

change in the law because federal courts had been applying

various common law statutes. The Del Costello decision

impacted on the post trial motions because included was the

statute of limitations issue which the Court permitted the

Defendants to raise the morning trial commenced. The district

court issued its decision setting aside the jury verdict and

dismissing the Complaint based upon the statute of limitations in

September, 1983. Thus, the Appellants became a victim of the

lower courts inaction because their verdict was set aside by

“new” law ultimately found not to bar their claim. This initial

fifteen month delay ultimately became a seven year delay which

finally resulted in a non-suit.

The Petitioners appealed this decision to the Sixth Circuit

Court of Appeals and the Respondents cross appealed. A decision

in favor of the Petitioners was rendered by the Sixth Circuit Court

of Appeals on July 18, 1985 remanding the matter back to the

lower court. The remand was for the purpose of determining

whether the action of the Petitioners, in filing grievances which

were never processed by the Union, was in good faith and thus

tolled the running of the statute of limitations. The specific

applicable language is:

The Model Makers case is remanded to the

district court for a determination whether

Plaintiffs’ January, 1981 attempt to file

grievances prevented accrual of their claim

until that time.

(App. 59a).

If the lower court found that issue favorable to the

Petitioners then the Court of Appeals determined that there was

sufficient evidence to support the jury verdict in favor of the

Petitioners:

7

In the Model Makers case, plaintiffs properly

produced evidence that General Motors

agreed to immediately reclassify the

plaintiffs and failed to do so and the union

represented the Model Makers in an arbitrary

or perfunctory manner; we reject defendants’

contention that arbitrariness is an

inappropriate standard to apply to union

conduct when negotiating contract

provisions. The evidence of a claim was far

from uncontroverted, but it was sufficient to

sustain a jury verdict.

(App. 58a).

The remand occurred July 22, 1985. The lower court

instructed briefs to be filed to address the issues and the matter

again remained “pending” before the district court from July,

1985 until July, 1988 (three years) until the court made its

Decision and Entry Affirming the Verdict of the J ury. (App. 39a).

For three years Petitioners waited for a ruling from the court

on the remanded question. When it came, for the second time the

_ Petitioners had prevailed ona jury verdict and for the second time

the matter was referred to the Magistrate to assess damages and

affix seniority rights and obligations of the parties. The matter

went before the Magistrate to determine damages, seniority

rights, and other relief to which Petitioners were entitled and the

trial to the Magistrate (sitting without a jury) on the damages

issue began November 13, 1989 and concluded December 12,

1989. In July, 1990 the Magistrate Judge issued a Report and

Recommendation finding, among other things, that the jury did

not decide the issues of whether the Model Makers were

contractually entitled to work during the tear down or whether

8

any particular Petitioners were improperly reclassified’ and the

Court should, therefore, find that General Motors did not violate

the shut down agreement by failing to work the Model Makers

during the tear down period. The Magistrate Judge also assessed

damages and made other recommendations concerning relief in

that Report and Recommendation.

Objections to this Report were filed by all parties by

September 18, 1990. The Magistrate Judge’s Report and

Recommendation was re-committed to the Magistrate Judge for

determination of objections. The Magistrate Judge issued a

Supplemental Report and Recommendation adhering to his prior

Report and Recommendation without comment on March 25,

1991. By April 8, 1991 all parties had again filed objections to the

Supplemental Report and Recommendation.’

On May 28, 1991, Respondents filed a renewed Motion for

Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, relying on this Court’s

decision in Airline Pilot’s v. O’Neill, 111 S. Ct. 127 (1991). In

December, 1991 the Magistrate Judge issued a new Report and

Recommendation recommending that the Motion of the

Respondents be sustained. This Report and Recommendation

was again re-committed by the Court to the Magistrate Judge

who, on June 16, 1992 issued a Report and Recommendation

recommending that the Respondents’ Motion for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict be granted and the Complaint be

dismissed with prejudice. After appropriate objections were filed

by all parties on December 31, 1992, ten and one half years after

the first jury verdict, the Petitioners were again non-suited

2. This finding is in direct contradiction to the above quoted language

from the Court of Appeals.

3. These Objections to this Report and Recommendation have never

been ruled on due to the subsequent rulings on the renewed motion.

aa ceeieiianaieiiniiemiaiiaiiiea tii

9

because the lower court considered that there was no “law of the

case”. The Court concluded that the Airline Pilot’s case changed

the law and then applied this “change” retroactively to the

substantive issues of this case, thus overruling issues which had

previously been affirmed by the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals in

1985.

On appeal, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals affirmed the

decision of the district court.

The Court of Appeals was of the opinion that there was no

law of the cause because there was no final judgment as defined

by Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b). Thus, the motions attacking a jury verdict

rendered eleven years earlier (a verdict which had already been

reviewed and affirmed by the Court of Appeals) was appropriate

because that verdict had not become final. It was also the opinion

of the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals that its remand in 1985 did

not operate to reinstate the July 26, 1982 judgment, a conclusion

difficult to comprehend since this Court reached the conclusion

that if the remanded issue (the 1981 attempt to file grievances)

was found in favor of the Petitioners then there was sufficient

evidence to support the jury verdict in favor of the Petitioners.

On the other issues, the Court of Appeals did agree that the

question of whether there was a final judgment was of

significance only if the Court’s decision in Airline Pilot's

announced a new rule or a change in the law. The Sixth Circuit

Court of Appeals concluded that Airline Pilot’s does set forth a

change of law, which permitted the Court of Appeals to affirm the

lower court’s decision’. The Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals

4. Neither the lower court nor the Court of Appeals addressed Petitioners

right to a new trial if the “new” law required additional evidence. Since the

basis for setting aside the judgment is a result of the weighing of the evidence, ~

Petitioners should be given the opportunity of presenting evidence to meet the

new law.

10

addressed the Seventh Amendment issue only tangentially,

making the observation that the delays were due in part to the

parties’ decisions so that “any injustice or outrage is self

inflicted” and that “both sides have nobody to blame but

themselves”. (App. 14a). The record in this case as above

narrated speaks to the contrary.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Sixth Circuit should be reviewed by this Court because it brings

to this Court three unique questions that should be addressed.

Research does not disclose that any of these questions have

previously been specifically addressed by this Court. These

questions are:

1. Does this Court’s decision in Airline Pilot’s express a

contrary view of the law applicable to § 301 cases?

2. When does a judgment on the liability issues in a

bifurcated jury trial become the law of the case?

3. When does judicial delay become so significant that it

adversely affects the rights of the parties?

I.

THE AIRLINE PILOT’S ONLY CLARIFIED THE LAW

When this Court announced its decision in Airline Pilot's it

began with the following statement:

We granted certiorari to clarify the standard

that governs a claim that a union has breached

its duty of fair representation in its

Te

11

negotiation of a back-to-work agreement

terminating a strike. We hold that the rule

announced in Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 190

(1967) — that a union breaches its duty of fair

representation if its actions are “arbitrary,

discriminatory, or in bad faith” — applies to

all union activity, including contract

negotiation.

Airline Pilot's v. O’Neill, 499 U.S. 65, 67 (1990). (Emphasis

added).

In addition to citing Vaca, the Court also drew upon Ford

Motor Company v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330 ( 1953), to reaffirm that

the tri-pronged elements of a breach of duty of fair representation

will remain arbitrary, discriminatory or bad faith conduct of a

union.

This Court also made it clear that the Airline Pilot's decision

was only clarifying the language applicable to the “arbitrary”

prong of the tripartite standard.

We further hold that a union’s actions are

arbitrary only if, in light of the factual and

legal landscape at the time of the union’s

actions, the union’s behavior is so far outside

“a wide range of reasonableness” [cite

Omitted] as to be irrational.

Id. at 67.

We are persuaded, however, that the Court of

Appeals further refinement of the

arbitrariness component of the standard

authorizes more judicial review of the

12

substance of negotiated agreements than is

consistent with national labor policy.

Id. at 77.

Clearly mindful of this Court’s language that the

arbitrariness standard was merely being “clarified” the Sixth

Circuit Court of Appeals attempted to rationalize its refusal to

follow this instruction by arguing:

While the Court characterized its decision in

Airline Pilot’s as “clarifying” the duty of fair

representation standard, this Court saw it in

Ackley v. Local 337, International

Brotherhood of Teamsters, 948 F.2d 267 (6th

Cir. 1991), as enough of a change in existing

circuit law to warrant vacating a decision it

had held for rehearing, pending the outcome

of Airline Pilot’s.

(App. 11a).

The Sixth Circuit’s analysis in the above quoted section of its

decision fails to properly apply Airline Pilot’s in two significant

ways. First of all, it applies the Airline Pilot’s decision across the

board to the “duty of fair representation standard” rather than to

just the arbitrary prong of that standard. Secondly, it

recharacterizes this Court’s statement it was “clarifying” the

arbitrary prong of the standard and defines this Court’s language

as expressing “a change in existing circuit law”.

In addition to suffering from the misapplication of Airline

Pilot’s by the Sixth Circuit, Petitioners submit that decisions of

both the Sixth and Seventh Circuit Courts of Appeal demonstrate

conflict and confusion among, between and within the Circuits.

i aaeeminmiadaaaiaaaaiaiiais

13

For example, the Sixth Circuit now applies Airline Pilot's across

the board to all three prongs of the breach of duty of fair

representation claim (See Nida v. Plant Protection, 7 F.3d 522

(1993)) and dissent of Judge Boggs in Ackley, infra at 268; or,

maybe in the Sixth Circuit whether Airline Pilot’s applies to just

the arbitrary prong or to all three prongs is determined by which

panel of judges is assigned to the case. See Black v, Ryder/P.1.E.

Nationwide, Inc., 15 F.3d 573 (6th Cir. 1994),

The Seventh Circuit’s recent decision in Rakestraw v. United

Airlines, Inc., 989 F.3d 947 (7th Cir. 1993), an en banc decision,

shows the same lack of understanding and consistency of

application. In Rakestraw two judges (Judges Flaum and Ripple)

dissented from the application of Airline Pilot’s by the majority.

The dissent there pointed out that the majority opinion deviated

from the established law that this Court has set for § 301 cases.

The deviation occurred where the Court failed to evaluate the

three pronged test separately. Id. at 945. Now, in Nida infra, Black

infra, and in the instant case the Sixth Circuit has joined the

Seventh Circuit in misapplying Airline Pilot's. As pointed out in

the Rakestraw dissent the Seventh Circuit (and now the Sixth

Circuit) is in conflict with other circuits by deviating from the

established law of the Supreme Court. /d. at 947.

Thus, whether Airline Pilot's represents new law and

whether it applies to only one or all three prongs of the breach of

duty standard is not controlled by the law as established by the

Supreme Court, at least in the Sixth and Seventh Circuits, but is a

function of which panel of judges is assigned to hear the case. The

failure of a circuit court to apply the law established by the

Supreme Court requires vacating and remanding the action,

which the Court did for the Tenth Circuit in Le’Mon v. National

Labor Relations Board, 499 U.S. 933 ( 1991).

Petitioners submit that the confusion and conflict between

14

the Circuits and among the judge’s within the Circuits commends

this case for certiorari toe clarify once and for all the application of

the standard applicable to § 301 cases.

II.

THE FINAL JUDGMENT OF THE LIABILITY PHASE

Petitioners’ position on this issue is quite simple. This Court

should also establish the principle that a verdict rendered in the

liability phase of a bifurcated trial is final for all purposes, when a

judgment on the verdict is recorded. Petitioners submit that a jury

verdict recorded July 26, 1982 that is sufficiently final to be

appealed and reaffirmed by the Court of Appeals is, therefore,

sufficiently final to become the law of the case. As a result,

motions which are to be filed within ten days after the entry of

judgment are not timely filed when filed three years later.

“Changes in the law” which are announced subsequent to the

filing of judgments on the liability issues in bifurcated cases

cannot be used to intrude into the finality of that judgment. See

Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605 (1983) and White v. Murtha,

377 F.2d 428 (Sth Cir. 1968).

Even the Court of Appeals acknowledges that there is a

judgment for the purposes of finality under Rule 50(b) if an

appeal lies therefrom. (App. 8a). This case was appealed. The

Respondents cross-appealed attacking the sufficiency of the

evidence to support a jury verdict. The Court of Appeals, in 1985,

expressly dealt with that issue finding that there was sufficient

evidence to support the jury verdict.

The point of departure between the instant case and the

authorities relied upon by the Court of Appeals is that there was a

final judgment issued in this case on July 26, 1982. (App. 67a).

That final judgment was reaffirmed by the Court of Appeals and

15

the district court in subsequent proceedings. It should not require

the filing of a second final judgment order to establish the law of

the case as to the liability phase of the bifurcated trial.

It is submitted that this Court should grant certiorari to

establish a clear statement of federal law applicable to bifurcated

trials and to correct the error of the court below in the instant case.

Such a rule will prevent other parties similarly situated (who

consent to bifurcated trials) from becoming victimized where

intervening delays, whether due to judicial inaction or the result

of regular court process, subject a prevailing party to being non-

suited by a subsequent change in the law. x

III.

THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT ISSUE

Petitioners herein contend that because of the judicial delays

which have occurred in this case, they have been denied their

right to a trial by jury. Their right to a trial by jury was afforded to

them in June, 1982.5 Judicial delays (that is the inaction of the

district court on the occasions identified in the statement of the

case) served to deny the prevailing parties their right to trial by

jury. It wastes the time and energy, not only of the parties, but also

the jurors who serve at a great sacrifice. There was a fifteen

month delay between the entry of the judgment in favor of the

Petitioners in July, 1982 and the September, 1983 decision of the

district court on the Motions for a New Trial and J udgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict. There was a three year delay

between the time the Court of Appeals remanded the case back to

the district court and the time the district court issued its decision

on the remanded issue. There were delays of six to twelve months

in the committing and re-committing Reports and

5. This is a federally recognized and protected right. See Logan vy.

Zimmerman, 455 U.S. 422 ( 1981).

