Petition for Writ of Certiorari — ARCO Products Co. v. Graham Oil Co.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

( \SUpremé Court, vu.

‘i FILED"

B4206 0 JUN 1 4 1995

No. QEFICE OF THE CLERK

‘

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October 1994 Term

ARCO Products Co.,

Petitioner,

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Charles F. Adams (Counsel of Record)

Randolph C. Foster

Joseph D. Cohen

Stoel Rives Boley Jones & Grey

900 SW Fifth Avenue

Portland, OR 97204-1268

(503) 224-3380

Counsel for Petitioner

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Are parties to a franchise agreement governed by the

Petroleum Marketing Practices Act (“PMPA”) per se prohibited from

mutually waiving procedures of the PMPA?

2. Under the Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2, and

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S.

1, 24-25 (1983) (“any doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable

issues should be resolved in favor of arbitration”), may a court

invalidate an arbitration agreement in its entirety because of

objectionable satellite provisions in that agreement?

3. If fact-finding is required to determine the validity or

severability of an arbitration agreement, may a federal appellate court

engage in fact-finding in the first instance?

CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .................. i

AATTIREEODD 65 osc cchticiswa hd siamineateeseeeen iv

ptt ee he gt ere er eer Fe = ]

FUGA: caees cha Cesscises eed eee |

STATUTE PROVE in ccc viens vent ¥Ge soni ce aeen l

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE... 3.066 ks cei 2

ARDEA 6555s is 5a NOR eee 6

5... I nk. asa wcbos soon ee ee 6

2. The majority opinion has widespread effect and could

invalidate many arbitration clauses in a wide variety of

WUT. 065 eC eae a eee 7

3. The majority opinion ignores the Cone all-doubts rule,

adopting a negative view of arbitration that this Court has

WUE, 6 6 a's ce ee a ee ee eee 10

4. The majority improperly engaged in appellate fact-finding.

oth O66 one oka ana ee bier ee ie ee ne a 14

5. The PMPA contains no per se prohibition on mutual waiver

stents WOME, 28 66 Nr 17

G Ce ng gic kbc iadcock vos cet ee eee 19

eee

APPENDIX

Opinion Delivered Upon the Rendering of the Judgment ....... A-1

Original Ninth Circuit Slip Opinion ..................... A-16

Order Denying Rehearing’.............................. A-30

Federal Arbitration Act,9U.S.C.§2..................... A-31

Peer m, Jo US. $8 2001-2006 ......... A-31

Oregon Motor Fuel Franchises Act ....................... A-54

1987 and 1990 Red-Lined Resolution of Dispute Cans ee A-64

iv

AUTHORITIES

Cases

Allied-Bruce Terminix Cos., Inc. v. Dobson,

S513 U.S. _, 115 S.Ct. 834, 130 L.Ed.2d 753 (1995) ..... ll

Amoco Canada Petroleum Co. v. Lakehead Pipe Line Co.,

SEG Fe Oe GA, ROME 0 os vere hanes cow enocen 18

Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v. Byrd,

eG bs da ie nse ne nko Sh hs heal ba 12

Getty Petroleum Corp. v. Bartco Petroleum Corp.,

858 F.2d 103 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1006

GR e le eu iils aaed (oe aay wk Se dea eure Cad 9

Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp.,

yo EL... + ESN Oe cunbari a Denreemne eG Gmeee nee 1]

Golden v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

ere uae ae OO ag once on sh escapederns 18

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co.,

43 F.3d 1244 (9th Cir. 1995) .............. 1,5, 11, 14, 15

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co.,

slip op. (9th Cir. Dec. 16, 1994) ................0.. 4,5, 18

Graham v. Scissor-Tail, Inc.,

28 Cal.3d 807, 623 P.2d 165, 171 Cal. Rptr. 604 (1981) ... 12

Vv

Greenwood Int'l, Inc. v. Greenwood Forest Products, Inc.,

108 Or. App. 74, 814 P.2d 528, rev. denied, 312 Or. 150

REO aA oe bat aha Reber ghee 8

Johnson v. Zerbst,

ON 18

Lake Communications, Inc. v. ICC Corp.,

cit wie 4 A. |: ee ea OR em 12

Lawrence v. Comprehensive Business Serv. Co.,

Rod Woe Ree Ge, FON). seo occ 13

Maine v. T, aylor,

re eR MEI ee ek eek 15

Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercury Constr. Corp.,

NO REM es en ee ae i, 6, 10

Nghiem v. NEC Electronics, Inc.,

25 F.3d 1437 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct. 638 (1994)

RNP ROE UN ob ih es Wie Li bS Cid JA de ouie oc oes Gs 12

PaineWebber Inc. v. Hofmann,

Pee rae tere OG OSE) 4.5 oes ek 8

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc.,

vsitiuele ice pss oxy OP Oe Ree 11,12

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon,

Me ee OT a 3,7, 11, 16

vi

Snap-On Tools Corp. v. Scott,

[1990-92 Transfer Binder] Bus. Franchise Guide (CCH) § 9701

EE ion da Ge 4 Vedas cs shaves aeastated ees 13

U-Haul Int'l, Inc., v. Jartran, Inc.,

Fee ee GE, SOD Skin lccncscRucdevecovenay 9

Union County Sch. Dist. No. 1 v. Valley Inland Pacific

Constructors, Inc.,

59 Or. App. 602, 652 P.2d 349 (1982) .................. 8

Wilko v. Swan,

nn SRT GROOT fk 66 0a oho Cn SS bel eM bas wekees 11,17

Statutes

SPCC PURE SG vkw's caw cuawaes ds ¥é00edes ReeeeReeees l

SP AE ood A on cea ccca (sk sua kewseaaeese beens a 6

Ss PEED oi cbs GA ga ba dka bovecne Les pe avekse’ 6

Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16 ....... 1, 10, 11, 13, 16

Oregon Motor Fuel Franchises Act,

Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 650.200-.250 (1993) .............. 1,2, 19

Petroleum Marketing Practices Act (PMPA),

Ee Gs OF ib osc sb ks occas anes 1-3, 6, 9, 19

Vil

Other

American Arbitration Association,

DRAFTING DISPUTE RESOLUTION CLAUSES: A Practical Guide

ERGs Scr Sank IR REL ge Oe RS ce ee ~

American Bar Association Section of Litigation,

COMMERCIAL ARBITRATION FOR THE 1990s (R. Medalie ed.

satitie! Le POT Cn eRe PIL Gee eee x

John D. Calamari & Joseph M. Perillo,

THE LAW OF CONTRACTS (3d ed. SE erecsrse Se aes 13

opine ene ecesssh fe ae TO ne ET IDOE eS Lat 8

S. Rep. No. 731, 95th Cong., 2d Sess. (1978),

reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 873 ("Legislative History")

CUES We DES € CSE Sa URE CORN CT IER hs SS ee, 17, 18

1

Petitioner ARCO Products Company’ respectfully petitions

for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit.

REPORTS OF OPINIONS

The Ninth Circuit has one reported opinion in this case,

Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co., 43 F.3d 1244 (9th Cir.

1995). The opinion is authored by Judge Reinhardt and joined by

Judge Brunetti. Judge Fernandez dissented.

JURISDICTION

The original decision in this case was filed December 16,

1994. On December 28, 1994, Peititioner filed a timely motion for

an extension of time to move for rehearing. The motion was granted

on January 6. On January 6, 1995, Peititioner filed its timely Petition

for Rehearing with Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc. The Ninth

Circuit denied that petition on March 16, 1995.

This Court has jurisdiction over this Petition under 28

U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2; Petroleum

Marketing Practices Act (PMPA), 15 U.S.C. $§ 2801-2806; Oregon

The named parties to the proceeding in the court below are Graham Oil

Company and ARCO Products Company. Peititioner is a division of Atlantic

Richfield Company, which has the following parents, subsidiaries, and affiliates

within the scope of S.Ct. Rule 29.1: ARCO Chemical Company, Lynondell

Petrochemical Company, and Vastar Resources, Inc.

2

Motor Fuel Franchises Act, Or. Rev. Stat. 650.200-.250 (1993).

Pursuant to S.Ct. Rule 14.1(f), the text of these statutes is set out in

the Appendix.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner (“Franchisor”) is a gasoline company, and

Respondent (“Franchisee”) was one of its franchised distributors.

This is a suit by Respondent Franchisee against Petitioner Franchisor

for violation of the Petroleum Marketing Practices Act (PMPA) and

Oregon Motor Fuel Franchises Act. See Complaint (Nov. 27, 1990)

(CR 1; ER 1-6).? Franchisee pleaded that the district court had

subject-matter jurisdiction under 15 U.S.C. § 2805 and pendent

jurisdiction over the state law claim. Id. ¢2. The Complaint sought

an injunction against termination or nonrenewal of a 1987 franchise

agreement, damages, and attorney fees.

The 1987 franchise agreement’ contained a provision

(paragraph 23) on Resolution of Disputes. See Graham Aff. at 18

(CR-2). The Resolution of Disputes clause is over 400 words long.

It also incorporates Procedures for Arbitration, attached as a separate

exhibit (Exhibit E). See Procedures for Arbitration, Exhibit A to

Defendant’s Opposition to Plaintiff's Motion (CR-27; ER 56-59).‘

These provisions include four noteworthy parts. First, they

2 —_ “CR” refers to the docket number in the trial court. “ER” refers to the

page number in the Substituted Excerpt of Record in the Ninth Circuit.

3" The 1987 franchise agreement went into effect January 1, 1988, but is

dated September 24, 1987.

$ This document appears to have been attached to a later franchise

agreement.

2

require each party to promptly pursue all claims -- within 90 days

after knowing the facts giving rise to a claim, and in no event later

than six months. (ER 56 { A).° Second, they require each party to

pay its own costs, expenses, and attorney fees. Graham Aff. at 18

(CR 2) (ER 38 ¢ 22(a)).® Third, they mutually waive punitive and

exemplary damages. Graham Aff. at 19 (CR 2). Finally, they allow

cach party to litigate, instead of arbitrate, federal statutory claims

arising under the PMPA. Id. at 18.

The 1987 franchise agreement was set to expire December

31, 1990. In August 1990, before the suit was filed, Franchisor

tendered an agreement renewing the franchise for 3 years (January 1,

1991 though December 31, 1993). This 1990 franchise agreement

also contained a Resolution of Disputes clause incorporating

Procedures for Arbitration. In 1987, this Court had decided

Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220

(1987). McMahon stated that as a general rule, an agreement could

require arbitration of federal statutory claims. The 1990 arbitration

provisions contained one relevant difference from the 1987

provisions: they dropped the language allowing the parties to litigate

PMPA claims. See 1990 franchise agreemert 22(a) (ER 38). This

effectively required arbitration of those federal statutory claims.

Franchisee eventually moved for a preliminary injunction

against termination of the 1990 franchise agreement. Motion (Nov.

25, 1991) (CR 26). Franchisor argued that the case was arbitrable.

* These times correspond to PMPA periods for mandatory equitable relief.

See 15 U.S.C. § 2805(b)4) (court may refuse to continue or renew franchise if suit

brought over 90 days after notice of termination).

. The losing party must pay a variety of arbitration-related expenses. See

ER 38 ¢ 22(a), ER 58 1.

4

Franchisee argued that arbitration agreements are invalid under the

PMPA because the PMPA requires a judicial remedy.

The district court ordered Franchisor not to terminate the

franchise on the ground that Franchisee could not meet its fuel

purchase quota, stated that the Franchisee was required to arbitrate,

ordered that the injunction remain in effect until termination pending

arbitration, and ordered that the arbitration be completed within 90

days. Order (Dec. 3, 1991) (CR 32; ER 60-61). Nine days later,

Franchisee filed a notice of appeal, Notice of Appeal (Dec. 12, 1991)

(CR 33; ER 62).

Franchisee did not start an arbitration. After 90 days,

Franchisor moved (1) to clarify the injunction to make sure that it

could then terminate the franchise, (2) and for summary judgment or

entry of judgment because Franchisee had failed to start an

arbitration. Motion (March 4, 1992) (CR 35). The district court

granted this motion, Civil Minutes (March 12, 1992) (CR.41), and

entered judgment. Judgment (Apr. 7, 1992) (CR 42). Franchisee

appealed (Apr. 9, 1992).

The two appeals were consolidated, briefed, and argued.

On appeal, Franchisee again argued that arbitration agreements are

invalid under the PMPA because the PMPA requires a judicial

remedy.

On December 16, 1994, the Ninth Circuit panel, in a

two-to-one decision, disagreed with Franchisee’s argument, but ruled

in favor of Franchisee. Graham Oil Co. v. ARCO Products Co., slip

op. (9th Cir. Dec. 16, 1994). The ruling was on grounds that had not

been briefed. The majority held that three parts of the 1990

arbitration agreement (the mutual waivers of punitive damages,

mutual waivers of certain costs and expenses, and the mutually

5

shortened periods to begin arbitration) contravened the PMPA

“because the arbitration clause employed by ARCO compels Graham

Oil to surrender important statutorily-mandated rights afforded

franchisees by the PMPA.” This ruling was not based on an explicit

statutory prohibition on waiver, or any explicit statement in the

legislative hi forbiddi ioe

Then, in Section III.B of its opinion, the majority held that

the provisions identified as illegal could not be severed from the

remainder of the arbitration clauses because (a) there was no express

severability provision, (b) the 1990 agreement was a “contract of

adhesion,” (c) the Franchisee “would have desired a severability

clause” that allowed litigation of PMPA claims, and (d) “the

approach most favorable to [Franchisee]” was to sever and invalidate

not merely the provisions identified as contrary to the PMPA, but

arbitration provisions in their entirety. See slip op. at 15519-20.

Franchisor petitioned for rehearing with suggestion of

rehearing in banc. On March 13, 1995, the majority amended its

IIB changed the reasons for invalidating the entire arbitration

clause. The amended opinion dropped its statements about: the

1990 agreement being an adhesion contact, what the Franchisee

would have desired, and what was most favorable to the Franchisee.

were “highly integrated,” 43 F.3d at 1248; stated that the provisions

identified as contravening the PMPA achieved a result “expressly

forbidden” by Congress, id. at 1249; and found, as a “fact” that

Franchisor had deliberately attempted to use an arbitration clause to

Id.

6

Petition for a writ of certiorari followed.

Trial court jurisdiction was based on the PMPA, 15 U.S.C.

§ 2805. Appellate jurisdiction was based on 28 U.S.C. § 1292(a)(1)

(for the appeal of the refusal to grant Franchisce's entire injunction)

and 28 U.S.C. § 1291 (for the appeal of the final judgment).

ARGUMENT

1. Summary

of federal law -- how to treat an arbitration clause that contains

provisions identified as illegal -- in a way that ignores and conflicts

with this Court’s decision in Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v.

Mercury Constr. Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983). The majority

opinion also departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial

proceedings (as well as conflicting with controlling cases) in

explicitly engaging in fact finding on appeal (and explicitly relying on

those findings). Moreover, those findings were made against the

party that moved for summary judgment, were related to an issue --

severability of the provisicus that offended the majority from the

remainder of the arbitration provisions -- that was not raised by

Respondent at czy stage of the case, and were made without notice,

so that Petitioner lacked any fair opportunity to introduce evidence on

and/or opportunity to brief the issues.

The case also decides an important question of federal law

that has riot been, but should be, settled by this Court -- whether

parties to a franchise agreement governed by the PMPA are per se

prohibited from mutually waiving some procedures of the PMPA.

7

The majority opinion in this case has important,

widespread results, affecting arbitration clauses in a wide variety of

settings.

2. The majority opinion has widespread effect and could

invalidate many arbitration clauses in a wide variety of

settings.

The majority’s reasoning has important implications for all

sorts of arbitration agreements. Many arbitration agreements, like

the 1990 agreement here, do not mention specific statutes, but are

broad enough to cover disputes under potentially any statute. Those

statutes may create causes of action, allow punitive or exemplary

damages, allow attorney fees, give limitation periods, or create other

remedies or procedures. E.g., Shearson/American Express, Inc. v.

McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 223 (1987) (clause requiring arbitration of

“any controversy arising out of or relating to my accounts, to

transactions with you for me or to this agreement or the breach

thereof” covers disputes arising under RICO and federal securities

laws).

It is also typical (i.e., not uncommon) for arbitration

agreements to include general, procedural provisions that apply to

offensive. For example, the American Arbitration Association

(“AAA”) provides the following as an example of “typical language

dealing with fees and expenses”:

All fees and expenses of the arbitration shall be borne

by the parties equally. However, cach party shall bear the

expense of its own counsel, experts, witnesses, and

preparation and preseaitstion of proofs.

