Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Industrial Excess Landfill Inc. v. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Co.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

9420 44 JUN 131995

OFFICE OF THe CLERK

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL INC.,

HYBUD EQUIPMENT CORPORATION and

HYMAN BUDOFF,

Petitioners,

VS.

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Matthew Yackshaw

Counsel of Record

DAY, KETTERER, RALEY,

WRIGHT & RYBOLT

800 William R. Day Building

121 Cleveland Ave., South

Canton, Ohio 44702-1921

Telephone: (216) 455-0173

Teiecopier: (216) 455-2633

Attorney for Petitioners

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, D.C., (202) 682-9800

Nr

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Should the District Court have abstained from exercising

jurisdiction?

A. Did the District Court (and Sixth Circuit) fail to follow

this Court’s precedent on when a district court should

abstain from exercising discretionary jurisdiction un-

der the declaratory judgment and diversity of citizen-

ship statutes, 28 U.S.C. §§1332 and 2201?

B. Did the District Court (and the Sixth Circuit) fail to

follow the Sixth Circuit’s own precedent and that of

other circuit courts, thereby creating a conflict in

the circuit courts?

Are the due process and equal protection clauses of Amend-

ment V of the U.S. Constitution violated when the Dis-

trict Court and the Sixth Circuit failed to follow U.S.

Supreme Court precedent, their own precedent and are in

conflict with precedent of other circuits in applying the

law applicable to review of summary judgment motions

to the facts which exist in this case?

Did the District Court err in failing to apply Rule 1004 of

the Federal Rules of Evidence to the secondary evidence

submitted in support of the existence and basic terms

and conditions of the lost or destroyed policies?

Are the Civil Rules and the due process and equal protection

clauses of Amendment V of the U.S. Constitution violated

when the District Court and Sixth Circuit dismiss sua

sponte counts one and two of Petitioner’s counterclaim?

Are the due process and equal protection clauses of Amend-

ment V of the U.S. Constitution violated when the Dis-

trict Court erroneously rules that post judgment motions

filed by Petitioners were moot and the Sixth Circuit com-

pletely failed to address the issue?

Cn A100 Sd Moe =

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page{s]

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .... i

pe Be gee ye ck ee rr ii

TPR A Pas Ee 6 kee cc ee iv

OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THE CASE

re eI Dg gg cn ce ee ew

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ......... 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

go foe 8 i gO, L) Se rr 2

WEeaReeeers GO SUSE GASE. 2. i ee ep 3

ee euR eee GOD ek a ee ee 6

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT... . 8

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The District Court Should Have Abstained

From Exercising Declaratory Judgment

Jurisdiction And Dismissed The Case. .. . 8

B. The Granting Of A Summary Judgment In

Favor Of Hartford Constitutes A Denial

Of Due Process And Equal Protection

Under The Facts And Circumstances

eS an gee re es 8 ke 15

C. The Failure To Recognize And Apply

Rule 1004 Of The Federal Rules Of Evi-

dence Constitutes A Denial Of Due

Process And Equal Protection. ....... 19

iil

D. It Is A Violation Of The Civil Rules,

The Due Process And Equal Protection

Clauses Of The Fifth Amendment Of

The U.S. Constitution And Basic Princi-

ples Of Justice And Fair Dealing For

The District Court To Dismiss Sua

Sponte Counts One And Two Of

Defendants’ Counterclaim ......... 22

E. The District Court Erred By Denying

Petitioner’s Post Judgment Motions. .. . . 24

COR ko 6 ee ie res 25

PT AR 5 6 ee 68 8 6 we a ae A-1

oo |

iv

APPENDIX

Page[s]

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v.

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., et al.,

Case Nos. 93-3689 and 3765 (Sixth Circuit)... .. A-1

a. Per Curiam Decision filed

I ga eg ds oe Gk es A-1

b. Rehearing Order filed

PN SU ae side ce A-4

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v.

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., et al.,

Case No. 5:90CV0493 (USDC ND Ohio 1993)... ..

a. Marginal Entry Order filed

UE FR BIE 55% koi K 6d ee A-5

b. Memorandum of Opinion and Order

SEDO ONY BO ITE, oe eck ee ees A-6

c. Marginal Entry Order

> re re ar ee Te A-13

d. Order filed August 11,1992 ........ A-14

e. Memorandum of Opinion and

Ouiet tee Bay 7, 190e i A-16

f. Marginal Entry Order filed

PORE Teh 8 ee ae ORS A-25

U.S. Constitution, Amendment Five ......... A-26

MP EN als Ca ke a ne eo A-27

SUE se a Sk ie Se ee A-28

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 1004 ........ A-29

Hartford Interoffice Memorandum dated

I Se A-30

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page[s]

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Company, 398 U.S. 144,

90 S. Ct. 1598, 26 L. Ed. 2d 142 (1970) ... 17

Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co. v. Merritt, 974 F.2d 1196 (9th

Cr Re 5 es wear ae os SS 1]

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Green, 825 F.2d 1061

CREAR, FOOD 6. it ee ee 0 Os 10

Allstate Ins. Co. v. Mercier, 913 F.2d 273

CC Soe PDS WES: 10

America National Fire Ins. Co. v. Hungerford,

es *

(PRA, RPGC N 6 0's 9 See ee ee eS 1]

American Home Assurance Co. v. Evans, 791 F.2d

Ri Bt BS re ee oe ae 10

American States Ins. Co. v. Kearns, 15 F.3d 142

CO Ss Hees. vs 5 Eee Cees 11

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106

S.Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986). ...... 16,17

Andrew Crispo Gallery, Inc. v. Commissioner of Inter-

nal Revenue, 16 F.3d 1336 (2nd Cir. 1994) . . . 19

Avemco v. Eaves, 67 Ohio App. 3d 563, 587 N.E.2d

SGD (Agama Oly. J50R es a ee es 20

Bituminous Casualty Corp. v. Vacuum Tanks, Inc.,

new £ek Th fe es re 19

Borden, Inc. v. Affiliated FM Ins. Co., 682 F. Supp.

927 (S.D. Ohio 1987), aff'd 865 F.2d 1267

CC Ce ae a eS ee es 11

Broz v. Winland, 68 Ohio St. 3d 521,

Gi Pu SEED bos ie wee ee 14

vi

Cases (cont’d.)

Brillhart v. Excess Ins. Co. of America, 316 U.S.

491, 62 S. Ct. 1173, 86 L. Ed. 1620 (1942). .

Bullett Trucking v. Glen Falls Insurance Company,

84 Ohio App.3d 327, 616 N.E. 2d 1123

(Montgomery Co. 1992). ww wie eee

Burroughs Wellcome Co. v. Commercial Union Ins.

Co., 632 F. Supp. 1213 (SD NY 1986) ... .

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S. Ct.

pe Sey eee ree

Cipriani v. Sun Life Ins. Co. of America, 757 F. 2d

Fe ey WS ae

Continental Cas. Co. v. Coastal Savings Bank,

S7t rae teeta Ge SPRE) os ae cs

Continental Cas. Co. v. Fuscardo, 35 F.3d 963

eS 6 ah oe ee ee ee cw

Continental Cas. Co. v. Robsac Industries, 947 F.2d

Se Le en « Sere ee Hs

Daubert v. Merrell Dow Pharmaceuticals,

US. , 113 S. Ct. 2786, 125 L. Ed.2d 469

aE Sick ones a ee ee

F L Aerospace v. Aetna Casualty & Surety Co., 897

opr 6 ee a eee

Grand Trunk Western Railroad Co. v. Consolidated

Rail Corp., 746 F.2d 323 (6th Cir. 1984) ....

Green v. Mansour, 474 U.S. 64, 106 S. Ct. 423, 88

BS Bie). | GR eee

Page[s]

Vii

Cases (cont’d.) Page[s]

Harrington v. Vandalia-Butler Board of Education,

649 F.2d 434 (6th Cir. 1981) ......... 23

Hybud Equipment Corp. v. Sphere Drake Ins. Co.,

64 Ohio St. 3d 657, 597 N.E.2d 1096

(1992), cert. denied US. ,

113 S. Ct. 1585, 123 L. Ed. 2d 152 (1993). ... 5

Indiana Port Comm. v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 702

eB ey To ae 23

Joslyn Mfg. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 23 F.3d

Parte CSO. Re eee eee ere 19

LeForge v. Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co., 82

Ohio App.3d 692, 612 N.E. 2d 1318

(Clinton Co. 1992), jur. mot. over.

66 Ohio Sts 1413 GISFS) 2 kw eee. 23

Management Investors v. United Mine Workers,

610 F. 2d 384 (6th Cir. 1979) ......... 23

Manley, Bennett, McDonald & Co. v. St. Paul

Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 791 F.2d 460

(See Ge ee oa beck ee eke e « * 10

Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. O’Brien, 5 F.3d 1117

CA a oe bee Oe re es 21

Mitcheson v. Harris, 955 F.2d 235 (4th Cir. 1992) . . 12

Moore v. Hobrook, 2 F.3d 697 (6th Cir. 1993). . . 17

National Fire Ins. Co. v. Bartolazo, 27 F.3d 518

COTE GOE Be ks dca be so Re eee 23

Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co. v. Willenbrink,

924 F.2d 104 (6th Cir. 1991) ......... 10

Newark Machine Co. v. Kenton Ins. Co..,

50 Ohio St. 549, 35 N.E. 1060 (1893) .... 20

wt RD ea Ia Ne ARTS.

Vili

Cases (cont’d.) Page[s]

Ohio Farmers Ins. Co. v. Cochran, 104 Ohio St. 427,

Sy Uae Es os ke kk ae 21

Omaha Property & Casualty Ins. Co. v. Johnson,

923 F.2d 446 (6th Cir. 1991) ......... 10

Owens Illinois, Inc. v. Aetna Cas. and Sur. Co.,

990 F.2d 865 (6th Cir. 1993) ......... 19

Portland Retail Druggist Assn. v. Kaiser Foundation

Health Plan, 662 F.2d 641 (9th Cir. 1981)

cert. denied 469 U.S. 1229, 105 S. Ct. 1230,

GA Ties a RD bn ew la ee ee a 23

Public Service Comm’n v. Wycoff Co., 344 U.S. 237,

73S. C.256, F7 82d. 291 CI962) ww ee 8

Ranes v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 32 F.3d 1393

SNE ls BD eA ee i a CR Wore 2 21

Remington Arms, Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co.,

810 F. Supp. 1420 (Del. 1992) ........ 19

Routman v. ADP, 873 F.2d 970 (6th Cir. 1989)... . 22

Samuels v. Mackell, 401 U.S.. 66, 91 S. Ct.

fo ig A eT ss | 9

Servants of Paraclete v. Great American Ins. Co.,

857 F. Supp. 822 (N.M. 1994) ........ 19,21

Sherwin-Williams Co. v. Certain Underwriters at

Lleyd’s London, 813 F. Supp. 576

ak ce. Eo ee ee 11

State Automobile Mut. Ins. Assn. v. Lind, 122 Ohio

ee Ree Gt Os, | 21

State of New York v. Blank, 820 F. Supp. 697

(N.D.N.Y. 1993), aff'd in pertinent part, 27

& & gs te | er 19

ix

Cases (cont’d.) Page[s]

Sur v. Glidden-Durkee, 681 F.2d 490

Ce ES a ee a Oe 21

Thoen v. United States, 765 F.2d 1110

te + Ree er 9 ee eee 23

United States Fidelity and Guaranty Co. v. Star Fire

Coals, Inc., 856 F.2d 31 (6th Cir. 1988) .... 11

Winbourne v. Eastern Airlines, 632 F.2d 219

(20g See + Fo Peet Pe ee 23

Yashon v. Gregory, 737 F.2d 547 (6th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied 486 U.S. 1032, 108 S.

