Opposition Brief — Woodpointe Inn Associates Ltd. Partnership v. City of Harper Woods

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the “arbitrary and capricious” standard is cor-

rectly and consistently applied by the Circuits in local land use

disputes alleging violation of substantive due process rights.

II. Whether the Sixth Circuit was correct in affirming the

dismissal of a local land use dispute alleging violations of substan-

tive due process where the City listed rational reasons for its

denial of the property owners’ request for a special land use, and

where the City had discretion to grant or deny the request.

Sl ek 2 era

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to the proceedings below were the Petitioners,

Woodpointe Inn Associates Limited Partnership

Thomas Handlos and Lucille Handlos

and Respondents

City of Harper Woods, a Michigan Municipal

Corporation

James R. Haley, Mayor

James E., Leidlein, City Manager

Gerard Owczarzak, City Building Inspector

Richard A. Eisengruber

Thomas A. Kasunic

James N. McNally

Victor G. Marocco

Virginia Ann Micheletti

David Pochmara

Oresto J. Velardo

Members of City Council, for City of Harper

Woods, Jointly and Severally.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED WG tipie a malaae Nd enctie sain alias i

LARD MOR CFC is So ik ee bs ez ii

CO sos os is s cer eS Bb ch ecko cs 1

SUM ce ee 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

Pe i AT BD ioe oS 055s ca vieeeein dns 2

ea ee OE 2

Mev 5 ibs 6 ik Se is 5 ok 0 oS ov ccc 2

all i ig ESS tae 3

WHY THIS WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED.......... 12

I

THE “ARBITRARY AND _ CAPRICIOUS”

STANDARD IS CORRECTLY AND

CONSISTENTLY APPLIED BY THE CIRCUITS IN

LOCAL LAND USE DISPUTES ALLEGING

VIOLATION OF SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS

caveat vaeeeei TEL TEV TL Peer eee ee 12

A. The Circuit ~Courts Have Consistently Recognized

That The Denial Of A Land Use Permit May, Under

Appropriate Circumstances, Constitute A

Substantive Due Process Violation............... 12

B. The Circuit Courts Uniformly Apply An Arbitrary Or

Capricious Standard In Reviewing Land Use

Decisions For Substantive Due Process Violations.. 14

II

THE SIXTH CIRCUIT FULLY CONSIDERED AND

CORRECTLY DECIDED THAT NO GENUINE

ISSUES OF MATERIAL FACT EXISTED IN THIS

CASE TO SUPPORT ANY VIOLATION OF

SUBSTANTIVE DUE PROCESS.................. 20

Page

A. In Land Use Litigation, Reference to Government

Action Which “Shocks the Conscience” is Useful to

Indicate the Degree of Irrationality Necessary to

State a Substantive Due Process Claim........... 20

B. Stanmdand OF Review: 1. ae 23

C. Summary Judgment Is Appropriate Where There

Are No Genuine Issues Of Material Fact Regarding

A Substantive Due Process Violation............. 24

CONCLUBIIG. Bocas. suck, ce av cre cous cneeieense 30

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Amsden v. Moran, 904 F. 2d. 748, (1st Cir. 1990)

cert denied, 498 U.S. 1041, 111 S. Ct. 713, 112

Sov Es 26, POR LIPOLY Hv 58s 5 60S 8

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L 2d. 2d. 202 (1986).....

Bateson v. Geisse, 857 F ‘. 1300 (9th Cir. 1988)

Bello v. Walker, 840 F. 124 (3rd Cir. 1988)

cert denied, 488 U.S..° ‘09S. Ct. 134, 102

Es EM, 20. TOF CISCS) S... ods aie

City of Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center Inc.,

473 U.S. 432, 105 S. Ct. 3249, 87 L. Ed. 24.

ee ae TE riers ey ee ee pea a

Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 503 U.S. 115,

112 S. Ct. 1061, 117 L. Ed. 2d. 261 (1992)...

DeBlasio v. The Zoning Board of Adjustment for

the Township of West Amwell, 53 F. 3d. 592

(FOG CO, TD baie hae bier borers.

Elsmere Park Club Ltd. Partnership v. Town of

Elsmere, 771 F. Supp. 646 (D. Del. 1991) ....

Ford Motor Co. v. McDavid, 259 F. 2d. 261 (4th

Cir. 1958) cert denied, 358 U.S. 908, 79 S. Ct.

234, 3 L. Ed. 2d. 229 (1958) ...............

Hanover Ins. Co. v. American Engineering Co., 33

F. 3d. 727 (6th Cir. 1994) ..................

Licari v Ferruzzi, 22 F. 3d. 344 (1st Cir. 1994)...

Littlefield v. City of Afton, 785 F. 24. 596 (8th

ng ipa SR at all

Matsushita Elect. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S. Ct. 1348, 89 L. Ed.

UT MEE C50 OC Ws UnG oo ade OSnn¥ikdcec.

23, 24

16, 29

25, 26

20, 21, 22

16, 28

21

27

23

15

Page

Pace Resources, Inc. v. Shrewsberry Township, 808

F. 2d. 1023 (3rd Cir. 1987) cert denied, 482

US. 906, 107 S.Ct. 2482, 96 L. Ed. 2d 375

(1967) ...ncccuwi tee ous tenes eee bk.) 16

Papasan vy. Allain, 478 U.S. 265, 106 S. Ct. 2932,

92 E.. EG, De ae Snes doin ch sone 24

Pearson v. City of Grand Blanc, $61 F. 2d. 1211

Ce es EA Sele, ler passim

Regents of University of Michigar v. Ewing, 474

US. 214, 106 S. Ct. 507, 88 L. Ed. 2d. 523

(1965) . ... «6:04 +5 ingen dé A SAR 21

Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F.2d. 1409 (4th

Cie. 1963) oo civeniiens cutee ss ees 13, 14, 16,

17, 29

Scudder v. Town of Greendale, Indiana, 704 F. 2d.

Foo CPO Cie, SOBA dances avendaess dewns 18, 19

Shelton v. City of College Station. 754 F. 2d. 1251

(Sth Cir. 1985) cert denied,

477 US. 905, 106 S. Ct. 3276,

D1 L. Bd 26 BGG CFs obese gtk deus 17

Smithfield Concerned Citizens forFair Zoning v.

The Town of Smithfield, 907 F.2d. 239 (lst

Che, SOU oo isn cpae tcc eke eae os no 15

Sylvia Development Corp. v. Calvrt County,

Maryland, 48 F. 3d. 810 (4th Gr. 1995) ..... 25, 26, 27

Triomphe Investors v. City of Northwood, 49 F.

3G, 390, COG Ge TORE ecw vicccees cece 24, 25, 28

Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1,

96 S. Ct. 2882, 49 L. Ed. 2d. 7i2 (1976) ..... 19

Village of Arlington Heights v. Méropolitan

Housing Development Corporaton, 429 U.S.

252, 97 S. Ct. 555, 50 L. Ed. 21. 450 (1977) .. 13

Village of Belle Terre v. Boraas, 46 U.S. 1, 94 S.