Causes: A Practical Guide 27 (1992); see also American Bar

Association Section of Litigation, COMMERCIAL ARBITRATION FOR

THE 1990s, 156, 12(a) (R. Medalie ed. 1991) (arbitration fees split

equally, each side pays own attorney fees). This is similar to the

mutual waiver of costs and attorney fees that offended the majority

below. Compare id. with ER 38 4 22(a) ("Each party shall pay its

Likewise, as one “sample[] of clauses dealing with

remedies,” the AAA includes:

The arbitrators will have no authority to award

punitive damages or any other damages not measured by

the prevailing party's actual damages, and may not, in any

event, make any ruling, finding or award that does not

conform to the terms and conditions of the Agreement.

DRAFTING DISPUTE RESOLUTION CLAUSES at 20. This is similar to

the mutual waiver of exemplary and punitive damages that offended

the majority below. Compare id. with ER 38 4 22(b) (“The

arbitrator(s) may not assess punitive or exemplary damages . . . .”).

Finally, periods of limitations and repose are likewise not

uncommon. E.g., NASD Rules § 15; PaineWebber Inc. v. Hofmann,

984 F.2d 1372 (3d Cir. 1993) (applying NASD Rule 15);

Greenwood Int'l, Inc. v. Greenwood Forest Products, Inc., 108% Or.

App. 74, 814 P.2d 528, rev. denied, 312 Or. 150 (1991) (limiting

certain claims to three years); Union County Sch. Dist. No. | v.

Valley Intand Pacific Constructors, Inc., 59 Or. App. 602, 652 P.2d

349 (1982) (limiting claims to those brought within “reasonable

time”); COMMERCIAL ARBITRATION FOR THE 1990s, at 156, 3

(arbitration demand must be made within 30 days of delivery of

9

goods; arbitration demand must be made within 30 days following

architect’s decision; demand must be made within reasonable time

after claim has arisen, and no later than the date the applicable statute

of limitations has run).

These kinds of waivers are mutual in form and in substance.

For instance, the waivers in the 1990 franchise agreement had real

benefits to Franchisee as well as Franchisor. For instance, the PMPA

gives both franchisor and franchisee certain rights to attorney fecs.

See 15 U.S.C. § 2805(d)(1)(B), (d)(3). Both are waived. Also,

franchisors have sued franchisees (and others) for false advertising

and received large punitive damage awards. E.g., Getty Petroleum

Corp. v. Bartco Petroleum Corp., 858 F.2d 103, 105 (2d Cir. 1988)

(reversing $2 million punitive damages award against franchisee),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1006 (1989); U-Haul Int'l, Inc., v. Jartran,

Inc., 793 F.2d 1034, 1037 (9th Cir. 1986) ($20 million punitive

damages for false advertising against competitor). The waiver of

punitive damages protected Franchisee from this kind of exposure.

And the shortened limitations period causes disputes to be resolved

before they fester and cause real damage to the parties, such as

termination of the franchise relationship.

__ The remedies or procedures affected by these kinds of

provisions could be said to be “important to the effectuation” of

policies of any number of statutes. Indeed, the provisions used in this

case, as well as the typical provisions cited above, are general enough

to apply to any statutory cause of action. Thus, the majority’s

reasoning implicates, and could easily invalidate, a wide variety of

arbitration agreements that contain any of these typical waivers. As a

result, this case has drawn national press attention, and an amicus

attempted to support Petitioner’s position in the court of appeals.

See WALL STREET JOURNAL, Dec. 22, 1994, at B2, cols. 4-6

(discussing case); Motion of Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, Inc. for

10

Leave to File Letter Brief as Amicus Curiae in Support of ARCO

Products’ Petition for Rehearing (Jan. 18, 1995).

3. The majority opinion ignores the Cone all-doubts rule,

adopting a negative view of arbitration that this Court has

rejected.

In Moses H. Cone Memorial Hosp. v. Mercury Constr.

Corp., 460 U.S. 1, 24 (1983), this Court held that section 2 of the

Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2, creates substantive law, and

under that law, all doubts concerning arbitrability must be resolved in

favor of arbitration:

Sectieh 2 We a cig babel 4bnenk aa

policy favoring arbitration agreements, notwithstanding

any state substantive or procedural policies to the contrary.

The effect of the section is to create a body of federal

substantive law of arbitrability, applicable to any _

The Arbitration Act establishes that, as a matter of federal

law, any doubts concerning the scope of arbitrable issues

should be resolved in favor of arbitration, whether the

problem at hand is the construction of the contact language

itself or an allegation of waiver, delay, or a like defense to

Id. at 24-25 (emphasis added).

This Court (and others) have upheld and applied this

liberal arbitration policy in a wide variety of settings. For instance

this Court has given maximum allowable Constitutional scope to the

Federal Arbitration Act, held that state laws are preempted, held that

a wide variety of federal statutory claims are arbitrable, and even

11

explicitly overruled its own anti-arbitration precedent. E.g., Allied-

Bruce Terminix Cos., Inc. v. Dobson, 513 U.S. __, 115 S.Ct. 834,

130 L.Ed.2d 753 (1995) (Federal Arbitration Act applies to

maximum extent allowed by Constitution); Gilmer v.

Interstate/Johnson Lane Corp., 500 U.S. 20 (1991) (federal

statutory ADEA claims are arbitrable); Rodriguez de Quijas v.

Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989) (overruling

Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953)); Shearson/American Express,

Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220 (1987) (federal statutory claims

generally arbitrable, including claims under 1934 Securities

Exchange Act and RICO).

This policy, and the Cone all-doubts rule in particular, do

not lose force when considering whether to invalidate an entire

arbitration provision. Both the policy and the rule are beyond

question. Indeed, the majority below did not question the Cone rule.

Instead, the majority simply ignored the rule. See 43 F.3d at 1248-

49. In so doing, it effectively adopted a “negative view of

arbitration,” id. at 1250 (Fernandez, J., dissenting), that contradicts

the precedent of this Court (and of the Ninth Circuit itself). See id.

The Cone “any-doubts” rule takes precedence over, and

controls the application of, the rule used by the majority for three

reasons. It is based on a statute, the Federal Arbitration Act, not

common law. It is specific (directed to arbitration clauses), not

general. And it was explicitly chosen by the parties to be used in

determining the validity of the arbitration clause. Procedures for

Arbitration { G (“Federal law, including the provision of Title 9 of

the United States Code, shall govern all issues concerning the

validity, enforceability and interpretation of this arbitration

agreement.”) (ER 58).

12

illegal or void, this Court and others do not invalidate arbitration

entirely. Rather, they refuse to give effect to the questioned language.

For instance, when federal securities or antitrust laws were

interpreted as making agreements to arbitrate those claims “void” or

unenforceable,’ courts did not invalidate entire arbitration clauses.

Rather, this Court and others held that those claims are non-

arbitrable; the remainder of the agreement was valid, and the other

claims could be arbitrated.* E.g., Dean Witter Reynolds, Inc. v.

Byrd, 470 U.S. 213, 217 (1985) (requiring arbitration of non-

securities clairns); Lake Communications, Inc. v. ICC Corp., 738

F.2d 1473 (9th Cir. 1984) (requiring arbitration of non-antitrust

claims). And in Graham v. Scissor-Tail, Inc., 28 Cal.3d 807, 831,

623 P.2d 165, 171 Cal. Rptr. 604 (1981), the court held an

arbitration provision specifying a biased arbitrator to be

unconscionable and unenforceable, but nonetheless ordered

arbitration before an unbiased arbitrator in light of the (state) policy

favoring arbitration.

This Court’s approach in Byrd is consistent with the

common-law rule on illegal provisions, also ignored by the majority.

The majority below threw out entirely an extensive, mutual, general

dispute-resolution mechanism because it decided that a small part of

it is “illegal” as applied to some types of PMPA claims by one party.

This result overlooks the rule that such clauses are disregarded or

7 Of course, under federal pro-arbitration policy those limits on arbitration

are no longer good law. Rodriguez de Quijas, 490 U.S. 477 (1989) (overruling

Wilko v. Swan, 346 U.S. 427 (1953)), Nghiem v. NEC Electronics, Inc., 25 F.3d

1437, 1441-42 (9th Cir.) (federal antitrust claims arbitrable), cert. denied, 115 S.Ct.

638 (1994).

§ It is noteworthy that Franchisee asserted claims other than claims under

the PMPA. Complaint { 2 (CR 1) (ER 2) (pleading claim under state franchise law).

13

curtailed:

If an agreement contains an illegal provision that is

not central to the agreement and the illegal provision does

not involve serious moral turpitude, the illegal portion of

the agreement is disregarded and the balance of the

agreement is enforceable. . . . Thus, contracts containing

illegal covenants not to compete are enforced. The illegal

covenant is disregarded or curtailed. Contracts containing

illegal penalty clauses or illegal exculpatory clauses are

enforced. The illegal clauses are in effect excised.

John D. Calamari & Joseph M. Perillo, THE LAw OF CONTRACTS

§ 22-2(d), at 893 (3d ed. 1987) (footnotes omitted).

reasonably and easily construed to allow arbitration. That is done

simply by any of four ways: refusing to give the mutual waivers any

effect as to PMPA claims, interpreting the arbitration provisions to

allow the mutual waivers to be severed from the remainder, limiting

the effect of the mutual waivers so that they do not apply to PMPA

claims, or construing the provisions to allow the arbitrator to decide

the validity of the mutual waivers, see Snap-On Tools Corp. v. Scott,

[1990-1992 Transfer Binder] Bus. Franchise Guide (CCH) 4 9701,

at 21,622 (E.D. Mo. 1990) (arbitrator decides whether shortened

statute of limitations in franchise agreement is unconscionable),

Lawrence v. Comprehensive Business Serv. Co., 833 F.2d 1159 (Sth

Cir. 1987) (arbitration clause in franchise agreement covered claim of

illegality of agreement); see generally Appellant's Answering Brief

at 20-21 & n.6. So even if the mutual waivers are invalid, the rest of

the arbitration provisions must stand under the Federal Arbitration

Act and the Cone rule.

14

4. The majority improperly engaged in appellate fact-finding.

In order to reach its result, the majority not only ignored the

Cone rule, but also had to engage in fact-finding. It was improper for

an appellate court to do so. It was doubly improper because

Respondent-Appellant had not asked for such findings. And such

fact-finding would have been improper at this stage of the case even

at the trial court level. Moreover, the majority’s findings are clearly

wrong.

The majority opinion says that the 1990 arbitration

provisions are “a highly integrated unit.” 43 F.3d at 1248; contra id.

at 1251 (offensive provisions are “not intertwined with the

alee isions”) (F eed ine) * Ths majcrity

also admittedly makes explicitly “fact” findings on which the

majority’s result depends:

Our decision to strike the entire clause rests in part

upon the fact that the offensive provisions clearly represent

an attempt by ARCO to achieve through arbitration what

% As Judge Fernandez pointed out:

clause that we find in many commercial contracts. Nevertheless, as I see

it, the arbitration provision can and does stand up quite well without the

offending provisions and would have been acceptable to both parties in

‘that form. I have not the slightest doubt that to the extent arbitration is

desirable it would have been just as desirable without those provisions.

They are not a sine qua non of arbitral attractiveness and are not

intertwined with the arbitration provision. If arbitration is a beauty, it is

no less a one because it has lost a slipper. That indicates that arbitration

should be required in this case.

Id. at 1251 (Fernandez, J., dissenting).

15

Congress has expressly forbidden. Congress enacted the

PMPA precisely to prevent the type of agreement that

ARCO included in the arbitration clause of its franchise

contract. ARCO attempted to use an arbitration clause to

achieve its unlawful ends.

43 F.3d at 1249 (emphasis added).

First, it was utterly improper for the Ninth Circuit to make

findings on appeal. It is, after all, a “Court of Appeals” not of trials.

It may not decide factual questions de novo. E.g., Maine v. Taylor,

477 US. 131, 145 (1986) (“As this Court frequently has

emphasized, appellate courts are not to decide factual questions de

novo ....”). Of course, an appellate court has some ability to review

findings made by the trial court and has some or complete latitude in

deciding the legal effect of the empirical facts. But no matter what

the standard of review, the appellate court may not engage in

empirical fact finding. E.g., id. at 144-45. The impropriety of

findings at this stage is reinforced by the fact that what purportedly

was “clearly” true is not even mentioned in the December slip

opinion, did not occur to the trial court (the proper trier of fact), and

is the subject of a dissent.

Second, the findings are wrong and unsupported. The

statement that Franchisor tried to achieve “what Congress has

expressly forbidden” is nonsense. Even the majority could find no

express prohibition on waiver either in the PMPA or in the legislative

history.

Third, the findings are based on nothing more than the

“idea that a picaresque oil company wronged its franchisee.” 43 F.3d

at 1251 (Fernandez, J., dissenting). The “ends” and motivation of

Franchisor in modifying the 1987 agreement to remove the PMPA

16

exclusion were not at issue in any point in this case. The majority’s

findings are entirely circular, being based on nothing more than the

1990 arbitration provisions themselves. The majority opinion reads

as though Franchisor took a clause that required arbitration of PMPA

claims and then added “offensive,” “illegal” provisions with the goal

of stealing Franchisee’s rights.

In fact, the opposite is true. The “offensive” provisions are

provisions of general applicability. They could not be aimed at

depriving anyone of PMPA rights because they were in the

arbitration clause while that clause exc/uded mandatory arbitration of

PMPA claims. And there is no evidence that the 1990 removal of the

PMPA exception is anything other than taking advantage of this

Court’s decision in McMahon, which made clear that the Federal

Arbitration Act makes federal statutory claims presumptively

arbitrable.

This appellate fact-finding was doubly improper in light of

Respondent’s positions on appeal. The thrust of Respondent’s

appellate argument was that PMPA claims are inherently not

arbitrable -- that “there is an ‘inherent conflict’ between allowing

franchisors to insist on arbitration and the underlying purposes of the

PMPA.” Substituted Appellant’s Brief at 23. Although Respondent

cited the provisions that the majority found offensive, Respondent did

not argue that those provisions alone could cause the arbitration

clause to be invalidated. And on the subject of fact-finding by the

court, Respondent first took the position that no court fact-findings

should be made, id. at 22 (“[I]t is not necessary or appropriate to

require such findings to be made on a case-by-case basis . . . .”)

(discussing whether there was an adhesion contract), and then took

the position that the Ninth Circuit should remand for findings by the

17

trial court.'°

Finally, fact finding against Petitioner would have been

improper even at the trial court level at this stage of the case. In

opposing arbitration at trial, Respondent had not argued, and offered

no evidence about, Franchisor’s goals or ends in including the

provisions that offended the majority. See Plaintiff's Response to

Defendant’s Opposition to Motion for Preliminary Injunction (Dec.

2, 1991) (CR 29). The trial court entered judgment based on a

motion by Petitioner for judgment in its favor, which was partly a

motion for summary judgment by Petitioner. It would have been

improper to make fact-findings against Petitioner in such a motion.

5. The PMPA contains no per se prohibition on mutual waiver

of statutory procedures.

Congress can and does explicitly forbid waiver of some

statutory rights. Cf, e.g., Wilko v. Swan, 346 US. 427 (1953)

(citing explicit federal securities anti-waiver provisions as reason

why claims are not.arbitrable), overruled, Rodriguez de Quijas v.

Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S. 477 (1989). But the

PMPA contains no anti-waiver provision, and the Legislative History

does not state that the remedies at issue in this case are important.

sg Respondent argued that based on Gilmer,

this court, in Mago v. Shearson Lehman Hutton Inc., 956 F.2d 932 (9th

Cir. 1992), remanded and directed the district court to determine

whether the arbitration clause was part of a contract of “adhesion.” At

the very least, the court should require that determination in this case as

well.

Appellant’s Reply Brief at 6 (footnote omitted).

18

The general rule is that statutory remedies and procedures

are waivable, if the waiver is knowing and reasonable. See, e.g.,

Golden v. Mobil Oil Corp., 882 F.2d 490, 493-94 (11th Cir. 1989)

(limitation of liability is not substantively unconscionable); Amoco

Canada Petroleum Co. v. Lakehead Pipe Line Co., 618 F.2d 504,

506 (8th Cir. 1980) ("Parties to a contract normally are free to set a

limitation period for bringing suit that is shorter than that provided

by the applicable statute of limitation; it is only when the contractual

limitation period is unreasonably short that it is void as violative of

public policy."); cf Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938)

(constitutional right to jury trial may be waived if waiver is knowing

and intentional). As noted above, the waivers in this case were

mutual in form and in substance.

Moreover, the majority ignores the legislative history and

the provisions and effect of the PMPA and state franchise law. It

confuses the situation existing prior to the PMPA with the situation

that exists today.

Before enactment of the PMPA, Congress felt that "[t]he

disparity of bargaining power . . . disadvantage[d] the franchisee in

negotiations leading to execution of the franchise agreement." See S.