Ct. 2015, 100 L. Ed. 2d 602 (1988) ...... 23

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 91 S. Ct. 746, 27

Lgiat PONTE fi Cece Od wie ie elk 9

Zimmerman Leasing Co. v. Williams, 64 Ohio App.3d

623, 582 N.E.2d 631 (Lorain Cty. 1989) .... 20

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

REGULATIONS AND RULES

U.S. Constitution, Amendment V ......... Z

La Ae Oe, i 8 Se ws 13

RE 6 en ke 3

ae We OE ba ee ee 3

Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure .. = passim

Rule 1004(1) of the Federal Rules of Evidence . . 19,20

SS Wane 8 i as es ne ee ees 7

Ohio Revised Code Chapter2721 ......... 14

Ohio Revised Code § 3929.06 ........... 14

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL INC.,

HYBUD EQUIPMENT CORPORATION and

HYMAN BUDOFF,

Petitioners,

VS.

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

SIXTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THE CASE BY

THE COURTS BELOW

1. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v. Industrial

Excess Landfill, Inc., et al., Case Nos. 93-3689 and 3765 (6th

Cir.).

a. Per Curiam Opinion filed January 27, 1995.

b. Rehearing Order filed March 15, 1995.

2. Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v. Industrial

Excess Landfill, Inc., et al., Case No. 5:90CV0493 (USDC ND

Ohio).

2

a. Marginal Entry Order filed September 30, 1991.

b. Memorandum of Opinion and Order filed

February 14, 1992.

c. Marginal Entry Order filed July 21, 1992.

d. Order filed August 11, 1992.

e. Memorandum of Opinion and Order filed May 10, 1993.

f. Marginal Entry Order filed June 10, 1993.

All of the foregoing are included in the Appendix, infra.

STATEMENT OF THE GROUNDS ON WHICH THE

JURISDICTION OF THE COURT IS INVOKED

1. The per curiam opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Sixth Circuit in Hartford v. IEL is dated January

27, 1995.

2. The Sixth Circuit denied a rehearing in Hartford v. IEL

by order filed March 15, 1995.

3. Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to 28

U.S.C. §1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISION INVOLVED

Amendment V of the Constitution of the United States.

28 U.S.C. §1332

28 U.S.C. §2201

l.

de

de

All of the foregoing provisions are set forth in the Appendix, infra.

a Sr

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Hartford Accident and Indemnity Company (“Hartford”)

filed its complaint for declaratory judgment commencing this

case against Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., Hybud Equipment

Corporation, and Hyman Budoff (“Petitioners”) in the United

States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio (“the

District Court”), Case No. 5:90CV0493.! Generally, Hartford

sought a declaratory judgment under 28 U.S.C. §2201 that it was

not obligated to provide a defense or indemnity to the Petitioners

under five comprehensive general liability insurance policies”

for a civil Superfund case that had been filed against the Peti-

tioners (and others) by the United States, which is styled United

States v. Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., et al., Case No.

5:89CV 1988 (USDC ND Ohio) (“the USEPA case”). Hartford

claimed diversity jurisdiction under 28 USC §1332. The com-

plaint was amended to include a civil Superfund case filed

against the Petitioners (and others) by the State of Ohio in 1991,

which is styled State of Ohio v. Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc.,

et al., Case No. 5:91CV2559 (USDC ND Ohio) (“the OEPA

case”).

Petitioners timely filed motions to dismiss the complaint

and amended complaint challenging the jurisdiction of the Dis-

trict Court and arguing that U.S. Supreme Court, Sixth Circuit

and other circuit court precedent required abstention and dis-

missal under the facts presented by this case. The District Court

issued Marginal Entry Orders denying the motions to dismiss

without any opinion, comment or explanation. Appendix, infra

at A-5 and A-13.

In accordance with Rule 29.1 of the Revised Rules of the Supreme

Court of the United States, Petitioners state that Hybud Equipment Corpora-

tion is a wholly owned subsidiary of Hybud Waste Industries, Inc. Industrial

Excess Landfill, Inc. has no parent company or subsidiaries.

The five insurance policies can be logically divided into two groups:

the 1968-1971 policies and the 1981-1985 policies. The reason for the

important distinction between the two groups boils down to the fact that the

1968-1971 policies did not and could not contain a pollution exclusion.

4

Petitioners timely filed answers to the complaint and

amended complaint, denying that Hartford was entitled to the

declaratory judgment it sought, and included with each answer

a counterclaim against Hartford claiming that Hartford was

liable to Petitioners for breach of contract (Count One) and that

Hartford breached the duty of good faith owed to Petitioners as

Hartford’s insureds (Count Two).? Petitioners also included a

jury demand.

Hartford filed a motion to dismiss counts two and three of

the counterclaim and an answer to count one of the counterclaim.

The District Court denied Hartford’s motion to dismiss count

two of the counterclaim, but granted the motion as to count three

of the counterclaim. As to count two, the District Court con-

cluded “that the counterclaim states facts which, if proven, may

establish that Plaintiff [Hartford] breached the alleged duty of

good faith.” Appendix, infra at A-8. No further motions were

ever filed as to the counterclaim.

Hartford filed its motion for partial summary judgment on

the “lost or destroyed policies” issue,+ claiming that because

Petitioners did not have the policies they could not satisfy their

burden of proof. Petitioners denied that they had any burden of

proof, but filed documents opposing the motion which included

four affidavits and 60 documents establishing the existence and

essential terms and conditions of the lost or destroyed policies.

In addition, Petitioners argued that Hartford had waived and/or

was estopped from denying coverage under those policies.

Hartford filed its motion for partial summary judgment on

the pollution exclusion as to the 1981-1985 policies based on

3 The counterclaim also included a cause of action based on the negli-

gent and/or intentional infliction of severe emotional distress. The dismissal

of that cause of action is not part of the appeal.

4

The so-called “lost or destroyed policies” are three successive com-

prehensive general liability insurance policies issued by Hartford to Petition-

ers between 1968 and 1971.

sd Ra peed es Dar ae ERA AN ta a PR REN SIE OF

5

collateral estoppel effect from Hybud Equipment Corp. v.

Sphere Drake Ins. Co., 64 Ohio St. 3d 657, 597 N.E.2d 1096

(1992), cert. denied USS. » 1413'S. Ct. 15865, 123.L.

Ed. 2d 152 (1993) (hereafter “Hybud v. Sphere Drake case”).

Petitioners opposed the motion because there were questions of

fact about whether there were pollution exclusions in those

policies and, if there were, whether the underlying facts (which

had not yet been determined) implicated the exclusions.

On May 7, 1993, without any hearing, the District Court

issued its Memorandum of Opinion and Order granting both of

Hartford’s motions for partial summary Judgment. The District

Court included in its decision a sua sponte dismissal of Peti-

tioners’ counterclaim. Appendix, infra at A-16.

As to the 1981 - 1985 policies, the District Court held that

the Hybud v. Sphere Drake case acted as collateral estoppel. As.

to the 1968-1971 policies, the District Court held that Petitioners

did not provide “any evidence of the specific coverages, condi-

tions, terms or definitions of the policies at issue” (Emphasis

added). Accordingly, Petitioners were determined not to have

met their burden of showing they would be covered under the

policies.

Petitioners timely filed their Motion for Reconsideration,

Motion to Amend the Findings in Judgment, Motion to Revise

the Decision, Motion to Alter or Amend Judgment, and Motion

for Relief from Judgment or Order (“post judgment motions”),

all pursuant to Rules 52, 54, 59 and 60 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure. On June 10, 1993, the District Court denied

“as moot” the post judgment motions. Appendix, infra at A-25.

On January 27, 1995, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Sixth Circuit (“Sixth Circuit”) affirmed the District

Court’s decision in a three page per curiam opinion which

basically adopted the opinion of the District Court. Appendix,

infra at A-1.

6

After denial of their Motion for Rehearing filed in the Sixth

Circuit (Appendix, infra at A-4), Petitioners hereby petition the

Supreme Court of the United States for a Writ of Certiorari to

review the merits of various substantial constitutional and other

important and highly controversial issues raised by this case.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

This case involves two distinct sets of comprehensive

general liability insurance policies issued by Hartford to Peti-

tioners. The first was a series of three policies effective between

August 27, 1968 and August 27, 1971 (“the 1968-1971 poli-

cies”). The second was effective between August 31, 1981 and

June 30, 1985 (“the 1981-1985 policies”). Both sets of policies

were issued through Ostrov Insurance Agency, Inc. (“Ostrov’’),

an agent for Hartford.

Neither Hartford nor Petitioners produced the original or a

copy of the 1968-1971 policies in the District Court. Petitioners

did produce ample evidence that their copies of the policies had

been lost or destroyed. Hartford failed to provide any evidence

as to whether or not it had the originals or copies of the

1968-1971 policies, or even to describe its efforts to locate the

policies. Hartford merely made bare, unverified allegations that

it did not have the policies.

While the policies themselves were not made part of the

record of this case in the District Court, there was an overwhelm-

ing amount of evidence produced by Petitioners establishing the

existence and basic terms and conditions of the 1968-1971

policies. The affidavits of four witnesses, who all had personal

knowledge of the insurance matters pertaining to Petitioners

during 1968 to 1971, affirmed that Hartford had issued insur-

ance policies to the Petitioners which provided comprehensive

general liability (“CGL”) insurance coverage to Petitioners.

Two of these witnesses were Hartford’s own agents and author-

ized representatives at that time. In addition to the testimony of

abled ane Ss ui

. a ats ctiaton piaitin agentes

7

the these four witnesses, Petitioners also produced 60 separate

documents generated during 1968 to 1971 that establish and

corroborate that Hartford had indeed issued CGL insurance

policies to the Petitioners. These documents included 33 cer-

tificates of insurance, numerous endorsements, correspondence,

statements of account, bills, and premium adjustment state-

ments, all of which were issued by Hartford to Petitioners.