Ct. 1536, 39 L. Ed. 2d. 797 (1974) .......... 25

Walz v. Town of Smithtown, 46 F 3d. 162 (2nd

Cie. BEGG ocniteciscdccectet wactecincue 15, 16, 28

CONSTITUTIONS

United States Constitution

Fourteenth Amendment...................20-

RULES

Re OD cas ou cae a cateccnccdbeces

STATUTES 3

United States Code, Title 28

Donald A. Dripps, At the Borders of the Fourth

Amendment: Why A Real Due Process Test

Should Replace the Outrageous Government

Conduct Test, University of Illinois Law Review

WO Fs Ps Wie cass Pee eee re cccccuacse

Richard H. Fallon Jr., Some Confusions About

Due Process, Judicial Review, and

Constitutional Remedies, Columbia Law

Review, Volume 93, II (March 1992) ........

Thomas E. Roberts and Thomas C. Shearer, Land

Use Litigation: Takings and Due Process

Claims, the Urban Lawyer, Volume 24, No. 4

I lg oats ada 5 Ges 6-5 'c'o be kone

21

22

21

l

No. 94-2001

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

WoopPOINTE INN ASSOCIATES LIMITED PARTNERSHIP;

THOMAS A. HANDLOs; and LUCILLE HANDLOS, Petitioners,

v.

City OF HARPER Woops, a Michigan municipal corporation;

JAMES R. HALEY, Mayor, JAMES E. LEIDLEIN, City Manager;

GERARD OWCZARZAK, City Building Inspector;

RICHARD A. EISENGRUBER, THOMAS A. KASUNIC, JAMES N.

MCNALLY, Victor G. MAROCCO, VIRGINIA ANN

MICHELETTI, DAVID POCHMARA, ORESTO J. VELARDO,

Members of City Council, for

City of Harper Woods, Jointly and Severally, Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certicrari to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

Respondents, City of Harper Woods, et al. (“City” or

“Defendant”) respectfully request that this Court deny Wood-

pointe Inn Associates Limited Partnership, Thomas and Lucille

Handlos’ (“Petitioners”) Petition for Writ of Certiorari (“Peti-

tion”) seeking review of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Sixth Circuit’s (“Sixth Circuit”) opinion in this case.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Sixth Circuit affirming the decision of the

United States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan,

Southern Division, is reported at 48 F.3d. 1220, 1995 W.L. 94760

(6th Cir. 1995).

2

JURISDICTION

The Sixth Circuit decision was entered on March 7, 1995.

The Petition for Certiorari was docketed with the United States

Supreme Court on June 5, 1995. The jurisdiction of the United

States Supreme Court was invoked under 28 U.S.C.

Sec. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States Constitu-

tion, Sec. I, provides:

“Section I... No State shall make or enforce any law which

shall abridge the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law...”

Title 42, U.S.C. Section 1983, provides that:

“Every person who under color of any statute, ordinance,

regulation, custom, or usage, or any State or Territory or the

District of Columbia, subjects, or causes to be subjected, any

citizen of the United States or other person within the jurisdiction

thereof to the deprivation of any rights, privileges, or immunities

secured by the Constitution and laws shall be liable to the party

injured in any action at law, suit in equity, or other proper

proceeding for redress.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Introduction

Petitioners, Woodpointe Inn Associates Limited Partnership,

Thomas A. Handlos and Lucille Handlos, purchased a vacant

piece of property (“Property”) in Respondent, City of Harper

Woods (“Defendant” or “City”) in 1981. Over the next decade,

Thomas A. Handlos (“Mr. Handlos”) proposed various develop-

ment schemes, none of which came to fruition. Finally, in 1991,

the City granted his request for a special use permit to construct a

hotel on the Property. Among the conditions attached to the

3

permit was that the project be commenced within one (1) year

and that a bond equivalent to five (5%) percent of the improve-

ment costs be posted prior to the time work on the project

commenced. Although the City granted the special use, no work

on the project had begun by November 1991, six (6) months after

the permit was granted. Mr. Handlos requested an extension in

January 1992, and again in May 1992, days before the one (1)

year period was to expire. The sind denied both requests and the

permit expired.

Mr. Handlos re-applied for a special use permit in October

1992. The City denied it, citing his inability to complete the

project over the past eight (8) years and his delinquent record in

paying property taxes. Even before the City’s denial, Mr. Handlos

had filed suit in United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan, alleging that the denial of the special use

permit was a violation of his right to substantive due process, as

well as alleging other constitutional violations. Ultimately, the

United States District Court granted the City’s motion for sum-

mary judgment and the Sixth Circuit affirmed this decision.

B. Factual History

Petitioners’ Property is zoned for commercial development.

Under the City of Harper Woods Zoning Ordinance, Sec-

tion 10-164, hotels are permitted in a general business district

only after special approval.

Section 10-187 (B), Procedures For Granting Special Ap-

proval Of Designated Land Uses, specifies that “[t]he City

Council as herein created, shall have the following specific powers

and duties concerning special approvals. Section 2, Authorization,

specifies:

The special approval of specific land uses and activities, as

required under section 10-164, may be authorized by the

City Council provided that no application for special ap-

proval shall be acted upon by the City Council until after

(1) a written recommendation is prepared and filed with the

City Council by the City Planning Commission, which report

4

shall become part of the record, and (2) a public hearing is

held by the Council.

Section 6, Standards, specifies that no special approval shall

be granted by Council unless the special use meets certain

standards. The Council is to consider whether the special use:

(a) Will promote the use of land in a socially and economi-

cally desirable manner for those persons who will use

the proposed land use or activity; for those landowners

and residents who are adjacent; and for the City as a

whole.

(b) Is necessary for the public convenience at the location.

(c) Is compatible with adjacent uses of land.

(d) Is so designed, located and proposed to be operated that

the public health, safety and welfare will be protected.

(e) Can be adequately served by public services and facili-

ties to existing land uses in the area.

(f) Will not cause injury to the value of other property in

the neighborhood in which it is to be located.

(g) Will protect the natural environment and help conserve

natural resources and energy.

(h) Is within the provisions of uses requiring special ap-

proval as set forth in the various zoning districts herein,

is in harmony with the purposes and conforms to the

applicable regulations of the zoning district in which it

is to be located, and meets applicable site design stan-

dards for each use specified in Section 10-164.

(i) Is related to the valid exercise of the City’s police power

and purposes which are affected by the proposed use or

activity.

Section 7, Approval, notes that:

City Council may deny, approve, or approve with conditions,

requests for special approval of a land use. The decision on a

special approval shall be incorporated in a statement of

5

conclusions relative to the specified land use under consider-

ation. The decision shall specify the basis for the decision,

and any conditions imposed. Any approval given by the City

Council under which premises are not used or work is not

started within six months or when such use or work has been

abandoned for a period of six months shall lapse and cease to

be in affect [sic].

Between 1981 when Mr. Handlos purchased the Property,

and 1991 when the City granted the request for special use,

Mr. Handlos approached the City on numerous occasions with

proposals for various developments for the Property. A chronolog-

ical review of these proposals illustrates that the difficulty encoun-

tered by Mr. Handlos in developing the Property stemmed not

from delays due to obstructions imposed by the City, but rather

through self-inflicted delays. Mr. Handlos proposed various devel-

opmeni projects for the Property from 1981 through 1991:

1981

In 1981, Petitioners submitted plans for a one hundred and

twenty (120) room, four (4) story Sheraton Hotel (Sixth Circuit

Joint Appendix, p 367; hereafter “JA "). The City initially wel-

comed the development, anticipating that the hotel project would

bring new jobs to the City and provide needed tax revenue. As

time passed, however, problems with the design of the hotel and

its impact on City services became more apparent. Although

Woodpointe Inn Associates Limited Partnership was formed for

the purpose of developing the hotel project, it appeared that

neither Woodpointe nor Mr. Handlos had the financial capability

or experience to see the project through to completion.