Rep. No. 731, 95th Cong., 2d Sess., 17 (1978), reprinted in 1978

U.S.C.C.A.N. 873, 876 ("Legislative History"), quoted in part in slip

op. at 15116. The PMPA was designed as "remedying the disparity

in bargaining power between franchisors and franchisees." /d. at 18,

1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 877. An "essential" aim of the PMPA was to

give "franchisees meaningful protections from arbitrary or

discriminatory terminations and non-renewals" and to allow

"fulfillment of the reasonable renewal expectations of franchisees."

Legislative History at 18, 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. at 877 (emphasis

added).

19

The PMPA accomplished these goals by, among other

things, broadly restricting contract terms and the non-renewal or

termination of franchises. See 15 U.S.C. $§ 2801-2805. Moreover,

in many areas not preempted by federal law, motor-fuel franchises

are subject to additional, extensive regulation under state law. See

Or. Rev. Stat. §§ 650.200-.250 (Oregon Motor Fuel Franchises Act).

Thus, in the post-PMPA world, PMPA franchise agreements and

relationships are highly regulated and restricted.

Because of the substantive provisions provided by the

PMPA, as well provisions of state law, it is illogical to continue to

treat PMPA franchisees as if they were minor children. The have

enough bargaining power so that there should be no per se rule

against mutual waiver of the provisions of the PMPA at issue here.

6. Conclusion

An entire arbitration agreement generally cannot be

invalidated on the grounds that small portions of it contravene a

statute. The Cone any-doubts rule operates to make those

agreements presumptively valid. When the majority below ignored

that rule, it decided an important issue of federal law in a manner that

conflicted with this Court’s controlling precedent. And when the

majority reached this result by making findings of fact on appeal, it

departed from the accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings,

again conflicting with the Court’s controlling precedent. This

departure was worsened because those findings were made against a

party who had no notice that it should be introducing evidence on the

issues and because the appellate findings themselves are baseless and

wrong.

The majority below also decided an important question of

federal law that has not been, but should be, settled by this Court --

20

waivability of PMPA procedures -- and did so incorrectly.

Therefore, for the reasons stated above this Court should

issue a writ of certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals of the

Ninth Circuit in order to review this case.

Dated: June 14, 1995.

Charles F. Adams (counsel of record)

Joseph D. Cohen

Randolph C. Foster

Counsel for Peititioner

Stee

Naiireneens

A-1

Opinion Delivered Upon the Rendering of the Judgment

43 F.3d 1244

GRAHAM OIL CO., an Oregon corporation, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ARCO PRODUCTS CO., A DIVISION OF ATLANTIC

RICHFIELD CO., a Delaware corporation, Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 92-35007, 92-35380.

United States Court of Appeals,

Ninth Circuit.

Argued and Submitted Nov. 2, 1993.

Decided Dec. 16, 1994.

As Amended March 13, 1995.

[*1245] Mildred J. Carmack, Schwabe, Williamson &

Wyatt, Portland, OR, for plaintiff-appellant.

Charles F. Adams, Stoel, Rives, Boley, Jones & Grey, Portland,

OR, for defendant-appellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the District of

Oregon.

Before: REINHARDT, BRUNETTI, and FERNANDEZ,

Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge REINHARDT: Dissent by Judge

FERNANDEZ.

REINHARDT, Circuit Judge:

I. INTRODUCTION

Graham Oil Co. ("Graham Oil") appeals the judgment of the

district court, which dismissed, with prejudice, all of its claims

ene nin NET a

A-2

against ARCO Products Co. ("ARCO"). The claims were dismissed

because Graham Oil [*1246] refused to submit to arbitration as

required by an arbitration clause in its distributorship agreement with

ARCO.

Graham Oil contends that the arbitration clause is invalid

because it requires the surrender of certain rights provided under the

Petroleum Marketing Practices Act ("PMPA"), 15 U.S.C.

§§ 2801-2806. Accordingly, it argues that the district court--not an

arbitrator--must decide the merits of its claims under the PMPA. We

agree.

II. FACTS

For nearly forty years, Graham Oil was a branded distributor of

ARCO gasoline in Coos Bay, Oregon. On October 2, 1990, Graham

Oil and ARCO entered into a Branded Distributor Gasoline

Agreement ("Agreement"), which was effective from January |,

1991, to December 31, 1993. Among other things, the parties agreed

that Graham Oil would purchase a minimum amount of gasoline each

month during the two-year period of the Agreement.

On November 10, 1991, ARCO notified Graham Oil that it

intended to terminate the Agreement as of October 31, 1991, because

Graham Oil had not been purchasing the required minimum amount

of gasoline as specified in the Agreement. On November 27, 1991,

Graham Oil filed a motion for a preliminary injunction against

ARCO in federal district court. Graham Oil argued that ARCO had

violated the PMPA by deliberately raising its prices so that Graham

Oil would be unable to meet the minimum gasoline requirements.

Accordingly, Graham Oil argued that ARCO should not be allowed

to terminate the Agreement.

On December 3, 1991, the district court issued a preliminary

injunction that prohibited ARCO from terminating the Agreement for

A-3

90 days. Instead of reaching the merits of Graham Oil's claims under

the PMPA, however, the court found that arbitration was Graham

Oil's exclusive remedy. The court required the parties to complete

the arbitration within 90 days.

Graham Oil appealed the district court's order and refused to

submit to arbitration. Upon the expiration of the 90 days, ARCO

moved for summary judgment. Graham Oil filed a cross-motion to

keep the court's preliminary injunction in force pending the resolution

of its appeal. The court denied Graham Oil's cross-motion and

granted summary judgment in favor of ARCO. On appeal, Graham

Oil argues that the arbitration clause in the Agreement is invalid and

that the court must determine the merits of its claims under the

PMPA.

Ill. ANALYSIS

This case involves the validity of an arbitration clause that, in

addition to specifying arbitration as the means by which disputes are

to be resolved, purports to waive certain statutory rights conferred

upon petroleum franchisees by the PMPA. We conclude that the

clause is invalid. As a result, we strike it and remand for further

proceedings.

A. Validity of the Clause.

1. Purpose of the PMPA. In determining the validity of the

arbitration clause, we first review the purpose of the PMPA.

Congress enacted the PMPA with the primary goal of "protecting

franchisees." See Khorenian v. Union Oil Co., 761 F.2d 533, 535

(9th Cir.1985) (internal quotes omitted). Such protection was needed

in order to correct the great "disparity of bargaining power" between

Cong., 2d Sess., in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 873, 876 [hereinafter

Legislative History |. According to the legislative history of the

A-4

PMPA, petroleum franchise agreements generally are nothing more

than "contracts of adhesion" that perpetuate the "continuing

vulnerability of the franchisee to the demands and actions of the

franchisor." Jd.

In order to correct some of the effects of this disparity in

bargaining power, Congress enacted certain protections for

franchisees like Graham Oil. Essentially, the Act affords franchisees

statutory remedies for the arbitrary or discriminatory termination (or

non-renewal) of franchises by their franchisors. Jd. Among other

things, these protections include exemplary damages, reasonable

attorney's fees, and a one-year statute of limitations. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 2805; Legislative History at 899. These rights and benefits are, of

course, not only designed to compensate [*1247] for injury, but also

to deter unfair conduct.

2. Arbitration Clause. Turning to the arbitration clause, we

note as an initial matter that arbitration is a form of dispute resolution

that finds favor in the courts. In a number of instances, the Supreme

Court has upheld agreements to submit statutory claims to

arbitration, see, e.g., Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane

Corporation, 500 U.S. 20, 26, 111 S.Ct. 1647, 1652, 114 L.Ed.2d

26 (1991) ("It is by now clear that statutory claims may be the

subject of an arbitration agreement, enforceable pursuant to the

[Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2 et seq.]."), including claims

involving unfair business practices. Among the claims in that

category are those arising under the Sherman Act, the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, and the Securities Act of 1933. See, e.g.,

Rodriguez de Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477, 109 S.Ct. 1917, 104 L.Ed.2d 526 (1989); Shearson/American

Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S. 220, 107 $.Ct. 2332, 96

L.Ed.2d 185 (1987); Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler

Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614, 105 S.Ct. 3346, 87 L.Ed.2d

444 (1985). Some of the arbitration provisions--like the provisions

A-5

here--have been contained in form agreements executed before the

dispute arose. See, e.g., De Quijas, 490 U.S. at 478, 109 S.Ct. at

1918; McMahon, 482 U.S. at 223, 107 S.Ct. at 2335.

3. Analysis. Nothing in the PMPA suggests that Congress

intended to change the general presumption in favor of upholding

agreements to submit statutory claims to arbitration. A simple

agreement for arbitration of disputes is valid, whether or not

contained in a franchise agreement. Such a provision constitutes

nothing more than an agreement to substitute one legitimate dispute

resolution forum for another and involves no surrender of statutory

protections or benefits.

However, the fact that franchisees may agree to an arbitral

forum for the resolution of statutory disputes in no way suggests that

they may be forced by those with dominant econoinic power to

surrender the statutorily- mandated rights and benefits that Congress

intended them to possess. This is certainly true in cases arising under

the PMPA, which was enacted to shield franchisees from the gross

"disparity of bargaining power" that exists between them and

franchisors. If franchisees could be compelled to surrender their

statutorily-mandated protections as a condition of obtaining franchise

agreements, then franchisors could use their superior bargaining

power to deprive franchisees of the PMPA's protections. In effect,

the franchisors could simply continue their earlier practice of

presenting prospective franchisees with contracts of adhesion that

deny them the rights and benefits afforded by Congress. In that way,

the PMPA would quickly be nullified.

Here, the arbitration clause! purports to forfeit certain important

statutorily-mandated rights or benefits afforded to Graham Oil and

other franchisees by the PMPA. First, the arbitration clause

expressly forfeits Graham Oil's statutorily-mandated right to recover

exemplary damages from ARCO if Graham Oil prevails on certain

A-6

claims. The clause provides that neither party can be awarded

exemplary damages. Compare 15 U.S.C. § 2805(d)(1)(B) ( "If the

franchisee prevails in [certain] action[s] ... such franchisee shall be

entitled ... to exemplary damages, where appropriate..." (emphasis

added)) with Agreement § 22(b) ("The arbitrator(s) may not assess

punitive or exemplary damages...." (emphasis added)).

1. The relevant provisions of the arbitration clause are set forth in the Appendix

below.

Second, the arbitration clause expressly forfeits Graham Uil's

statutorily-mandated right to recover reasonable attorney's fees from

ARCO if Graham Oil prevails on certain claims. The clause provides

that each party will bear its own attorney's fees. Compare 15 U.S.C.

§ 2805(d)(1)(C) (“If the franchisee prevails in [certain] action{s] ...

such franchisee shall be entitled ... to reasonable attorney and expert

witness fees to be paid by the franchisor...." (emphasis added)) with

Agreement § 22(a) ("Each party shall pay its own costs and

expenses, including attorneys’ fees related to such arbitration...."

(emphasis added)).

Third, the arbitration clause expressly forfeits Graham Oil's

statutorily-mandated right [* 1248] to a one-year statute of limitations

on its claims against ARCO. The clause reduces the time in which a

claim can be brought from one year to 90 days, or in some cases six

months. Compare 15 U.S.C. § 2805(a) ("[N]o such action may be

maintained unless commenced within | year after ... the date the

franchisor fails to comply with [certain] requirements ... of this

title.") with Appendix, EXHIBIT E § A ("The party waives the right

to seek any relief or pursue any claim not included in an arbitration

demand filed ... within 90 days following the date the party knew or

should have known of the facts giving rise to the claim [and in no

event more than six months after the occurrence of the facts giving

A-7

rise to the claim]" (emphasis added)).

Each of the three statutory rights is important to the effectuation

of the PMPA's policies. The purpose of exemplary damages is to

deter franchisors from engaging in improper terminations of franchise

agreements. The purpose of attorney's fees is to deter franchisors

from improperly contesting meritorious claims. Finally, the purpose

of a one-year statute of limitations is to afford franchisees a

reasonable period of time in which to seek relief for improper

terminations and other abuses by petroleum franchisors. In

attempting to strip franchisees of these Statutory rights and benefits

by means of an arbitration clause included in the franchise agreement,

ARCO violated the purpose as well as the specific terms of the

PMPA.

Because the arbitration clause employed by ARCO compels

Graham Oil to surrender important statutorily-mandated rights

afforded franchisees by the PMPA, we hold that the clause

contravenes the Act.

B. Severability of the Clause.

Having determined that ARCO's arbitration clause violates

federal law, we turn to the question of its severability. "Arbitration

Clauses [must] be treated as severable from the documents in which

they appear unless there is clear intent to the contrary." Republic of

Nicaragua v. Standard Fruit Co., 937 F.2d 469, 476 (9th Cir.1991),

cert. denied, --- U.S. ----, 112 S.Ct. 1294, 117 L.Ed.2d 516 (1992).

Here, there is no evidence of any contrary intent.” More important

from a practical standpoint, neither Party suggests that if the

arbitration clause is unlawful, the entire contract must be invalidated.

Accordingly, we conclude that, as in the usual case, the arbitration

clause here is severable.

2. In fact, the franchise agreement expressly states that the entire arbitration

A-8

clause—paragraph 22 and Exhibit E~survives the termination or expiration of the

agreement. See Appendix 4 22(c).

The more difficult question is whether the entire arbitration

clause should be severed, or simply the provisions pertaining to

exemplary damages, attorney's fees, and the statute of limitations.

Relying on principles that are analogous to those we use in

determining whether a particular clause is severable from an entire

contract, we conclude that in this case the entire clause must be

eliminated.

It is a well-known principle in contract law that a clause cannot

be severed from a contract when it is an integrated part of the

contract. As one leading treatise has noted, "a contract should be

treated as entire when by consideration of its terms, nature and

purposes each and all of the parts appear to be interdependent and

common to one another." Joseph D. Calamari & Joseph M. Perillo,

Contracts 478 n. 76 (3d ed. 1987). As we noted in one of our early

surveys of contract law, a "contract is entire, and not severable, when,

by its terms, nature, and purpose, it contemplates and intends that

each and all of its parts, [and] material provisions ... are common to

the other, and interdependent." Hudson v. Wylie, 242 F.2d 435, 446

(9th Cir. 1957).

Here, the offending parts of the arbitration clause do not merely

involve a single, isolated provision; the arbitration clause in this case

is a highly integrated unit containing three different illegal provisions.

Unlike the other clauses, the arbitration clause here includes a

[*1249] survival provision that expressly preserves the entire clause

in the event the contract is declared invalid. Moreover, it establishes

a unified procedure for handling all disputes, and its various unlawful

provisions are all a part of that overall procedure. Thus, we conclude

that the clause must be treated as a whole and that its various

A-9

provisions are not severable.

Our decision to strike the entire clause rests in part upon the fact

that the offensive provisions clearly represent an attempt by ARCO

to achieve through arbitration what Congress has expressly

forbidden. Congress enacted the PMPA precisely to prevent the type

of agreement that ARCO included in the arbitration clause of its

franchise contract. ARCO attempted to use an arbitration clause to

achieve its unlawful ends. Such a blatant misuse of the arbitration

procedure serves to taint the entire clause. As a leading treatise

notes, severance is inappropriate when the entire clause represents an

"integrated scheme to contravene public policy." See E. Allan

Farnsworth, Farnsworth on Contracts § 5.8, at 70 (1990). For the

above reasons, we conclude that the entire arbitration clause, and not

merely the offensive provisions, must be stricken from the contract.

We remand to the district court, which is the proper forum for the

resolution of this underlying dispute.

IV. CONCLUSION

The district court improperly dismissed Graham Oil's claims.