In addition to all of the foregoing evidence which was

obtained through Petitioners’ own sources, Petitioners also of-

fered as evidence of coverage a Hartford interoffice memoran-

dum dated December 14, 1988 in which Hartford employees

explicitly admitted the existence of the policies and that they

provided coverage to Petitioners for the claims of the USEPA

and OEPA. This document is so important and conclusive as to

all issues related to the 1968-1971 policies that it is included as

part of the Appendix, infra at A-30.

Petitioners also produced a specimen policy, which, ac-

cording to Hartford’s own agent, contains the same or substan-

tially the same language that would have been used in insurance

policies issued by Hartford during 1968-1971. There was no

pollution exclusion contained in the 1968-1971 policies.

As to the 1981-1985 policies there was conflicting evi-

dence of record as to exactly what were the terms and conditions

of each policy, particularly as to whether or not a pollution

exclusion endorsement was part of those policies.

The underlying lawsuits for which Petitioner sought its

declaratory judgment were civil complaints filed by the United

States and the State of Ohio for declaratory judgment relief and

a money judgment under §107 of the Comprehensive Environ-

mental Response, Compensation and Liability Act of 1980

(CERCLA), 42 U.S.C. §9607, as amended by the Superfund

Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986.5 The underly-

5

The OEPA complaint also includes several other statutory and com-

mon law causes of action.

8

ing complaints do not allege when, how often, or how the release

and threats of releases about which the governments complain

occurred. Very little discovery has taken place to date in con-

nection with these cases.

Because of the way both the USEPA and Ohio EPA cases

have been managed, Petitioners have had little opportunity to

take discovery of either the United States or the State of Ohio

concerning the nature of the “releases or threat or releases” of

pollution alleged in the underlying complaints. Without this

discovery, it is impossible to make any determination as to

whether the releases or pollution alleged by the United States

and State of Ohio are “sudden and accidental” within the mean-

ing of those terms as they have been interpreted by the Supreme

Court of Ohio in the Hybud v. Sphere Drake case.

ARGUMENT FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

A. The District Court Should Have Abstained From Exercis-

ing Declaratory Judgment Jurisdiction And Dis-

missed The Case.

First and foremost, this case involves important issues

about the proper exercise of federal jurisdiction. The failure to

abstain from exercising jurisdiction here led the lower courts to

an erroneous interpretation and application of state law to the

issues presented by the case. This starkly highlights why federal

courts should not become involved in cases of this nature in the

first place.

In Green v. Mansour, 474 U.S. 64, 72, 106 S. Ct. 423, 428,

88 L.Ed.2d 371 (1985), this court said:

... [T]he declaratory judgment statute “is an enabling

Act, which confers a discretion on the courts rather

than an absolute right upon the litigant.” Public Serv-

ice Comm’n v. Wycoff Co., 344 U.S. 237, 241, 73 S.

Ct. 236, 239, 97 L.Ed. 291 (1952). The propriety of

issuing a declaratory judgment may depend upon

4

3

7

}

5

4]

3

3

5

Wi tel Bina Sa ce Naa mF EAA OE BAIS

9

equitable considerations, see Samuels v. Mackell, 401

U.S.. 66, 73, 91 S. Ct. 764, 768, 27 L.Ed.2d 688

(1971), and is also “informed by the teachings and

experience concerning the functions and extent of

federal judicial power.” Wycoff, supra, 344 U.S. at

243, 73 S. Ct., at 240; cf. Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S.

37, 44-45, 91 S. Ct. 746, 750-51, 27 L.Ed.2d 669 (1971).

But the court failed to identify and discuss exactly what a lower

federal court should consider in determining whether to exercise

jurisdiction over a declaratory judgement action. The District

Court failed to follow even those limited instructions, and it gave

no explanation of its reason for doing so. The equitable consid-

erations at work here all favor the federal courts declining to

exercise jurisdiction to determine whether a declaratory judg-

ment should have been issued.

Because this Court in the past has not identified clearly the

“equitable considerations” referred to in Green v. Mansour or

identified the “teachings and experience” there is a lack of

uniformity in the lower courts concerning these factors and

numerous conflicting results in the lower courts in cases of this

nature. These are important and compelling reasons for this

Court to hear this case, determine whether jurisdiction was

properly exercised here, and clearly state the principles and

factors which should be considered (or not considered) by a

lower court in deciding whether or not to exercise jurisdiction

in a case of this nature.

In Green v. Mansour this Court referred to “equitable

considerations” and “the teachings and experience concerning

the functions that extend over federal judicial power’, but failed

to identify and discuss exactly what a lower federal court should

consider in determining whether to exercise jurisdiction over a

declaratory judgment action. This has led to a hodgepodge of

cases in the lower courts in which different principles are being

defined and applied in different cases. There is a clear conflict

10

in the circuits concerning whether or not declaratory judgment

jurisdiction should be exercised where a case involves matters

of purely state insurance law interpretation. Because of the

tremendous recent activity in all of the lower federal courts

concerning when a federal court should exercise declaratory

judgment in a dispute concerning the interpretation and appli-

cation of insurance policy provisions to a given set of facts, it is

critical that this Court promulgate clear guidelines to the lower

courts so that there can be a uniformity in result on this crucial

question of when a federal court should exercise discretionary

jurisdiction in a case involving the interpretation and application

of insurance policy provisions. This would have the salutary

effect of providing to the lower federal courts the considerations

and factors that must or should be taken into account in deter-

mining where and when scant federal judicial resources should

be spent in issuing a declaratory judgment in matters involving

insurance disputes. This would also let the state courts be the

primary arbiters of issues of state law and discourage the forum

shopping that currently takes place.

The disarray in which these matters currently exist is no

better illustrated than the situation which presently exists in the

Sixth Circuit where differing results without apparent reconcili-

ation are common place. For example, all of the following cases

involve situations where the Sixth Circuit decided that absten-

tion was appropriate in an insurance dispute or that the issue of

abstention ought to be explicitly further addressed by the lower

court: Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co. v. Willenbrink, 924 F.2d

104 (6th Cir. 1991); Omaha Property & Cas. Ins. Co. v.

Johnson, 923 F.2d 446 (6th Cir. 1991) (2-1 decision); Allstate

Ins. Co. v. Mercier, 913 F.2d 273 (6th Cir. 1990); Allstate Ins.

Co. v. Green, 825 F.2d 1061 (6th Cir. 1987); Manley, Bennett,

McDonald & Co. v. St. Paul Fire & Marine Ins. Co., 791 F.2d

460 (6th Cir. 1986); American Home Assurance Co. v. Evans,

791 F.2d 61 (6th Cir. 1986). See also Grand Trunk Western

Railroad Co. v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 746 F.2d 323 (6th Cir.

Lee Cees ES Te tar

Pe eee mE ery

1]

1984). These cases stand in stark contrast to other Sixth Circuit

cases in which a district court and/or the Sixth Circuit exercised

jurisdiction to decide important issues of state law in the context

of a declaratory judgment action involving insurance issues.

See, for example, FL Aerospace v. Aetna Cas. & Sur. Co., 897

F.2d 214 (6th Cir. 1990); and U.S. Fidelity and Guaranty Co. v.

Star Fire Coals, Inc., 856 F.2d 31 (6th Cir. 1988). See also

Sherwin-Williams Co. v. Certain Underwriters at Lloyd’s Lon-

don, 813 F. Supp. 576 (N.D. Ohio 1993); and Borden, Inc. v.

Affiliated FM Ins. Co., 682 F. Supp. 927 (S.D. Ohio 1987), aff’d

865 F.2d 1267 (6th Cir. 1989). As to this latter group of cases,

there was no discussion whatsoever concerning the question of

whether jurisdiction should have been asserted. Apparently all

of the parties involved there were satisfied with having the

federal court exercise jurisdiction in those cases. This is not a

satisfactory way of proceeding in as much as jurisdiction is a

critical threshold issue in every case which must be satisfied. It

must be satisfied at the outset of each litigation or the case should

not proceed in federal court. The existence of jurisdiction ought

not be the subject of implicit stipulation.

This hodgepodge of case law and results in the Sixth Circuit

is also found in other circuits where a similar inconsistency in

analysis and results may be found. For example, in the Ninth

Circuit a panel of judges recently raised the issue sua sponte and

determined that the district court should not have exercised

declaratory judgment jurisdiction and accordingly remanded the

case with instructions to dismiss. See America National Fire

Ins. Co. v. Hungerford, F.3d , 1995 WL 242286

(9th Cir. 1995). This case followed the heels of American States

Ins. Co. v. Kearns, 15 F. 3d 142 (9th Cir. 1994) and Aetna Cas.

& Sur. Co. v. Merritt, 974 F.2d 1196 (9th Cir. 1992) where the

Ninth Circuit refused to dismiss insurance disputes. Preceding

those cases was Continental Cas. Co. v. Robsac Industries, 947

F.2d 1367 (9th Cir. 1991), where the Ninth Circuit decided that

that district court should not have exercised declaratory judg-

12

ment jurisdiction. This patchwork of inconsistent cases, as

illustrated by the Sixth Circuit and Ninth Circuit, may be found

in one form or another in virtually all of the other circuits,

whether at the circuit court level or within each circuit’s district

courts. The relatively recent vintage of all these cases shows

that this issue pervades the lower courts at this time. See also

Continental Cas. Co. v. Fuscardo, 35 F.3d 963 (4th Cir.

1994)(2-1 decision that abstention is appropriate); Continental

Casualty Co. v. Coastal Savings Bank, 977 F.2d 734 (2nd Cir.

1992) (abstention not appropriate); and Mitcheson v. Harris,

955 F.2d 235 (4th Cir. 1992) (2-1 decision for abstention).

The current situation leads to the epitome in denial of equal

protection and due process because the ultimate decision about

whether a federal court will hear or not hear a particular case

would seem to depend upon the particular judge or panel to

whom the case is assigned, some appearing to favor the exercise

of jurisdiction and some appearing to favor dismissal of cases

of that nature. The exercise of federal jurisdiction should not

depend upon the “luck of the draw”. It should depend upon legal

and equitable principles that have been well defined and for

which guidance is clearly given so that a relatively uniform

administration of law is accomplished. The exact opposite

would appear to be the situation at the present time, especially

as illustrated by this very case.

This case presents an extremely good vehicle for this Court

to entertain this important recurring issue and provide guidance

to the lower courts including those courts involved in the deci-

sions related to this case. This case involves a situation where

this very issue was raised from the outset by Petitioners. The

District Court without any analysis whatsoever simply denied

Petitioners’ motions to dismiss. The Sixth Circuit, without the

benefit of any analysis or consideration of relevant factors by

which it could determine whether the District Court’s exercise

of jurisdiction had been proper, simply rubber stamped the

13

District Court’s decision on this issue. Thus, these issues have

yet to be squarely addressed in this case.

In light of the clearly conflicting results within and among

the circuits and the failure of the lower courts in this case to pay

these important issues any consideration whatsoever, this case

presents a unique opportunity for this Court to speak out on the

| issue of the proper exercise of declaratory judgment jurisdiction,

: provide lower courts in this case and in the many other insurance

q

disputes currently pending or which may be filed in the future

clear guidance on when such cases should be entertained and

when they should be dismissed.