1985

Even though Petitioners first submitted plans for the hotel in

1981, Petitioners’ request for a special land use permit to develop

the hotel was first presented to the City Council on January 16,

1985. The site plan did not comply with the requirements of the

City Zoning Ordinance, and the permit was denied. (JA 369).

Council considered a second request for a special use permit on

6

December 16, 1985, and again voted to deny the request, since

the site plan was still not in compliance with the requirements of

the Zoning Ordinance.

1986

In 1986, the City Planning Commission approved plans for a

two (2) story Woodpointe Office Building. Even though both the

City Planner and the Planning Commission approved the devel-

opment of the office building, Petitioners failed to pursue the

project and it was never built.

1988

In 1988, Mr. Handlos submitted a plan for a thirty eight

(38) unit senior citizen housing development. As with the office

building proposed in 1986, the proposal for senior housing was

never pursued by Petitioners beyond the submission of the initial

plan.

1989

No further effort was made by Mr. Handlos to construct a

hotel or any other project on the Property until November 1989,

when Petitioners filed a lawsuit against the City in the state court

alleging violation of constitutional rights in connection with the

City’s refusal to grant a special use permit. The lawsuit sought

declaratory relief, mandamus and damages. It was dismissed by

the Wayne County Circuit Court in April 1990. (JA 344).

1990-1991

In July 1990, Mr. Handlos again sought a special land use

permit to construct a hotel on the Property. The City Council

voted to approve the special land use permit on May 6, 1991,

subject to the following conditions:

1, All those conditions as specified by the Planning Com-

mission in their October 24, 1990 approval, with the

exception that the developer has one (1) year from this

date to commence construction of this project;

7

2. The developer shall obtain and meet the requirements for

all building, electrical, plumbing, mechanical and other

such permits as may be necessary;

3. The developer shall submit a plan for the discharge for

sanitary sewer that meets with the approval of the City

engineer and does not diminish or adversely affect the

sanitary sewer system service, and said plan shall call for

the developer to incur any related costs;

4. The developer shall be required in accordance with Ordi-

nance, Section 187 (A), to furnish the city with a cash

deposit, certified check, irrevocable bank letter of credit

or a surety bond from a surety company that is listed on

the federal register, which is issued by the Department of

Treasury, in an amount equivalent to five (5%) percent of

the improvement costs to assure compliance with all

ordinance and permit requirements; and

5. The developer shall be required to relocate, at his ex-

pense, any existing public utilities located on the property

to the road right-of-way. (JA 371).

Although Petitioners’ Brief implies that Mr. Handlos pur-

sued a hotel development project over the course of approxi-

mately ten (10) years, the facts show otherwise.

In 1985, when Mr. Handlos requested a special use permit

for the hotel project, there was public opposition to the develop-

ment of the Property as a hotel. James McNally, a defendant in

the District Court suit, voiced strong opposition to the hotel

project. As noted by Petitioners (Petition at p. 3), Mr. McNally,

a citizen whose home was located in close proximity to the

proposed project, was present at public meetings and circulated

information relating to the proposed development. Throughout

this period, however, Mr. McNally was a private citizen, and had

no connection to the municipal government.' The objections

voiced by Mr. McNally and by other citizens of the City included

'Mr. McNally was elected to the City Council in May 1991, after

Plaintiff's special use permit was issued.

concerns regarding traffic congestion, the size of the project,

increased noise and activity due to its location in close proximity

to a residential neighborhood, concerns over parking and the

necessity for increased city services provided to the hotel. (Peti-

tioner’s Appendix at A-15 - A-20).

Although Petitioners assert that the sudden deafness and

vertigo suffered by Mr. Handlos following the City’s approval of

the special use permit in May 1991 was responsible for the fact

that the project was not commenced, a review of the facts shows

otherwise. On August 7, 1991, Mr. Handlos sent a letter to the

City indicating that the size of the project would be cut in half.

(JA 28). Although the City Ordinance allowed six (6) months

for construction to commence after approval by City Council, and

Mr. Handlos was granted twice that amount of time, construction

still did not begin. On January 10, 1992, he requested a one (1)

year extension to begin construction. The request was denied by

City Council on January 20, 1992. (JA 373). Among the reasons

noted for the denial of his request for additional time was that

Mr. Handlos had been given a reasonable amount of time to

substantially commence the project.’ Furthermore, he had in-

formed the City Council on May 6, 1991, that financing for the

project was in line, and when questioned regarding who the

financial backers of the project were, he declined the opportunity

to answer that question. Moreover, Mr. Handlos had represented

to the City Manager that the project was at a stage where the

architect and construction manager could take over the project,

without the need for his involvement.

Second Request For Extension

On May 4, 1992, shortly before Petitioners’ special use

permit was due to expire, another request for extension of time

was made to the City Council. City Manager, James Leidlein,

? Brandon Rogers, the City Planning Consultant, stated that the one (1)

year period allowed by the City for Plaintiff to commence construction was very

reasonable. Mr. Rogers also noted that most bona fide projects should be able to

be started within a year or that it would be otherwise premature to file them.

(JA 479-480).

9

addressed the City Council and detailed the numerous problems

which the City had encountered since the hotel project was first

proposed. Mr. Leidlein noted that Mr. Handlos had cited sewer

problems as one of the major reasons that he was unable to begin

construction of the hotel within a one (1) year period.

Mr. Handlos had been advised by the City of sewer capacity

problems in the area more than a year before, however, when the

City indicated to him that sewer problems might affect the

feasibility of his project. (In 1985, when the project was first

proposed, the City had a potential solution to sewer capacity

problems, but because of changes in the sewer system and in

environmental laws, the former solution was no longer viable.) As

a condition to the special use approval, the City required

Mr. Handlos to submit a plan for the discharge of sanitary sewer

meeting the approval of the City Engineer, which did not dimin-

ish or adversely affect the sanitary sewer system. Mr. Leidlein

indicated further that other than a few phone calls, Mr. Handlos

had not submitted any plans to the City or the building depart-

ment showing how he was going to address the sewer question. He

noted that Mr. Handlos had “continually assured the City that

once he received City approval, he was ready to go.” Although the

project was approved almost a year before, “. . . to this date the

project essentially has gone nowhere.” Mr. Leidlein noted that

property taxes on the Property were still in arrears, with the last

payment made in March of 1991, for the 1988 and 1989 taxes.

The 1990-1991 taxes had yet to be paid, and the delinquency was

in excess of $8,500.00. Based on Petitioners’ failure to comply

with the reasonable conditions of the special use approval,

Mr. Leidlein recommended that the second request for an exten-

sion of time in which to commence the project be denied. (JA

375).

City Council voted to deny the request for an extension of

time to commence construction, citing many of the same reasons

noted in the January 1992 denial. Furthermore, the Council noted

that Mr. Handlos had failed to submit the bond which was a

specific requirement of the City’s approval of the construction

project.

10

In an apparent effort to commence construction by the

May 6, 1992 deadline, Mr. Handlos began doing ground work on

the Property himself. City employees observed Mr. Handlos, the

general partner and sole known financier of the multi-million

dollar project, taking a sledge hammer to the curb in order to

construct a curb cut. The May 4, 1992 City Council Minutes

noted, “... Mr. Handlos has been seen personally wielding a

sledge hammer to do the curb cuts without using proper signage

or proper safety precautions taken to protect the citizens, which

shows that the proper backing is not there for such a large

construction project when the general partner of the partnership is

out there doing the ‘grunt work’.” (JA 375).