The arbitration provision contained in the franchise agreement is

invalid, and the court--not an arbitrator--must decide the merits of the

claims. Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, and the case is

remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with this Opinion.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

APPENDIX

BRANDED DISTRIBUTOR GASOLINE STANDARD

TERMS AND CONDITIONS

22. Resolution of Disputes

A-10

a) Except as set forth below or where prohibited by applicable law,

any dispute or controversy relating to or arising out of the Agreement

... Shall be resolved by binding arbitration in accordance with the

procedures and rules set forth in Exhibit E attached hereto and

incorporated herein. The site of such arbitration shall be set forth in

Exhibit E. The decision of the arbitrator(s) shall be final and binding

on the parties and access to a judicial forum is foreclosed, except to

enforce an arbitral decision or as required by law. Judgment upon the

award of the arbitrator(s) may be entered and enforced in any court

having jurisdiction thereof. Each party shall pay its own costs and

expenses, including attorneys’ fees related to such arbitration, except

that the cost and expenses of the arbitration association or service

utilized, stenographic record, and witnesses and proofs that may have

been produced at the direction of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid by the

party against whom the decision of the arbitrator(s) is entered and the

cost of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid as set forth in the succeeding

sentence. If an arbitral panel consists of a single arbitrator, the cost

and expenses of the arbitrator shall be paid by the party against

whom the decision of the arbitrator is entered; however, if an arbitral

panel consists of three arbitrators, the cost and expenses of the two

additional arbitrators shall be paid by the party which initially

requested three arbitrators; the cost and expenses of any single

arbitrator appointed by the arbitration association or service utilized,

as set forth in Section F of Exhibit E, before the arbitral panel is

selected shall be paid one-half by the plaintiff(s) and one-half by the

defendant(s).

b) The arbitrator(s) may not assess punitive or exemplary damages

but may award both legal and equitable relief. If the dispute or

controversy involves a claim for equitable relief as well as a claim for

damages or other legal relief and the arbitrator(s) enter(s) a decision

as to the equitable claims before entering a decision as to the legal

claims, judgment upon the decision as to the equitable relief may be

A-11

immediately entered and enforced in any court having jurisdiction

thereof.

c) This Paragraph 22 shall survive termination or expiration of the

Agreement as to any claims covered by the Agreement.

* * *£

[*1250] EXHIBIT E

PROCEDURES FOR ARBITRATION

A. INITIATION

To initiate an arbitration, ARCO or Buyer must file with the

arbitration association or service set forth in Section J below (the

Association/Service) and send the Opposing party at the address

specified in the Notices provision of the Agreement by registered or

certified mail, return receipt requested, a written arbitration demand.

The demand shall set forth a clear and complete statement of the

nature of the claim, its basis, the remedy sought, including the

amount of damages if any, and whether the party desires a panel

consisting of one or three arbitrator(s). The party waives the right to

seek any relief or pursue any claim not included in an arbitration

demand filed and served within 90 days following the date the party

knew or should have known of the facts giving rise to the claim and

in no event more than six months after the occurrence of the facts

giving rise to the claim in the absence of active fraud or concealment

of the facts by the Opposing party.

FERNANDEZ, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I agree with the majority that arbitration of PMPA disputes is

appropriate. Where we part company is at the point where the

majority decides to strike down the arbitration provision in its

A-12

entirety because that provision purports to remove some remedies

that would otherwise be available under the PMPA.

Graham suggests the court should evince a hostility to

arbitration in cases of this type. The majority does not exactly

acquiesce, but it does suggest that Graham should not be bound to

arbitration at all. Why? The only reason, subliminal as it is, may be

that arbitration is such a bad thing for companies like Graham that a

few limitations of statutory rights (entirely satellite’ to any dispute)

will taint the whole.

1. By “satellite” I mean that neither exemplary damages, attorney fees, nor

statutes of limitations have anything to do with the arbitrable question—was or was not

there a breach of the agreement?

In the past that kind of argument has not carried the day.

Neither the Supreme Court nor this court has accepted a negative

view of arbitration. See, e.g., Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane

Corp., 500 U.S. 20, 22-23, 111 S.Ct. 1647, 1651-56, 114 L.Ed.2d

26 (1991); Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482

U.S. 220, 226-27, 107 S.Ct. 2332, 2337-38, 96 L.Ed.2d 185 (1987);

Mago v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 956 F.2d 932, 934-35 (9th

Cir.1992); Cohen v. Wedbush, Noble, Cooke, Inc., 841 F.2d 282,

286-87 (9th Cir.1988). When it adopted the broad language of the

Federal Arbitration Act, Congress also rejected a negative view of

arbitration proceedings. See 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16. I do not think we

should adopt a negative view at this time.

I will assume, without deciding, that the arbitration provision's

removal of attorneys fees and punitive damages and its changing of

the date to bring a claim are all provisions which, as a matter of law,

cannot be agreed to by these contracting parties. I will also assume

that those questions should not be submitted to the arbitrator in the

first instance, although I find that question to be a knotty one indeed.

A-13

Even given those assumptions, I disagree with the conclusion that the

arbitration provision should be stricken in its entirety.

Although we must descry the intent of the Parties, I do not agree

that we should determine that public policy considerations must lead

to a conclusion that Graham (or Congress) would not have wanted

arbitration in this case. Rather, we should ask if the improper

requirements so permeate the arbitration provision that the whole of

it must be stricken. See, €.g., Sheet Metal Workers' Int'l Ass n,

Local 206 v. R. K. Burner Sheet Metal, Inc., 859 F.2d 758, 761 (9th

Cir.1988); National Labor Relations Board v. Southern California

Pipe Trades Counsel No. 16, 449 F.2d 668, 672-73 (9th Cir.1971);

Plumbers and Steamfitters Union v. Dillion, 255 F.2d [*125 1] 820,

823 (9th Cir.1958). That is a much more appropriate index of the

intent of the parties, or either of them, than some assumption about

what one of the parties might or might not have obtained in some

Panglossian world. Who knows what should be assemed in this

would? I, for one, think that an assumption that there would have

been no arbitration provision at all is unfounded. Reliance upon

public policy to say that there should not be one is similarly

unfounded.

Here the contract itself does not provide the specific severance

clause that we find in many commercial contracts.” Nevertheless, as |

see it, the arbitration provision can and does stand up quite well

without the offending Provisions and would have been acceptable to

both parties in that form. I have not the slightest doubt that to the

extent arbitration is desirable it would have been just as desirable

without those provisions. They are not a sine qua non of arbitral

attractiveness and are not intertwined with the arbitration provision.

If arbitration is a beauty, it is no less a one because it has lost a

slipper. That indicates that arbitration should be required in this

Case.

at aat

A-14

2. The contract does have a rather ill-written paragraph that might be described

as a severance clause. That paragraph provides that "[i]f the Agreement, or any

procedure ... shall at any time be in conflict with any legal requirements ... then the

Agreement shall immediately become inoperative and ineffective with respect thereto.”

It then goes on to provide that should that event occur either party may terminate the

agreement in its entirety. Para. 20. Whatever one is to think about that paragraph, |

would feel somewhat disingenuous were I to assert that if resolved the issue in this

case. I shall not do so.

Nor do I believe that this blinks at reality. Had the arbitration

provision been offered without the offending provisions, Graham

would surely have accepted it in that more favorable form. It would

have been less favorable to ARCO, but that company would

undoubtedly have still offered the provision, even without that which

it could not have.

In fine, the parties agreed upon arbitration. Some of the terms

they agreed to may not be possible. However, on the whole,

arbitration is possible, and the real point of this litigation--should

ARCO pay damages for breaching the agreement by mispricing its

products--can and should be submitted to the arbitrators, as agreed.

Thus, I do not agree that we should elide the arbitration provision and

bring the whole of this contractual dispute into the federal courts

based upon an idea that a picaresque oil company wronged its

franchisee when it asked for arbitration of disputes between them.

Arbitration is a favored procedure, and we should favor it here.

Therefore, I respectfully dissent.

ORDER

March 13, 1995

The opinion in this case filed December 16, 1994 shall be

amended by deleting Section III.B, which begins on page 15519 and

—_—

A-15

ends on page 15521, and replacing it with the following:

[Editor's Note: Amendments incorporated for purposes of

publication. }

In addition, the dissent, which begins on page 15524 and ends

on page 15526, shall be deleted and replaced with the following:

[Editor's Note: Substitution incorporated for purposes of

publication. ]

A-16

Original Ninth Circuit Slip Opinion

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GRAHAM OIL CO., an Oregon corporation, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ARCO PRODUCTS CO., a division of Atlantic Richfield Co.,a

Delaware corporation, Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 92-35007, 92-35380

D.C. No. 90-06476 JO

OPINION

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the District of Oregon

Robert E. Jones, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

November 2, 1993--Portland, Oregon

Filed December 16, 1994

Before: Stephen Reinhardt, Melvin Brunetti,

and Ferdinand F. Fernandez, Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Reinhardt; Dissent by Judge Fernandez

[*15514}

REINHARDT, Circuit Judge:

I. INTRODUCTION

Graham Oil Co. ("Graham Oil") appeals the judgment of the

district court, which dismissed, with prejudice, all of its claims

against ARCO Products Co. ("ARCO"). The claims were dismissed

A-17

because Graham Oil refused to submit to arbitration as required by

an arbitration clause in its distributorship agreement with ARCO.

Graham Oil contends that the arbitration clause is invalid

because it requires the surrender of certain rights provided under the

Petroleum Marketing Practices Act ("PMPA"), 15 U.S.C.

$§ 2801-2806. Accordingly, it argues that the district court -- not an

arbitrator -- must decide the merits of its claims under the PMPA. We

agree.

Il. FACTS

For nearly forty years, Graham Oil was a branded distributor of

ARCO gasoline in Coos Bay, Oregon. On October 2, 1990, Graham

Oil and ARCO entered into a Branded Distributor Gasoline

Agreement ("Agreement"), which was effective from January 1,

1991, to December 31, 1993. Among other things, the parties agreed

that Graham Oil would purchase a [*15515] minimum amount of

gasoline each month during the two-year period of the Agreement.

On November 10, 1991, ARCO notified Graham Oil that it

intended to terminate the Agreement as of October 31, 1991, because

Graham Oil had not been purchasing the required minimum amount

of gasoline as specified in the Agreement. On November 27, 1991,

Graham Oil filed a motion for a preliminary injunction against

ARCO in federal district court. Graham Oil argued that ARCO had

violated the PMPA by deliberately raising its prices so that Graham

Oil would be unable to meet the minimum gasoline requirements.

Accordingly, Graham Oil argued that ARCO should not be allowed

to terminate the Agreement.

On December 3, 1991, the district court issued a preliminary

injunction that prohibited ARCO from terminating the Agreement for

90 days. Instead of reaching the merits of Graham Oil's claims under

the PMPA, however, the court found that arbitration was Graham

A-18

Oil's exclusive remedy. The court required the parties to complete the

arbitration within 90 days.

Graham Oil appealed the district court's order and refused to

submit to arbitration. Upon the expiration of the 90 days, ARCO

moved for summary judgment. Graham Oil filed a cross-motion to

keep the court's preliminary injunction in force pending the resolution

of its appeal. The court denied Graham Oil's cross-motion and

granted summary judgment in favor of ARCO. On appeal, Graham

Oil argues that the arbitration clause in the Agreement is invalid and

that the court must determine the merits of its claims under the

PMPA.

Ill. ANALYSIS

This case involves the validity of an arbitration clause that, in

addition to specifying arbitration as the means by which disputes are

to be resolved, purports to waive certain [*15516] statutory rights

conferred upon petroleum franchisees by the PMPA. We conclude

that the clause is invalid. As a result, we strike it and remand for

further proceedings.

A. Validity of the Clause.

1. Purpose of the PMPA. In determining the validity of the

arbitration clause, we first review the purpose of the PMPA.

Congress enacted the PMPA with the primary goal of "protecting

franchisees." See Khorenian v. Union Oil Co., 761 F.2d 533, 535

(9th Cir. 1985) (internal quotes omitted). Such protection was needed

in order to correct the great "disparity of bargaining power" between

petroleum franchisors and franchisees. See S$. Rep. No. 731, 95th

Cong., 2d Sess., in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. 873, 876 [hereinafter

Legislative History|. According to the legislative history of the

PMPA, petroleum franchise agreements generally are nothing more

than “contracts of adhesion" that perpetuate the "continuing

A-19

vulnerability of the franchisee to the demands and actions of the

franchisor." Jd.

In order to correct some of the effects of this disparity in

bargaining power, Congress enacted certain protections for

franchisees like Graham Oil. Essentially, the Act affords franchisees

statutory remedies for the arbitrary or discriminatory termination (or

non-renewal) of franchises by their franchisors. Jd Among other

things, these protections include exemplary damages, reasonable

attorney's fees, and a one-year statute of limitations. See 15 U.S.C.

§ 2805; Legislative History at 899. These rights and benefits are, of

course, not only designed to compensate for injury, but also to deter

unfair conduct.

2. Arbitration Clause. Turning to the arbitration clause, we note

as an initial matter that arbitration is a form of dispute resolution that

finds favor in the courts. In a number of instances, the Supreme Court

has upheld agreements to submit Statutory claims to arbitration, see,

¢.g., Gilmer v. [*15517] Interstate/Johnson Lane Corporation, 500

U.S. 20, 26 (1991) ("It is by now clear that Statutory claims may be

the subject of an arbitration agreement, enforceable pursuant to the

[Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2 et seq.]."), including claims

involving unfair business practices. Among the claims in that

category are those arising under the Sherman Act, the Securities

Exchange Act of 1934, and the Securities Act of 1933. See, e.g.,

Rodriguez De Quijas v. Shearson/American Express, Inc., 490 U.S.

477 (1989); Shearson/American Express Inc. v. McMahon, 482

U.S. 220 (1987); Mitsubishi Motors Corp. v. Soler

Chrysler-Plymouth, Inc., 473 U.S. 614 (1985). Some of the

arbitration provisions -- like the provisions here -- have been

contained in form agreements executed before the dispute arose. See,

€.g., De Quijas, 490 U.S. at 478; McMahon, 482 U.S. at 223.

3. Analysis. Nothing in the PMPA suggests that Congress

A-20

intended to change the general presumption in favor of upholding

agreements to submit statutory claims to arbitration. A simple

agreement for arbitration of disputes is valid, whether or not

contained in a franchise agreement. Such a provision constitutes

nothing more than an agreement to substitute one legitimate dispute

resolution forum for another and involves no surrender of statutory

protections or benefits.

However, the fact that franchisees may agree to an arbitral

forum for the resolution of statutory disputes in no way suggests that

they may be forced by those with dominant economic power to

surrender the statutorily-mandated rights and benefits that Congress

intended them to possess. This is certainly true in cases arising under

the PMPA, which was enacted to shield franchisees from the gross

"disparity of bargaining power" that exists between them and

franchisors. If franchisees could be compelled to surrender their

statutorily-mandated protections as a condition of obtaining franchise

agreements, then franchisors could use their superior bargaining

power to deprive franchisees of the PMPA's protections. In effect, the

franchis<rs could simply continue their earlier [* 15518] practice of

presenting prospective franchisees with contracts of adhesion that

deny them the rights and benefits afforded by Congress. In that way,

the PMPA would quickly be nullified.

Here, the arbitration clause’ purports to forfeit certain important

statutorily-mandated rights or benefits afforded to Graham Oil and

other franchisees by the PMPA. First, the arbitration clause expressly

forfeits Graham Oil's statutorily-mandated right to recover exemplary

damages from ARCO if Graham Oil prevails on certain claims. The

clause provides that neither party can be awarded exemplary

damages. Compare 15 U.S.C. § 2805(d)(1)(B) ("If the franchisee

prevails in [certain] action[s] . . . such franchisee shall be entitled . . .

to exemplary damages, where appropriate . . . ." (emphasis added))

with Agreement § 22(b) ("The arbitrator(s) may not assess punitive

A-21

or exemplary damages... ." (emphasis added)).

1. The relevant provisions of the arbitration clause are set forth in the Appendix

below.

' Second, the arbitration clause expressly forfeits Graham Oil's

statutorily-mandated right to recover reasonable attorney's fees from

ARCO if Graham Oil prevails on certain claims. The clause provides

that each party will bear its own attorney's fees. Compare 15 U.S.C.

§ 2805(d)(1)(C) ("If the franchisee prevails in [certain] action[s ] . . .

such franchisee shall be entitled . . . to reasonable attorney and

expert witness fees to be paid by the franchisor... ." (emphasis

added)) with Agreement § 22(a) ("Each party shall pay its own costs

and expenses, including attorneys’ fees related to such arbitration .

..." (emphasis added)).

Third, the arbitration clause expressly forfeits Graham Oil's

statutorily-mandated right to a one-year statute of limitations on its

claims against ARCO. The clause reduces the time in which a claim

can be brought from one year to 90 days, or in some cases six

months. Compare 15 U.S.C.S 2805(a) [*15519] ("[N]o such action

may be maintained unless commenced within | year after . . . the date

the franchisor fails to comply with [certain] requirements . . . of this

title.") with Appendix, EXHIBIT E § A ("The party waives the right

to seek any relief or pursue any claim not included in an arbitration

demand filed . . . within 90 days following the date the party knew or

should have known of the facts giving rise to the claim [and in no

event more than six months after the occurrence of the facts giving

rise to the claim]" (emphasis added)).

Each of the three statutory rights is important to the effectuation

of the PMPA's policies. The purpose of exemplary damages is to

deter franchisors from engaging in improper terminations of franchise

A-22

agreements. The purpose of attorney's fees is to deter franchisors

from improperly contesting meritorious claims. Finally, the purpose

of a one-year statute of limitations is to afford franchisees a

reasonable period of time in which to seek relief for improper

terminations and other abuses by petroleum franchisors. In

attempting to strip franchisees of these statutory rights and benefits

by means of an arbitration clause included in the franchise agreement,

ARCO violated the purpose as well as the specific terms of the

PMPA.