Although there probably is no one factor that should be

considered as conclusive in making a determination of this

nature, there do appear to be certain critical factors that would

seem to militate in favor of abstention and dismissal; they are:

1. If there is no federal question in the case and the issues

are ones of state law.

tN

The case involves insurance law, an area that Congress

has expressly left to the states through the McCar-

ran-Ferguson Act (15 U.S. §1011-12).

3. Where the state courts have an overriding interest in

deciding questions of state law and are best situated

to handle such issues. This is especially true where

the issues are close and the state precedent is

skimpy.

4. Where the filing of the case constitutes a blatant race

i to the courthouse in response to a claim presented

by the insureds in the hope of preempting any state

court proceeding.

5. Where there are available state remedies for the resolu-

tion of defense and coverage issues.

6. Where the case will result in piecemeal litigation.

14

7. Where the record is devoid of facts about the underly-

ing actions.

8. Where the sole basis of jurisdiction is diversity of citi-

zenship.

9. Where an insurer has been guilty of failing to give

proper notice and other misconduct prior to the fil-

ing of the motion.

10. Where a superior alternative remedy exists in the

form of an action for indemnity after the conclusion

of the underlying lawsuits.

If the preponderance or all of the foregoing factors exist, then a

district court should decline to exercise jurisdiction.

If these principles were to be applied to the facts and

circumstances presented by this case then dismissal should have

been granted. There are no federal questions in this case. The

case involved solely insurance law issues, which are purely state

law issues. The issues in the case are close and the state

precedent is skimpy. The insurer filed the lawsuit before the

insureds even received notice of the insurer’s positions. Ohio

Revised Code Chapter 2721 provides a meaningful response to

any need for a declaratory judgment on the part of the insurer

by permitting an action in state court and eliminates any need to

seek it in the federal courts.

Hartford failed to join the United States, the State of Ohio,

or any of the cross claimants in the underlying cases. Thus, they

will not be bound by any determination of the issues in this case.

If plaintiffs were to obtain judgments against the Petitioners in

the underlying actions, their rights against Petitioners’ insurance

carriers will still have to be determined in supplemental proceed-

ings under Ohio Revised Code § 3929.06. See Broz v. Winland,

68 Ohio St. 3d 521, 629 N.E.2d 395 (1994). Thus, this a classic

situation of piecemeal litigation.

15

There have been no determinations made and little discov-

ery taken in the underlying actions. It is very hard if not

impossible for insurance policies to be applied in the absence of

factual determinations. As shown by the complaint the sole

basis of jurisdiction is diversity jurisdiction.

Hartford failed to give proper notice of denial of Petition-

ers’ claim of defense and indemnity. It is undisputed that

Petitioners did not receive the denial letter from Hartford until

after the lawsuit was filed. Thus Petitioners had no chance to

evaluate Hartford’s position or react in any manner.

Last, the insurer could file an action after the conclusion of

the underlying lawsuits.

Despite all of these equitable considerations in favor of

dismissal of this case, the District Court and Sixth Circuit

refused to dismiss the case and proceeded to consider the merits.

This shows what disarray presently exists in the lower courts

concerning when declaratory judgment jurisdiction should be

exercised. It is critical for this Court to correct the situation

which exists in this case and provide important guidance to the

lower courts for the many other cases of a similar nature. It has

now been more than 50 years since this Court entertained a

question concerning the use of declaratory judgment jurisdiction

in an insurance dispute, Brillhart v. Excess Ins. Co. of America,

316 U.S. 491, 62 S. Ct. 1173, 86 L. Ed. 1620 (1942). It is now

appropriate for this Court to revisit this active and controversial

issue.

B. The Granting Of A Summary Judgment In Favor Of

Hartford Constitutes A Denial Of Due Process And

Equal Protection Under The Facts And Circum-

stances Presented.

In an effort to breathe renewed life into the use of Civil

Rule 56, this Court expounded at length about summary judg-

ment practice in the companion cases of Celotex Corp. v.

16

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S. Ct. 2548, 91 L. Ed.2d 265 (1986),

and Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 106 S. Ct.

2505, 91 L. Ed.2d 202 (1986). In the years following the

issuance of these decisions,many cases have been decided on

summary judgmeni thereby conserving scarce judicial resources

while reaching fair decisions as expeditiously as possible. How-

ever, the pendulum, as evidenced by this case, has swung too

far to encouraging summary judgment. This Court needs to

remind the lower courts here and others of the rules related to

summary judgment practice and how they should be applied.

This case presents just such an occasion.

The first rule of importance here is that of burden of proof.

Civil Rule 56 provides that the burden of proof is upon the

moving party. Nevertheless, the District Court clearly and

explicitly placed the burden of proof upon Petitioners rather than

on Hartford as the moving party. Hartford completely failed to

meet its burden of proof as a moving party or a plaintiff who

filed the lawsuit.

Hartford failed to produce any summary judgment evi-

dence that the 1968-1971 policies did not exist or that they did

not provide comprehensive general liability insurance coverage

for the Petitioners. Hartford failed to establish that it had no

record of the policies being issued to Petitioners for those

periods, that it could not reconstruct the policies from its own

or other’s records, or that it did not have form policies that would

have been used for comprehensive general liability insurance

policies issued during 1968 to 1971. Indeed, Hartford did not

even establish that it looked for the policies. Hartford failed to

offer any evidence or even suggest that the 60 documents and 5

affidavits establishing the particulars of the 1968-1971 policies

were either false or erroneous.

As to the 1981-1985 policies, Hartford failed to produce a

copy of those policies attested to by anyone. Hartford’s copy of

what it claimed to be the policies were not in summary judgment

17

form as required by Civil Rule 56. Thus, it should not have been

given any consideration by the District Court. Moore v. Hol-

brook, 2 F.3d 697, 699 (6th Cir. 1993).

The second important rule for summary judgment practice

is that the evidence of the non-movant is to be believed, and all

justifiable inferences are to be drawn in his favor. See Anderson

v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 255, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2513,

91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986); Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Company, 398

U.S. 144, 90 S. Ct. 1598, 26 L. Ed. 2d 142 (1970). The District

Court failed to apply this rule despite the fact that the evidence

submitted by the non-movant, in this case Petitioners, was

extensive if not overwhelming on the issues of the existence and

basic terms and conditions of the 1968-1971 policies.

The affidavits of four witness, who all had personal knowl-

edge of insurance matters pertaining to Petitioners during 1968-

1971, affirmed that Hartford had issued insurance policies to

Petitioners which provided comprehensive general liability in-

surance to Petitioners. Two of these witnesses (Saul A. Ostrov

and Patricia Jacobson) were Hartford’s own agents and author-

ized representatives at that time. In addition to the testimony of

these four witnesses, Petitioners also produced 60 separate

documents generated during 1968 to 1971 that establish and

corroborate that Hartford had indeed issued CGL insurance

policies to the Petitioners. These documents included 33 cer-

tificates of insurance, numerous endorsements, correspondence,

statements of account, bills, and premium adjustments state-

ments, all of which were issued by Hartford to Petitioners.

In addition to all of the foregoing evidence which was

obtained through Petitioners’ own sources, Petitioners also of-

fered as evidence of coverage a Hartford interoffice memoran-

dum dated December 14, 1988 in which Hartford employees

explicitedly admitted the existence of the policies and that they

provided coverage to Petitioners for the claims of the USEPA

and the OEPA. This document is so important and conclusive

18

as to all issues related to the 1968 - 1971 policies that is quoted

here in part and appears in totality in the Appendix, infra at A-30,

hereto:

As we discussed, we are accepting coverage for the

periods of August 27, 1968 through August 27, 1971

... [T]he hard evidence of the certificates of insur-

ance are proof. The certificates bear valid Hartford

policy numbers, and also list limits of liability.

I also checked with Lynn Thoreson who worked in

the Akron office in the early 70’s. She did remember

that we insured Budoff when she first started, and she

handled several claims with them.

* * *

Lynn and I discussed this and we are convinced that

we would lose any battle over the insurance issue

should we decide to fight it. The certificates of insur-

ance, along with the agent’s testimony and our lack

of ability to prove that the policies didn’t exist, cou-

pled with Lynn’s recognition that we did insure them

back in the early 70’s would certainly do us in.

Petitioners also produced a specimen policy that contains

the same or substantially the same language that would have

been used in insurance policies issued by Hartford during 1968-

1971. There was no pollution exclusion contained in the 1968-

1971 policies.

While there is no dispute concerning the existence of the

1981-1985 policies, there is a disputed fact concerning whether

a pollution exclusion endorsement was contained in the policies.

The certified copy of the policy which was received by Petition-

ers after requests had been made to Hartford’s agent, did not

include a pollution exclusion endorsement. Prior to receipt of

the second policy, Petitioners had no knowledge of the pollution

exclusion endorsements claimed by Hartford, nor had Petition-

19

ers ever previously consented to any attempt by Hartford to

include them in the CGL insurance policies which were pur-

chased from Hartford by Petitioners.

Instead of following summary judgment rules and accept-

ing this evidence and finding there to be questions of fact for

trial, the lower courts disregarded this evidence and granted

summary judgment in favor of Hartford. This problem as well

as the foregoing problem constitutes such blatant violations of

basic summary judgment rules and practice that it amounts to a

violation of due process and equal protection of law.

C. The Failure To Recognize And Apply Rule 1004 Of The

Federal Rules Of Evidence Constitutes A Denial Of

Due Process And Equal Protection.

Rule 1004 of the Federal Rules of Evidence provides the

circumstances under which other evidence of the contents of a

writing is admissible where the original writing is not available.

Rule 1004 is one of the recognized exceptions to the Best

Evidence Rule (Rule 1002). Rule 1004 comes into play in many

cases where original writings are not available such as when the

writing has been lost or destroyed. It is of particular importance

where an old insurance policy cannot be located. This is fre-

quently the case in insurance coverage disputes. See, for exam-

ple, Owens Illinois, Inc. v. Aetna Cas. and Sur. Co., 990 F.2d

865 (6th Cir. 1993); Joslyn Mfg. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 23

F.3d 1212 (7th Cir. 1994); Bituminous Cas. Corp. v. Vacuum

Tanks, Inc., 975 F.2d 1130 (Sth Cir. 1992); Remington Arms,

Inc. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 810 F. Supp. 1420 (Del. 1992);

Servants of Paraclete v. Great American Ins. Co., 857 F. Supp.

822 (N.M. 1994); and State of New York v. Blank, 820 F. Supp.

697 (N.D.N.Y. 1993) aff’d in pertinent part 27 F.3d 783 (2nd

Cir. 1994). See also Andrew Crispo Gallery, Inc. v. Commis-

sioner of Internal Revenue, 16 F.3d 1336 (2nd Cir. 1994). The

age of these cases shows that this issue is a hot issue at this time

in the lower courts.