Re-Application For Special Use

Following expiration of the special use permit, Mr. Leidlein

informed Mr. Handlos that it would be necessary for him to

reapply before construction could begin. (JA 381). Petitioners

reapplied in June 1992 and City Council scheduled a hearing to

consider the request in October 1992. Prior to the time the City

Council met to consider the request, a lawsuit was filed by

Petitioners in the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Michigan, Southern Division. Although the City Plan-

ning Commission and the City Manager approved the site plan,

ultimately the City Council voted to deny the special use permit,

expressing doubts regarding the ability of Mr. Handlos to com-

plete the project. Pursuant to City of Harper Woods Zoning

Ordinance, Section 10-187 (B) (6) and (7), the City Council was

required to consider whether the special use complied with the

standards set forth in the Ordinance, and following such consider-

ation was vested with the authority to deny, approve, or approve

with conditions, any request for special approval of a land use.

(City of Harper Woods Zoning Ordinance No. 265, § 10-187 B

(6) and (7)). Only after the City Council had complied with the

requirements of Section 10-187 B and granted special approval,

was the Council required to permit the special use pursuant to

Section 10-164 of the Zoning Ordinance.

il

Numerous citizens spoke in opposition to the project at the

public meeting held on October 5, 1992, expressing concern

regarding traffic and lack of parking, as well as the fact that the

developer had never started work on the project, in spite of

previous approvals. City Council voted to deny the special use,

noting that the project had been before the City for in excess of

eight (8) years, and had consumed a considerable amount of time

and effort on the part of the City administration. Moreover, City

Council noted that the developer had failed to pay property taxes

in a timely fashion, and was currently delinquent on the 1991 and

1992 taxes. Finally, the fact that Mr. Handlos had made represen-

tations assuring the City of his ability to find a solution to the

sanitary sewer issue, and the fact that he had, in an attempt to

commence construction prior to the expiration of the special use

permit issued May 1991, begun breaking out the concrete curbs

with a sledge hammer and issued a press release stating that he

would complete only the first two floors of the project due to an

“uncertain economy” all led the Council to express doubts re-

garding Petitioners’ ability to complete the project. (JA 182).

Petitioners’ suit, filed prior to the time the City Council voted to

deny the re-application for a special use claimed that the City and

various employees and members of the City Council violated

Petitioners’ rights to substantive due process.

Although Petitioners complained that the City “maliciously”

and “drastically” increased the property assessment on the Prop-

erty from $33,210.00 to $157,500.00 in order to “harass”

Mr. Handlos, the increase in assessment took place in March

1987, four (4) years before Petitioners’ special use permit was

issued.’ Mr. Handlos’ statement that the City enacted a fast food

restaurant restriction ordinance for the sole purpose of “blocking”

his ability to construct a fast food restaurant on the proposed hotel

site is equally without merit. In his deposition testimony,

Mr. Handlos stated that he had never attempted to construct a

fast food restaurant on the Property and had never applied for

>The City assessor, Gerald Owczarzak, noted that there have been dra-

matic increases on numerous parcels of commercial property since he was

assessor. (JA 485).

et a es ee

12

approval to construct a fast food restaurant on the Property. (JA

389).

On February 24, 1993, the United States District Court,

Eastern District of Michigan, dismissed all counts of Petitioners’

Complaint upon Defendant’s motion to dismiss, other than

Count II (Equal Protection) and Count III (Substantive Due

Process).

On August 25, 1993, the District Court granted summary

judgment on the remaining counts, granting Defendant’s motion

and dismissing the claims in their entirety.

Petitioners next appealed the Court’s order to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit, which affirmed the

District Court’s order in an opinion dated March 7, 1995.

WHY THIS WRIT SHOULD BE DENIED

Petitioners apparently base their argument for granting a

Writ of Certiorari on Supreme Court Rule 10.1(a) and (c)

contending that the Sixth Circuit decision conflicts with other

circuit court rulings. In fact, the Sixth Circuit decision is

consistent with this Court’s prior rulings and the other circuit rulings

are either in accord, or are clearly, factually distinguishable.

I.

THE “ARBITRARY AND CAPRICIOUS” STANDARD

IS CORRECTLY AND CONSISTENTLY APPLIED BY

THE CIRCUITS IN LOCAL LAND USE DISPUTES

ALLEGING VIOLATION OF SUBSTANTIVE DUE

PROCESS RIGHTS.

A. The Circuit Courts Have Consistently Recognized That

The Denial Of A Land Use Permit May, Under Appropri-

ate Circumstances, Constitute A Substantive Due Process

Violation

The general principles underpinning federal substantive due

process in the context of land use related civil rights litigation are

well-settled. The United States Supreme Court has explicitly

13

recognized that citizens have a substantive due process right not

to be subjected to arbitrary or irrational zoning decisions, Village

of Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan Housing Development Cor-

poration, 429 U.S. 252, 263, 97 S. Ct. 555, 562 50 L. Ed. 2d. 450

(1977), and all of the various circuits recognize that, under

appropriate circumstances, the denial or withholding of a building

permit or site plan approval may constitute a substantive due

process violation. Pearson v. City of Grand Blanc, 961 F. 2d.

1211, 1217 (6th Cir. 1992); see also Littlefield v. City of Afton,

785 F. 2d. 596, 605-607 (8th Cir. 1986).

As more fully set forth below, the standard applied by all of

the circuit courts in reviewing substantive due process claims in

the land use/zoning context is whether the governmental action

was arbitrary and capricious and/or rationally related to a legiti-

mate governmental interest. However, uniformity among the

circuits in the application of the arbitrary and capricious standard

does not and cannot, as Petitioners suggest, guarantee uniformity

of results. Zoning and land use disputes are peculiarly fact

dependent. The various circuits have been asked to apply the

arbitrary and capricious standard in many contexts involving land

use cases. It is therefore incongruous to suggest, as Petitioners do,

that differing results necessarily mean that the circuits disagree as

to the appropriate principles to be applied.

As stated in Scott v. Greenville County, 716 F. 2d. 1409,

1420 (4th Cir. 1983):

While defendants are undoubtedly correct in asserting that

challenges to local zoning decisions are rarely successful

outside the context of racial discrimination . . . the primary

distinction between winning and losing the case is the suffi-

ciency of evidence and not that the claim is not facially

viable . . . regardless of the deference normally afforded

zoning practices by the courts, the constitution does not

tolerate arbitrary and unreasonable action. Citing Altair

Builders Inc. v. Village of Horseheads, 551 F. Supp. 1066,

1069 (W.D. N.Y. 1982)

14

While factual differences affect the disposition of each case,

the essential guiding principles employed by the circuits are

consistent. All circuits recognize that land use plaintiffs who bring

substantive due process claims face difficult evidentiary hurdles.

Moreover, all circuits recognize the prudential concern that

federal courts should not sit as a super-legislature in land use

cases involving peculiarly local interests. A thorough review 7 ihe

case law illustrates that the circuits have noted discrete subcat-

egories of governmental activities which typically evidence arbi-

trary and capricious action - for instance, decisions based on

personal animus, discrimination or improper political objectives,

and denial of a permit or an application when it is otherwise

ordinarily granted as of right. These factual subcategories do not

create separate standards of review for alleged substantive due

process violations; the essential test remains whether the underly-

ing action was arbitrary or capricious.