Because the arbitration clause employed by ARCO compels

Graham Oil to surrender important statutorily-mandated nghts

afforded franchisees by the PMPA, we hold that the clause

contravenes the Act.

B. Severability of the Clause.

Having determined that ARCO's arbitration clause violates

federal law, we turn to the question of its severability. "Arbitration

clauses [must] be treated as severable from the documents in which

they appear unless there is clear intent to the contrary." Republic of

Nicaragua v. Standard Fruit Co., 937 F.2d 469, 476 (9th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. [*15520] 1294 (1992). Here, there is

no evidence of any contrary intent.” More important from a practical

standpoint, neither party suggests that if the arbitration clause is

unlawful, the entire contract must be invalidated. Accordingly, we

conclude that, as in the usual case, the arbitration clause here is

severable.

2 In fact, the franchise agreement expressly states that the entire arbitration

clause - paragraph 22 and Exhibit E — survives the termination of expiration of the

agreement. See Appendix § 22(c).

The more difficult question is whether the entire arbitration

A-23

clause should be severed, or simply the provisions pertaining to

exemplary damages, attorney's fees, and the statute of limitations.

Normally, in deciding issues pertaining to severability, we look to the

“intent and actions of the contracting parties." See In re Quintex

Entertainment, 950 F.2d 1492, 1496 (9th Cir. 1991). Such an

approach is appropriate whenever the parties have roughly equal

bargaining power and can freely negotiate the terms of their

agreement.

Here, we apply a somewhat different rule. Contracts of adhesion

must be "strictly construed” against the drafter. See, e.g., All Pacific

Trading, Inc. v. Vessel M/V Hanjin Yosu, 7 F.3d 1427, 1431 (9th

Cir. 1993) (bills of lading), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 1301 (1994):

Hydro Systems, Inc. v. Continental Ins. Co., 929 F.2d 472, 474 (9th

Cir. 1991) (insurance agreements). In construing a contract of

adhesion, we look to the presumed intent of the party that lacks

bargaining power; we then adopt the construction most favorable to

it. While this case does not present the ordinary question -- how to

interpret an ambiguous term -- we use a similar mode of analysis.

"Strictly construing" the agreement against the drafter, we must

determine what approach to severability the franchisee would have

sought had it been able to bargain freely with the franchisor. Put

another way, we must select the severability approach most favorable

to the franchisee. Here, we conclude that the franchisee would have

desired a severability clause that accomplishes precisely what

Graham Oil seeks to achieve [*15521] in this lawsuit. It would have

wanted not only to retain the rights that Congress intended it to have,

but also the option to utilize a judicial forum, as the PMPA provides.

See 15 U.S.C. § 2805. Because the PMPA was enacted for the

benefit of franchisees, we cannot presume that they would favor a

modification of the procedures contained in that act, absent clear

evidence to the contrary. Here, there is no contrary evidence. Thus,

the approach most favorable to Graham Oil is to sever the entire

A-24

arbitration clause.’ Accordingly, we hold that the ARCO arbitration

clause is invalid and that the district court is the proper forum for the

resolution of the underlying dispute.

3 We note that the offending part of the arbitration clause did not merely involve

a single, isolated provision. Rather, it involved a series of three provisions. We note

further that the arbitration clause in this case is a highly integrated unit. Unlike the

other clauses, the arbitration clause contains a survival provision that expressly

preserves the entire clause in the event the contract is declared invalid. These

observations support our conclusion that the entire arbitration clause must be severed.

IV. CONCLUSION

The district cowrt improperly dismissed Graham Oil's claims.

The arbitration provision contained in the franchise agreement is

invalid, and the court -- not an arbitrator -- must decide the merits of

the claims. Accordingly, the judgment is reversed, and the case is

remanded for further proceedings not inconsistent with this opinion.

REVERSED and REMANDED.

[*15522] APPENDIX

BRANDED DISTRIBUTOR GASOLINE STANDARD TERMS

AND CONDITIONS

22. Resolution of Disputes

a) Except as set forth below or where prohibited by applicable law,

any dispute or controversy relating to or arising out of the Agreement

... Shall be resolved by binding arbitration in accordance with the

procedures and rules set forth in Exhibit E attached hereto and

incorporated herein. The site of such arbitration shall be set forth in

A-25

Exhibit E. The decision of the arbitrator(s) shall be final and binding

on the parties and access to a judicial forum is foreclosed, except to

enforce an arbitral decision or as required by law. Judgment upon the

award of the arbitrator(s) may be entered and enforced in any court

having jurisdiction thereof. Each party shall pay its own costs and

expenses, including attorneys' fees related to such arbitration, except

that the cost and expenses of the arbitration association or service

utilized, stenographic record, and witnesses and proofs that may have

been produced at the direction of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid by the

party against whom the decision of the arbitrator(s) is entered and the

cost of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid as set forth in the succeeding

sentence. If an arbitral panel consists of a single arbitrator, the cost

and expenses of the arbitrator shall be paid by the party against

whom the decision of the arbitrator is entered; however, if an arbitral

panel consists of three arbitrators, the cost and expenses of the two

additional arbitrators shall be paid by the party which initially

requested three arbitrators; the cost and expenses of any single

arbitrator appointed by the arbitration association or service utilized,

as set forth in Section F of Exhibit E, before the arbitral panel is

selected shall be paid one-half by the plaintiff(s) and one-half by the

defendant(s).

b) The arbitrator(s) may not assess punitive or exemplary damages

but may award both legal and equitable relief. If the [*15523]

dispute or controversy involves a claim for equitable relief as well as

a claim for damages or other legal relief and the arbitrator(s) enter(s)

a decision as to the equitable claims before entering a decision as to

the legal claims, judgment upon the decision as to the equitable relief

may be immediately entered and enforced in any court having

jurisdiction thereof.

c) This Paragraph 22 shall survive termination or expiration of the

Agreement as to any claims covered by the Agreement.

A-26

***

EXHIBIT E

PROCEDURES FOR ARBITRATION

A. INITIATION

To initiate an arbitration, ARCO or Buyer must file with the

arbitration association or service set forth in Section J below (the

Association/Service) and send the opposing party at the address

specified in the Notices provision of the Agreement by registered or

certified mail, return receipt requested, a written arbitration demand.

The demand shall set forth a clear and complete statement of the

nature of the claim, its basis, the remedy sought, including the

amount of damages if any, and whether the party desires a panel

consisting of one or three arbitrator(s). The party waives the right to

seek any relief or pursue any claim not included in an arbitration

demand filed and served within 90 days following the date the party

knew or should have known of the facts giving rise to the claim and

in no event more than six months after the occurrence of the facts

giving rise to the claim in the absence of active fraud or concealment

of the facts by the opposing party.

[*15524] FERNANDEZ, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I agree with the majority that arbitration of PMPA disputes is

appropriate. Where we part company is at the point where the

majority decides to strike down the arbitration provision in its

entirety because that provision purports to remove some remedies

that would otherwise be available under the PMPA.

Graham suggests the court should evince a hostility to

A-27

arbitration in cases of this type. The majority does not exactly

acquiesce, but it does suggest that Graham would not have wanted

arbitration at all. Why? The only reason, subliminal as it is, may be

that arbitration is a bad thing for companies like Graham.

In the past that kind of argument has not carried the day.

Neither the Supreme Court nor this court has accepted a negative

view of arbitration. See, e.g., Gilmer v. Interstate/Johnson Lane

Corp, 500 U.S. 20,__, 111 S. Ct. 1647, 1651-56, 1 14 L. Ed. 2d 26

(1991); Shearson/American Express, Inc. v. McMahon, 482 U.S.

220, 226-27, 107 S. Ct. 2332, 2337-38, 96 L. Ed. 2d 185 (1987):

Mago v. Shearson Lehman Hutton, Inc., 956 F.2d 932, 934-35 (9th

Cir. 1992); Cohen v. Wedbush, Noble, Cooke, Inc., 841 F.2d 282,

286-87 (9th Cir. 1988). When it adopted the broad language of the

Federal Arbitration Act, Congress also rejected a negative view of

arbitration proceedings. See 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-16. I do not think we

should adopt a negative view at this time.

I will assume, without deciding, that the arbitration provision's

removal of attorneys fees and punitive damages and its changing of

the date to bring a claim are all provisions which, as a matter of law,

cannot be agreed to by these contracting parties. I will also assume

that those questions should not be submitted to the arbitrator in the |

first instance, although I find that question to be a knotty one indeed.

Even given those assumptions, I disagree with the conclusion that the

arbitration provision should be stricken in its entirety.

[*15525] I simply do not accept the notion that, given a chance,

Graham would certainly eschew arbitration, or for that matter that

what Graham would do is the point. Rather, we should ask if the

improper requirements so permeate the arbitration provision that the

whole of it must be stricken. See, e.g, Sheet Metal Workers' Int'l

Ass'n, Local 206 v. R. K. Burner Sheet Metal, Inc., 859 F.2d 758,

761 (9th Cir. 1988); National Labor Relations Board v. Southern

A-28

| California Pipe Trades Counsel No. 16, 449 F.2d 668, 672-73 (9th

Cir. 1971); Plumbers and Steamfitters Union v. Dillion, 255 F.2d

$20, 823 (9th Cir. 1958). That is a much more appropriate index of

the intent of the parties, or either of them, than some assumption

about what one of the parties might or might not have obtained in

some Panglossian world. Who knows what should be assumed in this

world? I, for one, think that an assumption that there would have

been no arbitration provision at all is unfounded.

1 The contract does have a rather ill-written paragraph that might be described

as a severance clause. That paragraph provides that "[i]f the Agreement, or any

procedure .. . shall at any time be in conflict with any legal requirements . . . then the

Agreement shall immediately become inoperative and ineffective with respect thereto.

” It then goes on to provide that should that event occur either party may terminate the

agreement in its entirety. Para. 20. Whatever one is to think about that paragraph, |

would feel somewhat disingenuous were I to assert that it resoived the issue in this

case. I shall not do so.

Here the contract itself does not provide the specific severance

clause that we find in many commercial contracts.' Nevertheless, as I

see it, the arbitration provision can and does stand up quite well

without the offending provisions and would have been acceptable to

both parties in that form. I have not the slightest doubt that to the

extent arbitration is desirable it would have been just as desirable

without those provisions. They are not a sine qua non of arbitral

attractiveness and are not intertwined with the arbitration provision.

If arbitration is a beauty, it is no less a one because it has lost

[*15526] a slipper. That indicates that arbitration should be

required in this case.

Nor do I believe that this blinks at reality. Had the arbitration

provision been offered without the offending provisions, Graham

would surely have accepted it in that more favorable form. It would

have been less favorable to ARCO, but that company would

A-29

undoubtedly have still offered the provision, even without that which

it could not have.

In fine, the parties agreed upon arbitration. Some of the terms

they agreed to may not be possible. However, on the whole,

arbitration is possible, and the real point of this litigation -- should

ARCO pay damages for breaching the agreement by mispricing its

products -- can and should be submitted to the arbitrators, as agreed.

Thus, I do not agree that we should elide the arbitration provision and

bring the whole of this contractual dispute into the federal courts

based upon an idea that a picaresque oil company wronged its

franchisee when it asked for arbitration of disputes between them.

Arbitration is a favored procedure, and we should favor it here.

Therefore, I respectfully dissent.

A-30

Order Denying Rehearing

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

GRAHAM OIL CO., an Oregon corporation, Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

ARCO PRODUCTS CO., a division of Atlantic Richfield Co., a

Delaware corporation, Defendant-Appellee.

Nos. 92-35007, 92-35380

MARCH 16, 1995

ORDER

Before: REINHARDT, BRUNETTI, and FERNANDEZ, Circuit

Judges

The panel has voted to deny appellee’s petition for rehearing

and to reject the suggestion for rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for rehearing

en banc and no judge has requested a vote on whether to rehear the

matter en banc. Fed. R. App. P. 35.

The petition for rehearing is denied and the suggestion for

reheating en banc is rejected.

A-31

Federal Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. § 2

§ 2. Validity, irrevocability and enforcement of agreements to

arbitrate

A written provision in any maritime transaction or a contract

evidencing a transaction involving commerce to settle by arbitration a

controversy thereafter arising out of such contract or transaction, or

the refusal to perform the whole or any part thereof, or an agreement

in writing to submit to arbitration an existing controversy arising out

of such a contract, transaction, or refusal, shall be valid, irrevocable,

and enforceable, save upon such grounds as exist at law or in equity

for the revocation of any contract.

PMPA, 15 U.S.C. §§ 2801-2806

§ 2801. Definitions

As used in this title:

(1) (A) The term "franchise" means any contract--

(i) between a refiner and a distributor,

(ii) between a refiner and a retailer,

(iii) between a distributor and another distributor, or

(iv) between a distributor and a retailer,

under which a refiner or distributor (as the case may be) authorizes

or permits a retailer or distributor to use, in connection with the sale,

consignment, or distribution of motor fuel, a trademark which is

owned or controlled by such refiner or by a refiner which supplies

motor fuel to the distributor which authorizes or permits such use.

(B) The term "franchise" includes--

A-32

(i) any contract under which a retailer or distributor (as the case

may be) is authorized or permitted to occupy leased marketing

premises, which premises are to be employed in connection with the

sale, consignment, or distribution of motor fuel under a trademark

which is owned or controlled by such refiner or by a refiner which

supplies motor fuel to the distributor which authorizes or permits

such occupancy;

(ii) any contract pertaining to the supply of motor fuel which is to

be sold, consigned or distributed--

(I) under a trademark owned or controlled by a refiner; or

(II) under a contract which has existed continuously since May 15,

1973, and pursuant to which, on May 15, 1973, motor fuel was sold,

consigned or distributed under a trademark owned or controlled on

such date by a refiner; and

(iii) the unexpired portion of any franchise, as defined by the

preceding provisions of this paragraph, which is transferred or

assigned as authorized by the provisions of such franchise or by any

applicable provision of State law which permits such transfer or

assignment without regard to any provision of the franchise.

(2) The term "franchise relationship" means the respective motor

fuel marketing or distribution obligations and responsibilities of a

franchisor and a franchisee which result from the marketing of motor

fuel under a franchise.

(3) The term "franchisor" means a refiner or distributor (as the case

may be) who authorizes or permits, under a franchise, a retailer or

distributor to use a trademark in connection with the sale,

consignment, or distribution of motor fuel.

(4) The term "franchisee" means a retailer or distributor (as the case

may be) who is authorized or permitted, under a franchise, to use a

A-33

trademark in connection with the sale, consignment, or distribution of

motor fuel.

(5) The term "refiner" means any person engaged in the refining of

crude oil to produce motor fuel, and includes any affiliate of such

person.

(6) The term "distributor" means any person, including any affiliate

of such person, who--

(A) purchases motor fuel for sale, consignment, or distribution to

another; or

(B) receives motor fuel on consignment for consignment or

distribution to his own motor fuel accounts or to accounts of his

supplier, but shall not include a person who is an employee of, or

merely serves as a common carrier providing transportation service

for, such supplier.

(7) The term "retailer" means any person who purchases motor fuel

for sale to the general public for ultimate consumption.

(8) The term "marketing premises" means, in the case of any

franchise, premises which, under such franchise, are to be employed

by the franchisee in connection with the sale, consignment, or

distribution of motor fuel.

(9) The term "leased marketing premises" means marketing

premises owned, leased, or in any way controlled by a franchisor and

which the franchisee is authorized or permitted, under the franchise,

to employ in connection with the sale, consignment, or distribution of

motor fuel.

(10) The term "contract" means any oral or written agreement. For

supply purposes, delivery levels during the same month of the

previous year shall be prima facie evidence of an agreement to deliver

such levels.

A-34

(11) The term "trademark" means any trademark, trade name,

service mark, or other identifying symbol or name.

(12) The term "motor fuel" means gasoline and diesel fuel of a type

distributed for use as a fuel in self-propelled vehicles designed

primarily for use on public streets, roads, and highways.

(13) The term "failure" does not include--

(A) any failure which is only technical or unimportant to the

franchise relationship;

(B) any failure for a cause beyond the reasonable control of the

franchisee; or

(C) any failure based on a provision of the franchise which is illegal

or unenforceable under the law of any State (or subdivision thereof).

(14) The terms "fail to renew" and "nonrenewal" mean, with respect

to any franchise relationship, a failure to reinstate, continue, or

extend the franchise relationship--

(A) at the conclusion of the term, or on the expiration date, stated in

the relevant franchise;

(B) at any time, in the case of the relevant franchise which does not

state a term of duration or an expiration date; or

(C) following a termination (on or after the date of enactment of

this Act [enacted June 19, 1978]) of the relevant franchise which was

entered into prior to such date of enactment and has not been renewed

after such date.