20

This Court has not previously had an occasion to interpret

and provide guidance on Rule 1004. Where this Court has been

presented an appropriate occasion for interpreting a rule of

evidence, it has not hesitated to accept the case for a full hearing

and decision on the merits. See, for example, Daubert v. Merrell

Dow Pharmaceuticals, U.S. , 113 S. Ct. 2786, 125

L. Ed.2d 469 (1993) (interpreting Rule 702). Just such an

occasion is present here with respect to Rule 1004.

In its summary judgment ruling on the 1968-1971 policies,

the District Court said that there was not “any” evidence of the

terms and conditions of the missing policies. The Sixth Circuit

did not add anything to the District Court’s analysis of this issue

in its affirmance.

While it is true that none of the policies were produced to

the District Court (because Petitioners’ copies had been lost or

destroyed), there was ample other or secondary evidence pro-

duced about the basic terms and conditions of the policies. This

other or secondary evidence consisted of five affidavits and 60

documents, all of which established the essential terms and

conditions of an insurance contract under Ohio law: (1) subject

matter to be insured, (2) risk insured against, (3) commencement

and period of risk undertaken by the insurer, (4) amount of

insurance, and (5) premium and time at which it is to be paid.

Newark Machine Co. v. Kenton Ins. Co., 50 Ohio St. 549, 35

N.E. 1060 (1893); Avemco v. Eaves, 67 Ohio App. 3d 563, 587

N.E.2d 900 (Adams Cty. 1990); and Zimmerman Leasing Co.

v. Williams, 64 Ohio App.3d 623, 582 N.E.2d 631 (Lorain Cty.

1989).

The lower courts’ failure to accord any significance to the

affidavit and documentary evidence concerning the lost or de-

stroyed policies completely emasculates the significance of Rule

1004(1) of the Federal Rules of Evidence which plainly provides

for the admission and consideration of secondary evidence of a

writing where the originals have been lost or destroyed. There

21

are numerous Cases which provide that other evidence is admis-

sible to establish the contents of an insurance policy where the

original has been lost or destroyed. See, for example, Cipriani

v. Sun Life Ins. Co. of America, 757 F. 2d 78 (3rd Cir. 1985);

Burroughs Wellcome Co. v. Commercial Union Ins. Co., 632 F.

Supp. 1213 (SD NY 1986); and Servants of Paraclete v. Great

American Ins. Co., 857 F. Supp. 822 (NM 1994). These cases

and many others addressing this issue clearly say that the

question of whether or not a party has offered sufficient evidence

to prove the contents of a lost writing is a matter for the trier of

fact to decide. Instead, the lower courts here decided the ques-

tion as a matter of law and in derogation of the Federal Rules of

Evidence.

Prior to this case, there was no precedent for deciding a lost

or destroyed policies case by summary judgment rather than at

trial. Moreover, this evidence establishes waiver and estoppel

against Hartford. Under Ohio law, the issue of waiver and

estoppel of an insurance company is ordinarily a question of

fact. State Automobile Mut. Ins. Assn. v. Lind, 122 Ohio St. 500,

172 N.E. 361 (1930); Ohio Farmers Ins. Co. v. Cochran, 104

Ohio St. 427, 135 N.E. 537 (1922). In accord, Ranes v. Paul

Revere Life Ins. Co., 32 F.3d 1393 (9th Cir. 1994)(applying

Washington law); Mass. Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. O’Brien, 5 F.3d

1117 (7th Cir. 1993)(applying Illinois law); Sur v. Glidden-

Durkee, 681 F.2d 490, 495-6 (7th Cir. 1982)(applying Indiana

law); and, generally, 44 Am. Jur. 2d, Insurance § 2050 and cases

cited therein.

22

D. It Is A Violation Of The Civil Rules, The Due Process

And Equal Protection Clauses Of The Fifth Amend-

ment Of The U.S. Constitution And Basic Principles

Of Justice And Fair Dealing For The District Court

To Dismiss Sua Sponte Counts One And Two Of De-

fendants’ Counterclaim.

At the end of its Memorandum of Opinion filed May 7,

1993, the District Court sua sponte “dismissed” Petitioners’

counterclaim. Hartford had made no motion for summary judg-

ment related to the counterclaim. Previously, the District Court

had denied Hartford’s motion to dismiss count two of the

counterclaim. Hartford never filed any motion to dismiss as to

count one of the counterclaim.

The sua sponte dismissal of the counterclaim was proce-

durally and substantively defective and constituted error. The

Sixth Circuit did comment that the District Court’s action was

not in compliance with Civil Rule 56(c) in that the action was

taken without notice and an opportunity to be heard, but af-

firmed the dismissal because it believed that the counterclaim

was based solely on the same facts that gave rise to the summary

judgment.

Petitioners had no knowledge that their counterclaim was

under review. No motion was pending addressing the counter-

claim. Petitioners had no opportunity to defend their counter-

claim. The District Court, and ultimately the Appeals Court,

completely ignored the procedural safeguards of Civil Rule 56.

Before summary judgment may be granted against a party,

Civil Rule 56(c) mandates that the party opposing summary

judgment be afforded notice and a reasonable opportunity to

respond to all issues to be considered by the District Court.

Routman v. ADP, 873 F.2d 970, 971 (6th Cir. 1989). The Sixth

Circuit failed to follow its precedent that where a district court

is contemplating entering summary judgment sua sponte against

23

one of the parties, that party is entitled to unequivocal notice of

the court’s intentions. Routman v. ADP, supra at 972; Yashon

v. Gregory, 737 F.2d 547, 552 (6th Cir. 1984), cert. denied 486

U.S. 1032, 108 S. Ct. 2015, 100 L. Ed. 2d 602 (1988); and

Harrington v. Vandalia-Butler Board of Education, 649 F.2d

434, 436 (6th Cir. 1981). The whole purpose behind this rule is

to give a party a reasonable opportunity to respond to all issues

to be considered by the District Court. Other circuit courts

uniformly agree with these basic principles. See, for example,

National Fire Ins. v. Bartolazo, 27 F.3d 518 (11th Cir. 1994)

Thoen v. United States, 765 F.2d 1110, 1114 (Fed. Cir. 1985);

Indiana Port Comm. v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 702 F.2d 107,

111 (7th Cir. 1983) and cases cited therein; and Portland Retail

DruggistAssn. v. Kaiser Foundation Health Plan, 662 F.2d 641,

645 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied 469 U.S. 1229, 105 S. Ct. 1230,

84 L. Ed. 2d 368 (1985). Several circuits, including the Sixth

Circuit, have linked these procedural requirements to the con-

stitutional due process right to be heard. Management Investors

v. United Mine Workers, 610 F. 2d 384, 390 (6th Cir. 1979);

Thoen v. United States, supra at 1114; and Winbourne v. Eastern

Airlines, 632 F.2d 219, 224 (2nd Cir. 1980).

The rulings of the lower courts failed to consider the

conceded fact that Hartford did owe some contractual duties

under the 1981-1985 policies. Regardless of the outcome of the

defense and coverage issues under those policies for the under-

lying EPA cases, Hartford owed Petitioners the duty of good

faith throughout. Bullett Trucking v. Glen Falls Insurance

Company, 84 Ohio App.3d 327, 616 N.E. 2d 1123 (Montgomery

Co. 1992); LeForge v. Nationwide Mutual Fire Ins. Co., 82 Ohio

App.3d 692, 612 N.E. 2d 1318 (Clinton Co. 1992), jur. mot.

over. 66 Ohio St.3d 1413 (1993). Hartford produced no evi-

dence whatsoever that it met that standard of good faith, let alone

undisputed evidence that would entitle it to summary judgment.

Many of the specific grounds of bad faith set forth in the

counterclaim, which the District Court previously found suffi-

24

cient to overcome a motion to dismiss, did not depend upon the

finding that there was a specific duty to defend or to provide

coverage for the underlying cases.

Clearly, Petitioners’ rights under the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure and the due process and equal protection clauses of

the U.S. Constitution were violated by the District Court’s sua

sponte ruling on the counterclaim. Petitioners had no notice that

their counterclaim was under attack, and no opportunity to

respond to any arguments that the counterclaim should be

disposed of on summary judgment. It was fundamentally unfair

to dismiss the counterclaim under those circumstances.

E. The District Court Erred By Denying Petitioner’s Post

Judgment Motions.

On June 10, 1993, the District Court denied “as moot”

Defendants’ post judgment motions. The District Court simply

used a rubber stamp to make this ruling. It is apparent from this

that the District Court did not reach the merits of the post

judgment motions. The District Court apparently believed that

it lacked jurisdiction to entertain the motions on their merits

because a notice of appeal had been filed. The Sixth Circuit

completely failed to address this issue in its opinion and instead

commented on a few matters other than this issue and otherwise

adopted and incorporated the District Court’s opinion which

preceded this rubber stamp ruling.

The lower courts were wrong in failing to consider this

issue On its merits. The post judgment motions contained newly

discovered evidence directly impacting upon the District

Court’s summary judgment analysis. After the District Court

made its summary judgment rulings, Ostrov personnel again

reviewed their records for copies of the 1968-1971 policies.

While those policies could not be found, Ostrov did find a copy

of a specimen policy that contained the same or substantially the

same language as the language of the 1968-1971 policies. This

specimen policy constitutes further evidence of the “specific

25

coverages, conditions, terms or definitions” which the District

Court said it needed to have to declare rights and duties under

the 1968-1971 policies. The failure to even consider this motion

on the merits violates the civil rules and basic notions of due

process and equal protection.

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, Petitioners respectfully re-

quest that the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari be granted and this

case be accepted for a review of the merits of all of the foregoing

issues.

Respectfully submitted,

Matthew Yackshaw

Counsel of Record

DAY, KETTERER, RALEY,

WRIGHT & RYBOLT

800 William R. Day Building

121 Cleveland Ave., South

Canton, Ohio 44702-1921

Telephone: (216) 455-0173

Attorney for Petitioners

i)

\, ¥

: a —

Ont

a s

#2 h

- re 3

7, si ei f

\ *

on 1,

3 AY

r , .

i ™~ .

‘ , » ki Wd

i :

.

¥ »

v

> n

'

§

.

A-i

APPENDIX

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v.

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., et al.,

Case Nos. 93-3689 and 3765 (Sixth Circuit)

a. Per Curiam Decision filed

tn. . SE as

b. Rehearing Order filed

WO Oe Se

Hartford Accident & Indemnity Company v.

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., et al.,

Case No. 5:90CV0493 (USDC ND Ohio 1993)

a. Marginal Entry Order filed

September 30,1991 ........

b. Memorandum of Opinion and Order

filed February 14,1992 ......

c. Marginal Entry Order

d. Order filed August 11,1992 ...

e. Memorandum of Opinion and

Order filed May 7,1993......

f. Marginal Entry Order filed

| a ade ee

Hartford Interoffice Memorandum dated

ee Se

i a i

Min, Se. oe

a ae

a a a oo

Page[s]

A-1

A-]

A-4

oe

a,

ot

a

a intent

A-1

(Decided January 27, 1995)

Nos. 93-3689/2765

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

HARTFORD ACCIDENT AND

INDEMNITY CoO.,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, INC., et al.