B. The Circuit Courts Uniformly Apply An Arbitrary Or

Capricious Standard In Reviewing Land Use Decisions

For Substantive Due Process Violations

Contrary to Petitioners’ contention, there is substantial uni-

formity among the circuits with respect to the appropriate review

of substantive due process claims in the land use context. The

following circuit by circuit survey illustrates that an arbitrary or

capricious standard of review is consistently applied. A somewhat

more detailed analysis of the factual basis underpinning the cited

cases is included because, as the Scott court emphasized, the

decisions are fact-dependent.

Petitioners attempt to cloud the underlying uniformity

among the circuits by plucking out of context quotes from cases

which differ factually. In cursory fashion, Petitioners catalogue

purportedly “analogous” cases where the courts reached dissimi-

lar results and imply a lack of uniformity of the law. Petitioners

also argue that, in light of different results obtained in different

circuits, the trial and circuit court erred in this case in concluding

that no genuine issue of material fact existed. On these bases,

Petitioners request the Supreme Court’s assistance in reconciling

the “disparity” among circuits.

15

Petitioners’ attempt fails on two grounds. First, upon closer

examination, it is evident that in each of the cited cases the circuit

courts uniformly applied the “arbitrary and capricious” standard

of review in analyzing the respective plaintiffs’ federal substantive

due process claims. Second, as the cases cited by Petitioners

make clear, the respective decisions were premised, as all sub-

stantive due process claims are, on specific factual findings.

The First Circuit applies the following test in considering

substantive due process challenges to a land use ordinance: “a

court should not set aside the determination of public officers in

[zoning] matter[s] unless it is clear that their action ‘has no

foundation in reason and is a mere arbitrary or irrational exercise

of power having no substantial relation to the public health, the

public morals, the public safety or the public welfare in its proper

sense’” Smithfield Concerned Citizens for Fair Zoning v. The

Town of Smithfield, 907 F. 2d. 239, 243 (ist Cir. 1990). In

Smithfield, plaintiffs complained that the new zoning ordinance,

which increased lot size requirements and rezoned commercial

areas to residential, was arbitrary inasmuch as it was “not

grounded in the necessary planning and analysis, by and with the

participation of experts in the field.” The Smithfield court de-

clined to micro-analyze the scope and extent of the council’s

information gathering process and dismissed plaintiff's claims. Jd.

at 245. In Licari v. Ferruzzi, 22 F. 3d. 344 (ist Cir. 1994), the

First Circuit, while admitting that the refusal to issue building

permits generally does not implicate substantive due process,

nonetheless emphasized that such claims were not foreclosed and

stated that “[w]e have never announced a rule... [preclud-

ing] ... substantive due process violations by land use planning

Officials.” Id. at 349.

In Walz v. Town of Smithtown, 46 F. 3d. 162 (2nd Cir.

1995), the Second Circuit also applied an arbitrary and capricious

standard to a claim for violation of substantive due process under

the following distinguishing facts. In Walz, plaintiff's water well

failed, which forced him to apply for emergency connection to

public water service. The emergency application was approved by

appropriate authorities, but the highway department refused to

16

grant plaintiff an excavation permit unless the plaintiff granted

the highway department a fifteen (15) foot easement. Typically,

such permits were granted as of right. The Walz Court found that,

denial of the permit was not only arbitrary and capricious but, the

court implied, extortionary.

The Third Circuit also applies the arbitrary and capricious

standard. Bello v. Walker, 840 F. 2d. 1124 (3rd Cir. 1988), cert

denied, 488 U.S. 851, 109 S. Ct. 134, 102 L. Ed. 2d. 107 (1988).

See also, DeBlasio v. The Zoning Board of Adjustment for the

Township of West Amwell, 53 F. 3d. 592 (3rd Cir. 1995) The

Third Circuit, when faced with claims that a municipality’s

zoning regulation violated plaintiff's right to substantive due

process, requires plaintiff to prove that the regulation was arbi-

trary or irrational. Bello at 1129 citing Pace Resources, Inc. v.

Shrewsberry Township, 808 F. 2d. 1023 (3rd Cir. 1987) cert

denied 482 U.S. 906, 107 S. Ct. 2482, 96 L. Ed. 2d. 375 (1987).

In Bello, plaintiff sought to develop, in five phases, multiple

family housing in conformity with applicable zoning restrictions.

Plaintiff built phase I then applied for a building permit for

phase V. Defendants denied the permit ostensibly because

phase II through IV were not completed. Significantly, the Bello

Court could find no legitimate reason why the permit was not

issued. In short, the actions of the municipality had no rational

relationship to any legitimate governmental interest. Jd. at 1130.

Petitioners alleged that Mr. McNally, while not a member of

the City Council and while acting solely as a private citizen,

organized public opposition to Petitioners’ proposed project.

Moreover, Mr. McNally’s opposition to the project was not

“illegal” or “improper” as was the conduct contemplated in

DeBlasio. The official’s conduct in DeBlasio was improper be-

cause, despite his financial interest in the outcome, he did not

excuse himself from participating in the proceedings. Here,

Mr. McNally was not a member of the City Council when

Petitioner’s building permit was approved and has never had any

financial interest in the success or failure of Petitioners’ project.

In Scott v. Greenville County, supra, the Fourth Circuit held

the applicable standard in such land use cases to be “whether

17

there is a basis for concluding an abuse of discretion [or] caprice

in [a] zoning administrator’s refusal to issue a building permit.”

In Scott, plaintiff presented evidence Suggesting that the city

council acted completely outside its authority, and for racially

discriminatory reasons, in issuing a moratorium on building per-

mits, of which plaintiff's was the only application pending. Public

opposition to the project arose in part because of fears that low

income housing would bring minorities and crime. The council

delayed approval of the permit in order to attempt to rezone the

property and thus create a basis for denying the permit where

none previously existed.

The Scott court noted that the federal courts are generally

“reluctant to sit as a zoning board of appeals” when presented

with claims which, though couched in constitutional language, in

reality amount only to a run of the mill dispute between a

developer and a town planning agency. The court stated that when

a Zoning action is “tainted with fundamental procedural irregular-

ity, racial animus or the like, such action can amount to an

actionable denial of due process.” Jd. at 1419.

The Fifth Circuit likewise recognizes that the denial of a

variance may constitute a property right, the arbitrary deprivation

of which implicates substantive due process rights. Shelton v. City

of College Station, 7154 F. 2d. 1251 (Sth Cir. 1985), cert denied,

477 U.S. 905, 106 S. Ct. 3276, 91 L. Ed. 2d. 566 (1986). In

Shelton, the Fifth Circuit reversed the district court’s entry of

summary judgment against plaintiff, questioning whether the

denial of a routine variance was arbitrary and capricious, with no

substantial relation to the general welfare. Id. at 1255. A question

of fact existed based on defendants’ admission that almost every

business in the area, including the subsequent occupier of plain-

tiff's premises (and three adjacent businesses), had been granted

the same routine parking variance sought by plaintiff.

Contrary to Petitioners’ assertions, the Sixth Circuit has not

merely borrowed the “shock the conscience” standard applicable

to criminal cases in determining whether a substantive due

process violation has occurred in land use disputes. Rather, as a

full reading of the Pearson decision makes clear, the Sixth

18

Circuit, like every other circuit, reviews zoning decisions for

violations of substantive due process under an “arbitrary and

capricious” standard.