16

Recommendations back to the Magistrate and a delay between

the time of the Report and Recommendation of the Magistrate

and the final decision of the district court on the Magistrate’s

Report and Recommendation. Quite contrary to the suggestion of

the Court of Appeals, none of the above stated delays were

instigated by the parties to the litigation, unless one construes the

filing of an Answer and a Complaint as instigating judicial

delays.

Judicial delays and their tragic consequences as

demonstrated by the instant case have become a matter of

increasing concern. In a recent law review article, Professor John

E. Rumel, The Hourglass and Due Process, 26 U. San Francisco

L. Rev. 237 (Winter, 1992), pointed out that in addition to the

named parties there is an unnamed party in every law suit and that

unnamed party is the public. He pointed out, drawing from some

judicial authorities who were concerned about the speedy

resolution of civil disputes, that public resources can be

squandered if judicial proceedings are allowed to proliferate for

unreasonable periods of time. The publics belief in the integrity

of the judicial system becomes severely challenged if there is no

definite and ascertainable point of time when litigation shall

become ended. Case Note, Notice of Entry of Final Judgments,

58 Cin. L. Rev. 1043, 1060 (1990).

Of course, this issue does not have to be reached if the Court

grants certiorari on the other two questions presented. This issue

is, nevertheless, important and significant to all citizen litigants,

witnesses and jurors. A judicial process which demands the

timely performance of functions by jurors, witnesses and parties

but then itself fails to perform its functions in a reasonable and

timely manner justly subjects itself to questions of its fairness,

impartiality, trust and judiciousness. These criteria are necessary

for a social institution, charged with providing an accessible

means of resolving disputes, to earn and retain the respect of the

citizens it serves, and to properly fulfill its function.

17

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petitioner respectfully prays

that this Petition for Writ of Certiorari be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

DAVID L. HALL

Counsel of Record

FLANAGAN LIEBERMAN

HOFFMAN & SWAIM

Attorneys for Petitioners

318 West Fourth Street

Dayton, Ohio 45402

(513) 223-5200

la

APPENDIX A — DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

FILED MARCH 31, 1995

NOT RECOMMENDED FOR PUBLICATION

Nos. 93-3184/3245/3645/3697

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. and INTERNATIONAL UNION

OF ELECTRICAL, RADIO, & MACHINE WORKERS,

LOCAL 801, AFL-CIO-CFC,

Defendants-Appellees.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

BEFORE: MARTIN and BOGGS, Circuit Judges; and

FORESTER, District Judge°

PER CURIAM The plaintiffs (“the Model Makers”) are a

* The Honorable Karl S. Forester, United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Kentucky, sitting by designation.

2a

Appendix A

group’ of skilled tradesmen formerly employed as model makers

by the now-defunct Frigidaire Division of defendant General

Motors Corporation (“GM”). They appeal the district court’s

entry of judgment as a matter of law dismissing their hybrid § 301

breach of agreement/duty of fair representation claim against GM

and co-defendant International Union of Electrical, Radio &

Machine Workers, Local 801, AFL-CIO-CLC (“the Union”).

The Model Makers make three arguments on appeal: (1)

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b) precludes consideration of

the defendants’ renewed motion for judgment as a matter of law;

(2) the district court violated the “law of the case” by applying Air

Line Pilots Ass’n Int'l v. O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65 (1991); and (3) the

district court deprived the plaintiffs of due process by denying

them expeditious resolution of this case. We reject these

arguments and affirm the district court’s dismissal of this case.

I.

This appeal comes to the court with a tortured past.” Briefly,

1. There seems to be a question of how many people are suing the defendants.

Petitioners refer to forty-nine plaintiffs, respondents state that there are forty-eight,

and our count of those listed in the complaint is fifty-two (including the estates of

eight who have died).

2. After the district court entered the final judgment on its docket sheet on

December 31, 1992, plaintiffs filed their first notice of appeal (No. 93-3097) on

January 28, 1993, within the thirty days allowed by Fed. R. App. P. 4(a)(1).

However, they improperly identified the party taking appeal as “Association of

Model Makers, et al.” instead of listing each party individually. On February 16,

1993, plaintiffs moved for an extension of time to appeal (No. 93-3184) pursuant to

Fed. R. App. P. 4(a)(5), which permits such motions within sixty days of a final

judgment “upon a showing of excusable neglect or good cause.” The next day, the

(Cont'd)

3a

Appendix A

this suit arose out of the decision by GM in 1979 to sell its

Frigidaire Division and to convert two Dayton, Ohio, Frigidaire

production plants for use by its Chevrolet division.? Almost all

employees at the Frigidaire plants were to be laid off during a

two-year transition period.

The defendants agreed to employ in the Chevrolet plant,

with unbroken seniority, those Frigidaire workers who were

union members. Most of the skilled tradespersons from the

Frigidaire facilities could have found equivalent positions at

Chevrolet, but since Chevrolet had reiegated all modeling

activity to its facility in Warren, Michigan, the Model Makers

were no longer needed in Dayton. The defendants informally

agreed to establish a joint union-management committee to

Cont’

+d A granted the extension in a notation order. Defendants moved for relief

from this order since they were not given an opportunity to contest plaintiffs’

motion. Plaintiffs again moved for an extension of time to appeal (No. 93-3245) on

February 26.

In an order dated March 18, 1993, the district court vacated its notation order

sua sponte, thus mooting defendants’ motion for relief. On May 28, 1993, the court

granted the extension of time to appeal that was sought by plaintiff's motion of

February 26, giving plaintiffs ten days to file notice of appeal; they did soon June 2,

1993 (No. 93-3645). Defendants appealed the court’ s extension on June 18 (No. 93-

3697), arguing that there was neither good cause or excusable neglect.

We find no abuse of discretion, and agree completely with the district court’s

reasoning in its May 28 decision. Since both of plaintiff’ s motions were within sixty

days of the final judgment, we have jurisdiction to hear this appeal.

3. The opinion in Adkins v. International Union of Elec., Radio & Mach.

Workers, 769 F.2d 330 (6th Cir. 1985), gives a more detailed history of this

litigation.

4a

Appendix A

reclassify the Model Makers into another skilled trade

classification, which would make them eligible for jobs in

Dayton.

Union members ratified the plant closing agreement in

February of 1979, and layoffs began shortly thereafter. During

the transition period, the joint committee successfully

reclassified all model makers at the Dayton plants, but these

reassigned workers were not given seniority credit for their time

working at Frigidaire. On June 24, 1981, the plaintiffs sued,

alleging that GM had breached the plant-closing agreement, in

violation of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§ 185, and that the Union had breached its duty of fair

representation by permitting the plaintiffs to be reclassified

without retaining their seniority rights.

The district court bifurcated the liability and damages issues,

and the liability question was tried before a jury. On June 23,

1982, the jury rendered a verdict for the Model Makers, and the

court entered judgment “for the Plaintiffs and against the

defendants as to liability only” on July 26, 1982.

Following the jury verdict, the defendants moved for

judgment notwithstanding the verdict. On September 21, 1983,

the trial court held that the statute of limitations barred the Model

Makers’ claims and granted the defendants’ motion.‘ The

plaintiffs appealed the decision to this court, and the defendants

cross-appealed, arguing that the Model Makers had failed to

produce sufficient evidence of bad faith or arbitrary conduct by

the Union or breach of the plant-closing agreement by GM.

4. Association of Frigidaire Model Makers v. General Motors Corp., 573 F.

Supp. 236 (S.D. Ohio 1983).

5a

Appendix A

In Adkins v. International Union of Elec., Radio & Mach.

Workers, Local 801, 769 F.2d 330 (6th Cir. 1985), another panel

of this court agreed that a six-month statute of limitation applied,

but remanded the case for a determination of when the plaintiffs’

cause of action accrued. The court also rejected the defendants’

cross-appeal:

A hybrid section 301/unfair representation

claim requires the plaintiff to show that the

employer breached the collective bargaining

agreement and that the union acted in such a

discriminatory, dishonest, arbitrary, or

perfunctory fashion as to breach its duty of

fair representation. [DelCostello y.

International Bhd. of Teamsters, 462 U.S.

151, 163-64 (1983)). . . . [P]laintiffs properly

produced evidence that [GM] agreed to

immediately reclassify the plaintiffs and

failed to do so and that the union represented

the model makers in an arbitrary or

perfunctory manner; we reject defendants’

contention that arbitrariness is an

inappropriate standard to apply to union

conduct when negotiating contract

provisions. The evidence of a claim was far

from uncontroverted, but it was sufficient to

sustain a jury verdict. |

Adkins, 769 F.2d at 336-37 (emphasis added).

Upon remand, the district court concluded that the plaintiffs’

claim accrued late enough to make its suit timely, and entered an

order on July 1, 1988, captioned as follows:

6a

Appendix A

DECISION AND ENTRY AFFIRMING

THE VERDICT OF THE JURY;

JUDGMENT ENTERED IN FAVOR OF

THE PLAINTIFFS AND AGAINST THE

DEFENDANTS; ORDER OF REFERENCE

TO UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE TO

ASSESS AMOUNT OF DAMAGES AND

TO AFFIX THE SENIORITY RIGHTS AND

OBLIGATIONS OF THE PARTIES,

PURSUANT TO THE JURY VERDICT.

In the order, the court concluded that “the verdict of the jury must

be affirmed and that judgment must ultimately be entered in favor

of the Plaintiffs and against the Defendants.” (emphasis added).

With the issue of damages still pending before the magistrate

judge, the defendants, on May 28, 1991, renewed their motion for

judgment notwithstanding the verdict, (now designated as a

motion for judgment as a matter of law). They asserted that in Air

Line Pilots Ass’n Int'l v. O’Neill, 499 U.S. 65 (1991), the

Supreme Court had articulated a new definition of arbitrary union

conduct in hybrid § 301 suits, and that the plaintiffs had not

satisfied this standard. On December 31, 1992, the district court

agreed and entered judgment in favor of the defendants. This

appeal followed.

II

The standard for reviewing a district court’s ruling on a

motion for judgment as a matter of law is identical to that

governing a motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

Black v. Ryder/P.I.E. Nationwide, Inc., 15 F.3d 573, 583 (6th Cir.

1994):

Ta

Appendix A

[T]his court reviews a motion for judgment as

a matter of law using the same standard used

by the district court. The court should not

weigh the evidence, evaluate the credibility

of witnesses, or substitute its judgment for

that of the jury; rather, it must view the

evidence in the light most favorable to the

party against whom the motion is made, and

give that party the benefit of all reasonable

inferences.

Ibid. (citations omitted). Accordingly, the motion should be

sustained only “[i]f the evidence ‘points so strongly in favor of

the movant that reasonable minds could not come to a different

conclusion.’ ” Marsh v. Arn, 937 F.2d 1056, 1060 (6th Cir. 1991),

quoting Ratliff v. Wellington Exempted Village Schools Bd. of

Educ., 820 F.2d 792, 795 (6th Cir. 1987).

Il.

The Model Makers argue that the district court’s order

granting judgment as a matter of law violated Rule 50(b)* because

the defendants renewed their prior motion on May 28, 1991,

almost nine years after the district court Originally entered

judgment for the plaintiffs on July 26, 1982. Alternatively, they

argue that the district court’s July 1, 1988 “decision and entry”

constituted a judgment in the plaintiffs’ favor, and that the

defendants’ May 1991 renewed motion was not filed within 10

days of this judgment. They urge this court to find that there was a

5. A motion for judgment as a matter of law, having been made and denied at

the close ofall the evidence, “may be renewed by service and filing not later than 10

days after entry of judgment.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b).

8a

Appendix A

judgment outstanding when the defendants filed their May 1991

motion, because for the court to hold the trial record open for nine

years would be “patently ludicrous, manifestly unjust, and

probably a denial of due process.” Thus, the plaintiffs’ timeliness

challenge hinges upon whether the district court had ever entered

a judgment sufficient to start the running of the ten-day

limitations period of Rule 50(b).

We hold that there has not been such a judgment in this case.

A jury finding of liability is not a final judgment for the purposes

of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(b). The federal rules define

“judgment” to include “a decree and any order from which an

appeal lies.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 54(a). In addition, “[e]very judgment

shall be set forth on a separate document .. . [and] is effective

only when so set forth and when entered as provided in Rule 79(a)

[into the civil docket].” Fed. R. Civ. P. 58.

This court has observed that a district court’s filing of a

memorandum opinion does not constitute a judgment, and that

the time limitations for post-judgment motions do not begin to

run until “a separate document setting forth the judgment in

compliance with Rule 58 [has been] entered.” Jetero Constr. Co.,

Inc. v. South Memphis Lumber Co., 531 F.2d 1348, 1351 (6th Cir.

1976). Further, a court’s jurisdiction continues “[uJntil the entry

of its judgment disposing of the litigation,” and a court retains the

“inherent power to correct any error of its own which it may have

previously made. . . .” /bid. (citations omitted).

A judgment in a bifurcated proceeding is not final until both

liability and damages have been fully resolved. Brown v. United

States Postal Serv., 860 F.2d 884, 886 (9th Cir. 1988) (concluding

that “[{a] district court judgment of liability is not a final judgment

where it remains for the district court to assess damages or

9a

Appendix A

adjudicate other claims for relief”); O. Hommel Co. v. Ferro

Corp., 659 F.2d 340, 353 (3d Cir. 1981) (holding that the term

“judgment” in Rule 50(b) is limited to final judgments), cert.

denied, 455 U.S. 1017 (1982); Warner v. Rossignol, 513 F.2d 678,

684 n.3 (1st Cir. 1975) (rejecting in a bifurcated trial “plaintiff’s

contention that a new trial motion with respect to liability had to

be filed within ten days of entry of the interlocutory judgment...