Defendants-Appellants.

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE NORTHERN

DISTRICT OF OHIO

BEFORE: LIVELY, JONES and DAUGHTREY, Circuit

Judges.

PER CURIAM. The plaintiff, Hartford Accident and

Indemnity Company, brought this diversity action in the district

court seeking a declaratory judgment that it was not liable to its

insureds, defendants Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., Hybud

Equipment Corp., and Hyman Budoff, under five comprehen-

sive policies issued by the plaintiff at various times over a

16-year period. Invoking their rights under the policies, the

defendants had called upon Hartford to defend and indemnify

them in a consolidated CERCLA action brought by the United

States Environmental Protection Agency and the Ohio Environ-

mental Protection Agency that was then pending in federal

court. The district court granted summary judgment to Hartford

on all the policies at issue in the declaratory judgment suit and,

sua sponte, dismissed certain counterclaims by the defendants.

A-2

We find no merit to the issues raised by the defendants on appeal,

and we therefore affirm.

Indeed, our review of the record, the briefs, and the district

court’s memorandum opinions in this case convinces us that the

district court’s judgment was correct in its essential aspects. We

further conclude that the judgment should be affirmed for the

reasons given by the district court, without the necessity of

further written explication on those issues covered in the court’s

opinion.

Two additional matters require comment, however. One

is a jurisdictional question not raised below and, therefore, not

treated in the district court’s opinion. The defendants insist that

under well-settled Sixth Circuit precedent, district courts should

decline to exercise diversity jurisdiction in declaratory judgment

actions involving insurance disputes but no federal questions.

Here, they contend, there is no federal question and the case

involves insurance law, an area of litigation and resolution best

left to the states. We note, however, that all of the cases cited

by the defendants in support of abstention involved concurrent

state court actions giving rise to, among other things, the possi-

bility of conflicting or inconsistent rulings on the same issue.

Here, both the declaratory judgment action and the under-

lying action were pending in the Northern District of Ohio. As

for the substantive issue of law raised in the declaratory judg-

ment action, i.e., whether the pollution exclusion clause in the

Hartford insurance policies applied to the facts pleaded in the

CERCLA action, that question had already been determined as

a matter of state law by the Ohio Supreme Court in its opinion

in Hybrid Equipment Corp. v. Sphere Drake Ins. Co., 64 Ohio

St. 3d 657, 597 N.E.2d 1096 (1992), cert. denied, 113 S..Ct.

1585 (1993), involving the same facts, the same insureds, and

the same pollution exclusion clause at issue in this case. We

conclude that the declaratory judgment action, having been

litigated to this point, should not be dismissed for lack of

A-3

jurisdiction. In reaching this determination, we are guided by

the standards set out in Allstate Ins. Co. v. Green, 825 F.2d 1061.

1063 (6th Cir. 1987).

One other issue raised on appeal requires at least a brief

comment. Although it appears that in dismissing the defen-

dants’ counterclaims sua sponte, the district judge was not in

compliance with Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Pro-

cedure, it further appears that this action was taken without

notice and an opportunity to be heard because the counterclaims

were based solely on the same facts that gave rise to the summary

judgment in the plaintiff’s favor. Under these circumstances,

we cannot say that the order of dismissal constituted reversible

error.

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

A-4

Decided March 15, 1995

Nos. 93-3689/2765

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE SIXTH CIRCUIT

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, INC., ET AL.,

Defendants-Appellants.

ORDER

BEFORE:LIVELY, JONES, and DAUGHTREY, Circuit

Judges.

The court having received a petition for rehearing en banc,

and the petition having been circulated not only to the original

panel members but also to all other active judges of this court,

and no judge of this court having requested a vote on the

suggestion for rehearing en banc, the petition for rehearing has

been referred to the original hearing panel.

The panel has further reviewed the petition for rehearing

and concludes that the issues raised in the petition were fully

considered upon the original submission and decision of the

case. Accordingly, the petition is denied.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

(s/ Leonard Green

Leonard Green, Clerk

Granted: ___ Filed April 30, 1991

SS oo ee

_/s/ John M. Manos _

U.S. District Judge

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

>

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 5:90CV0493

Judge Manos

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

Defendants Hybud Equipment Corp. (“Hybud”), Hyman

Budoff (“Budoff”) and Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc. (“IEL”)

(collectively referred to as “Defendants”), hereby move this

Court, pursuant to Rule 12 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, to dismiss this case because the Court lacks subject matter

jurisdiction, the complaint fails to state a claim upon which relief

can be granted, Plaintiff failed to join all necessary and proper

parties and the Court should abstain from exercising jurisdiction

over this case. More specifically, the complaint should be

dismissed for the following reasons:

1. An “actual controversy” within the meaning of 28

U.S.C. §2201 does not exist between the parties;

A-6

(Filed February 14, 1992)

In The United States District Court

FOR NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY CO.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:90CV0493

Judge Manos

MEMORANDUM OF OPINION

On March 19, 1990, plaintiff, Hartford Accident & Indem-

nity Co., filed the above-captioned case against defendants,

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., Hybud Equipment Corp., and

Hyman Budoff, seeking a declaration of the rights and liabilities

of the parties under several insurance contracts. Jurisdiction is

appropriate pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1332. From 1981 through

1985, plaintiff issued several general liability insurance policies

to the defendants. On October 13, 1989, the United States filed

a complaint against the defendants herein and others seeking

recovery of response costs incurred in the clean-up of a hazard-

Ous waste site in Stark County, Ohio. That case was captioned

United States v. Industrial Excess Landfill Inc. et al., No.

5:89CV1988 (hereinafter “USEPA”). After receiving the

USEPA complaint, defendants requested that plaintiff indem-

nify and defend them. Plaintiff filed this action seeking a

determination of whether it has a duty to act on behalf of the

defendants in the USEPA action. On October 10, 1991, the

A-7

defendants filed a counterclaim alleging that plaintiff’s refusal

to provide coverage constitutes a breach of the insurance con-

tracts (Count I), breach of the duty of good faith (Count II), and

negligent or intentional infliction of emotional distress (Count

III). On November 12, 1991, plaintiff filed a motion to dismiss

Counts II and III of the counterclaim. For the following reasons,

the motion is denied as to Count II and granted as to Count III.

Pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 12(b)(6), the court may dismiss

any count for “failure to state a claim upon which relief can be

granted.” Dismissal pursuant to Rule 12(b)(6) is appropriate

only if no set of facts would entitle the counterclaimants to relief.

See Conley v. Gibson, 355 U.S. 41 45-46, 78 S. Ct. 99, 102

(1957); Hishon v. King & Spalding, 467 U.S. 69, 73, 104 S. Ct.

2229, 2232 (1984). In considering this motion to dismiss, the

court must interpret the facts in the light most favorable to the

parties opposing the motion in order to determine whether any

set of facts would entitle them to relief. Meador v. Cabinet for

Human Resources, 902 F.2d 474 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S.

Ct. 182 (1990).

II.

Count Il of the counterclaim alleges that plaintiff breached

the duty of good faith it owes to the defendants by refusing to

pay, defend, or attempt to settle the claims in the USEPA action.

“Bad faith involves a conscious or deliberate wrongdoing with

an actual intent to mislead, deceive, or breach a known duty.”

Miller v. Kronk, 519 N.E.2d 856 (Ohio App. 1987) (citing

Wasserman v. Buckeye Union Cas. Co., 290 N.E.2d 837, 840

(Ohio 1972)). An insurance company owes its policy-holders a

duty to exercise good faith in defending and settling claims

brought against them. Centennial Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins.

Co., 404 N.E.2d 759 (Ohio 1980). Under Ohio law, a policy-

holder may sue an insurance company which demonstrates bad

A-8

faith with respect to the settlement of third-party claims. Cen-

tennial Ins. Co. v. Liberty Mut. Ins. Co., 404 N.E.2d 759 (Ohio

1980); Slater v. Motorist Mut. Ins. Co., 187 N.E.2d 45 (Ohio

1962); Hart v. Republic Mutual Ins. Co., 87 N.E.2d 347 (Ohio

1949).

Defendants allege the following facts in support of this

counterclaim:

(a) Plaintiff failed and refused to make . . . any investiga-

a

(b) Plaintiff refused to give any reasonable interpretation

to the provisions in the policies or any reasonable

application of such provisions to Defendants’

claims and has acted to protect its own financial in-

terest therein at the expense of Defendants’ rights.

(c) Plaintiff has failed to provide Defendants any reason-

able or justifiable basis for denying Defendants’

claims....

(d) Plaintiff has unreasonably delayed the handling of all

of Defendants’ claims resulting in prejudice to De-

fendants.

(e) Plaintiff failed and refused to defend Defendants at

critical stages of the underlying claims when Plain-

tiff knew or should have known that Defendants

lacked the resources to fully and completely defend

themselves.

(f) Plaintiff failed and refused to provide any settlement

dollars or authorization at critical stages . . . [even

though] Plaintiff knew or should have known that

to do so would increase Defendants’ liability expo-

sure.

A-9

(g) Plaintiff has made numerous false and erroneous as-

sertions about Defendants as part of its attempt to

avoid its obligations.

(h) Plaintiff’s refusal to renew its policies with Defen-

dants was in retaliation for Defendants’ claims.

(i) Plaintiff’s conduct has forced Defendants to seek

legal redress.

(j) Plaintiff offered to provide a partial defense to Defen-

dants when Defendants were in a vulnerable posi-

tion, in an attempt to avoid its absolute nondivisible

duty to defend.

(k) Although Plaintiff has paid some defense costs, it in-

itially and for a significant period of time paid nothing

when it knew it was obligated to provide a defense.

(1) Plaintiff filed this lawsuit before giving any timely

and proper notice to Defendants.

Counterclaim at 4 33.

The court concludes that the counterclaim states facts

which, if proven, may establish that plaintiff breached the

alleged duty of good faith. Accordingly, the motion to dismiss

is denied as to Count II.

Ill.

Defendants allege that plaintiff intentionally or negligently

inflicted severe emotional distress by refusing to pay, defend,

or attempt to settle the claims against the defendants in the

USEPA action.

In order for defendants to prove intentional infliction of

emotional distress, they must show by a preponderance of the

evidence each of the following four elements:

1. the plaintiff’s conduct was extreme and outrageous;

2. the conduct was intentional or reckless;

A- 10

3. the defendants suffered emotional distress as a result

of the conduct, and

4. the emotional distress was severe.

Yeager v. Local Union 20, et al., 453 N.E.2d 666 (Ohio 1983).