In order to avoid confusion over the applicable standard of

review, however, the Pearson court attempted to define the degree

of “arbitrariness” and/or “capriciousness” necessary under fed-

eral law to sustain a claim for violation of substantive due process.

The Pearson court emphasized that the “shock the conscience”

reference used in other substantive due process contexts was

useful to emphasize the degree of arbitrariness required to set

aside a zoning decision by a local zoning authority — and to

underscore the overriding precept that “arbitrary and capricious”

in the federal substantive due process context means something

far different than in state administrative law. Id. at 1222. The

Pearson court further noted that “shocks the conscience” refers to

extreme irrationality.

Far from creating a separate and distinct substantive due

process standard for land use cases, the Pearson Court merely

applied the prevailing arbitrary and capricious standard. As in

most federal land use cases, the Pearson Court concluded that

based on the record, plaintiff failed to establish a substantive due

process violation.

The Seventh Circuit also recognized that the enforcement of

a zoning decision will only be overturned if it is arbitrary or

applied with discriminatory intent. Scudder v. Town of Greendale,

Indiana, 704 F. 2d. 999 (7th Cir. 1983). The Seventh Circuit

defines arbitrary as being reached “without adequate determining

principle” or “unreasonable”. Id. at 1002. In Scudder, the Sev-

enth Circuit affirmed the district court’s dismissal under the

following facts. Plaintiff applied for permits to build two resi-

dences on appropriately zoned property. While applications were

pending, a neighbor (a private citizen who held no position in the

Greendale Town Government) wrote a letter to the Board of

Trustees urging denial of the permit. The Board eventually denied

the permit on the basis that the property did not abut a dedicated

street as required by the ordinance. Plaintiff sued for due process

19

violations alleging a “conspiracy” to deny plaintiff the use of his

land.

The Scudder court dismissed the action because plaintiff

proffered no evidence to support his claim that the ordinance was

applied discriminatorily. Id. at 1003. The Scudder court also

discounted plaintiff's heavy reliance on the neighbor’s opposition.

“Certainly the federal constitution does not prohibit a citizen in a

democratic society from voicing an opinion to a duly elected

official regarding the denial or issuance of a permit.” Id.

The Eighth Circuit similarly recognizes that an arbitrary

denial of a building permit may state a claira for a substantive due

process violation. Littlefield v. City of Afton, 785 F. 2d. 596 (8th

Cir. 1986). In Littlefield, plaintiff alleged that the defendants

violated its substantive due process rights by conditioning the

The Ninth Circuit is consistent with Pearson. In Bateson vy.

Geisse, 857 F. 2d. 1300 (9th Cir. 1988), plaintiff intended to

develop a condominium project on property within an appropri-

ately zoned area. Bateson satisfied the final requirements imposed

on the building permit, and requested issuance of the permit. The

request was denied after the City imposed additional require-

ments on the permit and initiated a zoning change on plaintiff's

property which would have prevented him from building the

proposed project. The Bateson court noted that plaintiff was

required to prove that the interference with his property rights was

“irrational or arbitrary”, Id. at 1303 citing Usery v. Turner

Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1, 15, 96 S. Ct. 2882, 2892, 49 L.

Ed. 2d. 752 (1976), and concluded that defendants acted arbi-

trarily. The city’s regulations provided that once an applicant’s

building plans complied with the code and other applicable laws

and the fees were paid, the building official “must” issue a

building permit to the applicant. The regulations did not provide

for review by the city council before a permit could issue.

20

Nonetheless, the city council voted to withhold issuance of the

permit without any process whatsoever.

The circuits are in substantial agreement regarding applica-

tion of the arbitrary and capricious standard of review in substan-

tive due process land use claims, and have not “made inconsistent

interpretations” of what constitutes due process violations in land

use litigation.

There is uniform acknowledgement that succeeding on such

grounds is difficult however, and that run of the mill zoning or

building disputes, like this case, do not rise to the level of a

constitutional violation.

Il

THE SIXTH CIRCUIT FULLY CONSIDERED AND

CORRECTLY DECIDED THAT NO GENUINE IS-

SUES OF MATERIAL FACT EXISTED IN THIS

CASE TO SUPPORT ANY VIOLATION OF SUB-

STANTIVE DUE PROCESS.

A. In Land Use Litigation, Reference To Government Action

Which “Shocks The Conscience” Is Useful To Indicate

The Degree Of Irrationality Necessary To State A Sub-

stantive Due Process Claim.

In land use litigation alleging substantive due process viola-

tions, reference to government action which would “shock the

conscience” is useful and illustrative of the degree of irrationality

and arbitrariness necessary to state a substantive due process

claim. Expressed another way, the state action must show “outra-

geous government conduct.” These references to the degree of

“arbitrary and capricious” behavior necessary to state a claim are

an acknowledgement that the court must exercise care not to

expand the concept of substantive due process “because guide-

posts for responsible decisions in this uncharted area are scarce

and open-ended.” Collins v. City of Harker Heights, 503 US.

115, 112 S. Ct. 1061, 117 L. Ed. 2d. 261, 273 (1992) quoting

21

Regents of University of Michigan v. Ewing, 474 US. 214,

225-26, 106 S. Ct. 507, 88 L. Ed. 2d. 523 (1985).

This admonition is particularly appropriate in land use litiga-

tion matters, an area of historically local control, and may reflect

fear of uncontrolled judicial intervention in such zoning matters.

Roberts and Shearer, Land Use Litigation: Takings and Due

Process Claims, the Urban Lawyer, Volume 24, No. 4 (Fall

1992) at 839. (Indeed, Professors Roberts and Shearer refer to

Elsmere Park Club Ltd. Partnership v. Town of Elsmere, 771

F. Supp. 646 (D. Del. 1991), a case cited by Petitioners in

support of their claims, as an example of unwarranted judicial

intervention in zoning matters). The requirement that govern-

ment not be “arbitrary or capricious” in its actions is a constitu-

tionally imposed limit to prevent government from abusing its

power. Collins, 112 S. Ct. at 1069, 117 L. Ed. 2d. at 274.

In Pearson v. City of Grand Blanc, supra the Sixth Circuit

discussed the usefulness of measuring the arbitrariness of state

action with reference to “shocks the conscience” terminology.‘

The Pearson court stated that the state action must be “arbitrary

and capricious action in the strict sense”, with no rational basis

for the decision. Pearson at 1221. Pearson went on to state that

the “shocks the conscience” terminology was useful in the zoning

context to emphasize the degree of arbitrariness required to set

aside a zoning decision by a local authority — and to underscore

the overriding precept that “arbitrary and capricious” in the

federal substantive due process context means something far

different than in state administrative law, where state administra-

tive action may be set aside as “arbitrary and capricious” on the

grounds that it is not supported by substantial evidence. Pearson

at 1222. “Shocks the Conscience” terminology refers to extreme

irrationality, which is consistent with the standard applied by

other circuits.

* Donald A. Dripps, At the Borders of the Fourth Amendment: Why A Real

Due Process Test Should Replace the Outrageous Government Conduct Test,

University of Illinois Law Review Vol. 1993, No. 2, cited by Petitioners is

inapposite to the facts of this case, since it deals exclusively with the constitu-

tional law of search and seizure under the Fourth Amendment.