[because] ‘[t]he judgment’ referred to in [Rule 59(b)] is the final

judgment that will be entered after damages are assessed.”).

Despite the passage of almost nine years from the jury’s

verdict, there simply was no outstanding judgment on record at

the time the defendants filed their renewed motion. The remand

from this court did not order reinstatement of the July 26, 1982,

judgment in the plaintiffs’ favor, but instead required “a

determination of whether the plaintiffs’ J anuary 1981 attempt to

file grievances prevented accrual of their claim until that time.”

Adkins, 769 F.2d at 337. Nor was the district court’s July 1, 1988,

“DECISION AND ENTRY” a final judgment for this purpose:

the document was in the form of a memorandum opinion that

specifically stated that “a judgment must ultimately be entered in

favor of the plaintiffs.” In addition, no separate document

entering judgment pursuant to this memorandum Opinion was

ever filed as required by Fed. R. Civ. P. 58. Accordingly, the

district court was correct in concluding that “as of the time of the

filing of the motion under discussion, there was no valid

judgment in force in this litigation.”

IV

The absence of a final judgment is of consequence only if the

Supreme Court’s decision in Air Line Pilots set forth a new rule.

Thus, the district court could not revisit its prior determination

10a

Appendix A

that the union’s conduct breached its duty of fair representation

without violating the law already established in this case. This

court has observed that the law of the case “applies with equal

vigor to the decisions of a coordinate court in the same case and to

a court’s own decisions.” United States v. Todd, 920 F.2d 399, 403

(6th Cir. 1990).

In Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 618 (1983), the

Supreme Court noted that “the doctrine posits that when a court

decides upon a rule of law, that decision should continue to

govern the same issues in subsequent stages in the same case.”

Nonetheless, “[l]aw of the case directs a court’s discretion, it does

not limit the tribunal’s power. . . . [I]t is not improper for a court

to depart from a prior holding if convinced that it is clearly

erroneous and would work a manifest injustice.” Jd. at618 & n.8

(citations omitted). Therefore, the “law of the case” doctrine

precludes reconsideration of settled issues unless a “controlling

authority” sets forth a “contrary view of the law.” White v.

Murtha, 377 F.2d 428, 431-32 (Sth Cir. 1968).

The plaintiffs’ position rests entirely on _ their

characterization of the Supreme Court’s intervening decision in

Air Line Pilots Ass’n Int’l v. O'Neill, 499 U.S. 65 (1991), as a

mere clarification of the law, rather than a contrary decision of

law. In Air Line Pilots, the Court considered the case of striking

airline pilots who, by virtue of the back-to-work agreement

negotiated by their union, received less favorable treatment than

if they had unilaterally agreed to return to work. 499 U.S. at 79.

The Court held that the standard for determining whether a union

breaches its duty of fair representation in contract negotiations

was the same as that for other union conduct: “a union breaches

its duty . . . if its actions are either ‘arbitrary, discriminatory, or in

bad faith.’” Jd. at 67. The Court’s definition of “arbitrary”

afforded great deference to the union:

lla

Appendix A

Any substantive examination of a union’s

performance, therefore, must be highly

deferential, recognizing the wide latitude that

negotiators need for the effective

performance of __ their bargaining

responsibilities. . . . [T]he final product of the

bargaining process may constitute evidence

of a breach of duty only if it can be fairly

characterized as so far outside a ‘wide range

of reasonableness,’ that it is wholly

‘irrational’ or ‘arbitrary.’

Id. at 78 (citation omitted).

While the Court characterized its decision in Air Line Pilots

as “clarifying” the duty of fair representation standard, this court

saw it in Ackley v. Local 337, Int’l Brotherhood of Teamsters, 948

F.2d 267 (6th Cir. 1991), as enough of a change in existing circuit

law to warrant vacating a decision it had held for rehearing,

pending the outcome of Air Line Pilots. The Ackley case involved

an employer’s decision to merge the employees and functions of

two separate facilities into a new facility. Different union locals

had represented employees of the two original facilities, but only

one was allowed to represent the combined workforce. The

appointed local negotiated full seniority for its members, but

“endtailed”® the seniority of the other local’s workers, who were

on layoff status when the facilities merged. A jury found that the

local had breached its duty of fair representation to the endtailed

employees.

In this court’s vacated opinion, the majority held that the

6. The term “endtailing” refers to the practice, when two locals merge, of

giving less seniority to some employees.

12a

Appendix A

plaintiffs had presented sufficient evidence of hostility by the

local to sustain the jury verdict. Ackley v. Local 337, Int’l

Brotherhood of Teamsters, 910 F.2d 1295, 1306 (6th Cir. 1990)

(“Ackley I’). Judge Nelson dissented on the grounds that there

was nothing irrational or hostile about the local’s action, and that

the company and the union, faced with a shrinking market, had

made a difficult decision.’ Under such circumstances, he

reasoned that the fact that some employees received full seniority

while others were endtailed was not a breach of the union’s duty

to represent the workers fairly:

This is not a case where the union was

motivated to discriminate against one faction

on racial grounds . . . [or] because that group

had resisted unionization. ... [Nor is it] a

case where a motive to discriminate unfairly

and in bad faith could be inferred from the

fact that the union’s position was

“unsupported by any rational argument

whatsoever.” ... [T]he bargaining position

taken by the union . .. was supported by an

eminently rational argument.

Id. at 1307-08 (Nelson, J., dissenting) (citations omitted).

Following the Supreme Court’s decision in Air Line Pilots,

Judge Nelson’s dissenting opinion was summarily adopted as the

majority opinion:

7. “Because there were not enough jobs to go around . . . some employees

who wanted to work there and who felt they had legitimate claims on jobs at the

facility were inevitably going to lose out. It was up to the union and the company to

decide, through the collective bargaining process, who the individual winners and

losers would be in this zero-sum game.” /d. at 1307 (Nelson, J., dissenting).

13a

Appendix A

The O'Neill case has now been decided. It

teaches us that what a union does in its

negotiating capacity is not actionable absent

proof of bad faith, discrimination, or behavior

so unreasonable as to be irrational... .

Having reexamined the record of the instant

case in light of O’Neill, we are satisfied,

essentially for the reasons stated by Judge

Nelson in the dissenting opinion . . . that there

is no basis on which the jury could properly

have found the union’s conduct to have been

arbitrary, discriminatory, or irrational.

Ackley v. Local 337, Int’! Brotherhood of Teamsters, 948 F.2d 267

(6th Cir. 1991) (citation omitted).

This court agrees that Air Line Pilots enunciated a “contrary

view of the law” applicable to this case. Otherwise, there would

have been no need for the Ackley J court to reverse itself. Given

that the district court is not only constrained by the law of the

case, but is also obligated to follow controlling authority,

adopting the plaintiffs’ position would require the district court to

ignore a decision of the Supreme Court, which clearly “would

work a manifest injustice.” Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. at 618

n.8 Admittedly, a district court will only rarely be forced to vacate

a jury’s verdict, but that makes it no less appropriate in particular

circumstances. The parties’ own actions in prolonging the

damages portion of the litigation only increased the possibility of

an intervening change in the law. Based on the foregoing, the

plaintiffs’ contention that the district court’s decision violated the

law of the case is without merit.

l4a

Appendix A

Vv

The Model Makers argue that the passage of more than a

decade since their complaint was filed violates their trial rights

under the Seventh Amendment and Federal Rule of Civil

Precedure 1, and that the protracted nature of the proceedings has

denied them due process. The defendants counter that the

plaintiffs should not prevail simply because of the length of the

proceedings. Moreover, the defendants maintain that most of the

delays in this case are directly attributable to the plaintiffs, and

that the plaintiffs have identified no instance in which the

defendants engaged in dilatory tactics.

The Seventh Amendment does not address the speed with

which civil litigation must proceed. It would be unprecedented to

read it as authorizing a judgment in the plaintiffs’ favor merely

because it took the court system thirteen years to dispose of their

claim finally; the defendants have been equally hindered. This

unusually long delay was due in part to the parties’ own

decisions, so that any injustice or outrage is self-inflicted; the

primary culprit is the parties’ inability to conclude the damages

segment of the trial for almost thirteen years. Both sides

contributed to, as well as benefitted from, the delay: six years of

the litigation was spent adjudicating a threshold issue of the

statute of limitations, a ruling that enabled the plaintiffs to

proceed to trial. In short, both sides have nobody to blame but

themselves.

For the foregoing reasons, we put this litigation to final rest

and AFFIRM the district court’s judgment for the defendants.

15a

APPENDIX B — DECISION AND ENTRY SUSTAINING

DEFENDANTS’ RENEWED MOTION FOR JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO FILED DECEMBER 31, 1992

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. C-3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, etal.

Plaintiff

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.

Defendant

DECISION AND ENTRY SUSTAINING DEFENDANTS’

RENEWED MOTION FOR JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING

THE VERDICT (DOC. 196); MAGISTRATE’S REPORT AND

RECOMMENDATIONS (DOC. 202) ADOPTED IN THEIR

ENTIRETY; CERTAIN MATTERS DEEMED MOOT:

JUDGMENT TO DEFENDANTS AND AGAINST PLAINTIFFS;

TERMINATION ENTRY

The renewed motion of the Defendants, seeking an order of

the Court granting judgment notwithstanding the verdict

(construed as a renewed motion for judgment as a matter of law,

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50 (b)), based upon the intervening

decision of the United States Supreme Court in Airline Pilots

16a

Appendix B

Association International v. O'Neill, et al., 499 U.S. __, 113 L.

Ed. 2d 51, 111 S.Ct. 1127 (1991) (Doc. #196), is sustained.

Judgment will be entered in favor of the moving Defendants and

against the Plaintiffs herein, thus terminating this litigation.

This Court has done a thorough review of the memoranda

submitted both in support of and in opposition to the Defendants’

Renewed Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict

(Doc. #196, 198 and 199), the Report and Recommendation of

the United State Magistrate Judge (Doc. #202), which

recommended to this Court the granting of said Renewed Motion

or Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, and the memoranda

filed both in support of and in opposition to the Magistrate

Judge’s Report and Recommendations (Docs. 203, 206, 208 and

213). This Court has conducted a thorough de novo review of the

entirety of the file in Clerk of Court’s office and of the transcript

of the trial which led to a finding of liability in favor of the

Plaintiffs and against the Defendants herein. While it seems

totally anti-climactic to end a case with this lengthy a procedural

history (a multi-week trial on the issue of liability, a month long

hearing on the issue of the remedy and at least one trip to the

Court of Appeals) on this note, this Court is satisfied, to an

absolute degree of certainty, that the Supreme Court’s decision in

Airline Pilots Association v. O’ Neill, a decision which intervened

between the finding of liability and the filing of the instant

motion, is both applicable and dispositive of this litigation.

Moreover, this Court is satisfied that the Supreme Court’s

pronouncement in O’Neill did more than merely explain or refine

a standard of long duration; the holding in O’Neill set forth, in

this Court’s opinion, a new standard applicable to claims of

breach of the duty of fair representation, a standard which the

Plaintiffs in this litigation have failed to meet.

17a

Appendix B

Certainly the denouement of litigation this important and

this protracted, litigation that has already seen in the

neighborhood of 220 docket entries, ought to end with nothing

less than a ringing exposition on the applicable law. However,

this Court has always believed in the wisdom of not “reinventing

the wheel, unless absolutely necessary.” In this Court’s opinion,

while it could not better the rationale set forth by the United

States Magistrate Judge, in his filing of December 30, 1991 (Doc.

#202), which recommended the granting of the Defendant’s

Renewed Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict, the

Court will, in addition to the reasoning and citations of authority

set forth in the Report and Recummendations of the Magistrate

Judge, add the following non-exclusive observations.

A. The Motion is Timely.

Rule 50(b), providing for post-trial renewed motions for

judgment as a matter of law (the successor to the post trial verdict

motion for judgment notwithstanding the verdict) clearly sets

forth that such a motion must be filed “not later than 10 day after

entry of judgment.”' It is crystal clear that, as of the time of the

filing of the motion under discussion, there was no valid

judgment in force in this litigation. Judgment, within the meaning

of the rule, means final judgment. O. Hommel Co. v. Ferro Corp.,

659 F.2d 340 (3rd Cir. 1981), cert. den., 455 U.S. 1017, 102 S.Ct.

1711 (1982). Assuming, arguendo, that this Court had attempted

to journalize, as a judgment entry, the jury’s verdict in favor of the

Plaintiffs on the issue of liability, same would have been an

invalid or non-final judgment, absent a Rule 54 certification,

1. The motion at issue was filed on May 28, 1991, prior to the effective date of

Rule 50(b) on December 1, 1991, a time when the term “judgment notwithstanding

the verdict” was proper. However, the time for filing of said motion was identical to

that applicable to post trial verdict motions for judgment as a matter of law.

18a

Appendix B

since it would have purported to grant judgment on the issue of

liability only, without adjudication of damages. The only

judgment ever entered in this case, prior to the filing of the

motion at issue herein, was the judgment granted by this Court

upon the Defendant’s motion for judgment notwithstanding the

verdict, on September 21, 1983 (Docs. #74 and 75). That

judgment was vacated by the Court of appeals, which remanded

the matter to this Court, for a specific factual finding and inquiry,

upon which the Court’s conclusion that the statute of limitations

barred the Plaintiffs’ claims had been based. On July 1, 1988, this

Court reinstated the verdict of the jury, concluding “that

judgment must ultimately [meaning after the determination of

damages and any other aspects of the remedy] be entered in favor

of the Plaintiffs and against the Defendants.” A referral to the

Magistrate Judge for proceedings related to damages, et cetera,

was made at that time. No judgment has been entered subsequent

to this Court’s reinstatement of the jury verdict.