(15) The term "affiliate" means any person who (other than by

means of a franchise) controls, is controlled by, or is under common

control with, any other person.

(16) The term "relevant geographic market area" includes a State or

: :

A-35

a standard metropolitan statistical area as periodically established by

the Office of Management and Budget.

(17) The term "termination" includes cancellation.

(18) The term "commerce" means any trade, traffic, transportation,

exchange, or other commerce--

(A) between any State and any place outside of such State: or

(B) which affects any trade, transportation, exchange, or other

commerce described in subparagraph (A).

(19) The term "State" means any State of the United States, the

District of Columbia, the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, the Virgin

Islands, American Samoa, Guam, and any other commonwealth,

territory, or possession of the United States.

§ 2802. Franchise relationship

(a) General prohibition against termination or nonrenewal. Except

as provided in subsection (b) and section 103 [15 U.S.C. § 2803(b)],

no franchisor engaged in the sale, consignment, or distribution of

motor fuel in commerce may--

(1) terniinate any franchise (entered into or renewed on or after the

date of enactment of this Act [enacted June 19, 1978]) prior to the

conclusion of the term, or the expiration date, stated in the franchise:

or

(2) fail to renew any franchise relationship (without regard to the

date on which the relevant franchise was entered into or renewed).

(b) Precondition and grounds for termination or nonrenewal.

(1) Any franchisor may terminate any franchise (entered into or

renewed on or after the date of enactment of this Act [enacted June

19, 1978]) or may fail to renew any franchise relationship, if--

A-36

(A) the notification requirements of section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804]

are met; and

(B) such termination is based upon a ground described in paragraph

(2) or such nonrenewal is based upon a ground described in

paragraph (2) or (3).

(2) For purposes of this subsection, the following are grounds for

termination of a franchise or nonrenewal of a franchise relationship:

(A) A failure by the franchisee to comply with any provision of the

franchise, which provision is both reasonable and of material

significance to the franchise relationship, if the franchisor first

acquired actual or constructive knowledge of such failure--

(i) not more than 120 days prior to the date on which notification of

termination or nonrenewal is given, if notification is given pursuant

to section 104(a) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(a)]; or

(ii) not more than 60 days prior to the date on which notification of

termination or nonrenewal is given, if less than 90 days notification is

given pursuant to section 104(b)(1) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(b)(1)].

(B) A failure by the franchisee to exert good faith efforts to carry

out the provisions of the franchise, if--

(i) the franchisee was apprised by the franchisor in writing of such

failure and was afforded a reasonable opportunity to exert good faith

efforts to carry out such provisions; and

(ii) such failure thereafter continued within the period which began

not more than 180 days before the date notification of termination or

nonrenewal was given pursuant to section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804].

(C) The occurrence of an event which is relevant to the franchise

relationship and as a result of which termination of the franchise or

nonrenewal of the franchise relationship is reasonable, if such event

A-37

occurs during the period the franchise is in effect and the franchisor

first acquired actual or constructive knowledge of such occurrence--

(i) not more than 120 days prior to the date on which notification of

termination or nonrenewal is given, if notifi cation is given pursuant

to section 104(a) (15 U.S.C. § 2804(a)]; or

(ii) not more than 60 days prior to the date on which notification of

termination or nonrenewal is given, if less than 90 days notification is

given pursuant to section 104(b)(1) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(b)(1)].

(D) An agreement, in writing, between the franchisor and the

franchisee to terminate the franchise or not to renew the franchise

relationship, if--

(i) such agreement is entered into not more than 180 days prior to

the date of such termination or, in the case of nonrenewal, not more

than 180 days prior to the conclusion of the term, or the expiration

date, stated in the franchise;

(ii) the franchisee is promptly provided with a copy of such

agreement, together with the summary statement described in section

104(d) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(d)}; and

(iii) within 7 days after the date on which the franchisee is provided

a copy of such agreement, the franchisee has not posted by certified

mail a written notice to the franchisor repudiating such agreement.

(E) In the case of any franchise entered into prior to the date of the

enactment of this Act [enacted ‘une 19, 1978], and in the case of any

franchise entered into or renewed on or after such date (the term of

which is 3 years or longer, or with respect to which the franchisee

was offered a term of 3 years or longer), a determination made by the

franchisor in good faith and in the normal course of business to

withdraw from the marketing of motor fuel through retail outlets in

the relevant geographic market area in which the marketing premises

A-38

are located, if--

(i) such determination--

(I) was made after the date such franchise was entered into or

renewed, and

(II) was based upon the occurrence of changes in relevant facts and

circumstances after such date;

(ii) the termination or nonrenewal is not for the purpose of

converting the premises, which are the subject of the franchise, to

operation by employees or agents of the franchisor for such

franchisor's own account; and

(iii) in the case of leased marketing premises--

(I) the franchisor, during the 180-day period after notification was

given pursuant to section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804], either made a bona

fide offer to sell, transfer, or assign to the franchisee such franchisor's

interests in such premises, or, if applicable, offered the franchisee a

right of first refusal of at least 45 days duration of an offer, made by

another, to purchase such franchisor’s interest in such premises; or

(II) in the case of the sale, transfer, or assignment to another person

of the franchisor's interest in such premises in connection with the

sale, transfer, or assignment to such other person of the franchisor's

interest in one or more other marketing premises, if such other person

offers, in good faith, a franchise to the franchisee on terms and

conditions which are not discriminatory to the franchisee as compared

to franchises then currently being offered by such other person or

franchises then in effect and with respect to which such other person

is the franchisor.

(3) For purposes of this subsection, the following are grounds for

nonrenewal of a franchis«: relationship:

A-39

(A) The failure of the franchisor and the franchisee to agree to

changes or additions to the provisions of the franchise, if--

(i) such changes or additions are the result of determinations made

by the franchisor in good faith and in the normal course of business;

and

(ii) such failure is not the result of the franchisor’s insistence upon

such changes or additions for the purpose of converting the leased

marketing premises to operation by employees or agents of the

franchisor for the benefit of the franchisor or otherwise preventing

the renewal of the franchise relationship.

(B) The receipt of numerous bona fide customer complaints by the

franchisor concerning the franchisee's operation of the marketing

premises, if--

(i) the franchisee was promptly apprised of the existence and nature

of such complaints following receipt of such complaints by the

franchisor; and

(il) if such complaints related to the condition of such premises or

to the conduct of any employee of such franchisee, the franchisee did

not promptly take action to cure or correct the basis of such

complaints.

(C) A failure by the franchisee to operate the marketing premises in

a clean, safe, and healthful manner, if the franchisee failed to do so on

two or more previous occasions and the franchisor notified the

franchisee of such failures.

(D) In the case of any franchise entered into prior to the date of the

enactment of this Act [enacted June 19, 1978] (the unexpired term of

which, on such date of enactment, is 3 years or longer) and, in the

case of any franchise entered into or renewed on or after such date

A-40

(the term of which was 3 years or longer, or with respect to which the

franchisee was offered a term of 3 years or longer), a determination

made by the franchisor in good faith and in the normal course of

business, if-- |

(i) such determination is--

(I) to convert the leased marketing premises to a use other than the

sale or distribution of motor fuel,

(II) to materially alter, add to, or replace such premises,

(III) to sell such premises, or

(IV) that renewal of the franchise relationship is likely to be

uneconomical to the franchisor despite any reasonable changes or

reasonable additions to the provisions of the franchise which may be

acceptable to the franchisee;

(ii) with respect to a determination referred to in subclause (II) or

(IV), such determination is not made for the purpose of converting

the leased marketing premises to operation by employees or agents of

the franchisor for such franchisor’s own account; and

(iii) in the case of leased marketing premises such franchisor,

during the 90-day period after notification was given pursuant to

section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804], either--

(I) made a bona fide offer to sell, transfer, or assign to the

franchisee such franchisor’s interests in such premises; or

(II) if applicable, offered the franchisee a right of first refusal of at

least 45-days duration of an offer, made by another, to purchase such

franchisor's interest in such premises.

(c) Definition. As used in subsection (b)(2)(C), the term “an event

which is relevant to the franchise relationship and as a result of which

termination of the franchise or nonrenewal of the franchise

A-41

relationship is reasonable" includes events such as--

(1) fraud or criminal misconduct by the franchisee relevant to the

operation of the marketing premises,

(2) declaration of bankruptcy or judicial determination of

insolvency of the franchisee;

(3) continuing severe physical or mental disability of the franchisee

of at least 3 months duration which renders the franchisee unable to

provide for the continued proper operation of the marketing premises;

(4) loss of the franchisor’s right to grant possession of the leased

marketing premises through expiration of an underlying lease, if--

(A) the franchisee was notified in writing, prior to the

commencement of the term of the then existing franchise--

(i) of the duration of the underlying lease; and

(ii) of the fact that such underlying lease might expire and not be

renewed during the term of such franchise (in the case of termination)

or at the end of such term (in the case of nonrenewal);

(B) during the 90-day period after notification was given pursuant

to section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804], the franchisor offers to assign to

the franchisee any option to extend the underlying lease or option to

purchase the marketing premises that is held by the franchisor, except

that the franchisor may condition the assignment upon receipt by the

franchisor of--

(i) an unconditional release executed by both the landowner and the

franchisee releasing the franchisor from any and all liability accruing

after the date of the assignment for--

(I) financial obligations under the option (or the resulting extended

lease or purchase agreement);

A-42

(II) environmental contamination to (or originating from) the

marketing premises; or

(III) the operation or condition of the marketing premises; and

(ii) an instrument executed by both the landowner and the

franchisee that ensures the franchisor and the contractors of the

franchisor reasonable access to the marketing premises for the

purpose of testing for and remediating any environmental

contamination that may be present at the premises; and

(C) in a situation in which the franchisee acquires possession of the

leased marketing premises effective immediately after the loss of the

right of the franchisor to grant possession (through an assignment

pursuant to subparagraph (B) or by obtaining a new lease or

purchasing the marketing premises from the landowner), the

franchisor (if requesteu in writing by the franchisee not later than 30

days after notification was given pursuant to section 104 [15 U.S.C.

§ 2804]), during the 90-day period after notification was given

pursuant to section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804]--

(i) made a bona fide offer to sell, transfer, or assign to the

franchisee the interest of the franchisor in any improvements or

equipment located on the premises; or

(ii) if applicable, offered the franchisee a right of first refusal (for at

least 45 days) of an offer, made by another person, to purchase the

interest of the franchisor in the improvements and equipment.

(5) condemnation or other taking, in whole or in part, of the

marketing premises pursuant to the power of eminent domain;

(6) loss of the franchisor's right to grant the right to use the

trademark which is the subject of the franchise, unless such loss was

due to trademark abuse, violation of Federal or State law, or other

fault or negligence of the franchisor, which such abuse, violation, or

A-43

other fault or negligence is related to action taken in bad faith by the

franchisor;

(7) destruction (other than by the franchisor) of all or a substantial

part of the marketing premises;

(8) failure by the franchisee to pay to the franchisor in a timely

manner when due all sums to which the franchisor is legally entitled;

(9) failure by the franchisee to operate the marketing premises for--

(A) 7 consecutive days, or

(B) such lesser period which under the facts and circumstances

constitutes an unreasonable period of time;

(10) willful adulteration, mislabeling or misbranding of motor fuels

or other trademark violations by the franchisee;

(11) knowing failure of the franchisee to comply with Federal,

State, or local laws or regulations relevant to the ee of the

marketing premises; and

(12) conviction of the franchisee of any felony involving moral

turpitude.

(d) Compensation, etc., for franchisee upon condemnation or

destruction of marketing premises. In the case of any termination of

a franchise (entered into or renewed on or after the date of enactment

of this Act [enacted June 19, 1978]), or in the case of any nonrenewal

of a franchise relationship (without regard to the date on which such

franchise relationship was entered into or renewed)--

(1) if such termination or nonrenewal is based upon an event

described in subsection (c)(5), the franchisor shall fairly apportion

between the franchisor and the franchisee compensation, if any,

received by the franchisor based upon any loss of business

Opportunity or good will; and

A-44

(2) if such termination or nonrenewal is based upon an event

described in subsection (c)(7) and the leased marketing premises are

subsequently rebuilt or replaced by the franchisor and operated under

a franchise, the franchisor shall, within a reasonable period of time,

grant to the franchisee a right of first refusal of the franchise under

which such premises are to be operated.

§ 2803. Trial and interim franchises

(a) Nonapplicability of statutory nonrenewal provisions. The

provisions of section 102 [15 U.S.C. § 2802] shall not apply to the

nonrenewal of any franchise relationship--

(1) under a trial franchise; or

(2) under an interim franchise.

(b) Definitions. For purposes of this section--

(1) The term “trial franchise" means any franchise--

(A) which is entered into on or after the date of enactment of this

Act [enacted June 19, 1978];

(B) the franchisee of which has not previously been a party to a

franchise with the franchisor;

(C) the initial term of which is for a period of not more than | year;

and

(D) which is in writing and states clearly and conspicuously--

(i) that the franchise is a trial franchise;

(ii) the duration of the initial term of the franchise;

(iii) that the franchisor may fail to renew the franchise relationship

at the conclusion of the initial term stated in the franchise by

notifying the franchisee, in accordance with the provisions of section

A-45

104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804], of the franchisor's intention not to renew the

franchise relationship; and 7

(iv) that the provisions of section 102 [15 U.S.C. § 2802], limiting

the right of a franchisor to fail to renew a franchise relationship, are

not applicable to such trial franchise.

(2) The term “trial franchise" does not include any unexpired period

of any term of any franchise (other than a trial franchise, as defined

by paragraph (1)) which was transferred or assigned by a franchisee

to the extent authorized by the provisions of the franchise or any

applicable provision of State law which permits such transfer or

assignment, without regard to any provision of the franchise.

(3) The term "interim franchise" means any franchise--

(A) which is entered into on or after the date of the enactment of

this Act [enacted June 19, 1978];

(B) the term of which, when combined with the terms of all prior

interim franchises between the franchisor and the franchisee, does not

exceed 3 years; _

(C) the effective date of which occurs immediately after the

expiration of a prior franchise, applicable to the marketing premises,

which was not renewed if such nonrenewal--

(i) was based upon a determination described in section

102(b)(2)(E) [15 U.S.C. § 2802(b)(2)(E)], and

(ii) the requirements of section 102(b)(2)(E) [15 U.S.C. §

2802(b)(2)(E)] were satisfied; and

(D) which is in writing and states clearly and conspicuously--

(i) that the franchise is an interim franchise;

(ii) the duration of the franchise; and

A-46

(iii) that the franchisor may fail to renew the franchise ai the

conclusion of the term stated in the franchise based upon a

determination made by the franchisor in good faith and in the normal

course of business to withdraw from the marketing of motor fuel

through retail outlets in the relevant geographic market area in which

the marketing premises are located if the requirements of section

102(b)(2)(E)(ii) and (iii) [15 U.S.C. § 2802(b)(2)(E) (ii) and (ii)] are

satisfied.

(c) Nonrenewal upon meeting statutory notification requirements.

If the notification requirements of section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804] are

met, any franchisor may fail to renew any franchise relationship--

(1) under any trial franchise, at the conclusion of the initial term of

such trial franchise; and

(2) under any interim franchise, at the conclusion of the term of

such interim franchise, if--

(A) such nonrenewal is based upon a determination described in

section 102(b)(2)(E) [15 U.S.C. § 2802(b)(2)(E); and

(B) the requirements of section 102(b)(2)(E)(ii) and (iti) [15 U.S.C.

§ 2802(b)(2)(E){ii) and (iii)] are satisfied.

§ 2804. Notification of termination or nonrenewal of franchise

relationship

(a) General requirements applicable to franchisor. Prior to

termination of any franchise or nonrenewal of any franchise

relationship, the franchisor shall furnish notification of such

termination or such nonrenewal to the franchisee who is a party to

such franchise or such franchise relationship--

(1) in the manner described in subsection (c); and

(2) except as provided in subsection (b), not less than 90 days prior

A-47

to the date on which such termination or nonrenewal takes effect.

(b) Additional requirements applicable to franchisor.

(1) In circumstances in which it would not be reasonable for the

franchisor to furnish notification, not less than 90 days prior to the

date on which termination or nonrenewal takes effect, as required by

subsection (a)(2)--

(A) such franchisor shall furnish notification to the franchisee

affected thereby on the earliest date on which furnishing of such

notification is reasonably practicable; and

(B) in the case of leased marketing premises, such franchisor--

(i) may not establish a new franchise relationship with respect to

such premises before the expiration of the 30-day period which

begins--

(I) on the date notification was posted or personally delivered, or

(II) if later, on the date on which such termination or nonrenewal

takes effect; and -

(ii) may, if permitted to do so by the franchise agreement, repossess

such premises and, in circumstances under which it would be

reasonable to do so, operate such premises through employees or

agents.