EES

22

The continuing relevance of this terminology was recently

noted. Richard H. Fallon Jr., Some Confusions About Due

Process, Judicial Review, and Constitutional Remedies, Columbia

Law Review, Volume 93, II (March 1992). [hereafter, Fallon,

Due Process}. Professor Fallon, in analyzing this Court’s recent

decision in Collins v. City of Harker Heights, supra noted that the

decision could be interpreted to suggest that conduct could be

arbitrary in a constitutional sense only if it shocked the con-

science. Id., at 325.

The underlying principle by which all of the circuits deter-

mine whether a substantive due process violation has been stated

is whether the government’s action has been shown to be “arbi-

trary and capricious”. (See Argument I, supra). As Professor

Fallon notes, the underlying idea is that government officials must

act on “public spirited” rather than “self-interested or invidious

motivations”, and that there must be a rational or reasonable

relationship between government’s ends and its means. Fallon,

Due Process, supra at 310.

Accepting that the substantive rights protected by the Due

Process clause of the Constitution are not susceptible to a simple

and easily stated formula, the generally accepted view that gov-

ernment action must not be arbitrary and capricious, that it must

be based on the public interest rather than personal motivation,

and that it should accord with widely shared moral intuitions or

principles, makes the terminology employed by the Pearson court

appropriate to a consideration of whether a substantive due

process claim has been stated.

Considered in this context, Professor Fallon’s article supports

the approach taken by the Sixth Circuit in analyzing substantive

due process claims. He states that in cases of this kind, the courts

generally will render a judgment of unconstitutionality only when

government, in its view, has behaved in a way that can be shown

to be wrongful by relatively direct argumentative appeal to some

moral intuition or relatively determinate principle that it believes

to be widely shared and, preferably, rooted in history. Fallon, Due

Process, supra at 321.

23

Testing this formulation against the Pearson “shocks the

conscience” approach provides appellate courts with a rough yard

stick of what society would judge to be a grievous breach of the

government's duty to pursue legitimate ends in reasonable ways.

There is general agreement among the circuits that “arbi-

trary and capricious” conduct by the government is the standard

by which substantive due process claims should be assessed. It is

in determining what actions constitute “arbitrary and capricious”

conduct that difficulties arise. Given the complexity and the reach

of the Due Process clause it is unlikely that this question can be

easily resolved. Weighing against the expansion of this area of the

law, however, are concerns regarding the increasing volume of

federal litigation, the necessity of developing constitutional stan-

dards defining the scope of duties and liabilities of state officials

and, finally, a reluctance to displace traditional state authority and

alter “longstanding balances of power in the federal system.” Jd.,

at 350.

Given the need to strike a proper balance between the

traditionally local nature of land use regulation and the constitu-

tionally mandated protection from arbitrary government behavior,

the courts have wisely concluded that government action is

implicated under the Due Process clause only when it engages in

“arbitrary” conduct which is repugnant to widely held beliefs, but

which is not, in any sense, the equivalent of the state law standard

prohibiting land use regulation without substantial evidence re-

garding its necessity. The Pearson approach is an appropriate

expression of this balancing of interests.

B. Standard Of Review

The Sixth Circuit reviewed the District Court’s grant of

summary judgment de novo. Hanover Ins. Co. v. American

Engineering Co., 33 F. 3d. 727, 730 (6th Cir. 1994). Once a

defendant makes a properly supported motion for summary judg-

ment, the burden shifts to the plaintiff to set forth specific facts

showing that there is a genuine issue for trial. Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d. 202

(1986). Summary judgement is justified if, based on all of the

ad

evidence presented, including pleadings, depositions and answers

to interrogatories, the court is satisfied there is no genuine factual

issue for trial and the moving party is entitled to judgment as a

matter of law. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c).

Although the court must draw any permissible inference

from the underlying facts in the light most favorable to the party

opposing the motion, only reasonable inferences from the evi-

dence need be considered by the court. Whether an inference is

reasonable must be considered “in light of the competing infer-

ences” to the contrary. Matsushita Elect. Indus. Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 588, 106 S. Ct. 1348, 89 L. Ed. 2d.

538 (1986). A court is not bound to accept as true a legal

conclusion couched as a factual allegation. Furthermore, the

court is not bound to credit, and indeed may disregard assertions

where no actual facts in support of the assertions were alleged.

Papasan vy. Allain, 478 U.S. 265, 286, 106 S. Ct. 2932 92 L.

Ed.2d. 209, (1986).

In the end, the non-moving party must do more than present

a “scintilla” of evidence in its favor. Anderson, 477 U.S. at 252. If

the evidence is merely “colorable” or “not significantly probative”

a motion for summary judgment may be granted. Anderson, 477

US. at 249-250.

C. Summary Judgment Is Appropriate Where There Are No

Genuine Issues Of Material Fact Regarding A Substan-

tive Due Process Violation

To state a claim that the City’s action violated substantive

due process, Petitioners must demonstrate that they had a prop-

erty interest which could support the substantive due process

claim for a special use permit, that they possessed a legitimate

claim of entitlement, and that the government action in denying

the permit was arbitrary and irrational, with no reasonable basis.

Triomphe Investors v. City of Northwood, 49 F. 3d. 198, (6th Cir.

1995). The claim can survive only if the alleged purpose behind

the state action has no conceivable rational relationship to the

exercise of the state’s traditional police power through zoning.

Sylvia Development Corp. v. Calvert County, Maryland, 48 F. 3d.

25

810, 828, (4th Cir. 1995), quoting Village of Belle Terre y.

Boraas, 416 U.S. 1, 94 S. Ct. 1536, 39 L. Ed. 2d. 797 (1974).

The procedures governing the grant or denial of a special use

are set forth in the City of Harper Woods’ Zoning Ordinance.

Planning Commission pursuant to procedures and general stan-

dards established in Section 10-187B, subject to the specific

with these standards, Section 7, Approval, states that “the City

Council may deny, approve or approve with conditions, requests

for special approval of a land use.” Contrary to Petitioners’

assertions that there is no discretion on the part of the City

Council in reviewing and approving a request for a special use,

City Council is given broad discretionary authority.

The required focus in assessing a constitutional violation

based on denial of substantive due process is not whether the

denial of the request for special use was supported by a prepon-

derance of substantial evidence, as might be the case in a state

due process violation claim is unfounded. Jd. Moreover, the City

Council may properly consider citizen opposition to the proposed

property use. Even negative attitudes or unsubstantiated fears

“are properly cognizable in a zoning proceeding. ” City of

Cleburne v. Cleburne Living Center Inc., 473 U.S. 432, 448, 105

S. Ct. 3249, 87 L. Ed. 2d. 313 (1985). The City Council based its

denial of Plaintiff's 1992 reapplication for a special use on

26

legitimate doubts regarding the ability of Mr. Handlos to com-

plete the project, given the eight (8) years during which it had

been before the City Council. The City Council also considered

the tax arrearages, the failure of the plaintiff to propose any

solution to the sanitary sewer issue, and the fact that Mr. Handlos

was the only construction worker who had ever been seen working

on the project during the time the 1991 special use permit was in

effect.

Petitioners’ assertion that partisan, political reasons unre-

lated to the merits of the application were responsible for the

City’s decision, thus establishing a potential substantive due

process violation, are completely and utterly unsupported in the

record.