B. O’Neill is “Controlling Authority” taking a “Contrary View

of the Law.”

The Supreme Court granted certiorari in O’Neill to clarify

that the standard of Vaca v. Sipe, 386 U.S. 171, 87 S.Ct. 903

(1967) — that a union breaches its duty of fair representations if

its actions are either “arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith”? —

applies to all union activity, including contract negotiation. All

union activity includes both the negotiation of a contract and its

implementation or execution. This clarification was unnecessary,

insofar as the Sixth Circuit or this Court was concerned. Both

courts had assumed the blanket application of Vaca v. Sipes to all

aspects of contract formation and execution in prior rulings in

this case.

2. Vaca speaks to actions “either arbitrary, discriminatory or in bad faith.”

However, only the “arbitrary” component is at issue herein.

19a

Appendix B

One aspect of O’Neill represents a change in the law,

profound enough to be both new and contrary authority to the

progeny of Vaca. Prior to O’ Neill, the union was under a duty to

avoid “arbitrary” conduct, Ruzicka v. General Motors Corp., 523

F.2d 306, at 309-10 (6th Cir. 1985). The focus was on the actions

of the union without the requirement that those actions be

considered in the context of other facts and circumstances

existing at the time. Of course, the alleged arbitrary conduct had

to result in some proximately caused damage to a union member

plaintiff, but the gravamen of aclaim of a breach of a duty of fair

representation was on the conduct of the union officials, not on

the result. In O’Neill, the Court stated:

We further hold that a union’s actions are

arbitrary only if, in light of the factual and

legal landscape at the time of the union’s

actions, the union’s behavior is so far outside

“a wide range of reasonableness,” . . . as to be

irrational. O'Neill, 111 S.Ct. at 1130

(citations omitted).

For that reason [to preserve the relationship

between the court and labor unions a highly

deferential, recognizing the wide latitude that

negotiations need for the effective

performance of their responsibilities], the

final product of the bargaining process may

constitute evidence of a breach of duty only if

it can be fairly characterized as “so far outside

a wide range of reasonableness” . . . that it is

wholly “irrational” or “arbitrary.” Id., at

1135-36 (citations omitted).

20a

Appendix B

O’Neill thus introduced into the equation, in addition to the

conduct of the allegedly offending union official, two factors:

The end product and the context in which the allegedly offensive

actions or failure to act took place. The end product must be so

calamitous as to raise the inference that the conduct bringing

about that end product was unreasonable, outside of a wide range

of reasonable conduct, in short, irrational. The actions and the

end product cannot be deemed arbitrary and irrational, as beyond

the pale of reasonableness, without considering both actions and

end product within the context of “the factual and legal landscape

at the time of the union’s actions.”

This Court is satisfied, as it believes was the Sixth Circuit in

Ackley v. Teamsters Local 337, 948 F.2d 267 (6th Cir. 1991),’ that

conduct that would have been proscribed as arbitrary prior to

O’Neill, would pass muster within the meaning of the O’Neill

redefinition of arbitrary, as behavior so unreasonable as to be

irrational, and its mandate that courts consider the

reasonableness of the conduct in question in light of the end

result, measured by the factual and legal milieu existing at the

time. 7

C. The Merits of the Motion.

In light of O’Neill, and the record in this case, keeping the

standard of Rule 50 in mind, this Court concludes that “there is no

sufficient evidentiary basis for a reasonable jury to have found

{for the Plaintiffs on their claim that the union Defendants

breached their duty of fair representation by conduct so

unreasonable as to be wholly irrational].”

3. The Sixth Circuit, on reconsideration in light of O'Neill, reversed a split

decision, 910 F.2d 1295, which had held the union’ s conduct to be in violation of its

duty of fair representation.

21a

Appendix B

D. Certain Matters Rendered Moot.

As a result of this decision terminating this case, the

following matters are rendered moot:

(1) Objections by all parties (Docs. #177, 180 and 183) to

Report and Recommendations of Magistrate Judge (Doc. #171);

(2) Objections by all parties (Doc. #192, 193 and 194) to

Supplemental Report and Recommendations of Magistrate J udge

(Doc. #190); and

(3) Plaintiff’s Request for Attorneys Fees (Doc. #176).

Accordingly said Report and Recommendations are adopted

in their entirety. The Defendants’ Renewed Motion for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict, construed as a renewed motion for

judgment as a matter of law (Doc. #196), is sustained. The

Plaintiffs, having failed to sustain their burden of proof with

regard to their claims against the Union Defendants, cannot, as a

matter or law, prevail against the Employer. Final judgment will

be entered in favor of the Defendants and against the Plaintiffs

herein.

The captioned cause is ordered terminated upon the docket

records of the United States District Court or the Southern

District of Ohio, Western Division, at Dayton.

s/ Walter Herbert Rice

WALTER HERBERT RICE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed to:

David Hall, Esq.

Joseph P. Buchanan, Esq.

Richard F. Rice, Esq.

22a

APPENDIX C — REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

OF THE UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

FILED DECEMBER 30, 1991

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION AT DAYTON

Civil Action No. C-81-343

District Judge Walter Herbert Rice

Magistrate Judge Michael R. Merz

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

-VS-

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATIONS OF UNITED STATES

MAGISTRATE JUDGE: DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR

JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT

SHOULD BE GRANTED

This case is before the Court upon Defendants’ Renewed

Motion for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict (Doc. #196)

which has been referred to the United States Magistrate Judge for

report and recommendation pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 636(b)(3)

(Doc. #200).

Defendants have renewed their motion for judgment because

they believe the law applicable to this case has been changed by

23a

Appendix C

the decision of the United States Supreme Court in Air Lines

Pilots Ass’n. Intern. v. O’Neill.499 U.S. insist SEB. Ce. 4927..113

L. Ed. 2d 51 (1991). They ask this Court to apply the Air Line

Pilots Ass'n. decision in reevaluating their motion for directed

verdict as re-presented to the Court in their prior motion for

judgment notwithstanding the verdict.

Effective December 1,1991, Fed. R Civ. P. 50 was amended

to eliminate the terminology of “directed verdicts” and

“judgment notwithstanding the verdict.” The new terminology is

“judgment as a matter of law.” By Order of the Supreme Court

adopting the rules amendments, they govern “all proceedings in

civil actions then pending, insofar as just and practicable.”

According to the Notes of the Advisory Committee on Rules, new

Rule 50(b) “retains the concept of the former rule that the post-

verdict motion is a renewal of an earlier motion made at the close

of the evidence.” Furthermore, the Committee indicates that,

even after December 1, 1991, denominating the motion as one for

judgment nov is merely a formal error and “Such motion shall be

treated as a motion for judgment as a matter of law in accordance

with this rule.” I conclude that the amendment is, as to the motion

presently before the Court, merely one of terminology not

affecting the decision of the motion either procedurally or

substantively. However, the new terminology will be used below,

consistent with the amendment’s present effectiveness.

TIMELINESS OF THE MOTION

Plaintiffs contend (Reply of Plaintiffs to Defendants

Renewed Motion, Doc. #198) the motion is untimely because

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 50(b), a motion for judgment nov must be

made within ten days of the entry of judgment and judgment in

this action was entered in September, 1983. The judgment to

24a

Appendix C

which Plaintiffs refer (Doc. #74) granted Defendants motion for

judgment nov on statute of limitations grounds. That Judgment

was appealed by Plaintiffs and reversed by the Sixth Circuit in

Adkins v. Intern. Union of Elec., Radio & Machine Workers, 769

F. 2d 330 (1985). That prior judgment, having been vacated, is of

no further force and effect. Surely Rule 50(b) does not mean that

once a party has moved for judgment nov in a case with respect to

a particular judgment, it cannot again make such a motion as to a

later judgment in the case, yet this is the reading for which

Plaintiffs contend. Nothing in the text of Rule 50(b) suggests

such a reading and it should be rejected by the Court.

Since no fii%2] judgment has yet been entered in this case,

there appears to be some dispute between the parties as to

whether the motion is premature. Defendants rely on Collins v.

State of Illinois, 830 F. 2d 692 (7th Cir. 1987), in which a motion

for judgment nov filed after verdict but before judgment was held

timely, even though it was more than ten days after the verdict.

Plaintiffs attempt to distinguish Collins (Doc. #198, p. 3, n.1).

The Collins case is, however, completely inapposite. The issue in

that case was those defendants’ reliance on the old version of

Rule 50(b) which required the motion for judgment nov to be

made within ten days of the verdict. The time portion of the rule

was amended in 1963 to its present form to make it consistent

with the time limits for a motion for new trial. Advisory

Committee Note, 31 F.R.D. at 645. The text of the rule as now

written requires the motion to be filed not later than ten days after

judgment. Defendants’ motion is timely since no judgment, other

than one which has been vacated, has been entered in the case.

LAW OF THE CASE DOCTRINE

The propriety of this Court’s denial of Defendants’ motions

25a

Appendix C

for directed verdict was previously appealed to the Sixth Circuit

which affirmed the denial of a directed verdict. Adkins, 769 F. 2d

at 336-37. The complete opinion of the Court of Appeals on this

assigned error is as follows: .

General Motors has cross-appealed in the

Adkins and Model Makers cases, arguing that

in neither case have plaintiffs shown a cause

of action. A hybrid section 301/unfair

representation claim requires the plaintiff to

Show that the employer breached the

collective bargaining agreement and that the

union acted in such a discriminatory,

dishonest, arbitrary or perfunctory fashion as

to breach its duty of fair representation.

DelCostello [v. International Brotherhood of

Teamsters}, 462 U.S. [151] at 163-164,103 S.

Ct. at 2289-90. . . . In the Model Makers case,

plaintiffs properly produced evidence that

General Motors agreed to immediately

reclassify the plaintiffs and failed to do so and

that the union represented the model makers

in an arbitrary or perfunctory manner, we

reject defendants’ contention that

arbitrariness is an inappropriate standard to

apply to union conduct when negotiating

contract provisions. The evidence of a claim

was far from controveried, but it was

sufficient to sustain a jury verdict.

Id.

Ordinarily when a court of appeals decides a question, that

26a

Appendix C

decision becomes the law of the case upon remand and further

appeal and precludes reconsideration of identical issues. Petition

of United States Steel Corporation, 479 F. 2d 489, 493-94 (6th

Cir. 1973), Ex parte Sibbald v. United States, 12 Pet. (37 U.S.)

489, 9 L. Ed. 1167 (1838). However, the law of the case doctrine

is not applicable if “a controlling authority” subsequently takes a

“contrary view of the law.” Petition of United States Steel

Corporation, 479 F. 2d at 494, citing White v. Murtha, 377 F. 2d

428, 431-32 (Sth Cir. 1968).

The United States Supreme Court being “a controlling

authority” with respect to the Sixth Circuit, the question is

whether the Supreme Court’s opinion in Air Lines Pilots Ass’n.

represents a contrary view of the law to that enunciated in Adkins.

In Air Line Pilots Ass’n., Justice Stevens wrote for a unanimous

Court:

We further hold that a union’s actions are

arbitrary only if, in light of the factual and

legal landscape at the time of the union’s

actions, the union’s behavior is so far outside

a “wide range of reasonableness,” Ford

Motor Co. v. Huffman, 345 U.S. 330, 338, 73

S. Ct. 681, 686, 97 L. Ed. 1048 (1953), as to

be irrational.

111 S. Ct. at 1130.

In Air Line Pilots Ass’n., the district court granted a motion

for summary judgment in favor of the union on the pilots’ claim,

among others, that “ALPA negotiated an agreement which

arbitrarily discriminated against striking pilots.” Because the

standards for granting summary judgment and a directed verdict

27a

Appendix C

are the same,’ in effect the district court held that the pilots had

not produced sufficient evidence for a jury to decide by a

preponderance of the evidence that the union had acted

arbitrarily.

The Fifth Circuit reversed. 886 F. 2d 1438 (1989).

Interpreting the arbitrariness component of unfair representation

claims laid down in Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 87 S. Ct. 903,17

L. Ed. 2d 842 (1967), the Fifth Circuit stated:

We think a decision to be non-arbitrary must

be (1) based upon relevant, permissible union

factors which excludes the possibility of its

being based upon motivations such as

personal animosity or political favoritism; (2)

a rational result of the consideration of these

factors; and (3) inclusive of a fair and

impartial consideration of the interests of all

employees.

886 F. 2d, at 1444, quoting Tedford v. Peabody Coal Co., 533 F. 2d

952, 957 (Sth Cir. 1976) (emphasis added by the Court of

Appeals). Thus the Fifth Circuit was specifically concentrating

on the necessary rationality component of non-arbitrary union

decisions.

On appeal to the Supreme Court, the ALPA union attempted

in vain to have that Court repudiate the arbitrariness element

altogether, which the Court refused to do. The Court did, :

however, reject the Fifth Circuit’s further refinement of the

arbitrariness standard as quoted above

1. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-48 (1986).

28a

Appendix C

We are persuaded, however, that the Court of

Appeals’ further refinement of the

arbitrariness component of the [Vaca v. Sipes]

standard authorizes more judicial review of

the substance of negotiated agreements than

is consistent with national labor policy.