(2) In the case of any termination of any franchise or any

nonrenewal of any franchise relationship pursuant to the provisions

of section 102(b)(2)(E) or section 103(c)(2) [15 U.S.C. §§

2802(b)(2)(E) or 2803(c)(2)], the franchisor shall--

(A) furnish notification to the franchisee not less than 180 days

prior to the date on which such termination or nonrenewal takes

effect; and (B) promptly provide a copy of such notification,

together with a plan describing the schedule and conditions under

A-48

which the franchisor will withdraw from the marketing of motor fuel

through retail outlets in the relevant geographic area, to the Governor

of each State which contains a portion of such area.

(c) Manner and form of notification. Notification under this

section--

(1) shall be in writing;

(2) shall be posted by certified mail or personally delivered to the

franchisee; and

(3) shall contain--

(A) a statement of intention to terminate the franchise or not to

renew the franchise relationship, together with the reasons therefor;

(B) the date on which such termination or nonrenewal takes effect;

and

(C) the summary statement prepared under subsection (d).

(d) Preparation, publication, etc., of statutory summaries.

(1) Not later than30 days after the date of enactment of this Act

{enacted June 19, 1978], the Secretary of Energy shall prepare and

publish in the Federal Register a simple and concise summary of the

provisions of this title, including a statement of the respective

responsibilities of, and the remedies and relief available to, any

franchisor and franchisee under this title.

(2) In the case of summaries required to be furnished under the

provisions of section 102(b)(2)(D) [15 U.S.C. § 2802(b)(2)(D)] or

subsection (c)(3)(C) of this section before the date of publication of

such summary in the Federal Register, such summary may be

furnished not later than 5 days after it is so published rather than at

the time required under such provisions.

A-49

§ 2805. Enforcement provisions

(a) Maintenance of civil action by franchisee against franchisor;

jurisdiction and venue; time for commencement of action. Ifa

franchisor fails to comply with the requirements of section 102 or

103 [15 U.S.C. §§ 2802 or 2803], the franchisee may maintain a civil

action against such franchisor. Such action may be brought, without

regard to the amount in controversy, in the district court of the United

States in any judicial district in which the principal place of business

of such franchisor is located or in which such franchisee is doing

business, except that no such action may be maintained unless

commenced within 1 year after the later of--

(1) the date of termination of the franchise or nonrenewal of the

franchise relationship; or

(2) the date the franchisor fails to comply with the requirements of

section 102 or 103 [15 U.S.C. §§ 2802 or 2803].

(b) Equitable relief by court; bond requirements; grounds for

nonexercise of court's equitable powers.

(1) In any action under subsection (a), the court shall grant such

equitable relief as the court determines is necessary to remedy the

effects of any failure to comply with the requirements of section 102

or 103 (15 U.S.C. $§ 2802 or 2803}, including declaratory judgment,

mandatory or prohibitive injunctive relief, and interim equitable

relief. (2) Except as provided in paragraph (3), in any action under

subsection (a), the court shall grant a preliminary injunction if--

(A) the franchisee shows--

(i) the franchise of which he is a party has been terminated or the

franchise re'stionship of which he is a party has not been renewed,

and

(ii) there exist sufficiently serious questions going to the merits to

A-50

make such questions a fair ground for litigation; and

(B) the court determines that, on balance, the hardships imposed

upon the franchisor by the issuance of such preliminary injunctive

relief will be less than the hardship which would be imposed upon

such franchisee if such preliminary injunctive relief were not granted.

(3) Nothing in this subsection prevents any court from requiring the

franchisee in any action under subsection (a) to post a bond, in an

amount established by the court, prior to the issuance or continuation

of any equitable relief.

(4) In any action under subsection (a), the court need not exercise

its equity powers to compel continuation or renewal of the franchise

relationship if such action was commenced--

(A) more than 90 days after the date on which notification pursuant

to section 104(a) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(a)] was posted or personally

delivered to the franchisee;

(B) more than 180 days after the date on which notification

pursuant to section 104(b)(2) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(b)(2)] was posted

or personally delivered to the franchisee; or

(C) more than 30 days after the date on which the termination of

such franchise or the nonrenewal of such franchise relationship takes

effect if less than 90 days notification was provided pursuant to

section 104(b)(1) [15 U.S.C. § 2804(0)(1)].

(c) Burden of proof; burden of going forward with evidence. In any

action under subsection (a), the franchisee shall have the burden of

proving the termination of the franchise or the nonrenewal of the

franchise relationship. The franchisor shall bear the burden of going

forward with evidence to establish as an affirmative defense that such

termination or nonrenewal was permitted under section 102(b) or 103

[15 U.S.C. §§ 2802(b) or 2803], and, if applicable, that such

A-51

franchisor complied with the requirements of section 102(d) [15

U.S.C. § 2802(d)}.

(d) Actual and exemplary damages and attorney and expert witness

fees to franchisee; determination by court of right to exemplary

damages and amount; attorney and expert witness fees to franchisor

for frivolous actions.

(1) If the franchisee prevails in any action under subsection (a),

such franchisee shall be entitled--

(A) consistent with the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure to actual

damages;

(B) in the case of any such action which is based upon conduct of

the franchisor which was in willful disregard of the requirements of

section 102 or 103 [15 U.S.C. §§ 2802 or 2803], or the rights of the

franchisee thereunder, to exemplary damages, where appropriate; and

(C) to reasonable attorney and expert witness fees to be paid by the

franchisor, unless the court determines that only nominal damages are

to be awarded to such franchisee, in which case the court, in its

discretion, need not direct that such fees be paid by the franchisor.

(2) The question of whether to award exemplary damages and the

amount of any such award shall be determined by the court and not

by a jury.

(3) In any action under subsection (a), the court may, in its

discretion, direct that reasonable attorney and expert witness fees be

paid by the franchisee if the court finds that such action is frivolous.

(¢) Discretionary power of court to compel continuation or renewal

of franchise relationship; grounds for noncompulsion; right of

franchisee to actual damages and attorney and expert witness fees

unaffected.

A-52

(1) In any action under subsection (a) with respect to a failure of a

franchisor to renew a franchise relationship in compliance with the

requirements of section 102 [15 U.S.C. § 2802], the court may not

compel a continuation or renewal of the franchise relationship if the

franchisor demonstrates to the satisfaction of the court that--

(A) the basis for such nonrenewal is a determination made by the

franchisor in good faith and in the normal course of business--

(i) to convert the leased marketing premises to a use other than the

sale or distribution of motor fuel,

(ii) to materially alter, add to, or replace such premises,

(iii) to sell such premises,

(iv) to withdraw from the marketing of motor fuel through retail

outlets in the relevant geographic market area in which the marketing

premises are located, or

(v) that renewal of the franchise relationship is likely to be

uneconomical to the franchisor despite any reasonable changes or

reasonable additions to the provisions of the franchise which may be

acceptable to the franchisee; and

(B) the requirements of section 104 [15 U.S.C. § 2804] have been

complied with.

(2) The provisions of paragraph (1) shall not affect any right of any

franchisee to recover actual damages and reasonable attorney and

expert witness fees under subsection (d) if such nonrenewal is

prohibited by section 102 [15 U.S.C. § 2802].

(f)(1) No franchisor shall require, as a condition of entering into or

renewing the franchise relationship, a franchisee to release or waive--

(A) any right that the franchisee has under this title or other Federal

law; or

A-53

(B) any right that the franchisee may have under any valid and

applicable State law.

(2) No provision of any franchise shall be valid or enforceable if the

provision specifies that the interpretation or enforcement of the

franchise shall be governed by the law of any State other than the

State in which the franchisee has the principal place of business of

the franchisee.

§ 2806. Relationship of statutory provisions to State and local laws

(a)(1) To the extent that any provision of this title applies to the

termination (or the furnishing of notification with respect thereto) of

any franchise, or to the nonrenewal (or the furnishing of notification

with respect thereto) of any franchise relationship, no State or any

political subdivision thereof may adopt, enforce, or continue in effect

any provision of any law or regulation (including any remedy or

penalty applicable to any violation thereof) with respect to

termination (or the furnishing of notification with respect thereto) of

any such franchise or to the nonrenewal (or the furnishing of

notification with respect thereto) of any such franchise relationship

unless such provision of such law or regulation is the same as the

applicable provision of this title.

(2) No State or political subdivision of a State may adopt, enforce,

or continue in effect any provision of law (including a regulation) that

requires a payment for the goodwill of a franchisee on the termination

of a franchise or nonrenewal of a franchise relationship authorized by

this title.

(b)(1) Nothing in this title authorizes any transfer or assignment of

any franchise or prohibits any transfer or assignment of any franchise

as authorized by the provisions of such franchise or by any applicable

provision of State law which permits such transfer or assignment

without regard to any provision of the franchise. |

A-54

(2) Nothing in this title shall prohibit any State from specifying the

terms and conditions under which any franchise or franchise

relationship may be transferred to the designated successor of a

franchisee upon the death of the franchisee.

Oregon Motor Fuel Franchises Act

650.200. Definitions for ORS 650.200 to 650.250.

As used in ORS 650.200 to 650.250, unless the context requires

otherwise:

(1) "Affiliate" means any person who, other than by means of a

franchise, controls, is controlled by or is under common control with

any other person.

(2) "Company operated station" means a motor fuel service station

operated by a franchisor with employees of the franchisor or by a

commission manager of the franchisor for the sale of motor fuel to

the general public for ultimate consumption.

(3) "Contract" means any oral or written agreement. For supply

purposes, delivery levels during the same month of the previous year

shall be prima facie evidence of an agreement to deliver such levels.

(4) "Control" means the direct or indirect ownership of or the right

to exercise a directing influence over more than 50 percent of the

beneficial interest in any person.

(5)(a) "Franchise" means any contract:

(A) Between a refiner and a motor fuel distributor;

(B) Between a refiner and a motor fuel retailer;

(C) Between a motor fuel distributor and another motor fuel

distributor; or

A-55

(D) Between a motor fuel distributor and a motor fuel retailer,

under which a refiner or motor fuel distributor authorizes or permits a

motor fuel retailer or motor fuel distributor to use, in connection with

the sale, consignment or distribution of motor fuel, a trademark

which is owned or controlled by such refiner or motor fuel distributor

or by a refiner which supplies motor fuel to the motor fuel distributor

which authorizes or permits such use.

(b) "Franchise" includes:

(A) Any contract under which a motor fuel retailer or motor fuel

distributor is authorized or permitted to occupy leased marketing

premises, to be employed in connection with the sale, consignment or

distribution of motor fuel under a trademark which is owned or

controlled by such refiner or motor fuel distributor or by a refiner

which supplies motor fuel to the motor fuel distributor which

authorizes or permits such occupancy;

(B) Any contract pertaining to the supply of motor fuel which is to

be sold, consigned or distributed under a trademark owned or

controlled by a refiner or motor fuel distributor or under a contract

which has existed continuously since May 15, 1973, and pursuant to

which, on May 15, 1973, motor fuel was sold, consigned or

distributed under a trademark owned and controlled on such date bya

refiner or motor fuel distributor; and

provision of the franchise.

(6) "Franchise relationship" means the respective motor fuel

marketing or distribution obligations and responsibilities of a

franchisor and a franchisee which result from the marketing of motor

A-56

fuel under a franchise.

(7) "Franchisee" means a motor fuel retailer or motor fuel

distributor who is authorized or permitted under a franchise to use a

trademark in connection with the sale, consignment or distribution of

motor fuel.

(8) "Franchisor" means a refiner or motor fuel distributor who,

under a franchise, authorizes or permits a retailer or motor fuel

distributor to use a trademark in connection with the sale,

consignment or distribution of motor fuel.

(9) "Leased marketing premises" means marketing premises owned,

leased or in any way controlled by a franchisor and which the

franchisee is authorized or permitted, under the franchise, to employ

in connection with the sale, consignment or distribution of motor fuel.

(10) “Marketing premises" means in the case of any franchise,

premises which, under such franchise, are to be employed by the

franchisee in connection with the sale, consignment or distribution of

motor fuel.

(11) "Motor fuel" means gasoline and diesel fuel of a type

distributed for use as a fuel in self-propelled vehicles designed

primarily for use on public streets, roads and highways.

(12) "Motor fuel distributor" means any person, including any

affiliate of such person, who:

(a) Purchases motor fuel for sale, consignment or distribution to

another; or

(b) Receives motor fuel on consignment for distribution to the

distributor's own motor fuel accounts or to accounts of the

distributor's supplier, but shall not include a person who is an

employee of, or merely serves as a common carrier providing

transportation service for, such supplier or who receives motor fuel

A-57

on consignment for sale to the general public for ultimate

consumption.

(13) "Motor fuel retailer" means any person who purchases motor

fuel for sale to the general public for ultimate consumption.

(14) "Refiner" means any person engaged in the refining of crude

oil to prod'ce motor fuel, and includes any affiliate of such person.

650.205.‘ « bited conduct by franchisor.

Notwithsi. _ ag the terms of any franchise, a franchisor shall not:

(1) Require any franchisee to meet unreasonable mandatory

minimum sales volume requirements for fuel or other products;

(2) Alter the franchise premises during the effective term of the

franchise without the consent of the franchisee. This subsection does

not apply to alterations required by law;

(3) Interfere with any franchisee's right to assistance of counsel on

any matter or to join or be active in any trade association;

(4) Set or compel, directly or indirectly, the retail price at which the

franchisee sells motor fuel or other products; and

(5)(a) With respect to credit cards issued by the franchisor,

chargeback any credit card invoice to a motor fuel franchisee unless

the franchisor provides the cardholder's last-known address, the

reason for chargeback, a refund or credit for any credit card handling

fee collected on the transaction by the franchisor from the franchisee,

and the original invoice of the credit card charge or the legal

equivalent if the franchisor has previously received the invoice or a

copy thereof. The cardholder's address need not be provided if the

chargeback is based on any alleged unlawful, fraudulent or deceptive

act of the franchisee or an employee of the franchisee, or if the

A-58

cardholder claims no legal responsibility for payment of the charge

because it involved the unauthorized use of a credit card.

(b) The terms and conditions governing a motor fuel franchisee's

acceptance of a franchisor issued credit card, including the reasons

for which a chargeback may be made, shall be established in writing

and a copy thereof provided to the franchisee. The franchisor or its

agent shall provide at least 30 days’ prior written notice to a

franchisee before implementing any change to previously disclosed

terms and conditions if such change may increase the franchisee's

cost of accepting the franchisor issued credit card or if such change

adds to or amends the reasons for which a chargeback may occur.

(c) No credit card invoice for a franchisor issued credit card shall be

charged back after 90-days from the date a charge invoice was

submitted tothe franchisor, except that a chargeback may be made

beyond the 90-day period if the cardholder or franchisor alleges

fraudulent or other unlawful actions by the franchisee or an employee

thereof in mcking the sale, or if the cardholder refuses payment to the

franchisor pursuant to rights granted under § 170 of the Federal

Truth-in-Lerding Act (15 U.S.C. 16661), or any rule issued under § 5

of the Federal Trade Commission Act (15 U.S.C. 46), unless the

cardholder's refusal to pay is the fault of the franchisor.

650.210. Rights and prohibitions governing relationship between

Without liniting the other provisions of ORS 650.200 to 650.250,

the following specific rights and prohibitions shall govern the

relationship between the franchisor and the franchisee. It shall be

unlawful and a violation of ORS 650.200 to 650.250 for any

franchisor tc:

(1) Requir a franchisee to purchase or lease goods or services of a

A-59

franchisor or from approved sources of supply unless and to the

extent that the franchisor satisfies the burden of proving that such

restrictive purchasing agreements are reasonably necessary for a

lawful purpose justified on business grounds, and do not substantially

affect competition. This subsection does not apply to the initial

inventory of the franchise. A determination of whether such

estrictive purchasing agreements are reasonably necessary for a

lawful purpose justified on business grounds and do not substantially

affect competition shall be guided by the decisions of the courts of

the United States in interpreting and applying the antitrust laws of the

United States.

(2) Sell, rent or offer to sell or rent to a franchisee any product,

service or property at a price not set in good faith as defined in ORS

72.1030 (1)(b).

(3) Require a franchisee to assent to a release, assignment, novation

or waiver which would relieve any person from liability imposed by

ORS 650.200 to 650.250.