Conduct is considered “extreme and outrageous” if it exceeds

all possible bounds of decency and would not be tolerated in a

civilized community. /d. at 671 (quoting Restatement of the

Law 2d, Torts (1965) 73, Section 46, comment d.). An act is

reckless if it is done with “conscious disregard for a great and

obvious harm.” Schellhouse v. Norfolk & Western Ry. Co., 575

N.E.2d 453, 457, n. 2 (Ohio 1991) (quoting Preston v. Murty,

512 N.E.2d 1174 (Ohio 1987)).

The counterclaim does not allege operative facts to support

the allegation that the plaintiff intended to inflict emotional

distress on the defendants. Plaintiff's refusal to defend the

USEPA claims cannot be the basis for an emotional distress

claim. It has not yet been determined whether plaintiff was

obligated to participate in the USEPA defense. It sought to

determine whether such a duty existed by filing this suit. This

court finds that defendants plead no facts which, if proven,

would amount to the “outrageous” conduct necessary to assert

an intentional infliction of emotional distress claim.

In order to assert a claim for negligent infliction of emo-

tional distress, the defendants must allege they were bystanders

Or witnesses to a sudden negligently caused event and were

traumatized by the distressing occurrence. Paugh v. Hanks, 451

N.E.2d 759 (Ohio 1983); Burris v. Grange Mut. Companies, 545

N.E.2d 83, 90-91 (Ohio 1989); Bartlett v. Daniel Drake Memo-

rial Hospital, 1991 WESTLAW 149565 (Ohio App. Hamilton

Cty. 1991). The counterclaim does not allege facts to support

any element of this claim. For these reasons, the motion to

dismiss 1s granted as to Count III.

A- ll]

IV.

This court concludes that the counterclaim adequately

pleads a claim for breach of the duty of good faith, but does not

adequately plead a claim for intentional or negligent infliction

of emotional distress. Accordingly, plaintiff's motion to dis-

miss is denied as to Count II and granted as to Count III.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/John M. Manos

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A-12

(Filed February 14, 1992)

In The United States District Court

FOR NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY CO.,

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, et al.,

Defendants.

Judge John M. Manos

Case No. 1:90CV0493

ORDER

Pursuant to the Memorandum of Opinion issued in the

above-captioned case this date, this court concludes that the

counterclaim adequately pleads a claim for breach of the duty

of good faith, but does not adequately plead a claim for inten-

tional or negligent infliction of emotional distress. Accordingly,

plaintiffs motion to dismiss Counts II and III of the counter-

claim is denied as to Count II and granted as to Count III.

IT IS SOQ ORDERED.

/s/John M. Manos

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Granted: __ Filed July 21, 1992

Denied: X

| Js/ John M. Manos _

U.S. District Judge

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, INC., et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:90CV0493

Judge Manos

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

AMENDED COMPLAINT

Defendants Hybud Equipment Corp., Hyman Budoff and

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc. (“Defendants”), hereby move

this Court, pursuant to Rules 12 and 15 of the Federal Rules of

Civil Procedure, to dismiss the amended complaint for the

following reasons:

1. The amended complaint is not ripe for adjudication.

2. An “actual controversy” within the meaning of 28

U.S.C. §2201 does not exist between the parties;

A- 14

(Filed August 11, 1992)

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY CO.,

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL, et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:90CV0493

Judge Manos

ORDER

On March 19, 1990, plaintiff, Hartford Accident & Indem-

nity Co., filed the above-captioned case against defendants,

Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., Hybud Equipment Corp., and

Hyman Budoff, seeking a declaration of the rights and liabilities

of the parties under several insurance contracts. On October 13,

1989, the United States filed United States v. Industrial Excess

Landfill Inc. et al., No. 5:89CV1988 (hereafter “USEPA”’),

against the defendants and others seeking recovery of response

costs incurred in the clean-up of a hazardous waste site in Stark

County, Ohio. After receiving the complaint, defendants re-

quested that plaintiff indemnify and defend them. Plaintiff filed

this action seeking a determination of whether it has a duty to

act on behalf of the defendants in the USEPA action. On June

23, 1992, defendants moved for a continuance of the trial date

and for a stay of discovery until the USEPA action is finally

determined by trial or settlement.

A-15

The motion for a continuance is granted. The motion to

Stay discovery is denied.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/John M. Manos

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A- 16

(Issued May 7, 1993)

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY CO.,

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL INC., et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:90CV0493

Judge M. Manos

MEMORANDUM OF OPINION

On March 19, 1990, plaintiff, Hartford Accident & Indem-

nity Co. (Hartford), filed the above-captioned action against

defendants, Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc., Hybud Equipment

Corp., and Hyman Budoff, seeking a declaration of the rights

and liabilities of the parties under several insurance contracts.

Jurisdiction is appropriate pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1332.

On April 29, 1992, Hartford filed a First Amended Com-

plaint. On July 31, 1992, the defendants filed an amended

answer and counterclaim. On July 2, 1992 and October 27,

1992, plaintiff filed motions for partial summary judgment. For

the following reasons, plaintiff’s motions for partial summary

judgment are granted and defendants’ counterclaim is dis-

missed.

A-17

Defendants owned and operated the Industrial Excess

Landfill in Stark County, Ohio. On October 13, 1989, the

United States filed a complaint against them and others seeking

recovery of response costs incurred in the clean-up of a hazard-

ous waste site. !

On December 19, 1991, the State of Ohio also filed a

complaint based on federal and state environmental laws.2

Hartford filed this declaratory action after defendants re-

quested that it defend and indemnify them in the USEPA action.

Defendants hold a number of insurance policies issued by

Hartford. These policies cover the time periods 1968-19713

and August 31, 1981 to June 30, 1985.4 From June 30, 1985

to June 30, 1987 defendants were insured by the Sphere Drake

Insurance Company.

On October 10, 1991, defendants filed a counterclaim in

which they allege that Hartford’s refusal to provide coverage

constitutes breach of the insurance contracts (Count 1), breach

of the duty of good faith (Count II) and negligent or intentional

infliction of emotional distress (Count III).

On April 29, 1992, Hartford filed its First Amended Com-

plaint for a declaratory judgment stating that it is not obligated

to defend or indemnify the defendants for the USEPA action

under the 1981-1985 policies (Count I) or the 1968-1971 poli-

cies (Count II) nor for the State of Ohio action under the

1981-1985 (Count III) or 1968-1971 (Count IV) policies.

On July 24, 1992, Hartford moved for partial summary

judgment on the 1968-1971 policies. It asserts that there is no

coverage because the defendants cannot produce proof of the

existence or terms of the policies.

On October 27, 1992, Hartford moved for partial summary

judgment for the 1981-1985 policies. It contends that because

of the “pollution exclusion” clauses it has no duty to defend or

A- 18

indemnify in the USEPA or State of Ohio actions. It further

contends that the defendants are collaterally estopped from

asserting that the “pollution exclusion” clauses do not apply to

its coverage.

Il.

Summary judgment is appropriate “if the pleadings, depo-

sitions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions on file, to-

gether with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no genuine

issue as to any material fact and that the moving party is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

The party moving for summary judgment bears the initial

burden of production under Rule 56. The burden may be

satisfied by presenting affirmative evidence that negates an

element of the non-movant’s claim or by demonstrating “an

absence of evidence to support the non-moving party’s case.”

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325,106 S. Ct. 2548,

2554 (1986).

If the movant meets this burden, the non-movant must “set

forth the specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for

trial.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e). The substantive law identifies

which specific facts are material. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,

Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 2510 (1986). To avoid

summary judgment, the non-movant must “make a showing

sufficient to establish the existence of an element essential to the

party’s case, and on which that party will bear the burden of

proof at trial.” Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322, 106 S. Ct. at 2552.

| The USEPA action, United States of America v. Industrial Excess

Landfill, Inc., et al., No. 5:839CV1988 (N.D. Ohio) is pending.

> The State of Ohio action, State of Ohio v. Industrial Excess Landfill,

Inc. et al., No. 91CV2559 (N.D. Ohio), has been consolidated with the

USEPA action and is pending.

Policies 45 C 6777390, 45 C 678909 and 45 C 680280.

Policies 45 CBP 132102 and 45 CBP NH0404.

| a Ps Ree

PREPS R Rat ARDY RE OE Nr

1 RRR ern eee

a7 is i: i a ak

A-19

“The evidence of the non-movant is to be believed, and all

justifiable inferences are to be drawn in his favor.” Anderson,

477 U.S. at 256, 106 S. Ct. at 2513 (citing Adickes v. Kress &

Co., 398 U.S. 144, 158-59 (1970)). However, the non-movant

must “do more than simply show that there is some metaphysical

doubt as to the material facts.” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586, 106 S. Ct. 1348, 1356

(1986). “[T]}he mere existence of some alleged factual disputes

between the parties will not defeat an otherwise properly sup-

ported motion” for summary judgment. Anderson, 477 U.S. at

247-48, 106 S. Ct. at 2510.

III.

A.

On October 27, 1992, Hartford filed a Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment. It contends that the defendants’ 1981-

1985 insurance policies contain a pollution exclusion clause that

bars coverage. It further contends that the Supreme Court of

Ohio decided this issue and partial summary judgment should

be granted under the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

The policies in question are comprehensive general liabil-

ity policies and they include a “Standard Pollution Exclusion.”

The exclusion is set forth as follows:

This insurance does not apply:

(f) to bodily injury or property damage arising out of

the discharge, dispersal, release or escape of smoke,

vapors, soot, fumes, acids, alkalis, toxic chemicals,

liquids or gases, waste materials or other irritants,

contaminants or pollutants into or upon land, the

atmosphere or other water course or body of water;

but this exclusion does not apply if such discharge,

dispersal, release or escape is sudden and accidental.

A - 20

On September 16, 1992, the Supreme Court of Ohio de-

cided Hybud Equipment Corp. et al. v. Sphere Drake Insurance

Co., Ltd., 64 Ohio St.3d 657, 597 N.E.2d 1096 (1992). The

Hybud case involved the same insureds, coverage for the same

underlying event and the same policy language as here.>

The Court in Hybud held that the language in the pollution

exclusion clause is not ambiguous and that the term “sudden”

limits liability to damages caused only by an abrupt release, not

damage from pollution that “occurred over an extended period

of time.” Hybud, 597 N.E.2d at 1103.

The Court noted that the USEPA complaint alleged that the

insureds had either disposed of or accepted different forms of

waste materials in the landfill over an extended period of time,

and that the resulting injuries and damage had been caused by

the waste deposited. The Court further noted that “a review of

the [USEPA] complaint show[s] that there was never any alle-

gation that the release or discharge of the waste happened

abruptly or instantaneously.” Hybud at 1103.

Under Ohio law, an issue is barred from relitigation under

the doctrine of collateral estoppel if a party pleads and proves

three elements:

(1) mutuality of parties;

(2) the issue was actually tried and decided and necessary

to the final judgment in the prior suit; and

(3) the issue is identical to the issue involved in the prior

suit.