As we acknowledged above, Congress did not

intend judicial review of a _union’s

performance to permit the court to substitute

its own review of the proper bargain for that

reached by the union. Rather, Congress

envisioned the relationship between the

courts and labor unions as similar to that

between the courts and the legislature. Any

substantive examination of a _ union’s

performance, thererore, must be highly

deferential, recognizing the wide latitude that

negotiators need for the effective

performance of their bargaining

responsibilities. Cf. Day-Brite Lighting. Inc..

v. Missouri, 342 U.S. 421, 423, 72S. Ct. 405,

407, 96 L. Ed. 469 (1952) (court does “not sit

as a superlegislature to weigh the wisdom of

legislation nor to decide whether the policy

which it expresses offends the public

welfare”); United States vv. Carolene

Products, 304 U.S., at 154, 58 S. Ct., at 784

(where “question is at least debatable,”

“decision was for Congress”). For that

reason, the final product of the bargaining

process may constitute evidence of a breach

of duty only if it can be fairly characterized as

SWE Sate Ts Ea iat tae PY, BSA CUI pa

ar

Een ate ua ae teeacieheda. one rekaie

29a

Appendix C

so far outside a “wide range of

reasonableness,” Ford Motor Co. v. Huffman,

345 U.S., at 338, 73 S. Ct., at 686, that it is

wholly “irrational” or “arbitrary.”

Air Line Pilots Ass’n., 111 S. Ct., at 1135-36.

The Supreme Court does not cite appellate cases from

circuits other than the Fifth with which its decision in Air Line

Pilots Ass’n. may be in conflict. Neither party has cited this Court

to Sixth Circuit precedent defining the arbitrariness component

of the Vaca v. Sipes standard. It appears that the controlling case is

Ruzicka v. General Motors Co., 523 F. 2d 306 (6th Cir. 1975), in

which the court adopted a standard enunciated by the Fourth

Circuit:

A union must conform its behavior to each of

these three separate standards. First, it must

treat all factions and segments of its

membership without hostility or

discrimination. Next, the broad discretion of

the union in asserting the rights of its

individual members must be exercised in

complete good faith and honesty. Finally, the

union must avoid arbitrary conduct.

523 F. 2d, at 309-10, quoting Griffin v. International Union of

United Automobile Workers, 469 F. 2d 181, 183 (4th Cir. 1974).

In Ackley v. Local Union 337, 910 F. 2d 1295 (6th Cir. 1990), the

court upheld a jury verdict for plaintiffs in a meshing of seniority

situation upon a finding of some hostility by union leadership

over the dissent of Judge Nelson who would have upheld the

union decision. However, the Sixth Circuit apparently regards its

30a

Appendix C

prior interpretation of Vaca as impacted by Air Line Pilots Ass’n.,

because upon reconsideration of its first Ackley decision in light

of the Supreme Court’s decision, it reversed and ordered the entry

of judgment notwithstanding the verdict on the basis of Judge

Nelson’s dissent. Ackley v. Local Union 337, ___ F.2d___. 1991

U.S. App. LEXIS 25780 (10/31/91). I conclude that Air Line

Pilots Ass'n. represents a view of the law contrary to the view

taken by the Sixth Circuit on the prior appeal in this case.

Therefore, the doctrine of law of the case does not bar

reconsideration of whether there was sufficient evidence to

permit the jury to find the Union had acted arbitrarily.

THE MERITS OF THE MOTION

When the standard of Air Line Pilots Ass'n. is applied to the

evidence in this case, I conclude the motion for judgment as a

matter of law should be granted.

As Air Line Pilots Ass’n. directs, we must view the union’s

decision “in light of the factual and legal landscape at the time of

the union’s actions.” 111 S. Ct., at 1130. The facts as I find them

are set forth in the original Report and Recommendations (Doc.

#171) and are summarized as relevant here.

In January, 1979, all Plaintiffs were employed at the

Frigidaire Division of General Motors as model makers, a

function in the product engineering department of Frigidaire

which was responsible for design of new appliance products. All

Plaintiffs were also members of Defendant Local 801, which

represented all of the unionized GM employees at Frigidaire.

In January, 1979, GM decided to sell the Frigidaire business

to White Consolidated Industries and convert the two Frigidaire

are

3la

Appendix C

plants in Moraine, Ohio, to functions for its Chevrolet Division,

specifically truck assembly and building of engines. The

Chevrolet Division already had a product engineering

department in Michigan and did not plan to replicate that function

in Dayton. Plaintiffs were informed of that decision before the

Frigidaire plants ceased production.

Local 801 negotiated on behalf of all its members to obtain

for them employment in the new Chevrolet plants with retained

Frigidaire seniority and potential for employment at other

Dayton-area GM plants. It was successful: GM agreed that 801

members would have recall rights to other Dayton plants and to

the remodeled Chevrolet plants. Furthermore, the twenty-eight

Frigidaire skilled trades classifications would be melded with the

fourteen Chevrolet skilled trades classifications? and skilled

tradespeople would retain, in addition to plant seniority, their

skilled trades seniority.

Since there would not be any model making function in the

Chevrolet plants, these arrangements were not applied to the

model makers. Instead, GM and Local 801 agreed the individual

model makers’ skills would be examined to determine if they

could be reclassified to one of the Chevrolet skilled trades. (L.e.,

other Frigidaire skilled trades were reclassified on a group basis;

model makers were reclassified on a one-by-one basis.) They

would then be eligible for recall to the Chevrolet plants after the

persons already in those skilled trades and would get anew date-

of-entry skilled trades seniority date when they were recalled.

All model makers were laid off from Frigidaire on February

23, 1979, and they were not reclassified until the model maker

2. The only classification both Divisions had in common was “tinsmith”

(Doc. #171, p. 24).

32a

Appendix C

reclassification agreement was signed in May, 1980. The jury

found that the model makers should have been immediately

reclassified to the Chevrolet skilled trades classifications and

should have retained their original Frigidaire skilled trades

seniority dates, which would have enabled them to be recalled

ahead of some of the Frigidaire skilled tradespeople in other

skills who were reclassified as a group.’ Local 801 was found

liable for unfair representation for permitting these results. In

essence, the jury gave the model makers the deal they believed

the union should have negotiated for them instead of the deal the

union actually negotiated.‘

This Court, including the trial jury, cannot be said to have

deferred to the union’s decision in this case in the same manner as

courts are required to defer to legislatures, but that is what Air

Line Pilots Ass’n. commands. The distinction made by Local 801

between the model makers and the other skilled trades was

certainly not “wholly irrational.” All of the other skilled

tradespeople were going to be continuing to perform at Chevrolet

the same job functions as they performed at Frigidaire, albeit

under a different classification name. The model making

function, on the other hand, was completely abolished. The

model makers were entering new job functions, albeit functions

for which they were individually prepared by past employment,

often with other employers.

3. Plaintiffs contend the jury found other breaches of contract by General

Motors; for the reasons set forth at length in the original Report and

Recommendations, I have concluded only these two breaches of contract were

submitted to the jury. (Doc. #171, pp 7-23).

4. Since a § 301 plaintiff is entitled to trial by jury, the judicial review of

union-negotiated agreements referred to by the Supreme Court in Air Line Pilots

Ass’n.is actually review by a jury, subject to the usual rules for court governance of

jury decision making.

33a

Appendix C

Fairness arguments can obviously be made both ways. It

would not have been unfair to the other skilled trades to treat all

Frigidaire skilled tradespeople as a class and integrate them into

the Chevrolet plants in accordance with their original skilled

trades dates at Frigidaire, the result the Plaintiffs wanted and

obtained from the jury. But it also would not have been unfair to

regard the model makers as starting over at new skilled trades, the

result GM and Local 801 negotiated. Since the agreement

negotiated by the union is not “wholly irrational,” it cannot be

held arbitrary and thereby in isolation of § 301. In the words of

Carolene Products, quoted in Air Line Pilots Ass ‘n., the seniority

question is “debatable” and the court should therefore defer to the

union, as it would to a legislature in parallel circumstances.

Reaching this result does not require an inappropriate

substitution of the Court’s judgment for that of the jury. In Air

Line Pilots Ass’n., the Supreme Court itself weighed the

rationality of the various outcomes and itself determined that the

result achieved by the union there was not wholly irrational; it

unanimously found that the district court’s summary judgment

for the union should not have been disturbed. Likewise in Ackley

v. Local Union 337, the Sixth Circuit, applying Air Line Pilots

Ass’n., remanded with instructions to enter judgment

notwithstanding the verdict for the defendant union.

The result achieved in this case by Local 801 for the model

makers certainly is better for the Plaintiffs than the result

achieved for the unsuccessful plaintiffs in Air Line Pilots Ass’n.:

the Supreme Court there assumed the plaintiffs would have been

better off if their union had completely capitulated to the

employer in a strike situation and just gone back to work. If a

negotiated result worse than complete surrender can be found

sufficiently rational to permit a unanimous Supreme Court to

34a

Appendix C

uphold summary judgment for the union, surely the much betier

results achieved by Local 801 for the model makers here is

sufficiently rational to compel the same result.*

CONCLUSION

On the basis of Air Line Pilots Ass’n. v. O'Neill, supra, the

Court should GRANT Defendants’ Renewed Motion for

Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict and enter judgment as a

matter of law in favor of the Defendants and against the Plaintiffs,

discussing this action with prejudice.

December 28, 1991.

s/ Michael R. Merz

Michael R. Merz

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

5. As Defendants point out in their Memorandum (Doc. #196), the pattern

makers, the other skilled tradespeople in the Frigidaire Product Engineering

Department, were unrepresented by the union and just disappeared from the new

Chevrolet plants. The Court should also not ignore the other benefits which the

union negotiated for the model makers or knew they would have: recall rights as

model makers to other GM Divisions in the Dayton area and supplemental

unemployment benefits which, with state unemployment compensation, would

give them 95% of their employed pay for a substantial period of time. The existence

of SUB pay resulted in a very substantial decrease in back pay damages in this case,

even applying the jury verdict.

35a

APPENDIX D — DECISION AND ENTRY OVERRULING

RENEWED MOTION FOR NEW TRIAL AND MOTION

FOR JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT

AND/OR FOR NEW TRIAL OF UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF

OHIO FILED JUNE 5, 1989

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR TE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. C-3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et ai.,

Plaintiffs,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

DECISION AND ENTRY OVERRULING RENEWED

MOTION OF DEFENDANT GENERAL MOTORS

CORPORATION FOR NEW TRIAL (DOC. #98) AND

MOTION OF DEFENDANT UNIONS FOR JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT AND/OR FOR NEW

TRIAL (DOC. #101)

Based upon a consideration of all pleadings and memoranda

filed in the captioned cause, including, inter alia, memoranda

filed both in support of and in opposition to the Renewed Motion

of Defendant General Motors Corporation for New Trial (Doc.

#98) and Motion of Defendant Unions for J udgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict and/or for New Trial (Doc. #101 ),a

well as upon the arguments of counsel adduced at an oral hearing

upon said motions, it is the opinion of this Court that the aforesaid

36a

Appendix D

motions are not well taken and same are, therefore, overruled,

each in their entirety.

s/ Walter H. Rice

WALTER H. RICE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed to:

David L. Hall

Attorney at Law

310 Regency Ridge Drive

Dayton, OH 45459

(Counsel for Plaintiffs) -

Joseph P. Buchanan

Attorney at Law

2580 Kettering Tower

Dayton, OH 45432

(Counsel for Defendant General-Motors Corporation)

J.R. Wheatley

Attorney at Law

555 South Woodward Avenue

Suite 400

Birmingham, MI 48011

(Counsel for Defendant General Motors Corporation)

Richard F. Rice

Attorney at Law

3461 Office Park Drive

Kettering, OH 45439

(Counsel for Defendant International Union)

Honorable Michael R. Merz, United States Magistrate

AER ne mt

37a

APPENDIX E — ADDENDUM TO THE DECISION AND

ENTRY AFFIRMING THE VERDICT OF THE JURY

(FILED JULY 1, 1988) OF THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT

OF OHIO FILED JULY 15, 1988

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. C-3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS , et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

ADDENDUM TO THE DECISION AND ENTRY AFFIRMING

THE VERDICT OF THE JURY FILED JULY 1, 1988

The Court finds support for its interpretation of what

constitutes a “valid, timely, nonfrivolous attempt” in the recent

case of Andrews v. Orr, slip op. (6th Cir. June 30, 1988) (1988 WL

66332). In Andrews, the plaintiffs were reasonably ignorant of

the fact that a particular motion for class cettification upon which

they had been relying had been extinguished, and therefore were

unaware that the statute of limitations had begun to run on their

claim. Andrews v. Orr, slip op. at 10-14. The Sixth Circuit

concluded that under the doctrine of equitable tolling the

plaintiffs should not be penalized for their reasonable ignorance.

38a

Appendix E

Id. In the case at bar, Plaintiffs were reasonably ignorant of the

fact that their attempt to grieve was useless and therefore were

unaware that the statute of limitations had begun to run on their

claim. The Court concludes that it would be grossly unfair to

penalize Plaintiffs for their reasonable ignorance.

s/ Walter H. Rice

WALTER H. RICE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed to:

David L. Hall

Attorney at Law

310 Regency Ridge

Dayton, OH 45459

(Counsel for Plaintiffs)

Joseph P. Buchanan

Attorney at Law

2580 Kettering Tower

Dayton, OH 45423

(Counsel for Defendant General Motors)

Richard F. Rice

Attorney at Law

3461 Office Park Drive

Kettering, OH 45439

(Counsel for Defendant International Union)

Honorable Michael R. Merz, United States Magistrate

39a

APPENDIX F — DECISION AND ENTRY AFFIRMING

THE VERDICT OF THE JURY (WITH) ORDER OF

REFERENCE TO UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE OF

THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO FILED JULY 1, 1988

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. C-3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS. et al.,

Plaintiffs,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants.

DECISION AND ENTRY AFFIRMING THE VERDICT OF

THE JURY; JUDGMENT ENTERED IN FAVOR OF THE

PLAINTIFFS AND AGAINST THE DEFENDANTS; ORDER

OF REFERENCE TO UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE TO

ASSESS AMOUNT OF DAMAGES AND TO AFFIX THE

SENIORITY RIGHTS AND OBLIGATIONS TO THE

PARTIES, PURSUANT TO THE JURY VERDICT

This case is before the Court on the Order of Remand of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (Doc. #87).