The facts show that City Councilman McNally, about whom

Petitioners complain, was a vocal opponent of Petitioners’ 1985

special use request, which was denied by the City Council.

Mr. McNally was, however, a private citizen at this time, uncon-

nected in any way to the City government. As such, he had a right

to voice his opposition to the hotel project as he saw fit. Cleburne,

473 US. 432, 448. Even if such citizen opposition had influenced

the City’s decision to deny the special use permit in 1985, it would

not have given rise to a substantive due process violation. “Zoning

is inescapably a political function. Indeed, it is the very essence of

elected zoning officials’ responsibility to mediate between devei-

opers, residents, commercial interests, and those who oppose and

support growth and development in the community.” Sylvia

Development Corp., 48 F. 3d. at 828. Moreover, the events of

which Petitioners complain took place in 1985, six (6) years prior

to the time City Council approved Petitioners’ request. Events

which took place six (6) years prior to the acts complained of,

and are based on the behavior of private citizens simply do not

state a claim for substantive due process violations on the part of

the City. It was Mr. Handlos who failed to comply with the

reasonable conditions imposed by City Council in granting the

special use permit in May 1991. During the year in which he was

given to commence construction of the hotel project (two times

the length specified by the City Ordinance) he took no steps to

27

comply with the requirement that he submit a plan for the

discharge for sanitary sewer that met with the approval of the City

Engineer and did not adversely affect the sanitary sewer system.

During the course of that year, no plans were submitted to the

City Engineer regarding the sewer discharge. Mr. Handlos ten-

dered no bond to the City during the course of the year, as

required as a condition to the special use, attempting only to

tender a five (5%) percent bond for the estimated cost of the

foundation improvements, rather than a five (5%) percent bond

for the cost of the project improvements days before the special

use permit expired.

Although, as Petitioners assert, the re-application for a

special use permit filed by Mr. Handlos in October 1992, was

essentially the same proposal which had been presented to the

City Council the prior year, the Council’s decision to deny the

special use permit was clearly rational given the circumstances of

the case and the City’s prior dealings with Mr. Handlos. In

denying the request, City Council noted that taxes on the Prop-

erty continued to be in arrears, that during the prior year,

Mr. Handlos had submitted no plans to the City Engineering

Department regarding the sewer discharge problem, that

Mr. Handlos had failed to tender the five (5%) percent improve-

ment bond required as a condition, and that Mr. Handlos was the

only construction worker to have worked on the project. Taking

into consideration these facts, it was a rational decision on the

part of the Council to conclude that Mr. Handlos was unable to

complete the project and that to allow him to continue could very

well result in the City being left with partially completed “im-

provements” which would have to be finished at taxpayer ex-

pense. Although the summary judgment standard requires a court

to resolve conflicting inferences from circumstantial evidence in

favor of the non-moving party, it does not require the court to

“. ++ ignore or distort the plain meaning of words or conveniently

to read them out of context.” Sylvia Development Corp., 48 F. 3d.

at 822 quoting Ford Motor Co. v. McDavid, 259 F. 2d. 261, 266

(4th Cir. 1958) cert denied 358 U.S. 908, 79 S. Ct. 234, 3 L. Ed.

2d. 229 (1958).

28

Petitioners’ attempts to cast the comments made in 1985 by

Mr. McNally and other citizens opposing the development of the

hotel project on Petitioners’ Property as improper, are a gross

distortion of the facts, in an attempt to imply that political or

racial animus was involved in the City’s decision, even though the

record is completely devoid of any such inferences.°

Petitioners contend that the “only possible legal basis” for

denying the request for extension of the special use permit and the

re-application was the existence of new ordinances, standards or

regulations. (Petition at 23). This is not only factually inaccurate,

but also misconstrues the protection afforded by the concept of

substantive due process, which requires a showing that the City’s

action had no rational basis, and was egregious, outrageous, and

irrational. Amsden v. Moran, 904 F. 2d. 748, 754 (ist Cir. 1990),

cert denied, 498 U.S. 1041, 111 S. Ct. 713, 112 L. Ed. 2d. 702

(1991).

Petitioners cite Walz v. Town of Smithtown, supra, where

evidence showed that the local ordinance allowed officials no

discretion regarding whether to grant a permit. The Council had

authority to review the request to determine if it met the stan-

dards set forth in the Ordinance, and then to approve, deny or

approve the request with conditions. Moreover, Petitioners do not

allege that the Council’s denial of the extension was merely an

extortionary attempt to gain concessions from Petitioners.

Petitioners cite DeBlasio v. Zoning Board of Adjustment for

the Twp. of West Amwell, supra where evidence indicated per-

sonal financial gain by a council member motivated denial of the

permit. The record in this case shows no evidence whatsoever of

personal animosity or partisan political reasons as the basis for the

* Note that allegations raising the issue of racial or political animus were

first raised by Petitioners in responding to Defendant’s Motion to Dismiss in the

District Court. The issue was never mentioned in either the Complaint or First

Amended Complaint filed by Petitioners with the U.S. District Court. Moreover,

these allegations refer to the 1985 denial of Petitioners’ special use request, not

the 1991 grant of the request. In light of the substantial problems with the earlier

attempt to develop the Property there was a reasonable basis for denying the re-

application request in 1992. Triomphe, 49 F.3d. at 202.

29

City’s denial of the re-application, in spite of the fact that

Petitioners took approximately twenty (20) depositions during

discovery.

Petitioners cite Scott v. Greenville County, supra where

evidence supported plaintiff's contention that denial of the devel-

oper’s request was based on racial animus. The record in this case

is completely devoid of any evidence that the City’s action in

denying the re-application was motivated by racially discrimina-

tory intent.

Petitioners cite Bello v. Walker, supra where evidence indi-

cated defendants denied a permit for personal and _ political

reasons. There is no evidence in the record in this case to show

that the 1992 denial of Petitioners’ special use was motivated by

personal or political reasons.

There is no evidence in the record to support any inference

that the City acted in denying Petitioners’ re-application for a

special use for anything other than the rational reasons set forth in

the Council’s decision. Petitioners ignore the fact that a special

use permit was issued in May 1991, and that Mr. Handlos was

unable to commence construction during the one (1) year period

prior to the expiration of the permit, and failed to comply with

other conditions attached to the permit. Given the development

history of this project, and the inability of Mr. Handlos to proceed

with development, the City was fully justified in denying the re-

application request.

This case provided no “genuine” issues of material fact.

Petitioners offered only “legal conclusions” couched as “factual

assertions” and unsupported inferences, based on language taken

out of context. The evidence offered by the City in support of its

actions was persuasive and essentially uncontroverted. S

judgment was appropriate under the standards set forth by this

Court, and Petitioners’ have not — and cannot — offer any valid

reasons for review of the decision of the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals.

30

CONCLUSION

Upon review of the facts and circumstances surrounding this

case, this Court should deny the Petition of Woodpointe Inn and

Thomas and Lucille Handlos, seeking review of the dismissal of

their federal claims because it is clear that the decision was

properly made and this case otherwise fails to warrant review by

this Court

Dated: June 26, 1995

Respectfully submitted,

O’CONNOR, DEGRAZIA & TAMM, P.C.

By: JULIE MCCANN-O’CONNOR

(Counsel of Record)

JAMES E. TAMM

CHRISTOPHER T. KOCH

4111 Andover Road - Suite 300 E

Bloomfield Hills, MI 48302

(810) 433-2000

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.