Dwyer v. City of Middleton, 733 F.Supp. 262, 267 (S.D. Ohio

1989); see also Gilbraith v. Hixson, 32 Ohio St.3d 127, 512

N.E.2d 956 (1987).

The defendants in this declaratory action are the same

parties that litigated the application of the pollution exclusion

clause as plaintiffs in Hybud. Although Hartford is not the

| |

MIR fl GAM NEM RG .

DON ESS tae Wea

RRNA E Sonat arene ire IO Pe

Nessa

hae

Sh AER

OE RE RA NES AN RR eee

Ks ‘ a i , ‘ 3 os ‘

A- 21

insurer in Hybud, the mutuality element is not necessary if the

party against which collateral estoppel is asserted has clearly

had its day in court on the specific issue sought to be relitigated.

Goodson v. McDonough Power Equipment, Inc., 2 Ohio St.3d

193, 443 N.E.2d 978 (1983). Because the defendants actually

litigated the application of the pollution exclusion clause, the

element of mutuality is established.

The Ohio Supreme Court’s decision in Hybud is a final

judgment and the application of the pollution exclusion clause

was necessary to that judgment. The language in the clause in

Hybud is identical to the language in this action and the disputed

coverage (indemnity for the costs and damages of the USEPA

action) is the same.

Therefore, the defendants are precluded from relitigating

the issue whether the pollution exclusion clause bars coverage

for the USEPA action under the doctrine of collateral estoppel.

B.

In their brief, Hartford contends that it should be granted

summary judgment on the 1981-1985 policies for claims arising

out of the State of Ohio action. It contends that Hybud is

controlling and the State of Ohio action is based on the same

events or occurrences as the USEPA action.

Defendants respond that the State of Ohio complaint is

broader than the USEPA complaint and that it includes theories

of common law nuisance and ultrahazardous activity that imply

“sudden and accidental” occurrences. However, the State of

Ohio complaint arises from the same set of operative facts as the

USEPA complaint and alleges that the pollution discharges

were done systematically over an extended period of time. It

contains no allegations that the release or discharge of the waste

happened abruptly or instantaneously. Therefore, Hartford is

> The Sphere Drake policies contained the same “Standard Pollution

Exclusion” as the Hartford policies.

A- 22

not liable under the 1981-1985 policies for the State of Ohio

complaint.

C.

On July 2, 1992, Hartford moved for partial summary

judgment on the issue of the “Lost or Destroyed Policies.” It

contends that summary judgment should be granted on the

1968-1971 policies because defendants cannot prove coverage.

Neither party has been able to produce a policy for 1968-

1971. However, defendants have provided some evidence that

Hybud Equipment Co. held comprehensive general liability

policies from Hartford for 1968-1971, including affidavits from

defendant Hyman Budoff and Saul Ostrov (Vice President of

Ostrov Insurance Agency, the insurance broker) claiming the

existence of the policies. Mr. Ostrov attests that the policies

were in his company’s files and seven years after their expiration

were regularly destroyed. Defendants also have produced cer-

tificates of insurance, statements of accounts, statements of

premium adjustment and general correspondence relating to the

policies. However, this secondary evidence relates only to

Hybud Equipment Co. as the insured and not Industrial Excess

Landfill, Inc. or Hyman Budoff, and does not describe the terms

or conditions of coverage.

The nature of an insurer’s obligation is not altered or

impaired because an original or a complete copy of the policy

cannot be produced. See Couch on Insurance 2d, Evidence, §

79:6. However, when an original is lost or destroyed the party

seeking to enforce the policy has the burden of proving its

issuance and the terms it contained. /d.; Lynd v. Sandy & Beaver

Valley Farmers Mut. Ins. Co., 103 Ohio App. 408, 145 N.E.2d

453 (1957). Therefore, under Ohio law, “in order to recover . . .

the express terms and conditions relied on must be proven, for

the policy and contract are the basis of the insurer’s obligation

and measure of its liability.” Lynd, 145 N.E.2d at 456. The

ee ae oe 7

A - 23

defendants’ certificates, affidavits and documents do not pro-

vide any evidence of the specific coverages, conditions, terms

or definitions of the policies at issue. “Absent the actual terms

of a contract, it is impossible for a trial court to declare a party’s

rights and duties under the contract.” Kleem v. Nationwide

Insurance Co., 1983 WL 2622 at 2 (Ohio App. 8th Dist. 1983).

Defendants have not met their burden of showing that under the

terms and conditions of the alleged policies they would be

covered. Therefore, as to the 1968-1971 policies, summary

judgment is appropriate.

Since Hartford is not liable, defendants’ counterclaim is

without merit.

Accordingly, Hartford’s motions for partial summary judg-

ment are granted and defendants’ counterclaim is dismissed.

IS SO ORDERED.

/s/John M. Manos

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A- 24

(Filed May 7, 1993)

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY CO.,

Plaintiff,

VS.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL INC., et al.,

Defendants.

Case No. 1:90CV0493

Judge John M. Manos

ORDER

ORDER

Pursuant to the Memorandum of Opinion issued in the

above-captioned case this date, plaintiff's motions for partial

summary judgment are granted and defendants’ counterclaim is

dismissed.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

/s/John M. Manos

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

A - 25

In The United States District Court

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

HARTFORD ACCIDENT & INDEMNITY COMPANY,

Plaintiff,

vs.

INDUSTRIAL EXCESS LANDFILL INC., et al.

Defendants.

Case No. 5:90CV0493

Judge John M. Manos

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION FOR

RECONSIDERATION, MOTION

TO AMEND THE FINDINGS AND JUDGMENT,

MOTION TO REVISE THE DECISION, MOTION TO

ALTER OR AMEND JUDGMENT, AND MOTION

FOR RELIEF FROM JUDGMENT OR ORDER

; Now come defendants, Hybud Equipment Corporation,

Hyman Budoff, and Industrial Excess Landfill, Inc. (“Defen-

dants”) and move this Court, pursuant to Rules 52, 54, 59 and

60 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, for an order from

this Court reconsidering, amending and/or altering the Memo-

randum of Opinion and Order issued May 7, 1993, and Judg-

ment entered May 10, 1993, for all the reasons set forth in the

attached Memorandum of Law.

Granted: Issued June 10, 1993

Denied: Y as moot _

Ls/ John M. Manos _

U.S. District Judge

A - 26

U.S. Constitution, Amendment 5

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or otherwise

infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indictment of a

Grand Jury, except in cases arising in the land or naval forces,

or in the Militia, when in actual service in time of War or public

danger; nor shall any person be subject for the same offence to

be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be compelled

in any criminal case to be a witness against himself, nor be

deprived of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor shall private property be taken for public use, without just

compensation.

A-27

28 U.S.C. § 1332(a)

$1332. Diversity of citizenship; amount in controversy; costs

(a) The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of all civil

actions where the matter in controversy exceeds the sum of value

of $50,000, exclusive of interest and costs, and is between --

(1) Citizens of different States;

(2) citizens of a State and citizens or subjects of a foreign

State;

(3) citizens of different States and in which citizens or

subjects of a foreign state are additional parties; and

(4) a foreign state, defined in section 1603(a) of this title

[28 USCS § 1603(a)], as plaintiff and citizens of a

State or of different States.

For the purposes of this section, section 1335, and section 1441,

an alien admitted to the United States for permanent residence

shall be deemed a citizen of the State in which such alien is

domiciled.

A- 28

28 U.S.C. §2201(a)

§2201. Creation of remedy.

(a) In a case of actual controversy within its jurisdiction. except

with respect to Federal taxes other than actions brought under

section 7428 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986 [ 26 USCS

§7428], a proceeding under section 505 or 1146 of title 11, or

in any civil action involving an antidumping or contervailing

duty proceeding regarding a class or kind of merchandise of a

free trade are a country (as defined in section 516A(f)(10) of the

Tariff Act of 1930 [19 USCS § 1516a (f)(10)]), as determined

by the administering authority, any court of the United States,

upon the filing of an appropriate pleading, may declare the rights

and other legal relations of any interested party seeking such

declaration, whether or not further relief is or could be sought.

Any such declaration shall have the force and effect of a final

judgment or decree and shall be reviewable as such.

(1)

(2)

(3)

(4)

A- 29

Federal Rules of Evidence, Rule 1004

Rule 1004. Admissibility of Other Evidence of Contents

The original is not required, and other evidence of the contents

of a writing, recording, or photograph is admissible if --

Originals lost or destroyed. All originals are lost or

have been destroyed, unless the proponent lost or

destroyed them in bad faith, or

Original not obtainable. No original can be ob-

tained by any available judicial process or proce-

dure; or

Original in possession of opponent. At a time when

an original was under the control of the party

against whom offered, that party was put on notice,

by the pleadings or otherwise, that the contents

would be a subject of proof at the hearing, and that

party does not produce the original at the hearing; or

Collateral matters. The writing, recording, or photo-

graph is not closely related to a controlling issue.

A - 30

THE HARTFORD

INTEROFFICE MEMORANDUM

DATE: December 14, 1988

TO: Al Platteis, Supervisor

SEICO, Home Office Claims

FROM: Lou Antonelli, Supervisor

Cleveland Local Claims

SUBJECT: Claim Numbers: 734 LP 04168 (State of Ohio)

734 LP 32767 (U.S. EPA)

Our Insured: Budoff Iron & Metal

Attached please find a letter I recently sent to defense

counsel regarding the above cases.

I have also paid our pro-rata share, which is 35.15% of the

total billing.

As we discussed, we are accepting coverage for the periods

of August 27, 1968 through August 27, 1971. The agency who

supplied us with certificates of insurance has been our agent for

many years, at least since the mid-40’s, and has a good reputa-

tion. They produce quite a bit of business for us in their area.

In fact, they still are the agent for the insured, and Hartford does

write Automobile coverage with them. They will testify that the

insured did have General Liability coverage with The Hartford

for the above period, and the hard evidence of the certificates of

insurance are proof. The certificates bear valid Hartford policy

numbers, and also list limits of liability.

I also checked with Lynn Thoreson who worked in the

Akron office in the early 70’s. She did remember that we

insured Budoff when she first started, and she handled several

A- 3]

claims with them. She is the only one in the office who would

remember this, as no one in the Claim Department was here at

that time, nor was anyone in the Casualty Underwriting Depart-

ment here at that time.

I tried to run IM06’s, however I was told that the computers

did not have information going that far back. I tried looking in

the abstract drawers as well, however we only keep those for ten

years, thus they have been destroyed.

Lynn and | discussed this and we are convinced that we

would lose any battle over the insurance issue should we decide

to fight it. The certificates of insurance, along with the agent’s

testimony and our lack of ability to prove that the policies didn’t

exist, coupled with Lynn’s recognition that we did insure them

back in the early 70’s would certainly do us in.

We have working agreements on all of the other files, and

now we can add these two to the list. The attorney has a copy

of our proposed agreement which he is to circulate among all

the carriers for the signatures so that we can formalize things.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.