For the reasons set forth below, the Court concludes that the

verdict of the jury must be affirmed and that judgment must

ultimately be entered in favor of the Plaintiffs and against the

Defendants.

40a

Appendix F

This action was brought on June 24, 1981, pursuant to

Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29

U.S.C. § 185. Plaintiffs alleged that the Defendants breached

labor contracts and their duty of fair representation by, inter alia,

failing to classify Plaintiffs into new job categories and by failing

to preserve their seniority. On June 23, 1982, following a civil

trial, a jury found for Plaintiffs on the issue of liability.

Subsequently, the Defendants filed Motions for Judgment

Notwithstanding the Verdict on the grounds that this lawsuit was

filed beyond the proper statute of limitations period. In a

Decision and Entry filed September 21, 1983, this Court

sustained Defendants’ Motions for Judgment Notwithstanding

the Verdict, concluding that Plaintiffs’ action is barred by the

statute of limitations (Doc. #74). In so doing, the Court noted that

while the question of the applicable statute of limitations in a

hybrid 301 case was “open and unsettled” at the time of trial, the

United States Supreme Court had since decided the case of

DelCostello v. International Bhd. of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151

(1983) in which it held that the proper statute of limitations in a

hybrid 301 action is the six-month statute found in § 10(b) of the

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 160b (Doc. #74, at 2).

Plaintiffs thereafter appealed said Decision and Entry to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit. In a Decision

filed July 22, 1985, the Sixth Circuit remanded the Plaintiffs’

case to this Court “for a determination whether plaintiffs’

January, 1981 attempt to file grievances prevented accrual of

their claim until that time.” Adkins v. International Union of

Electrical, Radio & Machine Workers, 769 F.2d 330, 337 (6th Cir.

1985).

DISCUSSION

In its Decision in this case, the Sixth Circuit concluded that

“where ... [a] union’s alleged breach of duty is in a non-

4la

Appendix F

grievance context, as here, the employees’ good-faith attempt to

exhaust their contractual remedies will prevent the accrual of

their action.” Id. at 336. The Sixth Circuit went on to state that

“there was no accrual of the claim for the purposes of the

limitation period so long as plaintiffs were making a valid, timely,

and non-frivolous attempt to pursue their contractual remedies in

reasonable good faith.” Jd. The sole question facing this Court is

whether the Plaintiffs’ January, 1981 attempt to file grievances

constituted such an attempt.'

Plaintiffs contend that in early January, 1981, certain letters,

which were admitted into evidence as Plaintiffs’ Exhibits 20 and

21, were sent by certified mail to Defendant Local 801 and

Defendant General Motors respectively (Doc. #94, at 1-2). After

reviewing all of the evidence in the record, this Court concludes

that said letters were indeed mailed by the Plaintiffs. The Court

notes that both Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 20 and Plaintiffs’ Exhibit 21 are

styled as grievances. Exhibit 20 specifically states: “This

grievance is filed on behalf of all former Frigidaire model

makers, apprentices, and upgraders at the time of Frigidaire’s

closing.” Exhibit 21 includes virtually identical language.

(Plaintiffs’ Exh. 20; Plaintiffs’ Exh. 21) (emphasis added). Based

upon the foregoing, this Court concludes that Plaintiffs did

attempt to file a grievance in January, 1981. The question which

remains, however, is whether said attempt can be characterized as

“valid, timely, and non-frivolous”. Adkins, 769 F.2d at 336.

1. All parties fully briefed the issue addressed within the body of this

decision, to wit: whether Plaintiffs’ January, 1981, attempts to file grievances

prevented accrual of the claim until that time and the further question of whether an

evidentiary hearing was needed to more fully develop the facts germane to that

issue. (Doc. #90, #91, #92). Each party eschewed the need for such a hearing. (Doc.

#90, #91, #92).

42a

Appendix F

Before determining whether the Plaintiffs’ attempt was

indeed valid, the Court must first examine exactly what the Sixth

Circuit meant when it required a valid attempt on the part of

Plaintiffs. The Court first notes that, contrary to the assertions of

Defendant General Motors, the Sixth Circuit did not require a

valid grievance, but instead required a valid attempt to file a

grievance. See Adkins, 769 F.2d at 336. Thus, the issue of whether

Defendant Local 801 and/or Defendant General Motors actually

received Plaintiffs’ letters is irrelevant. The Sixth Circuit did not

require a successful attempt, but instead merely required a valid

attempt.

Defendants appear to argue that in order to be a “valid”

attempt, an attempt must be objectively valid. In other words,

Defendants would have this Court consider validity in terms of

the potential for success. Thus, if the proper grievance procedure

is not followed, or if in fact, no applicable grievance procedure

exists, under the Defendants’ theory of objective validity, there

could be no “valid” attempt because a grievance filed under

those conditions could not possibly succeed. This Court

concludes, however, that the Sixth Circuit does not require

objective validity.

Both the Sixth Circuit and the iury determined that any

attempt by the Plaintiffs in this case to use the grievance

procedure was futile. Jd. at 336. Despite the fact that any attempt

to grieve would be futile, the Sixth Circuit did not conclude that

any attempt by Plaintiffs to grieve was automatically invalid.

Once the Sixth Circuit determined that a futile attempt could be a

valid attempt, objective validity became a non-issue. Even if an

attempt to grieve does not have a chance of succeeding, such an

attempt can still be a valid one.

a ia i i at SS

»

SEE LS, me UE

feed ANI

|

.

s

43a

Appendix F

While it is clear that the Sixth Circuit does not require

objective validity, this Court cannot conclude that the Sixth

Circuit would merely require purely subjective validity. One of

the basic ideas behind the statute of limitations is to prevent a

person who has been injured in some way from resting on his/her

oars. A person who is attempting to exhaust his/her contractual

remedies is not resting upon his/her oars. In essence, the Sixth

Circuit has concluded that it would be unfair to penalize someone

who was making a reasonable, good-faith effort to exhaust

administrative remedies before seeking judicial remedies. A

valid attempt to file a grievance is one which is made in

reasonable, good faith. In other words, the test for validity is

whether or not a reasonable person, under the circumstances,

would have believed that he/she was filing a valid grievance. This

Court bases its conclusion that a reasonable person test (as

opposed to a purely subjective test) is required upon the fact that

the Sixth Circuit itself specifically required that Plaintiffs act “in

reasonable good faith. Id. (emphasis added ).?

The Court concludes that the Plaintiffs in this case did act in

reasonable good faith, and thus, did make a valid attempt to file a

2. In addition, the Court finds the situation in the case at bar to be analagous to

a situation in which the so-called “discovery rule” comes into play. Under the

discovery rule, the time of accrual is not forever delayed. A plaintiff's ignorance as

to his/her injury will not always delay the accrual of his/her claim. Instead, his/her

claim accrues when the claimant discovers, or in the exercise of reasonable

diligence should have discovered, the acts constituting the violation.” Adkins, 769

F.2d at 335. There simply comes a point when there is noexcuse for failing to realize

that legal action is necessary. Similarly, in cases such as the case at bar, in which

administrative action can delay accrual, the ignorance of a plaintiff will not always

delay the accrual of his/her claim. There are times when there is no excuse for failing

to realize that the action which is being taken is simply not sufficient to constitute the

filing of a grievance. Thus, a reasonable person test is required.

44a

Appendix F

grievance. It is true that a number of the Plaintiffs were familiar

with the grievance procedure established by the collective

bargaining agreement. It is also true that Plaintiff Shaw attempted

to file an individual grievance regarding the issue of

classification and was told that he could not do so. However, the

Court notes that Plaintiffs were faced with a unique situation. A

worker might ordinarily file a grievance over a denial of

overtime, or a change in shift, or some other problem which is

unique to that particular worker. In such situations, filing a

grievance with the foreman seems logical, for there may well be

some action which the foreman could take to rectify the situation.

In the case at bar, Plaintiffs were faced with a situation in which

an entire class of workers felt they had been wronged. It was not

unreasonable for the Plaintiff to conclude that the usual grievance

procedure simply was not applicable to such a situation. This was

obviously not the type of problem that a foreman could rectify.

Accordingly, Plaintiffs sought relief from a higher authority.

With no help whatsoever from their employer or from their union,

Plaintiffs were attempting to protect their rights. Plaintiffs were

factory workers, not attorneys, and given the intricacies of their

collective bargaining agreement, their failure to understand that

they were not filing a valid grievance is completely

understandable.

Based upon the foregoing, the Court concludes that

Plaintiffs did, in fact, make “a valid, timely,’ and

3. The Court concludes that the issue of timeliness is simply one of the

elements to be considered in determining whether the Plaintiffs were making a

reasonable good-faith effort to exhaust their administrative remedies. Once again,

the Court notes that the situation with which the Plaintiffs were faced was unique. A

reasonable person could very well believe that the usual grievance procedures were

inapplicable, and thus, that the usual time limitations were nonbinding. The Court

(Cont'd)

45a

Appendix F

nonfrivolous* attempt to pursue their contractual remedies in

reasonable good faith.” Id. Accordingly, the Court concludes

that Plaintiffs’ January, 1981 attempt to file grievances did

prevent the accrual of their claim until that time.’ Thus, the

jury verdict must be and hereby is affirmed.

The jury having concluded the liability issues in the

captioned cause in favor of the Plaintiffs, the Court hereby refers

that captioned cause to the United States Magistrate, Michael R.

Merz, as a Special Master, pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 53(b)

subject to the powers enumerated in Fed. R. Civ. P 53(c), with

(Cont'd)

does not believe that in this case the Plaintiffs knew or should have known that they

were required to take any administrative action prior to January of 1981.

Accordingly, the Court concludes that Plaintiffs’ attempt to pursue their contractual

remedy was timely.

4. The Sixth Circuit has held that “an appeal is frivolous if it is obviously

without merit and is prosecuted for delay, harassment, or other improper purposes.”

Dallo v. Immigration and Naturalization Service, 765 F.2d 581,589 (6th Cir. 1985).

In the case at bar, there is absolutely no evidence to the effect that Plaintiff's

grievance was filed for any improper purpose. Thus, the Court concludes that

Plaintiffs’ attempt to grieve was not frivolous.

5. Defendant Unions assert that even if Plaintifis’ action accrued on January

2, 1981, Plaintiffs have not met their duty to produce evidence that the action

accrued within six months of the date the lawsuit was brought on June 24, 1981

(Doc. #90, at 9). Defendants appear to argue that Plaintiffs are required to provide

evidence that they became aware of some additional Union misconduct after

December 24, 1980. This argument is without merit. Regardless of whether or not

Piaintiffs became aware of additional misconduct after December 24, 1981,

Plaintiffs possess a valid claim for their cause of action for misconduct occurring

Prior to that date, which did not accrue until some time after the Plaintiffs’ January,

1981 attempt to grieve.

46a

Appendix F

specific directions that the Magistrate assess the amount of

damages and affix the seniority rights and obligations of the

parties, pursuant to the jury verdict. Following the completion of

whatever procedures are deemed necessary by the Magistrate to

carry out the purpose of this referral, he is to provide this Court

with a Report and Recommendations to which the aggrieved

party or parties may file timely objections.

s/ Walter H. Rice

WALTER H. RICE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed to:

David L. Hall

Attorney at Law

310 Regency Ridge

Dayton, OH 45459

(Counsel for Plaintiffs)

Joseph P. Buchanan

Attorney at Law

2580 Kettering Tower

Dayton, OH 45423

(Counsel for Defendant General Motors)

Richard F. Rice

Attorney at Law

3461 Office Park Drive

Kettering, OH 45439

(Counsel for Defendant International Union)

Honorable Michael R. Merz, United States Magistrate

47a

APPENDIX G — DECISION OF THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

FILED JULY 18, 1988

Nos. 83-3392, 83-3416, 83-3754,

83-3793, 83-3820

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

JOHN J. ADKINS, et al., (83-3392, 83-3416),

Plaintiffs-Appeliants,

Cross-Appellees,

Vv.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL, RADIO &

MACHINE WORKERS, AFL-CIO-CLC; LOCAL 801,

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL, RADIO &

MACHINE WORKERS, AFL-CIO-CLC,

Defendants-Appellees,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee,

Cross-Appellant.

48a

Appendix G

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.,

(83-3754, 83-3793),

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Cross-Appellees,

v.

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL, RADIO &

MACHINE WORKERS, AFL-CIO-CLC; LOCAL 801,

INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL, RADIO &

MACHINE WORKERS, AFL-CIO-CLC,

Defendants-Appellees,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

Defendant-Appellee,

Cross-Appellant.

FORMER FRIGIDAIRE EMPLOYEES ASSOCIATION, et al.,

(83-3820),

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

LOCAL 801, INTERNATIONAL UNION OF ELECTRICAL,

RADIO & MACHINE WORKERS, AFL-CIO-CLC; etal.,

Defendants-Appellees.

49a

Appendix G

ON APPEAL from the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Ohio

Decided and Filed July 18, 1985

Before: ENGEL and MARTIN, Circuit Judges; and

PHILLIPS, Senior Circuit Judge.

BOYCE F. MARTIN, JR., Circuit Judge. These cases are all

hybrid section 301/unfair representation claims stemming from

the layoffs of various groups of employees by General Motors

Corporation. Because all the cases evolve out of the same set of

facts and present related issues concerning the application of the

six-month statute of limitations adopted in DelCostello vy.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983),

they were consolidated for decision. We affirm in the Adkins and

Frigidaire Employes cases and remand in the Model Makers case.

The General Motors facilities involved in this litigation were

‘originally operated by its then Frigidaire Division in the cities of

Moraine and Dayton, Ohio. At the time, Frigidaire manufactured

household appliances and automobile air conditioners. In these

plants all hourly rated employees were represented by Local 801

of the International Union of Electrical, Radio & Machine

Workers, AFL-CIO-CLC, and all were paid wages keyed to the

automobile industry, rather than the lower wages of the appliance

industry.