(4) Refuse to renew a franchise without fairly compensating the

franchisee for the fair market value at the time of expiration of the

franchise of the franchisee's resalable inventory, supplies, equipment

and furnishings purchased from the franchisor, not including

personalized materials that have no value to the franchisor and

inventory, supplies, equipment and furnishings not reasonably

required in the conduct of the franchise business. A franchisor may

offset against amounts owed to a franchisee under this subsection any

amounts owed by such franchisee to the franchisor.

(5) Impose on a franchisee by contract, rule or regulation, whether

written or oral, any standard of conduct unless the person so doing

can sustain the burden of proving the standard of conduct to be

reasonable.

A-60

650.215. Prohibited conduct in offer, sale or purchase of franchise.

It is unlawful for any person in connection with the offer, sale or _

purchase of any franchise directly or indirectly:

(1) To sell or offer to sell a franchise in this state by means of any

written or oral communication which includes an untrue statement of

a material fact.

(2) To employ any device, scheme or artifice to defraud.

(3) To engage in any act, practice or course of business which

operates or would operate as a fraud or deceit upon any person.

650.220. Consent of franchisor to sale, assignment or transfer of

franchise; conditions for trial franchise.

(1) Notwithstanding the terms of any franchise, a franchisor shall

not prohibit or unreasonably withhold its consent to any sale,

assignment or other transfer of the franchise by a franchisee to a

qualified third party.

(2) If the franchisor consents to the proposed sale, assignment or

other transfer and the proposed third party has not previously been a

party to a franchise with the franchisor, the franchisor at its option

may require the third party to accept in lieu of the assigned franchise

a trial franchise as defined in The Petroleum Marketing Practices Act,

(15 U.S.C. 2803), on the terms and conditions then generally being

extended by the franchisor to similarly situated franchisees. Entry

into the trial franchise shall terminate the franchise proposed to be

sold, assigned or transferred.

650.225. Death of franchisee; when franchisor required to enter into

new franchise with designee of franchisee; notice; qualifications;

~~ on

A-61

possession of franchise premises.

(1) Following the death of a motor fuel retailer franchisee and

notwithstanding the terms of the franchise, the franchisor, in the case

of leased marketing premises, shall enter into a new franchise with

the designee of the motor fuel retailer franchisee on the terms and

conditions then generally being extended by the franchisor to

similarly situated motor fuel retailers if:

(2) Prior to the death of a motor fuel retailer franchisee, the motor

fuel retailer franchisee notifies the franchisor in writing of the

designee, who shall be the surviving spouse, adult child, or adult

stepchild of the motor fuel retailer franchisee or in the absence of a

designation, the motor fuel retailer franchise's surviving spouse, if

any;

(b) At the time of the motor fuel retailer franchise's death, the

designee meets the qualifications then being required by the

franchisor for its motor fuel retailer franchisees; and

(c) Within 10 days following the motor fuel retailer franchise's

death, the designee enters into a new franchise with the franchisor on

the terms and conditions then generally being extended by the

franchisor to similarly situated motor fuel retailer franchisees, except

that for the part of the term of the new lease equal to the unexpired

portion of decedent franchisee's prior lease, the rent shall be the same

as under the prior lease.

(2) Until the designee enters into a new franchise as provided in

subsection (1) of this section, the franchisor shall be entitled to

Possess and to operate the marketing premises for the franchisor's

Own account.

650.230. Transfer of franchise to corporation in which franchisee has

ii

A-62

controlling interest; conditions.

Notwithstanding the terms of any franchise, no franchisor may

prohibit or prevent the sale, assignment or other transfer of a

franchise to a corporation in which the franchisee has and maintains a

controlling interest if the franchisee offers in writing personally to

guarantee the performance of the obligations under the franchise. In

the event of a sale, assignment or transfer under this section, the

franchisor may require the corporation to assume in writing all of the

franchisee's obligations to the franchisor under the franchise and may |

require the franchisee to maintain a controlling interest in the |

corporation and actively operate the marketing premises during the

time that the franchise with the corporation continues.

650.235. Franchisor prohibited from requiring operation of service

station in excess of 16 hours per day; exceptions.

(1) A franchisor, as a condition for renewal of a franchisee lease or

a supply agreement, shall not require a franchisee to operate a service

station for the sale of motor fuel to the public for ultimate

consumption in excess of 16 hours per day.

(2) This section shall not apply:

(a) If specific hours of business or operation are required under the

franchisor's prime lease or license from any governmental entity,

airport, parking, marine or port authority, shopping center or any

private investor not affiliated with or controlled by the franchisor;

(b) If the service station is located withi #ne-fourth mile of access

to any limited access highway of the federal highway system;

(c) To hours of operation exceeding 16 hours per day that have

been agreed upon by the franchisor and the franchisee; or

A-63

(d) If the franchisor uniformly requires a 24-hour operation by all

of its franchisees.

650.240. When transfer of motor fuel a sale in commerce.

For purposes of ORS 646.040, the transfer of motor fuel from a

franchisor to a company operated station or a franchisee shall bea

sale in commerce.

650.245. Principle of good faith.

Without limiting the other provisions of ORS 650.200 to 650.250,

the principle of good faith shall govern the relationship and dealings

of the parties with each other.

650.250. Injunctive relief or damages; attorney fees and costs;

limitation on commencement of action.

Any person who is injured in the person's business or property by

reason of a violation of ORS 650.250 to 650.250 may sue therefor in

any court having jurisdiction in the county where the defendant

resides or is found, or any agent resides or is found, or where service

may be obtained, for injunctive relief or to recover the damages

sustained by the person, and may be awarded attorney fees together

with the costs of the suit. Any action brought pursuant to this section

shall be commenced within four years after the cause of action

accrued.

A-64

1987 and 1990 Red-Lined Resolution of Dispute Clauses

Biexcept as set forth below or where prohibited by applicable law,

any dispute or controversy relating to or arising out of thi

Agreement including, without limitation, the negotiation, breach,

validity or enforceability of thisthe Agreement or any part thereof, the

obligations created by thisthe Agreement or the relationship between

the parties, which dispute or controversy the parties cannot mutually

resolve (including tort and contract claims, claims based upon any

an eee law, order, ordinance or

hgu shall be resolved by binding arbitration in accordance

with the procedures and rules set forth in Exhibit E attached hereto

and incorporated herein. The site of such arbitration shall be as set

forth in Exhibit E. The decision of the arbitrator(s) shall be final and

binding on the parties and access to a judicial forum is foreclosed,

— — enforce an arbitral peta a

Fudigicnk coh send oii sibeaagulah cane MEUM ad

enforced in any court having jurisdiction thereof. Each party shall

pay its own costs and expenses, including attorneys’ fees related to

ouch SRTEOS, SS Ee er ies pee ne

sseanginghio sot, subeaeineeli-ald auuaaetaananiines tans

produced at the direction of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid by the party

against whom the decision of the arbitrator(s) is entered and the cost

of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid as set forth in the succeeding

P Lg ee

A-65

sentence. If an arbitral er-appeliate-panel consists of a single

arbitrator, the cost and expenses of the arbitrator shall be paid by the

party against whom the decision of the arbitrator is entered; however,

if an arbitral er-appellate-panel consists of three arbitrators, the

sestcosts and expenses of the two additional arbitrators shall be paid

by the party which initially requested three arbitrators: the cost and

expenses of any single

set forth in Section F of Exhibit itral panel is

selected shall be paid one-half by the plaintiff(s) and one-half by the

defendant(s).—

may award both legal and-equitable relief. If the dispute or

controversy involves a claim for equitable relief as well as a claim for

damages or other legal relief and the arbitrator(s) enter(s) a decision

as to the equitable claims before entering a decision as to the legal

claims, judgment upon the decision as to the equitable relief may be

A-66

immediately entered and enforced in any court having jurisdiction

Fh Bre

isthe Agreement as

to any claims

Exhibit E, Procedures for Arbitration

A. INITIATION

To initiate an arbitration, ARCO or Buyer must file with the

arbitration association or service set forth in Section J below (the

Association/Service) and send the opposing party at the address

specified in the Notices provision of the Agreement by registered or

certified mail, return receipt requested, a written arbitration demand.

The demand shall set forth a clear and complete statement of the

nature of the claim, its basis, the remedy sought, including the

amount of damages if any, and whether the party desires a panel

consisting of one or three arbitrator(s). The party waives the right to

seek any relief or pursue any claim not included in an arbitration

demand filed and served within 90 days following the date the party

knew or should have known of the facts giving rise to the claim and

in no event more than six months after the occurrence of the facts

giving rise to the claim in the absence of active fraud or concealment

of the facts by the opposing party.

The opposing party may, within thirty days of receiving the

arbitration demand, assert a counterclaim, set-off and/or request a

panel of three arbitrators. The counterclaim or set-off, which shall be

filed with the Association/Service and sent to the initiating party at

the address specified in the Notices provision of the Agreement by

registered or certified mail, return receipt requested, shall be a clear

and complete statement of the nature of the counterclaim or set-off,

A-67

its basis, and the remedy sought, including the amount of damages if

any. If the initiating party requested a panel of one arbitrator and the

Opposing party desires a panel of three arbitrator, the opposing party

must request three arbitrators within the thirty day period.

Each arbitration shall be limited to dispute(s) arising out of a single

franchise agreement or the relationships related thereto or deriving

therefrom. There shall be no joinder or consolidation of claims

arising out of different agreements.

B. SELECTION OF ARBITRATION PANEL

The dispute shall be decided initially by a panel of one or, if

requested by either party, three arbitrators selected as follows. The

Association/Service shall submit to the parties, within ten days after

receipt of an arbitration demand, a list of five (or in the case of three

arbitrators, seven) potential arbitrators consisting of retired federal or

state court judges who were with the highest trial court of general

jurisdiction in their jurisdiction; providing that none of these judges is

engaged in a business of producing, refining, or marketing petroleum

or petroleum products. Each party shall, within five days, strike two,

one or none of the arbitrators, rank the remaining arbitrators in order

of preference (with "]" designating the most preferred, "2" the next

most preferred and so forth) and so advise the Association/Service in

writing. The Association/Service shall appoint the arbitrator(s) with

the best combined preference ranking on both lists. If the panel

consists of three arbitrators, the Association/Service shall designate

one arbitrator as presiding officer.

C. PREHEARING DISCOVERY

There shall be no prehearing discovery except as follows. Each party

may propound to the other no more than thirty interrogatories,

including subparts, and may request the opportunity to inspect and/or

copy documents to the extent and in the manner provided by the

A-68

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, with such modifications or

additions as the panel may prescribe, and each party may take no

more than five (5) depositions of the other party. Disputes

concerning discovery obligations or protection of discovery materials

shall be determined before hearing by the single arbitrator or, where

applicable, the presiding officer of the arbitration panel.

D. ARBITRATION HEARING

The arbitrator or, where applicable, the presiding officer of the

arbitration panel shall designate the place and time of the hearing.

The hearing shall be scheduled to begin within 120 days after the

filing of the arbitration demand unless extended by the arbitration

panel on a showing of exceptional circumstances. The parties shall

have the right to attend the hearing, to be represented by counsel, to

present documentary evidence and witnesses, to cross-examine

opposing witnesses and to subpoena witnesses. Federal Rules of

Evidence shall apply and the panel shall determine the competency,

relevance, and materiality of evidence as appropriate. The panel shall

recognize privileges available under applicable law. A stenographic

record shall be made of the arbitration proceedings and the

confidentiality of such record and its contents shall be maintained by

the parties and the arbitrators and such record shall not be revealed in

whole or in part to any person or entity not a party to the arbitration,

an arbitrator of the arbitration, the Association/Service or a court in

which the award is entered. Such obligation of confidentiality shall

survive the arbitrations and the termination or expiration of any

agreement or relationship between the parties. Inasmuch as the

parties recognize that damages for a violation of the obligation of

confidentiality would be difficult to measure and that the most

reasonable estimate of actual damages for such violation would be

$5000 per violation, any party violating such obligation of

confidentiality shall pay the other party $5000 per violation. In

addition, the non-violating party may enjoin such violations and the

A-69

violating party shall pay the non-violating party's attorneys’ fees and

cost incurred in the injunction action.

E. AWARD

The panel's award shall be made by the arbitrator or, where

applicable, by majority vote of the panel. An award in writing signed

by the arbitrator or, where applicable, by at least two of the panel's

arbitrator shall set forth the panel's findings of fact and conclusions

of law. The award shall be filed with the Association/Service and

mailed to the parties no later than thirty days after the matter is

submitted for decision after hearing. The panel shall have authority

to issue any lawful relief that is just and equitable, except punitive

damages. The award shall state that it dissolves and supersedes any

provisional remedies entered pursuant to Section F below.

F. PROVISIONAL REMEDIES

Pending the selection of the arbitration panel, upon request of a party,

the Association/Service may appoint an arbitrator to order

preliminary relief. This award may be immediately entered in any

federal or state court having jurisdiction thereof even though the

decision on the underlying dispute may still be pending. Once

constituted, the arbitration panel may, upon request of a party, issue a

superseding order to modify or reverse such preliminary relief or may

itself order preliminary relief pending a full hearing on the merits of

the underlying dispute. Any such initial or superseding order of

preliminary relief may be immediately entered in any federal or state

court having jurisdiction thereof even though the decision on the

underlying dispute may still be pending. Such relief may be granted

by the appointed arbitrator or the arbitration pazci only after notice to

and opportunity to be heard by the Opposing party. Such awards of

preliminary relief shall be in writing and, if ordered by a panel of

three arbitrators, must be signed by at least two of the panel

members.

A-70

G. GOVERNING LAW

Federal law, including the provisions of Title 9 of the United States

Code, shall govern all issues concerning the validity, enforceability

and interpretation of this arbitration agreement. The substantive law

governing the underlying dispute shall be that of the state in which

the Buyer's principal place of business is located, unless the

arbitration concerns PMPA or other federal issues as to which

Federal law is applicable.

H. ENTRY OF AWARD BY COURT

The arbitral panel's arbitration award shall be final twenty days after

it is rendered. The parties consent that judgment upon the final

arbitration award may be entered in any federal or state court having

jurisdiction thereof but shall have no precedential effect on any other

arbitration.

I. COSTS AND ATTORNEY'S FEES

The party losing the arbitration shall pay all expenses and fees of the

Association/Service, all costs of the stenographic record, all expenses

of witnesses or proofs that may have been produced at the direction

of the arbitrator(s) and the cost of the arbitrator(s) shall be paid as set

forth in the succeeding sentence. If an arbitral panel consists of a

single arbitrator, the cost and expenses of the arbitrator shall be paid

by the losing party; however, if an arbitral panel consists of three

arbitrators, the cost and expenses of the presiding officer shall be

paid by the losing party and the cost and expenses of the two

additional arbitrators shall be paid by the party which initially

requested three arbitrators; and, if the Association/Service appointed

a single arbitrator before the arbitral panel was selected, as set forth

in Section F above, the cost of such arbitrator shall be paid one-half

by the plaintiff(s) and one-half by the defendant(s). The arbitral

panel shall designate the losing party for these purposes.

A-7]

J. I TIONS OR

To initiate and maintain arbitration proceeding, ARCO and/or Buyer

shall utilize the following arbitration associations or services in the

states indicated:

California, Oregon and Washington:

Judicial Arbitration & Mediation Services Inc.

Los Angeles, California

Orange, California

Santa Monica, California

San Bernardino, California

San Diego, California

Fresno, California

Sacramento, California

San Jose, California

San Francisco, California

Portland, Oregon

Seattle, Washington

Nevada:

United States Arbitration and Mediation of Arizona, Inc.

(New Mexico and Nevada)

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reno, Nevada

American Arbitration Association

Las Vegas, Nevada

Reno, Nevada

Arizona:

United States Arbitration and Mediation of Arizona, Inc.

Phoenix, Arizona

In the event, and only in the event, that the Judicial Arbitration and

Mediation Services Inc. fails or is unable to provide necessary and

A-72

required services in California, Oregon, and Washington, or the

United States Arbitration and Mediation of Arizona, Inc. fails or is

unable to provide necessary and required services in Arizona, then,

and only then, shall ARCO and/or Buyer utilize the arbitration

services of the American Arbitration Association.

PROOF OF SERVICE

Pursuant to S.Ct. Rule 29.5, I certify that on June 13, 1995, I served

2 copies of the attached PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

by first-class mail pursuant to S.Ct. Rule 29.3 to:

Mildred J. Carmack

SCHWABE, WILLLIAMSON & WYATT

1600-1800 Pacwest Center

1211 SW Fifth Avenue

Portland, OR 97204

(503) 222-9981

Counsel for Respondent Graham Oil

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1746, I declare that the foregoing is true

and correct.

Executed on: June 14, 1995.

aL) Cen

ae D. Cohen

ounsel for Petitioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — ARCO Products Co. v. Graham Oil Co. · 516 U.S. 907 | Frix