In 1971, General Motors was able to negotiate a lower wage

scale for its appliance workers in the Frigidaire Division. In

exchange, these workers were allowed to “flow,” or transfer, to

the higher-paying automotive jobs as openings occurred, and to

flow back to the appliance jobs to avoid layoffs when business

50a

Appendix G

declined, bumping less senior appliance workers if necessary. In

1974, the automobile air conditioner facilities were split off from

Frigidaire into the Delco Air Conditioning Division, now

Harrison Radiator Division, but the flow arrangement with the

Frigidaire appliance workers was retained. In 1976, the parties

memorialized the flow arrangement in a Bridge Agreement,

which was due to expire in September 1979. This agreement

provided that Frigidaire workers would retain their flow rights

until all employees were given an opportunity to transfer to Delco

and 900 new Delco workers were hired. Through 1979, some

2000 Frigidaire employees had transferred to Delco and some

3500 Frigidaire employees had retained but not exercised their

flow privileges under the Bridge / greement. During this period

2500 new Frigidaire employees had been hired after January 1,

1977, and held no rights under the agreement.

In 1979, General Motors decided for economic reasons to

sell the Frigidaire Division to White Consolidated Industries,

retaining just the physical plants. The current employees also

were not part of the sale. The plants were to be converted to the

production of diesei engines and the assembly of light trucks

under the company’s Chevrolet Division. The conversion process

was expected to take at least two years, during which time all their

Frigidaire employees in these plants would be laid off, except for

a few skilled craftsmen involved in the conversion.

The Unions and General Motors negotiated the effects of the

layoff in a series of meetings held between January 31 and

February 20, 1979. General Motors obtained its major objectives

— termination of the Bridge Agreement and the right to lay off by

product line rather than by seniority. The International Union also

. won its major objectives: laid-off Frigidaire workers would be

hired in the new Chevrolet plants with unbroken seniority, and the

a

SOM AER ALLE ARN AREER Rte ats Part

Sla

Appendix G

International Union and Local 801 would continue to be the

bargaining representatives of these new Chevrolet Division

employees. Apparently General Motors had planned on this in

any case. But General Motors also agreed that all laid-off

Frigidaire employees would have recall rights to Delco, which

was then running at full employment, with overtime, and

informally agreed to make efforts to get the laid-off employees

work elsewhere. Because it was apparent that no employees in the

category of model makers would be needed in the new plants, the

parties informally agreed to establish a joint committee to review

the model makers’ records for reclassification, if qualified, to

another trade classification.

This agreement was ratified on February 23, 1979, and

layoffs began shortly thereafter. The model makers were among

the first to be laid off. By the spring and summer of 1979, the

Frigidaire facilities were completely closed and were being

converted for Chevrolet. During July and August of 1979, the

Delco contract, due to expire in September 1979, was

renegotiated and the Bridge Agreement was eliminated. Other

problems soon arose and late in 1979, due to an economic

downturn, Delco laid off employees in substantial numbers,

including many of the former Frigidaire workers now working at

Delco under the transfer arrangement. In January 1981,

Chevrolet began to recall the former Frigidaire employees to the

converted plants. At this time there were no Delco employees

recalled.

On June 24, 1981, the Association of Frigidaire Model

Makers and 49 of Frigidaire’s former model makers filed a hybrid

section 301/unfair representation claim against General Motors,

the International Union, and Local 801, for the alleged failure to

promptly reclassify the model makers to other trades. Most or all

52a

Appendix G

of the model makers had regained employment with General

Motors, but they sought lost wages and seniority rights resulting

from the breach. On January 18, 1982, John J. Adkins and 488

other laid-off Delco employees, all former Frigidaire employees

who had exercised their flow options, brought a section 301/

unfair representation claim against the same defendants. They

essentially alleged that the unions violated employees’ right of

fair representation by trading their rights under the Bridge

agreement for the unions’ continued representation of the new

Chevrolet facilities. The suit also included a claim that the union

denied the employees’ right of informed and meaningful

participation in deliberation and voting under section 101(a) (1)

of the Labor-Management Reporting and Disclosure Act of 1959,

29 U.S.C. § 411(a)(1). The plaintiffs also included 327 of the

employees’ spouses, suing for loss of consortium.

In the spring of 1982, General Motors and the defendant

unions began negotiating collective bargaining agreements to

replace the 1979 agreements due to expire in September 1982. At

this time, substantial numbers of the former Frigidaire workers

were still on layoff, and their recall rights were to expire with this

agreement. General Motors offered to the unions the opportunity

to extend these recall rights for an additional two years. There

were also substantial numbers of Delco employees still on layoff,

however, and because General Motors in hiring gave preference

to laid-off General Motors employees, allowing the Frigidaire,

employees’ recall rights to expire would give greater

employment opportunities to the more senior laid-off Delco

employees. Trapped in this dilemma, the unions refused the offer

to extend the recall rights.

On October 19, 1982, laid-off Frigidaire employee Lillie

Henry filed an unfair labor practice charge with the National

53a

Appendix G

Labor Relations Board The NLRB dismissed the charge on

November 10, 1982. The Former Frigidaire Employees

Association and 207 former Frigidaire employees, including

Lillie Henry, then filed a section 301/unfair representation action

on April 1, 1983, against General Motors, the International

Union, Local 801, and the I.U.E./G.M. Conference Board, an

organization formed by the International Union to oversee labor

relations with General Motors. The plaintiffs’ central claim in

both the Frigidaire Employees and the Adkins cases was, of

course, that the unions discriminated against them in favor of the

other group of employees.

The district court dismissed the Adkins case as untimely

filed on April 15, 1983. Adkins v. General Motors Corp., 573 F.

Supp. 1188 (S.D. Ohio 1983). The Model Makers case was tried

before a jury beginning June 14, 1982, when the district court

permitted the defendants for the first time to raise the defense that

the action was barred by the statute of limitations. After a jury

verdict finding for the plaintiffs on liability, the district court on

September 21, 1983, issued a judgment notwithstanding the

verdict finding the action time-barred. Association of Frigidaire

Model Makers v. General Motors Corp., 573 F. Supp. 236 (S.D.

Ohio 1983). In the Frigidaire Employees case, the district court

granted defendants’ motion for summary judgment on October 7,

1983, again finding the action time-barred. Former Frigidaire

Employees Association v. International Union of Electrical

Workers, Local 801,573 F. Supp. 59 (S.D. Ohio 1983).

On June 8, 1983, the Supreme Court decided DelCostello v.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 462 U.S. 151 (1983),

holding that hybrid section 301/unfair representation claims are

subject to the six-month statute of limitations applicable to unfair

labor practice claims under section 10(b) of the National Labor

54a

Appendix G

Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 160(b). The decision in the Supreme

Court, however, was foreshadowed by an earlier case in this

Circuit also brought against General Motors. Badon v. General

Motors Corp., 679 F.2d 93 (6th Cir. 1982). Later this court ruled

en banc in Smith v. General Motors Corp., 747 F.2d 372 (6th Cir.

1984) (en banc), that DelCostello would be applied in all pending

hybrid section 301/unfair representation cases.

An initial issue in the Model Makers case is whether the

district court erred in permitting the defendants to amend their

pleadings so late in the proceedings. Leave to assert an

affirmative personal defense should be freely granted when

justice so requires, Fed. R. Civ. P. 15(a), but a defendant is

responsible for any prejudice caused by its untimely assertion of

the defense. See Lawson v. Truck Drivers, Local Union 100, 698

F.2d 250, 255-56 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 69 : 1983);

Estes v. Kentucky Utilities Co., 636 F.2d 1131 (6th Cir. 1980);

Hayden v. Ford Motor Co., 497 F.2d 1292 (6th Cir. 1974). Here,

plaintiffs were not prejudiced in their prosecution of their claim,

but they were prejudiced to the extent that they litigated the case

when a timely assertion of the defense would have made these

costs unnecessary. Their remedy was to recover their costs of

litigation, and that is what the district court ordered.

Plaintiffs in all three cases argue that DelCostello applies

only to grievance cases and should not be extended to the present

facts. The factors guiding the Supreme Court’s choice of the six-

month limitations period for unfair labor practices in section

10(b) of the National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 160(b),

however, were the close similarity of “all breaches of a union’s

duty of fair representation” to unfair labor practices and the

congressional indication of the proper balance between the

employee’s interest in vindicating his rights and the national

55a

Appendix G

interests in finality in labor law and industrial peace. DelCostello,

461 U.S. at 170-71. These considerations compel application of

section 10(b) to all unfair representation claims, United Parcel

Service v. Mitchell, 451 U.S. 56, 68 n.3 (1981) (Stewart, J.,

concurring), regardless of the nature or presence of the section

301 claim. Erkins v. United Steelworkers, 723 F.2d 837, 838-39

(11th Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 3417 (1984); Turco v. Local

Lodge 5, International Brotherhood of Boilermakers, 592 F.

Supp. 1293 (E.D.N.Y. 1984); accord Sisco v. Consolidated Rail

Corp., 732 F.2d 1188 (3d Cir. 1984); see also Storey v. Local 327,

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 759 F.2d 517 (6th Cir.

1985) (holding that cause of action for unfair representation is not

dependent on section 301 claim against employer). For the same

reasons, the claim against the unions in the Adkins case under the

Labor Management Reporting and Disclosure Act is subject to

the same six-month limit. Local Union 1397, United

Steelworkers v. United Steelworkers, 748 F.2d 180 (3d Cir. 1984).

Time of accrual is also an issue in each case. Aclaim accrues

under section 10(b) when the claimant discovers, or in the

exercise of reasonable diligence should have discovered, the acts

constituting the alleged violation. Shapiro v. Cook United, No.

83-3087, slip op. at 3 (6th Cir. May 17, 1985) (per curiam);

Howard v. Lockheed-Georgia Co., 742 F.2d 612, 614 (11th Cir.

1984) (per curiam); Metz v. Tootsie Roll Industries, 715 F.2d 299,

304 (7th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 976 (1984). In the

Adkins case, the district court found that the cause of action

accrued, at the latest, in January 1981, although the action was

not brought until January 1982. Adkins v. General Motors Corp.,

573 F. Supp. 1188, 1192-93 (S.D. Ohio 1983). Plaintiffs argue

that actual or imputed knowledge that the unions’ representation

was unfair, rather than merely knowledge of its adverse effect on

them, is necessary for accrual of the claim. Defendants argue that

56a

Appendix G

the action accrued when plaintiffs knew or should have known of

defendants’ actions and their effects. We need not resolve this

guestion, as plaintiffs have not met their duty under Fed. R. Civ. P.

56(e) to produce evidence that the action accrued within six-

months of the date it was brought. Indeed, under plaintiffs’ theory

of the case, there is no reason to believe the claim ever accrued,

for the record is devoid of any evidence of union wrongdoing that

first came to their attention after July 18, 1981, the date six

months before this action was brought. The Adkins case,

therefore, is barred by the statute of limitations.

The plaintiffs in the Frigidaire Employees and Model

Makers cases argue that their claims did not accrue, or

alternatively were tolled, until they exhausted their nonjudicial

remedies. We need not long concern ourselves with the argument

in the Frigidaire Employees case, also presented in the Model

Makers case, that the filing of an unfair labor practice charge with

the National Labor Relations Board prevented the claim from

accruing. An unfair representation claim is wholly independent

of any unfair labor practice charge before the NLRB. Vaca v.

Sipes, 388 U.S. 171 (1967). An NLRB filing, therefore, does not

toll or prevent the accrual of an unfair representation claim.

Aarsvold v. Greyhound Lines, 724 F.2d 72, 73 (8th Cir. 1983) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 3538 (1984); Boyd v. Teamsters

Local Union 553, 589 F. Supp. 794 (S.D.N.Y. 1984); Gentilviso v.

New York Public Library, 589 F. Supp. 587, 591-92 (S.D.N.Y.

1984); Nicely v. United States Steel Corp., 574 F. Supp. 184, 187-

88 (W.D. Pa 1983). The holding to the contrary in Retail Clerks

Union Local 648 v. Hub Pharmacy, 707 F.2d 1030 (9th Cir. 1983),

was based on California state law and has no application here.

The Frigidaire Employees case, therefore, is also barred by the

statute of limitations.

57a

Appendix G

The Model Makers argue that their claim did not accrue until

the unions ignored their purported attempt to file grievances in

January 1981. Under section 301 an employee normally is

required to attempt to exhaust any grievance or arbitration

remedies provided for in the collective bargaining agreement.

E.g., DelCostello, 462 U.S. at 163. The hybrid section 301/unfair

representation claim is an exception to this exhaustion

requirement: an injured employee can bring such an action,

notwithstanding his failure to exhaust contractual remedies, Vaca

v. Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 185-86 (1976), or an unfavorable outcome

in the grievance or arbitration proceedings, DelCostello, 462

U.S. at 164. The district court held here that, once the employees

knew or should have known that a breach had occurred, their

action accrued and the limitations period began to run, even if

some possibility of nonjudicial enforcement remained.

Associaton of Frigidaire Model Makers v. General Motors Corp.,

573 F. Supp. 236, 238 (S.D. Ohio 1983) (citing Santos v. District

Council of United Brotherhood of Carpenters, 619 F.2d 963, 969

(2d Cir. (1980)). This rule would impel the swift filing of hybrid

claims at the expense of nonjudicial resolution of those claims.

Certainly, the typical hybrid claim is based on the union’s failure

to properly process a grievance, so nonjudicial enforcement has

already failed. But where the union’s alleged breach of duty is ina

nongrievance contest, as here, the employees’ good-faith attempt

to exhaust their contractual remedies will prevent the accrual of

their actions. Cf. Clayton v. UAW, 451 U.S. 679 (1981) (holding

that international union procedures must be exhausted before

hybrid claim can be brought, with certain specified exceptions).

To hold otherwise would undercut the national policy favoring

nonjudicial resolutio.. vf labor disputes. See Johnston Boiler Co.

v. Local Lodge No. 893, International Brotherhood of

Boilermakers, 753 F.2d 40, 42-43 (6th Cir. 1485); Bakers Union

Factory, #326 v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 749 F.2d 350, 353

58a

Appendix G

(6th Cir. 1984). Although, as the jury found, here any attempt to

use the grievance procedure in fact was futile, there was no

accrual of the claim for the purpose of the limitation period so

long as plaintiffs were making a valid, timely, and nonfrivolous

attempt to pursue their contractual remedies in reasonable good

faith Cf. Dallo v. Immigration & Naturalization Service, No. 84-

3393, slip op. at 16 (6th Cir. June 20, 1985) (holding that appeal is

frivolous if obviously without merit and prosecuted for delay,

harassment, or other improper purposes).

Defendants argue that, even if a properly filed grievance

prevents the accrual of a claim, the plaintiffs’ January 2, 1981,

letters were not properly filed grievances. Because of its holding

_that a grievance cannot prevent the accrual of a claim, the district

- court did not reach this issue. We will remand the Model Makers

case to the district court for a determination whether plaintiffs’

January 1981 attempt to file grievances prevented accrual of their

claim until that time.

General Motors has cross-appealed in the Adkins and Model

Makers cases, arguing that in neither case have plaintiffs shown a

cause of action. A hybrid section 301/unfair representation claim

requires the plaintiff to show that the employer breached the

connective bargaining agreement and that the union acted in such

a discriminatory, dishonest, arbitrary, or perfunctory fashion as to

breach its duty of fair representation. DelCostello, 462 U.S. at

163-164. In the Adkins case, because the claims were barred by

the statute of limitations, we need not consider General Motors’

cross-appeal. In the Model Makers case, plaintiffs properly

produced evidence that General Motors agreed to immediately

reclassify the plaintiffs and failed to do so and that the union

represented the model makers in an arbitrary or perfunctory

manner; we reject defendants’ contention that arbitrariness is an

59a

Appendix G

inappropriate standard to apply to union conduct when

negotiating contract provisions. The evidence of a claim was far

from uncontroverted, but it was sufficient to sustain a jury

verdict.

The judgments in the Adkins and Frigidaire Employees

cases are affirmed. The Model Makers case is remanded to the

district court for a determination whether plaintiffs’ January

1981 attempt to file grievances presented accrual of their claim

until that time.

It is so ordered.

60a

APPENDIX H — DECISION AND ENTRY SUSTAINING

DEFENDANTS’ MOTIONS FOR JUDGMENT

NOTWITHSTANDING THE VERDICT OF THE UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO DATED SEPTEMBER 21, 1983

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

WESTERN DIVISION

Case No. C-3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.

Plaintiffs

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, et al.

Defendants

DECISION AND ENTRY SUSTAINING DEFENDANTS’

MOTIONS FOR JUDGMENT NOTWITHSTANDING THE

VERDICT; JUDGMENT TO BE ENTERED FOR

DEFENDANTS; PLAINTIFFS’ ATTORNEY GIVEN

OPPORTUNITY TO RECOVER LITIGATION COSTS

Plaintiff filed this lawsuit on June 24, 1981, premised on

§ 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C.

§ 185. They alleged that the Defendants breached labor contracts

and their duty of fair representation by, inter alia, failing to

classify Plaintiffs into new job categories and by failing to

preserve their seniority. On the first day of trial in the case, the

Court permitted Defendants (over Plaintiffs’ objection) to raise,

6la

Appendix H

for the first time, the defense that Plaintiffs’ suit was barred by the

applicable statute of limitations. However, the Court overruled

motions to dismiss on that ground. A jury ultimately found for

Plaintiffs on the issue of liability, and the matter was referred to

the United States Magistrate for a hearing on the issue of

damages. Said hearing was stayed pending resolution of the

Defendants’ motions (Docs. #41, 43) for judgment

notwithstanding the verdict, made pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 50,

on the grounds, inter alia, of the lawsuit having been filed beyond

the proper statute of limitations. For the reasons set out below, the

Court now sustains those motions and orders the entering of final

judgment for the Defendants.

The issue of the applicable statute of limitations in a

“hybrid” § 301 case, such as the within action, was open and

unsettled as of the time of the trial of this case. See, Adkins v.

General Motors Corp., Case No. C-3-82-011 (S.D. Ohio April

15, 1983), appeal and cross appeal docketed after final judgment

entry, Nos. 83-3392, 83-3416 (6th Cir. June 14, 1983) (discussing

conflicting lines of authority). This issue has now been

authoritatively and conclusively resolved, as the parties

acknowledge, by the Supreme Court’s decision in DelCostello v.

International Brotherhood of Teamsters, 103 S.Ct. 2281, 2285

(1983), which held that the proper statute of limitations in this

type of case is the six-month statute found in § 10(b) of the

National Labor Relations Act, 29 U.S.C. § 160(b). While the

parties acknowledge that this is the proper statute of limitations to

be followed in this case, they part company on the issues of (1)

when the cause of action accrued, and (2) whether the filing of a

complaint with the National Labor Relations Board (NLRB) or

alleged misrepresentations made by the Defendants tolled the

statute of limitations.

62a

Appendix H

Applying a six-month statute, Plaintiffs’ action, to be barred,

must have accrued on or before December 24, 1980 (The

Complaint having been filed on June 24, 1981). Defendants offer

several dates for the accrual of the action, that is, when the

Plaintiffs knew or reasonably should have known that a breach of

the duty of fair representation had occurred even if some

possibility of nonjudicial enforcement remained. Ackley, supra,

slip op. at 9 (quoting, Santos v. District Council of New York City,

619 F.2d 963, 969 (2d Cir. 1980)). Defendants suggest that the

action accrued in late 1979 or early 1980 (when Plaintiffs knew,

or should have known, that their recall dates were being

adjusted), or May 8, 1980 (the date of an agreement signed

between General Motors and the union regarding job

classifications), or, at the latest, July of 1980 (the evidence at trial

indicating that several of the Plaintiffs felt, by that time, that

General Motors was recalling workers in a discriminatory

‘manner). Plaintiffs, in contrast, argue that the action accrued after

the filing date, since Plaintiffs were, allegedly, unaware of the

May 8, 1980, agreement and were the victims of several

misrepresentations by Defendants. Based on the evidence in the

record, accurately summarized in Defendants’ memoranda, the

Court finds that any of the above-mentioned accrual dates

suggested by Defendants would be plausible. The Court finds it

unnecessary to choose one, since all are before the December 24,

1980, date referred to above, after which this action must have

accrued or be barred. Thus, Plaintiffs filed suit in an untimely

fashion.

With regard to the tolling issue, the Court agrees with

Plaintiffs that a statute of limitations in a § 301 action can be

tolled, based on the “particularized circumstances of [each]

case.” United Auto Workers v. Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 383 U.S.

696, 708 (1966). See, Echols v. Chrysler Corp., 633 F.2d 722 (6th

Cir. 1980); McNutt v. Airco Industrial Gases Division, 687 F.2d

63a

Appendix H

539, 543 (1st Cir. 1982). However, tolling is not appropriate in

this case. To the extent that there is evidence in the record that

Defendants may have made certain misrepresentations to

Plaintiffs (it is significant to note that Plaintiffs did not

specifically cite any such evidence), the Court agrees with

Defendants that this argument is but another way of alleging that

the union breached its duty of fair representation. Even assuming

that to be true, Plaintiffs’ action accrued (as noted above) before

December 24, 1980.

In addition, the fact that at least one of the Plaintiffs filed a

complaint with the NLRB in December of 1980 does not toll the

action. In DelCostello the Supreme Court merely remanded for

determination of that issue, among others; it was not purporting

to decide the issue. 103 S.Ct. at 2294-95. As Defendants argue,

any tolling under federal law must be compatible with the

congressional purpose behind the federal statute governing

liability. See, Chardon v. Fumero Soto, 103 S.Ct. 2611, 2616-17

(1983); Pesola v. Inland Tool & Mfg., Inc., 423 F. Supp. 30, 34

(E.D. Mich. 1976). It is well settled that a § 301 action is

independent of any NLRB proceeding. Vaca v. Sipes, 386 U.S.

171 (1967); Hudson v. Teamsters Local Union No. 957, 536 F.

Supp. 1138, 1143 (S.D. Ohio 1982). Indeed, for this very reason,

the Court excluded from evidence in the trial in this case, on

grounds of relevancy, the ultimate dismissal of said complaint by

the NLRB on February 11, 1981. It follows, as at least one court

has intimated in dicta, McNutt, supra, that the filing of a NLRB

complaint does not toll the running of a statute of limitations ona

§ 301 action. Nor have Plaintiffs cited any authority to the

contrary.

It appears that a recent decision from the Ninth Circuit has

reached acontrary result. In Retail Clerks Union Local 648 v. Hub

Pharmacy, Inc., 707 F.2d 1030 (9th Cir. 1983), the plaintiff union

64a

Appendix H

sued the employer in a “straight-forward” § 301 action, rather

than a “hybrid” § 301/duty of fair representation suit, such as the

within matter. Finding that the applicable statute of limitation

would be derived from state law, id. at 1033, the court also

applied state law to determine if tolling was appropriate. /d.

Based on California’s law of equitable tolling, the Court

concluded that an attempt by the union to resolve the case before

the NLRB should toll the running of the limitations statute during

the period of the NLRB proceedings. Jd. at 1037.

For the reasons of statutory construction set out above, this

Court does not find the Ninth Circuit’s ultimate result

compelling. In addition, it should be pointed out that, after

Delcostello, a “straight-forward” § 301 suit would still be

governed by a State statute of limitation, see, 103 S.Ct. at 2287

n.12, 2294, and state tolling rules would presumably apply, as

well. See, Chardon v. Fumero Soto, supra. However, “hybrid”

§ 301 cases are now governed by a federal limitations period,

presumably meaning that federal tolling rules (to be developed

by courts), rather than their state counterparts, apply. Cf. Zipes v.

Trans World Airlines, Inc., 455 U.S. 385 (1982) (Title VII tolling

rules); Burnett v. New York Central Railroad Co., 380 U.S. 424

(1965) (FELA tolling rules). Thus, the Court in this action is not

compelled to look toward Ohio law for the rules of tolling.

In any event, even accepting the Ninth Circuit’s position

does not change the result of this case. The Retail Clerks court

emphasized that the § 301 limitations period was only tolled

during the pendency of the NLRB proceeding; it did not initially

start to run again after said proceeding was terminated. 707 F.2d

at 1033. Here, the NLRB proceeding began in December of 1980

and culminated approximately three months later. Assuming, as

this Court does, that Plaintiffs’ action accrued, at the latest, in

July, 1980, the tolling of the six month limitation period during

65a

Appendix H

the NLRB proceeding still makes the June 24, 1981, filing date

untimely.

Based on the foregoing, the Court concludes that Plaintiff’s

action is barred by the statute of limitations, and that Defendants’

motions for judgment notwithstanding the verdict must be, and

are, sustained.

Judgment is to be entered for the Defendants. However,

given that the Court permitted Defendants to raise the ultimately

successful limitations defense on the first day of trial (the defense

would otherwise have been waived), the Court deems it

appropriate to give Plaintiffs’ counsel the opportunity to recoup

litigation expenses against Defendants, for having prepared for

and for having participated in the trial. Plaintiffs’ attorney should

have the opportunity to be reimbursed for any actual expenses of

litigation and preparation for trial he incurred, which expenses

might not have been incurred had Defendants asserted their

ultimately valid defense in a more timely fashion. See, Pierce v.

County of Oakland, 652 F.2d 671 (6th Cir. 1981) (per curiam);

Estes v. Kentucky Utilities Co., 636 F.2d 1131, 1134 (6th Cir.

1980).

Plaintiffs’ counsel is given twenty days from date of receipt

of this entry to file a request for the assessing of litigation costs

against Defendants. Any such costs should be set forth by way of

affidavit. Defendants are given seven days after receipt of

counsel’s request to respond to same.

Failure of Plaintiffs’ counsel to file such a request within the

indicated time will indicate to the Court that the Plaintiffs’

attorney does not wish to seek the recovery of litigation expenses

and the captioned cause will be terminated upon the docket

records of this Court.

66a

Appendix H

s/ Walter H. Rice

WALTER H. RICE

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Copies mailed to:

David L. Hall

Attorney at Law

1100 Hulman Building

120 West Second Street

Dayton, Ohio 45402

(Counsel for Plaintiffs)

Joseph P. Buchanan

Attorney at Law

2580 Winters Bank Tower

Dayton, Ohio 45402

(Counsel for Defendants)

Richard F. Rice

Attorney at Law

3461 Office Park Drive

Dayton, Ohio 45439

(Counsel for Defendants)

67a

APPENDIX I — JUDGMENT ENTRY ON A JURY

VERDICT OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO FILED JULY 26, 1982

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

Civil Action File No. C 3-81-343

ASSOCIATION OF FRIGIDAIRE MODEL MAKERS, et al.

Vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORP. et al.

JUDGMENT

This action came on for trial before the Court and a jury,

Honorable Walter H. Rice, United States District Judge,

presiding, and the issues having been duly tried and the jury

having duly rendered its verdict.

It is Ordered and Adjudged that the Jury finds for the

Plaintiffs and against the defendants as to liability only.

Dated at Dayton, Ohio, this 26th Day of July, 1982.

APPROVED FOR FILING: John D. Lyter

s/ Walter H. Rice Clerk of Court

United States District Judge

BY: s/ R.L. Snell

Deputy

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.